View Full Version : Greggs Summer 2022-23 transfer thread

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 [18] 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71

09-06-2022, 12:46 PM
There could have been an option for the player as well as one for the club?

and if the two had opposing views, who would have the veto in your scenario? Presumably the player in your point of view? It was never reported that the player had so you've made that up haven't you?

09-06-2022, 12:48 PM
The club is a shambles at the moment.

What a poor way to treat players. New contract given. Next week bye bye

No wonder season tickets sales are v low.

He wasn't given a new contract. He took up the option of another year on his existing contract. The club would need to wait and see if he took up that option up before telling him he would no longer be in the new managers plans. He could quite as easily walked away to another club but he didn't.

09-06-2022, 12:49 PM
Hearts confirm Lewis Neilson.

09-06-2022, 12:49 PM
Shambles, clueless, Iain Gordon, Kensell, shambles again etc etc

Am I doing it right?

09-06-2022, 12:50 PM
Sorry to prolong this debate as it's not really helping anyone but.....

For those in the "Hibs had no obligation to buy" camp. What significance then is the number of games played by Rocky? Why did Hibs mention this?

If Hibs had simply agreed in January with Norwich that, come the summer if we wanted to buy we'd have to pay let's say £200k.... why have Hibs mentioned the number of games triggering anything?

G15 Hibs
Yes it is;

Marshall
Macey
Dabrowski
Mitchell

McGinn
Porteous
Doig
Hanlon
Bushiri
Clarke
Cadden
Stevenson
Delferriere
Mitchell
McGregor

Newell
Doyle Hayes
Campbell
Tait
Hauge
Magennis
Henderson
Kenneh
Mackay

Nisbet
Doidge
Melkersen
Bojang

I'd say there's a lot of work required to that current list over the next month or so.

There's an awful lot of players in there that you think "yeah, they're not too bad", a couple you think "jeez, no thanks" and very few "aye, they're the business".

(And a few unknowns, of course)

Am I doing it right?
You forgot about "Petrie oot" ya bam.

09-06-2022, 12:51 PM

Am I doing it right?

Yes I think you have hit the nail on the head with your summary.

LeithMike
09-06-2022, 12:52 PM
It's not the word option, I have a problem with, it's coupling it with mandatory that is the issue. It was never mandatory that we sign Rocky, we had the option not too even though a certain number of appearances were made. Gut instinct is that Porto has an offer and is interested in moving on and so we have gone back and triggered the option. We shall see.

Option agreements always have an element of compulsion. For example, if Hibs activated their option to buy, Norwich would have been compelled to sell. Norwich obviously included some conditions which made the exercise of the option mandatory or non-optional. The fact that Hibs themselves say the option was triggered is a very big clue - i.e. once the trigger occurred the option crystallised and became non-optional.

It sounds like Hibs might have overlooked this as otherwise you would have expected RB not to have played in the requisite number of games and , for appearances, Hibs would have come out and said they had taken up the option rather than saying they had released him.

Its clearly nothing to do with Porteous.

Sent from my SM-N960F using Tapatalk

Scotty Leither
09-06-2022, 12:54 PM
Looks like we’re stuck with this model of the majority of our signings can be filed under “promising/development potential/one for the future”

It’s low risk (financially) as it screams “cheap”, but it’s high risk in terms of putting out a decent, consistent team that the fans can get onside with.

We are crying out for 5 first-team starters to be signed and pronto, so we can get some momentum off of these league cup games., but I suspect we’ll get another 2 guaranteed starters signed as a maximum.

Memo to Ian Gordon: This club is subject to a lot of scrutiny, and I for one don’t like seeing my club used as some kind of experiment or proving ground for untried players .

Maybe you want to pass that sentiment on to your old man?

evy
09-06-2022, 12:56 PM
An option triggered by a number of appearances............to me reads as an option to buy which was only available once a certain number of appearances has been reached. There will have been zero obligation to take that option up, as has previously been mentioned I don't think anyone would have expected Rocky to play as many games as he did last season.

Am I doing it right?

Haha. Look at me I’m an Uber fan and can’t see wrong in anything the club does. Am I doing this right?

If you want to have a pop at people who’re questioning the signings being made after finishing 8th last season then fair enough. Marshall aside for me there’s question marks surrounding our 3 other signings, Rocky especially as we all got a good look at him last season and he didn’t look anywhere near good enough for this level. 2 other young lads, both with very little first team action at a decent level.

Until people see signings that are worth getting excited about the club and our signing policy will continue to be questioned especially after January and last summer which were both disasters.

TelaStella
and whose choice is he?

That would be guessing as I wasn’t told anymore on the subject. My assumption would be Kensell’s.

09-06-2022, 12:57 PM
With regards to bushiri, like the rest of the team, he came in to a style of play that none of them could really meet the expectations of. Let's see what happens when he's playing the new system.

Not directed at you mate but there’s way too much stock placed on ‘systems’ - if you can’t pass consistently well, control a football, and have intuitive defensive positioning at pro level after years of professional coaching, systems don’t matter - it’s player ability that does. Bushiri is limited, poor, and this is a sign that Ian Gordon is utterly out of his depth. I had to check it’s not the 1st of April today and it’s not a horrible dream 😂

evy
09-06-2022, 12:58 PM
Haha. Look at me I’m an Uber fan and can’t see wrong in anything the club does. Am I doing this right?

If you want to have a pop at people who’re questioning the signings being made after finishing 8th last season then fair enough. Marshall aside for me there’s question marks surrounding our 3 other signings, Rocky especially as we all got a good look at him last season and he didn’t look anywhere near good enough for this level. 2 other young lads, both with very little first team action at a decent level.

Until people see signings that are worth getting excited about the club will continue to be questioned.

We could sign Messi and there'd still be posters in here complaining. You're kidding yourself if you think otherwise.

09-06-2022, 01:00 PM
We could sign Messi and there'd still be posters in here complaining. You're kidding yourself if you think otherwise.

No they wouldn’t, that’s total bull ****. Just like if we were to bring in a player that was proven elsewhere.

People are rightfully questioning the players that have been signed so far this window. Like they did last summer and they got put down, some even saying it had been a good summer signing wise.

That signing excites me a little more. Miller made A league team of the season. League might not be great but must have something about him

hibsforeurope
09-06-2022, 01:00 PM
but that was never informed to anyone by Hibs at the time, they only advised us that they had the option to buy in the summer, not that there was anything in the loan cotract that they would be forced to. I will take it as it is reported, i.e. Hibs had the option and chose to sign him. Just don't see any logic in the alternative from a Hibs perspective. Does anyone actually have it in writing that Hibs were forced to sign him? From LJs statement, he seems quite up for it highlighting the players strengths and such.

The option to sign was triggered by the number of games Rocky played on the loan spell, Hibs said as much.

The comments from LJ and IG are the least enthusiastic comments i've seen in a signing statement.

09-06-2022, 01:01 PM
Another signing.

https://twitter.com/hibernianfc/status/1534882996641210370?s=21&t=rmJszcB-3Nid0jl5CRG_uA

Steven79
Lewis Miller joins.

https://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/article/australian-u23-international-lewis-miller-joins-hibs

hibby rae

Until people see signings that are worth getting excited about the club and our signing policy will continue to be questioned especially after January and last summer which were both disasters.

Tbf by all accounts, Leeds didn't want to him to go and signing Kenneh is a real coup for us as well.

NC1875
09-06-2022, 01:02 PM
I'll be sorry to see McGinn go, as I rate the guy. Can't believe we have Rocky Bushiri on a 3 year deal either. I know which one I'd rather keep - and it ain't Bushiri.

McGinns not going anywhere. He’s got another year.

Another signing.

https://twitter.com/hibernianfc/status/1534882996641210370?s=21&t=rmJszcB-3Nid0jl5CRG_uA

Was mentioned earlier by someone we were after about from Australia a 21 year old right back
Unseen work narrowed it down to this boy

😁😁

Another signing.

More exciting.

09-06-2022, 01:03 PM
A-League TOTS at 20/21 years old. Exciting.

GreenGray
09-06-2022, 01:03 PM
and if the two had opposing views, who would have the veto in your scenario? Presumably the player in your point of view? It was never reported that the player had so you've made that up haven't you?

I said could. The wording of the statement says Bushiri has extended his stay rather than the club, so COULD be that.

Scotty Leither
09-06-2022, 01:04 PM
No they wouldn’t, that’s total bull ****. Just like if we were to bring in a player that was proven elsewhere.

People are rightfully questioning the players that have been signed so far this window. Like they did last summer and they got put down, some even saying it had been a good summer signing wise.

Our owner told us the January window was “good” as well.

GreenPJ
09-06-2022, 01:05 PM
Lewis Miller joins.

https://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/article/australian-u23-international-lewis-miller-joins-hibs

He's too young - send him back.

