View Full Version : Pet Peeves IV
pollution
13-08-2018, 04:28 PM
Child pornography?
No, obviously not.
I was referring to the decision made to close a thread regardng alleged cliques on this site.
13-08-2018, 05:43 PM
No, obviously not.
I was referring to the decision made to close a thread regardng alleged cliques on this site.
The one that had descended into puns about periods? It wasn't me who closed it but I'd argue it was a sound decision.
There was an 8 page thread about cliques a while back that had some good points raised. Maybe that would be a better option to make a point about a related topic on?
13-08-2018, 06:35 PM
Alleged homeless people that sit and beg, especially those that sit next to ATM's. There was one outside the Co-op on ER before the Motherwell game was asking for £20 off people for a bed for the night. When a woman went to the ATM he upped it to £70. Aye, like thats ever going to happen. *****in chancer!
Agreed, a whole lot of them out there including some of those selling the Big Issue.
pollution
13-08-2018, 06:43 PM
The one that had descended into puns about periods? It wasn't me who closed it but I'd argue it was a sound decision.
There was an 8 page thread about cliques a while back that had some good points raised. Maybe that would be a better option to make a point about a related topic on?
No, it was your post started 05.37 yesterday " A friendly reminder.. "
I coudn't make my point because it was closed. It wasn't a controversial subject and why was it closed anyway?
Thanks.
13-08-2018, 06:45 PM
Agreed, a whole lot of them out there including some of those selling the Big Issue.
Give them f all, I'm willing to bet if you done surveillance on one of them you'd find that they went to house after their hours of begging.
13-08-2018, 06:59 PM
No, it was your post started 05.37 yesterday " A friendly reminder.. "
I coudn't make my point because it was closed. It wasn't a controversial subject and why was it closed anyway?
Thanks.
We're thinking of the same thread.
It was closed because a serious issue, or as serious an issue as a thread about an internet forum can be, just got a bit silly.
Of the 21 posts there was my OP, 6 jokes about Zitelli/the telly, 8 posts about periods, a couple of decent suggestions and 4 posts abou a clique. That was about it.
I'd be happy to debate if there is or isn't a clique on here (I don't believe there's a clique as such but we have been running so long there are undoubtedly groups who know each other abd little in jokes amongst such groups). As I said there was a long running thread about that very topic a couple of months ago.
That thread wasn't closed as an act of censorship and it's something I'll admit to getting nippy about. It's been an accusation thrown at us for years, with little foundation, that we are puppets of the Hibs board who manipulate the forum to present a prescribed picture.
13-08-2018, 07:31 PM
Give them f all, I'm willing to bet if you done surveillance on one of them you'd find that they went to house after their hours of begging.
One of them? Any one of them you mean?
There's plenty who would take that bet.
13-08-2018, 08:13 PM
The company I work for is trying to push the big wigs in media as "thought leaders".
If that wasn't enough a friend on Instagram made reference to "travel influencers".
Anyone described as that, or worse describes themselves as that, is a grade A C U Next ..
The company I work for is trying to push the big wigs in media as "thought leaders".
If that wasn't enough a friend on Instagram made reference to "travel influencers".
Anyone described as that, or worse describes themselves as that, is a grade A C U Next ..
"Direction of travel" and "current landscape" do my nut in
13-08-2018, 08:30 PM
Even if we decided that they do have a roof over their heads at night, the fact they choose to sit outside on the concrete begging for loose change makes me think they're in dire need for it - food, clothes, electricity - and don't have any better means to obtain money.
Or have I missed your point?
13-08-2018, 08:50 PM
Even if we decided that they do have a roof over their heads at night, the fact they choose to sit outside on the concrete begging for loose change makes me think they're in dire need for it - food, clothes, electricity - and don't have any better means to obtain money.
Or have I missed your point?
A lot of them are at it in the sense they have homes and take to the streets to beg as it can be very lucrative, they do it in shifts some of them and during the festival the tourists are duped into giving them any loose change. Some have nice haircuts, a fresh shave and decent gear on.
13-08-2018, 08:52 PM
People who have no sense of compassion or empathy, and who can't see past what they think is their own entitlement.
Sent from my SM-A520F using Tapatalk
14-08-2018, 08:30 AM
Searching for a hotel on Booking.com and you have to manually select the option to not see hotels that are fully booked and therefore not available.
14-08-2018, 09:02 AM
Not knowing when to show empathy or compassion due to the massive amount of con artists in our midst. It really has got that bad that I am beginning to doubt every plea for help or donation.
14-08-2018, 12:09 PM
People whose default setting, without any concrete evidence to prove it is merited, towards any other member of the human race is one of cynicism and mistrust :greengrin
Oh, and also when you go to a supermarket and all of the soft fruit, peaches, nectarines and apricots, are as hard as baseballs :grr:
14-08-2018, 02:50 PM
Hooray Henry accent
People whose default setting, without any concrete evidence to prove it is merited, towards any other member of the human race is one of cynicism and mistrust :greengrin
Oh, and also when you go to a supermarket and all of the soft fruit, peaches, nectarines and apricots, are as hard as baseballs :grr:
Or have finger or thumb dents in. Same with avocados.
14-08-2018, 04:49 PM
Not knowing when to show empathy or compassion due to the massive amount of con artists in our midst. It really has got that bad that I am beginning to doubt every plea for help or donation.
I arrived at that conclusion years ago after meeting professional beggars and don't mention the registered charity owners without a charitable thought in their heads.
15-08-2018, 11:49 AM
People that are "meh" towards things.
15-08-2018, 11:56 AM
Or have finger or thumb dents in. Same with avocados.
That was me. Sorry!
I know it’s the fashion just now, but shirts with the top button done with no tie on really nips my head.
tie = top button done
no tie = top button undone
15-08-2018, 01:39 PM
People that are "meh" towards things.
Really not fussed either way about that one. :yawn2:
15-08-2018, 02:02 PM
I know it’s the fashion just now, but shirts with the top button done with no tie on really nips my head.
tie = top button done
no tie = top button undone
Polo shirts with the top button done up...
15-08-2018, 03:06 PM
Ill see you polo shirt with top button done up and raise you the polo shirts that are collar-less (seems to be a new fasion for Golfers) or the polo shirts that have buttons on the collar as well
15-08-2018, 03:22 PM
Really not fussed either way about that one. :yawn2:
Which is how it should be said :wink:
EH6 Hibby
16-08-2018, 12:40 PM
It's probably been brought up already, but the constant puns on this messageboard are really starting to bore me, I can't be the only person who immediately stops reading a thread that I found interesting the second someone makes a pun.
No doubt someone will now make a pun about this. Hilarious. :rolleyes:
16-08-2018, 12:44 PM
It's probably been brought up already, but the constant puns on this messageboard are really starting to bore me, I can't be the only person who immediately stops reading a thread that I found interesting the second someone makes a pun.
No doubt someone will now make a pun about this. Hilarious. :rolleyes:
Agree, puns are crap and annoying when looking for genuine updates on threads.
