View Full Version : Greggs Summer 2022-23 transfer thread

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 [9] 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71

25-05-2022, 04:43 PM
Sunderland announce their retained list

https://www.safc.com/news/team-news/2022/may/retained-and-released-list-202223

The likes of Bailey Wright who had been suggested on here has been offered a contract.

I see Nathan Boradhead has gone back to Everton. Wont get a look in there. Worth a loan with option deal perhaps. Roughly a goal every second game.

25-05-2022, 04:45 PM
Of the players released by Sunderland, Jordan Willis is a good centre half.

Been out injured for a year though...

25-05-2022, 04:45 PM
I see Nathan Boradhead has gone back to Everton. Wont get a look in there. Worth a loan with option deal perhaps. Roughly a goal every second game.

He did well when he played, but missed a lot of the season through injury...

JamesHFC
25-05-2022, 05:00 PM
I see Liam Fontaine has also left Dundee. Any ideas where he might end up? Would be good to see him stay in Scotland.

Queen’s Park or Ayr United perhaps.

CallumHibs07
25-05-2022, 05:00 PM
Why are we continuing to pursue signings that Maloney wanted after we sacked him? Marshall and now McGeady both initiated by Maloney. Doesn't say much about the recruitment team's contacts... does LJ not have his own ideas about who he wants to bring in?

JamesHFC
25-05-2022, 05:03 PM
If he's fit and ready to go from day 1, then fine, why not.

If he's taken a knock or will need any time to settle in then nah, forget it.

We don't need someone else for the bench or training to be another coach or to work with the younger players.

First team starters first then, get some squad fillers if needs be.

Alex Neil said he trained really well last week and was included in the play off final squad. Was doing well for Sunderland before his injury I believe. I think he will be a great addition, experience and quality in the final third is exactly what we are needing.

25-05-2022, 05:11 PM
Why are we continuing to pursue signings that Maloney wanted after we sacked him? Marshall and now McGeady both initiated by Maloney. Doesn't say much about the recruitment team's contacts... does LJ not have his own ideas about who he wants to bring in?

LG had Aidan McGeady as captain many times at Sunderland while he was the manager, do you not think it’s possible he might want to sign him?

25-05-2022, 05:14 PM

Transfer committee,

Side note, I had watched a YouTube video of a Sunderland fan talking about the sacking of LJ, he had pointed out the players were not his and he had no say in the signings....

Brown Hibs
25-05-2022, 05:17 PM
Worrying signing. I was on the fence a year ago when he was linked. Now he's spent months on the sidelines crocked and a year older. Bizarre

25-05-2022, 05:19 PM
I know Sunderland aren't going to put guff clips of McGeady up but there's a nice wee montage on their farewell tweet

https://twitter.com/SunderlandAFC/status/1529502552974405632?t=r-n0MjNP4lRMmIQRn4E-EA&s=19

Mcbizz1998
25-05-2022, 05:29 PM

I would be very surprised if any manager in the league outside the old firm and hearts (Gordon) wouldn’t want Marshall so no problems there.

And McGeady played for LJ for 18 months.

Kenneh was certainly an LJ signing.

25-05-2022, 05:35 PM
Of the players released by Sunderland, Jordan Willis is a good centre half.

Been out injured for a year though...

https://footballleagueworld.co.uk/callum-doyle-sends-passionate-sunderland-message-reflecting-on-promotion/amp/

I wonder if Callum Doyle will be an option?

25-05-2022, 05:45 PM
https://footballleagueworld.co.uk/callum-doyle-sends-passionate-sunderland-message-reflecting-on-promotion/amp/

I wonder if Callum Doyle will be an option?

See Will Grigg was released too. 30 years old??

25-05-2022, 05:48 PM
So why did McCarthy from Accies never get singled out for abuse ?

He did.

The dalmeny
25-05-2022, 05:49 PM

You don’t think Marshall is a good signing?

JammyDoidger
25-05-2022, 05:56 PM
You’ve been bang on a couple of times of late and before the press have reported it 👏

Any word on Aden Flint, Tucker or anyone else?

Where's the flint stuff coming from? He'd be some signing, animal at set pieces might not need a striker if he signs..

25-05-2022, 06:13 PM
See Will Grigg was released too. 30 years old??

If he didn't have a catchy song about him then he wouldn't be in consideration IMO. Really a bang average player at best.

25-05-2022, 06:16 PM
If he didn't have a catchy song about him then he wouldn't be in consideration IMO. Really a bang average player at best.

Think that's being harsh on the definition of avearge. Really poor striker.

CallumHibs07
25-05-2022, 06:29 PM
You don’t think Marshall is a good signing?

Marshall yes, McGeady no. Not the point I was making regardless

25-05-2022, 06:35 PM
I know Sunderland aren't going to put guff clips of McGeady up but there's a nice wee montage on their farewell tweet

https://twitter.com/SunderlandAFC/status/1529502552974405632?t=r-n0MjNP4lRMmIQRn4E-EA&s=19

Sign him up, we cannot have too many good players, dont care what age he is.

JamesHFC
25-05-2022, 06:41 PM

3 goals from free kicks in there, finally someone who can score them.

25-05-2022, 06:44 PM
3 goals from free kicks in there, finally someone who can score them.

Oh to have a player who can score from a free kick

25-05-2022, 06:46 PM
Oh to have a player who can score from a free kick

Takes a brilliant corner too, looking forward to him whipping one in right to Kenneh’s napper.

Clarence
25-05-2022, 06:52 PM
If he came with a view to being a positive role model for the youngsters, then I could see the value that he would add but he doesn’t strike me as someone who would take on that role. When we’re 1-0 down against Livingston, is he going to be the one encouraging the rest of the team to band together and get an equaliser or will he be focussing on Paul McGinn being at fault for the goal and that he felt he’s done his own job well?

25-05-2022, 06:54 PM
If he came with a view to being a positive role model for the youngsters, then I could see the value that he would add but he doesn’t strike me as someone who would take on that role. When we’re 1-0 down against Livingston, is he going to be the one encouraging the rest of the team to band together and get an equaliser or will he be focussing on Paul McGinn being at fault for the goal and that he felt he’s done his own job well?

Does he do that?

25-05-2022, 07:01 PM

Option A

LJ had him as captain at Sunderland. These were Johnson’s quotes about him in the Evening News article today.

Describing McGeady as “a quality human and professional”, Johnson said when he was Sunderland boss: “I believe he’s a great player, he’s our talisman, if you like, in terms of that attitude to take the game by the scruff of the neck and go and produce.”

tonyrougier123
25-05-2022, 07:23 PM
Trying to keep my cool here but I really really hope there is no truth in Aiden McGeady coming to hibs!!😡

Who’s coming out with this stuff man.

Aim higher ffs hibs!!

He’s not the type of player we should be looking to sign by any stretch,this is getting worrying.

Marshall absolutely still can offer hibs plenty,another youngster signed looks like he may be a good prospect fair enough.

Seasons literally just finished so panic isn’t setting in quite yet,but if Ron doesn’t think we need many,sure he said 5 good ones?? Then if mcgeady is no.3 that leaves two to go.

Mightily depressing if this is the case.

Please for gods sake not a summer like last year again!!!

25-05-2022, 07:25 PM
Trying to keep my cool here but I really really hope there is no truth in Aiden McGeady coming to hibs!!😡

Aim higher ffs hibs!!

He’s not the type of player we should be looking to sign by any stretch,this is getting worrying.

Marshall absolutely still can offer hibs plenty,another youngster signed looks like he may be a good prospect fair enough.

Seasons literally just finished so panic isn’t setting in quite yet,but if Ron doesn’t think we need many,sure he said 5 good ones?? Then if mcgeady is no.3 that leaves two to go.

“Panic isn’t setting in yet”

Christ, I’d hate to see you in a panic then.

25-05-2022, 07:30 PM

Aim higher ffs hibs!!

30 combined goals & assists in 44 starts since the start of 20/21.

Scored or created a goal every 126 minutes.

Why would you not want someone who could offer that sort of offensive contribution combined with great experience?

tonyrougier123
25-05-2022, 07:30 PM
“Panic isn’t setting in yet”

Christ, I’d hate to see you in a panic then.

Knew you’d be first in to my comment. 😂

Usual suspects lining up already,keep it coming folks I’ll keep posting what you don’t like if it’s necessary ok 👍🏻 ✅

25-05-2022, 07:33 PM

Usual suspects lining up already,keep it coming folks I’ll keep posting what you don’t like if it’s necessary ok 👍🏻 ✅

Calm doon FFS, it’s silly season.

tonyrougier123
25-05-2022, 07:34 PM
30 combined goals & assists in 44 starts since the start of 20/21.

Scored or created a goal every 126 minutes.

Why would you not want someone who could offer that sort of offensive contribution combined with great experience?
He’s a petulant individual on and off the park before you consider he’s 36 and a winger.
He’s no leader either.can’t see players looking up to him at all,total waste of a wage.
Injury prone also.
Alarm bells if we are going down this route for experience.

tonyrougier123
25-05-2022, 07:37 PM

We should be avoiding players like mcgeady.
I canny believe there’s folk convinced he could do a job for us.

25-05-2022, 07:44 PM

Why would I be the first to comment? I’m usually as negative as you.

25-05-2022, 07:44 PM
He’s a petulant individual on and off the park before you consider he’s 36 and a winger.
He’s no leader either.can’t see players looking up to him at all,total waste of a wage.
Injury prone also.
Alarm bells if we are going down this route for experience.Wasn't he captain at Sunderland?

What makes you think he's not a leader?

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

25-05-2022, 07:45 PM
Injury prone also.

He’s no longer an out and out winger, has been playing more as a number 10 with a free role in behind the striker(s).

Lee Johnson thinks he’s a leader and had him captain many times while he was Sunderland manager.

His latest injury is his only serious injury in recent years. In the 5 seasons prior this one he made 35, 37, 40, 31, 36 appearances.

Other than all that your post is spot on 😂👍

25-05-2022, 07:45 PM
Injury prone also.
Red flags even.

tonyrougier123
25-05-2022, 07:51 PM
Wasn't he captain at Sunderland?

What makes you think he's not a leader?

He’s had problems with managers in the past it’s there to read online.

