View Full Version : Greggs Summer 2022-23 transfer thread

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 [20] 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71

10-06-2022, 02:08 PM
I stand corrected. I must have totally imagined that. :greengrin Its the aberdeen game that was in my head when he came on for Paul at 88 mins. Forgive me - im old.

OK :greengrin

I should remove the "what are you on about". Nae need :aok:

10-06-2022, 02:16 PM
Disagree with that.

We need and have better than Mcginn for that position. He’s served us well but his wage can be used more efficiently elsewhere in the squad. There’s no room for loyalty this seasonYou are assuming we get a fee or whoever agrees to get him matches or betters his wage. Otherwise we will have to include some or all of his salary whether he's here or not.

Sent from my SM-G965F using Tapatalk

10-06-2022, 02:27 PM
You are assuming we get a fee or whoever agrees to get him matches or betters his wage. Otherwise we will have to include some or all of his salary whether he's here or not.

That's really not how it works and actually unless he's on loan, it would be against the rules for two clubs to be paying him simultaneously, If he agrees to go to another club, then he would be accepting whatever wages they are offering. He might choose not to move, but if he is out of the managers plans then he would be cutting his nose off to spite his face.

10-06-2022, 02:45 PM
You are assuming we get a fee or whoever agrees to get him matches or betters his wage. Otherwise we will have to include some or all of his salary whether he's here or not.

Not the first time I've seen claims that a player can be collecting salary from two different clubs at the same time? Where on earth did that fairytale come from?

Brown Hibs
10-06-2022, 03:03 PM
We already have two better in his position and just signed another right back and right centre back.

Absolutely this. I love fans forums but you get some eccentric opinions. All valid and it's what it's all about but glad it's left to the professionals 😂. Eg "Doidge is better than Nisbet", "Doig isn't worth £2 million", "Ian Gordon is an easy target" (head of recruitment), "Mcgeady" 😂

10-06-2022, 03:23 PM
That's really not how it works and actually unless he's on loan, it would be against the rules for two clubs to be paying him simultaneously, If he agrees to go to another club, then he would be accepting whatever wages they are offering. He might choose not to move, but if he is out of the managers plans then he would be cutting his nose off to spite his face.

True, but players do get pay offs to leave while still under contract sometimes. This sometimes gets translated as covering the drop in wages.

10-06-2022, 03:27 PM
Not the first time I've seen claims that a player can be collecting salary from two different clubs at the same time? Where on earth did that fairytale come from?

Happens in football manager, no idea if it happens in real life however it would be odd feature to just make up. Basically players only leave for a lesser wage if your club matches the difference.

10-06-2022, 03:46 PM
I might be being pedantic, but I'm pretty sure none of our players are getting any younger. :greengrin

Reminds me of this choice Kevin Keegan bit of World Cup punditry:

“The guys who are 24 or 25 now, in four years’ time will be 28 or 29, if they’re not careful.”

10-06-2022, 03:48 PM

It just means that loan agreements are often subsidised by the parent club.

We might, for all I know, have continued to make a contribution towards Gogic’s wages while he was out on loan, for example.

10-06-2022, 03:52 PM
It just means that loan agreements are often subsidised by the parent club.

We might, for all I know, have continued to make a contribution towards Gogic’s wages while he was out on loan, for example.
Loans are different, I accept that. The poster had mentioned a fee (which others have done in the past) - being paid by two clubs isn't a real thing in the event of a permanent transfer. Can't recall who was saying it but I remember this claim being made when Martin Boyle left us.

10-06-2022, 04:05 PM
Not a single signing today - either intentional or unintentional. Now convinced Gordon thought yesterday was TDD.

10-06-2022, 04:09 PM
Not a single signing today - either intentional or unintentional. Now convinced Gordon thought yesterday was TDD.

The good news is that Hibs haven't been doing their usual 5pm signings they have been happening at random times, even quite late at night. Who knows we may even make an announcement over the weekend which isn't normally like us.

10-06-2022, 04:14 PM
Reminds me of this choice Kevin Keegan bit of World Cup punditry:

“The guys who are 24 or 25 now, in four years’ time will be 28 or 29, if they’re not careful.”

He said a better one in “what’s the French for Deja Vu”

10-06-2022, 04:15 PM
The good news is that Hibs haven't been doing their usual 5pm signings they have been happening at random times, even quite late at night. Who knows we may even make an announcement over the weekend which isn't normally like us.

Signing announcements at seemingly random times, weird. :hmmm:

10-06-2022, 04:16 PM

Maybe Ron is running the Twitter account himself and he's posting Eastern Standard Time thinking it's a nice lunchtime announcement 😉

Bridge hibs
10-06-2022, 04:18 PM
Come on hibs, get Thembinkosi Fanteni, Stephen Fletcher and Aiden McGeady announced

10-06-2022, 04:35 PM

Unlike the old days of the 9-5 announcements is what I was getting at.

10-06-2022, 04:39 PM
How many times does this have to be said. He did not get a new deal. His existing one included this and he activated the option. Even rocket scientists understand this
Not many rocket scientists on here, but there are a few rockets 🙄

winnipeg jets
10-06-2022, 04:44 PM
Speaking to Nikki on Wednesday, loved his time at Hibs and he’s now a free agent. Left him singing “Gory Glory to the Hibees. :flag::flag::flag:

10-06-2022, 05:01 PM
How we all doing this morning? Still hysterical?

Probably important for clarity - particularly in the febrile weeks ahead - that we have a clear supporter anger rating mutually agreed between the Happy Clapping and Bedwetting ends of the '**** you, NO **** You!' Hibernian supporter spectrum.

Here's the US armed forces version and then what I interpret the Lee Johnson's green and white army version to be:

DEFCON 1 COCKED PISTOL - Nuclear war is imminent or has already begun
DEFCON 2 FAST PACE - Next step to nuclear war
DEFCON 3 ROUND HOUSE - Increase in force readiness above that required for normal readiness
DEFCON 4 DOUBLE TAKE - Increased intelligence watch and strengthened security measures
DEFCON 5 FADE OUT - Lowest state of readiness

DEFCON 1 JDT PISTOL - New manager demands are imminent or have already begun
DEFCON 2 SLOW PACE, NO GOALS - Terry Butcher PTSD episodes, .net mutual consenting begins
DEFCON 3 WTF? - We're frequently hard to watch and strengthened drinking measures are required
DEFCON 4 LOL. HE'S GONNAE PUMP HER - Increase in disappointment above that required for standard disappointment
DEFCON 5 21ST MAY - Missing presumed pished. In Leith.

10-06-2022, 05:40 PM
Cameron Carter-Vickers signs on for 4 years at Celtic.

10-06-2022, 05:45 PM
Nathan Woods signs for Swansea for an undisclosed fee.

10-06-2022, 05:53 PM

Makes Rocky look like VVD

10-06-2022, 06:00 PM
Liked the look of the number 21 Harry something or other for the UAE v Aus, rapid on the left wing, tore the jambo bassa a new one, we should go for him.
Looks even faster than Boyle.

Brown Hibs
10-06-2022, 06:10 PM

20 years old, played once for us last season (a bottom 6 spfl team). Give it a break.

10-06-2022, 06:15 PM

He was awful for us but arguably thrown in at the deep end with insufficient support. Another who could well come good.

10-06-2022, 06:17 PM

Florida is 5 hours behind so our 5pms will become 10pms

10-06-2022, 06:19 PM

He never wanted to be here and it showed...

10-06-2022, 06:21 PM
Florida is 5 hours behind so our 5pms will become 10pms
Depends where in Florida, some of it is on Eastern Time and some of it is on Central Time which is 6 hours behind.

10-06-2022, 06:22 PM

One appearance on loan which was horrific tells its own story. Probably our strangest signing in a while.

10-06-2022, 06:23 PM
Speaking to Nikki on Wednesday, loved his time at Hibs and he’s now a free agent. Left him singing “Gory Glory to the Hibees. :flag::flag::flag:

Who’s Nikki?

10-06-2022, 06:25 PM
Who’s Nikki?

