View Full Version : Match Updates 2021-22 season non-Hibs games thread

Pages : 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71

31-07-2021, 08:45 PM
Ffs

31-07-2021, 08:46 PM
Keepers in no man's land there

**** sake. Great result for Hearts. Very predictable though. Celtic plenty of the ball but poor overall.

Paul1642
god help celtic if soro gets injured looks tp be their only player with a bit of inventivness the rest are bang average could be a 4th or 5th place finnish for the lesser greens this season.

I have heard similar so often. If they don’t win the league (not looking too likely right now) then they will come second with a 20+ point gap.

Yip, ridiculous decision not to at least give a yellow. Possibly a red. Nowhere near the ball, lunged in and took McGregor out.

Perfect view of it corrupt

31-07-2021, 08:47 PM
Keepers in no man's land there

think the main issue would be the free header.

Torto7
That defending. Lolz.

They've played into Hertz hands giving away stupid free kicks in and around the box...this new manager is on a hiding to nothing

JXM73
Cetic gonna be 25 points behind rangers by october at this rate, pleasing...

Celtic just can’t defend.

Not sure when we play them but we cannot sit back - need to go for the jugular as they are shocking defensively.

31-07-2021, 08:48 PM
Hearts always dangerous at set pieces…Celtic defending abysmal….Hearts gameplan has worked tonight…

think the main issue would be the free header.

Doesn't help but I think it's a fairly straightforward save if the keeper wasn't stuck in limbo

That Starfelt or whatever his name is has had one of the worst debut's I have seen 😅😅 absolutely Lillian Gish

31-07-2021, 08:49 PM
Celtic have a good goal disallowed, Hearts should be down to 10, Celtic dominate the game…. Only this mob could get so lucky.

Madden has gave them everything in the last 15

Pretty content with this if we win tomorrow. Keeps Celtic in and around us, and Hearts have won by doing naff all basically.

I have heard similar so often. If they don’t win the league (not looking too likely right now) then they will come second with a 20+ point gap.

They only finished 14 ahead of us last season and they look worse this year

Bloody Gordon…[emoji2959]

Think that’s the worst Celtic team I’ve seen in a long time.

31-07-2021, 08:50 PM
Hearts always dangerous at set pieces…Celtic defending abysmal….Hearts gameplan has worked tonight…

Don't really think they had one. Hearts were very poor imo.

Two very poor teams on show. Hearts strong at the back but are playing the worst Celtic team in over 10 years. I wouldn’t be surprised if they offered £10m for Nesbit, Doig and Boyle strengthen them and weaken Hibs.

Bloody Gordon…[emoji2959]

Would be starting him over Marshall for the remaining world cup qualifiers.

Celtic should have kept Gordon.

Great result for Hearts but plenty of teams will take points off that Celtic team.

Hearts win the league in July.

31-07-2021, 08:51 PM
There's the story right there. Gordon gains them 2 points & Celtic should never have let him go.

hibIBZ
31-07-2021, 08:51 PM
Celtic looked dreadful, hearts don't look much better, sitting in on their 5 a side pitch they will pick up points, but they don't look great.

Celtic will surely spend because they looked very poor

31-07-2021, 08:52 PM
Can see the Celtic manager not even lasting to the end of August.

31-07-2021, 08:52 PM
There's the story right there. Gordon gains them 2 points & Celtic should never have let him go.

Still a brilliant keeper

31-07-2021, 08:53 PM
So guys, let's nip the pish about Hearts being *****/lucky/an easy three points this season early, okay? They will prove as annoying and resilient as **** as always. :aok:

31-07-2021, 08:53 PM
🚖 for Postecoglu

31-07-2021, 08:54 PM
Ludicrous that 5 of that Celtc team were at the Euros with Scotland.

Magpie
31-07-2021, 08:55 PM
That’s Hearts won the league then

31-07-2021, 08:55 PM
Don't really think they had one. Hearts were very poor imo.

Come if it ..you think a top league team goes into a match without a plan ?

The changes Neilson made changed the momentum at a crucial period..

31-07-2021, 08:56 PM
Come if it ..you think a top league team goes into a match without a plan ?

The changes Neilson made changed the momentum at a crucial period..

If their plan was not to touch the ball for 90 mins and ride their luck they performed it very well

31-07-2021, 08:56 PM
So guys, let's nip the pish about Hearts being *****/lucky/an easy three points this season early, okay? They will prove as annoying and resilient as **** as always. :aok:

Best statement of the night.

dastardly8
31-07-2021, 08:57 PM
Two pish teams , especially hearts , Celtic loads possession and they twats in maroon were pathetic , bottom six fodder , nothing to fear there and a perfectly good Celtic goal ruled offside

31-07-2021, 08:57 PM
Every team in the league would have been confident of beating Celtic at home considering the state they're in. Hearts did it but not at all convincingly. They're not very good.

31-07-2021, 08:58 PM
Come if it ..you think a top league team goes into a match without a plan ? ..

We’ve had a recent manager who according to playing squad members on podcasts had us doing just that, read out the team sheet and the team figured it out from there.

31-07-2021, 08:58 PM
Celtic good in possession but no end product. Hearts sitting off teams will get punished with pace. Good 3 points for Hearts.

31-07-2021, 08:59 PM
Celtic have a good goal disallowed, Hearts should be down to 10, Celtic dominate the game…. Only this mob could get so lucky.

Celtic are powder puff and have no spine. 2 very good saves by Gordon at the end. Ex Rangers season ticket holder Madden and the linesman played a big part in Hearts win though.

Aye that resilient they got relegated the season before last and are the most relegated team in SPL history. Hearts are nothing, the ghosts belong to Hibs, time to get over it.

Agree ref was at it late obviously didn't want to annoy his Rangers mates

31-07-2021, 09:00 PM
Apart from Souttar, Hearts are not strong at the back and relied on Gordon to save them. They've got fight though and did well not to give in. Their signing Baningime will be a star once he finds a role.

I foresee a few problems with the Jam tarts this season!

31-07-2021, 09:03 PM
Angie will be gone by Christmas.

Celtic will still finish second but they're seriously pish.

