View Full Version : Pet Peeves IV

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 [48] 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57

17-08-2023, 10:29 AM
A few weeks ago my son was playing football and the reek coming over from the opposition side was horrendous. Big public park but the wind must have been in the wrong direction for us. My boy was on the wing and said the 2nd half was fun when he was right beside it!

I realised my football 'career' was over when I signed for a team that had players smoking it in the changing room before the game and again by the side of the pitch at HT.

I'd gone from a very good level to that and I just couldn't motivate myself to give up the time anymore to play with guys who just didn't give a toss.

Jay
17-08-2023, 10:30 AM
Eldest has just gone into 2nd year. Said there are a few that have been smoking it since P7.

The amount of kids that are vaping as well is mental. Probably is a weed scented vape out there

Vaping is out of control . I don't undertsand why it's not clamped down on and why we sell disposable ones . Our park is littered with them . They stink too. I hate walking about continually smelling someone puffing out strawberry marshmallow or blueberry air . I also think people are addicted quicker because they puff on them continually rather than have 10 fags a day, the amount of nicotine they take in must be much higher than smoking cigarettes , I know the bad stuffs not in there but the addictive stuff is.

17-08-2023, 10:43 AM
Vaping is out of control . I don't undertsand why it's not clamped down on and why we sell disposable ones . Our park is littered with them . They stink too. I hate walking about continually smelling someone puffing out strawberry marshmallow or blueberry air . I also think people are addicted quicker because they puff on them continually rather than have 10 fags a day, the amount of nicotine they take in must be much higher than smoking cigarettes , I know the bad stuffs not in there but the addictive stuff is.There’s a level of arrogance with vaping as well (not saying this is everyone), where you see people openly vaping at the football or other sports venues, in shops/shopping centres, public transport, even restaurants occasionally. Never used to see that with smoking once the laws changed 20 or so years ago.

Jay
17-08-2023, 10:48 AM
There’s a level of arrogance with vaping as well (not saying this is everyone), where you see people openly vaping at the football or other sports venues, in shops/shopping centres, public transport, even restaurants occasionally. Never used to see that with smoking once the laws changed 20 or so years ago.

Yep . I've even seen nurses on shift have a few puffs here and there .

Bridge hibs
17-08-2023, 10:50 AM
I realised my football 'career' was over when I signed for a team that had players smoking it in the changing room before the game and again by the side of the pitch at HT.

I'd gone from a very good level to that and I just couldn't motivate myself to give up the time anymore to play with guys who just didn't give a toss.

Quite sad, not so much smoking or smoking weed but a team I played for many years ago were big drinkers. Oranges in the changing rooms were replaced with tins of Tennents lager or Super before, at half time, after the game and then topped up in the pub after

As much as I loved my beers back then I never touched the stuff, especially a Sunday as I didnt want to go to work on the Monday feeling like ****

Funny thing was, these guys were actually excellent players but with most coming from Lochend, Craigmillar, Leith etc most were battle hardened drinkers who normally frequented the pub 7 days a week

I actually used to bump into one of those well respected players years later at a bus stop at Asda, I was going to work in the morning and he was on a fag break when he would pull out a quarter bottle of vodka and asked me if I wanted a swig

17-08-2023, 11:02 AM
Quite sad, not so much smoking or smoking weed but a team I played for many years ago were big drinkers. Oranges in the changing rooms were replaced with tins of Tennents lager or Super before, at half time, after the game and then topped up in the pub after

As much as I loved my beers back then I never touched the stuff, especially a Sunday as I didnt want to go to work on the Monday feeling like ****

Funny thing was, these guys were actually excellent players but with most coming from Lochend, Craigmillar, Leith etc most were battle hardened drinkers who normally frequented the pub 7 days a week

I actually used to bump into one of those well respected players years later at a bus stop at Asda, I was going to work in the morning and he was on a fag break when he would pull out a quarter bottle of vodka and asked me if I wanted a swig

Aye some of the boys in this team were really good players as well. With a few of them you looked at them and could genuinely say they were the classic 'they could have made it but.....' types.

I'd known most of them for years and they were all smoking weed heavily form their early teens, very few if any teams at a decent level is going to stand for that so they ended up kicking about in Sunday amateurs when with a bit application they could have been playing at a much higher level.

Bridge hibs
17-08-2023, 11:13 AM
Aye some of the boys in this team were really good players as well. With a few of them you looked at them and could genuinely say they were the classic 'they could have made it but.....' types.

I'd known most of them for years and they were all smoking weed heavily form their early teens, very few if any teams at a decent level is going to stand for that so they ended up kicking about in Sunday amateurs when with a bit application they could have been playing at a much higher level.Very much the same, said person with the vodka was a cracking player and could have went pro but preferred going out with the mates, playing card/gambling and getting blootered. He and his Dad were very highly respectable youth coaches at Edina hibs for years, Im sure he coached Willie Millers U16 age group

17-08-2023, 11:34 AM
People or businesses who use quirky marketing to hide an underlying deviousness and dishonesty. People who probably have an undeserved goodwill from the general public but are seen for what they really are by people who have ever had the misfortune to deal with them.

This rant may or may not be inspired by a certain soon to be liquidated company that rhymes with Boss Bragels.

I've always felt she appeared to be a really unlikeable person.

I read somewhere yesterday that she's been taking out directors loans from the business at the same time she was asking the general public to pour money in as "share-holer". All whilst knowing **** was about to hit the fan!

Plus, she's already got her next business registered for when she liquidates this one. She's registered Hot Mama Bagels at companies house in July.

I actually quite like the bagels, even if they're a more expensive than they should be.

17-08-2023, 11:55 AM
I've always felt she appeared to be a really unlikeable person.

I read somewhere yesterday that she's been taking out directors loans from the business at the same time she was asking the general public to pour money in as "share-holer". All whilst knowing **** was about to hit the fan!

Plus, she's already got her next business registered for when she liquidates this one. She's registered Hot Mama Bagels at companies house in July.

I actually quite like the bagels, even if they're a more expensive than they should be.

She's already been trying to get suppliers to give her credit using the new company name. More front than Blackpool.

It was her whole act last week denying reports of administration and calling them a 'data breach'. Anyone she owes money too could have produced a letter to show she was lying. She has had cash flow problems pretty much from the day she started trading and has burned her bridges with so many suppliers locally, always with a sob story or the odd claim of anti antisemitism thrown in, yet she pressed ahead with an expansion that she was never close to being able to finance.

There's a weird little clique of these types in Edinburgh (and I daresay elsewhere). Put on a big 'you are with me or against me' act and are excellent self marketers but end up leaving a trail of failed businesses in their wake whilst never seeming to suffer financially themselves.

I'm just glad the mask has slipped as she has been a bit of a darling of the Edinburgh press for a few years. A shame a lot of small businesses and potentially her employees will suffer as a result though.

17-08-2023, 12:29 PM
There's a weird little clique of these types in Edinburgh (and I daresay elsewhere). Put on a big 'you are with me or against me' act and are excellent self marketers but end up leaving a trail of failed businesses in their wake whilst never seeming to suffer financially themselves. I always thought that Michelle Mone came into this category. Always touted in the press and on TV, always asked for her views about business, described as a Scottish business success story, but her companies never made a profit, I believe. I guess she looked good on TV. Wonder what happened to her.

17-08-2023, 12:51 PM
She's already been trying to get suppliers to give her credit using the new company name. More front than Blackpool.

It was her whole act last week denying reports of administration and calling them a 'data breach'. Anyone she owes money too could have produced a letter to show she was lying. She has had cash flow problems pretty much from the day she started trading and has burned her bridges with so many suppliers locally, always with a sob story or the odd claim of anti antisemitism thrown in, yet she pressed ahead with an expansion that she was never close to being able to finance.

There's a weird little clique of these types in Edinburgh (and I daresay elsewhere). Put on a big 'you are with me or against me' act and are excellent self marketers but end up leaving a trail of failed businesses in their wake whilst never seeming to suffer financially themselves.

I'm just glad the mask has slipped as she has been a bit of a darling of the Edinburgh press for a few years. A shame a lot of small businesses and potentially her employees will suffer as a result though.

The taxpayer is getting shafted too. £400k at the last accounts in June 22, and it will probably be higher now.

HMRC don't dick about in situations like this. The new company will be on monthly VAT Returns, and monthly PAYE payments. Any default, and it will be straight back to the Court.

The bank will get paid, as they have security.

The galling thing is that, in March 23 when they published their latest accounts, they declared that they had enough finance to sustain them for the next 12 months.

There's also the small matter of the directors owing the company £58k at June 22, and maybe more now. That will have to be recovered before suppliers get anything back.

ErinGoBraghHFC
17-08-2023, 12:52 PM
Gonks. Don’t know if I’ve mentioned this before but they are very, very annoying looking. They’re everywhere now too, you can get Gonks for literally every occasion, why do we need Easter Gonks?

17-08-2023, 02:36 PM
Eldest has just gone into 2nd year. Said there are a few that have been smoking it since P7.

The amount of kids that are vaping as well is mental. Probably is a weed scented vape out there

My brothers mate imports weed vapes from abroad, meant to be very strong by all accounts.

17-08-2023, 03:21 PM
Gonks. Don’t know if I’ve mentioned this before but they are very, very annoying looking. They’re everywhere now too, you can get Gonks for literally every occasion, why do we need Easter Gonks?

Had to Google gonk, had no idea what to expect! 😀

17-08-2023, 04:41 PM
I'm not mad on the pile on with Lee Johnson and his 'quirky' chat' but I saw an interview with him yesterday where he described it as 'matchday minus one'. WTF is that all about? Just say 'the day before the game'.

I'm certain he won't be the only one saying it, horrific patter.

I wonder if there is a longer schedule of "matchday minus X" that gets used to coordinate training/diet to be at optimum performance levels and how this just came into be.

I guess your point would still stand that they could say "three days before the game"... :greengrin

ErinGoBraghHFC
17-08-2023, 04:52 PM
Had to Google gonk, had no idea what to expect! [emoji3]

[emoji23] they were alright when they were only about at Xmas time, now they’re everywhere all year round. Annoying wee things.

17-08-2023, 04:52 PM
People who complain about price, not taking quality into the equation.

