View Full Version : Pet Peeves IV

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 [20] 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57

26-02-2018, 03:14 PM
Film credits that are 3 hours longer than the film itself.

26-02-2018, 04:36 PM
People who go to a free buffet, pile up their plates and then leave half of it.

Same with a carvery.

26-02-2018, 05:57 PM
http://www.bbc.com/news/newsbeat-43202523

I think it's been covered but the Twitter responses on the above link don't even peeve me off anymore, it's just depressing.

26-02-2018, 06:12 PM
Same with a carvery.

Or people who attempt to drink themselves into oblivion as soon as a free bar is mentioned.

26-02-2018, 06:24 PM
Or people who attempt to drink themselves into oblivion as soon as a free bar is mentioned.

Indeed....went to hospitality with work at Ayr races years ago (it was actually the same day as the 'unbeatable' derby so 2006 I think) Cost included all you could drink and one bloke (the most senior guy there actually) was a disgrace. Started as soon as he got in,when he went back up for more glasses of the champagne welcome drink. Then for each round insisted on ordering a bottle of wine as his drink. He was sleeping by the end of the 3rd race.

26-02-2018, 06:35 PM

On the subject of free bar, I have organised a few free bar events. On each occasion I have sent out invites to colleagues and deliberately omitted to mention the free bar. It's great the day after when folk say "FFS if I had known it was a free bar I would have come", the same folk who slagged tbe proposed event when asked why they weren't attending. The events were always far better without those type of people.

27-02-2018, 12:24 PM
When someone brings home made food to the office and everyone goes tonto with the over egged compliments as if a Michelin star chef has graced the office with his presence.

You could put a piece of **** out and you'd have people screaming for the recipe or utter tosh like "OMG I NEED A 2ND PIECE LOLZ"

27-02-2018, 04:15 PM
There's always one greedy b*****d who doesn't take his/her turn to stock up the biscuit tin/buy the tea bags/get the milk/etc.
You know who you are ..... and so do we. :rules:

Alfiembra
28-02-2018, 11:37 AM
There's always one greedy b*****d who doesn't take his/her turn to stock up the biscuit tin/buy the tea bags/get the milk/etc.
You know who you are ..... and so do we. :rules:

I'm sorry I didn't know :dunno: how does one bring biscuits and tea bags to an internet forum :confused:

28-02-2018, 01:02 PM
I'm sorry I didn't know :dunno: how does one bring biscuits and tea bags to an internet forum :confused:

You need a server, of course :wink:

01-03-2018, 09:20 PM
Adults who press the traffic light button at the side of a road but cross the road before the light goes to red as they can see there is no traffic. The light then goes to red just as a car approaches and then you're sitting at traffic lights for a number of seconds for absolutely no reason, meanwhile you see the pedestrian going on their merry way down the other side of the street. :grr:

If you're old enough to cross the road without assistance, then don't press for the traffic lights to go red if you can see there is no traffic coming and you're just going to cross the road anyway!

There's no traffic on the roads today and still people are pressing buttons. Grown adults. It's like they've still got their mum's voice in their head screaming at them NEVER CROSS THE ROAD WITHOUT PRESSING THE BUTTON. Death penalty would be too kind.

02-03-2018, 12:20 PM
This snow really has brought out the worst in me but.....

People who can't read pretty clear information. 'There will be no buses except the Airlink 100 until at least 10am tomorrow'. 'Is the 26 running?'. 'Scotrail has a limited service on the followong lines **list 4 services here**' 'Is there trains between Tweedbank and Gorebridge.'

Read the ****ing info given you ****ing stupid ****ing ****ers.

02-03-2018, 03:26 PM

People who can't read pretty clear information. 'There will be no buses except the Airlink 100 until at least 10am tomorrow'. 'Is the 26 running?'. 'Scotrail has a limited service on the followong lines **list 4 services here**' 'Is there trains between Tweedbank and Gorebridge.'

and to think you're in charge of hibs.net customer care :greengrin

02-03-2018, 06:18 PM
"cheeky wee..."

"...don't mind if I do LOL"

"jealous much?"

"Epic!"

Anyone over the age of 13 using these phrases can get themselves directly tae ****.

02-03-2018, 06:37 PM
"cheeky wee..."

"...don't mind if I do LOL"

"jealous much?"

"Epic!"

Anyone over the age of 13 using these phrases can get themselves directly tae ****.

Correct, Roasters.

02-03-2018, 07:29 PM

Same people who walk into the pound shop, look at something on the shelf where the label description stating ‘£1’ clearly matches the item, and still make a member of staff come over and ask “how much is this?”

Same people who will stand in a queue to all ask the same question, even though they can hear everyone in front of them asking the question they want an answer to. You know, just in case the answer has changed in the 2-3 seconds it took them to ask it.

:brickwall

04-03-2018, 01:20 PM
Smug bast**** who drive cars in TV adverts with huge smiles on their coupons.

I hope you crash, you c***".

speedy_gonzales
04-03-2018, 01:53 PM

I love the comma there, it's as if it was an afterthought 😁

04-03-2018, 02:24 PM

And the cheesy happy families at the breakfast tables eating their cornflakes or whatever. :sick:

04-03-2018, 02:28 PM
And that taxi driver with the cherry wink in the Direct Line advert.

Kin twat.

04-03-2018, 05:54 PM
The amount of people moaning on social media about bread and milk.

05-03-2018, 03:36 PM
And that taxi driver with the cherry wink in the Direct Line advert.

Kin twat.

What is a cherry wink?

05-03-2018, 06:10 PM
What is a cherry wink?

It's a cookie.

05-03-2018, 06:40 PM
It's a cookie.

Every day is a school day! :-)

05-03-2018, 07:17 PM
The young ginger lassie in the Barclays (I think) advert that’s trying to fix a wind turbine in a storm.

Rude, aggressive sounding little smart arse bint.

05-03-2018, 07:58 PM
What is a cherry wink?

It's a particularly annoying look in a particularly irritating actor's eye.

You're close to getting a mention on this thread yourself. :greengrin

05-03-2018, 07:58 PM
https://www.dragonbyte-tech.com/?utm_source=hibs.net&utm_campaign=Footer%2BLinks&utm_medium=Username%2BChange&utm_content=Free

That link :grr:

SuperAllyMcleod
05-03-2018, 08:20 PM
Defenders/midfielders who pass back to the keeper from midway inside their own half only for the keeper to hoof it up field where it lands about 20 yards in front of where the original defender/midfielder passed it from.

They are basically passing the buck when the could have played it forward themselves and gotten their team further up the pitch.

05-03-2018, 08:24 PM
Defenders/midfielders who pass back to the keeper from midway inside their own half only for the keeper to hoof it up field where it lands about 20 yards in front of where the original defender/midfielder passed it from.

They are basically passing the buck when the could have played it forward themselves and gotten their team further up the pitch.

That's always irritated me.

05-03-2018, 08:31 PM

:agree: Agreed. Also, when we get a free kick in the oppponent's half and it's passed sideways to a player 2 yards away. FFS, you've got a free shot at lobbing it into the goalmouth where damage can be done. It's almost the equivalent of a corner. These short free kicks really get on my 3d's.

05-03-2018, 08:39 PM
It's a particularly annoying look in a particularly irritating actor's eye.

You're close to getting a mention on this thread yourself. :greengrin

Fame at last, nearly!

05-03-2018, 08:50 PM
When it's clear you are already ten minutes late in leaving and someone (usually your wife or partner) has the audacity to ask "Do I have time for a fag?".

At this point I lose the head exorcist style.

In fact anyone that can't go somewhere on time does my head in.

05-03-2018, 08:56 PM
https://www.dragonbyte-tech.com/?utm_source=hibs.net&utm_campaign=Footer%2BLinks&utm_medium=Username%2BChange&utm_content=Free

That link :grr:

😂 I hear ya.

05-03-2018, 09:02 PM
IT in commercials that have been put together by non-IT people who don't care about the details.

ie the volvo ad "Call Professor Andrews" he says.
so the car calls the fax.....

If they're trying to show people how easy it is to use, then they could at least do it properly.

hibs#1
05-03-2018, 09:44 PM
The young ginger lassie in the Barclays (I think) advert that’s trying to fix a wind turbine in a storm.

Thank you,You put the words to my thinking.

05-03-2018, 10:28 PM

Aye, from failing to get a fox and a chicken across a river in theory, Sarah suddenly manages to solve a complicated aerodynamics problem in practice. Well done, lassie. :rolleyes:

06-03-2018, 03:01 AM
People who make the assumption that late night/early morning posts are by those who are drunk.

