Schoolboy stuff, not prem standard. he is regressing in front of our very eyes
mcfly
27-08-2022, 02:20 PM
Have a look at hanlon there
Runs away from the winger instead of closing down
Then marking no one
Schoolboy stuff, not prem standard. he is regressing in front of our very eyes
Did the same v Livingston
Awful to watch - needs replaced however this has been the same chat for 2-3 seasons and he keeps getting new contracts
27-08-2022, 02:28 PM
So one of our players goes in too hard on another player and that’s somehow the clubs issue?
Erm yes absolutely. If our players are smashing each other in training leading to a high injury toll then don't you think the club would want to do something?
Bridge hibs
27-08-2022, 02:31 PM
Erm yes absolutely. If our players are smashing each other in training leading to a high injury toll then don't you think the club would want to do something?Is that what is happening, I havent attended a training session so wouldnt know ?
Hibees1973
27-08-2022, 02:33 PM
Johnson quoted on the BBC website that he ‘envisaged a few players moving out but for some reason this has not happened’.
These digs by him at our recruitment in and out, are becoming a weekly occurance by him. Guess this is the result of having three managers in less than a year.
With time running out in this transfer window, Johnson cuts a frustrating figure just now.
27-08-2022, 02:45 PM
Johnson quoted on the BBC website that he ‘envisaged a few players moving out but for some reason this has not happened’.
These digs by him at our recruitment in and out, are becoming a weekly occurance by him. Guess this is the result of having three managers in less than a year.
With time running out in this transfer window, Johnson cuts a frustrating figure just now.
“I’m going to have to go to the board to see what we have got. I probably envisaged a couple of outs but for whatever reason we haven’t been able to do that which is fair enough. That's a player's prerogative.”.
Here’s the actual quote with the key section highlighted that you decided to omit.
27-08-2022, 02:47 PM
“I’m going to have to go to the board to see what we have got. I probably envisaged a couple of outs but for whatever reason we haven’t been able to do that which is fair enough. That's a player's prerogative.”.
Here’s the actual quote with the key section highlighted that you decided to omit.
Sicken them that don’t want to move on, make them train with the kids and do double sessions. Anything to get some of the utter dross out of this club.
That's what happens when you give extensions that aren't justified, end up with players not leaving and happy to take the cash.
Just_Jimmy
27-08-2022, 03:04 PM
Sicken them that don’t want to move on, make them train with the kids and do double sessions. Anything to get some of the utter dross out of this club.Or as it would be called at your work, constructive dismissal?
Nah not for me. They signed the contract from Hibs. They're upholding their part. Form and fitness isn't part of it. They're available and playing when asked and don't want to leave.
It's hibs fault and no one else's.
Sent from my SM-G991B using Tapatalk
27-08-2022, 03:08 PM
A certain poster on here will like this [emoji23]
https://twitter.com/neilsherwin/status/1563434089595555842?t=nwgY9BoSS1JcKLKUlTUjUg&s=19
Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk
Absolute stunner that. Shows he's still got it, he should have been scoring that wearing a hibs jersey.
Still time I suppose! :hyper
27-08-2022, 03:49 PM
Spend ****ing money on a good CB and a good midfielder.
27-08-2022, 04:02 PM
Get McKirdy over the line, get that midfielder in and spend money on a centre back.
Thirteen signings and we're bottom six easy. Not acceptable.
27-08-2022, 04:15 PM
Get McKirdy over the line, get that midfielder in and spend money on a centre back.
I could be completely wrong and I’m sure others have seen him far more than me, but to me McKirdy doesn’t look like what we need.
A small, pacey player that is either up top of left/right of a front 3.
Imo we need a real focal point up top that can link the game, is physical and mobile.
I suppose maybe his pace/pressing could work like Kyogo for Celtic but unless we get players that can find him and find him early I can’t see him being the man.
27-08-2022, 04:16 PM
The fact we had mostly players from last season on the park is truly depressing, these guys need shipped out, not to be playing, what’s the point signing players that aren’t even playing?
27-08-2022, 04:17 PM
The fact we had mostly players from last season on the park is truly depressing, these guys need shipped out, not to be playing, what’s the point signing players that aren’t even playing?
I know Tavares was miles off it against Livingston but I was really surprised he wasn’t chucked on when we’re chasing the game.
He looked miles off it against St Johnstone as well
27-08-2022, 04:20 PM
I could be completely wrong and I’m sure others have seen him far more than me, but to me McKirdy doesn’t look like what we need.
A small, pacey player that is either up top of left/right of a front 3.
Imo we need a real focal point up top that can link the game, is physical and mobile.
I suppose maybe his pace/pressing could work like Kyogo for Celtic but unless we get players that can find him and find him early I can’t see him being the man.
Totally agree, we need an effective CF who can hold the ball up and get on the end of crosses, not another nippy winger who’s going to be sussed out and ineffective after a couple of weeks.
27-08-2022, 04:22 PM
He looked miles off it against St Johnstone as well
He did, but he at least showed he had pace and managed to create a couple of good opportunities
Henderson came on and offered nothing down the left, just kept crossing the ball from really deep positions. Complete waste.
27-08-2022, 04:23 PM
He did, but he at least showed he had pace and managed to create a couple of good opportunities
Henderson came on and offered nothing down the left, just kept crossing the ball from really deep positions. Complete waste.
Henderson is never good enough for Hibs. Really poor player to add to our list of other really poor players. Something drastic was needed this summer and it’s not been done. We’ve signed young boys that the manager clearly doesn’t rate. Having to play the majority of the team from last season is ridiculous.
GreenGray
27-08-2022, 04:26 PM
Absolute stunner that. Shows he's still got it, he should have been scoring that wearing a hibs jersey.
Still time I suppose! :hyper
It’s satire at this point isn’t it?
27-08-2022, 04:30 PM
We just lost to St Mirren, Sparky as an option off the bench when he can pull goals out of nowhere? Why wouldn't we want that?!
27-08-2022, 04:30 PM
It’s much more boring than satire ….
GreenGray
27-08-2022, 04:34 PM
We just lost to St Mirren, Sparky as an option off the bench when he can pull goals out of nowhere? Why wouldn't we want that?!
I can only respect your commitment to the patter, fair play pal
27-08-2022, 04:42 PM
Did you see the goal he scored today? :hmmm:
27-08-2022, 04:42 PM
Henderson is never good enough for Hibs. Really poor player to add to our list of other really poor players. Something drastic was needed this summer and it’s not been done. We’ve signed young boys that the manager clearly doesn’t rate. Having to play the majority of the team from last season is ridiculous.
It is completely ridiculous, it actually proves the recruitment has been abysmal and unfortunately for LJ, he will be the one that will get the bullet for it. I’ve lost count of the amount of not good enough players we’ve signed. And as you say, we’re left with the same guys that have got the previous managers sacked. It is unforgivable from the owner, board, CEO and the excuse that is pretending to be a recruitment team.
27-08-2022, 04:48 PM
Did you see the goal he scored today? :hmmm:
I did. Stunner
mcfly
27-08-2022, 04:49 PM
This team is bottom 4.
Can’t defend and no midfield.
Useless recruitment by hibs. You can’t blame the manager.
But unless he gets the players he wants and we need he may just walkaway.
27-08-2022, 04:49 PM
I did. Stunner
At Sunday pub league level.
27-08-2022, 04:50 PM
A stunner is a stunner no matter the level. Shows he's still got it to me. Imagine him scoring that today for Hibs. We wouldn't have lost.
27-08-2022, 04:54 PM
A stunner is a stunner no matter the level. Shows he's still got it to me. Imagine him scoring that today for Hibs. We wouldn't have lost.
Seriously you need to step away from this!
h185forever
27-08-2022, 04:57 PM
For me it’s quite simple we needed a manager and players who know the SPL and how to play in it.
imho that was obvious before we signed LJ.
Last 2-3 mgrs have tried to implement a style of play that the players we have can’t adapt to.
We play a pedestrian style of football that auld ****s like me could cope with but it’s nothing like the fast pressing game we were promised. It allows the opposing teams to filter back and we don’t have the smarts to break them down.
Who’s fault is it ? …..I see it as a combined effort …owner, son, manager & players.
Who is going to fix it ? ….tricky …can’t see the owner sacking his son or admitting that he made a James hunt of another managerial appointment. Manager can’t buy players he wants.
As someone else said …..buckle in …..it’s gonna be a long hard and disappointing season yet again.
tonyrougier123
27-08-2022, 04:59 PM
We need to be signing a couple at least before Friday.
Injuries aren’t helping the team settle.
zitelli62
27-08-2022, 05:03 PM
Never ever thought I'd agree but after today we need something at least he would show a bit of fight.
27-08-2022, 05:04 PM
We need to be signing a couple at least before Friday.
Injuries aren’t helping the team settle.
X2 centre backs.. 1 at least…Hanlon or Porto will get injured or suspended at some point.
2 central midfielders who are able to go straight into team.
Central striker who scores goals.
27-08-2022, 05:04 PM
Said it on another thread, I would go out and drag wee Dylan Mcgeouch back and also get a big centre back who can also play a bit, followed by a proven goal scorer, someone like the guy we let wander back to Australia, McClaren was his name, we need someone like him. Funny enough Dylan and Jamie Mc, are both the same age.
We need a real team, that is what we need, or we wander around the lower reaches of a pretty poor league for the next ten years as usual.
27-08-2022, 05:09 PM
Ryan Hardie from Plymouth Argyle, entering the last year of his contract. 6'2 loads of pace and a decent scoring record.
He showed the square root of zilch while on loan at Ross Co and Dunfermline and so far with maybe 2 decent performances is showing the same here too, He's another player like JDH and Campbell who are at an age where they should be showing exactly what they're made of and dominating games but they don't as they've probably stalled in their development similar to young Stanton, Handling, Mackie etc, when they were here. I remember Christie when he went upto Inverness and how much he stood out, went back to Celtic and was a standout who now plays in the EPL, Lewis Ferguson was dominating the midfield at the age of 20,he's now at Bolonga.
Green Reaper
27-08-2022, 05:43 PM
Does the transfer window close Thursday at midnight here in Scotland?
Halmyre Hibee
27-08-2022, 05:52 PM
I’d even accept half decent loan signings to try & get a bit more quality and fight in this squad. So far we are a bottom 6 side or worse if we don’t win against the teams around us.
27-08-2022, 06:01 PM
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/lee-johnson-apologises-to-hibs-fans-after-st-mirren-loss-as-he-makes-transfer-admission-3822034
Locked in the dressing room for an hour..
“It does seem like there’s a a bit of a pattern repeating itself with this club. I was very disappointed. We’ve got to look deep at what we can do to turn it quickly – be organised, but also upgrade the quality.“
"That isn’t easy. Good players make good decisions and for whatever reason we didn’t have enough good decision-makers on the pitch today.”
Johnson also played down Hibs’ chances of bringing in further additions to the squad – even with centre-back Rocky Bushiri now sidelined for at least two months with injury – admitting he didn’t envisage being “able to move much in the market”, adding: "It probably won't be a position where we can go and get a ready-made permanent [signing].
