View Full Version : Pet Peeves IV

Pages : 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57

12-07-2016, 07:48 PM
TV programmes where at the start of the show they show so many highlights to come that it's barely worth watching. Even the news does it.

I think they call these teasers.
If it's any consolation to you, this type of editing is 10 times worse in North America.
I just switch the tv off whenever they start that crap.

12-07-2016, 07:53 PM
TV programmes where at the start of the show they show so many highlights to come that it's barely worth watching. Even the news does it.

On a similar theme, when a TV series starts with "previously on...." and it takes 5-15 seconds of refresher scenes for my girlfriend to say "we've already seen this".

12-07-2016, 09:23 PM

I mentioned this earlier in the thread. I've now started recording my favourite programmes and fast forwarding the teaser bit at the start. It was starting to spoil my enjoyment of the show.

13-07-2016, 07:24 AM
Aggressive hard men when in groups.

13-07-2016, 04:41 PM
Sensationalist 'interest' stories in crap papers:

'Doctor laughed seconds before he dismembered my son in error'. Usually accompanied by a picture with a picture tagline of 'knife: similar to the weapon used' and a further photo of a person either staring into space or randomly pointing.

SuperAllyMcleod
13-07-2016, 05:09 PM
On a similar theme, when a TV series starts with "previously on...." and it takes 5-15 seconds of refresher scenes for my girlfriend to say "we've already seen this".

Worse still, and Channel 4 are particularly guilty of this, is when you go for a 4 min ad break and they then give you a summary of what has happened so far at the beginning of the next part after the ads.

I assume it's for a generation with the attention span of a goldfish.

13-07-2016, 06:09 PM
News reporters who say "try and" do something instead of "try to". I would have got my knuckles rapped for that in P6 but now it seems acceptable for the BBC Breakfast news to do it.

13-07-2016, 06:27 PM
Worse still, and Channel 4 are particularly guilty of this, is when you go for a 4 min ad break and they then give you a summary of what has happened so far at the beginning of the next part after the ads.

I assume it's for a generation with the attention span of a goldfish.

its mostly just filler/padding. Make a show last the full hour without there being anything like that in actual content. There's a lot of American shows that run for an hour over there, but are half an hour here, with chunks of 'recapping' and 'reminders' after each point that the Americans would have an ad break.

14-07-2016, 06:46 AM
People walking across the road whilst talking on a phone paying no attention to traffic, then getting upset as I blow my horn and they ****** themselves. :-)

14-07-2016, 08:04 AM
People walking across the road whilst talking on a phone paying no attention to traffic, then getting upset as I blow my horn and they ****** themselves. :-)

Or the ones wearing big **** off headphones while staring at their phone who wander in front of traffic 10 yards from a pedestrian crossing.

14-07-2016, 08:12 AM
The big group of tourists that congregate on Waterloo Place every ****ing morning! They stand in a group on the corner which makes it difficult to actually walk past them without bumping into one of them or their massive rucksacks.

14-07-2016, 08:56 AM

I use my phone all the time when out walking and to date there's never been a probl

14-07-2016, 09:11 AM
I use my phone all the time when out walking and to date there's never been a probl

FFS, how long is your cable?

14-07-2016, 09:25 AM

Or the ones who cross the road without looking behind them at a junction you're just about to turn in to. They see you about to turn and do the fake jog to make it look as if they're making an effort.

14-07-2016, 11:06 AM

It's a Gramophone, it doesn't have a cable.

14-07-2016, 12:02 PM
Or the ones who cross the road without looking behind them at a junction you're just about to turn in to. They see you about to turn and do the fake jog to make it look as if they're making an effort.

To elaborate on this, the ones who do as you say but from the other side of the road and do the fake job over the half of the road YOUR NOT ON then proceed to walk the rest of the way when you are on that side of the road.

I also had a group of wee neds walk out infont of my car, one of them trying to stare me out thiking he was hard or somthing by continuing to walk. I dipped the clutched and the wee guy shat himself then made some gesture, didnt quite catch it as I was laughing as i drove away

14-07-2016, 01:12 PM
It's a Gramophone, it doesn't have a cable.

14-07-2016, 04:05 PM

Thats a bit personal, is it not? ;-)

14-07-2016, 05:07 PM

It's no big secret :greengrin

14-07-2016, 11:20 PM

It's okay. I'm just pulling his wire. :wink:

15-07-2016, 03:09 AM
Posts with thread titles that give no indication of the content.

Threads titled "deary me", "I hate to say it but..." and "just a thought" can GTF.

18-07-2016, 12:06 PM
People suddenly being on first name terms with Andy Murray during Wimbledon, despite not watching a second of tennis/sport the rest of the year.

Barkeeps that don't let me sing 'Stokesy's on Fire' in their pubs.

Sentences that begin with "I'm not going to lie..."

Young folk with no respect for the elderly.

Old folk with no respect for others just 'cos they're old.

The Rangers fans.

The Rangers 'fans'.

Onesies.

18-07-2016, 12:26 PM
People suddenly being on first name terms with Andy Murray during Wimbledon, despite not watching a second of tennis/sport the rest of the year.

Barkeeps that don't let me sing 'Stokesy's on Fire' in their pubs.

Sentences that begin with "I'm not going to lie..."

Young folk with no respect for the elderly.

Old folk with no respect for others just 'cos they're old.

The Rangers fans.

The Rangers 'fans'.

Onesies.

:agree: On the same lines, statements that begin with
"To be honest..." or "To tell you the truth...."
Is it fair to assume that everything else this person says is probably an untruth?

18-07-2016, 07:32 PM
:agree: On the same lines, statements that begin with
"To be honest..." or "To tell you the truth...."
Is it fair to assume that everything else this person says is probably an untruth?

I hate when people start long, boring stories with "to cut a long story short"

27-07-2016, 08:16 AM
Check what bus you're meant to get, and how much it's going to cost, before you go out in the morning. It's early morning, obviously folk are trying to get to work, I don't need to be held up by ****ing idiots. Who doesn't have a phone with Internet nowadays? Look online, you'll find all the information you need, and you won't do my head in.

27-07-2016, 07:55 PM
Parked car ahead blocking your lane,you see it well in advance,check your mirrors and indicate to come out. The erse behind, who in seeing you indicate and knowing you have plenty of room takes this as his cue to accelerate and block you in.

27-07-2016, 08:45 PM
Sour pussed gits that wouldn't give you the time of day if you asked them because their grumpy on their way to work in the morning.

27-07-2016, 09:20 PM
Check what bus you're meant to get, and how much it's going to cost, before you go out in the morning. It's early morning, obviously folk are trying to get to work, I don't need to be held up by ****ing idiots. Who doesn't have a phone with Internet nowadays? Look online, you'll find all the information you need, and you won't do my head in.

My Mrs told me she got on a bus this morning and some jakey got on trying to board with a voucher that he had rather than the fare, held the bus up for about 10 minutes while the driver checked. My Mrs started shouting at the jakey for delaying the bus and he got all defensive saying he had places to be too and that it was people like her who kept him poor. People like that...

27-07-2016, 09:38 PM
People who look down on other people less fortunate than themselves .

28-07-2016, 07:10 AM
Parked car ahead blocking your lane,you see it well in advance,check your mirrors and indicate to come out. The erse behind, who in seeing you indicate and knowing you have plenty of room takes this as his cue to accelerate and block you in.

I agree, and the reason you have to make this switch of lane is also my pet peeve.

Only this morning did a taxi stop not 15 yards in front of me, in the middle of the road and put his hazards on. when i passed him he was looking at the paper. Why do taxis think they can just stop anywhere? This was the middle of northumberland street, its narrow enough as it is.

And this is particularly bad outside the roxburgh at charlotte square. Every rush hour taxis and sometimes coaches sit and wait on the double lines outside causing the traffic to bottleneck. (im sure ive ranted about this already, but its worthy of a second)

28-07-2016, 03:43 PM
The weirdos who decide to get the person at the till in a petrol station to go and make them a coffee and heat up a sausage roll when there is a queue.

Folk that get messages in petrol stations.

