View Full Version : Match Updates 2021-22 season non-Hibs games thread

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 [67] 68 69 70 71

13-05-2022, 08:30 PM
League one is gonna be some league next season.

Alloa
Clyde
Dunfermline
Edinburgh City
Falkirk
Kelty Hearts
Montrose
Peterhead
Queen of the South
Queen's Park/Airdrie

Looks very competitive.

13-05-2022, 08:31 PM
Damn!!!!

Great minds mate haha

hibby rae
13-05-2022, 08:32 PM

Alloa
Clyde
Dunfermline
Falkirk
Edinburgh City
Kelty Hearts
Montrose
Peterhead
Queen of the South
Queen's Park/Airdrie

Looks very competitive.

Edinburgh City's goal just has to be staying up I reckon

Great minds mate haha

Fastest finger first

Fuzzywuzzy
Congratulations to city - some Hibs connection🤣

hibby rae
13-05-2022, 08:33 PM
edin city goalie just pulled off two amazing saves

Brilliant from Schwake throughout the second half

13-05-2022, 08:34 PM
Fastest finger first

Fastest high five for Ryan Stevenson.

13-05-2022, 08:36 PM
Inverness currently down to 8 men.

13-05-2022, 08:36 PM
If ICT are playing for pens I have full faith that these Arbroath players will kill them off before.

cannastar
13-05-2022, 08:39 PM
really enjoyable game at annan well done to both teams. despite not qualifying annan for the majority of the game played decent football on the floor building out from the back couple of talented individuals number 4 moxon in paticular dood engine and eye for a pass. credit to peter murphy and the coaching staff and alan maybury and his. innes murrays goal top drawer and edinburgh goalie three outstanding second half saves.

13-05-2022, 08:40 PM
Genuinely struggling to understand these BBC pundits saying it's not a red card.

e2los
13-05-2022, 08:40 PM

Alloa
Clyde
Dunfermline
Falkirk
Edinburgh City
Kelty Hearts
Montrose
Peterhead
Queen of the South
Queen's Park/Airdrie

Looks very competitive.

As a Fifer, I'd love to see games at Dunfermline and Falkirk again..

Hopefully not next season.

Lost my £20 bet but the more we see the Red card it was a rugby tackle.

13-05-2022, 08:54 PM
Arbroath are ****ing it here.

e2los
13-05-2022, 08:55 PM
Looked pretty close re the Hamilton header... ie wasn't too far off.

13-05-2022, 08:58 PM
As a Fifer, I'd love to see games at Dunfermline and Falkirk again..

Hopefully not next season.

Lost my £20 bet but the more we see the Red card it was a rugby tackle.

I'm the same. I actually have a wee soft spot for Dunfermline. Great history, good fan base and East End a good wee stadium. Oh and I was born there! I'd like Falkirk to be in Premiership too. Bit of needle after our "adventure".

13-05-2022, 08:59 PM
Genuinely struggling to understand these BBC pundits saying it's not a red card.

Leanne Crichton is painful to listen to and font understand how they don't see the mid air rugby tackle as a foul 🤣

ehf
13-05-2022, 09:00 PM
Arbroath are ****ing it here.

:agree: ICT are winning this on penalties.

13-05-2022, 09:02 PM
:agree: ICT are winning this on penalties.

Yep that's how I see it too.

e2los
13-05-2022, 09:06 PM
BBC informing us that the episode of Still Game will follow after the Arbroath/ICT game...

Re commentary Michael does talk a load of manure.

13-05-2022, 09:07 PM
Second Inverness player sent off.

That's a howler from Collum

Scandalous from Collum.

13-05-2022, 09:08 PM
Willie Collumn is some ref likes [emoji23][emoji23]

Mikey Stewart giving him it tight

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

JamesHFC
Referee of the Scottish Cup final btw 🤣

Scottish referees

13-05-2022, 09:09 PM
Collum is a big tick in the incompetent rather than cheats column. He's a total idiot. I suppose some could be both. How he has reached the level he has is beyond me.

e2los
13-05-2022, 09:09 PM
Scandalous from Collum.

I dunno, looked like red ie another reckless challenge to me.

13-05-2022, 09:10 PM
Collum is a card happy clown. Utterly abysmal referee.

Hibdan12
13-05-2022, 09:10 PM
Yellow card all day long. Mikey Stewart talks some crap

13-05-2022, 09:11 PM

Mikey Stewart having one of those days where he just gets it all wrong!

13-05-2022, 09:12 PM

I quite like him. Says it how it is.

Team in maroon blowing it against a 9 man ICT…

I don't think that's a harsh booking.

Hit the bar

e2los
13-05-2022, 09:13 PM
BBC commentary so awful as usual..

Arbroath almost scored.