Sigh.
27-08-2022, 06:04 PM
Locked in the dressing room an hour
Players all agree they must do be better
Don’t sign anyone else
Lose next game after window shuts
Car crash stuff
27-08-2022, 06:05 PM
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/lee-johnson-apologises-to-hibs-fans-after-st-mirren-loss-as-he-makes-transfer-admission-3822034
“It does seem like there’s a a bit of a pattern repeating itself with this club. I was very disappointed. We’ve got to look deep at what we can do to turn it quickly – be organised, but also upgrade the quality.“
"That isn’t easy. Good players make good decisions and for whatever reason we didn’t have enough good decision-makers on the pitch today.”
Johnson also played down Hibs’ chances of bringing in further additions to the squad – even with centre-back Rocky Bushiri now sidelined for at least two months with injury – admitting he didn’t envisage being “able to move much in the market”, adding: "It probably won't be a position where we can go and get a ready-made permanent [signing].
Sigh.
Serious warning signs for me being locked in dressing room 1 hour.
Emotions after game are high and crap players arguing amongst themselves sounds like a mess.
Chorley Hibee
27-08-2022, 06:08 PM
We could sign ten strikers this week, but with that midfield it wouldn't make a blind bit of difference.
27-08-2022, 06:10 PM
Not a position we can go and get a ready made permanent signing. Not dismissing a signing in other positions.
In fairness to him the club can’t afford to have Porteous, Rocky, Hanlon, McGregor and McLellend at centre half. I imagine the potentially moving on McLellend and Hanlon are options he’d like but as he says he’s struggling moving on players.
Even Tait, how is he not on loan yet?
Doidge? I get why he doesn’t want to go, especially as he’s getting minutes.
Mitchell mentioned as one we would consider leaving but he’s always injured.
Glad he locked them in for an hour after.
27-08-2022, 06:12 PM
Sigh.
Well maybe the fans won’t be in a position to splash out hard earned cash in these difficult times on season tickets next year then. You reap what you sow and Mr Gordon’s lack of investment in quality first team players will come back and bite him. The recruitment situation for the first team is an abject failure and that’s what fans pay their hard earned cash to watch.
27-08-2022, 06:26 PM
Sigh.
If we don’t sign any more players then that is a disgrace.
27-08-2022, 06:32 PM
Wtf is going on? Sell Doig for 3m, promises the funds will be reinvested then the managers coming out a few days before the window saying it doesn’t look like we’ll make anymore signings when we’re a CB and CM short???
Has to be at the ham.
27-08-2022, 06:38 PM
Wtf is going on? Sell Doig for 3m, promises the funds will be reinvested then the managers coming out a few days before the window saying it doesn’t look like we’ll make anymore signings when we’re a CB and CM short???
Has to be at the ham.
We've spent loads. Mostly on kids. 250k on 16 year old
27-08-2022, 06:41 PM
We've spent loads. Mostly on kids. 250k on 16 year old
When BK advised funds were to be reinvested in the squad I seriously doubt he meant the development squad
Fans are being taken for complete mugs.
Ray Donovan
27-08-2022, 06:46 PM
Recruitment an absolute joke.
Tavares, Miller, McClelland, Bojang, Kenneh, Henderson and Youan. A mixture of young, inexperienced and unproven at our level.
Some could turn into real players but after the utter disaster of last season it's laughable that we have signed all these guys in one go instead of more proven quality.
27-08-2022, 06:55 PM
Tavares, Miller, McClelland, Bojang, Kenneh, Henderson and Youan. A mixture of young, inexperienced and unproven at our level.
Some could turn into real players but after the utter disaster of last season it's laughable that we have signed all these guys in one go instead of more proven quality.
Said it months ago.
When they signed Shankland and we were signing young untried players at any level it’s night and day.
Sad but true
27-08-2022, 06:56 PM
Has anyone got any suggestions for players we could realistically sign in the next week ? And which players have other clubs in our league signed that we could have got ?
27-08-2022, 06:56 PM
Miller was catastrophically awful in his brief appearance today. Impressively so.
27-08-2022, 06:57 PM
Said it months ago.
When they signed Shankland and we were signing young untried players at any level it’s night and day.
Sad but true
What was it people said?
“Aye but his goal scoring record isn’t good in this league, ***** signing”
27-08-2022, 06:57 PM
We will 100% be in the mix for relegation if we don’t sign a central midfielder, defender and striker. The squad is a complete mess.
27-08-2022, 06:59 PM
What was it people said?
Yep, unproven, doidge is better etc
Meanwhile we went for Bojang and Tavares
And doidge practically played full game today
Long season ahead
Scotty Leither
27-08-2022, 06:59 PM
So the manager has said publicly he wanted "ready-made players" only yesterday, and now he's saying he's saying he doesn't hold out much hope of getting a "ready-made permanent signing".
So who's kidding who on at Easter Road now, as that remark is straight out of the David Forsyth playbook where the manager is getting put up as a patsy to deflect the flak from our recruitment team who must know a lot more than Johnson does, and indeed the fans because we can see where we're short but Ian Gordon and company can't?
27-08-2022, 07:02 PM
Has to be at the ham.Our biggest signing this window so far has been Boyle . Club may well have had other signings in mind when he became available . Everyone here seemed to be congratulating club on getting him back . He`s got a 3 - year contract so plenty of time to see if it was the correct decision or if we should have spent the money on other positions .
27-08-2022, 07:03 PM
Has anyone got any suggestions for players we could realistically sign in the next week ? And which players have other clubs in our league signed that we could have got ?
Most of the clubs in our league are doing better than us. They did last year and they will this year as it stands. Some of the players those teams sign, on lesser budgets, would be handy.
27-08-2022, 07:05 PM
Fancy restraunts
French fancies on the park
27-08-2022, 07:06 PM
What was it people said?
What has Shankland done that Nisbet and Doidge haven't? How many strikers do we sign? If Shankland gets injured would we just get him to **** and sign someone else? Where does it end?
Torto7
27-08-2022, 07:08 PM
Said it months ago.
Sad but true
Shankland's a huddy. Jack Ross has gone the SPL proven route at Utd. If we signed the suggestions on here we wouldn't win a game all season. Bring back the sex pest, bring back Cummings, bring back McGeoch. Mental.
What we need to do is change the style of play first and foremost. Especially against the more defensive sides. LJ is doing what Heckingbottom tried in implementing slower possession based football that doesn't work against the uber defensive hoofballers you get up here. We should be baiting teams more looking to hit them on the break with Boyle and Youan.
27-08-2022, 07:09 PM
We'll have to agree to differ on this. In any normal cluster**** summer for us I would perhaps agree that signings would and should come in throughout the window. That would be because I might normally have the view that our squad and first team don't require major reconstructive surgery.
I think at this point and particularly after last season it is woefully clear that we need substantial renovation which suggests to me that we need many of our signings in early. If that means pushing the boat out to land those players well that is simply the price you pay for not doing so in previous transfer windows and therefore finding yourself weakened by earlier misjudgements. There is an alternative of course which is to carry on as before, a mixture of signing prospects you hope might make good and waiting to see if you can pick up others later in the window and presumably when they have fewer options. That has not served us well to date and is still less likely to do so when we are already weaker.
I think we are broadly agreeing on my second paragraph. I am saying that I simply do not believe RG thinks business as usual is fine and I would be astonished if he thinks there is the space for a long term approach to getting us from where we finished last season to where we should be.
FFS, part one. From almost three months ago.
27-08-2022, 07:09 PM
Shankland's a huddy. Jack Ross has gone the SPL proven route at Utd. If we signed the suggestions on here we wouldn't win a game all season. Bring back the sex pest, bring back Cummings, bring back McGeoch. Mental.
What we need to do is change the style of play first and foremost. Especially against the more defensive sides. LJ is doing what Heckingbottom tried in implementing slower possession based football that doesn't work against the uber defensive hoofballers you get up here. We should be baiting teams more looking to hit them on the break with Boyle and Youan.
Shankland isn’t a huddy
If he is what does that make doidge?
27-08-2022, 07:10 PM
Ok, this is all good so far but now we really need to be signing some players with a bit of experience who will be first team picks. Young prospects are good, but we are going to need established quality in the spine of this side.
On the plus side the signings so far would suggest to me that someone who was planning this rationally would likely also be planning a sprinkling of two or three of serious quality in positions at the front, the mid and perhaps CB to complete the picture.
On the possibly worrying side a hatchery of youngsters with few adults would be a recipe for a very difficult season should we continue with more signings only in this vein.
:I'm waiti
FFS part two. Also from almost three months ago.
27-08-2022, 07:10 PM
Most of the clubs in our league are doing better than us. They did last year and they will this year as it stands. Some of the players those teams sign, on lesser budgets, would be handy.Which players ?
27-08-2022, 07:12 PM
So the manager has said publicly he wanted "ready-made players" only yesterday, and now he's saying he's saying he doesn't hold out much hope of getting a "ready-made permanent signing".
So who's kidding who on at Easter Road now, as that remark is straight out of the David Forsyth playbook where the manager is getting put up as a patsy to deflect the flak from our recruitment team who must know a lot more than Johnson does, and indeed the fans because we can see where we're short but Ian Gordon and company can't?
We’ve signed ready made players and spent a load of money this windows.
The manager doesn’t think, with what’s left of the budget, that we’ll get ready made players in by Thursday.
In this window we’ve signed a guy that left the club for £3m in January.
It’s like that’s forgotten - that’s a huge chunk of our budget on top of an already sizeable spend this summer. That’s gone on a player who is a match winner for us, tried and tested at this level and immediately a key player for us.
I don’t think the recruitment has been great this season on what I’ve seen so far. Only starting with Cabraja, Marshall, Youan and Boyle from a window where we’ve signed a ton of players, while leaving Kenneh, Bojang, Melkersen (ok a Jan signing but he’s relevant) and Miller on the bench speaks volumes.
27-08-2022, 07:14 PM
What has Shankland done that Nisbet and Doidge haven't? How many strikers do we sign? If Shankland gets injured would we just get him to **** and sign someone else? Where does it end?
Well I can tell you what shankland is doing this season in the here and now that Doidge isn’t? I’m not arsed about what he’s done in the past.
27-08-2022, 07:16 PM
Which players ?
Dozens who are out performing ours.
Aberdeen signed a goal scoring striker, what a novelty.
Every St Mirren player on the park was better than ours today. Same at Livingston.
We’ve scored one goal when it’s been 11v11 in the league this season.
27-08-2022, 07:27 PM
Well I can tell you what shankland is doing this season in the here and now that Doidge isn’t? I’m not arsed about what he’s done in the past.
Yeah, that's great. Nisbet had a better start than shankland. Can't really do much about a brutal injury. What if Shankland gets injured and kev comes back on form?
Shankland was never coming here. Pointless discussion.