16-08-2018, 01:14 PM
This trend of kids invading the pitch at a game to get a hug or selfie from their favourite players, where are the parents and are they being punished? I hope so.
Meant to add that in my post.... grinds my gears
16-08-2018, 09:20 PM
The main board after we get beat. It's full of imposters with uber Hibs usernames like "Hibee 70 63 girfuy yam *******" spouting negative divisive pish about individual players.
Take a look at the other boards and you'll see most of the posters have normal usernames relating to their name, location, job or another non hibs related characteristic. Why is it all the negative posters have uberhibs handles?
16-08-2018, 10:15 PM
Agree, puns are crap and annoying when looking for genuine updates on threads.
Surely not as bad as continual negative posts re Hibs? Sorry G :-)
Mixu62
17-08-2018, 05:25 AM
Things that ruin my enjoyment of foods. Popcorn kernels, fish bones, tough bits of gristle in an otherwise nice steak, passionfruit pips. Why?! (I know, first world problems!)
17-08-2018, 06:10 AM
People who talk in question marks? It's the language of the New Millennium? Y'know?
17-08-2018, 06:13 AM
Ill see you polo shirt with top button done up and raise you the polo shirts that are collar-less (seems to be a new fasion for Golfers) or the polo shirts that have buttons on the collar as well
I'll throw in a short-sleeved white shirt as worn by coach drivers everywhere.
17-08-2018, 06:18 AM
Trousers that are too short. They look absolutely ridiculous.
17-08-2018, 12:02 PM
With nae socks!!
17-08-2018, 12:08 PM
With nae socks!!
And loafers.....even worse when the loafers have tassels!
18-08-2018, 12:10 PM
People who talk in question marks? It's the language of the New Millennium? Y'know?
100% this, I thought I was the only one!
18-08-2018, 12:21 PM
Literally wore ankle grazer chinos and a buttoned up polo yesterday. Sorry lads.
18-08-2018, 07:59 PM
The price of breakfast at hotels.
16 quid for a couple of croissants and a coffee? Nae bother son..
18-08-2018, 07:59 PM
That syndrome has never been properly addressed by society. Still it persists.
19-08-2018, 12:44 AM
Not predictive texting as such, but folk who don't bother a f*** about checking their post or editing it after they have posted, to ensure they said what they meant to say.
This is how civliizations end :greengrin
21-08-2018, 06:58 PM
That guy on sky news doing the swimming. I know he's doing it for a great cause but he's really starting to grind my gears.
22-08-2018, 08:02 AM
Posters on forums who copy and paste the same things over and over and never answer reasonable questions
Posters on forums who copy and paste the same things over and over and never answer reasonable questions :greengrin
22-08-2018, 09:46 AM
I think its a Labour of love! :-)
22-08-2018, 09:49 AM
I think its a Labour of love! :-)
and a Leanord doesn't change his spots.
22-08-2018, 10:23 AM
This baby shark nonsense. My bairn sung it 4 years ago in nursery, but I have no idea where this walking alongside a car singing it came from, but its ridiculous and really pisses me off!!
22-08-2018, 12:10 PM
This baby shark nonsense. My bairn sung it 4 years ago in nursery, but I have no idea where this walking alongside a car singing it came from, but its ridiculous and really pisses me off!!
That song is never off in my house. No matter how bad a tantrum the bairn is having if that comes on she settles down and laughs.
For that reason I like it.
22-08-2018, 12:15 PM
That song is never off in my house. No matter how bad a tantrum the bairn is having if that comes on she settles down and laughs.
For that reason I like it.
Although the song is an annoying ear worm, its the videos I keep seeing on FB of adults doing the dance next to a car door that is my peeve and I dont understand how, why or where it started.
p.s be prepared for many many more youtube songs being on repeat, Johnny Johnny yes papa, 5 little monkeys jumping on a bed to name a few. Good luck wi that :wink:
22-08-2018, 01:56 PM
Although the song is an annoying ear worm, its the videos I keep seeing on FB of adults doing the dance next to a car door that is my peeve and I dont understand how, why or where it started.
p.s be prepared for many many more youtube songs being on repeat, Johnny Johnny yes papa, 5 little monkeys jumping on a bed to name a few. Good luck wi that :wink:
I presume it's a piss take of all the girls who are doing that dance by the side of a moving car to that song in the charts just now (is it some boy called Drake i think? I may have the wrong song/singer though)
I love that Daddy Shark tune, disgusted it's found its way onto this thread, admins, can we delete that post please? :greengrin
22-08-2018, 02:20 PM
That is how I wear mine, and how Polo shirt should be worn. :greengrin
22-08-2018, 02:28 PM
That is how I wear mine, and how Polo shirt should be worn. :greengrin
Not to be confused with polo necks :wink:
22-08-2018, 05:19 PM
Now you're onto something - Dave and Ava.
A rig a jig jig and away we go........
The pish that you subject yourself to just because it's preferable to a screaming wean.......
22-08-2018, 09:42 PM
People who open their car doors to get in their car in flowing traffic. I had to do an emergency stop today because I had nowhere else to go. Hoof****ing Bungle****s of the highest order.
23-08-2018, 07:16 AM
Folk who mis-pronounce ‘wafer’ with ‘a’ as a soft vowel as in ‘cat’. The two main culprits are Jamie Oliver and Chris Evans.
23-08-2018, 07:39 AM
Folk who mis-pronounce ‘wafer’ with ‘a’ as a soft vowel as in ‘cat’. The two main culprits are Jamie Oliver and Chris Evans.Is that not a reference to the Mr Creosote sketch in the Python film? I pronounce it like that sometimes, with a French accent [emoji16]
23-08-2018, 07:57 AM
Folk who mis-pronounce ‘wafer’ with ‘a’ as a soft vowel as in ‘cat’. The two main culprits are Jamie Oliver and Chris Evans.
Not quite the same, but I never pronounce waffle with any confidence.
23-08-2018, 09:30 PM
Is that not a reference to the Mr Creosote sketch in the Python film? I pronounce it like that sometimes, with a French accent [emoji16]
Nah, that’s attributing Oliver and Evans with too much subtlety. They just pronounce it wrongly. “Et vous, aussi, monsieur.”
23-08-2018, 11:02 PM
Not quite the same, but I never pronounce waffle with any confidence.
Cat on the other hand......
24-08-2018, 12:00 PM
The fact that the indefinite article is becoming more and more common, completely unnecessarily... even on the news etc, regularly hear of "AN historic event".
I blame England and all it's 'orrible accents :greengrin
24-08-2018, 03:21 PM
Women who use the word "fabby"
"Thanks for the fabby evening!"
Get ****ed.
24-08-2018, 03:58 PM
People who preface everything they say with "So". It's happening increasingly. Where did it start, I wonder?
So, it started................
24-08-2018, 04:36 PM
Get ****ed.
People who swear at women.
24-08-2018, 04:48 PM
Is the word ‘people’ here inclusive of women who swear at other women or just menpeople? 😁
24-08-2018, 05:48 PM
Is the word ‘people’ here inclusive of women who swear at other women or just menpeople? 😁
You decide :wink:
Get ****ed.
