View Full Version : Pet Peeves IV
11-07-2017, 06:29 PM
Must be more than a pet peeve for Dawn.
:greengrin vg
beensaidbefore
11-07-2017, 06:31 PM
Trust me, drivers who dob't use their indicators whilst tearing about the place are right up there for me as well. In fact you can probably sum up most of my pet peeves with:
'Erseholes who go around with no awareness of their surroundings and a complete disregard for the safety of themselves and others.'
ColinNish
11-07-2017, 08:34 PM
Pedestrians who just march onto the road at a junction between busy road and side street without looking to see if anything is turning into the side street. Every day I have to drive across Easter Road from St Clair Street onto Dalmeny Street and everyday someone turning left from ER to DS will have to break and stop in traffic because a pedestrian has just strolled out without paying any attention.
Was the person already crossing the road?
11-07-2017, 08:46 PM
Was the person already crossing the road?
They started to cross after the car had indicated and started to turn.
Sent from my SM-G925F using Tapatalk
ColinNish
12-07-2017, 05:42 AM
They started to cross after the car had indicated and started to turn.
12-07-2017, 09:39 PM
Ditto for Gary Jules style cover versions of classic songs. Slowed down, piano accompaniment, etc. - just gonnae no eh!Not in all cases but GJ version made a TFF song listenable for me. Maybe this should be 8n the Small victories thread [emoji23]
13-07-2017, 06:45 AM
Folk who somehow haven't set their key tones and alert tones to silent/vibrate in public places, specifically public transport.
My daily commute is punctuated by pings and dings and beeps from selfish oafs who need a good slap and then shown how to change their phone settings.
13-07-2017, 09:47 AM
Folk who somehow haven't set their key tones and alert tones to silent/vibrate in public places, specifically public transport.
My daily commute is punctuated by pings and dings and beeps from selfish oafs who need a good slap and then shown how to change their phone settings.
Folk who discuss their business on the phone on public transport.
The husband/boyfriend being told to bring in bread and milk
The jakey discussing his private life and trying to score drugs.
The business type purely showing off by discussing how they've clinched business deals during the day and how they need to tie up loose ends....:rolleyes:
You get the idea.
13-07-2017, 09:55 AM
Folk who discuss their business on the phone on public transport.
The husband/boyfriend being told to bring in bread and milk
The jakey discussing his private life and trying to score drugs.
The business type purely showing off by discussing how they've clinched business deals during the day and how they need to tie up loose ends....:rolleyes:
You get the idea.
I don't see the problem with the top one.
13-07-2017, 09:57 AM
:greengrin. I just find it a tad cringy listening to it thats all.
EH6 Hibby
13-07-2017, 10:35 AM
If they're doing it loud enough for others to hear it's a problem.
13-07-2017, 10:41 AM
If they're doing it loud enough for others to hear it's a problem.
Why is it a problem? If I heard two people on the bus talking about needing bread and milk, I'd not think anything of it. If it's just one person on the phone saying the same thing, whys that different?
13-07-2017, 12:13 PM
Why is it a problem? If I heard two people on the bus talking about needing bread and milk, I'd not think anything of it. If it's just one person on the phone saying the same thing, whys that different?
I've not got a problem with phone conversations like that on buses provided that they're short. It's the needlessly long & loud ones that do my nut in. You can have that inane chat with your pal when you're off the bus; why make everyone else listen to it?
13-07-2017, 12:14 PM
I've not got a problem with phone conversations like that on buses provided that they're short. It's the needlessly long & loud ones that do my nut in. You can have that inane chat with your pal when you're off the bus; why make everyone else listen to it?
Stop listening to the inane chats I have with my mates on buses about bread and milk :greengrin
13-07-2017, 12:18 PM
Stop listening to the inane chats I have with my mates on buses about bread and milk :greengrin
The volume on my earphones doesn't go loud enough
13-07-2017, 12:27 PM
People snooping in on my private conversations.
13-07-2017, 01:09 PM
:greengrin. I just find it a tad cringy listening to it thats all.
I'm with you on them all G.
13-07-2017, 01:25 PM
Mobile smart phones in general. I never realised how stressful my life had become and how much work I do on my phone after hours until this last week or so in Tenerife when I left it in the safe for the whole time.
13-07-2017, 01:42 PM
Noisy devices on a trains quiet coach should be confiscated after being allowed one chance to place them on silent.
pollution
13-07-2017, 04:34 PM
Men - and it is invariably men - who open and read a newspaper at the counter thereby blocking access to the papers.
It's only 70p, just buy it cheapskate!
13-07-2017, 05:12 PM
Men - and it is invariably men - who open and read a newspaper at the counter thereby blocking access to the papers.
It's only 70p, just buy it cheapskate!
I see that all the time and it really annoys me as well. If I want to read a paper I buy one. How tight can you be to stand reading a paper you haven't paid for?
13-07-2017, 05:21 PM
I see that all the time and it really annoys me as well. If I want to read a paper I buy one. How tight can you be to stand reading a paper you haven't paid for?
I used to do that before twitter arrived on the scene.
Wasn't the cost, was the hassle of carrying the paper about when I only really wanted to check if there was any stories about the Hibs...........plus I used to save about 20p
Sorry 😉
13-07-2017, 06:46 PM
I used to do that before twitter arrived on the scene.
Wasn't the cost, was the hassle of carrying the paper about when I only really wanted to check if there was any stories about the Hibs...........plus I used to save about 20p
Sorry 😉
Shooting is too good for you :greengrin
EH6 Hibby
13-07-2017, 07:58 PM
As others have already mentioned, there's no need for everyone on the bus to have to listen to someone's conversation. I manage to talk on the phone at a reasonable volume so don't see why others can't.
13-07-2017, 09:22 PM
I will get my disclaimer out the way first as what I'm about to say can be used for good and really can be a help and is great when it comes to children but.......
The amount of missing person/have you seen this person posts on social media, 3/4 of people have just been on a session and ended up crashed out somewhere
In my late teens and early twenties my folks would have had me on the most wanted list if social media was about then
13-07-2017, 09:27 PM
I will get my disclaimer out the way first as what I'm about to say can be used for good and really can be a help and is great when it comes to children but.......
The amount of missing person/have you seen this person posts on social media, 3/4 of people have just been on a session and ended up crashed out somewhere
In my late teens and early twenties my folks would have had me on the most wanted list if social media was about then
As I would with my boy. No stone would be left unturned if anything happened to him.
Caversham Green
14-07-2017, 10:45 AM
House and car alarms that go off for no reason.
There's a car alarm going off right now near here - it bleeps for about 30 seconds, stops, then starts again after five seconds. Yesterday there was a house alarm going pretty much all day.
Fix the ******* things you ******* *******s
14-07-2017, 01:14 PM
The price of toothbrushes. You can pay three quid.
And they get more "Turbodynamic" all the time, like cars!
I get the Tesco Value Four in a bag for a quid. Nice plain colours.
As for the battery ones - forget it.
14-07-2017, 02:09 PM
Got to agree with you on this one. I mean how clean do you need your teeth to be that would prompt you to pay £149.00 for a Philips Sonic Clean electric toothbrush?
Madness.
SuperAllyMcleod
14-07-2017, 05:47 PM
House and car alarms that go off for no reason.
There's a car alarm going off right now near here - it bleeps for about 30 seconds, stops, then starts again after five seconds. Yesterday there was a house alarm going pretty much all day.
Fix the ******* things you ******* *******s
You don't think that a crime may have been taking place then? [emoji3]
14-07-2017, 09:26 PM
On a lads weekend just now and all my mates have toothbrushes that sound like Transformers. Megatron Ultraclean etc etc.
