View Full Version : Pet Peeves IV
31-05-2018, 07:59 AM
Another pet peeve of mine...when you're out for the day with your partner and having stopped by a nice wee hostelry for a drink and a smoke in the designated smoking area you receive a volley of unprovoked abuse from a younger person because they don't smoke.
Are you sure it's not just because they know its's you? :greengrin
31-05-2018, 11:11 AM
Acronyms, and when they are used in verbal conversation.
"WFH" is generally accepted in an office environment to mean "working from home", and I use it online, in an email etc. However heard someone use it in conversation at my work yesterday. "I'm W F H tomorrow". I don't want to live in a world where vocabulary goes down that path :grr:
31-05-2018, 11:22 AM
Another pet peeve of mine...when you're out for the day with your partner and having stopped by a nice wee hostelry for a drink and a smoke in the designated smoking area you receive a volley of unprovoked abuse from a younger person because they don't smoke.
I don't actually mind the occasional whiff of smoke. It reminds me of my youth.
And if you're in a smoking area you don't deserve abuse.
You will have to stop sometime though.
31-05-2018, 11:31 AM
This should probably be on a new "things that make you cringe" thread rather than an all-out pet peev.. however:
The two lassies sat little over a metre away from me right now at work who are discussing Tv shows that they can or can't "binge".
31-05-2018, 12:49 PM
That would be annoying Pedantic hope you just ignored it and continued on as some of these young folk seem to think they own the place. Hope you still had a wonderful day and the "volley of abuse" was not to vitriolic . :aok:
31-05-2018, 03:17 PM
Women who are so heavily perfumed you can smell them from 10 yards away.
They're worse than smokers - just.
31-05-2018, 06:00 PM
Women who are so heavily perfumed you can smell them from 10 yards away.
They're worse than smokers - just.
As are guys who wear a bottle of aftershave :greengrin
31-05-2018, 06:06 PM
Haha you tell em, both sexes equally guilty of the old to much fragrance.
EH6 Hibby
31-05-2018, 06:43 PM
This should probably be on a new "things that make you cringe" thread rather than an all-out pet peev.. however:
The two lassies sat little over a metre away from me right now at work who are discussing Tv shows that they can or can't "binge".
I’m confused about what’s cringe about this, am I missing something?
31-05-2018, 08:53 PM
:agree: Totally agree, HG. Especially the dog-breath fragrance of Hai Karate :wink:
31-05-2018, 08:54 PM
Haha you tell em, both sexes equally guilty of the old to much fragrance.Even worse when mixed with stale sweat/BO.
31-05-2018, 09:19 PM
That would be annoying Pedantic hope you just ignored it and continued on as some of these young folk seem to think they own the place. Hope you still had a wonderful day and the "volley of abuse" was not to vitriolic . :aok:
Touche my good man 😂👍
31-05-2018, 10:20 PM
Touche my good man 😂👍
Have that :cb
01-06-2018, 05:30 AM
Acronyms, and when they are used in verbal conversation.
"WFH" is generally accepted in an office environment to mean "working from home", and I use it online, in an email etc. However heard someone use it in conversation at my work yesterday. "I'm W F H tomorrow". I don't want to live in a world where vocabulary goes down that path :grr:
Agree with this. There's more syllables in "WFH" than there is in "working from home", so it actually takes longer to say.
01-06-2018, 08:15 AM
Have that :cb
That cigar is stinking. ;-)
01-06-2018, 09:39 AM
That cigar is stinking. ;-)
No its not its a Gurkha His Majesty's Reserve and its a thing of beauty.
01-06-2018, 09:41 AM
No its not its a Gurkha His Majesty's Reserve and its a thing of beauty.
Well, please don't sit near my table :stirrer:
01-06-2018, 10:09 AM
Can't stand that. No class.
pollution
01-06-2018, 11:12 AM
Agree with this. There's more syllables in "WFH" than there is in "working from home", so it actually takes longer to say.
Saying " working from home " implies a skive opportunity so " WFH " sounds more efficient.
Just like colleagues who leave a recorded message saying they are on leave, rather than holiday.
Ps we do not work in the forces.
01-06-2018, 11:30 AM
Well, please don't sit near my table :stirrer:
Imagine if someone sat down beside you in a beer garden and started puffing away on a Gurkha, I hope they'd have the common decency to ask if you minded first, although I would imagine the bar staff would chuck them both out. :-)
01-06-2018, 12:56 PM
I was at the gym the other day and the ignorance of some people is mind blowing.
I don't know if it's just me that doesn't take my home with me in to the actual gym but there were people sitting on machines, do one set, sit on their phones for five minutes then do another set for about 20 minutes.
A) you're not achieving anything like what you should be by taking such long rests and b) I've been waiting 10 minutes for the bench you're using.
I think there should be a no mobile phones policy in gyms but then you see the instructors sitting at the desk using theirs. Definitely pissing in to the wind with that argument.
01-06-2018, 01:17 PM
Saying " working from home " implies a skive opportunity so " WFH " sounds more efficient.
Just like colleagues who leave a recorded message saying they are on leave, rather than holiday.
Ps we do not work in the forces.
Holiday is fine if you are on holiday. Different if you are on sick leave, special leave, maternity leave, paternity leave or adoption leave.
Sitting on the bus and someone moves from sitting beside someone else to sitting in the empty seat beside me! Whats that all about? Stay where you are!!!
01-06-2018, 01:19 PM
Sitting on the bus and someone moves from sitting beside someone else to sitting in the empty seat beside me! Whats that all about? Stay where you are!!!
Blow smoke in their face. It works for me.
He may swear at me though :greengrin
01-06-2018, 01:23 PM
Maybe their first choice bus partner farted?
01-06-2018, 01:35 PM
Maybe their first choice bus partner farted?
Or maybe they've already farted beside their first choice bus partner?
01-06-2018, 01:36 PM
He may swear at me though :greengrin
But you'll get the starring role in a 15-pager, though.... :greengrin
01-06-2018, 02:46 PM
:hilarious:applause:
01-06-2018, 02:47 PM
Im a mover, I'm pretty tall and if I have to sit beside someone I don't want to wedge myself in as I'd be on their knee, so I end up doing this half arse on the seat thing so as soon as a seat comes free I'm off
But this one moved from sitting beside someone to sitting beside someone! He was very tall right enough and im kinda not. Maybe it was a space thing. I may forgive him :greengrin
01-06-2018, 05:09 PM
But this one moved from sitting beside someone to sitting beside someone! He was very tall right enough and im kinda not. Maybe it was a space thing. I may forgive him :greengrin
I’m sure I’ve mentioned this here before, but I remember sitting on an empty bus at the terminus, when a woman got on and sat right beside me. Odd, I thought, but expected a wee conversation with her. She didn’t say a word and got off ten minutes later without even a glance in my direction. Spooky!!! :greengrin
That happens to me a lot. Dont get why people sit next to me when theres empty seats.
pollution
01-06-2018, 05:33 PM
I think it is an unconscious desire to link with someone on their own.
There was a programme recently about an African country where being on one's own was anathema
and a total stranger would sit close to you and not say anything. Just so you are not on your own.
01-06-2018, 07:07 PM
I think it is an unconscious desire to link with someone on their own.
There was a programme recently about an African country where being on one's own was anathema
and a total stranger would sit close to you and not say anything. Just so you are not on your own.
Tynecastle - season 2020/21.
01-06-2018, 09:38 PM
I’m confused about what’s cringe about this, am I missing something?
Nope, just a personal thing. I’ve an endless list of words and expressions like that. In this case the over used term of “binging” tv programmes.
