View Full Version : Pet Peeves IV

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 [39] 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57

17-09-2021, 07:56 PM
I once took Hibbyradge to task over this and he said that he trusted the views of .netters far more than random websites :aok:

What an idiot. :greengrin

17-09-2021, 09:07 PM
I once took Hibbyradge to task over this and he said that he trusted the views of .netters far more than random websites :aok:

I was thinking more of the official website for places that were being asked about. 🤔👍

17-09-2021, 09:08 PM
I was thinking more of the official website for places that were being asked about. 🤔👍

Yeah....I think he just wanted a blether actually :greengrin

CloudSquall
18-09-2021, 01:59 PM
Not that I want to be Mcglashan about this, but the accent of the guy that does the Hibees Buzz.

19-09-2021, 04:33 PM
Towels - Went into the bathroom earlier to find 6 different towels lying either on the floor or in the bath, aye they're gonna dry there right enough! Thank goodness my oldest daughter has just moved out otherwise there would have been about 10 of them. :rolleyes:

19-09-2021, 04:45 PM
Towels - Went into the bathroom earlier to find 6 different towels lying either on the floor or in the bath, aye they're gonna dry there right enough! Thank goodness my oldest daughter has just moved out otherwise there would have been about 10 of them. :rolleyes:

My wife and I solved the problem by having 2 bathrooms, a boy one and a girl one. Cleaned on a Monday morning top to bottom and I am always finished first, 30 minutes tops 😁

19-09-2021, 04:50 PM

My wife and I solved the problem by having 2 bathrooms, a boy one and a girl one. Cleaned on a Monday morning top to bottom and I am always finished first, 30 minutes tops 😁

The downside to only having one bathroom. Apparently women are supposed to be tidier than men, well certainly not in my household.

19-09-2021, 05:33 PM

Extremely diplomatic that you've classed this peeve as "towels" when you actually mean "my wife". :greengrin

19-09-2021, 05:38 PM

Let me tell you it’s not just teenage girls who leave towels lying anywhere, my teenage son has a fab habit of leaving his on his bed every single morning 🤬

19-09-2021, 05:49 PM
My daughters eventually learned when, instead of hanging their towels for them, I told them to do it themselves straight away. Being woken a couple of times at 6.45am during the summer holidays (but when I got up to take my shower to go to work) soon sorted them out.

19-09-2021, 06:08 PM
My daughters eventually learned when, instead of hanging their towels for them, I told them to do it themselves straight away. Being woken a couple of times at 6.45am during the summer holidays (but when I got up to take my shower to go to work) soon sorted them out.

That's fantastic parenting, they'll love you for it one day.

19-09-2021, 09:16 PM
People who ask a question on the forum instead of getting the information from the Internet.

Hibbyradge has just done it again on The Holy Ground :greengrin

19-09-2021, 10:22 PM
Extremely diplomatic that you've classed this peeve as "towels" when you actually mean "my wife". :greengrin

Ha ha, my wife AND youngest daughter to be exact. 😁

20-09-2021, 09:06 PM
When a streaming service decides to drop a show and tells you the last date to watch is 29th September, and you have 40 episodes to watch!!!!

CloudSquall
20-09-2021, 10:31 PM
Migraines right behind the eye that make you want to drill a hole in your head.

21-09-2021, 07:24 AM
All these awards,emmys,globes,oscars whatever for dramas depicting the Royal family and the Queen in particular.
Whatever your views on the monarchy, it seems callous to depict the woman and her life in a way that is not necessarily accurate. She's still alive for heavens sake!

23-09-2021, 11:06 AM
People who share lost dog, missing children, stolen bike etc posts on social media from about 15 months ago. How do they even find these? Also a cat goes missing in Devon and someone replies to the post with 'shared Inverness'. Cats like a wander but that might be a bit extreme.

Finally the obligatory post from the 'Police' that borders on racism and is just scaremongering pish:

'Importint Police massage.

If u c 2 Polish looking men wiv Asian acsents in suparmerkat car parks b aware they r spraypainting small red spots on ur car. This is a massage 2 udder peedos that u have kids and they will follow u and target ur house in futyur. This massage is direkt from the cheef constible of Midlands Police, we r very wurried'

23-09-2021, 11:53 AM
People who share lost dog, missing children, stolen bike etc posts on social media from about 15 months ago. How do they even find these? Also a cat goes missing in Devon and someone replies to the post with 'shared Inverness'. Cats like a wander but that might be a bit extreme.

When I lived in grangemouth, near the docks, one of our cats went missing for 6 months, we reckon he hitched a ride on a boat.

23-09-2021, 01:53 PM

Finally the obligatory post from the 'Police' that borders on racism and is just scaremongering pish:

'Importint Police massage.

If u c 2 Polish looking men wiv Asian acsents in suparmerkat car parks b aware they r spraypainting small red spots on ur car. This is a massage 2 udder peedos that u have kids and they will follow u and target ur house in futyur. This massage is direkt from the cheef constible of Midlands Police, we r very wurried'

24-09-2021, 06:25 AM
People who smoke at bus stops. Completely selfish.

CloudSquall
24-09-2021, 12:20 PM
Getting wound up by random people or debates online.

I use a forum for foreigners in Argentina and last night ended up in a debate on Argentine politics with an American, sitting there furious waiting for his response and then I thought to myself "why in the blue hell am I wasting my time on this?".

Profile swiftly deleted.

26-09-2021, 06:41 PM
When random people let onto you when you're walking round Tesco and you have no idea who they are...

26-09-2021, 07:57 PM
When random people let into you when you're walking round Tesco and you have no idea who they are...

Sorry but what does that mean?

26-09-2021, 08:46 PM
Sorry but what does that mean?

Lol, typo, let on to you, as in say awrite to you. :faf:

26-09-2021, 10:09 PM

Ah OK...never happened to me!

26-09-2021, 11:15 PM

I just thought you were extremely promiscuous.

Dmas
27-09-2021, 06:01 AM
The amount of favours it takes to repay someone else’s favour.

I moved into a new house around 18months ago where my father in law helped out a bit, now despite his 2 grown sons I’m first point of call to help when he needs it, it’s almost at the stage where one of his favours are worth 20 of mine as I keep getting the ‘he helped is remember’ off the mrs if I dare moan, I’m quite happy to help out normally but when you have other things to cram into a weekend and your aware the sons are kicking about doing next to nothing it’s infuriating

27-09-2021, 06:45 AM

I moved into a new house around 18months ago where my father in law helped out a bit, now despite his 2 grown sons I’m first point of call to help when he needs it, it’s almost at the stage where one of his favours are worth 20 of mine as I keep getting the ‘he helped is remember’ off the mrs if I dare moan, I’m quite happy to help out normally but when you have other things to cram into a weekend and your aware the sons are kicking about doing next to nothing it’s infuriating

See it in a positive light, maybe he trusts you more than his own sons or wants to spend time with you, or a combination of both.

27-09-2021, 09:13 AM

That sounds like your pet peeve is actually your Mrs. :greengrin

29-09-2021, 11:34 AM
Exes who out of the blue end a relationship, make it clear they want a divorce then do bugger all to actually make that happen so I have to do all the work, getting a solicitor to draft a separation agreement - sent to her. No response for weeks. She eventually appoints a solicitor, again no response for weeks.

Eventually gets finalised, she pisses around at getting the house sold but eventually that gets done so we can progress to the actual divorce (stipulation of the separation agreement - house sold > funds received > loose ends tied up > divorce application > no contest > divorced). She pisses around with the loose ends.

I get the solicitor to put in the divorce application a couple of months ago. Solicitor outlines it normally takes a few weeks but the courts are running slow. Never heard anything.

Solicitor then calls yesterday. The courts can’t get a hold of her - she’s not responding to any of their correspondence and they’ve been trying for two months. Next step sheriff officers at my expense unless I can get something out of her in terms of why there’s been no response I try and contact her, leave a message asking if she’s moved house or if she’s received anything and explain the seriousness. No reply.

For someone who was so keen to get divorced 3.5 years ago, she doesn’t seem to be in a rush to get this done. Doing my head in that I have to do all the running around.

Rant over.

Bangkok Hibby
29-09-2021, 01:23 PM
Exes who out of the blue end a relationship, make it clear they want a divorce then do bugger all to actually make that happen so I have to do all the work, getting a solicitor to draft a separation agreement - sent to her. No response for weeks. She eventually appoints a solicitor, again no response for weeks.

Eventually gets finalised, she pisses around at getting the house sold but eventually that gets done so we can progress to the actual divorce (stipulation of the separation agreement - house sold > funds received > loose ends tied up > divorce application > no contest > divorced). She pisses around with the loose ends.

I get the solicitor to put in the divorce application a couple of months ago. Solicitor outlines it normally takes a few weeks but the courts are running slow. Never heard anything.

Solicitor then calls yesterday. The courts can’t get a hold of her - she’s not responding to any of their correspondence and they’ve been trying for two months. Next step sheriff officers at my expense unless I can get something out of her in terms of why there’s been no response I try and contact her, leave a message asking if she’s moved house or if she’s received anything and explain the seriousness. No reply.

For someone who was so keen to get divorced 3.5 years ago, she doesn’t seem to be in a rush to get this done. Doing my head in that I have to do all the running around.

Rant over.

Oh mate, you were born a man. Always gonna be **** on at divorce time. Feel for you.

Jay
29-09-2021, 01:40 PM
Oh mate, you were born a man. Always gonna be **** on at divorce time. Feel for you.

I find that really offensive and totally disagree .

Bangkok Hibby
29-09-2021, 01:49 PM

Really? I refer you to many websites for fathers **** on after divorce. The thousands of stories from men who lost everything after divorce. I take it you have a different tale to tell. Promise I won't find it offensive ��
Maybe you are a woman?

Edit...let me chuck in the many male suicides by fathers refused access to their children or financially ruined by CSA

CloudSquall
29-09-2021, 01:54 PM
Rant over.

You have my sympathies, I went through something similar when an ex just disappeared for a year and a half after saying she wanted a divorce.

Thankfully in the end everything went through calmly but it was something that could have been wrapped up in a year but needed almost 3 years to complete in the end.

I'm getting married again later this year ("DON'T DO IT!!!"I hear you scream :greengrin) so life has it's way of working out in the end :aok:

Bangkok Hibby
29-09-2021, 01:57 PM
You have my sympathies, I went through something similar when an ex just disappeared for a year and a half after saying she wanted a divorce.

Thankfully in the end everything went through calmly but it was something that could have been wrapped up in a year but needed almost 3 years to complete in the end.

I'm getting married again later this year ("DON'T DO IT!!!"I hear you scream :greengrin) so life has it's way of working out in the end :aok:

Of course it does. Go for it and be happy. I'm on my third but the big plus point for me is she's not British

Haha not trolling. I mean it.

29-09-2021, 02:39 PM

That’s what I don’t get - we’ve both moved on. I’ve bought a house with my new partner. She’s with someone new. You would think she would just get stuff done to get it sorted. So frustrating that it always seems to be me that has to do the donkey work.

Tempted to give her work address for the sheriff officers to rock up to :faf:

29-09-2021, 02:45 PM

Snap.

Bangkok Hibby
29-09-2021, 03:40 PM
Snap.

Explain...do you really think men don't come out worst from divorce cases?

stuart-farquhar
29-09-2021, 04:08 PM
People who waste energy on being offended. Who cares!

29-09-2021, 04:39 PM
Explain...do you really think men don't come out worst from divorce cases?

The expression you used was "Always gonna be **** on at divorce time".

No, I don't agree.

As with a lot of things like this, we can only base our opinion on experience and anecdotal evidence. You have a 2/2 hit rate, which drives yours. In my experience, there is just as much "****ting on" female spouses (there are websites which claim that) and, increasingly, situations where spouses are consensual and adult about the whole thing. The latter situation is one that there are no websites for, because it's not news.

And then there's what drives the divorce; they don't happen for no reason. Bad marriage behaviour is not restricted to any particular gender or sexuality, but sometimes, if a spouse is "**** on", it's because they deserve to be so.

Like many things relationship-wise, there are always 3 sides to the story. Each partner's, and the truth. :greengrin

Rocky
29-09-2021, 06:11 PM
Really? I refer you to many websites for fathers **** on after divorce. The thousands of stories from men who lost everything after divorce. I take it you have a different tale to tell. Promise I won't find it offensive ��
Maybe you are a woman?

Edit...let me chuck in the many male suicides by fathers refused access to their children or financially ruined by CSA

Fire in the stats for absent fathers who contribute nothing to child care or maintenance too while you're at it.

Bangkok Hibby
29-09-2021, 10:27 PM
The expression you used was "Always gonna be **** on at divorce time".

No, I don't agree.

As with a lot of things like this, we can only base our opinion on experience and anecdotal evidence. You have a 2/2 hit rate, which drives yours. In my experience, there is just as much "****ting on" female spouses (there are websites which claim that) and, increasingly, situations where spouses are consensual and adult about the whole thing. The latter situation is one that there are no websites for, because it's not news.

And then there's what drives the divorce; they don't happen for no reason. Bad marriage behaviour is not restricted to any particular gender or sexuality, but sometimes, if a spouse is "**** on", it's because they deserve to be so.

Like many things relationship-wise, there are always 3 sides to the story. Each partner's, and the truth. :greengrin

Fair enough, I wasn't actually using my experiences as a base for saying what I did as I'm only too aware doing that can skew your views on any subject. I also was making no comment on the reason why couples have arrived at the divorce court. I'll retract the word "always" but stick to my view though that in cases where anything other than an amicable split of all things financial or family related is the outcome, its far more likely to be the man who comes off worst.
Why that view would offend anyone puzzles me unless of course personal circumstances/experiences are talking.
Two sides plus the truth is so true 😀

Bangkok Hibby
29-09-2021, 10:29 PM
Fire in the stats for absent fathers who contribute nothing to child care or maintenance too while you're at it.

No I'll just stick to the point thanks.

30-09-2021, 12:09 AM

Rant over.

Thats crap mate, I've never been married but I separated from my kids mum last year, that was really really tough. She wanted it but then decided to burst into tears when I packed my stuff and left. I didn't understand why she acted like that as it was her who wanted the split. Over a year later I've gotten the **** out of Edinburgh into my own place I bought and see my kid once a week when possible. She's with someone new but I'm quite happy on my own. Hope things get cleared up soon mate.

30-09-2021, 08:17 AM
Only my third day back in the office after working from home, already the commute is driving me nuts.

I got on the 31 at Western Corner 45 mins ago. I’ve just got through Shandwick Place. Princes Street closed westbound.

I dunno what’s being done to Princes Street, but surely in the 18 months that folk were mostly working from home, the works could’ve been done then?

30-09-2021, 12:39 PM
Only my third day back in the office after working from home, already the commute is driving me nuts.

I got on the 31 at Western Corner 45 mins ago. I’ve just got through Shandwick Place. Princes Street closed westbound.

I dunno what’s being done to Princes Street, but surely in the 18 months that folk were mostly working from home, the works could’ve been done then?

Better off with the tram from Balgreen for going into town no?

30-09-2021, 01:03 PM
Better off with the tram from Balgreen for going into town no?

If I’d known that princes street was closed then that’s what I’d have done.

I stay on the 31 all the way up to just past surgeons hall, so that’s better for me getting to work.

30-09-2021, 02:21 PM

Tramworks, seemingly found some cracks in the concrete that they took an age to do the 1st time, Shandwick Pl was closed both ways on Tuesday, Edinburgh Clowncil are determined to make this city the worst to live in, also noticed it's been seen as the dirtiest city in Scotland taking over from Glasgow, so much rubbish not being collected and lying around.

30-09-2021, 04:42 PM
The new smart lightbulbs my wife has bought. I keep walking into a room and turning the light on only for nothing to happen. Driving me nuts having to faff about with an app just to turn a light on.

Bangkok Hibby
03-10-2021, 01:48 PM
The angry, shouty, offended, female news anchors on Fox news.

03-10-2021, 04:20 PM
The angry, shouty, offended, female news anchors on Fox news.

What difference does it make that they’re female?

03-10-2021, 04:23 PM

They're probably not so funny. 🤔

Bangkok Hibby
04-10-2021, 05:03 AM

They annoy me more than the angry, shouty offended males....ok?

04-10-2021, 07:41 AM
They annoy me more than the angry, shouty offended males....ok?

I’m sure it is in your mind 👍

Bangkok Hibby
04-10-2021, 10:05 AM
I’m sure it is in your mind 👍

Yes, that's why I posted it in the pet peeves thread. The women annoy me more than the men. Pretty sure it's not a thread to question or challenge peoples peeves.

04-10-2021, 10:15 AM
Yes, that's why I posted it in the pet peeves thread. The women annoy me more than the men. Pretty sure it's not a thread to question or challenge peoples peeves.

pretty sure if you read the thread there’s quite a lot of that

its a public forum, people are allowed to respond to posts, just as you’re allowed to make them

Bangkok Hibby
04-10-2021, 10:20 AM
pretty sure if you read the thread there’s quite a lot of that

its a public forum, people are allowed to respond to posts, just as you’re allowed to make them

Whatever turns you on. I feel there's quite a lot we'll disagree on. Especially regarding women. But maybe that's for another thread 🙏🏻

04-10-2021, 10:32 AM
Whatever turns you on. I feel there's quite a lot we'll disagree on. Especially regarding women. But maybe that's for another thread 🙏🏻

quite possibly, but differences of opinion keep the world going round, I appreciate that you keep it civil :aok:

04-10-2021, 11:03 AM
When random people let onto you when you're walking round Tesco and you have no idea who they are...

Which Tesco were you in?

04-10-2021, 11:14 AM
Which Tesco were you in?

Duloch.

Bangkok Hibby
04-10-2021, 11:58 AM
quite possibly, but differences of opinion keep the world going round, I appreciate that you keep it civil :aok:

Of course, thank you fellow Hibby. 🙏🏻

04-10-2021, 02:04 PM
Duloch.

Might have been me, did they have a Hibs mask on? I had someone that was staring at me almost aggressively that i said alright to in there the other day.

04-10-2021, 03:58 PM
Might have been me, did they have a Hibs mask on? I had someone that was staring at me almost aggressively that i said alright to in there the other day.

Maybe it was me. :dunno:. I'm unlucky enough to live over this way now.

05-10-2021, 03:21 PM
My dog. She was playing with a toy in the corner and ran across, leapt up on the sofa just to burp in my face before going back to what she was doing.

Apparently reading up on behaviour it’s a sign of affection but it would be nice if she could get me a beer instead.

07-10-2021, 02:32 AM
Christmas adverts in earl October. I've seen my first this year.

Dmas
07-10-2021, 04:17 AM

I got my first grinch insult of the year off the mrs for moaning about this the other day

07-10-2021, 07:44 AM

I’ve seen two already, and the BM Bargains in Lanark has half an aisle dedicated to bloody Christmas selection packs. Wrapping paper and other ***** is now out as well.

07-10-2021, 09:09 AM
People who act surprised that Christmas is advertised and shops have Christmas stock in October.:greengrin

It's been like this for about 20 years and every year people go mad about it on social media as though it's the 1st time it's happened.

If people didn't buy it, shops wouldn't do it. I've picked up a few bits and bobs already, spreads the cost.:wink:

Jay
07-10-2021, 09:13 AM
Likewise. I have a lot to buy and I know others with way more than me to organise. I have to spread the cost and time over a few months.

07-10-2021, 10:21 AM
People who act surprised that Christmas is advertised and shops have Christmas stock in October.:greengrin

It's been like this for about 20 years and every year people go mad about it on social media as though it's the 1st time it's happened.

If people didn't buy it, shops wouldn't do it. I've picked up a few bits and bobs already, spreads the cost.:wink:

It's all your fault :greengrin. First in week in October and we are being hassled about Christmas. Leave us alane :grr:

07-10-2021, 10:30 AM

I nearly choked on my Creme Egg.

07-10-2021, 03:06 PM

No its not. Ive seen at least 4 on Social Media tell me 'It GeTs EaRlIeR EvErY YeAr'

07-10-2021, 03:44 PM

Probably someone that hates Hibs?

07-10-2021, 05:23 PM

I was watching an old comedy (The Likely Lads) the other day that was filmed in 1974, and they said exactly the same thing.

07-10-2021, 05:38 PM
Saw this on Facebook:

F*****g w*****s setting off fireworks in October, dug bolted and knocked over the Christmas tree 🎄😂😂😂😂😂😂
.............. could have been worse, it might have smashed the Easter eggs. :greengrin

07-10-2021, 06:32 PM
Saw this on Facebook:

F*****g w*****s setting off fireworks in October, dug bolted and knocked over the Christmas tree 🎄😂😂😂😂😂😂
.............. could have been worse, it might have smashed the Easter eggs. :greengrin

07-10-2021, 09:15 PM
Probably someone that hates Hibs?

Wouldn’t be the first time. Was in one evening and a couple of older teens passed and one of them went “‘mon the Hearts”, I said “f*** the Hearts” and the same boy replied “f*** the Hearts”, presumably by accident.

07-10-2021, 09:19 PM

Wouldn’t be the first time. Was in one evening and a couple of older teens passed and one of them went “‘mon the Hearts”, I said “f*** the Hearts” and the same boy replied “f*** the Hearts”, presumably by accident.I think that comes from their kickback FTH thing. The irony's lost on them.

08-10-2021, 10:31 AM
Fashion designers who are quite evidently taking the piss with some of their offerings knowing people will pay for the label. I like to dress well and have a few bits and bobs that I was happy to pay for but some stuff is just off the scale mental.

The entire Yeezy range by Adidas must be a giant social experiment to see how crap you can make something look before people stop buying it. I present exhibit A:

https://www.farfetch.com/uk/shopping/men/adidas-yeezy-foam-rnnr-sand-sneakers-item-16658089.aspx?size=34&storeid=11218&utm_source=google&utm_medium=cpc&utm_keywordid=126432835&utm_shoppingproductid=16658089-49484653&pid=google_search&af_channel=Search&c=1603618026&af_c_id=1603618026&af_siteid=&af_keywords=aud-308563156202%3Apla-552437059612&af_adset_id=66294290532&af_ad_id=305209734611&af_sub1=126432835&af_sub5=16658089-49484653&is_retargeting=true&shopping=yes&gclid=CjwKCAjw2P-KBhByEiwADBYWClyj6uC2ztXb0X1qSl_U1UZV2agc0xo6bMY8z QZmZea9rLDDhlIBehoCR0wQAvD_BwE

And B:

https://stockx.com/adidas-yeezy-knit-rnr-sulfur?country=GB&currencyCode=GBP&size=5&gclsrc=aw.ds&?utm_source=google&utm_medium=cpc&utm_campaign=OD-Segment-Sneakers-AdultSizes-International(UK)&utm_campaignid=1595987510&content=302441665638&keyword&gclid=CjwKCAjw2P-KBhByEiwADBYWCgRDsrW501fAFu8LXm1TLxiJkh4WuxiXJXsms RRglhGf1adheQ4JFBoCkiMQAvD_BwE

The worst of the lot is this monstrosity I came across the other day though. £2890!!
https://www.farfetch.com/uk/shopping/men/balenciaga-reversible-logo-print-parka-item-16580956.aspx?size=18&storeid=10952&pup_e=3337&pup_cid=206008&pup_id=16580956-5252&utm_source=google&utm_medium=cpc&utm_keywordid=119354994&utm_shoppingproductid=16580956-5252&pid=google_search&af_channel=Search&c=2069866725&af_c_id=2069866725&af_siteid=&af_keywords=aud-308563156962%3Apla-547205128506&af_adset_id=76660406536&af_ad_id=61195989096&af_sub1=119354994&af_sub5=16580956-5252&is_retargeting=true&shopping=yes&gclid=CjwKCAjw2P-KBhByEiwADBYWCu_oTJrSnKkSskMTqrNH_4Ao3PyR8agrmrzmy EPd_fJsI3sisf8wthoCEWcQAvD_BwE

I can't believe anyone who bought that did it for any reason other than to show off to people that they can afford it. No one thinks that looks good.

08-10-2021, 01:01 PM
Fashion designers who are quite evidently taking the piss with some of their offerings knowing people will pay for the label. I like to dress well and have a few bits and bobs that I was happy to pay for but some stuff is just off the scale mental.

The entire Yeezy range by Adidas must be a giant social experiment to see how crap you can make something look before people stop buying it. I present exhibit A:

https://www.farfetch.com/uk/shopping/men/adidas-yeezy-foam-rnnr-sand-sneakers-item-16658089.aspx?size=34&storeid=11218&utm_source=google&utm_medium=cpc&utm_keywordid=126432835&utm_shoppingproductid=16658089-49484653&pid=google_search&af_channel=Search&c=1603618026&af_c_id=1603618026&af_siteid=&af_keywords=aud-308563156202%3Apla-552437059612&af_adset_id=66294290532&af_ad_id=305209734611&af_sub1=126432835&af_sub5=16658089-49484653&is_retargeting=true&shopping=yes&gclid=CjwKCAjw2P-KBhByEiwADBYWClyj6uC2ztXb0X1qSl_U1UZV2agc0xo6bMY8z QZmZea9rLDDhlIBehoCR0wQAvD_BwE

And B:

https://stockx.com/adidas-yeezy-knit-rnr-sulfur?country=GB&currencyCode=GBP&size=5&gclsrc=aw.ds&?utm_source=google&utm_medium=cpc&utm_campaign=OD-Segment-Sneakers-AdultSizes-International(UK)&utm_campaignid=1595987510&content=302441665638&keyword&gclid=CjwKCAjw2P-KBhByEiwADBYWCgRDsrW501fAFu8LXm1TLxiJkh4WuxiXJXsms RRglhGf1adheQ4JFBoCkiMQAvD_BwE

The worst of the lot is this monstrosity I came across the other day though. £2890!!
https://www.farfetch.com/uk/shopping/men/balenciaga-reversible-logo-print-parka-item-16580956.aspx?size=18&storeid=10952&pup_e=3337&pup_cid=206008&pup_id=16580956-5252&utm_source=google&utm_medium=cpc&utm_keywordid=119354994&utm_shoppingproductid=16580956-5252&pid=google_search&af_channel=Search&c=2069866725&af_c_id=2069866725&af_siteid=&af_keywords=aud-308563156962%3Apla-547205128506&af_adset_id=76660406536&af_ad_id=61195989096&af_sub1=119354994&af_sub5=16580956-5252&is_retargeting=true&shopping=yes&gclid=CjwKCAjw2P-KBhByEiwADBYWCu_oTJrSnKkSskMTqrNH_4Ao3PyR8agrmrzmy EPd_fJsI3sisf8wthoCEWcQAvD_BwE

I can't believe anyone who bought that did it for any reason other than to show off to people that they can afford it. No one thinks that looks good.

I used to see someone who used an old Railtrack hi-vis jacket as a cycling jacket and I thought it looked pretty good. Probably not the best part of £3k though…

08-10-2021, 01:13 PM
I used to see someone who used an old Railtrack hi-vis jacket as a cycling jacket and I thought it looked pretty good. Probably not the best part of £3k though…

Ha! When I first had a motorbike I had yellow NCB oilskins for wet weather. 😁

08-10-2021, 06:07 PM

And B:

I've got a similar jacket to that Balenciaga thing but I have to wear it in hi Viz areas, £68 or something.

08-10-2021, 06:30 PM
I've got a similar jacket to that Balenciaga thing but I have to wear it in hi Viz areas, £68 or something.

Aye I've got one for the warehouse in my work when I venture down. Think my boss was complaining because they had gone up to £55.

I might buy a job lot and get them on Ebay.

08-10-2021, 06:41 PM
Why the hell is everything a 'Journey'?

You start a new job, get some intro from the owner to all the new starts and he describes us as going on some mystical 'Journey' together.

The company you're working with releases a new TV, and they have a big media event where they describe it as going on a 'Journey', with emotive music and emotional sounding speech.

Naw, it's a job, you're only doing it to pay your bills, and it's just a bl**dy telly!!!!

08-10-2021, 07:28 PM
Aye I've got one for the warehouse in my work when I venture down. Think my boss was complaining because they had gone up to £55.

I might buy a job lot and get them on Ebay.

Winter jackets and vests for summer make money all year round.

Bangkok Hibby
09-10-2021, 06:55 AM

You start a new job, get some intro from the owner to all the new starts and he describes us as going on some mystical 'Journey' together.

The company you're working with releases a new TV, and they have a big media event where they describe it as going on a 'Journey', with emotive music and emotional sounding speech.

Naw, it's a job, you're only doing it to pay your bills, and it's just a bl**dy telly!!!!

Yea so glad I'm out of all that ****....corporate speak! How embarrassing for those who buy into it and repeat.

09-10-2021, 05:03 PM
Yea so glad I'm out of all that ****....corporate speak! How embarrassing for those who buy into it and repeat.

It's amazing how many of the mostly younger colleagues* at my work actually do buy into it.

* Before anyone gets offended, this is just how it is at my work, I'm making no inference generally about young folk.... no matter how much I dislike them ;-).

pollution
09-10-2021, 06:21 PM
It's amazing how many of the mostly younger colleagues* at my work actually do buy into it.

* Before anyone gets offended, this is just how it is at my work, I'm making no inference generally about young folk.... no matter how much I dislike them ;-).

It's just a phase they're going through.

10-10-2021, 08:03 AM
It's just a phase they're going through.Corporate speak? Surely a phrase they're going through?

Alfiembra
10-10-2021, 09:08 AM
It's just a phase they're going through.

is this phase not a journey also? :offski:

10-10-2021, 12:05 PM
is this phase not a journey also? :offski:

Both rank highly in the corporate speak “space”.

10-10-2021, 12:25 PM
People selling things on Facebook or whatever who take 6 identical photos of the object instead of different angles/doors open or closed etc.

10-10-2021, 01:12 PM

In my job nearly every shift is a journey. :greengrin

10-10-2021, 01:19 PM

Good one G 😀

10-10-2021, 01:41 PM
Dunfermline bus station. It has to be the most user unfriendly transport hub I've ever been to. No staff around to ask, very little in the way of route information and the timetables are non existent. If you're new to the area like me you'll really struggle to find the number of bus to where you want to go. Theres a poorly lit supervisors office with a kind of serving hatch window to speak to them and on the window theres a sign that says for information chap the door round the side and when you do they don't bother answering it anyway. Its no wonder folk use their cars so much. The difference between the bus service in Edinburgh and Dunfermline is staggering. I know Edinburgh is much bigger but Dunfermline is a very large town now but the bus network is so poor.

10-10-2021, 01:47 PM
Both rank highly in the corporate speak “space”.

Going Forward, the new Space is all part of our Journey together.

10-10-2021, 01:48 PM

Except on a Sunday, when you just sit in the Bothy all day.

10-10-2021, 01:54 PM
Went for a swim in a local tidal outdoor pool this morning. It's reasonably popular and although it's not quite as busy in the autumn months, there were still a few people who had enjoyed a swim.

There's a little natural part in the rocks that shelters the view on three of the four sides and people use that to get changed. Unless you're on the rocks or right in front of it, nobody sees you. People use towels, gowns etc. to protect their modesty on the fourth side so it works perfectly. It's at the side of the beach too and well out of the way.

A family with two young kids came down onto the beach and although it was clear that there was a few people waiting to get changed in the little alcove, their kids started climbing all over the rocks and removing any chance of people being out of the way. The parents let them continue with it and more interested in their phones ("don't slip on there" etc.) ended up encouraging them.

One of the swimmers went across and said politely that people use the alcove to discreetly change, they were told "they're just playing, why do you have to do it there".

There's literally an entire beach full of things to climb over and shells to collect elsewhere.

10-10-2021, 03:52 PM
Except on a Sunday, when you just sit in the Bothy all day.

Not true. I'm not ScotRail anymore. :wink:

pollution
12-10-2021, 06:15 PM
Shop assistants not taking off the security tag and the alarm going full tilt.

12-10-2021, 07:28 PM
Shop assistants not taking off the security tag and the alarm going full tilt.

Wife has bought three different items online recently and all arrived with security tags still on. I should add ordered from a proper retailer so nothing dodgy just incompetent staff.

13-10-2021, 12:34 PM
When you order a supper from the chippy and they don’t lift the main item up so that you get salt and sauce on the chips underneath. Criminal behaviour.

13-10-2021, 05:29 PM
Wife has bought three different items online recently and all arrived with security tags still on. I should add ordered from a proper retailer so nothing dodgy just incompetent staff.

Has she managed to make it out the front door without the alarm going off?

13-10-2021, 05:55 PM
Has she managed to make it out the front door without the alarm going off?

I think Scouse will have strip searched her as a precaution.

13-10-2021, 08:34 PM
Finally found an exercise regime I loved and got into - fives, outdoor swimming and jogging. Just felt my calf go earlier and in agony.

Always struggle to keep things going and really, really pissed of at it.

13-10-2021, 09:41 PM
Finally found an exercise regime I loved and got into - fives, outdoor swimming and jogging. Just felt my calf go earlier and in agony.

Hopefully it's not too severe and you're back to the 5s in a month or so. It's always a wee reminder to do plenty stretches before playing!

14-10-2021, 06:58 AM
Hopefully it's not too severe and you're back to the 5s in a month or so. It's always a wee reminder to do plenty stretches before playing!

Partner’s sure that it’s a minor Achilles tear. Certainly agony and ticks all the boxes from what I see for it to be that.

Will get it into the tidal pool at the beach soon and no doubt the cold will work wonders on the pain and the swelling.

14-10-2021, 09:50 AM

When you are back to fitness start to incorporate calf raises into your routine.

I used to suffer with horrendous calf issues and after consulting a physio she showed me a few exercises, foam rolls etc to try but said the calf raise was still the gold standard. She suggested a regular runner should be able to do about 20 single leg raises and still feel comfortable. You don't run on 2 legs at the same time so the single leg raise makes sense. You can add in double leg, weighted etc if/when you feel they are needed.

16-10-2021, 09:33 AM
I think Scouse will have strip searched her as a precaution.

16-10-2021, 11:39 AM
When you are back to fitness start to incorporate calf raises into your routine.

I used to suffer with horrendous calf issues and after consulting a physio she showed me a few exercises, foam rolls etc to try but said the calf raise was still the gold standard. She suggested a regular runner should be able to do about 20 single leg raises and still feel comfortable. You don't run on 2 legs at the same time so the single leg raise makes sense. You can add in double leg, weighted etc if/when you feel they are needed.

Defo not an Achilles tear as was able to hobble about yesterday if not put much weight in it but done a lot of those stretches and went for a 40 minute cold water swim this morning and the distance is remarkable. Limping but at work and able to pull my weight in some capacity. Able to do a lot more stretches after that swim too - was absolutely freezing but body is acclimatised to it to last a fair bit in there.

Still know it’s tender and weakened but from being on the couch all Thursday with ice packs and agony to today is remarkable.

Thank you 👍

16-10-2021, 12:10 PM
When Amazon sends an alert saying your package is 8 (or however many) stops away. “Click to see where on the map it is”. When you click there is no map!

19-10-2021, 08:30 PM
Brits abroad - or at least some of them.

I was summoned this afternoon to sort out my French resident's permit (merci Brexit !). There was about 20 of us in the waiting room, all expats with more than half of retirement age.

About half the people there didn't speak a word of French. When the staff spoke to them they ploughed on in English without even attempting a "oui" or a "non". These are people that live here but mix exclusively in wee Brit cliques and make no effort to integrate.

I'd deport the lot of them if it was up to me. Ignorant tossers!

20-10-2021, 01:20 AM
Brits abroad - or at least some of them.

I was summoned this afternoon to sort out my French resident's permit (merci Brexit !). There was about 20 of us in the waiting room, all expats with more than half of retirement age.

About half the people there didn't speak a word of French. When the staff spoke to them they ploughed on in English without even attempting a "oui" or a "non". These are people that live here but mix exclusively in wee Brit cliques and make no effort to integrate.

I'd deport the lot of them if it was up to me. Ignorant tossers!

It's the same in Germany and many of those who refuse to integrate actually dislike living here and constantly moan about the Germans. There's a large ex-pat community living in Berlin, I know a few that have been here for decades who can barely speak a word of German and are proud of the fact.

20-10-2021, 11:31 AM
It's the same in Germany and many of those who refuse to integrate actually dislike living here and constantly moan about the Germans. There's a large ex-pat community living in Berlin, I know a few that have been here for decades who can barely speak a word of German and are proud of the fact.

:crazy:

20-10-2021, 03:43 PM
People who think that talking is some kind of race to get as many words out as possible within the shortest period of time.

20-10-2021, 04:27 PM
People who think that talking is some kind of race to get as many words out as possible within the shortest period of time.Whathefuyeonaboot?

20-10-2021, 05:37 PM
Whathefuyeonaboot?

21-10-2021, 10:53 AM
People who can’t be bothered to ensure they get to work on time. Pretty obvious that if your bus gets stuck in traffic nearly every day and makes you late that you need to leave the house earlier and get an earlier bus surely?

21-10-2021, 03:46 PM

And in Switzerland. You can easily get a job in a multi national here, bank or similar, and never really have to speak a word of German, French or Italian.

Lazy ********s (although very nice in other ways as some are my mates, or usually their American wives)

21-10-2021, 11:36 PM
People who can’t be bothered to ensure they get to work on time. Pretty obvious that if your bus gets stuck in traffic nearly every day and makes you late that you need to leave the house earlier and get an earlier bus surely?

Just lateness for anything. It’s disrespectful- those that are always late and think it’s endearing or funny or whatever are just *****.

22-10-2021, 07:35 AM
Just lateness for anything. It’s disrespectful- those that are always late and think it’s endearing or funny or whatever are just *****.

I saw a thread about this elsewhere about a woman who claimed no matter what she did she was always late and things always seemed to happen to her that made her late. Absolute *****.

I had friends come to mine for a bbq over the summer, one car was here on time and the other was over an hour late, by which time the food was charcoal and 3 of the 4 that were late were vegan so they had to cook their own ****ing food before we could sit down to eat.

22-10-2021, 11:38 AM
People who call the tomato sauce that baked beans come in “bean juice”.

It’s not.

22-10-2021, 12:49 PM

I hate being late, though sometimes it happens and when it does it stresses me out.

22-10-2021, 01:26 PM

I honestly think if I added up all the hours I have been early in my life I'd find I'd lost about a month.

I get to the airport 3 hours before a flight, I'm at work at least half an hour early every morning, I hang about outside restaurants because I'm there 15 minutes before my booking, I drink an extra pint each time I meet anyone in a pub because I've arrived 25 minutes before we agreed to meet etc etc..

I hate lateness with a passion and can't be ersed with people who think it's some positive character trait. It's just rude and if it's habitual and you make no effort to change that then that makes it worse. Like Matty says on the odd occasion I have been late I get really stressed and panicky about it.

22-10-2021, 01:49 PM
I honestly think if I added up all the hours I have been early in my life I'd find I'd lost about a month.

I get to the airport 3 hours before a flight, I'm at work at least half an hour early every morning, I hang about outside restaurants because I'm there 15 minutes before my booking, I drink an extra pint each time I meet anyone in a pub because I've arrived 25 minutes before we agreed to meet etc etc..

I hate lateness with a passion and can't be ersed with people who think it's some positive character trait. It's just rude and if it's habitual and you make no effort to change that then that makes it worse. Like Matty says on the odd occasion I have been late I get really stressed and panicky about it.

That's me too, we have one pal you have to lie about what time we are meeting so we know he will be there at the right time, he's always about an hour late for everything

22-10-2021, 05:29 PM

cannot agree more with every point :agree:

my brother and his wife are always late, family meals, family get togethers, everything. It’s rude, disrespectful and selfish, and they don’t give a toss about anyone else that’s waiting on them. It’s not unusual for them to be an hour late, and there’s not ever a ‘sorry’ or anything like that.

speedy_gonzales
22-10-2021, 05:36 PM

What a hardship 😜

But seriously, I'm another that cannot be late and will always strive to be early nevermind on-time.
It's part being polite, part courtesy and a part fear of missing out.

22-10-2021, 06:55 PM
What a hardship [emoji12]

But seriously, I'm another that cannot be late and will always strive to be early nevermind on-time.
It's part being polite, part courtesy and a part fear of missing out.Same here. Even if I'm meeting people who are always late and I myself try to be late, I don't manage it will probably still be 5 minutes early.

22-10-2021, 08:25 PM
Anybody that gets annoyed about people being late would have a great time with my family.

My Mum and Dad used to drive through to visit when my kids were still small, and would arrive at least 45 minutes after they said they were going to arrive. In fact, one time they were an hour and a half late... and the drive to our house from theirs was only 50 minutes.

My sister was 45 minutes late for my wedding, which she blamed on her three year old son.

My other sister was 30 minutes late for her own wedding.

We had a memorial for my Mum recently, ten years after she passed away, and me an the Missus were the only ones that turned up on time. The others arrived between 20 and 45 minutes late.

We then agreed to meet at My Sister's house afterward, and my Sister and Dad turned up nearly an hour after we did.

I went to the football last weekend and arranged to meet my Dad and my Nephew for a cuppa before hand. They were only 30 minutes late, which must be some kind of record for them. My Dad blamed my sister for dropping the kid off late at his house. My sister then blamed her son (yep same sister, same son, over ten years later).

You lot would have a meltdown, seriously!

23-10-2021, 12:18 AM
I’m another for the lateness. I’m always on time, but have to constantly deal with lateness from others. The thing that gets me is it’s always another excuse as the late party turns up all flustered. It’s never their fault, but the majority of people manage to get through life without the same dramas.

23-10-2021, 11:55 AM
Anybody that gets annoyed about people being late would have a great time with my family.

My Mum and Dad used to drive through to visit when my kids were still small, and would arrive at least 45 minutes after they said they were going to arrive. In fact, one time they were an hour and a half late... and the drive to our house from theirs was only 50 minutes.

My sister was 45 minutes late for my wedding, which she blamed on her three year old son.

My other sister was 30 minutes late for her own wedding.

We had a memorial for my Mum recently, ten years after she passed away, and me an the Missus were the only ones that turned up on time. The others arrived between 20 and 45 minutes late.

We then agreed to meet at My Sister's house afterward, and my Sister and Dad turned up nearly an hour after we did.

I went to the football last weekend and arranged to meet my Dad and my Nephew for a cuppa before hand. They were only 30 minutes late, which must be some kind of record for them. My Dad blamed my sister for dropping the kid off late at his house. My sister then blamed her son (yep same sister, same son, over ten years later).

You lot would have a meltdown, seriously!

Mate I’m sitting here raging on your behalf. I couldn’t cope with that - I’d definitely be in an argument every time with them - I can’t not say a comment to someone when late. Same at work - I give a couple of minutes grace and I dial off or leave the meeting room.

I was always told you’re better being 15 mins early that 5 mins late.

23-10-2021, 11:58 AM
Mate I’m sitting here raging on your behalf. I couldn’t cope with that - I’d definitely be in an argument every time with them - I can’t not say a comment to someone when late. Same at work - I give a couple of minutes grace and I dial off or leave the meeting room.

I was always told you’re better being 15 mins early that 5 mins late.Or if you are going to be late you can give advance warning (it's easy now) which will lessen or even negate any inconvenience.

23-10-2021, 12:06 PM
Or if you are going to be late you can give advance warning (it's easy now) which will lessen or even negate any inconvenience.

Yes - if I’m even close to running late I message ahead.

23-10-2021, 10:50 PM
I’m not sure of the petrol station etiquette, but it annoys me when people use the pump and then go into the shop. It might be they haven’t paid at the pump, but I can’t help but assume it’s to buy non petrol related stuff. I always pay at the pump and then if I want anything from the shop find a parking space away from the pump.

24-10-2021, 01:00 AM
I’m not sure of the petrol station etiquette, but it annoys me when people use the pump and then go into the shop. It might be they haven’t paid at the pump, but I can’t help but assume it’s to buy non petrol related stuff. I always pay at the pump and then if I want anything from the shop find a parking space away from the pump.

I go into the shop every time to pay, nearly everyone i see in there does the same.

24-10-2021, 07:10 AM
I go into the shop every time to pay, nearly everyone i see in there does the same.

That's true. Get a paper, sweets, milk, buy carwash token etc.
Not much to see here!

24-10-2021, 08:26 AM

If you know you are going into the shop why bother paying at the pump?

I always pay in the shop, a fill up is nearly always over £50 for me and I fill rather than put a round figure of pounds.

24-10-2021, 08:55 AM

It actually annoys me when I get to the pump and realise that its pay at pump only. What a faff, standing about in the cold farting about with card machines.

24-10-2021, 09:00 AM

I always pay in the shop, a fill up is nearly always over £50 for me and I fill rather than put a round figure of pounds.

To save someone waiting on me as I know how annoying I find it waiting behind an empty car. Particularly if I’m only getting petrol. Etiquette or whether it’s rational or not, it’s a peeve for me anyway 😀

24-10-2021, 09:33 AM

I'll continue going in to pay and keep the staff in a job.
I won't use any of the unstaffed places.

24-10-2021, 10:17 AM
I'll continue going in to pay and keep the staff in a job.
I won't use any of the unstaffed places.

I was also going to say that. Always use a manned checkout when possible, self service checkouts can be annoying!! My local co-op self service checkouts don't have a button for scottish breakfast rolls which are sold loose. There you go, another peeve.

24-10-2021, 12:09 PM

you get £99 on the pay at the pump.

24-10-2021, 12:12 PM
Up there with my lateness peeve is bad manners, rudeness and downright ignorance. And those people that seem to look down their nose at you as if they’re better than you and therefore wouldn’t lower themselves to thank or even acknowledge your gesture or words of kindness. Utter morons.

24-10-2021, 12:13 PM
If it’s busy you’re supposed to fill up your car and drive to the parking space before going into the shop, this allows the next person access to the pump. Your sale will still be on the cashiers till when someone else is using the pump.

24-10-2021, 12:23 PM
If it’s busy you’re supposed to fill up your car and drive to the parking space before going into the shop, this allows the next person access to the pump. Your sale will still be on the cashiers till when someone else is using the pump.

When the station is busy far quicker to leave your car where it is and pay, not enough parking spaces to move your car to, never mind the chaos of everyone trying to manoeuvre.

24-10-2021, 04:37 PM
When the station is busy far quicker to leave your car where it is and pay, not enough parking spaces to move your car to, never mind the chaos of everyone trying to manoeuvre.

I got a row for doing this - they thought I was doing a runner.

24-10-2021, 04:40 PM

The tesco I fill up at hasn't got parking spaces for the shop.

Surely paying at the pump, then finding a parking space to then go into the shop for a few bits of shopping takes more time than leaving the car at the pump and going in, buying whatever you need and paying for it all at the same time?!

pollution
24-10-2021, 05:42 PM
The main joy of pay at pump is the need to not have to interact with anyone.

Bliss is a day without speaking to anyone except my wife.

24-10-2021, 06:07 PM

I was always told you’re better being 15 mins early that 5 mins late.

Cheers, I deal with it by trying to keep a smile on my face and not take it too seriously.

Not always easy, I admit

24-10-2021, 06:40 PM
The tesco I fill up at hasn't got parking spaces for the shop.

Surely paying at the pump, then finding a parking space to then go into the shop for a few bits of shopping takes more time than leaving the car at the pump and going in, buying whatever you need and paying for it all at the same time?!
I wasn’t talking about paying at the pump.

24-10-2021, 07:44 PM
Needless packaging in shops.

Seriously why do bananas need wrapped in a plastic bag? Nature has quite literally given them a perfect natural wrapping. Same with carrots, potatoes, cucumbers etc. There is absolutely no need for any of them to be packaged.

24-10-2021, 07:50 PM
I always pay in the shop as I find it takes ages for the pay at the pump to come off my card.

24-10-2021, 09:20 PM
I always pay at the pump and then if I want anything from the shop find a parking space away from the pump.

I think that's a waste of time. Why not fill up and go into the shop to buy whatever you need and pay it all at once. A lot quicker!!

24-10-2021, 09:23 PM
I wasn’t talking about paying at the pump.

Apologies, it was the Modfather. Although the same applies. Leave the car at the pump because the attendant in the shop will think you are doing a runner without paying. 😁

24-10-2021, 09:31 PM
I think that's a waste of time. Why not fill up and go into the shop to buy whatever you need and pay it all at once. A lot quicker!!

It’s not quicker for the person waiting behind me, and I hate being that person waiting. Anyway, it’s a peeve of mine, rational or not, but not particularly important either way in the scheme of things.

26-10-2021, 05:16 PM
Repeating a peeve of mine once more. Just saw erstwhile pretty, Kimberly Wyatt on the telly who has joined the plug, duck-faced brigade by having her lips stereotypically puffed up. What are these women thinking about? They look as if they all belong to one race or nationality or have a physical deformity.

27-10-2021, 08:24 AM
When people say "rightfully" when they should use "understandably".

e.g. The player was rightfully angry that a foul wasn't awarded.

27-10-2021, 08:59 AM
Pub toilets with a stupid symbol on the door.

27-10-2021, 12:14 PM
cannot agree more with every point :agree:

my brother and his wife are always late, family meals, family get togethers, everything. It’s rude, disrespectful and selfish, and they don’t give a toss about anyone else that’s waiting on them. It’s not unusual for them to be an hour late, and there’s not ever a ‘sorry’ or anything like that.

That would be an instant ex-communication from my family, **** that for a laugh.

I find lateness with no prior warning another level of inconsiderate. You *know* you're going to be late before you actually are, so text ahead saying "having a mare here, going to be 30 minutes late" or whatever, then apologize when you get there. I can't stand folk being late - 5-10 minutes can happen to anyone, but any more than that and you're entering The Realm of the late Twat IMO

27-10-2021, 05:28 PM
That would be an instant ex-communication from my family, **** that for a laugh.

I find lateness with no prior warning another level of inconsiderate. You *know* you're going to be late before you actually are, so text ahead saying "having a mare here, going to be 30 minutes late" or whatever, then apologize when you get there. I can't stand folk being late - 5-10 minutes can happen to anyone, but any more than that and you're entering The Realm of the late Twat IMO

nah I’m with you, I hate lateness, I’m pathologically punctual/early, and get stressed when I think I might be less than 10 minutes early!

we often tell my brother a time that’s an hour ahead of when we actually want them there. Funnily enough to your point about calling or texting to say,he tried that one at the weekend, complaining of traffic etc, I’m convinced it was an attempt to imply we should all be appreciative of his heroic efforts to get there, rather than just trying to be on time like everyone else

28-10-2021, 09:24 AM
When people say "rightfully" when they should use "understandably".

e.g. The player was rightfully angry that a foul wasn't awarded.

Think they just mean 'rightly' in the same way that people who say 'purposefully' usually mean 'purposely'.

28-10-2021, 03:23 PM
These Checkatrade and Trusted Trader sites. We looked for a roofer off both sites and the majority of the ones we contacted never bothered to reply.

Now I know they're all particularly busy this autumn but surely it's unprofessional to just ignore calls?

The Trade sites would have you believe these firms are wonderful. Five star reviews wall to wall.
Aye right! It's a con.

28-10-2021, 04:17 PM
Umbrella etiquette. Amount of times you’re walking down the road and nearly get one of the ****ers in the eye.

28-10-2021, 04:20 PM
Umbrella etiquette. Amount of times you’re walking down the road and nearly get one of the ****ers in the eye.I generally avoid busy streets/pavements when I can, but at 6'3" it's a nightmare when the rain comes on.

29-10-2021, 07:22 AM
I generally avoid busy streets/pavements when I can, but at 6'3" it's a nightmare when the rain comes on.

It hits the rest of us about half a second later, you've not hot it THAT much worse. :rolleyes:

29-10-2021, 08:07 AM
How much easier it is to come up with things for here than the “little things that give you pleasure” thread.

29-10-2021, 08:10 AM
It hits the rest of us about half a second later, you've not hot it THAT much worse. :rolleyes:

It is when your eyes are at the perfect height to be caught by umbrella spokes and people not paying attention to what they do with them.

29-10-2021, 12:49 PM

29-10-2021, 04:02 PM
The TfE Bus & Tram app. When using the Plan Trip function it regularly denies all knowledge of the 22 which stops at our nearest bus stop which is a 2 min walk from the house. It either suggests other less regular buses from the same bus stop and offers an elaborate multi change journey to get you back to somewhere where the 22 would have taken direct, or sends you on a trek to another bus stop.

A tram stop is a few minutes round the corner from the same bus stop. It never offers the tram as a suggestion even where it would get you into town quicker.

Google maps gets it right more often in terms of routes but their times are often a bit iffy.

29-10-2021, 04:20 PM
The TfE Bus & Tram app. When using the Plan Trip function it regularly denies all knowledge of the 22 which stops at our nearest bus stop which is a 2 min walk from the house. It either suggests other less regular buses from the same bus stop and offers an elaborate multi change journey to get you back to somewhere where the 22 would have taken direct, or sends you on a trek to another bus stop.

A tram stop is a few minutes round the corner from the same bus stop. It never offers the tram as a suggestion even where it would get you into town quicker.

Google maps gets it right more often in terms of routes but their times are often a bit iffy.

Edinburgh Bus Time Tracker app is very good.

29-10-2021, 05:01 PM
It is when your eyes are at the perfect height to be caught by umbrella spokes and people not paying attention to what they do with them.

You’ve missed the joke (which I definitely got earlier than right just now) 😂

29-10-2021, 05:14 PM
You’ve missed the joke (which I definitely got earlier than right just now) [emoji23]I wondered if I was having a whoosh moment, but I still don't get it TBH.

Probably me being thick.

29-10-2021, 09:40 PM
You’ve missed the joke (which I definitely got earlier than right just now) 😂

Funny, I thought the point Peeve was making had got lost.

30-10-2021, 07:48 AM
People who refer to their wife, husband etc as their 'partner in crime'.

30-10-2021, 08:21 AM
People who refer to their wife, husband etc as their 'partner in crime'.

Boak inducing behaviour

30-10-2021, 08:24 AM
I wondered if I was having a whoosh moment, but I still don't get it TBH.

Probably me being thick.

It wasn't the best joke in the world...

But to avoid any doubt, it was meant to be one. :greengrin

30-10-2021, 09:33 AM
People who refer to their wife, husband etc as their 'partner in crime'.One of my mates always calls his wife "la patronne" (female boss). In fact he calls everyone's wives the same thing.

Even in general conversation he'll say stuff like "sa patronne a parlé avec ma patronne" (his boss spoke to my boss).

I've known him about 25 years and he's always done it. I found it pretty funny at first, and it still doesn't bother me TBH.

30-10-2021, 10:03 AM
One of my mates always calls his wife "la patronne" (female boss). In fact he calls everyone's wives the same thing.

Even in general conversation he'll say stuff like "sa patronne a parlé avec ma patronne" (his boss spoke to my boss).

I've known him about 25 years and he's always done it. I found it pretty funny at first, and it still doesn't bother me TBH.

I refer to my (german) wife as Die Führerin, which I'd imagine sounds much worse.

30-10-2021, 10:19 AM
One of my mates always calls his wife "la patronne" (female boss). In fact he calls everyone's wives the same thing.

I'll refer to my Mrs as the Sergeant Major occasionally.

30-10-2021, 10:37 AM
Boak inducing behaviour

Unless you are Bonnie or Clyde?

30-10-2021, 10:41 AM
I'll refer to my Mrs as the Sergeant Major occasionally.

My wife's aunt accidentally made me a Wing Commander!

She was sending us a gift and when filling in the name and address she clicked wing Commander on the title drop down menu by mistake and the name has stuck.

30-10-2021, 10:47 AM
Unless you are Bonnie or Clyde?

Or Fred and Rosemary West.

30-10-2021, 10:50 AM

She was sending us a gift and when filling in the name and address she clicked wing Commander on the title drop down menu by mistake and the name has stuck.

30-10-2021, 11:17 AM

She was sending us a gift and when filling in the name and address she clicked wing Commander on the title drop down menu by mistake and the name has stuck.That's brilliant.

30-10-2021, 11:48 AM
Gregg Wallace.

Just_Jimmy
30-10-2021, 12:23 PM
Gregg Wallace.Oooooooooooooooooooh.

What a melt he is.

Sent from my SM-G991B using Tapatalk

30-10-2021, 02:16 PM

30-10-2021, 05:53 PM
I love living in a nice rural area, but the catchment area of the secondary schools is huge. 30 minutes each way to take my daughter to a pal's house for a Halloween party, then the same again tomorrow morning to pick her up - that takes a fair lump out the weekend.

31-10-2021, 12:59 AM
The absolute roaster who's had halloween decorations on their house for a full 2 weeks prior to the 31st. Its nothing more than showing off saying look at me, look at my house, who the **** puts a giant spider on a web across the front of their house. Horrendous stuff.

31-10-2021, 01:01 AM
Guisers anaw, they'll be told bolt if they chap my door. (1) because I hate them and (2) because I've currently got Covid 19 and I'm having to isolate in my house alone. :grr:

31-10-2021, 10:12 AM
I wondered if I was having a whoosh moment, but I still don't get it TBH.

You said
at 6'3" it's a nightmare when the rain comes on

It was then suggested that people less tall than you also get wet, just slightly later.

31-10-2021, 10:26 AM
You said
at 6'3" it's a nightmare when the rain comes on

It was then suggested that people less tall than you also get wet, just slightly later.I understand - obviously a whoosh moment for me.

31-10-2021, 11:23 AM
I understand - obviously a whoosh moment for me.

It's very Milton Jones humour.

01-11-2021, 07:52 AM
The absolute roaster who's had halloween decorations on their house for a full 2 weeks prior to the 31st. Its nothing more than showing off saying look at me, look at my house, who the **** puts a giant spider on a web across the front of their house. Horrendous stuff.

There’s someone in my street like that. Something new has appeared every few days. The spiders web appeared last week.

I was shocked at some of the guisers. Hardly any of them even said anything just expected stuff to be doled out to them. A wee girl actually led with “give me sweets now” and the parents seemed cool with that!

01-11-2021, 09:50 AM
There’s someone in my street like that. Something new has appeared every few days. The spiders web appeared last week.

I was shocked at some of the guisers. Hardly any of them even said anything just expected stuff to be doled out to them. A wee girl actually led with “give me sweets now” and the parents seemed cool with that!

I was absolutely delighted that none of the little ****s came to my door although I live in a flat with secure entry so it was unlikely they'd get in anyway. I never have and never will entertain this halloween pish. It so commercialised now and not to mention Americanised. The bit in bold is quite ridiculous, parents should be ashamed.

Jay
01-11-2021, 10:03 AM
I was absolutely delighted that none of the little ****s came to my door although I live in a flat with secure entry so it was unlikely they'd get in anyway. I never have and never entertain this halloween pish. It so commercialised now and not to mention Americanised. The bit in bold is quite ridiculous, parents should be ashamed.

:tee hee: :tee hee: :tee hee: your definitely mellowing . Just as well it was a secure door or the kids would have been queuing to see that friendly smile

01-11-2021, 02:12 PM
Loads of people in my street had Halloween decorations up. I don't mind it really, it was good to see kids out enjoying themselves.

Kids is the key though. I've always been bemused by adults who are a bit too into it. I know a group, all in their 20s and 30s with no kids, who were dressed up and having a party on Saturday. WTF? Different even in your late teens/early 20s when it's one of the big club nights of the year but having a house party to dress up as ghosts and zombies. I don't get it.

01-11-2021, 02:16 PM
Loads of people in my street had Halloween decorations up. I don't mind it really, it was good to see kids out enjoying themselves.

Kids is the key though. I've always been bemused by adults who are a bit too into it. I know a group, all in their 20s and 30s with no kids, who were dressed up and having a party on Saturday. WTF? Different even in your late teens/early 20s when it's one of the big club nights of the year but having a house party to dress up as ghosts and zombies. I don't get it.

Were they all wearing rangers tops?

01-11-2021, 02:17 PM

Do their keys go in the bowl?

01-11-2021, 03:07 PM
Do their keys go in the bowl?

With the amount of pampas grass in gardens in the development that I've recently moved to, I wouldn't be surprised if those sort of parties were going on!

I can't wait to see what on Earth will be put up on people's houses and in their gardens at Christmas around here given the apparent Halloween decoration wars over the past few weeks.

One house has actually taken down the Halloween decorations today and replaced them with Christmas lights!

01-11-2021, 03:50 PM
With the amount of pampas grass in gardens in the development that I've recently moved to, I wouldn't be surprised if those sort of parties were going on!

I can't wait to see what on Earth will be put up on people's houses and in their gardens at Christmas around here given the apparent Halloween decoration wars over the past few weeks.

One house has actually taken down the Halloween decorations today and replaced them with Christmas lights!

No way!!! Absolute roasters. :faf:

01-11-2021, 08:08 PM
In TV documentaries when they show a little clip of whoever is being interviewed sitting down, checking their notes, chatting to a director etc.

It was something that I first remember seeing about 2 years ago and thinking it was quite clever. Now every single documentary I watch seems to have a little section like they in it.

02-11-2021, 02:42 AM

Each to their own. If they're having fun then crack on.

02-11-2021, 06:16 AM
Each to their own. If they're having fun then crack on.

Indeed, each to their own, life is too short, enjoy it while you can doing whatever makes you happy.

Alfiembra
02-11-2021, 07:08 AM
Indeed, each to their own, life is too short, enjoy it while you can doing whatever makes you happy.

Having a vent and a moan on here makes me happy 😊

02-11-2021, 07:23 AM
Having a vent and a moan on here makes me happy 😊

Me too 😁

02-11-2021, 11:28 AM
The new authenticity guarantee with eBay is a right pain in the hole. I got shafted by it. Paid for two pairs of trainers and the boy never sent them and ended up in a battle to get my money back. He claimed he'd sent them and said the person at the authenticity place must have stolen them. Went back and forward for ages before I eventually got my money back. Still never got he trainers either. Far too much hassle.

02-11-2021, 02:11 PM
Joe Biden pronouncing the "gow" in Glasgow like "cow".

02-11-2021, 02:15 PM

On a similar theme, anyone that says Edinburrow!

02-11-2021, 04:17 PM
Joe Biden pronouncing the "gow" in Glasgow like "cow".Seemingly it's because they pronounce Moscow with the "cow" sound, it translates to Glasgow having the same sound at the end.

Can't say it bothers me at all, I've pronounced "Glasgow" far worse.....

Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk

02-11-2021, 06:37 PM

Kids is the key though. I've always been bemused by adults who are a bit too into it. I know a group, all in their 20s and 30s with no kids, who were dressed up and having a party on Saturday. WTF? Different even in your late teens/early 20s when it's one of the big club nights of the year but having a house party to dress up as ghosts and zombies. I don't get it.I get that

Mind you, I fair enjoyed the pub on Saturday night.

02-11-2021, 09:37 PM

On a similar theme, anyone that says Edinburrow!
In my line of work I hear some weird and wonderful pronunciation but let’s be honest are we that great at pronouncing the places we go to? Americans can’t even pronounce words in their own language correctly, jaguar being one that springs to mind.

03-11-2021, 05:54 AM
In my line of work I hear some weird and wonderful pronunciation but let’s be honest are we that great at pronouncing the places we go to? Americans can’t even pronounce words in their own language correctly, jaguar being one that springs to mind.

Worst one they do is Aluminium.

03-11-2021, 07:53 AM

To defend the Americans on that one they are actually using the original pronunciation of the word.

Aluminum and aluminium are both accepted as alternative spellings and pronunciations of the same element by the Union of Pure and Applied Chemistry.

Nucular on the other hand.........

03-11-2021, 08:24 AM
To defend the Americans on that one they are actually using the original pronunciation of the word.

Aluminum and aluminium are both accepted as alternative spellings and pronunciations of the same element by the Union of Pure and Applied Chemistry.

Not quite… the (British) chemist who named aluminium first called it 'alumium', which was rejected for not being directly derived from Latin. The same guy then started using 'aluminum' a few years later, which some scientists still deemed not Latin enough and preferred 'aluminium'. The dominance of aluminum in the US (at least in non-scientific writing) is probably largely down to it being preferred in Webster's dictionary.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Aluminium#Etymology

03-11-2021, 08:53 AM

I read an article a few years ago which said that Americans were likely getting unfair accusations that they have changed the English language in terms of words and pronunciation, and that actually much of American English is just English at the point British people went across to America. It suggested that British English is actually the version that’s changed more.

03-11-2021, 09:02 AM
I read an article a few years ago which said that Americans were likely getting unfair accusations that they have changed the English language in terms of words and pronunciation, and that actually much of American English is just English at the point British people went across to America. It suggested that British English is actually the version that’s changed more.

I blame idlewild 😉

03-11-2021, 02:48 PM

The last point was exactly what I thought of when reading the original post 😂

03-11-2021, 02:55 PM
I think all languages evolve over time, it’s just the odd blatantly wrong spelling or pronunciation that annoys me. It’s funny you mention British English and American English, up until around the turn of the century most people would learn English using British English, but now that’s completely changed and most learn American English, complete with accent.

03-11-2021, 03:38 PM
I think all languages evolve over time, it’s just the odd blatantly wrong spelling or pronunciation that annoys me. It’s funny you mention British English and American English, up until around the turn of the century most people would learn English using British English, but now that’s completely changed and most learn American English, complete with accent.

Along with the use of the wrong word!!

OF instead of HAVE being a prime example.

EH6 Hibby
03-11-2021, 06:29 PM
The American habit of saying drug instead of dragged irritates me greatly.

03-11-2021, 06:40 PM

Nope.

Parmesan is the truly unforgivable one.

03-11-2021, 08:23 PM
Daisy May Cooper laughing on Never Mind the Buzzcocks. Horrendous - laughs to completion at the most basic of jokes.

Just_Jimmy
03-11-2021, 09:19 PM
Daisy May Cooper laughing on Never Mind the Buzzcocks. Horrendous - laughs to completion at the most basic of jokes.Yeah, I came on to say that. Is she pissed or stoned on it? She makes it unwatchable.

04-11-2021, 04:47 AM
Yeah, I came on to say that. Is she pissed or stoned on it? She makes it unwatchable.

She has looked like she’s bevvied on a couple of them but it’s so false - even banging the desk sometimes while forcing her “laugh” out. Struggling to watch it now.

Just_Jimmy
04-11-2021, 07:46 AM
She has looked like she’s bevvied on a couple of them but it’s so false - even banging the desk sometimes while forcing her “laugh” out. Struggling to watch it now.It's no where near what it was. Greg Davis is like pulling teeth. Its just not funny.

That's my peeve. Redoing and ruining classic TV shows - question of sport is another one.

05-11-2021, 06:53 PM
Small Print on the Radio.

You're listening to some music and it goes to the adverts, only for half of them to end with some twit reading the small print at a speed that could induce a heart attack

Bl**dy irritating

05-11-2021, 08:00 PM

You're listening to some music and it goes to the adverts, only for half of them to end with some twit reading the small print at a speed that could induce a heart attack

Bl**dy irritating

„Zu Risiken und Nebenwirkungen lesen Sie die Packungsbeilage und fragen Sie Ihren Arzt oder Apotheker.“

05-11-2021, 09:04 PM
„Zu Risiken und Nebenwirkungen lesen Sie die Packungsbeilage und fragen Sie Ihren Arzt oder Apotheker.“

I really hope that said terms and conditions apply 😂

05-11-2021, 09:13 PM

Bl**dy irritating

"When the fun stops, stop" said in muffled voice at breakneck speed. Gambling firms.
As if those bloodsuckers could give two hoots about it.

05-11-2021, 09:26 PM

I watch programmes regularly on the Discovery and History channels and it really annoys me when the American narrators pronounce Antarctica as Anartica. Its baffling.

06-11-2021, 06:19 AM
I really hope that said terms and conditions apply 😂

It's actually the first German sentence I learned. Every tv or radio ad for anything resembling medication has that added on and spluttered at breakneck speed.

pollution
06-11-2021, 11:37 AM
When watching programmes on WW2 the usually American commentator talks about England when they mean GB or the UK.

So wrong and ignorant.

06-11-2021, 07:30 PM

I really hope that said terms and conditions apply ��

It actually translates as, "Warning, living in Brandenburg decreases your P***s size by 50%"

06-11-2021, 09:11 PM
It actually translates as, "Warning, living in Brandenburg decreases your P***s size by 50%"

06-11-2021, 09:45 PM

You mean in reality I'm only sporting 6 inches?

07-11-2021, 07:22 AM
You mean in reality I'm only sporting 6 inches?

You never could tell the difference between centimetres and inches

07-11-2021, 08:13 AM
You never could tell the difference between centimetres and inches

Luckily for me then, that I was talking about my nose. :wink:

10-11-2021, 03:13 PM
The overused exclamation of Wow!!! It used to signal a feeling of surprise or delight but it’s just become a pointless response.

10-11-2021, 03:33 PM
Troops.

It seems a really west coast thing. 'Listen up troops...', 'me and the troops...'

Also people who say 'me and someone' rather than 'someone and I'.

10-11-2021, 05:32 PM
The warning that keeps coming up on my phone about my headphone volume being too loud. It’s not even headphones I’m using, it’s the car stereo which is coming through my speakers, for some reason the volume is lower than normal meaning I have to turn it up more. I can’t seem to disable the warning notification.

10-11-2021, 10:51 PM
The warning that keeps coming up on my phone about my headphone volume being too loud. It’s not even headphones I’m using, it’s the car stereo which is coming through my speakers, for some reason the volume is lower than normal meaning I have to turn it up more. I can’t seem to disable the warning notification.If you could disable it some American would make a claim after going deaf despite the warnings. Blame it on the person that sued McDonald's for serving hot covveffe

Sent from my SM-G965F using Tapatalk

11-11-2021, 06:05 AM
The warning that keeps coming up on my phone about my headphone volume being too loud. It’s not even headphones I’m using, it’s the car stereo which is coming through my speakers, for some reason the volume is lower than normal meaning I have to turn it up more. I can’t seem to disable the warning notification.

Does my friggin head in, it actually lowers the volume for me, got to click yes and then put up the volume again, looked but cant seem to disable it.

11-11-2021, 06:25 AM
If you could disable it some American would make a claim after going deaf despite the warnings. Blame it on the person that sued McDonald's for serving hot covveffe

Sent from my SM-G965F using Tapatalk
:agree: Sad but true

Does my friggin head in, it actually lowers the volume for me, got to click yes and then put up the volume again, looked but cant seem to disable it.
That happens to me as well, all I’m doing is listening to digital radio through my phone in the cab, it’s not even that loud.

11-11-2021, 12:59 PM
The overused exclamation of Wow!!! It used to signal a feeling of surprise or delight but it’s just become a pointless response.

Young woman at my work replies to almost everything with 'Amazing!'

'I put the bins out last night'.... 'Amazing!'

Most of the tlme the reply 'OK' would be enough.

12-11-2021, 11:16 AM
The Johnny Walker Experience is the first thing that folk see approaching Princes St from the west. This project was much heralded prior to construction as a wizard wheeze to fleece the tourists of yet more cash. Fair enough - it's Edinburgh.

Considering the huge amount of inconvenience that pedestrians were put to during construction you'd think the developers might have left the building in better condition. The masonry is pocked all over with what look like old scaffolding bolt holes. It's a mess.

13-11-2021, 04:18 AM
People who just won’t accept factual corrections.

American politician AOC describing Nicola Sturgeon as “head of state”

Me on comments section: she’s not actually a head of state

Replier to comments: can you prove that you slavering fool?

Me: well yes, check any source

Replier: you’re a unionist liar

Erm well I am a unionist but even if I wasn’t what I’ve said is factually correct

13-11-2021, 09:18 AM
The Johnny Walker Experience is the first thing that folk see approaching Princes St from the west. This project was much heralded prior to construction as a wizard wheeze to fleece the tourists of yet more cash. Fair enough - it's Edinburgh.

Considering the huge amount of inconvenience that pedestrians were put to during construction you'd think the developers might have left the building in better condition. The masonry is pocked all over with what look like old scaffolding bolt holes. It's a mess.

Was there a huge amount of inconvenience to pedestrians? Wasn’t it just that the pavement was cut in half for a while?

13-11-2021, 11:22 AM
Was there a huge amount of inconvenience to pedestrians? Wasn’t it just that the pavement was cut in half for a while?
Yes. It was an inconvenience especially when people were trying to distance. But its a busy stretch at the best of times anyway.
My main beef is with the condition of this familiar old building.

13-11-2021, 11:28 AM
Yes. It was an inconvenience especially when people were trying to distance. But its a busy stretch at the best of times anyway.
My main beef is with the condition of this familiar old building.

I’ve not really noticed it to be honest. I’m going for one of the tours there in December. So my pet peeve would be that if was like £90! My girlfriends dad is over from America and wants to go, my girlfriend didn’t fancy it, her brother didn’t fancy it. So she asked me, I said I’d go. Had nae idea it’d be so expensive. I’m not even a whisky drinker!