View Full Version : Pet Peeves IV
12-04-2018, 06:48 PM
The lack of manners on public transport makes me despise humanity, you would think the apocalypse had arrived with one last bus/train/plane heading towards safety the way people behave.
Very true, I was on a busy train down to Carlisle on Tuesday morning, unfortunately the family from hell were heading to Blackpool on the same train, shower of rodents!
12-04-2018, 07:01 PM
Reserved seat etiquette or rather lack of it on trains. Is it really that hard to look at the reservation screen above the seat and work out that "Reserved from Wigan" means in all likelihood a passenger will get on at Wigan and want their seat.
Travelling a lot just now back and forth to Liverpool, on the return journey my reserved seat is occupied more often than not.
12-04-2018, 07:11 PM
The consternation you receive when you ask someone to vacate your reserved seat is always entertaining though.
Bus etiquette part 2,378
Stood waiting on the bus and it's pishing it down, guy walks past me to get in the shelter, bus turns up and he's a gent and let's a woman who was at the stop before him get on first but then tries to get on before me, not happening
Get on the bus and go a few stops and some dude sits beside me and is on his phone, I've had to listen to 2 minutes worth of inane pish, he's getting 2 more minutes before he gets told to shut the **** up
A few weeks ago, 3 of us sitting downstairs, I was on the back row at the window and a woman got on and sat beside me! Then she put her feet on the seats in front before chatting loudly on her phone. Id just finished nightshift and was a bit irritable :greengrin
pollution
13-04-2018, 11:40 AM
Threads with 14 words in the title
A few weeks ago, 3 of us sitting downstairs, I was on the back row at the window and a woman got on and sat beside me! Then she put her feet on the seats in front before chatting loudly on her phone. Id just finished nightshift and was a bit irritable :greengrin
I hate the feet up on the seat opposite, some of us have decent clothes and while it may not matter to the grey trackies I don't want what's on the bottom of your shoe transferred to my clothes. Also agree with the phone calls. Irritable today as well 😐
13-04-2018, 12:52 PM
Just Fab tv adverts, cringe!
People who give/leave money to animal charities.
I feel there's a slight irony that, in a thread full of critiques of human behaviour, you'd criticise money being left to animal charities. :greengrin
13-04-2018, 02:18 PM
I feel there's a slight irony that, in a thread full of critiques of human behaviour, you'd criticise money being left to animal charities. :greengrin
I much prefer the dough went to starving bairns, wherever they happen to be.
13-04-2018, 03:07 PM
I can always tell when a pub isn't cleaning their pipes and the latest culprit is The Centurion. Sour Guinness.
Mind you it's on the skids anyway. They don't even have beer mats.
13-04-2018, 04:29 PM
I can always tell when a pub isn't cleaning their pipes and the latest culprit is The Centurion. Sour Guinness.
Mind you it's on the skids anyway. They don't even have beer mats.
Surprised you expected a decent pint in there.
13-04-2018, 10:03 PM
Surprised you expected a decent pint in there.
Agreed! Never again. That's one establishment I wouldn't mind seeing replaced by flats.
14-04-2018, 01:59 AM
Agreed! Never again. That's one establishment I wouldn't mind seeing replaced by flats.
Changed hands lots recently. Was always a **** hole though.
16-04-2018, 10:29 AM
The giffgaff advert with the lass leaning on her car at the side of the road waffling absolute nonsense, wtf?
16-04-2018, 01:04 PM
The giffgaff advert with the lass leaning on her car at the side of the road waffling absolute nonsense, wtf?
Ah beat me to it! As with the Bud Light ad, it just has the effect of me turning the sound off. Absolutely bizarre.
16-04-2018, 03:45 PM
Ah beat me to it! As with the Bud Light ad, it just has the effect of me turning the sound off. Absolutely bizarre.
I bet you'll get roasters saying dilly dilly in a pub! :rolleyes:
16-04-2018, 04:04 PM
I bet you'll get roasters saying dilly dilly in a pub! :rolleyes:
It's a certainty. 'Lads' who are just out for the 'bants'.
16-04-2018, 04:12 PM
That's why their marketing team gets rated so highly 😁 Dilly dilly!
Godsahibby
17-04-2018, 08:04 AM
Those idiots in the workplace who think they are heroes coming I when they are clearly not well and shouldn’t be anywhere near the place!!
17-04-2018, 10:41 AM
It's a certainty. 'Lads' who are just out for the 'bants'.
Phannies!
17-04-2018, 10:43 AM
Phannies!
Phannies dilly dilly. :greengrin
17-04-2018, 10:46 AM
Phannies dilly dilly. :greengrin
:singing:...... "Ossenfeffer Katzenellen Bogen by the Sea"
17-04-2018, 11:25 AM
That's why their marketing team gets rated so highly 😁 Dilly dilly!
It is one of those highly annoying but very catchy advertising campaigns but nothing would force me to drink Bud Light.
18-04-2018, 06:16 PM
Posters who don't take a couple of minutes to glance through the previous dozen posts or so, to see if they are duplicating what's already been said.
Dan Sarf
18-04-2018, 06:24 PM
People who post stuff that's already been said but they can't be bothered to check. :grr:
18-04-2018, 06:56 PM
People who post stuff that's already been said but they can't be bothered to check. :grr:
:tsk tsk: :greengrin
18-04-2018, 09:05 PM
Folk who put stuff up when if they were just bothered to have a look would have seen it had already been mentioned.
18-04-2018, 10:41 PM
Drivers who can't read what's happening ahead of them until the last minute.
19-04-2018, 01:15 AM
The collective ages of the Stones is 294.
BIG DEAL!!!
19-04-2018, 08:04 PM
People who describe themselves as "ambitious" or "driven", guaranteed to be a ring piece.
Dan Sarf
19-04-2018, 08:37 PM
People who describe themselves as "ambitious" or "driven", guaranteed to be a ring piece.
I am very much a people person = I am very much a self-centred thick tw*t
19-04-2018, 09:13 PM
Folk who discuss money, particularly when it concerns salaries or how much they have.
Every year we get a cost of living pay rise and also a discretionary performance related increase. Woman A in my office, a lazy and workshy ersehole I'll add, decided today was the day to makee a big deal of the fact she 'only' got x amount.
Add to that woman B who loves telling us all how much her husband earns, how much their cars cost, how much their holidays cost, how much their Waitrose shop costs, how much they spend on nights out, how much they spend on clothes......
It's just vulgar and classless behaviour.
19-04-2018, 09:22 PM
Folk who discuss money, particularly when it concerns salaries or how much they have.
Every year we get a cost of living pay rise and also a discretionary performance related increase. Woman A in my office, a lazy and workshy ersehole I'll add, decided today was the day to makee a big deal of the fact she 'only' got x amount.
Add to that woman B who loves telling us all how much her husband earns, how much their cars cost, how much their holidays cost, how much their Waitrose shop costs, how much they spend on nights out, how much they spend on clothes......
You seem upset. How much more than you does lazy Woman A take home then? Just out of interest :greengrin
19-04-2018, 10:11 PM
These are normally the same folk who try to hide their costly mistakes, half done projects and generally never manage to finish or clinch that deal but......they forget all that when pay rises are wanted.
20-04-2018, 10:38 AM
Folk who can't stand a silence. You don't have to fill every ****ing second with chat.
20-04-2018, 10:53 AM
People having your mobile number when you don't want them to. The telephone sustem at my work's been knacked since yesterday lunchtime and now there's a good few people who have access to me that I didn't want them to have.
20-04-2018, 11:04 AM
Filling in a questionnaire where all the questions are loaded so that they get the answers they want.
I prefer when there's a box at the end where you can add a comment (i.e. with no restrictions).
That's where you can really 'tell it like it is'.
20-04-2018, 12:51 PM
Filling in a questionnaire where all the questions are loaded so that they get the answers they want.
I prefer when there's a box at the end where you can add a comment (i.e. with no restrictions).
That's where you can really 'tell it like it is'.
Our Staff Survey is like that. Every question is loaded to give a positive response and they can report the outcome favourably. I just give the most negative response possible for balance.
20-04-2018, 02:14 PM
Its probably been mentioned before but, folk that cannae go on a night out without taking pictures (for some reason it annoys me more when the culprit is male), I've not got my own twitter/facebook account and I'm even less interested in being on anyone elses.
20-04-2018, 06:14 PM
Induction hobs. You feel a right tit phoning up the kitchen installer to complain your cooker doesn’t work.