Badge
27-08-2022, 07:30 PM
Yeah, that's great. Nisbet had a better start than shankland. Can't really do much about a brutal injury. What if Shankland gets injured and kev comes back on form?
Will you stop talking about what happened 2-3 years ago. What’s important is right now.
27-08-2022, 07:31 PM
Does anyone else think we’ve spent all our money , and unless we get some top earners out we are unlikely to bring any quality in this week ??
27-08-2022, 07:31 PM
Does anyone else think we’ve spent all our money , and unless we get some top earners out we are unlikely to bring any quality in this week ??
Yes
27-08-2022, 07:33 PM
Our squad is bloated with so much "meh"
Appreciate that it will take more than one window to fix, but we need two starting CB's, two CM's and a centre forward if we want to be anywhere near top 4/5
JamesHFC
27-08-2022, 07:33 PM
Porteous not signing a contract says a lot. If we can get a million for him take it and run.
27-08-2022, 07:34 PM
Course he wasn’t coming here. Why sign a striker that’ll come in and play and make an impact when you can sign someone from Zambia that has never kicked a ball at a decent level.
27-08-2022, 07:35 PM
Porteous not signing a contract says a lot. If we can get a million for him take it and run.
He’s been the worst of the lot. Head up his own arse.
27-08-2022, 07:35 PM
Will you stop talking about what happened 2-3 years ago. What’s important is right now.
I'm asking what you think we do with Nisbet, melkersen, doidge, youan and bojang if we'd signed Shankland. These guys can't just ****ing disappear.
And I'm asking you, what do you do if Shankland gets injured? Just **** the budget on another expensive striker?
Our turnover in strikers is ridiculous.
Chorley Hibee
27-08-2022, 07:37 PM
Spending circa 250k on a 16 year old for the development team, whilst neglecting the issues staring you in the face with the first team.
Now saying the pot is empty.
I'd be as well going to watch the ****ing development team it seems - as they're getting more attention than the first team.
27-08-2022, 07:37 PM
Course he wasn’t coming here. Why sign a striker that’ll come in and play and make an impact when you can sign someone from Zambia that has never kicked a ball at a decent level.
Nisbet came in and made a great impact. He's still here. Infact, Hibs have signed many many strikers who have came in and made a good impact. Kamberi, maclaren, Nisbet etc.
27-08-2022, 07:38 PM
I'd be actively whoring him out if that's the difference between signing a first choice CB or not. He's been poor and behaved like a bit of a knob all season
27-08-2022, 07:38 PM
c'mon now stop it :greengrin
Chorley Hibee
27-08-2022, 07:39 PM
Don't think anyone is interested in him to be honest, and not surprised given what I've seen this season.
Needs to pull the head out his arse sharpish.
Scotty Leither
27-08-2022, 07:49 PM
We’ve signed ready made players and spent a load of money this windows.
The manager doesn’t think, with what’s left of the budget, that we’ll get ready made players in by Thursday.
In this window we’ve signed a guy that left the club for £3m in January.
It’s like that’s forgotten - that’s a huge chunk of our budget on top of an already sizeable spend this summer. That’s gone on a player who is a match winner for us, tried and tested at this level and immediately a key player for us.
I don’t think the recruitment has been great this season on what I’ve seen so far. Only starting with Cabraja, Marshall, Youan and Boyle from a window where we’ve signed a ton of players, while leaving Kenneh, Bojang, Melkersen (ok a Jan signing but he’s relevant) and Miller on the bench speaks volumes.
So why does the manager directly contradict himself one day later then Matty, unless the club hierachy have pulled him up short for it?
I think at the next podcast Gordon and his laddie and Kensell can maybe tell us exactly why there is this stubborn attitude to not addressing the key positions that we all know we're short in, or if they don't acknowledge that, how are they getting recruitment so spectacularly wrong?
Is it the Gordons' way or the highway?
27-08-2022, 07:54 PM
So why does the manager directly contradict himself one day later then Matty, unless the club hierachy have pulled him up short for it?
I think at the next podcast Gordon and his laddie and Kensell can maybe tell us exactly why there is this stubborn attitude to not addressing the key positions that we all know we're short in, or if they don't acknowledge that, how are they getting recruitment so spectacularly wrong?
Is it the Gordons' way or the highway?
I’m not being wide here, i just don’t know what you’re referring to - what did the manager say and then contradict himself with?
27-08-2022, 07:55 PM
He’s been the worst of the lot. Head up his own arse.
He’s been nowhere near it this season, Rocky’s looked closer to a million pound player than Porteous.
27-08-2022, 07:57 PM
I'm not sure why we signed Bojang, if we are going to repeatedly just give Doidge 85 minutes of playing crap. Being the player that is put on with 5 minutes to go is a basically impossible task and if the guy is really not up to more than that he should not have been signed, but I can't imagine having him on the pitch for longer than 5 minutes would be any worse than having doidge on it.
I think we are done in this window unless folk leave, we can't force them out, but they can ruin our season. It's a terrible situation to be in, and Porteous leaving his contract unsigned just tells you where his head is at the moment. Sadly we have to play him because there is no one else.
Scotty Leither
27-08-2022, 08:02 PM
I’m not being wide here, i just don’t know what you’re referring to - what did the manager say and then contradict himself with?
Here's a tweet from LJ after the Rangers game:
Interesting after the Rangers game, Lee Johnson commented:
“I’m not happy. There’s more to do. We need a couple, a few ready-made players. I’ve now had a good look at the level.”
Then today he says we might not be able to bring in any ready-made signings.
Which brings me back to my point that someone at the club is working from the back, and he's been told to row back on the point.
Either way we it's not good enough especially with the Doig money, season ticket sales and commercial income, we're still light in key positions.
27-08-2022, 08:15 PM
“I’m not happy. There’s more to do. We need a couple, a few ready-made players. I’ve now had a good look at the level.”
Which brings me back to my point that someone at the club is working from the back, and he's been told to row back on the point.
Either way we it's not good enough especially with the Doig money, season ticket sales and commercial income, we're still light in key positions.
He expected players to move out through to facilitate incoming players, he’s referenced that today as well so it’s not a contradiction - there’s also a difference in him saying what we need and what he thinks we’ll get.
We’ve spent a fortune this window, that extra revenue and season ticket money is being spent, again I’ll point to Boyle signing - that’s a player who was on a very high wage for us before we sold him for £3m. He’s come back on a great wage. That’s on top of an already expensive window for us (remember there’sa new management team that had to be paid for as well).
I think we can criticise the strategy or the execution of the strategy, but i think the intention and the investment is not something to criticise, there’s plenty money been thrown at it.
phoenixfire
27-08-2022, 08:19 PM
It's not good enough no doubt though it was said we had to shift a few out to enable a couple coming in .maybe that's the problem ?doidge 2years left I think ,four in midfield Campbell ,JDH,Newell and Henderson all on long contracts personally I'd like to see two of the four moved on ,They aren't good together imo sadly not easy moving players on long contracts I'd say!
27-08-2022, 08:23 PM
I didn’t say he was coming here. I was having a pop at the posters who were trying to say hearts signing him was a poor signing.
Logie Green
27-08-2022, 08:25 PM
It looks that way. I’m sure LJ said that the budget had been ‘blown’ when Boyle was signed. It’s looking like a long, hard season ahead and we’re not in September yet!
Rick Rude
27-08-2022, 08:31 PM
Am I the only one reading Johnson's comments as don't have the ability to go bring in a last minute ready made centre half but not to say we aren't bringing in ready made for other positions? Am I just being too hopeful in thinking maybe it's cause the budget is spent on a decent box to box midfielder we have lined up? The one we've been crying out for through the last 3 transfer windows.
mcfly
27-08-2022, 08:36 PM
The hibs recruitment team are hopeless.
If we dont get a centre half and centre midfield this week then we are bottom 4 certs.
Not the managers fault at all - I think he could be decent given time.
27-08-2022, 08:36 PM
Am I the only one reading Johnson's comments as don't have the ability to go bring in a last minute ready made centre half but not to say we aren't bringing in ready made for other positions? Am I just being too hopeful in thinking maybe it's cause the budget is spent on a decent box to box midfielder we have lined up? The one we've been crying out for through the last 3 transfer windows.
We’ve been crying out for a new midfielder for 9 transfer windows (since McGinn, McGeouch and Allan left in 2018) and a centre back for 5 transfer windows (since Jackson left in 2020).
27-08-2022, 08:37 PM
The hibs recruitment team are hopeless.
If we dont get a centre half and centre midfield this week then we are bottom 4 certs.
Not the managers fault at all - I think he could be decent given time.
Recruitment is questionable but if LJ is a good coach, he gets a different tune out of this team. We are witnessing the same old here.
GreenGray
27-08-2022, 08:40 PM
He expected players to move out through to facilitate incoming players, he’s referenced that today as well so it’s not a contradiction - there’s also a difference in him saying what we need and what he thinks we’ll get.
We’ve spent a fortune this window, that extra revenue and season ticket money is being spent, again I’ll point to Boyle signing - that’s a player who was on a very high wage for us before we sold him for £3m. He’s come back on a great wage. That’s on top of an already expensive window for us (remember there’sa new management team that had to be paid for as well).
I think we can criticise the strategy or the execution of the strategy, but i think the intention and the investment is not something to criticise, there’s plenty money been thrown at it.
I think we can criticise the fact that we’ve gone for cheaper options (either older players nearing the end of their career or young players who we can sell on for a profit, bar Boyle)
I’d rather sign quality rather than quantity.
27-08-2022, 08:40 PM
There is no change since Heckingbottom, it's all meh and wont change anytime soon. Those is charge are complete imbeciles and need to look at what they are doing to our club. Scattergun cluster**** nonsense!
27-08-2022, 08:43 PM
I think we can criticise the fact that we’ve gone for cheaper options (either older players nearing the end of their career or young players who we can sell on for a profit, bar Boyle)
I’d rather sign quality rather than quantity.
Kenneh, Cabraja, Youan, Marshall are nowhere near cheap options.
GreenGray
27-08-2022, 08:45 PM
Youan is a loan yes? Kenneh hadn’t played a senior game, Marshall wages will be high but got him on a free.
Btw I think the last three you’ve mentioned are all good signings, but didn’t do enough to address our issues.
27-08-2022, 08:47 PM
Not cheap options just gambles on unproven players most with no experience of Scottish football at a time where we needed a new core of players ready to make an instant impact. We had a clear strategy 2014-2018 of signing young players but with a decent amount of experience e.g. Allan, McGeouch, McGinn, Fyvie
GreenGray
27-08-2022, 08:48 PM
Not cheap options just gambles on unproven players most with no experience of Scottish football at a time where we needed a new core of players ready to make an instant impact. We had a clear strategy 2014-2018 of signing young players but with a decent amount of experience e.g. Allan, McGeouch, McGinn, Fyvie
Cheap options might have been the wrong phrase. Easy options maybe? Low hanging fruit.
Hibees1973
27-08-2022, 08:48 PM
Spending circa 250k on a 16 year old for the development team, whilst neglecting the issues staring you in the face with the first team.
