View Full Version : Pet Peeves IV
25-08-2024, 02:48 PM
I invented meetings in Calendar to stop the chats(as you should see an "In a meeting/busy"). Before lockdown I used to book small meeting rooms so I could get stuff done and avoid the drive by shootings of colleagues approaching my desk with queries.
Do you really think that's the best way to deal with annoying colleagues?
Tradesmen - I'm totally renovating a house just now. Tradesmen are the reason I have a meltdown most days. The ones who are good are great, faultless and have kept my belief that this job will be done ,but are few and far between. The rest are driving me nuts. It's like wading through toffee on a daily basis.
27-08-2024, 06:07 PM
There’s either too many dunkers or not enough dairylee in a dairylee dunker. Ratio isn’t right at all.
28-08-2024, 02:02 PM
The amount of people in my street getting garage conversions. I live in a new(ish) build estate where most of the houses have/had a built-in garage. We bought the house from the original owners in 2021 and asked if they had ever considered converting the garage and they said they hadn't but one neighbour had it done, so speak to them if we wanted to know more. We didn't bother as it was a longer-term thing if we had kids, etc. So, in 2021 there was one house out of c.35 with their garage converted - out of about 35. Now, we are in the minority that still have the garage.
It seems like one gets done, and the next one starts a few weeks later. Its the noise, loads of tradesmens' vans blocking the road, etc. with very little respite from it. On the plus side, it'll be stopping soon as there will be hardly any left to get done.
28-08-2024, 04:24 PM
The amount of people in my street getting garage conversions. I live in a new(ish) build estate where most of the houses have/had a built-in garage. We bought the house from the original owners in 2021 and asked if they had ever considered converting the garage and they said they hadn't but one neighbour had it done, so speak to them if we wanted to know more. We didn't bother as it was a longer-term thing if we had kids, etc. So, in 2021 there was one house out of c.35 with their garage converted - out of about 35. Now, we are in the minority that still have the garage.
It seems like one gets done, and the next one starts a few weeks later. Its the noise, loads of tradesmens' vans blocking the road, etc. with very little respite from it. On the plus side, it'll be stopping soon as there will be hardly any left to get done.
It doesn’t stop. Folk go for extensions and others start converting back to a garage.
28-08-2024, 07:50 PM
There’s either too many dunkers or not enough dairylee in a dairylee dunker. Ratio isn’t right at all.
Stopped buying them when they went from 4 in a box to 3 and charged the same price.
28-08-2024, 10:16 PM
Do you really think that's the best way to deal with annoying colleagues?Worked for me [emoji6]
Sent from my Tab 12 Pro using Tapatalk
Just_Jimmy
29-08-2024, 02:12 AM
It seems like one gets done, and the next one starts a few weeks later. Its the noise, loads of tradesmens' vans blocking the road, etc. with very little respite from it. On the plus side, it'll be stopping soon as there will be hardly any left to get done.Any idea how much it costs to do?
Sent from my SM-G991B using Tapatalk
29-08-2024, 05:40 AM
Tradesmen - I'm totally renovating a house just now. Tradesmen are the reason I have a meltdown most days. The ones who are good are great, faultless and have kept my belief that this job will be done ,but are few and far between. The rest are driving me nuts. It's like wading through toffee on a daily basis.
Same here Jay. I've got builders in who knocked a hole in the wall for a new patio sliding door and window. Unless the boss is there it's impossible to communicate with any of the workers because they speak neither German or English and the boss is never available. A job that the boss said would take 3 days is now running into it's 4th week. The company that put the window in were on the ball but had the same problem as me with the builders who should have been doing the preparation and after work. My main problem is taking time off work to be home for appointments that they never turn up for. When they do turn up, then it's for an hour at a time and then without telling us they'll be there.
I've had loads not turning up or not send me quotes, my hall wall has been damaged as they removed and old bath as has my door. Empty promises are the norm. None of them work a full day, about 4 hours is then average, and today I've found a soaking floor where they've removed a radiator and not capped it. I've been trying to get a kitchen fitted since June , the painter comes and goes as he pleases and we won't even dicuss trying to get flooring down :LOL:
I ended up booking a few days in tenerife next month for my sanity. But on the flip side the good ones have been outstanding. I had one crew come in who spoke very little English so we communicated with our phones, their work was faultless and they put in a 12 hour shift to get the work done.
29-08-2024, 11:30 AM
Any idea how much it costs to do?
Not sure what it is now. A mate got his done a few years ago and I’m sure he said it cost about £8k
29-08-2024, 11:37 AM
Any idea how much it costs to do?
A decent garage conversion is probably about 12k now.
Was 10k when we got ours done in 2021
29-08-2024, 03:53 PM
Two totally unrelated and not Italian people have said ciao to me on the phone this week
29-08-2024, 04:06 PM
Two totally unrelated and not Italian people have said ciao to me on the phone this week
With a French username it should have been au revoir
29-08-2024, 06:11 PM
Worked for me [emoji6]
06-09-2024, 11:02 AM
Corporate stingey-ness. Anyone else?
Few examples.
1 - took this job up in February, got given a new Ipad, which is great but relatively useless. In fact it sits on my desk out of battery unless I'm going to be going away for work and I take it with me instead of the laptop. I like to use 3 screens when I'm working so asked IT to send me an extra screen and one of the Lenovo docking stations which they said I wasn't eligible for with no explanation.
2 - on starting the job I bought a desk, chair etc through my company credit card which then got queried, even though I'm a designated home worker and my boss had ok'd me to go ahead and buy these things.
3 - my credit card is limited to £750, so if I go away for a week and have to book flights plus 3 hotels the card is often maxed out and I have to then pay my own money and claim it back. This has happened a few times, just increase the ****ing limit!
4 - flights: I use Easyjet which obviously sting you at every turn, to get an extra cabin bag I have to buy the package that gives you speedy boarding and lets you choose your seat. I got asked why I'd paid more to book a seat and get speedy boarding, despite having been told to do this by my boss.
5 - got told if I was travelling by car for a day or more I should be providing/buying lunch on my own dime for the first day of travel as I would be getting my own if I were at home anyway.
6 - doing a trip south in a few weeks for which I am hiring a car - company policy on trips of 100 miles or more - which I don't mind at all. However this trip is going to by near enough 1000 miles in a week by the time I'm home, also going to be away for 3 or 4 nights depending on how tired I am. When I asked for something nicer than the bottom level of car enterprise offer this got refused. For context I had a Corsa on hire last week for a day trip and after 3 hours (out of 5 total that day) I had numb bum and was stiff as a board.
Just **** off and pay the money.
06-09-2024, 11:10 AM
Corporate stingey-ness. Anyone else?
Few examples.
1 - took this job up in February, got given a new Ipad, which is great but relatively useless. In fact it sits on my desk out of battery unless I'm going to be going away for work and I take it with me instead of the laptop. I like to use 3 screens when I'm working so asked IT to send me an extra screen and one of the Lenovo docking stations which they said I wasn't eligible for with no explanation.
2 - on starting the job I bought a desk, chair etc through my company credit card which then got queried, even though I'm a designated home worker and my boss had ok'd me to go ahead and buy these things.
3 - my credit card is limited to £750, so if I go away for a week and have to book flights plus 3 hotels the card is often maxed out and I have to then pay my own money and claim it back. This has happened a few times, just increase the ****ing limit!
4 - flights: I use Easyjet which obviously sting you at every turn, to get an extra cabin bag I have to buy the package that gives you speedy boarding and lets you choose your seat. I got asked why I'd paid more to book a seat and get speedy boarding, despite having been told to do this by my boss.
5 - got told if I was travelling by car for a day or more I should be providing/buying lunch on my own dime for the first day of travel as I would be getting my own if I were at home anyway.
6 - doing a trip south in a few weeks for which I am hiring a car - company policy on trips of 100 miles or more - which I don't mind at all. However this trip is going to by near enough 1000 miles in a week by the time I'm home, also going to be away for 3 or 4 nights depending on how tired I am. When I asked for something nicer than the bottom level of car enterprise offer this got refused. For context I had a Corsa on hire last week for a day trip and after 3 hours (out of 5 total that day) I had numb bum and was stiff as a board.
Just **** off and pay the money.
:faf::faf:
Some of those are bonkers.
My current work are not without their faults but they are pretty good about stuff like that. Drinks and/or food when meeting customers, fuel, other transport costs, food when away etc is almost never queried and the company cards have limits of £7K on them so very unlikely you will max it out or be stuck. A previous job once made me pay back £4.50 because I got onion rings and chips with a burger when away for the night and that was classed as two meals:rolleyes:
We have just been taken over by a bigger company though so who knows if things will be tightened up a bit.
06-09-2024, 11:46 AM
Imbalanced cancellation policies. I was meant to have our boiler service this morning sometime between 8 and 12. We were at the Scotland game last night and with getting in late we considered on Wednesday afternoon that we might reschedule it. However, we couldn’t as you weren’t allowed to reschedule within 48 hours of the appointment.
So no sign of the guy, then at 11.30 I got a text saying “your boiler service has been rescheduled to Monday 16th September”. No apology. No explanation. So they can reschedule right up to half an hour before the end of the window they are meant to arrive in but we can’t?
06-09-2024, 12:02 PM
:faf::faf:
Some of those are bonkers.
My current work are not without their faults but they are pretty good about stuff like that. Drinks and/or food when meeting customers, fuel, other transport costs, food when away etc is almost never queried and the company cards have limits of £7K on them so very unlikely you will max it out or be stuck. A previous job once made me pay back £4.50 because I got onion rings and chips with a burger when away for the night and that was classed as two meals:rolleyes:
We have just been taken over by a bigger company though so who knows if things will be tightened up a bit.
I know someone who bought something for work purposes on her credit card which happened to be a Tesco Clubcard credit card. Her work wanted her to pay back the value of the Tesco Clubcard points she got through buying the work stuff :faf:
12-09-2024, 07:05 AM
When you get a couple of ex footballers on a podcast and they all fall about laughing at something totally banal as if it's the funniest thing in the world. They really must live in a bubble with no access to outside humour. It seems particulalry bad among guys from the west of Scotland with Charlie Mulgrew seeming to be the chosen one for 'the banter'.
'So we're in the changing room before training right? You know how it is right? And big Charlie comes in and you know what he's like right? A total character so he is. So he's like I'm going to get wee Lenny today and well you know what Lenny's like right? Lenny loved the berry Powerade, the red one right? But he can't stand the blue one, typical Lenny ha ha ha. So Charlie takes his water bottle, cause it's no see through right? So you can't see what's in it. And it's got blue stuff in it so he looks like he's swapped it with Lenny's. So we're all pissing oursleves going no way man, no way has he just done that. And Charlie is sitting there with a straight face and well Lenny spots it right away so he's like what's going on here but he eventually takes a drink and says nothing, says nothing. Then wee Gordon walks in and he's like what's going on here and everybody is just sitting there saying nothing wondering when Lenny is going to kick off. But then the gaffer reaches for his bottle and takes a drink and spits it out everywhere. Turns out big Charlie knows Gordon can't stand the red stuff either and it's his bottle he's swapped all along, a pure double bluff so it was. So Gordon is raging, he's shouting and throwing things about and big Charlie with a totally straight face is like did you enjoy your drink gaffer? Well that does it right? We're all laughing, Wee Aiden is just about choking he's laughing that much. The only one not really laughing was big Georgie Samaras but big Sammy was strange like that, he seemed to have a brain or something. But that was Charlie, you had to be on your guard every day.'
14-09-2024, 10:10 AM
Booking taxis. What’s the point? They never turn up. Booked a taxi last night to take us to the airport. Booked for 10.45am this morning. Still not here.
Same the last several times we’ve taken a taxi to the airport.
Taxi was hours late for my wedding.
Don’t get me started on the apps for the taxi companies. All of them send you on an infinite loop when trying to log in. Put in password and they say it’s wrong. You put in your details for “forgot my password” and they say - you don’t have an account. So you go to create a new account it stops you as it says you already have an account.
Gett - the drivers accept, get close then cancel.
14-09-2024, 10:35 AM
Booking taxis. What’s the point? They never turn up. Booked a taxi last night to take us to the airport. Booked for 10.45am this morning. Still not here.
