View Full Version : Greggs Summer 2022-23 transfer thread

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 [66] 67 68 69 70 71

01-09-2022, 06:12 PM
I've no idea how good Mckirdy is but I likeed his general f off attitude and thought it's something we are missing
A bit of swagger and devilment

Doesn't matter how it fell through but having him in the building, medical done and not actually signing him is a absolute ridder for us

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

BH Hibs
01-09-2022, 06:13 PM
Drama Queens. I'm not sure McKirdy is worth having a meltdown over.

I wonder if we'll use the proposed funds on a back up deal.

TBH I’d rather see Melkersen being given a run through the middle, however not addressing the left CB role or bringing in a midfielder is piss poor.

What exactly are you all angry at?

If you had the chance to sign Boyle, McGeady, Marshall, Youan and Cabraja pre window everyone would jump at it.

We're angry at the absolute state of our team, the weakness right through the middle of it, the number of opportunities we've had to address it and the number of times we've failed miserably to do so.

Well, that's what I'm miffed about but I'd be surprised if I was alone.

I’m sharpening my pitchfork right now.

The Tubs
While it will be a problem if another striker doesn't come in, that's no reason for saying letting go of Doidge was a mistake. We weren't getting anything from him so I'd rather he went elsewhere to get his mojo back and we played Melkersen or even Youann/Boyle through the middle with Tavares wide.

Hibees1973
Johnson was quoted last week that he needed 2 'ready made' players for the first team.

At this point seems this is not happening.

What a mess.

Another year goes by where our manager has specifically called out the positions/players he wants - JR wanted a CB and striker, got bargain inexperienced loans; LJ called out he wants established first team players, currently looking like he'll get the same treatment.

Mathie was sacked over the failure of last year's window, I wonder who's head is on the block for this one?

We’ve got Ron’s son sitting comfy knowing his da will never sack him.

What a situation that is.

01-09-2022, 06:14 PM
Agreed fee with Swindon last night (as per multiple reports)

Contract agreed with McKirdy (as per multiple reports)

All sufficient for a short notice flight to Edinburgh by the player to complete a medical & Hibs release Doidge on loan (all factual)

Then this morning, Hibs try & change the deal

That's not negotiation, it's learning in public

Just horrible if thats the case.

Mikey_1875
What are the options now then? I’m assuming they will have to bring someone in to replace Doidge/save face.

All sufficient for a short notice flight to Edinburgh by the player to complete a medical & Hibs release Doidge on loan (all factual)

How do you know it was Hibs and not Swindon that tried to change the deal?

Oh well 🙄

BlackSheep

This is speculation isn’t it!?

01-09-2022, 06:15 PM
No way it’s off?!

If it is and we only get fish I can see LJ walking.

01-09-2022, 06:16 PM
No way it’s off?!

If it is and we only get fish I can see LJ walking.

Why would you walk away from a job getting zero compensation when you could hold out for a few months, get sacked and get a decent severance package?

Just horrible if thats the case.

Big "if", no evidence that Hibs tried to change the deal.

mixumatosis
What have i missed?:rolleyes:

A bunch of manhbabies p***ing their breeks mainly.

stalbanshibby

******ing joke. I heard it was about us wanting to pay in instalments?? Anyone any the wiser?? He looked a decent player to me - I'd have loved to see him do that machine gun thang at the Yams. deflating. whoever said Lee might go f&&&k this - I wouldn't blame him

01-09-2022, 06:17 PM
Johnson was quoted last week that he needed 2 'ready made' players for the first team.

At this point seems this is not happening.

What a mess.

Just need Hibs to put the tin lid on it and announce we're done for this window. :rolleyes:

Am I allowed to panic yet or is there still ages left in the window?😅

JamesHFC
We are going to end up with James Scott back at this rate.

We needed a centre half 1 month ago before the Bushiri injury.

Bushiri gets injured, we still need 1 arguably 2.

We need central midfielders as everyone knows the current lot aren’t at it.

None brought in

We rightfully get rid of doidge - replacement imminent

Deal collapses, hibs a striker down.

Only hibs. Only hibs

This is speculation isn’t it!?

Or even malicious gossip that some on here are happy to spread.

01-09-2022, 06:18 PM
When you get to the last day of the window and you’re hoping for a signing or two to save the day, you know you’re in bad nick.

Two summer windows, two managers calling out what we need, two managers not getting what they need.

It’s a ****ing joke when the issues are so apparent.

Didn't know who McKirdy was this time yesterday now I'm weirdly gutted we aren't signing him.

Broxburn Greens
Joke as others say…

Let’s hope the fans (myself included) vent their anger at the board rather than the manager/players when we are next struggling in a game due to lack of options…. Most likely Saturday

Edinburgh Green
The Gordon’s and their appointments when it comes to football are absolutely ****ing useless.

Ron name dropping McCrorie only for him to go to Aberdeen.
Ben telling all and sundry in Portugal deals were close.
Ron on the podcast with the fans almost namedropping a player
Letting Doidge go without having a replacement in the building already
Ron bleating that the January transfer window was a resounding success

Regardless of whether Mckirdy signs or not, this is absolutely pathetic. ****ing sick of this.