I assumed it was Gunnarsson, unless Minaj once played outside right

xqnq1875
10-06-2022, 06:30 PM
Steven Fletcher supposedly seen in Edinburgh today according to a few folk not sure what to make of it most likely just visiting but you never know

Stairway 2 7
10-06-2022, 06:56 PM
Yous are all to cynical. I met Ian Gordon in the la scala picture house when I was watching escape to victory. He leaned over and went "that boy up front won't make it". It was Pele, I thought deary me

angus hibby
10-06-2022, 07:18 PM
I see he’s in talks over a new contract with Forest and would likely be outwith our wage bracket, but Lewis Grabban anyone?

34 year old, likely to used sparingly at Forest if he does sign a new contract, we could offer him more game time. We managed to get Grant Holt who would have been on decent wages, so why not?

cameronw-hfc
10-06-2022, 07:26 PM
I see he’s in talks over a new contract with Forest and would likely be outwith our wage bracket, but Lewis Grabban anyone?

34 year old, likely to used sparingly at Forest if he does sign a new contract, we could offer him more game time. We managed to get Grant Holt who would have been on decent wages, so why not?

Would imagine there would be no chance of that. Would score a bucket load up here. Very very good champ striker, just knows where the back of the net is.

10-06-2022, 07:32 PM

He’ll still be offered several times more than we could afford, and I’m sure he’ll be delighted to get a crack at the Premiership with Forest. Huge season for them coming up.

King Cosell
10-06-2022, 07:36 PM
Bit of a long shot but Conor Hourihane's just left Villa. Spent the last couple of seasons on loan at Swansea and Sheff Utd. Lee Johnson had him at Barnsley.

10-06-2022, 07:37 PM
Bit of a long shot but Conor Hourihane's just left Villa. Spent the last couple of seasons at Swansea and Sheff Utd.

Quality player, no doubt.

10-06-2022, 07:40 PM
Bit of a long shot but Conor Hourihane's just left Villa. Spent the last couple of seasons on loan at Swansea and Sheff Utd. Lee Johnson had him at Barnsley.

Will Vaulks left Cardiff but looks like he's Sheffield Wednesday bound. Always thought he was a decent player.

cameronw-hfc
10-06-2022, 07:45 PM

Probably my favourite Villa player in my life. Sweetest left foot I've ever seen. Bit like Mallan though, can be a bit anonymous besides his worldies

10-06-2022, 07:49 PM
Probably my favourite Villa player in my life. Sweetest left foot I've ever seen. Bit like Mallan though, can be a bit anonymous besides his worldies

Not really relevant but who was the ex-Villa player that went to Hearts expecting to stroll it but was absolutely hopeless? Think he maybe played for Ireland but not sure if that.

King Cosell
10-06-2022, 07:52 PM
Not really relevant but who was the ex-Villa player that went to Hearts expecting to stroll it but was absolutely hopeless? Think he maybe played for Ireland but not sure if that.

Glenn Whelan

angus hibby
10-06-2022, 07:52 PM

Glenn Whelan

10-06-2022, 07:53 PM

Glen Whelan but he was 35 at the time 😁😁

angus hibby
10-06-2022, 07:55 PM
He’ll still be offered several times more than we could afford, and I’m sure he’ll be delighted to get a crack at the Premiership with Forest. Huge season for them coming up.

Think he was behind Davis, Johnson and Surridge in the pecking order and that was in championship. Can’t see him playing much, if at all in PL.

cameronw-hfc
10-06-2022, 08:01 PM

Whelan. He was pretty chronic for Villa. Was Steve Bruce's pal, pretty much the only reason he was still getting a game.

10-06-2022, 08:01 PM
I once met Ian Gordon in the pub. A team in red were playing on the tele. He whispered in my ear "that Christine Redondo is some player lad" then gave me a cheeky wink. Make of that what you will.

10-06-2022, 08:19 PM
I once met Ian Gordon in the pub. A team in red were playing on the tele. He whispered in my ear "that Christine Redondo is some player lad" then gave me a cheeky wink. Make of that what you will.

I once met Ian Gordon when camping in Largs, he said not to worry, he was doing all his badges and would be Chief Scout soon, then Bear Grylls punched him in the face...

winnipeg jets
10-06-2022, 08:22 PM
I assumed it was Gunnarsson, unless Minaj once played outside right

It was sorry about that, Niklas Gunnarsson

Logie
10-06-2022, 08:25 PM
I once met Ian Gordon in a pub in Nitten and a team from France were playing, he was walking past my table, stopped looked at me and said that Keylee ham mbapheed looks decent but he’s no got enough entries of data on ma excel sheet so he’s no hibs class, and I’m chief scout coz ma auld man said so!

10-06-2022, 08:56 PM
I once met Ian Gordon in a pub in Nitten and a team from France were playing, he was walking past my table, stopped looked at me and said that Keylee ham mbapheed looks decent but he’s no got enough entries of data on ma excel sheet so he’s no hibs class, and I’m chief scout coz ma auld man said so!
I'm assuming this stuff is supposed to be funny 🙄

Logie
10-06-2022, 09:00 PM

Cheer up x

10-06-2022, 09:25 PM
After the puns this is ****ing hilarious.

10-06-2022, 09:30 PM
Think he was behind Davis, Johnson and Surridge in the pecking order and that was in championship. Can’t see him playing much, if at all in PL.

Don’t disagree but they obviously want him to stay, and he will still be involved with an EPL club at his age. Would expect him to stay there.

10-06-2022, 09:31 PM

34 year old, likely to used sparingly at Forest if he does sign a new contract, we could offer him more game time. We managed to get Grant Holt who would have been on decent wages, so why not?Seen quite a bit of grabban this season, quality, I'd drive him up myself but doubt we could get a look in.

10-06-2022, 09:48 PM
Cheer up x
Infantile stuff

Percy Vere
10-06-2022, 09:53 PM

If you’ve got a modicum of a sense of humour it’s a bit funny.
I was I in Lidl along Easter Rd. I was leaning into the ice cream freezer when Ian cornered me and whispered. “I was watching the Astor Vila and that Fancy Joan Mcminn looked the business, if only the Hibs could have a player like that!”
As he sidled off he started singing “Jooooan Mcminn fancy Joan Mcminn”
Great guy.

10-06-2022, 09:54 PM
If you’ve got a modicum of a sense of humour it’s a bit funny.
I was I in Lidl along Easter Rd. I was leaning into the ice cream freezer when Ian cornered me and whispered. “I was watching the Astor Vila and that Fancy Joan Mcminn looked the business, if only the Hibs could have a player like that!”
As he sidled off he started singing “Jooooan Mcminn fancy Joan Mcminn”
Great guy.
A career in stand up awaits.

Logie
10-06-2022, 09:59 PM
Infantile stuff

Are you for real? Pages and pages of arguing trying to have a laugh and got mr party pooper himself. Honestly man lighten up it’s a bit banter no need to reply if you don’t like it. Scroll on 👍

mixumatosis
10-06-2022, 10:15 PM
Are you for real? Pages and pages of arguing trying to have a laugh and got mr party pooper himself. Honestly man lighten up it’s a bit banter no need to reply if you don’t like it. Scroll on 👍

You didn't like the comment, but I see you chose not to scroll on.

It was utter pi$h "banter" and a lot of folk are absolutely bored of it. Scroll on if you don't like hearing that.

Logie
10-06-2022, 10:18 PM
You didn't like the comment, but I see you chose not to scroll on.

It was utter pi$h "banter" and a lot of folk are absolutely bored of it. Scroll on if you don't like hearing that.

Your right there I’ll give you that I replied as I seem to be the only one called out for it by him and now you.. you’s going to comment to the other posters? Can write however much crap banter as I want. I’m bored of hibs fans moaning at hibs fans. How about that.

10-06-2022, 10:18 PM
Lee Tomlin available played at Bristol City possibly when Johnson was manager getting on but quality

HFC93
10-06-2022, 10:22 PM

This is up there with some of the worst patter I've read on this message board.

10-06-2022, 10:23 PM
Lee Tomlin available played at Bristol City possibly when Johnson was manager getting on but quality

Looks like he's had 10 appearances in the last 2 seasons. Has he been injured?

10-06-2022, 10:24 PM

If the McGeady rumours are accurate I don’t think he would be considered. Also his physique doesn’t seem most suited for a prolonged career into their 30s.

mixumatosis
10-06-2022, 10:28 PM
Your right there I’ll give you that I replied as I seem to be the only one called out for it by him and now you.. you’s going to comment to the other posters? Can write however much crap banter as I want. I’m bored of hibs fans moaning at hibs fans. How about that.

Sorry, this isn't the complaints and appeals switchboard.

I'll call out other posters as and when I see fit but as for you, you are 100% correct, you can write however much crap banter as you want, I'll continue to point out when I and others, I believe, are bored of your comments. How about that ?

10-06-2022, 10:32 PM
Looks like he's had 10 appearances in the last 2 seasons. Has he been injured?

Think so

Logie
10-06-2022, 10:38 PM
Sorry, this isn't the complaints and appeals switchboard.

I'll call out other posters as and when I see fit but as for you, you are 100% correct, you can write however much crap banter as you want, I'll continue to point out when I and others, I believe, are bored of your comments. How about that ?

Aye sound I wrote one comment following on from other posters trying to have a laugh. Surprised I’m boring people with 1 rubbish joke maybe 2 on the whole thread, never once claimed it was funny in anyway was a continuation as I’ve already mentioned. Cheers for the apology though 😎 back to the transfers then before I bore anyone else…

10-06-2022, 10:45 PM
Aye sound I wrote one comment following on from other posters trying to have a laugh. Surprised I’m boring people with 1 rubbish joke maybe 2 on the whole thread, never once claimed it was funny in anyway was a continuation as I’ve already mentioned. Cheers for the apology though �� back to the transfers then before I bore anyone else…

Great news, much prefer page after page of posters predicting the apocalypse interspersed with visceral personal hatred for random Hibs players. God forbid we have a laugh.

10-06-2022, 11:07 PM
You know what would help with all the infighting, a really impressive quality signing for the first team. Franck Sauzee redux. For old time’s sake. There’s got to be one out there somewhere.

Stairway 2 7
10-06-2022, 11:23 PM
You know what would help with all the infighting, a really impressive quality signing for the first team. Franck Sauzee redux. For old time’s sake. There’s got to be one out there somewhere.

He captained France 9 times closest comparison would probably be if we got Raphael varane in about 4 years time

11-06-2022, 07:33 AM
I'm sure someone said fletcher was at ER. Going by insta he's golfing in Portugal

11-06-2022, 07:43 AM
I'm sure someone said fletcher was at ER. Going by insta he's golfing in Portugal

Must be in EstoRil.

11-06-2022, 07:47 AM
This is up there with some of the worst patter I've read on this message board.

Worse than the puns?

11-06-2022, 07:54 AM

Out there ahead of training camp😉

11-06-2022, 09:31 AM
Aye sound I wrote one comment following on from other posters trying to have a laugh. Surprised I’m boring people with 1 rubbish joke maybe 2 on the whole thread, never once claimed it was funny in anyway was a continuation as I’ve already mentioned. Cheers for the apology though 😎 back to the transfers then before I bore anyone else…

You're getting an awful hard time for a pretty harmless post!!!

In future, you'd be better off coming on and slating a couple of your fellow Hibs fans. Forget all manners, have a snidey dig at them and you'll feel all superior inside for a few mins.

Do it repeatedly on several threads and you'll fit right in.

11-06-2022, 10:17 AM

In future, you'd be better off coming on and slating a couple of your fellow Hibs fans. Forget all manners, have a snidey dig at them and you'll feel all superior inside for a few mins.

Every post a winner.

Logie
11-06-2022, 10:29 AM

Haha thanks mate I’ll keep that in mind 🙂

HendoDelivered
11-06-2022, 10:40 AM
“Whatever emanates from the club now, it is unlikely that Bushiri was top of Johnson’s wishlist. But, having inherited him, all he can do now is hope that the young man, having had time to settle into the Scottish game and with a pre-season under his belt, can find a way to fulfil the potential those who brought him to capital still believe is there.”

“ The suggestion was that all three would be returning to their parent clubs.

But, apparently Norwich don’t want him and, with 15 appearances last term, the Hibs and Bushiri activated a clause in his loan agreement. So, less than a week later, he was unveiled as a permanent signing.”

The Scotsman

Hector Mudflap
11-06-2022, 10:53 AM

Totally agree, there are some right stuffy people on this forum. I actually quite liked the post and "Mbapheed" is worth a smile on its own (definitely my new name for him). Laying into people because you don't like their sense of humour is akin to the crap actions of a drunk heckler. IMHO (and thats all it is)

Stairway 2 7
11-06-2022, 11:00 AM
Totally agree, there are some right stuffy people on this forum. I actually quite liked the post and "Mbapheed" is worth a smile on its own (definitely my new name for him). Laying into people because you don't like their sense of humour is akin to the crap actions of a drunk heckler. IMHO (and thats all it is)

All the posts don't make sense as they were all taking the piss out of a post that was deleted by admins. The originalpost was clearly rubbish about Ian Gordon and putting down the club as usual.

As others have said you'll get on grand if you come on slate the club or other posters. Is there a group of jambo interlopers or a right strong bunch of hibs fans who need to slate the club.

I'm negative about many things in the club, but to put so much effort as some do to put down everything is utterly bizarre

GreenGray
11-06-2022, 11:10 AM
“Whatever emanates from the club now, it is unlikely that Bushiri was top of Johnson’s wishlist. But, having inherited him, all he can do now is hope that the young man, having had time to settle into the Scottish game and with a pre-season under his belt, can find a way to fulfil the potential those who brought him to capital still believe is there.”

“ The suggestion was that all three would be returning to their parent clubs.

But, apparently Norwich don’t want him and, with 15 appearances last term, the Hibs and Bushiri activated a clause in his loan agreement. So, less than a week later, he was unveiled as a permanent signing.”

The Scotsman

That clears that up then, I wonder if those who were claiming that these sorts of clauses don’t exist will accept it.

thebausburst
11-06-2022, 11:13 AM
Fair play to Hearts brining in proven quality, Shankland next for them it seems, Bushiri and the Rainbow FC guy let’s be honest are unlikely to help us close the gap, I think realistically a top 6 finish would be an achievement.

11-06-2022, 11:14 AM
That clears that up then, I wonder if those who were claiming that these sorts of clauses don’t exist will accept it.

Or some shoddy journo read this thread and made this up 🤣

Paul1642
11-06-2022, 11:17 AM
Fair play to Hearts brining in proven quality, Shankland next for them it seems, Bushiri and the Rainbow FC guy let’s be honest are unlikely to help us close the gap, I think realistically a top 6 finish would be an achievement.

Disagree. It was very fine margins this season and only at the end did it truly crumble. We have a new, hopefully much better manager this season and are only a couple of marquee signings away from being much better. Also with a bit of luck we won’t have the same injury problems that we did last season.

What have any of the other teams really done to improve?

11-06-2022, 11:20 AM

Is Shankland because they couldn't get the guy from Everton? I'd say he's a huge downgrade then.

Window opened yesterday we will see plenty in and out.

Bridge hibs
11-06-2022, 11:22 AM
Fair play to Hearts brining in proven quality, Shankland next for them it seems, Bushiri and the Rainbow FC guy let’s be honest are unlikely to help us close the gap, I think realistically a top 6 finish would be an achievement.Or how about waiting until we have made more signings, a bit early to judge and Im certainly not concerned about them signing Shankland either

11-06-2022, 11:23 AM

Shankland with 8 premier league goals in 50 appearances - “proven quality”

If you think Shankland is proven then we've already got 2 much better strikers. Doidge and nisbet done far more at all level.

thebausburst
Disagree. It was very fine margins this season and only at the end did it truly crumble. We have a new, hopefully much better manager this season and are only a couple of marquee signings away from being much better. Also with a bit of luck we won’t have the same injury problems that we did last season.

Well let’s just look at Hearts, they’ve already brought in Forrest, Rowles, Neilson and likely to bring in Shankland and favourites for Ronan. If that was us we would be cock a hoop let’s be honest.

11-06-2022, 11:24 AM

I'm not going to brick it over Lawrence Shankland. He's not that great at all.

I'm not just saying that cause he looks to be signing for them either, I'll admit when I think they've signed a player. But he's much worse than Simms.

thebausburst
11-06-2022, 11:24 AM
If you think Shankland is proven then we've already got 2 much better strikers. Doidge and nisbet done far more at all level.

Aye guid yin, you’d have Doidge over Shankland cmon mate take the green tinted specs off

thebausburst
11-06-2022, 11:26 AM

I'm not just saying that cause he looks to be signing for them either, I'll admit when I think they've signed a player. But he's much worse than Simms.

My point is we’re bringing in some random from Rainbow FC FFS and they’re brining in Shankland

11-06-2022, 11:26 AM
Every post a winner.

You never let me down :na na:

11-06-2022, 11:27 AM

Sorry shankland isnt that good, he was good at a lower level in scotland and has done nothing since playing in the championship. Lets stop focusing on what hearts are doing and actually get behind the club

thebausburst
11-06-2022, 11:27 AM
Shankland with 8 premier league goals in 50 appearances - “proven quality”

Anyone who knows anything about football knows this lad is a really good player, point is our signings (so far) are far poorer in quality that’s all, fact (so far) not opinion.

11-06-2022, 11:28 AM
My point is we’re bringing in some random from Rainbow FC FFS and they’re brining in Shankland

I prefer our signing!

Or some shoddy journo read this thread and made this up 🤣

It is clearly an opinion piece. Summarising the thread on here basically. No information we haven't picked through and no new quotes. I'm no clearer on the situation.

Certainly, the three year contract for a player we supposedly sent home is confusing. If we made an error we've doubled down on it.

I wish him plenty of luck. With the right coaching over three years who knows?

thebausburst
Sorry shankland isnt that good, he was good at a lower level in scotland and has done nothing since playing in the championship. Lets stop focusing on what hearts are doing and actually get behind the club

Why not focus and compare given the clubs stated ambition is 3rd or 4th

11-06-2022, 11:29 AM
Anyone who knows anything about football knows this lad is a really good player, point is our signings (so far) are far poorer in quality that’s all, fact (so far) not opinion.

You don't know anything about 3 of our signings to even be able to state they are poorer than whoever that mob sign!!

11-06-2022, 11:30 AM

Agree to disagree here but we were truely awful at various spells during last season. It was a hard watch at times. There's maybe potential in the current squad but unitl proven otherwise that's about it IMO.

11-06-2022, 11:31 AM

Shankland was less good for Dundee Utd than Nisbet had been fir us. Perhaps pull them up for signing poorer quality than we've already got? Or does that not fit the dot net narrative of talking down our players while bigging up theirs?

11-06-2022, 11:31 AM
It is clearly an opinion piece. Summarising the thread on here basically. No information we haven't picked through and no new quotes. I'm no clearer on the situation.

Certainly, the three year contract for a player we supposedly sent home is confusing. If we made an error we've doubled down on it.

Agreed! I remain hopeful that with good coaching and a good pre season behind him that Rocky will come good, there is enough raw material there to work with for him to become a good centre back.

Maybe he just went home for a week to pack up and move of course 🤣

thebausburst
11-06-2022, 11:32 AM
You don't know anything about 3 of our signings to even be able to state they are poorer than whoever that mob sign!!

Aye ok mate whatever you say 🙄

11-06-2022, 11:33 AM

You cant compare as you know nothing about our new signings apart from rocky and marshall

11-06-2022, 11:34 AM

The actual window opened yesterday, there’s 2 months to get the squad sorted.

I’m excited at the prospects that have come in and have every confidence the club knows what is required.

thebausburst
11-06-2022, 11:35 AM
Shankland was less good for Dundee Utd than Nisbet had been fir us. Perhaps pull them up for signing poorer quality than we've already got? Or does that not fit the dot net narrative of talking down our players while bigging up theirs?

Their signings, generally speaking are proven quality than SOME of ours, that’s just a fact based on player profiles and performances in SPL or comparable leagues, if you can’t accept that then your just choosing to ignore facts that’s all.

11-06-2022, 11:35 AM
Aye guid yin, you’d have Doidge over Shankland cmon mate take the green tinted specs off

I absolutely would. I remember doidge battering in a hattrick while shankland watched. Doidge winner at tannadice while shankland watched. Doidge stepped up multiple times and won us big games against United. Shankland was pish in the SPL.

Doidge when fit has proven himself much the better player in games between the sides and otherwise.

thebausburst
11-06-2022, 11:37 AM
You cant compare as you know nothing about our new signings apart from rocky and marshall

Well I’d rather we’d signed Shankland than some guy from Rainbow FC

11-06-2022, 11:37 AM
I absolutely would. I remember doidge battering in a hattrick while shankland watched. Doidge winner at tannadice while shankland watched. Doidge stepped up multiple times and won us big games against United. Shankland was pish in the SPL.

Doidge when fit has proven himself much the better player in games between the sides and otherwise.

Aye but apart from all that shankland is better

11-06-2022, 11:38 AM

How much do you know about the new guy

11-06-2022, 11:38 AM
The actual window opened yesterday, there’s 2 months to get the squad sorted.

I’m excited at the prospects that have come in and have every confidence the club knows what is required.

Agree with the general point about people relaxing and that’s there’s plenty time left, I wish people would stop referring to the window only opening yesterday though, it’s completely irrelevant.

We could still sign them last week, they just couldn’t be registered to play for us until the window opened, as there’s no games that’s not an issue.

thebausburst
11-06-2022, 11:41 AM
Aye but apart from all that shankland is better

Doidge was beyond dreadful last season and scored just 2 goals, albeit I know everyone will go on about being injured and covid blah blah.

thebausburst
11-06-2022, 11:42 AM
How much do you know about the new guy

Well no much cause he’s a complete unknown playing at a very low level that’s the point 🙄

11-06-2022, 11:43 AM

Why are the Belgian team letting a very good player leave? Why are bigger teams thank Hearts not signing him?

Is it because he really isn't a very good player?

11-06-2022, 11:44 AM

That's where you've gone wrong. I'm pretty sure that the majority of football fans will make a view on an individual within seconds/minutes and rarely will they change that view. That view is also influenced by bias, in this case anti-Hertz.

IMO, Shankland is a good player in the right team. When I watched the games against Dundee United a couple of seasons ago, I did think he looked decent in the Scottish context. However, his problem was playing in a Dundee United team that were seriously lacking in creativity. I recall him going into the midfield trying to get involved, which I don't think is his strength. If he gets the service, then I'm convinced that he will score.

EDIT: Don't take the above as a view that I think he's brilliant etc. Sort of agreeing with Heisenberg who has just posted Nisbet is a better player than Shankland. So is Doidge. I agree, but depends on the service they receive.

11-06-2022, 11:45 AM

And do you think Bojang (at least use his name, it’s not difficult ffs) will be our main signing to play up front next season? No chance. It’s what can be safely assumed is a low cost signing based on info LJ was given by someone he knows in the game. No harm in it.

Nisbet is a much better player than Shankland. So is Doidge.

11-06-2022, 11:45 AM
Well no much cause he’s a complete unknown playing at a very low level that’s the point 🙄

Not much? So absolutely nothing, why not wait until you actually see him play first before claiming that a guy who has scored about half a dozen goals at this level is any better

11-06-2022, 11:46 AM
Why are the Belgian team letting a very good player leave? Why are bigger teams thank Hearts not signing him?

Is it because he really isn't a very good player?

Shankland got found out in Belgium, Rocky got capped🤔🤔🤔🤔

ElginHibbie
11-06-2022, 11:46 AM
Doidge was beyond dreadful last season and scored just 2 goals, albeit I know everyone will go on about being injured and covid blah blah.

Yeah, how dare people consider circumstances that might have caused poor form!

thebausburst
11-06-2022, 11:47 AM
That's where you've gone wrong. I'm pretty sure that the majority of football fans will make a view on an individual within seconds/minutes and rarely will they change that view. That view is also influenced by bias, in this case anti-Hertz.

IMO, Shankland is a good player in the right team. When I watched the games against Dundee United a couple of seasons ago, I did think he looked decent in the Scottish context. However, his problem was playing in a Dundee United team that were seriously lacking in creativity. I recall him going into the midfield trying to get involved, which I don't think is his strength. If he gets the service, then I'm convinced that he will score.

Thanks for your sensible reply, sadly I agree he stands a good chance of getting a bucket load for them especially at Tynecastle.

thebausburst
11-06-2022, 11:49 AM
Not much? So absolutely nothing, why not wait until you actually see him play first before claiming that a guy who has scored about half a dozen goals at this level is any better

Aye ok mate whatever you say 🙄 FFS god help you if you have an opinion on this alleged fan ‘forum’ that is not a happy clapper one, can see why the cat and others don’t bother posting here anymore.

11-06-2022, 11:51 AM
Agree with the general point about people relaxing and that’s there’s plenty time left, I wish people would stop referring to the window only opening yesterday though, it’s completely irrelevant.

We could still sign them last week, they just couldn’t be registered to play for us until the window opened, as there’s no games that’s not an issue.

Yeah I see what you mean, but it was more a comment on the fact that we’ve made signings already, what’s the panic there?

11-06-2022, 11:52 AM
Aye ok mate whatever you say 🙄 FFS god help you if you have an opinion on this alleged fan ‘forum’ that is not a happy clapper one, can see why the cat and others don’t bother posting here anymore.

Well thought out reply! because you have been challenged on your opinion you come back with that, ill leave it there and you can go watch shankland and hearts to see how well he gets on if he signs for them

thebausburst
11-06-2022, 11:53 AM
And do you think Bojang (at least use his name, it’s not difficult ffs) will be our main signing to play up front next season? No chance. It’s what can be safely assumed is a low cost signing based on info LJ was given by someone he knows in the game. No harm in it.

Nisbet is a much better player than Shankland. So is Doidge.

Listen as long as we’re happy to accept that, realistically, we’re a top 6 battling side with outside chance of higher there is no harm in these signings.

thebausburst
11-06-2022, 11:55 AM
Well thought out reply! because you have been challenged on your opinion you come back with that, ill leave it there and you can go watch shankland and hearts to see how well he gets on if he signs for them

Hardly challenged, you’re a happy clapper and that’s fine good luck to you but try to listen more objectively to the views of others that’s all.

11-06-2022, 11:56 AM
I’d take Shankland to supplement what we currently have, especially with Nisbet likely to be out until December. But he’s not a patch on Nisbet in my view

11-06-2022, 11:57 AM
Hardly challenged, you’re a happy clapper and that’s fine good luck to you but try to listen more objectively to the views of others that’s all.

A happy clapper😂😂 you clearly dont sit near me at ER if you actually go, id just rather wait and see how players we know nothing about actually get on before claiming players that havent even reached double figures in the same league get on

The Tubs
11-06-2022, 11:58 AM
Thanks for your sensible reply, sadly I agree he stands a good chance of getting a bucket load for them especially at Tynecastle.

Hearts is a bit of a graveyard for strikers, is it not?

Since Robertson, their most reliable scorers have been players like Hartley and Skacel.

11-06-2022, 12:01 PM

Doidge when fit has proven himself much the better player in games between the sides and otherwise.There you go again with all your applied facts and logic[emoji6]

thebausburst
11-06-2022, 12:02 PM
A happy clapper😂😂 you clearly dont sit near me at ER if you actually go, id just rather wait and see how players we know nothing about actually get on before claiming players that havent even reached double figures in the same league get on

Haha fair enough, let’s see how many bojang and shankland get 👍

11-06-2022, 12:03 PM
Yeah I see what you mean, but it was more a comment on the fact that we’ve made signings already, what’s the panic there?

Totally agree. I don’t get the panic from some normally pretty calm, sensible posters.

We learned the other day how quickly things can change.

11-06-2022, 12:08 PM

Bojang won't be our main striker though.

Mr. Wonderful
11-06-2022, 12:09 PM

All Shanklands done is prove he can't score goals at this level

11-06-2022, 12:10 PM
There you go again with all your applied facts and logic[emoji6]

Yep, always gets me in trouble.

mayo hibee
11-06-2022, 12:10 PM

Another poster who doesn't understand how these deals are structured. The three year contract was agreed back in January subject to a certain number of appearances for Hibs triggering the permanent deal. So we haven't doubled down on anything, we've just been forced to honour the contract we signed because he played the required number of games.

My guess is Bushiri will never play another competitive game for us and we'll move him on before the end of the window if at all possible. He is nowhere near good enough for this league. But it will come at a cost to us and impacts on our overall transfer budget for the summer.

OldEast
11-06-2022, 12:11 PM

EDIT: Don't take the above as a view that I think he's brilliant etc. Sort of agreeing with Heisenberg who has just posted Nisbet is a better player than Shankland. So is Doidge. I agree, but depends on the service they receive.

You're spot on here. Shankland was ineffective as a scorer at united due to the system and what he was expected to do. I felt sorry for him. A fully fit Nisbet and Shankland together for Hibs, backed up by an attack minded midfield, would be just perfect imo.

Bridge hibs
11-06-2022, 12:12 PM
Aye ok mate whatever you say 🙄 FFS god help you if you have an opinion on this alleged fan ‘forum’ that is not a happy clapper one, can see why the cat and others don’t bother posting here anymore.To be honest mate, you are salivating over a player who hasnt even joined hearts but your quick enough to have a pop at one of your own players, Shankland with around 5 goals in 26 games for Beerschot is hardly prolific is it ? I think he may grab the odd goal or 2 for hearts if he joins them but he has hardly got me trembling in my boots, you can throw Forest into that mix too, decent but no more than that

Stokesy's on fire
11-06-2022, 12:14 PM
Is Shankland because they couldn't get the guy from Everton? I'd say he's a huge downgrade then.

Window opened yesterday we will see plenty in and out.

Shanklands quality and a sure sugn that they are aiming high. The everton lad falls through so they seem to have another quality backup option sounds like good thinking to me rather than a downgrade

11-06-2022, 12:21 PM
You're spot on here. Shankland was ineffective as a scorer at united due to the system and what he was expected to do. I felt sorry for him. A fully fit Nisbet and Shankland together for Hibs, backed up by an attack minded midfield, would be just perfect imo.

Agree. I’m not going to get involved again in arguments with folk that insist Doidge is miles better because he scored more goals in the two games some people have watched shankland in. Suffice to say I’d absolutely swap Christian Doidge for Shankland right now (seems daft even having to state that) and I do hope he doesn’t sign for hearts.

Anyhoo - I think he’d be a great addition if we’re going to end up playing the way LJ has us hoping he is. Doesn’t seem like something we’ll need to concern ourselves about in any case and, as it stands, I’m satisfied with our transfer activity. Looking forward to seeing who else is to come, particularly in attack.

11-06-2022, 12:24 PM

Imagine .net in 1963 when we signed some random youth fron a team named after a bonny rose or some such naff name

Paulie Walnuts
11-06-2022, 12:25 PM

Only at the end did it crumble? We were abysmal from September onwards!

11-06-2022, 12:27 PM
Shanklands quality and a sure sugn that they are aiming high. The everton lad falls through so they seem to have another quality backup option sounds like good thinking to me rather than a downgradeShankland would be a pretty big downgrade on Simms though

I like Shankland too but it's a defo downgrade on who they had last year

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

11-06-2022, 12:33 PM
They’re raging cause they’ve been quoted £500 k for Ronan . Surely small change to a club that size

EGL2000
11-06-2022, 12:40 PM
I would be going after tom Ince, just became a free agent and done well on loan at Reading last season. Maybe slightly out of our budget wage wise, but would add alot of quality and would go straight in as a starter.

May21/05/216
11-06-2022, 12:43 PM
Thanks for your sensible reply, sadly I agree he stands a good chance of getting a bucket load for them especially at Tynecastle.You will be delighted then

Sent from my SM-A908B using Tapatalk

JamesHFC
11-06-2022, 12:47 PM
Richarlison in advanced talks with Spurs for a deal around €60m. Overpriced?

Hibiza
11-06-2022, 12:49 PM
If the " Everton boy " is Simms ? A turn to Shankland is a huge downgrade.

11-06-2022, 12:50 PM
Shankland is no better than allright. He will score about the same amount of goals as Simms but won't be as much trouble as him or as mych vslue to their team overall. Simms goalscoring record wasn't too great from memory and can't be arsed checking. I have never seen the hyoe fir Shankland to be honest and I think that both Doidge and Nisbet offer more than he does

Percy Vere
11-06-2022, 12:51 PM

What ? Like those facts aren’t relevant?
God forbid you’re ever under par and can’t perform your job the way you’d like.

Bobo
11-06-2022, 12:53 PM
Imagine .net in 1963 when we signed some random youth fron a team named after a bonny rose or some such naff name

Yeh, you're spot on 👍🏻

Pat Stanton - Bonnyrigg Rose
John Brownlie - Pumpherston
John Blackley - Gairdoch
Alex Cropley - Edina Hibs
Jimmy O'Rourke - Holy Ross Academy

Imagine any club thinking they could build a successful team around that lot. 🤪 or that they saw anything in a couple of lads from Armadale Thistle (Joe Baker) and Tynecastle Athletic (Peter Cormack) and you can see how it would never catch on. 😉

What club could ever believe they'd make any half decent forward line from guys that came from Dundee North End, Selkirk, Edinburgh Thistle, Forth Rangers and Stenhousemuir. 😁

If all that mattered was the clubs we signed players from we'd sadly never have seen their likes 🇳🇬

andrew70
11-06-2022, 12:55 PM
Miller playing for Australian U23s now. Live on YouTube

JamesHFC
11-06-2022, 12:56 PM
Fully expect McGeady to be announced next week when we return for pre season.

11-06-2022, 01:02 PM
Shankland is no better than allright. He will score about the same amount of goals as Simms but won't be as much trouble as him or as mych vslue to their team overall. Simms goalscoring record wasn't too great from memory and can't be arsed checking. I have never seen the hyoe fir Shankland to be honest and I think that both Doidge and Nisbet offer more than he does

Simms scored 7 in 20 games. He’s minutes on the pitch to goal ratio is pretty good.

Think Simms scored more than any of our players!

Simms or Shankland would walk into this Hibs team.

Shankland is the kind of guy who will score goals if given service.

Hearts aren’t making risky signings - they are pretty straight forward deals to improve them - we need to start doing that with what’s available and within our budget or we will fall behind further.

SideBurns
11-06-2022, 01:04 PM

Is your confidence based on information received? I'd be happy with McGeady - if he's fit his age shouldn't be an issue. Terrific footballer.

11-06-2022, 01:04 PM
Shanklands quality and a sure sugn that they are aiming high. The everton lad falls through so they seem to have another quality backup option sounds like good thinking to me rather than a downgrade

Its a downgrade and it's getting a forward in because they need a forward

11-06-2022, 01:05 PM

I moaned quite a bit about this when he was first linked. I still have doubts about it but there’s no doubting his mentality. He came across very well in the Sunderland documentaries. Hopefully it works out.

11-06-2022, 01:09 PM

Hope he doesn't get injured then!

11-06-2022, 01:11 PM

You called LJ as manager and mentioned McGeady a few times before.

So expecting this to happen.

Any more scoops ?

11-06-2022, 01:12 PM

What's the link, can't seem to find it .

JamesHFC
11-06-2022, 01:13 PM
Is your confidence based on information received? I'd be happy with McGeady - if he's fit his age shouldn't be an issue. Terrific footballer.

As far as I’m aware it’s done. I don’t know if anyone who’s Itk here have heard the same. Just holidays holding it up at the moment. Also got told we were after a striker from England. (Not Stockton)

Greenworld
11-06-2022, 01:14 PM
My point is we’re bringing in some random from Rainbow FC FFS and they’re brining in ShanklandYour taking the piss if you think that that's going to be our main striker this season

Sent from my SM-G975U1 using Tapatalk

andrew70
11-06-2022, 01:15 PM
What's the link, can't seem to find it .

https://youtu.be/4xByKY4uYlQ

Hopefully this works

11-06-2022, 01:18 PM
https://youtu.be/4xByKY4uYlQ

Hopefully this works

Fantastic that works 👌👍
Appreciated

Stokesy's on fire
11-06-2022, 01:23 PM
Its a downgrade and it's getting a forward in because they need a forward

Shanklands quality..decent downgrade then

11-06-2022, 01:25 PM

Nae bother pal. You got any Hibs chat?

11-06-2022, 01:32 PM
Being realistic, a transfer policy that aims for Simms (who knocked us out the cup) with Shankland as fall back position, is really good work.

Our board could take note imo

A move from Hibs for Shankland is, of course, the only potential weakness in Joe Savage's plan there.

Again, the Hibs board might want to note..

11-06-2022, 01:36 PM

Quality in the lower leagues yes, hasnt scored enough at a higher level yet to be classed as quality

11-06-2022, 01:38 PM

I think you need to look up what a fact is.

Paul1642
11-06-2022, 01:40 PM

You sound quite exited by the prospect. He’s not even signed for you yet!

Also you keeps saying that someone from Rainbow FC is a bad thing. Ultimately all good African players are going to start a club most haven’t heard of seeing as there are very few famous African clubs. He’s a youth international and if he comes good he may be a great player. If not, I doubt we’ve invested much at all in him. Nothing to lose.

11-06-2022, 01:50 PM

I agree. If we signed Shankland I would be happy as we need another striker but he is no better than Nisbet. Same as Forrest, good player but hardly sets the league on fire.

Stairway 2 7
11-06-2022, 01:52 PM

Would metz have rather sighned unknown 19yo sadio mane from Senegalese development team generation foot, or Lawrence Shankland 8 goals in 50 spl games 5 goals in 25 Belgian league games.

Who knows how the young lad will do for hibs, its a punt to supplement our squad. But to say he's clearly worse than another player, makes it obvious to everyone your either trolling or a mentalist

andrew70
11-06-2022, 01:55 PM
I think you need to look up what a fact is.

Whilst doing that he should check out the football for dummies book. Sure he’d just about understand it anyway.

SonOfDavidFrancey
11-06-2022, 01:57 PM
Yeh, you're spot on 👍🏻

John Blackley - Gairdoch

Imagine any club thinking they could build a successful team around that lot. 🤪 or that they saw anything in a couple of lads from Armadale Thistle (Joe Baker) and Tynecastle Athletic (Peter Cormack) and you can see how it would never catch on. 😉

What club could ever believe they'd make any half decent forward line from guys that came from Dundee North End, Selkirk, Edinburgh Thistle, Forth Rangers and Stenhousemuir. 😁

If all that mattered was the clubs we signed players from we'd sadly never have seen their likes 🇳🇬

Yesterday was National Football Day in the Netherlands and the pros all went to training in their first-/ amateur team strips. Made the point well.

Paul1642
11-06-2022, 01:58 PM
Would metz have rather sighned unknown 19yo sadio mane from Senegalese development team generation foot, or Lawrence Shankland 8 goals in 50 spl games 5 goals in 25 Belgian league games.

Who knows how the young lad will do for hibs, its a punt to supplement our squad. But to say he's clearly worse than another player, makes it obvious to everyone your either trolling or a mentalist

I don’t understand why folk don’t understand that signing low cost young players is an entirely separate part of our transfer policy than signing players for the first team. It’s called planning for the future and is clearly not going to affect our ability to sign players for the current first team.

All successful teams do it.

Unless they come though our academy the only way we are going to discover a star player is through well researched youth signings along with a bit of luck, because we certainly can’t, and never will be able to afford to buy one once they are established.

Most of our best players over the last 20 years have been nobody’s when we signed them.

11-06-2022, 02:01 PM
I’m crying on a Bulgarian balcony.

SideBurns
11-06-2022, 02:05 PM
As far as I’m aware it’s done. I don’t know if anyone who’s Itk here have heard the same. Just holidays holding it up at the moment. Also got told we were after a striker from England. (Not Stockton)

Cheers. Need creativity and goals, that's for sure! Ironically, it seems LJ disnae fancy one of our half decent goal threats from other areas of the park - Paul McGinn.

11-06-2022, 02:05 PM

I was thinking of going to a Plaza not to clap

11-06-2022, 02:08 PM

Be interesting to see if we are linked to any forwards from the English leagues over the coming days.

I think the price on Stockton is about £500k

11-06-2022, 02:12 PM

Pretty annonymous in top flight football

11-06-2022, 02:30 PM

Room for one more?

Percy Vere
11-06-2022, 02:35 PM

What ? Like those facts aren’t relevant?
God forbid you’re ever under par and can’t perform your job the way you’d like.

11-06-2022, 02:39 PM
I was thinking of going to a Plaza not to clap

Go to the plazza at night and you've an evens chance of catching it...

Logie
11-06-2022, 02:39 PM

That makes my day as long as someone was able to crack a smile that’s what it’s all about! So much negativity it’s nice to break the trend!

11-06-2022, 02:50 PM
Yeh, you're spot on 👍🏻

John Blackley - Gairdoch

We signed a player from Devronvale who has a European Cup winners medal.

11-06-2022, 02:56 PM
I’m crying on a Bulgarian balcony.I'm going to build one out of some pallets I've got, Mrs doctor Budge will be overseeing the project.

thebausburst
11-06-2022, 02:57 PM
Simms scored 7 in 20 games. He’s minutes on the pitch to goal ratio is pretty good.

Think Simms scored more than any of our players!

Simms or Shankland would walk into this Hibs team.

Shankland is the kind of guy who will score goals if given service.

Hearts aren’t making risky signings - they are pretty straight forward deals to improve them - we need to start doing that with what’s available and within our budget or we will fall behind further.

This ☝️

11-06-2022, 02:57 PM

Shankland has struggled to score in the premier league. Bottom line is who really cares who Hearts bring in.

11-06-2022, 02:59 PM
I’m surprised none of the red tops have picked up on the McGeady deal almost being done if it’s as far down the line as some are suggesting.

Lots of good posters saying it so I tend to believe them, just seems a bit strange it’s not being reported anywhere.

11-06-2022, 03:04 PM

Wonder if it’s Harry McKirdy? Although not sure he could play as a lone striker.

11-06-2022, 03:10 PM
Shankland has struggled to score in the premier league. Bottom line is who really cares who Hearts bring in.

To be fair I don't really get your 2nd sentence. I care about who hearts bring in cause we’ll most likely (hopefully) be challenging them for 3rd place. The better players they bring in the harder it is for us.

11-06-2022, 03:14 PM
To be fair I don't really get your 2nd sentence. I care about who hearts bring in cause we’ll most likely (hopefully) be challenging them for 3rd place. The better players they bring in the harder it is for us.

There’s also an element of not worrying about it too much though. I’m interested who they bring in but I don’t care that much.

Lots of players can be signed who look brilliant on paper who end up being *****, same is true in reverse.

11-06-2022, 03:15 PM
Had a quick look at Shankland stats and taking games in the top division only he looks to have played 75 league games and scored 12 goals. Certainly not the record of someone that I would be desperate to sign especially as he will cost decent money I would think

Stairway 2 7
11-06-2022, 03:17 PM
Had a quick look at Shankland stats and taking games in the top division only he looks to have played 75 league games and scored 12 goals. Certainly not the record of someone that I would be desperate to sign especially as he will cost decent money I would think

And 27 when the season starts, so guess he's found his level especially as Belgium was a failure

Mantis Toboggan
11-06-2022, 03:35 PM
Thought shankland looked a bit powder puff on the SPL. Not a signing that would excite me if I was a hearts supporter. Or indeed as a Hibs supporter should we sign him.

11-06-2022, 03:38 PM

Fair enough though think it is a bit fruitless if that comparison isn't fair e.g. Bojang v Shankland

11-06-2022, 03:41 PM
https://twitter.com/p_mcpartlin/status/1535648162064519175?s=21&t=DqbijGswAZQPZKCtat6EZQ

Doig to Bologna?

ElginHibbie
11-06-2022, 03:45 PM
https://twitter.com/p_mcpartlin/status/1535648162064519175?s=21&t=DqbijGswAZQPZKCtat6EZQ

Doig to Bologna?

With the only rumors coming out so far seeming to be links us to left backs think only a matter a time before someone bids for Doig, and it's move that's done Hickey no harm

Hibiza
11-06-2022, 04:20 PM
Best of all, Erich from Stirling Albion.

11-06-2022, 05:35 PM
I'd take Shankland, I think if you create chances he'll score goals.

mhathorn1
11-06-2022, 05:39 PM
Heard from a close source that Doig to Verona is happening. Not sure on amount, but conversations supposedly ongoing. Seems Hickey’s move has given the Italians some confidence in young Scottish left backs!

11-06-2022, 05:40 PM
Heard from a close source that Doig to Verona is happening. Not sure on amount, but conversations supposedly ongoing. Seems Hickey’s move has given the Italians some confidence in young Scottish left backs!

Isn't he at Bologna? Thought he was going to replace him?

11-06-2022, 05:41 PM
Best of all, Erich from Stirling Albion.

Great signing by Willie MacFarlane, best £7,000 Hibs ever spent.

Stairway 2 7
11-06-2022, 05:44 PM
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/josh-doig-hibs-defender-on-bologna-radar-as-serie-a-side-prepares-for-aaron-hickey-exit-3728454

News going with bologna tonight

11-06-2022, 05:59 PM

I heard the very same rumour.

ElginHibbie
11-06-2022, 06:01 PM

Verona one of Henderson's ex clubs as well I think?

Hibiza
11-06-2022, 06:12 PM

👍

Stokesy's on fire
11-06-2022, 06:20 PM
Nae bother pal. You got any Hibs chat?

You ok lad?

11-06-2022, 06:42 PM

That would be a very good move.

hibsfan7
11-06-2022, 07:10 PM
Did we ever think a player we signed from burton albion would ever become a HIBS LEGEND?

11-06-2022, 07:55 PM
How I loved watching him 👍

11-06-2022, 07:56 PM
Sure Hibs were linked with Jack Tucker bit looks like he's going to have a pick of a few clubs

Reading trying to snap-up Gillingham star Jack Tucker on free transfer but face battle with Swansea and Charlton | @reluctantnicko https://t.co/qlS6DVe4Pl

11-06-2022, 08:09 PM
Sure Hibs were linked with Jack Tucker bit looks like he's going to have a pick of a few clubs

Reading trying to snap-up Gillingham star Jack Tucker on free transfer but face battle with Swansea and Charlton | @reluctantnicko https://t.co/qlS6DVe4Pl

Think we were however we’ve signed our CH! [emoji15]

11-06-2022, 08:17 PM
Whilst I don't think Shankland is a great all-round footballer, think he is sharp in the penalty box, a poacher of you like.
Going by the way LJ talks about playing an attacking game, if Shankland gets good service in the opposition box he would score a lot for us.

ElginHibbie
11-06-2022, 08:31 PM
Whilst I don't think Shankland is a great all-round footballer, think he is sharp in the penalty box, a poacher of you like.
Going by the way LJ talks about playing an attacking game, if Shankland gets good service in the opposition box he would score a lot for us.

To me our bigger problem right now is we struggle to provide that good service, if we had that our current strikers would score a fair bit as well, or would scored a lot more than they did last season anyway

11-06-2022, 08:57 PM
Shankland would walk in to our first eleven currently.

If he’s available we should be asking….

ThatDayInMay
11-06-2022, 08:57 PM

Heard from a solid source, someone who told me that Bushiri was signing due to a clause in the loan deal, (I didn’t believe him because I don’t think I wanted to 🤣), that Shankland is signing for Hearts. Simms replacement.

11-06-2022, 08:58 PM
Shankland would walk in to our first eleven currently.

If he’s available we should be asking….

He would only get in our first 11 just now because nisbet and doidge have both been injured, both are better forwards

11-06-2022, 09:06 PM
He would only get in our first 11 just now because nisbet and doidge have both been injured, both are better forwards

Doidge better than shankland?

Absolutely no chance.

11-06-2022, 09:07 PM
Shankland is as unproven as many of the folk we discuss (such as our recent signings).

Great scoring record at a lower level, decent enough in a poor United team with setting the heather on fire, a failure in Belgium.

FWIW I think he’s a punt I’d be happy for us to take and I could see him being a success in a team that created lots.

Would I rather come up against Shankland or Simms though? Shankland every day of the week.

11-06-2022, 09:08 PM

Absolutely no chance.

Fully fit Doidge of a couple of years ago was.

The present day Doidge? Who knows.

Stairway 2 7
11-06-2022, 09:08 PM

Absolutely no chance.

Much better goal scoring record in the spl than Shankland. Usually a good indicator of a striker. Unless Shankland brings more to the team?

S 8 goals in 50 games
D 21 goals in 81

11-06-2022, 09:10 PM
Fully fit Doidge of a couple of years ago was.

The present day Doidge? Who knows.

I’ve never been a big doidge fan in all honesty. Works hard, but he’s no natural finisher.

Shankland I always envisaged at sevco for some reason personally. I would love hibs to sign him.

11-06-2022, 09:12 PM

Absolutely no chance.

Doidge is a better forward, scored more goals at this level also

11-06-2022, 09:15 PM

Absolutely no chance.

I'd say a fully fit Doidge is better. In fact I don't even think it's close.

11-06-2022, 09:23 PM

How many seasons at top level has he played - 1 with United?

11-06-2022, 09:29 PM

Shankland just played a full season in Belgium top league which is probably higher level than Scottish league ?

11-06-2022, 09:32 PM
I’ve never been a big doidge fan in all honesty. Works hard, but he’s no natural finisher.

Shankland I always envisaged at sevco for some reason personally. I would love hibs to sign him.

His finishing drives me up the wall at times, but I like the whole package with Doidge. He looks a nightmare to play against (more so than most of our strikers in recent years), I like his defensive contribution at set pieces and I like the way he attacks stuff in the opposition box (unlike other, more passive strikers).

I’ve seen Shankland a few times and he’s never stood out. He’s scored almost every time I’ve seen him play though and I’ve been sent more than a few clips of great goals he’s scored so he clearly has something.

11-06-2022, 09:35 PM

And a full season in belgium, which if reports are correct he is being punted from, only just into double figures from the 2 seasons of top flight football, he may well be some kind of goal scoring machine if he joins hearts but based on his record so far i cant see it

Paul1642
11-06-2022, 10:10 PM
Shankalnd and Nisbet are too similar to play together with Nisbet being much better. Can’t wait until he’s fit :)

11-06-2022, 10:20 PM
To me our bigger problem right now is we struggle to provide that good service, if we had that our current strikers would score a fair bit as well, or would scored a lot more than they did last season anyway

You are quite correct, however, this season we will be signing better midfield/ wide payers & I expect us to be far more attack minded than we have been for past few seasons , Shankland, imo, would deliver goals for us.

11-06-2022, 10:24 PM
You are quite correct, however, this season we will be signing better midfield/ wide payers & I expect us to be far more attack minded than we have been for past few seasons , Shankland, imo, would deliver goals for us.

We need both.

Nisbet has admitted himself he won’t be fully fit till near January. Our season could be over by then if we don’t start well.

The lack of goals / assist from midfield and a fit striker who scores regularly has been an issue.

I personally wouldn’t be relying on Doidge and Nisbet or even Magennis - I would see them as a bonus if they can regain fitness / form.

11-06-2022, 10:25 PM
What could cause a more fan uplift

Doidge contract extension

Signing Shankland

Only one winner

11-06-2022, 10:25 PM
And a full season in belgium, which if reports are correct he is being punted from, only just into double figures from the 2 seasons of top flight football, he may well be some kind of goal scoring machine if he joins hearts but based on his record so far i cant see it

Did Shanklands team not just have a horrible season and get relegated so probably cutting costs if he leaves.

11-06-2022, 10:30 PM
Don’t think Shankland has even been linked with us?

11-06-2022, 11:17 PM

Absolutely no chance.

Proven it many times.

Paul1642
11-06-2022, 11:41 PM

Absolutely no chance.

If he finds his form again then Doidge is the better player by a long shot. Remember the days of Hibs twitter posting a wee hint to the Wales nations teams twitter every time he scored (which felt like most games). He was a large factor in us finishing 3rd for the first time in over a decade. If he stays, gets and good pre season and finds that form again he would be better than any new signing.

Shankland has achieved nothing of the sort.

Greenworld
11-06-2022, 11:45 PM
Don’t think Shankland has even been linked with us?Correct and with good reason he is pisb

Sent from my SM-G975U1 using Tapatalk

Dr What If?
12-06-2022, 12:28 AM
Is Oli Burke still a rumour? I'm sure I heard it mentioned a while back but not a tweet for weeks.

xqnq1875
12-06-2022, 12:52 AM
Is Oli Burke still a rumour? I'm sure I heard it mentioned a while back but not a tweet for weeks.

Hopefully not boy is absolutely hopeless

BS44
12-06-2022, 01:15 AM
Trigger is back in Edinburgh and looking for a club. Just saying.

12-06-2022, 06:21 AM
Trigger is back in Edinburgh and looking for a club. Just saying.

Who

12-06-2022, 06:35 AM
Shankalnd and Nisbet are too similar to play together with Nisbet being much better. Can’t wait until he’s fit :)

If Shankland is more creative than a finisher like folk are saying, they could be the perfect foil for each other.

However, he’ll end up at our pink chums.

Paulie Walnuts
12-06-2022, 06:49 AM

Doidge has only played at this level whilst at his peak where as Shankland has games when he was a 19 year old laddie dragging his numbers down so it’s not a particularly fair comparison.

Shankland at his peak at this level is about 1 in 4, as is Doidge.

Paulie Walnuts
12-06-2022, 06:51 AM
Proven it many times.

Has he? When?

They both have similar records in the Scottish Premiership whilst at the peak of their game.

The only reason Shanklands look worse is because he has games as a 19 year old dragging him down. Doidge has played here solely at his peak.

Shankland has more goals in less games over his career.

I’m not sure there’s all that much in it between the two but I don’t think I could say either of them blows the other out the water.

Mr. Wonderful
12-06-2022, 06:51 AM
If Shankland is more creative than a finisher like folk are saying, they could be the perfect foil for each other.

However, he’ll end up at our pink chums.

Lazy assessment. When they both left championship clubs Nisbet was reffered to by fans as the better all round player, whilst Shankland was all about goals.

Only one of them has proven they can score regularly at this level.

Stairway 2 7
12-06-2022, 06:58 AM
Doidge has only played at this level whilst at his peak where as Shankland has games when he was a 19 year old laddie dragging his numbers down so it’s not a particularly fair comparison.

Nisbet is 1 in 3 and 2 and a half years younger, 10 caps vs 4. We have the better one we just unfortunately have to wait until October for him

12-06-2022, 06:59 AM

So if you reckon shankland has peaked already before he turned 26 then it kind of says it all about the player

12-06-2022, 07:13 AM
What could cause a more fan uplift

Doidge contract extension

Signing Shankland

Only one winner

Doidge signed an extension whilst he was injured last November.