Don’t get me started on the apps for the taxi companies. All of them send you on an infinite loop when trying to log in. Put in password and they say it’s wrong. You put in your details for “forgot my password” and they say - you don’t have an account. So you go to create a new account it stops you as it says you already have an account.
I rarely take taxis these days, but I had to book one to the airport a few months ago.
The whole “getting a taxi” business is miles worse than it was 10 years ago - when you could just phone up any one of a number of numbers with reasonable notice and one would arrive, allowing for peak times when you’d expect it to be a bit less predictable.
Empty ranks, crap apps, phones that aren’t answered seems to be the way to go.
I’m assuming Uber (who I refuse to use) have just f***** the whole thing up and it’s now a race to the bottom with crap service everywhere?
14-09-2024, 11:47 AM
I rarely take taxis these days, but I had to book one to the airport a few months ago.
The whole “getting a taxi” business is miles worse than it was 10 years ago - when you could just phone up any one of a number of numbers with reasonable notice and one would arrive, allowing for peak times when you’d expect it to be a bit less predictable.
Empty ranks, crap apps, phones that aren’t answered seems to be the way to go.
I’m assuming Uber (who I refuse to use) have just f***** the whole thing up and it’s now a race to the bottom with crap service everywhere?
I use the City Cabs app, never have any problems,always on time and reliable. Took me to airport at 3am on time and always have been.
14-09-2024, 08:25 PM
Restaurant’s adding an optional service charge onto the bill.
Stairway 2 7
14-09-2024, 08:49 PM
Farce eh, had it when I've bought one pint before
14-09-2024, 10:06 PM
This happened to me earlier this evening (Tony Macaroni). To be honest, I normally give 10% unless the service has been poor. Also, I’ve got a bad habit of just looking at the total and, if it seems about right, settle up and tip cash, if I’m carrying it, or tell them to add 10% tip to the bill. Tonight, for some reason, I thought it was a bit steep, so decided to check the bill. The first thing I noticed was a 10% service charge. Service had been very good and I would have given 10% but it would have been 20%, had I not looked closely. Lesson learned.
EH6 Hibby
15-09-2024, 07:24 AM
I booked an Uber to get to Edinburgh airport flight connecting at Gatwick to Cancun. It arrived 5 minutes early. I was infuriated. Those minutes are used for items needed right up until leaving such as toothbrushes and straighteners. He waited though so still tipped him and gave a high rating.
15-09-2024, 08:45 AM
I booked an Uber to get to Edinburgh airport flight connecting at Gatwick to Cancun. It arrived 5 minutes early. I was infuriated. Those minutes are used for items needed right up until leaving such as toothbrushes and straighteners. He waited though so still tipped him and gave a high rating.
15-09-2024, 10:13 AM
I use the City Cabs app, never have any problems,always on time and reliable. Took me to airport at 3am on time and always have been.
Good to know - thanks.
Easy to miss useful stuff like this when you use them as infrequently as I do, but it seemed to be much more straightforward to find something suitable off the cuff a while back.
15-09-2024, 01:44 PM
Good to know - thanks.
Easy to miss useful stuff like this when you use them as infrequently as I do, but it seemed to be much more straightforward to find something suitable off the cuff a while back.
City Cabs’ (cr)app is one of the ones that had me on an infinite loop.
Anyway, when we eventually got a taxi we said to the driver and he said that most black cab drivers will refuse a fare to the airport now since the contract for the airport rank went to a private hire company. Partly out of principle, but mostly because they will struggle to get a fare for the way back,
He actually said you’d be better getting a private hire for an airport run.
15-09-2024, 04:55 PM
City Cabs’ (cr)app is one of the ones that had me on an infinite loop.
Anyway, when we eventually got a taxi we said to the driver and he said that most black cab drivers will refuse a fare to the airport now since the contract for the airport rank went to a private hire company. Partly out of principle, but mostly because they will struggle to get a fare for the way back,
He actually said you’d be better getting a private hire for an airport run.
Not really sure how they struggle to get a fare back, they can still pick up if someone books them on the app. I landed on Thursday went to taxi area, ordered cab on City Cabs app and he was there within minutes. He said they sit just a few minutes away. Any how it’s your Pet Peeve and that’s fair enough 👍
15-09-2024, 09:47 PM
How some people pronounce the h in vehicle.
15-09-2024, 09:54 PM
Watching a film, “Damaged” on prime video. Set in Edinburgh, it’s been pretty **** but not bad for a long weekend film that you can switch your brain off and watch.
Towards the end the Scottish detective is chasing down a suspect on the M90 towards the queensferry crossing. He says over the radio “I’m in pursuit on the Livingston Highway”
.. the Livingston Highway? Ruined the movie for me.
15-09-2024, 10:20 PM
Clifton James as Sheriff J W Pepper can get away with it. Nobody else!
16-09-2024, 06:57 AM
Watching “The Boys” on Amazon Prime at the moment. Really enjoying it but the Cockney cop guys accent keeps slipping.
Why not get an actual Cockney/English actor to play him?
Just irritating.
16-09-2024, 12:27 PM
Watching “The Boys” on Amazon Prime at the moment. Really enjoying it but the Cockney cop guys accent keeps slipping.
Why not get an actual Cockney/English actor to play him?
Just irritating.
Oi! Ue! Omelandah done killed me woife!
16-09-2024, 01:24 PM
Oi! Ue! Omelandah done killed me woife!
Also - Frenchie is a dead ringer for Dylan Vente.
16-09-2024, 06:51 PM
Watching a film, “Damaged” on prime video. Set in Edinburgh, it’s been pretty **** but not bad for a long weekend film that you can switch your brain off and watch.
Towards the end the Scottish detective is chasing down a suspect on the M90 towards the queensferry crossing. He says over the radio “I’m in pursuit on the Livingston Highway”
.. the Livingston Highway? Ruined the movie for me.
Think your being generous with that review.
Could have been half decent but defo wasn’t. Quickly descended into farce topped off by that awful closing CGI scene where somehow we were meant to think a serial killer getting away was a great cheeky chappie moment.
But since it’s the peeve thread I’ll chuck in a couple of ones from this movie that came straight out the how it make a movie for dummies book that so many bad movies use.
The protagonists always have easy access to guns. Even if the movie is based in Scotland somehow the detective and the visiting consultant from the US have a side arm whenever needed.
The dodgy character has to visit a strip club at some point.
The main character (normally a detective of some sort) has to have had a traumatic life event happen to them (dead child, wife/husband lost to cancer or whatever)
Same character also needs to attend work the next day after losing another close friend, relative or whoever and / or must get straight back to work after a horror accident by ripping their drip out of their arm and leaving hospital.
Nothing bad can happen without then an immediate need for whisky.
This movie pretty much had it all when it came to these and probably a few more I’ve forgotten!
16-09-2024, 09:31 PM
Think your being generous with that review.
Could have been half decent but defo wasn’t. Quickly descended into farce topped off by that awful closing CGI scene where somehow we were meant to think a serial killer getting away was a great cheeky chappie moment.
But since it’s the peeve thread I’ll chuck in a couple of ones from this movie that came straight out the how it make a movie for dummies book that so many bad movies use.
The protagonists always have easy access to guns. Even if the movie is based in Scotland somehow the detective and the visiting consultant from the US have a side arm whenever needed.
The dodgy character has to visit a strip club at some point.
The main character (normally a detective of some sort) has to have had a traumatic life event happen to them (dead child, wife/husband lost to cancer or whatever)
Same character also needs to attend work the next day after losing another close friend, relative or whoever and / or must get straight back to work after a horror accident by ripping their drip out of their arm and leaving hospital.
Nothing bad can happen without then an immediate need for whisky.
This movie pretty much had it all when it came to these and probably a few more I’ve forgotten!
I did make that post before the end, the ending definitely knocked the score down by a few numbers.
Such a bizarre ending. I’m sure I just sat and stared at the credits in disbelief.
23-09-2024, 09:29 AM
The constant need for some to be right about absolutely everything. See main board for details
23-09-2024, 12:26 PM
The constant need for some to be right about absolutely everything. See main board for details
Aye it's brutal. No idea how these people function at home and at work.
23-09-2024, 12:29 PM
It's used all over Europe 😁 I get you though!
23-09-2024, 05:46 PM
I am genuinely considering just leaving the site and getting on with my life to be honest. There is one poster on here who is actually exhausting.
23-09-2024, 07:29 PM
I am genuinely considering just leaving the site and getting on with my life to be honest. There is one poster on here who is actually exhausting.I used to feel the same. Finding out about blocking folks has much improved the site tho :agree:
If it's who I'm thinking of, he's been on my ignore list for quite a while now, has to get the last word in on every subject he's commenting on, very tiresome.
23-09-2024, 08:40 PM
Pet peeve: people who don't clear up after their dogs. Holyrood Park is disgusting at the moment.
23-09-2024, 09:09 PM
Also - Frenchie is a dead ringer for Dylan Vente.
Naw that was The Winter King
https://i.ibb.co/FBx1XtS/IMG-2887.png (https://ibb.co/8jKwbVW)
private image host (https://imgbb.com/)
23-09-2024, 10:16 PM
Pet peeve: people who don't clear up after their dogs. Holyrood Park is disgusting at the moment.
I walk the water of leith path up Currie and Balerno with the dog and my bairn in the pram. It’s like a slalom around the various piles of horse ****.
I’ve never understood why horse **** is fair game to be left all over a path.
24-09-2024, 06:54 AM
That one might cure itself if the current fashion for Throwing The 'H' Away gathers pace. 'An hexagon' wtf? :dunno:
24-09-2024, 07:02 AM
How people usually from down south pronounce ‘ drawing ‘ drawring :rolleyes:
25-09-2024, 10:14 AM
The state of the police service just now.
Car was vandalised three weeks ago. Spray paint on the bonnet. Seen two lassies the day before spray painting their names onto the grit bin next to it and it was the same paint used.
Got a call back from a call centre three days later to take details. Was told I’d get a call from an officer who would investigate. Still heard nothing.
25-09-2024, 01:44 PM
The state of the police service just now.
Car was vandalised three weeks ago. Spray paint on the bonnet. Seen two lassies the day before spray painting their names onto the grit bin next to it and it was the same paint used.
Got a call back from a call centre three days later to take details. Was told I’d get a call from an officer who would investigate. Still heard nothing.
I wouldn't hold your breath.
My bike got nicked 3 or 4 years back. I reported it, got told it would be investigated, got a crime number for insurance purposes and never heard anything else about it. I have a cousin in the police and he said there would have been no time spent on it because the chances of an arrest is non existent and a conviction even less likely. He said the same is true of crimes like burglary, vandalism etc etc.
The consolation for me was I was planning to change the brake pads so had released the brakes before locking it away. I live at the top of a hill so was comforted knowing the thief likely got a sore one when they realised they couldn't stop during their getaway.
I walk the water of leith path up Currie and Balerno with the dog and my bairn in the pram. It’s like a slalom around the various piles of horse ****.
I’ve never understood why horse **** is fair game to be left all over a path.
Because it's not noxious like dug ****, and it's nearly impossible to step in a horse **** without seeing it first!
25-09-2024, 05:30 PM
I wouldn't hold your breath.
My bike got nicked 3 or 4 years back. I reported it, got told it would be investigated, got a crime number for insurance purposes and never heard anything else about it. I have a cousin in the police and he said there would have been no time spent on it because the chances of an arrest is non existent and a conviction even less likely. He said the same is true of crimes like burglary, vandalism etc etc.
The consolation for me was I was planning to change the brake pads so had released the brakes before locking it away. I live at the top of a hill so was comforted knowing the thief likely got a sore one when they realised they couldn't stop during their getaway.
I was chatting to the owner of a local coffee shop - a customer had their phone swiped from their table. He looked out the CCTV and had crystal clear views of the person who did it, easily identifiable. He phoned the police straight away thinking that it was pretty simple for them to follow up - they rocked up nearly a fortnight later to view it, long after the phone would have been moved on.
25-09-2024, 05:46 PM
I was chatting to the owner of a local coffee shop - a customer had their phone swiped from their table. He looked out the CCTV and had crystal clear views of the person who did it, easily identifiable. He phoned the police straight away thinking that it was pretty simple for them to follow up - they rocked up nearly a fortnight later to view it, long after the phone would have been moved on.
