View Full Version : Greggs Summer 2022-23 transfer thread
Bridge hibs
12-06-2022, 07:18 AM
Trigger is back in Edinburgh and looking for a club. Just saying.Trigger ?
h185forever
12-06-2022, 07:19 AM
Trigger ?
Used to play sweeper for Peckham ..:agree:
12-06-2022, 07:25 AM
Trigger is back in Edinburgh and looking for a club. Just saying.
Guessing you are just horsing around with that one.
Bridge hibs
12-06-2022, 07:25 AM
Used to play sweeper for Peckham ..:agree:Ah, good to know Lee Johnson has David Peckham as a contact, could tap into his football knowledge
12-06-2022, 07:33 AM
Doidge signed an extension whilst he was injured last November.
Along with every other under performing player that was getting handed contracts
12-06-2022, 07:38 AM
Only fools and horses would sign him!
Spill the beans, who’s trigger
McGruber
12-06-2022, 07:43 AM
That you Dave?
12-06-2022, 07:57 AM
Correct and with good reason he is pisb
Sent from my SM-G975U1 using Tapatalk
He’s also an anti vax tin foil hat lunatic.
Only fools and horses would sign him!
Spill the beans, who’s trigger
I'd be a grass if I did.
12-06-2022, 08:03 AM
If he finds his form again then Doidge is the better player by a long shot. Remember the days of Hibs twitter posting a wee hint to the Wales nations teams twitter every time he scored (which felt like most games). He was a large factor in us finishing 3rd for the first time in over a decade. If he stays, gets and good pre season and finds that form again he would be better than any new signing.
Shankland has achieved nothing of the sort.
This, genuinely couldn’t have put it any better.
Doidge has proved himself capable of scoring goals and helping the team at this level, Shankland not so much. Attitude wise the same.
Stairway 2 7
12-06-2022, 08:27 AM
He’s also an anti vax tin foil hat lunatic.
Didn't realise this. Another one to add to the prick list
McGruber
12-06-2022, 08:29 AM
The Shankland debate is basically about Hearts having this better striker. A player that hasn't signed for Hearts as far as I know and comparison about how much better he is than a striker we will sign but nobody knows who that will be - all a bit pointless just now.
To make it simple. Shankland is a good player, Doidge is a good player and Nisbet is a good player. None are as good injured.
More interested in who we will sign
12-06-2022, 08:30 AM
Trigger ?
One for the colts team
12-06-2022, 08:38 AM
Does he have his brush?
12-06-2022, 08:46 AM
One for the colts teamHe'd ride a coach and horses through this league.
12-06-2022, 08:48 AM
Didn't realise this. Another one to add to the prick list
Who is this in relation to?
Stairway 2 7
12-06-2022, 08:49 AM
Who is this in relation to?
Shankland
12-06-2022, 08:51 AM
Shankland
Ok cheers another reason not to like him
12-06-2022, 08:52 AM
I'd be a grass if I did.
Doigs replacement 👍
12-06-2022, 09:06 AM
Fabrizio Romano tweets
Liverpool are set to reach an agreement with Calvin Ramsay on personal terms - they made an official bid to Aberdeen for the Scottish fullback. 🔴🏴 #LFC
Club confident on agreement between clubs - but Aberdeen want around €10m with add ons included. Talks ongoing.
12-06-2022, 09:36 AM
Fabrizio Romano tweets
Liverpool are set to reach an agreement with Calvin Ramsay on personal terms - they made an official bid to Aberdeen for the Scottish fullback. 🔴🏴 #LFC
Club confident on agreement between clubs - but Aberdeen want around €10m with add ons included. Talks ongoing.
Huge windfall for Aberdeen if that happens.
Are they ever gonna build a new stadium though? I think they might stay at pittodrie a while longer.
12-06-2022, 09:39 AM
Huge windfall for Aberdeen if that happens.
Are they ever gonna build a new stadium though? I think they might stay at pittodrie a while longer.
Think they are redeveloping around the area where the stadium currently is. Joint venture with Aberdeen Council
angus hibby
12-06-2022, 09:59 AM
This, genuinely couldn’t have put it any better.
Doidge has proved himself capable of scoring goals and helping the team at this level, Shankland not so much. Attitude wise the same.
Potentially a big few months for Doidge with an outside chance of making the Wales World Cup Squad. Great incentive for him as reckon Wales will need a back up for Kieffer Moore.
if Doidge can start the season well and scoring goals, he may force his way in.
Clarence
12-06-2022, 10:07 AM
Potentially a big few months for Doidge with an outside chance of making the Wales World Cup Squad. Great incentive for him as reckon Wales will need a back up for Kieffer Moore.
I like your optimism.
12-06-2022, 10:15 AM
In Doidge and Magennis we actually have a couple of players who could be massive for us if they recover fully from their injuries, get a good pre season and stay injury free.
(The “if” in the above sentence is doing a fair bit of heavy lifting).
12-06-2022, 10:15 AM
Does he have his brush?
We do need a sweeper
Paulie Walnuts
12-06-2022, 10:35 AM
So if you reckon shankland has peaked already before he turned 26 then it kind of says it all about the player
Shankland came up to the top tier with Dundee Utd at 24 years old.
That’s pretty much the beginning of most players peak years. He’s still in his peak. I’m not quite sure what a footballer player coming in to his peak at the usual sort of age players come into their peak is supposed to say about him?
12-06-2022, 10:54 AM
What could cause a more fan uplift
Doidge contract extension
Signing Shankland
Only one winner
Indeed. Doidge.
EGL2000
12-06-2022, 11:21 AM
Fabrizio Romano tweets
Huge for them if that happens, got to say fair play aswell for getting a good fee and not getting robbed by the English teams. Bad news for us though.
I’d happily have Shankland in my squad!
12-06-2022, 12:24 PM
Shankland came up to the top tier with Dundee Utd at 24 years old.
That’s pretty much the beginning of most players peak years. He’s still in his peak. I’m not quite sure what a footballer player coming in to his peak at the usual sort of age players come into their peak is supposed to say about him?
24 is no where near a players peak years, and if that was him starting to hit his peak years then 12 goals in a couple of years is pretty poor
12-06-2022, 12:37 PM
That you Dave?
Big Dave the Lithuanian?
12-06-2022, 12:41 PM
Same tbh. He'd actually be a good backup for Doidge and keV, with time still to improve.
Me too. I saw an earlier post contrasting Doidge versus Shankland in the cup 2 or 3 seasons ago. Doidge scored 4 over the 2 games and Shankland scored twice. We of course were the top flight team and won the tie but Shankland scored 2 superb goals. His goal from the halfway line the following season was also superb. To sum it up, I don't know why it has to be a Doidge versus Shankland debate, I'd be happy with both on form but right now I'd say Shankland would be the safer bet.
King Cosell
12-06-2022, 12:52 PM
Fabrizio Romano tweets
That's about £8.5million for a young player who, if the bookies were offering odds, would be a hot favourite to never be a first team regular. Can't see them getting more than £4million with add-ons.