With that attitude im sure its not something you have to worry about very often. :na na:
24-08-2018, 07:15 PM
With that attitude im sure its not something you have to worry about very often. :na na:
Thankfully not given the cost usually involved.
24-08-2018, 07:26 PM
Men that act as feminists to get a ride.
24-08-2018, 08:44 PM
People who never listen fully to an instruction, interrupt you to tell you that they already know, then make a complete arse of the task by not doing it as you asked.
25-08-2018, 07:29 AM
The clothes and camping equipment store Go Outdoors at Granton.
To get shoes at a discount price you have to have a discount card which costs a fiver.
OK but no one tells you about this until you get to the checkout.
It's a bit sneaky.
25-08-2018, 09:37 AM
People who preface everything they say with "So". It's happening increasingly. Where did it start, I wonder?
So, it started................
I included this one some time ago on this thread. It drives me nuts, especially when they are responding to a question. The other ‘fashionable’ one is, when responding to a question, to start the answer with ‘D’you know what.’
25-08-2018, 09:39 AM
I included this one some time ago on this thread. It drives me nuts, especially when they are responding to a question. The other ‘fashionable’ one is, when responding to a question, to start the answer with ‘D’you know what.’
I'll add people who start a response with 'listen'.
'I disagree with that'
'Listen, all I'm saying is.....'
I find it really rude because I always find there is an implication that the reason you have a different view is because you are incapable of paying attention.
25-08-2018, 10:33 AM
You're right. They need a slap an' all.
25-08-2018, 09:13 PM
Big brother, the Mrs is sitting watching this pish, it really is the biggest load of garbage I've ever seen, there is a boy in it who has had so much plastic surgery he will melt if he stands next to a hot radiator. He has had it done to look like a Ken doll. Complete and utter roaster!
25-08-2018, 09:17 PM
People.
26-08-2018, 02:36 PM
YouTubers. Especially ones who arrange boxing matches to fleece kids.
27-08-2018, 08:46 AM
People.
Correct. They should all be lined up and shot.
27-08-2018, 05:19 PM
Baseball caps being worn in the gym Ive always found a bit curious, and then the modern man using the hairdryers in the changing room to dry their bodies, would have been laughed out of the place back in the day I tell yer. :greengrin
28-08-2018, 07:57 AM
People who never listen fully to an instruction, interrupt you to tell you that they already know, then make a complete arse of the task by not doing it as you asked.
People who give ****, or unclear instructions then get humpty when you can't follow them.
I'm not saying that's you by the way, just your post reminded me of a pet hate of mine.
28-08-2018, 08:01 AM
Baseball caps being worn in the gym Ive always found a bit curious, and then the modern man using the hairdryers in the changing room to dry their bodies, would have been laughed out of the place back in the day I tell yer. :greengrin
If we're talking about changing room etiquette surely the worst offenders have to be the (normally older) guys who are just a bit too comfortable with their bobby out. I get there'll be times when it's on display but the first item of clothes that goes on surely has to be the pants. Doesn't always seem to be the case with some people though.
28-08-2018, 12:57 PM
I saw someone respond to being asked how a bar they went to was the other day with the answer 'very instagramable'.
If that's a thing then it's my new peeve.
28-08-2018, 01:33 PM
I saw someone respond to being asked how a bar they went to was the other day with the answer 'very instagramable'.
Oh dear! Their bad! :-)
28-08-2018, 02:03 PM
Not quite the same, but I visited some ruins in Meixco over the summer, TUI described them as:
"It’s like the ancient Maya had Instagram in mind when they built Tulum."
28-08-2018, 02:21 PM
Its very much the same, fuds!
30-08-2018, 12:05 AM
Folks who can somehow shoehorn their political affiliations and opinions into almost every conversation/discussion they participate in no matter how unrelated the conversation is.
Gie yersels (an the rest o us) peace!
SuperAllyMcleod
30-08-2018, 07:23 AM
Folks who can somehow shoehorn their political affiliations and opinions into almost every conversation/discussion they participate in no matter how unrelated the conversation is.
Gie yersels (an the rest o us) peace!
That’s Thatcher’s Britain for you.
[emoji4]
30-08-2018, 07:24 AM
Probably as relevant for the things you don’t get thread as here but the use of question marks after a statement.
Have I missed something? Since when did adding a question mark to a statement like “ I thought he was poor on Saturday?” Turn it into a question? Has written language evolved or am I a dinosaur? Surely the statement should be “anyone else agree he was poor on Saturday?”, or some such, to turn it into a question.
I might be the one who is wrong but every second post does it and it drives me nuts!
30-08-2018, 08:36 AM
Probably as relevant for the things you don’t get thread as here but the use of question marks after a statement.
Have I missed something? Since when did adding a question mark to a statement like “ I thought he was poor on Saturday?” Turn it into a question? Has written language evolved or am I a dinosaur? Surely the statement should be “anyone else agree he was poor on Saturday?”, or some such, to turn it into a question.
I might be the one who is wrong but every second post does it and it drives me nuts!
I've never seen that?
Yoghurts! I just want a yoghurt, not a fat free chemical filled pot of ****. Just a yoghurt. And while im on a rant - bananas! I want to buy a banana i can have for lunch not one that has to sit for a week til its ripe. Im hungry :greengrin. Its no wonder folk buy crisps and rubbish really.
30-08-2018, 12:49 PM
Yoghurts! I just want a yoghurt, not a fat free chemical filled pot of ****. Just a yoghurt. And while im on a rant - bananas! I want to buy a banana i can have for lunch not one that has to sit for a week til its ripe. Im hungry :greengrin. Its no wonder folk buy crisps and rubbish really.green bananas are better!
green bananas are better!
Nope
30-08-2018, 04:40 PM
Yoghurts! I just want a yoghurt, not a fat free chemical filled pot of ****. Just a yoghurt. And while im on a rant - bananas! I want to buy a banana i can have for lunch not one that has to sit for a week til its ripe. Im hungry :greengrin. Its no wonder folk buy crisps and rubbish really.
green bananas are better!
Best to get bananas greenish, but save a very ripe one in the dish as it quickens the ripening of the green ones. That way you can have a variety of consistencies.
30-08-2018, 05:13 PM
Nopeyou're a hibs fan. everything is better in green. [emoji16]
Peanut Shaz
30-08-2018, 08:05 PM
Why does nobody queue at bus stops now? It's just a crowd of people hovering on the pavement with the bus shelter empty. Gets my back up
31-08-2018, 09:09 AM
It's a natural concomitant of the widespread adoption of AQI/HRT (Australian Question Intonation/High-Rising Terminal) as an acceptable method of making statements. :nerd:
you're a hibs fan. everything is better in green. [emoji16]
Except bananas :greengrin
31-08-2018, 10:54 AM
Tomatoes?
31-08-2018, 03:55 PM
Tomatoes?
Only from The Whistle Stop Cafe.