20-04-2018, 06:34 PM
GP surgery receptionists. I'm ringing up to make an appointment to talk to the doc about recent blood tests. "Oh they're clear!" says the receptionist.
I just fixed a date all the same. It's best to speak to a doctor I reckon.
21-04-2018, 04:46 AM
Not really a peeve but more something that confuses me.
When someone connected to football dies, either player or fan, someone will inevitably say 'it puts football into perspective'. What does that even mean? If the guys who collects the trolleys in Tesco dies do they say 'it puts my weekly shop into perspective' or if someone who really likes films and is a regular at the cinema dies is it 'it puts the moaning about the price of popcorn into perspective'?
It just seems a bit of an empty phrase to me.
GP surgery receptionists. I'm ringing up to make an appointment to talk to the doc about recent blood tests. "Oh they're clear!" says the receptionist.
I just fixed a date all the same. It's best to speak to a doctor I reckon.
GP receptionists that seem to believe they are fully medically qualified and demand to know every detail before they’ll even deign to consider seeing if they will allow you to make an appointment :grr:
21-04-2018, 08:49 AM
Not really a peeve but more something that confuses me.
When someone connected to football dies, either player or fan, someone will inevitably say 'it puts football into perspective'. What does that even mean? If the guys who collects the trolleys in Tesco dies do they say 'it puts my weekly shop into perspective' or if someone who really likes films and is a regular at the cinema dies is it 'it puts the moaning about the price of popcorn into perspective'?
It just seems a bit of an empty phrase to me.
I think football is used at it's something that people tend to get very emotional about and often it seems to mean more to them than anything else in life. The term to me is meant to make people realise that it is just a sport and nowhere near as important in relation to life and death. That's how I interpret it anyway.
21-04-2018, 08:51 AM
GP receptionists that seem to believe they are fully medically qualified and demand to know every detail before they’ll even deign to consider seeing if they will allow you to make an appointment :grr:
Correct, my mum was one and thought she could diagnose anything wrong with me or my brother, which one time lead to him hobbling about for a week with a foot broken in half(no lie) as her put a tubi grip on it didn't seem to work :faf:
21-04-2018, 09:14 AM
I think football is used at it's something that people tend to get very emotional about and often it seems to mean more to them than anything else in life. The term to me is meant to make people realise that it is just a sport and nowhere near as important in relation to life and death. That's how I interpret it anyway.
I kind of get that but isn't it the little things like getting emotional about football that play a part in making life worth living in the 1st place? I can't help but think if someone dedicated a large chunk of their life to following a football team they probably struggled to put the game 'into perspective' at times as well.
21-04-2018, 09:33 AM
I kind of get that but isn't it the little things like getting emotional about football that play a part in making life worth living in the 1st place? I can't help but think if someone dedicated a large chunk of their life to following a football team they probably struggled to put the game 'into perspective' at times as well.
Yes agreed, also the term "no one should go to a football match and not come home" which is also often used could just as easily be "no one should go to the shops for a loaf of bread and not come home". The emotion of football and it's relationship to put loss of life into context is often used.
21-04-2018, 09:50 AM
People that swim back stroke in a busy swimming pool :grr:
21-04-2018, 10:34 AM
People that swim back stroke in a busy swimming pool :grr:
Bang out of order :-)
21-04-2018, 10:47 AM
Bang out of order :-)
:agree: It always ends tits up.
21-04-2018, 03:41 PM
Having to attend an AGM when we're playing Celtic and winning.
22-04-2018, 02:21 PM
When your Mrs suddenly announces that she's got friends coming this afternoon when I was all set for super Sunday! :grr:. I'll be upstairs with the laptop if you need me dear.
22-04-2018, 05:02 PM
When your Mrs suddenly announces that she's got friends coming this afternoon when I was all set for super Sunday! :grr:. I'll be upstairs with the laptop if you need me dear.
You going for a protest Tommy tank?
22-04-2018, 05:38 PM
You going for a protest Tommy tank?
Yes, thrashing myself to the scintillating football produced by Manchester City, an absolute joy to watch. :agree:
22-04-2018, 07:41 PM
Worse than that is when you’ve got a random day off work during the week and you’ve got a day of doing absolutely nothing at all planned.......then you get the text “do you want to meet for lunch?”
Noooooooooooooooooooooooo But there’s no excuses at the ready as you’ve already committed to doing **** all that day.
Alfiembra
22-04-2018, 09:27 PM
CGI animals in adverts.
24-04-2018, 10:45 AM
I'm in the dentists and waiting but having to listen to the receptionists giving surprisingly intimate details about their health problems at top volume. I'm the only punter in the place. Then a few more folk come in and the health chat stops. Gimme a break ladies!
24-04-2018, 10:58 AM
I'm in the dentists and waiting but having to listen to the receptionists giving surprisingly intimate details about their health problems at top volume. I'm the only punter in the place. Then a few more folk come in and the health chat stops. Gimme a break ladies!
You seem to get similar chats amongst folk on public transport these days via phone or otherwise. Some of it is embarassing but, you do get the odd wee nugget of gold that helps pass a journey.
24-04-2018, 11:08 AM
You seem to get similar chats amongst folk on public transport these days via phone or otherwise. Some of it is embarassing but, you do get the odd wee nugget of gold that helps pass a journey.
I find it a bit worrying myself. Mobile phones are to blame for a lot of it. But folk seem oblivious to the world around them.
24-04-2018, 11:18 AM
You should hear what people come out with in the back of a taxi. A woman once came out with the classic line of “sorry Allan, but between you me and the bedpost, I was diagnosed with scabies this morning, you’re going to have to sleep on the couch” she was on the phone saying this while another woman was sitting next to her in the back.
24-04-2018, 11:29 AM
Documentary makers in America’s complete inability to make a programme without trying to sex it up by exaggerating the facts. I was watching one called secrets of the underground last night. It was about the volcanic activity around Naples. There was no need to exaggerate what was happening as it’s already an interesting story, and it has a history surrounding it that’s well known to everyone. They seem to do it all the time, it’s got to the point that you’re never sure what’s proper fact and what’s not. It’s not what you should be thinking when watching a documentary.
24-04-2018, 11:51 AM
Documentary makers in America’s complete inability to make a programme without trying to sex it up by exaggerating the facts. I was watching one called secrets of the underground last night. It was about the volcanic activity around Naples. There was no need to exaggerate what was happening as it’s already an interesting story, and it has a history surrounding it that’s well known to everyone. They seem to do it all the time, it’s got to the point that you’re never sure what’s proper fact and what’s not. It’s not what you should be thinking when watching a documentary.
I was told the the Canadian NWT stopped the filming "Ice Truckers" because they were over-exaggerating the dangers. Not that there aren't any dangers, but the film makers were dramatising them for effect. The authorities didn't like them doing it and put a stop to it.
24-04-2018, 11:55 AM
People who seem to think its ok to fill up their car, pay for the fuel, come back and sit in their car putting on lipstick/some sort of make up and then make a phone call whilst your sat behind waiting to use said pump. Then getting a evil stare when you toot and gesture, ever so politely, to get a move on!!
24-04-2018, 11:58 AM
People who seem to think its ok to fill up their car, pay for the fuel, come back and sit in their car putting on lipstick/some sort of make up and then make a phone call whilst your sat behind waiting to use said pump. Then getting a evil stare when you toot and gesture, ever so politely, to get a move on!!
:agree: 100% hanging offence. :grr:
You should hear what people come out with in the back of a taxi. A woman once came out with the classic line of “sorry Allan, but between you me and the bedpost, I was diagnosed with scabies this morning, you’re going to have to sleep on the couch” she was on the phone saying this while another woman was sitting next to her in the back.
Women tell each other everything guys....everything :greengrin:
24-04-2018, 12:01 PM
Yet you expect us men to be mind-readers :whistle:
:agree: pretty much
24-04-2018, 12:04 PM
:agree: pretty much
24-04-2018, 12:16 PM
It's true. They do. Except the wife. She doesn't.
24-04-2018, 12:32 PM
And what do you mean by that?
It's true. They do. Except the wife. She doesn't.
Her pals know EVERYTHING :greengrin
24-04-2018, 02:35 PM
I was told the the Canadian NWT stopped the filming "Ice Truckers" because they were over-exaggerating the dangers. Not that there aren't any dangers, but the film makers were dramatising them for effect. The authorities didn't like them doing it and put a stop to it.