Hello...24 hour society? I've maybe just dropped you off. ��

06-03-2018, 05:39 AM
Aye, from failing to get a fox and a chicken across a river in theory, Sarah suddenly manages to solve a complicated aerodynamics problem in practice. Well done, lassie. :rolleyes:

Seems pretty valid to me.

06-03-2018, 10:08 AM
Seems pretty valid to me.

Spoilsport. :wink:

06-03-2018, 12:27 PM
Spoilsport. :wink:

Doesn't stop it being a pet peeve right enough. :greengrin

07-03-2018, 09:01 AM
When you open Hibs' iSpy and click on a thread title but because it's still uploading you end up opening the wrong one.

07-03-2018, 09:42 AM

:agree: Agreed. Also, when we get a free kick in the oppponent's half and it's passed sideways to a player 2 yards away. FFS, you've got a free shot at lobbing it into the goalmouth where damage can be done. It's almost the equivalent of a corner. These short free kicks really get on my 3d's.

These examples are annoying but not as annoying as watching a player receive the ball and you, along with everybody else in the stadium, can see the obvious pass to a teammate only for said player to turn left, turn right, look over his shoulder, wait until his teammate is now closed down by an opponent, then attempt to make the pass anyway, losing possession. Play the easy, obvious pass right away you ****ing cretin.

Alfiembra
08-03-2018, 11:56 AM
I hate when radio news presenters start a topic with a guest only minutes before the headlines at the top of the hour and then cut the guest off mid sentence, usually when the conversation is just getting interesting, so that they can play the beeps and announce the headlines.
Let them finish their piece and so what if it's a minute past the hour.

08-03-2018, 10:35 PM
If I hear anyone in a pub saying "dilly dilly", I swear I'll do time.

08-03-2018, 10:54 PM

Utterly ridiculous advert that!

10-03-2018, 04:34 AM
Sore throat lozenges. What a waste of ****ing time. In my experience they're about as effective as Christie Brown in a right-foot arse kicking contest.

11-03-2018, 10:21 AM
That Keanu Reeves advert where he says "everyone thinks building a website is impossible".

No, Keanu, there are billions of ****ing websites, nobody thinks they are impossible to make.

11-03-2018, 10:52 AM

:agree: Killy, killy. :chop:

11-03-2018, 01:22 PM
That bud light advert is very annoying. :grr:

11-03-2018, 02:35 PM
That were gap between the top of my tie and my collar.
I can never get it to fit snugly and can almost see the top button.

It's not just me either. Most TV pundits are the same although Tierry Henry has it nailed.

11-03-2018, 04:35 PM
That were gap between the top of my tie and my collar.
I can never get it to fit snugly and can almost see the top button.

It's not just me either. Most TV pundits are the same although Tierry Henry has it nailed.

Ties that aren’t worn reaching to at least the belt line of the trousers. Effing hate seeing people with ties stopping above their belly button :grr:

11-03-2018, 11:11 PM
Sunday night tv. Utter garbage!

12-03-2018, 08:03 AM
Sunday night tv. Utter garbage!Along with the other 6 nights of the week, bar the odd programme.

12-03-2018, 09:35 AM
Dunno if this has been mentioned on this particular thread but I get well pissed off with the fact that the powers that be deem it unacceptable for Hibs and Celtic to both play in home kits when facing each other.
Just watched highlights of Killie v Ross County (both in blue but clearly not a clash in terms of shade and design) and there seemed no problem at all.

12-03-2018, 09:51 AM
Dunno if this has been mentioned on this particular thread but I get well pissed off with the fact that the powers that be deem it unacceptable for Hibs and Celtic to both play in home kits when facing each other.
Just watched highlights of Killie v Ross County (both in blue but clearly not a clash in terms of shade and design) and there seemed no problem at all.Aye. West Brom V Leicester was fine at the weekend. Leicester played in all blue whilst WBA played in blue and white stripes with a solid blue back panel.

Worked fine.

Sent from my SM-A520F using Tapatalk

12-03-2018, 11:15 AM
Any advert on tv that starts with "New From JML!!"

12-03-2018, 02:06 PM
People who respond to celebrity FB posts as if they know the celeb personally.

12-03-2018, 04:06 PM

Also the dross that is given celebrity status (and with it credibility) these days. F****** TOWIE, Made in Chelsea etc...

Utter, utter dross, yet the 'stars' get to kick about as though they're important.

Also, the increasing evidence of stupidity being a virtue to be rewarded. There's a girl who's constantly on viral videos with her boyfriend showing her up as an idiot.

They get loads of views and will get a fair whack of cash for it, and I doubt it's even real, but imagine making your money for being a thick ****?!

12-03-2018, 04:16 PM
They get loads of views and will get a fair whack of cash for it, and I doubt it's even real, but imagine making your money for being a thick ****?!

Thon Jade wumman started that.

12-03-2018, 05:47 PM

Just by saying "ming-ging" IIRC.

12-03-2018, 06:05 PM
Just by saying "ming-ging" IIRC.

She was the symptom of an acceptance amongst some members of the public that stupidity and ignorance are admirable qualities.

Alfiembra
12-03-2018, 08:59 PM
Whenever you try to sneak a biscuit it always explodes when you bite it and half of it ends up on the floor.

Peanut Shaz
12-03-2018, 09:18 PM
Any advert on tv that starts with "New From JML!!"

Adverts spoken in an American accent for absolutely no reason. Why would that make uou want to buy something?

12-03-2018, 09:40 PM

:agree: and Joey Essex has taken it to a new level.

I genuinely think he’s really intelligent and is playing a character.

hibs#1
13-03-2018, 02:41 PM
:agree: and Joey Essex has taken it to a new level.

I genuinely think he’s really intelligent and is playing a character.

I agree.dont believe anyone can be that thick I think he knows exactly what he's doing.

14-03-2018, 01:51 PM
Argos stores.

I’ve just been up there buying some coat hooks and I get the feeling the whole process was a lot more complicated than it should’ve been.
First, you go to one screen and search for your product. Secondly, you are asked to think of a memorable word. Thirdly, you find another screen where you pay...after telling it your memorable word. Thirdly, you have to find the correct type of till where you hand over your receipt and wait on your product.

All this and I didn’t even get to see the bloody thing before I purchased it. Turns out it’s cheap crap and will probably last about a week before it breaks ☹️

14-03-2018, 03:15 PM
Argos stores.

I’ve just been up there buying some coat hooks and I get the feeling the whole process was a lot more complicated than it should’ve been.
First, you go to one screen and search for your product. Secondly, you are asked to think of a memorable word. Thirdly, you find another screen where you pay...after telling it your memorable word. Thirdly, you have to find the correct type of till where you hand over your receipt and wait on your product.

All this and I didn’t even get to see the bloody thing before I purchased it. Turns out it’s cheap crap and will probably last about a week before it breaks ☹️

Pete, don't think this would be much out of place on the "Does Anyone On Here Actually Sell Pegs" thread. :cb

Eaststand
14-03-2018, 06:09 PM
Argos stores.

You think that was bad mate.....you should have seen what I went through at the Argos automated system when i went there to buy 4 Candles and some O's !!

:-)

15-03-2018, 10:22 AM

If I remember correctly Graham Norton made a joke about housemates waking up to the smell of bacon..........Jade had farted. After this I think the legal people got involved and lo and behold the next week Mr Norton was urging the nation to make Jade the winner. The power of tv?

15-03-2018, 03:20 PM
Rant Time!!!

My local shop sells Stephens the bakers hot/cold filled rolls, pies, bridies and cakes etc. As we know they are all very nice, anyway my Mrs is recovering from an emergency C section so is pretty restricted with what she can do just now and I have to do pretty much everything for her while she recovers, which I don't mind as she had a nightmare of a labour. I said to her I'd nip to the local shop for her and get her some lunch if she wanted something. She asked for two egg mayo rolls and I was going to get myself some lentil soup as I've got an absolute howler of a cold just now and fancied some good old lentil to help shift the cold.

So I order everything with the wifey at the counter which is as follows:

2 x White Egg Mayo rolls

2 x Lenti soup (one cup is never enough and two roughly equate to the size of a normal can)

4 x brown rolls - 2 for me today and 2 for tomorrow's bacon rolls at breakfast.

All this comes to a grand total of £9.86!! I mean come on. It was £4.98 for the two egg mayo rolls alone! Thats scandalous and the Mrs couldn't believe it! I wont be back, thats for sure. For a local shop the prices are a disgrace

15-03-2018, 04:10 PM
Folk that try and pull off the snide move of checking when a bus is due but you know they are just trying to get on the bus before people that have been standing there longer

15-03-2018, 06:05 PM
Rant Time!!!

My local shop sells Stephens the bakers hot/cold filled rolls, pies, bridies and cakes etc. As we know they are all very nice, anyway my Mrs is recovering from an emergency C section so is pretty restricted with what she can do just now and I have to do pretty much everything for her while she recovers, which I don't mind as she had a nightmare of a labour. I said to her I'd nip to the local shop for her and get her some lunch if she wanted something. She asked for two egg mayo rolls and I was going to get myself some lentil soup as I've got an absolute howler of a cold just now and fancied some good old lentil to help shift the cold.

2 x White Egg Mayo rolls

2 x Lenti soup (one cup is never enough and two roughly equate to the size of a normal can)

All this comes to a grand total of £9.86!! I mean come on. It was £4.98 for the two egg mayo rolls alone! Thats scandalous and the Mrs couldn't believe it! I wont be back, thats for sure. For a local shop the prices are a disgrace

That sounds awfully similar to my local shop. Is it a Nisa one?

15-03-2018, 06:11 PM
That sounds awfully similar to my local shop. Is it a Nisa one?

Aye its a Nisa shop. Not in Edinburgh though.

15-03-2018, 06:13 PM
Aye its a Nisa shop. Not in Edinburgh though.

I'm in Musselburgh, just keep forgetting to update my location on here.

15-03-2018, 06:26 PM
I'm in Musselburgh, just keep forgetting to update my location on here.

Pop over to the PM board and see the thread there. :wink:

15-03-2018, 08:05 PM
The Wizard of Oz song on the new Audi advert. Irritating beyond belief!!

15-03-2018, 08:07 PM
The new Doritos advert! How wrong is that?! :no way:

16-03-2018, 07:25 AM
This is a parasocial relationship - where one side of the relationship displays qualities of a typical two way relationship such as emotion, time and trust while the other has no knowledge of their existence.

It’s a very deliberate and carefully managed technique in PR for example where the most common examples are, as you point out, the relationship between celebrities and the public and also the relationship between a sports team and it’s fans!

16-03-2018, 10:08 AM
This is a parasocial relationship - where one side of the relationship displays qualities of a typical two way relationship such as emotion, time and trust while the other has no knowledge of their existence.

It’s a very deliberate and carefully managed technique in PR for example where the most common examples are, as you point out, the relationship between celebrities and the public and also the relationship between a sports team and it’s fans!

It's odd when you bump into a 'celeb'. Because you feel you 'know' them, you subconsciously think that they should know you too. I remember years ago I walked past Onion in Hanover Street and said 'Hi John'. To his credit (and to my delight at the time) he said 'Hi' back.
It was kinda like seeing a mate in the street if you know what I mean.

16-03-2018, 10:09 AM
These ****ing "time traveller" videos when apparently someone from XX years in the future is filmed in present day making spooky predictions about the world XX years from now.

I mean, really?? I know a lot of social media stretches credibility but **** off with that *****.

16-03-2018, 04:33 PM
Folk on here who post "can anyone tell Me?" Or "does anyone know?" Threads.

Call the club and ask? It'll be quicker and you'll get a proper answer.

beensaidbefore
16-03-2018, 04:42 PM
Rant Time!!!

2 x White Egg Mayo rolls

The price of convenience. Note to self for next time, box of eggs, tin of soup and 6 rolls. £4!

16-03-2018, 04:45 PM
The price of convenience. Note to self for next time, box of eggs, tin of soup and 6 rolls. £4!
+ cost of petrol to drive to Asda :dunno: :whistle:

beensaidbefore
16-03-2018, 05:00 PM
+ cost of petrol to drive to Asda :dunno: :whistle:

I assumed these would have been available from the local? But to be fair it does taste nicer if someone else has made it for you😂

16-03-2018, 05:49 PM

I assumed these would have been available from the local? But to be fair it does taste nicer if someone else has made it for you😂

Start-up cost - a big soup pan, a stick blender, a couple of dozen freezable, microwaveable and dishwasher-proof containers from the likes of Asda. Then a decent cupboard of dry goods - salt, pepper, bay leaves, Lea+Perrins, Tabasco, yellow split peas, green split peas, red lentils, green lentils, pearl barley, dried herbs (thyme but also any other you have a strong preference for), tinned plum or chopped tomatoes, tomato puree, sugar, stock cubes.

Easy to buy and store - onions, garlic and potatoes

Utilise - any left-over veg, stuff that's on reduction in the supermarket or just stuff you prefer. Colour is a good guide - carrots, butternut squash and yellow and red bell peppers go well with red lentils or yellow split peas. Spinach, kale, cabbage and broccoli go with the green lentils or split peas. The potatoes mentioned earlier help thicken soup but I tend not to bother, unless I've got some needing used up.

Make the soup with the dry goods, type depending on what veg you've got. Make a big batch and decant it into the containers and freeze either single portions or doubles, you judge what the portion is.

Then you're all set. You've got healthy lunches on tap, full of protein, vitamins and minerals. Once you're doing it you're spending a lot less than shop-bought and you're almost certainly using less salt and sugar so it's healthier. Plus you're in control of the taste, so if you want to pump it up with chilli or with ginger or whatever, it's in your control.

And there's something very, very satisfying about making a big pot of soup and then being able to grab one out the freezer :greengrin

beensaidbefore
16-03-2018, 06:23 PM
Start-up cost - a big soup pan, a stick blender, a couple of dozen freezable, microwaveable and dishwasher-proof containers from the likes of Asda. Then a decent cupboard of dry goods - salt, pepper, bay leaves, Lea+Perrins, Tabasco, yellow split peas, green split peas, red lentils, green lentils, pearl barley, dried herbs (thyme but also any other you have a strong preference for), tinned plum or chopped tomatoes, tomato puree, sugar, stock cubes.

Utilise - any left-over veg, stuff that's on reduction in the supermarket or just stuff you prefer. Colour is a good guide - carrots, butternut squash and yellow and red bell peppers go well with red lentils or yellow split peas. Spinach, kale, cabbage and broccoli go with the green lentils or split peas. The potatoes mentioned earlier help thicken soup but I tend not to bother, unless I've got some needing used up.

Make the soup with the dry goods, type depending on what veg you've got. Make a big batch and decant it into the containers and freeze either single portions or doubles, you judge what the portion is.

Then you're all set. You've got healthy lunches on tap, full of protein, vitamins and minerals. Once you're doing it you're spending a lot less than shop-bought and you're almost certainly using less salt and sugar so it's healthier. Plus you're in control of the taste, so if you want to pump it up with chilli or with ginger or whatever, it's in your control.

And there's something very, very satisfying about making a big pot of soup and then being able to grab one out the freezer :greengrin

Amen brother! I have been making lentil and adding a jar of passata at the end. Canny get my yellow spilt peas soft though, soaked for 24hrs and they were like bullets😐

16-03-2018, 06:46 PM
Amen brother! I have been making lentil and adding a jar of passata at the end. Canny get my yellow spilt peas soft though, soaked for 24hrs and they were like bullets😐

I might steal the passata tip. If I'm using tomatoes I usually chuck in the plums or chopped at the start, let them break down and simmer for a good hour at least and add puree if it tastes like it needs it. I've roasted fresh tomatoes and bell peppers a couple of times, took me years to grasp that's a good idea and that works well, and I'll probably do more of that.

With the YSPs you shouldn't need to soak them. My experience is that greens take a little bit longer than yellows, but if you chuck them in with your stock, onion, spices, aromats then it should only take 30-60 minutes, bringing to the boil then simmering. Probably closer to the 60 than the 30 but worth keeping an eye on so they don't become mush. Saying that, if you're like me you blend them anyway so it doesn't really matter! :greengrin

Slight shift away from 'Pet Peeves', maybe worth starting a cookery and recipes thread in the Dug-Out?

16-03-2018, 09:00 PM
I handed my car into the dealer to get a windscreen replacement after a nasty stone chip and they said a few recall fixes needed to be done. It would take a few days to order and replace the windscreen so no big deal. I get a loaner then a couple of days later I drive away for the weekend in our other car with the wife. I check my GPS tracker online and notice that some **** took my car for a 20 mile 'test drive' (joyride) and reached speeds well above the speed limits. Then I notice two days later that some other **** for a 35 mile 'test drive' (joyride) which took over an hour. I won't be home to pick up the car till next Tuesday so I am fully expecting to see more 'test drives'.

I can't call up and complain because it will alert them to my hidden GPS and prevent me recording evidence of further abuse.

Utter f****** c****.

I wonder how long they take economy vehicles for test drives?

16-03-2018, 09:38 PM
Referees...

17-03-2018, 12:00 AM
Slight shift away from 'Pet Peeves', maybe worth starting a cookery and recipes thread in the Dug-Out?

TF you posted that, not sure where slight comes in though. Saved me a long rant anyhow.

17-03-2018, 12:32 AM
Tescos petrol station prices.

Corstorphine 112.9

Musselburgh 114.9

Dunfermline 116.9

17-03-2018, 04:39 AM

Corstorphine 112.9

Musselburgh 114.9

Dunfermline 116.9

Imagine you got 8 to 10 miles per gallon like I do. :greengrin

17-03-2018, 07:34 AM

It amazes me how many people can't do this.

I batch make soup, and other meals, 2 or 3 times a month to save time. People in my work seem genuinely stunned and ask all sort of questions. It's like they are seeing an alien civilisation for the 1st time.

17-03-2018, 09:40 AM
Imagine you got 8 to 10 miles per gallon like I do. :greengrin

What does that mean? :confused:

beensaidbefore
17-03-2018, 11:25 AM

I might steal the passata tip. If I'm using tomatoes I usually chuck in the plums or chopped at the start, let them break down and simmer for a good hour at least and add puree if it tastes like it needs it. I've roasted fresh tomatoes and bell peppers a couple of times, took me years to grasp that's a good idea and that works well, and I'll probably do more of that.

With the YSPs you shouldn't need to soak them. My experience is that greens take a little bit longer than yellows, but if you chuck them in with your stock, onion, spices, aromats then it should only take 30-60 minutes, bringing to the boil then simmering. Probably closer to the 60 than the 30 but worth keeping an eye on so they don't become mush. Saying that, if you're like me you blend them anyway so it doesn't really matter! :greengrin

Cheers for the hints. IL give ysp another go.

Roasted peppers sounds nice too. Report to follow😂

17-03-2018, 11:28 AM

He's just telling you he has a big car G.

speedy_gonzales
17-03-2018, 11:56 AM
Or drives everywhere in 1st revving the tits out of his motor!

17-03-2018, 12:04 PM
St Patricks Day.

Folk who's Granny had a cousin who went to Donegal for a coach trip in 1976 screwing their face up as they try and force down a pint of Guinness wearing a daft hat and putting sounds in place of actual words when the Fields of Athenry comes on a jukebox.

Particularly popular amongst students and 'lads' who 'just do it for the bants'.

17-03-2018, 01:04 PM

Maybe it's the old joke ----->>>>

"I only get 5 miles to the gallon ............ my son gets the other 30"

17-03-2018, 03:07 PM
St Patricks Day.

Folk who's Granny had a cousin who went to Donegal for a coach trip in 1976 screwing their face up as they try and force down a pint of Guinness wearing a daft hat and putting sounds in place of actual words when the Fields of Athenry comes on a jukebox.

Particularly popular amongst students and 'lads' who 'just do it for the bants'.

That side of it is a bit ridiculous but it's worked out beautifully this year with the current events at Twickenham. I don't care about rugby but Irishmen celebrating a grand slam there on St Patrick's day gets a big thumbsup from me... assuming I haven't just jinxed it :greengrin

17-03-2018, 03:19 PM

I can only get 8 or 10 miles driving my car before using up one gallon of petrol. Although, the gallons here are not Imperial so slightly less in volume and the petrol is way cheaper. The claimed figures look better but you have to drive in GT mode and without laughing all the time.

17-03-2018, 03:23 PM
Maybe it's the old joke ----->>>>

"I only get 5 miles to the gallon ............ my son gets the other 30"

pollution
17-03-2018, 04:12 PM
St Patricks Day.

Why do St Patrick's day revellers think all the world loves them?

17-03-2018, 04:35 PM
Why do St Patrick's day revellers think all the world loves them?

'cos they are fuds! :-)

17-03-2018, 09:41 PM
Female commentators on Match of the Day. Even my wife can't listen to them.

17-03-2018, 10:12 PM

Smug people. ;)

17-03-2018, 10:19 PM
Those ****ing black dachshunds at the Vitality Stadium [emoji849]

Sent from my SM-A510F using Tapatalk

17-03-2018, 10:40 PM

Corstorphine 112.9

Musselburgh 114.9

Dunfermline 116.9

:confused:Bath 126.9. Stornoway 126.9 with 5p Islands allowance

Sent from my F8331 using Tapatalk

17-03-2018, 11:17 PM
Smug people. ;)

Passive aggressives

;-)

18-03-2018, 07:46 AM
Women with short hair.

I'm not talking fashionable short hair, I'm talking almost crew cut length hair,mainly seen amongst women above 35 who start looking more masculine then their husbands.

18-03-2018, 12:36 PM
Eggs.

Evil *******s.

When I make the scrambled version, I crack two perfectly intact yokes into the bowl before I whisk them.

As soon as I open one into a frying pan, the yoke breaks.

18-03-2018, 07:22 PM
People who sit in a reserved seat on a train and then act surprised when you arrive and ask them to move. FFS it's not rocket science, if it says "reserved from Wigan" then in all likelihood someone (me) is going to get on the train at Wigan and want the seat. The same thing happens nearly every other week!

18-03-2018, 07:24 PM
Hibs.net cliques.

18-03-2018, 07:54 PM
Hibs.net cliques.

:agree: ... and secrets hidden under berets.

18-03-2018, 07:58 PM
The new Man v Food.

I know the old show was just a celebration of excess and gluttony and so on and so forth but it was a bit of a guilty pleasure. Adam Richman was generally a liekable guy and he won his fair share of the challenges.

The new host is just a sweaty mess and I've watched about 10 episodes and he's completed 1 challenge and not even got close with the rest.

Another revamp that really didn't need to happen.

18-03-2018, 08:05 PM
The new Man v Food.

I know the old show was just a celebration of excess and gluttony and so on and so forth but it was a bit of a guilty pleasure. Adam Richman was generally a liekable guy and he won his fair share of the challenges.

The new host is just a sweaty mess and I've watched about 10 episodes and he's completed 1 challenge and not even got close with the rest.

Another revamp that really didn't need to happen.

I just watched the last 10 mins of the ep that just finished with the hot wings and I concur, he's a dick.

18-03-2018, 08:19 PM
Eggs.

Evil *******s.

When I make the scrambled version, I crack two perfectly intact yokes into the bowl before I whisk them.

Why not crack your eggs to fry into a bowl and pour into the pan? :dunno:

18-03-2018, 08:25 PM
:agree: ... and secrets hidden under berets.

Which are not, biologically speaking, even berets.

18-03-2018, 08:28 PM
People taking liberties.

In the Ravelston tonight and thick set man in his 40s was shouting and swearing in a very aggressive manner at a waitress less than half his size about something she had zero control over.

Embarrassing behaviour that only karma can mend.

18-03-2018, 08:41 PM
Why not crack your eggs to fry into a bowl and pour into the pan? :dunno:

Think of the washing up, man!

18-03-2018, 11:31 PM
Eggs.

Evil *******s.

Eggs ain't what they used to be. Neither are oranges.

19-03-2018, 12:56 AM
People taking liberties.

In the Ravelston tonight and thick set man in his 40s was shouting and swearing in a very aggressive manner at a waitress less than half his size about something she had zero control over.

Embarrassing behaviour that only karma can mend.

Or her boxer boyfriend. :wink:

19-03-2018, 12:57 AM
Which are not, biologically speaking, even berets.

Very good, F17! :top marks :greengrin

19-03-2018, 06:21 AM
Eggs ain't what they used to be. Neither are oranges.

That's un oeuf posts about eggs now methinks.

Alfiembra
19-03-2018, 06:21 AM
Over exaggeration, particularly of size or distance.

As an example read a recent comment on here that Alston’s tackle on McGinn was at least 3-4 feet off the ground. Must have been watching Kung Fu not football.

19-03-2018, 10:12 AM
One that annoys me is when the commentator says "Oh he hit that well" when most times he didn't because it wasn't even close to the target. :grr:

19-03-2018, 12:26 PM
One that annoys me is when the commentator says "Oh he hit that well" when most times he didn't because it wasn't even close to the target. :grr:

It irritates me when commentators say, " He just about got to that", or similar, when in fact, he got to it.

"Rightly so" instead of "Understandably" grinds my gears too.

19-03-2018, 12:32 PM
It irritates me when commentators say, " He just about got to that", or similar, when in fact, he got to it.

"Rightly so" instead of "Understandably" grinds my gears too.

and rightly so.

19-03-2018, 12:34 PM
Over exaggeration, particularly of size or distance.

As an example read a recent comment on here that Alston’s tackle on McGinn was at least 3-4 feet off the ground. Must have been watching Kung Fu not football.

So much of football takes place in the enormous stadium called the HyperBowl.

19-03-2018, 04:57 PM
So much of football takes place in the enormous stadium called the HyperBowl.

:greengrin That should have been the name for the yams' new stand from long, long before day one.

21-03-2018, 02:06 PM
Bleedin' wind chimes :grr:

Ting-a-ling-a-ling-a-ling-a-ling-a-ling-a-ling-a-ling-a-ling-a-ling-a-ling-a-ling-a-ling-a-ling-a-ling-a-ling-a-ling-a-ling-a-ling-a-ling-a-ling-a-ling-a-ling-a-ling-a-ling-a-ling-a-ling-a-ling-a-ling-a-ling-a-ling

:chop:

21-03-2018, 10:04 PM
Snooker players like Judd Trump who decide to go all Mr Exhibitionist at the end of frames they've already won or others like O'Sullivan who decide to not bother potting the black once the frame is won.

Some of us bet on snooker.

21-03-2018, 10:18 PM
Snooker players like Judd Trump who decide to go all Mr Exhibitionist at the end of frames they've already won or others like O'Sullivan who decide to not bother potting the black once the frame is won.

Some of us bet on snooker.

So do the players 😉

22-03-2018, 03:04 PM
That one tune American sport /wwe fans have that they use for every single chant.

An example below,

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=1HJM9WXVuH4

I now have to mute the TV/laptop when that pish starts.

23-03-2018, 01:34 PM
Folk who post on a global website and say "Has anybody seen (say) Jimmy Smith?" and they expect the rest of the world to know that they are referring to the Jimmy Smith that works at Southampton Docks and drinks in the Anchor Bar (or the like).

Similarly, folk that advertise "Camera for sale - Pick up only. 25 Harbour Avenue" Where, FFS? Usually it's a city and the seller (in their little cocoon) doesn't realise that people who live outwith 'the city' read ads too.

23-03-2018, 01:41 PM
Cold lavvy seats

23-03-2018, 06:37 PM
Car repair garages, absolute con men, I mean the big corporate ones not the small independent ones.

23-03-2018, 07:33 PM
Cold lavvy seats

Go to Japan, everywhere has heated toilet seats, there's not much in life that beats it.

23-03-2018, 07:52 PM
Cold lavvy seats

... said Mr Winterbottom.

25-03-2018, 08:05 AM
That one tune American sport /wwe fans have that they use for every single chant.

An example below,

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=1HJM9WXVuH4

I now have to mute the TV/laptop when that pish starts.

Na ka mura
Daniel bryan
This is awesome

Don't know what you mean.

25-03-2018, 09:46 AM
Go to Japan, everywhere has heated toilet seats, there's not much in life that beats it.

It's a 12 hour flight and I'd have to get to Heathrow from York.

I wouldn't be able to wait that long.

26-03-2018, 05:49 PM
Used lever-arched files that have legs that don't line up or close causing the letters and/or invoices fall out when you turn over a bundle of leafs.

Also, I'd like to kill the guy that designed the indentation programme for MS Word.

27-03-2018, 10:15 AM
Daytime TV.

A Place in the Sun - We 'only' have a budget of £400K, we'll view a few houses then show interest in one 'only' £50K over budget. Must assume a smug persona at all times.

Wanted Down Under - We've decided we are moving to Australia no matter what but the chance of a free trip was too good to turn down. Tears when we pretend to be surprised family and friends will miss us are standard. Again smug persona required and the ability to patronise anyone who doesn't assume jetting across the world is the answer to all their problems.

Cash In the Attic - Come look around our detached 4 bedroom house in Kent. Apparently we desperately need to flog some of the many antiques in said house to raise £600 for a birthday party.

The Sheriffs Are Coming - Guys who seem to take great pleasure in seizing peoples assets. Must make it clear what you have done will 'teach them a lesson'.

Doctors - For when even Emmerdale or Casualty won't touch you as an actor.

Homes Under the Hammer - I'm rich and can afford to buy a property at auction, spend a whack more doing it up then 'acheive a yield of between 10 and 12%'. Everyone look at how great I am, I even done a bit painting myself. Must include a few shots of said dickhead running his hands across a surface and engaging in hillarious banter with Dion Dublin.

27-03-2018, 11:02 AM
Used lever-arched files that have legs that don't line up or close causing the letters and/or invoices fall out when you turn over a bundle of leafs.

Also, I'd like to kill the guy that designed the indentation programme for MS Word.

:agree: Word in general - far too smart for it's own good.

Excel on the other hand ... :aok:

27-03-2018, 12:25 PM
:agree: Word in general - far too smart for it's own good.

Excel on the other hand ... :aok:

Agree, Word is so frustrating now that it made a PA at my old work say the f word for the first time in her life 😁

27-03-2018, 01:01 PM
Come on PB, In these days of Sky+, Tivo & Kodi, there's nae excuse for watching that keek! :-)

27-03-2018, 02:56 PM
Agree, Word is so frustrating now that it made a PA at my old work say the f word for the first time in her life 😁

Microsoft have a terrible habit of introducing very little new functionality and totally changing the layout for each new version of their software.

As I keep telling people in my work, it's all still there you've just got to find it.

27-03-2018, 04:00 PM
Microsoft have a terrible habit of introducing very little new functionality and totally changing the layout for each new version of their software.

As I keep telling people in my work, it's all still there you've just got to find it.

Does my head in. I have no interest in technology, other than as a means to do the stuff I need to do. I get that some (possibly lots of) people like exploring new tricks / gimmicks / layouts etc... , but the very last thing I want to be doing is wasting time watching their stupid wee videos or googling to find out where they've hidden something, or what they've renamed it, or how to use something that worked absolutely fine before. :grr:

27-03-2018, 06:08 PM
the very last thing I want to be doing is wasting time watching their stupid wee videos or googling to find out where they've hidden something, or what they've renamed it, or how to use something that worked absolutely fine before. :grr:

Aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaamen to that.

27-03-2018, 06:52 PM
Does my head in. I have no interest in technology, other than as a means to do the stuff I need to do. I get that some (possibly lots of) people like exploring new tricks / gimmicks / layouts etc... , but the very last thing I want to be doing is wasting time watching their stupid wee videos or googling to find out where they've hidden something, or what they've renamed it, or how to use something that worked absolutely fine before. :grr:

I was told that AutoCad purposely change things about with each new version so that the can make money on update training courses. Not sure if that's true though.

27-03-2018, 06:57 PM
Daytime TV.

A Place in the Sun - We 'only' have a budget of £400K, we'll view a few houses then show interest in one 'only' £50K over budget. Must assume a smug persona at all times.

Wanted Down Under - We've decided we are moving to Australia no matter what but the chance of a free trip was too good to turn down. Tears when we pretend to be surprised family and friends will miss us are standard. Again smug persona required and the ability to patronise anyone who doesn't assume jetting across the world is the answer to all their problems.

Cash In the Attic - Come look around our detached 4 bedroom house in Kent. Apparently we desperately need to flog some of the many antiques in said house to raise £600 for a birthday party.

The Sheriffs Are Coming - Guys who seem to take great pleasure in seizing peoples assets. Must make it clear what you have done will 'teach them a lesson'.

Doctors - For when even Emmerdale or Casualty won't touch you as an actor.

Homes Under the Hammer - I'm rich and can afford to buy a property at auction, spend a whack more doing it up then 'acheive a yield of between 10 and 12%'. Everyone look at how great I am, I even done a bit painting myself. Must include a few shots of said dickhead running his hands across a surface and engaging in hillarious banter with Dion Dublin.

Nailed them all - six on the trot, PB. :top marks

I can't stand those Smugs on A Place In The Sun. Horrible programme from start to finish.

27-03-2018, 06:58 PM
Nailed them all - six on the trot, PB. :top marks

I can't stand those Smugs on A Place In The Sun. Horrible programme from start to finish.

I like it :na na:

The others I'd never consider watching mind you.

27-03-2018, 09:56 PM
Snobs, not just you're upper class snobs but wine, whisky, beer, food, fashion, music and any other kind of snob. **** you all I'll do as I please.

27-03-2018, 10:14 PM
Electric shocks when you're doing the shopping at Tesco.