28-07-2016, 03:56 PM
The weirdos who decide to get the person at the till in a petrol station to go and make them a coffee and heat up a sausage roll when there is a queue.

Folk that get messages in petrol stations.

Are petrol stations now used as a drop off point for messages? Can you leave a note there for someone to collect or do you just tell the person at the till your message and they pass it on when the person it is intended for comes in. :greengrin Come on SG explain how this works I'm intrigued.

28-07-2016, 04:18 PM
Are petrol stations now used as a drop off point for messages? Can you leave a note there for someone to collect or do you just tell the person at the till your message and they pass it on when the person it is intended for comes in. :greengrin Come on SG explain how this works I'm intrigued.
Folks that seem to be "obtuse" all the time! :D

Sent from my SM-G925F using Tapatalk

28-07-2016, 04:35 PM
Jobsworth train guards who think they can speak to you like **** cos they have a wee ticket machine and a uniform. Pricks.

Ozymandias
28-07-2016, 04:46 PM
TV adverts that use puppets.

I'd not cry if the "creatives" that dream these monstrosities up are first against the wall.

Caversham Green
28-07-2016, 07:44 PM
Robert Peston and Norman Smith.

Peston talks like his batteries are running out and Smith looks like a light bulb with ears. Worse than that, they tell us stuff we already know and they both try to make their reports all about them rather than the story they're supposed to be reporting.

28-07-2016, 09:00 PM
Loose women should be banned. If it was men talking in the same way, it would be.

Vegans/vegetarians who look down on you for eating meat, it's natural, get over yourself.

Cyclists in general, but more so ones who get onto trains, the self appointed most important people on the planet.

People who are offended by absolutely everything, it's became a major problem, especially since facebook has came about!

:agree: :agree: :agree:

:slipper: :take that :gun: :chop:

28-07-2016, 09:48 PM
Folks that seem to be "obtuse" all the time! :D

Sent from my SM-G925F using Tapatalk

28-07-2016, 10:23 PM
That bar named "Southpour" in Newington.

"Southpour"

Nah. It doesn't work.

29-07-2016, 12:26 PM
That bar named "Southpour" in Newington.

"Southpour"

Nah. It doesn't work.

On a similar theme, the people that call the pub on Shandwick Place Au Bar, when its meant to be Gold Bar, come on now eh! :-)

29-07-2016, 09:10 PM
Robert Peston and Norman Smith.

Peston talks like his batteries are running out and Smith looks like a light bulb with ears. Worse than that, they tell us stuff we already know and they both try to make their reports all about them rather than the story they're supposed to be reporting.

Robert Peston. How he ever became a broadcast journalist I will never know. Unwatchable.

31-07-2016, 12:04 AM
I agree, and the reason you have to make this switch of lane is also my pet peeve.

Only this morning did a taxi stop not 15 yards in front of me, in the middle of the road and put his hazards on. when i passed him he was looking at the paper. Why do taxis think they can just stop anywhere? This was the middle of northumberland street, its narrow enough as it is.

And this is particularly bad outside the roxburgh at charlotte square. Every rush hour taxis and sometimes coaches sit and wait on the double lines outside causing the traffic to bottleneck. (im sure ive ranted about this already, but its worthy of a second)
If you were staying in the Roxburgh and you ordered a taxi where would you expect to be picked up? The nearest point. Where there isn't double yellow lines is a long way from the hotel. Sometimes you just have to accept that we live in a city that wasn't designed for modern day circumstances. It's the same all over the city centre, the old Waverley hotel is the worst imo. I always try to think that when I see people parked outside shops during the rush hour that they're spending money and keeping the local economy going. We all get where we're going eventually.
Peace

02-08-2016, 06:44 AM
Taxi/Private Hire drivers who you have to navigate for.

02-08-2016, 09:11 AM
Taxi/Private Hire drivers who you have to navigate for.

Or even worse, the ones who go the long routes instead of asking when they clearly have no idea.

02-08-2016, 11:37 AM
Probably mentioned already but folk who can't work roundabouts. Either the lane is wrong or they have no idea when to indicate, if they bother at all. You even have some radges that don't even look and just go straight on to the roundabout whether something's coming or not.

03-08-2016, 05:52 PM
Driving on a motorway, with a row/convoy of vehicles all in the inside lane in the distance. You slowly catch up, and as you get there, the last vehicle decides that's the time they're going to move out and overtake - you weren't fussed for the last 10 miles, why the **** did you have to go right at the moment I get there to overtake?!

similar theme, the car in the outside lane that races up to you, then sits on your shoulder making it impossible for you to move out and overtake !

03-08-2016, 06:38 PM
People who tell you they are massive fans of something or someone, so out of interest you ask a few questions only to find they actually know nowt about it and even less than you do.

03-08-2016, 06:42 PM
Hot air driers in public toilets that couldn't blow over a feather standing on its end far less dry your hands.

03-08-2016, 06:57 PM
People of unremarkable intelligence who frequently state that they don't easily suffer fools.

03-08-2016, 09:17 PM
People who tell you they are massive fans of something or someone, so out of interest you ask a few questions only to find they actually know nowt about it and even less than you do.

You always catch out folk who like 'cool' bands with this. 3 questions is usually all it takes to suss them out.

On a vaguely related note folk you see wandering about in Ramones, Rolling Stones and Led Zeppelin T shirts who you just know couldn't name 2 albums between the 3 bands.

03-08-2016, 09:29 PM
Driving on a motorway, with a row/convoy of vehicles all in the inside lane in the distance. You slowly catch up, and as you get there, the last vehicle decides that's the time they're going to move out and overtake - you weren't fussed for the last 10 miles, why the **** did you have to go right at the moment I get there to overtake?!

similar theme, the car in the outside lane that races up to you, then sits on your shoulder making it impossible for you to move out and overtake !

Yip makes my blood boil. Similarly, drivers who speed up to overtake you then slow down once they have. I use cruise control which keeps a constant speed and its like wacky races with these idiots.

People who don't use lanes correctly also get on my nerves. It's unbelievable how many people think that it's perfectly OK to sit in the middle lane for their entire journey regardless of what's going on around them. I'm not sure if it's ignorance or stupidity when they don't see the problems it can cause for other drivers.

04-08-2016, 08:40 AM
Standard definition. Nae need these days.

04-08-2016, 08:51 AM

People who say the support a football club but couldn't tell you who they play at the weekend.

04-08-2016, 09:53 AM
Standard definition. Nae need these days.

Or the fact that Sky charge a fortune just to watch HD channels. HD should be the new standard now that 4K is here.

04-08-2016, 04:24 PM
People who try to stand up to get their luggage when a plane lands only to find that there is no room in the aisle so they stand half bent over for ages. Knobs.

I hate that too, but have to admit to having previously being guilty of it.

The thing is that, even if you're first off the plane, you inevitably end up waiting at the luggage carousel anyway!!

Worse than that though are the fudwits who, as soon as they get to the carousel, stand as close as possible to it with their shins pressing against the side of the carousel so they don't miss their bag. This is usually about 60% of people getting off the plane, just enough to block off the whole carousel.

Usually they will stand there like plums doing hee haww for 15 minutes until the bags actually appear, at which point they somehow manage to huddle even closer. This means, that for the 40% who have stood back like everyone else should have, when your bag eventually makes its way round you have to battle your way through a rigid human wall of panicky, impatient, unaware of whats happening behind them dunderheids. :grr:

So when your bag does arrive, the best antidote to this ridiculous situation is to advance from your retreated position at great pace whilst screeching “Excuse Me, Excuse Me!” in a pitch as high as your voice will allow for, before briskly ploughing through anyone in your way and in one fluid movement lifting your case and swinging it forcefully backround yourself at head height in the hope of decapitating, or at the very least knocking unconscious one of these thoughtless dimwits.

If you are good, you can make the case land on its wheels and have the handle up and out in the one movement and elegantly glide off into the distance like Will Ferrell in Blades of Glory, leaving a shocked sea of bodies behind you to have a good think about things.

04-08-2016, 04:55 PM
Folk (mainly tourists) who walk in front of your car like its not a problem then look at you as if you're the one in the wrong :grr:

04-08-2016, 06:34 PM
A fly buzzing around in the room.

Bzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

Grrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr

04-08-2016, 07:29 PM
Yip makes my blood boil. Similarly, drivers who speed up to overtake you then slow down once they have. I use cruise control which keeps a constant speed and its like wacky races with these idiots.

People who don't use lanes correctly also get on my nerves. It's unbelievable how many people think that it's perfectly OK to sit in the middle lane for their entire journey regardless of what's going on around them. I'm not sure if it's ignorance or stupidity when they don't see the problems it can cause for other drivers.

Re. Your first point, it's amazing how many times you can overtake the same car on a journey, when you simply maintain a fairly constant speed, whilst they're up and down like a yoyo. Morons.

04-08-2016, 09:07 PM
Worse than that though are the fudwits who, as soon as they get to the carousel, stand as close as possible to it with their shins pressing against the side of the carousel so they don't miss their bag. This is usually about 60% of people getting off the plane, just enough to block off the whole carousel.

Usually they will stand there like plums doing hee haww for 15 minutes until the bags actually appear, at which point they somehow manage to huddle even closer. This means, that for the 40% who have stood back like everyone else should have, when your bag eventually makes its way round you have to battle your way through a rigid human wall of panicky, impatient, unaware of whats happening behind them dunderheids. :grr:

So when your bag does arrive, the best antidote to this ridiculous situation is to advance from your retreated position at great pace whilst screeching “Excuse Me, Excuse Me!” in a pitch as high as your voice will allow for, before briskly ploughing through anyone in your way and in one fluid movement lifting your case and swinging it forcefully backround yourself at head height in the hope of decapitating, or at the very least knocking unconscious one of these thoughtless dimwits.

If you are good, you can make the case land on its wheels and have the handle up and out in the one movement and elegantly glide off into the distance like Will Ferrell in Blades of Glory, leaving a shocked sea of bodies behind you to have a good think about things.

Oh sweet Jesus. People that don't know how to behave in airports. Bloody hell.

At security: "oh I need to remove my belt do I?"
"Yes I have various bottles of liquids all individually scattered around my luggage difficult to find spots. Oh, I need to have them in a separate bag do I? Well why didn't you say so then"

These imbeciles that get arsey when their 3 litres of paint stripper and 2 bottles of Glens voddie from ASDA aren't allowed through security??!!?!?!

And then people who have no ability to judge physical space and hold the whole boarding procedure up trying to ram their trolley case into a space just about big enough for a thimble at most.

04-08-2016, 09:30 PM
Lorries overtaking other lorries.

04-08-2016, 09:49 PM
Re. Your first point, it's amazing how many times you can overtake the same car on a journey, when you simply maintain a fairly constant speed, whilst they're up and down like a yoyo. Morons.

:agree: I was using cruise control a few weeks ago on the M6 and you really see the erratic speeds others drive at.

04-08-2016, 10:10 PM
My accidentally deleted post above was...

You get stuck behind a slowcoach doing 40 mph on an open road.
You eventually get a chance to overtake and zoom past.
You drive for a bit at 60mph, look in your rearview mirror and the slowcoach is right on your tail.

Wallies R Us.

04-08-2016, 10:20 PM
Lorries overtaking other lorries.

Should be banned imo, especially on dual carriageways like the M8. What difference does it really make to their overall journey? It takes them about 5 minutes to overtake.

04-08-2016, 11:38 PM
Should be banned imo, especially on dual carriageways like the M8. What difference does it really make to their overall journey? It takes them about 5 minutes to overtake.

:agree: In France, I'm sure it's banned on certain roads and it makes a huge difference to the flow of traffic.

Compare with today driving to Perth, sitting at 71mph and overtaking some slower cars, a lorry pulls out in front of the car ahead of me to overtake another lorry. Our speed had to come down to 40mph while the daft ******* inched slowly ahead of the other lorry, causing a queue of traffic waiting for him to move back in

05-08-2016, 07:48 AM
:agree: In France, I'm sure it's banned on certain roads and it makes a huge difference to the flow of traffic.

Compare with today driving to Perth, sitting at 71mph and overtaking some slower cars, a lorry pulls out in front of the car ahead of me to overtake another lorry. Our speed had to come down to 40mph while the daft ******* inched slowly ahead of the other lorry, causing a queue of traffic waiting for him to move back in

I've been in the inside lane on the M8 when that's happened. Coming to a slight incline, the muppet in the lorry in front pulls out into a gap in the faster traffic but immediately slows down to about 40mh on the slope. Meanwhile I'm in the inside lane, unavoidably forced into overtaking on the inside, while the muppet toots his horn and flashes his lights for about quarter of a mile. It amazes me how many lorry drivers, who I always think of as good drivers, can't read road conditions.

05-08-2016, 07:57 AM
I've been in the inside lane on the M8 when that's happened. Coming to a slight incline, the muppet in the lorry in front pulls out into a gap in the faster traffic but immediately slows down to about 40mh on the slope. Meanwhile I'm in the inside lane, unavoidably forced into overtaking on the inside, while the muppet toots his horn and flashes his lights for about quarter of a mile. It amazes me how many lorry drivers, who I always think of as good drivers, can't read road conditions.

In my experience many lorry drivers are far from good drivers. I've lost count the amount of times i've been sat in the middle lane before a lorry has dangerously pulled out in front of me, forcing me to quickly move to the outside lane without fully checking it's safe to do so.

05-08-2016, 12:15 PM
Oh sweet Jesus. People that don't know how to behave in airports. Bloody hell.

At security: "oh I need to remove my belt do I?"
"Yes I have various bottles of liquids all individually scattered around my luggage difficult to find spots. Oh, I need to have them in a separate bag do I? Well why didn't you say so then"

These imbeciles that get arsey when their 3 litres of paint stripper and 2 bottles of Glens voddie from ASDA aren't allowed through security??!!?!?!

And then people who have no ability to judge physical space and hold the whole boarding procedure up trying to ram their trolley case into a space just about big enough for a thimble at most.

Haha that's my Mrs! We nearly missed a connecting flight once because of this after they took her bag to the side in a separate dunces bag search queue :fuming:

05-08-2016, 05:45 PM

:agree: I think they do it on purpose, just to be annoying.

a particularly bad spot is just after passing under the railway bridge just after newbridge heading west, it's about a 4 mile climb up a steady gradient, but it takes 10-15 minutes at times, whilst 2 lorries look like a snail race..

05-08-2016, 09:48 PM
My accidentally deleted post above was...

You get stuck behind a slowcoach doing 40 mph on an open road.
You eventually get a chance to overtake and zoom past.
You drive for a bit at 60mph, look in your rearview mirror and the slowcoach is right on your tail.

Wallies R Us.

On a similar note.

40mph for 15 miles in a 60 zone, gets to a 30mph zone. Continues at 40mph.

A702 is terrible for it.

05-08-2016, 09:53 PM
We drove down to the Lake District recently and were astounded at the cretinous way people drive. Tailgating in the fast lane at 70mph is more or less the norm. Don't these guys - and it's always guys - realise how insane that is?

06-08-2016, 07:42 AM
We drove down to the Lake District recently and were astounded at the cretinous way people drive. Tailgating in the fast lane at 70mph is more or less the norm. Don't these guys - and it's always guys - realise how insane that is?

Tailgating is just one of those driving behaviours I'll never understand. It's an open and shut case, if you crash into the back of someone the blame lies with you (the tailgater), why do it?

06-08-2016, 10:28 AM

Tailgating is just one of those driving behaviours I'll never understand. It's an open and shut case, if you crash into the back of someone the blame lies with you (the tailgater), why do it?

Lane hogging is the one behaviour I really don't understand. The Edinburgh City bypass is brutal for lane hoggers who stubbornly refuse to pull over.

The outside lane is an overtaking lane, not a lane to coast along at 68mph with a string of cars behind you and an empty inside lane. If someone wants to pass at 75mph then pull over and let them past. Whilst the speed limit is 70, guidelines mean the Police would normally allow you to go up to 79 mph before you would be stopped for speeding.

Interestingly in the UK 3 times as many people get stopped by Police for lane hogging than tailgating.

The big problem as well with lane hogging is that it fuels tailgaiting :greengrin

06-08-2016, 10:34 AM
Lane hogging is the one behaviour I really don't understand. The Edinburgh City bypass is brutal for lane hoggers who stubbornly refuse to pull over.

The outside lane is an overtaking lane, not a lane to coast along at 68mph with a string of cars behind you and an empty inside lane. If someone wants to pass at 75mph then pull over and let them past. Whilst the speed limit is 70, guidelines mean the Police would normally allow you to go up to 79 mph before you would be stopped for speeding.

Interestingly in the UK 3 times as many people get stopped by Police for lane hogging than tailgating.

The big problem as well with lane hogging is that it fuels tailgaiting :greengrin

I posted about lane hogging earlier in the thread too, and you're right there's no need for that either. Tailgating happens everywhere though, it's not just confined to the motorway. There is absolutely no need for it when driving at 30 mph (soon to be 20mph!) along a normal road in the town and it's just one of those things I can't understand in those circumstances.

06-08-2016, 10:59 AM
I posted about lane hogging earlier in the thread too, and you're right there's no need for that either. Tailgating happens everywhere though, it's not just confined to the motorway. There is absolutely no need for it when driving at 30 mph (soon to be 20mph!) along a normal road in the town and it's just one of those things I can't understand in those circumstances.

Ah sorry hadn't seen that.

Yeah agree!! It's only going to get worse in town with the 20mph as well.

06-08-2016, 07:19 PM
Flute bands. There's one playing in the street next to mine just now, keeping my kids awake and doing my head in. It's their annual gala day apparently. ****ers.

06-08-2016, 07:23 PM
Flute bands. There's one playing in the street next to mine just now, keeping my kids awake and doing my head in. It's their annual gala day apparently. ****ers.

Wave your Hibs scarf at them. That should distract them a bit :greengrin

06-08-2016, 07:24 PM
Wave your Hibs scarf at them. That should distract them a bit :greengrin

Ehhm obviously I am brave enough to do that but... it's in the wash so I'm just going to vent online instead :greengrin

06-08-2016, 11:51 PM
Road rage.
Why doesn't anyone say anything about the numpties on the road that cause road rage.
Mr Average Driver doesn't get road rage without good reason :wink:

:tin hat::tin hat::tin hat::tin hat::tin hat::tin hat:

07-08-2016, 04:51 AM
Drunks at 4am. If yeh cannae have a drink without acting like a wee lassie, then dinnae drink.

wpj
07-08-2016, 08:10 AM
The to$$ers working on the school behind my hoose using power tools since 0800! Its sunday ffs

07-08-2016, 08:49 AM
The to$$ers working on the school behind my hoose using power tools since 0800! Its sunday ffs

I think you'll find that's illegal. It's ok on a Saturday which is classed as a working day up to a point. Check with the council (good luck!).

wpj
07-08-2016, 09:07 AM
I think you'll find that's illegal. It's ok on a Saturday which is classed as a working day up to a point. Check with the council (good luck!).

Have had a wee word through the fence, going to work til 1200 and keep the tools down to a minimum. Doubt they were expexting a p'd off scotsman in deepest Hertfordshire!

LustForLeith
07-08-2016, 10:13 PM
Vodafone

09-08-2016, 08:54 AM
Just had a nice workman trying out his new pneumatic drill at five to eight this morning in the role of an unrequested alarm clock.
If I was a braver man I would have got up and hit his snooze button - hard. :take that

09-08-2016, 09:00 AM
Any packaging that says "Pull or tear here" to open and when you do the tab just rips off or the plastic does not remove. This must be really awkward for elderly people/arthritic hands etc

09-08-2016, 08:54 PM
People eating on TV. Especially when they go "mmmmmm that's great!" while eating.
I didn't pay my licence fee to watch folk filling their faces and talking while they do it.

09-08-2016, 08:58 PM
People eating on TV. Especially when they go "mmmmmm that's great!" while eating.
I didn't pay my licence fee to watch folk filling their faces and talking while they do it.

Good one. That and when they smack their lips when eating. Minging.

In fact doesn't need to be on tv doing that to irritate me. Why do you need to smack your lips when eating?!

wpj
10-08-2016, 12:47 PM

Eating related, pictures of food on social media made worse by a "nom nom" caption. Why?

10-08-2016, 04:28 PM
Umbrellas, I've just walked home through what can't even be described as rain, more like mist, but everyone these days is scared of a wee bit water, means I'm having to dodge about like a ninja to avoid getting my eyes poked out by the spokes on these ****s brollies

10-08-2016, 04:44 PM
Electronic hotel room keys that can't go near your mobile for fear of being locked out .

H0t3L W1fI Pa55W0rD5.

Hotel wifi in general.

10-08-2016, 04:57 PM
Umbrellas, I've just walked home through what can't even be described as rain, more like mist, but everyone these days is scared of a wee bit water, means I'm having to dodge about like a ninja to avoid getting my eyes poked out by the spokes on these ****s brollies

When you have hair like mine, needs must 😂

10-08-2016, 05:11 PM
People in a bus stop queue who get annoyed when I drive through a muckle big puddle and drench them.
FFS, wear a diving suit if it bothers you.

:troll:

10-08-2016, 09:47 PM
People in a bus stop queue who get annoyed when I drive through a muckle big puddle and drench them.
FFS, wear a diving suit if it bothers you.

:troll:

:Faf:

10-08-2016, 10:04 PM

I'll say that for the tourists. They don't go in for brollies. They tramp the city doggedly with their hoods up.

It's our lot with the brollies.

10-08-2016, 10:58 PM
When people call Dunfermline 'dunfy'

11-08-2016, 06:54 AM
The different pronounciations of Dalziel & Menzies

11-08-2016, 08:27 AM
The different pronounciations of Dalziel & Menzies

If you pronounce Menzies as Mingis you're doing it wrong. Quite obviously.

Ozymandias
11-08-2016, 10:11 AM
Shopping for furniture/carpets/curtains. I love my wife very much but on these I. Just. Don't. Care.

11-08-2016, 11:02 AM
If you pronounce Menzies as Mingis you're doing it wrong. Quite obviously.

My auld Dad used to drive me nuts calling it John Meenises.
WTF?

11-08-2016, 11:22 AM
My auld Dad used to drive me nuts calling it John Meenises.
WTF?

:nerd: the z represents an obsolete letter known as a yogh, from older versions of English and Scots. Which looked like this: Ȝ - it apparently had variations of a y sound. With the onset of printing, and with early printing machinery not having that letter available, printers used z or y to replace it. In most cases, pronunciation eventually followed, but a few words retained their original pronunciation, such as Menzies and Dalziel and Culzean. MacKenzie used to be pronounced Mackenyey (or something like that).

11-08-2016, 11:40 AM
:nerd: the z represents an obsolete letter known as a yogh, from older versions of English and Scots. Which looked like this: Ȝ - it apparently had variations of a y sound. With the onset of printing, and with early printing machinery not having that letter available, printers used z or y to replace it. In most cases, pronunciation eventually followed, but a few words retained their original pronunciation, such as Menzies and Dalziel and Culzean. MacKenzie used to be pronounced Mackenyey (or something like that).

:agree: Tell that to the kids today and they won't believe you.
(source: The 4 Yorkshiremen)

11-08-2016, 04:42 PM
People making up their own 'traditions'.

Not content with destroying the face of the Greyfriars Bobby statue it now seems rubbing the toe of David Hume is also a 'tradition' and lo and behold the whole foot has become discoloured.

I've lived in Edinburgh almost my whole life and had never heard of this nonsense until the effects of what is essentially vandalism became apparent.

11-08-2016, 06:06 PM
Probably already been touched upon in this thread, but nuisance calls seem to be as plentiful as ever, despite laws being introduced. For example, I read that companies, who cold call, now have to reveal their phone number. Some get round this by somehow transferring their number to a local number that tricks you into thinking it's an important call. Some companies appear as International on the display, but it turns out to be a wee lassie from Liverpool.

