View Full Version : Pet Peeves IV

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 [38] 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57

01-08-2021, 01:19 AM
Socks - Done a bit of washing and tumble drying and found 24 individual socks. Where are the other socks? How can we (I, my wife and 2 kids) have 24 different socks that have no pair?

01-08-2021, 10:51 AM
Socks - Done a bit of washing and tumble drying and found 24 individual socks. Where are the other socks? How can we (I, my wife and 2 kids) have 24 different socks that have no pair?

Have you tried here? 😉

https://www.10best.com/destinations/uk-scotland/edinburgh/edinburgh/restaurants/lost-sock-diner/amp/

01-08-2021, 11:02 AM
Socks - Done a bit of washing and tumble drying and found 24 individual socks. Where are the other socks? How can we (I, my wife and 2 kids) have 24 different socks that have no pair?Every couple of years I buy 15 or so pairs of identical black socks (often packs of 3-5 pairs). At the same time I throw out my old ones. I don't even tidy them in pairs and if I lose one it doesn't matter - I don't even notice. If one develops a hole I just chuck it.

I do the same thing with mini-sock things that I wear with trainers/shorts.

It makes life so much easier.

01-08-2021, 02:24 PM
Every couple of years I buy 15 or so pairs of identical black socks (often packs of 3-5 pairs). At the same time I throw out my old ones. I don't even tidy them in pairs and if I lose one it doesn't matter - I don't even notice. If one develops a hole I just chuck it.

I do the same thing with mini-sock things that I wear with trainers/shorts.

It makes life so much easier.

Yup. There is a few things like that in life that can make every day things so much easier…the YouTube generation might call them life hacks.

But I’m 100% with you on the sock front. You can do more than black of course but simply just throw every pair of old ones out and replace with brand new ones that are all the same as each other. Personally I’m more of a blue sock man than black but have 10 pairs of blue, 5 of black and 5 of a kind of green / brown. I have a specific brand that I have alighted upon and every 2 years or so simply buy 20 pairs of them.

The joy of new socks is one to behold as is the fact that really you never end up with the odd sock issue (that said by the end of two years one or two do seem to go missing somehow so I ended up with 4.5 pairs of black [emoji1787])

speedy_gonzales
01-08-2021, 02:40 PM
Re this sock chat, I can honestly say the only time I've lost a sock is when my wife did a wash, once.
My solution was to do my own laundry, have done for 20+ years and never lost a sock, but I think I lost the battle 😉

CloudSquall
02-08-2021, 01:33 AM
Handball goalkeepers.

Do they actually ever make a save?

02-08-2021, 08:24 AM
Handball goalkeepers.

Are they only allowed to save with their feet?

02-08-2021, 12:25 PM
Handball goalkeepers.

It would seem so!

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=Ccc0e__dmMg

02-08-2021, 01:03 PM
Peter Schmeichel played a bit of handball as a youth. You can see it in the way he played football.

05-08-2021, 03:20 PM
When a company makes changes to a product that influence the quality negatively then denies they have done so.

I've sold Samsung microwaves through my work for years. I pushed these more than any other comparable product because they were so reliable, were a recognised brand and had a 3 year full warranty and the required after sales was minimal. A few months ago the warranty was cut to 1 year parts only which set a few alarm bells ringing right away. At the last count I have had 4 machines reported as being delivered with a door seal missing, 2 that have shown an electrical error message after 1st use and another 3 that have just been completely unresponsive before even being used.

All the warranties are directly with Samsung but I have to act as the middle man. They don't care and won't do anything beyond the bare minimum, what's a few microwaves to a billion dollar business? The peeve is the fact their rep on the ground insists the machines are the same build quality as 12 months ago which is just a blatant lie. I've gone from maybe 1 problem in every 25 sales to literally every microwave having some issue or other, they have cut the warranty significantly yet I'm expected to believe there has been no compromise on quality?:rolleyes:

06-08-2021, 07:16 AM
When a company makes changes to a product that influence the quality negatively then denies they have done so.

I've sold Samsung microwaves through my work for years. I pushed these more than any other comparable product because they were so reliable, were a recognised brand and had a 3 year full warranty and the required after sales was minimal. A few months ago the warranty was cut to 1 year parts only which set a few alarm bells ringing right away. At the last count I have had 4 machines reported as being delivered with a door seal missing, 2 that have shown an electrical error message after 1st use and another 3 that have just been completely unresponsive before even being used.

All the warranties are directly with Samsung but I have to act as the middle man. They don't care and won't do anything beyond the bare minimum, what's a few microwaves to a billion dollar business? The peeve is the fact their rep on the ground insists the machines are the same build quality as 12 months ago which is just a blatant lie. I've gone from maybe 1 problem in every 25 sales to literally every microwave having some issue or other, they have cut the warranty significantly yet I'm expected to believe there has been no compromise on quality?:rolleyes:

Something about this rings a bell. 😉

06-08-2021, 07:44 AM
Something about this rings a bell. 😉

The original pingdemic 😁

Bangkok Hibby
06-08-2021, 09:41 AM
Just noticed a level results are due soon so I'll get my peeve in now.
EVERY news channel sending a crew to some school to film a pupil recommended by the head teacher as he/she is a shoe in to get good marks. Its never some thick wide boy who fails everything!
Show some originality FFS

06-08-2021, 04:14 PM
I realise this will have been coverd numerous times, but, DELIVERY DRIVERS!!!!

Specifically DPD who couldn't organise delivery of a bee sting in a beehive!!

Delivery due between 4:20 and 5:20, a good window to keep an eye out for him. 4:32 message saying he tried to deliver but you were not in. We will try again on Monday. Kindly included a photograph of the house he tried to deliver it to. Guess what, not mine, but directly across the road. Had he turned 180 degrees he would have seen the sign with the name of the property.

DPD website has various contact options.

Phone - automated message telling you they tried to deliver but you weren't in

Live chat - wait in a queue

gave up and instead gave VERY precise details as to where I wanted it delivered on Monday.

Annoyed, as it is IKEA furniture that could have been asembled over the weekend in the thunderstorms we are due to get.

06-08-2021, 04:43 PM
Annoyed, as it is IKEA furniture that could have been asembled over the weekend in the thunderstorms we are due to get.

Jeez, you must be IKEA expert level 3, I struggle to put the things together in the house. :wink:

06-08-2021, 05:13 PM
Jeez, you must be IKEA expert level 3, I struggle to put the things together in the house. :wink:

🙄 Fell for it!

07-08-2021, 08:07 AM
:hyper

This annoys me a lot more than it should.

07-08-2021, 08:26 PM
:hyper

This annoys me a lot more than it should.

Yep, past it's sell by date a few years back. Just silly now.

07-08-2021, 10:02 PM

08-08-2021, 09:18 AM
I realise this will have been coverd numerous times, but, DELIVERY DRIVERS!!!!

Specifically DPD who couldn't organise delivery of a bee sting in a beehive!!

Delivery due between 4:20 and 5:20, a good window to keep an eye out for him. 4:32 message saying he tried to deliver but you were not in. We will try again on Monday. Kindly included a photograph of the house he tried to deliver it to. Guess what, not mine, but directly across the road. Had he turned 180 degrees he would have seen the sign with the name of the property.

DPD website has various contact options.

Phone - automated message telling you they tried to deliver but you weren't in

Live chat - wait in a queue

gave up and instead gave VERY precise details as to where I wanted it delivered on Monday.

On the subject of delivery drivers, Hermes delivery drivers. When I order trainers I pray its not Hermes that are delivering them because 9 times out of 10 the box is smashed to buggery and a few times said trainers are damaged and need returned for an exchange.

The message when the parcel is delivered should read your Hermes delivery driver has just volleyed your parcel to your door from 3 miles away.

08-08-2021, 10:42 AM
On the subject of delivery drivers, Hermes delivery drivers. When I order trainers I pray its not Hermes that are delivering them because 9 times out of 10 the box is smashed to buggery and a few times said trainers are damaged and need returned for an exchange.

The message when the parcel is delivered should read your Hermes delivery driver has just volleyed your parcel to your door from 3 miles away.

My hermes driver is the opposite. He is mute and comes to me to get directions, shows me the address and I let him know which house it is. Bearing in mind that all the houses are named and scattered about a bit round here he is doing the sensible thing.

08-08-2021, 11:04 AM
My hermes driver is the opposite. He is mute and comes to me to get directions, shows me the address and I let him know which house it is. Bearing in mind that all the houses are named and scattered about a bit round here he is doing the sensible thing.
Draw him a wee map of the post code.
I used to have a tricky bit on my run with about a dozen houses well spread out. One of my customers handed me a map with all the houses drawn on it, saved me a fair amount of time.

08-08-2021, 11:16 AM
Draw him a wee map of the post code.
I used to have a tricky bit on my run with about a dozen houses well spread out. One of my customers handed me a map with all the houses drawn on it, saved me a fair amount of time.

That's a good idea, I will be able to do that quite easily with mapping software 👍

08-08-2021, 12:39 PM

I concur, our Hermes driver is the biggest pain in the erse ever.

