View Full Version : Greggs Summer 2022-23 transfer thread
Leitherhibs
31-05-2022, 10:04 AM
Had heard from two separate sources, neither connected to the club that we were going to make some big announcements early this week, ahead of the deadline, therefore clearly not a lot of time left.
BlackSheep
31-05-2022, 10:07 AM
I have never understood this, they are 2 of our best players. Why would we want to sell them? Any funds received and more would have to be spent to get the same quality in those positions back into the club. Any offer for them would have to be exceptional and I doubt that will happen.
Look at the Boyle situation, we simply cannot stand in the way of young players moving on to potential further their careers and earn more money to help set them up better for later in their lives.
If we can replace with similar talent, perhaps from lower leagues with a lot of potential then thats great... If we were consistently winning trophies and completing in europe then we could keep these players, but we are not there... yet....
31-05-2022, 10:08 AM
Had heard from two separate sources, neither connected to the club that we were going to make some big announcements early this week, ahead of the deadline, therefore clearly not a lot of time left.
Signing announcements?
Bridge hibs
31-05-2022, 10:09 AM
Had heard from two separate sources, neither connected to the club that we were going to make some big announcements early this week, ahead of the deadline, therefore clearly not a lot of time left.Signings/outgoings or more restructuring ?
Leitherhibs
31-05-2022, 10:18 AM
Signing announcements?
Aye sorry, signing announcements I believe, they were timing them to land ahead of the deadline to boost sales. Had expected something yesterday though as announcing anyeone pre 5pm deadline today feels a bit arbitrary.
31-05-2022, 10:20 AM
Aye sorry, signing announcements I believe, they were timing them to land ahead of the deadline to boost sales. Had expected something yesterday though as announcing anyeone pre 5pm deadline today feels a bit arbitrary.
Will need to be lunchtime to have any effect, either that or they announce signings and extend the deadline to Friday.
LeithMike
31-05-2022, 10:27 AM
We're resigning Chris Dagnall? [emoji3]Do we know who this is yet? Best I could come up with was George Scales a member of the Cambridge u-18 squad.
Sent from my SM-N960F using Tapatalk
King Cosell
31-05-2022, 10:32 AM
Doig and porteous being sold this year if it meant reinvestment directly into the playing squad - would be happy to see them move on if it came about that is
I like Doig, bags of potential, but if he was right-footed he wouldn't be first choice. I'd take anything over 2 million with a good add-on package. He's replaceable, and it would allow us to strengthen in other areas.
31-05-2022, 10:45 AM
Doig and porteous being sold this year if it meant reinvestment directly into the playing squad - would be happy to see them move on if it came about that is
Not sure how much we'd get for Porteous. Has he not run his contract down? Hopefully we get a good figure for Doig though. I like him but he's replaceable. We need to eat into the money Hearts are pulling in by being in the European groups and then get there ourselves next season.
31-05-2022, 11:04 AM
Dunno why he’d leave Villa for West Ham.
West Ham are better? :greengrin
31-05-2022, 11:06 AM
I like Doig, bags of potential, but if he was right-footed he wouldn't be first choice. I'd take anything over 2 million with a good add-on package. He's replaceable, and it would allow us to strengthen in other areas.
If he didnt have Bollix he'd be playing for the womens team. He's an excellent young player who potentially we will get more for next season.
31-05-2022, 11:10 AM
Sam Cosgrove hasnt set the world alight since moving back to England.
Went to Birmingham, but has since had loans at Shrewsbury and Wimbeldon.
Had a great record at Aberdeen, and a physical presence...
31-05-2022, 11:13 AM
I think it’s highly likely we will lose Porteous and Doig this window.
Brummie_Hibs
31-05-2022, 11:15 AM
And for the sake of their careers, it is probably the best thing.
31-05-2022, 11:29 AM
Sam Cosgrove hasnt set the world alight since moving back to England.
Went to Birmingham, but has since had loans at Shrewsbury and Wimbeldon.
Had a great record at Aberdeen, and a physical presence...
He's only had 1 and a half good seasons his whole career. 3 goals last season. 3 the season before.
Was that time at Aberdeen just a fluke? He never looked a great player, but he was scoring goals.
31-05-2022, 11:45 AM
Esmael Goncalves joins Livingston as former Hearts and St Mirren striker seals return to Scottish football ✍️
https://t.co/VyWeijGDLS https://t.co/YXLqTGbtzX
31-05-2022, 11:49 AM
Esmael Goncalves joins Livingston as former Hearts and St Mirren striker seals return to Scottish football ✍️
Look at the first comment. Disgusting.
31-05-2022, 11:54 AM
Wow just wow!!! Vile
31-05-2022, 11:54 AM
Agree re: Porto, but Josh has hinted in interviews he’d like another year here.
Obviously a tempting offer could turn his head but let’s hope he’s in the new gaffer’s plans and there is no more talk in public about a deal unless it’s a certainty. He’s a quality player who will only improve.
I’m a big Porto fan but think it’s likely he will be away this summer, he’s surely got a number of admirers?
31-05-2022, 11:55 AM
Reported the tweet.
31-05-2022, 11:56 AM
Reported the tweet.
Good.
31-05-2022, 11:57 AM
I've screenshotted it and posted it on our old podcast twitter so he can delete it all he likes.
Wow just wow!!! Vile
Just seen it absolutely disgusting. Looks like someone has retweeted the club!
Should be getting done for that comment.
31-05-2022, 12:02 PM
And for the sake of their careers, it is probably the best thing.
I think so for Porto not so much Doig another year could do him good but think the club are looking at the previous situation where we didn’t take decent offers and will look to cash in on him just now.
31-05-2022, 12:02 PM
Just seen it absolutely disgusting. Looks like someone has retweeted the club!
Should be getting done for that comment.
Had a look through some of his older tweets and appears he coaches, or has coaches kids football as well.
He’s also got the cheek to be on about mental health a lot. Wonder how much he was thinking about Goncalves mental health when tweeting that.
Erse
Mcbizz1998
31-05-2022, 12:03 PM
A quick scroll through his Twitter and it shows that he retweeted a video of Bartley talking about the racism he has had to put up with in the past.
Then he writes that!? Odd.
31-05-2022, 12:04 PM
A quick scroll through his Twitter and it shows that he retweeted a video of Bartley talking about the racism he has had to put up with in the past.
Does seem a genuinely bizarre thing to do. As you say, seems upstanding enough from previous posts, then you go and decide to jeopardise your life/career just like that?
Had a look through some of his older tweets and appears he coaches, or has coaches kids football as well.
He’s also got the cheek to be on about mental health a lot. Wonder how much he was thinking about Goncalves mental health when tweeting that.
Erse
Silly silly person. Racist and will soon find out about the power of social media when it goes viral…. Disgusting behaviour
JammyDoidger
31-05-2022, 12:19 PM
Flint is slow and LJ wants to play a high line. Would contradict his style according to his interview and press conference.
I'm just desperate for a big physical centre half who will score a good few from set pieces, a Rob Jones type. Wishful thinking.
31-05-2022, 12:22 PM
Silly silly person. Racist and will soon find out about the power of social media when it goes viral…. Disgusting behaviour
Livingston have tweeted they are aware and are going through the appropriate channels to have this dealt with.
The guys face is all over social media now.
31-05-2022, 12:23 PM
I'm just desperate for a big physical centre half who will score a good few from set pieces, a Rob Jones type. Wishful thinking.
or a Ryan Porteous type?
Does seem a genuinely bizarre thing to do. As you say, seems upstanding enough from previous posts, then you go and decide to jeopardise your life/career just like that?
Unless his twitter has been hacked.
31-05-2022, 12:25 PM
What a total moron. I see a few have tagged Police Scotland and Hearts so fingers crossed he gets charged and banned from Tynecastle.
31-05-2022, 12:27 PM
Unless his twitter has been hacked.
I'm not sure that some random Jambo with about 200 followers tweeting about a player signing for Livingston would be a priority target for hackers.
Livingston have tweeted they are aware and are going through the appropriate channels to have this dealt with.
The guys face is all over social media now.
Doesn’t take long for this to spread!
badabing67
31-05-2022, 12:29 PM
Sorry the link for me was blocked what was said
31-05-2022, 12:36 PM
https://twitter.com/allan1874/status/1531601997627019264?s=20&t=HzksjSzEheLemaz2WihBdw
Whilst I will not repeat what was written, Livi reported the signing of former Hearts player Gonalves and someone replied using a racist comment! The account would appear to be/is alleged to belong to a Hearts supporter!
badabing67
31-05-2022, 12:41 PM
Wow ok got it guys
31-05-2022, 12:43 PM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20220531/1f5ac963cfca609bce84bd0e282ae1d1.jpg
And here’s his excuse
31-05-2022, 12:45 PM
And here’s his excuse
Some wind up. What a bellend.
31-05-2022, 12:53 PM
Some wind up. What a bellend.
Ahh - the classic excuse of racists, homophobes and nasty people everywhere. "It was only a joke."
Paulie Walnuts
31-05-2022, 12:53 PM
What an absolute ********.
31-05-2022, 01:08 PM
Not a transfer but
EXCLUSIVE! Kevin Thomson to quit Kelty Hearts as Rangers hero makes shock exit after title glory | @ScottBurns75
https://t.co/cecHdoGh70 https://t.co/XXHld0Mf4a
andrew70
31-05-2022, 01:12 PM
Not a transfer but
EXCLUSIVE! Kevin Thomson to quit Kelty Hearts as Rangers hero makes shock exit after title glory | @ScottBurns75
https://t.co/cecHdoGh70 https://t.co/XXHld0Mf4a
He’s never been known for handling things with dignity. Rat.
31-05-2022, 01:14 PM
And here’s his excuse
He probably should have seeked a bit legal advice before offering that as his excuse. Absolute shocker he’s had here.
And here’s his excuse
Well he’s just been racially abused by a fan of a team he used to play for!
What I can’t get is why?
He probably should have seeked a bit legal advice before offering that as his excuse. Absolute shocker he’s had here.
I think he’s about to find out the hard way that this is no wind up!
31-05-2022, 01:17 PM
I think he’s about to find out the hard way that this is no wind up!
He'll be sitting there tonight wondering how his life collapsed in a matter of minutes.
Indeed. No amount of backtracking now is going to prevent it!
FifeHibs
31-05-2022, 01:35 PM
Any idea of the signing today
BlackSheep
31-05-2022, 01:37 PM
I’ve read on other social media platforms that we’ve signed 2 players but neither will be announced til after their holidays…
31-05-2022, 01:38 PM
Any idea of the signing today
Are we making a signing today?
Loads of time to go but I do start getting twitchy 😁
31-05-2022, 01:40 PM
I’ve read on other social media platforms that we’ve signed 2 players but neither will be announced til after their holidays…
Can't make up my mind if he's in the know or trolling 😁
https://twitter.com/KB2021HFC/status/1531362799250702336?t=rCkw2OQ5NHhw-43LFvWOPQ&s=19
Gutted both hibs new signings are away abroad with family atm so no announcements for a few days 😢 😢
31-05-2022, 01:44 PM
Definition of a journeyman footballer. Since leaving hearts he's had a different club each year, he has gone from Scotland to Uzbekistan to Iran to Japan to India to Bangladesh and back to Scotland, played an average of 13 games a season and scored 26 goals. He is a big unit and will suit Livi. Hope he gets a hattrick against his former employers!!
Mcbizz1998
31-05-2022, 01:44 PM
Can't make up my mind if he's in the know or trolling [emoji16]
https://twitter.com/KB2021HFC/status/1531362799250702336?t=rCkw2OQ5NHhw-43LFvWOPQ&s=19
Gutted both hibs new signings are away abroad with family atm so no announcements for a few days [emoji22] [emoji22]
Pretty sure this guy was slavering some nonsense about who the new manager was going to be.
31-05-2022, 01:53 PM
Definition of a journeyman footballer. Since leaving hearts he's had a different club each year, he has gone from Scotland to Uzbekistan to Iran to Japan to India to Bangladesh and back to Scotland, played an average of 13 games a season and scored 26 goals. He is a big unit and will suit Livi. Hope he gets a hattrick against his former employers!!
Livi have a really annoying habit of getting a tune out of these types of character though.
If it hadn't been for the hours spent in misery witnessing it first hand at that stadium on that pitch of theirs, I'd say you'd have to admire them for it.
31-05-2022, 02:11 PM
I thought that too, he doesn't even have any of the usual vermin/wee team type posts.
31-05-2022, 02:11 PM
New exciting commercial partnerships to be announced according to Greg McEwan. We must have some ammount of these on the go.
31-05-2022, 02:14 PM
New exciting commercial partnerships to be announced according to Greg McEwan. We must have some ammount of these on the go.
This may because the deal with Edin Mill has ended.
31-05-2022, 02:18 PM
Really surprised that no one has been announced today with the news of an imminent arrival and the early bird deadline
31-05-2022, 02:19 PM
Where you seeing that mate?
31-05-2022, 02:52 PM
26 goals in a 13 game season is pretty good going.
31-05-2022, 03:05 PM
That tube has made it into the national papers for his trouble already. :aok:
There is no way he can hide or excuse the comments he has made.
31-05-2022, 03:17 PM
There is no way he can hide or excuse the comments he has made.
Hopefully he's jailed.
31-05-2022, 03:19 PM
Where you seeing that mate?
https://www.footballscotland.co.uk/spfl/scottish-premiership/hibs-tease-exciting-commercial-partnerships-24110858
Hopefully he's jailed.
So do I but not sure he will, unless he has previous.
Tbh the damage he has already caused himself will haunt him for years to come.
31-05-2022, 03:47 PM
So do I but not sure he will, unless he has previous.
Tbh the damage he has already caused himself will haunt him for years to come.
I just cant understand how he thought he could just write that & get away with it? A flippant remark in normal conversation might give someone away when they didnt mean to show true colours but he had to actually type this in. How could he not think there would be repercussions? Hope he gets everything he deserves & learns the errors of his ways from it.
I mentioned earlier I just cannot understand how anyone can type that and think it’s ok! Especially on social media!
31-05-2022, 03:57 PM
Tomorrow it is then, or the day after that or the day after that 😁
Tomorrow it is then, or the day after that or the day after that [emoji16]
I was hoping for something today too. O well!
31-05-2022, 04:14 PM
Heard a wee rumour re Griffith to Bonnyrigg Rose.
If that's true, he may as well Jack it in, from premier league to div2 promotion team in one season, how the mighty have fallen if that's the case.
Steven79
31-05-2022, 04:32 PM
If that's true, he may as well Jack it in, from premier league to div2 promotion team in one season, hiw the mighty have fallen if that's the case.
Back in November 2020 he was one of the penalty takers in Serbia for Scotland that became hero's now less than two years later...
31-05-2022, 05:07 PM
Can't make up my mind if he's in the know or trolling 😁
Gutted both hibs new signings are away abroad with family atm so no announcements for a few days 😢 😢
He gutted he has to wait a few days? Really?
Attention seeking sheite at its worse.
31-05-2022, 05:17 PM
Surely the cat has given a few snippets
TelaStella
31-05-2022, 05:17 PM
Wondering if the recent Latapy picture posted to Instagram a minute ago might be a hint to something. Any potential Trinidadians spring to mind for anyone?
Quite happy to just resign the wee man if I’m all honest.
31-05-2022, 05:30 PM
Wondering if the recent Latapy picture posted to Instagram a minute ago might be a hint to something. Any potential Trinidadians spring to mind for anyone?
Quite happy to just resign the wee man if I’m all honest.
Leyland Archer finally getting his big move after his trial? 😉
31-05-2022, 05:47 PM
What did the bellend say?
hibs#1
31-05-2022, 05:57 PM
I'd take a wild guess at McGeady being one of the players discussed.
31-05-2022, 06:00 PM
He gutted he has to wait a few days? Really?
Attention seeking sheite at its worse.
He might be 12 to be fair
Spurs sign a 33 year old winger on a 2 year contract.
31-05-2022, 06:50 PM
Spurs sign a 33 year old winger on a 2 year contract.
Perisic is a very good signing. Absolute top player
31-05-2022, 07:02 PM
What did the bellend say?
Yeah, the tweet seems to have been deleted so I wonder how bad it was. Maybe I don't want to know.
Stanton Spence
31-05-2022, 07:23 PM
Yeah, the tweet seems to have been deleted so I wonder how bad it was. Maybe I don't want to know.He called him a black ******* then said oops did I say that out loud lol
I just don't get why anyone could be so stupid as to even contemplate tweeting that
Sent from my G3121 using Tapatalk
31-05-2022, 07:32 PM
Hopefully he's jailed.
No a fan of jailing folk for words, particularly in absence of threat or incitement.
31-05-2022, 07:35 PM
https://www.lancs.live/sport/football/football-news/jack-tucker-gillingham-blackpool-swansea-24107798
Article on Jack Tucker who we were linked with.
Perisic is a very good signing. Absolute top player
He is.
31-05-2022, 07:50 PM
He called him a black ******* then said oops did I say that out loud lol
I just don't get why anyone could be so stupid as to even contemplate tweeting that
What an idiot.
31-05-2022, 08:04 PM
:hyper
31-05-2022, 08:17 PM
He called him a black ******* then said oops did I say that out loud lol
Hope the mutant gets a chap on the door from Police Scotland
31-05-2022, 08:36 PM
Any chance of JamesHFC reappearing to clarify his cryptic tweet last night of ‘🏴 ⏳’
Just so I know if I can do work tomorrow or need to refresh this snd twitter every 5 minutes 😅
31-05-2022, 08:54 PM
Alan Nixon is still pedelling the Stockton story
https://twitter.com/reluctantnicko/status/1531727038255616002?t=I7SONVo6ccPeadwK7PG-Xg&s=19
31-05-2022, 09:07 PM
TheCat is circling a rumour on Twitter of something he's heard...
Oli Burke 👀🤷*♂️
I'd certainly take him at Hibs! 🤞
31-05-2022, 09:12 PM
Oli Burke 👀🤷*♂️
Been doing the rounds on here for a couple of days but I took it as more people guessing rather than anyone hearing something substantial. Be interesting if folk are hearing it's actually happening.
31-05-2022, 09:13 PM
Oli Burke 👀🤷*♂️
More recycled garbage, it’ll be Dempsters fault if we don’t sign him.
Brown Hibs
31-05-2022, 09:27 PM
I would take Burke. Bring him home.
31-05-2022, 09:32 PM
I would take Burke. Bring him home.
I suspect he would end up being a great signing for us, step back to rediscover what it was that earned him his big moves. Will be interesting to see if there's anything to the rumours.
31-05-2022, 09:33 PM
Nothing to back it up, but, no ta
Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk
31-05-2022, 09:41 PM
I just can’t imagine Burke coming here in any world.
Sheffield United will need to pay a very high % of his wages which I imagine are ridiculously high. I can’t imagine him having much of an appetite to come to us and probably fancies clubs abroad etc over us.
Only way I can imagine Sheffield United agreeing to the wage is if they get Doig.
It then comes down to would Burke be a good pick for the squad in terms of his attitude, work rate etc.
31-05-2022, 09:42 PM
“The next James Scott” ™️
31-05-2022, 09:45 PM
EXCLUSIVE! Alan Forrest set for Hearts transfer as Jambos gazump Dundee United to land Livingston star | @ScottBurns75
#HMFC #DUFC
https://t.co/dThMxjuXKL https://t.co/ohb4ciP7Mf
31-05-2022, 09:47 PM
I’m going to put 2+2 together and say one of the signings is Harry McKirdy.
Linked with him earlier, someone has mentioned an English arrival and someone else has said the player is on holiday. He ticks those boxes.
He also works hard as anything up top which seems to suit Johnson’s style.
31-05-2022, 09:47 PM
EXCLUSIVE! Alan Forrest set for Hearts transfer as Jambos gazump Dundee United to land Livingston star | @ScottBurns75
#HMFC #DUFC
https://t.co/dThMxjuXKL https://t.co/ohb4ciP7Mf
Be a decent enough signing I reckon, nothing more than decent though.
31-05-2022, 09:52 PM
I’m going to put 2+2 together and say one of the signings is Harry McKirdy.
Linked with him earlier, someone has mentioned an English arrival and someone else has said the player is on holiday. He ticks those boxes.
He also works hard as anything up top which seems to suit Johnson’s style.
Follows JDH on Instagram which I found strange only to work out they were at Villa at the same time.
Not sure it will be him tbh
31-05-2022, 09:56 PM
Follows JDH on Instagram which I found strange only to work out they were at Villa at the same time.
Not sure it will be him tbh
Just a random guess tbh, not even sure if he’s any good. He’s had one very good season this year but other than that his record looks a poor/average league 2 player
31-05-2022, 09:58 PM
Just a random guess tbh, not even sure if he’s any good. He’s had one very good season this year but other than that his record looks a poor/average league 2 player
Every player comes with a risk 😁
31-05-2022, 10:17 PM
Other than 1 wonder goal for Nottingham Forest at the beginning of his career I’ve not seen one other performance from Oli Burke that has warranted the transfer fees he’s managed to accumulate over his career. I really hope we’re not interested in bringing him here, I’d rather we kept Drey Wright!