Me too. I saw an earlier post contrasting Doidge versus Shankland in the cup 2 or 3 seasons ago. Doidge scored 4 over the 2 games and Shankland scored twice. We of course were the top flight team and won the tie but Shankland scored 2 superb goals. His goal from the halfway line the following season was also superb. To sum it up, I don't know why it has to be a Doidge versus Shankland debate, I'd be happy with both on form but right now I'd say Shankland would be the safer bet.
Same tbh. He'd actually be a good backup for Doidge and keV, with time still to improve.
He’s different to both Doidge and Nisbet and would definitely give us options in the final third.
12-06-2022, 01:22 PM
They'd probably make a great pairing. A bit of everything between them.
12-06-2022, 01:57 PM
Shankland would definitely be a better option from the the bench than we currently have but I'm not sure he'd settle for that.
12-06-2022, 01:58 PM
https://youtu.be/V9yrQcVvYXg
Liked Shankland appeared to have worked on his all round game and I have no doubt he would score goals in a Hibs side creating chances
The only issue might be his wages and if Hearts are daft enough…. !
12-06-2022, 01:59 PM
Shankland would definitely be a better option from the the bench than we currently have but I'm not sure he'd settle for that.
Course he would be and I'm guessing you're spot on that he won't be looking for that with his next move.
I genuinely believe he's worse than a fully fit Doidge and Nisbet though.
Paulie Walnuts
12-06-2022, 02:34 PM
24 is no where near a players peak years, and if that was him starting to hit his peak years then 12 goals in a couple of years is pretty poor
It really is near a players peak.
24ish is generally when players will get to the highest level they’ll end up at.
Obviously there’ll be exceptions going both ways with players having peaked earlier or later.
12 goals in 41 games isn’t great whilst playing for a premier league team isn’t great, of course. It’s 3.4 games per goal.
Doidges record of 3.26 games per goal is only marginally better though and he’s been playing for a better team for most of that time than Shankland did.
There’s really not all that much between them as some are suggesting. At 26 I’d rather have Shankland now.
It's not even an outside chance of going to the world cup.
Paulie Walnuts
12-06-2022, 02:41 PM
It's not even an outside chance of going to the world cup.
Yup.
I love big Doidge but he’s not going to the World Cup, even if he gets back to his 19/20 form.
12-06-2022, 02:54 PM
It really is near a players peak.
24ish is generally when players will get to the highest level they’ll end up at.
Obviously there’ll be exceptions going both ways with players having peaked earlier or later.
12 goals in 41 games isn’t great whilst playing for a premier league team isn’t great, of course. It’s 3.4 games per goal.
Doidges record of 3.26 games per goal is only marginally better though and he’s been playing for a better team for most of that time than Shankland did.
There’s really not all that much between them as some are suggesting. At 26 I’d rather have Shankland now.
I think its actually 13 in 59 league games between belgium and scotland which isnt great, as ive said, lets see how he gets on if he signs for hearts, i personally dont rate him at a higher level and wouldnt swap a fit doidge(hopefully get that soon) or nisbet for him
12-06-2022, 03:05 PM
Lawrence Shankland chat worse than cat puns IMO.
12-06-2022, 03:09 PM
Different types of strikers of course, but I think Doidge and Shankland are of similar ability. Both good players but neither irreplaceable or likely to earn you a big transfer fee.
12-06-2022, 03:20 PM
Lazy assessment. When they both left championship clubs Nisbet was reffered to by fans as the better all round player, whilst Shankland was all about goals.
Only one of them has proven they can score regularly at this level.
Is it, aye?
12-06-2022, 04:45 PM
Wonder if we'll announce more than McGeady this coming week. I know we've signed five already but we definitely need a few more.
new strip likely to be announced as well, should be an exciting week! Anyone know when the team are back for pre-season training? Has to be soon right?
12-06-2022, 04:46 PM
Missed quite a few pages but was it the Shankland chat?
Linked with Hearts?
12-06-2022, 04:47 PM
Wonder if we'll announce more than McGeady this coming week. I know we've signed five already but we definitely need a few more.
new strip likely to be announced as well, should be an exciting week! Anyone know when the team are back for pre-season training? Has to be soon right?
I'm sure it's Saturday?
12-06-2022, 04:49 PM
I'm sure it's Saturday?
Nice one, means they'll have had a month off so hope they come back raring to go and those who were carrying knocks, other than Nisbet, are fully fit.
Hibiza
12-06-2022, 05:36 PM
Would be fantastic to sign Ellis Simms , great player and a up ye to our friends.
12-06-2022, 05:41 PM
Not the first time I've seen claims that a player can be collecting salary from two different clubs at the same time? Where on earth did that fairytale come from?Nice interpretation however I never said he'd be getting paid by both clubs. I said I expect he'll want some form of pay off to go. He's unlikely to get better terms than he's ubmnder at Hibs. That will take funds out the existing budget. Its not beyond imagination that we might have to settle fully in oder for him to go. So... . Not releasing anything for a replacement.
Sent from my SM-G965F using Tapatalk
12-06-2022, 05:52 PM
Would be fantastic to sign Ellis Simms , great player and a up ye to our friends.
Is this a possibility or just conjecture?
12-06-2022, 05:54 PM
I’d say it’s very unlikely. Lampard wants to have a look at him over the summer, but Neilson has already said that several championship clubs are waiting in the wings.
GreenArmy1875
12-06-2022, 05:55 PM
I'm going to say 0 possibility and think the OP is at the wind up
12-06-2022, 06:01 PM
Don't think we are linked and if they were going to punt him to Scotland I'm sure Hearts would be first option.
I'm sure I read we had looked at him in the past but he was injured or just back from injury?
12-06-2022, 06:09 PM
I'm going to say 0 possibility and think the OP is at the wind up
Not sure the OP is at the wind up but do agree about 0 possibility. If he's coming back up the road it'll be to them. Guaranteed to start every game and group stage European football to experience.
Hibiza
12-06-2022, 06:11 PM
Doidge , Shankland , Nesbit - should be a full league below what were looking at to bring in . All just totally average at best.
12-06-2022, 06:15 PM
Doidge , Shankland , Nesbit - should be a full league below what were looking at to bring in . All just totally average at best.
Nurse!
HendoDelivered
12-06-2022, 06:26 PM
What about Nisbet though?
Better players won’t exactly be falling over themselves to sign for a bottom six SPL club, even if we had a higher wage budget.
Don’t let us burst your bubble though.
12-06-2022, 06:26 PM
Simms looks a player. A right handful. If they signed Shankland instead of him I'd be delighted. Think Simms will be outwith Hearts budget now anyway and certainly ours.
12-06-2022, 06:31 PM
At best, like their absolute and utter best they are average?
Behave yourself.
12-06-2022, 06:52 PM
Patrick McPartlin had a tweet up about Josh Doig but deleted it very quickly
Said something about 4 clubs being interested, move to England unlikely and fee to be around £3m
Hibiza
12-06-2022, 06:54 PM
At best, like their absolute and utter best they are average?