27-03-2018, 10:26 PM
I was told that AutoCad purposely change things about with each new version so that the can make money on update training courses. Not sure if that's true though.I wouldn't say that. In the office we have a couple of 2013s à few 2018s and even a 2007. They update their user interface, but there's a "switch to classic" option which means you can jump from one machine to another no problem. Unlike Microsoft Office, autocad updates generally offer new and improved features. In any case I don't think you can buy Autodesk licences outright any more - they all seem to be on a monthly or annual basis.

The biggest problems we have with Autocad now are compatibility issues with Windows perpetual updates.

27-03-2018, 10:30 PM
Snobs, not just you're upper class snobs but wine, whisky, beer, food, fashion, music and any other kind of snob. **** you all I'll do as I please.

Add to that job snobs.

What do you expect he/she is only a .............

28-03-2018, 07:16 AM
Add to that job snobs.

What do you expect he/she is only a .............

:agree: completely. I hate hearing folk say that.

Alfiembra
28-03-2018, 07:31 AM
Unlike Microsoft Office, autocad updates generally offer new and improved features.

Also screw up routines that worked perfectly well before (Array)

28-03-2018, 09:11 AM
Washing mushrooms.

28-03-2018, 09:34 AM
Washing mushrooms.

You're not a fun guy are you?

28-03-2018, 11:01 AM
You're not a fun guy are you?

Button it...

28-03-2018, 03:11 PM

Button it...

Yeh, keep him in the dark. :agree:

28-03-2018, 07:12 PM
I wouldn't say that. In the office we have a couple of 2013s à few 2018s and even a 2007. They update their user interface, but there's a "switch to classic" option which means you can jump from one machine to another no problem. Unlike Microsoft Office, autocad updates generally offer new and improved features. In any case I don't think you can buy Autodesk licences outright any more - they all seem to be on a monthly or annual basis.

The biggest problems we have with Autocad now are compatibility issues with Windows perpetual updates.

Been using Bentley for projects the last few years. Find it more user friendly than autocad.

28-03-2018, 07:57 PM
Washing mushrooms.

Brushing mushrooms.

Always look for the cleanest packet of mushrooms🍄

28-03-2018, 08:15 PM
Brushing mushrooms.

Always look for the cleanest packet of mushrooms🍄

Always buy them loose, find them much cleaner.

28-03-2018, 09:17 PM
Been using Bentley for projects the last few years. Find it more user friendly than autocad.We're about to take the leap into Revit/BIM. It's becoming compulsory for more and more public sector clients across here.

28-03-2018, 10:05 PM
Always buy them loose, find them much cleaner.

Chestnut kinda guy.

Fungi folks know.

29-03-2018, 11:33 AM
Chestnut kinda guy.

Fungi folks know.

Chanterelle from my own personal forager are always good too.

29-03-2018, 01:12 PM
Easter cards. One just arrived from a friend of my wife's family. Even allowing for her age and generally being an all round bampot that's a new level of mental. Easter cards- WTF?

29-03-2018, 07:25 PM
Easter cards. One just arrived from a friend of my wife's family. Even allowing for her age and generally being an all round bampot that's a new level of mental. Easter cards- WTF?

The wifes friend religious?

29-03-2018, 07:41 PM
The wifes friend religious?

No and the card features a pair of little fluffy tailed bunnies rather than a cross or a big boulder!

29-03-2018, 07:56 PM
People who don't put the divider on the belt at supermarkets after loading their things on.

29-03-2018, 08:03 PM
No and the card features a pair of little fluffy tailed bunnies rather than a cross or a big boulder!

Roaster!!

29-03-2018, 08:07 PM
Masterchef

'Mark from Yorkshire is going to be cooking duck with a bramble sauce, nutmeg mash potatoes, cailiflower puree and roast carrots'

'It sounds ok but it's a bit safe'

'Narong, originally fron Bangkok but now living in London will be making a classic Phad Thai'

'Oh it's so vibrant and exciting, a real risk if he doesn't get it right.'

Any dish that comes from outside the UK is hailed as super exciting, even a casual street food Thai staple for example. It's like we are still in the 60s and we are all living on bread and dripping and wowed by exotic new flavours. I'd wager a hell of a lot of people have eaten Phad Thai or a variant of it in their lives. It's really not all that exciting.

29-03-2018, 08:29 PM
Masterchef

'Mark from Yorkshire is going to be cooking duck with a bramble sauce, nutmeg mash potatoes, cailiflower puree and roast carrots'

'Narong, originally fron Bangkok but now living in London will be making a classic Phad Thai'

Any dish that comes from outside the UK is hailed as super exciting, even a casual street food Thai staple for example. It's like we are still in the 60s and we are all living on bread and dripping and wowed by exotic new flavours. I'd wager a hell of a lot of people have eaten Phad Thai or a variant of it in their lives. It's really not all that exciting.

Also they flog to death the thing about Greg liking puddings 'oo I like me pud', 'oo that's sweet, even for me' 'did I mention I've got a sweet tooth'? . Aye you did ya baldy twat. Also each episode the contestants will be reminded that they need to take their cooking to the next level'. Someone will be described as needing to come 'out of their comfort zone and be a bit more adventurous'. The women in my family never miss an episode, even though it's the same thing every ****ing week.

29-03-2018, 09:07 PM
Cyclists on paths who won't use their bell. Me and the dog just about got decapitated by some ersehole yesterday who suddenly swerves round us from nowhere. I'm sure he must have noticed the lack of eyes in the back of my head...

29-03-2018, 09:08 PM
Masterchef

I don’t like Masterchef but I love Masterchef Australia.

For starters (no pun intended), it doesn’t open with that cruddy ‘Spooks’ meets ‘Mastermind’ theme music. No, Masterchef Australia goes with a hi-nrg cheese house disco theme tune that sets the tone from the start - this isn’t about ponciness, this is about enjoyment!

There’s no ****y Sean Pertwee ‘heritage carrots braised in a port and thyme reduction’ commentary either, in fact no commentary at all.

The three judges are two chefs and a food writer, they’ve been doing it for years now. They go round the contestants and ask them what they’re making, then they eat it, then they judge it.

Typical scene:

Gary (judge): What you making there Shane?

Shane (contestant): Aw mate, it was a tough mystery box but I’m gonna try and combine the rhubarb, the clams and the carrots and hopefully it will all come together!

George (other judge): Good on ya mate, look forward to tasting it. Have you given yourself enough time though?

Shane: Jeez mate, I dunno. I’m under the pump but l’ll give it my best shot.

That’s pretty much how each episode and series goes but it is fantastically watchable and infinitely preferable to the UK version.

29-03-2018, 11:39 PM
Masterchef

I also hate when they ask the contestants if they’ve cooked the dish before, and they say no. They’ve had the choice of any ingredients and they’ve chosen to cook something they’ve never done before! Surprise surprise they usually nail it.

02-04-2018, 06:36 AM
Hospital Parking charges.

****ing daylight robbery.

Taking advantage of the vulnerable.

02-04-2018, 01:11 PM
Hospital Parking charges.

****ing daylight robbery.

Taking advantage of the vulnerable.

The parking charges are bad enough but the price of stuff in the shops there is nothing short of a disgrace.

My Mrs was in hospital for 12 weeks before my son was born, i naively assumes that if anything the shops and parking would be subsidised. How wrong I was.

Think I must have spent at least £700-£800 in that place between parking, the shop and the cafe.

02-04-2018, 04:31 PM
The parking charges are bad enough but the price of stuff in the shops there is nothing short of a disgrace.

My Mrs was in hospital for 12 weeks before my son was born, i naively assumes that if anything the shops and parking would be subsidised. How wrong I was.

Think I must have spent at least £700-£800 in that place between parking, the shop and the cafe.Absolutely. Mine is in just now. Staff have been amazing. She came in late Friday night and is looking at getting home tomorrow maybe. However parking and food is mental. Never mind I had to take leave from work to be there for her. Obviously the first concern is her but it's nothing short of criminal.

She's doing fine now btw. It was a worrying weekend. I didn't even know hibs had played never mind won on Saturday til about midnight Sunday.

02-04-2018, 07:41 PM
Where does all that money go I wonder? :hmmm:

04-04-2018, 08:59 PM
People who shout on the phone in an office.

Marginally beaten by the people who start off at a normal tone and THEN START SHOUTING LIKE THIS AT THE END OF THE SENTENCE. They then start the next sentence at low volume AND THEN START SCREAMING HALFWAY THROUGH A WORD MID SENTENCE.

It's like Chinese torture.

04-04-2018, 09:07 PM
Folk who are always full of big ideas and talk a great game but actually seem to do very little. Worse when people actually buy into their bull**** and hold them up as a big success story.