I'd be as well going to watch the ****ing development team it seems - as they're getting more attention than the first team.
Yes, this move was really stupid.
Do these clowns who signed this guy really think they will all be here in 4 years time when/if he debuts for the 1st team.
They are burning money. Just hope Ron takes the debt he is racking up with him once he goes back to the states.
27-08-2022, 08:49 PM
Completely wasted on building a development team rather than addressing the problem areas in our starting eleven. Im really really fed up with it all now to be honest. Im genuinely baffled how we are 6 games into the new season yet have the same midfield that offered us nothing last season. Newell is not good enough , Hanlon is finished at our level , doidge the same. We needed to sort out the core /spine of our starting 11 , but instead we have fannyed about signing players with potential in the hope they make us a few quid.
We desperately need a quality centre half , central midfielder , centre forward , and our recruitment has failed miserably
percy veer
27-08-2022, 08:50 PM
Surprised we never went for gallacher when Aberdeen said he could leave , "ready made"
27-08-2022, 08:50 PM
I think all four are good signings Matty, especially Marshall. If anything, with him one end and Boyle the other, we may get a few wins.
It’s our midfield and central defence that is needing urgent addressing (for three seasons) and also a DoF appointment wouldn’t go amiss to oversee that.
Scotty Leither
27-08-2022, 08:52 PM
Completely wasted on building a development team rather than addressing the problem areas in our starting eleven. Im really really fed up with it all now to be honest. Im genuinely baffled how we are 6 games into the new season yet have the same midfield that offered us nothing last season. Newell is not good enough , Hanlon is finished at our level , doidge the same. We needed to sort out the core /spine of our starting 11 , but instead we have fannyed about signing players with potential in the hope they make us a few quid.
We desperately need a quality centre half , central midfielder , centre forward , and our recruitment has failed miserably
In a nutshell. Right now we seem to being used as one giant footballing experiment by our owner through his son.
27-08-2022, 08:53 PM
Youan is a loan yes? Kenneh hadn’t played a senior game, Marshall wages will be high but got him on a free.
Btw I think the last three you’ve mentioned are all good signings, but didn’t do enough to address our issues.
Loans cost money. Kenneh was in the first team squad for Leeds in the Premiership, youth players at that level get more than first team players here.
27-08-2022, 09:00 PM
In a nutshell. Right now we seem to being used as one giant footballing experiment by our owner through his son.
I worry what happens if we get dragged into a fight at the bottom of the table as the season goes on. Severely lacking in so many of the basics required to be a decent football team. I really hope im wrong but we could end up in real bother if these key areas aren’t sorted out pronto
GreenGray
27-08-2022, 09:00 PM
Loans cost money. Kenneh was in the first team squad for Leeds in the Premiership, youth players at that level get more than first team players here.
Didn’t play though did he? As I said our signings didn’t address our main issues. Bar Boyle have we spent a significant fee on a player that wasn’t a 16 year old for the development squad?
Mr Grieves
27-08-2022, 09:01 PM
Has to be at the ham.
We've invested in the team but it's been on absolute guff. The club under the current ownership don't deserve the financial backing they've had from the fans. The club's being run like Hearts in the early Budge years.
27-08-2022, 09:02 PM
And has to be said , the backing from our fans so far has been tremendous, we deserve better…
27-08-2022, 09:06 PM
Some of the signings have been good signings, marshall , boyle , younan , cabraja, the problem is that we aint sorted out the most glaringly obvious areas .. And its been a problem for what seems like ages
JamesHFC
27-08-2022, 09:11 PM
And has to be said , the backing from our fans so far has been tremendous, we deserve better…
Agreed. Only so much we can do before folk get fed up of travelling around the country, spending hard earned money for a mediocre performances from our team.
Zambernardi1875
27-08-2022, 09:13 PM
Nisbet came in and made a great impact. He's still here. Infact, Hibs have signed many many strikers who have came in and made a good impact. Kamberi, maclaren, Nisbet etc.
Our turnover on strikers is ridiculous
2 posts later. Hibs have signed loads of strikers that have made a good impact
27-08-2022, 09:35 PM
Some of the signings have been good signings, marshall , boyle , younan , cabraja, the problem is that we aint sorted out the most glaringly obvious areas .. And its been a problem for what seems like ages
I agree. I was just disagreeing with the notion that we’ve taken cheap options.
27-08-2022, 09:46 PM
The last two windows (which were understood to be a critical and obvious, after last summer failures ) have been filled with unusual and scattergun signings of first team and Dev players .. . It’s looking like a flawed strategy . Admittedly the securing of Boyle is a bold and expensive move - so do need to balance that a bit . The loss of McGeady is huge too ..he was a key signing - and is now simply a drain on our wage bill ..
Why we’ve not (this summer ) brought in first team ready centre half, a centre mid and a proven goal scorer is beyond me ..
I agree. I was just disagreeing with the notion that we’ve taken cheap options.
And i agree that we certainly have spent money. Some of it on decent signings, the rest has either been wasted or used to take a punt on what may or may not make us a few quid down the line. Im angry that for some reason they haven’t sorted out the most important areas of the team whilst spending money on questionable acquisitions. Every man and his dog knew we needed to sort central midfield, centre half , and replacing doidge.. Whoever makes these decisions has a lot of questions needing answered. 2 transfer windows running and still nothing done about it. Guaranteed we make a raft of panic signings in January , because we will be struggling
In a nutshell. Right now we seem to being used as one giant footballing experiment by our owner through his son.What`s RG got to gain by an experiment ? We all want to see better players in the first team but reality is that except for OF it`s very difficult for all other Scottish clubs to sign players who`ll make a lasting difference ie not just look good for a few weeks or months who haven`t got fitness problems or other problems ( bad disciplinary record or off field problems for example ) . We could spend a lot on players but not get success ( bad luck in cups and / or with injuries like last season ) or get success when there`s less reward ( How much did St J lose out on by winning both cups in COVID year ? ) . We can outbid Hearts and Aberdeen for odd Scottish player who`s good but not good enough for OF or better if it`s top priority but that`s not signing a top player who`ll take us to a higher level . We`re all desperate to see new , better players but have no names to suggest or suggest players we can`t afford or are not suitable for many reasons . So RG ( and / or others he`s spoken to ) decide new approach - devt team etc - is only serious . long - term route to possible long - term success . I actually think he`s right and think we`re going to be successful in 3 or 4 years`time after a very bumpy ride ( maybe including relegation ) . But RG has to have coj---- to carry out plan and accept flak when results go badly like today . He sacked Maloney despite knowing about our injury list and after selling manager`s job as a long - term project then didn`t back him after bad luck in cup semi and lottery of missing out on top 6 . RG has to explain plan clearly to fans and managers .
27-08-2022, 09:50 PM
The new west stand facilities had to be paid by some form
Where is the josh Doig suite?
Kensell saying money will be pumped back in. Where has that went
Only less than 2 weeks ago LJ said 2/3/4 players should look to leave Easter road
Now we are saying we are happy with what we have, no more room at the inn.
Alarmed!
We have been beaten well by two in my eyes bottom six teams already
27-08-2022, 09:55 PM
I’m not surprised that no one wants to take any of the dross we are trying to give away to be fair.
From what we have signed Tavares is clearly nowhere near ready to play yet was heralded as a big key signing, Kenneh too. What a ridiculous position we’ve put ourselves in this summer.
27-08-2022, 10:05 PM
I’m not surprised that no one wants to take any of the dross we are trying to give away to be fair.
From what we have signed Tavares is clearly nowhere near ready to play yet was heralded as a big key signing, Kenneh too. What a ridiculous position we’ve put ourselves in this summer.
The problem isn’t other clubs not wanting players, it’s players not want wanting to leave.
27-08-2022, 10:05 PM
The hibs pr team make out like we have won the race ahead of europes elite to nip in and seal the deal ahead of the big boys to sign all these rough diamonds and future cash sell ons etc
Ultimately we just have some guy trolling YouTube content of European reserve league footage signing anyone willing to come to Scotland who was never on the radar of any other Scottish club or British for that matter
This policy ain’t working
Scotty Leither
27-08-2022, 10:07 PM
What`s RG got to gain by an experiment ?
What is he allowing his son and the rest of the recruitment team to do just now then if we're not allowed to call it an "experiment"?
They're by parts:
1) Stockpiling young players in the hope one or two come good in a few years and earn us a few quid, and 2) with the exception of Boyle and the goalie the other players we're signing aren't making the first team through either not being physically equipped to handle it, or the manager simply doesn't trust them, which in turn is fuelling the feeling that he's not entirely in control of signings.
If that's not an "experiment" what is it?
A ground-breaking strategy that no one has ever thought of before, or a self-indulgent pig-headed approach to team matters that patently isn't working?
And one last point, if as we're being told those in power at the club don't like the criticism from the fans, then maybe he should have bought Livingston or St Johnstone, or Partick, etc?
27-08-2022, 10:08 PM
The problem isn’t other clubs not wanting players, it’s players not want wanting to leave.
I imagine that is the case for Doidge, not sure there are others in the same position? We do have a vast number of players that just aren’t good enough but have huge contracts. Some effort from everyone involved.
27-08-2022, 10:13 PM
I imagine that is the case for Doidge, not sure there are others in the same position? We do have a vast number of players that just aren’t good enough but have huge contracts. Some effort from everyone involved.
The extensions for some in the last 18 months have been bizarre
Of the top of my head
Newell
Doidge
Doyle-Hayes
Campbell
McGinn
Absolutely never merited any extension, 4 of the above 5 still have hefty contracts left with us. All could leave tomorrow and I don’t think most fans would lose sleep over
27-08-2022, 10:15 PM
The hibs pr team make out like we have won the race ahead of europes elite to nip in and seal the deal ahead of the big boys to sign all these rough diamonds and future cash sell ons etc
Ultimately we just have some guy trolling YouTube content of European reserve league footage signing anyone willing to come to Scotland who was never on the radar of any other Scottish club or British for that matter
This policy ain’t workingVery soon to say policy isn`t working surely ? Kenneh is still in his teens and seems to be a great prospect ( more than that from what I`ve seen - ready to make an impact in our league though not picked today ) . Very near to signing Joaquin Sosa from Uruguatan club - definitely not down to just watching reserve team videos .
Chorley Hibee
27-08-2022, 10:17 PM
Agreed. Only so much we can do before folk get fed up of travelling around the country, spending hard earned money for a mediocre performances from our team.
I think today will be the last big away following for a while.
27-08-2022, 10:19 PM
Very soon to say policy isn`t working surely ? Kenneh is still in his teens and seems to be a great prospect ( more than that from what I`ve seen - ready to make an impact in our league though not picked today ) . Very near to signing Joaquin Sosa from Uruguatan club - definitely not down to just watching reserve team videos .
I think the problem is that it would be fine to sign these young promising players if we had a solid base to build from, if we had a solid first 11 that was capable of beating teams like Livi and St Mirren you could sign these players and slowly bed them into the first team.