25-05-2022, 07:59 PM

With our manager?

Maybe he was in the right with his disagreements with other managers?

25-05-2022, 08:00 PM

Could you enlighten us as to which managers?

25-05-2022, 08:02 PM

So he’s, too old, slow, injury prone, not a leader and didn’t get on with some managers! Have I missed anything??

So what else?

tonyrougier123
25-05-2022, 08:08 PM
Why would I be the first to comment? I’m usually as negative as you.

I’m not a negative poster generally,there’s very little to be enthused about on the park let’s face it. That’s obvious.

Who’s in there thinking Aiden mcgeady is what we need in the side though.

Obviously things going reasonably well in other areas of the club,could listen to some of the fan ideas about safe standing behind the goals etc,that would be nice.
Could do with avoiding NFTS and dodgy deals in sponsors.

But the signings are dire and it’s getting ridiculous really.

Short shrift in booting managers no so quite quick of the draw to sort out a few decent players for the first team.
Needs to massively change over the summer.

I know it’s early but based on the words of the owner we need 5 good players not many was his quote.

Mcgeady would be No.3 that’s worrying!

25-05-2022, 08:11 PM
I’m not a negative poster generally,there’s very little to be enthused about on the park let’s face it. That’s obvious.

Obviously things going reasonably well in other areas of the club,could listen to some of the fan ideas about safe standing behind the goals etc,that would be nice.

Short shrift in booting managers no so quite quick of the draw to sort out a few decent players for the first team.

I know it’s early but based on the words of the owner we need 5 good players not many was his quote.

You think we’re only signing 5 players?

Is Kenneh a dire signing? What are you talking about? The January signings?

25-05-2022, 08:16 PM

Take a few weeks off ffs.

25-05-2022, 08:20 PM

Do we need leaders in the team? Yes and McGeady provides that

Do we need creativity from our midfield? Yes and McGeady provides that

Do we need experience in the team? Yes and McGeady provides that

Do we want our signings to be suited to the Scottish game? Yes and McGeady provides that

Do we need our midfielders to chip in with more goals? Yes and McGeady provides that

Who’s thinking Aiden McGeady isn’t what we need in the side?

LewysGot2
25-05-2022, 08:25 PM
The recent interview with the BBC by McGeady could be summed up with “it wisnae ma fault, it wisnae me”

Strachan hated me. Strachan backed Lennon over me. Scotland hated me…

Too old, too dear, too injury prone, too self-indulgent

25-05-2022, 08:25 PM

Do we want our signings to be suited to the Scottish game? Yes and McGeady provides that

Do we need our midfielders to chip in with more goals? Yes and McGeady provides that

Good points like that will never wash on Hibs net!

25-05-2022, 08:27 PM
If Mcgeady signs I'm booing the press release

When he scores his first goal in booing the celebration

All because he said Strachan didn't like him.

tonyrougier123
25-05-2022, 08:27 PM
Take a few weeks off ffs.

Always full of wisdom flash eh?

25-05-2022, 08:31 PM
The recent interview with the BBC by McGeady could be summed up with “it wisnae ma fault, it wisnae me”

Strachan hated me. Strachan backed Lennon over me. Scotland hated me…

Too old, too dear, too injury prone, too self-indulgent

Yet none of that matters one jot when he pings in a free kick in the top corner on his debut against Hearts, which he’s more than capable of doing, fixture list allowing of course.

He’s a good player, that’s all that matters, all the background noise means nothing.

tonyrougier123
25-05-2022, 08:33 PM
If Mcgeady signs I'm booing the press release

When he scores his first goal in booing the celebration

All because he said Strachan didn't like him.

Actually Phil Parkinson didn’t want him anywhere near his first team after a while also.

We are quite happy to diss posters on here but not discuss petulant players who could be very damaging to squad harmony.

Discuss the football folks.

McGruber
25-05-2022, 08:33 PM

I don't think anyone is disputing the qualities he has displayed in the past or how good a player he was. It's just some think he will still be the same and others wonder if he is still capable given his age - not to discount he has just had a serious knee injury.

Nobody on here knows, wouldn't know until he plays here.

25-05-2022, 08:54 PM
Yet none of that matters one jot when he pings in a free kick in the top corner on his debut against Hearts, which he’s more than capable of doing, fixture list allowing of course.

He’s a good player, that’s all that matters, all the background noise means nothing.

Totally agree

25-05-2022, 08:57 PM
Actually Phil Parkinson didn’t want him anywhere near his first team after a while also.

We are quite happy to diss posters on here but not discuss petulant players who could be very damaging to squad harmony.

Discuss the football folks.And how did that work out for Phil Parkinson?

25-05-2022, 08:59 PM

You clearly hate the club. Everything is wrong boo boo look at me.

Let's see who we buy before throwing the toys out.

25-05-2022, 09:00 PM

It’s certainly open to debate whether he provides half of the things you list.

He clearly splits opinion. We have a blank canvas to an extent with an apparently strong budget and multiple spaces in the squad to fill. For me we can do much better than McGeady.

25-05-2022, 09:00 PM

Discuss the football folks.

If he was that much of a problem, would Johnson want to bring him after working with him previously? And Jack Ross was also keen to bring him in after working with him.

Paulie Walnuts
25-05-2022, 09:02 PM

To be fair, I think it’s a bit fanciful that McGeady will provide all that.

I’m not against him signing btw, but if he comes in and offers all that he’ll pretty much be the best player in the league outside the OF.

He’s had a fairly long term injury at a fairly old age. It’s not beyond the realms of possibility that he won’t be at the same level as he was before it.

I’m not too fussed either way. If he signs then I’m happy to see how he gets on as there’s no doubt he’s been a very good player throughout his career but if he doesn’t I’ll not be too fussed as I don’t think he’ll end up a world beater and we could probably get someone as good elsewhere.

tonyrougier123
25-05-2022, 09:02 PM
And how did that work out for Phil Parkinson?

If we are discussing that when did it work out for anyone at Sunderland?
Johnson made him captain someone said,how did that work out for him?

Mcgeady is trouble, and will be looking for one last pay day.
I would much prefer it wasn’t hibs paying him.

25-05-2022, 09:05 PM
If he was that much of a problem, would Johnson want to bring him after working with him previously? And Jack Ross was also keen to bring him in after working with him.

Yep doesn't make sense

25-05-2022, 09:05 PM

McGeady will be absolutely minted, why would a low wage by his standard be of any motivation for him?

25-05-2022, 09:07 PM

He's a millionaire. I doubt he's too bothered about the money.

tonyrougier123
25-05-2022, 09:08 PM
You clearly hate the club. Everything is wrong boo boo look at me.

Let's see who we buy before throwing the toys out.

Another one ✅

Be a full house for me soon with some of the posters who come on here just to have a go a folk for scrutinising what the club does.

Mind you some will be early bedders so I’ll expect more names tomorrow.

Would love to see any evidence that I hate hibs honestly,I don’t think you could say anything worse than that to a supporter terrible like.

Shame on you Jim.

25-05-2022, 09:10 PM

Not sure if McGeady was injured prior to LJ being emptied?

So much trouble it's reported that Maloney was keen on bringing him to ER and LJ wants him here.

I'm sure McGeady is worth a few bob already.

Anyway it's clear your mind is more than made up.

tonyrougier123
25-05-2022, 09:12 PM
He's a millionaire. I doubt he's too bothered about the money.

That doesn’t negate the issue,I know he’s made his money in the game.
That would be part of the problem,I think he would Chuck it no problem if things weren’t going his way.for example left out or the team struggling.
I don’t think he has the character we need.
We need winners in the team.

25-05-2022, 09:12 PM

It’s not even silly season for a few weeks yet.

We’ve already signed a few players this week.

Silly season sets in when we’ve not had a game or a signing for a few weeks and we need to amuse ourselves in other ways.

25-05-2022, 09:22 PM
Another one ✅

Be a full house for me soon with some of the posters who come on here just to have a go a folk for scrutinising what the club does.

Mind you some will be early bedders so I’ll expect more names tomorrow.

Would love to see any evidence that I hate hibs honestly,I don’t think you could say anything worse than that to a supporter terrible like.

Shame on you Jim.

25-05-2022, 09:22 PM

I would much prefer it wasn’t hibs paying him.Well they were 3rd in the table when Johnson was there and mcgeady had been playing until injured. They went on to finish to 5th and got promoted

So I guess it worked out better than when Parkinson had them sitting in 8th when he was sacked and mcgeady had been binned.

25-05-2022, 09:23 PM
That doesn’t negate the issue,I know he’s made his money in the game.
That would be part of the problem,I think he would Chuck it no problem if things weren’t going his way.for example left out or the team struggling.
I don’t think he has the character we need.
We need winners in the team.

You don't know McGeady or his character do you

25-05-2022, 09:26 PM
To be fair, I think it’s a bit fanciful that McGeady will provide all that.

I’m not against him signing btw, but if he comes in and offers all that he’ll pretty much be the best player in the league outside the OF.

I don't think CG is exaggerating or being fanciful at all.

McGeady is experienced, he knows the Scottish game, he is definitely creative and he scores from midfield.

None of that is in question.

Whether he's a leader on the park might be a moot point, but our manager has worked with him and says he is.

25-05-2022, 09:27 PM
Sunderland played Hearts in a preseason friendly at Tynecastle 10 months ago. Lee Johnson was manager and they ran out 2-0 winners with McGeady scoring both goals. Below is a selection of comments post-match from the Kickback match thread.

”McGeady has still got it…”

“McGeady still nippy as always”

“He would still piss it up here.”

“walk into any SPFL team outwith the OF”

“McGeady is an obvious talent”

“McGeady would start [for Hearts]”

https://www.hmfckickback.co.uk/index.php?/topic/193076-sunderland-friendly-sat-17-july/

25-05-2022, 09:31 PM
Worrying signing. I was on the fence a year ago when he was linked. Now he's spent months on the sidelines crocked and a year older. Bizarre

What’s worrying you?

25-05-2022, 09:31 PM
McGeady was immense for Sunderland under Jack Ross and wasn’t happy when he was punted.

He was fairly quickly frozen out by Parkinson and both of them suffered for it.