Even something being “cringe” as opposed to making you cringe is one of them.. ;)
By the way I’m not saying people are in the wrong by using them.. just a “pet peeve” :)
01-06-2018, 10:58 PM
Probably read one of your infamous deadline day threads. :greengrin
02-06-2018, 06:36 AM
Probably read one of your infamous deadline day threads. :greengrin
Those threads have never been the same since Fenlon left.
02-06-2018, 08:58 AM
Nah don't, now I've heard the full story he's just weird haha
02-06-2018, 12:46 PM
UFC fans who "whooooo" constantly during a fight.
I would hate to go over to fight and be stuck beside one of those assholes :greengrin
02-06-2018, 07:36 PM
Something funny going on there.
I often have to get up and go downstairs on the bus because of the incessant mobile phone chatter. The oldies on the bottom deck are better behaved.
02-06-2018, 07:41 PM
DVDs when you can watch on Bluray. Just no.
Something funny going on there.
I often have to get up and go downstairs on the bus because of the incessant mobile phone chatter. The oldies on the bottom deck are better behaved.
I am.an oldie on the bottom deck! :greengrin
03-06-2018, 01:05 PM
Ladies day at Musselburgh, most certainly not "ladies" at the end of the day. Horrendous sights
03-06-2018, 01:46 PM
I am.an oldie on the bottom deck! :greengrin
In that case, forgive me for plonking myself down beside you. Unlike some mentioned on here, I won't immediately start farting, I promise!
03-06-2018, 02:05 PM
Ladies day at Musselburgh, most certainly not "ladies" at the end of the day. Horrendous sights
One of my guilty pleasures is looking at the Daily Mail articles on "Ladies" days and filling myself with smugness at how far above them I am.
03-06-2018, 02:06 PM
People that don’t take trolleys back when they’ve put their shopping into their cars at supermarkets.
03-06-2018, 02:07 PM
The fact that central Florida has turned into a riff raff with a bit of cash version of Benidorm.
03-06-2018, 02:54 PM
People that don’t take trolleys back when they’ve put their shopping into their cars at supermarkets.
Massively gets my goat, as do those that do but they can't be bothered to file them properly. Should be shot, lazy ********.
03-06-2018, 03:01 PM
You only have to look at the line up of throbbers in the ironically named 'King of Style' competition to see why Ladies Days are best avoided.
The fact that central Florida has turned into a riff raff with a bit of cash version of Benidorm.
Ive been to florida several times over the last 25 years, and have had the misfortune of being on the same flight with ********s numerous times, as well as seeing many British morons whilst there.
03-06-2018, 04:55 PM
Ive been to florida several times over the last 25 years, and have had the misfortune of being on the same flight with ********s numerous times, as well as seeing many British morons whilst there.
Excuse my ignorance but is central Florida basically Orlando?
I go there Wednesday and every chance I’m the sort of rif raf being discussed.
In that case, forgive me for plonking myself down beside you. Unlike some mentioned on here, I won't immediately start farting, I promise!
Under my own rules (currently being reconsidered) i won't be able to move anyway. :greengrin
03-06-2018, 05:54 PM
Excuse my ignorance but is central Florida basically Orlando?
I go there Wednesday and every chance I’m the sort of rif raf being discussed.
Inclusion within the riff raff grouping depends on whether you went pre 2003ish or if you previously visited riff raff venues in Europe and now have a bit of spare cash to hit International Drive.
03-06-2018, 06:02 PM
Inclusion within the riff raff grouping depends on whether you went pre 2003ish or if you previously visited riff raff venues in Europe and now have a bit of spare cash to hit International Drive.
Unfortunately I meet the latter criteria although the spare cash bit is up for debate, my wife’s been in charge of saving for it and it’s been a diet of bread and water for about 6 months.
FWIW I’m seeing this as a very different holiday to my usual jaunts to Spain and I’ve no intention of getting pished in British bars or the hotel every day.
Well I say that now, I’m not committing to anything......,
03-06-2018, 08:03 PM
Holiday snobs.
We had a baby last year and have started sticking a wee bit aside every month for a trip to Florida in a few years when she’s old enough to appreciate it. Unfortunately I don’t own a time machine so I’m unable to transport my family planning back to 2002 nor am I infinitely wealthy so dropping a few grand at the drop of a hat to do what we want to do isn’t an option.
If my presence annoys those ‘we’ve been here before don’t you know’ types then all the better as far as I’m concerned.
speedy_gonzales
03-06-2018, 08:23 PM
Holiday snobs.
We had a baby last year and have started sticking a wee bit aside every month for a trip to Florida in a few years when she’s old enough to appreciate it. Unfortunately I don’t own a time machine so I’m unable to transport my family planning back to 2002 nor am I infinitely wealthy so dropping a few grand at the drop of a hat to do what we want to do isn’t an option.
If my presence annoys those ‘we’ve been here before don’t you know’ types then all the better as far as I’m concerned.
Ironically, I was going to reply to a post of yours on another thread re Musselburgh Races and inferring some of the clientele may or may not be "numpties" and for a split second felt the same way you seem to be coming across now.
Fact of the matter is I only go to the races for what was the Edinburgh Cup with a good group of mates, I don't gamble any other time of year and I budget to lose money, not to win. Screw them all, I enjoy my day out.
As for Florida/Orlando, I don't get the Benidorm with money attitude. Having been to both more than once, Orlando is NOTHING like Benidorm and for what it's worth if people pay however much it is and enjoy themselves with their loved ones,,,, does it really matter?
speedy_gonzales
03-06-2018, 08:37 PM
Whilst I'm here, the irresponsible use of ECV's, Electric Conveyance Vehicles.
I was in the Gyle shopping centre today and one guy was in an ECV and was belting out up an down, weaving in and out all the the other shoppers.
Whilst the availability of mobility scooters can only be a good thing for those that require them, it levels their disability and grants them a semblance of independence, but there surely must be rules on how they're used.
When in busy areas they must be limited to "walking" speed, the guy today was careering around faster than I can run and appeared to think he was on the dodgems at the fair and was holding no quarter.
03-06-2018, 08:42 PM
Ironically, I was going to reply to a post of yours on another thread re Musselburgh Races and inferring some of the clientele may or may not be "numpties" and for a split second felt the same way you seem to be coming across now.
Fact of the matter is I only go to the races for what was the Edinburgh Cup with a good group of mates, I don't gamble any other time of year and I budget to lose money, not to win. Screw them all, I enjoy my day out.
As for Florida/Orlando, I don't get the Benidorm with money attitude. Having been to both more than once, Orlando is NOTHING like Benidorm and for what it's worth if people pay however much it is and enjoy themselves with their loved ones,,,, does it really matter?
Nothing wrong with enjoying a day at the races and a bet and drink with your mates, it’s a big part of the day out.
It’s the no self control, sick in the handbag, offering a square go to anything that moves minority that are, in my opinion, numpties. Ladies Day seems to bring more of them out than any other day, including the other big Saturday meetings. It’s nothing to do with ‘class’ either. Royal Ascot is a sight to behold, guys blowing more than I earn in a month on Champagne then going boxin with each other whilst their designer clad girlfriends stumble about on the sidelines.
03-06-2018, 08:58 PM
Nothing wrong with enjoying a day at the races and a bet and drink with your mates, it’s a big part of the day out.
It’s the no self control, sick in the handbag, offering a square go to anything that moves minority that are, in my opinion, numpties. Ladies Day seems to bring more of them out than any other day, including the other big Saturday meetings. It’s nothing to do with ‘class’ either. Royal Ascot is a sight to behold, guys blowing more than I earn in a month on Champagne then going boxin with each other whilst their designer clad girlfriends stumble about on the sidelines.
I once broke up 2 guys in top hats who were fighting each other at Royal Ascot.
It really is mental.
