View Full Version : Pet Peeves IV

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 [10] 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57

14-01-2017, 10:21 PM
When folk disagree with someone/something and claim the other party has an "agenda", e.g. BBC reporting Kris Commons isn't likely to sign when their source is his agent.

That's utter pish, you've clearly got an agenda

15-01-2017, 12:46 AM
Social media updates that have 'READ' 'WATCH' etc at the start, like I wouldn't know what to do with an article or a ****ing video.

15-01-2017, 07:01 AM
Social media updates that have 'READ' 'WATCH' etc at the start, like I wouldn't know what to do with an article or a ****ing video.

I agree. Does my thrupennies in now on Sky Sports News. They start so many stories with "watch this" and "keep an eye out for this" Aye I've managed to grab the concept of how tv works!

15-01-2017, 01:29 PM
The Paddy Power ads. Got to switch over every time I hear that ridiculous "turn around steward". Worst ad ever.

15-01-2017, 02:11 PM
The ads that appear at the side of the page here. When you close them it asks you "Did it block the text?"
Yes it did and I'm fed up telling you so.

15-01-2017, 02:22 PM
Supermarkets with too many short dated items. Tesco are getting worse.

17-01-2017, 11:53 AM
When that *****ing commentator on Sky Sports shouts "AND IT'S LIVE" just before the last ad break prior to kick-off!

17-01-2017, 11:57 AM
Drivers not indicating at all or indicating incorrectly as they leave a roundabout :grr:

17-01-2017, 12:51 PM
That throbbing, pulsating, ear drum-bursting effect you get when someone opens the back window of a car when you're driving.
I can't ever remember this effect as a child. Has God changed the rules of aerodynamics recently?

17-01-2017, 01:22 PM
That throbbing, pulsating, ear drum-bursting effect you get when someone opens the back window of a car when you're driving.
I can't ever remember this effect as a child. Has God changed the rules of aerodynamics recently?

:faf: I know exactly what you mean! Does my head in as well, how was this not a thing years ago!?

derekHFC
17-01-2017, 01:49 PM
The ads that appear at the side of the page here. When you close them it asks you "Did it block the text?"
Yes it did and I'm fed up telling you so.

A tenner a year and you dont see those adverts plus you get a private membership too.....

Supermarkets with too many short dated items. Tesco are getting worse.

Sell/Use by dates are a guide. If its not growing something new on it, use it :greengrin

17-01-2017, 02:26 PM
A tenner a year and you dont see those adverts plus you get a private membership too.....

And I thought I just had an incredibly good popup blocker :greengrin

17-01-2017, 05:58 PM
Drivers not indicating at all or indicating incorrectly as they leave a roundabout :grr:

:agree: I'm actually beginning to wonder if I was taught something different when I learned to drive, folk who go past 3+ exits (often in the wrong lane!) with no indicators on ��

Galahibby
17-01-2017, 09:44 PM
When you try to "remove film lid" on something you're going to shove in the oven, and all that comes away in your hand is the thin sliver of cellophane round the edge, and the "film lid" stays put, leaving nothing to grab on to. Some of them come off easy enough so why do others need to be soldered on, (Mrs Unis)?!

18-01-2017, 01:10 PM
The use of acronyms in spoken conversation, when the acronym takes longer to say than the words it represents.

18-01-2017, 01:28 PM
The use of acronyms in spoken conversation, when the acronym takes longer to say than the words it represents.

There can't be many. :confused:

Galahibby
18-01-2017, 06:34 PM
There can't be many. :confused:

Team meetings at my work are a nightmare for this. By the time everyone looks around blankly at each other, then somebody (usually me!) asks WTF they're talking about, then the person talking has to say it out in full anyway... then normally it would be quicker if they'd just said it out in full in the first place :wink:

18-01-2017, 06:47 PM
People who make using an ATM a much longer and drawn out process than it needs to be.

I dunno what this guy on Forrest Road was just doing, I thought I had plenty time to get cash out before my bus came, 6 mins it said on the bus tracker, but no, by the time he'd finished and as soon as my card went in, the bus comes round the corner. Had to cancel it and leg it to the bus stop.

18-01-2017, 07:27 PM
Scott Allan gets right on my thruppenies!

Sorry, he seems to be appearing on most other threads...

18-01-2017, 07:45 PM
Scott Allan gets right on my thruppenies!

Sorry, he seems to be appearing on most other threads...

To be fair, it's hardly his fault. Take it out on the folk who insist on prolonging the stupid rumours. :greengrin

18-01-2017, 08:23 PM
Rolls only buttered on one side. Or indeed any sandwich.

18-01-2017, 08:34 PM
People who make using an ATM a much longer and drawn out process than it needs to be.

I dunno what this guy on Forrest Road was just doing, I thought I had plenty time to get cash out before my bus came, 6 mins it said on the bus tracker, but no, by the time he'd finished and as soon as my card went in, the bus comes round the corner. Had to cancel it and leg it to the bus stop.

I reckon one transaction then back to the back of the queue - want a mini statement - fine. Take it then go queue to take money out.

19-01-2017, 11:36 AM

Can I add folks who actually say "LOL"?

19-01-2017, 12:30 PM
Folk who say ' that'll learn you' instead of 'that'll teach you'

19-01-2017, 01:15 PM
Can I add folks who actually say "LOL"?

:agree: Unless you're talking to this guy https://secondhandsongs.com/artist/20465

19-01-2017, 01:17 PM

People who insist on standing right behind me when I'm sorting out my finances at an ATM, sighing and moaning, whilst tapping away at their phones..........

19-01-2017, 02:26 PM
People.

19-01-2017, 02:59 PM
:agree: Unless you're talking to this guy https://secondhandsongs.com/artist/20465

LOL

19-01-2017, 03:12 PM

Women seem to be particularly bad for this. Getting mini statements for their 3 or 4 cards in her purses, taking about 5 minutes at an ATM. Really pisses me off.

19-01-2017, 07:06 PM
Women seem to be particularly bad for this. Getting mini statements for their 3 or 4 cards in her purses, taking about 5 minutes at an ATM. Really pisses me off.

Does my head in, they know there's a queue behind them, but they get statements and cash for 3 or 4 cards, then each card, statement and cash has to be carefully folded, put in exactly the right part of the purse/wallet, then that's got to be put away properly :bitchy:

19-01-2017, 07:19 PM
Rolls only buttered on one side. Or indeed any sandwich.

:agree: and butter too hard to spread on your bread.

20-01-2017, 06:37 AM
Some cyclists complete lack of regard for those around them.

When I go out running I often use a series of paths that are shared by cyclists and pedestrians. Whilst not narrow a bit common sense is required to move safely. The speed that some cyclists go at is ridiculous and they show no awareness of what's going on around them. Last night I was running and 2 people walking were approaching from the other direction, a cyclist coming from behind them at speed rung his bell then swerved right out into my path (right against the edge of the path where I had moved to allow the walkers to pass) and ran straight into me. A couple of weeks ago one ran into a dog and just before Christmas a guy sent himself and his bike flying into a hedge after speeding round a corner and having to swerve to avoid a lady with a pram coming the other way.

The people with those bikes with the big contraptions on the front to sit a child in seem to be the worst for this sort of behaviour. They don't seem to realise they are actually travelling on quite a big, heavy vehicle. Probably the 1st to moan about 'inconsiderate drivers' as well.

20-01-2017, 09:12 AM
I've not read the entire thread so apologies if already mentioned...but those Black Cabs that don't seem to be fitted with indicators as well as those that stop without any warning wherever they happenstance to feel like (often parallel to a proper space - what's that all about?) do tend to irritate somewhat! Add to that yon Deliveroo bawbags on bikes and Domino delivery dickheads (both of whom clearly think they're driving a Taxi going by the way they flout the regular road rules observed by us mere mortals) and its little wonder our city's roads are a monumental PITA!

20-01-2017, 10:54 AM

When I go out running I often use a series of paths that are shared by cyclists and pedestrians. Whilst not narrow a bit common sense is required to move safely. The speed that some cyclists go at is ridiculous and they show no awareness of what's going on around them. Last night I was running and 2 people walking were approaching from the other direction, a cyclist coming from behind them at speed rung his bell then swerved right out into my path (right against the edge of the path where I had moved to allow the walkers to pass) and ran straight into me. A couple of weeks ago one ran into a dog and just before Christmas a guy sent himself and his bike flying into a hedge after speeding round a corner and having to swerve to avoid a lady with a pram coming the other way.

The people with those bikes with the big contraptions on the front to sit a child in seem to be the worst for this sort of behaviour. They don't seem to realise they are actually travelling on quite a big, heavy vehicle. Probably the 1st to moan about 'inconsiderate drivers' as well.

There was a nasty collision between a cyclist and a pedestrian in holyrood park yesterday.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-edinburgh-east-fife-38676929

speedy_gonzales
20-01-2017, 10:57 AM

Aye, that's a peeve I've raised before, SHARED PATHS where nobody wants to share! Cyclists absolutely have a responsibility when travelling at speed but everyone else has to remain aware and not live in a bubble.
I've seen a lot of confrontation on the path running alongside the tram line between Balgreen & Saughton. It is fairly busy with cyclists and there's one stretch that has a long downhill run where achieving 20+ MPH is not beyond the scope of an amateur cyclist. Whilst achievable, it's not necessarily sensible as a lot of folk walk/jog/exercise dogs there so there's going to be conflict.
The simple answer would be for EVERYONE to walk/run/cycle on the left. Sounds so simple but folk like to go left/right/middle,,,sometimes all at once. Faster users should pass only when safe and moderate their speed/distance so the pass doesn't unsettle anyone. And dog owners, if the dog has a tendency to chase children/runners/cyclists or weave from side to side then please use a leash!

speedy_gonzales
20-01-2017, 11:02 AM
There was a nasty collision between a cyclist and a pedestrian in holyrood park yesterday.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-edinburgh-east-fife-38676929
Reports that the pedestrian walked in front of the cyclist on the road(not the cycle path there), perhaps the ped was crossing the road with their ears, it does happen. Seems like the cyclist took a nasty spill.

