View Full Version : Pet Peeves IV
pollution
18-06-2024, 06:24 PM
Six by Nico and everything related to it. Make it go away.
Why ?
18-06-2024, 07:34 PM
Banks, I got euros from the post office today, told them how much I wanted and paid by chip and pin, job done, I need money to pay a plumber tomorrow and went to the cash line, couldn't take money out as I've allegedly withdrawn my daily limit, called the bank and they are blaming the post office saying its classed as a withdrawal rather than a sale so it counts towards my daily withdrawal limit, now I need to actually go to the bank in person tomorrow rather than simply going to the cash line twice
18-06-2024, 08:09 PM
People that say wildly inaccurate statements on tv/radio or podcasts and it goes unchallenged
Today I listened to the BBC football Scotland podcast and Leanne Crichton confidently asserted that Mcgregor was like a fish out of water on friday because he never had Gilmour in beside him and they'd played so well together throughout qualifying
We played together in 3/10 matches. None of which were Norway or Spain.
18-06-2024, 09:12 PM
Banks, I got euros from the post office today, told them how much I wanted and paid by chip and pin, job done, I need money to pay a plumber tomorrow and went to the cash line, couldn't take money out as I've allegedly withdrawn my daily limit, called the bank and they are blaming the post office saying its classed as a withdrawal rather than a sale so it counts towards my daily withdrawal limit, now I need to actually go to the bank in person tomorrow rather than simply going to the cash line twice
Seems reasonable to me. Cash is cash, regardless of currency.
18-06-2024, 10:58 PM
Seems reasonable to me. Cash is cash, regardless of currency.
to me it's like me purchasing something, I've not used an ATM, I've went to the post office to buy an amount of Euros, to me it's no different to buying a TV, I should still be able to walk outside and use a cash line to take out sterling
19-06-2024, 07:59 AM
People that say wildly inaccurate statements on tv/radio or podcasts and it goes unchallenged
Today I listened to the BBC football Scotland podcast and Leanne Crichton confidently asserted that Mcgregor was like a fish out of water on friday because he never had Gilmour in beside him and they'd played so well together throughout qualifying
We played together in 3/10 matches. None of which were Norway or Spain.
Similar to what Linekers panel said about Albania. The only reason they got to the Euros was because they increased to compliment to 24 teams competing. Albania won their group consisting of Czech republic, Poland and Moldova
20-06-2024, 07:07 PM
Not sure if this belongs on here or on the Driving Pet Peeves thread, but anyway....
People whose vehicles, cars or motorbikes, are unnecessarily noisy.
The most common are the Boy Racers motors with devices to make a ridiculous racket when they put the foot down... but the ones that have been annoying me most recently are the motorbikes that make a sound almost on the level of a low flying plane.
There's a couple that drive around every evening near where I live and the racket is just ridiculous. They've actually woken me up a few times after midnight
It's a good job for them I no longer have a gun!
21-06-2024, 03:38 PM
People that call Cramond, Crammond 🤯
22-06-2024, 03:31 PM
People that call Cramond, Crammond 🤯
I presume you’re talking about wrong spelling. but on a similar theme, I get annoyed with folk who pronounce Gullane, Gillan
22-06-2024, 03:59 PM
I presume you’re talking about wrong spelling. but on a similar theme, I get annoyed with folk who pronounce Gullane, Gillan
Although it does remind me of Karen 😉
Bridge hibs
22-06-2024, 04:18 PM
People who call Holyrood palace Hollyrood palace, my Wife being one of them, its not ****ing HOLLY its ****ing HOLY !! 🤬
22-06-2024, 04:19 PM
People who call Holyrood palace Hollyrood palace, my Wife being one of them, its not ****ing HOLLY its ****ing HOLY !! 🤬
Holy Willoughby gets pretty angry about that as well.
22-06-2024, 04:20 PM
Holy Willoughby gets pretty angry about that as well.
And so she should because her name is Holly, not holy. 🤣
22-06-2024, 04:23 PM
Whilst we're on about the names of places, it's not Princess Street 🤬
22-06-2024, 04:30 PM
And so she should because her name is Holly, not holy. 🤣
I know. :greengrin
Bridge hibs
22-06-2024, 05:18 PM
Holy Willoughby gets pretty angry about that as well.🤣
Princes St as opposed to Princess St, or anywhere from Pilrig St to Elm Row as Leith Walk.
Livingstone - naw, it’s Livingston. There is no ‘e’
22-06-2024, 09:23 PM
Unless you are talking about the good Doctor of course [emoji1787]
22-06-2024, 10:21 PM
That reminds me that a few years back I was at hospitality at Almondvale for a Livi v Hibs game. They handed everyone a key ring as a memento and it said Livingstone FC. Funny thing was when I pointed out the error, the folk handing them out hadn't even noticed it. Tinpot club.
Unless you are talking about the good Doctor of course [emoji1787]
😂 funnily enough I thought about adding something along those lines in my post :greengrin
23-06-2024, 09:07 PM
The National Team.
Sent from my SM-G990B using Tapatalk
25-06-2024, 07:50 PM
Clickbait headlines like 'Chelsea legend unrecognisable on beach holiday'.
Then you look at the pictures and unless Gianfranfo Zola has grown a foot and changed race it is quite clearly Didier Drogba but just a few years older.
HibbyDave
25-06-2024, 08:04 PM
Just seen the Tennants ad for the umpteenth time. Has anyone ever the word ooft being used?
I cannot stand it.
Bridge hibs
25-06-2024, 08:13 PM
People who call Tennents Tennants or Tenants 😬
HibbyDave
25-06-2024, 08:57 PM
People who call Tennents Tennants or Tenants 😬
😂😂😂
26-06-2024, 04:40 PM
The built in wardrobes that the previous owners of my house put in. Absolutely useless. The middle of the wardrobe is pretty much inaccessible. The hanging rails are also too far back into the wardrobe and inexplicably high so you are on your tiptoes leaning forward trying to even get anything at either end of the wardrobe. Anything in the middle is even worse. I’ve got a funeral tomorrow and just done my shoulder in trying to get to my rarely used funeral clothes. What’s more, got my suit out to find that it doesn’t fit any more so I’m going to have to make a trip to the shops just now
Ahh! Those built in clothes shrinking wardrobes! I hate them too :greengrin
Fuzzywuzzy
27-06-2024, 10:25 AM
Pair of nikes where the left sole makes a popping noise when walking. No air pockets on the sole. Does my ****ing head in!!
Is there an air pocket that’s not visible? It may have been punctured by a nail or something sharp that’s been stood on. It’s a really frustrating noise though
Fuzzywuzzy
28-06-2024, 11:03 AM
Is there an air pocket that’s not visible? It may have been punctured by a nail or something sharp that’s been stood on. It’s a really frustrating noise though
Nah checked several times. Just really nippy!!
28-06-2024, 07:32 PM
Collecting relatives from Glasgow Airport, flight delayed so we were in the airport car park for 90 minutes...
...and the parking charge was 24 quid!
28-06-2024, 07:35 PM
Who the **** are most of the folk playing Glastonbury?
It’s really started pissing me off in recent years but I can’t quite put my finger on it. I think it’s been since the “ooooh Jeremy Corbyn” **** when he did a speech there that makes me think it’s just a champagne socialists paradise.
And the line up is terrible. What is LCD Soundsytem and how do you make it stop?
28-06-2024, 07:37 PM
It’s really started pissing me off in recent years but I can’t quite put my finger on it. I think it’s been since the “ooooh Jeremy Corbyn” **** when he did a speech there that makes me think it’s just a champagne socialists paradise.
And the line up is terrible. What is LCD Soundsytem and how do you make it stop?Losing your edge mate
28-06-2024, 07:41 PM
Losing your edge mate
It’s always been blunt.
28-06-2024, 07:57 PM
Collecting relatives from Glasgow Airport, flight delayed so we were in the airport car park for 90 minutes...
...and the parking charge was 24 quid!
Got picked up from Edinburgh airport. We were in the car park less than 3 minutes. £5. Shocker.
28-06-2024, 07:59 PM
And the line up is terrible. What is LCD Soundsytem and how do you make it stop?
Tbf LCD Soundsystem have been about for close to 25 years. They were big when I went to Uni and that wasn't yesterday.
28-06-2024, 08:03 PM
Tbf LCD Soundsystem have been about for close to 25 years. They were big when I went to Uni and that wasn't yesterday.
They looked old enough to have been around a while.
Can’t say I’d ever heard of them. Not gutted about it though.
29-06-2024, 05:03 AM
Nah checked several times. Just really nippy!!
Nike will replace them if you contact them directly.
29-06-2024, 08:22 AM
Ah but is it Princes St or Prince's St?
On a similar note: People who write St Andrew's Square when they mean St Andrew Square.
That one fair rips ma knittin'!
Bridge hibs
29-06-2024, 08:33 AM
Ah but is it Princes St or Prince's St?
On a similar note: People who write St Andrew's Square when they mean St Andrew Square.
