View Full Version : Pet Peeves IV

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 [33] 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57

28-09-2020, 08:05 PM
The smug arrogant attitude that antivaxxers/flat earthers/COVID conspiracy theorists have. You engage their ramblings with logic and common sense, and you get this eye rolling, smirking smugness in response, looking at you and acting like your just too thick to get their crap
:agree: Then they call you a sheep.

29-09-2020, 02:58 PM
The smug arrogant attitude that antivaxxers/flat earthers/COVID conspiracy theorists have. You engage their ramblings with logic and common sense, and you get this eye rolling, smirking smugness in response, looking at you and acting like your just too thick to get their crap

Thee was one on the EEN post re high numbers of Covid, she was spouting off about conspiracy and Gov trying to control the people. I told her to go tell all the very ill Covid patients that it's fake and there's nothing wrong with them .

29-09-2020, 02:59 PM
When someone takes the minus offer on The Chase

This gets on my threepennies too.

29-09-2020, 03:37 PM
When someone takes the minus offer on The Chase

A guy at work gets absolutely incensed at folk taking the middle offer. His reasoning is that you are so unlikely to actually win at all that you might as well go for the big bucks.

30-09-2020, 10:50 PM
A guy at work gets absolutely incensed at folk taking the middle offer. His reasoning is that you are so unlikely to actually win at all that you might as well go for the big bucks.

To an extent. However if your last or second last and there is a huge pot and 2/3 players back it's more likely you get back going middle and a full or nearly full squad and more chance of winning.

I used to hate the show golden balls for simple fact it was pointless splitting the money. Kinda a flaw in the show for me (albeit funny when someone did actually steal all the money).

01-10-2020, 10:00 AM
The divisive nature of everything these days, everything is polarised, as soon as people disagree on one thing then they seem to be at odds with each other on everything. There's a whole load of people now who can't or won't see the nuance in arguments or points.

People that ignore truth and evidence ("people have had enough of experts") and feel that because they're entitled to their opinion it doesn't matter that they're demonstrably wrong. Like they could decided 2+2 equals 5 and just because you don't like it doesn't mean they can't share it, and worse than those people, are the ones that pick that up and run with it and hound people who tell them they're wrong.

Like terrence Howard and his assertion that 1x1 =2!

04-10-2020, 10:26 AM
People being labelled by their earnings. the minimum wage label is a common one, it does my head in 😡

Saturday Boy
04-10-2020, 06:54 PM
These have probably been posted before, but it’s the football cliches. “First name on the team sheet “ and “pin that on the dressing room wall “

Surely the first name on the team sheet is the goalie? And having played football at a young age and crap level and knowing guys who have played league games, nobody has ever seen anything pinned on a dressing room wall.

Or am I just fatally literal 🤔

07-10-2020, 03:23 PM
Websites that bombard you with ads and particularly those pop ups claiming they give a toss about your privacy.
It seems to be worse on smartphones.

08-10-2020, 09:53 AM
Fraudsters, Covid seems to be a booming time for them, never had so many emails or calls, this morning "Amazon" called me to advise that my Prime subscription was expiring and to hit number 1 to speak to their retention team, I was bored and often like chatting to them and stringing them along, got through to a lovely Indian guy who knew my name but funnily enough hung up when I asked him if he thought I was stupid, ****ing chancers :rolleyes:

09-10-2020, 10:36 AM
Fraudsters, Covid seems to be a booming time for them, never had so many emails or calls, this morning "Amazon" called me to advise that my Prime subscription was expiring and to hit number 1 to speak to their retention team, I was bored and often like chatting to them and stringing them along, got through to a lovely Indian guy who knew my name but funnily enough hung up when I asked him if he thought I was stupid, ****ing chancers :rolleyes:

I miss being in the house all day and having time to wind them up.

12-10-2020, 01:36 PM
Cyclists. In particular the ****ing rude ones. Out with the dog yesterday on a walking and cycling friendly path. Every time a bike comes toward us I get the dog to come to the side and sit and wait until the bikes are past. The ones who don't even acknowledge the fact we have moved out of their way get right on my tits. A simple thanks is all itvtajes Same with the ones who come up behind and have no bell and don't shout a warning. My dog usually warns me someone is coming but on the odd occasion that we miss them you would think it was entirely our fault that they have to slow down or stop.

speedy_gonzales
12-10-2020, 04:35 PM
Cyclists. In particular the ****ing rude ones. Out with the dog yesterday on a walking and cycling friendly path. Every time a bike comes toward us I get the dog to come to the side and sit and wait until the bikes are past. The ones who don't even acknowledge the fact we have moved out of their way get right on my tits. A simple thanks is all itvtajes Same with the ones who come up behind and have no bell and don't shout a warning. My dog usually warns me someone is coming but on the odd occasion that we miss them you would think it was entirely our fault that they have to slow down or stop.

I think you can extend that to rude people full stop. I was also out for a walk at the weekend and I lost count of the amount of people out for a walk/cycle/run that neither shared the path or thanked you, when like yourself, you made an obvious move to give room to others.

Folk are just ignorant!

12-10-2020, 05:41 PM

I only thank people if they've made a significant effort to make my way easier. So on a single-track path, a dog owner who steps off the track and on to a grass verge to allow me to proceed warrants grateful thanks. On a double-track path a dog owner who merely confines himself to occupying half the width of the shared path doesn't warrant profuse thanks because that's just the minimum he/she should be doing anyway on a two-way shared path. Pet peeve: users of shared paths who temporarily confine themselves to taking up less than the full width of the path and say "You're welcome" as you pass them.

12-10-2020, 08:17 PM
TV series which advertise the fact that there will be another season before the current one has finished.

The tension and uncertainty just diminishes.

Killing Eve was a prime example.

Saturday Boy
12-10-2020, 09:18 PM
The Loyds Bank advert.

Who would ever have thought that you could slow down a Carpenters song.

14-10-2020, 07:42 PM
The EDF Energy ad. "Doing nothing is the something I do best". WTF???

Just_Jimmy
16-10-2020, 02:59 AM
The Loyds Bank advert.

Who would ever have thought that you could slow down a Carpenters song.in keeping - banks who pretend to care. we're all in it together and happy families. utter tosh.

Sent from my Pixel 3a using Tapatalk

CloudSquall
16-10-2020, 09:59 PM
Anyone that uses Twitter and uses "That's it. That's the tweet" should be banned for life.

19-10-2020, 11:58 PM
People trying to shoehorn religion into threads where it has no place.

20-10-2020, 07:00 AM
People trying to shoehorn religion into threads where it has no place.And independence, in fact even linking them together as,if one faith wants it and the other doesn't.

Oh and 'people' seemingly doing it over a number of threads.

20-10-2020, 07:42 AM
And independence, in fact even linking them together as,if one faith wants it and the other doesn't.

Those with faith want independence, those who don't, have little faith.😉

20-10-2020, 11:18 AM
People who ask for red onion in Subway.
They dont offer any other onion so why not just ask for onion?

20-10-2020, 11:29 AM
I just use whatever shampoo my girlfriend buys, but the stuff she buys the shampoo and conditioner both come in the same looking bottles, you cannae tell the difference unless you pick it up to read what it says on the front.

Why is it that 95% of the time I pick up the conditioner bottle when I'm trying to pick up the shampoo? :grr:

20-10-2020, 11:54 AM
I just use whatever shampoo my girlfriend buys, but the stuff she buys the shampoo and conditioner both come in the same looking bottles, you cannae tell the difference unless you pick it up to read what it says on the front.

Why is it that 95% of the time I pick up the conditioner bottle when I'm trying to pick up the shampoo? :grr:

Try picking up the conditioner bottle instead & you'll pick up the shampoo. Problem solved.

20-10-2020, 12:08 PM
Try picking up the conditioner bottle instead & you'll pick up the shampoo. Problem solved.

20-10-2020, 12:50 PM
And independence, in fact even linking them together as,if one faith wants it and the other doesn't.

People who (rightly) criticise westminster/boris/torys for something, but when the same happens with Nicola Sturgeon/SNP/ScotGov, they bend over backwards to not criticise and defend them.

I get partisanship, but it does none of us any good to not hold any politican/party/govt to the same standards, and makes people look foolish and less than principled because they don't hold them to the same standards.

20-10-2020, 01:37 PM
People who pass on Mastermind. You know that passes are used as a tiebreaker to determine the winner so even if you don't know just give an answer, no matter how daft.

2 people scored 20 last night, one person lost because they had 2 passes and the other had none.

20-10-2020, 02:02 PM
People who pass on Mastermind. You know that passes are used as a tiebreaker to determine the winner so even if you don't know just give an answer, no matter how daft.

2 people scored 20 last night, one person lost because they had 2 passes and the other had none.
I’ve noticed that as well, just have a prepared answer if you don’t know.

20-10-2020, 02:03 PM

That guy came from last place, and was pretty surprised that he'd won.

Given that Monday night is geek night, I get p'd off at folk on Only Connect and University Challenge who say "pass" :rolleyes: Victoria and Jeremy should dock points for that....

20-10-2020, 02:44 PM

Given that Monday night is geek night, I get p'd off at folk on Only Connect and University Challenge who say "pass" :rolleyes: Victoria and Jeremy should dock points for that....

Re University Challenge, the teams who have a lead, have got the starter right and then take as long as possible to delay answering the follow-up question in order to run down the clock. Half the time they know it and are just deliberately time-wasting.

It is the equivalent of taking the ball into the corner flag. Perfectly legal but it demoralises the spirit.

20-10-2020, 02:47 PM

If im channel hopping and University Challenge or Only Connect is on then I have a rule with myself that I can't turn over until I get a question right, I've watched the whole show on numerous occasions :faf:

20-10-2020, 03:17 PM
If im channel hopping and University Challenge or Only Connect is on then I have a rule with myself that I can't turn over until I get a question right, I've watched the whole show on numerous occasions :faf:
Only Connect is the hardest, I can give myself a headache watching that. :greengrin

CloudSquall
21-10-2020, 06:10 AM
People who use "reply all" when it's not necessary.

People who copy in someone's supervisor / manager in an email with the sole goal of getting them in bother.

Women screaming "woooooooo" in any live recording on YouTube before the singer starts. No matter which song or performer, there is guaranteed to be a high pitched "woooooooo " intro.