20-01-2017, 01:04 PM
Reports that the pedestrian walked in front of the cyclist on the road(not the cycle path there), perhaps the ped was crossing the road with their ears, it does happen. Seems like the cyclist took a nasty spill.

Sincerely hope both parties are okay.

That said, from their own logic, it will be the cyclist to blame, until he proves himself innocent - no? :dunno:

speedy_gonzales
20-01-2017, 03:04 PM
Sincerely hope both parties are okay.

That said, from their own logic, it will be the cyclist to blame, until he proves himself innocent - no? :dunno:
Correct, strict liability & all that.
I've been driving for 25 years now but still can't get over what my driving instructor told me, "a pedestrian can walk right in front of you at any time, legally they don't have to look whereas legally you are duty bound to avoid an accident",,, amazing eh? You can't just run them over apparently! 😜

20-01-2017, 03:21 PM
Correct, strict liability & all that.
I've been driving for 25 years now but still can't get over what my driving instructor told me, "a pedestrian can walk right in front of you at any time, legally they don't have to look whereas legally you are duty bound to avoid an accident",,, amazing eh? You can't just run them over apparently! 😜

Funnily enough when a smart erse jogger wearing ned swaggers slowly across the road I accelerate. Play chicken with my car and you will lose :-)

Dav1986
21-01-2017, 12:23 AM
:agree: I'm actually beginning to wonder if I was taught something different when I learned to drive, folk who go past 3+ exits (often in the wrong lane!) with no indicators on ��

Big one for me is oldcraighall roundabout coming from the fort to head onto the city bypass. When I was learning to drive, and I'm sure it's in the highway code, when going right at a roundabout, you approach in the right hand lane. Yet the amount of drivers that come onto that roundabout in the left hand lane and go right the way round it to head to sherifhall really frustrates me.

21-01-2017, 01:49 AM
Big one for me is oldcraighall roundabout coming from the fort to head onto the city bypass. When I was learning to drive, and I'm sure it's in the highway code, when going right at a roundabout, you approach in the right hand lane. Yet the amount of drivers that come onto that roundabout in the left hand lane and go right the way round it to head to sherifhall really frustrates me.

The exact same thing happens when you come off the slip road from town heading to the airport. You approach a roundabout with three exits yet people stuff the left hand lane and take the third exit, forcing those who were in the correct lane to begin with to try and rejoin the lane that takes you to the airport.

Also, these stupid roundabouts in Livingston where the left hand lane is for turning left only and the right lane is for straight ahead as well as turning right. WTF is that all about? Get caught out all the time.

21-01-2017, 11:34 AM
The exact same thing happens when you come off the slip road from town heading to the airport. You approach a roundabout with three exits yet people stuff the left hand lane and take the third exit, forcing those who were in the correct lane to begin with to try and rejoin the lane that takes you to the airport.

Also, these stupid roundabouts in Livingston where the left hand lane is for turning left only and the right lane is for straight ahead as well as turning right. WTF is that all about? Get caught out all the time.

West Lothian council seem to think they can paint on lane directions that are completely contrary to the Highway Code. It causes no end of confusion!

21-01-2017, 05:29 PM
Folk who hit the pub for hours before a football match, turn up pished then spend the next 90+ minutes going to the toilet every 5 minutes.

Had a right crew beside me today, it was like musical chairs.

21-01-2017, 11:18 PM

Tell me you learned to drive on St Kilda 🙏

24-01-2017, 06:35 AM
Folk who swagger about thinking that wearing a certain brand of clothing makes them rock hard.

24-01-2017, 07:03 AM
Folk who swagger about thinking that wearing a certain brand of clothing makes them rock hard.

Surely a Stone Island would be rock hard!

24-01-2017, 07:26 AM
Surely a Stone Island would be rock hard!

Very good :-)

24-01-2017, 09:11 AM

Do people really do that or is that simply the impression you have?

24-01-2017, 09:12 AM

Does my head in, they know there's a queue behind them, but they get statements and cash for 3 or 4 cards, then each card, statement and cash has to be carefully folded, put in exactly the right part of the purse/wallet, then that's got to be put away properly :bitchy:

You'll quite often find that these people are carers doing a favour for a number of elderly clients.

I can guarantee 3 or 4 octogenarians would be a damn sight slower.

24-01-2017, 10:10 AM
Do people really do that or is that simply the impression you have?

Oh they do it believe me. Often followed by the stare that is supposed to frighten you. Then you smack them in the puss and realise they are as soft as ***** and have just realised that their designer body armour doesn't actually work.
Disclaimer: This of course does not apply to everyone that likes certain clothing brands.

24-01-2017, 10:37 AM
People that smack me in the puss just for looking at them.

😛

24-01-2017, 11:48 AM
Making small talk with strangers at corporate events.

I'm rubbish at it and hate it.

Signed

Socially Awkward from Fife

24-01-2017, 02:58 PM
People that smack me in the puss just for looking at them.

😛

Hahaha not like that at all mate. I am not a fighter and never look for trouble but if someone thinks they can take liberties then you have to react appropriately :-)

24-01-2017, 03:19 PM
Hahaha not like that at all mate. I am not a fighter and never look for trouble but if someone thinks they can take liberties then you have to react appropriately :-)

Sorry Scouse, but it's not appropriate to smack someone just because they're wearing certain clothing and staring at you. Maybe that's not what you meant but that's how it's reading.

24-01-2017, 03:22 PM
Sorry Scouse, but it's not appropriate to smack someone just because they're wearing certain clothing and staring at you. Maybe that's not what you meant but that's how it's reading.

No mate don't worry that's not what I meant, that was just the build up. Sorry for the confusion.

24-01-2017, 03:25 PM
No mate don't worry that's not what I meant, that was just the build up. Sorry for the confusion.

Nae bother :thumbsup:

24-01-2017, 04:17 PM
Some guy just did some parkour round a bin and bus shelter to get on the bus before me even though I had been stood waiting longer, normally this is my trigger to go absolutely mental, but there are only about 5 people on the bus, he heard me laughing at how keen he was to get on an empty bus and wasn't too impressed

beensaidbefore
24-01-2017, 04:42 PM
Indicatorless cars.

pollution
24-01-2017, 05:03 PM
Big one for me is oldcraighall roundabout coming from the fort to head onto the city bypass. When I was learning to drive, and I'm sure it's in the highway code, when going right at a roundabout, you approach in the right hand lane. Yet the amount of drivers that come onto that roundabout in the left hand lane and go right the way round it to head to sherifhall really frustrates me.If we all used the right hand lane in the correct manner the traffic would queue onto the A1 and cause accidents.

Using the left hand lane too is disobedient to the Highway Code but is good road sense.

24-01-2017, 06:01 PM
People who judge or criticise something whilst knowing nothing about it.

I mentioned in work today I watched The Undateables. I got a load of abuse from one lady about how it was 'laughing at the disabled' and 'mocking'. I said I didn't think it was and it's actually quite a touching and gentle programme. Further abuse so I asked have you actually watched it? You can guess the answer.

24-01-2017, 06:20 PM
If we all used the right hand lane in the correct manner the traffic would queue onto the A1 and cause accidents.

Using the left hand lane too is disobedient to the Highway Code but is good road sense.
Till they cut in from left after they pass their "correct" exit and hit you (having assumed youd be the one to give way) from the left coz you can't see them.

Luckily witnesses etc did the seeing for me so all good in the end :D

Sent from my SM-G925F using Tapatalk

25-01-2017, 05:04 PM
Till they cut in from left after they pass their "correct" exit and hit you (having assumed youd be the one to give way) from the left coz you can't see them.

Luckily witnesses etc did the seeing for me so all good in the end :D

Sent from my SM-G925F using Tapatalk

Thats why I got a dash cam fitted.

25-01-2017, 05:29 PM

For the record you didn't confuse me. I knew that's what you meant - was just being an erse :)

25-01-2017, 06:05 PM
For the record you didn't confuse me. I knew that's what you meant - was just being an erse :)

:-)

speedy_gonzales
25-01-2017, 07:10 PM
If we all used the right hand lane in the correct manner the traffic would queue onto the A1 and cause accidents.

In my experience at this slip/RAB the folk that go down the left hand side and go right on to the A720 are doing so in flippant disregard of the rules and do so only to jump the queue. I've seen folk do it when there is only 1 or 2 cars on the RHS, and I've never seen the queue go as far back as the A1, that is not to say it doesn't happen.

25-01-2017, 07:46 PM
The noise that Peppa Pigs little brother George makes. My wee girl has been watching hours of it every day for weeks and that noise is starting to do my head in.

It's preferable to the noise she makes if I turn it off though I suppose.

Actually, kids tv in general. Apart from a few exceptions it's a big load of ***** these days.

25-01-2017, 08:43 PM
In my experience at this slip/RAB the folk that go down the left hand side and go right on to the A720 are doing so in flippant disregard of the rules and do so only to jump the queue. I've seen folk do it when there is only 1 or 2 cars on the RHS, and I've never seen the queue go as far back as the A1, that is not to say it doesn't happen.
Been on it once where it was close. Same time I witnessed the ersehole who did exactly that. Cut the queue. Anyone who is telling themselves they are making the A1 safer is simply lying to themselves.

25-01-2017, 09:36 PM

beensaidbefore
26-01-2017, 04:49 PM
Been on it once where it was close. Same time I witnessed the ersehole who did exactly that. Cut the queue. Anyone who is telling themselves they are making the A1 safer is simply lying to themselves.