04-04-2018, 09:31 PM
Grey's Anatomy

04-04-2018, 09:38 PM
Folk who claim to have experience of every single thing that is discussed. No matter what, they have been there/done it/know all about it/owned one/seen it before/are an expert on it. If you tell them you have been to the moon, tbey have been twice.

04-04-2018, 09:48 PM
Folk who claim to have experience of every single thing that is discussed. No matter what, they have been there/done it/know all about it/owned one/seen it before/are an expert on it. If you tell them you have been to the moon, tbey have been twice.

Oh, I know all about that, let me tell you.

05-04-2018, 12:41 AM
Oh, I know all about that, let me tell you.

05-04-2018, 07:21 AM

You've been to tenerife and they've been to elevenerife type people, I know these daftys.

Alfiembra
05-04-2018, 08:30 AM
You've been to tenerife and they've been to elevenerife type people, I know these daftys.

I got there cheaper, I went to Fiverife :greengrin

05-04-2018, 10:20 AM
I also hate when they ask the contestants if they’ve cooked the dish before, and they say no. They’ve had the choice of any ingredients and they’ve chosen to cook something they’ve never done before! Surprise surprise they usually nail it.

I don't understand the interest in watching amateurs cooking something. If I was interested in cooking I'd buy a recipe book and try it myself, not watch somebody I don't know try to follow a recipe and then have their efforts denigrated by somebody who cooks or eats for a living. And as for the celebrity versions, if you were that famous you'd be too busy doing something to be available for 6 months filming with the BBC.

05-04-2018, 11:27 AM

"These holidays go up to eleven" - Final Crap :wink:

05-04-2018, 09:44 PM

A guy I work with has a cousin/uncle/aunt in every industry known to man - which apparently means that not only does he insert himself in every conversation by using the ‘my cousin is a dentist/recording executive/film producer/bin man/forensic examiner/head chef’ line, it also means that he is also an expert in all of these areas as well :rolleyes: you can set your watch by him chiming in

05-04-2018, 10:04 PM
The lack of manners from non brits. I normally take these things in my stride, but I’ve been taken aback by the ignorance and lack of manners by some people. I guess it’s just a British thing, but it bugs the hell out of me.

06-04-2018, 05:40 AM
The lack of manners from non brits. I normally take these things in my stride, but I’ve been taken aback by the ignorance and lack of manners by some people. I guess it’s just a British thing, but it bugs the hell out of me.

It's been the hardest part for me living abroad, I used to think manners were a human thing but they seem to be restricted to the British Isles, I'm now at the point of tears if someone does anything that resembles decent manners.

06-04-2018, 06:32 AM

It's not just a British thing it's a cultural thing. There's a whole list of things that Brits do that other cultures find disgusting and rude.

06-04-2018, 07:52 AM
Grey's Anatomy

A guilty pleasure of mine.

06-04-2018, 09:17 AM
It's not just a British thing it's a cultural thing. There's a whole list of things that Brits do that other cultures find disgusting and rude.

I know, but as someone that considers good manners to be important, I find it difficult to accept. I remember being in Munich a few years ago and the people there were unbelievably rude, but I had been told that would be the case so I was prepared for it. By the time we left I was getting right into the swing of things.

06-04-2018, 09:22 AM
It's been the hardest part for me living abroad, I used to think manners were a human thing but they seem to be restricted to the British Isles, I'm now at the point of tears if someone does anything that resembles decent manners.

I was sitting at the pool bar with the family yesterday and my daughter went to the toilet. Some people arrived and sat at the next table, there wasn’t enough seats for them, so one of them walked over and took my daughters seat without asking. I asked for it back and there was no apology.

06-04-2018, 09:42 AM
I know, but as someone that considers good manners to be important, I find it difficult to accept. I remember being in Munich a few years ago and the people there were unbelievably rude, but I had been told that would be the case so I was prepared for it. By the time we left I was getting right into the swing of things.

I think the best recent example of cultural differences is the first McDonald's that was opened in Moscow. Russians avoided the place like the plague because they thought the smiling friendly staff were crazy because smiling and friendly isn't how normal people are in Moscow.

I did a weeks course on cultural differences in the business world and you'd be surprised at how many deals get blown out because British reps were considered to be extremely rude for doing something we consider to be polite.

06-04-2018, 09:45 AM
I think the best recent example of cultural differences is the first McDonald's that was opened in Moscow. Russians avoided the place like the plague because they thought the smiling friendly staff were crazy because smiling and friendly isn't how normal people are in Moscow.

I did a weeks course on cultural differences in the business world and you'd be surprised at how many deals get blown out because British reps were considered to be extremely rude for doing something we consider to be polite.
I know what you’re saying. The British aren’t particularly liked abroad.

06-04-2018, 11:50 AM
We went to Prague for a weekend. I don't think we once saw a smiling face.
I've found the Icelandics to be a dour lot too.
Similar to living in Edinburgh I suppose. :stirrer:

06-04-2018, 12:20 PM
Fron my time in hospitality the rudest people I encountered by a distance are the Chinese. No please, no thank you, would happily barge past anyone to get where they want to be, if you asked them politely to wait so, as an example, an elderly person could go first they would carry on regardless, they shout in groups no matter what the setting, would push in front of people and block their view whilst watching an event, taking a photo etc. I remember asking a guy who worked in China regularly about it and he said it was very much a cultural and generational thing. A lot of elderly Chinese people can remember when food was scarce to non existent so if you weren't first you missed out; people simply couldn't afford to be polite as it was literally a matter of life and death. The lack of manners is a hangover from that (and indeed extreme poverty still exists in some areas of China today).

I found Americans funny. They complained about things Brits would shrug off or just put up with. Their use of please and thanks was far more sparing than we might be used to but they were always full of 'have a nice days' and could be quite gushing if you went above and beyond to help them and, again perhaps culturally, they thought the best way to express gratitude was through money. Every good job was rewarded with a note coming out the wallet.

Russians always seemed sullen and unfriendly and didn't invite anything more than the very basic conversation required.

A lot of middle eastern guests had the same manners as the Chinese. 'We're here and we want to be there so get out the way.' They were particualrly bad for leaving rooms in really messy states.

There's obviously an element of confirmation bias there but there's no doubt there are massive differences in manners between countries and regions.

06-04-2018, 01:19 PM
Fron my time in hospitality the rudest people I encountered by a distance are the Chinese. No please, no thank you, would happily barge past anyone to get where they want to be, if you asked them politely to wait so, as an example, an elderly person could go first they would carry on regardless, they shout in groups no matter what the setting, would push in front of people and block their view whilst watching an event, taking a photo etc. I remember asking a guy who worked in China regularly about it and he said it was very much a cultural and generational thing. A lot of elderly Chinese people can remember when food was scarce to non existent so if you weren't first you missed out; people simply couldn't afford to be polite as it was literally a matter of life and death. The lack of manners is a hangover from that (and indeed extreme poverty still exists in some areas of China today).

I found Americans funny. They complained about things Brits would shrug off or just put up with. Their use of please and thanks was far more sparing than we might be used to but they were always full of 'have a nice days' and could be quite gushing if you went above and beyond to help them and, again perhaps culturally, they thought the best way to express gratitude was through money. Every good job was rewarded with a note coming out the wallet.

Russians always seemed sullen and unfriendly and didn't invite anything more than the very basic conversation required.

A lot of middle eastern guests had the same manners as the Chinese. 'We're here and we want to be there so get out the way.' They were particualrly bad for leaving rooms in really messy states.

There's obviously an element of confirmation bias there but there's no doubt there are massive differences in manners between countries and regions.I echo this. Throw in the waving and shouting for attention when you were talking to another guest. A lot of waiters just point blank won't serve them.

07-04-2018, 08:44 AM
Badly made scrambled eggs.

Good scrambled eggs are easy but they take a bit time and patience. Nothing worse than getting served a big mess that has been whisked before going in the pan or inexplicably had milk added. As for doing them in the microwave? The hottest part of hell should be reserved for those type of people.

07-04-2018, 09:26 PM
I mentioned LinkedIn ****ers previously however I've logged in and seen half of my colleagues rubbing one out over a "motivational speaker" who's having a chug himself over a workshop he gave on "critical conversations".

I don't know whether to finish off the bottle of wine in tears or just jump out the bedroom window to end it all.

08-04-2018, 08:15 PM
Having a monkey on Milan tonight but not being able to check the score cause lady bunberry is watching me like a hawk. Updates would be appreciated gentlemen.

