View Full Version : Pet Peeves IV

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 [8] 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57

16-11-2016, 05:49 PM
The office do is important to women. It's their chance to dress up and outdo their pals. They're not getting dolled up for you, although with a wee dab of Hai Karate behind the earlobes, you never know your luck.
But you better get in there chop chop.

EH6 Hibby
16-11-2016, 07:25 PM
Just drove back from the fort to Leith and a few things I notice every time I drive this way that really annoy me.

People that slow down to 30 when passing the speed camera on Sir Harry Lauder Road. Why do they think they'll get a speeding ticket for drinking the correct speed.

People that use the right hand lane going towards Seafield Road but then drive at 30 slowing everyone else down.

The same people usually speed up to 40 just in time for the road to change back to 30.

16-11-2016, 11:41 PM
Just drove back from the fort to Leith and a few things I notice every time I drive this way that really annoy me.

People that slow down to 30 when passing the speed camera on Sir Harry Lauder Road. Why do they think they'll get a speeding ticket for drinking the correct speed.

People that use the right hand lane going towards Seafield Road but then drive at 30 slowing everyone else down.

The same people usually speed up to 40 just in time for the road to change back to 30.

:agree: They should Keep right on to the end of the Road doing 40mph. :wink:

17-11-2016, 06:39 AM
The whole concept of work Christmas parties. All depends on the makeup of your office I suppose, and my current one is 80% female, mostly my age with a lack of craggy alcoholic harridans so it'll be OK, but some of the ones in previous jobs have been absolute purgatory.

17-11-2016, 08:07 AM
When you are chatting to someone and the subject of children come up and you say "do you have kids" to which they reply "no but I have 2 cats see the pictures"

Aye then , like its anywhere near the same !

17-11-2016, 08:35 AM
Dog owners that feel the need to take their mutts to the pub and proceed to let them sit on seats and/or run amok in the pub. (Even worse when they are wet).

17-11-2016, 09:51 AM
Hate what the latest iPhone update has done to the e-mail section.Settings > Mail > Threading, turn off “Organize by thread".

17-11-2016, 09:51 AM
Workaholic bosses who think all the folk they employ or oversee should be workaholics too.

17-11-2016, 11:49 AM
Workaholic bosses who think all the folk they employ or oversee should be workaholics too.

One of the biggest problems is people in upper middle managment and above often view their jobs as a career and can't get their head round the fact that others just view it as a job.

17-11-2016, 11:52 AM
Settings > Mail > Threading, turn off “Organize by thread".

Legend! Cheers 👍🏼

17-11-2016, 12:02 PM
One of the biggest problems is people in upper middle managment and above often view their jobs as a career and can't get their head round the fact that others just view it as a job.

I've seen this from both sides. My last job was dead end and it was just a job to me. One of my seniors was a good bit older than me and a complete workhorse. He used to get annoyed if I didn't come in early or stay late when we were busy. But I didn't get any overtime and had no prospects so why should I?

In my new job I manage 3 staff. We are a small company and there are endless opportunities for anyone who has a bit of ambition. It pisses me off seeing one of them in particular, who picks up a pretty decent pay, just treat his job as an inconvenience, when it could be so much more. He is very settled and genuinely doesn't care too much about his work. He even kicked off last month when his bonus wasn't as much as he expected. It wouldn't do any harm to show a bit of enthusiasm now and again.

17-11-2016, 12:03 PM
Traffic alerts on the car radio just as your favourite tune is about to kick in or when your listening to some interesting news.

17-11-2016, 04:24 PM
I've seen this from both sides. My last job was dead end and it was just a job to me. One of my seniors was a good bit older than me and a complete workhorse. He used to get annoyed if I didn't come in early or stay late when we were busy. But I didn't get any overtime and had no prospects so why should I?

In my new job I manage 3 staff. We are a small company and there are endless opportunities for anyone who has a bit of ambition. It pisses me off seeing one of them in particular, who picks up a pretty decent pay, just treat his job as an inconvenience, when it could be so much more. He is very settled and genuinely doesn't care too much about his work. He even kicked off last month when his bonus wasn't as much as he expected. It wouldn't do any harm to show a bit of enthusiasm now and again.

Some employers expect their staff to say on and work that extra mile without pay. Okay? Fine.
Tell your boss you're leaving an hour early for the next couple of weeks and want the same pay. Okay? Not fine, I'll bet.

I take your point, FTC.
It's great to show a bit enthusiasm & ambition however, be careful you're not just another enthusiastic, ambitious mug.

17-11-2016, 04:51 PM

Don't get me wrong I've no time for the people who essentially steal a living. There's a few of them in my work as well.

I'm enthusiatic about my work and good at my job (and in fairness acknowledged as such) but I just can't be ersed with all the motivational pep talks, implication that nothing should be more important than the job and the sycophants who lap it up.

It's a cliche but I work to live not the other way round. Any ambitions I have in the workplace are 100% fuelled by the desire to have more income to spend on what I want to do as opposed to career aspirations.

hibs#1
17-11-2016, 06:05 PM
Don't get me wrong I've no time for the people who essentially steal a living. There's a few of them in my work as well.

I'm enthusiatic about my work and good at my job (and in fairness acknowledged as such) but I just can't be ersed with all the motivational pep talks, implication that nothing should be more important than the job and the sycophants who lap it up.

It's a cliche but I work to live not the other way round. Any ambitions I have in the workplace are 100% fuelled by the desire to have more income to spend on what I want to do as opposed to career aspirations.

I agree with you,my last job was an absolute nightmare for this it was a small company run by the two owners who were control freaks and expected the rest of us too drop everything at short notice too suit them sometimes they were too ignorant to ask us to stay on late pretty much gave us no choice as we were miles away from home without transport home

What didn't help was the 2 guys who had been there for years encouraged this behaviour by never saying no to anything and encouraging this awful patter that work is everthing

Best of it was it was dead end job with zero prospects
It's no surprise after 2 years of this crap I chucked it.

17-11-2016, 07:19 PM
Some employers expect their staff to say on and work that extra mile without pay. Okay? Fine.
Tell your boss you're leaving an hour early for the next couple of weeks and want the same pay. Okay? Not fine, I'll bet.

I take your point, FTC.
It's great to show a bit enthusiasm & ambition however, be careful you're not just another enthusiastic, ambitious mug.
It depends how it's handled - ie. man management. I sometimes work ridiculous hours and will, when necessary, take extra time to not just finish a job, but to do it well.

But I'm comfortable with that because it works in the two directions. I'm reasonably well paid and in 10 years with the firm have always had at least a month's salary as a Christmas bonus.

When my mother died a few years ago, one of the first things my boss did was make sure that I had enough money to organise flights to get back to Scotland as well as other expenses.

I've also been basically given a share in the business.

With an employer like that, you go the extra mile without a second thought.

hibs#1
17-11-2016, 07:25 PM
It depends how it's handled - ie. man management. I sometimes work ridiculous hours and will, when necessary, take extra time to not just finish a job, but to do it well.

But I'm comfortable with that because it works in the two directions. I'm reasonably well paid and in 10 years with the firm have always had at least a month's salary as a Christmas bonus.

When my mother died a few years ago, one of the first things my boss did was make sure that I had enough money to organise flights to get back to Scotland as well as other expenses.

Absolutely but they're very owners/bosses that will be like yours most of them Ive come across have been arrogant greedy gits

When they act like they are doing you a favour by paying you at all is mind boggling.no I've worked for it I'm due it.

17-11-2016, 09:19 PM
Most of the jobsworths I encountered in my younger years of employment wouldn't last very long in self employment. That's a real test of commitment when there's no benefits or company policy to fall back on when the fan gets hit with *****.

17-11-2016, 10:06 PM
I agree with you,my last job was an absolute nightmare for this it was a small company run by the two owners who were control freaks and expected the rest of us too drop everything at short notice too suit them sometimes they were too ignorant to ask us to stay on late pretty much gave us no choice as we were miles away from home without transport home

What didn't help was the 2 guys who had been there for years encouraged this behaviour by never saying no to anything and encouraging this awful patter that work is everthing

Best of it was it was dead end job with zero prospects
It's no surprise after 2 years of this crap I chucked it.

I've experienced both sides of this. One job eventually led me to feel sick to my stomach as I travelled to work, genuine shivers down my spine any time the phone rang at work, and stress related depression.

now I work for a company and manager who make me feel valued, respected, wanted and a positive part of what happens, doing a job I genuinely love doing, and am very good at.
When my fiancé (now wife) was diagnosed with cancer (3 months before our wedding), my work and particularly my manager were simply amazing. Nothing was too much trouble, my boss even taking the time to work out for herself when the chemo sessions were, and coming to tell me I was taking each of those days off to be with my fiancé, gave me time to take her to hospital when the operations took place, on every occasion there wasn't a word said about it being unpaid or I'd need to make the time back.