21-10-2020, 06:47 AM

People who copy in someone's supervisor / manager in an email with the sole goal of getting them in bother.

Women screaming "woooooooo" in any live recording on YouTube before the singer starts. No matter which song or performer, there is guaranteed to be a high pitched "woooooooo " intro.

The email CC is a particular peeve of mine, I have challenged several people on it in the past to ask why the hell they are doing it. I often reply to the same group asking the originator why they thought it was plausible to add in someone else who didn’t need to be involved in the conversation.

My own peeve folk who listen to an idea, often in an office environment then communicate it to try and pass off as their own.

StevesFamau5
21-10-2020, 07:08 AM

Women screaming "woooooooo" in any live recording on YouTube before the singer starts. No matter which song or performer, there is guaranteed to be a high pitched "woooooooo " intro.The second part especially really gets on my nerves. It was a weekly occurance for me for a few years back.

I worked for a large Edinburgh based property management company and when I started back in 2016 I was told that certain property managers were essentially untouchable. Any mistake made was to be someone else's responsibility and they were not to be called out for it. Needless to say I am not working there anymore.

Sent from my VOG-L09 using Tapatalk

21-10-2020, 10:07 AM
The second part especially really gets on my nerves. It was a weekly occurance for me for a few years back.

I worked for a large Edinburgh based property management company and when I started back in 2016 I was told that certain property managers were essentially untouchable. Any mistake made was to be someone else's responsibility and they were not to be called out for it. Needless to say I am not working there anymore.

Sent from my VOG-L09 using Tapatalk

I agree about the CC part. That said, I've seen it used with people who are notorious non-replyers to make sure they respond :greengrin

EH6 Hibby
21-10-2020, 02:59 PM
The Bluetooth in cars people use to make calls, why is it always so loud? I’m working from home and someone is down the street making a call in their car, the customer I’m speaking to can hear them, that’s through double glazing windows that are all closed.

21-10-2020, 09:34 PM
YouTube videos of cats and dogs when it is plainly obvious that the animals are frightened and react in ways which may be amusing to us but not to them.

22-10-2020, 09:36 AM

People on The Chase who ignore the obvious answer of the 3 and choose the stupidest one, or when they overthink the answer. Don't get me started when they pick the minus offer.

22-10-2020, 06:02 PM
People on The Chase who ignore the obvious answer of the 3 and choose the stupidest one, or when they overthink the answer. Don't get me started when they pick the minus offer.

People on Tipping Point who don’t go for three counter questions.

Peanut Shaz
22-10-2020, 07:33 PM
Ben Shepherd speaking so fast during Tipping Point you can hardly follow what he's saying.

22-10-2020, 07:37 PM
People on Tipping Point who don’t go for three counter questions.

Yep.

“Oh I don’t know anything about Geography so I’ll go for one counter”

If it’s going to be a guess...go for 3, just as likely to get it right.

EH6 Hibby
22-10-2020, 08:10 PM
Ben Shepherd speaking so fast during Tipping Point you can hardly follow what he's saying.

Ben Shepherd insisting on going back to complete the questions if the contestant answers before he finishes. No one cares by that point. It does my head in.

speedy_gonzales
22-10-2020, 09:36 PM
Ben Shephard and his ridiculous buzz words/sayings on tipping point.
"Slider", "Rider", oooooh, a bit of "lateral" there!
I know his job is to spice up this dull game, but c'mon!

22-10-2020, 10:03 PM
It seems there are many of us that find something irritating about Tipping Pount but we all continue to watch it 😁

speedy_gonzales
22-10-2020, 11:39 PM
It seems there are many of us that find something irritating about Tipping Pount but we all continue to watch it 😁

I only watch it for nostalgic reasons.
Chuckling away as George from Bedworth loads up drop zone 3 and then Margaret from Birtley swoops in and scores the lot,,,, reminds me of my days hawking about Nobles amusements!

That, and the fact I seem to be in the house more often than not these days!

23-10-2020, 06:31 AM
Ben Shepherd insisting on going back to complete the questions if the contestant answers before he finishes. No one cares by that point. It does my head in.

:faf: absolutely!

Agree with most of the tipping point peeves, although I've watched it religiously every lunch time since lockdown. :greengrin

Mine is when people don't just try to go for the mystery prizes when they're clearly not going to progress further. Come on Sandra you need 22 counters, just bag yourself a weekend away in a luxury tree house and be done with it.

pollution
23-10-2020, 11:42 AM
People from eg Birmingham winning a hotel stay in Aberdeenshire, or vice versa.

23-10-2020, 11:48 AM
People from eg Birmingham winning a hotel stay in Aberdeenshire, or vice versa.

:faf:That's a great thing to have a peeve about - I'd never even thought about it but now I'm on board!!

23-10-2020, 12:29 PM

There will come a time when these minor irritations become too much for us to continue to watch and we'll have reached our...nope, not sure what I was going to say there.

23-10-2020, 12:49 PM
I have heated up a couple of things recently and when I've went to peel the plastic from the top only the plastic round the edges has come off the container, leaving me with a perfectly vacuum sealed bit of plastic still on my food container that I have to cut round to remove

Back to scratch made meals for me

23-10-2020, 04:33 PM
Folk at self service tills who scan all their shopping through, then pay, and THEN want to put it into bags!

just put it into bags as you scan FFS!!!:fuming::grr:

23-10-2020, 05:04 PM
Security guards not doing their jobs properly.

I have removed two security tags recently for friends who have purchased clothing items, set the alarm off as they left and been waved on by the security guard who on each occasion told them it’s okay the alarm is just a sticker on the cardboard label. When they got home they realised there was a hard plastic security tag attached to their garments. Not a problem as my previous years spent in Security meant I know how to remove most of them in seconds but bloody annoying if you can’t and have to return. Both times it was Sainsbury’s

23-10-2020, 05:12 PM
Folk at self service tills who scan all their shopping through, then pay, and THEN want to put it into bags!

I'm surprised it has taken this long for this to be mentioned.

Utterly despicable behaviour.

23-10-2020, 05:40 PM

Must admit I’ve never seen this myself but it would really rip my knitting too.

23-10-2020, 09:49 PM
I have heated up a couple of things recently and when I've went to peel the plastic from the top only the plastic round the edges has come off the container, leaving me with a perfectly vacuum sealed bit of plastic still on my food container that I have to cut round to remove

Back to scratch made meals for me

On a similar note, when you go to open a milk bottle and the wee plastic tag breaks off leaving the milk bottle still sealed and you spend the next 30 seconds using your finger nail to try and open it up.

23-10-2020, 10:18 PM
I'm surprised it has taken this long for this to be mentioned.

Utterly despicable behaviour.

:agree: and similar to those that go to a cashline print off a balance then put the card back in to get cash out. Sometimes a 2nd card comes out.

It should be 1 transaction then get back in the queue.

24-10-2020, 12:12 AM

That gets right on my tits as well. You tend to see it in the metro stores. Said prick turns up at the checkout with his basket and a rucksack, he then scans everything through and drops the shoulder to reveal his bag which he then takes an eternity to load up. Shooting is too good for these people.

24-10-2020, 06:40 AM
That gets right on my tits as well. You tend to see it in the metro stores. Said prick turns up at the checkout with his basket and a rucksack, he then scans everything through and drops the shoulder to reveal his bag which he then takes an eternity to load up. Shooting is too good for these people.

I have some sympathy for this scenario, you ever try putting your own bag on the scales and hitting, "I'm using my own bag" takes an age to get it working.

24-10-2020, 07:14 AM
I have some sympathy for this scenario, you ever try putting your own bag on the scales and hitting, "I'm using my own bag" takes an age to get it working.

Agree completely which then just holds you up anyway, I always scan then bag for this reason. I only ever use self scan for a few items so the time I spend there scanning then bagging is minimal.

24-10-2020, 08:42 AM

Does the rucksack not trigger the unexpected item in bagging area message if he loads it up? I just hate self service checkouts and don't use them.

24-10-2020, 10:05 AM
People without an exemption still not wearing masks in shops.Time for mask marshalls to be appointed.

24-10-2020, 11:56 AM
Pumpkins and trick or treating. When I was young carving an old turnip was a test of both physical strength and character and then we went guising.

See also the growing minority of people with no American roots wishing people happy thanksgiving.

24-10-2020, 12:52 PM
I tend to use the scan and go when I’m doing the shopping, it’s so much easier packing your bags as you shop.

24-10-2020, 12:57 PM
Pumpkins and trick or treating. When I was young carving an old turnip was a test of both physical strength and character and then we went guising.

See also the growing minority of people with no American roots wishing people happy thanksgiving.
Carving a turnip without ending up in A+E was a right of passage. A trail of bent kitchen utensils and plasters was worth it to have that finished lantern. :greengrin

24-10-2020, 01:15 PM
Carving a turnip without ending up in A+E was a right of passage. A trail of bent kitchen utensils and plasters was worth it to have that finished lantern. :greengrin

Last year (maybe the year before) i couldn’t get pumpkins in Tesco, so picked up some turnips instead, as that’s what i had when i was wee.

My kids thought i was at it, i got called all sorts for buying them instead of pumpkins.

24-10-2020, 05:22 PM
The volvo advert with the 'every morning at half past 4' song :grr:

24-10-2020, 05:26 PM
Following on from the Halloween theme, whatever happened to bonfire night? When I was young the week leading up to bonfire night was spent with a piece of waste ground being used as a temporary site to build a huge pile of flammable furniture that was no longer required in people’s houses, we would pass every day and watch the pile get bigger and bigger ready for the big day. The day itself was a massive community event with everyone gathering round the bonfire with sparklers and some fireworks. These events passed of with minimal casualties and a great night was had by all. Now you have organised displays and the firefighters putting out fires all over the place. Get back to the old way of doing things, ffs some people don’t even call it bonfire night anymore.

24-10-2020, 05:35 PM
Following on from the Halloween theme, whatever happened to bonfire night? When I was young the week leading up to bonfire night was spent with a piece of waste ground being used as a temporary site to build a huge pile of flammable furniture that was no longer required in people’s houses, we would pass every day and watch the pile get bigger and bigger ready for the big day. The day itself was a massive community event with everyone gathering round the bonfire with sparklers and some fireworks. These events passed of with minimal casualties and a great night was had by all. Now you have organised displays and the firefighters putting out fires all over the place. Get back to the old way of doing things, ffs some people don’t even call it bonfire night anymore.