Bizarre.
ColinNish
14-07-2017, 09:40 PM
Got to agree with you on this one. I mean how clean do you need your teeth to be that would prompt you to pay £149.00 for a Philips Sonic Clean electric toothbrush?
Madness.
Best thing i ever did Was buy an electric toothbrush.
Not needed anything done at the dentists for years.
Mine wasn't £149 though - it was £120 :greengrin
14-07-2017, 10:29 PM
Best thing i ever did Was buy an electric toothbrush.
Not needed anything done at the dentists for years.
Mine wasn't £149 though - it was £120 :greengrin
Same here, 4 minutes a day and sparkling, clean and healthy nashers.
14-07-2017, 11:24 PM
I was given a new toothbrush as a gift and was using it for a couple of months before my wife enquired what I thought of the electric versions. After switching the bloody thing on I was somewhat puzzled as to what to do. Do you just hold the brush and let it do the work, or brush in the normal fashion with the buzzing noise being the only difference as to what went on before? The battery is long dead now and I will never replace it , but still use the brush as I am not a lazy bar steward. Oh, it has hard bristles which is it's greatest feature, and why are they so bloody hard to get hold of nowadays?
Real men don't want some pinko commie liberal please em all betwetting soft bristles. I mean when i was a lad......................
oh and shirley it should be Gnashers
Caversham Green
15-07-2017, 12:03 PM
You don't think that a crime may have been taking place then? [emoji3]
We don't have crime in Caversham.
Seriously, I went out and looked for the car - nobody near it - and the house one goes off all the time so unless they're really unlucky with burglars....
15-07-2017, 02:58 PM
Those big toilet roll dispenser you get in public toilets. The paper lets out 1 sheet before breaking off and then it takes you about 10 minutes to find the beginning of the roll again.
15-07-2017, 04:41 PM
There will be a technical name and explanation for this but I'm not familiar with website design so I don't know - news websites like the Independent and the Edinburgh Evening News load up but take ages to configure so if you go to click on a headline too quickly you end up opening the next link up or down.
You don't get it with the Guardian or BBC for example - is it just a cheaper set-up?
SuperAllyMcleod
15-07-2017, 06:12 PM
There will be a technical name and explanation for this but I'm not familiar with website design so I don't know - news websites like the Independent and the Edinburgh Evening News load up but take ages to configure so if you go to click on a headline too quickly you end up opening the next link up or down.
You don't get it with the Guardian or BBC for example - is it just a cheaper set-up?
That drives me nuts too, the technical term is "****" but it's just poor design.
16-07-2017, 07:58 AM
31 year old manual toothbrush user. Never had any work done at the dentist, no fillings etc. Scale and polish every 6 months and I'm good to go.
A toothbrush in decent condition is far more important than a fancy price tag. Change it every few weeks and you'll be grand.
16-07-2017, 08:11 AM
People telling you "you can't say that anymore" whilst not having a clue what they are talking about.
ColinNish
16-07-2017, 08:58 AM
31 year old manual toothbrush user. Never had any work done at the dentist, no fillings etc. Scale and polish every 6 months and I'm good to go.
A toothbrush in decent condition is far more important than a fancy price tag. Change it every few weeks and you'll be grand.
You see i don't need a scale and polish every 6 months coz i use an electric toothbrush. :greengrin
16-07-2017, 09:28 AM
And when you've done with it you can keep it for cleaning other things like that washing machine dispenser drawer with those hard to reach bits.
Nothing is wasted in oor hoose.
Alfiembra
16-07-2017, 06:55 PM
When you get your car back from the garage after a service and they have caked grease all over the door hinges. Don't see the point of this it just collects dirt and ruins your sponge if you go anywhere near it when the car gets a wash. I can handle oiling a squeaky hinge nothing technical there.
16-07-2017, 08:01 PM
When you get your car back after a full service at the garage and the original cable ties are still on your wheel trims.
16-07-2017, 08:11 PM
When you get your car back from the garage after a service and they have caked grease all over the door hinges. Don't see the point of this it just collects dirt and ruins your sponge if you go anywhere near it when the car gets a wash. I can handle oiling a squeaky hinge nothing technical there.
Why would you be sponging your door hinges? Or even the inside edge of the door near the hinge??
speedy_gonzales
16-07-2017, 08:14 PM
Why would you be sponging your door hinges? Or even the inside edge of the door near the hinge??
Was thinking the same but then I remembered a car detailer I know,,,, he wipes clean every surface, even the sills!
16-07-2017, 08:18 PM
Was thinking the same but then I remembered a car detailer I know,,,, he wipes clean every surface, even the sills!
The door sills I can understand (for someone doing that job, not a regular guy) because they are the first part of the bodywork you see once the door is opened. But still cannae figure out sponging the hinges.
Alfiembra
17-07-2017, 08:28 AM
But still cannae figure out sponging the hinges.
Maybe just me but, I usually run the sponge around the edges of the door and maybe also the hinges on mine are a bit more prominent (VW Golf) each to there own.
19-07-2017, 11:45 PM
Admin pricks. :greengrin
20-07-2017, 12:06 AM
Reported.
20-07-2017, 08:13 PM
Reported.
Good, means I can add to my growing collection of warnings.
20-07-2017, 08:42 PM
Non admin pricks :-)
20-07-2017, 10:11 PM
Toilets with useless flushes.
20-07-2017, 11:06 PM
Routines.
I have older relatives who eat a certain meal on the same day of every week, go and visit friends on the same day every week, will only go to the same restaurant, phone a friend on the same day at the same time every week. These routines have gone on for years and they will not break them for anything!
Example: We turn up to visit or arrange a celebration, and it's "oh I can't do that on a Friday, I always go to......on a Friday"
Oh no I have to get home by 6pm, I always phone ........ at 6pm on a Monday etc etc etc
21-07-2017, 02:07 AM
Toilets with useless flushes.
Maybe be it was the size of the Silent Night in the bowl that the flush couldn't shift.
21-07-2017, 02:08 AM
Non admin pricks :-)
Thats mild compared to what I've been called in the past.
21-07-2017, 06:24 AM
Maybe be it was the size of the Silent Night in the bowl that the flush couldn't shift.
Some of them don't even get rid of a single fish properly these days, never mind the Basil Bolies.
21-07-2017, 08:06 AM
Some of them don't even get rid of a single fish properly these days, never mind the Basil Bolies.
I've got a good flush but even that can struggle after a good post wild night Tom Kite in the morning. :greengrin :******:
21-07-2017, 10:14 AM
I've got a good flush but even that can struggle after a good post wild night Tom Kite in the morning. :greengrin :******:
Re. the Tom Kite. What you need is a straight run. That always beats a flush.
21-07-2017, 02:37 PM
Is an Admin Prick the same thing as a Private Member?
21-07-2017, 03:13 PM
:agree: But über ones.
21-07-2017, 03:35 PM
The decision of car manufactures to remove indicators from Volkswagen Golfs, Fiat 500s, Skoda Octavias and most models of Audi, BMW and Mercedes.
21-07-2017, 03:39 PM
The decision of car manufactures to remove indicators from Volkswagen Golfs, Fiat 500s, Skoda Octavias and most models of Audi, BMW and Mercedes.
Also the absence of speedos on BMW's and Audis.
Frogs hiding in the grass that for some reason can't hear lawn mowers. Feel like a bit of a murderer right now.
Why Kermit? Why?