Under Johnson he had a revival, was doing well then got injured. Even then he was used sparingly and wasn’t starting every game.

He never played under Neil as he’s just recovered from injury.

Quite a few Sunderland fans have respect for him for upholding higher standards when they were toiling a bit. Ultimately he is a bit temperamental and does tend to carry influence. He could be great when circumstances suit him and can quickly become a problem when they don’t.

If it were to work for him at Hibs he’d need a bit of management, that’s for sure.

For me the poster who stated “torn faced disaster” was probably closest to the mark.

25-05-2022, 09:32 PM

McGeady is experienced, he knows the Scottish game, he is definitely creative and he scores from midfield.

Whether he's a leader on the park might be a moot point, but our manager has worked with him and says he is.

Yes but what would LJ know he only worked with him on a daily basis :greengrin

Paulie Walnuts
25-05-2022, 09:32 PM

He has done that previously.

My concern would be whether he’ll still do all of that at 36 after a bad injury. There has to come a time where he’s not good enough to play at our level anymore and at 36, that time won’t be too far away. An injury at that sort of age can often be the catalyst for the downturn.

As I said, I’m not writing him off, but I’d be wary of looking at what he was doing 2 years ago as a sign of what we’ll be getting. At 36 years old things often start going downwards fairly rapidly for a footballer. If we sign him, hopefully that downturn will still be a year or two away, but it’s a fair gamble imo.

25-05-2022, 09:33 PM
Sunderland played Hearts in a preseason friendly at Tynecastle 10 months ago. Lee Johnson was manager and they ran out 2-0 winners with McGeady scoring both goals. Below is a selection of comments post-match from the Kickback match thread.

https://www.hmfckickback.co.uk/index.php?/topic/193076-sunderland-friendly-sat-17-july/

Interesting post thanks for sharing

25-05-2022, 09:38 PM
Interesting how many people know McGeady personally and what sort of character he is…..

I recommend listening to some of his open goal interviews

https://youtu.be/RJrlS7M6PPw

https://youtu.be/HXJI8N7WM1E

He clearly has strong opinions but ask yourself whether stuff like Strachan was doing to him was fair and if you would just accept it or would you challenge it too.

He’ll set standards high and if players fall short of that I have no issue if he tells them exactly that, granted it’s got to be done in a certain way but I don’t think he’s going to come in and cause havoc.

We’ve heard it all before with Riordan, O’Connor, Stokes etc and they were all very successful with us.

If McGeady signed tomorrow he’d be our best player

25-05-2022, 09:39 PM
He has done that previously.

My concern would be whether he’ll still do all of that at 36 after a bad injury. There has to come a time where he’s not good enough to play at our level anymore and at 36, that time won’t be too far away. An injury at that sort of age can often be the catalyst for the downturn.

As I said, I’m not writing him off, but I’d be wary of looking at what he was doing 2 years ago as a sign of what we’ll be getting. At 36 years old things often start going downwards fairly rapidly for a footballer. If we sign him, hopefully that downturn will still be a year or two away, but it’s a fair gamble imo.

Those stats I presented aren’t from 2 years ago, they are are from when Lee Johnson was appointed manager in December 2020 so all within the last 18 months. Prior to his injury this season he had 7 goals or assists in 12 starts (16 apps) so he was still performing at that level right up until 6 months ago.

25-05-2022, 10:10 PM
Interesting how many people know McGeady personally and what sort of character he is…..

He clearly has strong opinions but ask yourself whether stuff like Strachan was doing to him was fair and if you would just accept it or would you challenge it too.

He’ll set standards high and if players fall short of that I have no issue if he tells them exactly that, granted it’s got to be done in a certain way but I don’t think he’s going to come in and cause havoc.

We’ve heard it all before with Riordan, O’Connor, Stokes etc and they were all very successful with us.

Agree 100%

Brown Hibs
25-05-2022, 11:49 PM
What’s worrying you?

Mainly the transfer committee. They had a clear criteria for buying young with a sell on value. Although it didn't work last season we can't keep starting projects and then scrappjng them before they've even began. No idea how this signing fits in to that. Is he coming in as a bit part player with a view to a coaching role? Is it simply Mcgeady is a good type to have around the place? We need quality on the park.

26-05-2022, 12:00 AM

Next signing please Ron

26-05-2022, 12:17 AM
Mainly the transfer committee. They had a clear criteria for buying young with a sell on value. Although it didn't work last season we can't keep starting projects and then scrappjng them before they've even began. No idea how this signing fits in to that. Is he coming in as a bit part player with a view to a coaching role? Is it simply Mcgeady is a good type to have around the place? We need quality on the park.

I assume this will be our manager's decision, nothing to do with the "committee" otherwise known as the recruitment team.

sadtom
26-05-2022, 12:24 AM
Am I the only person who listened to that recent interview with McGeady and thought ‘everything he said is true’.
Yes, he is complaining about it (or whinging as some might say) and sounds angry. And I think he has every right to feel that way.
He was given a chance to play international football by Ireland when he wasn’t (for whatever reason) by Scotland.
He played all his international football from 14 with Ireland. He clearly has some Irish relatives and I would have hoped that he rightly felt proud to represent his family. Just like Martin Boyle when he got the chance with Australia (and countless hundreds of other athletes who have declared themselves for a country other than where they were born).

When it came to the senior squad only then did Scotland show interest. He chose to keep to the country he had been representing for several years. Is this not an example of loyalty, commitment and character that I hear fans complain is absent from most modern players??
But no. He got dogs abuse. Confirmed by a number of the comments on here, even after all these years.

If folk think that a huge chunk of that abuse had nothing to do with the festering sectarianism in Scottish society then they are kidding themselves on.
I read it and heard it with my own eyes and ears. He was a Celtc fan and player who chose to play for ‘them’.
He was an obvious target because of this and the grief ranged from the milder ‘plastic paddy’ to the outright bigotry of ‘treacherous fenian’.
He listed several teams, including Hibs, that he got abused at. I don’t think it was because it was limited to those clubs but to emphasise it was everywhere.
If anyone is saying he didn’t get booed and called Judas, traitor, turncoat (or worse) when he played at Easter Road. Then I know for a fact that it’s not him that’s lying. He absolutely was.
How overtly sectarian the abuse was probably ranged from club to club. But it was everywhere to some extent.

Unbelievably, I have heard our supporters using the term ‘fenian b******’ on a number of occasions. I have pulled up 2 on separate occasions when it was directed at our own manager/player, Fenlon and Stokes.

IMHO he is quite justified in calling out the anti Irish sectarianism that still seems to be acceptable in significant parts of Scotland.

As for signing him, my only real concern is that he had a serious injury last year. Other than that, we lack experience, creativity and dead ball ability. He ticks those boxes. So long as he passes the medical he could do a job for another couple of years and would be worth a punt as far as I’m concerned.
I would welcome him with open arms.

JammyDoidger
26-05-2022, 01:44 AM

Mate you can't just go out and sign one type of player, clubs really need to be careful what they come out and say. Yes we should be going for young players with potential to improve and sell on..but we can't lifter the squad with them, we need some proven quality and experience aswell, it's about balance. We need a spine, Id be happy with a centre half 30+ that's better than Hanlon and a Centre Midfielder 30+ that' would improve us too.

hibsfan7
26-05-2022, 02:17 AM
Am I the only person who listened to that recent interview with McGeady and thought ‘everything he said is true’.
Yes, he is complaining about it (or whinging as some might say) and sounds angry. And I think he has every right to feel that way.
He was given a chance to play international football by Ireland when he wasn’t (for whatever reason) by Scotland.
He played all his international football from 14 with Ireland. He clearly has some Irish relatives and I would have hoped that he rightly felt proud to represent his family. Just like Martin Boyle when he got the chance with Australia (and countless hundreds of other athletes who have declared themselves for a country other than where they were born).

When it came to the senior squad only then did Scotland show interest. He chose to keep to the country he had been representing for several years. Is this not an example of loyalty, commitment and character that I hear fans complain is absent from most modern players??
But no. He got dogs abuse. Confirmed by a number of the comments on here, even after all these years.

If folk think that a huge chuck of that abuse had nothing to do with the festering sectarianism in Scottish society then they are kidding themselves on.
I read it and heard it with my own eyes and ears. He was a Celtc fan and player who chose to play for ‘them’.
He was an obvious target because of this and the grief ranged from the milder ‘plastic paddy’ to the outright bigotry of ‘treacherous fenian’.
He listed several teams, including Hibs, that he got abused at. I don’t think it was because it was limited to those clubs but to emphasise it was everywhere.
If anyone is saying he didn’t get booed and called Judas, traitor, turncoat (or worse) when he played at Easter Road. Then I know for a fact that it’s not him that’s lying. He absolutely was.
How overtly sectarian the abuse was probably ranged from club to club. But it was everywhere to some extent.

Unbelievably, I have heard our supporters using the term ‘fenian b******’ on a number of occasions. I have pulled up 2 on separate occasions when it was directed at our own manager/player, Fenlon and Stokes.

IMHO he is quite justified in calling out the anti Irish sectarianism that still seems to be acceptable in significant parts of Scotland.

As for signing him, my only real concern is that he had a serious injury last year. Other than that, we lack experience, creativity and dead ball ability. He ticks those boxes. So long as he passes the medical he could do a job for another couple of years and would be worth a punt as far as I’m concerned.

Absolutely 100% spot on.

OldEast
26-05-2022, 04:22 AM

If folk think that a huge chuck of that abuse had nothing to do with the festering sectarianism in Scottish society then they are kidding themselves on.

What a well written and measured post. Yet again Hibs supporters looking for ways to get offended and annoyed. "Oh he should have played for Scotland" they cry, whilst ignoring the fact that he did what he felt was the best thing for him as a person and as a footballer. A choice which had no effect on the lives of those who denigrate him.

26-05-2022, 05:12 AM

Agree with every word

26-05-2022, 05:16 AM

Bang on

26-05-2022, 05:55 AM

this is an insightful post, and helps alleviate fears about whether he still has the skills. My other worry would be fitness after a major injury, that’s why we’d be doing a thorough medical to check this. If LJ rated him highly at Sunderland (he clearly did), and his fitness is up to it, then it’ll happen

for the record, I thought he was a whining, entitled, diving little git at Celtic, which had nothing to with which national team he played for, and everything to do with the typical behaviour of old firm players which he exhibited

NC1875
26-05-2022, 06:03 AM
This place is a joke sometimes. Half the people on here seem to know McGeady personally, telling us he’ll come in and cause havoc whilst not performing on the pitch.

