View Full Version : Pet Peeves IV

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 [35] 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57

13-02-2021, 08:16 PM
During this spell of freezing weather, grown men going around in shorts and flip flops really bugs me. I've just seen two such clowns in the local shop. "Aye, I'll just act like I'm still in Benidorm last July, even though it's sub-zero".

At the same shop tonight, it was a grown woman in pyjamas, slippers and hoosecoat, who dropped a bottle of wine when queuing. What's wrong with these people?

13-02-2021, 08:47 PM
At the same shop tonight, it was a grown woman in pyjamas, slippers and hoosecoat, who dropped a bottle of wine when queuing. What's wrong with these people?

The poor love's fingers were probably cold. That's what's wrong.

13-02-2021, 09:38 PM

I saw a woman dressed like that the other week in Sainsbury’s. I took a double take but dismissed it as “fashion” and some sort of pyjama-sheik style but it seems it was more than likely just a woman in her pj’s.

Saturday Boy
16-02-2021, 08:39 PM
BBC Sounds app.

Hopeless to navigate and when you finally find the programme you want to listen to, you get the news from December First.

What idiot thought that it was better than the old IPlayer Radio?

16-02-2021, 08:59 PM
BBC Sounds app.

Hopeless to navigate and when you finally find the programme you want to listen to, you get the news from December First.

What idiot thought that it was better than the old IPlayer Radio?

Someone who has to change things to justify their well paid job.

Saturday Boy
16-02-2021, 09:16 PM

Sadly so true.

Mind you, Sound of the Sixties on Sounds, is still better than getting up at six am. Even with last week’s news.

“In the clearing stands a boxer “

It so takes me back.

17-02-2021, 09:20 AM

Which is actually the motivation behind a very large amount of changes in software.

'If it ain't broke, don't fix it' used to be the motto, but that doesn't make much money or keep people in jobs.

17-02-2021, 09:50 AM
Which is actually the motivation behind a very large amount of changes in software.

'If it ain't broke, don't fix it' used to be the motto, but that doesn't make much money or keep people in jobs.

Another thing I don't understand, is that 25 years ago the full version of Autocad was delivered on 8 floppy disks - ie. the entire programme came in a package of less than 12MB.

Now to obtain the latest LT version, there's 4GB to download.

Now I understand that there are a few new features (though nothing mind blowing), various security measures that are now needed, etc., but what else have they put in it to make it over 330 times the size???

And they wonder why things bug/crash...

17-02-2021, 10:34 AM
Gregg Wallace. No programme can’t be ruined by him shouting PHWOOOAAAR at a cheese and pickle sandwich.

17-02-2021, 10:37 AM
The incorrect use of the word “officially” - as in “I officially don’t like that TV show”. Irritates the hell out of me.

Similar one here with people who use the word literally like this. Something along the lines of "It literally blew my mind". Did it mate? did your coupon explode and did you managed to superglue it all back together? Think you missed a bit.

A total nonsense and literally makes my head explode.................

17-02-2021, 10:46 AM
Similar one here with people who use the word literally like this. Something along the lines of "It literally blew my mind". Did it mate? did your coupon explode and did you managed to superglue it all back together? Think you missed a bit.

A total nonsense and literally makes my head explode.................

It’s a word that is used to emphasise a point though and always has been.

17-02-2021, 10:49 AM
It’s a word that is used to emphasise a point though and always has been.

Incorrectly though, thus weakening the term when used properly.

17-02-2021, 11:03 AM
Incorrectly though, thus weakening the term when used properly.

I’m not so sure it is incorrect though, it’s a word that is used to emphasise a point and listed in a dictionary as that being a use for that word.

17-02-2021, 11:06 AM
I’m not so sure it is incorrect though, it’s a word that is used to emphasise a point and listed in a dictionary as that being a use for that word.

You're literally correct, although this does make my blood boil, literally.

https://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2392586/Oxford-English-Dictionary-admits-used-wrong-sense-word-literally.html

17-02-2021, 11:08 AM
On a similar note, when someone describes something as "cringe", as opposed to "it made me cringe" or "that's cringeworthy".

17-02-2021, 11:13 AM
On a similar note, when someone describes something as "cringe", as opposed to "it made me cringe" or "that's cringeworthy".

That one doesn't bother me. It's like calling someone a w***, which literally doesn't make sense but is a great expression.

17-02-2021, 11:14 AM

But when it's said that something shouldn't be taken literally, it means that what's been said isn't 100% accurate.

Therefore if what you say is true, someone can say "He was literally dead on his feet - but don't take that literally"?

My brain hurts (not literally).

17-02-2021, 11:17 AM
That one doesn't bother me. It's like calling someone a w***, which literally doesn't make sense but is a great expression.

It's nails down a blackboard for me.

pollution
17-02-2021, 11:49 AM
The wanton use of the word ' incredible '.

Nothing is good enough unless it is incredible. Its over use has rendered it void. My pet hate apart from six foot tall.

Since when has the plural of foot been foot?

He is six foot tall: I bet the same speaker would say the plane flies at 36000 feet. Why ??

17-02-2021, 12:20 PM
"Our 5 year anniversary "

17-02-2021, 01:45 PM
"Our 5 year anniversary "

Don't tell me you forgot?

:tsk tsk:

17-02-2021, 02:16 PM
But when it's said that something shouldn't be taken literally, it means that what's been said isn't 100% accurate.

Therefore if what you say is true, someone can say "He was literally dead on his feet - but don't take that literally"?

My brain hurts (not literally).

You're probably not going to much like that 'loosen' and 'unloosen' have literally the same meaning.

17-02-2021, 02:17 PM
Earworms. Got that ******* Nobody's Child ringing round ma heid all day.

17-02-2021, 02:17 PM
Earworms. Got that ******* Nobody's Child ringing round ma heid all day.

Is that my fault?:greengrin

17-02-2021, 02:18 PM
You're probably not going to much like that 'loosen' and 'unloosen' have literally the same meaning.

Naw, I'm no' having that. :tsk tsk:

17-02-2021, 02:22 PM
Naw, I'm no' having that. :tsk tsk:

How about flammable and inflammable?

17-02-2021, 03:24 PM
How about flammable and inflammable?Aaaargh! My head's just literally exploded!

17-02-2021, 04:10 PM
Is that my fault?:greengrin

You and your ******* brothers on the ******* Sydney De*******vine thread.

17-02-2021, 04:12 PM
You and your ******* brothers on the ******* Sydney Devine thread.

Ahhh.... nobody wants you. :greengrin

17-02-2021, 04:15 PM
This is a contentious one but when Alan Stubbs is interviewed after the cup final and he says "Every cloud has a silver lining, and today we got that silver lining".

He's a legend and if he punched me in the face I'd still applaud him, but that's now how that saying works, Alan.

17-02-2021, 08:52 PM
This is a contentious one but when Alan Stubbs is interviewed after the cup final and he says "Every cloud has a silver lining, and today we got that silver lining".

He's a legend and if he punched me in the face I'd still applaud him, but that's now how that saying works, Alan.

He was referencing the fact that we had lost a prior cup final and critically not got promoted so the season as a whole was the cloud no?

Seems to me a quite apt description with a nice play on words at the same time.

17-02-2021, 11:58 PM
Gregg Wallace. No programme can’t be ruined by him shouting PHWOOOAAAR at a cheese and pickle sandwich.

If you watch Masterchef and imagine Gregg Wallace as Peter Griffin from Family Guy, it’s uncanny how many times he makes similar expressions.

CloudSquall
21-02-2021, 01:41 PM
I'm not sure if I'm reading too many forums or social media posts of American persuasion but the increase in the use of the word "hustle" to describe any type of work is infuriating and should be met with a year in the gulags.

Throw in the LinkedIn "what side hustle have you developed during lockdown?" psots and I'm close to doing time.

21-02-2021, 04:59 PM
I'm not sure if I'm reading too many forums or social media posts of American persuasion but the increase in the use of the word "hustle" to describe any type of work is infuriating and should be met with a year in the gulags.

Throw in the LinkedIn "what side hustle have you developed during lockdown?" psots and I'm close to doing time.

Van McCoy will be turning in his grave. 😀

21-02-2021, 05:03 PM
People in supermarkets who block the entire aisle with their trolley when looking at things or worse, having a natter with someone.

23-02-2021, 06:12 PM
Just watching that Zoo show on bbc 2, and they’re feeding the animals food that comes from a market that sells its food for human consumption. How in 21st century Scotland can we not have a system that means food that gets chucked out from supermarkets goes to animals? Fair play to the zoo for buying it though. £500 a day on fresh fruit and veg apparently.

Bangkok Hibby
24-02-2021, 12:19 PM
UK commentators pronouncing LA as Los Angelees. Its "Los Angelis". I know this because I have an ex girlfriend and many friends who live in California. Its always bugged me this one.

24-02-2021, 12:25 PM
UK commentators pronouncing LA as Los Angelees. Its "Los Angelis". I know this because I have an ex girlfriend and many friends who live in California. Its always bugged me this one.