That was one of the worst examples. Things like that and the one where they’re looking for gold are so exaggerated.
pollution
24-04-2018, 04:08 PM
Old keys. My wife refuses to throw out old keys even if the item to be locked is long gone.
26-04-2018, 03:15 AM
Insomnia.
26-04-2018, 09:30 AM
Insomnia.
And the opposite.
26-04-2018, 07:08 PM
Britains most historic towns on Channel 4, from the blurb:
The towns featured in the series are:
Chester – Britain’s Most Roman Town
York – Britain’s Most Viking Town
Winchester – Britain’s Most Norman Town
Norwich – Britain’s Most Tudor Town
Cheltenham – Britain’s Most Regency Town
Belfast – Britain’s Most Victorian Town
Bit of a theme there. Obviously Scotland and Wales don't qualify.
26-04-2018, 09:22 PM
Britains most historic towns on Channel 4, from the blurb:
The towns featured in the series are:
Chester – Britain’s Most Roman Town
York – Britain’s Most Viking Town
Winchester – Britain’s Most Norman Town
Norwich – Britain’s Most Tudor Town
Cheltenham – Britain’s Most Regency Town
Belfast – Britain’s Most Victorian Town
Bit of a theme there. Obviously Scotland and Wales don't qualify.
I think the categories are the barriers - it's hard to argue with the selections for the first four and some of those influences barely extended into Scotland
Glasgow could and should rival Belfast for the Victorian element but Belfast probably feels it gets overlooked most of the time because of the prominence of Alexander Thomson and the like.
The Regency category is probably a bit of a subset of Georgian, in which case Edinburgh and its New Town should walk it. Nevertheless, Cheltenham is undeniably impressive.
I wondered about the choice of 'town' rather than 'city' but some of the names are definitely cities.
Another example of 'Most Victorian' would be Paisley. I think it has the secondmost-densest prevalence of listed buildings in Scotland, after Edinburgh, almost all from the Victorian period. It would be perhaps a more interesting subject matter than a Glasgow or a Belfast.
27-04-2018, 09:20 AM
Grown men that are too lazy and inconsiderate to lift the toilet seat before taking a pish at work!!!!
Fair enough if you’re accurate enough not to pish all over a seat that someone else is going to eventually have to sit on.
****s
And yes I’m typing this from the toilet.
27-04-2018, 10:22 AM
Grown men that are too lazy and inconsiderate to lift the toilet seat before taking a pish at work!!!!
Fair enough if you’re accurate enough not to pish all over a seat that someone else is going to eventually have to sit on.
****s
:agree: Its twats like that who justify female demands for men to sit down to pish.
27-04-2018, 12:23 PM
****s
****ing animals. You have to wonder what their houses are like or their personal hygiene levels, it’s absolutely disgusting.
27-04-2018, 12:33 PM
****ing animals. You have to wonder what their houses are like or their personal hygiene levels, it’s absolutely disgusting.
I often find the folk who are the clartiest *******s in public are quite clean and tidy at home, it's just laziness.
There's a women in my work who leaves dirty dishes all over the place, spills milk and doesn't wipe it up, forces mountains of paper onto a recycling bin close to overflowing, she left a bowl with food in it in her drawer for the weekend because she couldn't be ersed going downstairs and washing it then got all nippy when she was pulled up for it. Yet I've been to her house a couple of times and it's absolutely spotless; she's just a lazy cow when she knows other people will clean up after her.
27-04-2018, 01:42 PM
I often find the folk who are the clartiest *******s in public are quite clean and tidy at home, it's just laziness.
There's a women in my work who leaves dirty dishes all over the place, spills milk and doesn't wipe it up, forces mountains of paper onto a recycling bin close to overflowing, she left a bowl with food in it in her drawer for the weekend because she couldn't be ersed going downstairs and washing it then got all nippy when she was pulled up for it. Yet I've been to her house a couple of times and it's absolutely spotless; she's just a lazy cow when she knows other people will clean up after her.
I have to say it’s not a mindset that I can understand. It comes down to decency and manners.
27-04-2018, 08:10 PM
Benefit dwelling low life lazy ersehole **** who think the country owes them a living.
27-04-2018, 08:13 PM
Benefit dwelling low life lazy ersehole **** who think the country owes them a living.
Well social security is a human right now :greengrin
27-04-2018, 08:19 PM
Well social security is a human right now :greengrin
For some it's an occupation! 😁
27-04-2018, 09:28 PM
For some it's an occupation! 😁
Nae holidays though. :wink:
27-04-2018, 10:11 PM
Nae holidays though. :wink:
No....it definitely includes two weeks all inclusive in Benidorm. 😉
27-04-2018, 10:59 PM
Benefit dwelling low life lazy ersehole **** who think the country owes them a living.Aw come on. Lafferty wasn't that bad the night....
Sent from my SM-A510F using Tapatalk
28-04-2018, 11:40 PM
She must be the exception! Most times you'd find her house to be a ####hole as well I reckon.
29-04-2018, 06:06 AM
She must be the exception! Most times you'd find her house to be a ####hole as well I reckon.
I don't know. I think a lot of people can be schizophrenic in their behaviour. I've got one guy at work who never shuts the **** up but whenever his wife is around he's as quiet as a lamb. Wish she'd get a job with us.
30-04-2018, 06:05 PM
Strong wind when you are cycling and it doesn't matter what direction you go it's a head wind, its like getting on a bike transports you into some sort of Bermuda triangle.
Saturday Boy
30-04-2018, 06:39 PM
Strong wind when you are cycling and it doesn't matter what direction you go it's a head wind, its like getting on a bike transports you into some sort of Bermuda triangle.
Reminds me of a cycling holiday in the Netherlands, about 30 years ago. I worked out why the Dutch built windmills.
Bizarrely it had never occurred to me before 😄
30-04-2018, 07:18 PM
People who get competitive for no reason.
When you are out walking and people practically chase you up a mountain just to pass you, when you are running and someone sprints past you only for you to pass them again a mile up the road because they are knackered or when you pull out to overtake someone when driving and as soon as they see you they start to speed up.
30-04-2018, 09:16 PM
People who get competitive for no reason.
When you are out walking and people practically chase you up a mountain just to pass you, when you are running and someone sprints past you only for you to pass them again a mile up the road because they are knackered or when you pull out to overtake someone when driving and as soon as they see you they start to speed up.
If I'd known you were going to post that, I'd have jumped in before you - just to beat you to it :greengrin
Seriously, my current pet peeve is when I go to press "Sport" on the BBC website, a nanosecond before I click on it, it suddenly jumps to the right and I end up clicking the 'News' or something else. :brickwall
01-05-2018, 09:36 AM
That reminds me - cyclists :greengrin
01-05-2018, 09:37 AM
If I'd known you were going to post that, I'd have jumped in before you - just to beat you to it :greengrin
Seriously, my current pet peeve is when I go to press "Sport" on the BBC website, a nanosecond before I click on it, it suddenly jumps to the right and I end up clicking the 'News' or something else. :brickwall
That does my ****ing tits in
01-05-2018, 09:39 AM
When a loved one shouts at you through the house even though they know you won't be able to hear what they're saying.
I've taken to ignoring it - as a sort of training exercise.
01-05-2018, 09:49 AM
When a loved one shouts at you through the house even though they know you won't be able to hear what they're saying.
That does my head in. If they want to speak to me, come through to where I am and speak. Can't stand the shouting from upstairs or another room.
01-05-2018, 09:50 AM
And another thing.
I don't know if any of you live in central Scotland where these are prominent, but being woken up by an orange walk does my ****ing head in.
Not only do they stand for everything that's wrong in 21st century Scotland (open oppression of others religions, a show of force by the protestant sects of society, union jacks on show) but they are obnoxiously noisy and why the **** are they on at 6/6:30 in the morning? Is it because they don't want to miss an early rangers kick off? Or have they got puppies to execute in the afternoon?
Pricks.
01-05-2018, 09:59 AM
There's roadworks outside my work, so a narrow corridor to walk along between temp fencing. This morning, 3 folk walking towards me, side by side by side, spread out and taking up the whole width of the path...aye nae bother I'll just squeeze myself against the fence so yous can keep taking up the whole ****ing pavement. Ignorant *******s.
I shout but believe me they all know what im saying :greengrin
01-05-2018, 11:27 AM
There's roadworks outside my work, so a narrow corridor to walk along between temp fencing. This morning, 3 folk walking towards me, side by side by side, spread out and taking up the whole width of the path...aye nae bother I'll just squeeze myself against the fence so yous can keep taking up the whole ****ing pavement. Ignorant *******s.
It's the same with those slow-walking young mothers pushing a pram with her mum toddling along beside them taking up the whole footway width. :grr:
01-05-2018, 11:38 AM
It's the same with those slow-walking young mothers pushing a pram with her mum toddling along beside them taking up the whole footway width. :grr:
Heading for Mimi's Bakehouse no doubt!
01-05-2018, 11:41 AM
That reminds me - cyclists :greengrin
:greengrin In fairness I lived in the Netherlands where everyone does so I'm not the tight shorts ****ers who believes he's Chris Hoy and owns the road. :greengrin
01-05-2018, 11:43 AM
This is par for the course in The Netherlands where everyone will expect women with prams, people in wheelchairs, elderly folk etc all to move onto the road as they claim the entire width of the pavement.
I tried to accept it as a part of their culture but it was the type of Dutch patter that was leading me to a nervous breakdown.
01-05-2018, 11:45 AM
:greengrin In fairness I lived in the Netherlands where everyone does so I'm not the tight shorts ****ers who believes he's Chris Hoy and owns the road. :greengrin
And there lies the problem.
The "I can do what the hell I want but all other road users must abide by the rules" Brigade.
Keyboards that switch off the number pad!!!!!!!!!!11111
04-05-2018, 06:43 PM
Getting a packet of Extra Strong Mints and when you open them the packet opens right down the seam so is practically useless.
People referring to Dunfermline as “Dunfy”.
What’s that all about?
04-05-2018, 07:42 PM
People referring to Dunfermline as “Dunfy”.
What’s that all about?
At least it's reducing the number of syllables, unlike the 'abbreviation' dubyadubyadubya which doubles it.
04-05-2018, 07:52 PM
Going for an internal job posting and having to go through an interview with HR.
Usually some noddy who has never had a job outside of HR so doesn't have a clue what he's meant to be looking for or asking about, has no idea what the job will actually require, but as he holds the keys to the next stage he has developed some god complex and lords it over everyone.
04-05-2018, 09:20 PM
Those strictly secret adverts on the wireless late at night. Encouraging people to have affairs?
04-05-2018, 09:26 PM
Those strictly secret adverts on the wireless late at night. Encouraging people to have affairs?
What station is this? My mate was wondering.
beensaidbefore
04-05-2018, 09:28 PM
My mate too.😇
04-05-2018, 09:40 PM
What station is this? My MATE was wondering.
Your partner was wondering :confused: Ditch her ffs.
04-05-2018, 10:21 PM
My mate too.😇
Well I listen to 1548 Forth am and absolute radio 1215 am in the car and I hear it on those stations. :greengrin
Going for an internal job posting and having to go through an interview with HR.
Usually some noddy who has never had a job outside of HR so doesn't have a clue what he's meant to be looking for or asking about, has no idea what the job will actually require, but as he holds the keys to the next stage he has developed some god complex and lords it over everyone.
Colleagues who’ve bitched and complained about our job for years and been lazy *******s putting in the bare minimum and piss poor work, then now that we’ve just been put into collective consultation to reduce our numbers significantly, are now bemoaning that they might lose a job they now suddenly enjoy, and demanding that the company will find a solution that is tailored specifically to ensuring their continued employment.
05-05-2018, 09:36 AM
Colleagues who’ve bitched and complained about our job for years and been lazy *******s putting in the bare minimum and piss poor work, then now that we’ve just been put into collective consultation to reduce our numbers significantly, are now bemoaning that they might lose a job they now suddenly enjoy, and demanding that the company will find a solution that is tailored specifically to ensuring their continued employment.
I remember regularly going to a local store where the servers would fart around looking busy but actually were doing nothing. Meanwhile customers would be queuing for ages to be served. One day they had a petition pinned up asking customers to sign it as the owners had decided to close the store. Normally my name would be first on the list regarding this type of request however, in this instance, I passed.
05-05-2018, 09:41 AM
My work is full of jokers like this.
We had no real policy on phones in the workplace, there was an unwritten rule of fair use but don't take the piss. Some folk tore the erse out it so phones were banned except on breaks and for emergencies. Those who ****ed it up for everyone moaned the loudest.
There was no restrictions on internet use. Some folk spent all day online shopping, reading the Daily Mail celeb pages and checking Facebook so internet use was restricted. Guess who made the biggest fuss.
We get an hour for lunch, some folk go bang on time then stroll back 10-15 minutes late. When there was a meeting about this they were the most offended at actually being expected to work their hours.
The list could go on for pages. Some of them spend so long thinking about ways to skive and work so hard to do it they would be better just doing the job they are paid to do, it would be less effort.
05-05-2018, 09:50 AM
Plumbs who like to take advantage of all the benefits provided by the Union but are too principled to put their hands in their pockets and actually fund the service provided.
My work is full of jokers like this.
We had no real policy on phones in the workplace, there was an unwritten rule of fair use but don't take the piss. Some folk tore the erse out it so phones were banned except on breaks and for emergencies. Those who ****ed it up for everyone moaned the loudest.
There was no restrictions on internet use. Some folk spent all day online shopping, reading the Daily Mail celeb pages and checking Facebook so internet use was restricted. Guess who made the biggest fuss.
We get an hour for lunch, some folk go bang on time then stroll back 10-15 minutes late. When there was a meeting about this they were the most offended at actually being expected to work their hours.
The list could go on for pages. Some of them spend so long thinking about ways to skive and work so hard to do it they would be better just doing the job they are paid to do, it would be less effort.
You could be describing some of the folk I work with, always on the look out for a way to do less, then take offence when they’re asked to actually do their job, and when review time comes around and they get less than they think they should, and accuse the folk who do well (me, amongst others) of either being pally with managers or having been given some kind of mythical ‘opportunities’ that they weren’t and that’s why I’ve unfairly been scored higher than them. Naw, you’re just a lazy selfish ********.
05-05-2018, 11:08 AM
Plumbs who like to take advantage of all the benefits provided by the Union but are too principled to put their hands in their pockets and actually fund the service provided.
There's a few. And they even take annual leave when there's a strike too.
06-05-2018, 07:24 AM
Dunno if this has been mentioned but the misuse of the words ‘effect’ and ‘affect’ does my head in...it's really not that difficult.
And don’t get me started on the ‘loose’/‘lose’ confusion...they’re not even close
06-05-2018, 03:10 PM
Dunno if this has been mentioned but the misuse of the words ‘effect’ and ‘affect’ does my head in...it's really not that difficult.
And don’t get me started on the ‘loose’/‘lose’ confusion...they’re not even close
What about the misuse of their? Not sure if it's they're fault or if there just stupid.
06-05-2018, 05:38 PM
What about the misuse of their? Not sure if it's they're fault or if there just stupid.
:agree: Definately/definitely!
speedy_gonzales
06-05-2018, 05:51 PM
You're forgetting "defiantly",,, seen that A LOT in lieu of definitely on social media,,,, maybe it's autocorrect, maybe it's ignorance!?!
Or the teeth grinding.... should OF, instead of should HAVE :grr:
06-05-2018, 11:07 PM
Or the teeth grinding.... should OF, instead of should HAVE :grr:
Where vs were is another that’s becoming popular. Not sure how like - they don’t sound a like.
Alfiembra
07-05-2018, 08:33 AM
Where vs were is another that’s becoming popular. Not sure how like - they don’t sound a like.
Lose and Loose does my head, in lost it a few times with this one.
New topic Snooky? “Grammar Police”
07-05-2018, 10:10 AM
The worst of the lot is folk who confuse our and are.
I didn't even realise this was a thing but I've had various emails over the last few weeks from 2 different people each mentioning 'are business', 'are house' and 'are restaurant'.
Saturday Boy
07-05-2018, 10:51 AM
I didn't even realise this was a thing but I've had various emails over the last few weeks from 2 different people each mentioning 'are business', 'are house' and 'are restaurant'.
It’s madness ; are house, at the bottom of the street 😄
07-05-2018, 11:10 AM
In terms of grammar and spelling French is far more complicated than English and, even though I often have to ask my 9 year old daughter for clarification when writing stuff, I can't believe some of the errors made by people I know in texts, emails, FB, etc. I'm convinced that there are some on here who, if they were in my situation, their heads would have exploded long ago.
pollution
07-05-2018, 11:26 AM
In terms of grammar and spelling French is far more complicated than English and, even though I often have to ask my 9 year old daughter for clarification when writing stuff, I can't believe some of the errors made by people I know in texts, emails, FB, etc. I'm convinced that there are some on here who, if they were in my situation, their heads would have exploded long ago.
There is nothing worse than listening to a language spoken by natives who don't speak it properly.
You have my sympathy.
07-05-2018, 11:32 AM
There is nothing worse than listening to a language spoken by natives who don't speak it properly.
You have my sympathy.
That honestly doesn't bother me - I like local dialects. It's more how badly some people write, even those that pretty articulate when speaking.
07-05-2018, 03:21 PM
They might be pirates.
07-05-2018, 03:47 PM
They might be pirates.
aaarrrgghhh the sea she be callin me.
pollution
07-05-2018, 04:09 PM
That honestly doesn't bother me - I like local dialects. It's more how badly some people write, even those that pretty articulate when speaking.
When you speak French do you subconsciously speak in the local dialect?
07-05-2018, 06:33 PM
When you speak French do you subconsciously speak in the local dialect?I don't think so - I generally mumble away with my Edinburgh accent, but there are undoubtedly words, expressions and some prononciation that I use that are local. Brittany's different from the rest of France and although the Breton language was never spoken in my neck of the woods, they spoke/speak "Gallo", which is to French what auld Scots is to English (pretty much).
07-05-2018, 10:47 PM
Not being able to read a thread that I started about westworld season 2 as I want to wait till the end and watch them all one after the other. It’s torture every time I see it.
07-05-2018, 10:53 PM
I don't think so - I generally mumble away with my Edinburgh accent, but there are undoubtedly words, expressions and some prononciation that I use that are local. Brittany's different from the rest of France and although the Breton language was never spoken in my neck of the woods, they spoke/speak "Gallo", which is to French what auld Scots is to English (pretty much).
This is probably one for the useless facts thread, but the perception of French people with the onions and the bicycle comes from when the Breton men used to come over in the summer and sell onions. The majority of French people are quite perplexed by this as the onion Johnny’s as they were known as were all Bretons and spoke Breton.
08-05-2018, 01:07 AM
This is probably one for the useless facts thread, but the perception of French people with the onions and the bicycle comes from when the Breton men used to come over in the summer and sell onions. The majority of French people are quite perplexed by this as the onion Johnny’s as they were known as were all Bretons and spoke Breton.
Correct. They decided to jump on boats to sell their onions in Britain as it was easier than using the (then) crap road and rail network between Brittany and other parts of France. They were the inspiration for the formation of Brittany Ferries which was originally mainly for shipping Breton farm produce to the UK. Brittany Ferries head office is in Roscoff, where the majority of the original Johnnys were from.
08-05-2018, 11:01 AM
I agree on this one, although I think that some folk, who really know it’s ‘definitely’, pronounce it with an emphasise on ‘ately’ for effect ......... It’s still irritating.
08-05-2018, 04:55 PM
I agree on this one, although I think that some folk, who really know it’s ‘definitely’, pronounce it with an emphasise on ‘ately’ for effect ......... It’s still irritating.
I blame Charlie Nicholas...
08-05-2018, 05:12 PM
Just had to pull yet another prick up about trying to get on the bus before other people hat had been there longer, currently in the seat right behind him and burning a hole through his heid
08-05-2018, 05:20 PM
Scrap that earlier whinge, some dude who must be in his early 50s just got on the bus with a ghetto blaster and is pumping out 80s soundtrack tunes hahahaha
08-05-2018, 06:14 PM
Job adverts that request "no 9-5 mentality".
Aye no problem mate, 8 till 9 and no getting paid for 5 hours of it suits me grand.
Adding to that, the cringeworthy pish written by recruitment types portraying bog standard office jobs as offering an Indiana Jones esque adventure.
08-05-2018, 08:39 PM
Aye no problem mate, 8 till 9 and no getting paid for 5 hours of it suits me grand.
Adding to that, the cringeworthy pish written by recruitment types portraying bog standard office jobs as offering an Indiana Jones esque adventure.
Maybe they mean you can come in at 10am and leave at 4pm if you feel like it.
Nae bother, eh? :nerd:
08-05-2018, 09:57 PM
I’m keeping my eye out for a new job just now, read an advert yesterday for a job that sounded ideal, better hours, more money etc......went to apply and they had a paragraph stating that in order to apply you had to upload a video to YouTube and send them the link. There was a bit in bold stating that any applications without the YouTube link would not be considered so not to even bother.
Aye very good, make a video of myself whoring myself out to another employer with no guarantees of it ever coming to anything. Even allowing for the fact it’s very unlikely my current employer would ever find it, why would anybody ever put themselves through that?
One of the most ridiculous things I’ve ever read. If that’s the sort of nonsense coming up in the future if recruiting staff I better find a job for life soon.
08-05-2018, 10:21 PM
When we recruit now we always pass by an agency, it's relatively expensive but we can't afford to end up with the wrong person just for the sake of getting someone. The agency selects the best candidates who then have to film themselves answering 3 questions (set by us) with 30 seconds maximum per answer. Obviously none of this ends up in the public domain. We then choose who we want to interview.
That's 3 times we've used this system and each time our favourite on the wee videos has went on to get the job.
speedy_gonzales
08-05-2018, 10:28 PM
I’m keeping my eye out for a new job just now, read an advert yesterday for a job that sounded ideal, better hours, more money etc......went to apply and they had a paragraph stating that in order to apply you had to upload a video to YouTube and send them the link. There was a bit in bold stating that any applications without the YouTube link would not be considered so not to even bother.
Aye very good, make a video of myself whoring myself out to another employer with no guarantees of it ever coming to anything. Even allowing for the fact it’s very unlikely my current employer would ever find it, why would anybody ever put themselves through that?
One of the most ridiculous things I’ve ever read. If that’s the sort of nonsense coming up in the future if recruiting staff I better find a job for life soon.
YouTube videos can be set as private so only the intended recipient can view them.
I'm actually coming across more and more online interviews, questionnaire's, even product reviews where they're asking for video feedback.
08-05-2018, 11:52 PM
When we recruit now we always pass by an agency, it's relatively expensive but we can't afford to end up with the wrong person just for the sake of getting someone. The agency selects the best candidates who then have to film themselves answering 3 questions (set by us) with 30 seconds maximum per answer. Obviously none of this ends up in the public domain. We then choose who we want to interview.
That's 3 times we've used this system and each time our favourite on the wee videos has went on to get the job.
While I see some of the practicalities, I think this method is very impersonal and TBH, quite tacky.
Pity the person being interviewed can't see a video of the boss they will be working for before they make the interview video. :wink:
09-05-2018, 12:20 AM
You could send them a video and do really well however I'm guessing the candidate would be judged on how they look on camera as well, would be interesting to see what the male/female success ratio is with these video things.
09-05-2018, 09:15 AM
You could send them a video and do really well however I'm guessing the candidate would be judged on how they look on camera as well, would be interesting to see what the male/female success ratio is with these video things.
And the age split as well.
I'm sure old guys have just as much chance as young girls.
09-05-2018, 09:32 AM
While I see some of the practicalities, I think this method is very impersonal and TBH, quite tacky.
Pity the person being interviewed can't see a video of the boss they will be working for before they make the interview video. :wink:
I don't see how it's tacky to be honest, it's more about using available resources to help the process. We've also had candidates that live 2-3 hours away who have been spared a fruitless journey because of the wee videos.
And we're far from impersonal. After the wee video thing we'll do normal interviews. In one case we were still undecided so invited 2 of the candidates to an informal lunch (separately) with 3/4 of us to try and see them as 'natural' as possible. As with a lot of jobs, communication is very important and the lunch thing removed any doubts we had - the two candidates were like chalk and cheese.
pollution
09-05-2018, 11:32 AM
That sounds awful. Avoid avoid avoid.
09-05-2018, 12:14 PM
Good point, even if in jest. Interviews are largely described as also giving the candidate a chance to ask questions and decide if it's right for them. I suppose in this instance though, it's part of the early application stage and candidates would progress to a face-to-face.
I can see the merits in applying for a job overseas/long distance using video technology.. in fact, I think it's brilliant that it can be done this way. But like a number of people have said... otherwise it's not for me when traditional face-to-face methods are available.
09-05-2018, 12:24 PM
I think the ideal position to be in is working your way up high enough internally in one company to be in the position to be "headhunted" so you don't have to bend over and take it from all angles just to get a face to face interview.