As it is we’ve got a poor first 11 and are dumping these untried youngsters into the team hoping they’ll change our fortunes.
27-08-2022, 10:22 PM
Very soon to say policy isn`t working surely ? Kenneh is still in his teens and seems to be a great prospect ( more than that from what I`ve seen - ready to make an impact in our league though not picked today ) . Very near to signing Joaquin Sosa from Uruguatan club - definitely not down to just watching reserve team videos .
So the prospects we should just accept need 12/24 months to adapt , find their game , then sell at the first sign of Rich form
And we don’t actually benefit from other than making the books look good
It’s a businessman’s plan not a football plan
27-08-2022, 10:26 PM
What is so frustrating is that I honestly think/thought we were 4 or 5 signings away from a strong starting XI. We ticked a box with the Marshall signing, why on earth we’ve not sought out proven and tested centre half, playmaker and No 9 is beyond me. Instead we’ve brought in a series of players as some sort of experiment.
Partyraiser
27-08-2022, 10:34 PM
To have signed the number we have, and still have 7 (8 including Boyle) players starting who were part of a team who came 8th last season says everything I need to know about this summers recruitment
Just_Jimmy
27-08-2022, 10:40 PM
So the prospects we should just accept need 12/24 months to adapt , find their game , then sell at the first sign of Rich form
And we don’t actually benefit from other than making the books look good
It’s a businessman’s plan not a football planAnd that's almost as if someone has stumbled upon the reason an American with no connection to Hibs would buy the club.
Sent from my SM-G991B using Tapatalk
27-08-2022, 10:43 PM
I think the problem is that it would be fine to sign these young promising players if we had a solid base to build from, if we had a solid first 11 that was capable of beating teams like Livi and St Mirren you could sign these players and slowly bed them into the first team.
As it is we’ve got a poor first 11 and are dumping these untried youngsters into the team hoping they’ll change our fortunes.I agree it woul be better to have a stronger first team while building up devt team but I doubt any non OF Scottish team will ever be able to win consistently away ( or even at home ) against other top league teams for more than a couple of years for a long time .Even OF struggle at times to win like Rangers last week against us . Living abroad I`ve not seen Hibs in present Paisley stadium but I`ve seen us play at Love Street about 10 times and don`t remember any wins , 1 or 2 wins at most from about a dozen visits to Motherwell or either Dundee ground . Tynecastle is only away ground where I`ve enjoyed many away wins . Point is , an extra million or even 2 million quid is not going to guarantee beating all non OF teams regularly . Hearts have had much more money than their non OF rivals for years now but have used money to lose to Brora in SC , be relegated twice in a short time and have to wait 6 years to play in Europe after losing to a Maltese team .
27-08-2022, 10:43 PM
To have signed the number we have, and still have 7 (8 including Boyle) players starting who were part of a team who came 8th last season says everything I need to know about this summers recruitment
And januarys and the summer before.. This is a recurring problem, watch us sign 5 players this coming January and still not address the main areas we needed fixing last yeat
27-08-2022, 10:53 PM
And januarys and the summer before.. This is a recurring problem, watch us sign 5 players this coming January and still not address the main areas we needed fixing last yeatA recurring problem for us and every other club which is why we`ve started devt team strategy with aim of not relying on getting lucky with signings and of making real progress rather than just making Europe every 4 or 5 years .
Percy Vere
27-08-2022, 10:56 PM
It’s like everyone on here is running about like a headless chicken!
Panic has well and truly settled in.
We def have made positive signings;
Boyle
Marshall
Youan
Kenneh
Cabraja
Rocky looked to be on the up before his injury.
Some of the others it’s just too early to tell.
I’m not saying there isn’t a problem but this is def a transitional season and we’ve got to hope that we will see signs of improvement in coming weeks and months.
Our main striker will be back before xmas with luck.
Magennis too would make a difference.
Yeah there’s a few I’d like to see sold or loaned but with chunky contracts just might not be possible. We are stuck whether we like it or not.
So LJ has got to get something out of these players that’s better than what we’ve seen this season. I wouldn’t like his job right now, but I do like him, hope he gets the time he needs.
phoenixfire
27-08-2022, 11:13 PM
Boyle
Marshall
Youan
Kenneh
Cabraja
I’m not saying there isn’t a problem but this is def a transitional season and we’ve got to hope that we will see signs of improvement in coming weeks and months.
Yeah there’s a few I’d like to see sold or loaned but with chunky contracts just might not be possible. We are stuck whether we like it or not.
So LJ has got to get something out of these players that’s better than what we’ve seen this season. I wouldn’t like his job right now, but I do like him, hope he gets the time he needs.
Thankfully a sensible post at last .agree with this:aok:
27-08-2022, 11:16 PM
Boyle
Marshall
Youan
Kenneh
Cabraja
So LJ has got to get something out of these players that’s better than what we’ve seen this season. I wouldn’t like his job right now, but I do like him, hope he gets the time he needs.Excellent post . Where I might disagree is whether Boyle was a good signing but that`s up to player to show in coming months that club were right to make a huge effort to sign him instead of alternatives in other positions .
27-08-2022, 11:22 PM
Boyle
Marshall
Youan
Kenneh
Cabraja
Compared to the clubs who’ve beaten us this season we have way better resources. Hibs should not be in the position of having to play the same failed players that got the last 2 managers sacked. That’s not transition, it’s a dereliction of duty from the people who run the club.
27-08-2022, 11:27 PM
A recurring problem for us and every other club which is why we`ve started devt team strategy with aim of not relying on getting lucky with signings and of making real progress rather than just making Europe every 4 or 5 years .
Surely we could a addressed the lack of quality in key areas though.we desperately needed to replace/ add quality into the spine of our starting 11. The development squad idea is a good idea if you have a decent first team to begin with . We clearly don’t come close to having anywhere near a good enough first team
phoenixfire
27-08-2022, 11:33 PM
Excellent post . Where I might disagree is whether Boyle was a good signing but that`s up to player to show in coming months that club were right to make a huge effort to sign him instead of alternatives in other positions .
Boyle back was as a big a signing as we good make , it showed ambition really did . Though maybe that has blown alternatives in other positions out of the water though imagine if we didn't go for him and he ended up at Aberdeen or somewhere . The meltdown that would be on here would be mental . Guess what I'm saying is hibs board damned if they do and damned if they don't .can't win really can they?
27-08-2022, 11:49 PM
Boyle back was as a big a signing as we good make , it showed ambition really did . Though maybe that has blown alternatives in other positions out of the water though imagine if we didn't go for him and he ended up at Aberdeen or somewhere . The meltdown that would be on here would be mental . Guess what I'm saying is hibs board damned if they do and damned if they don't .can't win really can they?Difficult situation for club and that`s without knowing financial details of Boyle deal . There were always going to be problems with payment of transfer so even more so with Saudi club being relegated and having problems to pay . Most ( all ? ) were happy about signing but it may be what cost us signing left sided defender we needed ( Sosa ) and quality midfield player . Now we`ll probably end up signing a couple from lower league English clubs - exact thing we were trying to avoid .
Time will tell if Boyle signing was right one - he`s just arrived and is presumably not fully fit yet .
phoenixfire
27-08-2022, 11:57 PM
Difficult situation for club and that`s without knowing financial details of Boyle deal . There were always going to be problems with payment of transfer so even more so with Saudi club being relegated and having problems to pay . Most ( all ? ) were happy about signing but it may be what cost us signing left sided defender we needed ( Sosa ) and quality midfield player . Now we`ll probably end up signing a couple from lower league English clubs - exact thing we were trying to avoid .
Time will tell if Boyle signing was right one - he`s just arrived and is presumably not fully fit yet .
Boyle totally right signing , guys a class act .Quality attacking midfielder I'd settle for now if budget tight . Hope we shift a couple out specially from midfield and doidge too so we can get in another one or two in too!
Thief
28-08-2022, 12:13 AM
Agree.
It’s not the only issue, obviously, but our style of play is so slow and predictable, and that’s with 2 rapid players in Boyle and Youan.
Teams just double up on Martin and often manage to stifle him.
I’ve said it a couple of time but Nouble would give us so many other options, holding up, laying off, allowing Boyle and Youan more space around the box, a good target for the full back crosses. For me, he’s absolutely everything we’re missing up front.
cameronw-hfc
28-08-2022, 12:19 AM
Agree.
It’s not the only issue, obviously, but our style of play is so slow and predictable, and that’s with 2 rapid players in Boyle and Youan.
I’ve said it a couple of time but Nouble would give us so many other options, holding up, laying off, allowing Boyle and Youan more space around the box, a good target for the full back crosses. For me, he’s absolutely everything we’re missing up front.
LJ 100% isn't trying to implement a slow possession style, he's said the exact opposite many times. The problem is the players we have can only play one way, and the lack of creativity in the squad means it ends up being slow and possession based rather than the high tempo football LJ wants. LJ wants it back to front quickly with bodies forward, just the players we have had at the club for a while aren't capable of playing anything other than JR style sit back, give it to Boyle on the counter and pray he does something. Hendo with some consistency would help but he needs a run of games in a set position, we also need someone a bit more dynamic in midfield. Someone that can spot a pass and has the legs to play LJs style.
phoenixfire
28-08-2022, 12:30 AM
Agree.
LJ Doesn't normally play slow ,predictable football . More fast get it forward and create chances sort of football ,not possession mad either .don't think he has midfield yet for is way of playing . As for Nouble big awkward lad that puts himself about Abit . Personally think He's a big donkey , hardly scores .doidge away ahead of him scoring ratio wise too!
phoenixfire
28-08-2022, 12:32 AM
LJ 100% isn't trying to implement a slow possession style, he's said the exact opposite many times. The problem is the players we have can only play one way, and the lack of creativity in the squad means it ends up being slow and possession based rather than the high tempo football LJ wants. LJ wants it back to front quickly with bodies forward, just the players we have had at the club for a while aren't capable of playing anything other than JR style sit back, give it to Boyle on the counter and pray he does something. Hendo with some consistency would help but he needs a run of games in a set position, we also need someone a bit more dynamic in midfield. Someone that can spot a pass and has the legs to play LJs style.
Beat me to it mate :aok:
28-08-2022, 12:42 AM
Compared to the clubs who’ve beaten us this season we have way better resources. Hibs should not be in the position of having to play the same failed players that got the last 2 managers sacked. That’s not transition, it’s a dereliction of duty from the people who run the club.
In one!!
This transition pish is getting tiring. Only two clubs in this league can fairly say they aren't in a transition every season and even that's arguable these days. Even then being in a transiton may be an excuse as to poor results against settled Hearts, Aberdeen and Dundee Utd i.e. the teams we should be competing with but not against the rest.
Boyle alone is probably on around 6 to 10x the avergae wage of a Livingston or St Mirren player and I'd guess that the rest are paid more than double the average of those in the 'bottom 6 teams'. These players should be enough to get results against half the clubs in this league. Should have pished the league cup group also... Or maybe that's where we're getting it wrong and the reality is we are overpaying a good chunk of the squad for being nothing other than mediocre. Results aren't good enough regardless of what stage we're at. I appreciate it's never that easy but we've been down this road far too often and unless things change soon this season will be another right off as oppsed to transitional. Maybe next summer we'll replace the those who everyone with eyes can see aren't good or consistent enough.
