View Full Version : Pet Peeves IV

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 [31] 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57

04-05-2020, 07:09 PM
Well it's better than starting with 'so'!

Don't mind a short so, it's the long soooooo that grips my Scheiße.

04-05-2020, 07:10 PM
So it is!So you say!

04-05-2020, 08:38 PM
People who are “super” excited to let you know....

Or So....I am super excited to let you know....

05-05-2020, 07:32 AM
Don't mind a short so, it's the long soooooo that grips my Scheiße.

Or folk who say "Thank you sooooo much" when you've just handed over some cash for a paper or whatever.

Bangkok Hibby
05-05-2020, 11:34 AM
So does nobody think starting every answer with "well" is weird?

05-05-2020, 12:13 PM

So strange to have that as a peeve.

Jakhog1
05-05-2020, 01:31 PM
Seen t-shirts for sale supporting NHS on Amazon, contacted them last week to see if any money is donated to NHS, still no comeback, also seeing people selling homemade facemasks on facebook at stupid prices, why not make and donate to care homes and caregivers and frontline staff, shameless profiteering

05-05-2020, 05:08 PM
The use of such expressions as "The ten-year anniversary".

It's the tenth anniversary 😤

06-05-2020, 03:54 PM

I think people have been saying "Well...." for yonks.

As in "Well, I'm off, see you in the boozer......"

06-05-2020, 06:55 PM

I think my tendency would be to start that sentence with “Right..”. Not sure if that is an Edinburgh thing. Or ‘Right so...’

06-05-2020, 08:14 PM
It is so

Bangkok Hibby
06-05-2020, 09:41 PM

Not using "well" as the first word in response to a question though, which was my peeve.

07-05-2020, 03:01 AM
Not using "well" as the first word in response to a question though, which was my peeve.

What about "Well as ever" in response to the question "How are you?" - can you thole that? :dunno:

Bangkok Hibby
07-05-2020, 09:20 AM
What about "Well as ever" in response to the question "How are you?" - can you thole that? :dunno:

Doubt you're being serious, and if you are I'm amazed anyone could be so pedantic or miss the point by such a margin.

07-05-2020, 10:25 AM
Doubt you're being serious, and if you are I'm amazed anyone could be so pedantic or miss the point by such a margin.

What about "well salesman" if you ask someone what their job is who sells well's for a living?

Bangkok Hibby
07-05-2020, 10:29 AM
What about "well salesman" if you ask someone what their job is who sells well's for a living?

Haha that's better 👍🏻

07-05-2020, 11:14 AM
Dishwasher loading. My wife can "fill" the dishwasher with about 4 items. She constantly puts things on top of each other too. Have tried to explain that this creates a shadow where the water spray can't get to but it's like trying to explain loans/advances to a Jambo.

07-05-2020, 01:51 PM
Dishwasher loading. My wife can "fill" the dishwasher with about 4 items. She constantly puts things on top of each other too. Have tried to explain that this creates a shadow where the water spray can't get to but it's like trying to explain loans/advances to a Jambo.

I have a similar issue with my wife about packing shopping at the supermarket - I always do the heavy things first to make sure they won't crush lighter/delicate things. She just fires them all in. I've tried to explain the logic behind it, but its never gotten through to her.

Doing the shopping alone the last few weeks has been a small positive in this awful time :greengrin

07-05-2020, 02:03 PM
I have a similar issue with my wife about packing shopping at the supermarket - I always do the heavy things first to make sure they won't crush lighter/delicate things. She just fires them all in. I've tried to explain the logic behind it, but its never gotten through to her.

Doing the shopping alone the last few weeks has been a small positive in this awful time :greengrin

I’m with you on this I unload my trolley onto belt accordingly too so the stuff comes in order the way I want it packed 😁

07-05-2020, 03:00 PM
I’m with you on this I unload my trolley onto belt accordingly too so the stuff comes in order the way I want it packed 😁

Snap!

My only problem here is that I've packed my basket in a similar way where possible with heavy goods at the bottom.

So I end up loading my lighter goods first and trying to get the heavier ones infront of them while the belt edges down away from me.

It'll be a challenge on the cube one day. :dizzy:

Bangkok Hibby
07-05-2020, 03:24 PM
Wow, men complaining about packing shopping bags! 😕
My ex went ballistic if I didnt pack the bags properly. Christ almighty, chuck it in the bag, throw it in the boot of the car and tip it all out when you get home. Stopped going with her eventually....divorce followed soon after 😂😂😂😂

07-05-2020, 03:29 PM
I used to go shopping with my granny on a Friday afternoon and she was a nightmare about how the trolley was loaded, how the checkout belt was loaded, how the bags were packed and then how the bags were put in the car boot. She was a lovely person and everyone liked her but absolutely no one wanted to take her shopping.

Now I go my own shopping I am exactly the same. I do the weekly shop alone because there is always a fight if the trolley and packing isn't done exactly as I would do them.

Peanut Shaz
07-05-2020, 04:35 PM
I used to go shopping with my granny on a Friday afternoon and she was a nightmare about how the trolley was loaded, how the checkout belt was loaded, how the bags were packed and then how the bags were put in the car boot. She was a lovely person and everyone liked her but absolutely no one wanted to take her shopping

Just like her older sister!!!

07-05-2020, 04:38 PM
What is the best way to pack the shopping?

I've done more shopping on my own than ever before, and every time I make an erse of it.

At least there's nobody there to give me grief for it.

07-05-2020, 04:48 PM

I don’t think you are Scottish. Everyone knows the response to “How are you?” is “Not bad”, or “Yeah, not bad”.

SideBurns
07-05-2020, 04:50 PM

I've done more shopping on my own than ever before, and every time I make an erse of it.

I put all my drink at the bottom of the 'bag for life', along with the loo roll.

Eggs on top.

Err...

That's it.

😁

07-05-2020, 04:50 PM
Dishwashers and trolleys I can definitely identify with. That and anyone else putting stuff into the fridge or freezer in random places.

WITHOUT ORDER THERE IS ANARCHY!!!!!!!

07-05-2020, 05:07 PM

I put milk, cleaning stuff, washing up liquid and any similar type containers up first, I have a couple of bags on the go and put them at either end of bags and build up stuff in between. I like to keep similar type boxes, plastic trays etc that stack well together and build my bag accordingly, bread always last, I hate crushed bread! 😁

07-05-2020, 05:14 PM
Folk leaving their engines running unnecessarily while parked. Usually just so they can listen to their shan 'tunes' without draining the battery. I get that some people dont care about air quality and carbon emissions but why waste your own money on petrol fumes?

Theres a golf gti that likes parking on my quiet sidestreet and the guy just sits there, usually with his mates or family members, sometimes drinking and sometimes having a wee joint with his engine running. And its not a quiet engine. It happened at after midnight once and I went out raging and told him to GTF. Him and his mates gave me the hard man stares but just drove off. But they keep coming back, i dont know whats so attractive about my street:confused:

07-05-2020, 05:36 PM

I divide the trolley into different sections depending on how I'm going to pack my bags. Normally I have one cool bag for frozen and cooled items, one that will be emptied in the kitchen, one to be emptied in the cellar and an anything else bag. Obviously packed with the heavier less likely to be damaged items at the bottom. When shopping with the Mrs I'm chief trolley packer, belt loader and bag distribution engineer, leaving her to pay the cashier.

07-05-2020, 06:53 PM

Snap!

My only problem here is that I've packed my basket in a similar way where possible with heavy goods at the bottom.

So I end up loading my lighter goods first and trying to get the heavier ones infront of them while the belt edges down away from me.

It'll be a challenge on the cube one day. :dizzy:

hahaha I’m glad it’s not just me 😂

I put milk, cleaning stuff, washing up liquid and any similar type containers up first, I have a couple of bags on the go and put them at either end of bags and build up stuff in between. I like to keep similar type boxes, plastic trays etc that stack well together and build my bag accordingly, bread always last, I hate crushed bread! 😁

completely agree, 11 years together, 8 married, and still trying to educate my wife on what items need to come first, which items go together because they stack well, and bread always always last :greengrin

07-05-2020, 07:09 PM
hahaha I’m glad it’s not just me 😂

completely agree, 11 years together, 8 married, and still trying to educate my wife on what items need to come first, which items go together because they stack well, and bread always always last :greengrin

Don’t get me started on unloading the shopping and packing the fridge properly 😂

07-05-2020, 09:19 PM
Don’t get me started on unloading the shopping and packing the fridge properly 😂

Both are 'men jobs'

At the supermarket my wife goes and looks at the magazines while I'm at the checkout, only way we have survived 40 years.

Freezer drawers are a mess if my wife puts something in, I usually rearrange and get twice as much in.

07-05-2020, 09:19 PM

It’s just a technique or habit that some have to allow themselves to think of the answer they want to give.

It’s a bit like when people umm or ahh in the middle of saying something.

It’s quite a normal human trait to make some sort of noise to fill the silence while their brain catches up.

Obviously there are others that clearly have gobs that work completely independently of their brain but I suppose that’s a different peeve all together!!

07-05-2020, 10:26 PM
It’s just a technique or habit that some have to allow themselves to think of the answer they want to give.

It’s a bit like when people umm or ahh in the middle of saying something.

It’s quite a normal human trait to make some sort of noise to fill the silence while their brain catches up.

Obviously there are others that clearly have gobs that work completely independently of their brain but I suppose that’s a different peeve all together!!
Madeleine Allbright on Newsnight tonight answering almost every single question with "Well ...".

Bangkok Hibby
08-05-2020, 10:42 AM
Madeleine Allbright on Newsnight tonight answering almost every single question with "Well ...".

Yes thats my point. It seems to be relatively new and now very common, and it certainly never used to be.

08-05-2020, 10:52 AM
This recent craze of putting capital letters into words. I don’t know what it means so I don’t like it. :greengrin

08-05-2020, 11:34 AM
This recent craze of putting capital letters into words. I don’t know what it means so I don’t like it. :greengrin

YoU MeAn LiKe ThIs? (WoRkS bEtTeR wItH bIgGeR wOrdS)

It's meant to depict someone else as being stupid I believe, which is rather ironic as that's the label I tar anyone with who uses it.

