View Full Version : Pet Peeves IV
07-02-2024, 08:03 AM
Cats who litter their litter tray immediately after you've changed it with new litter.
07-02-2024, 02:29 PM
Drunk or not, people are just awful.
Idiots putting their bins out when it's windy. Their crap blowing all over the street. Then not being arsed to pick up their own rubbish because they are lazy twats!!.
On twats, why do the idiot Americans say twot instead of twat.
I agree about the bins, although it’s a tough one. If someone works an early shift and leaves the house at 5am, they need to put their bin out, even if it won’t be emptied til lunchtime. Folk who put them out the night before when it’s windy are just causing hassle though
08-02-2024, 05:28 AM
I agree about the bins, although it’s a tough one. If someone works an early shift and leaves the house at 5am, they need to put their bin out, even if it won’t be emptied til lunchtime. Folk who put them out the night before when it’s windy are just causing hassle though
My bins often get emptied quite early in the morning - I always put them out the night before.
08-02-2024, 05:50 AM
My bins often get emptied quite early in the morning - I always put them out the night before.
Same here, must be near the start of their route.
08-02-2024, 06:56 AM
Yip. Most of my street put the bins out the night before. If we didn't then they wouldn't get picked up. Does cause issues if its really windy though. Not just with rubbish. The empty bins get blown all over the street once they've been emptied and left out all day.
Fuzzywuzzy
08-02-2024, 07:06 AM
I nearly bought one of these for the bin to be told by the wife I'm creating work for the binmen
https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B0BSDS2M56?starsLeft=1&ref_=cm_sw_r_apan_dp_R9X6S7VYAY0XGE12TAVT
I mean, what they going to do? Get the teamsters on me?
08-02-2024, 07:51 AM
Yip. Most of my street put the bins out the night before. If we didn't then they wouldn't get picked up. Does cause issues if its really windy though. Not just with rubbish. The empty bins get blown all over the street once they've been emptied and left out all day.
When it was windy recently the bin men laid them flat after emptying them here. Great idea. Also, having 4 separate bins now means they are lighter and more likely to blow over before emptying.
08-02-2024, 01:38 PM
The lifts in Victoria hospital Kirkcaldy.
I approach the lifts just as the lift door opened. I walk in and turn to press my floor number but there are no buttons inside the lift.
I gp back out and there's numbered buttons outside. I work out that I need to press my floor number outside then go into the lift but when I press a number, a letter appears in the panel above it. You then have to go to that specific lettered lift the whole time hoping you pushed the correct floor.
The whole time I'm thinking , who tf signed off on that as a good design.
08-02-2024, 06:43 PM
How would you know :confused:
All my in laws from Sachsen are permanently sober, of course.
As you know, people from Sachsen are an example to us all.
08-02-2024, 08:33 PM
I nearly bought one of these for the bin to be told by the wife I'm creating work for the binmen
https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B0BSDS2M56?starsLeft=1&ref_=cm_sw_r_apan_dp_R9X6S7VYAY0XGE12TAVT
I mean, what they going to do? Get the teamsters on me?
Not too dissimilar in terms of extra work to the covers you get for the glass recycling boxes.
We are near the depot and they are usually with us sometime before 6.30 so we need to put them out the night before for the landfill. Recycling and food waste is a lottery when they come.
More annoying is due to the pavements in our street being on the same level as the road, the binmen seem to not bother actually returning the bins to the pavement and just leave them in the middle of the road. If you happen to be the first car in/out of the street after them you have to constantly stop, get out and move the bins so you can get past
10-02-2024, 10:24 PM
Glasgow Queen Street station. Why do they only put the platform on the board 20 seconds before it’s due to leave?
Fuzzywuzzy
11-02-2024, 11:46 AM
Folk wearing wellies or boots avoiding walking through puddles
11-02-2024, 12:26 PM
Folk wearing wellies or boots avoiding walking through puddles
Aye, it's a bit like people wearing seat belts avoiding crashes. :wink:
Bridge hibs
11-02-2024, 01:00 PM
Aye, it's a bit like people wearing seat belts avoiding crashes. :wink:
Aye or wearing trainers or running shoes, I cant ****ing train and I cant run, maybe I will buy a pair of walkers next time 😀
11-02-2024, 03:33 PM
It really bugs me when pundits are allowed on the pitch before the games
pollution
12-02-2024, 06:13 PM
What gets me is the reversal of word definitions in my lifetime.
To sanction something when I was young meant to approve it. Now it means the opposite.
I want to know when this reversal happened. The exact date and who authorised this !
12-02-2024, 06:23 PM
What gets me is the reversal of word definitions in my lifetime.
To sanction something when I was young meant to approve it. Now it means the opposite.
I want to know when this reversal happened. The exact date and who authorised this !
It means both, no?
https://dictionary.cambridge.org/dictionary/english/sanction
It means both, no?
I always thought it was both
12-02-2024, 06:53 PM
It means both, no?
I always thought it was both
My pet peeve for today is when somebody has a perfectly good rant and people go and spoil it, with mere facts!
12-02-2024, 07:09 PM
I’ll always appreciate the time when someone gave me the definition of the word “multiple”.
It meant a lot.
12-02-2024, 07:16 PM
I’ll always appreciate the time when someone gave me the definition of the word “multiple”.
It meant a lot.
Wrong thread?
Jakhog1
13-02-2024, 11:30 AM
I hate food shopping, doing the weekly shop and putting all the items onto the belt, still have a half full trolley and the person behind me starts putting their items up, they had a very small basket and literally 10 steps away was the self checkout, has to tell her to wait till I had all mine up, tutted like I was in the wrong. What I am noticing more and more each day is the impatience of people, everyone is in a rush.
13-02-2024, 12:20 PM
I hate food shopping, doing the weekly shop and putting all the items onto the belt, still have a half full trolley and the person behind me starts putting their items up, they had a very small basket and literally 10 steps away was the self checkout, has to tell her to wait till I had all mine up, tutted like I was in the wrong. What I am noticing more and more each day is the impatience of people, everyone is in a rush.
I park my trolley at the beginning of the belt so the person behind can’t load until I’m ready.
Jakhog1
13-02-2024, 12:36 PM
II park my trolley at the beginning of the belt so the person behind can’t load until I’m ready.
Yeah, that was my mistake, that's what will be happening from now on.
13-02-2024, 01:11 PM
***** pancakes.
I make pancakes with my sourdough starter discard every Saturday morning. They soak up syrup, fruit coulis, bacon fat, cream etc. They are big, light and fluffy and leave you full for hours.
Why am I supposed to be impressed by some glorified crepe drowning in artificial lemon juice that is inevitably overcooked? It's just so joyless, rather than being celebratory it would be better suited to being served during Lent with eating it being an act of penance.
13-02-2024, 01:35 PM
I make pancakes with my sourdough starter discard every Saturday morning. They soak up syrup, fruit coulis, bacon fat, cream etc. They are big, light and fluffy and leave you full for hours.
Recipe?
13-02-2024, 02:31 PM
Recipe?
200g flour
Tablespoon golden caster sugar
Teaspoon and a half baking powder
220g sourdough starter
2 eggs
250ml milk
whisk it until it's smooth then add in 75g melted butter. Leave to sit for a few minutes until wee bubbles start appearing on the surface then fry in a bit more melted butter. Should make about 10-12 Scotch style pancakes.
13-02-2024, 03:12 PM
200g flour
Tablespoon golden caster sugar
Teaspoon and a half baking powder
220g sourdough starter
2 eggs
250ml milk
whisk it until it's smooth then add in 75g melted butter. Leave to sit for a few minutes until wee bubbles start appearing on the surface then fry in a bit more melted butter. Should make about 10-12 Scotch style pancakes.
ErinGoBraghHFC
14-02-2024, 06:37 AM
My wife cleans the dashboard and the monitor screen with antibacterial wipes whilst I’m driving, often when I need the satnav. Inevitably I will miss a turn off as the screen veers off to either side of the satnav when she gets onto the monitor, gets right on my Brad Pitt’s.
pollution
14-02-2024, 09:51 AM
My wife cleans the dashboard and the monitor screen with antibacterial wipes whilst I’m driving, often when I need the satnav. Inevitably I will miss a turn off as the screen veers off to either side of the satnav when she gets onto the monitor, gets right on my Brad Pitt’s.
Never could I put up with that; the papers are on the mantlepiece.....
Bridge hibs
14-02-2024, 01:31 PM
Alan Carr, so called Comedian, ****ing brutal 😡
14-02-2024, 01:46 PM
Alan Carr, so called Comedian, ****ing brutal 😡
I have never heard anything remotely amusing from this guy.
14-02-2024, 09:54 PM
Valentine’s Day and all the over the top expensive pish that goes with it. I don’t need a glorified mass marketing ploy to tell my wife how much I love her.
Obviously birthday, anniversary and Christmas isn't enough.
15-02-2024, 08:37 AM
Not only the standard "holiday" cash grab, but also custom designed to make single people feel *****. It might be the worst of the lot.
Although I do hate how commercial Amazon Prime Day has become in recent years.
15-02-2024, 08:50 AM
Spent less than a tenner on a card and some flowers. Just a hallmark holiday.
15-02-2024, 10:20 AM
Nothing wrong in having a day for people to take time out and remember what they have.
You are also free to buy into it or not. Last time I looked it wasn’t compulsory to take part (best to check with the wife first tho [emoji1787])
15-02-2024, 11:21 AM
Signing off an email, or worse a text with "Best"
I don't know why it triggers me. More of an irrational peeve, probably
15-02-2024, 12:18 PM
I agree, not a fan.
Also… I usually always think when people begin a work email with just my name, rather than preceding with a “hi” or other term, it’s to show they’re higher up and display their level of authority.
15-02-2024, 02:04 PM
Spent less than a tenner on a card and some flowers. Just a hallmark holiday.
Card and a bar of chocolate for me. She was happy, we've never made a big deal of Valentine's Day, never really felt necessary for us.
I don't really mind the marketing around it and whatever, easy enough to ignore, and each to their own. It's the people who just use it as another excuse to show off that annoy me. People posting pictures of a ridiculous bunch of flowers and a email confirmation of a holiday with a caption saying 'boy done good' on social media.
Same people with all the self awareness of a rock who post pictures of a big pile of presents for their kids at Christmas or the biggest Easter egg in the shop at Easter. That need for validation on social media always seems a pretty joyless existence to me.
15-02-2024, 02:12 PM
“Thanks in advance” is my peeve iteration of this one.
Think it winds me up as they have asked you for something then immediately sign off with a presumption that I’ve agreed to whatever they have asked for.
Quite happy to be thanked when I’ve agreed to do it or deliver whatever it is, just not before [emoji12]
15-02-2024, 04:14 PM
Those Captcha things as security to prove you are a human, today it said tick the boxes with all the cars, except one was a bus so I didn't tick it and it didn't accept my response, dickhead
15-02-2024, 05:20 PM
Card and a bar of chocolate for me. She was happy, we've never made a big deal of Valentine's Day, never really felt necessary for us.
