View Full Version : Pet Peeves IV

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 [44] 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57

Santa Cruz
02-11-2022, 02:06 PM
My local Asda is like a feeding frenzy when the final round of reductions get done every evening.

I just don't know what people do with half the stuff. Bakery items I get, you can freeze them. Same with cold meat or even soft fruits. But someone buying 15 yoghurts at 10p that go out of date the same day? I'd be genuinely curious at to whether they actually sit and eat as many as they can before midnight. I'm not particularly bothered by best before dates and the like but I'd draw the line at 3 day old dairy.

I've seen bulk buying of yoghurts, pre packed sandwiches for local community clubs and the like. From what I used to see a number of shoppers don't pay too much attention to bb dates, tends to be poultry and sea food they are a bit more cautious about.

If packaging is blown, don't buy - applies to cooked and uncooked meat including ready meals. That's my pet peeve, staff who still put that out for sale, probs because they haven't been trained to look for it. It can be a sign of bacteria growing.

Stairway 2 7
02-11-2022, 02:07 PM
My local Asda is like a feeding frenzy when the final round of reductions get done every evening.

I just don't know what people do with half the stuff. Bakery items I get, you can freeze them. Same with cold meat or even soft fruits. But someone buying 15 yoghurts at 10p that go out of date the same day? I'd be genuinely curious at to whether they actually sit and eat as many as they can before midnight. I'm not particularly bothered by best before dates and the like but I'd draw the line at 3 day old dairy.
I think the quickest snapped up is meat, which will be chucked in the freezer. Some of the vegetables on reduction are in a sorry state, but better than being wasted.

My pet peeve would be crap reductions. Lidl aldi just have a set 30 or 50% sticker, Sainsbury’s and m and s usually a decent reduction. The coop next to me though has reductions like £3.99 down to £3.50. If I'm buying something getting chucked that night, I'm wanting a third of or I'll just buy with a decent date

02-11-2022, 02:27 PM
I think the quickest snapped up is meat, which will be chucked in the freezer. Some of the vegetables on reduction are in a sorry state, but better than being wasted.

My pet peeve would be crap reductions. Lidl aldi just have a set 30 or 50% sticker, Sainsbury’s and m and s usually a decent reduction. The coop next to me though has reductions like £3.99 down to £3.50. If I'm buying something getting chucked that night, I'm wanting a third of or I'll just buy with a decent date

M&S was a goldmine for reductions during the early part of the 1st lockdown. I think with the clothing section being closed people just forgot about the food unless it was a standalone. I was getting stuff in the Fort Kinnaird shop for £1 reduced from£5.50 and the like and you had quite literally the pick of the store.

It changed after a few weeks so I think word must have got out on social media.

02-11-2022, 04:28 PM
People that can't speak basic English, watching Pointless and this woman gave Bruvvas in Amms as the answer, even forgiving there may be a wee accent but how hard is it to say Brothers in Arms.

Stairway 2 7
02-11-2022, 04:49 PM
People that can't speak basic English, watching Pointless and this woman gave Bruvvas in Amms as the answer, even forgiving there may be a wee accent but how hard is it to say Brothers in Arms.

Yep get working class accents of the glorious bbc

02-11-2022, 04:54 PM
Yep get working class accents of the glorious bbc

Nothing to do with working class, just basic English, what exactly is working class, is that still a thing nowadays? :rolleyes:

Stairway 2 7
02-11-2022, 06:13 PM
Nothing to do with working class, just basic English, what exactly is working class, is that still a thing nowadays? :rolleyes:

Why wouldn't working class be a thing. Your asking the person to speak in a different way from how they naturally talk. They probably don't know any other way to talk, should they take elocution lessons to go on tv

02-11-2022, 08:47 PM
Packets of eg potatoes or other fresh produce that no longer has any best before type of date on it.

How do I know which pack to buy first ? Short of opening a pack to check?

A well meaning policy in theory.

Some of them still have a code a letter for the month A is January L is December followed by a number for the day that it should only be displayed until. A lot of staff needing trained in quality checking produce.

11-11-2022, 12:48 PM
When you spend an afternoon investigating something complicated and summarising it as clearly and concisely as you can, and then someone responds with 18 paragraphs demonstrating that they didn't read what you wrote.

Hypothetically, I mean.

11-11-2022, 10:45 PM
When Gregg Wallace says “flesh” instead of “meat” on Master Chef.

14-11-2022, 01:38 PM
You get a new football scores app installed and reduce the "notifications" to Scottish prem and English prem goals only, nothing else.

Then early doors, I get a tinkling text "Ronaldo teammates feel disrespect". Why am I so annoyed?

15-11-2022, 10:42 AM
The “care” reaction being right next to the “haha” reaction on Facebook. Accidentally selected “haha” to someone’s post about a serious health condition. I noticed and changed it but if I hadn’t, they’d be thinking I’m a heartless sod.

Bridge hibs
15-11-2022, 04:42 PM
Facebook, its the absolute pits

16-11-2022, 08:52 AM
The “care” reaction being right next to the “haha” reaction on Facebook. Accidentally selected “haha” to someone’s post about a serious health condition. I noticed and changed it but if I hadn’t, they’d be thinking I’m a heartless sod.

HaHa! That's brilliant!

20-11-2022, 10:17 AM
People who say "Pacific" when they mean "Specific".

20-11-2022, 11:39 PM
People who think it’s funny to phone up and order food for collection and say they want to pay cash on collection and then don’t turn up. Fannies, just wasting their and our time thinking they have got one over on us and we’ve actually cooked the food waiting for them. Happened a few times over the last few weeks, tonight it was a £75 order, of course we never cooked anything as we’ll never take the risk unless ee know it’s 100% genuine.

21-11-2022, 08:58 AM
People who say "Pacific" when they mean "Specific".

People who use the word 'of' when they meant to use the word 'have'.

e.g. "Maybe I should of concentrated more in English class at school."

21-11-2022, 09:22 AM

It's extremely prevalent on this forum for some reason.

21-11-2022, 09:42 AM
Dog owners leaving the dog poo behind - particularly the one who left the wee pile that's on my lawn. :rolleyes:

21-11-2022, 09:54 AM

I actually saw it written in a book!!!!!

Eaststand
21-11-2022, 10:59 AM
I actually saw it written in a book!!!!!

I would of brought it to the attention of the books author

😉

21-11-2022, 01:48 PM

😉

*to the attention have the books author!

:panic:

Eaststand
21-11-2022, 02:20 PM
*to the attention have the books author!

:panic:

😄👏

21-11-2022, 03:55 PM

😉

A possible explanation is that the book is based in the people's Republic of Leith 🤔😁

21-11-2022, 05:24 PM

e.g. "Maybe I should of concentrated more in English class at school."Will never stop me using should've...

Sent from my SM-G990B using Tapatalk

21-11-2022, 07:48 PM
Absolute nonsense from football commentators.

"He writes his own scripts. He scores when he wants!"

He's waited 80 minutes to score a penalty to level the score. Why's he not writing himself a 5 minute hattrick and an early night, Clive?

21-11-2022, 09:11 PM
Dog owners leaving the dog poo behind - particularly the one who left the wee pile that's on my lawn. :rolleyes:

There’s some woods near us that are great for the kids to run around in. We went on Sunday and and both me and the wife stepped in ****.

I despise other animals ****, I don’t care where it is, if people are frequently walking through it pick up your ****.

23-11-2022, 03:22 PM
The general rudeness of some folk these days. I was leading a training session and the number of folk that thought it was fine to be chatting whilst I was speaking was unreal. Then someone kept complaining we hadn't got to the bit they were interested in - well yes that would happen if you keep asking questions that other people have asked and have been answered. This was of course, immediately followed up by another question from them on a topic unrelated to the bit they really wanted to get to that had already been answered. Then same person butts in whilst I'm answering somebody's question with "can we forget about that and go onto this part?"

Bridge hibs
23-11-2022, 04:27 PM
Ignorant bus ******s ! Standing at a bus stop for yonks as bus was running well late, tired cold and ****ing miserable and this lardy arsed prick with a rucksack on which was almost the size of a bus just decides to amble to the front of the queue as the bus arrived

No ****ing way jose, after a few power nudges and the death stare from me he was put back into his box, tosser 🤬

23-11-2022, 05:01 PM
Ignorant bus ******s ! Standing at a bus stop for yonks as bus was running well late, tired cold and ****ing miserable and this lardy arsed prick with a rucksack on which was almost the size of a bus just decides to amble to the front of the queue as the bus arrived

No ****ing way jose, after a few power nudges and the death stare from me he was put back into his box, tosser 🤬

A lot of people don't seem to get queuing these days. I'll leave it at that.

Bridge hibs
23-11-2022, 06:05 PM
A lot of people don't seem to get queuing these days. I'll leave it at that.I agree, costs nothing for manners. I still, no matter how long Ive been waiting let the old yins or folk with prams etc jump in front of me, cant stand ignorant pricks though

23-11-2022, 06:16 PM
I agree, costs nothing for manners. I still, no matter how long Ive been waiting let the old yins or folk with prams etc jump in front of me, cant stand ignorant pricks though

Indeed.

23-11-2022, 06:22 PM
I agree, costs nothing for manners. I still, no matter how long Ive been waiting let the old yins or folk with prams etc jump in front of me, cant stand ignorant pricks though

I'm the same. Always let folk who look like they need a seat on 1st.

In saying that old folk can be the worst for disregarding a queue and charging towards the front when a bus is approaching. I'll always step aside and say 'on you go' but a lot of them don't give you the chance. The wee old lady with the walking stick transforms into Usain Bolt when a bus is 40 yards away and travelling.

23-11-2022, 07:09 PM
I'm the same. Always let folk who look like they need a seat on 1st.

In saying that old folk can be the worst for disregarding a queue and charging towards the front when a bus is approaching. I'll always step aside and say 'on you go' but a lot of them don't give you the chance. The wee old lady with the walking stick transforms into Usain Bolt when a bus is 40 yards away and travelling.

😂 You’ve just described my Mother in Law.

24-11-2022, 08:45 AM
The general rudeness of some folk these days. I was leading a training session and the number of folk that thought it was fine to be chatting whilst I was speaking was unreal. Then someone kept complaining we hadn't got to the bit they were interested in - well yes that would happen if you keep asking questions that other people have asked and have been answered. This was of course, immediately followed up by another question from them on a topic unrelated to the bit they really wanted to get to that had already been answered. Then same person butts in whilst I'm answering somebody's question with "can we forget about that and go onto this part?"

I would've packed up my stuff and walked out.

Jay
24-11-2022, 10:47 AM
Buses - the other week I'd finished a 12 hr nightshift, made my way to the west end for my bus and waited about 20 mins. When it arrived there was an airport bus and another waiting so I stepped back, caught the drivers attention and held up my hand, he nodded. The airport bus was taking a bit of time so after about 2 mins my bus driver decided he wouldn't wait and drove away. Its half an hour minimum to the next bus. Same thing happened to my son today but only one bus in front . Not what you need after work.

Following on from the rudeness, I was in London recently for a week of cocktails and musicals. The amount of people who chatted constantly during the shows was unbelievable. Apart from being rude and driving me nuts these shows cost a fortune why would you go and sit nattering?

Just_Jimmy
24-11-2022, 11:01 AM
People who think it’s funny to phone up and order food for collection and say they want to pay cash on collection and then don’t turn up. Fannies, just wasting their and our time thinking they have got one over on us and we’ve actually cooked the food waiting for them. Happened a few times over the last few weeks, tonight it was a £75 order, of course we never cooked anything as we’ll never take the risk unless ee know it’s 100% genuine.That's poor patter. Just tell anyone phoning that in that it's fine but you'll only start preparing the other when they arrive and pay. Sure you might lose a few genuine ones but it'll stop the twats.

Sent from my SM-G991B using Tapatalk

24-11-2022, 03:42 PM
Buses - the other week I'd finished a 12 hr nightshift, made my way to the west end for my bus and waited about 20 mins. When it arrived there was an airport bus and another waiting so I stepped back, caught the drivers attention and held up my hand, he nodded. The airport bus was taking a bit of time so after about 2 mins my bus driver decided he wouldn't wait and drove away. Its half an hour minimum to the next bus. Same thing happened to my son today but only one bus in front . Not what you need after work.