That was the first time I've ever done it actually, and it was oddly satisfying hitting the shift key on alternate letters...

08-05-2020, 11:44 AM
Yes thats my point. It seems to be relatively new and now very common, and it certainly never used to be.

Never noticed it before, never bothered me ... until you pointed it out! :grr::panic:

speedy_gonzales
08-05-2020, 01:57 PM

It's meant to depict someone else as being stupid I believe, which is rather ironic as that's the label I tar anyone with who uses it.

That was the first time I've ever done it actually, and it was oddly satisfying hitting the shift key on alternate letters...

It's from SpongeBob (Square pants) I believe.

08-05-2020, 02:22 PM
I used to go shopping with my granny on a Friday afternoon and she was a nightmare about how the trolley was loaded, how the checkout belt was loaded, how the bags were packed and then how the bags were put in the car boot. She was a lovely person and everyone liked her but absolutely no one wanted to take her shopping.

Now I go my own shopping I am exactly the same. I do the weekly shop alone because there is always a fight if the trolley and packing isn't done exactly as I would do them.

I'd make it a sackable offence for online delivery order pickers to do things like putting a case of Coke on top of crisps or cleaning products in the same bag as my spring onions.

08-05-2020, 02:23 PM

Thanks for the explanation, I still hate it :greengrin

08-05-2020, 03:22 PM
Thanks for the explanation, I still hate it :greengrin

You're right for doing so. :agree:

12-05-2020, 08:43 AM
Heavy typers. I’m probably just tired and particularly grumpy this morning after my daughter was testing her boundaries, but my wife is working just now and she sounds like a caveman banging at a keyboard!

12-05-2020, 09:11 AM
"And next up is Tracy from Carlisle, hello Tracy?

"Oh hello, how are yaow?

"We're fine thanks, what's your point?

"Thanks for having me on. Soooo,I'm a nail technician etc etc"

16-05-2020, 11:03 PM
Threads that turn into puns. Not sure if it was ever funny but now the novelty’s worn off they’re just tedious.

19-05-2020, 07:37 PM
When an organisation gives people the option not to pay, the people that come on and say “you’ll still get my money....”

I know the intentions are probably good but there’s bound to be people that can’t afford to keep paying, to me the unnecessary boasting is just going to make other people who maybe can’t afford to keep paying feel ****.

If you can afford to keep paying , good for you, there’s no need to tell the world though, just get on with it. (This was actually a gripe about my boys football club, not Hibs, although I have seen it a lot over the last 24 hours)

19-05-2020, 10:16 PM
Sky tv. They let you add channels easily, get the bill wrong and then make you phone them to remove.

20-05-2020, 07:13 PM
'Facebook keep deleting this.... ' - No they don't

'Bill Gates doesn't want you to see this so he keeps having it removed' - No he doesn't

EH6 Hibby
20-05-2020, 10:55 PM
'Facebook keep deleting this.... ' - No they don't

'Bill Gates doesn't want you to see this so he keeps having it removed' - No he doesn't

Just read this absolute nonsense on an acquaintance’s page. Have you ever heard such nonsense.

*POLICE BULLETIN*
*Warning!!!*

People are going door to door handing out masks, they say it’s a new initiative from local government. They will always ask you to please put it on to see if it fits you. It has been doused with chemicals which knocks you out cold and once you're knocked out they proceed to rob you. *Please do not accept masks from strangers.* Remember, we are living in critical times and people are desperate to take advantage with the aim of making money. Crime rate has skyrocketed, so please be cautious and play safe!

Please send to all your friends, colleagues and loved ones so as to help them stay vigilant in this adverse situation.

*Remember, sharing is caring!*

20-05-2020, 10:59 PM
Just read this absolute nonsense on an acquaintance’s page. Have you ever heard such nonsense.

*POLICE BULLETIN*
*Warning!!!*

People are going door to door handing out masks, they say it’s a new initiative from local government. They will always ask you to please put it on to see if it fits you. It has been doused with chemicals which knocks you out cold and once you're knocked out they proceed to rob you. *Please do not accept masks from strangers.* Remember, we are living in critical times and people are desperate to take advantage with the aim of making money. Crime rate has skyrocketed, so please be cautious and play safe!

Please send to all your friends, colleagues and loved ones so as to help them stay vigilant in this adverse situation.

😂😂 That’s a cracker.

21-05-2020, 06:06 AM

*POLICE BULLETIN*
*Warning!!!*

Brilliant.

The only thing missing is describing them as 'Eastern European looking'.

22-05-2020, 05:59 AM
In a mountain of stupid language at Westminster briefings, "game changer". Public health isn't a game.

22-05-2020, 07:14 AM
Sharon on Facebook making comments like:

"If I remember correctly Deoxyribonucleic acid is a molecule composed of two polynucleotide chains that coil around each other to form a double helix carrying genetic instructions for the development, functioning, growth and reproduction of all known organisms and many viruses. DNA and ribonucleic acid are nucleic acids".

Eh no Sharon, you didn't remember correctly, you ****ing googled it.

22-05-2020, 08:37 AM
Sharon on Facebook making comments like:

"If I remember correctly Deoxyribonucleic acid is a molecule composed of two polynucleotide chains that coil around each other to form a double helix carrying genetic instructions for the development, functioning, growth and reproduction of all known organisms and many viruses. DNA and ribonucleic acid are nucleic acids".

Eh no Sharon, you didn't remember correctly, you ****ing googled it.

Anyone who claims they're posting from memory are just too lazy to Google what they're about to say. I think that's what Ghandi said anyway.

22-05-2020, 08:38 AM
Laundry. Every aspect of laundry is a pain in the hoop. The only remotely easy aspect of it is ironing, which I find cathartic. The rest can **** off.

22-05-2020, 09:15 AM
Charity adverts asking for donations on TV, there seems to be an ever increasing amount of them.
So far this morning £2 a month for
Kittens
Caged animals for the tourist selfie trade
Tigers
Lions
Every day I see at least half a dozen adverts ranging from £2 to £5 a month for every imaginable cause. Seems like a massive con to me.

22-05-2020, 10:50 AM
Charity adverts asking for donations on TV, there seems to be an ever increasing amount of them.
So far this morning £2 a month for
Kittens
Caged animals for the tourist selfie trade
Tigers
Lions
Every day I see at least half a dozen adverts ranging from £2 to £5 a month for every imaginable cause. Seems like a massive con to me.

I watch Salvage Hunters on Quest and every ad break has the same advert for Erectile Dysfunction . It's a long awkward advert while sitting there watching with the bairns .

22-05-2020, 10:52 AM
Laundry. Every aspect of laundry is a pain in the hoop. The only remotely easy aspect of it is ironing, which I find cathartic. The rest can **** off.

You should get a washing machine like mine.
I put in a load and it magically empties , irons and hangs everything up.
Im not sure what my wife moans for.

22-05-2020, 11:55 AM

I have one of them too!

It was a massively expensive investment but still going strong 28 years later! Though it does cost for regular expensive maintenance 😁

22-05-2020, 02:11 PM

I don't mind putting fetching the dirty clothes, putting it in the machine, taking it out, even hanging it up. But I really detest, irrationally hate, getting powder/liquid and fabric softener, it just dies my nut in.

I have one of them too!

It was a massively expensive investment but still going strong 28 years later! Though it does cost for regular expensive maintenance 😁

:faf::not worth

22-05-2020, 02:39 PM
I have one of them too!

It was a massively expensive investment but still going strong 28 years later! Though it does cost for regular expensive maintenance [emoji16]I'm on my 2nd which has lasted over 18 years so far. It makes more and more annoying noises as time goes on.

22-05-2020, 03:30 PM
I'm on my 2nd which has lasted over 18 years so far. It makes more and more annoying noises as time goes on.

I'm on my original which is guaranteed to outlast me, probably because it will do me in one of these days.

Shezza
22-05-2020, 04:54 PM
Susan Calman. Never off the telly and as funny as toothache.

Shezza
22-05-2020, 05:00 PM

22-05-2020, 05:01 PM
People that repeat themselves 😁

Shezza
22-05-2020, 05:03 PM
People that repeat themselves 😁
Lol

22-05-2020, 05:24 PM

Never really liked her but I thought she was great in the professional chef contest thing that finished the other week.

Shezza
22-05-2020, 05:31 PM
Never really liked her but I thought she was great in the professional chef contest thing that finished the other week.
Never saw that but it proves my point about her never being off the telly. Lol

22-05-2020, 05:50 PM
Never saw that but it proves my point about her never being off the telly. Lol

And just goes to show the sort of programmes I'm watching in lockdown, I'm even on the Real Marigold Hotel....:rolleyes:

Shezza
22-05-2020, 06:17 PM
And just goes to show the sort of programmes I'm watching in lockdown, I'm even on the Real Marigold Hotel....:rolleyes:
You’re not the only one. I’m watching crap too and even posting on Hibs Net:wink:

22-05-2020, 08:34 PM
Generation bashing.

'Ooh you think you have it so tough but we had to.....'

Yes, I'm sure the nurses of today are going to work and thinking 'well at least it's not Spanish flu' or people being made redundant take solace in the fact that it's not as bad as the great depression.

Do people apply this to other things in life? 'Heart attack? Get a grip and stop moaning, it's not bloody cancer.'

22-05-2020, 08:55 PM
Generation bashing.

Yes, I'm sure the nurses of today are going to work and thinking 'well at least it's not Spanish flu' or people being made redundant take solace in the fact that it's not as bad as the great depression.

Do people apply this to other things in life? 'Heart attack? Get a grip and stop moaning, it's not bloody cancer.'

Have to say I never see this at all. I must live in a bubble :greengrin

22-05-2020, 08:57 PM
Have to say I never see this at all. I must live in a bubble :greengrin

I think it's a social media thing. I really should learn to ignore things. It's the snowflake generation genes.....

22-05-2020, 09:23 PM
Generation bashing.

You were lucky.....

https://youtu.be/ue7wM0QC5LE

22-05-2020, 09:38 PM
I think it's a social media thing. I really should learn to ignore things. It's the snowflake generation genes.....

Maybe it's because I've put so many Facebook friends on ignore or whatever you call it 😀

23-05-2020, 07:13 AM

I liked her in the great British menu and an appearance she made on Saturday kitchen.

That RBS advert she is in is on far too often and gets annoying.

I don't think I knew who she was prior to all these though.

23-05-2020, 12:26 PM
I liked her in the great British menu and an appearance she made on Saturday kitchen.

I don't think I knew who she was prior to all these though.

I don’t think I have seen the RBS advert but in Menu, she is very good with a comment and knowing look to camera.

I think I have seen her on QI as well and she was decent enough, though not in the stellar category of a John Sessions or the like.

speedy_gonzales
23-05-2020, 03:18 PM

I don’t think I have seen the RBS advert.

Yeah, the advertising dollars clearly work because she can be regularly seen advertising Bank of Scotland :greengrin

I've seen her many times at the Fringe over the years, she's actually pretty decent at the "stand up" style shows but is much better when on the panel shows or hosting.
In her early years she dabbled a wee bit in political commentary/comedy, unfortunately saw her absolutely ripped apart by a heckler due to her dads involvement with the Calman Commission.
Unfortunate in the sense that when you're out for a night of entertainment you don't need some tanked up idiot laying in to what was then a young lassie because of who her dad was/is,,,,it's not like it was a Roy "Chubby" Brown gig!

23-05-2020, 03:58 PM
Yeah, the advertising dollars clearly work because she can be regularly seen advertising Bank of Scotland :greengrin

I've seen her many times at the Fringe over the years, she's actually pretty decent at the "stand up" style shows but is much better when on the panel shows or hosting.
In her early years she dabbled a wee bit in political commentary/comedy, unfortunately saw her absolutely ripped apart by a heckler due to her dads involvement with the Calman Commission.
Unfortunate in the sense that when you're out for a night of entertainment you don't need some tanked up idiot laying in to what was then a young lassie because of who her dad was/is,,,,it's not like it was a Roy "Chubby" Brown gig!

I had no idea that she was Kenneth Calman’s daughter, just never made the link.

23-05-2020, 06:05 PM
I passed the commonwealth games baton to her. I was the second runner in Clackmannanshire and she was 3rd.

24-05-2020, 07:52 AM

:doh:

Easy to mix them up really. :wink:

I used to flyer at the fringe in my uni days and thought I was pretty clued up regarding the comedians and I still try to flick through the options, go to shows, and chat about comics each August and I can't remember ever hearing her name! Goes to show how big the fringe is I guess.

I'll keep an eye out for her in 2021. :aok:

speedy_gonzales
24-05-2020, 12:56 PM
I'll keep an eye out for her in 2021. :aok:

She's performed at the Underbelly when it was in Bristo Square, however,I've got a feeling she doesn't do the stand-up anymore
She'll more than likely be found at the BBC village that pops up in the grounds of George Heriot's.

Galahibby
25-05-2020, 01:00 PM
This has probably been mentioned earlier in the thread (quite possibly by me [emoji15]) but people who share crap on Facebook without actually reading the initial post/comments properly. Someone I know who lives in Orkney shared a lost dog the other day. 1) the dog went missing in Missouri; 2) the post was from 2015; 3) the dog had been reunited with its owner in 2015. A follow on from that would be people who don't delete, or at least update their 'missing' posts when their pet or belongings are traced.

Sent from my CLT-L09 using Tapatalk

25-05-2020, 02:50 PM
This has probably been mentioned earlier in the thread (quite possibly by me [emoji15]) but people who share crap on Facebook without actually reading the initial post/comments properly. Someone I know who lives in Orkney shared a lost dog the other day. 1) the dog went missing in Missouri; 2) the post was from 2015; 3) the dog had been reunited with its owner in 2015. A follow on from that would be people who don't delete, or at least update their 'missing' posts when their pet or belongings are traced.

I blocked my own mum for this, you have to be savage with these things

27-05-2020, 03:20 PM
Visited Stalag B&Q today, if this is the future of retailing the sooner it all goes online the better. More guards than customers inside and assistance is no longer allowed. The only human member of staff was the girl on the checkout.

speedy_gonzales
27-05-2020, 09:23 PM
TikTok, started off as a very popular social media app where folk shared short videos, some funny, some factual, some dance etc.
Today, it's nothing but glory hunting wannabes, and there's no better way to raise your profile than get some flesh out there. The amount of videos where there are quite young girls daring to reveal as much of their assets as possible without breaching the guidelines is ridiculous.
The latest challenge is the "bounce test", wear the smallest top you dare and bounce asking to a track and see what pops up. For any pervs out there, you will never see anything as it's policed quite well, but the innuendo is there and this is mostly young girls who encourage you to follow them on other platforms that may not be so well moderated.
I'm all for folk empowering themselves, and there's no room for haters, but do these individuals have no self respect?

27-05-2020, 10:02 PM
TikTok, started off as a very popular social media app where folk shared short videos, some funny, some factual, some dance etc.
Today, it's nothing but glory hunting wannabes, and there's no better way to raise your profile than get some flesh out there. The amount of videos where there are quite young girls daring to reveal as much of their assets as possible without breaching the guidelines is ridiculous.
The latest challenge is the "bounce test", wear the smallest top you dare and bounce asking to a track and see what pops up. For any pervs out there, you will never see anything as it's policed quite well, but the innuendo is there and this is mostly young girls who encourage you to follow them on other platforms that may not be so well moderated.
I'm all for folk empowering themselves, and there's no room for haters, but do these individuals have no self respect?

Stop watching them then!

speedy_gonzales
27-05-2020, 10:19 PM
Stop watching them then!

Yeah, it's kinda difficult when your feed is full of these random glamour model wannabes.
I don't sit and watch then pee & moan, but for anyone that has used TikTok for the last couple of years, there's no getting away from the rapid increase in this kinda material. If it floated my boat, of follow "love islanders" on insta.

27-05-2020, 10:23 PM
Yeah, it's kinda difficult when your feed is full of these random glamour model wannabes.
I don't sit and watch then pee & moan, but for anyone that has used TikTok for the last couple of years, there's no getting away from the rapid increase in this kinda material. If it floated my boat, of follow "love islanders" on insta.

Never bothered at all myself, you haven’t sold it to me either 😁

speedy_gonzales
27-05-2020, 10:26 PM
Never bothered at all myself, you haven’t sold it to me either 😁

Fair do's, I can't expect pet peeves to be universally acknowledged or suffered,,,, that'd be a bit boring!

27-05-2020, 10:37 PM
Fair do's, I can't expect pet peeves to be universally acknowledged or suffered,,,, that'd be a bit boring!

Maybe start a pet peeve one on Tick Tock then we can all add. I will have to ask my son to set me up on it.

28-05-2020, 07:19 AM
Both are 'men jobs'

At the supermarket my wife goes and looks at the magazines while I'm at the checkout, only way we have survived 40 years.

Freezer drawers are a mess if my wife puts something in, I usually rearrange and get twice as much in.

On a similar theme, stacking washing up to dry on the drying rack. After my wife has done the washing up (we don't have a dishwasher sadly) not only is there enough water our of the sink to indicate a baby rhino was splashing about but also it looks like Stevie Wonder has stacked the dishes. Always utterly precarious and higgedy piggedly. Remove the wrong fork in the wrong order and the whole bloody lot is liable to come crashing down.

28-05-2020, 08:09 AM
On a similar theme, stacking washing up to dry on the drying rack. After my wife has done the washing up (we don't have a dishwasher sadly) not only is there enough water our of the sink to indicate a baby rhino was splashing about but also it looks like Stevie Wonder has stacked the dishes. Always utterly precarious and higgedy piggedly. Remove the wrong fork in the wrong order and the whole bloody lot is liable to come crashing down.

😁 My missus has a habit of somehow always managing to have cutlery under glasses that are draining, does my nut in.

28-05-2020, 02:15 PM
�� My missus has a habit of somehow always managing to have cutlery under glasses that are draining, does my nut in.

That's not good. When the bottom inspectors arrive unannounced it's the sort of thing they'll be looking for.

StevieT
28-05-2020, 02:51 PM

I have a vision of giant Kerplunk

28-05-2020, 07:08 PM
😁 My missus has a habit of somehow always managing to have cutlery under glasses that are draining, does my nut in.

We've got a separate container for cutlery to dry in that, if it becomes full mid wash, the dear wife doesn't empty so that subsequent cutlery can be stacked vertically in it, the remaining cutlery just gets lobbed into the main drying tray, where, inevitably, it slips down through the bottom layer to the never never zone of gunk beneath the drying dishes so that when it comes to putting the dry stuff away, those poor victims are manky and need to get washed again. And so the cycle continues (pun not intended)

28-05-2020, 09:07 PM

You realise that it's a ploy to get you to do them.

28-05-2020, 10:23 PM
Nurseries that call themselves kindergartens. I hate the Americanisation of everything in this country but this one annoys me the most. It’s a German term that the Americans have adopted and some in this country have latched on to. It appeals to your average made in Chelsea fan who wears too much make up and thinks that the word y’all is acceptable.

Just_Jimmy
28-05-2020, 11:37 PM
The noise flip flops make when someone walks. Vile.

Sent from my Pixel 3a using Tapatalk

28-05-2020, 11:42 PM
Sauce bottle tops with old congealed sauce around the top and lid.

28-05-2020, 11:46 PM
People who ask to borrow the same thing continuously, whether it be a work colleague in the office or a neighbour at home. FFS if you need to borrow something regularly then you obviously need your own one, so get your own one!

Bangkok Hibby
29-05-2020, 09:18 AM
We've got a separate container for cutlery to dry in that, if it becomes full mid wash, the dear wife doesn't empty so that subsequent cutlery can be stacked vertically in it, the remaining cutlery just gets lobbed into the main drying tray, where, inevitably, it slips down through the bottom layer to the never never zone of gunk beneath the drying dishes so that when it comes to putting the dry stuff away, those poor victims are manky and need to get washed again. And so the cycle continues (pun not intended)

Reading all the comments on here about shopping, packing shopping bags, storing stuff away in cupboards, washing the dishes, drying the dishes, now makes me understand why I'm divorced. You see I couldn't give a toss about all that stuff. I always thought it was womens work but I'm obviously wrong. :greengrin:greengrin:greengrin

29-05-2020, 10:21 AM
Polystyrene.