Was lamenting the demise of a local bar who did excellent burgers recently, and someone chimes in with “What did they think was going to happen? They were charging twelve quid for a burger and chips and McDonalds is five minutes walk away”.

There are times a Maccies does the job (although in recent years the low bar of quality they had has gone through the floor), but a really nice handmade burger in a good roll, with proper ingredients, nice cheese, well cooked, and proper chips on a plate is completely different from mass produced *****.

I kind of understand complaining about pricing in these times but it’s not the first time I’ve heard that total non starter of an argument.

18-08-2023, 07:47 AM
When a recipe video comes up online and it’s some impossibly annoying tosser who takes a forkful of their food then starts doing a stupid little dance. Nobody eats food like that you ****ing melt.

18-08-2023, 08:30 AM
When a recipe video comes up online and it’s some impossibly annoying tosser who takes a forkful of their food then starts doing a stupid little dance. Nobody eats food like that you ****ing melt.On an related note, recipe videos that say something like ‘make an amazing meal in just 10 minutes - aye, once you’ve spent 30 minutes pre-preparing all the ingredients, measured everything out ahead of time, and you’ve got a kitchen to rival a small restaurant

18-08-2023, 08:31 AM
People who complain about the price of a meal in a restaurant or a takeaway and come out with “I can make it cheaper at home”.
Of course it’s cheaper to stay in and cook at home, the same folk also tell you they can get a bottle of wine cheaper in the supermarket than a restaurant!

18-08-2023, 10:20 AM
People who complain about the price of a meal in a restaurant or a takeaway and come out with “I can make it cheaper at home”.
Of course it’s cheaper to stay in and cook at home, the same folk also tell you they can get a bottle of wine cheaper in the supermarket than a restaurant!

I was pleasantly surprised at the prices at Edinburgh Street Food when I was there between fringe shows. It shows what can be done with simple food, probably half the price for the same thing in a pub.

18-08-2023, 10:38 AM
Screen touchers.

My boss is dreadful for it. Comes in to my office to discuss something and will prod at my screen to the point that the monitor jiggles about on the stand.

It's infuriating and there's absolutely no need for it.

Fuzzywuzzy
18-08-2023, 03:22 PM

My wife did freak out slightly when she saw the price of whispering angel in Scott's. 😂😂

19-08-2023, 09:25 AM
Probably been done before but folk that reserve loads of sunloungers at the pool on holiday but don’t use them for most of the day.

I’m away just now and there’s two pools where we are staying. The nicer one that doesn’t stink of burgers and onions all day is quite small with about 20 sunloungers. It also doesn’t open until 11. Yesterday we were lucky to get beds for the two of us there at 11 but there were a couple with books reserving them that didn’t get used until about 5pm.

This morning, we rocked up a bit before it opened and we looked like we were fourth in the queue. There was a woman with a child, a family of 3 and a woman on her own. We ended up getting the last two beds. The woman with the child and the woman on her own reserved the other beds. At least more people turned up 2 mins later for the ones reserved by the woman and child. The woman on her own has 7 beds reserved over and above her one. Nobody has turned up and I suspect they won’t for quite some time.

speedy_gonzales
19-08-2023, 12:47 PM
Probably been done before but folk that reserve loads of sunloungers at the pool on holiday but don’t use them for most of the day.

I’m away just now and there’s two pools where we are staying. The nicer one that doesn’t stink of burgers and onions all day is quite small with about 20 sunloungers. It also doesn’t open until 11. Yesterday we were lucky to get beds for the two of us there at 11 but there were a couple with books reserving them that didn’t get used until about 5pm.

This morning, we rocked up a bit before it opened and we looked like we were fourth in the queue. There was a woman with a child, a family of 3 and a woman on her own. We ended up getting the last two beds. The woman with the child and the woman on her own reserved the other beds. At least more people turned up 2 mins later for the ones reserved by the woman and child. The woman on her own has 7 beds reserved over and above her one. Nobody has turned up and I suspect they won’t for quite some time.

I'm the last guy to look for confrontation when on holiday, but if I'm in a hotel where there are empty, but "reserved" sun beds, I neatly fold their towels and place under the sun bed and replace when I'm leaving.
If I'm honest, I struggle to lie down for more than an hour, would rather walk about.
But, if the reservation-ists return before I leave I politely explain that the other beds were occupied and I'm just about to leave. If "they" get humpty, my departure becomes procrastinated. In my experience, sun bed reservations are frowned upon in most places and I'll happily point that out, especially if the bed was reserved before breakfast but the large extended family only turn up to use them after their all-day boat trip 🙄

Edited to add; it's partly because of this behaviour I won't go to big hotels with limited pool facilities. I prefer villa holidays where the only idiots are your family members, or, small independent apartments and I then use the paid for beach facilities or patronise a nearby quiet, amenable hotel, where poolside amenities can be used along with their bar.

20-08-2023, 08:09 AM
That you can only buy normal spuds in a supermarket in 2kg plus bags.

I just want half a kilo of Maris pipers for a particular recipe. Used to be able to buy them loose. Now need a big hulking bag it’ll take me ages to get through.

20-08-2023, 11:36 AM
Jambos on my bus

Sent from my SM-G990B using Tapatalk

Fuzzywuzzy
20-08-2023, 12:42 PM
WARNING

Picked up a packet of pickled onion monster munch this morning opened the packet to find normal crisps!! Devastated!!!

Same colour packet, everything. Just never noticed it said crisps

20-08-2023, 05:08 PM
When someone praises an opposition team/player/manager and suddenly it's a "Hibs.net love-in".

22-08-2023, 07:46 AM
WARNING

Picked up a packet of pickled onion monster munch this morning opened the packet to find normal crisps!! Devastated!!!

Same colour packet, everything. Just never noticed it said crisps

They also have (I think) wotsists and chilli heatwave dorito flavour walkers now as well

22-08-2023, 07:52 AM

We recently went to tenerife and there was a very strict no reserve policy.
Anything left before 10am when the pool opened were removed by the lifeguards, and a note left to collect their things from reception/the lifeguard hut.

They were also out during the day and if they spotted towels on loungers, but no people for around an hour the same thing g happened.
There was obviously a few arguments over this, which was great to watch, but it was the best holiday I have had. Could get up about half 9, go for breakfast and down to pool for half 10 11ish and had plenty loungers to choose from. Even went out for lunch and a wander a few times and came back around 3pm and still didn't have a hassel getting one.
I do think a lot of hotels from Reading reviews are cracking down on this.

22-08-2023, 08:04 AM
Years ago in Tenerife we came back one night drunk, all the sunbeds had towels on them, so I went round gathering them up and tossed them all in the pool, so satisfying 😁

22-08-2023, 08:41 AM
years ago in tenerife we came back one night drunk, all the sunbeds had towels on them, so i went round gathering them up and tossed them all in the pool, so satisfying ��

22-08-2023, 01:10 PM
We recently went to tenerife and there was a very strict no reserve policy.
Anything left before 10am when the pool opened were removed by the lifeguards, and a note left to collect their things from reception/the lifeguard hut.

They were also out during the day and if they spotted towels on loungers, but no people for around an hour the same thing g happened.
There was obviously a few arguments over this, which was great to watch, but it was the best holiday I have had. Could get up about half 9, go for breakfast and down to pool for half 10 11ish and had plenty loungers to choose from. Even went out for lunch and a wander a few times and came back around 3pm and still didn't have a hassel getting one.
I do think a lot of hotels from Reading reviews are cracking down on this.

If you want to go on holiday and lie on a sun lounger then going to Reading seems an odd choice.

22-08-2023, 01:37 PM
Is it just me that gets slightly frustrated that there’s not one, but two gdpr type pop up boxes on Hibs website that need to be cleared before you can do anything?

And occasionally if its on the phone, one of the pop ups appears behind the other, but needs to be cleared first (which you can’t because the other one is blocking it) :grr:

22-08-2023, 01:43 PM
I always find the sun lounger things bizarre.

When we were away in the summer we were lucky in that we had a ground floor room with a sun terrace overlooking the pool so if we didn't get a lounger then it wasn't a huge deal. The loungers were stacked and locked up at night and then unlocked about 8.30am. Every morning from about 7.40 there were people hovering about, trying to stake their claim for spaces and when the locks got turned it was a free for all. People literally shoving each other out the way to get a lounger.

First 2 or 3 morning my bairns were waking at their usual time so I was up anyway, I'd go out about 8.40, grab a couple of loungers, spend 40 minutes or so with my book then head back and get everyone ready. After the 3rd day the late nights caught up so they were sleeping until later and no way I was getting up early on holiday for the sake of a lounger. There was no need though, well after 10 I was strolling out, getting a couple of loungers no bother and was surrounded by dozens of empty loungers with towels on them. I took to sitting on the terrace at about 9ish watching the daily royal rumble with a mixture of amusement and bemusement. Not once did I fail to get at least 2 loungers.

Jay
22-08-2023, 02:02 PM
I always find the sun lounger things bizarre.

When we were away in the summer we were lucky in that we had a ground floor room with a sun terrace overlooking the pool so if we didn't get a lounger then it wasn't a huge deal. The loungers were stacked and locked up at night and then unlocked about 8.30am. Every morning from about 7.40 there were people hovering about, trying to stake their claim for spaces and when the locks got turned it was a free for all. People literally shoving each other out the way to get a lounger.

First 2 or 3 morning my bairns were waking at their usual time so I was up anyway, I'd go out about 8.40, grab a couple of loungers, spend 40 minutes or so with my book then head back and get everyone ready. After the 3rd day the late nights caught up so they were sleeping until later and no way I was getting up early on holiday for the sake of a lounger. There was no need though, well after 10 I was strolling out, getting a couple of loungers no bother and was surrounded by dozens of empty loungers with towels on them. I took to sitting on the terrace at about 9ish watching the daily royal rumble with a mixture of amusement and bemusement. Not once did I fail to get at least 2 loungers.

I've been looking at booking Tenerife for next year and some of the hotels actually advertised full time pool attendants who will remove any towels if nobody has returned within an hour. Mental it's come to that.

23-08-2023, 04:43 AM
If you want to go on holiday and lie on a sun lounger then going to Reading seems an odd choice.

👍🏼Sounds about right to me.

23-08-2023, 10:18 AM
I've been looking at booking Tenerife for next year and some of the hotels actually advertised full time pool attendants who will remove any towels if nobody has returned within an hour. Mental it's come to that.