13-05-2022, 09:14 PM
Can see Caley winning this on pens…

Arbroath have ****ed it

And more yellows 🙄

e2los
13-05-2022, 09:15 PM
Can see Caley winning this on pens…

Hope not as they don't deserve it.

Caley will win this on pens 😒 undeserving

Some defensive performance from Inverness. You'd have to think neither team would have a hope against St Johnstone.

Collum is a joke

OstKurve Hibs
13-05-2022, 09:16 PM
Willie cullum even more brutal than normal, didnt think that was possible.....absolute effin prick of a guy.

13-05-2022, 09:17 PM
Some defensive performance from Inverness. You'd have to think neither team would have a hope against St Johnstone.

St Johnstone will stay up, they'll beat either of these sides.

Keyser Sauzee
13-05-2022, 09:17 PM
Was Dick and Ian having a barney there?

13-05-2022, 09:18 PM
St Johnstone will stay up, they'll beat either of these sides.
Poor standard tonight, penalties the only excitement.

1-0 Inverness

super arbroath no one likes them and they don't care

intae these maroon-clad gimps caley

1-1

St Johnstone or Inverness next season. What a grim thought.

e2los
13-05-2022, 09:19 PM
Mon Arbroath!

1-1

13-05-2022, 09:19 PM
2-1 Inverness

13-05-2022, 09:20 PM
2-2

e2los
Kinda wondering if this will take hours to finish.

3-2 Inverness

13-05-2022, 09:21 PM
3-3

Good pen by Welsh

Cracking pens so far

4-3 Inverness

Good penalties so far

13-05-2022, 09:22 PM
Oops...

4-3 Inverness - Arbroath miss.

e2los
urgh

What a crap pen…

Inverness win 5-3 on penalties.

13-05-2022, 09:23 PM
ICT deserve that after hanging on.

Arbroath only have themselves to blame. Some effort Inverness.

e2los
ICT suck.... grrrr

Diddy Dodds and bbc delighted.

13-05-2022, 09:25 PM
caley will be staying in the league they're in anyway

13-05-2022, 09:27 PM
Arbroath up would have been a bit different. ****ing Inverness or St Johnstone. Grim.

e2los
13-05-2022, 09:29 PM
I'm I the only one who would rather have Dick Campbell as our next manager instead of Lee Johnstone?
Arbroath have had an epic season.

13-05-2022, 09:30 PM
innes murray goal, unfortunately it's a BBC Alba camera so lower than SD quality :)

Annan Athletic 2-1 Edinburgh City (agg 2-3): Visitors promoted to Scottish League 1 for first time - BBC Sport (https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/61343061)

green with envy
13-05-2022, 09:30 PM
I'm I the only one who would rather have Dick Campbell as our next manager instead of Lee Johnstone?

I really hope so.

13-05-2022, 09:31 PM
Kirk Broadfoot was MOTM !? I’m I living in a parallel universe?!

13-05-2022, 09:34 PM

Not a chance. That’s mental.

13-05-2022, 09:35 PM
Arbroath up would have been a bit different. ****ing Inverness or St Johnstone. Grim.

I like Inverness as an Away day. Cracking town with some great bars. Hope they beat the Saints.

13-05-2022, 09:36 PM

Yes it's just you.

13-05-2022, 09:39 PM
Arbroath have had an epic season.Hopefully

e2los
13-05-2022, 09:39 PM
When I was going to Scotland games and Dodds was playing was at Hampden for a futile game against a random eastern European team.

My loud mouthed Aberdeen supporting mate yelled stupidly loud "Dodds, Dodds!!"

He came over and was met with... "You Fanny!!"

Felt sorry for Dodds at that point in time to be honest.

Dick Campbell showing some class on his bbc interview.

e2los
13-05-2022, 09:43 PM
Yes it's just you.

Probably not too far off, but really their players were up for it..

Anyway.. time for some random Still game episode.

13-05-2022, 10:45 PM

Yes

13-05-2022, 10:48 PM
Willie cullum even more brutal than normal, didnt think that was possible.....absolute effin prick of a guy.

No accountability for pathetic decisions and he has been rewarded with the Scottish cup final. Doesn't have a clue

13-05-2022, 10:59 PM
Probably not too far off, but really their players were up for it..

Anyway.. time for some random Still game episode.

I don't particularly want Lee Johnson but Dick Campbell is a lower league manager and has found his perfect level with Arbroath.

14-05-2022, 09:59 AM
I like a trip to Inverness. Nice train journey from Edinburgh and decent city for a few pints pre match.

Beats the out of town retail park vibe going on at McDiarmid so for that reason I hope ICT come up.

Oh and I have an irration hatred of Zander Clark as well so seeing him relegated would make me very happy.