Could it be that they are simply more important than the rest of us. They need to get to where they are going because it is important and their time is very precious. This is especially relevant if you have an expensive car, I mean, why should they have to queue, when clearly they are important.

beensaidbefore
26-01-2017, 04:54 PM
Junkies who try and 'chat' with you on the bus/at the bus stop, who then act all offended when you don't engage in a full blown conversation with them. Especially when they have no filter and launch into private personal details about their health and/or relationship woes at about 500 decibels. Piss off!

26-01-2017, 05:02 PM
Bus drivers who when changing shift have a 5 minute conversation with each other.

I understand there needs to be a handover but I have somewhere to be and would rather not stand in the cold whilst you and your mate discuss your new car, your cousins guest house and your plans for your day off.

26-01-2017, 08:58 PM
Cars that drive so slowly on dual-carriageways that lorries have to overtake them in the fast lane.

Having just spent the day driving down the A1 - they should be hung after a good bout of water-boarding.

27-01-2017, 07:48 AM
Cars that drive so slowly on dual-carriageways that lorries have to overtake them in the fast lane.

Having just spent the day driving down the A1 - they should be hung after a good bout of water-boarding.

In France, I'm sure that HGVs aren't allowed in the overtaking lanes and the difference it makes to the speed and safety of the roads is night and day to our motorways.

27-01-2017, 09:00 AM
Ikea furniture. Has anyone ever in the history of man hammered the nails in the back board without at least one coming through on the inside? :grr::

rodhibs55
27-01-2017, 11:31 AM
Could it be that they are simply more important than the rest of us. They need to get to where they are going because it is important and their time is very precious. This is especially relevant if you have an expensive car, I mean, why should they have to queue, when clearly they are important.

Or, are they taxi drivers?
Just a question.

27-01-2017, 12:48 PM
Just a question.

Apparently personalised no. plates gives you licence to do loads of things other punters are not allowed to do. :whistle:

beensaidbefore
27-01-2017, 01:12 PM
Just a question.

Not sure but that would entitle them to more perks such as stopping wherever you like and indicatorless driving. You can apply for them through the 'I drive every day so Ken what's happen on the roads' scheme. 😂

28-01-2017, 12:43 AM
Not sure but that would entitle them to more perks such as stopping wherever you like and indicatorless driving. You can apply for them through the 'I drive every day so Ken what's happen on the roads' scheme. 😂
When you hale a taxi, would you be happy if the driver rolled down the window and said I'll get you 200 yards down the road when it's convenient to stop? Or if you phoned a taxi if there was cars parked outside your house, would it be ok with you if the taxi driver phoned and said sorry there's parked cars outside your house I'm at the end of your street.
Sometimes instead of complaining, we just need to accept that people are just out trying to make a living and get over it
Peace

28-01-2017, 02:25 AM
People who always have a go at taxi drivers and would probably open a gig with a joke about them if they were funny enough.

They've probably never even walked a few yards in their shoes, never mind a mile so it's all filed under "clueless" as far as I'm concerned.

28-01-2017, 07:41 AM
When you hale a taxi, would you be happy if the driver rolled down the window and said I'll get you 200 yards down the road when it's convenient to stop? Or if you phoned a taxi if there was cars parked outside your house, would it be ok with you if the taxi driver phoned and said sorry there's parked cars outside your house I'm at the end of your street.
Sometimes instead of complaining, we just need to accept that people are just out trying to make a living and get over it
Peace

You make a very valid point,however I would expect the driver to use his mirrors, consider other motorists and the flow of traffic. Rather than the all too often idiotic act of brake sharply whilst putting on hazard lights. Sometimes surely you have to tell your passenger sorry I can't stop to drop you off on these double yellows just off the roundabout at the Omni at Leith Street because it's ****** madness!! Happened last week :-)

28-01-2017, 09:47 AM
You make a very valid point,however I would expect the driver to use his mirrors, consider other motorists and the flow of traffic. Rather than the all too often idiotic act of brake sharply whilst putting on hazard lights. Sometimes surely you have to tell your passenger sorry I can't stop to drop you off on these double yellows just off the roundabout at the Omni at Leith Street because it's ****** madness!! Happened last week :-)
I often say to people I can't stop here and drive a wee bit further till it's safe to stop. Sometimes people are elderly or disabled and you feel obliged to drop them as close as possible to where they're going.

beensaidbefore
28-01-2017, 12:12 PM
Peace

Thank you for confirming that there is different rules for taxi drivers. 😂 stopping in greenaways and on double red lines is a pain for other road users or public transport users. Even worse is sitting with hazards on or parked in rush hour somewhere like outside fountain court on Queen Street. Total pain for everyone else. If the taxi driver gave a monkeys about anyone else he could have parked in the street round the corner.

beensaidbefore
28-01-2017, 12:15 PM
People who always have a go at taxi drivers and would probably open a gig with a joke about them if they were funny enough.

They've probably never even walked a few yards in their shoes, never mind a mile so it's all filed under "clueless" as far as I'm concerned.

I trust you are one of the stop anywhere crowd? Justify it how you like mate but rules are rules. If you break them you leave yourself open for criticism. That's the point. There are other people in a hurry going to work etc and blocking lanes etc causes disruption to more folk than you are helping out.

28-01-2017, 03:20 PM
Thank you for confirming that there is different rules for taxi drivers. 😂 stopping in greenaways and on double red lines is a pain for other road users or public transport users. Even worse is sitting with hazards on or parked in rush hour somewhere like outside fountain court on Queen Street. Total pain for everyone else. If the taxi driver gave a monkeys about anyone else he could have parked in the street round the corner.

You can't drive in the lane outside fountain court on queen street at rush hour time.

speedy_gonzales
28-01-2017, 04:49 PM
You can't drive in the lane outside fountain court on queen street at rush hour time.
Eh? Buses/coaches, taxis, motorcyclists, cyclists can and if it's clear it means they don't have to change lanes which in turns causes EVERYBODY else in lane 2 to slow down or stop.

speedy_gonzales
28-01-2017, 05:08 PM
Without turning this thread in to a taxi-driver bashing one, they do seem to stand out from other motorists with what appears to be a very strong two fingered salute attitude towards other road users.
Without riling the members here that do drive a taxi for a living, there is a significant percentage of drivers out there that carry out manoeuvres that just leave you shaking your head.
This afternoon I'm driving through the centre of town, I approach Haymarket from the west, there's absolutely NOTHING behind me but a taxi coming from town indicates (shock) then pulls a u-turn right in front of me. This is opposite Roseberry House, where the road is 4 lanes wide but the driver can't get around in one so performs a 3 pointer, I'm now stopped as my path is blocked, bus comes behind her so she can't perform the turn until the bus clears and now she's giving me the dirty look. It probably didn't help that I was laughing at the situation, no point getting aggro! 5 minutes later another taxi performs the exactly same manoeuvre but this time in the mess of a rank that is Market Street. Again, the driver blocks our path but he's at the back of the rank and we have to wait until ALL the taxis shuffle forward one before it's clear to go. The driver shrugged his shoulders towards and again I just laugh at the ridiculous state of affairs.

Whilst taxis are an integral part of the public transport system, these ignorant drivers do not help their cause one iota!

28-01-2017, 07:39 PM
The price of pizzas in some places.

Left to fend for myself tonight so I looked at Pizza Hut and dominoes where large pepperoni pizzas are nearly £18.

Instead, I walked to Aldi and bought a cheap pepperoni one for £1.80. I topped it with chillies, mushrooms, peppers and Parmesan and it tasted better than anything I've ever had delivered. Must have cost me about £3 in total.

I'll drive past dominoes on slateford road tonight and people will be double parked outside because they think that they're getting a bargain when they pay £25 for two pizzas and a wee poke of wedges.

Edit: Thinking about it, it must cost these places about 50p in total for ingredients to make a pizza. Some mark up!

28-01-2017, 08:21 PM

Left to fend for myself tonight so I looked at Pizza Hut and dominoes where large pepperoni pizzas are nearly £18.

Instead, I walked to Aldi and bought a cheap pepperoni one for £1.80. I topped it with chillies, mushrooms, peppers and Parmesan and it tasted better than anything I've ever had delivered. Must have cost me about £3 in total.

I'll drive past dominoes on slateford road tonight and people will be double parked outside because they think that they're getting a bargain when they pay £25 for two pizzas and a wee poke of wedges.

Edit: Thinking about it, it must cost these places about 50p in total for ingredients to make a pizza. Some mark up!

The food costs are a good bit higher than 50p mate but still very good mark up on pizzas.

29-01-2017, 01:24 PM
People that think they're Franz Klammer but in reality have the same elegance, control and appearance as Norman Wisdom.

29-01-2017, 04:27 PM
Tourist that take selfies in the middle of the road then give me the evil eye when I toot my horn at them because they're in the way......

29-01-2017, 04:41 PM
Guy on the train this afternoon who appeared to take a big strop because I sat in my reserved seat other side of table where he had all of his paperwork spread out.

pollution
29-01-2017, 05:05 PM

Edit: Thinking about it, it must cost these places about 50p in total for ingredients to make a pizza. Some mark up!The biggest rip off are the extras eg extra onion for £1 which costs the shop 5p to provide.

hibs#1
29-01-2017, 05:14 PM

Domino's is *****.

29-01-2017, 10:42 PM
People who insist on standing near the front of the bus rather than taking a seat. They cause a bottleneck and obstruct folk getting on and off

30-01-2017, 07:16 AM
Trying to find your mates in a busy pub. I never wear my glasses when I'm out so I usually spend 5 minutes squinting around when they're right there in front of me pishing themselves laughing :greengrin

Alfiembra
30-01-2017, 07:49 AM
Guy on the train this afternoon who appeared to take a big strop because I sat in my reserved seat other side of table where he had all of his paperwork spread out.

