View Full Version : Greggs Summer 2022-23 transfer thread

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71

19-05-2022, 09:48 PM
This is by far my favorite of the meaningless ways of judging a players talent. Not that I understand it mind you, does anyone have a pdf of the levels to be found on the pishiness scale?

I think it ranges from a damp Foulkes all the way up to the fully soaked Locke.

19-05-2022, 09:54 PM
Jasper is pish.

Jones has been awful for the last 18 months too

19-05-2022, 09:55 PM
3 mids required. Newell and JDH can go or one could be squad player

Would be a stupid move to let Newell leave, he’s a better player than most give him credit for.

JDH isn’t a started for me but is still a good squad player to have.

Dr What If?
19-05-2022, 09:57 PM
Based on what we’ve seen I think we’d be mad to spend any kind of significant fee on him. If he was in a free transfer then fair enough (maybe), but didn’t do anywhere near enough for me despite the apparent potential.
Resources will always be the sad reality that spoils the 'fantasy Hibs' team we want to see on the park. I see him as a player that will get better and better (assuming the management/coaching team handle him right) but concede that last season he didn't look first XI ready. Yes I want Hibs to sign and develop quality young talent but if that is all we do then we leave ourselves open to not having a team for the 'now'.

19-05-2022, 10:10 PM
Ross McCrorie could be available again soon….

Aberdeen fans going absolutely mental because he was at the game last night and there’s videos of him singing and celebrating.

Not going down well.

19-05-2022, 10:21 PM

Aberdeen fans going absolutely mental because he was at the game last night and there’s videos of him singing and celebrating.

Not going down well.

His brother was on the Rangers bench wasn't he?

Was disappointed we missed out on him at the time. Now I'm delighted.

Dr What If?
19-05-2022, 10:40 PM

Not going down well.
Gerrard showed himself to be a top class salesman with that one.....had us ready to part with £350k before being gazumped by the Sheep. Average player, future Scotland captain mein hinter.

20-05-2022, 07:02 AM
Would be a stupid move to let Newell leave, he’s a better player than most give him credit for.

JDH isn’t a started for me but is still a good squad player to have.

There’s a place in the squad for Newell, but I also don’t think we would particularly notice if he left.

20-05-2022, 07:04 AM
Does sound like Johnson want athletic players that will work hard to win the ball back higher up the park

Looking forward to having some physicality and athletism in the team again

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

20-05-2022, 07:13 AM
Does sound like Johnson want athletic players that will work hard to win the ball back higher up the park

Looking forward to having some physicality and athletism in the team again

Yeah i liked that too. I've watched quite a lot of interviews with him now and his football doesn't seem over complicated. He speaks very well which is refreshing after Maloney who was like a rabbit in the headlights. Hopefully that filters through to the players and they all know exactly what their jobs are.

20-05-2022, 10:12 AM
https://www.portsmouth.co.uk/sport/football/portsmouth-fc/portsmouth-transfer-gossip-blues-in-battle-with-derby-sunderland-and-hibs-for-hull-winger-as-blackburn-lead-marcus-harness-race-and-league-two-trio-show-kieron-freeman-interest-3698973

James Scott

20-05-2022, 10:14 AM
https://www.portsmouth.co.uk/sport/football/portsmouth-fc/portsmouth-transfer-gossip-blues-in-battle-with-derby-sunderland-and-hibs-for-hull-winger-as-blackburn-lead-marcus-harness-race-and-league-two-trio-show-kieron-freeman-interest-3698973

James Scott

He’s never a winger now.

20-05-2022, 10:16 AM
He’s never a winger now.

Really?

He’s not a centre forward. We’ve learned that much.

20-05-2022, 10:17 AM
Gerrard showed himself to be a top class salesman with that one.....had us ready to part with £350k before being gazumped by the Sheep. Average player, future Scotland captain mein hinter.

He’s a very good player. Aberdeen play him all over the place. For me he’s a CDM and a decent one.

20-05-2022, 10:18 AM
Really?

He’s not a centre forward. We’ve learned that much.

He used to be a winger but has said himself he doesn’t have that pace. He’s been playing as a striker for us.

20-05-2022, 10:28 AM

James Scott

I'd be oddly disappointed if we didn't get Scott for next season. He got himself a hat-trick on the final day and was actually playing pretty well towards the end of the season. There's a player there if he can get a good pre-season.

20-05-2022, 10:41 AM
He’s a very good player. Aberdeen play him all over the place. For me he’s a CDM and a decent one.

He is a good player, some people wouldn’t find it do difficult to admit that if he hadn’t turned us down. I wish we’d had him in our squad at the start of this season when Hanlon was out and then Porto was suspended.

20-05-2022, 11:12 AM
I'd be oddly disappointed if we didn't get Scott for next season. He got himself a hat-trick on the final day and was actually playing pretty well towards the end of the season. There's a player there if he can get a good pre-season.

I don’t think he’s got what it takes to play up front on his own, or as the middle one of a 3 with wide players. I suspect that’s how Johnson will want to play, so Scott really isn’t going to be good enough for us.

He might have been worth a punt as a squad player if we were going to play 2 strikers.

FWIW I’m not convinced either Nisbet or Doidge will be much use to us going forward, as neither of them do the lone striker thing well enough.

20-05-2022, 11:17 AM
I don’t think he’s got what it takes to play up front on his own, or as the middle one of a 3 with wide players. I suspect that’s how Johnson will want to play, so Scott really isn’t going to be good enough for us.

He might have been worth a punt as a squad player if we were going to play 2 strikers.

FWIW I’m not convinced either Nisbet or Doidge will be much use to us going forward, as neither of them do the lone striker thing well enough.

Like Magennis - we can’t rely on Doidge or Nisbet are main strikers next season due to return from injury.

Scott also isn’t at the level we need to push on. We want hungry players and strikers who score regularly. LJ said that and not inconsistent players.

That applies to whole team - guys who will play lots of games and who are robust.

A good spine with new leadership, more creativity, more pace and character. Sounds simple but it’s what’s needed.

Percy Vere
20-05-2022, 11:42 AM
Fast, aggressive attacking.
World class in transition.
Midfield maestro to coordinate the symphonic movement ahead of him. A La Sauzee.
That’s all we need
Please and Thankyou Lee

20-05-2022, 11:49 AM

Shelling out new long contracts on very average players who suddenly had two good games (JDH, Campbell) contributed greatly to this mess. Doing it again with Scott would be nuts IMO.

20-05-2022, 12:09 PM
Shelling out new long contracts on very average players who suddenly had two good games (JDH, Campbell) contributed greatly to this mess. Doing it again with Scott would be nuts IMO.

It doesn't have to be a long deal. I'd give him 2 years, he's only 21. JDH looked great early on in the season before Magennis got injured so maybe Johnson can get him playing well in a winning team.

Campbell I agree, terrible decision.