Yet our last 3 managers all wanted to sign him ?

Guys who DO actually know him personally, and 2 of them who have actually managed him recently.

He’s exactly what we need, even if we get 20 games out of him, I’m confident his goals and assists will be higher than Jasper would offer over 40 games.

He’s not going to be the only player we sign, if he signs, he’ll make us better. Simple as that.

26-05-2022, 06:18 AM
This place is a joke sometimes. Half the people on here seem to know McGeady personally, telling us he’ll come in and cause havoc whilst not performing on the pitch.

Guys who DO actually know him personally, and 2 of them who have actually managed him recently.

He’s exactly what we need, even if we get 20 games out of him, I’m confident his goals and assists will be higher than Jasper would offer over 40 games.

He’s not going to be the only player we sign, if he signs, he’ll make us better. Simple as that.

Exactly this.

There might be games where he’s a sub but having someone of his quality to come on and help could be huge. So many times last season we were crying out for someone to create something and he is exactly that.

hibby67
26-05-2022, 06:22 AM
If we sign McGeedy looks like he is going to be a straight replacement for
Drey Wright as the new Boo Boy going by some of the posts on here
If he signs I will judge him (as with anyone else that signs for Hibs) on how he performs for Hibs.
What is the point looking over the past as it literally is in the past, let’s look to the future and see what they can do for us

26-05-2022, 06:22 AM

Agree with that and no doubt a lot of the abuse would be amplified because of the country he chose and the team he was playing with however a lot would have been based on how good he was and how Scotland could have definitely done with him. Same with McCarthy another player we could have done with at the time. His examples aren't the same really Arfield and McLean as both were older and unlikely to be picked for Scotland. I quite like him as a character have listened to the open goal podcast and thought he was good to listen to. I would be happy if he signed as a bit of a name player but also could definitely do a job for us imo. Here is his BBC Scotland interview 25 mins in.

https://www.bbc.co.uk/sounds/play/p0c8c0ky

26-05-2022, 06:23 AM
If we sign McGeedy looks like he is going to be a straight replacement for
Drey Wright as the new Boo Boy going by some of the posts on here
If he signs I will judge him (as with anyone else that signs for Hibs) on how he performs for Hibs.
What is the point looking over the past as it literally is in the past, let’s look to the future and see what they can do for us

Don't think he would as he clearly is a very good player.

26-05-2022, 06:25 AM

Absolutely this. He would contribute for us basically the last 6 months of the season post Boyle we have created nothing and scored nothing he would change that in game one he played.

26-05-2022, 06:38 AM
Just seen this from yesterday morning in the Sunderland Echo saying Fleetwood are supposedly interested in McGeady. Most other reports were saying Hibs is almost a done deal.

https://www.sunderlandecho.com/sport/football/sunderland-afc/sunderland-afc-transfer-gossip-nathan-broadhead-latest-as-lee-johnson-eyes-swoop-for-cats-favourite-with-fleetwood-town-also-interested-3707642

26-05-2022, 07:41 AM
You cannot go out and get 5-6 22yr olds, you need a mixture of youth an experience, age is a number and if he still has the desire and quality, bring him in.

26-05-2022, 07:46 AM
I’ve got a feeling Johnson will like/take a chance on Rocky.

I think he’ll see him as a decent enough back up centre half who has the strengths to play in his team.

From reading about his style etc it sounds like quick and mobile centre half’s are important and play a big part.

26-05-2022, 07:49 AM

I think he’ll see him as a decent enough back up centre half who has the strengths to play in his team.

From reading about his style etc it sounds like quick and mobile centre half’s are important and play a big part.

Rocky isn’t quick or mobile though is he?

Surely SDG will be advising Johnson that Rocky is an abysmal footballer and has no place at Easter Rd.

26-05-2022, 07:52 AM

Surely SDG will be advising Johnson that Rocky is an abysmal footballer and has no place at Easter Rd.

One of the reasons I love football is opinions. I actually think there is a good player in there and given a chance to settle could work out great

26-05-2022, 07:53 AM

Rocky is very quick for a centre half, doesn’t get as many chances to show it but the couple of times he opens his legs up he’s quick.

26-05-2022, 07:54 AM
One of the reasons I love football is opinions. I actually think there is a good player in there and given a chance to settle could work out great

I don’t see it - can’t see Rocky being a regular starter for any team in our league …hope we let him move on

OldEast
26-05-2022, 08:01 AM

He's definitely quick. It's his judgement of where the ball is that lets him down. Not for me.

26-05-2022, 08:01 AM

So lets sign cos them over the road think he has still got it? 🤦

26-05-2022, 08:18 AM
Just seen this from yesterday morning in the Sunderland Echo saying Fleetwood are supposedly interested in McGeady. Most other reports were saying Hibs is almost a done deal.

https://www.sunderlandecho.com/sport/football/sunderland-afc/sunderland-afc-transfer-gossip-nathan-broadhead-latest-as-lee-johnson-eyes-swoop-for-cats-favourite-with-fleetwood-town-also-interested-3707642
Is Fleetwood the new Aberdeen 😂

Greenworld
26-05-2022, 08:21 AM

From reading about his style etc it sounds like quick and mobile centre half’s are important and play a big part.That's my thoughts on him as well. Yes he had bad moments but I saw lots of good stuff and he is big and athletic,I can see him staying.
Mcgeady for me a no brainer for a one season contract .

Sent from my SM-G975U1 using Tapatalk

26-05-2022, 08:25 AM

I’ve made plenty other posts with reasons why we should sign him but sure just single out this one.

26-05-2022, 08:26 AM
There’s a centre half been released by Sunderland was signed from Neuchatel Xamax wonder if LJ will move Arbenit Xhemajli

26-05-2022, 08:26 AM

Do you think that’s why we would be signing him?

26-05-2022, 08:31 AM
There’s a centre half been released by Sunderland was signed from Neuchatel Xamax wonder if LJ will move

Lee Johnson said he'd be the best defender in that league, then he got injured and missed I think the whole of last season. If he's as good as LJ thinks he is and can prove his fitness ( no idea what his injury was) maybe we'd look at him. Still quite young so may want to move closer to home?

26-05-2022, 08:39 AM

Not going to argue with that, but even Neymar would be a poor signing if he's only going to play a handful of games, spend most of his time in the physio room and bleed a really big wage out of the club. It's a BIG no from me.

26-05-2022, 08:44 AM

I'm not being picky but was that a representative sample or just a sample of the positive comments? Genuinely interested.

26-05-2022, 08:50 AM
Not going to argue with that, but even Neymar would be a poor signing if he's only going to play a handful of games, spend most of his time in the physio room and bleed a really big wage out of the club. It's a BIG no from me.Has mcgeady been injury prone though?

His stats here suggest not at all?

https://www.transfermarkt.co.uk/aiden-mcgeady/verletzungen/spieler/21333

Edina Street
26-05-2022, 08:55 AM
Not going to argue with that, but even Neymar would be a poor signing if he's only going to play a handful of games, spend most of his time in the physio room and bleed a really big wage out of the club. It's a BIG no from me.

His age is definitely a concern, and is likely he is going to need "replacing" at the end of the season, which is always an upheaval, and upsets the balance of the squad.

On a positive note, he was to Sunderland what "George Best" was to Manchester United. At least that is the impression one might get by reading the hero worship on the Sunderland forum https://www.readytogo.net/smb/threads/mcgeady.1580566/page-5. I am sure we would get a little bit of magic and a few wonderful goals from Aiden, but he is past his best, and you might be displaying some good foresight with your reservations.

Greenworld
26-05-2022, 08:58 AM
His age is definitely a concern, and is likely he is going to need "replacing" at the end of the season, which is always an upheaval, and upsets the balance of the squad.

On a positive note, he was to Sunderland what "George Best" was to Manchester United. At least that is the impression one might get by reading the hero worship on the Sunderland forum https://www.readytogo.net/smb/threads/mcgeady.1580566/page-5. I am sure we would get a little bit of magic and a few wonderful goals from Aiden, but he is past his best, and you might be displaying some good foresight with you reservations.His replacement would likley be the return of the Squirrel from Saudi. Sorted

BegbieHSC
26-05-2022, 09:00 AM
Hecky wants to sign Josh Doig for Sheffield United

26-05-2022, 09:00 AM
Has mcgeady been injury prone though?

His stats here suggest not at all?

https://www.transfermarkt.co.uk/aiden-mcgeady/verletzungen/spieler/21333

Is he any good still? Serious question not seen him in a few years.

Worth a one year deal?

26-05-2022, 09:01 AM
Hecky wants to sign Josh Doig for Sheffield United

Just seen that report and 5 million pound? 😆 Yes please

Greenside
26-05-2022, 09:02 AM
There’s a centre half been released by Sunderland was signed from Neuchatel Xamax wonder if LJ will move Arbenit Xhemajli

I'm chuckling just thinking about some of the attempts on here at spelling that guys name😂

26-05-2022, 09:03 AM
I think a lot of our thinking of Rocky has been tainted by his horror show at Tynecastle when he was clearly injured and should have been taken off.

He doesn’t win as many headers as a guy of his size should but he actually showed up quite well for much of his time with us, and played his part in a defence that was reasonably tight.

Edina Street
26-05-2022, 09:12 AM

The headlines are misleading. When you read the articles, they are only saying that Josh Doig was once valued by Hibernian at £5million. Does not mean to say that is how much Sheffield United will or will not offer.
https://www.sheffieldunited.news/news/sheffield-united-want-to-sign-hibernian-defender-josh-doig/

26-05-2022, 09:14 AM
Rocky is very quick for a centre half, doesn’t get as many chances to show it but the couple of times he opens his legs up he’s quick.

