View Full Version : Pet Peeves IV
16-05-2021, 08:23 PM
Definitely.
It was all breakfast stuff they had though and it was the middle of the afternoon!
I was fancying a burger or something.I understand.
19-05-2021, 05:32 PM
People who pronounce the word 'particularly' as 'particuly'.
If they work on TV and are paid to speak for a living (news presenters, reporters, weather presenters) then surely there's no excuse for not knowing how to pronounce a very common word
EDIT: As I'm writing this, the weather presenter on BBC News just said it!
Bangkok Hibby
19-05-2021, 06:27 PM
If they work on TV and are paid to speak for a living (news presenters, reporters, weather presenters) then surely there's no excuse for not knowing how to pronounce a very common word
Very common on weather reports and they all say it.
19-05-2021, 07:11 PM
Oh, I could add a fair few to this list. Libry for library, febry, for February, plice for police
19-05-2021, 07:18 PM
Oh, I could add a fair few to this list. Libry for library, febry, for February, plice for police
Fravrite for favourite.
19-05-2021, 08:32 PM
Woman in my work says pacific instead of specific.
19-05-2021, 09:09 PM
Saying pacific isn't very specific, it's huge 😉
Fravrite for favourite.
Prolly for probably :rolleyes:
Santa Cruz
19-05-2021, 10:06 PM
I know a few people who say that.
Litrally instead of literally.
speedy_gonzales
19-05-2021, 10:21 PM
On the topic of pronunciation, or maybe enunciation.
There's a regular presenter on Channel 4's "A place in the sun", Jean Johannsson (wife of Jonatan) who when taking about shared pools insists on calling them "commonal" instead of "communal".
Bursts my heid every time!
20-05-2021, 07:31 AM
On the topic of pronunciation, or maybe enunciation.
There's a regular presenter on Channel 4's "A place in the sun", Jean Johannsson (wife of Jonatan) who when taking about shared pools insists on calling them "commonal" instead of "communal".
Bursts my heid every time!
Maybe she is just saying that you are common if you have to share your pool 😉
20-05-2021, 07:39 AM
People who hang bedsheets spray painted with “Happy 50th Sandra” or the like on them onto road signs and railings. Nobody cares and half the time they come loose and flap into traffic.
Santa Cruz
20-05-2021, 08:29 AM
People who hang bedsheets spray painted with “Happy 50th Sandra” or the like on them onto road signs and railings. Nobody cares and half the time they come loose and flap into traffic.
...and leave them there until Sandra's 53rd birthday. Crewe Toll is the worst for this.
Anyone who goes F instead of TH, Fink, Fanks. The Beast from the Chase does it all the time.
Bangkok Hibby
20-05-2021, 01:41 PM
The way Mick Jagger pronounces "Angie" in the song.
20-05-2021, 02:00 PM
The way Mick Jagger pronounces "Angie" in the song.
Do you mean Enjie? :wink:
20-05-2021, 02:09 PM
Do you mean Enjie? :wink:
No, he means A-yen-jee
20-05-2021, 02:10 PM
DefinATEly instead of definitely.
All the footballers do it - even our guys despite being perfect in every other way.
Bangkok Hibby
20-05-2021, 03:50 PM
No, he means A-yen-jee
Thats the one 🙁
Bangkok Hibby
20-05-2021, 03:51 PM
All the footballers do it - even our guys despite being perfect in every other way.
It was pretty much a weegie thing but far more widespread now.
20-05-2021, 04:03 PM
Tell that to Ian Buckles
21-05-2021, 01:35 PM
Bad customer service for no apparent reason.
Journey into Waverley this morning:
- Automatic ticket barriers not in operation, so one person checking tickets manually resulting in a big queue, folk grouped together and an unnecessary delay. I've arrived at the same platform four times over the past two weeks and the barriers have been out of operation each time.
- Sainsburys - massive queue at "manned" checkouts so folk being encouraged to use self-service. Red lights indicating problems on three of the self-service checkouts, but the only two staff members around are on the other checkouts.
- McDonalds - can only order on the app. Ask staff member why - says she doesn't know.
Was a great start to the day.
21-05-2021, 02:17 PM
Bad customer service for no apparent reason.
Journey into Waverley this morning:
- Automatic ticket barriers not in operation, so one person checking tickets manually resulting in a big queue, folk grouped together and an unnecessary delay. I've arrived at the same platform four times over the past two weeks and the barriers have been out of operation each time.
- Sainsburys - massive queue at "manned" checkouts so folk being encouraged to use self-service. Red lights indicating problems on three of the self-service checkouts, but the only two staff members around are on the other checkouts.
- McDonalds - can only order on the app. Ask staff member why - says she doesn't know.
Was a great start to the day.
Borders train by any chance?
I jump on it at Brunstane quite often and the barriers seems to be out of order more often than they are working.
21-05-2021, 04:05 PM
Borders train by any chance?
I jump on it at Brunstane quite often and the barriers seems to be out of order more often than they are working.
I’ve lost count of the number of freebies I’ve had on that journey. Sometimes there’s someone there to take your money, but more often than not there’s no one.
21-05-2021, 04:41 PM
Folk on Facebook Marketplace. I’ve been listing bits of furniture over the past couple of weeks prior to my house move next weekend. I’ve lost count of the number of messages I’ve had where it has gone:
Potential buyer: Hi, is this still available?
Me: Yes, it is.
Then absolutely nothing after that.
21-05-2021, 04:56 PM
Folk on Facebook Marketplace. I’ve been listing bits of furniture over the past couple of weeks prior to my house move next weekend. I’ve lost count of the number of messages I’ve had where it has gone:
The worst is people who make ridiculous offers.
I listed something recently at £50 (which was less than it was worth but I wanted a quick sale for space purposes).
'Will you take £10 for it?'
'No, £50 or a sensible offer'
'Fair enough will you take £15?'
21-05-2021, 05:30 PM
The worst is people who make ridiculous offers.
I listed something recently at £50 (which was less than it was worth but I wanted a quick sale for space purposes).
'Will you take £10 for it?'
'No, £50 or a sensible offer'
'Fair enough will you take £15?'
That’s so annoying too. I had a guy last weekend who offered way less than I had it on for and also wanted me to deliver a massive dining table to Coatbridge despite me clearly stating “collection only from EH7”
21-05-2021, 05:57 PM
Anyone who goes F instead of TH, Fink, Fanks. The Beast from the Chase does it all the time.
Thor Thuks sake .
21-05-2021, 06:26 PM
On the subject of private adverts, wildly over optimistic adverts.
The first is pricing. I buy old bangers of cars as I don’t like modern cars, but the amount of times you’ll see a 100k mile Corsa or Fiesta, fifteen years old in terrible condition and they’re asking over a grand for it is amazing.
Similarly “in amazing condition with no issues” for an old high mileage car is just not honest. There will always be something and if you mention it then you’re not wasting anybodies time. Usually accompanied by “no time wasters”.
21-05-2021, 06:28 PM
Nightingales, living in the country I'm more than used to the dawn chorus of the normal feathered friend variety, but these little *******s just don't stop. All ****ing night without a break they keep on and ****ing on. Think I've got a whole flock nesting in the trees next to my house and their call keeps changing between a 1990's mobile phone ringtone and a bin lorry reversing. Little *******s.
21-05-2021, 09:14 PM
On the subject of private adverts, wildly over optimistic adverts.
The first is pricing. I buy old bangers of cars as I don’t like modern cars, but the amount of times you’ll see a 100k mile Corsa or Fiesta, fifteen years old in terrible condition and they’re asking over a grand for it is amazing.
Similarly “in amazing condition with no issues” for an old high mileage car is just not honest. There will always be something and if you mention it then you’re not wasting anybodies time. Usually accompanied by “no time wasters”.
OK. From the other thread, 73k mileage 7 years old body work needs a bit of attention Renault captur diesel nav plus.
FSH MOT etc 😉
21-05-2021, 09:53 PM
I’m never selling anything on that site again. Murder.
I was selling my boys old PS4. I saw there was a few on for £100-110 so I thought I’d just put his on at £90 to get rid of it quickly.
Agreed a price, guy double checked the price, called me to check the price while he was at the cash machine....
Gave me £80 and hoped I wouldn’t notice, called him out on it and he started trying to negotiate me selling it for £80. Told him to get to **** and he hung about outside my house periodically increasing his offer by a pound or so at a time.
Ended up turning into a point of principe snd argued with the boy in the street for the sake of a pound or two.
I might be the dick there but the way the guy went about it really annoyed me.
22-05-2021, 12:20 AM
Restaurant no shows, the Italian restaurant next to us had two no shows tonight, one group of twelve and one table for two. Times are hard enough without erseholes making reservations and not turning up, all it takes is a phone call to cancel.
22-05-2021, 05:02 AM
I was selling my boys old PS4. I saw there was a few on for £100-110 so I thought I’d just put his on at £90 to get rid of it quickly.
Agreed a price, guy double checked the price, called me to check the price while he was at the cash machine....
Gave me £80 and hoped I wouldn’t notice, called him out on it and he started trying to negotiate me selling it for £80. Told him to get to **** and he hung about outside my house periodically increasing his offer by a pound or so at a time.
Ended up turning into a point of principe snd argued with the boy in the street for the sake of a pound or two.
:bitchy: You're not the dick there.
22-05-2021, 07:34 AM
Restaurant no shows, the Italian restaurant next to us had two no shows tonight, one group of twelve and one table for two. Times are hard enough without erseholes making reservations and not turning up, all it takes is a phone call to cancel.There's no excuse for that. I even call if we're going to be late.
Prior to things going tits up with Covid, a lot of restaurants here were starting to take deposits when you booked, especially during peak periods. Some folk were in uproar but I don't see the problem.
22-05-2021, 09:45 AM
There's no excuse for that. I even call if we're going to be late.
Prior to things going tits up with Covid, a lot of restaurants here were starting to take deposits when you booked, especially during peak periods. Some folk were in uproar but I don't see the problem.
In Fife some tour groups looking after VIP clients would book two or three places for lunch, dinner and for activities and give their clients the choice just before going there, no showing the other places. Completely ****my behaviour.
Santa Cruz
22-05-2021, 11:26 AM
You were quite right. Happened to me a few times on Gumtree, won't use it again for that reason. Happened to me once with a good quality oak dining table, bloke was a landlord, tried to haggle, didn't want to deal in cash. I ended up giving it to my neighbour who had just moved o Edinburgh and was saving for a deposit for a house. I'd rather give my stuff away than have my time wasted by really obvious chancers (not all are, but too many for my liking).
22-05-2021, 05:40 PM
You were quite right. Happened to me a few times on Gumtree, won't use it again for that reason. Happened to me once with a good quality oak dining table, bloke was a landlord, tried to haggle, didn't want to deal in cash. I ended up giving it to my neighbour who had just moved o Edinburgh and was saving for a deposit for a house. I'd rather give my stuff away than have my time wasted by really obvious chancers (not all are, but too many for my liking).
I tried giving away a fire surround and the hassle was incredible. People asking ludicrous questions, wanting it delivered, someone arrived in a ****ing Micra and wasn’t happy that I hadn’t put in the advert that they’d need a bigger vehicle to collect.
22-05-2021, 08:04 PM
“Accepting mediocrity”.
I accept the fact we lost today, that I can’t change that and am now having a lovely evening.
Some people to think that they need to be perma-angry if something doesn’t go their way and I cannot begin to understand what life with that mindset must be like.
22-05-2021, 09:26 PM
“Accepting mediocrity”.
I accept the fact we lost today, that I can’t change that and am now having a lovely evening.
Some people to think that they need to be perma-angry if something doesn’t go their way and I cannot begin to understand what life with that mindset must be like.
I'm not a fan of the phrase you refer to but that there are posters on here who have hardly said a bad word about Hibs in years but are angry tonight and rightly so. Genuinely glad you are having a lovely evening, I'm miserable and still raging.
22-05-2021, 10:07 PM
I had a very similar experience with a guy who'd agreed to buy a drinks cabinet for £100. Turned up and offered £80 with no explanation for the drop. It was prob worth £200 so told him we'd agreed £100. He then handed me £90 without acknowledging it was £10 short.
We ended up arguing with him trying to give me an extra tenner and me trying to give him his £90 back as I'd decided not to sell to him. He ended up offering £120 but I still told him no on principle. It was totally cutting off my nose to spite my face and my wife was raging, but I don't regret it. Ended up selling for £60 to a really nice older couple.
24-05-2021, 04:11 PM
We ended up arguing with him trying to give me an extra tenner and me trying to give him his £90 back as I'd decided not to sell to him. He ended up offering £120 but I still told him no on principle. It was totally cutting off my nose to spite my face and my wife was raging, but I don't regret it. Ended up selling for £60 to a really nice older couple.
Well done. :agree:
28-05-2021, 08:23 PM
Janey Godley. She’s on Have I Got News For You now. Holy **** she’s the worst.
28-05-2021, 08:58 PM
I got rounded on by the women in my office for saying this the other day. They all love her and think her Sturgeon voice over things are comedy genius. I got called all sorts for standing by my point.
She's pish and about as funny as a boot in the baws with steel toe capped boots. That's nothing to do with her being a woman either, as was insinuated in my work. There are loads of funny women, she just isn't one of them.
28-05-2021, 09:03 PM
I got rounded on by the women in my office for saying this the other day. They all love her and think her Sturgeon voice over things are comedy genius. I got called all sorts for standing by my point.
She's pish and about as funny as a boot in the baws with steel toe capped boots. That's nothing to do with her being a woman either, as was insinuated in my work. There are loads of funny women, she just isn't one of them.I found her Sturgeon things funny enough the first couple of times I heard them but it wears thin pretty quickly.
28-05-2021, 09:08 PM
She's pish and about as funny as a boot in the baws with steel toe capped boots. That's nothing to do with her being a woman either, as was insinuated in my work. There are loads of funny women, she just isn't one of them.
I saw her one woman stand up show a few years ago and she can be very funny, but I can understand people not taking to her if they only see what is on TV.
Just watched it. She was awful. I think she has her funny moments in a couple of her wee videos but that was cringeworthy I dont know if it was anti English but defo pro scottish and I think the others were fed up with her too. The whole of scotland? Dont think so.
Santa Cruz
29-05-2021, 06:24 AM
Just watched it. She was awful. I think she has her funny moments in a couple of her wee videos but that was cringeworthy I dont know if it was anti English but defo pro scottish and I think the others were fed up with her too. The whole of scotland? Dont think so.
Agree. The first video was funny, she's dined out on them now. I think she tried to become the spokesperson for Scotland last night to get herself trending on twitter, it's a self promotion thing.
David Mitchell on the other hand, very funny in general and good to hear him speaking out against the BBC last night, brave when they're paying your wage. His wife is brilliant when she hosts the show too.
She was embarrassing and the excellent David Mitchell played her well by just ignoring her, which is what everyone should do.
David Mitchell is somebody I've never really had much of an opinion on either way but he was outstanding last night
30-05-2021, 07:43 AM
Again going back to private advertisements, “First to see will buy”. It’s fairly over confident, this was on a Ford Fiesta I travelled twelve miles to view and turned it down within five minutes of arriving as it was rusty underneath. They wanted a reasonable amount for it too.
30-05-2021, 10:31 AM
Nursery graduation events and proms.
WTF?
11-06-2021, 06:43 PM
My girlfriend keeps the remote controls next to the TV… so you have to get up when you want to change the channel. She doesn’t get that the clue is in the name (granted not many people actually call it a remote control).
11-06-2021, 08:26 PM
Nick Ferrari. LBC was on at work and I have to ask, what qualifies this guy to host a topical phone in show? Uncharismatic, never sounds like he’s done enough research, ill informed, arrogant nobody.
They covered a story where John Lewis are going to make maternity leave and paternity leave equal. Great news.
Started off with adding a “whatever that means” to the end of JL’s press release statement that said it would apply to employees “however they became a parent” (is adoption or surrogacy really difficult to summon up for that?), appeared to call it part of the “woke agenda”, then asking how they could do that when they’ve shut stores and made some people redundant ( as if not improving working conditions for existing employees is the answer).
He then brings on an expert who says that she thinks it’s a very positive move to which he mutters “here we go”. Through her piece all you hear is breathing, sighing, shuffling of papers and the like. Extremely rude.
No idea how this talentless fat blob gets air time.
11-06-2021, 08:44 PM
Nick Ferrari. LBC was on at work and I have to ask, what qualifies this guy to host a topical phone in show? Uncharismatic, never sounds like he’s done enough research, ill informed, arrogant nobody.
They covered a story where John Lewis are going to make maternity leave and paternity leave equal. Great news.
Started off with adding a “whatever that means” to the end of JL’s press release statement that said it would apply to employees “however they became a parent” (is adoption or surrogacy really difficult to summon up for that?), appeared to call it part of the “woke agenda”, then asking how they could do that when they’ve shut stores and made some people redundant ( as if not improving working conditions for existing employees is the answer).
He then brings on an expert who says that she thinks it’s a very positive move to which he mutters “here we go”. Through her piece all you hear is breathing, sighing, shuffling of papers and the like. Extremely rude.
He’s a complete knob.
It’s such a shame James O’Brien is a colleague of his because I’d love to see him rip Ferrari to bits.
12-06-2021, 10:24 AM
Ratings.
CloudSquall
12-06-2021, 12:49 PM
She had a few good moments in the early Sturgeon videos she did but it quickly nosedived to sub par pish to put it mildly that Glaswegians would pretend to find hilariously funny because of their need to constantly pat themselves on the back about how funny they are.
Alfiembra
14-06-2021, 06:49 AM
When the music and the singing of the national anthems on tv broadcasts at the footy are out of sync. I understand why it happens but there must be some way in modern technology to get it to appear even remotely close, maybe not have close ups of the players etc while it’s happening.
14-06-2021, 10:39 PM
When the music and the singing of the national anthems on tv broadcasts at the footy are out of sync. I understand why it happens but there must be some way in modern technology to get it to appear even remotely close, maybe not have close ups of the players etc while it’s happening.
Best way would be for the fans to sing it in time to the music?
14-06-2021, 11:44 PM
Best way would be for the fans to sing it in time to the music?
Or not at all.......
15-06-2021, 07:26 AM
Or not at all.......
Why should fans not sing a national anthem? 🙄
15-06-2021, 07:46 AM
They get it right at the rugby with the lone piper on the roof, she plays them in so everyone can get the timing right. Difficult when the anthems are coming through the speakers.
15-06-2021, 09:09 AM
People who don't get what it means to live in a flat. We are in an airbnb for a couple of months between house moves and I believe the flat has actually been empty for almost two years as the host only rents it out in the summer and she didn't last year due to Covid.
Just had the downstairs neighbour knock on the door and complain "I think you've just moved in as we haven't heard any movement for a while, we're used to no noise, so can you please not walk or talk during the day it is being picked up on my Teams calls".
So, we are expected not to walk around our flat? I'm expected not to speak on my own Teams calls? We aren't jumping or stomping around or anything. I'm not shouting on my calls. The floor doesn't noticeably make a noise when you walk.
15-06-2021, 09:31 AM
People who don't get what it means to live in a flat. We are in an airbnb for a couple of months between house moves and I believe the flat has actually been empty for almost two years as the host only rents it out in the summer and she didn't last year due to Covid.
Just had the downstairs neighbour knock on the door and complain "I think you've just moved in as we haven't heard any movement for a while, we're used to no noise, so can you please not walk or talk during the day it is being picked up on my Teams calls".
So, we are expected not to walk around our flat? I'm expected not to speak on my own Teams calls? We aren't jumping or stomping around or anything. I'm not shouting on my calls. The floor doesn't noticeably make a noise when you walk.