Cat Stanton
20-05-2022, 12:13 PM
Fast, aggressive attacking.
World class in transition.
Midfield maestro to coordinate the symphonic movement ahead of him. A La Sauzee.
That’s all we need
Please and Thankyou Lee

Because you said 'thank you' and 'please', we should get one.

20-05-2022, 12:15 PM
I’m not as agitated about the new contracts for the midfielders as most folk seem to be. I find it weird that Newell was deemed to deserve a couple of new contracts in quick succession whilst being done for drunk driving and playing in an awful midfield but that’s another story…

JDH started the season well and at the time the new contract was signed, probably deserved it. Campbell is probably paid a wage relative to his status as a young squad player who has broken through. I’d be surprised if his wage was any more than a tiny fraction of what Boyle or Mueller were earning. For a squad player, his wage might represent decent value, it’s not his fault he’s ended up being used more often than we’d have liked.

If these contracts stop us from being able to afford the couple of top midfielders we badly need then that’s a different story, but I don’t think they will.

20-05-2022, 12:29 PM
Jasper is pish.

While he clearly has much to learn Jasper is very far from pish.

20-05-2022, 12:32 PM
I’m not as agitated about the new contracts for the midfielders as most folk seem to be. I find it weird that Newell was deemed to deserve a couple of new contracts in quick succession whilst being done for drunk driving and playing in an awful midfield but that’s another story…

JDH started the season well and at the time the new contract was signed, probably deserved it. Campbell is probably paid a wage relative to his status as a young squad player who has broken through. I’d be surprised if his wage was any more than a tiny fraction of what Boyle or Mueller were earning. For a squad player, his wage might represent decent value, it’s not his fault he’s ended up being used more often than we’d have liked.

If these contracts stop us from being able to afford the couple of top midfielders we badly need then that’s a different story, but I don’t think they will.

Newell and JDH aren't terrible footballers, they're just not good together. I can't see them being the reason we cannot bring in the midfielder players we need and they can remain as squad players or one fills a gap alongside two new midfielders (at present I'd start with Henderson in front of them with two new players alongside).

Out of Newell and JDH if we had to keep one I'd actually go for Doyle-Hayes. Newell has skills but we've almost never been able to accommodate his style in to a regularly winning side, I'm just not convinced we're the right club for him.

#2 Double Tap
20-05-2022, 12:46 PM
While he clearly has much to learn Jasper is very far from pish.

I dunno if I imagine it, but I think he lacks pace.

Steve Austin
20-05-2022, 01:32 PM
Think he will possibly take Bailey Wright Australia Defender,Marlon pack defensive midfield player,Lyndon Gooch American midfielder, and possibly Aiden McGeady too..
im confident seeing some are out of contract at Sunderland will end up here and be in Lee Johnson’s thoughts in regards targets as he knows them and they have done well for him.,

:wink::agree:

20-05-2022, 01:41 PM

Not going down well.

Do they not realise the season is over? No surprise he is a Rangers fan. Don't rate him as highly as some good engine and athletic however average on the ball and reckless in the tackle

Mcbizz1998
20-05-2022, 02:10 PM

Not going down well.

Aberdeen are so weird with that made up rivalry with the huns. I’d say Hibs are more their rivals and I wouldn’t care if a player we knew was a hun was at a game after the season ended.

20-05-2022, 02:17 PM
:hyper

Dr_Regal
20-05-2022, 03:00 PM
Think he will possibly take Bailey Wright Australia Defender,Marlon pack defensive midfield player,Lyndon Gooch American midfielder, and possibly Aiden McGeady too..
im confident seeing some are out of contract at Sunderland will end up here and be in Lee Johnson’s thoughts in regards targets as he knows them and they have done well for him.,

:wink::agree:

"Arbenit Xhemajli – The Kosovan was signed from Neuchâtel Xamax and came highly rated with former manager Lee Johnson claiming the centre back was one of the best in the division before he’d even made his debut.

The 24-year-old has spent the majority out injured with an anterior cruciate ligament problem keeping him out for over a year and whilst he did impress in his three appearances for the club this season hasn’t been able to secure himself a spot in the starting eleven." https://sportsbyte.sunderland.ac.uk/2022/05/11/sunderlands-seven-out-of-contract-players-should-they-be-offered-new-deals/

Johnson called this guy the best Centre half in the league, he will be on the radar.

20-05-2022, 03:13 PM
"Arbenit Xhemajli – The Kosovan was signed from Neuchâtel Xamax and came highly rated with former manager Lee Johnson claiming the centre back was one of the best in the division before he’d even made his debut.

The 24-year-old has spent the majority out injured with an anterior cruciate ligament problem keeping him out for over a year and whilst he did impress in his three appearances for the club this season hasn’t been able to secure himself a spot in the starting eleven." https://sportsbyte.sunderland.ac.uk/2022/05/11/sunderlands-seven-out-of-contract-players-should-they-be-offered-new-deals/

Johnson called this guy the best Centre half in the league, he will be on the radar.

Having missed this entire season through injury he would appear to have everything our recruitment team look for in a player.

20-05-2022, 03:15 PM
Having missed this entire season through injury he would appear to have everything our recruitment team look for in a player.

hahaha

20-05-2022, 03:30 PM

Ok, but what about an 18 month deal?

20-05-2022, 03:32 PM

There is almost no connection between the mess we are in and these contracts , let alone a huge contribution

Hibiza
20-05-2022, 03:34 PM

10/10 .

20-05-2022, 03:34 PM

Yeah, I think there's a player in there.

20-05-2022, 04:23 PM

Yes. Scored goals in a exhibition match against a team not trying a leg.

No thanks.

20-05-2022, 05:51 PM
What about that young Belgian guy I saw warming up on the touchline in a few games, is he staying with us? Is he any good?

JamesHFC
20-05-2022, 05:55 PM
Aiden McGeady anyone.. 👀

20-05-2022, 05:57 PM
Aiden McGeady anyone.. 👀

Hopefully not. We need pace going forward and an injury prone, over the hill winger won’t cut it.

angus hibby
20-05-2022, 06:01 PM
Aiden McGeady anyone.. 👀

Would much prefer Patrick Roberts. Imagine he’ll sign a new contract with Sunderland if they go up though.

20-05-2022, 06:08 PM
Aiden McGeady anyone.. 👀

Hasn't played since November and is 37 in July. Unless he's part of the coaching set up then I doubt it.

20-05-2022, 06:09 PM
What about that young Belgian guy I saw warming up on the touchline in a few games, is he staying with us? Is he any good?

He was brought in as part of the 'B' team?

tonyrougier123
20-05-2022, 09:05 PM
I noticed Shaun Rooney is out of contract,what’s the verdict on him from folk?
What I’ve seen I quite like him.

20-05-2022, 09:08 PM

Absolute huddy , but that's just my opinion 😁

20-05-2022, 09:14 PM
Aberdeen are so weird with that made up rivalry with the huns. I’d say Hibs are more their rivals and I wouldn’t care if a player we knew was a hun was at a game after the season ended.