03-06-2018, 09:01 PM
Back to pet peeves...
Flies.
The stupid fockers bash themselves up and down the windows trying to get out, but when I go to open one for them, they invariably fly back into the room and it all starts again later.
03-06-2018, 09:23 PM
Holiday snobs.
You could add:
Car Snobs
House Snobs
Apartment/ Time Share Snobs
Clothes Snobs
Restaurant Snobs
etc etc etc
Some folk just don't get that it's not always down to finance either. The "surely you could afford it comment" really irks me. I'm not materialistic in the least and am now at that point in my life that finance isn't an issue (not mega wealthy) but in a very good position to do what we want re holidays, cars etc. "Keeping up with the Jones's" ain't for me though.
03-06-2018, 11:14 PM
Sara Pascoe, if you've heard her you'll know the reason.
04-06-2018, 06:41 AM
:agree: Did you know she's a vegan, i'm sure she's mentioned it once or twice? :rolleyes:
04-06-2018, 07:07 AM
Those threads have never been the same since Fenlon left.
Alan Stubbs and Neil Lennon for killing transfer deadline day stone dead with their acceptable recruitment early in transfer windows.
04-06-2018, 03:15 PM
:agree: Did you know she's a vegan, i'm sure she's mentioned it once or twice? :rolleyes:
... and I thought she was from Skye because I'm sure someone called her a Dumvegan. :doh:
04-06-2018, 07:02 PM
The price of fuel. Scandalous.
A couple of month ago I was paying as little as 113.7 a litre. Same petrol station today is 124.9 and I've seen a few at 127 and 128. That's in the city so God knows what it's like on motorways or in the country.
Where are rebellious HGV drivers when you need them?
Alfiembra
04-06-2018, 07:19 PM
A couple of month ago I was paying as little as 113.7 a litre. Same petrol station today is 124.9 and I've seen a few at 127 and 128. That's in the city so God knows what it's like on motorways or in the country.
Agree but also understand the economics behind it, the weak pound, rising oil price, fuel priced in dollars, it all adds up to costing us more. What I really hate is how quickly it shoots up, the fuel sitting in the tanks was bought and paid for weeks if not months ago on a contract basis, but price goes up overnight, should be illegal to sell it at the higher price until the old stock is sold out.
04-06-2018, 07:25 PM
I had to top up last week at the services off junction 9 of the M9 - Stirling services basically.
It was 148.9 for diesel. I nearly felt obliged to ask the assistant why they weren't wearing a strippit jumper and an eye mask.
Harthill is just as bad.
I understand it - if you need to fuel up then your options are limited so the provider can charge a premium - but it's still a sore one.
Better planning would help but my work diary can change at quite short notice, so I'm sometimes stuck for options about where to go.
04-06-2018, 07:39 PM
I had to top up last week at the services off junction 9 of the M9 - Stirling services basically.
It was 148.9 for diesel. I nearly felt obliged to ask the assistant why they weren't wearing a strippit jumper and an eye mask.
Harthill is just as bad.
I understand it - if you need to fuel up then your options are limited so the provider can charge a premium - but it's still a sore one.
Better planning would help but my work diary can change at quite short notice, so I'm sometimes stuck for options about where to go.
Car companies providing MPG figures whilst Garages sell fuel in litres....(approximately £6.77 per gallon at those prices. Robbing bar stewards)
Holiday snobs.
Apologies if I caused offence PB
my issue is with how some (and I do emphasise, some) British people behave on holiday, being obnoxious, treating locals like crap, throwing out the “You’ve only got a job because of folk like me” type comments, boorish and rudeness abound. I’ve seen this in a number of places abroad, not just Florida.
I have no doubts that you, your partner and your wee one will have a blast when you go. You’ve never struck me as anything like what I’ve described, and I’m sure you’ll enjoy yourselves
04-06-2018, 10:57 PM
Apologies if I caused offence PB
my issue is with how some (and I do emphasise, some) British people behave on holiday, being obnoxious, treating locals like crap, throwing out the “You’ve only got a job because of folk like me” type comments, boorish and rudeness abound. I’ve seen this in a number of places abroad, not just Florida.
I have no doubts that you, your partner and your wee one will have a blast when you go. You’ve never struck me as anything like what I’ve described, and I’m sure you’ll enjoy yourselves
:agree: Like the ones in "Shirley Valentine."
05-06-2018, 10:42 AM
[QUOTE=Alfiembra;5423189]Agree but also understand the economics behind it, the weak pound, rising oil price, fuel priced in dollars, it all adds up to costing us more. What I really hate is how quickly it shoots up, the fuel sitting in the tanks was bought and paid for weeks if not months ago on a contract basis, but price goes up overnight, should be illegal to sell it at the higher price until the old stock is sold out.[/QUOTE
Is the pound that weak? It's higher than the last time I went to America.
Alfiembra
05-06-2018, 12:00 PM
[/QUOTEIs the pound that weak? It's higher than the last time I went to America.
Down about 10% since March
05-06-2018, 05:40 PM
Down about 10% since March
4% up since last July
05-06-2018, 06:07 PM
Last 2 months has seen the steepest rise for 18 years. My local station is up another 1p a litre today.
pollution
05-06-2018, 06:43 PM
Bavaria lager has gone up by 25% at Lidl. That is a true pet hate!!
05-06-2018, 08:47 PM
Bavaria lager has gone up by 25% at Lidl. That is a true pet hate!!
Minimum pricing though isn't it.
06-06-2018, 08:16 AM
Last 2 months has seen the steepest rise for 18 years. My local station is up another 1p a litre today.
and you can bet it wont fall as quickly.
pollution
06-06-2018, 11:17 AM
Minimum pricing though isn't it.
Yes, you are right. I worked out the minimum price and that is correct.
Yet Tesco's website has it at £1. Does this apply in Scotland?
06-06-2018, 11:20 AM
Yes, you are right. I worked out the minimum price and that is correct.
Yet Tesco's website has it at £1. Does this apply in Scotland?
Most online sites have a tiny bit of small print saying £xx.xx in Scotland.
Lidl have a handy table showing just how much more they are making off drinker in Scotland compared to the rest of the UK. A 4 pack of pear cider is £1.99 in England and Wales and £4.25 here.
06-06-2018, 12:24 PM
She hates a rant about equality for women too, its about as funny as Jo Brand telling us she likes cake.
07-06-2018, 08:01 AM
School trips using public buses. They take up pretty much all of the upper deck, meaning quite often the bus is full and folk trying to go about their business can’t get on the bus and if they do get on then there are no seats. The bus also gets delayed as it takes an absolute age to get them on and off the bus. Not to mention the noise the kids make is horrendous.
I’ve encountered this 4 or 5 times in the last two weeks. It must be school trip season.
07-06-2018, 09:41 AM
School trips using public buses. They take up pretty much all of the upper deck, meaning quite often the bus is full and folk trying to go about their business can’t get on the bus and if they do get on then there are no seats. The bus also gets delayed as it takes an absolute age to get them on and off the bus. Not to mention the noise the kids make is horrendous.
I’ve encountered this 4 or 5 times in the last two weeks. It must be school trip season.
I think I'm somewhere near the opposite actually. I quite enjoy the excitement in the youngins' faces as they're out and about away from the classroom for the day, the way they look at us ordinary punters with curiosity and caution like they've never seen adults going about normal business before. Makes a change to being sat with grumpy, smelly, half-cut rude bus regulars that you often share your journey with.
I can see why you would get irritated though.. particularly if in a hurry :greengrin
07-06-2018, 09:49 AM
I think I'm somewhere near the opposite actually. I quite enjoy the excitement in the youngins' faces as they're out and about away from the classroom for the day, the way they look at us ordinary punters with curiosity and caution like they've never seen adults going about normal business before. Makes a change to being sat with grumpy, smelly, half-cut rude bus regulars that you often share your journey with.
