View Full Version : Match Updates 2021-22 season non-Hibs games thread
10-08-2021, 08:46 PM
Swedish managerial legend Zoran Lukic insists Malmo have too much for Rangers to handle.
Steven Gerrard (https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/all-about/steven-gerrard) 's side trail 2-1 from the first leg in the third qualifying round of the Champions League (https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/all-about/champions-league), after an important injury time consolation from Steven Davis and have work to do in the Ibrox showdown on Tuesday, with the away goal rule scrapped.And veteran Swedish boss Lukic - who guided minnows Djurgardens from the second tier to winning two Allsvenskan titles and two Swedish Cups - reckons Jon Dahl Tomasson's side will step it up in Glasgow, despite Rangers being huge favourites to qualify.
He said: "Malmo had a good result against Rangers (https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/all-about/rangers-fc) in the Champions League and they are having a good season in the league too. They are a strong team.
"When the pieces of the puzzle eventually fall into place properly, I think Malmo will actually go quite far in the Champions League - certainly through the qualifiers.
"I'm pretty sure they will be able to beat Rangers in Glasgow too because they have another level in them even above what they showed last week."
wish i had saw this earlier i wouldn't have wasted £20 on the sectarian bigots :(
EI255
10-08-2021, 08:47 PM
Yeah, Rangers have snatched defeat from the hands of victory!The Stevie G way
Sent from my LG-H870 using Tapatalk
10-08-2021, 08:47 PM
not a chance Malmo beating the sectarian bigots tonight, not a chance...they blew it in the 1st leg not holding onto a two-goal lead :agree:
Really? :greengrin
EI255
10-08-2021, 08:48 PM
Ho ho ho
Wonder if we'll see the old man pleasuring himself again outside Ipox?
10-08-2021, 08:48 PM
Kent's attempt at a beard vexes me, that's more than enough reason to hate them
Rangers have been so poor second half
Doing Malmo a disservice there.
EI255
10-08-2021, 08:49 PM
You can hear a pin drop now. Brilliant!
Really? :greengrin
oh i'm enjoying this humble pie, believe me
next tip...........Heartz to win the league, trust me
Doing Malmo a disservice there.
That’s true!
EI255
Kent's attempt at a beard vexes me, that's more than enough reason to hate themAnd his extreme chav hair cut
Ho ho ho
Wonder if we'll see the old man pleasuring himself again outside Ipox?
Jim White?
Think I'm now finally ready to forgive Malmo for the walloping they gave us eight years ago
Very pleasing :greengrin
Against 10 men too haha, 2 very sweet goals and shut up that blether Craigen at the same time, also shut up most of Ipox too.
10-08-2021, 08:50 PM
I wonder if the Lavender strip will see the light of day again this season …
EI255
10-08-2021, 08:51 PM
The Union Bums will be greetin the bow
Hahaha get it right up them. Poor start to the season for Sevco.
EI255
I wonder if the Lavender strip will see the light of day again this season …
Sent from my iPhone using TapatalkHope so [emoji4]
Quite a few Huns walking away by the looks of it…
10-08-2021, 08:52 PM
Fair bit of social distancing in the stands now
I wonder if Sevco have a pre existing contract that stops then getting done by 10 men at home? Might be time to bust that one out.
67% Malmo possession according to the BBC......
Bye bye Rangers.
:bye: :bye:
Oh the stickies are *****, oh the stickies are *****.
Rangers fans finally practicing some social distancing.
10-08-2021, 08:53 PM
Yaaaaassssss. Booos galore.
10-08-2021, 08:54 PM
That'll be them back to trying to punt Morelos for a big fee now they don't have the Champions League money.
67% Malmo possession according to the BBC......
Unreal second half with 10 men.
Can they send EUFA one of their greeting faced furious statements to explain that it was the new club that got knocked out and they'd like malmo to come back and play the now defuncts?
I mean they've sewn wee stars on their tops and everything[emoji23]
GIRFU slippy and all the hun phuds
And booed aff, just to complete a thoroughly, entirely and totally PLEASING evening :greengrin:top marks:aok:
This has made my night. 3 defeats on the trot even with the usual help from the officials.
AliboyFC
Big opportunity missed for the rangers...
McSwanky
Still playing their flute music at full time I see. Hahahahaha
Get it up ye, Goldson, ya cheating fud
10-08-2021, 08:55 PM
3 pumpings in a week for Gerrard…
haha, out ya go ya hun fannys
Have we had a statement yet?