Behave yourself.
Believe so , seen them all over many games, just my humble.
Hibiza
12-06-2022, 06:55 PM
Nurse!
sister it Matron please.
Hibiza
12-06-2022, 06:55 PM
Sister or Matron please
King Cosell
12-06-2022, 07:09 PM
Said something about 4 clubs being interested, move to England unlikely and fee to be around £3m
There's a new Evening News piece up.
12-06-2022, 07:12 PM
https://twitter.com/p_mcpartlin/status/1536059626495549450
Zambernardi1875
12-06-2022, 07:12 PM
the backlash you will get for this only highlights the mediocrity hibs fans accept nowadays
12-06-2022, 07:18 PM
the backlash you will get for this only highlights the mediocrity hibs fans accept nowadays
Which players should we be accepting, and expecting?
12-06-2022, 07:18 PM
https://twitter.com/p_mcpartlin/status/1536059626495549450
Yip wonder why he deleted the original
Nothing much new, hope this doesn't rumble on.
12-06-2022, 07:19 PM
Aberdeen looking for £10m for Ramsay?
Hibiza
12-06-2022, 07:22 PM
No probs bro , just my opinion and surprised if anyone could be upset about it , wonder if Kevin's transfer request still stands - hope so.
Zambernardi1875
12-06-2022, 07:25 PM
Which players should we be accepting, and expecting?
in the past 20 years those 3 wouldnt get into many teams
12-06-2022, 07:25 PM
Euros works out about £8.5m.
12-06-2022, 07:29 PM
I'm sure I read it's 4 million upfront and then up to 10 with add ons.
12-06-2022, 07:30 PM
Incredible deal
Mikey_1875
12-06-2022, 07:30 PM
3 million would be good business for Doig. Especially if we need to sell to facilitate recruitment in key areas of the park.
12-06-2022, 07:38 PM
I’d say it’s very unlikely. Lampard wants to have a look at him over the summer, but Neilson has already said that several championship clubs are waiting in the wings.
He also said that about Sean Clare, they'll likely sign simms and claim they beat PSG to his signature
12-06-2022, 07:40 PM
Believe so , seen them all over many games, just my humble.
2 of them already guided Hibs to 3rd and multiple cup finals so the idea they're not good enough for Hibs is interesting to say the least
12-06-2022, 07:46 PM
The boy chunks one year loan option to buy
12-06-2022, 07:47 PM
No way are Liverpool paying this up front
Stairway 2 7
12-06-2022, 07:47 PM
The only ones better than them of the top of my head stokes, Killen and leigh who was a fan, the rest are youngsters that you either get lucky to produce or don't.
Top goal scorers the last 20
Boyle 7, they got into that team
Nisbet 14
Doidge 12
Kamberi 8
Kamberi Murray 9
Craig 7
Griffiths 23
O'connor 12
Stokes 15
Stokes 21
Riordan 12
Fletcher 13
Killen 13
Riordan 16
Riordan 20
Riordan 15
Mcmanus 11
O'connor 9
In the last 25 can add
Paatelainen 11
Miller 11
Zambernardi1875
12-06-2022, 07:51 PM
The only ones better than them of the top of my head stokes, Killen and leigh who was a fan, the rest are youngsters that you either get lucky to produce or don't.
Top goal scorers the last 20
Boyle 7, they got into that team
Nisbet 14
Doidge 12
Kamberi 8
Kamberi Murray 9
Craig 7
Griffiths 23
O'connor 12
Stokes 15
Stokes 21
Riordan 12
Fletcher 13
Killen 13
Riordan 16
Riordan 20
Riordan 15
Mcmanus 11
O'connor 9
In the last 25 can add
Paatelainen 11
Miller 11
no idea what all that means, you saying riordan wasnt better than those 3?
12-06-2022, 07:54 PM
No way are Liverpool paying this up front
Why would they?
Stairway 2 7
12-06-2022, 08:01 PM
no idea what all that means, you saying riordan wasnt better than those 3?
He was but him O'connor Fletcher Miller we were fortunate to bring through. Kevin's 14 goals two seasons ago is the 7th highest in the last 20, not a bad signing
12-06-2022, 08:04 PM
What is the endgame behind all this "our strikers may or may not be as good as previous strikers" tome?
12-06-2022, 08:05 PM
Says someone with a username of a player we wish had been as good as mediocre 🤣
12-06-2022, 08:06 PM
Zambernardi1875
12-06-2022, 08:09 PM
oh no please dont slag my username
Zambernardi1875
12-06-2022, 08:13 PM
He was but him O'connor Fletcher Miller we were fortunate to bring through. Kevin's 14 goals two seasons ago is the 7th highest in the last 20, not a bad signing
i just dont think, going through every season in the last 20 years those 3 wouldnt get into many, if any teams.
12-06-2022, 08:18 PM
i just dont think, going through every season in the last 20 years those 3 wouldnt get into many, if any teams.
I can’t think of any team in the last 20 years that at least one of those 3 wouldn’t get into. 09/10 potentially when we had Riordan, Stokes, Nish & Benji.
Stairway 2 7
12-06-2022, 08:23 PM
Nisbet gets in any of the last 6. Probably ahead of nish in his 4 years, ahead of Mcmanus in his 2 in the last 20.
Cracking player, especially since we signed him and he didn't come through the youth
12-06-2022, 08:23 PM
oh no please dont slag my username
Ok, but you are still talking pish 🤣
12-06-2022, 08:51 PM
Can see us signing Noah Beck for banter
Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk
Yep, 2 Scottish international scorers wouldnt get into Hibs teams ahead of the like of Franck Dje Dje and Brian Graham!!
Zambernardi1875
12-06-2022, 09:34 PM
Yep, 2 Scottish international scorers wouldnt get into Hibs teams ahead of the like of Franck Dje Dje and Brian Graham!!
Go through each season, what years would they play?
Zambernardi1875
12-06-2022, 09:34 PM
Ok, but you are still talking pish 🤣
Great contribution mate.
Stairway 2 7
12-06-2022, 09:39 PM
Vine and Collins lined up together ouch. Shefki Kuqi was past it for us, the tank and johanson too. Konte, trakys,Paul Dalglish, Simon Murray done a job but his level now shows the difference between the 4.
12-06-2022, 09:43 PM
Every year from 2002-2022.
Stairway 2 7
12-06-2022, 09:46 PM
Nisbet gets in any of the last 6 seasons. Ahead of nish in his 4 years he started, ahead of Mcmanus in his 2
There 12 in the last 20 although this is all completely pointless. Any other useless comparisons who had a harder tackle yogi or Schaedler, who would have lasted longer on the sauce than Boyle when we won the cup willie Hamilton perhaps. Best mullet deek rio or pat sharpe
13-06-2022, 12:19 AM
Maybe you could do this to back up your theory instead of asking others to justify their point?
13-06-2022, 05:20 AM
Thought this was the transfer thread 🙄😁
13-06-2022, 07:09 AM
I think we'll see something from Hibs today, new signing or new strip.