There's a saying that people don't leave jobs, they leave managers. In the original job, I was treated like crap (like everyone else). In my current job, I'll happily go out my way to help or support my manager, because I know it's appreciated and reciprocated.

18-11-2016, 06:16 AM
I've experienced both sides of this. One job eventually led me to feel sick to my stomach as I travelled to work, genuine shivers down my spine any time the phone rang at work, and stress related depression.

now I work for a company and manager who make me feel valued, respected, wanted and a positive part of what happens, doing a job I genuinely love doing, and am very good at.
When my fiancé (now wife) was diagnosed with cancer (3 months before our wedding), my work and particularly my manager were simply amazing. Nothing was too much trouble, my boss even taking the time to work out for herself when the chemo sessions were, and coming to tell me I was taking each of those days off to be with my fiancé, gave me time to take her to hospital when the operations took place, on every occasion there wasn't a word said about it being unpaid or I'd need to make the time back.

There's a saying that people don't leave jobs, they leave managers. In the original job, I was treated like crap (like everyone else). In my current job, I'll happily go out my way to help or support my manager, because I know it's appreciated and reciprocated.

Your story bears an uncanny resemblance to mine!

18-11-2016, 06:23 AM

Agree with you on that, especially the work to live aspect.

I guess it's just frustrating being stuck in the same office everyday with someone who just can't be arsed. Don't get me wrong, he's not a complete jobsworth but it annoys me how good he has it and how much he takes it for granted.

derekHFC
18-11-2016, 08:16 AM
When people take a thread off topic to moan about work :greengrin

hibs#1
18-11-2016, 04:21 PM
Most of the jobsworths I encountered in my younger years of employment wouldn't last very long in self employment. That's a real test of commitment when there's no benefits or company policy to fall back on when the fan gets hit with *****.

I'm now self employed and never been happier in my work side of life.

18-11-2016, 05:10 PM
Being self employed in an occupation where payment from customers is not instant or guaranteed is a massive challenge and one I am glad I am out of.

18-11-2016, 10:28 PM
Erseholes (young) who are obviously sober but talk total pish far too loudly on the last train. Must be a North Berwick thing....

18-11-2016, 10:42 PM
Christmas being shoved down our throats far too early. Especially that Tesco ad where the woman stops and asks if it's too early then says "no, it's Christmas, bring it on!"

It. Is. Not. ****ing. Christmas!

23-11-2016, 08:42 AM
Getting on a bus, and being stuck behind someone taking a Metro from the wee basket. Not any Metro though, one from the bottom of the pile. They're all the same, just take the one on the top. Ok someone else might have touched it first, but if you don't eat it, you should be fine. You're still pressing the same bell and sitting in the same seat as the people who you are too scared to touch the same newspaper as.

23-11-2016, 10:39 AM
People who put the toilet roll on the holder the wrong way round.

23-11-2016, 11:35 AM

I've heard this before. What is the "wrong way round" for a toilet roll?

Either you've got the first sheet hanging loose in front of the main roll or "behind" it. Either way you're still getting some paper to wipe your arse.

23-11-2016, 11:43 AM

Either you've got the first sheet hanging loose in front of the main roll or "behind" it. Either way you're still getting some paper to wipe your arse.

It must be towards you, if it's hanging behind then there is just no point in living

23-11-2016, 12:03 PM
It must be towards you, if it's hanging behind then there is just no point in living

As long as its not the shiny teflon coated stuff who cares? ;-)

Izal?

23-11-2016, 01:16 PM

Yep does my nut in when folk do it wrong :-)

23-11-2016, 01:17 PM

It matters if you have toilet roll OCD :-)

23-11-2016, 01:33 PM
People who make themselves extremely difficult to get in contact with. In this day and age it's infuriating.

23-11-2016, 01:51 PM
People who make themselves extremely difficult to get in contact with. In this day and age it's infuriating.

People who expect an instant response to a contact made at any time of day or night.

23-11-2016, 02:05 PM
People who expect an instant response to a contact made at any time of day or night.

Yes, although there's a big difference between this and what I was meaning, about people who purposely turn their phone off for long periods.

derekHFC
23-11-2016, 02:18 PM
When half of the women in the office are cold so have the heaters on and the other half are hot, so the windows are open.

Neither were amused when I turned the heaters off and closed the windows and told them to man up :cb

23-11-2016, 02:59 PM
It matters if you have toilet roll OCD :-)

Hahaha

Fair enough. I remain intrigued though.

I mean, is it an aesthetic thing? Or logistical? e.g. Have you placed your toilet roll holder at the absolute maximum stretch of your arm from the throne, meaning that if that first sheet is those few cms further away behind the main roll your bathroom floor is in danger of ending up a looking a bit "Jambo artwork in Dunbar End toilet"?

23-11-2016, 03:34 PM
Hahaha

I mean, is it an aesthetic thing? Or logistical? e.g. Have you placed your toilet roll holder at the absolute maximum stretch of your arm from the throne, meaning that if that first sheet is those few cms further away behind the main roll your bathroom floor is in danger of ending up a looking a bit "Jambo artwork in Dunbar End toilet"?

Nothing as logical as that,I like places for everything and uniformity. It pisses me off the same way as not putting things back where they belong does :-) I once knew a neighbour who had keys to the house while we were on holiday had borrowed my cordless drill because she put the case back in the cupboard the wrong way round!

pollution
23-11-2016, 04:57 PM
News readers/reporters who can't speak English. This mornings example was "... for 6 consecutive years in a row..."

Weather "girls" who think there is a place called "Northren England" or "the Northren Isles" The same girls who say ' the overnight period ' rather than ' overnight '.

23-11-2016, 07:59 PM
People who ask me for a "contact telephone number".

Sent from my SM-A510F using Tapatalk

23-11-2016, 08:44 PM
People who bring their "A" game

23-11-2016, 11:04 PM
BBC Scotland weather person Judith Ralston. We can't make out what she's saying half the time. She slurs her words.
I gather she's married to some bigwig at the Beeb so that may explain her continued employment.

Mixu62
24-11-2016, 12:13 AM
When people use redundancies such as "6 a.m. in the morning". You do know what "a.m." means don't you!?

Able bodied people who use the lift at work to go up 1 floor.

And getting in the lift just after a smoker who has just had a smoke-break has left it. And now I'm stuck in a small metal box with the stench of their fags.

Horrendously low pay. I'm our HR Dept's Rem & Reward person and it's horrible doing an annual salary review where our Exec's (who are all very comfortably on 6 figure salaries) agree to pathetic increases for the people who get their hands dirty.

24-11-2016, 06:46 AM
When people use redundancies such as "6 a.m. in the morning". You do know what "a.m." means don't you!?

And getting in the lift just after a smoker who has just had a smoke-break has left it. And now I'm stuck in a small metal box with the stench of their fags.

Horrendously low pay. I'm our HR Dept's Rem & Reward person and it's horrible doing an annual salary review where our Exec's (who are all very comfortably on 6 figure salaries) agree to pathetic increases for the people who get their hands dirty.

Just smoke breaks in general.

I get into work at 9, I take 40 minutes for lunch and I leave at 5, all as contracted. The 3 smokers take extra breaks at 10, 1, 3 and sometimes about 4.30, all lasting about 10 minutes and all paid. Nothing ever said about the fact they are doing 30-40 minutes less work than the non smokers for the same money. Add to that they ****ing stink when they come back into the office and don't even have the decency to wash their hands and/or put a mint in their mouth.

24-11-2016, 07:26 AM
Just smoke breaks in general.

I get into work at 9, I take 40 minutes for lunch and I leave at 5, all as contracted. The 3 smokers take extra breaks at 10, 1, 3 and sometimes about 4.30, all lasting about 10 minutes and all paid. Nothing ever said about the fact they are doing 30-40 minutes less work than the non smokers for the same money. Add to that they ****ing stink when they come back into the office and don't even have the decency to wash their hands and/or put a mint in their mouth.

and if anything is said about their extra breaks/less work, or they aren't able to get one of these jaunts, they take humbrage as if someone has taken away a civil liberty!

it also pisses me off when ex-smokers who used to take all these extra breaks now whine about those still smoking taking smoke breaks and not working as much.

24-11-2016, 07:53 AM
BBC Scotland weather person Judith Ralston. We can't make out what she's saying half the time. She slurs her words.
I gather she's married to some bigwig at the Beeb so that may explain her continued employment.

That's a scary big chest she's got as well.

24-11-2016, 09:14 AM
and if anything is said about their extra breaks/less work, or they aren't able to get one of these jaunts, they take humbrage as if someone has taken away a civil liberty!

it also pisses me off when ex-smokers who used to take all these extra breaks now whine about those still smoking taking smoke breaks and not working as much.

They shouldn't be allowed to do that. Who's in charge here?!