Bangkok Hibby
31-08-2018, 04:09 PM
It's a natural concomitant of the widespread adoption of AQI/HRT (Australian Question Intonation/High-Rising Terminal) as an acceptable method of making statements. :nerd:
Yea but it's weird?
31-08-2018, 04:11 PM
You said concomitant.
?
31-08-2018, 04:25 PM
Yea but it's weird?
Agree but we can't do anything about it?
pollution
31-08-2018, 04:26 PM
Yea but it's weird?
It is the Neighbours/Home and Away effect on impressionable young people who inadvertently copy the accent.
31-08-2018, 04:29 PM
You said concomitant.
?
It's a perfectly good word (though not as good as quafftide) even though once used publicly by a Fat Slug?
31-08-2018, 05:33 PM
It's a perfectly good word (though not as good as quafftide) even though once used publicly by a Fat Slug?That precludes its use in polite society?
And that was a rhetorical question. No question.
31-08-2018, 07:54 PM
Acceptable to who? Certainly not me! 😀
31-08-2018, 09:32 PM
Reading numerous threads on Hibs.net it would appear most Hibs fans spell Jamie Maclaren incorrectly. :wink::greengrin
01-09-2018, 07:40 AM
Why does nobody queue at bus stops now? It's just a crowd of people hovering on the pavement with the bus shelter empty. Gets my back up
True. I think a lot of it's due to the screen showing ETAs at stops. People congregate around them.
And perhaps more folk come from backgrounds where queuing is not the norm.
Labels on vinyl, no side info, no track info, no speed info. Just been playing the Orb and am not sure if it is vintage rave hardcore helium vocals or slow trippy dub. OK, it's the Orb so clearly it's the latter but the most vague hieroglyphics is annoying. So is the spellchecker on this device. Too angry for a Saturday morning but been up for a while.
09-09-2018, 02:23 PM
When you open a tin of soup and most of it stays in the can when you turn it upside-down to empty it into a pan.
09-09-2018, 09:10 PM
When you open a tin of soup and most of it stays in the can when you turn it upside-down to empty it into a pan.
Give it a good shake before opening.
09-09-2018, 09:53 PM
Open both ends of the tin.
09-09-2018, 10:00 PM
Give it a good shake before opening.
And once you've done that give the tin of soup a shake as well.
10-09-2018, 06:38 AM
Stop buying crap soup.
10-09-2018, 06:42 AM
Open both ends of the tin.And then give it a good shake.
10-09-2018, 07:45 AM
Stop buying crap soup.
10-09-2018, 09:22 AM
Stop buying crap soup.
Agreed. That must taste horrible.
Open both ends of the tin.
And once you've done that give the tin of soup a shake as well.
Stop buying crap soup.
And then give it a good shake.
Agreed. That must taste horrible.
12-09-2018, 09:04 AM
The sheer length of time it seems to take to have breakfast/generally complete the morning processes.
Regardless of how fast I move, the process of showering, having breakfast and getting dressed rarely takes less than half an hour, which seems preposterous as I try to minimise dilly dallying.
12-09-2018, 10:11 PM
Football cliches, particularly “biggest game of the season”, which is invariably used every week. It essentially means the next game is the focus, rather than that game generally having more significance than the game after that one or any of the others.
12-09-2018, 10:40 PM
Packets of meat that are sold as re sealable with a "peel off" corner which doesn't work half the bloody time. I have had the meat in a vice with the corner gripped firmly with a pair of pliers, the family all pulling as one like a tug of war team and still the bloody things wont open.
Remember when you went to the local butchers and they just sliced the meat for you and wrapped it in a bit of grease proof paper? Christ, now I sound like my Gran.
13-09-2018, 01:41 AM
Packets of meat that are sold as re sealable with a "peel off" corner which doesn't work half the bloody time. I have had the meat in a vice with the corner gripped firmly with a pair of pliers, the family all pulling as one like a tug of war team and still the bloody things wont open.
Remember when you went to the local butchers and they just sliced the meat for you and wrapped it in a bit of grease proof paper? Christ, now I sound like my Gran.
I can't get that image out my head now.
13-09-2018, 04:44 PM
I can't get that image out my head now.Happy As sounding like his gran?
Sent from my KFTBWI using Tapatalk
Galahibby
14-09-2018, 06:42 PM
People who squeeze a sofa and a telly into a kitchen/diner then stick a bed in the actual living room just so they can add £50k onto their asking price by calling their 1/2/3 bed flat a 2/3/4 bed flat. Whose stupid idea was it to move back to Edinburgh? 🤔
15-09-2018, 06:53 AM
Maybe your family are weak.
Bangkok Hibby
15-09-2018, 09:23 AM
The rigid censoring of swear words on this site. Are there a lot of children here? I'm not a fan of swearing for effect but sometimes a wee curse just helps :wink: Even when you try to self censor by using * for example it still takes over and almost blanks the word.
Bangkok Hibby
15-09-2018, 09:25 AM
The sheer length of time it seems to take to have breakfast/generally complete the morning processes.
Regardless of how fast I move, the process of showering, having breakfast and getting dressed rarely takes less than half an hour, which seems preposterous as I try to minimise dilly dallying.
Minimise dilly dallying further by not showering or eating in the morning. Simples :wink:
15-09-2018, 10:33 PM
Not sure if its been said before but buses that don't give change do my nut in. Had to run to take a bus the other day and didnt fancy waiting half an hour for the next one and ended up paying a fiver for a 5 minute journey :grr:.
Every bloody website I open, on my iPad or my phone, has that annoying cookie consent pop up thing.
Starting to get sick of it. "I don't know what you are but I ****ing agree. I told you, and all your mates that the last time I opened you up. Just leave me alone!"
16-09-2018, 01:02 AM
At football stadiums when people enter from the wrong side of the row. There’s a guy that sits along from me and every week he comes up a set of stairs at the right of the row 2 minutes before kick off, everyone moves for him so he can take his seat 4 seats into the row at the opposite end right next to the stairs at that side. I’d understand if he was a walk up and it was a one off but he was at it all last season and it’s continued this season. He’s a torn faced auld git into the bargain and mumps and moans from start to finish.
Not sure if its been said before but buses that don't give change do my nut in. Had to run to take a bus the other day and didnt fancy waiting half an hour for the next one and ended up paying a fiver for a 5 minute journey :grr:.
Download bus apps thay way you just buy the tickets you need..or first bus take contactless payments. Saves me a fortune getting change for loads of buses. Couldn't tell you the last time i used cash on a bus
16-09-2018, 07:58 AM
Every bloody website I open, on my iPad or my phone, has that annoying cookie consent pop up thing.
Starting to get sick of it. "I don't know what you are but I ****ing agree. I told you, and all your mates that the last time I opened you up. Just leave me alone!"
They always seem really unresponsive too so you end up clicking on it a few times only for it to disappear and end up clicking on what was behind the message.
Happens to me all the time.
17-09-2018, 07:17 AM
Facebook attention seeking ****s. xxxx xxxxxxx is feeling annoyed, upset, irritated, pick a state of mind and insert. Just **** off you James Hunt!
17-09-2018, 08:00 AM
Reading numerous threads on Hibs.net it would appear most Hibs fans spell Jamie Maclaren incorrectly. :wink::greengrin
Mac banes
17-09-2018, 02:04 PM
Facebook attention seeking ****s. xxxx xxxxxxx is feeling annoyed, upset, irritated, pick a state of mind and insert. Just **** off you James Hunt!
You ok?
17-09-2018, 04:04 PM
So true.
17-09-2018, 07:18 PM
You ok?
Sent you a DM hun
17-09-2018, 07:20 PM
Add to that folk who check in at a hospital.
Miss X is at Royal Hospital for Sick Children....feeling worried.
**** off. If your kid is in hospital and you're checking in on Facebook then your priorities ard all wrong.
17-09-2018, 08:05 PM
Glass collectors who swoop and take your glass when you haven't actually finished your drink, I blame the folk who leave a half inch of ale every pint for encouraging them.
17-09-2018, 08:33 PM
Glass collectors who swoop and take your glass when you haven't actually finished your drink, I blame the folk who leave a half inch of ale every pint for encouraging them.
I was up on George Street during the festival. It was where they had the helter skelter. I went on it with my daughter and left my partner in the seats where we were sitting. When I came back my pint which was still half full was gone. They didn’t even bother to ask if it was done.
17-09-2018, 08:54 PM
Add to that folk who check in at a hospital.
Miss X is at Royal Hospital for Sick Children....feeling worried.
**** off. If your kid is in hospital and you're checking in on Facebook then your priorities ard all wrong.
attention seekers. My wife sits and tuts and swears most of the night when scrolling through FB cos of all this *****.
17-09-2018, 09:34 PM
attention seekers. My wife sits and tuts and swears most of the night when scrolling through FB cos of all this *****.
I agree, but it seems to be the way of the world these days. It won’t be long before people are considered rude and ignorant for not posting these sort of things on social media.
Im kind of glad that it’s a phenomenon that isn’t something my generation feel they need to do, although many sadly do
18-09-2018, 07:52 PM
The new exit to the dump at Seafield.
Why can’t I turn right when I’m leaving? And why have they closed the entrance to the B&M so I can’t do a turn there?
I’m guessing it’s because it’s a bit of a blind bend, if that’s the case is that no a really stupid place for the exit?
19-09-2018, 05:34 AM
The new exit to the dump at Seafield.
Why can’t I turn right when I’m leaving? And why have they closed the entrance to the B&M so I can’t do a turn there?
I’m guessing it’s because it’s a bit of a blind bend, if that’s the case is that no a really stupid place for the exit?
Agree. Very annoying. Is it a motoring offence to turn right regardless of the sign?
19-09-2018, 05:58 AM
Agree. Very annoying. Is it a motoring offence to turn right regardless of the sign?
Yes, fixed penalty if caught.
19-09-2018, 06:00 AM
Yes, fixed penalty if caught.
Thanks. I guess I was wondering whether this was an official instruction or just the Council telling people to turn left to avoid queues backing into the dump.
20-09-2018, 10:21 AM
Employers taking the piss with working week expectations.
I'm currently employed but looking for a new job and it's becoming more and more common to see companies expecting you to work 8:30am-6pm or weekend work with no day back, apparently this extra work is reflected in the salary but there's no noticeable difference.
What happened to the working day being 9-5? Why has it become acceptable for employers to start sneaking in earlier starts or later finishes?
20-09-2018, 06:52 PM
I'm currently employed but looking for a new job and it's becoming more and more common to see companies expecting you to work 8:30am-6pm or weekend work with no day back, apparently this extra work is reflected in the salary but there's no noticeable difference.
What happened to the working day being 9-5? Why has it become acceptable for employers to start sneaking in earlier starts or later finishes?
Agreed, I remember Wednesday half days in shops and Sundays were days of rest! for virtually everyone.
20-09-2018, 08:13 PM
Maybe after Brexit they'll have to be a bit more reasonable.
Maybe not.
20-09-2018, 08:51 PM
Maybe after Brexit they'll have to be a bit more reasonable.
Maybe not.
I suspect the latter.
20-09-2018, 09:13 PM
I suspect the latter.It's certainly not the current government who are going to improve things in this respect.
21-09-2018, 10:53 AM
you would think with computers doing half our work now it would be going the other way, what happens though is they see the need for less staff and expect the remaining to do more.
21-09-2018, 11:40 AM
Folk at work who microwave ready meals containing fish (or the previous night's leftovers) for lunch and stink the whole place out. :jamboak:
21-09-2018, 11:53 AM
Folk at work who microwave ready meals containing fish (or the previous night's leftovers) for lunch and stink the whole place out. :jamboak:
Last night leftovers is fine with me, ie a pasta dish however the fish is a big No No.
Not only does it stink the place out, but makes the micro stink and anything subsequently cooked in it taste like fish.
I love fish, I make a mean fish pie, but id never dream of bringing it in a zapping in the micro!!!
21-09-2018, 12:25 PM
I do that. Haddock and Leek risotto. Yeah, it stinks the place out. Tastes good though.
21-09-2018, 12:26 PM
Last night leftovers is fine with me, ie a pasta dish however the fish is a big No No.
Not only does it stink the place out, but makes the micro stink and anything subsequently cooked in it taste like fish.
I love fish, I make a mean fish pie, but id never dream of bringing it in a zapping in the micro!!!
My post was badly worded - my gripe is specific to microwaved fish in the workplace.
21-09-2018, 12:30 PM
My post was badly worded - my gripe is specific to microwaved fish in the workplace.
Mine was aimed at workplace microwaving as well, looks like we both badly worded :aok:
21-09-2018, 12:31 PM
I do that. Haddock and Leek risotto. Yeah, it stinks the place out. Tastes good though.
Sociopath!
21-09-2018, 03:52 PM
What happened to the working day being 9-5? Why has it become acceptable for employers to start sneaking in earlier starts or later finishes?try being a copper. or a nurse or whatever other public servants who work whatever horrible hours.
I agree with your post, it's just that the issue across the board is take take take and nout coming back for everyone in almost every capacity.
pollution
21-09-2018, 04:34 PM
try being a copper. or a nurse or whatever other public servants who work whatever horrible hours.
I agree with your post, it's just that the issue across the board is take take take and nout coming back for everyone in almost every capacity.
Coppers, nurses etc will be paid overtime if they work outside normal hours.
People who take on longer hours rarely get paid extra in many jobs.
I have not had a lunch hour in over 20 years. The employer expects you to eat as you work at the desk and if you do go out
colleagues look askance at you.
We once had to work all day in the office until a meeting starting at 7.30pm which didn't finish until 9.30pm. No extra pay, no time off in lieu. No union allowed, of course.
21-09-2018, 05:08 PM
try being a copper. or a nurse or whatever other public servants who work whatever horrible hours.
I got trapped in London at work on Wednesday night, I booked on at 23:15 and booked off at 14:54 the following day, by the time I got home and went to bed I'd been awake 25 hours and had been away from from home for 46 hours.