Many years ago when we lived in a flat, the elderly upstairs neighbour knocked on our door to tell us she could hear our new born son crying and she was used to quiet during the day. If we could also think of wearing headphones while we watch the TV as she does it would be greatly appreciated. Oh and one last thing, I expect you will do some minor work and renovations, please remember not to make noise during the day.!
15-06-2021, 09:41 AM
I'd tell them there are some lovely isolated country properties for sale. Knock on my door again only if you want a hand loading the removal van.
Politely tell them to go **** themselves cheeky *******s.
15-06-2021, 11:11 AM
I saw a story at the weekend about a village in the cotswolds that was told they could no longer ring the church bells. Someone who had moved into the village complained to the council and that one complaint was enough for the council to issue a noise abatement notice.
Santa Cruz
15-06-2021, 10:49 PM
Similar happened to me years ago. I lived alone, had a f/t and p/t job so spent hardly anytime in my flat what with having a social life too, never had a single house party Came home from my f/t job to get my tea before going to my evening job, knock at the door from a fairly young newish neighbour saying she could hear me walking about. I said yeah this is true, politely at this point trying not to lol in her face. She said can I suggest you wear slippers cos that's what I do. I explained I was only home for about 30mins and left it at that. A wee while passed and I was leaving really early one morning for work when she appeared at her door as I passed, mentioned again the need for me to purchase slippers, I told her I didn't have the time to listen to her as I was rushing to work and to see me later. Never heard from her for months, then she knocked my door again, this time she said she could hear my TV and what she did was use headphones and suggested I considered doing the same. She said she done it as a consideration for me and could I do the same. I told her there was no need to consider me because I was barely home and had never been bothered by the previous owners watching their TV, so I wouldn't be doing the same. I just wondered how she could have had a more ideal neighbour in a flat than a single person, working and barely spending any time in the house.
15-06-2021, 11:11 PM
My first night in a rented flat when I was 18, there was a knock on the door about 10pm. It was an elderly lady who explained that that she lived downstairs and water was pouring into her flat from mine.
After a quick check of the bathroom and kitchen, I turned off the water and headed downstairs. Sure enough her flat was under about a foot of water. I soon found the source of the leak was under her sink. I managed to implement a temporary fix for her, but I was there til after midnight helping her clear up. I explained to her what had happened and what she needed to do to get it fixed permanently and she was very grateful.
About 6 weeks later, she posted a note through my door asking for £3k for the damage I'd caused! I spoke to her the next day and whilst she remembered loads about that night, her recollection was the leak had been from my flat. She also couldn't remember me spending more than two hours helping her clear up.
I can only assume she was at it but to this day I'm not 100% certain.
15-06-2021, 11:16 PM
Some people have no respect for their neighbours right to peace and quiet at certain times of the day and rightly need to be called out about it. Just a couple of days ago my neighbour was banging on my door and ringing the bell at 3 o'clock in the morning, that's just a no go for me and ringing people's bells or calling them between the hours of 21:00 and 8am is completely disrespectful. Luckily I was still awake at the time practising my bagpipes.
16-06-2021, 05:09 AM
My girlfriend keeps the remote controls next to the TV… so you have to get up when you want to change the channel. She doesn’t get that the clue is in the name (granted not many people actually call it a remote control).
Could she perhaps, without saying as much, be trying to train you not to channel-hop? :dunno:
16-06-2021, 05:37 AM
E-scooters.
Or more specifically fully grown adults, and it always seems to be men, careering about the pavements on them with no attempt to avoid wiping out everything in their path. If you don't get out their way they aren't stopping.
16-06-2021, 06:16 AM
Bangkok Hibby
16-06-2021, 06:51 AM
E-scooters.
Or more specifically fully grown adults, and it always seems to be men, careering about the pavements on them with no attempt to avoid wiping out everything in their path. If you don't get out their way they aren't stopping.
Who are the target customers? Loads over here, as you say mostly men and I just can't understand why you would buy one 🤔
16-06-2021, 09:18 AM
Who are the target customers? 🤔
****s
16-06-2021, 09:23 AM
E-scooters.
Are they not illegal to use in public with the exception of a few trial schemes?
16-06-2021, 12:09 PM
My first night in a rented flat when I was 18, there was a knock on the door about 10pm. It was an elderly lady who explained that that she lived downstairs and water was pouring into her flat from mine.
After a quick check of the bathroom and kitchen, I turned off the water and headed downstairs. Sure enough her flat was under about a foot of water. I soon found the source of the leak was under her sink. I managed to implement a temporary fix for her, but I was there til after midnight helping her clear up. I explained to her what had happened and what she needed to do to get it fixed permanently and she was very grateful.
About 6 weeks later, she posted a note through my door asking for £3k for the damage I'd caused! I spoke to her the next day and whilst she remembered loads about that night, her recollection was the leak had been from my flat. She also couldn't remember me spending more than two hours helping her clear up.
I can only assume she was at it but to this day I'm not 100% certain.Reminded me of a Christmas day episode. We lived top flat and there was a knock on the door from the couple on the bottom. My wife's bath came through to them as backwash and what were we going to do about it? There was a blockage below ground and this tipped it over. While we were sympathetic to the issue what were they expecting us to do? Grant access to a plumber to their flat? Didn't even ask us to limit water going down the pipes..
Sent from my SM-G965F using Tapatalk
16-06-2021, 01:10 PM
People that don’t realise how insurance claims work and think they have no need to contact their own insurers.
16-06-2021, 01:13 PM
People that don’t realise how insurance claims work and think they have no need to contact their own insurers.
Car insurance renewal. Broker gave me a renewal quote about £15 less than last year but charged £30 renewal administration fee. Saved £40 going elsewhere, turns out its the same underwriters and with lower excess 😁
CloudSquall
16-06-2021, 01:25 PM
E-scooters.
Here in Argentina the users appear to be exclusively lower level management types that get off on the phrase "LinkedIn content creation".
CloudSquall
18-06-2021, 10:09 AM
The overuse of the term "imposter syndrome" on social media to disguise a not so humble brag. I'm not arguing that it isn't an actual condition for some, but the need for a dopamine hit on social media has reduced it's meaning to "attention seeking".
"I've just been promoted to a senior management position at 28 years old and I earn 125k a year and I'm responsible for the global supply network of a multinational company and I'm suffering from imposter syndrome"
Social Media translation - "LOOK AT ME!!!!!!!!!!"
21-06-2021, 12:27 PM
People who wheel their baskets around in Lidl tripping up everyone in sight. You’re not five years old, pick it up ffs.
21-06-2021, 02:14 PM
Utterly dreadful songs from the 70s/80s or whatever being rebranded as classics and dominating adverts, football chants, darts walk-ons etc.
Sweet Caroline and Yes Sir I Can Boogie are the 2 most obvious examples but there are so many bad 80s songs in ads, All By Myself being another example.
Utterly dreadful songs from the 70s/80s or whatever being rebranded as classics and dominating adverts, football chants, darts walk-ons etc.
Sweet Caroline and Yes Sir I Can Boogie are the 2 most obvious examples but there are so many bad 80s songs in ads, All By Myself being another example.You didn't give any examples of utterly dreadful songs!
Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk
21-06-2021, 03:05 PM
You didn't give any examples of utterly dreadful songs!
Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk
That Bonnie Tyler song then?!!??
OK.
21-06-2021, 06:18 PM
What about England fans singing the british national anthem, they are that thick that the bloody song is ours as well as theirs.
Too arrogant/thick to find one of their own. :faf:
21-06-2021, 10:11 PM
What about England fans singing the british national anthem, they are that thick that the bloody song is ours as well as theirs.
Too arrogant/thick to find one of their own. :faf:
They’re more than welcome to it as far as I’m concerned 😉
22-06-2021, 12:03 PM
They’re more than welcome to it as far as I’m concerned 😉
They are too daft to realise it's not their national anthem. :greengrin
22-06-2021, 12:09 PM
They are too daft to realise it's not their national anthem. :greengrin
It took them centuries to realise the Union Flag was not the English flag, so no real surprise.
22-06-2021, 02:40 PM
It took them centuries to realise the Union Flag was not the English flag, so no real surprise.
:agree: I think most of them still dont know that. :faf:
Bangkok Hibby
22-06-2021, 04:22 PM
I've no idea why this has just sprung to mind, but the English version of the Hokey Cokey and the rah rah rah bollocks.
Santa Cruz
22-06-2021, 05:40 PM
I've no idea why this has just sprung to mind, but the English version of the Hokey Cokey and the rah rah rah bollocks.
I had no idea there was two versions. We must have been taught the English version at school cos we all rah rah'd.
23-06-2021, 08:49 PM
Excessive security on online accounts. I had to log on to my online banking for something urgent earlier but my phone wasn’t to hand but I was on my laptop anyway. I would normally do this on my phone where the app just accepts facial recognition. However, to get in on the actual website I had to:
- Enter my user ID (had to do a reminder to get this)
- Enter my password
- Enter my security number
This wasn’t enough and was where I found out you need your phone to get in on the website because I then had to:
- Go onto the app to click a button saying that yes, I did want into my account on the website
- Wait for a text to enter a one time code.
- Enter the one time code.
What a waste of time!!
23-06-2021, 09:00 PM
Excessive security on online accounts. I had to log on to my online banking for something urgent earlier but my phone wasn’t to hand but I was on my laptop anyway. I would normally do this on my phone where the app just accepts facial recognition. However, to get in on the actual website I had to:
- Enter my password
This wasn’t enough and was where I found out you need your phone to get in on the website because I then had to:
- Go onto the app to click a button saying that yes, I did want into my account on the website
What a waste of time!!Would you rather it was easier for someone to empty your accoumt?
23-06-2021, 09:07 PM
Would you rather it was easier for someone to empty your accoumt?
I would rather not have to go onto another medium (my phone) when I’m trying to enter via their website. What if my phone was broken?
It’s not just this example. When logging into my mobile phone account, I get a text saying that I will receive a code in around one minute. You then have to wait on the code and enter it. Then when you’re in it’s the same rigmarole when you click to go on several screens - text saying you’ll get a OTC in around a minute, etc.
There’s a balance between security and user experience. I think they’ve gone too far towards security over user experience.
EH6 Hibby
23-06-2021, 09:17 PM
I would rather not have to go onto another medium (my phone) when I’m trying to enter via their website. What if my phone was broken?
It’s not just this example. When logging into my mobile phone account, I get a text saying that I will receive a code in around one minute. You then have to wait on the code and enter it. Then when you’re in it’s the same rigmarole when you click to go on several screens - text saying you’ll get a OTC in around a minute, etc.
There’s a balance between security and user experience. I think they’ve gone too far towards security over user experience.
I work in fraud and could not disagree more. Even with everything you are stating, fraudsters are still getting access to people’s accounts.
23-06-2021, 09:49 PM
- Enter my password
What a waste of time!!
I feel you…it can be a bit of a pain for sure.
You can then add RBS needing me to use a card reader to then do anything once I’ve got into the account!
I get the need for security but could I find that damn card reader….[emoji2957][emoji2957]
23-06-2021, 10:16 PM
There’s a balance between security and user experience. I think they’ve gone too far towards security over user experience.Multi factor authentication is currently one of the safer options for accessing Personally Sensitive Information online. Were banks found guilty under GDPR of failing to conform with the legislation the fine could be as much as 4% of their annual turnover. Wait till Banks stop doing free banking...
24-06-2021, 05:05 PM
STV News having 2 presenters and doing half sentences each.
24-06-2021, 09:26 PM
Yep that's so stupid.
And the camera operators zooming on on people's hands when they're being interviewed about something stressful. I think BBC Scotland are equally as guilty of that one.
25-06-2021, 07:50 AM
And in different studios, 1 in Glasgow and 1 in Edinburgh. (and Aberdeen if you are in the North)
25-06-2021, 08:18 PM
Watching TV with someone constantly on their phone so all you get every couple of minutes is “what did they say?”
25-06-2021, 08:48 PM
Watching TV with someone constantly on their phone so all you get every couple of minutes is “what did they say?”What did you say?
Bangkok Hibby
26-06-2021, 06:47 AM
Always been confused by, been critical of, ridiculed, hated, modern art. I've tried to understand but nobody will ever persuade me some of it isn't just a piss take to rob assholes with more money than sense.
I now give you "le sono" invisible sculpture. I'll let anyone interested google it but just to note, some prick paid 15 thousand euros for a certificate and instructions on how to display it!!!!;
26-06-2021, 07:35 AM
Always been confused by, been critical of, ridiculed, hated, modern art. I've tried to understand but nobody will ever persuade me some of it isn't just a piss take to rob assholes with more money than sense.
I now give you "le sono" invisible sculpture. I'll let anyone interested google it but just to note, some prick paid 15 thousand euros for a certificate and instructions on how to display it!!!!;
You see, I think that’s brilliant! Someone made £15k from nothing, made some people annoyed, some happy, some laugh.
It’s art.
26-06-2021, 07:44 AM
You see, I think that’s brilliant! Someone made £15k from nothing, made some people annoyed, some happy, some laugh.
It’s art.
Art is in the eye of the beholder 😉
Bangkok Hibby
26-06-2021, 07:52 AM
Unless its invisible!
Bangkok Hibby
26-06-2021, 07:54 AM
It’s art.
I kind of agree. Whilst not conceding its art, fair play to anyone who can con people into paying good money for utter nonsense.
26-06-2021, 07:58 AM
It’s art.
I broadly agree. I think with modern art part of the issue is people will react with a 'I could have done that'.
The point being: they didn't. If we take 2 examples of British art in relatively recent times both Damien Hirst's Spots series and Tracey Emin's My Bed provoke strong reactions. It's easy to say anyone could paint some coloured spots or let people look at their manky bedroom. The difference is the artists in question thought of it, conceptualised it and gave it a story that spoke to people and made them want to part with money for it.
I hadn't heard of the Lo Sono invisible sculpture until now. I would never have thought of it though and even if I did no one would have paid me for it because I don't have the body of work to support the given story.
For me art should be provocative and divisive. There's nothing more boring than everyone agreeing. I remember going to see the Mona Lisa and being totally underwhelmed. I'm not disputing it's a great and iconic painting, everyone thinks that, but we have all seen it thousands of times. People were crowded around it and it was a thoroughly depressing experience. Give me a Cecily Brown or Jean Michel Basquiat any day.
26-06-2021, 07:59 AM
I kind of agree. Whilst not conceding its art, fair play to anyone who can con people into paying good money for utter nonsense.
That has been said countless times over the centuries about things we now accept as art.
Bangkok Hibby
26-06-2021, 08:09 AM
That has been said countless times over the centuries about things we now accept as art.
Personally I'll never accept an unmade bed or something I can't see as art.
26-06-2021, 08:12 AM
And we all remember this
https://m.facebook.com/lostedinburgh/photos/1016112648446418
https://www-scotsman-com.cdn.ampproject.org/v/s/www.scotsman.com/whats-on/arts-and-entertainment/lost-edinburgh-kinetic-sculpture-1580896?amp_js_v=a6&_gsa=1&&usqp=mq331AQKKAFQArABIIACAw%3D%3D#aoh=162469492558 59&referrer=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.google.com&_tf=From%20%251%24s&share=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.scotsman.com%2Fwhats-on%2Farts-and-entertainment%2Flost-edinburgh-kinetic-sculpture-1580896
Bangkok Hibby
26-06-2021, 08:15 AM
And we all remember this
https://m.facebook.com/lostedinburgh/photos/1016112648446418
https://www-scotsman-com.cdn.ampproject.org/v/s/www.scotsman.com/whats-on/arts-and-entertainment/lost-edinburgh-kinetic-sculpture-1580896?amp_js_v=a6&_gsa=1&&usqp=mq331AQKKAFQArABIIACAw%3D%3D#aoh=162469492558 59&referrer=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.google.com&_tf=From%20%251%24s&share=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.scotsman.com%2Fwhats-on%2Farts-and-entertainment%2Flost-edinburgh-kinetic-sculpture-1580896
😄 from memory it cost 11 grand. An astonishing price back then.
26-06-2021, 08:30 AM
Personally I'll never accept an unmade bed or something I can't see as art.
...but your descendants might, which is partly my point. :greengrin
Many paintings and sculptures over the centuries were dismissed as soft porn or blasphemy. Our New Town was the object of a lot of resistance. And then there's Jack "painting by numbers" Vettriano. :greengrin
It's for future generations to make the call, sometimes, as to whether something has artistic merit. The Parliament is one that springs to mind. In 30 years time, people might be marvelling at its beauty, or maybe saying "Who in their right mind....?".
Art, and its consumption, is meant to be subjective, though :aok:
Bangkok Hibby
26-06-2021, 08:44 AM
...but your descendants might, which is partly my point. :greengrin
Many paintings and sculptures over the centuries were dismissed as soft porn or blasphemy. Our New Town was the object of a lot of resistance. And then there's Jack "painting by numbers" Vettriano. :greengrin
It's for future generations to make the call, sometimes, as to whether something has artistic merit. The Parliament is one that springs to mind. In 30 years time, people might be marvelling at its beauty, or maybe saying "Who in their right mind....?".
Art, and its consumption, is meant to be subjective, though :aok:
Yes I get it. And maybe I should frame this differently.
Is anything currently out there a pure piss take, just stealing money from idiots?...I'll say yes. Or will it all have a respected place in art history classes in the future?
26-06-2021, 08:50 AM
I now give you "le sono" invisible sculpture. I'll let anyone interested google it but just to note, some prick paid 15 thousand euros for a certificate and instructions on how to display it!!!!;I'm waiting until they're available from Wish.
26-06-2021, 08:51 AM
[emoji1] from memory it cost 11 grand. An astonishing price back then.£30k springs to mind.
26-06-2021, 09:33 AM
£30k springs to mind.
£11k according to the scotsman article.
Meanwhile, will the owner of the lo sono insure it and will the police believe it has been stolen 😉
26-06-2021, 09:47 AM
Yes I get it. And maybe I should frame this differently.
Is anything currently out there a pure piss take, just stealing money from idiots?...I'll say yes. Or will it all have a respected place in art history classes in the future?
How about we start with the new St James Centre?😯
26-06-2021, 09:58 AM
Or maybe the original one (which I worked on as an architectural technician 😳)
Bangkok Hibby
26-06-2021, 09:59 AM
Ah, I havent seen it 🙂
26-06-2021, 11:52 AM
I presume you are referring to the hotel which is the, em, prominent building of the development. 😉
26-06-2021, 11:58 AM
I presume you are referring to the hotel which is the, em, prominent building of the development. [emoji6]The Calton Coiler?
26-06-2021, 07:19 PM
I broadly agree. I think with modern art part of the issue is people will react with a 'I could have done that'.
The point being: they didn't. If we take 2 examples of British art in relatively recent times both Damien Hirst's Spots series and Tracey Emin's My Bed provoke strong reactions. It's easy to say anyone could paint some coloured spots or let people look at their manky bedroom. The difference is the artists in question thought of it, conceptualised it and gave it a story that spoke to people and made them want to part with money for it.
I hadn't heard of the Lo Sono invisible sculpture until now. I would never have thought of it though and even if I did no one would have paid me for it because I don't have the body of work to support the given story.
For me art should be provocative and divisive. There's nothing more boring than everyone agreeing. I remember going to see the Mona Lisa and being totally underwhelmed. I'm not disputing it's a great and iconic painting, everyone thinks that, but we have all seen it thousands of times. People were crowded around it and it was a thoroughly depressing experience. Give me a Cecily Brown or Jean Michel Basquiat any day.
For me that’s the crux of it. It’s not the idea or concept that’s at the heart of whether people would buy the art or not. People are in effect buying the brand (the artist) rather than the art/idea/concept on its own merit.
26-06-2021, 08:08 PM
For me that’s the crux of it. It’s not the idea or concept that’s at the heart of whether people would buy the art or not. People are in effect buying the brand (the artist) rather than the art/idea/concept on its own merit.Doesn't make it any less ridiculous.
26-06-2021, 08:16 PM
Doesn't make it any less ridiculous.
I think it’s a great idea. So much so that I’ve got myself replica of the invisible statue for my living room.
Open to offers, by the way.
26-06-2021, 08:49 PM
I hadn't heard of the Lo Sono invisible sculpture until now. I would never have thought of it though and even if I did no one would have paid me for it because I don't have the body of work to support the given story.....
So, are you saying that anything can be art, as long as the person already had a reputation as an artist and they're the one that thought of it first? And this is valid even if the art doesn't actually exist?
In which case, I have a framed and signed, invisible, non-fungible copy of the Hibs team holding aloft the Scottish cup they won in 2021... created by Damien Hirst.
It's yours for only 50,000 Bitcoins.
Logie Green
26-06-2021, 09:23 PM
Beauty is in the eye of the beer holder.
26-06-2021, 09:25 PM
Art is good and ****. I find some things valued at millions to be **** but some other things virtually worthless to be good. The value is that what someone is willing to pay for it regardless of mine or anyone else's opinion.
Bangkok Hibby
27-06-2021, 07:15 AM
Art is good and ****. I find some things valued at millions to be **** but some other things virtually worthless to be good. The value is that what someone is willing to pay for it regardless of mine or anyone else's opinion.
Totally agree, however nobody has really addressed my question. Are there "artists" out there just ripping the piss knowing gullible idiots will pay money for what they believe to be art. My opinion is a firm yes.
I've enjoyed this discussion....thanks to all.
Bangkok Hibby
27-06-2021, 07:18 AM
Next one....,"university of life" and "school of hard knocks" on fb profiles. At least try to be original.
27-06-2021, 09:05 AM
Totally agree, however nobody has really addressed my question. Are there "artists" out there just ripping the piss knowing gullible idiots will pay money for what they believe to be art. My opinion is a firm yes.
Funnily enough the German word for art is Kunst. It's also used to describe a skill. The skill/art of relieving fools of their hard earned money for example.
27-06-2021, 09:46 AM
I'd like to direct you to the story of The Emperor's New Clothes.
The Tailor was quite aware he was ripping the p1ss, so I'm sure some of these 'artists' are just as aware, but happy to take people's money.
In that story, the wee boy shouting 'he's got no clothes on' was enough to end the charade.
Nowadays, anybody doing something similar with so-called art is called a 'philistine', or told they're just not capable of understanding true art...
...Naw mate, it's a bl**dy unmade bed and the invisible statue doesn't actually exist, but if you've got money to burn and really are that thick, then you wire in.
27-06-2021, 09:54 AM
Art is good and ****. I find some things valued at millions to be **** but some other things virtually worthless to be good. The value is that what someone is willing to pay for it regardless of mine or anyone else's opinion.I'm really struggling to see how an invisible statue, ie. nothing, can be worth €15k.
Caversham Green
27-06-2021, 10:11 AM
Ah, I havent seen it 🙂
A bit like Le Sono then....
Anyway, my peeve is nothing to do with art - it's fireworks. Specifically loud fireworks set off on days that aren't 5th November.
I was feeling a bit rubbish last night (due to a lack of sleep on Friday night) so went to bed fairly early. I was just about dropping off when a LOUD volley of fireworks went off and lasted for about half an hour. It started around 10.15 I think so I guess it was some Italians celebrating a narrow win against Austria.
Bloody Italians.
pollution
27-06-2021, 11:28 AM
I'm really struggling to see how an invisible statue, ie. nothing, can be worth €15k.
It is a bit like the concept of money and bitcoin. As long as people accept that it is worth what it says on the eg banknote, it works.
Cash has been around for hundreds of years and is a true indicator of what it says it is; now card transactions are the next stage of that.
Bitcoin has a big big problem to overcome widespread acceptance in that it is not backed up by treasury foundations but it does work
among those who accept that it is worth what it says it is.
27-06-2021, 11:38 AM
It is a bit like the concept of money and bitcoin. As long as people accept that it is worth what it says on the eg banknote, it works.
Cash has been around for hundreds of years and is a true indicator of what it says it is; now card transactions are the next stage of that.
Bitcoin has a big big problem to overcome widespread acceptance in that it is not backed up by treasury foundations but it does work
among those who accept that it is worth what it says it is.If I was looking to buy something online and tried to pay in either bitcoin or invisible statues, I think I know which would be more readily accepted.
There's (almost) always been a virtual quality to currency. Objets d'art that dont exist on the other hand... [emoji848]
27-06-2021, 11:56 AM
I'm really struggling to see how an invisible statue, ie. nothing, can be worth €15k.
It's not necessary for something to have a physical presence in order for it to have value.
In any event, people who "collect" art don't do so solely because of how it looks. Even those who initially decide to buy based on appearance know they may pay more than what that being able to look at it is actually worth to them. There's an accepted increase in price based on what it might be worth to someone to "own" the piece, as well as how its value may appreciate in future. These latter considerations apply to the invisible piece as much as any other work.
27-06-2021, 11:58 AM
Social media influencers :jamboak::bye:
27-06-2021, 11:59 AM
It's not necessary for something to have a physical presence in order for it to have value.
In any event, people who "collect" art don't do so solely because of how it looks. Even those who initially decide to buy based on appearance know they may pay more than what that being able to look at it is actually worth to them. There's an accepted increase in price based on what it might be worth to someone to "own" the piece, as well as how its value may appreciate in future. These latter considerations apply to the invisible piece as much as any other work.I understand what your saying, but I'm still not convinced.
27-06-2021, 12:10 PM
It’s what makes Daniel Sloss’s Netflix special that resulted in tens of thousands of break ups or indeed ‘Meta Machine Music’ by Lou Reed works of art - both were visions of the two artists that provoked an extreme reaction. My favourite musician is Björk as her shows are visually stunning, very uncompromising and carry a strong environmental message. You could see the crowd get smaller as her headline set at Primavera go on, but there were plenty of people there who were completely enthralled.
Whether it’s artists, musicians, comedians or the like there’s nothing Inhate more than someone trying to be a crowdpleaser. If something is just “nice” or “pleasant” then it’s not art IMO. It needs to evoke some sort of reaction, whatever the format.
It’s maybe pretentiousness but I generally find my favourite pieces of art are the ones that piss people off.
27-06-2021, 12:18 PM
I think it’s a great idea. So much so that I’ve got myself replica of the invisible statue for my living room.
Open to offers, by the way.
I’ve got an invisible barrel load of invisible twenty quid notes if that’s good enough?
27-06-2021, 01:01 PM
It’s what makes Daniel Sloss’s Netflix special that resulted in tens of thousands of break ups or indeed ‘Meta Machine Music’ by Lou Reed works of art - both were visions of the two artists that provoked an extreme reaction. My favourite musician is Björk as her shows are visually stunning, very uncompromising and carry a strong environmental message. You could see the crowd get smaller as her headline set at Primavera go on, but there were plenty of people there who were completely enthralled.
Whether it’s artists, musicians, comedians or the like there’s nothing Inhate more than someone trying to be a crowdpleaser. If something is just “nice” or “pleasant” then it’s not art IMO. It needs to evoke some sort of reaction, whatever the format.
It’s maybe pretentiousness but I generally find my favourite pieces of art are the ones that piss people off.
Now that music has been mentioned, everyone has to listen to 4'33" by John Cage at least once 😉
The sheet music is for sale at £8.95 if anyone wants to play it.
27-06-2021, 01:30 PM
Everyone is struggling to see it.
Bangkok Hibby
27-06-2021, 02:51 PM
Now that music has been mentioned, everyone has to listen to 4'33" by John Cage at least once 😉
The sheet music is for sale at £8.95 if anyone wants to play it.
His most important work according to the man himself....more bollocks. there's a youtube performance where the audience give a standing ovation FFS, except one guy who's clearly unimpressed, he doesn't even clap. Good lad!
27-06-2021, 03:29 PM
Yesterday, upon the stair,
I met a man who wasn't there
He wasn't there again today
I wish, I wish he'd go away...
27-06-2021, 09:10 PM
Great conversation piece at parties? :dunno:
28-06-2021, 01:35 PM
Went to the new St James Quarter today. Ghastly place.
The usual beauts queuing for shops and food outlets. Nothing to see here.
I wonder how long it'll be before Poundland moves in!
28-06-2021, 01:52 PM
That’s totally the opposite to what all other folk that have been have told me. They said it looks fantastic and once fully open it will be great.
28-06-2021, 01:59 PM
I've only seen it from the outside thus far but hoping to have a wonder around it soon - from the outside and from what I've read/pictures of the inside I think it looks great.
The food hall in particular I'm excited to see what they've done with.
28-06-2021, 02:10 PM
For as much as I can get excited about these things I think the new St James looks pretty smart both in design, including the much maligned hotel, and the shops and food outlets on offer.
The only concern I would have is places like this often start off in a blaze of glory then go downhill pretty rapidly. The white elephants that are the Gyle and Ocean Terminal, albeit the latter struggled from the start, are evidence of that.
28-06-2021, 02:44 PM
For as much as I can get excited about these things I think the new St James looks pretty smart both in design, including the much maligned hotel, and the shops and food outlets on offer.
The only concern I would have is places like this often start off in a blaze of glory then go downhill pretty rapidly. The white elephants that are the Gyle and Ocean Terminal, albeit the latter struggled from the start, are evidence of that.
Hi PB. For those of us that haven't been to Edinburgh recently...
Does it really look like a big turd, or is it not actually that bad?
28-06-2021, 02:53 PM
Erm.....no comment:greengrin
28-06-2021, 04:45 PM
Walnut whip? 😉
28-06-2021, 09:26 PM
Probably been done before but.........paper straws. Save the planet and all that but must be a better option than paper straws, especially with a Capri Sun when your supposed to use a PAPER straw to pierce the packaging.
speedy_gonzales
28-06-2021, 09:30 PM
Probably been done before but.........paper straws. Save the planet and all that but must be a better option than paper straws, especially with a Capri Sun when your supposed to use a PAPER straw to pierce the packaging.
We've resorted to carrying our own reusable straws when out (bamboo or stainless steel).
I understand why we're moving to paper straws, but they're just no good if you order a milkshake or a sipper of a cocktail.
28-06-2021, 10:27 PM
I thought it looked good, but I'd be concerned they'll struggle to keep the stonework looking clean and fresh. It could look old (and possibly old-fashioned) well before its time.
29-06-2021, 07:34 AM
https://news.stv.tv/west-central/sculpture-with-antarctic-air-from-1765-to-feature-at-cop26
Here's another similar one
Bangkok Hibby
29-06-2021, 07:43 AM
https://news.stv.tv/west-central/sculpture-with-antarctic-air-from-1765-to-feature-at-cop26
Here's another similar one
Now I kind of get that. Science provoking discussion around the climate. Just don't call it or sell it as art!
29-06-2021, 09:35 AM
Now I kind of get that. Science provoking discussion around the climate. Just don't call it or sell it as art!
The definition of art in the Oxford dictionary is:
“ the expression or application of human creative skill and imagination, typically in a visual form such as painting or sculpture, producing works to be appreciated primarily for their beauty or emotional power.”
It’s the emotional power thing that grabs me. It takes imagination to come up with the story, setting and context to create these ‘pieces’ and it clearly has an emotional power as you’re angered by it.
In effect, your anger is a small part of why it’s art.
29-06-2021, 09:38 AM
Erm.....no comment:greengrin
Just to clarify.... I was actually referring to the new St James Centre, not Edinburgh.
29-06-2021, 09:47 AM
“ the expression or application of human creative skill and imagination, typically in a visual form such as painting or sculpture, producing works to be appreciated primarily for their beauty or emotional power.”
It’s the emotional power thing that grabs me. It takes imagination to come up with the story, setting and context to create these ‘pieces’ and it clearly has an emotional power as you’re angered by it.
Living abroad and feeling homesick?
These bottles of air from your homeland (England, Scotland, Ireland or Wales) can help resolve that, and only cost $30.
Art? I'll let you decide.
'Human creative skill and imagination'? Beyond any doubt :wink:
29-06-2021, 12:30 PM
Living abroad and feeling homesick?
These bottles of air from your homeland (England, Scotland, Ireland or Wales) can help resolve that, and only cost $30.
Art? I'll let you decide.
'Human creative skill and imagination'? Beyond any doubt :wink:
Not art, seen it a ton of times and it’s purpose is more than just as a piece of creativeness in itself.
Also I feel completely nothing towards it.
Bangkok Hibby
29-06-2021, 02:01 PM
So basically what you're saying is...an unmade bed, a cow cut in half, something that isn't even there and 4 minutes 33 seconds of silence isn't taking the piss, it's art because it annoys people?
Please don't take this personally as its not aimed at you but defending this crap annoys me just as much. Often by people who make a living from it. Art critics! FFS dont get me started on these pretentious ********s.
29-06-2021, 02:05 PM
T Shirts that shrink after a few months.
I've experienced that a lot during Lockdown
29-06-2021, 02:41 PM
So basically what you're saying is...an unmade bed, a cow cut in half, something that isn't even there and 4 minutes 33 seconds of silence isn't taking the piss, it's art because it annoys people?
Please don't take this personally as its not aimed at you but defending this crap annoys me just as much. Often by people who make a living from it. Art critics! FFS dont get me started on these pretentious ********s.
It draws an emotional reaction out of people, it’s intention and purpose is only to be an expression of the artist - yes, it’s art.
Bangkok Hibby
29-06-2021, 03:08 PM
It draws an emotional reaction out of people, it’s intention and purpose is only to be an expression of the artist - yes, it’s art.
OK, you state that with some conviction and of course I respect your opinion. I'm not saying I'm right in that its all a piss take but I'm equally convinced that some (not all) so called artists, know fine there will be enough gullible apologists masquerading as critics out there to persuade those with money to burn to part with their (probably not hard earned) cash.
29-06-2021, 03:35 PM
T Shirts that shrink after a few months.
I've experienced that a lot during Lockdown
Mine stretched during the first lockdown 😉
speedy_gonzales
29-06-2021, 04:46 PM
Has anyone who's deriding Tracey Emins "My bed" actually seen it?
I'm not "in" to art but I did see her installation at the Scottish National Gallery of Modern Art when her retrospective was there 13 years ago.
I'm sure a lot of arty types can ponce over the dynamic, the juxtapositioning, the artists story etc, but it really is a decent installation. Knowing a little of her traumatic background it can be a little shocking with the empty alcohol bottles and condom wrappers.
But that's it, it's set up to be a snapshot of the morning after the night before.
Like most pieces of art, I find it hard to justify price/cost but that doesn't mean something's not worth the time to stop, look, appreciate (or not).
29-06-2021, 08:32 PM
Has anyone who's deriding Tracey Emins "My bed" actually seen it?
I'm not "in" to art but I did see her installation at the Scottish National Gallery of Modern Art when her retrospective was there 13 years ago.
I'm sure a lot of arty types can ponce over the dynamic, the juxtapositioning, the artists story etc, but it really is a decent installation. Knowing a little of her traumatic background it can be a little shocking with the empty alcohol bottles and condom wrappers.
But that's it, it's set up to be a snapshot of the morning after the night before.
Like most pieces of art, I find it hard to justify price/cost but that doesn't mean something's not worth the time to stop, look, appreciate (or not).
Good post…not my bag that kind of stuff but absolutely I can get where you are coming from.
What I can’t agree on is the Damien Hurst spots thing…that is a piss take.
I mean £17.5k for a screen print of 9 coloured spots…mental!
https://www.artsy.net/artwork/damien-hirst-9-large-spots?utm_medium=p-search&utm_source=adwords&utm_campaign=b2c-bnmo-product-UK-shopping&gclid=EAIaIQobChMIqKHHs9e98QIVyu3tCh3tcAC2EAQYASAB EgIfd_D_BwE
30-06-2021, 08:46 AM
Not art, seen it a ton of times and it’s purpose is more than just as a piece of creativeness in itself.
Also I feel completely nothing towards it.
What if the bottles came with a wee story card that detailed the ambiance of the area the air was bottled? What if it was “air bottled when I was sad, angry, happy and laughing. It exists to represent that the world stays the same, despite our ever changing mood”.
Is it “art” then?
30-06-2021, 10:30 AM
Low flying aircraft!!
Some military thing went over my garden yesterday afternoon, and almost used my roof ridgeline as a target. I heard it going round and then down from the moor and right over the house before rising up the other side of the valley.
I guess it was a F-15 or Eurofighter, but I doubt it was higher than 100ft above the house!!
30-06-2021, 10:57 AM
Not putting things back from where you got them from.
There’s a place for everything and if you always put it back in that place then you will always know where to find it.
Wife is the worst for this, always the same answer,I”I haven’t used them/it.” Retrace her actions and find said item 😡
30-06-2021, 12:23 PM
Dog hair, my labrador is shedding his coat for what feels like the 6th time this year. 10 minutes after hoovering the floor looks like a barbershop again.
30-06-2021, 12:41 PM
What if the bottles came with a wee story card that detailed the ambiance of the area the air was bottled? What if it was “air bottled when I was sad, angry, happy and laughing. It exists to represent that the world stays the same, despite our ever changing mood”.
Is it “art” then?
It depends. If it's a one off piece and the genuine expression is that it exists to represent the world staying the same and also the original intention is to create it for the sake of creating it then yes.
If you're selling endless amounts of it in Tesco and you're thinking "way-hey, I'm doing this to make myself lots of money" then no.
Not putting things back from where you got them from.
There’s a place for everything and if you always put it back in that place then you will always know where to find it.
Wife is the worst for this, always the same answer,I”I haven’t used them/it.” Retrace her actions and find said item 😡
Sitting waiting for the wife outside M&S Craigleith yesterday and watched 3 people in a row just leave their trolleys next to all the rest without putting them into the others to connect them up. 2 mins later 2 of them rolled onto on coming cars, just ignorance.
30-06-2021, 03:32 PM
My wife will, instead of making a snack in the kitchen and pausing the whatever it is or waiting till half time, bring all the stuff through to the living room and make her snack on the damn sofa. It could be anything, cheese and crackers for example.
Cheese knife
Butter knife
3 types of cheese
Butter
Crackers
Chopping board
Plate
Grapes
Just make it up in the ****ing kitchen and bring it through!
It's the same at lunch, making up things at the table instead of in the kitchen - you know that place we all know where food is prepared?
Alfiembra
01-07-2021, 06:30 AM
People that post replies on forums or leave comments on YouTube starting with “Can we all just take a moment” or reply in a manner that implies that they are speaking on behalf of an entire community.
Pi$$ off you don’t speak for me, if I have something to say I’ll reply or make a comment myself.
01-07-2021, 08:42 AM
People that post replies on forums or leave comments on YouTube starting with “Can we all just take a moment” or reply in a manner that implies that they are speaking on behalf of an entire community.
Pi$$ off you don’t speak for me, if I have something to say I’ll reply or make a comment myself.
I think we all feel that way. :agree:
CloudSquall
03-07-2021, 02:01 AM
People who expect 5 star service for 1 star pricing.
I tutor English on a website clearly marketed as a casual and cheap conversation site to students and the number of them that expect to be learning half a dictionary worth of words and each and every grammar rule in 25 minutes is astounding.
03-07-2021, 06:55 AM
The glass recycling bins being collected at 7-20 on a Saturday morning.
03-07-2021, 09:06 AM
The wheelie bins being emptied on Sunday at 9AM in Mount Florida
...with the bin men singing 'Yes Sir I Can Boogie'. :rolleyes:
04-07-2021, 01:13 PM
Too far?