I can see why you would get irritated though.. particularly if in a hurry :greengrin
:agree: I've never understood why people get annoyed at kids for being kids. We've all been there.
07-06-2018, 11:30 AM
Probably been mentioned already; the small single use dental flossing sticks. A real waste of material, and the number of folk who must use them as they're leaving home and then just toss them on the pavement is disgusting.
07-06-2018, 11:56 AM
God forbid the kids get excited about a day out :greengrin
Just be thankful it’s not everyday
speedy_gonzales
07-06-2018, 01:04 PM
Probably been mentioned already; the small single use dental flossing sticks. A real waste of material, and the number of folk who must use them as they're leaving home and then just toss them on the pavement is disgusting.
Although I've been aware of these for years I've just noticed them being dumped on my walking commute to the Gyle.
Over the past few months I've noticed what look like little yellow crucifixes with a small brush like object sticking out the end,,,, some commuter with a dental hygiene fix clearly can't use a bin!
07-06-2018, 01:10 PM
Saving money and helping the environment by using public transport - whats not to like?
Cant you just wait on the next bus? it'll only be a few minutes behind :greengrin
07-06-2018, 03:55 PM
In my hoose, she's filed in the "No' very funny" section. :yawn:
pollution
07-06-2018, 04:27 PM
Although I've been aware of these for years I've just noticed them being dumped on my walking commute to the Gyle.
Over the past few months I've noticed what look like little yellow crucifixes with a small brush like object sticking out the end,,,, some commuter with a dental hygiene fix clearly can't use a bin!
These are brilliant if you get a snapped floss stuck deep in your teeth!
07-06-2018, 09:48 PM
People too stupid to pay by card at a supermarket.
The card goes in the machine. Wrong pin. Try again. Wrong pin again. Card comes out. Goes back in. Out again. Back in. Another pin attempt. Hits cancel instead of ok. Card back out. Looks through wallet for no reason. Card back in.
07-06-2018, 10:00 PM
People too stupid to pay by card at a supermarket.
The card goes in the machine. Wrong pin. Try again. Wrong pin again. Card comes out. Goes back in. Out again. Back in. Another pin attempt. Hits cancel instead of ok. Card back out. Looks through wallet for no reason. Card back in.
You shouldn't be too hard on yourself. Sometimes you can have days like that😀
08-06-2018, 06:55 AM
All the adverts for gambling on tv these day, it's a ridiculous amount every day. No wonder the UK has an issue with problem gamblers. They can't recover properly with these adverts on tv all the time.
08-06-2018, 08:15 AM
Those cheesy do-good crusaders (usually community councillor types) who inflict their hair-brained ideas on everybody's day to day life and change things that have worked fine for years and years.
This constant thirst for change for change sake does my head in. :grr:
08-06-2018, 11:28 AM
They sound like the attachments that fit onto the battery operated plaque removers, as promoted by dentists and completely useless frankly.
09-06-2018, 11:56 AM
People that go on holiday and seem to wear nothing but the same football strip every day, Celtic fans seem to be the worst for this but I’m sorry I need to include hibs fans in this too.
It must be absolutely stinking after a few days.
People that go on holiday and seem to wear nothing but the same football strip every day, Celtic fans seem to be the worst for this but I’m sorry I need to include hibs fans in this too.
Ive never been on a holiday in the last 20 years where I’ve not seen both Celtic and Rangers tops
09-06-2018, 04:19 PM
It's when the entire family are full kit ****ers, always guaranteed to be weegies.
09-06-2018, 06:31 PM
It's when the entire family are full kit ****ers, always guaranteed to be weegies.
Or geordies
09-06-2018, 07:03 PM
Ive never been on a holiday in the last 20 years where I’ve not seen both Celtic and Rangers tops
We went to Belfast recently for a few days. I never saw a Celtic or Rangers top there.
Plenty Man Utd and Liverpool.
09-06-2018, 09:54 PM
I was in Bratislava at the end of last month, seen a plum wearing a Celtic top. The wearing of football tops when you're over 30 should be banned, especially when your teams not even playing that day or even in that country!
Rubbish. People can wear what they want. Im a woman way waaay over thirty and have been known to wear a football top on occasion.
Football strips are the easiest thing to wash on holiday, quick handwash,dry in no time and no ironing. Easy and light to pack. My kids lived in them on all our hols
10-06-2018, 06:41 PM
Grown men who rev their engines and wheel spin in car parks, at junctions, traffic lights etc.
It's almost understandable from an 18 year old in his Mums Corsa but a man in his 20s, 30s 40s in his BMW 1 Series just looks utterly ridiculous.
pollution
10-06-2018, 07:05 PM
Freeview channels that disappear without reason.
I lost ten or 11 today...
10-06-2018, 09:09 PM
Football strips are the easiest thing to wash on holiday, quick handwash,dry in no time and no ironing. Easy and light to pack. My kids lived in them on all our hols
That's all I take for my youngest.
5 strips from eBay every year .
10-06-2018, 11:16 PM
Just to backtrack a bit I was talking about adults wearing them every day.
No problems with kids wearing football strips on holiday every day, they generally don’t stink that much anyway.
11-06-2018, 12:38 AM
Freeview channels that disappear without reason.
I lost ten or 11 today...
I'm about to lose the lot as my TV licence renewal is due soon and I'm telling them to shove it.
Nothing but 24/7 of crap on the TV these days. It's :bye: time.
11-06-2018, 07:14 AM
People who drive quad bikes on holiday and think they look trendy or cool or whatever the latest word is. Just grow up and leave the death traps to the under 25's.
11-06-2018, 07:15 AM
Greek island airports, the definition of which is "staggering incompetence" according to the OED.
11-06-2018, 04:15 PM
I wear Hibs tops now and again at the ripe old age of 40, and my pet peeve is folk who think I shouldn't. Up ye's. :greengrin
Just to backtrack a bit I was talking about adults wearing them every day.
No problems with kids wearing football strips on holiday every day, they generally don’t stink that much anyway.
Yeah I got that, my point was just that they are easy to wash. I just used the kids as an example
12-06-2018, 07:30 AM
People who moan abt a few pence added on to fuel get a bike or electric car
12-06-2018, 08:38 AM
I wear Hibs tops now and again at the ripe old age of 40, and my pet peeve is folk who think I shouldn't. Up ye's. :greengrin
Fair enough Matty however, I thought it was advisable to stop wearing fitba tops when I passed 14st. as I started to look more like a barrage balloon than a player. :embarrass
Your still a young un! :greengrin
12-06-2018, 09:05 AM
I'm 58 and I'm thinking about buying the new top.
I'm also considerably more than 14 stone.
If you've got it, flaunt it.
Whatever "it" may be.
Im with you radge :aok:
Although im neither 58 nor 14 stones :na na:
12-06-2018, 10:47 AM
Whatever "it" may be.
I bought last years thing of beauty so it is. Just like the guy who wears it :tee hee:
12-06-2018, 11:22 AM
Im with you radge :aok:
Although im neither 58 nor 14 stones :na na:
I'm 14 and 58 stone.
pollution
12-06-2018, 11:25 AM
Princess Street.
12-06-2018, 11:27 AM
Princess Street.
That one is so common and its always confused me. I just can't see any reason why people spell it with the extra "s". Unless they actually think its Princess Street...
12-06-2018, 12:45 PM
That one is so common and its always confused me. I just can't see any reason why people spell it with the extra "s". Unless they actually think its Princess Street...