I don't really mind the marketing around it and whatever, easy enough to ignore, and each to their own. It's the people who just use it as another excuse to show off that annoy me. People posting pictures of a ridiculous bunch of flowers and a email confirmation of a holiday with a caption saying 'boy done good' on social media.
Same people with all the self awareness of a rock who post pictures of a big pile of presents for their kids at Christmas or the biggest Easter egg in the shop at Easter. That need for validation on social media always seems a pretty joyless existence to me.
It’s one of the many reasons I chucked social media.
She got a card and a £6 bunch of flowers from M&S and I cooked her a lovely steak with peppercorn sauce, I do all the cooking anyway so no big deal.
Bridge hibs
15-02-2024, 08:04 PM
She got a card and a £6 bunch of flowers from M&S and I cooked her a lovely steak with peppercorn sauce, I do all the cooking anyway so no big deal.I ran my Wife a bath, first time in years, not the first time she has had a bath in years, shes no a minger 🫣
She just likes a soak her way at her temperature and her bubbly bath stuff, oh and I made the tea
I have a childish peeve about people signing of emails with just their first initial: A, P, H, whatever it is.
My reason for hating it is my first initial doesn’t work for that (I), it just looks like a mistype at the end 🤣
15-02-2024, 08:42 PM
I have a childish peeve about people signing of emails with just their first initial: A, P, H, whatever it is.
My reason for hating it is my first initial doesn’t work for that (I), it just looks like a mistype at the end 🤣
I have an issue with initials being used at all. My initials are FW and more than once, folk have assumed the use of them meant forward rather than it meaning me.
15-02-2024, 10:33 PM
Those Captcha things as security to prove you are a human, today it said tick the boxes with all the cars, except one was a bus so I didn't tick it and it didn't accept my response, dickhead
There was a Viz letter that suggested they change the Captcha things to prove you ARE a robot, as it would be mostly humans using it. Made sense to me.
16-02-2024, 08:54 AM
Think it winds me up as they have asked you for something then immediately sign off with a presumption that I’ve agreed to whatever they have asked for.
Quite happy to be thanked when I’ve agreed to do it or deliver whatever it is, just not before [emoji12]I'm a thanks in advance sender but generally" if it's not you who?" rather than assuming it's a dead cert.
Sent from my SM-G990B using Tapatalk
16-02-2024, 09:30 AM
I hate the ones that are never ending. Find the cars, done. Now find the bridges, done. Now find the stairs, done. Now find the mountains…. I’ve already given up and closed the tab by now.
16-02-2024, 10:13 AM
I hate the ones that are never ending. Find the cars, done. Now find the bridges, done. Now find the stairs, done. Now find the mountains…. I’ve already given up and closed the tab by now.
I hate the ones where rather than it being multiple images and it saying “click on the boxes that contain a traffic light” it is just one image with a grid and it says “click in the boxes that contain traffic lights”.
There’s often a very small sliver of the item in a box that it doesn’t recognise as being right. Also in the example above, what does it count as being a traffic light? Just the bulbs? The box containing the bulbs? The pole that holds it up?
I prefer the ones where it asks you to slide an image into the correct hole, kind of like a jigsaw. No ambiguity.
16-02-2024, 12:25 PM
I hate the ones where rather than it being multiple images and it saying “click on the boxes that contain a traffic light” it is just one image with a grid and it says “click in the boxes that contain traffic lights”.
There’s often a very small sliver of the item in a box that it doesn’t recognise as being right. Also in the example above, what does it count as being a traffic light? Just the bulbs? The box containing the bulbs? The pole that holds it up?
I prefer the ones where it asks you to slide an image into the correct hole, kind of like a jigsaw. No ambiguity.
That traffic light example is exactly what I thought of when this was mentioned.
As I understand it that type of captcha works by consensus (i.e., there isn't a correct answer programmed in, the 'correct' answer is whatever most people select). So you're trying to guess 'which boxes would most people say contain a traffic light?'
18-02-2024, 07:32 AM
The son on the new On the Beach advert gets right on my bosoms. 🤬
Fuzzywuzzy
18-02-2024, 09:47 AM
Adverts using some classic songs and changing their lyrics which just makes them seem dirty now
speedy_gonzales
18-02-2024, 09:54 AM
The son on the new On the Beach advert gets right on my bosoms. 🤬
If that's the same husky wee kid from their adverts last year, then yeah, totally get that!
18-02-2024, 01:59 PM
If that's the same husky wee kid from their adverts last year, then yeah, totally get that!
The gist of the advert is that they think they're something special because of some kind of priority access? I think the kid is quite good for the role - certainly outshines the other family members. And if you want to punch him in the face then job done?
I prefer this holiday advert to jet2 (I think) where everyone is young and ripped and can't walk anywhere without holding on to somebody's hand...
19-02-2024, 05:04 AM
The gist of the advert is that they think they're something special because of some kind of priority access? I think the kid is quite good for the role - certainly outshines the other family members. And if you want to punch him in the face then job done?
I prefer this holiday advert to jet2 (I think) where everyone is young and ripped and can't walk anywhere without holding on to somebody's hand...
The kid from the Muller Rice advert is similar and would benefit from a slap as well.
19-02-2024, 06:30 AM
And if you want to punch him in the face then job done?
Annoying little fuds on adverts are highly unlikely to encourage me to invest any £s in the product being advertised.
19-02-2024, 08:36 AM
Annoying little fuds on adverts are highly unlikely to encourage me to invest any £s in the product being advertised.
Yep "Marmite" characters. That's why I refuse to use Go Compare.
19-02-2024, 08:56 AM
Quite happy to be thanked when I’ve agreed to do it or deliver whatever it is, just not before [emoji12]
I say that all the time as an email sign off:greengrin I bet you'd hate me in the workplace.
19-02-2024, 08:58 AM
Starting up the car on a Sunday morning to go for the rolls and Radio Scotland is still on from yesterday. No idea of the programme that's on but it's boring as hell.
19-02-2024, 10:20 AM
The over complication of clothes washing. My missus routine.
Why do we need washing liquid, fabric softener, and wee baw scent booster things? Why can't all those 3 jobs be done with one thing?
Why does my house go through a bottle of fabric softener every 2 weeks when the bottle says it does 50 washes? There's 2 of us. The washing machine is on maybe 4 times a week. :confused:
19-02-2024, 11:08 AM
Why do we need washing liquid, fabric softener, and wee baw scent booster things? Why can't all those 3 jobs be done with one thing?
Why does my house go through a bottle of fabric softener every 2 weeks when the bottle says it does 50 washes? There's 2 of us. The washing machine is on maybe 4 times a week. :confused:
And they smell rotten, IMO.
I don’t want to smell like the inside of the factory that produces the stuff.
19-02-2024, 11:25 AM
Starting up the car on a Sunday morning to go for the rolls and Radio Scotland is still on from yesterday. No idea of the programme that's on but it's boring as hell.
:agree: usually some accordian eightsome reel p!ish :greengrin
19-02-2024, 11:34 AM
Probably not. But then, I find myself annoyed by almost every radio advert - to the point where I just can't listen to it. I think they are just aimed at everyone who isn't me!
I think clever advertising went out in the 90s and now they compete to be memorably irritating.
19-02-2024, 12:40 PM
Probably not. But then, I find myself annoyed by almost every radio advert - to the point where I just can't listen to it. I think they are just aimed at everyone who isn't me!
I think clever advertising went out in the 90s and now they compete to be memorably irritating.
I tend to TiVo non BBC stuff so I can avoid the adverts. Keeps the anger levels manageable. 😊
19-02-2024, 01:52 PM
I tend to TiVo non BBC stuff so I can avoid the adverts. Keeps the anger levels manageable. 😊
Don't upgrade to the newer Virgin box... for some channels you think you are recording something but all it is really doing is taking you the catch up for the programme meaning you can't fast forward through the ads. It isn't on everything but when it does happen it is really annoying. One of the many reasons I would recommend to not upgrade the box or upgrade to the newer software if possible.
19-02-2024, 06:53 PM
Don't upgrade to the newer Virgin box... for some channels you think you are recording something but all it is really doing is taking you the catch up for the programme meaning you can't fast forward through the ads. It isn't on everything but when it does happen it is really annoying. One of the many reasons I would recommend to not upgrade the box or upgrade to the newer software if possible.
I'm yet to stumble across that.
20-02-2024, 07:29 AM
There's 4 of us and the kids are incessantly grubby so the washing machine barely ******g stops. That routine is giving me the heeby jeebies - we shove (almost) everything in at 30 or 40, some "all rounder" laundry detergent and occasionally a scoop or 2 of stain remover and away we go.
Also, as mentioned elsewhere, the idea that anything with "Spring breeze" or "Mountain blast" on it as a scent smells remotely as advertised is laughable.
20-02-2024, 07:32 AM
Glasgow Queen Street station. Why do they only put the platform on the board 20 seconds before it’s due to leave?
To give the poor sods working there some light entertainment I guess? There's a website/app that tells you what platform what train is going to depart from a good bit in advance and is generally pretty bang on accurate - buggered if I can remember the name though...... :faf:
20-02-2024, 07:33 AM
It means both, no?
Is the verb not to permit etc, but the noun - i.e. a sanction/sanctions - mean a ban/restriction?
20-02-2024, 09:34 AM
Have never experienced that at all.
20-02-2024, 11:32 AM
Ive not got the new one, so cant say what your experiencing, but I have noticed before on my current one if the Mrs has put a series link on and watched then deleted the episode, the same one still shows up from whatever streaming service it was on. I.E ITV hub. So you think its the recorded episode, but its just the catch up one :confused:
20-02-2024, 12:57 PM
Ive not got the new one, so cant say what your experiencing, but I have noticed before on my current one if the Mrs has put a series link on and watched then deleted the episode, the same one still shows up from whatever streaming service it was on. I.E ITV hub. So you think its the recorded episode, but its just the catch up one :confused:
You need to change the settings in the series link from recordings and streaming videos to recordings only.
20-02-2024, 04:06 PM
You need to change the settings in the series link from recordings and streaming videos to recordings only.
I've had a brief look and can't seem to find that option on the 360. I'll have a more detailed look later.
There was a related peeve that happened last night. We had been out last night and got in at 9.30. My wife wanted to watch the Love Island final which started at 9. It is on a series link. It hadn't recorded. Went onto the channel guide and for some reason every programme on ITV 2 was showing as "No programme" or something along those lines so the series link wasn't picking it up. Also as a result of this it didn't offer the usual "Watch Live" or "Watch from Start" option. She had to wait and watch it on ITV 2+1
The main gripe I have with Virgin 360 (in my case the actual 360 box but others that have upgraded by just updating the software on their existing box have experienced the same thing) is that it simply doesn't work properly with most modern soundbars. It is advertised as working with Dolby 5.1 but if you choose that setting there is a massive audio sync issue that can't be resolved with the audio sync setting as that only allows you to adjust in one direction which is the wrong direction needed in this case. There's 100s of people reported this judging by the various forums but Virgin refuses to admit there's an issue. The result being is you need to have everything as PCM 2.0 which negates the point in having a 5.1 sound set up. Even if you set it to PCM 2.0, Netflix through the 360 is still out of sync.