Only identifiable if a known criminal with a record and even then it’s not always guaranteed. Lots of folk think having clear CCTV images of a culprit means they can be caught easily. It’s simply not the case.
Because it's not noxious like dug ****, and it's nearly impossible to step in a horse **** without seeing it first!
Horses are vegetarian creatures hence their poo in used as fertiliser, like cow dung, dogs like humans eat meat and why the poo smells strong and is noxious.
speedy_gonzales
25-09-2024, 08:33 PM
Whilst all that may be true, the new surfacing material they've used for the Water of Leith path prevents the horse dung breaking down. Normally, if left on normal ground or a track, nematodes would come up and break the waste down. Unfortunately the new path is made from recycled materials (plastic/rubber?) so the dung just lies there, sometimes for weeks/months.
I tell you what though, if you even try and suggest the riders remove their animals mess it invokes a response that's akin to asking your wife to calm down when she's mid pre-menstrual rage!
30-09-2024, 08:35 AM
Ridiculous pricing on Vinted. Lost my pair of bone conducting headphones and not looking to spend silly money to replace.
Seen a pair at £130. Says in the advert they’ve been worn about a dozen times, and in the shops they’re £159.95.
Once you add Vinteds fees to that it’s £137, postage takes it to a smidge over £140.
You’re telling me that if I forgo the ability to return a product to a shop and have something that’s been used ten times I can save a whopping nineteen quid?
04-10-2024, 12:00 PM
People who think that seats on flights are like seats on the bus. "We couldn't get seats together" . "Yes, we did though because we booked them and paid extra to do so" I've even used " Well, where would you like to have your remains sent in the event of a crash. I'd quite like mine to go to the family..."
Sent from my SM-A556B using Tapatalk
People who think that seats on flights are like seats on the bus. "We couldn't get seats together" . "Yes, we did though because we booked them and paid extra to do so" I've even used " Well, where would you like to have your remains sent in the event of a crash. I'd quite like mine to go to the family..."
I'd pay extra not to have someone sit next to me. Had a 5 hour flight recently with a random man showing me pics of his 2 wives graves - and that's the bit I can talk about. It got worse.
04-10-2024, 06:15 PM
I'd pay extra not to have someone sit next to me. Had a 5 hour flight recently with a random man showing me pics of his 2 wives graves - and that's the bit I can talk about. It got worse.
https://youtu.be/FmoW-gNjjXA?si=WWqKhrWCCkF1rhUH
Donegal Hibby
04-10-2024, 06:20 PM
Once going over to Edinburgh for a game I got someone connected to hertz sit next to me , had hertz tie , hertz crest on jacket who offered me complimentary tickets to watch hertz at Tiny that weekend 🤢
04-10-2024, 06:22 PM
once going over to edinburgh for a game i got someone connected to hertz sit next to me , had hertz tie , hertz crest on jacket who offered me complimentary tickets to watch hertz at tiny that weekend 🤢
ltyf
05-10-2024, 10:40 AM
😅
I dread to think how worse it got 😅
05-10-2024, 11:28 AM
😅
Were they empty 🤔😲
05-10-2024, 11:41 AM
😅
I think he was offered comps for tynie?
05-10-2024, 02:06 PM
I think he was offered comps for tynie?
lol
Bridge hibs
07-10-2024, 04:12 PM
Sunlife insurance and others in amongst funeral plan gies yer pension and we will release some equity, **** off, my Wife has taken care of all that 🤔
08-10-2024, 06:29 AM
The overuse of the word super.
“it was super nice / cool to meet everyone for surfing / whatever”
08-10-2024, 07:44 AM
It’s not just the word super. It’s any superfluous word that doesn’t need to be there. I often listen to radio Scotland in the morning and invariably there some expert or whatever being interviewed about something or other. Almost to a man they start an explanation with the word so. So called intellectuals are the worst culprits.
08-10-2024, 08:02 AM
Professional cyclists are big offenders. I'm looking at you, Mark Cavendish.
It’s not just the word super. It’s any superfluous word that doesn’t need to be there. I often listen to radio Scotland in the morning and invariably there some expert or whatever being interviewed about something or other. Almost to a man they start an explanation with the word so. So called intellectuals are the worst culprits.
I've thought about this too. I think they're trying to sound relatable. But the "so" winds me up too.:aok:
08-10-2024, 08:22 AM
Professional cyclists are big offenders.
They have their own variation, "So, yeah". Not agreeing with anything an interviewer's just said or asked, but yeah anyway. Looking at you, G.
08-10-2024, 08:41 AM
People starting explanations with the word so is a huge peeve of mine.
It's condescending, the way you might start explaining something in the simplest possible terms to a child. Add in people who finish a sentence with 'am I right', 'correct' or similar. Passive aggressive 'don't you dare contradict me' nonsense.
08-10-2024, 08:46 AM
They have their own variation, "So, yeah". Not agreeing with anything an interviewer's just said or asked, but yeah anyway. Looking at you, G.
:aok: That too.
pollution
08-10-2024, 09:47 AM
Incredible/incredibly
08-10-2024, 11:18 AM
The new one is ultra!! For super important now read ultra important, for super excited now read ultra excited. Just **** off ya pretentious pricks
08-10-2024, 12:10 PM
People starting explanations with the word so is a huge peeve of mine.
It's condescending, the way you might start explaining something in the simplest possible terms to a child. Add in people who finish a sentence with 'am I right', 'correct' or similar. Passive aggressive 'don't you dare contradict me' nonsense.This.
08-10-2024, 10:41 PM
Others…
“So how does [that] work /exactly/“
And “so what does good [for some request you’ve made] look like ?”
And the playing of the daft laddie / lassie - “I don’t follow” / “can you repeat that” / “what do you mean”? You know when it’s for real and for when it’s folks just being obtuse…
10-10-2024, 07:39 PM
Pet peeves being posted on the driving pet peeves thread that has nothing to do with driving, unless eating scampi fries is now a thing when driving. 🤣
11-10-2024, 09:09 AM
There's someone at work who uses this in pretty much every sentence that comes out of her mouth. It even makes its way onto message too. For some reason it really (super) riles me and I've actually started disliking this person purely because of the overuse of "super". Irrational, I know. Coincidentally, it is the same person I referenced in an earlier peeve that messages asking if I'm free for a quick call - then doesn't call for 30 mins/1 hour and doesn't answer when you call in that time either.
11-10-2024, 10:11 AM
There's someone at work who uses this in pretty much every sentence that comes out of her mouth. It even makes its way onto message too. For some reason it really (super) riles me and I've actually started disliking this person purely because of the overuse of "super". Irrational, I know. Coincidentally, it is the same person I referenced in an earlier peeve that messages asking if I'm free for a quick call - then doesn't call for 30 mins/1 hour and doesn't answer when you call in that time either.
I want to know who this is now!
11-10-2024, 10:29 AM
Never move to live in Germany, you'd be driven insane.
12-10-2024, 04:57 PM
I can’t stand how English folk pronounce ‘tattoo’ …… ta-ooooo!!!!
13-10-2024, 08:15 AM
A Hibs one but it really annoys me.
The number of spelling mistakes, grammar issues and general sloppiness in our social media output. I was reading last night that we have sent Murray Johnson to 'Airdree' to play 'men's footballer'.
Surely there should be at least some proof reading before this stuff is posted. That one is pretty innocuous but the error on the Sol Bamba consolation post that wasn't corrected for 4 hours or getting the name of the manager of a team we have sent a player on loan to is just embarrassing.
Alfiembra
13-10-2024, 08:46 AM
It’s not just the English I hear it all the time bu-err is another one for butter. The dropping of the double t in speech is spreading fast, no pun intended.
13-10-2024, 10:48 AM
The number of spelling mistakes, grammar issues and general sloppiness in our social media output. I was reading last night that we have sent Murray Johnson to 'Airdree' to play 'men's footballer'.
Surely there should be at least some proof reading before this stuff is posted. That one is pretty innocuous but the error on the Sol Bamba consolation post that wasn't corrected for 4 hours or getting the name of the manager of a team we have sent a player on loan to is just embarrassing.
with AI there is no prooff redding… :)
13-10-2024, 10:50 AM
our English said that there was a pupil who said his name was “Pa-erson” with “two tees” :)
13-10-2024, 10:52 AM
with AI there is no prooff redding… :)Surly must have a spel chequer! :shocked:
13-10-2024, 10:53 AM
How about your kids talking like there a US based YouTuber….
The start (mis) pronouncing words with emphasis completely different to how you were brought up.
like pronouncing complex as comPLEX rather than COMplex…
processeees instead of processes is another one.
speedy_gonzales
13-10-2024, 01:57 PM
The start (mis) pronouncing words with emphasis completely different to how you were brought up.
As Mark (Radclife) & Lard (Marc Riley) from the radio used to always say, sometimes it's about the em-FAH-sis!
14-10-2024, 07:51 AM
Cold season has started - and regular as clockwork in time for the October break.
I'm still fighting it off, but wife has woken up with a throat like a junkies carpet and the kids are wee snot machines.
We're away for 4 nights from tomorrow, just when we could do with a break we all get ill!
EH6 Hibby
14-10-2024, 10:19 PM
This would kill me. I tried for 16 years to try to stop my son talking Leith. I’ve lived in Leith my whole life, but my mum made sure I knew how to talk properly. I’ve got a telephone voice which has enabled me to get nearly every job I’ve applied for and allowed me to telephony based roles, and I’ve got my normal voice which is total Leith, but I can barely understand my own son half the time cause he talks so fast in such strong Leith dialect. Despite all my efforts, he really does not know how to speak non Leith. I’m convinced he only got the job he has now cause his uncle referred him. For information I tried to speak properly for his whole speech learning time and for his entire school career I would correct anything he said but it would go in one ear and out the other.
Hibs Go Bragh
15-10-2024, 01:49 PM
Grass cutting of public areas. Either council or private it must cost them too much to dispose of all the grass cuttings nowadays so they just leave it all lying there. They don't cut it for weeks on end so the grass is up to your knees and when they do eventually cut it (usually in the rain) they just leave mounds of grass cuttings everywhere. Even when cut kids still can't kick a ball about on it and it just makes a mess everywhere.
15-10-2024, 02:05 PM
The RIP to PM on the MB
Lazy thoughtless disrespectful post
Surprised it’s still there and not been deleted by admins
15-10-2024, 04:42 PM
The RIP to PM on the MB
Post now deleted. Please use the report post function to help us out, we can’t be here 24/7 and occasionally we miss something.
15-10-2024, 05:03 PM
Post now deleted. Please use the report post function to help us out, we can’t be here 24/7 and occasionally we miss something.
OK
15-10-2024, 08:39 PM
The RIP to PM on the MB
Obviously missing something!
15-10-2024, 08:58 PM
Obviously missing something!
OP obviously intended for PC
16-10-2024, 07:04 AM
Parents.
Just watched our League Cup Final drubbing by Celtc on the Peter Cormack thread. Our goalie Thomson Allan was very busy that day picking the ball out of his net.
If your surname is Allan, a very common first name, why would you then give your child a first name that's a very common surname, unless you're some sort of sadist? All those hours (altogether) that Thomson Allan must have spent explaining to people that no, his name wasn't Allan Thomson but Thomson Allan could have been much better spent practising goalie-ing.
If your surname's a common first name like Allan, don't be calling your child Macdonald, or Duncan, or Taylor, or Thomson. If you want to cause mischief and torment, you might as well go the whole hog and christen them Bridgeof.
(Not saying our 6-2 defeat was entirely Thomson Allan's parents' fault, btw.)
16-10-2024, 07:36 AM
Parents.
Just watched our League Cup Final drubbing by Celtc on the Peter Cormack thread. Our goalie Thomson Allan was very busy that day picking the ball out of his net.
If your surname is Allan, a very common first name, why would you then give your child a first name that's a very common surname, unless you're some sort of sadist? All those hours (altogether) that Thomson Allan must have spent explaining to people that no, his name wasn't Allan Thomson but Thomson Allan could have been much better spent practising goalie-ing.