Galahibby
29-05-2020, 10:31 AM
Is anyone else working from home just now? I'm absolutely loving not having to sit on buses and trams for 2.5 hours per day but the one thing that's doing my heid in is the team group chat. There are 11 of us, so that's 11 people saying good morning, then everyone else saying good morning back. Then it's lunch time - same again, then finishing time - same again. I'm not even reading them now so probably going to get a bollocking when I miss an actual important work related message.

29-05-2020, 10:54 AM
Bluebottles. F*** off ya annoying buzzing bassas.

29-05-2020, 02:26 PM
Is anyone else working from home just now? I'm absolutely loving not having to sit on buses and trams for 2.5 hours per day but the one thing that's doing my heid in is the team group chat. There are 11 of us, so that's 11 people saying good morning, then everyone else saying good morning back. Then it's lunch time - same again, then finishing time - same again. I'm not even reading them now so probably going to get a bollocking when I miss an actual important work related message.

:agree: I've left several media groups that were started with good intentions but descended into people sharing cat videos and other hilarious ***** that I've already been sent on other groups that were started with good intentions. One colleague started regularly posting work related stuff at 3 o'clock in the morning. Just **** off with that patter, if you want to work through the night then fine but don't ****ing text me at 3am.

29-05-2020, 02:41 PM
The noise flip flops make when someone walks. Vile.

Sent from my Pixel 3a using Tapatalk

The death of the perfectly good name: flip flops.

Only old fogies call them that now.

They've been slides now for years......

*I call them flip flops.

Bangkok Hibby
29-05-2020, 02:54 PM

*I call them flip flops.

I'm an old fogie and don't know flip flops by any other name. They make a flip flop noise when I walk. Slides???? weird! :greengrin

29-05-2020, 03:05 PM
I'm an old fogie and don't know flip flops by any other name. They make a flip flop noise when I walk. Slides???? weird! :greengrin

Be really cool and call them thongs.

Insert your own punchline.....

29-05-2020, 03:10 PM

My dog destroyed both my right footed flip flops and left me with two left footed ones. So do I own a pair of flip flips or flop flops

29-05-2020, 03:55 PM

*I call them flip flops.

Hmm is it not more a splintering of the genre? [emoji12]

Slides tend to have a solid band to ‘slide’ your foot into.

Flip flops have that weird thing that only goes between your big toe and the one next door.

FWIW I agree with the peeve though...that sound of someone shuffling about in flip flops is damn annoying.

29-05-2020, 04:31 PM
Hmm is it not more a splintering of the genre? [emoji12]

Slides tend to have a solid band to ‘slide’ your foot into.

Flip flops have that weird thing that only goes between your big toe and the one next door.

FWIW I agree with the peeve though...that sound of someone shuffling about in flip flops is damn annoying.

Nah mate - those are thongs now....( Australian origin I believe ). :wink:

Edit: I still call those flip flops as well.

29-05-2020, 04:48 PM
I've never heard of slides...

I prefer sandals myself. 🙂

29-05-2020, 05:56 PM
Reading all the comments on here about shopping, packing shopping bags, storing stuff away in cupboards, washing the dishes, drying the dishes, now makes me understand why I'm divorced. You see I couldn't give a toss about all that stuff. I always thought it was womens work but I'm obviously wrong. :greengrin:greengrin:greengrin

If there is one lesson history teaches us it is that without order there is anarchy :greengrin

29-05-2020, 07:44 PM
I dont mind the sound of flip flops at all. It's a holiday sound.

Need to be clear though. I would never wear flip flops. They are sore when you try to squeeze the plastic rod between your toes and it also chaffs when hobbling along. They are accidents waiting to happen as they spin off to the side of your feet and cause buckled ankles.

Now Sliders ! I like sliders on holiday and in the garden but they are also dangerous things.
Not the first time one has shot off my foot while in mid stride, and i swear i nearly fell.
It was like when you think there's an extra step on the stairs. 😄

29-05-2020, 09:24 PM

*I call them flip flops.

Nope they’re still flip flops. Sliders are different.

29-05-2020, 09:30 PM
I dont mind the sound of flip flops at all. It's a holiday sound.

Need to be clear though. I would never wear flip flops. They are sore when you try to squeeze the plastic rod between your toes and it also chaffs when hobbling along. They are accidents waiting to happen as they spin off to the side of your feet and cause buckled ankles.

Now Sliders ! I like sliders on holiday and in the garden but they are also dangerous things.
Not the first time one has shot off my foot while in mid stride, and i swear i nearly fell.
It was like when you think there's an extra step on the stairs. 😄

Yip. Can’t wear flip flops. Gives me sores inside the big and second toe.

Have graduated to middle age “Jesus sandles” as my wife calls them. Comfy as **** 👍 Only seen in them on holiday though to and from the beach.

29-05-2020, 09:32 PM
If there is one lesson history teaches us it is that without order there is anarchy :greengrin

Just look at what happens when traffic lights aren’t working. Chaos.

30-05-2020, 12:07 AM
Nope they’re still flip flops. Sliders are different.

See above re thongs

Bangkok Hibby
30-05-2020, 07:21 AM

Haha indeed sir...just can't get my head around so many men being involved with shopping and washing. :confused:

30-05-2020, 01:53 PM
Folk wore flip flops when Jesus was a laddie. It's 2020 no need to wear something so uncomfortable and difficult to keep on your feet. They are definitely a pet peeve of mine when every summer my Mrs tries to make me wear them

30-05-2020, 04:43 PM
Yip. Can’t wear flip flops. Gives me sores inside the big and second toe.

Have graduated to middle age “Jesus sandles” as my wife calls them. Comfy as **** �� Only seen in them on holiday though to and from the beach.

whilst on a school trip to France as a teenager, I really rubbed one of the teachers up the wrong way when he appeared on the first morning after arriving wearing a pair of said sandals.

My mate pointed to them and said ‘I didn’t know you liked Jesus sandles mr so-and-so’. I immediately followed up with ‘are those Nike Air Nazareths, or Adidas Bethlehems?’ :greengrin Cue the dirty look and teacher wanders off muttering.
He was an RE teacher, which made it all the better.

30-05-2020, 04:46 PM
Folk wore flip flops when Jesus was a laddie. It's 2020 no need to wear something so uncomfortable and difficult to keep on your feet. They are definitely a pet peeve of mine when every summer my Mrs tries to make me wear them

ive never been able to take to them, used to have arguments with my folks as a kid about being made to wear them whilst on holiday. The constant flapping against your heels, the total lack of confidence that they’ll stay on my feet or that if I tripped/slipped they’d be of any good at all, inability to run or even walk briskly, utter discomfort and pain, what’s the appeal?

31-05-2020, 12:24 AM

I've reached the pre middle age of being nearly 33 and take great delight in embarrassing my 8 year old, to no embarrassment on me, by wearing my 'sliders' or flip flops for you oldies, with my jeans on to go to the shops with him. That's a milestone you have to reach imo.

31-05-2020, 02:48 AM
The absolute ****ers in supermarkets that don’t follow the direction lines in the aisles. I know it’s a new thing, but I manage to do it every week. I met the same family about six times this week because they were going the wrong way. What is wrong with these people?

31-05-2020, 04:47 PM
The absolute ****ers in supermarkets that don’t follow the direction lines in the aisles. I know it’s a new thing, but I manage to do it every week. I met the same family about six times this week because they were going the wrong way. What is wrong with these people?

They don't even try, it's the usual where folk thing that rules don't apply to them.

pollution
31-05-2020, 05:10 PM
I see it all the time, everyone is walking the wrong way in my supermarket.

31-05-2020, 05:18 PM
I see it all the time, everyone is walking the wrong way in my supermarket.

[emoji23][emoji23][emoji106]

31-05-2020, 07:45 PM

I’ve never seen directional arrows in a supermarket.

31-05-2020, 08:41 PM

Tesco at Eskbank have them. Not that anyone understands what they’re for like.

31-05-2020, 09:09 PM
Tesco at Eskbank have them. Not that anyone understands what they’re for like.

I don't think I've come across a supermarket that doesn't have them now. Likewise I don't think I have been in a supermarket and not encountered someone strolling in the opposite direction from everyone else totally unaware of their surroundings.

31-05-2020, 09:34 PM

Tesco in Corstorphine 😃

31-05-2020, 09:35 PM
I don't think I've come across a supermarket that doesn't have them now. Likewise I don't think I have been in a supermarket and not encountered someone strolling in the opposite direction from everyone else totally unaware of their surroundings.

Tesco in Corstorphine 😀. Loads of folk just completely ignore it.

31-05-2020, 09:51 PM
Tesco in Corstorphine 😃

I have shopped in Morrisons and M&S both at the Gyle since lockdown neither have them. Have never queued either.

01-06-2020, 06:18 AM
Asda at Livingstone have the arrows but a lot of people blatantly ignore them.

01-06-2020, 02:03 PM
Not sure if it’s a Hibs.net joke to question when we’ll sign players again, but if it is it’s not funny. Not sure why it annoys me so much when folk keep asking if we won’t be signing players until the deferrals are paid. Despite the countless explanations. The distinction between deferrals and full pay is not particularly difficult to understand.

01-06-2020, 02:24 PM
I have shopped in Morrisons and M&S both at the Gyle since lockdown neither have them. Have never queued either.

M&S is a death trap. Not enough room between aisles. The worst is Iceland at Corstorphine. No room at all and you get people going round with huge trolleys of junk blocking the aisles. If it's at all busy you're holding your breath as you slink past folk and the queue snakes round the far aisle.

It's a shame because the staff there are nice but sometimes there's only one on the checkout so you're waiting for ages behind some tattoed beaut in a sleeveless vest who stinks of Lynx. Yeah, I'm a snob. Big deal.

01-06-2020, 03:52 PM
Snobs who shop in Iceland and then all they moan about is the type of people who shop in Iceland [emoji6][emoji12]

01-06-2020, 04:01 PM
Snobs who shop in Iceland and then all they moan about is the type of people who shop in Iceland [emoji6][emoji12]

I'm not a snob really.

01-06-2020, 06:33 PM
M&S is a death trap. Not enough room between aisles. The worst is Iceland at Corstorphine. No room at all and you get people going round with huge trolleys of junk blocking the aisles. If it's at all busy you're holding your breath as you slink past folk and the queue snakes round the far aisle.

It's a shame because the staff there are nice but sometimes there's only one on the checkout so you're waiting for ages behind some tattoed beaut in a sleeveless vest who stinks of Lynx. Yeah, I'm a snob. Big deal.

😂It’s not a death trap really, brushing past someone in a supermarket aisle doesn’t condemn you to death or Covid.
Since lockdown I have done all my shopping trips very early and never find congestion in aisles in Morrisons or M&S.

01-06-2020, 06:42 PM
The inside of M&S at Fort kinnaird was probably the most chaotic I've seen a supermarket during the lockdown.

There was a very long route I had to take to get to the queue (the queue was 2 people, but I felt like I walked a mile around their maze :greengrin ) and then the lady at the front seemed to be controlling things really well and letting people into the shop when isles were clear and depending on if you were going for fruit/veg. Then once I got inside there suddenly seemed to be loads of people going in every direction.

The most peaceful shop seems to be home bargains - lengthy queues outside at the weekends, but it's very quiet and controlled inside.

01-06-2020, 10:49 PM
"It’s not a death trap really, brushing past someone in a supermarket aisle doesn’t condemn you to death or Covid"

So why are we bothering then? I mean surely that is the essence of this business - the keeping apart from people thing?

I think your posts are funny.

I'm a big fan.

01-06-2020, 11:31 PM
"It’s not a death trap really, brushing past someone in a supermarket aisle doesn’t condemn you to death or Covid"

So why are we bothering then? I mean surely that is the essence of this business - the keeping apart from people thing?

I'm a big fan.

I think your posts are daft, but hey ho that’s the joy of a forum. Be careful out there!

02-06-2020, 02:56 AM
I think your posts are daft, but hey ho that’s the joy of a forum. Be careful out there!

You are funny though. Genuine.

I haven't a clue really.

02-06-2020, 03:36 PM

I'm a big fan.

The precautions are there to stop people doing what we used to do and spend extended periods of time in close proximity to lots of other people.

Whilst I do treat everyone I see as a potential threat the days it is overkill. The chances of contracting the virus walking past people are incredibly slim.

My peeve now though is the queueing on the first day things open - as if they are only going to be fleetingly available. This amount of weeks in I'm as keen as the next man to go the the recycling centre, but creating a significant tailback waiting for hours the first day it opens? Nah, I've waited this long.

McDonalds now going the same way. Would be a welcome wee treat but I can live without the 100 car wait.

02-06-2020, 03:45 PM
Yep huge queues of cars at mc Donald's at ljvingstone.its like rush hour

02-06-2020, 03:56 PM
The precautions are there to stop people doing what we used to do and spend extended periods of time in close proximity to lots of other people.

Whilst I do treat everyone I see as a potential threat the days it is overkill. The chances of contracting the virus walking past people are incredibly slim.

My peeve now though is the queueing on the first day things open - as if they are only going to be fleetingly available. This amount of weeks in I'm as keen as the next man to go the the recycling centre, but creating a significant tailback waiting for hours the first day it opens? Nah, I've waited this long.

McDonalds now going the same way. Would be a welcome wee treat but I can live without the 100 car wait.

There is in fact no queues at the tips due to the booking system they have in place. The system is excellent and well organised and the tip at Sighthill flowed with no queues.

As for the rest it’s absolutely crazy what people will queue for.

02-06-2020, 04:00 PM

Why do people do that? Why would you go for something (McDonalds, Costa, IKEA, KFC, Krispy Kreme) and decide to join a long, long queue and wait for hours? Just to get a cup of coffee, a doughnut, a burger or a piece of chicken.

Mental. Just do not understand that at all.

speedy_gonzales
02-06-2020, 04:50 PM
Why do people do that? Why would you go for something (McDonalds, Costa, IKEA, KFC, Krispy Kreme) and decide to join a long, long queue and wait for hours? Just to get a cup of coffee, a doughnut, a burger or a piece of chicken.

Mental. Just do not understand that at all.

Social conditioning, habit, opportunity?
You mention Krispy Kreme, relatively few people had actually had a Krispy Kreme experience before it opened at Hermiston Gait (first in Scotland I think), but when it did, there was queues backing up the M8.
And tomorrow, when the Mcd's opens at Drum Brae you just know there's going to be a snarl up around the area.
All so some parent can reward their child after 10 weeks of lockdown or so some millennial can update their insta feed.
I've nothing against the product itself, just the utterly ridiculous desire to be the first person through the door (service window) as if their lives depended on it.
No doubt it'll be the same folk that currently have a years supply of toilet roll and hand soap in their house 🙄

02-06-2020, 05:02 PM
There is in fact no queues at the tips due to the booking system they have in place. The system is excellent and well organised and the tip at Sighthill flowed with no queues.

There is in West Lothian - started at 7am and people queued for hours.

02-06-2020, 05:09 PM

2 hour + queue in Midlothian yesterday.

02-06-2020, 05:10 PM
There is in West Lothian - started at 7am and people queued for hours.

Surely they should have followed the ECC appointment system, I had my doubts to be honest but it’s worked perfectly, at Sighthill at least.
My appointment on Monday was for 12 noon, had to book using my reg plate, college car park used as a checkpoint and wait area, in an and out in less than minutes, couldn’t believe how easy it was.

02-06-2020, 05:23 PM
2 hour + queue in Midlothian yesterday.

They have a booking system at the Dunfermline one, I was there, rubbish unloaded, and away again well inside the ten minute slot I had booked.

Had seen some of the queues for other areas and was dreading it, was a nice surprise.

Jay
03-06-2020, 10:58 AM
The use of the word huni , usually by complete strangers on social media and followed by a x but occasionally to my face.

03-06-2020, 04:58 PM
I like going to Tesco at the moment. When you leave it's like you're a celeb at the airport. They say thanks and goodbye.

Mind you, this evening a callow youth said "See yiz later, bud" before returning to his mobile phone.

I felt it lowered the tone a bit.

04-06-2020, 06:34 PM
People who run in these blue EMF t-shirts.

'Finisher 2017'

Good for you. Maybe its time you started wearing some new gear?

04-06-2020, 06:40 PM

'Finisher 2017'

I'm wearing my 2016 one right now. Still in good nick and is a decent technical top for running in.

My peeve is people who throw away perfectly good clothes that still serve a purpose.

04-06-2020, 06:57 PM
I'm wearing my 2016 one right now. Still in good nick and is a decent technical top for running in.

My peeve is people who throw away perfectly good clothes that still serve a purpose.

If I had one I wouldn't throw it away, I'd keep it in a drawer as a momento.

It's all just a bit 'look at me and what I'm capable of'.

Sorry :greengrin ...and I'm not saying that's your way of thinking when you're wearing yours.

04-06-2020, 07:00 PM
If I had one I wouldn't throw it away, I'd keep it in a drawer as a momento.

It's all just a bit 'look at me and what I'm capable of'.

Sorry :greengrin ...and I'm not saying that's your way of thinking when you're wearing yours.

I'm just tight. If I pay £50 to enter a race and get a T shirt at the end of it then I'm wearing it rather than shelling out another £30 on something from Nike or Adidas.

04-06-2020, 07:01 PM

Me too, I also hate clothes shopping so tend to wear clothes that I like until they're dropping off me. I also hate the fashion industry so it's my little way of saying go **** yourself.

04-06-2020, 07:02 PM
I'm just tight. If I pay £50 to enter a race and get a T shirt at the end of it then I'm wearing it rather than shelling out another £30 on something from Nike or Adidas.

🤣 quite right.

04-06-2020, 07:17 PM
I have a few of the EMF ones, I think going back to the 2015 shirt - that still gets an outing from time to time. I have considered before that it shows I've had a shirt for 5 years but I always assumed people had better things to be looking at. :greengrin

I've got an old rugby jersey that I got in 2008 that is still going strong too. It only gets used in the colder months though.

Galahibby
04-06-2020, 07:29 PM
I have a few of the EMF ones, I think going back to the 2015 shirt - that still gets an outing from time to time. I have considered before that it shows I've had a shirt for 5 years but I always assumed people had better things to be looking at. :greengrin

I've got an old rugby jersey that I got in 2008 that is still going strong too. It only gets used in the colder months though.I've got a Ralph Lauren jumper that still gets the odd outing if it's really cold... I bought it from a shop in the mall underneath the twin towers! [emoji15]

04-06-2020, 08:30 PM
I can beat that, I am currently wearing an IOM TT t-shirt from 1999, I have tour t-shirts from various rock bands dating back to the early 90s and some bike rally t-shirts of the same vintage. All still get worn, why would you throw out stuff that is ok and holds memories. Never ever seen the need to have the latest fashion and bin what is still wearable. Sadly my son doesn't share my thoughts on this and costs me a ****ing fortune! Look out for me at ER I'll be the one in the flared chords and tank top 😀😀

04-06-2020, 08:47 PM
Me too, I also hate clothes shopping so tend to wear clothes that I like until they're dropping off me. I also hate the fashion industry so it's my little way of saying go **** yourself.

I’ve turned into a right tramp these last 3 months 😀.

04-06-2020, 09:23 PM

'Finisher 2017'

When I saw them at first I thought the band had reformed.

Unbelievable!

04-06-2020, 09:31 PM
When I saw them at first I thought the band had reformed.

Unbelievable!

Lol that's the first thing I automatically think of too.

To be honest I can't really talk as my running stuff includes the purple away top from 2002 and the green and yellow away shorts from 1999 with that rough material.

04-06-2020, 10:36 PM
I’ve turned into a right tramp these last 3 months 😀.

I was a tramp as a kid, a dashing young dandy in the military and back to a tramp as a middle aged sloth. Nowadays when I look at someone done up to the eyeballs, I can't help but think "what are you trying to compensate for"?