09-08-2021, 09:37 AM
Some people couldn't organise a pish-up in a brewery. Drove the wife to work in Berlin today for the first time in nearly 18 months. Stopped for a coffee in their rest area and noticed there was a one way system around the coffee maker, first you come to sugar/milk, then coffee and then finally to the mugs. And this in a company that designs computer software :faf:

09-08-2021, 11:02 AM
Some people couldn't organise a pish-up in a brewery. Drove the wife to work in Berlin today for the first time in nearly 18 months. Stopped for a coffee in their rest area and noticed there was a one way system around the coffee maker, first you come to sugar/milk, then coffee and then finally to the mugs. And this in a company that designs computer software :faf:Thats how its done. Charge the customer more for fixing a problem that shouldn't be there. [emoji1787]

Sent from my SM-G965F using Tapatalk

10-08-2021, 10:56 AM
Iphone chargers aren’t the handiest shape for pulling out of wall sockets.

Why does everyone say “quote, unquote” and then the words they are quoting? It does nothing to tell you when the quote finishes and surely it would be better to say “quote” then the quote, followed by “unquote”?

Sky Q mini boxes not being able to turn on in the early hours without getting up and resetting broadband. Really annoying when I wake up and fancy watching the basketball.

Posh folk. (Excluding David Mitchell)

Compulsive liars. Otherwise nice and decent guys but just can’t help bull****ting even when it’s of no benefit to them or anyone else. (This one not so much a peeve, just baffles me)

How often I hear the words “coffee” and “Prosecco” these days. Especially as neither appeal to me in the slightest.

Dominos - just save all the carry-on and make your prices normal!

Craft beers and pale ales.

Bangkok Hibby
10-08-2021, 11:27 AM

Why does everyone say “quote, unquote” and then the words they are quoting? It does nothing to tell you when the quote finishes and surely it would be better to say “quote” then the quote, followed by “unquote”?

Sky Q mini boxes not being able to turn on in the early hours without getting up and resetting broadband. Really annoying when I wake up and fancy watching the basketball.

Compulsive liars. Otherwise nice and decent guys but just can’t help bull****ting even when it’s of no benefit to them or anyone else. (This one not so much a peeve, just baffles me)

How often I hear the words “coffee” and “Prosecco” these days. Especially as neither appeal to me in the slightest.

Old mate of mine, very good mate in fact. For years pretended he was hungover in the morning after drinking a 40 ouncer of vodka the night before. A total lie and everyone knew it but he kept doing it. Haven't seen him for a long time, maybe still at it.

10-08-2021, 12:35 PM

sky q boxes - they’re set up to do that to save power/be greener

if waking up at that time is quite often, go into the settings of all your q boxes and change the standby mode in preferences to active, rather than eco. need to do them all as the signal is transferred from the main box to the mini, so can’t just do the mini on its own or you’ll get the same end result. Means they’ll go into standby rather than off entirely, and you’ll not need to get up :aok:

10-08-2021, 04:33 PM
sky q boxes - they’re set up to do that to save power/be greener

if waking up at that time is quite often, go into the settings of all your q boxes and change the standby mode in preferences to active, rather than eco. need to do them all as the signal is transferred from the main box to the mini, so can’t just do the mini on its own or you’ll get the same end result. Means they’ll go into standby rather than off entirely, and you’ll not need to get up :aok:

Thanks mate. It’s not all THAT often, just when it does happen it annoys me
😂.. I think I took the decision that energy saving was more important than my occasional basketball game haha

CloudSquall
10-08-2021, 04:36 PM
Latency / lag in video calls.

Both people speak at the same time...three seconds of silence as both wait for the other person to speak...no one speaks so both people speak at the same time again....three seconds of silence....both people speak at the same time again...

10-08-2021, 04:53 PM
Thanks mate. It’s not all THAT often, just when it does happen it annoys me
��.. I think I took the decision that energy saving was more important than my occasional basketball game haha

:greengrin On that basis, put the basketball on to record, even if you wouldn’t watch the recording. The main box won’t go into power off mode until after the recording, so all you’d need to do is power up the mini to watch it live :aok:

10-08-2021, 05:02 PM
Celebrities humble bragging on Twitter on exam results day.

'I got 2 Cs and a D and now I'm worth £60m. Never give up.'

**** off. First of all you are just making something all about you. Secondly you know fine well that isn't the reality for most people. Thirdly it makes no one feel better about themselves it they are disappointed with their results.

10-08-2021, 07:05 PM
:greengrin On that basis, put the basketball on to record, even if you wouldn’t watch the recording. The main box won’t go into power off mode until after the recording, so all you’d need to do is power up the mini to watch it live :aok:

You ken your stuff pal - thanks! Going to have to eliminate the peeve from my post at this rate 🙄😂

10-08-2021, 09:08 PM
You ken your stuff pal - thanks! Going to have to eliminate the peeve from my post at this rate 🙄😂

not at all bud :greengrin happy if it helps

11-08-2021, 06:13 AM
Thats how its done. Charge the customer more for fixing a problem that shouldn't be there. [emoji1787]

Usually happens when customer signs off UAT when they haven't done any UAT.

11-08-2021, 05:39 PM
Usually happens when customer signs off UAT when they haven't done any UAT.In our place they set a base outline of the problem and only spec the final system once we are in UAT. Then we get complaints that the app is late....

11-08-2021, 07:48 PM
I see they are going to remake Planes, Trains & Automobiles. One of my favourite films. I was against remaking it when I heard about it, only to then find out Kevin Hart will be in it. From Steve Martin & John Candy to Kevin Hart. Say it ain’t so!

12-08-2021, 06:59 AM
Kate Garroway. Just talks over absolutely everyone. Asks a question, waits for the person to open their mouth...then shouts over them.

12-08-2021, 09:12 PM
Beer companies who reduce the ABV of their drinks. Brewdog Elvis Juice has went from 6.5 to 5.1% with a noticeable taste difference and not for the better. Punk IPA down from 5.6 to 5.4%. Stella Artois has somehow went from 5.2 to 5.0 to 4.8 now 4.6% over the past few years. It'll be an alcohol free beer the way their going. Bud has also went from 5.0 to 4.6%. If I wanted a Bud Lite, it'd buy Bud Light.

12-08-2021, 09:19 PM
Beer companies who reduce the ABV of their drinks. Brewdog Elvis Juice has went from 6.5 to 5.1% with a noticeable taste difference and not for the better. Punk IPA down from 5.6 to 5.4%. Stella Artois has somehow went from 5.2 to 5.0 to 4.8 now 4.6% over the past few years. It'll be an alcohol free beer the way their going. Bud has also went from 5.0 to 4.6%. If I wanted a Bud Lite, it'd buy Bud Light.Spot on, I like punk ipa, not sure I drank it at the higher abv... Stella though, that was my drink of choice, really enjoyed the flavour... now its just a bit bland and mass produced flavour.

12-08-2021, 10:11 PM
Kate Garroway. Just talks over absolutely everyone. Asks a question, waits for the person to open their mouth...then shouts over them.
Kay Burley. How she's made a career out of what she does is beyond belief.

13-08-2021, 04:27 PM
Our wee Shih Tzu waking me up every night when she's dreaming. She sleeps at the bottom of our bed and makes a noise like a squeaky toy during her dreams. It's at least once per night and usually more often. We've spoiled her so she won't sleep elsewhere.

13-08-2021, 09:37 PM
Everyone on the MB pointing out the lack of signings as if the professionals at the club sat on their thumbs all summer.

14-08-2021, 05:23 PM
Beer companies who reduce the ABV of their drinks. Brewdog Elvis Juice has went from 6.5 to 5.1% with a noticeable taste difference and not for the better. Punk IPA down from 5.6 to 5.4%. Stella Artois has somehow went from 5.2 to 5.0 to 4.8 now 4.6% over the past few years. It'll be an alcohol free beer the way their going. Bud has also went from 5.0 to 4.6%. If I wanted a Bud Lite, it'd buy Bud Light.

Iirc Stella reduced there's as there was some form of tax increase or import tax increase on %s above 5%.

Though I can find absolutely no evidence of that.

pollution
14-08-2021, 05:49 PM
Iirc Stella reduced there's as there was some form of tax increase or import tax increase on %s above 5%.

Though I can find absolutely no evidence of that.

That's how I remember it too. The drinking public does not like price increases

so the alcohol strength is reduced to keep the price the same and the health authorities are happy !

Silky
14-08-2021, 07:17 PM
The constant Americanisation of the English language. Folk who persistently spell words like "organise", with a z; the overuse of the word "gotten", and the one that grinds my gears the most - missing the "of" when talking about "a couple of people, minutes or whatever! Nae need.

14-08-2021, 07:22 PM
That's how I remember it too. The drinking public does not like price increases

so the alcohol strength is reduced to keep the price the same and the health authorities are happy !

I would imagine there could be quite an impact in their UK sales by reducing the strength. I assume it's still 5.2% in Europe if it's an import matter.

4.6% Stella doesn't taste anywhere near like what it did before. There are far better lagers around between 4.6-5.0%, I don't even consider it now when I'm shopping for beer.

14-08-2021, 08:41 PM
Men who can't tie a tie properly.

A few guys I know are at a wedding today and have been tagged in photos on Instagram and not one of them has a tie that's even close to passable. Seriously how can you get to between 30 and 40 year old and not have any idea how to knot a tie?

Also people who share pictures from a wedding on Instagram whilst they are still there.

14-08-2021, 09:20 PM

A few guys I know are at a wedding today and have been tagged in photos on Instagram and not one of them has a tie that's even close to passable. Seriously how can you get to between 30 and 40 year old and not have any idea how to knot a tie?

Also people who share pictures from a wedding on Instagram whilst they are still there.

I'm 49. I've never had a job where I had to wear a tie. I've never had an interview where I had to wear a tie. I went to a school where I never had to wear a tie. I've been a 'participant' at 3 weddings (1 my own + 2 best man) where I never had to wear a tie (we had cravats...) I've been to several funerals where I have worn a tie - but who's that anal that they're checking knots?
So to answer your question - easily.

I'll keep the pet peeve going by saying Instagram - look at me, look at how interesting my life is!!!
Don't care.

Just_Jimmy
15-08-2021, 07:15 AM

Also people who share pictures from a wedding on Instagram whilst they are still there.I agree but I'd say it's more an issue with men who have the requirement to wear a tie regularly, such as an office job etc, but don't learn how to do it properly. it smacks of a lack of standards.

Sent from my Pixel 3a using Tapatalk

15-08-2021, 08:33 AM
I agree but I'd say it's more an issue with men who have the requirement to wear a tie regularly, such as an office job etc, but don't learn how to do it properly. it smacks of a lack of standards.

I wore a tie to work from age 17 to about 46 but if I need to wear one now for a funeral or wedding I really have to think about how to tie it. Probably one for the old age thread :greengrin

15-08-2021, 09:43 AM
Pubs taking the piss with prices post lockdown. A mate of mine was in the Haymarket bar and was charged £5.80 for a pint of tennents. Thats horrendous.

15-08-2021, 10:30 AM
a pint of tennents. Thats horrendous.

FTFY :wink:

pollution
15-08-2021, 11:29 AM
Pubs taking the piss with prices post lockdown. A mate of mine was in the Haymarket bar and was charged £5.80 for a pint of tennents. Thats horrendous.

That's a disgrace.

Never did like that place. Soul less as I recall.

Key West
15-08-2021, 11:52 AM
Double parking, boxed in when ready to go to work, having to wait for the selfish nonchalant gits to return to their vehicles.

15-08-2021, 01:16 PM

I hate the Haymarket Bar with a passion.

I've been in about 4 or 5 times in my life and every time there is a problem and the service is generally crap.

I was in on Friday. Went to the bar and ordered 2 Tennents. Guy pouring them made a mess of it, foam spilling everywhere, kept trying to top it up, had the nozzle right in the beer, poured some out and repeat and repeat. Took about 5 minutes to pour 2 pints. Got to a table, took a sip and it was warm and completely flat. Took it back to the bar and said we wanted fresh ones. He mumbled something about just having changed the keg. Said just give us Peroni instead and he tried to charge us an extra £2.20 because we had to have something we didn't want because of their problem. We refused and just left.

Shambles of a pub.

Just_Jimmy
15-08-2021, 02:18 PM

I've been in about 4 or 5 times in my life and every time there is a problem and the service is generally crap.

I was in on Friday. Went to the bar and ordered 2 Tennents. Guy pouring them made a mess of it, foam spilling everywhere, kept trying to top it up, had the nozzle right in the beer, poured some out and repeat and repeat. Took about 5 minutes to pour 2 pints. Got to a table, took a sip and it was warm and completely flat. Took it back to the bar and said we wanted fresh ones. He mumbled something about just having changed the keg. Said just give us Peroni instead and he tried to charge us an extra £2.20 because we had to have something we didn't want because of their problem. We refused and just left.

Shambles of a pub.£8 for a pint of peroni? did you call the cops?

Jesus.

15-08-2021, 02:27 PM
£8 for a pint of peroni? did you call the cops?

Jesus.

The £2.20 extra was for the 2 pints. Which still makes it £6.50+ a pint and that's still scandalous.

Peroni is overrated as well as overpriced. It comes in a fancy glass and it's deemed more acceptable than ordering Tennents by some people so they will happily be ripped off when drinking it.

15-08-2021, 02:54 PM

Was in Falkirk yesterday and was less than four quid a pint of either decent pale ale or Tennants, and only four quid for a nip of Laphroig 10yo.

Much more than that and it’s daylight robbery.

15-08-2021, 03:01 PM
Dressing inappropriately. I might just be a dinosaur now, or too judgemental, or both. However was at East Links Family Park today and the amount of children, and I’m talking about 7-10 year olds, in yoga legging things and tops that in essence are little more than bras, with less of their torso covered than visible.

Maybe it’s the fact I’ve got a daughter coming up to 3 that I’m more aware of these things but I’d not want her to dress like that when she was 30 never mind as a child!

15-08-2021, 08:00 PM

Shambles of a pub.

And repeat for Ryries, 2 ridiculously expensive **** pubs.

15-08-2021, 10:43 PM
People who put an R into the word Chicago. It’s to the best of my knowledge never had an R in its title. I’m watching the mls game and I’m sure the commentator is doing it.

17-08-2021, 02:28 PM
**** cover songs, specifically taking a great tune and covering it in the style of a busker. That god awful one of Robyn’s ‘Dancing On My Own’ is a prime example. Original was a banger, cover was absolutely dire and charmless.

Jakhog1
17-08-2021, 03:32 PM
**** cover songs, specifically taking a great tune and covering it in the style of a busker. That god awful one of Robyn’s ‘Dancing On My Own’ is a prime example. Original was a banger, cover was absolutely dire and charmless.

This 100%, all these cover songs sound like they are sung by the same wee posh nasally lassie, the one I hated the most was Sweet Child O Mine for AirBnB advert, I agree with everything you said and it annoys me way more than it should, it's so lazy

Bangkok Hibby
17-08-2021, 03:53 PM
This 100%, all these cover songs sound like they are sung by the same wee posh nasally lassie, the one I hated the most was Sweet Child O Mine for AirBnB advert, I agree with everything you said and it annoys me way more than it should, it's so lazy

I'll go the other way and say the one I hated most was "sound of silence" by demented or damaged or whatever you call him. I'm aware many people thought he did a wonderful job but for me, to misquote a common Hibs.net phrase...it was "ear bleeding"

17-08-2021, 05:10 PM
I agree but I'd say it's more an issue with men who have the requirement to wear a tie regularly, such as an office job etc, but don't learn how to do it properly. it smacks of a lack of standards.

Just saw Ian Blackford on STV News and he looked like he'd tied his tie using his feet.

Just_Jimmy
17-08-2021, 09:17 PM
Just saw Ian Blackford on STV News and he looked like he'd tied his tie using his feet.to have achieved that would have required said foot to have been removed from his mouth so debatable.

this is a joke, for all the raging snpers. I have no issue with him.

most politicians now look like scruffy barstewards.

19-08-2021, 10:14 AM
The £2.20 extra was for the 2 pints. Which still makes it £6.50+ a pint and that's still scandalous.

Peroni is overrated as well as overpriced. It comes in a fancy glass and it's deemed more acceptable than ordering Tennents by some people so they will happily be ripped off when drinking it.

6.50 for a pint of lager. Nae wonder pubs are closing all over the place, when it's several times more expensive than buying the same stuff from the supermarket.

Bangkok Hibby
19-08-2021, 12:28 PM
6.50 for a pint of lager. Nae wonder pubs are closing all over the place, when it's several times more expensive than buying the same stuff from the supermarket.

Christ I remember 8 pints for a pound and the only price increases were if the chancellor put a penny on.

speedy_gonzales
20-08-2021, 10:00 AM
Greed, that's it, greed!
Just heard an acquaintance of mines lost their family pet.
This guy has a massive house, multiple cars, a successful business but still wanted to make a bit more coin by jumping on the (currently) massive puppy market trend.
With zero experience, he got his bitch pedigree forcibly pregnant (apparently the dogs were manually stimulated before throwing in to a small cage) but due to his dog being relatively young (had only been through a couple of seasons), there was complications, the puppies died in the dog and the bitch itself succumbed.
Kids are devastated, and all for money that they don't need!

20-08-2021, 10:06 AM
Greed, that's it, greed!
This guy has a massive house, multiple cars, a successful business but still wanted to make a bit more coin by jumping on the (currently) massive puppy market trend.
With zero experience, he got his bitch pedigree forcibly pregnant (apparently the dogs were manually stimulated before throwing in to a small cage) but due to his dog being relatively young (had only been through a couple of seasons), there was complications, the puppies died in the dog and the bitch itself succumbed.

Such people should be liable for prosecution on the grounds of animal cruelty. There needs to be licensing of animal breeders.

Bangkok Hibby
20-08-2021, 12:36 PM
Greed, that's it, greed!

Yea greed, it will destroy the world!

20-08-2021, 12:42 PM
Such people should be liable for prosecution on the grounds of animal cruelty. There needs to be licensing of animal breeders.

I’d extend the peeve to include the pathetic sentences handed out for animal cruelty, it infuriates me you see some of the slaps on the wrist when balanced with the suffering these people cause

20-08-2021, 08:00 PM
Absolute manks who leave rubbish in their shopping trolleys. Went to Asda tonight and treated to a used tissue in one, 2 milkshake bottles in another and a receipt, a shopping list and a crushed fag packet in the 3rd.

Use a ****ing bin.

20-08-2021, 09:58 PM
Absolute manks who leave rubbish in their shopping trolleys. Went to Asda tonight and treated to a used tissue in one, 2 milkshake bottles in another and a receipt, a shopping list and a crushed fag packet in the 3rd.

Use a ****ing bin.

Or face masks. Disgusting.

Block
20-08-2021, 10:17 PM

I'm a real ale enthusiast. Its just not true that supermarket beer is cheap. Far from it. Its very expensive these days to buy real ale the real ale from anywhere.

If pubs are charging 6.50 a pint please don't blame supermarkets as its a completely different market altogether.

I don't think you've any idea of this issue to be frank.

20-08-2021, 10:27 PM
I'm a real ale enthusiast. Its just not true that supermarket beer is cheap. Far from it. Its very expensive these days to buy real ale the real ale from anywhere.

If pubs are charging 6.50 a pint please don't blame supermarkets as its a completely different market altogether.

I don't think you've any idea of this issue to be frank.

I know 6.50 for a pint of lager is bloody expensive and I can get Peroni far cheaper at the shops.

20-08-2021, 10:37 PM
Is that your reasoned argument is it?

As I said you don't have much understanding of the issue.

I'm a real ale enthusiast are you? Don't sound like one, bottled lager Peroni aye? Deserve to be conned out of your dough for that rubbish, expert on real ale aye?

Have you been all the real ale all day? Nobody mentioned real ale; the post was 6.50 for a pint of lager in the pub :confused::confused:

And no, I don't know anything about real ale and have never claimed to.

Can try that post again without the needlessly aggressive tone

Block
Bye.

20-08-2021, 10:39 PM
Ahh the dangers of real ale [emoji1787][emoji1787]

20-08-2021, 10:40 PM
Can try that post again without the needlessly aggressive tone

It's okay, mate. I think he's been enjoying the real ale :greengrin

Block
20-08-2021, 10:41 PM
How does one say that the other doesn't have a clue about the subject other than sounding that wee bit condescending or cruel. Its not easy? Probably banned for saying the truth. I wasn't abusive but nae worries. The clique is the main thing not free speech. Bye/

20-08-2021, 10:43 PM
How does one say that the other doesn't have a clue about the subject other than sounding that wee bit condescending or cruel. Its not easy? Probably banned for saying the truth. I wasn't abusive but nae worries. The clique is the main thing not free speech. Bye/

Weekend posting when leathered; we've all done it :greengrin

21-08-2021, 06:03 AM

The other poster never claimed to have any knowledge of real ale, in fact stated the opposite. You’re the only one who brought real ale up!

you’re unnecessarily aggressive in almost every post I read of yours, that’s nothing to do with free speech or cliques

21-08-2021, 07:12 AM
Well this thread took an interesting turn overnight!

Looks like someone can't tell difference between lager and real ale! [emoji1787][emoji1787]

Which relates to a pet peeve to get this back ontrack,

Folks that spout off about real this, real ale that and look down on others that drink lager.
When I come across it they've normally 'had a few' so I'm assuming they actually can't handle their drink of choice!

I've a work colleague down south who is on the CAMRA board and he's not anything like that at all, we've even had lager together when in some less salubrious establishments.

21-08-2021, 08:45 AM

Looks like someone can't tell difference between lager and real ale! [emoji1787][emoji1787]

Folks that spout off about real this, real ale that and look down on others that drink lager.
When I come across it they've normally 'had a few' so I'm assuming they actually can't handle their drink of choice!

I've a work colleague down south who is on the CAMRA board and he's not anything like that at all, we've even had lager together when in some less salubrious establishments.

I reckon he must have a hangover from hell this morning :greengrin

21-08-2021, 11:33 AM
Restaurants and pubs/bars that keep different hours to those stated on their websites.

That’s a few times over the past couple of weeks where we’ve turned up somewhere having checked the opening hours/food serving hours on their website only to find it shut or turned away because they are closed or told they stop serving food at a different time as what’s stated on their website.

21-08-2021, 12:29 PM

There’s a pet peeve: pointless snobbery.

Musical and alcohol are the two worst. People who refer to tennants as cats piss etc etc are the worst: if you don’t like it I’m not going to force it down you.

21-08-2021, 02:08 PM

Musical and alcohol are the two worst. People who refer to tennants as cats piss etc etc are the worst: if you don’t like it I’m not going to force it down you.

Tennents provokes a real reaction.

Whenever it is mentioned online there is a queue of people desperate to tell you how much they hate it. It's like they are terrified that if they don't get their comment in they will be tainted by some kind of association.

I like good beer and other good alcohol and will happily pay more where I think it is merited. If I go to a shop that has Augusteiner Helles I'll stock up regardless of the price as one example. The generic, mass produced lagers most 'mainstream' pubs sell all taste broadly the same though. You get the odd one that has something like Pilsner Urquell on that stands out but most of the usual suspects are all about perception. If I'm in a boozer that has 4 or 5 of said lagers on then I'll order Tennents. Primarily because a well poured, well kept pint of Tennents is nice and I like it. Secondly because I'm not paying x amount more for a pint of Stella that tastes similar and at the end of the day leads to the exact same outcome.

21-08-2021, 03:54 PM
A well kept pint of Tennents is fantastic. But the canned stuff is rank these days, no snobbery from me, just hate the taste of it.

21-08-2021, 04:01 PM
A well kept pint of Tennents is fantastic. But the canned stuff is rank these days, no snobbery from me, just hate the taste of it.

I think canned beer in general is just pretty rank. You get exceptions, usually from places with relatively low production volume. The mass produced stuff can sit for months before you drink it though and that's always going to impact the quality.

21-08-2021, 04:12 PM
I think canned beer in general is just pretty rank. You get exceptions, usually from places with relatively low production volume. The mass produced stuff can sit for months before you drink it though and that's always going to impact the quality.

Lager, definitely, apart from Peroni which still seems to be imported. It's the only canned lager I can drink and it's doing the job nicely at the moment :greengrin

21-08-2021, 07:54 PM
I know it’s meant to be funny and wind up rangers fans, but it’s getting a bit tiresome reading posts along the lines of …’there’s no such club as rangers, they died years ago, etc etc’, or the extended equivalent…’stop saying old firm, they don’t exist since rangers died’

aye, we all know, and I doubt there’s many rangers fans likely to be reading our threads, please stop spamming us 😊

21-08-2021, 08:19 PM
People who play loud music in their gardens and aren't able to occasionally enjoy the peace.

There's a couple who live near us who can't be in their garden without blasting out god awful music out of their living room window and it spoils anyone elses opportunity to enjoy a bit of peace and quiet. It really annoys me.

21-08-2021, 09:20 PM
I know it’s meant to be funny and wind up rangers fans, but it’s getting a bit tiresome reading posts along the lines of …’there’s no such club as rangers, they died years ago, etc etc’, or the extended equivalent…’stop saying old firm, they don’t exist since rangers died’

aye, we all know, and I doubt there’s many rangers fans likely to be reading our threads, please stop spamming us 😊

That's annoyed me for ages.

'Rangers in a couple of weeks'
'Don't you mean THE Rangers? Ha ha ha'

It was mildly amusing about 8 years ago.

21-08-2021, 10:49 PM

Musical and alcohol are the two worst. People who refer to tennants as cats piss etc etc are the worst: if you don’t like it I’m not going to force it down you.I get this. I'd add comedians. The number of folk who go out their way to post 'they don't see whats funny about...". Music, comedy, books is all personal taste. We've all got our own filters, the stuff we like, the stuff we don't and the stuff in the middle. If you don't like it, its probably not for you.

21-08-2021, 11:19 PM

I completely agree. As an aside I was in mamma roma tonight and they do a cracking draught birra morreti. I have no problem at all with a pint of tennants, it’s more than decent if served well.

Block
21-08-2021, 11:32 PM

Music and Alcohol Ahh, heaven sent heady mix of wanton debauchery. Don't kid yersel. Some of the best music ever was written and performed under the influence of alcohol or drugs. As for Tennent's lager, dearie me. Total and utter waste of pish.

Franck Le God
22-08-2021, 07:43 AM
The daytime 'Soccer Saturday' type show being called Sportscene as well as the nighttime highlights show, meaning I end up with 2 recordings every Saturday instead of just one!

Rattler
22-08-2021, 08:18 AM

I read this post about 4 days ago and had to search up the original version as I really didn’t know how it sounded - which was in itself quite embarrassing considering the line of work that I used to be in.

All I’ll say is thanks. It’s been on a continuous loop in my head since then! 🙄

22-08-2021, 08:33 AM

I'm sure I already posted about this on this thread as it really does my head in.

What's worse are radio stations who then act as if the originals don't exist as they're no longer played.

I still remember my daughters commenting on Tears for Fears "cover" of Mad World the first time they heard it.

bringbackbenny
22-08-2021, 06:07 PM
I would imagine there could be quite an impact in their UK sales by reducing the strength. I assume it's still 5.2% in Europe if it's an import matter.

4.6% Stella doesn't taste anywhere near like what it did before. There are far better lagers around between 4.6-5.0%, I don't even consider it now when I'm shopping for beer.

Way behind on all of this interesting discussion. The dropping of ABV has always been a regular tactic for brewers normally to make it cheaper to manufacture (less duty to HMRC) whilst keeping the rate charged to On or Off Trade customers the same i.e. better margins.

Doing it to Premium brands (normally 5% plus) is difficult and can end up damaging the long term premiumisation of the Brand, short term gains long term effect not so good.

Interestingly note to this trend was Heineken, way back the UK was the single market in the world where a lower ABV was brewed, rational in the 70's was the British session drinker could not handle sessions on the 5% job lol. About 15/20 years ago they completely withdrew the low ABV from the UK then reintroduced back as the global 5%.

22-08-2021, 07:38 PM
Music and Alcohol Ahh, heaven sent heady mix of wanton debauchery. Don't kid yersel. Some of the best music ever was written and performed under the influence of alcohol or drugs. As for Tennent's lager, dearie me. Total and utter waste of pish.

Ahhhhh our resident beer snob! How about you enjoy your IPA’s and your unfiltered, unfettered brown flat beer with twigs in and I’ll enjoy what I like an all.

As an aside I haven’t got a ****ing clue what you’re on about 😂

22-08-2021, 08:57 PM
I would like to add, on the whole lager v real ale debate, I can't handle the gaseousnes of lager, it's a health thing, so prefer the 'flat' real ale, that doesn't release co2 into the atmosphere 😉

23-08-2021, 05:46 AM
I would like to add, on the whole lager v real ale debate, I can't handle the gaseousnes of lager, it's a health thing, so prefer the 'flat' real ale, that doesn't release co2 into the atmosphere 😉

I carbon offset by only eating steak 5 nights a week.

23-08-2021, 12:40 PM
Thinking you can get away with a basket at the supermarket then staggering around trying to carry the thing with 3 heavy items still to get.

CloudSquall
23-08-2021, 02:43 PM
This is probably a generational thing, but the tendency of people generally aged between 20 and 30 who go on a two week holiday and then define themselves as "globe trotters".

No one of that generation can simply just go on a holiday anymore, oh no, everything has to be conveyed as some sort of Indiana Jones styled adventure.

I think it can be summed up with the type of knobends who posts the "inspirational" quotes on Instagram to show just how "inspirational" their trip is, usually accompanied by a photo with them looking "inspired" with their back to the camera as if no one has the faintest idea of just how set up the entire scene is.

Bangkok Hibby
23-08-2021, 02:50 PM
This is probably a generational thing, but the tendency of people generally aged between 20 and 30 who go on a two week holiday and then define themselves as "globe trotters".

No one of that generation can simply just go on a holiday anymore, oh no, everything has to be conveyed as some sort of Indiana Jones styled adventure.

I think it can be summed up with the type of knobends who posts the "inspirational" quotes on Instagram to show just how "inspirational" their trip is, usually accompanied by a photo with them looking "inspired" with their back to the camera as if no one has the faintest idea of just how set up the entire scene is.

I had the misfortune to find myself in a group of young backpackers in Khaosan road, Bangkok. The conversation was pretty much "so have you been to Koh Samui"...YES
Oh, "so have you done pacific coast highway"...Yes
Oh "so have you done Morocco"...YES
Oh "so have you done Machu Pichu"...No
Oh you havent lived unless you've done Machu Pichu...assholes!

23-08-2021, 03:03 PM
Thinking you can get away with a basket at the supermarket then staggering around trying to carry the thing with 3 heavy items still to get.

People who block the aisles in supermarkets with their trolley, completely unaware of their surroundings. Glaikit *****.

23-08-2021, 05:04 PM
People who moan endlessly about anything and everything on HibDotNet.

Damnit, I've just criticised myself there....

23-08-2021, 05:12 PM
Andrew Castle. How does being a **** tennis player qualify you to present programmes about politics and the world around us?

Answer: it doesn’t. He’s an arrogant, ignorant thick as pig**** sub tabloid bore.

23-08-2021, 07:22 PM

My girlfriend always insists on taking a basket rather than a trolley - or in the case of a really big shop - two baskets. Annoys the hell out of me.

She always wants to walk there rather than take the car then moans at the bags cutting into her hand on the way back!

Just_Jimmy
23-08-2021, 09:05 PM
My girlfriend always insists on taking a basket rather than a trolley - or in the case of a really big shop - two baskets. Annoys the hell out of me.

She always wants to walk there rather than take the car then moans at the bags cutting into her hand on the way back!get a new girlfriend.

23-08-2021, 09:12 PM

She always wants to walk there rather than take the car then moans at the bags cutting into her hand on the way back!

A really big shop of two whole shopping baskets? [emoji1787]

Think I’d do this once and the next time politely tell her to **** off, take the car and a spare pound for obtaining a trolley on arrival!

Block
23-08-2021, 11:45 PM
People who block the aisles in supermarkets with their trolley, completely unaware of their surroundings. Glaikit *****.

Completely agree. They leave their trolleys in the middle of the aisles without any care or consideration. Best thing to do is bash into their trolley while looking sideways at the items, then going on to apologise for not seeing their trolley which shouldn't be there in the first place. Give it a good hit and they soon get the idea.

24-08-2021, 09:45 AM
A really big shop of two whole shopping baskets? [emoji1787]

Think I’d do this once and the next time politely tell her to **** off, take the car and a spare pound for obtaining a trolley on arrival!

let her walk, then drive yourself and meet her there

24-08-2021, 11:59 AM

Another supermarket one - people who treat it as some sort of social club. Chatting away blocking the aisles, blocking the shelves, letting their kids run around unattended.

24-08-2021, 12:01 PM
Final moan of the day… online recipe website where you have to scroll past screeds of photos and text before you actually get to the recipe!

24-08-2021, 12:27 PM
People who enter your business make an unreasonable request and when you tell them no they reply with “I will give you a bad review then”

24-08-2021, 01:40 PM
Completely agree. They leave their trolleys in the middle of the aisles without any care or consideration. Best thing to do is bash into their trolley while looking sideways at the items, then going on to apologise for not seeing their trolley which shouldn't be there in the first place. Give it a good hit and they soon get the idea.

I have sometimes just moved the trolley a good distance so the person looks round confused about where it has gone. Often the other end of aisle is a good one.

24-08-2021, 04:33 PM
Another supermarket one - people who treat it as some sort of social club. Chatting away blocking the aisles, blocking the shelves, letting their kids run around unattended.

Big time. They are a massive nuisance.

25-08-2021, 12:16 PM
Every second work call I’m on people seem to confuse the word Pacific with specific. Now I’ve noticed it it’s driving me mad!

25-08-2021, 12:22 PM
Every second work call I’m on people seem to confuse the word Pacific with specific. Now I’ve noticed it it’s driving me mad!

That's a drop in the ocean. 😉

25-08-2021, 09:39 PM
Toothache. Finally got my tooth fixed today but the pain for the last few days was unbearable.

Bangkok Hibby
26-08-2021, 12:59 AM

Here's another to watch out for. Weather presenters saying tikuly for particularly.

28-08-2021, 09:35 AM
When you try to help someone and they don't make any effort to help themselves.

A mate of mine shared a post on Facebook the other week from his cousin, just a young lad. Post said he had lost his job, was desperate for work, had a girlfriend and 2 year old to support and would do anything. My work has a warehouse job going, we pay well, plenty overtime if you want it and it's a good bunch of guys in there. Messaged the guy and asked him to email me a CV and I'd speak to the boss. I couldn't guarantee him the job but there would definitely have been an interview. 2, 3, 4 days pass and no CV, I've already had a word with the boss and he asks me about it. Chase the guy up, he reads the message but no response, chase him again, nothing. I thought he might have sorted himself with something, in which case not replying is a bit rude but no harm done. Then last night he's back again. Really desperate now, no one is willing to help me, will do anything etc etc.

If he had sent me that CV nearly 2 weeks ago there is a good chance he would have been working by now with a weeks pay at £11 an hour under his belt......

28-08-2021, 12:12 PM
We have glazed double doors that look on to the garden. Currently the right hand one is wide open and the other is shut.

There's a very noisy fly that keeps buzzing about my head and and around the room. Every 2-3 minutes I hear it battering off the closed left hand door then it comes back to buzz around my head, etc. before yet again battering off the left hand door, and so on...

WTF is that all about?

https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20210828/ada79127f5050cef11abe05ca843fae7.jpg

28-08-2021, 12:40 PM
We have glazed double doors that look on to the garden. Currently the right hand one is wide open and the other is shut.

There's a very noisy fly that keeps buzzing about my head and and around the room. Every 2-3 minutes I hear it battering off the closed left hand door then it comes back to buzz around my head, etc. before yet again battering off the left hand door, and so on...

WTF is that all about?

The glass is possibly changing the wavelength of the sunlight, open the door and it will not be confused. 😉

28-08-2021, 12:42 PM
The glass is possibly changing the wavelength of the sunlight, open the door and it will not be confused. [emoji6]It's still at it - that's about an hour now. It must have some headache!

28-08-2021, 12:54 PM
It's still at it - that's about an hour now. It must have some headache!

I can tell that you're enjoying watching it 😁

28-08-2021, 01:04 PM

WTF is that all about?

Sounds like a left pane! 😃

28-08-2021, 03:11 PM

A mate of mine shared a post on Facebook the other week from his cousin, just a young lad. Post said he had lost his job, was desperate for work, had a girlfriend and 2 year old to support and would do anything. My work has a warehouse job going, we pay well, plenty overtime if you want it and it's a good bunch of guys in there. Messaged the guy and asked him to email me a CV and I'd speak to the boss. I couldn't guarantee him the job but there would definitely have been an interview. 2, 3, 4 days pass and no CV, I've already had a word with the boss and he asks me about it. Chase the guy up, he reads the message but no response, chase him again, nothing. I thought he might have sorted himself with something, in which case not replying is a bit rude but no harm done. Then last night he's back again. Really desperate now, no one is willing to help me, will do anything etc etc.

If he had sent me that CV nearly 2 weeks ago there is a good chance he would have been working by now with a weeks pay at £11 an hour under his belt......

Some people revel in victimhood. Absolutely revel in it.

28-08-2021, 08:21 PM
Curry's PC World. I had a few dealings with PC World and never had a problem - since the merger, I've had a couple of bad experiences but the latest took the biscuit.

Took my laptop in for repair under a repair policy. The policy is supposed to guarantee a 7-day fix and return. Upon handing the laptop over, I'm told I'll get it back in 11 days. I explain the policy guarantees 7 days. After some computer-staring, the employee tells me that was the PC World policy, not the Currys PC World policy.

As it happens, I had to dance this dance with them last time I had a device in for repair, so I summarise that experience and provide the reference for the employee to check the notes on the system. After about ten mins of reading, she informs me that, even if it's a 7-day policy, Covid means they won't be able to guarantee that. I ask what she means by that and she says the logistics are different. I ask what she means by that and she can't explain it. I give in and sign the docs (noting on them that I'll be making a complaint). She refuses to accept it due to my note. I ask to see a manager. She tells me she's a supervisor. I ask to see a manager. She disappears and returns alone. Without a word she accepts the paperwork, takes the laptop and hands me a docket/receipt.

On Day 10 of 11, I get a text update to advise that "Covid-19 measures have caused delay to your order" and it'll take a further three days. When I pick it up on Day 14, I ask what caused the additional delay. They tell me it was Covid. I bite my tongue from making the anti-virus joke I though of after leaving last time and have waited 14 days to crack. I ask what specifically caused the delay. The response is a blank stare.

After some verbal nudging, I get a vague, rambling explanation which includes mind-blowing revelations about a pandemic which has apparently been going on for a while, social distancing and sanitising work surfaces. I ask why none of this was forseeable when my original 7-days was extended to 11-days. The employee checks the system. We dance the old policy/new policy dance again. The exchange draws to a close when he tells me they aren't advising customers of specific Covid-delays at drop-off time. Again, I give up. He tells me he'll review what repairs were carried out. I watch him read three to four paragraphs of info before summarising for my benefit "yeah, it's fixed!"

29-08-2021, 05:33 AM
Kids football games 100km away from home with an 8am kick-off on a Sunday morning.

29-08-2021, 01:16 PM

Jesus. Sounds like he is more after attention from social media likes than an actual job.

CloudSquall
30-08-2021, 05:35 PM
Tinpot clubs like Motherwell playing ned tunes after they score a goal, 2:23 of the following video for an example : https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EZKGllnKLnE

People involved in Formula 1 and Formula 1 fans calling Qualifying "quali", especially Scottish people which I put in the same bracket as someone north of the border using the word "worldie", absolutely horrific.:agree:

30-08-2021, 08:57 PM
Describing competitors as tinpot. Up there with "famous" and "wee team".

Sent from my SM-T580 using Tapatalk

CloudSquall
31-08-2021, 12:18 AM
People that don't have the balls to quote a post when taking a pot shot.

31-08-2021, 12:27 AM
Checkout operators who comment on nearly every single item of your shopping. Just scan the ****** things and let me pack them quickly.

c31
31-08-2021, 10:45 AM
Neighbour who comes out and wants to chat every time I go out to do something to the car, garden or anything!! I’m polite I’ll say hello to you, help you if you have a problem but I’m not your best mate. So just stay inside your own home and let me get on with my task!!!

31-08-2021, 11:35 AM
People that don't have the balls to quote a post when taking a pot shot.Sorry. Did I need to quote you?

31-08-2021, 12:20 PM
Neighbour who comes out and wants to chat every time I go out to do something to the car, garden or anything!! I’m polite I’ll say hello to you, help you if you have a problem but I’m not your best mate. So just stay inside your own home and let me get on with my task!!!
Is that not just being antisocial and ignorant? I’m not one for small talk, but if any of my neighbours stop to chat I always try and make time.

31-08-2021, 11:16 PM
Checkout operators who comment on nearly every single item of your shopping. Just scan the ****** things and let me pack them quickly.

Used to be a guy (might still be there) at the Carrick Knowe Co-op who couldn’t help but do this.

01-09-2021, 05:15 AM
Used to be a guy (might still be there) at the Carrick Knowe Co-op who couldn’t help but do this.

We had a guy in our football team who compulsively said everything he was about to do just before he did it. "Walking to car, putting the key in the lock, turning the key, opening the door and getting in the car". Apparently it started when his therapist told him to do it as a way of combating his stutter, but it became compulsive. We didn't let him take penalties.

01-09-2021, 08:22 AM
Overuse of the words 'disgrace' and 'shambles' to describe situations which are in any way imperfect.

01-09-2021, 08:26 AM
We had a guy in our football team who compulsively said everything he was about to do just before he did it. "Walking to car, putting the key in the lock, turning the key, opening the door and getting in the car". Apparently it started when his therapist told him to do it as a way of combating his stutter, but it became compulsive. We didn't let him take penalties.

Very good! 😀

01-09-2021, 08:40 AM
Clicking on an interesting looking article link on the BBC Sport football page only to find out it's about women's football.

01-09-2021, 10:20 AM

“Magazine…Big Cocks”

Bangkok Hibby
01-09-2021, 10:27 AM
Is there a reason I'm missing for posters to say the transfer window has "slammed shut"?
Kind of annoying me but then many things do 🤨

01-09-2021, 11:18 AM
Overuse of the words 'disgrace' and 'shambles' to describe situations which are in any way imperfect.

Embarrassing

01-09-2021, 03:33 PM

Haha, reminds me of this.

https://youtu.be/g2XgOzjidaY

CloudSquall
01-09-2021, 06:34 PM
Clicking on an interesting looking article link on the BBC Sport football page only to find out it's about women's football.

I didn't have the courage to post that one :greengrin

01-09-2021, 07:31 PM
Reading through a thread you quite enjoy only to read misogynistic pish.

01-09-2021, 07:40 PM
Transfer windows.

01-09-2021, 08:01 PM

About 25 years ago my wife worked in our local shop and would chat with every customer.
She tells a great tale of a guy coming in one day and buying 6 cans of lager and a gentleman's top shelf magazine 😉.... She opened the conversation with "Quiet night in on your own is it?"

01-09-2021, 09:10 PM

Not sure why having no interest in women's football is "misogyny". Certainly doesn't apply in my case.

02-09-2021, 12:11 PM
Not sure why having no interest in women's football is "misogyny".

It's not.

02-09-2021, 03:01 PM
Always needing a pee when I’m in the car. Literally any time I’m in the car for anything more than a ten minute drive, i need the toilet soon after setting off, even though i go before i leave.

It’s a total pain.

02-09-2021, 04:07 PM

Steady. How on earth is that misogynistic ?

02-09-2021, 04:12 PM
Always needing a pee when I’m in the car. Literally any time I’m in the car for anything more than a ten minute drive, i need the toilet soon after setting off, even though i go before i leave.

It’s a total pain.

Thanks for identifying yourself. You must be the guy that parked in my drive, went round to the rear passenger side door, took out a bottle, dropped his trousers and proceeded to relieve himself in full view of my living room window (unbeknown to him!!)

He could have stopped 50m before, in a fairly secluded lay-by, but no, he decided to park in the middle of the small hamlet instead!!! At least he took it away with him, unlike the parents who stopped in my drive, changed their child's nappy and left it beside the fence!!! (I caught up with them and returned it with pleasure!!)

Jay
02-09-2021, 04:13 PM
The neighbours 4 cats using my garden as a litter tray :gun:

02-09-2021, 05:33 PM
Not sure why having no interest in women's football is "misogyny". Certainly doesn't apply in my case.
You’re absolutely correct mate. Hopefully you can accept my apology, I really need to stay away from here after a few drinks.

02-09-2021, 05:45 PM
You’re absolutely correct mate. Hopefully you can accept my apology, I really need to stay away from here after a few drinks.

No probs at all. I've posted some daft stuff after having a few :aok:

02-09-2021, 05:47 PM
No probs at all. I've posted similar after having a few :aok:

Bah!! I wish I had the same excuse. I just post before engaging brain 😉

02-09-2021, 06:05 PM
No probs at all. I've posted some daft stuff after having a few :aok:
Thanks mate.

CloudSquall
02-09-2021, 06:32 PM
Holding the door open for someone and they don't say thank you.

Upstairs neighbours that never seem to just sit their arse down at any point of the day.

02-09-2021, 08:41 PM

It’s a total pain.

I feel your pain, as you get older it's harder to keep it in, I drive a taxi and try not to drink too much when working, thankfully all the hotels are open for business again.

02-09-2021, 09:14 PM

Good on you mate, takes more balls to admit your wrong than to make comments in the first place 👍🏻

Assuming you’re a male of course 😂

02-09-2021, 09:15 PM
The neighbours 4 cats using my garden as a litter tray :gun:

Sonic sensors worked for me.

And a collection of pebbles at the kitchen window

02-09-2021, 09:20 PM
When you are all set to get the popcorn out and enjoy a right good rammy and someone spoils it by being all grown up and apologising.

Jay
02-09-2021, 09:24 PM
Sonic sensors worked for me.