I hate when when sitting opposite a person on a train when they think they can stretch their legs out and you end up having to straddle their feet to sit comfortably.

30-01-2017, 07:58 AM
People who let their kids kick the back of seats at the theatre etc!

30-01-2017, 08:08 AM
People who let their kids kick the back of seats at the theatre etc!I just turn round and ask their parent if they want to swap seats with me.

30-01-2017, 09:13 AM
I hate when when sitting opposite a person on a train when they think they can stretch their legs out and you end up having to straddle their feet to sit comfortably.

I'd have a field day if someone tried that on me. Especially after fighting my way through tubes, buses etc to get to the train.

30-01-2017, 11:58 AM
When you're reversing out a parking bay and someone drives into the vacant bay next to you as you pull out.
FFS, the no. of times it nearly causes a collision due to the lack of brains of the incomer.
I don't think it's arrogance on their part. It's more a lack of ability to read and understand the situation.
I'm sure other netters will have experienced this.

ps Hate to be sexist here, but most times this has happened to me, the incoming driver has been female. :shhhsh!:

30-01-2017, 12:49 PM
The dog poo preservation society. As a dogless person, I applaud the habit of dog owners depositing poo into plastic bags. Recently however, I've noticed an increased number of them leaving the bags in the gutter, at the foot of trees or even hanging on lower branches of trees or on fences for some other mug to pick up and deal with. I've come across wee black bags full of crap lying in the same spot for weeks on end. It would sometimes be more environmentally friendly to leave the poo lying where it is to decay naturally.

30-01-2017, 01:14 PM
The dog poo preservation society. As a dogless person, I applaud the habit of dog owners depositing poo into plastic bags. Recently however, I've noticed an increased number of them leaving the bags in the gutter, at the foot of trees or even hanging on lower branches of trees or on fences for some other mug to pick up and deal with. I've come across wee black bags full of crap lying in the same spot for weeks on end. It would sometimes be more environmentally friendly to leave the poo lying where it is to decay naturally.

It would sometimes be more environmentally friendly to leave the perpetrators lying where it is to decay naturally :wink:

30-01-2017, 01:43 PM
It would sometimes be more environmentally friendly to leave the perpetrators lying where it is to decay naturally :wink:

It's not the dogs fault.

30-01-2017, 01:54 PM

It's not the dogs fault.

Maybe he meant the offending owners. :wink:

30-01-2017, 02:10 PM
Maybe he meant the offending owners. :wink:

I did :wink:

pollution
30-01-2017, 05:37 PM
When you're reversing out a parking bay and someone drives into the vacant bay next to you as you pull out.
FFS, the no. of times it nearly causes a collision due to the lack of brains of the incomer.
I don't think it's arrogance on their part. It's more a lack of ability to read and understand the situation.
I'm sure other netters will have experienced this.

ps Hate to be sexist here, but most times this has happened to me, the incoming driver has been female. :shhhsh!:Nothing sexist in an observation of fact

beensaidbefore
30-01-2017, 05:59 PM

The path between buckstone and mortonhall golf course can be particularly bad for it. As you say, s***e in a bag hanging from trees is a real hate of mine. Dog licencing and compulsory dna testing of dogs would soon rid society of the problem and cost for cleaning up the mess. Fine the owners and put the money back into the system, make it robust and make dog owners pay for it.

02-02-2017, 03:58 AM
Elderly tourists from the far east (and indeed anywhere) with all the technology at their disposal but a lack of manners and scooby in how to actually use the aforementioned technology appropriately.

On a side note, anyone taking a photo on an iPad should be summarily executed without trial.

Alfiembra
02-02-2017, 06:39 AM
Having to get up on a work day and wishing I could have a long lie.
Alternatively waking up too early and can't get back to sleep at the weekend.

02-02-2017, 02:51 PM
Elderly tourists from the far east (and indeed anywhere) with all the technology at their disposal but a lack of manners and scooby in how to actually use the aforementioned technology appropriately.

On a side note, anyone taking a photo on an iPad should be summarily executed without trial.

I'm in Thailand just now, been here 4 days, and I've been amazed at the lack of manners from some, often the Chinese, though that could just be coincidence, rather than a national problem!

I was eating on koh san road in Bangkok a couple of days ago. A large Chinese family came in, one of them, a women of about 60 I'd say, just reached from behind me and picked up my beer and started examining it. A younger girl in her group tried to take it from her to give me it back, and she was just shoo'd away. I asked for it back, and she gave me a pure death stare before giving it to me!

02-02-2017, 04:22 PM
I was eating on koh san road in Bangkok a couple of days ago. A large Chinese family came in, one of them, a women of about 60 I'd say, just reached from behind me and picked up my beer and started examining it. A younger girl in her group tried to take it from her to give me it back, and she was just shoo'd away. I asked for it back, and she gave me a pure death stare before giving it to me!

Maybe it was a takeaway shop! ;-)

beensaidbefore
02-02-2017, 04:29 PM
I'm in Thailand just now, been here 4 days, and I've been amazed at the lack of manners from some, often the Chinese, though that could just be coincidence, rather than a national problem!

Avoid the suit shops if you can!

02-02-2017, 04:31 PM

I always find Russians very rude as well.

I asked a mate of mine from China (a friendly lad) about it and he said it harks back to the days of scarcity. Basically for the older generation if you weren't 1st you were last when it came to food and other 'luxuries'. In some rural areas of China, away from the showpiece cities, it's still the case to an extent.

He said it's just an ingrained part of their nature and will change with time. I suppose the same could be said of Russians.

Don't get me started on the Japanese and their love of taking photographs of absolutely ****ing everything with no regard for those around them. I worked part time as a porter in a hotel when at uni and one guy was stopping literally every 3 steps on the way to his room to take pictures of the carpet, curtains, vases, a handrail, pictures on the wall etc.

02-02-2017, 04:46 PM

I think it's more a cultural thing. I get all nationalities in the taxi and certain people often act in a certain way. Not all the time, but you certainly notice it.

02-02-2017, 05:55 PM

Count yourself lucky. They could have thrown you out for not having a Thai.

02-02-2017, 08:50 PM
Count yourself lucky. They could have thrown you out for not having a Thai.

It wasnae lucky, it was easty.

06-02-2017, 01:04 PM
This is a second rant at the increasingly wrong use of the word 'so' at the start of a sentence, especially in a reply to a question. It appears I'm not the only person who cringes at this. I came across this bit from John Humphries, radio and TV presenter :

SO wrong! Why John Humphrys is in a rage at such a little word after it invades everyday speech
The Today programme presenter declared war on the use of the word 'so'
He is seeking to ban it from being used at the beginning of a sentence
Mr Humphrys branded it a ‘noxious weed’ that invades everyday speech

With the task of informing the nation from his seat on the Today programme, John Humphrys’ language has reason to be precise.
It may therefore be little surprise that the Radio 4 presenter, 71, is determined to hold the rest of the population to the same exacting standards.
He is seeking to ban the word ‘so’ from being used at the beginning of a sentence, branding it ‘irritating’, ‘absurd’ and a ‘noxious weed’ that has invaded everyday speech.
Writing in his column in Waitrose Weekend magazine, he said: ‘So I am beginning this sentence with a word that is so irritating when it’s used at the start of a sentence that I would understand if you were to rip out this column, screw it into a tight ball and hurl it at the radio the next time you hear my voice coming from it.
'But better to horde your anger and unleash it against the growing band of linguistic vandals, who use this absurd construction routinely – especially when they are asked a question’.
He blamed the rise of ‘so’ on bumbling academics who use it ‘perhaps to buy a bit of time when they’re not quite sure how to answer the question’. However, he lamented that: ‘Now the misplaced “so” has invaded everyday speech like some noxious weed in an untended garden’.

He can also count on the backing of Dr Bernard Lamb, president of the Queen’s English Society, who said: ‘I think [the use of ‘so’ at the beginning of a sentence] is a sign of someone who is not particularly fluent, it’s fulfilling the function of ‘ummm’ and ‘errrr’ and giving the person a bit longer. It’s not being used as a conjunction to join things up, which is how it should be used. I think someone started doing it and then other people have begun slavishly copying it, it becomes fashionable. It’s just carelessness, it doesn’t have any meaning when used this way’.

06-02-2017, 01:41 PM
This is a second rant at the increasingly wrong use of the word 'so' at the start of a sentence, especially in a reply to a question. It appears I'm not the only person who cringes at this. I came across this bit from John Humphries, radio and TV presenter :

SO wrong! Why John Humphrys is in a rage at such a little word after it invades everyday speech

With the task of informing the nation from his seat on the Today programme, John Humphrys’ language has reason to be precise.
It may therefore be little surprise that the Radio 4 presenter, 71, is determined to hold the rest of the population to the same exacting standards.
He is seeking to ban the word ‘so’ from being used at the beginning of a sentence, branding it ‘irritating’, ‘absurd’ and a ‘noxious weed’ that has invaded everyday speech.
Writing in his column in Waitrose Weekend magazine, he said: ‘So I am beginning this sentence with a word that is so irritating when it’s used at the start of a sentence that I would understand if you were to rip out this column, screw it into a tight ball and hurl it at the radio the next time you hear my voice coming from it.
'But better to horde your anger and unleash it against the growing band of linguistic vandals, who use this absurd construction routinely – especially when they are asked a question’.
He blamed the rise of ‘so’ on bumbling academics who use it ‘perhaps to buy a bit of time when they’re not quite sure how to answer the question’. However, he lamented that: ‘Now the misplaced “so” has invaded everyday speech like some noxious weed in an untended garden’.