13-06-2022, 07:20 AM
I think we'll see something from Hibs today, new signing or new strip.
I hope its a new commercial partner.
13-06-2022, 07:24 AM
Murder mystery night hopefully
13-06-2022, 07:30 AM
Murder mystery night hopefully
A few candidates on here to be the victim.
13-06-2022, 07:37 AM
A few candidates on here to be the victim.
What’s your thoughts on our signings?
I’m asking because the only posts you’ve made on this thread are having a pop at other Hibs fans.
There are countless posts on this thread not related to Hibs signings, or rumours of Hibs signings, that's what makes it such a drudgery to wade through.
13-06-2022, 07:48 AM
I think it's far too early to form a definitive opinion.
There will be quite a few going in and out before the end of the window and only then will we know whether we have done good business or not.
Even then you never know until the new players have had time to bed in.
Am sure we can all agree that's the only sensible way to approach these times.
13-06-2022, 08:08 AM
Those 2 barely made it into the Hibs team either
13-06-2022, 08:14 AM
Can we get back to the murder mystery night speculation please?
13-06-2022, 08:18 AM
There will be quite a few going in and out before the end of the window and only then will we know whether we have done good business or not.
Very sensible others should take note lol
13-06-2022, 08:47 AM
I agree with this although I normally start judging as soon as competitive games come round - are the results and performances of the players and team good enough at that point?
My main Hibs pet peeve is that far too often we are playing games where there is something at stake (Europe last season being an example) without having anything like the right players in place.
Ideally you want as many of your players as possible to have a full and good pre season together but I'd rather an excellent player came in a bit later and took some time to get up to speed (a la Efe) than a duffer be ready and raring to go from day one.
13-06-2022, 08:50 AM
I agree with this although I normally start judging as soon as competitive games come round - are the results and performances of the players and team good enough at that point?
My main Hibs pet peeve is that far too often we are playing games where there is something at stake (Europe last season being an example) without having anything like the right players in place.
It used to be the case thar new players got at least 5 or 6 games to settle in probably longer.
These days it's 5 of 6 minutes if they are lucky.
13-06-2022, 08:59 AM
It used to be the case thar new players got at least 5 or 6 games to settle in probably longer.
These days it's 5 of 6 minutes if they are lucky.
They don't have to be the finished article from day one but they have to be showing something. Scott Allan took a bit of time to get up to speed when he first arrived but you could see he was going to be good.
I don't think it's unreasonable to expect that any player who is playing in the Hibs first team is contributing.
13-06-2022, 09:01 AM
I hope it's news on Hibs ladies.
13-06-2022, 09:05 AM
I hope it's news on Hibs ladies.
I hope it’s 20% off the Manscaped bawbag lawnmower if you use the code Hibs20
13-06-2022, 09:08 AM
I hope it’s 20% off the Manscaped bawbag lawnmower if you use the code Hibs20Maybe it's a generational thing but I was hoping for a couple of new toppings for the vegan pizza offering.
Eaststand
13-06-2022, 09:10 AM
I hope it’s 20% off the Manscaped bawbag lawnmower if you use the code Hibs20
I hope we're rebranding as Hibernian Scotty Soccer Jets
It just has a ring to it 😎
13-06-2022, 09:11 AM
It would be quite funny if it turns out that Ian Gordon is World Class and he's been headhunted to go to Real Madrid.
H18S NX
13-06-2022, 09:16 AM
Nisbet gets in any of the last 6 seasons. Ahead of nish in his 4 years he started, ahead of Mcmanus in his 2
There 12 in the last 20 although this is all completely pointless. Any other useless comparisons who had a harder tackle yogi or Schaedler, who would have lasted longer on the sauce than Boyle when we won the cup willie Hamilton perhaps. Best mullet deek rio or pat sharpe...Yes definately,but what a player he was.
Key West
13-06-2022, 09:43 AM
Marshall if he stays fit should be a decent signing, Kenneh on paper looks promising the others look like they could be a gamble, the thought of McGeady arriving doesn’t thrill me. With Porteous and Doig looking like they are heading in another direction with Doidge I feel like the team is being weakened, however it is early days and hopefully we should see players of some significance brought in this week, I’m not confident about our activity as it stands.
Gordy M
13-06-2022, 09:53 AM
Lee Johnson has a reputation for taking younger players and increasing their values. He built a pretty sucessful team at Bristol City relative to where they normally are. Even at Sunderland, after they were promoted, he was given credit as building the groundworks for that team. Ive no reason to doubt he cant do the same here with us. He seems to know how to build attacking teams so im confident he can do the same here.
13-06-2022, 10:01 AM
The clue is in the word definitive.
13-06-2022, 10:03 AM
Marshall if he stays fit should be a decent signing, Kenneh on paper looks promising the others look like they could be a gamble, the thought of McGeady arriving doesn’t thrill me. With Porteous and Doig looking like they are heading in another direction with Doidge I feel like the team is being weakened, however it is early days and hopefully we should see players of some significance brought in this week, I’m not confident about our activity as it stands.
Gotta be realistic - losing both Porto and Doig in one window would impact any club in Scotland.
Stairway 2 7
13-06-2022, 10:04 AM
...Yes definately,but what a player he was.
Would love if someone brought out a book about him. A tortured genius by all accounts, you must have something about you if jock stein says you were the best he had.
A bit like
The Greatest Footballer You Never Saw: The Robin Friday Story
Paulie Walnuts
13-06-2022, 10:05 AM
The clue is in the word definitive.
I know. I noticed as soon as I’d posted it :greengrin
Apologies :aok:
13-06-2022, 10:08 AM
I know. I noticed as soon as I’d posted it :greengrin
Apologies :aok:
No worries. We are all sitting waiting for news.
13-06-2022, 10:12 AM
Lee Johnson has a reputation for taking younger players and increasing their values. He built a pretty sucessful team at Bristol City relative to where they normally are. Even at Sunderland, after they were promoted, he was given credit as building the groundworks for that team. Ive no reason to doubt he cant do the same here with us. He seems to know how to build attacking teams so im confident he can do the same here.
If he's allowed too
Gordy M
13-06-2022, 10:18 AM
If he's allowed too
Why wouldt he be allowed to build a team? Im not sure what you mean?
If he's allowed too
Strange thought
13-06-2022, 10:36 AM
Am not a huge fan of us signing McGeady but we do need to add a creative spark to this team and he may just do that role for us this season?
13-06-2022, 10:36 AM
Agree it’s a weird comment lol
13-06-2022, 11:00 AM
He won't be if short term results aren't passable.
Not my mentality but it's the reality.
Gordy M
13-06-2022, 11:02 AM
He won't be if short term results aren't passable.
Not my mentality but it's the reality.
Yeh i was talking about this summer and the signings we are making this window....
Key West
13-06-2022, 11:04 AM
Am not a huge fan of us signing McGeady but we do need to add a creative spark to this team and he may just do that role for us this season?
It's more in hope than anything else.