That one fair rips ma knittin'!Or Leith Kirkgate often called Leith Kirgate
29-06-2024, 08:58 AM
Got picked up from Edinburgh airport. We were in the car park less than 3 minutes. £5. Shocker.I won't go in till the passengers are out and ready to go Generally it's my kids so they walk to the long stay which is a free 10 minute entry/exit. I didn't mind the odd pound about 10 tears back but it's now simply legalised piracy.
pollution
29-06-2024, 09:43 AM
I won't go in till the passengers are out and ready to go Generally it's my kids so they walk to the long stay which is a free 10 minute entry/exit. I didn't mind the odd pound about 10 tears back but it's now simply legalised piracy.
...and if you need a trolley it is £1 non refundable. What a hello from the new joint owners !
29-06-2024, 02:24 PM
I won't go in till the passengers are out and ready to go Generally it's my kids so they walk to the long stay which is a free 10 minute entry/exit. I didn't mind the odd pound about 10 tears back but it's now simply legalised piracy.
I was standing ready to go, the wife pulled up beside me, jumped in and straight to the exit.
£5 please. Robbing swines.
He's here!
29-06-2024, 07:44 PM
Probably been mentioned already but joggers who have their dogs clipped on a lead to their waist while they run. You can get plenty of exercise by walking a dog and it also gives the dog pleasure by being able to do all the things dogs like to do - unlike being forced to trot alongside a selfish owner.
29-06-2024, 08:43 PM
Probably been mentioned already but joggers who have their dogs clipped on a lead to their waist while they run. You can get plenty of exercise by walking a dog and it also gives the dog pleasure by being able to do all the things dogs like to do - unlike being forced to trot alongside a selfish owner.
The waist harness has been banned for at least a year from Parkrun because of lack of control of the dog and a number of accidents.
29-06-2024, 09:09 PM
I doubt it will have been mentioned before.
29-06-2024, 11:22 PM
I doubt it will have been mentioned before.
I think the poster was getting confused by the 'cats in your rucksack while you skydive' pet peeve.
30-06-2024, 10:21 AM
'Make sure you take a pen to the polling station on Thursday, they'll just rub out the pencil'.
One of those things that only became a thing because of social media. If there was mass vote rigging then that involves opening the ballot boxes so why would a pen or pencil make any difference? Surely they would just remove 'undesirable' votes regardless of how they were written.
Worth noting that one reason pencil is used is specifically to avoid invalidated papers, wet ink can smudge or transfer to another box when folded, pencil can't.
Reminds me of the Brexit referendum when the leave side were constantly going on about a rigged vote........until they realised they were going to win.
01-07-2024, 08:51 AM
Prank calls, erseholes who think the old Liver and takeaway jokes are funny. Time wasting idiots nearly every night 😡
02-07-2024, 12:29 PM
The weather.
2nd of July and we are treated to this. Nipped out the office at lunchtime to be greeted by a biting cold wind and then the inevitable drizzle that soaks right through you.
Set to be the same for about the next 10 days.
It's just depressing. There's no mystery as to why Scotland has such a poor relationship with alcohol and drugs. Look out the window for 5 minutes and part of the answer is staring you in the face.
Stairway 2 7
02-07-2024, 01:05 PM
The weather.
2nd of July and we are treated to this. Nipped out the office at lunchtime to be greeted by a biting cold wind and then the inevitable drizzle that soaks right through you.
It's just depressing. There's no mystery as to why Scotland has such a poor relationship with alcohol and drugs. Look out the window for 5 minutes and part of the answer is staring you in the face.
Summer was crap last year and grim start this year. I love holidaying in Scotland but it's so expensive and so often like this, you can easily see why people fly off abroad for some sunshine
02-07-2024, 02:43 PM
The weather.
Summer doesn't exist now. When the sun comes out there always seems to be a cold wind. I see 40 mph winds forecasted for Thursday. You'd think we'd get a decent spell after that bloody awful rain in May/June. Nah, no chance. Booking a holiday in Scotland is a huge gamble unless you actually don't mind wind/rain/cold.
02-07-2024, 02:48 PM
The weather.
Summer was crap last year and grim start this year.
Summer doesn't exist now.
Is this a result of climate change?
pollution
02-07-2024, 05:58 PM
We have the heating on. In July !
02-07-2024, 06:04 PM
Is this the cause of climate change?
02-07-2024, 06:23 PM
Is this the cause of climate change?
02-07-2024, 08:32 PM
To be fair, I'm lighting my stove around 5pm but not needing to feed it after 7pm
babahibs
03-07-2024, 11:32 AM
Can't you just turn it off? :dunno:
Jakhog1
03-07-2024, 02:17 PM
I was in two minds this morning to put the heating on, never done that before and couldn't face the depressing thought of doing so.
Folk who don’t want to in any way defend their point of view, and just throw hyperbolic nonsense back:
Person A: Hibs defence is poor, how does Bushiri get a game? He’s mince
Person B: I think you’re being a bit harsh, Rocky isn’t as bad as is made out at times
Person A: aye, so I guess you think everything is just fine?! You and Rocky are both ****ing clowns! Gtf, you’re just accepting mediocrity, folk like you are the reason we’re pish
Does my head in, if you genuinely think a player is poor, then let’s have a chat and both articulate our points of view
03-07-2024, 07:54 PM
Folk who don’t want to in any way defend their point of view, and just throw hyperbolic nonsense back:
Person B: I think you’re being a bit harsh, Rocky isn’t as bad as is made out at times
Person A: aye, so I guess you think everything is just fine?! You and Rocky are both ****ing clowns! Gtf, you’re just accepting mediocrity, folk like you are the reason we’re pish
Does my head in, if you genuinely think a player is poor, then let’s have a chat and both articulate our points of view
What a load of single fish.
pollution
03-07-2024, 08:01 PM
You couldn't have put it better !
That explains why I don't post as much as I would like to here.
04-07-2024, 08:33 AM
You couldn't have put it better !
That explains why I don't post as much as I would like to here.Yip, up there with "It must be...... 'for next manager.
Just_Jimmy
04-07-2024, 09:33 AM
This weather...
It's been ***** for months. I'm sick of it. It's bloody July ffs.
Sent from my SM-G991B using Tapatalk
04-07-2024, 10:13 AM
This weather...
It's been ***** for months. I'm sick of it. It's bloody July ffs.
May was wonderful, highest May temperature on record. June was wetter and cooler than average.
Stairway 2 7
04-07-2024, 10:38 AM
May was wonderful, highest May temperature on record. June was wetter and cooler than average.
May was battered by rain and floods, no good being warm with a rain jacket. Wettest April on record too. More rain is due to climate change though apparently.
04-07-2024, 11:07 AM
May was battered by rain and floods, no good being warm with a rain jacket. Wettest April on record too. More rain is due to climate change though apparently.
May 2024’s average mean temperature of 13.1°C for the UK beat 2008’s previous record figure of 12.1°C in a series which dates back to 1884.
The month’s mean temperature has been influenced particularly by above average temperatures in the northern half of the UK, with Scotland’s May mean temperature of 12.3°C beating 2018’s previous record by 1.6°C. England and Northern Ireland also set a mean temperature record for the month of May, while Wales equalled its figure from 2008.
A Met Office Spokesperson said: “While it may not have felt like it for many, with sunshine in relatively short supply, provisional figures show May was the warmest on record in our series back to 1884. This warmth was especially influenced by high overnight temperatures, with the average UK minimum temperature for May 1.2°C higher than the previous record.
“Rainfall was above average for the UK, while some areas in the south saw over a third more rain than average. In contrast, Northern Ireland and Scotland were slightly drier than average in the month.”
I'll happily take the met office report to make up my mind regarding how the weather was in may.
https://www.metoffice.gov.uk/about-us/news-and-media/media-centre/weather-and-climate-news/2024/warm-may-and-spring-for-the-uk#:~:text=The%20UK%20had%20its%20warmest,which%20 dates%20back%20to%201884.
I should add, the tan I got while working outside in May can't be mistaken for weather beaten 🤣
04-07-2024, 12:38 PM
Apart from a few sunny days May was dire in Edinburgh & the Lothians. Rain rain rain.
Stairway 2 7
04-07-2024, 01:04 PM
May 2024’s average mean temperature of 13.1°C for the UK beat 2008’s previous record figure of 12.1°C in a series which dates back to 1884.
The month’s mean temperature has been influenced particularly by above average temperatures in the northern half of the UK, with Scotland’s May mean temperature of 12.3°C beating 2018’s previous record by 1.6°C. England and Northern Ireland also set a mean temperature record for the month of May, while Wales equalled its figure from 2008.
A Met Office Spokesperson said: “While it may not have felt like it for many, with sunshine in relatively short supply, provisional figures show May was the warmest on record in our series back to 1884. This warmth was especially influenced by high overnight temperatures, with the average UK minimum temperature for May 1.2°C higher than the previous record.
“Rainfall was above average for the UK, while some areas in the south saw over a third more rain than average. In contrast, Northern Ireland and Scotland were slightly drier than average in the month.”
I'll happily take the met office report to make up my mind regarding how the weather was in may.
https://www.metoffice.gov.uk/about-us/news-and-media/media-centre/weather-and-climate-news/2024/warm-may-and-spring-for-the-uk#:~:text=The%20UK%20had%20its%20warmest,which%20 dates%20back%20to%201884.