He can also count on the backing of Dr Bernard Lamb, president of the Queen’s English Society, who said: ‘I think [the use of ‘so’ at the beginning of a sentence] is a sign of someone who is not particularly fluent, it’s fulfilling the function of ‘ummm’ and ‘errrr’ and giving the person a bit longer. It’s not being used as a conjunction to join things up, which is how it should be used. I think someone started doing it and then other people have begun slavishly copying it, it becomes fashionable. It’s just carelessness, it doesn’t have any meaning when used this way’.

If you ask me, Humphrys and Lamb are just a pair of so and so's. :coffee:

06-02-2017, 01:46 PM
With the task of informing the nation from his seat on the Today programme, John Humphrys’ language has reason to be precise.So did he really say "horde your anger"?

06-02-2017, 01:47 PM
If you ask me, Humphrys and Lamb are just a pair of so and so's. :coffee:

So I'm finding it difficult to come up with a witty reply to your post.

06-02-2017, 01:52 PM
It wasnae lucky, it was easty.

I think he's currently known as "far easty".

06-02-2017, 04:17 PM

Very good! :-)

06-02-2017, 04:27 PM
Fixed hotel showers that seem to be aimed strictly at the "5 foot 7 and under" crowd, leaving any non-pygmies needing to do some tortuous chicken limbo to wash their hair.

06-02-2017, 04:39 PM

He best never learn German and move to Saxony. Every sentence there starts with so or zsoooooooo.

pollution
06-02-2017, 04:58 PM

My pet hate language wise is the gratuitous use of " you know " especially when I have asked a question. Does the you know mean that I agree with

what the person is saying, or does it mean that I should agree at that point in the conversation because if I say that I do not know/agree with what the person

is saying then I forego the right to question further and undoubted repeated use of you know.

When I have said that I do not know I am given the look of incredulity mixed with menace.

This includes the all conquering " you know what I mean " not posed in a questioning manner but as a fact. No, I don't know -- that is why I asked the question!!

06-02-2017, 05:10 PM

On a similar note, folk that get humpty when you point out to them that they are sitting in your reserved seat on the train, particularly when a table is involved.

beensaidbefore
06-02-2017, 05:51 PM
On a similar note, folk that get humpty when you point out to them that they are sitting in your reserved seat on the train, particularly when a table is involved.

Cocks

06-02-2017, 06:00 PM

Usually get the response - "och just sit in another empty seat"

how about no, because someone is likely to come and ask me to shift out of their reserved seat. Try sitting in your own reserved seat, and if you don't have one, find an unreserved one.

06-02-2017, 06:34 PM
Ah the good old reserved seat feud. I had ways of dealing with that on the day trains. :greengrin

06-02-2017, 06:59 PM

Or when the seat reservation system is not displaying and folk suddenly lose the ability to seat in the seat stated on their reservation.

06-02-2017, 07:41 PM
Trainspotters

07-02-2017, 07:15 AM
Costa coffee lids from the dispenser on the coffee machines.
Not matter how I try to take one , two always comes out and you then have to use your fingers to pull them apart rendering one of them useless .

07-02-2017, 11:41 AM
Ditherers. Folk who can't make up their mind or hold up a queue while they chat/fart about/whatever, completely oblivious to the hold up they're causing.

Also, pointless signs. When you join the M90 from Dunfermline (Masterton junction) there's a turn onto the slip road which has a max speed limit of 30mph, and the road joins the M90 at a 40mph hour. The dynamic speed limit sign, positioned about ten yards after the 30mph sign, has a limit of 50mph. At no point on that section of the road can you do 50mph.

Also, on the road from the M90 to Crammond there's a dynamic speed limit, where the electronic sign signals when it's 50mph, just after that there's temporary signs that have been there for months and months to signal that it's the end of the roadworks and that the national speed limit applies - so you'd probably think that signals the end of the dynamic speed limit, but then a mile down the road there's another electronic sign to signal that it's still the dynamic speed limit that applies.

07-02-2017, 11:42 AM
Costa coffee lids from the dispenser on the coffee machines.
Not matter how I try to take one , two always comes out and you then have to use your fingers to pull them apart rendering one of them useless .

Getting the position of the cup just right in those machines is an art as well. No two machines are the same! Lost count of the times I've thought it was lined up only to have to move the cup to stop a stream of coffee or milk tanning down the side of the cup.

07-02-2017, 12:50 PM

Hahaha!

07-02-2017, 12:53 PM
Ditherers. Folk who can't make up their mind or hold up a queue while they chat/fart about/whatever, completely oblivious to the hold up they're causing.

Also, pointless signs. When you join the M90 from Dunfermline (Masterton junction) there's a turn onto the slip road which has a max speed limit of 30mph, and the road joins the M90 at a 40mph hour. The dynamic speed limit sign, positioned about ten yards after the 30mph sign, has a limit of 50mph. At no point on that section of the road can you do 50mph.

Also, on the road from the M90 to Crammond there's a dynamic speed limit, where the electronic sign signals when it's 50mph, just after that there's temporary signs that have been there for months and months to signal that it's the end of the roadworks and that the national speed limit applies - so you'd probably think that signals the end of the dynamic speed limit, but then a mile down the road there's another electronic sign to signal that it's still the dynamic speed limit that applies.

Ditters :agree: 100%

Irrelevant Signage :agree: 100% Especially when they say 'temp traffic lights ahead' and there's none + temp speed limit signs when the roadworks are long done.
And then they complain that motorists don't adhere to their signs. I wonder why, Sherlock. :doh:

07-02-2017, 03:34 PM
The habit of large department stores to always have the perfume + make-up departments right by a main entrance. What's up with that??

Do they think the potent stench of concentrated perfume entices folk in, like it's a Subway branch or something??.

That generic stench of whatever ***** it is that Dior, Armani and Chanel have released most recently gives me a guaranteed headache and yet if I just want to get to the menswear or electrical section I almost always have to walk through acres of orange faced salespeople and rancid smells fighting the urge to dry retch just to get there.

07-02-2017, 04:14 PM
The habit of large department stores to always have the perfume + make-up departments right by a main entrance. What's up with that??

Do they think the potent stench of concentrated perfume entices folk in, like it's a Subway branch or something??.

That generic stench of whatever ***** it is that Dior, Armani and Chanel have released most recently gives me a guaranteed headache and yet if I just want to get to the menswear or electrical section I almost always have to walk through acres of orange faced salespeople and rancid smells fighting the urge to dry retch just to get there.

The highest mark up is generally made on perfumery products, having at front of store generates sales.

07-02-2017, 04:40 PM
The highest mark up is generally made on perfumery products, having at front of store generates sales.
Also, most pricey cosmetic stuff is bought as gifts. Often useless blokes (like myself) will go into a department store in search of inspiration, find nothing, and end up buying some smelly stuff (och that'll do!) on the way out.

07-02-2017, 05:21 PM

If you want to wind them up, just ask if they sell Chanel but pronounce it 'Channel' (as in the English one).

07-02-2017, 06:07 PM
Folk in doctors/hospital waiting rooms who sit about coughing and spluttering without covering their mouth. Ignorant pricks.

Obviously people who do that anywhere are erseholes but in a place frequented by sick people and where the cougher is likely ill as well it seems a bit worse.

07-02-2017, 06:13 PM
Folk in doctors/hospital waiting rooms who sit about coughing and spluttering without covering their mouth. Ignorant pricks.

Obviously people who do that anywhere are erseholes but in a place frequented by sick people and where the cougher is likely ill as well it seems a bit worse.

Rarely see people putting their hand over their mouth when they cough. Drives me nuts

derekHFC
08-02-2017, 11:54 AM
What is the general consensus with folk working in an office who are unwell?

We have a team of 6 in a relatively small office and 3 of the 6 are currently coughing and spluttering away. Don't get me wrong, they're all pretty hygienic in that they cover their mouths, use hand sanitizer, etc, but should they be here or should they be off sick?

I'm not particularly fussy either way, but one woman in here is furious and is adamant that they should be off sick to avoid others catching their germs. She said she's happy to take on extra work due to their sickness as she'd rather that than catch the virus they have.

08-02-2017, 01:23 PM

We have a team of 6 in a relatively small office and 3 of the 6 are currently coughing and spluttering away. Don't get me wrong, they're all pretty hygienic in that they cover their mouths, use hand sanitizer, etc, but should they be here or should they be off sick?

I'm not particularly fussy either way, but one woman in here is furious and is adamant that they should be off sick to avoid others catching their germs. She said she's happy to take on extra work due to their sickness as she'd rather that than catch the virus they have.

They should stay off. All for folk making the effort to get into work but not with things that are easily spread.

08-02-2017, 01:53 PM

They should stay off. All for folk making the effort to get into work but not with things that are easily spread.

I can see both sides of this, but the bottom line for me is that if people were off sick every time they had a cough or a cold, their work would probably take disciplinary action against them.

speedy_gonzales
08-02-2017, 01:56 PM

You have to applaud their willingness to attend work if clearly sick, but I'd encourage to work from home if possible or quarantine them (goldfish bowls over their heads)!

08-02-2017, 03:11 PM
I can see both sides of this, but the bottom line for me is that if people were off sick every time they had a cough or a cold, their work would probably take disciplinary action against them.

:agree: No way could every one take time off as mentioned.

08-02-2017, 04:13 PM
Surely it is totally dependent on what you are sick with?
If you've got an in-grown toe nail or a mild headache - in you go. If you have the flu, the measles, or bubonic plague ... maybe you should just stay home.

08-02-2017, 05:32 PM
If you've got an in-grown toe nail or a mild headache - in you go. If you have the flu, the measles, or bubonic plague ... maybe you should just stay home.