French people who know better than me how to spell my surname.

"M A C D..."

- No, it's M C D

"Vous êtes sûr (are you sure)?"

- Yes.

Then they type/write

"MC DON..."

- No, there's no space between the C & the D.

"Vous êtes sûr?"

- Yes

... and so on.

pollution
24-02-2021, 06:00 PM

How do you pronounce San Francisco ?

24-02-2021, 06:13 PM
The Cambridge dictionary actually gives distinctive pronunciations of Los Angeles for both British and American English. Either is acceptable.

24-02-2021, 06:18 PM

"M A C D..."

- No, it's M C D

- Yes.

Then they type/write

"MC DON..."

"Vous êtes sûr?"

- Yes

... and so on.

Same in Germany.

I blame MacDonalds!

24-02-2021, 06:23 PM
Same in Germany.

I blame MacDonalds!

In Germany they pronounce it Meck-Doe-nalds, but I've kind of gotten used to that, what really grips my excrement is how they pronounce Douglas, the have a chain of perfumery of that name and pronounce it Dooglass, makes me want to scream.

speedy_gonzales
24-02-2021, 07:02 PM
Passive/aggressive comments....nae need!

Walking along a path that leads to a supermarket, family come towards me and as if I'm Moses, they part ways. Husband laden with bags one side, Wife with the oversized push chair the other. Conscious of social distancing I slow down my approach to allow them to pick a side, but they don't so I carefully pick my way through them. The guy then turns around and bellows a "nae borra pal!". I looked back and just shook my head. What exactly did they want me to do???

24-02-2021, 07:04 PM

"M A C D..."

- No, it's M C D

- Yes.

Then they type/write

"MC DON..."

"Vous êtes sûr?"

- Yes

... and so on.

:agree: believe it or not I’ve had more than a few similar conversations in Scotland

24-02-2021, 07:19 PM
On the name front, it was a pain in the backside when giving my ex-wife’s maiden name of Rhodes. Even where you spelled it out and suffixed it with “like the Greek island” it would inevitably appear as Rose or Ross or, even worse, Roads.

Edit: and currently it is a pain in the backside when giving my girlfriend’s first name of Paula. She’s about to complete on the sale of her flat and she pointed out to the solicitor that all the documentation has her down as Paul.

And that’s without mentioning my first name which is one where there are a few different spelling variations out there.

24-02-2021, 07:31 PM
Same in Germany.

I blame MacDonalds!

Nothing worse, well few things worse, well loads of things worse actually, than hearing young people talk about "maccy dees". Too lazy to learn to say "mccy dees" properly? :bitchy:

24-02-2021, 07:43 PM
Nothing worse, well few things worse, well loads of things worse actually, than hearing young people talk about "maccy dees". Too lazy to learn to say "mccy dees" properly? :bitchy:In France it's abbreviated to mack-doa.

24-02-2021, 07:50 PM
How fitba commentators have started to use the word “delicious “ at every opportunity

Bangkok Hibby
24-02-2021, 10:04 PM
The Cambridge dictionary actually gives distinctive pronunciations of Los Angeles for both British and American English. Either is acceptable.

Not to a local it isn't.

24-02-2021, 10:11 PM
Not to a local it isn't.

How do you pronounce Paris? 😉

25-02-2021, 06:39 AM
How do you pronounce Paris? 😉

That's another one people pronounce wrong, usually french people.

25-02-2021, 06:50 AM
That's another one people pronounce wrong, usually french people.

😁

25-02-2021, 11:55 AM
How fitba commentators have started to use the word “delicious “ at every opportunity

Well they've done the word "brilliant" to death.

25-02-2021, 12:26 PM
On the name front, it was a pain in the backside when giving my ex-wife’s maiden name of Rhodes. Even where you spelled it out and suffixed it with “like the Greek island” it would inevitably appear as Rose or Ross or, even worse, Roads.

Edit: and currently it is a pain in the backside when giving my girlfriend’s first name of Paula. She’s about to complete on the sale of her flat and she pointed out to the solicitor that all the documentation has her down as Paul.

And that’s without mentioning my first name which is one where there are a few different spelling variations out there.

My wife used to have similar problems before we got married. Her maiden name is Pannasch (which is German), but everybody used to spell it like the French word Panache.

27-02-2021, 06:02 PM
The tedious “welcome back” type posts. Think some posters genuinely enjoy the petty arguments and oneupmanship. Otherwise they’d simply put the “usual suspects” on ignore.

27-02-2021, 06:11 PM
The tedious “welcome back” type posts. Think some posters genuinely enjoy the petty arguments and oneupmanship. Otherwise they’d simply put the “usual suspects” on ignore.Is it any more tedious than those who contribute nothing to the forums during "normal" times (and there's some great chat) , then appear like clockwork whenever there's something to moan about?

27-02-2021, 06:13 PM
Is it any more tedious than those who contribute nothing to the forums during "normal" times (and there's some great chat) , then appear like clockwork whenever there's something to moan about?

Probably as tedious IMO. The ignore function is under used IMO.

28-02-2021, 08:02 AM

I have 4 on ignore, 3 of them still quote me in posts but I only see that when I'm on my mobile, even though I never reply to them you'd think they'd realise by know.

28-02-2021, 08:57 AM
I have 4 on ignore, 3 of them still quote me in posts but I only see that when I'm on my mobile, even though I never reply to them you'd think they'd realise by know.The ignore function is a great tool... I used to get 'over angry' (If that's the correct phrase ) at what I took to be trolling.

I take a little pride in the fact that only one of my ignoree's haven't been mutually consented (yet!)

The hardest part is having the discipline to not peek... and getting back on thread, that's my pet peeve

28-02-2021, 10:48 AM
The tedious “welcome back” type posts. Think some posters genuinely enjoy the petty arguments and oneupmanship. Otherwise they’d simply put the “usual suspects” on ignore.

I got that yesterday because I posted my opinion.

28-02-2021, 10:59 AM

TBF you are a grumpy ******* :greengrin

28-02-2021, 11:04 AM

Can you not go out of your way just once to praise the team if we win? I'm as frustrated as anyone by the inconsistency and style of play but I do try to give credit where it's due.

28-02-2021, 11:40 AM
TBF you are a grumpy ******* :greengrin

Now I know I'm not one of your ignored 4 :greengrin

28-02-2021, 11:41 AM
Can you not go out of your way just once to praise the team if we win? I'm as frustrated as anyone by the inconsistency and style of play but I do try to give credit where it's due.

I do and have done in the past but people aren't usually looking for posts from me that are praising the team so they tend to get missed.

28-02-2021, 11:56 AM
I do and have done in the past but people aren't usually looking for posts from me that are praising the team so they tend to get missed.

Good, I'll look out for the next one, hopefully on Saturday 😀

01-03-2021, 05:23 PM
Pizza delivery companies like Dominos and Piza Hut. £30-40 for two pizzas (and even the "two for Tuesday is expensive for what you get), takes an hour to arrive and they're almost always disappointing and more crust than topping.

01-03-2021, 05:49 PM
Pizza delivery companies like Dominos and Piza Hut. £30-40 for two pizzas (and even the "two for Tuesday is expensive for what you get), takes an hour to arrive and they're almost always disappointing and more crust than topping.

I don't think you're ordering right. :greengrin

2 large pizzas and 2 sides for £25 is a permanent dominos deal, enough for a gluttonous dinner and leftovers for brunch the next day for 2.

01-03-2021, 06:21 PM
Women that start talking on the phone and don't seem to know how to hang up.

My Missus is talking to her mate right now and they both said 'cheerio' about half an hour ago... still talking though.

01-03-2021, 08:11 PM
Women that start talking on the phone and don't seem to know how to hang up.

My Missus is talking to her mate right now and they both said 'cheerio' about half an hour ago... still talking though.

On a similar note, people that need to say bye about 10 times in a row before they hang up, wtf?

01-03-2021, 08:21 PM
I don't think you're ordering right. :greengrin

2 large pizzas and 2 sides for £25 is a permanent dominos deal, enough for a gluttonous dinner and leftovers for brunch the next day for 2.

Still way over the odds IMO. I managed a store next door to a Dominos for a while, and I often traded my generous staff discount for the free pizza one of their staff would get for their lunch if they wanted. They cost a minute amount to make and have an absolutely massive margin on them.

01-03-2021, 08:32 PM
Still way over the odds IMO. I managed a store next door to a Dominos for a while, and I often traded my generous staff discount for the free pizza one of their staff would get for their lunch if they wanted. They cost a minute amount to make and have an absolutely massive margin on them.

I worked for Papa John's doing deliveries a few years back now. Back then staff got pizzas at then end of a shift at cost price. A medium was £2 and a large £3.20. At the time a large pizza would set a customer back £17.99!

The margin is mental.