20-02-2024, 04:21 PM
I've had a brief look and can't seem to find that option on the 360. I'll have a more detailed look later.
There was a related peeve that happened last night. We had been out last night and got in at 9.30. My wife wanted to watch the Love Island final which started at 9. It is on a series link. It hadn't recorded. Went onto the channel guide and for some reason every programme on ITV 2 was showing as "No programme" or something along those lines so the series link wasn't picking it up. Also as a result of this it didn't offer the usual "Watch Live" or "Watch from Start" option. She had to wait and watch it on ITV 2+1
The main gripe I have with Virgin 360 (in my case the actual 360 box but others that have upgraded by just updating the software on their existing box have experienced the same thing) is that it simply doesn't work properly with most modern soundbars. It is advertised as working with Dolby 5.1 but if you choose that setting there is a massive audio sync issue that can't be resolved with the audio sync setting as that only allows you to adjust in one direction which is the wrong direction needed in this case. There's 100s of people reported this judging by the various forums but Virgin refuses to admit there's an issue. The result being is you need to have everything as PCM 2.0 which negates the point in having a 5.1 sound set up. Even if you set it to PCM 2.0, Netflix through the 360 is still out of sync.
Can't help you with the 360 as we have a V6 and a TiVo box.
If you download the Virgin Control app you'll be able to change it to recordings only on there, you certainly can for our 2 boxes.
You could also Try Home-Help&Settings-Settings-Recordings too.
20-02-2024, 09:07 PM
Parents who on public transport don’t bother parenting and just shove a tablet with noisy games or cartoons loaded up on them - without headphones.
An hour and a half on a plane behind someone blasting out Peppa Pig, and the family on the right with some video game on their tablet full blast. Absolutely hellish.
It’s your job to comfort, entertain, chastise, or just look after your kid and if you’re going to make everyone else suffer because you’re too lazy to do your responsibility then have a good long hard look in the mirror.
Stairway 2 7
21-02-2024, 06:18 AM
Parents who on public transport don’t bother parenting and just shove a tablet with noisy games or cartoons loaded up on them - without headphones.
An hour and a half on a plane behind someone blasting out Peppa Pig, and the family on the right with some video game on their tablet full blast. Absolutely hellish.
It’s your job to comfort, entertain, chastise, or just look after your kid and if you’re going to make everyone else suffer because you’re too lazy to do your responsibility then have a good long hard look in the mirror.
Nothing wrong with giving kids an ipad on a flight but they should have headphones, same goes for adults watching a movie. I don't mind having bairns around me on a flight they are usually excited and happy and I understand they might cry with sore ears at some point. I'd rather kids than loud lads or couples that want you to hear their hilarious banter
21-02-2024, 08:51 AM
Nothing wrong with giving kids an ipad on a flight but they should have headphones, same goes for adults watching a movie. I don't mind having bairns around me on a flight they are usually excited and happy and I understand they might cry with sore ears at some point. I'd rather kids than loud lads or couples that want you to hear their hilarious banter
The lack of headphones is the thing. Kids will make noise, I’m aware of that. Parents thinking it’s acceptable to have cartoons or that blaring around is an almighty pet peeve for me - in fact, it may be in my top three pet peeves. It’s an absence of parenting, it’s teaching a child that they don’t need to care about anyone else around them and it’s so ****ing lazy.
Prepare ahead that you’ll need headphones, headphones explain why it would need to be on really, really quietly or just do without.
Stairway 2 7
21-02-2024, 09:26 AM
The lack of headphones is the thing. Kids will make noise, I’m aware of that. Parents thinking it’s acceptable to have cartoons or that blaring around is an almighty pet peeve for me - in fact, it may be in my top three pet peeves. It’s an absence of parenting, it’s teaching a child that they don’t need to care about anyone else around them and it’s so ****ing lazy.
Prepare ahead that you’ll need headphones, headphones explain why it would need to be on really, really quietly or just do without.
Nah I agree it's madness to think it's OK not to have headphones. I'll try and say this without appearing to be BNP as it isn't an insult to the people it's only a gripe for things thread but.. a number of south east Asian dudes on the bus are the same watching Bollywood films and music without headphones, mental stuff ha.
Also people talking on facetime or handsfree calls in public. I don't know why you would want to but I suppose it goes to your comment about just a lack of respect for other people.
Best thing I got for flights is good noise cancelling headphones. Can't hear a thing bar the movie I've downloaded, including the wife for a few hours.
21-02-2024, 09:56 AM
Nah I agree it's madness to think it's OK not to have headphones. I'll try and say this without appearing to be BNP as it isn't an insult to the people it's only a gripe for things thread but.. a number of south east Asian dudes on the bus are the same watching Bollywood films and music without headphones, mental stuff ha.
Also people talking on facetime or handsfree calls in public. I don't know why you would want to but I suppose it goes to your comment about just a lack of respect for other people.
Best thing I got for flights is good noise cancelling headphones. Can't hear a thing bar the movie I've downloaded, including the wife for a few hours.
My wife went mental at me when we were heading out the door to go catch a train because she saw me pick up my earphones for the journey. She was angry that I wouldn't want to chat for the entire 4 hours (2 hours there and back) that we were on the train. Yet she had hers for a flight down to London. She was too angry for me to question what the difference was between the train and plane. She still brings it up every time we go for a train... and by that I mean even just getting a train from South Gyle to Haymarket.
On the noise on public transport, I was on a train between Wolverhampton and Birmingham late at night and I was about the only person on the train that didn't have a boombox blasting out music. I was also one of the few that wasn't wearing a terrorist style balaclava. This was about 15 years ago, so (a) I thought boomboxes had gone out of fashion at least a decade before that and (b) I was shocked at the balaclavas as it wasn't like now when half of Edinburgh's youths seem to wear one.
stuart-farquhar
21-02-2024, 10:02 AM
Standing in Haymarket station. The screens say 'Edinburgh' for east bound trains. Where do they think I am then! Basically I'm moaning about the lack of 'Waverley' on the screens.
21-02-2024, 01:11 PM
Would rather be on a flight that had kids on it than a flight that's got drunken hen parties on it.
Fuzzywuzzy
21-02-2024, 01:31 PM
Did you see the video of the two guys and a woman on Edinburgh - Tenerife flight?? Oaft!! That looked the flight from hell and surprised they lasted the flight without getting a doing off someone
Stairway 2 7
21-02-2024, 03:27 PM
Did you see the video of the two guys and a woman on Edinburgh - Tenerife flight?? Oaft!! That looked the flight from hell and surprised they lasted the flight without getting a doing off someone
Aye unbelievable stuff absolute clowns, think there will be a few charges from Spanish police rightfully
21-02-2024, 03:58 PM
Some of your wives sound mental.
21-02-2024, 04:23 PM
Parents in a restaurant with their little darling watching Peppa Pig on a tablet with no headphones for over an hour. Chinese Manor House in Corstorphine. Left before I killed someone 🙃.
21-02-2024, 04:49 PM
They should have married a German.
21-02-2024, 05:06 PM
Parents in a restaurant with their little darling watching Peppa Pig on a tablet with no headphones for over an hour. Chinese Manor House in Corstorphine. Left before I killed someone 🙃.
Quite tempted to play music really loud on my phone with no headphones if there is someone else in the train / restaurant either watching films or on a call on loudspeaker. Doubt I'd have the courage to do it.
21-02-2024, 07:04 PM
Aye unbelievable stuff absolute clowns, think there will be a few charges from Spanish police rightfully
We spent ages waiting on the tarmac in Tenerife for the police to arrive to arrest some of the aforementioned hen party. They all thought they were funny/smart at the time until they were carted off by the police. Don't think they believed it was gonna happen until it happened.
Not what you need after a 5 hour flight.
ErinGoBraghHFC
21-02-2024, 09:31 PM
Would rather be on a flight that had kids on it than a flight that's got drunken hen parties on it.
I’d prefer neither, but I know that’s greedy
ErinGoBraghHFC
21-02-2024, 09:32 PM
No comment
Fuzzywuzzy
22-02-2024, 08:29 AM
Gates on the crawford bridge being pulled over on one side during match days. Does my nut in. If I go that way before the game I'll open them. Been a couple of times after the match where they've been pulled over and just makes the flow of the fans a complete pain in the arse.
22-02-2024, 09:39 AM
People who don't read an out of office reply.
My autorespond clearly states I'm out the office, my emails aren't being monitored, aren't being forwarded and if it's urgent to email an alternative address. Don't phone me a day later moaning because I haven't replied to your email.
22-02-2024, 10:49 AM
People who don't read an out of office reply.
My autorespond clearly states I'm out the office, my emails aren't being monitored, aren't being forwarded and if it's urgent to email an alternative address. Don't phone me a day later moaning because I haven't replied to your email.
I hope you add this to your autoreply.
22-02-2024, 12:05 PM
Important information regarding payment of pension from the DWP requested on the phone on 11th December arrived today.
Which bit of important, and needed for my self assessment deadline of 31st January do they don't understand.
22-02-2024, 12:52 PM
Bought a washing machine in November it broke in December. Engineer been out 3 times and still not fixed. Going of my head now. Can they not just replace the ducking thing.
22-02-2024, 01:54 PM
Bought a washing machine in November it broke in December. Engineer been out 3 times and still not fixed. Going of my head now. Can they not just replace the ducking thing.
Yes, check consumer rights.
Edit
Getting a repair, replacement or refund
Bought within the last 30 days - you can get a refund on a faulty product.
Bought within the last 6 months - you are entitled to have it repaired or replaced once. If the item still doesn’t work you should get a full refund.
Bought more than 6 months ago - you may still get a repair or replacement but you will only get a partial refund to reflect the use you’ve got out of the item. You’ll need to prove you didn’t cause the fault which may make it harder to get redress. These rights apply to items bought after 1st October 2015.
Repair doesn’t work? If you have one repair and it doesn’t succeed, you can ask for a full or partial refunding, depending on when the purchase was made.
Replaced with something different? The retailer should try to replace the item like-for-like. This may not always be possible, so if you’re offered something you don’t want you can ask for a refund.
Hope that helps. Citizens advice website.
https://www.citizensadvice.org.uk/about-us/about-us1/media/press-releases/shoppers-urged-to-use-their-consumer-rights/
22-02-2024, 02:10 PM
What brand is it? I do a lot of warranty work at my work and there are some brands who are ridiculously unhelpful to their distributors and often put them in really difficult positions with the end user. Samsung and Dyson to name but two.
22-02-2024, 03:00 PM
What brand is it? I do a lot of warranty work at my work and there are some brands who are ridiculously unhelpful to their distributors and often put them in really difficult positions with the end user. Samsung and Dyson to name but two.