11-08-2016, 09:36 PM
Obvious spelling mistakes in thread titles on the MB not being corrected

11-08-2016, 10:25 PM
Obvious spelling mistakes in thread titles on the MB not being corrected

There's an advert in the window of Scotmid on Easter Road advertising vacancies for "Shift Supervisor ,s".

12-08-2016, 01:16 AM
There's an advert in the window of Scotmid on Easter Road advertising vacancies for "Shift Supervisor ,s".
Did you see the person who was charging their electric car from the first floor flat on the other side of the road? Only in Leith :greengrin

12-08-2016, 10:31 AM
Social media videos proclaiming to show events that they clearly are not with the intention of causing racial tension. No different to 1930's Nazi propaganda.

12-08-2016, 11:15 AM
Did you see the person who was charging their electric car from the first floor flat on the other side of the road? Only in Leith :greengrin

I trust both the car and the culprit were charged.

12-08-2016, 12:52 PM
I trust both the car and the culprit were charged.

Ha ha.

12-08-2016, 12:55 PM

Cheers for that.

Very interesting :greengrin:

12-08-2016, 01:03 PM
Probably already been touched upon in this thread, but nuisance calls seem to be as plentiful as ever, despite laws being introduced. For example, I read that companies, who cold call, now have to reveal their phone number. Some get round this by somehow transferring their number to a local number that tricks you into thinking it's an important call. Some companies appear as International on the display, but it turns out to be a wee lassie from Liverpool.
Get one of these and say goodbye to nuisance calls.

http://home.bt.com/news/bt-life/putting-the-block-on-nuisance-calls-11363934197581

12-08-2016, 02:43 PM

http://home.bt.com/news/bt-life/putting-the-block-on-nuisance-calls-11363934197581

I've heard of this phone and might go for it.

While I get seriously peed off with these calls, I find some of them quite funny. On one occasion when I didn't tell the caller to f-off, I let him continue. This Asian voice told me that the warranty on my telly was about to expire. Which telly is that, I asked. Silence, then, ....... Ah, the one in your living room. What make of telly is it, I asked .... Longer silence, then, ......... Eh, Zanussi! ...... f-off ya muppet! :greengrin

13-08-2016, 11:44 AM
The wee knobbly bit at the end of a banana.

14-08-2016, 09:06 AM
The wee knobbly bit at the end of a banana.

Bill Clinton had the opposite problem.

goosano
14-08-2016, 11:29 AM

I was getting 5-10 nuisance calls a day and got his phone. I've had it for 3 months now and not a single nuisance call since

14-08-2016, 11:44 AM
I quite like talking to these people and winding them up.

Ozymandias
14-08-2016, 03:23 PM

If I have time and in the mood I do too, especially the ones who call with a distinctly sub-continent accent saying "Hello my name is Philip Smith calling from Windows". I'm either "Whit's wrang wi' ma windaes like - P+D an' that ken - all guid" or adopting a role as a southern Baptist Preacher claiming I will only deal with people who are saved and have been born again to Jee-sus. Ive had one pray with me, where we together requested of the almighty the good health of the sainted Franck and that the chirch of Hibernian thrives. He eventually left the call telling me to f*** off and, a bit oddly, that all my electricity would fail within three days.

14-08-2016, 03:42 PM

If I'm in the mood I partake in this behaviour too, its oddly satisfying! :-)

16-08-2016, 12:29 AM
The wee fannies who stay near me, that think it's perfectly acceptable to play football on the field outside my bedroom at half past midnight. Now can't sleep because I got so worked up banging the window in a fit of rage telling them to **** off.

16-08-2016, 09:31 PM
Spellcheck.
I spend more time changing words that have been changed automatically by spellcheck than the time I take to correct the words I actually spell wrong.
The sicko that invented spellcheck must be the same guy that invented automatic indentation and numbering.
He's a dead man if I ever find him.

17-08-2016, 06:36 AM
The wee fannies who stay near me, that think it's perfectly acceptable to play football on the field outside my bedroom at half past midnight. Now can't sleep because I got so worked up banging the window in a fit of rage telling them to **** off.

This is the problem scottish football faces. Anytime young folk do make it outside for a jumpers for goalposts kick around there's usually a grumpy bassa banging on a window telling them to get back to their playstations and ipads :greengrin

17-08-2016, 08:15 AM
Tourists who have no perception of pavement/road/danger/traffic :grr:

17-08-2016, 08:18 AM
fruit flies.

17-08-2016, 08:33 AM
Tourists who have no perception of pavement/road/danger/traffic :grr:

This drives me mad, would they walk out in front of cars in their own country?! :grr:

Caversham Green
17-08-2016, 11:48 AM
Spellcheck.
I spend more time changing words that have been changed automatically by spellcheck than the time I take to correct the words I actually spell wrong.
The sicko that invented spellcheck must be the same guy that invented automatic indentation and numbering.
He's a dead man if I ever find him.

Aye, spellcheck's a pain in the arm right enough, but the guy that invented it died last week. His funfair was hello on Money.

17-08-2016, 12:16 PM
This drives me mad, would they walk out in front of cars in their own country?! :grr:

In short yes. Here in Germany for example pedestrians have right of way on most minor roads and crossings that aren't regulated by traffic lights.

wpj
17-08-2016, 01:06 PM
In short yes. Here in Germany for example pedestrians have right of way on most minor roads and crossings that aren't regulated by traffic lights.

I remember when i first went to live in Dusseldorf negotiating the red and green man. Locals took a dim view of walking across the road if it was a red man. Also cars coming at you when its a green man can be a bit scary!

17-08-2016, 01:47 PM
Groups of 3-4 people walking along side-by-side, slow as ****, forcing me to walk around them. Or people standing in groups in busy streets. Generally just people being lacking self awareness and being obstructive does my nut in.

17-08-2016, 02:00 PM
The tit that was eating a bowl of cereal while he was walking down the road this morning.

17-08-2016, 02:40 PM
Aye, spellcheck's a pain in the arm right enough, but the guy that invented it died last week. His funfair was hello on Money.

Don't care if you Lee Wallace me. I have a strong alibi :greengrin

17-08-2016, 05:30 PM
The tit that was eating a bowl of cereal while he was walking down the road this morning.

17-08-2016, 05:59 PM

If I hadn't been taking the bairn to school I would have said something. Never in my life have I thought when I'm running late will I pour myself a bowl of cereal and eat it on the way. :greengrin

17-08-2016, 06:05 PM
Bellends who think it's acceptable in a public park (literally 100 yards away from a public golf course) to hammer golf balls into the area you're walking your dog in.

3 balls landed about 6ft away from me and the dug.

Fannies.

17-08-2016, 06:40 PM
Bellends who think it's acceptable in a public park (literally 100 yards away from a public golf course) to hammer golf balls into the area you're walking your dog in.

3 balls landed about 6ft away from me and the dug.

Fannies.

Moving targets are more of a challenge. :wink:

17-08-2016, 07:03 PM
Moving targets are more of a challenge. :wink:

17-08-2016, 08:22 PM
Would you walk in front of traffic in a foreign country because you'd forgotten which way the traffic was coming from? [emoji6]

Sent from my GT-I9505 using Tapatalk

17-08-2016, 10:01 PM
Would you walk in front of traffic in a foreign country because you'd forgotten which way the traffic was coming from? [emoji6]

No, I'm not that stupid :smug:

18-08-2016, 12:16 PM

You Might not be, but its easy done. Especially in amsterdam where I have looked the wrong way thinking its a clear road/path and had little bells furiously chime at me.......but i blame other things :smokin

18-08-2016, 12:24 PM

What you have to remember is that, for a Brit, it's common for us to go abroad and be aware of the change in traffic directions. It's rare for us to travel and NOT have that to deal with.

For most nationalities, though, driving on the left is a very unusual experience... and it's very easy to forget about it if it's the first time you've experienced it.

18-08-2016, 01:10 PM
What you have to remember is that, for a Brit, it's common for us to go abroad and be aware of the change in traffic directions. It's rare for us to travel and NOT have that to deal with.