Exactly, it’s one f’up after another. Even if the McKirdy deal does happen, this window has been brutal. Massive holes in the defence and midfield.

Just need Hibs to put the tin lid on it and announce we're done for this window. :rolleyes:
Can't be far away.

Well he is injured so that would make sense. Good double act signing of Fish and Pish.

McGruber
Big "if", no evidence that Hibs tried to change the deal.

There doesn't seem to be qny evidence it is off either. Still think we will get him in before the night is done

JamesHFC
01-09-2022, 06:19 PM
Well he is injured so that would make sense. Good double act signing of Fish and Pish.

🤣

All of this could have been avoided if we had just signed Griffiths when we had the chance. Well done Hibs.

Why would you walk away from a job getting zero compensation when you could hold out for a few months, get sacked and get a decent severance package?

Because if you walk with your head held high you might maintain a bit of credibility when it comes to getting another job, rather than being tarred by association by having been involved with this ****show?

What are the options now then? I’m assuming they will have to bring someone in to replace Doidge/save face.

Anyone know Will Grigg's agents number? We could offer him 3 times what hes actually worth as the window slams shut.

cameronw-hfc
01-09-2022, 06:20 PM
All of this could have been avoided if we had just signed Griffiths when we had the chance. Well done Hibs.

Still not figured out if your persistent pushing this is a long running joke or you're actually serious

Get Marc McNulty in he would score goals no problem

All of this could have been avoided if we had just signed Griffiths when we had the chance. Well done Hibs.Well now we ain't getting Mckirdy... Never say never eh [emoji23]

That’s actually looking like an improvement on the situation as it stands.

01-09-2022, 06:21 PM
There doesn't seem to be qny evidence it is off either. Still think we will get him in before the night is done

It could actually work out well for Hibs.

Even if we got McKirdy and Fish it would still leave us well short in a couple of key areas. However if we had all thought one of the deals was off and it was back on last minute it might feel a bit more like a win and counteract some of the vitriol .

SteveHFC, now is your time 🤣

Get to **** Hibs

And one or two determined Ian Gordon impersonators posting their bollox off.

01-09-2022, 06:22 PM
Brian Graham?

I just can’t believe we’ve mucked this McKirdy deal up, I truly can’t.

Was looking nearly done last night, there’s no danger we’ve allowed Doidge to go to muck this up and be scrambling for a replacement in the last 4 and a half hours.

No quality in, no daddy figure, no centre mid. I’ve supported the recruitment team more than most but this would be too far.

Get to **** Hibs

Let the meltdown commence………

Wull
[LEFT]we are all forgetting about our gentleman’s agreement wi Brighton, surely they will lend us half a team:thumbsup:

Trinity Hibee
01-09-2022, 06:23 PM
As others have said if this wasn’t so serious is would be hilarious. Hope to god something changes by the deadline and we get some in

HendoDelivered

🤣

Stuarty1875
Can we get Doidge back :worried:

Irrespective of whether McKirdy signs or not and whos fault it is it is Hibs fault that they let go a forward, whether you rate him or not, before you have managed to complete a deal to bring in another one.

We are a shambles.

yerauldda
01-09-2022, 06:24 PM
Swindon have just announced a forward..

When you get to the last day of the window and you’re hoping for a signing or two to save the day, you know you’re in bad nick.

Two summer windows, two managers calling out what we need, two managers not getting what they need.

It’s a ****ing joke when the issues are so apparent.

Exactly this. For those who can’t bear other posters pointing this out, the evidence from the mouths of our managers should tell you something.

All of this could have been avoided if we had just signed Griffiths when we had the chance. Well done Hibs.You're confident we'd be able to get the deal over the line?

JammyDoidger
Ken what annoys me, the money it was going to cost to sign Mckirdy, we were quite happy to throw it at the assistant managers 16 year old laddie, mental. Can't honestly believe what we are dealing with atm.

JamesHFC
Irrespective of whether McKirdy signs or not and whos fault it is it is Hibs fault that they let go a forward, whether you rate him or not, before you have managed to complete a deal to bring in another one.

Allowing any selling club to have the upper hand as they know that we are that bit more desperate for one. Shambles.

01-09-2022, 06:25 PM

It may well be off but I find it hard to believe we'd try and change the deal last minute causing it to fall through. I certainly wouldn't be taking a bloggers word as gospel. Sadly so many on here are so entrenched in their view they'll believe anything if it gives them an excuse to lose their **** over it.

Fuzzywuzzy
Simon Murray is doing ok just now.....

Lee Marvin
Nobody else is reporting this off yet...

01-09-2022, 06:26 PM
You're confident we'd be able to get the deal over the line?

Some **** get on Flightradar and start tracking Qantas flights.

Let the meltdown commence………

I shall save the rest for later :greengrin

Interesting, Interesting!

Swindon announce striker…

https://twitter.com/official_stfc/status/1565404601381261313?s=21&t=UzZuEihF0Yo9zPZg-kgnIQ

01-09-2022, 06:27 PM
Simon Murray is doing ok just now.....

How old is big Amadou now? surely he could still do a job

Maybe time to give Laidlaw or O'Connor a run of games...