28-08-2022, 02:05 AM
Aberdeens new striker Miovski looks some find. 6 goals and 1 assist in 6 games so far.
Hopefully our recruitment team can find a similar striker.
There centre mid Ramadani is also getting rave reviews.
28-08-2022, 03:16 AM
A 16 year old that has only been signed because he’s the assistant manager’s son. Nepotism is rife at Easter Road
28-08-2022, 04:42 AM
We could have had Leigh Griffiths out there today, Boyle one side and Youen the other.
Cummings off the bench as well.
Even with our midfield they does nothing we'd have players able to score out of nothing. Which we need.
But... guess we'll continue to struggle through games.
28-08-2022, 06:21 AM
A level some of that crap today would stuggle in.
Chorley Hibee
28-08-2022, 06:50 AM
A 16 year old that has only been signed because he’s the assistant manager’s son. Nepotism is rife at Easter Road
Agreed, I'd forgot that point.
Chorley Hibee
28-08-2022, 06:51 AM
Aberdeens new striker Miovski looks some find. 6 goals and 1 assist in 6 games so far.
Hopefully our recruitment team can find a similar striker.
There centre mid Ramadani is also getting rave reviews.
No doubt Gordon is about to unearth the latest 17 year old gem from the Mongolian 3rd division on us.
Paulie Walnuts
28-08-2022, 07:19 AM
So when are we going to spend the Doig money?
Or are we still going to have people saying “how do you think we’ve paid for the signings we’ve already made?” Etc.
We are a ****ing joke.
Musselbound
28-08-2022, 07:56 AM
Agree.
Whether it is Nouble or someone else, definitely the type of player we are badly lacking.
28-08-2022, 08:02 AM
Boyle
Marshall
Youan
Kenneh
Cabraja
Yesterday was a huge step back the way though We haven’t lost thete sincd 2017 But the manner in which we lost yesterday is just not acceptable
I wasn’t expecting us to be in top four at this point but equally I wasn’t expecting that Pitiful excuse of a performance yesterday
L J said it would take 10 to 12 games in before things started to click in the league
But the key injured players that might help improve us are months away from being in the team and unless we bring in three first team ready players it’s hard to see us being where LJ would like us to be in another five games time
In fact more performances like thst and we will be stuck in the bottom three clubs
Things may change for the better but that performance sends out Alarm bells for me
28-08-2022, 08:23 AM
We need a Maclaren or a Cummings type striker not a Doidge or Nouble
We need a box to box midfielder that can contribute more than Newell/JDH (wouldn't be hard)
And we need a proper CB. A ball winning no nonsense Younger Darren Mcgregor. Not a pretend hard man in Porteous and Hanlon appears to have regressed significantly
28-08-2022, 08:37 AM
We need a Maclaren or a Cummings type striker not a Doidge or Nouble
We need a box to box midfielder that can contribute more than Newell/JDH (wouldn't be hard)
And we need a proper CB. A ball winning no nonsense Younger Darren Mcgregor. Not a pretend hard man in Porteous and Hanlon appears to have regressed significantly
A Maclaren or Cummings type is one of the very few things that would make us worse. Standing up there lost on their own. Seen it at Livi with Youan.
Nisbet on form is what we need. Does a bit of everything and can score all types of goals.
I hope we go for Snodgrass for the midfield. Maybe a one year contract. I think he'd do well for us.
28-08-2022, 09:59 AM
Excellent post . Where I might disagree is whether Boyle was a good signing but that`s up to player to show in coming months that club were right to make a huge effort to sign him instead of alternatives in other positions .
No it was not an excellent post & I'll tell you why
The only signing we have made who has won us points is Martin Boyle
If you are saying we should not have signed him (proven quality at this level, a standard setter) and instead we should trust the recruitment team to make signings in other positions with that same money...I'd give you 2 things
Exhibit A, as mentioned, only Boyle is making a difference to our scores
Exhibit B, the money would not have been spent on proven talent, like Allan Campbell or Leon Balogun, it would have been spent at Rainbow FC, or Bodo Gilmts B team
So, please, this next 2 windows, let's have Martin Boyle as the template (proven track record who will improve us) and not the Jair/Bojang model that leads (ultimately) to relegation
McGruber
28-08-2022, 10:06 AM
If you are saying we should not have signed him (proven quality at this level, a standard setter) and instead we should trust the recruitment team to make signings in other positions with that same money...I'd give you 2 things
Exhibit B, the money would not have been spent on proven talent, like Allan Campbell or Leon Balogun, it would have been spent at Rainbow FC, or Bodo Gilmts B team
So, please, this next 2 windows, let's have Martin Boyle as the template (proven track record who will improve us) and not the Jair/Bojang model that leads (ultimately) to relegation
Agree with the template and type of signings required.
Your case has been thrown out of court though on account of EXHIBIT A - Marshall has already won us points and making a difference to scores (no point v Hearts if no double save before equaliser). Could also make a case for Youan's assists.. Still, take your point councilman
28-08-2022, 10:33 AM
You’re right, Boyle done it all alone and Youan played no part in us getting those points. Marshall’s not made numerous saves that has contributed to getting points either?
We can mention Balogun, Campbell etc all we want but if the players don’t want to come there’s very little we can do. They’ll be on alot more down in England than they are up here too.
You mention Bojang from Rainbow FC, he’s clearly not a big money signing and you can’t use him as a comparison for not signing the above 2.
Let’s just see where we’re at when the window closes.
28-08-2022, 10:45 AM
If we don’t sign a CB or a CM or both, serious questions need to be asked by the fans as to what’s going on behind the scenes.
We’ve needed a CB all window. We accidentally signed one and signed a young laddie who isn’t ready.
In midfield we’ve signed another young laddie who had no first team experience. As for Henderson signing, taking him on loan was a mistake never mind including a deal to sign him permanently. Went on loan to Dunfermline and Ross county and struggled for both, **** knows why he was signed thinking he’d be good enough for us.
When you look at the transfer window as a whole, out with Boyle and Marshall, it’s been another shambles. Yet no-one in the department who deals with identifying and signing players will be held accountable because the owners laddie’s in charge.
Truly Romanov-esque stuff.
28-08-2022, 10:50 AM
If we don’t sign a CB or a CM or both, serious questions need to be asked by the fans as to what’s going on behind the scenes.
We’ve needed a CB all window. We accidentally signed one and signed a young laddie who isn’t ready.
In midfield we’ve signed another young laddie who had no first team experience. As for Henderson signing, taking him on loan was a mistake never mind including a deal to sign him permanently. Went on loan to Dunfermline and Ross county and struggled for both, **** knows why he was signed thinking he’d be good enough for us.
When you look at the transfer window as a whole, out with Boyle and Marshall, it’s been another shambles. Yet no-one in the department who deals with identifying and signing players will be held accountable because the owners laddie’s in charge.
We desperately need a centre forward too as up front we have nothing. We could pump thousands of balls into the box and we still wouldn’t score, it’s toothless through the middle.
28-08-2022, 10:56 AM
Boyle, Marshall, Youan, Cabraja have all been good signings. Rocky has been good this season so far as well so would count that as a good signing.
Think we'll end up signing a CB (loan cover for Rocky probably), CM and McKirdy but no idea if they'll improve the first XI. Though going by the past few months anyone up top would be an improvement on Doidge, guy has completely lost it.
Gaffer1875
28-08-2022, 10:56 AM
Football manager here but would love a swap with Doidge and Charlie Mulgrew at Dundee United and a strong established player who can play across the midfield, Snodgrass ideally. Ok our squad age would increase but the experience these kind of players would bring would be hugely beneficial. I actually think we are ok in the forward areas, CB and CM should be priorities.
28-08-2022, 10:59 AM
The fact we were all told that a CB was on his way when we were in Portugal is concerning if nobody arrives. We have been desperate for one for at least 4 years and if the new management team and senior directors can't see this then what are they looking at on a weekly basis. Our midfielders are also not good enough. Too slow and negative for me. Striker also required quickly. The spine of the team is most important and we are currently weak all the way down with the exception of the keeper.
28-08-2022, 11:01 AM
The fact we were all told that a CB was on his way when we were in Portugal is concerning if nobody arrives. We have been desperate for one for at least 4 years and if the new management team and senior directors can't see this then what are they looking at on a weekly basis. Our midfielders are also not good enough. Too slow and negative for me. Striker also required quickly. The spine of the team is most important and we are currently weak all the way down with the exception of the keeper.
I think Kensell is excellent at telling people what they want or need to hear.
28-08-2022, 11:01 AM
Well thsts dissapointing, on the lash all day yesterday never looked at my phone and woke up to 9 new pages in the transfer thread with not so much as a rumour
mcfly
28-08-2022, 11:15 AM
I think Kensell is excellent at telling people what they want or need to hear.
Paid a fortune and is not delivering
Awful letdown
28-08-2022, 11:19 AM
I hope we go for Snodgrass for the midfield. Maybe a one year contract. I think he'd do well for us.
I think players are going to look at hibs just now and not see them as an attractive option to move to
28-08-2022, 11:28 AM
Just look at Celtic under Ange.
Completely changed them and their style of play, only two players starting today that he never signed - Taylor and McGregor.
We lost what 10/11/12 players in the summer? It’s a huge build and not every one is going to be a starter.
We have a limited budget which is tied up in players we don’t want and struggling to move on.
We have addressed problem areas as come the end of the window we hardly had any players.
All it takes is another 2 or so signings and players back from injury and our squad is completely different.
The transfer window is still open.
Let’s be patient.
28-08-2022, 11:30 AM
Wonder if it will be loans we are looking at? JR has spoken before about his good contacts at the City Group.
Not saying that's where we should be signing from just a thought.
28-08-2022, 11:31 AM
Wonder if it will be loans we are looking at? JR has spoken before about his good contacts at the City Group.
JR?
I think players are going to look at hibs just now and not see them as an attractive option to move to
I understand that and agree. However, I think it's a case of how it is sold to them. A bit of honesty that the team is struggling (they'll know that) and that the incoming players have the opportunity to change that and make a real difference, potentially becoming a Hibs hero. Easier said than done of course. We also need to get the right players in. Glad it's not my job!
Mikey_1875
28-08-2022, 11:34 AM
I think that’s probably the best we can hope for unless we get bodies out the door. Johnson saying we won’t have movement for “ready made, permanent players” hopefully still means that loans are a better than nothing option for us.
28-08-2022, 11:34 AM
Another player looking for easy retirement gig. No thanks. We need some players that will run through walls for us. Players that actually want to impress every week. Too many of our squad are golfers that play a bit of football at the weekend.
28-08-2022, 11:36 AM
JR?