Huns in crisis. :greengrin
10-08-2021, 08:56 PM
https://twitter.com/oldfirmfacts1/status/1425198868707385349?s=21
Craigan
McInnes
sally McCoist
chick young
steve gerrard gerrard
the house of Saxe Coburg Gotha of buckinghamshire
your boys took one helluva beating
pleasing to hear the boooooooooo's at the end
Lendo
Welcome back Banter Years, we’ve missed you.
Unreal second half with 10 men.
Under the circumstances, that really was a cracking performance and they deserve immense credit for it.
sauzee=legend
Walking away it’s THE Rangers way 👋🏻
That'll be them back to trying to punt Morelos for a big fee now they don't have the Champions League money.
Aye they've been trying to do that for a while now :greengrin
Ah well, at least they've got their wee spat with Neil Doncaster to look forward to.
Juice-Terry
10-08-2021, 08:57 PM
That's them bankrupt again.
10-08-2021, 08:59 PM
Ladies and gentlemen, join me to rubberneck on Follow Follow and Rangers Media. Bring your popcorn and enjoy the tantrums, tears and snotters.
10-08-2021, 08:59 PM
Just when you thought that they were gone, banter years are back!
10-08-2021, 09:00 PM
Ludogorets won 4-1 on penalties ouch
King Cosell
Don't know if anyone's mentioned this but the boy who scored Malmo's 2 goals is on loan from PAOK, and they got him from Rijeka. Funny old game, innit.
Don't see anything to worry about in that Rangers side. Tav looks like he is carrying extra pounds. Only pass marks in their side was Steven Davis.
Oh ma sides😂
Rumble de Thump
10-08-2021, 09:01 PM
Looked like more than half of the huns did walking away long before the end of the match.
10-08-2021, 09:01 PM
Please lord think of the coefficient
10-08-2021, 09:02 PM
Is that three crowds and three defeats?
10-08-2021, 09:03 PM
I’m off to IKEA tomorrow, not buy anything, simply to see more Swedish things for a wee while.:greengrin
I'm so happy I might even go give the wife a hug.....
Is that three crowds and three defeats?
4 with 3 defeats. Beat livi first game.
10-08-2021, 09:04 PM
That's them bankrupt again.
They’ll be happy to take the cinch money now
i'm gonna call ikea at straiton tomorrow to see if they Deliver Meatballs to west lothian
Lendo
Rumble de Thump
Are Sevco out of Europe now? Or do the drop into the Europa League or something?
10-08-2021, 09:05 PM
Are Sevco out of Europe now? Or do the drop into the Europa League or something?
Europa league play off, and if they lose that they go into the third competition groups.
10-08-2021, 09:05 PM
I take full credit because I assembled some IKEA furniture this morning 😉
10-08-2021, 09:06 PM
drop down to Europa with a play-off against a couple of sides i've never heard off....i strongly fancy them for Europa group stage
10-08-2021, 09:07 PM
Europa league play off, and if they lose that they go into the third competition groups.
Could we get them in our group?
drop down to Europa with a play-off against a couple of sides i've never heard off....i strongly fancy them for Europa group stage
and if they get knocked out of that do they drop into the conference league?
CloudSquall
This is one of my pet peeves with European competitions now, how many times does a team need to be pumped before leaving European football?
Not a particularly auspicious start to the season for either of the OF.
Long may it continue.
Nice long journey for them to look forward too - it's just not fair.....
10-08-2021, 09:08 PM
Hunlucky 😂😂😂
😂😂
10-08-2021, 09:08 PM
i'm sure Uefa will arrange it :(
10-08-2021, 09:10 PM
Nice long journey for them to look forward too - it's just not fair.....
who are the two unpronounceable sides again ?
10-08-2021, 09:10 PM
This is one of my pet peeves with European competitions now, how many times does a team need to be pumped before leaving European football?
its absolutely ridiculous. Rangers could get pumped out of two Euro competitions and still enjoy a lucrative group phase in the conference league.
what hope do we have in Scotland when the gruesome twosome are now afforded such protections
They should be happy with that, only dropping down 2 leagues.
10-08-2021, 09:11 PM
Is that three crowds and three defeats?Must be difficult listening to all that bile and looking at all those big bloated red coupons frothing at the mouth.