01-03-2021, 08:38 PM
I worked for Papa John's doing deliveries a few years back now. Back then staff got pizzas at then end of a shift at cost price. A medium was £2 and a large £3.20. At the time a large pizza would set a customer back £17.99!

The margin is mental.

I may be wrong, but I think that Dominos at that time were less than that. I actually like making my own now, you can freeze the dough quite easily so usually make enough for 4-6 bases and freeze them individually so we can defrost them and make them as is. I begrudge the cost more than ever now.

01-03-2021, 09:29 PM

There's loads of other costs to be covered beyond the raw ingredients though. Of course they still make a profit afterwards but that's business, at the end of the day they kneed to make dough.

Once you break down the deals they have it's maybe £9/10 you'd apportion to the large pizza. They're worth the money IMO for convenience and quality.

But then again, I can't quite get my pizza stone working right which may be a factor here. :greengrin

01-03-2021, 09:34 PM
I may be wrong, but I think that Dominos at that time were less than that. I actually like making my own now, you can freeze the dough quite easily so usually make enough for 4-6 bases and freeze them individually so we can defrost them and make them as is. I begrudge the cost more than ever now.One thing about Brittany is that we don't get robbed buying pizzas.

Domino's are between 9-11€ (with some simple cheaper ones for 6€).

https://www.dominos.fr/la-carte/nos-pizzas

And at my local kebab shop, all pizzas are 9€ and are pretty good.

I don't grudge these prices at all.

01-03-2021, 11:45 PM

No one ever pays full price for a Dominos pizza!

02-03-2021, 07:08 AM
On a similar note, people that need to say bye about 10 times in a row before they hang up, wtf?

02-03-2021, 10:40 AM
It’s absolutely ridiculous. I used to be a baker and we often made pizzas for our lunch. The dough costs very little and the toppings are the same. The mark up must be enormous.

edit
ive just seen pb’s post. That’s unbelievable how they get away with it. Are they any better than the ones you get from a chippy?

02-03-2021, 11:14 AM
It’s absolutely ridiculous. I used to be a baker and we often made pizzas for our lunch. The dough costs very little and the toppings are the same. The mark up must be enormous.

edit
ive just seen pb’s post. That’s unbelievable how they get away with it. Are they any better than the ones you get from a chippy?

I'm cautious of embarking upon a one man crusade to defend/promote dominoes here... :greengrin

Realistically no-one pays full price for a pizza, if they do then that's on them. They'll usually get about £10 for a large pizza when it's part of a deal, the raw ingredients being £3 feels about right at that point. :dunno:

Generally, they're better I would say. Probably get the odd exception to that rule here or there though.

Personally I'd rather have the £10 M&S pizza deal as it strikes a good balance of price and quality, but if I want more indulgence and less effort then dominoes (or PH, PJ, or LaFav) provides that.

02-03-2021, 11:17 AM
I'm cautious of embarking upon a one man crusade to defend/promote dominoes here... :greengrin

Realistically no-one pays full price for a pizza, if they do then that's on them. They'll usually get about £10 for a large pizza when it's part of a deal, the raw ingredients being £3 feels about right at that point. :dunno:

Generally, they're better I would say. Probably get the odd exception to that rule here or there though.

Personally I'd rather have the £10 M&S pizza deal as it strikes a good balance of price and quality, but if I want more indulgence and less effort then dominoes (or PH, PJ, or LaFav) provides that.

TBH, I'd be amazed if the raw ingredients in the scale they purchase them would be anywhere close to £3.

We have a bakery in Dundee that also has a pizza oven and they do really good 12" pizzas for around £7 or so. They clearly are able to make money on them at that price, even though they won't have the same economies of scale when it comes to costing.

02-03-2021, 11:20 AM
TBH, I'd be amazed if the raw ingredients in the scale they purchase them would be anywhere close to £3.

We have a bakery in Dundee that also has a pizza oven and they do really good 12" pizzas for around £7 or so. They clearly are able to make money on them at that price, even though they won't have the same economies of scale when it comes to costing.

You could be right, I just used £3 because it was used previously. :aok:

02-03-2021, 11:24 AM
You could be right, I just used £3 because it was used previously. :aok:

I think it's the new advert on the TV where there's a family and they complain that the other takeaway they got was "too small" and "how much?!?" and I found myself shouting at the TV "what do you think a Dominos is???".

When I make a pizza at home I don't think the cost of the raw ingredients is at £3 for two - you don't even need a pizza stone, just a frying pan that will go under the grill as well and you've got a really good pizza. Stretched dough in a hot pan, add your toppings, check that it's crisp underneath and throw under a hot grill for a couple of minutes til everythings cooked and gooey on top.

There are some takeaways that I like getting as making it yourself is more hassle than it's worth, but to charge so much for something really easy to make is too much for me.

pollution
02-03-2021, 11:37 AM
It really riles me when seeing ads for bottles of eg lager.

The drinkers are usually groups of lads all drinking from the bottle as if that's the way to do it.

A brewer's and publican's dream : inevitably the beer is flat after the second or third swig and is discarded. Time to buy another !

02-03-2021, 11:45 AM
As someone who lives in a designated hotspot for Pizza, I have La Favorita, Origano, Dominoes, Pizza Hut, Papa John's and Razzo a 5 minute walk from my house, I must say unless I fancy a log fired pizza then I always use Best Kebab for my pizza cravings, £7 for a 12 inch pizza and some roast tatties to go along with it can't be beaten

02-03-2021, 01:10 PM
Scam calls, just had an automated message from HMRC advising me they know I've committed fraud and if I didn't hit number one to talk to them they'd send a warrant out for my arrest

Hit option one as I like speaking to these folk, when I asked her if people genuinely fall for it she hung up in the huff

Looks like it's saughton for me

02-03-2021, 01:27 PM
People who say they are super excited.

02-03-2021, 02:06 PM
The number of adverts I've had on social media today for dominoes because of this thread.

02-03-2021, 02:45 PM
The number of adverts I've had on social media today for dominoes because of this thread.

Not me. I'm chapping.

02-03-2021, 02:55 PM
People who say they are super excited.

You sound super peeved.

02-03-2021, 03:08 PM

I just go to the supermarket and get them to make me up a pizza with the toppings I want. I prefer that to ordering one from a takeaway.

02-03-2021, 04:15 PM
I just go to the supermarket and get them to make me up a pizza with the toppings I want. I prefer that to ordering one from a takeaway.

Tuesday 2 for 1 tonight, that's tea sorted for me. :thumbsup:

02-03-2021, 04:20 PM

Preperation H preperation H Preperation H preperation H Preperation H preperation H Preperation H preperation H Preperation H preperation H Preperation H preperation H Preperation H preperation H Preperation H preperation H Preperation H preperation H Preperation H preperation H Preperation H preperation H Preperation H preperation H Preperation H preperation H Preperation H preperation H Preperation H preperation H Preperation H preperation H Preperation H preperation H Preperation H preperation H Preperation H preperation H Preperation H preperation H Preperation H preperation H Preperation H preperation H Preperation H preperation H Preperation H preperation H

:greengrin Hope you don't have a shared computer

02-03-2021, 04:24 PM
Preperation H preperation H Preperation H preperation H Preperation H preperation H Preperation H preperation H Preperation H preperation H Preperation H preperation H Preperation H preperation H Preperation H preperation H Preperation H preperation H Preperation H preperation H Preperation H preperation H Preperation H preperation H Preperation H preperation H Preperation H preperation H Preperation H preperation H Preperation H preperation H Preperation H preperation H Preperation H preperation H Preperation H preperation H Preperation H preperation H Preperation H preperation H Preperation H preperation H Preperation H preperation H Preperation H preperation H

:greengrin Hope you don't have a shared computer

Write it out correctly (100 times, in your best handwriting, in your own time, after school) and you might get a bite. :greengrin

04-03-2021, 08:30 AM
Tuesday 2 for 1 tonight, that's tea sorted for me. :thumbsup:
Sounds good. I didn’t know they did 2 for 1, but I do now :greengrin

04-03-2021, 08:46 AM
Write it out correctly (100 times, in your best handwriting, in your own time, after school) and you might get a bite. :greengrin

Ah bollocks.

05-03-2021, 06:49 AM
Roadworks right outside your house at 7-45am. No need. Absolute racket.

They’ve been digging the street up all week, think it’s for fibre broadband or something, which I thought I already had anyway.

05-03-2021, 08:00 AM

They’ve been digging the street up all week, think it’s for fibre broadband or something, which I thought I already had anyway.
I’ve had exactly the same, one of the workies told me it was for Vodafone. Thankfully they finished up yesterday at mines.