04-06-2020, 11:50 PM
Nowadays when I look at someone done up to the eyeballs, I can't help but think "what are you trying to compensate for"?

Pretty boy might spit his tea all over his screen but I was going to post something about being judged unfavourably depending on how you dress as one of my pet peeves.

I touched on this on another thread but fairly recently I had to buy a lot of new clothes and decided to opt for a lot of stuff that was a bit smarter. A bit more 'put together'. However, what this did was set me apart from the vast majority of people who's go to outfit was basically jeans, trainers and a branded top. Nothing wrong with that and that was what I used to wear regularly. One thing I did notice was the positive reactions, which was great as it's always nice to receive a compliment, but there were negative reactions too. Sneering looks and rather snide comments like 'so you think you're better than us' and 'who are you trying to impress'. I just respond in a nice, non confrontational way, as I don't want to come across as arrogant. The truth is that I dress nicely because looking good makes me feel good and I'm confident enough in myself to wear something that deviates from societal norms. I sometimes wonder if this negativity comes from them feeling threatened by someone with confidence and perhaps a mirror being held up exposing a lack of faith in themselves. If they were truly content with their own style (which usually doesn't exist as what someone wears isn't important), then why try to bring others down?

So if you meet me in my burgundy suit and pink shirt and start asking yourself what I'm trying to compensate for, I'm sure my warm smile and excellent chat will make you think twice.:greengrin

The irony is that I haven't spent any more money on clothes than a lot of these 'haters' have. A few suits and shirts that cost less than one of their stone island jumpers, chinos instead of jeans, wool v necks instead of loud Adidas hoodies and a tendency to choose river island over sports direct (unless I actually need stuff for sport). Brands on clothing, especially expensive ones, aren't something I do any more, so who's the real 'show off'? :dunno:

05-06-2020, 07:14 AM
Pretty boy might spit his tea all over his screen but I was going to post something about being judged unfavourably depending on how you dress as one of my pet peeves.

I touched on this on another thread but fairly recently I had to buy a lot of new clothes and decided to opt for a lot of stuff that was a bit smarter. A bit more 'put together'. However, what this did was set me apart from the vast majority of people who's go to outfit was basically jeans, trainers and a branded top. Nothing wrong with that and that was what I used to wear regularly. One thing I did notice was the positive reactions, which was great as it's always nice to receive a compliment, but there were negative reactions too. Sneering looks and rather snide comments like 'so you think you're better than us' and 'who are you trying to impress'. I just respond in a nice, non confrontational way, as I don't want to come across as arrogant. The truth is that I dress nicely because looking good makes me feel good and I'm confident enough in myself to wear something that deviates from societal norms. I sometimes wonder if this negativity comes from them feeling threatened by someone with confidence and perhaps a mirror being held up exposing a lack of faith in themselves. If they were truly content with their own style (which usually doesn't exist as what someone wears isn't important), then why try to bring others down?

So if you meet me in my burgundy suit and pink shirt and start asking yourself what I'm trying to compensate for, I'm sure my warm smile and excellent chat will make you think twice.:greengrin

The irony is that I haven't spent any more money on clothes than a lot of these 'haters' have. A few suits and shirts that cost less than one of their stone island jumpers, chinos instead of jeans, wool v necks instead of loud Adidas hoodies and a tendency to choose river island over sports direct (unless I actually need stuff for sport). Brands on clothing, especially expensive ones, aren't something I do any more, so who's the real 'show off'? :dunno:

Sniff sniff.

05-06-2020, 08:14 AM

Nothing wrong with dressing how you want. Clothes and music are my two big passions and I’m often “over dressed” but that’s simply the clothes I like rather than a concerted effort to make some sort of statement.

05-06-2020, 08:47 AM
Nothing wrong with dressing how you want. Clothes and music are my two big passions and I’m often “over dressed” but that’s simply the clothes I like rather than a concerted effort to make some sort of statement.

Definitely, and I think as soon as you dress slightly smarter than what is considered 'normal' in a certain situation, the judging starts. I suppose the same could be said for those who prefer to under-dress.
I suppose the key is to simply not care about negativity from others.

05-06-2020, 08:49 AM
Sniff sniff.

😁 Yeah, definitely not something for a Saturday afternoon.

05-06-2020, 09:14 AM
I was half joking about these EMF tops but I've seen a new way of looking at them.

Running a marathon is a big achievement and I suppose it can make you feel good every time you wear it about the house or even look at it. Certain clothes/objects/watches etc...can invoke memories.
If you hit a wall when you're running, maybe you can draw inspiration from your shirt. You've done this once so you can do it again!

Anyway, sorry if I've went a bit too deep in this thread. People with BO at work...what's all that about😄

05-06-2020, 09:36 AM
Definitely, and I think as soon as you dress slightly smarter than what is considered 'normal' in a certain situation, the judging starts. I suppose the same could be said for those who prefer to under-dress.
I suppose the key is to simply not care about negativity from others.

I prefer to dress differently rather than like a fashion clone.
A woman goes to any event and sees someone wearing the same dress or outfit and is horrified and would go home to change. A bloke wears the same as everyone else and thinks it’s cool!

Galahibby
05-06-2020, 09:40 AM
I suppose the key is to simply not care about negativity from others.I'm just glad no-one can see me right now or there would definitely be some judging going on. I've slittered toothpaste and coffee down my hoodie this morning but I'm home alone so haven't even bothered changing [emoji23]

05-06-2020, 01:01 PM

Just don't wear matching green tie and socks with that, otherwise you'll end up looking like a blurred aerial photo of Tynecastle on matchday.

05-06-2020, 01:37 PM
😁 Yeah, definitely not something for a Saturday afternoon.

My mate had a similar suit, which he wore to a wedding.

He's about as big a hibby as I know, and he spent most of the evening arguing that it was "deep wine" in colour as he was getting ripped to shreds.

05-06-2020, 01:41 PM

My mate had a similar suit, which he wore to a wedding.

He's about as big a hibby as I know, and he spent most of the evening arguing that it was "deep wine" in colour as he was getting ripped to shreds.

Had similar arguments about my red speckled bowls, they are NOT ****** maroon.😁

Galahibby
06-06-2020, 11:20 AM
I prefer to dress differently rather than like a fashion clone.
A woman goes to any event and sees someone wearing the same dress or outfit and is horrified and would go home to change. A bloke wears the same as everyone else and thinks it’s cool!How differently though? [emoji848] https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20200606/a0209075e42d4f9eaf482bc96cbb693d.jpg

06-06-2020, 11:30 AM
How differently though? [emoji848] https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20200606/a0209075e42d4f9eaf482bc96cbb693d.jpg

Yeah something similar.

06-06-2020, 11:52 AM
How differently though? [emoji848] https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20200606/a0209075e42d4f9eaf482bc96cbb693d.jpg

Normal office attire for me. In the winter I might wear socks that come past the knee.

06-06-2020, 04:40 PM
Normal office attire for me. In the winter I might wear socks that come past the knee.
Surely only one sock past the knee? Two would just look weird, you’d stand out like a sore thumb.

06-06-2020, 05:30 PM
Surely only one sock past the knee? Two would just look weird, you’d stand out like a sore thumb.

Good poimt, well put.

Should I show to the left or the right? My natural tendency with my lounge pants is to alternate depending on my mood. Dressing formal obviously introduces a different criteria.

06-06-2020, 05:36 PM
Good poimt, well put.

Should I show to the left or the right? My natural tendency with my lounge pants is to alternate depending on my mood. Dressing formal obviously introduces a different criteria.

For the avoidance of doubt, I was only meaning rolling one of my lounge pant legs up to the knee, there is something deeply satisfying about it :greengrin

06-06-2020, 07:46 PM
I got a Papa Johns pizza delivery tonight, I prefer their pizzas to dominoes or Pizza Hut. But...the garlic dip from Papa Johns is an absolute farce. Tastes like melted cheap margarine with a hint of garlic. Absolutely boggin.

06-06-2020, 07:53 PM
I got a Papa Johns pizza delivery tonight, I prefer their pizzas to dominoes or Pizza Hut. But...the garlic dip from Papa Johns is an absolute farce. Tastes like melted cheap margarine with a hint of garlic. Absolutely boggin.

Yea I tried it for the first time last week, I had three tubs, I actually thought the first one I opened had turned due to being exposed to extreme heat or similar so tossed it in the bin, opened the other two and they were the same so wondered if they were off or just a lousy dip. I think you have confirmed it for me, it’s a crap garlic dip.

06-06-2020, 07:54 PM

The special garlic dip you get with the pizza is rank. The garlic and herb you can buy separately is very decent though.

I used to do deliveries for Papa Johns a while back and there was usually a free pizza or 3 if you wanted it. The sausage, peperroni and parmesan was immense with the garlic and herb and honey and mustard dips.

06-06-2020, 08:11 PM
The special garlic dip you get with the pizza is rank. The garlic and herb you can buy separately is very decent though.

I used to do deliveries for Papa Johns a while back and there was usually a free pizza or 3 if you wanted it. The sausage, peperroni and parmesan was immense with the garlic and herb and honey and mustard dips.

I’ll try the garlic and herb next time then

06-06-2020, 08:26 PM
I’ll try the garlic and herb next time then

Don't pay for it, just put a note asking them to sub it for the special garlic and they will do it. Obviously if you want more than one then you'll have to pay for the extra.

07-06-2020, 10:29 AM
People who don't delete emails, I just went to set my folks up with zoom so they could chat with their pals, when I went into their email account to activate it there were 17,600 emails :faf::brickwall

07-06-2020, 10:41 AM
Trolleys. It’s likely just me, but every single time I go to the supermarket I manage to pick a trolley that makes the most horrendous racket. The thing is, they all rattle when you get them from the trolley park so you don’t know it’s going to be an attention drawing noise machine until you get it on to the smooth surface of the supermarket floor, and by that time it’s too late to go back and change it, and what’s the point? I’ll only just grab another one that’s probably worse!!