09-05-2018, 12:34 PM
I think the ideal position to be in is working your way up high enough internally in one company to be in the position to be "headhunted" so you don't have to bend over and take it from all angles just to get a face to face interview.
You have to get into a decent company first for this to happen. Our company was set up 13 years ago and a couple of months ago, for this first time, somebody chose to move on (after being with us almost 12 years). He was head hunted but to be honest I think we made him look good - I know that he's not capable of properly fulfilling the post that he's taken up.
09-05-2018, 12:43 PM
And the age split as well.
I'm sure old guys have just as much chance as young girls.
Yes, I'm sure they have the same chance...
09-05-2018, 01:21 PM
I don't see how it's tacky to be honest, it's more about using available resources to help the process. We've also had candidates that live 2-3 hours away who have been spared a fruitless journey because of the wee videos.
And we're far from impersonal. After the wee video thing we'll do normal interviews. In one case we were still undecided so invited 2 of the candidates to an informal lunch (separately) with 3/4 of us to try and see them as 'natural' as possible. As with a lot of jobs, communication is very important and the lunch thing removed any doubts we had - the two candidates were like chalk and cheese.
As in, one was all over the "specials" board and the other was better served with port?
09-05-2018, 03:34 PM
Yes, I'm sure they have the same chance...
Particularly if it’s reading the news.
09-05-2018, 03:39 PM
My work van is limited to 62mph. The usual situation is I'll come up behind some old couple sitting at 55mph on the dual carriageway, so I'll move out to overtake them, it's usually when I get alongside them that they will then speed up also to around 60mph leaving me stuck on the outside lane with them on my inside and a big queue of BMW's and Audis cursing the twat in the white van.
10-05-2018, 01:27 PM
Peeling the start of a new toilet roll.
Never straightforward and you often end up with streaks from various layers all piled into one oversized clump before you get on an even keel.
10-05-2018, 05:05 PM
****s that think that they are high enough up in an organization they can ignore the meeting room reservation tool.
Nothing worse than rolling up at a meeting room at 10am and some smarmy **** is sitting in it not bothering his arse that it's reserved.
10-05-2018, 07:31 PM
Menswear on 2nd floor at Marks & Spencer (Princes St)
All women's stuff on ground floor & a labyrinth of women's unmentionables on first floor.
No fair.
Advice to guys: Shop M&S stores at the Fort or Gyle instead.
All women's stuff on ground floor & a labyrinth of women's unmentionables on first floor.
No fair.
Unmentionables :tee hee::tee hee::tee hee:
10-05-2018, 08:24 PM
No fair.
Their shoes are overpriced.
stuart-farquhar
10-05-2018, 10:15 PM
Getting old. Peeves me off big time.!
10-05-2018, 10:31 PM
Getting old. Peeves me off big time.!
Aye, but the alternative is worse. :wink:
11-05-2018, 06:13 AM
The complete over the top reaction to a defeat on here. Suddenly the players who have had a tremendous season are no longer good enough for Hibs and never have been in some cases. It's absolutely pathetic reading some of the knee jerk reactions, no doubt some folk will even stay away on Sunday because we lost. I get emotions are running high but some of the accusations being thrown about regarding the ability of certain players is an absolute joke.
11-05-2018, 08:45 AM
The complete over the top reaction to a defeat on here. Suddenly the players who have had a tremendous season are no longer good enough for Hibs and never have been in some cases. It's absolutely pathetic reading some of the knee jerk reactions, no doubt some folk will even stay away on Sunday because we lost. I get emotions are running high but some of the accusations being thrown about regarding the ability of certain players is an absolute joke.
:agree: 100%
11-05-2018, 09:05 AM
Folk who clog up petrol station forecourts waiting for a pump on the"right side" to become free.
Why won't they stretch the hose across the back of their car?
pollution
11-05-2018, 11:23 AM
Their shoes are overpriced.
You are right. £58 for a pair of shoes with plastic soles and heels.
For me M & S died 20 years ago when they still refused to take credit card payments, ditto Austin Reed.
12-05-2018, 12:03 PM
Folk who clog up petrol station forecourts waiting for a pump on the"right side" to become free.
I have this many times on here, It's crazy the amount of people who won't use a pump unless It's the same side.
12-05-2018, 02:41 PM
I have this many times on here, It's crazy the amount of people who won't use a pump unless It's the same side.Best thing about it is driving past the queue of drivers who would rather sit and wait.
12-05-2018, 08:12 PM
I do this, my reason is that I don't want a dirty and oily rubber hose scratching my car. Also that I can't get the nozzle in properly and I don't want to spill fuel.
I don't block the forecourt though.
12-05-2018, 09:47 PM
I do this, my reason is that I don't want a dirty and oily rubber hose scratching my car. Also that I can't get the nozzle in properly and I don't want to spill fuel.
I don't block the forecourt though.
Neither do I, the hose doesn't touch the car it goes round the back of it!
15-05-2018, 06:51 AM
Neither do I, the hose doesn't touch the car it goes round the back of it!
Some of the hoses I’ve tried to do this with sometimes aren’t long enough, especially if you’ve parked the car a wee bit further out from the pump. It’s even more annoying for the punter behind you if you have to climb back in the car, reverse and ease in a bit closer. Gatecrasher’s got the right idea. :greengrin
15-05-2018, 09:34 AM
Some of the hoses I’ve tried to do this with sometimes aren’t long enough, especially if you’ve parked the car a wee bit further out from the pump. It’s even more annoying for the punter behind you if you have to climb back in the car, reverse and ease in a bit closer. Gatecrasher’s got the right idea. :greengrin
You need to learn (practice) how to park at a petrol pump 😉😁
15-05-2018, 10:01 AM
I have this many times on here, It's crazy the amount of people who won't use a pump unless It's the same side.
Adding to this; people who will fill their car, go inside to pay then sit in the sub-way or whatever it may be eating while their car blocks a pump up. Really does my head in.
15-05-2018, 10:50 AM
Adding to this; people who will fill their car, go inside to pay then sit in the sub-way or whatever it may be eating while their car blocks a pump up. Really does my head in.
Or get back in their car and check their phone messages or generally fart around when there's a line up waiting to fill up.
Inconsiderate ********. :brickwall
16-05-2018, 07:11 PM
People at work that can't accept that sometimes you just want to sit by yourself at lunch.
Some days I really, really, don't have the patience to sit and listen to mind numbing ***** about people's kids, boyfriends, make up, jewllery and any other type of gossiping type ***** for 30 minutes and just want to pass the time with a sub standard tuna sandwich and a paper by myself.
People who hold meetings in a work canteen at lunchtime taking loads of chairs and putting tables together while staff are carrying trays with food and nowhere to eat! On top of that the pompous gits talk loudly as if they're interesting.
17-05-2018, 05:49 AM
People at work that can't accept that sometimes you just want to sit by yourself at lunch.
Some days I really, really, don't have the patience to sit and listen to mind numbing ***** about people's kids, boyfriends, make up, jewllery and any other type of gossiping type ***** for 30 minutes and just want to pass the time with a sub standard tuna sandwich and a paper by myself.
Got a well meaning but ultimately irritating Swiss guy at work like this. Constantly wanting to talk about Scotland, independence, my thoughts on Brexit, how he saw a program about tartan on Swiss telly last night etc etc etc.
Sufficeth to say, I plan my lunch break once he's done with his.
17-05-2018, 07:48 AM
People (like me :wink:) who walk up and just butt in when you are having a conversation with someone else.
17-05-2018, 08:14 AM
Sure I mentioned this before on a earlier page, but its one of the biggest peeves I have at work. I like to be left alone to eat, but whats worse is everyone feeling the need to comment on what your eating. Ohhhh that smells nice, ohhhhh thats not very healthy, what you got there? wish I had that over my salad etc etc. Just Efff off and let me eat in peace FFS.
Second peeve is the inconsiderate ********s who think its acceptable to microwave a Fish pie in the canteen. (I love a nice homemade one, but id never dream of zapping it in the micro at work, that smell gets into the air con and ruins the microwave!!!)
17-05-2018, 08:52 AM
Airports and shopping centres. It's getting worse and worse. People walking around in herds with their faces stuck in a mobile phone and walking in completely random directions changing course unexpectedly making it impossible to anticipate your own route. I've given up trying to avoid them and simply barge through them if they meander onto my path like walking dead.
speedy_gonzales
17-05-2018, 11:24 AM
Airports and shopping centres. It's getting worse and worse. People walking around in herds with their faces stuck in a mobile phone and walking in completely random directions changing course unexpectedly making it impossible to anticipate your own route. I've given up trying to avoid them and simply barge through them if they meander onto my path like walking dead.