31-05-2022, 11:01 PM
Alan Forrest signing for Hearts.
01-06-2022, 05:31 AM
With Boyle gone, he seems a good obvious addition to our squad….surprised we didn’t get involved in that one …
Bridge hibs
01-06-2022, 05:51 AM
With Boyle gone, he seems a good obvious addition to our squad….surprised we didn’t get involved in that one …
Would hope we are looking for better to be honest, decent player but not much better than that. I suppose the lure of working with Pepe Neilson, big wages, challenging the rangers and the celtc as well as winning the Europa league will be the catch
01-06-2022, 05:53 AM
Oli Burke 👀🤷*♂️
Burke is a ****in donkey.
He’s got a first touch that makes Nisbet’s look like Bergkamp.
He’s probably got the worst stats of any attacker in Europe. He’s averaged something like 1 goal and 1 assist per season since he left Forest bar his spell at Celtic.
I’d be gutted. If we signed him. He is truly awful.
We watched Forrest extensively at Ayr and decided against.
01-06-2022, 08:06 AM
We watched Forrest extensively at Ayr and decided against.
Interesting- He’s developed a lot since then ..particularly in the last season …quite a different player I’d say . Think he would have been a good addition .
01-06-2022, 08:27 AM
The Glasgow clubs always do well selling their guff
#RangersFC can today confirm striker Cedric Itten has joined BSC Young Boys for an undisclosed fee.
Everyone at Ibrox wishes Cedric well for this next move in his career.
👉 https://t.co/Q0TnuRheAV https://t.co/eksiTFpxwB
Leighonel
01-06-2022, 08:34 AM
Oli Burke 👀🤷*♂️
What is TheCat's twitter name?
01-06-2022, 08:42 AM
Steady Premiership player but not one who's going to improve them. They need a bigger squad for Europe so makes sense.
Interesting- He’s developed a lot since then ..particularly in the last season …quite a different player I’d say . Think he would have been a good addition .
I believe we continued to track him but I'm not sure if it was as extensively as pre Livi. TBH, I think we can do better and I don't see him as a regular starter for them. I think he started about 60% for Livi.
01-06-2022, 09:01 AM
I believe we continued to track him but I'm not sure if it was as extensively as pre Livi. TBH, I think we can do better and I don't see him as a regular starter for them. I think he started about 60% for Livi.
Yeah he did - I’ve just noticed quite a change in him in the last few months …he would get more game time for us than them - don’t think he’ll be another Boyle or anything - but think he would contribute well ..anyway, I’m sure there are many other options …
01-06-2022, 09:03 AM
Some stats according to transfermrkt below. Not sure how accurate those are? Anyway decent player not sure he takes Hearts to the next level?
https://i.ibb.co/9wrPsLJ/Screenshot-2022-06-01-10-01-40-00-40deb401b9ffe8e1df2f1cc5ba480b12.jpg (https://ibb.co/mvcp6wm)
image image image image image image (https://imgbb.com/)
Mcbizz1998
01-06-2022, 09:08 AM
Not sure I quite get the Burke criticism on here. He did well for Forest and then got his move to some big clubs but probably a level too high for him. Since then he has come to Scotland and scored 4 goals in 14 games from the wing for Celtic.
He is 6”2 and rapid. He undoubtedly adds something to our small, slow current squad. I’m not saying we should break the bank for him but would be more than happy if we got him.
hibsforeurope
01-06-2022, 09:17 AM
He also comes in to the players in their prime category LJ mentioned in the Pods interview. Really cant see us being able to afford him but would be decent signing.
Mr. Wonderful
01-06-2022, 09:40 AM
Some stats according to transfermrkt below. Not sure how accurate those are? Anyway decent player not sure he takes Hearts to the next level?
https://i.ibb.co/9wrPsLJ/Screenshot-2022-06-01-10-01-40-00-40deb401b9ffe8e1df2f1cc5ba480b12.jpg (https://ibb.co/mvcp6wm)
image image image image image image (https://imgbb.com/)
Not every signing has to be next level. Could just be a squad option that brings some extra goals and assists, which he will. And a significant upgrade on their other bench options
01-06-2022, 09:49 AM
Not every signing has to be next level. Could just be a squad option that brings some extra goals and assists, which he will. And a significant upgrade on their other bench options
My point wasn't that he was next level I just can't see him taking Hearts to the next level of that's from the bench or in rotation, think there is better out there. I'd be more than happy to be proven correct on this one 😁
01-06-2022, 10:12 AM
Not sure I quite get the Burke criticism on here. He did well for Forest and then got his move to some big clubs but probably a level too high for him. Since then he has come to Scotland and scored 4 goals in 14 games from the wing for Celtic.
He is 6”2 and rapid. He undoubtedly adds something to our small, slow current squad. I’m not saying we should break the bank for him but would be more than happy if we got him.
4 goals in 19 games for Celtc, and he was ****ing brutal from what I remember.
Mcbizz1998
01-06-2022, 10:16 AM
4 goals in 19 games for Celtc, and he was ****ing brutal from what I remember.
Hmm ok will take your word for it. I’m sure he was there when Rodger’s left and Lennon came in? Think that impacted his playing time.
Paulie Walnuts
01-06-2022, 10:37 AM
I’m not desperate for Burke but I think it would be do-able.
Everyone keeps talking about us not being able to afford him but nobody that can afford the wages he’ll be on will want him I’d imagine.
It’ll be left to League One teams in England and us, Hearts and Aberdeen in Scotland to be able to take him. If SU have no use for him then you’d presume they’d want rid but he won’t forego the end of that contract I’d imagine as it’ll be his last big one. So a loan with someone picking up £3k a week or so of his wages is better than nothing.
01-06-2022, 10:43 AM
If Oli Burke signed for Hearts or Aberdeen i'd laugh it off and say his stats were crap but on the inside i'd be thinking damn that could end up a brilliant signing. Sometimes just needs the right club for things to click.
EGL2000
01-06-2022, 10:45 AM
I’m not desperate for Burke but I think it would be do-able.
Everyone keeps talking about us not being able to afford him but nobody that can afford the wages he’ll be on will want him I’d imagine.
It’ll be left to League One teams in England and us, Hearts and Aberdeen in Scotland to be able to take him. If SU have no use for him then you’d presume they’d want rid but he won’t forego the end of that contract I’d imagine as it’ll be his last big one. So a loan with someone picking up £3k a week or so of his wages is better than nothing.
I'd imagine some Foreign teams would be after him. Likes of Turkish clubs and German second Div. Those teams would be able to pay most of his wages on a loan, so can see him going there.
01-06-2022, 11:27 AM
Can't recall this guy but Killie showing an interest.
11 MINUTES AGO
KILLIE CHASE
By Kenny MacDonald
Kilmarnock lead the hunt for ex-St Mirren and Ross County midfielder Graham Carey.
The Irish winger is returning to Scotland after three seasons with Bulgarians CSKA Sofia.
And Derek McInnes is hoping to add the 33-year-old to bolster Killie’s first season back in the Premiership.
However the Irishman — who spent four seasons in Scotland at Paisley and Dingwall before moving south to spend four years at Plymouth in 2015 — has other options in Scotland.
Carey played 106 games and scored 11 goals for CSKA and reached the cup final in each of his three seasons there, winning last season’s trophy against Arda
HendoDelivered
01-06-2022, 12:02 PM
11 MINUTES AGO
KILLIE CHASE
By Kenny MacDonald
Kilmarnock lead the hunt for ex-St Mirren and Ross County midfielder Graham Carey.
The Irish winger is returning to Scotland after three seasons with Bulgarians CSKA Sofia.
And Derek McInnes is hoping to add the 33-year-old to bolster Killie’s first season back in the Premiership.
However the Irishman — who spent four seasons in Scotland at Paisley and Dingwall before moving south to spend four years at Plymouth in 2015 — has other options in Scotland.
Carey played 106 games and scored 11 goals for CSKA and reached the cup final in each of his three seasons there, winning last season’s trophy against Arda
Very decent player.
01-06-2022, 12:42 PM
Connor Goldson signs new 4 year deal with the rangers
hibsforeurope
01-06-2022, 01:06 PM
Probably on wages well above what they can afford.
01-06-2022, 01:16 PM
BREAKING! 🚨 Alan Forrest completes Hearts transfer as ex-Livingston winger signs two-year-deal #HMFC
https://t.co/PWDjd4gY1S https://t.co/z3gBY8t92x
01-06-2022, 01:19 PM
Burke is a ****in donkey.
He’s got a first touch that makes Nisbet’s look like Bergkamp.
He’s probably got the worst stats of any attacker in Europe. He’s averaged something like 1 goal and 1 assist per season since he left Forest bar his spell at Celtic.
I’d be gutted. If we signed him. He is truly awful.
I agree. He’s not going to score us 20 goals a season
01-06-2022, 01:25 PM
11 MINUTES AGO
KILLIE CHASE
By Kenny MacDonald
Carey played 106 games and scored 11 goals for CSKA and reached the cup final in each of his three seasons there, winning last season’s trophy against ArdaVery good player.
Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk
11 MINUTES AGO
KILLIE CHASE
By Kenny MacDonald
Wonderful left foot, IIRC he scored from about 50 yards against our tiny neighbours!
01-06-2022, 02:00 PM
Wonderful left foot, IIRC he scored from about 50 yards against our tiny neighbours!
:agree: Around the 30 second mark here
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=n_JisxlR7a0
01-06-2022, 02:09 PM
St Mirren make signing No 3
Our third signing of the summer.
Welcome to St Mirren, @JonahAyunga
Mr. Wonderful
01-06-2022, 02:22 PM
St Mirren make signing No 3
Our third signing of the summer.
Welcome to St Mirren, @JonahAyunga
Sure he was linked with us at some point in the past
01-06-2022, 03:08 PM
I wonder if Hearts are still after Regan Charles Cook as well as Forrest?
:agree: Around the 30 second mark here
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=n_JisxlR7a0
Brilliant, Thanks!!
01-06-2022, 04:40 PM
i'd take Dylan McGeouch back
Killie/Fleetwood maybe interested
01-06-2022, 04:41 PM
Not for me, he’s done nothing in about 3 years now and don’t think he’d suit Johnson’s style.
01-06-2022, 04:44 PM
Not for me, he’s done nothing in about 3 years now and don’t think he’d suit Johnson’s style.
has he been injured at Aberdeen ? i don't really pay much attention to many players *not at Hibs :greengrin
i don't think he would fancy that plastic killie pitch either, another for Fleetwood maybe
*or Leeds :)
01-06-2022, 09:31 PM
as no English premier team wanted him.
Paulie Walnuts
01-06-2022, 09:52 PM
has he been injured at Aberdeen ? i don't really pay much attention to many players *not at Hibs :greengrin
i don't think he would fancy that plastic killie pitch either, another for Fleetwood maybe
*or Leeds :)
It looks like he’s missed about 4 or 5 months in two seasons with two seperate injuries.
Conor McGrandles available on a free
Lendo
02-06-2022, 07:30 AM
Come on Ron, splash the cash.
02-06-2022, 07:39 AM
That could be fun 😁
https://i.ibb.co/pf7zTPR/20220602-083853.jpg (https://imgbb.com/)
02-06-2022, 07:44 AM
If he signs we need a song for him based on Mr Bojangles please 😁
02-06-2022, 08:01 AM
Paul McGinn remains a Hibee 💚
We can confirm that following a trigger in the player’s contract, the Club has taken the option to extend @pmcginnwisdom's stay at Easter Road until the summer of 2023!
02-06-2022, 08:04 AM
We can confirm that following a trigger in the player’s contract, the Club has taken the option to extend @pmcginnwisdom's stay at Easter Road until the summer of 2023!
Excellent news. Welcome back Paul.
02-06-2022, 08:05 AM
Hopefully get some signings in shortly and some out the door
Can’t afford to hang about this window
02-06-2022, 08:12 AM
On the McGrandles thing a Lincoln fan on twitter reckons he's coming to Scotland, when asked if he knew where he said
'I was told months ago was leaving as home 🏡 sick off to Hibs but time will tell ✍️'
02-06-2022, 09:59 AM
Excellent news. Welcome back Paul.
Happy to still have a McGinn brother in our squad!
02-06-2022, 10:31 AM
Killie/Fleetwood maybe interested
There are not enough treatment tables at HTC to accommodate him.
02-06-2022, 10:43 AM
Decent back-up for us. :aok:
02-06-2022, 11:03 AM
Was really hoping for another signing this week. Granted we've already signed two and the window has just opened.
02-06-2022, 11:31 AM
Was really hoping for another signing this week. Granted we've already signed two and the window has just opened.
Most of Europe’s footballers will be currently enjoying their holidays if not playing internationals.
02-06-2022, 12:01 PM
Player update for those out of contract and on loan. Glad we aren’t keeping any of the loans.
https://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/article/hibernian-thanks-players-departing-in-2022
02-06-2022, 12:08 PM
Player update for those out of contract and on loan. Glad we aren’t keeping any of the loans.
https://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/article/hibernian-thanks-players-departing-in-2022
We all knew it was coming but is sad to see Scott Allan leaving, I always hoped he’d get another crack at the whip
Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
02-06-2022, 12:18 PM
Happy with that. Sad to see Allan go but don’t think he’ll ever find his best form again through no fault of his own
Gives us plenty scope to rebuild and hopefully bring in quality
Good decision from the club
02-06-2022, 12:22 PM
By my calculation:
Keepers:
Marshall, Macey, Dabrowski
Centre Backs:
Hanlon, Porteous, McGregor, Delfierre
Full Backs/Wing Backs (L):
Doig, Stevenson, Mitchell
Full Backs/Wing Backs (R):
Cadden, Clarke, McGinn
Centre-Mids:
Newell, Doyle-Hayes, Magennis, Campbell, Henderson, Kenneh, Tait
Wide Players:
Mackay, Hauge
Forwards:
Nisbet, Doidge, Melkerson
02-06-2022, 12:23 PM
Happy with that. Sad to see Allan go but don’t think he’ll ever find his best form again through no fault of his own
Gives us plenty scope to rebuild and hopefully bring in quality
Good decision from the club
Think we have about 25 squad players counting the likes of McGregor, David Mitchell and the young boys who came back from loan.
Looks like we will need to make a bit more space. Going to be a busy next few weeks I'd imagine.
02-06-2022, 12:40 PM
I was honestly surprised to see Jamie Murphy on there…had totally forgotten about him…
02-06-2022, 12:45 PM
By my calculation:
Keepers:
Centre Backs:
Cadden, Clarke, McGinn
Centre-Mids:
Wide Players:
Mackay, Hauge
Forwards:
Plus David Mitchell.
02-06-2022, 12:53 PM
By my calculation:
Keepers:
Centre Backs:
Cadden, Clarke, McGinn
Centre-Mids:
Wide Players:
Mackay, Hauge
Forwards:
Think we’re still carrying an awful lot of players that won’t contribute enough to improve us. Be that because of injury, fitness, consistency, unproven or simply not good enough.
02-06-2022, 12:55 PM
Think we’re still carrying an awful lot of players that won’t contribute enough to improve us. Be that because of injury, fitness, consistency, unproven or simply not good enough.
I’d happily include Henderson in that bracket. Couple of half decent games here or there but generally looked a good bit away from the standard required.
Paulie Walnuts
02-06-2022, 01:10 PM
Agree and would agree with pretty much all the ones you’ve put in bold and would include Henderson as well.
Thats my concern for this summer. A lot of guys who aren’t going to contribute enough who are still hanging around. There’ll always be a few, but we’ve got absolutely loads.
02-06-2022, 01:28 PM
Is that really fair or sensible? Cutting lose players who haven't proven anything seems a bit daft, unless it suits all parties involved.
02-06-2022, 01:47 PM
Is Daz still likely to be registered as a player next season? I thought that might have been him done. I'd like to see Henderson leave as well. Preferably permanently rather than on loan. Jury out on JDH for me but i do think he'll be better with Magennis in there with him.
02-06-2022, 02:11 PM
Is that really fair or sensible? Cutting lose players who haven't proven anything seems a bit daft, unless it suits all parties involved.
I’m not sure that’s quite what I said, but I’m not too optimistic that we’ll see much from Delfierre, Tait, Mackay and Hauge that will improve us next season. Even if that’s as squad players rather than starters.
4 players that we will have spent a decent amount of fees on who have barely kicked a ball for us and might never do depending on how LJ sees them. They aren’t the route of our problem but spending fees on guys we’re as likely to loan out again as we are to give them a chance is endemic of why we are where we are IMO.
02-06-2022, 02:41 PM
When is the American boy Emmanuel Johnson's loan up? Wonder if he'll be at Hibs for pre season?
02-06-2022, 02:43 PM
When is the American boy Emmanuel Johnson's loan up? Wonder if he'll be at Hibs for pre season?
When he signed it said he’d be with Battery for their upcoming campaign so I’m guessing it will
Be the January window at the earliest.
02-06-2022, 02:43 PM
Agreed. I felt last season the squad was a bit light but looking at that, we have more than enough bodies. It's simply that many aren't good enough.
GonzoReturns
02-06-2022, 03:07 PM
Agreed. I felt last season the squad was a bit light but looking at that, we have more than enough bodies. It's simply that many aren't good enough.
If we had everyone fit then the first 11 is probably only a couple of players away but 100% correct too many in the squad not good enough.
By my calculation:
Keepers:
Centre Backs:
Cadden, Clarke, McGinn
Centre-Mids:
Wide Players:
Mackay, Hauge
Forwards:
Wouldn't call Mitchell a fullback, he's an attacking winger who can if need be play left wingback.
02-06-2022, 03:12 PM
Wouldn't call Mitchell a fullback, he's an attacking winger who can if need be play left wingback.
He's played most of his career as a left back/wing back to be fair.
I do think he's much better at going forward so we'll probably be using him as a winger, you're right.
He's played most of his career as a left back/wing back to be fair.
I do think he's much better at going forward so we'll probably be using him as a winger, you're right.
Better tell Hibs then as they've got him listed in the squad pictures as a midfielder. :greengrin
Percy Vere
02-06-2022, 03:40 PM
Is Daz still likely to be registered as a player next season? I thought that might have been him done. I'd like to see Henderson leave as well. Preferably permanently rather than on loan. Jury out on JDH for me but i do think he'll be better with Magennis in there with him.
I think Henderson could yet shine under the right Manager. We shall see.
I prefer JDH to Campbell. I’d like to see Campbell either away or on loan and see how he develops.
JammyDoidger
02-06-2022, 03:55 PM
I'd scrap the B team admit we got it wrong and focus all money and attention on the first team. A club our size can't be running with B teams for me like.
02-06-2022, 03:59 PM
I'd scrap the B team admit we got it wrong and focus all money and attention on the first team. A club our size can't be running with B teams for me like.
What would you do with the under 18s that just won the league but aren’t ready for first team football yet?
I don’t mind to sound as flippant as I probably do, it is a challenge for the club though as I don’t think in general, loans work that well.
02-06-2022, 04:02 PM
How do you know we got it wrong? We've had the B team for 1 season, with a successful group of 18s about to make the step up to it?
02-06-2022, 04:08 PM
Plus David Mitchell.
Prefer his wife, Victoria 😁
02-06-2022, 04:10 PM
In what way did we/have we got it wrong?
02-06-2022, 04:18 PM
We sold quality but bought potential in January, making us nearer to 10th than 3rd
Brown Hibs
02-06-2022, 04:46 PM
I like the idea of a B team and buying potential. However, the balance wasn't right. Far too many projects. I think it can work in theory but something I liked about Johnson was when talked of having a specific number of bodies in each age group.
02-06-2022, 04:51 PM
We sold quality but bought potential in January, making us nearer to 10th than 3rd
The B team we brought in maybe 3 or 4 players , don't think that had any impact on what we did with the first team. The recruitment for the first team just wasn't very good
02-06-2022, 04:52 PM
Can a club of our size really be running a B team, with the wage implications for players and staff who are involved, as well as fund a high quality first team and an academy?
02-06-2022, 04:52 PM
Dylan Levitt the boy that was at Dundee United on loan. Is rumoured on Twitter to be coming to Hibs on loan next season supposed to be getting announced when he returns from holiday
02-06-2022, 04:53 PM
Melkersen, Newell, Hauge etc do not deserve to be singled out as excess weight.
02-06-2022, 04:53 PM
Dylan Levitt the boy that was at Dundee United on loan. Is rumoured on Twitter to be coming to Hibs on loan next season supposed to be getting announced when he returns from holiday
He's out of contract at Man United I think.
I believe Man U have triggered 1 year extension.
Groathillgrump
02-06-2022, 04:56 PM
Man Utd have just triggered a one year extension.
02-06-2022, 04:56 PM
You could add Steven Bradley to the wide players but that definitely looks like an area of weakness, although Cadden & Mitchell can play in more advanced roles.
SB seems to be doing okay at Dundalk after starting off with four goals in his first three games. He's made 12 starts from 16 appearances for a team second in the league. Is the plan to leave him there until the winter?
02-06-2022, 04:57 PM
Happy with the outs. I’d add Josh Campbell to the outs and leave it at that (possibly Macey too with David Marshall in). A good clear out really.
02-06-2022, 04:57 PM
With him playing for Wales the other night I thought they would put him out to a championship side down south or back to D Utd for European football.
02-06-2022, 04:59 PM
I believe Man U have triggered 1 year extension.
They have probably triggered the extension to try and get a decent fee for him. Doubt we could compete financially in those circumstances.
02-06-2022, 05:00 PM
Why on earth would Man Utd loan him to Hibs after a season at Tannadice? The player is not progressing from a move like that.
They will either ship him out to a Championship side to see if he can cut it, or look to sell him. If it's the latter, we should definitely be interested, but he may already be out of our range.
02-06-2022, 05:01 PM
The B team we brought in maybe 3 or 4 players , don't think that had any impact on what we did with the first team. The recruitment for the first team just wasn't very good
There were other loanees with options who were probably intended as supplements to the first team squad, like Bushiri and Jasper, as well as five signings who would be described as development players (Melkersen, Hauge, Delferriere, Johnson and Tait). Decent outlay involved for some of them at least.
Whereas first team recruitment ended up being dire.
Hopefully a couple of the young guys will really make an impact next season, that would be a tremendous boost for the club.
02-06-2022, 05:06 PM
Forward thinking. I like it.
Paulie Walnuts
02-06-2022, 05:12 PM
Would be happy with Levitt.
A wee bit confused, is the B team, the development team or the under 18 team ??. Sorry for being dim, or some other team.
B
Mr. Wonderful
02-06-2022, 05:16 PM
Well renowned troll with that rumour. Him and his pals, no doubt 16 years old, enjoy making up rumours for likes and bites.
JammyDoidger
02-06-2022, 05:25 PM
How do you know we got it wrong? We've had the B team for 1 season, with a successful group of 18s about to make the step up to it?
With our budget I just think it would be better if it all went to the first team squad. Bring in a couple of 'prospects' have them train with us and send them on loan if they aren't good enough or ready to start for us and see how they progress..we can't be running with a second squad, the majority of the under 18s and the guys we bring in to play in this side won't be good enough for the first team either, this B team don't even play many games there isn't a league for it, just doesn't seem worthwhile for how much it would cost to pay all these guys. When if you took all their wages and added them up we could have at least a couple of first team quality players in. We need guys for here and now predominately. It just seems a lot of work and wages paid for maybe one or two coming through, it should be 18's squad, if your not ready but have potential out on loan and if still not ready or good enough then off you pop.
02-06-2022, 05:39 PM
Why on earth would Man Utd loan him to Hibs after a season at Tannadice? The player is not progressing from a move like that.
They will either ship him out to a Championship side to see if he can cut it, or look to sell him. If it's the latter, we should definitely be interested, but he may already be out of our range.
Almost as crazy as a player who was on loan at Ross County being recalled by their parent Premier League club then loaned to us.
02-06-2022, 05:43 PM
A wee bit confused, is the B team, the development team or the under 18 team ??. Sorry for being dim, or some other team.
B
There is no B team.
02-06-2022, 05:44 PM
B
I’ve no idea to be honest. For me the B team don’t have enough meaningful fixtures to play, if there’s no reserve or development league!
The young lads aged 16 or so need somewhere to play
02-06-2022, 05:55 PM
Is there any truth in the Levitt stuff? Would be delighted if there was. Have we done something which is quite common now and said well loan him for a year, pay a fee and at the end of it he signs a 2 year deal with us for example?
All I can see is a couple of fans saying it’s happening but don’t think they’ve been too reliable in the past
02-06-2022, 06:11 PM
I’ve no idea to be honest. For me the B team don’t have enough meaningful fixtures to play, if there’s no reserve or development league!
The young lads aged 16 or so need somewhere to play
Didn’t realise all their fixtures for next season had been announced, where can I see these?
02-06-2022, 06:16 PM
Is there any truth in the Levitt stuff? Would be delighted if there was. Have we done something which is quite common now and said well loan him for a year, pay a fee and at the end of it he signs a 2 year deal with us for example?
All I can see is a couple of fans saying it’s happening but don’t think they’ve been too reliable in the past
I'd be over the moon if we got Levitt. Cracking player.
02-06-2022, 06:16 PM
Didn’t realise all their fixtures for next season had been announced, where can I see these?
Ouch
02-06-2022, 06:17 PM
B
I didn't know there was a B team until Maloney started going on about it.
02-06-2022, 06:21 PM
B
The development team will sit between the Under 18s and the First Team. It will be made up of players from this years Under 18s and other players the club picked up or released from other teams academies who they believe have potential for the first team in the future.
02-06-2022, 06:22 PM
With our budget I just think it would be better if it all went to the first team squad. Bring in a couple of 'prospects' have them train with us and send them on loan if they aren't good enough or ready to start for us and see how they progress..we can't be running with a second squad, the majority of the under 18s and the guys we bring in to play in this side won't be good enough for the first team either, this B team don't even play many games there isn't a league for it, just doesn't seem worthwhile for how much it would cost to pay all these guys. When if you took all their wages and added them up we could have at least a couple of first team quality players in. We need guys for here and now predominately. It just seems a lot of work and wages paid for maybe one or two coming through, it should be 18's squad, if your not ready but have potential out on loan and if still not ready or good enough then off you pop.
Maybe we should scrap the A team and only run the B team, that would financially be better 😁
02-06-2022, 06:22 PM
Usual smart answer from you. Young lads need to be playing competitive games every week, not friendlies here there and everywhere
02-06-2022, 06:37 PM
Can a club of our size really be running a B team, with the wage implications for players and staff who are involved, as well as fund a high quality first team and an academy?
If it’s used as a vehicle to better develop and acquire good young players who are then sold on for decent money then it will pay for itself. One of the fortunate things about being in the Championship was that it allowed us to take a chance on someone like Boyle who the club recognised as player with great potential which was under appreciated by this current team. The development team should hopefully allow us to take a chance on similar players who are maybe not quite ready for first team football. In the last 5 years we’ve made at least £4m+ on these types of signings (Cummings & Boyle) with potential more coming this summer if Doig is sold.
02-06-2022, 06:43 PM
Usual smart answer from you. Young lads need to be playing competitive games every week, not friendlies here there and everywhere
Competitive games are meaningless if the players are not being challenged.
02-06-2022, 07:08 PM
If it’s used as a vehicle to better develop and acquire good young players who are then sold on for decent money then it will pay for itself. One of the fortunate things about being in the Championship was that it allowed us to take a chance on someone like Boyle who the club recognised as player with great potential which was under appreciated by this current team. The development team should hopefully allow us to take a chance on similar players who are maybe not quite ready for first team football. In the last 5 years we’ve made at least £4m+ on these types of signings (Cummings & Boyle) with potential more coming this summer if Doig is sold.
Boyle wasn’t a “development team” signing.
02-06-2022, 07:41 PM
Boyle wasn’t a “development team” signing.
I didn’t say he was.
What I was getting at was that being in the 2nd tier allowed us to take a chance on him and give him a lot of game time that he may not otherwise have got had we been in the top flight competing for the European places. A development squad will hopefully allow us to take more chances on young players who the club believe have potential but are raw like Boyle was so not quite ready for first team football at a team with aspirations of 3rd in the top flight.
02-06-2022, 08:57 PM
Conor McCarthy out of contract, 6'4 not sure if he's got pace, can't say I have paid much attention to him before but I'm sure he's been linked previously. Wonder if he's one we'd be interested in
02-06-2022, 09:47 PM
Graeme Shinnie allowed to leave Wigan this summer.
Wonder if he’s someone we’d be interested in, he’s 100 mph and would be good at quick transitional play and winning it back like Johnson wants.
Only thing would be his ability on the ball, might want someone more comfortable/creative/more of a goal threat if we’ve already got Kenneh as the 6.
Paulie Walnuts
02-06-2022, 09:55 PM
Wonder if he’s someone we’d be interested in, he’s 100 mph and would be good at quick transitional play and winning it back like Johnson wants.
Only thing would be his ability on the ball, might want someone more comfortable/creative/more of a goal threat if we’ve already got Kenneh as the 6.
Would take him in a heartbeat.
King Cosell
02-06-2022, 09:57 PM
Wages might be a stumbling block, 2 years left on his contract, imagine we'll be interested along with Hearts and Aberdeen.
02-06-2022, 09:57 PM
Must be a good chance he’ll go to Kilmarnock I’d have thought.
Good player (or he was a few years ago) but not what we need now.
Mcbizz1998
02-06-2022, 10:21 PM
Because Hibernian are a bigger and better club than Dundee United. I’m sorry you weren’t aware of that.
02-06-2022, 10:31 PM
Because Hibernian are a bigger and better club than Dundee United. I’m sorry you weren’t aware of that.
He may want to go back dundee united as they are in europe though.
02-06-2022, 10:35 PM
No idea if we're interested but I think he'd be a decent signing. Ex sheep captain and always seemed to drive them forward as well as getting in the refs ear. Leadership on the pitch is something that we've been badly lacking last season.
02-06-2022, 10:56 PM
Conor McCarthy out of contract, 6'4 not sure if he's got pace, can't say I have paid much attention to him before but I'm sure he's been linked previously. Wonder if he's one we'd be interested in
Usain Bolt is 6'5".
Just saying. :greengrin
02-06-2022, 11:59 PM
There is no B team.
That didnt last long then 🤣
03-06-2022, 06:49 AM
Yes, it's not summer yet. But we have done some transfer business already.
Confirmed in (3):
Ewan Henderson, three year contract (midfielder, Celtic)
Rumoured new contracts:
Ryan Porteous
Amazing that some people think we should get rid of Ewan Henderson when he's just arrived on a 3-year contract. I think we all need to cut him some slack. He'll be better next season, I'm sure about that. With better players around, more attack minded, he'll progress.
Also, Porto would be mad to sign a new contract. He's got all the attributes to succeed in the game at a higher level (see McKenna), but he needs to get away from the Scottish media and referees.
McGruber
03-06-2022, 07:01 AM
Amazing that some people think we should get rid of Ewan Henderson when he's just arrived on a 3-year contract. I think we all need to cut him some slack. He'll be better next season, I'm sure about that. With better players around, more attack minded, he'll progress.
Also, Porto would be mad to sign a new contract. He's got all the attributes to succeed in the game at a higher level (see McKenna), but he needs to get away from the Scottish media and referees.
Henderson was a disappointment last season in what was a largely disappointing season for most. He showed in flashes but mainly ineffective in games that seemed to largely pass him by. He has talent though and just when I had thought he wouldn't cut it he had a tremendous game v Hearts in the semi, our MOM for me. That was enough to show me there is a player in there that could be a big asset for us - hopefully Johnson is the man to unlock the potential.
Hopefully Porteous is mad. He signs a contract even if he is still off in a year or 2 and we get better compensation. He could play higher level and the media here are on witch hunt (aided by some of his daft moments) but I want the best for Hibs first - then wish Porto all the best afterward
03-06-2022, 08:09 AM
Henderson looked miles away from the standard we need imo.
I thought he started to come onto a game late in the season, I am unsure how he’ll fit into what I’m imagining from an LJ team though going by the things I’m seeing and reading from the manager.
Hopefully wrong and he can kick on now with pre season
Brown Hibs
03-06-2022, 08:11 AM
Shinnie could be exactly what we need in the middle of the park. Not sure how his career has progressed since leaving Aberdeen however.
03-06-2022, 08:18 AM
Shinnie could be exactly what we need in the middle of the park. Not sure how his career has progressed since leaving Aberdeen however.
If Shinnie was named Porteous, he would have been sent off many times against us alone. It was amazing how many fouls he had before he got booked.
03-06-2022, 09:07 AM
He was a player i hated when he played against us. Didn't let us play, made clever fouls, helped see out games etc. A constant pain in the arse but one i'd have loved in our team.
03-06-2022, 09:17 AM
He was a player i hated when he played against us. Didn't let us play, made clever fouls, helped see out games etc. A constant pain in the arse but one i'd have loved in our team.
For every Henderson we need a Shinnie.
03-06-2022, 09:42 AM
As soon as shinnie put on a hibs top he’d pick up a yellow card every game for his first foul
03-06-2022, 09:51 AM
I don't think I saw a game we played Aberdeen when Shinnie shouldn't have got a red. Most times he never even got booked. If he could mange that with us, very doubtful, I would think he would be a great signing. I can't see Henderson being a first team regular, he looked miles away from that last year but stranger things have happened and he still has a long time to go on his contract
03-06-2022, 10:25 AM
Henderson looked miles away from the standard we need imo.
There's more than a hint of Jaimie McCluskey about Henderson. All the skill in the world but short on the physicality that is needed for the SPL. Far too early to write him off though.
03-06-2022, 10:33 AM
For me Shinnie would be an excellent signing, but I just don't know if we could afford him. I still think we should at least put a bid in for Forrest from Livingston, unless he has already gone to Hearts or DU.
03-06-2022, 10:34 AM
Henderson I like but the type of player if we want instant success he should be no where near the first eleven if we aim to achieve.
I’m still not entirely sure the length of contract was merited in the first place for a player who hasn’t played at the highest level for a long period of time.
Hope he proves us wrong.
The Sundance Kid
For me Shinnie would be an excellent signing, but I just don't know if we could afford him. I still think we should at least put a bid in for Forrest from Livingston, unless he has already gone to Hearts or DU.
Forrest signed for Hearts on Wednesday
Forrest has already been announced by Hearts.
03-06-2022, 10:38 AM
Forrest has already been announced by Hearts.
Shame, I really rate him.
NC1875
03-06-2022, 10:46 AM
Shame, I really rate him.
Don’t get the love in for Forrest, wasn’t even 1st pick for Livi last season.
He’ll be anonymous for Hearts this season, like every other season before last.
03-06-2022, 11:10 AM
Hearts agreed terms with that Rowles from Oz