Bangkok Hibby
05-03-2021, 09:02 AM

I used to have the Salvation army brass band at 10am on a sunday morning which was the middle of the night for any normal teenager 😂😂😂

05-03-2021, 11:54 AM

Balgreen :dunno:

05-03-2021, 12:42 PM
Balgreen :dunno:

Yep

05-03-2021, 03:28 PM
Yep

Just recently moved here and I'm next to one of these metal ramps across the road, nightmare every time a car goes over it. :rolleyes:

05-03-2021, 11:09 PM
Just recently moved here and I'm next to one of these metal ramps across the road, nightmare every time a car goes over it. :rolleyes:

I’ll try to go slower over it so as not to disturb you 😁

06-03-2021, 01:24 PM
Yep

Did I hear monkey noises and a growling lion last night from the zoo about 2.30. :greengrin

06-03-2021, 01:26 PM
I’ll try to go slower over it so as not to disturb you 😁

It's gone now but thanks for that. :greengrin

pollution
06-03-2021, 05:56 PM
Did I hear monkey noises and a growling lion last night from the zoo about 2.30. :greengrin

On their way to the dentist, I believe.

06-03-2021, 09:05 PM

That was my bedroom actually. Role play.

10-03-2021, 03:40 PM
Morrisons.

“Market Street”. No. “Fruit and veg aisle”.

Piss off.

10-03-2021, 04:28 PM
Going for a Coffee at a takeaway during the Covid era and the conversation with the teenage girl serving goes like this...

"I'd like a large Americano, extra strong, with some cold milk and two sugars, please".

-- "OK, do you want any milk with that?"

"Yes please"

-- "Hot or Cold?"

"Cold"

...goes away to make coffee, comes back 30 seconds later.

-- "Would you like any sugar?"

"Yes, two sugars, please"

-- "Brown or white?"

"Brown"

...disappears for another two or three minutes.

-- "Did you want it with an extra shot?"

"Yes, that's why I asked for extra strong"

-- "oh is that the same thing?"

"I do believe so, yes"

...and she disappears again, natters to one of her mates for a few minutes, strolls to coffee machine, then eventually comes back with the promised coffee.

I get to the car, take a sip of my unbelievably weak coffee, with hot milk and what seems like six sugars, and vow to myself "never again".

...but I'll probably try again tomorrow.

10-03-2021, 05:13 PM
Morrisons.

“Market Street”. No. “Fruit and veg aisle”.

Piss off.

Yep I'd love to know how many more customers they've attracted with that inventive branding. Utter bollox.

pollution
10-03-2021, 05:36 PM
Yep I'd love to know how many more customers they've attracted with that inventive branding. Utter bollox.

Did this not start with open fridge displays oozing attractive airs to pretend to be something it wasn't ?

It did not last long. In fact, Morrisons is not at all bad for fish and meat.

15-03-2021, 05:27 PM
Multipacks of wrapped individual twirl bars. Eleven in a pack. Prime number.

Either designed for families of eleven or for me to scoff by myself then feel ashamed.

16-03-2021, 08:19 AM
Multipacks of wrapped individual twirl bars. Eleven in a pack. Prime number.

Either designed for families of eleven or for me to scoff by myself then feel ashamed.

I've been that second paragraph far too many times over lockdown.

16-03-2021, 04:26 PM
I've been that second paragraph far too many times over lockdown.

Time to start wearing a condom! 🤔

17-03-2021, 09:09 PM
Time to start wearing a condom! 🤔

Funnily enough, I've already got 4 kids 🤣

19-03-2021, 02:39 PM
I was desperate for a decent walk today, and bored of going to the same places all the time, so we walked around the loch at Strathclyde Country Park.

It must be... by far... the most littered of all the places I've ever visited for a day out.

The amount of takeaway cups, cans, crisp packets, beer bottles, etc, just dumped in the wooded areas and in the water was unbelievable.

There are also some picnic benches near the car parks and every one was covered with, and surrounded, by discarded booze bottles and litter from what looked like a rave up the night before.... despite the fact there were loads of empty litter bins nearby.

Seriously, what is wrong with some people that they think it's OK to just dump everything like this?

Jakhog1
19-03-2021, 07:33 PM
I was desperate for a decent walk today, and bored of going to the same places all the time, so we walked around the loch at Strathclyde Country Park.

It must be... by far... the most littered of all the places I've ever visited for a day out.

The amount of takeaway cups, cans, crisp packets, beer bottles, etc, just dumped in the wooded areas and in the water was unbelievable.

There are also some picnic benches near the car parks and every one was covered with, and surrounded, by discarded booze bottles and litter from what looked like a rave up the night before.... despite the fact there were loads of empty litter bins nearby.

Seriously, what is wrong with some people that they think it's OK to just dump everything like this?

What is wrong with people, that's is really disgusting and sad to hear, funnily enough we were talking about a change of scenery for a walk and we thought of Strathclyde country park, don't think I will bother now after reading that, that's the whole point of a walk is to enjoy the scenery and take in the surrounding area, not much pisses me off but people that have no respect for others and the countryside is the mind of a simpleton

CloudSquall
19-03-2021, 10:16 PM
Backseat driving from people that can't drive

19-03-2021, 11:46 PM

I always take an empties bag with me but some of the messes you come across are ridiculous.

21-03-2021, 02:29 PM
I always take an empties bag with me but some of the messes you come across are ridiculous.

See, that's so simple and practical.

21-03-2021, 03:11 PM
Times when you really can’t be arsed doing anything but the other half is in completely the opposite frame of mind.

21-03-2021, 03:44 PM
Slow flights of 4 on the golf course. I've no problem with beginners needing 9 or 10 shots per hole, it's the 3 or 4 practice swings before taking those shots that makes me want to scream.

stuart-farquhar
21-03-2021, 04:02 PM
People driving basic cars and vans who desperately try to overtake me as I'm driving a sports car within the speed limit. This never happened in my old car.

21-03-2021, 05:13 PM
Times when you really can’t be arsed doing anything but the other half is in completely the opposite frame of mind.

Used to be the story of my Saturday morning when I worked full time, now it's the other way round!

21-03-2021, 06:48 PM
[QUOTE=matty_f;6502856]Times when you really can’t be arsed doing anything but the other half is in completely the opposite frame of mind.[/QOTE]

Me on a daily basis. It’s even worse if I’ve got a hangover because then it’s like I deserve it.

22-03-2021, 07:10 AM
People driving basic cars and vans who desperately try to overtake me as I'm driving a sports car within the speed limit. This never happened in my old car.

Depends if you're 1 or 20 mph within the limit

22-03-2021, 07:26 AM
Depends if you're 1 or 20 mph within the limit

I think the point was that people are reacting differently now that he's in a sports car.

Neither are flash at all, but more people overtake me if I'm driving m wife's car than my own, even though I stick to the same speed.

22-03-2021, 07:58 AM
I think the point was that people are reacting differently now that he's in a sports car.

Neither are flash at all, but more people overtake me if I'm driving m wife's car than my own, even though I stick to the same speed.
My GPS tells me exactly what speed I'm going and it's amazing how many people get annoyed about being passed by an old banger they believe to be speeding.

22-03-2021, 09:00 AM

He's got a point but it definitely works both ways. Our second car is a Toyota Aygo. I use the speed inhibitor and set it to the speed limit according to the satnav, the reaction from Mercedes and BMW drivers at being overtaken by an elephant's roller skate is definitely different to that when we overtake in our other car. The reaction is even more aggressive when we've got the caravan on the back. There's definitely a lot of ***** compensation going on out on the roads.

22-03-2021, 09:04 AM
He's got a point but it definitely works both ways. Our second car is a Toyota Aygo. I use the speed inhibitor and set it to the speed limit according to the satnav, the reaction from Mercedes and BMW drivers at being overtaken by an elephant's roller skate is definitely different to that when we overtake in our other car. The reaction is even more aggressive when we've got the caravan on the back. There's definitely a lot of ***** compensation going on out on the roads.

I agree. Driving does something to some people.

22-03-2021, 10:55 AM

A few years back I bought an older Porsche Boxster (bought for £5k, sold for the same) as it was a childhood ambition to own a Porsche.

I was driving on a sunny day with the roof down and distinctly heard a teenager scream "TOSSER" loudly at me as I drove past. Dented the go that :greengrin

22-03-2021, 01:30 PM
Companies who don't reply to or acknowledge emails.

I emailed 2 companies about a similar issue on Thursday last week. One sent an automated reply instantly acknowledging my email had been received and actually provided an answer in the template response. They followed it up with a full email explanation about 50 minutes later.

The other didn't respond at all. I followed up with a phone call this morning and was told I had to use the email contact provided. I explained I already had and was told to leave my details and someone would call or email me back but I should send an email again anyway. Needless to say I still haven't heard.

I've worked in customer facing roles pretty much all my working life and I hate poor customer service. Setting up an automated acknowledgment or even just sending a holding email if you don't have an answer is so simple but seems to be beyond some pretty big companies.

22-03-2021, 03:49 PM
The wee squirt of cold water when I click my showerhead round to the power setting.

22-03-2021, 05:22 PM
Companies who don't reply to or acknowledge emails.

I emailed 2 companies about a similar issue on Thursday last week. One sent an automated reply instantly acknowledging my email had been received and actually provided an answer in the template response. They followed it up with a full email explanation about 50 minutes later.