I have not had a lunch hour in over 20 years. The employer expects you to eat as you work at the desk and if you do go out
We once had to work all day in the office until a meeting starting at 7.30pm which didn't finish until 9.30pm. No extra pay, no time off in lieu. No union allowed, of course.
Overtime for a nurse :faf:
21-09-2018, 05:21 PM
I got trapped in London at work on Wednesday night, I booked on at 23:15 and booked off at 14:54 the following day, by the time I got home and went to bed I'd been awake 25 hours and had been away from from home for 46 hours.what do you do mate? if you dont mind me asking?
21-09-2018, 05:24 PM
We once had to work all day in the office until a meeting starting at 7.30pm which didn't finish until 9.30pm. No extra pay, no time off in lieu. No union allowed, of course.sounds like they are taking the piss mate. have you questioned it?
over time gets boring when a 10 hour shift becomes 14 to 16 hours almost every day you're on and you're being spat at and attacked with hardly any resources too... and that's just our nurses and paramedics.
21-09-2018, 05:24 PM
Overtime for a nurse :faf:[emoji23]
pollution
21-09-2018, 07:01 PM
sounds like they are taking the piss mate. have you questioned it?
over time gets boring when a 10 hour shift becomes 14 to 16 hours almost every day you're on and you're being spat at and attacked with hardly any resources too... and that's just our nurses and paramedics.
We all questioned it but were told to be there.
This is from a company with a £3 billion annual turnover. Needless to say, this de motivated the entire sales team.
We skived non stop from that day on....!
21-09-2018, 07:15 PM
Train luggage- on the Virgin London train to Wigan tonight and have lost count of the number of folk dragging large suitcases up the aisle banging into anything and everyone in their path without a care in the world. Most of these cases make it up the aisle with only millimetres to spare, then they block the whole carriage because they are too big to be stored. Can people not use a bit of common sense and travel with luggage they can actually manage.
21-09-2018, 09:53 PM
what do you do mate? if you dont mind me asking?
Railway.
21-09-2018, 09:57 PM
Train luggage- on the Virgin London train to Wigan tonight and have lost count of the number of folk dragging large suitcases up the aisle banging into anything and everyone in their path without a care in the world. Most of these cases make it up the aisle with only millimetres to spare, then they block the whole carriage because they are too big to be stored. Can people not use a bit of common sense and travel with luggage they can actually manage.
Or put them in the luggage racks at the end of the coach where they're supposed to go, there used a charge for more than 2 pieces of oversized luggage on a train although I've never heard of a guard charging anyone. There also used to be a flat £3 fare for bikes as well as a charge for dogs. On the sleeper theres a £30 berth cleaning fee (payable in advance) for anyone who brings a pet into the berths.
22-09-2018, 07:19 PM
Train luggage- on the Virgin London train to Wigan tonight and have lost count of the number of folk dragging large suitcases up the aisle banging into anything and everyone in their path without a care in the world. Most of these cases make it up the aisle with only millimetres to spare, then they block the whole carriage because they are too big to be stored. Can people not use a bit of common sense and travel with luggage they can actually manage.My experience is Virgin don't actually expect folks to travel with a suitcase. There's about space for 6 cases in the carriages forcing the larger suitcases into the aisle. There are overhead racks but with width for lap top cases.
Sent from my F8331 using Tapatalk
22-09-2018, 07:53 PM
My experience is Virgin don't actually expect folks to travel with a suitcase. There's about space for 6 cases in the carriages forcing the larger suitcases into the aisle. There are overhead racks but with width for lap top cases.
Trains often seem underequiped for the luggage requirements. The worst I was on was from Manchester airport - the Trainline clearly didn't anticipate suitcases at the airport. :greengrin
22-09-2018, 09:19 PM
My experience is Virgin don't actually expect folks to travel with a suitcase. There's about space for 6 cases in the carriages forcing the larger suitcases into the aisle. There are overhead racks but with width for lap top cases.
The overheads on the Edinburgh to Euston can take medium cases, unless folk have never been on a train before they know the difficulties with huge cases.
22-09-2018, 09:29 PM
The overheads on the Edinburgh to Euston can take medium cases, unless folk have never been on a train before they know the difficulties with huge cases.Not on the last one I was on and neither with the Euston Glasgow. My case has been in the aisle both times. Never had the same problem on the Edinburgh Kings Cross. Virgin make their carriages work like commuter trains. Awful for long distances.
22-09-2018, 10:05 PM
Not on the last one I was on and neither with the Euston Glasgow. My case has been in the aisle both times. Never had the same problem on the Edinburgh Kings Cross. Virgin make their carriages work like commuter trains. Awful for long distances.
You’re joking! Virgin carriages are great,I travel on that same service every three weeks, same time on a Friday night. Most comfortable trains and great staff. The trans pennine Manchester airport trains on same route are awful in my opinion.
22-09-2018, 10:22 PM
You’re joking! Virgin carriages are great,I travel on that same service every three weeks, same time on a Friday night. Most comfortable trains and great staff. The trans pennine Manchester airport trains on same route are awful in my opinion.No I'm not joking but have travelled 5 or 6 times long distance on VT. My experiences may be different to someone doing a specific journey regularly and I've been unlucky but since this peeve was you complaining about cases in the carriage and this is mainly my experience with cases...
23-09-2018, 09:54 AM
Newspaper columnists. Majority of them are so far up their own erses.
23-09-2018, 11:01 AM
The Ladbrokes adverts on Sky show only rangers goals and no one else.
23-09-2018, 11:04 AM
Toilets with shan flushes. Not even talking about ones that can't move a significant log, but the ones that don't clear a couple of bits of toilet roll so you have to wait and flush again. Just design the ****ing thing properly.
23-09-2018, 08:13 PM
People that use public transport as their office, probably worse on Sat or Sun but, not by much.
23-09-2018, 10:33 PM
People that use public transport as their office, probably worse on Sat or Sun but, not by much.
There are two types of people in the world - those who carry on audible phone conversations on public transport and those who don't or at least cut it short for decency's sake.
Godsahibby
24-09-2018, 06:43 AM
Those taps in some public / bar toilets that you have to push down to turn on. Push down water come out and stops right away. To keep the water flowing you have to hold the tap down which is counter productive to actually washing your hands properly.
Lemonade
24-09-2018, 11:12 AM
Top of the chest/ neck tattoos .
WTF? They look absolutely ridiculous on men and brutal on women.
24-09-2018, 11:33 AM
People who put their feet on seats on trains/buses.
Have travelled Euston to Lime St loads over the years, it does seem to have more luggage than other journeys for some reason. I used to travel on the National Express when I had little money. That was desperate!!!
24-09-2018, 01:41 PM
Have travelled Euston to Lime St loads over the years, it does seem to have more luggage than other journeys for some reason. I used to travel on the National Express when I had little money. That was desperate!!!
I did Edinburgh to London via Megabus a few years ago. Never again.
24-09-2018, 02:30 PM
Its not too bad if you manage to get a kip after a few pre-journey pints. The Megabus Sleeper is an "interesting" experience.