I know it's immature but I took that last sentence completely the wrong way 🤣🤣🤣

26-05-2022, 09:15 AM
The headlines are misleading. When you read the articles, they are only saying that Josh Doig was once valued by Hibernian at £5million. Does not mean to say that is how much Sheffield United will or will not offer.
https://www.sheffieldunited.news/news/sheffield-united-want-to-sign-hibernian-defender-josh-doig/

The article also has an irrelevant photo of Harry Clarke and is written appallingly.

26-05-2022, 09:15 AM

They are going to have to rename the club Fleetwood Mac if they keep sighing all these Scottish players 😁

26-05-2022, 09:17 AM
I'm not being picky but was that a representative sample or just a sample of the positive comments? Genuinely interested.

I’ve provided the link so you can look for yourself. There wasn’t one negative comment about his ability.

Greenworld
26-05-2022, 09:23 AM
https://www.sheffieldunited.news/news/sheffield-united-want-to-sign-hibernian-defender-josh-doig/What would be a fair price for him ?

OldEast
26-05-2022, 09:24 AM
I'm chuckling just thinking about some of the attempts on here at spelling that guys name😂

Haha we need to sign a load of Smiths and Jones. No guarantees there though either.

26-05-2022, 09:25 AM

2 million plus add ons.

OldEast
26-05-2022, 09:26 AM
2 million plus add ons.

Do we see him improving enough to be worth more than that? I'm not sure.

26-05-2022, 09:30 AM
2 million plus add ons.

I prefer the Sheffield Utd way of valuing players tbh £17.5M for McBurnie, Doig £100m 😁

26-05-2022, 09:36 AM
Sunderland posting every McGeady goal for Sunderland on their twitter this morning

https://twitter.com/SunderlandAFC/status/1529757231809302528?t=aL0qcX4rybqhkTJyMgyJlg&s=19

26-05-2022, 09:43 AM

100%

26-05-2022, 09:49 AM

How much would Andy Robertson cost now? Did anyone see him improving that much?

HendoDelivered
26-05-2022, 09:50 AM

He’s 20 years old.

26-05-2022, 09:51 AM
I’ve provided the link so you can look for yourself. There wasn’t one negative comment about his ability.

That's fine, answered my question! Mind you if he'd been linked to us at the time there would have been plenty of negativity!:wink:

26-05-2022, 09:53 AM

Maybe he'd make a sprinter then. He's not quick in any sense that we need. Look at Dundee's first goal at Dens. He's incredibly slow to react to a rebound from our keeper and he costs us a goal. Paul McGinn in that situation would get there first and knock it out for a corner.

Very poor player.

Renfrew_Hibby
26-05-2022, 09:54 AM
£2M up front, say £1M for promotion then maybe £0.5M for so many appearances and then another £0.5M should he get a full cap.

Something like this would be fair enough for me regards Doig. Maybe I'm way out and we should be getting more/less?

*oh and a 20% sell on clause*

26-05-2022, 09:54 AM
I prefer the Sheffield Utd way of valuing players tbh £17.5M for McBurnie, Doig £100m 😁

An Everton Nathan Patterson valuation would do me!

26-05-2022, 09:55 AM
I think a lot of our thinking of Rocky has been tainted by his horror show at Tynecastle when he was clearly injured and should have been taken off.

He doesn’t win as many headers as a guy of his size should but he actually showed up quite well for much of his time with us, and played his part in a defence that was reasonably tight.

Really?

Not for me. Awful in that game among many others. Nearly cost us the derby at Easter Road with his passback which nearly went in.

5 yellows and a red in 12 appearances. Can't win a header.

The defence was only reasonably tight because we played 7 defensive players and rarely attacked. He won't have that luxury next year.

Get rid.

26-05-2022, 09:57 AM
If Doig goes I’d like us to try and sign Craig Forsyth from Derby. Not sure what his contract situation is with Derby but can play both left back and centre back. Only 33……..

26-05-2022, 09:59 AM
This thread makes me rejoice that we are not a “fan owned” club. What a mess we would be in.

Can’t have a manager because he made idiotic comments once and has repented

Can’t have a manager because supporters of some random other club thought he wasn’t good enough for them

Can’t have a manager because he once pulled on a jersey for another random club

Can’t have a player because he made a choice of country to represent, based on his legitimate qualification

Can’t have a player because he’s not a saint in every aspect of his life, has a conviction for drunk driving or something similar

Can’t have ground and match day experience improvements because we can’t understand the good economic sense these things make

Can’t have an owner who wasn’t tied to the club since birth

Can’t allow an owner and his representatives to quietly go about the business of running the club

Can’t accept incremental progress before w wanting good people sacked mid progress

But we pay around £28 every second week to be a fan of the team so it allows us to be relentlessly abusive and often aggressive towards the players, the management and surrounding supporters of the club.

Yet so many of the great players and managers, we love to look back on and created the great history of this club, had minor, sometimes significant flaws that mirror the ones above

The people engaged in our club are players, producers and presenters in an entertainment business. We pay our money to watch them perform on that great theatre stage we call Easter Road Stadium and hope and expect to be entertained. We hope for success on that stage that will allow our group of performers to play and entertain us on ever larger stages around the world.

Or at least we used to. It seems now every second person is a self appointed expert, tactical genius and critic of everything around them in a very small world. Maybe it’s time for some to be a lot more open minded and realistic. Not to mention empathetic.

It’s an entertainment business and we do not own it. It’s probably just as well

26-05-2022, 10:00 AM
Maybe he'd make a sprinter then. He's not quick in any sense that we need. Look at Dundee's first goal at Dens. He's incredibly slow to react to a rebound from our keeper and he costs us a goal. Paul McGinn in that situation would get there first and knock it out for a corner.

Very poor player.

You can’t be serious?

McGinn is goalside of Niall McGinn and then let’s him run past him and doesn’t react at all?

https://youtu.be/cTVfcXPyDD0

I find it incredible anyone could fault Rocky there but not Paul McGinn

26-05-2022, 10:09 AM
This thread makes me rejoice that we are not a “fan owned” club. What a mess we would be in.

Can’t have a manager because supporters of some random other club thought he wasn’t good enough for them

Can’t have a player because he made a choice of country to represent, based on his legitimate qualification

Can’t have a player because he’s not a saint in every aspect of his life, has a conviction for drunk driving or something similar

Can’t have ground and match day experience improvements because we can’t understand the good economic sense these things make

Can’t allow an owner and his representatives to quietly go about the business of running the club

Can’t accept incremental progress before w wanting good people sacked mid progress

But we pay around £28 every second week to be a fan of the team so it allows us to be relentlessly abusive and often aggressive towards the players, the management and surrounding supporters of the club.

Yet so many of the great players and managers, we love to look back on and created the great history of this club, had minor, sometimes significant flaws that mirror the ones above

The people engaged in our club are players, producers and presenters in an entertainment business. We pay our money to watch them perform on that great theatre stage we call Easter Road Stadium and hope and expect to be entertained. We hope for success on that stage that will allow our group of performers to play and entertain us on ever larger stages around the world.

Or at least we used to. It seems now every second person is a self appointed expert, tactical genius and critic of everything around them in a very small world. Maybe it’s time for some to be a lot more open minded and realistic. Not to mention empathetic.

Superb. Partly mirrors Longbangers most recent podcast.

26-05-2022, 10:11 AM

Great post

26-05-2022, 10:12 AM

Very poor player.

Are your eyes painted on?

Click that photo for McGinn "reacting".

hibby rae
26-05-2022, 10:15 AM
£2M up front, say £1M for promotion then maybe £0.5M for so many appearances and then another £0.5M should he get a full cap.

Something like this would be fair enough for me regards Doig. Maybe I'm way out and we should be getting more/less?

*oh and a 20% sell on clause*

I'd say you wait to see what Calvin Ramsay goes for, if the Liverpool thing is still on, and then that's a fair amount

26-05-2022, 10:36 AM

I agree. I like him.

26-05-2022, 10:54 AM

Whilst I think you make a reasonable point, what you've done is just put down a list of polar choices of what has existed at one end of a number of reasonable debates.

Bring in a manager who has a track record of using disgusting racist language and who will split the support on that subject from day one.

Bring in a manager in spite of him having managed to alienate large chunks of a support at a previous club.

Bring in a manager who has represented our biggest rivals, which will make his life difficult from day one amongst an element of our support.

Bring in a player who has overtly and wrongly accused our fan base in recent weeks of being racist in being miffed that he chose to represent a country other than their (and his) own at a time when they could really have done with a player of his ability. Instead of rejecting him for sectarianism reasons, they were ready, willing and keen to invite him to the fold (as they have done for hundreds of players of his heritage throughout their history).

Welcoming any player irrespective of what misdeeds they may have committed in the past. Seems a long time ago that we were singing songs about Graham Rix and Craig Thomson, eh?

Appreciate that the number one factor influencing the match day performance for 99.9% of supporters is the performance of the team. By all means spend money on improving other aspects of that match experience but if the performance of the team starts to suffer, expect questions to be asked.

Accept anyone from anywhere coming in and immediately accepting that they are only ever going to have the best interests of the club at heart, even when they suggest buying bars in Bath, borrowing money from ourselves or initiating an EBT scheme.

Don't show interest and allow the owner and others to go about their business running a club that we care about entirely unchallenged at all times - a club that we've been following and have known a lot about since long before any of them had even heard of "Highbernian".

Allowing duffers and dunces to continue completely unchecked when it is patently clear that they're not up to the task and don't know what they're doing.

Sometimes I'm more on the side of the answers on your post, sometimes mine, sometimes in between.

Nobody said it would be easy to run a football club and it will surely be like herding cats at times.

FWIW I think that those at Hibs will probably have exactly these conversations as they come to their decisions and there will be differing opinions constantly being offered. I'm actually a lot more on board with them than I was a few short weeks ago but I don't think our fans (or this site) are being in any way unreasonable by sharing these opinions and debating these points.

26-05-2022, 10:55 AM

What a superb post, this should be pinned on the board for all visitors to read.

26-05-2022, 11:00 AM
Is McGeady still playing as a winger? I'm presuming at 36 he's moved position.

26-05-2022, 11:05 AM
You can’t be serious?

