View Full Version : Pet Peeves IV
Stairway 2 7
29-05-2022, 03:34 PM
That's nothing compared to the 3 months gardening leave on full pay she got from someone who she was employed by for 2 weeks 😂
😆 🤣 brilliant
29-05-2022, 03:57 PM
When you pre order something for a specific time because you need it at that time and it's still late.
Ordered a taxi the other week for 12.30. Had booked it the day before as we had to be where we were going on time. Driver eventually shows up at 12.45, no apology and then had the cheek to get nippy with us for 'taking too long' when we were assisting my 89 year old grandad into his seat.
Then last night ordered a take away for 5.20, pre ordered early in the morning. It arrived at 6.35. Called twice to chase it, guy on the phone responded with 'aye we're really busy tonight'. Yes, I knew you would be hence why I pre ordered.
Bridge hibs
29-05-2022, 04:34 PM
When bin men empty my bin and leave it halfway down the ****ing street, I appreciate the need to get my step count up but they are just taking the piss 🤬
Alfiembra
29-05-2022, 06:05 PM
When bin men empty my bin and leave it halfway down the ****ing street, I appreciate the need to get my step count up but they are just taking the piss 🤬
Also when they collect the glass recycling and chuck it in their wagon at 6:30 in the morning, who needs an alarm clock.
When you pre order something for a specific time because you need it at that time and it's still late.
Ordered a taxi the other week for 12.30. Had booked it the day before as we had to be where we were going on time. Driver eventually shows up at 12.45, no apology and then had the cheek to get nippy with us for 'taking too long' when we were assisting my 89 year old grandad into his seat.
Then last night ordered a take away for 5.20, pre ordered early in the morning. It arrived at 6.35. Called twice to chase it, guy on the phone responded with 'aye we're really busy tonight'. Yes, I knew you would be hence why I pre ordered.
Was this a black cab or a PHC you ordered? if it was a black cab and through one of the 2 major companies, complain to them as they generally send pre booked taxi's around 7 mins before booking is due.
30-05-2022, 07:45 PM
People are allowed days off, they obviously chose to have it when everyone else is off. Go somewhere else, although there will be loads of places closed. My work is off as an anti royalist ill happily take it and have fun with the family.
I think a lot of royalists are making a bigger deal of it than the lizzy lovers. Just like the royal weddings and other pish, it will be very easy to ignore.
What’s the difference between a royalist and a lizzy lover, out of interest?
All I know is an definitely neither!
Stairway 2 7
30-05-2022, 08:23 PM
What’s the difference between a royalist and a lizzy lover, out of interest?
All I know is an definitely neither!
Meant anti like the first time I used it, should say Republican. I'd personally give them there jotters and let them pick fruit, as we are toiling for fruit pickers.
The cliché that they bring in tourism is nonsense. Versailles is one of the most visited attractions in the world, so would Buckingham Palace, if you turned it into a Disney land for tourists. I'm split on whether we should loup of their heeds though
31-05-2022, 07:32 AM
Also when they collect the glass recycling and chuck it in their wagon at 6:30 in the morning, who needs an alarm clock.
One of the delights of living above a restaurant!
Meant anti like the first time I used it, should say Republican. I'd personally give them there jotters and let them pick fruit, as we are toiling for fruit pickers.
The cliché that they bring in tourism is nonsense. Versailles is one of the most visited attractions in the world, so would Buckingham Palace, if you turned it into a Disney land for tourists. I'm split on whether we should loup of their heeds though
Holyrood Palace gets tourists all year round and Lizzie's only there 1 week a year, our castle is chocka with tourists and theres not been royalty there for hundreds of years.
pollution
31-05-2022, 07:54 PM
Morrisons had an offer where some bottles of wine were 25% off for three or more.
I checked online and it did not say except Scotland and N Ireland so drove 10 miles round trip to the store to be told it is not on in Scotland.
A waste of a trip. The cheaper price was way above the minimum price . Really cheesed me off !
31-05-2022, 08:01 PM
Morrisons had an offer where some bottles of wine were 25% off for three or more.
I checked online and it did not say except Scotland and N Ireland so drove 10 miles round trip to the store to be told it is not on in Scotland.
A waste of a trip. The cheaper price was way above the minimum price . Really cheesed me off !
Asda do the same.
They have double discount events for staff every so often so the staff discount is 20% rather than 10 but then they exclude a whole raft of alcohol. It generally tends to be the premium spirits so the discounted price would still be miles above the minimum pricing.
A lot of supermarkets make little margin on alcohol, some even use some lines as a loss leader, so it’s just a business decision to exclude people from offers where they can.
speedy_gonzales
31-05-2022, 08:54 PM
Did you purchase the wine?
In the past, when Morrisons (England) have alcohol promotions on, I've managed to buy the same products in Scotland at the same price.
There is no advertisement of the promotion, the shelf edge ticket shows the full price, but when they're scanned, I got the cheaper price.
Drink promotions have been banned here since 2011, but I promise you, whether it's 3 fridge packs of beer for £x.xx or 3 bottles of wine, when I've went to check my receipt it has the full price then immediately below it has a discounted "promotion" price.
Check the prices online at Morrisons, then login using a Scottish postcode, you get two different prices.
Currently there is a 3 for £15 wine proportion. Morrisons website has (for example) Black Tower "fruity" wine at £5.75 or 3 for £15. Log in with a Scottish postcode and the same wine is £5.
01-06-2022, 08:38 AM
Such alcohol deals are illegal in Scotland. Not allowed to give discounts for bulk buys, and must stay within MUP.
pollution
01-06-2022, 10:40 AM
Did you purchase the wine?
In the past, when Morrisons (England) have alcohol promotions on, I've managed to buy the same products in Scotland at the same price.
There is no advertisement of the promotion, the shelf edge ticket shows the full price, but when they're scanned, I got the cheaper price.
Drink promotions have been banned here since 2011, but I promise you, whether it's 3 fridge packs of beer for £x.xx or 3 bottles of wine, when I've went to check my receipt it has the full price then immediately below it has a discounted "promotion" price.
Check the prices online at Morrisons, then login using a Scottish postcode, you get two different prices.
Currently there is a 3 for £15 wine proportion. Morrisons website has (for example) Black Tower "fruity" wine at £5.75 or 3 for £15. Log in with a Scottish postcode and the same wine is £5.
Good reply, thanks.
No, I didn't buy the wine: £9.25 is out of my price range. I do understand your point about individual prices being cheaper in Scotland when there is a promo
in England eg Warsteiner is always £1.77 here but £2 in England except when it is 3 for £5. Confusing, I know.
The wine offer is different. To be fair, I did not buy it online either so maybe I would have received the right price.
Why all this confusion ? I only want what is advertised on their website... Anyway, I am due to receive a couple of cases of wine direct from France today, fingers crossed.
01-06-2022, 01:06 PM
Such alcohol deals are illegal in Scotland. Not allowed to give discounts for bulk buys, and must stay within MUP.
Yep. You can't incentivise buying a larger amount of alcohol. It's very strict.
01-06-2022, 01:45 PM
Yep. You can't incentivise buying a larger amount of alcohol. It's very strict.
Is there an exception that allows doubles (gins etc) to be less than twice the cost of a single?
At first I thought they maybe got round it by separating the cost of mixer and only doubling the cost of spirit but the maths doesn't work when I tested that theory. Unless bars can also separate out a cost for glassware/time/overheads and show they are charging double for the actual alcohol component of the drink? :dunno:
A mate of mine was in a major supermarket the other day and they had a 3for2 sale of paracetamol, got to the till and the girl said, I'm sorry we can only sell you 2 packets at a time for safety reasons, he said WTF are you doing putting them on offer then? Who agreed that offer?
Is there an exception that allows doubles (gins etc) to be less than twice the cost of a single?
At first I thought they maybe got round it by separating the cost of mixer and only doubling the cost of spirit but the maths doesn't work when I tested that theory. Unless bars can also separate out a cost for glassware/time/overheads and show they are charging double for the actual alcohol component of the drink? :dunno:
Used to be happy hours but they stopped, some places offer a double with the extra shot at cost price, so still making a profit and legal.
01-06-2022, 02:52 PM
Used to be happy hours but they stopped, some places offer a double with the extra shot at cost price, so still making a profit and legal.
Surely that encourages more alcohol consumption though and shouldn't be allowed?
Santa Cruz
01-06-2022, 05:37 PM
A mate of mine was in a major supermarket the other day and they had a 3for2 sale of paracetamol, got to the till and the girl said, I'm sorry we can only sell you 2 packets at a time for safety reasons, he said WTF are you doing putting them on offer then? Who agreed that offer?
Applies to Ibuprofen too. The promotional sticker has been put there by mistake. It's illegal to sell more than two packs in the one sale, the till won't process the sale. You could buy two at one till and go to another checkout and buy another two, so customers find their way round it.
Stairway 2 7
01-06-2022, 05:45 PM
Was weird seeing bottles with 1000 paracetamol in the US. I can see the intentions but surely if someone was committed to ending it, they would go to a few shops or out back in a shop
Surely that encourages more alcohol consumption though and shouldn't be allowed?
People in Wotherspoons etc are going there to drink no matter what, as long as they don't sell for less than the allowed lowest price it's fine.
speedy_gonzales
01-06-2022, 08:26 PM
Applies to Ibuprofen too. The promotional sticker has been put there by mistake. It's illegal to sell more than two packs in the one sale, the till won't process the sale. You could buy two at one till and go to another checkout and buy another two, so customers find their way round it.