I can't speak for elsewhere but when I was growing up it was a minority that spoiled it for everyone.

You'd watch the bonfire pile growing, rival bonfires would nick things off other piles and early doors it was pretty family orientated with sparklers and so on. As the night progressed it was taken over by folk who were pished and they would start firing rockets across the road and aiming them at buses; one year someone got thrown on the fire when a fight broke out and was pretty seriously injured.

It ended up with an organised fireworks display being put together and the unofficial community bonfire disappeared.

24-10-2020, 05:41 PM
On the game show theme - Pointless.

When you're in the final round and the question is something like "Kinks songs", "You've Really Got Me" and "Waterloo Sunset" are obviously going to be high scorers. You'd be far better having a punt on an album track or if you don't know them, guessing that they might have covered a staple song from a decade before.

24-10-2020, 05:41 PM

The local one when I was growing up was on the road in front of Saint Stephens Church at the bottom of Howe Street.

davy67 +
24-10-2020, 05:50 PM

Health & Safety , plus neds who used set the bonfire alight before the big night . There's usually one here , but this year obviously it's cancelled due The covid regulations

davy67 +
24-10-2020, 05:54 PM
On Sky Sports during the half time break when the come back for about 30 seconds then go off for more ads pretty pointless I'd say just show an extra couple of commercials instead

24-10-2020, 07:31 PM
I can't speak for elsewhere but when I was growing up it was a minority that spoiled it for everyone.

You'd watch the bonfire pile growing, rival bonfires would nick things off other piles and early doors it was pretty family orientated with sparklers and so on. As the night progressed it was taken over by folk who were pished and they would start firing rockets across the road and aiming them at buses; one year someone got thrown on the fire when a fight broke out and was pretty seriously injured.

It ended up with an organised fireworks display being put together and the unofficial community bonfire disappeared.
I think your probably right with that, I only remember them when I was a young child and it was a highlight of the year. A big fire and the sparklers, remembering not to touch the hot part. Dogs didn’t seem to be bothered by the fireworks during that time, we took the dog with us. Changed days.

24-10-2020, 07:45 PM

I ****ing hate all that nonsense.

Especially the pumpkin picking, it’s an absolute racket.

Halloween itself is a lot of ***** too.

24-10-2020, 07:47 PM

Used to love bonfire night when I was a bairn, there were multiple massive ones around Broomhouse every year.

24-10-2020, 08:02 PM
We used to go to fireworks display (with bonfire) at Saughton enclosure. It was always mobbed. I think it was organised by the Council.

24-10-2020, 09:29 PM
On Sky Sports during the half time break when the come back for about 30 seconds then go off for more ads pretty pointless I'd say just show an extra couple of commercials instead

It's because they can charge more for "better" positions in ad breaks. The shorter the break the better.

24-10-2020, 09:49 PM
When people do something to hurt themselves and go "Ow", but feel compelled to add "ah" at the end - "Owwww-ah!".

Similarly when someone describes something as "cringe". It's "cringeworthy" or it's made you cringe.

Both hallmarks of the utter moron that shouldn't be allowed out of their houses.

24-10-2020, 10:03 PM
This “ring a bell for Santa” pish that seems to be gathering momentum at the moment.

Get to ****. I wasn’t a huge fan of the clap for NHS but at least that was for real people who were deserving of the recognition.

This is just contrived bull**** though.

25-10-2020, 09:07 AM
This “ring a bell for Santa” pish that seems to be gathering momentum at the moment.

Get to ****. I wasn’t a huge fan of the clap for NHS but at least that was for real people who were deserving of the recognition.

I’ve just seen that too.

25-10-2020, 09:25 AM
The Internet.

Completely changed from the brilliant wild west it was 10 years ago.
Now when you search for something , it's just links to sites selling stuff.

25-10-2020, 09:47 AM

I'm torn on this one.

Evidently the ring a bell idea is contrived bull****. However for years people have bemoaned the loss of the 'real spirit of Christmas' and complained it's just commercialised nonsense. Is encouraging people to come together and do something as a community a bad idea?

We have a WhatsApp group in our street for most of the families with young kids. There have been some great ideas for what to do for Halloween next week and there are already tentative plans to have a socially distanced street carol service on our doorsteps on Christmas Eve. If a few of the bairns brought bells to ring then I'd probably find myself greeting rather than getting pissed off.

My peeve would be the people who tear the arse out of these things and take an idea and spoil it with one upsmanship. We saw it with the clap for key workers which became bang a pan which became lug a whole drum kit onto the street. No doubt the same thing will happen with whatever streets and neighbourhoods plan for Christmas. Some people just can't help themselves.

25-10-2020, 09:56 AM

Had never heard of this before your post, so it's your fault. 😉

As far as I'm concerned the only time someone should ring a bell to celebrate is a cancer patient when they have finished treatment.

25-10-2020, 12:33 PM
Waking up in the middle of a great dream and not being able to get back into it.

25-10-2020, 03:31 PM
Martyn Tyler dining out on his catchphrase And Its LIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIVVVVVVVVEEEEEEEEE every time he's commentating. Nips my heed that.

CloudSquall
25-10-2020, 10:36 PM
When you think of everything that you should have said or done 5 minutes after you needed to say or do it.

Generally in the sense of not knocking the **** out of someone when it was merited or losing the head when you should have just walked away.

29-10-2020, 08:19 AM
Arguing with a 3 year old.

It was a dress up day at nursery today so she had the choice of being a witch or a pumpkin. Tried both costumes on this week and loved them. This morning:

'Let's get your pumpkin on'
'No'
'Come on you look funny'
'I don't want to'
** 5 minute wait***
'Ok are we going to put this pumpkin on then?'
'NO!'
'How about a witch?'
'No, thank you'
'You'll look silly if everyone else is dressed up'
'I don't want to'
****Throws costumes on the floor and starts 'crying'*****
'Right you can just wear your normal clothes then'
***Drive to nursery and see about 70% of the other kids dressed up***
'Daddy I want to dress up'

29-10-2020, 08:28 AM
Your finger going through the bag when you're picking up your dog's ****.

:boo hoo:

Jay
29-10-2020, 08:48 AM
I'm torn on this one.

Evidently the ring a bell idea is contrived bull****. However for years people have bemoaned the loss of the 'real spirit of Christmas' and complained it's just commercialised nonsense. Is encouraging people to come together and do something as a community a bad idea?

We have a WhatsApp group in our street for most of the families with young kids. There have been some great ideas for what to do for Halloween next week and there are already tentative plans to have a socially distanced street carol service on our doorsteps on Christmas Eve. If a few of the bairns brought bells to ring then I'd probably find myself greeting rather than getting pissed off.

My peeve would be the people who tear the arse out of these things and take an idea and spoil it with one upsmanship. We saw it with the clap for key workers which became bang a pan which became lug a whole drum kit onto the street. No doubt the same thing will happen with whatever streets and neighbourhoods plan for Christmas. Some people just can't help themselves.

I'm the same, I love the idea of the bairns out ringing bells at 6pm on Xmas Eve. The excitement for them would be so good to see and would bring back a bit of the old fashioned Xmas spirit. I've ordered my grandson a wee bell on a ribbon, like a cats collar bell but bigger.
However the one upmanship is horrific, the NHS clapping around here ended up with buckets being hit or even at one point car horns being tooted. So this will be the only year I'll enjoy the bell ringing as I fully expect firework displays and brass bands next year.

29-10-2020, 10:34 AM

It was a dress up day at nursery today so she had the choice of being a witch or a pumpkin. Tried both costumes on this week and loved them. This morning:

'No'
'Come on you look funny'
'I don't want to'
** 5 minute wait***
'NO!'
'How about a witch?'
'No, thank you'
'I don't want to'

I could change a few words in that and it would describe my ex deciding what to wear before going out.

29-10-2020, 11:53 AM

'No'
'Come on you look funny'
'I don't want to'
** 5 minute wait***
'NO!'
'How about a witch?'
'No, thank you'
'I don't want to'

You’ve described every day of my work :greengrin

29-10-2020, 12:13 PM
Questions that dont really need asked or answered.
E.g. Wife "Did you hear me leaving for work this morning "?
WTF? Why do you care?

Wife "Did you phone your work when you were off"?
Again WTF? I cant remember , why TF do you ask?

Wife "Did you have mayo on your subway yesterday"?
Yes , yes i did have mayo but why TF are you interested?

This goes on endlessley :greengrin:

29-10-2020, 12:17 PM
Questions that dont really need asked or answered.
E.g. Wife "Did you hear me leaving for work this morning "?
WTF? Why do you care?

Wife "Did you phone your work when you were off"?
Again WTF? I cant remember , why TF do you ask?

Wife "Did you have mayo on your subway yesterday"?
Yes , yes i did have mayo but why TF are you interested?

This goes on endlessley :greengrin:
You've just described every waking second of my life working from home.

And some of the ones where I'm sleeping and have been woken up for the question to be asked. That's not even a lie.

29-10-2020, 03:05 PM
You've just described every waking second of my life working from home.

And some of the ones where I'm sleeping and have been woken up for the question to be asked. That's not even a lie.

“You’re not going out are you?”

“No, I often walk about the house wearing an overcoat and a woollen hat, of course I’m f****ng going out”

29-10-2020, 07:48 PM
You’ve described every day of my work :greengrin

You should probably stop trying to dress kids in pumpkins all year round then 🤣

29-10-2020, 07:50 PM
You should probably stop trying to dress kids in pumpkins all year round then 🤣

That’s where I’ve been going wrong! :greengrin

29-10-2020, 09:23 PM
TV series that don't resolve themselves, but set things up for a second series. I find that really arrogant.

Latest example is Road Kill on the BBC.

29-10-2020, 09:59 PM
I could change a few words in that and it would describe my ex deciding what to wear before going out.

I really hope that included the phrase "let's get your pumpkin on". :greengrin

31-10-2020, 06:30 AM
I really hope that included the phrase "let's get your pumpkin on". :greengrin

No, but the word witch was muttered several times. :greengrin

31-10-2020, 12:07 PM
Probably already mentioned but folk that make a comment about the bigger Hampden pitch. It’s the exact same dimensions as Easter Road.