08-04-2018, 08:17 PM
Having a monkey on Milan tonight but not being able to check the score cause lady bunberry is watching me like a hawk. Updates would be appreciated gentlemen.

0 0 71 mins

08-04-2018, 08:18 PM

0-0 70 minutes played.

08-04-2018, 08:18 PM
0 0 71 mins

Cheers mate. As long as I’m not on the bookies website she’s not suspicious.

08-04-2018, 08:22 PM
Cheers mate. As long as I’m not on the bookies website she’s not suspicious.

0 1

08-04-2018, 08:26 PM
**** sake

Jay
08-04-2018, 08:27 PM
Badly made scrambled eggs.

Good scrambled eggs are easy but they take a bit time and patience. Nothing worse than getting served a big mess that has been whisked before going in the pan or inexplicably had milk added. As for doing them in the microwave? The hottest part of hell should be reserved for those type of people.

You dont use milk, you dont whisk them.and you dont use the microwave??? How on earth do you make scrambled egg?

08-04-2018, 08:33 PM
**** sake

1 1 86 mins

08-04-2018, 08:34 PM
1 1 86 mins

Come on Milan.

08-04-2018, 08:36 PM
You dont use milk, you dont whisk them.and you dont use the microwave??? How on earth do you make scrambled egg?

4 eggs in a pan on a moderate heat with 2 knobs of butter. Stir with a spatula slowly and constantly. Once they start to come together take them off the heat and stir a bit faster, back on the heat and back to slow stirring, off the heat again, add salt and pepper then back on the heat. Keep repeating the on and off until you get the consistency you like. Takes about 8-10 minutes.

No milk and adding the seasoning later gives a much smoother, creamier texture.

08-04-2018, 08:37 PM
Come on Milan.

5 mins added time. Corner Milan.

08-04-2018, 08:40 PM

It's all dowwn to personal preference, working around some very good chefs sometimes means you adapt a method that you maybe never used to use. The most important thing is to not overcook your eggs. I pour olive oil in the pan to start and don't season or whisk the eggs before they're in the pan as they can break down and become watery. Also alternating between heat and no heat, and stirring them the entire time they're cooking gives fantastic results, no dairy added at all.

08-04-2018, 08:43 PM
1 1 ft

08-04-2018, 09:08 PM
1 1 ft

Sore one mate. I’ve went all in with cacuta deportivo. I’m either a grand down or £75 up. Nil nil at halftime.

Jay
08-04-2018, 09:10 PM
4 eggs in a pan on a moderate heat with 2 knobs of butter. Stir with a spatula slowly and constantly. Once they start to come together take them off the heat and stir a bit faster, back on the heat and back to slow stirring, off the heat again, add salt and pepper then back on the heat. Keep repeating the on and off until you get the consistency you like. Takes about 8-10 minutes.

No milk and adding the seasoning later gives a much smoother, creamier texture.

It's all dowwn to personal preference, working around some very good chefs sometimes means you adapt a method that you maybe never used to use. The most important thing is to not overcook your eggs. I pour olive oil in the pan to start and don't season or whisk the eggs before they're in the pan as they can break down and become watery. Also alternating between heat and no heat, and stirring them the entire time they're cooking gives fantastic results, no dairy added at all.

Seems an awful.lot of work but i'll give it a try.

08-04-2018, 09:31 PM
Sore one mate. I’ve went all in with cacuta deportivo. I’m either a grand down or £75 up. Nil nil at halftime.

:shocked:. I done that the day after one of my paydays one month, never again! Longest 4 weeks I've ever had!

08-04-2018, 09:32 PM

Jesus.

[emoji33]

08-04-2018, 09:34 PM

Good luck.

08-04-2018, 09:35 PM

It's 1-0 to that team you've backed.

08-04-2018, 09:47 PM
It's 1-0 to that team you've backed.

15 to go. Cash out is tempting but I’m going to ride it out.

08-04-2018, 10:03 PM
Never in doubt. Hibees 3 rangers 2

09-04-2018, 10:18 AM
:hijack: :tsk tsk:

Pet peeve 4978 :cool2:

11-04-2018, 10:38 AM
Chargers and wires in general.
Put two on a bag separately and they will concort till they're in a proper messy fankle.
Every time!

11-04-2018, 10:58 AM
15 to go. Cash out is tempting but I’m going to ride it out.

What happened, did it come in? :worried:

11-04-2018, 11:08 AM
Chargers and wires in general.
Put two on a bag separately and they will concort till they're in a proper messy fankle.
Every time!

I have a box of cables I keep in a corner and roll them up whenever I put anything in it. Without fail, every single time I open the box it's like an orgy in a snakepit. Nobody ever admits to having been in there and they must have done it themselves.

11-04-2018, 11:11 AM
Kinks in ****ing hoses.

11-04-2018, 11:54 AM
People who, when on the phone encounter connection issues, continue to ask if the other person can hear them for 10 minutes when after 10 seconds it's clear it's best to hang up.

"Mike? Mike? Can you hear me? Mike? Mike are you there? Mike?....HELLO MIKE? ARE YOU THERE MIKE?....I think I've lost you....MIKE?...CAN YOU HEAR ME? HELLO? Mike I think I'll hang up and try again. Mike? MIKE?"

11-04-2018, 03:31 PM
I have a box of cables I keep in a corner and roll them up whenever I put anything in it. Without fail, every single time I open the box it's like an orgy in a snakepit. Nobody ever admits to having been in there and they must have done it themselves.

They do. They're just aggravating little b's.

11-04-2018, 03:58 PM

I use clothes pegs to keep my cable drawer in order.

11-04-2018, 06:14 PM
Conspiracy theorists.

11-04-2018, 06:27 PM

I've got these for charger cables
https://www.amazon.co.uk/Mixed-Wrap-Cable-Fastener-Chargers/dp/B002G60MRW

Network cables in the other hand :brickwall

11-04-2018, 06:48 PM
Conspiracy theorists.

Exactly what a Luciferian would post.

11-04-2018, 07:11 PM
Exactly what a Luciferian would post.

😁

11-04-2018, 09:35 PM
Windows updates on your laptop.

Just ****ing start already.

12-04-2018, 08:18 AM
I use clothes pegs to keep my cable drawer in order.

Do you know anybody that sells clothes pegs?

12-04-2018, 10:18 AM
What happened, did it come in? :worried:
Thankfully it did.

12-04-2018, 10:30 AM
Do you know anybody that sells clothes pegs?

Not personally but there must be someone on here who does.

12-04-2018, 10:49 AM
Just Fab tv adverts, cringe!
People who give/leave money to animal charities.

12-04-2018, 04:18 PM
Bus etiquette part 2,378

Stood waiting on the bus and it's pishing it down, guy walks past me to get in the shelter, bus turns up and he's a gent and let's a woman who was at the stop before him get on first but then tries to get on before me, not happening

Get on the bus and go a few stops and some dude sits beside me and is on his phone, I've had to listen to 2 minutes worth of inane pish, he's getting 2 more minutes before he gets told to shut the **** up

12-04-2018, 04:35 PM
Facebook posts that are clearly just harvesting likes and comments.

You know, sheite like I bet you can't think of a word which begins with A and ends in E.

Invariably they've got hundreds of thousands of replies and no-one ever reads them.

Why do people reply to them? :grr:

12-04-2018, 04:41 PM
Facebook posts that are clearly just harvesting likes and comments.

You know, sheite like I bet you can't think of a word which begins with A and ends in E.

Invariably they've got hundreds of thousands of replies and no-one ever reads them.

Why do people reply to them? :grr:

There should be a basic intelligence test before you get to use the Internet.

12-04-2018, 04:57 PM
Bus etiquette part 2,378

Stood waiting on the bus and it's pishing it down, guy walks past me to get in the shelter, bus turns up and he's a gent and let's a woman who was at the stop before him get on first but then tries to get on before me, not happening

Get on the bus and go a few stops and some dude sits beside me and is on his phone, I've had to listen to 2 minutes worth of inane pish, he's getting 2 more minutes before he gets told to shut the **** up

The lack of manners on public transport makes me despise humanity, you would think the apocalypse had arrived with one last bus/train/plane heading towards safety the way people behave.

12-04-2018, 05:18 PM
The lack of manners on public transport makes me despise humanity, you would think the apocalypse had arrived with one last bus/train/plane heading towards safety the way people behave.

Correct, I am a hell of a lot of things but one thing I do have is manners and drives me mental when people aren't like minded

12-04-2018, 05:22 PM
Correct, I am a hell of a lot of things but one thing I do have is manners and drives me mental when people aren't like minded

Bus etiquette is the bane of my existence.