Depends on your job I suppose. Imagine being locked in a cockpit with recycled air and the colleague next to you is constantly coughing and sniffling for 10 hours.

ColinNish
08-02-2017, 07:15 PM

And here was me thinking it was a straight 80 from the roadworks to cramond, lol.

ColinNish
08-02-2017, 07:17 PM
Re: the being in work if ill. It really depends what you are ill with and where you work. A sniffle in an office shouldn't stop you from doing your work. Other thing is some folk don't get paid when off ill, like me.

08-02-2017, 07:17 PM

Yes, exactly. :agree:

09-02-2017, 12:00 PM
Probably covered elsewhere but folk who don't think rules for the benefit of everyone should apply to them.

School run is the worst for it, the kids' school has a small car park so they've tried a few solutions to make it work for as many people as possible because folk were parking really badly.

This meant putting double yellow lines down at the end of tires and at the zebra crossings (because people were ignorant enough to park over a zebra crossing at a primary school.) and making some of the access roads limited to buses and traffic for the disabled school beside the primary.

They also put a drop off zone in so people could let the kids out with needing to park up.

They also put a one way system in place for parents leaving the playground on foot after doing the kids off, this was put in place after a couple of accidents involving kids when parents were trying to push through as kids were going into classes in their lines.

So we still have cars parked on double yellow lines at the zebra crossing, people fill up the drop of zone by parking in it, people still use the disabled access road, and folk push past the kids against the one way system.

One woman walks past 'no dogs' signs to bring her dog into the playground.

Think it's the fact that the 'rules' are there for the kids that annoys me most that parents ignore them.

09-02-2017, 12:28 PM
Probably covered elsewhere but folk who don't think rules for the benefit of everyone should apply to them.

School run is the worst for it, the kids' school has a small car park so they've tried a few solutions to make it work for as many people as possible because folk were parking really badly.

This meant putting double yellow lines down at the end of tires and at the zebra crossings (because people were ignorant enough to park over a zebra crossing at a primary school.) and making some of the access roads limited to buses and traffic for the disabled school beside the primary.

They also put a drop off zone in so people could let the kids out with needing to park up.

They also put a one way system in place for parents leaving the playground on foot after doing the kids off, this was put in place after a couple of accidents involving kids when parents were trying to push through as kids were going into classes in their lines.

So we still have cars parked on double yellow lines at the zebra crossing, people fill up the drop of zone by parking in it, people still use the disabled access road, and folk push past the kids against the one way system.

Think it's the fact that the 'rules' are there for the kids that annoys me most that parents ignore them.
Parents picking up their kids are amongst the most ignorant people out there. I was told by a policewoman once that parents parking on the yellow zigzag lines outside a school would end up with a custodial sentence if a kid was to run out from behind their car and get hit by another car, but everyday you see parents do it. The road outside my daughters school is closed for around an hour in the morning and the same in the afternoon, but parents often ignore this despite the fact that it's done for the safety of their children.

ColinNish
09-02-2017, 12:33 PM
Folk that don't understand escalator etiquette at train stations!! :fuming:

09-02-2017, 12:51 PM
Folk that insist on barging/running up or down and escalator at a train station when there is an adjacent staircase empty!

09-02-2017, 01:24 PM
Folk that insist on barging/running up or down and escalator at a train station when there is an adjacent staircase empty!

This. It's not a training machine.

09-02-2017, 01:48 PM

This. It's not a training machine.

Very punny. :aok:

09-02-2017, 02:07 PM
Sorry for raising the anti social issue of indiscriminate discarding bags of dog poo, again, but it caused a good laugh this morning, when playing golf at Peebles. There's been a big increase in the number of dog walkers there recently and the discarded poo bag problem is rife. My playing partner and I were chatting about this when I came across a well filled bag of crap in the middle of the thirteenth fairway. I shouted over " Here's another bag of crap ........... they should be shot ........ ". A loud female voice came from the trees lining the fairway, " It wisnae me." " Nah, it's definitely dog's crap. " I replied.

09-02-2017, 07:45 PM

Loads of those issues at my boys school too. I walk him to school most mornings and something that happens at least once a week on the really narrow pavements nearby is some ignorant twat or their offspring chucking the door of their parked vehicle open just as we're about to pass, trapping us inbetween car and hedge. They usually don't seem too bothered either. I'd be absolutely mortified if I accidentally did that to a parent and their 6 year old.

There's certainly no shortage of ignorant ****ers over here.

09-02-2017, 10:21 PM
This upward inflection that young people use when they talk.

I've recently noticed my son doing it and I don't want to check it as I don't want to knock him. It's not like he does it all the time and it's only really when he's describing or explaining something but it's bloody annoying.

I then noticed that it's pretty much everywhere. Adults that he looks up to in real life and ones he watches on the TV use this "upspeak" (especially these YouTubers) so it's no wonder. I've even noticed some female relatives speaking like that, which I definitely can't say anything about.

When I was young the only people who spoke like that were Australians and dumb American girls on the TV.

09-02-2017, 10:59 PM
This upward inflection that young people use when they talk.

I've recently noticed my son doing it and I don't want to check it as I don't want to knock him. It's not like he does it all the time and it's only really when he's describing or explaining something but it's bloody annoying.

I then noticed that it's pretty much everywhere. Adults that he looks up to in real life and ones he watches on the TV use this "upspeak" (especially these YouTubers) so it's no wonder. I've even noticed some female relatives speaking like that, which I definitely can't say anything about.

When I was young the only people who spoke like that were Australians and dumb American girls on the TV.

:agree: AQI ....... Australian Questioning Intonation. Gets up my goat ......... and don't get me started about starting a sentence with 'so'. :greengrin

10-02-2017, 02:43 PM
When I watch a programme about life in the sixties and they have a young plookie celeb on telling how it was then.
FFS, these kids' parents were still in poopypants in the sixties.
Why don't they interview the people who were actually THERE! :grr: :brickwall

10-02-2017, 03:19 PM
When I watch a programme about life in the sixties and they have a young plookie celeb on telling how it was then.
FFS, these kids' parents were still in poopypants in the sixties.
Why don't they interview the people who were actually THERE! :grr: :brickwall

Because I'm led to believe that it was such a wild time that if you can remember it then you definitely weren't there?

10-02-2017, 03:35 PM
Because I'm led to believe that it was such a wild time that if you can remember it then you definitely weren't there?
Aye, so they say. :wink: :greengrin

11-02-2017, 01:37 PM
Hoggers.
e.g. People who hog the showers, one-armed bandit, the last cigarette, microphone, dance floor, road, footpath, chocolates, the ba', etc...

ColinNish
11-02-2017, 02:02 PM
Folk who can't walk in a straightish line along a pavement.

SuperAllyMcleod
11-02-2017, 02:29 PM
Folk who think 'surely' is spelt "s h I r l e y".

I know some people do it to be funny but it happens too often on this forum for that to always be the case.

11-02-2017, 03:39 PM
Folk who think 'surely' is spelt "s h I r l e y".

I know some people do it to be funny but it happens too often on this forum for that to always be the case.

..... and in the same vein, folk who say 'definately' with the emphasis on the 'a' instead of 'definitely'.

11-02-2017, 08:24 PM
In the same vein ....tribuneral. It's a tribunal.

12-02-2017, 09:22 AM
I might as well add que instead of queue, its not difficult.

12-02-2017, 10:39 AM
It's vs its

12-02-2017, 11:07 AM
Cmon guys . Folk post on their phones most of the time. It takes me ages to correct spelling when I'm on the phone.

Most of the time when I try to correct , the word goes red (not spelling red but a red block thing) the when I try to type the word it disappears :faf:

12-02-2017, 11:35 AM
Getting the 4am train out of the city whilst blootered only to find you have to wait 90 mins for a taxi and decide to walk home over the fields the last 5km at -4C and arriving home sober.

12-02-2017, 12:32 PM
Getting the 4am train out of the city whilst blootered only to find you have to wait 90 mins for a taxi and decide to walk home over the fields the last 5km at -4C and arriving home sober.

I've walked myself sober a few times :greengrin:

12-02-2017, 03:49 PM
Cmon guys . Folk post on their phones most of the time. It takes me ages to correct spelling when I'm on the phone.

Most of the time when I try to correct , the word goes red (not spelling red but a red block thing) the when I try to type the word it disappears :faf:

Agreed - auto correct is a nightmare.

its vs it's isn't a spelling mistake though :wink:

12-02-2017, 04:47 PM
..... and in the same vein, folk who say 'definately' with the emphasis on the 'a' instead of 'definitely'.
That's pretty colloquial now though isn't it? I think it began with Billy Connolly or some such back in the 70s.

What annoys me is the use of "went" as in he's went and skied it over the bar. Several radio pundits are culprits, notably Murdo Mcleod. It's just bad grammar.

12-02-2017, 08:20 PM
That's pretty colloquial now though isn't it? I think it began with Billy Connolly or some such back in the 70s.

What annoys me is the use of "went" as in he's went and skied it over the bar. Several radio pundits are culprits, notably Murdo Mcleod. It's just bad grammar.

You might have a point about it being colloquial but it's bloody annoying.

12-02-2017, 08:42 PM
The confusion folk still have over the descriptions of coloured or black and the folk that jump on them labelling them if they get it wrong.

13-02-2017, 08:38 AM
I've walked myself sober a few times :greengrin:

Next time I'll get a carry-oot for the walk home. :greengrin

13-02-2017, 11:23 AM
The confusion folk still have over the descriptions of coloured or black and the folk that jump on them labelling them if they get it wrong.

Good shout.

13-02-2017, 01:18 PM
In the same vein ....tribuneral. It's a tribunal.