21-07-2017, 04:01 PM
Frogs hiding in the grass that for some reason can't hear lawn mowers. Feel like a bit of a murderer right now.
Why Kermit? Why?
It's not easy being green.
21-07-2017, 04:13 PM
Why Kermit? Why?
Please don't tell me it croaked :boo hoo:
pollution
21-07-2017, 04:35 PM
Can a coo count?
21-07-2017, 05:20 PM
I absolutely hate those cars, usually driven by young ditsy women who have no idea how to drive and are on their phones texting when stopped in traffic. :rolleyes:
21-07-2017, 07:23 PM
Golf. just the whole thing.
:agree: :greengrin
24-07-2017, 08:01 PM
Idiots who stand right next to the carousel when waiting for their luggage in the airport. If you stand behind the yellow line, everyone can see what cases are coming round. Somebody thought about this when designing the system. How can there be so many morons who can't figure it out.
24-07-2017, 08:15 PM
Russians attacking the buffet like it was the Reichstag 1945.
speedy_gonzales
24-07-2017, 08:45 PM
Idiots who stand right next to the carousel when waiting for their luggage in the airport. If you stand behind the yellow line, everyone can see what cases are coming round. Somebody thought about this when designing the system. How can there be so many morons who can't figure it out.
Always felt the same, families(morons) that crowd out the belt with trolleys etc. Just send one person in and they can hand over cases to someone behind them.
Experienced it again on Saturday at Edinburgh after flying in from Orlando via Gatwick. Luggage was sent to belt 6 at EDI which is not the biggest and being the last can get a bit crowded between hoardings and the wall. I just took a seat and waited until the luggage started to come around and when we spied ours coming the wife politely (at first) asked to get through but eventually had to elbow folk to the side. I was almost wetting myself at the mentality of some of the other passengers, you'd think they were in a queue for bread during the Soviet era!!
24-07-2017, 10:55 PM
Folk that sit in your seat at an all ticket event then take a moody when you ask the ti move.
Similarly when you get on a plane and find someone in your seat and ask them to move then they start huffing because you had the savvy to book the window seat :greengrin
24-07-2017, 11:01 PM
Folk that ignore "no right turn" signs. There seems to be an ever increasing group of motorists on our roads who choose to completely ignore road layouts and signage and do what ever they want. These same people hate being told by other motorists and often become aggressive. Strange bunch of folk they really are.
24-07-2017, 11:17 PM
Folk that ignore "no right turn" signs. There seems to be an ever increasing group of motorists on our roads who choose to completely ignore road layouts and signage and do what ever they want. These same people hate being told by other motorists and often become aggressive. Strange bunch of folk they really are.
I agree with you, SH - however, in car parks (like say, the Fort) they have a one-way system set out so that if you are in the first bays you have to drive around all the car park then you end up next to the spot where you'd parked. That drives me absolutely bananas.
I admit to being a naughty boy once or twice when faced with a long exit detour, I've thought "Foxtrot Oscar, I'm going out the quick way"
25-07-2017, 06:43 AM
I agree with you, SH - however, in car parks (like say, the Fort) they have a one-way system set out so that if you are in the first bays you have to drive around all the car park then you end up next to the spot where you'd parked. That drives me absolutely bananas.
I admit to being a naughty boy once or twice when faced with a long exit detour. I thought "Foxtrot Oscar, I'm going out the quick way"car parks full stop. often spaces are too tight for modern bigger cars but that aside it's like people just forget the rules of the road and turn into (even more) of a complete idiot.
add in the stupid pedestrians who see you reversing etc and still think its fine to just walk behind you and it's ridiculous.
First time I've parked in an airport carpark last week so don't know if it's the normb. Arlanda airport in sweden and the parking bays are so narrow to the point we had trouble getting my son out the car. Low and behold when we got back on Sunday the car had two nicks in the paint either side😡
25-07-2017, 09:49 AM
First time I've parked in an airport carpark last week so don't know if it's the normb. Arlanda airport in sweden and the parking bays are so narrow to the point we had trouble getting my son out the car. Low and behold when we got back on Sunday the car had two nicks in the paint either side😡
Side by side car parking bays are nearly always 5m x 2.5m although a few can be shorter say, 4.5m. Longitudinal parking bays are longer (approx 6m). Parking bays for the disabled are obviously wider.
Other countries may have different specs however, those are the general dimensions used in the UK.
25-07-2017, 09:56 AM
car parks full stop. often spaces are too tight for modern bigger cars but that aside it's like people just forget the rules of the road and turn into (even more) of a complete idiot.
add in the stupid pedestrians who see you reversing etc and still think its fine to just walk behind you and it's ridiculous.
Plus the idiots that pull into the space next to you just as you try to reverse out. :idiot:
SuperAllyMcleod
25-07-2017, 12:00 PM
car parks full stop. often spaces are too tight for modern bigger cars but that aside it's like people just forget the rules of the road and turn into (even more) of a complete idiot.
Costco has the best car park - utilising the American angled system - however, people in this country seem to have an aversion to reversing so they drive across the bay into the next one where they are then faced with an awkward right turn to get out. Or at least they would do if they paid attention to the (now no longer used) one way system.
Costco just need to put a kerb down the middle of the bays and it will work as designed. People would get used to it, find it works, and hopefully other car parks would follow suit.
EH6 Hibby
25-07-2017, 01:05 PM
I live at the Shore, and it's pretty much all one way between Constitution Street and Henderson Street, right down to Bernard Street, but the amount of people that think these rules don't apply to them and drive through the No Entry signs, is unreal. Must be dozens every day.
25-07-2017, 05:51 PM
Idiots who stand right next to the carousel when waiting for their luggage in the airport. If you stand behind the yellow line, everyone can see what cases are coming round. Somebody thought about this when designing the system. How can there be so many morons who can't figure it out.You'd think they only had a couple of seconds to get their case before it disintegrated. I quite like swinging a case into their ribs when they ignore my polite request to move.
25-07-2017, 06:16 PM
You'd think they only had a couple of seconds to get their case before it disintegrated. I quite like swinging a case into their ribs when they ignore my polite request to move.
The case for the defence, M'lud :nerd:
25-07-2017, 08:28 PM
I live at the Shore, and it's pretty much all one way between Constitution Street and Henderson Street, right down to Bernard Street, but the amount of people that think these rules don't apply to them and drive through the No Entry signs, is unreal. Must be dozens every day.
Your a grumpy git......
......... I taught you well grasshopper😁
25-07-2017, 08:40 PM
Probably just me but this fascination with Hibs fan when a football match goes to 4-1 and they all stand by their keyboards waiting for a fifth to type "blah blah killed as a club "
Mildly funny first time. Awful now plus the fact I don't need constant reminders of that game.
25-07-2017, 09:30 PM
Probably just me but this fascination with Hibs fan when a football match goes to 4-1 and they all stand by their keyboards waiting for a fifth to type "blah blah killed as a club "
Mildly funny first time. Awful now plus the fact I don't need constant reminders of that game.
There are many cliches and well-worn phrases used ad nauseam on Hibsnet.
Some bother me more than others however, because I use a few of them myself, I can't complain. :whistle:
25-07-2017, 09:51 PM
People that get away with doing/saying things others wouldn't.
26-07-2017, 12:44 PM
Having to drop down about 3 pages to select your year of birth when completing an online form :grr:
26-07-2017, 01:12 PM
Children who want to be adults too soon that they dress and act totally inappropriately. Bordering on the obscene with the way some school girls are parading about.