I should add, the tan I got while working outside in May can't be mistaken for weather beaten 🤣
You must tan easily it hit 20 on only 2 days. We've had a handful of days this year I would call roasting and looking at the next 2 weeks we'll have to hope for August. We've had the wettest 18 months since 1836 which is depressing
pollution
04-07-2024, 01:25 PM
This confirms the adage that "there are lies, damned lies and statistics ".
While the numbers are no doubt correct, it feels miserable !
04-07-2024, 01:37 PM
Apart from a few sunny days May was dire in Edinburgh & the Lothians. Rain rain rain.
I realised that from the met Office report. I'm further north and it was a lot better than the central belt.
04-07-2024, 01:49 PM
Folk who moan about the weather, it's Scotland not the Bahamas! We should be used to it by now.
Stairway 2 7
04-07-2024, 02:09 PM
Folk who moan about the weather, it's Scotland not the Bahamas! We should be used to it by now.
It's the wettest 18 months in almost 200 years, you'd have to be a fair age to be used to it. It's also 14 degrees and raining and the rest of Europe seems to be ******g roasting. Brexit has also ****** it for any of us wanting to move to Europe to chase the sun
04-07-2024, 02:11 PM
I’m on holiday over in Northern Ireland at the moment, my mate has a caravan in Portrush which he’s given us to use whilst he and his family are overseas getting some sun.
First time I’ve been here and genuinely the only thing that’s let it down has been the weather. It’s a quite spectacularly beautiful part of the world, some of the beaches etc are spectacular.
My mate’s all geared up so when the sun shines they’re able to nip up and take full advantage. We’ve just not struck it lucky this week.
Them’s the breaks.
If we got the weather in the UK it would be near perfect.
04-07-2024, 02:49 PM
You must tan easily it hit 20 on only 2 days. We've had a handful of days this year I would call roasting and looking at the next 2 weeks we'll have to hope for August. We've had the wettest 18 months since 1836 which is depressing
I don’t tan easily but I have a tan built over the past couple of months just from pottering in the garden.
04-07-2024, 02:51 PM
I don’t tan easily but I have a tan built over the past couple of months just from pottering in the garden.
Yep, more time spent outside, pottering is all you need to get a bit of colour.
04-07-2024, 02:56 PM
My cousin thought I had been on the sunbeds when he saw me at a funeral last week :greengrin
Maybe I could get a gig as a professional Ben Kensell lookalike :faf:
04-07-2024, 03:44 PM
It's rust :greengrin
04-07-2024, 03:45 PM
It's rust :greengrin
Certainly in my joints 🤣 off to running training in an hour, see how that goes.
04-07-2024, 06:35 PM
Certainly in my joints 🤣 off to running training in an hour, see how that goes.
Oh, ow, creak, groan.
Just_Jimmy
04-07-2024, 08:41 PM
I should add, the tan I got while working outside in May can't be mistaken for weather beaten [emoji1787]13 degrees isn't hot.
It might have been warmer in may than 2008 but it pissed rain most days.
It's been crap for 18 months and the met office can paint it however they want, it's miserable.
Without turning it into a polical post, I find it so frustrating that it's so obviously down to climate change and yet the political discourse is so weak on climate change and real issues.
04-07-2024, 08:55 PM
13 degrees isn't hot.
It might have been warmer in may than 2008 but it pissed rain most days.
It's been crap for 18 months and the met office can paint it however they want, it's miserable.
Without turning it into a polical post, I find it so frustrating that it's so obviously down to climate change and yet the political discourse is so weak on climate change and real issues.
The mean temperature is over the 24 hours not just daytime temperature.
I've already said that I'm not in Edinburgh and it has been a better May where I am compared to the central belt. I dye wool and had lots of days in May when I was doing it outside in the sun and getting a bit of a tan. A couple of weeks ago I was in Dornoch and it was roasting, comparatively speaking.
Just_Jimmy
04-07-2024, 09:06 PM
The mean temperature is over the 24 hours not just daytime temperature.
I've already said that I'm not in Edinburgh and it has been a better May where I am compared to the central belt. I dye wool and had lots of days in May when I was doing it outside in the sun and getting a bit of a tan. A couple of weeks ago I was in Dornoch and it was roasting, comparatively speaking.I'm not in Edinburgh either.
I don't dispute that there's bee the odd day here and there, but it feels like it's been utterly miserable either rain, or serious winds, or both for 18 months.
I'd be happy with 3-4 weeks of 20 degrees and dry.
I'm not in Edinburgh either.
I don't dispute that there's bee the odd day here and there, but it feels like it's been utterly miserable either rain, or serious winds, or both for 18 months.
I'd be happy with 3-4 weeks of 20 degrees and dry.
In the last 3 months or so, I’d estimate (where I am) we’ve had maybe 7-8 days where there’s been no rain. And most of the rest has been constant and/heavy rain. It’s not been cold for the most part, but it’s horrible weather. Had to have the heating on a few times over the last few days though
Bridge hibs
05-07-2024, 06:50 AM
Henman hill, just **** off, time to put it out to grass now 🤬
05-07-2024, 01:36 PM
I agree with the weather shout, it's grim. Coupled with the fact that the longest day has been and gone and we're now in the run in to the 'nights fair drawing in' and more miserable weather, I find it a real struggle. We should be used to it by now, but a wee bit of respite wouldn't go amiss!
Stairway 2 7
05-07-2024, 01:43 PM
I agree with the weather shout, it's grim. Coupled with the fact that the longest day has been and gone and we're now in the run in to the 'nights fair drawing in' and more miserable weather, I find it a real struggle. We should be used to it by now, but a wee bit of respite wouldn't go amiss!
Highs of 14 degrees and thunder tomorrow in Edinburgh soz, the hibs games are almost back though
05-07-2024, 01:51 PM
Prank calls, erseholes who think the old Liver and takeaway jokes are funny. Time wasting idiots nearly every night 😡
Scott Mills' fault. :agree:
Do you ever get any new ones?
Not really the same thing, but years back my flatmate at the time came home late at night, pished, with a fish supper that he'd got over the road from The Playhouse after watching Hearts lose at Ibrox (he is a Jambo).
He sat down in a stinking mood, opened up the fish and chips and all the batter on the fish came off, stuck to the paper.
Raging, he got up, got the Yellow Pages out and went out to the house phone in the hallway. I could hear him arguing with the chippy owner about how to resolve his complaint, he definitely wasn't for walking all the way up Leith Walk for a new one, and the chippy owner wasn't for sending one down the Walk in a taxi.
I sat in the front room listening to the argument, until he went quiet and seemed to end the call abruptly.
When he came through, I asked him what had happened.
"I phoned the wrong chippy"
05-07-2024, 02:18 PM
Not really the same thing, but years back my flatmate at the time came home late at night, pished, with a fish supper that he'd got over the road from The Playhouse after watching Hearts lose at Ibrox (he is a Jambo).
He sat down in a stinking mood, opened up the fish and chips and all the batter on the fish came off, stuck to the paper.
Raging, he got up, got the Yellow Pages out and went out to the house phone in the hallway. I could hear him arguing with the chippy owner about how to resolve his complaint, he definitely wasn't for walking all the way up Leith Walk for a new one, and the chippy owner wasn't for sending one down the Walk in a taxi.
I sat in the front room listening to the argument, until he went quiet and seemed to end the call abruptly.
I was expecting you to have consumed the evidence. 😃
That’s brilliant :tee hee:
pollution
06-07-2024, 09:52 AM
Is there a chip shop opposite the Playhouse ?
06-07-2024, 10:03 AM
The Deep Sea is just across the road, not sure why that would be a peeve though.🤭
06-07-2024, 10:43 AM
Guilianos
06-07-2024, 10:41 PM
Madri beer/lager. Nothing Spanish about it. Absolute con and totally false marketing. No idea how its legal to get away with it.
07-07-2024, 12:19 PM
Madri beer/lager. Nothing Spanish about it. Absolute con and totally false marketing. No idea how its legal to get away with it.
Yep, total con. Basically a slightly dearer version of Carling. Gnat's pish.
07-07-2024, 06:07 PM
Guilianos
Are their chips any good? 🤔
07-07-2024, 07:31 PM
The Deep Sea is just across the road, not sure why that would be a peeve though.🤭
Grabbed a bag of chips there in a rush before going to see Romesh at the playhouse. The chips were absolutely crap.
08-07-2024, 07:27 AM
Grabbed a bag of chips there in a rush before going to see Romesh at the playhouse. The chips were absolutely crap.
Couldn't tell you the last time I visited the place, I just know that it's there.
pollution
08-07-2024, 09:43 AM
Couldn't tell you the last time I visited the place, I just know that it's there.
Thanks for the info.
The Deep Sea was a sixties/seventies chip shop and I didn't know it was back.
It used to be very popular.
08-07-2024, 03:42 PM
Are their chips any good? 🤔
No idea, not been in years.
08-07-2024, 04:42 PM
Thanks for the info.