14-05-2022, 10:44 AM
Would like to see Inverness up next season as it's one of the few senior grounds I haven't been to yet. Highland derby always good fun too. Also, fed up with St Johnstone.

14-05-2022, 10:46 AM
Would like to see Inverness up next season as it's one of the few senior grounds I haven't been to yet. Highland derby always good fun too. Also, fed up with St Johnstone.

Its a ***** ground, temporary scaffolding stands, crap atmosphere, one open side and a howling wind coming in off the estuary. Also a 4 hour bus or train journey to get there.

14-05-2022, 10:47 AM
Its a ***** ground, temporary scaffolding stands, crap atmosphere, one open side and a howling wind coming in off the estuary. Also a 4 hour bus or train journey to get there.

Looking forward to it!

14-05-2022, 10:54 AM
Few changes for the Huns today obviously resting for Wednesday.

Diet Huns look full strength.

14-05-2022, 11:01 AM
I like a trip to Inverness. Nice train journey from Edinburgh and decent city for a few pints pre match.

Beats the out of town retail park vibe going on at McDiarmid so for that reason I hope ICT come up.

Oh and I have an irration hatred of Zander Clark as well so seeing him relegated would make me very happy.

It’s probably one of the worst grounds to watch the game, really low down
Also the last thing we need is another diddy team who will bring around 50 supporters. Saints bring much much more

14-05-2022, 11:05 AM
The BBC trying their best to big up the FA cup when most teams couldn't care less about it.

14-05-2022, 11:09 AM
It’s probably one of the worst grounds to watch the game, really low down
Also the last thing we need is another diddy team who will bring around 50 supporters. Saints bring much much more

Saints only bring more when we let them in for a fiver.

I wouldn’t have said there was much by way of difference between their away supports.

14-05-2022, 11:23 AM
Rangers Reserves have started well v Hearts.

That Alex Lowry is some prospect for the current buns ( and Scotland).

Willis1875
14-05-2022, 11:31 AM
Boyce off injured

14-05-2022, 11:33 AM
Souttar hasn’t played for months, on the bench last week and today
There’s no way he can be fit to start the final next week

14-05-2022, 11:35 AM
Boyce off injured

Shame

14-05-2022, 11:39 AM
Jambos 1 up.

14-05-2022, 11:42 AM
Jambos 1 up.

Good goal to be fair.

14-05-2022, 11:46 AM
Boyce off injured

Why on earth is Neilson playing Boyce today?

StevieHendo
14-05-2022, 11:47 AM
Why on earth is Neilson playing Boyce today?

Theyre better without him tbh simms is the difference if he gets injured or barrie mckay they’re in trouble

14-05-2022, 11:48 AM
1-1

Sioux
14-05-2022, 11:57 AM
So much for the full house signs we keep hearing about. Loads of empty seats.

If they can't turn up for their last game of the season having skooshed 3rd, and in the cup final, they can stick their 'big team' bs up their erchie.

Willis1875
14-05-2022, 11:59 AM
That’s a cracking 3rd goal for Celtic to be fair

14-05-2022, 11:59 AM
sellick 3 motherwell 0

Ross co 0 Dundee u 0, dundee u just need the point

14-05-2022, 12:02 PM
Rangers Reserves have started well v Hearts.

That Alex Lowry is some prospect for the current buns ( and Scotland).

Lowry scores for Rangers - 2-1:cb

HendoDelivered
14-05-2022, 12:03 PM
That Lowry is a player 👍🏼

Theyre better without him tbh simms is the difference if he gets injured or barrie mckay they’re in trouble

Disagree Boyce is very good for them links a lot of the play going forward

Lowry scores for Rangers - 2-1:cb

Nice finish

14-05-2022, 12:04 PM
sellick 3 motherwell 0

Ross co 0 Dundee u 0, dundee u just need the point

Is it only top 4 that get Europe?

leith lynx
14-05-2022, 12:04 PM
So much for the full house signs we keep hearing about. Loads of empty seats.

If they can't turn up for their last game of the season having skooshed 3rd, and in the cup final, they can stick their 'big team' bs up their erchie.
Top post.

14-05-2022, 12:05 PM
Is it only top 4 that get Europe?

i thought it was 4th and 5th this season ?

4th enters at qualifying round 2 and 5th enters at 3rd qualifying round in conference league.....iirc

Brown Hibs
14-05-2022, 12:05 PM
Embarrassing from Hearts v a 2nd string Rangers. One of the worst teams in the last 20 years to finish 3rd. Be struggling without Gordon.

14-05-2022, 12:07 PM
Embarrassing from Hearts v a 2nd string Rangers. One of the worst teams in the last 20 years to finish 3rd. Be struggling without Gordon.