31-10-2020, 01:55 PM
Waking up in the middle of a great dream and not being able to get back into it.

Ah yes. The Brigadoon Syndrome. Sometimes you can sort of get back but the people are looking at you saying: "Sorry, mate, everything's changed now."

31-10-2020, 11:26 PM
everything's changed now."

Except the sheets! 😯

01-11-2020, 05:54 PM
Folk who either don’t know how to dress well or put no effort into it, and trainers with a suit. Tim Cahill on Super Sunday fits into the categories above.

Yours, Dapper Dan

01-11-2020, 08:32 PM
Folk who either don’t know how to dress well or put no effort into it, and trainers with a suit. Tim Cahill on Super Sunday fits into the categories above.

Yours, Dapper Dan

Amen.

I don't mind so much in an informal setting, people can dress how they like. However I despise sloppy dressing in a formal setting. Bottom button of a waistcoat undone and don't fasten your jacket when wearing one, shoes and belt matching, pocket square shouldn't be the same pattern or block colour as a tie, black or dark grey socks only etc. are just basics. Worse than that are people with shirts untucked, top buttons undone or badly tied ties at a funeral or the like. That's just a lack of respect.

01-11-2020, 09:30 PM
Amen.

I don't mind so much in an informal setting, people can dress how they like. However I despise sloppy dressing in a formal setting. Bottom button of a waistcoat undone and don't fasten your jacket when wearing one, shoes and belt matching, pocket square shouldn't be the same pattern or block colour as a tie, black or dark grey socks only etc. are just basics. Worse than that are people with shirts untucked, top buttons undone or badly tied ties at a funeral or the like. That's just a lack of respect.

Ironically, my peeve would be this peeve. It reminds me of folk who think they're better than others or, perhaps more accurately, wished they were "better" than others. Like the type of folk who watch posh on TV and try to act it. Grinds my gears to see them look down on others.

01-11-2020, 09:46 PM
Ironically, my peeve would be this peeve. It reminds me of folk who think they're better than others or, perhaps more accurately, wished they were "better" than others. Like the type of folk who watch posh on TV and try to act it. Grinds my gears to see them look down on others.

It's not a case of thinking your better than others. Dressing well used to be something that transcended classes, Sunday best and so on.

I don't think it's 'acting posh' to expect people to make a bit effort for an occasion where it is merited. As I said I don't have any problem with people dressing how they choose but there are certain circumstances in which a bit respect is called for and failing to make the effort lacks it. It's not about wearing the best brands, it's about being tidy and presentable when it's required.

01-11-2020, 09:46 PM

Hear hear, humans begin under the layer of clothing.

01-11-2020, 09:50 PM
It's not a case of thinking your better than others. Dressing well used to be something that transcended classes, Sunday best and so on.

I don't think it's 'acting posh' to expect people to make a bit effort for an occasion where it is merited. As I said I don't have any problem with people dressing how they choose but there are certain circumstances in which a bit respect is called for and failing to make the effort lacks it. It's not about wearing the best brands, it's about being tidy and presentable when it's required.

"pocket square shouldn't be the same pattern or block colour as a tie".

Come on PB! :greengrin

01-11-2020, 09:56 PM
"pocket square shouldn't be the same pattern or block colour as a tie".

Come on PB! :greengrin

Well it's true!

I wouldn't judge someone or refuse their friendship because of it. It would bloody well annoy me though😂

01-11-2020, 10:04 PM
Well it's true!

I wouldn't judge someone or refuse their friendship because of it. It would bloody well annoy me though😂

I've never heard that before, but then I've never worn a pocket square!

I'm maybe being unduly harsh based on my own experience, but the critique of the finer points of others' dress has always come across to me as negatively aspirational.

01-11-2020, 10:23 PM

I'm maybe being unduly harsh based on my own experience, but the critique of the finer points of others' dress has always come across to me as negatively aspirational.

I never really think of it as being a class or an aspirarional thing. I think knowing how to wear a suit, as an example, is one of those 'skills' that used to be passed down irrespective of backgroind that we have lost. Growing up in an area that was anything but posh I can remember the old boys always wearing ties and making a real effort, particularly on a Sunday. That doesn't seem to happen now; I spent today in pair of paint splattered trackies and a stained fleece. If you take someone like Boris Johnson, privately educated and from a privileged background, he makes no effort at all in how he dresses or presents himself and I'd argue that reflects the total lack of respect he shows for the position he holds.

I just believe if you are invited to an event that requires a bit of respect or solemnity then it's only right to make the effort. If I'm wearing a suit or a kilt of whatever then it's worth spending a wee bit longer to get it right imo.

01-11-2020, 11:01 PM
Someone said to me at work on Friday night, happy halloween eve. I was wtf? When did that start being a thing. Bollocks.

02-11-2020, 06:48 AM
Someone said to me at work on Friday night, happy halloween eve. I was wtf? When did that start being a thing. Bollocks.

I’ve seen girls on Instagram post on the first of the month that it’s their “birthday month”. A whole month? No. You get a day...a birth-day!

02-11-2020, 06:56 AM
Poppy virtuosity signaling. The simple poppy is in it's subtle inconspicuous presence a powerful symbol. I despair at the modern phenomenon to produce the biggest and brightest all singing and dancing displays where the creators are so obviously trying to outdo each other in a grotesque grand prix of virtuosity signaling that's all about drawing attention to themselves and has zero to do with showing dignified respect to those who the simple poppy honours. Wear your poppy with dignified pride.

02-11-2020, 07:30 AM
Poppy virtuosity signaling. The simple poppy is in it's subtle inconspicuous presence a powerful symbol. I despair at the modern phenomenon to produce the biggest and brightest all singing and dancing displays where the creators are so obviously trying to outdo each other in a grotesque grand prix of virtuosity signaling that's all about drawing attention to themselves and has zero to do with showing dignified respect to those who the simple poppy honours. Wear your poppy with dignified pride.

I've never heard the phrase "virtuosity signalling" but it's a perfect play on "virtue signalling" in this context. I'm going to use that!

GRA
02-11-2020, 07:34 AM
Two main ones for me:

-Backseat drivers telling others how to drive when they don't even have a license themselves.
-People telling others how they should be parenting when they don't even have kids themselves.

02-11-2020, 08:12 AM
There was a guy on tv recently with an enormous poppy, it looked like a rosette that politicians wear on election night. It was the exact opposite of what the poppy is meant to signify.

02-11-2020, 08:21 AM

Me neither and I'm a good few years older than you! Haven't felt the need to wear a waistcoat either, don't see the point of them.

I think PB is being a wee bit OTT but I totally get his point. Just make the effort.

02-11-2020, 11:18 AM
Wet socks after stepping in water on the floor in the house.

pollution
02-11-2020, 11:34 AM
Drinks offers that don't apply in Scotland eg 25% off six bottles of wine.

02-11-2020, 11:50 AM
virtuosity signaling

Great concept but **** your American spelling.

speedy_gonzales
02-11-2020, 12:44 PM
Drinks offers that don't apply in Scotland eg 25% off six bottles of wine.

I've actually noticed that Morrisons honour drink promotions at the till, even though they're not on the shelf edge ticket.
A few weeks past I was shopping in Morrisons @ Gyle, picked up some bottles of beer and they were discounted at the till. I can't remember if it was 4 for £5 or something similar, but it was definitely a promotion they were running south of the Border.

pollution
02-11-2020, 05:32 PM
I've actually noticed that Morrisons honour drink promotions at the till, even though they're not on the shelf edge ticket.
A few weeks past I was shopping in Morrisons @ Gyle, picked up some bottles of beer and they were discounted at the till. I can't remember if it was 4 for £5 or something similar, but it was definitely a promotion they were running south of the Border.

That is very true but not for wine. They don't have bulk buy wine offers but they are fair on lager etc deals.

03-11-2020, 01:47 AM
I’ve seen girls on Instagram post on the first of the month that it’s their “birthday month”. A whole month? No. You get a day...a birth-day!

**** instagram and the like, don't have that or snapchat or facebook or twitter. Mostly attention seeking birds with too much time on their hands posting about pish like their dinner or fake eyelashes or something. **** off ya twats.

03-11-2020, 07:39 AM
"This doesn't work."

"What do you mean?"

"It doesn't work."

"In what way?"

"I can't get it to work."

"Have you read the manual?"

"No."

"Where is the manual?"

"I threw it out".

03-11-2020, 08:36 AM
The prevalence of the English style poppy in Scotland this year, particularly in the form of pin badges. I was in M&S at the Gyle at the weekend and it was English style pin badges they were selling.

The poppy stand at Tesco in Corstorphine had both Scottish and English poppies which I thought was weird as presumably it is run by Poppy Scotland.

The pundits on Sky for the Rangers game at the weekend were also wearing English style poppies.

I notice the Scotsman and Evening News websites are also displaying the English style poppy.

03-11-2020, 09:50 AM
People walking about or driving with a face mask dangling off one ear like some creepy earring, just take it off ffs.

pollution
03-11-2020, 11:58 AM
The prevalence of the English style poppy in Scotland this year, particularly in the form of pin badges. I was in M&S at the Gyle at the weekend and it was English style pin badges they were selling.

The poppy stand at Tesco in Corstorphine had both Scottish and English poppies which I thought was weird as presumably it is run by Poppy Scotland.

The pundits on Sky for the Rangers game at the weekend were also wearing English style poppies.

I notice the Scotsman and Evening News websites are also displaying the English style poppy.

Seriously ??

03-11-2020, 12:39 PM
the prevalence of the english style poppy in scotland this year, particularly in the form of pin badges. I was in m&s at the gyle at the weekend and it was english style pin badges they were selling.

The poppy stand at tesco in corstorphine had both scottish and english poppies which i thought was weird as presumably it is run by poppy scotland.

The pundits on sky for the rangers game at the weekend were also wearing english style poppies.

I notice the scotsman and evening news websites are also displaying the english style poppy.

You learn something new every day.

03-11-2020, 12:55 PM
TV series that don't resolve themselves, but set things up for a second series. I find that really arrogant.