To caveat that, and unless I'm mistaken, it's not illegal to buy more than two packs of paracetamol/ibuprofen as long as there's a pharmacist there to supervise the sale.
Obviously, the average high street supermarket don't have pharmacists on the tills....
Santa Cruz
01-06-2022, 08:40 PM
To caveat that, and unless I'm mistaken, it's not illegal to buy more than two packs of paracetamol/ibuprofen as long as there's a pharmacist there to supervise the sale.
Obviously, the average high street supermarket don't have pharmacists on the tills....
Apologies, you are correct.
02-06-2022, 08:00 AM
People in Wotherspoons etc are going there to drink no matter what, as long as they don't sell for less than the allowed lowest price it's fine.
I don't see how that's relevant... It encourages buying a greater volume of alcohol which is meant to be against the rules. Just wondering what the technicality is that allows for it to happen.
On a similar vein, do pubs even have a lowest price? I thought MUP was just for retailers.
02-06-2022, 08:09 AM
I don't see how that's relevant... It encourages buying a greater volume of alcohol which is meant to be against the rules. Just wondering what the technicality is that allows for it to happen.
On a similar vein, do pubs even have a lowest price? I thought MUP was just for retailers.
Yes it applies to pubs.
There will be a minimum price a pub can charge that makes it legal. Theres approx 26 nips in a bottle, there'll be minimum price that covers cost etc, say £1.50 per nip, the pub may charge £3.50 to cover costs, staff, profit etc. The only real difference is the wording, no happy hour or 2for1, just do you want to make it a double for £5, effectively £2.50 a nip.
02-06-2022, 09:29 AM
No idea but that pub Shadwicks at the west end is ridiculously cheap.
02-06-2022, 09:31 AM
There will be a minimum price a pub can charge that makes it legal. Theres approx 26 nips in a bottle, there'll be minimum price that covers cost etc, say £1.50 per nip, the pub may charge £3.50 to cover costs, staff, profit etc. The only real difference is the wording, no happy hour or 2for1, just do you want to make it a double for £5, effectively £2.50 a nip.
I was in the worlds end pub in Camden 2 weeks ago, 3 x lager and 3 x nips with mixers came to £54. Wont be back.
02-06-2022, 09:44 AM
I was in the worlds end pub in Camden 2 weeks ago, 3 x lager and 3 x nips with mixers came to £54. Wont be back.
I was charged £14.75 for a pint and a half of one of their special ales. We only went in to get out of the rain.
02-06-2022, 03:20 PM
No idea but that pub Shadwicks at the west end is ridiculously cheap.
An absolute den of inequity into the bargain 😂😂
02-06-2022, 04:04 PM
An absolute den of inequity into the bargain 😂😂
Quite enjoyed it on Wednesday night until the game started!
02-06-2022, 08:19 PM
On the subject of alcohol, ordering from Amazon bypasses the minimum pricing in Scotland.
05-06-2022, 02:26 PM
Pun threads.
06-06-2022, 04:11 AM
On the subject of alcohol, ordering from Amazon bypasses the minimum pricing in Scotland.
They must be breaking the law.
07-06-2022, 10:07 AM
The weather. This is June FFS and I'm walking about wearing the biggest thickest fleece I can find.
Stairway 2 7
07-06-2022, 10:12 AM
The weather. This is June FFS and I'm walking about wearing the biggest thickest fleece I can find.
Need an umbrella tomorrow and a fleece as only 13 degrees. Brutal we've not had a roasting spell this year.
07-06-2022, 12:07 PM
Could do with it being a bit nicer generally, but I ditched the jumper/jacket today and just went out in a shirt. I'd be roasting in a fleece.
07-06-2022, 12:14 PM
Pun threads.
They do tend to string you along.
07-06-2022, 12:27 PM
Could do with it being a bit nicer generally, but I ditched the jumper/jacket today and just went out in a shirt. I'd be roasting in a fleece.
You are young. And I assume you weren't on Musselburgh beach!
07-06-2022, 02:37 PM
Weather has been weird. Saturday was a lovely day, I was out all day in just short sleeves. That was down at the harbour at Musselburgh so not exactly a sheltered spot. Had a beer outside and bought the bairn an ice cream.
Sunday looked nice early on but when the cloud cover came in it was bloody freezing. We were up at Craigmillar Castle with the kids and I was wishing I'd packed a jacket.
Today is ok when the sun is out but when it's hidden or in the shade it's not particularly warm.
I generally don't mind the cold, I can get away with just a shirt on a day like today but I would love for a decent spell of 2 or 3 weeks of constant warm, dry, calm weather. We had a couple of weeks like that in 2019, maybe 2018, and it was amazing to see how much everyone's mood seemed to lift. Everyone just seems a bit more easy going during a prolonged sunny spell.
07-06-2022, 03:09 PM
We had a couple of weeks like that in 2019, maybe 2018, and it was amazing to see how much everyone's mood seemed to lift. Everyone just seems a bit more easy going during a prolonged sunny spell.
Yep so true. According to the BBC app it's 15 degrees now and it's certainly pleasant but earlier when my nuts were freezing off it was meant to be 13. Bollox!
We were through in Falkirk on friday to see some old friends, got back around 4.30 and went to the Beach House on Porty prom for a pizza, bright and sunny but bloody cold breeze coming off the water, wished I had a jacket or hoodie with me.
07-06-2022, 06:01 PM
You are young. And I assume you weren't on Musselburgh beach!
Haha I don't know about that! You're right about not being at the beach though.
It's lovely this evening though!
08-06-2022, 05:57 PM
Folk who change there username on here. :thumbsup:
09-06-2022, 10:08 AM
Folk who change there username on here. :thumbsup:
Didn't you used to be chestnuthibee?
09-06-2022, 11:27 AM
Didn't you used to be chestnuthibee?
No Slippy. :thumbsup:
09-06-2022, 12:13 PM
Currys, and more specifically the customer service that is non existing.
Ordered a new hi-fi which is dab receiver, CD player and amp with speakers. It arrived without the speakers. Phoned up immediately (Monday afternoon) told they will collect the wrong thing and resend the correct one.
Phone this morning for an update because it's showing as out of stock on the website. They can refund the money after they receive the returned item. I suggest that I keep it and they refund the amount I need for the speakers - not possible they say. Next I suggest that I return it to a store and get the refund- not possible he says (despite it saying that I can on the website). I demand to talk to a supervisor, I'll get a call back in 48 hours!
I'm not happy with it but accept it.
I go onto currys twitter and relay the message, asked for details in a dm. Guess what? It's going to the store tomorrow!!!
Customer service should have known that was possible.
09-06-2022, 12:41 PM
Currys, and more specifically the customer service that is non existing.
Ordered a new hi-fi which is dab receiver, CD player and amp with speakers. It arrived without the speakers. Phoned up immediately (Monday afternoon) told they will collect the wrong thing and resend the correct one.
Phone this morning for an update because it's showing as out of stock on the website. They can refund the money after they receive the returned item. I suggest that I keep it and they refund the amount I need for the speakers - not possible they say. Next I suggest that I return it to a store and get the refund- not possible he says (despite it saying that I can on the website). I demand to talk to a supervisor, I'll get a call back in 48 hours!
I'm not happy with it but accept it.
I go onto currys twitter and relay the message, asked for details in a dm. Guess what? It's going to the store tomorrow!!!
Customer service should have known that was possible.
How curry’s still trade is beyond me.
Their ‘service’ is awful and has been for ages.
The feedback on the likes of Trustpilot etc. is full of this stuff.
I suffered their uselessness when trying to order last TV a while ago and vowed never, ever to use them again.
09-06-2022, 12:46 PM
Customer service seems to be a lost art.
09-06-2022, 01:44 PM
How curry’s still trade is beyond me.
Their ‘service’ is awful and has been for ages.
The feedback on the likes of Trustpilot etc. is full of this stuff.
I suffered their uselessness when trying to order last TV a while ago and vowed never, ever to use them again.
Compare them to a company like AO who I've used a few times now and they've been flawless every time. And cheaper than Currys. The TV I got was cheaper than Currys by £150.
09-06-2022, 02:31 PM
Compare them to a company like AO who I've used a few times now and they've been flawless every time. And cheaper than Currys. The TV I got was cheaper than Currys by £150.
Actually it was AO I used to get the TV after the Curry’s fiasco. As you say fast and efficient and even had it in stock when they said they had it in stock!
They also (eventually) honoured their price promise which despite needing a bit of back and forward was all polite enough and they accepted the comparison once I had reminded them of their own wording around such things [emoji1787]
09-06-2022, 03:07 PM
Yeah, wish I'd thought of AO, I've just ordered it from there, and it even said how many were in stock. And I got a voucher to take a wee bit of the price.
09-06-2022, 03:10 PM
Got another HMRC call this morning telling me there was a warrant out for my arrest due to tax evasion, told the guy if you are about to get arrested they generally don't phone you first, he said well we do, told him I looked forward to speaking to the polis and he said I will get them sent within the next 30 mins if I don't do what they want, I started laughing at that point and told him that the polis wouldn't even show up to a murder in 30 mins, at that point he hung up on me.
Not a pet peeve as such but that's about the 5 or 6th time I've had the same kind of call
09-06-2022, 05:32 PM
Got another HMRC call this morning telling me there was a warrant out for my arrest due to tax evasion, told the guy if you are about to get arrested they generally don't phone you first, he said well we do, told him I looked forward to speaking to the polis and he said I will get them sent within the next 30 mins if I don't do what they want, I started laughing at that point and told him that the polis wouldn't even show up to a murder in 30 mins, at that point he hung up on me.
Not a pet peeve as such but that's about the 5 or 6th time I've had the same kind of call
The government are trying anything to recoup the Covid losses aren't they?
09-06-2022, 07:31 PM
The inability to get any proper compost or top soil…this is the crap that came out of a single bag of the ‘screened’ 35l bag of Westland top soil that I was trying to use to level a patch of lawn.
Sadly I’d fired a bag on the lawn before properly checking and then had to spend ages picking out all the crap.
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20220609/420d322f8b3a081d360a47f6fb1b703e.jpg
speedy_gonzales
09-06-2022, 08:51 PM
The inability to get any proper compost or top soil…this is the crap that came out of a single bag of the ‘screened’ 35l bag of Westland top soil that I was trying to use to level a patch of lawn.
Sadly I’d fired a bag on the lawn before properly checking and then had to spend ages picking out all the crap.
Homebase were doing 10 X 25L bags of topsoil for £30 plus an additional 20% off. I used it this week to backfill a trench I dug through my lawn and there was no wood or partially decomposed material in them.
09-06-2022, 10:07 PM
Homebase were doing 10 X 25L bags of topsoil for £30 plus an additional 20% off. I used it this week to backfill a trench I dug through my lawn and there was no wood or partially compared material in them.
Ahh nice thanks. Was it their own brand? Might take a trip to there then as that Westland stuff was ridiculous.
09-06-2022, 10:11 PM
Ahh nice thanks. Was it their own brand? Might take a trip to there then as that Westland stuff was ridiculous.
Try Caledonian Horticulture - local company to Edinburgh and they do lots of different composts - they also do a specific top dressing mixture too, which is screened and also I think it’s sterilised so there’s no weed seeds in it.
https://caledonianhorticulture.co.uk/product/caledonian-top-dressing-20kg/
speedy_gonzales
10-06-2022, 07:40 AM
It was, yeah. Perfectly suitable for my needs, feels and looks like it had been well composted to above 60°C which should kill any weeds/seeds.
10-06-2022, 08:07 AM
Thanks both! Replies much appreciated.
I’ve pinged an angry man email off to Westland today..I’m not normally the formal complaining type but having a big pile of sticks and stones in my lawn has pushed me over the edge [emoji1787]
10-06-2022, 09:23 AM
I was actually coming on to post about the same item though mine wasn’t quite as bad. Was that B&Q you got that from?
I have another gardening one… slugs.
We planted a whole load of the pants at the weekend and most are gone thanks to the slimy wee buggers.
I read that the salt trick is considered to be inhumane but that drowning them in beer is somehow not.
I put out a tray of beer the other night and it was full of them by the morning. I put out three trays of beer last night and two are full, one hasn’t been touched (they obviously don’t like Tiger beer :faf:)
10-06-2022, 09:46 AM
I was actually coming on to post about the same item though mine wasn’t quite as bad. Was that B&Q you got that from?
We planted a whole load of the pants at the weekend and most are gone thanks to the slimy wee buggers.
I read that the salt trick is considered to be inhumane but that drowning them in beer is somehow not.
I put out a tray of beer the other night and it was full of them by the morning. I put out three trays of beer last night and two are full, one hasn’t been touched (they obviously don’t like Tiger beer :faf:)
Aye it was B&Q…I had a reply to my complaint where the stated there had been a ‘clearly a screening issue’ and an apology followed by a promise of some vouchers in the post (value not disclosed). While I still raging at the debris now stuck in the lawn I suppose they at least had the gumption to reply and apologise quickly.
As for slugs…I’ll admit that I just go all chemical on them and fire down some of the blue pellets that decimates them rapido. Not pet friendly tho so no good if you have a dog or whatever.
They are probably rather unfriendly full stop but one dose seems to effectively wipe the population out for the year so I bury my green creds for my own human benefit every late spring….
10-06-2022, 10:03 AM
That must be where Cala bought our “topsoil” at our house. Having drainage put in as well as a few neighbours having their gardens re-designed and you could see just how little actual soil there was in the “top soil”.
10-06-2022, 11:19 AM
Try Caledonian Horticulture - local company to Edinburgh and they do lots of different composts - they also do a specific top dressing mixture too, which is screened and also I think it’s sterilised so there’s no weed seeds in it.
https://caledonianhorticulture.co.uk/product/caledonian-top-dressing-20kg/
Yup...I use them for my landscaping business. Quality is much higher than the main stream products and around a third of the price.
10-06-2022, 03:03 PM
I get those huge leopard slugs in the kitchen, I think that they are actually looking for my beer!!
10-06-2022, 03:04 PM
Aye it was B&Q…I had a reply to my complaint where the stated there had been a ‘clearly a screening issue’ and an apology followed by a promise of some vouchers in the post (value not disclosed). While I still raging at the debris now stuck in the lawn I suppose they at least had the gumption to reply and apologise quickly.
As for slugs…I’ll admit that I just go all chemical on them and fire down some of the blue pellets that decimates them rapido. Not pet friendly tho so no good if you have a dog or whatever.
They are probably rather unfriendly full stop but one dose seems to effectively wipe the population out for the year so I bury my green creds for my own human benefit every late spring….
Slug pellets are now banned!! So back to the salt or brewery options
10-06-2022, 05:02 PM
They are banned. How come you can still buy them. All the usual places and supermarkets have them as of today (I bought some). How are they getting away with it?
10-06-2022, 05:12 PM
They are banned. How come you can still buy them. All the usual places and supermarkets have them as of today (I bought some). How are they getting away with it?
The pesticide metaldehyde is banned. Slug pellets typically contained it. I'm guessing the slug pellets currently on the market don't use it.
10-06-2022, 06:20 PM
The pesticide metaldehyde is banned. Slug pellets typically contained it. I'm guessing the slug pellets currently on the market don't use it.
Yeah that’s correct…I checked and mine is defo then banned stuff (did think it wasn’t particularly friendly!)…it’s running low so might have to resort to the eco friendly formula in a year or two [emoji1787]
Not sure if the Ferric Phosphate products are any good or not…is almost certainly not as effective as the old stuff as that was clearly lethal to any slug who went near it…but probably quite a few other things as well despite it being bright blue.
10-06-2022, 09:13 PM
Yeah that’s correct…I checked and mine is defo then banned stuff (did think it wasn’t particularly friendly!)…it’s running low so might have to resort to the eco friendly formula in a year or two [emoji1787]
Not sure if the Ferric Phosphate products are any good or not…is almost certainly not as effective as the old stuff as that was clearly lethal to any slug who went near it…but probably quite a few other things as well despite it being bright blue.
Pretty sure most animals can't distinguish colour the same way we do, just like they can't read the labels 😉
11-06-2022, 11:35 AM
Pretty sure most animals can't distinguish colour the same way we do, just like they can't read the labels 😉
Pretty sure dogs can read, otherwise how can you explain a sign saying 'No blacks, no dogs, no Irish'?
11-06-2022, 03:19 PM
Pretty sure dogs can read, otherwise how can you explain a sign saying 'No blacks, no dogs, no Irish'?
Good point.🤔
12-06-2022, 07:59 PM
The length of half time at soccer aid...
13-06-2022, 09:06 AM
That well-worn phrase "winning ways".
Scotland will be looking to get back to winning ways tomorrow.
Gimme a break.
15-06-2022, 09:13 AM
Was walking down the street yesterday and some guy collapses and starts having some sort of seizure. Was closest to him so made sure that he wasn't in danger of stopping breathing, someone else phoned an ambulance and another person went into a local office to get a first aider.
Amazing how many people walked on by and even one person with a pram audibly grumbling that they couldn't get by with their pram. The chap had stopped shaking at that point but it was clear that something was up and even though the three of us had it under control, that person sums up a lot that is wrong with people.
15-06-2022, 10:55 AM
Was walking down the street yesterday and some guy collapses and starts having some sort of seizure. Was closest to him so made sure that he wasn't in danger of stopping breathing, someone else phoned an ambulance and another person went into a local office to get a first aider.
Amazing how many people walked on by and even one person with a pram audibly grumbling that they couldn't get by with their pram. The chap had stopped shaking at that point but it was clear that something was up and even though the three of us had it under control, that person sums up a lot that is wrong with people.
Few years back I was on my way to the shop and there was a old man lying on the ground and wasn't moving, I called an ambulance and waited til it got there, few days later I'm in the shop and the owner tells me the old guy has been in and he is doing ok
Said that he had recently had bypass surgery and collapsed on his way to get his paper and that people had actually stepped over him to walk past, some real selfish people on the go, well done on not being one of them!
Caversham Green
15-06-2022, 11:12 AM
I tried these things last month - Slug Nematodes, Nemaslug, Free Delivery from Gardening Naturally (gardening-naturally.com) (https://www.gardening-naturally.com/nemaslug-slug-nematodes-40-sqm?msclkid=692ffd3ec409150af4d09f977988a251)
They certainly seem to have reduced the slug population considerably. The only problem was that you're best to apply them when it's raining - it worked out for me but if anyone had seen me watering a garden of weeds in the pissing rain they'd probably have called the authorities.
15-06-2022, 12:43 PM
Where did this happen? My son was involved in helping someone in a similar situation.
15-06-2022, 01:17 PM
Folk who make up an elaborate story about how they have had to rush to another city early morning because of a family crisis and how they won’t be able to be in work for the whole weekend. You then spot them in Edinburgh during the day.
15-06-2022, 03:17 PM
Where did this happen? My son was involved in helping someone in a similar situation.
Up in St. Andrews.