For most nationalities, though, driving on the left is a very unusual experience... and it's very easy to forget about it if it's the first time you've experienced it.
I still do it all the time when abroad, it's just a natural reaction to look a certain way when crossing the road. Thankfully most tourists resorts have zebra crossing style systems at most junctions for idiots like me.:greengrin When in a foreign city, I just make sure to cross at proper crossings.

19-08-2016, 12:22 PM
The Olympic running track being blue. Just no need.

19-08-2016, 08:23 PM
The Olympic running track being blue. Just no need.

Well, if the diving pool is green....

20-08-2016, 10:32 PM
Folk that sit on the outside seat on the bus/train and leave the inside seat empty, weirdos!

20-08-2016, 11:23 PM
People that can't cut a block of cheese, you know what I mean, you go to the fridge and it like it's been attacked by a hedge strummer, seriously it's in a block, cut straight down and it's job done

21-08-2016, 12:58 AM
People that can't cut a block of cheese, you know what I mean, you go to the fridge and it like it's been attacked by a hedge strummer, seriously it's in a block, cut straight down and it's job done
Mmmmm cheese :greengrin

21-08-2016, 01:16 PM
Folk that always leave some beer in the bottom of their pint glass and say they never drink the last bit WTF is that about?

21-08-2016, 02:39 PM
Folk that always leave some beer in the bottom of their pint glass and say they never drink the last bit WTF is that about?

Likewise when there's a good mouthful in the bottom of your glass and the minute your head is turned the barmaid takes it away. Happened to me a couple of days ago.

Beelin'

21-08-2016, 04:48 PM
This ever-growing obsession about selling out our end, home or away.

22-08-2016, 09:25 PM

Hedge, Joe's less famous brother. 😀

22-08-2016, 10:14 PM
UK petrol pumps. Why doesn't the wee latch that keeps the pump running without you having to continuously press the trigger work?

22-08-2016, 10:28 PM
UK petrol pumps. Why doesn't the wee latch that keeps the pump running without you having to continuously press the trigger work?

This has troubled me too :agree:

Good spot

23-08-2016, 12:19 AM
This has troubled me too :agree:

Good spot

I think it's back pressure that triggers a safety cut off.
If this is a whoosh post - sorry :wink:

23-08-2016, 07:37 AM
I think it's back pressure that triggers a safety cut off.
If this is a whoosh post - sorry :wink:

There is a little switch on the handle of the pump to hold it open while it fills the car. They don't work :-)

23-08-2016, 08:03 AM
Really tall people who stand at the front at gigs.

23-08-2016, 08:51 AM
There is a little switch on the handle of the pump to hold it open while it fills the car. They don't work :-)

Your post has just got me wondering how many other people living in the UK don't realise what the little switch is even for?

Chip shop Joe
23-08-2016, 09:51 AM
All of this "up top" p$$h that commentators keep using! When did it change from up front?

Defenders at the back and forwards up front, simple!

23-08-2016, 10:55 AM
Really tall people who stand at the front at gigs.

My mate and I were at a gig at the Corn Exchange not long after it opened (would have been either Travis or Blur (who opened the venue, IIRC)) and his view was obscured by a midget on the person in front's shoulders.

23-08-2016, 01:35 PM
My mate and I were at a gig at the Corn Exchange not long after it opened (would have been either Travis or Blur (who opened the venue, IIRC)) and his view was obscured by a midget on the person in front's shoulders.

Oh dear! There was a wee guy in front of me at Grandaddy last night who's view was obscured by a 6 foot 5 giant who planted himself 2 from the front. Poor wee guy couldn't see a thing.

23-08-2016, 04:27 PM
Folk that sit on the outside seat on the bus/train and leave the inside seat empty, weirdos!

Along those lines but not quite the same, I sat in a comletely empty train carriage in Jordanhill on a train going in to the centre of Glasgow. A woman got on and sat down beside me and didn't say a single word the whole journey. Creepy. :greengrin

23-08-2016, 05:43 PM
All of this "up top" p$$h that commentators keep using! When did it change from up front?

Defenders at the back and forwards up front, simple!

They need to "change it up"

23-08-2016, 06:48 PM
They need to "change it up"Top top players.

23-08-2016, 07:01 PM
Leaves in curry.

23-08-2016, 09:19 PM
The one remote control that always has a missing battery cover.
Every time I pick it up I have to then search for the batteries.

24-08-2016, 07:07 AM
The one remote control that always has a missing battery cover.
Every time I pick it up I have to then search for the batteries.

Or loose battery covers that always slip off, sometimes spilling the batteries.

Tape normally does the trick but in my house, that's the start of the pecking about how we need a totally new TV/DVD player or whatever.

IrnBru22
24-08-2016, 08:39 AM
Edinburgh trams ringing their bell every 2 seconds for absolutely no reason, when there is no-one anywhere near it.

Galahibby
24-08-2016, 09:58 AM
Leaves in curry.

Sultanas, pineapples or bananas in a curry. In short, fruit in savoury meals. It's just not right!

24-08-2016, 09:09 PM
Adverts for Love Honey during Live at the Apollo while I'm sitting watching with the kids .

Deary me

Ozymandias
25-08-2016, 11:53 AM
Sultanas, pineapples or bananas in a curry. In short, fruit in savoury meals. It's just not right!

Pineapple on Pizza.
Wrong

25-08-2016, 01:12 PM
Pineapple on Pizza.
Wrong

Disagree on that one, love pineapple on pizza. Hot dog pizza crust on the other hand...

25-08-2016, 01:18 PM
Edinburgh trams ringing their bell every 2 seconds for absolutely no reason, when there is no-one anywhere near it.

If a tram rings it bell in Edinburgh, but there is no-one anywhere near it, does it make a sound?

25-08-2016, 01:18 PM
Pineapple on Pizza.
Wrong

Yes I agree.

Ozymandias
25-08-2016, 01:40 PM
Disagree on that one, love pineapple on pizza. Hot dog pizza crust on the other hand...

You may love it and that is your right. However, apparently people love Hearts and they are every bit as wrong

25-08-2016, 02:26 PM

I agree in general but I must say that bananas dipped lemon juice then smothered in coconut as nice with a really hot curry.

25-08-2016, 02:41 PM
I agree in general but I must say that bananas dipped lemon juice then smothered in coconut as nice with a really hot curry.

WTF really? I couldn't bring myself to try it.

25-08-2016, 02:51 PM
WTF really? I couldn't bring myself to try it.

You Scousers have no culture. :greengrin Seriously, it's a classic curry accompaniment.

25-08-2016, 06:54 PM
You Scousers have no culture. :greengrin Seriously, it's a classic curry accompaniment.

I can imagine doing it and then you telling me it was a wind up :-)

25-08-2016, 09:42 PM
BMW drivers. ****ers

25-08-2016, 09:53 PM
Pineapple on Pizza.
Wrong

Indeed. A morally abhorrent practice.

26-08-2016, 05:07 PM
I can imagine doing it and then you telling me it was a wind up :-)

That's exactly what I thought.

I've been out for a lot of curries. Not once have I been asked if I'd like a banana, lemon juice and coconut on the side.

26-08-2016, 05:52 PM
That's exactly what I thought.

I've been out for a lot of curries. Not once have I been asked if I'd like a banana, lemon juice and coconut on the side.

You've not been to the right places. :greengrin Here you go :

http://www.saveur.com/article/recipes/kela-ka-raita-yogurt-with-banana-and-grated-coconut

26-08-2016, 06:05 PM
You've not been to the right places. :greengrin Here you go :

http://www.saveur.com/article/recipes/kela-ka-raita-yogurt-with-banana-and-grated-coconut

To be fair it looks better than it sounds.

27-08-2016, 05:26 AM
Waking up at the crack of dawn on a Saturday morning, when I feel like I could happily sleep until noon during the week when the alarm goes off for work.

27-08-2016, 06:48 AM
Waking up at the crack of dawn on a Saturday morning, when I feel like I could happily sleep until noon during the week when the alarm goes off for work.

She's a lovely lassie though! :-)

27-08-2016, 06:55 AM
She's a lovely lassie though! :-)

No sure about that crack though :-D

27-08-2016, 07:45 AM
When you order a round and the bar person pours the Guinness last.