The other didn't respond at all. I followed up with a phone call this morning and was told I had to use the email contact provided. I explained I already had and was told to leave my details and someone would call or email me back but I should send an email again anyway. Needless to say I still haven't heard.

I've worked in customer facing roles pretty much all my working life and I hate poor customer service. Setting up an automated acknowledgment or even just sending a holding email if you don't have an answer is so simple but seems to be beyond some pretty big companies.

totally agree, it’s lazy and shows what they think of their customers

on a related note, companies who advertise jobs, you get an auto-reply acknowledging the application, then nothing. Ever. Is it that hard to set up a standard template email to say ‘thanks for applying, we aren’t taking your application any further’?

I’ve applied for 30+ jobs over the last 3 months, and had a total of 4 bother to actually let me know I won’t be going any further

EH6 Hibby
22-03-2021, 06:59 PM
I’m getting really sick of companies taking the pee when your contract with them is up, it seems that nearly all of them are at if. Got an email for my broadband and giving me a renewal price which is slightly cheaper than my current deal. Decided to leave and try one of the ones without a line rental charge, and lo and behold I’ve been offered a better price to stay.

22-03-2021, 08:45 PM
I’m getting really sick of companies taking the pee when your contract with them is up, it seems that nearly all of them are at if. Got an email for my broadband and giving me a renewal price which is slightly cheaper than my current deal. Decided to leave and try one of the ones without a line rental charge, and lo and behold I’ve been offered a better price to stay.

That does my head in as well. People must just accept it though.

I don’t understand anyone that sticks with the same company blindly without looking at other options and haggling a bit. I do it with everything. Saved £150+ on my car insurance this year, saved £5 a month on my pet insurance, £6 a month on my broadband, have a better deal on my gas and electricity. None of them are huge amounts of money in themselves but they all add up and all it takes is a few minutes research and a couple of emails or phone calls.

23-03-2021, 03:22 PM
That does my head in as well. People must just accept it though.

I don’t understand anyone that sticks with the same company blindly without looking at other options and haggling a bit. I do it with everything. Saved £150+ on my car insurance this year, saved £5 a month on my pet insurance, £6 a month on my broadband, have a better deal on my gas and electricity. None of them are huge amounts of money in themselves but they all add up and all it takes is a few minutes research and a couple of emails or phone calls.

I routinely change providers for these things.

There are a few reasons:

1) If the incumbent thinks it’s a good idea to penalise me for staying with them for another year and their first move is to screw me on price then I’m totally disinclined to even bother asking them to offer me a better price

2) New customer pricing tends to be the best price regardless and for many insurance products etc. there is plenty of options to get comparable cover elsewhere

3) Topcashback can be available on most of these things. Sometimes this can be pretty significant amounts. For example I got £75 cashback on a £225 insurance policy last year...the £225 was already market leading so getting a third back on that was an unbeatable deal.

pollution
23-03-2021, 06:00 PM

There are a few reasons:

1) If the incumbent thinks it’s a good idea to penalise me for staying with them for another year and their first move is to screw me on price then I’m totally disinclined to even bother asking them to offer me a better price

2) New customer pricing tends to be the best price regardless and for many insurance products etc. there is plenty of options to get comparable cover elsewhere

3) Topcashback can be available on most of these things. Sometimes this can be pretty significant amounts. For example I got £75 cashback on a £225 insurance policy last year...the £225 was already market leading so getting a third back on that was an unbeatable deal.

That third discount is interesting: I was selling my flat and the insurance was to expire. I only needed three months' worth before selling

and the agent said that if I cancelled there would be a fee of a third of the total annual premium.

EH6 Hibby
24-03-2021, 12:08 AM

There are a few reasons:

I usually change after they’ve tried to do me out of money, but in this case I’ve decided not to, it’s really bugging me though, but I’m still working from home and hoping to continue that at least part of the week if not all, even when allowed back to the office, and I am wary of going with another broadband provider because I’ve had no problems with my current one and I know most of my colleagues have. I’ve heard of lots of issues with other providers in my area, so sometimes it’s best to stick with what you know. The price they’ve given me matched what I would have got going elsewhere.

25-03-2021, 07:54 PM
Wilted spinach.

I'd tell it to get to f... But it already has. :confused:

25-03-2021, 08:06 PM
On Twitter when someone tweets about something topical, usually a serious subject. They then reply to their own tweet with something along the lines of 'since you are here why not check out my Herbalife/Nu Skin/Juice Plus deals'.

Using suicides, murder and abuse to promote your pyramid scheme. Classy.

26-03-2021, 08:10 AM
Did STV (Scottish Television) really show the England game instead of the Scotland game last night? Wtf is that all about.

26-03-2021, 08:24 AM
Did STV (Scottish Television) really show the England game instead of the Scotland game last night? Wtf is that all about.

A certain Edinburgh South MP has an ongoing campaign to get Scotland matches (and The Open) back on free to air TV

The Sky deal is a good one though so I can't see either the SFA or the governments budging. At the end of the day ITV and it's sibsidiaries are a commercial enterprise and will only bid what they think the rights to a certain set of fixtures are worth.

26-03-2021, 12:38 PM
When someone calls you and they don’t get good phone signal. Rather than waiting until later and are in a better area for phone calls or look for an alternative like a text or email they just keep calling over and over again.

Even more annoying when they start to get nippy that you can’t hear them.

26-03-2021, 02:39 PM

No they didn’t do it ‘instead’ they simply didn’t have the rights to show the Scotland game, Sky do.

I suppose they could have put on a re-run of a 1970’s James Bond movie rather than show the England game like they used to do [emoji23]

26-03-2021, 09:14 PM
The term 'bravehearts' when describing a Scottish sporting performance.

It's just so easy. Prior to 1995 journos must have had to work a little bit harder to find a descriptor.

CloudSquall
26-03-2021, 10:56 PM

It's just so easy. Prior to 1995 journos must have had to work a little bit harder to find a descriptor.

Ian Crocker is the absolute worst for this.

"It's time for bravehearts" ...every...single...****ing...time..

27-03-2021, 11:41 AM

Oh for the days of Montford, Crampsey and even Archie. Proper journalists.

27-03-2021, 05:27 PM
Ian Crocker is the absolute worst for this.

"It's time for bravehearts" ...every...single...****ing...time..

My 12 year old was invited to a St Pauli football camp a couple of years back and got labelled with the nickname Braveheart, he hated it.

29-03-2021, 12:12 AM
Forum posters getting fully involved in a debate and then announcing “it’s not a hill worth dying on” for them, when they decide they can’t win, were wrong, or have had enough.

Or posters asking others if it’s a hill they’re going to die on.

Aye just that totally unnecessary phrase that seems to be a new one.

Bangkok Hibby
29-03-2021, 12:22 AM
The use of the word "insane" currently fashionable on the internet to describe anything a bit good, a bit exciting, a bit profitable etc.
I've no objection to it's use on mental health grounds. I'm certainly not offended on others behalf. I just think it's ****ing stupid.

29-03-2021, 12:23 AM
The use of the word "insane" currently fashionable on the internet to describe anything a bit good, a bit exciting, a bit profitable etc.
I've no objection to it's use on mental health grounds. I'm certainly not offended on others behalf. I just think it's ****ing stupid.

“Sick” was always a strange word for meaning ‘really good’ as well...

Some f****ing folk

29-03-2021, 05:08 AM
“Sick” was always a strange word for meaning ‘really good’ as well...

Some f****ing folkI think it started with "bad" in the States.

The French equivalent is "terrible" which does actually cause confusion.

Alfiembra
29-03-2021, 07:08 AM
When the price for postage and packing is more than the item itself, I need a small rubber O-ring its a special size and not readily available so have to go to a specialist supplier. The item costs £2.00, however p+p £2.95 I don’t see how that can be justified.

29-03-2021, 08:31 AM
Forum posters getting fully involved in a debate and then announcing “it’s not a hill worth dying on” for them, when they decide they can’t win, were wrong, or have had enough.

Maybe it's a seasonal thing? :dunno:

29-03-2021, 11:29 AM

Or when a number of posters have made a counter argument to the one they made, said poster then goes in the huff and says there's no point posting if there's going to to be a 'pile on'.

Though on a similar vein, anybody that disagrees with anything I post is one of my biggest pet peeves...

29-03-2021, 11:41 AM
Or when a number of posters have made a counter argument to the one they made, said poster then goes in the huff and says there's no point posting if there's going to to be a 'pile on'.

Though on a similar vein, anybody that disagrees with anything I post is one of my biggest pet peeves...

I've just noticed your location underneath your username and avatar and burst out laughing again. Who would have known that Hearts losing would cause laughter a full week after the game? :greengrin

29-03-2021, 12:42 PM
Not a hill I would choose to die on, but posters who respect the:rules: inasmuch as they self-censor their swearywords by asterixing out part of the words, but then miscount the number of asterixes required. It's f****ing insane.