EGL2000
13-06-2022, 11:13 AM
If either go we need to make sure we spend money on proven quality, none of this signing free agents who have great potential. Someone I would be after is Daniel Ballard from Arsenal was on Loan at Millwall last season played well. Solid CB at 6,2 with great aerial threat, also 22 so good age. Arsenal saying they are willing to sell as well so would be bidding with the Porto money if he goes.
13-06-2022, 11:21 AM
Agree it’s a weird comment lol
He won't be allowed to build a team in the same way Maloney wasn't if he doesn't get results. Rightly or wrongly Ron doesn't accept a run of poor results.
13-06-2022, 11:34 AM
He won't be allowed to build a team in the same way Maloney wasn't if he doesn't get results. Rightly or wrongly Ron doesn't accept a run of poor results.
I think there was more to it than poor results
Poor results and other doubts creeping in about his general ability
Seeing little improvement and individual players as his time went on
Don't win in 10 an anyone will be getting questioned but I dont think Ron wants a change again
13-06-2022, 11:36 AM
Linked with a winger from Portsmouth (Ronan Curtis). Article mentions Championship interest and a possible 500k fee which would make it difficult for us. Some Pompey fans seem happy that he’s being linked with a move.
https://t.co/VYIor2n9Cw
13-06-2022, 11:40 AM
Linked with a winger from Portsmouth (Ronan Curtis). Article mentions Championship interest and a possible 500k fee which would make it difficult for us. Some Pompey fans seem happy that he’s being linked with a move.
Sounds like it would be a great signing but unlikely seeing as he wants a move to the Championship. Have to think one of those teams mentioned would spend the £500k on him.
13-06-2022, 11:42 AM
I've seen a fair bit of him (on TV) and he's a good player. Not particularly quick but skilful and has a good shot cutting in from the left. I would imagine there will be a lower end Championship club or a Sheffield Wednesday for example, willing to pay more than we'd be able to offer.
Can't see this one happening.
13-06-2022, 11:46 AM
Whilst I know nothing about him whatsoever I’m really happy we’re linked with him.
Purely because Johnson will know him very well, will clearly suit the style he wants to play and he is a good age where he’ll have plenty experience
JammyDoidger
13-06-2022, 11:51 AM
Good player him, chips in with a few goals, has a bit dig, sure he's had a few Irish caps too.
13-06-2022, 11:56 AM
I've seen a fair bit of him (on TV) and he's a good player. Not particularly quick but skilful and has a good shot cutting in from the left. I would imagine there will be a lower end Championship club or a Sheffield Wednesday for example, willing to pay more than we'd be able to offer.
Can't see this one happening.
That is the problem. If it comes down to wages then we've no chance. If he wants to play somewhere different for a team with games against Rangers and Celtic, and for a team with a fair chance of qualifying for europe, then maybe.
Certainly it doesn't hurt to ask.
13-06-2022, 11:59 AM
Would love if someone brought out a book about him. A tortured genius by all accounts, you must have something about you if jock stein says you were the best he had.
A bit like
The Greatest Footballer You Never Saw: The Robin Friday Story
Great read that.
xqnq1875
13-06-2022, 12:03 PM
I don’t think this one will happen purely down to wages but would be a good signing
I'm not sure how much teams look at wages/transfer fee individually these days. If there's a guy on a free that we could pick up by offering some higher wages and a signing on fee then it could be better business than signing someone for a fee. I don't know how arsey agents and players get these days about wage structures and knowing there's a higher earner.
Ultimately a player can cost £x over y years based on fees, wages and bonuses. Players seem more inclined to let contracts run out these days. Well, good players do.
delbert
13-06-2022, 12:07 PM
Because you build a successful team by hanging on to your best players, and due to somewhat obvious financial limitations, it’s a luxury we, like most other Scottish clubs, simply can’t do. We develop individual players to sell them on, but actually building a team nowadays for the long haul, pretty much fantasy !
13-06-2022, 12:16 PM
Reminds me a bit of Josh Windass from the clips online.
Gordy M
13-06-2022, 12:19 PM
Because you build a successful team by hanging on to your best players, and due to somewhat obvious financial limitations, it’s a luxury we, like most other Scottish clubs, simply can’t do. We develop individual players to sell them on, but actually building a team nowadays for the long haul, pretty much fantasy !
Yep, as i said, i was referring to this summer and the signings we are making. As i said i think LJ is capable of putting together a good team and see no reason why his signings this summer would be any different.
The point you are making applies to any team and manager in Scotland including the old firm.
13-06-2022, 12:20 PM
Reminds me a bit of Josh Windass from the clips online.
Does he? In what way?
Reminds me of Jordan Jones but better and he can score with headers 😁
Wonder if we are after him and get him if we see him as a striker as that's where it looks like he played most of last season. Good that he can play other positions
https://www.whoscored.com/Players/362127/Show/Ronan-Curtis
13-06-2022, 12:36 PM
Does he? In what way?
Wonder if we are after him and get him if we see him as a striker as that's where it looks like he played most of last season. Good that he can play other positions
Few comments I’ve read noted that he was nowhere near as good when played out of position last season (which im guessing was as a striker). We definitely need a couple of wingers to come in if we are to play the same way LJ has done at previous clubs.
13-06-2022, 12:43 PM
Few comments I’ve read noted that he was nowhere near as good when played out of position last season (which im guessing was as a striker). We definitely need a couple of wingers to come in if we are to play the same way LJ has done at previous clubs.
Agreed , from what I have found out in a relatively short time about the guy is he's normally a left winger but is right footed so can go down the line or cut it in. He's fairly quick and when he's a winger he's decent in the air and can attack the back post. As you say it sounds like alot of fans are saying his poorish form last season was down to him playing out of position.
Not sure if he will be a Hibs player but decent to have something to speculate about.
13-06-2022, 12:54 PM
Surprised that Johnny Russell isn't on our radar
Scotland international, knows the Scottish league, banging them in in the MLS
13-06-2022, 01:01 PM
Surprised that Johnny Russell isn't on our radar
Scotland international, knows the Scottish league, banging them in in the MLS
He’s on $2m per year (£31,000 per week) in the States.
bringbackbenny
13-06-2022, 01:13 PM
Easy, got be a no brainer to join Hibs.
tonyrougier123
13-06-2022, 01:14 PM
Based on the fact I think this would be a decent signing is actually the same reason I don’t think it will happen.
Be nice to get a player in with his type of flair,based on his goals he scores a good range of strikes.
13-06-2022, 01:18 PM
Does he? In what way?
Think it’s just his running style, build and some of the goals he scored but I thought of him straight away.
I’d hope it would be as a left winger as going by reports that’s where he plays his best football and also a position we’re in desperate need of.
Hopefully we can get this one over the line!
Saint Hibee
13-06-2022, 01:37 PM
Pompey fans are all gibbering idiots. I wouldn't believe a word any of them say.
13-06-2022, 02:29 PM
Why?
13-06-2022, 02:33 PM
Pompey fans are all gibbering idiots. I wouldn't believe a word any of them say.
