View Full Version : Pet Peeves IV
28-11-2017, 12:19 PM
The puns on this place really do bowl me over at times.
I was quite proud of that one, I'm glad someone spotted it! I thought my delivery had deceived everyone! :-)
28-11-2017, 01:12 PM
I was quite proud of that one, I'm glad someone spotted it! I thought my delivery had deceived everyone! :-)
Not at all, HH. I was creasing myself too.
28-11-2017, 04:43 PM
Folk that take dives at work and shaft you!
28-11-2017, 10:30 PM
Folk that are “fans of gin” and go to lengths to explain that different gins taste different. No they don’t - sticking a cucumber in it doesn’t alter it.
29-11-2017, 05:52 AM
People that can't recognise the different tastes of gins and don't understand how to compliment that taste with different mixers and fruits etc.
29-11-2017, 06:23 AM
People that can't recognise the different tastes of gins and don't understand how to compliment that taste with different mixers and fruits etc.
We are now entering the realm of upper middle class 1st World problems. That said, I agree. Once you move past the Gordons, the range of gins and what goes with what type of gin is vast and rather bewildering.
"Hendricks with cucumber and black pepper please" barman is the cry from yours truly.
29-11-2017, 08:53 AM
Grannies walking 4 abreast in confined spaces like airports and tut tutting about folks being in a hurry.
29-11-2017, 08:57 AM
We are now entering the realm of upper middle class 1st World problems. That said, I agree. Once you move past the Gordons, the range of gins and what goes with what type of gin is vast and rather bewildering.
"Hendricks with cucumber and black pepper please" barman is the cry from yours truly.
"Beat it ya fanny" is the cry from the barman.
29-11-2017, 09:48 AM
"Beat it ya fanny" is the cry from the barman.
Hahaha, depending on the establishment in question the answer would either be that or "yes Sir, that'll be ££££££££££ please" :greengrin
29-11-2017, 12:19 PM
I bet it still tastes like gin though. :hilarious
My mate got an expensive bottle for his 40th - I don’t mind a gin now and again so we cracked it open thinking this’ll be special.
Just tasted like gin though.
Folk that take dives at work and shaft you!
Where do you work?
Motherwell?
29-11-2017, 10:17 PM
Men that drink gin! :-)
30-11-2017, 08:24 AM
Where do you work?
Motherwell?
Railway.
30-11-2017, 12:25 PM
Does anybody else get peed off at the wee bits of sticky tape sealing a loaf of bread? Nine times out of ten the ends of the tape are stuck together and impossible to separate.
30-11-2017, 12:48 PM
Does anybody else get peed off at the wee bits of sticky tape sealing a loaf of bread? Nine times out of ten the ends of the tape are stuck together and impossible to separate.
Yep. Spot on ..... and add to unwrapping CD cases, opening pressure sealed jars, pulling tags on corn beef tins & pop tins that break on first tug, opening self locking freezer bags that don't open when 'unlocked', etc....
Ain't modern technology wonderful.
Perfume and aftershave adverts.
After watching one I’m like “eh?”
30-11-2017, 05:20 PM
Game shows where the contestants are Nigel & Hilary from Kent v Ian & Morag from Inversnecky.
The questions are generally of the ilk ...
1) Which London Underground line serves Chigwell?
2) Who scored 100 runs agains the West Indies in 2015?
3) Which river flows through Maidstone?
That kinda happened on Pointless tonight.
Absolute Lillian Gish.
01-12-2017, 09:53 AM
Start at the neck, where they begin to separate, and work out.
02-12-2017, 02:58 PM
Start at the neck, where they begin to separate, and work out.
This man can use his loaf! :-)
02-12-2017, 07:04 PM
Football players talking behind their hands when walking off the pitch at the end of a game.
SuperAllyMcleod
02-12-2017, 08:19 PM
Substitutes who take a good five minutes to get dressed once they are told they are going on.
They have one job - to be ready to come on.
If I was a manager I would tell them to be ready and if they weren’t then I’d put someone else on.
02-12-2017, 08:37 PM
People who don't pick up their dogs ****.
02-12-2017, 08:51 PM
People who refer to animals (pets)as though they are humans. They even sign their names on Christmas cards 😂
02-12-2017, 08:51 PM
People who don't pick up their dogs ****.
This. As a responsible dog owner who goes to great length to make sure I do clean up after mine there is nothing more frustrating than stepping in a big dog ***** on the way to either retrieving my dog's offering or heading to the bin to dispose of it.
On a related note, dog's short life-spans. My in-law's beautiful retriever died at the age of 15 yesterday. She had a good life but it's still pretty devastating for all of us now that she's gone. My springer spaniel is 9 now and that's a fairly sobering thought in itself. I just wish they could live a bit longer.
03-12-2017, 10:15 AM
People who refer to animals (pets)as though they are humans. They even sign their names on Christmas cards 😂
Saw an advert on TV on holiday in the Caribbean and for a US brand of dog food, they said that over 80% of "pet parents", would recommend it. 😂😂
04-12-2017, 04:24 AM
Not being able to sleep!
Wake up at silly o clock nearly every morning now. Hate it. On meds which give me bad dreams so all in all not good.
04-12-2017, 11:21 AM
Being early for an event to get a decent seat then the late comers arrive and plop themselves right in front of you.
04-12-2017, 12:00 PM
Forgetting to book panto tickets early.
04-12-2017, 12:41 PM
Being early for an event to get a decent seat then the late comers arrive and plop themselves right in front of you.
Just like going to a Hibs away game with allocated seating then the host club saying sit anywhere...:rolleyes:
04-12-2017, 12:42 PM
Oh yes you did! :greengrin
04-12-2017, 01:23 PM
People who print stuff on shared printers then leave it sitting there - sometimes for ever! :grr:
04-12-2017, 03:49 PM
People who print stuff on shared printers then leave it sitting there - sometimes for ever! :grr:
That's where I found a paper setting out plans to do away with my job!
beensaidbefore
04-12-2017, 04:05 PM
You do t happen to need 2 for sleeping beauty at Brunton afternoon performance on 12th Dec. Going spare at the moment....
04-12-2017, 07:10 PM
Penguins on Christmas wrapping paper and decorations.
WHat do penguins have to do with Christmas? I almost get polar bears as they live in an area relatively close to Santa Claus but penguins live about as far away from there as it’s possible to get. Is there some connection I have missed besides penguins live in the snow?
04-12-2017, 07:14 PM
WHat do penguins have to do with Christmas? I almost get polar bears as they live in an area relatively close to Santa Claus but penguins live about as far away from there as it’s possible to get. Is there some connection I have missed besides penguins live in the snow?
Do you ever suspect you’re maybe over thinking things? 😂
Must take you ages to wrap the Christmas presents.
04-12-2017, 07:36 PM
Do you ever suspect you’re maybe over thinking things? 😂
Must take you ages to wrap the Christmas presents.
It’s wrapping presents that has fuelled my rage. The wrapping paper I have is covered in penguins wearing scarves and wool hats!
04-12-2017, 07:51 PM
It’s wrapping presents that has fuelled my rage. The wrapping paper I have is covered in penguins wearing scarves and wool hats!
You should've picked your own paper!!
I think penguins fit in quite well with Christmas stuff actually :greengrin
04-12-2017, 08:12 PM
Well that’s where you went wrong......
Gift bags.
04-12-2017, 10:44 PM
You do t happen to need 2 for sleeping beauty at Brunton afternoon performance on 12th Dec. Going spare at the moment....
Ive already booked Jack and the Beanstalk at the Alahambra in Dunfermline for Christmas Eve. Very back row though :greengrin
Every year I say I'm going to book the Kings but I forget.
Been promising the family a box there for years :-)
04-12-2017, 11:38 PM
Ive already booked Jack and the Beanstalk at the Alahambra in Dunfermline for Christmas Eve. Very back row though :greengrin
Pantos are pish anyway, recommend going to the pub instead!
Songs in supermarkets and shops that are performed by ropey cover bands because there are obviously some royalties issues at play.
The version of Fairytale of New York I heard tonight actually in Tesco actually offended me. It offended music.
05-12-2017, 05:50 AM
Songs in supermarkets and shops that are performed by ropey cover bands because there are obviously some royalties issues at play.
The version of Fairytale of New York I heard tonight actually in Tesco actually offended me. It offended music.
It wasn't the Ronan Keating and Moya Brennan version was it?
That should have seen them banned from ever recording music again.
05-12-2017, 06:28 AM
Reminds me of these.
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Top_of_the_Pops_(record_series)
beensaidbefore
05-12-2017, 07:42 AM
Np, enjoy. I have to go wig work and am dreading it. Can't think of anything worse TBH.
05-12-2017, 08:00 AM
Christmas Eve boxes and Elf on the Shelf.
Christmas Trees up in November.
05-12-2017, 08:02 AM
I recommend going on YouTube and reading the comments section below that version of it.
05-12-2017, 08:10 AM
Both a peeve and a small victory in one here.