24-11-2016, 09:38 AM
Hibs club shop. Garbage range of stock and what is decent is hardly ever in stock. Just generally rubbish for a club our size and should be taken back into the club's hand asap.

24-11-2016, 11:09 AM
T-Shirts under shirts.

24-11-2016, 11:11 AM
Spoons.

There are far too many in the drawer in our house.
Tea spoons , soup spoons, desert spoons and serving spoons.
I've never ever used the serving spoons.

24-11-2016, 11:45 AM
My new peeve......Christmas 'must have toys'....unfortunately my son is christmas aware and now wants a bloody hatchimal!! they are like gold dust and I am now a crazy manic refreshing every page all day. He might need to learn a very valuable lesson about dissapointed come christmas day!

24-11-2016, 12:14 PM
Traffic outside of rush hour. Especially when there's no apparent need for it. Totally get it that when everyone is going to work, or getting home from work, that it's going to be busy. Pain in the backside but no real complaints there.

24-11-2016, 12:24 PM
My new peeve......Christmas 'must have toys'....unfortunately my son is christmas aware and now wants a bloody hatchimal!! they are like gold dust and I am now a crazy manic refreshing every page all day. He might need to learn a very valuable lesson about dissapointed come christmas day!

Toy manufactures who create the crazy manic rush for toys by deliberately keeping the market short of toys for a period before flooding it so they are all snapped up.

24-11-2016, 12:28 PM
Toy manufactures who create the crazy manic rush for toys by deliberately keeping the market short of toys for a period before flooding it so they are all snapped up. Yip, And I am now thinking of nothing else until I get one, the thought of the wee mans face on xmas morning if its not there kills me. I would add Christmas in general to the peeves list!!

24-11-2016, 12:35 PM
It's approaching that time of year when the twice a year brigade hit the pubs.

A jobsworth management type about 3 stone overweight, usually a Hearts fan but only actually attends rugby on a 'freebie', pompously declaring to everyone that he's only having a couple. Then the inevitable:

'What's everyone for?'
'Ooh something pale Rory'
'Try this Crawf, it's called Deuchars'
'I'll have one of them'
'Who else?'
'G&T for me'
'Stella ha ha ha. Had 3 pints of that early in the year, what a bloody state'
'What are you like Gav?'
'Sorry barman are you getting all this? The boozers are out tonight haw haw haw'
'Make mine a half'
'Half? You're out with the big boys tonight!'
'Oooh go on then a pint'
'Right sorted, oh and a Guinness for myself'

You can usually guarantee one of that group will be spotted with vomit stains somewhere on their person about 2 hours later after having 3 pints then lecherously joining the 20 something girls, who have no ****ing idea why they are there, for 'a shot' at the bar. Another will likely take offence if a regular gets looked after and another will inevitably try to chat up a barmaid wo was out of his league even 20 years ago.

Roll on January.

24-11-2016, 12:38 PM

A jobsworth management type about 3 stone overweight, usually a Hearts fan but only actually attends rugby on a 'freebie', pompously declaring to everyone that he's only having a couple. Then the inevitable:

'What's everyone for?'
'I'll have one of them'
'Who else?'
'G&T for me'
'What are you like Gav?'
'Sorry barman are you getting all this? The boozers are out tonight haw haw haw'
'Make mine a half'
'Oooh go on then a pint'

You can usually guarantee one of that group will be spotted with vomit stains somewhere on their person about 2 hours later after having 3 pints then lecherously joining the 20 something girls, who have no ****ing idea why they are there, for 'a shot' at the bar. Another will likely take offence if a regular gets looked after and another will inevitably try to chat up a barmaid wo was out of his league even 20 years ago.

Roll on January.
Boom. We agree again.

That and gym clowns who join in January, have no etiquette and do nothing but take facebook selfies then are never seen again by March if they even get that far.

24-11-2016, 12:54 PM

'What's everyone for?'
'I'll have one of them'
'Who else?'
'G&T for me'
'What are you like Gav?'
'Make mine a half'
'Oooh go on then a pint'

Roll on January.

Came across one of these people at xmas last year, was the back of 6 in George Street, the pub was rammed and I wanted to get past this fat drunken mess of a guy, I was polite and said "can I squeeze past please?" Trying to be a smart arse in front of his pals he goes "I dunno, can you?" So I just said "aye if you breathe in first"

He didn't like that one bit and wanted to go boxing with me, I explained that it was the back of 6 and I was out with the work but if he was still on his feet in a couple of hours I'd happily oblige when I was leaving, he went quiet after that, no wonder I don't drink up town often

24-11-2016, 03:18 PM
When someone says they will 'reach out' to you. Pretty common in America but I'm starting to see people over here use it as well.

24-11-2016, 03:28 PM
Came across one of these people at xmas last year, was the back of 6 in George Street, the pub was rammed and I wanted to get past this fat drunken mess of a guy, I was polite and said "can I squeeze past please?" Trying to be a smart arse in front of his pals he goes "I dunno, can you?" So I just said "aye if you breathe in first"

He didn't like that one bit and wanted to go boxing with me, I explained that it was the back of 6 and I was out with the work but if he was still on his feet in a couple of hours I'd happily oblige when I was leaving, he went quiet after that, no wonder I don't drink up town often I remember bumping into a drunk outside the Roxburgh Hotel and they were asking if I was going to some 80's disco place :na na:

24-11-2016, 03:52 PM
I remember bumping into a drunk outside the Roxburgh Hotel and they were asking if I was going to some 80's disco place :na na:

You made the right choice :faf::faf:

24-11-2016, 03:57 PM

The guy that used to work next to me took smoke breaks. Whenever he came back from one he totally reeked of fag smoke. Sometimes I almost reached the point of barfing because of the stench.

24-11-2016, 06:10 PM
Hahaha

It's harder to grab the end because it's hanging down against the wall. :agree:

25-11-2016, 07:25 AM

'What's everyone for?'
'I'll have one of them'
'Who else?'
'G&T for me'
'What are you like Gav?'
'Make mine a half'
'Oooh go on then a pint'

Roll on January.

Yup. Share this every year on Facebook and it remains as valid as ever:

https://www.buzzfeed.com/declancashin/drink-up?utm_term=.hxP14QND8#.sw1OnBjA6

IrnBru22
28-11-2016, 01:47 AM
People that don't take a drink or look you in the eye when they cheers/slanj you.

28-11-2016, 08:41 AM
Drivers on phones, even when sitting in traffic, generally seems to be young women in their ****tttty fiat 500s or ford ka's financed up to the eyeballs sitting texting or taking a duck face selfie or checking Facebook. Its not ok even when stopped in traffic, it means you're not paying attention to whats going on around you!!

It's not the first time Ive leaned out the window to shout at them to get off their phone as the light has turned green and they've not moved!! Really does my head in!!

Anyone caught using their phone whilst in control of a motor vehicle should just be automatically banned for a year.

28-11-2016, 08:43 AM

Or people who don't replace it and just leave the empty tube on the holder! :grr:

28-11-2016, 01:16 PM
Probably mentioned elsewhere - people that don't think that the rules apply to them for some reason. Case in point - this morning, woman (gobby sort) has two dogs in the school playground, she's had to take them inside through a 'tunnel' past at least two 'no dogs' signs, and several dogs tied up outside to get them in. There's a one-way exit system as well for getting out the playground, guess who goes against the flow?

The school also created a drop-off point in the car park as it's too small to accomodate everyone parking, the idea being that folk can drop off then exit the car park, which would be fine if people didn't just park their cars in that area as well. WTF is wrong with these people?

28-11-2016, 01:28 PM
The weather forecast. Full suns all morning according to BBC via the Met Office and I come home to find my washing soaking wet :grr:

28-11-2016, 01:38 PM
Supermarkets who rearrange their stock every once in a while so you are forced to look at other products as you rummage for the item you always buy.

Also, there is a store nearby and I swear the manager must have had it in for me because no matter what I bought, it was discontinued the following week.

28-11-2016, 10:01 PM
Supermarkets who rearrange their stock every once in a while so you are forced to look at other products as you rummage for the item you always buy.

Also, there is a store nearby and I swear the manager must have had it in for me because no matter what I bought, it was discontinued the following week.

This is going on at our local Tesco due to the advent of Christmas. Instead of the usual shelves of toothpaste, shower gel etc we have a solid wall of Lindor chocolates.

Since I seem to spend half my life in the store, I feel almost as though my home has been violated.

