View Full Version : Greggs Summer 2022-23 transfer thread

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 [63] 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71

CL0762
31-08-2022, 02:10 PM
Good luck to Doidge, he’s never been the same since his injury last season and it’s not been nice to watch him struggle.

31-08-2022, 02:11 PM
Sone mind bogglingly disrespectful and classless comments on here. He may not have been the same player post injury but he gave full commitment to us, scored a fair few goals and put in a number of good performances. He likes a glass of wine, who actually gives a ****.

Will be wishing Christian all the best for the future.

Well said.

👍

HendoDelivered
31-08-2022, 02:13 PM
Aw the best big guy

31-08-2022, 02:14 PM
Wonder if Killie are paying all or only part of his wages.

31-08-2022, 02:15 PM
Doidge away must surely be because we have someone else lined up to come in.....I hope :greengrin

Surely have a replacement agreed before we let Doidge go.

Wonder if Killie are paying all or only part of his wages.

Would imagine part only. He is reportedly on a big contact (by our standards)

31-08-2022, 02:22 PM
Surely have a replacement agreed before we let Doidge go.

You say that, but there was that shambles of the 2018 window where we released a bunch of players and signed no one.

hibeg
31-08-2022, 02:22 PM
Sone mind bogglingly disrespectful and classless comments on here. He may not have been the same player post injury but he gave full commitment to us, scored a fair few goals and put in a number of good performances. He likes a glass of wine, who actually gives a ****.

Completely agree.
When he signed his contract extension everyone was delighted.
He is not the player he was due to injury, nothing else !
Good luck Christian

31-08-2022, 02:23 PM
Let’s go all out;

In
Bonne
McKirdy
Centre Mid
Left sided centre back

Out
Doidge
Tait
McLellend
Mitchell - If fit

Won’t happen but let’s hope

31-08-2022, 02:24 PM
Shows the situation we're in when the guy who started up front for us on Saturday is getting farmed out on loan the following Wednesday.

Hibee Daft
31-08-2022, 02:26 PM
Let’s go all out;

In
Bonne
McKirdy
Centre Mid
Left sided centre back

Out
Doidge
Tait
McLellend
Mitchell - If fit

Anytime ive seen Mclellend he looked pretty good

31-08-2022, 02:27 PM
Would imagine part only. He is reportedly on a big contact (by our standards)

Yeah probably true. Hopefully it’s a decent percentage they are picking up though.

31-08-2022, 02:28 PM
Shows the situation we're in when the guy who started up front for us on Saturday is getting farmed out on loan the following Wednesday.

You're making it sound like a bad thing. We've got shot of one so we can bring one. It's a good thing:confused:

31-08-2022, 02:28 PM
Anytime ive seen Mclellend he looked pretty good

Likewise, been really impressed. Just think he needs to be playing week in week out to improve defensively and physically, too good to be 4th choice centre half and only playing development games

31-08-2022, 02:30 PM
He's been bloody awful for far too long, and entirely down to him getting injured and not recapturing his previous ability to jump as well or even run as quickly.

I hope everything goes well for him at Killie apart from against us, although if its a loan then we have probably said he cant play against us. :dunno:

31-08-2022, 02:33 PM

Started because we had no one else except a young rookie Norwegian and a guy from Africa who's a punt.

Hibeesforever
31-08-2022, 02:36 PM
Mclelland is the shining light, I would start him looked good in the League Cup

31-08-2022, 02:40 PM
Let’s go all out;

In
Bonne
McKirdy
Centre Mid
Left sided centre back

Out
Doidge
Tait
McLellend
Mitchell - If fit

I hope McLelland or Tait don’t go out.

31-08-2022, 02:41 PM
Mclelland is the shining light, I would start him looked good in the League Cup

Not against Falkirk.

Also has to be remembered, the teams we were playing in the league cup are lower league teams.

He should be looking good.

Doesn't mean he's good enough for this level yet.

31-08-2022, 02:43 PM

Why does that show the situation we’re in?

LJ has given him loads of opportunity to impress, he hasn’t been able to do so, we’ve found someone to take over his wage and we’ve moved him on.

That’s a good outcome for us.

31-08-2022, 02:44 PM

The mythical "Hibs Class"

31-08-2022, 02:46 PM

Anyone who's past school age and treats poor form in a football player for the team they "support" as a personal insult needs to sort their priorities out.

It's absolutely pathetic.

31-08-2022, 02:46 PM
Let’s go all out;

In
Bonne
McKirdy
Centre Mid
Left sided centre back

Out
Doidge
Tait
McLellend
Mitchell - If fit

We have just paid money in this window to sign McLelland🙄

31-08-2022, 02:48 PM
I hope McLelland or Tait don’t go out.

If they're not going to get game time then a loan out seems like the best idea. I'd 100% be giving Tait a shot but he's not even making the bench these days.

31-08-2022, 02:52 PM

Was meaning him and Tait on loan, not permanent.

I see Hibs central are saying Tait could potentially leave permanently

31-08-2022, 02:54 PM

A fee ? Nope. Free transfer

Was meaning him and Tait on loan, not permanent.

I see Hibs central are saying Tait could potentially leave permanently

Lunacy given our threadbare cupboard of CHs even if we do sign one.

You're making it sound like a bad thing. We've got shot of one so we can bring one. It's a good thing:confused:

Spot on. I think his meaning though was that if the guy we needed to move out in order bring someone new in is the guy we were relying on in just the last match we played it underlines how weak our first team/squad was to that point.

31-08-2022, 02:55 PM
A fee ? Nope. Free transfer

Possibly a development fee

coldingham hibs
31-08-2022, 02:55 PM
Wikipedia saying he scored 12 last season? Must have had a good scoring run at the start of the season if that’s right?

Started the first couple of months on fire then burnt out.

31-08-2022, 03:02 PM
Anyone who's past school age and treats poor form in a football player for the team they "support" as a personal insult needs to sort their priorities out.

It's absolutely pathetic.

Agreed but about half the posts on here would need to be deleted. If it's not Doidge then it's Newell, JDH and Campbell, both collectively and individually with honorable mentions for Hanlon, Porteous and even some of the new guys who've hardly played. It's shameful IMO.

31-08-2022, 03:05 PM
Lunacy given our threadbare cupboard of CHs even if we do sign one.

You think?

New CB
Porteous
Hanlon
McGregor

Then Rocky who will be back in 2 months and beyond that Kenneh has played there previously and we have other youngsters like Blaney etc.

I think that’s an ample amount for the first team and realistically I can’t see us affording many more. To have 6 centre backs would be crazy to me.

31-08-2022, 03:06 PM
Why does that show the situation we’re in?

LJ has given him loads of opportunity to impress, he hasn’t been able to do so, we’ve found someone to take over his wage and we’ve moved him on.

That’s a good outcome for us.

Hopefully it’s a good outcome for all parties.

I think the point is that it doesn’t say much for our recruitment when we start a season relying on goals from a player we are actively trying to move on.

31-08-2022, 03:06 PM
Ourselves and Hearts interested in Louis Moult.

Latapy'sVolley
31-08-2022, 03:08 PM

Let them have him

31-08-2022, 03:12 PM

For the Dev team.

31-08-2022, 03:13 PM

Really?

31-08-2022, 03:14 PM
Let’s go all out;

In
Bonne
McKirdy
Centre Mid
Left sided centre back

Out
Doidge
Tait
McLellend
Mitchell - If fit

McKirdy is some character...

HendoDelivered
31-08-2022, 03:14 PM
You think?