09-06-2022, 01:06 PM
First choice right back or backup to Cadden?

Stairway 2 7
09-06-2022, 01:07 PM
Lewis Miller joins.

Exciting signing that. Well thought of, wonder if Jason put in a good word

ElginHibbie

Maybe see Cadden as playing further forward?

There could have been an option for the player as well as one for the club?

I would expect the option would be along the lines of the club having already agreed a fee with Norwich should we have wished to do a permanent deal, however personal terms would still have had to be agreed with Rocky. More along the lines of the Kamberi loan to permanent deal, so yes I agree, Rocky would have had a say in the matter.

The poster I was replying to said "...clearly the option is with Rocky, and not us as a club." which is untrue. Both Rocky and the club would have come to an agreement.

Can also comfortably play left back so maybe just a good utility option.

supermcginn
McGinns not going anywhere. He’s got another year.

He's been told to leave and we have just signed his replacement from Australia.

09-06-2022, 01:08 PM
Defensively we did ok last year. 3rd least goals conceded. We must have been doing something right.

I rated Macey but according to many on here we have signed an improvement. Marshall could be a masterstroke.

Disappointed if we lose McGinn as he chipped in with a few gials as well as being solid defensively.

Rocky is 22 and developing. Solid unit, maybe just needs to add a bit composure to his game but a preseason, experience of the league and a new manager could see him prosper.

Porteous was the mainstay of the defence as Hanlon was out for so long and Stevenson was, well, just good old reliable Stevenson.

All in all I think we have far less to worry about defensively than we do in the forward areas.

G15 Hibs
09-06-2022, 01:08 PM
A noticeable difference in the wording of the statements re. today's signings. "Confirmed" that Rocky had signed, "Delighted" that Miller has.

Or maybe I'm reading too much into it again.

09-06-2022, 01:09 PM

Until people see signings that are worth getting excited about the club will continue to be questioned.

Find it an utterly bizarre attitude to think like that about young signings.

Do you really have that little faith in the new manager and club?

I lost it with the club at the end of last season, I was just done. If you want to check my posts feel free: labelling me as an uber fan is just nonsense.

09-06-2022, 01:10 PM
I think he’ll be good. Wonder how he fits in with us also having Cadden and Clarke who I imagine will both be seen as starters

MagicSwirlingShip
09-06-2022, 01:11 PM
Forza Fred any insight on this signing?

Stairway 2 7
I think he’ll be good. Wonder how he fits in with us also having Cadden and Clarke who I imagine will both be seen as starters

I'd doubt both are seen as defensive right backs. Think it spells soon for mcginn though

Must admit I’m really excited about Miller despite only learning about him this morning 🤣

Got in the squad of the year and is on the brink of a call up to the national team. A lot of fans seem to hold him in higher regard than Nathaniel Atkinson.

https://youtu.be/laab1kJb42I

I posted the above video earlier and to me he looks very good and very similar to Clarke which makes me think he’s being recalled.

Sorry to prolong this debate as it's not really helping anyone but.....

For those in the "Hibs had no obligation to buy" camp. What significance then is the number of games played by Rocky? Why did Hibs mention this?

If Hibs had simply agreed in January with Norwich that, come the summer if we wanted to buy we'd have to pay let's say £200k.... why have Hibs mentioned the number of games triggering anything?

Ah, now I can see why so many hold the opinion that Hibs did not have a decision to make. I wonder if logically Hibs had the option only if they used him often enough. In other words why would Hibs even consider buying him if they didn't play him that often. So we play him twelve/fifteen times whatever it was and so that means we trigger the option if we want to. If we only played him twice or once like Wood, then why would we trigger the option. If we didn't want to sign him then ultimately we would have played Darren McGregor more often. When he came in January the club said that the club has the option to buy in the summer, no caveats mentioned then. That was me thinking things out in writing, not pre thought.

09-06-2022, 01:15 PM
Mcginn signed/triggered the extension weeks before LJ came in. Just because it was announced last week doesn’t mean it wasn’t agreed beforehand

09-06-2022, 01:16 PM
https://www.instagram.com/reel/Cdwmij1hp34/?igshid=YmMyMTA2M2Y=

Hopefully he can show this level of skill whilst here

DinkyTwo
09-06-2022, 01:16 PM
There's an awful lot of players in there that you think "yeah, they're not too bad", a couple you think "jeez, no thanks" and very few "aye, they're the business".

(And a few unknowns, of course)There's already far too many 'work in progress' players.

That coupled with injuries and some player combinations which don't work has left us really short of where we need to be, but without much room for further movement.

I'm usually a bit of a happy clapper when it comes to Hibs, but I'm concerned we're about to be served up a different flavour of the same ***** as last season.

Sent from my Pixel 5 using Tapatalk

Brown Hibs
09-06-2022, 01:17 PM
Does this mean Clarke is away? Cadden, Clarke, Miller, Mcginn, Delferriere right/ wing back. Am I missing anyone? Clarke is one of our best players would be gutted if he is recalled.

McGruber
09-06-2022, 01:17 PM
Another youngster signed in Lewis Miller at 21. This one has a look and feel though that he is ready to play straight away and improve the team. Caveat only youtube though looks good, athletic looking like Clarke. Also in the team of the year in OZ. Positive vibes this one

09-06-2022, 01:18 PM
This seems a bit more like it.

Maybe Johnson wants a right back school in a similar vein to Yogi and his goalkeepers?

09-06-2022, 01:19 PM
Must admit I’m really excited about Miller despite only learning about him this morning ��

Got in the squad of the year and is on the brink of a call up to the national team. A lot of fans seem to hold him in higher regard than Nathaniel Atkinson.

I posted the above video earlier and to me he looks very good and very similar to Clarke which makes me think he’s being recalled.

Yes me too, looks as though even Celtic would find £6000,000 to take him off our hands. Who is he?

09-06-2022, 01:19 PM
This seems a bit more like it.

Maybe Johnson wants a right back school in a similar vein to Yogi and his goalkeepers?

Can we have a "striker school" if that means signing an appropriate amount of them to last a season?

09-06-2022, 01:20 PM
Sean Mackie and Stephen McGinn sign for Falkirk.

Spudster
09-06-2022, 01:21 PM
When we signed Clarke I though he was to play as a right sided CB then his debut was left mid :D
Cadden playing further forward? McGinn away? Clarke recalled or playing more centrally?

We're 100% aiming for the youngest team in the league eh?

Lewis Miller sounds like a real prospect though! Quite pleased with this one. Not sure if the Steven Fletcher chat mentioned earlier was just a laugh or not, but I'd be pleased with him signing as well. Especially with Melkersen and Bojang being so young and raw.

Well that was an interesting 13 pages to read through, I must remember not to leave it a day before clicking on this thread. Rocky's announcement does look like we were obligated, the language used in the announcement pretty much tells us that. I am in the minority but I think there is a player in there and with a coach that is known to improve players in charge I expect nothing less from Rocky in the coming season, he is 22 and has time to improve, if he doesn't improve this year I would look to sell/move on. Lewis Miller and Bojang are both kinda exciting signings for me but both are gambles. I might be mad but I am already excited for the coming season and I cannot wait until the league cup kicks off. I think there will be a lot more transfer activity with players leaving as well as more coming in, I like the rumour that Fletch is back in the building, his movement and intelligence will help the team no end.

Must admit I’m really excited about Miller despite only learning about him this morning 🤣

Watching that clip he looks similar to Harry Clarke in terms of his size and his running style. Seems to be decent at carrying the ball forward like Harry as well.

I'd imagine this will mean either Paul McGinn will leave or we think Arsenal will use the clause in Harry Clarke's loan deal to recall him this summer.

Could turn out to be a decent signing this one.

An option triggered by a number of appearances............to me reads as an option to buy which was only available once a certain number of appearances has been reached. There will have been zero obligation to take that option up, as has previously been mentioned I don't think anyone would have expected Rocky to play as many games as he did last season.

Something which would hold no value for Norwich. Only the obligation to buy would make sense from their perspective.

GRA
Not convinced by Rocky but new manager so new start. Prepared to give him a pre-season under his belt and see how he goes. Can't pass judgement on Miller & Bojang until I've seen them in action. Marshall will be key for us of that I'm certain.

09-06-2022, 01:24 PM
When we signed Clarke I though he was to play as a right sided CB then his debut was left mid :D
Cadden playing further forward? McGinn away? Clarke recalled or playing more centrally?

Personally I think Cadden could play centre midfield on the right of a 3. Hopefully competing with a fit Kyle Magennis.

With Miller and Clarke vying for RB.

09-06-2022, 01:25 PM
In your option.

That's ****ing superb.