Latest example is Road Kill on the BBC.Given its a reasonable May/Johnson back story another year and the new PM might be in disgrace and jail....

Sent from my SM-G965F using Tapatalk

03-11-2020, 01:08 PM
Given its a reasonable May/Johnson back story another year and the new PM might be in disgrace and jail....

Sent from my SM-G965F using Tapatalk

That's another thing. TV series that have no connection with reality. :greengrin:greengrin:greengrin

03-11-2020, 01:17 PM
The way poppies have been used lately as a political tool. By many different groups on all sides of the political spectrum and even a couple of high profile football clubs and their fans. Very sad. I am a firm independence supporter, have been all my life and always buy a poppy. No matter what you think of governments, the money is meant for the brave troops who were/are only following orders. Sadly if you don't have a poppy on you can be made to feel like ****. As I say, always buy one but usually it only goes on my works clothes and I cannot be arsed moving it every time I change clothes.
Folk feeling compelled to buy and wear one, folk not wearing one due to whatever belief, folk who contribute but don't wear one, folk wearing white ones, English ones Scottish ones. It honestly shouldn't matter either way. As I say something that should be a benefit to folk who, like it or not, have served us all and are needing help should not be used as it is as a weapon. It also feels like you need to have one on from the middle of September now. It's a ****ing charity for dogs sake!!
Sorry about such a long rant on the peeves but I get really frustrated by it all, every year!

CloudSquall
03-11-2020, 02:37 PM

Yours, Dapper Dan

Trainers with a suit gets my blood pressure sky rocketing, it's the attire of choice for middle aged TV presenters in Argentina who are trying desperately to appear in their 30s, absolute roasters to a man.

pollution
03-11-2020, 04:55 PM
Trainers with a suit gets my blood pressure sky rocketing, it's the attire of choice for middle aged TV presenters in Argentina who are trying desperately to appear in their 30s, absolute roasters to a man.

Ditto on Spanish TV which you can watch from here.

The men are small and slim and dressed as if there are 18 again.

03-11-2020, 10:48 PM
Ditto on Spanish TV which you can watch from here.

The men are small and slim and dressed as if there are 18 again.

Jealousy is strong here 😁

04-11-2020, 12:11 AM
People walking about or driving with a face mask dangling off one ear like some creepy earring, just take it off ffs.

Likewise for people wearing chin hammocks, it's very odd.

04-11-2020, 03:07 PM
When things don't do the one thing that they're meant to do.

05-11-2020, 06:39 PM
People who don’t put lids back on jars properly, but put them on with a tiny twist so the jar is 99.9% unsealed.

05-11-2020, 07:59 PM
People who use the word “Cheeky”

Cheeky night out
Cheeky bottle of wine
Cheeky day off
Cheeky takeaway
Cheeky McDonalds

WTF?

05-11-2020, 08:17 PM
People who use the word “Cheeky”

Cheeky night out
Cheeky bottle of wine
Cheeky day off
Cheeky takeaway
Cheeky McDonalds

WTF?

Definitely. A guy came to my door once wanting me to sign up to a charity donation and asked me if I was having "a cheeky wee day off". All I could say was "No" and shut the door.

CloudSquall
06-11-2020, 04:25 PM
When you are doing something, DIY, moving furniture, fixing something, and your partner is giving a running commentary right behind you,

"No not like that"
"Why are you doing it that way?"
"NO, I said I DID NOT want it that way"

It's enough to think about time in Saughton.

07-11-2020, 11:40 PM
Facebook posts about the foreign bogeyman abducting kids, stealing dogs and every other evil you can think about. Some of them are so blatantly fake that it beggars belief at the amount of people who blindly share them.

Just seen one with a photo of a foreign car with eastern European plates claiming two men in the car were trying to entice kids to get in. Great photo taken from about 20 yards where the make and number of the car was easy to identify. Problem is the poster claimed it was taken at about 18:00 and it's obviously been taken in daylight but sundown here was at 16:24.

Alfiembra
08-11-2020, 08:01 AM
Probably OCD on my part but I hate opening any sort of spreadable food item like margarine or butter soft cheese, pate etc. and the last user has dug a big chunk out of the middle of it. I always take a thin scrape off the top and find it easier to spread. Think my Mrs has potential to become a brickie.

10-11-2020, 06:48 PM
Traffic wardens with an attitude, they act like complete ********s, then the next one comes along, listens to your reasoning, sees you are struggling to unload a huge piece of machinery and says there’s something in my eye, I never saw you 😂

11-11-2020, 01:56 PM
Bought a new phone as couldn’t fit all my music on my old one. I’m not overly bothered about phones and rarely change them unless they stop working or I run out of space. The new one I bought is a bit bigger than the last one and with the way I hold it I’m forever taking screenshots by accident. Not the end of the world but does annoy the life out of me.

11-11-2020, 06:52 PM
When you're reading a thread ,get to the end and press the back button rather than the up button. The thread title looks like someone else has posted on it as it stays bold so you open it again.
Hope that makes sense :greengrin:

11-11-2020, 07:01 PM
Actors who think rolling their Rs and replacing O with ae in some words constitutes a Scottish accent.

11-11-2020, 08:08 PM
The use of "onboard" as a verb.

11-11-2020, 08:15 PM
People with Christmas decorations up already.

c31
11-11-2020, 08:16 PM
The use of "onboard" as a verb.

Thought 'onboard' is a verb and 'on-board' is an adjective. (I'm probably wrong though)

11-11-2020, 08:33 PM
Thought 'onboard' is a verb and 'on-board' is an adjective. (I'm probably wrong though)

It is used as a verb. It bloody shouldn't be, though. Another strangulation of the language by our colonial cousins.

There are more, but that's plenty for now 😆

While I'm here, though, "contact telephone number ".

11-11-2020, 09:38 PM
People with Christmas decorations up already.

That would ordinarily be one of mine and there is someone in our village who always has theirs up around armistice day. This year they had them up on the 5th. I'm going to make an exception this year though. Anything that makes folk happy this year is ok by me

12-11-2020, 09:32 AM
While I'm here, though, "contact telephone number ".

Is that any more worser than 'contact sport'? :dunno:

12-11-2020, 01:45 PM
When you are doing something, DIY, moving furniture, fixing something, and your partner is giving a running commentary right behind you,

"No not like that"

Are you sure this is DIY you’re talking about?

12-11-2020, 01:46 PM
Is that any more worser than 'contact sport'? :dunno:

Hunting down people who say "PIN number" should be a contact sport. :greengrin

EH6 Hibby
12-11-2020, 03:55 PM
Hunting down people who say "PIN number" should be a contact sport. :greengrin

ATM Machine is another one.

Jim Herriot
12-11-2020, 04:03 PM
ATM Machine is another one.
Don't forget your PIN number for the ATM machine at the TSB bank.

12-11-2020, 04:09 PM
Don't forget your PIN number for the ATM machine at the TSB bank.TSB started that by putting "bank" on their logo/signs.

13-11-2020, 09:28 AM
TSB started that by putting "bank" on their logo/signs.

:agree: "TSB" should be sufficient enough.

13-11-2020, 09:45 AM
Someone who keeps calling for someone who has transposed the last 2 numbers of the phone number and refuses to correct their records. This has been going on for 2 years now.

13-11-2020, 09:33 PM
Trying to communicate with face masks on. I know it’s necessary, but it’s a pain in the arse when you can’t see people’s lips moving. My job involves going to loads of different addresses each day and it’s really hard to get across why you’re there. I’ve had people tell me their not interested despite the fact that I’m not selling anything. It’s particularly difficult with older people who’s hearing isn’t the best.

13-11-2020, 09:59 PM
Trying to communicate with face masks on. I know it’s necessary, but it’s a pain in the arse when you can’t see people’s lips moving. My job involves going to loads of different addresses each day and it’s really hard to get across why you’re there. I’ve had people tell me their not interested despite the fact that I’m not selling anything. It’s particularly difficult with older people who’s hearing isn’t the best.

Also a nightmare in the taxi, the intercoms are generally crap in taxis, adding the masks muffle the voice and it takes 3-4 goes to finally find out where the punter wants to go to. Took an old dear to Ferniehill today, firstly I thought she said Pirniefield, then Firhill before I realised she wanted Ferniehill. Doesn't help when some folk talk quietly as well.

14-11-2020, 10:49 AM
Autotrader/eBay motorbike adds that when you click on the description and it says, contact dealer for more info. I want the ****ing info so that I can make a decision on whether I want to speak to the dealer. I go onto these sites so that I don't have to talk to multiple dealers.

14-11-2020, 11:33 AM
Are you sure this is DIY you’re talking about?

Folk missing decent (but not quite good) jokes on threads, is another peeve.

14-11-2020, 11:35 AM

"No not like that"

Definitely this one - I get "you do it, you're better at...(insert whatever task she can't be arsed doing here)"

Followed by "I would have done it that way instead" or "why are you doing it like that?" "I usually do... "

FML.

14-11-2020, 12:02 PM
Definitely this one - I get "you do it, you're better at...(insert whatever task she can't be arsed doing here)"

Followed by "I would have done it that way instead" or "why are you doing it like that?" "I usually do... "
FML.
Yup.
I just got new washing machine delivered this morning.
I asked the wife to pass the big scissors so I could cut off the packing straps.
She hands me the scissors and stands there watching me.
I'm just about to cut the strap and I hear what i knew was coming.
"I wouldnt cut it there"

14-11-2020, 12:23 PM

FML.

"Why don't you...." is my wife's favourite. Usually after I've started doing the task the way she suggested in the first place.

14-11-2020, 12:51 PM
"Why don't you...." is my wife's favourite. Usually after I've started doing the task the way she suggested in the first place.

"Why don't you..." is usually the start of my response in such circumstances!

Bangkok Hibby
14-11-2020, 01:54 PM
The Romany women beggars! This morning I've seen three coming out a tenement in Glasgow laughing and joking with their blankets and ****ing coffee cups. Another two were dropped off by a **** in a Mercedes. Some have said in the past that they're basically slaves and have no choice. I don't believe that but if it's true why don't the police round them up and jail the men behind it.