If your surname's a common first name like Allan, don't be calling your child Macdonald, or Duncan, or Taylor, or Thomson. If you want to cause mischief and torment, you might as well go the whole hog and christen them Bridgeof.
I'm an Allan. Would have liked to have been called Mac.
Especially when I was a 25-year-old.
16-10-2024, 08:08 AM
I'm an Allan. Would have liked to have been called Mac.
Especially when I was a 25-year-old.
16-10-2024, 09:01 PM
Ridiculous things in otherwise decent shows that immediately ruin the suspension of disbelief.
I’m watching Dexter at the moment, very late to it but it has been on the watch list for years and I had a few recent recommendations to watch it.
We’ve just finished the third season and the storylines so far have been good enough to keep watching but at least once per episode but often more, someone will do or say something that’s just so ludicrous and out of keeping with the rest of what’s going on that you immediately switch off from it being a tense drama and it ends up being like Neighbours or something.
One example, a wee boy trapped in the boot of car but able to see through the key hole, witnesses Dexter at a murder scene. The boy didn’t speak English and so they have to get an artist’s impression of who he saw using the help of an interpreter.
The boy describes, and the artist draws, an immaculate drawing of Jesus Christ.
Later on in the series, adult witnesses who saw a man leaving a crime scene have to give the description to the artist, and the result was like a cross between Guess Who?! and the painting of Jesus that that cleaner tried to fix that time in Spain.
Pretty much anything Dexter’s sister does or says falls into the category I’m talking about, and that’s before you get started on those running the police department.
It’s not just Dexter though. Having dead Princess Leia fly through space to not be dead anymore in Star Wars was ludicrous, and this is a franchise which routinely ignores the laws of physics etc - but it’s usually consistent so the suspension of disbelief lets you ignore that stuff. Until someone flies through space while dead.
16-10-2024, 10:14 PM
Ridiculous things in otherwise decent shows that immediately ruin the suspension of disbelief.
I’m watching Dexter at the moment, very late to it but it has been on the watch list for years and I had a few recent recommendations to watch it.
We’ve just finished the third season and the storylines so far have been good enough to keep watching but at least once per episode but often more, someone will do or say something that’s just so ludicrous and out of keeping with the rest of what’s going on that you immediately switch off from it being a tense drama and it ends up being like Neighbours or something.
One example, a wee boy trapped in the boot of car but able to see through the key hole, witnesses Dexter at a murder scene. The boy didn’t speak English and so they have to get an artist’s impression of who he saw using the help of an interpreter.
The boy describes, and the artist draws, an immaculate drawing of Jesus Christ.
Later on in the series, adult witnesses who saw a man leaving a crime scene have to give the description to the artist, and the result was like a cross between Guess Who?! and the painting of Jesus that that cleaner tried to fix that time in Spain.
Pretty much anything Dexter’s sister does or says falls into the category I’m talking about, and that’s before you get started on those running the police department.
It’s not just Dexter though. Having dead Princess Leia fly through space to not be dead anymore in Star Wars was ludicrous, and this is a franchise which routinely ignores the laws of physics etc - but it’s usually consistent so the suspension of disbelief lets you ignore that stuff. Until someone flies through space while dead.
Sounds a bit like KIN. Every episode your getting into it only for something ridiculous to happen that is laughable and would never actually happen or play out that way.
17-10-2024, 06:47 AM
Parents.
Is it not a masonic thing - giving boys surnames for Christian names? Oldies may remember Renton Laidlaw and Rankin Grimshaw from 70s sport. Partick used to have a chairman called Brown McMaster FFS.
17-10-2024, 10:18 AM
Is it not a masonic thing - giving boys surnames for Christian names? Oldies may remember Renton Laidlaw and Rankin Grimshaw from 70s sport. Partick used to have a chairman called Brown McMaster FFS.
Funny you say that.
We called our wee boy Ramsay. My mate - who is a proper old-school paranoid Tim - keeps going on about "surname for first name" being a sign of true staunchness, therefore I must be a closet hun. For the record - I very much am not.
There are a few Ramsays throughout our families and we liked the name so we went with it. Nothing more, nothing less.
But I've been copping it off him big time for this for the past year and a bit. It didn't even occur to me that that was a thing.
ErinGoBraghHFC
17-10-2024, 10:23 AM
Funny you say that.
We called our wee boy Ramsay. My mate - who is a proper old-school paranoid Tim - keeps going on about "surname for first name" being a sign of true staunchness, therefore I must be a closet hun.
There are a few Ramsays throughout our families and we liked the name so we went with it. Nothing more, nothing less.
But I've been copping it off hum big time for this for the past year and a bit. It didn't even occur to me that that was a thing.
I’ve never even thought about it tbh but where does the line get drawn in this blokes mind? Nobody allowed to be called Andrew(s), David(s)(on), (Will)(Liam)(s), James/Jamie/Jim/Jock/whatever other names we have for James as they’re all linked to a surname or they’re a currant bun? Too confusing, call your bairn whatever you like as long as it’s not ridiculous (ie Broxi, it happens)
17-10-2024, 01:12 PM
As someone who has a first name that can also be a surname but a surname that is usually only used as a surname, I've never really had people get confused about what my first name and surname is. The only exceptions were when my work used to use the surname, first name format on outgoing emails where I got a few people from outside the organisation replying "Hi Wilson" (despite it being the correct way round on my email signature) - and the comical time I went in for an operation when I was a kid and the South African doctor refused to believe Wilson wasn't my first name as that is apparently a common first name in South Africa and my first name is nearly always a surname there.
Doctor: Yes, we will cut in right about here on Wilson
My mum: that's not his first name, that's his surname
Doctor: no its not, its his first name
Mum: yes it is
Doctor: are you sure? :greengrin
19-10-2024, 10:13 AM
Hibs official site today describing road works on the way to Dundee. Says they're at Glencorse. Which is near Penicuik and not on the route. Te road works are at Glencarse.
19-10-2024, 06:29 PM
When you walk into Slaters menswear and are approached by a female assistant who you think you’ve never met and she says “hello Scouse Hibee” and proceeds to tell me she knows my real name, the name I post under on FB and where I used to work. 😂
Lovely to meet you again.😉
19-10-2024, 08:20 PM
When you walk into Slaters menswear and are approached by a female assistant who you think you’ve never met and she says “hello Scouse Hibee” and proceeds to tell me she knows my real name, the name I post under on FB and where I used to work. 😂
Lovely to meet you again.😉
🤣
I was at the trades hall in Glasgow today and bumped into 5 people who knew me by my username on here! Even better was 2 women approaching me at the same time and me saying "don't fight over me ladies " 🤣
Off the bar
21-10-2024, 10:16 AM
The neighbours watching the shopping channel at top volume all ******* day.
It’s my day off and I want to sit on the couch and do the crossword in peace and I can hear their ****ing telly coming through the wall. And it’s the shopping channel it’s utterly moronic, it’s beyond my comprehension that you can sit and endlessly watch that crap.
It’s not super loud, if I put music on it’ll be alright, but I don’t want to I just want my peace.
I’m away to sit in the kitchen.
21-10-2024, 01:15 PM
It’s my day off and I want to sit on the couch and do the crossword in peace and I can hear their ****ing telly coming through the wall. And it’s the shopping channel it’s utterly moronic, it’s beyond my comprehension that you can sit and endlessly watch that crap.
It’s not super loud, if I put music on it’ll be alright, but I don’t want to I just want my peace.
There's a druggie bitch in the flat below us that has her TV blaring pretty much 24 hrs a day, it's a tad annoying eh?!! 🤬
There's a druggie bitch in the flat below us that has her TV blaring pretty much 24 hrs a day, it's a tad annoying eh?!!
We used to live in a flat, next door to someone who used to smoke weed like it was going out of fashion. Her brother used to come to the flats 2-3 times a week, but would never use the buzzer or phone her to let him in, he would just stand outside and bellow her name for 20 minutes until she would either let him in or he got the message she wasn’t in. Could happen at all times of the day or night, and he wasn’t averse to standing under a covered area outside and just tailgating someone in the main door so he could get to her flat.
Off the bar
21-10-2024, 03:06 PM
There's a druggie bitch in the flat below us that has her TV blaring pretty much 24 hrs a day, it's a tad annoying eh?!! 🤬
Absolutely brutal. It’s an old couple next door to us and I think the old dears hearing is going. But it’s so annoying. It’s just loud enough that you tune into it and it’s a constant aggressive sales pitch. If their telly is on you can’t sit in silence in our front room, which makes reading or doing the crossword impossible or at least drains it of most of the pleasure.
Bridge hibs
21-10-2024, 04:10 PM
Absolutely brutal. It’s an old couple next door to us and I think the old dears hearing is going. But it’s so annoying. It’s just loud enough that you tune into it and it’s a constant aggressive sales pitch. If their telly is on you can’t sit in silence in our front room, which makes reading or doing the crossword impossible or at least drains it of most of the pleasure.I lived in Stenhouse many years ago, bottom house in a 4 in a block, us and our neighbour owned our properties and there was an old lady above us with an old chap next door to her.
All was going well, I renovated my house with new windows, central heating and a nice driveway. The old lady moved into care and the family from hell moved in, a black African Woman with her Daughter who was ages with my oldest and her old Mum.
Every day and every night the old yin would have the washing machine on, an old thing that rattled around the kitchen floor, then the tumble drier would be on all night and that was above our bedroom, ****ing infuriating !! They had wooden floors so it was thud thud thud all night, they never seemed to sleep, same as ****ing us !!
My Wife was at her wits end and confronted the Mother and all she got was a vile rant accusing my Wife of being racist, that was just the start and then the tv was ramped up day and night with a radio blaring through the night in the bedroom above.
My Wife is as laid back as you could meet and would never say a bad word to anyone let alone be racist, in fact she invited the Daughter down to our Daughters birthday party in which she attended.
I had enough and after months of constant and deliberate noise I confronted the family only to be met with a foul mouth tirade and further accused of being racist to the Daughter, her Mother and Grandmother. We were accused of pinning notices on their front door with racist names etc, then one morning my Wife went out to take our Daughter to school to find the bonnet of her car had been deeply keyed. The car was facing our front window in our drive so there is no way someone came off the street to do it.
There were a couple of curtain twitchers over the road who seen it but did nothing at the time so we got the Police involved. The old couple told the Police they didnt see anything so nowt was done. In fact we were warned not to confront our upstairs neighbours in case of escalation.
My Wife wrote a dosier of all the issues and presented it to our local councillor and low and behold, the family were no more, possibly a moonlight flit, washing machine and tumble drier too. It appears that this family caused bother everywhere they went and were handy at chucking the racist card about to plead their innocence. We heard they had moved about multiple locations from Pilton, to Wester Hailes, Sighthill, Stenhouse, Broomhouse/Saughton to Lochend.
A single Mum with her 2 teenage Sons moved in soon after, lovely family and so polite, the Sons worked but other than their alarm going off in the morning it was night and day compared to the other horrible family, I feel sorry for others having to suffer what we did 🤬
21-10-2024, 06:12 PM
Toilet seats that don't stay up when you are trying to pee!
pollution
21-10-2024, 06:24 PM
...all because their speakers are facing you at the back of their TV probably.
Off the bar
21-10-2024, 07:08 PM
I lived in Stenhouse many years ago, bottom house in a 4 in a block, us and our neighbour owned our properties and there was an old lady above us with an old chap next door to her.
All was going well, I renovated my house with new windows, central heating and a nice driveway. The old lady moved into care and the family from hell moved in, a black African Woman with her Daughter who was ages with my oldest and her old Mum.
Every day and every night the old yin would have the washing machine on, an old thing that rattled around the kitchen floor, then the tumble drier would be on all night and that was above our bedroom, ****ing infuriating !! They had wooden floors so it was thud thud thud all night, they never seemed to sleep, same as ****ing us !!
My Wife was at her wits end and confronted the Mother and all she got was a vile rant accusing my Wife of being racist, that was just the start and then the tv was ramped up day and night with a radio blaring through the night in the bedroom above.
My Wife is as laid back as you could meet and would never say a bad word to anyone let alone be racist, in fact she invited the Daughter down to our Daughters birthday party in which she attended.