29-03-2021, 12:48 PM
Not a hill I would choose to die on, but posters who respect the:rules: inasmuch as they self-censor their swearywords by asterixing out part of the words, but then miscount the number of asterixes required. It's f****ing insane.Ha ha! Thats had me as well... scratchin' ma heid trying to work it out.

Mind you, if they have the 1st and last letter you can work it out... all asterisks and I'm flummoxed :greengrin

29-03-2021, 12:50 PM
Ha ha! Thats had me as well... scratchin' ma heid trying to work it out.

Mind you, if they have the 1st and last letter you can work it out... all asterisks and I'm flummoxed :greengrin

Surely you mean you're f******ed"?

29-03-2021, 01:38 PM
I've just noticed your location underneath your username and avatar and burst out laughing again. Who would have known that Hearts losing would cause laughter a full week after the game? :greengrin

You're welcome

pollution
29-03-2021, 05:58 PM
Surely you mean you're f******ed"?

I cannot read anything that has asterisks in the headline.

It's the visual equivalent to nails down a, well, white (?) board.

29-03-2021, 06:19 PM
Yodel. Ordered a scarifier, after two weeks of painful chasing, they admitted they have lost it and I’ve been refunded. The scarifier I had bought is now sold out, great!

29-03-2021, 06:35 PM
Yodel. Ordered a scarifier, after two weeks of painful chasing, they admitted they have lost it and I’ve been refunded. The scarifier I had bought is now sold out, great!

Same happened to me with amazon, I suspect they just realised they can get more money from elsewhere because of demand.

Stick
29-03-2021, 08:03 PM

Screwfix £59.99

https://www.screwfix.com/p/wr6002-1500-32cm-raker-scarifier-230-240v/296fg

CloudSquall
29-03-2021, 08:58 PM
On Twitter when someone tweets about something topical, usually a serious subject. They then reply to their own tweet with something along the lines of 'since you are here why not check out my Herbalife/Nu Skin/Juice Plus deals'.

Using suicides, murder and abuse to promote your pyramid scheme. Classy.

"While you're here....follow me on insta"

Get that crap directly tae F..

30-03-2021, 09:16 AM
The women at work “sending virtual hugs” every time one of them faces a minor inconvenience in their day and choose to share it with everyone.

30-03-2021, 09:43 AM
My girlfriend’s way of loading the dishwasher. All the heavy duty stuff (pots, pans) on the top shelf and all the glassware and mugs, etc. on the bottom.

30-03-2021, 10:47 AM
Updates that make things worse and online technical support determined to blame anything other than their update.

Alfiembra
30-03-2021, 10:51 AM
I’ve noticed more recently that a lot of mail I receive and also text on some web pages are using grey as opposed to black for the colour of the text which with my dodgy eyesight I find difficult to read. Got a letter the other day and the paper was a very pale grey colour with the text on it a slightly darker grey which was completely illegible to me even with glasses. Why???

30-03-2021, 11:38 AM
Change for changes sake. Microsoft teams did an update and moved all the buttons around and they’ve made it worse

30-03-2021, 11:46 AM
Spam e-mails. I look after the "contact" email address for my work, purely since when it was set up 15 years ago there were only 2 of us - the other being my boss (now retired) who wasn't at all computer/email oriented.

I can understand why spammers want to advertise viagra, or get you to click on links for whatever dodgy reason, but recently I've been inundated with emails from made up addresses with fake latin "lorem ipsum" text and nothing else.

What's the point? is there one?

30-03-2021, 01:46 PM
"While you're here....follow me on insta"

Get that crap directly tae F..
Does anyone actually then go and follow them? I never get that.

30-03-2021, 01:49 PM
Does anyone actually then go and follow them? I never get that.

:agree: it's a bit like footers advertising iffy football podcasts.

30-03-2021, 04:19 PM
:agree: it's a bit like footers advertising iffy football podcasts.

:faf: some right bell-ends out there, eh?!

31-03-2021, 12:18 AM
“Tin pot”
“A bit cringe”
“Chronic patter”

04-04-2021, 01:41 PM
That someone though Seaspiracy was a better name than Conspirisea for that particular documentary.

04-04-2021, 05:49 PM
People who eat stuff like graze box nuts at their desk - noisiest random irritant in the office when it returns - should be banned. At least with crisps you know there’s an end on sight. Why do they need to be this load and also can we not invent crisp packets that rustle less? I’m sure there’s psychology behind this all.

04-04-2021, 05:50 PM
That someone though Seaspiracy was a better name than Conspirisea for that particular documentary.

😂👏

04-04-2021, 05:52 PM
Grown adults that still go on about drinking alcohol in that “what am I like” way as if the vast majority of the adult population don’t like a good drink as well.

04-04-2021, 05:53 PM
People who eat stuff like graze box nuts at their desk - noisiest random irritant in the office when it returns - should be banned. At least with crisps you know there’s an end on sight. Why do they need to be this load and also can we not invent crisp packets that rustle less? I’m sure there’s psychology behind this all.I saw a thing about crisps a couple of weeks ago. Did you know that the "air" in the bags is actually azote (to keep the crisps fresh), with just enough being added to protect the crisps from being crushed but without each bag taking too much space and risking bursting. Not a peeve at all. Sorry.

04-04-2021, 05:53 PM
Grown adults that still go on about drinking alcohol in that “what am I like” way as if the vast majority of the adult population don’t like a good drink as well.

Add to this, anyone that describes a drink a wee bit early in the day as “cheeky”.

04-04-2021, 05:54 PM
Add to this, anyone that describes a drink a wee bit early in the day as “cheeky”.

Agree.. and a lot of the time it doesn’t even have to be early... just a drink.

04-04-2021, 06:11 PM
We went for a nice quiet walk in the local woods today. Took my camera and caught a buzzard swoop down and grab a frog which it took up in the trees. Took a good position and got three or four photos that were good, but had a branch in the way. Tried to quietly shuffle a little further down so I could get a clear photo, only for some old bat to loudly go "Oh, what are you taking photos of today then?" and scared it away. When I said a buzzard she couldn't have been less interested.

Noise for the sake of noise spoiling others enjoyment of the nature around us. Absolutely infuriating.

04-04-2021, 06:12 PM

A "cheeky Nandos". Nandos is not cheeky.

Maybe a "dreary Nandos".

04-04-2021, 06:26 PM
A "cheeky Nandos". Nandos is not cheeky.

Maybe a "dreary Nandos".

These Just Eat emails you get every Tuesday - "Cheeky up your Tuesday".

I emailed them back to ask how I actually do that. Be slightly disrespectful but in a somewhat playful way? Show a lack of politeness in a manner that is amusing or appealing? I honestly have no idea!

Still awaiting their response...

04-04-2021, 06:32 PM
On behalf of Mrs M....

Artificial turf in people's gardens.

Just get some real grass, people!!!!

04-04-2021, 06:33 PM
On behalf of Mrs M....

Artificial turf in people's gardens.

Just get some real grass, people!!!!

You/she obviously has never lived in a newbuild. :greengrin

04-04-2021, 06:36 PM
You/she obviously has never lived in a newbuild. :greengrin

Don't shoot the messenger

04-04-2021, 06:37 PM
Don't shoot the messenger

Tell her to get her own account then! :greengrin

04-04-2021, 06:40 PM
The Tour de France pelotons using the underpass and pavements at Milton Link at the weekend. Two weeks in a row I've nearly been mown down whilst pushing the buggy.

04-04-2021, 06:44 PM
Tell her to get her own account then! :greengrin

She'd be banned on the first day...

04-04-2021, 07:00 PM
The Tour de France pelotons using the underpass and pavements at Milton Link at the weekend. Two weeks in a row I've nearly been mown down whilst pushing the buggy.

Always.

I run that way and every single weekend I have to jump out of the way of a group of Chris Froome wannabes who don't seem to realise they are in an urban area rather than the French mountains.

Never any attempt to slow down and an apology is the stuff of dreams. Tbh they are so unconcerned with anyone else I doubt they would notice if they mowed down half the children in Magdalene.

04-04-2021, 08:22 PM

I emailed them back to ask how I actually do that. Be slightly disrespectful but in a somewhat playful way? Show a lack of politeness in a manner that is amusing or appealing? I honestly have no idea!

Block!!!!

04-04-2021, 08:42 PM

Tescos at one point did "duffins" - half doughnut, half muffins.

After a few drinks I e-mailed their customer complaint line angry that they hadn't called them "muffnuts".

I got a reply the following morning essentially saying that I could call them that if I wanted to.

04-04-2021, 09:05 PM
Tescos at one point did "duffins" - half doughnut, half muffins.

After a few drinks I e-mailed their customer complaint line angry that they hadn't called them "muffnuts".

I got a reply the following morning essentially saying that I could call them that if I wanted to.

Brilliant

05-04-2021, 05:36 AM
Always.