Its a hoover washing machine and pacifica have been out 3 times on their behalf to repair it. Guy just fd off last time without saying anything and got a text saying they need to order parts. Could the guy not have figured that out on his previous visits.....
22-02-2024, 03:11 PM
Edit
Bought within the last 6 months - you are entitled to have it repaired or replaced once. If the item still doesn’t work you should get a full refund.
Bought more than 6 months ago - you may still get a repair or replacement but you will only get a partial refund to reflect the use you’ve got out of the item. You’ll need to prove you didn’t cause the fault which may make it harder to get redress. These rights apply to items bought after 1st October 2015.
Repair doesn’t work? If you have one repair and it doesn’t succeed, you can ask for a full or partial refunding, depending on when the purchase was made.
Replaced with something different? The retailer should try to replace the item like-for-like. This may not always be possible, so if you’re offered something you don’t want you can ask for a refund.
https://www.citizensadvice.org.uk/about-us/about-us1/media/press-releases/shoppers-urged-to-use-their-consumer-rights/
So do you think its better to go back to the place I bought it rather than dealing with hoover?
22-02-2024, 03:39 PM
So do you think its better to go back to the place I bought it rather than dealing with hoover?
Absolutely. That's who you have a contract with.
https://www.mygov.scot/consumer-rights
Consumer rights
Last updated 1 Jul 2022
If you buy something from a shop and you are not happy with it you have certain rights.
You have the right to get a full refund, repair or replacement if what you bought isn't:
of a satisfactory quality – it should not be faulty or damaged
fit for purpose – it should be able to do the task you bought it for
as described – it must match the description given to you when you bought it
After 30 days
If the 30 day refund period has passed, you may still be able to get a refund if your item is faulty.
But before you can ask for a refund, you must give the shop a chance to either repair or replace your item.
You can choose whether to have your item repaired or replaced. But the shop can refuse your choice if the other option is cheaper.
Faulty items
If you find a fault with something within 6 months of buying it, it's assumed the fault was there when you bought it.
The shop must fix it, replace it or give you a full refund.
If you find the fault more than 6 months after you bought it, you have to prove it was faulty when you got it. Otherwise the shop doesn't have to give you a refund.
If the goods do not last a reasonable length of time (up to 5 years) you may be entitled to some money back.
If in doubt talk to trading standards at the council.
22-02-2024, 05:49 PM
That could be a jail job, they don't muck about when it comes to aviation.
22-02-2024, 07:30 PM
Not too dissimilar in terms of extra work to the covers you get for the glass recycling boxes.
We are near the depot and they are usually with us sometime before 6.30 so we need to put them out the night before for the landfill. Recycling and food waste is a lottery when they come.
More annoying is due to the pavements in our street being on the same level as the road, the binmen seem to not bother actually returning the bins to the pavement and just leave them in the middle of the road. If you happen to be the first car in/out of the street after them you have to constantly stop, get out and move the bins so you can get past
Not a direct reply to you, but regarding the bins being blown over my council are giving these free to keep the lids shut.
https://www.facebook.com/share/umt6sS1kjnU6sAUZ/
https://oasisbinloc.co.uk/product/standard-strap-binstrap/?fbclid=IwAR2g89ZWQOjbp4oC_xxIXx7rX4Y9Y4Ekpejvz3wo AMrigJNRl4MtDykl7zk
Edit
Excellent advice, the Consumer Rights Act is a powerful aid to all of us
23-02-2024, 10:58 AM
Descaling the coffee machine.
Fuzzywuzzy
25-02-2024, 05:37 PM
Bluetooth ear buds that separate for no reason. Got about three pairs that won't connect together!!
25-02-2024, 05:46 PM
Been mentioned a number of times already, but...
Going to watch a film that's advertised to start at 12:30, but the film itself doesn't actually starts until 12:55, as you have to suffer 25 minutes of trailers, ads and who knows what nonsense first.
It wasn't just the time, it was the ridiculous noise levels of some of the trailers, and the nonsense in some of the adverts, e.g. peoples whole lives being turned into some paradisaic fantasy all because they drink Coca-Cola!
25-02-2024, 09:28 PM
Bluetooth ear buds that separate for no reason. Got about three pairs that won't connect together!!
I gave up with ear buds and went back to good old wired headphones. Thought buds were crap and they didn't really fit my ears well anyway.
26-02-2024, 08:48 AM
People who stand milimetres behind you in the queue at the supermarket. Had some old woman whose shopping bag was on the back of my knees as she was standing so close in the queue for some unbeknownst reason.
26-02-2024, 09:41 AM
People who stand milimetres behind you in the queue at the supermarket. Had some old woman whose shopping bag was on the back of my knees as she was standing so close in the queue for some unbeknownst reason.
That is really annoying. Happened to me a while back and the guy behind me had chronic halitosis. I couldn't move forward as I would be doing the same to the wifie in front of me (hopefully minus the halitosis ;))
Buses and some of the people on them. Taxi was off the road and got a bus to the garage on Friday, big huge guy sat behind me and was on his phone, normally not a problem but he had his sounds on his keyboard. Click, click, clickety click in my left ear, then he started mumbling to himself, I was so close to turning round and telling him to shut the **** up, I hate buses.
26-02-2024, 11:50 AM
Had a fight with a retailer about an oven that broke just after we got it, engineer came out once, fixed a relay or something on it, that repair lasted two weeks so went back to the retailer, they said contact the manufacturer, contacted them, they said go back to the retailer (which is right, by the way).
Ended up having to go to the Chief Exec of the company to eventually get a new oven out, utter shambles.
26-02-2024, 12:22 PM
First semi decent day of the year and the power tool ******s are out in force :rolleyes:
26-02-2024, 02:58 PM
Folk behind you that start loading their shopping onto the belt at the supermarket before you are finished. I had that happen the other day. The shopping of the person in front of me was relatively far forward, so I started loading my stuff directly behind their stuff. The woman behind me starts loading her stuff at the back of me and I mean not even just at the back of the belt but really close to my first few items. I had quite a lot of stuff as well.
StevieT
26-02-2024, 04:02 PM
People who think it is acceptable to take a tube of Pringles to the cinema
What's wrong with that? Asking for a friend :greengrin
Fuzzywuzzy
26-02-2024, 04:18 PM
What your thoughts on pringles on a plane?asking for a friend too🤔
speedy_gonzales
26-02-2024, 07:08 PM
What your thoughts on pringles on a plane?asking for a friend too🤔
There's no way you could take a full size pack on board. With the slightly lower air pressure, that's just a grenade, quite literally waiting to go "pop"! The small snack packs are bad enough as it is.
Looking back over this thread I've realised I'm an incredibly annoying person :greengrin
26-02-2024, 07:24 PM
Looking back over this thread I've realised I'm an incredibly annoying person :greengrin
You take Pringles to the Cinema?
Shame on you!
You take Pringles to the Cinema?
Shame on you!
Yup and I also walk about looking at my phone like a fart in a trance , wear headphones and pretty much everything else that annoys people - but I'm okay with that. Somebody has to keep you all on your toes. :greengrin
Shan baseball caps on nappers that wouldn't even suit a decent baseball cap.
Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk
28-02-2024, 08:00 AM
A litany of public transport peeves from me:
Disappearing buses. I use the Lothian Buses tracker and get on at the Jewel terminus. My house is a 5 minute walk from the stop. I leave the house about 10 minutes before the bus is due, get to the stop when the tracker says 5-6 mins, watch it tick down to due, sit at that for ages and the just disappear with the next bus showing as 20 minutes or whatever. An occurrence that is too regular, probably 3-4 times a month.
The seat spacing on Lothian single deckers. Were these designed by someone under 4ft. I'm 6'3" so tall but not freakishly so and they are so uncomfortable, you are literally jammed in and I can't get close to sitting straight. It either means taking up 2 seats or awkwardly rubbing legs with someone sitting next to you.
Why does it cost £7.50 to get the tram from Newhaven to the airport and exactly the same when I jumped on at Edinburgh Park last week covering a fraction of the distance? I had to do the same journey yesterday and just jumped off at Ingliston Park & Ride and walked the last 5 minutes, total cost - £2.
Why is there no 'city zone' return option on trains? I get the train from Brunstane to Edinburgh Park once a week. £3.60 single or £3.80 return. Last week I had to get the train in to Wester Hailes but home from Edinburgh Park. The only way to do it is 2 singles at £3.60 each. The respective journeys are the same single price, same return price and roughly the same journey time. Surely it isn't beyond Scotrail to do a 'return valid from these city stations' option.
Alfiembra
28-02-2024, 11:11 AM
Battery multi packs, I only need one small GP186 for an alarm clock which will last me years, but I can only buy a pack of 4.
28-02-2024, 11:48 AM
Unofficial blue badge Police! Took the mother in law and my wife to the Gyle this morning and parked in disabled bay with badge displayed, unloaded wheelchair got the mother in law in it and we all went into the Gyle. I had a coffee with them and then left them there for a few hours. On getting back into the car, a nosey elderly guy marches over and asks “is that your blue badge”. I replied and said No it’s not but thanks for asking. He then went off on one about how I was abusing the system and that he was going to report me, he photographed my reg plate! Couldn’t see why I should explain to him so once again thanked him, smiled and got in my car leaving him ranting 😂
29-02-2024, 09:26 AM
Unofficial blue badge Police! Took the mother in law and my wife to the Gyle this morning and parked in disabled bay with badge displayed, unloaded wheelchair got the mother in law in it and we all went into the Gyle. I had a coffee with them and then left them there for a few hours. On getting back into the car, a nosey elderly guy marches over and asks “is that your blue badge”. I replied and said No it’s not but thanks for asking. He then went off on one about how I was abusing the system and that he was going to report me, he photographed my reg plate! Couldn’t see why I should explain to him so once again thanked him, smiled and got in my car leaving him ranting 😂
Must be something about the Gyle. We parked up outside M&S in my sister in law’s car which is clearly an adapted car. Me and my wife got out and were discussing where we would go first and somebody came up and started moaning that we must be abusing the blue badge system. Face changed when my wife opened the back to reveal her disabled sister.
Aside from that, one of us could have had a hidden disability that qualified us for a blue badge.
29-02-2024, 09:38 AM
A litany of public transport peeves from me:
Disappearing buses. I use the Lothian Buses tracker and get on at the Jewel terminus. My house is a 5 minute walk from the stop. I leave the house about 10 minutes before the bus is due, get to the stop when the tracker says 5-6 mins, watch it tick down to due, sit at that for ages and the just disappear with the next bus showing as 20 minutes or whatever. An occurrence that is too regular, probably 3-4 times a month.
The seat spacing on Lothian single deckers. Were these designed by someone under 4ft. I'm 6'3" so tall but not freakishly so and they are so uncomfortable, you are literally jammed in and I can't get close to sitting straight. It either means taking up 2 seats or awkwardly rubbing legs with someone sitting next to you.
Why does it cost £7.50 to get the tram from Newhaven to the airport and exactly the same when I jumped on at Edinburgh Park last week covering a fraction of the distance? I had to do the same journey yesterday and just jumped off at Ingliston Park & Ride and walked the last 5 minutes, total cost - £2.