I'm going to put it down to me being ill the last few days , LJ obviously apologies
Another player looking for easy retirement gig. No thanks. We need some players that will run through walls for us. Players that actually want to impress every week. Too many of our squad are golfers that play a bit of football at the weekend.
Fair enough. I've always liked him. Decent passer and gives everything when playing. Good at going forward and I think that's what we need at the moment. We might only get 60 - 70 mins a game from him but he would help us take the lead in games before the 90th minute. 😁
28-08-2022, 11:50 AM
Players who I'd say are good enough to start every week:
Marshall
Cadden
Cabraja
Boyle
That's it.
Bridge hibs
28-08-2022, 11:51 AM
Another player looking for easy retirement gig. No thanks. We need some players that will run through walls for us. Players that actually want to impress every week. Too many of our squad are golfers that play a bit of football at the weekend.We are crying out for experience in that team and thats exactly what he would bring
28-08-2022, 12:08 PM
We are crying out for experience in that team and thats exactly what he would bring
Lack of experience isn’t the issue IMO. Just lack of quality.
If anything, the experienced players are the worst of the lot.
28-08-2022, 12:12 PM
Players who I'd say are good enough to start every week:
Marshall
Cadden
Cabraja
Boyle
That's it.
I'd add Youan to that list and I'd argue Cabraja. He's had 2 poor games at Livi and yesterday but he's also played well a couple of times as well. A very inconsistent start for Cabraja so far for me. He seems like a good lad but that's irrelevant.
28-08-2022, 12:15 PM
Marshall and Youhan and Campbell have won us points also
28-08-2022, 12:55 PM
Just look at Celtic under Ange.
Completely changed them and their style of play, only two players starting today that he never signed - Taylor and McGregor.
We lost what 10/11/12 players in the summer? It’s a huge build and not every one is going to be a starter.
We have a limited budget which is tied up in players we don’t want and struggling to move on.
We have addressed problem areas as come the end of the window we hardly had any players.
All it takes is another 2 or so signings and players back from injury and our squad is completely different.
The transfer window is still open.
Let’s be patient.
Well past being patient.
Our signings 'strategy' in this window has been deranged. They clearly do not know what they are doing, money is being wasted on a Moneyball strategy which is bearing no fruit on the park and the spine of the team (which has been crying out to be strengthened for months if not years) has not been touched.
We are nearing the end of the window having pissed shed loads of money against the wall and already being told there's little to no more left for any further signings unless we shift people out. It is beyond incompetent to have got to this point with no starting CD, CM or striker signed.
So, **** patience because I'd like some answers instead. Most particularly why isn't the manager capable of getting more and different out of the players we've got, who is really in charge of our signings and what is going to be done to change that structure or those individuals to improve it?
I'd also like to ask this: who is actually running our club? It was pretty clear under Petrie and then Dempster but now we seem to have poor leadership, lack of direction and a David Brent feel to much of what is going on. I wouldn't even mind that so much if these people appeared to know what they are doing. As posted elsewhere, there's a distinct 'Sunderland 'Til I Die' inevitability about much of this - I'm reminded of the Sunderland executive who seemed more interested in his coffee machine than anything else.
Apologies if this seems hostile to you personally, it isn't intended to be.
28-08-2022, 01:06 PM
Well past being patient.
Our signings 'strategy' in this window has been deranged. They clearly do not know what they are doing, money is being wasted on a Moneyball strategy which is bearing no fruit on the park and the spine of the team (which has been crying out to be strengthened for months if not years) has not been touched.
We are nearing the end of the window having pissed shed loads of money against the wall and already being told there's little to no more left for any further signings unless we shift people out. It is beyond incompetent to have got to this point with no starting CD, CM or striker signed.
So, **** patience because I'd like some answers instead. Most particularly why isn't the manager capable of getting more and different out of the players we've got, who is really in charge of our signings and what is going to be done to change that structure or those individuals to improve it?
I'd also like to ask this: who is actually running our club? It was pretty clear under Petrie and then Dempster but now we seem to have poor leadership, lack of direction and a David Brent feel to much of what is going on. I wouldn't even mind that so much if these people appeared to know what they are doing. As posted elsewhere, there's a distinct 'Sunderland 'Til I Die' inevitability about much of this - I'm reminded of the Sunderland executive who seemed more interested in his coffee machine than anything else.
Apologies if this seems hostile to you personally, it isn't intended to be.
We’ll said, the spine of the team was the place to spend money, any other future signings should be looked at once the main issues were addressed.
It’s quite obvious there is no plan to fix this in the last few days of the window and you get the feeling any signings now will be panic signings, we can only hope we get lucky with that.
NC1875
28-08-2022, 01:22 PM
I'd add Youan to that list and I'd argue Cabraja. He's had 2 poor games at Livi and yesterday but he's also played well a couple of times as well. A very inconsistent start for Cabraja so far for me. He seems like a good lad but that's irrelevant.
His dad just died less than a fortnight ago. Jeezo, give the boy a break.
BlackSheep
28-08-2022, 01:29 PM
Looking at free transfers there’s a few worth a punt…
Experienced players, give them 1 year deals with options of 2nd.
Gary Cahill, Efe Ambrose, Sol Bamba….
Snodgrass, Danny Drinkwater, Lewis McLeod, Tom Carroll…
Worth their experience to bring our younger players on…
28-08-2022, 01:35 PM
Sure McLeod has all but retired due to injuries
28-08-2022, 01:40 PM
Hearts have just signed some ex German u21 international midfield player, tall, physical and scores goals apparently.
28-08-2022, 01:43 PM
Hearts have just signed some ex German u21 international midfield player, tall, physical and scores goals apparently.
Spent £350k on him reportedly as well. Only compounds our failings.
28-08-2022, 01:44 PM
Hearts have just signed some ex German u21 international midfield player, tall, physical and scores goals apparently.Orestis Kiomourtzoglou
Make some good cash at the club shop too. [emoji23]
28-08-2022, 01:46 PM
Its actually unbelievable, their squad right now is better than ours, but they are still talking about adding a couple before Wednesday.
We are in a **** state, thanks Ron
28-08-2022, 01:46 PM
Orestis Kiomourtzoglou
Make some good cash at the club shop too. [emoji23]
That’s the best poem I’ve seen on here.
28-08-2022, 01:47 PM
Has scored an average of 1.3 goals per season over the last 3 seasons.
28-08-2022, 01:48 PM
Has scored an average of 1.3 goals per season over the last 3 seasons.
Cheers, i should have known that Brian M was talking pish..................
Willis1875
28-08-2022, 01:49 PM
Nearly 200 appearances as a pro whilst we spend similar amounts on the assistant managers 16yo son
28-08-2022, 01:49 PM
Its actually unbelievable, their squad right now is better than ours, but they are still talking about adding a couple before Wednesday.
We are in a **** state, thanks Ron
They know what they need, they identify the player, they spend decent money on them, they sign.
We need another CB and a CM of first team quality and haven’t got anywhere near it. Joke.
Hearts also eyeing a couple more signings before the window shuts. We’re just letting them out of sight without reply.
Scotty Leither
28-08-2022, 01:52 PM
The recruitment team do know exactly what they’re doing though, and that’s acting on the orders of the owner and his factor, otherwise known as his son, and tough **** if we don’t like it, they think they know best.
28-08-2022, 01:52 PM
Nearly 200 appearances as a pro whilst we spend similar amounts on the assistant managers 16yo son
They know what they need, they identify the player, they spend decent money on them, they sign.
We need another CB and a CM of first team quality and haven’t got anywhere near it. Joke.
Someone should print these off and place them on Rons desk, along with a dictionary opened at the page with Nepotism in it.......................
Bridge hibs
28-08-2022, 01:53 PM
Nearly 200 appearances as a pro whilst we spend similar amounts on the assistant managers 16yo sonIs he any good, 200 appearances and he could still be ****, no doubt a few on here will be creaming themselves over another superstar hearts signing
We should go for Liam Craig, 400 odd appearances, just the kind off midfielder we need
Willis1875
28-08-2022, 01:56 PM
Is he any good, 200 appearances and he could still be ****, no doubt a few on here will be creaming themselves over another superstar hearts signing
They probably have a better idea of what they are getting by watching some of his games,he’s not been plucked out of some youth academy.
He might be mince but he’s the kind of ready made player that Lee Johnson has been alluding to in his last 2 post match interviews
28-08-2022, 01:58 PM
Is he any good, 200 appearances and he could still be ****, no doubt a few on here will be creaming themselves over another superstar hearts signing
We should go for Liam Craig, 400 odd appearances, just the kind off midfielder we need
I dont think even our recruitment team could tempt Liam Craig back - he has retired..................
Bridge hibs
28-08-2022, 01:59 PM
They probably have a better idea of what they are getting by watching some of his games,he’s not been plucked out of some youth academy.
He might be mince but he’s the kind of ready made player that Lee Johnson has been alluding to in his last 2 post match interviewsYou dont know if he has been watched though, he may have been recommended to hearts by agents, he may turn out good but then again he could be total *****. Im not gonna worry about who they sign nor am I gonna rip hibs just because that mob sign a nobody
Bridge hibs
28-08-2022, 02:01 PM
I dont think even our recruitment team could tempt Liam Craig back - he has retired..................Aw ****, lets go for Wotherspoon then
Willis1875
28-08-2022, 02:02 PM
You dont know if he has been watched though, he may have been recommended to hearts by agents, he may turn out good but then again he could be total *****. Im not gonna worry about who they sign nor am I gonna rip hibs just because that mob sign a nobody
I’m not worried about who they sign either I was merely pointing out that we paid similar amounts for a laddie that likely isn’t going to get a sniff of the first team for a couple of years when that money could have been spent on seasoned footballer for a position we are crying out for
28-08-2022, 02:03 PM
The recruitment team do know exactly what they’re doing though, and that’s acting on the orders of the owner and his factor, otherwise known as his son, and tough **** if we don’t like it, they think they know best.
The recruitment team were signing s**** long before IG was on the scene though, they shouldn’t be absolved of any blame here too.
Calvin Charlton became Head of Recruitment Analysis in November 2020, what decent players have we identified in the period since? What sort of analysis was be presenting that the likes of Ewan Henderson were worth being given 4 year contracts?
He whole recruitment team needs reviewed from top to bottom.
28-08-2022, 02:03 PM
Aw ****, lets go for Wotherspoon then
Injured :greengrin
Bridge hibs
28-08-2022, 02:04 PM
Injured :greengrinAw ffs !! 🤣
28-08-2022, 02:09 PM
Surely let’s wait and see if he’s any good before knocking our club?
28-08-2022, 02:10 PM
Hearts also eyeing a couple more signings before the window shuts. We’re just letting them out of sight without reply.Wouldn't go that far to say we are 'letting the out of sight without replay'
I bet we have spent more than them this window
How its been spent can be argued ofcourse
28-08-2022, 02:15 PM
Surely let’s wait and see if he’s any good before knocking our club?
The point is not that they signed this guy or "if hes any good" , the point I and others are making is that they are signing first team players, guys who have some kind of pedigree, not guys playing for Rainbow FC in flipping Gambia, the 15th division in Portugal or Bristol Rovers youth team.