This has blighted me for years, and a few years ago I decided to keep a running count of how many times I picked a duff trolley. Reading that back makes me sound absolutely mental, but this is what it’s reduced me to!!! The last time I had a trolley that didn’t sound like it was going to fall apart was around Xmas time 2018!!! there must be a way to monetise this, I should offer my skill to all the supermarkets.......’Duff Trolley Finder’, £20 an hour.

I need a drink after that, I’m away to get trollied :greengrin

07-06-2020, 06:29 PM
People who don't delete emails, I just went to set my folks up with zoom so they could chat with their pals, when I went into their email account to activate it there were 17,600 emails :faf::brickwall

I thought it was just me 😃. I have zero emails in my inbox at the end of each day. All dealt with and filed away in appropriate folders. Sent mails similarly.

What’s so hard about it 😃.

07-06-2020, 06:39 PM
People who send an email to my works email, receive my out of office which tells them I am furloughed and not working and then immediately phone my mobile number to speak to me about the same subject they were emailing me about, often leaving a voicemail asking me to call them! WTF I am not working.

07-06-2020, 06:43 PM
People who send an email to my works email, receive my out of office which tells them I am furloughed and not working and then immediately phone my mobile number to speak to me about the same subject they were emailing me about, often leaving a voicemail asking me to call them! WTF I am not working.

On something of the flip side of that:

I'm back at work and dealing with other people's accounts as well as my own.

'Can I speak to X please?'
'I'm afraid she is currently furloughed but I can help'
'I usually deal with X though'
'Yes I understand, she is furloughed though so unfortunately can't help at the moment. What is it you are looking for?'
'Can you get a message to X?'
'Unfortunately not, she is currently furloughed so can't do any work for us'
'Oh right, I'll try her on her mobile then'

07-06-2020, 06:57 PM
Trolleys. It’s likely just me, but every single time I go to the supermarket I manage to pick a trolley that makes the most horrendous racket. The thing is, they all rattle when you get them from the trolley park so you don’t know it’s going to be an attention drawing noise machine until you get it on to the smooth surface of the supermarket floor, and by that time it’s too late to go back and change it, and what’s the point? I’ll only just grab another one that’s probably worse!!

This has blighted me for years, and a few years ago I decided to keep a running count of how many times I picked a duff trolley. Reading that back makes me sound absolutely mental, but this is what it’s reduced me to!!! The last time I had a trolley that didn’t sound like it was going to fall apart was around Xmas time 2018!!! there must be a way to monetise this, I should offer my skill to all the supermarkets.......’Duff Trolley Finder’, £20 an hour.

I need a drink after that, I’m away to get trollied :greengrin

Happens to me regularly. I always try to take a basket when there's not too much on the list then when I actually read it and start packing the things into it I'm staggering around Tesco clutching desperately on to the basket with both hands, praying that there's not something at the other end of the shop that I've forgotten :greengrin

07-06-2020, 07:00 PM
On something of the flip side of that:

I'm back at work and dealing with other people's accounts as well as my own.

'Can I speak to X please?'
'I'm afraid she is currently furloughed but I can help'
'I usually deal with X though'
'Yes I understand, she is furloughed though so unfortunately can't help at the moment. What is it you are looking for?'
'Can you get a message to X?'
'Unfortunately not, she is currently furloughed so can't do any work for us'
'Oh right, I'll try her on her mobile then'

Crazy eh?

I’ve added on furlough leave to my LinkedIn profile as the number of people trying to connect to sell me PPE/Perspex Screens and offer me back to business solutions for restaurants is unreal.

08-06-2020, 08:58 AM

Happens to me regularly. I always try to take a basket when there's not too much on the list then when I actually read it and start packing the things into it I'm staggering around Tesco clutching desperately on to the basket with both hands, praying that there's not something at the other end of the shop that I've forgotten :greengrin

Forgetting an item is my pet peeve. Totally my own fault as well, but the amount of times I've done what you describe there, or get just past the point of no return at the checkout, only to remember that I've not picked something up, is unreal.

That point of no return is also the exact moment my wife is somehow alerted to send me a text to pick something up as well.

08-06-2020, 12:15 PM
Forgetting an item is my pet peeve. Totally my own fault as well, but the amount of times I've done what you describe there, or get just past the point of no return at the checkout, only to remember that I've not picked something up, is unreal.

That point of no return is also the exact moment my wife is somehow alerted to send me a text to pick something up as well.

This can be avoided by listing. I am a compulsive lister. My downfall is being distracted by two for one offers and the like.

08-06-2020, 01:22 PM
This can be avoided by listing. I am a compulsive lister. My downfall is being distracted by two for one offers and the like.

The only way to avoid being tempted by offers in a supermarket and strategically placed products is to do your supermarket shop online.

08-06-2020, 02:18 PM

I have a list, what usually happens is i'll know what's on the list and have my route round the shop planned out roughly (pre-lockdown, I'd be in Tesco every day, so would know the quickest way round to get what I need).

Then if I see someone I know but can't be bothered stopping to speak to (this happens a lot), I'll have to alter my route, and that is when I miss things.

That's my theory, anyway.

08-06-2020, 02:32 PM
I have a list, what usually happens is i'll know what's on the list and have my route round the shop planned out roughly (pre-lockdown, I'd be in Tesco every day, so would know the quickest way round to get what I need).

Then if I see someone I know but can't be bothered stopping to speak to (this happens a lot), I'll have to alter my route, and that is when I miss things.

That's my theory, anyway.

You're moaning? - Just think how many people you're affecting for the same reason!

08-06-2020, 03:40 PM
You're moaning? - Just think how many people you're affecting for the same reason!

I'm doing them a favour by dodging them!

08-06-2020, 05:40 PM
The only way to avoid being tempted by offers in a supermarket and strategically placed products is to do your supermarket shop online.

Undoubtedly true but I like the whole process. Even returning the trolley to the trolley bay after loading the car. And yes, I know that makes me a weirdo.

08-06-2020, 05:42 PM
Undoubtedly true but I like the whole process. Even returning the trolley to the trolley bay after loading the car. And yes, I know that makes me a weirdo.

Oh I’m with you on that, I enjoy my supermarket trip and always fall prey to offers and new products 😁

08-06-2020, 06:12 PM
Probably just a German thing but cyclists who drive on the road when there's a perfectly good cycle path running parallel to the road. There are 2 kinds of cycle paths over here, ones that are compulsory for cyclists to use and non compulsory ones.

08-06-2020, 06:37 PM
It’s Livingston not Livingstone

08-06-2020, 06:55 PM
Probably just a German thing but cyclists who drive on the road when there's a perfectly good cycle path running parallel to the road. There are 2 kinds of cycle paths over here, ones that are compulsory for cyclists to use and non compulsory ones.

Definitely not just a German thing.

2 in Edinburgh that annoy me are the cycle path in Holyrood Park. I always seem to get stuck behind someone puffing up the hill at 2mph all of 5 yards away from the cycle path. Also at Seafield the pavement is a designated cycle path but you still get people using the road on what is a pretty hefty incline.

Particularly in the case of the former pedestrians have to take some of the blame though. The cycle path and path for walking are clearly defined but some seem to walk wherever they fancy.

08-06-2020, 08:09 PM
It’s Livingston not Livingstone

You presume.

08-06-2020, 08:40 PM
Also at Seafield the pavement is a designated cycle path but you still get people using the road on what is a pretty hefty incline.

If you mean going West to East, I think there's a bit of a bottleneck going over the railway bridge where it's easy for cyclists and joggers/pedestrians to meet head-on. Might be a reason for cyclists avoiding.

If you mean going East to West (which I think is up the incline), say going from Screwfix to Halfords, that'd be two fairly unpleasant road crossings to get on and off the cycle path/pavement. Might be a reason for cyclists not using.

08-06-2020, 09:38 PM
If you mean going West to East, I think there's a bit of a bottleneck going over the railway bridge where it's easy for cyclists and joggers/pedestrians to meet head-on. Might be a reason for cyclists avoiding.

If you mean going East to West (which I think is up the incline), say going from Screwfix to Halfords, that'd be two fairly unpleasant road crossings to get on and off the cycle path/pavement. Might be a reason for cyclists not using.

I’ve cycled over that bridge hundreds of times on the way to and from work, never once met a pedestrian or fellow cyclist on it. I think folk just don’t realise the pavement is shared use even although it’s clearly marked. That road feels really dangerous on a bike so I don’t get why folk wouldn’t use the pavement anyway.

wpj
09-06-2020, 01:32 AM
On a shopping theme I often buy items I already have, I currently have three jars of mustard.
Oh, and yesterday I went to my local shop in my slippers, standards are definitely slipping during lockdown

09-06-2020, 08:49 AM
I’ve cycled over that bridge hundreds of times on the way to and from work, never once met a pedestrian or fellow cyclist on it. I think folk just don’t realise the pavement is shared use even although it’s clearly marked. That road feels really dangerous on a bike so I don’t get why folk wouldn’t use the pavement anyway.

Don't go there every day but surprised you've never encountered a pedestrian or runner there - perhaps we go at different times. I do use the pavement going West-East but generally don't bother on the East-West leg, unless coming from the prom.

09-06-2020, 09:12 AM

Nope not a German thing. The newbridge to Broxburn road specifically has a cycle and walkway but you still cyclists on the road. The same goes for the fife coastal route from Culross to Kincardine stretch. Really tight road with a footpath/cycleway that goes the vast majority of the route, but people still insist on cycling on the road.

speedy_gonzales
09-06-2020, 11:39 AM
Nope not a German thing. The newbridge to Broxburn road specifically has a cycle and walkway but you still cyclists on the road. The same goes for the fife coastal route from Culross to Kincardine stretch. Really tight road with a footpath/cycleway that goes the vast majority of the route, but people still insist on cycling on the road.

I cycled this last week (National cycle Route 76?), I started on the path but eventually had to take to the road as I wasn't making great progress due to the number of pedestrians/dog walkers. Considering on flat road I can easily cycle at 20mph, I think I made the right decision.

09-06-2020, 01:03 PM
I cycled this last week (National cycle Route 76?), I started on the path but eventually had to take to the road as I wasn't making great progress due to the number of pedestrians/dog walkers. Considering on flat road I can easily cycle at 20mph, I think I made the right decision.

78 I think, lovely stretch. I’m not blaming individual cyclists for it, more the users of the path as a whole. 20mph isn’t very fast compared to a car on a twisty road like that though, I know that road but others who don’t and treat it like a rally stage which makes it more dangerous for cyclists. It’s fun seeing the looks on their faces when they come round a bend and find me in the tractor with 25ft trailer or the header for the combine coming towards them.

StevieT
10-06-2020, 02:10 PM
Coffee granules in the sugar. No need.

10-06-2020, 02:12 PM
Coffee granules in the sugar. No need.

Coffee granules, no need.

10-06-2020, 02:31 PM
Coffee granules, no need.

Sugar, no need.

10-06-2020, 02:43 PM
Sugar, no need.

No need.

10-06-2020, 03:01 PM
Sugar, no need.

It's part of our history. :bitchy: :panic:

10-06-2020, 03:14 PM
It's part of our history. :bitchy: :panic:

Word of the week.......

Slaver :greengrin

12-06-2020, 03:52 PM
Royalty free, not the real artist albums. I'm just in from the dentist where I had to put up with a string of 80s hits revisited in a reggae style, including The Final Countdown, the Walk of Life, Drive & Jesus he Knows Me.

The only small upside is that it helped take my mind off what was going on in my gob.

12-06-2020, 03:55 PM
Royalty free, not the real artist albums. I'm just in from the dentist where I had to put up with a string of 80s hits revisited in a reggae style, including The Final Countdown, the Walk of Life, Drive & Jesus he Knows Me.

The only small upside is that it helped take my mind off what was going on in my gob.

I actually like the alternative takes on well known tunes, always makes me laugh

12-06-2020, 04:10 PM
I actually like the alternative takes on well known tunes, always makes me laughI did laugh when the Final Countdown started, as did the nurse when I gave her a WTF look.

The dentist who's a great guy, but as camp as a row of pink tents, doesn't give a jot!

Jay
12-06-2020, 04:38 PM
I did laugh when the Final Countdown started, as did the nurse when I gave her a WTF look.

The dentist who's a great guy, but as camp as a row of pink tents, doesn't give a jot!

Last year I was having a scan done, I was to be in the machine for quite a while and was asked if i had music i wanted played or just listen to their choice. I said to put on their stuff as smy phone was locked away. Off they went and I'm in this empty cold room trying to convince myself I'd be okay. It was nerve wracking enough but as i lay there listening to Celine Dion singing All by Myself I didnt know whether to laugh or cry :greengrin

12-06-2020, 04:44 PM
Last year I was having a scan done, I was to be in the machine for quite a while and was asked if i had music i wanted played or just listen to their choice. I said to put on their stuff as smy phone was locked away. Off they went and I'm in this empty cold room trying to convince myself I'd be okay. It was nerve wracking enough but as i lay there listening to Celine Dion singing All by Myself I didnt know whether to laugh or cry :greengrinWorth it for that note, that key-change alone....

12-06-2020, 05:02 PM
I actually like the alternative takes on well known tunes, always makes me laugh

I used to work for a chain of shops where the owner/chairman decided paying for royalties was a waste of money so we were subjected to about 18 months of crappy karaoke soundalikes doing chart music, it was so bad, customers would give you a look or even comment on it :greengrin

Jay
12-06-2020, 05:31 PM
Worth it for that note, that key-change alone....

If I didnt have to be still I'd have belted it out myself :greengrin

12-06-2020, 05:37 PM
I used to work for a chain of shops where the owner/chairman decided paying for royalties was a waste of money so we were subjected to about 18 months of crappy karaoke soundalikes doing chart music, it was so bad, customers would give you a look or even comment on it :greengrin

Now we are talking, a particular favourite of mine is Italian restaurant versions of popular songs :greengrin

Peanut Shaz
12-06-2020, 05:50 PM
My Daughter calls it Matalan music 😁

12-06-2020, 05:52 PM
Now we are talking, a particular favourite of mine is Italian restaurant versions of popular songs :greengrinWestern hits played on Chinese instruments take some beating.

12-06-2020, 06:21 PM
Are pan pipe compilations still a thing? They were everywhere for a while.

12-06-2020, 06:54 PM
Are pan pipe compilations still a thing? They were everywhere for a while.

Pan pipe moods, remember as a teenager coming home and my mum was listening to it :faf:

13-06-2020, 04:42 AM
Western hits played on Chinese instruments take some beating.

Particularly if the instrument is a tanggu. :wink:

Nazz
13-06-2020, 09:00 AM
Western hits played on Chinese instruments take some beating.
You should check out Luna Lee's channel on Youtube (https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCQASKpYeiD7Eh_mfhaTrS0Q)

Here's a sample:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=okd8brEiidA

13-06-2020, 09:52 AM
You should check out Luna Lee's channel on Youtube (https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCQASKpYeiD7Eh_mfhaTrS0Q)

Here's a sample:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=okd8brEiidASorry but that's excellent. Nowhere near cheesy enough!

Nazz
13-06-2020, 11:24 AM
Sorry but that's excellent. Nowhere near cheesy enough!
Sorry, I missed the whole tone of your post. Serves me right for not reading the thread thoroughly. You're right though, she's an excellent player.

13-06-2020, 12:23 PM
Now we are talking, a particular favourite of mine is Italian restaurant versions of popular songs :greengrin

:greengrin Hahaha sadly it wasn’t even as good as that, it was literally folk trying to mimic the actual singers/bands, so the music was never quite as good, the singers never as good, it was like listening to a school band trying to do westlife :greengrin

13-06-2020, 12:26 PM
Sorry, I missed the whole tone of your post. Serves me right for not reading the thread thoroughly. You're right though, she's an excellent player.Don't apologise. There's a fine line between something that's good, and something that's so bad it's good.

And even though she seems to play very well, there are probably some things that just won't work.

13-06-2020, 07:46 PM
Calling to chase up an order and being told it's in its way... Then having a courtesy call 10 minutes later asking if I received it and then promising it would be dispatched in 10 minutes. :dizzy:

I admire the ambition of not having made my food but phoning just in case I think I've received it though. A few more beers on an empty stomach and they might have caught me out! :greengrin

15-06-2020, 08:50 AM
I'm sure there is a reasonable explanation for this one but I'm going to moan anyway.

The Waverley Steps currently being closed. I've been walking to work lately and I cut through the station. For the most part the station is absolutely deserted, it's a bit busier the last couple of weeks but we are talking a couple of handfuls of people as opposed to the usual early morning chaos. The steps are completely closed and gated shut so the only access to Princes Street, from the station, is using the lifts. As I said until the last fortnight I was often the only person other than staff in the place so it was fine. However now it is a bit busier and only one person or one household is permitted to use either of the lifts at a time even a queue of 4 or 5 people can mean a 10+ minute wait.

I would think it is fairly easy to socially distance on a set of stairs or an escalator so I assume it isn't for safety reasons they are closed. The only explanation I can think of is the steps are owned by either the hotel or the shopping centre and because they are closed they have closed the steps as well. It just seems a bit daft otherwise.

15-06-2020, 11:36 AM
I'm sure there is a reasonable explanation for this one but I'm going to moan anyway.

The Waverley Steps currently being closed. I've been walking to work lately and I cut through the station. For the most part the station is absolutely deserted, it's a bit busier the last couple of weeks but we are talking a couple of handfuls of people as opposed to the usual early morning chaos. The steps are completely closed and gated shut so the only access to Princes Street, from the station, is using the lifts. As I said until the last fortnight I was often the only person other than staff in the place so it was fine. However now it is a bit busier and only one person or one household is permitted to use either of the lifts at a time even a queue of 4 or 5 people can mean a 10+ minute wait.

I would think it is fairly easy to socially distance on a set of stairs or an escalator so I assume it isn't for safety reasons they are closed. The only explanation I can think of is the steps are owned by either the hotel or the shopping centre and because they are closed they have closed the steps as well. It just seems a bit daft otherwise.

I'm guessing that CEC have closed it to dissuade folk using it as a cut-through, limiting station access only to those who need to be there.

My own peeve about those steps is the number of folk who canny read the signs that say "keep left" :greengrin

15-06-2020, 01:07 PM

Part of their one way system?

15-06-2020, 03:33 PM

Here's a sample:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=okd8brEiidA

That is totally magic. She's a talented lass.

16-06-2020, 12:57 PM
Pet peeve that I noticed on the main board: people saying Sporting Lisbon.

There's two main football clubs in Lisbon. Sl benfica and sporting club de Portugal.

The only sporting Lisbon in Portugal is benfica, yet people constantly refer to the green and white hooped team as sporting Lisbon!

16-06-2020, 01:00 PM

There's two main football clubs in Lisbon. Sl benfica and sporting club de Portugal.

The only sporting Lisbon in Portugal is benfica, yet people constantly refer to the green and white hooped team as sporting Lisbon!

That’s because they are referred to colloquially as Sporting Lisbon

16-06-2020, 01:42 PM

That's probably my biggest pet un-peeve if there's such a thing. If almost everyone calls them Sporting Lisbon then how are folk supposed to know their proper name unless they are avid Portuguese football fans??

16-06-2020, 06:21 PM

I have family over there and am (was) usually there at least twice a year. My description would be Sporting CP but I can understand why they get referred to as Sporting Lisbon, albeit wrongly.

Technically Benfica are Sport Lisboa e Benfica and a lot of their merchandise will carry a SLB logo.

When over, I will go to see all the clubs I can. Benfica always feel a bit Hunnish, lots of self-entitlement and so forth, but they do have their own song, a ballad in the style of SOL written and sung and sold by some Lisbonese crooner in the 1950s to raise money to develop the stadium. It gets belted out before every home game.

Belenenses were my team but they had some massive split, akin to Wimbledon, with the top-flight team moving to the city centre and a new team staying in the original ground in Belém, but in the fifth or sixth flight. Nicely, Belenenses’ first ever game in European football was against us. I have not been able to get over obviously but I think I will earmark the lower-league Belenenses. For anyone going to Lisbon, the Benfica stadium and Sporting stadium are cracking venues and easily accessible on the metro.