Why is there no 'city zone' return option on trains? I get the train from Brunstane to Edinburgh Park once a week. £3.60 single or £3.80 return. Last week I had to get the train in to Wester Hailes but home from Edinburgh Park. The only way to do it is 2 singles at £3.60 each. The respective journeys are the same single price, same return price and roughly the same journey time. Surely it isn't beyond Scotrail to do a 'return valid from these city stations' option.
Re your Scotrail one that has prompted a pet peeve of mine which kind of explains your one. It’s not all the same price between the city stations. I live close to both South Gyle and Edinburgh Park. It is cheaper to go from Haymarket to South Gyle than it is Haymarket to Edinburgh Park. Which is strange. There’s no intermediate station on either route and it is roughly the same distance.
I’ve had the same thought as you about the city ticket as sometimes it’s worth not waiting on a South Gyle train and is better getting an Edinburgh Park train and walking the wee bit extra at the end.
Bridge hibs
29-02-2024, 01:07 PM
One of my Wifes friends had a stroke and was given an adapted car and access to a disabled bay outside her flat in Craigentinny. She got up one morning recently to find her drivers side window smashed and her blue badge stolen
To make things worse she went back to her car after reporting it to Police only to find a traffic warden had stickered her for not displaying her blue badge 😡
Drama queen's. Drive me nuts.
I bought a pregnancy ball on vinted. No word after 7 days so i sent a message saying Hi, are you intending on sending this item. As its been 7 days I'm just checking everything is OK.
Complete meltdown by the seller accusing me of being rude. Messages back and forward, mostly me saying its an £8 order calm doon. Turns out the word 'intending' is rude and triggered her. I just can't deal with the drama. Post the ball or cancel the order. Job done. :rolleyes:
Bridge hibs
03-03-2024, 10:59 AM
Drama queen's. Drive me nuts.
I bought a pregnancy ball on vinted. No word after 7 days so i sent a message saying Hi, are you intending on sending this item. As its been 7 days I'm just checking everything is OK.
Complete meltdown by the seller accusing me of being rude. Messages back and forward, mostly me saying its an £8 order calm doon. Turns out the word 'intending' is rude and triggered her. I just can't deal with the drama. Post the ball or cancel the order. Job done. :rolleyes:I dont use any of those places but my Son In Law is a very respected seller so he gets rid of my stuff for me. My problem are people wanting something for nothing despite me knocking a fair chunk off it in the first place
I have a few guitars and decided to sell a couple, one was over £1000 when I bought it and I also paid around £500 to give it a complete overhaul, for good measure I threw in a practice amp, shoulder strap, new strings, hard case etc, an absolute knockdown price of £700
My Son In Law messaged me a week after putting it up for sale with someone offering £400 🤣
I sold it a day later for my asking price 😁
03-03-2024, 11:40 AM
I dont use any of those places but my Son In Law is a very respected seller so he gets rid of my stuff for me. My problem are people wanting something for nothing despite me knocking a fair chunk off it in the first place
I have a few guitars and decided to sell a couple, one was over £1000 when I bought it and I also paid around £500 to give it a complete overhaul, for good measure I threw in a practice amp, shoulder strap, new strings, hard case etc, an absolute knockdown price of £700
My Son In Law messaged me a week after putting it up for sale with someone offering £400 🤣
I sold it a day later for my asking price 😁
I know that is annoying for you as the seller but I find that quite funny in that it's just a total chancer trying his luck on a big ticket item. You are never going to sell to them at that price.
It's the people who haggle over miniscule amounts I don't get. I usually just bag stuff up for the charity shop if it's still in decent nick when I'm done with it. I did have a couple do really nice shirts I had never worn and decided to sell them in Vinted recently. They were both priced at £90, I got them in a sale for £50 and stuck them on Vinted both still with tags for £15. One guy offered £14 which I rejected because it's a decent item and already a bargain for him. He came back and offered £14.50. Mate it's 50 ****ing pence. I rejected the offer just out of spite really and someone else paid the asked price. Both shirts sold in less than a day so it wasn't like I was totally over with my pricing, if anything I was under. I can't imagine missing out on something I wanted for the sake of trying to save 50p.
Bridge hibs
03-03-2024, 12:21 PM
I know that is annoying for you as the seller but I find that quite funny in that it's just a total chancer trying his luck on a big ticket item. You are never going to sell to them at that price.
It's the people who haggle over miniscule amounts I don't get. I usually just bag stuff up for the charity shop if it's still in decent nick when I'm done with it. I did have a couple do really nice shirts I had never worn and decided to sell them in Vinted recently. They were both priced at £90, I got them in a sale for £50 and stuck them on Vinted both still with tags for £15. One guy offered £14 which I rejected because it's a decent item and already a bargain for him. He came back and offered £14.50. Mate it's 50 ****ing pence. I rejected the offer just out of spite really and someone else paid the asked price. Both shirts sold in less than a day so it wasn't like I was totally over with my pricing, if anything I was under. I can't imagine missing out on something I wanted for the sake of trying to save 50p.Funny you say that about the charity, I had another guitar and amp plus bits n bobs which I was selling for £100, again I got offered around £60 which I refused.
I then seen a youth club in Niddrie who were looking for unwanted musical instruments so they could teach young folk in the area how to play music, perfect, I contacted them and they collected an acoustic, an electric guitar, an amp, cables, foot pedal and some plectrums, someone will benefit and I managed to clear some space
For my new guitars 😁
03-03-2024, 12:44 PM
That Pot Noodle advert..
It's the people who haggle over miniscule amounts I don't get. I usually just bag stuff up for the charity shop if it's still in decent nick when I'm done with it. I did have a couple do really nice shirts I had never worn and decided to sell them in Vinted recently. They were both priced at £90, I got them in a sale for £50 and stuck them on Vinted both still with tags for £15. One guy offered £14 which I rejected because it's a decent item and already a bargain for him. He came back and offered £14.50. Mate it's 50 ****ing pence. I rejected the offer just out of spite really and someone else paid the asked price. Both shirts sold in less than a day so it wasn't like I was totally over with my pricing, if anything I was under. I can't imagine missing out on something I wanted for the sake of trying to save 50p.
You also get the opposite side if it on places like eBay, where sellers do similar.
Item is advertised at £50, but open for offers. So you offer £40, seller responds saying £49.50. So you offer £45, seller says £49.25. Usually just chuck it at that point, don’t say you’re open to offers then take the piss when someone actually does that. Just set it at buy it now for 50, saves a lot of faffing about
Bridge hibs
03-03-2024, 04:26 PM
You also get the opposite side if it on places like eBay, where sellers do similar.
Item is advertised at £50, but open for offers. So you offer £40, seller responds saying £49.50. So you offer £45, seller says £49.25. Usually just chuck it at that point, don’t say you’re open to offers then take the piss when someone actually does that. Just set it at buy it now for 50, saves a lot of faffing about
I actually dont mind someone trying to knock a tenner off the price as I dont know their budgets so worth a try. Im not in the business of selling anything for gain and Im happy my equipment is going to a good home
A few years ago I sold a stunning Tanglewood guitar after only 6 months of owning it, I just didnt like its playability so knocked £50 off the price I bought it for. A guy from Kirkaldy who played in a folk band messaged me almost immediately but asked if I would accept £10 off the price
I accepted and he drove over within an hour, tried the guitar and handed the cash over, no piss take and both of us happy
MKHIBEE
03-03-2024, 06:15 PM
That Pot Noodle advert..
Does my head in, awful advert
ErinGoBraghHFC
03-03-2024, 06:36 PM
That Pot Noodle advert..
I see your pot noodle advert and raise you the on the beach advert. Christmas songs in March? **** off.
I actually dont mind someone trying to knock a tenner off the price as I dont know their budgets so worth a try. Im not in the business of selling anything for gain and Im happy my equipment is going to a good home
A few years ago I sold a stunning Tanglewood guitar after only 6 months of owning it, I just didnt like its playability so knocked £50 off the price I bought it for. A guy from Kirkaldy who played in a folk band messaged me almost immediately but asked if I would accept £10 off the price
I accepted and he drove over within an hour, tried the guitar and handed the cash over, no piss take and both of us happy
Sorry mate, should have made myself clearer, I wasn’t referring to you, I agree with a lot of what your post said :greengrin
Like you, I’d happily see a bit less money and see something go to a good home
03-03-2024, 10:03 PM
I see your pot noodle advert and raise you the on the beach advert. Christmas songs in March? **** off.
I’m catching up on a podcast so about 6 months out of date and the advert might not be playing anymore. However the McDonalds radio add for working for them. They’re making a big play about the flexible working for a managers job, fair enough. Though the actor/character they chose sounds like they have had a lobotomy. It’s bizarre, they sound like an alien trying to impersonate a human.
Bridge hibs
04-03-2024, 05:52 AM
Sorry mate, should have made myself clearer, I wasn’t referring to you, I agree with a lot of what your post said :greengrin
Like you, I’d happily see a bit less money and see something go to a good homeOh of course mate I didnt think you were referring to me 👍
I was just on my high horse there for a bit 😁
I agree though and I always chop a fair chunk off the price as Im not really interested in making profits, most of the guitars and equipment have been used and although at times frustrating they were a part of my learning and Im just happy for someone to get a use out of the stuff rather than it all gathering dust in the corner of a room
Chopping the price off a 6 month old guitar to almost half price and someone offers half of that is taking the piss though
Come on horsey 🤣
04-03-2024, 09:51 AM
That Pot Noodle advert..
Channel gets changed as soon as it comes on.
04-03-2024, 07:39 PM
Folk that insist on using bigliest on The Main Forum when referring to Hearts.
05-03-2024, 08:34 AM
The constant use of bigliest on the main forum, file it in the same bin as baller, oh my days and my bad.
Folk that insist on using bigliest on The Main Forum when referring to Hearts.
People who repeat themselves.
05-03-2024, 09:13 AM
People who repeat themselves.
I'll probably continue to repeat it until it ceases to be a thing.
05-03-2024, 12:19 PM
I'll probably continue to repeat it until it ceases to be a thing.You may be at it a while. What would you replace bigliest with? Works for me as the sort of adjective they like to present themselves with while extracting urine.
05-03-2024, 02:10 PM
You may be at it a while. What would you replace bigliest with? Works for me as the sort of adjective they like to present themselves with while extracting urine.
It's a thread for Pet Peeves, that's my main one for now.
People that say "Oh my days" may continue to be top of the list having given it further consideration.
When someone is interviewed and clickbait claims they have 'spoken out' or 'broken their silence' . They've just had a chat and answered a question :rolleyes:
05-03-2024, 08:01 PM
when someone is interviewed and clickbait claims they have 'spoken out' or 'broken their silence' . They've just had a chat and answered a question :rolleyes:
"Jay from hibs.net breaks his silence on clickbait interview fury"
06-03-2024, 12:54 PM
Commentators that prefix or suffix Harry Kane's name every time with "the England captain".