I thought it was bizarre when my English uni mate kept saying "Princess St"... which I'd never heard of. Turns out there's a fairly big street in Manchester (and I dare say hundreds of other places) called that, which explains his version.
I'm 14 and 58 stone.
That comes as no surprise
12-06-2018, 02:02 PM
Princess Street.
I can't help it for some reason - I actually think most people I know call it Princess street. :greengrin
Taxi drivers moaning about you paying in card. I'm curious if they always pay in cash for everything they buy or are just hypocrites. It's 2018, even chip and pin is "old school" now.
12-06-2018, 02:16 PM
I can't help it for some reason - I actually think most people I know call it Princess street. :greengrin
Taxi drivers moaning about you paying in card. I'm curious if they always pay in cash for everything they buy or are just hypocrites. It's 2018, even chip and pin is "old school" now.
And if it’s such an issue, why do they offer it at all?
12-06-2018, 02:23 PM
And if it’s such an issue, why do they offer it at all?
Some don't! Thankfully my other half had cash on her last time I was in one.
Apparently it's only if they explicitly advertise that they take card that they will, that should be the other way round in my opinion - they should advertise that they don't.
12-06-2018, 02:46 PM
I think they have to wait a week or 2 to get the money if paid on account or by card?
And of course it’s easier to diddle the taxman if only taking cash.
12-06-2018, 03:10 PM
Those drivers are dinosaurs in my opinion and do the trade a disservice.
It doesn't bother me in the least.
12-06-2018, 04:02 PM
I think they have to wait a week or 2 to get the money if paid on account or by card?
And of course it’s easier to diddle the taxman if only taking cash.
2 weeks seems excessive! I appreciate that it also comes with a cost to process card payments too - but I just think it shouldn't still be the case in 2018.
Those drivers are dinosaurs in my opinion and do the trade a disservice.
It doesn't bother me in the least.
Good to know! Maybe just been unlucky the last few times with cab drivers. "Card?!? What's wrong with you people" was my favourite response.
12-06-2018, 04:06 PM
I must confess, I did up until I was about 16 years old.
12-06-2018, 04:15 PM
2 weeks seems excessive! I appreciate that it also comes with a cost to process card payments too - but I just think it shouldn't still be the case in 2018.
Good to know! Maybe just been unlucky the last few times with cab drivers. "Card?!? What's wrong with you people" was my favourite response.
If you're an owner it can actually be longer than 2 weeks I believe. Someone may correct me but I think the owner wont get it till the end of the following month.
12-06-2018, 05:05 PM
That comes as no surprise
Reported.
Reported.
Awww naww! Cant cope :na na:
12-06-2018, 05:20 PM
Awww naww! Cant cope :na na:
I wouldn't worry, Mrs S. I'm in more danger of reporting myself than anyone else to be fair 😂
Back on topic...usb ports.
Insert.
Doesn't fit.
Turn it round and insert.
Doesn't fit.
Turn it round to original way and insert.
Fits.
Every f******g time. Actually rages me.
80s style returning. Saw a group of guys today all dressed like Tubs & Crocket. Also t shirts and sweatshirts with MASSIVE logos. Maybe it's where I live. Also maybe as I am old enough to have seen too many fashion revivals
12-06-2018, 05:59 PM
Nosey neighbours, theres a guy where I stay who comes out his house to look at whatever you're doing! Out watering the grass (got new turf laid) he's there, getting a delivery of furniture any other item he's there, washing the car he's there, coming in from work or from the shops he's out his house looking and what you're doing. Neighbours further down got a concrete mix delivered on Saturday morning to concrete their garden it kept me up as I was trying to sleep after nightshift, Mr nosey was there watching everything. Thing is he doesn't even speak to you when he appears, he just stands and watches with a cigarette in his hand. Strange behaviour.
12-06-2018, 07:26 PM
Named for two Princes, plural, George and Frederick. Road of Stables of A King = King's Stables Road. Street of Princes = Princes's Street. People who are not grocer's are happy to lose the apostrophe, so Princess Street it is. :agree:
12-06-2018, 07:42 PM
I can't see why you are confused. It's such a common mistake that it's obviously easily done. Especially when hearing it said in so many different accents and how so many people pronounce it a Princess Street.
12-06-2018, 08:49 PM
I can't see why you are confused. It's such a common mistake that it's obviously easily done. Especially when hearing it said in so many different accents and how so many people pronounce it a Princess Street.
I have never heard it pronounced Princess Street in my life!!
12-06-2018, 11:16 PM
Roller coasters.......
More specifically though the pressure to go on them, now I’m a bit of a *****bag by nature but I’m terrified of heights, get proper vertigo so I spent the majority of my life refusing to go near them, the last 5 or 6 years I decided to conquer my fear and went on quite a few and became alright with them, I’ve now decided I’m happy I’ve conquered my fear but I don’t really find the build up to them worth the enjoyment that comes with actually doing it so decided not to bother any more, Try saying that to anyone though and it’s like you’ve got two heads!
Why can’t people that like them not just go on them without trying to persuade others to go on them and let me be a *****bag in peace?
12-06-2018, 11:33 PM
That advert for sofology with that American actor **** Owen Wilson.
13-06-2018, 05:12 AM
Unbeknownst to you at the time, usually in the work's kitchen, plonking a wet teaspoon into the coffee jar. Burns my soul.
13-06-2018, 05:20 AM
Unbeknownst to you at the time, usually in the work's kitchen, plonking a wet teaspoon into the coffee jar. Burns my soul.
On a par with coffee bits in the sugar jar.
13-06-2018, 06:11 AM
On a par with coffee bits in the sugar jar.
The darkest corners of hell are reserved for people who infiltrate the sugar jar with coffee grains.
13-06-2018, 07:36 AM
Princess Street.
Hollyrood.
13-06-2018, 08:42 AM
The darkest corners of hell are reserved for people who infiltrate the sugar jar with coffee grains.
I bet you love it when crumbs of toast and smears of jam get in with the butter.
pollution
13-06-2018, 11:28 AM
Named for two Princes, plural, George and Frederick. Road of Stables of A King = King's Stables Road. Street of Princes = Princes's Street. People who are not grocer's are happy to lose the apostrophe, so Princess Street it is. :agree:
It was originally Princes' Street being named after two Princes as you said. The apostrophe was lost 100 years ago, or so.
13-06-2018, 06:49 PM
I have never heard it pronounced Princess Street in my life!!
Aye right then.
13-06-2018, 06:53 PM
I bet you love it when crumbs of toast and smears of jam get in with the butter.
That really does my head in.
13-06-2018, 07:42 PM
That advert for sofology with that American actor **** Owen Wilson.
Wilson has a very punchable face at the best of times.
14-06-2018, 07:02 AM
It was originally Princes' Street being named after two Princes as you said. The apostrophe was lost 100 years ago, or so.
Probably in the euphoric, chaotic celebrations following Hearts's most famous victory.
14-06-2018, 07:44 PM
Grown men and women referring to their pets as their "wee boy" or "wee girl" - or even more tragic and puerile - call themselves their mutt's "Mummy" or "Daddy".
I feel there's no need to explain why that's so cringeworthy.
14-06-2018, 08:56 PM
Grown men and women referring to their pets as their "wee boy" or "wee girl" - or even more tragic and puerile - call themselves their mutt's "Mummy" or "Daddy".
It's quite sad if the pet is a child substitute. But sickening too.
14-06-2018, 09:44 PM
How frequently leaders in my workplace (one in particular) use the word ‘fundamentally’ or ‘fundamental’
14-06-2018, 10:22 PM
This 100% - and I hear it a lot! :brickwall
15-06-2018, 01:05 AM
Roaster material that.
15-06-2018, 06:19 AM
When folk get wound up about this sort of thing. To me that is cringeworthy!