The Simpson/Durrant incident caused such massive hatred between them, though I suspect Aberdeen were just thrilled someone was treating them with the attention a derby rival normally receives and we all know the rangers just love creating drama and holding a grudge.

That said, I absolutely believe we'd have a similar reaction on here these days had he been a Hibs player. Sure there was something about Middleton going to games or posting online and he was only on loan to Hibs plus look how upset some are that the new manager played 4 games for Hearts

20-05-2022, 09:38 PM

We've got Clarke and Cadden who are better than him.

20-05-2022, 09:48 PM

He’s absolutely lethal at the back post and has a tremendous engine on him. If Clarke goes back to Arsenal I’d be keen to take him.

Depends if Johnson plays wing backs, from what I’ve read I don’t think he does.

20-05-2022, 09:52 PM
He’s absolutely lethal at the back post and has a tremendous engine on him. If Clarke goes back to Arsenal I’d be keen to take him.

Depends if Johnson plays wing backs, from what I’ve read I don’t think he does.

He’s an absolutely brutal defender.

20-05-2022, 09:57 PM
He’s an absolutely brutal defender.

Is he? Genuinely not got a clue.

cameronw-hfc
20-05-2022, 10:04 PM
Is he? Genuinely not got a clue.

He also said on Open Goal during the Euros he'd ideally like to finish his career with them and would rather not go anywhere so could just be a case of waiting to see what division they're in before deciding what new deal he gets.

20-05-2022, 10:19 PM
Aiden McGeady anyone.. 👀

I would for a season

tonyrougier123
20-05-2022, 10:24 PM
He also said on Open Goal during the Euros he'd ideally like to finish his career with them and would rather not go anywhere so could just be a case of waiting to see what division they're in before deciding what new deal he gets.

He’s only 25 tae?think he’d like to move to a bigger club more money surely?
I don’t watch them all that much but when I have looks decent,as another poster said he’s a threat in opposition box,he’s fairly direct and strong as well.

I was watching some old Bristol city stuff,some big types like him in Johnson’s old team.

Hibi
20-05-2022, 10:26 PM

Dreadful footballer. Took advantage of hibs being defensively weak due to his size but file under Simon mensing when it comes to ability. I’d be worried if that was what hibs were signing. Cadden is a much better footballer

20-05-2022, 10:38 PM
Aiden McGeady anyone.. 👀

A mate said him to me but I guessed it was guesswork, especially with McGeady criticising the club after Maloney had been sacked.

But since you were ahead of everyone with the Johnson chat I imagine there’s something in this especially since he’s out of contract.

Would have preferred him 3 years ago when we were first linked though

20-05-2022, 11:00 PM
McGeady would also be a fantastic mentor for young Jasper 👀

MikeyS
20-05-2022, 11:06 PM
McGeady would also be a fantastic mentor for young Jasper 👀

He was rumoured to be a target for Jack Ross a while back too, think he was even at ER for a match.

20-05-2022, 11:16 PM
Mcageady was to due come here under Maloney….think the deal was done in principle…don’t know what the status is now..

20-05-2022, 11:27 PM
Aiden McGeady anyone.. 👀

Got a feeling this could happen - he’s been out injured for ages though.

Bailey and Roberts at Sunderland - just can’t see it but Bailey. Both would be ideal - a leader and Roberts who similar mould to Boyle. Roberts form has just picked up in time for playoff final so if they get promoted can’t see it.
Imagine the Sunderland players get paid lots more than the Hibs players.

21-05-2022, 05:10 AM
:hyper

21-05-2022, 05:57 AM
Mcginn been sold yet🤔 His sell on would the equivalent of a lottery win for this club, what would be at the top of our wish list? Infrastructure - new pitch, upgrade HTC, fill in the corners! Supplement an upgrade to the lager in hospitality from Tennents to a posh premium lager? Blow the lot on a hedonistic couple of seasons paying over the odds for players in the search for silverware🤷🏼

21-05-2022, 06:02 AM
Mcginn been sold yet🤔 His sell on would the equivalent of a lottery win for this club, what would be at the top of our wish list? Infrastructure - new pitch, upgrade HTC, fill in the corners! Supplement an upgrade to the lager in hospitality from Tennents to a posh premium lager? Blow the lot on a hedonistic couple of seasons paying over the odds for players in the search for silverware🤷🏼

I keep reading Conte is an admirer of SJM

21-05-2022, 07:14 AM
Great. More money for Hearts. Do us a favour Super John and move somewhere

Ment to be going to Spurs

Percy Vere
21-05-2022, 07:25 AM

I believe so aye
Thankyou

21-05-2022, 07:52 AM
He was rumoured to be a target for Jack Ross a while back too, think he was even at ER for a match.

He was covering the last Hibs Celtic game for sky sports at ER seemed very complimentary to us in his comments. If he was coming under Maloney you may assume that not won't happen though obviously he will know LJ very well.

21-05-2022, 08:27 AM
He was covering the last Hibs Celtic game for sky sports at ER seemed very complimentary to us in his comments. If he was coming under Maloney you may assume that not won't happen though obviously he will know LJ very well.

I just don’t see how he fits into the type of team LJ was talking about.

21-05-2022, 09:13 AM
What formation(s) does Johnson favour?

21-05-2022, 09:16 AM
What formation(s) does Johnson favour?

Just seen the other thread - it's 4-3-3.

Mr. Wonderful
21-05-2022, 09:40 AM
Aden Flint..

21-05-2022, 09:49 AM
Aden Flint..

I’m sure I read in an interview that he doesn’t like signing older guy and his signings tend to be young up and coming players he feels he can improve.

21-05-2022, 09:52 AM
I’m sure I read in an interview that he doesn’t like signing older guy and his signings tend to be young up and coming players he feels he can improve.

He may well look at the age of the squad as it is and realise we maybe need some senior players - although I think we need that more up top.

We've not got anyone who has performed at a higher level and can bring thier experience of that.

McGruber
21-05-2022, 10:02 AM
Definitely need a little experience in a team. Hearts are supposedly in talks with Steve Davis, think he is a good player if another season in the legs

21-05-2022, 10:05 AM
Definitely need a little experience in a team. Hearts are supposedly in talks with Steve Davis, think he is a good player if another season in the legs

I could be wrong but I'm sure Arfield is out of contract aswell?

21-05-2022, 10:05 AM

Cue the puns.

Bridge hibs
21-05-2022, 10:08 AM
I could be wrong but I'm sure Arfield is out of contract aswell?Thought he recently signed a 1 year extension

21-05-2022, 10:14 AM
Thought he recently signed a 1 year extension

Yes you're right he did. I'm going from a few months ago when his contract was ending but he signed a one year extension earlier this month.

OldEast
21-05-2022, 10:16 AM
Cue the puns.