The Deep Sea was a sixties/seventies chip shop and I didn't know it was back.
It used to be very popular.
Not sure it's ever been away, has it? Though I think it might have been called Deep Sea 2 for a while. Had many different operators though, some (eg Crollas) better than others.
Peanut Shaz
08-07-2024, 09:22 PM
People in theatres who despite being asked before a theatre performance to switch off their phones, not to film/photograph or record any of the show, do just that. I was at the theatre in London on Saturday sat beside someone who was doing all the above. I didn’t challenge her but reported it to front of house who spoke to her at the interval. Despite this warning she did it again in the second act. I took great delight in putting my hand in front of her screen and ruining her video. She was not happy and gave me a mouthful for being rude!
09-07-2024, 07:46 AM
Orienteering around residential streets. I don’t know if it is with the World Orienteering Championships being held later this week in Edinburgh but there seems to be lots of folk doing orienteering around residential streets recently. I had read on a few local facebook groups people saying they were damaging folks property and now I’ve seen it myself. Twice in the last week I’ve seen orienteers running through people’s gardens in my street, trampling on plants. They don’t stick to the pavements either so it is a nightmare if you happen to get stuck behind them in the car.
09-07-2024, 08:13 AM
Orienteering around residential streets. I don’t know if it is with the World Orienteering Championships being held later this week in Edinburgh but there seems to be lots of folk doing orienteering around residential streets recently. I had read on a few local facebook groups people saying they were damaging folks property and now I’ve seen it myself. Twice in the last week I’ve seen orienteers running through people’s gardens in my street, trampling on plants. They don’t stick to the pavements either so it is a nightmare if you happen to get stuck behind them in the car.
As a former orienteer I'm surprised and disappointed to hear that.
https://www.woc2024.org/
Download bulletin 4 and there is a map showing where competition is based, city centre, wester Hailes and Leith
People in theatres who despite being asked before a theatre performance to switch off their phones, not to film/photograph or record any of the show, do just that. I was at the theatre in London on Saturday sat beside someone who was doing all the above. I didn’t challenge her but reported it to front of house who spoke to her at the interval. Despite this warning she did it again in the second act. I took great delight in putting my hand in front of her screen and ruining her video. She was not happy and gave me a mouthful for being rude!
We saw Peter Kay at the Hydro last year. He himself asked nicely if people please wouldn’t film the show as it was just the start of the tour and he wanted everyone everyone who was coming along to get the same experience and enjoy it.
We were sitting just in front of the uppermost concourse, so could see almost everyone, within 10 minutes of him asking, you couldn’t count the number of phone screens up recording it.
09-07-2024, 12:55 PM
Agree. At Dylan shows you're asked to seal your phone in a pouch for the duration of the gig. At King Crimson shows there's large signs onstage saying anyone caught taking photos will be removed.
https://images.45worlds.com/f/cd/king-crimson-live-in-toronto-6-cd.jpg
09-07-2024, 01:12 PM
Agree. At Dylan shows you're asked to seal your phone in a pouch for the duration of the gig. At King Crimson shows there's large signs onstage saying anyone caught taking photos will be removed.
https://images.45worlds.com/f/cd/king-crimson-live-in-toronto-6-cd.jpg
By coincidence unnecessary capitalisation is a major peeve of mine.
09-07-2024, 03:35 PM
I Think They're Trying To Make A Point.
09-07-2024, 03:52 PM
It's called 'Initial Case' and is often used in notices, warning signs, etc, as it attracts people's attention and is (apparently) easier to read at a distance.
09-07-2024, 04:08 PM
It's called 'Initial Case' and is often used in notices, warning signs, etc, as it attracts people's attention and is (apparently) easier to read at a distance.I know what it is, the fact that it has a name and an intended purpose doesn't make it any less annoying. Personally I find it harder to read, but that may be partly because it's obscured by red mist.
09-07-2024, 04:41 PM
I know what it is, the fact that it has a name and an intended purpose doesn't make it any less annoying. Personally I find it harder to read, but that may be partly because it's obscured by red mist.
Fair enough, everybody's entitled to their own pet peeves :aok:
Going to a chippy and their chips aren’t ready!! They have one job.. they say 2 minutes and 10 minutes later your still waiting..
10-07-2024, 04:52 PM
I know what it is, the fact that it has a name and an intended purpose doesn't make it any less annoying. Personally I find it harder to read, but that may be partly because it's obscured by red mist.
10-07-2024, 06:26 PM
Going to a chippy and their chips aren’t ready!! They have one job.. they say 2 minutes and 10 minutes later your still waiting..
I hate 2 things in a chippy. Either getting the dregs of the chips from a previous batch or getting chips fresh out the fryer.
There is a magic period about 5-10 minutes after they have been cooked when they are just about perfect. If I am told I have to wait on chips I usually just say I'll go back later and give it 15 minutes or so.
10-07-2024, 06:45 PM
Guaranteed one minute wait for chips every time if you come to me 😀
10-07-2024, 07:00 PM
Guaranteed one minute wait for chips every time if you come to me 😀
11-07-2024, 05:05 AM
A lot of these Latin beers are crap. Too sweet. Peroni is ok.
Give us a Perlenbacher from Lidl - ice cold.
Stairway 2 7
11-07-2024, 05:58 AM
I don't get the hate for Madri at least everyone now knows its English. Some people that rip it say they prefer Peroni, Moretti, Stella, San Miguel, Asahi, Corona ect but they are all UK brewed too. It's rare to get a mainstream lager on tap in the pub that's imported nowadays, you'll get it at home if you've perfect draft ect, they are night and day to the UK versions. When it comes down to it though it's just a pint, drink what you enjoy SLAINTE
pollution
11-07-2024, 12:59 PM
I don't get the hate for Madri at least everyone now knows its English. Some people that rip it say they prefer Peroni, Moretti, Stella, San Miguel, Asahi, Corona ect but they are all UK brewed too. It's rare to get a mainstream lager on tap in the pub that's imported nowadays, you'll get it at home if you've perfect draft ect, they are night and day to the UK versions. When it comes down to it though it's just a pint, drink what you enjoy SLAINTE
Is Peroni not brewed in Italy ?
11-07-2024, 01:21 PM
It is. Budvar is still brewed in Czechia as well. They are the 2 big hitters not brewed under license elsewhere.
I don't have any issue with it as such. Madri is different in that they have basically invented a creation myth trying to pass a product off as something it isn't it (and it is utter crap into the bargain, give me a pint of Tennents ahead of it anyday).
11-07-2024, 01:58 PM
It is. Budvar is still brewed in Czechia as well. They are the 2 big hitters not brewed under license elsewhere.
I don't have any issue with it as such. Madri is different in that they have basically invented a creation myth trying to pass a product off as something it isn't it (and it is utter crap into the bargain, give me a pint of Tennents ahead of it anyday).
The bit in bold is the only part that concerns me. I couldn't care less where it's brewed or how it's advertised...it's just a rubbish pint.
11-07-2024, 02:13 PM
Folk who take suitcases with them when they go shopping to Tesco or other big stores.
Stairway 2 7
11-07-2024, 03:09 PM
Your right just checked your right, Peroni and tennents the only 2 of the top 10 selling lagers in the uk not brewed in England. Carling, Peroni, Fosters, Birra Moretti , Coors, Stella Artois , Carlsberg , San Miguel ,Amstel and Tennents
Stairway 2 7
11-07-2024, 03:11 PM
Folk who take suitcases with them when they go shopping to Tesco or other big stores.
Obviously don't own a car and don't want to carry bags. One of the best things about getting my first car was making shopping easier
11-07-2024, 03:38 PM
Your right just checked your right, Peroni and tennents the only 2 of the top 10 selling lagers in the uk not brewed in England. Carling, Peroni, Fosters, Birra Moretti , Coors, Stella Artois , Carlsberg , San Miguel ,Amstel and Tennents
Not been there for a while, so could well be wrong, but isn't there a Carlsberg brewery in Alloa?
Stairway 2 7
11-07-2024, 03:51 PM
Not been there for a while, so could well be wrong, but isn't there a Carlsberg brewery in Alloa?
Not sure it was from a BBC article. Hopefully the factory closes down wherever it is, UK version a brutal drink
Edit Peroni and Tennents the only two not brewed under licence in UK, so could be Scotland.
I didn't realise San Miguel was Philippino, always assumed Spain from getting it there on holiday all these years
https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.bbc.co.uk/news/business-63901215.amp
Bridge hibs
11-07-2024, 03:52 PM
Stopped brewing 98 mate and demolished 2001, big Asda in its place now
11-07-2024, 09:26 PM
Not sure it was from a BBC article. Hopefully the factory closes down wherever it is, UK version a brutal drink
Edit Peroni and Tennents the only two not brewed under licence in UK, so could be Scotland.
I didn't realise San Miguel was Philippino, always assumed Spain from getting it there on holiday all these years
https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.bbc.co.uk/news/business-63901215.amp
San Miguel is Spanish. Sort of.
Google tells me the original San Miguel was indeed from the Philippines (a Spanish colony at the time).
That connection resulted in the name being used by a company in Spain in the 50’s to brew their own beer under the same name.