I take it that is you being kind as well.
13-06-2022, 02:40 PM
Why?
Because the club believe he is worth the money maybe?
13-06-2022, 02:45 PM
Macey move to Luton has gone very quiet
13-06-2022, 03:03 PM
Correct :agree:
McGruber
13-06-2022, 03:14 PM
Deal is off. Apparently made a certain number of saves last season and triggered an improved contract here
King Cosell
13-06-2022, 03:16 PM
They're not all gibbering idiots, John Portsmouth Football Club Westwood looks like a sensible chap.
13-06-2022, 03:17 PM
Deal is off. Apparently made a certain number of saves last season and triggered an improved contract here
13-06-2022, 03:18 PM
13-06-2022, 03:21 PM
13-06-2022, 03:29 PM
Sky Sports regarding Ramsey to Liverpool.
The Dons have been locked in talks with the Champions League finalists over the 18-year-old right-back after Liverpool made an initial £4m offer, with £2m in add-ons.
However, it is understood Aberdeen are holding firm and want at least £5m up-front, with £5m in add-ons.
hibeg
13-06-2022, 03:32 PM
The Dons have been locked in talks with the Champions League finalists over the 18-year-old right-back after Liverpool made an initial £4m offer, with £2m in add-ons.
However, it is understood Aberdeen are holding firm and want at least £5m up-front, with £5m in add-ons.
Good on the Dons, if true
Potty78
13-06-2022, 03:56 PM
St Johnstone want him too but apparently wants to go back down south
Dr What If?
13-06-2022, 04:21 PM
Do you think the DR will run a full page article about how Aberdeen are holding the poor soul back by standing in the way of his dream move?
hhibs
13-06-2022, 05:08 PM
There 12 in the last 20 although this is all completely pointless. Any other useless comparisons who had a harder tackle yogi or Schaedler, who would have lasted longer on the sauce than Boyle when we won the cup willie Hamilton perhaps. Best mullet deek rio or pat sharpe
Only one answer,Shades.
13-06-2022, 05:26 PM
Do you think the DR will run a full page article about how Aberdeen are holding the poor soul back by standing in the way of his dream move?
#handitin
Percy Vere
13-06-2022, 05:43 PM
You have to wonder why their happy!
50 goals in 186 games from midfield seems a decent return.
13-06-2022, 06:46 PM
Makes a mockery of the John McGinn transfer if Aberdeen can negotiate this for an 18 yr old..
Fuzzywuzzy
13-06-2022, 06:48 PM
Makes a mockery of the John McGinn transfer if Aberdeen can negotiate this for an 18 yr old..
Is there not a 16year old from the creamies thats m ant to moving down south for £600k?
Seems a lot for an academy player from up here
13-06-2022, 07:20 PM
Update on McGeady and Curtis from Patrick McPartlin
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/hibs-transfer-latest-on-ronan-curtis-and-aiden-mcgeady-as-lee-johnson-steps-up-winger-hunt-3730289
13-06-2022, 07:52 PM
At this moment, looking like:
GK: Marshall, Dabrowski [Macey likely out]
RB: Clarke, Miller [McGinn likely out]
CB: Porteous, Rocky
CB: Hanlon, Delfierre, McGregor
LB: Mitchell, Stevenson [Doig likely out]
RM: Cadden, Hauge
CM: Doyle-Hayes, Newell, Henderson
CM: Kenneh, Magennis, Campbell, Tait
LM: TBC (McGeady?), Mackay
ST: Doidge, Bojang
ST: Nisbet (Injured), Melkerson
Certainly variations on 4-3-3 or 3 at the back possible also.
13-06-2022, 07:57 PM
Update on McGeady and Curtis from Patrick McPartlin
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/hibs-transfer-latest-on-ronan-curtis-and-aiden-mcgeady-as-lee-johnson-steps-up-winger-hunt-3730289
Dissapointed re Curtis, looked really exciting on paper but good to see that’s the standard we’re setting ourself. I was never particularly hopeful he’d actually come here though due to articles about other teams that wanted him and the quoted prices.
Wouldn’t be surprised if we go for Anthony Scully at Lincoln.
mayo hibee
13-06-2022, 08:20 PM
Dissapointed re Curtis, looked really exciting on paper but good to see that’s the standard we’re setting ourself. I was never particularly hopeful he’d actually come here though due to articles about other teams that wanted him and the quoted prices.
Scully would be a much better signing than Curtis actually.
13-06-2022, 08:21 PM
Still think another five signings and another 2/3 out isn’t beyond the realms.
Very very early days in the window.
Imo possible out: doidge, McGinn, macey, mcgregor, doig, porteous
Possible in: centre half, left back, centre midfielder, winger, centre forward
MINIMUM
13-06-2022, 08:59 PM
Heard something about Scully? Curtis seemed like a good option but could’ve been pricey if Championship teams were getting involved.
Stokesy's on fire
13-06-2022, 09:07 PM
They have no chance of fetching 10m for him
13-06-2022, 09:11 PM
https://twitter.com/jtransferencias/status/1536446613132034049?s=21&t=Q9wyVAmmdI8FvB4vKV4M4Q
https://www.transfermarkt.co.uk/jair-tavares/profil/spieler/479641
Portuguese twitter page saying Jair Tavares joining a Scottish club this season. Doesn’t look like he’d be of Rangers or Celtic level so wonder if it could be us?
13-06-2022, 09:15 PM
https://twitter.com/jtransferencias/status/1536446613132034049?s=21&t=Q9wyVAmmdI8FvB4vKV4M4Q
Portuguese twitter page saying Jair Tavares joining a Scottish club this season. Doesn’t look like he’d be of Rangers or Celtic level so wonder if it could be us?
Definitely the type of signing we’re likely to make these days.
JamesHFC
13-06-2022, 09:16 PM
Shankland to Hearts done, just awaiting confirmation.
13-06-2022, 09:16 PM
Haha was just going to post similar
Some footage below
https://twitter.com/prime_brodie/status/1286288510467608577?t=tQE-9qqEfmdnRTEVudLGVQ&s=19
13-06-2022, 09:17 PM
A youth team player with little experience of first team football? Aye it’ll be us :greengrin
13-06-2022, 09:18 PM
A youth team player with little experience of first team football? Aye it’ll be us :greengrin
Just need to find out if he spent much of last season out injured or not.
13-06-2022, 09:24 PM
Just need to find out if he spent much of last season out injured or not.
From the little I have seen so far he looks fast and tricky and one I'd be happy too take a chance on.
If he's going to Hearts or Aberdeen then he is a one trick pony 😀
From the little I have seen so far he looks fast and tricky and one I'd be happy too take a chance on.
If he's going to Hearts or Aberdeen then he is a one trick pony 😀
Jasper mk2
13-06-2022, 09:33 PM
Got a bad feeling this will be a really good signing for them.
13-06-2022, 09:36 PM
How much? I'm hoping we can end the week with one or two decent signings.