29-11-2016, 07:30 AM
I'm pretty sure I've mentioned this before but tailgaters have really been getting on my nerves recently. Yesterday, I was driving home from Newcastle via Galashiels on the A167. There was 2 cars ahead of me driving at a decent enough speed that I felt no need to overtake them, especially given that the A167 is a long and winding single track road. A driver then came out of nowhere and started tailgating me. I really can't get my head around why anyone would want to do this in such a situation. It was impossible for me to go any faster and the cars ahead were driving at a good speed for that road. Do they realise that it's 100% their fault if I have to slam in the brakes and they go into the back of me? Or do they somewhow think that would be my fault? I started signalling to her in my rear view mirrors to back off, which she did for about 10 minutes before starting again. She then overtook me at a really bad spot just before a bend which could've easily ended in tears. She then proceeded to tailgate the car in front of me, then the one in front of that. I really do wonder how these people got a license to drive. My brother was involved in an accident just last week when a tailgater went into the back of him as well.

29-11-2016, 07:42 AM
I'm pretty sure I've mentioned this before but tailgaters have really been getting on my nerves recently. Yesterday, I was driving home from Newcastle via Galashiels on the A167. There was 2 cars ahead of me driving at a decent enough speed that I felt no need to overtake them, especially given that the A167 is a long and winding single track road. A driver then came out of nowhere and started tailgating me. I really can't get my head around why anyone would want to do this in such a situation. It was impossible for me to go any faster and the cars ahead were driving at a good speed for that road. Do they realise that it's 100% their fault if I have to slam in the brakes and they go into the back of me? Or do they somewhow think that would be my fault? I started signalling to her in my rear view mirrors to back off, which she did for about 10 minutes before starting again. She then overtook me at a really bad spot just before a bend which could've easily ended in tears. She then proceeded to tailgate the car in front of me, then the one in front of that. I really do wonder how these people got a license to drive. My brother was involved in an accident just last week when a tailgater went into the back of him as well.

This does my nut in too and happens often on stretches of the A702. Naughty I know but I often quickly flick my side lights on and off and watch in the mirror as they brake thinking in a split second I am braking.

29-11-2016, 07:45 AM
This is going on at our local Tesco due to the advent of Christmas. Instead of the usual shelves of toothpaste, shower gel etc we have a solid wall of Lindor chocolates.

Since I seem to spend half my life in the store, I feel almost as though my home has been violated.

Corstorphine Tesco, has been completely rejigged with the whole electrical dept moving downstairs to allow room for Top Shop/Burton etc and every other stock item has moved also. I can't find anything just now.

29-11-2016, 08:01 AM
This does my nut in too and happens often on stretches of the A702. Naughty I know but I often quickly flick my side lights on and off and watch in the mirror as they brake thinking in a split second I am braking.

I wait until they definitely can't overtake (eg. oncoming traffic) and slow down to a crawl for a few seconds. Normally they get the message - if they don't it's a case of repeat as necessary. :greengrin

29-11-2016, 08:55 AM
Drivers (usually taxi drivers) who block the road off when waiting for people instead of pulling into a space 5 yards in front of them :grr:

29-11-2016, 10:02 AM
Drivers (usually taxi drivers) who block the road off when waiting for people instead of pulling into a space 5 yards in front of them :grr:

Yep, that is nippy as **** or the just come to a halt in the middle of the road to pick up a fare. I bet a few have been shunted as a result.

29-11-2016, 12:32 PM
Yep, that is nippy as **** or the just come to a halt in the middle of the road to pick up a fare. I bet a few have been shunted as a result.

Taxi drivers who pick up or drop off then want to do a U-turn in the middle of rush-hour traffic. Utter, utter ****s.

29-11-2016, 02:10 PM
Grown adults who wear wooly hats with animal ears or eyes etc

29-11-2016, 02:19 PM
Taxi drivers who pick up or drop off then want to do a U-turn in the middle of rush-hour traffic. Utter, utter ****s.

Aye, absolute koontz

29-11-2016, 02:20 PM
Grown adults who wear wooly hats with animal ears or eyes etc

Fools who were cargo shorts and a t shirt outside in winter. :crazy:

greenlad
29-11-2016, 02:41 PM
When someone says they will 'reach out' to you. Pretty common in America but I'm starting to see people over here use it as well.

Up there with this years new corporate Americanism "call out".

Used to be something you did to request the services of a plumber, doctor, electrician etc, now seems to be the new way of proclaiming something in public whether good or not, and taking no responsibilty for fixing it.

29-11-2016, 02:46 PM
Maybe this has been peeved about before (& if it was, it was probably me :wink:).

Store check-out personnel who carry on conversations with the pal they are serving, purposely slowing the whole operation down so they can continue their chat while there's a queue of folk waiting to be dealt with.
Once their friend finally leaves, they add insult to injury by saying (with a cheesy smile) "Sorry for the wait". :grr::brickwall

Happened to me AGAIN today in Morrisons at Gilmerton.

29-11-2016, 05:53 PM

:agree: This. Putting other people's lives at risk, and rely on other drivers skill to save their own lives. Morons

29-11-2016, 06:39 PM
Corstorphine Tesco, has been completely rejigged with the whole electrical dept moving downstairs to allow room for Top Shop/Burton etc and every other stock item has moved also. I can't find anything just now.

Ditto....it's all over the place. Went on the great Toilet roll hunt and of course they are now next to the freezer section.

29-11-2016, 10:09 PM

It's outrageous. I ventured upstairs for a look and it was probably the worst experience in my life. Well.......not quite....

30-11-2016, 01:48 AM
The word Bae..... what even is that?

30-11-2016, 06:17 AM
Ditto....it's all over the place. Went on the great Toilet roll hunt and of course they are now next to the freezer section.

Sounds like they've been taking a leaf out of the Swiss supermarket layout A-Z. Eggs next to the home ware? Aye, why not. Non refrigerated juice on a different FLOOR (?!?) to refrigerated juice? Makes sense.

30-11-2016, 07:08 AM
Selfish parkers. One car parked in the middle of two spaces, Always seems to be the case when I visit Mrs Crab at her place. :grr:

30-11-2016, 07:09 AM
You tube ads you can't skip!!! :fuming:

30-11-2016, 07:54 AM
People who you have to chase for days to get an answer from.

I run a football team, every Monday I put a message in our whatsapp group advising of details of the game for the following week and ask everyone to let me know availability. You can guarantee the same 8 or 9 reply within an hour each week and then the rest of the week is spent chasing the other half who have read the message and obviously just can't be ersed replying.

Likewise at work. Chasing a supllier for a delivery date or similar. I'm a supplier as well so I'm quite generous with time but if I've not heard after 3 hours then I'm phoning back. You can always tell the people who have either done **** all about it or worse those who just aren't answering because it's bad news. Bad news will annoy me, bad news delivered 36 hours after you knew about it is far, far worse.

30-11-2016, 09:56 AM
Selfish parkers. One car parked in the middle of two spaces, Always seems to be the case when I visit Mrs Crab at her place. :grr:

Often park like that deliberately to prevent erses damaging car doors.

30-11-2016, 11:55 AM
TV folk using Americanisms such as 'the top of the show', when they mean 'the beginning of the show'.

30-11-2016, 12:36 PM
TV folk using Americanisms such as 'the top of the show', when they mean 'the beginning of the show'.

That's actually an old theatre and musicians' expression, common in this country for decades. It derives from the notion that the "top" of the script or sheet music is where it starts.

30-11-2016, 12:40 PM
That's actually an old theatre and musicians' expression, common in this country for decades. It derives from the notion that the "top" of the script or sheet music is where it starts.

30-11-2016, 01:31 PM

Still sounds like an Americanism. :greengrin Try another then ......... the shortening of meeting to 'meet' as in athletics meeting or swimming meeting. Tell me I'm wrong again and I'll shut up.:greengrin

30-11-2016, 01:38 PM
Still sounds like an Americanism. :greengrin Try another then ......... the shortening of meeting to 'meet' as in athletics meeting or swimming meeting. Tell me I'm wrong again and I'll shut up.:greengrin

I always thought that was a London/cockney thing. :dunno:

30-11-2016, 01:47 PM
I always thought that was a London/cockney thing. :dunno:

Poor Jimm44 :shotdowni .

No worries, Jim. I suggest you post "Y'awl" next (although for all I know, it's probably originally an Ayrshire expression) :stirrer: :greengrin

30-11-2016, 03:45 PM
Can I just do a shout out / can I have a shot out to...

No one shouts when doing it though?

speedy_gonzales
30-11-2016, 04:05 PM
Probably mentioned elsewhere - people that don't think that the rules apply to them for some reason. Case in point - this morning, woman (gobby sort) has two dogs in the school playground, she's had to take them inside through a 'tunnel' past at least two 'no dogs' signs, and several dogs tied up outside to get them in. There's a one-way exit system as well for getting out the playground, guess who goes against the flow?

The school also created a drop-off point in the car park as it's too small to accomodate everyone parking, the idea being that folk can drop off then exit the car park, which would be fine if people didn't just park their cars in that area as well. WTF is wrong with these people?

This "school" thing is nipping my tattie just now, I've elected to walk to work recently in an attempt to get healthy as I used to cycle but very little effort was required.
So, we've got parents parking on the yellow zig-zags (screw any other kids).
We've got parents that congregate outside the school gate blocking the pavement but pedestrians can't pass by stepping off the kerb as there is a fence to stop the brats (sorry, pupils) running out of school and on to the road.
You've got the parents that walk side by side whilst talking and won't go single file on the narrow path to allow others to pass.
You've got parents, like before, but walking with pushchairs, buggies, prams side by side and creating a blockade.
Then we have a phantom dog walker that's allowing their dog to foul the path near the school, with the busy paths it's nigh on impossible to spot the K9 laid land mines and the kids traipse through, or worse, fly through with their scooters leaving a skid mark the length of the street!

30-11-2016, 04:21 PM
This "school" thing is nipping my tattie just now, I've elected to walk to work recently in an attempt to get healthy as I used to cycle but very little effort was required.
So, we've got parents parking on the yellow zig-zags (screw any other kids).
We've got parents that congregate outside the school gate blocking the pavement but pedestrians can't pass by stepping off the kerb as there is a fence to stop the brats (sorry, pupils) running out of school and on to the road.
You've got the parents that walk side by side whilst talking and won't go single file on the narrow path to allow others to pass.
You've got parents, like before, but walking with pushchairs, buggies, prams side by side and creating a blockade.
Then we have a phantom dog walker that's allowing their dog to foul the path near the school, with the busy paths it's nigh on impossible to spot the K9 laid land mines and the kids traipse through, or worse, fly through with their scooters leaving a skid mark the length of the street!

I've just spent the last 5 minutes howling with laughter at that and couldn't hold it together when i was reading it to Mrs Crab. Brilliant!!!! :not worth :top marks :applause: :LOL:

beensaidbefore
30-11-2016, 04:31 PM

My Mrs is guilty of this because when we got a new car she didn't want the doors to end up all bashed by selfish folk in carparks like the last car did. We also had the bumper partially ripped off by some kind driver who failed to leave their details. So I suppose that could be a pet hate too, people who knowingly cause damage to others property and don't own up.

beensaidbefore
30-11-2016, 05:02 PM
Often park like that deliberately to prevent erses damaging car doors.

😂😉

30-11-2016, 05:10 PM
I've just spent the last 5 minutes howling with laughter at that and couldn't hold it together when i was reading it to Mrs Crab. Brilliant!!!! :not worth :top marks :applause: :LOL:

The most enthusiastic, animated post you've ever made and it's all because of the thought of other people's kids getting covered in dog ***** :greengrin

30-11-2016, 06:26 PM
The word Bae..... what even is that?

:agree: that's brutal.

30-11-2016, 07:16 PM
My Mrs is guilty of this because when we got a new car she didn't want the doors to end up all bashed by selfish folk in carparks like the last car did. We also had the bumper partially ripped off by some kind driver who failed to leave their details. So I suppose that could be a pet hate too, people who knowingly cause damage to others property and don't own up.

I get why folk do it I just don't understand why if it's so important they can't park a bit further away to the quiet bit of the car park so they're not under threat.

30-11-2016, 07:59 PM
I get why folk do it I just don't understand why if it's so important they can't park a bit further away to the quiet bit of the car park so they're not under threat.

Sometimes the car park is too busy though also when it is relatively empty I have parked away in a corner only to return and find someone next to me!

beensaidbefore
30-11-2016, 08:07 PM
Sometimes the car park is too busy though also when it is relatively empty I have parked away in a corner only to return and find someone next to me!

Hahaha. That is it. The amount of times we park quite far away, come back and some twat has parked right next to us when there are about 15 other spaces to choose from. Does my head in.

beensaidbefore
30-11-2016, 08:11 PM

Of course its important. If I'm forking out thousands of pounds for a car, I don't want some disrespectful so and so coming along and wrecking my doors.

That said we do avoid parking close to the doors in supermarkets but somewhere like straiton is a bloodly nightmare.

30-11-2016, 08:18 PM
Of course its important. If I'm forking out thousands of pounds for a car, I don't want some disrespectful so and so coming along and wrecking my doors.

That said we do avoid parking close to the doors in supermarkets but somewhere like straiton is a bloodly nightmare.

I think everyone that has a car spends a lot of money on it. The main problem is cars are bigger than the spaces.

I'm sure it's not deliberate. Parking over 2 spaces is though - they should all be clamped or stickered if they do it.

HibeeLR
30-11-2016, 09:39 PM
Mines is one that occurs this time of year and it's when people mostly on social media but sometimes in person say things like 'can't wait for 2016 to be over' and 'see what 2017 holds'. Every bloody year this happens and it's always the same culprits.

30-11-2016, 10:20 PM
I think everyone that has a car spends a lot of money on it. The main problem is cars are bigger than the spaces.

I'm sure it's not deliberate. Parking over 2 spaces is though - they should all be clamped or stickered if they do it.

30-11-2016, 11:43 PM

If everybody took up two spaces then maybe the bona fide two-space parkers wouldn't be able to park and they would have to park somewhere else, as someone suggested they do anyway.

01-12-2016, 05:54 AM

It not being deliberate doesn't make it any better when you return to find some erse has damaged your car because they are inconsiderate and can't open a door carefully. Like everything in life you take steps to protect what is yours,parking over two spaces is an example of that, a situation created by people who just don't give a **** about other people's property.

01-12-2016, 06:20 AM
It not being deliberate doesn't make it any better when you return to find some erse has damaged your car because they are inconsiderate and can't open a door carefully. Like everything in life you take steps to protect what is yours,parking over two spaces is an example of that, a situation created by people who just don't give a **** about other people's property.
You shouldn't take your car then. Sometimes you just have to accept that things like this will happen. I recommend using a taxi :greengrin

01-12-2016, 06:24 AM

I don't like my car getting marked either but I still consider others when parking my 1 car in 1 space.

01-12-2016, 06:44 AM
There seem to be more and more cars with indicators as optional extras these days. Mostly BMW or Audis but other models are starting to appear now. These pricks will cause accidents... :rolleyes:

01-12-2016, 06:45 AM
The most enthusiastic, animated post you've ever made and it's all because of the thought of other people's kids getting covered in dog ***** :greengrin

There are some things that make me laugh, that was one of them :greengrin

01-12-2016, 06:48 AM
Mines is one that occurs this time of year and it's when people mostly on social media but sometimes in person say things like 'can't wait for 2016 to be over' and 'see what 2017 holds'. Every bloody year this happens and it's always the same culprits.

This and the serial attention seekers on faceook and its mostly women with status along the lines of "feeling angry" so they get the responses of aw you ok hun or whats up babe and pish like that! Here, have somme attention ya fud.

01-12-2016, 06:50 AM
I don't like my car getting marked either but I still consider others when parking my 1 car in 1 space.

:agree:, I consider others too. I've been threatening for ages now to start up an idiot car parkers Facebook page to highlight these doughnuts that can't park or are just totally selfish. Never got round to it so far :greengrin

01-12-2016, 06:53 AM
:agree:, I consider others too. I've been threatening for ages now to start up an idiot car parkers Facebook page to highlight these doughnuts that can't park or are just totally selfish. Never got round to it so far :greengrin

Some other erse has beaten you to it :-)

01-12-2016, 06:57 AM
I posted these photos of my work car park on a similar thread a year or two ago.

No need!

01-12-2016, 07:29 AM

Well done :-)

01-12-2016, 08:40 AM
Some other erse has beaten you to it :-)

Very funny.......:greengrin

01-12-2016, 09:56 AM
I try and avoid parking next to two door cars as they generally have bigger doors. Also, I try and park so my driver's door is next to the adjacent car's passenger door as there is (say) a 50/50 chance that there isn't a passenger.
The only trouble with that plan is, if there is a passenger, they are the ones who are most likely not to give a monkey's about bashing someone else's car(s).

01-12-2016, 09:57 AM
Christmas jumper days at work.

01-12-2016, 11:38 AM
Christmas jumper days at work.

...and all who sail in her. :grr:

01-12-2016, 03:31 PM

:agree: We all have stuff to look after, I manage to do it without thinking I need special treatment when I'm parking.

01-12-2016, 04:15 PM
Car parks where the spaces aren't big enough for modern cars.

01-12-2016, 06:15 PM
Food served on a wooden board, piece of slate or any other fashionable impractical object.

01-12-2016, 06:20 PM
Food served on a wooden board, piece of slate or any other fashionable impractical object.

... And drinks served in jars!

Dan Sarf
01-12-2016, 06:21 PM

Especially when it's served with gravy.:grr:

01-12-2016, 06:21 PM

I find the burgers in Holyrood 9A and other fuller thompson owned pubs work pretty well on a wooden board with a side bowl of fries.

01-12-2016, 06:28 PM
... And drinks served in jars!

1/3 pints, otherwise known as mouthfaes, wtf?