McGinn is goalside of Niall McGinn and then let’s him run past him and doesn’t react at all?

https://youtu.be/cTVfcXPyDD0

I find it incredible anyone could fault Rocky there but not Paul McGinn

Ok i hold my hands up! Forgot about McGinn's part in that goal. Both terrible

Can I get back to slating Rocky now?:greengrin

26-05-2022, 11:11 AM
Ok i hold my hands up! Forgot about McGinn's part in that goal. Both terrible

Can I get back to slating Rocky now?:greengrin

I'd definitely accept that Rocky has been a disappointment but I wonder if that is because we had fairly high expectations of him? An U21 Belgian internationalist joining from a Premier League club had a different set of expectations than he might have had if he'd been a young lad who came through our ranks and we were prepared to allow to make a few mistakes as he settled in.

He definitely had some good moments and some good games.

I'm finding it tougher than normal to genuinely assess how I thought our youngsters got on during the second half of last season. It was a pretty horrible time to be getting your first proper exposure to regular football at that level and I wouldn't object to chat of "clean slates".

(I also accept that Rocky had more than a few rocky moments and that you're perfectly to your opinion.)

26-05-2022, 11:31 AM

The bit about Hibs being an entertainment business is problematic. If that's the mentality I should be adopting then I'll go and watch Real Madrid or Liverpool. But I don't. I have a connection to Hibs, I care about the team and that's why I've pumped thousands of pounds of my disposable income into the club. And that's why fans get upset and are passionate - it isn't just fun or entertainment. This club has an important place in our lives and means much, much more than just going to the cinema, the theatre or other forms of entertainment.

I would suggest a club of our size and limited success need to be very aware of thrones clubs importance as we will never compete on purely entertainment terms.

26-05-2022, 11:34 AM
Is McGeady still playing as a winger? I'm presuming at 36 he's moved position.

Anywhere along the forward line, a player with his class and know-how will just take up the correct positions on the pitch, no problem.

26-05-2022, 11:37 AM
Anywhere along the forward line, a player with his class and know-how will just take up the correct positions on the pitch, no problem.

I was surprised so many of his goals were decent hits with his left foot.

He looks like a pretty 2 footed player.

Brown Hibs
26-05-2022, 11:40 AM

Lol.

26-05-2022, 11:41 AM
I'd definitely accept that Rocky has been a disappointment but I wonder if that is because we had fairly high expectations of him? An U21 Belgian internationalist joining from a Premier League club had a different set of expectations than he might have had if he'd been a young lad who came through our ranks and we were prepared to allow to make a few mistakes as he settled in.

He definitely had some good moments and some good games.

I'm finding it tougher than normal to genuinely assess how I thought our youngsters got on during the second half of last season. It was a pretty horrible time to be getting your first proper exposure to regular football at that level and I wouldn't object to chat of "clean slates".

(I also accept that Rocky had more than a few rocky moments and that you're perfectly to your opinion.)

He did have some good games.

For me personally, I was optimistic to begin with but feel he got progressively worse. As with Jasper, I simply feel we can get much better for the type of investment we'd need to make in Rocky.

King Cosell
26-05-2022, 11:43 AM
Chris Burke leaving Kilmarnock. 8 years younger than Ant & Dec.

26-05-2022, 11:44 AM
I was surprised so many of his goals were decent hits with his left foot.

He looks like a pretty 2 footed player.

I read here that his legs had gone, maybe it's just the right one? :wink:

26-05-2022, 11:44 AM

Post of the year.

26-05-2022, 11:45 AM
Whilst I think you make a reasonable point, what you've done is just put down a list of polar choices of what has existed at one end of a number of reasonable debates.

Bring in a manager who has a track record of using disgusting racist language and who will split the support on that subject from day one.

Bring in a manager in spite of him having managed to alienate large chunks of a support at a previous club.

Bring in a manager who has represented our biggest rivals, which will make his life difficult from day one amongst an element of our support.

Bring in a player who has overtly and wrongly accused our fan base in recent weeks of being racist in being miffed that he chose to represent a country other than their (and his) own at a time when they could really have done with a player of his ability. Instead of rejecting him for sectarianism reasons, they were ready, willing and keen to invite him to the fold (as they have done for hundreds of players of his heritage throughout their history).

Welcoming any player irrespective of what misdeeds they may have committed in the past. Seems a long time ago that we were singing songs about Graham Rix and Craig Thomson, eh?

Appreciate that the number one factor influencing the match day performance for 99.9% of supporters is the performance of the team. By all means spend money on improving other aspects of that match experience but if the performance of the team starts to suffer, expect questions to be asked.

Accept anyone from anywhere coming in and immediately accepting that they are only ever going to have the best interests of the club at heart, even when they suggest buying bars in Bath, borrowing money from ourselves or initiating an EBT scheme.

Don't show interest and allow the owner and others to go about their business running a club that we care about entirely unchallenged at all times - a club that we've been following and have known a lot about since long before any of them had even heard of "Highbernian".

Allowing duffers and dunces to continue completely unchecked when it is patently clear that they're not up to the task and don't know what they're doing.

Sometimes I'm more on the side of the answers on your post, sometimes mine, sometimes in between.

Nobody said it would be easy to run a football club and it will surely be like herding cats at times.

FWIW I think that those at Hibs will probably have exactly these conversations as they come to their decisions and there will be differing opinions constantly being offered. I'm actually a lot more on board with them than I was a few short weeks ago but I don't think our fans (or this site) are being in any way unreasonable by sharing these opinions and debating these points.

Good post.

I would add that the parts of the post you replied to , the bits about fan ownership, are obviously misunderstanding the whole concept and how it works in practice.

Fan blaming seems to have become the new "thing" on here. Cue more self righteous indignation type responses.

Before anyone bothers to ask. Look up fan ownership on-line. It doesn't mean a committee of guys down the Hibs club running the show.

SEcondly, I'm not a regular basher of the club or it's owner and can make a clear distinction between those so called "fans" who come on here to knock everything about the club, and those who vent occasionally (which is hardly been a surprise given the previous seasons efforts).

TT07
26-05-2022, 11:49 AM
Post of the year.

Post of the last 20 years. Hope we progress as a support and get behind our new regime from what I observe are trying to learn from their mistakes.

Walter
26-05-2022, 11:52 AM
I mind we used to sign players and trust the professional football manager, rather than create a vacuum of folk being ready to say told you so if it doesn't work out and ultimately pick on any mistake any signing makes and blow it out of proportion forgetting any good they do.

Why do I still come here

Mcbizz1998
26-05-2022, 11:53 AM
I mind we used to sign players and trust the professional football manager, rather than create a vacuum of folk being ready to say told you so if it doesn't work out and ultimately pick on any mistake any signing makes and blow it out of proportion forgetting any good they do.

Why do I still come here

I’m fairly sure people have always held their personal opinions on signings. This is a forum where people can voice those opinions, I’m not sure what you expect?

26-05-2022, 11:56 AM

I agree. Pay per play perhaps, but I doubt he'd take that.

StarryPloughHSC
26-05-2022, 12:00 PM
a reckon mcgeady will end up at fleetwood with broony

26-05-2022, 12:00 PM
My delusional office jambo reckons they are signing Jan Vertonghen

GreenPJ
26-05-2022, 12:01 PM
If Sheffield Utd are keen on Josh then I think a reasonable position would be £3-3.5M up front with then £1.5-2M add on's.

26-05-2022, 12:02 PM

Based on this tweet 😁

Jan #Vertonghen est le sujet d'une guerre entre Heart Of Midlothian et Dijon. Un renfort qui aurait un coût : 6 millions. (via HandSpinner, le mag)

26-05-2022, 12:05 PM

Paul Verhoeven more like. Twat.

26-05-2022, 12:05 PM
a reckon mcgeady will end up at fleetwood with broony

Hope so

26-05-2022, 12:10 PM
Hibs transfers: New signing close but Aiden McGeady and Regan Charles-Cook moves remain up in air https://t.co/O4VMnE2vdB

StarryPloughHSC
26-05-2022, 12:13 PM
Hope so

not fussed either way myself mate can't see him playing wide left in a front 3 which only leaves midfield available which i don't think he has the legs for

StarryPloughHSC
26-05-2022, 12:15 PM
Hibs transfers: New signing close but Aiden McGeady and Regan Charles-Cook moves remain up in air https://t.co/O4VMnE2vdB

she has to be a troll where has the rcc link came from lol

26-05-2022, 12:19 PM

She's a slaver.

26-05-2022, 12:27 PM
I'll be genuinely very surprised if we don't announce a major signing before the expiry of the season ticket renewal date. The club wants players in early if possible so that LJ can get to work with them fast, but trying to bank as many of last season's season ticket holders again for next year also has to be an important part of the strategy surely? Perhaps that explains the journalist's reference to an imminent signing?

26-05-2022, 12:38 PM
Based on this tweet 😁

Jan #Vertonghen est le sujet d'une guerre entre Heart Of Midlothian et Dijon. Un renfort qui aurait un coût : 6 millions. (via HandSpinner, le mag)
More based on the fact that he is a slavering hearts ****

26-05-2022, 12:38 PM
I'll be genuinely very surprised if we don't announce a major signing before the expiry of the season ticket renewal date. The club wants players in early if possible so that LJ can get to work with them fast, but trying to bank as many of last season's season ticket holders again for next year also has to be an important part of the strategy surely? Perhaps that explains the journalist's reference to an imminent signing?

Was it a journalist or a random twitter account?

26-05-2022, 01:01 PM

Summary:

Allan and Wright have left
Might take up options for Bushiri and McGinn
Bids expected for Doig and Porteous
Charles-Cook and McGeady are targets but nothing imminent
Hope to announce an unnamed player soon

26-05-2022, 01:02 PM
New signing incoming but not McGeady or Charles-Cook - yet!

https://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/hibs-transfers-new-signing-close-but-aiden-mcgeady-and-regan-charles-cook-moves-remain-up-in-air-3710016

Edina Street
26-05-2022, 01:05 PM
she has to be a troll where has the rcc link came from lol

https://www.hibs.net/showthread.php?357007-Summer-2022-23-transfer-thread&p=6973267&viewfull=1#post6973267

26-05-2022, 01:09 PM
Summary:

Allan and Wright have left
Might take up options for Bushiri and McGinn
Bids expected for Doig and Porteous
Charles-Cook and McGeady are targets but nothing imminent
Hope to announce an unnamed player soon

McGinn is done - no idea why they havent announced it.