10-08-2021, 09:12 PM
I take full credit because I assembled some IKEA furniture this morning [emoji6]I just kissed a turnip, does that count?[emoji16]
That sounds too good to be true, but would be the funniest thing ever :greengrin:greengrin
poor ally, gutted...absolutely gutted
this will be the longest i've ever listened to gerrard gerrard
10-08-2021, 09:14 PM
Only found out result 15 mins ago and have caught up on things by reading the pages since half time. Brilliant bedtime reading. What a wee shame for the orcs!
EI255
10-08-2021, 09:14 PM
This is a Carlsberg Tuesday [emoji4] (or maybe the Swedish equivalent)
10-08-2021, 09:17 PM
This is a Carlsberg Tuesday [emoji4] (or maybe the Swedish equivalent)
the Danish shouldn't get the credit....it's a Carnegie Porter Tuesday
EI255
10-08-2021, 09:18 PM
the Danish shouldn't get the credit....it's a Carnegie Porter TuesdaySounds good to me!
10-08-2021, 09:24 PM
More than doable for them.
No it isnae.
10-08-2021, 09:25 PM
I was sick and tired of everything when I called you tonight from Glasgow. Stevie Gs call to his wife down in Cheshire.
Homage to ABBA.
Superpoopers.(The Rangers)
10-08-2021, 09:26 PM
And Kent
10-08-2021, 09:29 PM
The Rangers are back to believing their own hype. Long may it continue.
10-08-2021, 09:31 PM
and THAT is game over :agree:
almostHave you got the lottery numbers for the morn?
[emoji1787]
Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk
10-08-2021, 09:32 PM
It was a great result but no need to go mental!
10-08-2021, 09:33 PM
They can't play in front of their fans?
Bloody Malmö though :(
10-08-2021, 09:33 PM
Have you got the lottery numbers for the morn?
[emoji1787]
you really don't mean that
10-08-2021, 09:35 PM
And Kent
Not to mention Tavernier since he's good enough to play in the EPL. Apparently.
10-08-2021, 09:36 PM
Not to mention Tavernier since he's good enough to play in the EPL. Apparently.
Maybe even Slippy G
10-08-2021, 09:38 PM
And Kent
3 dug***** performances on the bounce, but...
10-08-2021, 09:43 PM
Bet they signed that John Lundstram based on thinking they were qualifying for the CL group stages. That's turned out to be a costly miscalculation.....
10-08-2021, 09:53 PM
She will be hoping for a Hibs win on Thursday then?
10-08-2021, 10:04 PM
Depends how rich they're deemed to be.
10-08-2021, 10:06 PM
I take full credit because I assembled some IKEA furniture this morning 😉
Hope you managed to stay dry?
10-08-2021, 10:11 PM
Am I right in thinking that the last time Ibrox was full, they lost to Hamilton? :greengrin
10-08-2021, 10:18 PM
Am I right in thinking that the last time Ibrox was full, they lost to Hamilton? :greengrin
No they lost to Bayer Leverkusen about a week after the Hamilton game.
10-08-2021, 10:19 PM
No they lost to Bayer Leverkusen about a week after the Hamilton game.
Ah well. They got pumped that night as well anyway.
10-08-2021, 10:39 PM
Ah well. They got pumped that night as well anyway.
Their last 8 competitive results in front of fans have been;
Rangers 1-2 Malmo
Dundee Utd 1-0 Rangers
Malmo 2-1 Rangers
Rangers 3-0 Livingston
Rangers 1-3 Bayer Leverkusen
Ross County 0-1 Rangers
Rangers 0-1 Hamilton
Hearts 1-0 Rangers
2 wins and 6 defeats.
10-08-2021, 10:49 PM
Rangers 1-2 Malmo
Dundee Utd 1-0 Rangers
Malmo 2-1 Rangers
Rangers 3-0 Livingston
Ross County 0-1 Rangers
Rangers 0-1 Hamilton
Hearts 1-0 Rangers
2 wins and 6 defeats.
Wow. Bleak reading for the Huns :greengrin
mcohibs
10-08-2021, 11:00 PM
What an absolute joy it is seeing that lot get pumped, I genuinely will never tire of it. Vile club.
Magpie
11-08-2021, 01:04 AM
What an absolute joy it is seeing that lot get pumped, I genuinely will never tire of it. Vile club.
I agree. The hurt in the voices of the commentators is equally pleasing.
11-08-2021, 05:19 AM
It's given me a warm fuzzy feeling inside this morning.
11-08-2021, 06:04 AM
Good morning, The Rangers fans. Get it wrapped right f***ing roond ye 😂😂😂
Clarence
11-08-2021, 07:24 AM
Rangers fans are so disagreeable that even their own players can’t stand to be around them.