I had enough and after months of constant and deliberate noise I confronted the family only to be met with a foul mouth tirade and further accused of being racist to the Daughter, her Mother and Grandmother. We were accused of pinning notices on their front door with racist names etc, then one morning my Wife went out to take our Daughter to school to find the bonnet of her car had been deeply keyed. The car was facing our front window in our drive so there is no way someone came off the street to do it.
There were a couple of curtain twitchers over the road who seen it but did nothing at the time so we got the Police involved. The old couple told the Police they didnt see anything so nowt was done. In fact we were warned not to confront our upstairs neighbours in case of escalation.
My Wife wrote a dosier of all the issues and presented it to our local councillor and low and behold, the family were no more, possibly a moonlight flit, washing machine and tumble drier too. It appears that this family caused bother everywhere they went and were handy at chucking the racist card about to plead their innocence. We heard they had moved about multiple locations from Pilton, to Wester Hailes, Sighthill, Stenhouse, Broomhouse/Saughton to Lochend.
A single Mum with her 2 teenage Sons moved in soon after, lovely family and so polite, the Sons worked but other than their alarm going off in the morning it was night and day compared to the other horrible family, I feel sorry for others having to suffer what we did 🤬
That’s a nightmare situation to be in, it’s amazing how quickly these things can escalate through no fault of your own.
There’s no comparison to the situation here it’s just incredibly peeving when their telly is on!
Off the bar
21-10-2024, 07:09 PM
...all because their speakers are facing you at the back of their TV probably.
I could tell you exactly where their Tv is. And exactly what they’re watching.
21-10-2024, 07:34 PM
That’s a nightmare situation to be in, it’s amazing how quickly these things can escalate through no fault of your own.
There’s no comparison to the situation here it’s just incredibly peeving when their telly is on!
The bitch below us thrives on confrontation and constantly slams doors in order to get a reaction then goes mental when she does. She's had my old man's car keyed 2 or 3 times usually following the latest confrontation. Unfortunately she has next to no possessions so it's impossible for my old man to get any revenge. Not knowing who she deals for doesn't help either as you don't know who might come knocking on the door one night.
Between the woman on constant weed next door and her dodgy brother, and the guy on the ground floor who used to whip his dog into a frenzy and let it run around the street charging at people and snarling (a main road!) and then my wife phoning me at work one night to tell me he was out in the street fighting some other guy both with knives, we did all we could to move house. I even told her not to take our dog out at night if I was working back shift, for fear of something happening.
21-10-2024, 08:59 PM
She's a drug dealer surrounded by dodgy people. If anything was to happen to her or her brother who's coming to your door. It got nothing to do with you 🙈🙉🙊.
21-10-2024, 10:15 PM
She's a drug dealer surrounded by dodgy people. If anything was to happen to her or her brother who's coming to your door. It got nothing to do with you 🙈🙉🙊.
Straightforward as that eh? 🤔
Bridge hibs
22-10-2024, 05:45 AM
There’s no comparison to the situation here it’s just incredibly peeving when their telly is on!We just wanted a quiet life, it was a lovely quiet street populated by an older generation who were all lovely. I done a lot to my house and done my front garden up that enhanced an ageing street.
We got on with everyone, we worked hard but it just takes one bad egg to **** everything up. They were ****ing horrible and so blinkered they couldnt or werent interested in the stress it caused us and our Daughters, they were serial trouble makers and your typical neighbours from hell who were hiding behind the race card.
22-10-2024, 06:32 AM
We just wanted a quiet life, it was a lovely quiet street populated by an older generation who were all lovely. I done a lot to my house and done my front garden up that enhanced an ageing street.
We got on with everyone, we worked hard but it just takes one bad egg to **** everything up. They were ****ing horrible and so blinkered they couldnt or werent interested in the stress it caused us and our Daughters, they were serial trouble makers and your typical neighbours from hell who were hiding behind the race card.
Sounds very similar to us apart from the race issue. She's the only council tenant left in the stair but, neither the council or the police are doing anything about it although they're never away from her door.
22-10-2024, 07:44 AM
She's currently going radge at the moment, must have replinished her gear stash last night.
22-10-2024, 12:03 PM
Straightforward as that eh? 🤔
Pretty much.
22-10-2024, 05:02 PM
I’ve got plenty. There seems more the older I get! A current one is road signage that’s obscured by foliage. There literally a small tree obscuring part of a sign as you approach the Sheriffhall Roundabout on the A7 heading into town. Potentially dangerous and so easily fixed. I suspect budget cuts are the cause. Grrrrrr.
22-10-2024, 06:01 PM
I’ve got plenty. There seems more the older I get! A current one is road signage that’s obscured by foliage. There literally a small tree obscuring part of a sign as you approach the Sheriffhall Roundabout on the A7 heading into town. Potentially dangerous and so easily fixed. I suspect budget cuts are the cause. Grrrrrr.
I was in Cornwall on holiday last year and mentioned this earlier in the thread. There's a high percentage of road signs either concealed by vegetation or so filthy that they are unreadable. The roads were also a shambles.
22-10-2024, 08:50 PM
Sounds very similar to us apart from the race issue. She's the only council tenant left in the stair but, neither the council or the police are doing anything about it although they're never away from her door.
We have constant issues with the one council tenant left in our block in Dundee. We complain to the council and they tell us to call the police (or did before they started ignoring us altogether). You call the police, they don’t even give you a call back.
22-10-2024, 10:53 PM
We have constant issues with the one council tenant left in our block in Dundee. We complain to the council and they tell us to call the police (or did before they started ignoring us altogether). You call the police, they don’t even give you a call back.
Duplicate experience. Call the police and they tell you to phone the council, call the council and they tell you to phone the police.
23-10-2024, 07:57 PM
Duplicate experience. Call the police and they tell you to phone the council, call the council and they tell you to phone the police.
Deal with it yourself, I had enough last night and confronted my neighbours, since the old man died next door it was taken over by landlords, who constantly rent out to legal immigrants, I assume that as the children go to school, any way the latest family have been lazy so and so’s, had a chat with the guy when he first moved in and he said they were in a hotel in Wales, got a new electric bike and phone and seemed okay, they haven’t cut the grass done the hedges and they obviously think the wheelie bins are for show, the house is a mess, he does food deliveries on his bike and in the last month there seems to be another two guys have moved in to the house, later at night after deliveries are finished they have a chat outside the house and back garden, not there’s obviously, but they are vey loud and last night they decided to start kicking a ball about in my garden about 11.45, bedroom window was opened and I had words with them but one got cheeky and told me to shut up and get inside, FFS I’m getting old but got dressed and round I went to have serious words with cheeky wee f***er, my upstairs neighbour obviously heard me and was straight down to help me, cheeky wee chap took off and neighbour tried to be nice, told him to F off and if this continued I wouldn’t bother with his landlord police I will sort it myself.
It’s been very quiet tonight but baseball bat is at front door just in case.
23-10-2024, 08:44 PM
We have similar objects in place, what a way to live eh?
She's not the problem, it's who she deals for (whoever it is) that could be the potential problem.
23-10-2024, 11:01 PM
Deal with it yourself, I had enough last night and confronted my neighbours, since the old man died next door it was taken over by landlords, who constantly rent out to legal immigrants, I assume that as the children go to school, any way the latest family have been lazy so and so’s, had a chat with the guy when he first moved in and he said they were in a hotel in Wales, got a new electric bike and phone and seemed okay, they haven’t cut the grass done the hedges and they obviously think the wheelie bins are for show, the house is a mess, he does food deliveries on his bike and in the last month there seems to be another two guys have moved in to the house, later at night after deliveries are finished they have a chat outside the house and back garden, not there’s obviously, but they are vey loud and last night they decided to start kicking a ball about in my garden about 11.45, bedroom window was opened and I had words with them but one got cheeky and told me to shut up and get inside, FFS I’m getting old but got dressed and round I went to have serious words with cheeky wee f***er, my upstairs neighbour obviously heard me and was straight down to help me, cheeky wee chap took off and neighbour tried to be nice, told him to F off and if this continued I wouldn’t bother with his landlord police I will sort it myself.
I feel your anger but don’t go getting yourself in bother for those erseholes, be clever 😉
24-10-2024, 08:01 AM
I feel your anger but don’t go getting yourself in bother for those erseholes, be clever 😉
That’s my issue - if I got myself in bother it could be very bad for my career (same for my partner). We along with our other neighbours created a document of all the issues and forwarded them to the council. They found no evidence to back up our complaints, despite us sending them lots of evidence to back up our complaints.
25-10-2024, 01:22 PM
Someone told me lately that you've got to be careful with things like leaving baseball bats lying around... it suggests premeditation, for which you can get into all sorts of bother if the proverbial hits the fan then the police end up involved.
Sounds incredibly unfair, I know... but be careful.
25-10-2024, 02:35 PM
Someone told me lately that you've got to be careful with things like leaving baseball bats lying around... it suggests premeditation, for which you can get into all sorts of bother if the proverbial hits the fan then the police end up involved.
Sounds incredibly unfair, I know... but be careful.
Not if they’re sitting with a ball and catchers mitt, especially in the boot of your car.😉
25-10-2024, 04:31 PM
I wonder what the ratio of baseball bats sold vs other baseball equipment sold is in Scotland.
25-10-2024, 06:36 PM
Pishy unfunny Weegie Comedy Shows like Stevens and McCarthy
You just know they will be out in force at Hogmanay
I suppose I will be reaching for the remote as usual
Surely not another year of Only an Excuse ?
25-10-2024, 09:09 PM
The trailers for that are the cringiest thing I've ever seen. Prime BBC Glesca Hogmanay entertainment alright.
26-10-2024, 05:41 AM
The trailers for that are the cringiest thing I've ever seen. Prime BBC Glesca Hogmanay entertainment alright.
In fairness last Hogmanay the TV was that bad we resorted to watching reruns of Hogmanay Specials of Still Game on YouTube :greengrin
26-10-2024, 06:05 AM
Glasgow comedy in general. Barring a couple of exceptions, almost always painfully unfunny and dated.
26-10-2024, 06:46 AM
Glasgow comedy in general. Barring a couple of exceptions, almost always painfully unfunny and dated.
Very much this.
26-10-2024, 08:23 AM
👍
26-10-2024, 08:31 AM
The sad thing is that Scottish TV comedy shows invariably are based in or around Glasgow.
It's as if they're too lazy to even consider other parts of Scotland
26-10-2024, 08:59 AM
Another one The Scotts 🤪
Gies a break man !
26-10-2024, 01:19 PM
The better moments of Still Game, Chewing the Fat and Burnistoun are all very good.
The forced “banter” between guests at things like the Hogmanay live programmes is what I find most excruciating.
26-10-2024, 01:23 PM
The better moments of Still Game, Chewing the Fat and Burnistoun are all very good.
The forced “banter” between guests at things like the Hogmanay live programmes is what I find most excruciating.
I never, ever expected much from the jonra, having been reared on Francie and Josie. But Still Game is absolutely fabulous.
26-10-2024, 08:07 PM
Nose piercings. The tiny jewelled ones on the edge of the nostrils can be quite attractive, but the ugly thick ones on the central cartilage of the nose look like dripping snotters and are quite repulsive.
27-10-2024, 06:40 PM
My pet peeve for today....
My wife's inability to accept a compliment in the manner it was intended, e.g.
"Apart from my favourite dozen or so actresses, I wouldn't swap you for anybody, honey."
Result? An evil stare.
:I'm waiti
27-10-2024, 07:34 PM
My pet peeve for today....
My wife's inability to accept a compliment in the manner it was intended, e.g.
"Apart from my favourite dozen or so actresses, I wouldn't swap you for anybody, honey."
Result? An evil stare.
:I'm waiti
How ungrateful 😂
28-10-2024, 10:15 AM
Waiters in dog friendly restaurants, pubs, etc. that are serving food but then pat dogs whenever they pass them. Gives me the boak.
28-10-2024, 10:38 AM
Waiters in dog friendly restaurants, pubs, etc. that are serving food but then pat dogs whenever they pass them. Gives me the boak.
Dogs are just bloody everywhere. I like dogs, I love my dad's dog bit I find myself getting really irritated by other peoples dogs at the moment.