15-06-2018, 07:27 AM
Or trying to convince parents that being a pet owner carries the same responsibility as being a parent.
Watching the WC in Sweden and they change the channel the are showing the game on at half-time does my nut in
15-06-2018, 07:39 PM
Fuds in the crowd at The World Cup waving their phones in the air with the light on.
15-06-2018, 09:04 PM
I've read on more than one occasion Amercian women refer to themselves as a "fur mummy" which should be a criminal offence.
15-06-2018, 09:05 PM
Fuds in the crowd at The World Cup waving their phones in the air with the light on.
I'd expand that to any roaster that is watching an event through their phone.
15-06-2018, 09:51 PM
Grown men or women who clearly should not breed for socio-economic, generic or any other reason deciding to have kid(s) instead of just buying a ****** cat or dug!!
Nae need.
17-06-2018, 06:13 PM
Allowing myself to believe that I can move a brick wall by trying to reason with it.
19-06-2018, 07:58 AM
Drinking games. What’s the point, unless you’re a teenaged girl?
In my experience: they’re not fun or funny. The whole “drink two fingers thing” means you’re drinking less than if you were just sitting enjoying your drink as normal. And the objective of the game (to get you pished) is what will happen if you just sit and drink with your mates anyway.
Or then there’s the ones where there’s one minging drink for someone to down at the end of each round, where inevitably the loud mouths and bullies of the group will ensure one person gets absolutely slaughtered.
Give me sitting arguing endlessly about stupid topics any day of the week, while I enjoy my bevy.
19-06-2018, 10:06 AM
Drinking games. What’s the point, unless you’re a teenaged girl?
In my experience: they’re not fun or funny. The whole “drink two fingers thing” means you’re drinking less than if you were just sitting enjoying your drink as normal. And the objective of the game (to get you pished) is what will happen if you just sit and drink with your mates anyway.
Or then there’s the ones where there’s one minging drink for someone to down at the end of each round, where inevitably the loud mouths and bullies of the group will ensure one person gets absolutely slaughtered.
Give me sitting arguing endlessly about stupid topics any day of the week, while I enjoy my bevy.
Folk have died because of those idiotic drinking 'games'. :crazy:
19-06-2018, 08:14 PM
I'm a bit peeved that Zara Philips has had a baby. I've now dropped down yet another place in succession to the throne.
19-06-2018, 09:57 PM
I'm a bit peeved that Zara Philips has had a baby. I've now dropped down yet another place in succession to the throne.
You should cash that bet out before her kids have kids.
21-06-2018, 03:04 PM
This might have already been covered, but people who end sentences with the word "but". (... other than in the way that I've just done it...). I'm no stickler for grammer, I couldn't care less about most things, but I would assume to wait for more information when someone says the word but. (done it again)
"The shop shuts at 9 but" ... I don't know when it started and I don't know why it started, but it confuses the heck out of me.
In hindsight, there were a lot of but's in that post.
21-06-2018, 03:07 PM
This might have already been covered, but people who end sentences with the word "but". (... other than in the way that I've just done it...). I'm no stickler for grammer, I couldn't care less about most things, but I would assume to wait for more information when someone says the word but. (done it again)
"The shop shuts at 9 but" ... I don't know when it started and I don't know why it started, but it confuses the heck out of me.
My in laws from Coatbridge use this a lot. It's the Lanarkshire equivalent of Edinburghers using the word eh. Whilst some weegies add sure at the end of their sentences.
21-06-2018, 03:11 PM
My in laws from Coatbridge use this a lot. It's the Lanarkshire equivalent of Edinburghers using the word eh. Whilst some weegies add sure at the end of their sentences.
I thought "eh" was a Fife thing. :confused:
I used to use it a lot, until I came to Edinburgh and had people point it out to me.
21-06-2018, 06:24 PM
You get this a lot in the German language in some regional dialects. In the south west they end their sentences with "gell", in the north west with "nah" and in the Prussian heartlands with "wa". It does my head in because it makes everything sound like a question.
hibs#1
21-06-2018, 07:38 PM
I thought "eh" was a Fife thing. :confused:
I used to use it a lot, until I came to Edinburgh and had people point it out to me.
I'm from Stirling and we use "eh" I had never noticed before then worked with a guy from Port Glasgow who regularly pointed it out.
21-06-2018, 08:31 PM
You don’t hear it do often these days but I mind folks using the word ‘well’ in exactly the same way.
“The shop’s open again at 7 the morn, well”
21-06-2018, 08:50 PM
In hindsight, there were a lot of but's in that post.Shift the "But" to the start of the sentence and it makes perfect sense, but.
Sent from my SM-A520F using Tapatalk
I'm from Stirling and we use "eh" I had never noticed before then worked with a guy from Port Glasgow who regularly pointed it out.
I use eh a lot even in texts. Im not really from anywhere :greengrin. Edinburgh would be where id say but ive not lived there for nearly 30 years
Weegies also like to end with a variation of:
- so I did
- so they will
21-06-2018, 10:10 PM
- so I did
- so they will
That's Irish.
21-06-2018, 11:05 PM
That's Irish.
Or just 'so' by itself.
21-06-2018, 11:08 PM
Back on track, TV adverts that feature someone speaking to camera and reciting a pish poem, usually with over-accentuated hand or arm movements.
Nationwide first, now Giffgaff :grr:
21-06-2018, 11:10 PM
Back on track, TV adverts that feature someone speaking to camera and reciting a pish poem, usually with over-accentuated hand or arm movements.
Nationwide first, now Giffgaff :grr:
I mentioned the one with the girl leaning against the car a couple of pages ago, absolute nonsense.
22-06-2018, 08:12 AM
This new fashion of wrecking threads with "puns"
'Kin brutal.
Same folk over and over again trolling threads with what they think are clever puns.
It's got to the stage where I don't even open threads when I see the last post is from the wee band of punsters.
22-06-2018, 08:22 AM
This new fashion of wrecking threads with "puns"
'Kin brutal.
Same folk over and over again trolling threads with what they think are clever puns.
It's got to the stage where I don't even open threads when I see the last post is from the wee band of punsters.
Agreed. It’s getting to the point where it’s ruining Hibs.net because of how frequent it is. A few of them are fine, but the thread about Dylan is mostly 3 pages full of puns. I opened it to read what was happening with him and got fed up of reading it.
22-06-2018, 10:55 AM
Agreed. It’s getting to the point where it’s ruining Hibs.net because of how frequent it is. A few of them are fine, but the thread about Dylan is mostly 3 pages full of puns. I opened it to read what was happening with him and got fed up of reading it.
Agree, its even creeping onto the pm board. Very frustrating.
22-06-2018, 12:47 PM
It’s just the summer it’s this bad, it’s the same every year when there’s very little to discuss.
I’m not really a big fan of them myself but can understand why it happens when there’s nothing else happening.
22-06-2018, 04:42 PM
I'm a bit of a punsters myself however, I agree it's gone OTT.
One or two per thread - fine.
Anymore - thread killer.
22-06-2018, 04:46 PM
Beggars
More specifically the ones that have taken to sitting directly outside Scotmid doors.
I noticed today that the guy I've seen sitting on Easter Road a lot was sitting at the one at Roseburn, are they all organised together I wonder?
Sent from my SM-G925F using Tapatalk
22-06-2018, 04:48 PM
- so I did
- so they will
I know someone who finishes almost every sentence with " Do you know what I mean?"
You never notice it till you notice it, do you know what I mean?
22-06-2018, 05:28 PM
I know someone who finishes almost every sentence with " Do you know what I mean?"
You never notice it till you notice it, do you know what I mean?Ha ha!
It's so bloody irritating! "Are you with me?"