27-08-2016, 08:15 AM
Headphones that leak noise, no excuse for it in this day and age.

Guy across from me on the bus has ACDC blaring out. It must be close to deafening him because I can hear every word.

27-08-2016, 08:19 AM
Charities to whom you already pay a monthly donation, sending letters and phoning constantly asking for you to increase your donation. Just makes me want to cancel it altogether.

27-08-2016, 08:48 AM
When you order a round and the bar person pours the Guinness last.

When your working in a bar and someone orders the Guinness last in a big round. :-)

27-08-2016, 10:09 AM
People that order tea or coffee in a boozer, I wouldnae go to Starbucks if I fancied a pint!

27-08-2016, 09:27 PM
People that order tea or coffee in a boozer, I wouldnae go to Starbucks if I fancied a pint!
Agreed, ****ing ****ers

27-08-2016, 09:34 PM
People who pay by credit card in the taxi. Do these people realise that it takes up to a month for me to get paid for these jobs? No where in the world would a business man be made to wait that length of time.

27-08-2016, 10:11 PM
People who pay by credit card in the taxi. Do these people realise that it takes up to a month for me to get paid for these jobs? No where in the world would a business man be made to wait that length of time.

If you offer the facility then you can hardly complain. Or are you governed by your operator?

27-08-2016, 10:14 PM

I get paid once a month, it's fairly common - think everyone at my work is the same. Same with the last place I worked as well, and the one before that.

Checked with the Mrs, she has to wait a month to get paid for her with as well.

27-08-2016, 10:33 PM
Posts that come across way more smart arse than you meant them to.

28-08-2016, 12:50 AM
I reckon less than half our clients pay within a month of us invoicing them.

28-08-2016, 03:46 AM
I get paid once a month, it's fairly common - think everyone at my work is the same. Same with the last place I worked as well, and the one before that.

Checked with the Mrs, she has to wait a month to get paid for her with as well.

Posts that come across way more smart arse than you meant them to.

28-08-2016, 04:05 AM

People should take this in the sprit that's it's intended as this isn't a "serious" thread. Of course cab drivers welcome payment in any form and happily to boot...but one month is one hell of a wait. That's a huge contrast to the instant payment that you receive with cash.

One of the black cabs main competitors, Uber, tries to hammer home a laughable message that they are new technology while blacks are old school and inferior. I try to encourage credit card use as contactless payment is as easy as PayPal and every "modern" transaction helps to cut through their lies and slowly make people realise that the only "old tech" in a black cab is the compulsory capping of fares so you don't get ripped off.

:taxi

28-08-2016, 04:27 AM
If you offer the facility then you can hardly complain. Or are you governed by your operator?
We are governed by the operator.

28-08-2016, 04:46 AM
People should take this in the sprit that's it's intended as this isn't a "serious" thread. Of course cab drivers welcome payment in any form and happily to boot...but one month is one hell of a wait. That's a huge contrast to the instant payment that you receive with cash.

One of the black cabs main competitors, Uber, tries to hammer home a laughable message that they are new technology while blacks are old school and inferior. I try to encourage credit card use as contactless payment is as easy as PayPal and every "modern" transaction helps to cut through their lies and slowly make people realise that the only "old tech" in a black cab is the compulsory capping of fares so you don't get ripped off.

:taxi
You're correct and I generally don't mind, but on Thursday I was working and it was after 21:00 before I got a cash job. I'd payed out £10.80 in airport fees and guy handed me a £50 note for a fare that was under £10. I had to go to the bank to get some money out :greengrin. City cabs have brought in a new system for their app, where you can store your card details so you don't have to have your card with you when you get a taxi. This is a good idea, but the problem is that city cabs take so long to pay the money to me. If I get one of these jobs at the start of the month, I don't get paid until the 20th of the next month. I didn't even have enough to put an accumulator on the football on Thursday, it ruined my night :greengrin.

28-08-2016, 05:09 AM
You're correct and I generally don't mind, but on Thursday I was working and it was after 21:00 before I got a cash job. I'd payed out £10.80 in airport fees and guy handed me a £50 note for a fare that was under £10. I had to go to the bank to get some money out :greengrin. City cabs have brought in a new system for their app, where you can store your card details so you don't have to have your card with you when you get a taxi. This is a good idea, but the problem is that city cabs take so long to pay the money to me. If I get one of these jobs at the start of the month, I don't get paid until the 20th of the next month. I didn't even have enough to put an accumulator on the football on Thursday, it ruined my night :greengrin.

Why are you going near the airport during the festival? :greengrin:

That's a great feature for the app and to the customer, it puts you on a technological par with the cockroaches that use PayPal. That months wait is a bugger though but it might just have to be a necessary evil that will be made up by more reliable customers that like the app and way of paying.

Cash is king but at least you're getting it mate.

28-08-2016, 06:39 AM
We are governed by the operator.

I'm an old fashioned cash carrying tipping passenger,though I do love the City Cabs app and use it every time to call a cab to my house.

28-08-2016, 07:47 AM

I'd guess most people don't know to be fair, I certainly didn't

28-08-2016, 09:07 AM
That all threads on this board ultimately end in a squabble about how black cab drivers are the contemporary super heroes.

Mixu62
28-08-2016, 09:10 AM
I'm 6 feet tall which isn't huge these days (especially in nz) But I find the world is designed for short *****. Using the cash machine at the bank? Have to crouch to see the screen. Same with the dishes in the kitchen sink. Bus seats, train seats and plane seats... all too short on leg room. Makes my back and neck ache!!

28-08-2016, 09:11 AM
Ha....

Most businesses would love to rely on being paid by all of their customers after only a month.

28-08-2016, 10:01 AM
Ha....

Most businesses would love to rely on being paid by all of their customers after only a month.

Tell me about it. My work deal with the NHS and some trusts are taking at least 4 months to pay despite our terms being 30 days.

Although it could be worse. In my old job we sold to tradesmen and on many occasions we just got bumped completely.

28-08-2016, 10:08 AM
I'm 6 feet tall which isn't huge these days (especially in nz) But I find the world is designed for short *****. Using the cash machine at the bank? Have to crouch to see the screen. Same with the dishes in the kitchen sink. Bus seats, train seats and plane seats... all too short on leg room. Makes my back and neck ache!!

These things are designed to be accessible to wheelchair users (along with petrol pumps, door entry panels, self service checkouts, etc.). Yes it can be inconvenient (I'm 6'3"), but at least we can bend down - not everyone can stand up.

There are some accessibilty regs that are way over the top though.

28-08-2016, 10:09 AM
The fact that I can't eat cereal without having to wipe milk off my chin with every spoonful. It's like there is a hole in the spoon.
This doesn't happen with soup though ! WTF ?

28-08-2016, 01:35 PM
Commercial radio DJs. Even the ones who play half decent music seem to think it's all about them and their amusing "banter".

28-08-2016, 02:08 PM
The fact that chippys drown your supper in sauce if you ask for it. Who the hell uses that amount of sauce normally?

28-08-2016, 05:07 PM
Drivers that slam on the brakes when the lights change to amber. Amber is there for a ****ing reason.

28-08-2016, 06:27 PM
Drivers that slam on the brakes when the lights change to amber. Amber is there for a ****ing reason.

Many moons ago I was driving up South Bridge towards the lights at the High Street. There was a car, hard on my tail. As I approached the junction, the lights changed to amber and, to avoid a bump from the back, I drove on. Out of the corner of my eye, I caught sight of Bill and Ben on their motorbikes waiting to drive up the High Street. They stopped me at Surgeon's Hall and, despite my logical explanation, proceeded to charge me ..... the rest is history. They got the rule wrong but then, they were the experts.😬

28-08-2016, 07:11 PM
Ha....

:agree: I regularly had to wait 6 weeks or more for significant sums for jobs that I'd paid out for materials on when working for property management companies.

28-08-2016, 07:33 PM
The fact that I can't eat cereal without having to wipe milk off my chin with every spoonful. It's like there is a hole in the spoon.
This doesn't happen with soup though ! WTF ?

No idea what happens but aye, that happens to me too! Pain in the arse!!

28-08-2016, 09:05 PM
No idea what happens but aye, that happens to me too! Pain in the arse!!