Folk who make up an elaborate story about how they have had to rush to another city early morning because of a family crisis and how they won’t be able to be in work for the whole weekend. You then spot them in Edinburgh during the day.
realy hope you went up to them and asked how their family crisis was :greengrin
16-06-2022, 12:56 PM
Haha, thats up there will calling in sick on a Saturday with some range illness only to be spotted later that evening on Sportscene at the football. I know someone who had that happen to them, not me I hasten to add. :greengrin
16-06-2022, 11:15 PM
When football goes on over the summer (world Cup excepted).
Give us a break!
17-06-2022, 07:54 AM
Bacon that curls up when you put it under the grill.
Cut the fat and sinew off it.
17-06-2022, 09:13 AM
That'll get rid of the flavour though! Frying it is a better option :greengrin
17-06-2022, 11:08 AM
Agree, and put water in the bottom of your grill pan to stop anything that drips off the bacon from burning.
17-06-2022, 11:08 AM
That'll get rid of the flavour though! Frying it is a better option :greengrin
Not if its smoked bacon, as it should be. :greengrin
17-06-2022, 11:22 AM
Dry cured bacon will lessen the curling up.
Most supermarket bacon is wet cured/brined, it's all that excess moisture dripping out that plays a part in inducing the curling. One of those products were paying a bit more is definitely worth it.
You can also put a couple of snips in the rind using a decent knife or a pair of scissors. That stops the pulling together and curling as well.
17-06-2022, 11:26 AM
Dry cured bacon will lessen the curling up.
Most supermarket bacon is wet cured/brined, it's all that excess moisture dripping out that plays a part in inducing the curling. One of those products were paying a bit more is definitely worth it.
You can also put a couple of snips in the rind using a decent knife or a pair of scissors. That stops the pulling together and curling as well.
Yeah the scissors trick used to work but not with the current Tesco bacon. Too wet!
We don't even have a butcher in Musselburgh, tragic really.
17-06-2022, 12:58 PM
Haha, thats up there will calling in sick on a Saturday with some range illness only to be spotted later that evening on Sportscene at the football. I know someone who had that happen to them, not me I hasten to add. :greengrin
Happened to me when i had a paper round when i was wee. Took a sickie to watch us against Rangers and was spotted on TV by the newsagent.
17-06-2022, 02:01 PM
Happened to a lassie I used to work beside, took a couple of sick days and was spotted on the news at the poll tax protests in London! Oops! 😀
speedy_gonzales
17-06-2022, 02:49 PM
The absolute state of some public conveniences.
I don't know if it's pïss poor maintenance, lack of cleaning or just the fact we're all manky gits when away from our homes, but the condition of some toilets gives me the boak!
It used to be the case that WC's "abroad" were something to be joked & ridiculed about, but over the last few months when I've had the urge to "go" around Edinburgh and ended up walking out quicker than I went in.
From folk missing the toilet and somehow leaving fecal matter on the seat to those who've successfully dropped the kids off at the pool but failed to flush (usually a distinct lack of toilet paper use too).
Like most per peeves here, I'm taking umbrage at the laziness and ignorance of others.
Edited to slightly change my phrasing. It read as if I was cruising around the city's conveniences 😳
17-06-2022, 06:53 PM
The absolute state of some public conveniences.
I don't know if it's pïss poor maintenance, lack of cleaning or just the fact we're all manky gits when away from our homes, but the condition of some toilets gives me the boak!
It used to be the case that WC's "abroad" were something to be joked & ridiculed about, but over the last few months I've had the urge to go around Edinburgh and ended up walking out quicker than I went in.
From folk missing the toilet and somehow leaving fecal matter on the seat to those who've successfully dropped the kids off at the pool but failed to flush (usually a distinct lack of toilet paper use too).
Like most per peeves here, I'm taking umbrage at the laziness and ignorance of others.
The 2 block of public toilets at each end of the meadows are absolutely howling, and thats with attendants on duty.
17-06-2022, 08:47 PM
Yeah the scissors trick used to work but not with the current Tesco bacon. Too wet!
We don't even have a butcher in Musselburgh, tragic really.
Whaaaaaaat! Munro's is gone?
18-06-2022, 05:57 AM
Whaaaaaaat! Munro's is gone?
Long gone. Last one shut up shop 4 years ago. Porty is the nearest and try getting parked there!
Santa Cruz
18-06-2022, 06:40 AM
I've got a bacon related question... why when I fry it does loads of gloopy white fat appear in the frying pan, covering the bacon and making it look rank? I've not made it for ages because the thought of the fat knocks me ill.
Stairway 2 7
18-06-2022, 07:20 AM
I've got a bacon related question... why when I fry it does loads of gloopy white fat appear in the frying pan, covering the bacon and making it look rank? I've not made it for ages because the thought of the fat knocks me ill.
It's the liquid that's injected into the meat to make it plumper or wet cure it, same with some chicken. Don't get it with dry cured as PB said
Santa Cruz
18-06-2022, 09:28 AM
It's the liquid that's injected into the meat to make it plumper or wet cure it, same with some chicken. Don't get it with dry cured as PB said
AltheHibby
18-06-2022, 12:27 PM
The 2 block of public toilets at each end of the meadows are absolutely howling, and thats with attendants on duty.
I was in the ones near Pipe Lane at Porty beach maybe 6 years ago. They still had the "VD and allied diseases " stickers from the 60s on the walls.
At least now, unlike 6/7 year old me, I know that VD doesn't stand for Very Dangerous and that Allied Diseases don't come from Yanks and our other WW2 partners!:greengrin
18-06-2022, 10:21 PM
I was in the ones near Pipe Lane at Porty beach maybe 6 years ago. They still had the "VD and allied diseases " stickers from the 60s on the walls.
At least now, unlike 6/7 year old me, I know that VD doesn't stand for Very Dangerous and that Allied Diseases don't come from Yanks and our other WW2 partners!:greengrinStill there about 4 years ago but unlike the description at the Meadows, didnt reek of urine. Not changed a huge amount since the 60s. Unlike the 60s, the only public loo along the mile from Eastfield to Kings Road.
Sent from my SM-T580 using Tapatalk
20-06-2022, 12:21 AM
When you are struggling with something and quite obviously need another pair of hands, yet the other person close by just stands there watching you struggle.
20-06-2022, 12:51 PM
People* that moan that you keep the curtains shut and windows open during the day during hot weather, so then they open the curtains and close the window (spiders get in apparently) but then complain that the bedroom is too hot when you go to bed - or even worse, complain that I'm complaining that the bedroom is too hot.
* by people I mean my other half
20-06-2022, 05:30 PM
Restaurant tables that have one ****-off huge leg in the middle so you've nowhere to put your feet.
21-06-2022, 12:06 PM
Maybe one for the driving thread, though it’s not really driving related.
I went to fill my car up with petrol last night but the fuel cap wouldn’t come off. It was totally stuck. Brute force didn’t work. My car is just over one year old so I phoned the dealership service centre this morning. “Sorry we are only allowed to book a certain number of appointments per week for cars that are still in warranty and we’ve reached the limit for this week and we’ve only one appointment left for next week and it would have to be Thursday. Sorry, it is a manufacturer imposed restriction. You might be better trying the other Kia dealership at Newbridge.”
Tried Newbridge and as an aside, (and despite phoning the number listed as the service department on their website) I was initially told that the service department isn’t allowed to make appointments and I must call their national call centre instead (WTF?)
Anyway, I got the same message from them about there being a limit on in-warranty appointments except it was an even longer wait.
So, I’m stuck with a car with barely enough fuel in it to get to the dealership that I can’t use for over a week.
21-06-2022, 12:51 PM
I went to fill my car up with petrol last night but the fuel cap wouldn’t come off. It was totally stuck. Brute force didn’t work. My car is just over one year old so I phoned the dealership service centre this morning. “Sorry we are only allowed to book a certain number of appointments per week for cars that are still in warranty and we’ve reached the limit for this week and we’ve only one appointment left for next week and it would have to be Thursday. Sorry, it is a manufacturer imposed restriction. You might be better trying the other Kia dealership at Newbridge.”
Tried Newbridge and as an aside, (and despite phoning the number listed as the service department on their website) I was initially told that the service department isn’t allowed to make appointments and I must call their national call centre instead (WTF?)
Anyway, I got the same message from them about there being a limit on in-warranty appointments except it was an even longer wait.
So, I’m stuck with a car with barely enough fuel in it to get to the dealership that I can’t use for over a week.
Thats ridiculous.
22-06-2022, 08:16 AM
That's really poor from Kia.
You've maybe tried this but have you checked to see if there is another fuel cap release section in inside of the the boot? Think most Kia's have them, like a wee plastic hatch you open, usually on the side where the fuel cap is? If so, should be able to pop it open from there....
22-06-2022, 03:56 PM
Ant Middleton. I’ve listened to two or three of his audiobooks and I just find him a bit phony. The way he was let go from the SAS: Who Dares Wins and also just a few other things don’t project the image I think he wants to give off.
I used to quite like him, before the things you’ve mentioned, but I think he’s got an inflated sense of how much his opinions on any given topic are
23-06-2022, 07:36 AM
Looking at the driving pet peeves thread for new posts and finding the same squabble running for days taking over the thread.
23-06-2022, 07:42 AM
Looking at the driving pet peeves thread for new posts and finding the same squabble running for days taking over the thread.
That argument appears to be endless, but technically they can legally debate as slowly as they like.
23-06-2022, 08:32 AM
That argument appears to be endless, but technically they can legally debate as slowly as they like.
😄
23-06-2022, 08:47 AM
When someone young passes away and a friend or family members posts about it on social media to let people know or express condolences and people think it's appropriate to ask 'what happened', 'how did they die' etc etc. **** off, you don't need to know every detail.
23-06-2022, 08:56 AM
People being proven wrong and them being unable to admit it, instead continually doubling down on their ludicrous position with ridiculous irrelevant arguments.
Applies to slow coaches on the driving peeves thread and some of our politicians alike.:greengrin
23-06-2022, 09:07 AM
Still there about 4 years ago but unlike the description at the Meadows, didnt reek of urine. Not changed a huge amount since the 60s. Unlike the 60s, the only public loo along the mile from Eastfield to Kings Road.
Sent from my SM-T580 using Tapatalk
There are precious few public loos left now. You have to go into a shop or pub and ask nicely.
The one in Corstorphine closed some years ago and is now a deli cafe place. I still can't bring myself to go in.
It's quite busy.
Standing room only some days.
23-06-2022, 03:46 PM
People being proven wrong and them being unable to admit it, instead continually doubling down on their ludicrous position with ridiculous irrelevant arguments.
Applies to slow coaches on the driving peeves thread and some of our politicians alike.:greengrin
People who believe that a tweet is irrefutable evidence and then resort to childlike name calling on the Internet.
23-06-2022, 06:57 PM
Getting injured. Fractured my arm last Friday. It’s fine in a neutral position but I often forget about it and go to move it as normal only to then get a painful reminder it’s still fractured!
AltheHibby
23-06-2022, 07:30 PM
Getting injured. Fractured my arm last Friday. It’s fine in a neutral position but I often forget about it and go to move it as normal only to then get a painful reminder it’s still fractured!
Getting old. Same issue, but with no need to injure any particular body part!
Get well soon. :thumbsup:
24-06-2022, 05:08 PM
Take aways that tie the handles of a plastic bag ridiculously tight, so much so you have to resort to ripping the bag open meaning you can’t reuse the bag.
24-06-2022, 06:15 PM
It's gone a bit childish
25-06-2022, 07:15 AM
It's gone a bit childish
Either of you could start you own new interesting adult conversation on the thread instead of childishly complaining on a different thread about it. :wink:
25-06-2022, 08:22 AM
Either of you could start you own new interesting adult conversation on the thread instead of childishly complaining on a different thread about it. :wink:
Folk who don’t do irony.
25-06-2022, 09:09 AM
Folk who don’t do irony.
People who use the word irony in the wrong context.
25-06-2022, 09:21 AM
My girlfriend said to me that she doesn't think I understand the meaning of irony.
Which was ironic as I was waiting on a bus at the time.
25-06-2022, 09:23 AM
My girlfriend said to me that she doesn't think I understand the meaning of irony.
Which was ironic as I was waiting on a bus at the time.
25-06-2022, 01:07 PM
People who don’t understand irony.
25-06-2022, 01:16 PM
People who convert squabbles on one thread into a brand new squabble on a totally different thread,
Oh and Magpies. I can't stand the wee buggers.
25-06-2022, 01:17 PM
People who don’t understand irony.
Ironic coming from you:wink:
25-06-2022, 01:24 PM
People who convert squabbles on one thread into a brand new squabble on a totally different thread,
Oh and Magpies. I can't stand the wee buggers.
You shouldn't have lit the touchpaper then! :na na:
25-06-2022, 02:35 PM
Ironic coming from you:wink:
And there endeth the lesson 😉
25-06-2022, 02:46 PM
This used to be an entertaining thread, not so much these days.
25-06-2022, 02:48 PM
Moving house and losing stuff you know you packed.
25-06-2022, 03:00 PM
Only thing I lost in a move was a hairdryer, I hadn't realised Alex Ferguson was a removal man. :wink:
25-06-2022, 03:07 PM
Then finding it again 7 years later after you've bought replacements.
25-06-2022, 05:05 PM
You shouldn't have lit the touchpaper then! :na na:
Nah, I just set light to the Magpies :wink:
26-06-2022, 12:38 PM
Having to move things that the wife thinks look pretty before I can do a simple task.
Going to bed, have to move a mountain of cushions etc before I can get into it.
Sitting at the dining table, have to move candlestick and other ornaments before I can sit and use the table
Does my head in!
AltheHibby
26-06-2022, 04:15 PM
Having to move things that the wife thinks look pretty before I can do a simple task.
Going to bed, have to move a mountain of cushions etc before I can get into it.
Sitting at the dining table, have to move candlestick and other ornaments before I can sit and use the table
Does my head in!
Or, much, much worse still, when you put your car keys on the table to pick up a few seconds later. Then when you go back and she swears she hasn't seen them, but after what feels like a 10 minute search you find them in her bag.
But she didn't put them there! Right.
Or, much, much worse still, when you put your car keys on the table to pick up a few seconds later. Then when you go back and she swears she hasn't seen them, but after what feels like a 10 minute search you find them in her bag.
But she didn't put them there! Right.
my wife’s variant on this is leaving her car keys, house keys, phone, and whatever else is vaguely important, lying in random places around the house - toilet shelf, kitchen counter, table, phone shelf, bedside cabinet, jacket pocket, handbag, couch, and on and on. Then when she can’t find these things as she’s no idea where they’ve been abandoned, she gets all arsey and annoyed because she’s now in a rush and can’t find them
26-06-2022, 08:13 PM
my wife’s variant on this is leaving her car keys, house keys, phone, and whatever else is vaguely important, lying in random places around the house - toilet shelf, kitchen counter, table, phone shelf, bedside cabinet, jacket pocket, handbag, couch, and on and on. Then when she can’t find these things as she’s no idea where they’ve been abandoned, she gets all arsey and annoyed because she’s now in a rush and can’t find them
My wife once lost her car keys and we searched fir ages looking for them. Hunted high and low and couldn't find them. Turned up eventually........in the fridge
I put a key hook up in the hall at her request as she kept losing keys. The one place I can guarantee that she will not put her keys is in the ******g key hook!!
26-06-2022, 10:06 PM
Quotes getting broken on the main board
27-06-2022, 11:05 AM
[QUOTE=SaulGoodman;7005409 Quotes getting broken on the main board[/QUOTE]
Agreed
speedy_gonzales
27-06-2022, 12:09 PM
Agreed
:hilarious:
27-06-2022, 07:53 PM
Quotes getting broken on the main board
[QUOTE=matty_f;7005650Agreed
Total nightmare
27-06-2022, 08:10 PM
Women that say their man needs to do more about the house but, when he does, no matter how he does it, it's still wrong.
Hang up the wet clothes from the washing machine? -- Ten minutes later you find they've all mysteriously moved to different parts of the clothes horse, and hung up using pegs.
You fold and put away all the clothes once they're dry? -- They don't go on that shelf, and you haven't folded the socks correctly.
You decide to do a bit of the ironing? -- You don't iron T-Shirts, ya numpty...and why are ye no ironing that Shirt?
Talking of unironed shirts: -- "If you go out and people (that I've never met, and am unlikely to ever meet) see you wearing a crumpled shirt, it reflects badly on me!"
p.s I'm so glad my wife isn't at all like that :wink:
[QUOTE=SaulGoodman;7005409]Quotes getting broken on the main board
Total nightmare
And then they get all mixed up not knowing who's quoted and who's posting.
30-06-2022, 08:13 AM
So after all that about getting a slot because of it being under warranty, my partner has just took it in and they've said it isn't actually covered by the warranty and it will cost £119 to just look at it. I'd have taken it somewhere else. Absolute cretins - could they not have told me when I phoned.
30-06-2022, 10:11 AM
So after all that about getting a slot because of it being under warranty, my partner has just took it in and they've said it isn't actually covered by the warranty and it will cost £119 to just look at it. I'd have taken it somewhere else. Absolute cretins - could they not have told me when I phoned.
Not sure why it's not covered if it's only 1 year old.
Unless you have broken ot yourself of course.
30-06-2022, 10:21 AM
Ask them to show you the exemption in the warranty! If it's not specifically mentioned dig your heals in. Citizens advice or trading standards might be able to help.
30-06-2022, 10:45 AM
https://www.kiaownersclub.co.uk/threads/fuel-lid-not-working.38980/
Doesn't look like an isolated problem. Should absolutely be covered by KIA IMO.
30-06-2022, 10:52 AM
https://www.kiaownersclub.co.uk/threads/fuel-lid-not-working.38980/
Doesn't look like an isolated problem. Should absolutely be covered by KIA IMO.
Yep. I’ve just read the warranty exclusions and can’t see any exclusion for that, unless of course it’s my fault which it isn’t. Worked fine last time I went to fill up and I didn’t do anything different to normal (not that you really could)
30-06-2022, 10:55 AM
Yep. I’ve just read the warranty exclusions and can’t see any exclusion for that, unless of course it’s my fault which it isn’t. Worked fine last time I went to fill up and I didn’t do anything different to normal (not that you really could)
They’ve not phoned me but I just checked my email after posting this and they emailed me a “cash invoice” about half an hour ago. Line saying problem investigated and fixed with zero as the cost, so looks like my fiancée was told a load of old guff when she took it in or she picked them up wrong.
Could be they’ve said if it’s not covered by the warranty, you’d be liable for the investigation/diagnostic fee, and she has actually just picked them up wrong
30-06-2022, 01:47 PM
Could be they’ve said if it’s not covered by the warranty, you’d be liable for the investigation/diagnostic fee, and she has actually just picked them up wrong
Worth knowing that if it's a well known and common fault with a car that even a reasonable time outwith warranty that manufacturers should essentially cover it. Worked with MINIs for a few years and they had very common faults with the drivetrain and the sheer amount of new engine blocks you seen waiting to be fitted in a MINI garage was insane. Even outwith warranty the manufacturer often folded and replaced it FOC.