Firstly the peeve: People who moan, comment and tut away when a baby cries in public. Now I don't take my baby anywhere inappropriate. She doesn't go to the cinema or a funeral or anything like that. However I'm not willing to be a hermit for the next few years in case she makes a noise in public. Babies cry; they cry when they are hungry, they cry when they need changed, they cry if they are uncomfortable, they cry if they are in pain and they cry if you move 4cm in the wrong direction when holding them. It's pretty much their main way of communicating what they need and it's generally effective. We were out the other week and I was cold and I could sense baby was getting restless and she was nearing a feed time so we stopped at a coffee shop. Pretty much the second we got in she erupted. I'm becoming quite the expert at sorting things quickly so it was jacket off, bib on, muslin out, bottle ready and in mouth within no more than 90 seconds. That whole time the couple behind me where like something out The Exorcist as they twisted their necks to unnatural angles to see what I was doing all whilst muttering away things like 'terrible' and 'ridiculous'. I'm not totally sure what they thought they were going to achieve other than making a relatively stressful and potentially embarrassing situation even worse.
The small victory followed almost immediately. Whilst they had been so preoccupied with what I was doing the child of about 4 or 5 with them, I assume their Grandson, had decided to flick his soup off his spoon on to the table in front of him. I can only guess he was bored and deprived of attention as the busybodies with him stuck their nose into everyone else's business. He then took it a step further and flicked his soup over his shoulder where it landed on the hair and back of the lady behind him and also splattered her cream coat, when it happened a second time it's fair to say she was none too pleased and told his grandparents in no uncertain terms to pay attention to and be aware of what he was doing. I just about managed to resist the urge to mutter 'terrible' under my breath.
05-12-2017, 08:19 AM
Karma!
Ha ha that was funny, would have loved to have been at a table nearby watching! (Out of soup range obviously :agree: )
05-12-2017, 08:21 AM
Firstly the peeve: People who moan, comment and tut away when a baby cries in public. Now I don't take my baby anywhere inappropriate. She doesn't go to the cinema or a funeral or anything like that. However I'm not willing to be a hermit for the next few years in case she makes a noise in public. Babies cry; they cry when they are hungry, they cry when they need changed, they cry if they are uncomfortable, they cry if they are in pain and they cry if you move 4cm in the wrong direction when holding them. It's pretty much their main way of communicating what they need and it's generally effective. We were out the other week and I was cold and I could sense baby was getting restless and she was nearing a feed time so we stopped at a coffee shop. Pretty much the second we got in she erupted. I'm becoming quite the expert at sorting things quickly so it was jacket off, bib on, muslin out, bottle ready and in mouth within no more than 90 seconds. That whole time the couple behind me where like something out The Exorcist as they twisted their necks to unnatural angles to see what I was doing all whilst muttering away things like 'terrible' and 'ridiculous'. I'm not totally sure what they thought they were going to achieve other than making a relatively stressful and potentially embarrassing situation even worse.
The small victory followed almost immediately. Whilst they had been so preoccupied with what I was doing the child of about 4 or 5 with them, I assume their Grandson, had decided to flick his soup off his spoon on to the table in front of him. I can only guess he was bored and deprived of attention as the busybodies with him stuck their nose into everyone else's business. He then took it a step further and flicked his soup over his shoulder where it landed on the hair and back of the lady behind him and also splattered her cream coat, when it happened a second time it's fair to say she was none too pleased and told his grandparents in no uncertain terms to pay attention to and be aware of what he was doing. I just about managed to resist the urge to mutter 'terrible' under my breath.
😂 Brilliant!
05-12-2017, 09:28 AM
Ronan Keating is barely a poor pub karaoke singer. How he ever made it and is still going is amazing. I doff my hat to him.
05-12-2017, 10:06 AM
I have to go wig work and am dreading it.
Wig work? Are you in the panto? ;-)
Enjoying parenthood PB?
Puts a different prospective on so much, I now take my wee girl for a treat to the local pub where she gets to sit up at the big table with me and we share our food, She's 2 and a half. I used to hate seeing kids in a pub, was a pet peeve but now I have joined the ranks of the proud parents. Still no place for them in the evenings in pubs, or me now sadly.....
beensaidbefore
05-12-2017, 04:11 PM
Wig work? Are you in the panto? ;-)
😁 thankfully not!
05-12-2017, 06:26 PM
Enjoying parenthood PB?
Puts a different prospective on so much, I now take my wee girl for a treat to the local pub where she gets to sit up at the big table with me and we share our food, She's 2 and a half. I used to hate seeing kids in a pub, was a pet peeve but now I have joined the ranks of the proud parents. Still no place for them in the evenings in pubs, or me now sadly.....
Wee kids in pubs after about 8pm = a total no no IMO. Otherwise, absolutely fine.
Talking of pub peeves, some dobber has just walked into the pub I'm in (in Paris right enough) dressed like Jamie Redknapp (ie 3 piece "going to a funeral" get up) and stood right between my table and the screen with the classic insouciance of someone with no awareness of what's around them.
05-12-2017, 06:57 PM
Wee kids in pubs after about 8pm = a total no no IMO. Otherwise, absolutely fine.
Talking of pub peeves, some dobber has just walked into the pub I'm in (in Paris right enough) dressed like Jamie Redknapp (ie 3 piece "going to a funeral" get up) and stood right between my table and the screen with the classic insouciance of someone with no awareness of what's around them.
:singing: "Every little sleeze seems to whimper Louise" - Maurice Chevalier
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ew2hbhAeNnc
05-12-2017, 08:36 PM
The amount of bumph that comes through my letterbox and goes straight into the recycling bin. I'm thinking of putting a letterbox on my recyling bin and asking the postie to go straight to the bin.
06-12-2017, 06:29 AM
Media over reaction/saturation re. celebrity deaths.
http://variety.com/2017/music/people-news/johnny-hallyday-dead-dies-french-elvis-1202631646/
This is going to take "Princess Di" proportions across here.
06-12-2017, 08:47 AM
http://variety.com/2017/music/people-news/johnny-hallyday-dead-dies-french-elvis-1202631646/
Actually, it's the Media's over reaction/saturation to every-bleeding-thing. They squeeze the last drop of interest out of every major event. A flock of vultures on a feeding frenzy with no sense of proportion or respect for anything or anybody.
On that similar topic. I totally loathe those scenes in movies where the character gets swarmed by the press as they come out of courtrooms or the like. It's so nyaff and cliched.
06-12-2017, 10:38 AM
Sitting in an extraordinarily dull meeting with a bunch of Frenchies now. All seemed a bit put out by this news this morning.
06-12-2017, 11:08 AM
Sitting in an extraordinarily dull meeting with a bunch of Frenchies now. All seemed a bit put out by this news this morning.
Now you know how it'll be in Englandshire when Sir Cliff kicks the bucket.
06-12-2017, 07:42 PM
People that take an industrial sized mug to the coffee machine at work and cause a mile long queue at 9am while they select ten times in a ****ing row "coffee" to fill up their ridiculous sized mug.
Alfiembra
07-12-2017, 11:54 AM
People that take an industrial sized mug to the coffee machine at work and cause a mile long queue at 9am while they select ten times in a ****ing row "coffee" to fill up their ridiculous sized mug.
:thumbsup:also when they turn up at the water cooler with a 2L bottle and fill it up.
07-12-2017, 09:20 PM
When you delete all your emails and return to the home screen to find that the wee bubble on the mail icon is still showing 20 emails.
07-12-2017, 09:41 PM
When Windows (or any other programme) updates and what used to take you one move now takes 10 + the advice of an IT expert. That's what they call progress apparently.
(e.g. The Control Panel is accessed by having to 'search' for it in Windows 10 instead of it being readily available as previously). I'm sure that very bad Anglo Saxon word was invented solely to describe the designer/developers that create these unwanted complications.
Peanut Shaz
08-12-2017, 08:10 PM
On that similar topic. I totally loathe those scenes in movies where the character gets swarmed by the press as they come out of courtrooms or the like. It's so nyaff and cliched.[/QUOTE]
Agreed. I actually get embarrassed by it. Last nights Holby City a prime example.
08-12-2017, 10:11 PM
Matrix sign on the bypass. Got on at Eskbank last night where the sign said closed at Baberton use diversion. Didn't say Dreghorn closed too and expect queues at Baberton. Mile. long tail back at 11 at night
08-12-2017, 10:59 PM
Matrix sign on the bypass. Got on at Eskbank last night where the sign said closed at Baberton use diversion. Didn't say Dreghorn closed too and expect queues at Baberton. Mile. long tail back at 11 at night
Or they'll say B456 closed. Like I've memorised every road no. in the country. :grr:
09-12-2017, 11:15 AM
This has never once came into my festive thinking, but since this post I've been seeing penguins jumping out at me from everywhere resulting in arguements with my wife and young daughters.
Thanks for that - Christmas ruined...:aok:
People who live out their lives on facebook. Im on it to keep in touch with friends around the world not to check into every last single place i go or to thank someone for walking my dog! Can't you just say ta? Also the hospital check ins screaming for attention!
10-12-2017, 05:23 PM
People who claim they simply couldn't survive without online as they have no time in their life to foodshop. What a load of bollox, how did these people cope before the world went electronic.
10-12-2017, 10:25 PM
D’you know what, :sick: every time I hear someone say that, I cringe. I hate hearing the English language being hi-jacked by affected tosh.
11-12-2017, 08:38 AM
Or they'll say B456 closed. Like I've memorised every road no. in the country. :grr:
Well to be fair they canny say "That bit eh road between Straiton and Baberton is shut" :greengrin
11-12-2017, 10:36 AM
Social media postings explaining that for environmental reasons and to save paper, people won't be sending Christmas cards and making a donation to charity instead.
Just be honest - you can't be arsed writing cards and there won't be any charitable donations.
“Which cup will fill first. 99% will get it wrong”
I don’t care.
11-12-2017, 11:34 AM
Well to be fair they canny say "That bit eh road between Straiton and Baberton is shut" :greengrin
Why not? I can understand that :greengrin
11-12-2017, 12:00 PM
Microwaves. I don't know anyone in Sweden who has one. I'd never seen one until I came to Edinburgh!
11-12-2017, 12:02 PM
Unicorns. When did people become so obsessed with effing unicorns, and anything unicorn related? Bags, jumpers, shoes even food. Seems in 2017 the production of unicorn products has boomed. and I dont understand why or where it came form. gets right on ma goat
11-12-2017, 12:04 PM
Microwaves. I don't know anyone in Sweden who has one. I'd never seen one until I came to Edinburgh!
People who misname things.
I've lived in Edinburgh for a long time and never seen a microwave.
Now microwave ovens, that's different.
11-12-2017, 12:34 PM
I'm surprised IKEA offer so many microwave products and even microwave ovens for sale. :wink:
11-12-2017, 04:27 PM
I'm surprised IKEA offer so many microwave products and even microwave ovens for sale. :wink:
Must be for all you fatty Brits!!!! Hahaha😂
11-12-2017, 05:21 PM
Unicorns. When did people become so obsessed with effing unicorns, and anything unicorn related? Bags, jumpers, shoes even food. Seems in 2017 the production of unicorn products has boomed. and I dont understand why or where it came form. gets right on ma goatGoats. Self-obsessed twats. They can't bear it that unicorns have stolen their thunder.
The world is changing. Two horns are so yesterday.
Sent from my SM-A510F using Tapatalk
11-12-2017, 09:04 PM
Goats. Self-obsessed twats. They can't bear it that unicorns have stolen their thunder.
The world is changing. Two horns are so yesterday.
Goats...reindeer without bus fares
11-12-2017, 09:19 PM
Cat Cafes
Dog Cafes
11-12-2017, 09:45 PM
Cat Cafes
Dog Cafes
What?!!!!! Like dog hotels for holidays?
11-12-2017, 10:39 PM
Cat Cafes
Dog Cafes
I thought someone was winding me up about the cat cafe at the grassmarket. Is there a dog cafe as well?
12-12-2017, 12:10 AM
People who claim they simply couldn't survive without online as they have no time in their life to foodshop. What a load of bollox, how did these people cope before the world went electronic.
If you’re actually interested I’d read about Hartmut Rosa’s theory of Social Acceleration.
12-12-2017, 06:39 AM
"Rant over"
12-12-2017, 06:55 AM
If you’re actually interested I’d read about Hartmut Rosa’s theory of Social Acceleration.
I'm too busy, can you summarise for me 😁
12-12-2017, 08:53 AM
Social media postings explaining that for environmental reasons and to save paper, people won't be sending Christmas cards and making a donation to charity instead.
Just be honest - you can't be arsed writing cards and there won't be any charitable donations.
I'm torn on this one.
I gave up Christmas cards last year and did make a donation to charity but I didn't feel the need to make a big song and dance on social media about it. It's nothing to do with the environment for me, it's just a pointless exercise. Maybe in days gone by it was a way to keep in touch with people you didn't see very often or whatever but nowadays births, deaths, marriages and everything in between are broadcast to the world on Facebook and Twitter and the Christmas card just seems obsolete to me. I'm sure some will argue it's the thought that counts but the sentiments of 'to X and Y from A & B' has never really struck me as particularly heartfelt or thoughtful.
I'm the same with the secret santa at my work. I don't need or want a gift 'up to the value of a tenner' so I opt out and buy a toy for Forth 1s Cash for Kids instead. I'd rather not broadcast that to everyone as it's not a big deal or something to show off about but just saying no thanks leads to the 3rd degree from the busybodies so an explanation is usually required.
12-12-2017, 09:22 AM
I'm torn on this one.
I gave up Christmas cards last year and did make a donation to charity but I didn't feel the need to make a big song and dance on social media about it. It's nothing to do with the environment for me, it's just a pointless exercise. Maybe in days gone by it was a way to keep in touch with people you didn't see very often or whatever but nowadays births, deaths, marriages and everything in between are broadcast to the world on Facebook and Twitter and the Christmas card just seems obsolete to me. I'm sure some will argue it's the thought that counts but the sentiments of 'to X and Y from A & B' has never really struck me as particularly heartfelt or thoughtful.
Across here people don't really do the Christmas card thing. People within the same household don't exchange cards and buying boxes of cards to give to friends and workmates just doesn't happen. Christmas cards might be sent to people you don't often see, but far more common are "cartes de voeux" - basically "happy new year' cards which are often home-made and will be sent from one household/family to another, generally throughout January.
It's a lot less commercialised. In fact I've never seen a dedicated greeting card shop here (though they may exist in bigger cities).
I'm the same with the secret santa at my work. I don't need or want a gift 'up to the value of a tenner' so I opt out and buy a toy for Forth 1s Cash for Kids instead. I'd rather not broadcast that to everyone as it's not a big deal or something to show off about but just saying no thanks leads to the 3rd degree from the busybodies so an explanation is usually required.
I can't be bothered with these things either but generally go with the flow.
These spare ticket threads that pop up.
I don’t mind them but it’s the fact that people think there is some form of queue, and they can take up multiple spaces by asking for two or three tickets.
If I had two tickets spare I’d give one each to a member of this board who’s satisfied with only one. We are supposed to be a community after all so only really board members should be helped out.
12-12-2017, 05:04 PM
I don’t mind them but it’s the fact that people think there is some form of queue, and they can take up multiple spaces by asking for two or three tickets.
If I had two tickets spare I’d give one each to a member of this board who’s satisfied with only one. We are supposed to be a community after all so only really board members should be helped out.or posters who only ever post at Derby time looking for tickets.
12-12-2017, 08:55 PM
If I had two tickets spare I’d give one each to a member of this board who’s satisfied with only one. We are supposed to be a community after all so only really board members should be helped out.
Have you got any spare tickets? :greengrin
I'm afraid not mate.
Looks like we'll have to invade the Hearts end again.
12-12-2017, 10:50 PM
Brainless drivers who stop directly opposite another plonker who has also stopped where they shouldn't. Between them they have managed to reduce the road width to a single vehicle causing chaos.
13-12-2017, 04:52 AM
People who on internet forums use 'imo' or 'imho'.
Alfiembra
13-12-2017, 06:37 AM
People who on internet forums use 'imo' or 'imho'.
Good shout, acronyms in general annoy the hell out of me. Where I work it's so widespread that I have been at metings with people talking and useing so many acronyms in a sentence that I haven't a clue what they are talking about. There's even a dedicated web page on the companies web site listing acronyms. FWIW :greengrin
13-12-2017, 06:45 AM
good shout, acronyms in general annoy the hell out of me. Where i work it's so widespread that i have been at metings with people talking and useing so many acronyms in a sentence that i haven't a clue what they are talking about. There's even a dedicated web page on the companies web site listing acronyms. fwiw :greengrin
lol!
13-12-2017, 11:31 AM
Good shout, acronyms in general annoy the hell out of me. Where I work it's so widespread that I have been at metings with people talking and useing so many acronyms in a sentence that I haven't a clue what they are talking about. There's even a dedicated web page on the companies web site listing acronyms. FWIW :greengrin
Or the ones who assume their acronyms are unique. I've been in my organisation over 30 years and some of the acronyms have been recycled so many times.
13-12-2017, 02:03 PM
Yeah you get the posts like "long shot I know but looking for 4 derby tickets" can anyone help? Well no actually they cant.
13-12-2017, 02:50 PM
Yeah you get the posts like "long shot I know but looking for 4 derby tickets" can anyone help? Well no actually they cant.
I just don't understand why people would add to a thread like that. I almost get the point of the person starting the thread but if your the 10th person on that thread looking for 4 tickets, you're no getting one from here pal, why bother?
15-12-2017, 02:06 PM
People who share utter pish on social media with no facts.
There's a picture doing the rounds at the moment of a lady who has fallen asleep with a child in a buggy next to her. She's '****', a 'junkie', a 'tramp', should have her child taken off her and 100s of other things.
Firstly if you were so concerned why would you take a picture rather than intervene. Secondly why would you choose to post said picture on Facebook rather than alert the relevant authorities. Finally you don't know that womans story. Maybe she is a single parent who is trying to balance work and raising a child and passed out from sheer exhaustion. Maybe she has had sleepless nights from some stess or worry in her life and nodded off unintentionally. Maybe she is a junkie or an alcoholic but you don't know the reasons why.
Facebook is the dreamland for the 21st century busybody.
15-12-2017, 03:22 PM
People who share utter pish on social media with no facts.
There's a picture doing the rounds at the moment of a lady who has fallen asleep with a child in a buggy next to her. She's '****', a 'junkie', a 'tramp', should have her child taken off her and 100s of other things.
Firstly if you were so concerned why would you take a picture rather than intervene. Secondly why would you choose to post said picture on Facebook rather than alert the relevant authorities. Finally you don't know that womans story. Maybe she is a single parent who is trying to balance work and raising a child and passed out from sheer exhaustion. Maybe she has had sleepless nights from some stess or worry in her life and nodded off unintentionally. Maybe she is a junkie or an alcoholic but you don't know the reasons why.
Facebook is the dreamland for the 21st century busybody.
I absolutely hate this "trial by Facebook" ****. Pictures of people claiming they're thieves, child molesters or similar without any evidence to back up the claim. Most of it is probably fake and just vindictiveness from people that hold a grudge.
Just had to deal with some staff who named colleagues on FB for laziness which erupted into a whole he said she said. Very nearly disciplinary except everyone calmed down. Nightmare tho as it started when someone replied to all instead of private message.
15-12-2017, 07:03 PM
It's well overdue for the shecht-stirrers and slanders/libellers to be charged and convicted for their malicious muckraking. Untold grief for the victims of their sick antics.
15-12-2017, 07:14 PM
It's well overdue for the shecht-stirrers and slanders/libellers to be charged and convicted for their malicious muckraking. Untold damage being done to the victims of their sick antics.
My 78 year old aunty has just discovered Facebook and is constantly sharing bull**** like this. It's absolutely cringeworthy but sad because otherwise she's a lovely old dear. It seems like the older generation are particularly gullible for fake news and other malicious propaganda.
15-12-2017, 07:32 PM
My 78 year old aunty has just discovered Facebook and is constantly sharing bull**** like this. It's absolutely cringeworthy but sad because otherwise she's a lovely old dear. It seems like the older generation are particularly gullible for fake news and other malicious propaganda.
My old dear wants to get into it as she doesnae get out the house much these days, I would describe her as very susceptible to similar nonsense.
15-12-2017, 11:35 PM
My old dear posting on FB
16-12-2017, 02:00 AM
My old dear posting on FB
Do what I did, I blocked by Mum on FB for spouting pish
16-12-2017, 07:17 AM
People in pubs that put 20p on the table when you’re playing pool and turn it into a winner stays on contest, inevitably they seem to think they’re at the crucibal (sorry don’t know the pool equivalent) as well.
I see a game of pool as social thing and don’t want to play against the local jakeball, if me and whoever I’m with get to the table first they should just wait their turn, like I’d have to if they got their first.
16-12-2017, 11:54 AM
Hidden add-ons in to quoted prices.
You know, the Ryan Air type of thing.
"Fly to Tenerife for 5p" then when you finally book up it cost you £500.
Likewise, I tried to hire a car for a few days at a quoted 'special offer' but the actual cost doubled when they added their 'strongly recommended' insurance cover.
Galahibby
17-12-2017, 12:42 AM
Such cynicism! 🙁
I haven't sent cards this year: I made a donation to a dog rescue instead. I put it on Facebook, not for attention or to proclaim my concern for the environment, but to merely give friends and relatives the heads up not to expect a card, and to share the plight of a wee rescue dog with a spinal problem that needs surgery.
The upshot of that is that two pals from work and my sister-in-law have all given me money for the same cause, and the rescue is now £100 better off thanks to a Facebook post.
I'll probably still send a few cards to some older relatives who don't use social media, but will probably never again spend £30/£40/£50 on stamps when the money could be put to much better use. (imho 😉)
To be honest, a good few of my friends have also made similar posts and I don't doubt for one second that any of them haven't donated as they have claimed. They've all picked charities I know are very close to their hearts.
17-12-2017, 02:11 PM
The current Paddy Power advert. The most annoying ad ever.
17-12-2017, 02:15 PM
The current Paddy Power advert. The most annoying ad ever.
Bookies adverts in general. So many of them and most of them are awful.
18-12-2017, 10:32 PM
Bookies adverts in general. So many of them and most of them are awful.
I like the nod to Gamble Aware at the end. "When the fun stops,stop...." said in a barely audible slur.
So genuinely meant! ****bags.
18-12-2017, 10:43 PM
Winstone and Bet365 advocating ‘responsible gambling’ is a sick joke. If taken seriously they would be bankrupt in a few months.
19-12-2017, 06:08 AM
The Christmas jumper. Wife had to buy one for work last Friday and daughter needed one for school yesterday. At one time they were favoured by the office clown or a trying too hard to be funny uncle, but now the Christmas jumper movement is at an epidemic level.
19-12-2017, 08:06 AM
Forced fun. I like a laugh as much as anyone but hate it if someone tells me I should be having fun, e.g. Christmas jumper day or themed events in the office.
19-12-2017, 08:07 AM
Forced fun. I like a laugh as much as anyone but hate it if someone tells me I should be having fun, e.g. Christmas jumper day or themed events in the office.
Never move to Cologne.
19-12-2017, 08:43 AM
Never move to Cologne.
Is that a recommendation or an order?
19-12-2017, 11:42 AM
Artists on TV at New Year after the bells who sing their new single release or some other obscure song. Whatever happened to "A Guid New Year" and "A Wee Cock Sparra"?
19-12-2017, 01:44 PM
Artists on TV at New Year after the bells who sing their new single release or some other obscure song. Whatever happened to "A Guid New Year" and "A Wee Cock Sparra"?
The TV at new year can have no complaints at finding itself on this thread.
I stay in at New Year now and have a few beers in the house, last couple of years though it's been a struggle making it to the bells. Why don't they show what's going on in Edinburgh? It's normally a ceilidh in some Glasgow bar and the reaction from the town square in Shetland or somewhere like that.
Surely to get the fun of a ceilidh you have to actually be there? Watching people you don't know doing it should never make national Tele, especially at the bells.
hibs#1
19-12-2017, 03:34 PM
Hogmanay in general.Pile of crap.
19-12-2017, 03:40 PM
Is that a recommendation or an order?
Strong recommendation. Around carnival time it's illegal not to laugh at bad jokes and generally act like a nine year old.
The Christmas jumper. Wife had to buy one for work last Friday and daughter needed one for school yesterday. At one time they were favoured by the office clown or a trying too hard to be funny uncle, but now the Christmas jumper movement is at an epidemic level.
I have the same argument with my boss every year
boss: it’s christmas jumper day on Friday/Thursday/whatever, everyone has to wear a Christmas jumper.
me: I don’t own a Christmas jumper
boss: that’s ok, just buy one
me: you want me to spend my money on something I don’t want or need. No, you’re ok
boss: just make one then, stitch some tinsel and baubles onto a jumper
me: now you want me to ruin a jumper I already have, for no purpose other than you want me to wear it to suit you. Again, no thanks
boss: stop being so miserable
me: it’s not miserable to want to spend my money on what I want/need, and to keep the clothes I already have in reasonable condition.
i have no issue with Christmas jumper day, I enjoy a lot of the run up to Christmas, but being forced into what someone else deems to be fun and being called miserable because you don’t suit their tastes isn’t fun in my book.
SuperAllyMcleod
19-12-2017, 07:26 PM
Hogmanay in general.Pile of crap.
I could not agree more - I’ve always hated Hogmanay and more often than not I’m asleep at the bells. New Year’s Day is not much better and I’m happy when normality kicks in around the 3rd or 4th.
19-12-2017, 07:54 PM
Hogmanay is the worst night of the year, New Years Day on the other hand is a great sporting/drinking day, only bettered by Boxing Day.
20-12-2017, 12:14 AM
Hogmanay is the worst night of the year, New Years Day on the other hand is a great sporting/drinking day, only bettered by Boxing Day.
Oh to be a dormouse and hibernate through all this Christmas & New Year crap.
Mixu62
20-12-2017, 02:03 AM
Food lacking in structural integrity. You know, those kebabs and wraps where you take one bite and the whole thing disintegrates all over your hands. Had one from Pita Pit the other day. The sauce was all on one side so the bread was soggy there resulting in said disintegration upon but a single bite!
20-12-2017, 06:49 AM
People who are always late for appointments and meetings then give a lame excuse about traffic etc.
20-12-2017, 08:31 AM
People who dont clean the cough medicine bottle.
the mrs who puts dirty clothes ON TOP of the basket, its not hard to lift the lid!
20-12-2017, 09:53 AM
I have the same argument with my boss every year
boss: it’s christmas jumper day on Friday/Thursday/whatever, everyone has to wear a Christmas jumper.
me: I don’t own a Christmas jumper
boss: that’s ok, just buy one
me: you want me to spend my money on something I don’t want or need. No, you’re ok
boss: just make one then, stitch some tinsel and baubles onto a jumper
me: now you want me to ruin a jumper I already have, for no purpose other than you want me to wear it to suit you. Again, no thanks
boss: stop being so miserable
me: it’s not miserable to want to spend my money on what I want/need, and to keep the clothes I already have in reasonable condition.
i have no issue with Christmas jumper day, I enjoy a lot of the run up to Christmas, but being forced into what someone else deems to be fun and being called miserable because you don’t suit their tastes isn’t fun in my book.