Last night, they couldn't just say his name. If it wasn't "great strike by Harry Kane, the England captain" it was "brilliant link up play from the England captain, Harry Kane". Why wasn't it "lovely play by Joshua Kimmich, the Germany vice-captain"? He just got plain old "Kimmich".
Fuzzywuzzy
06-03-2024, 03:14 PM
Just saw an ad on Facebook for "dog mum" mother's day cards. Wtaf is that about ? ****ing mental.
ErinGoBraghHFC
06-03-2024, 05:32 PM
Just saw an ad on Facebook for "dog mum" mother's day cards. Wtaf is that about ? ****ing mental.
Have to agree, ****ing annoying. Through work I meet a lot of “cat mummy’s and daddy’s” with “fur babies” (BOKE). They’re all extraordinarily nippy, I really do dread to imagine their social circle. Now I love my cats, I really do, but they’re not my babies. In fact, in cat years my oldest would be 15 years older than me. Also can’t stand when people talk to their pets as if they’re talking to a newborn.
06-03-2024, 06:13 PM
Have to agree, ****ing annoying. Through work I meet a lot of “cat mummy’s and daddy’s” with “fur babies” (BOKE). They’re all extraordinarily nippy, I really do dread to imagine their social circle. Now I love my cats, I really do, but they’re not my babies. In fact, in cat years my oldest would be 15 years older than me. Also can’t stand when people talk to their pets as if they’re talking to a newborn.
Must admit I do talk a load of utter nonsense to my dog when nobody's listening but "fur babies" is scarily common and utterly bonkers.
ErinGoBraghHFC
06-03-2024, 07:19 PM
Must admit I do talk a load of utter nonsense to my dog when nobody's listening but "fur babies" is scarily common and utterly bonkers.
Oh I talk utter pish to my cats too mate but it’s the daft wee baby voice in front of company, bizarre
07-03-2024, 08:23 AM
Oh I talk utter pish to my cats too mate but it’s the daft wee baby voice in front of company, bizarre
Agree with all of the above.
They're animals from a different species, if you want to mother something have a baby.
My wife has a friend who got a dog with their partner, mothered it to the point of absurdity (picking him up, calling him "son", holding like a baby etc) and then shock horror they got married and then got pregnant within the space of a year or so and the dog was a yappy, jealous nightmare when the baby was born so he had to be given away. So the dog suffers in the long term because of the mental behaviour of the owners.
07-03-2024, 12:35 PM
If my wife doesn't get a card from our dogs she'll genuinely go in the huff with me. Same with her birthday. Was moaning about game on Sunday but with it being a later kick off I've talked her round. If it had be earlier, nightmare.
07-03-2024, 12:43 PM
If my wife doesn't get a card from our dogs she'll genuinely go in the huff with me.
But she's not annoyed at the dogs?
09-03-2024, 06:03 PM
Getting banned from promotions and free games on Virgin Bet... ah sorry lads, did you not turn me into the problem gambler like you wanted?
(I'm a bit conflicted on this one to be fair, they're a business and have identified me as someone who just takes there's freebies and spends nothing... but they offer them up and that's their choice. Would Costco ban me if I go there every week, take a free sample and leave?).
I genuinely enjoyed by daily fives player and checking if they'd scored at the weekend, my wife played too and we'd compare teams etc. Generally I'd be wanting on some defender from West Ham scoring for 50p or something which would have no bearing on their profits.
11-03-2024, 11:46 AM
If my wife doesn't get a card from our dogs she'll genuinely go in the huff with me. Same with her birthday. Was moaning about game on Sunday but with it being a later kick off I've talked her round. If it had be earlier, nightmare.
Doesn't get a card "from your dogs"?!? Like a birthday card written presumably by you but as if it's from your dogs?!?
I think I'm misunderstanding something TBF 😅
For me, currently it's the word "winningest" and "he's come up clutch" in sports commentary. Just American bollocks, pure and simple.
11-03-2024, 11:55 AM
"The streets will remember..."
WTF is all that about?
Further evidence that I'm clearly getting auld, which is my main peeve.
11-03-2024, 12:16 PM
WTF is all that about?
Followed by a pretty well known player (or music artist etc) from about 15 years ago at most as if 2008 was some far off era dominated by whooping cough and outdoor lavvies.
11-03-2024, 12:21 PM
Not having a clue what some posters' peeves are actually about.
He's here!
11-03-2024, 12:35 PM
Household dust and the speed at which it returns.
11-03-2024, 06:38 PM
Doesn't get a card "from your dogs"?!? Like a birthday card written presumably by you but as if it's from your dogs?!?
I think I'm misunderstanding something TBF 😅
For me, currently it's the word "winningest" and "he's come up clutch" in sports commentary. Just American bollocks, pure and simple.
Nope, your right 🙃.
ErinGoBraghHFC
11-03-2024, 07:40 PM
WTF is all that about?
You must be getting auld, it’s “the streets will never forget”! And the only person fitting of it is Adel Taarabt. What a pler.
11-03-2024, 08:32 PM
WTF is all that about?
I'm not sure Mikey Skinner would remember. ☺️
Just_Jimmy
12-03-2024, 01:39 AM
You must be getting auld, it’s “the streets will never forget”! And the only person fitting of it is Adel Taarabt. What a pler.
Sent from my iPhone using TapatalkAnd Tony Yeboah.
Sent from my SM-G991B using Tapatalk
The Evening News reporting on a cafe/restaurant/shop being "beloved" when it closes down, WTF.
13-03-2024, 08:44 AM
Folk that superset at the gym at a busy time and basically reserve several bits of equipment at once. I don't mind if they have a kettlebell or a dumbbell and use that between sets on a resistance machine but sometimes it is multiple resistance machines all being reserved at once.
There was an even more annoying variation on this at my gym last night. There was a girl who wasn't supersetting but reserving the next machine she wanted to go on. So for example, she was on the shoulder press machine and her towel and water were on the lat pull machine seat. She finished the shoulder press, moved the bottle and towel to the chest press machine and went on the lat pull machine and so forth this went on. I was very tempted to either remove the bottle and towel and go on the machine or try sneak in to the machine she was about to go on when she was mid-moving the bottle and towel.
13-03-2024, 10:00 AM
People who litter.
People who don't queue.
People who don't vote.
People who vote in ********s and are then surprised.
People who have no historical knowledge of before about 2000.
People who leave their dogs barking incessantly in the back garden after 10pm.
People who drive with no spatial awareness of what is going on behind them.
People who talk complete *****.
People who endorse people who talk *****.
People who ignore facts.
Free massive advertising for Glastonbury on BBC news coverage when its a commercial event.
Have I Got News for You for playing a massive part in making Boris Johnson a thing.
I am 59.
13-03-2024, 10:13 AM
59 year old moaning buzzards 😀
13-03-2024, 11:31 AM
59 year old moaning buzzards 😀
Fair
13-03-2024, 03:45 PM
People who litter.
People who don't queue.
People who don't vote.
People who ignore facts.
Free massive advertising for Glastonbury on BBC news coverage when its a commercial event.
Have I Got News for You for playing a massive part in making Boris Johnson a thing.
I am 59.
Regarding the barking dog, simply do what I do and lift the dog into your own back garden and then go back indoors, see how your neighbour likes it.
Bridge hibs
13-03-2024, 04:50 PM
Getting old, ever notice that the older you get you start to feel like an old car, one thing goes, then the next, then the next. Get something fixed and another thing goes South
Would love to be transported back to my bullet proof youth where I had never heard of a Drs Surgery 🤢
speedy_gonzales
13-03-2024, 09:17 PM
People who litter.
People who don't queue.
People who don't vote.
People who ignore facts.
I am 59.
Testify brother, thread closed!
14-03-2024, 03:44 PM
Perhaps this now belongs in the things that give you pleasure thread due to a satisfiability ending but selling a house - time waster viewers, sales falling through due to things that should/could have been anticipated... finally got a part exchange offer from our next development which allows for us to make the move though.
15-03-2024, 10:41 AM
Virgin Media. I'm out of contract. I went on their website last night to see what deals I could get. I had to log into my account. Clicked on a deal to see what was included this was listed at "step 2 of 3". Didn't fancy it, so closed it down. I've now received an email with a contract. Changing buggers. I'll now have to phone them and wait in a queue for ages.
15-03-2024, 11:07 AM
People who litter.
People who don't queue.
People who don't vote.
People who ignore facts.
I am 59.
I agree with a lot of this list but to be fair to both the BBC and Glastonbury, they have a deal where the BBC get to cover the festival exclusively and Glastonbury get the coverage*. Essentially the BBC aren't advertising the festival, as that would be against their own rules but they will advertise their coverage of the festival. Eavis could easily sell the rights to Glasto coverage to a commercial media service but choses the BBC so it is on non-subscription TV and the BBCs coverage of the event is excellent across their various services.
* There has been FOI requests put into the BBC to see the details of the cost of Glastonbury, which would include any payment to Eaves for the coverage but it has been ruled to be outwith FOI Act as it would place the BBC at a commercial disadvantage to their non public service competitors. But we know the BBC invest a lot of resources into the coverage across their radio/TV and online services (Glastonbury is far and away their most successful digital programming). Eaves has never stated he gets a payment for the coverage from the BBC but you'd need to assume he does, I doubt that would comes close to what he could get if the rights were auctioned off onto commercial media as it still remains one of the best music and arts festivals in the world.
Fuzzywuzzy
15-03-2024, 11:37 AM
People that get **** faced on planes and act like Fanny's. Airline should have a duty of care to stop serving said individual. The guy had five bottles of wine and five rums on a 3.5 hr flight
Bridge hibs
15-03-2024, 12:37 PM
People that get **** faced on planes and act like Fanny's. Airline should have a duty of care to stop serving said individual. The guy had five bottles of wine and five rums on a 3.5 hr flight
Ah you cant beat that holiday feeling 😁
I suppose its down to tolerance, Ive had many a “scoop” on a plane going a similar journey and wasnt drunk or being a dick, I enjoy a few as it relaxes me and then I pop on my headphones and chill out. Nowadays its coffee if I fly anywhere
A few years ago I had a pleasant wee Glaswegian lady sat beside me and she bought half the drinks trolley and more, I wasnt worried about her being a drunk old radge, I was more worried she would leave me nowt on the trolley 😁
15-03-2024, 12:49 PM
Trouble is they will probably kick off at being told 'no'. Happened to a guy on my flight to Thailand last year. He was basically asking for a beer every time a member of staff went past. Eventually they said no and he caused an even bigger scene.
15-03-2024, 01:01 PM
Getting banned from promotions and free games on Virgin Bet... ah sorry lads, did you not turn me into the problem gambler like you wanted?
(I'm a bit conflicted on this one to be fair, they're a business and have identified me as someone who just takes there's freebies and spends nothing... but they offer them up and that's their choice. Would Costco ban me if I go there every week, take a free sample and leave?).