30-06-2022, 02:15 PM
So they phoned to say it was ready and actually reiterated that it isn’t covered by the warranty but haven’t charged as all it needed was some lubrication. I couldn’t be bothered arguing but that absolutely should be covered under warranty. If have any more issues, think I’ll take it to the other Kia dealership instead.
Just_Jimmy
30-06-2022, 04:29 PM
They’ve not phoned me but I just checked my email after posting this and they emailed me a “cash invoice” about half an hour ago. Line saying problem investigated and fixed with zero as the cost, so looks like my fiancée was told a load of old guff when she took it in or she picked them up wrong.What kind of Kia have you got? Maybe you said before but I've missed it.
Sent from my SM-G991B using Tapatalk
Peanut Shaz
30-06-2022, 04:57 PM
When you are walking towards 2 people who are having a conversation and as they get close they stop talking for all of 2/3 seconds.As soon as they have passed they start the conversation up again. There's no need, I don't know who or what yuu're talking about and I certainly won't pick up what the conversation is about.
30-06-2022, 08:04 PM
Tesco squash. It used to be double concentrated which gave a little bit of leaway if you were a bit heavy or light with your pour. It's now quadruple concentrated and just one drop too much leaves you with a nuclear strength drink that puts hairs on your eyeballs.
30-06-2022, 08:35 PM
“I’m not going to lie…”
30-06-2022, 10:59 PM
What kind of Kia have you got? Maybe you said before but I've missed it.
Rio
01-07-2022, 07:42 AM
Rio
Serves you right for letting that Sunak Guy borrow it for a photo opportunity 😉
01-07-2022, 01:29 PM
Serves you right for letting that Sunak Guy borrow it for a photo opportunity 😉
Probably him that broke the cap whilst filling up :greengrin
02-07-2022, 09:28 AM
Why does the Evening News publish "tomorrow's racecards"?
It's a while since it was an evening paper. You can read it at breakfast.
I have to say it's been a bit better of late, apart from the lifestyle and restaurant guide crap.
02-07-2022, 11:07 AM
Why does the Evening News publish "tomorrow's racecards"?
It's quite a novelty when they manage to actually print the racecard for the main meeting of any particular day. Is anyone that bothered about Beverley when Newbury is on?
02-07-2022, 12:28 PM
First world problems I know, but people who don’t split out their zoom number on invites. It’s a pain having to carefully make sure you are dialling onto the correct number. Just split it into standard phone number format, 3,3,4. 123 456 7891 rather than 1234567890.
02-07-2022, 12:43 PM
Having your flight back to Edinburgh delayed, arriving in the early hours of the morning.
1. When we transit through baggage reclaim and customs to discover the doors into the main airport are locked. There's no staff anywhere to be seen, no means of communication with the airport, and people have to resort to banging on the door to gain someone's attention in order to exit the airport. I mean, it's not as though our landing was a surprise.
2. When you then get back to to exit the car park to discover that you've been charged extra for staying beyond your expected exit time. As if the flight delay wasn't bad enough in itself, I'm now being charged for the delay.
pollution
02-07-2022, 06:28 PM
Having your flight back to Edinburgh delayed, arriving in the early hours of the morning.
1. When we transit through baggage reclaim and customs to discover the doors into the main airport are locked. There's no staff anywhere to be seen, no means of communication with the airport, and people have to resort to banging on the door to gain someone's attention in order to exit the airport. I mean, it's not as though our landing was a surprise.
2. When you then get back to to exit the car park to discover that you've been charged extra for staying beyond your expected exit time. As if the flight delay wasn't bad enough in itself, I'm now being charged for the delay.
That is not on. What if there was an emergency, with locked doors ?
I think I will stick to Belhaven this year.
02-07-2022, 08:38 PM
That is not on. What if there was an emergency, with locked doors ?
Well, I say "locked". They are automatic doors and they were closed and wouldn't open. So I'm not sure if locked is technically correct but they were closed and we couldn't open them.
There were probably fire exits somewhere but we were just focusing on getting the main doors open.
02-07-2022, 08:48 PM
Well, I say "locked". They are automatic doors and they were closed and wouldn't open. So I'm not sure if locked is technically correct but they were closed and we couldn't open them.
There were probably fire exits somewhere but we were just focusing on getting the main sorts open.
I assume pairs of swing doors, if so with a serious amount of pressure then they will give. But on first impressions they will appear locked. In an emergency they would open.
07-07-2022, 08:59 PM
People who post in Mixed UPPER AND lower CASE AS If it helps to make a POINT.
08-07-2022, 05:24 PM
WhAT aBoUt PeOpLE wHo tYpE lIKe ThIS?
08-07-2022, 05:45 PM
WhAT aBoUt PeOpLE wHo tYpE lIKe ThIS?I like it... means I know I can skip past without reading it :agree:
08-07-2022, 09:02 PM
I like it... means I know I can skip past without reading it :agree:
Aye, me too
09-07-2022, 12:06 PM
When you phone and book a taxi specifically stating that it needs to take a passenger in a wheelchair, the taxi arrives, the driver takes one look at the wheelchair and produces his exemption certificate saying he can’t take a wheelchair due to his bad knees, WTF!!
Their system will be needing updated or he hasn't told the company he has a certificate.
10-07-2022, 01:28 PM
People who take eternity to leave feedback on eBay. Very frustrating considering I leave feedback asap after a transaction.
10-07-2022, 02:30 PM
People who take eternity to leave feedback on eBay. Very frustrating considering I leave feedback asap after a transaction.
If the product provided meets expectations that's the transaction completed as far as I'm concerned, cannae be arsed to provide feedback on multiple websites unless a problem has arisen.
Reminds me of Danny Bhoy's routine about providing feedback for buying underpants in a shop! 😉
10-07-2022, 03:07 PM
Wimbledon ball boys/girls annoy me....don't know why.
10-07-2022, 04:33 PM
If the product provided meets expectations that's the transaction completed as far as I'm concerned, cannae be arsed to provide feedback on multiple websites unless a problem has arisen.
Reminds me of Danny Bhoy's routine about providing feedback for buying underpants in a shop! 😉
I actually had a hotel asking for feedback before we had arrived.
If feedback is warranted I don't mind. My most recent one was a product bought online from currys. Product got 10 currys got 1...
And should have been less than that.
11-07-2022, 07:46 AM
People who let their dog (I think maybe puppy) out into the garden from about 5.30am every morning. Regular yelping then ensues waking you up, followed by a break in which you are just getting back to sleep when it starts again. This has been going on for a month now.
11-07-2022, 07:49 AM
I actually had a hotel asking for feedback before we had arrived.
If feedback is warranted I don't mind. My most recent one was a product bought online from currys. Product got 10 currys got 1...
And should have been less than that.
Then there’s the folk on Etsy that will only accept a return/exchange if you change/give your feedback as 10/10.
11-07-2022, 11:26 AM
Then there’s the folk on Etsy that will only accept a return/exchange if you change/give your feedback as 10/10.
Can't you get the return and then change your feedback again?
Peanut Shaz
11-07-2022, 05:42 PM
When news reporters shout questions to MP's as they are leaving their houses or heading into number 10. They very rarely ever answer. Really gets on my goat.
11-07-2022, 06:12 PM
Nah, I personally think thats out of order C. Feedback is a big part of eBays community. Some sellers won't sell to you unless you have 100% recent feedback. You need to know you can trust the person you're doing a deal with as it can be a real hassle to raise a case through eBay as it generally takes ages to resolve.
11-07-2022, 06:41 PM
Nah, I personally think thats out of order C. Feedback is a big part of eBays community. Some sellers won't sell to you unless you have 100% recent feedback. You need to know you can trust the person you're doing a deal with as it can be a real hassle to raise a case through eBay as it generally takes ages to resolve.
I don't sell stuff on ebay, never been turned down as a buyer anytime I've tried to buy something so it's all good.
11-07-2022, 08:38 PM
People who let their dog (I think maybe puppy) out into the garden from about 5.30am every morning. Regular yelping then ensues waking you up, followed by a break in which you are just getting back to sleep when it starts again. This has been going on for a month now.
Steal the dog and put it in your garden at that time and see how your neighbor likes it.
11-07-2022, 09:12 PM
Those pigeons come out no long after too. And they all sing that same ****ing tune!
Do dooo doo, doo-doo. Over and over.
11-07-2022, 09:20 PM
Those pigeons come out no long after too. And they all sing that same ****ing tune!
Do dooo doo, doo-doo. Over and over.
I think that was Hot Chip.
11-07-2022, 09:39 PM
I think that was Hot Chip.
😁 pigeons definitely been going longer than that lot.
17-07-2022, 08:28 PM
People who are being wilfully stupid about the weather warnings about the heat.
'Aye but the same people panicking will be sitting next to a pool in Spain with a cocktail next week'.
Yes. In a country with a whole infrastructure set up to deal with heat. Next to a pool. In a hotel or apartment with tiled floors and built to reflect heat. Not sitting in a carpeted house or office built to retain heat or working exposed on a building site. Even in countries that are built for heat there is an extreme element to 40+ degrees. 70K people died during the 2003 heat wave in Europe.
Don't even get me started on the 'it was hot in 1976' brigade.