The hotel we stay at in Adeje doesn’t allow any reserving of Sun beds, all towels are removed by attendant.

23-08-2023, 10:20 AM

Jay
23-08-2023, 10:22 AM
The hotel we stay at in Adeje doesn’t allow any reserving of Sun beds, all towels are removed by attendant.

That's the area we are looking at. I assume you'd recommend if you go back?

23-08-2023, 08:02 PM
That's the area we are looking at. I assume you'd recommend if you go back?

Definitely mate, wouldn’t go anywhere else in Tenerife now.

Peanut Shaz
24-08-2023, 01:48 PM
I'm in Ovacik Turkey just now. Family of 4 leave their towels on the beds at the end of the day. Yesterday and Today the first they appeared was about noon. Owners of the hotel don't seem to bother but the sense of arrogance to do that beggars belief.

Fuzzywuzzy
26-08-2023, 11:47 AM
Probably just me but biting the inside of your mouth and then catching the same bit for a good fews days afterwards!!

Bridge hibs
26-08-2023, 12:14 PM
Accidentally biting your tongue, ****ing painful 🥹

26-08-2023, 05:28 PM
Probably just me but biting the inside of your mouth and then catching the same bit for a good fews days afterwards!!

Not just you mate, I do this (unintentionally) and it’s bloody annoying

26-08-2023, 06:05 PM
Getting asked personal, financial questions by taxi drivers and delivery drivers. Got a taxi home from the airport this morning and when he dropped us off, the driver asked how many bedrooms we had how much we paid for the house. Told him it was none of his business.

We’ve had a few instances of food delivery drivers asking the same sort of thing. One even asked how much our monthly mortgage payment was.

Very strange behaviour.

26-08-2023, 06:56 PM
Getting asked personal, financial questions by taxi drivers and delivery drivers. Got a taxi home from the airport this morning and when he dropped us off, the driver asked how many bedrooms we had how much we paid for the house. Told him it was none of his business.

We’ve had a few instances of food delivery drivers asking the same sort of thing. One even asked how much our monthly mortgage payment was.

Very strange behaviour.

Was it a taxi or a PHC from the airport?

26-08-2023, 07:25 PM
was it a taxi or a phc from the airport?

PHC - it was one from the rank.

27-08-2023, 05:38 AM
PHC - it was one from the rank.

Enough said, questions like that would never be asked by a taxi driver, I've been one for 34 years and all you'll get is general chit chat.

27-08-2023, 07:59 AM

Very strange behaviour.

I've been asked how much I paid for my house before also, I just said I couldn't remember which I guess wouldn't have been overly believable.

In hindsight, it's not something worth being secretive about as he could Google it and see the last sales price easily. I think these sorts of conversations just aren't the norm in the UK and took me by surprise - I chalked the Q down as a cultural difference thing.

27-08-2023, 08:53 AM

Very strange behaviour.

It’s not something I’d ask someone I didn’t know, but I’d probably just answer it if I was asked by someone.

27-08-2023, 10:00 PM
I’ve just seen selection boxes on the shelves at Sainsburys. It’s August.

27-08-2023, 10:32 PM

Sky lesser movie channels had Christmas films looping in July, if not June!

28-08-2023, 10:14 AM

You're kidding?

Thats mental!

But equally there must be a market for them which is almost as crazy.

I'm still wanting a wee mini summer before the cold comes back.

28-08-2023, 11:39 AM
People over about 18 years old who call football players ballers, does my head in! 😡

29-08-2023, 03:00 PM
When the Holy ground Forum gets locked (presumably as people were being rude to each other again)

That's where I get all my updates on Ukraine.

29-08-2023, 04:29 PM
When the Holy ground Forum gets locked (presumably as people were being rude to each other again)

That's where I get all my updates on Ukraine.

Its been locked for a while now. Anyone know when its or IF its getting opened back up again.

29-08-2023, 04:32 PM
Its been locked for a while now. Anyone know when its or IF its getting opened back up again.

It's open to Private Members.

29-08-2023, 05:33 PM
People over about 18 years old who call football players ballers, does my head in! ��

Or when describing a muscly footballer they use the term 'A Unit'.

When did that become an expression?

Fuzzywuzzy
29-08-2023, 09:22 PM
Or when describing a muscly footballer they use the term 'A Unit'.

When did that become an expression?

I remember listening to a radio programme (think it was on LBC) and the discussion was on racial connotations used. Larger more physical black players are referred to as beasts while white Europeans were referred to as machines by commentators/journalists. It was a black English player that was not the programme highlighting it but for the life of me I can't remember who. I think it was someone quite prominent and still current

29-08-2023, 09:52 PM
I remember listening to a radio programme (think it was on LBC) and the discussion was on racial connotations used. Larger more physical black players are referred to as beasts while white Europeans were referred to as machines by commentators/journalists. It was a black English player that was not the programme highlighting it but for the life of me I can't remember who. I think it was someone quite prominent and still current

Couple of examples of proper research here

https://www.theguardian.com/football/2020/jun/29/groundbreaking-report-reveals-racial-bias-in-english-football-commentary

https://www.wbur.org/onlyagame/2020/06/26/racial-stereotypes-sports-broadcast-bias

29-08-2023, 10:53 PM
“Neil Francis Lennon”

Ultimately it’s only calling someone by his full name, including middle name, but hearing or reading it is like drawing your fingernails down a blackboard.

30-08-2023, 01:34 AM

Got them in Tesco as well. :rolleyes:

30-08-2023, 07:12 AM
Got them in Tesco as well. :rolleyes:

2 whole aisles dedicated to Christmas in Home Bargains.

I love it and it's happened as long as I can remember.

30-08-2023, 06:43 PM
The ****ing Minions.

Yapping dungaree wearing pricks. Old people seem to ****ing love them despite being childrens characters.

And yet, despite being childrens characters, their prime motivation is to find the most evil masterminds and attach themselves to them. Think of any human atrocity in history - the minions probably supported it. They probably voted for Matt Hancock to win I'm A Celebrity in their droves.

So aye, the minions. **** the little Tory *****.

01-09-2023, 03:03 PM
Accommodation providers that dick you around in order to make a quick buck.

After the fiasco at the Scotland vs Georgia game, we decided to book somewhere to stay for the England game. Booked an “apartment” essentially a wee studio for a reasonable price. All confirmed and sorted from the day after the Georgia game.

Place has now cancelled on us saying they had inadvertently double booked as it was listed on both booking.com and Air BnB. Booking.com offered somewhere else but when I went to accept that it had gone… but funnily enough the one that had cancelled on us was now available again but for more money. Blatantly trying to make a buck out of it being the England game.

Jay
01-09-2023, 03:14 PM

After the fiasco at the Scotland vs Georgia game, we decided to book somewhere to stay for the England game. Booked an “apartment” essentially a wee studio for a reasonable price. All confirmed and sorted from the day after the Georgia game.

Place has now cancelled on us saying they had inadvertently double booked as it was listed on both booking.com and Air BnB. Booking.com offered somewhere else but when I went to accept that it had gone… but funnily enough the one that had cancelled on us was now available again but for more money. Blatantly trying to make a buck out of it being the England game.

Exactly the same thing happened to us in London. We had booked an amazing looking town house with sauna etc for a long weekend in 2020 , we had tickets to a gig. The gig was cancelled due to lockdown and happened in 2022 instead but it was rearranged for the Jubilee weekend and I think they thought they'd get much more money for it. We were told a few days before travel they were double booked and left trying to get accommodation in a jam packed london. Ended up in a tiny wee very old hotel with no facilities

01-09-2023, 04:09 PM
Exactly the same thing happened to us in London. We had booked an amazing looking town house with sauna etc for a long weekend in 2020 , we had tickets to a gig. The gig was cancelled due to lockdown and happened in 2022 instead but it was rearranged for the Jubilee weekend and I think they thought they'd get much more money for it. We were told a few days before travel they were double booked and left trying to get accommodation in a jam packed london. Ended up in a tiny wee very old hotel with no facilities

Now got somewhere else but it is nowhere as good as either the first place or the first alternative booking.com offered us but for a higher price (booking.com are refunding the difference to the original price). I think I'll be spending some time writing some negative reviews this evening.

01-09-2023, 04:24 PM

There has to be some kind of law against that kind of ****. People invest loads of money in travel and event tickets then find themselves without accommodation.

Jay
02-09-2023, 08:29 AM
Stupidity, just stupidity. I'm going on a cruise soon and joined a fb group for people sailing the same time as me. Its an eye opener and pushes my tolerance levels but there is the odd piece of useful information. However today's gem is from an anonymous participant and says - I'm getting my haircut on board what sort of style should I go for? Tbf the comments section can be funny and the first reply is I'm guessing you'd suit a mullet. But seriously do people actually think that post makes any sense?

speedy_gonzales
02-09-2023, 10:00 AM
Stupidity, just stupidity. I'm going on a cruise soon and joined a fb group for people sailing the same time as me. Its an eye opener and pushes my tolerance levels but there is the odd piece of useful information. However today's gem is from an anonymous participant and says - I'm getting my haircut on board what sort of style should I go for? Tbf the comments section can be funny and the first reply is I'm guessing you'd suit a mullet. But seriously do people actually think that post makes any sense?

That kinda FB group would have me stressed before I even boarded that cruise, the thought of being held captive amongst walking brain donors gives me the fear.

Jay
02-09-2023, 10:40 AM
That kinda FB group would have me stressed before I even boarded that cruise, the thought of being held captive amongst walking brain donors gives me the fear.

Tbf it has made me question my choices :greengrin one person asked if there was food, another asked what the weather was going to be like. Do you not check these things before you book ? The comment section has kept me there though.