And a collection of pebbles at the kitchen window

I have 2 sonic things in our small garden which go off during the night but the cats just poop behind them or away from them , I put chicken wire over the borders to try and break the habit and they used my path instead. We tried a water pistol but it's mostly overnight so we didn't catch them. Just bought a motion sensor water sprayer to try. It's costing me a fortune.

02-09-2021, 09:32 PM
I have 2 sonic things in our small garden which go off during the night but the cats just poop behind them or away from them , I put chicken wire over the borders to try and break the habit and they used my path instead. We tried a water pistol but it's mostly overnight so we didn't catch them. Just bought a motion sensor water sprayer to try. It's costing me a fortune.

Get a cheap box of dry cat food and scatter some over garden.
They wont **** where they think there is food.
It was the only thing that worked for us.

Jay
02-09-2021, 09:35 PM
Get a cheap box of dry cat food and scatter some over garden.
They wont **** where they think there is food.
It was the only thing that worked for us.

Really? I've never heard this. I'll try anything. I'm sick of shovelling up 3 or 4 *****s every morning, especially as one appears to be ill every night! I live with my 2 year old grandson and we can't let him use the garden until its checked and cleaned

03-09-2021, 04:45 AM
Really? I've never heard this. I'll try anything. I'm sick of shovelling up 3 or 4 *****s every morning, especially as one appears to be ill every night! I live with my 2 year old grandson and we can't let him use the garden until its checked and cleaned

I got one of these, not had any little presents from the neighbours cats since, your grandson will love it too.

https://youtu.be/PWy7dZTcZwE

03-09-2021, 06:22 AM
When you are all set to get the popcorn out and enjoy a right good rammy and someone spoils it by being all grown up and apologising.

😂😂😂

Jay
03-09-2021, 08:02 AM
I got one of these, not had any little presents from the neighbours cats since, your grandson will love it too.

https://youtu.be/PWy7dZTcZwE

That's exactly what we've just ordered , worse case scenario the wee man has a new toy :greengrin

03-09-2021, 11:40 AM
That's exactly what we've just ordered , worse case scenario the wee man has a new toy :greengrin

The best thing is that it obviously has a learn effect on the Moggies. They get a couple of drubbings and then don't come back.

03-09-2021, 12:06 PM

I love doing that. It’s so satisfying!

Jay
04-09-2021, 10:58 AM
The best thing is that it obviously has a learn effect on the Moggies. They get a couple of drubbings and then don't come back.

First night, clean garden this morning. I heard it go off a 3 or 4 times overnight so hopefully it got most of the neighbourhood cats :greengrin

04-09-2021, 04:52 PM
The Janey Godley Covid ad. Usual lazy assumption that all Scots just love the weegie banter. Beyond awful.

04-09-2021, 05:02 PM
The Janey Godley Covid ad. Usual lazy assumption that all Scots just love the weegie banter. Beyond awful.

She’s drastically unfunny.

04-09-2021, 06:31 PM

Covid ads in general.

We could and should have really informative stuff. In particular some information about how the early symptoms of delta are quite different from the ones everyone knows about from last year.

Instead we have Jason Leitch standing on an island for some reason and Janey Godley doing her prefoessional weegie act. I've seen a few of the ones in England and they are every bit as bad.

It's like they think we are all a bunch of thickos who need to be spoken to on 'our level'.

05-09-2021, 08:00 AM
She’s drastically unfunny.

Yeah, she's horrendous along with that idiot Susan Calman.

05-09-2021, 08:16 AM
Covid ads in general.

We could and should have really informative stuff. In particular some information about how the early symptoms of delta are quite different from the ones everyone knows about from last year.

Instead we have Jason Leitch standing on an island for some reason and Janey Godley doing her prefoessional weegie act. I've seen a few of the ones in England and they are every bit as bad.

It's like they think we are all a bunch of thickos who need to be spoken to on 'our level'.Maybe they think it's the thickos that are left to get it :greengrin

But yup, I tend to agree.

On the Janey G chat... I think some of her voice overs were funny but she's rank in anything else I've seen of her.

05-09-2021, 08:17 AM
Yeah, she's horrendous along with that idiot Susan Calman.How is she an idiot?

05-09-2021, 08:25 AM
Yeah, she's horrendous along with that idiot Susan Calman.

As I'm sure you know, Susan Calman is a qualified lawyer, that fact alone means if she is an idiot you must be pretty close to the bottom of any intellectual table.

05-09-2021, 11:49 AM
As I'm sure you know, Susan Calman is a qualified lawyer, that fact alone means if she is an idiot you must be pretty close to the bottom of any intellectual table.

No idea about Susan but having a qualification doesn’t stop someone from being an idiot. I give you Boris Johnson as exhibit A!

I come across many well educated idiots all the time in life while some of the smartest people I know hardly have a certificate between them.

Bangkok Hibby
05-09-2021, 12:35 PM
No idea about Susan but having a qualification doesn’t stop someone from being an idiot. I give you Boris Johnson as exhibit A!

I come across many well educated idiots all the time in life while some of the smartest people I know hardly have a certificate between them.

Absolutely spot on. Lost count of the number of total half-wits promoted beyond their capabilities because they had a good education/degree.

05-09-2021, 12:41 PM
I still don't know why Susan Calman's an idiot.

05-09-2021, 12:45 PM

I enjoyed her secret Scotland series.

05-09-2021, 01:14 PM

We will have a long wait!! People say things like that when they are incapable, or perhaps not intelligent enough to explain what they mean. Now that is an idiot!! 😉

05-09-2021, 01:23 PM
She might not be an idiot but, she certainly isn't funny.

05-09-2021, 02:10 PM
She might not be an idiot but, she certainly isn't funny.

I've seen her live twice and she is very different to what you get in short clips on YouTube. She is very sharp and heckler beware.

05-09-2021, 02:16 PM
I've seen her live twice and she is very different to what you get in short clips on YouTube. She is very sharp and heckler beware.

I wouldn't go looking for clips of her, I saw all I needed to see with her cringeworthy efforts on Mock the Week.

05-09-2021, 02:50 PM
I wouldn't go looking for clips of her, I saw all I needed to see with her cringeworthy efforts on Mock the Week.

That's confirmed what I said. Short bits don't tell you enough to be able to form an informed opinion.

What you see on a game show in no way represents the comedian.

05-09-2021, 03:00 PM
That's confirmed what I said. Short bits don't tell you enough to be able to form an informed opinion.

What you see on a game show in no way represents the comedian.

I'm quite sure I'm not missing out, if you like her that's fine too.

EH6 Hibby
05-09-2021, 08:07 PM
I quite like Susan Calman. She’s not the funniest person I’ve seen but she’s ok and she doesn’t take herself too seriously. Jane Godley is awful, I currently have to mute an advert on stv and the COVID adverts on the radio, because her voice is like nails down a blackboard to me.

CloudSquall
05-09-2021, 08:57 PM
My problem with Jane Godley is her type of humour is the type that everyone knows deep down is horrendously pish but weegies force themselves to laugh their heads of at it because it's Glaswegian and therefore it HAS to be funny.

05-09-2021, 09:43 PM
Covid ads in general.
It's like they think we are all a bunch of thickos who need to be spoken to on 'our level'.

Unfortunately you cant do three or four adverts depending on intellect. In a GB population factoring in who is watching the telly, you have to go to the lowest common denominator (or Sun readers) if I can display some prejudice. The basic message is still "Dont be a dick"

05-09-2021, 09:49 PM
My problem with Jane Godley is her type of humour is the type that everyone knows deep down is horrendously pish but weegies force themselves to laugh their heads of at it because it's Glaswegian and therefore it HAS to be funny.Glasgow was famously the toughest audience for many comedians. Morcombe and Wise often got a hard time. My favourite anecdote was about Mike and Bernie Winters. Some on this board might have to google them. Mike opened the show solo and was dying on his erse, Bernie came on to silence, broken by a lone voice"Christ, there's two of them..."

06-09-2021, 12:14 AM
Folk who announce on social media that going out with their wife is a “date night”

Only made even worse when they call it a “Cheeky wee date night”

Bangkok Hibby
06-09-2021, 04:09 AM
Folk who announce on social media that going out with their wife is a “date night”

Only made even worse when they call it a “Cheeky wee date night”

Aaaargghh!!! Cheeky wee anything is extremely cringeworthy. Was exclusively weedgie when I lived in Scotland but probably spreading like the virus.

06-09-2021, 07:55 AM
Absolutely spot on. Lost count of the number of total half-wits promoted beyond their capabilities because they had a good education/degree.

Have we met?

Mikey_1875
06-09-2021, 12:48 PM
Businesses that quote a price to the public without VAT.

Especially ones that don’t tell you this until the bill arrives.

Bangkok Hibby
06-09-2021, 01:16 PM
Have we met?

Haha I'll confidently say no. None were Hibbies 😄

pollution
06-09-2021, 05:46 PM
Businesses that give an Edinburgh address but are in Dalkeith !

CloudSquall
07-09-2021, 10:51 PM
Scraping your car against a wall.

Bangkok Hibby
08-09-2021, 06:22 AM

Whilst taking a tight turn in a multi storey car park in a hire car you refused to take the excess insurance on 😡

08-09-2021, 07:12 AM

Whilst taking a tight turn in a multi storey car park in a hire car you refused to take the excess insurance on 😡

Have we 'veered off' to the Driving Pet Peeves?