24-09-2018, 08:57 PM
Its not too bad if you manage to get a kip after a few pre-journey pints. The Megabus Sleeper is an "interesting" experience.
That overnight "sleeper" service ended over a year ago.
24-09-2018, 09:08 PM
Folk that day “change it up” when talking about a manager dropping someone/changing formation.
24-09-2018, 09:13 PM
Folk that scream from the stands MAKE A SUB at Lennon, they don't care who as long as a sub is made.....:rolleyes:
24-09-2018, 10:32 PM
That overnight "sleeper" service ended over a year ago.
I'm not surprised, it was like trying to get to sleep in a coffin!
26-09-2018, 01:34 PM
Starting a tweet or a post with "unpopular opinion".
28-09-2018, 11:29 AM
The terms "scenes" or "absolute scenes" used to describe something surprising/entertaining.
Sure.. "unbelievable scenes" or something along those lines make sense and I like... but something isn't just "scenes".
28-09-2018, 11:44 AM
The terms "scenes" or "absolute scenes" used to describe something surprising/entertaining.
Sure.. "unbelievable scenes" or something along those lines make sense and I like... but something isn't just "scenes".
Tiger Woods thread? ;-)
28-09-2018, 12:58 PM
The word Wroldie seems to be making a comeback - saw it to describe John McGinn's goal.
28-09-2018, 03:11 PM
The word Wroldie seems to be making a comeback - saw it to describe John McGinn's goal.
Are you sure that was the word? :greengrin
28-09-2018, 03:16 PM
Are you sure that was the word? :greengrin
I thought Grease was the word!
28-09-2018, 07:55 PM
See a lot of people talking about living their ‘best life’.......
When did that become a thing and why are people saying it a lot now?
28-09-2018, 08:11 PM
Is this a Twitter/Pussbook thing?
28-09-2018, 08:24 PM
Is this a Twitter/Pussbook thing?
Aye, see it loads all over social media.
Instagram too.
28-09-2018, 09:52 PM
Wroldie. I like it. I'm going to use it all the time now.
28-09-2018, 10:03 PM
Wroldie. I like it. I'm going to use it all the time now.
:agree: with a silent w at the start it just rolls of the tounge.
28-09-2018, 11:46 PM
Aye, see it loads all over social media.
Instagram too.
Glad I've avoided the urge to get involved!
29-09-2018, 05:16 AM
Tiger Woods thread? ;-)
That did remind me haha but it’s something that’s grated on me a while among mates etc.
Unfortunate as definitely not an attack on the poster on that thread!
29-09-2018, 08:01 AM
That did remind me haha but it’s something that’s grated on me a while among mates etc.
Unfortunate as definitely not an attack on the poster on that thread!
Oops! :-)
29-09-2018, 08:18 AM
Also (just out of interest and not a peeve, domesticated or otherwise) when did 'becoming a thing' become a thing?
29-09-2018, 09:43 AM
Also (just out of interest and not a peeve, domesticated or otherwise) when did 'becoming a thing' become a thing?
It’s a great point and I’ve started to hate myself a little bit for using that term now I’m thinking about it.
29-09-2018, 11:11 AM
Also (just out of interest and not a peeve, domesticated or otherwise) when did 'becoming a thing' become a thing?I don't know but it's an expression I like. Watching Neil McCann during the Dundee match on Hibs TV, I was surprised to see that v-neck jumpers are still a thing.
Godsahibby
29-09-2018, 11:25 AM
Lazy marketing. How many companies just now using a Chris Kamara and his “unbelievable” catchphrase
29-09-2018, 11:56 AM
I don't know but it's an expression I like. Watching Neil McCann during the Dundee match on Hibs TV, I was surprised to see that v-neck jumpers are still a thing.
He's the Jutetown Jumper King.
30-09-2018, 08:39 PM
Lazy marketing. How many companies just now using a Chris Kamara and his “unbelievable” catchphrase
A right royal pain in the erse if yer name’s Jeff anaw!
01-10-2018, 07:44 AM
The size of cars these days. I thought we were supposed to be getting greener. It doesn't look like it! Even Minis have become big ugly things.
You can't get along our road hardly now. You certainly can't park unless you use the pavement and that's against the law.
01-10-2018, 08:01 AM
The whole concept of travelling for work. Absolute gash, I remember when I was in uni thinking it would be so cool - imagine being PAID to travel, how awesome!!
It really isn't though is it. Tiring and ***** - you just work and don't get to go back to you own bed at night.
01-10-2018, 02:35 PM
Commentators who overhype. Yesterday the word "brilliant" was used three times in one minute to describe a piece of everyday goalmouth action from Livingston v Rangers.
How do you devalue the English language? Become a football commentator.
01-10-2018, 02:37 PM
The size of parking spaces - struggle to fit into most of them and manage to open the doors with no mishaps.
Godsahibby
01-10-2018, 02:43 PM
The size of parking spaces - struggle to fit into most of them and manage to open the doors with no mishaps.
See post 5960 above.
Spaces have remained the same size, cars are getting larger.
01-10-2018, 07:13 PM
When did Effe in place of a certain swear word become a thing on the main forum?
03-10-2018, 09:25 PM
Attractive ( sometimes not ) females who render themselves plug ugly and duck-like by allowing cosmetic surgeons and very often, dodgy ‘experts’ to inject silicone (?) into their lips. The sacked ‘lulu’ on tonight’s Apprentice is a prime example.
04-10-2018, 06:53 AM
Gemma Collins.
stuart-farquhar
04-10-2018, 09:35 AM
People who eat noisy food e.g crisps on public transport or cinemas etc. Stop!!!!
04-10-2018, 02:40 PM
Attractive ( sometimes not ) females who render themselves plug ugly and duck-like by allowing cosmetic surgeons and very often, dodgy ‘experts’ to inject silicone (?) into their lips. The sacked ‘lulu’ on tonight’s Apprentice is a prime example.
That reminds me. The ****ing Apprentice. Big Brother with suits on.
********s. All of them, every series. Forever.
04-10-2018, 03:10 PM
I said that yesterday. The show that the c-word was invented for.
04-10-2018, 03:22 PM
The fact that every major, and a fair few minor, routes from the east/north east of the city to just about anywhere are shut/diverted/dug up.
Duddingston crossroads - Roadworks were due for 6 weeks but still ongoing 10 weeks later.
Brighton Place - Closed for the next however many months, causing excess traffic to use Harry Lauder Road which causes congestion at the Milton Link, also puts pressure on Mountcastle area, Portobello Road etc
Smokey Brae - Still closed nearly 3 weeks after a tree came down. Causing excess traffic around Craigentinny, Duddingston etc
Willowbrae Road/Piershill Place/London Road - Closed for resurfacing
Add in that Newcraighal Road, Niddrie Mains Road, Duddingston Road etc are all prone to heavy traffic anyway and you can see the issue.
It's currently taking me about an hour to get from Newcraighall Road to Broughton Road in the morning. Mental.
04-10-2018, 06:36 PM
People who eat noisy food e.g crisps on public transport or cinemas etc. Stop!!!!