Inconsequential
26-05-2022, 01:15 PM
I’m fairly sure people have always held their personal opinions on signings. This is a forum where people can voice those opinions, I’m not sure what you expect? Walter does have a point though. Yes every fan has an opinion and is entitled to post it. What I don't understand is the prejudice towards signings who haven't even kicked a ball for the club and the ability to predict how a player's career at Hibs will pan out. I assess signings on how they play for Hibs which is the most important aspect.

26-05-2022, 01:26 PM
Walter does have a point though. Yes every fan has an opinion and is entitled to post it. What I don't understand is the prejudice towards signings who haven't even kicked a ball for the club and the ability to predict how a player's career at Hibs will pan out. I assess signings on how they play for Hibs which is the most important aspect.

Yup.

Mind Efe Abmrose? Slated to **** when we signed him but turned out to be our best centre back since Sauzee.

Inconsequential
26-05-2022, 01:29 PM
Yup.

Mind Efe Abmrose? Slated to **** when we signed him but turned out to be our best centre back since Sauzee. How could I forget Efe? I give you Sol Bamba! Described as a bombscare but was a great footballer. Anytime I saw him play he was the best player in the side. Imo of course! :greengrin

26-05-2022, 01:33 PM
How could I forget Efe? I give you Sol Bamba! Described as a bombscare but was a great footballer. Anytime I saw him play he was the best player in the side. Imo of course! :greengrin

Remember us being fairly happy with him on signing, though that was likely partly from the high of re-signing Riordan the same day!

26-05-2022, 01:41 PM
McGinn is done - no idea why they havent announced it.

He’s on holiday I’m sure, probably just do it once he’s back for photos etc. no rush on either side to announce it I imagine.

26-05-2022, 01:42 PM

This is a wish list, not what we’re getting.

You’re hoping he’ll provide all these things.

26-05-2022, 01:43 PM
Yup.

Mind Efe Abmrose? Slated to **** when we signed him but turned out to be our best centre back since Sauzee.

Loads of us were delighted when Efe signed.

26-05-2022, 01:46 PM
I got similar messages from mates who support Falkirk and Dunfermline when we signed Kevin McBride and Sol Bamba - along the lines of "hahahahahahahaha".

So I was a been bit apprehensive about both.

Both players were excellent for Hibs, especially Bamba. Neither bore any relation to the image they seemed to hold in the eyes of the support of their previous clubs.

You could surely add Efe to that list. He used to start seasons the way I start the first 10 minutes of most days - half asleep, head in the clouds and all over the place, but once he got into his stride I think he's up there with the best I've seen play for us.

26-05-2022, 01:49 PM
Aberdeen fans are of the opinion Charles Cook was at there stadium/training ground today having a look around.

Also that they’re back in for McGrath but he may want to remain down south for money……seems to be a common theme for him.

26-05-2022, 02:02 PM
This is a wish list, not what we’re getting.

You’re hoping he’ll provide all these things.

Which bit is wishful thinking?

He knows the Scottish game, he's experienced, he scores goals from midfield, and he's definitely creative.

LJ says he's a leader on the park too.

They're all facts.

26-05-2022, 02:04 PM
Strange one.

Blackpool captain Chris Maxwell has seen a move to the Premier League with Everton stall.

Source - Lancs Live https://t.co/XA0DRD3V1U

26-05-2022, 02:11 PM
Strange one.

Blackpool captain Chris Maxwell has seen a move to the Premier League with Everton stall.

Is that our former goalie?

Paulie Walnuts
26-05-2022, 02:14 PM
Strange one.

He was crap for us.

26-05-2022, 02:16 PM
Loads of us were delighted when Efe signed.

A big majority were utterly scathing, however.

A big majority will be delighted if McGeady arrives.

Edit: I found this thread. A good few people might wish I hadn't!

https://www.hibs.net/showthread.php?318241-Efe-ambrose-and-stokes&highlight=Ambrose

Paulie Walnuts
26-05-2022, 02:18 PM
Which bit is wishful thinking?

He knows the Scottish game, he's experienced, he scores goals from midfield, and he's definitely creative.

LJ says he's a leader on the park too.

They're all facts.

He’s 36 and won’t have played a competitive game for 9 months by the time next season comes round.

He used to score goals and he used to create. He may well still do that, but he might well not do it anymore, so I’m not sure it can be described as facts. As WTC said, it’s a wish list because all it is is folk hoping he’s still able to produce these things.

In the last two years at Hibs we’ve seen Allan, Doidge and Gray all have significant periods out the game and be unable to get back to the levels they were at previously. It’s not beyond the realms of possibility that McGeady could do the same, especially at 36 years of age.

timewilltell
26-05-2022, 02:21 PM
If Sheffield Utd are keen on Josh then I think a reasonable position would be £3-3.5M up front with then £1.5-2M add on's.

Not a chance we would get anywhere near that.

26-05-2022, 02:27 PM

https://www.hibs.net/showthread.php?318241-Efe-ambrose-and-stokes&highlight=Ambrose

That's a cracker.

It's always quite funny when a thread gets revived to see how many people "leave by mutual consent" over the years.

26-05-2022, 02:29 PM

Dear god some of those comments 🤣 shows how clueless us fans are!

Someone said Jordon Forster was a better option!🤣

26-05-2022, 02:30 PM
He’s 36 and won’t have played a competitive game for 9 months by the time next season comes round.

He used to score goals and he used to create. He may well still do that, but he might well not do it anymore, so I’m not sure it can be described as facts. As WTC said, it’s a wish list because all it is is folk hoping he’s still able to produce these things.

In the last two years at Hibs we’ve seen Allan, Doidge and Gray all have significant periods out the game and be unable to get back to the levels they were at previously. It’s not beyond the realms of possibility that McGeady could do the same, especially at 36 years of age.

He did have himself back fit enough to be part of matchday squads at the end of the season though so it might not be all that long a way back for him, particularly as he'll have a full pre-season to do more work - tailored to a player of his vintage and recent injury record.

Prior to this injury he has still played a decent number of games every season for the previous few seasons.

But given what we've been through this season with injured players, I can certainly understand why some folk might be twitchy.

evy
26-05-2022, 02:36 PM
He was crap for us.

He been great for Blackpool (saying this as a Blackpool fan). Kind of proves the point of the last dozen of posts before this that what a player does at 1 club has no bearing on their time at another.

26-05-2022, 02:37 PM
Strange one.

I thought he was terrible. One of heckys mad moments was dropping rocky for this guy.

26-05-2022, 02:38 PM
Dear god some of those comments �� shows how clueless us fans are!

Someone said Jordon Forster was a better option!��

Highlight was the suggestion that Grant Holt could fill in if needed.

Hibees1973
26-05-2022, 02:38 PM

You could also add McGregor and Magennis and some others who are no longer at Hibs to your list. Know Gray and McGregor are legends but neither proved value for money for the 4 year contracts they were awarded.

McGeady...it's a 100% no from me.

We should be looking at outfield players aged between 22 - 26, with experience (at least 25 - 30 games in each of the last couple of seasons) who are ready and will hit the ground running at pre season training. Signing players of this age may give us a potential high sell on fee.

There has been far too many inexperienced, unproven and even injured players signed over the last couple of years who have not been up to the mark. Hence the mess we were in (lack of squad depth) towards the end of last season.

26-05-2022, 02:40 PM
Sunderland posting every McGeady goal for Sunderland on their twitter this morning

https://twitter.com/SunderlandAFC/status/1529757231809302528?t=aL0qcX4rybqhkTJyMgyJlg&s=19

Sunderland seem to get as many pens as Rangers

j'adorehibs
26-05-2022, 02:41 PM
Dear god some of those comments 🤣 shows how clueless us fans are!

Someone said Jordon Forster was a better option!🤣

not just one a few did :-)

its all conjecture isnt is, fans think they know best and if proved right will shout from the roof tops. mcgeady may or may not be a great signing but ill support him if he pulls on that shirt!!!

26-05-2022, 02:42 PM

They must get into their opponents penalty area a lot.

Novel idea.

26-05-2022, 02:43 PM
I must have had a knock on the head - do not remember Maxwell at all. Had a look now and don't even recognise the guy.

26-05-2022, 02:53 PM
They must get into their opponents penalty area a lot.

Novel idea.

Possibly :greengrin

Mcbizz1998
26-05-2022, 02:54 PM
I must have had a knock on the head - do not remember Maxwell at all. Had a look now and don't even recognise the guy.

Lucky you! [emoji23]

26-05-2022, 02:58 PM

Have we had one since Boyle left?
And it’s penalties not pens😎

26-05-2022, 02:58 PM
Have we had one since Boyle left?
And it’s penalties not pens😎

Don't think we have. Always pens for me. :greengrin

26-05-2022, 03:10 PM

Probably don’t recognise him if he wasn’t flapping his arms wildly at a crossed ball in the picture you looked at.

Edina Street
26-05-2022, 03:20 PM
Aberdeen fans are of the opinion Charles Cook was at there stadium/training ground today having a look around.

Also that they’re back in for McGrath but he may want to remain down south for money……seems to be a common theme for him.

I don't understand why any player would consider Aberdeen to be more lucrative than Hibernian. Maybe they were a bigger club than Hibernian for a period during the 80's, but historically they are not, and currently we have a bigger fan base than them, with a higher average attendance, as well as better training facilities, and certainly should be able to offer Cook a better contract than Aberdeen. Heck, we even finished above them in the league last year.

I think Aiden McGeady could offer invaluable experience to the squad, but I would hope our pursuit of a 36 year old that is going to want big wages, and might or might not still be Hibernian class, is not going to prevent us from competing with our rivals when it comes to twenty five year old Scottish premiership top goalscoring attacking midfielders.

26-05-2022, 03:25 PM
I don't understand why any player would consider Aberdeen to be more lucrative than Hibernian. Maybe they were a bigger club than Hibernian for a period during the 80's, but historically they are not, and currently we have a bigger fan base than them, with a higher average attendance, as well as better training facilities, and certainly should be able to offer Cook a better contract than Aberdeen. Heck, we even finished above them in the league last year.