The name was the same but the beers were different. Thus the San Miguel in Spain is indeed Spanish.
11-07-2024, 09:26 PM
A woman I used to work with used to bring one to work everyday.
On the supermarket theme, not a peeve but just an observation of one of the many bizarre things new neighbours of mine do.
When they moved in a few weeks ago everything was being transported from the car to the house with a supermarket trolley. That was a bit weird but now they’ve moved in, the trolley has stayed. They put it in the car and take it to the supermarket with them.
One of them also likes to go for a nap on the pavement during the day
pollution
11-07-2024, 10:23 PM
On the supermarket theme, not a peeve but just an observation of one of the many bizarre things new neighbours of mine do.
When they moved in a few weeks ago everything was being transported from the car to the house with a supermarket trolley. That was a bit weird but now they’ve moved in, the trolley has stayed. They put it in the car and take it to the supermarket with them.
??
12-07-2024, 07:00 AM
Is this a really long cryptic crossword clue?
Definition being Supermarket and the word play being the trolley in the car and a kip on the pavement?
12-07-2024, 07:28 AM
San Miguel is Spanish. Sort of.
Google tells me the original San Miguel was indeed from the Philippines (a Spanish colony at the time).
That connection resulted in the name being used by a company in Spain in the 50’s to brew their own beer under the same name.
The name was the same but the beers were different. Thus the San Miguel in Spain is indeed Spanish.
Can't miss their brewery when leaving Málaga airport. Massive.
12-07-2024, 07:33 AM
Stopped brewing 98 mate and demolished 2001, big Asda in its place now
Wow, that just shows how long it is since I've been to Alloa :greengrin
Do you live in Royston Vasey?
Stairway 2 7
12-07-2024, 09:12 AM
Yeah you can't just write this then dip. We need more especially the last sentence. Why don't they choose their bed over the pavement, are they steamboats or just a fan of a real hard bed
12-07-2024, 09:24 AM
Yeah you can't just write this then dip. We need more especially the last sentence. Why don't they choose their bed over the pavement, are they steamboats or just a fan of a real hard bed
Apparently she likes a nap in the sun and there's no sun out the back, or so she said the first time I saw it and went to check she was OK. Don't know why she doesn't bring a folding chair out instead.
It is a group of what I guess are Chinese students, so I don't know if it is a cultural thing.
I've not managed to get a good look at what type of trolley it is to see where they've nicked it from. The handle is red, so I'm guessing maybe Iceland. Maybe they thought when you put a pound in to release the trolley that you got to keep it. :greengrin
12-07-2024, 09:25 AM
I'll ask them for some special meat :greengrin
12-07-2024, 11:04 AM
Sounds like it.
12-07-2024, 12:47 PM
Can't miss their brewery when leaving Málaga airport. Massive.
I left malaga airport yesterday and I missed it!
12-07-2024, 04:38 PM
I left malaga airport yesterday and I missed it!
Have a look on your way back then 🇪🇸.
pollution
13-07-2024, 10:01 AM
12 degrees and drizzle, summer continues.
One good day yesterday, today punishment
13-07-2024, 04:59 PM
Monster Raving Loony Party.
Tragic masquerading as “wacky”.
13-07-2024, 05:01 PM
Monster Raving Loony Party.
Tragic masquerading as “wacky”.
Especially when the Tories, Labour, Reform et al do it better.
15-07-2024, 10:11 AM
How vaping is being tolerated where smoking isn't, at the football is an example but others include inside shops/supermarkets, public transport and pubs.
I’m not referring to all people who vape, but I do find a significant proportion of them are very arrogant about where they do it, even saw someone doing it inside an animal enclosure at Blair Drummond over the weekend. This proportion seem to feel they can do it anywhere, and often get aggressive when challenged on doing it in places it’s not permitted. As you say, shops, public transport, cinema, doorway spaces, etc
15-07-2024, 11:22 AM
I’m not referring to all people who vape, but I do find a significant proportion of them are very arrogant about where they do it, even saw someone doing it inside an animal enclosure at Blair Drummond over the weekend. This proportion seem to feel they can do it anywhere, and often get aggressive when challenged on doing it in places it’s not permitted. As you say, shops, public transport, cinema, doorway spaces, etc:agree: I've found it tends to be the 'new breed', ones that never smoked....
I never thought I'd say this.. but... (ex)smokers always seem more considerate! :greengrin:
15-07-2024, 01:25 PM
It seems to be the done thing at indoor gigs now. It is awful if you get stuck next to someone doing it.
I live near two secondary schools. It is amazing the number of school kids (particularly the younger ones) who are wandering around vaping at lunch and before/after school. Way more than you'd see smoke back in the day.
15-07-2024, 02:03 PM
I live near two secondary schools. It is amazing the number of school kids (particularly the younger ones) who are wandering around vaping at lunch and before/after school. Way more than you'd see smoke back in the day.
Ticking time bomb for NHS respiratory services.
15-07-2024, 02:37 PM
Trying to hang sheets and duvet covers out on the washing line. I end up like Casper the ghost, fumbling and bumbling around under a double sheet. No idea how my wife manages it so efficiently!
16-07-2024, 09:13 AM
I’m not referring to all people who vape, but I do find a significant proportion of them are very arrogant about where they do it, even saw someone doing it inside an animal enclosure at Blair Drummond over the weekend. This proportion seem to feel they can do it anywhere, and often get aggressive when challenged on doing it in places it’s not permitted. As you say, shops, public transport, cinema, doorway spaces, etc
People get aggressive when challenged on anything these days. "What's your problem pal?" That's the rhetoric.
I call it Trump syndrome.
16-07-2024, 11:34 AM
People get aggressive when challenged on anything these days. "What's your problem pal?" That's the rhetoric.
I call it Trump syndrome.
People who are outraged but very selectively.
Saw one person on Twitter who made a big deal out of folk “celebrating” someone’s death, contacted their employer etc. Fast forward and they’re tweeting about partying to Thatcher’s death, as they did with the Queen.
Turns out it’s only people they like that are off limits, if they don’t approve of the person then the behaviour is fine.
Or they complain about Rangers fans being sectarian bigots while calling them Orange *******s.
This outraged at everything, embarrassed at nothing attitude.
16-07-2024, 11:42 PM
Referring to the flying rats over Easter Road as Seagulls when they are all simply Gulls.
17-07-2024, 04:30 AM
The constant debate about whose the best player between Messi and Ronaldo, absolute borefest and seems to take place on every football thread.
17-07-2024, 11:09 AM
People who smoke a cigarette just before they get onto a bus or coach. I took the coach from Dundee to Edinburgh and back for the game last night, and the person behind me on the way home was reeking of smoke, and some else nearby reeking of booze.
It’s selfish behaviour.
17-07-2024, 02:29 PM
Buses.
17-07-2024, 02:36 PM
Scouts! Annual scout jamboree at Blair atholl is on and there are hundreds of them in pitlochry.
17-07-2024, 04:26 PM
Scam phone calls pertaining to be from Microsoft, Scottish Power, Bank of Scotland etc etc. My Mother in Law gets them daily, when I answer I either string them along for a bit or tell them they are scamming **** followed by **** Off
Bridge hibs
17-07-2024, 04:30 PM
People who smoke a cigarette just before they get onto a bus or coach. I took the coach from Dundee to Edinburgh and back for the game last night, and the person behind me on the way home was reeking of smoke, and some else nearby reeking of booze.
It’s selfish behaviour.What do you want the person to do, have a shower first or strip bollock naked before getting on ?
Fwiw I cant stand the smell of stale smoke especially on buses but its the persons choice at the end of the day
I used to get a garlic breath in front of me on the bus and it was so strong I was actually gagging, worst thing was he breathed through his mouth !!
Another is when an old dear empties a bottle of perfume over herself and straight away I go into a sneezing fit, one time I accidentaly emptied a big blob of lung gunk over her leopard skin coat when I sneezed (I was a smoker then) 🤢
Fuzzywuzzy
18-07-2024, 10:23 AM
Bluetooth earbuds - so many pairs kicking about the house that just one won't connect anymore. Really ******g annoying!!!
18-07-2024, 10:28 AM
Window Cleaners who turn up whenever they feel like rather than a set pattern.
Fuzzywuzzy
18-07-2024, 11:45 AM
Window Cleaners who turn up whenever they feel like rather than a set pattern.
My window cleaner disappears for months at a time then turns up
18-07-2024, 12:14 PM
That must be a bit of a pane right enough.
18-07-2024, 01:13 PM
It’s selfish behaviour.
Behave, you went to a game of football where folk would have smoked or had a bevvy before they got in to the ground but you were okay with that, your 38, chill out a bit, were they drinking or smoking on the bus.?
Bridge hibs
18-07-2024, 04:22 PM
**** sake you lucky *******, Ive been trying to get rid of my window cleaner for years, she said she aint divorcing me, bitch 🤬
18-07-2024, 04:37 PM
**** sake you lucky *******, Ive been trying to get rid of my window cleaner for years, she said she aint divorcing me, bitch 🤬
I was more thinking, your supposed to clean the windows???