Amazing isn't it?
You'd think these folk must have been brought up in a barn or something.
04-10-2018, 07:04 PM
I was at a table of 4 on a train when a woman got on eating some crisps and sat at one of the seats, the woman next to her shot her the most evil look I've ever seen for it. :greengrin They were some fancy flavour and produced an aroma as well as the crunch.
04-10-2018, 07:35 PM
On a similar note, LinkedIn.
I think I’ve said it before on this thread but I don’t care, I’m saying it again.
Show offs, bull****ters and arse kissers......oh and recruitment consultants.
04-10-2018, 08:40 PM
On a similar note, LinkedIn.
I think I’ve said it before on this thread but I don’t care, I’m saying it again.
Show offs, bull****ters and arse kissers......oh and recruitment consultants.
It's really just a hub to find a recruiter with a trimmed down version of your CV available. It has its uses.
06-10-2018, 06:00 PM
Folks who mump about certain threads being ‘on the wrong forum’. Reminds me of a particularly prissy wee lassie in my primary school class who’d go snivelling up to the teacher on often the most tenuous of pretexts, not that it was her business anyway.
It’s only a message board (albeit, in fairness, a fairly decent one) so let the admins get on with it, I’m sure they know what they’re doing! 🤪
07-10-2018, 05:36 AM
Missing yesterday's game.
07-10-2018, 05:08 PM
The fact that every major, and a fair few minor, routes from the east/north east of the city to just about anywhere are shut/diverted/dug up.
Duddingston crossroads - Roadworks were due for 6 weeks but still ongoing 10 weeks later.
Brighton Place - Closed for the next however many months, causing excess traffic to use Harry Lauder Road which causes congestion at the Milton Link, also puts pressure on Mountcastle area, Portobello Road etc
Smokey Brae - Still closed nearly 3 weeks after a tree came down. Causing excess traffic around Craigentinny, Duddingston etc
Willowbrae Road/Piershill Place/London Road - Closed for resurfacing
Add in that Newcraighal Road, Niddrie Mains Road, Duddingston Road etc are all prone to heavy traffic anyway and you can see the issue.
It's currently taking me about an hour to get from Newcraighall Road to Broughton Road in the morning. Mental.
I'm at Newcraighall too. 55 mins to get home from Calton Road in the car at 3.30pm on Friday.
08-10-2018, 11:31 AM
I'm at Newcraighall too. 55 mins to get home from Calton Road in the car at 3.30pm on Friday.
Going out of town in the morning is murder with these road works. 30-40 minutes to get to Musselburgh at 8 in the morning from Calton road...
08-10-2018, 07:49 PM
Staying on the parking theme...people parking half a car in from the end of a parking bay.
11-10-2018, 09:00 AM
Conspiracy theorists, particularly those who became structural experts overnight because the 9/11 buildings fell straight down.
F...ing idiotic notion.
11-10-2018, 12:52 PM
Along with the 'should of' peeve, I see people using 'A' when they mean 'I' loads these days. Brutal. "A should of went tae skool".
11-10-2018, 01:52 PM
Along with the 'should of' peeve, I see people using 'A' when they mean 'I' loads these days. Brutal. "A should of went tae skool".
That's just an accent thing, isn't it?
I agree about the "went" though. Unfortunately, there are professional broadcasters on radio who say that all time. Murdo McLeod and Charlie Nicholas come to mind.
11-10-2018, 03:13 PM
I agree about the "went" though. Unfortunately, there are professional broadcasters on radio who say that all time. Murdo McLeod and Charlie Nicholas come to mind.
Defin-ATE-ly. :grr:
11-10-2018, 03:29 PM
Not when it's written down - which is what I was meaning (no problem with accents), I should have been clearer.
11-10-2018, 10:06 PM
Not when it's written down - which is what I was meaning (no problem with accents), I should have been clearer.
It's shameful that people come out of our schools unable to talk and write the language properly. I'm always saddened when I hear foreign footballers - particularly the Dutch and Scandinavians - being interviewed and they speak better English than most of us. Call me snobbish about this. I don't care.
12-10-2018, 02:05 AM
****ers on Facebook who post constantly about going on holiday, then post nothing but crap when they are on said holiday ,pictures of food, hotel rooms and even pavements. Made a sarcy comment on a "friends" page tonight and they went nuts (they're one of the you ok hun, pm me babes type) saying there'd be plenty more photos and post to come so I responded by saying nah, not for me there won't unfollowed. :greengrin
12-10-2018, 09:57 AM
Probably been mentioned before but...
Spam calls from Auto Assist (01413197409) regarding non existent 'co claim' accidents
****ers on Facebook who post constantly about going on holiday, then post nothing but crap when they are on said holiday ,pictures of food, hotel rooms and even pavements. Made a sarcy comment on a "friends" page tonight and they went nuts (they're one of the you ok hun, pm me babes type) saying there'd be plenty more photos and post to come so I responded by saying nah, not for me there won't unfollowed. :greengrin
The checking in at a hospital facebookers then sit and wait for everyone to ask what's wrong. I came off FB a few months ago and happy I did. I can still message folks so do that instead
12-10-2018, 10:36 AM
Wall to wall coverage of a royal wedding.....AGAIN.
12-10-2018, 11:37 AM
Wall to wall coverage of a royal wedding.....AGAIN.
Agree. Although I managed to be totally ignorant to the fact there was one until I got into the office today :rolleyes:
12-10-2018, 12:25 PM
Agree. Although I managed to be totally ignorant to the fact there was one until I got into the office today :rolleyes:
Same! Totally missed it until about 10:30 this morning. :greengrin
12-10-2018, 01:00 PM
Maybe they should get their own tv channel with 24hr fly on the wall documentation.
12-10-2018, 03:42 PM
Maybe they should get their own tv channel with 24hr fly on the wall documentation.
On pay-per-view and they can pay for their f***ing weddings that way.
12-10-2018, 07:46 PM
:agree: That does my nut in as well.
Also people (usually from the west of Scotland) who use the word "wur" instead of "our".
e.g. We've learned wur lesson. :fuming:
13-10-2018, 06:31 AM
:agree: That does my nut in as well.
Also people (usually from the west of Scotland) who use the word "wur" instead of "our".
e.g. We've learned wur lesson. :fuming:
Some nice linguistic snobbery here. It's called a dialect, in spoken terms at least.
Unless you mean they write like that. In which case yes, off to the gallows with them.
13-10-2018, 08:13 AM
I think you've misunderstood the purpose of Facebook 😎
pollution
13-10-2018, 11:28 AM
Those on overseas holidays who don't have insurance.
13-10-2018, 01:06 PM
Some nice linguistic snobbery here. It's called a dialect, in spoken terms at least.
Unless you mean they write like that. In which case yes, off to the gallows with them.
I didn't ask anyone to agree with me. The thread's about pet peeves and that annoys me.
I'll ask for permission next time. :aok:
13-10-2018, 01:19 PM
Those on overseas holidays who don't have insurance.Curious why?