09-06-2022, 01:25 PM
A noticeable difference in the wording of the statements re. today's signings. "Confirmed" that Rocky had signed, "Delighted" that Miller has.

Were we not delighted when we signed Rocky on loan in January, so just now confirming that that deal has now been made permanent therefore no need to be delighted again about something that we are already delighted about? :wink: :greengrin

09-06-2022, 01:28 PM

I am thinking Clarke is likely to be used more as a CH next season.

Saint Hibee
09-06-2022, 01:28 PM
I think it’s fair to say that we now have the right-back position covered.

09-06-2022, 01:29 PM
I am thinking Clarke is likely to be used more as a CH next season.

Forgot he can play CB. Seems like such a waste of his attributes to be playing him there.

DinkyTwo
09-06-2022, 01:30 PM
Must admit I’m really excited about Miller despite only learning about him this morning [emoji1787]

I posted the above video earlier and to me he looks very good and very similar to Clarke which makes me think he’s being recalled.If he's expected to perform like the clips here on a regular basis then I'd say he'll be first pick ahead of even Clarke and Cadden.

Another young guy but definitely more proven than who we've signed so far.

Quite excited about this one

Sent from my Pixel 5 using Tapatalk

09-06-2022, 01:30 PM

That's hyperbolic pish I'm afraid.

Bertie Wooster
09-06-2022, 01:31 PM
Is there a likelihood Porteous will be sold over the summer and McGinn / Bushiri will be the right centre half players ?

dunfyhibby
09-06-2022, 01:32 PM
Forza Fred any insight on this signing?

Forza Fred will know more I'm sure, but I watched a few CCM games at the end of the season and thought this guy looked the business!! Powerful and athletic!

G15 Hibs
09-06-2022, 01:33 PM
Were we not delighted when we signed Rocky on loan in January, so just now confirming that that deal has now been made permanent therefore no need to be delighted again about something that we are already delighted about? :wink: :greengrin

Merely confirming our permanent delight you mean? You might be onto something.

Delightful!

09-06-2022, 01:34 PM
It doesn't really matter how Rocky has ended up a Hibs player on a 3 year contract does it, the fact is it's happened.

What we know for sure is that the guy has yet to show in 15 appearances that he is up to the challenge of this league, his timing in the jump is from what I've seen woeful, as is his positioning .... I'm not saying he can't improve, maybe he'll surprise us all, but if he does it's from a depressingly low bar.

That's 4 players so far, one a keeper who might be past his best, a defender who has shown practically nothing in half a season at the club, a defensive midfielder with only English reserve team football experience and a striker who is a totally unknown quantity.

Even if you are a cup half full person it's hardly a shot across the bows of the clubs who finished above us last season and as a statement of intent to enthuse the fans about as useful as advice on attacking football from Craig Levine.

Yes I know there's time yet to see 3 or 4 signings who might get nods of approval and be well known enough that we can be relatively hopeful they can improve us. But so far the policy of signing possible promise with the hope of selling them later for quadzillions seems to be the one getting followed, that's fine, but just so long as someone at the club is brave enough to point out that a first team stuffed with such players is highly unlikely to succeed and that you need experience to bring them along.

If Hibs don't show a nod to that in the next few weeks ( and we lose Porto ) I'll have the bloody fear for next season.

Edit ... We now appear to have signed Lewis Miller, another youngster with promise, real promise if you go with what some folk who know about him have said, but yet again it does nothing to add experience. At what point do we run out of money and get left with team brought to training by their mums? My fear continues.

09-06-2022, 01:35 PM
We're 100% aiming for the youngest team in the league eh?

Lewis Miller sounds like a real prospect though! Quite pleased with this one. Not sure if the Steven Fletcher chat mentioned earlier was just a laugh or not, but I'd be pleased with him signing as well. Especially with Melkersen and Bojang being so young and raw.

Worked for Mogga, Teenage Kicks and all that.

Paulie Walnuts
09-06-2022, 01:35 PM
Tbf by all accounts, Leeds didn't want to him to go and signing Kenneh is a real coup for us as well.

Did Tom Taiwo not move to Chelsea as part of a £5m deal?

Kenneh may turn out good. I wouldn’t read all that much into them wanting him to stay at Leeds though. English clubs stockpile players like they’re going out of fashion.

09-06-2022, 01:36 PM
Looking at the Clips the start of the reel indicates he can okay RB/CB

09-06-2022, 01:37 PM
Merely confirming our permanent delight you mean? You might be onto something.

Delightful!

09-06-2022, 01:38 PM
Is there a likelihood Porteous will be sold over the summer and McGinn / Bushiri will be the right centre half players ?

Possibility Porto will be sold, no chance will it be McGinn / Bushiri as RHS centre halves

09-06-2022, 01:38 PM
Aberdeen rumoured to be signing Alen Halilovic.

Wow. That would be a signing.

Don't know if he's any good, but remember barca signing him when he was 16 or so.

09-06-2022, 01:43 PM
Still think we’ll see one more signing today.

That's ****ing superb.

much opinionated 👍

Guessing our starting line-up next season will look something like this:

Marshall

Miller/Cadden Clarke (new CB) Doig/Stevenson/Mitchell

Magennis (new CM) Newell/Henderson

Melkersen/(new forward) Nisbet (new forward)

On the Monopoly board that is Hibernian I'd say that the signings so far have us on Pall Mall, maybe Whitehall at a pinch. We could really do with someone up towards Leicester Square neck of the woods next.

If we continue with signings (and re-signings) of this type all the way through though then I fear the cumulative effective will be to drag us backward into Euston Road territory.

No idea why I picked this analogy but I guess I'll stick with it.

Don't know if he's any good, but remember barca signing him when he was 16 or so.

Bit of wonder kid when he was younger and got a couple of massive moves.

Slowly on the way down and was at reading last year, no idea what he’s actually like now.

09-06-2022, 01:44 PM

Hoping it's Steven Fletcher. Or maybe we're saving him for the new kit reveal!

On the Monopoly board that is Hibernian I'd say that the signings so far have us on Pall Mall, maybe Whitehall at a pinch. We could really do with someone up towards Leicester Square neck of the woods next.

If we continue with signings (and re-signings) of this type all the way through though then I fear the cumulative effective will be to drag us backward into Euston Road territory.

Go to jail.

expresso
Looks like there’s a big focus on strong athletic types.
At times we seemed very weak and pedestrian last season so happy enough with that.

Mcbizz1998
09-06-2022, 01:45 PM
Scotsman reporting that we had to fend off a late bid from the sheep for Miller.

What is the point of that clubs scouting team? They should be going halfers with Hibs for our recruitment budget.

Sproule Three
know a fair bit about Lewis
He’d just signed for McCarthur in the A league after a good season with Central Coast - Jason Cummings team.
In the current Aus U23 squad
He’s from my local area - Northern Beaches of Sydney
I know a few lads who played with him in the local junior system.
Boy I work with captains the current team that three of Lewis’ good mates are now playing with. They all came up the development system together but he was only one that made pro

Big strong and athletic .
Been a standout at A league but SPL is different gravy
His best position is RWB the best posituon of two of our best players last season Cadden and Clarke .
Hard to fathom why they’d be be signing another unless Clarke will be more of a CB

hibby rae
Did Tom Taiwo not move to Chelsea as part of a £5m deal?

Kenneh may turn out good. I wouldn’t read all that much into them wanting him to stay at Leeds though. English clubs stockpile players like they’re going out of fashion.

True, but with the new loan rules coming in they'll also have to be a bit more selective.

09-06-2022, 01:46 PM
Go to jail.

Or Hibernian 2021/22 as it's also known...

Slowly on the way down and was at reading last year, no idea what he’s actually like now.

That’s nothing, Rocky Bushiri was at TRNSMT last summer

h185forever
Aberdeen rumoured to be signing Alen Halilovic.

is that not the clinical name for bad breath :greengrin:Ummm:

Scotsman reporting that we had to fend off a late bid from the sheep for Miller.

What is the point of that clubs scouting team? They should be going halfers with Hibs for our recruitment budget.

Jesus, we actually beat Aberdeen to a signing.

You've been bang on the money so far, give us a clue:greengrin

HibeeSS0762
09-06-2022, 01:47 PM

Marshall

Are you insinuating Porto is going?

09-06-2022, 01:49 PM

That explains the Bushiri signing.

Chance card.

“Surprise! One of your loan players has returned for 3 years after triggering a clause. Go straight to jail, do not pass go, do not collect a better signing”

I don't think there would be.

McGinn told he can leave..?

09-06-2022, 01:50 PM

Plenty water works on here if that’s any use?

That explains the Bushiri signing.

Chance card.