13-06-2022, 09:47 PM
I actually think if it’s shankland instead of simms they’ve weakened.
If they end up getting simms back on top of that they’re only consolidating 3rd place
13-06-2022, 09:48 PM
This doesn't worry me at all. Shankland is bang average and is a downgrade on Simms IMO. I hope they're spending a fortune on him.
13-06-2022, 09:55 PM
Scully would be a much better signing than Curtis actually.
It's a shame we got rid of our American as this could have been a job for Mueller and Scully
13-06-2022, 09:56 PM
It's a shame we got rid of our American as this could have been a job for Mueller and Scully
Would have been all over the front page.
13-06-2022, 09:58 PM
That young Portuguese lad is 100% coming to us isn’t he?
Suits our current signings to a tee.
Signing all these young players is great but just because they’re at a big club doesn’t make them good. See Alan O’Brien etc.
We also have Hauge, Bradley, Mackay that are young wingers.
I’ve said it a million times but it’s first team quality we need and players with experience.
If the guy signs don’t get me wrong I’ll give him a chance, but how many young players can we have.
13-06-2022, 09:58 PM
I wouldn’t be over the moon if he signed for us, although in our current state with strikers I would probably be delighted. However, I think he will work for Hearts, especially at Tynecastle on the small pitch. He’ll get a good few goals.
13-06-2022, 09:59 PM
Would have been all over the front page.
The truth is out there!
13-06-2022, 09:59 PM
Signing all these young players is great but just because they’re at a big club doesn’t make them good. See Alan O’Brien etc.
I’ve said it a million times but it’s first team quality we need and players with experience.
If the guy signs don’t get me wrong I’ll give him a chance, but how many young players can we have.Ye'll win nothing wi kids!
I actually agree a few mid-late 20s signings wouldn't go amiss
Manxhibs
13-06-2022, 10:01 PM
I’ve no doubt shankland will score against us, however, I’d be underwhelmed if he was signing for us instead. He didn’t set the heather on fire at Utd and is pretty average in my opinion.
13-06-2022, 10:04 PM
If the guy signs don’t get me wrong I’ll give him a chance, but how many young players can we have.
We’ve signed loads of ***** experienced players too. I think this Portuguese boy would be a hugely exciting signing and I’m all for signing guys like that who might just turn out to be incredible.
There’s no question we need some experienced players too but I don’t doubt for a second they’ll come, it doesn’t need to be one or the other, room in the squad for both.
I also agree that this guy first our signing policy to a tee and probably a good chance it’s us he’s joining.
13-06-2022, 10:08 PM
We’ve signed loads of ***** experienced players too. I think this Portuguese boy would be a hugely exciting signing and I’m all for signing guys like that who might just turn out to be incredible.
There’s no question we need some experienced players too but I don’t doubt for a second they’ll come, it doesn’t need to be one or the other, room in the squad for both.
I also agree that this guy first our signing policy to a tee and probably a good chance it’s us he’s joining.
Yeah you’re right, there’s no guarantee the older players would be any good - but I think they’re what we’re really missing.
Maybe it’s a case of the older players with experience/in their prime just take longer to finalise as they’re waiting for other offers and have more agents in their ear.
A quick search of the lads has seen him attract the interest of some very big clubs so I imagine it would be considered quite the coup if we got him.
tonyrougier123
13-06-2022, 10:08 PM
Anyone notice a pattern in the media recently with hibs,we seem to be linked and unlinked with players in the same day.
I said earlier Curtis looked a decent sort, right age good record and that’s exactly the type of player we aren’t signing.
At some point we are going to have to actually buy a first team player.
13-06-2022, 10:11 PM
Anyone notice a pattern in the media recently with hibs,we seem to be linked and unlinked with players in the same day.
I said earlier Curtis looked a decent sort, right age good record and that’s exactly the type of player we aren’t signing.
At some point we are going to have to actually buy a first team player.
We have brought in at least 3 so far and it's only 13th June 😁
13-06-2022, 10:12 PM
Yeah you’re right, there’s no guarantee the older players would be any good - but I think they’re what we’re really missing.
Maybe it’s a case of the older players with experience/in their prime just take longer to finalise as they’re waiting for other offers and have more agents in their ear.
A quick search of the lads has seen him attract the interest of some very big clubs so I imagine it would be considered quite the coup if we got him.
I think we just need to get the balance right.
IMO the thing we’ve really missed from the last 2 managers is energy and intensity, I think it’s been so placid. I think youthful enthusiasm is really needed and the crowd will feed off that. We do of course need experienced players to help them but we’ve still got players with plenty games under their belt.
13-06-2022, 10:14 PM
Quick look at what some Celtic fans are saying and they don't seem to think it's them and that he's not 'Celtic quality' there is also talk that Real Madrid and PSG were interested in him previously. I think he sounds interesting but not sure he will be at Hibs
Some footage of him btw
https://youtu.be/pSn5XTTOFC0
13-06-2022, 10:16 PM
I think we just need to get the balance right.
IMO the thing we’ve really missed from the last 2 managers is energy and intensity, I think it’s been so placid. I think youthful enthusiasm is really needed and the crowd will feed off that. We do of course need experienced players to help them but we’ve still got players with plenty games under their belt.
Yeah we’ve 100% missed a bit of a youthful edge/arrogance to them.
I think the club know we need experience though and that the fans are demanding a lot this summer due to last season so I think they’ll get it right. Well I hope they think that anyway and don’t think they’re ahead of every other team and smarter with signings.
They can have the best youngsters from Europe but the Scottish league is very difficult and they’ll need some older heads next to them. Scotland has proved that an average well drilled team does pretty well.
13-06-2022, 10:27 PM
Think we badly need to fill the “in their prime” area of the squad that LJ spoke about previously. We have loads of young players and a few very experienced older players but nothing in between.
Still lacking options/quality at centre half, central/attacking midfield, wide positions and striker i think. Still plenty time but loads to be done.
tonyrougier123
13-06-2022, 10:42 PM
We have brought in at least 3 so far and it's only 13th June 😁
When they back training?
Your right it’s still early,I do feel we still need to spend some of the Boyle money on his replacement.
13-06-2022, 10:45 PM
Quick look at what some Celtic fans are saying and they don't seem to think it's them and that he's not 'Celtic quality' there is also talk that Real Madrid and PSG were interested in him previously. I think he sounds interesting but not sure he will be at Hibs
Some footage of him btw
https://youtu.be/pSn5XTTOFC0Ronaldinho esque body structure
On that basis alone, sign him
His cousin is Renato Sanches btw but he's only 5 foot 5.
tonyrougier123
13-06-2022, 10:47 PM
One assist in 24 🤷*♂️
14-06-2022, 06:21 AM
Only Twitter account I’ve seen link Tavares with a club (us). No clue on reliability to be fair.
https://twitter.com/transfers24hr/status/1536492441196429312?s=21&t=1xNctVJgwBpnVxZ1ySpfbQ
14-06-2022, 06:29 AM
Excl.