01-12-2016, 06:29 PM
I find the burgers in Holyrood 9A and other fuller thompson owned pubs work pretty well on a wooden board with a side bowl of fries.

I hate them especially the really narrow ones where you can hardly keep the food on it.

01-12-2016, 06:33 PM
I hate them especially the really narrow ones where you can hardly keep the food on it.

I agree they're unsuitable for most types of food.

beensaidbefore
01-12-2016, 07:09 PM

Of coursenits deliberate. When there are more than enough spaces to go round I don't see the issue. Its hardly like parking across disabled bays.

beensaidbefore
01-12-2016, 07:12 PM

My sentiments exactly.

01-12-2016, 07:13 PM
Especially when it's served with gravy.:grr:

...no' tae mention the soup. :Ummm:

01-12-2016, 07:34 PM

https://mobile.twitter.com/WeWantPlates

01-12-2016, 08:09 PM
Of coursenits deliberate. When there are more than enough spaces to go round I don't see the issue. Its hardly like parking across disabled bays.

There isn't always enough spaces to go round?

01-12-2016, 08:20 PM
If someone parks across 2 bays surely the easy solution to 'get it up them' is just to do likewise by parking in half the bay they are already using and half the next one?

That way you are just as close as you would be had they parked properly and they can't really have any complaints as you have only done the same as them.

01-12-2016, 08:37 PM

I only park in car parks that are never likely to be full and therefore I am not doing anyone out of a space😀

01-12-2016, 08:43 PM
Another parking one is folk who think they actually own the piece of road outside their house. Had a very nice lady once tap on my window to tell me that I couldn't park as her husband was due home and I was in "his space". I know we all like to park close but if someone beats you to it then nowt you can do. A rather ironic post I know given my inconsiderate parking over two spaces in car parks 😁

beensaidbefore
01-12-2016, 09:12 PM

Then we park in a single space. Simple really.

01-12-2016, 11:33 PM
Then we park in a single space. Simple really.

It's not that simple - there isn't always enough spaces to go round cos loads of dafties cant park in a single space.

01-12-2016, 11:34 PM
Another parking one is folk who think they actually own the piece of road outside their house. Had a very nice lady once tap on my window to tell me that I couldn't park as her husband was due home and I was in "his space". I know we all like to park close but if someone beats you to it then nowt you can do. A rather ironic post I know given my inconsiderate parking over two spaces in car parks 😁

:agree: Absolutely. Knocking on the window at you and everything.

I usually take up more room than I need just to really piss them off. :greengrin

Galahibby
02-12-2016, 12:41 AM
When Americans make up unneccessary stupid words when we already have perfectly adequate ones for the purpose. I mean, normalcy?? Was there something wrong with the word normality??

EH6 Hibby
02-12-2016, 06:05 AM
When Americans make up unneccessary stupid words when we already have perfectly adequate ones for the purpose. I mean, normalcy?? Was there something wrong with the word normality??

I've been listening to lots of American podcasts lately and the one I keep hearing is oftentimes??? What is that all about?

They also seem to struggle with the word supposedly, which often gets pronounced with a B in it.

Why also do many Americans pronounce foreign words with an accent? It sounds bizarre to say an entire sentence in your own accent but say one word in an Italian or French accent.

02-12-2016, 12:05 PM

I usually take up more room than I need just to really piss them off. :greengrin

You were right in front of that fire station, to be fair. :greengrin

02-12-2016, 01:00 PM
You were right in front of that fire station, to be fair. :greengrin

... and she WIS Joan of Arc.

02-12-2016, 01:25 PM

That's not a winningest statement IMO

beensaidbefore
02-12-2016, 04:27 PM

That seems like a totally different thing to taking up 2 spaces in a car park. Hang on, no its just same. Maybe even worse.

beensaidbefore
02-12-2016, 04:29 PM
If someone parks across 2 bays surely the easy solution to 'get it up them' is just to do likewise by parking in half the bay they are already using and half the next one?

That way you are just as close as you would be had they parked properly and they can't really have any complaints as you have only done the same as them.

Or you could just park somewhere else?

02-12-2016, 04:58 PM
What annoys me most at this time of year is Michael Buble, you dont see him for eleven months then boom its December and he is absolutley everywhere, he has been getting away with it for years, does my nut inWould doubt we will be seeing much of him this Christmas to be fair. Hope his wee one makes a full recovery.

02-12-2016, 05:12 PM
Or you could just park somewhere else?

Probably no spaces left.

02-12-2016, 05:12 PM
That seems like a totally different thing to taking up 2 spaces in a car park. Hang on, no its just same. Maybe even worse.

You've confirmed my suspicion!

beensaidbefore
02-12-2016, 06:19 PM
You've confirmed my suspicion!

Please enlighten us.

03-12-2016, 10:03 AM
I just parked across 2 spaces this morning at Argos in Livingston to see what it felt like.

It does make you feel more superior and deserving :greengrin:
Now , where's my Pringle jumper

03-12-2016, 10:09 AM
The amount of numbers I need to remember when filling up with fuel and buying lunch from a petrol station.
Pump number
PIN number for fuel card
Mileage
PIN number for credit card

It wouldn't be the first time I have given my mileage when they ask for the pump number :greengrin:

03-12-2016, 10:12 AM
Still on the petrol stations ....
The fact I always get out my car , walk round to my fuel cap only to remember that I have to go back into the car to pull the wee petrol cap switch .

Pulling the bonnet catch switch instead on the petrol cap switch :greengrin:

Tyre pressure warning lights and sensors. GTF.

beensaidbefore
03-12-2016, 10:15 AM
I just parked across 2 spaces this morning at Argos in Livingston to see what it felt like.

It does make you feel more superior and deserving :greengrin:
Now , where's my Pringle jumper

Im going out to bash a few doors this avo. After all, car owners should expect others to carelessly damage their stuff. Don't understand why people care about their belongings.
😁

03-12-2016, 10:18 AM
Im going out to bash a few doors this avo. After all, car owners should expect others to carelessly damage their stuff. Don't understand why people care about their belongings.
😁

:greengrin:

I use 2 urinals to stop folk pissing on my shoes.

beensaidbefore
03-12-2016, 10:21 AM

I use 2 urinals to stop folk pissing on my shoes.

Wow, that is a talent iv not mastered!

03-12-2016, 10:25 AM
Wow, that is a talent iv not mastered!

It's easy . Especially first thing after an adventurous night .

03-12-2016, 12:53 PM
😁

Everyone should park over 2 spaces. Would love to see you reaction when there's no space to abandon your motor.

03-12-2016, 02:24 PM
It's easy . Especially first thing after an adventurous night .
Old Chinese proverb - "After adventurous night you can feel too cocky"

03-12-2016, 03:13 PM
The amount of numbers I need to remember when filling up with fuel and buying lunch from a petrol station.
Pump number
PIN number for fuel card
Mileage
PIN number for credit card

It wouldn't be the first time I have given my mileage when they ask for the pump number :greengrin:

If you have a fuel card like I do why would you need to use a credit card?

Edit: Just noticed your lunch :-)

03-12-2016, 03:16 PM
People who object to me parking longways across two spaces :) ****** weirdos,how I park my car is up to me.

03-12-2016, 03:25 PM
People who object to me parking longways across two spaces :) ****** weirdos,how I park my car is up to me.

beensaidbefore
03-12-2016, 05:48 PM
Everyone should park over 2 spaces. Would love to see you reaction when there's no space to abandon your motor.

As I said in a previous post, I would park in a single space. There would be plenty room between all of the cars taking 2 spaces.😂

03-12-2016, 10:12 PM
Back on to pet peeves about fashionable ways of replying to a question. The last one I highlighted was the excessive and unnecessary use of 'so' at the start of a sentence in answer to a question. The one that bugs me now is the annoying use of 'you know what, ....... '.

03-12-2016, 10:29 PM
My postie getting angry when I show up at the door completely naked.

Mainly because it scares his wife and kids and his neighbours complain about it.

04-12-2016, 09:13 AM
'Christmas Eve boxes'.

When I was a child I used to beg to open a present early but wasn't allowed to because you wait until morning. That was normal and with hindsight totally fair.

Now all the mums I know are buying their kids extra presents to open in a box on Christmas Eve, a few of these people are struggling at Christmas as it is and are putting more pressure on themselves to keep up with the playground mafia.

I'm anything but a scrooge, I love Christmas and the time around it but this is just another made up 'tradition'.

04-12-2016, 09:41 AM

Think it might be the chicken or egg question. Did the person park like a Twatt because he's a Twatt or did some Twatt force him to park that way because they parked like a Twatt?

04-12-2016, 11:04 AM
Scottish bathroom sinks. WTF!! One tap has water so cold that your fingers snap off if you rub them together after using it and the other one leaves you looking like Nicky Lauder if you dare to touch it.