Following on from the rudeness, I was in London recently for a week of cocktails and musicals. The amount of people who chatted constantly during the shows was unbelievable. Apart from being rude and driving me nuts these shows cost a fortune why would you go and sit nattering?

Really annoying as well when there's two of the same bus right behind each other and they overtake each other at alternate stops. Fine normally but the number of times I've gone to get on the bus only to be told it is full and the other bus has just driven off.

The one above about people jumping queue for the bus reminds me of pre-covid when I used to get the bus from my old place to work. Without fail, every day this woman would just push her way to front. She'd only be on for one stop as well. Even worse when linked to my previous paragraph.

24-11-2022, 05:23 PM
Having my lack of fitba knowledge exposed time and time again, here and elsewhere.

CWG... "penalty!"

Hibs.net..... "diving cheating *******!!!"

Just_Jimmy
25-11-2022, 09:01 AM
Having my lack of fitba knowledge exposed time and time again, here and elsewhere.

CWG... "penalty!"

Hibs.net..... "diving cheating *******!!!"You're John Beaton and I claim my prize [emoji1787]

Sent from my SM-G991B using Tapatalk

25-11-2022, 05:43 PM
People who sit in cafes and restaurants talking loudly on their phone, with the person they're talking to also at full volume.

I'm not just talking about the usual 'annoying young folk' cliche either, as the two women that took at least three annoyingly loud calls in the restaurant at lunch time today were well over 60 y/o.

26-11-2022, 12:09 PM
People who sit in cafes and restaurants talking loudly on their phone, with the person they're talking to also at full volume.

I'm not just talking about the usual 'annoying young folk' cliche either, as the two women that took at least three annoyingly loud calls in the restaurant at lunch time today were well over 60 y/o.

Being in the quiet coach on a train doesn't seem to stop some folk either.

27-11-2022, 06:30 AM
Unsolicited FaceTimes.

I find it really intrusive.

27-11-2022, 07:57 AM
Unsolicited FaceTimes.

I find it really intrusive.

That sounds like something that shouldn't be, but I would agree!

I don't even like phone calls that aren't preplanned or relatively obvious to their reason immediately.

28-11-2022, 02:19 AM
Delivery folk that refuse to ring a door bell. I’m deaf. I’ve got settings that will allow me to “hear” the bell. 9/10 will refuse to ring the bell and just knock, even despite a note on the door and delivery notes.

By deaf I mean i have a significant hearing impairment even if not totally deaf. We were at Kylo tonight and the waitress was unintelligible to me despite being on my good side. She was literally whispering despite me saying twice that I could get the jist of what she’s saying if she simply spoke at a normal loudness

AltheHibby
28-11-2022, 09:04 AM
That sounds like something that shouldn't be, but I would agree!

I don't even like phone calls that aren't preplanned or relatively obvious to their reason immediately.

The other side if that is calls from scammers. I lie through my teeth to them to wind them up.

My most successful, although I do feel a little guilty, was telling one of those car accident scammers that I was pleased she called as it had happened just the day before. I then told her my wife had died in the crash, which usually made them hang up. This time the scammer started crying on the phone.

I suppose I could have told her the truth, but I like to think I did her a favour because she must have realised that the job wasn't for her. As I said, I do feel a little guilty.

30-11-2022, 09:48 AM
Struggling to sleep.

30-11-2022, 10:57 AM
Edinburgh airport, quite simply the worst airport to fly in/out off. Arriving back from a break on Sunday, 2 flights arrived at the same time but only 3 out 7 or 8 passport scanners were operational and even they were rejecting some electronic passports. Its ridiculous, took ages to get through passport control as a result.

30-11-2022, 11:40 AM
Royal mail 48 hours tracked post.

Seller dispatch package at 17:15 Friday 25th.

Tracking shows it arrived at Edinburgh at 00:04 today, Wednesday 30th and with the strike it's going to be Saturday at the earliest before it gets to me.

I posted a package at 11:05 on Monday also 48 hours tracked and it arrived today before 11:00.

As reliable and consistent as scottish referees and VAR.

01-12-2022, 07:22 AM
Two from me.

People who park in disabled or parent & child spaces when they have neither a blue badge or a child. I was at Tesco Canonmills this morning just after 7, car park was deserted, I was the only car in it. As I was about to leave a woman drives in, parks in a disabled space and then strides over to the path that leads to the store. There was a standard space quite literally 5 steps to her left. Of course you can say 'well it doesn't matter, there were still plenty spaces for those that need them' but it's not the point, it's the mentality of someone who does that. If they do it when it's quiet then they will do it when it's busy.

Second one is people who are quite clearly lost or unsure where they are going but then lose all sense of the road around them and drive as if they are in a bubble and have no bearing on other road users. This usually goes one of 2 ways. You get the ones who slow to a crawl, peering up every side street, brake sharply and then perform a wild manoeuvre or 2 with no indication of their intention, it usually culminates in a u turn in a completely inappropriate place. The latter is a particular favourite of the Prius driving Uber driver. The other one of these types is the random indicator. These are usually seen on roundabout, particularly busy ones. They'll display a whole host of nonsensical indicators, jump lanes and then still have to cut someone off as they exit because despite crossing 4 lanes in 150 yards they are still in the wrong one. Being in the wrong lane at a junction or roundabout happens but if it's not safe to correct it then you really just need to commit to the lane you are in and sort yourself out somewhere else. Drifting across 3 lanes at Sherrifhall (usually whlst running at least 1 red light) and indicating wildly is just dangerous.

01-12-2022, 09:04 AM
People who wait in the queue at Costa in front of you for several minutes with ample time to read the menu and decide what to order. Then when they get to be served they start looking at menu, shouting to their pals to ask what they want and generally take far longer than they should.

01-12-2022, 09:51 AM
When you send someone a text/WhatsApp message and they read it knowing you clearly want/need a response but simply don't bother to respond. Leaving you hanging on read or blue ticked should be a criminal offence. :greengrin

Bridge hibs
01-12-2022, 11:51 AM
Back to buses 🤬

Bus running well late (surprise) young loud lassie gets on the bus, gives the driver some verbals (mostly expletives) then gets off 2 stops later, prob 2 to 3 hundred yards at most 🤬

01-12-2022, 11:57 AM
When someone tells you they need an item by the following AM. You jump through hoops to source it, confirm it can be delivered AM overnight, send all the information to the requester at 10am and tell them the order must be in by midday to get it next day (it actually needs to be in by 12.30pm but a wee buffer is always in order).

They don't reply to an email, read but don't reply to 2 WhatsApp messages and ignore 3 follow up phone calls. They then come back at 12.55 and say they want to go ahead before going in an almighty strop when they are told it's not possible as they have missed the cut off and the supplier and their carrier won't budge. Apparently I'm 'obtuse', a 'dick' and 'worse than useless'.

01-12-2022, 01:21 PM
When someone tells you they need an item by the following AM. You jump through hoops to source it, confirm it can be delivered AM overnight, send all the information to the requester at 10am and tell them the order must be in by midday to get it next day (it actually needs to be in by 12.30pm but a wee buffer is always in order).

They don't reply to an email, read but don't reply to 2 WhatsApp messages and ignore 3 follow up phone calls. They then come back at 12.55 and say they want to go ahead before going in an almighty strop when they are told it's not possible as they have missed the cut off and the supplier and their carrier won't budge. Apparently I'm 'obtuse', a 'dick' and 'worse than useless'.

I hope after that response you told them you won’t supply them in the future.

01-12-2022, 02:45 PM
Back to buses 🤬

Bus running well late (surprise) young loud lassie gets on the bus, gives the driver some verbals (mostly expletives) then gets off 2 stops later, prob 2 to 3 hundred yards at most 🤬
That's actually quite funny.

01-12-2022, 05:27 PM
Two from me.

People who park in disabled or parent & child spaces when they have neither a blue badge or a child. I was at Tesco Canonmills this morning just after 7, car park was deserted, I was the only car in it. As I was about to leave a woman drives in, parks in a disabled space and then strides over to the path that leads to the store. There was a standard space quite literally 5 steps to her left. Of course you can say 'well it doesn't matter, there were still plenty spaces for those that need them' but it's not the point, it's the mentality of someone who does that. If they do it when it's quiet then they will do it when it's busy.

Second one is people who are quite clearly lost or unsure where they are going but then lose all sense of the road around them and drive as if they are in a bubble and have no bearing on other road users. This usually goes one of 2 ways. You get the ones who slow to a crawl, peering up every side street, brake sharply and then perform a wild manoeuvre or 2 with no indication of their intention, it usually culminates in a u turn in a completely inappropriate place. The latter is a particular favourite of the Prius driving Uber driver. The other one of these types is the random indicator. These are usually seen on roundabout, particularly busy ones. They'll display a whole host of nonsensical indicators, jump lanes and then still have to cut someone off as they exit because despite crossing 4 lanes in 150 yards they are still in the wrong one. Being in the wrong lane at a junction or roundabout happens but if it's not safe to correct it then you really just need to commit to the lane you are in and sort yourself out somewhere else. Drifting across 3 lanes at Sherrifhall (usually whlst running at least 1 red light) and indicating wildly is just dangerous.

I’ve observed a current Hibs player do the first one you mention. More than once as well.

speedy_gonzales
01-12-2022, 06:15 PM
I’ve observed a current Hibs player do the first one you mention. More than once as well.

With the injury list we've got, I'm surprised there's only one abusing the blue badge bays 🙄

01-12-2022, 06:27 PM
Grumpy old men.

There's one of them follows me about everywhere, moaning his face off about everything and everybody, telling everybody how much better the world was when he was young, whinging about cats, dogs, young folk, old folk, Brits, Foreigners,etc, etc....

Every time I look in the mirror... he's still bl**dy there!

03-12-2022, 07:20 AM
I hate it when people use metaphors that are physically impossible, it makes my blood boil.

03-12-2022, 05:24 PM
Two from me.

Guy in Tesco that parked his car in the electric charging bays, the car park was busy but not so much that there weren't any spaces he could have used.

04-12-2022, 05:06 PM
DPD telling me daily that there's unexpected delays and to expect my parcel tomorrow. 3 days in a row now...

04-12-2022, 09:39 PM
DPD telling me daily that there's unexpected delays and to expect my parcel tomorrow. 3 days in a row now...

had that with a couple of deliveries this week, not sure wtf is going on. It took them 3 days to collect my parcel from the sender at the start of the week

Santa Cruz
04-12-2022, 11:08 PM
had that with a couple of deliveries this week, not sure wtf is going on. It took them 3 days to collect my parcel from the sender at the start of the week

Think it might get worse. Noticed ebay have a notice up advising sellers to consider switching from Royal Mail to couriers due to the strike dates this month. I read earlier Curry's have stopped using Royal Mail temporarily for sending smaller orders, maybe using DPD?

05-12-2022, 10:23 AM
Think it might get worse. Noticed ebay have a notice up advising sellers to consider switching from Royal Mail to couriers due to the strike dates this month. I read earlier Curry's have stopped using Royal Mail temporarily for sending smaller orders, maybe using DPD?

It's Curry's my DPD parcel is from, so that checks out.

Hasn't stopped them setting up the direct debit for the phone I'm yet to receive... Due today though!

pollution
05-12-2022, 10:49 AM
Ditto DPD. They cancelled today's collection of my broken mobile.

This is so annoying. No explanation.

pollution
05-12-2022, 10:59 AM
As an add on. Can whatsapp be used on a laptop, not mobile ? Thanks

05-12-2022, 11:14 AM

Yes, but you'll have to confirm it's you on your phone first.

Santa Cruz
05-12-2022, 11:25 AM

https://www.digitaltrends.com/computing/how-to-use-whatsapp-on-your-desktop-or-laptop/

pollution
05-12-2022, 11:50 AM
Thanks for the replies but my phone is broken. So question two from a dinosaur: my phone will be out of service for a few weeks.

How do I cope in the meantime - can I buy a phone on a short contract or how does it work. I only need internet, texts and social media. Cheers again.

Santa Cruz
05-12-2022, 12:00 PM
Just head to a phone repair shop, or a buy and sell shop for a cheap temp mobile. Then buy a pay as you go card from a supermarket. Never done this, but in your situation that's what I'd do to keep costs down.

Edit-think it might be worth double checking the second hand phone is unlocked before buying, if you opt to do this.