Yesterday at a skatepark local to us, empty with the exception of us 4, the kids riding their bikes around. A kid and their parent turns up with a dog, the dog then runs around the skatepark and gets in the way running around after the kid, to the extent my 2 need to move out the way and the parents is none the wiser looking at their phone. Dog then investigates our stuff - a bag with food for the kids etc.
Add the element of piss and **** everywhere, non-dog owners having dogs shoved at you is very annoying.
Its a pet-pet-peeve:aok:
28-10-2024, 11:18 AM
Dogs are just bloody everywhere. I like dogs, I love my dad's dog bit I find myself getting really irritated by other peoples dogs at the moment.
Yesterday at a skatepark local to us, empty with the exception of us 4, the kids riding their bikes around. A kid and their parent turns up with a dog, the dog then runs around the skatepark and gets in the way running around after the kid, to the extent my 2 need to move out the way and the parents is none the wiser looking at their phone. Dog then investigates our stuff - a bag with food for the kids etc.
Add the element of piss and **** everywhere, non-dog owners having dogs shoved at you is very annoying.
I totally agree and interesting given you like dogs. I'm a bit biased as I have a very bad phobia of dogs (got attacked by one as a toddler and then again in childhood) so thought it was just me (although I think the handling food thing might be more widespread).
There's loads of folk near me who don't put them on leads when out in the street (including at the side of what is effectively a dual carriageway) and let them just run around, jumping on people, etc. My wife witnessed a guy and his wee dog get attacked by a big dog off the lead outside our house a couple of months ago. Owner not that bothered to try to step in.
There also seems to be way more on public transport these days than I remember in the past.
I totally agree and interesting given you like dogs. I'm a bit biased as I have a very bad phobia of dogs (got attacked by one as a toddler and then again in childhood) so thought it was just me (although I think the handling food thing might be more widespread).
There's loads of folk near me who don't put them on leads when out in the street (including at the side of what is effectively a dual carriageway) and let them just run around, jumping on people, etc. My wife witnessed a guy and his wee dog get attacked by a big dog off the lead outside our house a couple of months ago. Owner not that bothered to try to step in.
There also seems to be way more on public transport these days than I remember in the past.
as a dog owner, I hear and empathise. I would argue that peeves are more about bad dog owners rather than the dogs themselves. I wouldn’t allow my dog to do any of those things you’ve both described
speedy_gonzales
28-10-2024, 12:13 PM
I genuinely have no issues with dogs, and if an excitable dog does jump up on me and get my brand new hoody muddy then I find it's me apologising to the owner, I generally love doggos when out walking, but what's going on with the increase in assistance dogs! I'm not taking about guide dogs or such. I'm talking about what looks like a regular dog with a tag on their leash saying working dog, therapy dog or assistance dog.
I'm seeing more and more inside supermarkets where dogs were once restricted.
Are these dogs all officially trained and registered in some way or have folk just got to the stage where they can't leave the house without man's best friend???
28-10-2024, 01:14 PM
as a dog owner, I hear and empathise. I would argue that peeves are more about bad dog owners rather than the dogs themselves. I wouldn’t allow my dog to do any of those things you’ve both describedThis. Dogs should be on leads when next to roads by law. Just never enforced by plod. I also own a dog and try and keep him social.
28-10-2024, 01:15 PM
I genuinely have no issues with dogs, and if an excitable dog does jump up on me and get my brand new hoody muddy then I find it's me apologising to the owner, I generally love doggos when out walking, but what's going on with the increase in assistance dogs! I'm not taking about guide dogs or such. I'm talking about what looks like a regular dog with a tag on their leash saying working dog, therapy dog or assistance dog.
I'm seeing more and more inside supermarkets where dogs were once restricted.
Are these dogs all officially trained and registered in some way or have folk just got to the stage where they can't leave the house without man's best friend???
Assistance dogs are trained and they vary, there are diabetic help dogs able to let type 1s who cannot sense hypoglycaemia to know when their sugars are going out of kilter, there are dogs that recognise behavioural differences in their owner and can warn them of an impending fit or episode of other conditions. We underestimate dog's senses and abilities to recognise minuscule differences in behaviour, emotions and even speech. They can smell stress hormones through breath they can warn of impending panic or anxiety attacks and comfort their owners. We are finding out new ways dogs can help people all the time. If you're a dog owner you know your dog knows when you are feeling down, they will usually come and sit on you and stay quiet because they know that helps, they also benefit from the claps and cuddles they get. Dogs and cats have been domesticated for so long now the relationship between human and animal is symbiotic.
28-10-2024, 02:46 PM
I like dogs. Not enough to want to share my house with one (maybe when I'm older and the kids have gone) but I really like the ones all my relatives have.
99% of the interactions I have with dogs everywhere are positive, most owners are responsible.
The only real peeve I have in relation to them are the turds. They are just everywhere. Whilst every dog owner claims to be a good owner and that they pick up after their pets, they're not deposited there by the dog turd fairy.
It just feels rank to have to trudge through animal faeces in this day and age, it's really primitive. A specially warm corner of hell awaits those who want the benefits of having their pet but who are disrespectful to the extent that they inflict this sort of thing on other people.
It bugs me that it's hard to police and that there's not really any way to do anything about it other than for folk to just stop being dicks.
28-10-2024, 02:58 PM
The only real peeve I have in relation to them are the turds. They are just everywhere. Whilst every dog owner claims to be a good owner and that they pick up after their pets, they're not deposited there by the dog turd fairy.
I agree with you. And I'm a dog owner. For the avoidance of doubt, I always pick up.
29-10-2024, 07:06 AM
I should say that 99% of dogs and owners I don't have any issues with, but its the 1% that are so inconsiderate of others and think that everyone wants to be jumped on by their muddy, wet dog that annoys the **** out of me.
My kids used to go to a childminder who we pulled them out of because she got herself a collie puppy that she walked for 10 minutes maximum once a day - she was a neighbour so we could see here walking past. The kids developed a fear of dogs within the space of a a few weeks, having gone from being happy and liking dogs they were now afraid of every dog - even ones they were familiar with. I made a point one day of following them in - it was COVID so we were limited contact at drop off etc - but following them in the dog was in the kids play room and I actually saw this dog - which was on a lead - lick and my son and put a paw up on his shoulder which upset him. He was just over a year old at the time.
Needless to say I was very pissed off to the point we pulled the kids out immediately and lodged a formal complaint.
29-10-2024, 09:57 AM
It's rank.
I lived in Balgreen a couple of years back and it was horrid down there, dug ***** all over the pavements. All up my street and the streets around it. I'm up in Currie now and it's so much better, it's rare for me to see one on the ground around here, despite there being loads of dogs.
You rarely witness someone not picking up after their dog, which suggests people always do have a bag on them to do it, but when nobody is watching some folk just decide to leave it. Generally it'll be the same people walking the same routes every day, so they're having to dodge around them the next day too. It's just stupid.
29-10-2024, 04:20 PM
It's rank.
I lived in Balgreen a couple of years back and it was horrid down there, dug ***** all over the pavements. All up my street and the streets around it. I'm up in Currie now and it's so much better, it's rare for me to see one on the ground around here, despite there being loads of dogs.
You rarely witness someone not picking up after their dog, which suggests people always do have a bag on them to do it, but when nobody is watching some folk just decide to leave it. Generally it'll be the same people walking the same routes every day, so they're having to dodge around them the next day too. It's just stupid.
Is it people who think their freedom is being taken away having to clear up after their dugs, like wearing seat belts and not smoking in pubs? Or are they just *****?
29-10-2024, 06:08 PM
Is it people who think their freedom is being taken away having to clear up after their dugs, like wearing seat belts and not smoking in pubs? Or are they just *****?
I used to see it all the time from my back door and in the main its ignorant *******s who let their dogs out when its dark and let them do their business in the kids play park while they walk along the path and ignore it. Me and another guy were picking it up for a while when out walking our dogs the next morning but when its big dogs being fed obviously crap food it's not exactly pleasant.
29-10-2024, 10:30 PM
Well, the latter I expect.
Seeing as I pick up after my dog, wear a seat belt, but also miss being able to smoke in a pub. 😉
30-10-2024, 06:08 AM
The distance between some bus stops. There should be a minimum yardage - I got the bus to work yesterday and I was stopping every 50-100 yards at one point.
30-10-2024, 06:39 AM
Thieving ****bags.
Got up this morning to go to work, go out to get my bike from the bike shed and it's gone, along with a couple of others. It's not opportunistic either, it seems very much a planned theft. My bike had two locks on it; the one on the back wheel had been sheered through and the lock on the front wheel was still hanging on the rack along with the wheel so whoever it was had released the wheel to get the frame and back wheel. That suggests they had other transport to put 3 stolen bikes into or they had a spare front wheel with them.
Police are obviously totally uninterested so the bike isn't going to be seen again. 'There's a crime number for your insurance now **** off'. That's me now without my main form of transport for a few days whilst I work through the whole process. Bike theft is rife in Edinburgh because these tramps are emboldened in the knowledge there are no consequences for their actions; a pat on the head and penny out the poor box and **** the victims of their ******** behaviour. Only positive is that they are usually daft enough to post the bikes for sale on Gumtree or Facebook marketplace a couple of weeks down the line; I've seen a few stories lately of people getting 'unofficial' justice so fingers crossed.
30-10-2024, 10:41 AM
Thieving ****bags.
Got up this morning to go to work, go out to get my bike from the bike shed and it's gone, along with a couple of others. It's not opportunistic either, it seems very much a planned theft. My bike had two locks on it; the one on the back wheel had been sheered through and the lock on the front wheel was still hanging on the rack along with the wheel so whoever it was had released the wheel to get the frame and back wheel. That suggests they had other transport to put 3 stolen bikes into or they had a spare front wheel with them.
Police are obviously totally uninterested so the bike isn't going to be seen again. 'There's a crime number for your insurance now **** off'. That's me now without my main form of transport for a few days whilst I work through the whole process. Bike theft is rife in Edinburgh because these tramps are emboldened in the knowledge there are no consequences for their actions; a pat on the head and penny out the poor box and **** the victims of their ******** behaviour. Only positive is that they are usually daft enough to post the bikes for sale on Gumtree or Facebook marketplace a couple of weeks down the line; I've seen a few stories lately of people getting 'unofficial' justice so fingers crossed.
Sorry to hear that. The trouble with unofficial justice is that quite often it isn't the same person that's stolen the item that's then selling it (or rather listing it and handing it over), so it doesn't deter the ones physically stealing the stuff.
30-10-2024, 10:58 AM
Got up this morning to go to work, go out to get my bike from the bike shed and it's gone, along with a couple of others.
Sorry to hear this. It's a horrible feeling discovering that something's been nicked.
speedy_gonzales
30-10-2024, 11:40 AM
Thieving ****bags.
Bicycle theft seems to be rising again. Might be worth keeping an eye on the Facebook group “stolen / found bicycles Edinburgh”.
If you really need to get back on your bike soon, I have a perfectly rideable Whyte Stirling sitting doing nothing just now that you’re more than welcome to borrow!
30-10-2024, 12:25 PM
Thieving ****bags.
That’s awful, sorry to hear that mate, I ****** hate thieving ****, taking stuff from hard working folk.
30-10-2024, 01:48 PM
Thieving ****bags.
****bags.
Our shed was broken in to a few times when we lived in Newhaven, as well as a couple of house break-ins on the street. It never quite felt as safe as the place I'd grown up in after that.
30-10-2024, 03:01 PM
Thieving ****bags.
That's *****, it's the luck of the draw who's broken into most of the time. Maybe someone has been watching you?
My bike is in my greenhouse, no locks but I suppose my house is around half the value of all the others in the area so maybe doesn't attract as much attention, plus I leave the environs looking like the clampetts!! (1960s comedy 😃)
30-10-2024, 03:43 PM
Thieving ****bags.
I hate thieves, I get it that some people might need to steal to feed themselves and their families and I can kind of forgive that. But ***** who steal bikes or break into people's homes have made a choice to make a career out of stealing from others and the punishment should be harsh. I had my flat broken into about 30 years ago and the ****bag who did it got off with a fine which just doesn't cover the distress it caused my wife. He did eventually get what was coming to him and luckily I was out of town for a few days when that happened.