14-11-2020, 02:14 PM
The Romany women beggars! This morning I've seen three coming out a tenement in Glasgow laughing and joking with their blankets and ****ing coffee cups. Another two were dropped off by a **** in a Mercedes. Some have said in the past that they're basically slaves and have no choice. I don't believe that but if it's true why don't the police round them up and jail the men behind it.

Re: the last part - good luck getting witnesses to testify.

14-11-2020, 04:23 PM
"Why don't you..." is usually the start of my response in such circumstances!

14-11-2020, 08:25 PM

Invaded Edinburgh too, literally professional begging. One guy sitting outside Pret on Castle St asked me for a coffee the other day, quickly told him to go **** himself, cheeky get.

15-11-2020, 02:15 PM
Invaded Edinburgh too, literally professional begging. One guy sitting outside Pret on Castle St asked me for a coffee the other day, quickly told him to go **** himself, cheeky get.

Seems excessive, no?

I can understand the frustrations behind organised begging - I'm just going to assume at this point that it is the case, it's not something I know myself beyond posts/tweets similar to the above in nature - but there is also a genuine homelessness problem throughout the country. I feel it's all too easy to conflate the two and let that get in the way of wanting the problem solved and helping where you can towards that.

At the end of the day these people, wether properly homeless or not, are sitting out in the cold and wet all day for what can't be a great amount of money. It doesn't sound like a great way of living and clearly their circumstances dictate that they need to do it for whatever reason. If you don't want to give money or goods to them is it not easier just to say "sorry", "not today", or even ignore them rather than tell them to go **** themselves? :dunno;

15-11-2020, 02:22 PM
Seems excessive, no?

I can understand the frustrations behind organised begging - I'm just going to assume at this point that it is the case, it's not something I know myself beyond posts/tweets similar to the above in nature - but there is also a genuine homelessness problem throughout the country. I feel it's all too easy to conflate the two and let that get in the way of wanting the problem solved and helping where you can towards that.

At the end of the day these people, wether properly homeless or not, are sitting out in the cold and wet all day for what can't be a great amount of money. It doesn't sound like a great way of living and clearly their circumstances dictate that they need to do it for whatever reason. If you don't want to give money or goods to them is it not easier just to say "sorry", "not today", or even ignore them rather than tell them to go **** themselves? :dunno;

Absolutley brutal way to speak to someone who's circumstances are unknown.

15-11-2020, 02:31 PM

Agreed with both of you. He asked for a coffee, not cash, not drugs. He wants a hot drink.

15-11-2020, 02:34 PM
Agreed with both of you. He asked for a coffee, not cash, not drugs. He wants a hot drink.

I often buy a sandwich; feel it's more appropriate than cash. (but no from Pret!!:greengrin)

15-11-2020, 02:48 PM
Seems excessive, no?

They arrive in big vans/cars every day, usually 6/7 maybe more, they then go to their spots outside coffee shops, cash machines etc , all their clothes are clean as are they and they swap over with each other every hour or so, it professional begging. I work in town 6 days a week and see it every day, their boss sits in Greggs( or he did pre Covid ) until they are finished, he then picks them all up takes them to wherever they stay. It's actually not against the law to beg on the streets of Scotland but it is illegal to harass people as they go about their business, these beggars harass you whenever you pass them by. There is only so many times in a day that the same guy can ask for money/coffee etc until you get a bit peeved off at them, yes I was rather blunt and swore at him, only human.

There are a few guys I know who are genuinely homeless and having spoken to them know about their circumstances, I will give these guys a coffee, food etc but never money as I know it'll be used for drugs or drink.

15-11-2020, 02:52 PM
They arrive in big vans/cars every day, usually 6/7 maybe more, they then go to their spots outside coffee shops, cash machines etc , all their clothes are clean as are they and they swap over with each other every hour or so, it professional begging. I work in town 6 days a week and see it every day, their boss sits in Greggs( or he did pre Covid ) until they are finished, he then picks them all up takes them to wherever they stay. It's actually not against the law to beg on the streets of Scotland but it is illegal to harass people as they go about their business, these beggars harass you whenever you pass them by. There is only so many times in a day that the same guy can ask for money/coffee etc until you get a bit peeved off at them, yes I was rather blunt and swore at him, only human.

There are a few guys I know who are genuinely homeless and having spoken to them know about their circumstances, I will give these guys a coffee, food etc but never money as I know it'll be used for drugs or drink.

That's your experience but you have to acknowledge that not all are in the same situation. Certainly not in small cities like Perth. We don't have the population to support the 'gang master' culture you think is happening everywhere.

Edit. Saw your last paragraph after I posted.

FWIW when I was working I saved up the points on my Costa card and gave it to a big issue seller in Perth the week before Christmas and he liked the idea of a Christmas gift.

15-11-2020, 03:22 PM
That's your experience but you have to acknowledge that not all are in the same situation. Certainly not in small cities like Perth. We don't have the population to support the 'gang master' culture you think is happening everywhere.

Edit. Saw your last paragraph after I posted.

FWIW when I was working I saved up the points on my Costa card and gave it to a big issue seller in Perth the week before Christmas and he liked the idea of a Christmas gift.

As I said I have no problem with the real homeless guys on the streets, feel very sorry for them but these Romanian/Bulgarians are organised professional beggars and deserve nowt.

15-11-2020, 03:53 PM
As I said I have no problem with the real homeless guys on the streets, feel very sorry for them but these Romanian/Bulgarians are organised professional beggars and deserve nowt.There's a group of them stay in a couple of flats just off Gorgie Rd, Wardlaw I think it is, the rest are in the homeless shelter at Chesser (the old church)

Edit: I see them getting picked up/dropped off.

Bangkok Hibby
15-11-2020, 05:32 PM
As I said I have no problem with the real homeless guys on the streets, feel very sorry for them but these Romanian/Bulgarians are organised professional beggars and deserve nowt.

I'm with you. They do my ****ing head in! and it's ***** like these who drain all the good will from many people and genuinely homeless people lose out.

15-11-2020, 06:58 PM
This is the 3rd match running I've been within 10 of the winning number. Today being the worst yet (I had 224 & 225).

That's not very annoying. https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20201115/6609bb467acfbb8461026721a7e9bf3e.jpg

15-11-2020, 09:26 PM
People pronouncing "lives" as "lifes".

On the final round of Family Fortunes when a contestant's answer scores more than 50 points and they still try to build suspense as to whether or not it is the top answer.

15-11-2020, 11:10 PM
People who leave everything until the last minute and then complain when they fail because “someone else let them down”

16-11-2020, 09:15 AM
Food thieves in workplaces. I always have some butter in the fridge and some diluting juice on my desk. Both are treated as communal items by one person, it's brazen and not even remotely sly. I'm not greedy, I'll happily share but it's common courtesy to ask. The manky cow always leaves toast crumbs in the butter as well which should be a capital offence.

It may just be coincidence but the same person is also a complete liberty taker when it comes to passing on workload. I was making an early start on my sales figures for the month last week (depressing enough at the moment) and she asked if I would help with some procurement invoices. Not really my job but I know how to do it and so was quitehappy to help. These are supposed to be completed weekly and suddenly I'm presented with a pile of paper dating back 2 and 3 weeks. Almost every one had a query on it as well so she is obviously burying the problem ones at the bottom of the pile then passing it on when she is 'snowed under'. I honestly have no idea what she does for 40+ hours a week apart from stuff her face with my food.

16-11-2020, 10:38 AM
Food thieves in workplaces. I always have some butter in the fridge and some diluting juice on my desk. Both are treated as communal items by one person, it's brazen and not even remotely sly. I'm not greedy, I'll happily share but it's common courtesy to ask. The manky cow always leaves toast crumbs in the butter as well which should be a capital offence.

It may just be coincidence but the same person is also a complete liberty taker when it comes to passing on workload. I was making an early start on my sales figures for the month last week (depressing enough at the moment) and she asked if I would help with some procurement invoices. Not really my job but I know how to do it and so was quitehappy to help. These are supposed to be completed weekly and suddenly I'm presented with a pile of paper dating back 2 and 3 weeks. Almost every one had a query on it as well so she is obviously burying the problem ones at the bottom of the pile then passing it on when she is 'snowed under'. I honestly have no idea what she does for 40+ hours a week apart from stuff her face with my food.

You always get at least one person like that in the office, in mine it's someone who does a bit of work then goes and gives my boss a running commentary of what she has just done, there always seems to be an issue involved even with something very straightforward

She's also not my biggest fan either as I've told her on numerous occasions she could do 3 times the amount of work in a day of she just got on with it

16-11-2020, 11:09 AM

Ah used to be a running theme in our building....sandwich thieves! Tried putting a skull and crossbones and "danger - highly toxic" post-it on my sannies but no use. Slapping on a fair dose of extra hot chilli sauce eventually did the trick! Still never found out who the culprit was.

16-11-2020, 12:39 PM
Ah used to be a running theme in our building....sandwich thieves! Tried putting a skull and crossbones and "danger - highly toxic" post-it on my sannies but no use. Slapping on a fair dose of extra hot chilli sauce eventually did the trick! Still never found out who the culprit was.

Then there is the milk thief. Sorted by keeping your milk in an expresser bottle 😉

16-11-2020, 12:45 PM
Then there is the milk thief. Sorted by keeping your milk in an expresser bottle 😉

Haha...yes my colleague did suggest that :greengrin

16-11-2020, 01:03 PM
We're far less subtle at my work. Nobody brings in stuff to stock for a few days - if someone brings in food it's for that lunchtime and that's it. Nothing gets touched up until lunchtime, but sometimes stuff gets left, eg. someone will rush out to a meeting without having time to eat their dessert/yoghurt/cake.

In this case we eat it. Often we'll post a photo to the work whatsapp group with a caption "were you wanting this?"

Them's the breaks!

16-11-2020, 03:59 PM

We have (or had, when we weren't working from home!) a guy in the office with a huge chocolate supply on his desk - he doesn't mind folk taking a bit so long as they don't take the piss with it or replace it later.

What tends to happen if there's one or two people who don't ever replace it, is the team film them nicking it and it goes on the team Whatsapp with a "Bill - look what's happening to your chocolate" message. All in good humour so not a snidey act etc, but it's a way that everyone's comfortable with for regulating it and the folk then replace the stuff they've lifted.

We're lucky that the team are really close with each other so stuff like that is all taken in the spirit it's intended.