05-12-2022, 12:02 PM
Not seen our postman since 30th November. 4 adults live in the house and all waiting on mail of some sorts. Checked with the neighbours and they not had any mail either. Getting ridiculous now.

05-12-2022, 12:11 PM
Not seen our postman since 30th November. 4 adults live in the house and all waiting on mail of some sorts. Checked with the neighbours and they not had any mail either. Getting ridiculous now.

Yeah agreed, ridiculous what is being proposed regarding their terms and conditions and pay. It’s an inconvenience butI fully support them.

Santa Cruz
05-12-2022, 12:13 PM
Thanks for the replies but my phone is broken. So question two from a dinosaur: my phone will be out of service for a few weeks.

How do I cope in the meantime - can I buy a phone on a short contract or how does it work. I only need internet, texts and social media. Cheers again.

Would this suit, tenner off if you buy the top up with it. Order now, allegedly DPD will deliver tomorrow

https://www.tescomobile.com/shop/pay-as-you-go/110-4g?queryID=56c541d3a9a8366e73fe4eccd1b4f8cf&objectID=42871&indexName=prod_default_products

05-12-2022, 04:27 PM
Carriers are always a shambles at this time of year. They get absolutely hammered with black Friday and it takes them weeks to catch up. Add in they will probably be taking on a lot of work because of the Royal Mail strikes as well.

We have a daily scheduled collection from DPD at work and twice last week the driver didn't show up as he was hours behind on his round. On Friday he was telling us it was his quietest day of the week and he had 117 drops!

pollution
05-12-2022, 05:51 PM
Would this suit, tenner off if you buy the top up with it. Order now, allegedly DPD will deliver tomorrow

https://www.tescomobile.com/shop/pay-as-you-go/110-4g?queryID=56c541d3a9a8366e73fe4eccd1b4f8cf&objectID=42871&indexName=prod_default_products

Thanks for your reply but it is a Tesco phone that I have that is broken. Waiting for it to be collected by DPD. A double whammy if ever there was one !

Bridge hibs
05-12-2022, 06:01 PM
On the courier carry on, came home from work the other day to a card hanging out my letterbox, card said in big bold writing ‘parcel behind plant pots at side of door’ no **** sherlock !! You could have spotted the parcel from outer ****ing space !!

Imagine having to explain to my Wife her Christmas present (Ironing board) got stolen before she could even use it 🫣

Santa Cruz
05-12-2022, 06:05 PM
Thanks for your reply but it is a Tesco phone that I have that is broken. Waiting for it to be collected by DPD. A double whammy if ever there was one !

Argos pay as you go phones from £13 (need to buy top up card separate). Click and collect (from many Sainsbury stores as well as Argos) and delivery service is reliable and quick. After this post I'm all out of ideas.:greengrin

Stairway 2 7
05-12-2022, 06:20 PM
Tangent, but the Ken loach film about the life of a delivery driver is great but a very hard watch. Can watch on iplayer. Sorry we missed you

https://www.bbc.co.uk/iplayer/episodes/m0014blg/sorry-we-missed-you

05-12-2022, 07:58 PM
Rude/selfish people. Sat in mcDonalds with my young lad and two blokes sit down a table away from us, fine no issue. Then one of them decides to pull out his phone and watch the Japan V Croatia penalties with his phone at full volume. Absolutely no need for that and luckily my lad was just finishing his meal so we could bugger off out of there. Total lack of respect from the boy or a complete lack of awareness of his surroundings. By all means watch the game but you do not need the volume up full blast in a small McDonalds.

05-12-2022, 08:20 PM

DHL messaged me this morning to say my parcel would be delivered between 1p-3pm, knew I wouldn't be in so I redirected the parcel to a collection point for me to collect at a later date. Message this afternoon form them We tried to deliver your parcel but nobody was in please choose another delivery date. Yes I know, thats why I redirected the parcel this morning. :rolleyes:

Santa Cruz
05-12-2022, 11:26 PM
Tangent, but the Ken loach film about the life of a delivery driver is great but a very hard watch. Can watch on iplayer. Sorry we missed you

https://www.bbc.co.uk/iplayer/episodes/m0014blg/sorry-we-missed-you

That really was a very hard watch. I've had the same courier for about a year or so, so I decided to give him a Xmas tip the other day. After watching that really glad I done that now.

pollution
05-12-2022, 11:40 PM
Argos pay as you go phones from £13 (need to buy top up card separate). Click and collect (from many Sainsbury stores as well as Argos) and delivery service is reliable and quick. After this post I'm all out of ideas.:greengrin

Advice taken. Thanks

06-12-2022, 08:27 AM
To go back to carriers they really must have some of the most inefficient processes going. I think we would all accept that getting a parcel picked up at 4pm and delivered by 10am the next morning is a huge logistical challenge.

Some of the journeys parcels take are laughable though. I'm tracking 2 DPD parcels for my work this morning. One left us in Edinburgh on Wednesday last week, destination Melrose. It made a journey to Birmingham where it arrived on Thursday, sat there until yesterday then yesterday travelled from Birmingham to a depot in Carlisle before being loaded onto a van there for delivery to Melrose this morning. Distance between Edinburgh and Melrose approx. 40 miles. Distance said parcel has traveled will be well over 500 miles by the time it is delivered. That's mental.

The second one is even worse. Parcel picked up from our Glasgow warehouse on Thursday last week, destination is Broxburn. Parcel went to a local depot in Cambuslang on Thursday evening, from Cambuslang to Hinckley on Friday, from Hinckley back to Cambuslang on Saturday, from Cambuslang to Edinburgh yesterday and then out for delivery to Broxburn this morning. That's pushing 700 miles for a a destination that is about 35 miles from point of origin.

06-12-2022, 11:40 AM
My wife had a package that was meant to be delivered on Friday. Seemingly didn’t come. However, I went to put something in the wheelie bin on Sunday and noticed a package behind our side gate. Look at the Ring cameras and it appears the delivery driver never even rang the bell and just chucked it over the fence - luckily nothing breakable. I was in when he did that too!

Another one recently… normally I detest the amount of packaging Amazon put their stuff in but recently I’ve had a few things delivered in no packaging at all… not great when your wife takes delivery of their Christmas present!

Santa Cruz
06-12-2022, 07:26 PM
Advice taken. Thanks

You're welcome.

AltheHibby
06-12-2022, 08:40 PM
I can beat the lot of you.

The PO didn't put WA on the stamp on my son's birthday present. It went to Canada before returning to me. It then, after being clearly marked by my local postie, went to Armadale in West Lothian despite being clearly marked as air mail.

It finally arrived in Armadale, Perth WA 3 months after it was posted.

Bridge hibs
07-12-2022, 05:09 AM
Back to buses, garlic breath !! The person sitting in front has chewed his way through a mountain of garlic cloves and he is on the whole journey with you, pure boakability 🤮

Ps, Ive prob been the same 🫣

07-12-2022, 06:22 AM
Back to buses, garlic breath !! The person sitting in front has chewed his way through a mountain of garlic cloves and he is on the whole journey with you, pure boakability 🤮

You know you've added just the right amount of garlic to your food, when work colleagues are still asking you 2 days later if you ate garlic the night before.

Bridge hibs
07-12-2022, 07:19 AM
You know you've added just the right amount of garlic to your food, when work colleagues are still asking you 2 days later if you ate garlic the night before.Totally, Ive threatened my Wife with kicking her into the spare room if she doesnt knock the garlic on the head 🫣

Alfiembra
07-12-2022, 07:30 AM
As I get older I’m not keeping up too well with changes in language. So I guess because I have to Google, on occasion, certain expressions I instantly dislike them. One that irks me just now is the use of “drop or drops” which I have even heard BBC news presenters use when referencing an upcoming event or tv programme. Another is “he or she hasn’t got the minerals” I understand what is meant but it just sounds ridiculous to me.

Where’s my pipe and slippers?

07-12-2022, 07:03 PM

Yet another reason to hate the French.

Bridge hibs
07-12-2022, 08:13 PM
Yet another reason to hate the French.

:grr:🤣

Fuzzywuzzy
08-12-2022, 09:03 AM
EVRI - bumble **** of an organisation. Lucky yo get your parcel on time. I had one out for delivery last week then the message changed. Spoke to the delivery driver and he said the package had been opened and the packaging was all that was left!!

08-12-2022, 09:20 AM
Advantis Credit.

Plagued me with calls and texts to tell me I have "a debt". I don't.

I finally spoke to them this morning. They tell me that it's their mistake, and that they will remove me from their system.

I hae ma doots.

tbc.

08-12-2022, 09:27 AM
EVRI - bumble **** of an organisation. Lucky yo get your parcel on time. I had one out for delivery last week then the message changed. Spoke to the delivery driver and he said the package had been opened and the packaging was all that was left!!

Yep, they were s***e when they were called Hermes and they're s***e now. In my experience only Yodel are worse.

08-12-2022, 09:32 AM

I think I must just get lucky, my Evri driver is cool as, always has a wee chat with me and never ever had any issues with them

08-12-2022, 09:35 AM
I think I must just get lucky, my Evri driver is cool as, always has a wee chat with me and never ever had any issues with them

We must have the same one.

I do wonder whether he gets any work done, he gabs that much. :greengrin

Santa Cruz
08-12-2022, 10:34 AM

Same here. Mines is lovely, even remembered a time I was really unwell and continued to ask how I was for a few drops after. I'm not one for filling out the online survey's sent from company's, but make a point of 5 starring Evri and adding a comment.

09-12-2022, 10:06 AM
Our Evri driver is sound too. We are on first name terms with our DPD driver too, Cliff.

We used to have a really good Yodel driver but then he was changed for another guy who was almost as good. Now he’s gone and it just isn’t the same.

That’s the last 3 packages we’ve had from Yodel that have had the out for delivery status, only for them to go missing before delivery has been attempted. All clearly booze as well. Wish Naked Wines, Beer Hawk and Beerwulf would move to unmarked boxes. The last couple of Beer Hawk keg collections haven’t made their way back either.

09-12-2022, 07:39 PM
Been mentioned before I’m sure but people filming things on their phone at live events.

Just showed you the crowd after Messi scored and about 90% of them were filming it on their mobiles.

Nobody wants to watch their *****y videos, enjoy the moment.

09-12-2022, 07:54 PM
I understand the reasons for it, but it's a shame when they don't show protestors running on the pitch when it happens. I want to see the chase with security.

09-12-2022, 08:43 PM
I understand the reasons for it, but it's a shame when they don't show protestors running on the pitch when it happens. I want to see the chase with security.

You're hoping for an Erica Roe moment? 😂

10-12-2022, 06:00 PM
Getting in before a goal is scored tonight and it comes across as sour grapes.

Contrived celebrations where guys throw beer all over the place for about 5 minutes after a goal is scored. So fake and so obviously just an attempt to get on a 'limbs' page on Twitter .

11-12-2022, 06:45 AM
Contrived celebrations where guys throw beer all over the place for about 5 minutes after a goal is scored.

Never understood that one either. 🤔

11-12-2022, 07:10 AM
Getting in before a goal is scored tonight and it comes across as sour grapes.

Contrived celebrations where guys throw beer all over the place for about 5 minutes after a goal is scored. So fake and so obviously just an attempt to get on a 'limbs' page on Twitter .

Started off as a genuine thing in the big games but if you saw the footage from Box park after the England Iran game it was clear what it had turned into. Mostly just young folk just wanting to enjoy themselves to be fair and people going tk these events know what will happen

11-12-2022, 07:15 AM

Started off as a genuine thing in the big games but if you saw the footage from Box park after the England Iran game it was clear what it had turned into. Mostly just young folk just wanting to enjoy themselves to be fair and people going tk these events know what will happen

I first experienced it at The Premier League Darts in Glasgow a few years ago, not my idea of enjoying myself.

Bridge hibs
11-12-2022, 07:25 AM
Dug **** on pavements 🤬

Running late last week, ground rock solid with frost, bus approaching and I break into a jog only to plant my right foot into a frozen poop, obviously solid on the top and gooey in the middle 🤬

Slid for about a yard but stayed on my feet, thanks to my skateboarding youth which left me with very minimal nimbleness. Tried my best to scrape the remnants of some dugs breakfast from my boot before embarking on a very whiffy and eye watering journey to work

Apologies if anyone was on that journey and suffered, I assure you it was on my boot and not in my boxers 🤬

****ing manky *******s 🤬

11-12-2022, 07:44 AM
Dug **** on pavements 🤬

Running late last week, ground rock solid with frost, bus approaching and I break into a jog only to plant my right foot into a frozen poop, obviously solid on the top and gooey in the middle 🤬

Slid for about a yard but stayed on my feet, thanks to my skateboarding youth which left me with very minimal nimbleness. Tried my best to scrape the remnants of some dugs breakfast from my boot before embarking on a very whiffy and eye watering journey to work

Apologies if anyone was on that journey and suffered, I assure you it was on my boot and not in my boxers 🤬

****ing manky *******s 🤬

I think the only thing I hate more than dog ***** on a pavement is the manky ****ers who pick it up, put it in a plastic bag then hang said bag from railings or throw it into a tree. I'd love to spend 5 minutes inside the head of someone who does that.

Bridge hibs
11-12-2022, 08:30 AM
I think the only thing I hate more than dog ***** on a pavement is the manky ****ers who pick it up, put it in a plastic bag then hang said bag from railings or throw it into a tree. I'd love to spend 5 minutes inside the head of someone who does that.Yeah Ive seen a lot of that, I walk the dog regularly in Musselburgh and around the Newhailes estate and have seen **** bags hanging from trees, more surprising though as there are bins all over the shop

weedgiehibbie
11-12-2022, 06:13 PM
Probably mentioned this before, but just back in from putting some grit down around local estate, road and pavement, few folk drive past, no one gave any signal of thanks - cheers :aok::grr: very minor thing but happens a lot

12-12-2022, 10:46 AM
I think the only thing I hate more than dog ***** on a pavement is the manky ****ers who pick it up, put it in a plastic bag then hang said bag from railings or throw it into a tree. I'd love to spend 5 minutes inside the head of someone who does that.

They do that in my locale, the most annoying are the ones who hang it on the railings behind the bin, the bin it literally right there and you've taken more time to find the loop and hook it around the fence than it would have taken to drop it in the bin.

12-12-2022, 11:10 AM
Probably mentioned this before, but just back in from putting some grit down around local estate, road and pavement, few folk drive past, no one gave any signal of thanks - cheers :aok::grr: very minor thing but happens a lot

I don't think that's minor at all.

We have a car park at the bottom of our street. When it freezes it is an absolute ice rink and a nightmare to drive on. After the thaw started the other day I went out and cleared then gritted the whole thing so that it was fine on a morning like today. About 8 other guys who live on the street walked by or watched from their windows and not a single one offered either help or their thanks. It's the same every time it snows or there is a risk of a real thick frost.

They obviously all just think they have a mug to do it for them. I'm sometimes tempted not to bother but it would just be cutting of my nose to spite my face because I'd have to deal with the frozen sheet of ice as well.

I think it's just something that's in you or not though. When I see the guys who cut the grass and weed the communal areas in our estate I always say thanks, likewise when I pass the cleaners in my work etc etc. If I see anyone doing a bit of hard graft, paid or otherwise, that benefits me then I'll thank them. Not doing so is just the height of ignorance imo.

12-12-2022, 12:31 PM
They do that in my locale, the most annoying are the ones who hang it on the railings behind the bin, the bin it literally right there and you've taken more time to find the loop and hook it around the fence than it would have taken to drop it in the bin.

My guess is that they've carried it to the bin but the bin's full, so rather than carrying it home or to the next bin, they've put it next to the bin for collecting when the bin gets emptied.

Don't really get why they l wouldn't just take it to an empty bin, though.

12-12-2022, 01:57 PM
I don't think that's minor at all.

We have a car park at the bottom of our street. When it freezes it is an absolute ice rink and a nightmare to drive on. After the thaw started the other day I went out and cleared then gritted the whole thing so that it was fine on a morning like today. About 8 other guys who live on the street walked by or watched from their windows and not a single one offered either help or their thanks. It's the same every time it snows or there is a risk of a real thick frost.

They obviously all just think they have a mug to do it for them. I'm sometimes tempted not to bother but it would just be cutting of my nose to spite my face because I'd have to deal with the frozen sheet of ice as well.

I think it's just something that's in you or not though. When I see the guys who cut the grass and weed the communal areas in our estate I always say thanks, likewise when I pass the cleaners in my work etc etc. If I see anyone doing a bit of hard graft, paid or otherwise, that benefits me then I'll thank them. Not doing so is just the height of ignorance imo.

You get neighbours like that, when I first moved into my house there were overgrown planters that had spread onto the parking spaces, they hadn't been touched in years, my house looks out onto them, I set about them trying to clear it all and two of my neighbours commented in passing that I was doing a good job, no ****, if you had kept on top of this by spending 10 mins twice a year cutting it back then I wouldn't be heid first in ****ing plants right now

12-12-2022, 03:03 PM
This isn't my pet peeve but rather that of my wife.

Mail intended for both of us that is addressed to Mr & Mrs [insert initial of husband's name] [insert married surname], e.g. if my name was Robert Smith, the envelope is addressed to Mr and Mrs R Smith.

She chose to take my surname but hasn't taken my first name, so why should mail be addressed in that way?

I agree with her point but find it quite funny how angry she is getting about it. We only got married in September so, the recent influx of Christmas cards has highlighted this somewhat. We got a whole stack of them delivered today post-strike, most of which are addressed in this way. I've not opened any of them as I'll get a good laugh at how triggered she is by them when she gets in from work. :greengrin

12-12-2022, 03:14 PM
My guess is that they've carried it to the bin but the bin's full, so rather than carrying it home or to the next bin, they've put it next to the bin for collecting when the bin gets emptied.

Don't really get why they l wouldn't just take it to an empty bin, though.

Who do they think is going to remove it from the fence and put it in the bin when it is emptied? There is a bin at Lochend park that does get full a lot of the time, but like you said, they can even take it home and put it in their own bin (my neighbour does this although she has a chihuahua so the mess is minimal anyways). I also came into work last month and someone had let their dug diarrhoea on my office front door, down the brickwork and all over the doorstep. I made sure the neighbours could hear me shouting about effing, see you next tuesdays, dug owners as I used a kettle. hot water and a bit detergent to clear it away. Anyway rant over, I feel better for that. Thanks Matty :greengrin

13-12-2022, 11:33 AM
Who do they think is going to remove it from the fence and put it in the bin when it is emptied? There is a bin at Lochend park that does get full a lot of the time, but like you said, they can even take it home and put it in their own bin (my neighbour does this although she has a chihuahua so the mess is minimal anyways). I also came into work last month and someone had let their dug diarrhoea on my office front door, down the brickwork and all over the doorstep. I made sure the neighbours could hear me shouting about effing, see you next tuesdays, dug owners as I used a kettle. hot water and a bit detergent to clear it away. Anyway rant over, I feel better for that. Thanks Matty :greengrin

Happy to help!! :greengrin

14-12-2022, 04:11 PM
These black baraclavas that the youth of today wear. They just look so sinister and even when worn innocently I don’t like them.

14-12-2022, 05:34 PM
These black baraclavas that the youth of today wear. They just look so sinister and even when worn innocently I don’t like them.

Worn to hide their faces whilst doing whatever dodgy stuff they're up to.

14-12-2022, 05:54 PM

Does anyone have a legitimate reason for wearing one?

14-12-2022, 06:25 PM

Cos their mas told them to.

speedy_gonzales
14-12-2022, 06:57 PM
Not really, but COVID requirements have paved the way for their use without question.
Just as adults can wear face masks when they see fit, it enabled the ne'er do wells to guise up and creates havoc with anonymity. They seem to be very popular with those that enjoy riding scrambler style motorbikes sans protective headwear 🤔

Bridge hibs
14-12-2022, 07:04 PM
Worn to hide their faces whilst doing whatever dodgy stuff they're up to.They have moved on from grey joggers, the ones where you used to see the wee manks clawing their baws

14-12-2022, 09:49 PM
Worn to hide their faces whilst doing whatever dodgy stuff they're up to.

To be fair, I know some local lads who wear them as a matter of course during these cold temperatures as they appear to be the in thing to wear. Nothing dodgy about these lads at all.

15-12-2022, 06:52 AM
To revisit the discussion about carriers people might like to be aware that DPDs logistics have all but collapsed. If you are wanting anything before Christmas and will be relying on them delivering it then prepare to be disappointed.

We have a daily scheduled collection from them at work. Since 7.30am yesterday their system won't allow us to create any shipments and just keeps advising to 'check back in 48 hours'. The driver still comes in, there is still a pile of parcels for him but because we can't create a shipment and label he can't take them. He said this is the case across the network. He delivers his parcels AM then does a collection run PM. He visited 25 places yesterday and not one was able to create shipments. He said the depots are chaos.

It's been coming really. I sent 21 parcels in a single shipment to Manchester last Monday. 7 arrived on Thursday, I chased the others as they were required by the weekend but was told they were at the depot and would 'go out when they go out'. They finally arrived yesterday evening, a week and 2 days after being sent on a 24 hour service.

pollution
15-12-2022, 10:52 AM
To revisit the discussion about carriers people might like to be aware that DPDs logistics have all but collapsed. If you are wanting anything before Christmas and will be relying on them delivering it then prepare to be disappointed.

We have a daily scheduled collection from them at work. Since 7.30am yesterday their system won't allow us to create any shipments and just keeps advising to 'check back in 48 hours'. The driver still comes in, there is still a pile of parcels for him but because we can't create a shipment and label he can't take them. He said this is the case across the network. He delivers his parcels AM then does a collection run PM. He visited 25 places yesterday and not one was able to create shipments. He said the depots are chaos.

It's been coming really. I sent 21 parcels in a single shipment to Manchester last Monday. 7 arrived on Thursday, I chased the others as they were required by the weekend but was told they were at the depot and would 'go out when they go out'. They finally arrived yesterday evening, a week and 2 days after being sent on a 24 hour service.

True. I am still waiting for my collection 10 days ago.

15-12-2022, 04:49 PM
Cafés that serve you coffee in cups with saucers that don't match and you have to carry them to your table like you've got a bad case of the shakes.

15-12-2022, 05:29 PM
To be fair, I know some local lads who wear them as a matter of course during these cold temperatures as they appear to be the in thing to wear. Nothing dodgy about these lads at all.

They were wearing them during the summer on their electric bikes/scooters, nowt to do with the weather

15-12-2022, 10:44 PM
They were wearing them during the summer on their electric bikes/scooters, nowt to do with the weather

As I said, some were them innocently whilst others don’t.

16-12-2022, 07:27 PM
True. I am still waiting for my collection 10 days ago.

After recent experience with DPD we've renamed them Deeply Dippy.

16-12-2022, 09:36 PM
The onstage dancing girls at the darts. Just why???

18-12-2022, 11:39 AM

Lads. Lads Lads Lads.

It's the darts intit, beer, darts, Lads.

I wonder why they don't have dancing men when one of the female players is on.

18-12-2022, 04:19 PM

You could apply that question to all forms of 'Cheerleaders' or 'Podium Girls'.

They've done away with the 'Grid Girls' at Formula One but I'd imagine they're still in place at loads of other sporting events.

18-12-2022, 06:30 PM
Lads. Lads Lads Lads.

It's the darts intit, beer, darts, Lads.

I wonder why they don't have dancing men when one of the female players is on.

Or how the male players would feel if they had to take the stage with The Chippendales oiling up behind them, to You Sexy Thing.

18-12-2022, 06:39 PM
You could apply that question to all forms of 'Cheerleaders' or 'Podium Girls'.

They've done away with the 'Grid Girls' at Formula One but I'd imagine they're still in place at loads of other sporting events.

Never noticed them other than at the darts although I don't watch too many different sports these days. I know about the "lad" thing but I thought all this nonsense was on the wane.

The darts starting at 8.10 is another peeve. Way too late. I'm usually in bed by half 10...it's not the same recording the last game!

18-12-2022, 07:38 PM
Never noticed them other than at the darts although I don't watch too many different sports these days. I know about the "lad" thing but I thought all this nonsense was on the wane.

The darts starting at 8.10 is another peeve. Way too late. I'm usually in bed by half 10...it's not the same recording the last game!

I think 'lad' culture is definitely on the wane.

We were talking about Soccer AM in the early 00s and the 'soccerette' feature a few weeks ago. A girl barely out her teens getting asked her age then a group of men all giving it 'wheeeeey' then being asked if she was single. Answer no and it was 'it will never last', answer yes and it was another 'wheeeey'. Then she strips off her teams kit to reveal a Soccer AM T shirt and she'd encourage to jump up and down a few times for good measure.

At 14/15 I thought that was hilarious, looking back now it's horrendous. I don't think something like that would fly now and rightly so. The dancing girls at the darts is a bit of a relic really. I like the game but the PDC crowd just leaves me cold. For all the quality was often lacking I always thought the Lakeside crowd looked more of a true darts fans day out.

21-12-2022, 09:32 AM

That's what unwashed working class people like. Even the women. Sun readers the lot of them.

Santa Cruz
21-12-2022, 12:30 PM
Trying to locate battery size info on toy packaging. Some of the packaging has 100's of words in several languagues with the font so small it is taking ages to find the basic info I'm looking for. Should be bigger on the front so it stands out.

What is a 3.75v battery btw, is this the same as the square D battery? Google flinging up several images for different sizes. These pressies are getting collected soon. I always like to give the batteries to save the parents the hassle. I've got the batteries, just don't want to give the wrong ones. Advise would be really welcome.

speedy_gonzales
21-12-2022, 12:56 PM
Trying to locate battery size info on toy packaging. Some of the packaging has 100's of words in several languagues with the font so small it is taking ages to find the basic info I'm looking for. Should be bigger on the front so it stands out.

What is a 3.75v battery btw, is this the same as the square D battery? Google flinging up several images for different sizes. These pressies are getting collected soon. I always like to give the batteries to save the parents the hassle. I've got the batteries, just don't want to give the wrong ones. Advise would be really welcome.

It might be easier actually posting what the present is, 3.75v is not a standard "battery". A battery is a combination of cells, nominally 1.2 to 1.5 volts.
So a D cell is the big round cylinder battery you'd put in a big torch/maglite, they're 1.5v.
A square battery, that you'd find in a smoke detector is 9v.
I reckon your 3.75 could be a rechargeable style battery pack that you'd maybe have found in an old style cordless phone or remote control car?
You get some specialist cells that are 3v, the thickness of a AA but half the length.
As I say, might be easier posting what the present is and the hive mind can figure it out 🤔

21-12-2022, 01:02 PM
Bus drivers who sit a terminus with the doors closed when they can see people standing freezing at the bus stop.

Last week when we had that really cold spell I was waiting at the Asda Jewel terminus on a 5. Bus was there, driver was sitting in his cab, reading a paper, pissing about on his phone and smoking (which I'm sure isn't allowed). He kept giving little sideways glances and smirking at the 4 or 5 people assembled before eventually letting us all on just at departure time. There was an elderly couple and woman with 2 kids ffs. same guy this morning with exactly the same behaviour albeit it wasn't as cold today.

I get the guy is entitled to a break but would allowing less than half a dozen people on to the bus really have inconvenienced him all that much?

Santa Cruz
21-12-2022, 01:33 PM
It might be easier actually posting what the present is, 3.75v is not a standard "battery". A battery is a combination of cells, nominally 1.2 to 1.5 volts.
So a D cell is the big round cylinder battery you'd put in a big torch/maglite, they're 1.5v.
A square battery, that you'd find in a smoke detector is 9v.
I reckon your 3.75 could be a rechargeable style battery pack that you'd maybe have found in an old style cordless phone or remote control car?
You get some specialist cells that are 3v, the thickness of a AA but half the length.
As I say, might be easier posting what the present is and the hive mind can figure it out 🤔

Cheers. It's an interactive toy called Owleez. Your suggestion prompted me to google the actual toy (no idea why I never thought to do that). Reading it, sounds like it's a toy with a usb charger, so could be the battery is for the charger? Does that sound likely?

21-12-2022, 01:39 PM
Cheers. It's an interactive toy called Owleez. Your suggestion prompted me to google the actual toy (no idea why I never thought to do that). Reading it, sounds like it's a toy with a usb charger, so could be the battery is for the charger? Does that sound likely?

https://owleezcdn.s3.amazonaws.com/documents/Owleez_InstructionSheet.pdf

It's got a 3.7v rechargeable battery pack included in it. So you shouldn't need anything other than a bog standard usb charger or plug it into a computer with charging ports.

When I say "included" I mean embedded inside the "nest" part of the toy which has a usb cable attached to it that you plug in to some usb charging device you already have.

21-12-2022, 01:46 PM
Bus drivers who sit a terminus with the doors closed when they can see people standing freezing at the bus stop.

Last week when we had that really cold spell I was waiting at the Asda Jewel terminus on a 5. Bus was there, driver was sitting in his cab, reading a paper, pissing about on his phone and smoking (which I'm sure isn't allowed). He kept giving little sideways glances and smirking at the 4 or 5 people assembled before eventually letting us all on just at departure time. There was an elderly couple and woman with 2 kids ffs. same guy this morning with exactly the same behaviour albeit it wasn't as cold today.

I get the guy is entitled to a break but would allowing less than half a dozen people on to the bus really have inconvenienced him all that much?

Not sure about bus drivers but I'd imagine it's the same as for truck drivers. They have to have 45 minutes rest involving no work at all after 4½ hours. This can be taken as a 15 minute + 30 minute break. If passengers are on the bus then I'm guessing that counts as duty time. If these breaks are interrupted then they have to start the clock again otherwise they risk being fined.

Santa Cruz
21-12-2022, 01:47 PM
https://owleezcdn.s3.amazonaws.com/documents/Owleez_InstructionSheet.pdf

It's got a 3.7v rechargeable battery pack included in it. So you shouldn't need anything other than a bog standard usb charger or plug it into a computer with charging ports.

When I say "included" I mean embedded inside the "nest" part of the toy which has a usb cable attached to it that you plug in to some usb charging device you already have.

Thank's for this, added bonus is I get to keep my battery stash for my hoose. :aok:

21-12-2022, 03:41 PM

It’s likely that when the bus is out of service it’s not covered by insurance to have passengers on board.

Bridge hibs
21-12-2022, 04:15 PM
Trying to break into a loaf of ****ing bread when Im hank marvin 🤬 you know, the ones with the wee bit of tape that has no wee tabs to pull it apart, I end up just tearing at the plastic as Ive no ****ing patience 🤬

Oh and whilst Im at it, milk cartons, twist the lid of to find the wee foil thing and you pull off, only to find either no tab or the thing tears in half, Im sure theres some smart ***** ****ers who unscrew the lids and tamper with the tabs just to annoy me 🤬

I can handle a lot in life but those two issues really grind my gears 🤬

22-12-2022, 02:21 PM
It’s likely that when the bus is out of service it’s not covered by insurance to have passengers on board.

I am sure, iirc it is to do with their break times. If there is a passenger on their bus they cannot be considered to be on a break (I think that is why the check the whole bus for stray/asleep passengers at the terminus too), they are required to have so many minutes off in a shift so it is important that this is heeded otherwise they will be considered to have missed their break times. It is something like that I am sure, I just cannot remember exactly why but there is a good reason for it.

22-12-2022, 03:12 PM
The signature strip on debit/credit cards. Are they making them from a different material these days? It’s pretty much impossible to sign them with a normal pen these days. Biros don’t work at all on them. Liquid ink works but smudges. Sharpies don’t fit in the space.

Stairway 2 7
22-12-2022, 03:27 PM
The signature strip on debit/credit cards. Are they making them from a different material these days? It’s pretty much impossible to sign them with a normal pen these days. Biros don’t work at all on them. Liquid ink works but smudges. Sharpies don’t fit in the space.

Haha that's a very good point

22-12-2022, 06:08 PM

Do people still sign those, couldn't you the tell last time I did.

22-12-2022, 06:20 PM
Do people still sign those, couldn't you the tell last time I did.

I got the card a few months ago. I had to sign it as I ordered foreign currency with it and the shop wanted the signed payment card when I picked it up.

I also booked a new year dinner at the hotel we will be staying at using my travel credit card as the hotel wouldn’t just add it to our bill without the credit card being on record. For some reason they’ve said they will need to check the signature of the card against photo ID when we get there, so I tried to sign that too today.

24-12-2022, 04:12 PM
Was out for a run earlier on tight country roads. I didn’t have a problem jumping off the road each time a car was coming, yet not one single driver gave me a wave of acknowledgement. I get it’s their right of way, but surely it’s just manners to give a quick wave of acknowledgement. I certainly do when driving.

27-12-2022, 11:29 AM
'It's not what is under the tree/on the table but who's around it.'

I like the sentiment of this but it's obviously something people have read and are just parroting it whether it is relevant to them or not. I've read this from people, apparently without irony, on the same social media feeds that have spent weeks telling everyone how much they have spent on Christmas, how many presents they have to wrap and the obligatory picture of a pile of presents almost touching the roof. One person I know posted said quote then followed it up about 10 seconds later with a post telling everyone her daughter had received a trip to Disney World for Christmas that was costing 'well over £7000 but she's worth it'. Beyond parody.

27-12-2022, 11:54 AM
And while I'm in a ranting mood.

The ****ing queues of traffic and crowds at Fort Kinnaird today. Just why? Hasn't everyone had enough over the last few weeks.

I was out a walk about 8.30 this morning and traffic was already building, just wandered out again now and it's bedlam. No one looks like they are enjoying themselves or getting any joy from proceedings. Bairns getting dragged about in tears, parents looking flustered and drivers all blaring horns as they cut each other off at the roundabouts.

Looks utterly miserable for all concerned and I daresay the shop workers aren't having much fun either.

27-12-2022, 06:29 PM
'It's not what is under the tree/on the table but who's around it.'

I like the sentiment of this but it's obviously something people have read and are just parroting it whether it is relevant to them or not. I've read this from people, apparently without irony, on the same social media feeds that have spent weeks telling everyone how much they have spent on Christmas, how many presents they have to wrap and the obligatory picture of a pile of presents almost touching the roof. One person I know posted said quote then followed it up about 10 seconds later with a post telling everyone her daughter had received a trip to Disney World for Christmas that was costing 'well over £7000 but she's worth it'. Beyond parody.

My friendship circles are only just becoming parents, but I'd struggle to get my head around someone posting the value of the gifts they give their kids. Very odd behaviour!

27-12-2022, 07:07 PM
My friendship circles are only just becoming parents, but I'd struggle to get my head around someone posting the value of the gifts they give their kids. Very odd behaviour!

I've not been a parent all that long in the grand scheme of things and I can't get my head around it either.

I love Christmas and want my kids to enjoy it but so much of it can't have a monetary value put on it. Telling people what you spent is just vulgar in any topic really but especially when it comes to your kids Christmas at a time when so many are toiling.

28-12-2022, 05:51 AM
And while I'm in a ranting mood.

The ****ing queues of traffic and crowds at Fort Kinnaird today. Just why? Hasn't everyone had enough over the last few weeks.

I was out a walk about 8.30 this morning and traffic was already building, just wandered out again now and it's bedlam. No one looks like they are enjoying themselves or getting any joy from proceedings. Bairns getting dragged about in tears, parents looking flustered and drivers all blaring horns as they cut each other off at the roundabouts.

Looks utterly miserable for all concerned and I daresay the shop workers aren't having much fun either.

I went to pick my wife up from her work at M&S at Kinnaird around 5.30ish, cars queueing to get into Macdonalds, where actually blocking the entrance road itself ffs, are they that desperate for a big mac.

Bridge hibs
28-12-2022, 06:01 AM
I went to pick my wife up from her work at M&S at Kinnaird around 5.30ish, cars queueing to get into Macdonalds, where actually blocking the entrance road itself ffs, are they that desperate for a big mac.Its not about being desperate for a big mac, its been the same for almost every shop up the Fort no matter if its Mcdonalds, M&S or Greggs. We thought we would take a short cut from the Wisp to back of B&Q when we picked the dog up as headed to Musselburgh, mistake, complete grid lock from rear of B&Q to roundabout at Fort. Took us 45 mins from there to Musselburgh

28-12-2022, 07:32 AM
I've not been a parent all that long in the grand scheme of things and I can't get my head around it either.

I love Christmas and want my kids to enjoy it but so much of it can't have a monetary value put on it. Telling people what you spent is just vulgar in any topic really but especially when it comes to your kids Christmas at a time when so many are toiling.

Kids don't even understand/appreciate the value anyway, so its so obviousthat its not about them. Of course they'll love a trip to disneyland but the general value of things is, rightly, lost. I don't think I know anyone with kids who doesn't have a Christmas morning anecdote of their kids doing something which shows they don't care for value - playing with the box instead of the toy, playing with the cheapest toy etc. My favourite from this year is my best friend's nephew - he ran past his pile of presents in the morning to see if Santa had eaten his mince pie that was left out as that was more important.

I'm sure I'll fall for similar traps in the coming years - but you'll not see post on Facebook about the £ spent! :greengrin

28-12-2022, 09:35 AM
Christmas

People at work wearing Christmas Jumpers... which should be a Capital punishment

The endless playing of Christmas songs you've heard a million times before.

The same crappy movies they show every Christmas (Home Alone, The Great Escape, Scrooge....).

Visiting the relatives and having to buy them all a bl**dy present.

Hoping your relatives have accidentally included the receipt in the present they bought you,

Wrapping Paper...

Having to pretend you actually like your relatives horrible children... ''oh (s)he's lovely', 'my how you've grown'

Being forced to sit round a table, eating Turkey and Brussels Sprouts and pulling Christmas Crackers.

Christmas Cracker, including the crappy jokes and stupid paper hats

Being told for the 87th time you really need to put your paper hat on cos "it's Christmas".

Boxing day sales wit their pretendy bargains

Cliff Richard

Did I mention Brussels Sprouts?

Bah Humbug!!!!

stuart-farquhar
28-12-2022, 10:39 AM
People who say "oh we should meet up between Xmas and New year". Which means never is good for them.

29-12-2022, 10:28 AM
The woman on the bus who announces the name of the next stop. I was getting used to her saying "Leer month Terrace " , and then this morning she hit me with "South Fawrt Street".

29-12-2022, 10:32 AM
People who say "oh we should meet up between Xmas and New year". Which means never is good for them.

See also people (usually family) who you only see at funerals who give it the 'we really must arrange to meet up under happier circumstances'.

Aye you have been saying that for 15 years now and it's never happened so let's just erase that from the small talk

29-12-2022, 12:00 PM
Folk who ask you a question, but it’s only to be able to talk about themselves

“how was your weekend?” Seems like a pleasant enquiry, but your answer is ignored as they’re only wanting to get your attention to ram their stuff down your throat

how was your weekend?

Pretty awful actually, my dad was rushed into hospital and is severely ill.

Oh right, well guess what, I’ve lost 2 lb, and I spent £80 on a new heater for when I’m working from home

01-01-2023, 05:03 AM
Folk who decide not to get in a lift because it is too full but don’t wait until the lift has moved on to press the button again.

Was ridiculous this morning in the hotel I’m in. The same idiot kept pressing the button several times.

01-01-2023, 09:51 AM
Prime juice.

There was quite literally a scrum broke out in Asda the other day when some got put on the shelf. Grown men punching **** out each other for a bottle of artificially sweetened cocunut water full of nasty additives.

Genius marketing from them. Withhold supply, create an illusion of scarcity and there are enough morons around to make it work.

01-01-2023, 10:18 AM
Prime juice.

There was quite literally a scrum broke out in Asda the other day when some got put on the shelf. Grown men punching **** out each other for a bottle of artificially sweetened cocunut water full of nasty additives.

Genius marketing from them. Withhold supply, create an illusion of scarcity and there are enough morons around to make it work.

I was popping to Aldi yesterday for a few bits to make a cheesecake and was worried about what I'd encounter as I thought they were the exclusive stockists... they'd either sold out, never received any stock, or the buzz just didn't hit Fife because there was no ruckus, or prime juice, to be seen.

I agree with everything you say- but I can see me ending up buying a bottle once the novelty wears off just to understand what the hype was about... marketing doing their job I suppose as I'm otherwise nowhere near that product range.

01-01-2023, 10:33 AM
Prime juice.
Never heard of it? :confused:

01-01-2023, 10:36 AM
I was popping to Aldi yesterday for a few bits to make a cheesecake and was worried about what I'd encounter as I thought they were the exclusive stockists... they'd either sold out, never received any stock, or the buzz just didn't hit Fife because there was no ruckus, or prime juice, to be seen.

I agree with everything you say- but I can see me ending up buying a bottle once the novelty wears off just to understand what the hype was about... marketing doing their job I suppose as I'm otherwise nowhere near that product range.

Asda have had it for a while but it sells out within seconds of reaching the shelves. My wife works in Asda and gets multiple texts a week asking her to stash some away for people. If I had been on the ball we could have amde a fortune on eBay.

It's the kind of thing I get with kids and teenagers. 12 year old and the coolest guy on the playground because you have a bottle of Prime. It's just odd with adults.

Santa Cruz
01-01-2023, 10:45 AM
Asda have had it for a while but it sells out within seconds of reaching the shelves. My wife works in Asda and gets multiple texts a week asking her to stash some away for people. If I had been on the ball we could have amde a fortune on eBay.

It's the kind of thing I get with kids and teenagers. 12 year old and the coolest guy on the playground because you have a bottle of Prime. It's just odd with adults.

This "doting dad" seems to have completely chucked it. Never heard of it either btw.

https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/news/weird-news/doting-dad-spends-1000-prime-28848031

01-01-2023, 10:51 AM
This "doting dad" seems to have completely chucked it. Never heard of it either btw.

https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/news/weird-news/doting-dad-spends-1000-prime-28848031

"Distilled essence of marketing magic". 😀

02-01-2023, 08:15 AM

There's a video of a guy in his 50s snatching bottles out of the hands of a teenager in Aldi...

02-01-2023, 08:38 AM
People complaining about Easter eggs being sold in shops, or news outlets pandering to the complaints at least. Why is it on the sky news twitter feed that some radges on twitter have their panties in a twist because the Christmas chocolate shelf is now filled with Easter eggs?

02-01-2023, 09:42 AM

There's a video of a guy in his 50s snatching bottles out of the hands of a teenager in Aldi...

People are *****. I'm just glad that I now no longer have to deal with customer service at work.

04-01-2023, 02:27 PM
Wtf is it?

04-01-2023, 07:41 PM
When I was a kid is was coca cola Italia 90 balls or coke and Fanta spinners, this kinda stuff has always went on but the advent of the internet has made it way worse

05-01-2023, 04:44 PM
When I was a kid is was coca cola Italia 90 balls or coke and Fanta spinners, this kinda stuff has always went on but the advent of the internet has made it way worseIt was toilet rolls less than two years ago...

Sent from my SM-G990B using Tapatalk

Fuzzywuzzy
06-01-2023, 08:03 AM
Fannies that leave their bins out to be collected when it's windy as **** knowing that their ***** will be blown everywhere and give zero ****s to collecting it when they decide it's ok to close the lid or upright their bin!!!

Bridge hibs
06-01-2023, 11:36 AM
Fannies that leave their bins out to be collected when it's windy as **** knowing that their ***** will be blown everywhere and give zero ****s to collecting it when they decide it's ok to close the lid or upright their bin!!!I thought about putting the bin out this morning but after looking at the state of the street caused by the trash from other bins I decided against it, no way would I have my Wife cleaning up the mess

06-01-2023, 12:24 PM
I thought about putting the bin out this morning but after looking at the state of the street caused by the trash from other bins I decided against it, no way would I have my Wife cleaning up the mess

🤣

Santa Cruz
06-01-2023, 05:57 PM

Just speaking with my Daughter about Prime. Was telling her about this story I linked, she knew already. Turns out the owner of Wakey Wines mentioned in the article has a big-ish Tik Tok following. Posts a lot of promo videos not just about Prime but also the "free" candy he offered (aka advertising) to the doting dad who I now assume is in on the promo vids.

06-01-2023, 09:42 PM
Fannies that leave their bins out to be collected when it's windy as **** knowing that their ***** will be blown everywhere and give zero ****s to collecting it when they decide it's ok to close the lid or upright their bin!!!

I put my bin out in the morning before going to work. I then bring it in when I get home from work. My bin is collected every 3 weeks. If I don't put it out my garden resembles the tip. So tell me, what should I do?

07-01-2023, 10:00 AM
I put my bin out in the morning before going to work. I then bring it in when I get home from work. My bin is collected every 3 weeks. If I don't put it out my garden resembles the tip. So tell me, what should I do?

If you live in Edinburgh it seems the trick is to put it out the next day as the bin men always seem to be running a day behind schedule!

The food waste team seem reliable though in that they always turn up on time and launch the empty bins as far and wide as they can from their previous locations!

09-01-2023, 08:21 PM
How busy the pool is in January. I much prefer it in December when I’m the only one there :greengrin

And on that theme:

People who can’t follow the lane arrow system in a pool. It’s not difficult.

Couples who go to lane swimming together and insist on swimming up the lane side by side.

People who swim with a full face of make up on.

Can you guess where I’ve been tonight? :greengrin

09-01-2023, 09:11 PM
How busy the pool is in January. I much prefer it in December when I’m the only one there :greengrin

And on that theme:

Couples who go to lane swimming together and insist on swimming up the lane side by side.

Squash court?

Santa Cruz
09-01-2023, 09:18 PM

And on that theme:

Bring back the free for all at Leith Waterworld. It was the only Council pool with warmish water, the rest are too brrrr for me :greengrin

09-01-2023, 09:42 PM
Squash court?

I feel I’d have been happier there!

10-01-2023, 10:14 AM
Folk that wear pyjamas in inappropriate settings. The classic was students going into the Co-Op near my last house in their pyjamas during the day.

I’ve been on holiday and there’s been a family rocking up to breakfast in the hotel every morning in their PJs. I can just about accept their young child being in his storm trooper PJs but the teenagers and the parents is a bit much. The mum’s PJ shorts would quite often be rolled up further than I want to see whilst I’m eating! “There’s a lot of jelly in this belly” is what her PJ top said!

10-01-2023, 10:18 AM
Folk that wear pyjamas in inappropriate settings. The classic was students going into the Co-Op near my last house in their pyjamas during the day.

I’ve been on holiday and there’s been a family rocking up to breakfast in the hotel every morning in their PJs. I can just about accept their young child being in his storm trooper PJs but the teenagers and the parents is a bit much. The mum’s PJ shorts would quite often be rolled up further than I want to see whilst I’m eating! “There’s a lot of jelly in this belly” is what her PJ top said!

Did the father also wear his football shirt every day, one of my pet hates on holiday, 50+ overweight men in football tops when not at a game.

10-01-2023, 10:57 AM
Did the father also wear his football shirt every day, one of my pet hates on holiday, 50+ overweight men in football tops when not at a game.

Thats a good one.

Grown men wearing football tops when not playing sport or actually going to a game.

10-01-2023, 10:58 AM
To add to overdrives one about jammies: Oodies.

Nae class whatsoever.

Jay
10-01-2023, 10:59 AM
I like men in football tops. Age is a just number decided by people hundreds of years ago , why let that dictate what you can and can't wear?

Santa Cruz
10-01-2023, 11:00 AM

I quite like the sound of this family tbh

Bridge hibs
10-01-2023, 11:52 AM
I like men in football tops. Age is a just number decided by people hundreds of years ago , why let that dictate what you can and can't wear?Not something that bothers me and just makes me decide on my holiday buddies 🤣

I was in Turkey many years ago and went a walk along the prom as the rangers v hearts was advert in pub to show game, I am tattooed (hibs) but wasnt wearing a hibs top but on hearing my accent this big bear of a rangers fan in full red white and blue thought I was one of them and proceded to sit beside me as we waited for the game to start. He then noticed my tattoos and I thought the atmosphere would change but to be honest, as far as that lot go he was actually a good laugh, better so when a celtc fan joined our company 🤣

Santa Cruz
10-01-2023, 12:01 PM
To add to overdrives one about jammies: Oodies.

Nae class whatsoever.

What is this? Is it a mash up of a onesie and hoodie?

10-01-2023, 12:10 PM
What is this? Is it a mash up of a onesie and hoodie?

It’s like an oversized hoodie made of blanket material.

11-01-2023, 04:44 PM
I'm wondering if there's any barbers out there that don't feel like their part of a money laundering operation.

11-01-2023, 05:31 PM
People who only post negative reviews on TripAdvisor. I'd say TripAdvisor in general but thought I'd be more specific.

I was looking at a restaurant on there the other day (trying to harvest a bit info before a works meeting). Of the 200 something reviews the vast majority were excellent or very good. Only 2 were terrible. One was to do with a booking mishap so the people never even ate at the restaurant, annoying for the person involved but one bad review doesn't suggest it's a regular occurrence. The other was from a guy who slammed the food, service, atmosphere, prices etc etc. I had a browse and he has left 18 reviews in a 3 year period, every single one 1 or 2 stars.

Now he might just be terribly unlucky but my gut instinct is he is one of those people who actively enjoys complaining and it enhances rather than detracts from any experience. I'm convinced these people exist. Every one of his reviews ended with 'there are better restaurants, pubs, cafes 5 minutes walks away at a fraction of the price'. Well why not tell us about those then with some positive reviews? Surely places that are multiple times the quality at a fraction of the price are well worth a 5 star review. Where is the fun in that though?

Bridge hibs
11-01-2023, 06:07 PM
When I go to have my cereal in the morning and theres neither enough to fill my bowl or half fill my bowl, sorta inbetweeny portion 🤬

Santa Cruz
11-01-2023, 06:12 PM
It's all the crushed stuff at the end of the cereal box that don't even resemble cereal, can't think how to describe it, just bits floating in your bowl :greengrin

11-01-2023, 06:37 PM
When I go to have my cereal in the morning and theres neither enough to fill my bowl or half fill my bowl, sorta inbetweeny portion 🤬

All the broken bits of Weetabix left in the bottom of the box, just waiting to fallout at the least convenient moment.

speedy_gonzales
11-01-2023, 06:54 PM
People who only post negative reviews on TripAdvisor. I'd say TripAdvisor in general but thought I'd be more specific.

I was looking at a restaurant on there the other day (trying to harvest a bit info before a works meeting). Of the 200 something reviews the vast majority were excellent or very good. Only 2 were terrible. One was to do with a booking mishap so the people never even ate at the restaurant, annoying for the person involved but one bad review doesn't suggest it's a regular occurrence. The other was from a guy who slammed the food, service, atmosphere, prices etc etc. I had a browse and he has left 18 reviews in a 3 year period, every single one 1 or 2 stars.

Now he might just be terribly unlucky but my gut instinct is he is one of those people who actively enjoys complaining and it enhances rather than detracts from any experience. I'm convinced these people exist. Every one of his reviews ended with 'there are better restaurants, pubs, cafes 5 minutes walks away at a fraction of the price'. Well why not tell us about those then with some positive reviews? Surely places that are multiple times the quality at a fraction of the price are well worth a 5 star review. Where is the fun in that though?

I attended a customer care/people first seminar thing nearly 30 years ago.
Two things I learned, first was under promise-over deliver and if you disappoint one customer they will tell 10 people but impress 10 customers and you'll be lucky if they share that with one other person (technically, that's three things I was taught 🤔).

Bridge hibs
11-01-2023, 07:29 PM
Another Trip Advisor annoyance, brilliant reviews for a hotel, accommodation, pool, apartments, food etc, all the usual stuff and then you get the saddo that puts in a real **** bit of advice followed by the customary photos of a human hair on the carpet, a wee bit of dust on the balcony, wee mark or tear on the wallpaper, just **** off and enjoy your holiday 🤬

I was in Italy many years back, carpets in the lobbys were a bit dated, decor was a bit dated, room was a bit dated but comfortable and functional.

The large bathroom had the usual bath with shower and I noticed halfway up the wall there were ants coming out of a wee hole, walking up to the top and into another hole, it was kind off hypnotising. Yeah I suppose not everyones cup of tea and some would have freaked out but the ants were just at work and that was the only area they ‘frequented’ even my Wife just shrugged her shoulders and she hates insects

The facilities were ample, the food was ample and to be honest, all we wanted was a nice comfortable and quiet hotel with decent facilities and it didnt disappoint, ants n all

11-01-2023, 07:40 PM
Another Trip Advisor annoyance, brilliant reviews for a hotel, accommodation, pool, apartments, food etc, all the usual stuff and then you get the saddo that puts in a real **** bit of advice followed by the customary photos of a human hair on the carpet, a wee bit of dust on the balcony, wee mark or tear on the wallpaper, just **** off and enjoy your holiday 🤬

I was in Italy many years back, carpets in the lobbys were a bit dated, decor was a bit dated, room was a bit dated but comfortable and functional.

The large bathroom had the usual bath with shower and I noticed halfway up the wall there were ants coming out of a wee hole, walking up to the top and into another hole, it was kind off hypnotising. Yeah I suppose not everyones cup of tea and some would have freaked out but the ants were just at work and that was the only area they ‘frequented’ even my Wife just shrugged her shoulders and she hates insects

The facilities were ample, the food was ample and to be honest, all we wanted was a nice comfortable and quiet hotel with decent facilities and it didnt disappoint, ants n all

Had the same in Spain (I'm a poet and don't know it), just plugged the hole with chewing gum and problem solved.

11-01-2023, 07:43 PM
Secrets. Was planning to make a press release relating to my work tomorrow and have been working on it for a month, low and behold it's all over today's press.

11-01-2023, 08:55 PM

The ones that get me are the people who complain about things that could have been sorted with a simple request or word to a member of staff.

My only real requirement for hotels, particularly on city breaks, is that they are clean. I like to get out and about on a break and it's really only somewhere to get my head down for a few hours. If the TV isn't 50", the carpet is a bit frayed and the wallpaper is a bit dated then my general reaction is 'so what'.

12-01-2023, 08:55 AM

"Ample food and facilities, and the ants respected our privacy. 5 stars"

Bridge hibs
12-01-2023, 09:16 AM
"Ample food and facilities, and the ants respected our privacy. 5 stars"
Totally, now if it was big beasties like hairy spiders or wasps then I would knock the stars down a bit 🫣

12-01-2023, 11:31 AM
Whrn you are in McDonalds or Taco Bell or something ordering from the touchscreens and the printer is out of paper so you dont have any evidence of what you've ordered or worse you miss your number coming up on the screen.

This leads to great panic in my life. McDonalds staff seem to trust you but at Taco Bell once I had to negotiate for ages to get what I'd ordered without any proof of having done so.

13-01-2023, 02:15 PM
Whrn you are in McDonalds or Taco Bell or something ordering from the touchscreens and the printer is out of paper so you dont have any evidence of what you've ordered or worse you miss your number coming up on the screen.

This leads to great panic in my life. McDonalds staff seem to trust you but at Taco Bell once I had to negotiate for ages to get what I'd ordered without any proof of having done so.

I was genuinely confused by this. I think it just shows how long it has been since I was in a McDonalds (never been in a Taco Bell, thought they were American!). I just googled this and right enough big touchscreens you order from, modern technology eh! God this is a revelation, I have so many questions! Do you have to use them or is there still a counter you can go to to order food? If not does it mean you cannot order food from McDonalds if you only have cash? Do drive throughs have them order do you still speak? :confused:

13-01-2023, 03:34 PM
I was genuinely confused by this. I think it just shows how long it has been since I was in a McDonalds (never been in a Taco Bell, thought they were American!). I just googled this and right enough big touchscreens you order from, modern technology eh! God this is a revelation, I have so many questions! Do you have to use them or is there still a counter you can go to to order food? If not does it mean you cannot order food from McDonalds if you only have cash? Do drive throughs have them order do you still speak? :confused:

Counter Service is still available. I'm sure there's a Taco Bell at Shandwick Place.

13-01-2023, 03:34 PM

you still speak at the drive thru, although the rate so e of them get it wrong might be better just swapping it for a touchscreen!

in the burgerking in Livingston centre, I’ve heard the staff saying on multiple occasions to customers that all orders must be placed using the screens, and refusing to take orders at the counter… their loss I suppose

14-01-2023, 10:40 PM

Glad somebody else feels this way! I’m always panicking when the receipt doesn’t follow. Not good for the auld anxiety.

15-01-2023, 12:03 AM

I don’t trust trip advisor reviews for hotels as they are so subjective.

15-01-2023, 11:19 AM

I still read them but bad reviews from total maniacs are more likely to make me stay somewhere than good reviews from normal people.

15-01-2023, 12:53 PM

Me neither, having worked at the Caley for ten years and read some of the reviews, knowing what actually happened made me realise that most folk exaggerate the complaint tenfold when writing a review.

15-01-2023, 01:01 PM
Glad somebody else feels this way! I’m always panicking when the receipt doesn’t follow. Not good for the auld anxiety.

The new McDonalds set up was obviously devised by someone who has never worked on the front line in their life.

I went about 15 years not going to McDonalds, roughly between exiting my teens and having kids of my own. Going back all those years they had a heated servery with all the popular items ready to go, you ordered, paid and within about a minute your food was with you. Now they have those touch screen things, you get your number, a load of people sare standing about seemingly doing not a lot, a few folk are in the back running about daft, food sporadically comes down a chute thing, the doing not a lot people try to put it into some semblance of order, a whole load of bleeping and ringing goes on constantly and 15 minutes later you finally get presented with some food. It's a total mess but I bet the wastage stats look great on a spreadsheet.

15-01-2023, 11:28 PM
People having conversations on the stairs at ER.

16-01-2023, 12:06 AM

If you think that is exciting, I was at the McDonalds in Copenhagen recently and they cook all the food upstairs then send it down to the ground floor where the tills are on an electronic pulley system in bags, which then drops the bag to a server who then shouts out the order no. Quite mesmerising to watch.

16-01-2023, 12:08 AM

Its not good mate, but ive trained myself now to focus intently on the number on the screen just in case.:greengrin

16-01-2023, 07:28 AM

You can still speak at a drive through, but I typically get my wife to order on the app as we're driving and then I just have to say the app collection number when I get there. Just to confuse matters further for you. :greengrin

Bridge hibs
16-01-2023, 07:54 AM
Me neither, having worked at the Caley for ten years and read some of the reviews, knowing what actually happened made me realise that most folk exaggerate the complaint tenfold when writing a review.My Wife uses Trip Advisor all the time and to be honest we have been in many holidays over the years and have never been let down. If you can see past the obvious trolls/attention seeking posts and find a balance. Holidays are tailored to individuals needs, what we enjoy others may not and that could be from comfort, staff pleasantness, food, accommodation etc

Whats the chances of our next one being **** now 🤣

16-01-2023, 08:36 AM
Luggage going missing when you are flying and the whole process around reclaiming it.

Flew back from Thailand earlier in the week via Paris. Got a text from Air France upon landing at Edinburgh to say one of the checked bags never made the flight. Nothing about the second bag. Waited at the belt and neither of the bags were there. The missing baggage desk was closed and everyone from Swissport (AF’s handling agent) had gone home. Someone from Border Control advised to scan a QR code and fill in the resultant form. This required describing the cases against the tracking number but were unsure which cases had been assigned to which tracking number.

Got a text and email the next morning to say the other case to the one they messaged about upon landing was on that morning’s Paris-Edinburgh flight. It arrived at the house the following afternoon and we then realised that of course, we chose the wrong tracking number against each bag but nevertheless they had delivered it. Great. Except having the wrong description against the tracking number for the other one now seems to be causing great issue.

There’s no phone number to phone either, just an online portal that isn’t updated timeously!

Peanut Shaz
16-01-2023, 06:21 PM
Luggage going missing when you are flying and the whole process around reclaiming it.

Flew back from Thailand earlier in the week via Paris. Got a text from Air France upon landing at Edinburgh to say one of the checked bags never made the flight. Nothing about the second bag. Waited at the belt and neither of the bags were there. The missing baggage desk was closed and everyone from Swissport (AF’s handling agent) had gone home. Someone from Border Control advised to scan a QR code and fill in the resultant form. This required describing the cases against the tracking number but were unsure which cases had been assigned to which tracking number.

Got a text and email the next morning to say the other case to the one they messaged about upon landing was on that morning’s Paris-Edinburgh flight. It arrived at the house the following afternoon and we then realised that of course, we chose the wrong tracking number against each bag but nevertheless they had delivered it. Great. Except having the wrong description against the tracking number for the other one now seems to be causing great issue.

There’s no phone number to phone either, just an online portal that isn’t updated timeously!

I know one of the drivers who delivers lost baggage back to the owner all over Scotland. He says there are literally hundreds of bags/cases every week. It is much more common than you hear about.

16-01-2023, 07:14 PM
Secrets. Was planning to make a press release relating to my work tomorrow and have been working on it for a month, low and behold it's all over today's press.

Just read this and now want to know more.

Any chance of a link :greengrin

16-01-2023, 08:34 PM
Just read this and now want to know more.

Any chance of a link :greengrin

https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.morgenpost.de/vermischtes/article237339777/charles-koenig-camilla-deutschland-besuch-royals.html%3fservice=amp

Was really pissed of with some colleagues angry that they heard it in the press first

17-01-2023, 05:55 PM
https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.morgenpost.de/vermischtes/article237339777/charles-koenig-camilla-deutschland-besuch-royals.html%3fservice=amp

Was really pissed of with some colleagues angry that they heard it in the press first

Danke.

19-01-2023, 09:39 AM
Bit of a random one but when you watch news reports or features from care homes and there always seems to be someone signing Vera Lynn or other songs from WWII. Why?

My Grandad is 90 this year, he was 12 when WWII ended. He's got no more interest in Vera Lynn than someone who is 9 this year. He likes jazz as well as the likes of Frank Sinatra, Dean Martin, Matt Monro and Tony Bennett. He'd listen to a bit of Elvis, The Beatles or similar too.

You'd have to be pushing 100 for the likes of Vera Lynn, The Andrews Sisters or Tommy Dorsey to be your era.

19-01-2023, 09:50 AM
It's all the crushed stuff at the end of the cereal box that don't even resemble cereal, can't think how to describe it, just bits floating in your bowl :greengrin

Oooh the best bit of any cereal! The ‘crumbs’ have always been my favourite.

I should add though that I always ate my cereal dry (and haven’t had it regularly in many years!)

Bridge hibs
19-01-2023, 09:53 AM
Bit of a random one but when you watch news reports or features from care homes and there always seems to be someone signing Vera Lynn or other songs from WWII. Why?

My Grandad is 90 this year, he was 12 when WWII ended. He's got no more interest in Vera Lynn than someone who is 9 this year. He likes jazz as well as the likes of Frank Sinatra, Dean Martin, Matt Monro and Tony Bennett. He'd listen to a bit of Elvis, The Beatles or similar too.

You'd have to be pushing 100 for the likes of Vera Lynn, The Andrews Sisters or Tommy Dorsey to be your era.

I dread the music when I hit my care home, **** Slim Shady 🤣

19-01-2023, 11:08 AM
I guess everyone needs a hobby but people who stand feeding seagulls...

19-01-2023, 12:49 PM
I guess everyone needs a hobby but people who stand feeding seagulls...

Not seagulls but when I was in Thailand recently, some birds flew into the semi-open area where breakfast was served. A woman started feeding them bread which then encouraged more birds to fly in! Just stop it or someone is going to get something nasty in their coffee or eggs.

19-01-2023, 04:01 PM

If he'd been alive today my dad would've been 96 and he was a massive, Sinatra, Martin, Nat King Cole fan, I can never remember him listening to Vera Lynne etc when he was younger.

19-01-2023, 04:51 PM
If he'd been alive today my dad would've been 96 and he was a massive, Sinatra, Martin, Nat King Cole fan, I can never remember him listening to Vera Lynne etc when he was younger.

It's just bizarre.

I think WWII is still so influential in the way Britain defines itself that there's a weird desire to cling onto it even as it passes from living memory. There will be folk in their late 70s/early 80s in care homes now, they'll have been 25-30 in 1970. They'll be wanting a bit of Led Zeppelin, T-Rex, Roxy Music and Queen not someone bleating about 'we'll meet again'.

19-01-2023, 05:08 PM
It's just bizarre.

There will be folk in their late 70s/early 80s in care homes now, they'll have been 25-30 in 1970.
Counter argument - there will be people in care homes in their 90s who were children during the war. Someone born in 1930 would be 92 now. For these people, Vera Lynn will have been very much the sound of their youth. My mum died in a care home in 2019, she loved Vera Lynn and her songs, and hearing them sung always brightened her day.

Give it 10 years, then I'll agree with your pet peeve.

19-01-2023, 05:38 PM
Counter argument - there will be people in care homes in their 90s who were children during the war. Someone born in 1930 would be 92 now. For these people, Vera Lynn will have been very much the sound of their youth. My mum died in a care home in 2019, she loved Vera Lynn and her songs, and hearing them sung always brightened her day.

Give it 10 years, then I'll agree with your pet peeve.

Tbf I'm probably a bit bias because both my grandparents had no time for the whole 'blitz spirit' thing.

As I said above my grandad is 90 this year so was just a boy
even when the war finished, even back in the 40s I don't think kids liked the same music as their parents. My Granny would have been 94 this year and whilst my grandad is a man for the crooners she was pure jazz. Peggy Lee, Billie Holiday, Ella Fitzgerald, Miles Davis, Sarah Vaughan and Ray Charles were the staples whenever you visited. She did say seeing Sinatra in London was one of the best nights of her life mind you. She met my Grandad in the Palais as is classic Edinburgh and they were hugely into their dancing and fashion. I always got the impression the war was something they just wanted to forget as it had tainted a chunk of their childhood.

I think the politics of my Granny's dad in particular played a part in that too. He served in the RAF and was proud to have done his bit but as a man proud of both his Irish and working class roots he despised Churchill with a passion and never saw any glory in the war. Her Mother lost 2 brothers, both merchant Navy, at sea in the war as well. Her family was raised in abject poverty, she lost a sister in infancy at least in part, because the family couldn't afford to have a doctor visit. She had no time for reminiscing about the 'good old days'. Her view was it was hard being working class then and it's hard now. She wasn't bitter, she just didn't have rose tinted specs for a golden era that never existed in her universe.

Anyway I've taken this off topic enough.

Berwickhibby
19-01-2023, 10:20 PM
I give up my time and play for a care home in Glenrothes and to be honest Elvis, Buddy Holly, Cliff Richard and Sinatra are the most requested and danced (well shuffled) tracks. Motown and 50s RnB also popular …. Trying to recall if I have ever played Vera Lynn.

Edit…oh and Dean Martin

20-01-2023, 06:29 AM
I give up my time and play for a care home in Glenrothes and to be honest Elvis, Buddy Holly, Cliff Richard and Sinatra are the most requested and danced (well shuffled) tracks. Motown and 50s RnB also popular …. Trying to recall if I have ever played Vera Lynn.

Edit…oh and Dean Martin

Quite like the sound of your gigs. I’ll just go for a pish when Cliff Richard is playing 😁

21-01-2023, 07:57 AM

Edit…oh and Dean Martin

Do you ever feel like just skidding out and firing on Fatman Scoop - Be Faithful?

21-01-2023, 12:33 PM

Edit…oh and Dean Martin

You surely have to play George ezra, Green Green Grass 😁

24-01-2023, 10:18 AM
The new McDonalds advert. They are trying too hard to come up with a Budweiser “wazup” type of advert that everyone copies. There’s more to making and advert than simply using the Ferris Bueller “Oh Yeah” song and folk raising their eyebrows.

24-01-2023, 02:50 PM
Companies that don’t marry up their data. I go to Specsavers for my eye tests. I went to their North Bridge branch for my eye test three visits ago as it was handy for my work. I then went to their Leith branch during covid as it was handy for where I lived. I moved house last year and my eye test was due a few months ago so I went to their Gyle branch.

Despite the fact that a cheeky assistant made an observation that I was buying a pair of glasses less this time compared to last time so they obviously have me linked to my visits to their Leith branch, I’m getting texts from their Leith and North Bridge branches saying I’m overdue my eye test.

24-01-2023, 08:18 PM
Companies that don’t marry up their data. I go to Specsavers for my eye tests. I went to their North Bridge branch for my eye test three visits ago as it was handy for my work. I then went to their Leith branch during covid as it was handy for where I lived. I moved house last year and my eye test was due a few months ago so I went to their Gyle branch.

Despite the fact that a cheeky assistant made an observation that I was buying a pair of glasses less this time compared to last time so they obviously have me linked to my visits to their Leith branch, I’m getting texts from their Leith and North Bridge branches saying I’m overdue my eye test.

I stopped using Specsavers for very similar reasons. Had 5 communications from them in 6 weeks, letters, texts and emails, all telling me if I didn’t get my appointment sorted they’d have my contact lenses stopped. Every time I went into the store to be told there had been a mistake and I didn’t need it yet (which I knew). Each time they blamed it on their head office system being different from the store system, when I asked them to get the systems updated to the same dates, the store staff just shrugged and told me to phone the head office to sort it. They weren’t pleased when I pointed out it was their system and their head office, and it was up to them to sort it, not me. Ended up just not going back and going to a different opticians, who despite being a bit more expensive are much more attentive and seem to give a toss.

25-01-2023, 08:50 AM
Recently had a dental check up. One tooth requiring a filling (urgent in my opinion). I thought it, as it used to be, might be done at the same appointment. I’m stunned to be told the earliest appointment is ten weeks later.:paranoid:
Tried to book my car in to check out two unwelcome noises coming from the rear of my car. Earliest available date is six weeks away.
Was in a big Tesco store which had about 20 checkouts……. only one was manned, yet there were long queues waiting to use the self checkout area.
That’s progress for you.

25-01-2023, 09:18 PM
The new fad for plastic free six packs of beer, where the cans are stuck together with a blob of glue. Tried to separate one tonight and it ripped a hole in the side. Got sprayed rather than a drink..

26-01-2023, 09:19 AM
Recently had a dental check up. One tooth requiring a filling (urgent in my opinion). I thought it, as it used to be, might be done at the same appointment. I’m stunned to be told the earliest appointment is ten weeks later.:paranoid:
Tried to book my car in to check out two unwelcome noises coming from the rear of my car. Earliest available date is six weeks away.
Was in a big Tesco store which had about 20 checkouts……. only one was manned, yet there were long queues waiting to use the self checkout area.
That’s progress for you.

The dentist thing annoys me. I was at the dentist a couple of weeks ago. I need a filling. “I’m afraid I’m leaving in a weeks time and we don’t know when the new dentist is starting. Maybe sometime in February or March. So you’ll need to wait for us to call you with an appointment”

To be fair, they phoned last week to say the new dentist is starting early Feb but they said that the dentist will have to see me to check it out first before I make an appointment for the filling.

Why? Does he not trust the previous dentist’s view that I need a filling?

26-01-2023, 09:37 AM
The dentist thing annoys me. I was at the dentist a couple of weeks ago. I need a filling. “I’m afraid I’m leaving in a weeks time and we don’t know when the new dentist is starting. Maybe sometime in February or March. So you’ll need to wait for us to call you with an appointment”

To be fair, they phoned last week to say the new dentist is starting early Feb but they said that the dentist will have to see me to check it out first before I make an appointment for the filling.

Or not let you go to the original appointment if anything identified is going to have to be checked again anyway!

26-01-2023, 09:41 AM

I had a dentist appointment booked for today at 5, got a call on Monday to change it to 12 with another dentist as my dentist has flu. No problem, it happens. Got another call yesterday lunchtime to ask me to change to 10, bit of a pain but still no huge issue. Then a call at 6 yesterday evening saying that the other dentists now can't see me and they have booked me in for the next available appointment with my own dentist. On March 8th!

I would accept this if it was NHS but I'm paying these ****ers a direct debit every month for the privilege of having a check up, scale and polish. They must be hundreds, if not thousands of pounds up on me over the years and their service is consistently crap.

26-01-2023, 10:02 AM
I had a dentist appointment booked for today at 5, got a call on Monday to change it to 12 with another dentist as my dentist has flu. No problem, it happens. Got another call yesterday lunchtime to ask me to change to 10, bit of a pain but still no huge issue. Then a call at 6 yesterday evening saying that the other dentists now can't see me and they have booked me in for the next available appointment with my own dentist. On March 8th!

I would accept this if it was NHS but I'm paying these ****ers a direct debit every month for the privilege of having a check up, scale and polish. They must be hundreds, if not thousands of pounds up on me over the years and their service is consistently crap.

That’s the other thing, I’m with Denplan and like you I pay a monthly DD. I’ve not needed anything other than check ups and scale and polishes done for years so they’ve probably made their money on me.

My dad goes to the same dentist. He’s subsequently found out the new dentist will only be working two days a week. That is really crap service!