Bridge hibs
02-09-2023, 11:29 AM
Tbf it has made me question my choices :greengrin one person asked if there was food, another asked what the weather was going to be like. Do you not check these things before you book ? The comment section has kept me there though.I ran a relatively successful travel site on facebook in the olden days, was great at first with users handing out some good advice and it was very friendly

Suddenly I lost control as the place became infested with trolls and general ********s, questions such as can I buy toilet rolls, does the hotel have a pool, or can I buy flat sandals or is the sun hot during the afternoon, it was ****ing relentless so I decided to ping it alongside facebook and to be honest it was the best thing I ever done, all I wanted to do was create a platform for people to exchange ideas

02-09-2023, 12:33 PM
I ran a relatively successful travel site on facebook in the olden days, was great at first with users handing out some good advice and it was very friendly

Suddenly I lost control as the place became infested with trolls and general ********s, questions such as can I buy toilet rolls, does the hotel have a pool, or can I buy flat sandals or is the sun hot during the afternoon, it was ****ing relentless so I decided to ping it alongside facebook and to be honest it was the best thing I ever done, all I wanted to do was create a platform for people to exchange ideas

I was actually the victim of this a few years ago before Scotland were due to play Ireland in the Euro 2016 qualifiers and I innocently asked if anyone knew if the rooms in the hotel we were due to stay in had a channel that the game might be shown on. Cue a load of abuse about "who wants to sit in their hotel room and watch tv on holiday", "get a life" "sad or what," etc etc. Crazy stuff!

Bridge hibs
02-09-2023, 12:47 PM
I was actually the victim of this a few years ago before Scotland were due to play Ireland in the Euro 2016 qualifiers and I innocently asked if anyone knew if the rooms in the hotel we were due to stay in had a channel that the game might be shown on. Cue a load of abuse about "who wants to sit in their hotel room and watch tv on holiday", "get a life" "sad or what," etc etc. Crazy stuff!Yeah that was a common theme, folk asking if there were tvs, an iron, toaster, freezer etc and were met by the usual smart arsed comments.

“You are on holiday, what do you want to watch tv for” “do you not iron your clothes before travelling” and other more brutal replies

02-09-2023, 02:32 PM
Scotrail - had tickets booked for a train through to Glasgow and back the next day as I was going to a concert, the gig was cancelled so went to cancel my train tickets, I paid £11 for a ticket and only getting £1 refund. What the actual ****! They want us to take green travel, it needs to be adaptable to folks needs.

Fuzzywuzzy
02-09-2023, 09:34 PM
Scotrail - had tickets booked for a train through to Glasgow and back the next day as I was going to a concert, the gig was cancelled so went to cancel my train tickets, I paid £11 for a ticket and only getting £1 refund. What the actual ****! They want us to take green travel, it needs to be adaptable to folks needs.

Ahhhh, the £10 admin fee......

Alfiembra
03-09-2023, 07:22 AM
Ahhhh, the £10 admin fee......

Similarly admin fees with car insurance amendments, recently wanted to add my son on my car insurance was only going to add £7 to the premium for the 3 months till my renewal was due but £30 admin fee to make the change. Rip Off!!!!

03-09-2023, 07:30 AM
Similarly admin fees with car insurance amendments, recently wanted to add my son on my car insurance was only going to add £7 to the premium for the 3 months till my renewal was due but £30 admin fee to make the change. Rip Off!!!!

I recently changed my car, and wanted to cancel the insurance for the older one, it had 1 month left to pay. To cancel, including the £50 admin fee, was well over twice what the monthly premium was, so I just let the final direct debit happen and made sure it wasn’t set to autorenew. Insurance companies absolutely take the piss

03-09-2023, 08:19 AM

They will never get people to make the choice to move to public transport as standard until it stops being cost prohibitive in so many instances, particularly when it comes to trains.

£17.90 single for me to get a train from Glasgow to Brunstane on Friday. I flew one way to Birmingham for £23.99 and return for £96. For the same journey the train would have been infinitely more expensive and taken about 7 times longer all in.

speedy_gonzales
03-09-2023, 08:56 AM
They will never get people to make the choice to move to public transport as standard until it stops being cost prohibitive in so many instances, particularly when it comes to trains.

£17.90 single for me to get a train from Glasgow to Brunstane on Friday. I flew one way to Birmingham for £23.99 and return for £96. For the same journey the train would have been infinitely more expensive and taken about 7 times longer all in.

People who exaggerate 🤭

04-09-2023, 06:02 AM
People who exaggerate [emoji2960]People who take everything literally.

04-09-2023, 06:59 AM
People who take everything, literally.

Kleptomaniacs.

04-09-2023, 08:23 AM
Kleptomaniacs.

:not worth

04-09-2023, 01:43 PM

Bit confused here. Your gig was postponed 2 years, and your booked accommodation agreed to hold the booking for the rescheduled date at that price for 2 years?

Jay
04-09-2023, 01:57 PM
Bit confused here. Your gig was postponed 2 years, and your booked accommodation agreed to hold the booking for the rescheduled date at that price for 2 years?

Yes

04-09-2023, 04:48 PM
Yes

Ah wow, surprised they agreed to that in the first place, but having done so, like you say, that's poor

speedy_gonzales
04-09-2023, 04:56 PM
Kleptomaniacs.

👏🏻👏🏻👏🏻

Jay
04-09-2023, 06:18 PM
Ah wow, surprised they agreed to that in the first place, but having done so, like you say, that's poor

It was during lockdown, they weren't open for most of the 2 years.

05-09-2023, 01:05 PM
Wasp stings!!

I have wasps nesting in the wall below my kitchen window, I don't mind them, I know they're there. I have to walk through them to get to part of the garden. Today I was filling a watering can from the tap, turned round and a wasp got trapped in my watch strap. Oh ya bugger!!!

05-09-2023, 02:18 PM
Wasp stings!!

I have wasps nesting in the wall below my kitchen window, I don't mind them, I know they're there. I have to walk through them to get to part of the garden. Today I was filling a watering can from the tap, turned round and a wasp got trapped in my watch strap. Oh ya bugger!!!

I've been stung twice in the last year. First time was coming out of my garden shed where there was a nest. That really hurt. Second time was a couple of weeks ago on holiday in Spain. That wasn't quite so bad. I was quite worried the first time as my mum has a really bad allergy to wasp/bee stings (i.e. anaphylaxis) and was concerned it might be inherited (it wasn't).

05-09-2023, 05:52 PM
Wasp stings!!

I remember getting stung on the oxter when playing football on the outside pitches at Meadowbank. Wee bassa was stuck inside the sleeve of my t-shirt. Absolute agony. Had to have a sit down for about 30 seconds, was getting no sympathy from my team mates so just got up and played on :greengrin

05-09-2023, 06:34 PM
I remember getting stung on the oxter when playing football on the outside pitches at Meadowbank. Wee bassa was stuck inside the sleeve of my t-shirt. Absolute agony. Had to have a sit down for about 30 seconds, was getting no sympathy from my team mates so just got up and played on :greengrinCycling as a kid , got one of the wee buggers in my mouth, stung the inside of my cheek.

Dunno what was worse the pain from that or the damage I got from gitting the lamp post.

I seem to remember the sting was worse but disappeared more quickly than the cuts and bruises :-/

Bridge hibs
05-09-2023, 08:25 PM
Never ever been stung by a bee, wasp or hornet and Im near 60, worked on building sites etc, get eaten alive and take a bad reaction to midgie and mozzie bites though 🤬

05-09-2023, 09:53 PM
Bees and wasps can simply **** off.

05-09-2023, 10:17 PM

Buzz?

05-09-2023, 10:27 PM

Bees are fantastic. Love bees. Friendly little honey making things who despite having a sting are part of the good guys.

Wasps are coked up little twats.

06-09-2023, 04:45 AM
Fight any ****, but a wasp will send me running for the hills.

06-09-2023, 07:47 AM
Bees are fantastic. Love bees. Friendly little honey making things who despite having a sting are part of the good guys.

I would argue that wasps are more beneficial as they eat pests like caterpillars as well as pollinate plants. But I agree that they are coked up twats in autumn.

06-09-2023, 10:40 AM
People who don’t use punctuation in online or text based interactions. I don’t mean to sound ageist but older folk seem to be the biggest culprits. I have no idea what my mum or father-in-law are trying to say in messages most of the time as there are rarely any full stops or commas. It is the same on social media.

06-09-2023, 12:17 PM
Casual ageism.

06-09-2023, 12:26 PM
People who get into a lift before you get out of it.

Fuzzywuzzy
06-09-2023, 12:34 PM
Casual ageism.

I've been accused of not wearing "age appropriate" trainers. I'm not even 50!!!

06-09-2023, 02:17 PM

What kinda trainers we talking?

Jay
06-09-2023, 03:08 PM

You wear what you want. I wear trainers like Adidas campus or sambas. Nobody will tell me not to, I pay for them, I love them , I'll wear them . I'm closer to 60 than 50 and I'm a woman. I also wear football tops to games , I hate people saying they are too old for them- who says? Wheres that rule written? Don't let anybody dull your sparkle :greengrin

06-09-2023, 03:45 PM
Never ever been stung by a bee, wasp or hornet and Im near 60, worked on building sites etc, get eaten alive and take a bad reaction to midgie and mozzie bites though 🤬

Same, only thing that's got me was a Cleg about 25 years ago when I was training with the Scottish American Football team, felt it on my left arm and without thinking scratched it, 3 days later it went all poisonous and I had to go to Hospital, never knew what a Cleg was before then.

Fuzzywuzzy
06-09-2023, 03:59 PM
What kinda trainers we talking?

Nothing like yeezy's😂

Air max 90/95 or ZX

06-09-2023, 05:31 PM
People who don’t use punctuation in online or text based interactions. I don’t mean to sound ageist but older folk seem to be the biggest culprits. I have no idea what my mum or father-in-law are trying to say in messages most of the time as there are rarely any full stops or commas. It is the same on social media.

In your world maybe. Certainly not in mine :aok:

06-09-2023, 06:40 PM

A girl at my work who is about 21 was impressed that I was wearing Adidas Superstars the other day, had to point out that I've been wearing them since before she was born!

06-09-2023, 08:51 PM
A girl at my work who is about 21 was impressed that I was wearing Adidas Superstars the other day, had to point out that I've been wearing them since before she was born!

Surely they're starting to smell.

06-09-2023, 09:09 PM
Surely they're starting to smell.

Nae need to be personal about the young lady

StevieT
08-09-2023, 09:31 PM
Same, only thing that's got me was a Cleg about 25 years ago when I was training with the Scottish American Football team, felt it on my left arm and without thinking scratched it, 3 days later it went all poisonous and I had to go to Hospital, never knew what a Cleg was before then.

What team did you play with?