I take it you mean with regard to pronunciation (rather than anyone actually spelling it that way). I do that almost every time I use the word, even when I know I'm about to say it wrong. I think it's a mental block of some kind. It wouldn't be so bad but I often deal with employment tribunals for work, so it comes up regularly!

13-02-2017, 02:15 PM
I take it you mean with regard to pronunciation (rather than anyone actually spelling it that way). I do that almost every time I use the word, even when I know I'm about to say it wrong. I think it's a mental block of some kind. It wouldn't be so bad but I often deal with employment tribunals for work, so it comes up regularly!

Unfortunately no. Tribunerals all over the Warburton resigns thread :rolleyes:

13-02-2017, 03:23 PM
Unfortunately no. Tribunerals all over the Warburton resigns thread :rolleyes:

Maybe it's a just mental cross-wire fault associating it with 'funeral'? :dunno:

13-02-2017, 04:49 PM
Maybe it's a just mental cross-wire fault associating it with 'funeral'? :dunno:

Well that's buried that theory. :greengrin

13-02-2017, 08:21 PM
Pubs that stink of bleach (or whatever they use to clean the floor) when you go in at lunchtime.

13-02-2017, 08:35 PM
People who stop for a chat at a Zebra crossing but don't actually want to cross the road.

13-02-2017, 09:20 PM
Talking about pronunciation... Plice instead of pOlice. Libry instead of librARy. Febry instead of FebRUAry. Fird instead of third

13-02-2017, 09:21 PM
Talking about pronunciation... Plice instead of pOlice. Libry instead of librARy. Febry instead of FebRUAry. Fird instead of third

Breggzit instead of Brexit.

13-02-2017, 09:34 PM

I think for a region that says dinnae instead of don't we might need to step down from our linguistic high horse.

13-02-2017, 10:20 PM
Expresso...

Espresso

13-02-2017, 10:27 PM
I think for a region that says dinnae instead of don't we might need to step down from our linguistic high horse.

Dinnae is just Scots for don't.

13-02-2017, 11:16 PM
Dinnae is just Scots for don't.

My point is how did that come about? It's not gaelic so it has to be a mispronunciation of something else.

EH6 Hibby
13-02-2017, 11:30 PM
People that add extra vowels to words.

Walking into a shop behind a woman talking unbelievably loud on her phone and she says "aye, am just gaun intae Farumfoods"

Also people that talk loudly on the phone full stop.

13-02-2017, 11:40 PM
My point is how did that come about? It's not gaelic so it has to be a mispronunciation of something else.

Thread hijack
Which makes it so interesting phonetic change and it's either organic or inorganic the question is, is it the later or the former. First usage is 1700. You are quite right however it is a mispronunciation of the word don't most likely.

Alfiembra
14-02-2017, 04:26 PM
Probably been covered already, but merging traffic at roadworks. Don't mind letting a few in leading up to the single lane but the few who have to go right to the last minute and barge in makes my blood boil. Also when you let someone in and they then go on a mission to prevent anyone else get in front of them. :confused:

14-02-2017, 09:31 PM
Thread hijack
Which makes it so interesting phonetic change and it's either organic or inorganic the question is, is it the later or the former. First usage is 1700. You are quite right however it is a mispronunciation of the word don't most likely.
Not sure. 100 miles south and they are all saying divent. As in divent dae that man.

15-02-2017, 06:09 AM
People who think that their age and long time watching Hibs means everything they say is borne from their wisdom of all things Hibs. Younger folk can't possibly understand so should be dismissed as inferior.

15-02-2017, 06:56 AM
People who think that their age and long time watching Hibs means everything they say is borne from their wisdom of all things Hibs. Younger folk can't possibly understand so should be dismissed as inferior.

That used to be a massive annoyance to me when I was younger. Now I look at it differently:wink:

15-02-2017, 07:00 AM
That used to be a massive annoyance to me when I was younger. Now I look at it differently:wink:

Maybe I might too when I get older ;-)

15-02-2017, 07:26 AM
Not sure. 100 miles south and they are all saying divent. As in divent dae that man.

Ye mean ye dinna ken?

15-02-2017, 08:13 AM

Tee Hee! I see what you did there.

15-02-2017, 08:16 AM
Ye mean ye dinna ken?

16-02-2017, 01:59 PM
This isn't a pet peeve, but is an example of the ignorance/selfishness of some people.

I walked past a man who appeared to be sleeping outside a shopfront on Leith Street this morning. I was half asleep, so it was only after I'd walked a little further on that I realised there had been a small pile of sick on the pavement next to his mouth. I walked back to check on him and see if I could do anything to help. Whilst I was crouched down next to him, trying to establish if he was OK, I felt someone tap me on the shoulder. I turned/looked up to see a woman standing there and I expected to hear her offer to help in some way, or check on the man's welfare. Instead she said, "do you know if I can park here?" It was probably the closest I have ever been to being genuinely dumbfounded, so I can't actually recall what I said, but she followed it up with, "well where can I park around here then?"

This happened around seven hours ago and I feel like I've hardly done any work today, as the combination of sadness and anger keep breaking my concentration. I know this probably doesn't belong on this thread, but I had to vent it somewhere in the hope it may help me avoid the sack.

16-02-2017, 03:45 PM
Traffic wardens.

16-02-2017, 03:52 PM
Traffic wardens.

People who have a problem with traffic wardens.

Don't park where you're no supposed to and they're fine.

16-02-2017, 03:56 PM

Don't park where you're no supposed to or they'll fine. :wink:

16-02-2017, 04:11 PM
This isn't a pet peeve, but is an example of the ignorance/selfishness of some people.

I walked past a man who appeared to be sleeping outside a shopfront on Leith Street this morning. I was half asleep, so it was only after I'd walked a little further on that I realised there had been a small pile of sick on the pavement next to his mouth. I walked back to check on him and see if I could do anything to help. Whilst I was crouched down next to him, trying to establish if he was OK, I felt someone tap me on the shoulder. I turned/looked up to see a woman standing there and I expected to hear her offer to help in some way, or check on the man's welfare. Instead she said, "do you know if I can park here?" It was probably the closest I have ever been to being genuinely dumbfounded, so I can't actually recall what I said, but she followed it up with, "well where can I park around here then?"

This happened around seven hours ago and I feel like I've hardly done any work today, as the combination of sadness and anger keep breaking my concentration. I know this probably doesn't belong on this thread, but I had to vent it somewhere in the hope it may help me avoid the sack.

You are a good man, same thing happened to me a while back,wee old man was lying at the side door of the Volly Arms, not moving, it was about half 7 in the morning, I stopped to check he was ok, ended up having to call an ambulance, they managed to get him to hospital, few days later I was in my local shop and asked if my pal Hussain knew the guy as I had been wondering how he was

Turns out he did, the old boy had had a triple bypass a few weeks before and had keeled over on the way to get a paper, turns out about 3 or 4 people had just wandered right past him including someone who actually stepped over him before I turned up, some people are absolute welts

16-02-2017, 04:28 PM

Not always - I asked one a question this morning and I'd imagine the abruptness of his tone just draws arguments. He was clearly looking for a pagger.

16-02-2017, 05:04 PM

I drive about at night/ early morning and see people in that state all the time. I always check they are breathing as I couldn't live with myself if I had walked past someone needing medical attention.

Last Sunday I was driving along Nicholson Street at about 10pm and saw a figure slumped in the doorway of a big yellow joke/costume shop. As I got closer I could make out that he was wearing one of those clown wigs, which looked bizarre given the shop he was outside. Eventually, I got close enough to see that he was wearing, no word of a lie, one of those half white/half maroon wigs and a Hearts top. I thought "mmm naw" and just drove on.

P.s. Don't worry, I could see he was breathing, just really drunk. :-D

16-02-2017, 06:15 PM
I drive about at night/ early morning and see people in that state all the time. I always check they are breathing as I couldn't live with myself if I had walked past someone needing medical attention.

Last Sunday I was driving along Nicholson Street at about 10pm and saw a figure slumped in the doorway of a big yellow joke/costume shop. As I got closer I could make out that he was wearing one of those clown wigs, which looked bizarre given the shop he was outside. Eventually, I got close enough to see that he was wearing, no word of a lie, one of those half white/half maroon wigs and a Hearts top. I thought "mmm naw" and just drove on.

P.s. Don't worry, I could see he was breathing, just really drunk. :-D

I thought all clowns were Jambos ..... or is it the other way round?

16-02-2017, 06:29 PM
People who think because a bus has stopped with them behind, they can pull out cross the centre line and force the oncoming traffic to swerve to avoid them. Happened to me just about opposite Wicks at Stevenson yesterday morning, I was suddenly facing a head on collision as the erse pulled out so fast from behind the bus without looking.

16-02-2017, 10:12 PM
When you're doing a search on say, ebay and you are wanting a list of a quality product like, a Yamaha Tyros keyboard and in the middle of the list you find a Bontempi keyboard with the description "with a Yamaha Tyros carrying bag".
Or, an ad like this in your search for a upmarket violin, Stradivarius copy £10.

Mixu62
17-02-2017, 01:07 AM
Wasps.

The fact any time I want to check the date on my watch it's always exactly quarter past the hour so I can't see the date.

17-02-2017, 01:54 AM
I thought all clowns were Jambos ..... or is it the other way round?

Clowns all over the world are glad that creepy Jambo craze has died down.

18-02-2017, 10:32 PM
Blokes kissing on TV, turns my stomach.

19-02-2017, 06:06 PM

Why? Surly its not that much of a problem?

19-02-2017, 07:48 PM

Why? Because I don't like it and it's a pet peeve of mine!

19-02-2017, 07:51 PM

Why? Because I don't like it and it's a pet peeve of mine!

I don't agree with Scouse often - but I'm feeling his angst on this one.