08-09-2021, 07:38 AM
Have we 'veered off' to the Driving Pet Peeves?

This thread has become a car crash!

pollution
08-09-2021, 11:17 AM
Trying to find highlights of last night's match only to click on to a home made Subbuteo version.

Who would bother making that and why ?

CloudSquall
08-09-2021, 11:43 AM

Guilty as charged, I did the exact same thing in March.

From the inside of the car it sounded like I'd barely tapped the wall, when I got out and looked at the damage it looked as if I'd been in a destruction derby.

09-09-2021, 06:32 AM
Kay Burley, I've never been a fan but listening to her whistling through her new set of gnashers is simply intolerable.

09-09-2021, 08:35 AM
People moaning about paper straws from McDonald's, take the lid off and drink your coke like a bloody adult.

Jay
09-09-2021, 08:54 AM
People moaning about paper straws from McDonald's, take the lid off and drink your coke like a bloody adult.

Not the easiest thing to do in a moving car :greengrin

09-09-2021, 09:01 AM
Not the easiest thing to do in a moving car :greengrin

Actually against the law to eat or drink in a moving vehicle. :greengrin

Jay
09-09-2021, 09:22 AM

Well someone needs to tell McDonalds drive thrus . First I've heard of that. My 2 year old grandson is already a law breaker :greengrin

09-09-2021, 12:25 PM
Well someone needs to tell McDonalds drive thrus . First I've heard of that. My 2 year old grandson is already a law breaker :greengrin

Only if he was driving :greengrin

09-09-2021, 01:59 PM

Is it? I didn't think it was...

Thought it was one of those ones you're allowed to do but if it results in dangerous driving you get done for that. :dunno:

09-09-2021, 03:48 PM
Is it? I didn't think it was...

Thought it was one of those ones you're allowed to do but if it results in dangerous driving you get done for that. :dunno:

Meant to have both hands free to control the vehicle, same as having a phone to your ear, it's distracting you whilst driving. TBH the police very seldom stop you for it but as you say you'll only get done for dangerous driving if you have an accident.

Jay
09-09-2021, 03:53 PM
Only if he was driving :greengrin

Well that's not what you said:na na:

10-09-2021, 03:57 PM
Older people who jump the queue and their attitude when they get pulled up for it.

10-09-2021, 05:14 PM
Older people who jump the queue and their attitude when they get pulled up for it.

My dad and i got a ticking off from US Homeland Security in Newark airport a few years ago for pulling up an older Scottish couple on the same flight home as us for exactly this. They tried giving us a deaf ear as they tried to slide their way into the queue, until they ended up with us standing right behind the, (as they still worked on getting into the queue), and eventually shuffled down the line towards the end

homeland security weren’t too chuffed at us being quite firm and vocal that they older couple should stop being ignorant and join the queue like everyone else

11-09-2021, 01:59 PM
Washing machine packed in. Replacement bring put in on Monday but needed a load done so took it to the laundrette.

Five quid to stick a load into a machine for a twenty minute cycle! Extortionate.

Bangkok Hibby
11-09-2021, 02:07 PM
Washing machine packed in. Replacement bring put in on Monday but needed a load done so took it to the laundrette.

Five quid to stick a load into a machine for a twenty minute cycle! Extortionate.

80 pence here. Rip off Britain....again!

Santa Cruz
11-09-2021, 07:00 PM
Expiry dates on food and medicine. I can spend a few minutes turning the item round and round to find it only to then struggle to read it usually when it is indented onto the item instead of printed in a different colour to the packaging.

11-09-2021, 07:25 PM
Expiry dates on food and medicine. I can spend a few minutes turning the item round and round to find it only to then struggle to read it usually when it is indented onto the item instead of printed in a different colour to the packaging.

I'm sure there's a reason for it but packaging that has 'for best before see.....'

Or you could have just printed it here.

11-09-2021, 11:02 PM
I'm sure there's a reason for it but packaging that has 'for best before see.....'

Or you could have just printed it here.

Totally! You always find that part first.

Then eventually find the date printed really faintly in a colour and size of font that makes it almost impossible to decipher!

11-09-2021, 11:02 PM

Or you could have just printed it here.It may not always be the case, but in some instances it's because the language on the packaging will change but the date stamp stays the same.

11-09-2021, 11:54 PM
TV Adverts for upcoming programs. Every break for 6 weeks before the program starts. Then every break with a "continue watching " tag once it's broadcast. E4's Holden Girls being the current worst. Side peeve, if it's not a mocumentary then we have jumped the shark based on these ads.

CloudSquall
13-09-2021, 01:00 PM
Neighbours (especially those in apartments) who start DIY projects without giving you a heads up.

Bangkok Hibby
13-09-2021, 01:55 PM
Kevin Nisbet....signed for us July 2020, rumours/talk about him from the previous January transfer window. Mentioned many hundreds of times on here and elsewhere and people STILL can't make the effort to spell his name properly.

13-09-2021, 01:57 PM
Kevin Nisbet....signed for us July 2020, rumours/talk about him from the previous January transfer window. Mentioned many hundreds of times on here and elsewhere and people STILL can't make the effort to spell his name properly.

Typical nibs.net!

(That wasn't mine - I stole it! :greengrin)

Bangkok Hibby
13-09-2021, 02:20 PM
Typical nibs.net!

(That wasn't mine - I stole it! :greengrin)

😂😂😂👍🏻

Bangkok Hibby
13-09-2021, 02:32 PM
Any photographers amongst us? what's your views on some of the poetic, arty, plain gobbledegook text that accompanies photos on FB, Instagram etc?
For me its utter pretentious nonsense which only serves to detract from the photo.

14-09-2021, 09:11 AM
Dog poo. Just been downstairs to get a cup of coffee but hadn’t noticed that my girlfriend had stood in dog poo on her morning walk (she hadn’t realised) and dragged all through the house. I didn’t initially notice it (as we have brown wood flooring) and I was in my bare feet. Just had to wash my feet and now my coffee is cold!

14-09-2021, 10:00 AM
Orders that never turn up. My infrared sensor on my smart TV was broken so I ordered a new sensor. My TV has been lying on my workbench in the cellar for 6 weeks now and after several emails to the company where I placed and paid for the order, I've just been told they don't have the spare part to deliver it. ****ing fuming.

14-09-2021, 10:26 AM
Shop staff who tell you they don’t have a particular product and have never stocked it, this is then backed up by a supervisor who tells you they have never stocked it. Adamant that I have seen it on their shelves previously I look myself one more time and find the empty space on the shelving complete with shelf edge ticket, they do sell it!!!!!!

14-09-2021, 01:56 PM
Dog poo. Just been downstairs to get a cup of coffee but hadn’t noticed that my girlfriend had stood in dog poo on her morning walk (she hadn’t realised) and dragged all through the house. I didn’t initially notice it (as we have brown wood flooring) and I was in my bare feet. Just had to wash my feet and now my coffee is cold!

You should have just washed your feet with water instead.

14-09-2021, 02:54 PM
Shop staff who tell you they don’t have a particular product and have never stocked it, this is then backed up by a supervisor who tells you they have never stocked it. Adamant that I have seen it on their shelves previously I look myself one more time and find the empty space on the shelving complete with shelf edge ticket, they do sell it!!!!!!
Lazy staff backed up by incompetent management been going on as long as I can remember. Take them to where it should be and they'll shrug their shoulders muttering something to try and baffle you with their superior knowledge of the art of not filling shelves.

14-09-2021, 03:13 PM
Rip off retailers.

You used to get 6 pickled eggs in a jar for £2 in tescos pre lockdown. Post lockdown its now only 5 eggs in a jar but the price has shot up to £2.50 for 5 pickled eggs. **** off, robbing gits

14-09-2021, 05:07 PM
Greedy petrol stations, unfortunately my mk4 golf has to use super unleaded, went to put fuel in and the garage wanted £1.57 a litre, sane petrol at Craigleith is £1.38.

15-09-2021, 08:00 PM
Those Sumup adverts. Oooooooooooooooooooooohhhhhhhhhhhhh. **** off, twats.

BS44
15-09-2021, 09:45 PM
Rip off retailers.

You used to get 6 pickled eggs in a jar for £2 in tescos pre lockdown. Post lockdown its now only 5 eggs in a jar but the price has shot up to £2.50 for 5 pickled eggs. **** off, robbing gits

Are the eggs bigger?

17-09-2021, 05:23 AM
I've probably said it before, but posters using pejorative nicknames for people they're posting about (usually politicians on the Holy Ground).

Irrespective of the actual politics, it makes me stop reading their post instantly. At best it's immature; at worst it's trolling, "look at me" type behaviour that makes me think the post won't contain anything objective or insightful.

17-09-2021, 10:15 AM
I've probably said it before, but posters using pejorative nicknames for people they're posting about (usually politicians on the Holy Ground).

Irrespective of the actual politics, it makes me stop reading their post instantly. At best it's immature; at worst it's trolling, "look at me" type behaviour that makes me think the post won't contain anything objective or insightful.

I wouldn't mind as much if the nicknames were somewhat witty. Wee Nippy, Bozo etc is just chronic though.

17-09-2021, 05:11 PM
People who ask a question on the forum instead of getting the information from the Internet.

17-09-2021, 06:18 PM
People who ask a question on the forum instead of getting the information from the Internet.

I once took Hibbyradge to task over this and he said that he trusted the views of .netters far more than random websites :aok: