View Full Version : Pet Peeves IV

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 [34] 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57

11-12-2020, 09:03 AM
I listen to my tunes in the taxi by plugging it into the Aux with the appropriate cable. Every now and then when blasting out some rock my phone decides to lower the bloody volume as listening at high volume can damage my ears, erm help it's plugged into the Aux and through my speakers and I'll decide what volume to face mot the bloidy phone.

12-12-2020, 04:44 PM
Spelling the word diarrhoea(I had to google that) it’s almost as excruciating as the symptoms. Anyone who had to fill a sick line In knows what I’m talking about.

12-12-2020, 05:09 PM
Spelling the word diarrhoea(I had to google that) it’s almost as excruciating as the symptoms. Anyone who had to fill a sick line In knows what I’m talking about.

Easy, just put down the shi ts.

12-12-2020, 09:21 PM

I don't think this will come across easily over text but I know this by the way my Geography teacher used to tell us (I can't remember the context...perhaps it's a symptom of malaria?)...

D.I. arrho EA.

It definitely doesn't make any sense over text, or maybe even out loud for that matter, but the emphasis he put on the certain parts of the word just made it stick.

12-12-2020, 09:41 PM
I don't think this will come across easily over text but I know this by the way my Geography teacher used to tell us (I can't remember the context...perhaps it's a symptom of malaria?)...

D.I. arrho EA.

It definitely doesn't make any sense over text, or maybe even out loud for that matter, but the emphasis he put on the certain parts of the word just made it stick.

Generally it doesn't.

13-12-2020, 05:10 AM
Generally it doesn't.

Well I've been able to spell diarrhoea for the last 15 years because of it regardless. :greengrin

13-12-2020, 07:43 AM
Generally it doesn't.

pollution
22-12-2020, 11:40 AM
My peeve is that we haven't had a real peeve for over a week.

It's my favourite thread.

Bangkok Hibby
22-12-2020, 12:07 PM
First of all I'm sorry if this offends anyone.
I'm a member of a couple of vegan forums and I'm heart sick of seeing people appeal to God to stop the suffering of animals.
For me there is no God but if there is he doesn't give a ****!!!

22-12-2020, 01:50 PM
Products with the minimum effort put into them. Was in Craggie’s farm earlier and impulse bought a lightweight tent for my daughter. Was only £10 so wasn’t expecting much. I’ve no problem that it’s no frills and literally a cheap plastic frame and cheap canvass to fit over. Yet they’ve not bothered to put any zips of Velcro on the entrance on either side, nor a little pocket at the bottom corners of the cover to fit it to the bottom of the frame. How difficult would it have been to put those minimal touches on it, would have even said it was decent value for what it is if they then charged £15.

pollution
22-12-2020, 05:23 PM
That's more like it !

22-12-2020, 06:16 PM
People with zero awareness of what's going on around them, be it genuine or being ignorant, was shopping this morning and there was a guy at the section I needed, I didn't want to be a dick and hover over him and also wanted to maintain social distancing, now it's pretty apparent what I was doing so when the guy left some woman swooped in out of nowhere and went right where I was waiting to go, I'm 6'1" so it's not like she missed me standing waiting

w pilton hibby
22-12-2020, 09:31 PM
People with zero awareness of what's going on around them, be it genuine or being ignorant, was shopping this morning and there was a guy at the section I needed, I didn't want to be a dick and hover over him and also wanted to maintain social distancing, now it's pretty apparent what I was doing so when the guy left some woman swooped in out of nowhere and went right where I was waiting to go, I'm 6'1" so it's not like she missed me standing waiting

If yer no fast...

EH6 Hibby
23-12-2020, 07:03 PM
People that not only don’t wear a mask, but don’t cover their mouth when they cough. Just had a guy cough in my face as I walked out a shop in ocean terminal. Absolutely disgusting at the best of times, but we’re in the middle of a pandemic ffs.

Bangkok Hibby
23-12-2020, 07:12 PM
Cliff repeatedly telling us which foot a player has kicked the ball with.

23-12-2020, 07:38 PM
Typical hibs.net (Tapatalk screenshot)

https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20201223/3582215c748124343f080bc38f34fb5a.jpg

Bangkok Hibby
23-12-2020, 10:48 PM
Typical hibs.net (Tapatalk screenshot)

https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20201223/3582215c748124343f080bc38f34fb5a.jpg

Its a forum! Opinions eh?

25-12-2020, 12:59 PM
Its a forum! Opinions eh?I know. I just found it funny.

Bangkok Hibby
28-12-2020, 08:58 AM
Here's another, possibly controversial but cannae help it. Not homophobic by any means but excessive campness (is that a word? You know what I mean) makes my skin crawl.

28-12-2020, 09:44 AM
Here's another, possibly controversial but cannae help it. Not homophobic by any means but excessive campness (is that a word? You know what I mean) makes my skin crawl.

I wouldn’t word it as strongly as you but that’s a pet peeve of mine when it is deliberately exaggerated. I couldn’t’ watch Graham Norton, for example, for a long time as it looked like he was playing a character and not himself. He’s still camp now, but that’s just his natural mannerisms which is fine.

I’d also point out that being camp isn’t exclusive to being gay, David Walliams being an example. My peeve is more about deliberate exaggerations than it is campness specifically.

Bangkok Hibby
28-12-2020, 09:57 AM
I wouldn’t word it as strongly as you but that’s a pet peeve of mine when it is deliberately exaggerated. I couldn’t’ watch Graham Norton, for example, for a long time as it looked like he was playing a character and not himself. He’s still camp now, but that’s just his natural mannerisms which is fine.

I’d also point out that being camp isn’t exclusive to being gay, David Walliams being an example. My peeve is more about deliberate exaggerations than it is campness specifically.

Yes David Walliams at his most camp is hardest for me to watch. I understand it doesn't always equate to being gay.

28-12-2020, 10:40 AM
I'm not sure I'd say I dislike campness as such. I know a few people who are quite camp but it's fairly subtle. Some are gay, others not so.

What I don't like is people who are deliberately OTT. I accept some people are more extrovert than others but there are people where it swings wildly into attention seeking. Almost everyone I have ever met who is described, or describes themselves, as a 'character' has been an annoying ********.

28-12-2020, 04:24 PM
I'm not sure I'd say I dislike campness as such. I know a few people who are quite camp but it's fairly subtle. Some are gay, others not so.

What I don't like is people who are deliberately OTT. I accept some people are more extrovert than others but there are people where it swings wildly into attention seeking. Almost everyone I have ever met who is described, or describes themselves, as a 'character' has been an annoying ********.

Amen.

28-12-2020, 04:37 PM

You will love me or hate me, in that case I will probably ****ing hate you :agree:

28-12-2020, 06:15 PM
Duncan Norvelle the comedian made a career out of being overly camp with his catchphrase "chase me chase me". He said he did it one night at a tough gig to a heckler and the crowd loved it, so he made it his character, he's married with 3 kids. My daughter who is gay says some of her homosexual male friends get overly camp when out together.

29-12-2020, 09:46 AM
Duncan Norvelle the comedian made a career out of being overly camp with his catchphrase "chase me chase me". He said he dud it one night at a tough gig to a heckler and the crowd loved it, so he made it his character, married with 3 kids. My daughter who is gay says some of her homosexual male friends get overly camp when out together.From what I remember, Norvelle was more effeminate than camp and his act/persona was based on him being shy & naive as opposed to being extroverted.

Throughout the years I've known a lot of male dancers (Highland dancers, etc.), many of whom I would call friends.

Once you get to a certain level of skill & thus commitment in dancing, the majority of blokes will be gay (that's my experience anyway) and out of the rest there will be some who surprisingly aren't.

That a bloke is effeminate and/or openly gay makes no difference to me as to whether I'll take to them or not - there are all sorts of reasons why you might become mates with one person but not another, but like others before me, I really can't stand the extroverted "look at me" camp/gay stereotypes. The ones I know can obviously sense this as they thankfully give me a wide berth.

EH6 Hibby
29-12-2020, 02:46 PM
Contestants on tenable that use nominates, then when they get an answer; they say “that was one I was going to say” well why didn’t you say it then? Why did you waste a nominate? Same with people that nominate when they don’t have any answers at all. It’s a complete waste.

29-12-2020, 02:51 PM
Contestants on tenable that use nominates, then when they get an answer; they say “that was one I was going to say” well why didn’t you say it then? Why did you waste a nominate? Same with people that nominate when they don’t have any answers at all. It’s a complete waste.

I've never actually heard Tenable, I have only watched it on the silent TV in the background at work, I don't really know the rules or concept but it's much harder when you don't know what's going on :greengrin

CloudSquall
29-12-2020, 03:53 PM
When..

"Love I'm going on a zoom call, could you keep the noise down for half an hour please?"

is received as..

"Love I'm going on a zoom call, could you go to the kitchen and clatter about with pots and pans, turn on the radio full blast why not, and if you've got time can you just generally arse about in direct view of the camera? Cheers"

EH6 Hibby
29-12-2020, 04:19 PM
I've never actually heard Tenable, I have only watched it on the silent TV in the background at work, I don't really know the rules or concept but it's much harder when you don't know what's going on :greengrin

I love it, I only watch on days off, but the schedule is Tenable, Tipping Point and then the Chase.

Another random irritation from watching today’s Tipping Point, but why do members of the clergy, always wear their collar when on a game show? They’re the only occupation that does it. You don’t get Doctors wearing their scrubs or police officers wearing their uniforms, so why do the clergy feel the need to do it?

If someone takes the lower offer on the chase next, I’m going to my bed. :greengrin

30-12-2020, 11:36 PM
I go walking quite a bit at a well known reservoir near Edinburgh, I do the loop then go home and I cant be arsed when folk try and talk to you when you're out, usually dug walkers or effing ramblers. I just want to walk round it, get my exercise done and go home, I don't want to talk to anyone in the process. :grr:

31-12-2020, 06:41 AM
Grumpy bassas who don't even give a nod never mind a good morning when I'm out walking my dog.

31-12-2020, 08:08 AM
I agree with both the above posts.

I hate when I say morning or whatever to someone and they blank me. Equally though I can't be bothered when someone wants to give me their life story when I'm out walking. I go into the hills to get a bit of peace and quiet. I'll be polite but I don't want to hear how old your dog is, where you come from, where you started that day, how many Munros you have climbed, where you walked last weekend, where you plan to stop for lunch.

'Morning'
'Morning'
'nice day for it'
'makes it worth it when you get the views'
'enjoy your day'
'you too'

Perfectly sufficient.

31-12-2020, 08:52 AM
I agree with both the above posts.

I hate when I say morning or whatever to someone and they blank me. Equally though I can't be bothered when someone wants to give me their life story when I'm out walking. I go into the hills to get a bit of peace and quiet. I'll be polite but I don't want to hear how old your dog is, where you come from, where you started that day, how many Munros you have climbed, where you walked last weekend, where you plan to stop for lunch.

'Morning'
'Morning'
'nice day for it'
'makes it worth it when you get the views'
'enjoy your day'
'you too'

Perfectly sufficient.

Absolutely.

I made the mistake of chatting to a strange looking guy a few weeks ago who was bird watching (nothing strange about bird watching of course!!). 2 minutes of small talk and me trying to get away and he was on to scamdemics and anti-vax guff. I should really know better at my age than to tell a total stranger to their face that they're an f****** idiot but it just had to be done.

31-12-2020, 02:34 PM
Absolutely.

I made the mistake of chatting to a strange looking guy a few weeks ago who was bird watching (nothing strange about bird watching of course!!). 2 minutes of small talk and me trying to get away and he was on to scamdemics and anti-vax guff. I should really know better at my age than to tell a total stranger to their face that they're an f****** idiot but it just had to be done.

I just ignore people who start uttering absolute guff now. I'm sure some of them only want the attention. The incomprehension on their faces and following seethe makes it all worthwhile.

31-12-2020, 09:16 PM
Susan Calman, quite simply awful.

Jay
31-12-2020, 09:21 PM
I go walking quite a bit at a well known reservoir near Edinburgh, I do the loop then go home and I cant be arsed when folk try and talk to you when you're out, usually dug walkers or effing ramblers. I just want to walk round it, get my exercise done and go home, I don't want to talk to anyone in the process. :grr:

:rotflmao::rotflmao::rotflmao::rotflmao:

I'm crying laughing at this ya grump! I'm sure it's your wide smile and welcoming look that attracts them to chat.

31-12-2020, 09:31 PM
:rotflmao::rotflmao::rotflmao::rotflmao:

I'm crying laughing at this ya grump! I'm sure it's your wide smile and welcoming look that attracts them to chat.

:tee hee::tee hee::tee hee:

Hood up, heed down and swagger, usually put them off trying to converse with me, most even move out the way too :greengrin

Jay
31-12-2020, 09:36 PM
:tee hee::tee hee::tee hee:

Hood up, heed down and swagger, usually put them off trying to converse with me, most even move out the way too :greengrin

:greengrin bloody do gooders trying to chat and be pleasant :grr:

31-12-2020, 09:39 PM
:greengrin bloody do gooders trying to chat and be pleasant :grr:

Its never good looking single women that try and stop me either (maybe now I know why:greengrin), mainly old folk that look like they want to offer me a pan drop or something.

Jay
31-12-2020, 09:49 PM
Its never good looking single women that try and stop me either (maybe now I know why:greengrin), mainly old folk that look like they want to offer me a pan drop or something.

Dont dis the pandrops! Try smiling you might find the good looking ones speak. Us oldies cant see if your smiling or not and dont care anyway. You'll talk whether you like it or not :greengrin

31-12-2020, 10:25 PM

Just when you think we have suffered enough in 2020 along come the BBC

31-12-2020, 10:43 PM
Dont dis the pandrops! Try smiling you might find the good looking ones speak. Us oldies cant see if your smiling or not and dont care anyway. You'll talk whether you like it or not :greengrin

I've heard you oldies have ways of making us talk. :greengrin

31-12-2020, 10:50 PM

She's turned the programme on BBC1 into a cringefest so far.

Jay
31-12-2020, 10:51 PM
I've heard you oldies have ways of making us talk. :greengrin

:tee hee::tee hee: brave talk

Just_Jimmy
31-12-2020, 11:27 PM
fireworks.

self indulgent pish. piss everyone off except the selfish prick letting them off.

terrify the dog and cat.

not a single positive about them. should be banned. I utterly despise them

Sent from my Pixel 3a using Tapatalk

01-01-2021, 12:02 AM
fireworks.

self indulgent pish. piss everyone off except the selfish prick letting them off.

terrify the dog and cat.

There's a boy in my street who loves a firework. He's a ****ing arse of a man, we have a WhatsApp group for a few folk in the street and some of the stuff he posts in it needs to be seen to be believed.

Anyway he had fireworks last new year, fireworks at Easter, fireworks on 5th November, fireworks for VE Day, fireworks at Christmas etc etc He was also one of those people who completely ruined the clap for carers things by making it all about them. Everyone else was out clapping, he appeared with a cow bell then the next week he decided to..... Set off some fireworks. That became a weekly ritual.

I wouldn't even mind if it was spontaneous but he obviously plans it meticulously. When Scotland beat Serbia no sooner had Marshall saved the penalty than a load of fireworks went off from his garden. There is a happy ending though. He is inevitably a Hearts fan. During the cup final at every Hearts goal a firework went off. Shortly after the end of the penalties the guy 2 doors down from him, a big Hibby, let off a couple of fireworks. That led to an epic meltdown in the WhatsApp group and he left it and he hasn't spoken to 2 or 3 of us since as he thinks we were all in on it.

01-01-2021, 10:17 AM
There's a boy in my street who loves a firework. He's a ****ing arse of a man, we have a WhatsApp group for a few folk in the street and some of the stuff he posts in it needs to be seen to be believed.

Anyway he had fireworks last new year, fireworks at Easter, fireworks on 5th November, fireworks for VE Day, fireworks at Christmas etc etc He was also one of those people who completely ruined the clap for carers things by making it all about them. Everyone else was out clapping, he appeared with a cow bell then the next week he decided to..... Set off some fireworks. That became a weekly ritual.

I wouldn't even mind if it was spontaneous but he obviously plans it meticulously. When Scotland beat Serbia no sooner had Marshall saved the penalty than a load of fireworks went off from his garden. There is a happy ending though. He is inevitably a Hearts fan. During the cup final at every Hearts goal a firework went off. Shortly after the end of the penalties the guy 2 doors down from him, a big Hibby, let off a couple of fireworks. That led to an epic meltdown in the WhatsApp group and he left it and he hasn't spoken to 2 or 3 of us since as he thinks we were all in on it.

That is brilliant :greengrin

01-01-2021, 10:20 AM
fireworks.

terrify the dog and cat.

totally agree, used to be only on guy fawkes night, now it seems to be any old excuse. Even doing it for the bells has been spoiled by the folk who are letting them off from 11pm going on til 1am, and always the ones that make the most racket, ********s

01-01-2021, 11:50 AM

My wife doesn't believe me that I could identify a jambo within 5 mins of talking to them with a 95% success rate, but the behaviour in this story supports my theory.

01-01-2021, 12:06 PM
fireworks.

terrify the dog and cat.

Our wee dog hates them, and they also do my nut in. Then there's the news EVERY new year, showing fireworks being set off in cities around the world. We know by now what a fireworks display looks like...

01-01-2021, 12:13 PM

That's brilliant!

I enjoy fireworks. I enjoyed watching the display from Stirling on the TV last night, the ones in my street, and the ones in London I googled this morning.

The one I've just heard go off around 1:10 has me stumped though but each to their own.

01-01-2021, 12:18 PM

This is probably the best post I've read on this website.

Bangkok Hibby
01-01-2021, 12:22 PM
ME! I'm pissing myself off because after a lifetime of union membership, fighting for workers rights and being active politically I can't switch off even though I've emigrated to a chilled retirement on the beach in thirty odd degree temperatures.
I want to smash the tv when I see that ******* Johnson or any of his sycophantic self serving cabinet.

01-01-2021, 01:29 PM

What a loon, and yes, he would be a Jambo.

01-01-2021, 01:50 PM

Sounds like a bit of a erm.........character.

Just_Jimmy
01-01-2021, 10:00 PM

I wouldn't even mind if it was spontaneous but he obviously plans it meticulously. When Scotland beat Serbia no sooner had Marshall saved the penalty than a load of fireworks went off from his garden. There is a happy ending though. He is inevitably a Hearts fan. During the cup final at every Hearts goal a firework went off. Shortly after the end of the penalties the guy 2 doors down from him, a big Hibby, let off a couple of fireworks. That led to an epic meltdown in the WhatsApp group and he left it and he hasn't spoken to 2 or 3 of us since as he thinks we were all in on it.classic!

01-01-2021, 10:03 PM

😁

StevesFamau5
02-01-2021, 12:22 AM

I wouldn't even mind if it was spontaneous but he obviously plans it meticulously. When Scotland beat Serbia no sooner had Marshall saved the penalty than a load of fireworks went off from his garden. There is a happy ending though. He is inevitably a Hearts fan. During the cup final at every Hearts goal a firework went off. Shortly after the end of the penalties the guy 2 doors down from him, a big Hibby, let off a couple of fireworks. That led to an epic meltdown in the WhatsApp group and he left it and he hasn't spoken to 2 or 3 of us since as he thinks we were all in on it.Amazing! Made my day that did.

Sent from my VOG-L09 using Tapatalk

Silky
03-01-2021, 02:37 PM

😂😂😂. That's an absolute belter.

Silky
03-01-2021, 02:40 PM

She seems to pop up everywhere just now. I can't stand her. It seems that every time the telly goes on, she's there. I can't take to her at all.

CloudSquall
03-01-2021, 04:27 PM
Neighbours that blast music out at all times of the day, almost every day.

Thankfully not mine but it seems that the mentality of "I'm doing whatever the F I want to do and F everyone else" reigns supreme in the province of Buenos Aires near my mother in law's.

How they put up with it I do not know as I'd be doing time (well, I wouldn't be but you get the point :greengrin) if I was having to hear that all day every day.

It's not the noise itself even, it's the lack of thought for anyone but themselves.

03-01-2021, 10:38 PM
Neighbours that blast music out at all times of the day, almost every day.

Thankfully not mine but it seems that the mentality of "I'm doing whatever the F I want to do and F everyone else" reigns supreme in the province of Buenos Aires near my mother in law's.

How they put up with it I do not know as I'd be doing time (well, I wouldn't be but you get the point :greengrin) if I was having to hear that all day every day.

It's not the noise itself even, it's the lack of thought for anyone but themselves.

Loud music is the worst kind of stress for a neighbour to have to suffer.
The old excuse of Oh I didn't know I was disturbing anyone is balls.
In this age of Bluetooth headsets there's no need for loud music in a residential situation at all.

04-01-2021, 10:54 AM
Loud music is the worst kind of stress for a neighbour to have to suffer.
The old excuse of Oh I didn't know I was disturbing anyone is balls.
In this age of Bluetooth headsets there's no need for loud music in a residential situation at all.
:agree: I like to listen my music loud, but I wouldn’t play it loud in the house because it would be unfair on my neighbours. Last year I invested in a good pair of Bluetooth headphones and I can listen as loud as I like without bothering anyone.

05-01-2021, 12:24 PM
I don't know if this is a pet peeve or piss-boiler, but energy companies using estimates. We moved in to our new house and both the old supplier - Scottish Gas - and our new one - Bulb - used estimates despite both of them receiving meter readings. Not only that, but they estimated that 2 adults and an 18 month old used 2,500 kilowatts in a period of 7 weeks - thats an outrageous number, around £450 worth of electricity.

05-01-2021, 03:07 PM
I don't know if this is a pet peeve or piss-boiler, but energy companies using estimates. We moved in to our new house and both the old supplier - Scottish Gas - and our new one - Bulb - used estimates despite both of them receiving meter readings. Not only that, but they estimated that 2 adults and an 18 month old used 2,500 kilowatts in a period of 7 weeks - thats an outrageous number, around £450 worth of electricity.

Our previous provider went bust, and we got moved to utilita. We chose to move to another provider. According to utilita, in the 3 or so months we were with them, we’d used the equivalent of 18 months worth of gas and electricity, and tried to hide behind estimates, until I proved to them that they’d had accurate meter readings. Then they blamed the old company. Won’t ever be back to them

05-01-2021, 03:52 PM
Our previous provider went bust, and we got moved to utilita. We chose to move to another provider. According to utilita, in the 3 or so months we were with them, we’d used the equivalent of 18 months worth of gas and electricity, and tried to hide behind estimates, until I proved to them that they’d had accurate meter readings. Then they blamed the old company. Won’t ever be back to them

When I moved cities a few years ago the flat that I rented had a pre-pay meter in it. Obviously I don't want to do that as they're so expensive, but when I looked to change to a different company, the company who ran the meter phoned and guaranteed a 15% saving on a smart meter compared to any other company. Obviously said yes to that, they spent ten minutes qualifying exactly what I wanted and how I used my energy and all that stuff. They then spent ten minutes telling me how brilliant and fantastic their latest smart meter and plan was and how it's going to revolutionise how I power my home and all that.

They then said "We'll transfer you through to sales and they'll get that confirmed for you" only for the grumpiest person to say "yeah, we're sold out of smart meters, it'll be twelve weeks to get that installed".

I forget the name of them but I absolutely hate dealing with energy companies. Takes an age on the phone, racks up a phone bill and without fail horrible to deal with.

05-01-2021, 05:54 PM
Sellotape and the ******* thats used it previously failing to fold the end over making a tab for you to pull when you need to sellotape something.

05-01-2021, 05:57 PM
You need to have your meter read in order to stop them sending you estimates. Energy companies will accept online readings but unless you have it read by them they will continue to send you estimates.

05-01-2021, 06:02 PM
You need to have your meter read in order to stop them sending you estimates. Energy companies will accept online readings but unless you have it read by them they will continue to send you estimates.It used to be that case that they had to gain access at least once a year to read the meter.

05-01-2021, 07:04 PM
It used to be that case that they had to gain access at least once a year to read the meter.
It’s still the case. Most people either don’t let you in or aren’t at home. The amount of people that say they’ve already sent their readings in or they have a smart meter is huge. Older people are always fine as they’re more used to it.

05-01-2021, 08:03 PM
It’s still the case. Most people either don’t let you in or aren’t at home. The amount of people that say they’ve already sent their readings in or they have a smart meter is huge. Older people are always fine as they’re more used to it.

We have had people at the old place read the meter but it’s the transition at the new place that’s been pissing me off. What’s the justification for using estimates, especially ones that are so mentally high, instead of sending someone round to read the meter if they’re not going to listen to what we’ve told them anyway?

05-01-2021, 09:14 PM
We have had people at the old place read the meter but it’s the transition at the new place that’s been pissing me off. What’s the justification for using estimates, especially ones that are so mentally high, instead of sending someone round to read the meter if they’re not going to listen to what we’ve told them anyway?
I honestly don’t know how it works with people moving house mate, but I do know it’s where people tend to have the most problems. Have you tried taking a photo of the readings and sending them that?

06-01-2021, 11:07 AM
Watching the House Of Commons live and it’s annoying me that every speaker refers to each other as the “the right honourable gentleman”. It’s like a fake, forced PR exercise, particularly as they quickly mumble through it because they have to than any genuine manners or courtesy.

06-01-2021, 11:12 AM
Watching the House Of Commons live and it’s annoying me that every speaker refers to each other as the “the right honourable gentleman”. It’s like a fake, forced PR exercise, particularly as they quickly mumble through it because they have to than any genuine manners or courtesy.

I think it's because they aren't permitted to use peoples' names, so there are certain things they can say - position (prime minister, etc.), their constituency (the member for ...) or the right honourable lady or gentleman.

06-01-2021, 11:15 AM
I think it's because they aren't permitted to use peoples' names, so there are certain things they can say - position (prime minister, etc.), their constituency (the member for ...) or the right honourable lady or gentleman.

That would make sense, it’s just the way they quickly mumble through it that’s annoying me. At least vary it, Boris and Angus Robertson addressing each other as the right honourable gentleman couldn’t be more passive aggressive if they tried 😀

06-01-2021, 11:19 AM
That would make sense, it’s just the way they quickly mumble through it that’s annoying me. At least vary it, Boris and Angus Robertson addressing each other as the right honourable gentleman couldn’t be more passive aggressive if they tried 😀

There's a lot in parliament which could be streamlined and modernised - it's not going to happen in a hurry though.

06-01-2021, 07:51 PM
That would make sense, it’s just the way they quickly mumble through it that’s annoying me. At least vary it, Boris and Angus Robertson addressing each other as the right honourable gentleman couldn’t be more passive aggressive if they tried [emoji3]

Not sure Angus would be a right honourable....is he not just an honourable?

I think the ‘right’ part only relates to those in a government cabinet position past or present.

06-01-2021, 09:04 PM
There's a lot in parliament which could be streamlined and modernised

It's like watching something a Bronte or Austen has written.

08-01-2021, 12:12 PM
People who are just deliberately belligerent or obtuse, particularly when talking to someone who actually has a bit expertise in what they are talking about.

I'm in a group on Facebook for people who use the Pentlands for walking, running etc etc. There was a post today from a farmer asking people to consider not using the West Kip as a ski resort because it was disturbing wildlife and also frightening sheep and forcing them off the hill. She further stated the ewes are currently pregnant and stress and pregnancy don't go well together. She posted a picture showing at least a dozen people skiing and very clear ski tracks scarred across the hill.

The responses were largely supportive but a couple where as sad as they are predictable. One was stating it's not against the rules (I'd question if skiing on an undesignated site is essential exercise). The more infuriating response though was 'Looks marvellous. I'm sure they are being responsible and causing no problems.' You have literally just been told it is causing a problem you ****ing dimwit and skiing on a snow covered hill when the government, police, mountain rescue, the coast guard, the NHS and countless others are telling you to stay at home and not take risks is quite evidently not responsible.

08-01-2021, 02:53 PM
I honestly don’t know how it works with people moving house mate, but I do know it’s where people tend to have the most problems. Have you tried taking a photo of the readings and sending them that?

We’ve only be able to communicate via an online chat, but through these we have given the readings 3 times.

The plot got even more ridiculous yesterday when I received 2 bills for 2 different amounts over the exact same period from Scottish Gas 😂

08-01-2021, 03:02 PM
Scottish ****ing power.
End of October I did a meter reading online and it screwed up my direct debit, after 5 separate phone calls and 7 weeks later I'm still waiting for a new DD to be set up. Has to be the worst company to deal with, I'm now at the sarcastic phone call stage where I'm ready to have a right go at them, friggin morons who cant do the job they're trained for.

08-01-2021, 04:11 PM
Dundee City Council. Someone had fly tipped a whole load of carpet in our car park so I reported it online. Someone else had dumped matresses behind it along with a broken vaccuum, and at the other side of the car park a whole load of broken furniture.

Came back today to find the carpets had been removed - but literally nothing else. Infuriating.

08-01-2021, 05:25 PM

We’ve only be able to communicate via an online chat, but through these we have given the readings 3 times.

The plot got even more ridiculous yesterday when I received 2 bills for 2 different amounts over the exact same period from Scottish Gas 😂

08-01-2021, 05:36 PM
People that skip queues.

I was just in my local Co-Op on McDonald Road where there are signs telling you to queue in a specific aisle. I get to the end of the queuing aisle with only one person ahead of me after queuing for a while only for a young guy in a Kwik Fit uniform to rock up from the other direction and push himself in between me and the guy in front, thus breaking the social distancing and just ignored me pointing out there was a queue. He wasn’t wearing a mask either.

08-01-2021, 06:18 PM
People that skip queues.

I was just in my local Co-Op on McDonald Road where there are signs telling you to queue in a specific aisle. I get to the end of the queuing aisle with only one person ahead of me after queuing for a while only for a young guy in a Kwik Fit uniform to rock up from the other direction and push himself in between me and the guy in front, thus breaking the social distancing and just ignored me pointing out there was a queue. He wasn’t wearing a mask either.Don't ever go to China - your head will explode. Queueing is against their culture thus queue jumping isn't a thing, it's the norm.

EH6 Hibby
08-01-2021, 10:42 PM
Missing ingredients in my meal delivery kit.

I’m quite new to these, and it’s probably partly my fault because I didn’t check everything was there, but it’s the first time something has been missing. Got three quarters of the way through making my chicken jalfrezi meal tonight to discover there was no jalfrezi spice mix in the bag. Couldn’t have been the stock powder or chopped tomatoes or something like that, something you’re likely to have in the cupboard, nooooo, it has to be the most important ingredient and one I have literally nothing I could substitute it with. Had to go out to the shop. Fuming. :greengrin

Bangkok Hibby
08-01-2021, 11:51 PM
Don't ever go to China - your head will explode. Queueing is against their culture thus queue jumping isn't a thing, it's the norm.

Agree! In fact Britain must be the politest nation on Earth when it comes to queueing.

09-01-2021, 08:14 AM
Agree! In fact Britain must be the politest nation on Earth when it comes to queueing.

I remember reading Bill Bryson's Notes From A Small Island years ago and he remarked that the British dedication to queuing was something that he was fascinated by. He gave an example of seeing a queue at a train station ticket desk that had 2 windows open. The people present, without being asked, formed one queue, waited patiently and quietly and then the person at the front would go to whatever window became available. Very few people in the UK would even think twice about that or think it worthy of note but he said it was a proper culture shock moment. He said in parts of Asia there would have just been a scramble of people all shouting and demanding attention whilst in America it would have been 2 barely organised queues, each believing the other was moving faster and complaining bitterly about that fact.

Year ago when I worked in a hotel we used to quite often get organised Chinese tours come in. They could come across as very rude as they demanded service immediately regardless of whether you were attending to someone else. I got chatting to one of the tour guides one night, he was in his early 20s and had only really known modern China. He said the rudeness largely stemmed from the days of real hardship and scarcity that the generations that frequented these tours had known. Food and the like had been in such short supply that if you weren't first you were last.

I don't really have a problem with people not queuing if it isn't in their culture to do so but I hate it among people who know it is an expected social norm. The demise of the bus stop queue is probably the best example.

09-01-2021, 08:21 AM
I remember reading Bill Bryson's Notes From A Small Island years ago and he remarked that the British dedication to queuing was something that he was fascinated by. He gave an example of seeing a queue at a train station ticket desk that had 2 windows open. The people present, without being asked, formed one queue, waited patiently and quietly and then the person at the front would go to whatever window became available. Very few people in the UK would even think twice about that or think it worthy of note but he said it was a proper culture shock moment. He said in parts of Asia there would have just been a scramble of people all shouting and demanding attention whilst in America it would have been 2 barely organised queues, each believing the other was moving faster and complaining bitterly about that fact.

Year ago when I worked in a hotel we used to quite often get organised Chinese tours come in. They could come across as very rude as they demanded service immediately regardless of whether you were attending to someone else. I got chatting to one of the tour guides one night, he was in his early 20s and had only really known modern China. He said the rudeness largely stemmed from the days of real hardship and scarcity that the generations that frequented these tours had known. Food and the like had been in such short supply that if you weren't first you were last.

I don't really have a problem with people not queuing if it isn't in their culture to do so but I hate it among people who know it is an expected social norm. The demise of the bus stop queue is probably the best example.A local in Shanghai explained to us that it was about standing still. That they have a doctrine that if you don't keep moving/advancing then your life will go backwards.

It certainly ties in with what I witnessed.

Alfiembra
09-01-2021, 08:40 AM

Except in a busy pub, how many times have you stood at the bar waiting your turn to be served when someone barges to the front and shouts their order over everyone else?

09-01-2021, 09:05 AM
Except in a busy pub, how many times have you stood at the bar waiting your turn to be served when someone barges to the front and shouts their order over everyone else?

That’s down to the bar staff IMO. I’ve worked in busy pubs and found it pretty easy to keep tabs on who was coming and going even when it’s 2/3 deep.

CloudSquall
09-01-2021, 10:12 AM
I try to be as open and relaxed as possible about cultural differenced when I am abroad but the queue jumping is something that without fail sends my blood pressure to Pluto, it´s almost ingrained in my DNA.

My Argentine girlfriend said that the social distancing requirements in supermarkets has actually introduced the queuing system here, there´s an upside to the pandemic after all :greengrin

09-01-2021, 10:26 AM

Polite is a concept that varies from region to region. There is no global definition as to what polite actually means.

14-01-2021, 12:48 PM
People who walk about in public having a mobile phone conversation on speakerphone.

You’re not a contestant on the Apprentice.

14-01-2021, 01:00 PM
People who walk about in public having a mobile phone conversation on speakerphone.

Aye, pricks.

14-01-2021, 02:48 PM

People who stop and stand in the street on the mobile phone. It's a mobile, the clue is in the name.

14-01-2021, 06:55 PM
People (partners) who don’t put the rack in the slots in the oven but rather lay them on top of the slot brackets so when you pull the rack out slightly it tips over and the food spills in the oven.

Guess who is now raiding the freezer for something for dinner just as the planned dinner was ready.

Edit: People who use the microwave the day before and have liquid spill over onto the microwave plate but neglect to clean it.

Someone really isn’t in my good books right now.

17-01-2021, 03:05 PM
Laurence Fox.

Not someone I ever paid much attention to before but he appears to be one of those people who is setting out to be deliberately provocative and offensive.

I read him described on Twitter as an 'M&S Tommy Robinson' and that seems pretty apt.

17-01-2021, 03:24 PM
Folk who drink Cristal from the bottle with a straw. Have only just realised how much this annoys me after posting in the other thread. Does my head right in :brickwall

17-01-2021, 08:16 PM
Watching something that’s American/Canadian and them pronouncing Craig as Creg. Not sure why it irritates me so much.

18-01-2021, 06:53 AM
Watching something that’s American/Canadian and them pronouncing Craig as Creg. Not sure why it irritates me so much.

I loved Homeland but reading about it afterwards I was surprised to see the main character was called "Carrie" and not "Kerry".

18-01-2021, 09:44 AM
The absolute rats who broke into our bike shed and stole my bike. There were 2 locks on it that needed dealt with along with getting through the door so this wasn't entirely opportunistic.

On the plus side, and maybe for the little things and pleasure thread, one of the brake cables snapped last week and I was all set to fix it today. Hopefully whoever took it discovered that fact whilst cycling downhill at considerable speed.

18-01-2021, 11:04 AM
Laurence Fox.

Not someone I ever paid much attention to before but he appears to be one of those people who is setting out to be deliberately provocative and offensive.

I read him described on Twitter as an 'M&S Tommy Robinson' and that seems pretty apt.
What weird man he is. He’s actually a really good actor, but I doubt he’ll be getting much work now after the way he’s alienated himself in the last year or so. I think his wife(Billy Piper)has left him and he’s been sacked by his agent. M&S Tommy Robinson is a good description. It probably won’t be long before he’s removed from Twitter and other platforms, what he does after that I don’t know.

Bangkok Hibby
18-01-2021, 12:04 PM
"Ramping up" "kicking the can down the road" "cliff edge" "eye bleeding"
Stop it! Just stop using phrases you've never used in your entire life until some politician or poster on a football forum used them.

18-01-2021, 12:11 PM
Stop it! Just stop using phrases you've never used in your entire life until some politician or poster on a football forum used them.

A bit like "rolling out" the vaccine? It must come in big barrels or something.

18-01-2021, 12:19 PM

Got to say that anyone who uses those phrases is just accepting mediocrity.

18-01-2021, 02:02 PM
The absolute rats who broke into our bike shed and stole my bike. There were 2 locks on it that needed dealt with along with getting through the door so this wasn't entirely opportunistic.

On the plus side, and maybe for the little things and pleasure thread, one of the brake cables snapped last week and I was all set to fix it today. Hopefully whoever took it discovered that fact whilst cycling downhill at considerable speed.

My brother's bike got stolen a few months back and although he didn't hold out much hope the Police got it a few days later, fingers crossed for you, winds me up when folk steal things other people have worked hard for

18-01-2021, 05:21 PM
Thinking about the Sunderland documentary on Netflix and the disco lights at Celtic - football becoming more of an "experience". I don't want a "Balearic vibe" or blaring music, I want to watch a good game of football, fair enough have some music on when the teams run out but if I wanted ***** music and irritating lights I'd go to a nightclub.

CloudSquall
19-01-2021, 10:39 AM
Middle aged men that follow Devi Sridhar on Twitter (public health advisor to Sturgeon).

She could tweet "please drink a pint of your own urine" and you'd have a group of balding, overweight, sub standard looking men filling the replies with "Thanks for the clear and concise information!!!" which would be fine in itself if it wasn't a disguised "I'm a nice guy please read your DMs!!!" plea.

I'm 31, thin, and have a full head of hair which excludes me from the above group :greengrin

19-01-2021, 01:10 PM
Thinking about the Sunderland documentary on Netflix and the disco lights at Celtic - football becoming more of an "experience". I don't want a "Balearic vibe" or blaring music, I want to watch a good game of football, fair enough have some music on when the teams run out but if I wanted ***** music and irritating lights I'd go to a nightclub.

I'd rather there was no music at games apart from when the teams come out and at the end of games. It's often the only time I get (got) to see my pals, some of whom are in the hearing-aid denial age bracket, and conversation is impossible.

19-01-2021, 01:48 PM
Was in a shop today getting bits and pieces and added some alcohol free beer into my basket. It was just after half past nine and was told that I couldn't buy alcohol. Pointed out that it was alcohol free and being under 0.05% ABV it doesn't fall into the category of a licensed product. Alcohol will form in orange juice if left out for a day or two. The cashier then asked a colleague, then got a supervisor who I had to go through the same thing again - it's under 0.05% ABV so doesn't fall into the category of a licensed product - for him to change his mind and say "it's company policy not to sell alcohol free products before 10am".

I also bought some Pepsi at the same time and thought about asking why I was allowed to buy that but had kind of lost the will by that point.

What gets on my wick about that is it's clearly not company policy as if he was as certain about it being company policy he wouldn't have wasted several minutes umming and ahhing about it - if it was a case of "I'm really unsure of the laws on that sort of product so I'm not comfortable selling it" I'd actually have understood as you can learn from that, and also if your staff aren't confident that it's right to sell a product, I'm fine with erring on the side of caution.

To just go "It's company policy" when it blatantly isn't got right on my wick as it'll just wrongly happen again next time someone tries to do it.

19-01-2021, 02:21 PM
Was in a shop today getting bits and pieces and added some alcohol free beer into my basket. It was just after half past nine and was told that I couldn't buy alcohol. Pointed out that it was alcohol free and being under 0.05% ABV it doesn't fall into the category of a licensed product. Alcohol will form in orange juice if left out for a day or two. The cashier then asked a colleague, then got a supervisor who I had to go through the same thing again - it's under 0.05% ABV so doesn't fall into the category of a licensed product - for him to change his mind and say "it's company policy not to sell alcohol free products before 10am".

I also bought some Pepsi at the same time and thought about asking why I was allowed to buy that but had kind of lost the will by that point.

What gets on my wick about that is it's clearly not company policy as if he was as certain about it being company policy he wouldn't have wasted several minutes umming and ahhing about it - if it was a case of "I'm really unsure of the laws on that sort of product so I'm not comfortable selling it" I'd actually have understood as you can learn from that, and also if your staff aren't confident that it's right to sell a product, I'm fine with erring on the side of caution.

To just go "It's company policy" when it blatantly isn't got right on my wick as it'll just wrongly happen again next time someone tries to do it.

Funnily enough I was in a shop at 9am this morning and contemplated a couple of alcohol free beers but decided not to bother thinking that might happen since there was a small % of alcohol in them. I wasn't aware of the technicality of such low %s not counting though - looking into it and it's actually as much as 0.5% that is exempt from alcohol rules (separately, 0.05% is the threshold to call things "alcohol free").

I'd have thought the real reason would have been simply that the till would be programmed to not accept them before 10am and there wasn't anything they could do about it (which I guess could be classed as "company policy"). They may have Kish been a bit sheepish about wanting to say that they agreed with you but everyone was being overruled by a computer?

speedy_gonzales
19-01-2021, 02:32 PM

Like Dan days above, it'll be the "computer said no" that trips up the sales assistant.
Ironically, there will be products out there with alcohol in that they'll happily (and ignorantly) sell.
Some decent vanilla extract, like Neilsen Massey, will be 35% alcohol!

19-01-2021, 04:32 PM
Like Dan days above, it'll be the "computer said no" that trips up the sales assistant.
Ironically, there will be products out there with alcohol in that they'll happily (and ignorantly) sell.
Some decent vanilla extract, like Neilsen Massey, will be 35% alcohol!

It would have gone through the till as they tried it but said no. As I say, if they said "I'm not comfortable selling it as I'm not sure of the ruling" - it's the "it's company policy" that was pet peeve worthy. As if I'm to believe that they're definite that it's 100% company policy when they've spent five minutes of everyones time completely unsure.

19-01-2021, 04:42 PM
Middle aged men that follow Devi Sridhar on Twitter (public health advisor to Sturgeon).

She could tweet "please drink a pint of your own urine" and you'd have a group of balding, overweight, sub standard looking men filling the replies with "Thanks for the clear and concise information!!!" which would be fine in itself if it wasn't a disguised "I'm a nice guy please read your DMs!!!" plea.

I'm 31, thin, and have a full head of hair which excludes me from the above group :greengrinGreat shout! I just looked her up and am now following!

19-01-2021, 05:15 PM
Great shout! I just looked her up and am now following!

I've started following her too and I'm not on Twitter! 😯

Bangkok Hibby
19-01-2021, 07:21 PM

This type of decision making is absolutely rife in the oil industry, and I'm sure many others.
Doing something wrong because you're unsure is obviously the act of someone who doesn't know their job properly. In an industry riddled with incompetents promoted beyond their ability, just trying to cover their ass, it's annoying enough, but very often that wrong decision continues to be made and it becomes the norm. That boiled my piss.

19-01-2021, 07:39 PM
It would have gone through the till as they tried it but said no. As I say, if they said "I'm not comfortable selling it as I'm not sure of the ruling" - it's the "it's company policy" that was pet peeve worthy. As if I'm to believe that they're definite that it's 100% company policy when they've spent five minutes of everyones time completely unsure.

I think they're right though, even if they got to the decision the wrong way. I'm sure it's licenced products that can't be sold before 10am rather than alcoholic products.

That's just my understanding, so happy to be corrected on it.

19-01-2021, 07:53 PM
I think they're right though, even if they got to the decision the wrong way. I'm sure it's licenced products that can't be sold before 10am rather than alcoholic products.

That's just my understanding, so happy to be corrected on it.

Had a wee converation with a couple of friends who are both personal license holders - and they can't agree on it either. Can find more evidence to suggest that it's legal to sell it than not as it's beneath the threshhold to be a zero alcohol drink than an "alcohol free" drink which is a rule that dates back to 1993 I believe, I'm pretty sure that alcohol free is dodgy to sell before then but not zero alcohol.

But it does seem to be creating a wee debate. Either way - I'm quite happy to be told "I'm not comfortable to sell that" but don't like the downright lie of "it's company policy" - which if it was there would be no finding out if it's fine to sell or not. The earlier leads to making an effort for the future to finding out if it's possible, the latter doesn't.

19-01-2021, 08:34 PM
The situation described above is one that caused all kinds of issues when I managed a bar.

We treated non alcoholic beers in the exact same way as we treated alcohol. There were 2 key reasons but they are largely connected and a lot of shops and bars do similar. The packaging of non alcoholic beer and the regular thing is pretty much indistinguishable. From a social responsibility point of view that could be seen as encouraging brand recognition in a minor (think branded candy cigarettes). Secondly that similar packaging makes it hard to track who is drinking what at a table. A bottle of Becks Blue and regular Becks could easily be swapped between parent and child at a table without staff noticing. That potentially leaves an individual open to legal trouble. At weddings and the like it wasn't uncommon for an irate dad to kick off because his son had been refused service for a non alcoholic beer.

For most shops and bars it is company policy to treat beer and it's non alcoholic cousin as one and the same. Whilst legally someone under 18 can buy NA beer, the big supermarkets would all refuse service and the challenge 25 would activate on self service tills. Likewise if the barriers on the alcohol aisle are up pre 10am the NA beer will be within that boundary. Whether they would sell you it if you took it to the till is another matter, I'd suspect not as the barcode will belong to the licensed group and much like the challenge 25 activating for NA beer so it will flag up when being scanned 'out of hours'.

It comes back to the same issue as I encountered in bars. The easiest way to avoid encouraging people to attempt to buy alcohol outwith licensed hours is to treat alcohol substitutes as alcohol. I'm not talking about orange juice that has fermented slightly in the carton or whatever but rather items that are packaged to resemble and marketed as comparable alternatives to alcohol.

It sounds like the shop in question suffered from poor training, poor communication and confused or perhaps non existent policy but you would encounter the same answer in many shops and pretty much all the major supermarket groups. I think it's entirely possible the supervisor just didn't know the answer and was uncomfortable with the situation and looked for an easy out. Not an ideal way to deal with it but those selling licensed products are always wary of being caught out because the responsibility is on the person as well as the company.

19-01-2021, 08:55 PM
The situation described above is one that caused all kinds of issues when I managed a bar.

We treated non alcoholic beers in the exact same way as we treated alcohol. There were 2 key reasons but they are largely connected and a lot of shops and bars do similar. The packaging of non alcoholic beer and the regular thing is pretty much indistinguishable. From a social responsibility point of view that could be seen as encouraging brand recognition in a minor (think branded candy cigarettes). Secondly that similar packaging makes it hard to track who is drinking what at a table. A bottle of Becks Blue and regular Becks could easily be swapped between parent and child at a table without staff noticing. That potentially leaves an individual open to legal trouble. At weddings and the like it wasn't uncommon for an irate dad to kick off because his son had been refused service for a non alcoholic beer.

For most shops and bars it is company policy to treat beer and it's non alcoholic cousin as one and the same. Whilst legally someone under 18 can buy NA beer, the big supermarkets would all refuse service and the challenge 25 would activate on self service tills. Likewise if the barriers on the alcohol aisle are up pre 10am the NA beer will be within that boundary. Whether they would sell you it if you took it to the till is another matter, I'd suspect not as the barcode will belong to the licensed group and much like the challenge 25 activating for NA beer so it will flag up when being scanned 'out of hours'.

It comes back to the same issue as I encountered in bars. The easiest way to avoid encouraging people to attempt to buy alcohol outwith licensed hours is to treat alcohol substitutes as alcohol. I'm not talking about orange juice that has fermented slightly in the carton or whatever but rather items that are packaged to resemble and marketed as comparable alternatives to alcohol.

It sounds like the shop in question suffered from poor training, poor communication and confused or perhaps non existent policy but you would encounter the same answer in many shops and pretty much all the major supermarket groups. I think it's entirely possible the supervisor just didn't know the answer and was uncomfortable with the situation and looked for an easy out. Not an ideal way to deal with it but those selling licensed products are always wary of being caught out because the responsibility is on the person as well as the company.

Yeah, I guess my main peeve was looking for an easy out rather than being straightforward and saying "Y'know, I don't know so I'd rather play safe". I also sell licensed products and also was responsible for dealing with car finance in the past and if I had someone who asked for something I'd just be honest and go "I'm not sure I can do that" and look to find out for the future or if that person is willing and happy to wait for an answer.

I can't remember one customer who perhaps after an initial gripe didn't appreciate the open, honest answer of "I don't know". It's three words that are quite frankly quite reassuring.

It really, really didn't help that there was one person working the till properly choosing to have a big long conversation with the people in front who she clearly knew, but that's a gripe all in itself.

20-01-2021, 07:55 AM
I've started following her too and I'm not on Twitter! 😯

Bangkok Hibby
22-01-2021, 06:21 AM
A bit like "rolling out" the vaccine? It must come in big barrels or something.

FFS it's "cohort" now when referring to different groups to be vaccinated.
JUST SAY GROUPS YOU ****WITS!!!

22-01-2021, 04:02 PM
Frozen 1 & 2, specifically those films as I like all the Pixar films and you can’t beat the Disney classics but my 2 year old is obsessed with Frozen at the minute. I don’t get it, why was this such a behemoth?

22-01-2021, 04:37 PM
Frozen 1 & 2, specifically those films as I like all the Pixar films and you can’t beat the Disney classics but my 2 year old is obsessed with Frozen at the minute. I don’t get it, why was this such a behemoth?

Cos they're aimed at bairns?

22-01-2021, 04:45 PM

It mystifies me as well.

I have a 3 year old who runs about dressed as Elsa 'singing' Let it Go for about 90% of the week.

I love Disney films and I'd happily watch most Pixar films again and again but I don't get Frozen at all. Obviously it's aimed at kids but that doesn't usually stop me enjoying a film. Both films are slow and boring.

22-01-2021, 04:58 PM

Cos they're aimed at bairns?

It mystifies me as well.

I have a 3 year old who runs about dressed as Elsa 'singing' Let it Go for about 90% of the week.

I love Disney films and I'd happily watch most Pixar films again and again but I don't get Frozen at all. Obviously it's aimed at kids but that doesn't usually stop me enjoying a film. Both films are slow and boring.

You’re all wrong :greengrin

Frozen is magical, that’s why it’s so loved! Disney magic at its best 💫

22-01-2021, 09:33 PM
It mystifies me as well.

My niece has an 8 year old who loves frozen, and he also has the dolls, and wants to be a hairdresser when he grows up. 🤔😁

22-01-2021, 10:16 PM
Women that put the toilet seat down. I mean, wtf!!

22-01-2021, 10:24 PM
Women that put the toilet seat down. I mean, wtf!!

Urmm I think you’ll find that it’s kind of useful for them to do so [emoji12]

If you mean the lid then it’s only good manners and hygiene to close that after use. It is after all what it’s there for!

https://www.google.co.uk/amp/s/metro.co.uk/2020/11/02/plumes-of-bacteria-fired-from-flushing-toilets-when-you-dont-shut-lid-13521676/amp/

23-01-2021, 08:37 AM
Getting asked how to do something that you don’t know how to do, then the person keeping asking you even after you’ve explained you don’t know to the point that you decide to just have a go and then they don’t do what you suggest anyway.

24-01-2021, 09:30 AM
Getting asked how to do something that you don’t know how to do, then the person keeping asking you even after you’ve explained you don’t know to the point that you decide to just have a go and then they don’t do what you suggest anyway.

I’m sure Jane will get that orgasm one day, mate. Keep the faith.

24-01-2021, 09:49 AM
I’m sure Jane will get that orgasm one day, mate. Keep the faith.

24-01-2021, 10:20 AM
People who refer to pints as jars.

I've no idea why but it's just always annoyed me.

24-01-2021, 10:44 AM
People who talk through good TV or films. And then when you hit pause on the remote, complain like you’re the one who’s rude.

24-01-2021, 10:46 AM
People who refer to pints as jars.

I've no idea why but it's just always annoyed me.

Agree. Also ‘going for beers’ instead of ‘going for a few pints’. Ditto ‘Going out for some wines’. Horrendous chat.

24-01-2021, 10:49 AM
People who talk through good TV or films. And then when you hit pause on the remote, complain like you’re the one who’s rude.Happens to me all the time. If I'm watching the TV late at night I'll have the sound low so as not to disturb anyone. Then my wife or one of my daughters appear for a drink of water or something, start talking to the cat making high pitched baby talk noises while banging cupboard doors etc.

But as soon as I hit pause the comments start...

24-01-2021, 11:31 AM
Happens to me all the time. If I'm watching the TV late at night I'll have the sound low so as not to disturb anyone. Then my wife or one of my daughters appear for a drink of water or something, start talking to the cat making high pitched baby talk noises while banging cupboard doors etc.

But as soon as I hit pause the comments start...

I was watching The Odd Couple last week. Walter Matthau and Jack Lemmon. One of my all time favourite movies. Made the mistake of suggesting we all watch it. There’s a scene where the 5 male characters break off from their poker game to have sandwiches, which Lemmon has cut off the bread crusts, evidence of Lemmons obsessive nature. Really funny scene, the men like the sandwiches but hate the way their poker night has been sanitized. Great dialogue, classic script. Instead of watching properly, wife and daughter start a conversation about favourite sandwich fillings. I honestly only threw about three dirty looks before hitting pause and waiting for quiet. But you’d have thought I’d have shat myself or declared myself a neo nazi or something.

CloudSquall
24-01-2021, 03:09 PM
This is going to be weirdly specific but the type of 21 / 22 year old ******** who has had "mama and papa" bankroll everything in their cushy lives which for some reason leads them to believe they can treat other people without respect or manners.

***** of the highest order.

Peanut Shaz
24-01-2021, 06:27 PM
Agree. Also ‘going for beers’ instead of ‘going for a few pints’. Ditto ‘Going out for some wines’. Horrendous chat.
Girls/women who say things like "we must meet for a glass of fizz soon" or "need to share some bubbles".just say Prosecco or Champagne!

25-01-2021, 03:28 PM
People who talk through good TV or films. And then when you hit pause on the remote, complain like you’re the one who’s rude.

You’re married, eh?

25-01-2021, 04:21 PM
I was watching The Odd Couple last week. Walter Matthau and Jack Lemmon. One of my all time favourite movies. Made the mistake of suggesting we all watch it. There’s a scene where the 5 male characters break off from their poker game to have sandwiches, which Lemmon has cut off the bread crusts, evidence of Lemmons obsessive nature. Really funny scene, the men like the sandwiches but hate the way their poker night has been sanitized. Great dialogue, classic script. Instead of watching properly, wife and daughter start a conversation about favourite sandwich fillings. I honestly only threw about three dirty looks before hitting pause and waiting for quiet. But you’d have thought I’d have shat myself or declared myself a neo nazi or something.

Always.

I can't remember what we were watching the other week but I got the inevitable 'who's that guy?'.

That guy is the guy who was introduced in the pub called the Kings Head in Manchester which for some reason prompted you to enquire if I remembered when we went to that pub called the Queens Arms in London 8 years ago and then spend 5 minutes recounting the cocktail menu and spitting venom about the woman sitting behind us who barged past you on her way out.

Just watch the ****ing film.

25-01-2021, 04:39 PM
Always.

I can't remember what we were watching the other week but I got the inevitable 'who's that guy?'.

That guy is the guy who was introduced in the pub called the Kings Head in Manchester which for some reason prompted you to enquire if I remembered when we went to that pub called the Queens Arms in London 8 years ago and then spend 5 minutes recounting the cocktail menu and spitting venom about the woman sitting behind us who barged past you on her way out.

Worse when they spend 5 minutes farting about with their phone at the start of the movie then complain they don’t know what’s happening with the film.

25-01-2021, 05:02 PM
Always.

I do this all the time, drives my wife crazy. Just pause it!!

25-01-2021, 06:19 PM
After catching up watching loads of box set series since last March, we've spend far too long trying to figure out what other shows most of the actors are in and end up having to pause or rewind after googling them, it seems like there's only about 40 British actors and they just rotate the roles to keep them all in work.

Just_Jimmy
26-01-2021, 12:51 PM
Agree. Also ‘going for beers’ instead of ‘going for a few pints’. Ditto ‘Going out for some wines’. Horrendous chat.surely if you're drinking beer in any other measure than a pint or you're actually going out to drink wine than those are correct?

folk who drink nonsense coffees. Starbucks and the like have a lot to answer for.

26-01-2021, 12:59 PM
surely if you're drinking beer in any other measure than a pint or you're actually going out to drink wine than those are correct?

folk who drink nonsense coffees. Starbucks and the like have a lot to answer for.

If you wanted to be really w**ky, you could argue that any amount of drink/liquid can be measured in pints (fractions or multiples thereof) so "pints" still works.

As for "wines", it's only correct if you're going to drink different types. If you're sticking to the same type then it's just wine - it's the glasses that become plural.

If we start to speak about pints of wine, we sound like we're in a folk song.

26-01-2021, 01:05 PM
Twice recently I've heard younger people interviewed on TV talk about their "friendship group". When did this become a thing? What's wrong with pals, mates or even just friends?

26-01-2021, 01:19 PM

:not worth

26-01-2021, 01:26 PM
People who use the word 'done' when stating they've visited a city, country or place of interest.

"I've done Inverness. Last year, with the little woman".

No, you visited Inverness, you pretentious prat!!!!!

26-01-2021, 01:27 PM
People who use the word 'done' when stating they've visited a city, country or place of interest.

"I've done Inverness. Last year, with the little woman".

No, you visited Inverness, you pretentious prat!!!!!

I done Duns once (that was enough).

26-01-2021, 01:29 PM
I done Duns once (that was enough).

Pretentious? Moi?

26-01-2021, 04:56 PM
The number of adverts on YouTube.

I tried to listen to Akala speaking at some Oxford thing and the adverts were every 2.5 minutes.

To add to that, every football clip is prefaced by an advert for online bookies.

26-01-2021, 08:23 PM
When you stand to one side to let someone walk through a doorway or narrow path and they don't give as much as an acknowledgement of your existence, let alone a 'thank you'. Four people in a row today when I let them through a path. Infuriates me.

26-01-2021, 10:11 PM
You’re married, eh?

For the moment. Grimly hanging on:rolleyes::faf:

26-01-2021, 10:48 PM
When you stand to one side to let someone walk through a doorway or narrow path and they don't give as much as an acknowledgement of your existence, let alone a 'thank you'. Four people in a row today when I let them through a path. Infuriates me.

I think you're peeve is validated by the fact it's already been mentioned about 27 times on this thread.

27-01-2021, 06:15 AM
I think you're peeve is validated by the fact it's already been mentioned about 27 times on this thread.
I have a slightly related one. When out walking I like to be pleasant and say hello, good morning, hiya, whatever is appropriate or comes to mind to folk I meet. The amount of people who just walk past or actually duck their heads to avoid any kind of contact is amazing. We've spent a lot of time in France and you can't go anywhere without people saying bonjour or bonsoir and it just feels right and pleasant

Bangkok Hibby
27-01-2021, 07:32 AM
I have a slightly related one. When out walking I like to be pleasant and say hello, good morning, hiya, whatever is appropriate or comes to mind to folk I meet. The amount of people who just walk past or actually duck their heads to avoid any kind of contact is amazing. We've spent a lot of time in France and you can't go anywhere without people saying bonjour or bonsoir and it just feels right and pleasant

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=PT0ay9u1gg4

Sorry Ive no idea how to post a link

Bangkok Hibby
27-01-2021, 07:44 AM
Seeing et cetera written as ect is a common one just now winding me up a bit.

Another beauty is that most West of Scotland pronunciations, def-in-ate-ly now being spelt that way instead of the correct "definitely".

27-01-2021, 09:09 AM

Another beauty is that most West of Scotland pronunciations, def-in-ate-ly now being spelt that way instead of the correct "definitely".

Do you dislike it being shortened to etc, or just when the c and t are inverted?

27-01-2021, 09:16 AM
People taking short cuts through other people's gardens.

I've not actually seen it across my garden but every so often I see people walking down the street and cutting the corner by walking through someone else's garden. It saves them about 2 seconds and just comes across as very disrespectful.

Letting their dogs do it is pretty much as bad too.

Bangkok Hibby
27-01-2021, 09:21 AM
Do you dislike it being shortened to etc, or just when the c and t are inverted?

Only when inverted. Of course etc. Is common and perfectly acceptable in every day use.

27-01-2021, 09:31 AM
Of course etc. Is common and perfectly acceptable in every day use.

27-01-2021, 09:49 AM
Only when inverted. Of course etc. Is common and perfectly acceptable in every day use.

I used to have a workmate (who wasn't the sharpest knife in the drawer) who often said "etcetera, etcetera..." when talking to people. I think he must have overdosed on The King and I when he was a lad.

27-01-2021, 10:10 AM

Only vaguely related but...

When people write i.e. when they should have used e.g.

Or use e.g. when they meant i.e.

This is even quite common with Journalists, who are paid to write so should know better.

27-01-2021, 12:18 PM
Contradictory alerts from courier companies. I’m getting a new pair of boots delivered and I received a text from Hermes at 11.53 this morning to say the package was with the courier and was on its way. At 12.22 I received another text saying there had been a problem and it could not be delivered today. At 12.48 I received yet another text saying it was on its way and would be delivered today between 3 and 5.

How can it change so often in a short timeframe?

Edit: two minutes ago I got another message saying the delivery has been rescheduled to between 1 and 2. I opened the message up just as the courier rang the bell :faf:

27-01-2021, 12:29 PM
Only vaguely related but...

When people write i.e. when they should have used e.g.

Or use e.g. when they meant i.e.

This is even quite common with Journalists, who are paid to write so should know better.

Can you give us an i.e. of what you mean?

Bangkok Hibby
27-01-2021, 01:52 PM
Tories

CloudSquall
27-01-2021, 05:19 PM
https://www.bbc.com/news/world-asia-55827641

https://twitter.com/LukasStefanko/status/1066823108546478080

The need to travel somewhere to take a specific photo for social media as covered in the above links.

I wouldn't mind if it was just a queue for a photo but it's the idea that the majority of these clowns are almost beside themselves thinking about what hashtags they can use to maximise the likes on their Instagram that gets me.

28-01-2021, 06:52 AM
People who walk in the middle of pavements during a global pandemic when the vast majority are trying to keep to one side or the other. I'd have said it was a macho thing if it was just men doing it, but it's women as well. Is it their way of showing they're covid deniers, or what exactly? :dunno:

28-01-2021, 07:19 AM
Sellers on eBay who up bid their own item because they're greedy ****s and when their item doesn't sell because they've up bidded it so much they're stuck with it they then message you claiming the winning bidder didn't pay and you can now have said item at final price.

I know its against eBay rules for them to up bid but eBay rarely do anything about it.

Bangkok Hibby
28-01-2021, 07:26 AM
People who walk in the middle of pavements during a global pandemic when the vast majority are trying to keep to one side or the other. I'd have said it was a macho thing if it was just men doing it, but it's women as well. Is it their way of showing they're covid deniers, or what exactly? :dunno:

Not sure if I've visited this before but so many people just don't know how to be good, efficient pedestrians. From dawdling in the middle of the pavement as you say, stopping abruptly for whatever reason, heading for the space which is obviously yours, walking on the left on narrow roads instead of facing oncoming traffic, stubbornly waiting for the green man before they cross the road even if there's no traffic coming. The list goes on.

28-01-2021, 08:55 AM
Sellers on eBay who up bid their own item because they're greedy ****s and when their item doesn't sell because they've up bidded it so much they're stuck with it they then message you claiming the winning bidder didn't pay and you can now have said item at final price.

I know its against eBay rules for them to up bid but eBay rarely do anything about it.

My ex used to work in an eBay department called "Safe Harbour". They had some amazing software that worked well against shill bidding. If you suspect that's happening then report it. With a few clicks they can pretty much confirm if someone is at it.

28-01-2021, 09:08 AM
Crap pencils.

Back in the day you could rely on common standards. These days a good number of pencils you buy just shred and the lead breaks at any attempt to sharpen them.

28-01-2021, 10:23 AM

Now mentioned 87 times, so definitely a serious issue.

28-01-2021, 10:27 AM

People who expect others to read every post in a lengthy thread of no great importance to ensure there’s no repetition, that’s quite irritating 😂😛

28-01-2021, 10:29 AM

Will keep mentioning it until the culprits stop doing it. Most or all will have access to the internet, so they've no excuse for not coming on to hibs.net and realising that they're behaving badly.

28-01-2021, 10:43 AM
Will keep mentioning it until the culprits stop doing it. Most or all will have access to the internet, so they've no excuse for not coming on to hibs.net and realising that they're behaving badly.

Don't get me wrong, mate, I definitely agree.

I'm one of the other 86 people that moaned about it.

28-01-2021, 10:56 AM
People who expect others to read every post in a lengthy thread of no great importance to ensure there’s no repetition, that’s quite irritating 😂😛

That's been done as well. :faf:

28-01-2021, 11:08 AM
Has anybody mentioned Germans yet?

28-01-2021, 11:13 AM
Has anybody mentioned Germans yet?

What about people who walk in the middle of the pavement?

28-01-2021, 11:22 AM

Why, don't they like Germans?

28-01-2021, 11:49 AM

Germans don't walk, we march.

28-01-2021, 12:13 PM
Germans don't walk, we march.

They teach it from a very young age.

They even have kids TV movies called Märchenfilm.

28-01-2021, 12:35 PM
They teach it from a very young age.

They even have kids TV movies called Märchenfilm.

:stupidfacepalmsmiley:

28-01-2021, 12:50 PM
:stupidfacepalmsmiley:

This one? :greengrin

https://pp.netclipart.com/pp/s/268-2685696_facepalm-emoji-transparent-background.png

28-01-2021, 12:54 PM
This one? :greengrin

https://pp.netclipart.com/pp/s/268-2685696_facepalm-emoji-transparent-background.png

That's the one, just posted it in a way that only IT geeks could decipher. :greengrin

28-01-2021, 02:08 PM

Glad I live where I do. All the people I meet give me a wide berth. BO has its benefits 😁

In all seriousness, we will step off the pavement when possible, something that was not happening during the summer when there were visitors in town. If you are facing oncoming traffic you should give way to other people on the pavement.

Logie Green
28-01-2021, 02:25 PM
I'd rather there was no music at games apart from when the teams come out and at the end of games. It's often the only time I get (got) to see my pals, some of whom are in the hearing-aid denial age bracket, and conversation is impossible.

Agree. Also why is ‘music’ being played after goals are scored at games played behind closed doors when there’s about 50 folk watching?

28-01-2021, 08:48 PM
People who think they are being helpful but they’re not.

Whilst I was cooking tonight, my girlfriend came through and started tidying up. I had the scales out, then I went to weigh something else and it was back in the back of the cupboard. I then got some cornflour out, realised I needed a little more and then realised she had put that back too. Chopping board... in the dishwasher when I still needed to chop something.

She then moaned when I served it that it was cutting it fine for her zoom call with her pals. It would have been out 5-10 minutes earlier if she hadn’t been “helpful”!

29-01-2021, 09:18 AM
People who say ‘north of’ instead of ‘more than’. I’ve even started doing it. Hate it.

29-01-2021, 09:20 AM

Whilst I was cooking tonight, my girlfriend came through and started tidying up. I had the scales out, then I went to weigh something else and it was back in the back of the cupboard. I then got some cornflour out, realised I needed a little more and then realised she had put that back too. Chopping board... in the dishwasher when I still needed to chop something.

She then moaned when I served it that it was cutting it fine for her zoom call with her pals. It would have been out 5-10 minutes earlier if she hadn’t been “helpful”!

That's not 'helping', that's called being a 'control freak'.

I believe it's quite common in members of our species with 'xx' chromosomes.

29-01-2021, 09:25 AM

That does my head in.

My wife calls me the messy chef, despite my food being superior (she doesn't season anything: pasta water, potatoes, roast chicken) and she complains about the kitchen being a mess when I cook. Simple solution, stay out of the ****ing kitchen while I cook and let me tidy up after myself in my own time.

29-01-2021, 09:44 AM
That does my head in.

My wife calls me the messy chef, despite my food being superior (she doesn't season anything: pasta water, potatoes, roast chicken) and she complains about the kitchen being a mess when I cook. Simple solution, stay out of the ****ing kitchen while I cook and let me tidy up after myself in my own time.

Bl**dy Women!

29-01-2021, 11:12 AM
That does my head in.

My wife is a good cook but I'm better and she leaves me alone in the kitchen but I'm a bit messy, I do clean up after myself but never to her standards, she'll always go and clean up after me. :greengrin

29-01-2021, 12:29 PM
My wife is a good cook but I'm better and she leaves me alone in the kitchen but I'm a bit messy, I do clean up after myself but never to her standards, she'll always go and clean up after me. :greengrin

I'm the better cook and I clean up as I go.

My peeve in this regard is that when the Mrs cooks, I HAVE to help, she can't just do it herself. Well, she can, but she always has to get me involved, like she can't have me minding my own business while she's busy with it.

Conversely, I do tea (sometimes tea for 4 other people having separate things) and tidy up to let her have an hour or so to herself.

The same principle applies to tidying up, etc. If she's doing it, I can't sit without getting asked to help.

I do it, I just get on with it.

Often hear the phrase "nobody helps out in this house" as well, which is a particular peeve of mine.

29-01-2021, 01:54 PM
That does my head in.

Amen

29-01-2021, 05:41 PM
I hate when my other half does try to help with tidying, cleaning, cooking etc.

I'm better at it and it just annoys me when she gets involved.

29-01-2021, 05:53 PM

My peeve in this regard is that when the Mrs cooks, I HAVE to help, she can't just do it herself. Well, she can, but she always has to get me involved, like she can't have me minding my own business while she's busy with it.

Conversely, I do tea (sometimes tea for 4 other people having separate things) and tidy up to let her have an hour or so to herself.

The same principle applies to tidying up, etc. If she's doing it, I can't sit without getting asked to help.

Often hear the phrase "nobody helps out in this house" as well, which is a particular peeve of mine.

Aw **** I NEVER ask the wife for help with a job, but as soon as I do something selfish like sit down I get the “can you help” in a tone that suggests if I don’t I’ll pay for it emotionally for days.

29-01-2021, 06:56 PM
Aw **** I NEVER ask the wife for help with a job, but as soon as I do something selfish like sit down I get the “can you help” in a tone that suggests if I don’t I’ll pay for it emotionally for days.

29-01-2021, 08:17 PM
I hate when my other half does try to help with tidying, cleaning, cooking etc.

I'm better at it and it just annoys me when she gets involved.

I'm crap at household chores but do what I can, but when it comes to the kitchen that's my area where I do my thing. Love cooking, am pretty good at it and like being left alone and having things to hand in my own organised chaos. Don't like when that's disrupted.

29-01-2021, 10:16 PM

I do tidy as I go and afterwards but it's never good enough as she says I always give it a quick once over instead of a proper clean. She says it jokingly though as I do tend to do a lot around the house I was brought up by my dad after my parents got divorced and it was a case of doing things for myself from a young age. In our house I do the clothes washing, the shopping, the cooking and hoovering but never the kitchen and bathroom, as it's always a quick once over and she likes it done thoroughly, no problems with that as we've been together 31 years now and it all works perfectly.

29-01-2021, 11:04 PM

4 separate dinners? No chance!

As for the “no one ever helps” stuff I just make sure I always point out when I’ve done stuff so it’s fresh in the memory next time she considers it. I now get moaned at for “going on about it” but I just make sure she knows it’s as a result of her moaning.

30-01-2021, 09:56 AM
It's quite clear from this discussion that Men are definitely the oppressed Gender*

I've been telling people that (mainly women) for years but they just laugh.

* Not sure if we're supposed to say Gender or Sex nowadays, but that's a different argument.

30-01-2021, 10:48 AM
My ex used to work in an eBay department called "Safe Harbour". They had some amazing software that worked well against shill bidding. If you suspect that's happening then report it. With a few clicks they can pretty much confirm if someone is at it.

I was bidding on a pair LG SPZLS that don't come up very often at all, they seller was absolutely bidding them up they sold for £360 in the end and my top bid was £350, that was my budget. I'm fully expecting an email saying the winner hasn't paid and would you like them now? They'll get told to bolt.

30-01-2021, 11:59 AM
I was bidding on a pair LG SPZLS that don't come up very often at all, they seller was absolutely bidding them up they sold for £360 in the end and my top bid was £350, that was my budget. I'm fully expecting an email saying the winner hasn't paid and would you like them now? They'll get told to bolt.

Quite rightly so. Like I say, report them. EBay will then put them under the microscope and if they are being naughty then they'll get found out and binned.

30-01-2021, 12:07 PM
It really grips my faeces when people use a TLA and wrongly assume everyone else understands.

30-01-2021, 12:24 PM
It really grips my faeces when people use a TLA and wrongly assume everyone else understands.

😁

30-01-2021, 12:29 PM

Send them to Alaska

Bangkok Hibby
30-01-2021, 12:30 PM

Haha nice one

30-01-2021, 02:13 PM
Sainsbosses this morning and TWICE saw people pawing at the unbagged bakery stuff, not using tongs or whatever... no more cheese twists for me :-/

31-01-2021, 12:11 PM
Sainsbosses this morning and TWICE saw people pawing at the unbagged bakery stuff, not using tongs or whatever... no more cheese twists for me :-/

Even pre pandemic I never bought stuff from there for the same reason.

31-01-2021, 12:15 PM
We've got major roadworks going on the road outside our front window which is causing lots of cars to detour through our very narrow streets and has caused endless amounts of near misses as idiots come out of junctions without looking in an attempt to make up time. There's also been people moving the cones to drive through the roadworks when the workers aren't there, causing issues with pedestrians crossing the road and not expecting to see cars coming.

Yesterday morning we awoke to snow and my partner - who had been doing some outdoor personal training - phoned me to meet her at the car as she'd hurt herself in a fall and wanted a bit of help. Went down to wait for her car arriving and drew a self portrait in the snow on my own cars windscreen - only to see a police van drive into the car park and give me a ticking off for it. Even explaining that it was my car and I'm waiting for my partner didn't seem to make a difference to their attitude.

Amazed me that considering the chaos being caused by idiots around the streets that a bit of snow doodling is the main concern.

31-01-2021, 01:05 PM
People who can't keep things even moderately tidy.

We have a built in wardrobe. About a third of it is mine and the other 2/3s are for the Mrs. I keep my formal shirts together, casual shirts together, trousers together, knitwear together, jackets together and ties and belts together. There's a shelf above that I have half of that has hats, scarves etc on it. The rest of the space is a ****ing tip. Clothes hanging off hangers, stuff crammed onto the shelf, shoes everywhere. It's the same with drawer space. I have half a drawer that has sports stuff like running tops and shorts in it and a whole drawer that has polo's and t-shirts. The other space is just a bomb site. Whenever we go out I'm convinced it takes her so long to get ready because she can't find anything.

I suggested having a clear out yesterday. An England rugby top was uncovered that predates us meeting, that I have never seen worn and I didn't even know it existed. 'Are you throwing that out?' An absolutely incredulous 'no' was the answer and I'm somehow the idiot for even suggesting as much.

31-01-2021, 09:03 PM

She was at it again tonight. Was doing a roast turkey and it was time to take it out to rest. Got a mat out to put the roasting dish on, got it out the oven and when I went to put it down the mat was gone.

01-02-2021, 06:54 PM
My wife will wear my slippers if they are closer than hers.

It bothers me . It's minging. She doesnt even put them on correctly . She thinks that if she doesnt put them on fully , it doesnt count so she stands on the heel part so she can wear them like sliders.

Not only that . she will wear them when taking the bucket out . Even in the rain.

I didnt realise how much this bothered me until I started typing this out.
FFS. WTF?

She Will also lie about it.
Me "You've been wearing my slippers again"

Wife "Och I have not"

Me "Well the heel part is flat and my socks are soaking.

03-02-2021, 03:39 PM
When you're in Aldi or Lidl waiting in the queue, they open up a new checkout and the person behind you bursts out to get to that one first. Invariably a tosser that doesn't wear their mask over their nose and doesn't realise that you can be reasonably nice to checkout staff.

04-02-2021, 08:20 AM
When you're in Aldi or Lidl waiting in the queue, they open up a new checkout and the person behind you bursts out to get to that one first. Invariably a tosser that doesn't wear their mask over their nose and doesn't realise that you can be reasonably nice to checkout staff.

Look, I was in a hurry. Get over it, for goodness sake!

04-02-2021, 09:25 AM
Look, I was in a hurry. Get over it, for goodness sake!

Next time I’m going to make such a passive aggressive comment.

Not really, I’ll just frown. Heavily.

04-02-2021, 01:16 PM
Delivery drivers. Why do they go overboard in both ringing the bell and then knocking, and ALWAYS when my daughter is having her afternoon nap. Just had something delivered and the guy rang the bell 3 times and knocked 3 times all one after the other. My daughter is now up, hasn’t had enough sleep but thinks she has and will be in a grumpy mood the rest of the afternoon.

04-02-2021, 01:28 PM
Next time I’m going to make such a passive aggressive comment.

Not really, I’ll just frown. Heavily.

Duly noted.

04-02-2021, 06:26 PM
Delivery drivers. Why do they go overboard in both ringing the bell and then knocking, and ALWAYS when my daughter is having her afternoon nap. Just had something delivered and the guy rang the bell 3 times and knocked 3 times all one after the other. My daughter is now up, hasn’t had enough sleep but thinks she has and will be in a grumpy mood the rest of the afternoon.

Anyone who delivers to our block just pushes our buzzer regardless of who they are delivering to. We're number 1 and every time it's buzzer goes, 'hello', 'parcel for number 14'. We'll press number 14s buzzer then, same with take away drivers. 'Food for number 6'. Last night even the Police were at it. Just got the bairn settled, half 9 the buzzer goes, 'it's the Police can you let us in please'.

04-02-2021, 09:35 PM
Anyone who delivers to our block just pushes our buzzer regardless of who they are delivering to. We're number 1 and every time it's buzzer goes, 'hello', 'parcel for number 14'. We'll press number 14s buzzer then, same with take away drivers. 'Food for number 6'. Last night even the Police were at it. Just got the bairn settled, half 9 the buzzer goes, 'it's the Police can you let us in please'.There's got to be s secrecy button? If there is flick it to the sounder off mode... just mind to put it back on when you order a just eat or you'll go hungry! :greengrin

04-02-2021, 10:37 PM

Same in my house.

My 13 year old is a nightmare when she gets wakened like that.

05-02-2021, 05:50 AM

Is your bell audible outside?
Lost count of the hours I've wasted standing at somebody's door only to be told the bell doesn't work. If I don't hear the bell, or see it light up, I then chap the door.

05-02-2021, 01:00 PM
Lost count of the hours I've wasted standing at somebody's door only to be told the bell doesn't work. If I don't hear the bell, or see it light up, I then chap the door.

Pretty fair point, something I've never considered :agree:

05-02-2021, 01:12 PM
Hermes delivery drivers. If you're ordering trainers and Hermes are the couriers then your trainers are more than likely getting volleyed from the van to your door from about 3 miles away. Boxes are always crushed or damaged and the trainers invariably have marks on them as a result. :grr:

05-02-2021, 01:14 PM

Do you give the bottom of the door a kick as well. :greengrin

05-02-2021, 02:37 PM

My bell is audible, I don’t take my keys with me when I go for a run and my wife normally locks the door, so often have to use the doorbell. It makes sense to knock if the driver can’t hear the bell. However a lot of drivers seem to go vastly overboard with ringing the bell and also knocking. They might as well stand under my daughters window and shout that the delivery is here.

CloudSquall
05-02-2021, 11:47 PM
Canker sores / mouth ulcers, makes eating almost unbearable.

06-02-2021, 12:08 AM
Do you give the bottom of the door a kick as well. :greengrin

I've been known to hit the window when I can see them sitting glued to the telly oblivious to my attempts at smashing the door in. They've only had about half a dozen emails and texts telling them when I'd be there.

06-02-2021, 12:18 AM
Anyone who delivers to our block just pushes our buzzer regardless of who they are delivering to. We're number 1 and every time it's buzzer goes, 'hello', 'parcel for number 14'. We'll press number 14s buzzer then, same with take away drivers. 'Food for number 6'. Last night even the Police were at it. Just got the bairn settled, half 9 the buzzer goes, 'it's the Police can you let us in please'.
Some folk think 1 is the concierge.
It's unreal the amount of entry systems that don't work at all, regulars get phoned when I'm a minute away and come down to get their parcel.

06-02-2021, 12:25 AM
My bell is audible, I don’t take my keys with me when I go for a run and my wife normally locks the door, so often have to use the doorbell. It makes sense to knock if the driver can’t hear the bell. However a lot of drivers seem to go vastly overboard with ringing the bell and also knocking. They might as well stand under my daughters window and shout that the delivery is here.

If I'm your driver you've got about 20 seconds after I ring the bell.

06-02-2021, 07:55 AM
If I'm your driver you've got about 20 seconds after I ring the bell.

What if the person is elderly and infirm?

06-02-2021, 08:27 AM
What if the person is elderly and infirm?

They'll get a bit longer once I know that

06-02-2021, 03:21 PM
They'll get a bit longer once I know that

But you have buggered off before I can get to the door so you will never know.

06-02-2021, 04:12 PM
But you have buggered off before I can get to the door so you will never know.

Put it in special instructions or the neighbour will probably tell me.

08-02-2021, 06:31 PM
Butter on the edges of the lid. I have no idea how my wife manages it but it drives me nuts to pick up the butter and find the outside caked in butter.

On a related note, how my wife stacks the fridge. E.g. she’ll put the smaller, more cylinder like Philadelphia in the door and then the larger, rectangular-er butter on top of it so it falls out whenever you open the fridge. I even opened the fridge and a glass jam jar was balanced on the butter inside the door. Does she not ever see the cause and effect!!!

Feels good to get them off my chest!

08-02-2021, 06:32 PM
As per my deleted post on the tv thread.... posting on the wrong thread!

08-02-2021, 07:17 PM
There should really be a wives/partners pet peeves thread.

08-02-2021, 08:14 PM
There should really be a wives/partners pet peeves thread.

Maybe a thread to swap them so people either get a break from it or realising that they've actually got it quite good? :greengrin

08-02-2021, 08:29 PM
Maybe a thread to swap them so people either get a break from it or realising that they've actually got it quite good? :greengrin

I'll swap mine for a solenoid for the starter motor of a 2000 Kawasaki ZRX 1100. Save me trying to order one

CloudSquall
09-02-2021, 11:39 AM
Mosquito bites and mosquitos in general.

Specifically going to bed and within two seconds hearing the sound of a mosquito flying around your head, you turn on the light, and the thing has managed to warp speed into hiding.

Turn off the light and within two seconds it's back at your ear.

09-02-2021, 01:06 PM
Mosquito bites and mosquitos in general.

Specifically going to bed and within two seconds hearing the sound of a mosquito flying around your head, you turn on the light, and the thing has managed to warp speed into hiding.

Turn off the light and within two seconds it's back at your ear.

:agree: We're plagued by them in the summer over here. I've fitted insect screens to my doors and windows and that has helped keep the house free of the little buggers, but going outside at dusk can be a nightmare in the summer.

Bangkok Hibby
11-02-2021, 10:19 AM
I'm really sorry if I've posted this before but the term "eye bleeding" seen so often on the main board. Just stop and think what you're saying. Are you repeating a completely nonsensical phrase or do your eyes actually bleed?
Possibly pisses me off more than anything else I see on here.

12-02-2021, 05:03 PM
During this spell of freezing weather, grown men going around in shorts and flip flops really bugs me. I've just seen two such clowns in the local shop. "Aye, I'll just act like I'm still in Benidorm last July, even though it's sub-zero".

pollution
12-02-2021, 05:44 PM
During this spell of freezing weather, grown men going around in shorts and flip flops really bugs me. I've just seen two such clowns in the local shop. "Aye, I'll just act like I'm still in Benidorm last July, even though it's sub-zero".

I understand that but I am truly amazed that the cold does not bother them.

12-02-2021, 05:53 PM
I understand that but I am truly amazed that the cold does not bother them.

Yeah, they have to be crazy. The shorts are bad enough, but flip flops, like they are sitting around the pool... :greengrin

12-02-2021, 06:18 PM
The incorrect use of the word “officially” - as in “I officially don’t like that TV show”. Irritates the hell out of me.