ErinGoBraghHFC
08-09-2023, 09:37 PM

I know for a fact I’ve never heard someone call wasps “coked up little twats”, but Im glad I have now. Hilarious to be honest [emoji23]

08-09-2023, 10:18 PM
Golfers who, after a wayward shot, shout ‘fore left’ or ‘fore right’. Left or right is meaningless to anyone, unaware of the source of the call, but, in the line of the shot. Before you work out whether you are ‘left’ or ‘right’ you get smacked by the ball. They’ve been watching the pros on the telly too much. Pro golfers shout ‘left’ or ‘right’ to forewarn spectators lining the fairway.

08-09-2023, 10:46 PM
Golfers who, after a wayward shot, shout ‘fore left’ or ‘fore right’. Left or right is meaningless to anyone, unaware of the source of the call, but, in the line of the shot. Before you work out whether you are ‘left’ or ‘right’ you get smacked by the ball. They’ve been watching the pros on the telly too much. Pro golfers shout ‘left’ or ‘right’ to forewarn spectators lining the fairway.

Not sure I get this gripe. Surely it’s better than just a random ‘fore’ shout. Generally you’ll know where players are on other holes and especially the tees.

Was wandering down a fairway just the other day that headed towards the next holes tee.

The dude on the tee shouts fore and we all take cover only to find he’s sliced rather than hooked and he’s shouting for another group two fairways away from us.

I always shout the direction and also tend to hold my club up in the direction as well so anyone with ears and eyes can have a better chance of knowing whether it’s them in the firing line or not.

09-09-2023, 06:09 AM
What team did you play with?

Originally Lothian Raiders but they folded the season I joined due to no money, I then played for Strathclyde Sheriffs who then became Glasgow Tigers when they linked up with the Uni team. I played in the UK home internationals a few times, for the Tigers I played as a running back but also a line backer depending how many turned up for an away game.

StevieT
09-09-2023, 06:33 AM
Originally Lothian Raiders but they folded the season I joined due to no money, I then played for Strathclyde Sheriffs who then became Glasgow Tigers when they linked up with the Uni team. I played in the UK home internationals a few times, for the Tigers I played as a running back but also a line backer depending how many turned up for an away game.

I started at the Edinburgh Eagles. I moved to Musselburgh Magnums and then joined the newly formed Edinburgh Phoenix. I played running back or wide receiver and returned kick offs and punts. Best sporting days if my life even although I played competitive football for 36 years.

09-09-2023, 07:14 AM
Not sure I get this gripe. Surely it’s better than just a random ‘fore’ shout. Generally you’ll know where players are on other holes and especially the tees.

Was wandering down a fairway just the other day that headed towards the next holes tee.

The dude on the tee shouts fore and we all take cover only to find he’s sliced rather than hooked and he’s shouting for another group two fairways away from us.

I always shout the direction and also tend to hold my club up in the direction as well so anyone with ears and eyes can have a better chance of knowing whether it’s them in the firing line or not.

I hear what you’re saying but I still think adding a direction just adds an element of confusion. Instead of taking immediate protective measures the call can delay your response. If I hear a call, irrespective of direction, I just cover my head, make myself as small as possible and anticipate the ‘thump’. :greengrin

09-09-2023, 02:32 PM
I started at the Edinburgh Eagles. I moved to Musselburgh Magnums and then joined the newly formed Edinburgh Phoenix. I played running back or wide receiver and returned kick offs and punts. Best sporting days if my life even although I played competitive football for 36 years.

You would've played before me, I was still playing rugby till the age of 26 and then moved to London for a couple of years, didn't get back into Rugby but did the gym and some Jackie Brown classes to stay fit. After meeting the wife and settling down we joined David Lloyd Corstorphine, Ben Torriero trained there and he was playing for the Claymores, he put me in touch with the guys from the Raiders, so I didn't start playing till I was around 34, stopped at just under 40 when my body started to tell me NO.

11-09-2023, 08:49 AM
People who leave their smelly or dirty running shoes/trainers outside their front door in a flat stairwell. Disgraceful behaviour:grr:

11-09-2023, 08:59 AM
People who leave anything in a stairwell. It's for common access, not your personal additional storage space. :grr:

11-09-2023, 01:00 PM
People who leave their smelly or dirty running shoes/trainers outside their front door in a flat stairwell. Disgraceful behaviour:grr:

It truly is disgusting, especially since the culprits are often those who never take a turn with the mop and bucket.

11-09-2023, 02:45 PM
People who leave anything in a stairwell. It's for common access, not your personal additional storage space. :grr:

Good point actually!!

It truly is disgusting, especially since the culprits are often those who never take a turn with the mop and bucket.

Honestly I know its a minor thing but it really affects my happiness seeing them sprawled about like that:greengrin

11-09-2023, 04:02 PM
Good point actually!!

Honestly I know its a minor thing but it really affects my happiness seeing them sprawled about like that:greengrin

Stick them in the bin?

Dmas
11-09-2023, 04:30 PM

Used to renovate flats and maintain student flats see climbing a stair well with a washing machine and not only have u got bikes chained to the railings and ur dodging trainers you also have people who decorate outside there front door with big huge plant pots like it’s there front garden… sakes man

12-09-2023, 12:11 AM
Stick them in the bin?

No chance I'm touching them:greengrin

12-09-2023, 04:25 PM
The annoying, growing trend of saying ‘so fun’. It’s just wrong.

12-09-2023, 10:35 PM
Getting to Queen Street station and the toilets are closed.

12-09-2023, 11:48 PM
Lack of interaction on the NFL thread. Used to be great banter and great people on there. Seems to have died a death, especially since the fantasy football stopped.

13-09-2023, 11:09 AM
Lack of interaction on the NFL thread. Used to be great banter and great people on there. Seems to have died a death, especially since the fantasy football stopped.

Yeah it does seem to have lost steam somewhat (as a regular reader and infrequent commenter)

Hibsbollah used to post on it fairly regularly, but now that it’s pointed out, I haven’t seen them posting much at all recently, hope they’re ok

13-09-2023, 06:43 PM
The annoying, growing trend of saying ‘so fun’. It’s just wrong.
A distant relative to the linguistic abomination that is “My Bad”.

13-09-2023, 07:37 PM
YouTube adverts, they’re getting worse. More of them, more frequently and some of them are obnoxiously long.

Stairway 2 7
13-09-2023, 07:52 PM
YouTube adverts, they’re getting worse. More of them, more frequently and some of them are obnoxiously long.

Trying to force you to pay to get rid of them with subscription

13-09-2023, 08:36 PM

Apparently, and I'm not sure if this is true, but, if a youtuber uses copyright music the owner can ask for adverts to monetize the video and allow them to receive some payments.

I also believe that adverts kick in after a certain number of subscribers.

I totally agree, some of my favourites are no longer watchable with advertising every 10 minutes or so.

13-09-2023, 09:08 PM
It's possible to watch YouTube without ads but I've forgotten how. The instructions were in Computer Active magazine I think.

14-09-2023, 08:12 AM
I also believe that adverts kick in after a certain number of subscribers.

Ah that could well be true - I was surprised I was able to watch a whole gig recording (circa 1 hr 45) more than once without any interruptions whatsoever. But right enough there wouldn’t be many more than me watching it!

14-09-2023, 09:23 AM
It's possible to watch YouTube without ads but I've forgotten how. The instructions were in Computer Active magazine I think.

If using Android, download the YouTube Vanced app. Looks and feels just like YouTube but without ads.

On iOS, Windows, etc. download the Brave browser. Not quite as good an experience as Vanced but no ads.

I've also sometime found using a VPN stops them but not all the time.

14-09-2023, 09:25 AM
Getting to Queen Street station and the toilets are closed.

Queen Street Station wanting cash to use the toilets. A lot of people don't carry cash post-covid.

14-09-2023, 11:26 AM
Queen Street Station wanting cash to use the toilets. A lot of people don't carry cash post-covid.Charging for public toilets really pisses me off.

14-09-2023, 11:47 AM
Charging for public toilets really pisses me off.

Sure they still do that in Waverley mall.

14-09-2023, 12:23 PM
Charging for public toilets really pisses me off.

Pull the turnstile towards you instead of away and you don't have to pay.

14-09-2023, 12:37 PM
Sure they still do that in Waverley mall.

My wife used them a couple of weeks ago and they were free.

14-09-2023, 12:48 PM

I think they became free when Waverley Station toilets became free. I think the mall charged in the first place to stop rail users just using them to avoid paying in the station. I've not used the toilets in Waverley for a while, are they still free, or is it a Scotrail-operated station wide thing that they've reintroduced charging for the toilets?

We got caught out a few months ago at Queen Street with them requiring cash to use them so ended up going to the Wetherspoons on George Sq instead.

14-09-2023, 01:43 PM
I think they became free when Waverley Station toilets became free. I think the mall charged in the first place to stop rail users just using them to avoid paying in the station. I've not used the toilets in Waverley for a while, are they still free, or is it a Scotrail-operated station wide thing that they've reintroduced charging for the toilets?

We got caught out a few months ago at Queen Street with them requiring cash to use them so ended up going to the Wetherspoons on George Sq instead.

Waverley toilets now free and refurbished… unless I was more drunk than I thought last time I used them.

14-09-2023, 02:45 PM
Waverley toilets now free and refurbished… unless I was more drunk than I thought last time I used them.

Cheers. Wonder why Queen St toilets aren't free.

14-09-2023, 04:45 PM

Good to know. :aok:

babahibs
14-09-2023, 06:27 PM

Download and install the browser extension uBlock Origin, works perfectly in the background. No more adverts.

14-09-2023, 07:54 PM
Cheers. Wonder why Queen St toilets aren't free.

Its a weird one cause the toilets in Central Station are free so would think they'd also be free in Queen Street. I'm still annoyed they were shut on Tuesday night.

15-09-2023, 06:47 AM
Download and install the browser extension uBlock Origin, works perfectly in the background. No more adverts.

Thanks for the tip, it’s a work computer unfortunately so I don’t think I’d be able to.

15-09-2023, 01:41 PM
Thanks for the tip, it’s a work computer unfortunately so I don’t think I’d be able to.

If you are allowed to install a browser, install Brave. It'll stop the ads

15-09-2023, 03:47 PM
Edinburgh traffic.

15-09-2023, 05:58 PM
Picking up a brand new pedalec and the store hasn't bothered to charge the battery.

15-09-2023, 06:32 PM
Picking up a brand new pedalec and the store hasn't bothered to charge the battery.

The Cube Kathmandu Pro 750, by any chance?

Bridge hibs
15-09-2023, 07:04 PM
My Wife leaving the cludgie seat down after using it

15-09-2023, 09:12 PM
The Cube Kathmandu Pro 750, by any chance?

Oh, you know the store? :wink:

15-09-2023, 09:37 PM
Oh, you know the store? :wink:

😁

Jay
15-09-2023, 09:51 PM
Boomerang on Instagram or whatever they choose. Just makes me feel nauseous

16-09-2023, 07:14 AM
Boomerang on Instagram or whatever they choose. Just makes me feel nauseous

That's some come back 😉

19-09-2023, 11:55 AM
The "revamped" Evening News. There is now more colour, more pictorial and even more lifestyle and health stuff. In other words more Eye Candy.
The editor, a week ago, said in her mission statement that they can no longer compete with instant news from the web and TV/radio, and so the News will be examining what's behind the main stories and how it affects us all in this great city whose cause the News will be shouting from the rooftops.

She said that twice actually. Poor editing?

19-09-2023, 01:37 PM
The "revamped" Evening News. There is now more colour, more pictorial and even more lifestyle and health stuff. In other words more Eye Candy.
The editor, a week ago, said in her mission statement that they can no longer compete with instant news from the web and TV/radio, and so the News will be examining what's behind the main stories and how it affects us all in this great city whose cause the News will be shouting from the rooftops.

The new format is even worse than the last.

19-09-2023, 03:24 PM
Facebook notifications along the lines of “Jim has posted a photo that you haven’t seen”. Funny that, when I click on the notification, not only do I recognise the photo but I’ve actually liked and commented on it despite Facebook apparently thinking I haven’t even seen it before.

19-09-2023, 03:49 PM
Facebook notifications along the lines of “Jim has posted a photo that you haven’t seen”. Funny that, when I click on the notification, not only do I recognise the photo but I’ve actually liked and commented on it despite Facebook apparently thinking I haven’t even seen it before.

I've not really used social media in ages but still have it, from time to time I get an email from Facebook saying X has posted an update or picture, normally it's someone I haven't spoken to in years, it's as if they are trying to entice me back with what I've been missing out on

19-09-2023, 04:38 PM

The Evening News, without an Adblocker...

Same view but with Adblock Plus (https://adblockplus.org/)...

21-09-2023, 06:56 AM
I've maybe mentioned this before because it's certainly up there, doesn't happen often but Whistlers on public transport, I've just had 5 minutes of the Adams Family that then went into about 1 minute of the Manic Miner tune and now we are back to the Adams Family, I'm going to be in a bad mood all day now

21-09-2023, 12:44 PM
Cold calling!!

Mymobile.com

24-09-2023, 08:08 AM
When people ask for a solution and someone highlights the problem.

I'm in a running WhatsApp group. A guy is running the Berlin Marathon today and his luggage was lost by his airline. He asked if anyone could help him get a pair of running shoes for the race. The 2nd reply 'always carry anything you really need at the other end in your hand luggage'. Sound advice for sure but not really relevant to solving the other problem, the guy knows the mistake he has made, he wants solutions not another person telling him he was stupid.

24-09-2023, 12:28 PM
"bitty"
Wtf?

25-09-2023, 09:48 AM
When people ask for a solution and someone highlights the problem.

I'm in a running WhatsApp group. A guy is running the Berlin Marathon today and his luggage was lost by his airline. He asked if anyone could help him get a pair of running shoes for the race. The 2nd reply 'always carry anything you really need at the other end in your hand luggage'. Sound advice for sure but not really relevant to solving the other problem, the guy knows the mistake he has made, he wants solutions not another person telling him he was stupid.

Without wishing to be a knob, presumably some kind of shop in Berlin would've been able to purvey the bloke a pair of running shoes?

Anyway, agreed with your point. Up there with the immortal line "well where did you last have it/leave it" whenever I ask the wife if she's seen my keys, phone, wallet etc.

I readily admit I'm fairly dreadful for not always having a handle on where those things are but if I knew where I'd left it, I wouldn't be looking for it now then would I?

25-09-2023, 02:23 PM
Without wishing to be a knob, presumably some kind of shop in Berlin would've been able to purvey the bloke a pair of running shoes?

Anyway, agreed with your point. Up there with the immortal line "well where did you last have it/leave it" whenever I ask the wife if she's seen my keys, phone, wallet etc.

I readily admit I'm fairly dreadful for not always having a handle on where those things are but if I knew where I'd left it, I wouldn't be looking for it now then would I?

I think it was a timing issue as he arrived Saturday late afternoon and the race started early Sunday. He still had to register though so buying a pair of shoes at the Expo was the obvious choice which is what he ended up doing. The ******* also ran a PB of 2.24 despite the last minute stress.

25-09-2023, 02:31 PM
I think it was a timing issue as he arrived Saturday late afternoon and the race started early Sunday. He still had to register though so buying a pair of shoes at the Expo was the obvious choice which is what he ended up doing. The ******* also ran a PB of 2.24 despite the last minute stress.

Yeah of course, there's always loads of manufacturers selling their wares at these things - what a bellend/legend, that's a borderline international calibre time, even allowing for the fact that Berlin is a famously quick marathon course :greengrin.

26-09-2023, 09:15 AM
People who respond to work email copy lists (with lots of people on it that wont know them) and don't put their email signature on the email.

So you have no idea of their job role, who they are or why their view might be important or not.:brickwall

26-09-2023, 09:32 AM
People who respond to work email copy lists (with lots of people on it that wont know them) and don't put their email signature on the email.

So you have no idea of their job role, who they are or why their view might be important or not.:brickwall

Also the people who reply to all, when only the initial sender needs to see the answer, or when an answer is only needed from one person as everyone else isn’t adding anything.

Something like: ‘Has anyone got the keys to the filling cupboard on the 3rd floor?’ - and 30 people all reply saying ‘no’, ‘I’ve not got it’, ‘not been in it in weeks’, etc

26-09-2023, 09:48 AM
Also the people who reply to all, when only the initial sender needs to see the answer, or when an answer is only needed from one person as everyone else isn’t adding anything.

Something like: ‘Has anyone got the keys to the filling cupboard on the 3rd floor?’ - and 30 people all reply saying ‘no’, ‘I’ve not got it’, ‘not been in it in weeks’, etc

Oh my god yes :hilarious

There was an email sent out at my work on a Sunday recently by someone and they sent it to the wrong copylist - so it went to 500 people instead of 20 people. They then sent an email 5 minutes later apologising for their error and telling people to ignore it. Problem solved. You would think.

Yet on the Monday there must have been genuinely about 40 emails with people pointlessly telling the whole copylist they had been sent the email in error, people then responding asking people not to reply to all (whilst replying to all in the process), then people demanding to be removed from the chain as their emails were being blocked up (whilst blocking up everyone else's emails).

Absolute idiots, all of them, and some of them in pretty senior roles earning very good money. Worrying.

26-09-2023, 10:01 AM
Oh my god yes :hilarious

There was an email sent out at my work on a Sunday recently by someone and they sent it to the wrong copylist - so it went to 500 people instead of 20 people. They then sent an email 5 minutes later apoligising for their error and telling people ignore it. Problem solved. You would think.

Yet on the Monday there must have been genuinely about 40 emails with people pointlessly telling the whole copylist they had been sent the email in error, people then responding asking people not to reply to all (whilst replying to all in the process), then people demanding to be removed from the chain as their emails were being blocked up (whilst blocking up everyone else's emails).

Absolute idiots, all of them, and some of them in pretty senior roles earning very good money. Worrying.

I used to work for a large financial company and occasionally that would happen - emails to 20,000 people and people replying all asking everyone to not reply all. Was all quite funny I thought. :greengrin

26-09-2023, 10:26 AM
People who respond to work email copy lists (with lots of people on it that wont know them) and don't put their email signature on the email. So you have no idea of their job role, who they are or why their view might be important or not.:brickwallI've never put my email address in my signature. If you've received an email from me, then you'll have my email address in the "from" field. If it's a work email then you can click on the address properties and it'll tell you who I am? Perhaps you're talking about replies from people outside your organisation ...?

I used to work for a large financial company and occasionally that would happen - emails to 20,000 people and people replying all asking everyone to not reply all. Was all quite funny I thought. :greengrin:agree:

26-09-2023, 10:32 AM
I used to work for a large financial company and occasionally that would happen - emails to 20,000 people and people replying all asking everyone to not reply all. Was all quite funny I thought. :greengrin

Yeah they can be quality.

The ones that say EVERYONE STOP SENDING REPLIES TO ALL.

Swiftly followed by a dozen other people asking to be removed from the DL or they were not the intended recipient or any other hundred of variations of pointless responses.

Human nature can be very odd sometimes. Every day everyone in a large workplace must get tons of emails that are not really for them
or they have no interest in yet never respond like that. But as soon as a couple of people respond asking to be removed or they got an email in error tons of other folk feel obliged to do exactly the same thing!

26-09-2023, 10:43 AM
I've never put my email address in my signature. If you've received an email from me, then you'll have my email address in the "from" field. If it's a work email then you can click on the address properties and it'll tell you who I am? Perhaps you're talking about replies from people outside your organisation ...?

Well I'm talking about both internal external. Today it was an email from someone internal. You can click on their name and it usually tells you roughly where they work but sometimes not their job title, specific dept etc. Quite important in a huge organisation with thousands of people. Even having to click their name is taking up unneccesary time and effort. Its so easy to just have every email with a very brief signature automatically that makes it easier for recipients I dont know why people wouldn't do it.

But then I might be missing something. Is there a reason you don't do it that I'm missing?

26-09-2023, 10:45 AM

Yeah usually our team has a good laugh at some of the mental responses :greengrin

26-09-2023, 11:09 AM
But then I might be missing something. Is there a reason you don't do it that I'm missing?Good question. Our email signature standard just didn't include an email address. You were expected to include info on your grade and department in your signature. But (I don't think) we required the signature to be included in replies. Clicking on someone's name always told you who they were, which office, which grade.

26-09-2023, 12:07 PM

When I worked for the Scottish Government this was quite common and a welcome laugh. One time after about a dozen replies to all (yes every SG member of staff) someone replied with "Let's all go to the pub!". Followed swiftly by a terse response from the First Minister's private secretary with threats of disciplinary action!

Fuzzywuzzy
26-09-2023, 06:12 PM
When I worked for the Scottish Government this was quite common and a welcome laugh. One time after about a dozen replies to all (yes every SG member of staff) someone replied with "Let's all go to the pub!". Followed swiftly by a terse response from the First Minister's private secretary with threats of disciplinary action!

Jesus that's a bit extreme!! I take it you avoided a disciplinary?!😂

26-09-2023, 06:18 PM
Jesus that's a bit extreme!! I take it you avoided a disciplinary?!😂

I was old enough to know not to get involved! There was a mail server problem that day as well so "why has this been copied to me?" responses were still appearing in inboxes half an hour after the warning :greengrin

Fuzzywuzzy
26-09-2023, 06:21 PM
I was old enough to know not to get involved! There was a mail server problem that day as well so "why has this been copied to me?" responses were still appearing in inboxes half an hour after the warning :greengrin

Used to happen at RBS all the time. NHS it does happen but rarely. When it does it always makes me chuckle. You could run a book on how long for the first "why am I getting this" or "can we stop replying to all"

26-09-2023, 09:20 PM
Used to happen at RBS all the time. NHS it does happen but rarely. When it does it always makes me chuckle. You could run a book on how long for the first "why am I getting this" or "can we stop replying to all"

Without fail there’s also always a “character” who replies saying along the lines of “I love the emails, keep them coming”.

Speaking of emails to a whole group and RBS. A number of years ago on a project I was on at RBS there was two people, passive aggressively arguing, while bizarrely having the whole project copied in. A lot of “well if you had bothered to read my email correctly” and “ don’t use that tone with me” type of chat. Must have been over about 8 or so emails, was good entertainment for a Friday afternoon.

27-09-2023, 12:26 PM
Once had another manager write a particulars nasty email about me to one of his assistant managers because as the Security manager I had cause to interview him over an alleged incident. He inadvertently copied me in 😂

I printed it out, went and slapped it on his desk and told him the next interview was not far off!

27-09-2023, 01:45 PM
Bairns fitbaw coaches rocking up to a 10 year olds 7 a side Sunday morning game acting like they’re Pep in a champions league final.

27-09-2023, 01:59 PM
Bairns fitbaw coaches rocking up to a 10 year olds 7 a side Sunday morning game acting like they’re Pep in a champions league final.

Does my head in.

Guys with their level 1.3 coaching badge acting as if they are some footballing guru. If there was any kind of continuous assessment rather than just a turn up and get a certificate system then half of these guys would be bombed out the game asap.

It seems to be a thing now. Guys with a couple of coaching badges talking as if they have some unrivaled wealth of knowledge. When you get to the UEFA licences then I'll maybe listen, before that you just sound like a bit of an eejit.

27-09-2023, 06:38 PM
The GOAT abbreviation.

Rips my knitting for some reason.

And Haaland is a robot. Done to death.

And the idea of bringing back Griffiths.

27-09-2023, 08:19 PM
I'm currently keeping an eye on the market for a new job, not actively looking but just seeing what's out there. Some of the things listed as 'benefits' by employers are amusing and annoying in equal measure.

'Paid holidays'
'Company pension scheme'
'Competitive salary'

Sorry but a salary, competitive or otherwise, paid holidays and a pension scheme aren't 'benefits' they are a legal obligation for an employer. Listing say 'discounted gym memberships' or 'private healthcare cover' as a benefit is fine, a salary is nothing of the sort.

27-09-2023, 09:04 PM
The GOAT abbreviation.

Rips my knitting for some reason.

And Haaland is a robot. Done to death.

And the idea of bringing back Griffiths.

Enjoy him while he's here. Is my pet hate right now

27-09-2023, 10:05 PM
Enjoy him while he's here. Is my pet hate right now

Enjoy it while it's here.

27-09-2023, 11:04 PM

28-09-2023, 08:32 AM

I've recently moved my eldest son teams because of this.

His coach is screaming and shouting all game, getting on the referees back, all sorts of nonsense.

Totally against what I want from a coach.

28-09-2023, 09:19 AM
I've occasionally taken in my nephew's football games over the years and I have to say that - in general - I have been so impressed with the conduct of the coaches, players and refs. There seems to have been a big effort go in to try to rid the game of the toxic elements that were present when I played and to try to eradicate the worst of that. Obviously that's not 100% possible, hence the perfectly reasonable suggestions of this particular peeve, but I am generally impressed with the demeanour of most folk involved.

He's now moving into the equivalent to U14 age group (2010s) and my peeve would be folk who play football as a reason to channel violence. I'm no angel, can accept a bit of gobbiness and the odd mistimed tackle and enjoy a good, hard fought game as much as the next person but there are some psychopaths who just see it as a way to channel behaviour they wouldn't attempt anywhere else. Or maybe they would. At U14 it's really starting to creep into my nephew's games (and I remember it happening at roughly the same age when I was wee) and there's really no need for it. Refs are often too scared to adequately stamp down on it. There's nothing as good as a hard fought game of football that is on the edge. There's nothing worse that a game descending into farce because everybody just wants to prove how hard they are and fight each other.

28-09-2023, 10:59 AM

😠 😡 👿 😤 🤬

28-09-2023, 11:12 AM
😠 😡 👿 😤 🤬

Interesting depiction of a famous Hibs forward line.

28-09-2023, 03:16 PM
People who can't just let folk enjoy nice things, just reading that some wee dick chopped down the Tree at the Sycamore Gap last night, it's an iconic tree that was in the Robin Hood film, normally I don't get too uptight or raging about things that don't really effect me but found myself sad at reading it

28-09-2023, 05:52 PM
"It isn't the breed it's the owner".:rolleyes:

28-09-2023, 05:53 PM
People who can't just let folk enjoy nice things, just reading that some wee dick chopped down the Tree at the Sycamore Gap last night, it's an iconic tree that was in the Robin Hood film, normally I don't get too uptight or raging about things that don't really effect me but found myself sad at reading it

That one wound me up something awful.

The tree is iconic; a landmark for walkers, runners, cyclists and many more. It's also a place where people scattered ashes of loved ones and some roaster destroys it. Senseless.

28-09-2023, 08:39 PM
That one wound me up something awful.

The tree is iconic; a landmark for walkers, runners, cyclists and many more. It's also a place where people scattered ashes of loved ones and some roaster destroys it. Senseless.

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Sycamore-Gap-Ryan-Mystery-Mysteries-ebook/dp/B0157EGENU

The author has promised the culprit will suffer a painful death in her next book.

29-09-2023, 06:07 AM
The new, now almost completed, Picardy Place 'public space'. I'm convinced someone at the council is taking the piss and decided to design the worst, least negotiable and most user unfriendly space possible.

On the plus side they have succeeded in uniting cyclists, pedestrians and motorists because it seems all those groups hate it albeit for different reasons.

29-09-2023, 07:10 AM
The new, now almost completed, Picardy Place 'public space'. I'm convinced someone at the council is taking the piss and decided to design the worst, least negotiable and most user unfriendly space possible.

On the plus side they have succeeded in uniting cyclists, pedestrians and motorists because it seems all those groups hate it albeit for different reasons.

It's always been a place (no pun intended) that was controversial. Every time I passed it on the bus there would be someone complaining about the Wonky Pylon.

29-09-2023, 08:00 AM
It's always been a place (no pun intended) that was controversial. Every time I passed it on the bus there would be someone complaining about the Wonky Pylon.

I only really use it as a pedestrian so I'm only seeing from that view. As it was being worked on I kept thinking it would look better when it's finished, we've as good as reached that point and it's just hideous. It's like something Milton Keynes rejected for being too grey and depressing.

Everything about it now is just crap. I don't understand how something newly built can have so many cracked and uneven surfaces, damaged paths and kerbs etc. There's no greenery and the couple of as yet unplanted flower beds that are in place will make minimal difference when they are put in. The cycle lanes cut right across pedestrian access and vice versa, there's a distinct lack of tactile paving so good luck to those who need that and the bottleneck of traffic all around means the relaxing oasis vibe the propaganda promotes is really just a place to be choked by filthy exhaust fumes.

It's not an easy place to do much with and as you say there have been plenty failed attempts in the past but I found myself almost longing for the barren roundabout and broken kinetic model yesterday.

29-09-2023, 10:59 PM
It's always been a place (no pun intended) that was controversial. Every time I passed it on the bus there would be someone complaining about the Wonky Pylon.I loved the sculpture despite the neon failing after about 5 mins. Its twin was in the South Bank in London and it was working fine the last time I saw it. Not sure it's still there tho....

Sent from my SM-G990B using Tapatalk

30-09-2023, 01:43 PM
I thought the bit in the middle would've been a good place to put a mini version of the roof top bars that are being closed down at waverley

30-09-2023, 04:59 PM
People over-reacting to a silly cartoon about a dog going through a cat-flap.

30-09-2023, 05:48 PM
People over-reacting to a silly cartoon about a dog going through a cat-flap.

It won't get through the 'dog' flap.

People who don't interpret cartoons well.

30-09-2023, 05:55 PM
Complicated jokes too clever for me :-(

30-09-2023, 05:59 PM
Graffiti perpetrators

More specifically, those that think it's OK to spray paint on churches/historic buildings or on the side of folks houses/flats etc so the owners will need to pay some of their hard earned wages if they want it cleaned off (assuming they can afford it)

Should add, there some quite cool looking stuff in a few of the underpasses around Calder Road

30-09-2023, 06:12 PM
People who keep chocolate in the fridge. A rock hard slab of brown with sugar bloom that's picked up the scent of the cheese it was stored next to. Hold me back.

Carstairs or Broadmoor is too good for these people.

30-09-2023, 06:16 PM
People who keep chocolate in the fridge. A rock hard slab of brown with sugar bloom that's picked up the scent of the cheese it was stored next to. Hold me back.

100% agree

30-09-2023, 06:28 PM

Yes!!

If chocolate was meant to be in the fridge then shops would sell it in the fridge!

30-09-2023, 07:21 PM

100% agree
Yes!!

If chocolate was meant to be in the fridge then shops would sell it in the fridge!Galaxy in the fridge for the win!

Other varieties available (but are no as good!)

30-09-2023, 07:30 PM

Bananas are even worse.

30-09-2023, 11:55 PM
People who use the term Bro or Lad when talking to or about anyone.

ErinGoBraghHFC
01-10-2023, 12:11 AM

Tomato sauce as well, winds me right up

01-10-2023, 12:44 AM
People who think they have the right to tell other people how they should enjoy their food. The right way is the way you want it!

01-10-2023, 08:22 AM
People who use the term Bro or Lad when talking to or about anyone.

My pet hate is Buddy or Bud. Are we in Noo Yawk all of a sudden?

Fuzzywuzzy
01-10-2023, 09:11 PM

Guilty m'lud. Occasionally goes in the freezer (snickers/boost/starbar)

02-10-2023, 10:18 AM
Yes!!

If chocolate was meant to be in the fridge then shops would sell it in the fridge!

Do you store your beer, wine and fizzy drinks in the fridge?

05-10-2023, 05:44 PM
Monty Python references. Puns are one thing, but there’s loads of posts I don’t understand and seem utterly random, I assume they must be obscure inside jokes between posters referencing Monty Python.

On that theme, the appeal of a Monty Python. It has its moments, but can’t see why it’s so popular.

06-10-2023, 07:46 AM
Monty Python references. Puns are one thing, but there’s loads of posts I don’t understand and seem utterly random, I assume they must be obscure inside jokes between posters referencing Monty Python.

On that theme, the appeal of a Monty Python. It has its moments, but can’t see why it’s so popular.

You had to be there really!

I'd agree that the company of Pythoneers can be wearing. Not so much nowadays but back in the day it was groups of guys mostly who had clearly seen the films several times and could more or less trot out the entire scripts. Often they were armed forces chaps who had not much else to do and not much intellect in the first place.

06-10-2023, 08:00 AM
You had to be there really!

I'd agree that the company of Pythoneers can be wearing. Not so much nowadays but back in the day it was groups of guys mostly who had clearly seen the films several times and could more or less trot out the entire scripts. Often they were armed forces chaps who had not much else to do and not much intellect in the first place.

Strange, as I recall it was mainly students who had otherwise zero personality.

06-10-2023, 08:55 AM
Yeah, the Python references on almost every thread are becoming grating. Reminds me of this old XKCD comic:

https://imgs.xkcd.com/comics/monty_python.jpg (https://xkcd.com/16/)

06-10-2023, 09:27 AM
I don’t think it ought to be blasphemy, just a few life of Brian quotes.

06-10-2023, 09:29 AM
Strange, as I recall it was mainly students who had otherwise zero personality.

I aspire to having zero personality.

06-10-2023, 09:31 AM
Men who can't aim in public toilets.

I can almost accept it if you miss the target with a pee. Obviously it's just common courtesy to clean it up and not doing so makes you a manky ******* but the actual act of missing makes some degree of sense. However I've lost count of the number of times I've gone into cubicles, be that at work, on trains, in pubs or whatever and there is ***** everywhere. Not just in the pan but on the seat, on the rim, on the wall behind the toilet.......How is that possible when you are sitting down? How can you then walk out of there and leave that for someone else to find?

Filthy, horrible, clarty *******s.

06-10-2023, 10:41 AM

I can almost accept it if you miss the target with a pee. Obviously it's just common courtesy to clean it up and not doing so makes you a manky ******* but the actual act of missing makes some degree of sense. However I've lost count of the number of times I've gone into cubicles, be that at work, on trains, in pubs or whatever and there is ***** everywhere. Not just in the pan but on the seat, on the rim, on the wall behind the toilet.......How is that possible when you are sitting down? How can you then walk out of there and leave that for someone else to find?

I'd like to add service stations to that list.

They are hell holes. My heart breaks a little every time I have to pull in to Charnock Richard services.

06-10-2023, 01:17 PM

It has to be on purpose. There’s no way anyone is making that sort of mess by accident. Totally agree with you on this one, it’s just clarty.

06-10-2023, 01:41 PM

Went for a pee in my local Asda few months ago and there was a massive big jobby in the middle of the floor. I'm not talking a cubicle floor but right in middle of the actual room floor. A full on massive big turd. Went to the kiosk next to the toilets and reported it. But duck me, some filthy people out there.

06-10-2023, 02:46 PM

Totally agree, nipped into the toilets today at the Western General behind the cafe opposite the taxi rank and the amount of pee covering the bowl was ridiculous, you have big white bowl and a perfect instrument to aim with, how the hell do you miss ffs.

06-10-2023, 03:10 PM

Reminds me of a sign I saw years ago in a pub toilet.

'Ladies: If you sprinkle when you tinkle, be a sweet and wipe the seat.

Gentlemen: Please stand closer, it may be shorter than you think!'

Bridge hibs
06-10-2023, 03:20 PM
Reminds me of a sign I saw years ago in a pub toilet.

'Ladies: If you sprinkle when you tinkle, be a sweet and wipe the seat.

Gentlemen: Please stand closer, it may be shorter than you think!'

I have trouble with me pee pee pole, its more like a garden sprinkler, hopefully fixed now but I do try and wipe down the toilet pan, floor, walls and ceiling after Ive peed 🫣

06-10-2023, 09:48 PM
I have trouble with me pee pee pole, its more like a garden sprinkler, hopefully fixed now but I do try and wipe down the toilet pan, floor, walls and ceiling after Ive peed 🫣

It's the slippery slope.

07-10-2023, 01:23 PM
“Posted on X, formally known as Twitter”

FFS aye maybe for a couple of days but why does every story on so many outlets still have this?

If you didn’t know by know you are never gonna know that it changed its name!

07-10-2023, 10:48 PM
“Posted on X, formerly known as Twitter”

FFS aye maybe for a couple of days but why does every story on so many outlets still have this?

Could that nice Mr Musk have dictated that media outlets must do this? :dunno:

12-10-2023, 01:59 PM
A lot of things people say. Some are cliches, some are .net. Most are irrational…

The amount of sentences amongst my work colleagues that end with “perspective” or “point of view”.

.net threads becoming like mathematical equations due to the modern obsession with ‘stats’.

Player performances being described as “fine” (in the format xxxxx was fine) usually by a poster whose favourite player was mediocre at best.

7/10 every week.

If a player could do that he wouldn’t be at Hibs.

When you start social media posts with “when you”.

Cool beans. Worldie. Limbs. The Prem. Chocca (block). Cuppa (tea). Binge (to describe watching tv). Chronic (when you mean very bad).

Describing something as “cringe” (ironically makes me cringe)

Being asked if I have “resource” or “capacity” to ‘pick something up’ at work. Just ask me if I can ****ing do whatever ****ty wee job it is you want doing.

Hence why.

“Ragdolled” now being used to simply describe going past a man or beating a team.

Anyone that refers to Instagram as “the gram”. Or, even worse for that matter, Glasgow as “the weege”.

The fact it’s almost the norm, particularly on the news, to say “an” when there’s no need. E.g. “an historic moment”

Anyone going for a cheeky anything to eat or drink. Whether it’s Nando’s or Prosecco and whether it’s with their girls or ‘this one’.

To be continued. It’s only Thursday.

12-10-2023, 02:06 PM
A lot of things people say. Some are cliches, some are .net. Most are irrational…

The amount of sentences amongst my work colleagues that end with “perspective” or “point of view”.

.net threads becoming like mathematical equations due to the modern obsession with ‘stats’.

Player performances being described as “fine” (in the format xxxxx was fine) usually by a poster whose favourite player was mediocre at best.

7/10 every week.

Cool beans. Worldie. Limbs. The Prem. Chocca (block). Cuppa (tea). Binge (to describe watching tv). Chronic (when you mean very bad).

Being asked if I have “resource” or “capacity” to ‘pick something up’ at work. Just ask me if I can ****ing do whatever ****ty wee job it is you want doing.

Hence why.

“Ragdolled” now being used to simply describe going past a man or beating a team.

Anyone that refers to Instagram as “the gram”. Or, even worse for that matter, Glasgow as “the weege”.

The fact it’s almost the norm, particularly on the news, to say “an” when there’s no need. E.g. “an historic moment”

Anyone going for a cheeky anything to eat or drink. Whether it’s Nando’s or Prosecco and whether it’s with their girls or ‘this one’.

That one is painful.

When I was at uni in Aberdeen people I knew would refer to spending a weekend either up in 'the deen' or down in 'the burgh'. Glasgow was always 'heading to G Town'.

I also hate the obsession with stats in football. I saw a screenshot the other day fro. half time of a game on HibsTV with a stat for 'Duels won'. I'm sure that isn't a HibsTV invention but GTF anyway.

pollution
12-10-2023, 06:23 PM

7/10 every week.

Hence why.

I feel your pain !

12-10-2023, 06:41 PM
We always say "the weedge" as a joke. Like "dahn the smoke". A sort of pisstake of folk that use it as the norm.

Peanut Shaz
12-10-2023, 09:12 PM
Youngsters in my work everyytime they like something..."you're slaying it". "Giving off great vibes". Absolutely does my head in.

13-10-2023, 08:11 AM
"Poorless" to describe someone's mild amusement at something. Possibly the stupidest word ever.

13-10-2023, 10:33 AM
I still think that "Oh my days" is the biggest load of nonsense of a phrase.

13-10-2023, 03:23 PM
Buses.

13-10-2023, 06:59 PM
People who manage to cough or sneeze at 110 decibels, especially in public.

13-10-2023, 07:08 PM
People who manage to cough or sneeze at 110 decibels, especially in public.

:rolleyes:Urgh... I'm bad for the odd loud sneeze :-/

Bridge hibs
13-10-2023, 07:37 PM
Canned laughter, absolutely ****ing chronic with the Chase being one of the worst 🤬

15-10-2023, 07:10 AM
The “USMNT” (US Mens National Team) when did that become a thing? Saw it as a headline when Germany beat them in a friendly.

15-10-2023, 08:38 AM
The “USMNT” (US Mens National Team) when did that become a thing? Saw it as a headline when Germany beat them in a friendly.

They’ve been using that phrase and abbreviation for a few years