“Surprise! One of your loan players has returned for 3 years after triggering a clause. Go straight to jail, do not pass go, do not collect a better signing”

****ing LOL

The thought of leaving Sydney to live in Aberdeen probably had an input on that.

https://www.thenational.scot/sport/20198200.paul-mcginn-set-for-shock-hibs-exit-just-one-week-sealing-new-deal/

09-06-2022, 01:52 PM
Thought it was strange we gave McGinn a new deal. Not good enough to push us forward.

09-06-2022, 01:54 PM
Plenty water works on here if that’s any use?

Hibernian has been assessed for squad repairs on all of it's players. Pay £10 for each loanee, £20 for each young prospect and £30 for each long term injured player.

How will Hibernian find the £34,000,000 to pay this bill?

09-06-2022, 01:55 PM
Hibernian has been assessed for squad repairs on all of it's players. Pay £10 for each loanee, £20 for each young prospect and £30 for each long term injured player.

How will Hibernian find the £34,000,000 to pay this bill?

It’s Barry. They’ve got a ‘dinnae pay’ option.. or obligation if you prefer.

09-06-2022, 01:56 PM
https://www.thenational.scot/sport/20198200.paul-mcginn-set-for-shock-hibs-exit-just-one-week-sealing-new-deal/

The National eh. Does their article focus on how Paul McGinn's possible departure may trigger Indyref2?

09-06-2022, 01:58 PM
Hopefully competing with a fit Kyle Magennis.

[emoji102][emoji23][emoji23][emoji23]

09-06-2022, 02:01 PM

They just wouldn't give him a three year deal if they were pissed off about it.

09-06-2022, 02:02 PM
The National eh. Does their article focus on how Paul McGinn's possible departure may trigger Indyref2?

I get the National every Sunday, it's fitba section is just lifted directly from other papers / news agencies ... it's coverage is a depressing mirror image of practically every paper in Scotland, 5 pages of the ugly sisters with the odd column shoehorned into the gaps to tell you what's happening at 10 other clubs in the premiership, they do seem to pay a bit of attention to women's fitba though.

No tittering at the back.

Marshall

Hanlon will 100% be a regular starter next season

09-06-2022, 02:04 PM
Thought it was strange we gave McGinn a new deal. Not good enough to push us forward.

It seems his new deal wasn't one that the club had control over this summer. I've read a few times on different sites that he chose to stay for another year after he triggered a year's extension. It sounds like his previous contract included a clause that stated if he played X number of games last season, he'd have the choice to extend it another year.

Seems like he chose to do that and then Lee Johnson has told him he's not in his plans. I'm ok with that, we need better than McGinn. We've enough squad fillers as it is.

09-06-2022, 02:06 PM
See the whole Rocky option/obligation saga, if it was an obligation and we were forced to sign him, but in the end he didn't want to sign...would he have been locked in a room with a pen and a contract til it was done? Who'd have forced him? Us? Norwich?

09-06-2022, 02:07 PM
I'm beginning to suspect Ian Gordon has got confused that today is TDD...

Spudster
09-06-2022, 02:08 PM

Their transfer rumours page seems as much fun as ours. "We should be signing players on the up not on the way down" Can only assume they wouldn't be happy with Messi and Ronaldo too then :confused:

BoltonHibernian
09-06-2022, 02:09 PM

[emoji122][emoji122]

09-06-2022, 02:12 PM

I read your post twice and was delighted with it on both occasions.

Stokesy's on fire
09-06-2022, 02:12 PM

We have beaten them to many players over the years you just don't hear about that.

09-06-2022, 02:14 PM
See the whole Rocky option/obligation saga, if it was an obligation and we were forced to sign him, but in the end he didn't want to sign...would he have been locked in a room with a pen and a contract til it was done? Who'd have forced him? Us? Norwich?

Apparently they threatened him with a Longbangers interview.

G15 Hibs
09-06-2022, 02:17 PM

Or trying to get enough new signings in for the 2022/23 kit launch

09-06-2022, 02:22 PM

Marshall

Marshall

Miller Clarke Hanlon/upgrade Doig/replacement if sold

Cadden Kenneh Magennis

New Nisbet New

or alternatively Cadden right back, miller on the left, new CM

09-06-2022, 02:23 PM

Hibs had no say in it, he had a bit in his contract that stated if he played so many games it triggered a new one year deal.

It was signed months ago but Hibs chose not to announce it.

09-06-2022, 02:23 PM
Or trying to get enough new signings in for the 2022/23 kit launch

I get a feeling that Ian Gordon’s cat has walked over his keyboard when his scouted players screen was up on Football Manager.

09-06-2022, 02:27 PM
I read your post twice and was delighted with it on both occasions.

Two for the price of one! I'm delighted. :greengrin

Paulie Walnuts
09-06-2022, 02:30 PM
Marshall

Cadden Kenneh Magennis

New Nisbet New

Seen it suggested a few times but I don’t fancy the idea of Cadden in central midfield.

Nisbet will also be out until about Christmas I’m sure and who knows what will be the script with Magennis.

On paper it’s a not bad side. It’ll be a long time until we’d be able to see it though, if at all once Magennis inevitably breaks down again.

09-06-2022, 02:32 PM
It seems his new deal wasn't one that the club had control over this summer. I've read a few times on different sites that he chose to stay for another year after he triggered a year's extension. It sounds like his previous contract included a clause that stated if he played X number of games last season, he'd have the choice to extend it another year.

Seems like he chose to do that and then Lee Johnson has told him he's not in his plans. I'm ok with that, we need better than McGinn. We've enough squad fillers as it is.

The club announced the other day on its own social media “the club had taken the option to extend”.

Have the club extended it just to get some small money if he moves ? Surely they won’t want to pay off the remaining few months of the extension now.

Rocky - if the club / LJ doesn’t want him then why 3 years ? Another way of making more money?

Miller looks a good prospect - hopefully the next few signings are ready made 1st team starters.

09-06-2022, 02:35 PM
@scout_aussie on twitter

Lewis Miller (2000 - RB/CB) highlights.
Miller is aggressive, powerful, good 1v1 and willing on the overlap. He plays with confidence and energy and works hard for his team. He is a 'head-up' crosser, is improving on the ball, and has good vision. https://t.co/NvqyE6HFZz

https://twitter.com/scout_aussie/status/1534903237978992641?t=EDYay1_8tikFMP2doEGYZg&s=19

09-06-2022, 02:37 PM
So if the club triggered an extension and now LJ doesn't want him a week later, what's your thoughts on that? Are you going to put a positive spin on that as well?

The club didn't trigger the extension, McGinn did as it was a clause in his contract if he played a certain amount of games last season.

09-06-2022, 02:40 PM
It doesn't really matter how Rocky has ended up a Hibs player on a 3 year contract does it, the fact is it's happened.

What we know for sure is that the guy has yet to show in 15 appearances that he is up to the challenge of this league, his timing in the jump is from what I've seen woeful, as is his positioning .... I'm not saying he can't improve, maybe he'll surprise us all, but if he does it's from a depressingly low bar.

That's 4 players so far, one a keeper who might be past his best, a defender who has shown practically nothing in half a season at the club, a defensive midfielder with only English reserve team football experience and a striker who is a totally unknown quantity.

Even if you are a cup half full person it's hardly a shot across the bows of the clubs who finished above us last season and as a statement of intent to enthuse the fans about as useful as advice on attacking football from Craig Levine.

Yes I know there's time yet to see 3 or 4 signings who might get nods of approval and be well known enough that we can be relatively hopeful they can improve us. But so far the policy of signing possible promise with the hope of selling them later for quadzillions seems to be the one getting followed, that's fine, but just so long as someone at the club is brave enough to point out that a first team stuffed with such players is highly unlikely to succeed and that you need experience to bring them along.

I go along with most of your sentiment, but wish you'd get some nookie.

If Hibs don't show a nod to that in the next few weeks ( and we lose Porto ) I'll have the bloody fear for next season.

Edit ... We now appear to have signed Lewis Miller, another youngster with promise, real promise if you go with what some folk who know about him have said, but yet again it does nothing to add experience. At what point do we run out of money and get left with team brought to training by their mums? My fear continues.

I go along with most of your sentiment, but wish you'd get some nookie. I think then you'd see the cup is half full. No doubt we are signing youngsters with potential and potential sell on value, RG has said that would be our approach, so no surprise but yes concerning I'd agree. However, my gut feeling is that those youngsters will come good and Rocky is only what 22 and so has room for improvement. Thinking about Hanlon and Consodine, when they started they had the same problems in development. Both still turn out very poor games, but we don't know how many of those were when they were carrying injuries. We know Rocky played with an injury last season too. I am quite excited to see those youngsters playing, sounds like bags of energy, and they have some pedigree albeit at a young level, still I am looking forward to see it all unfolding. Nookie really isn't over rated despite what some would have us believe, so please get some.

09-06-2022, 02:48 PM
The club didn't trigger the extension, McGinn did as it was a clause in his contract if he played a certain amount of games last season.

So if he doesn’t want to move he stays a hibs player

ShadesLongThrow
09-06-2022, 02:53 PM
Marshall

Cadden Kenneh Magennis

New Nisbet New

Going to cost a fortune getting some of these names on a shirt. Maybe it’s the new commercial strategy.

09-06-2022, 02:57 PM

I'm not sure there is much in the 'Aberdeen steal all our transfers' stuff.

I think it's just that both clubs are shopping in a comparable market, both have comparable ambitions and both will use the same databases and software.

09-06-2022, 03:02 PM
Miller seems to have a bit about him. More encouraged with that one although I wouldn’t have had that down as a position that we needed to get someone in for.

09-06-2022, 03:08 PM

Come on, I'm trying very hard to remain positive today:greengrin

Magennis looks fit and well on his holidays to Ibiza and Vegas. A 40 appearance season beckons.

09-06-2022, 03:09 PM
Mamadou Bojang signs on loan. 20 year old striker.

https://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/article/momodou-bojang-joins-hibs-on-loan

If he's only 20 then I'm gonna marry Madonna on Saturday.

09-06-2022, 03:10 PM
So if he doesn’t want to move he stays a hibs player

Yep but he'll be doing nowt or on the bench all season, that happens when a new manager comes in. For his own sake he's best finding a new club and I'd bet the club will allow him to leave for nothing.

09-06-2022, 03:11 PM

We all getting an invite to the reception??

09-06-2022, 03:11 PM
Seen it suggested a few times but I don’t fancy the idea of Cadden in central midfield.

Nisbet will also be out until about Christmas I’m sure and who knows what will be the script with Magennis.

On paper it’s a not bad side. It’ll be a long time until we’d be able to see it though, if at all once Magennis inevitably breaks down again.

My initial reaction was similar. Don’t hate that team but I’d be adding a ‘new’ in centre midfield rather than cadden.

09-06-2022, 03:12 PM

Life is a mystery.

09-06-2022, 03:16 PM
We all getting an invite to the reception??

As long as you Get Into The Groove. I cant wait until she dresses me up in her love when we get home, I hope the neighbours don't complain. :wink:

09-06-2022, 03:23 PM
As long as you Get Into The Groove. I cant wait until she dresses me up in her love when we get home, I hope the neighbours don't complain. :wink:

For all I’ve never met you and you’re a grumpy so and so, I’ve always had you down as a beautiful stranger.

09-06-2022, 03:33 PM
Which part is the stretch?
All of it.

09-06-2022, 03:33 PM

For sure HC.

She must be a lucky star and borderline crazy for you and I hope you live to tell us all about your holiday

Hopefully you open up your heart and express yourself. O and where’s the party??

(I’ll get ma coat!)

Highwayman
09-06-2022, 03:56 PM
Noted a report that with the signing of Lewis Miller,LJ can’t guarantee Paul McGinn game time and it may be better for McGinn to move elsewhere.

K-Zazu
09-06-2022, 04:01 PM
What is the average age of our squad compared to the rest of the spfl

RMQ1967
09-06-2022, 04:03 PM
In your option.

Fuzzywuzzy
09-06-2022, 04:05 PM
Looking at twitter and all I can say is that Hibs fans are crying faced entitled fannies.

I'm looking forward to the season started and how these guys will get on.

09-06-2022, 04:06 PM
Looking at twitter and all I can say is that Hibs fans are crying faced entitled fannies.

Couldn’t agree more.

Only thing I’d add that it very much extends to posters on here as well.

09-06-2022, 04:08 PM

It's Twitter. Look on almost any post these days and it'll be full of crying faced entitled fannies.

I'm actually really looking forward to the season starting as well though. Luckily only a month or so to go.

09-06-2022, 04:18 PM
Whether folk rate or don’t rate the signings we’ve made so far at least the club have got them in the door early.

Still a week and a half until pre season starts so I expect a couple new faces to join yet.

They get loads of stick so should get praised too.

I really like the look of Miller, he’s my favourite player that I’ve never seen actually play 🤣

09-06-2022, 04:20 PM
Whether folk rate or don’t rate the signings we’ve made so far at least the club have got them in the door early.

Still a week and a half until pre season starts so I expect a couple new faces to join yet.

They get loads of stick so should get praised too.

I really like the look of Miller, he’s my favourite player that I’ve never seen actually play 🤣

I’d rather we had waited much longer to bring in another CH instead of Rocky - but tbf, it sounds like the club felt that way too :greengrin

In all seriousness, Rocky aside, I’m quite pleased with who we have brought in.

09-06-2022, 04:20 PM

What’s this with the speculation on his age?

09-06-2022, 04:21 PM
I get a feeling that Ian Gordon’s cat has walked over his keyboard when his scouted players screen was up on Football Manager.

09-06-2022, 04:25 PM
What is the average age of our squad compared to the rest of the spfl

Last season we had the youngest squad in the division

09-06-2022, 04:26 PM
I’d rather we had waited much longer to bring in another CH instead of Rocky - but tbf, it sounds like the club felt that way too :greengrin

I did say yesterday I was expecting a flurry of signings into, over and after the weekend. Perhaps not quite these signings but there you go.

09-06-2022, 04:28 PM

Apart from Marshall & Rocky I know nothing about the other 3 signings so couldn’t say either way if I’m pleased or not.

Feel it would be good to bring in a known quality.

09-06-2022, 04:28 PM
I did say yesterday I was expecting a flurry of signings into, over and after the weekend. Perhaps not quite these signings but there you go.

You did indeed, and could understand your argument as to why it’s important.

Club not hanging about, that’s for sure.

09-06-2022, 04:30 PM
Apart from Marshall & Rocky I know nothing about the other 3 signings so couldn’t say either way if I’m pleased or not.

Am sure these are the first of a number of signings this summer 😁 it's exciting all these new mystery faces! Remember how excited we all were with Kujabi, and Jonny Leith and Earl Jean! 🤣

09-06-2022, 04:31 PM

Neither do I, but the RB and midfielder have a decent pedigree and background, and the Gambian forward is something a bit different.

Think we will bring more familiar players as well.

09-06-2022, 04:32 PM

Feel that they need to start thinking about bringing in centre mids or Johnson will go the same way as his predecessors.

09-06-2022, 04:33 PM
Neither do I, but the RB and midfielder have a decent pedigree and background, and the Gambian forward is something a bit different.

Think we will bring more familiar players as well.

And the Ghanaian we signed! He and the Gambian could be a great strike pairing 🤣

1875Sean
09-06-2022, 04:34 PM
Rumours online saying that he had to buy Rocky after there was a clause in the loan deal that if played so many games we had to buy him, prob a lot of nonsense

09-06-2022, 04:35 PM
Rumours online saying that he had to buy Rocky after there was a clause in the loan deal that if played so many games we had to buy him, prob a lot of nonsense

Yeah probably all taken from this thread! Maybe we had the option to buy and LJ thought it a good signing?

09-06-2022, 04:36 PM
For sure HC.

She must be a lucky star and borderline crazy for you and I hope you live to tell us all about your holiday

Hopefully you open up your heart and express yourself. O and where’s the party??

(I’ll get ma coat!)

Yeah and Nae Nookie sings like a virgin.

09-06-2022, 04:36 PM

It’s not a rumour, it’s what was said in the official announcement.

“The 22-year-old centre-half has penned a three-year deal with the Club after an option in his original loan agreement was triggered through a certain number of appearances.”

chippy
09-06-2022, 04:39 PM
Feel that they need to start thinking about bringing in centre mids or Johnson will go the same way as his predecessors.

It’s such an obvious problem, I was hoping for McGrandles and/ or G Shinnie

1875Sean
09-06-2022, 04:39 PM

“The 22-year-old centre-half has penned a three-year deal with the Club after an option in his original loan agreement was triggered through a certain number of appearances.”

Yeah the way it was positioned online is that we didn’t want him in and it was only until after he returned we noticed it was mandatory, shambles if true

09-06-2022, 04:40 PM
Hearts fans delusions are through the roof now after their first season finishing above us in ages.

Apparently we’re copying them signing players from Australia since they’ve signed Atkinson, Devlin and Rowles.

I must have imagined us signing Jamie MacLaren and Mark Milligan

09-06-2022, 04:40 PM

I am both looking forward to the season starting and holding a position of being a critical friend as to where we are and how we are going about our business. So more of a hatchet faced serially provoked fud perhaps?

09-06-2022, 04:41 PM

Yes Hibs choice was triggered. Not the sames being forced too.

09-06-2022, 04:42 PM
What’s this with the speculation on his age?

The boy looks older than me!!

09-06-2022, 04:44 PM
Yes Hibs choice was triggered. Not the sames being forced too.

This debate has been done to death already so I’ll just leave you to it believing that to be the case.

Need attacking wide players more imo, we lost Jasper and still haven't replaced Boyle.

Think we'll see one more centre mid max come in.

Kenneh Doyle-Hayes Newell Magennis Henderson won't be getting moved on and will all be in and around the first team squad, Campbell and Tait might go on loan but likely at least one of them will still be here. So not much room in the squad for new additions there.

Kenneh Newell Magennis as starters with JDH Henderson and the young boys as back up is good enough for me tbh. But if magennis can't get fit I would quite like to see another attacking box to box type that likes to make late runs into the box come in.

Yeah the way it was positioned online is that we didn’t want him in and it was only until after he returned we noticed it was mandatory, shambles if true

Ha ha Santa Claus wont come to naughty boys who tell fibs. Some dont believe in Santa Claus I know.

Hibiza
09-06-2022, 04:45 PM
Have we signed Rocky ?

09-06-2022, 04:46 PM
Hearts fans delusions are through the roof now after their first season finishing above us in ages.

Apparently we’re copying them signing players from Australia since they’ve signed Atkinson, Devlin and Rowles.

Mental that they were the first Scottish team ever to sign players from Australia eh? 😂

09-06-2022, 04:46 PM
Need attacking wide players more imo, we lost Jasper and still haven't replaced Boyle.

Kenneh Doyle-Hayes Newell Magennis Henderson won't be getting moved on and will all be in and around the first team squad, Campbell and Tait might go on loan but likely at least one of them will still be here. So not much room in the squad for new additions there.

Kenneh Newell Magennis as starters with JDH Henderson and the young boys as back up is good enough for me tbh. But if magennis can't get fit I would quite like to see another attacking box to box type that likes to make late runs into the box come in.

Apparently both new signings today can play wide.

09-06-2022, 04:47 PM
Have we signed Rocky ?

Nah the communications team confused him with McGinns contract extension.

09-06-2022, 04:49 PM

Hearts are due a relegation are they not?

09-06-2022, 04:49 PM

I hope our new Australian annoys them as much as that wee prick Devlin gets on my nerves.

09-06-2022, 04:50 PM
Have we signed Rocky ?

That’s literally what the first question was at the club this morning, it would seem. We’ve all made drunken eBay purchases but this one’s the worst.

big gogs
09-06-2022, 04:58 PM

A few years ago ,Stuart Lovell, born in Australia.

cameronw-hfc
09-06-2022, 05:00 PM
Another day of bedwetting for Hibs fans. We signed Rocky, who looked decent for a few games and crap for a few games. Last season we were short on centre backs at times and had Mcgregor playing, despite being nowhere near good enough anymore. We also played Halberg there in the cup.

Has anyone considered Rocky isn't coming to be a starter, but a squad option?

09-06-2022, 05:02 PM

Where have you been all day?

09-06-2022, 05:02 PM

Only Magennis is up to the job as far as I’m concerned but let’s face it, the chances of getting him fit are slim. Kenneh is unknown and the rest have failed so far.

09-06-2022, 05:07 PM

It really would be quite special if we had somehow managed to sign a player by accident. If that was true perhaps the club should have looked to make lemonade from lemons?

"Hibernian FC are both delighted and surprised to announce the accidental signing of Rocky Bushiri Kisongo. The club inadvertently swooped for the right back in an administrative error which was only discovered when the player refused to leave the building late last night, claiming "I have a clerical right to be here".

Manager Lee Johnson said: "I always planned to have at least six right backs on the books, everyone knows you can't win things with kids or without six right backs. I'll be spending the night going through Ian Gordon's filing cabinet, there's a rumour Barry Lavety, Jarko Wiss and Alan O'Brien are holed up in the groundman's storeroom waving legal papers giving them permanent residency above the main stand and a right of first refusal to play every Saturday."

Ron Gordon commented: "I love Rocky Balboa, he's my favourite sports athlete. The fact that Ian Gordon who is in no way related to me has signed him up for three years just shows the full extent of our ambition."

09-06-2022, 05:09 PM
Bushiri , That's a complete shocker ,, And the fact we have gave him a 3 year contract WTF !!

Heads should ****ing roll for that , And the chat we paid a fee for him to ?? Laughable , The boy is nowhere near where we are trying to get

09-06-2022, 05:13 PM
It really would be quite special if we had somehow managed to sign a player by accident. If that was true perhaps the club should have looked to make lemonade from lemons?

"Hibernian FC are both delighted and surprised to announce the accidental signing of Rocky Bushiri Kisongo. The club inadvertently swooped for the right back in an administrative error which was only discovered when the player refused to leave the building late last night, claiming "I have a clerical right to be here".

Manager Lee Johnson said: "I always planned to have at least six right backs on the books, everyone knows you can't win things with kids or without six right backs. I'll be spending the night going through Ian Gordon's filing cabinet, there's a rumour Barry Lavety, Jarko Wiss and Alan O'Brien are holed up in the groundman's storeroom waving legal papers giving them permanent residency above the main stand and a right of first refusal to play every Saturday."

Ron Gordon commented: "I love Rocky Balboa, he's my favourite sports athlete. The fact that Ian Gordon who is in no way related to me has signed him up for three years just shows the full extent of our ambition."

😂😂😂

09-06-2022, 05:13 PM
Bushiri , That's a complete shocker ,, And the fact we have gave him a 3 year contract WTF !!

Heads should ****ing roll for that , And the chat we paid a fee for him to ?? Laughable , The boy is nowhere near where we are trying to get

Your post is much funnier than the one above it.

Heads should roll. Lol.

God I love parody.

09-06-2022, 05:19 PM

Jackson Irvine, too.

09-06-2022, 05:19 PM
I doubt that if we'd signed him by accident the club would alude to it in the announcement. Surely they'd be making a big deal out of it to try and hide their mistake? I think people are trying to read in to things too much. I wasn't a fan and wasn't fussed about him leaving but if LJ see's something in him and thinks he can improve him then should we not give him a chance to do so? He's got all the physical attributes to be a good player in this league and is young enough to learn. Over to LJ.

09-06-2022, 05:20 PM
We’ve accidentally spent a lot of money on a player we didn’t want.

What way the person responsible shouldn’t lose their job for that I don’t know.

Have we though?

09-06-2022, 05:26 PM

Where you hearing this?

09-06-2022, 05:28 PM
I doubt that if we'd signed him by accident the club would alude to it in the announcement. Surely they'd be making a big deal out of it to try and hide their mistake? I think people are trying to read in to things too much. I wasn't a fan and wasn't fussed about him leaving but if LJ see's something in him and thinks he can improve him then should we not give him a chance to do so? He's got all the physical attributes to be a good player in this league and is young enough to learn. Over to LJ.

If we signed him by mistake we'd make sure we announced him after loads of positive news like the kit launch the new boy from Australia etc.

09-06-2022, 05:29 PM
Another day of bedwetting for Hibs fans. We signed Rocky, who looked decent for a few games and crap for a few games. Last season we were short on centre backs at times and had Mcgregor playing, despite being nowhere near good enough anymore. We also played Halberg there in the cup.

We don’t need squad options. We need players to go in and improve us.

It nothing to do with wetting the bed, folk just don’t think he’s very good. And can’t quite believe we’ve ended up spending a fee on him.

G15 Hibs
09-06-2022, 05:30 PM
Jackson Irvine, too.

I always thought Joe Keenan was Australian, but looking it up now he wasn't.

Definitely gash though.

09-06-2022, 05:33 PM

WTF?
Why are you saying this ?

hibsquaker
09-06-2022, 05:46 PM
The first couple of games I thought there's a player in there. I reckon he will come good if we're not playing Maloneyball. Like others have said he has the right attributes.

09-06-2022, 05:49 PM

Would love to see the evidence you have to back that up.

09-06-2022, 05:51 PM
I always thought Joe Keenan was Australian, but looking it up now he wasn't.

Definitely gash though.

For older Hibbies, Jack Reilly.

cameronw-hfc
09-06-2022, 05:51 PM

It nothing to do with wetting the bed, folk just don’t think he’s very good. And can’t quite believe we’ve ended up spending a fee on him.

If Porto goes we most certainly do need squad options.

Scotty Leither
09-06-2022, 05:55 PM
No mention yet of Newell, JDH, or Campbell going out the way worries me just as much as cheap laddies coming in the way, to be honest.

09-06-2022, 06:01 PM
No mention yet of Newell, JDH, or Campbell going out the way worries me just as much as cheap laddies coming in the way, to be honest.

They won’t be going anywhere. No idea why you think they would.

Paulie Walnuts
09-06-2022, 06:02 PM
If Porto goes we most certainly do need squad options.

If Porto goes we even more desperately need players good enough to be starting, not squad players.

09-06-2022, 06:03 PM

Campbell should be. Nowhere near the level required.

Paulie Walnuts
09-06-2022, 06:03 PM

I wouldn’t be surprised at all to see Campbell go somewhere on loan.

09-06-2022, 06:06 PM

But they’ve just signed contracts so won’t be leaving us.

09-06-2022, 06:07 PM

Because the midfield is dire?

Paulie Walnuts
09-06-2022, 06:08 PM
But they’ve just signed contracts so won’t be leaving us.

I’d agree with that unfortunately.

Going out on loan still constitutes going somewhere though surely :greengrin

Scotty Leither
09-06-2022, 06:08 PM

Because they're not good enough and create the sum total of nothing going forward?

Paulie Walnuts
09-06-2022, 06:11 PM
Because they're not good enough and create the sum total of nothing going forward?

We’re in a crap situation with campbell in that he’s a part time footballer who’s gained a long term full time contract at one of the biggest teams in the country. He’ll understandably want to see out that deal here.

Dmas
09-06-2022, 06:11 PM

Why is the fee such a surprise, we agreed that in January that’s what the option to buy is you where told the same time as the rest of us, he had a few bad games towards the end but he had a few pretty good games as well 6 clean sheets in 15 games, good pre season I think he’ll be a good signing for this year

09-06-2022, 06:12 PM

I think he means as in they’ve just been given new contracts. That doesn’t stop the new manager coming in and telling them they aren’t in his plans and they find a new club

People always seem to jump to the conclusion that when people talk about moving players on who’re under contract that you’re meaning to just let them go.

mcfly
09-06-2022, 06:13 PM

Give it a rest eh…..pass a comment re signing inexperienced players and you are a bedwetter.

Boring

Paulie Walnuts
09-06-2022, 06:18 PM
I think he means as in they’ve just been given new contracts. That doesn’t stop the new manager coming in and telling them they aren’t in his plans and they find a new club

People always seem to jump to the conclusion that when people talk about moving players on who’re under contract that you’re meaning to just let them go.

The problem is that JDH and Campbell won’t get anything like they contracts elsewhere.

Newell would find something similar if we let him go for free but he’d be the last of the three I’d want to go.

Scotty Leither
09-06-2022, 06:25 PM

Yes I know, maybe my answer was a bit mangled and missed the point of the reply.

I'm just singularly unimpressed with the club's early transfer dealings (Marshall aside).

I was cautiously looking forward to the new season with a manager who appears to want to play on the front foot; instead we've signed Bushri who appeared to be being released a few weeks agp, for a fee and his signing also seemed to have surprised our Head of Recruitment given his cryptic somments on the deal.

No sign of any big signings that'll capture the imagination of the fans and maybe increase season ticket sales, and stuck with the same pedestrian midfield and a signing policy that's big on numbers in and low on quality, driven as always by the bottom line, and I challenge Ian Gordon to tell us it's any different to how I've characterised it, but what do we know, eh?

NC1875
09-06-2022, 06:27 PM
Do people honestly believe we’ve been forced to sign Rocky ?

My word!

Some right gullible folk on here.

09-06-2022, 06:27 PM
Yes I know, maybe my answer was a bit mangled and missed the point of the reply.

I'm just singularly unimpressed with the club's early transfer dealings (Marshall aside).

I was cautiously looking forward to the new season with a manager who appears to want to play on the front foot; instead we've signed Bushri who appeared to be being released a few weeks agp, for a fee and his signing also seemed to have surprised our Head of Recruitment given his cryptic somments on the deal.

No sign of any big signings that'll capture the imagination of the fans and maybe increase season ticket sales, and stuck with the same pedestrian midfield and a signing policy that's big on numbers in and low on quality, driven as always by the bottom line, and I challenge Ian Gordon to tell us it's any different to how I've characterised it, but what do we know, eh?

The transfer window hadn't even opened yet, ffs.

Edit: And it doesn't close until September.

Are you as premature in every aspect of your life?

Scotty Leither
09-06-2022, 06:31 PM
The transfer window hadn't even opened yet, ffs.

Edit: And it doesn't close until September.

Are you as premature in every aspect of your life?

Nah, just punctual.

Hibiza
09-06-2022, 06:36 PM
Nah the communications team confused him with McGinns contract extension.

Just a genuine question as unsure , have a nice evening.

09-06-2022, 06:37 PM

Will we do it accidentally though? 🤣

09-06-2022, 06:37 PM
Why is the fee such a surprise, we agreed that in January that’s what the option to buy is you where told the same time as the rest of us, he had a few bad games towards the end but he had a few pretty good games as well 6 clean sheets in 15 games, good pre season I think he’ll be a good signing for this year

Aye obviously we were going to have to pay a fee for him.

Ending up actually signing him which, in turn, means we had to pay the fee is the surprising bit.

h185forever
09-06-2022, 06:39 PM
Lots of speculation about the players we have or might move on and how good or poor they are.

We have a new manager who will have us playing a bit differently by all accounts., so it might be worth waiting to see who in the squad can adapt to the style he wants to implement. Some might (seem to ?) improve and others might go backwards.

Look at the number of players we’ve had over the years who have been poor at ER but moved on to show better performances elsewhere. Players are human and react to different environments, fans and mgrs differently.

Let’s just get behind LJ and the squad, give everyone a clean sheet and rely on LJ to identify who is good enough.

Self belief and confidence is very important in this game so let’s not destroy it before a ball is kicked in the new season.

We all want a successful Hibs team …and us fans have a big part to play in that happening.

09-06-2022, 06:45 PM

Cheap laddies - how much have they cost?

The transfer window isn’t even open yet, we’ve signed 5 players and you’re calling the club out for being cheap?

If we’d spend the same on 26 year old players, would they still be cheap options?

09-06-2022, 06:53 PM
So we've signed a player we didn't want because we were stupid enough to accept a clause in the loan agreement that we would do so if he played a certain number of games. Then having seen he was dung, allowed him to play that sufficient number of games to trigger that clause. We've also allowed a situation to occur where a player we have actively been looking to replace has extended his contract for another season. I think someone in legal/recruitment needs to be fired!

09-06-2022, 06:54 PM
So we've signed a player we didn't want because we were stupid enough to accept a clause in the loan agreement that we would do so if he played a certain number of games. Then having seen he was dung, allowed him to play that sufficient number of games to trigger that clause. We've also allowed a situation to occur where a player we have actively been looking to replace has extended his contract for another season. I think someone in legal/recruitment needs to be fired!

Couldn’t make it up:bitchy:if true!

Mr. Wonderful
09-06-2022, 06:59 PM

Start with Mr Kensell

Paulie Walnuts
09-06-2022, 07:01 PM
Lots of speculation about the players we have or might move on and how good or poor they are.

We have a new manager who will have us playing a bit differently by all accounts., so it might be worth waiting to see who in the squad can adapt to the style he wants to implement. Some might (seem to ?) improve and others might go backwards.

Look at the number of players we’ve had over the years who have been poor at ER but moved on to show better performances elsewhere. Players are human and react to different environments, fans and mgrs differently.

Let’s just get behind LJ and the squad, give everyone a clean sheet and rely on LJ to identify who is good enough.

Self belief and confidence is very important in this game so let’s not destroy it before a ball is kicked in the new season.

We all want a successful Hibs team …and us fans have a big part to play in that happening.

Crap players don’t need to be given a clean slate every time we change manager or finish a season.

09-06-2022, 07:04 PM

Or...we had an option on a player that was triggered after he played a certain number of games and the manager and club have decided to take it up and we have a player who took up an existing one year extension before a new manager was in place to give himself security for the next year

Also, the club have offered no money on purpose to Paul Pogba and he is going to sign next week 🤣

Paulie Walnuts
09-06-2022, 07:05 PM
Or...we had an option on a player that was triggered after he played a certain number of games and the manager and club have decided to take it up and we have a player who took up an existing one year extension before a new manager was in place to give himself security for the next year

If you read Hibs statement then it would seem much more likely we were obliged to buy Rocky.

The statement is an abomination in itself, I’d be wondering wtf was going on if I was Rocky and I read it.

09-06-2022, 07:06 PM
If you read Hibs statement then it would seem much more likely we were obliged to buy Rocky.

The statement is an abomination in itself, I’d be wondering wtf was going on if I was Rocky and I read it.

I did read the statement and its badly written and open to vague interpretation.

Lester B
09-06-2022, 07:08 PM

A perfect summary of the nonsense flying about here today. There are some people on this thread talking some sense but the idea we’ve signed Rocky by mistake and have compounded this by declaring as much? I genuinely worry about the cognitive ability of some people here

09-06-2022, 07:09 PM
Do people honestly believe we’ve been forced to sign Rocky ?

My word!

Some right gullible folk on here.

Yes, 100% and I aint gullible

Scotty Leither
09-06-2022, 07:10 PM
Cheap laddies - how much have they cost?

The transfer window isn’t even open yet, we’ve signed 5 players and you’re calling the club out for being cheap?

If we’d spend the same on 26 year old players, would they still be cheap options?

We by and large don't sign 26/27/30 year-olds though Matty, certainly not under this Board we don't with their obsession with "ones for the future", so yes, I stand by the "cheap" assertion.

They're playing a risky game though, because if you sign a clutch of laddies alongside the limited existing players we can't/won't ship out, then that's a recipe for more of the same as last season - no wins in the league against the OF or that mob from Edinburgh west, and I don't think the fans will wear that again.

Established 27-30 year olds who'll go straight into the team cost money, and The Gordons don't seem to want to pursue that particular policy, which will bite them on the @rse if they're not careful.

09-06-2022, 07:14 PM
We by and large don't sign 26/27/30 year-olds though Matty, certainly not under this Board we don't with their obsession with "ones for the future", so yes, I stand by the "cheap" assertion.

They're playing a risky game though, because if you sign a clutch of laddies alongside the limited existing players we can't/won't ship out, then that's a recipe for more of the same as last season - no wins in the league against the OF or that mob from Edinburgh west, and I don't think the fans will wear that again.

Established 27-30 year olds who'll go straight into the team cost money, and The Gordons don't seem to want to pursue that particular policy, which will bite them on the @rse if they're not careful.

I don’t think spending money is the issue. It’s how we’re spending it. We even seem to have got ourselves in to a position where we’re spending money on a player we don’t actually want!

NC1875
09-06-2022, 07:15 PM
Yes, 100% and I aint gullible

I don’t for one second believe that when Rocky signed on loan with an option to buy, that we sat and agreed personal terms for a permanent deal just incase.

It would be a waste of everyone’s time.

If we didn’t want him and were obliged to pay Norwich x amount for him, doesn’t mean he’d agree personal terms. He could easily refuse based on our low offer.

He’s signed because we wanted him, not because we’ve been forced to 😂

09-06-2022, 07:19 PM
I don’t think spending money is the issue. It’s how we’re spending it. We even seem to have got ourselves in to a position where we’re spending money on a player we don’t actually want!

That’s the point i’m making. Saying it’s the cheap option diminishes the point, is clearly not a cheap strategy and Hibs have decided to focus on players who they see as having resale value.

Nothing wrong with that but it needs to be balanced with some experienced players. Marshall was a good choice, we need others through the spine of the team though.

I’m not sure that we can call out the board’s signing policy before the window’s even opened though. They have signed players who are older previously and so I’ve seen nothing to suggest they won’t again, in fact the signing of Marshall is evidence that they will bring in older players with no resale value if they’re what we need.

Lester B
09-06-2022, 07:20 PM
I don’t for one second believe that when Rocky signed on loan with an option to buy, that we sat and agreed personal terms for a permanent deal just incase.

If we didn’t want him and were obliged to pay Norwich x amount for him, doesn’t mean he’d agree personal terms. He could easily refuse based on our low offer.

He’s signed because we wanted him, not because we’ve been forced to 😂

He’s signed because we wanted him, not because we’ve been forced to ��

Read the official website and see what Hibs have said.

They are virtually apologising and explaining why they had to sign him.

Compare the welcome given to Lewis Miller and to that of Rocky, Hibs have ****** up big time and they know it.

Without knowing what has been discussed between the club and Rocky people are slating Hibs and wanting folk sacked. Was the same when people were throwing their toys out the pram when LJ was appointed rather than JDT without having heard either interview or knowing their intentions. Think I'm going to log off for a while. Hard going.

Scotty Leither
09-06-2022, 07:25 PM
That’s the point i’m making. Saying it’s the cheap option diminishes the point, is clearly not a cheap strategy and Hibs have decided to focus on players who they see as having resale value.

Nothing wrong with that but it needs to be balanced with some experienced players. Marshall was a good choice, we need others through the spine of the team though.

I’m not sure that we can call out the board’s signing policy before the window’s even opened though. They have signed players who are older previously and so I’ve seen nothing to suggest they won’t again, in fact the signing of Marshall is evidence that they will bring in older players with no resale value if they’re what we need.

Don't share your optimism Matty, sorry. Goalkeepers play much longer than their outfield counterparts in any case, and I don't see us signing 4 or 5 first picks even this early in proceedings.

The squad is top heavy and they'll not want to bring many more in on the wage bill IMO.

Next big test is if John McGinn is sold and what we do with our cut of that - I'll bet it changes nowt in respect of the profile of players we sign.

Compare the welcome given to Lewis Miller and to that of Rocky, Hibs have ****** up big time and they know it.

Absolutely. Even Johnson’s comments are hardly enthusiastic.

There’s no way we wanted to spend money on him IMO.

NC1875

Virtually apologising ? I must have missed that bit.

Not a great statement but probably more to do with the fact he’s already been here and isn’t really a new signing.

Does it say we didn’t want him but had to sign him ? That we also had to pay Rocky whatever wages he wanted as well ?

People assuming things and everyone jumps on the bandwagon to slate the club.

Embarassing.

Lester B
09-06-2022, 07:26 PM

Virtually apologising? It’s not as effusive as other signing announcements made over the past 24 hours but isn’t the tone dictated by the fact that his first spell wasn’t glorious and they expect some backlash. Not the full blown tin hat guff on here but some backlash?

09-06-2022, 07:26 PM

I must admit at 1st I didn't see anything wrong with the statement seeing it as we took up the option after it was triggered but it does now look like the option which was pre written in and was binding, so we had no choice but to take him after it's all been agreed beforehand.

Club after an option in his original loan agreement was triggered through a certain number of appearances.

NC1875
09-06-2022, 07:29 PM
I must admit at 1st I didn't see anything wrong with the statement seeing it as we took up the option after it was triggered but it does now look like the option which was pre written in and was binding, so we had no choice but to take him after it's all been agreed beforehand.

Club after an option in his original loan agreement was triggered through a certain number of appearances.

And did we have to agree personal terms with him as well ? Just give him what he wants because he played x amount of games. What a load of *****.

Scotty Leither
09-06-2022, 07:29 PM
Does it say we didn’t want him but had to sign him ? That we also had to pay Rocky whatever wages he wanted as well ?

Embarassing.

In amongst Ian Gordon's cryptic statement there was the gem that Bushri was "the youngest ever player to play for Oostend".

Guff like that is what I would call "embarrassing".

09-06-2022, 07:30 PM

Not a great statement but probably more to do with the fact he’s already been here and isn’t really a new signing.

Embarassing.

Contractual obligations exist, though. I don't know why it's being treated as if this can't possibly have happened. It could have.

There's nothing embarrassing about believing Scoopy, who has a long and reliable track record of gathering information. Especially in the face of the club's own statement.

PH91
09-06-2022, 07:31 PM

Agree completely. JDH is a good player and i'm hopeful LJ will get him back on track. I'd want another attacking midfielder in too.

It seems likely we will play a 451/433 so we need wide forwards/wingers as you say. We need at least 3, possibly 4 and currently only have mackay.

Give it a rest eh…..pass a comment re signing inexperienced players and you are a bedwetter.

Boring

i do wish those that use that childish insult could think out the box a bit more for a word to describe those that are concerned :agree:so lame

Three signings in 24 hours, you would think that would be enough to get the place buzzing.

Instead everyone is falling out more than ever.

09-06-2022, 07:33 PM
I think people should trust Scoopyboy on this one

09-06-2022, 07:33 PM

Embarassing.

The 22-year-old centre-half has penned a three-year deal with the Club after an option in his original loan agreement was triggered through a certain number of appearances. The terms of the agreement will remain undisclosed.

There's exactly what it says, since when did Hibs explain why they signed someone? It's as if they are trying to justify it.

I hardly ever criticise Hibs on these boards but I feel they have erred badly here, they thought at one point they weren't having to sign him but Norwich had us over a barrel.

NC1875
09-06-2022, 07:34 PM
Contractual obligations exist, though. I don't know what it's being treated as if this can't possibly have happened. It could have.

There's nothing embarrassing about believing Scoopy, who has a long and reliable track record of gathering information. Especially in the face of the club's own statement.

The clubs own statement says nothing of the sort that we were forced to sign him. It’s people assuming things.

Did we have to pay him what he wanted as well ? We might have had a fee agreed with Norwich but did we have to agree personal terms ?

Or are you telling us we agreed personal terms with him away back in January just incase we wanted to sign him 😂