16-11-2020, 04:54 PM
We have (or had, when we weren't working from home!) a guy in the office with a huge chocolate supply on his desk - he doesn't mind folk taking a bit so long as they don't take the piss with it or replace it later.

What tends to happen if there's one or two people who don't ever replace it, is the team film them nicking it and it goes on the team Whatsapp with a "Bill - look what's happening to your chocolate" message. All in good humour so not a snidey act etc, but it's a way that everyone's comfortable with for regulating it and the folk then replace the stuff they've lifted.

We're lucky that the team are really close with each other so stuff like that is all taken in the spirit it's intended.

Don't get me wrong my office always has a communal snack stash and people are happy to share their food.

It's the constant nature of it with one person that gets on my tits.

18-11-2020, 05:47 PM
It is annoying how working from home during the pandemic has been used as an excuse for there to be an expectation that your diary can just be filled up all day every day since you don’t need to move between meeting rooms/buildings at work. I rarely get a lunch break these days and tomorrow my diary is full from 8am to 6.30pm. When am I meant to take a slash, never mind eat or actually do work?

It was never this bad before WFH. Totally made worse by the new expectation of daily team meetings where a weekly one sufficed pre-WFH, going over the exact same stuff with very minor variation each day! Between the team I’m part of looking up the way and the two I lead, it can be 2-3 hours gone from my day. Nonsense.

18-11-2020, 06:22 PM
It is annoying how working from home during the pandemic has been used as an excuse for there to be an expectation that your diary can just be filled up all day every day since you don’t need to move between meeting rooms/buildings at work. I rarely get a lunch break these days and tomorrow my diary is full from 8am to 6.30pm. When am I meant to take a slash, never mind eat or actually do work?

It was never this bad before WFH. Totally made worse by the new expectation of daily team meetings where a weekly one sufficed pre-WFH, going over the exact same stuff with very minor variation each day! Between the team I’m part of looking up the way and the two I lead, it can be 2-3 hours gone from my day. Nonsense.

also noticing some people booking meetings in that run past the end of the working day, and when challenged you get comments like ‘yeah but before you had a 20 minute journey home, so you’re not really losing this 15 minutes are you?’

also, on the flip side, people who are consistently late to meetings when working from home. The odd time is fair enough, but there some people who are anything up to 5 minutes late for 7 or 8 meetings out of 10 - you’ve not got any travel time, you’re just rude

18-11-2020, 06:50 PM
Clarty *******s who don't wipe down gym equipment after they use it.

That was disgusting behaviour pre covid, now it's verging on criminal.

18-11-2020, 06:57 PM

If that's a problem for you can you just book out 15/30 minute intervals throughout each day in your diary?

Or be more efficient in that one hour meeting and end it after 45. :wink:

18-11-2020, 09:56 PM

I regularly had long commutes to long meetings but since lockdown it is noticeable how one can be on MS Teams for hours on end and then the normal personal use of a phone, tablet or laptop outwith work.

The amount of blue light screen exposure is through the roof. My employer is good in that they actively encourage WFH to go away from the screen and ideally get outdoors throughout the day.

18-11-2020, 10:32 PM
I regularly had long commutes to long meetings but since lockdown it is noticeable how one can be on MS Teams for hours on end and then the normal personal use of a phone, tablet or laptop outwith work.

The amount of blue light screen exposure is through the roof. My employer is good in that they actively encourage WFH to go away from the screen and ideally get outdoors throughout the day.

We're currently snowed under with work and my normal day WFH consists of at least 9 hours in front of a computer screen. Apart from the issues of blue light & posture, I find it really hard going mentally.

Some clients have tried to take liberties knowing that the office/home barrier isn't there but I'm too long in the tooth to take nonsense like that and generally manage to get them told while remaining diplomatic.

My zero tolerance to this stuff was triggered in 1998 when a client whose house we were extending called me at 6.30 on a Sunday morning to tell me that he thought he could hear intruders in his house. He was a policeman. WTF did he expect me to do?

18-11-2020, 10:46 PM
We're currently snowed under with work and my normal day WFH consists of at least 9 hours in front of a computer screen. Apart from the issues of blue light & posture, I find it really hard going mentally.

Some clients have tried to take liberties knowing that the office/home barrier isn't there but I'm too long in the tooth to take nonsense like that and generally manage to get them told while remaining diplomatic.

My zero tolerance to this stuff was triggered in 1998 when a client whose house we were extending called me at 6.30 on a Sunday morning to tell me that he thought he could hear intruders in his house. He was a policeman. WTF did he expect me to do?

I think that there are several issues around Covid. Apart from how care homes and care at home are managed, there are clear signals around how lockdown affects mental and emotional health for a lot of people.

I also worry that blue light and posture will build in physical problems for people who are working from home. You then get a rather toxic cocktail of physical and mental/emotional challenges for people, and going into winter makes things harder for a lot of the population.

I don’t want to sound like the prophet of doom but it is hard to see how things get better before spring.

1 8 7 5
20-11-2020, 11:47 AM

... I was about to post let it go Peeve...... but realised Im still raging at Dave Beaumont not breaking Wayne Fosters legs in 1994!

20-11-2020, 12:53 PM
If that's a problem for you can you just book out 15/30 minute intervals throughout each day in your diary?

Or be more efficient in that one hour meeting and end it after 45. :wink:

Book what you want in your diary....another meeting will just be booked on top of it anyway is what I’ve been seeing.

I’m with the OP on this one...meeting fatigue was bad enough before WFH but now it’s just crazy. Every little thing needs a Teams call now and the net result is back to back calls all day everyday. It’s draining.

21-11-2020, 09:48 AM
Book what you want in your diary....another meeting will just be booked on top of it anyway is what I’ve been seeing.

I’m with the OP on this one...meeting fatigue was bad enough before WFH but now it’s just crazy. Every little thing needs a Teams call now and the net result is back to back calls all day everyday. It’s draining.

Yep, booking out time does nothing. Double and triple bookings are common.

The ending a meeting 15 mins early is difficult when you aren’t chairing the meeting. Meetings seem to crawl past the allotted time too.

21-11-2020, 10:02 AM
Yep, booking out time does nothing. Double and triple bookings are common.

The ending a meeting 15 mins early is difficult when you aren’t chairing the meeting. Meetings seem to crawl past the allotted time too.People who don't really know me often get the impression that I'm quite rude at meetings (on video or reality) as I always look to push on to the next point or will be the first to ask "are we finished" as people are snuggling into their seats in readiness for a nice wee blether. Often if meetings are in our office (and there's someone else from our firm there), I'll go away and work at my desk telling them to give me a shout for anything that concerns me.

My experience is that meetings generally last at least 3 times as long as they need to and I have no desire to waste that sort of time.

21-11-2020, 10:25 AM

also noticing some people booking meetings in that run past the end of the working day, and when challenged you get comments like ‘yeah but before you had a 20 minute journey home, so you’re not really losing this 15 minutes are you?’

also, on the flip side, people who are consistently late to meetings when working from home. The odd time is fair enough, but there some people who are anything up to 5 minutes late for 7 or 8 meetings out of 10 - you’ve not got any travel time, you’re just rude

**** that!!!! You don't get paid for your 20-30 minute commute home so your day is up at 5pm or whatever your booked ours are. Theres surely not a thing they can do if you say right thats me done my hours for today, either I'm now into overtime or I'm off. Would never get away with that caper in the railway, once your day is up thats it. Overtime or home time.

21-11-2020, 11:18 AM
**** that!!!! You don't get paid for your 20-30 minute commute home so your day is up at 5pm or whatever your booked ours are. Theres surely not a thing they can do if you say right thats me done my hours for today, either I'm now into overtime or I'm off. Would never get away with that caper in the railway, once your day is up thats it. Overtime or home time.

Depends what your contract says. I remember coming back from honeymoon a number of years ago to find the Director of our department had unilaterally scrapped flexi time for anyone above a certain grade because our contracts state that the stated weekly hours is only a guide and we should work however many hours it takes to get the job done (up to the legal maximum).

I’d lost the flexi time I’d built up.

21-11-2020, 11:22 AM
Depends what your contract says. I remember coming back from honeymoon a number of years ago to find the Director of our department had unilaterally scrapped flexi time for anyone above a certain grade because our contracts state that the stated weekly hours is only a guide and we should work however many hours it takes to get the job done (up to the legal maximum).

Again that would never happen in the railway, heavily unionised of course but the above is outrageous. Happy workforce equals more productivity.

21-11-2020, 01:52 PM

My wife has a contract of 40 hours a week, earlier this year there was a missive from the HR dept (a single person who really has no HR experience) that all managers on 40 hours would lose annual leave if they were short any week, but there is also no way to accrue time over the 40 hours.

Let's just say a work to rule is informally in place, she can easily go over 40 hours in summer, but hardly ever does 40 hours in winter. Now, she goes in early, does a bit of tidying and other things to fill the time to ensure she covers the 40 hours. The company's own fault.

21-11-2020, 08:31 PM
TV game shows that are ultimately a game of chance or a guessing game that they try to make something deeper.

Deal or No Deal was the master at that kind of idiocy. I was watching The Wall on the BBC tonight (it's pish BTW) and they were trying the same thing 'Ooh I'm feeling a connection with number 5', 'I want everyone to cross their fingers and send good vibes', 'Jane and I are on the same wavelength tonight'.

It's opening some boxes or chucking some balls down a giant Plinko set. No amount of 'good vibes' is going to make any difference.

24-11-2020, 05:38 PM
Toast that doesn’t have whatever is on it going to the edge of the toast.

whatever it may be, butter, margarine, jam, cheese, etc, drives me up the wall when there’s loads of space at the edges :grr:

24-11-2020, 09:22 PM
Programmes - usually dating programmes - that claim to have some sort of serious premise behind it but is anything but.

Naked Attraction is a prime example.

24-11-2020, 11:09 PM
Programmes - usually dating programmes - that claim to have some sort of serious premise behind it but is anything but.

Naked Attraction is a prime example.

The only dating show I have ever watched that hasn't been shallow nonsense is The Undateables. It's sensitive, touching and very funny for all the right reasons.

Naked Attraction mystifies me. I don't get anything deeper about it at all. I would struggle to argue it is exploitative or anything like that, it's just lowest common denominator titillation.