They are also maybe going to add another couple, when our news from LJ seems to be "dont like most of the 13 players we have signed, will continue to play the gash midfield from last year - oh, we dont have any cash left to sign players as we have spent it all"
Its more of a reflection on our dreadful recruitment team than some German midfielder I have never heard of.
Apologies, bit of a rant................................
28-08-2022, 02:17 PM
Tall, physical midfielder who scores goals? A guaranteed first team midfield signing with an established pedigree?
I won't say what we're all thinking because apparently it's not allowed.
Bridge hibs
28-08-2022, 02:27 PM
The point is not that they signed this guy or "if hes any good" , the point I and others are making is that they are signing first team players, guys who have some kind of pedigree, not guys playing for Rainbow FC in flipping Gambia, the 15th division in Portugal or Bristol Rovers youth team.
They are also maybe going to add another couple, when our news from LJ seems to be "dont like most of the 13 players we have signed, will continue to play the gash midfield from last year - oh, we dont have any cash left to sign players as we have spent it all"
Its more of a reflection on our dreadful recruitment team than some German midfielder I have never heard of.
Apologies, bit of a rant................................Do Marshall, Lewis Miller, McGeady or Youan not count ? Im not disputing we still lack a spine to the team and Im as frustrated as the rest but its not true we are just signing players from Gambia or Bristol City (not Rovers)
28-08-2022, 02:27 PM
Tall, physical midfielder who scores goals? A guaranteed first team midfield signing with an established pedigree?
4 goals in 77 games for his last club. Not sure id call him a goalscoring midfielder
Bridge hibs
28-08-2022, 02:29 PM
How many goals has this goal scoring machine of a midfielder scored, just so I know I can have a rant at the hibs board and gnash my teeth
28-08-2022, 02:30 PM
How many goals has this goal scoring machine of a midfielder scored, just so I know I can have a rant at the hibs board and gnash my teeth19 goals in 187 games since 2015
Bridge hibs
28-08-2022, 02:32 PM
19 goals in 187 games since 2015
Sent from my VOG-L29 using TapatalkProlific, ****ing hibs board oot 🤬
28-08-2022, 02:42 PM
how many times have you seen him play?
28-08-2022, 02:42 PM
how many times have you seen him play?
I haven’t but I bet hearts have watched him play a lot more than we watched Kenneh for example.
28-08-2022, 02:44 PM
I haven’t but I bet hearts have watched him play a lot more than we watched Kenneh for example.
Didnt think so
28-08-2022, 03:19 PM
The German lad might turn out to be totally crap and hardly kick a ball.
That's not the point though. Nobody is claiming to know anything about him.
The point is they are still actively bringing in players to strengthen their first team whereas we've just listened to LJ saying it's unlikely we'll get another one in.
If you stop picking arguments you would realise that's why people are concerned.
28-08-2022, 03:19 PM
Rocky being out long term is a big blow. Been good so far this season.
28-08-2022, 03:23 PM
The point is they are still actively bringing in players to strengthen their first team whereas we've just listened to LJ saying it's unlikely we'll get another one in.
If you stop picking arguments you would realise that's why people are concerned.
Aye but that doesn’t matter, we haven’t seen him play. Who cares if hearts continue to strengthen in same areas we’re struggling in.
As long as some posters get one up on another.
28-08-2022, 03:23 PM
Do Marshall, Lewis Miller, McGeady or Youan not count ? Im not disputing we still lack a spine to the team and Im as frustrated as the rest but its not true we are just signing players from Gambia or Bristol City (not Rovers)
I know, I am not saying my argument was rational :greengrin
I am just totally pissed off at what appear to be avoidable mistakes in recruitment - a blind man could see that we have needed a striker, more quality in midfield and competition at CH since early last year - thats 3 windows.
While we have filled some of those gaps, the quality is questionable.
Dazzjw1875
28-08-2022, 03:26 PM
Anyone else get the feeling LJ is unhappy the now? He knows what is required but doesn't seem to get the backing to sign them.. would hate to think a large portion of the budget has went on boyle and the development players! Hopefully he can convince them for another couple players.. but hard to shift dead wood especially as they on good wages..
Bridge hibs
28-08-2022, 03:34 PM
Aye but that doesn’t matter, we haven’t seen him play. Who cares if hearts continue to strengthen in same areas we’re struggling in.
As long as some posters get one up on another.Its not about posters getting one up on another, its the same **** everytime, we struggle and hearts sign a player and folk cant wait to say I told you so and bash hibs at the same time. The guy could turn out to be a good un who knows but bet yer erse that if we had spent £350,000 on him the reaction on here wouldnt have been much different
Hearts will have a **** load of games coming up and will need a decent sized pool so that signing makes sense, we on the other hand need players ready for the first team now in quite a few positions and I think we are all on the same page on that one
Bridge hibs
28-08-2022, 03:36 PM
I know, I am not saying my argument was rational :greengrin
I am just totally pissed off at what appear to be avoidable mistakes in recruitment - a blind man could see that we have needed a striker, more quality in midfield and competition at CH since early last year - thats 3 windows.
While we have filled some of those gaps, the quality is questionable.No arguements from me on that mate 👍
Hibiza
28-08-2022, 03:56 PM
Yup , the first team priorities are woeful.
28-08-2022, 04:23 PM
Anyone else get the feeling LJ is unhappy the now? He knows what is required but doesn't seem to get the backing to sign them.. would hate to think a large portion of the budget has went on boyle and the development players! Hopefully he can convince them for another couple players.. but hard to shift dead wood especially as they on good wages..
I think he’s made a few comments over the last week that make it crystal clear he’s not happy. Talking about needing ready made players was the first sign. And he more or less said yesterday that some of the players we do have are lacking in quality.
If we don’t get a couple of those ready made players that he wants, this week, then he’ll be gone by the World Cup.
I think he’s made a few comments over the last week that make it crystal clear he’s not happy. Talking about needing ready made players was the first sign. And he more or less said yesterday that some of the players we do have are lacking in quality.
If we don’t get a couple of those ready made players that he wants, this week, then he’ll be gone by the World Cup.
I don’t expect us to sign these type of players and if we are lucky we will sign 2 young loanees from lower end EPL or Championship teams.
A CH that can actually defend and an AM are absolute musts but my hopes won’t be high!
I hope I am wrong but this is what we will get!
Torto7
28-08-2022, 04:34 PM
Hes got nothing to moan about. Plenty of money has been used already. LJ is on record as saying Tavares etc are his signings. They chose to sign McCallisters laddie as well which wasnt cheap. The squads bloated atm.
Dazzjw1875
28-08-2022, 04:46 PM
Hes got nothing to moan about. Plenty of money has been used already. LJ is on record as saying Tavares etc are his signings. They chose to sign McCallisters laddie as well which wasnt cheap. The squads bloated atm.
Should the development squad signings be coming out 1st te budget though?
mcfly
28-08-2022, 04:47 PM
Squads bloated but not enough quality.
We are in a mess, any frustration from fans should be directed not at the manager though, has to be board and especially the recruiting team.
28-08-2022, 04:51 PM
Should the development squad signings be coming out 1st te budget though?
It’s the same budget.
28-08-2022, 04:58 PM
Its not about posters getting one up on another, its the same **** everytime, we struggle and hearts sign a player and folk cant wait to say I told you so and bash hibs at the same time. The guy could turn out to be a good un who knows but bet yer erse that if we had spent £350,000 on him the reaction on here wouldnt have been much different
Hearts will have a **** load of games coming up and will need a decent sized pool so that signing makes sense, we on the other hand need players ready for the first team now in quite a few positions and I think we are all on the same page on that one
Of course people are bashing hibs when they’re failing to address issues in the squad whilst their rivals, who we’re supposed to be challenging for 3rd, are constantly strengthening their squad. They’re strengthening in areas that we’re also looking to strengthen which feels like is adding insult to injury.
Why can the club not pull their finger out their arse and sign players for the positions we need!
Saint Hibee
28-08-2022, 05:08 PM
If we can’t get a new striker in, then Melkerson has to play 9. He’s desperate for the experience and he literally can’t be any worse than Doidge.
28-08-2022, 05:08 PM
We are in a mess, any frustration from fans should be directed not at the manager though, has to be board and especially the recruiting team.
It’s the manager who has prioritised signings in other positions when it’s been clear as day to anyone who has watched us for the last 4 years that our biggest issues are in central midfield.
Chorley Hibee
28-08-2022, 05:13 PM
Injured :greengrin
When has that ever bothered Hibs.
28-08-2022, 05:14 PM
If we can’t get a new striker in, then Melkerson has to play 9. He’s desperate for the experience and he literally can’t be any worse than Doidge.
Agree with that play the three up front interchanging
berwickhibee
28-08-2022, 05:16 PM
Scariest thing for me in all of this is ron Gordon thinks recruitment is good.🤬
Rick Rude
28-08-2022, 05:23 PM
Depends who looked at the midfield of last season with all of 3 league goals and about 5 assists and thought that wasn't the priority to fix.
Maybe I'm alone in this but I don't have any real issue with who we've brought in, is more an issue with who we haven't. Whilst our entire attacking threat is down the wings teams will just continue to double up out there and limit space. They can do it knowing that absolutely nothing is going to come through the middle of the park.
28-08-2022, 05:32 PM
Scariest thing for me in all of this is ron Gordon thinks recruitment is good.🤬
Let's see if he thinks it's good when we fail to meet his Target of 4th.
I will see this.... Going to be a interesting week at the club and on here.
No league cup football to look forward to 😔
xqnq1875
28-08-2022, 07:04 PM
Scariest thing for me in all of this is ron Gordon thinks recruitment is good.[emoji2959]
This is exactly what he’ll come out and say he’s an out of it touch *******, he thinks young and promising = ready to play now, I know for a fact he’ll be invited on to the hibs podcasts soon and will say all these signings have been good when only 3 of them have been decent, the recruitment at this club is a disgrace
Scotty Leither
28-08-2022, 07:11 PM
This is exactly what he’ll come out and say he’s an out of it touch *******, he thinks young and promising = ready to play now, I know for a fact he’ll be invited on to the hibs podcasts soon and will say all these signings have been good when only 3 of them have been decent, the recruitment at this club is a disgrace
He fronts up in a manner you never ever saw from Petrie, but I'm beginning to find his answers to the "recruitment question" embarrassing and cringey.
It's borderline delusional for such a manifestly successful businessman to try and portray our transfer dealings as anything other than patchy, at best, and he's not helping himself by parroting this line.
28-08-2022, 07:33 PM
What is the starred out word there?
28-08-2022, 07:38 PM
If the bar is “Doidge” then it’s not a bad suggestion.
If the bar is “good enough to play number 9 for Hibernian” then it’s a terrible one.
He’s not good enough, he’s not ready. But he’s a better option than Doidge.
28-08-2022, 07:38 PM
What is the starred out word there?
fuzzbox :dunno: