View Full Version : Pet Peeves IV
12-10-2017, 05:54 PM
People who always do something the most awkward way possible. Sometimes I look at a task and think that's so easy no one could possibly do it any other way. Then.........
12-10-2017, 06:13 PM
people who sellotape shut internal mail envelopes at work.
12-10-2017, 06:43 PM
people at work.
12-10-2017, 07:02 PM
Other people on public transport, there are not many better ways to travel than by train, until other people join your carriage! (This might not go down too well but) Particularly folk from the far east who do not appear to need to take a breath for the entire length of their journey and can blether non stop at an unnecessarily loud level.
12-10-2017, 08:02 PM
Other people on public transport, there are not many better ways to travel than by train, until other people join your carriage! (This might not go down too well but) Particularly folk from the far east who do not appear to need to take a breath for the entire length of their journey and can blether non stop at an unnecessarily loud level.
Folk that try their best to fob you off with excuses to try and get freebies. :rolleyes:
13-10-2017, 05:48 PM
Another language one ............ folk who answer a simple question with “D’you know what ? .......” It’s as annoying as answering a question with ‘So’ at the beginning.
13-10-2017, 07:38 PM
People calling the toilet "the bog"
EH6 Hibby
13-10-2017, 10:09 PM
Catching up on a thread and seeing loads of deleted posts. I’m nosy. I want to know what’s been deleted.
Another language one ............ folk who answer a simple question with “D’you know what ? .......” It’s as annoying as answering a question with ‘So’ at the beginning.
Starting a sentence with "look" or "listen" particularly favoured by pundits and politicians.
14-10-2017, 09:06 AM
Starting a sentence with "look" or "listen" particularly favoured by pundits and politicians.
Politicians are the main culprits for diversionary talk. i.e. avoiding the question by answering with "what's really important to remember is....." then talking about something different. The annoying thing is they think the listeners are so stupid they actually swallow their drivel.
15-10-2017, 05:51 PM
People who complain about traffic at peak times and say they are stuck in it. Do they not realise that they are actually part of the traffic and the cause.
15-10-2017, 06:31 PM
Little f*****s who think it's alright just to take what they want.
Bought a Vespa last week and the next day had to go down to Derby for the week for the father in laws funeral. Came back to find it had been stolen from our private underground car park. Not sure of the how's or why's yet and waiting on the arreststing officer calling. Luckily threy caught the two cretins so I'll be pushing to prosecute. Don't hold out much hope of getting the money back for retrieval from the recovery agency out at Loanhead and whatever the cost of the damage is though.
15-10-2017, 07:31 PM
People who complain about traffic at peak times and say they are stuck in it. Do they not realise that they are actually part of the traffic and the cause.
Likewise folk on holiday who rant about places being "too busy" with tourists.
15-10-2017, 08:39 PM
Likewise folk on holiday who rant about places being "too busy" with tourists.
A-la .....
"Nobody goes to that restaurant anymore - it's too crowded" - Yogi Berra
16-10-2017, 02:56 PM
Ladies hen nights and the perception of what is acceptable.
Just seen pictures on Facebook of a hen night where they all strapped dildos to their heads and were playing hoopla.
One of them is nearly 60 Ffs.
16-10-2017, 04:13 PM
Folk that cannae take their eyes off their phones long enough to safely cross the road. I was sitting at the window of a boozer at a busy junction on Sat night and the number of ignorant f***wits that caused drivers to slam on their brakes was ridiculous, makes me glad I cannae drive.
16-10-2017, 06:36 PM
People who brake suddenly as they pass a parking space, then put their car into reverse gear, and then expect that your physic powers have enabled you stop and give them enough room to manoeuvre into said space. Today after the guy in front tried this and remonstrated in his mirror for me to reverse I drove right up to his rear bumper and forced him to move on as the traffic backed up. A small victory as well as a pet peeve:-)
16-10-2017, 06:56 PM
people who sellotape shut internal mail envelopes at work.
The way that Sellotape, unless you consciously crimp the end, sticks back on the roll and is impossible to find next time you use it.
16-10-2017, 07:32 PM
Watching University Challenge, why do a lot of the contestants who get a correct answer have a wee sip of water, yet anyone who gets a question wrong, never takes a drink?
17-10-2017, 10:48 AM
When you’re watching an older tv show and the picture doesn’t fill the whole screen. I don’t understand why it only happens on some shows and not others.
pollution
17-10-2017, 11:26 AM
The use of the name Inter Milan, which does not exist.
17-10-2017, 12:24 PM
You mean like Hibs aren't a football team?
17-10-2017, 02:44 PM
You mean like Hibs aren't a football team?
Sometimes in the not too distant past I did have ma doots. :wink:
18-10-2017, 04:29 AM
Speed cameras, thay are just cash cows. :grr::boo hoo:
18-10-2017, 10:50 AM
I have the same issue with "sporting lisbon".
There's either sporting clube de Portugal or sporting lisboa benfica.
18-10-2017, 02:07 PM
Folk who constantly go on about being 'back to reality' when they return from their holidays.
'Have a nice break?'
'yep, back to reality now though'
'Fancy a cup of tea?'
'Please. was on the sangria this time last week back to reality'
'Any plans for the weekend?'
'Just a quiet one, back to reality.'
Everyone who goes on holiday works for the other 50 weeks of the year to get their fortnight in the sun. That is ****ing reality. You haven't been on some awesome adventure to Pluto, you've been on a 2 weeks self catering in Zante.
18-10-2017, 05:28 PM
Speed cameras in the wrong places is what gets me. Put them up outside schools, accident blackspots, zebra crossing but not on long straight roads where it's clear they are only there for profit. I would put them up at the entrance to my wee town. I am in the last/first side road and there are ****ers who are doing 50 to 60 as they enter/leave the town. This includes buses and HGVs. My daughter wants to walk to school but she has to cross the main road and even with a zebra on it there is no way she is getting to. The zebra is like Russian roulette at times too. Put up a camera and I guarantee that within a few weeks 30 or slower would be the norm
18-10-2017, 07:28 PM
This attitude is one of my massive pet hates.
How much money does a speed camera make if folk stick to the speed limit?
ClewsHibs
18-10-2017, 08:09 PM
Selfies on public transport. Especially when you're sitting behind them in the shot.
18-10-2017, 09:41 PM
Selfies on public transport. Especially when you're sitting behind them in the shot.
I see this a lot on planes. If I'm in shot I'll pretend to pick my nose or similar.
19-10-2017, 12:02 AM
The fact that you cant buy the EDF Energy Zingy Orange Blob toy, or a Home Energy Scotlands Doug The Caterpillar draft excluder. :boo hoo:
19-10-2017, 12:03 AM
You ALWAYS stick to the speed limit do you? Anyone that says they do is at it imo.
19-10-2017, 12:38 AM
You ALWAYS stick to the speed limit do you? Anyone that says they do is at it imo.
No, I don't. Where did I say that I did?
Never given any money to a speed camera though.
Noticed you dodged the question though (another pet peeve).
19-10-2017, 07:55 AM
Folk who take photos of the plane they are about to board or countless ones whilst still on the ground.
I mean, where's even the narcissistic "my life is better than yours" buzz in that??
"Look, it's an off-white plane wing, what a hedonistic life I lead"?!?!?!
A cool sunset or dramatic mountain range or whatever I understand.
19-10-2017, 08:48 AM
Folk that cannae take their eyes off their phones long enough to safely cross the road. I was sitting at the window of a boozer at a busy junction on Sat night and the number of ignorant f***wits that caused drivers to slam on their brakes was ridiculous, makes me glad I cannae drive.
Probably a good thing matey, are you ever fit enough (sober) to be able to sit in the drivers seat of a car? :greengrin
19-10-2017, 09:39 AM
Probably a good thing matey, are you ever fit enough (sober) to be able to sit in the drivers seat of a car? :greengrin
Nah, it would be a complete waste of money!
19-10-2017, 11:33 AM
These things need to be calibrated and your car speedo might be slightly out as well, I'm not convinced cameras are accurate.
19-10-2017, 11:39 AM
These things need to be calibrated and your car speedo might be slightly out as well, I'm not convinced cameras are accurate.
There's a tolerance in them before they go off.
Any idea how you much they make if nobody does speed through them?
19-10-2017, 11:45 AM
Handheld speed guns always allowed 10% for error.
Unofficial line was no prosecution until you hit 10% over the limit +3, so 36-47-58-69-80.
Not sure what they allow for error in the static cameras.
19-10-2017, 11:52 AM
Handheld speed guns always allowed 10% for error.
Unofficial line was no prosecution until you hit 10% over the limit +3, so 36-47-58-69-80.
Not sure what they allow for error in the static cameras.
I think it's 10%+2 on static ones, but could have changed since I was told that.
19-10-2017, 02:44 PM
Thats a bull**** question. They won't make any, but one single speed camera in London has made over 1.5m pounds between April and October last year.
19-10-2017, 02:48 PM
Thats a bull**** question. They won't make any, but one single speed camera in London has made over 1.5m pounds between April and October last year.
How much has been saved in NHS costs by reducing accidents in the same area?
Tornadoes70
19-10-2017, 02:57 PM
How much has been saved in NHS costs by reducing accidents in the same area?
I've been driving for about 20 something years, never caused an accident, try to drive safely and had always stuck to a reasonable speed without having to constantly look down at the speedometer. Now I feel much more likely to cause an accident due to having to constantly look down to check the speed I'm doing especially in the relatively new bizarre funeral car speed of 20 mph in the city center. As a long time driver I've never felt more uneasy than nowadays on the road due to decreased variable speed limits.
19-10-2017, 03:17 PM
I've been driving for about 20 something years, never caused an accident, try to drive safely and had always stuck to a reasonable speed without having to constantly look down at the speedometer. Now I feel much more likely to cause an accident due to having to constantly look down to check the speed I'm doing especially in the relatively new bizarre funeral car speed of 20 mph in the city center. As a long time driver I've never felt more uneasy than nowadays on the road due to decreased variable speed limits.
Personally, I'd ban all cars and make everybody cycle. It's what everybody wants apparently. :rolleyes:
Tornadoes70
19-10-2017, 03:27 PM
Personally, I'd ban all cars and make everybody cycle. It's what everybody wants apparently. :rolleyes:
They'd have us driving horse and carts again if they could then fine us all if we left a tiny bit of manure behind :greengrin.
It'd certainly be more fun than driving a car nowadays as they've reduced us to funeral car speeds in the city center despite most of us driving carefully and never having caused an accident :confused:.
19-10-2017, 07:09 PM
If I started cycling again (after a break of 45 years) it certainly wouldn't be safe for other road users....
20-10-2017, 05:48 PM
People who let their pets sleep in the bed with them. Have seen pictures on FB of people sharing their bed with their dog and others with cats. An absolutely disgusting habit.
20-10-2017, 06:14 PM
People who won't admit they are in a bad mood.
"What's wrong with your face "?
"Nowt ya prick"
Yes I'm talking about my wife :greengrin
20-10-2017, 07:09 PM
People who let their pets sleep in the bed with them. Have seen pictures on FB of people sharing their bed with their dog and others with cats. An absolutely disgusting habit.
My dog sleeps on our bed. She's usually cleaner than me though tbf so I don't think I'm really suffering from her being there to be honest :greengrin
20-10-2017, 07:11 PM
How is it a bull**** question? You said they're money making machines, I asked how much they make if folk don't speed.
Speed cameras are usually clearly signposted and visible and if you're at the speed limit or even slightly over, you won't get caught on one.
I can't comment on the one in London, that's a lot of people caught speeding, and I don't know the specifics of it, but having driven in London (the bits where you can actually get a decent enough run to get some speed up) folk drive like ********s, so it's not a huge surprise that they're getting caught it for doing it.
21-10-2017, 09:16 PM
I noticed that Sky F1 and now F1 fans in general have started calling qualifying "quali".
A grown man using the word "quali" deserves a boot to the tadgers without hesitation.
22-10-2017, 05:54 AM
My dog sleeps on our bed. She's usually cleaner than me though tbf so I don't think I'm really suffering from her being there to be honest :greengrin
My cat sleeps at the bottom of our bed as well.
We tried not allowing it but I couldn't stand seeing his wee face when we locked him out the room at night.
22-10-2017, 06:51 AM
Not sure if it happens in Scotland but in Holland and France the tendency to take one seat on a train and then believe the seat next to it is reserved for the said ****er's bag has my blood pressure through the roof on the morning commute.
22-10-2017, 10:43 AM
Does she carry an Andrex toilet roll around with her?
beensaidbefore
22-10-2017, 12:19 PM
Agreed. I dont know many folk who wear their shoes and jacket to bed. Manky dog paws and baws all over the bed next to their lamppost sniffing face. Totally rank imo.
22-10-2017, 01:53 PM
Agreed. I dont know many folk who wear their shoes and jacket to bed. Manky dog paws and baws all over the bed next to their lamppost sniffing face. Totally rank imo.
It's even worse that dog/cat owners let their dogs lick their faces and things. Thats after the dog or cat has been licking their own henry halls or chuffs. :sick:
22-10-2017, 02:19 PM
Does she carry an Andrex toilet roll around with her?
No but given she lives in the house with us anyway I'm not sure it makes much difference tbh. We hoover and mop the floors and wash the bedding regularly. Not much more you can do with a dog in the house really whether they're allowed on beds and sofas or not. She is pretty clean as far as dogs go though. She's in the sea most days so the worst she brings home is a bit of sand and that's easily dealt with in the garden or at the front door.
22-10-2017, 05:09 PM
No but given she lives in the house with us anyway I'm not sure it makes much difference tbh. We hoover and mop the floors and wash the bedding regularly. Not much more you can do with a dog in the house really whether they're allowed on beds and sofas or not. She is pretty clean as far as dogs go though. She's in the sea most days so the worst she brings home is a bit of sand and that's easily dealt with in the garden or at the front door.
I'm sure it was a reference to the wee dug in the Andrew adverts :-)
22-10-2017, 05:37 PM
That's not all it was. And he's right there are hygiene implications with having a dog in the house. It's all about how you manage that overall though- a dog sleeping on the bed from time to time doesn't make a huge difference IMO.
22-10-2017, 06:16 PM
Having used Linkedin while searching for a job I'm adding LinkedIn ****ers to this page.
You know the ones, the ****ers who think that pretending to be really interested in their bog standard office job and posting any random article about their industry is somehow going to propel them to a Bill Gates directorship somewhere.
The amount of people with a sub standard 9-5 job trying to pass themselves off as a Jesus ressurected because they are "blue belt certified" or know how to do a ****ing pivot table in Excel beggars belief.
22-10-2017, 07:02 PM
Having used Linkedin while searching for a job I'm adding LinkedIn ****ers to this page.
You know the ones, the ****ers who think that pretending to be really interested in their bog standard office job and posting any random article about their industry is somehow going to propel them to a Bill Gates directorship somewhere.
The amount of people with a sub standard 9-5 job trying to pass themselves off as a Jesus ressurected because they are "blue belt certified" or know how to do a ****ing pivot table in Excel beggars belief.
Thank you thank you thank you.
I’ve been on the job hunt recently so reluctantly thought it might make sense to become more active on LinkedIn.
I can’t deal with the amount of arse licking and corporate speak though. I used to work with a young guy in sales who was daft as a brush but a really nice guy who’s personality was infectious, not spoke to him in years though and when it came up to connect with him on LinkedIn I was more than happy to do so, to see the corporate speak mumbo jumbo and arse kissing coming from him made me feel sick though, I really wonder if he’s been turned and speak that way in real life, if he is then he’s lost his best attribute as a salesperson, and if he’s not speaking like that in real life why the hell is he messaging people he won’t know talking this way?!
It’s a horrible form of social media and I don’t like how it encourages people to speak work outside of business hours and also encourages disloyalty by having employees whoring themselves all over the place in order to benefit recruitment consultants that don’t benefit in any way from loyalty.
22-10-2017, 07:02 PM
It wasn't.
22-10-2017, 09:49 PM
My cat sleeps at the bottom of our bed as well.
We tried not allowing it but I couldn't stand seeing his wee face when we locked him out the room at night.
My cat used to sleep on my bed every night when I weret nipper. Never thought anything of it. He was a great pal.
23-10-2017, 08:30 PM
Companies who make claims about their 'charity work' that look great until you see the small print.
Old Mout Cider currently have an advert stating for every bottle bought they will donate to the Kiwi for Kiwis charity. Sounds great. Then the small print: '10p per bottle, maximum donation of £40 000'.
Old Mout is owned by Heineken who had an operating income of €19.275bn in 2014 and a profit of €1.758bn.
£40000? How generous.
23-10-2017, 09:04 PM
Companies who make claims about their 'charity work' that look great until you see the small print.
Old Mout Cider currently have an advert stating for every bottle bought they will donate to the Kiwi for Kiwis charity. Sounds great. Then the small print: '10p per bottle, maximum donation of £40 000'.
Old Mout is owned by Heineken who had an operating income of €19.275bn in 2014 and a profit of €1.758bn.
£40000? How generous.
It's quite disgusting how companies use the charity flag to boost sales.
It's really as low as it gets when it comes to morals & ethics in business.
Only bawbags do that - who could steal from charities :whistle:
24-10-2017, 07:44 AM
People who have checked out and bring their luggage into the breakfast hall in hotels.
24-10-2017, 11:24 AM
Not sure if it happens in Scotland but in Holland and France the tendency to take one seat on a train and then believe the seat next to it is reserved for the said ****er's bag has my blood pressure through the roof on the morning commute.
It certainly does happen here - and I couldn't agree more with you. Just sitting there when it's blatant that people are scrambling for any empty seats/standing throughout the train... takes being asked for them to move their backpack. Ignorance, Rudeness and c***iness of the highest order.
You've got me annoyed just mentioning it.
24-10-2017, 11:26 AM
It certainly does happen here - and I couldn't agree more with you. Just sitting there when it's blatant that people are scrambling for any empty seats/standing throughout the train... takes being asked for them to move their backpack. Ignorance, Rudeness and c***iness of the highest order.
You've got me annoyed just mentioning it.
Oh.. and in my experience it's the middle-aged/classed businessmen that are the worst for this, not the young annoying youths :greengrin
24-10-2017, 11:27 AM
When you buy Discos or Squares crisps and the flavour is weak.