17-07-2022, 08:38 PM
'Aye but the same people panicking will be sitting next to a pool in Spain with a cocktail next week'.
Yes. In a country with a whole infrastructure set up to deal with heat. Next to a pool. In a hotel or apartment with tiled floors and built to reflect heat. Not sitting in a carpeted house or office built to retain heat or working exposed on a building site. Even in countries that are built for heat there is an extreme element to 40+ degrees. 70K people died during the 2003 heat wave in Europe.
Heat is no joke, before the game last week I sat outside for about 3 hours, kept reapplying sun cream but must have missed my left shin and ankle, it's still decimated a week later
What you describe and from what I've seen it's the anti vax lots latest bugbear
17-07-2022, 08:53 PM
I'm the other way. I get peeved at the predictions of doom at every variation of the weather.
Of course if there is extreme heat were going to have to adjust our behaviour accordingly. Why that means people have to dress for skin cancer or swim against currents I have no idea.
Some people keep calm and survive the heatwave of 1976 and onwards. Others compete for the Darwin awards.
Then we do it all again for the 'extreme' winter conditions.
17-07-2022, 09:20 PM
1976 was dry in June and July, it was at least 6 weeks without rain in Edinburgh but the temperature wasn't as high as now.
June 2020 was hot, I built a log cabin over 4 days and could only work on it in the morning as it was unbearable by 1pm. The roofing felt was melting under me as I laid it.
17-07-2022, 11:17 PM
I'm the other way. I get peeved at the predictions of doom at every variation of the weather.
Of course if there is extreme heat were going to have to adjust our behaviour accordingly. Why that means people have to dress for skin cancer or swim against currents I have no idea.
Some people keep calm and survive the heatwave of 1976 and onwards. Others compete for the Darwin awards.
Then we do it all again for the 'extreme' winter conditions.
I’m with you, being sensible is all that is required, the amount of scaremongering is ridiculous.
18-07-2022, 12:25 AM
Hibs game in [holiday destination] threads. I’m pretty sure people are just showing off now.
AltheHibby
18-07-2022, 09:24 AM
Reading this reminds me of the Indian lady I spoke to in Perth WA (not boasting; I was visiting my son). I asked her how it felt moving there and her first comment was that it was cold the first summer!
She was from Delhi where it's 50c every day in summer and Perth at 30+c most days felt cold for her.
18-07-2022, 11:48 AM
Reading this reminds me of the Indian lady I spoke to in Perth WA (not boasting; I was visiting my son). I asked her how it felt moving there and her first comment was that it was cold the first summer!
She was from Delhi where it's 50c every day in summer and Perth at 30+c most days felt cold for her.
Reminds me of the 6 months I spent in Cyprus. In the winter months the locals would sit outside their shops wearing thick wool pullovers and heat their hands using calor gas heaters whilst we were running around in the 25 degrees wearing shorts and t-shirts.
18-07-2022, 12:48 PM
I’m with you, being sensible is all that is required, the amount of scaremongering is ridiculous.
A woman at work was saying she couldn’t believe her mum hadn’t cancelled her dentist appointment for today because of the heat. Eh? Why would you cancel the dentist for that?
18-07-2022, 12:52 PM
A woman at work was saying she couldn’t believe her mum hadn’t cancelled her dentist appointment for today because of the heat. Eh? Why would you cancel the dentist for that?
Have heard of a few small businesses closing for two days because of the heat too. Bizarre!
also going to add to this, the one person in the office who ‘feels the cold’, and demands that everyone else sits sweltering and suffering and not turn on the air conditioning, whilst they sit in a strappy vest top.
Nah, move away from the aircon, put a cardigan on if you’re feeling a bit cool, but the 20 other people in the office are just as entitled to feel comfortable
18-07-2022, 06:46 PM
not too sure this is all that funny...anyway
(1) Scottish Patter on Twitter: "Breakdown in Possil, that laugh 😂 https://t.co/i0wAKA5c4N" / Twitter (https://twitter.com/ScottishPatterr/status/1548756135913693185)
18-07-2022, 06:52 PM
People who lived in southern Germany for years and regularly put up with temperatures in the high 30s, but now moan about it being unbearably hot in Glasgow at 25C.
Oh *****, I've just realised that's me :rolleyes:
18-07-2022, 07:00 PM
People who lived in southern Germany for years and regularly put up with temperatures in the high 30s, but now moan about it being unbearably hot in Glasgow at 25C.
Oh *****, I've just realised that's me :rolleyes::greengrin
People who screw up the quoted post and then every post thereafter is them quoting their own post, how do you knacker quoting someone?
22-07-2022, 07:16 AM
[QUOTE=J-C;7034286]People who screw up the quoted post and then every post thereafter is them quoting their own post, how do you knacker quoting someone?[/QUOTE
Infuriating. :agree:
22-07-2022, 07:27 AM
People who screw up the quoted post and then every post thereafter is them quoting their own post, how do you knacker quoting someone?
[QUOTE=J-C;7034286]People who screw up the quoted post and then every post thereafter is them quoting their own post, how do you knacker quoting someone?[/QUOTE
Infuriating. :agree:
😂😂😂
22-07-2022, 07:33 PM
😂😂😂
24-07-2022, 09:06 PM
Geriatrics on e-bikes. They nearly took out me and my mutt 3 times today whilst travelling at speeds that would guarantee the yellow jersey in France. They should stick to travelling at 50mph on motorways.
How do they get away with using ebikes at the speed they go but stick a small engine on it like a moped and drive at the same speed, it needs to be licensed, road worthy and a helmet worn.
25-07-2022, 01:40 PM
How do they get away with using ebikes at the speed they go but stick a small engine on it like a moped and drive at the same speed, it needs to be licensed, road worthy and a helmet worn.
In the UK and EU I think that they are limited to 15.5mph and the electric motor has to state what wattage it is, think there is a max of 250w, if it exceeds any of them then it's classed as a moped and you need the relevant license and insurance etc, not sure the polis go about checking them though
I'm not clued up on bikes by any stretch of the imagination but have recently watched a few videos on YouTube of folk converting their existing bike to an E Bike and found it interesting
speedy_gonzales
25-07-2022, 02:28 PM
In the UK and EU I think that they are limited to 15.5mph and the electric motor has to state what wattage it is, think there is a max of 250w, if it exceeds any of them then it's classed as a moped and you need the relevant license and insurance etc, not sure the polis go about checking them though
I'm not clued up on bikes by any stretch of the imagination but have recently watched a few videos on YouTube of folk converting their existing bike to an E Bike and found it interesting
You can get 500 and 1000W bicycle motors but many suppliers (like cyclotricity mentioned above) just get you to sign a waiver confirming it will only be used on private land. There are also codes and chips that de-restrict legit bikes that use the mainstream Bosch (or suchlike) motors.
I've been toying with going electric for a while as since I've had covid, I struggle with some hills, but, I don't want to put my licence at risk.
It's one thing if a kid, teen or radical food delivery dude wants to batter about at up to 50km/h, but I don't want to risk losing my livelihood just because I end up pecking after cycling up Baberton Mains Hill 🙄
25-07-2022, 03:42 PM
Different pet peeve related to e-bikes. There's a fair few teenagers round here who have e-bikes and the done thing seems to be to wear a balaclava with them, like proper IRA/UVF style, completely covering the face with holes for the eyes and mouth. It feels quite threatening, particularly when they are riding along secluded footpaths. The other thing they do is one will go ahead and stop ahead of you whilst they wait on the other one behind. It makes you feel as if they are trying to corner you. I half expect them to pull out a burner phone Line of Duty style.
What's the need?
26-07-2022, 06:07 AM
There is a guy on the tram watching a full on TV show on his phone and no headphones, everyone can hear it, some folk just have no consideration for other people, as usual it will be left to me to say something
Bridge hibs
27-07-2022, 05:49 AM
Silly lassies (mostly) pushing a buggy onto a busy road with a mobile phone glued to their faces
Or silly lassies (mostly) shoving a buggy onto the bus with wee jojo boy screaming like a banshee (probably thirsty) and the cup holder holding a can of red bull instead of wee jojo boys milk bottle
27-07-2022, 08:11 PM
There is a guy on the tram watching a full on TV show on his phone and no headphones, everyone can hear it, some folk just have no consideration for other people, as usual it will be left to me to say something
Anyone fancy forming a "Slap Squad"?
All pensioners, we'd travel to and fro on buses/trams and deliver slaps to folk like your friend above.
28-07-2022, 06:09 AM
Silly lassies (mostly) pushing a buggy onto a busy road with a mobile phone glued to their faces
Or silly lassies (mostly) shoving a buggy onto the bus with wee jojo boy screaming like a banshee (probably thirsty) and the cup holder holding a can of red bull instead of wee jojo boys milk bottle
On the bus going to work yesterday, we’re stopped at the red lights at the foot of Lothian Rd. The bus is in the outside lane, and there's a heavily pregnant woman standing at the island in the middle of the road waiting to cross.
She waits a bit, the red man is still on and so she starts to cross the front of the bus. The lights now start changing to green. On the inside of the bus there's a fast moving cyclist, he can't see her for the big bus obscuring his view any she has no idea what's coming because she's stupid enough to walk in front of a ****ing bus.
The cyclist manages to avoid her, which would have been a dull one for both of them, but she takes a bad fall. The bus moved off before I could see how it ended but she was getting help up and didn’t look too hurt but i imagine she’ll have wanted to get seen to to check the baby was ok etc
She’s lucky it was a cyclist and not a car or bigger as anything going faster than the bike would have hit her.