I think Aiden McGeady could offer invaluable experience to the squad, but I would hope our pursuit of a 36 year old that is going to want big wages, and might or might not still be Hibernian class, is not going to prevent us from competing with our rivals when it comes to twenty five year old Scottish premiership top goalscoring attacking midfielders.

They pay more money …..

26-05-2022, 03:43 PM
They pay more money …..

It genuinely is as simple as that. Though I think we'll pay pretty much the same as now.

26-05-2022, 03:44 PM

In the last decade I'm struggling to think of any occasion we came out on top when we were in direct competition with Aberdeen and Hearts for a player. The only one I can think of is Nisbet and that was because Hearts were in the Championship - think they still offered him more money.

26-05-2022, 03:56 PM
Seriously hope we are not trying to sign McGeady? That will not turn out well.

26-05-2022, 03:57 PM

That's funny!

26-05-2022, 04:01 PM
I got similar messages from mates who support Falkirk and Dunfermline when we signed Kevin McBride and Sol Bamba - along the lines of "hahahahahahahaha".

So I was a been bit apprehensive about both.

Both players were excellent for Hibs, especially Bamba. Neither bore any relation to the image they seemed to hold in the eyes of the support of their previous clubs.

You could surely add Efe to that list. He used to start seasons the way I start the first 10 minutes of most days - half asleep, head in the clouds and all over the place, but once he got into his stride I think he's up there with the best I've seen play for us.

I thought Kevin McBride was very poor. Up there with Brian Kerr in the unseen work category!

Green Badger
26-05-2022, 04:30 PM
I thought Kevin McBride was very poor. Up there with Brian Kerr in the unseen work category!

Must admit I thought Kevin McBride was quite a lot better than Brian Kerr.

26-05-2022, 04:40 PM

Mcbride and Miller were class for the first six months together under Yogi

Bridge hibs
26-05-2022, 05:12 PM

Sent from my iPhone using TapatalkSeriously hope we do as I think it will turn out well

26-05-2022, 05:14 PM

Brilliant first half to the season before losing his way a bit.

McBride and Miller getting the ball off the defence and getting us playing was a big part of why that team did so well for a bit.

I guess they got found out a bit and when teams stopped those 2 from playing they tended to stop Hibs from playing.

Inconsequential
26-05-2022, 05:49 PM

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Are your predictions reliable? What success rate would you say? Can you tell me this week's lottery numbers?
Thanks.

StarryPloughHSC
26-05-2022, 06:06 PM
given mcgeadys recent comments about our fans booing him for choosing ireland over scotland i'll be shocked if hes in a hibs kit next season lol i think we can mark this rumour down as more establishment gutter press to keep us aw arguing aw summer they all hate our club

26-05-2022, 06:15 PM
I'm hoping the fact McGeady hasn't signed for us yet means he is considering joining Scott Brown's new team in England. Fingers crossed he goes there.

We need at least 2 strikers for me. I have a feeling Doidge might go back down to England as well, as he has looked a shadow of his former self after returning from that serious injury, only to then miss the end of the season out injured again. Story of our season really.

MikeyS
26-05-2022, 09:52 PM

Some well known loudmouths in amongst the scathing posts too! 🤣

26-05-2022, 10:13 PM
I'm hoping the fact McGeady hasn't signed for us yet means he is considering joining Scott Brown's new team in England. Fingers crossed he goes there.

We need at least 2 strikers for me. I have a feeling Doidge might go back down to England as well, as he has looked a shadow of his former self after returning from that serious injury, only to then miss the end of the season out injured again. Story of our season really.

Why?

26-05-2022, 10:14 PM
given mcgeadys recent comments about our fans booing him for choosing ireland over scotland i'll be shocked if hes in a hibs kit next season lol i think we can mark this rumour down as more establishment gutter press to keep us aw arguing aw summer they all hate our club

It isn’t a gutter press rumour there is substance to it

26-05-2022, 10:39 PM
Some well known loudmouths in amongst the scathing posts too! 🤣

Meaning what exactly? ... as it turned out Ambrose wasn't bad at all, but Stokes was a damp squib, so folk expressing concern in that thread were at least half right, including me.

Out of interest, what's your definition of a 'loudmouth' ?

StarryPloughHSC
27-05-2022, 03:06 AM
It isn’t a gutter press rumour there is substance to it

not really he's basically just came out in the press and labelled our fanbase as anti irish thats hardly something you would do if you were moving too our club a few weeks later is it? he was linked too us last season under ross aswell i think they do this intensionally to take the piss out our support see the JDT rumour as another example where the hell did that come from? i would say that was them doing it on purpose to undermine our club because they probably already knew lee had the job but threw the danes name in the mix as they knew most hibs fans would want him its no secret that they hate and openly mock our club

27-05-2022, 05:43 AM

That was 100per cent true and should have no difference to him signing or not.

Hope he signs excellent player

McGruber
27-05-2022, 06:10 AM
If Johnson thinks McGeady can still do it and will be an asset next season then fair enough. Does make you wonder, comments like him being Sunderland's star man, favourite, talisman etc.. why is he being released? Presumably the answer to that is his age

StarryPloughHSC
27-05-2022, 06:34 AM
That was 100per cent true and should have no difference to him signing or not.

Hope he signs excellent player

he certainly was a terrific player cant see him starting in a front three though and we'll see what happens we weren't that much appealing to him last season or the season before when ross was here lol cant remember a large majority our fans booing him for choosing ireland either would that no be a tad daft given our clubs irish history lol

27-05-2022, 06:51 AM
That Ambrose thread is a classic. Some absolutely terrible football takes.

"Ambrose is absolute murder. Forster is a lot more steady than him and can chip in with the odd goal too."

"Ambrose is woeful. My gran would be a better option."

"Efe Ambrose, is this some kind of sick joke?"

"Ambrose is brutal, hope he's nowhere near Hibs."

"Ambrose would have to be amongst the worst defenders I have ever seen."

Paulie Walnuts
27-05-2022, 07:02 AM
That Ambrose thread is a classic. Some absolutely terrible football takes.

"Ambrose is absolute murder. Forster is a lot more steady than him and can chip in with the odd goal too."

"Ambrose is woeful. My gran would be a better option."

"Efe Ambrose, is this some kind of sick joke?"

"Ambrose is brutal, hope he's nowhere near Hibs."

"Ambrose would have to be amongst the worst defenders I have ever seen."

Ambrose was always going to be an exceptional signing and so it turned out. Great player.

MikeyS
27-05-2022, 07:33 AM
Meaning what exactly? ... as it turned out Ambrose wasn't bad at all, but Stokes was a damp squib, so folk expressing concern in that thread were at least half right, including me.

Out of interest, what's your definition of a 'loudmouth' ?

On reflection Nae Nookie, loudmouth was the wrong turn of phrase to use.

However, it doesn't surprise me that the posters who are most critical (and wrong) on that thread are still amongst the most prolific at telling us exactly what is wrong with the players/managers/owners/ticket policy/hospitality at the club! Empty vessels and all that....

I hadn't even paid attention to the Stokes comments, the Ambrose ones where too funny to take anything else on board.

timewilltell
27-05-2022, 07:36 AM

Jeez... 🙄

timewilltell
27-05-2022, 07:38 AM
he certainly was a terrific player cant see him starting in a front three though and we'll see what happens we weren't that much appealing to him last season or the season before when ross was here lol cant remember a large majority our fans booing him for choosing ireland either would that no be a tad daft given our clubs irish history lol

What utter nonsense.

27-05-2022, 07:46 AM
not really he's basically just came out in the press and labelled our fanbase as anti irish thats hardly something you would do if you were moving too our club a few weeks later is it? he was linked too us last season under ross aswell i think they do this intensionally to take the piss out our support see the JDT rumour as another example where the hell did that come from? i would say that was them doing it on purpose to undermine our club because they probably already knew lee had the job but threw the danes name in the mix as they knew most hibs fans would want him its no secret that they hate and openly mock our club

I love a bonkers conspiracy theory as much as the next crackpot, but Hibs spoke to JDT.

27-05-2022, 07:49 AM

You are 100% wrong and I will say yes really that there is substance to it.

27-05-2022, 07:56 AM
It’s the spl even at 36 McGeady would do well.

27-05-2022, 08:10 AM

It depends. LJ knows that guy so willing to give the new manager the benefit of the doubt but I remember hearing how the likes of Joey Barton, and more recently Ramsey, wound boss it up here.

This league is competitive and its very fast paced. I haven't seen enough of McGeady to comment but a 36 year old winger coming off the back of a long term injury? Doesn't fill me with excitement.

Paulie Walnuts
27-05-2022, 08:22 AM

Aaron Ramsey is 31 and has come to the SPL and not done well. Roy Keane was 34 and came to the SPL and didn’t do well. Nico Kranjckar was 31 when he came to the SPL and didn’t do well.

The list is endless. A lot better players than McGeady have come up here a hell of a lot earlier in their career and failed miserably.

Walter
27-05-2022, 08:25 AM
Aaron Ramsey is 31 and has come to the SPL and not done well. Roy Keane was 34 and came to the SPL and didn’t do well. Nico Kranjckar was 31 when he came to the SPL and didn’t do well.

The list is endless. A lot better players than McGeady have come up here a hell of a lot earlier in their career and failed miserably.

A caveat being he knows the league

27-05-2022, 08:26 AM

McGeady’s played here before though so will know roughly what to expect.

He won’t be coming up here after 4 years of trying to get out of league 1 with Sunderland thinking he only needs to turn up and he’ll piss it.

27-05-2022, 08:30 AM

There have been a number of players who have come and played in Scotland in their later years and have done very well

Moravcik 33
Latapy 30
Sauzee 34
Brewster 35

None of them were 36 but I'm sure McGeady will remember how to deal with the Scottish game 😁

MikeyS
27-05-2022, 08:30 AM

Different circumstances though mate, McGeady has played here previously so will know the script. The others you mentioned were all coming here off the back of loads of injuries and dwhile Ramsay & Kranjckar were serious flops I do remember Keane absolutely bossing an OF Derby at Ibrox. Head and shoulders the best player on the park. Just didn't do it enough in his short time.

Ramsay has definitely came here to try keep himself ticking over for Wales games and Kranjckar was most likely just after the dosh.