Ps there's a wee clue there as to what phrase is irritating me at the mo, are you with me? :greengrin
22-06-2018, 05:42 PM
Whilst some weegies add sure at the end of their sentences.
- so I did
- so they will
Lot of picking on weegies in this thread by the way.
22-06-2018, 06:25 PM
Theres a guy I sometimes work with from through the west, we can him "so it is" as he ends every sentence with so it is or so I did. :greengrin
22-06-2018, 07:02 PM
Lot of picking on weegies in this thread by the way.
Dead right, big man.
22-06-2018, 08:49 PM
Theres a guy I sometimes work with from through the west, we can him "so it is" as he ends every sentence with so it is or so I did. :greengrin
Is he a The Hun by any chance? That’s a very Northern Irish thing. I worked with a guy who claimed to be an ex member of one of the loyalist groups. He ended everything with “so it is”, “so it was”, “so I am”, “so ye are”, etc.
The best was one was when you would point out something to him which could legitimately provoke a response of “oh, so it is”. He would reply “oh so it is, so it is”.
22-06-2018, 11:35 PM
Is he a The Hun by any chance? That’s a very Northern Irish thing. I worked with a guy who claimed to be an ex member of one of the loyalist groups. He ended everything with “so it is”, “so it was”, “so I am”, “so ye are”, etc.
The best was one was when you would point out something to him which could legitimately provoke a response of “oh, so it is”. He would reply “oh so it is, so it is”.
Believe it or not he's actually a Celtic fan so he is. :greengrin
23-06-2018, 06:42 AM
Beggars
More specifically the ones that have taken to sitting directly outside Scotmid doors.
I noticed today that the guy I've seen sitting on Easter Road a lot was sitting at the one at Roseburn, are they all organised together I wonder?
It's a co-operative.
23-06-2018, 01:40 PM
When you accidentally click the wrong tab on this site and end up marking all the threads as read.
I normally click the quick links tab then subscribed threads but on my phone I end up clicking the Forum actions tab and Mark all as read.
Well it bothers me :greengrin
23-06-2018, 03:50 PM
It's a co-operative.[emoji16]
23-06-2018, 08:23 PM
Scottish people who use the word "craic".
Probably the same types who come out with "Hey Dude".
23-06-2018, 08:33 PM
Is it just Scottish people who say it that annoy you? It's a word that had come into the English language and is used to describe a good time or good fun. A bit like restaurant, cafe, cul-de-sac, garage, patio etc etc
23-06-2018, 08:53 PM
The Beatles? :-)
23-06-2018, 09:45 PM
The Beatles? :-)Kula Shaker [emoji12]
23-06-2018, 10:22 PM
Guys, mainly teenagers it appears, who do the top button up on their coat but don’t button/zip any other part of it. It looks like they are wearing a cape. What’s that all about?
23-06-2018, 11:19 PM
Guys, mainly teenagers it appears, who do the top button up on their coat but don’t button/zip any other part of it. It looks like they are wearing a cape. What’s that all about?
Gross stupidity, that's what it's about.
24-06-2018, 06:35 AM
Is it just Scottish people who say it that annoy you? It's a word that had come into the English language and is used to describe a good time or good fun. A bit like restaurant, cafe, cul-de-sac, garage, patio etc etc
Yes, most probably because it's used mainly by student types.
If a grown man over 30 is using it that should warrant a prison stay.
24-06-2018, 09:30 AM
People who think that particular things shouldn't be worn/said/done by particular age groups.
[emoji849]
24-06-2018, 10:22 AM
If a grown man over 30 is using it that should warrant a prison stay.I've used the word for more than 30 years. Where does that put me?
24-06-2018, 10:25 AM
I've used the word for more than 30 years. Where does that put me?
Locked up in a halls of residence?
People who think that particular things shouldn't be worn/said/done by particular age groups.
[emoji849]
50 is the new 20. If i want to wear ripped jeans and say but at the end of every sentence I will! :greengrin
24-06-2018, 11:31 AM
If a grown man over 30 is using it that should warrant a prison stay.
I know loads of guys well over 30 who use that word - none imprisoned thankfully. Use it occasionally myself. Not quite sure what you're on about!
Eaststand
24-06-2018, 12:25 PM
50 is the new 20. If i want to wear ripped jeans and say but at the end of every sentence I will! :greengrin
Yeah but, no but, surely 60 is the new 20 :-0
Know wot a mean
:-)
24-06-2018, 08:14 PM
50 is the new 20. If i want to wear ripped jeans and say but at the end of every sentence I will! :greengrinCool, dude.
25-06-2018, 02:10 AM
Cyclists on the canal towpath who don't ring on approach.
When you're out walking you have to keep checking behind.
Mind you, it's getting that way on the pavements too. Ridiculous.
25-06-2018, 06:51 AM
Cyclists on the canal towpath who don't ring on approach.
Perhaps they don't have your number. :-)
25-06-2018, 07:10 AM
25-06-2018, 07:16 AM
The amount of anti English drivel I hear spouted in pubs when the World Cup is on. I completely accept we are the auld enemy and don't expect any support from a rival but the reasoning and pish that is spouted to justify it is tiresome and indeed in some cases just childish. Grown men grouping together like a playground posse what a bunch of sad bustrads.
25-06-2018, 07:24 AM
Hey you should be in showbiz!
25-06-2018, 11:17 AM
The amount of anti English drivel I hear spouted in pubs when the World Cup is on. I completely accept we are the auld enemy and don't expect any support from a rival but the reasoning and pish that is spouted to justify it is tiresome and indeed in some cases just childish. Grown men grouping together like a playground posse what a bunch of sad bustrads.
The worst is the complaints about the commentators, as if we have completely impartial commentators when Scotland play.
Was driving out to Alloa through Oakley yesterday, and some guy had the Scottish flag flying in his back garden, along with the flags of the other teams in England's group.
25-06-2018, 01:18 PM
I love a bit of banter about football but there's a line that some people seem oblivious to. My partner is English and I've heard some of the ***** aimed at her when football is involved, including sadly at a Hibs game. Inevitably it tends to be when drink is involved.
I think a lot of folk either don't realise or just don't car they are doing it.
25-06-2018, 01:53 PM
Try being the only Scot in an English regiment.
25-06-2018, 03:50 PM
I love a bit of banter about football but there's a line that some people seem oblivious to. My partner is English and I've heard some of the ***** aimed at her when football is involved, including sadly at a Hibs game. Inevitably it tends to be when drink is involved.
I think a lot of folk either don't realise or just don't car they are doing it.
Not all Hibbies are nice. Quite a lot are horrible. Like everywhere else!
25-06-2018, 04:02 PM
The worst is the complaints about the commentators, as if we have completely impartial commentators when Scotland play.
Was driving out to Alloa through Oakley yesterday, and some guy had the Scottish flag flying in his back garden, along with the flags of the other teams in England's group.
See, I find that quite funny.
It's silly and it's light-hearted.
There is some genuinely vindictive stuff out there that has no place.
My biggest problem with the whole England Scotland thing is that we aren't good enough at taking what we dish out ourselves, and we can't understand how hypocritical 99% of the stuff we say is.
25-06-2018, 06:12 PM
Try being the only Scot in an English regiment.
Not sure what relevance that has to my experience to be honest. Pretty sure there will be plenty of banter without any malice from your comrades in arms. I have been the only Englishman in plenty of similar work related positions it doesn't compare to what I described, the banter from work colleagues is great.
25-06-2018, 06:35 PM
Not sure what relevance that has to my experience to be honest. Pretty sure there will be plenty of banter without any malice from your comrades in arms. I have been the only Englishman in plenty of similar work related positions it doesn't compare to what I described, the banter from work colleagues is great.