I genuinely enjoyed by daily fives player and checking if they'd scored at the weekend, my wife played too and we'd compare teams etc. Generally I'd be wanting on some defender from West Ham scoring for 50p or something which would have no bearing on their profits.
It's really poor from an industry that is completely devoid of morals. The wee games and free bets are chicken feed to them and the fact that they exclude people because they don't turn into gamblers just say tells you how much interest they have in the person using them.
15-03-2024, 03:16 PM
They do. If cabin crew see you are drunk you won't get any more or refused boarding if still on the ground.
16-03-2024, 11:32 AM
'Why should I give money to Comic Relief, it all just gets spent in Africa anyway, we should look after our own first'.
Firstly it's factually incorrect. Secondly it's said by the type of people who don't do anything to help anyone; 'our own' or otherwise.
Team listings in numerical order rather than position
17-03-2024, 07:26 PM
Team listings in numerical order rather than position
:agree: And also, players' positions should be stapled on to their backs, like in netball.
17-03-2024, 09:00 PM
:agree: And also, players' positions should be stapled on to their backs, like in netball.
Aye, Jordan obita, goal defence 🤣
18-03-2024, 08:22 AM
The BBC licence advert saying that it's needed to watch over 400 Live tv channels.
Last time I looked the BBC has 4 tv channels.
18-03-2024, 01:41 PM
The BBC licence advert saying that it's needed to watch over 400 Live tv channels.
The licence is require to watch or record all live TV, that includes non BBC channels but doesn't include streaming services, eg you can watch Gogglebox on All4 but never on channel 4 unless you have a license. Live services like Hibs TV aren't included as they subscription only
18-03-2024, 03:23 PM
The licence is require to watch or record all live TV, that includes non BBC channels but doesn't include streaming services, eg you can watch Gogglebox on All4 but never on channel 4 unless you have a license. Live services like Hibs TV aren't included as they subscription only
Still don't see where they get 400 Live tv channels from though.
18-03-2024, 04:49 PM
Sky have over 300 channels on it so I quite believe it
18-03-2024, 04:55 PM
You do need it if you watch anything as live on the likes of Channel 4’s streaming service or Amazon Prime, etc. Even live stuff on YouTube like when Sky News have a live broadcast on there.
ErinGoBraghHFC
18-03-2024, 07:11 PM
Folk that use hyperbole to the extent that they stray into the territory of talking utter pish. I saw someone refer to the wee bridge bit at Glasgow Central on Argyle Street as a “No Go Zone” today. Granted, it stinks of stale pish and chip fat but it’s hardly a war zone. Never felt unsafe there, neither has my wife (it’s annoyed me to the extent I actually asked her opinion), so who is it a no go zone for? ****ing nobody, you’re just a professional whinger. Shut up.
They’re effectively saying that you can’t watch any channel from any broadcaster if you don’t have a tv license. Factually it’s not wrong, but it’s not wholly accurate either, as the license itself doesn’t provide access to 400 channels
18-03-2024, 09:01 PM
They’re effectively saying that you can’t watch any channel from any broadcaster if you don’t have a tv license. Factually it’s not wrong, but it’s not wholly accurate either, as the license itself doesn’t provide access to 400 channels
If you need the licence to watch Sky for example why does it cost more by subscription if I've already got a TV licence?
My tv is not connected to an aerial or satellite dish. Everything I watch is over the Internet so very little is live TV.
18-03-2024, 09:29 PM
If you need the licence to watch Sky for example why does it cost more by subscription if I've already got a TV licence?
My tv is not connected to an aerial or satellite dish. Everything I watch is over the Internet so very little is live TV.The license covers live TV. Your choice to enter a contract with Sky is something else. Same as
you should also have a dog license, you don't get the XL Bully for free
19-03-2024, 06:29 AM
When was this, the nineteen eighties? :na na:
19-03-2024, 03:37 PM
My tv is not connected to an aerial or satellite dish. Everything I watch is over the Internet so very little is live TV.
You are conflating the three parts of the licence. The licence does three separate things.
Firstly, it gives you the authority to watch as live/linear TV irrespective of provider. You need it to watch BBC channels, Sky channels, live subscription channels (e.g. the football on Prime, WWE once its on Netflix, etc.) and the likes of Sky News that broadcasts as live on YouTube. This is also irrespective of medium: if you watch STV via Freeview, Virgin, Sky, STV Player, you need a TV licence. This doesn't cover on-demand services (except iPlayer - see the next point), so you are fine if you watch Coronation Street the next day on STV Player or the bulk of the content on Prime, Netflix, etc.
Secondly, it gives you the authority to watch iPlayer irrespective of whether it is as live/linear TV or on-demand. I think this used to be different. Previously, I think you were fine to watch on-demand stuff on iPlayer, so effectively it was just like the first point. They changed that, so you now need a licence to watch iPlayer on-demand shows.
Thirdly, it funds the BBC. This is separate to point one. The money you pay for a licence to watch any TV funds the BBC. However, Sky, Virgin, Prime are free to charge over and above this.
19-03-2024, 05:06 PM
It's possible I might upset some posters on here with this, given there are multiple threads about running. But just recently, people running / jogging through the park have become really annoying. They run straight towards you, they never seem to move aside, run close past you, run between couples walking, run through groups talking on the pavement, and if you do move out of their way you never get a thank you.
19-03-2024, 05:50 PM
It's possible I might upset some posters on here with this, given there are multiple threads about running. But just recently, people running / jogging through the park have become really annoying. They run straight towards you, they never seem to move aside, run close past you, run between couples walking, run through groups talking on the pavement, and if you do move out of their way you never get a thank you.
Agree. When I used to run I always veered off the path to get out of folks' way. No excuses for these bams who behave like...erm some cyclists :greengrin
speedy_gonzales
19-03-2024, 11:17 PM
Not just a runner/cyclist thing. I raised this here years ago and it got worse during COVID when everyone got out for their "fresh air".
If I'm walking along a path, on my own, I tend to walk on the left hand side. I watch out ahead of me and I look beyond me every now and then. If a group of folk walk towards me, or runners, or cyclists, they invariably don't narrow their profile and go single file. Instead, I feel like I'm bullied to stand off the path.
There is little cognisance that someone else is around them.
Sometimes I'm brave enough to say something but it always comes off as passive/aggressive.
Why can't we all just share the path???
20-03-2024, 07:06 AM
Not just a runner/cyclist thing. I raised this here years ago and it got worse during COVID when everyone got out for their "fresh air".
If I'm walking along a path, on my own, I tend to walk on the left hand side. I watch out ahead of me and I look beyond me every now and then. If a group of folk walk towards me, or runners, or cyclists, they invariably don't narrow their profile and go single file. Instead, I feel like I'm bullied to stand off the path.
Sometimes I'm brave enough to say something but it always comes off as passive/aggressive.
Can't say I've ever noticed large groups of runners or cyclists on the paths, but some large groups of elderly walkers seem to expect a whole heap of gratitude for having temporarily constricted their collective footprint to allow a cyclist to squeeze past.
20-03-2024, 10:31 AM
This has been the case on the school run each morning this week for me. I’ve had to move onto the grass, which is often covered in mud at the edges of the path, because other parents walk a few abreast and taking up the path. It’s just rude and selfish behaviour.
20-03-2024, 12:01 PM
I notice it when I run on the canal path. I always stick to the left and tuck right in when I hear a bike bell or see another group walking towards me. Cyclists seem particularly bad on that path for refusing to go single file and slow down; I had to jump into the verge on one occasion and ripped a hole in my leg on a fence that needed stitches. The only concern I got from our lycra clad wonders was '**** sake'. Same with groups of walkers, if they are walking 3 abreast you can guarantee most groups won't go single file so everyone can get past with no one having to move off the path.
Portobello prom is also bad for it. Groups standing outside the pizza slice place or coffee shops absolutely refusing to make space for walkers, runners or cyclists. If everyone just showed a bit common sense there is more than enough space for everybody.
20-03-2024, 12:56 PM
I'm sure I have moaned about this before but companies who describe things as something they most definitely aren't.
I was looking at Cheltenham tickets for next year and a hospitality package caught my eye, I had a further look as if it had been in a price range I was willing to pay then I would have gone for it. Anyway the package cost £910 and includes a Club Enclosure ticket, breakfast bites, a 3 course pub lunch, cheese and biscuits late afternoon and a racecard. What I object to is along with those offerings there is a bar and car parking both being described as 'complimentary'. How the **** is it complimentary? It's inclusive but certainly not complimentary. A standard club ticket is currently £85 so at more than 10 times the price absolutely nothing is complimentary. If anything I'd say there is one whopping surcharge being applied. If a ticket is £85, lets allow £15 for pastries and coffee at breakfast, £70 for a 3 course pub style lunch, £20 for the car parking, £25 for a cheese board and a tenner or thereabouts for the racecard then that gives you £225. At £7.50 a pint I'd have to drink 92 pints in a day for a single one of those to be complimentary.
It's the same as employers in job adverts listing the salary and holiday allowance as 'benefits'. Those aren't benefits; private healthcare, cycle to work schemes and the like are benefits. What you have done there is pad out 'benefits' with basic legal requirements. Not paying a salary or giving holidays makes you both a criminal and a slave master. It's not some benevolent gesture.
20-03-2024, 03:37 PM
People who look down there nose at people less fortunate than themselves without having a hint of circumstances. Not everyone living on the streets is a useless lazy junkie focker. Not going into details but regularly assist in several such people by providing a service that both helps them and me. The looks and comments from other people because I dare to assist is unreal.
20-03-2024, 04:12 PM
Portobello prom is also bad for it. Groups standing outside the pizza slice place or coffee shops absolutely refusing to make space for walkers, runners or cyclists. If everyone just showed a bit common sense there is more than enough space for everybody.
Either side of the junction of the prom and Bath Street is particularly bad for that behaviour.
20-03-2024, 04:57 PM
People who look down there nose at people less fortunate than themselves without having a hint of circumstances. Not everyone living on the streets is a useless lazy junkie focker. Not going into details but regularly assist in several such people by providing a service that both helps them and me. The looks and comments from other people because I dare to assist is unreal.
:agree: A wee while back I witnessed one lad kicking an obviously mentally ill homeless man in the arse much to the amusement of his chums. I invited him to try it with me but he didn't take up my offer. I hate bullies with a vengeance, whether that's physical or mentally bullying and see red mist when I witness it. Abusing power or looking down on those less fortunate is just another form of bullying.
20-03-2024, 05:44 PM
I helped out in a local community pantry for a while. Similar to a foodbank but for a £2.50 fee there is a wider range available as the money allows the purchase of some fresh produce to compliment the dry goods.
Anyway I got it tight from friends of different political persuasions for different reasons. The lefties giving it 'supporting foodbanks just allows the govt and employers to abdicate responsibility, I would never support them'. Aye great but if we shut the door tomorrow the support goes with it, there's no magic wand that fixes the cost of living, stagnating wages etc etc so a bit solidarity goes a long way. From the other side it was 'scroungers', 'bet they all have a phone though', 'full or immigrants and junkies no doubt'.