SuperAllyMcleod
04-12-2016, 04:47 PM
the other one leaves you looking like Nicky Lauder if you dare to touch it.

One for the teenagers there! [emoji3]

04-12-2016, 05:57 PM
Scottish bathroom sinks. WTF!! One tap has water so cold that your fingers snap off if you rub them together after using it and the other one leaves you looking like Nicky Lauder if you dare to touch it.

Is that Estee's sister?

04-12-2016, 06:14 PM
'Christmas Eve boxes'.

When I was a child I used to beg to open a present early but wasn't allowed to because you wait until morning. That was normal and with hindsight totally fair.

Now all the mums I know are buying their kids extra presents to open in a box on Christmas Eve, a few of these people are struggling at Christmas as it is and are putting more pressure on themselves to keep up with the playground mafia.

I'm anything but a scrooge, I love Christmas and the time around it but this is just another made up 'tradition'.

Christmas has disappeared up its own arse now. It's brutal.

We went to the Street of Light display last night, came back to Dunfermline and I reckon half the houses round our bit are trying to out-do Edinburgh on their own.

I swear we're going to get planes landing in our street soon as they mistake it for a ******' runway.

04-12-2016, 06:31 PM
It's time to reclaim Christmas from November and bring it back to December. As for Christmas Eve boxes WTF just like school proms and all the other peer pressure events it needs to stop but it won't sadly.

04-12-2016, 06:40 PM
'Christmas Eve boxes'.

When I was a kid, our next door neighbours used to give me a book every Christmas (ie. a different one every year). The neighbours were good people and it was always one of the presents I looked forward to most. For whatever reason, I was allowed to open their present before going to bed on Christmas Eve (the same for their kids with my parents' presents). I've no idea how this mini tradition started, but I don't see the harm in it.

04-12-2016, 07:35 PM
Is that Estee's sister?

Apologies for the typing errors but I'd just been to the gents.

04-12-2016, 07:58 PM
When I was a kid, our next door neighbours used to give me a book every Christmas (ie. a different one every year). The neighbours were good people and it was always one of the presents I looked forward to most. For whatever reason, I was allowed to open their present before going to bed on Christmas Eve (the same for their kids with my parents' presents). I've no idea how this mini tradition started, but I don't see the harm in it.

Yes agreed but you are talking about a tradition in your family regarding a present from a neighbour. Very different to the now trendy fashion of kids getting presents to open on Christmas eve in an organised fashion that has them almost competing with their friends and putting added pressure on parents.

04-12-2016, 09:31 PM
'Christmas Eve boxes'.

Never heard of this. What a bag of *****.

04-12-2016, 09:32 PM
Folk saying "oh my god" for no reason. Just watching I'm a celebrity and it's close to being said in the hundreds in this episode alone.

If you've got nothing to say, say nothing.

"Literally" took a back seat tonight.

04-12-2016, 11:51 PM
Yes agreed but you are talking about a tradition in your family regarding a present from a neighbour. Very different to the now trendy fashion of kids getting presents to open on Christmas eve in an organised fashion that has them almost competing with their friends and putting added pressure on parents.

In the same vein, the invention of new 'Days' for cards (probably instigated by some dastardly scoundrel at Hallmark).e.g. Boss's Day/Secretary's Day/Any Buggar's Day ... and so on.

05-12-2016, 07:27 AM
Rushing out to the car in the morning, running late to discover that the windows are frosted over.

05-12-2016, 11:51 AM
I think someone across here has been reading this thread.

http://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20161205/fd880bdf609ec846befeae7866b0a4d7.jpg

05-12-2016, 11:57 AM
Folk who sit in the overtaking lane on the motorway but drive at 40mph when the road ahead is clear. Absolute fuds.

05-12-2016, 12:19 PM
People travelling on trains who have no consideration or manners towards other passengers and are totally oblivious to how their behavior is pissing everyone else off. (3 Mums, 1 Teenager & 3 Young girls travelling to Blackpool for a dance competition on the 16.52 from Waverley on Friday night) :grr:

05-12-2016, 05:56 PM
People travelling on trains who have no consideration or manners towards other passengers and are totally oblivious to how their behavior is pissing everyone else off. (3 Mums, 1 Teenager & 3 Young girls travelling to Blackpool for a dance competition on the 16.52 from Waverley on Friday night) :grr:

Did they all take 2 seats each?

05-12-2016, 06:00 PM
Beat me too.it!

No.use without details!

Sent from my SM-G925F using Tapatalk

05-12-2016, 06:07 PM

05-12-2016, 06:16 PM

No they arrived carrying large cardboard boxes, carrier bags,cases and tons of other stuff they could hardly carry without banging in to everyone. Then proceeded to drink,sing, swear, talk about their sex lives and turn up the music louder when someone asked them to keep the noise down. Fed their kids with tons of crisps,sweets,juice while they downed tbeir vodka and used the word **** in every sentence. When they finally left at Preston it looked like a tsunami had hit their section of the carriage. Apart from that they were charming, I never got round to asking how they park their cars:-)

05-12-2016, 07:32 PM
No they arrived carrying large cardboard boxes, carrier bags,cases and tons of other stuff they could hardly carry without banging in to everyone. Then proceeded to drink,sing, swear, talk about their sex lives and turn up the music louder when someone asked them to keep the noise down. Fed their kids with tons of crisps,sweets,juice while they downed tbeir vodka and used the word **** in every sentence. When they finally left at Preston it looked like a tsunami had hit their section of the carriage. Apart from that they were charming, I never got round to asking how they park their cars:-)

Where's the Fat Controller when you need him, eh?

05-12-2016, 07:33 PM

They sound charming. I bet they take 2 parking spaces per car - definitely sound the type.

05-12-2016, 07:43 PM
With regard to taking two car park spaces,folk will be pleased to know I have found an alternative solution.
The disabled spaces with the cross hatching allowing a big gap between cars alleviate my previous concerns of door damage. Problem solved......next.

05-12-2016, 07:45 PM
With regard to taking two car park spaces,folk will be pleased to know I have found an alternative solution.
The disabled spaces with the cross hatching allowing a big gap between cars alleviate my previous concerns of door damage. Problem solved......next.

05-12-2016, 08:24 PM
The disabled spaces with the cross hatching allowing a big gap between cars alleviate my previous concerns of door damage. Problem solved......next.Just use the father and son space, even if he is 17 and driving you.

06-12-2016, 06:10 AM
I had a few in one go yesterday when a lad (who turned out to be a charity worker) rang my doorbell.

"Alright bud! Havin a cheeky wee day off are we?"

Aaaaarggh!!

06-12-2016, 06:15 AM
Queue jumpers or folk that think having a friend in tbe queue allows them to join the queue next to their friend.

06-12-2016, 11:01 AM
Queue jumpers or folk that think having a friend in tbe queue allows them to join the queue next to their friend.

At last, the thread is back on track again!

06-12-2016, 11:35 AM

:agree: unacceptable

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nXz-fOtKBU8

06-12-2016, 06:58 PM
Sitting in a Glasgow pub watching football and listening to the locals shouting through their noses.

beensaidbefore
06-12-2016, 07:26 PM
Sitting directly behind me on the bus and sniffing every 30 seconds from York place to bruntsfield.

If you're gonna sniff get it over and done with in one almighty snort!

beensaidbefore
06-12-2016, 07:29 PM
Sitting in a Glasgow pub watching football and listening to the locals shouting through their noses.

Ahhahaha

07-12-2016, 07:32 AM
Pay toilets and the scramble for change when your desperate for a piss.

Caversham Green
07-12-2016, 08:16 AM
:agree: unacceptable

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nXz-fOtKBU8

Anyone else notice the continuity gaffe in that clip?

07-12-2016, 12:54 PM
Anyone else notice the continuity gaffe in that clip?

Maybe he's a quick eater with his hands? :dunno: :wink:

wpj
07-12-2016, 02:19 PM
I had a few in one go yesterday when a lad (who turned out to be a charity worker) rang my doorbell.

"Alright bud! Havin a cheeky wee day off are we?"

Aaaaarggh!!

Had one call at 8ish the other night, told him it was late to be ringing door bells, he replied "it's not that late" aye it ******* is now bolt!

08-12-2016, 07:45 AM
The common ordeal of having to communicate with Asian call centre workers. I'm not talking about cold callers and scammers etc. but genuine workers trying to assist you with a problem you are having with their company such as a technical problem, delivery issues or the like. I find that, while they are very polite and know their stuff, their accents can often cause problems. It's frustrating and stressful having to follow and absorb important information when it's often impossible to make out what they are saying. I have on several occasions had to politely end the conversation and try again later.

08-12-2016, 09:05 AM
Co-workers just in general.

I work with some decent people but a couple of the people I work in close proximity with must be the most selfish, lazy, demanding, ungracious erseholes ever brought into existence.