O @HibernianFC fez uma proposta que abrange dois moldes ao @SLBenfica por Jair Tavares. Uma proposta consiste na divisão do passe sem verba de transferência, a outra possibilidade será o @SLBenfica ficar com cerca de 30% do passe e receber uma verba pelo jogador. + https://t.co/jJjPCNocCr
https://twitter.com/transfers24hr/status/1536492441196429312?t=N6Db5yHxVo90nUkBNH22rQ&s=19
https://i.ibb.co/c8kHTLq/Screenshot-2022-06-14-07-41-52-83-0b2fce7a16bf2b728d6ffa28c8d60efb.jpg (https://ibb.co/1X7526c)
14-06-2022, 06:30 AM
Only Twitter account I’ve seen link Tavares with a club (us). No clue on reliability to be fair.
https://twitter.com/transfers24hr/status/1536492441196429312?s=21&t=1xNctVJgwBpnVxZ1ySpfbQ
Sorry just seen your tweet. This account saying it's Hibs and could be done tomorrow, other club mentioned was Go Ahead Eagles
McGruber
14-06-2022, 06:36 AM
Excl.
O @HibernianFC fez uma proposta que abrange dois moldes ao @SLBenfica por Jair Tavares. Uma proposta consiste na divisão do passe sem verba de transferência, a outra possibilidade será o @SLBenfica ficar com cerca de 30% do passe e receber uma verba pelo jogador. + https://t.co/jJjPCNocCr
https://twitter.com/transfers24hr/status/1536492441196429312?t=N6Db5yHxVo90nUkBNH22rQ&s=19
For anyone not fluent and only recognise HibernianFC, a rough translation,
'HibernianFC are not the Scottish club after Benfica's Jair Travers. The club have plenty young players with promise. A poll of hibs net found only 30% in favour of another under 25 age player'
14-06-2022, 06:38 AM
Sorry just seen your tweet. This account saying it's Hibs and could be done tomorrow, other club mentioned was Go Ahead Eagles
I get why people want experience but signings like this get the juices flowing 1 million % more than 26 year old Clive’s or Nigel’s from league 2 down south.
14-06-2022, 06:40 AM
'HibernianFC are not the Scottish club after Benfica's Jair Travers. The club have plenty young players with promise. A poll of hibs net found only 30% in favour of another under 25 age player'
14-06-2022, 06:47 AM
Of the 3 you mentioned only mackay will be close to first team action. I like the look of this Portuguese boy. Hopefully it comes off.
14-06-2022, 07:12 AM
😂😂
Looks like Johnston has been playing a lot of FM22 😉
14-06-2022, 07:49 AM
Excl.
https://i.ibb.co/c8kHTLq/Screenshot-2022-06-14-07-41-52-83-0b2fce7a16bf2b728d6ffa28c8d60efb.jpg (https://ibb.co/1X7526c)
If I’m reading that correctly it sounds like we’ve offered No fee + 50% sell on or a Fee + 30% sell on.
14-06-2022, 07:54 AM
Am I right in saying that Benfica B team play in the Portuguese 2nd division? If so then hopefully he’s used to playing against men and not quite the same as signing the likes of the guys from Leeds who has only ever played under 23 football.
Sure I saw online that Benfica young team is one of the best in Europe just now beating Leipzig 6-0 in a European final recently, not sure if it was the youth champions league or another European tournament.
14-06-2022, 07:55 AM
If I’m reading that correctly it sounds like we’ve offered No fee + 50% sell on or a Fee + 30% sell on.
Aye that's how I read it too.
Interesting prospect.
14-06-2022, 07:59 AM
Am I right in saying that Benfica B team play in the Portuguese 2nd division? If so then hopefully he’s used to playing against men and not quite the same as signing the likes of the guys from Leeds who has only ever played under 23 football.
Sure I saw online that Benfica young team is one of the best in Europe just now beating Leipzig 6-0 in a European final recently, not sure if it was the youth champions league or another European tournament.
I think they finished 5th in the Portuguese 2nd tier. Not sure how much game time he got though.
14-06-2022, 08:18 AM
I think they finished 5th in the Portuguese 2nd tier. Not sure how much game time he got though.
According to stats online - 13 games in 2020/21
21/22 - 24 games - 4 goals and 1 assist
Having watched clips online he looks like he plays like Boyle but a few extra tricks.
14-06-2022, 08:24 AM
Benfica won the UEFA Youth League in April. They beat Salzburg 6-0 in the final.
14-06-2022, 08:26 AM
Benfica won the UEFA Youth League in April. They beat Salzburg 6-0 in the final.
Thanks.
What age group does that go up to? I take it our guy wouldn’t have been involved?
14-06-2022, 08:27 AM
Wait until they come up against our you g team next season😁😁😁😁
Edinburgh Green
14-06-2022, 08:43 AM
According to stats online - 13 games in 2020/21
21/22 - 24 games - 4 goals and 1 assist
Having watched clips online he looks like he plays like Boyle but a few extra tricks.
and a lot less goals and assists.
14-06-2022, 08:44 AM
Cant be bothered scrolling back through the thread, but a friend of mine told me last night we are looking at Ronan Curtis from Portsmouth?
Said he would be gutted to lose him and he is quality...
14-06-2022, 08:47 AM
and a lot less goals and assists.
When boyle was the same age?
Cant be bothered scrolling back through the thread, but a friend of mine told me last night we are looking at Ronan Curtis from Portsmouth?
Already been ruled out by the evening news
EEN already said we're not looking at him.
14-06-2022, 08:50 AM
He didn’t play for this team.
14-06-2022, 08:52 AM
Already been ruled out by the evening news
BOOO!
sounded good from what I was told. Never mind...
14-06-2022, 09:04 AM
Spurs reportedly agree a fee for Yves Bissouma. 25 million, great deal. Mcginn won't be going there.
Edinburgh Green
14-06-2022, 09:10 AM
When boyle was the same age?
Yes, Boyle had a lot more goals at that age. Tbf the point i'm making is that we need to replace boyles goals now, this season.
14-06-2022, 09:12 AM
Yes, Boyle had a lot more goals at that age. Tbf the point i'm making is that we need to replace boyles goals now, this season.
If you’re judging Boyles replacement by stats then you’re in for a disappointment as we don’t have the £3m we’d need to sign a player at the peak of their powers.
Best we can hope for is to get someone just as they reach their potential and hope we can help them fulfil it.
14-06-2022, 09:17 AM
I think we are shaping up to have a really young exciting team. I'm quite looking forward to it to be honest. There has clearly been a lot of homework done on these boys. We do need to add experience though and really hope McGeady joins. Can see three of four "older" players being added before the league season starts.
14-06-2022, 09:19 AM
Happy with that. Downgrade on Simms.
14-06-2022, 09:20 AM
We need a striker who can score goals regularly.
Relying on Nisbet and Doidge isn’t the best idea as they will take time to get up to speed.
We also need to improve central midfield.
Players are back training on Saturday and wonder how many of the new players will be in attendance ? 2 out of the 4 ?