AdidasHibernian
Swindon have announced a forward....👀

Maybe time to give Laidlaw or O'Connor a run of games...

might not have much choice.

cameronw-hfc
Swindon just signed a striker/winger in Rushain Hepburn-Murphy. Could mean there's more to this than first reported.

It may well be off but I find it hard to believe we'd try and change the deal last minute causing it to fall through. I certainly wouldn't be taking a bloggers word as gospel. Sadly so many on here's view are so entrenched in their view they'll believe anything if it gives them an excuse to lose their **** over it.Poster on the PM. Board (I think) claimed it was swindon that asked for money up front this morning after agreeing instalements last night

Probably depends on what your thinking is on hibs what one to believe

01-09-2022, 06:28 PM

The guy that reported it has been bang on with his stories all summer. Don’t doubt it’s true.

I await Patrick reporting the club line shortly.

JammyDoidger
Macauley Bonne?

I can’t see it all being agreed, travels up to Edinburgh and then falls through. It seems very odd.

01-09-2022, 06:29 PM
It may well be off but I find it hard to believe we'd try and change the deal last minute causing it to fall through. I certainly wouldn't be taking a bloggers word as gospel. Sadly so many on here are so entrenched in their view they'll believe anything if it gives them an excuse to lose their **** over it.

Juice-Terry
I agree with this.

Announce tommy block

01-09-2022, 06:30 PM
I can’t see it all being agreed, travels up to Edinburgh and then falls through. It seems very odd.

maybe he saw the nick of the rubbish in the town, it set off an OCD reaction and he thought, 'not for me, this joint is a midden'.

Really no point stressing. We're light in a few areas but I think we'll still do alright. Injuries are the biggest issue, and if these players are progressing well in their rehab, signing 3 or 4 new ones would be stupid.

I agree with this.

Nah, not after the match fixing allegations.

01-09-2022, 06:31 PM
We’re still the last Edinburgh club to win both cups

https://t.co/kO2iXZf6Ju

DR reporting it’s off too

Poster on the PM. Board (I think) claimed it was swindon that asked for money up front this morning after agreeing instalements last night

Was it Hibbyfraelibby? Saw his post saying that earlier on this thread and I'd much rather take his word over the Swindon blogger's any day.

01-09-2022, 06:32 PM
A resounding no to mcnulty

I'd divert the Mckirdy funds into Signing Bruno Wellington

Really no point stressing. We're light in a few areas but I think we'll still do alright. Injuries are the biggest issue, and if these players are progressing well in their rehab, signing 3 or 4 new ones would be stupid.

Loving your optimism.

I agree.

Im jumping on the Josh O'Connor train.

https://t.co/kO2iXZf6Ju

DR reporting it’s off tooThey are reporting the report that initially reported it as being off

01-09-2022, 06:33 PM

Who, 'Beefy' Wellington?

Promote Laidlaw or O'Connor from the development squad. Nobody we can sign now will be any better.

stalbanshibby
Interesting, Interesting!

some Swindon wag posted this about Hibs negotiation stance for McKirdy :rolleyes:

https://twitter.com/i/status/1565360050243346432

Fully expecting some laughable ultra last minute bid with sweeties for a player that’s never coming here but massively unexpectedly being defeated by the window closing…

01-09-2022, 06:34 PM

I'd have beef with that decision.

some swindon wag posted this about hibs negotiation stance for mckirdy :rolleyes:

lol

Promote Laidlaw or O'Connor from the development squad. Nobody we can sign now will be any better.

Just play a bloody system that suits Melkersen, Youan and Boyle. 10 goals each and we're laughing

01-09-2022, 06:35 PM
some Swindon wag posted this about Hibs negotiation stance for McKirdy :rolleyes:

It actually looks a teeny bit like Ron Gordon

https://twitter.com/i/status/1565360050243346432Atleast he finalised the deal

There's so little evidence of this squad doing enough to win games. People probably feel the recent middling PPG rate and general lack of anything in excess of goal a game is worthy of minor stress.

01-09-2022, 06:36 PM
It actually looks a teeny bit like Ron Gordon

Don’t…

Beat you by one minute.

HibeeMackenzie
Anyone else on the coaching staff got a son we can sign?

Nah **** this I’m done. Ian, Ron, this is pathetic. And I’m done defending this.

I’ve had a ****ing ****ty day at work as well, can anyone tell? 🤣

Atleast he finalised the deal

Not sure, did he make it out the door?

Paulie Walnuts
Fully expecting some laughable ultra last minute bid with sweeties for a player that’s never coming here but massively unexpectedly being defeated by the window closing…

Ah the good old £1m bid for Steven Naismith when he’s valued at £2.5m truck.

That was a belter when we done that.

Beat you by one minute.You did

You beat the beef by 1 minute

Well. Played [emoji106]

cameronw-hfc
You could write the script now. 23.50 tonight news breaks that the Mckirdy deal is back on due to nobody else being available just for us to leave it too late and get nobody.

01-09-2022, 06:37 PM

👏👏👏
Well said.