24-10-2017, 11:35 AM
Being handed change in a shop using the method of placing the note in your palm and then piling all the coins on top... so much more awkward for transferring into your wallet :agree:
24-10-2017, 11:35 AM
When you lend someone a book or a tool and they keep it for ages. Worse still is when you ask for it back and they swear they haven't got it. Assholes of the first order.
24-10-2017, 03:53 PM
When you lend someone a book or a tool and they keep it for ages. Worse still is when you ask for it back and they swear they haven't got it. Assholes of the first order.
Or they go and die and you can't ask their relatives for it back without seeming mean. Typical.
Thank you thank you thank you.
I’ve been on the job hunt recently so reluctantly thought it might make sense to become more active on LinkedIn.
I can’t deal with the amount of arse licking and corporate speak though. I used to work with a young guy in sales who was daft as a brush but a really nice guy who’s personality was infectious, not spoke to him in years though and when it came up to connect with him on LinkedIn I was more than happy to do so, to see the corporate speak mumbo jumbo and arse kissing coming from him made me feel sick though, I really wonder if he’s been turned and speak that way in real life, if he is then he’s lost his best attribute as a salesperson, and if he’s not speaking like that in real life why the hell is he messaging people he won’t know talking this way?!
It’s a horrible form of social media and I don’t like how it encourages people to speak work outside of business hours and also encourages disloyalty by having employees whoring themselves all over the place in order to benefit recruitment consultants that don’t benefit in any way from loyalty.
I blame the apprentice for the cringworthy content. Also happens in interviews I have been unfortunate enough to be on the panel for.
25-10-2017, 05:38 PM
Social media scare stories that always involve a car park and someone who 'looked possibly Asian' or had 'an Eastern European accent'.
25-10-2017, 10:26 PM
Lane drifters. Think if they just start to slowly drift into your lane without indication as they are alongside you that you will brake and give way. Idiots.
25-10-2017, 11:36 PM
Ticket touts. I'm still looking for a couple of Erasure tickets for their gig at the Usher Hall in Feb next year and someone is selling 2 tickets on Gumtree worth at total of £88 (inc booking fee) for £200 each of £350 for the pair. :rolleyes::grr:. I have never sold football or concert tickets for more than what I have paid for them!
Mixu62
25-10-2017, 11:39 PM
Social media scare stories that always involve a car park and someone who 'looked possibly Asian' or had 'an Eastern European accent'.
Similarly, Daily Mail stories that just have to mention that the offender/suspect is Muslim. In fact just the Daily Mail in general. Utter rag.
26-10-2017, 10:05 AM
Drivers who can't get in the correct lane when approaching a roundabout or junction.
Every single morning the heavy traffic on the approach to the roundabout on the A1 at Asda at the Jewel then leading up to the Milton Link is made worse by people not having a clue what lane they should be in. It's really not difficult.
Even worse is the absolute clowns who jump into the faster moving left lane to get round the roundabout then think nothing of sitting still with their indicator on, holding up all the traffic in that lane, whilst they try to force their way back into the right lane 100 yards up the road.
26-10-2017, 11:15 AM
Drivers who can't get in the correct lane when approaching a roundabout or junction.
Every single morning the heavy traffic on the approach to the roundabout on the A1 at Asda at the Jewel then leading up to the Milton Link is made worse by people not having a clue what lane they should be in. It's really not difficult.
Even worse is the absolute clowns who jump into the faster moving left lane to get round the roundabout then think nothing of sitting still with their indicator on, holding up all the traffic in that lane, whilst they try to force their way back into the right lane 100 yards up the road.
These jokers should be made to resit their test!
26-10-2017, 12:10 PM
I hate the folk that do that with a real passion!
A few weeks ago I was in the (correct!) lane when some stupid person decided to drive all the way down to the front of the left lane before putting on their indicator and trying to get into the right lane.
It took a while before someone let them in! :greengrin
26-10-2017, 12:37 PM
I hate the folk that do that with a real passion!
A few weeks ago I was in the (correct!) lane when some stupid person decided to drive all the way down to the front of the left lane before putting on their indicator and trying to get into the right lane.
It took a while before someone let them in! :greengrin
I see people doing that all the time at the lights at Milton Road and Duddingston Park. They come right down the outside land and try and cut in at the lights. I love it when no one lets them in and the cars who are trying to turn right start beeping their horn at the idiot.
27-10-2017, 05:15 AM
These jokers should be made to resit their test!
We all should. Every five years or so.
Won't happen.
27-10-2017, 09:51 AM
We all should. Every five years or so.
Won't happen.Money to be made in that idea so don't say never.
27-10-2017, 10:06 AM
The low winter sun when driving!
27-10-2017, 10:35 AM
Especially when your windscreen is filthy.
hibs#1
27-10-2017, 12:36 PM
Had to stick my head out the window like a dog to see for a small stretch this morning. Had just done my hair as well.
EH6 Hibby
27-10-2017, 08:16 PM
People still trying to turn right at the top of Easter Road. How many signs are there telling you that you can’t do it? Theres cones out that block them from doing it, but they just drive round them.
27-10-2017, 09:58 PM
People still trying to turn right at the top of Easter Road. How many signs are there telling you that you can’t do it? Theres cones out that block them from doing it, but they just drive round them.
People that blatantly ignore No right or left turn signs.
27-10-2017, 10:05 PM
The multitude of shampoo / conditioner bottles in my bath room.
Picked up about 6 different bottles before I found a shampoo bottle only to find it was full of cold water.
Bloody nightmare living in this house :-)
27-10-2017, 10:18 PM
The multitude of shampoo / conditioner bottles in my bath room.
Picked up about 6 different bottles before I found a shampoo bottle only to find it was full of cold water.
Bloody nightmare living in this house :-)
WTF are you doing in my house?!?!? Same for me here. Everyone else in here thinks that I am the only person able to take empty bottles of anything out. That and squeezing the toothpaste from the middle of the tube. How I live here is a mystery to me
28-10-2017, 09:32 AM
People that blatantly ignore No right or left turn signs.
They need to take their test again.
And then they need a slap.
30-10-2017, 12:12 PM
People using the racing term "NAP" to describe every day occurrences that are likely to happen, most often on online forums. Especially the way it's written "a NAP" as if they mean "a certainty".
A nap is someone's best bet and there is only one of them in one given day. I'd be less annoyed by it if people proclaimed "It's my nap today" that something will happen... but to just band about "it's a nap" as if it simply means it's something that will most likely happen grates on me.
That may seem very petty, but that's what this thread is for :greengrin And maybe some racing fans will know where I'm coming from.. then again maybe not :greengrin
30-10-2017, 02:27 PM
People using the racing term "NAP" to describe every day occurrences that are likely to happen, most often on online forums. Especially the way it's written "a NAP" as if they mean "a certainty".
A nap is someone's best bet and there is only one of them in one given day. I'd be less annoyed by it if people proclaimed "It's my nap today" that something will happen... but to just band about "it's a nap" as if it simply means it's something that will most likely happen grates on me.
That may seem very petty, but that's what this thread is for :greengrin And maybe some racing fans will know where I'm coming from.. then again maybe not :greengrin
It's a NAP they won't. :duck:
30-10-2017, 05:42 PM
People who, when waiting at the carousel in the airport for their luggage stand inside the yellow lines so no one can see what's coming round. Not just dafty teenagers - fully grown imbeciles with no relevant thought processes whatsoever.
30-10-2017, 08:37 PM
People who, when waiting at the carousel in the airport for their luggage stand inside the yellow lines so no one can see what's coming round. Not just dafty teenagers - fully grown imbeciles with no relevant thought processes whatsoever.
I just stand at the end and wait, much easier to spot your bag, pick it up then leave.
30-10-2017, 08:46 PM
Edinburgh airport taxi pick up. Moves every time I go there. Spend 10 minutes on the phone with the cabbie trying to work out where we both are....
30-10-2017, 10:25 PM
Edinburgh airport taxi pick up. Moves every time I go there. Spend 10 minutes on the phone with the cabbie trying to work out where we both are....
The Edinburgh Airport pick up/drop off in general. Absolute farce, last time I was there dropping the folks off I got stuck behind a daft private hire cab driver who got out his cab to try and feed a £10 note into the barrier, then when he realised that didn't work he tried putting his bankcard in there instead, absolute roaster. by the time he'd mucked about the time I had been in meant I was charged £5 or whatever it is instead of the usual £1, I only had a £1 on me and thats all they got as I was stuck there due to no fault of my own. I had to push the button to speak to someone who lifted the barrier for me. Joke of a place.
31-10-2017, 12:51 AM
The Edinburgh Airport pick up/drop off in general. Absolute farce, last time I was there dropping the folks off I got stuck behind a daft private hire cab driver who got out his cab to try and feed a £10 note into the barrier, then when he realised that didn't work he tried putting his bankcard in there instead, absolute roaster. by the time he'd mucked about the time I had been in meant I was charged £5 or whatever it is instead of the usual £1, I only had a £1 on me and thats all they got as I was stuck there due to no fault of my own. I had to push the button to speak to someone who lifted the barrier for me. Joke of a place.