18-07-2024, 05:11 PM
Behave, you went to a game of football where folk would have smoked or had a bevvy before they got in to the ground but you were okay with that, your 38, chill out a bit, were they drinking or smoking on the bus.?
Smelled like they were.Least at a football stadium the smell of stale smoke has somewhere to go.
Much in the same way most decent people wouldn’t take a bag of mackerel and stinking bishop cheese on a bus, maybe consider you’re not the only person on that bus for two hours.
Who would have thought “smelly people on buses who actively choose to be a smelly person on a bus seconds before they get on” could be so controversial? 😂 If they cannae wait an hour or so then that’s a them problem.
18-07-2024, 06:02 PM
Smelled like they were.Least at a football stadium the smell of stale smoke has somewhere to go.
Much in the same way most decent people wouldn’t take a bag of mackerel and stinking bishop cheese on a bus, maybe consider you’re not the only person on that bus for two hours.
Who would have thought “smelly people on buses who actively choose to be a smelly person on a bus seconds before they get on” could be so controversial? 😂 If they cannae wait an hour or so then that’s a them problem.
They waited, they had the smoke before they got on the bus you said, so not actively wanting to smell, how would the smoke stick to him if he was in the fresh air while having his smoke.
19-07-2024, 08:08 AM
They waited, they had the smoke before they got on the bus you said, so not actively wanting to smell, how would the smoke stick to him if he was in the fresh air while having his smoke.
Are we genuinely debating if smoking makes you smell? What next, does water make you wet? 😂
I guess this disproves that vapers are less considerate than smokers. Both as bad as each other.
Stairway 2 7
19-07-2024, 09:39 AM
Are we genuinely debating if smoking makes you smell? What next, does water make you wet? 😂
I guess this disproves that vapers are less considerate than smokers. Both as bad as each other.
And people who eat garlic, people who eat a lot of spicy food like curry Uk's most popular food, people who have done exercise and people who sweat when it's hot
People can't shower 5 times a day. You just have to get on with it if your on the bus. There will be people next to you who have been living their lives in close proximity to you. I could understand if you were complaining about the smoke as it can cause you illness. You also say about someone smelling of alcohol, I wouldn't go on a bus to a semi or final you'll toil
19-07-2024, 11:54 AM
Don't drink and drive. If your having a drink don't take the bus or the train either though....
19-07-2024, 02:27 PM
Don't drink and drive. If your having a drink don't take the bus or the train either though....
Have I missed something? Or is that a reference to actually drinking whilst on the train/bus rather than having been drinking?
I vaguely recall (although it may have been a joke) something about Uber not wanting drunk people to use their service which somewhat went against their business model. :greengrin
19-07-2024, 04:50 PM
don't drink and drive.... You might spill some. ftfy
21-07-2024, 10:05 AM
Busybodies on missing pets pages/groups on social media.
I don't quite know how I ended up on an Edinburgh one on Facebook but there are people desperate for every cat to be lost. They'll post a picture of a perfectly healthy looking, well fed, well groomed cat with a 'Not sure if this one is lost or not. Been coming to my garden for a few days now, feel sorry for him so been leaving a few treats out'.
Aye that's why he is coming to your garden because he's a ****ing chancer. My cat is an outdoor cat and he's also a greedy *******. I have no doubt if someone in the area was giving him food he'd keep going back there until they stopped. Cats like to wander and explore, it's normal behaviour. Unless they are obviously distressed or injured then leave them alone.
21-07-2024, 03:15 PM
Selfish folk. Took my daughter swimming this morning. The pool was much busier than usual with families. To the point of everyone having their own little section of the pool to play in. There was two different families throwing a ball about oblivious to everyone around them though. Particularly frustrating as my daughter has just managed to start swimming without a flotation vest and trying to go further each time. It wasn’t practical to swim like that today so we did other things. Some folk just act as normal though and like the pool is quiet.
24-07-2024, 04:56 PM
Audience members shadow boxing at a live boxing event…..WTF
25-07-2024, 08:51 PM
Audience members shadow boxing at a live boxing event…..WTF
Fans that commentate at a football game.
25-07-2024, 09:12 PM
Fans that are depressed at a game cos their team is getting pumped and then see themselves on the big screen and start jumping about like they've won the lottery. 🤬
Alfiembra
26-07-2024, 08:39 AM
Insurance, no matter what it’s for home car holiday pets it’s a constant battle to get the best quote and having to jump around between different companies every renewal. Just give us the best quote you have straight off the bat.
stuart-farquhar
26-07-2024, 09:41 AM
The creep of tipping. Quick pint on way home, Hanover Tap. Young guy pours it. Card machine asking to approve or deny a tip. I'm all for rewarding a good service but a step to far for me.
26-07-2024, 02:08 PM
Ticket inspectors checking tickets at the station where there are ticketed barriers AND an inspector on the train 🤷*♂️
26-07-2024, 10:23 PM
The creep of tipping. Quick pint on way home, Hanover Tap. Young guy pours it. Card machine asking to approve or deny a tip. I'm all for rewarding a good service but a step to far for me.
F***ing ridiculous. At least you were given the choice to deny a tip. I was in a pub in the USA last year and had to pay by card on a screen. With no opt out choice, I was asked to tip $10, $15 or $20. My bill was only about $19 and I was truly pissed off.
Stairway 2 7
27-07-2024, 06:16 AM
F***ing ridiculous. At least you were given the choice to deny a tip. I was in a pub in the USA last year and had to pay by card on a screen. With no opt out choice, I was asked to tip $10, $15 or $20. My bill was only about $19 and I was truly pissed off.
It's different in America as the minimum wage for service workers is shockingly lower than other workers so if people don't tip they don't paid a full wage.
In the uk the minimum wage is universal so a tip is above that and should be discretionary and for good service in my opinion. I don't mind when I'm given the option on screen, it's when it's just added to the bill automatically and you have to ask for it to be removed that's a joke
27-07-2024, 07:49 AM
Lothian Buses - the screens at bus stops. These new all colour screens apparently display the scheduled timetable. What's the point of that?? The printed schedules on bus stops have been showing that for decades. We have the technology to alert waiting passengers of the real time status of buses. I'm sure the old green and brown screens used to do that. The new screens say that the app displays real time info. Yesterday waiting for a bus, the scheduled time came and went and sure enough the screen updated to show the next scheduled bus - no comment as to why the previously scheduled one had failed to arrive. The app said (displaying real time, remember) said the next bus was 20 minutes away. So I started walking. Only for a bus to go past me three minutes later when I was halfway between bus stops. Why don't they use the technology that's available to them? Is it a union/workforce thing?
Stairway 2 7
27-07-2024, 08:36 AM
Lothian Buses - the screens at bus stops. These new all colour screens apparently display the scheduled timetable. What's the point of that?? The printed schedules on bus stops have been showing that for decades. We have the technology to alert waiting passengers of the real time status of buses. I'm sure the old green and brown screens used to do that. The new screens say that the app displays real time info. Yesterday waiting for a bus, the scheduled time came and went and sure enough the screen updated to show the next scheduled bus - no comment as to why the previously scheduled one had failed to arrive. The app said (displaying real time, remember) said the next bus was 20 minutes away. So I started walking. Only for a bus to go past me three minutes later when I was halfway between bus stops. Why don't they use the technology that's available to them? Is it a union/workforce thing?
They need every screen to be updated to the new screens before it can change to showing real times or something like that. Think it will be months before it changes, it's a pain
27-07-2024, 09:12 AM
They need every screen to be updated to the new screens before it can change to showing real times or something like that. Think it will be months before it changes, it's a painIf you arrive at a stop before the time, wait. Bus landing on time is like finding hens teeth.
I get the bus in from Livingston for games and we are about to enter the twilight zone of the Festival/Fringe. The Cetic game will be bad. All their buses making leaving Waterloop Place hard. Add that to the piles of passengers getting on at Waverley/ all the buses queuing to pick up. Once at the stop you can be taking passengers on for 10 minutes. I've been on the bus and the driver refusing to take passengers opposite Boots and Exchange as its full because they are late.
27-07-2024, 09:34 AM
False information in general annoys me. We went for a 90 minutes uphill hike in the Alps to an Alm Hut. We enjoyed a nice hot chocolate at the top and noticed there were 3 routes signposted back to where we started. The first one was the route we'd taken on the way up that estimated an hour back to the Winter Olympic Stadium, the second 1¼hours and the third 2 hours. We decided to take the second trail and after descending for about half an hour the next sign claimed it was 1½ hours from there. I'm no maths genius but after walking ½ an hour of a 1¼ journey then surely the rest must be less and not more.
27-07-2024, 09:56 AM
It's different in America as the minimum wage for service workers is shockingly lower than other workers so if people don't tip they don't paid a full wage.
In the uk the minimum wage is universal so a tip is above that and should be discretionary and for good service in my opinion. I don't mind when I'm given the option on screen, it's when it's just added to the bill automatically and you have to ask for it to be removed that's a joke
In a restaurant, I don’t mind tipping a server, say, 10% for basic run of the mill service and maybe 15% for good attentive service, assuming and hoping that the tips are going to the servers. I object being told to tip up to 20% to someone taking two minutes to pour a couple of pints. That ‘tip’ or a chunk of it, will probably not even go to the servers. Restaurants and pubs should factor in staff wages into their prices.
27-07-2024, 10:04 AM
In a restaurant, I don’t mind tipping a server, say, 10% for basic run of the mill service and maybe 15% for good attentive service, assuming and hoping that the tips are going to the servers. I object being told to tip up to 20% to someone taking two minutes to pour a couple of pints. That ‘tip’ or a chunk of it, will probably not even go to the servers. Restaurants and pubs should factor in staff wages into their prices.
I never ever tip on card machines or pay the service charge added to bill. I tip the person who has served me by slipping a note into their hand. Sometimes that can prove difficult if two or three different waiters have attended to you but I generally manage it.
27-07-2024, 09:34 PM
At the moment those screens are pointless. If a bus is just one minute overdue it disappears from the screen. I've said to a few folk at the bus stop to ignore the screens and download the app as the screens at the bus stop are crap. The app on the other hand is really good and, imo, very reliable.
Stairway 2 7
27-07-2024, 09:49 PM
At the moment those screens are pointless. If a bus is just one minute overdue it disappears from the screen. I've said to a few folk at the bus stop to ignore the screens and download the app as the screens at the bus stop are crap. The app on the other hand is really good and, imo, very reliable.
The app is good screens will be live during the summer they say, unless it get delayed..
Green Man
28-07-2024, 12:12 PM
When you board a plane then the pilot announces that there’s a delay of over an hour and you just have to sit on the plane, when you could have spent that time relaxing with a pint or a coffee.
28-07-2024, 12:43 PM
When you board a plane then the pilot announces that there’s a delay of over an hour and you just have to sit on the plane, when you could have spent that time relaxing with a pint or a coffee.
Annoying but necessary.
Just_Jimmy
29-07-2024, 08:59 AM
Companies that bang on about how good they are then totally **** up a basic order.
1875M
29-07-2024, 09:37 AM
People who have no spacial awareness or consideration of others. Currently on holiday and the amount of people who just jump into the pool when there’s another person about a yard from where they land and then look at you as if you have 3 heads when you say something.
29-07-2024, 01:19 PM
Pennywell shopping centre, what a state it is, half done and the half that is done is a mess already, how can there be so many weeds coming through the paving it was just laid last year, it’s like a jungle.
29-07-2024, 02:54 PM
Paternity leave. 2 weeks isn’t enough.
29-07-2024, 03:33 PM
My company gives 6 months paid paternity leave. An admirable policy byt written by people in an ivory tower office. An absolute nightmare to manage when you have folk off and you need to try to replace them with the same skills/experience/qualifications for that shirt period. I have basically run men down while folk were off
29-07-2024, 04:07 PM
Correct.
I take the point above about the strain on employers but from a personal point of view I felt like I was barely there when both my kids were born.
My wife was still physically struggling after the strain of giving birth (thank **** I'm a man) and needed help for a lot longer than 2 weeks. I was working long days, coming home and trying to do my bit, not sleeping much and then repeating it all the next day. I was physically present but mentally I had checked out. We were both like zombies and it definitely took a toll on us both.
29-07-2024, 04:22 PM
Pennywell shopping centre, what a state it is, half done and the half that is done is a mess already, how can there be so many weeds coming through the paving it was just laid last year, it’s like a jungle.
Any idea if the cafe that was there before is coming back? They told us they'd be away for a few months while the development was happening, but that was a few years ago now.
Used to love Sunday breakfast there.
29-07-2024, 07:42 PM
Move to Germany, we get 14 months paid for both parents with 1 parent able to take a maximum of 12 months.
29-07-2024, 08:45 PM
Ordered food on BK app. Supposed to be £18.96 and charged £29.44. They've added tax onto the bill which isn't something you normally see in UK as normally the price you see is the price you pay.
29-07-2024, 08:54 PM
Move to Germany, we get 14 months paid for both parents with 1 parent able to take a maximum of 12 months.
Too late, bairn was born a few days ago
29-07-2024, 09:03 PM
Ordered food on BK app. Supposed to be £18.96 and charged £29.44. They've added tax onto the bill which isn't something you normally see in UK as normally the price you see is the price you pay.
What kind of tax? :confused:
29-07-2024, 09:50 PM
Too late, bairn was born a few days ago
Congratulations!
29-07-2024, 10:37 PM
What kind of tax? :confused:
No idea. Literally just says the word tax on the receipt and charged a fiver. Was supposed to get a free Chicken Royal but been charged for that too.
Went online and their chat not working so says to email them. The email address they give isn't recognised though...
30-07-2024, 02:04 AM
Any idea if the cafe that was there before is coming back? They told us they'd be away for a few months while the development was happening, but that was a few years ago now.
Used to love Sunday breakfast there.
Was that the cafe next to the chippy, if so I think it was all sold and there doesn’t look like any more let’s for shops yet, even my optician has packed up, he was there for a very long time as well.
Have you tried the cafe at Drylaw shops next door to Baynes bakers.
30-07-2024, 09:26 AM
With the option of shared parental leave that doesn't sound wildly different to what is generally on offer here. It sounds like it's structured a bit differently so the onus is on a more even split of the time as opposed to what would effectively require the Mum to gift some of their time to the Dad to balance out the time off.
There's a middle ground somewhere between 6 months (Abrdn? Aegon?) and 2 weeks I suppose!
30-07-2024, 09:46 AM
With the option of shared parental leave that doesn't sound wildly different to what is generally on offer here. It sounds like it's structured a bit differently so the onus is on a more even split of the time as opposed to what would effectively require the Mum to gift some of their time to the Dad to balance out the time off.
There's a middle ground somewhere between 6 months (Abrdn? Aegon?) and 2 weeks I suppose!
I work for Edinburgh Uni, we’re a massive employer. I think 2 weeks is crap. Yeah, I could have shared leave, but then she’d have to give up some of hers.
30-07-2024, 06:35 PM
People who ask about a game in a holiday destination.
If you are so keen to watch St mirren v hibs don't go on holiday!
30-07-2024, 06:39 PM
People who ask about a game in a holiday destination.
If you are so keen to watch St mirren v hibs don't go on holiday!Or it could be a wee double check for some local knowledge:greengrin
30-07-2024, 06:44 PM
Or it could be a wee double check for some local knowledge:greengrin
Or it could be, look at me I'm in. (name of foreign resort)
30-07-2024, 06:45 PM
Correct. I take the point above about the strain on employers but from a personal point of view I felt like I was barely there when both my kids were born. My wife was still physically struggling after the strain of giving birth (thank **** I'm a man) and needed help for a lot longer than 2 weeks. I was working long days, coming home and trying to do my bit, not sleeping much and then repeating it all the next day. I was physically present but mentally I had checked out. We were both like zombies and it definitely took a toll on us both. I had two days leave for my second child (one of which was taking my wife to the hospital), none for my first.
Times have changed, I suppose.
30-07-2024, 09:12 PM
FNZ were just launching some spectacular looking parental leave policies when I left. It would still not be enough to make me even think about recommending them as an employer though, but thought I’d give them some credit for that.
When my daughter was born, I was able to get 6 weeks paid leave, which I could take as I liked over a 12 month period, as long as at least 1 week was taken when she was born. That was definitely at the better end of the scale. Some guys I knew having a child at the same time weren’t taking any parental leave, as they were only entitled to 2 weeks at the same pay rate as statutory sick pay, and they couldn’t afford the drop in wages.
speedy_gonzales
31-07-2024, 08:32 AM
Not so much a pet peeve but an irrational irritation.
Popped in to IKEA last night and was sitting down with my meatballs (as you do) when a mini drama unfolded in the pick-up area below.
A couple of ladies (maybe mother/daughter) were trying to load a stupid amount of flat pack boxes in to their family sized car.
They were trying every permutation, seats forward, seats back, seats down.
For a good 20 minutes I thought I was watching the latest Olympic sport of car loading Tetris.
Eventually, a couple of young lads in high Viz vests came along and started to assist.
Even when I left they were still trying to shoe-horn every last piece of Leksvik furniture the store had in to this mid-size SUV.
16 hours later, I've just realised I need to know if they were successful!
31-07-2024, 09:42 AM
Or it could be, look at me I'm in. (name of foreign resort)You may a have a point to be fair ......
Anyways.....
Anyone know where I can watch the St Mirren game in San Francisco???
Alfiembra
31-07-2024, 01:38 PM
Bluebottles… annoying pesky flies buzzing everywhere just now.
stuart-farquhar
31-07-2024, 06:00 PM
You may a have a point to be fair ......
Anyways.....
Anyone know where I can watch the St Mirren game in San Francisco???
Vesuvius cafe. Broadway. If it's not on the beer is good.
31-07-2024, 06:49 PM
Vesuvius cafe. Broadway. If it's not on the beer is good.Always good to have a decent fall back option if the footy isn't on :agree:
Just_Jimmy
31-07-2024, 09:22 PM
Too late, bairn was born a few days agoCongratulations
My first is due mid Sept. I've taken 2 weeks pat leave and used 4 weeks AL. Gives me around 6 weeks off work.
I agree, it's crap for Dad's.
01-08-2024, 08:26 AM
Bluebottles… annoying pesky flies buzzing everywhere just now.
Get yourself an electric swatter.
04-08-2024, 09:47 AM
When your wife asks if you can just get food for her too when you go up to the buffet at a party. You look like a greedy gannet piling all the food on to the plate.
Bridge hibs
04-08-2024, 09:49 AM
When your wife asks if you can just get food for her too when you go up to the buffet at a party. You look like a greedy gannet piling all the food on to the plate.
Yep, been there and got the belly too
04-08-2024, 11:38 AM
On a food theme... ordered breakfast, watching the app tracker, courier leaves the restaurant and goes the wrong way... track them to Macdonalds where they sit for almost 10 mins, they leave then stop a couple of times, tracker then shows them nearing my street (eventually!)... suddenly it changes to delivered, as I'm at the door ready for the delivery I pop my head out and the street's empty.
Aaarrghhh!
08-08-2024, 11:38 AM
People that send work emails with stupid fonts.
There are multiple business fonts available. Don't use Comic Sans, Eurostile or Verdana please.
08-08-2024, 11:56 AM
There are multiple business fonts available. Don't use Comic Sans, Eurostile or Verdana please.
I get important information sent with the font Kristen!!!
08-08-2024, 01:18 PM
Comic Sans is obviously ridiculous and Eurostile is too graphic-designy for email, but why Verdana? It's pretty vanilla and to me looks similar to the kind of fonts I'd expect to see in email. The only thing that stands out at all to me is that it's a bit wider spaced.
08-08-2024, 02:38 PM
Comic Sans is obviously ridiculous and Eurostile is too graphic-designy for email, but why Verdana? It's pretty vanilla and to me looks similar to the kind of fonts I'd expect to see in email. The only thing that stands out at all to me is that it's a bit wider spaced.
Our office font geek always used Verdana.
09-08-2024, 02:01 PM
I'm sure Verdana was the default font on Word for a while in the same Calibri is now.
09-08-2024, 05:39 PM
Trying to keep track of the Olympic Games is it 1, 2, BBCiPlayer or the red button ???
10-08-2024, 02:53 PM
This is probably more than a Pet Peeve, but it’s a bit like the “no ball games” sings you see everywhere that piss me off.
Myself and my 3 year old son were passing by a council ran 4G pitch today. We went in through the open gates, found a ball lying in a corner and had a play on the pitch. Can’t have been any longer than 15 minutes.
We get off the pitch and head in to the library, which is attached to the council ran gym (Biggar High School building). The lady behind the desk says “you’ve to pay to go on the pitch”.
I could understand it if it were busy - us and another 2 laddies who were playing down the far end, and I do know these things need funding. Equally it was 22 players not paying I’d agree with her.
The pitch spends most of its life locked and inaccessible, we have an obesity epidemic and children are spending less and less time outdoors playing football and other sports, the pitch is there, just open the frickin gates and let folk play on it!
10-08-2024, 03:04 PM
This is probably more than a Pet Peeve, but it’s a bit like the “no ball games” sings you see everywhere that piss me off.
Myself and my 3 year old son were passing by a council ran 4G pitch today. We went in through the open gates, found a ball lying in a corner and had a play on the pitch. Can’t have been any longer than 15 minutes.
We get off the pitch and head in to the library, which is attached to the council ran gym (Biggar High School building). The lady behind the desk says “you’ve to pay to go on the pitch”.
I could understand it if it were busy - us and another 2 laddies who were playing down the far end, and I do know these things need funding. Equally it was 22 players not paying I’d agree with her.
The pitch spends most of its life locked and inaccessible, we have an obesity epidemic and children are spending less and less time outdoors playing football and other sports, the pitch is there, just open the frickin gates and let folk play on it!
That's a joke to be honest, as if you are going to hire a pitch to have a kick about with the bairn. 🤬
Did you pay? 🤔🤭
10-08-2024, 05:02 PM
That's a joke to be honest, as if you are going to hire a pitch to have a kick about with the bairn. 🤬
Did you pay? 🤔🤭
Did I bugger! Tbf she was fine and said just in future and it’s clearly not her that’s made the rule but still.
11-08-2024, 02:37 PM
People with BO.
On the bus home from the game and there is a guy who is absolutely howling. There is surely no way these people don't realise they smell that bad.
I worked with a guy years ago who reeked. I had the excruciating job of sitting in a meeting with him to discuss it. He admitted he knew he stank but just didn't care.
11-08-2024, 03:56 PM
People with BO.
On the bus home from the game and there is a guy who is absolutely howling. There is surely no way these people don't realise they smell that bad.
I worked with a guy years ago who reeked. I had the excruciating job of sitting in a meeting with him to discuss it. He admitted he knew he stank but just didn't care.
Were you on the team bus,because, by all accounts the team were honking!?
Silky
11-08-2024, 06:11 PM
It's shocking. I live near Porty High and the pitches have been closed all summer. Last year, someone had cut a hole in the fence and younwould always see it being used, often with dads and kids who had got in. No damage done, nothing. Now, since the fence has been fixed it's inaccessible unless you cam climb the fence. Folk moan about things like childhood obesity and Scottish teams being crap and the lack of players coming through. There are facilities, they just lie idle most of the time. It's a ridiculous waste of space.
11-08-2024, 08:34 PM
It's shocking. I live near Porty High and the pitches have been closed all summer. Last year, someone had cut a hole in the fence and younwould always see it being used, often with dads and kids who had got in. No damage done, nothing. Now, since the fence has been fixed it's inaccessible unless you cam climb the fence. Folk moan about things like childhood obesity and Scottish teams being crap and the lack of players coming through. There are facilities, they just lie idle most of the time. It's a ridiculous waste of space.
Exactly this.
The used to lock the gates at Bangholm playing fields after putting a ****ing terrible 3G pitch there when I was at school, it didn’t stop anyone playing on the pitches (me and my mates) or climbing the fences and smashing up the dugouts.
The padlock made **** all difference.
14-08-2024, 09:56 AM
When you contact a company for support via their live chat and you either enter your issue/question on the initial screen or to the chatbot and then get transferred to an actual person but you then have to explain the issue again - why can't they just read what you've said earlier?
Fuzzywuzzy
14-08-2024, 12:51 PM
Don't normally buy them but fancied a cup-a-soup. Most folk will have them for lunch. If that's the case, why only four in the box?
14-08-2024, 03:18 PM
Ticks!!!
This year seems particularly bad. I trimmed one side of a hedge and cut the grass then jumped in the shower. 2 wee buggers on my body and I wasn't even in long grass.
15-08-2024, 02:43 PM
Don't normally buy them but fancied a cup-a-soup. Most folk will have them for lunch. If that's the case, why only four in the box?
That used to annoy me but most shops own brand cup a soups are 5 in a box and there is not a great deal of difference taste wise, in fact Tesco mushroom cup soup is better than the Bachelors Cup-a-soup Mushroom, imho of course. I ended up getting a wee soup maker for work, freshly made soup in 19 minutes (couple of minutes prep time too) cannae beat it!
babahibs
16-08-2024, 06:13 PM
I don't get this peeve!
Do you need more than four for lunch?
Seems a bit much!
16-08-2024, 06:34 PM
I don't get this peeve!
Do you need more than four for lunch?
Seems a bit much!
That's very funny 👏
22-08-2024, 10:43 AM
Folk at work who message you on Teams with
“Hi are you free just now for 5 mins?”
You answer “yes” right away and then they don’t reply.
You call them and no answer.
Half an hour later they call you by which point you are not free for 5 mins
When you contact a company for support via their live chat and you either enter your issue/question on the initial screen or to the chatbot and then get transferred to an actual person but you then have to explain the issue again - why can't they just read what you've said earlier?
Human behind the chat screen here, you’ve no idea how many people write nonsense in those boxes or how unhelpful some automated questions are towards the actual job, it’s easier to just double check the problem or just repeat, in my place the chats don’t transfer over either so if you have been speaking to a different department about an issue and been sent to me I don’t see the previous conversation I just get a new chat as fresh with the possibility of account details if I’m especially lucky
22-08-2024, 01:09 PM
Folk at work who message you on Teams with
“Hi are you free just now for 5 mins?”
You answer “yes” right away and then they don’t reply.
You call them and no answer.
Half an hour later they call you by which point you are not free for 5 mins
And then it's something that didn't require a call and could have been dealt with in seconds with a message or two
Or they know it’s much more than 5 minutes needed, and proceed to have a 45 minute call that you didn’t have time for
22-08-2024, 03:34 PM
Or they know it’s much more than 5 minutes needed, and proceed to have a 45 minute call that you didn’t have time for
It ended up being this
25-08-2024, 01:38 PM
It ended up being this
I invented meetings in Calendar to stop the chats(as you should see an "In a meeting/busy"). Before lockdown I used to book small meeting rooms so I could get stuff done and avoid the drive by shootings of colleagues approaching my desk with queries.