Give it a rest

MKHIBEE
21-05-2022, 10:24 AM
Cue the puns.

Give us a break

sauzee=legend
21-05-2022, 11:09 AM
They will be snookered if he gets injured.

Box 17
21-05-2022, 11:10 AM
Cue the puns.

He's past his sel-by date.

21-05-2022, 11:10 AM
Cue the puns.

safety first style then :wink:

21-05-2022, 11:11 AM
Would take Steve Davis

21-05-2022, 11:12 AM
Davis would be a brilliant signing for anyone in the league

21-05-2022, 11:20 AM

I’d rather we brought back Reardon.

zitelli62
21-05-2022, 11:33 AM

Thought he got an extension.

21-05-2022, 11:48 AM
I’d rather we brought back Reardon.

Very good. :top marks

leith lynx
21-05-2022, 11:57 AM
Cue the puns.

balls

leith lynx
21-05-2022, 12:01 PM
Would take Steve Davis

Boring

leith lynx
21-05-2022, 12:03 PM

Would pocket a good signing on fee

21-05-2022, 12:04 PM
Having missed this entire season through injury he would appear to have everything our recruitment team look for in a player.Does he come with his own personalised treatment table? If so he seems to tick all the boxes.

21-05-2022, 12:04 PM
Would take Steve Davis
Interesting

21-05-2022, 12:09 PM
Would take Steve Davis

Are you loopy?😏

21-05-2022, 12:10 PM
Wonder when we’ll announce our departures, although KO presume our outgoings already know

Paulie Walnuts
21-05-2022, 12:10 PM
Just seen the other thread - it's 4-3-3.

Yeah 4-3-3.

Apparently he planned on signing players to fit a 4-3-3 at Sunderland with the midfield being a 6, an 8 and a 10, so a bit like the midfield we had when we had McGeough, McGinn and Allan.

21-05-2022, 01:31 PM
Connor wickham and Scott Sinclair available decent players

21-05-2022, 01:35 PM
Cue the puns.

Who even wants to table that idea? I’ve never felt Davies is that good.

21-05-2022, 02:16 PM
Surprised nobody is looking at Daniel Mandroiu, always looked good in highlights I have watched.

21-05-2022, 02:35 PM
Hopefully Johnson will fix our midfield. Sounds like we'll need athletic, mobile players for his style of play and that's the complete opposite to our midfield.

Maybe Tait is mobile enough to fit in. He'll be like new signing if he doesn't get loaned out again.

21-05-2022, 02:51 PM
Yeah 4-3-3.

Apparently he planned on signing players to fit a 4-3-3 at Sunderland with the midfield being a 6, an 8 and a 10, so a bit like the midfield we had when we had McGeough, McGinn and Allan.

Think with two key additions we're not too far away from being able to do that effectively.

Newell or JDH starting as the 6 depending on the opposition and if we want either more defensive or more technical ability there. A new energetic box to box player as the 8 with Campbell and Tait as back up. Then a new creative number 10 that can hopefully rotate with magennis if he can stay fit.

21-05-2022, 07:34 PM
I really hope we get some quality wingers in next season who can create something in the final third and we really need one on each side.

21-05-2022, 07:58 PM
I really hope we get some quality wingers in next season who can create something in the final third and we really need one on each side.

Wing backs in this day and age mate. Wingers died out with VHS video recorders.😀

21-05-2022, 08:09 PM

Without a new midfield, we are going to be exactly the same as this season. Midfield needs addressed first in my opinion

21-05-2022, 08:17 PM
Without a new midfield, we are going to be exactly the same as this season. Midfield needs addressed first in my opinion

100%, a good central midfield lifts all the other players around them.

21-05-2022, 08:17 PM
Not sure if it’s relevant or not but apparently Sunderland getting a massive budget now they’re in the championship.

Might mean some of the players that got them up could be moved on, maybe more relevant is the young players just below first team level who now have even less chance of breaking through.

21-05-2022, 08:30 PM
Not sure if it’s relevant or not but apparently Sunderland getting a massive budget now they’re in the championship.

Might mean some of the players that got them up could be moved on, maybe more relevant is the young players just below first team level who now have even less chance of breaking through.

Had been thinking that but can't think who would like a move here ? They will be on a pretty penny at Sunderland and there are still some clubs in league 1 with hefty budgets.

21-05-2022, 08:42 PM
Had been thinking that but can't think who would like a move here ? They will be on a pretty penny at Sunderland and there are still some clubs in league 1 with hefty budgets.

Yeah that’s why I was thinking more the young players who were maybe threatening to break through but have no chance now.

I don’t think we will take anybody directly from their first team into ours.

21-05-2022, 10:47 PM

Yeah, there at a weird place where anyone who has done the business for them would be way out of our reach but anyone who has struggled for them surely wouldn’t be good enough for us.

I watched their game today and have seen a few of their games over the course of this season. What struck me most was how good Ross Stewart was and how much we’ve been crying out for someone who does what he does. Up front on his own, supported by a couple wide players and a good number 10, ran himself into the ground and was an absolute handful.

It was Johnson who signed him. If he’s going to want to play that way with us he’s going to need to sign someone like him.

NC1875
21-05-2022, 10:50 PM
Yeah, there at a weird place where anyone who has done the business for them would be way out of our reach but anyone who has struggled for them surely wouldn’t be good enough for us.

I watched their game today and have seen a few of their games over the course of this season. What struck me most was how good Ross Stewart was and how much we’ve been crying out for someone who does what he does. Up front on his own, supported by a couple wide players and a good number 10, ran himself into the ground and was an absolute handful.

It was Johnson who signed him. If he’s going to want to play that way with us he’s going to need to sign someone like him.

Didn’t we try and sign him ?

21-05-2022, 10:51 PM

Yep. Had a previous January window bid knocked back for him….

22-05-2022, 05:58 AM
Mbappe signing a new deal at psg, close to £1m per week, absolutely mental

22-05-2022, 06:25 AM
I realise we need a fair bit of pace and creativity at the top end of the pitch, but anyone else think we need at least a couple of quality defenders, too? Looks like Macgregor may be ready to retire, Porto may be away and Hanlon, Stevenson and McGinn, good servants to the club though they are, are not getting any younger.

I don't know if any of the young lads are ready to step up yet and be regulars in the team.

22-05-2022, 06:45 AM

Yeah we were linked with him for quite a while to the annoyance of some fans.

I remember reading alot of posts at the time saying we should be aiming higher, not good enough etc etc

Turns out he would have been a very good signing, if he replicated his Sunderland form for us which in fairness isn’t a given

OldEast
22-05-2022, 06:45 AM
I realise we need a fair bit of pace and creativity at the top end of the pitch, but anyone else think we need at least a couple of quality defenders, too? Looks like Macgregor may be ready to retire, Porto may be away and Hanlon, Stevenson and McGinn, good servants to the club though they are, are not getting any younger.

I don't know if any of the young lads are ready to step up yet and be regulars in the team.

We need strengthened all over but first we have to score goals. You're right though but it will take more than one transfer window. The fickle fans need to stay onside until Johnson gets the team as he wants it.

22-05-2022, 07:04 AM
Yeah we were linked with him for quite a while to the annoyance of some fans.

I remember reading alot of posts at the time saying we should be aiming higher, not good enough etc etc

Turns out he would have been a very good signing, if he replicated his Sunderland form for us which in fairness isn’t a given

Can file those alongside similar posts about Glen Kamara when he was at Dundee.

22-05-2022, 07:06 AM
Yes, it's not summer yet. But we have done some transfer business already.

Confirmed in (0):
None

Confirmed new contracts (1):
Joe Newell (three years)

Confirmed out (4):
Alex Gogic
Sean Mackie
Chris Mueller (Chicago Fire)
Jamie Murphy

Confirmed out on loan (0):
None

Rumoured in:
David Marshall (goalkeeper, QPR)
Harry McKirdy (striker, Swindon)
James Scott (striker, Hull)
Lewis Strapp (defender, Morton)

Rumoured out:
Matt Macey
Darren McGregor
Ryan Porteous

Rumoured new contracts:
None

Isn't Henderson a confirmed in - he was on loan during the season now just ended, so is a new signing for 2022/23.

22-05-2022, 07:09 AM

That’s right, the argument of we can’t sign 2/3 (Allan and Kamara) of the Dundee Midfield.

Fuzzywuzzy
22-05-2022, 07:10 AM
Mbappe signing a new deal at psg, close to £1m per week, absolutely mental

La Liga seem to have taken umbridge with this and are none too pleased

22-05-2022, 07:10 AM
Wonder if the signing of David Marshall will be approved

Mr. Wonderful
22-05-2022, 07:49 AM

Wasn't on this forum at the time but I do remember reading that people didn't want him because he was "too similar to Bartley" which was then followed by a debate about unconscious racism.

Paulie Walnuts
22-05-2022, 07:51 AM
Wasn't on this forum at the time but I do remember reading that people didn't want him because he was "too similar to Bartley" which was then followed by a debate about unconscious racism.

I mean it’s hard to argue that comments like that are based on their skin colour as they’re a million miles apart style wise.

K-Zazu
22-05-2022, 08:07 AM

Ah the Loch Ness Drogba, what a player.

22-05-2022, 08:17 AM
We need strengthened all over but first we have to score goals. You're right though but it will take more than one transfer window. The fickle fans need to stay onside until Johnson gets the team as he wants it.

Aye, alright Ron.

22-05-2022, 08:18 AM
When does the window open?

22-05-2022, 08:28 AM

See this is where a lot of problems lie IMO. Hanlon, Stevenson and McGregor have been around for some time now, it's almost as if management have said these guys are certainties for first team places and haven't focussed on replacing them at any time with any youngsters coming through, they've brought in the occasional player from outside such as Rocky but apart from Porteous and Doig is there absolutely nobody come through that could step in to replace these guys? I know some people watch the youngsters more than I do and might be able to answer this.

22-05-2022, 08:30 AM
When does the window open?

10th June

22-05-2022, 08:32 AM
10th June

Thanks. It seems later this year. Can't be that long before our league Cup matches.

22-05-2022, 08:35 AM
Thanks. It seems later this year. Can't be that long before our league Cup matches.

Think they start around the 9th July

22-05-2022, 09:02 AM

We can sign players before then, they just can’t be registered with the SFA until that date.

22-05-2022, 09:04 AM
Isn't Henderson a confirmed in - he was on loan during the season now just ended, so is a new signing for 2022/23.

I guess he us, but that was all confirmed in January. Its just that his permanent contract begins in the 10th of June.

22-05-2022, 09:09 AM
See this is where a lot of problems lie IMO. Hanlon, Stevenson and McGregor have been around for some time now, it's almost as if management have said these guys are certainties for first team places and haven't focussed on replacing them at any time with any youngsters coming through, they've brought in the occasional player from outside such as Rocky but apart from Porteous and Doig is there absolutely nobody come through that could step in to replace these guys? I know some people watch the youngsters more than I do and might be able to answer this.

Delferriere who we brought in for next season's B team was in and around the first team squad for a lot of the end of the season matches, but only came on for a few minutes in the last game so not easy to judge if he's seen as a player who will be expected to push on next season and challenge for a place. A couple of the U18s came on too in that game, but again not obvious that they're ready to make the leap into the first team

Mr. Wonderful
22-05-2022, 10:00 AM
I mean it’s hard to argue that comments like that are based on their skin colour as they’re a million miles apart style wise.

Definitely. The poster took some stick for that at the time but he was right on the money

22-05-2022, 11:41 AM
https://mobile.twitter.com/thewednesdayblg/status/1528314804577902593?s=21&t=yhnqjKyVNgdOkS8gnD_Rng

22-05-2022, 11:47 AM
https://mobile.twitter.com/thewednesdayblg/status/1528314804577902593?s=21&t=yhnqjKyVNgdOkS8gnD_Rng

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jack_Tucker

Defender - wears no 6 so presumably centre back? Interesting.

22-05-2022, 11:48 AM

2m tall centre back.

22-05-2022, 11:49 AM

Young CB , Gills young POTY, Sheffield Wednesday also interested, reckon Hibs can get him for £200k which is half or what SWFC would have to pay due to it being cross border.

22-05-2022, 11:54 AM

https://www.pressandjournal.co.uk/fp/sport/football/aberdeen-fc/3850620/aberdeen-linked-with-gillingham-centre-back/

22-05-2022, 11:56 AM
https://www.pressandjournal.co.uk/fp/sport/football/aberdeen-fc/3850620/aberdeen-linked-with-gillingham-centre-back/

That’s from January when they had Glass

22-05-2022, 01:10 PM
The good thing about Tucker and McKirdy who were linked with is your imagine Lee Johnson would have very good knowledge of them, their quality and playing styles from his time at Sunderland.

If both were any good you’d think he’d have been targeting them.

We always seem to be linked with Sunderland players so clearly shop in the same market.

His knowledge of the English leagues could be a huge plus.

It also depends who he has in mind but I imagine Alan Forrest is the sort of player he’d really like.

Paulie Walnuts
22-05-2022, 01:16 PM
Seen an article earlier saying that Ryan Gauld earns £35k a week at Vancouver.

If I was someone like Porteous I’d be begging my agent to get a move to the MLS. Obscene money, Gauld wasn’t good enough for us.

22-05-2022, 01:16 PM
Tucker would be a good start.

22-05-2022, 01:24 PM
The good thing about Tucker and McKirdy who were linked with is your imagine Lee Johnson would have very good knowledge of them, their quality and playing styles from his time at Sunderland.

If both were any good you’d think he’d have been targeting them.

We always seem to be linked with Sunderland players so clearly shop in the same market.

His knowledge of the English leagues could be a huge plus.

It also depends who he has in mind but I imagine Alan Forrest is the sort of player he’d really like.

Haven’t seen any footage of McKirdy. For those who have, is he good enough to play in the centre of a front 3

22-05-2022, 01:42 PM
Seen an article earlier saying that Ryan Gauld earns £35k a week at Vancouver.

If I was someone like Porteous I’d be begging my agent to get a move to the MLS. Obscene money, Gauld wasn’t good enough for us.

https://soccerprime.com/vancouver-whitecaps-player-salaries/

vancouver are one of the lowest payers in MSL.

Average salary around $187,000

chippy
22-05-2022, 01:44 PM
Contract up, Ross and Mathie wanted him, free agent end of May. Should we?

22-05-2022, 01:45 PM
https://soccerprime.com/vancouver-whitecaps-player-salaries/

vancouver are one of the lowest payers in MSL.

Average salary around $187,000

MLS salaries are public record and searchable here:

https://mlsplayers.org/resources/salary-guide

Ryan Gauld will earn $2.265m for 2022 which is $43.5k per week.

Gauld will be registered as a designated foreign player allowing them to exceed the wage cap.

22-05-2022, 01:48 PM
Contract up, Ross and Mathie wanted him, free agent end of May. Should we?

Who are you talking about?

22-05-2022, 01:50 PM

Jamie McCart would be my guess

22-05-2022, 01:52 PM

If it is then I have seen nothing from him that would suggest we should sign him.
How's that ex Killie boy doing that's playing in the states? Findlay?

22-05-2022, 01:54 PM

Hope not.

22-05-2022, 01:55 PM

Think he’s a leftie? Maybe as a squad player, competition for Hanlo
We must be after a right sided centre back as well. Is the Gillingham centre back a right sided player?

Inconsequential
22-05-2022, 01:56 PM
Who are you talking about?Should have gone to specsavers. :rolleyes:

Paulie Walnuts
22-05-2022, 01:59 PM
If it is then I have seen nothing from him that would suggest we should sign him.
How's that ex Killie boy doing that's playing in the states? Findlay?

He’s on the bench most weeks for Portland.

On £6k a week nearly tho so would need to take a significant paycut to come here.

22-05-2022, 02:01 PM
Should have gone to specsavers. :rolleyes:

Me or Ross/Mathie😀

22-05-2022, 02:04 PM
Haven’t seen any footage of McKirdy. For those who have, is he good enough to play in the centre of a front 3

Saw him on TV in the recent play off final. Spent the game running about furiously to very little effect.
Ballooned a penalty over the bar in the shoot out and seemed to find it very funny. Am told he’s much better than that.

Inconsequential
22-05-2022, 02:05 PM
Me or Ross/Mathie😀 All three! :wink:

chippy
22-05-2022, 02:34 PM

Oops yes Jamie McCart

Inconsequential
22-05-2022, 03:03 PM
Oops yes Jamie McCart Why repeat yourself? Why repeat yourself? :wink:

McGruber
22-05-2022, 05:44 PM
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jack_Tucker

Defender - wears no 6 so presumably centre back? Interesting.

Been crying out for a big dirty Tucker in central defence..

Somebody had to

Leitherhibs
22-05-2022, 05:46 PM

Good enough? Not sure.
Big enough? No.
Quick enough? Probably not.

Think he’d be ok in a 2 but would struggle as a lone front man up here INO.

22-05-2022, 07:43 PM
When is Marshall getting announced?

22-05-2022, 09:45 PM

Thinking the same thing. Weird it hasn't been officially announced yet.

Though we still haven't announced players leaving etc either.

HibeeMackenzie
22-05-2022, 09:45 PM
Are we expecting a retained list to be announced tomorrow or early this week?
Seems to be the norm these days and with LJ being in the door for a few days now you would expect conversations to have taken place with those who are out of contract

ElginHibbie
23-05-2022, 08:16 AM

Having medical today according to BBC

timewilltell
23-05-2022, 08:22 AM
Having medical today according to BBC

Scotland goalkeeper David Marshall will have a medical in Edinburgh on Monday, with a view to finalising a move to Hibernian.

The 37-year-old agreed a pre-contract but the deal required approval from new manager Lee Johnson, who joined the club last week, before it could be concluded.

Marshall is a free agent after a short-term spell at Queens Park Rangers.

The last of his 47 caps came at the delayed European Championship in 2021.

The former Celtic, Norwich, Cardiff, Hull, Wigan and Derby keeper started all three group games and was the hero of the play-off final penalty shoot-out in Serbia that ended Scotland's 23-year wait to play in a major tournament.

However, he has not featured since after losing his place at Derby, where he had been captain, at the start of this season.

In January, Marshall moved to QPR and played 12 matches before picking up a hamstring injury in mid-March.

Matt Macey, 27, was Hibs' first-choice keeper this season, making 44 appearances, with back-up Kevin Dabrowksi, 23, taking the gloves on six occasions.

EGL2000
23-05-2022, 09:22 AM
Villa sign boubacar kamara from Marseille. Great piece of business,watch alot of Marseille and looks a great buy at that age/price tag.

23-05-2022, 09:26 AM
Villa sign boubacar kamara from Marseille. Great piece of business,watch alot of Marseille and looks a great buy at that age/price tag.

Yeah good to see they snapped him up.

23-05-2022, 09:54 AM
If Marshall is coming in then I'd expect Macey to leave.

Hibees1973
23-05-2022, 10:07 AM
Marshall would be an excellent signing.

Credit to the board if they get this over the line.

Paulie Walnuts
23-05-2022, 10:09 AM

On a free as well.

23-05-2022, 10:15 AM

It's been done for a few weeks. Just needed new manager to sign it off.

Leitherhibs
23-05-2022, 10:32 AM
It's been done for a few weeks. Just needed new manager to sign it off.

Same with Paul McGinn extension, club just conscious of the optics with no manager in and signing/re-signing players.

23-05-2022, 11:08 AM
Same with Paul McGinn extension, club just conscious of the optics with no manager in and signing/re-signing players.

Great to hear, think he’s an excellent professional and important to the team

23-05-2022, 11:12 AM

I've got to admit that I've never heard of him.

23-05-2022, 11:15 AM
Great to hear, think he’s an excellent professional and important to the team
Agree

Dmas
23-05-2022, 11:37 AM

Moved from CB to holding midfield role this year……mcginn money coming?

23-05-2022, 11:41 AM

Heard from a villa supporting mate that Villa are looking to sell McGinn this season, I thought it was nonsense as he's a mainstay in that team and SG seems to like him.

Dmas
23-05-2022, 11:44 AM
Heard from a villa supporting mate that Villa are looking to sell McGinn this season, I thought it was nonsense as he's a mainstay in that team and SG seems to like him.

Seems mental to be actually wanting to sell him he’s one of the best performing mids in the league, suppose they poor league finish maybe need to sell to buy and SG will be looking to put his own stamp on things this window, here’s hoping he goes if we get the sell on % for that it’s not so bad watching them in euro groups

23-05-2022, 12:01 PM

Not our most pressing transfer business imo., best goals against in league outwith Rangers and Celtic suggest goalkeeping and defence doing ok. Our issues are in the forward areas.

Dmas
23-05-2022, 12:08 PM
Not our most pressing transfer business imo., best goals against in league outwith Rangers and Celtic suggest goalkeeping and defence doing ok. Our issues are in the forward areas.

No cover now, Rocky away Daz retired possibility of losing Porto

badabing67
23-05-2022, 12:23 PM
Seems mental to be actually wanting to sell him he’s one of the best performing mids in the league, suppose they poor league finish maybe need to sell to buy and SG will be looking to put his own stamp on things this window, here’s hoping he goes if we get the sell on % for that it’s not so bad watching them in euro groups

Wouldn't surprise me if Stevie_G and Klopp got there there heads together. Klopp will need to replace both Milner & Henderson soon and McGinn would be a ready made replacement for either of them imo.

23-05-2022, 12:27 PM
I think McGinn will move on but if he doesn't this signing will allow McGinn to move up to a more advanced role than the more defensive role he's been in for a while at Villa. We'll see more more goals from him....

23-05-2022, 12:27 PM
Few offers in for Porteous apparently

23-05-2022, 12:44 PM
I personally wouldn't extend McGinn's contract. Last season I felt we leaked goals from the right hand side of defence when McGinn played.

He was superb the season before last, but just not convinced he is good enough to get us where we want to be.

23-05-2022, 12:51 PM
I personally wouldn't extend McGinn's contract. Last season I felt we leaked goals from the right hand side of defence when McGinn played.

He was superb the season before last, but just not convinced he is good enough to get us where we want to be.

Feel both McGinn and Doig need competition at least. Ideally we bring in new full backs and centre backs.

McGinn was at fault for a few goals / pens.
Doig seems teams have worked out he’s not great defending deep high crosses.

timewilltell
23-05-2022, 12:52 PM

We don't want our defence to just be ok, we want it to be excellent. Marshall will help that

23-05-2022, 12:59 PM
I also wouldn’t rely on Cadden at right back. Completely wasted back there and play him further forward to get crosses into box.

Willis1875
23-05-2022, 01:07 PM
I also wouldn’t rely on Cadden at right back. Completely wasted back there and play him further forward to get crosses into box.

His crossing is the weakest part of his game imo

23-05-2022, 01:14 PM
His crossing is the weakest part of his game imo

Yes continual hit and hope from 20/25 yards out because he can seldom get to the bye line.

23-05-2022, 01:30 PM
Hibs announcing Marshall

https://twitter.com/HibernianFC/status/1528729801112141826?t=RXbPTTI1HnJgMC5W9mB10Q&s=19

23-05-2022, 01:30 PM
Marshall confirmed two year deal

HibeeHibernian4
23-05-2022, 01:35 PM
Good piece of business. :agree:

23-05-2022, 01:36 PM
An excellent signing. Welcome David 👊

23-05-2022, 01:36 PM
Great signing, more like this please Hibs, a good mix of youth and experience is required.

23-05-2022, 01:38 PM
Hibernian FC Manager, Lee Johnson, commented: “I’d like to offer David a very warm welcome. He’s an excellent goalkeeper and actually a player that I’ve tried to sign before.

“His experience will be invaluable for us both on and off the pitch. It’s vital that our senior players aren’t just great characters, but also help us set the standard around the training ground and on matchdays.

“He is a fantastic addition to this squad, and I’m looking forward to working with him.”

Head of Recruitment, Ian Gordon, added: “We have a young, talented, ambitious team, but we know that if we want to be successful, we need to have a good balance in terms of experience and leadership, and David Marshall fits that mould perfectly.

“He is a real professional, who will push on the other ‘keepers and really help accelerate the development of our younger goalkeepers like Murray Johnson.”

Paulie Walnuts
23-05-2022, 01:51 PM
Hearts fan at my work has said he’s heard they’re in for McBurnie.

1 goal in his last 51 league appearances. Please let them do it, he’d cost them a fortune and he’s abysmal.

23-05-2022, 01:52 PM

1 goal in his last 51 league appearances. Please let them do it, he’d cost them a fortune and he’s abysmal.

Think he's high. Surely even Hearts wouldn't go for a player that's likely to get sentenced for booting a boy in the head?

23-05-2022, 01:52 PM

I'd be surprised if McBurnie isn't playing non league football in the next few years.

23-05-2022, 01:54 PM

His wages would be astronomical compared to what they can afford. However , he’s absolutely ****ing hopeless so I hope it’s true

Paulie Walnuts
23-05-2022, 01:55 PM
Think he's high. Surely even Hearts wouldn't go for a player that's likely to get sentenced for booting a boy in the head?

Hadn’t heard about that but just googled it. What an ******** he is.

23-05-2022, 01:57 PM
Happy with Marshall.

Need players that are going to go straight in to the team and are an improvement on what we have. He does that for me.

23-05-2022, 02:00 PM
Happy with Marshall.

Need players that are going to go straight in to the team and are an improvement on what we have. He does that for me.

Exactly, been saying it for years, we need players to come in who are much better than the one they will replace.

This is a good start.

Mcbizz1998
23-05-2022, 02:00 PM

I would be absolutely devastated at this. Maybe you can figure out from my username why…..

Paulie Walnuts
23-05-2022, 02:01 PM
Happy with Marshall.

Absolutely. That has to something we’re really pushing for this summer, 5 or 6 players that go straight into the starting 11 and improve it.

Paulie Walnuts
23-05-2022, 02:02 PM
I would be absolutely devastated at this. Maybe you can figure out from my username why…..

To be fair the guy didn’t say Oli McBurnie to me, just McBurnie.. maybe it’s you they’re keeping an eye on?

23-05-2022, 02:08 PM

Hahahahahahahahahahaha..... I'm not one to get into this calling players pish stuff but how this player ever got to the level he is mystifies me. Christ, if I had the money I'd pay the transfer fee just to see him playing for that mob.

23-05-2022, 02:11 PM
McBurnie joining them for a fortune and being as pish as you might expect / hope would be pretty good though.

TBF - it's exactly the kind of thing that Hearts tend to do when they run into a bit of money.

Souter96Mac
23-05-2022, 02:24 PM
Great start to the rebuild getting Marshall in. At the very least we need a new spine to the team, so it's good to get a quality experienced GK in.

23-05-2022, 02:26 PM
Hibernian FC Manager, Lee Johnson, commented: “I’d like to offer David a very warm welcome. He’s an excellent goalkeeper and actually a player that I’ve tried to sign before.

“His experience will be invaluable for us both on and off the pitch. It’s vital that our senior players aren’t just great characters, but also help us set the standard around the training ground and on matchdays.

“He is a fantastic addition to this squad, and I’m looking forward to working with him.”

Head of Recruitment, Ian Gordon, added: “We have a young, talented, ambitious team, but we know that if we want to be successful, we need to have a good balance in terms of experience and leadership, and David Marshall fits that mould perfectly.

“He is a real professional, who will push on the other ‘keepers and really help accelerate the development of our younger goalkeepers like Murray Johnson.”

Lee and Ian are bang on here. We need that. Marshall is a great start to the rebuild.

23-05-2022, 02:29 PM
Marshall is a great signing , impressed

23-05-2022, 02:38 PM
Really pleased with Marshall signing. Got to have a good couple of years left in him? Not sure if Macey will fancy getting splinters again though after finally getting a run of playing in a first team.

He was probably aiming for his body and all.

JamesHFC
23-05-2022, 02:57 PM
Welcome David 😎🤝

23-05-2022, 03:02 PM
McBurnie joining them for a fortune and being as pish as you might expect / hope would be pretty good though.

TBF - it's exactly the kind of thing that Hearts tend to do when they run into a bit of money.

He’s utter gash. Let them dad on!

Garymcl
23-05-2022, 03:29 PM
Excellent first signing looking forward to more of the same not a bad day 5 of us all renewed our season tickets this morning I’m actually like lot of hibbys excited about this up and coming season already hoping we get a couple of decent away days in the pre season fixtures ggtth

Inconsequential
23-05-2022, 04:05 PM
Happy with Marshall.

Need players that are going to go straight in to the team and are an improvement on what we have. He does that for me. Not too over excited with David Marshall tbh. Did anyone see him play last season? Got injured in March. If he can reproduce his form from earlier in his career that's fine but I'll wait to see how he plays for Hibs which is the most important thing.

23-05-2022, 04:11 PM
Not to over excited with David Marshall tbh. Did anyone see him play last season? Got injured in March. If he can reproduce his form from earlier in his career that's fine but I'll wait to see how he plays for Hibs which is the most important thing.

If he can bring what Jim Herriot and Jim Leighton brought as experiences, international, keepers then it can only be a good thing.

hibee1875
23-05-2022, 04:50 PM
Not too over excited with David Marshall tbh. Did anyone see him play last season? Got injured in March. If he can reproduce his form from earlier in his career that's fine but I'll wait to see how he plays for Hibs which is the most important thing.

What’s this negativity based on? His age? The two best keepers in the league last season are older than him.

His track record? Can’t see anything in there that blots his book.

Players get injured and recover all the time. It was a hamstring. I’d be more concerned if it was something in his shoulder/hand

Hfc_Since1875
23-05-2022, 04:51 PM
Hibs tweet

“who wants another one?”

I’m guessing Paul mcginn contract

23-05-2022, 04:53 PM
Cadden maybe?

Brown Hibs
23-05-2022, 04:55 PM
Hopefully not just Johnson's backroom staff 😂

23-05-2022, 04:55 PM
Rocky?

23-05-2022, 04:58 PM
Nohan Keeneh from Leeds.

Hfc_Since1875
23-05-2022, 05:00 PM
Nohan Kenneh

23-05-2022, 05:01 PM
Someone definitely mentioned him on here recently. Good shout whoever it was.

23-05-2022, 05:02 PM
http://www.secretscout.co.uk/nohan-kenneh-leeds-united/

Interview with Noah. CB/CDM.

23-05-2022, 05:02 PM
Someone definitely mentioned him on here recently. Good shout whoever it was.

Yep, great spot whoever posted it. Seems to have good reviews from those covering the Leeds U23s.

23-05-2022, 05:05 PM
That’s a beauty, 3 year deal 👍🏻👍🏻

Bridge hibs
23-05-2022, 05:07 PM
That’s a beauty, 3 year deal 👍🏻👍🏻
Where are you seeing that mate ?

JamesHFC
Highly rated young talent. Brilliant addition to centre midfield.

Paulie Walnuts
He sounds like an exciting prospect.

Wonder if he’ll be for the first team? You’d have to presume so.

23-05-2022, 05:08 PM
Nohan Kenneh confirmed

cammy1969
23-05-2022, 05:08 PM
Where are you seeing that mate ?

Twitter

23-05-2022, 05:09 PM
Wonder if he is Porteous or JDH/Newell’s replacement. Or maybe just an addition to the squad.

23-05-2022, 05:09 PM
Nae idea if he’ll be any good or not. Hopefully he’s ready to go right in to the team because we certainly need someone in that position.

23-05-2022, 05:11 PM
Leeds fans seem sorry to see him leave and think he'd have stayed and got some game time if they'd gone down. I like what I'm reading.

Wonder if he is Porteous or JDH/Newell’s replacement. Or maybe just an addition to the squad.

Looks like he’s signing, predominantly as a midfielder, going by Johnson’s comments.

Sounds like he could be the 'number 6' we were promised.

23-05-2022, 05:12 PM
https://youtu.be/v_kVNVVry6U

23-05-2022, 05:13 PM
19 years old, he's very young to be someone who will go straight into that midfield. Perhaps alongside 2 or 3 more signings hopefully. :pray:

23-05-2022, 05:13 PM
Welcome Darren Marshell and No-hands Kenny

JamesHFC
23-05-2022, 05:14 PM
Sounds like he could be the 'number 6' we were promised.

One of the players Maloney was working on bringing in I assume, Johnson now just giving it the go ahead like the Marshall deal.

JamesHFC
23-05-2022, 05:14 PM
2 signings in the door already, keep them coming.

23-05-2022, 05:15 PM
https://www.footballfancast.com/leeds-united-news/leeds-united-marcelo-bielsa-jesse-marsch-nohan-kenneh-premier-league-academy-team-news-elland-road

well....sounds decent!

He was linked to PSG a couple of years ago. 😶

First signing a centre mid? Johnson keen to not make same mistake as Maloney.

Mikey_1875
23-05-2022, 05:16 PM
An international goalkeeper and on the face of it a good prospect coming into the club. Great to see some early activity.

GreenGray
23-05-2022, 05:16 PM
Leeds fans all saying how good he is and been on the fringes of the first team, sounds promising!

Dmas
23-05-2022, 05:17 PM
Delighted with Kenneh signing bit of a Leeds fan and they’ve been raving about him for a number of years a cracking signing for us

23-05-2022, 05:17 PM
Leeds fans are all over Hibs Twitter wishing him well and saying we have got a real talent.

https://twitter.com/HibernianFC/status/1528783334607835141?t=9Gqym5FCTqRHQ4g0Sb6I9Q&s=19

23-05-2022, 05:18 PM
A centre mid signed before pre season even starts 😍😍

Questions can certainly be asked about some of the quality signed in January but we definitely seem to be trying to get most of our business done earlier these days.