New CB
Porteous
Hanlon
McGregor

Then Rocky who will be back in 2 months and beyond that Kenneh has played there previously and we have other youngsters like Blaney etc.

I think that’s an ample amount for the first team and realistically I can’t see us affording many more. To have 6 centre backs would be crazy to me.

The fact we are still naming McGregor as cover says it all and Hanlon is done as a starter I think.

31-08-2022, 03:16 PM
I thought window closed tonight, so a bit relieved we've got another 30 hours or so

31-08-2022, 03:16 PM
Is Louis Moult not pretty good but constantly injured?

hibeg
31-08-2022, 03:18 PM

Remember he had a good season with Motherwell. No idea where he is now, but seems like oblivion!
Probably on a par with James Scott

HendoDelivered
31-08-2022, 03:20 PM

Yep, so no thanks!

31-08-2022, 03:21 PM

Ian Gordon not got the latest fm 19 update?

No thanks

31-08-2022, 03:23 PM

He's perfect!

31-08-2022, 03:23 PM
Remember he had a good season with Motherwell. No idea where he is now, but seems like oblivion!
Probably on a par with James Scott

Think he was really good until injuries got a hold of him, not sure how he’s done recently but would be risky.

If he signs for us he’ll get injured instantly, if he signs for hearts he’ll score every second game.

hhibs
31-08-2022, 03:24 PM
Yes - had the wonderfully named Efrem Zimbalist Jr as lead actor!

I raise you Ed "Cookie" Burns !

31-08-2022, 03:25 PM
Think he was really good until injuries got a hold of him, not sure how he’s done recently but would be risky.

If he signs for us he’ll get injured instantly, if he signs for hearts he’ll score every second game.
Looks like he can't get a game for bottom of the league Burton Albion, not sure if he played against us pre season.
Maybe decent to have as a back up back up but that's not really the kind of player we are after just now.

Would be bizarre to move Doidge on to replace him with Moult.

hibbyboy1
31-08-2022, 03:25 PM
Can we only sign players based in Scotland, or unassigned players after tonight as the window is shut elsewhere. ?

Bridge hibs
31-08-2022, 03:27 PM
Think he has played around 5 competitive matches this season, dont think full matches though, possibly still recovering from injury (hasnt scored) played against us in Portugal, possibly came on as a sub, cant remember

31-08-2022, 03:34 PM
Think he has played around 5 competitive matches this season, dont think full matches though, possibly still recovering from injury (hasnt scored) played against us in Portugal, possibly came on as a sub, cant remember
TBF five competitive matches counts as experienced with our recruitment team.

31-08-2022, 03:34 PM

blimey, that's uninspiring !

31-08-2022, 03:39 PM
CONFIRMED: Celtic striker Albian Ajeti has signed for Sturm Graz on a season-long loan, with an option to buy for around £2m

31-08-2022, 03:44 PM
Moult was a brilliant player for Motherwell. If hes still that good, he'd be one of our best players. Not seen him since then, though.

31-08-2022, 03:54 PM
Ronaldo :agree:

He must be about 50 by now, do you think he could still do a job? :greengrin

Paulie Walnuts
31-08-2022, 03:56 PM

Please no. His last 4 or 5 seasons make for dreadful reading.

EGL2000
31-08-2022, 03:56 PM
CONFIRMED: Celtic striker Albian Ajeti has signed for Sturm Graz on a season-long loan, with an option to buy for around £2m

Great move for him, playing Europa League football instead of sitting on the bench at Celtic.

31-08-2022, 03:58 PM

He’ll sign for Hertz and it’ll be reported that they beat us for his signature in some weird wee hertz way.

With us never interested in the first place.

IAmLee
31-08-2022, 03:59 PM
Moult was out for a long while with a bad knee injury, the entirety of 20/21 and the first half of 21/22 iirc so he’s not played much football. He was a cracking player at ‘Well but it’d be a gamble waiting to see if he could get back to that sort of form!!

31-08-2022, 03:59 PM

European football if true

Box 17
31-08-2022, 04:00 PM

Didn't he feature as a rumour in a previous transfer window?

Seem to remember endless pages of Everest double glazing gags.

31-08-2022, 04:00 PM
Moult was a brilliant player for Motherwell. If hes still that good, he'd be one of our best players. Not seen him since then, though.

Done nowt since then and been injured. The yams are welcome, IMHO.

cameronw-hfc
31-08-2022, 04:02 PM
Can we only sign players based in Scotland, or unassigned players after tonight as the window is shut elsewhere. ?

Nah and it shuts in England tomorrow night at 11 as well so plenty time still

31-08-2022, 04:04 PM
He’ll sign for Hertz and it’ll be reported that they beat us for his signature in some weird wee hertz way.

With us never interested in the first place.

Think Savage was involved in him signing for Preston

31-08-2022, 04:05 PM
Done nowt since then and been injured. The yams are welcome, IMHO.

I’ll be really disappointed if we try to sign him.

31-08-2022, 04:13 PM
Any midfielder rumours?

The Captain....
31-08-2022, 04:14 PM

I’ll be really disappointed if we try to sign him.Yep, its the type of gamble signing we need to stop making.

Sent from my SM-A600FN using Tapatalk

Fuzzywuzzy
31-08-2022, 04:30 PM
Any midfielder rumours?

Yes!! Apparently ours is pish!!

AL-Qaholik
31-08-2022, 04:32 PM

That’s not a rumour

31-08-2022, 04:35 PM
Any midfielder rumours?

The Rumour is we aren’t signing any So 🙏

Dmas
31-08-2022, 05:52 PM

I’ll be really disappointed if we try to sign him.

We’re in for mckirdy any other striker rumours will be agents pushing strikers for deals before window shuts and us with the feelers out incase mckirdy doesn’t come off

31-08-2022, 06:06 PM

Hibiza
31-08-2022, 06:06 PM
He's perfect!

Saint Hibee
31-08-2022, 06:10 PM
I'd be very happy with Lafferty as an option.

Really?!? He’s mince. And a hun.

AL-Qaholik
31-08-2022, 06:26 PM

That’s not a rumour

31-08-2022, 06:27 PM
He must be about 50 by now, do you think he could still do a job? :greengrinGot a mate down here who is a hun, his son is a much more dedicated hun than he is and he told him last week that sevco were seriously trying to get Ronaldo on loan.

I suggested it was Dave Rinaldo who used to run a chippy in Govan.

31-08-2022, 07:03 PM
https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/hibs-must-follow-hearts-aberdeen-27868663

Tam must be bitter about no longer being commentator, a very one sided argument and dig at the club. Brutally selective with his stats.

Mcgeady, Marshall, Youan and Cabraja are good signings on initial showings. Kenneh and the other young lads look like they have ability and need to settle.

He’s waxing lyrical about Aberdeen signings but I suggest he speak to some Aberdeen fans. They’re not all happy, two convincing wins but against 10 men for the majority and being taken to extra time by Annan last night.

He mentions Miovski but fails to mention they think Richardson is poor defensively and not convinced by Robert’s, Morris or Roos and think they’re your standard English league dross. Stewart is captain (Our new signing is also captain) but Aberdeen fans think he’s brutal on the ball and prone to a mistake whilst pretty solid in the air. Duk was signed from the same team as Tavares.

On paper Aberdeen’s recruitment looks pretty much identical to ours.

Hearts have signed Shankland who has had a good start and Alan Forrest - will he be a certain starter? I’m not sure. Then Rowles as a replacement for Souttar and isn’t an improvement as Tam would say.

The agenda against Hibs by some at the moment is mental. I also rarely hear about our injuries to key players but it’s the first thing mentioned about Hearts etc.

Let’s see where we’re at on Friday morning when the window is closed and then in a couple of weeks when the squad should be coming together

31-08-2022, 07:05 PM
Tam McManus is a complete fud. Simple as that really.

31-08-2022, 07:07 PM
https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/hibs-must-follow-hearts-aberdeen-27868663

Tam must be bitter about no longer being commentator, a very one sided argument and dig at the club. Brutally selective with his stats.

Mcgeady, Marshall, Youan and Cabraja are good signings on initial showings. Kenneh and the other young lads look like they have ability and need to settle.

He’s waxing lyrical about Aberdeen signings but I suggest he speak to some Aberdeen fans. They’re not all happy, two convincing wins but against 10 men for the majority and being taken to extra time by Annan last night.

He mentions Miovski but fails to mention they think Richardson is poor defensively and not convinced by Robert’s, Morris or Roos and think they’re your standard English league dross. Stewart is captain (Our new signing is also captain) but Aberdeen fans think he’s brutal on the ball and prone to a mistake whilst pretty solid in the air. Duk was signed from the same team as Tavares.

Hearts have signed Shankland who has had a good start and Alan Forrest - will he be a certain starter? I’m not sure. Then Rowles as a replacement for Souttar and isn’t an improvement as Tam would say.

The agenda against Hibs by some at the moment is mental. I also rarely hear about our injuries to key players but it’s the first thing mentioned about Hearts etc.

Let’s see where we’re at on Friday morning when the window is closed and then in a couple of weeks when the squad should be coming together

He’s only saying exactly what the majority on here have been saying for weeks.

HendoDelivered
31-08-2022, 07:11 PM

He’s not far wrong though is he.

31-08-2022, 07:16 PM
Has Tam been punted from HTV?

Dazzjw1875
31-08-2022, 07:21 PM
Seen on twitter McKirdy terms have been agreed on a long term deal and he is heading to Edinburgh overnight, medical in the morning.. but its twitter so who knows ha.

31-08-2022, 07:22 PM
He’s not far wrong though is he.

For me any good points he made lost any credence by the comparisons he goes on to make.

I don’t see what relevance the starting 11 point from Saturday makes, Jack Ross had some very good players - they finished 3rd and got to semi finals and finals consistently. Upgrading them isn’t always going to be easy.

Of all signings he counts, how many were signed for the first team and how many the development? It’s just very selective stats.

He chooses Saturdays starting eleven instead of the first game of the season for example when 7 signings started that weren’t here when Ross was manager.

Tam just talks too much - makes a good point and then keeps going until he makes himself look silly imo 😅

NC1875
31-08-2022, 07:23 PM
Seen on twitter McKirdy terms have been agreed on a long term deal and he is heading to Edinburgh overnight, medical in the morning.. but its twitter so who knows ha.

Would make sense with us letting Doidge go. Surely we have something concrete sorted for a replacement

31-08-2022, 07:24 PM

Who posted it?

Found it: Journo down south could be legit

31-08-2022, 07:26 PM
Who posted it?

Found it: Journo down south could be legit

https://therealefl.co.uk/2022/08/31/exclusive-mckirdy-agrees-personal-terms-with-hibernian/

Couple of Swindon fans saying it too

31-08-2022, 07:27 PM
https://therealefl.co.uk/2022/08/31/exclusive-mckirdy-agrees-personal-terms-with-hibernian/

I’ll be happy if he signs.

31-08-2022, 07:28 PM

With his suspensions, when will he be available to play

31-08-2022, 07:28 PM

I hope he hits the ground running or he will quickly be branded as McHuddy 😉

Dmas
31-08-2022, 07:29 PM
For me any good points he made lost any credence by the comparisons he goes on to make.

I don’t see what relevance the starting 11 point from Saturday makes, Jack Ross had some very good players - they finished 3rd and got to semi finals and finals consistently. Upgrading them isn’t always going to be easy.

Of all signings he counts, how many were signed for the first team and how many the development? It’s just very selective stats.

He chooses Saturdays starting eleven instead of the first game of the season for example when 7 signings started that weren’t here when Ross was manager.

Tam just talks too much - makes a good point and then keeps going until he makes himself look silly imo 😅

Enraging hibs fans on line gains more clicks imo just feeds the army online desperate for stuff to moan about, we had an awful Jan window last year on the back of a bad managerial appointment, we’re on a proper rebuild job with big players still contracted stifling the budget, Tams been at hibs during a similar period he should be well versed in what’s going on, we’ve not started the best but I think there’s a lot of talent been signed we’ll be in better shape tomorrow than we where at seasons end and hopefully once we’ve all settled in we can start shutting a lot of people up

31-08-2022, 07:30 PM

Think he will miss Saturday if the crossover is immediate.

31-08-2022, 07:32 PM
Think he will miss Saturday if the crossover is immediate.

Thought it was around 3 games he was banned for

MagicSwirlingShip
31-08-2022, 07:34 PM

Think he’s already served 1 of the 3 matches

31-08-2022, 07:36 PM

depending which news source you believe he has already served two of those games...or maybe one.

31-08-2022, 07:37 PM

assume he would miss the Killie game snd one after assuming he is signed and registered etc before Saturday kickoff

Cat Stanton
31-08-2022, 07:38 PM

And the Swindon fans seems very unhappy about it. That's a good sign (albeit it's - in old money - a 4th division club, so who knows what the standard is like).

31-08-2022, 07:48 PM
Would make sense with us letting Doidge go. Surely we have something concrete sorted for a replacement

Bit conerning if the medical has still to be done and weve already let Doidge go😉

31-08-2022, 07:57 PM
Was the take of the Swindon fan who came on here not that McKirdy was best coming in off the right and not so effective playing centrally? ie the position our best player plays in?

Whilst I don't doubt that he's a good player and could be an excellent signing, is he REALLY what we most need right now? And are we not underachieving because of our ongoing inability to go out and get what we actually need, instead filling the club up with things that are great to have but not likely to heal the gaping wounds we have that are hurting us?

We need a number 9. We need an attacking midfielder. We need a centre half. We need players who are fit and going to make an immediate impact.

We don't need injured players, suspended players, development players, wide attackers to provide competition for our existing wide attackers, goalkeepers, or wafty sideways midfielders who are tidy enough but nothing special.

31-08-2022, 08:01 PM
Was the take of the Swindon fan who came on here not that McKirdy was best coming in off the right and not so effective playing centrally? ie the position our best player plays in?

Whilst I don't doubt that he's a good player and could be an excellent signing, is he REALLY what we most need right now? And are we not underachieving because of our ongoing inability to go out and get what we actually need, instead filling the club up with things that are great to have but not likely to heal the gaping wounds we have that are hurting us?

We need a number 9. We need an attacking midfielder. We need a centre half. We need players who are fit and going to make an immediate impact.

We don't need injured players, suspended players, development players, wide attackers to provide competition for our existing wide attackers, goalkeepers, or wafty sideways midfielders who are tidy enough but nothing special.

Think it was coming off the left, that'll give us a front 3 of Boyle, Youan and McKirdy.

Halmyre Hibee
31-08-2022, 08:02 PM

31-08-2022, 08:03 PM
https://thetownend.com/index.php?topic=28647.48495

31-08-2022, 08:15 PM

I know YouTube reels can be misleading he scores different type goals- runs the channel, cuts in from both flanks, header at far post, is there when ball breaks in the box. We miss that and his anticipation in and around the box looks good.

He also has decent link up play and can come short and bring others into play.

He’s also only 25 and still to reach his prime.

He’s something different to what we have and yes he might be suspended but I think that this is an opportunity we cannot miss!

He’s also a character with attitude and nit very well by opposition fans.

What’s not to like

AL-Qaholik
31-08-2022, 08:24 PM
Should be pushing the boat out to get Van Veen, imo.

31-08-2022, 08:28 PM

I don't think he's better than Doidge

xqnq1875
31-08-2022, 08:28 PM
Anything in the rumours about us wanting to sign Jack fitzwater and Joseph hungbo ?

timewilltell
31-08-2022, 08:30 PM
Bit conerning if the medical has still to be done and weve already let Doidge go😉
Stop worrying…

31-08-2022, 08:40 PM

Nah that doesn't work, there's no water/sailing related puns in his name.

Paloschi
31-08-2022, 08:41 PM

The last forward we signed from Swindon was…. James Collins 👀

31-08-2022, 08:46 PM
The last forward we signed from Swindon was…. James Collins 👀

Collins came as a goal scorer. Looked humpty in a ***** team under 2 ***** managers. Left us, and looked like a goal scorer again.

aberhibsfc
31-08-2022, 08:49 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HaO22tqX-SU

31-08-2022, 08:52 PM
Anything in the rumours about us wanting to sign Jack fitzwater and Joseph hungbo ?

Would he surprised with Hungbo, plays mainly right wing which is a position we’ll have loads of options in.

Don’t know if he can play behind the striker, a very good player though. Fast, strong and very tricky, good left foot too.

Fitzwater would be a good addition.

31-08-2022, 08:54 PM

Hungbo had some game time for Watford this season?

cameronw-hfc
31-08-2022, 08:54 PM
See Mckirdy uploaded a pic after the ban for throwing the protein shake onto his Instagram drinking a shake with the caption "note to self. Protein shakes r for drinkin. C u all soon"

:greengrinseems like a right laugh at the least. Will fit in well here I think. Him and Boyle in the dressing room together will be chaos

31-08-2022, 08:56 PM
He’s only saying exactly what the majority on here have been saying for weeks.

Around 5 weeks ago he wrote an article praising the start Ewan Henderson has had to the season and now he’s criticising him :dunno:

Tam, for some reason, has started slavouring a load of **** recently. Mostly could be lifted off this board.

stevie-bee
31-08-2022, 08:57 PM
Guy looks a player in that video,

Percy Vere
31-08-2022, 09:06 PM
Looks like Mckirdy over the line.
Personal terms agreed.

Sioux
31-08-2022, 09:10 PM

As already mentioned, exactly the same as the clientele on here.

Renfrew_Hibby
31-08-2022, 09:12 PM
https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=PYje1LECREQ

His clobber is something else.

31-08-2022, 09:16 PM
https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=PYje1LECREQ

His clobber is something else.

Just off to a music festival I hope! 🤣

Paulie Walnuts
31-08-2022, 09:17 PM
Around 5 weeks ago he wrote an article praising the start Ewan Henderson has had to the season and now he’s criticising him :dunno:

Tam, for some reason, has started slavouring a load of **** recently. Mostly could be lifted off this board.

Henderson deserved praise for his performances 5 weeks ago. They’ve been rotten since. I’m not sure he’s that far off :dunno:

Cat Stanton
31-08-2022, 09:18 PM
Guy looks a player in that video,

I could look a good player in these videos. But I'm not. But hopefully he is.

JamesHFC
31-08-2022, 09:20 PM
McKirdy to Hibs, Moult to Hearts.

Mcbizz1998
31-08-2022, 09:26 PM
I have a feeling this McKirdy lad is going to be a bit of a hero.

That’s good enough for me.

Moult is a huge risk.

Undoubtedly a good player as he proved at Motherwell but he’s incredibly injury prone, if he’s fit he’ll do well.

Another injury prone player isn’t something we can risk, personally really excited about McKirdy.

Halmyre Hibee
31-08-2022, 09:27 PM

If we got these two it would be a great window and McKirdy of course.

31-08-2022, 09:27 PM
Henderson deserved praise for his performances 5 weeks ago. They’ve been rotten since. I’m not sure he’s that far off :dunno:

is he just going to write an article every 4 games?

31-08-2022, 09:28 PM
Another personality

Keep them coming

Miss Cummings, Boyle, McGinn, you need 2/3 in the camp to keep the squad together imo

31-08-2022, 09:31 PM

Any news on a Central midfielder / Centre back ?

McGruber
31-08-2022, 09:35 PM
McKirdy
Nisbet
Boyle
Youan
Melkerson
Bojang
McGeady
Tavares

That is some amount of attacking options - no real target man/physical option though - something I think you always need in the Scottish leagues, even if it is to change it up or come off the bench.

Paulie Walnuts
31-08-2022, 09:36 PM
is he just going to write an article every 4 games?

Probably if someone wants to pay him for it.

31-08-2022, 09:38 PM
Not yet

JamesHFC
31-08-2022, 09:43 PM

Just what was reported today. A defender has been priority for most the window from what I've heard. Genuinely surprised we are going into the last day of the window without one.

HendoDelivered
31-08-2022, 09:45 PM
Just what was reported today. A defender has been priority for most the window from what I've heard. Genuinely surprised we are going into the last day of the window without one.

Its Hibs mate, don’t be surprised

King Cosell
31-08-2022, 09:48 PM
This is probably a really dumb question but will McKirdy be suspended up here?

CentreForward
31-08-2022, 09:50 PM
This is probably a really dumb question but will McKirdy be suspended up here?

Think so and much the same way that Tavares was when he came here. Think he may have served one game already so two more to go.

31-08-2022, 09:51 PM
This is probably a really dumb question but will McKirdy be suspended up here?I believe so

I do Find that rule weird (unless it Suazez type suspension) but it is what it is

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

31-08-2022, 09:59 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HaO22tqX-SU That is a really good show reel. Left foot, right foot, drives past players and for me does what we are most missing - gets across defenders and attacks the near post. It is a show reel though so it all depends if he can settle and the skills at that level translate to a higher level and a league where referees almost encourage defenders to hack away at fast players who dribble with the ball

Delighted we went to get a striker in but I still think we need a No 9

31-08-2022, 10:08 PM
That is a really good show reel. Left foot, right foot, drives past players and for me does what we are most missing - gets across defenders and attacks the near post. It is a show reel though so it all depends if he can settle and the skills at that level translate to a higher level and a league where referees almost encourage defenders to hack away at fast players who dribble with the ball

Delighted we went to get a striker in but I still think we need a No 9

Was trying to remember who he reminded me of and it’s just dawned on me it’s Paul Sturrock, for those of you of an older persuasion.

The way he runs, slight frame and socks rolled down. If he’s half the player Sturrock was we’re in for a treat.:greengrin

zitelli62
31-08-2022, 10:19 PM
If he's half as good as his showreel ill be delighted.

31-08-2022, 10:28 PM

Neilsen says Hearts not going for Moult.

https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hearts/hearts-hope-for-busy-deadline-day-with-new-signings-as-robbie-neilson-admits-you-can-see-we-need-a-few-3826591

31-08-2022, 10:33 PM
It's interesting that Kickback has a few folk bemoaning there poor window - 3 months to replace simms and haven't done it

"We*will have a very*uninspiring season without some drastic action tomorrow."

"We knew in March we would have European football. We needed to replace Souttar and Simms 3 months ago and have pissed about signing positions that were least priority. Would go as far as saying we need 5 players in which will never happen."

"You think Joe Savage has had a good window so far?
Is our squad how you expected it to look after a £5m windfall.
Even Robbie sounded pissed off in his post match interview."

31-08-2022, 10:40 PM
It's interesting that Kickback has a few folk bemoaning there poor window - 3 months to replace simms and haven't done it

"We*will have a very*uninspiring season without some drastic action tomorrow."

"We knew in March we would have European football. We needed to replace Souttar and Simms 3 months ago and have pissed about signing positions that were least priority. Would go as far as saying we need 5 players in which will never happen."

"You think Joe Savage has had a good window so far?
Is our squad how you expected it to look after a £5m windfall.
Even Robbie sounded pissed off in his post match interview."

Neilsen talking about the players being fatigued (see link I posted above). It's still only August, they've had just 2 European matches and didn't have to play LC group stage so if they're fatigued already then they'll be f***ed when the Conference group matches come around. Have they got that many injuries? Thought they'd be about the same as us.

31-08-2022, 10:47 PM

He's writing a column for the Daily Record - slavering sheight a prerequisite Shirley!

phoenixfire
31-08-2022, 11:00 PM
McKirdy
Nisbet
Boyle
Youan
Melkerson
Bojang
McGeady
Tavares

That is some amount of attacking options - no real target man/physical option though - something I think you always need in the Scottish leagues, even if it is to change it up or come off the bench.

Is good to have so many attackers though I'd still be worried that our current midfield wouldn't provide enough chances for them . Still living in hope for a creative attacking midfielder too.Get what you mean about physical target option though when you look at Celtic and arsenal don't think they have that either it's all about pace and movement . Specially watching Celtic v Dundee utd the last night ,kyogo ,jota,abada not physical but with good pace and movement .hopefully we can have our own style of play like that . Here's hoping anyhow:wink:

31-08-2022, 11:15 PM
Is good to have so many attackers though I'd still be worried that our current midfield wouldn't provide enough chances for them . Still living in hope for a creative attacking midfielder too.Get what you mean about physical target option though when you look at Celtic and arsenal don't think they have that either it's all about pace and movement . Specially watching Celtic v Dundee utd the last night ,kyogo ,jota,abada not physical but with good pace and movement .hopefully we can have our own style of play like that . Here's hoping anyhow:wink:

Aye excatly we don't create enough from central and trams know that.

Unless Johnson is relying on Magennis or even a fit Mcgeady who did play as an AM for a bit in pre season then let's go all out for Rogic.

31-08-2022, 11:27 PM
Rogic ? If only.

31-08-2022, 11:41 PM

Great highlights reel - lots of skill, pace and - most importantly - quality finishing on display. Of course, highlights reels only show the good bits & English 4th tier may be flattering him slightly but not that much I suspect. That level is on average stronger than Scottish Championship for example. If he's ready to meet the physical challenges of that league then he should be just as ready to get stuck into SPL football and that's what we need as well as the handy knack of putting the ball in the net.

ehf
31-08-2022, 11:48 PM
#announce Nelson Viegas!

aberhibsfc
01-09-2022, 12:16 AM
#announce Nelson Viegas!

The 5ft 7in defender?

01-09-2022, 04:35 AM
Another personality

Keep them coming

Miss Cummings, Boyle, McGinn, you need 2/3 in the camp to keep the squad together imo

:agree: And some nice skills. Just hope he's ready for the blootering he's going to get up here from Scottish defenders. They'll not take kindly to those little flicks and dribbles.

NC1875
01-09-2022, 05:05 AM
Rogic ? If only.

Free agent so could sign after today anyway. Can’t see it but would be our best signing in years.

01-09-2022, 05:15 AM
Free agent so could sign after today anyway. Can’t see it but would be our best signing in years.

Good player but wouldn't even be our best Australian signing this window.

Injury record a worry. Big wages. No pre season. Would probably be a disaster.

01-09-2022, 05:51 AM
McKirdy
Nisbet
Boyle
Youan
Melkerson
Bojang
McGeady
Tavares

There's this boy at Killie we should be looking at; big, gangling, Welsh...

01-09-2022, 05:58 AM
McKirdy
Nisbet
Boyle
Youan
Melkerson
Bojang
McGeady
Tavares

Am no sure. Melkerson, Bojang and Tavares are far from the level we require. Tavares in particular looks like he should be in the development squad for a season.

McGeady may never be seen leaving us Boyle and Youann. Nisbet to come back later.

It’s not great.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

01-09-2022, 06:15 AM
Neilsen talking about the players being fatigued (see link I posted above). It's still only August, they've had just 2 European matches and didn't have to play LC group stage so if they're fatigued already then they'll be f***ed when the Conference group matches come around. Have they got that many injuries? Thought they'd be about the same as us.
This is why it is essential to absolutely get our **** together and move up the league.

They will be fatigued because they don’t have the squad to deal with these constant games.

It will absolutely effect their domestic form.

We should take that to our advantage and put a gap between the teams that is really hard to overcome by the time they are out of europe.

Not looking likely though

01-09-2022, 06:24 AM
This is why it is essential to absolutely get our **** together and move up the league.

They will be fatigued because they don’t have the squad to deal with these constant games.

It will absolutely effect their domestic form.

We should take that to our advantage and put a gap between the teams that is really hard to overcome by the time they are out of europe.

Not looking likely though

Early days yet and hopefully with a couple of signings today we can kick on.

As for them, well BIG teams with BIG budgets manage!

01-09-2022, 06:37 AM
http://bit.ly/3CLPiXX

Hibs are closing in on Swindown's Harry McKirdy.

The clubs have agreed a deal and now the forward is heading to Scotland to put the finishing touches to his Easter Road switch.

McKirdy will have his medical on Thursday before signing a long-term contract.

Mikey Johnstone joining a Portuguese team

01-09-2022, 06:40 AM
Early days yet and hopefully with a couple of signings today we can kick on.

As for them, well BIG teams with BIG budgets manage!

I expect that all three of us them n the sheep would be the same in their position.

That is why, for me, it is vital that hearts do not get group stage football again.

If they do, they will truly be able to cement their place there and start working toward a squad that can deal with the rigours of fighting in more than 1 front.

01-09-2022, 06:46 AM
I expect that all three of us them n the sheep would be the same in their position.

That is why, for me, it is vital that hearts do not get group stage football again.

If they do, they will truly be able to cement their place there and start working toward a squad that can deal with the rigours of fighting in more than 1 front.

You’re right and let’s hope we can push on.

01-09-2022, 07:54 AM
http://bit.ly/3CLPiXX

Hibs are closing in on Swindown's Harry McKirdy.

The clubs have agreed a deal and now the forward is heading to Scotland to put the finishing touches to his Easter Road switch.

McKirdy will have his medical on Thursday before signing a long-term contract.

Mikey Johnstone joining a Portuguese team

Without a centre mid then it’s meaningless. The team will fail and Johnson will be gone.

01-09-2022, 07:58 AM
Without a centre mid then it’s meaningless. The team will fail and Johnson will be gone.

It’s not meaningless. We still need a striker and if it’s a decent striker they’ll be worth a few extra goals (we don’t currently have a number 9 who can put the ball in the net) which will mean extra points.

Midfield not being addressed makes no sense and will prevent us doing anything particularly good but a proper striker will still improve us.

Crunchie
01-09-2022, 08:09 AM

You're like a broken down old record on repeat.

01-09-2022, 08:09 AM
You're like a broken down old record on repeat.

So’s our midfield.

01-09-2022, 08:11 AM
So’s our midfield.

I can’t believe how people can’t see it

01-09-2022, 08:11 AM
It’s not meaningless. We still need a striker and if it’s a decent striker they’ll be worth a few extra goals (we don’t currently have a number 9 who can put the ball in the net) which will mean extra points.

Midfield not being addressed makes no sense and will prevent us doing anything particularly good but a proper striker will still improve us.

Being a little bit less crap isn’t going to get the fans very excited though.

01-09-2022, 08:15 AM
I can’t believe how people can’t see it

People can see it, but to say it’s pointless to recruit in other areas that are needed as well is wrong

AugustaHibs
01-09-2022, 08:17 AM
Dynel Simeu

01-09-2022, 08:18 AM
People can see it, but to say it’s pointless to recruit in other areas that are needed as well is wrong

That’s all we have done for last three windows though and look where it’s got us.

01-09-2022, 08:19 AM

Celtic have Giorgos Giakoumakis.

Arsenal maybe don’t have a Giroud anymore but they have other very physical players including the midfield and back line plus very good front players.

My concern now is we need some physicality up front or at worst midfield unless you are very good on ball. If a team sits back and we can’t break them down - scoring off crosses will be a challenge.

Our midfield needs added to 100%.

01-09-2022, 08:23 AM
According to reports

Hearts make Ramirez and Johnston enquiries
Hearts have made loan enquiries for Aberdeen striker Christian Ramirez and Celtic winger Mikey Johnston.

LunasBoots
01-09-2022, 08:24 AM
So’s our midfield.

Yup, it's OK signing strikers etc but we are still working with the same midfield which has needed addressed for long enough.

01-09-2022, 08:25 AM
​
According to reports

Hearts have made loan enquiries for Aberdeen striker Christian Ramirez and Celtic winger Mikey Johnston.

I heard Mikey J was going to Portugal

01-09-2022, 08:26 AM
According to reports

Good signings if they got them

01-09-2022, 08:27 AM
That’s all we have done for last three windows though and look where it’s got us.

I understand that chief. I agree we need to have better in midfield. Absolutely agree and have said it for a long time.

We shouldn’t not improve other areas of the team though

01-09-2022, 08:28 AM
https://www.newsandstar.co.uk/sport/20142131.southampton-loanee-dynel-simeu-issues-classy-parting-message-carlisle-united-fans/

01-09-2022, 08:28 AM
Dynel Simeu

Meltdown in 3,2,1…

01-09-2022, 08:29 AM
https://twitter.com/alfiehouseecho/status/1565253166236565505?s=21&t=TqNijFklQGK0WMyxx_6CQw

https://twitter.com/nizaarkinsella/status/1565251525944942595?s=21&t=TqNijFklQGK0WMyxx_6CQw

01-09-2022, 08:31 AM
Dynel Simeu

This kind of signing was always going to happen after LJ’s comments at the weekend. Hopefully he’s better than Nathan Wood.

01-09-2022, 08:34 AM
https://twitter.com/alfiehouseecho/status/1565253166236565505?s=21&t=TqNijFklQGK0WMyxx_6CQw

https://twitter.com/nizaarkinsella/status/1565251525944942595?s=21&t=TqNijFklQGK0WMyxx_6CQw

Right footed CB

Mcbizz1998
01-09-2022, 08:34 AM

So uninspiring. Unbelievable really.

Paulie Walnuts
01-09-2022, 08:36 AM
So uninspiring. Unbelievable really.

Yeah. Disappointing if he’s the only centre back coming in. The chat of Fitzwater was much more like the level we should be getting in imo.

Is this guy really going to be that much better than McLelland?

01-09-2022, 08:37 AM
Meltdown in 3,2,1…

A 20 year old with limited to no senior playing experience? Or have I got that wrong?

01-09-2022, 08:37 AM
This guy sounds decent to me.

Successful loan spell last season so - unlike Wood - it's not like he's never played regular first team football for anyone before.

He's a sticking plaster and I have no idea what our long term plans are for rebuilding the defence but I don't suspect our recruitment team has the first idea either.

Not ideal, but under the circumstances - sort of ideal?

01-09-2022, 08:38 AM
Just to be clear as we begin TDD, have we actually formally signed anyone over the previous two days?

01-09-2022, 08:39 AM
Just to be clear as we begin TDD, have we actually formally signed anyone over the previous two days?No - not announced anyway

Successful loan spell last season so - unlike Wood - it's not like he's never played regular first team football for anyone before.

He's a sticking plaster and I have no idea what our long term plans are for rebuilding the defence but I don't suspect our recruitment team has the first idea either.

More like business as usual and therefore not what is required.

I find it odd the centre half were after isn’t left footed.

He looks to have similar style in terms of physicality to Rocky based on very small clips.

Clearly want a strong, mobile and aggressive centre half

ElginHibbie
01-09-2022, 08:41 AM

As injury cover for Rocky I think he is ideal, but as we really needed another CB before that can understand the frustration of others

01-09-2022, 08:42 AM
No - not announced anyway

FFS. I predict that by the end of today I will have lost faith in the present club management. If I do so for the reasons I fear then I suspect that by Christmas - if not before - I will likely also have lost faith in the manager.

Please, please prove me wrong Hibs.

01-09-2022, 08:42 AM
FFS. I predict that by the end of today I will have lost faith in the present club management. If I do so for the reasons I fear then I suspect that by Christmas - if not before - I will likely also have lost faith in the manager.

Please, please prove me wrong Hibs.Why? Because we havnt signed anyone over the past 48 hours?

Lol

01-09-2022, 08:43 AM

Please, please prove me wrong Hibs.

3 posts in as many minutes. Calm down to a panic.

01-09-2022, 08:43 AM

Agree

01-09-2022, 08:44 AM

GreenGray
01-09-2022, 08:44 AM

Rogic a disaster?? Jesus Christ he was arguably Celtics best player last season, he’d be brilliant for us.

Paulie Walnuts
01-09-2022, 08:46 AM
Rogic a disaster?? Jesus Christ he was arguably Celtics best player last season, he’d be brilliant for us.

Rogic would be our best player by a distance.

Unfortunately he’ll never be our player.

01-09-2022, 08:46 AM
Hibs linked with Ethan Galbraith

01-09-2022, 08:47 AM
Linked with a midfielder!!!!!!!

https://twitter.com/unitedstandmufc/status/1565250373912330242?s=21&t=TqNijFklQGK0WMyxx_6CQw

21 year old Ethan Galbraith

01-09-2022, 08:47 AM
Yeah. Disappointing if he’s the only centre back coming in. The chat of Fitzwater was much more like the level we should be getting in imo.

Is this guy really going to be that much better than McLelland?

I'm hoping allowing Doidge to go suggests we've got a striker signed

01-09-2022, 08:48 AM

01-09-2022, 08:50 AM

https://twitter.com/unitedstandmufc/status/1565250373912330242?s=21&t=TqNijFklQGK0WMyxx_6CQw

Played a season at Doncaster and has NI caps. Wouldn't be averse to this signing.

01-09-2022, 08:51 AM
I wonder if Fitzwater will end up at our pink chums

Paulie Walnuts
01-09-2022, 08:52 AM
Any idea what type of midfielder Ethan Galbraith is?

01-09-2022, 08:52 AM
Why? Because we havnt signed anyone over the past 48 hours?

Lol

Err no, because this transfer 'window' consisted of 12 weeks (83 days to be exact) and by this point Hibernian are now down to the last 14 hours in which to sign the first team ready the CB, CM and CF we need.

Unless something unprecedented happens before midnight this has turned out as 5hite as I predicted it would at the very start of the window. A point at which some very complacent people were giving it 'Relax, there's ages to go. We shouldn't be signing players quickly, we should be signing the right players'. How's that working out?

01-09-2022, 08:53 AM
Any idea what type of midfielder Ethan Galbraith is?

Galbraith can operate as a six, eight, or ten in midfield and has also filled in as a winger and central defender. His stats for recoveries in the opposition half – averaging more than seven per game – would make him well suited to Lee Johnson’s high-press style of play.

From the recent article posted by Patrick

Paulie Walnuts
Err no, because this transfer 'window' consisted of 12 weeks (83 days to be exact) and by this point Hibernian are now down to the last 14 hours in which to sign the first team ready the CB, CM and CF we need.

Unless something unprecedented happens before midnight this has turned out as 5hite as I predicted it would at the very start of the window. A point at which some very complacent people were giving it 'Relax, there's ages to go. We shouldn't be signing players quickly, we should be signing the right players'. How's that working out?

Still though, some people will play dumb and pretend you’re angry that we didn’t sign anyone while you were sleeping and think they’re really clever because of it.

GreenGray
Rogic would be our best player by a distance.

Unfortunately he’ll never be our player.

Yeah no chance we’d get him I just cant believe I saw someone saying he wouldn’t be a good signing!

Paulie Walnuts
01-09-2022, 08:54 AM
Yeah no chance we’d get him I just cant believe I saw someone saying he wouldn’t be a good signing!

Not even just not a good signing, a disaster.

Mental. The guy is/was one of the best players in Scottish football.

01-09-2022, 08:54 AM

Yeah, because our strategy and signings to this point have been really reassuring... :rolleyes:

01-09-2022, 08:55 AM
Being a little bit less crap isn’t going to get the fans very excited though.

Having a crap midfield doesn’t make everything else meaningless though. We, IMO, finished third with a crap midfield because other areas of the team were strong.

I want a midfielder more than anything by the way.

Clarence
01-09-2022, 08:56 AM

Rogic is already a Hibs legend in my book. He missed the penalty for celtic in the Scottish cup semi in 2016 that set up our final with rangers. The rest is history.

01-09-2022, 08:56 AM
Having a crap midfield doesn’t make everything else meaningless though. We, IMO, finished third with a crap midfield because other areas of the team were strong.

I want a midfielder more than anything by the way.

If it doesn’t happen, we should be looking to bring Tait into the squad, just for the sake of freshening things up. He looked good v Norwich.

01-09-2022, 08:57 AM
Think Galbraith is really highly rated by all accounts.

You just need to look at the impact Levitt and clarkson have had on United and Aberdeen during their loan spells too.

Johnson has mentioned his contacts before and made really good loans at previous teams so I’m encouraged by them more than normal.

As long as whoever comes in suits our style.

Unless something unprecedented happens before midnight this has turned out as 5hite as I predicted it would at the very start of the window. A point at which some very complacent people were giving it 'Relax, there's ages to go. We shouldn't be signing players quickly, we should be signing the right players'. How's that working out?Wait....

Have we signed anyone in the past 48 hours?

No

"FFS. I predict that by the end of today I will have lost faith in the present club management. If I do so for the reasons I fear then I suspect that by Christmas - if not before - I will likely also have lost faith in the manager.

Please, please prove me wrong Hibs."

What if we had? What if we sign 3 today?

Trinity Hibee
Yeah, because our strategy and signings to this point have been really reassuring... :rolleyes:

I share your frustrations. Guess we’ll have to wait until tonight to see what we do have. A few rumours flying about so hopefully we get at least 2 maybe 3 in in the positions we need.

01-09-2022, 08:59 AM

I hope Hibs have at least approached him. Offer him a 6 month deal, or maybe until the end of the season with an agreement we won’t stand in his way if he has another club lined up in January, with a view to him making the World Cup squad and not having to uproot from Glasgow. Still unlikely but worth asking the question. A short term fix but what an upgrade he would be on our midfield.

01-09-2022, 09:01 AM
TDD is brilliant

A few days ago up in arms about us no signing anybody

10am and we are linked with a CD, CM and a forward

Ffs Hibs! Shambles

01-09-2022, 09:02 AM
At least the latest linked players have experience to help the younger guys …

01-09-2022, 09:03 AM
Wait....

Have we signed anyone in the past 48 hours?

No

"FFS. I predict that by the end of today I will have lost faith in the present club management. If I do so for the reasons I fear then I suspect that by Christmas - if not before - I will likely also have lost faith in the manager.

Please, please prove me wrong Hibs."

What if we had? What if we sign 3 today?

Are you being deliberately disingenuous or just complacent?

We have in no way shape or form signed the players we need during the many weeks of this window. I asked if we had signed anyone in the last couple of days to check whether we had in fact signed anyone in the last couple of days. Given that we haven't we are still way, way short of what everyone can see is needed.

If we sign for those three positions today - and if they are of starting quality, not just kids out of their depth - I'd have a lot more faith in our management and our prospects. If we don't we will deserve everything we get.

Paulie Walnuts
01-09-2022, 09:03 AM
TDD is brilliant

Ffs Hibs! Shambles

You’ve conveniently missed the part about where people have said we need real proven quality. Which I’m sure you know is the reason people are up in arms but you’re choosing to ignore.

phoenixfire
01-09-2022, 09:04 AM
Celtic have Giorgos Giakoumakis.

Arsenal maybe don’t have a Giroud anymore but they have other very physical players including the midfield and back line plus very good front players.

My concern now is we need some physicality up front or at worst midfield unless you are very good on ball. If a team sits back and we can’t break them down - scoring off crosses will be a challenge.

Our midfield needs added to 100%.

Totally agree about our midfield needs added too though think we are in need of attacking midfielder.Arsenal haven't Giroud now and are less physical upfront now but it seems to be working so far.As for their backline we have porto , Hanlon and rocky who are pretty physical imo. Celtic have Giorgio's Giakoumakis though I think he didn't come on against hammering off Dundee utd it was kyogo , jota and abada that done the demage . And while a big target man would give us a different option I don't think it's should be a matter of priority .Fix the midfield and with attacking options we have now we will score a lot of goals .just my opinion though :aok:

01-09-2022, 09:05 AM
You’ve conveniently missed the part about where people have said we need real proven quality. Which I’m sure you know is the reason people are up in arms but you’re choosing to ignore.

If people have seen them play and are up in arms then fair enough.

But they’re going on presumption, we could sign a Josh Vela who everyone was really excited about but turned out to be garbage.

I trust if it’s loans it’s someone Johnson has good contacts with in England, a market he’s used sell before.

01-09-2022, 09:06 AM
TDD is brilliant

Ffs Hibs! Shambles

Is it ok if we post our own thoughts today or are you going to jump on every one that you don't agree with?!!

Paulie Walnuts
01-09-2022, 09:06 AM
If people have seen them play and are up in arms then fair enough.

But they’re going on presumption, we could sign a Josh Vela who everyone was really excited about but turned out to be garbage.

I trust if it’s loans it’s someone Johnson has good contacts with in England, a market he’s used sell before.

People will go on presumption and past experience of our success in the same market for near enough every signing we make. And our loan signings from England are near enough always absolutely useless.

01-09-2022, 09:07 AM
You’ve conveniently missed the part about where people have said we need real proven quality. Which I’m sure you know is the reason people are up in arms but you’re choosing to ignore.Again though, how can we tell until they play (if we even sign them?)

The boy at Aberdeen looks a very good player

Levitt made a big diff at utd last season

Who knows what a 21 year from man utd is like? All I read is he's highly regarded

Unless the folk moaning about it have seen them play and regard them as garbage?

To be fair though Tom Rogic doenst even get universal approval so it's probably best just ignoring everything [emoji23]

01-09-2022, 09:12 AM
Is it ok if we post our own thoughts today or are you going to jump on every one that you don't agree with?!!Il respond to what's posted if I chose too

I'm not 'jumping on everyone' but pointing out that probbaly no one knows anything about Galbraith for example

Its just moan for moan sake

Moan about us no signing anyone

Now we are being linked with players, Moan about someone on loan who likley they don't even know what he looks like never mind how good a footballer he is

I'm assuming our manager has extensive knowledge of the English Market but thats disregarded as we signed someone on loan who was pish before

Paulie Walnuts
Again though, how can we tell until they play (if we even sign them?)

Who knows what a 21 year from man utd is like? All I read is he's highly regarded

Unless the folk moaning about it have seen them play and regard them as garbage?

To be fair though Tom Rogic doenst even get universal approval so it's probably best just ignoring everything [emoji23]

That logic can go for absolutely everybody we sign. You could say the same if we signed someone from Vale of Leithen that they should be judged on their own merit blah blah. We’d all know that’s not what we need though.

Young laddies on loan from teams down south rarely work out for us. It’s not what we need right now.

The League Cup dodgers are after Ramirez from Aberdeen.

01-09-2022, 09:13 AM
That logic can go for absolutely everybody we sign. You could say the same if we signed someone from Vale of Leithen.

Young laddies on loan from teams down south rarely work out for us. It’s not what we need right now.He's an full internationalist btw.

Paulie Walnuts
01-09-2022, 09:14 AM
He's an full internationalist btw.

So were numerous poor players who have come through our doors.

01-09-2022, 09:15 AM
So were numerous poor players who have come through our doors.But at 21?

What makes you think he's worse option than some 26 year old in league 1?

Or what level are you expecting us to sign from?

You've sort of proved my point though too - nothing is guarenteed

We signed internationalist before that havnt worked out

But this isn't some kid as you alluded to that has no experience

01-09-2022, 09:17 AM

Jarkko Wiss, 40 caps for Finland.

01-09-2022, 09:18 AM
Again though, how can we tell until they play (if we even sign them?)

Very true Callum and every player deserves a chance - but only last week our manager wanted ‘ready made’ players, hinting at experienced pros. These loanees (if they arrive) go against his apparent wishes.

Keen to see how the day develops. McKirdy looks a good addition, looks very lively which will compliment Boyle and Youan. Knows where the goals are that’s the important thing.

01-09-2022, 09:19 AM
Jarkko Wiss, 40 caps for Finland.He was older too. Experienced

That's the point, each on there own merits

How can we right off all loans because we signed some before that were poor?

Or right off all international level players because some were poor before?

01-09-2022, 09:19 AM

You really are an optimism vacuum.

Hibee Daft
01-09-2022, 09:20 AM
If we get center back and midfielder loans in and a striker id be pretty happy with that.

Gonna reserve judgement on how good they might be until i get to watch them tho 🤯

Trinity Hibee
01-09-2022, 09:22 AM

Excellent contribution.

phoenixfire
01-09-2022, 09:23 AM

Just watched him utube ,looks a very good player with what I saw !

Paulie Walnuts
01-09-2022, 09:24 AM

Do you actually have any thoughts on Hibs or is abusing other posters your sole contribution to this forum?

Very true Callum and every player deserves a chance - but only last week our manager wanted ‘ready made’ players, hinting at experienced pros. These loanees (if they arrive) go against his apparent wishes.

Keen to see how the day develops. McKirdy looks a good addition, looks very lively which will compliment Boyle and Youan. Knows where the goals are that’s the important thing.I'd take a different look on what ready made players mean

I'd thibk a 21 year old who's quility is good enough for this league wins out over a 28 year old who's just played alot of games

Ready made if your good doesn't rely on age

We have a squad full of enough experince already imo

In a couple of months there will be threads on here discussing whether there is a realistic chance of making Galbraith’s loan deal permanent.

Feel free to bookmark this post.

01-09-2022, 09:25 AM
Do you actually have any thoughts on Hibs or is abusing other posters your sole contribution to this forum?

Read my post history. Plenty to say some positive some negative.
What I never do is post the same thing over and over again just worded slightly differently.

01-09-2022, 09:25 AM
But at 21?

At the start of the window did you think we would be addressing the spine of the team on the last day of the window with a 20 year old defender and a 21 year old midfielder, both on loan? Both might be good signings, or they might be raw and end up closer to being more squad depth.

There’s nothing wrong with youngsters from a higher level on loan. Others, like Aberdeen, have used that market well. Those types of signings should be to supplement the team, not a short term fix to paper over the cracks and rely on them fixing the spine of the team.

Paulie Walnuts
01-09-2022, 09:26 AM
But at 21?

Of course nothing is guaranteed.

As trueHibernian said, LJ said he wanted ready made players. That’s exactly what we need. We’ve signed god knows how many players this summer who aren’t ready made and they’re now not getting in our team.

Ready made players is what we need and that’s not what these guys are. We need proven quality players who can come in and lift our team up a level.

Paulie Walnuts
01-09-2022, 09:26 AM
Read my post history. Plenty to say some positive some negative.
What I never do is post the same thing over and over again just worded slightly differently.

Well done you, thanks for pointing out how class you are.

For someone that has been trawling round the place abusing posters with an opinion you don’t like, I’d beg to differ that you don’t go round posting the same crap over and over. It’s just that it’s not Hibs related.

01-09-2022, 09:27 AM
At the start of the window did you think we would be addressing the spine of the team on the last day of the window with a 20 year old defender and a 21 year old midfielder, both on loan? Both might be good signings, or they might be raw and end up closer to being more squad depth.

There’s nothing wrong with youngsters from a higher level on loan. Others, like Aberdeen, have used that market well. Those types of signings should be to supplement the team, not a short term fix to paper over the cracks and rely on them fixing the spine of the team.Why? What If they are good enough?

The defender is obviously to cover an injury

What If the midfielder (who btw we Wernt even in the Market to sign a few days ago apparently) is very good?

Why does it matter if they are 21 or 32?

01-09-2022, 09:28 AM

Simeu looks to have had a decent loan spell at Carlisle which is an improvement on the usual. If we sign him and Galbraith I would hope both are the "agreed permanent transfer if we want it" type loan deals we've done recently.

01-09-2022, 09:30 AM
Of course nothing is guaranteed.

As trueHibernian said, LJ said he wanted ready made players. That’s exactly what we need. We’ve signed god knows how many players this summer who aren’t ready made and they’re now not getting in our team.

Ready made players is what we need and that’s not what these guys are. We need proven quality players who can come in and lift our team up a level.Ready made, as I said above is surely just about quality they have now?

Liel Abada is young (20) - he's ready made

If we sign a midfielder on loan who goes right in and ends making an impact like Levitt, who cares what age they are?

Our squad is full of folk with enough experience anyway (most of them regarded as garbage btw [emoji23])

Paulie Walnuts
01-09-2022, 09:31 AM
Ready made, as I said above is surely just about quality they have now?

Liel Abada is young (20) - he's ready made

If we sign a midfielder on loan who goes right in and ends making an impact like Levitt, who cares what age they are?

Our squad is full of folk with enough experience anyway (most of them regarded as garbage btw [emoji23])

If you think Lee Johnson was talking about 20 year old laddies with little first team experience when he said ready made then you’re only kidding yourself on.