All down to a really stupid decision to cross.
28-07-2022, 06:32 AM
On the bus going to work yesterday, we’re stopped at the red lights at the foot of Lothian Rd. The bus is in the outside lane, and there's a heavily pregnant woman standing at the island in the middle of the road waiting to cross.
She waits a bit, the red man is still on and so she starts to cross the front of the bus. The lights now start changing to green. On the inside of the bus there's a fast moving cyclist, he can't see her for the big bus obscuring his view any she has no idea what's coming because she's stupid enough to walk in front of a ****ing bus.
The cyclist manages to avoid her, which would have been a dull one for both of them, but she takes a bad fall. The bus moved off before I could see how it ended but she was getting help up and didn’t look too hurt but i imagine she’ll have wanted to get seen to to check the baby was ok etc
She’s lucky it was a cyclist and not a car or bigger as anything going faster than the bike would have hit her.
All down to a really stupid decision to cross.
Yup. It was.
I had the same thing happen to me, but the other way round.
Also heavily pregnant, I was crossing towards Frasers with the green man. I was passing in front of the bus on the other side of the traffic island when the light started changing and the car on the pavement side whose view was obscured by the bus, sped off without checking if there were any pedestrians still on the road. Missed me and a few others by centimetres.
There's a lesson in there, somewhere :greengrin
In my job I see this regularly on a daily basis, survival of the fittest I call it, people are thick ****ers at times.
29-07-2022, 02:33 PM
Instagram posters who post still photos as reels. Why?
31-07-2022, 08:48 PM
How when it’s time for me to give the dog a bath she always seems to find a muddy puddle or a bog.
She came home covered in mud and it now looks like there’s been an explosion in the bathroom.
02-08-2022, 11:42 AM
Wheat Crunchies multi-packs....
Always only 4 spicy tomato :-(
02-08-2022, 12:09 PM
Wife opening a new loaf of bread before the old one is finished, does it every time if I don’t catch her in the act, does my nut in.
02-08-2022, 01:32 PM
Instagram posters who post still photos as reels. Why?
We are the same age, yet I've never had Instagram, Snapchat, Tik Tok or any of that crap. Whats the actual attraction for Instagram? I just don't get it. No desire to have any of the above either. Genuine question.
Stairway 2 7
02-08-2022, 02:30 PM
We are the same age, yet I've never had Instagram, Snapchat, Tik Tok or any of that crap. Whats the actual attraction for Instagram? I just don't get it. No desire to have any of the above either. Genuine question.
Instagram is far better than Facebook and its still pretty push. The difference though its mostly just pictures and videos of friends you follow. Where as Facebook is just full of pish videos and articles and rubbish really.
The joke goes the youngsters should their parents how to use Facebook, then left them there and went to Instagram. Snapchat and TikTok is where most under 20s go, they won't have a Facebook account, if they do they will rarely use it
02-08-2022, 02:40 PM
Instagram is far better than Facebook and its still pretty push. The difference though its mostly just pictures and videos of friends you follow. Where as Facebook is just full of pish videos and articles and rubbish really.
The joke goes the youngsters should their parents how to use Facebook, then left them there and went to Instagram. Snapchat and TikTok is where most under 20s go, they won't have a Facebook account, if they do they will rarely use it
You've really sold it to me pal. **** that. :greengrin
02-08-2022, 02:43 PM
For all the downsides of social media it isn't without it's positives either.
I love the access to relatively niche subjects. I subscribe to YouTube channels about aviation. Something I can't really share with my mates in the real world because it's a source of hilarity to them that I enjoy videos about planes and flying. I follow Instagram accounts that deal with the same subject. Same with running. It makes access to top coaches and the like borderline accessible.
I suppose it depends how you use it. I can find it really draining and negative but that is usually when I am being argumentative and allowing it to annoy me. Other times it's hugely informative, accessible and good fun.
Just_Jimmy
02-08-2022, 08:49 PM
I love the access to relatively niche subjects. I subscribe to YouTube channels about aviation. Something I can't really share with my mates in the real world because it's a source of hilarity to them that I enjoy videos about planes and flying. I follow Instagram accounts that deal with the same subject. Same with running. It makes access to top coaches and the like borderline accessible.
I suppose it depends how you use it. I can find it really draining and negative but that is usually when I am being argumentative and allowing it to annoy me. Other times it's hugely informative, accessible and good fun.Agreed. Funny you mention cos I'm a bit of a plane geek. I love 2nd World War aviation. If you can recommend good channels then PM me [emoji106]
Alfiembra
03-08-2022, 06:32 AM
Agreed. Funny you mention cos I'm a bit of a plane geek. I love 2nd World War aviation. If you can recommend good channels then PM me [emoji106]
one channel you may already know on YouTube is “Dark Skies” the guy that runs it is certainly very clued up but comes across as very intense to me, a very informative channel for aviation geeks looking for content of that era.
03-08-2022, 07:02 AM
I suppose it depends how you use it. I can find it really draining and negative but that is usually when I am being argumentative and allowing it to annoy me. Other times it's hugely informative, accessible and good fun.
Agreed. Funny you mention cos I'm a bit of a plane geek. I love 2nd World War aviation. If you can recommend good channels then PM me [emoji106]
one channel you may already know on YouTube is “Dark Skies” the guy that runs it is certainly very clued up but comes across as very intense to me, a very informative channel for aviation geeks looking for content of that era.
Alec Joshua Ibay on youtube, he recreates air disasters using a flight simulator. All factual and sometimes includes actual cockpit recordings of the pilots. Well worth a look.
05-08-2022, 11:14 PM
24 hours McDonald's. Why qrevtheyknky 24hrs for cars. What aboutgthe folk whobare walking butbthe does are closed. Fick tou Ronald Mcdonald!!! Dick
Stairway 2 7
05-08-2022, 11:15 PM
24 hours McDonald's. Why qrevtheyknky 24hrs for cars. What aboutgthe folk whobare walking butbthe does are closed. Fick tou Ronald Mcdonald!!! Dick
Is this typed from the car park
EH6 Hibby
05-08-2022, 11:24 PM
Is this typed from the car park
If it is I hope they’re not driving. :greengrin
06-08-2022, 05:04 AM
😃🍺😃
06-08-2022, 05:44 AM
How's the head this morning?😅
06-08-2022, 09:32 AM
How's the head this morning?😅
Ooft! Not good. I believe what I was trying to say was why does McDonalds say open 24 hours but actually only for drive through!! In Alloa at least. I took the option of walking home from the pub, you may have guessed I'd had a few, so as to get a McDs! Doors locked and only drive through open. Anyway toast and roasted cheese with Worcester sauce after I'd plodded home
06-08-2022, 10:29 AM
Ooft! Not good. I believe what I was trying to say was why does McDonalds say open 24 hours but actually only for drive through!! In Alloa at least. I took the option of walking home from the pub, you may have guessed I'd had a few, so as to get a McDs! Doors locked and only drive through open. Anyway toast and roasted cheese with Worcester sauce after I'd plodded homeCan you not walk through the drive through bit?
speedy_gonzales
06-08-2022, 10:30 AM
Can you not walk through the drive through bit?
If it was good enough for Fred Flintstone....
06-08-2022, 11:05 AM
Ooft! Not good. I believe what I was trying to say was why does McDonalds say open 24 hours but actually only for drive through!! In Alloa at least. I took the option of walking home from the pub, you may have guessed I'd had a few, so as to get a McDs! Doors locked and only drive through open. Anyway toast and roasted cheese with Worcester sauce after I'd plodded home
Just read this and the words that stood out were knky, bare and dick. Must have been a good night :greengrin
06-08-2022, 11:40 AM
Can you not walk through the drive through bit?
It turns out that no, it's not allowed!!
Either pished or fat finger syndrome.
06-08-2022, 07:31 PM
I've just seen an advert for Sodastream on tv. Some American tart doing the voiceover and they're making it out like its a new thing. I remember having one in the 80s.
06-08-2022, 08:32 PM
Either pished or fat finger syndrome.
Both!!
08-08-2022, 01:37 PM
I imagine they don't want drunks in the place itself!
08-08-2022, 04:23 PM
I imagine they don't want drunks in the place itself!
Worked in one as a student, didn’t know a single employee who hadn’t been verbally or physically intimidated or assaulted by drunks. One spat at, a couple with drinks thrown at them.
09-08-2022, 06:06 AM
My pet peeve this morning it that ****ing alarm that’s been going off since 5am! Ah, this is the cure, I typed that and it’s just gone quiet. I’m away back to sleep for half an hour.
10-08-2022, 08:48 AM
People who don’t turn their phone off or to silent at a show. I was at the opera last night and someone’s phone went off in the row behind me. Fair enough, they could have forgotten to turn it to silent. It then went off 3 more times. If that had been me, I’d have turned it to silent after the first time!
10-08-2022, 09:42 AM
Grasses.
10-08-2022, 11:05 AM
Grasses.
Reported
Stick
10-08-2022, 01:24 PM
Personal details they don’t need to know.
Went onto “compare the stupid animal” website to get a car insurance quote this morning and it wanted my driving liscence number. Didn’t give it, why do they ask for that for a quote? I already answered all the driving history details, if I go with a specific company they “might” need it, but not for a quote from dozens of company’s. They won’t accept “off you Kcuf”, unfortunately.
Then tried a specific company, not a comparison site, and they wanted my mobile number. I had already given my house tel number, but it wouldn’t let me proceed without my mobile.
Guess which company’s won’t be getting my business?
It’s getting ridiculous the amount of personal information we are expected to hand over.