26-07-2017, 01:14 PM
Always picking the queue in the supermarket that turns out to be the one where the assistant has to call a supervisor for price check or missing barcode.
26-07-2017, 04:38 PM
Well done admin (fud)! Sorry ;-)
26-07-2017, 04:46 PM
Having to drop down about 3 pages to select your year of birth when completing an online form :grr:
:greengrin I can relate to that. :aok:
(Though I'd be more peeved if it didn't go that far back :wink:).
26-07-2017, 06:49 PM
:greengrin I can relate to that. :aok:
(Though I'd be more peeved if it didn't go that far back :wink:).
I once had to get travel insurance for my dad and his mate to go on holiday. His mate was born in the 1930s and the website I was using didn't go that far back.
27-07-2017, 06:03 AM
People leaving the door open when they enter or leave the bar. Ffs yer letting the heat in.
Mixu62
27-07-2017, 07:01 AM
People who stop dead at the end of an escalator, or walk across the path of the escalator right in front of you. I take a sick pleasure in barging right into them, if at all possible with something blunt and heavy right in the shins.
People who block the escalator at a train/underground station despite all the signs saying "stand to the left" to allow people in a hurry to get past quickly. And they just stand there utterly oblivious.
27-07-2017, 07:06 AM
Hijacked threads that go off in a tangent away from the subject of the thread title.
Having said that, I'm one of the worst offenders! :embarrass
27-07-2017, 07:35 AM
The dettol advert with the woman wiping surfaces with a piece of raw chicken. Minging and makes me feel a bit sick. It's always on during kids tv on C5 too.
Thief
27-07-2017, 08:59 AM
People who start every sentence with "so."
Hopefully it'll go out of fashion again soon!
27-07-2017, 09:02 AM
The dettol advert with the woman wiping surfaces with a piece of raw chicken. Minging and makes me feel a bit sick. It's always on during kids tv on C5 too.
:agree: A dirty fowl - definitely a red card :coffee:
27-07-2017, 09:22 AM
Or people who, upon getting off a train or tube, immediately stop to gawk around like a lost fool or sort out their luggage etc and cause a total logjam for everyone else trying to get on or off the train.
27-07-2017, 09:26 AM
Another one is "You know what?" It's usually the precursor to some self-righteous guff. I've been going on about it for ages but, you know what? They're still doing it.
27-07-2017, 03:06 PM
Or people who, upon getting off a train or tube, immediately stop to gawk around like a lost fool or sort out their luggage etc and cause a total logjam for everyone else trying to get on or off the train.
Likewise people at the store check out fumbling through their bag/pockets for their purse or wallet.
FFS, know where it is beforehand, ya numptie. You've probably just stood in a queue for five minutes with your finger up your derriere. :brickwall
ColinNish
27-07-2017, 05:59 PM
People who stop dead at the end of an escalator, or walk across the path of the escalator right in front of you. I take a sick pleasure in barging right into them, if at all possible with something blunt and heavy right in the shins.
People who block the escalator at a train/underground station despite all the signs saying "stand to the left" to allow people in a hurry to get past quickly. And they just stand there utterly oblivious.
According to Scouse Hibee you're supposed to not moan about this and use the stairs. :greengrin
27-07-2017, 06:19 PM
According to Scouse Hibee you're supposed to not moan about this and use the stairs. :greengrin
Exactly :-)
Likewise people at the store check out fumbling through their bag/pockets for their purse or wallet.
FFS, know where it is beforehand, ya numptie. You've probably just stood in a queue for five minutes with your finger up your derriere. :brickwall
Mixu62
27-07-2017, 10:29 PM
Only cos electricity only reached Merseyside in the last couple of years and they still stare at the "moving staircase" uttering phrases like "what witchcraft be this?!":greengrin
27-07-2017, 10:30 PM
Only cos electricity only reached Merseyside in the last couple of years and they still stare at the "moving staircase" uttering phrases like "what witchcraft be this?!":greengrin
But I have lived in Edinburgh since 92 :-)
28-07-2017, 03:50 AM
Sneaky managers who make it their mission to try and catch out staff..... especially the ones who used to work on the shop floor and know and took advantage of all the tricks in the book. Snakes.
28-07-2017, 06:26 AM
Sneaky managers who make it their mission to try and catch out staff..... especially the ones who used to work on the shop floor and know and took advantage of all the tricks in the book. Snakes.
What did they catch you doing? ;-)
28-07-2017, 06:28 AM
:agree: I posted on this irritating fad back in the annals of this thread. It might go out of fashion slowly just like the demise of the overuse of Australian questioning intonation, which is on the decrease, thank God.
ColinNish
28-07-2017, 07:08 AM
Too busy checking their Facebook status.
28-07-2017, 07:42 AM
What did they catch you doing? ;-)
Not my grade :greengrin. I just don't get how someone can go from militant as **** to arse licker in a matter of a few weeks. :confused:
28-07-2017, 09:48 AM
Not my grade :greengrin. I just don't get how someone can go from militant as **** to arse licker in a matter of a few weeks. :confused:
https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Stanford_prison_experiment
28-07-2017, 10:09 AM
££££
28-07-2017, 10:18 AM
I mentioned that on the documentary thread, very unsettling viewing.
28-07-2017, 11:53 AM
I mentioned that on the documentary thread, very unsettling viewing.
There's a German film "Das Experiment" that covers the story. Not sure if it was released in the UK but was quite big over here.
28-07-2017, 12:14 PM
Oven gloves. In my experience, every "purpose made" oven glove has been hopeless at holding anything warmer than a kid running a temperature.
Always end up with a tea towel folded over a couple of times which does the job perfectly.
28-07-2017, 12:21 PM
Oven gloves. In my experience, every "purpose made" oven glove has been hopeless at holding anything warmer than a kid running a temperature.
Always end up with a tea towel folded over a couple of times which does the job perfectly.
My Hibs oven gloves do the trick nicely, probably because they're Hibs class.
28-07-2017, 12:52 PM
There's a German film "Das Experiment" that covers the story. Not sure if it was released in the UK but was quite big over here.
The Universities own footage is on Youtube IIRC.
28-07-2017, 04:50 PM
People leaving the door open when they enter or leave the bar. Ffs yer letting the heat in.The number of smart ar**'s that post on football forums :agree:
:wink: .... Brrrr!
28-07-2017, 05:32 PM
Links that don't work :greengrin
28-07-2017, 06:40 PM
The number of smart ar**'s that post on football forums :agree:
28-07-2017, 06:41 PM
Links that don't work :greengrin
People too lazy to cut and past :wink:
28-07-2017, 07:57 PM
Going up the stairs in your house that you've lived in for 10 years and taking an extra step at the top.
Never a good thing.
28-07-2017, 08:49 PM
Going up the stairs in your house that you've lived in for 10 years and taking an extra step at the top.
Never a good thing.
"These steps go right up to 11."
Everybody knows that. :wink:
28-07-2017, 08:50 PM
"These steps go right up to 11."
Everybody knows that. :wink:
I do now :greengrin
29-07-2017, 12:25 AM
People whose sentences go up at the end. It's everywhere now.
Who started that habit? The Americans? The Aussies? Was it some popular TV show?
29-07-2017, 06:51 PM
People whose sentences go up at the end. It's everywhere now.
Who started that habit? The Americans? The Aussies? Was it some popular TV show?
AQI according to Stephen Fry............. Australian Questioning Intonation.
31-07-2017, 06:43 AM
Having the " excuse me you are in my seat" conversation on the train yesterday. To be told by the lassie, "the seat reservations aren't working so I just sat here". I then explained that you don't need the reservation system to be working to be able to read your ticket and sit in the correct seat.
31-07-2017, 10:35 AM
Having the " excuse me you are in my seat" conversation on the train yesterday. To be told by the lassie, "the seat reservations aren't working so I just sat here". I then explained that you don't need the reservation system to be working to be able to read your ticket and sit in the correct seat.
Did she vacate said seat in question?
31-07-2017, 11:52 AM
Did she vacate said seat in question?
No she did not, I then took a seat further along the carriage and wondered how long it would be before I was asked to move. Lo and behold the lassie in my seat and her pal got off anyway at the next stop which was Preston, she could have told me that!
ColinNish
31-07-2017, 12:36 PM
Is that true though? I used to get the 6.05 Inverness train home most nights from Glasgow queen street and majority of times it was late coming in so they didn't have time to put up the reserved tickets and they would issue an apology over the train tannoy saying no reserved seats?
31-07-2017, 01:21 PM
Is that true though? I used to get the 6.05 Inverness train home most nights from Glasgow queen street and majority of times it was late coming in so they didn't have time to put up the reserved tickets and they would issue an apology over the train tannoy saying no reserved seats?
Yes I asked the train manager, she said announcement was put out to explain the system hadn't uploaded but to sit in your own reserved seat. It's not hard to do and they always announce on Virgins trains which coaches are unreserved in case you don't have a reservation. They repeat the announcements at every stop too. Anyhow it really pisses me off. I pick my seat specifically for every journey. :-)
31-07-2017, 01:42 PM
Self driving cars - WTF?
Who am I going to scream and shout at now? :grr::grr::grr:
31-07-2017, 03:06 PM
Self driving cars - WTF?
Who am I going to scream and shout at now? :grr::grr::grr:
That's true. Half the posts on this thread will become redundant. That can't be right :greengrin
ColinNish
31-07-2017, 03:33 PM
Yes I asked the train manager, she said announcement was put out to explain the system hadn't uploaded but to sit in your own reserved seat. It's not hard to do and they always announce on Virgins trains which coaches are unreserved in case you don't have a reservation. They repeat the announcements at every stop too. Anyhow it really pisses me off. I pick my seat specifically for every journey. :-)
Ah, that'll be the difference i think - Virgin and Scotrail.
31-07-2017, 05:24 PM
Ah, that'll be the difference i think - Virgin and Scotrail.
Virgin have newer trains with electronic reservations, ScotRail still use the old label on the seat system.
ColinNish
31-07-2017, 06:49 PM
Virgin have newer trains with electronic reservations, ScotRail still use the old label on the seat system.
I know - that's why i said it. 😂😂😂
01-08-2017, 06:42 AM
Just read on my Facebook "on my holibags with the fambo at the cara"
01-08-2017, 10:17 AM
When waiting in line for tickets (not just Ibrox tickets) and someone comes along and replaces someone else ahead of you in the queue.
01-08-2017, 01:26 PM
When waiting in line for tickets (not just Ibrox tickets) and someone comes along and replaces someone else ahead of you in the queue.
I agree.
01-08-2017, 01:46 PM
Just read on my Facebook "on my holibags with the fambo at the cara"
What does that even mean? I'd delete that roaster.
01-08-2017, 01:58 PM
Scouse Hibee you might like this Facebook page, absolute hoot some of the posts.
https://www.facebook.com/uokhunni/?fref=nf
01-08-2017, 02:53 PM
Scouse Hibee you might like this Facebook page, absolute hoot some of the posts.
https://www.facebook.com/uokhunni/?fref=nf
Hahaha some crackers on there.
01-08-2017, 03:03 PM
:agree::agree::agree:.
01-08-2017, 03:55 PM
Hahaha some crackers on there.
Give it a like, some right howling posts pop up to brighten up your day, the folk that post the comments that slag them off have me in stitches.
01-08-2017, 06:21 PM
Pun threads
Mixu62
02-08-2017, 02:29 AM
Pop up ads with fake close buttons.
02-08-2017, 06:15 AM
Pop up ads with fake close buttons.
On a similar theme the Scotsman and evening news websites when trying to read on your phone.
I've given up trying to open links from twitter as it's pretty much unreadable with all the adverts and pop up messages, inevitably end up pressing on one by accident as the page jumps about.
02-08-2017, 06:43 AM
On a similar theme the Scotsman and evening news websites when trying to read on your phone.
I've given up trying to open links from twitter as it's pretty much unreadable with all the adverts and pop up messages, inevitably end up pressing on one by accident as the page jumps about.
I find the Scotsman website just about unusable, on any device. Freezes my laptop as well.
02-08-2017, 10:27 AM
I find the Scotsman website just about unusable, on any device. Freezes my laptop as well.
Also those links on Newsnow. The ones that have titles like "20 things you didn't know about Tinseltown". They take ages to watch and have confusing arrows that inevitably take you to an ad page.
I don't even bother going there anymore. Total Tom Kite.
02-08-2017, 06:02 PM
What does that even mean? I'd delete that roaster.
I think it means on my holidays with my family at the caravan.
04-08-2017, 11:04 AM
People that post they have just spat their tea/coffee over their PC, laptop etc after reading something vaguely amusing on a forum. Eh, no you never so, why post it.
04-08-2017, 11:25 AM
Trying to find a dry seat in the hotel restaurant after the proletariat who think the dress order is only about covering up their wobbly bits have had lunch. Minging philistines.
04-08-2017, 11:53 AM
Trying to find a dry seat in the hotel restaurant after the proletariat who think the dress order is only about covering up their wobbly bits have had lunch. Minging philistines. Youll need to explain this to me? You get peeved at females sitting in a seat with a very short skirt on and pishing themselves? :confused:
04-08-2017, 11:55 AM
People that post they have just spat their tea/coffee over their PC, laptop etc after reading something vaguely amusing on a forum. Eh, no you never so, why post it. Not unless said user is sat with a mouthful of tea/coffee all the time in case they read something funny, after all its usually they have 'Literally' spat said drink onto screen so must be true.
04-08-2017, 01:43 PM
Youll need to explain this to me? You get peeved at females sitting in a seat with a very short skirt on and pishing themselves? :confused:
You could interpret it that way if you're a complete deviant. :greengrin
I was more referring to those who throw a sarong or similar around their wet bathing costumes and then go dining. Minging behaviour.
04-08-2017, 01:47 PM
I was more referring to those who throw a sarong or similar around their wet bathing costumes and then go dining. Minging behaviour.
Again, not a problem if they're young and attractive.
04-08-2017, 02:00 PM
Again, not a problem if they're young and attractive.
Well I think people leaving puddles on the upholstery is minging, no matter how attractive I find them.
04-08-2017, 02:06 PM
I was more referring to those who throw a sarong or similar around their wet bathing costumes and then go dining. Minging behaviour.Ahhh your on holiday, Im with you now. I genuinly thought you meant a normal hotel resturant over here..........as for your first sentence, no comment :greengrin
04-08-2017, 03:16 PM
Ahhh your on holiday, Im with you now. I genuinly thought you meant a normal hotel resturant over here..........as for your first sentence, no comment :greengrin
I thought he meant someone with a rather leaky Kriss Akabusi had sat in a seat in a hotel dining area and left a mess!! :greengrin
04-08-2017, 03:33 PM
Job adverts that describe the salary as 'competitive' or 'excellent base salary'......just bloody tell us what ball park we're in.
Just took a days holiday and had a fairly lengthy interview for him to advise at the end they deal with 'low basics, high commission'. Surely nobody is going to almost half their salary in the hope of making it back up through commission so why waste people's time?!