Meanwhile we’re 9th.

Brown Hibs
14-05-2022, 12:08 PM
Meanwhile we’re 9th.

Didn't say we were good. That Hearts team can't be the yardstick though.

14-05-2022, 12:10 PM
That Lowry is a player 👍🏼

Nice finish

Looks seriously good, and only 18 as well.

14-05-2022, 12:11 PM
Didn't say we were good. That Hearts team can't be the yardstick though.

Can’t be the yard stick? A Scottish cup final awaiting them and confirmed European group stages some time ago?

I’d absolutely love us to be in their position right now. Very much the yard stick for me. To suggest otherwise is blinkered.

Brown Hibs
14-05-2022, 12:18 PM
Can’t be the yard stick? A Scottish cup final awaiting them and confirmed European group stages some time ago?

I’d absolutely love us to be in their position right now. Very much the yard stick for me. To suggest otherwise is blinkered.

I'm talking about their team not their season. Any other year that team doesn't finish 3rd IMO.

14-05-2022, 12:26 PM
I'm talking about their team not their season. Any other year that team doesn't finish 3rd IMO.

I reckon they’ve got a good team and plenty of depth especially compared to ours and it goes a long way in this league.

I disagree with your last sentence as well. Based on what I’ve just read from the poster above.

Brown Hibs
14-05-2022, 12:29 PM
I reckon they’ve got a good team and plenty of depth especially compared to ours and it goes a long way in this league.

I disagree with your last sentence as well. Based on what I’ve just read from the poster above.

Both their competitors budget wise in a season of transition and they've hardly blown us away in derbies. Bang average side with a top keeper.

14-05-2022, 12:30 PM
4-0 sellick

still the Diets 1 the the Full ones 2

14-05-2022, 12:30 PM
Both their competitors budget wise in a season of transition and they've hardly blown us away in derbies. Bang average side with a top keeper.

They’ve not had to blow us away they’ve still beat us in a semi final and finishing 3rd.

We weren’t in a season of transition when it started though, we’d just finished 3rd

JamesHFC
14-05-2022, 12:32 PM

Aye they are nothing special. Best of a bad bunch. They will be the punching bags of Europe in the conference league.

14-05-2022, 12:34 PM
Aye they are nothing special. Best of a bad bunch. They will be the punching bags of Europe in the conference league.

they'll be the punching bags making a few million, wish our side were going to be the punch bags

Sioux
14-05-2022, 12:37 PM
They’ve not had to blow us away they’ve still beat us in a semi final and finishing 3rd.

We weren’t in a season of transition when it started though, we’d just finished 3rd

Always slating your 'own team' but always bigging up the gimps. Pathetic.

14-05-2022, 12:39 PM
5-0 sellick

14-05-2022, 12:42 PM
How that Motherwell sides made Europe I’ll never know, ****ing stinking

JamesHFC
14-05-2022, 12:43 PM
they'll be the punching bags making a few million, wish our side were going to be the punch bags

Playing in Europe will affect Hearts league form next season. Good recruitment and we will finish above them. No problems. Hibs will always run Edinburgh.

14-05-2022, 12:46 PM

I'd love to be 2-1 down to Rangers reserves on the final day of the season having comfortably finished third and in the cup final.

14-05-2022, 12:47 PM
penalty dundee u

didn't realise ross co were already ahead 1-0

anyway, 1-1

jealous watching big united support celebrating having something to play for

club will get fined for all they flares though i imagine

14-05-2022, 12:54 PM
3–1 Huns

Lendo
14-05-2022, 12:55 PM
3-1 huns

14-05-2022, 12:55 PM
Diets 1 Fulls 3

14-05-2022, 12:57 PM
mark Mcghee won't be at dundee next season

14-05-2022, 01:00 PM
1-3 against the Rangers U12’s

14-05-2022, 01:00 PM
At least when we won it we beat them in the league not long before it. Wasn't their reserve team either.

14-05-2022, 01:02 PM
sellick hit six

FT

14-05-2022, 01:06 PM
Similar result for Rangers next week please and thanks.

14-05-2022, 01:07 PM
looks like that will be the winner for united 2-1

scenes

pitch invasion

SFA should ban them from taking part and give the euro spot o the side sitting 9th instead

Willis1875
14-05-2022, 01:07 PM
Similar result for Rangers next week please and thanks.

If today does anything it’ll have the scarf twirlers anxiously worrying that they won’t win next week,that fills me with joy

14-05-2022, 02:01 PM
Cowdenbeath vs Bonnyrigg play off final. Rose have a 3-0 lead from last week

Johnny Clash
14-05-2022, 02:02 PM
Hecky’s at the wheel in the play off versus Nottingham Forest that’s just starting . He seems to be doing ok now . Just shows managers have to fit the club.