BTW - angst isn't a euphemism for crotch.

20-02-2017, 11:44 AM
Pubs without beer mats.

20-02-2017, 02:12 PM
Customers that rip beer mats up and put them in glasses!!

bobbyhibs1983
20-02-2017, 02:27 PM
One of my worst pet peeves are Queues!!

the worst ones are in shops, when you have a couple of items and the person in front of you takes there time, get to the checkout, they put there stuff in the bags and THEN looks for the money to pay. and then have a lil chat with the checkout person.!

same sorta thing at the airport/on a plane/Last year when my brother and I went on holiday and we had our hand lauguge at our feet when the plane taxi's to the gate we are like ok lets go, but NOOOOOOO, the people beside/in front of us have to chit chat, look about, stand up slowly, go to the overhead bins, take there bags, have another chat, then grab something else, its soo annoying, just get out my way !!

On a kinda side issue,asking stupid questions - the year before on a plane we were sitting going to new york and i heard the guy beside me ask the worst question when the strewadesss asked what food he wanted and no joke he replied after thinking about 30seconds "hmm what would you recommend ?"

I cant recall what it was but i think there were 3 choices,and i was thinking whatever you choice its gonna be crap!

20-02-2017, 03:55 PM
When you ask a question and you get the answer to totally different question.
e.g.
Q: "What time are we leaving in the morning?"
A: "Eh, my mother's got a dental appointment."

WTF??? :brickwall :crazy:

20-02-2017, 06:47 PM
Pubs without beer mats.

I remember asking for a few in a pub once and the guy said they didn't use them .......... health and safety. :rolleyes:

ColinNish
20-02-2017, 06:54 PM
Folk on planes that are desperate to get off as soon as it lands - seatbelt off when its taxiing, jumping out of their seat as soon as it stops. Whats the rush?

:greengrin:

20-02-2017, 06:57 PM
I remember asking for a few in a pub once and the guy said they didn't use them .......... health and safety. :rolleyes:

A big pet hate of mine is people using the term Health & Safety as an excuse without actually knowing or being able to explain what the H&S issue actually is.

20-02-2017, 07:52 PM
When you order food and there's stuff in there you didn't ask for or was advertised.

Onions are my main nemesis on this front and it does my ****ing head in.

20-02-2017, 08:05 PM
Pubs without beer mats.

Nothing worse than going somewhere 'fancy' and getting a pint planted on a cheap cocktail napkin by an inexperienced bartender. The pint proceeds to spill onto said napkin which falls apart as soon as you try and lift the pint.

bobbyhibs1983
20-02-2017, 08:55 PM
Folk on planes that are desperate to get off as soon as it lands - seatbelt off when its taxiing, jumping out of their seat as soon as it stops. Whats the rush?

if that was in response to me- I have zero patience !:greengrin

Just im not a fan of diddiling about esp when im holiday!

ColinNish
20-02-2017, 09:06 PM
if that was in response to me- I have zero patience !:greengrin

Just im not a fan of diddiling about esp when im holiday!

It was, lol.

Surely you then have to wait for your hold luggage? Yer on holiday, chill! 😎

20-02-2017, 09:32 PM

I can understand folk wanting to get off a plane asap.
What I can't understand is the mad rush to board and get sat doon.
We're all going to be sat on oor bahookies for hours? :crazy:

20-02-2017, 09:35 PM

Always gets me too. Especially when I'm sat in the aisle seat and the guy at the window wants me to join the other 186 passengers crammed into the aisle so he can get his case out the overhead locker 10 minutes before the doors open, eh nut, just nut.

20-02-2017, 09:36 PM
I can understand folk wanting to get off a plane asap.
What I can't understand is the mad rush to board and get sat doon.
We're all going to be sat on oor bahookies for hours? :crazy:
These days its mainly due to everyone flying with hand luggage only and not enough space in the overhead lockers....

beensaidbefore
21-02-2017, 12:38 PM
Civil partnerships. Just seen on the news these are not allowed for heterosexual people. Seriously wtf. What is this world coming to?

21-02-2017, 12:49 PM
Rain starting to fall as soon as you park your arse on your seat in the beer garden. (Oh well, under the canopy now!).

21-02-2017, 12:52 PM
Civil partnerships. Just seen on the news these are not allowed for heterosexual people. Seriously wtf. What is this world coming to?

What I don't get is what the big deal is? I want a civil partnership instead of a wedding....it's like asking for a punch in the baws instead of a kick in the baws.

beensaidbefore
21-02-2017, 12:59 PM
What I don't get is what the big deal is? I want a civil partnership instead of a wedding....it's like asking for a punch in the baws instead of a kick in the baws.

That was an argument that used to be put to homosexual people who wanted to get married but couldn't.

When a section of society is catered for by a change in legislation (in the name of equal rights) it seems bizarre that said legislation discriminates against another section of society.

21-02-2017, 01:01 PM

That was me on Friday last week. From landing in Dubai, I had 20 mins for the plane to taxi to the gate, then for them to let the posh seat folk out first, then I had to Ninja Warrior my way through the rest of the cattle class, and then run what seemed like 10 miles, to get to my connecting flight in time. It's a big airport.

Just made it.

I encountered a big airport peeve that day too. We check in at the desk, where they remind me I'll need my departure card, no problem, got it sorted. Through security, where there are posters in various languages, with pictures, "remember you need your departure card". No problem, got it ready. Then down the escalator to passport control bit, big sign again at the top of the escalator, "remember you need your departure card". Then again at the bottom of the escalator. So you wait in the queue, get almost to the front, then the family of 6 in front of you are shocked to find out they need to complete a departure card to get through. But, on top of that, they're ****ing idiots who can barely hold a pen. I'd have made them go to the back of the queue and fill them out, but they all just block everyone, holding everyone up. Arse. Holes.

21-02-2017, 01:04 PM

Hetrophobia is alive and kicking :cool2:

21-02-2017, 01:07 PM
That was an argument that used to be put to homosexual people who wanted to get married but couldn't.

When a section of society is catered for by a change in legislation (in the name of equal rights) it seems bizarre that said legislation discriminates against another section of society.

It's a load of *****. It's people making a big noise about something that's not a big deal.

Ooooh but I want to celebrate and make official our hetro relationship, but I don't believe in marriage. We don't want to be a traditional husband/wife, we just want recognition that our partnership is real. Just get ****ing married but don't call yourself a husband or wife. Stop being a pain in the arse.

beensaidbefore
21-02-2017, 01:16 PM
It's a load of *****. It's people making a big noise about something that's not a big deal.

Ooooh but I want to celebrate and make official our hetro relationship, but I don't believe in marriage. We don't want to be a traditional husband/wife, we just want recognition that our partnership is real. Just get ****ing married but don't call yourself a husband or wife. Stop being a pain in the arse.

So you can have a civil partnership if you are lgbt,but not if you are straight. Is that not treating people differently?

Let's be honest I don't care for a civil partnership myself but think it is a bit crap for people that do.

21-02-2017, 01:22 PM
So you can have a civil partnership if you are lgbt,but not if you are straight. Is that not treating people differently?

Let's be honest I don't care for a civil partnership myself but think it is a bit crap for people that do.

So what? Are we genuinely now in a society where you absolutely cannot, must not, treat people differently under any circumstances. Life isn't always fair. If something stops people being able to lead happy and healthy lives then by all means, protest, go to court, change things. This just doesn't do that though. It's just people being awkward and annoying.

It's all a bit, "this isnae fair, they can do something that I cannae". Just get over yourselves for **** sake.

21-02-2017, 01:46 PM
So what? Are we genuinely now in a society where you absolutely cannot, must not, treat people differently under any circumstances. Life isn't always fair. If something stops people being able to lead happy and healthy lives then by all means, protest, go to court, change things. This just doesn't do that though. It's just people being awkward and annoying.

It's all a bit, "this isnae fair, they can do something that I cannae". Just get over yourselves for **** sake.

But the vestiges of inequality that the term "marriage" brings just don't "fit" how they see their "roles" maaaaaaaaaan.

I agree with you entirely. Folk looking to kick up a fuss and get in the papers.

As if, upon getting married, the man is going to chain the wife to the kitchen counter and take possession of all her worldy goods and assets, or whatever it is about marriage that these attention seekers feel doesn't "fit" with them.

Heehaw changes when you get married from that point of view, assuming you're a normal human being in a healthy relationship in the first place. It's an awesome big party where everyone puts on their gladrags, gets pished and dances, and there's some nice words in there at the beginning.

Legal stuff etc I get (and that's why everyone, regardless of gender, can quite rightly get ****ing married in the UK now - save for those unfortunate enough to be NI obviously) but this court case is pure "look at me" posturing IMO.

21-02-2017, 01:53 PM
Surely getting rained on in a beer garden is more annoying than this stuff?

21-02-2017, 01:54 PM

This would be the solution to so many of the 'peeves' on this thread.

beensaidbefore
21-02-2017, 01:58 PM

I don't think it was 'ourselves' that started the 'its not fair' argument though was it?

Diverted flights .
Trying to get to Gibraltar and have been told that we are diverting to Malaga. Waited until everyone was onboard before they told us.

Surely getting rained on in a beer garden is more annoying than this stuff?

Absolutley. :agree:

21-02-2017, 02:00 PM
I don't think it was 'ourselves' that started the 'its not fair' argument though was it?

But again...so what? That's just moving it on from a "it's no fair, they're allowed to, but I'm no" argument to "but they started it".

21-02-2017, 02:00 PM
A (hetro) couple who have lived together for years, with or without kids, but have decided against marriage are not legally recognised as next of kin. This is the case for my sister and her bloke, they've been together for 35 years and have 3 grown up kids.

That's just one difference.