It was totally dispiriting and neither position came close to reflecting the reality. Most users of the service were good people who had fallen on hard times and were grateful for the support if a bit embarrassed to need it. Unanimously they appreciated the no judgement, no questions policy.
25-03-2024, 09:31 AM
The current fad for putting your arm up as you’re taking a corner. Was waiting on my daughter’s dance class finishing yesterday at Oriam and saw some of the (I presume) Hearts ladies U20s training. They practiced corner routines and all the corner takers put their arm up. It’s just copied habit from the TV. At elite level there might be a signal in it every now and then for a specific corner routine but 99% of the time it’s a pointless habit.
25-03-2024, 10:08 AM
The current fad for putting your arm up as you’re taking a corner. Was waiting on my daughter’s dance class finishing yesterday at Oriam and saw some of the (I presume) Hearts ladies U20s training. They practiced corner routines and all the corner takers put their arm up. It’s just copied habit from the TV. At elite level there might be a signal in it every now and then for a specific corner routine but 99% of the time it’s a pointless habit.
I wonder what the signals are.
One finger up: I'm going to scuff this into the first defender
Open hand: floated in for the keeper to catch
Closed fist: out for a throw in on the other side
Dan Sarf
25-03-2024, 10:16 AM
25-03-2024, 10:17 AM
Both hands up: Take it short, fanny about, pass it back to the defensive midfielder on the halfway line.
25-03-2024, 11:07 AM
In the team I play for at pub level here, it's a timing thing - when players make their runs vs when the ball is getting kicked.
There's no hand gestures that indicate front post, back post etc. If it both beats the first man and isn't miles past the back post then that's an absolute bonus 😅
25-03-2024, 12:26 PM
I used to put my hand up just to confuse the opposion into thinking there was a set play. Every corner more or less hit bit between the 6yd box and the pen spot.
25-03-2024, 02:00 PM
If there is no "sharing" of the space then just place one finger on your right nostril and clear the left one as you go past them 😎
25-03-2024, 04:10 PM
If there is no "sharing" of the space then just place one finger on your right nostril and clear the left one as you go past them 😎
One of the more disgusting things that runners do.
28-03-2024, 07:03 AM
People who love to give it out but can't take a bit back.
It seems to be especially common among self proclaimed hard men or alpha males:faf::faf:. Love it when they are doing the slagging or ruling the roost but as soon as they get a bit back they become sensitive wee souls. I reckon a decent chunk of the violence you hear and see in Scotland is caused by these types and their fragile egos taking themselves way too seriously.
28-03-2024, 08:20 AM
Getting the right temperature on an electric shower. It seems to take an age to get the right temperature. It takes an age for the temperature to actually change after turning the knob. When you finally get it to where you want, it suddenly changes again. Then when you get it to stay at the right temperature, you say to yourself "right I'll keep it at that setting and just let it run for a bit before I get get in next time" but nope, it seems to be a completely different setting next time.
28-03-2024, 09:30 AM
Getting the right temperature on an electric shower. It seems to take an age to get the right temperature. It takes an age for the temperature to actually change after turning the knob. When you finally get it to where you want, it suddenly changes again. Then when you get it to stay at the right temperature, you say to yourself "right I'll keep it at that setting and just let it run for a bit before I get get in next time" but nope, it seems to be a completely different setting next time.
I think that's to do with water pressure change.
Alfiembra
28-03-2024, 02:10 PM
I think that's to do with water pressure change.
Also mains temperature, I find with mine if it’s a cold winters morning the shower starts off fine until the water in the pipes within the house is used and it starts drawing directly from the outside pipelines.
29-03-2024, 07:33 AM
Also mains temperature, I find with mine if it’s a cold winters morning the shower starts off fine until the water in the pipes within the house is used and it starts drawing directly from the outside pipelines.
:agree: Immediately before stepping in to the shower, simply nip out to the toby in your street, crouch down and feel the temperature of the Scottish Water mains pipe. Then you'll know what setting to put your shower at before you get in, saving yourself a lot of inconvenience.
29-03-2024, 07:58 AM
:agree: Immediately before stepping in to the shower, simply nip out to the toby in your street, crouch down and feel the temperature of the Scottish Water mains pipe. Then you'll know what setting to put your shower at before you get in, saving yourself a lot of inconvenience.
What if some daftie road workers tarmacked over the toby?
Bridge hibs
29-03-2024, 08:21 AM
Opening a bag of crisps at work only to find out they are all ****ing crushed, total downer 😡
29-03-2024, 01:02 PM
What if some daftie road workers tarmacked over the toby?
Simply pop in to Basically Tool Hire near Dalkeith and hire one of their pneumatic drills to untarmac it. Saves a lot of inconvenience later.
29-03-2024, 01:03 PM
Simply pop in to Basically Tool Hire near Dalkeith and hire one of their pneumatic drills to untarmac it. Saves a lot of inconvenience later.
:aok: :greengrin
31-03-2024, 03:11 PM
'They are trying to cancel Easter'. The evidence of this largely seems to be that shops have a couple of shelves dedicated to Ramadan and Eid which happens to fall at broadly the same time as Easter this year.
It's just more phoney culture war bollocks but it's dangerous and people get caught up in it. I got up this morning and stuck the TV on and there was an Anglican Easter service from Canterbury Cathedral. That was followed by the Pope giving the Urbi et Orbi address from the Vatican. That was then followed by Reflections at the Quay which featured hymns and contributions from 2 CoS Ministers. There was also Songs of Praise a bit later. So that's about 6 hours of TV on the main channel of the national broadcaster covering Anglican Protestantism, Latin Rite Roman Catholicism, Presbyterian Protestantism and then an ecumenical music show. Cancelled indeed.
It's always people who don't know what they are talking about as well. That toad Mike Graham demanding yesterday be called 'Easter Saturday'. That is not and has never been a thing in a religious sense. Maundy Thursday, Good Friday, Holy or Black Saturday and Easter Sunday.
Fuzzywuzzy
31-03-2024, 03:59 PM
Folk that set up social media profiles for their pets. ********s
'They are trying to cancel Easter'. The evidence of this largely seems to be that shops have a couple of shelves dedicated to Ramadan and Eid which happens to fall at broadly the same time as Easter this year.
It's just more phoney culture war bollocks but it's dangerous and people get caught up in it. I got up this morning and stuck the TV on and there was an Anglican Easter service from Canterbury Cathedral. That was followed by the Pope giving the Urbi et Orbi address from the Vatican. That was then followed by Reflections at the Quay which featured hymns and contributions from 2 CoS Ministers. There was also Songs of Praise a bit later. So that's about 6 hours of TV on the main channel of the national broadcaster covering Anglican Protestantism, Latin Rite Roman Catholicism, Presbyterian Protestantism and then an ecumenical music show. Cancelled indeed.
It's always people who don't know what they are talking about as well. That toad Mike Graham demanding yesterday be called 'Easter Saturday'. That is not and has never been a thing in a religious sense. Maundy Thursday, Good Friday, Holy or Black Saturday and Easter Sunday.
It's the Spring Equinox and a pagan festival worshipping the Goddess Oestre, a festival of fertility, hence bunnies and eggs.
My daughter asked me when she was about 9 why Easter was on a different date every year, I told her it depended when the church decided Jesus died.
31-03-2024, 07:31 PM
It's the Spring Equinox and a pagan festival worshipping the Goddess Oestre, a festival of fertility, hence bunnies and eggs.
My daughter asked me when she was about 9 why Easter was on a different date every year, I told her it depended when the church decided Jesus died.
Is there an official link to Playboy Bunnies, or were those girls I saw in Glasgow today just a bit confused?
31-03-2024, 07:40 PM
Is there an official link to Playboy Bunnies, or were those girls I saw in Glasgow today just a bit confused?
Don’t ask questions, just give thanks.
Bridge hibs
31-03-2024, 08:06 PM
Folk that set up social media profiles for their pets. ********s
My Daughter set up a twitter account years ago for her imaginary budgie, it was popular and used to get hundreds of tweets a day
Until it flew away
31-03-2024, 08:08 PM
Don’t ask questions, just give thanks.
31-03-2024, 08:09 PM
My Daughter set up a twitter account years ago for her imaginary budgie, it was popular and used to get hundreds of tweets a day
Until it flew away
Get ti bed, you.
Bridge hibs
31-03-2024, 08:10 PM
Get ti bed, you.
🤣
01-04-2024, 05:10 PM
Sound advice.
01-04-2024, 06:53 PM
Hibs fans continually referred to as spoon burners based on a fictional book and movie from 30 years ago
Ironically, it predominantly comes from fans of club(s) where the drug misuse death stats are the highest...
02-04-2024, 01:49 PM
Easter ****ing Saturday. Gies peace 😅
Likewise "cancelling Christmas" that does the round entry year because some busybody in Doncaster Council has decided to call it "Happy Holidays" on their homepage in the name of inclusion but upon further investigation it transpires that no Muslim, Buddist or member of any given religion you care to mention has ever given a flying **** about Christmas being celebrated and being called Christmas.
Of course, the outraged dopey gits that claim this haven't darkened the door of a kirk or Chapel in their lives.
02-04-2024, 08:21 PM
The emerging trend on social media of fashion "influencers" ( men and women) dressing in unfeasibly baggy breeks and thinking they look good when the reality is they look more like MC Hammer after dressing himself in the dark.
I really hope its a short lived trend and not something that is going to become mainstream, because I really can't touch this MC Hammer look.
05-04-2024, 09:39 PM
Using the bus, how do people do that every day, cold, windows all steamed up, folk with their mobile on loudspeaker, and I will leave it there.
Add in body odour, bad breath, smelly feet and clothing, noisy kids.
Bridge hibs
06-04-2024, 08:39 AM
And skiddy *****, sitting on bus seats that smell like *****, bring back the washable pvc seats 🤢
06-04-2024, 12:09 PM
If the rain don't getcha then Kathleen will....
06-04-2024, 12:23 PM
Yeah that is well, plenty garlic breath around me.
06-04-2024, 12:24 PM
If the rain don't getcha then Kathleen will....
This could be our 2nd day this year without rain. :rolleyes:
Just got to watch out for trampolines and buckets. :greengrin
Jakhog1
06-04-2024, 12:28 PM
I used to use the bus everyday for years when in Edinburgh as it made sense for getting about as service was reliable and could get to and from work easily, moved away from Edinburgh and passed my test about 12 years ago or so and can count on one hand how many times I have been on the looser cruiser since, bus was always generally OK in the morning as it was mostly people still half asleep going to there workplace and before mobiles had really took off, Cant imagine what it's like now
06-04-2024, 08:03 PM
Imagine what flights will be like if they ever introduce free WiFi 🤦
06-04-2024, 10:11 PM
Imagine what flights will be like if they ever introduce free WiFi 🤦
I hate to tell you this HB, but there is already free wifi with some airlines!
I think ones I’ve been on have been something like free for messaging apps only, but it’s coming 😁