Probably should have asked myself to be fair but it's never an easy conversation to broach when acting keen about the job and not only interested in the money.
04-08-2017, 03:55 PM
Job adverts that describe the salary as 'competitive' or 'excellent base salary'......just bloody tell us what ball park we're in.
Just took a days holiday and had a fairly lengthy interview for him to advise at the end they deal with 'low basics, high commission'. Surely nobody is going to almost half their salary in the hope of making it back up through commission so why waste people's time?!
Probably should have asked myself to be fair but it's never an easy conversation to broach when acting keen about the job and not only interested in the money.
It's about time the taboo about asking about the salary was put to bed. It's ridiculous, the plain facts are we all work to live to a certain standard so of course the salary level plays a huge part in the jobs we apply for. Thankfully my current boss recognised that and simply asked me what I wanted after he had heard what I had to say
04-08-2017, 04:15 PM
It's about time the taboo about asking about the salary was put to bed. It's ridiculous, the plain facts are we all work to live to a certain standard so of course the salary level plays a huge part in the jobs we apply for. Thankfully my current boss recognised that and simply asked me what I wanted after he had heard what I had to say
Totally agree.
It never used to bother me asking but I had a couple of experiences where I've had feedback that I asked about the money too early. Now I've no got a clue when I'm meant to bring it up and what the right way to do it is?!
If I had a business or was interviewing it'd be the first thing I'd be expecting them to enquire about and don't see the problem with asking early doors.
04-08-2017, 04:25 PM
Totally agree.
It never used to bother me asking but I had a couple of experiences where I've had feedback that I asked about the money too early. Now I've no got a clue when I'm meant to bring it up and what the right way to do it is?!
If I had a business or was interviewing it'd be the first thing I'd be expecting them to enquire about and don't see the problem with asking early doors.
Yes been in that position myself, in response to the accusation that I was being driven by money rather than the job. I asked the interviewer if he would consider taking a wage cut when he decides to move on to a job that he considered a step up from his current role. After some stuttering he said "no of course not". There you go then I said "maybe the next person that asks will get a better response then". I then upped and left as had already decided I couldn't work there after all
04-08-2017, 05:00 PM
Agree about the wage thing. Every site like s1 should advertise it. Even if it's a xxx between xxx depending on experience. I recently was looking at what jobs were out there and not 1 had a salary. I have been in my current job for 7 years and was genuinely interested as to what I could earn elsewhere.
In the end it turns out I'm paid way above what my job is advertised elsewhere, but it's still a basic thing that should be advertised for every job
05-08-2017, 07:20 AM
I thought he meant someone with a rather leaky Kriss Akabusi had sat in a seat in a hotel dining area and left a mess!! :greengrin
Ahem! I'm still here you know! :greengrin
05-08-2017, 07:21 AM
People talking about you as if you're not there. :greengrin
05-08-2017, 01:42 PM
Buying a steak pie at Easter Road and not being able you eat it without a knife and fork as the base remains firmly stuck to the foil as you try to remove it.
05-08-2017, 09:49 PM
Buying a steak and gravy pie at ER, carefully tear the foil down the side and then underneath to release the pie in one piece and find out out there is no gravy! £2.80 and no trucking gravy!
ColinNish
06-08-2017, 06:32 AM
I'd be looking at the hotels you're staying at. Any I've been at, you're only allowed at the outdoor restaurant/cafe which is plastic seating. The indoor restaurant they won't let you in dressed like that.
06-08-2017, 06:53 AM
People who block the escalator at a train/underground station despite all the signs saying "stand to the left" to allow people in a hurry to get past quickly. And they just stand there utterly oblivious.Possibly because you're standing on the wrong side?
http://citytransport.info/Video/Stand_on_right.jpg
06-08-2017, 07:51 AM
I'd be looking at the hotels you're staying at. Any I've been at, you're only allowed at the outdoor restaurant/cafe which is plastic seating. The indoor restaurant they won't let you in dressed like that.
You're right. The hotel was actually more than decent but obviously not willing to hold up their own dress code that was openly on display for all to see. At the end of the day the hotel have the responsibility to enforce their dress code but it's still minging from individuals who ignore/don't understand it.
06-08-2017, 07:52 AM
Possibly because you're standing on the wrong side?
Mixu62
07-08-2017, 03:42 AM
Possibly because you're standing on the wrong side?
It's the left in Auckland where I've been living for 11 years. Probably due to being upside down on the wrong side of the earth
07-08-2017, 11:34 PM
Realising you've forgotten something when you get home from the shops.
Realising you'd forgotten to go to the shops.
08-08-2017, 11:25 AM
Realising you'd forgotten to go to the shops.
Worse than that, remembering to go to the shops but getting home and finding out you've bought everything but what you went there for in the first place. :rolleyes:
Got the (many) tee shirt on that one.
08-08-2017, 03:27 PM
People scared to complain if something is not ok. I'm talking about people who moan to their companions about restaurant food then tell the waiter with a big smile that it's good when asked how their food is.
10-08-2017, 10:39 PM
You're right. It's not user friendly on the mobile. Not so bad on PC.
At least it's still free to access unlike most other papers.
10-08-2017, 10:57 PM
That's what I would call a bonus, TBH
11-08-2017, 05:13 PM
Guys who check their phones while having a pee.
Sent from my SM-A510F using Tapatalk
11-08-2017, 07:42 PM
:agree: Especially if it's a Jap's i-phone
12-08-2017, 06:26 AM
I do that, why does it bother you?
And I'll thank you not to watch me peeing in the future thank you very much 😂
12-08-2017, 09:03 AM
I do that, why does it bother you?
And I'll thank you not to watch me peeing in the future thank you very much [emoji23]It bothers me cos a man should use 2 hands to hold his cock
Or is that just me?
[emoji48]
12-08-2017, 09:29 AM
There was a guy in the toilets at work the other week who was standing having a conversation on his mobile while he was pissing at the urinal.
12-08-2017, 10:15 AM
There was a guy in the toilets at work the other week who was standing having a conversation on his mobile while he was pissing at the urinal.
That's like US president LBJ shouting instructions to his minions while seated on the crapper!
16-08-2017, 07:52 AM
Busses driving 10-15 mph below the speed limit (30 or 40 mph zones)
Busses at a bus stop that leave their backside out in the middle of the road so no one can get passed
Busses at a traffic light junction that stop the flow of traffic to let an oncoming bus make a right turn despite their being a filter lane.
16-08-2017, 08:38 AM
Busses at a bus stop that leave their backside out in the middle of the road so no one can get passed
Busses at a traffic light junction that stop the flow of traffic to let an oncoming bus make a right turn despite their being a filter lane.
I'll add bus drivers who pull in at a bus stop then immediately put on their right indicator before happily sitting for an age whilst people get on and off the bus.
Also on the driving theme people who don't indicate when using the 1st exit at a roundabout. You are sitting waiting to enter the roundabout, think they are going straight over then at the last second they throw the wheel round like they are on the hairpin at Monte Carlo and disappear.
Finally drivers who overestimate the size of their car and think they are driving an HGV. I use Pilrig Street quite often and with parking on both sides it can be tight but 2 cars can comfortably pass each other. I got stuck behind a Citroen C1 this morning who insisted on slamming their brakes on and swerving about every time a car appeared on the other side of the road.
16-08-2017, 10:02 AM
I'll add bus drivers who pull in at a bus stop then immediately put on their right indicator before happily sitting for an age whilst people get on and off the bus.