You'd like to think so. It was all banter providing there was no alcohol involved but the masks came off once the beer started flowing. My understanding of banter is that it goes back and forth, tit for tat. However that wasn't the experience I made amongst this particular Mackem regiment I was attached to. Can't remember the amount of times I had to physically defend myself after being assaulted for the heinous crime of being Scottish.
Of course that doesn't make your experience any better but if you'd believe some on here then you'd think that the Scots were the only aggressor.
25-06-2018, 06:46 PM
Hotel restaurants that serve their condiments in packets.
25-06-2018, 06:50 PM
You'd like to think so. It was all banter providing there was no alcohol involved but the masks came off once the beer started flowing. My understanding of banter is that it goes back and forth, tit for tat. However that wasn't the experience I made amongst this particular Mackem regiment I was attached to. Can't remember the amount of times I had to physically defend myself after being assaulted for the heinous crime of being Scottish.
Of course that doesn't make your experience any better but if you'd believe some on here then you'd think that the Scots were the only aggressor.
That sounds pretty horrendous, I certainly wasn't suggesting that Scots are the only aggressors that can take this form particularly when alcohol and football is involved.
Your experience sounds far worse than anything I have ever experienced. Disgusting mob mentality from trained soldiers is deplorable.
25-06-2018, 08:32 PM
That sounds pretty horrendous, I certainly wasn't suggesting that Scots are the only aggressors that can take this form particularly when alcohol and football is involved.
Your experience sounds far worse than anything I have ever experienced. Disgusting mob mentality from trained soldiers is deplorable.
I didn't think for a moment you were Scouse and I only added my experience for balance. My experience wasn't just a bigot thing, there was probably a cap badge element to it too. People can be right dicks when they're in a group and feel untouchable.
26-06-2018, 12:35 PM
Companies who can't keep their promises. I ordered a caravan last summer and was promised I'd have it by May this year. It's been built and is sitting at the manufacturer waiting to be delivered to the dealer but they can't find any transport company to deliver it. I'm absolutely livid because the holiday has already been paid for. Ferry tickets for me and the vehicle and flights for the wife and kid. Not to mention the thousands I've spent on equipping the damn thing for the holiday. :grrr
26-06-2018, 12:44 PM
Companies who can't keep their promises. I ordered a caravan last summer and was promised I'd have it by May this year. It's been built and is sitting at the manufacturer waiting to be delivered to the dealer but they can't find any transport company to deliver it. I'm absolutely livid because the holiday has already been paid for. Ferry tickets for me and the vehicle and flights for the wife and kid. Not to mention the thousands I've spent on equipping the damn thing for the holiday. :grrr
Sorry to hear that mate - that's ridiculous. Simple Procedure court claim would be the next step if it were me I reckon - not sure if there's something similar in Germany?
26-06-2018, 12:47 PM
See, I find that quite funny.
It's silly and it's light-hearted.
There is some genuinely vindictive stuff out there that has no place.
My biggest problem with the whole England Scotland thing is that we aren't good enough at taking what we dish out ourselves, and we can't understand how hypocritical 99% of the stuff we say is.
Yeah, I agree; if I saw that I'd laugh and I'd imagine most England fans I know would find that quite funny too.
Re: the abuse stuff, there's obvious a line between abuse and banter which is usually self-policed within a mixed group. As has already been said though, what some people think they can get away with in mob mentality is, quite literally, criminal.
26-06-2018, 10:34 PM
Sorry to hear that mate - that's ridiculous. Simple Procedure court claim would be the next step if it were me I reckon - not sure if there's something similar in Germany?
That will be my next course of action. First I'll give them the chance to lend me a replacement for the holiday.
Mixu62
27-06-2018, 03:13 AM
A pet hate I wasn't fully aware of until recently. Packet of some foodstuff with a "tear here" instruction. Tear here you say? Right here? Seems simple enough, Ok I'll just start tearing here then and....aaawwwww heck.... Latest one is those multipacks of porridge, cos my boy likes them from breakfast. Try to separate 2 of them without tearing into a pack, go on I dare you!!
27-06-2018, 07:16 AM
A pet hate I wasn't fully aware of until recently. Packet of some foodstuff with a "tear here" instruction. Tear here you say? Right here? Seems simple enough, Ok I'll just start tearing here then and....aaawwwww heck.... Latest one is those multipacks of porridge, cos my boy likes them from breakfast. Try to separate 2 of them without tearing into a pack, go on I dare you!!
Similar to this; the wee folds on packets of bacon, ham etc that are supposed to open the whole packet when you pull it but in reality just take the full outside rim of the packaging off so you need to get wired in with a knife or scissors to actually open the packet.
27-06-2018, 10:29 AM
Lying in bed about to fall asleep and the wife asks me where I am working in the morning . WTF?
She also does this with jobs that are needing done in the house.
Drifting off to sleep as she'll say "oh , bathroom cabinet door needs fixing "
Drives me Absolutley insane.
27-06-2018, 10:39 AM
Lying in bed about to fall asleep and the wife asks me where I am working in the morning . WTF?
My Mrs does that as well, think it's a sign that I'm good company though because when she's sleeping I'll do anything I can to keep the place quiet so as not to wake her, so I can get some peace :greengrin
I think there's a sensor somewhere that lets everyone in the house know when my arse has hit the sofa, because I can't go more than a couple of minutes without someone shouting for something.
27-06-2018, 04:44 PM
I can see a lot of people on here posting a "Me2".
27-06-2018, 04:48 PM
I can see a lot of people on here posting a "Me2".
The way they can ask "are you sleeping" just as you are about to be. I try to ignore it but it's usually followed by a wee nudge.
27-06-2018, 04:52 PM
The way they can ask "are you sleeping" just as you are about to be. I try to ignore it but it's usually followed by a wee nudge.
My Ex used to do that regularly :grr:
It could be her trying to keep you awake so she falls asleep first and doesnt hear you snoring!!! Shes being nice, i just used to kick mine :greengrin
28-06-2018, 08:26 PM
Similar to this; the wee folds on packets of bacon, ham etc that are supposed to open the whole packet when you pull it but in reality just take the full outside rim of the packaging off so you need to get wired in with a knife or scissors to actually open the packet.
Or the cellophane tops of mini tomato or grapes containers that pull off leaving a jagged design still attached.
I dunno how else to describe it!
28-06-2018, 10:34 PM
TV adverts for make-up cleansing products which don't clean any of the overly made up models' make up.
They look more made up after they've used the make-up cleansing product.
FFS.
And I didn't make that up.
28-06-2018, 10:36 PM
The lack of puns since the world cup properly started.
Terrible shame.
29-06-2018, 02:19 PM
People that wear baseball caps but tuck their ears into them
29-06-2018, 02:28 PM
When you look up the meaning of a word or phrase on the Net and the derivation is claimed to be American whether it actuually is or isn't. The sole reason being that US researchers think that the American War of Independence was the beginning of the world. i.e. Genesis. :bandit:
29-06-2018, 03:17 PM
When a pc programme updates and changes all your personal settings to default.
:fuming: :timebomb: :grr: :furious: :brickwall :sairhead:
30-06-2018, 11:58 PM
Russell Kane, bellend, My dad's a racist, thats my routine finished.
01-07-2018, 12:18 AM
When you ask a hipster a question they start off with So.
Who started that then?
01-07-2018, 05:33 AM
Not being able to sleep despite the fact I've been awake for over 20 hours. Still in nightshift mode.
01-07-2018, 09:26 AM
When you go to Liverpool for a stag do, join up with them at 6pm only to see the stag absolutely blootered and taken home at 7pm!
pollution
01-07-2018, 11:18 AM
I blame Australian soaps...