CloudSquall
25-11-2020, 01:20 AM
People on YouTube that spout 20 minutes of ***** for every 10 seconds of half decent info they have.

25-11-2020, 08:02 AM
The only dating show I have ever watched that hasn't been shallow nonsense is The Undateables. It's sensitive, touching and very funny for all the right reasons.

Naked Attraction mystifies me. I don't get anything deeper about it at all. I would struggle to argue it is exploitative or anything like that, it's just lowest common denominator titillation.

I was pleasantly surprised with the undateables. Neither insensitive or looking to provoke pity, as you say it’s an excellent programme.

Naked Attraction is, at its base level, “what willy do you like the best”, “who has the nicest breasts” so theres no need to say that it’s anything other. It probably doesn’t claim to be too much more but it’s just weird. Why would anyone go on the programme? Imagine turning up to work the next day.

25-11-2020, 11:32 AM
I was pleasantly surprised with the undateables. Neither insensitive or looking to provoke pity, as you say it’s an excellent programme.

Naked Attraction is, at its base level, “what willy do you like the best”, “who has the nicest breasts” so theres no need to say that it’s anything other. It probably doesn’t claim to be too much more but it’s just weird. Why would anyone go on the programme? Imagine turning up to work the next day.

I love how they come up with some nonsense reason why they have punted the fat one, one with a tiny willy, etc. then usually keep someone in with the exact same aspect about them.

For example, “I’m getting rid of Pink because I’m not a fan of tattoos on the lower left arm” then choose Blue who has a tattoo on their lower left arm. Tell the truth... Pink was too fat for you and needed to trim her muff!

Edit: or my other favourite... “I’m getting rid of Green because they are too shy”. Eh? 1. How can you tell they are shy from only seeing their body and not actually hearing them speak; and 2. They have just got their bits out on National TV, I really doubt they are shy!

Bangkok Hibby
25-11-2020, 01:57 PM
Newspaper"pun" headlines. Can't stand the idiotic nonsense.
I await the onslaught of puns 🤨

25-11-2020, 04:26 PM

It should be a rule that every headline has to be a pun. What's the point in having a headline otherwise?

25-11-2020, 04:32 PM

They're only puns on paper.

25-11-2020, 09:36 PM

The Undateables is a brilliant show, genuinely heart warming and just nice for all the right reasons.

27-11-2020, 01:08 PM
People who play the system, and who care about nowt but themselves.

Personal rant here - my dad rents out his flat, he's not a "rich landlord", far from it. He bought the 3 bed council flat he'd lived in for years, then when didn't need 3 rooms, moved out into a rented one bedroom place himself, and rented the ex council flat out.

It's basically been almost a year since he received a penny in rent. He's been going through the (painfully) slow system of trying to have her evicted, which is costing him more money to pay for solicitors. Court case this week found in his favour, but she now gets 30 days to appeal the verdict. So, she'll now be able to have her christmas in my dads flat, and buy gifts with the thousands of pounds of benefit money she's been given to pay her rent, which she's kept for herself. While my dad waits for a remortgage to come through, as he's having to borrow money to pay off the debt this has all got him into.

He'll never get a penny of the money back. It's an absolute joke.

27-11-2020, 07:45 PM

Personal rant here - my dad rents out his flat, he's not a "rich landlord", far from it. He bought the 3 bed council flat he'd lived in for years, then when didn't need 3 rooms, moved out into a rented one bedroom place himself, and rented the ex council flat out.

It's basically been almost a year since he received a penny in rent. He's been going through the (painfully) slow system of trying to have her evicted, which is costing him more money to pay for solicitors. Court case this week found in his favour, but she now gets 30 days to appeal the verdict. So, she'll now be able to have her christmas in my dads flat, and buy gifts with the thousands of pounds of benefit money she's been given to pay her rent, which she's kept for herself. While my dad waits for a remortgage to come through, as he's having to borrow money to pay off the debt this has all got him into.

Outrageous that something like that can drag on for so long.

27-11-2020, 07:47 PM
People who run a washing up basin, do the dishes, empty the the basin into the sink, then put the basin back in to the sink so the bottom half of the outside gets covered in grease from the dirty water.

28-11-2020, 09:59 PM
Mcdonalds, what is the fascination ?
Cars queuing for probably 20-30 minutes.
I label those people ****my.
To specifically drive/walk for a ***** burger.

Wouldn't eat it for free

speedy_gonzales
28-11-2020, 11:25 PM

Wouldn't eat it for free

I don't get the hate for McDonald's, it is what it is.
Never known anyone to queue for half an hour though!

28-11-2020, 11:34 PM

Same.

I wouldn’t queue more than a few mins for it, and I definitely prefer Burger King, but McDonald’s is what it is. It’s fast food and doesn’t try to be anything else. You can get a cheeseburger for about £1. Fries for another £1. There’s not much to hate.

29-11-2020, 12:05 AM

Of course it is what it is, but to queue for bogging food I'll never ever understand

29-11-2020, 12:18 AM
Of course it is what it is, but to queue for bogging food I'll never ever understand

I doubt the people queueing for it think it's bogging, which is probably your answer.

29-11-2020, 12:21 AM
I doubt the people queueing for it think it's bogging, which is probably your answer.

Aye probably.

29-11-2020, 07:10 AM

Wouldn't eat it for free

I pulled in to the drive in queue for the Alloa McDonald’s not realising there was probably 20/25 cars in front of me. I was only there 10 minutes. They’re a production line and it’s almost better to wait because the stuff you get will be fresher than if you’d rolled in and out in a couple minutes.

I wouldn’t go out my way for it, and wouldn’t do a journey especially for it, but it does what it says on the tin.

29-11-2020, 08:45 AM

The same people seen queuing at Primark. It's what they can afford.

29-11-2020, 11:20 AM
The same people seen queuing at Primark. It's what they can afford.

Does that work for fast food?

McDonald's is cheap, but I'm pretty sure you can make better yourself for the same/less money. The same might also apply to Primark clothes right enough but you'd need a bit of skill at least there. :greengrin

I used to never go to McDonald's, went once for convenience and found their chicken selects to pretty darn tasty! Their burgers are no good though, IMO.

pollution
29-11-2020, 11:46 AM
Burger King for a burger and then over the road to McDonalds for their fries.

Once a decade for me.

29-11-2020, 12:43 PM
In my experience it’s queuing to get something for the wee one. For some reason kids absolutely love it, personally I very rarely get anything for myself.

29-11-2020, 01:10 PM
Some folk like McDonalds some don’t, I don’t see the issue myself, if people want to queue for stuff they like, let them.

29-11-2020, 06:25 PM
In my experience it’s queuing to get something for the wee one. For some reason kids absolutely love it, personally I very rarely get anything for myself.

Maybe. When my baby son went to Doctors for his jags, i told him he was going to McDonalds. Should be a while before he asks to go again.

02-12-2020, 03:22 PM
Wellies. In the winter I need to change into them when I drive to somewhere to walk the dog - everywhere is really muddy. Trying to put them on with a sore back, dodgy knees, groin strain and pain in my left hand is a bloody nightmare, especially with a mad spaniel who's desperate to get going. Then you walk 20 paces and a stone gets into one and you have to do it all over again without falling over :grr:

02-12-2020, 09:42 PM
Wellies. In the winter I need to change into them when I drive to somewhere to walk the dog - everywhere is really muddy. Trying to put them on with a sore back, dodgy knees, groin strain and pain in my left hand is a bloody nightmare, especially with a mad spaniel who's desperate to get going. Then you walk 20 paces and a stone gets into one and you have to do it all over again without falling over :grr:

If it wasnae for your wellies where would you be?

03-12-2020, 08:10 AM

Wellies = one of the standout inventions in all history.

03-12-2020, 08:15 AM

03-12-2020, 10:29 AM
I pulled in to the drive in queue for the Alloa McDonald’s not realising there was probably 20/25 cars in front of me. I was only there 10 minutes. They’re a production line and it’s almost better to wait because the stuff you get will be fresher than if you’d rolled in and out in a couple minutes.

I wouldn’t go out my way for it, and wouldn’t do a journey especially for it, but it does what it says on the tin.

I always order with pickle removed.
That way its always freshly made.

03-12-2020, 10:30 AM
Pet peeve - when the mcdonalds order comes with pickle despite having the order label to have it without.

03-12-2020, 11:05 AM

Wellies don't even smell now, that's the only good thing.

03-12-2020, 02:41 PM
That's some leap the stone has to make to get into a pair of wellies :greengrin

03-12-2020, 05:08 PM
That's some leap the stone has to make to get into a pair of wellies :greengrin

It's a bloody miracle. Happens every time. Tiny wee stones of course...

04-12-2020, 12:18 PM
Maybe. When my baby son went to Doctors for his jags, i told him he was going to McDonalds. Should be a while before he asks to go again.

He'll thank you for it eventually.

04-12-2020, 06:10 PM
Breggsit. Why can't they say Brexit

05-12-2020, 08:45 AM
People becoming famous online for lip syncing to people like Trump or Gervais

speedy_gonzales
05-12-2020, 11:26 AM
People becoming famous online for lip syncing to people like Trump or Gervais

You have to admit, the Gervais guy is pretty decent.

10-12-2020, 07:12 PM

Not taking away from your dads story but I’m glad that I’m no longer renting. When I moved to Dundee I went to an agents near the Tay Bridge with a blue sign (just in case anyone knows anyone who is looking and who to avoid) and found a place. When I moved in it was filthy - used chip forks on the floor, smooshed crayons and hairs down the sofa. Was refused a cleaner coming in as “they’d already paid a good chunk of money to clean it”.

Left there after a year and they tried to keep hundreds of pounds of my deposit for things like a snib on a door missing (which it always was but didn’t think to mark down), paint splatters on a window left by a workman they had in, lots of stuff that was in their photos at the start of the tenancy, and for it requiring a professional clean. We genuinely left it spotless.

Went through the appeals process and it took hours to complete and weeks to be finalised. The documents I sent in got lost somewhere in the chain and I lost over £100 of my initial deposit for no apparent reason.

It’s genuinely disgusting how badly so many people in the rental market are treated, it appears only the letting agencies have a good time and get money for nothing.