Also on the driving theme people who don't indicate when using the 1st exit at a roundabout. You are sitting waiting to enter the roundabout, think they are going straight over then at the last second they throw the wheel round like they are on the hairpin at Monte Carlo and disappear.
Finally drivers who overestimate the size of their car and think they are driving an HGV. I use Pilrig Street quite often and with parking on both sides it can be tight but 2 cars can comfortably pass each other. I got stuck behind a Citroen C1 this morning who insisted on slamming their brakes on and swerving about every time a car appeared on the other side of the road.
Bus drivers whose sole purpose is to see how many human skittles they can topple on their bus by jerking on the brakes when slowing down or coming to a stop. We had one of them yesterday. He did it not just once or twice but the whole trip. I was amazed that no passengers were injured.
Erse.
16-08-2017, 10:32 AM
Busses at a traffic light junction that stop the flow of traffic to let an oncoming bus make a right turn despite their being a filter lane.People who say "busses" instead of "buses". :na na:
16-08-2017, 12:49 PM
People who say "busses" instead of "buses". :na na:
You're making a fus over nothing. :cool2:
16-08-2017, 03:25 PM
********s who get on the bus when people are still getting off (princess street and the surrounding area are bad for this) and worse when a pram/wheelchair is trying to get off and the eejits just stand and stare at the oncoming people.
derekHFC
16-08-2017, 03:43 PM
********s who get on the bus when people are still getting off (princess street and the surrounding area are bad for this) and worse when a pram/wheelchair is trying to get off and the eejits just stand and stare at the oncoming people.
People who make up streets in Edinburgh :rolleyes::tee hee:
pollution
16-08-2017, 04:40 PM
********s who get on the bus when people are still getting off (princess street and the surrounding area are bad for this) and worse when a pram/wheelchair is trying to get off and the eejits just stand and stare at the oncoming people.Absolutely no excuse for that! At least use a capital P and S!
Bus drivers who start to pull out of bus stops without checking for traffic, then give you the dirty look because you were already there driving along the road.
Bus drivers who stop when there isn't a bus stop to drop off a mate.
folk who get on a bus, wait til they get to the front of the queue, then start fishing for money.
people who can't park their car along a kerb without leaving huge space at the front/back, or those who park across 2 spaces along a kerb - I can semi understand the 2 spaces in a car park for avoiding scratches, but this?
people who sit in a queue of traffic waiting to get through lights, then when at the front, don't watch for them changing, lengthening the queue and the wait behind them.
sets of traffic lights in close proximity that aren't synced properly, ending up with green lights at one that can't move as the other is red.
17-08-2017, 07:50 AM
FAQ sections on websites that never have answers to any relevant questions.
17-08-2017, 10:53 AM
FAQ sections on websites that never have answers to any relevant questions.
:agree: Good call b70. Also, there's never a contact tel no. Just a loop that takes you back to their home page. :grr:
And to continue on the bus peeve - bus drivers who deliberately stop with the back end of their bus sticking out stopping other vehicles from passing. Likewise stopping in the outside lane instead of pulling into the bus stop bay. :grr:
17-08-2017, 11:24 AM
people who can't park their car along a kerb without leaving huge space at the front/back, or those who park across 2 spaces along a kerb - I can semi understand the 2 spaces in a car park for avoiding scratches, but this?
It's a relatively easy thing to do. They even get you to do it during the driving test. My particular peeve, apart from people who can't keep their car between 2 white lines, is people who drive straight into a parking space then can't reverse out without causing havoc.
17-08-2017, 12:05 PM
It's a relatively easy thing to do. They even get you to do it during the driving test. My particular peeve, apart from people who can't keep their car between 2 white lines, is people who drive straight into a parking space then can't reverse out without causing havoc.
On parking spaces, folk who can't find a space so they block you in. When they return they are perplexed at your frustration as they've only been ten minutes.
:agree: Agree with all of your points, I'd also add the folk who can't reverse into a space without causing havoc
18-08-2017, 07:14 AM
People who insist on reversing into parking spaces on George Street! You can drive straight out the other side, there's no need to hold everyone up while you take an eternity to reverse your car in there.
19-08-2017, 10:27 PM
When did the West Indies start being formally called the Windies?
19-08-2017, 11:38 PM
Taxi drivers in Edinburgh, ****wits of the highest order.
19-08-2017, 11:53 PM
Taxi drivers in Edinburgh, ****wits of the highest order.
Better with an Uber, imho.
All vehicles really. And their drivers.
Let's face it they're all crap.
20-08-2017, 08:14 AM
All vehicles really. And their drivers.
Let's face it they're all crap.
20-08-2017, 09:25 AM
Guys that stare at other guys wife's or daughters when the husband or father is with them.
20-08-2017, 10:03 AM
People who don't realise how much better red wine can taste slightly chilled. On the same vein as those who go through the whole wine tasting pose from a screw top bottle.
20-08-2017, 10:06 AM
When socks come off inside your wellies :-)
Fuzzywuzzy
20-08-2017, 01:10 PM
The wee ****s that are terrorising west pilton, drylaw and muirhouse. Nearly kill a wee laddie then back out on the bikes. Little pricks deserve to be lynched. Thats my current pet peeve!!!
20-08-2017, 05:43 PM
People who don't realise how much better red wine can taste slightly chilled. On the same vein as those who go through the whole wine tasting pose from a screw top bottle.
When I worked as a barman and waiter I used to always smile to myself when someone made a big show of commenting on the taste of wine when checking it. A simple nod of the head or 'fine thanks' is all a waiter needs. The whole process is to check you have the right wine and it isn't corked or spoiled in another way. One guy demanded to see a manager because one of the waiters had 'shown bad form' by placing a cork on the table. It was explained to him that placing a cork in front of the person who ordered for inspection is standard etiquette. He made a proper scene until one of his very embarrassed companions assured him we were spot on.
20-08-2017, 07:10 PM
When I worked as a barman and waiter I used to always smile to myself when someone made a big show of commenting on the taste of wine when checking it. A simple nod of the head or 'fine thanks' is all a waiter needs. The whole process is to check you have the right wine and it isn't corked or spoiled in another way. One guy demanded to see a manager because one of the waiters had 'shown bad form' by placing a cork on the table. It was explained to him that placing a cork in front of the person who ordered for inspection is standard etiquette. He made a proper scene until one of his very embarrassed companions assured him we were spot on.
There really are a few Oil Tankers out there. Your story would fit perfectly into the "Small Victories" thread.
20-08-2017, 07:44 PM
Bar staff who listen to my selection for a premium gin and then attempt to put tonic in it from the gun! FFS if I'm buying a premium gin I want a premium tonic to compliment it. Have sent two gins back recently when the barman filled them with gun tonic before I realised.
ColinNish
20-08-2017, 08:56 PM
Lorry drivers who take it upon themselves to block the inside lane of a dual carriageway by straddling both lanes when approaching roadworks coz he doesn't want cars getting past him.
20-08-2017, 09:34 PM
Lorry drivers who take it upon themselves to block the inside lane of a dual carriageway by straddling both lanes when approaching roadworks coz he doesn't want cars getting past him.
I like when they do that to stop folk blatantly taking the pish with cutting in.
I know that folk are meant to merge in turn but you get some folk who take the pish with it, and the lorry drivers don't usually do the old blocking the lane routine until they're close to the lane merge.
21-08-2017, 06:28 AM
I like when they do that to stop folk blatantly taking the pish with cutting in.