BlackSheep
At this rate we will see Ian Gordon stripped and ready to play on Saturday 😂

Trinity Hibee
Just play a bloody system that suits Melkersen, Youan and Boyle. 10 goals each and we're laughing

If no one comes in we need to change the formation. This 3 upfront with 2 of them wide is a load of pish. Get 2 up front and ether 4 or 5 in midfield. We get overrun in the current formation and it can’t be any worse than what we’ve seen this last few months.

Or an aunt or grandad or even a big screen perhaps?

Haha! Decent that.

01-09-2022, 06:38 PM

He's not a Swindon wag. He's a Hibby, supposedly.

All this grief over a little slug with no personality.

Can any poster on here play upfront, midfield or at centre-back?

Don’t…

Come on, you have to laugh. It will just make the Scottish Cup Win 2023 even sweeter that we did it despite making it so hard for ourselves by not buying any good players.

HFC93
01-09-2022, 06:39 PM
This is peak Hibs.

Anyone else got the fear Hearts will make an offer now as they’re desperate for a striker?

Frantically scavenging fm 22 for players under 24 value less than 100k and listed for loan.

Yeah, it'd be curtains for us.

jakeshibs
Joke as others say…

Let’s hope the fans (myself included) vent their anger at the board rather than the manager/players when we are next struggling in a game due to lack of options…. Most likely Saturday

why ??

lets just get behind the team whoever we have and support them, no one knows the facts or reasons behind the signings or if the deal has fallen through.

Poster on the PM. Board (I think) claimed it was swindon that asked for money up front this morning after agreeing instalements last night

i thought what went on the PB board stayed on the PM board ?

You could write the script now. 23.50 tonight news breaks that the Mckirdy deal is back on due to nobody else being available just for us to leave it too late and get nobody.

Well it being Hibs we certainly won’t secure nobody now if we can leave it until the last minute to secure nobody instead.

Anyone else got the fear Hearts will make an offer now as they’re desperate for a striker?

Think they signed a boy on loan from Wigan?

01-09-2022, 06:40 PM
𝗦𝗮𝗶𝗻𝘁𝘀 𝘀𝗶𝗴𝗻 𝗖𝗼𝗻𝗻𝗼𝗿 𝗠𝗰𝗟𝗲𝗻𝗻𝗮𝗻 𝗳𝗿𝗼𝗺 𝗔𝗯𝗲𝗿𝗱𝗲𝗲𝗻

Connor moves to McDiarmid Park on a season-long loan deal.

The 22-year-old former Scotland under-21 striker can fill a variety of positions in attacking areas

All this grief over a little slug with no personality.

Should be looking at Slough Town's best forward.

i thought what went on the PB board stayed on the PM board ?Well it did - until the deal was announced as off

Wait until folk hear about who are back ups are [emoji23]

They’ve signed or agreed to sign a striker from Wigan on loan

Paulie Walnuts
01-09-2022, 06:41 PM
why ??

lets just get behind the team whoever we have and support them, no one knows the facts or reasons behind the signings or if the deal has fallen through.

Naw, I’ll pass on just plodding along pretending everything is fine thanks.

Think they signed a boy on loan from Wigan?

WILL GRIGG???
This IS actually Ron re-playing that Sunderland documentary isnt it??

GreenGray

Tbh if we can’t get angry now when can we, that sort of attitude is why **** all will change [emoji106]

Hibiza
Haha! Decent that.

Come on, you have to laugh. It will just make the Scottish Cup Win 2023 even sweeter that we did it despite making it so hard for ourselves by not buying any good players.

****, you’ll probably turn out to be right. We’ll win it and hate ourselves for it.

You're confident we'd be able to get the deal over the line?

Good point, didn't think of that

Sounds like a typical hibs deadline day tbh. It's either this or panic buying.

01-09-2022, 06:43 PM

As I indicate 2 hours ago. This is still playing out. Swindon now need to off load McKirdy who after tonight becomes unsellable

01-09-2022, 06:43 PM
WILL GRIGG???
This IS actually Ron re-playing that Sunderland documentary isnt it??

I ****ing TOLD you

01-09-2022, 06:44 PM
Do we even need a striker?

Get get mo mo bojanges in

Tait (the savior) in midfield

No one else content with our squad then?

[emoji51]

01-09-2022, 06:44 PM
https://twitter.com/mhendry92/status/1565409249924194305?s=21&t=FeypJSTgxpbXNsWLJdUF_Q

01-09-2022, 06:45 PM
As I indicate 2 hours ago. This is still playing out. Swindon now need to off load McKirdy who after tonight becomes unsellable

It would be so Hibs at this point to end up with a new signing who hates both the club he’s left and the club he’s joins -before he even kicks a ball for us - for the way they’ve treated him in the transfer.

Do we even need a striker?

Get get mo mo bojanges in

Tait (the savior) in midfield

No one else content with our squad then?

[emoji51]

Oh boy I forgot about Bojang. Get him started on Saturday. How can the opposition defend him when even we don't know what he can do.

Itk or putting 2 & 2 together? (And hopefully coming up with 4)

01-09-2022, 06:46 PM
Frantically scavenging fm 22 for players under 24 value less than 100k and listed for loan.

It would be so Hibs at this point to end up with a new signing who hates both the club he’s left and the club he’s joins -before he even kicks a ball for us - for the way they’ve treated him in the transfer.How have we treated him?

Did Scott Allan hate us after celtic played funny buggers?

No, he didn't have time for lawell thohgh

Swindon won't want a character like Mckirdy hanging around after today

The thing that gets me is Johnson wants to play a very specific style and needs players capable of doing so

He highlighted McKirdy early doors and we’ve ultimately failed at the final hurdle

01-09-2022, 06:47 PM
https://twitter.com/mhendry92/status/1565409249924194305?s=21&t=FeypJSTgxpbXNsWLJdUF_Q

Understand the deal changed late on and, ultimately, suited neither party.

That doesn’t quite make sense? If hibs changed the deal it would be to suit them? if Swindon did it would have been to suit them?

01-09-2022, 06:47 PM
Announce Nisbet

01-09-2022, 06:48 PM

That doesn’t quite make sense? If hibs changed the deal it would be to suit them? if Swindon did it would have been to suit them?Yeah doesn't make sense that

01-09-2022, 06:49 PM

Shoot Ian ask questions later though.

mcfly
I wouldn’t be surprised if the manager walks away from this shambles of a club.

Terrible Shame as the fans turn up in big numbers year in year out just to be let down.

Very disappointing- we are a joke

The thing that gets me is Johnson wants to play a very specific style and needs players capable of doing so

He highlighted McKirdy early doors and we’ve ultimately failed at the final hurdle

It’s no over until the clock strikes midnight.
A lot can happen in 4 hours 11 minutes!

01-09-2022, 06:50 PM
We’re an absolute mess at the moment. I think I’m beyond being surprised or upset.

01-09-2022, 06:50 PM

Even as a joke that's pretty crass.

01-09-2022, 06:51 PM

That doesn’t quite make sense? If hibs changed the deal it would be to suit them? if Swindon did it would have been to suit them?

Exactly, it's drivel.

It didn't metamorphosise. Somebody changed it to suit them and it didn't suit the other party.

Whoever changed it is culpable.

Lee Marvin
01-09-2022, 06:51 PM
It’s no over until the clock strikes midnight.
A lot can happen in 4 hours 11 minutes!

Yeah, we may even sign our 76th target or, better still, a player the club never knew existed before this evening...

01-09-2022, 06:52 PM
Stupid

Souter96Mac

'Suited neither party' what does that even mean?

Yeah, we may even sign our 76th target or better still a player the club had never knew existed before this evening...

Indeed. You never know!

Torto7
01-09-2022, 06:53 PM

Terrible Shame as the fans turn up in big numbers year in year out just to be let down.

Why would he walk away? He's been the most backed Hibs manager since Ginger Judas.

Hibiza
01-09-2022, 06:54 PM
How many times do we have to take being kicked in the nuts.

We want all the cash up front…..well we’ll only pay it up over 2 years🤔

mcfly
Why would he walk away? He's been the most backed Hibs manager since Ginger Judas.

Backed?? Really?

Club is a shambles mate

hibbyboy1
I think someone else has come in for him with a better offer, so they have thrown a spanner in the works to pi** hibs off

01-09-2022, 06:55 PM
Superscoreboard have just said the McKirdy deal might not be dead.

01-09-2022, 06:56 PM

With some of his comments in the last fortnight or so, I think there’s every chance of that happening if we end the window with an untried, 19 year old centre half.

It’s not went well on the pitch so far (which he’s not blameless in) so if he’s not getting supported it wouldn’t surprise me one bit if he was off.

Been to the loo and now back.

Things still the same??

Trinity Hibee

He’s already told of his frustration a couple of times with what he has to work with and that’s after first few weeks of season. He’s said what he wants/needs and if he doesn’t get it tonight then why tarnish you’re reputation by hanging about a club that is on the slide. It’s certainly not out of the question.

Surprise

01-09-2022, 06:57 PM

Things still the same??

Maybe, maybe not. See my post 2 above yours.

Things still the same??

It's back on. Maybe

It just feels so Hibs.

Not surprised at the way the day is unfolding. Not angry either.

Going to be a horrible season ahead with the one crumb of comfort of us looking to the January window in the vain hope that the club will have learnt its lesson. Same as last year.

We won't though. We'll make the same mistake again.

01-09-2022, 06:58 PM

It means a Mexican stand-off, first to blink now has lost. :bandit:

LunasBoots
01-09-2022, 06:58 PM
Oh dear. Hope Gordon and Johnson have identified other targets, I get the feeling this deal was just not ever really going to happen anyway, Mckirdy is quite settled down south

01-09-2022, 06:59 PM
With some of his comments in the last fortnight or so, I think there’s every chance of that happening if we end the window with an untried, 19 year old centre half.

It’s not went well on the pitch so far (which he’s not blameless in) so if he’s not getting supported it wouldn’t surprise me one bit if he was off.

Not many managers walk away voluntarily, he’s probably just waiting for his payoff now given what he’s been left to work with.

The best outcome I can see is that he thinks stuff it, this squad will get me sacked anyway might as well try the likes of Macintyre, O’Connor, Laidlaw etc and see if youthful exuberance can kick start something.

01-09-2022, 06:59 PM
Announce Boaty McBoatface

01-09-2022, 07:00 PM
I feel sorry for the poor lad Fish when he’s announced, won’t exactly get the best response.

If either side has gone back on a verbal agreement then it’s really not on.

ShadesLongThrow

Can only think it's a demand from the player that's caused this. Perhaps he's wanting a payment from Swindon for leaving plus a signing on fee from us. And we've both told him to bolt.

Clarence
01-09-2022, 07:01 PM
What’s Jamie Cureton up to these days?

01-09-2022, 07:02 PM
It's back on. Maybe

I never thought I would see the day when I stopped caring, and lost interest, but its getting that way, scunnered wi the way our club is being run.
We are fast becoming the joke team of Scottish Fitba.

Maybe, maybe not. See my post 2 above yours.

It's back on. Maybe

Fingers crossed.

Not over till it’s over, well midnight!

Ron’s seen the reaction on here and has got the cheque book out🤞

Logie Green
01-09-2022, 07:03 PM

01-09-2022, 07:04 PM
We still not interested in any midfielders?

muzzando
Ethan Galbraith season long loan to Salford

I feel sorry for the poor lad Fish when he’s announced, won’t exactly get the best response.

Yeah.

Unless it has the "Rocky effect". I thought our communications announcing his signing were disrespectful and frankly disgraceful.

He certainly started the season like he had a point to prove.

Maybe torrents of abuse for Fish will give him similar motivation? (Not that I'm suggesting it should or that it will be in any way aceptable).

01-09-2022, 07:05 PM

I'm still holding out for David Platt

WestStandWillie
Sure lesser Gordon has scouted the Bangladeshi league and found us another prospect. Sigh

No. Statistically we have 3 very good midfielders in Newell, JDH & Campbell. The fact those stats don’t seem to translate to a coherent midfield that helps us win games is by the by.

heidtheba
01-09-2022, 07:06 PM
Apologies if mentioned already. I see Chris Maguire has been released. Was he at Sunderland at the same time as LJ?

01-09-2022, 07:07 PM
Apologies if mentioned already. I see Chris Maguire has been released. Was he at Sunderland at the same time as LJ?

Yes then had a wee argument once maguire came back and scored against Sunderland

On YouTube

01-09-2022, 07:09 PM
Stephen Kelly joins Livingston

Billy Gilmour joining Brighton after a medical

01-09-2022, 07:09 PM
I'm still holding out for David Platt

And Ronnie Rosenthal 👍

01-09-2022, 07:10 PM

This. I'm not actually that upset about McKirdy as we play 1 up top and have Youan, Melkerson and Nisbet back in a couple of months.

If we sign him great but I'm not sure he's what we need.

But I will be gobsmacked if we don't strengthen in the middle of the park. This midfield doesn't give us control, goals, energy or creativity.

01-09-2022, 07:11 PM

Stepping back from it all I can’t help thinking that we needed a CH, CM and CF and we’ve signed none. Todays saga has everyone on edge about a forward that some people don’t even think is the right type. If we end up getting him after all it will be a fine piece of ‘look, a squirrel’ to divert from the real remaining mess.

McGruber

That's a potentially good signing for them

Billy Gilmour joining Brighton after a medical

Really good signing for Livi

01-09-2022, 07:12 PM
No. Statistically we have 3 very good midfielders in Newell, JDH & Campbell. The fact those stats don’t seem to translate to a coherent midfield that helps us win games is by the by.

Yes, and you have lies, damn lies and statistics, that 3 are not good enough that is just a plain old fact.

McGruber
Stepping back from it all I can’t help thinking that we needed a CH, CM and CF and we’ve signed none. Todays saga has everyone on edge about a forward that some people don’t even think is the right type. If we end up getting him after all it will be a fine piece of ‘look, a squirrel’ to divert from the real remaining mess.

A flying squirrel?

K-Zazu
Has anyone got Rainbow Fc phone number?

Hibiza
01-09-2022, 07:14 PM
It just feels so Hibs.

Not surprised at the way the day is unfolding. Not angry either.

Going to be a horrible season ahead with the one crumb of comfort of us looking to the January window in the vain hope that the club will have learnt its lesson. Same as last year.

We won't though. We'll make the same mistake again.

January window will just be the same.

01-09-2022, 07:15 PM
Pat McPartlin is awful quiet with any updates about the deal being off.

Maybe some hope

Could we make a last minute bid for Rod Petrie? Just to do the transfer stuff? Or at least kill all the leaks and do courses in how to play your cards close to your chest?

The feeling im getting from Hibs right now is on a par with how we were around that calderwood, fenlon , butcher time .. Season by season decline , seems we are spending money but not on the most important part … The starting eleven should be the focus after a bad season , not development signings, first team players who have never kicked a ball professionally.. We really do seem to be a complete shambles and the proof will be in the pudding at the end of the day.

HibeeBigFly

Totally agree, find it baffling we are scrambling about singing players from the likes of Swindon etc when we have highly rated youngsters of our own. How old do you need to be to play in this league. Flipping Barca have had multiple teenagers starting every game for years now.

01-09-2022, 07:16 PM

Did they not have a huge fall out?

cameronw-hfc
Pat McPartlin is awful quiet with any updates about the deal being off.

Maybe some hope

He's usually pretty quick when news breaks to confirm or deny as well.

A flying squirrel?

Certainly won’t be a ****ing playing squirrel.

New Hibernian signing Chip Munk has arrived on loan from top Madagascan side Treetops Thistle. Munk injured himself getting off the plane and is now expected to hibernate for the rest of this season. Hibernian are understood to be enquiring about his 18 year old brother Celibate as a possible replacement.

Bridge hibs
What exactly are you all angry at?

If you had the chance to sign Boyle, McGeady, Marshall, Youan and Cabraja pre window everyone would jump at it.There are 3 or 4 posters on here that have completely lost the ****ing plot, its hilarious just to read their posts alone, thread is worth logging in for just for the laughs 🤣🤣

j'adorehibs
01-09-2022, 07:17 PM
Everyone should go to bed now and wait for the transfer news tomorrow. All this conjecture based on twitter etc is debilitating.

01-09-2022, 07:17 PM
This. I'm not actually that upset about McKirdy as we play 1 up top and have Youan, Melkerson and Nisbet back in a couple of months.

If we sign him great but I'm not sure he's what we need.

But I will be gobsmacked if we don't strengthen in the middle of the park. This midfield doesn't give us control, goals, energy or creativity.

In a couple of months 3rd place will already be gone if we don't address the issues in the squad this window, which is looking extremely, extremely unlikely at this stage.

01-09-2022, 07:19 PM
In a couple of months 3rd place will already be gone if we don't address the issues in the squad this window, which is looking extremely, extremely unlikely at this stage.

TBF third place is well gone already.

Chip Monk 😂😂😂

There are 3 or 4 posters on here that have completely lost the ****ing plot, its hilarious just to read their posts alone, thread is worth logging in for just for the laughs 🤣🤣

You’re absolutely right, they seem to think everything is just fine.

01-09-2022, 07:20 PM
Still just under three hours, nothing official about McKirdy. Plenty of rumours on Twitter growing legs.

Could well be Swindon wanting a few more quid.

JamesHFC
Dynel Simeu has signed for Tranmere ffs.

Mikey_1875
Dynel Simeu signs for Tranmere on loan

01-09-2022, 07:21 PM
You’re absolutely right, they seem to think everything is just fine.

You seem desperate for a fight.

I blame Sky - hours and hours of complete guff trying to drum up interest in transfer deadline day.

We have signed a fair few players during the window (maybe not strengthening in the right areas) but because we don't sign anyone in the last few hours, people are losing the head

And don't even get me started on those muppets that present the transfer deadline day, it's almost as if it was about them than football players

Can you blame him? This is a nonsense.

GreenPJ
Totally agree, find it baffling we are scrambling about singing players from the likes of Swindon etc when we have highly rated youngsters of our own. How old do you need to be to play in this league. Flipping Barca have had multiple teenagers starting every game for years now.

Would not disagree but that is down to the manager to pick the team its not Ron Gordon's fault that the manager does not look to utilise any of those young players. They may prove to be not good enough but you never know until they get the opportunity.

01-09-2022, 07:22 PM
Dynel Simeu has signed for Tranmere ffs.Yep we turned our focus on the fish

Hearts sign new striker.

https://twitter.com/Record_Sport/status/1565419301070307328

Can we just cut the bull and sign Andy Carroll

18Craig75
Obviously there are loads of reasons why a deal can fall through but you have to say that Hibs, at the moment, seem to absolutely Excel at coming out of these situations looking like absolute amateurs.

There’s no denying that we need to find the formula soon. IG should have all his ducks in a row going into a transfer window. It shouldn’t be hard to cell the club to potential signings.

Lee Marvin
Darren McGregor is one injury away from starting football matches. That's Darren McGregor who I thought effectively retired last year (and who I love, btw).

Our best defender is someone who the club didn't want and signed by accident after being absolutely awful last season.

We do not have one properly good central midfielder. Not one.

Melkerson and someone signed from Rainbow FC are our only proper centre forwards.

Solid spine Hibs..solid.

TBF third place is well gone already.

If it isnt this season then you can bet your bottom dollar that next couple of years will see us scraping around the bottom of the table. Seen this so many times from Hibs ..

01-09-2022, 07:24 PM
Transfer window closes at midnight but deals can still go through until 01:00 GMT

Oh, I’m the one desperate for a fight? Not posters attacking others as having ‘lost the plot’? Righto.

McGruber
Certainly won’t be a ****ing playing squirrel.

New Hibernian signing Chip Munk has arrived on loan from top Madagascan side Treetops Thistle. Munk injured himself getting off the plane and is now expected to hibernate for the rest of this season. Hibernian are understood to be enquiring about his 18 year old brother Celibate as a possible replacement.

I bet his brother's situation would be even more frustrating!

01-09-2022, 07:25 PM
Oh, I’m the one desperate for a fight? Not posters attacking others as having ‘lost the plot’? Righto.Why did I read that in a voice that was coming from someone desperate for a fight?

[emoji23][emoji23]

#2 Double Tap
There’s no denying that we need to find the formula soon. IG should have all his ducks in a row going into a transfer window. It shouldn’t be hard to cell the club to potential signings.

Starting to look like they are signing ***** on purpose.

AdidasHibernian
Hearts sign new striker.

https://twitter.com/Record_Sport/status/1565419301070307328

Ryan Stevenson's lovechild

21sMay
01-09-2022, 07:26 PM
Still reckon mckirdy will sign

01-09-2022, 07:27 PM
Why did I read that in a voice that was coming from someone desperate for a fight?

[emoji23][emoji23]

Sounds like my wife.

01-09-2022, 07:27 PM
Why did I read that in a voice that was coming from someone desperate for a fight?

[emoji23][emoji23]

You sound like someone desperate for a fight.

Am I doing this right?

01-09-2022, 07:28 PM
Anyone been down to see if there are any lights (or candles) on at HTC or ER??

Sounds like my wife.

Have you considered that maybe it is…?

That's what I was thinking. This morning looked like all were coming. At moment none of the positions.

If McKirdy hold up is a one off up front payment take the hit and give them the 200k to get it done, surely.

Have you considered that maybe it is…?

01-09-2022, 07:29 PM
You sound like someone desperate for a fight.

Am I doing this right?I read that as someone holding there nose, so no.

https://twitter.com/ryanwfwa/status/1565417287556947968?s=21&t=FeypJSTgxpbXNsWLJdUF_Q

The Swindon ITK guy says no confirmation either way

McGruber
Still reckon mckirdy will sign

Yeah, me too - gamesmanship just now

01-09-2022, 07:30 PM
Darren McGregor is one injury away from starting football matches. That's Darren McGregor who I thought effectively retired last year (and who I love, btw).

Our best defender is someone who the club didn't want and signed by accident after being absolutely awful last season.

We do not have one properly good central midfielder. Not one.

Melkerson and someone signed from Rainbow FC are our only proper centre forwards.

Solid spine Hibs..solid.

This is somewhere between excruciating and hilarious to read.

But sadly, every word of it is true.

01-09-2022, 07:30 PM
Yeah, me too - gamesmanship just now

Yip. Hope so

01-09-2022, 07:31 PM
January window will just be the same.

Minus Lee Johnson.

01-09-2022, 07:32 PM
I truly can’t believe I’m writing this in 2022 and don’t know whether to laugh or cry but did that ex Arsenal bloke Sanogo get a club?

Torto7
Starting to look like they are signing ***** on purpose.

I blame Sky - hours and hours of complete guff trying to drum up interest in transfer deadline day.

We have signed a fair few players during the window (maybe not strengthening in the right areas) but because we don't sign anyone in the last few hours, people are losing the head

And don't even get me started on those muppets that present the transfer deadline day, it's almost as if it was about them than football players

We have had 3 months to improve our first team .. Its actually staggering that we have managed to come out the other end weaker than we started. The football decisions being made are so random and bizarre , whats the strategy ? To me it looks like trying to sign young players and hopefully make some money on them .. We currently have 4 or 5 good players , the rest are either bang average or just plain *****.

well i for one am going to scream if the club announce a 19 year old for the development team, he's only played 3 professional games but IG insists he looks great on fm, whatever it's called

Zambernardi1875
01-09-2022, 07:33 PM
Have we punted doidge to a rival and brought nobody in?

01-09-2022, 07:34 PM
I’m getting the feeling I won’t need the pitchfork. I’m keeping it handy though. I’m currently wrapping rags round big sticks ready to soak them in flammable liquid. You can never be too prepared.

Sounds like my wife.Is she a centre half or potentially the missing link(s) in our midfield? and is she free most Saturdays?

We’ve signed Billy the Fish

RMQ1967
01-09-2022, 07:35 PM
There are 3 or 4 posters on here that have completely lost the ****ing plot, its hilarious just to read their posts alone, thread is worth logging in for just for the laughs 🤣🤣

It would be funny if it wasn't so pathetic - drama queens having hissy fits. The clubs never been in better hands and although it's frustrating that we seem to be short in a few areas on the pitch I've never been more confident about the positive direction the owner is taking things.

That includes moving underperforming managers on & if LJ doesn't get things organised on the pitch he could find himself out of a job again.

In Ron we trust 🙏

01-09-2022, 07:35 PM
Dynel Simeu has signed for Tranmere ffs.

Bit embarrassing that

Paulie Walnuts
01-09-2022, 07:36 PM
It would be funny if it wasn't so pathetic - drama queens having hissy fits. The clubs never been in better hands and although it's frustrating that we seem to be short in a few areas on the pitch I've never been more confident about the positive direction the owner is taking things.

That includes moving underperforming managers on & if LJ doesn't get things organised on the pitch he could find himself out of a job again.

In Ron we trust 🙏

Absolutely brainwashed.

01-09-2022, 07:37 PM

Naw, dinnie be saying things like that, no real fitba team would do such an amateur thing shirley.