I now live outside town in an area that is close to the Autobahn and popular with burglars because they're back on the Autobahn within minutes and over the border in less than an hour. For that reason I have 4 security cameras covering the outside of the property and any burglar would have to take his chances with a 45kg family pet that is generally very friendly but I still wouldn't want to get on the wrong side of him.
Maybe you can turn it into a positive by upgrading. I've gone pedalec and live the versatility it gives me on my daily commute into town and back.
30-10-2024, 05:16 PM
anyone want to buy a bike? I have 3 available.
30-10-2024, 06:06 PM
30-10-2024, 06:09 PM
😅😅😅
30-10-2024, 06:11 PM
Bicycle theft seems to be rising again. Might be worth keeping an eye on the Facebook group “stolen / found bicycles Edinburgh”.
If you really need to get back on your bike soon, I have a perfectly rideable Whyte Stirling sitting doing nothing just now that you’re more than welcome to borrow!
Cheers for the offer. I've managed to sort something with a work mate short term but appreciated all the same.
30-10-2024, 07:34 PM
Cheers for the offer. I've managed to sort something with a work mate short term but appreciated all the same.
I've got a ridgeback velocity 24 speed if your interested. Been converted with a front hub motor but can be available with or without. Looking for hundred quid.
01-11-2024, 12:07 AM
People wishing me happy Halloween…. WTF
Yet another commercialised money making event that has become ridiculous to the extreme.
ErinGoBraghHFC
01-11-2024, 12:24 AM
People wishing me happy Halloween…. WTF
Yet another commercialised money making event that has become ridiculous to the extreme.
Any talk of Halloween from anyone over the age of 10 can absolutely get in the bin. Daft “holiday”, daft costumes, beloved by daft folk.
Don’t get me started on the folk that decorate their house/garden for it now, roasters. Open the door, give the bairns a sweetie and get out of that situation as fast as possible is my approach
01-11-2024, 08:57 AM
YouTube adverts. I quite like listening to documentaries as I’m going to sleep. Happy to accept adverts popping up as £16.99 for YouTube premium is a con IMO. However I only seem to get the same videos on loop. First it was never ending Huel adverts. Now it’s the advert for the Hugh Grant horror, Heretic (which even as someone who isn’t a horror film fan, looks quite good). Why all of a sudden do I only get one type of advert that they endlessly show? 🤷*♂️
babahibs
01-11-2024, 09:22 AM
YouTube adverts. I quite like listening to documentaries as I’m going to sleep. Happy to accept adverts popping up as £16.99 for YouTube premium is a con IMO. However I only seem to get the same videos on loop. First it was never ending Huel adverts. Now it’s the advert for the Hugh Grant horror, Heretic (which even as someone who isn’t a horror film fan, looks quite good). Why all of a sudden do I only get one type of advert that they endlessly show? 🤷*♂️
Install uBlock Origin on your browser, no more ads.
01-11-2024, 09:24 AM
I do the same as I'm going to sleep. I got fed up of a loud advert suddenly screaming at me just as I'm dozing off. I now use the browser called Brave to watch YouTube at night. It blocks all the ads. I use the normal app at any other time as without the ads, a lot of these channels would cease being but definitely at bed time, I'm not up for the ads.
Agree, though, that it is the same ads all the time.
Halloween is for kids, all these adults dressed in black and eyes painted black etc, can **** off. Scary films are fine but don't dress up for it.
01-11-2024, 09:55 AM
Halloween is for kids, all these adults dressed in black and eyes painted black etc, can **** off. Scary films are fine but don't dress up for it.
I hate the whole Americanisation of Halloween here so much. It's like somebody in a retail head office decides the way we do it isn't good enough and we have to copy the 'movies' and everyone just falls into line and empties their pockets accordingly.
I take part in it to an extent because the kids love it but when I was a bairn it was a carved turnip, guising, dooking for apples and that was your lot and frankly it was better. Now half the houses in my street are more decorated than they are for Christmas with the usual suspects all trying to outdo each other. The social media boasting of 'I've made 150 sweetie bags and I'm not even half way done'. I'm not even sure how many of them are actually having fun; it all seems motivated by being better than next door. I can just about handle my daughter calling it 'trick or treating' but when she told me how great it was that she got so much 'candy' it was too much.
We've got the tacky Halloween and Black Friday has become a thing here as well in recent years. It's surely only a matter of time before we get told we really need to make more effort for Thanksgiving.
01-11-2024, 10:08 AM
Samhuinn, the festival from which Halloween originated, is very much an adult occasion. A lot of adults mark it, with no Haribos or eyeliner. :greengrin
01-11-2024, 11:51 AM
There are aspects of Halloween I love - mainly that my daughter absolutely loves it. She's had a hectic social calendar this week, which can only be a good thing for her.
Some aspects of the decorations bug me more than others. My partner goes to town with it, big parts of the flat get shrouded in cotton wool fake spiderwebs and I f'ing hate it.
That aside, some of it looks cool and we have loads of lollies, Maltesers and Twixes kicking around right now. I'd forgotten how great the humble Twix was, look out for me on the "weight watching" thread in the coming months as I'm demolishing shedloads of them right now. Something I deliberately never usually buy so am not tempted to eat.
01-11-2024, 12:02 PM
Can't stand Halloween, like PB says the Americanisation of it is a real irritation but the waste involved as well is horrendous. Tacky, plastic costumes that will be thrown out because you can't do the same thing next year.
It's becoming daft.
Trick or treating and candy :sick:
Also, kids not doing anything, no jokes, songs, poems, nothing. I couldn't even get my son to "meow" while wearing his cat costume.
He's only 3 but still.
Bridge hibs
01-11-2024, 03:42 PM
I love halloween and love getting dressed up in my Frankenstein outfit to go guising. I go myself as all the money I make is mine, pays for my Fruit Shoots and baccy, its so bloody expensive now.
****ing pissed off though as a group of 10 year olds hit my patch this year, tried to warn them but all I got was verbals, ****ing youth of today really spoil halloween, greedy wee ****s 🤬
01-11-2024, 04:27 PM
Dark nights.
01-11-2024, 05:57 PM
Dark nights.
Yeah. I prefer Tim Burton's Batman too.
02-11-2024, 08:57 AM
Dark days.
02-11-2024, 10:29 AM
Yeah. I prefer Tim Burton's Batman too.
Not Adam Wests Batman?
POW! ZAP!
02-11-2024, 06:20 PM
Not Adam Wests Batman?
POW! ZAP!
Nobody messes with Adam We.
02-11-2024, 06:57 PM
Places asking for a tip before you even get your food. Also had to order via QR code, what are they even doing to deserve a tip at this point :rolleyes:
03-11-2024, 08:02 AM
The weird internet 'in the know' culture.
With stuff like football it's pretty harmless but you get other situations, particularly when people start playing the amateur detective, where it becomes really dangerous and potentially distressing.
There was an incident last night in the Cowgate, I'm sure many will now have read about it, and the circumstances haven't been made clear yet. Social media is awash with people giving it 'I'm hearing....' or 'no way is that what happened, what really happened was....'. Oh aye who are you hearing this from? The chief of Police Scotland? The Major Incidents team? Or more likely a mate on WhatsApp who 'hears a lot of this stuff'. It then gives people carte blanche to share photos that are by all accounts totally gruesome and espouse their own wild theories. The racists are out in force of course both feeding and feeding off the ghouls.
It's depressing that empathy and a bit of decorum has been totally lost in the hunt for online validation and the clout that comes with the virtual equivalent of 'I know something you don't know'.
03-11-2024, 08:15 AM
With stuff like football it's pretty harmless but you get other situations, particularly when people start playing the amateur detective, where it becomes really dangerous and potentially distressing.
There was an incident last night in the Cowgate, I'm sure many will now have read about it, and the circumstances haven't been made clear yet. Social media is awash with people giving it 'I'm hearing....' or 'no way is that what happened, what really happened was....'. Oh aye who are you hearing this from? The chief of Police Scotland? The Major Incidents team? Or more likely a mate on WhatsApp who 'hears a lot of this stuff'. It then gives people carte blanche to share photos that are by all accounts totally gruesome and espouse their own wild theories. The racists are out in force of course both feeding and feeding off the ghouls.
It's depressing that empathy and a bit of decorum has been totally lost in the hunt for online validation and the clout that comes with the virtual equivalent of 'I know something you don't know'.
I’d never really given it that much thought but there was a recent television programme about the Nicola Bulley case and it was deeply, deeply uncomfortable.
It’s a weird, depressing phenomenon.
Part of it is ego, the peculiar online quest for likes, views and validation. It’s done with a dismissive disregard for the fact that real people’s feelings might actually still exist and can be hurt by irresponsible online nonsense.
speedy_gonzales
03-11-2024, 01:18 PM
I actually posted about this just after ten last night but deleted it pretty much right away as although I was peeving about the unfettered reach of social media, and the erroneous information proclaimed as gospel, I realised that by posting such it might come across as "being in the know".
Within a couple of hours of the incident, folk were posting pictures and videos of the deceased, more than likely before his kin were made even aware of the incident.
I don't know how we put the genie back in the bottle but some folk have to be held responsible for posting images like that on SM.
08-11-2024, 01:49 PM
The weather forecast...again. Full sun here apparently. But it's actually dark, gloomy and miserable with not even a hint of light cloud never mind sun. How can they get it so spectacularly wrong?
09-11-2024, 10:11 AM
Getting served in a shop at the counter buying a few items a colleague speaks to them about unimportant random pish my server has the temerity to engage in conversation with them ignoring me
Do you want a receipt?
Goddam right I do
10-11-2024, 02:01 AM
Blatant discrimination. We were out tonight and as the bar we were in closed at 1 we googled places open later. Found Nightcap on York Place. Turned up and bouncer said it was full.
“Full for the night or just for now”
“Just for now” the bouncer said. “Feel free to wait”.
We decided to wait. A couple that I’d say were in their 50s turned up behind us to be told the same thing. Couple in their 20s then turned up and told the same thing.
Girl who worked there then appeared at the door to say there was room and the couple in their 20s got waved in ahead of us and the other couple that appeared just after us. Got absolute abuse from the bouncer when I asked what was going on and said it looked like clear age discrimination.
12-11-2024, 06:29 AM
Lothian buses and their phantom fleet.
I'd arranged to meet someone work related very early this morning as they were coming off a nightshift. Had access to the car but decided to take the bus, checked the times. bus due at 0534 which left plenty time. Left the house with 10 minutes to spare, get to the bus stop and the tracker on my phone shows 8 minutes. Stand for a few minutes, check again and it shows 6 mins.....4mins.......2mins.........due..........du e..........due........due.........due.......due... ........24 mins. No bus appears. Stood for another few minutes and still no bus so I ended up walking back to the house and jumping in the car.
It's not the first time that has happened to me and I daresay it won't be the last. It's a point I have made before. You can't have a policy of discouraging car use forcefully and trying to incentivise public transport use if said public transport is fundamentally unreliable. If I hadn't had access to a car this morning then I would have missed or being very late for a the meeting I had arranged and as such seriously pissed off someone who likely already just wanted to get home after a nights work. Same goes for trains. I got a train to work last week. 2 carriages during rush hour when it was supposed to be 4. Those 'lucky' enough to get on were crushed in like sardines, the unlucky were left standing on the platform to wait 40 minutes in the hope the next one had space. The train was ****ing filthy into the bargain and the stench wafting from the toilets was nauseating.
My final moan about buses is the lack of information about route changes. There is some resurfacing work going on near me currently and a couple of buses are diverted late at night because of it. I only know this because the tracker app says 'diverted' rather than a time. There is no information on bus stops either advising of the diversions or indeed telling people where to go to get the diverted bus. I was walking home at about 9.30 on Saturday night and 2 elderly ladies were at the bus stop waiting. They didn't have the app so had no idea a bus wouldn't be coming. If I hadn't told them they would have stood there in the cold for ages.
Fuzzywuzzy
12-11-2024, 08:08 AM
Flyers that are chancers.
I was on a flight from Spain not long ago and in front there was a guy in the middle seat and mother and son either side. She asked him to swap with her who was a few rows in front.
The flight wasn't full and she could have got a row for them. Next the kid goes off as he has problems with his ears. She asked the flight attendant for water. They said they couldn't at that time but could get a cup of ice (not sure of the physics tbh). She wasn't happy. My mate gave her an unopened bottle of water. Never even got a thank you.
I appreciate there was probably an element of stress but there's no excuse for being poorly prepared for a flight. Pretty sure the dad was cutting about on the flight on his own as saw them in the terminal.
Fuzzywuzzy
12-11-2024, 08:10 AM
I also feel that I've been robbed by brylcream. Bought some yesterday as I used it in late teens early 20's. Used it this morning and look as though I should be banned from being 100m range of a school or playground. £4.50 down the swanky!!
I would pull my hair out but it would slip through my hands😂
12-11-2024, 10:30 AM
Got a black cab at the airport last night at about 1:30am. Me, the missus, the bairn, 2 suitcases and a travel buggy.
Got in the taxi and before it had even moved it was at £10.60 or £10.80, I can't remember exactly. It was split into £6 and £4.60 / £4.80. That seems steep before it's even moved, no??
I was only going to Currie, so a 10 min journey, which ended up £23ish in the end.
End of the day, I dinnae really mind spending £20odd quid on the taxi home, but £10.60 before it even moved seemed steep.
EH6 Hibby
12-11-2024, 03:56 PM
Got a black cab at the airport last night at about 1:30am. Me, the missus, the bairn, 2 suitcases and a travel buggy.
Got in the taxi and before it had even moved it was at £10.60 or £10.80, I can't remember exactly. It was split into £6 and £4.60 / £4.80. That seems steep before it's even moved, no??
I was only going to Currie, so a 10 min journey, which ended up £23ish in the end.
End of the day, I dinnae really mind spending £20odd quid on the taxi home, but £10.60 before it even moved seemed steep.
Do they maybe have to pay to get in to the airport to pick you up?
12-11-2024, 03:59 PM
You had a barrier charge plus the usual minimum fare. Blame the greed of the airport for that one.
12-11-2024, 04:01 PM
You had a barrier charge plus the usual minimum fare. Blame the greed of the airport for that one.
Is the barrier charge the £6? Is that what the airports are charging taxis to come and pick up a fare?
12-11-2024, 04:02 PM
Is the barrier charge the £6? Is that what the airports are charging taxis to come and pick up a fare?
Yeap.
12-11-2024, 05:24 PM
Picked my boss up today, less than a minute in the multi story was £5.
12-11-2024, 05:28 PM
It’s genuinely disgusting that this sort of thing has ended up tolerable.
A pitiful indictment of the modern world that it is - the rinsing and outright exploitation of a captive audience.
12-11-2024, 05:52 PM
Internet keeps dropping tonight!!
12-11-2024, 06:06 PM
Biting into eggshell that came with my scrambled eggs.
12-11-2024, 06:07 PM
It’s genuinely disgusting that this sort of thing has ended up tolerable.
A pitiful indictment of the modern world that it is - the rinsing and outright exploitation of a captive audience.
Yep.
Charging £5-6 to drop off or pick up for a couple of mins is a joke.
Right up there with the standing charge for gas and electricity.
12-11-2024, 07:30 PM
The latest Amazon ad. Nothing worse than hearing a song you have always hated at every ad break on Sky Sports probably right up till Christmas 😩
Was this a black cab at the drop off zone, if so, then it's about right.
Yep.
Charging £5-6 to drop off or pick up for a couple of mins is a joke.
Right up there with the standing charge for gas and electricity.
That's the Airport, taxis have no say in that.
Bridge hibs
12-11-2024, 07:33 PM
Torn faced ****ing bus drivers, got on the bus a few days ago and struggling to walk due to a lower back injury. Firstly my bus ticket app was hangy and the driver started moaning, when I finally got my app up he didnt even look at it and then put the foot down causing me to literally run to the back end of the bus and onto someones lap !! ****ing prick !
Further along the road at a stop an old guy chapped on the doors just as they had closed and the driver just made a gesture at him and drove off. Approaching Hay Drive terminus he drove past with folk waiting at the stop and then being a total prick when he stopped to let me off he slammed the brakes and I flew the other direction and near face planted the front wind screen.
By the way this isnt a first with this driver, I have the unfortunate displeasure of him being a regular on my route and his arrogance holds no bounds 🤬
12-11-2024, 08:51 PM
Passengers on my bus who can’t use a smartphone properly.
speedy_gonzales
12-11-2024, 11:23 PM
Lothian buses and their phantom fleet.
Both the Lothian bus app and (my personal favourite) https://bustimes.org/operators/lothian-buses will show you where the actual bus is on the map if you delve in to it. That way you can discriminate if the time is the scheduled/timetabled time or the real bus time.
13-11-2024, 06:56 AM
Rubbish internet connections that don't work when you need them to. Can't get a connection at the bus stop near us for some reason so a pain when your trying to open the app to use your ticket. Some with the Tesco where the bus stop is. Can't use your clubcard app as can't get a signal so have to open it or screenshot it before you go to Tesco. Can't do it for the bus as the code changes all the time apparently.
13-11-2024, 07:07 AM
Was this a black cab at the drop off zone, if so, then it's about right.
Think black cab prices are to rise 10% from next month. Also talk of the airport charge rising even higher.
9.5% we're not happy about it TBH, the trade is already struggling but the cost of a new taxi plus insurance is not far off £70k, compared to £12k for a PHC. Its the council that regulates our prices. Insurance has gone up by around £1k a year.
Yes an extra pound at the airport, again outwith our control.
13-11-2024, 09:42 AM
Rubbish internet connections that don't work when you need them to. Can't get a connection at the bus stop near us for some reason so a pain when your trying to open the app to use your ticket. Some with the Tesco where the bus stop is. Can't use your clubcard app as can't get a signal so have to open it or screenshot it before you go to Tesco. Can't do it for the bus as the code changes all the time apparently.
Signal at the Fort is absolutely outrageously bad.
13-11-2024, 10:34 AM
Took a Black Cab recently to Edinburgh Airport driver dropped us off at the Hotel to the left of the roundabout to save on Airport charges just a short walk to International Departures
13-11-2024, 10:34 AM
To be fair, I've had it where all of the various TfE apps randomly and regularly just crash and usually just as you are about to show it to a driver/inspector. Their apps are generally crap.
13-11-2024, 11:44 AM
23rd October - 'Hi I need this order urgently for our Christmas party nights, I know there is a lead time so wanted to check it was possible for w/c 18th November?'
Later on 23rd October - 'Lead time is currently approx 4 weeks, special order items for us so would need confirmation of the order this week to get it to you for w/c 18th November, pricing attached'
25th October - 'Is that the best pricing you can do'
Later on 25th October - 'I've attached updated pricing with a small additional discount but I am tight on this. Let me know if you want to go ahead '
Nothing
Nothing
1st November - 'Just wanted to check if you had a chance to look at that pricing and whether you wanted to go ahead with the order?Really need to get it ordered today if you want it in the timescale indicated'
Nothing
Nothing
Nothing
Today - 'Hi mate just looked over that pricing, all good. Can we go ahead and we'll be ok for delivery next week?'
No, no you ****ing wont.
13-11-2024, 03:06 PM
I know that I've mentioned them before but, I'm going to mention them again because they still continue to annoy me a lot more than they should,
Oh my days
My bad
They don't make any sense 🤬
13-11-2024, 03:20 PM
I know that I've mentioned them before but, I'm going to mention them again because they still continue to annoy me a lot more than they should,
Oh my days
My bad
Got my back is another that annoys me. So glad I'm old sometimes :greengrin
13-11-2024, 03:22 PM
Oh my days
My bad
I'm on the tram just now and some guy just said to the woman he was stood beside that he will "network" with a few others and get back to her on it, I hope the tram crashes even though I'm on it
13-11-2024, 05:36 PM
****, that's an enviable trick. I'm old all the time. Which has definitely got old.
13-11-2024, 06:09 PM
I'm on the tram just now and some guy just said to the woman he was stood beside that he will "network" with a few others and get back to her on it, I hope the tram crashes even though I'm on it
😂😂😂
13-11-2024, 06:16 PM
Isn't that a prison saying?
13-11-2024, 07:35 PM
Isn't that a prison saying?
Dunno, never been in a prison thankfully!
Just_Jimmy
14-11-2024, 11:25 AM
Folk in groups who think it's fine to walk 2 or more across a foot path. Even worse when it's narrow.
Took a Black Cab recently to Edinburgh Airport driver dropped us off at the Hotel to the left of the roundabout to save on Airport charges just a short walk to International Departures
Done that a few times if the punters want to save money, also turn left just after the Spitfire before you hit the one way system, short walk to the Terminal.
14-11-2024, 05:22 PM
Loud people. My wife’s friend is round for tea tonight. There’s nothing inherently wrong with her, but she’s very loud and extroverted. Which rubs off on my wife who also becomes loud. To an introverted curmudgeon like me it’s like purgatory. Fortunately I have an escape route doing bath and bed time.
Just_Jimmy
14-11-2024, 06:56 PM
Loud people. My wife’s friend is round for tea tonight. There’s nothing inherently wrong with her, but she’s very loud and extroverted. Which rubs off on my wife who also becomes loud. To an introverted curmudgeon like me it’s like purgatory. Fortunately I have an escape route doing bath and bed time.Why do you need to bath and bed your wife's (loud) pal?
Does your wife not mind?
14-11-2024, 07:10 PM
Folk in groups who think it's fine to walk 2 or more across a foot path. Even worse when it's narrow.
I mentioned this a while ago.
I often encounter groups of people taking up the whole pavement and it never seeming to occur that at least one of them has to move to let people pass.
Bridge hibs
14-11-2024, 07:21 PM
Ignorant *******s on buses who wear those big **** off bag packs and block the aisles when theres plenty seats. I just shove the ****ers out of the way, Im on a mission when Im getting off the bus.
Oh and ignorant ****ers who sit on a seat with their bag taking up the other seat and they dont ****ing budge for anyone 🤬
Oh and folk who feel the need to tell the whole bus about their Chlamydia, no one gives a **** about your STD 🤬
14-11-2024, 08:17 PM
Ignorant *******s on buses who wear those big **** off bag packs and block the aisles when theres plenty seats. I just shove the ****ers out of the way, Im on a mission when Im getting off the bus.
Oh and ignorant ****ers who sit on a seat with their bag taking up the other seat and they dont ****ing budge for anyone 🤬
Oh and folk who feel the need to tell the whole bus about their Chlamydia, no one gives a **** about your STD 🤬
This has been the best Pet Peeve for ages...
14-11-2024, 09:07 PM
On your second point, last time I was on the bus in Edinburgh had someone with their bag on the seat. I just leant heavily on it until she huffed had to move it. I pointedly thanked her. 😁
14-11-2024, 09:56 PM
Outstanding 😂😂
15-11-2024, 05:32 AM
Men over 30 wearing shorts all year round - in the street, in Tesco, sometimes with flip-flops on their feet like they think they're still in Lanzarote or something.
I attribute the erosion of modern society to this.
15-11-2024, 05:46 AM
Men over 30 wearing shorts all year round - in the street, in Tesco, sometimes with flip-flops on their feet like they think they're still in Lanzarote or something.
Guilty as charged.
15-11-2024, 06:54 AM
People sharing their private telephone conversations on public transport to all and sundry in a big trigger happy mega voice
No one is remotely interested in your hospital appointments family issues relationships neighbours holidays or whatever just hang up already
Gies peace !
15-11-2024, 11:30 AM
People who don’t understand pedestrian etiquette.
At the airport, part of quite a lot of people walking and sticking to the right hand side of the corridor. Some couple coming the other way with wheelie suitcases ignore the space on their right hand side and plough right through the middle of everyone.
Baffles me.
15-11-2024, 03:57 PM
That will be me in Tesco, no flip flops though, but I have noticed lots of folk wearing flip flops or sandals, they are normally delivering food, how does there feet not get cold at nights. :greengrin
15-11-2024, 04:00 PM
That will be me in Tesco, no flip flops though, but I have noticed lots of folk wearing flip flops or sandals, they are normally delivering food, how does there feet not get cold at nights. :greengrin
Fur lined crocs are the way forward. Utility footwear at its finest.