11-08-2021, 07:39 AM
Hope you managed to stay dry?
I did, thanks. The monsoon came later ⛈️😉
Green_one
11-08-2021, 09:08 AM
Does this mean Gerrard is not the Messiah after all but just a very naughty boy?
Surely the massive support of The People should have ensured victory against a 10 man team. Cracks appearing in the media’s love child.
11-08-2021, 09:12 AM
Any sign of a statement yet:greengrin
11-08-2021, 09:15 AM
They can't play in front of their fans?
Bloody Malmö though :(
Malmo have Scottish sides on strings
11-08-2021, 09:17 AM
Does this mean Gerrard is not the Messiah after all but just a very naughty boy?
Surely the massive support of The People should have ensured victory against a 10 man team. Cracks appearing in the media’s love child.
Someone called him the best manager in Scotland the other day. I think they'll drop a good few points this season. They couldn't cope with Dundee United pressing them.
11-08-2021, 10:59 AM
Rangers fans are so disagreeable that even their own players can’t stand to be around them.
Just imagining how angry Kris Boyd is today is pleasing :greengrin
Rangers fans are so disagreeable that even their own players can’t stand to be around them.From The Scotsman.
"It was ear-splitting stuff, a maelstrom of noise and explosion of human joy at once again being permitted the communal experience of backing their team."
.. by singing songs about killing Catholics.
Which they dont mention at all.
Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk
11-08-2021, 01:37 PM
But what about the coefficient?
Oh the humanity!
11-08-2021, 01:59 PM
[QUOTE=Kato;6652063]From The Scotsman.
"It was ear-splitting stuff, a maelstrom of noise and bile explosion of human joy at once again being permitted the communal experience of backing their team."
.. by singing songs about killing Catholics.
Which they dont mention at all.
Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk[/QUOTE
Fixed that
11-08-2021, 03:14 PM
https://twitter.com/i/status/1425207720186105859
11-08-2021, 04:59 PM
UEFA Super Cup
Chelsea v Villarreal
Kick off 8.00 pm
BT Sports
Need Scouse Hibee to translate. 😀
11-08-2021, 07:08 PM
Love the bit down the page on the tweet Ibrox has fallen movie poster. Sure someone could copy it.
Tom James playing for Leyton Orient vs QPR currently.
11-08-2021, 07:46 PM
Should be red card for Rudiger horror follow through,
Juniper Greens
11-08-2021, 07:58 PM
Rangers 1-2 Malmo
Dundee Utd 1-0 Rangers
Malmo 2-1 Rangers
Rangers 3-0 Livingston
Ross County 0-1 Rangers
Rangers 0-1 Hamilton
Hearts 1-0 Rangers
2 wins and 6 defeats.
Sure there were fans in Prague when they went out of europe in February too? So it's 2 wins 7 defeats
11-08-2021, 08:11 PM
Spot on Paddy
https://mobile.twitter.com/paddypower/status/1425533202219819014?ref_src=twsrc%5Egoogle%7Ctwcam p%5Eserp%7Ctwgr%5Etweet
11-08-2021, 08:15 PM
Sure there were fans in Prague when they went out of europe in February too? So it's 2 wins 7 defeats
I think you're right but they drew that game 1-1.
11-08-2021, 08:20 PM
Tom James playing for Leyton Orient vs QPR currently.
Watching it, didn't realise it was the Tom James that played for us. Got absolutely no recollection of him playing
11-08-2021, 08:25 PM
Watching it, didn't realise it was the Tom James that played for us. Got absolutely no recollection of him playing
His long throw in led to their equaliser. Archibald and Wood at LO could make decent pool players.
11-08-2021, 08:32 PM
1-1
Moreno
11-08-2021, 08:35 PM
Great goal by Villarreal. Unlucky not to be ahead.
11-08-2021, 08:39 PM
Villarreal totally deserved. Been really good since Chelsea scored. Tortuous commentary on bt
11-08-2021, 08:43 PM
Tom James must have lost about 2-3 stone.
11-08-2021, 08:43 PM
Villarreal totally deserved. Been really good since Chelsea scored. Tortuous commentary on bt
Yip
Spent The last 30 minutes pining for Lakaku
11-08-2021, 08:52 PM
Yip
Spent The last 30 minutes pining for Lakaku
So anglocentric it is embarrassing. Chelsea lose a goal and suddenly this is part of pre season.
11-08-2021, 08:53 PM
Should be red card for Rudiger horror follow through,
No chance that was a red.
11-08-2021, 08:58 PM
No chance that was a red.
Stick on red won the ball absolutely recklessly followed through potentially breaking the guys leg. So reckless it was untrue.
11-08-2021, 09:03 PM
Stick on red won the ball absolutely recklessly followed through potentially breaking the guys leg. So reckless it was untrue.
No chance. He slid in and took the ball cleanly, his follow through caught the guy but he was in control at all times. Not even a foul a few years ago, yellow card now.
11-08-2021, 09:19 PM
No chance. He slid in and took the ball cleanly, his follow through caught the guy but he was in control at all times. Not even a foul a few years ago, yellow card now.
Disagree new game new rules. He won the ball his left leg ridiculously out of control and careers in to the player. Imo red you say yellow fair does personally think could easily have been very serious injury.
11-08-2021, 09:31 PM
Disagree new game new rules. He won the ball his left leg ridiculously out of control and careers in to the player. Imo red you say yellow fair does personally think could easily have been very serious injury.
The referee and VAR thought it was a yellow. In all honesty i wouldn’t have been surprised to see a red card, but I didn’t think it was.
11-08-2021, 09:50 PM
The referee and VAR thought it was a yellow. In all honesty i wouldn’t have been surprised to see a red card, but I didn’t think it was.
Fair enough.:aok:
11-08-2021, 09:51 PM
Ref so weak in pen shoot out Kepa allowed to stand over the ball gets yellow does it again and again.
Got to be said you couldn't go wrong with the attitude of Villareal both fans and players absolutely superb.
11-08-2021, 10:01 PM
Ref so weak in pen shoot out Kepa allowed to stand over the ball gets yellow does it again and again.
Got to be said you couldn't go wrong with the attitude of Villareal both fans and players absolutely superb.
Was a wideo
I thought we were going to see the first keeper to be sent off in a shoot out to add to his refusal to be subbed
King Cosell
12-08-2021, 05:14 PM
PAOK 1-0 up, 2-2 agg.
12-08-2021, 05:21 PM
PAOK 1-0 up, 2-2 agg.
You wait for a Dublin Bus and then 11 turn up at the same time......
12-08-2021, 05:31 PM
2-0 PAOK, looks like a trip to Greece if we win tonight.
12-08-2021, 05:32 PM
2-0 PAOK, looks like a trip to Greece if we win tonight.
ffs
SJNB Hibby
12-08-2021, 05:53 PM
New Saints up 1-0, and 5-2 versus Viktoria Plzen---hecck of a result if they can hold on
12-08-2021, 06:02 PM
Very good support for St Johnstone tonight, must be the most home support they have had in the McDiamid. Fair play.
I know it’s petty but I hope they get humped out
12-08-2021, 06:30 PM
St Johnstone 0-1 Galatasaray
12-08-2021, 06:37 PM
St Johnstone 1-1 Galatasaray
CloudSquall
12-08-2021, 06:41 PM
St Johnstone 1-1 Galatasaray
No matter what happens now it is some achievement for the Saints to take on a team like Galatasary toe to toe.
BegbieHSC
12-08-2021, 06:43 PM
Cup double winning captain, now with a goal in each leg against Galatasaray. Sadly for us, Kerr will be priceless to the Saints now.
12-08-2021, 06:44 PM
Does this game count as a big game? :devil:
12-08-2021, 06:48 PM
Not been impressed with McCart. Absolutely no pace.
12-08-2021, 06:52 PM
No matter what happens now it is some achievement for the Saints to take on a team like Galatasary toe to toe.
Incredible for a club of their size, really hope they get through.
Good luck to them.
12-08-2021, 06:58 PM
PAOK through 3-2 on agg
12-08-2021, 06:58 PM
Full time PAOK 2-0 Bohemians
PAOK win 3-2 on aggregate.
12-08-2021, 07:01 PM
TNS lose 2 goals in the closing stages to get taken to extra time with Plzen 5-5.
12-08-2021, 07:05 PM
Incredible for a club of their size, really hope they get through.
Good luck to them.
12-08-2021, 07:11 PM
1-0 Celtic
12-08-2021, 07:13 PM
Tremendous finish ya beauty
Wrong wrong can someone delete
12-08-2021, 07:20 PM
2-1 Galatasaray
12-08-2021, 07:48 PM
4-1 Galatasaray.
12-08-2021, 07:49 PM
2-4
12-08-2021, 07:51 PM
Galatasaray win 5-3 on aggregate.
BegbieHSC
12-08-2021, 07:56 PM
Sheep ahead. Looks like we’re the only embarrassment of the night.
12-08-2021, 07:58 PM
Turned it over to watch the second half of the Celtic game on Celtic TV. They mentioned the Aberdeen score then promptly had a go at Aberdeen re never qualifying for the Europa League group stages, what an odd comment.
BegbieHSC
12-08-2021, 08:21 PM
Sheep make it 2-1 after having a wee scare after Breidabilik equalised.
Looks like they’re making the playoffs, the *******s!
BegbieHSC
12-08-2021, 08:22 PM
Incidentally, how did the sheep get such a pish easy tie?
SJNB Hibby
12-08-2021, 08:32 PM
Incidentally, how did the sheep get such a pish easy tie?
They had a tougher first tie than us TBF---Swedes
12-08-2021, 08:44 PM
1-0 Celtic
Who?
12-08-2021, 08:47 PM
Aberdeen win 5-3 on aggregate.
They now face Qarabag of Azerbaijan for a place in the group stages.
St Johnstone will play LASK of Austria for a place in the group stages.
12-08-2021, 09:24 PM
viktoria plzen 5 the new saints 5 agg AET
viktoria win 4-1 on penalties
12-08-2021, 09:53 PM
Aberdeen win 5-3 on aggregate.
They now face Qarabag of Azerbaijan for a place in the group stages.
St Johnstone will play LASK of Austria for a place in the group stages.
Both tough games. Last season LASK drew with Spurs 3-3 in the Europa League groups. Season before got to last 16 of Europa League. Qarabag are seasoned Europa League group stage qualifiers. Neither team are necessary big names but decent teams.
Magpie
12-08-2021, 11:31 PM
Both tough games. Last season LASK drew with Spurs 3-3 in the Europa League groups. Season before got to last 16 of Europa League. Qarabag are seasoned Europa League group stage qualifiers. Neither team are necessary big names but decent teams.
Abdellah Zoubir still playing for Qarabag I see.
Magpie
13-08-2021, 12:17 PM
Premier League returns tonight. Lacazette and Aubameyang both out for Arsenal because of illness.
13-08-2021, 01:16 PM
Abdellah Zoubir still playing for Qarabag I see.
Scored the equaliser in the first leg I’m sure I seen.
13-08-2021, 01:20 PM
Premier League returns tonight. Lacazette and Aubameyang both out for Arsenal because of illness.
Rangers v Dunfermline live on Premier. Would love to see a shock, but can’t really see it
13-08-2021, 06:21 PM
Nice pay day for Dunfermline tonight at Ibrox
13-08-2021, 06:28 PM
Rangers v Dunfermline live on Premier. Would love to see a shock, but can’t really see it
Nae chance.
13-08-2021, 06:31 PM
Nae chance.
That’s what I said
Derry’s Walls blasting out from the stands. Is this a banned song?
Mikey_1875
13-08-2021, 06:33 PM
Game over already
13-08-2021, 06:33 PM
1-0 huns.
13-08-2021, 06:43 PM
Dorrans must think he's still playing for the huns. Either that or he's completely finished which looked the case when he was with Dundee,
13-08-2021, 06:44 PM
A huge night for Brentford, in their first EPL game. I hope it goes well for them.
13-08-2021, 06:47 PM
A huge night for Brentford, in their first EPL game. I hope it goes well for them.
I’d love to see them get a win tonight. I’m loving seeing how excited their fans are about being in the top league.
13-08-2021, 06:51 PM
The Rangers already 3-0 up
13-08-2021, 06:53 PM
The Rangers already 3-0 up
That goal has got me reaching for the remote control. Brentford v Arsenal for me tonight now.
13-08-2021, 06:56 PM
That goal has got me reaching for the remote control. Brentford v Arsenal for me tonight now.
Me too.
13-08-2021, 06:59 PM
It’s probably as forced upon them than it is by choice, but like that Arsenal have gone with youth rather than the likes of Aubameyang & Lacazette. Get Saka in for Pepe and it’s probably Arsenals best chance to get back to the level they should be. They’re skint, and not as attractive an option as they were, so growing a team is probably the way to go.
13-08-2021, 07:03 PM
It’s probably as forced upon them than it is by choice, but like that Arsenal have gone with youth rather than the likes of Aubameyang & Lacazette. Get Saka in for Pepe and it’s probably Arsenals best chance to get back to the level they should be. They’re skint, and not as attractive an option as they were, so growing a team is probably the way to go.
Yep, and they seem to have a few decent young players.
I find the amount of money that English clubs seem to be able to waste on very average players to be staggering, like it's some weird race to the bottom for all the middling clubs.
In order to challenge the biggest and richest, some creativity is going to have to be required and this is one way to do it.
13-08-2021, 07:09 PM
4-0 huns.
13-08-2021, 07:16 PM
Yep, and they seem to have a few decent young players.
I find the amount of money that English clubs seem to be able to waste on very average players to be staggering, like it's some weird race to the bottom for all the middling clubs.
In order to challenge the biggest and richest, some creativity is going to have to be required and this is one way to do it.
Premier league clubs are cash rich you pay the money or you dont make the signing, simple as.
13-08-2021, 07:19 PM
For anyone living down south and watching football Brentford represnted one of the best days out in football. A day in the capital and then onto Griffin Park which had a pub litterally on each corner of the ground. Great community club too, I hope they have a good season. They have been a long time from the lime light.
13-08-2021, 07:21 PM
Edinburgh City 1 up, Shanley with the goal.
13-08-2021, 07:21 PM
Ryan Shanley puts Edin City 1-0 up tonight
He’s was at the Colts game on Tuesday, what a top and nice lad he is
13-08-2021, 07:22 PM
Brentford 1 Arsenal 0 21 mins nice goal
13-08-2021, 07:23 PM
Premier league clubs are cash rich you pay the money or you dont make the signing, simple as.
About 3/4 of the time though, it looks like they'd be better off not making the signing.
13-08-2021, 07:24 PM
Brentford 1-0 :greengrin
13-08-2021, 07:24 PM
Whoopsie Arsenal lol....
13-08-2021, 07:25 PM
About 3/4 of the time though, it looks like they'd be better off not making the signing.
Thats probably the same for any signing with any club including ours.
13-08-2021, 07:26 PM
For anyone living down south and watching football Brentford represnted on eof te best days out in football. A day in the capital and then onto Griffin Park which had a pub litterally on each corner of the ground. Great community club too, I hope they have a good season. They have been a long time from the lime light.
I live in Edinburgh and always have but agree, I went to a game v QPR there and there was a brass band squeezed in behind the stand entertaining all and sundry. Irish pub on one of those corners full of the Irish that you don’t get in plastic pubs. . ....Don’t know what the new place is like but the Gunners are my side and they’re bloody awful....
13-08-2021, 07:35 PM
Thats probably the same for any signing with any club including ours.
I'm not so sure. We run a pretty tight ship and there are consequences for us if we don't live within our means, although I fully accept that our success rate will be way less than 100%.
Barcelona seem to be at the head of a group of clubs who have got themselves into bother as a result of transfer madness FOMO.
Perceived wisdom would probably state that if (for example) Arsenal fall short then it's because they should have stumped up more for transfer targets.
I'm just not sure that's necessarily the case.
Although - I'm not for a second going to pretend to understand it all. I just look at it from a distance and find it weird and can't help but think much of it is unsustainable.
13-08-2021, 07:45 PM
5-0 huns
13-08-2021, 07:57 PM
5-0 huns
Get Dunfermline up.
13-08-2021, 08:13 PM
Ivan Toney is such a nasty piece of work, great striker. Matty Ryan also having a good game for Brentford, a weirdly underrated keeper.
Magpie
13-08-2021, 08:13 PM
The decline in Arsenal is evident to see. Surprised they didn’t get rid of Arteta a while back. Another gloomy season incoming.
13-08-2021, 08:15 PM
The decline in Arsenal is evident to see. Surprised they didn’t get rid of Arteta a while back. Another gloomy season incoming.
Famous last words i know but i think Arseanl will get smething out of this game. Brentford were very good in the first half but the second half is all Arsenal.
13-08-2021, 08:16 PM
Famous last words i know but i think Arseanl will get smething out of this game. Brentford were very good in the first half but the second half is all Arsenal.
Brentford are looking very nervous now.
13-08-2021, 08:18 PM
You have to remember Arsenal are recovering fro being owned by Hibs pre season.
Great reception for Saka coming on from Brentfords fans. Dont let the haters win.
13-08-2021, 08:21 PM
That result is Arsenal personified as it stands.