😏
04-07-2021, 01:32 PM
Don't mind that, but a scattering of broken glass on the road and pavement after the bin men have been seems to be happening more and more often. Might be imagining this, but wasn't there a time they would sweep up anything they dropped? :dunno:
04-07-2021, 06:28 PM
Windows/Intel, etc. stickers on computers. You can't really take them off but they could at least put them on straight (new pc for Madame's birthday today).
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20210704/c4ee8032ee36f6a13a594dc5bf9af94c.jpg
05-07-2021, 07:15 AM
Windows/Intel, etc. stickers on computers. You can't really take them off but they could at least put them on straight (new pc for Madame's birthday today).
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20210704/c4ee8032ee36f6a13a594dc5bf9af94c.jpg
That looks fake.
Did you buy it from some guy down the Pub?
05-07-2021, 07:23 AM
That looks fake.
Did you buy it from some guy down the Pub?
No, but what's worse is that given that I searched for it and bought it on line, I'm still getting adverts for computers appearing at every opportunity - and the site where I bought it is now selling it 50€ cheaper than I paid on Wednesday! :grr:
05-07-2021, 02:58 PM
That looks fake.
Did you buy it from some guy down the Pub?Just had a new work laptop delivered. They're definitely taking the piss!
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20210705/89701790d02777361254aa68d17a8322.jpg
Alfiembra
05-07-2021, 03:31 PM
Just had a new work laptop delivered. They're definitely taking the piss!
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20210705/89701790d02777361254aa68d17a8322.jpg
As a retired draffy I feel your pain, these mere mortals do not understand the need for straight stickers. :agree:
05-07-2021, 03:49 PM
Siri and Apple Music. When I’m in the car and I ask Siri to play something from my phones iTunes library it tries to play it from Apple Music then tells me I don’t have Apple Music. I don’t want, or need, Apple Music. I primarily buy CD’s and put them on my iTunes library. Yet Siri seems oblivious to the fact I already have music on my phone.
05-07-2021, 04:34 PM
Siri and Apple Music. When I’m in the car and I ask Siri to play something from my phones iTunes library it tries to play it from Apple Music then tells me I don’t have Apple Music. I don’t want, or need, Apple Music. I primarily buy CD’s and put them on my iTunes library. Yet Siri seems oblivious to the fact I already have music on my phone.
iTunes is dead and has been for a while! Maybe an iOS update might assist?
I simply ask Siri to play <insert artist of choice> and off it goes to my stored Music and plays…
05-07-2021, 06:17 PM
iTunes is dead and has been for a while! Maybe an iOS update might assist?
I simply ask Siri to play <insert artist of choice> and off it goes to my stored Music and plays…
To be fair I am a creature of habit and will probably always call my music library iTunes, but that’s not what I ask Siri to play. Usually “my music” or “my library”. Apple Music seems to be the default and can’t seem to turn it off as if I ask it to play something not on Apple Music, but in my library, it says it couldn’t find it.
Wish I could just go back to my iPod classic days. A Nokia for phone calls and texts, and an iPod for music, that was the zenith of technology 😀
05-07-2021, 06:55 PM
To be fair I am a creature of habit and will probably always call my music library iTunes, but that’s not what I ask Siri to play. Usually “my music” or “my library”. Apple Music seems to be the default and can’t seem to turn it off as if I ask it to play something not on Apple Music, but in my library, it says it couldn’t find it.
Wish I could just go back to my iPod classic days. A Nokia for phone calls and texts, and an iPod for music, that was the zenith of technology 😀
And taking three miles of cabling on every outing if you wanted to contact people and listen to music 😂
05-07-2021, 07:50 PM
Wish I could just go back to my iPod classic days. A Nokia for phone calls and texts, and an iPod for music, that was the zenith of technology [emoji3]
Hmm all seems a bit weird. Is your music stored in the Music app? If so you should be able to tell Siri to play it from there.
Anyway here’s a Google page that seems to know what it’s talking about:
https://www.google.co.uk/amp/s/www.macrumors.com/how-to/change-default-music-app-ios/amp/
As for the zenith of mobile music technology…you surely can’t beat these days…
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20210705/7c906859ae6df82e89f6b2fd0420b103.jpg
05-07-2021, 10:30 PM
Hmm all seems a bit weird. Is your music stored in the Music app? If so you should be able to tell Siri to play it from there.
Anyway here’s a Google page that seems to know what it’s talking about:
https://www.google.co.uk/amp/s/www.macrumors.com/how-to/change-default-music-app-ios/amp/
As for the zenith of mobile music technology…you surely can’t beat these days…
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20210705/7c906859ae6df82e89f6b2fd0420b103.jpg
Thanks, had a look. If I ask it to play an artist it seems to play it from the library on my phone. However, if I ask Siri to play a specific album it goes to Apple Music and the one I asked for isn’t on Apple Music but is in my Library. Siri just says it can’t play it because it’s not on Apple Music.
I just select my music before I set off so not the end of the world, but a bit annoying.
EH6 Hibby
06-07-2021, 12:31 AM
Have you turned off Apple Music in settings on your phone?
This is on the apple help pages.
If you don't have an Apple Music membership, you can turn off Apple Music in the Settings app. Tap Settings > Music > turn off 'Show Apple Music'. Once you've done that, it should only search your local library.
08-07-2021, 10:02 PM
Not sure if it’s a peeve but it’s certainly strange and annoying. Just tried to order a replacement marriage certificate for my divorce but I couldn’t as the website is only “open” between the hours of 09.00 and 16.30. What sort of website keeps office hours? Why does it need to keep office hours? Do they turn the server off at the end of the working day?
I needed a birth certificate recently and had about 5 mins before it was too late to do that day. I had no idea either. To be fair it arrived 2 days later so was processed, printed and posted next day.
08-07-2021, 10:35 PM
Garages or express supermarkets, but particularly garages, that have the Costa Coffee display outside but don’t actually have a coffee machine.
Silky
09-07-2021, 08:58 PM
Chin masks. They are everywhere and have absolutely no benefit to either the wearer or anyone in their vicinity. It's a face mask. It goes on the face! Never see folk with eye masks, for example, on the head, so I don't get this fixation with chin masks.
Aye, the nose breathers too, it covers mouth and nose not just your mouth.
12-07-2021, 08:14 PM
Our dog has learned that the cuter she looks, the more attention she gets. Every time someone walks within what feels like a fifty feet radius of us on a walk, she parks her bum down, looks up with her puppy dog eyes and wags her tail frantically.
Takes ages to get anywhere.
12-07-2021, 10:01 PM
Our dog has learned that the cuter she looks, the more attention she gets. Every time someone walks within what feels like a fifty feet radius of us on a walk, she parks her bum down, looks up with her puppy dog eyes and wags her tail frantically.
Takes ages to get anywhere.
My dog has taken to doing exactly the same. As soon as he sees another dog he sits down and we have to wait till the other dog passes. He doesn’t even approach the other dog the majority of the time, he just likes to watch them go past.
Likewise if a human makes eye contact/smiles at him he instantly expects them to come clap him and will stop until they’re either away or they’ve given him some attention.
No idea why he’s suddenly started it but it certainly does slow us down a good bit!
13-07-2021, 08:25 AM
Clothes that are badly cut. It’s not about price as the more expensive items are often the worst offenders. It seems increasingly difficult these days to buy t-shirts where the sleeves are tapered and not ridiculously wide or where the coat hanger shape looks to be by design and it looks like your wearing shoulder pads.
Boris Johnson is a prime example, all the money but no idea how to dress or buy clothes that fit properly.
13-07-2021, 04:31 PM
The acronym GOAT really gets on my nerves for some strange reason. Only ever read it on Hibs.net.
13-07-2021, 05:44 PM
The acronym GOAT really gets on my nerves for some strange reason. Only ever read it on Hibs.net.
Seen it quite a lot, especially re Djokovic. Totally daft acronym, no idea why people would think to use it!
Bangkok Hibby
13-07-2021, 07:03 PM
Seen it quite a lot, especially re Djokovic. Totally daft acronym, no idea why people would think to use it!
Greatest of all time? Makes perfect sense to me.
13-07-2021, 08:16 PM
Greatest of all time? Makes perfect sense to me.
Yes....I'm talking about the acronym though. Why not BOAT - best of all time? It's all totally daft to me but there you go.
Bangkok Hibby
14-07-2021, 04:10 AM
Yes....I'm talking about the acronym though. Why not BOAT - best of all time? It's all totally daft to me but there you go.
😄😄😄 BOAT would be fine too if that was the common term.
Hey its all about opinions though eh? Some of the stuff that winds me up would have folk shaking their heads in disbelief 🙂
14-07-2021, 07:17 AM
If someone being called the GOAT annoys you I think it’s safe to say it would also annoy you if folk were calling them the BOAT :greengrin
14-07-2021, 07:18 AM
Never liked it as I automatically think of them acting the goat.
14-07-2021, 08:52 AM
If someone being called the GOAT annoys you I think it’s safe to say it would also annoy you if folk were calling them the BOAT :greengrin
Exactly...it's all just daft!
14-07-2021, 09:37 AM
Never liked it as I automatically think of them acting the goat.
That could well be the reason, doesn't really go well with someone being the greatest ever at something.
People cycling on Portobello prom on a busy day when kids are running about, stop ringing your wee bell and chill out!!! Ignorant selfish people…
14-07-2021, 11:33 AM
People cycling on Portobello prom on a busy day when kids are running about, stop ringing your wee bell and chill out!!! Ignorant selfish people…
So no bells? :confused:
14-07-2021, 12:08 PM
Surely they ring their bells to warn people?
14-07-2021, 07:22 PM
Surely they ring their bells to warn people?Yes but in my experience they dont alter speed to deal with crowds. Just fly past you. Im pretty sure a dog that was on a lead had to be euthenised a few months back having been hit by a speeding cyclist. A lot of moaners live in Porty now but I'd back them over bikes on the prom.
Sent from my SM-T580 using Tapatalk
Bangkok Hibby
15-07-2021, 04:40 PM
I subscribe to a few different channels on youtube and get notifications when new content is posted. Without fail there will already be utter a55holes typing the word "first" or "1st" in the comments. Pretty much 100% of the time they have nothing else to say. How sad that there are people waiting, poised, ready to leap into action just to be first to post a non comment on a new video.
I have many peeves as this thread will show but this is my current number 1.
15-07-2021, 06:21 PM
People who leave glasses lens down. I’ve got a pair of mirrored sunglasses and my mrs buys cheap ones she doesn’t give a flying **** about whereas I like ray bans but she constantly leaves them lens down whenever she moves them.
15-07-2021, 06:33 PM
People who leave glasses lens down. I’ve got a pair of mirrored sunglasses and my mrs buys cheap ones she doesn’t give a flying **** about whereas I like ray bans but she constantly leaves them lens down whenever she moves them.Daughter does exactly the same, I keep mine sequestered in the car glove box (that's a description from a different era!) ... she's asked about 4 times in the past week or so for a loan and it's a flat out NO! From me... I'm even getting the 'look' from the boss but even she won't make me budge on this one! :greengrin
15-07-2021, 06:39 PM
Daughter does exactly the same, I keep mine sequestered in the car glove box (that's a description from a different era!) ... she's asked about 4 times in the past week or so for a loan and it's a flat out NO! From me... I'm even getting the 'look' from the boss but even she won't make me budge on this one! :greengrin
It’s so ****ing needless as well! If they sit where the arms and frame down on a surface they’re more stable and don’t get scratched!
Btw my cars got a glove box, where else would one keep ones string back tan leather driving gloves?
It also has a special glasses pop down storage slot in the roof.
15-07-2021, 08:12 PM
People who leave glasses lens down. I’ve got a pair of mirrored sunglasses and my mrs buys cheap ones she doesn’t give a flying **** about whereas I like ray bans but she constantly leaves them lens down whenever she moves them.
I bought a pair of Ray Bans a few years back and took them on a stag weekend. On the Sunday I left them in a pub whilst hungover. Went back and asked if anyone had handed them in. Barman said no, I knew he was lying. I asked again, he said no, I was sure he was lying. A few days later I saw the same barman in the same pub wearing my sunglasses. He was definitely lying.
There's no real peeve from me. It's just explanation as to why I wear ***** sunglasses now.
15-07-2021, 08:28 PM
I bought a pair of Ray Bans a few years back and took them on a stag weekend. On the Sunday I left them in a pub whilst hungover. Went back and asked if anyone had handed them in. Barman said no, I knew he was lying. I asked again, he said no, I was sure he was lying. A few days later I saw the same barman in the same pub wearing my sunglasses. He was definitely lying.
There's no real peeve from me. It's just explanation as to why I wear ***** sunglasses now.
As ZZ Top have always advised, best to wear cheap sunglasses. You are guaranteed to get pissed and either leave them somewhere or sit on them. I did it with a pair of Oakleys once. Very annoying. My eyesight is crap now so it's prescription sunglasses now for me but even they come with a number of pitfalls. If you are wearing them and go into a bar/restaurant/shop etc it then is difficult to see and then you take them off and you still can't see! So a pet peeve would appear to be sunglasses
16-07-2021, 06:19 AM
That’s *****housery, at least you can be safe in the knowledge someone else broke them for you 😆 I’ve had similar, I left a pair on a cafe table in Durham, phoned the place up and asked if they had them and it was a firm no, but there’s a picture of me and my better half with the glasses on the table.
Don’t get me wrong, this is my third pair in about 8 years and I’ve had to salvage screws from an old pair because I sat on them after refuelling the car. But these have survived a lot and they stay in the car for the most part.
I do have a couple of cheap pairs for days/nights out.
16-07-2021, 09:13 PM
Jonathan Ross. Unfunny, not a likeable or charming host at all, clanginglu annoying. Will make me turn the channel over every time.
Bangkok Hibby
16-07-2021, 11:11 PM
Jonathan Ross. Unfunny, not a likeable or charming host at all, clanginglu annoying. Will make me turn the channel over every time.
Annoyingly fake. Sycophant.
17-07-2021, 07:10 AM
He’s a ****
CloudSquall
18-07-2021, 12:49 AM
A word that annoys me but shouldn't is "thread" when used for a list of tweets. I use it myself but for some reason it just bugs me.
I'm pretty sure it's because of self-important knobs on Twitter that have to write things like "Vaccines - A THREAD" before writing their views as if they are about to rattle out Nobel Prize winning contributions to society when in reality it's just total bollocks.
CloudSquall
18-07-2021, 08:12 PM
When you need to tell your partner the reservation is at 6pm in order to have any chance of making the actual reservation time of 9pm due to how long it takes them to get ready.
18-07-2021, 09:12 PM
When you need to tell your partner the reservation is at 6pm in order to have any chance of making the actual reservation time of 9pm due to how long it takes them to get ready.Having to be politically correct when talking about stuff, when we all know you mean a w.... err...
What I mean is... being too scared to post something, 'cause if its spotted by the boss you just know sh.....
Ummmm, actually,I think I'll just stop typing.
Edit... I know, I know.before you all wade in....... .. I have a mate who's the exception that proves the rule :greengrin
19-07-2021, 08:31 PM
When you need to tell your partner the reservation is at 6pm in order to have any chance of making the actual reservation time of 9pm due to how long it takes them to get ready.
My ex wife was exactly like this. The worst bit was when she would ask me to call a taxi as she would be ready in 5 minutes. Taxi would arrive 15 mins later, I’d go out to it and then another 5 minutes after that, she’d walk out.
Thankfully my current partner isn’t like that at all. If anything I’m the one that takes longer to get ready (and I don’t take long)
19-07-2021, 08:37 PM
People that take social distancing to the extreme. I was in Aldi tonight and the queues were massive. Gets to the stage where the woman in front of me got the checkout belt. The guy in front of her was the full distance of the belt away. She wouldn’t start putting her stuff on the belt until his stuff started to go through even though there was a massive gap on the belt. She then wouldn’t move forward even though there was more than 2m distance between her and the guy in front meaning I couldn’t put anything on the belt.
Then after all that, exasperating the issues with the already long queues. She proceeds to chat to the checkout operator rather than bag her stuff and keeps the chat going for a good minute after paying. She didn’t seem to care about social distancing then!
19-07-2021, 11:41 PM
People that take social distancing to the extreme. I was in Aldi tonight and the queues were massive. Gets to the stage where the woman in front of me got the checkout belt. The guy in front of her was the full distance of the belt away. She wouldn’t start putting her stuff on the belt until his stuff started to go through even though there was a massive gap on the belt. She then wouldn’t move forward even though there was more than 2m distance between her and the guy in front meaning I couldn’t put anything on the belt.
Then after all that, exasperating the issues with the already long queues. She proceeds to chat to the checkout operator rather than bag her stuff and keeps the chat going for a good minute after paying. She didn’t seem to care about social distancing then!
Funnily enough, I experienced that in Aldi too, but no other supermarkets.
Bangkok Hibby
21-07-2021, 10:37 AM
Anybody over 12, especially male, using "lol" at the end of a sentence or paragraph. More so when said sentence or paragraph isn't funny!
21-07-2021, 11:27 AM
The irresponsible attitude of parcel delivery drivers who think it is acceptable to leave parcels unattended on your door step in full view of everyone. Leaving in a designated agreed safe place is fair enough but so many of them are now just dumping on the doorstep.
21-07-2021, 11:45 AM
The irresponsible attitude of parcel delivery drivers who think it is acceptable to leave parcels unattended on your door step in full view of everyone. Leaving in a designated agreed safe place is fair enough but so many of them are now just dumping on the doorstep.
I had a job recently that saw me visiting houses all day and I couldn’t believe how common this was. Parcels left outside people’s doors in flats, anyone could’ve helped themselves to them.
21-07-2021, 12:27 PM
People who ask simple questions on hibs.net which have already been asked by several others and answered multiple times.
What is in the pie pack is a recent example.
21-07-2021, 12:50 PM
People who ask simple questions on hibs.net which have already been asked by several others and answered multiple times.
I’d never seen that asked or answered til today.
21-07-2021, 02:12 PM
If we’re talking Hibs.net peeves. The use of “this place is mental”, generally used when someone has a different opinion.
Bangkok Hibby
21-07-2021, 02:18 PM
If we’re talking Hibs.net peeves. The use of “this place is mental”, generally used when someone has a different opinion.
For me it's "eye bleeding" by miles.
21-07-2021, 02:25 PM
I’d never seen that asked or answered til today.
I think it first appeared about 8pm yesterday, and got a few answers, some jokes but a few real ones, on the thread about the capacity.
21-07-2021, 02:36 PM
What's a pie pack?
I'm not even joking. I've never heard of it, I assume it's some kind of meal deal thing?
21-07-2021, 02:37 PM
What's a pie pack?
I'm not even joking. I've never heard of it, I assume it's some kind of meal deal thing?
Some of us have a 6 pack.
Sadly, a lot more have a pie pack.
21-07-2021, 02:42 PM
What's a pie pack?
Check out the threads on the main forum about tomorrow's game. If you want food or drink then you can pre order on the ticket site.
Save you looking.
https://www.hibs.net/showthread.php?352951-Food-kiosks-for-Santa-Coloma&p=6625885#post6625885
21-07-2021, 02:43 PM
Some of us have a 6 pack.
Sadly, a lot more have a pie pack.
My 6 pack is also long gone, more like a cask now.
21-07-2021, 04:10 PM
What is in it?
Not telling 😉
31-07-2021, 11:11 AM
People who walk into a shop, takeaway or office and then stand in the doorway to put a mask on. They go on outside.
********s.
31-07-2021, 11:44 AM
People who walk into a shop, takeaway or office and then stand in the doorway to put a mask on. They go on outside.
********s.
Or people who walk into your takeaway and are told by you to wear a mask, they stumble over their words for a few seconds then say “I’m exempt”. and proceed to try to pull their shirt or sweater up to cover their face!
31-07-2021, 11:52 PM
Just returned home from Denmark today where masks are already a thing of the past. Lost count of the amount of times I had to return home or to the car to get a mask.