I was starting to think it was just me :greengrin:

28-08-2016, 10:23 PM

Red light cameras. Imo a complete money making scam. They don't make the roads any more safe, as they only catch people who miss the amber by a split second....

You can probably tell I've been caught a couple of times :-D

speedy_gonzales
28-08-2016, 10:44 PM
Red light cameras. Imo a complete money making scam. They don't make the roads any more safe, as they only catch people who miss the amber by a split second....
C'mon guys, amber after a green means stop. Red light cameras are only activated after the red aspect has been displayed so nobody gets caught going through an amber, they were caught crossing the stop line when a red was displayed.
You'd think we'd be more worried about causing an accident or perhaps killing someone by not obeying signals but apparently we only comply with the threat of a fine and 6 points.
And yes, I do get a little humpty on this subject after I was wiped out by a car going through a blatant red,,,

28-08-2016, 10:46 PM

You can probably tell I've been caught a couple of times :-D

When I was sitting my test 50 years ago the trick question they asked was what does amber mean. The correct answer was STOP apparently. Don't know if that's still the case.
I sympathise with the generally sentiment of the previous few posters though.

28-08-2016, 11:23 PM
When I was sitting my text 50 years ago the trick question they asked was what does amber mean. The correct answer was STOP apparently. Don't know if that's still the case.
I sympathise with the generally sentiment of the previous few posters though.
Stop if it's safe to do so IIRC.

29-08-2016, 07:19 AM
Stop if it's safe to do so IIRC.

29-08-2016, 07:50 AM
C'mon guys, amber after a green means stop. Red light cameras are only activated after the red aspect has been displayed so nobody gets caught going through an amber, they were caught crossing the stop line when a red was displayed.
You'd think we'd be more worried about causing an accident or perhaps killing someone by not obeying signals but apparently we only comply with the threat of a fine and 6 points.
And yes, I do get a little humpty on this subject after I was wiped out by a car going through a blatant red,,,

I agree that anyone going through a blatant red should be punished and I'm sorry to hear about what happened to you. However the vast majority of people stop at red and there is no intent of wrong doing when they get caught by these cameras after missing amber by a split second. In most cases it's probably better for them to keep going rather than slam on the brakes, but they get a £100 fine and 3 points instead. There should be a margin of error here a bit like the speed cameras, but of course that probably wouldn't make them viable as they wouldn't generate any money.

29-08-2016, 08:28 AM
I agree that anyone going through a blatant red should be punished and I'm sorry to hear about what happened to you. However the vast majority of people stop at red and there is no intent of wrong doing when they get caught by these cameras after missing amber by a split second. In most cases it's probably better for them to keep going rather than slam on the brakes, but they get a £100 fine and 3 points instead. There should be a margin of error here a bit like the speed cameras, but of course that probably wouldn't make them viable as they wouldn't generate any money.

If there was a margin of error then everyone would do it.
There surely no need to SLAM on brakes to stop at a red light.
If you are having to slam brakes on then you are obviously going far too fast for the road.

29-08-2016, 08:38 AM
Pet peeve - People who speed up at Amber lights :greengrin

29-08-2016, 08:49 AM
If there was a margin of error then everyone would do it.
There surely no need to SLAM on brakes to stop at a red light.
If you are having to slam brakes on then you are obviously going far too fast for the road.

There's a margin of error for speed cameras but that doesn't make everyone speed. I just think it's ridiculous that someone could potentially lose their license because of a split second timing that didn't cause any problems anyway.

Perhaps 'slam' is exaggerating it a little, but coming to a sudden stop, when it would be much easier to keep going. You don't necessarily have to be speeding for that to happen.

29-08-2016, 09:48 AM
Pet peeve - People who speed up at Amber lights :greengrin

Especially when I'm going the opposite direction and am waiting to turn right and can't get round until they've passed.

29-08-2016, 09:49 AM
Have we mentioned noisy eaters yet? Why do people feel the need to chomp chomp and smack their lips?

29-08-2016, 11:40 AM
Being asked if I want to taste the wine in my local Chinese, it's hardly going to have corked with a screw top :greengrin

29-08-2016, 02:51 PM
Being asked if I want to taste the wine in my local Chinese, it's hardly going to have corked with a screw top :greengrin

The Manor House?

29-08-2016, 02:53 PM
This "challenge accepted" pish on Facebook. Post a black and white selfie/picture?? What's that all about?

29-08-2016, 02:54 PM
Joey Essex. Wee fanny that should be nowhere near a television camera.

29-08-2016, 02:58 PM
Especially when I'm going the opposite direction and am waiting to turn right and can't get round until they've passed.Oh yes. Esp. West Port right turn into Lady Lawson Street.

29-08-2016, 03:29 PM
The Manor House?

You stalking me? :-)

Peach Garden

29-08-2016, 04:03 PM
Joey Essex. Wee fanny that should be nowhere near a television camera.

I saw some of him on Sunday Brunch yesterday. He's tragic. I can't tell if he is actually a complete idiot, or if he's playing it up?

29-08-2016, 05:02 PM
I saw some of him on Sunday Brunch yesterday. He's tragic. I can't tell if he is actually a complete idiot, or if he's playing it up?

He's a character - no one can be that stupid.

The sad thing is that folk like him, it's not pity they feel for him.

29-08-2016, 05:25 PM
The flight attendant waking me up because we were about to land . WTF ??

29-08-2016, 07:15 PM

I've not problems with red light cameras, my problem is with those who make an emergency stop when the lights change to amber and they're 2 yards from the lights.

29-08-2016, 07:22 PM
The flight attendant waking me up because we were about to land . WTF ??

He's required to by EASA regulations if he can't confirm any of a whole list of requirements prior to take off or landing.

29-08-2016, 07:30 PM
He's required to by EASA regulations if he can't confirm any of a whole list of requirements prior to take off or landing.

I didn't know that.

Sound asleep I was and she woke me up for the last 10 mins of dodgy turbulence :grr:

29-08-2016, 08:32 PM
I've not problems with red light cameras, my problem is with those who make an emergency stop when the lights change to amber and they're 2 yards from the lights.

Maybe they wouldn't feel the need to stop if it wasn't for red light cameras? 😉

29-08-2016, 09:40 PM
People who work on toll booths (or other 'one on one' jobs) and have the most grumpy and miserable personalities.
Is this an actual job requirement? Just wonderin'.

30-08-2016, 04:12 AM
You stalking me? :-)

Peach Garden

Ah, the rich end of corstorphine. :greengrin

30-08-2016, 04:13 AM

If he was a dug he'd be put down. Complete roaster.

Mixu62
30-08-2016, 04:24 AM
Now I know the Scots accent can sometimes be tricky for other peepul to unnerstaun, but something that gets my goat over here is this thing I've started referring to as the "auto-what". You know, you'll ask someone a question and they automatically say "what?" and as you start to repeat yourself, they answer. So they DID understand the first time!!

30-08-2016, 07:23 AM
People who work on toll booths (or other 'one on one' jobs) and have the most grumpy and miserable personalities.
Is this an actual job requirement? Just wonderin'.

David Mitchell answers your pet peeve pretty well I think - (from 1:51 in the link, though the rest is pretty funny too)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-6vLp07ZePY#

wpj
30-08-2016, 08:47 PM
Grey trakies in public. It's called "lounge wear" for a reason!

30-08-2016, 09:19 PM
Sparkling water. And more to the point; when you mistake sparkling water for still.

30-08-2016, 09:23 PM
Sparkling water. And more to the point; when you mistake sparkling water for still.

I've never understood how anyone could enjoy sparkling water.

31-08-2016, 07:17 AM
Grey trakies in public. It's called "lounge wear" for a reason!

:agree: Socially unacceptable trackie bottoms.

31-08-2016, 07:22 AM
People who say they don't like certain foods,when you ask them if they have actually tried it,they say no.

31-08-2016, 11:37 AM
People who say they don't like certain foods,when you ask them if they have actually tried it,they say no.

People who say they're allergic to foods when they just don't fancy it. (Note, not people who are actually allergic to things, that's not a peeve at all.)