I wouldn’t be surprised to see them finish bottom half.
Magpie
13-08-2021, 08:29 PM
That result is Arsenal personified as it stands.
I wouldn’t be surprised to see them finish bottom half.
Smallest club in North London?
13-08-2021, 08:30 PM
Smallest club in North London?
Barnet
Magpie
13-08-2021, 08:31 PM
Absolutely love it when a manager shows passion.
Magpie
2-0 Brentford. Never in doubt.
That defending by arsenal [emoji23][emoji23][emoji23]
2-0 Brentford!
13-08-2021, 08:32 PM
That’s embarrassing defending.
13-08-2021, 08:33 PM
2-0 Brentford!
Brentford top of the league tonight? :greengrin
Magpie
Will Arteta make Christmas?
keeper getting held there
Magpie
That’s embarrassing defending.
£50m Ben White btw.
13-08-2021, 08:34 PM
Arsenal for relegation 👀
13-08-2021, 08:34 PM
£50m Ben White btw.
Doig must be worth 75m then
13-08-2021, 08:35 PM
keeper getting held there
Aye it should have been chalked off. Normally keepers are overprotected but the boy had a grip of him stopping him moving.
13-08-2021, 08:35 PM
Not sure why firing Arteta would help TBH. The club has been slipping for a while and needs a rebuild with serious money and I doubt that's coming any time soon.
13-08-2021, 08:37 PM
Doig must be worth 75m then
Darren McGregor n aw
13-08-2021, 08:37 PM
Ivan Toney is such a nasty piece of work, great striker. Matty Ryan also having a good game for Brentford, a weirdly underrated keeper.
Matty Ryan plays for Real Sociedad.
Dreadful from Arsenal tonight. All fart, no poo. Pretty typical of them under Arteta.
Magpie
13-08-2021, 08:38 PM
Not sure why firing Arteta would help TBH. The club has been slipping for a while and needs a rebuild with serious money and I doubt that's coming any time soon.
If they got rid of him and hired someone like Conte they would have a much more successful season. Questions need to be asked of Edu also.
13-08-2021, 08:38 PM
They've just spent serious money. They're about to spend more on Martin Odegaard. The manager is just poor.
13-08-2021, 08:40 PM
Clearly still traumatised from their mullering at Easter Road. They might never recover.
13-08-2021, 08:41 PM
Matty Ryan plays for Real Sociedad.
Dreadful from Arsenal tonight. All fart, no poo. Pretty typical of them under Arteta.
Indeed you are correct, he doesn’t even look like Ryan :greengrin
13-08-2021, 08:42 PM
David Raya is in goals for Brentford.
Oops answered already I see 👍
13-08-2021, 08:43 PM
£50m Ben White btw.
A hilarious fee
13-08-2021, 08:43 PM
Tierney is sticking out like a sore thumb in this Arsenal team, I can’t see him sticking around there much longer.
Magpie
13-08-2021, 08:44 PM
Indeed you are correct, he doesn’t even look like Ryan :greengrin
David Raya is Brentford keeper, I’m sure he was subject to interest from Arsenal not so long ago though.
Magpie
13-08-2021, 08:45 PM
Tierney is sticking out like a sore thumb in this Arsenal team, I can’t see him sticking around there much longer.
He would of been perfect for City, injury prone though.
Signed a new deal a month ago. Until 2026.
David Raya is Brentford keeper, I’m sure he was subject to interest from Arsenal not so long ago though.
Yes I know, brain fart.
13-08-2021, 08:47 PM
Arsenal for relegation 👀
It’s happened to all those other big English teams one time or another hasn’t it? Hopefully Arsenal stay better than all those sorts.
What a waste.
Have.
13-08-2021, 08:48 PM
Jamie C pre match and during the match waxing lyrical about Brentford fans singing a Beatles song. Bees fans have sung the Hey Jude song for decades.
13-08-2021, 08:49 PM
He is, but that’s his only fault. Top drawer player.
13-08-2021, 08:54 PM
May well have a release clause though.
13-08-2021, 08:54 PM
Do City need a left back. Couldn’t see him going anywhere else.
13-08-2021, 08:55 PM
May well have a release clause though.
It doesn't.
13-08-2021, 08:55 PM
Well played Brentford :wink:
A few issues with the Arse though I think.
Magpie
13-08-2021, 08:56 PM
Have.
Cheers Geoff.
13-08-2021, 08:56 PM
Great scenes at Brentford. Great to see fans back at the football