I get so frustrated with the whole charity at work thing. Dress down Friday pay a pound and dress like a tramp. Red Nose day is another. Buy the t-shirt, buy some homemade cake that tastes like ****, buy raffle tickets for a bottle of something that somebody found in the back of a cupboard. Then there are the ones who participate in everything and wonder why their work isn't done. If you want to collect for a charity just ask for a donation and let me get on with my work. Or alternatively put my income tax up to cover the shortfall in the services that charities provide for.
20-12-2017, 12:46 PM
I get so frustrated with the whole charity at work thing. Dress down Friday pay a pound and dress like a tramp. Red Nose day is another. Buy the t-shirt, buy some homemade cake that tastes like ****, buy raffle tickets for a bottle of something that somebody found in the back of a cupboard. Then there are the ones who participate in everything and wonder why their work isn't done. If you want to collect for a charity just ask for a donation and let me get on with my work. Or alternatively put my income tax up to cover the shortfall in the services that charities provide for.
This is it for me. Why the need to - sometimes quite literally - dress it up in fancy pish?. It's almost like they are too scared/ashamed to just be honest and front up.
If you're raising money for Cancer Research or whatever, then rattle a tin under my nose every so often.
20-12-2017, 01:38 PM
When every car in the work car park is pointing in the same direction except mine. OK it's not a pet peeve but there's definitely some sort of conspiracy against me. :worried:
20-12-2017, 02:53 PM
When every car in the work car park is pointing in the same direction except mine. OK it's not a pet peeve but there's definitely some sort of conspiracy against me. :worried:
It's only a conspiracy if you're in first every morning.
20-12-2017, 03:48 PM
Strong recommendation. Around carnival time it's illegal not to laugh at bad jokes and generally act like a nine year old.
While living in the Netherlands I'd either lock myself in my house with the curtains closed and shutters down or leave the country altogether at carnival time, it seems to be seen as a license to be a total and utter prick for a weekend.
SuperAllyMcleod
20-12-2017, 05:02 PM
Home baking is the worst and to be avoided at all costs. You have no idea what state their kitchen is in, how many children have ‘helped’ add ingredients or whether they let their pets (cats) wander freely over their worktops. Just not worth the risk.
20-12-2017, 08:13 PM
The worst is when you are expected to cook something and bring it in. After 8 hours in an office with people I barely like at best, why the f would I go home knackered and spend hours cooking for said people?
It's the emails in office bull**** language that p me right off also..
"We know we have soooo many amazing cooks in our team so we've decided to have a Christmas buffet together and everyone can volunteer to bring in some delicious homemade delights!"
Translation
"Business isn't going so well so in order to help pay the CEO's 2 million pay package your Christmas night out is cancelled ."
20-12-2017, 08:33 PM
The worst is when you are expected to cook something and bring it in. After 8 hours in an office with people I barely like at best, why the f would I go home knackered and spend hours cooking for said people?
It's the emails in office bull**** language that p me right off also..
"We know we have soooo many amazing cooks in our team so we've decided to have a Christmas buffet together and everyone can volunteer to bring in some delicious homemade delights!"
Translation
"Business isn't going so well so in order to help pay the CEO's 2 million pay package your Christmas night out is cancelled ."
Christmas always brings out the worst in some people in the office.
Our resident bossy boots made a big announcement this year that she ‘absolutely would not’ be organising our office lunch this year. Someone else took it on and we all agreed we would just chuck in a few pounds and get an Indian. Cue Mrs Bossy Boots face tripping her for a week then an email from the boss saying ‘after consultation with some staff members it is felt a catered buffet is a more suitable festive option’. Coincidentally a ‘catered buffet’ is exactly what Mrs Bossy Boots has organised the last 3 years I’ve been there and for umpteen years before that and she ‘reluctantly’ agreed to organise at short notice so as not to ‘let everyone down’.
I went to the pub for a shandy and a pie.
20-12-2017, 09:14 PM
The more people there are the less enjoyable it becomes. When I started my current job 11 years ago there were 5 of us (between 2 companies - Architects & Developers). Even as we gradually grew, Christmas and other dos were informal sessions and always a hoot. Now there are more than 50 of us and the social side has become a right royal plastic pain in the hoop.
20-12-2017, 09:47 PM
Best thing to do at Christmas nights out is to not drink and take lots of videos.
When you go back to work tell everybody your videos are hilarious. This will guarantee you a trouble-free year. :greengrin
20-12-2017, 09:50 PM
Food lacking in structural integrity. You know, those kebabs and wraps where you take one bite and the whole thing disintegrates all over your hands. Had one from Pita Pit the other day. The sauce was all on one side so the bread was soggy there resulting in said disintegration upon but a single bite!
Good shout!
stuart-farquhar
20-12-2017, 10:58 PM
The Evening Newspaper has no understanding of the size or location of districts in the city. Events and incidents mostly give a street name only with no indication of which part of the city. (This used to be Glasgow media issue only when reporting on Edinburgh)
21-12-2017, 04:57 AM
The Evening Newspaper has no understanding of the size or location of districts in the city. Events and incidents mostly give a street name only with no indication of which part of the city. (This used to be Glasgow media issue only when reporting on Edinburgh)
Let's be honest, The EEN is an horrendous excuse of a newspaper now.
21-12-2017, 06:38 AM
Best thing to do at Christmas nights out is to not drink and take lots of videos.
When you go back to work tell everybody your videos are hilarious. This will guarantee you a trouble-free year. :greengrin
Or an early grave!
21-12-2017, 12:09 PM
Or an early grave!
Aye, that too :greengrin
21-12-2017, 05:29 PM
Youtube adverts. Site ruined. :rolleyes:
21-12-2017, 09:27 PM
I can almost bear the "4 seconds and I'm out" ones but if they are any longer I quit immediately. As with all great ideas and inventions, the money grabbers dip their paws in and completely ruin it for everybody.
22-12-2017, 10:31 AM
Adverts where the normal tone of voice suddenly changes to someone sounding like they are on the phone or talking through a megaphone. Usually at high volume and on local radio.
22-12-2017, 10:33 AM
Even worse are the facebook ones, your half way through a video and a wee thing pops up saying 'advert will start soon' which means im not going to continue watching said video.
22-12-2017, 02:46 PM
I seem to always get the new Addidas Predator advert on YouTube which is just a guy screaming "WOAHHHHHH" in a croaky voice.
What infuriates me even more is the fact someone has been paid mega bucks to come up with that crap.
Use Ad blocke,r which seems to cut them out
23-12-2017, 12:33 PM
Players covering their mouths so that lip reading fans cannae see what they're saying, bollocks!
Prima Donna footballers who scream and shout in referees faces, give them dogs abuse, but nothing ever done.
Stick
24-12-2017, 02:36 PM
Always ends up a mess, crumpled corners, folded ends different sizes one having a pointed end the other a square one. Wasted enough sellotape to wrap the forth bridge and it still doesn't hold together.
My Mrs gives me my pressie that looks like it has been wrapped by someone with a PhD in present wrapping, whilst my one to her looks like it was done by next doors cat.
24-12-2017, 04:59 PM
Folk who walk through a shop door then stop dead 1 stwp later either causing people to walk into the back of them or blocking everyone from getting through. If you aren't sure where to go then take a few steps and clear the door before stopping.
People leaving lights on unnecessarily. I’ve been off work one day and I’ve spent most of it going round rooms switching lights off in rooms that nobody has been in for ages.
One time last week every light in our house was on and I’m including bedside lamps. 🤬
24-12-2017, 06:27 PM
People leaving lights on unnecessarily. I’ve been off work one day and I’ve spent most of it going round rooms switching lights off in rooms that nobody has been in for ages.
One time last week every light in our house was on and I’m including bedside lamps. 🤬
I hope for your sake you don't live alone :greengrin
😂 fortunately/unfortunately I don’t.
24-12-2017, 10:02 PM
Folk who walk through a shop door then stop dead 1 stwp later either causing people to walk into the back of them or blocking everyone from getting through. If you aren't sure where to go then take a few steps and clear the door before stopping.
Similarly people who, upon exiting a bus, train, metro etc stop IMMEDIATELY to check their phone/light a fag/sort out their luggage.
It takes all of 5 steps to get out of the immediate entry/exit area but that's still too much hassle for some folk.
25-12-2017, 05:09 AM
Manky people who don't cover their mouth when they cough or sneeze, usually also the type of people that instead of trying to reduce the size of the cough or sneeze they do all they can to exaggerate it so you half think Krakatoa has erupted again.
The amount of times I've decided to stop breathing until I am out of the impact zone is infuriating...
25-12-2017, 03:09 PM
People who say they've been "spoiled rotten", usually meaning they've been taken to Nandos.
25-12-2017, 05:58 PM
People who feel the need to disguise where they have been shopping by using ďifferent carrier bags.
26-12-2017, 11:57 AM
People who feel the need to disguise where they have been shopping by using ďifferent carrier bags.
26-12-2017, 01:14 PM
Folk who queue to pay for parking tickets with a card at the cash and card machine when the card only machine has a smaller queue.
26-12-2017, 08:43 PM
:greengrin Surely that doesn’t happen?
28-12-2017, 12:36 PM
The cost of council gym/swim memberships.
IMO these should be heavily subsidised to encourage people to incorporate healthier lifestyles however i've just looked and for a swim only membership it's £33 p/month and to include a gym it's up to £50 p/month.
Now i know for a lot of people that's not a lot of money but there's a huge amount of people that struggle to make ends meet and i think it's fair to say there's a correlation between lower income and health issues. IMO a council gym/swim membership should be an affordable amount and not on a par with private health clubs.
28-12-2017, 01:34 PM
IMO these should be heavily subsidised to encourage people to incorporate healthier lifestyles however i've just looked and for a swim only membership it's £33 p/month and to include a gym it's up to £50 p/month.
Now i know for a lot of people that's not a lot of money but there's a huge amount of people that struggle to make ends meet and i think it's fair to say there's a correlation between lower income and health issues. IMO a council gym/swim membership should be an affordable amount and not on a par with private health clubs.
You're absolutely spot-on about health inequalities and there's a lot to be said for promoting access to gyms etc for communities where socio-economic deprivation is higher.
I believe that ten to fifteen years ago this was the case in a lot of local authority areas where there were real pockets of deprivation, with many having great facilities at reasonable rates.
The problem is the financial pressures on councils over the last ten years. The two biggest areas of spend, by a long chalk, are education and social care. They dwarve everything else. Councils have little control over this spend. The main cost drivers in education are teacher salaries and classroom sizes, which are set nationally. For social care, all local authorities are signed up to eligibility criteria about when they will provide services. Even though councils charge for social care, they still face eve-increasing costs due to more older people living longer, and living longer with more complex needs. The government has to insist that councils prioritise social care because otherwise, the pressures would shift onto the health service, which is already failing to meet demand - hence areas like Edinburgh getting additional funding to boost their social care provision.
As councils have had to reduce expenditure, all this has meant that other council services have suffered. Most areas will have seen libraries close or reduce their opening hours. Most areas will have seen road and pavement repairs take longer to be effected. Most areas will have seen non-essential services that have a preventative role be scrapped or reduced. Most areas will have seen a reduction in subsidies to maintain bus services.
The irony is that it's the most vulnerable who tend to rely on council services the most. People who can't afford broadband so need the library for internet access. People who can't afford to run a car so rely on buses or walking, except the pavements are more dangerous and the bus doesn't run as often, if at all.
In those circumstances, subsidised gym memberships might be desirable as a long-term investment in people's wellbeing but simply can't be met within existing and reducing budgets.
28-12-2017, 02:01 PM
You're absolutely spot-on about health inequalities and there's a lot to be said for promoting access to gyms etc for communities where socio-economic deprivation is higher.
I believe that ten to fifteen years ago this was the case in a lot of local authority areas where there were real pockets of deprivation, with many having great facilities at reasonable rates.
The problem is the financial pressures on councils over the last ten years. The two biggest areas of spend, by a long chalk, are education and social care. They dwarve everything else. Councils have little control over this spend. The main cost drivers in education are teacher salaries and classroom sizes, which are set nationally. For social care, all local authorities are signed up to eligibility criteria about when they will provide services. Even though councils charge for social care, they still face eve-increasing costs due to more older people living longer, and living longer with more complex needs. The government has to insist that councils prioritise social care because otherwise, the pressures would shift onto the health service, which is already failing to meet demand - hence areas like Edinburgh getting additional funding to boost their social care provision.
As councils have had to reduce expenditure, all this has meant that other council services have suffered. Most areas will have seen libraries close or reduce their opening hours. Most areas will have seen road and pavement repairs take longer to be effected. Most areas will have seen non-essential services that have a preventative role be scrapped or reduced. Most areas will have seen a reduction in subsidies to maintain bus services.
The irony is that it's the most vulnerable who tend to rely on council services the most. People who can't afford broadband so need the library for internet access. People who can't afford to run a car so rely on buses or walking, except the pavements are more dangerous and the bus doesn't run as often, if at all.
In those circumstances, subsidised gym memberships might be desirable as a long-term investment in people's wellbeing but simply can't be met within existing and reducing budgets.
Thanks for the detailed reply, appreciate the response.
Surely there's also an argument for lower prices = more members though? Leith Victoria baths where i go for a swim sometimes are always appealing for more members so they cant have reached the point where they have too many members yet.
The councils main selling point for these costs seem to be that you can use multiple facilities. Is that really something people are interested in? The fact if i joined Leith i could use a facility in Wester Hailes is of absolutely no relevance to me and i can't imagine i'm on my own there.
If Pure Gym can run a seemingly successful business for £22 per month, why does the council need to charge over £30 for a very similar service/product?
28-12-2017, 02:13 PM
Thanks for the detailed reply, appreciate the response.
Surely there's also an argument for lower prices = more members though? Leith Victoria baths where i go for a swim sometimes are always appealing for more members so they cant have reached the point where they have too many members yet.
The councils main selling point for these costs seem to be that you can use multiple facilities. Is that really something people are interested in? The fact if i joined Leith i could use a facility in Wester Hailes is of absolutely no relevance to me and i can't imagine i'm on my own there.
If Pure Gym can run a seemingly successful business for £22 per month, why does the council need to charge over £30 for a very similar service/product?
I think you're right about building up membership through lower costs and I also suspect you're right about using multiple facilities - whether it's an urban or a rural council area, people are only likely to use facilities either close to where they live or close to where they work (or enroute between the two).
In terms of cost, I think part of the issue is staff costs. Councils will almost certainly pay higher wages and on-costs (pension, NI etc) than a private sector firm. Council staff are invariably more unionised than the private sector, so those costs are protected to a greater degree.
A number of councils have moved their leisure facilities into trusts, that are arms-length of the council (in fact it's not just leisure services but all sorts of previous in-house services, and it's a process even further advanced in England). That moves the cost from the Council's balance sheet but generally the employees transfer to their new employer with protected terms and conditions, so there isn't a cost saving in terms of salaries etc.
EH6 Hibby
28-12-2017, 04:29 PM
I work for the council and only get 15% off the price. I think council staff should get a better discount.
31-12-2017, 05:54 PM
When you wait ages for a programme or website to open up, get fed up, press cancel, then get a nano-second view of the page before it disappears - because you've just pressed cancel! :grr:
31-12-2017, 11:29 PM
Hogmanay tv, utter pish! Same crap every year. Jackie Bird with the fidler on the roof and Jimmy Shands apprentice along with other low key performers!
not being able to get a decent sleep!
Doze for an hour or 2, spend 5 hours tossing and turning and not getting much more than 20 minutes dozing in total, then finally fall asleep about 20-40 minutes before needing to get up and feeling like **** because you’re exhausted and body clock is out of whack :grr:
repeat ad infinitum
01-01-2018, 01:29 PM
When you’re going to someone’s house for a Chinese and you’re looking forward to ordering something you like.......then the decision is made just to order a few different dishes ‘for the table’......then get dirty looks for eating too much.
02-01-2018, 01:39 AM
Folk who only call you when they want something.
02-01-2018, 06:34 AM
People who queue up at an EasyJet gate 2 and a half hours before boarding as if it's going to take off quicker if they get on it before everyone else.
If it's a question of space for a bag, buy a hold bag tight arse.
02-01-2018, 09:02 AM
People who queue up at an EasyJet gate 2 and a half hours before boarding as if it's going to take off quicker if they get on it before everyone else.
If it's a question of space for a bag, buy a hold bag tight arse.
Who is even at the airport 2 and a half hours early these days, never mind at the gate??? :confused::confused:
02-01-2018, 11:25 AM
Any social media posts that start "That moment when..." or just "When you..."
02-01-2018, 03:36 PM
Who is even at the airport 2 and a half hours early these days, never mind at the gate??? :confused::confused:
And how do people know that other people are queuing 2 and a half hours before a flight unless they're there 2 and a half hours before a flight themselves?
02-01-2018, 06:47 PM
Twats that have a headlight out and put full beam on to compensate. :rolleyes:
02-01-2018, 08:02 PM
And how do people know that other people are queuing 2 and a half hours before a flight unless they're there 2 and a half hours before a flight themselves?
People that can't sense a bit of exaggeration :greengrin
02-01-2018, 08:52 PM
People that can't sense a bit of exaggeration :greengrin
SuperAllyMcleod
03-01-2018, 02:32 PM
If only you had said “unless they’re there 2 and a half hours before their flight” - it would have been a perfect example of how to use they’re, there and their - the misuse of which annoys the hell out of me almost as much as mixing up of and off.
03-01-2018, 04:38 PM
If only you had said “unless they’re there 2 and a half hours before their flight” - it would have been a perfect example of how to use they’re, there and their - the misuse of which annoys the hell out of me almost as much as mixing up of and off.
I'll try and raise my standards. :wink:
beensaidbefore
03-01-2018, 04:55 PM
Piss of! 😂😂
03-01-2018, 05:09 PM
Piss of! 😂😂
That's going to far.
03-01-2018, 05:55 PM
Bit like when you think "God that guy must spend his life I the pub, he's ALWAYS here" before realising that to know this you must also be spending an inordinate amount of time in the same boozer.
03-01-2018, 06:19 PM
Guinness aficionados telling me that the extra cold version ruins it.
It comes from the same keg, if I want it extra cold that is up to me.
beensaidbefore
03-01-2018, 06:34 PM
That's going to far.
😂😂
03-01-2018, 06:54 PM
Same people who probably believe the myth that 'two pouring' it actually matters as opposed to being a relic from the changeover from cask to keg and part of the huge marketing ploy that drives everything Guinness does.
An old moaner used to always go on about it in a bar I worked in so we gave him a pint one poured and one rested and topped up and of course he couldn't tell the difference.
03-01-2018, 07:12 PM
It's all about personal preference but chilling drinks/food definitely diminishes taste and aroma.
03-01-2018, 07:28 PM
It's all about personal preference but chilling drinks/food definitely diminishes taste and aroma.
Of course chilling food and drink alters the taste and often allows one ingredient to become more prominent than normal. It's personal taste as you say and some folk just can't accept that.
The old red wine served at room temperature is another classic example. Room temperature in 2018 bears no comparison what so ever to room temperatutre of 30/40/50 years ago or longer. I like my red wine slightly chilled in the fridge not served at the current temp of my kitchen or living room.
04-01-2018, 12:06 PM
Full time mummy as jobs on facebook profiles. Laughable.
04-01-2018, 05:30 PM
Instagram photo filters that put ****ing ears and ****ing butterflies on folk.
04-01-2018, 06:02 PM
TV programmes when the sound from the next scene is heard too early before the scene changes.
04-01-2018, 06:13 PM
What about Prince Charles?
04-01-2018, 07:42 PM
Thats murder and I rip folk on facebook for that. Complete roasters!
05-01-2018, 09:50 AM
Also on the theme of social media photos, any woman that does that "look down and away from the camera" pose can get themselves to f as far as I'm concerned.
05-01-2018, 10:13 AM
Of course chilling food and drink alters the taste and often allows one ingredient to become more prominent than normal. It's personal taste as you say and some folk just can't accept that.
The old red wine served at room temperature is another classic example. Room temperature in 2018 bears no comparison what so ever to room temperatutre of 30/40/50 years ago or longer. I like my red wine slightly chilled in the fridge not served at the current temp of my kitchen or living room.
I will only drink red wine from the fridge, Ive never understood the room temp thing. It has to be cold or I dont enjoy it.
The looks of disgust I got at the Sherton at a charity event when I removed a bottle of white from the chiller on the table to place my red in was priceless
05-01-2018, 10:30 AM
Also on the theme of social media photos, any woman that does that "look down and away from the camera" pose can get themselves to f as far as I'm concerned.
I can't stand 'cute' photos of babies, kittens and/or puppies.
You know the ones where they are seen popping out of a teapot or the like.
Totally contrived and vomit-inducing.
05-01-2018, 10:51 AM
I've said it before and I'll say it again, the "Here we go" thread on the main board. I dinnae even read it but, it annoys me everytime it moves back up the page.
05-01-2018, 12:02 PM
I've said it before and I'll say it again, the "Here we go" thread on the main board. I dinnae even read it but, it annoys me everytime it moves back up the page.
It does have one redeeming feature in that no one can start using puns and thinking they are funny
05-01-2018, 12:52 PM
The Nationwide adverts with the 2 women singing and one of them playing the keyboard. Just annoying.
05-01-2018, 12:57 PM
The Nationwide adverts with the 2 women singing and one of the playing the keyboard. Just annoying.
I was saying that when I first saw it the other day as well. The blonde one clearly thinks what she's doing is hilarious tae, it's ****ing brutal.
hibs#1
05-01-2018, 01:20 PM
The Nationwide adverts with the 2 women singing and one of them playing the keyboard. Just annoying.
Yip ****ing terrible.I'd add most tele adverts the Sainsbury's xmas ones were horrific as well.
05-01-2018, 03:14 PM
Beat me to it, the He-Man/Skeletor adverts do my head in too.
05-01-2018, 08:28 PM
Harvey Keitel's Winston Wolfe in the Direct Line ads really gets on my thrupnies. :grr:
05-01-2018, 09:09 PM
You should have a look at the grumpy skeletor page on Twitter.
05-01-2018, 09:13 PM
Absolute ****ers that park over two spaces in the hospital car park. I had to park at the side of the road in the car park or park in a disabled bay. What makes people think that it’s acceptable to do that? You see it everywhere you go, supermarket car parks are the worst for it. If you’re that worried about getting your car scratched get the ****ing bus.
05-01-2018, 09:19 PM
Absolute ****ers that park over two spaces in the hospital car park. I had to park at the side of the road in the car park or park in a disabled bay. What makes people think that it’s acceptable to do that? You see it everywhere you go, supermarket car parks are the worst for it. If you’re that worried about getting your car scratched get the ****ing bus.
I live a few minutes walk from Fort Kinnaird. Every single Saturday for the whole of December some stupid ****ing woman drove into our car park, parked her stupid ****ing Chelsea tractor across 2 spaces (which are already at a premium), strolled along the lane to the shopping centre (which has about 3000 spaces) then reappeared about 3 hours later laden with shopping bags with a stupid smug look on her stupid ****ing face and drove away.
Selfish and unnecessary.
05-01-2018, 09:28 PM
You should have a look at the grumpy skeletor page on Twitter.
I've managed to avoid Twitter and Facebook until now, I think I'll give it a miss. :-)
05-01-2018, 09:34 PM
I live a few minutes walk from Fort Kinnaird. Every single Saturday for the whole of December some stupid ****ing woman drove into our car park, parked her stupid ****ing Chelsea tractor across 2 spaces (which are already at a premium), strolled along the lane to the shopping centre (which has about 3000 spaces) then reappeared about 3 hours later laden with shopping bags with a stupid smug look on her stupid ****ing face and drove away.
Selfish and unnecessary.
Maybe you should have said, "Can I watch your car for you, missus?" :cb
05-01-2018, 09:36 PM
Selfish and unnecessary.
You must live quite close to me as I get that sort of thing as well. As you say December is the worst time for it. The guy next door to me had bought a car for his daughters birthday and he got so fed up of people parking he double parked it over someone who had parked in the street.
05-01-2018, 09:40 PM
Playing devils advocate though, if one person parks badly over two spaces there’s a knock on effect where the next person has to park badly to get into a space, if the original bad Parker then drives away everyone that’s parked badly since then looks bad due to no fault of their own. (Think that makes sense)
05-01-2018, 09:43 PM
Playing devils advocate though, if one person parks badly over two spaces there’s a knock on effect where the next person has to park badly to get into a space, if the original bad Parker then drives away everyone that’s parked badly since then looks bad due to no fault of their own. (Think that makes sense)
I’m not talking about people parking badly(although that’s something that annoys me as well) it’s now become a thing where people deliberately park over two spaces to avoid their car being scratched. It’s bad enough in a normal car park, but in the hospital where you’re having to queue to get in, it’s completely unacceptable.
Lenny shirts, just no
If someone gets this on the holy ground it's a full house
05-01-2018, 09:51 PM
I’m not talking about people parking badly(although that’s something that annoys me as well) it’s now become a thing where people deliberately park over two spaces to avoid their car being scratched. It’s bad enough in a normal car park, but in the hospital where you’re having to queue to get in, it’s completely unacceptable.
Oh how I would be tempted.... :devil:
05-01-2018, 10:00 PM
Oh how I would be tempted.... :devil:
I used to drive an ancient ford mondeo and I was so tempted at times. That car was a complete tank. Eh6 hibby crashed it into my sisters house causing thousands of pounds of damage, but the old mondeo was unmarked.
05-01-2018, 10:12 PM
Noisy eaters. Particularly actors on tv eating during a scene chomping away, lips smacking, grunting for a breath, slurping their drink.
Animals.
05-01-2018, 10:30 PM
Noisy eaters. Particularly actors on tv eating during a scene chomping away, lips smacking, grunting for a breath, slurping their drink.
Animals.
Similarly ridiculous noises when said actors partake in a game of tonsil hockey.
EH6 Hibby
05-01-2018, 10:37 PM
I used to drive an ancient ford mondeo and I was so tempted at times. That car was a complete tank. Eh6 hibby crashed it into my sisters house causing thousands of pounds of damage, but the old mondeo was unmarked.
I still maintain that was not my fault. If your tanks handbrake hadn’t been dodgy, it would never have happened.
05-01-2018, 10:48 PM
I still maintain that was not my fault. If your tanks handbrake hadn’t been dodgy, it would never have happened.
The handbrake was as you say dodgy, but I did manage to miss every major structure I parked near to. Unlike your good self.
05-01-2018, 11:00 PM
I'm sorry. Sensible, reasoned arguments are not permitted.
06-01-2018, 08:09 AM
Animals.
I assume this must have come up in the early pages of this thread but thanks for highlighting it again.
I’ve seen a few things on Facebook about there being a name for people who are over sensitive to this and if it genuinely is a thing I must have it as the noise makes me feel genuinely physically sick to the point I pretty much can’t be in the same room as a noisy eater. The worst thing is when I inevitably says something or give daggers I turn into the bad guy.
There was a radio advert a year or so back for a cereal that played on someone eating loudly to show much they were enjoying it, I couldn’t get the radio off quick enough as soon as I heard it coming on. Still makes me feel sick thinking about it now.