14-05-2022, 02:06 PM
Hecky’s at the wheel in the play off versus Nottingham Forest that’s just starting . He seems to be doing ok now . Just shows managers have to fit the club.

Exactly. Right club at the right time.

14-05-2022, 02:11 PM
1-0 Forest

14-05-2022, 02:13 PM
Can't believe SU didn't get a pen before the Forest goal.

14-05-2022, 02:21 PM
Great game end to end.

14-05-2022, 02:24 PM
I'd love to be 2-1 down to Rangers reserves on the final day of the season having comfortably finished third and in the cup final.

That's where we were a year ago, and we were crap last season, the idea that Hearts have achieved something great this season is nonsense, unless they win the cup final they will have had a worse season than we did a year ago - 3rd place with less points, and an early exit from LC. Wish people would stop hyping them up, they are as likely to flop next season as we were this season.

14-05-2022, 02:35 PM
That's where we were a year ago, and we were crap last season, the idea that Hearts have achieved something great this season is nonsense, unless they win the cup final they will have had a worse season than we did a year ago - 3rd place with less points, and an early exit from LC. Wish people would stop hyping them up, they are as likely to flop next season as we were this season.

Been saying the exact same to my group for a while now.

Folk are acting like this Hearts team are class. They're really not. They have a solid enough squad and managed to bring in a few loan players who have been amongst their best performers.

14-05-2022, 02:40 PM
Forest are great to watch.

Hope they win the play-offs.

14-05-2022, 02:58 PM
Forest are great to watch.

Hope they win the play-offs.

I'm in London on final day at Wembley. If Huddersfield get there I'm off to it.

Day before I'll be at spurs ground for the RL final.

Two good grounds in two days.

14-05-2022, 03:22 PM
1-0 bonnyrigg, (4-0)

14-05-2022, 03:25 PM
London Hibs in a cup final today, good luck to them!

14-05-2022, 03:30 PM
2-0 Forest.

14-05-2022, 03:30 PM
0-2 Forest.

Been better team.

14-05-2022, 03:31 PM
Sheffield United 0 v 2 Notts For

14-05-2022, 03:42 PM
Come on Chelski get into them :greengrin

14-05-2022, 03:46 PM
What a load of utter ***** before the FA cup final. Players singing songs etc. Just get on with the football.

14-05-2022, 03:50 PM
Americanised pish. Singing national anthems and all sorts of *****.

14-05-2022, 03:52 PM
Modern football is embarrassing.

14-05-2022, 03:52 PM
Bonnyrigg promoted to league 2.

14-05-2022, 03:54 PM
Liverpool are a joy to watch.

14-05-2022, 03:55 PM

Can't take to them. Jambo team

14-05-2022, 03:56 PM
I’m not watching the FA Cup Final but did they not traditionally all sing “Abide With Me” at the game?

That was traditional and quite a nice touch iirc.

Obviously it will have changed.

Keyser Sauzee
14-05-2022, 04:01 PM
Don’t like watching games at Wembley, the camera angle is too low

14-05-2022, 04:03 PM
I’m not watching the FA Cup Final but did they not traditionally all sing “Abide With Me” at the game?

That was traditional and quite a nice touch iirc.

Obviously it will have changed.

They did sing it ... before the national anthem

14-05-2022, 04:08 PM
Why aren't Chelsea wearing blue??

Agreed. That one there great move by Chelsea, you didn't even see the 6 yd box til the cross happened.

Why aren't Chelsea wearing blue??

Tuchel superstition

Fuzzywuzzy
14-05-2022, 04:10 PM
Congratulations to bonnyrigg

14-05-2022, 04:11 PM

I agree. Like when people used to stream games on Telescope 🤣

14-05-2022, 04:13 PM
Americanised pish. Singing national anthems and all sorts of *****.

National anthem didn't get the best reception

14-05-2022, 04:15 PM

Well done Bonnyrigg, I really think the winners of the Lowland League should automatically go up
2nd top play 2nd bottoms. Shows you the pyramid system is working though

14-05-2022, 04:18 PM
Well done Bonnyrigg, I really think the winners of the Lowland League should automatically go up

I feel the same, however it wouldn't be fair on the highland teams ? Maybe 2 up automatically from lowland and highland and 2 down?

14-05-2022, 04:18 PM

As much as I would have preferred one of my local teams to stay up, the pyramid is finally doing its job in kicking out teams with zero ambition like Cowdenbeath and East Stirlingshire.

14-05-2022, 04:19 PM
Can't take to them. Jambo team

I'll go watch them when hibs aren't playing or away 😂

JamesHFC
14-05-2022, 04:19 PM
Salah off injured. Massive blow for Liverpool. I doubt they risk him before the CL final now.