I run that way and every single weekend I have to jump out of the way of a group of Chris Froome wannabes who don't seem to realise they are in an urban area rather than the French mountains.

Never any attempt to slow down and an apology is the stuff of dreams. Tbh they are so unconcerned with anyone else I doubt they would notice if they mowed down half the children in Magdalene.

Agreed. Some of the looks I've had from them have been as if I'm pushing the buggy across the Champs Elysees.

05-04-2021, 05:41 AM
Also, whilst I'm moaning...

Crossing the Asda car park on Saturday, three cars went straight across the zebra crossing whilst I was waiting to cross with the buggy. After some gesturing on my part, I crossed behind the third car which had stopped due to traffic ahead of it. The driver had his window down and as I glared at him he said, "well if you want to cross, you have to start walking".

Aye pal, I'll just shove the laddie into the road and hope pricks like you are paying attention.:rolleyes:

Bangkok Hibby
05-04-2021, 07:08 AM

Maybe a huge whoosh on my part but are you aware its made by the same people behind "cowspiracy"

05-04-2021, 12:32 PM
Another Pet Peeve posted on behalf of Mrs M....

MEN!

No specific details were given... or are actually required.

I'm sure we all understand :wink:

05-04-2021, 12:56 PM
Always.

Someone is going to get seriously hurt down the prom by a cyclist going too fast.

I just hope it’s the cyclist and not a small kid who is maybe guilty of running side to side or on a scooter.

05-04-2021, 01:14 PM
Maybe a huge whoosh on my part but are you aware its made by the same people behind "cowspiracy"

Doesn’t really matter.

Cowspiracy works better than conspiracow

Conspirasea works better than seaspiracy

05-04-2021, 01:28 PM
Another Pet Peeve posted on behalf of Mrs M....

MEN!

No specific details were given... or are actually required.

I'm sure we all understand :wink:

Absolutely. She's still banned though. :wink:

05-04-2021, 02:41 PM
Also, whilst I'm moaning...

Crossing the Asda car park on Saturday, three cars went straight across the zebra crossing whilst I was waiting to cross with the buggy. After some gesturing on my part, I crossed behind the third car which had stopped due to traffic ahead of it. The driver had his window down and as I glared at him he said, "well if you want to cross, you have to start walking".

Aye pal, I'll just shove the laddie into the road and hope pricks like you are paying attention.:rolleyes:

What a f****ng ar***ole.

And I don’t mean you!

05-04-2021, 05:10 PM
Absolutely. She's still banned though. :wink:

Phew!

05-04-2021, 07:16 PM
What a f****ng ar***ole.

And I don’t mean you!

06-04-2021, 12:58 AM
The backs of all my remote controls seem to be falling off, it’s all happening at the same time, both downstairs and upstairs. I suspect there’s a sinister reason and I’ll be appearing on an alien abduction show talking about my remote control problems and the weird dream I had about being gang probed.

06-04-2021, 07:04 AM
“We need to play with a bit of swagger”

Absolutely meaningless bollocks. Unless we want our players impersonating the Gallagher brothers.

06-04-2021, 09:36 AM
The backs of all my remote controls seem to be falling off, it’s all happening at the same time, both downstairs and upstairs. I suspect there’s a sinister reason and I’ll be appearing on an alien abduction show talking about my remote control problems and the weird dream I had about being gang probed.

Apparently this is quite a common experience shortly before abduction.

Just remember the welcome phrase for when you're on the ship...

"I welcome our new alien overlords"

06-04-2021, 10:21 AM
Apparently this is quite a common experience shortly before abduction.

Just remember the welcome phrase for when you're on the ship...

"I welcome our new alien overlords"
Between the Aliens and the batteries falling out, I’m a nervous wreck here.

07-04-2021, 02:18 AM
Humming. Just humming in general.

EH6 Hibby
07-04-2021, 07:02 AM
Humming. Just humming in general.

Add whistling to that. No need for it. Not even usually whistling a tune.

07-04-2021, 07:03 AM
Add whistling to that. No need for it. Not even usually whistling a tune.

Is it not part of the test to become a bus driver?

07-04-2021, 09:11 AM
The term “mansplaining”.

In my experience it’s largely a nonsense word, made-up so that the women at work can try and sound clever about whichever tradesman they’ve had in doing an honest job.

And if I wanted to be a d1ck about it I would say it’s sexist as well.

Jay
07-04-2021, 09:14 AM
The term “mansplaining”.

In my experience it’s largely a nonsense word, made-up so that the women at work can try and sound clever about whichever tradesman they’ve had in doing an honest job.

And if I wanted to be a d1ck about it I would say it’s sexist as well.

I'm being a bit thick. What does it mean? I dont think I've heard it before

07-04-2021, 09:31 AM

Neither had I until it became the new favourite word amongst some colleagues of mine. But I believe it’s used to describe when a man tries to explain something to a woman in an oversimplified and/or condescending way. I hope I didn’t just mansplain that 😀

Don’t get me wrong - it probably has its place on the occasion. I’m just talking about my experience of hearing it used and overused. And I could pick a lot of peeves about my work colleagues!

Jay
07-04-2021, 09:40 AM
Neither had I until it became the new favourite word amongst some colleagues of mine. But I believe it’s used to describe when a man tries to explain something to a woman in an oversimplified and/or condescending way. I hope I didn’t just mansplain that 😀

Don’t get me wrong - it probably has its place on the occasion. I’m just talking about my experience of hearing it used and overused. And I could pick a lot of peeves about my work colleagues!

If it was aimed at women it would be banded as sexist. It's pretty derogatory. I'd never use it .

07-04-2021, 10:13 AM

Popularised by Jason Leitch, I always get the impression he's talking to an infant class.

07-04-2021, 11:59 AM

I could tell you, but that would be 'mansplaining' ;-)

In all fairness, the term originated with a proper meaning, which was when some (rather stupid) men would try to explain things on behalf of women, things that surely only the woman herself could understand (e.g. their experiences of misogyny in the workplace). It's a bit like when some rich white actor tries to explain poverty and racism.

Like many other useful terms and phrases, the word was sadly hijacked and can now be used to shut men up, when somebody just doesn't want to hear what somebody has to say about any subject.

07-04-2021, 12:04 PM
I could tell you, but that would be 'mansplaining' ;-)

In all fairness, the term originated with a proper meaning, which was when some (rather stupid) men would try to explain things on behalf of women, things that surely only the woman herself could understand (e.g. their experiences of misogyny in the workplace). It's a bit like when some rich white actor tries to explain poverty and racism.

Like many other useful terms and phrases, the word was sadly hijacked and can now be used to shut men up, when somebody just doesn't want to hear what somebody has to say about any subject.

This sounds very, very likely and fits-in with my experience and expectations 👍

w pilton hibby
07-04-2021, 01:02 PM

You forgot the Whoosh! emoji 😁

07-04-2021, 01:16 PM
You forgot the Whoosh! emoji 😁

She's too sneaky for that

😏

07-04-2021, 01:51 PM
She's too sneaky for that

��

Done me up like a kipper anyway :applause:

I want to blame logging in after a nightshift but I reckon I was getting had either way :greengrin

Jay
07-04-2021, 04:07 PM
Done me up like a kipper anyway :applause:

I want to blame logging in after a nightshift but I reckon I was getting had either way :greengrin

I would love to be able to say this is the case and take credit for being so witty but I genuinely didnt know. :tee hee: :tee hee:

07-04-2021, 04:21 PM
I would love to be able to say this is the case and take credit for being so witty but I genuinely didnt know. :tee hee: :tee hee:

Awww, you've disappointed me now!

CloudSquall
08-04-2021, 02:27 PM
Famous(ish) people posting dramatically "I'm taking a break from all of the negativity on social media" only to reappear two days later.

08-04-2021, 02:49 PM
Famous(ish) people posting dramatically "I'm taking a break from all of the negativity on social media" only to reappear two days later.

It's a bit like when posters on here announce "time for me to log-off this place for a while" etc..

Naebody else is bothered mate, just don't post if you don't want to.

11-04-2021, 09:51 AM
Trying to open vacuum sealed products...getting that wee tab at the side to actually work and rip off the top film can be an impossible mission.

Often I just resort to an infuriated slash with a knife or kitchen scissors after struggling for ages to get the damn thing to peel off so I can get to the contents!

11-04-2021, 11:14 AM
Trying to open vacuum sealed products...getting that wee tab at the side to actually work and rip off the top film can be an impossible mission.

Often I just resort to an infuriated slash with a knife or kitchen scissors after struggling for ages to get the damn thing to peel off so I can get to the contents!
That is so frustrating, sometimes you have a go at all 4 corners, only to be thwarted every time. When you get it first time it’s delightful. :greengrin

CloudSquall
11-04-2021, 02:38 PM
People that leave 1 star reviews for a product when their complaint is entirely regarding the service of Amazon etc and nothing to do with the actual product or company selling the product.

11-04-2021, 06:04 PM
People that leave 1 star reviews for a product when their complaint is entirely regarding the service of Amazon etc and nothing to do with the actual product or company selling the product.