06-01-2018, 12:21 PM
I assume this must have come up in the early pages of this thread but thanks for highlighting it again.
I’ve seen a few things on Facebook about there being a name for people who are over sensitive to this and if it genuinely is a thing I must have it as the noise makes me feel genuinely physically sick to the point I pretty much can’t be in the same room as a noisy eater. The worst thing is when I inevitably says something or give daggers I turn into the bad guy.
There was a radio advert a year or so back for a cereal that played on someone eating loudly to show much they were enjoying it, I couldn’t get the radio off quick enough as soon as I heard it coming on. Still makes me feel sick thinking about it now.
It must’ve - I think I’m on to the 2nd or 3rd time of raising the same ones!
Misophonia is the name for it - I’m a mild “suffererer” although I do think it’s the noisy eaters that are wrong, not me or you.
https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Misophonia
06-01-2018, 04:25 PM
My blood pressure goes through the roof when there's a noisy eater,sometimes it's cultural also as my ex wife was Italian and her entire family didn't care one jot about talking/screaming while munching a mouthful of pasta which had me popping a Xanax with each meal to keep under control.
Johnny Clash
07-01-2018, 09:24 AM
‘Free loaders who don’t join trade unions but happily accept the benefits union reps end up negotiating!
07-01-2018, 10:23 AM
‘Free loaders who don’t join trade unions but happily accept the benefits union reps end up negotiating!
Or the one guy who always holds off his turn till the last round when half the company has gone home thereby getting off lightly.
The real insult is that he thinks that you don't have the intelligence to see what he's up to.
07-01-2018, 02:11 PM
The claim that Guinness tastes better in Ireland than anywhere else. (A claim usually made by people who don't drink Guinness at home but do so in Ireland..). I'm just back from Galway after a couple of weeks with in-laws and had few pints of Guinness in a variety of different bars, and had some very good, some decent and some not so good. A bit like depending what pub you go back here in Scotland really.
07-01-2018, 02:41 PM
The claim that Guinness tastes better in Ireland than anywhere else. (A claim usually made by people who don't drink Guinness at home but do so in Ireland..). I'm just back from Galway after a couple of weeks with in-laws and had few pints of Guinness in a variety of different bars, and had some very good, some decent and some not so good. A bit like depending what pub you go back here in Scotland really.
Agreed, I drink Guinness here and wasn't sure what to expect when I tried my first pint in Ireland having been told the difference was clear. Result, just another pint of Guinness and several others across many establishments were pretty much the same. It's a fantasy in my opinion.
07-01-2018, 03:29 PM
I think that claim had some truth in the past. I’m thinking back to the late seventies, early eighties when the Guinness ships were still taking it over here. A pint of it in Dublin definitely tasted better than a pint of it at home.
07-01-2018, 04:09 PM
There's a bar in Bangor (Fealty's) that consistently serves the best Guinness I've ever tasted. I was sceptical when I was told this thinking it's from a keg so it shouldn't be anything other you'd expect a pint of Guinness to be. It tastes more like a cask ale than any other Guinness I've had though.
There are various local theories as to why: length of the pipes, temperature of their cellar, the pour, good bar management etc etc. I could believe it's a different product to the Guinness I've tasted everywhere else tbh.
07-01-2018, 04:35 PM
It probably used to be true. The Guinness served in UK used to brewed in The Park Royal brewery in London until 2005. Water plays a huge part in the brewing and distilling processes. The different waters from London and Dublin probably played a part in the difference. Calders ales were big sellers when brewed I. Alloa but when Alloa brewery closed and production transferred to Leeds the sales plummeted and returns went through the roof as they just didn't taste the same. The water is a key ingredient in the process
07-01-2018, 04:42 PM
It probably used to be true. The Guinness served in UK used to brewed in The Park Royal brewery in London until 2005. Water plays a huge part in the brewing and distilling processes. The different waters from London and Dublin probably played a part in the difference. Calders ales were big sellers when brewed I. Alloa but when Alloa brewery closed and production transferred to Leeds the sales plummeted and returns went through the roof as they just didn't taste the same. The water is a key ingredient in the process
Also the Dublin and London breweries were hugely competitive, to the point that they used different suppliers for everything - ingredients, equipment, etc.
07-01-2018, 05:37 PM
People that insist, even after their remarkable history, even after being all over the telly today, on calling them Nottingham FoRRest.
07-01-2018, 07:03 PM
I think that claim had some truth in the past. I’m thinking back to the late seventies, early eighties when the Guinness ships were still taking it over here. A pint of it in Dublin definitely tasted better than a pint of it at home.
I wonder if it actually did or people just convinced themselves that one had to be better than the other. Maybe the pint from here was actually better?
Reminds me as a youngster, I remember my sister trying to convert my Dad from loose tea to tea bags. He wouldn't have it, said it tasted different and no one could ever fool him.
Guess what you've been drinking all week Dad was the smug shout from my sister.
07-01-2018, 08:25 PM
Animals.
I stopped watching several programmes because of this! Coronation Street being a major offender. Nae need - pure rancid!
07-01-2018, 10:51 PM
If Guinness was really better in Dublin than over here, the accountants who run the organisation would soon put that right.
The thing that intrigues me about the black stuff is that despite its hearty, rollicking Irish macho rugby image, it's not in fact all that strong a brew. You can sink pints and pints without much effect.
That's why I like it!
07-01-2018, 11:14 PM
I wonder if it actually did or people just convinced themselves that one had to be better than the other. Maybe the pint from here was actually better?
Reminds me as a youngster, I remember my sister trying to convert my Dad from loose tea to tea bags. He wouldn't have it, said it tasted different and no one could ever fool him.
Guess what you've been drinking all week Dad was the smug shout from my sister.
If Guinness was really better in Dublin than over here, the accountants who run the organisation would soon put that right.
The thing that intrigues me about the black stuff is that despite its hearty, rollicking Irish macho rugby image, it's not in fact all that strong a brew. You can sink pints and pints without much effect.
That's why I like it!
Guinness sales rocketed in the UK from the early 90s onward. Their advertising was superb (Rutger Hauer, silly dancing man, etc.) and then the introduction of the draught flow/widget cans. Prior to that it wasn't even available on draught in a lot of pubs - especially tied/brewery houses.
If you go into a pub that doesn't sell much of a specific beer, then the pint will probably be crap. It's still the case with Guinness today, the first couple of pints served are usually pretty ropey. I think this is why you generally got a better pint in Ireland than across here - they simply sold more, though things have changed since.
I love the stuff (one of my nicknames was the "Guinness monster").
07-01-2018, 11:19 PM
Guinness sales rocketed in the UK from the early 90s onward. Their advertising was superb (Rutger Hauer, silly dancing man, etc.) and then the introduction of the draught flow/widget cans. Prior to that it wasn't even available on draught in a lot of pubs - especially tied/brewery houses.
If you go into a pub that doesn't sell much of a specific beer, then the pint will probably be crap. It's still the case with Guinness today, the first couple of pints served are usually pretty ropey. I think this is why you generally got a better pint in Ireland than across here - they simply sold more, though things have changed since.
I love the stuff (one of my nicknames was the "Guinness monster").
I remember my early forays into the Edinburgh pub world in the very late eighties, early nineties and Guinness was frequently bottled :agree:
08-01-2018, 07:58 AM
Did Edinburgh city council bother to grit any of the roads this morning? Telford Road was covered in frost and it was patchy at best from the casino into the city.
08-01-2018, 10:57 AM
Ticket rip-off merchants like Viagogo (aka offishul scalpers)
pollution
08-01-2018, 11:32 AM
A personal number plate that is personal only to the idiot that flaunts it.
08-01-2018, 01:14 PM
A personal number plate that is personal only to the idiot that flaunts it.
Whenever I see one, it always seems to spell a 4 letter word - beginning with W.
08-01-2018, 02:12 PM
Folk taking the piss with over sized on board luggage .
Sitting on a plane in Belfast at the moment and there are 3 folk who's bag will not fit in the overhead locker. Not because the locker is full , just their bag is far too big.
Stewardess is putting them on seats in empty rows.
These people are just dicks and even worse than the knobs who walk about busy places with huge rucksacks in their backs knocking people over when the turn around .
08-01-2018, 03:05 PM
Folk taking the piss with over sized on board luggage .
Sitting on a plane in Belfast at the moment and there are 3 folk who's bag will not fit in the overhead locker. Not because the locker is full , just their bag is far too big.
Stewardess is putting them on seats in empty rows.
These people are just dicks and even worse than the knobs who walk about busy places with huge rucksacks in their backs knocking people over when the turn around .
The airline is partially at fault here, people with oversized bags shouldn't get near the aircraft as it can lead to delays.
08-01-2018, 03:08 PM
The airline is partially at fault here, people with oversized bags shouldn't get near the aircraft as it can lead to delays.
It is :agree:
Heard the stewardess reporting it to the person who comes on with the paperwork just before taking off.
Seemingly , the previous flight had been delayed.
08-01-2018, 07:31 PM
It's ridiculous the amount of carry-ons these days. What ever happened to handbags?
Another gripe is the folks who stand side by side on the moving walkways or escalators.
To them I say, "like you appear to do with your brain, use half of it and let other people pass".