31-07-2021, 09:03 PM
Wouldn’t be calling hearts rubbish etc.

They had a game plan and it worked very well.

3 points on the board for them in a very difficult first fixture.

Let’s not pretend if we won that we wouldn’t be delighted.

Hearts issue is they often look good against the better teams and get good results. Yet somehow lose to the teams near the bottom of the league.

31-07-2021, 09:07 PM
Every team in the league would have been confident of beating Celtic at home considering the state they're in. Hearts did it but not at all convincingly. They're not very good.

Hearts got very lucky playing them on the opening day. Their manager hasn't had a chance to make the team his own and they are still suffering the Lennon and loss of 10 in a row effect. We know it take times to get over Lennon and sometimes more than a single manager to sort out the mess of a squad he has left in his last two jobs. We are very unfortunate to not play Celtic until the end of October. I suspect they will have a good few more players in by then

Lee Marvin
31-07-2021, 09:08 PM
Souttar was very good. Two new signings look promising. Hearts did ride their luck and played the worst Celtic team I've ever seen, but that is still a good win.

I still think the boos will be back by the end of August though

31-07-2021, 09:10 PM
What's the gig with the blaring music when interviews are happening. Absolute wierdos

31-07-2021, 09:10 PM
Wouldn’t be calling hearts rubbish etc.

They had a game plan and it worked very well.

3 points on the board for them in a very difficult first fixture.

Let’s not pretend if we won that we wouldn’t be delighted.

Hearts issue is they often look good against the better teams and get good results. Yet somehow lose to the teams near the bottom of the league.

It’s like playing a different sport at Tynie - honestly such a tight pitch to play on and no co-incidence they pick up so many points at home.

Celtic are awful - we have been saying this for months and this week showed again. Rangers probably can’t wait to play them in a few weeks could take 5 off them if they are in the mood.

31-07-2021, 09:11 PM
Souttar was very good. Two new signings look promising. Hearts did ride their luck and played the worst Celtic team I've ever seen, but that is still a good win.

The boos were happening during this game

31-07-2021, 09:11 PM
Been nearly six months since Celtic have won away from home apparent.

Hideous record.

Tommy75
31-07-2021, 09:12 PM
That was a pretty boring game apart from the last 5 minutes.

I don't think Hearts looked particularly dangerous going forward and Celtic never really asked any questions of them defensively (other than Gordon's 2 good saves).

hibstag
They've played into Hertz hands giving away stupid free kicks in and around the box...this new manager is on a hiding to nothing

That's how I saw it hearts barely had the ball for a 20 mins period in the 2nd half then they put haring on to hold it long enough to get fouled 30 yards out then shell it in worked in the cup final as they got to penalties and tonight 3pts from 30 odd percent possession. They'll do it against us too...

Sorry but nah. Souttar nowhere at Ralstons goal and also dragged out of position for the late one that Gordon saved. He’s not a great defender at all. Decent in possession.

I thought their new signing grew into the game and did pretty well. But he’s another Halliday/Haring type. They’ve no midfielders who can pass or dictate a game.

31-07-2021, 09:13 PM
A win is worth three points whether its lucky or deserved. That's a great result for the Jambos.

31-07-2021, 09:14 PM
Hearts love in begins on here I see

EVENTUALLY
31-07-2021, 09:16 PM

How did Halliday not get sent off.Tackling from behind with studs straight down the Celtic player's achilles. Never even got a ticking off.

Open Goal pals of course.

31-07-2021, 09:16 PM

I don’t quite follow you…

31-07-2021, 09:18 PM
Still laughing at how bad Celtic are.

Appointing Lennon was the worst decision Scottish football has seen in a long long time and everyone knew it at the time they done it.

Appointing Angie boy looks to be an even worse one. He’s a ****ing donkey :faf:

Allez Hibs
31-07-2021, 09:18 PM

31-07-2021, 09:20 PM
They have already won 25% of the games they won the last time they were in the big league

31-07-2021, 09:20 PM
I don’t quite follow you…

There are certainly some posters more defensive about Hearts than about their own team. It is odd behaviour.

31-07-2021, 09:22 PM
There are certainly some posters more defensive about Hearts than about their own team. It is odd behaviour.

I’m not sure I can agree with you, that was a very good result for them.

31-07-2021, 09:23 PM

Appointing Lennon was the worst decision Scottish football has seen in a long long time and everyone knew it at the time they done it.

You keep going on about this. Barring a few player selections I’m not sure what this manager could have done differently so far. Maybe playing Welsh tonight for one.

Hardly his fault he’s been left with this squad where 2/3 of the better players want away is it? His tactics were fine tonight, it’s individual players who have let them down.

EVENTUALLY
31-07-2021, 09:24 PM
Thought Abada looked like the new Bobby Petta but the loanee from Brighton did well to stay on his feet and defended well. Pity our English partnership club have gone a wee way to solving Hearts long standing left back difficulties.

31-07-2021, 09:24 PM

Eh?

31-07-2021, 09:25 PM

I didn’t say it wasn’t.

Thankfully your nor the Hibs manager

I know that they had put all their eggs in the Eddie Howe basket but why they appointed this guy baffles me. They’d have been better sticking with Kennedy or even going with someone who knows the league, club and has won silverware like Yogi or Stubbs. Would be a hugely unpopular and unfashionable signing but this guy is learning a new squad, club, league, nation and continent.

TelaStella
I think if that was any of the top 6 playing Celtic tonight it wouldn’t of been any different. I didn’t think a great deal of hearts, poor in possession and often lacking that drive in the 2nd half. Easily there for the taking but did well to stay in it and find the winner. Meh. We know how this goes so in no means should they be wrote off but I really don’t expect much of them over the course of the season, 6th of 5th will suit them comfortably. Worst Celtic team I’ve ever seen though and there will be plenty opportunities to remind ourselves of such over this season.

K-Zazu
31-07-2021, 09:27 PM
That Celtic manager will get sacked I’ll give him 8 games then he’s gone

Silky
31-07-2021, 09:27 PM

It was, but at the end of the day has absolutely no bearing on our season whatsoever. Our season will take care of itself.