Actually everything about Edinburgh Airport sucks apart from it being closer than Glasgow airport. Layout of drop off/pick up/ pedestrian walkways is a total disaster.
Add to the pot any event at Ingleston and you increase the shambles tenfold.
What visitors must think on arriving I shudder to think.
31-10-2017, 08:37 AM
Actually everything about Edinburgh Airport sucks apart from it being closer than Glasgow airport. Layout of drop off/pick up/ pedestrian walkways is a total disaster.
Add to the pot any event at Ingleston and you increase the shambles tenfold.
What visitors must think on arriving I shudder to think.
I would think that most visitors get off their plane, on the tram and are in the city centre within half an hour. Pretty straight forward really. :dunno:
31-10-2017, 08:48 AM
I would think that most visitors get off their plane, on the tram and are in the city centre within half an hour. Pretty straight forward really. :dunno:
Snap to this.
Compared to many foreign cities, it works well IMO. I have never had a problem.
31-10-2017, 09:31 AM
Never used the tram yet but about to next week.
Grant you, the easy trip to the centre of town is definitely a plus.
31-10-2017, 11:02 AM
I would think that most visitors get off their plane, on the tram and are in the city centre within half an hour. Pretty straight forward really. :dunno: How convenient would it have been to put in a railway station be on your way a lot quicker to anywhere in the country?
31-10-2017, 11:37 AM
How convenient would it have been to put in a railway station be on your way a lot quicker to anywhere in the country?
The tram links to 4 railway stations.
31-10-2017, 11:45 AM
The tram links to 4 railway stations.Which probably has many people seeing a train to their final destination pass them on the way.
31-10-2017, 04:54 PM
It’s been in the same place for a few years now. The problem you have is that the taxi driver doesn’t want to pick you up in the designated pick up area due to the fact that it costs £4 to enter that area, and it increases based on how long you wait. It’s not just taxi drivers that don’t want to go in there, everyone tries to pick up in the drop off area, resulting in the shambles we currently have.
03-11-2017, 09:56 AM
Trying to put on a tight pair of socks after having a shower.
04-11-2017, 12:04 AM
YouTube - now that you have to listen to loads of ads and half the stuff is deleted.
The moneymen buy out every good thing that comes out .... then ruin it.
04-11-2017, 09:03 AM
Arnold clarke. Just booked in for an mot and got a new bulb before i went. Asked the boy if he could fit it before doing the test and was claiming it was a big job full bumper off etc (its a 12 plate corsa) laughed at him and ssid its a clip matw.he was a being a bit of a arrogant dick. I went out and fitted it myself in 3 minutes. Funny i never seen same guy when i went back in. Any mot failures will be taken elsewhere now!! Pr!k
04-11-2017, 09:09 AM
People who, when waiting at the carousel in the airport for their luggage stand inside the yellow lines so no one can see what's coming round. Not just dafty teenagers - fully grown imbeciles with no relevant thought processes whatsoever.Whack them with your case as you take it off the carousel. "Oh sorry".
04-11-2017, 09:36 AM
Arnold clarke. Just booked in for an mot and got a new bulb before i went. Asked the boy if he could fit it before doing the test and was claiming it was a big job full bumper off etc (its a 12 plate corsa) laughed at him and ssid its a clip matw.he was a being a bit of a arrogant dick. I went out and fitted it myself in 3 minutes. Funny i never seen same guy when i went back in. Any mot failures will be taken elsewhere now!! Pr!k
That is brutal.
04-11-2017, 10:05 AM
That's disgusting .
Can you not report it to trading standards?
04-11-2017, 12:46 PM
Depends of the model of car - some of them take half an hour or so to change the bulbs. Maybe the guy made a genuine mistake?
04-11-2017, 12:47 PM
Needing fingers like ET and having to break your arm in 3 places to change a bulb in a car:greengrin
04-11-2017, 01:23 PM
Depends of the model of car - some of them take half an hour or so to change the bulbs. Maybe the guy made a genuine mistake?
Oh i know that. I used to be an apprentice mechanic and the old alpha 147 i think was was a half day job. Radiator and half the frontbof car needed tsking off for a bulb. .....i never told them uswd to work for arnold clark and explained it was easy i was just in a bit of a rush to get somewhere. Anyway its been failed on then light alignment and wanted 50 quid to correct it. Told them ill take it elsewhere.
04-11-2017, 08:47 PM
Oh i know that. I used to be an apprentice mechanic and the old alpha 147 i think was was a half day job. Radiator and half the frontbof car needed tsking off for a bulb. .....i never told them uswd to work for arnold clark and explained it was easy i was just in a bit of a rush to get somewhere. Anyway its been failed on then light alignment and wanted 50 quid to correct it. Told them ill take it elsewhere.
I can top that. I used to have a mini that had run flat tyres and I had a slow puncture. After getting fed up of constantly blowing the tyre up I nipped into Kwik Fit. Asked for a tyre and the guy quoted me £130. I asked for something cheaper and he told me it had to be run flats. I told him I didn't want run flat and asked again for something cheaper. He told me I'd need to inform my insurers as I was changing to a non OE tyre. I told him he was talking ***** and took it to a local family owned tyre and exhaust place, told the guy there the story and he burst out laughing. 20 mins later I had a £45 tyre fitted to my mini and KF have never had a m penny from me since
04-11-2017, 08:55 PM
That’s true, but I doubt very much it was a genuine mistake. As far as I’m aware there’s no Vauxhall’s that need a bumper removal to change a bulb and I’m absolutely certain that the Corsa in any form has needed that process to change a bulb.
04-11-2017, 09:54 PM
I can top that. I used to have a mini that had run flat tyres and I had a slow puncture. After getting fed up of constantly blowing the tyre up I nipped into Kwik Fit. Asked for a tyre and the guy quoted me £130. I asked for something cheaper and he told me it had to be run flats. I told him I didn't want run flat and asked again for something cheaper. He told me I'd need to inform my insurers as I was changing to a non OE tyre. I told him he was talking ***** and took it to a local family owned tyre and exhaust place, told the guy there the story and he burst out laughing. 20 mins later I had a £45 tyre fitted to my mini and KF have never had a m penny from me since
KF would fit a child’s car seat into a Eunich’s car if they could get away with it
04-11-2017, 11:57 PM
That’s true, but I doubt very much it was a genuine mistake. As far as I’m aware there’s no Vauxhall’s that need a bumper removal to change a bulb and I’m absolutely certain that the Corsa in any form has needed that process to change a bulb.
Totally agree but it could well be a person who is not properly trained in mechanical aspects but had heard of certain models that are a bit of a nightmare to work on.
Which leads me to another pet peeve - having to take your car to KF to get an inner tube fitted and find out that tyre fitters today haven't got a 'kin clue about the basics!
pollution
05-11-2017, 11:27 AM
KF would fit a child’s car seat into a Eunich’s car if they could get away with it
Spot on! Shameless con men.
07-11-2017, 10:02 AM
Trying to get own the stairs from the FF upper at half time and some cretin decides to stop in the middle of the stairwell and check his phone - walloper!
07-11-2017, 11:57 AM
Trying to get own the stairs from the FF upper at half time and some cretin decides to stop in the middle of the stairwell and check his phone - walloper!
Annoys me even more when people like this then just look at you as you try to get past them. Not a hint of an apology.
Mainly the workplace.
07-11-2017, 12:43 PM
People who stand in the middle of footpaths, blocking the way past at bus stops.
Or their closely related cousins, those who stand in the middle of a walkway/concourse in a shopping centre, or a shop aisle, airport concourse etc, and blether as a group, rather then ,icing to th side where they’re out the way.
09-11-2017, 01:17 AM
Or their closely related cousins, those who stand in the middle of a walkway/concourse in a shopping centre, or a shop aisle, airport concourse etc, and blether as a group, rather then ,icing to th side where they’re out the way.
Or the people who have their trolleys parked at 90 degrees to the aisle totally oblivious of any other shoppers in the store.
09-11-2017, 11:25 AM
Or the people who have their trolleys parked at 90 degrees to the aisle totally of any other shoppers in the store.
Or folk who spend an interminable length of time in a busy supermarket blocking access to say, the bacon, because they simply have to compare and contrast multiple identical packs of sausages (or bacon etc)
GET OUT OF THE BLOODY WAY!!!
Mixu62
10-11-2017, 01:47 AM
Or folk who spend an interminable length of time in a busy supermarket blocking access to say, the bacon, because they simply have to compare and contrast multiple identical packs of sausages (or bacon etc)
GET OUT OF THE BLOODY WAY!!!
Or when you step aside to let someone past and they stop right in front of you, blocking your view of and access to the shelf you were looking at.
10-11-2017, 08:05 AM
People who exercise in totally inappropriate public places.
I was driving up the Bridges on Saturday and a guy was jogging up the road. As I stopped at the lights outside Byron this guy dropped on to his front and started doing press ups as bemused pedestrians dodged around him. I came out the car park on New Street about 15 minutes later and drove down the Royal Mile, outside the Kilderkin I spotted the same guy doing burpees as a woman with a pram had to bump on the road to get past him.
It's not the 1st time I've seen people behaving like this lately, just screams of 'look at me, look at me' behaviour. There's not a shortage of parks in Edinburgh to run and exercise in.
Tornadoes70
10-11-2017, 08:20 AM
When a team with most possession and in control of the game that's tied then gets a soft undeserved penalty and the commentators go on to suggest that the team in control of the game deserved to lead anyway, despite the penalty being totally unjustifiable.
No they didn't deserve to lead because they hadn't yet scored a deserved merited goal :grr:. Just because they were the team pressurising doesn't mean a soft penalty is justified and deserved.
It can be really annoying when commentators utter complete nonsense.
10-11-2017, 09:36 AM
When a team with most possession and in control of the game that's tied then gets a soft undeserved penalty and the commentators go on to suggest that the team in control of the game deserved to lead anyway, despite the penalty being totally unjustifiable.
No they didn't deserve to lead because they hadn't yet scored a legitimate goal :grr:. Just because they were the team pressurising doesn't mean a soft penalty is justified and deserved.
It can be really annoying when commentators utter complete nonsense.
According to my punting account it was a legitimate goal. :-)
EH6 Hibby
10-11-2017, 11:07 AM
I was driving up the Bridges on Saturday and a guy was jogging up the road. As I stopped at the lights outside Byron this guy dropped on to his front and started doing press ups as bemused pedestrians dodged around him. I came out the car park on New Street about 15 minutes later and drove down the Royal Mile, outside the Kilderkin I spotted the same guy doing burpees as a woman with a pram had to bump on the road to get past him.
It's not the 1st time I've seen people behaving like this lately, just screams of 'look at me, look at me' behaviour. There's not a shortage of parks in Edinburgh to run and exercise in.
I totally understand your irritation, but I am pissing myself laughing at this story. :greengrin
10-11-2017, 11:57 AM
Have you seen the stupid road design atthe end of Albert street joinign to Leith walk?
The new 'cycle path' has right of way so any cars have to stop. First thought I had is its a bit of a busy corner with pedestrains at the bus stop etc its only a matter of time before someone is knocked over.
However in the last week I have had 3 joggers who for some reason were in the cycle lane and as I slowed to make sure there was no bikes assumed this meant they could continue their run and basically ran infront of my moving car. One guy even made a hand gesture at me as though I was in the wrong :faf:
I was at our local park with my wee girl a couple of weekends ago, there was a dad leapfrogging the picnic tables and another doing pull ups on a climbing frame, they started to try and outdo each other without making it look like it using all the children's play equipment. It was hilarious and pathetic at the same time, a few other parents were also laughing, it was like a Will Ferrell movie.
Tornadoes70
10-11-2017, 12:26 PM
According to my punting account it was a legitimate goal. :-)
Fixed that.
10-11-2017, 02:13 PM
Fixed that.
Haha, well done! I had Holland in the same bet, that goal probably shouldnae have stood either, oh well!
Tornadoes70
10-11-2017, 02:35 PM
Haha, well done! I had Holland in the same bet, that goal probably shouldnae have stood either, oh well!
I'm always glad to hear folk have been collecting money from the bookies, especially fellow Hibby's.
10-11-2017, 03:40 PM
Oh yes, the craze of jogging on the road, whats all that about??
Cyclists that don't use the cycle lanes in Holyrood parkas insist on cycling on the road.....:rolleyes:
pollution
10-11-2017, 04:30 PM
That insist on using the address Edinburgh, Midlothian.
Edinburgh has not been in Midlothian for 40 odd years. Update your local knowledge!
10-11-2017, 04:42 PM
That insist on using the address Edinburgh, Midlothian.
Edinburgh has not been in Midlothian for 40 odd years. Update your local knowledge!
So many websites insist on a county as well, but never has the correct option for Edinburgh, leaving you with no choice but to put in Midlothian. The correct option should be Edinburgh City.
speedy_gonzales
10-11-2017, 05:00 PM
Cyclists that don't use the cycle lanes in Holyrood parkas insist on cycling on the road.....:rolleyes:
I'll hold my hands up to this, in the past I commuted from Corstorphine to Portobello, heading East I'd stick to the road as it was awkward and time consuming to cross over on to the cycle path then off again at the other end, heading west I'd jump on to the cycle path but it wasn't worth it due to the pedestrians ignorant of it being a (clearly marked) cycle path and I'm not the type to barrel through,,,,
Nowadays it matters not a jot as the limit is 20mph so as long as I keep my feet spinning I'm not getting in anybodys way!
11-11-2017, 09:50 AM
Like people who wear inappropriate clothing just so they can show of their tatts.
11-11-2017, 11:09 PM
People who actually believe what they read via the media and take it as gospel. I personally have first hand experience of numerous stories and misquotes that are so far from the truth it is unreal.
Tornadoes70
11-11-2017, 11:59 PM
Drivers who tailgate. They're a menace to drivers like myself who like to drive at a moderate speed. I'm seeing more and more crazy drivers on the road who seem to think they're in formula 1 racing cars and want to drive recklessly and without due care and attention. Slow down folks especially van drivers who are driving like Jackie Stewart on viagra. Lets have a bit more calm when driving please.
12-11-2017, 10:53 AM
Drivers who tailgate. They're a menace to drivers like myself who like to drive at a moderate speed. I'm seeing more and more crazy drivers on the road who seem to think they're in formula 1 racing cars and want to drive recklessly and without due care and attention. Slow down folks especially van drivers who are driving like Jackie Stewart on viagra. Lets have a bit more calm when driving please.
Best of luck with that!
12-11-2017, 11:54 AM
Define "moderate speed' please. :coffee:
Tornadoes70
12-11-2017, 01:33 PM
Define "moderate speed' please. :coffee:
Below the speed limit of the road I'm driving on which seems to lead some becoming very frustrated and into tailgating.
12-11-2017, 01:42 PM
Below the speed limit of the road I'm driving on which seems to lead some becoming very frustrated and into tailgating.
No wonder!
Tornadoes70
12-11-2017, 01:44 PM
No wonder!
12-11-2017, 01:46 PM
Must be a blast being behind you on a 20pmh road
Tornadoes70
12-11-2017, 01:51 PM
Must be a blast being behind you on a 20pmh road
I'd rather there were more drivers like me on the road who try and drive to the speed limits than some of the nutters I see tearing around with little care for others.
12-11-2017, 01:55 PM
I don't mind people driving at a sensible speed but sensible is the operative word. I got caught behind a lady the other day doing 28mph on a road with a 60 limit. This was daytime, clear and dry conditions and no risk of ice etc. I'd argue if that's the speed you are comfortable at on a straight road in near perfect conditions it's probably time to consider if you should be driving.
12-11-2017, 02:10 PM
I'd rather there were more drivers like me on the road who try and drive to the speed limits than some of the nutters I see tearing around with little care for others.
Driving to the speed limit is fair enough dependant on conditions. Those sitting considerably below it can become a nuisance.
Tornadoes70
12-11-2017, 02:15 PM
I don't mind people driving at a sensible speed but sensible is the operative word. I got caught behind a lady the other day doing 28mph on a road with a 60 limit. This was daytime, clear and dry conditions and no risk of ice etc. I'd argue if that's the speed you are comfortable at on a straight road in near perfect conditions it's probably time to consider if you should be driving.
Very fair points. The lady you refer to shouldn't be doing such a low speed compared to the limit and could be deemed to be almost as dangerous as some of the want to be racing drivers I referred to in earlier posts. There is a case for some of the speed limits being too low however that's the remit of the politicians and I merely try to drive within them but appropriately. I've seen some real idiots driving recently and they're not only in danger of hurting themselves but those who adopt a more careful approach to driving.
Tornadoes70
12-11-2017, 02:17 PM
Driving to the speed limit is fair enough dependant on conditions. Those sitting considerably below it can become a nuisance.
Totally agree.
12-11-2017, 03:49 PM
Totally agree.
Just wondered, have cyclists ever overtaken you? :stirrer:. :wink:
12-11-2017, 05:27 PM
I’d take your driving license away for that.
13-11-2017, 07:53 AM
Getting on a bus and being stuck behind someone who wants a Metro, but no the Metro at the top of the pile, that's obviously contaminated with something. Just to be safe, they dig down to the middle of the pile...while blocking everyone else from getting past.
13-11-2017, 08:26 AM
On the bus theme, folk who stand there on the lower deck against the support pole for the wheelchair space that also has the wheelchair level stop button.
Inevitably their bag or arse or something ends up pressing the stop request button and rarely do they realise so we're all treated to the bell going off incessantly until someone tells them.
14-11-2017, 06:00 AM
When the Mrs asks what's happening in a film or tv show that you've seen exactly the same bits of as she has. Or "who's that?" when a new character is introduced.
beensaidbefore
14-11-2017, 04:53 PM
When the Mrs asks what's happening in a film or tv show that you've seen exactly the same bits of as she has. Or "who's that?" when a new character is introduced.
Hahaha, infuriating and happy a lot at mine😂
14-11-2017, 10:24 PM
The here we go thread on the main forum, tedium!
16-11-2017, 07:43 PM
At the barbers, and the guy finishes up by brushing my face with a black brush.
Thanks for passing on the debris from the last customer's greasy fizog, mate.
Actually, I'm sure he sterilises all the equipment regularly.
Aye right.
SuperAllyMcleod
17-11-2017, 10:41 AM
You may be happy crawling along at a slow speed but it’s not your job to regulate everyone else’s speed. Can I suggest that you pull to the side and let everyone past as you are clearly in no hurry to get where you are going.
If you could also only take to the roads between 2am and 4am that would do everyone a big favour too.
17-11-2017, 10:59 AM
You may be happy crawling along at a slow speed but it’s not your job to regulate everyone else’s speed. Can I suggest that you pull to the side and let everyone past as you are clearly in no hurry to get where you are going.
If you could also only take to the roads between 2am and 4am that would do everyone a big favour too.
I'm rarely in a hurry to get where I'm going as I've left enough time for my journey. Because of that I don't need to exceed the speed limit. Anybody that does is a dick.
My favourites are the ones who pass me to instantly pull into the space I've left between me and the car in front. They're never happy when I explain that I left that space because my brakes aren't working as they should.
17-11-2017, 11:01 AM
Tailgating does my head in too.
If I'm driving at the speed limit or speed limit + a wee bit, anyone that tailgates me can GTF and may sometimes be treated to me having a good heavy prod at the brake pedal or slowing right down to a crawl where it's impossible for them to overtake.
17-11-2017, 11:11 AM
The guy never said he drives at slow speed, he said moderate what for me means around the speed limit. Driving at the speed limit isn't compulsory by the way.
17-11-2017, 11:13 AM
Tailgating does my head in too.
If I'm driving at the speed limit or speed limit + a wee bit, anyone that tailgates me can GTF and may sometimes be treated to me having a good heavy prod at the brake pedal or slowing right down to a crawl where it's impossible for them to overtake.
:agree: I also like to use my fog lights when someone behind me drives like he'd like to use my ashtray.
17-11-2017, 11:26 AM
... or people that tailgate you when you're overtaking on a dual carriageway. You get past the car(s) you're overtaking and pull in to the inside lane, only for them to pass you, cut in about 2 feet from your front bumper then slow down. :wtf:
17-11-2017, 11:47 AM
... or people that tailgate you when you're overtaking on a dual carriageway. You get past the car(s) you're overtaking and pull in to the inside lane, only for them to pass you, cut in about 2 feet from your front bumper then slow down. :wtf:
Or typical for the German Autobahn, you're cruising along doing about 150 when you start to overtake and a little dot in your wing mirror about 2 miles behind you starts flashing their headlights because they have to slow down from doing 300 .
17-11-2017, 12:39 PM
Or typical for the German Autobahn, you're cruising along doing about 150 when you start to overtake and a little dot in your wing mirror about 2 miles behind you starts flashing their headlights because they have to slow down from doing 300 .
Same happened to me on Ferry Road last night :coffee:
17-11-2017, 03:50 PM
Muppets, travelling at reasonable speed, giving you time to safely come out at a junction, who suddenly put the foot down till they’re up your erchie, flashing like lunatics.
17-11-2017, 04:50 PM
Muppets, travelling at reasonable speed, giving you time to safely come out at a junction, who suddenly put the foot down till they’re up your erchie, flashing like lunatics.
Had the very same at a roundabout today. Germans don't do roundabouts well.
17-11-2017, 05:45 PM
Christmas decorations and the total and utter fannies who have them up from early November. Christmas is now becoming a three month "religious festival". There are a few houses in my wee town who have had theirs up for more than a week now. This is nothing to do with Christmas, Christianity or even religion but just a big look at me. Knobheeds.
17-11-2017, 08:00 PM
The little *******s who unsuccessfully tried to bump their taxi fare down at drylaw tonight. When they finally paid up they through a brick at the window as I was driving off. Luckily it hit the top of tge door or I would have ended up seriously injured. Still faced with the bill to get the damage fixed. That’s the last straw for me, no one should have to deal with that **** at work.
Feeling pretty low right now.
17-11-2017, 08:06 PM
The little *******s who unsuccessfully tried to bump their taxi fare down at drylaw tonight. When they finally paid up they through a brick at the window as I was driving off. Luckily it hit the top of tge door or I would have ended up seriously injured. Still faced with the bill to get the damage fixed. That’s the last straw for me, no one should have to deal with that **** at work.
Sorry to hear that P, hope you're able to put it behind you and enjoy the weekend. There's some absolute ****bags out there right enough.
17-11-2017, 08:27 PM
Sorry to hear that P, hope you're able to put it behind you and enjoy the weekend. There's some absolute ****bags out there right enough.
Cheers b. I’m thinking of selling up and moving on to something different. I don’t normally let this kind of thing bother me, but when I got out and seen how close the brick came to my window, it hit home how lucky I was.
Im having a few beers tonight, and I’m looking forward to the game tomorrow. These idiots aren’t worth ruining my weekend over.
Hope your well mate.
17-11-2017, 08:30 PM
As a bar owner I once knew said "People are sc*m."
(He was referring to the ones that violated the toilets - although that's open to expansion).
Nil Illegitimus Carborundum, LB.
17-11-2017, 09:07 PM
As a bar owner I once knew said "People are sc*m."
(He was referring to the ones that violated the toilets - although that's open to expansion).
Nil Illegitimus Carborundum, LB.
Do you know what annoys me the most is that the first 2 taxi drivers refused to take them. I hate judging people on how they look. Some of the nicest people I’ve met at work have looked a wee bit dodgy. I can guarantee that most of the young guys from down that way are decent honest people. It’s ****s like the 3 I had today that spoil it for everyone.
beensaidbefore
17-11-2017, 09:22 PM
Do you know what annoys me the most is that the first 2 taxi drivers refused to take them. I hate judging people on how they look. Some of the nicest people I’ve met at work have looked a wee bit dodgy. I can guarantee that most of the young guys from down that way are decent honest people. It’s ****s like the 3 I had today that spoil it for everyone.
Could you install cameras or something, to put off/help identify, w4nkers of this type in the future?
17-11-2017, 09:35 PM
Could you install cameras or something, to put off/help identify, w4nkers of this type in the future?
The youngsters don’t care mate. They had already got out and (eventually) paid me, so I have got no come backs unless the camera catches them in the act.
17-11-2017, 10:32 PM
You know what annoys me. Incidents like these could kick off a campaign that says no taxis will go to that area of town. This means that a few erchies cause pain and tribulation for everyone. You can apply that to the new alcohol law, the 20mph speed limits, the list is endless. We all are forced to take the punishment due solely to the dregs.
17-11-2017, 11:27 PM
Maybe worth going to the papers with that, or the taxi drivers union if there is one. Get it out there that the area needs better policing to make it safer for all.
17-11-2017, 11:39 PM
Maybe worth going to the papers with that, or the taxi drivers union if there is one. Get it out there that the area needs better policing to make it safer for all.
I remember there being a thread on here about the young guys down there. I think it was silverhibee that started it. They don’t care, and they know that there’s pretty much no comeback for whatever they do.
It’s probably the final straw for me, but I still believe that most people in that area are decent people.
Jakey *******s. It’s crap when something like that happens but is it really the final straw?
Coincidentally, I had my side window put in a few days ago by kids throwing rocks. No repair bills for me and I was getting paid while I was sitting about waiting for back-up to arrive. Food for thought brer. :hmmm:
18-11-2017, 08:45 AM
Cheers b. I’m thinking of selling up and moving on to something different. I don’t normally let this kind of thing bother me, but when I got out and seen how close the brick came to my window, it hit home how lucky I was.
Im having a few beers tonight, and I’m looking forward to the game tomorrow. These idiots aren’t worth ruining my weekend over.
Hope your well mate.Packed it in over 3 years ago and don't miss it at all. Far too many incidents in my last couple of years.
18-11-2017, 10:28 AM
Jakey *******s. It’s crap when something like that happens but is it really the final straw?
Coincidentally, I had my side window put in a few days ago by kids throwing rocks. No repair bills for me and I was getting paid while I was sitting about waiting for back-up to arrive. Food for thought brer. :hmmm:
I was looking at jobs last night mate.
18-11-2017, 10:28 AM
Packed it in over 3 years ago and don't miss it at all. Far too many incidents in my last couple of years.
I don’t blame you mate.
I was looking at jobs last night mate.
You’re in a good position. You can always rent the cab out so if you decide the new job isn’t for you, there’s something to go back to.
18-11-2017, 11:39 AM
You’re in a good position. You can always rent the cab out so if you decide the new job isn’t for you, there’s something to go back to.
That’s what I would probably do.
18-11-2017, 11:57 PM
Washing machine door lock delay.
You hear the washing machine beeping to say it has finished and nip through thinking I'll quickly empty this.
You try the door but it doesn't open. You wait 2 seconds and try again but it still doesn't open.
You try again 5 seconds later thinking it will open now , but no.
This time you decide to stay bent over , wait 2 seconds and nearly go radge when it still doesn't open.
Then you hear a click. Try again and it opens but now I can't be arsed emptying it so I'll just shut the door and pretend i didn't hear it :greengrin
******* machine
19-11-2017, 11:06 AM
Washing machine door lock delay.
You hear the washing machine beeping to say it has finished and nip through thinking I'll quickly empty this.
You try the door but it doesn't open. You wait 2 seconds and try again but it still doesn't open.
You try again 5 seconds later thinking it will open now , but no.
This time you decide to stay bent over , wait 2 seconds and nearly go radge when it still doesn't open.
Then you hear a click. Try again and it opens but now I can't be arsed emptying it so I'll just shut the door and pretend i didn't hear it :greengrin
******* machine
Agreed, SG it's a PITA.
Do any other netters have to dunt their washing machine to get it to start?
I've had to do that with my last two.
19-11-2017, 11:06 AM
Folk who say things like 'there's nothing but football, football, football on TV' or 'it's all just reality rubbish'.
Most people have at least 15-20 channels these days. Add to that the various streaming services and other media platforms available and I'd suggest if you can't find anything other than football and reality shows then you aren't looking very hard
19-11-2017, 01:41 PM
Folk who sit in the outside of a motorway at 60 mile an hour. Nowhere near overtaking anyone and won't move in. Oh but there's a car a mile ahead doing 59 mph so I'd better stay in the outside lane.
20-11-2017, 06:59 AM
The twats in McDonalds who canny get orders right, ask for a Beef feast and get a chicken burger, ask for an additional large fries and they forget that too. Ask for no ice in my juice (its cold enough) and it comes rammed full of the stuff! :rolleyes:
20-11-2017, 07:02 AM
Ticketmasters really poor website, its overcomplicated when trying to buy tickets. The See Tickets site is so much better.
People not pronouncing their T’s, especially on the TV.
There are a couple of adverts right now that make my blood boil. One is on the radio for KFC and the other is on telly for something where it sounds like young girls speaking like the “yoof” but they just sound ignorant and uneducated. It’s actually off-putting as far as the product is concerned
20-11-2017, 06:06 PM
Unemployed people, particularly of the long term variety who insist on calling it "pay day" when they get their money.
You don't work, so how can it be pay day?:grr:
20-11-2017, 07:59 PM
Morrissey.
Undoubtedly a supremely talented man in his day. Now he's just an ignorant, sad old man
20-11-2017, 08:22 PM
Morrissey.
Undoubtedly a supremely talented man in his day. Now he's just an ignorant, sad old man
Hes still making good, occasionally great music. But he's clearly decided to make increasingly inflammatory statements to provoke reactions. I kind of like it that he doesn't give a **** what people think of him, even if supporting UKIP and the Israeli apartheid state puts me and him on opposite sides politically.
20-11-2017, 08:38 PM
Morrissey.
I've detested that plonker intensely since the first time I saw him. He really makes me squirm.
:sick:
21-11-2017, 05:39 AM
Morrissey.
It's great entertainment watching and listening to him make an utter **** of himself every time he appears in public though.
21-11-2017, 06:24 AM
At the automated check out at Tesco and you're struggling to fit things into your bag and stuff is spilling out on to the floor and this bloody stupid voice keeps saying "this can now be placed in your bag" :grr:
21-11-2017, 06:08 PM
Unnecessary bureaucracy / paperwork.
As part of a business loan application, I had to fill in a medical questionnaire. I broke my wrist in August so I had a lot more info than usual to give. They have my telephone numbers and email address, but I got home tonight to find this wee pile of paper waiting for me - simply to ask if it was my left or right wrist that was broken. https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20171121/2886b04cfe28be73ab19e411c234329a.jpg
21-11-2017, 06:25 PM
People who won't answer yes or no.
Eaststand
21-11-2017, 06:55 PM
People who won't answer yes or no.
Or people who are too frightened to make a decision
21-11-2017, 06:57 PM
Or people who are too frightened to make a decision
A little unfair to be peeved about people who are frightened, is it not?
21-11-2017, 07:11 PM
Maybes aye, maybes no. I can't decide. :wink:
21-11-2017, 07:32 PM
Sent from my iPad using TapatalkUnless they are being paid to make decisions (eg. referees).
21-11-2017, 07:41 PM
Nope. This thread is about the peeves the posters have - if you want to start making judgements on a peeve by peeve basis you'd best start a new thread.
Alternatively, if you actually read the post you commented on, you may realise your response was miles wide of the mark.
The post was expressing a view on ditherers not frightened people.
*My pet peeve is the stupid comments some people post online.
21-11-2017, 07:44 PM
My pet peeve is the stupid comments some people post online.
LoL. Me too.
Edit to add: sorry I must have missed the bit in the rules where it says I shouldn't comment on someone else's post on this discussion forum. Apologies.
23-11-2017, 04:26 PM
Cricket and everything to do with it. The paint-drying observers' sport.
The guy who burned the bails had the right idea.
23-11-2017, 04:45 PM
Folk who don't understand that sports don't need to be finished in 60 to 90 minutes to be exciting!! :-)
Love the cricket and even more so test matches
23-11-2017, 06:35 PM
Folk who don't understand that sports don't need to be finished in 60 to 90 minutes to be exciting!! :-)
Love the cricket and even more so test matches
Fair enough, wch. We're all different.
I hate cricket (it is a pet peeve thread you know).
Howzat for you :wink:
23-11-2017, 07:09 PM
Ketwigs
23-11-2017, 08:49 PM
Unnecessary bureaucracy / paperwork.
As part of a business loan application, I had to fill in a medical questionnaire. I broke my wrist in August so I had a lot more info than usual to give. They have my telephone numbers and email address, but I got home tonight to find this wee pile of paper waiting for me - simply to ask if it was my left or right wrist that was broken. https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20171121/2886b04cfe28be73ab19e411c234329a.jpg
Ahhhhhhh France. How I don't miss that place sometimes.
23-11-2017, 09:37 PM
At the automated check out at Tesco and you're struggling to fit things into your bag and stuff is spilling out on to the floor and this bloody stupid voice keeps saying "this can now be placed in your bag" :grr:
I despise Tescos automated check-out - huge, multi-million pound organisation with a corner-shop system !. Doing my bit for the planet I always use my ruck-sack rather than plastic-bags but their system always has a problem either recognising the weigh of it/recognising the groceries I've scanned/recognising the groceries are now in my ruck-sack etc, etc ! Every time I'm in I have to get assistance in the automated check-out which kinda defeats their purpose - not just that, it takes *******'n ages for the bloody system to re-set itself after yet anther of it's faults !. Sadly it's the nearest option in my area, I'm an amputee so walking to the other super-markets is a task or I'd definitely be shopping elsewhere !
23-11-2017, 10:02 PM
I despise Tescos automated check-out - huge, multi-million pound organisation with a corner-shop system !. Doing my bit for the planet I always use my ruck-sack rather than plastic-bags but their system always has a problem either recognising the weigh of it/recognising the groceries I've scanned/recognising the groceries are now in my ruck-sack etc, etc ! Every time I'm in I have to get assistance in the automated check-out which kinda defeats their purpose - not just that, it takes *******'n ages for the bloody system to re-set itself after yet anther of it's faults !. Sadly it's the nearest option in my area, I'm an amputee so walking to the other super-markets is a task or I'd definitely be shopping elsewhere !
Scan all to bagging area then pack in rucksack after transaction completed. Never a problem with the Tesco one for me, don't get me started on the Morrisons one though.
24-11-2017, 05:13 AM
Said it before but the approach road. It's a 40mph from the brewery to the fountain park complex!!!! ffs!!!
24-11-2017, 10:33 AM
Said it before but the approach road. It's a 40mph from the brewery to the fountain park complex!!!! ffs!!!
Just be grateful that your masters haven't made it 20mph. :shhhsh!:
24-11-2017, 11:31 AM
Having to go into a bank branch. You just know the 'customer service' system they use was thought up by someone who hasn't spent a day in a branch for about 25 years.
I was in the RBS at Musselburgh today. There was a queue of upwards of 10 people and it was out the door. They had one lady actually serving, one lady standing twiddling her thumbs by the automated pay in machines that no one was using and another lady walking up and down the queue asking what people were in for before answering to every single person she asked 'oh you'll have to wait to go to the counter for that'.
Now I'm no hot shot banker but I can see a pretty obvious way in which people could have been served significantly quicker. As it was I had to wait for 45 minutes to be served and by the time I left the queue was even longer than when I joined it. The only good thing is I'm so rarely in a bank that it doesn't effect me regularly.
24-11-2017, 11:34 AM
People putting sweetcorn in tuna mayo and selling it as tuna mayo.
24-11-2017, 12:31 PM
Having to go into a bank branch. You just know the 'customer service' system they use was thought up by someone who hasn't spent a day in a branch for about 25 years.
I was in the RBS at Musselburgh today. There was a queue of upwards of 10 people and it was out the door. They had one lady actually serving, one lady standing twiddling her thumbs by the automated pay in machines that no one was using and another lady walking up and down the queue asking what people were in for before answering to every single person she asked 'oh you'll have to wait to go to the counter for that'.
Now I'm no hot shot banker but I can see a pretty obvious way in which people could have been served significantly quicker. As it was I had to wait for 45 minutes to be served and by the time I left the queue was even longer than when I joined it. The only good thing is I'm so rarely in a bank that it doesn't effect me regularly.
That branch is shocking. RBS have closed so many branches in the that area that everyone has to go to that branch. There used to be one at Portobello and at Craigentinney, but they’re both gone. It’s either Musselburgh or Leith now.
24-11-2017, 12:47 PM
Alas, the RBS's mantra for closing branches is that less people are using them. That excuse is absolute bollocks. They told me walk-in customer nos. were down 11%. Okay, but why close the branch and piss off 89% of the customers? Unfortunately most other banks are doing the same. :crazy: I've heard reports of 1 hour queues at the Musselburgh branch and I suspect the frustration will be similar at other branches. The distance to my 'local' branch has substancially increased twice in the past few years due to unwarranted closures.
The first bank that bucks the trend and opens a branch near me will get my full custom.
24-11-2017, 12:54 PM
Idiots who overtake approaching blind summits in the dazzling early morning winter sunshine. Couldn't quite believe what I was seeing on the A68 this morning.
24-11-2017, 01:20 PM
Like you, I put much of my shopping in my rucksack. For a long time, I just used to put the scanned items in the bagging area, then loaded my rucksack when I was done. One day I thought; why don't I just put my rucksack on, and load it directly...:idea: So I did. Then I took lifted out my bank card and loyalty card to pay. "An item has been removed from the bagging area...An item has been removed from the bagging area....":bitchy:
I wasn't going to be beaten. So i tried putting the bank card back. It wasn't having it. Swapped it for the loyalty card, to see if it was heavier. Nope.
Nobody was coming to help and nobody was waiting, so I started substituting various items in my pockets for the cards. After about 10 minutes, it gave up (it might even have given a theatrical sigh) and let me buy my shopping. So I won. Sort of. In a 'not really' kind of way.
I'm back to loading the rucksack after I've paid. I realise that's probably no use to you...just saying I know where you're coming from.
24-11-2017, 01:30 PM
Like you, I put much of my shopping in my rucksack. For a long time, I just used to put the scanned items in the bagging area, then loaded my rucksack when I was done. One day I thought; why don't I just put my rucksack on, and load it directly...:idea: So I did. Then I took lifted out my bank card and loyalty card to pay. "An item has been removed from the bagging area...An item has been removed from the bagging area....":bitchy:
I wasn't going to be beaten. So i tried putting the bank card back. It wasn't having it. Swapped it for the loyalty card, to see if it was heavier. Nope.
Nobody was coming to help and nobody was waiting, so I started substituting various items in my pockets for the cards. After about 10 minutes, it gave up (it might even have given a theatrical sigh) and let me buy my shopping. So I won. Sort of. In a 'not really' kind of way.
I'm back to loading the rucksack after I've paid. I realise that's probably no use to you...just saying I know where you're coming from.
Can't wait till the Telsas start competing for road space. Automation is definitely the way to go. :rolleyes:
24-11-2017, 04:16 PM
I was in the Bank of Scotland today in Musselburgh. Similar situation.
All I wanted to do was open a new account. The guy at the front told me I'd have to make an appointment to open a new account, where I'll be given a briefing on banking including a 45 minute video. Getting out the army was easier, I went to the Clydesdale instead.
24-11-2017, 04:26 PM
All I wanted to do was open a new account. The guy at the front told me I'd have to make an appointment to open a new account, where I'll be given a briefing on banking including a 45 minute video. Getting out the army was easier, I went to the Clydesdale instead.
Haha, that is mental. We welcome your custom.
24-11-2017, 04:29 PM
Tui and their pish advert.
24-11-2017, 04:30 PM
Opening an account with the Bank of Scotland is a farce. I've had an account with them for a few years but had to go in and see them in relation to the account for .net and it was all a bit silly. Between missed appointments, they guy forgetting about us and watching a video (admittedly less than 45 minutes) it was like they didn't want to deal with us.
24-11-2017, 04:46 PM
A few years ago I tried to open an account with the Clydesdale Bank and they wanted to know everything short of my inside leg measurement. I ended up walking out in disgust. I'm not sure if it was the bank or the regulations but, like Hibrandenburg, I felt that they didn't want me to deal with me.
Tornadoes70
24-11-2017, 05:20 PM
A few years ago I tried to open an account with the Clydesdale Bank and they wanted to know everything short of my inside leg measurement. I ended up walking out in disgust. I'm not sure if it was the bank or the regulations but, like Hibrandenburg, I felt that they didn't want me to deal with me.
Its simply not cricket dear fellow.
24-11-2017, 05:46 PM
Its simply not cricket dear fellow.
Aye, just as well they didn't ask me to stump up. :wink:
24-11-2017, 06:05 PM
The Clydesdale were brilliant today. Once I told them I wanted to close my HSBC account the boy at the counter put me in a office where his colleague sat me down and went through the paperwork with me (10 minutes max). They even offered to close my HSBC account for me.
Tornadoes70
24-11-2017, 06:45 PM
Nice one.
24-11-2017, 06:59 PM
Motorbikes with no centre stand! WTF is that all about
24-11-2017, 07:13 PM
I worked briefly for a major banking group. There is a deliberate strategy - which is openly admitted - to deprioritise in-branch service in order to force people online.
24-11-2017, 07:28 PM
If there's one thing guaranteed to get on my wick its that sort of thing! :-)
weedgiehibbie
24-11-2017, 07:31 PM
Just been out shovelling some grit on the road and pavements in my estate in somewhat chilly conditions and about 10 folk drove past. Only one gave me a thumbs up. No form of thanks or cheers from any others, just ignored and almost expected that someone else than them will do it - aye cheers right back at ye - suppose ite really more of a not getting thank for your work really
24-11-2017, 07:50 PM
Just been out shovelling some grit on the road and pavements in my estate in somewhat chilly conditions and about 10 folk drove past. Only one gave me a thumbs up. No form of thanks or cheers from any others, just ignored and almost expected that someone else than them will do it - aye cheers right back at ye - suppose ite really more of a not getting thank for your work really
My old dear used to say, "If you do something more than twice, it becomes your duty."
Let the selfish bleeders slide next time, I say.
26-11-2017, 01:46 PM
Folk who drive like absolute lunatics in car parks. There's really no need to be driving at 25mph in a tight space with lots of pedestrians and other cars about. Some would do well to remember that give ways and other basic road rules still apply. Always seems worse at this time of year when the 'joy of Christmas' turns some people into selfish morons.
26-11-2017, 03:30 PM
Modern jeans where the zip is only half as long as it should be. It takes ages to get my plumbing out and has caused a few near misses.
26-11-2017, 03:35 PM
I know I’ll be in the minority here but I can’t be doing with the over the top rainbow laces campaign this weekend, everywhere I look I’m seeing these rainbow colours.
I personally don’t give a monkeys what sexuality any footballer is and I object to the assumption that football fans are all Neanderthals and therefore wouldn’t accept them ‘coming out’ so need to go to such over the top measures to prove something that I think should be obvious.
If there’s any gay footballers worried about coming out I think they’d do well not to jump to assumptions about how the average football fan will react, Imo the vast majority won’t care.
Rant over.
26-11-2017, 04:27 PM
That bearded weedgie twat in the cap that BT sport insist on wheeling out either side of an ad break in coverage of Scottish football. I'm not a violent man but I would happily punch that guy in the face.
27-11-2017, 01:27 AM
When your long awaited Indian takeaway gets delivered and you find the order is wrong by a long way then having to phone them back up to get them to deliver the correct meal. Of course you eat the one that's already been delivered as a starter though!! :greengrin
27-11-2017, 07:39 AM
I know I’ll be in the minority here but I can’t be doing with the over the top rainbow laces campaign this weekend, everywhere I look I’m seeing these rainbow colours.
I personally don’t give a monkeys what sexuality any footballer is and I object to the assumption that football fans are all Neanderthals and therefore wouldn’t accept them ‘coming out’ so need to go to such over the top measures to prove something that I think should be obvious.
If there’s any gay footballers worried about coming out I think they’d do well not to jump to assumptions about how the average football fan will react, Imo the vast majority won’t care.
Rant over.
I agree, and they can shove Movember and dry January and any other gimmick they come up with.
27-11-2017, 07:57 AM
I worked briefly for a major banking group. There is a deliberate strategy - which is openly admitted - to deprioritise in-branch service in order to force people online.
Same when you phone companies , press all the required options to get to the required department to be met with a long detailed recorded message about how much easier it is to contact them online. They even spell out the web address.
Drives me nuts. It's like they think I've never heard of the Internet .
27-11-2017, 10:00 AM
I worked briefly for a major banking group. There is a deliberate strategy - which is openly admitted - to deprioritise in-branch service in order to force peopleonline.
There's where the problem lies. It's not about the customers needs, it's all about the companies wants. Great way to run a business. :rolleyes:
As I said before, as soon as some smart bank opens a branch near me, it will get all my business.
27-11-2017, 01:17 PM
There's where the problem lies. It's not about the customers needs, it's all about the companies wants. Great way to run a business. :rolleyes:
As I said before, as soon as some smart bank opens a branch near me, it will get all my business.
I wholeheartedly agree with the first part, but consumer behaviour drives business behaviour and efficient branch service is a lower priority for most customers than the financial bottom line.
Add in the cartel element of the financial services industry and people (rather than profit) matter less and less these days.
27-11-2017, 02:58 PM
Modern jeans where the zip is only half as long as it should be. It takes ages to get my plumbing out and has caused a few near misses.
:faf: I'm howling.
28-11-2017, 11:24 AM
If there's one thing guaranteed to get on my wick its that sort of thing! :-)
The puns on this place really do bowl me over at times.