08-12-2016, 09:14 AM
Just had a women relocated into my office, nice enough women, but...her breath is absolutely honking. I'm only speaking to her from across the room now, if she's beside me and speaking to me I can't even look at her directly, have to get my nose out the way. She's not a smoker, it's just general dog breath. It's disgusting.

08-12-2016, 10:45 AM
Just had a women relocated into my office, nice enough women, but...her breath is absolutely honking. I'm only speaking to her from across the room now, if she's beside me and speaking to me I can't even look at her directly, have to get my nose out the way. She's not a smoker, it's just general dog breath. It's disgusting.

I used to work beside a woman like that but, unfortunately the aroma was coming from a bit further south than her mouth!

08-12-2016, 10:59 AM
Getting judged if you put more than two sugars in a cup of tea or a coffee...

08-12-2016, 11:30 AM
Women who think men are interested in discussing women's topics (dresses, hats, make-up, hair-dos, tupperware, etc.)

From my experience, men actually prefer to talk about drinking, fitbaw, and tottie. Hope that's of some help, girls :tin hat:

08-12-2016, 12:23 PM
Vegetarians who want to eat pretend meat products???? Sausages,bacon,mince etc.

08-12-2016, 12:51 PM
Vegetarians who want to eat pretend meat products???? Sausages,bacon,mince etc.

They're like lesbians who use a dildo.

08-12-2016, 12:56 PM

We had the same with this guy, you could smell it as soon as he walked into our area! Eventually his manager spoke to him about it and suggested he might improve his oral health. Turns out it was supposedly an incurable stomach problem.

08-12-2016, 12:56 PM

08-12-2016, 01:17 PM

Poor personal hygiene in general, especially in the workplace, is unforgivable imo.

beensaidbefore
08-12-2016, 04:09 PM
We had the same with this guy, you could smell it as soon as he walked into our area! Eventually his manager spoke to him about it and suggested he might improve his oral health. Turns out it was supposedly an incurable stomach problem.

Imagine the embarrassment on both parts.

beensaidbefore
08-12-2016, 04:10 PM

Don't think it will win comment of the year but it did bring a smile to my face!

hibs#1
08-12-2016, 05:03 PM
Don't think it will win comment of the year but it did bring a smile to my face!

I'm not ashamed to admit I laughed.

08-12-2016, 05:50 PM

Aye it'd be a shame, but incurable condition or not...I dinnae want to have to smell it.

08-12-2016, 06:45 PM
Imagine the embarrassment on both parts.

I had to have that conversation once, the lassie in question took it well and wasnt aware of her odour.

08-12-2016, 07:15 PM
Lane drifters. How some people don't realise they are drifting into another lane is beyond me.

08-12-2016, 08:04 PM
Co-workers just in general.

I work with some decent people but a couple of the people I work in close proximity with must be the most selfish, lazy, demanding, ungracious erseholes ever brought into existence.

With you on that one. Working with the same people on a daily basis, even if they are decent enough, is such a drag sometimes.

08-12-2016, 08:06 PM
People who overuse acronyms and jargon to make themselves sound more intelligent, when in reality they don't really have a clue what they're talking about.

Mixu62
09-12-2016, 12:07 AM
With you on that one. Working with the same people on a daily basis, even if they are decent enough, is such a drag sometimes.

People who act like they don't understand something so they won't have to do it. And when they get away with it. Then bump their gums when those who do the job get a bigger increase.

09-12-2016, 06:08 AM
'Touch base'.

Girl in my work uses this phrase about 10 times a day. Nonsensical business speak used by people to make themselves sound important.

09-12-2016, 06:16 AM
"Laters" another phrase that does my head in.

09-12-2016, 07:43 AM
Aye it'd be a shame, but incurable condition or not...I dinnae want to have to smell it.

I'll add to that - in your face people. I don't want to smell what you had for your tea last night, just speak to me at a normal distance. Yeuch.

09-12-2016, 09:42 AM
'Touch base'.

Girl in my work uses this phrase about 10 times a day. Nonsensical business speak used by people to make themselves sound important.

Why not try touching her base and see how you get on :wink:

09-12-2016, 04:08 PM
They guy on my bus who has two kids with him aged about 5 and 6, it's the condescending way he's talking to them, they aren't doing anything bad but you'd think they had just invaded Poland the way he's going on, if my dad had such a whiny voice as this prick I'd have topped him years ago

09-12-2016, 06:13 PM
Selfish people. Waiting to get on a flight earlier and we were bussed out to aircraft, we were waiting on the punters getting off it and bussed back to the terminal and there was this one woman just standing on the tarmac not getting on the bus and she was clearly distressed, it actually y turns out she was scared of being in big crowds as the bus was full and standing. Anyway some idiot on our bus and decides to pipe up and shouts this is ridiculous just arrest her and get it over with I need to get home! I said to him arrest her for what? Being scared?? Absolute clown of a man.

The same idiot tried to barge past me at Edinburgh airport at the other end as we were bussed to the terminal there too, He bounced off my bag and stumbled onto the tarmac from the bus. I thought it was his just desserts to be honest. :greengrin

09-12-2016, 06:50 PM
Selfish people. Waiting to get on a flight earlier and we were bussed out to aircraft, we were waiting on the punters getting off it and bussed back to the terminal and there was this one woman just standing on the tarmac not getting on the bus and she was clearly distressed, it actually y turns out she was scared of being in big crowds as the bus was full and standing. Anyway some idiot on our bus and decides to pipe up and shouts this is ridiculous just arrest her and get it over with I need to get home! I said to him arrest her for what? Being scared?? Absolute clown of a man.

The same idiot tried to barge past me at Edinburgh airport at the other end as we were bussed to the terminal there too, He bounced off my bag and stumbled onto the tarmac from the bus. I thought it was his just desserts to be honest. :greengrin

Typical day tripper behaviour.

hibs#1
09-12-2016, 09:02 PM
People who say happy Christmas instead of merry Christmas

09-12-2016, 09:14 PM
Typical day tripper behaviour.

10-12-2016, 10:00 AM
People who scoff at chilling red wine. They state should always be served at room temperature when in fact room temperature is no guide at all as it has changed dramatically over the years. Have your wine as you like it not as some wine snob suggests you should.

speedy_gonzales
10-12-2016, 10:17 AM
People who scoff at chilling red wine. They state should always be served at room temperature when in fact room temperature is no guide at all as it has changed dramatically over the years. Have your wine as you like it not as some wine snob suggests you should.
Especially when it's a sparkling Shiraz,,,,

10-12-2016, 10:17 AM
That block of Lurpak butter you cant spread, I've just destroyed 2 morning rolls having a battle with that butter!! :grr:

10-12-2016, 10:19 AM
People who say happy Christmas instead of merry Christmas

People who like Christmas. :devil:

10-12-2016, 10:21 AM

Now that pisses me off no end, especially in the pub or at the pie stall usually at away games....

10-12-2016, 10:26 AM

Buckfast especially benefits from being chilled. Wine snobs can make of that whatever they want. Then they can GTF :greengrin

10-12-2016, 10:43 AM
I once had a great confrontation with a woman in the tesco down easter road.

My other half was in the shop with our then 8 month old, he was in one of these baby carriers that clips into the seat of the car, or rmeoves with the handle for carrying.

Any way I dropped her off at the shops, baby holder in the trolly and off she went to do some shopping. I then went to ( I think pick up hibs tickets ) and zoomed back down, I parked in the child space and proceeded to go in the shop. Just as I got started walking some big bolshy bitch stopped me and said, excuse me do you know you have parked in the child spaces? I looked round at my car and said yes i do thanks, and went to carry on. she stopped me and said, well arent you going to move? I said no, and again proceeded to walk into the shop. She then hit me with a tirade of selfish this, arrogant effing and blinding etc. i had a chuckle and went into the shop. To my delight she was still standing by my car when I came out, presumably to give me more abuse. I wish I could have taken a picture of her face as i carried my sons seat holder with him sleeping in it to the car, I didnt even need to say anything just gave her a nice wee smile as she sheepishly walked away.

Did you know any one can park in those spaces. It is just a courtesy thing provided by the shops themselves.

10-12-2016, 10:46 AM
Did you know any one can park in those spaces. It is just a courtesy thing provided by the shops themselves.

Yes use them all the time with my 22 year old son :-)

10-12-2016, 10:48 AM
People who see you reversing out of a car park space in a supermarket but continue to walk behind your car regardless.

Dan Sarf
10-12-2016, 11:34 AM
People who see you reversing out of a car park space in a supermarket but continue to walk behind your car regardless.

Exactly! And then deliberately get run over when you don't see them in your mirror:grr:

beensaidbefore
10-12-2016, 11:37 AM

People who continue reversing out of their space when you are clearly walking behind their car. Pedestrians have right of way so I am not sure why they do this.
😁