People who only ever leave one star "if I could give zero stars I would" reviews or "BEST PRODUCT EVER!!!!!1!!!1!!!" reviews and nothing in between.

11-04-2021, 06:31 PM
On the theme of reviews.

When people review a hotel and don't give any thought to the star rating or what they paid when judging it.

We went for a couple of days down south last summer. We didn't want to spend a fortune so picked a hotel at about £45 a night. The reviews were mixed at best but we chanced it. It was fine. Dated and tired but spotlessly clean and the continental breakfast was fine.

I always like to leave a review and particularly so when somewhere has been getting an unfair raw deal. I dug a bit into the other reviews and some of them were ridiculous. The 1 star reviews included 'I had to climb a flight of stairs and there was no porterage although the receptionist did offer to help', 'we struggled to get parked, the website did mention limited parking but this was still disappointing', 'the continental breakfast was poor offering only fruit, cereal, pastries and toast. No hot option'......

It's £40 a night. If it's clean, tidy and the staff are polite then you should be relatively happy. If you want multiple breakfast options, ample on site parking, porters or a concierge and similar then pay the going rate for that. Don't mark people offering a budget option down because you have unrealistic expectations.

11-04-2021, 06:34 PM
On the theme of reviews.

When people review a hotel and don't give any thought to the star rating or what they paid.

We went for a couple of days down south last summer. We didn't want to spend a fortune so picked a hotel at about £45 a night. The reviews were mixed at best but we chanced it. It was fine. Dated and tired but spotlessly clean and the continental breakfast was fine.

I always like to leave a review and particularly so when somewhere has been getting an unfair raw deal. I dug a bit into the other reviews and some of them were ridiculous. The 1 star reviews included 'I had to climb a flight of stairs and there was no porterage although the receptionist did offer to help', 'we struggled to get parked, the website did mention limited parking but this was still disappointing', 'the continental breakfast was poor offering only fruit, cereal, pastries and toast. No hot option'......

It's £40 a night. If it's clean, tidy and the staff are polite then you should be relatively happy. If you want multiple breakfast options, ample on site parking, porters or a concierge and similar then pay the going rate for that. Don't mark people offering a budget option down because you are a cheapskate.
I read a review for a hotel I was thinking about booking and the person gave it 4 stars, they said they would’ve given it 5 but the the weather wasn’t great.

11-04-2021, 07:25 PM
I read a review for a hotel I was thinking about booking and the person gave it 4 stars, they said they would’ve given it 5 but the the weather wasn’t great.

When I worked in the motor trade you'd get reviewed on absolutely everything. Some of the things people would mark you down for were incredible; even had one that read "Brilliant service, couldn't fault it" and scored four stars. Meant I lost out on a bonus for it as it's five stars or nothing.

There was a story on 'Angry People in Local Newspapers' a couple of years back about someone who won an award from TripAdvisor for most reviews posted in a year - something like 700 or so. Maybe more. Curiosity led me to looking up that profile and it would appear that their daily schedule consisted of get up, walk to the local McDonalds for a coffee, get lunch from Greggs, walk by somewhere on the way home and occasionally go out for a 'Spoons tea. Almost every single one of those five stars, she even reviewed a stand containing tourist attraction leaflets at a train station.

I'll always leave a positive review for independent restaurants, cafes and the like on the usual sites as it's a good way to show appreciation; one place I helped run got massive attention from good reviews and it's nice to repay the favour. Reviewing a coffee from McDonalds (five stars every single time does literally nothing to help local restauranteurs and hospitality businesses, in fact it just hides them in amongst the multi national chains. It's tacky as hell.

11-04-2021, 08:38 PM

Yeah that’s an annoying one.

Amazon is full of them and was actually shaking my head at exactly this the other night....one in particular caught my eye as it was a one star review due to the excessive packaging the product had came in, not a single mention of the product or if it was any good or not!

11-04-2021, 10:10 PM
Yeah that’s an annoying one.

Amazon is full of them and was actually shaking my head at exactly this the other night....one in particular caught my eye as it was a one star review due to the excessive packaging the product had came in, not a single mention of the product or if it was any good or not!

On a similar theme with Amazon - the questions section.

Q: does the product come in green?
A: I don’t know we got the red one.

Why bother answering?

pollution
11-04-2021, 11:27 PM
Subtitles that arrive before the words are spoken.

12-04-2021, 07:13 PM
On a similar theme with Amazon - the questions section.

Q: does the product come in green?
A: I don’t know we got the red one.

Why bother answering?

That does my nut in. Though I was recently entertained when I was looking at a neck massager on Amazon. The questions were all asking whether it could be used, erm, internally.

12-04-2021, 08:17 PM
That does my nut in. Though I was recently entertained when I was looking at a neck massager on Amazon. The questions were all asking whether it could be used, erm, internally.

Definite choking hazard. :greengrin

13-04-2021, 08:04 AM

Aw come on, I was just curious!

15-04-2021, 06:48 PM
Posts on DotNet that insist on telling me what software and phone they used to write said post

"Sent from my fancy-nancy Samsung using TippetyTallk"

Seriously, what makes you think I care what bl**dy phone you've got?

Is it an overcompensating thing or what?

15-04-2021, 07:27 PM
Posts on DotNet that insist on telling me what software and phone they used to write said post

"Sent from my fancy-nancy Samsung using TippetyTallk"

Seriously, what makes you think I care what bl**dy phone you've got?

Is it an overcompensating thing or what?It's an automatic thing, and you have to go out your way to find and change the settings. If you change phone you have to remember to do it again. It's a pest.

15-04-2021, 08:17 PM
It's an automatic thing, and you have to go out your way to find and change the settings. If you change phone you have to remember to do it again. It's a pest.

Automatic on every phone? Don't think it comes up for mine.

15-04-2021, 08:19 PM
Automatic on every phone? Don't think it comes up for mine.It's automatic if you install and use Tapatalk to browse forums.

What's worse is that if you use it for more than one forum, you have to change the settings for each forum.

15-04-2021, 08:32 PM
It's automatic if you install and use Tapatalk to browse forums.

What's worse is that if you use it for more than one forum, you have to change the settings for each forum.

Fair enough, never got involved in that.

CloudSquall
19-04-2021, 01:31 PM
Probably been covered already (probably by myself) but the way people on Youtube all scream and wave their arms about in the exact same way no matter the subject matter.

"HEEEEEEEEEEEY GUYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYS TODAY WE'RE GOING TO BE TALKING ABOUT INVESTMENTS. REMEMBER TO SMASH THAT LIKE BUTTON AND SUBSCRIBE AND HIT THAT BELL BUTTON FOR NOTIFICATIONS!!!!!!!!!!!!!"

It's for that reason I try to find blogs instead of shifting through hours of self promotion and "LOOK AT ME!!!!!" behaviour in the search for actual information.

19-04-2021, 03:29 PM
Whether in writing or speaking, people that end sentences (usually making them rhetorical questions) with "no?".

E.g. "Better than getting knocked out by Brora Rangers, no?"

I can't really explain why it annoys me so much.

19-04-2021, 03:42 PM
'Deconstructed' dishes in restaurants.

Just now I'm making a rhubarb crumble. Rhubarb being stewed with some root ginger and sugar (still making sure it's tart) and made a crumble topping with some blitzed hazelnuts and pinhead oats. Will top the stewed rhubarb with that, sprinkle a little brown sugar and cook. When it's in the oven, make a simple custard. Unless something dramatic goes wrong, it's going to be delicious.

What I don't want is some grilled rhubarb, a sauce, a sprinkle of some dry crumble mix on the side and have to put it together myself. That's not a rhubarb crumble, it's an abomination.

19-04-2021, 06:26 PM
Whether in writing or speaking, people that end sentences (usually making them rhetorical questions) with "no?".

I can't really explain why it annoys me so much.

In a similar vein people who end a sentence by trying to force you to agree with them. Usually with a phrase like 'am I right?' or similar.

'The sky is pink with yellow spots, am I right?'

It's deliberately aggressive and provocative. It's the way bullies talk as it's anticipating and trying to provoke conflict.

19-04-2021, 08:18 PM

I can't really explain why it annoys me so much.Because it should end with "eh no"

Sent from my SM-G965F using Tapatalk

20-04-2021, 09:21 PM
Every time I sign something I’m reminded of how crap my signature is. It’s not fancy, it doesn’t look good on anything and genuinely could have been done by a child.

21-04-2021, 09:05 AM
Neither my partner and I want a child; we're both very much on that wavelength and we're very comfortable with it. Every time you hear the "Oh, so is a baby the next step?" and you say no, you always get the usual "Oh, you'll regret that when you're older" or "but it'll change your lives" and the like. That in itself is annoying.

We are getting a dog in a few weeks time, and these very same people are saying "Oh, but it's so much hard work" and the like.

What the hell do they think a child is other than hard work and a responsibility?