Son needs two goals to win the golden boot from Burnley and Norwich, assuming Salah doesn’t play in any of the remaining two games.

14-05-2022, 04:20 PM
I feel the same, however it wouldn't be fair on the highland teams ? Maybe 2 up automatically from lowland and highland and 2 down?

Sorry I forgot about them. Yes winners of both go into League 2

Bridge hibs
14-05-2022, 04:23 PM
As much as I would have preferred one of my local teams to stay up, the pyramid is finally doing its job in kicking out teams with zero ambition like Cowdenbeath and East Stirlingshire.Add Berwick Rangers to that mix too.

I wonder if Spartans, Newtongrange Star, Musselburgh Athletic or Whitehill Welfare fancy following in Bonnyriggs footsteps

Ps, I know nothing of those clubs plans or ambitions, just throwing a few names out there

14-05-2022, 04:26 PM
**** gary locke and **** Bonnyrigg rose

14-05-2022, 04:28 PM
**** gary locke and **** Bonnyrigg rose

What’s it got to do with him😀

14-05-2022, 04:30 PM
Pool should be one up.

14-05-2022, 04:34 PM
Add Berwick Rangers to that mix too.

I wonder if Spartans, Newtongrange Star, Musselburgh Athletic or Whitehill Welfare fancy following in Bonnyriggs footsteps

Ps, I know nothing of those clubs plans or ambitions, just throwing a few names out there

Of those listed only Spartans are in the Lowland and they have been trying to get promoted for a few years now.

14-05-2022, 04:34 PM
Add Berwick Rangers to that mix too.

They’re all in the Lowland or East of Scotland league so are part of the pyramid. I suppose clubs will eventually find their level. It’s good to see though I think the pyramid could be a bit easier. Currently if you win the East of Scotland, you have to play the winners of the west of Scotland (and the South of Scotland though that’s a far weaker league) just to get into the Lowland league. So this season, it will be either Tranent or Penicuik v Darvel to get into the Lowland. Tricky

14-05-2022, 04:39 PM
They’re all in the Lowland or East of Scotland league so are part of the pyramid. I suppose clubs will eventually find their level. It’s good to see though I think the pyramid could be a bit easier. Currently if you win the East of Scotland, you have to play the winners of the west of Scotland (and the South of Scotland though that’s a far weaker league) just to get into the Lowland league. So this season, it will be either Tranent or Penicuik v Darvel to get into the Lowland. Tricky

I’ve no idea about Bonnyrigg Rose, but it seems like the sides who’ve come out of the Lowland League, and do well, have wealthy backers

Cove and Kelty come to mind, do Edin City not have a wealthy owner too. No idea about the other Lowland League teams though

14-05-2022, 04:48 PM
I’ve no idea about Bonnyrigg Rose, but it seems like the sides who’ve come out of the Lowland League, and do well, have wealthy backers

Cove and Kelty come to mind, do Edin City not have a wealthy owner too. No idea about the other Lowland League teams though

From what I can gather, Bonnyrigg are just very well run with a decent coach. Not aware of a wealthy backer. I think that the pyramid should be more straightforward- win the West and the East and you get into the Lowland with 2 going down and the Highland and Lowland winners go into League 2 ( subject to licensing etc) There’s a pyramid in the north of Scotland now so Fort William have dropped out of the Highland League with Banks ODee stepping up. It’s been long overdue but the merging of the juniors into the senior pyramid has been good for the game in my view

Bridge hibs
14-05-2022, 04:58 PM
Mon Thornton hibs then 🤣

Didnt a wealthy steel businessman plough a few grand into a Fife junior team and then eventually pull the plug on them. Thinking Lochore or Ballingry ?

Renfrew_Hibby
14-05-2022, 05:05 PM
The rise of Kelty, Edin City and Bonnyrigg is great.
Ambitious clubs with a drive and purpose old established clubs like Cowdenbeath could never muster.
The only problem I see is that as the wider Edinburgh city region grows and prospers in the coming years could these upwardly mobile clubs put a dent in efforts to grow our (and Hearts) supporter and commercial bases across the said 'City Region'?
I don't see too many ambitious clubs in the west breaking through, although I'm fairly ignorant of non league football, juniors ect.

14-05-2022, 05:30 PM
Ambitious clubs with a drive and purpose old established clubs like Cowdenbeath could never muster.
The only problem I see is that as the wider Edinburgh city region grows and prospers in the coming years could these upwardly mobile clubs put a dent in efforts to grow our (and Hearts) supporter and commercial bases across the said 'City Region'?
I don't see too many ambitious clubs in the west breaking through, although I'm fairly ignorant of non league football, juniors ect.

In the West, Darvel have a major backer, him that makes Killie Pies as he’s from there so they are ambitious . Auchinleck Talbot are another major force but could be on the wane as they were favourites to win the West but lost out to Darvel. Pollok from Glasgow south side are another to watch

Bridge hibs
14-05-2022, 05:35 PM
In the West, Darvel have a major backer, him that makes Killie Pies as he’s from there so they are ambitious . Auchinleck Talbot are another major force but could be on the wane as they were favourites to win the West but lost out to Darvel. Pollok from Glasgow south side are another to watchEast Kilbride have recently played in a few Scottish and league cup games too, not sure on their future league ambitions

14-05-2022, 05:44 PM

The population of leith must have grown massively in the last 10 years or so. Flats popping up everywhere
It’s full of diversity, I just wonder what the likes of Hibs are doing the attract these prospective fans to the club
East Lothian growing massively too, again we should be growing our fan base

Maybe this topic needs a thread of its own

14-05-2022, 05:45 PM
East Kilbride have recently played in a few Scottish and league cup games too, not sure on their future league ambitions

They were pretty strong a few seasons ago, winning the first 2 Lowland Leagues IIRC but have faded a bit. It’s quite a strong league these days (not counting the Erse Cheeks B teams) so next season will be interesting. Difficult to call really but East Kilbride should have a chance

14-05-2022, 05:57 PM
Dreadful English cup final so far, both teams look uninterested 😴

14-05-2022, 06:09 PM
FA Cup final will go to penalties.

14-05-2022, 06:17 PM
This is worse than last night’s game.

14-05-2022, 06:20 PM
Just me that thought the FA Cup final was a really good game then?

Both teams ran themselves into the ground, both keepers made big saves and both sides hit the woodwork. I enjoyed it.

14-05-2022, 06:20 PM
😴😴😴😴 two and a half hours of my life wasted!! Hope the penalties are exciting. Rose tinted specs on but the I used to love the FA cup finals. Can't remember the last really good one.

14-05-2022, 06:23 PM
A goalie in an all white strip doesn't look right.

14-05-2022, 06:25 PM
Chelsea missed

14-05-2022, 06:26 PM
Liverpool ahead 2-1

14-05-2022, 06:26 PM
Ref is enjoying his moment in the spotlight here. Just let them get on with it man. Every penalty has taken about 5 minutes whilst he flaps about for the cameras.

14-05-2022, 06:28 PM
3-2 Liverpool after 3 each.

14-05-2022, 06:30 PM
Mane to win it.

14-05-2022, 06:31 PM
Fluffed it...

14-05-2022, 06:31 PM

14-05-2022, 06:32 PM
Never like when a striker waits until 5th. Always makes me think they wanted to be the hero. Quite glad he missed.

14-05-2022, 06:33 PM
That was a stonking penalty

14-05-2022, 06:34 PM
That was a stonking penalty

Doesn’t stonking mean good?

Mount 😂😂

Chelsea missed again.

Pool to win it.

14-05-2022, 06:35 PM
Really good save but never understand when a player hits a penalty at that height. Exactly where the keeper wants it.

14-05-2022, 06:35 PM

Pleasing :greengrin

14-05-2022, 06:36 PM
Liverpool FA cup winners.

Quadruple still on 😊

JamesHFC
Had to be an English player to miss the deciding penalty 😂

14-05-2022, 06:37 PM
Not sure what his nationality has to do with it 🤔

14-05-2022, 06:37 PM

Sets things up nicely for Qatar. :greengrin

JamesHFC
14-05-2022, 06:38 PM
Not sure what his nationality has to do with it 🤔

Just find it funny with English players being notoriously known for missing crucial penalties.

14-05-2022, 06:39 PM
Jürgen Klopp is the first manager in Liverpool’s history to win the top-flight league title, European Cup, EFL Cup and the FA Cup.

14-05-2022, 06:40 PM
Just find it funny with English players being notoriously known for missing crucial penalties.
Gary McAllister comes to mind. 😅

14-05-2022, 06:41 PM
It's hard to not like Klopp, the guy is a class act

14-05-2022, 06:43 PM
Certainly a class + manager.

14-05-2022, 06:44 PM

Does he fancy the Hibs Job?

14-05-2022, 06:45 PM
I find it easy to not like him. He’s a throbber :aok:

JamesHFC
14-05-2022, 06:45 PM

He would be 10/10 if he didn’t throw his toys out the pram in interviews every time they fail to win.

14-05-2022, 06:48 PM
I find it easy to not like him. He’s a throbber :aok:

Agree. Outstanding manager, but a torn faced moan. Any time his team loses he's a complete welt.

14-05-2022, 06:54 PM
He is no worse than Fergie used to be after a loss that's for sure.