Mrimbetween
31-07-2021, 09:28 PM
Aye that resilient they got relegated the season before last and are the most relegated team in SPL history. Hearts are nothing, the ghosts belong to Hibs, time to get over it.

Hearts aint all that as wee seen but a win at home against the two cheeks is always a bonus,, sure we would be chuffed with a 2-1 win

Anyways its all about smashing Well the morra

31-07-2021, 09:29 PM

What???!

31-07-2021, 09:32 PM
You keep going on about this. Barring a few player selections I’m not sure what this manager could have done differently so far. Maybe playing Welsh tonight for one.

Hardly his fault he’s been left with this squad where 2/3 of the better players want away is it? His tactics were fine tonight, it’s individual players who have let them down.

You don’t think he could have set them up any better against either Midget Land or Hearts?

Has he even won a game yet, either competitive or friendlies?

John Kennedy was doing a better job with the same players. And that’s saying something because he was ****ing horrendous.

He has the potential to be the worst appointment Celtic have made in recent history from the evidence so far. Absolutely zero experience of football in Scotland or even Europe. They wanted Eddie Howe and managed to come up with someone who has absolutely no similarities with Eddie Howe when they couldn’t get him? It’s like they’ve picked his name out a hat :faf:

The Captain....
31-07-2021, 09:33 PM
Thought Celtic really should have won that but for their obvious failings letting them down again, not sure their disallowed second goal was offside either.

Gordon really is worth at least a dozen points to Hearts a season..the marked difference between his saves and the comical positioning of Bain at Hearts 2nd goal was stark.

Was surprised Hearts didnt go with the big lad up front from the start, Celtic's defence cannot defend set peices so any crosses into the box are going to cause havoc. It was only when they reverted to type and started the aerial bombardment that they got on top and looked like winning the game.

Quite unbelievable how bad things have been allowed to get at Celtic. There seems to be nobody of any character left at the club and the position their Board have left a new manager in would have you wanting blood if you were a Celtic fan. The new CEO seems like a ghost..done absolutely nothing since coming in as far as I can see.

Chorley Hibee
31-07-2021, 09:33 PM
I'm going to console myself with the knowledge of what happened to Hibs (97/98) when they beat Celtic (Celtic with a new manager in charge too) 2-1 at home on the opening day of the season.

31-07-2021, 09:34 PM
You don’t think he could have set them up any better against either Midget Land or Hearts?

Has he even won a game yet, either competitive or friendlies?

John Kennedy was doing a better job with the same players. And that’s saying something because he was ****ing horrendous.

He wasn’t though. He had Ajer, Kenny, Laxalt, El Younussi for starters. Scott Brown.

Not the same at all.

mcohibs
31-07-2021, 09:34 PM

Sorry but if Postecoglou's managerial record suggests to you that he is a '****ing donkey' then you haven't a clue what you're talking about.

Problems at Celtic run deeper than the manager, that much has been clear for months. Their squad simply is nowhere near good enough at the moment.

31-07-2021, 09:35 PM
As far as I care about these things it was a decent game to watch. I dipped in and out and it seemed entertaining. Regardless of Celtic's troubles it's an excellent 3 points for Hearts. We'd be buzzing starting with a win v Celtic and so should they be.

The derby arguments will be as entirely predictable as ever so there's no point in getting involved. I've learned from years of experience, including 2 very recent experiences, that no matter what is happening with Hearts elsewhere we are unlikely to roll up and walk over them in a derby. I'm not panicking about playing them but I'm not foolish enough to predict anything other than a tight game when it rolls around.

31-07-2021, 09:36 PM
Sorry but if Postecoglou's managerial record suggests to you that he is a '****ing donkey' then you haven't a clue what you're talking about.

Problems at Celtic run deeper than the manager, that much has been clear for months. Their squad simply is nowhere near good enough at the moment.

We’ll see in a couple of months. A good record in Australian and Asian football counts for nothing at the level Celtic expect to be competing at. He’s already getting his excuses in for his shambolic start. He comes across as being miles out his depth.

Of course you know what you’re talking about though and clearly know the guy is an outstanding manager.

31-07-2021, 09:37 PM
I'm going to console myself with the knowledge of what happened to Hibs (97/98) when they beat Celtic (Celtic with a new manager in charge too) 2-1 at home on the opening day of the season.

Absolutely. And with a new Swedish striker by the name of Henrik Larsson. I remember the game well. Thought we were in for a fantastic season. Little did I know! Hopefully the same end result for the maroon balloons.

31-07-2021, 09:37 PM

Odd behaviour is grown men being that much in a huff and in denial about hearts getting a good result that they start having a go at other posters willing to admit that it was so.

Celtic were poor, hearts nicked it in the end. But we’d all be laughing at how pathetic the jambos are if they were streaming in to post how bad we are after we’d just turned an old firm side over in the first game of the season.

Of course it was a good result for them. It is what it is. Personally while they’re no world beaters, I think they look much improved since I last seen them play months ago.

I just hope we can do the business tomorrow and start 3 points ahead of Celtic. I would have taken a draw between them quite happily tonight, but the way I see it is we should finish above hearts this season regardless of tonight, and be looking to challenge Celtic, rather than looking behind us at the newly promoted championship outfit.

Very good result for hearts. No question. And nothing wrong with saying it.

31-07-2021, 09:38 PM
I thought a draw would have been rediculously harsh on Celtic but to lose the game is bizzare. Hearts offered nothing. Brilliant 3 points for them though.

Mrimbetween
31-07-2021, 09:39 PM
I may add i had a fiver on that clown Halliday to get booked at 11/4 gutted and robbed

31-07-2021, 09:43 PM
Odd behaviour is grown men being that much in a huff and in denial about hearts getting a good result that they start having a go at other posters willing to admit that it was so.

Celtic were poor, hearts nicked it in the end. But we’d all be laughing at how pathetic the jambos are if they were streaming in to post how bad we are after we’d just turned an old firm side over in the first game of the season.

Of course it was a good result for them. It is what it is. Personally while they’re no world beaters, I think they look much improved since I last seen them play months ago.

I just hope we can do the business tomorrow and start 3 points ahead of Celtic. I would have taken a draw between them quite happily tonight, but the way I see it is we should finish above hearts this season regardless of tonight, and be looking to challenge Celtic, rather than looking behind us at the newly promoted championship outfit.

Very good result for hearts. No question. And nothing wrong with saying it.

No, nothing wrong with saying that at all and I’m not talking generally about those saying so.

We do have 1 or 2 posters though that are ultra critical of anything we do, even when we are doing well, but are particularly keen to comment positively on Hearts.

31-07-2021, 09:45 PM
Going out on a limb there, Alf. Despite their shortcomings, I suspect most would expect Celtic to win. You could win a few bob for yourself, tho’.

Pity I'm not a gambling man Jim.
I'm surprised more of the posters on here don't know the script by now.

31-07-2021, 09:46 PM
No, nothing wrong with saying that at all and I’m not talking generally about those saying so.

We do have 1 or 2 posters though that are ultra critical of anything we do, even when we are doing well, but are particularly keen to comment positively on Hearts.

I was actually going to point out, Andy, that my post was more aimed at the ridiculous post before yours about “love in”.

Having said that, can’t say I’ve noticed posters rushing to speak positively about Hearts on here (in fact it’s one of the few things you don’t get on .net in my experience!) but that’s not to say they don’t exist, and I certainly agree we have more than our fair share of posters who only seem to appear when it’s time for them to stick the boot in to hibs.

Allez Hibs
31-07-2021, 09:48 PM

The Derbies this season are a big test for Jack Ross. Hearts result tonight makes that even more clear.

mcohibs
31-07-2021, 09:50 PM
We’ll see in a couple of months. A good record in Australian and Asian football counts for nothing at the level Celtic expect to be competing at. He’s already getting his excuses in for his shambolic start. He comes across as being miles out his depth.

Of course you know what you’re talking about though and clearly know the guy is an outstanding manager.

I don't know that he's an outstanding manager but he clearly isn't a '****ing donkey' is he? He's obviously a fairly successful football manager who's had a poor couple of poor results at a new club. Why does everything have to be hyperbole on here?

Either I have to think he's a ****ing donkey or he's outstanding? There's a fairly big gap in between.

31-07-2021, 09:52 PM
Hearts beat Rangers a couple of times at Tynecastle the same season we beat Hearts there. I don't think tonights game will have any bearing on the derby but if it did, on tonights showing, I'd very much fancy our chances.

31-07-2021, 09:53 PM

Like two years ago when they couldn’t stop beating us and Rangers but got relegated.:greengrin

Maybe 2nd is up for grabs this season.

I think it is, I don't imagine it will be easy but we should definitely be looking at it.

We made big steps last season, I don't think we dropped the ball by not challenging Celtic for 2nd last season but we need to push on and as they haven't strengthened then this is the goal we should be aiming for.

The Derbies this season are a big test for Jack Ross. Hearts result tonight makes that even more clear.

Exhibit A.

Mostly all Celtic but having Edouard still playing when it's obvious he can't be arsed is a big mistake, his negativity spreads through the team. Just don't understand why they haven't got rid of him yet, what's the hold up?

Both Hearts goals were down to defensive errors again, they worked hard and played a high press, we'll see how long they can keep that up or if they just up their game for big matches.

What we've learnt is Celtic are bang average and will struggle this season and Hearts are not to be underestimated.

31-07-2021, 09:54 PM

There may be, not sure who they are these days….there’s a lot more on here who will never countenance anything positive about anything to do with Hearts. Understandable I guess on a Hibs forum, but it doesn’t enhance the football discussion on here.

Hearts were dominated for 75 mins, yet still won…exploring that can be interesting football chat - certainly haven’t seen anything remotely near “love in” comments on here today .

31-07-2021, 10:00 PM
Mostly all Celtic but having Edouard still playing when it's obvious he can't be arsed is a big mistake, his negativity spreads through the team. Just don't understand why they haven't got rid of him yet, what's the hold up?

Both Hearts goals were down to defensive errors again, they worked hard and played a high press, we'll see how long they can keep that up or if they just up their game for big matches.

What we've learnt is Celtic are bang average and will struggle this season and Hearts are not to be underestimated.

Agree with most of your post but I actually think Edouard showed a couple of times why he’s still in the team. He’s the one bit of real top quality they have left so must be frustrating as f*** they’re not getting the best out of him. Wasn’t in the game as much as he should have been tonight given their possession but I wouldn’t assume he doesn’t still have something to offer, and him in his current state may well still be easily their best option?

31-07-2021, 10:00 PM
That Celtic manager will get sacked I’ll give him 8 games then he’s gone

Hopefully gets 11 league games so we can beat them.

31-07-2021, 10:05 PM
I’d like to think Jack Ross and the players won’t make a mess of the derby like they did the last two, where losing either was a disgrace, never mind both.

They’re not that good, they were playing against a rank Celtic team.

31-07-2021, 10:06 PM
Both team were utter pony. Anyone thinking otherwise is nuts. I watched it with a Celtic and hearts fan. Both were embarrassed

Allez Hibs
31-07-2021, 10:07 PM
I’d like to think Jack Ross and the players won’t make a mess of the derby like they did the last two, where losing either was a disgrace, never mind both.

We'd all like to think that!

Allez Hibs
31-07-2021, 10:08 PM
Exhibit A.

The Derbies are a big test this season though!

31-07-2021, 10:21 PM
Exhibit A.

The guy is a plum. All he cares about his hearts games.

31-07-2021, 10:24 PM
Both team were utter pony. Anyone thinking otherwise is nuts. I watched it with a Celtic and hearts fan. Both were embarrassed

You watched the game with a Hearts fan who was embarrassed at beating Celtic on the first game of the season?

Nuts indeed. And hard to believe.

31-07-2021, 10:31 PM
so, 10/3 was indeed a pretty astute punt = £40 profit

thank you hea..i mean cel.. awk whoever :)

Hibs/Aberdeen tomorrow

31-07-2021, 10:34 PM
We're 14/1 to finish in the top 2 just now with Sky Bet if anyone fancies a bet.

31-07-2021, 10:48 PM
You watched the game with a Hearts fan who was embarrassed at beating Celtic on the first game of the season?

Nuts indeed. And hard to believe.

He’s a decent guy. Gave up his ST last year due to the poor team he was watching. Loves his club but hates the way they are currently playing football. He’s a well qualified coach in the SFA. He was embarrassed watching the game.

mcohibs
31-07-2021, 10:50 PM
We're 14/1 to finish in the top 2 just now with Sky Bet if anyone fancies a bet.

Lets see how we get on tomorrow first :greengrin

31-07-2021, 11:03 PM
He’s a decent guy. Gave up his ST last year due to the poor team he was watching. Loves his club but hates the way they are currently playing football. He’s a well qualified coach in the SFA. He was embarrassed watching the game.

Coach with Spartans?

31-07-2021, 11:09 PM
Lets see how we get on tomorrow first :greengrin

Just to be clear I don't think we'll finish 2nd.

31-07-2021, 11:41 PM
It was best time to play Celtic especially with home advantage
New Manager not yet settled in Just back from a very poor away performance in Europe Squad still not reshaped and some of the dross from last season sill there

31-07-2021, 11:45 PM

Chucked £20 on it. Had a few quid in the Sky Bet account from the Each Way Scottish Cup bet and Hibs to win the league without Celtic and Rangers. Funnily enough we're also 14/1 there to win without Rangers which you'd think should be ever so slightly longer odds than the top 2 finish. Also stuck £10 on at Betway at 9/4 on us without Rangers and Celtic and got a £10 free bet which went on the same. Ross out if he doesn't make me a few quid. 😀

cubehindthegoal
01-08-2021, 12:19 AM
Cetic gonna be 25 points behind rangers by october at this rate, pleasing...

Was this a quote from Kickback ?

cubehindthegoal
01-08-2021, 12:23 AM
Pretty content with this if we win tomorrow. Keeps Celtic in and around us, and Hearts have won by doing naff all basically.

totally agree

cubehindthegoal
01-08-2021, 12:36 AM

That doesn’t address what was said though, does it ?

King Cosell
01-08-2021, 12:46 AM

If we go into the winter break in 5th place, 15 pts behind Aberdeen in 3rd, but with 2 derby wins under our belt, I'll be disappointed.

If we're 3rd, 5 pts ahead of Aberdeen in 4th, but with only 1 pt from the 2 derbies, I'll be happy.

01-08-2021, 12:48 AM
It was best time to play Celtic especially with home advantage
New Manager not yet settled in Just back from a very poor away performance in Europe Squad still not reshaped and some of the dross from last season sill there

No away support as well. A very good time to get Celtic tbh. As as been said, last time Celtic lost an opening day game was at ER in 1997. Didn't do us much good as we went on to relegated that season. 😉

01-08-2021, 12:48 AM
**** hearts

01-08-2021, 04:43 AM
Robbie Nielson solidifying his job was the best thing about last night.

01-08-2021, 06:44 AM
No away support as well. A very good time to get Celtic tbh. As as been said, last time Celtic lost an opening day game was at ER in 1997. Didn't do us much good as we went on to relegated that season. [emoji6]

Maybe your last paragraph is an omen lol

01-08-2021, 07:10 AM
I don't know that he's an outstanding manager but he clearly isn't a '****ing donkey' is he? He's obviously a fairly successful football manager who's had a poor couple of poor results at a new club. Why does everything have to be hyperbole on here?

Either I have to think he's a ****ing donkey or he's outstanding? There's a fairly big gap in between.

The evidence so far would suggest he is a ****ing donkey. I’m not sure why you seem to be so defensive of him.

3 competitive games, 3 bad results.

A horsing in a friendly.

Admitting himself that he’s not managing to convince players to sign for him. Guys like Starfelt that he has managed to sign look like Duffy MKII. He talks about only wanting guys that want to play for Celtic but persists with Edouard, a player who may be the most obvious example of not wanting to be at a club I’ve ever seen. The guy is all over the shop.

01-08-2021, 08:00 AM
Robbie Nielson solidifying his job was the best thing about last night.

Suppose so, but when your team has only 26% possession in a game, love in won’t last for long

The Count
01-08-2021, 08:04 AM
Watching the game last night and Hearts fans were getting on the managers back about sitting back hoping for a draw.They win and Robbie celebrates as though he has won the Champions League.He knows he is under pressure from his own fans and time will tell.Good/lucky 3 points for them unfortunately.

01-08-2021, 08:14 AM
Watching the game last night and Hearts fans were getting on the managers back about sitting back hoping for a draw.They win and Robbie celebrates as though he has won the Champions League.He knows he is under pressure from his own fans and time will tell.Good/lucky 3 points for them unfortunately.

Good result for them last night. I think St Mirren will beat them on Saturday.

Fuzzywuzzy
01-08-2021, 09:10 AM
Just read that the creamies arent having the championship flag unfurling until the Celtic game. Surely they should have been told to get it done yesterday?

01-08-2021, 09:14 AM
Just read that the creamies arent having the championship flag unfurling until the Celtic game. Surely they should have been told to get it done yesterday?

They are saying they don’t want to do it, until all their fans are back in the ground

Fuzzywuzzy
01-08-2021, 09:18 AM
They are saying they don’t want to do it, until all their fans are back in the ground

I saw that, probably more of a **** you to Celtic. Decision should never be theirs to make

01-08-2021, 09:25 AM
I saw that, probably more of a **** you to Celtic. Decision should never be theirs to make

No way they should be allowed to contrive that to be at the Celtic game however one rule for them one rule for everyone else

01-08-2021, 09:26 AM

Also in dispute with SPFL about the the cinch title sponsorship
Didn’t feature their logo on shirts or around the stadium
They think they are top dogs again, can do what they want

01-08-2021, 09:27 AM

Robbie’s number is up. Just a matter of time till some of the better teams give them a hiding.

01-08-2021, 09:27 AM
Also in dispute with SPFL about the the cinch title sponsorship
Didn’t feature their logo on shirts or around the stadium
Think they are top dogs again, can do what they want

Why do they have an issue with the league premiership? Shambles of a club

01-08-2021, 10:03 AM

Probably because it starts with a C or something bizarre like that.

01-08-2021, 10:51 AM
They probably see cinch as a Cafflic or nationalist organisation. Wonder what the letters stand for?

01-08-2021, 11:50 AM
**** hearts

Your shortest & best post! :wink:

01-08-2021, 11:52 AM
They probably see cinch as a Cafflic or nationalist organisation. Wonder what the letters stand for?

Catholic Irish National Celtic Huddle ... or something

01-08-2021, 12:30 PM
The evidence so far would suggest he is a ****ing donkey. I’m not sure why you seem to be so defensive of him.

3 competitive games, 3 bad results.

A horsing in a friendly.

Admitting himself that he’s not managing to convince players to sign for him. Guys like Starfelt that he has managed to sign look like Duffy MKII. He talks about only wanting guys that want to play for Celtic but persists with Edouard, a player who may be the most obvious example of not wanting to be at a club I’ve ever seen. The guy is all over the shop.

Personally I think you are way OTT, you’ve got the guy down as a clown before his first domestic game was even finished. It’s like when Alan Stubbs came into Hibs and he had to field the likes of Paul Heffernan or Michael Nelson a few times. That hardly made him clueless, it was just the necessity of the hand he’d been dealt.

Celtic were doing fine in their European game until a blatant offside was missed and Bitton had a moment of madness. Hardly something Postecoglou could control. Last night they were the victim of more bad refereeing in a game they could easily have won. It’s fine lines but again, the manager has only been there about 3 weeks, it’s not gonna change overnight.

He could easily end up sacked quite quickly. But nothing so far suggests he’s out of his depth. Anyone coming into the same situation would toil.

01-08-2021, 12:49 PM
Shocker from Halliday. No booking cos he's Maddens pal :confused:

Missed a bit of the game last night, just saw this just now
A terrible tackle that should have been a clear red

1 8 7 5
01-08-2021, 12:50 PM
**** hearts

Post of the day.

01-08-2021, 01:14 PM

Absolutely.....no attempt to play the ball....get off !

The hearts certainly got the breaks...what with that decision, and the disallowed goal. Has the rule changed around offside, cos last time I looked you couldn't score with your arm.

Jammy gits

01-08-2021, 01:42 PM

Maybe as current chief Hun, Douglas Park, owns Park Motor Group and the likes of cinch are making it easier for people to buy cars without getting fleeced by dodgy car salesmen?

01-08-2021, 02:21 PM

Yep clear game changing decision not to send off or even book or speak to the player. Clear attempt to injure McGregor. Should be looked at restrospectively

01-08-2021, 02:22 PM
Maybe as current chief Hun, Douglas Park, owns Park Motor Group and the likes of cinch are making it easier for people to buy cars without getting fleeced by dodgy car salesmen?

Even so :greengrin

01-08-2021, 02:26 PM
Personally I think you are way OTT, you’ve got the guy down as a clown before his first domestic game was even finished. It’s like when Alan Stubbs came into Hibs and he had to field the likes of Paul Heffernan or Michael Nelson a few times. That hardly made him clueless, it was just the necessity of the hand he’d been dealt.

Celtic were doing fine in their European game until a blatant offside was missed and Bitton had a moment of madness. Hardly something Postecoglou could control. Last night they were the victim of more bad refereeing in a game they could easily have won. It’s fine lines but again, the manager has only been there about 3 weeks, it’s not gonna change overnight.

He could easily end up sacked quite quickly. But nothing so far suggests he’s out of his depth. Anyone coming into the same situation would toil.

The hysteria over Celtics poor start is also a reflection of the pathetic media we have, sports desks want dramatic stories to sell to their Rangers Celtic readership. Strachan lost heavily to the Slovakian champions in his first game as Celtic manager, survived some poor results in the league, knocked out of the league cup by Clyde, but went on to recover and have a broadly successful time as manager. The Aussie seems to be well thought of in the game and it’s far too early to write them off.

01-08-2021, 02:29 PM
Aberdeen ain't dropping points here

not whilst i have them in my treble anyway ;)

01-08-2021, 02:31 PM
Mistake from the Utd goalie who was outstanding when he played against us.

01-08-2021, 02:33 PM
Mistake from the Utd goalie who was outstanding when he played against us.

Yep really slow off his line thought hint of offside

Souter96Mac
01-08-2021, 02:34 PM
United look pretty poor from the opening 30 mins. Aberdeen not looking anything special either, Considine has made a couple errors already.

01-08-2021, 02:38 PM
United look pretty poor from the opening 30 mins. Aberdeen not looking anything special either, Considine has made a couple errors already.

Aberdeen much more possession based team. Their two forwards look good especially Jet. United been very passive and sitting in. Aberdeen don't look all that defensively. The irony of Aberdeen moaning about United rotational fouling wasn't lost.

01-08-2021, 03:07 PM
2-0 game over

01-08-2021, 03:07 PM
I know utd are pish but aberdeen might actually be good again this season sadly

01-08-2021, 03:12 PM
United are 💩

01-08-2021, 03:47 PM

Would all these excuses have been made for Lennon and Kennedy? Of course they wouldn’t.

The guy will be an absolute disaster at Celtic.

01-08-2021, 10:40 PM

I had to double-check that’s they’d actually lost their Euro tie. Foster and Miller were waxing lyrical you’d never have known. What is it with the Aberdeen love-in? Talking up the game is one thing but really - editorial direction strikes yet again?

02-08-2021, 07:34 AM
I had to double-check that’s they’d actually lost their Euro tie. Foster and Miller were waxing lyrical you’d never have known. What is it with the Aberdeen love-in? Talking up the game is one thing but really - editorial direction strikes yet again?

They certainly look better and Brown will help in that regard they look like they have a goal threat now with two good forwards. More of a passing team and will be interesting to see how they develop but certainly stronger looking at the moment.

SJNB Hibby
02-08-2021, 10:16 AM
Canada 1-0 USA, FINALLY, revenge for London 2012

02-08-2021, 10:34 AM
Would all these excuses have been made for Lennon and Kennedy? Of course they wouldn’t.

The guy will be an absolute disaster at Celtic.

Personally I think it’s too early to write him off. We shall see.

02-08-2021, 11:42 AM
Kilmarnock v Ayr United

Kick Off 7.45pm tonight

The BBC Scotland Channel

02-08-2021, 11:55 AM
Kilmarnock v Ayr United

Kick Off 7.45pm tonight

The BBC Scotland Channel

Looking forward to this one Billy. A few ex Hibees at Killie, but Ayr have started well

02-08-2021, 12:25 PM
Looking forward to this one Billy. A few ex Hibees at Killie, but Ayr have started well

Also good to see the Dundee and Edinburgh derbies back for one season at least :greengrin

02-08-2021, 06:04 PM

Also good to see the Dundee and Edinburgh derbies back for one season at least :greengrin

All 3 ex Hibees starting tonight. Also just over 3,600 are allowed in tonight, no away fans

02-08-2021, 07:12 PM
A lot of huff and puff in the Ayrshire derby but not a lot of good football on show.

02-08-2021, 07:15 PM
A lot of huff and puff in the Ayrshire derby but not a lot of good football on show.

I agree, but you don’t see too many good games on this Killie pitch

JimboHibs
02-08-2021, 07:16 PM

The Killie pitch is horrible.delighted they were relegated , wouldn't mind Livi joining them.

02-08-2021, 07:22 PM
The Killie pitch is horrible.delighted they were relegated , wouldn't mind Livi joining them.

Only one this season in the top flight, versus 3 last season

02-08-2021, 07:26 PM
Used to live in Ayr. Dislike both teams.

Renfrew_Hibby
02-08-2021, 07:30 PM
Used to live in Ayr. Dislike both teams.

I'm originally from Ayr. Hope they do Killie

02-08-2021, 07:32 PM
Is Fraser Murray playing ?

:cb

02-08-2021, 07:34 PM
Is Fraser Murray playing ?

:cb

Man of the match in previous couple of Killie games so you would think so

02-08-2021, 07:44 PM
I'm originally from Ayr. Hope they do Killie

Me too

JimboHibs
02-08-2021, 07:47 PM
Showed the goals from Raith v Hamilton , Berra's defending at the equaliser shown in slow motion 🙈🤣 FFS give it up and let a young lad have a chance hes an imposter now , was a cracking defender.

02-08-2021, 07:54 PM
the boy has to score with that header, think he's the one that was on loan at Ayr last season, maybe doesn't want to hurt them :)

02-08-2021, 07:58 PM
1-0 the pies

02-08-2021, 08:00 PM
Killie have been the better side and deserve their lead. Burke has been the standout.

02-08-2021, 08:01 PM
Man of the match in previous couple of Killie games so you would think so

He’s playing. Been pretty anonymous to be honest but killie’s attack tend to come down the other side

02-08-2021, 08:21 PM
Killie have been the better side and deserve their lead. Burke has been the standout.

He could still be playing in the SPL. He is a stick out at this level.

02-08-2021, 08:24 PM
He’s playing. Been pretty anonymous to be honest but killie’s attack tend to come down the other side

Pity he needs to be more consistent with his form

02-08-2021, 08:28 PM
That looks like it hit the defender's chest and the ref gave a penalty.

02-08-2021, 08:30 PM
Pity he needs to be more consistent with his form

Aye probably, genuinely think that’s his level to be honest

02-08-2021, 08:47 PM
That looks like it hit the defender's chest and the ref gave a penalty.

Every game seems to have at least one major mistake by the ref these days.

02-08-2021, 08:47 PM
How bad was that penalty decision absolutely horrific

03-08-2021, 10:04 AM
Malmo v The Rangers

Kick Off 6.00 pm

Premier Sports

03-08-2021, 10:05 AM
How bad was that penalty decision absolutely horrific

Shocking spoiled the game

SJNB Hibby
03-08-2021, 04:57 PM
Malmo v The Rangers

Kick Off 6.00 pm

Premier Sports

Bohemians in action later today, hopefully our opponents in the next round

03-08-2021, 05:14 PM
Craigan why? Got to be said watched the Rangers Livi game also and the ridiculous pedestal that Steven Davis gets put on is ridiculous. You would be forgiven for thinking he was Toni Kross the ridiculous sycophantic nonsense that gets spoken about him. Actually like him as a player but dear oh dear.

03-08-2021, 05:17 PM
The cinch dodgers on Premier just now

03-08-2021, 05:20 PM
Scott Wright has learned early no contact rolling about getting the boy a yellow 5 mins after he should have had one.

03-08-2021, 05:23 PM
Bohemians in action later today, hopefully our opponents in the next round

Is it on TV in Ireland do you know?

Magpie
03-08-2021, 06:03 PM
Malmö 1-0 Rangers

03-08-2021, 06:04 PM
2-0 Malmö

03-08-2021, 06:04 PM
Good finish for 2-0

03-08-2021, 06:05 PM
Day 671

Sitting with Pandora and with my Orange Rangers tracksuit on watching the most successful team ever in world football until 2012 on Premier Sports in my bedsit in Sheffield

Ooops sorry wrong thread :greengrin

F#ck 1-0 Malmo

03-08-2021, 06:06 PM
🇸🇪🇸🇪

Boy sold mcgregor a beaut for Malmö’s 2nd

Oh ma sides.🤣🤣 What lovely viewing a hun pumping makes.

03-08-2021, 06:07 PM
Some team Malmö

03-08-2021, 06:08 PM
I’ve written a nice wee haiku about this game:

Hahahahaha
Hahahahahahaha
Hahahahaha

Magpie
03-08-2021, 06:10 PM
You love to see it. Dirty dirty Rangers.

03-08-2021, 06:15 PM
I switched in on at half time and the first 5 minutes or so of the second half were just beautiful.

It was like being back with the Sevco franchise we grew to love over the past decade.

03-08-2021, 06:15 PM
Didn't one of Abba have a Hun dad?

03-08-2021, 06:17 PM

Bjorn on the 12th of July, apparently.

03-08-2021, 06:19 PM

Waterloser.

03-08-2021, 06:21 PM
Hahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha.................... ....:faf::faf::faf::faf:....pppaaaaaaarrrrrrpppppp p.....hahahahahahaha.................

Jakhog1
03-08-2021, 06:29 PM

Take a chance on (21st) May

03-08-2021, 06:30 PM
I switched in on at half time and the first 5 minutes or so of the second half were just beautiful.

It was like being back with the Sevco franchise we grew to love over the past decade.
I watched the first half. Nipped up just before the second to put a dried washing away. Missed both goals. :rolleyes::rolleyes:

03-08-2021, 06:40 PM
PSV 3 v 0 Midtjyland

38 minutes gone

03-08-2021, 06:41 PM
**** the huns.

Torto7
03-08-2021, 06:42 PM
**** the huns.

One more please Malmo just to make sure.

Radge70
03-08-2021, 06:48 PM
Does their Mother know?

03-08-2021, 06:48 PM
still fancy Sevco to go through at Grayskull

03-08-2021, 06:51 PM
2-1, last kick of the ball.

03-08-2021, 06:53 PM
Booooo...... well at least away goals don't count double any more....

bohemians v PAOK on now.

Greeks dominating the early possession and missed a sitter inside 2 mins blazing over from a spill by the keeper from inside 6 yards

I fancy Malmo to follow up with a 7-0 win there.

Magpie

Draw, Malmö to progress.

03-08-2021, 06:56 PM
Disappointing to see the Hun score in injury time, but a defeats a defeat.

03-08-2021, 06:58 PM
Draw, Malmö to progress.

I fancy Malmo to follow up with a 7-0 win there.

wishful thinking i'm afraid :wink: only one winner, even before that consolation goal

03-08-2021, 07:04 PM
Did she call him last night from Glasgow?

poulton hibs
03-08-2021, 07:14 PM
1-0 Bohemians

03-08-2021, 07:15 PM
Bohemians 1 up

03-08-2021, 07:16 PM
1-0 Bohemians

Yes!

03-08-2021, 07:29 PM
Struggling to believe that a powerhouse of European football in PAOK are losing to Bohemians. Crazy!

03-08-2021, 07:40 PM
That was a vital goal for The Rangers 2012, with the last kick of the game. They have everything to play for next week.

03-08-2021, 07:44 PM
Bohemians 1 up

Some score but they are 20 odd games in to their season I think and the Greek league hasn't started yet.

03-08-2021, 07:44 PM
Why is the PAOK game on today instead of Thurs?

03-08-2021, 07:56 PM
Bohemians 1 up

2-0

Souter96Mac
03-08-2021, 07:57 PM
Wow great effort from them.

03-08-2021, 08:36 PM
2-1 bohemians just coming up to full time

Green Man
03-08-2021, 08:56 PM
Why is the PAOK game on today instead of Thurs?

Shamrock Rovers are at home on Thursday, I can only guess it’s because of that.

03-08-2021, 09:41 PM
Where were half the Rangers team? Have they had a Covid outbreak or something?

03-08-2021, 09:43 PM

Injured. Morelos is isolating still.

03-08-2021, 09:44 PM
Injured. Morelos is isolating still.

Was surprised to see so many noticeable absentees. Nae luck Hun pricks.

03-08-2021, 09:44 PM
Roofe suspended Freddo isolating

04-08-2021, 05:03 AM
Pretty ominous that the huns got a decent result with half a team missing

04-08-2021, 06:20 AM
Pretty ominous that the huns got a decent result with half a team missing

Depending on how many of them are back next week.

Roofe, Kent, Morelos, Jack, Aribo. Even two of them would make a big difference to what was a poor starting line up.

04-08-2021, 06:25 AM
Depending on how many of them are back next week.

Roofe, Kent, Morelos, Jack, Aribo. Even two of them would make a big difference to what was a poor starting line up.
Kent started last night

04-08-2021, 06:39 AM
Kent started last night

Apologies, so he did. I can’t remember if I was thinking of someone else and I’ve typed the wrong name or if I just added him in :greengrin

04-08-2021, 07:01 AM
Apologies, so he did. I can’t remember if I was thinking of someone else and I’ve typed the wrong name or if I just added him in :greengrin
Was thinking about changing my handle to Pedantic but already taken :greengrin

04-08-2021, 11:53 AM
It appears that Midtjylland played an ineligible player, Juninho, against Celtc. Possible reprieve for Celtc in the champions league?

04-08-2021, 02:24 PM
It appears that Midtjylland played an ineligible player, Juninho, against Celtc. Possible reprieve for Celtc in the champions league?

Hope so, just to p*ss of the huns!!

04-08-2021, 04:15 PM
Hope so, just to p*ss of the huns!!

Wonder when they would play the first leg of this round?

04-08-2021, 05:35 PM
Anyone needing a football fix then Ajax vs Leeds at 19:15 on LIVEnow wherever that channel is located and also Chelsea vs Spurs and Leicester City v Villarreal at 19:45 which is on YouTube.

04-08-2021, 07:11 PM
Anyone needing a football fix then Ajax vs Leeds at 19:15 on LIVEnow wherever that channel is located and also Chelsea vs Spurs and Leicester City v Villarreal at 19:45 which is on YouTube.

Watching the Chelsea Spurs game. Spurs getting schooled big time.

04-08-2021, 07:19 PM
missed the first 45 but Ajax hammering Leeds 3-0 at HT

04-08-2021, 08:14 PM
Watching the Chelsea Spurs game. Spurs getting schooled big time.

Quite enjoying it, Desmond now! 😉

04-08-2021, 09:36 PM
Quite enjoying it, Desmond now! 😉

Yep decent crowd for a friendly

Magpie
05-08-2021, 12:31 AM
Hibernian 2-1 Arsenal

05-08-2021, 06:40 AM
How come BBC Scotland can show the first leg of st Johnstone tonight?

05-08-2021, 07:11 AM

Presumably Premier Sports didn't pick it up.

05-08-2021, 08:03 AM

I can't find it on my TV guide, but the Celtc game is on BBC scotland at 4:30

05-08-2021, 11:36 AM
I can't find it on my TV guide, but the Celtc game is on BBC scotland at 4:30

Ok thanks just seen that, something to watch when I get home from work before the Hibs game.