Whilst conducting my own trial of this, it makes little difference. I walk to Edinburgh Park/South Gyle from Corstorphine most days and I'm forever having to zig and zag through the throng of zombies with their head down. Once, once I held my course but the woman just stopped in front of me, aware there was an obstruction and keyed her phone, perhaps expecting the obstruction, me, to move. After a second or so she looked up, mumbled sorry then went around.
In my experience the best way to part the crowds is to steamroller through with a buggy/pram or have a rabid noisy dog on a long leash. Those definitely work!
17-05-2018, 11:31 AM
People that rudely walk into you when you’re trying to read your phone.
17-05-2018, 11:40 AM
People that rudely walk into you when you’re trying to read your phone.
It's only rude if you're on the toilet at the time.
17-05-2018, 11:42 AM
Whilst conducting my own trial of this, it makes little difference. I walk to Edinburgh Park/South Gyle from Corstorphine most days and I'm forever having to zig and zag through the throng of zombies with their head down. Once, once I held my course but the woman just stopped in front of me, aware there was an obstruction and keyed her phone, perhaps expecting the obstruction, me, to move. After a second or so she looked up, mumbled sorry then went around.
In my experience the best way to part the crowds is to steamroller through with a buggy/pram or have a rabid noisy dog on a long leash. Those definitely work!
:hmmm: I'm hatching a plan involving an air horn now.
17-05-2018, 11:56 AM
Folk trying to sound knowledgeable/passionate about football (particularly in the workplace) when it's very obvious they don't follow the game.
Yep and during the world cup this will increase dramatically, as will the amount of cheap engerland knock off replica shirts and dodgy t-shirts. dreading it (again)
17-05-2018, 12:41 PM
And the collective noun for them is "Hibsnet"
:wink: - :tin hat: - :greengrin
17-05-2018, 07:29 PM
Folk in my workplace who say "its not my job". In my industry we work as a team to get the work done but theres one or two who take this stance on a regular basis but are quite happy reap the benefits and take the praise from the management, brass necks the lot of them.
17-05-2018, 08:40 PM
People, usually the self proclaimed good looking, who sit on a night out just looking thoroughly miserable. If you don't like where you are then stop going, if you do like it then try telling your face.
17-05-2018, 09:26 PM
Yep and during the world cup this will increase dramatically, as will the amount of cheap engerland knock off replica shirts and dodgy t-shirts. dreading it (again)
I had someone tell me today that "Belorussia" will be at the world cup as "it's close to Russia".
17-05-2018, 09:30 PM
People that aren't on time.
I'm the type of person that is there at 12:50 if the agreed time of meeting is 13:00.
Moving away from Scotland I've accepted that in other cultures 13:00 actually means 13:45 however I can't stop my blood pressure from erupting when it get's to 13:01 and some ****s not turned up.
17-05-2018, 09:59 PM
People that aren't on time.
I'm the type of person that is there at 12:50 if the agreed time of meeting is 13:00.
Moving away from Scotland I've accepted that in other cultures 13:00 actually means 13:45 however I can't stop my blood pressure from erupting when it get's to 13:01 and some ****s not turned up.
You're the one (minute past one) o'clock gun 😁
17-05-2018, 10:32 PM
People that are late for appointments, on site to do a job etc and then give you a bull**** excuse about traffic, problem with tbe van etc. Just tell the truth, you are late because you never gave yourself enough time to get there on time. You left your house/base too late, contractors drive me up the wall with this bull****.
18-05-2018, 03:31 PM
When measuring something with a tape measure and you get to the far end and the home end slips off and retracts back into the holder in a nano-second.
The frustration gets hyperbolically worse the more times in a row it happens. Like today, ..... :brickwall
18-05-2018, 04:25 PM
People that wear hats that serve no function other than to make them look quirky or actually seem interesting
18-05-2018, 06:26 PM
People that wear hats that serve no function other than to make them look quirky or actually seem interesting
Much the same as beards.
18-05-2018, 06:40 PM
Much the same as beards.
What function would you want a beard wearer to have for his beard? :confused:
18-05-2018, 06:52 PM
They serve no purpose apart from maybe keeping the wearers puss warm in winter.
What's the purpose of yours?
18-05-2018, 07:08 PM
What's the purpose of yours?
I don't have a beard but I wouldn't expect anyone to justify having one by explaining its 'purpose'. What purpose does not having a beard serve?
18-05-2018, 07:16 PM
I don't have a beard but I wouldn't expect anyone to justify having one by explaining its 'purpose'. What purpose does not having a beard serve?
Its a pet peeve thread, I've never really gave it much thought.
18-05-2018, 07:49 PM
Its a pet peeve thread, I've never really gave it much thought.
Fair dos. :aok:
18-05-2018, 08:16 PM
What's the purpose of yours?They serve the purpose of not having to shave every day.
19-05-2018, 01:51 AM
They serve the purpose of not having to shave every day.
Lazyness. :greengrin
19-05-2018, 10:17 AM
Don't like berets and flat caps (especially when worn back to front). I occasionally wear a ball cap however, I don't like hat's in general.
If you see a band and one of them has a hat on, he's usually the bald one.
21-05-2018, 06:01 PM
"Thats me away again..." in reference to crying while watching the Time for Heroes DVD.
Apart from the fact it's a lie it's now working it's way onto the cringe list alongside political phrases such as "on your watch" and "get on with the day job".
21-05-2018, 06:51 PM
Working nights at this time of year. My neighbour on the left has recently retired and is a keen gardener, meaning he’s out with the lawn mower most mornings early doors. The neighbour on the right is having her garden completely slabbed. The noise is absolutely deafening and there nothing you can do about it. Add that to the fact that it’s too warm to sleep, it makes for a very irritable lord bunberry.
21-05-2018, 06:54 PM
Working nights at this time of year. My neighbour on the left has recently retired and is a keen gardener, meaning he’s out with the lawn mower most mornings early doors. The neighbour on the right is having her garden completely slabbed. The noise is absolutely deafening and there nothing you can do about it. Add that to the fact that it’s too warm to sleep, it makes for a very irritable lord bunberry.
Referring to yourself in the third person.
21-05-2018, 07:13 PM
Know what you mean. The one that does my 3d bits is when a neighbour starts drilling/cutting grass/strimming/sawing at 7.30 or 8am. Continues for about half an hour then ....... silence. FFS, do it in the evening before or after 10am. Why get the whole bl00dy neighbourhood up at dawn, you ignorant t**t. :grr:
21-05-2018, 07:13 PM
Clothes shopping in M&S. Maybe it's just me but the sizes are totally bonkers. At least you don't spend any money.
21-05-2018, 07:46 PM
Know what you mean. The one that does my 3d bits is when a neighbour starts drilling/cutting grass/strimming/sawing at 7.30 or 8am. Continues for about half an hour then ....... silence. FFS, do it in the evening before or after 10am. Why get the whole bl00dy neighbourhood up at dawn, you ignorant t**t. :grr:
I believe that there should be a gentleman’s agreement that any of this sort of thing shouldn’t start before 10am and 11am on a Sunday. The problem is that as people get older they seem to wake up earlier.
"Thats me away again..." in reference to crying while watching the Time for Heroes DVD.
Apart from the fact it's a lie it's now working it's way onto the cringe list alongside political phrases such as "on your watch" and "get on with the day job".
I watched it with my son this afternoon and I cried a little bit. Thats no lie
21-05-2018, 09:08 PM
I believe that there should be a gentleman’s agreement that any of this sort of thing shouldn’t start before 10am and 11am on a Sunday. The problem is that as people get older they seem to wake up earlier.Across here there are by-laws to regulate this sort of thing. Where I am you're not allowed to cut your grass etc. before 8.30, lunchtimes, after 7.00 at night & Sunday afternoons/public holidays. It's gives you a great excuse for the Mrs when you can't be arsed.
21-05-2018, 09:14 PM
Across here there are by-laws to regulate this sort of thing. Where I am you're not allowed to cut your grass etc. before 8.30, lunchtimes, after 7.00 at night & Sunday afternoons/public holidays. It's gives you a great excuse for the Mrs when you can't be arsed.
And it's great for starting neighbour wars.
21-05-2018, 09:27 PM
Don't like berets and flat caps (especially when worn back to front). I occasionally wear a ball cap however, I don't like hat's in general.
If you see a band and one of them has a hat on, he's usually the bald one.A ball cap? Is that like an Arab strap?
Sent from my SM-A520F using Tapatalk
21-05-2018, 11:17 PM
A ball cap? Is that like an Arab strap?
Naw, it's what you get for representing Scotland at a posh dance. :wink:
22-05-2018, 08:10 AM
Those buggers with a duff headlight on their car, instead of getting a new bulb and replacing it, they just stick their only working one on full beam! Throbbers!
22-05-2018, 08:31 AM
despite raining 2/3 of the year having to water the garden so the plants don't die.
When was the last time it actually rained?
22-05-2018, 10:11 AM
Grass that refuses to grow on a cultivated lawn but manages to muscle it's way through a concrete or tar macadam path.
22-05-2018, 05:04 PM
Working nights at this time of year. My neighbour on the left has recently retired and is a keen gardener, meaning he’s out with the lawn mower most mornings early doors. The neighbour on the right is having her garden completely slabbed. The noise is absolutely deafening and there nothing you can do about it. Add that to the fact that it’s too warm to sleep, it makes for a very irritable lord bunberry.absolutely. I also work shifts. brutal. my neighbour has a rat dog that barks all day.
22-05-2018, 05:14 PM
absolutely. I also work shifts. brutal. my neighbour has a rat dog that barks all day.
I'm permanent night shift and my housing scheme is still building site. :rolleyes:
22-05-2018, 07:56 PM
Wearing sneakers, trainers, old gym shoes with a dress suit. Trendy (?) it might seem to be, but I think it looks naff and says to me “I’m wearing a suit but I don’t really want to, so these bad boys are my protest.” Well why not ditch the suit and enjoy wearing your comfortable trainers, sneakers etc. with jeans or casual trousers. A nice suit deserves a nice pair of appropriate dress shoes.
23-05-2018, 04:46 PM
Wearing sneakers, trainers, old gym shoes with a dress suit. Trendy (?) it might seem to be, but I think it looks naff and says to me “I’m wearing a suit but I don’t really want to, so these bad boys are my protest.” Well why not ditch the suit and enjoy wearing your comfortable trainers, sneakers etc. with jeans or casual trousers. A nice suit deserves a nice pair of appropriate dress shoes.
Paul McCartney started that in the sixties. Rab C Nesbitt did it later.
It's a bit played now but anything goes I suppose.
23-05-2018, 07:13 PM
Paul McCartney started that in the sixties. Rab C Nesbitt did it later.
It's a bit played now but anything goes I suppose.
Surely it's entirely up to the individual what they wear.
If you want to look like a wally then fill your boots - or sneakers in this case.
23-05-2018, 07:54 PM
Where do you stand on doing it for commuting. I.e i used to wear comfy trainers when walking to work and put my normal shoes on when i got there. Walking in my work shoes could be uncomfortable
Aye but once they "break in" it's worth it
24-05-2018, 06:50 AM
Why are some people overly concerned at how other people dress? Having been the trampy kid at school it's always been a peeve of mine that some people are so shallow that they think the clothes that someone wears makes the person. If that were the case, then the fashion industry would surely use ugly fat models to prove the point.
24-05-2018, 08:22 AM
People, usually the self proclaimed good looking, who sit on a night out just looking thoroughly miserable. If you don't like where you are then stop going, if you do like it then try telling your face.
Irony 😁
24-05-2018, 09:23 PM
I’ve no problems with what folk wear for practical purposes. My post was about folk making a ‘Fashion statement’ out of a naff, unconventional combination of clothes and footwear, in particular dress suits and white trainers.
Why are some people overly concerned at how other people dress? Having been the trampy kid at school it's always been a peeve of mine that some people are so shallow that they think the clothes that someone wears makes the person. If that were the case, then the fashion industry would surely use ugly fat models to prove the point.
For a start I’m not ‘overly concerned’ ....... just making a random observation of something, which to me is odd. There’s a difference between wearing what you have available or out of necessity or just bad dress sense and wearing odd clothes combinations for effect. If we’re talking ‘shallowness’ maybe it’s the ‘trend setters’ who are the shallow ones. Sorry if I’ve offended you, personally. Opinions, eh?
24-05-2018, 09:37 PM
absolutely. I also work shifts. brutal. my neighbour has a rat dog that barks all day.
Have you tried placing his dog in your garden to see how your neighbour likes it?
25-05-2018, 01:25 PM
I'm not keen on the new Royal Infirmary entrance, especially the shopping mall that greets the visitor to Outpatients. There's a huge queue at the coffee place, caused by the barista-type coffee machine cranking out lattes,cappuccinos etc plus food. Some folk are on lunch break for heavens sake.
What happened to the good old hospital canteen where there was plenty space, simple fare and you didn't have to wait while someone gets a fancy coffee that they think they need?
25-05-2018, 02:15 PM
I'm not keen on the new Royal Infirmary entrance, especially the shopping mall that greets the visitor to Outpatients. There's a huge queue at the coffee place, caused by the barista-type coffee machine cranking out lattes,cappuccinos etc plus food. Some folk are on lunch break for heavens sake.
What happened to the good old hospital canteen where there was plenty space, simple fare and you didn't have to wait while someone gets a fancy coffee that they think they need?
Same problem at my golf club. One barman takes about 10 minutes to make up 4 coffees with a queue of half a dozen who are wanting cold drinks which take seconds to serve.
25-05-2018, 04:37 PM
I’ve no problems with what folk wear for practical purposes. My post was about folk making a ‘Fashion statement’ out of a naff, unconventional combination of clothes and footwear, in particular dress suits and white trainers.
For a start I’m not ‘overly concerned’ ....... just making a random observation of something, which to me is odd. There’s a difference between wearing what you have available or out of necessity or just bad dress sense and wearing odd clothes combinations for effect. If we’re talking ‘shallowness’ maybe it’s the ‘trend setters’ who are the shallow ones. Sorry if I’ve offended you, personally. Opinions, eh?
I didn't quote anyone Jim, it's just a peeve of mine and I wasn't offended by any statements made on here. I just completely hate the fashion industry and all its woman hating gurus who feel the need to tell people what they should be wearing. Like I said before, if clothes make the person like they'd have you believe, then the models they use would be ordinary people at best. It's all a huge con.
25-05-2018, 04:48 PM
Forgetting to take the shopping bag to the supermarket therefore having to buy another one and adding it to the collection that numbers 1000000 by now.
There is is a hospital canteen at the new ERI, it’s about 30 feet along the corridor from the shopping mall area
25-05-2018, 07:00 PM
There is is a hospital canteen at the new ERI, it’s about 30 feet along the corridor from the shopping mall area
Aye I've been in it but it doesn't feel like the canteens of yore. It's called The Place To Eat or some such.
25-05-2018, 07:03 PM
Forgetting to take the shopping bag to the supermarket therefore having to buy another one and adding it to the collection that numbers 1000000 by now.
I got so peed off at this the other week that I deliberately ripped one to have an excuse to bin it.
25-05-2018, 08:43 PM
Called RBS to renew travel insurance. Pre-recorded messages for at least 5 minutes before I eventually got to speak to a human.
The neighbours must have heard me effin and blinding at my phone during the wait. :grr: -> :brickwall -> :furious:
Bloody ridiculous - but alas, it's the norm nowadays.
30-05-2018, 10:25 AM
Not a peeve really but why do vapers smoke fruity and aromatic flavours?
Being an ex-smoker I think I'd want my vaping smoke to taste and smell of, well, tobacco!
I suppose the nicotine is the main thing.
pollution
30-05-2018, 11:20 AM
I got so peed off at this the other week that I deliberately ripped one to have an excuse to bin it.
That is just weird!
30-05-2018, 12:00 PM
That is just weird!
Well it had a small tear in it.....
30-05-2018, 01:13 PM
Well it had a small tear in it.....
Your story would bring a tear to a gash buy.
30-05-2018, 08:29 PM
Your story would bring a tear to a gash buy.
Booooooooo :greengrin
30-05-2018, 09:19 PM
Another pet peeve of mine...when you're out for the day with your partner and having stopped by a nice wee hostelry for a drink and a smoke in the designated smoking area you receive a volley of unprovoked abuse from a younger person because they don't smoke.
30-05-2018, 09:55 PM
Another pet peeve of mine...when you're out for the day with your partner and having stopped by a nice wee hostelry for a drink and a smoke in the designated smoking area you receive a volley of unprovoked abuse from a younger person because they don't smoke.
Popcorn at the ready! :-)