I know that folk are meant to merge in turn but you get some folk who take the pish with it, and the lorry drivers don't usually do the old blocking the lane routine until they're close to the lane merge.
http://www.mirror.co.uk/news/uk-news/think-you-know-how-merge-8888838
Find it strange that they use the US as an example when it's been used in Germany for years. If a trucker does what you suggest and gets caught he'd end up with points on his licence.
21-08-2017, 07:34 AM
http://www.mirror.co.uk/news/uk-news/think-you-know-how-merge-8888838
Find it strange that they use the US as an example when it's been used in Germany for years. If a trucker does what you suggest and gets caught he'd end up with points on his licence.
Like I said, I know what's meant to happen but at the same time in practice you see most people recognising that there's a queue and every try to get in lane early, and then you get folk who see that happening and cut in at the last minute.
I don't have a huge issue with it, if there are two lines merging in turn then it's all good, but I'm not going to lie - there something satisfying about a lorry driver deciding that they'll get the folk who have already queued and let people in get to where they are going a bit quicker.
21-08-2017, 09:38 AM
Bar staff who listen to my selection for a premium gin and then attempt to put tonic in it from the gun! FFS if I'm buying a premium gin I want a premium tonic to compliment it. Have sent two gins back recently when the barman filled them with gun tonic before I realised.
I poured someone a glass of expensive whisky I'd been given as a present and they put lemonade in it - :grr: :brickwall. :timebomb:
Fuzzywuzzy
21-08-2017, 01:53 PM
White folk with dreadlocks. Really, aye???
Look how it worked out for Drexl.
21-08-2017, 02:49 PM
I'm guilty of that and can see how it might be annoying but seemingly it formally happened in June this year!!
http://indianexpress.com/article/sports/cricket/west-indies-cricket-team-officially-renamed-to-windies-4685387/
21-08-2017, 03:11 PM
White folk with dreadlocks. Really, aye???
Look how it worked out for Drexl.
Drexl? Whats a Drexl? :greengrin
ColinNish
21-08-2017, 03:56 PM
Sorry Matty don't agree especially in this instance. It was the M90 roadworks at the weekend, southbound. He was straddling the carriageways at least a mile before the merge in turn signs. He was at it and lets be honest he's causing an obstruction on a motorway. Mores the pity for him coz he was driving a Fife council lorry so very easy for someone to report him...... :greengrin
21-08-2017, 04:45 PM
Sorry Matty don't agree especially in this instance. It was the M90 roadworks at the weekend, southbound. He was straddling the carriageways at least a mile before the merge in turn signs. He was at it and lets be honest he's causing an obstruction on a motorway. Mores the pity for him coz he was driving a Fife council lorry so very easy for someone to report him...... :greengrin
A mile away is taking the piss, to be fair.
EH6 Hibby
21-08-2017, 05:05 PM
The new road layout at the top of Easter Road. What a joke.
21-08-2017, 05:14 PM
The new road layout at the top of Easter Road. What a joke.
In preparation for Leith Street closure.
EH6 Hibby
21-08-2017, 05:59 PM
In preparation for Leith Street closure.
I guessed it was something to do with that. I don't see how it's going to help anything though.
21-08-2017, 06:03 PM
A mile away is taking the piss, to be fair.
As long as he's behind me, he can be as far back as he likes :greengrin
ColinNish
21-08-2017, 06:06 PM
As long as he's behind me, he can be as far back as he likes :greengrin
Ha ha, aye he was well pissed off when i squeezed through in my wee car. Tried to cut me off but i was too quick for him. ****er.
****ING Caravans ****ING ****ING caravans should be banned from driving between the hours of 00.01-23.59. Swedes love them everywhere in the summer all driving along pulling out in juctions round abouts etc forgetting that they have about 12m of ****ty fibre glass following after them!!!!
SuperAllyMcleod
21-08-2017, 08:37 PM
Showing my age but I remember them being called that in the seventies.
21-08-2017, 08:53 PM
Websites where a capital letter automatically starts your password, when it's case sensitive. I always drop to lower case whether I need to or not but it's bloody infuriating.
21-08-2017, 09:13 PM
****ING Caravans ****ING ****ING caravans should be banned from driving between the hours of 00.01-23.59. Swedes love them everywhere in the summer all driving along pulling out in juctions round abouts etc forgetting that they have about 12m of ****ty fibre glass following after them!!!!
Caravaner pulled out in front of me today at a roundabout. Didn't give a toss that I had to brake to miss his portable living room. What annoys me most is they are on holiday and have all the time in the world, so it's two fingers to poor old Joe who is trying to get to work on time.
21-08-2017, 09:41 PM
I'm 100% behind you on this, at least until May 2018 when I'm due to take delivery of my brand new 8m long caravan. At that point I become a ****ing caravan ****er and look forward to pissing you off. :greengrin
21-08-2017, 10:24 PM
Not formally though. Mibbes Aye has found the article though where it says they've now changed their name.
I'm 100% behind you on this, at least until May 2018 when I'm due to take delivery of my brand new 8m long caravan. At that point I become a ****ing caravan ****er and look forward to pissing you off. :greengrin
Then you'll probably be 100% in front of me, driving 6mph looking for the perfect spot 😠
22-08-2017, 10:25 PM
The different pronunciations of the name Dalziel.
1. Dalzeeel
2. Dee El
Which one is correct?
And Menzies.
Is it Menzeeees or Mingis?
22-08-2017, 10:27 PM
1. Dalzeeel
2. Dee El
Which one is correct?
And Menzies.
Is it Menzeeees or Mingis?2 & Mingis
23-08-2017, 01:03 AM
2 & Mingis
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Menzies
Taken from that link re the name Menzies ....
This Scottish name is traditionally pronounced, as it still is in Scotland, /ˈmɪŋᵻz/ (About this sound listen) MING-iz, since the English letter <z> was used as a substitute for the now obsolete letter <ȝ> (yogh) in the Scots language (Menȝies). However, many now do not know this, and today it is often pronounced as if it were an English word and hence it is often pronounced /ˈmɛnziːz/ MENZ-eez. A Scottish limerick plays on the traditional pronunciation:
There wis a young lassie named Menzies,
That askit her aunt whit this thenzies.
Said her aunt wi a gasp,
"Ma dear, it's a wasp,
An you're haudin the end whaur the stenzies!"
23-08-2017, 04:39 PM
People cutting through queues.
Makes me rage so it does .
EH6 Hibby
23-08-2017, 05:21 PM
People that sit next to you on the bus when there are free seats further up the bus. Just weird.
ColinNish
23-08-2017, 06:54 PM
2 & Mingis
Did you buy your records and magazines from John Mingis? 😂
23-08-2017, 07:01 PM
Did you buy your records and magazines from John Mingis? [emoji23]My folks always called it John Mingis, but my pals and I called it men-zies.
24-08-2017, 03:24 PM
Use of the word "starlet" to describe young untried footballers.
This word should be banned from all football discussions.
ColinNish
24-08-2017, 06:14 PM
My folks always called it John Mingis, but my pals and I called it men-zies.
Must be an age thing, my dad calls it Mingis as well. 😁
24-08-2017, 09:48 PM
Actors eating when they're meant to be acting. I can see there's food there - I just don't need to hear you chomping it when you're attempting to deliver your lines.
24-08-2017, 09:49 PM
The word "bae" WTF even is that?
24-08-2017, 10:36 PM
It's old cricket jargon.
24-08-2017, 10:38 PM
1. Dalzeeel
2. Dee El
Which one is correct?
And Menzies.
Is it Menzeeees or Mingis?
They're all correct. It just depends on personal taste.