14-05-2022, 06:58 PM
He would be 10/10 if he didn’t throw his toys out the pram in interviews every time they fail to win.

Agree. Outstanding manager, but a torn faced moan. Any time his team loses he's a complete welt.

Is that not a sign of a winner, he expects perfection and is annoyed when he doesn't get that, I think he's an outstanding manager and seemingly the players would run through walls for him, similar to Fergie and Pep.

14-05-2022, 07:01 PM
I liked Reece James’ penalty though.

Not exactly a Panenka but it took balls to hit it like that on such an occasion as that.

14-05-2022, 07:08 PM
Is that not a sign of a winner, he expects perfection and is annoyed when he doesn't get that, I think he's an outstanding manager and seemingly the players would run through walls for him, similar to Fergie and Pep.

He's an unbelievable manager, absolutely no doubt about that whatsoever and will rightfully go down as one of the greats. But he's a weapon if his team loses, don't really see how that can be argued.

If Jose Mourinho comes out with some of the stuff Klopp does he gets absolutely crucified for it. Klopp seems to get a pass.

14-05-2022, 07:11 PM
Never like when a striker waits until 5th. Always makes me think they wanted to be the hero. Quite glad he missed.

I imagine the player doesn't get the choice, selections will be made well ahead of time.

I argue this point though with my colleagues and my opinion is your best penalty takers should take 4 and 5. That's where you need your coolest heads and best finishers as that is where shootouts are won highest % of the time.

The counter argument is you need to get to 4 & 5 of course.

14-05-2022, 07:31 PM
Massive penultimate night in France, Rennes beating OM 1-0 in a game they need to win to catch OM for 2nd. Monaco being stunned 0-2 at home so the door could be open for Rennes to get the auto champions league place.

14-05-2022, 07:37 PM
Rennes 2 Marseille 0. Well deserved they’ve been fantastic.

14-05-2022, 08:09 PM
Louis Appere (ex. Dundee utd), Mitch Pinnock (ex Killie) playing in the league 2 playoff semi

Colin Calderwood managing Northampton

14-05-2022, 08:12 PM
Louis Appere (ex. Dundee utd), Mitch Pinnock (ex Killie) playing in the league 2 playoff semi

Colin Calderwood managing Northampton

Jamie Murphy playing too

14-05-2022, 08:18 PM
Ben Yedder hat trick in 20 minutes for Monaco, come back from two goals down and now into 2nd.

14-05-2022, 09:55 PM
Salah keeping safe for the champions League do we reckon?

He's here!
14-05-2022, 11:57 PM
Liverpool FA cup winners.

I really hate Liverpool. Always have, Right back to when Dalglish was playing for them.

15-05-2022, 12:15 AM
I really hate Liverpool. Always have, Right back to when Dalglish was playing for them.

Ye are a muggle so you are.....:greengrin

15-05-2022, 06:04 AM
Jamie Murphy playing too

So he is not injuredDid he play well

15-05-2022, 06:22 AM

Didn’t watch..apparently though he has started every game for them since he went there..and now signed a deal to stay with them….

15-05-2022, 06:59 AM

He set up the 2nd goal but was pretty average overall.

Standard is pretty poor.

15-05-2022, 07:24 AM

Why? It was full of a Scottish players then.

15-05-2022, 07:31 AM

Possibly likes a Manchester team. 😁

He's here!
15-05-2022, 10:14 AM

Think it was a school thing...other kids 'supporting' the all-conquering Liverpool in the 70s (my inner Hibby instinctively gravitated towards the perennially under-achieving Everton). Never shared the love of 'King Kenny' either. Also hated the all-red strip (hated Aberdeen's as well). All a bit lost in the mists of time but they were always the English team I wanted to see lose.

15-05-2022, 11:19 AM
The Swindon v Port Vale game has had some crunching tackles in the first twenty minutes and yet no sign of a card.

JamesHFC
15-05-2022, 11:54 AM
1-0 Spurs. Kane.

15-05-2022, 12:06 PM
1-0 Spurs. Kane.

That was quite handy for my Spurs to win both halves bet.

Key West
15-05-2022, 12:18 PM
Never a penalty for Spurs, defenders are going to have play the game with their hands behind their backs in the box, that Friend he is a shocking referee.

JamesHFC
15-05-2022, 01:02 PM
Never a penalty for Spurs, defenders are going to have play the game with their hands behind their backs in the box, that Friend he is a shocking referee.

The rules state it’s a penalty. Referee just following the rules.

15-05-2022, 01:12 PM
That was quite handy for my Spurs to win both halves bet.

Oh well 😣

15-05-2022, 01:20 PM
How is that not a penalty for City when VAR is being used? :faf: