View Full Version : Pet Peeves IV
04-06-2015, 05:19 PM
18 months since Pet Peeves III.
The fitba' season's over so here's PP-IV prescribed as a wee bit therapy for us moaners until the new season starts.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------
I hate when temporary roadwork signs are left up when they are not required.
e.g.
"Temp traffic lights ahead" -> None. They're gone and so has the workforce.
"One lane only" -> Maybe I can't count but the two lanes were open for the following 5 miles.
"Accident ahead" -> Correct for the day before maybe but not today.
etc.
04-06-2015, 06:27 PM
"Literally"...**** me I hate the invalid use of that word...
Teenagers starting next to everything with "So,".
04-06-2015, 06:35 PM
"My bad" does my thrupennies in.
04-06-2015, 06:48 PM
People who spell lose with two o's, loose, I mean FFS!!!!!!!!!!
Godsahibby
04-06-2015, 07:00 PM
People who wear jackets over suits but the jacket is shorter and the bottom of the suit jacket hangs down!
04-06-2015, 07:09 PM
People on a busy street (usually tourists or old folk) walking in front of you and coming to a sudden halt as if they are the only ones on the street.
Ignorant twats.
04-06-2015, 07:34 PM
People who cant use escalators correctly. It aint hard. Stand on the right, walk on the left!
04-06-2015, 07:49 PM
People who say "You either love me or hate me" when describing themselves.
I'm pretty sure I'm going to hate you.
04-06-2015, 07:51 PM
Also, pulled pork. I don't want pulled pork, I want joined up pork you jump-on-any-bandwagon prick.
04-06-2015, 08:14 PM
Young folk in the office who say "are you coming for drinks?" No I am not, I am either going to the pub/going for a few pints/going for a pish up or even going on a night out but never, never for bloody "drinks"!!
04-06-2015, 08:21 PM
Girls telling stories where every sentence starts with "then I/she/he was like......." .
WTF.
04-06-2015, 08:24 PM
People who wear jackets over suits but the jacket is shorter and the bottom of the suit jacket hangs down!
Linked to that, shirts with a different coloured collar - usually white - to the main body of the shirt.
Chronic, Gordon Gecko wannabe ********s
04-06-2015, 08:58 PM
I could have a thread just dedicated to the pish wearing of suits:
Fastening the bottom buttons on a waist coat
Buttoning a suit jacket when wearing a waistcoat
Brown belt/black shoes black belt/brown shoes
Buttoning a jacket when sitting down
Black shirt/back suit
Those horrible shiny grey Topman suits (not a price snob comment, you can buy a decent charcoal grey suit from Slaters for less than one of said Topman suits)
Using a Windsor knot with a narrow collared shirt
04-06-2015, 09:37 PM
Bus lane erseholes who don't realise they can be used at certain times if displayed as such.
04-06-2015, 09:56 PM
Adults who press the traffic light button at the side of a road but cross the road before the light goes to red as they can see there is no traffic. The light then goes to red just as a car approaches and then you're sitting at traffic lights for a number of seconds for absolutely no reason, meanwhile you see the pedestrian going on their merry way down the other side of the street. :grr:
If you're old enough to cross the road without assistance, then don't press for the traffic lights to go red if you can see there is no traffic coming and you're just going to cross the road anyway!
04-06-2015, 10:18 PM
Would "of"
04-06-2015, 10:23 PM
Would "of"
:agree: On a similar point, I also cringe when I see people write words which have an "s" on the end and write it down with an apostrophe before the "s".
For example, writing "Hibs" as "Hib's". :grr:
04-06-2015, 10:47 PM
Also:
People (usually elderly) who march straight to the front of a bus queue.
People in casinos (usually drunk vanity muscular lads) who sit at a table with no idea how to play the game (usually 3 card poker or blackjack) but then comment on everything everyone else does.
The way some women seem to lose all manners between about 8 months into pregnancy and their child turning 3. If I step off the pavement to let you past with a pram, hold a door for you or help you lift a buggy off a bus when you are struggling an acknowledgement would be appreciated.
Men who make a big thing about 'not being a typical guy' to try and pump birds thus proving they are in fact a 'typical guy'.
People who pass comment on the drink you order in a bar. Yes I'm aware there are many fantastic craft beers in the world but sometimes I just fancy a cheap pint of lager. You've parroting of lines about 'mass produced', 'bland' and 'commercialised' prove you've just as swayed by advertising as me.
The lack of kids playing football in streets, parks, on wasteground etc these days. I walk through the park where I scored many next goal wins winners in 24 a side ganes as a child regularly and there's never any kids about. Probably all indoors pretending to be Messi on their PlayStation.
04-06-2015, 11:04 PM
People who cant use escalators correctly. It aint hard. Stand on the right, walk on the left!
It's revolving doors at my work, people just stare at them like they are the devils work
Mentioned this on one of these threads before but it still winds me up, people treating bus stairs like its the north face of the Eiger, they are much like any other stairs, just walk up them FFS
The girl at my work who has to go give the boss a running commentary of what she has been up to every 5 minutes even though she is just doing the same as everyone else but is clearly wanting to make herself look so much better, incidentally she also uses "literally" in the complete wrong context as well
People who actually think Ronaldo is better than wee Lionel
The security guy at my work, I know he is just doing his job, but he has seen me everyday for years, why do I still have to show my pass? does he seriously think I'd be there on a jolly
People who think they are being witty when I ask of there is anything I can help you with and use the hilarious response of "can you give me the lottery numbers?" Haha aye never heard that one before
Jakeys asking you for a pound for the bus, it's £1.50 these days pal, **** off
People drinking coffee whilst walking, I really like pizza/beer/apple juice/ medium steaks but I can go half an hour without having one
04-06-2015, 11:20 PM
Divorced women. My gawd are they bitter, hateful specimens, however, in the interest of balance my auntie got divorced from my uncle and had a party, although genuinely think she was getting pumped from various neighbours. This could get ugly, and also run to about 20 pages :greengrin
05-06-2015, 12:20 AM
Netflix sitting at 25% loading for ages! :grr:
05-06-2015, 06:40 AM
Self service checkouts, I would stand in a queue of 20 people at a manned checkout before I would use them.
05-06-2015, 06:50 AM
Black shirt/back suit
Those horrible shiny grey Topman suits (not a price snob comment, you can buy a decent charcoal grey suit from Slaters for less than one of said Topman suits)
Brown shoes or belt with any suit!!! It's just not done.
05-06-2015, 07:10 AM
It's revolving doors at my work, people just stare at them like they are the devils work
Mentioned this on one of these threads before but it still winds me up, people treating bus stairs like its the north face of the Eiger, they are much like any other stairs, just walk up them FFS
The girl at my work who has to go give the boss a running commentary of what she has been up to every 5 minutes even though she is just doing the same as everyone else but is clearly wanting to make herself look so much better, incidentally she also uses "literally" in the complete wrong context as well
The security guy at my work, I know he is just doing his job, but he has seen me everyday for years, why do I still have to show my pass? does he seriously think I'd be there on a jolly
People who think they are being witty when I ask of there is anything I can help you with and use the hilarious response of "can you give me the lottery numbers?" Haha aye never heard that one before
People drinking coffee whilst walking, I really like pizza/beer/apple juice/ medium steaks but I can go half an hour without having one
Re the Security guard one, many moons ago when I worked in the old Scottish Office a guy had been suspended and pass taken from him to prevent him accessing building. The next day guard who has seen him every day for years lets him past when he says he's forgotten his pass instead of following the procedure of contacting his department. Guy storms into office and confronts his boss.......Security guard loses job!
05-06-2015, 07:31 AM
Re the Security guard one, many moons ago when I worked in the old Scottish Office a guy had been suspended and pass taken from him to prevent him accessing building. The next day guard who has seen him every day for years lets him past when he says he's forgotten his pass instead of following the procedure of contacting his department. Guy storms into office and confronts his boss.......Security guard loses job!
I know the reason behind it is to stop things like this, just annoys me, I'm really laid back but very petty :greengrin
05-06-2015, 07:46 AM
You don't work for the Widows by any chance, do you?
05-06-2015, 07:47 AM
Work related:
Folk who, in response to an e-mail you sent just to them, asking a question/on a topic that is clearly their sole responsibility, reply but also put every man and his dug on cc: (the boss, the boss' boss, the tea lady etc etc) just to "prove" they're doing their job and/or because they think your request was either stupid or beneath them.
Non work related:
Goths/hipsters/any "against the system" cool group who express their unique individuality by dressing, talking and acting the exact same as hundreds, thousands and (if you're in East London) millions of other knobs. Only applies to members of those "groups" that prance about telling everyone how very alternative they are.
Seems to be a south coast of England thing, but I have several friends (co-incidentally all female) from that neck of the woods who are intelligent, lovely people but insist on saying "You/we was doing/saying XXXXXX" when all it would take is a simple "You/we were ..............." and all would be right with the world.
05-06-2015, 09:48 AM
Dafties who, at the first sign of sunshine in the middle of February, go out for their Sunday papers wearing shorts and flip flops.
05-06-2015, 01:25 PM
People reading their phones or e-readers while walking. Especially in London on the tube, when walking between platforms or exiting the station.
05-06-2015, 03:07 PM
Used to happen when I lived in Southampton. "Gezus £2 for the bus back to Millbrook mate!" It's 1.30am! There are no buses ya jakey *******! And it is only like a mile walk! :grr:
05-06-2015, 03:13 PM
The list is getting longer the older I get.
05-06-2015, 05:47 PM
Mexican Waves. What's the point?
05-06-2015, 06:35 PM
Phoning up a company and speaking to voice machine who takes you through a half dozen options i.e."press 1 if you want..." Thereafter the same procedure is repeated for about 6 times before you're connected to a real person.
By that time I'm ready to kill.
05-06-2015, 06:41 PM
Boy in front of you at the bar - 2 pints of lager please. Anything else - oh aye 2 vodka and coke. Anything else - yes please a glass of wine.
Just ask for it all up front ya clown.
Same applies in the chippy.
05-06-2015, 07:09 PM
Boy in front of you at the bar - 2 pints of lager please. Anything else - oh aye 2 vodka and coke. Anything else - yes please a glass of wine.
Just ask for it all up front ya clown.
Same applies in the chippy.
Or worse:
2 lager, Bacardi and coke.......bottle of Becks.......soda and lime.....................oh aye and a pint of Guiness please mate.
05-06-2015, 07:21 PM
Or worse:
2 lager, Bacardi and coke.......bottle of Becks.......soda and lime.....................oh aye and a pint of Guiness please mate.
:agree: That one gets an audible sigh rather than the standard head shake.
05-06-2015, 07:46 PM
Or worse:
Hah, happened to me in the Barony the other week!
05-06-2015, 08:49 PM
'Selfies'. Bunch of vain self absorbed pricks.
Lack of basic manners. I've taken the time to hold a door open for you, or stepped back to allow you to come through first, and so on. It takes very little effort on my part, takes even less of yours to say thanks, or even nod in acknowledgement.
********s who don't indicate on roundabouts, then throw you the dirty look in the aftermath.
folk who walk too close to automatic revolving doors, then look glaikit as to why it's suddenly stopped.
Folk who who walk to the top/bottom of an escalator, and upon seeing its switched off/broken, turn and walk back through the crowd of people to the stairs next to it. It's a ****ing set of stairs when it's stationary!
folk who don't prepare themselves on an amber light, and wait until it's green before putting the car in gear, handbrake off, check around before moving off....and now the light is back to red :grr:
groups of people who stand in the middle of a busy pavement to have a chat.
people (mostly old folk) who believe the world is due them a living and think things like queues don't apply to them.
Godsahibby
05-06-2015, 09:47 PM
Going for a scran and my food being served to me on anything other than a plate!! No mate I dont want that fish in a bunnet and chips in a manky shoe, get that to **** and come back with a ****ing plate you ****er.
Godsahibby
05-06-2015, 09:49 PM
Black shirt/back suit
Let me add, shoes with buckles and not laces
people wearing checked shirts and striped ties or vice versa
**** ties in general
Godsahibby
05-06-2015, 09:51 PM
****ers in coffee shops who have clearly been sitting there for hours with a cold empty mug yet refuse to move because they need the free wifi to write their memoirs
05-06-2015, 09:52 PM
The standard of driving in Edinburgh is appalling and getting worse. I suppose it is everywhere.
People who don't indicate get my goat. Selfish behaviour and potentially dangerous too.
Half the folk on the road would fail their tests if they had to retake them.
05-06-2015, 09:56 PM
Let me add, shoes with buckles and not laces
people wearing checked shirts and striped ties or vice versa
**** ties in general
Short sleeved shirts. Even worse when worn with a tie.
You'd never catch Cameron or the Duke of Cambridge wearing one. It's "shirtsleeve order" on hot days for top types.
05-06-2015, 10:16 PM
Erses who turn left from the outside lane because they're too daft to realise they can use the bus lane.
05-06-2015, 10:20 PM
Anyone with their arse hanging out of their low slung jeans, the most ridiculous fashion statement ever!
Chip shop Joe
05-06-2015, 10:23 PM
Wearing a suit with no belt! WTF is that about!
05-06-2015, 10:28 PM
Mexican Waves. What's the point?
To say "hi" to his mate?
05-06-2015, 10:34 PM
The fashion guys that wear grey track suit bottoms with their hands down the front.
When did a tracky become fashion?!
05-06-2015, 10:37 PM
Teenage boys and guys in their early 20s that moisturise, get their teeth whitened and straighten their hair.
05-06-2015, 10:39 PM
Same group as above that go to the gym to look at themselves in the mirror and get massive arms while forgetting about their wee chicken legs.
Boys you look ridiculous - they wee legs need to carry they biceps around remember.
05-06-2015, 10:54 PM
Folk bombarding trip advisor to get there mostest favouritist place in the world a certificate of excellence... :faf::faf::faf:
06-06-2015, 12:19 AM
'selfies'. Bunch of vain self absorbed pricks.
ofi!
Drivers coming to a roundabout seeing the lanes are clearly marked yet they still can get it right.
Drivers in general with no lane discipline and don't signal.
****ing tractors on the road between half four and five every day and the driver refuses to pull over when safe to prevent a massive tailback.
Souped up scabby wee motors with massive exhausts that are worth more than the car.
Standing waiting to get served in a queue at the shops and some auld man taps you on shoulder and says 'I've only got one thing and everyone else has let me in' I tell him he can wait behind me and I get dogs abuse for not being respectful enough!
Folk that bump their big F off vans etc onto the pavement and on doing this forcing folk to walk on the road.
The same companies (and sales folk) that cold call at your door asking about windows etc. You tell them no yet they come the following week and ask the same - **** OFF
I am getting old!!
06-06-2015, 08:01 AM
Folk mainly women that wait for a bus to come and only once on the bus do they look for bus pass, money in their bags.
People who pay at a really busy bar with a card for a round of drinks, then there is trouble with machine running slow or reading their card and it takes twice as long as a cash transaction. Take cash if you going to the pub for a bevvy!!!
Being called Sir about fifteen times in one transaction by shop assistants.
06-06-2015, 08:29 AM
Controversial one but propaganda that appears, usually on Facebook and the like, proclaiming women who are morbidly obese as projecting a 'positive body image'. I'm not talking about perfectly healthy women who are size 14, 16 etc. I saw an article the other day proclaiming a lady who was 5'3", 24 stone and a size 26 as an excellent role model for young girls. Utter nonsense, she's no more a positive role model 're body image than a size zero model with an eating disorder.
liamh2202
06-06-2015, 09:32 AM
People who approach a roundabout in the right lane to go straight on (read the highway code !!!) People in big German diesels that think they have fast cars and you shouldn't get past them. And people who fail to acknowledge you when you give way to them both when driving or walking
liamh2202
06-06-2015, 09:33 AM
Controversial one but propaganda that appears, usually on Facebook and the like, proclaiming women who are morbidly obese as projecting a 'positive body image'. I'm not talking about perfectly healthy women who are size 14, 16 etc. I saw an article the other day proclaiming a lady who was 5'3", 24 stone and a size 26 as an excellent role model for young girls. Utter nonsense, she's no more a positive role model 're body image than a size zero model with an eating disorder.
Totally agree,, an advert got banned because a model was too skinny , you don't see loose women getting banned because they are too fat !??
liamh2202
06-06-2015, 09:34 AM
Folk mainly women that wait for a bus to come and only once on the bus do they look for bus pass, money in their bags.
People who pay at a really busy bar with a card for a round of drinks, then there is trouble with machine running slow or reading their card and it takes twice as long as a cash transaction. Take cash if you going to the pub for a bevvy!!!
Being called Sir about fifteen times in one transaction by shop assistants.
Haha I inform them I work for a living therefore am not a sir .,
liamh2202
06-06-2015, 09:36 AM
Drivers coming to a roundabout seeing the lanes are clearly marked yet they still can get it right.
Drivers in general with no lane discipline and don't signal.
****ing tractors on the road between half four and five every day and the driver refuses to pull over when safe to prevent a massive tailback.
Souped up scabby wee motors with massive exhausts that are worth more than the car.
Standing waiting to get served in a queue at the shops and some auld man taps you on shoulder and says 'I've only got one thing and everyone else has let me in' I tell him he can wait behind me and I get dogs abuse for not being respectful enough!
Folk that bump their big F off vans etc onto the pavement and on doing this forcing folk to walk on the road.
The same companies (and sales folk) that cold call at your door asking about windows etc. You tell them no yet they come the following week and ask the same - **** OFF
I am getting old!!
Do you drive a big German diesel Aldo 😀
People who go into tanning studios white and come out looking like they have been dipped in a frying pan
06-06-2015, 09:45 AM
Any guy over 25 with a hair style that needs gel , cream or hairspray. C'mon guys eh.
Folk who cant position their car to turn right at traffic lights without holding everyone up who wants to turn left or go straight ahead. Morons.
Immature teenagers who like to speak loudly in a crowd so everyone can hear their fanny banter.
Men that gossip. C'mon guys eh .
Do you drive a big German diesel Aldo dde00
What makes you ask that. And you guess correct! Not big big but big enough for the 4 of us?
May I ask why?
06-06-2015, 10:11 AM
Continuing my weight theme: diet chat in the office at work.
'Ooh I'm doing the 5/2 diet but I cheated last night and had some chips and a muffin.'
'I'm on weight watchers. I'll just have a bacon and brie panini for lunch, it's 15 points but I'll cut something out tomorrow'
'I'm just so naughty. Mike was having a Chinese last night and I couldn't resist a sweet and sour, spare ribs, fried rice and a banana fritter.'
Then you have to listen to the Friday moan about how none of them have lost any weight and how they are mystified as to why. Swiftly followed by the traditional Friday lunchtime supper from the chippy. Chronic.
liamh2202
06-06-2015, 10:12 AM
What makes you ask that. And you guess correct! Not big big but big enough for the 4 of us?
May I ask why?
No sinister reason mate just followed on from my post above lol. I find guys with big diesels have a problem with quick modified cars that they perseve to be not as valuable as their own.I once had a guy in an Audi refuse to get out my way on the motorway. It turned out he never let me past because I was in a focus (I asked him in the petrol station) and he felt I would hold him up . he didn't like it when I said I had 26k of car with 4k of modifications. These cars you perseve as cheap with expensive exhausts are maybe just maybe valuable older performance cars who are certainly someone's pride and joy
06-06-2015, 10:14 AM
Also ringpieces who think there is something weird about me on occasion going to the pub on my own to read the paper and have a beer. This is worthy of mention in attempted slaggings at least once a week. Usually the same types who think the Christmas party is the highlight of the year and plan their outfit in July.
Casey1875
06-06-2015, 10:16 AM
Totally agree,, an advert got banned because a model was too skinny , you don't see loose women getting banned because they are too fat !??
Loose women should be banned. If it was men talking in the same way, it would be.
Vegans/vegetarians who look down on you for eating meat, it's natural, get over yourself.
Cyclists in general, but more so ones who get onto trains, the self appointed most important people on the planet.
People who are offended by absolutely everything, it's became a major problem, especially since facebook has came about!
06-06-2015, 10:26 AM
Also ringpieces who think there is something weird about me on occasion going to the pub on my own to read the paper and have a beer. This is worthy of mention in attempted slaggings at least once a week. Usually the same types who think the Christmas party is the highlight of the year and plan their outfit in July.
Very much this, they are usually the ones with the novelty Christmas ties/socks on that are pissed after about 4 pints!
No sinister reason mate just followed on from my post above lol. I find guys with big diesels have a problem with quick modified cars that they perseve to be not as valuable as their own.I once had a guy in an Audi refuse to get out my way on the motorway. It turned out he never let me past because I was in a focus (I asked him in the petrol station) and he felt I would hold him up . he didn't like it when I said I had 26k of car with 4k of modifications. These cars you perseve as cheap with expensive exhausts are maybe just maybe valuable older performance cars who are certainly someone's pride and joy
Family car A3 saloon but if someone wants to get by me fire away. Tbh the good lady uses it more than me. We also have a Mazda 2.
liamh2202
06-06-2015, 10:58 AM
Family car A3 saloon but if someone wants to get by me fire away. Tbh the good lady uses it more than me. We also have a Mazda 2.
Like I say mate wasn't meant as personal just found it funny that your post followed mine about German diesel drivers haha
;-)
06-06-2015, 12:06 PM
When you are running late every traffic light is against you. When you have plenty of time you sail through them all and get to your destination too early.
Happens to me all the time.
Can't get find a parking place so you have to park a good bit away from your destination. You walk and get there just as someone drives off leaving a space right in front of the door.
06-06-2015, 01:38 PM
I got shouted down by the ladies at work the other week for saying the very same thing
Reminds me of the other things I hate on Facebook, people who put up quotes from Marilyn Monroe or some reality TV star to show you how you should be living your life, my favourite one lately is live your life a quarter mile at a time!!
Also guys that send a message to each other with a X at the end, I really don't get the young team at all
liamh2202
06-06-2015, 01:46 PM
I got shouted down by the ladies at work the other week for saying the very same thing
Reminds me of the other things I hate on Facebook, people who put up quotes from Marilyn Monroe or some reality TV star to show you how you should be living your life, my favourite one lately is live your life a quarter mile at a time!!
Also guys that send a message to each other with a X at the end, I really don't get the young team at all
Us young team get it xxx
Godsahibby
06-06-2015, 03:04 PM
Whatever happened to the handshake? Every time I watch a game of football the teams before hand slapping hands in between a high 5 and a handshake. It is about respect, shake hands properly.
06-06-2015, 03:50 PM
Maybe you both should have just exchanged ***** size and settled the argument once and for all. :greengrin
liamh2202
06-06-2015, 03:55 PM
Maybe you both should have just exchanged ***** size and settled the argument once and for all. :greengrin
Now now lol ,, cars are a genuine hobby of mine , nothing more nothing less
06-06-2015, 04:29 PM
Whatever happened to the handshake? Every time I watch a game of football the teams before hand slapping hands in between a high 5 and a handshake. It is about respect, shake hands properly.
I agree. And there's far too much hugging going on.
It used to be the only time you'd hug a stranger was when Hibs scored. Now it happens all the time - not the scoring, the hugging.
06-06-2015, 10:49 PM
Fist Bumping WTF!
SuperAllyMcleod
07-06-2015, 12:05 AM
People pronouncing "th" as "f" - fink, free, fousand, etc instead of think, three, thousand.
You can pronounce "the" ok so do the others correctly! I blame Eastenders.
Galahibby
07-06-2015, 06:48 AM
Folk who drive around with their front fog lights on when it's not foggy; blinding everyone else cos they think it looks cool 😡
07-06-2015, 07:57 AM
Married guys that say 'you're next' to their unmarried mates.
Guys that Dont care about football being wide when their team wins. Or maybe this is something more general that just makes someone a dick.
People that shout shooooooooot every time a defender has the ball in the opposition half
Fist Pumping WTF!
Is it not fist bumping? 👊😲
07-06-2015, 08:55 AM
Cringeworthy chat from young guys these days, usually on Twitter:
'What's happening SAAAAAAAAAN?
'Oooooooosh lad'
'Coming round to mine for pres bruh?'
Even worse when people actually talk like this in real conversations. I was a total ersehole from about 16-20 but not that much of one. Shocking patter.
07-06-2015, 09:22 AM
'Oooooooosh lad'
'
Even worse when people actually talk like this in real conversations. I was a total ersehole from about 16-20 but not that much of one. Shocking patter.
No idea what that 3rd one means. At all.
Also, this "cheeky Nandos with the laaaaaads" phenomenon.
Not enough facepalms
SmithyHibee
07-06-2015, 09:31 AM
'Oooooooosh lad'
That winds me right up, I'm 23 but the younger crowd that come into the pub are like that.
Their selfies on Instagram and Twitter are worse, pouting and with a ridiculous comment under the photo. If I'd done that at 18 I'd have got slaughtered off my mates not 60 odd likes.
07-06-2015, 09:37 AM
Literally doesn't mean "literally" anymore either.
It also means "figuratively".
I'm peeved about that. Literally.
07-06-2015, 09:42 AM
Literally doesn't mean "literally" anymore either.
It also means "figuratively".
I'm peeved about that. Literally.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8qSkaAwKMD4
07-06-2015, 09:45 AM
Brown is the new black, dontcha know?
07-06-2015, 10:00 AM
Folk who drive around with their front fog lights on when it's not foggy; blinding everyone else cos they think it looks cool 😡
That's been my main pet peeve through PP's 1,2 & 3.
I didn't mention it this time in my OP but the 4 headlights mob really do my head in.
07-06-2015, 10:03 AM
People that can't spell "perceive".
07-06-2015, 10:06 AM
People who don't understand confirmation bias.
liamh2202
07-06-2015, 10:10 AM
That's been my main pet peeve through PP's 1,2 & 3.
I didn't mention it this time in my OP but the 4 headlights mob really do my head in.
I hate it too , usually I give them some high beam in return but its getting harder as more manufacturers are outing their compulsorily driving lights in the fogs
07-06-2015, 11:15 AM
Old people or people that dont have any kids in the car that park in the parent and toddler spaces. They have a cheek to look at me when i am taking my 2 kids in and out the car.
liamh2202
07-06-2015, 11:31 AM
Old people or people that dont have any kids in the car that park in the parent and toddler spaces. They have a cheek to look at me when i am taking my 2 kids in and out the car.
And people who have blue badges and use disabled spaces who don't need them. A bit controversial but if you can walk all the way around the shops you can walk an extra 50 yards in the carpark.
07-06-2015, 11:36 AM
And people who have blue badges and use disabled spaces who don't need them. A bit controversial but if you can walk all the way around the shops you can walk an extra 50 yards in the carpark.
Wow.
07-06-2015, 11:39 AM
Is it not fist bumping? 👊😲
Yep.
liamh2202
07-06-2015, 12:28 PM
Wow.
Issue ? I personally think there should be wheelchair/pushchair spaces at the door . and then wide spaces for older kids/disabled people , I know someone who has a blue badge for athriatus in his finger? Used it for 30 years (alongside never working because thw benifits are so much )It should be mobility issues only.
07-06-2015, 12:28 PM
People that use exclamation marks instead of full stops!
07-06-2015, 03:38 PM
Oh oh......
07-06-2015, 03:48 PM
Issue ? I personally think there should be wheelchair/pushchair spaces at the door . and then wide spaces for older kids/disabled people , I know someone who has a blue badge for athriatus in his finger? Used it for 30 years (alongside never working because thw benifits are so much )It should be mobility issues only.
I used to feel that as well.... The reality is different though. My wife can "do" the whole of asda etc but is sore after it, so the distance isn't the real Killer, for her it's the fact that she needs the door 100% open to sit down and get her legs into the car, in the past she's had to get a passer by to move her car out a space so she could then get into the car.... Once at the Gyle some ars* "illegally" parked in a disabled space right up beside her (if yer gonna be a f*k wit and steal a disabled space why not at least park in the proper position??) it was an hour before they finally got back, despite tannoy announcements and not even an apology when they finally got back :-(
liamh2202
07-06-2015, 04:03 PM
I used to feel that as well.... The reality is different though. My wife can "do" the whole of asda etc but is sore after it, so the distance isn't the real Killer, for her it's the fact that she needs the door 100% open to sit down and get her legs into the car, in the past she's had to get a passer by to move her car out a space so she could then get into the car.... Once at the Gyle some ars* "illegally" parked in a disabled space right up beside her (if yer gonna be a f*k wit and steal a disabled space why not at least park in the proper position??) it was an hour before they finally got back, despite tannoy announcements and not even an apology when they finally got back :-(
I accept there are genuine cases. As you have said above you require a wide space more than one at the door. I think there should be less disabled spaces and more wide spaces as there is a far greater genuine demand for them. I think its wrong that its illegal to wrongly park in a disabled space but not in a parent and child space. My son broke his leg last year (he's 6) I wasn't allowed to park in a disabled bay , all the parent and child bays were taken and I needed the door fully open to get him in his chair so I had to park miles away, but someone who is fully mobile or worse still slightly overweight can get a blue badge and park in a disabled bay without questions . another good example is pregnant women. They are surely among the most deserving to be able to park next to the shop
liamh2202
07-06-2015, 04:10 PM
Mother one is linesman giving pointless free kicks just because its on their side of the pitch , also standing in front of corner takers
woodythehibee
07-06-2015, 04:32 PM
1) if you go to McDonalds/KFC and you order food, they always say "is that a large?" If I don't ask for a large, don't assume that I want a large!
2) When you get to the till of a shop and the cashier tries to tempt you to buy a bar of chocolate for a pound. Really annoying.
07-06-2015, 05:42 PM
Brown is the new black, dontcha know?
It's not. It's just some spiv with a job lot of brown leather goods found a gullible market.
07-06-2015, 06:29 PM
Folk who drive around with their front fog lights on when it's not foggy; blinding everyone else cos they think it looks cool
And its illegal... :rules:
07-06-2015, 06:33 PM
People who spell where instead of were. In my experience there are a lot of people who do this. My mrs does it all the time despite me correcting her every time! Does my head in!
When one of the lanes in a dual carriageway is closed for roadworks, there are roadsigns ages in advance warning of this lane closure. However a large number of drivers decide to ignore them and skip the que further up the road. I never let them in and it pisses me off when other drivers do. Most of them wouldn't dream of doing it if it was a normal que at the supermarket or something, but the fact they're protected by their car gives them enough reason.
People who are constantly late. It's not hard to be on time but some people just find this so difficult.
When the road only has room for one lane of traffic. You pull over to let the other car through and they don't acknowledge it when driving past. I usually stick the finger up at anyone who does this to me.
People that order drinks in a bar because they saw it on Mad Men, Sex in the city, or the like, then proceed to not drink it because they dont like it then try to bring it back to the bar and say could they have something else. Also people that stand at the bar and wait till they get served then when the barman serves them they have no idea what they want or their 20 pals! Swedish drinking culture. They all go out drinking to get smashed Friday Saturday but if i go for a drink after work on Tuesday afternoon i'm an alcoholic.
07-06-2015, 06:49 PM
Nowt wrong with it.
07-06-2015, 06:53 PM
When a baby is born and everyone bangs on about how much the baby looks like it's mother or father. It looks like a ****ing baby for gods sake.
07-06-2015, 07:12 PM
People who write "here here" instead of "hear hear" (which is short for "hear him, hear him")
07-06-2015, 07:29 PM
When there's roadworks for miles and miles (like on the M6 last summer) and you can count on one hand the number if workies actually working. The rest are in the van sleeping, reading the sun or leaning on a shovel watching the one guy working.
07-06-2015, 10:29 PM
1) if you go to McDonalds/KFC and you order food, they always say "is that a large?" If I don't ask for a large, don't assume that I want a large!
2) When you get to the till of a shop and the cashier tries to tempt you to buy a bar of chocolate for a pound. Really annoying.
If they ask "is that a large?" then they're not assuming anything...:greengrin
07-06-2015, 10:33 PM
Up selling, trained to do it and bollocked by their bosses if they don't.
07-06-2015, 11:31 PM
When one of the lanes in a dual carriageway is closed for roadworks, there are roadsigns ages in advance warning of this lane closure. However a large number of drivers decide to ignore them and skip the que further up the road. I never let them in and it pisses me off when other drivers do. Most of them wouldn't dream of doing it if it was a normal que at the supermarket or something, but the fact they're protected by their car gives them enough reason.
The road does not close until you reach the point where it merges.
Why queue in a lane when the other lane is free.
Its all part of the road after all.
I see folk doing what you do on the roads all the time and cant help but think " what a welt"
liamh2202
08-06-2015, 06:15 AM
I see folk doing what you do on the roads all the time and cant help but think " what a welt"
Yup I agree , merge in turn at the end
08-06-2015, 07:03 AM
It's just courtesy. People are waiting in a que as they know the other lane is going to close. Why should I let someone in after waiting in a line of traffic for 5 - 10 mins when this prick has just breezed to the front knowing full well that the lane is going to close?
I bet you wouldn't try to skip a que in any other situation, so why in a car? I get your point that technically the road doesn't close until further up, that's why there's no rules against it. But it's really just common courtesy.
The same also applies when drivers use the right hand lane to skip a que of traffic knowing that the right hand lane is for right turns only. Bawbags.
08-06-2015, 07:48 AM
Yup I agree , merge in turn at the end
You're given notice well in advance to give you time to get in the proper lane. People who see the queue in one lane but choose to ignore it force themselves in 100 cars further on are chancing it IMO. I don't let them in either.
08-06-2015, 07:49 AM
Slip roads not being used properly. Lothianburn junction on the bypass has a slip road that must be close to 1/4 mile yet everyone stops at the start of it or worse cut across the chevrons to get on. Forces everyone already on the road to stop and massive tailbacks - every single day.
08-06-2015, 07:52 AM
You're given notice well in advance to give you time to get in the proper lane. People who see the queue in one lane but choose to ignore it force themselves in 100 cars further on are chancing it IMO. I don't let them in either.
In the old days of the bypass there were cones at the bit where the road merges at the gyle and a guy in a transit forced a guy into the cones instead of letting him in. It was great to see and just a pity they took the cones away to replace it with paint.
08-06-2015, 08:37 AM
People who hog the middle lane on the motorway. It's just plain lazy. Use the inside lane!
On single carriageway road, drivers who drive at an average speed of 30-40 mph, slowing down dramatically at each corner then speeding up on straights so that you can't overtake them. The A7 to Galashiels is notorious for this. If you're not confident enough to drive at a decent speed on these roads then you shouldn't be on them.
08-06-2015, 09:21 AM
Selfies - just **** off you total roasters.
Trout pout or duck faces - do you know how stupid you look boys and girls?
Fake tan - unbelievable.
Women who paint their nails on public transport and stink the train carriage or bus out with that horrible solvent smell, have some respect for others you bunch of twats.
Women who spray perfume in small enclosed areas full of people.
Blokes who go out in the middle of winter wearing only a t shirt to make them look hard. Throbbers.
Gym freaks who don't stop talking about how many calories they've burned.
People who moan about being overweight then proceed to devour some sort of takeaway meal. Hello, Earth to fatty!!!!
08-06-2015, 10:15 AM
I accept there are genuine cases. As you have said above you require a wide space more than one at the door. I think there should be less disabled spaces and more wide spaces as there is a far greater genuine demand for them. I think its wrong that its illegal to wrongly park in a disabled space but not in a parent and child space. My son broke his leg last year (he's 6) I wasn't allowed to park in a disabled bay , all the parent and child bays were taken and I needed the door fully open to get him in his chair so I had to park miles away, but someone who is fully mobile or worse still slightly overweight can get a blue badge and park in a disabled bay without questions . another good example is pregnant women. They are surely among the most deserving to be able to park next to the shop
Yup, agree wi all that :agree:
08-06-2015, 10:59 AM
Not a huge one and I admit to doing it myself sometimes but when people start an e-mail with your name instead of saying hi or good morning etc. Dont know why but it just annoys me, it can come across quite rude sometimes depending on how the rest of the message goes.
I spoke with a mate about this and they were the opposite, he can't stand it when people start an e-mail with 'Hi ....'
08-06-2015, 11:15 AM
I once had a great confrontation with a woman in the tesco down easter road.
My other half was in the shop with our then 8 month old, he was in one of these baby carriers that clips into the seat of the car, or rmeoves with the handle for carrying.
Any way I dropped her off at the shops, baby holder in the trolly and off she went to do some shopping. I then went to ( I think pick up hibs tickets ) and zoomed back down, I parked in the child space and proceeded to go in the shop. Just as I got started walking some big bolshy bitch stopped me and said, excuse me do you know you have parked in the child spaces? I looked round at my car and said yes i do thanks, and went to carry on. she stopped me and said, well arent you going to move? I said no, and again proceeded to walk into the shop. She then hit me with a tirade of selfish this, arrogant effing and blinding etc. i had a chuckle and went into the shop. To my delight she was still standing by my car when I came out, presumably to give me more abuse. I wish I could have taken a picture of her face as i carried my sons seat holder with him sleeping in it to the car, I didnt even need to say anything just gave her a nice wee smile as she sheepishly walked away.
08-06-2015, 11:33 AM
Is it just in the industry I currently work in that it appears to be common practice to leave the employment of a company without doing either of the following:
a) sending a general "I'm leaving for pastures new, your new contacts will be......." style e-mail a few days before they leave or
b) actually setting a ******g out-of-office to tell people who e-mail them post-departure that they have left.
Rips my knitting phoning up to follow-up on an e-mail or whatever to be told "oh such and such left the company 2 weeks ago"
:grr::grr:
08-06-2015, 11:55 AM
Not a huge one and I admit to doing it myself sometimes but when people start an e-mail with your name instead of saying hi or good morning etc. Dont know why but it just annoys me, it can come across quite rude sometimes depending on how the rest of the message goes.
I spoke with a mate about this and they were the opposite, he can't stand it when people start an e-mail with 'Hi ....'
hahaha yep agree with all of that! Almost feel like you're getting a row every time you start reading one..
08-06-2015, 12:02 PM
People not acknowledging you when you wait/hold a door to let them through... or indeed the car equivalent when you wait to let someone pass and they don't wave/flash lights.
Ignorant .
Northern Hibby
08-06-2015, 12:15 PM
I cycle to and from work, pedestrians on a cycle path walking whilst looking at phone wearing headphones then jump when I pass them and I'm shouted at!!
Drivers, now I know you're not all like this, but indicating as you turn, that is not an indication, speeding up to overtake me by going on the other side of the road then moaning when I slowly wind my way through stopped traffic !!
p.s. I know there are bad cyclists too :tin hat:
08-06-2015, 12:18 PM
Cyclists :greengrin
Galahibby
08-06-2015, 12:30 PM
People who hog the middle lane on the motorway. It's just plain lazy. Use the inside lane!
On single carriageway road, drivers who drive at an average speed of 30-40 mph, slowing down dramatically at each corner then speeding up on straights so that you can't overtake them. The A7 to Galashiels is notorious for this. If you're not confident enough to drive at a decent speed on these roads then you shouldn't be on them.
Yip, this gets on my wick too. At least pull in and let the 3 mile queue of cars pass you if you can't drive at a reasonable speed. Hopefully they will all start getting the train soon.
The other thing that annoys me on the A7 are the cyclists who insist on cycling on the road, despite there being miles of cycle path running right alongside the road. I can cycle from Selkirk to my work in Tweedbank without going on the road, but others seem to think cycle paths are beneath them. (Which they are *literally* :wink: but you know what I mean) :greengrin
08-06-2015, 12:32 PM
People not acknowledging you when you wait/hold a door to let them through... or indeed the car equivalent when you wait to let someone pass and they don't wave/flash lights.
Ignorant .
On the flip side of this, cannae be ersed with folk holding doors open for me, I refuse to jog to the door and issue a "gee thanks mister" as I can safely open a door on my own, the seethe on some faces as I refuse to speed up is brilliant :greengrin
08-06-2015, 01:22 PM
I once had a great confrontation with a woman in the tesco down easter road.
My other half was in the shop with our then 8 month old, he was in one of these baby carriers that clips into the seat of the car, or rmeoves with the handle for carrying.
Any way I dropped her off at the shops, baby holder in the trolly and off she went to do some shopping. I then went to ( I think pick up hibs tickets ) and zoomed back down, I parked in the child space and proceeded to go in the shop. Just as I got started walking some big bolshy bitch stopped me and said, excuse me do you know you have parked in the child spaces? I looked round at my car and said yes i do thanks, and went to carry on. she stopped me and said, well arent you going to move? I said no, and again proceeded to walk into the shop. She then hit me with a tirade of selfish this, arrogant effing and blinding etc. i had a chuckle and went into the shop. To my delight she was still standing by my car when I came out, presumably to give me more abuse. I wish I could have taken a picture of her face as i carried my sons seat holder with him sleeping in it to the car, I didnt even need to say anything just gave her a nice wee smile as she sheepishly walked away.
Quality H87.
I once parked my car next to the door of a local club. A committee member (who knew my face) proceeded to give me dogs abuse about it was only a space for unloading. I said nothing and opened the boot of my car and started unloading amps, mike stands etc. He shut up immediately and left red faced.
liamh2202
08-06-2015, 02:05 PM
It is designed as a merge in turn at the end. This is the quickest way to disperse traffic through a lane closure .
08-06-2015, 04:28 PM
It is designed as a merge in turn at the end. This is the quickest way to disperse traffic through a lane closure .
What difference does it make? Assuming that were talking about a dual carriageway being reduced to a single lane, if there is a queue before the bottleneck, then generally the cars will be nose to tail in the single lane part. Anything you do before the bottleneck will not increase the volume of traffic passing through, so why not get into lane in a courteous manner instead of skipping the queue?
08-06-2015, 04:37 PM
Scottish f*****g Power
Sent from my D2303 using Tapatalk
08-06-2015, 04:55 PM
I asked a traffic cop last night and he said that you should use the full road available until you merge.
08-06-2015, 05:39 PM
Traffic cops. Pricks :greengrin
People who spell where instead of were. In my experience there are a lot of people who do this. My mrs does it all the time despite me correcting her every time! Does my head in!
People who are constantly late. It's not hard to be on time but some people just find this so difficult.
When the road only has room for one lane of traffic. You pull over to let the other car through and they don't acknowledge it when driving past. I usually stick the finger up at anyone who does this to me.
:agree: I agree in every way, to all you've said bud!
Gits who sit at 28 mph.
people who drive right up your arse when you're in the outside lane of a motorway (overtaking someone) because they want past you (usually a tosser in a big powerful car). I take great pleasure in coming off the accelerator and slowly slowly making my way back to the inside lane. It's dangerous (braking distance) and just rude and selfish driving. Trying to intimidate others on the road at 70+mph :bitchy:
Folk who, no matter what you've done, have always done it bigger, better, faster, harder than you.
People who indicate after the car has begun to change direction.
folk who wait till the last minute to cancel plans with you, even when they have known they couldn't do it for some time.
folk who go out their way to ask your advice on subjects that you're (more of) an expert in, to then ignore everything you've said. Why waste the time?
08-06-2015, 07:28 PM
Life should be quite simple in my eyes. Do you know what complicates it? People.
08-06-2015, 07:43 PM
Life should be quite simple in my eyes. Do you know what complicates it? People.
The more I see of people the more I like my dog :greengrin
08-06-2015, 07:54 PM
Folk that take their dog into the boozer and just assume that everyone will be delighted with the mutts presence. At least keep the bloody thing on a lead.
08-06-2015, 07:59 PM
Folk that take their dog into the boozer and just assume that everyone will be delighted with the mutts presence. At least keep the bloody thing on a lead.
Haha I take my dog to pubs frequently but she just crawls under my seat and sleeps till it's time to go. It's not unusual for people nearby to say they had no idea she was there when we're leaving. I've seen 2 dog owners chucked out of teucters landing when their dogs got a bit violent with each other. The barman yelled this is a pub not a pound get those dogs out :greengrin
08-06-2015, 08:42 PM
Gits who sit at 28 mph.
people who drive right up your arse when you're in the outside lane of a motorway (overtaking someone) because they want past you (usually a tosser in a big powerful car). I take great pleasure in coming off the accelerator and slowly slowly making my way back to the inside lane. It's dangerous (braking distance) and just rude and selfish driving. Trying to intimidate others on the road at 70+mph :bitchy:
So, just to clarify, you're annoyed by folk who don't break the speed limit...and folk that do! :greengrin
08-06-2015, 08:46 PM
What difference does it make? Assuming that were talking about a dual carriageway being reduced to a single lane, if there is a queue before the bottleneck, then generally the cars will be nose to tail in the single lane part. Anything you do before the bottleneck will not increase the volume of traffic passing through, so why not get into lane in a courteous manner instead of skipping the queue?
It won't increase the volume of traffic passing through, but it might affect where the back of the queue is positioned and cause problems for fellow road users.
08-06-2015, 08:56 PM
I asked a traffic cop last night and he said that you should use the full road available until you merge.
When you come to the underpass at the end of the A8 at gogar there's 2 lanes which merge into 1, but for some reason everyone seems to stick to the inside lane, and not want to let you in when the lanes merge. The sole purpose of the outer lane is to improve the traffic flow and it has signs saying allow merging. As the traffic cop you spoke to says you're supposed to use the full road available. E
08-06-2015, 09:11 PM
Netflix sitting at 25% loading for ages! :grr:
Get a better broadband. :na na:
08-06-2015, 10:45 PM
Traffic cops. Pricks :greengrin
I sense someone has had a wee run in with said pricks?! Bit harsh... :greengrin
08-06-2015, 10:53 PM
Get a better broadband. :na na:
I have top end BB but for some reason the first episode loads in an instant then it stops at 25% for a minute every one after. Sometimes it is just perfect.
08-06-2015, 11:03 PM
I sense someone has had a wee run in with said pricks?! Bit harsh... :greengrin
Nope, clean licence here officer :greengrin
08-06-2015, 11:12 PM
Correct, here in Germany it's called the "zipper" system. It's the most efficient and fairest way to merge as it means one car per Lane at a time gets to pass the obstruction.
08-06-2015, 11:17 PM
Sounds fair enough however I would have thought that if people naturally merged at speed into one lane before hand then there would be no need to come to a dead stop to let the merging car in at the final lane closure, thereby keeping the traffic flowing. But who knows?
08-06-2015, 11:28 PM
Correct, here in Germany it's called the "zipper" system. It's the most efficient and fairest way to merge as it means one car per Lane at a time gets to pass the obstruction.
In that case the drivers who shoot up the outside are baloppers.
And another peeve of mine.....
People who take new born babies to a gig and smile as they try to shush their little treasure as it screams holy murder through the artist's performance.
Get a friggin' babysitter or stay home, you selfish dick.
09-06-2015, 06:06 AM
Drivers who think you can read their minds. Had one yesterday suddenly braked and stopped dead ahead of me then began to reverse park into a space that I was blocking unless I reversed, no ****** indicators used just assuned I knew what they were going to do!
09-06-2015, 08:25 AM
Drivers who think you can read their minds. Had one yesterday suddenly braked and stopped dead ahead of me then began to reverse park into a space that I was blocking unless I reversed, no ****** indicators used just assuned I knew what they were going to do!
This happened to me last week on a one way street, just off mcdonald road heading to annandale street....... the car stopped abruptly, then put it into reverse. I couldnt reverse as the cars were behind me now and the WOMAN just sat there sat in reverse edging slowly back. I had to get out my car and point to all the cars behind me, she looked furious. and the best bit.........she finally drove forward and about 15 yards in front there was half the street on the left to park in, she didnt even need to reverse into them :grr:
09-06-2015, 08:40 AM
My Pet peeves
Radio DJ's, especially morning ones! tules.
Bosses at work who are total cocks, but then try to be paly with you after being a said cock to you.
Old people in who think they can just barge into you and stare like it your fault, no apologies, and they say my generation are ignorant!
Adverts that make no sense, like who the **** eats a corneto in a nightclub?
little ****s at softplay who go about pushing, nipping, pulling etc the other children whilst their parent(s) sit glued to their phone or talking to friends and ignoring them. Then have the cheek to say something after I have told my son to punch them.
Neighbours who have fueds with other neighbours in the stair then tell you what they have said or done like you care, and at a loud voice so the other feuding neighbour can hear. Im no interested pal!!!
Neighbours whole sole purpose in life is to be the first person on the street with their bin the day before its due to be picked it. (I take great delight when im up early enough and get mine first, and on a few instances I have spied said neighbour move my bin down so his is next to the gate like its first in line haha)
Just neighbours in general.
And the worst.....when you have a nice leftover dinner/takeaway and take the rest to work. and then every prik who comes into the canteen comments on it......oooohhhhh that smells nice, ohhhhh what that, ohhhhhh thats helthy etc etc. **** off and leave me to eat in peace. I dont come to your desk and say ohhh that rivita and Humous look good. Likewise people you barley know who sit next to you and start a conversation in the kitchin when you really just want to eat in peace and play 8 ball pool on your phone!!
Dan Sarf
09-06-2015, 11:12 AM
My Pet peeves
Bosses at work who are total cocks, but then try to be paly with you after being a said cock to you.
Old people in who think they can just barge into you and stare like it your fault, no apologies, and they say my generation are ignorant!
little ****s at softplay who go about pushing, nipping, pulling etc the other children whilst their parent(s) sit glued to their phone or talking to friends and ignoring them. Then have the cheek to say something after I have told my son to punch them.
Neighbours who have fueds with other neighbours in the stair then tell you what they have said or done like you care, and at a loud voice so the other feuding neighbour can hear. Im no interested pal!!!
Neighbours whole sole purpose in life is to be the first person on the street with their bin the day before its due to be picked it. (I take great delight when im up early enough and get mine first, and on a few instances I have spied said neighbour move my bin down so his is next to the gate like its first in line haha)
And the worst.....when you have a nice leftover dinner/takeaway and take the rest to work. and then every prik who comes into the canteen comments on it......oooohhhhh that smells nice, ohhhhh what that, ohhhhhh thats helthy etc etc. **** off and leave me to eat in peace. I dont come to your desk and say ohhh that rivita and Humous look good. Likewise people you barley know who sit next to you and start a conversation in the kitchin when you really just want to eat in peace and play 8 ball pool on your phone!!
And breathe!
09-06-2015, 11:44 AM
And breathe!
That's just scratching the surface
09-06-2015, 12:38 PM
My Pet peeves
Not really a pet peeve as such but may as well tag my own rant about neighbours on.
I live in a stair with 14 flats and the communal garden was a bloody too. I spent a good 3 days cutting back branches, cutting grass, weeding, trimming hedges, throwing away bag after bag of rubbish, washing down and weeding the paved area etc etc. Then, thanks to some advice on here, I put in a few nice shrubs, plants, a few herbs and a couple of bits of garden furniture I picked up cheap. Whilst this was ongoing I asked the neighbours if any of them fancied chipping in a few pounds as whilst not extortionate I did spend about £200 give or take plus about 5 days works plus General maintenance since. One neighbour contributed, 3 have promised to get something to me shortly but the rest, all students, refused because 'We never use the garden so why should we?'
So imagine my slight annoyance on Sunday when I couldn't get near our now quite pretty garden even if I say so myself because said neighbours who 'never use the garden' had a barbecue in full swing with about 30 people there. Not only did they monopolize a garden they 'never use' they also continued to make noise until about 3am on Monday morning and damaged both furniture and plants. When I pulled them up about it I got a shrug and a 'What are you going to do about it? Grass us to to our landlord?' Smug prick, it's times like this I wish I could still lose my temper enough to muster some proper violence.
09-06-2015, 01:03 PM
My Pet peeves
Some fairly exotic spelling in there, but I particularly agree with your first one, namely Chris Moyles. Absolute spraff merchant, talking a load of total pish with "Comedy Dave" or whatever. He's got a face for radio but a voice for the silent movies as well.
No idea what he's up to now, but boy oh boy that fat mess got lucky getting such a lucrative career.
09-06-2015, 02:19 PM
This. Especially that J20 one where the wee bassa turns up to a party with J2os and everyone celebrates! :grr: Who celebrates someone arriving at a party with non-alcoholic beverages?!
09-06-2015, 02:35 PM
Not really a pet peeve as such but may as well tag my own rant about neighbours on.
I live in a stair with 14 flats and the communal garden was a bloody too. I spent a good 3 days cutting back branches, cutting grass, weeding, trimming hedges, throwing away bag after bag of rubbish, washing down and weeding the paved area etc etc. Then, thanks to some advice on here, I put in a few nice shrubs, plants, a few herbs and a couple of bits of garden furniture I picked up cheap. Whilst this was ongoing I asked the neighbours if any of them fancied chipping in a few pounds as whilst not extortionate I did spend about £200 give or take plus about 5 days works plus General maintenance since. One neighbour contributed, 3 have promised to get something to me shortly but the rest, all students, refused because 'We never use the garden so why should we?'
So imagine my slight annoyance on Sunday when I couldn't get near our now quite pretty garden even if I say so myself because said neighbours who 'never use the garden' had a barbecue in full swing with about 30 people there. Not only did they monopolize a garden they 'never use' they also continued to make noise until about 3am on Monday morning and damaged both furniture and plants. When I pulled them up about it I got a shrug and a 'What are you going to do about it? Grass us to to our landlord?' Smug prick, it's times like this I wish I could still lose my temper enough to muster some proper violence.
Sounds like Sundays could be the best day to hose that garden of yours. :wink:
09-06-2015, 03:05 PM
Violence is best inflicted with a calm head. Stories like yours make me lose my faith in human nature, some people will always take the piss.
So, just to clarify, you're annoyed by folk who don't break the speed limit...and folk that do! :greengrin
Hahaha yeah that sums it up :thumbsup:
Not so much the breaking of the speed limit, it's the tailgating that nips mah heid :greengrin
09-06-2015, 05:27 PM
Pedestrians who think you'll slow down if they decide to take the piss and walk slowly as you drive towards them but then get aggressive when you don't :-) Don't play chicken with a car then dafties.
09-06-2015, 05:31 PM
Guys that go for a piss/dump in the work/boozer toilet that don't wash their hands afterwards, ****bags!
09-06-2015, 05:33 PM
Guys that go for a piss/dump in the work/boozer that don't wash their hands afterwards, ****bags!
Yep, one of the reasons I never touch toilet door handles.
SuperAllyMcleod
09-06-2015, 05:37 PM
Some fairly exotic spelling in there, but I particularly agree with your first one, namely Chris Moyles. Absolute spraff merchant, talking a load of total pish with "Comedy Dave" or whatever. He's got a face for radio but a voice for the silent movies as well.
No idea what he's up to now, but boy oh boy that fat mess got lucky getting such a lucrative career.
I could not agree more - Moyles was the most over hyped and unfunny prick on the radio - was the sole reason I gave up on Radio 1 years ago.
09-06-2015, 06:20 PM
I could not agree more - Moyles was the most over hyped and unfunny prick on the radio - was the sole reason I gave up on Radio 1 years ago.
I used to love listening to Chris Moyles in the morning. Regularly found myself in hysterics at some of the gags. Saying that I don't think it would be for me if it was on nowadays, I haven't listened to radio 1 in a long time. His replacement Nick Grimshaw is dire.
Galahibby
09-06-2015, 11:40 PM
Just remembered another one... selfish gits at the airport who practically stand on top of the luggage belt so that no-one else can (a) see their cases coming or (b) get them off when they do arrive. Just stand back ffs and go forward when your bags arrive!! 😡
10-06-2015, 07:09 AM
Robotic sounding greetings in shops, restaurants, hotels etc. How some organisations think that scripting their staff is acceptable is beyond me.
10-06-2015, 07:49 AM
Just remembered another one... selfish gits at the airport who practically stand on top of the luggage belt so that no-one else can (a) see their cases coming or (b) get them off when they do arrive. Just stand back ffs and go forward when your bags arrive!! 😡
Probably the same gimps that get up and stand in the aisle or crouch under the overhead compartments on the plane as soon as the seat belt sign goes off. Looks pretty uncomfortable and it often takes a good wee while. I'd rather sit and read during the wait thanks very much.
10-06-2015, 07:55 AM
It's ok after 9pm or thereabouts isn't it? Kids are in bed then aren't they? Always were in my day but then I am old.
10-06-2015, 07:57 AM
Probably the same gimps that get up and stand in the aisle or crouch under the overhead compartments on the plane as soon as the seat belt sign goes off. Looks pretty uncomfortable and it often takes a good wee while. I'd rather sit and read during the wait thanks very much.
They're the same ones that stand next to the carousel waiting for their luggage.
10-06-2015, 08:02 AM
They're the same ones that stand next to the carousel waiting for their luggage.
Obsessive/compulsives.
10-06-2015, 08:11 AM
Obsessive/compulsives.
********s
10-06-2015, 08:50 AM
Yep, one of the reasons I never touch toilet door handles.
Bacteria and germs find it hard to survive on door handles.
10-06-2015, 08:52 AM
Next time you see him in the stairwell, give him a sly dig followed by what are you going to do ? Grass me to the police? No witnesses. That'll teach him the mouthy git!
10-06-2015, 09:20 AM
Public transport when combined with a cultural inability to wait and be polite.
Folk wishing to get on a train are unlikely to be able to do so in comfort until everyone getting off the train has done so because said people are standing waiting to get off in the exact same area that people getting on need to transit through before getting to a seat.
So why do folk, here in Switzerland at least, lose all semblance of manners and common sense when getting on a train? Stand the **** back and let everyone off first (my favourite is some dolt with a huge backpack standing slap bang front + centre on the platform as the double doors open - awareness of one's surroundings isn't a strong point over here either).
Another one is men, of any nationality who drape a oh-so-trendy merino wool cardigan over there shoulders and tie the arms over their chest. A speciality when the weather is far too hot to possibly require the garment, and they look absurd.
Pub behaviour is another one touched upon, but a few on my own.
Folk who walk in 3 minutes before the start of a major and well advertised televised sporting event and look perplexed/fuming that the place is rammed. Although, that's not really a peeve, just a source of amusement.
When you're in a larger group and some selfish prats who are in a group of 2 or 3, but sit at a table big enough for 6+ when there's a perfectly good, smaller table right next to them.
Finally, and I don't know if this really happens in the UK, but people who clearly think they are a "Sartres/Proust in waiting" sitting in a pub for hours nursing an espresso and small glass of water.
10-06-2015, 09:29 AM
Public transport when combined with a cultural inability to wait and be polite.
Folk wishing to get on a train are unlikely to be able to do so in comfort until everyone getting off the train has done so because said people are standing waiting to get off in the exact same area that people getting on need to transit through before getting to a seat.
So why do folk, here in Switzerland at least, lose all semblance of manners and common sense when getting on a train? Stand the **** back and let everyone off first (my favourite is some dolt with a huge backpack standing slap bang front + centre on the platform as the double doors open - awareness of one's surroundings isn't a strong point over here either).
Another one is men, of any nationality who drape a oh-so-trendy merino wool cardigan over there shoulders and tie the arms over their chest. A speciality when the weather is far too hot to possibly require the garment, and they look absurd.
Folk who walk in 3 minutes before the start of a major and well advertised televised sporting event and look perplexed/fuming that the place is rammed. Although, that's not really a peeve, just a source of amusement.
When you're in a larger group and some selfish prats who are in a group of 2 or 3, but sit at a table big enough for 6+ when there's a perfectly good, smaller table right next to them.
Finally, and I don't know if this really happens in the UK, but people who clearly think they are a "Sartres/Proust in waiting" sitting in a pub for hours nursing an espresso and small glass of water.
"Sartres/Proust"?
Bet I'm not the only one on Hibsnet to google that one. :greengrin
10-06-2015, 10:12 AM
folk that talk some weird gibberish you need to look up on Google to get a clue what they're on aboot :agree:
10-06-2015, 10:17 AM
People used to drive me crazy doing this. My old boozer was in between 4 coffee shops in the centre of an art student heavy city full of coffee shops, chains AND independents. Why did they come into my boozer and get a cup of ***** instant coffee that was probably cost 10p for 10kilos and then sit there for 4 hours reading the Guardian or discussing Marxism! We're a PUB! Drink a BEER! :grr:
10-06-2015, 11:16 AM
Obsessive/compulsives.
That should really be either "obsessives/compulsives" or "obsessive compulsives".
10-06-2015, 11:20 AM
"Sartres/Proust"?
Bet I'm not the only one on Hibsnet to google that one. :greengrin
Possibly Sartres' most famous work was a forerunner of this thread. :greengrin
Godsahibby
10-06-2015, 11:22 AM
Charity fundraisers who attempt to stop you on the street. Always along Princess Street and there are about 3 or 4 of them trying to stop folk and get them to sign up to a Direct Debit.
What me off even more about them is that they all try to stop you, I got asked yesterday by all 4 of them, some of them even try to give you high fves and pish like that. With the first person I am normally just a no thank you and walk on, by the time the 4th person has attempted to get me to stop i'm close to stamping on their head. The work charities do are fantastic but these folk are just .
Northern Hibby
10-06-2015, 11:34 AM
Barman Alert:
Ordering drinks 1 by 1
In busy bar waiting to be served but when it's their turn they still have to ask their mate what they want, FFS! know the Round before you get to the bar!!
Ordering your Guinness LAST!!
Don't allow your kids to just wander around to bar /restaurant
"I don't know what the wife wants we'll have to wait until she gets back from the loo" GROW A ****** PAIR!!!
If we offer Cashback and you say no thanks, then you try and buy your next round with the same card, I'm gonna punch you!!
Sit under the TV then complain that it's too loud
San Miguel THERE IS NO ******G W IN IT!!!!!!!!!
Graham Spiers Came in once 12:20 am "Do you do Coffee" "****** OFF!!!!" Really enjoyed that !!
10-06-2015, 12:24 PM
Just remembered another one... selfish gits at the airport who practically stand on top of the luggage belt so that no-one else can (a) see their cases coming or (b) get them off when they do arrive. Just stand back ffs and go forward when your bags arrive!!
This is one of my gripes too. We went to one of the greek islands on holiday and the guy infront of us was going to the same hotel as us (overheard them waffling away during the flight). Turns out he's one of these guys that barges to the front and nobody could get past him to get their cases, so I do the only thing any decent human being would do....................go sit on a seat by the wall with a book and relax until my bags are the only ones left, he must have been sitting on the transfer coach for at least 30-40 minutes waiting on me and the missus. I'll never forget his face, he was absolutely fizzing :greengrin
10-06-2015, 01:19 PM
Bacteria and germs find it hard to survive on door handles.
They survive long enough with the amount of people traffic to be transferred via the door handle.
Barman Alert:
Ordering drinks 1 by 1
In busy bar waiting to be served but when it's their turn they still have to ask their mate what they want, FFS! know the Round before you get to the bar!!
Ordering your Guinness LAST!!
Don't allow your kids to just wander around to bar /restaurant
"I don't know what the wife wants we'll have to wait until she gets back from the loo" GROW A ****** PAIR!!!
If we offer Cashback and you say no thanks, then you try and buy your next round with the same card, I'm gonna punch you!!
Sit under the TV then complain that it's too loud
San Miguel THERE IS NO ******G W IN IT!!!!!!!!!
Graham Spiers Came in once 12:20 am "Do you do Coffee" "****** OFF!!!!" Really enjoyed that !!
Feel your pain, may i add people that come in when live music/dj playing and ask for the volume to be turned down. People that say you should be wearing a mask when you say the price of the drink/s.
patch1875
10-06-2015, 04:48 PM
Charity fundraisers who attempt to stop you on the street. Always along Princess Street and there are about 3 or 4 of them trying to stop folk and get them to sign up to a Direct Debit.
What me off even more about them is that they all try to stop you, I got asked yesterday by all 4 of them, some of them even try to give you high fves and pish like that. With the first person I am normally just a no thank you and walk on, by the time the 4th person has attempted to get me to stop i'm close to stamping on their head. The work charities do are fantastic but these folk are just .
Avoid chuggers at all cost the fees there companies charge the charities can be more than all your first years donations.
Go direct.
11-06-2015, 02:13 AM
People from Talk Talk broadband, they seem to be everywhere I go trying to sell their****ty broadband.
11-06-2015, 08:06 AM
Arsholes who, when they phone you at work, mumble both their name and organisation so you have to ask them again and they do the same thing except more rattily then it just gets silly.
Being a type one diabetic what really gets to me is when the news reports about diabetes when they actually mean type two, this leads to people not really understanding that there is 3 types of . Which in turn when i say im a diabetic its met with, 'but you're not old or fat'
11-06-2015, 03:46 PM
Summer football threads on the MB :agree:
11-06-2015, 06:16 PM
TV consumer shows. Just a bunch of nobodies wanting to get offended over nothing. You think that a 99p salmon crumble ready meal doesn't contain enough salmon? Do you not pick that up at 99p and wonder why they can sell it so cheap? Make it yourself with lots of salmon for 99p you ****ing twat. Saw one where they were getting all offended because five different shops sold a fifteen year old a can of Monster energy drink. Of course they ****ing did. It's ****ing legal to do so.
11-06-2015, 09:15 PM
People whose voices go up in scale towards the end of their sentences. It's an old bugbear this one. I think the Aussies started it. Now almost everyone under a certain age is doing it, especially in places like Costa or Nando's. It's a good excuse not to enter such establishments.
e.g. "I took a year out and worked in a hotel before going to Uni........?"
"Are ye asking me or telling me, pal?"
11-06-2015, 09:23 PM
People from Talk Talk broadband, they seem to be everywhere I go trying to sell their****ty broadband.
This is a major problem in St John's Road, Corstorphine right at the moment. They virtually block the pavement outside the Scotmid store and it's the same spiel every time.
How are they allowed to do that?
I feel an irate email to my councillor coming on.
11-06-2015, 09:40 PM
People whose voices go up in scale towards the end of their sentences. It's an old bugbear this one. I think the Aussies started it. Now almost everyone under a certain age is doing it, especially in places like Costa or Nando's. It's a good excuse not to enter such establishments.
I read somewhere that it is a sign of insecurity? Pretty sure it is was in a psychology book at uni.
11-06-2015, 10:29 PM
People who use "yeah?" at the end of a sentence. Watched a programme on the telly the other day when some young gym loving prick went up to a stall at a festival and went "I'll have a cheese and red onion toastie, yeah?". The word is please you jumped up little ********.
11-06-2015, 10:39 PM
People who clog up petrol stations waiting for a pump to become free on the same side as their petrol cap. FFS you can reach either side with the nozzle.
11-06-2015, 10:48 PM
People who clog up petrol stations waiting for a pump to become free on the same side as their petrol cap. FFS you can reach either side with the nozzle.
Not always!
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_9-MYIX11iA
11-06-2015, 10:54 PM
Not always!
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_9-MYIX11iA
Haha
12-06-2015, 01:03 AM
People who see you waiting to move into their parking place and sit for ages fannying about before eventually driving off.
People who take ages to drive off at quick changing traffic lights (i.e. coming from Eskbank at Sheriffhall roundabout).
People who stop at roundabouts when there are no cars on the roundabout.
People who have big expensive cars who think that their car's size & value gives them priority over other punter road users.
People who stand behind you in a bar and shout their order to the barman as he is about to take your order.
12-06-2015, 05:34 AM
People that use eh or em every 3rd word whilst speaking. Is it really so hard to have a think about what you're going to say before you start spouting off?
12-06-2015, 06:53 AM
People that use eh or em every 3rd word whilst speaking. Is it really so hard to have a think about what you're going to say before you start spouting off?
Or "like". I'm gritting my teeth having to listen to it on the bus or in the queue at Tesco. Where did it start? IMHO the comedy Tv show Friends.
Caversham Green
12-06-2015, 07:42 AM
Has anyone mentioned "speed" bumps yet?
They damage tyres, suspensions and exhausts - and sometimes nearby buildings - even when you go over them at the relevant speed limit. In practice they slow traffic down to a crawl and punish all for the misdemeanours of a few.
What sort of mentality deliberately builds these obstacles into public highways?
12-06-2015, 09:08 AM
They damage tyres, suspensions and exhausts - and sometimes nearby buildings - even when you go over them at the relevant speed limit. In practice they slow traffic down to a crawl and punish all for the misdemeanours of a few.
What sort of mentality deliberately builds these obstacles into public highways?
:agree: 99%
Add to that the 20mph speed limit freakies.
BTW, I'm not against speed bumps and 20mph restrictions. They're a good IN CERTAIN LOCATIONS - at schools, etc.
Annoyingly, these "We know what's best for you" people who make these decisions always go way ott.
Is there any other beast in the animal kingdom that would construct a perfectly good access way then install obstacles on it - save a golf course designer?
12-06-2015, 09:58 AM
:agree: 99%
Add to that the 20mph speed limit freakies.
BTW, I'm not against speed bumps and 20mph restrictions. They're a good IN CERTAIN LOCATIONS - at schools, etc.
Annoyingly, these "We know what's best for you" people who make these decisions always go way ott.
Is there any other beast in the animal kingdom that would construct a perfectly good access way then install obstacles on it - save a golf course designer?
The "best" of them was Pennywell Road where they installed speed bumps in each lane which forced cars to slow almost to a halt but allowed buses and lorries to proceed unhindered. Result was 11 pedestrian incidents over 12 months, only one of which involved a car.
12-06-2015, 10:01 AM
I remember when everyone started using 'lol' in text messages. Used to really get on my tits. But even more annoyingly I started using it myself, now it's habit.
Anyone who is part of a group chat on whatsapp will get annoyed at mates deciding to have a full blown conversation when you're trying to sleep!
12-06-2015, 10:59 AM
Or "like". I'm gritting my teeth having to listen to it on the bus or in the queue at Tesco. Where did it start? IMHO the comedy Tv show Friends.
Same goes for folk that say Oh. My. God.
Gets on my tits - also started by Friends.
12-06-2015, 11:13 AM
When they get dirty you can hardly see them. Hit one on my bike and had 3 seconds flight time before peeling my skin off on the tarmac and injuring my collarbone. Bloody lethal for cyclists.
12-06-2015, 11:20 AM
When they get dirty you can hardly see them. Hit one on my bike and had 3 seconds flight time before peeling my skin off on the tarmac and injuring my collarbone. Bloody lethal for cyclists.
The red brick ones are terrible. They get destroyed by buses and vans then rip the crap out of your tyres.
12-06-2015, 11:39 AM
This is a major problem in St John's Road, Corstorphine right at the moment. They virtually block the pavement outside the Scotmid store and it's the same spiel every time.
How are they allowed to do that?
I feel an irate email to my councillor coming on.
I went into the supermarket and they were there, I later went to use the toilet at hunter square and they stopped me and I was parked up in Frederick Street and one of them tapped my window. All this was in one day.
12-06-2015, 11:42 AM
They're supposed to have white lines painted on them but loads of them have been worn away. At night time they're dreadful.
12-06-2015, 12:21 PM
Folk that say "this" when responding to a post in a message board.
12-06-2015, 12:29 PM
The new street lighting in certain parts of Edinburgh.
LED lighting that reaches about a foot below the light source and makes no actual difference to visibility at ground level.
12-06-2015, 02:41 PM
Folk that say "this" when responding to a post in a message board.
This. :agree:
:greengrin:greengrin
12-06-2015, 02:42 PM
I think speed bumps are badly named, if anything they slow you down.
12-06-2015, 02:46 PM
Folk that don't acknowledge you when you've waited to let them pass on the road, used to be folk would give you a wee waive or that but that appears to be a thing of the past now.
Folk that don't clean up after their dogs. Was taking the wee one up to Rainbows yesterday evening, and there's a family that just opened their door to let their dog out (a German Shepherd), nobody watching it or walking it or that, it ran over the road, crapped in the grassy area that kids play in, had a wander about the street for a bit, then headed back home. If you've not got time to look after your dog, don't get a dog. Clarty *******s.
12-06-2015, 03:46 PM
People stopping you on the street with a bull****** story about losing bus,train fare blah blah blah.
12-06-2015, 04:01 PM
Let's face it. The whole lot of them should be rounded up and shot.
woodythehibee
12-06-2015, 05:35 PM
Beggars on the streets of Edinburgh.
On my way to and from work, I see tens and tens of them. Vast majority (if not all) are junkies or foreigners.
12-06-2015, 10:36 PM
Mums on the "school run" blocking streets and access areas with their great big 4x4s all because little Timmy or Alice are too wrapped up in cotton wool to walk home. There should be a no parking zone within a half mile radius of schools between 8am and 9am and between 3pm and 4pm. All offending drivers should have their cars towed. Selfish gits!
13-06-2015, 12:47 AM
People who say "hash tag ....." They can #**** off
Caversham Green
13-06-2015, 07:33 AM
I think speed bumps are badly named, if anything they slow you down.
:agree: Also known as 'speed cushions'.
Cushions are usually soft - I wonder if the one Hibrandenburg encountered was soft.
13-06-2015, 07:52 AM
Shop assistants who forget to remove or deactivate electronic security tags, although I tend to just carry on walking when the alarm sounds and wait to see if I am pursued if it's a tag that just needed deactivating.
13-06-2015, 08:36 AM
:agree: Also known as 'speed cushions'.
Cushions are usually soft - I wonder if the one Hibrandenburg encountered was soft.
Softer than my heid but I'll admit there wasn't much in it.
Now that's tee'd up your next shot nicely :greengrin
13-06-2015, 09:04 AM
I do this, I would rather use the proper side. I'd prefer not to have that rubber oil and dirt covered tube touching my paintwork.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yP-IJZaY5gw
13-06-2015, 10:59 AM
I do this, I would rather use the proper side. I'd prefer not to have that rubber oil and dirt covered tube touching my paintwork.
It doesn't need to touch your paintwork,never touches mine!
liamh2202
13-06-2015, 01:26 PM
Yeh me too. That's right up there with washing it with a sponge or worse a brush
13-06-2015, 02:29 PM
Slip roads not being used properly. Lothianburn junction on the bypass has a slip road that must be close to 1/4 mile yet everyone stops at the start of it or worse cut across the chevrons to get on. Forces everyone already on the road to stop and massive tailbacks - every single day.
You mean they stop at the moment the slip lane meets the main carriageway, even though there's 400m of dedicated road ahead for them to enter at about the same speed as the rest of the traffic??
These are the same folk who when told that in 800 yds there will be a lane restriction get into single file. Not at 600, 400 or 200 but IMMEDIATELY. Causing a queue TWICE as long.
Neither want to be seen to be pushing in. It's not of course and it causes delays that are completely unnecessary. Trying to enter the city bypass from a standstill is difficult and dangerous but some people know better than to 'push in'.
Beggars on the streets of Edinburgh.
On my way to and from work, I see tens and tens of them. Vast majority (if not all) are junkies or foreigners.
Foreign or not the vast majority of them who hang about certain areas are part of loosely organised gangs. They make a lot of money, especially the ones at the tron cash machines who get the drunk student sympathy all the time.
This is from years of watching them in action and while I don't know their back stories I can fully understand if this was a career choice they made.
I overheard the one that's always at the tron ask a cash machine user for spare change and do you know what the reply was to being told that he only had notes? If you give me a tenner I will give you eight pound. No word of a lie.
14-06-2015, 08:01 AM
Foreign or not the vast majority of them who hang about certain areas are part of loosely organised gangs. They make a lot of money, especially the ones at the tron cash machines who get the drunk student sympathy all the time.
This is from years of watching them in action and while I don't know their back stories I can fully understand if this was a career choice they made.
I overheard the one that's always at the tron ask a cash machine user for spare change and do you know what the reply was to being told that he only had notes? If you give me a tenner I will give you eight pound. No word of a lie.
Many of them dropped off in the morning and picked up at night by organised gangs who shipped them in from abroad.
14-06-2015, 08:23 AM
The National Lottery's "News about your ticket" e-mail. Every time I see it I'm halfway to quit my job in a spectacular fashion and buy my new Porsche before opening up my online account and realising it's just £25.
15-06-2015, 09:44 AM
Folk that say (or use) 'bae'.
15-06-2015, 10:00 AM
At festivals or live music events. Steroid junkies that get absolutely out their brains and start jumping about like they're the only person on the planet. Continuously banging in to you. Not sure if it's intentional or if they're just too wasted but either way they should be shot.
15-06-2015, 11:46 AM
what does it mean?
15-06-2015, 11:53 AM
Yes. Don't even know what it means yet but have heard/seen it a few times and hate it already.
Another wee one of mine - getting change at a shop counter and the guy/girl puts your note down in your hand and then the coins on top of it.. you then have to work backwards from what he/she has just done, in order to get your coins out of the way and into your pocket, and the note slotted into your wallet!
Hate that people still go for "cheeky drinks" with their "girlies".
The word "banter" is now finished as a normal person's word - dinnae like the folk that have caused this.
"I'm not gonna lie".
"Selfies" and "Selfie sticks"
Today's music industry.
15-06-2015, 12:40 PM
what does it mean?
I think it's your other half, but I'm not 100% certain on that.
15-06-2015, 05:16 PM
The random assortment of.coins self service check.outs seems to give as change.
If I'm due 70p change I'd like a 50 and a 20 not 2 20s' a 10 and 4 5s.
15-06-2015, 08:47 PM
People on public transport that run their whole lives loudly on their mobile phone. The Irish boy behind me on the bus from Peebles to The Capital is really pissing me off!
15-06-2015, 09:23 PM
I think it's your other half, but I'm not 100% certain on that.
:agree: bae = before anyone else.
Ridiculous!
15-06-2015, 09:28 PM
Also agree the use of the words "cheeky wee" as a prefix to: Nando,s, fag, drinks etc ... is ridiculous now.
15-06-2015, 09:58 PM
Shop assistants who forget to remove or deactivate electronic security tags, although I tend to just carry on walking when the alarm sounds and wait to see if I am pursued if it's a tag that just needed deactivating.
You can take the lad out of Liverpool...:greengrin
15-06-2015, 10:08 PM
At festivals or live music events. Steroid junkies that get absolutely out their brains and start jumping about like they're the only person on the planet. Continuously banging in to you. Not sure if it's intentional or if they're just too wasted but either way they should be shot.
Similarly people who take videos on their phones at gigs, forcing everyone behind them to watch the gig through a phone screen. For one minute of your life put the phone down and live in the moment.
15-06-2015, 10:21 PM
You can take the lad out of Liverpool...:greengrin
As my old boss used to say, for all the use tags are and the cost of them you may as well just stick a £1 coin to things :-)
15-06-2015, 10:23 PM
Jokers who walk with a swagger.
16-06-2015, 07:01 AM
People on public transport that run their whole lives loudly on their mobile phone. The Irish boy behind me on the bus from Peebles to The Capital is really pissing me off!
Hate having to use the bus. Never on time and for some reason they seem to have the heating off in the winter but on in the summer.
Silly wee lassies who push buggies/prams with kids in them across busy roads with mobile phones glued tae their lugs !!