View Full Version : Pet Peeves IV
pollution
26-01-2023, 10:46 AM
I had a dentist appointment booked for today at 5, got a call on Monday to change it to 12 with another dentist as my dentist has flu. No problem, it happens. Got another call yesterday lunchtime to ask me to change to 10, bit of a pain but still no huge issue. Then a call at 6 yesterday evening saying that the other dentists now can't see me and they have booked me in for the next available appointment with my own dentist. On March 8th!
I would accept this if it was NHS but I'm paying these ****ers a direct debit every month for the privilege of having a check up, scale and polish. They must be hundreds, if not thousands of pounds up on me over the years and their service is consistently crap.
This is the same as my wife's Denplan dentist. Paid monthly for year after year but unable to go due to Covid and new dentist's business takeover.
No question of a lull in payments, not a chance. They took the payments even though they knew they were not going to provide the service.
26-01-2023, 10:59 AM
That’s the other thing, I’m with Denplan and like you I pay a monthly DD. I’ve not needed anything other than check ups and scale and polishes done for years so they’ve probably made their money on me.
My dad goes to the same dentist. He’s subsequently found out the new dentist will only be working two days a week. That is really crap service!
Sure there will be plenty of other private dentists happy to take your DD and provide a better service.
I’m the same re the DD thing. I’ve had some value out of it previously but the last 2-3 years they have defo been winners. BUT on the flip side they have always given me good service, instant help when it was needed and quality work so I’m happy to pay.
Certainly wouldn’t be paying for private treatment with some of the crap service called out in the last few posts that’s for sure.
26-01-2023, 12:30 PM
Enough of all the dentists talk! I've got a check up this afternoon and don't need reminding. What bugs me is the reminder from them with loads of online forms to fill in before you go.
26-01-2023, 05:49 PM
How every single Hibs player reveal video nowadays ends with a big smile and a thumbs up to the camera. It's cheesy, bordering on cringworthy.
Bridge hibs
27-01-2023, 08:13 AM
I had a dentist appointment booked for today at 5, got a call on Monday to change it to 12 with another dentist as my dentist has flu. No problem, it happens. Got another call yesterday lunchtime to ask me to change to 10, bit of a pain but still no huge issue. Then a call at 6 yesterday evening saying that the other dentists now can't see me and they have booked me in for the next available appointment with my own dentist. On March 8th!
I would accept this if it was NHS but I'm paying these ****ers a direct debit every month for the privilege of having a check up, scale and polish. They must be hundreds, if not thousands of pounds up on me over the years and their service is consistently crap.Its not Craigentinny by any chance ? Ive been with them for a while, not really that local for me however my Wife is with them so I joined too on the plan. Theres actually more chance of myself booking a slot on a trip to the moon than getting treatment done.
I have needed a couple of fillings in which one was done pre covid. One of my teeth broke and has been giving me jip for two years, finally got an appointment, wanted it removed but they resisted saying they can save it with root canal treatment
They packed the tooth with some amalgum as a temp fix but 10 minutes later it fell out and my tooth was exposed again. Hey ho, I have a check up booked for early March, in the meanwhile Ive just got to get on with it. I want the ****ing thing removed but they said as its near the front it wont look good if theres a gap, I said it doesnt matter to me as I dont ****ing smile anyway 🤬
27-01-2023, 08:31 AM
People who are disorganised and then try to blame their inability to be organised themselves on other people.
I work with a couple of people who never write anything down, they never flag emails, never set reminders, don't use a diary (either electronic or paper) etc etc. Now I know some people can work like that and have the ability to compartmentalise things in their head and organise their workload accordingly. I don't so I mitigate that by writing everything down and prioritising that way.
The stock response from the couple of people mentioned above when you chase them for anything is 'Oh I forgot' or ' did you ask me to do that?' That's not really OK but at least it suggests a hint of personal responsibility for their incompetence. But then the 'well it wasn't communicated very clearly' nonsense starts. I asked you verbally, sent an email with the request very specifically detailed then chased it up again verbally 2 days later. What more do you want from me? Reminders every hour until it's done like you are a 5 year old child? Then it would be 'oh don't be so patronising'. When you suggest they write things down or whatever it's 'oh that doesn't work for me'.
It's ****ing exhausting and I'm convinced it's primarily a means of facilitating their own laziness. They know that I'll end up just doing whatever task myself so if they can pull the daft 'I forgot' act they can chalk up another day of doing minimal actual work.
speedy_gonzales
27-01-2023, 07:18 PM
People who are disorganised and then try to blame their inability to be organised themselves on other people.
{much snippage}
I swear you've posted something similar to this in the past about lazy/disorganised co-workers.
I sympathise with you but, and I'm sure you already know this, it's not their problem, it's yours.
I've got about 15 years on you and it's taken me a really long time to figure out how intelligent and clever folk need to be to get through their working life acting the daft 'un and get away with it for so long.
We're in completely different sectors, but the point still stands.
A good few folk take pride in their work and not only "do their job" but go beyond. Investing themselves in to the role. But for others, it's nothing more than a pay-packet and if the options are to graft or hide, then the latter seems an acceptable and attractive proposition. The "problem" then lies with you. You care, they don't. These are folk that have "done" the job for years and if they showed half the endeavour you do, not only might they have excelled at their job, they might have even progressed, but progression might mean exposure, best they keep their head down and act daft whilst the other guy runs around and keeps everything moving in the right direction.
I sympathise, I really do, it can be very frustrating but nothing's gonna change.
I work in (pseudo) public sector and I reckon you'd have to be caught in bed with your boss's partner before there is any serious consideration given to poor performance management, and even then you'd probably only be sent on a training course.
27-01-2023, 07:52 PM
I can confirm the above. I work for an NDPB/Quango and I could probably do all my work for the week in about 5 or 6 hours, there's no point busting my baws for anything or anyone as there's no career progression either. My pay is utterly pathetic so I have absolutely no shred of shame about anything. It gives me time to study (which will hopefully get me a better job soon) and spend time with my kids.
A lot of these fok might be quite intelligent and completely stuck in a job they can't get out of for whatever reason. I had my IQ tested as a teenager and it's high (I got to join Mensa). Circumstances early in my adult life led me to take and stick a rubbish job which I then became stuck in. There's nothing more frustrating than watching your colleagues fumble about and **** things up that are patently difficult for them but a walk in the park for you. It's demoralising doing such monotonous stuff day after day after day and eventually the wheels come off your professionalism and you absolutely go in to 'hiding mode' and end up doing just enough work to not get the boot.
28-01-2023, 10:25 PM
The new McDonalds advert. They are trying too hard to come up with a Budweiser “wazup” type of advert that everyone copies. There’s more to making and advert than simply using the Ferris Bueller “Oh Yeah” song and folk raising their eyebrows.
Cannae escape this pish, it's on every ad break on itvx. 😠
On a similar note, I very much doubt simply adding bix to the end of every sentence is going to influence people to purchase Weetabix.
29-01-2023, 04:27 PM
Jonathan Pearce
30-01-2023, 04:26 PM
Forgetting to shake a new bottle of ketchup and then inadvertently squeezing a puddle of seperated vinegar all over your food.
OldEast
31-01-2023, 12:56 AM
People writing "darn saff" or similar weirdness when talking about "down South"
Can a transfer window not just close or end. Does it have to "slam shut"
31-01-2023, 08:16 AM
I follow Ralf Little on social media. He put up something saying he gets lots of messages saying people find themselves dancing to the ‘Death in Paradise’ theme tune, so if you do, pop through a video so he can put together a compilation.
Quite a few videos of groups of people having fun on the sofa and groups of students and the like, filmed with one hand whilst the other is flailing about with the group. Fun, in the spirit of it all.
My annoyance are the predictable ones where it’s just them, they’ve set a tripod up, they’re fully grown men and women, and they’re pulling faces and pointing to the camera like it’s the final of Strictly. Cringeworthy, attention seeking, horrible. The sort of people who don’t get invited to a dinner party, BBQ, or games night as they end up on the table with a lampshade on their head singing songs by Queen. Call themselves “the life and soul of the party” whilst everyone else calls them “tosser”.
31-01-2023, 09:29 AM
I follow Ralf Little on social media. He put up something saying he gets lots of messages saying people find themselves dancing to the ‘Death in Paradise’ theme tune, so if you do, pop through a video so he can put together a compilation.
Quite a few videos of groups of people having fun on the sofa and groups of students and the like, filmed with one hand whilst the other is flailing about with the group. Fun, in the spirit of it all.
My annoyance are the predictable ones where it’s just them, they’ve set a tripod up, they’re fully grown men and women, and they’re pulling faces and pointing to the camera like it’s the final of Strictly. Cringeworthy, attention seeking, horrible. The sort of people who don’t get invited to a dinner party, BBQ, or games night as they end up on the table with a lampshade on their head singing songs by Queen. Call themselves “the life and soul of the party” whilst everyone else calls them “tosser”.
'I'm a bit of a character'/'they are a bit of a character'.
Can usually be roughly translated as 'they are bit of a ****ing a***'
31-01-2023, 09:48 AM
'I'm a bit of a character'/'they are a bit of a character'.
Can usually be roughly translated as 'they are bit of a ****ing a***'
I'm sure it was Sean Lock that said when you hear someone being described as a bit of a character it's best not to set the bar too high, it just likely to mean that they're the type of a******e who'll dip their c**k in your pint whilst you're away to the toilet! 😀
31-01-2023, 10:24 AM
Companies that contact you asking for you to contact them but when you phone back they have no record of why they were contacting you, even though they quote a reference number.
31-01-2023, 12:23 PM
Running out of screenwash halfway round the bypass.
Santa Cruz
31-01-2023, 12:48 PM
Ready made food where the seal is just supposed to peel off easily. You either singe your fingers breaking it open or need a sharp knife to get into it. It never peels open easily for me.
31-01-2023, 01:36 PM
Ready made food where the seal is just supposed to peel off easily. You either singe your fingers breaking it open or need a sharp knife to get into it. It never peels open easily for me.
That’s a good one.
Another one from me…
Crime shows where the cop/federal agent goes to find someone to question them or arrest them. They see them a short distance away and then decide to shout the suspects name or “federal agents” which then alerts the suspect to run.
I know they need this to set up the chase scene but come on, surely they would get trained to wait until they are right next to the person before alerting them to their presence to give them a better chance of stopping them if they decide to bolt.
31-01-2023, 01:47 PM
To be fair, trying to clean the whole bypass is quite the task.
31-01-2023, 03:33 PM
To be fair, trying to clean the whole bypass is quite the task.
Ok in summer. Outdoor work.
01-02-2023, 03:56 PM
Companies that contact you asking for you to contact them but when you phone back they have no record of why they were contacting you, even though they quote a reference number.
Got to the bottom of this and I think it is pretty bad on Vodafone's behalf. It was a debt recovery agency working on behalf of Vodafone. The agency has investigated and the reason why they couldn't get anything to come up was because it was neither my name or address against the reference number and Vodafone had given them my contact number in error.
01-02-2023, 04:48 PM
While we’re on the topic of screen wash, £7.50 in Halfords!! More than double the price the last time I bought it.
Bridge hibs
01-02-2023, 05:09 PM
While we’re on the topic of screen wash, £7.50 in Halfords!! More than double the price the last time I bought it.
This needs my pet peeve added, my Wife, need to buy screen wash, one month later, need to buy screen wash, 6 months later, need to buy screen wash
Went to Tesco in Musselburgh and used the car wash, she had to go into the garage to buy the token for the car wash, guess what..
One the way home she said she needed to buy screen wash 🫣
01-02-2023, 06:01 PM
Shocking! It was about £3 in Tesco, not many left though!
Fuzzywuzzy
02-02-2023, 09:53 AM
Maybe I'm just a tight ****er but the need for my wife to buy all of her 'friends' (friends/work colleagues)birthday presents. Before Christmas she even bought a present for her pals newborn niece that she's never going to meet!!!
02-02-2023, 10:03 AM
Fairy liquid and water works for me.
Eaststand
02-02-2023, 10:50 AM
Yep, I agree.
When I'm topping the system up, I use a wee squirt of Morrisons own brand washing liquid into the window wash reservoir.
I've done this with several cars for years and I've always been very happy with the results when I use my wiper wash.
02-02-2023, 12:27 PM
"Eye-wateringly". Whatever happened to "very", "extremely" or even "exceptionally"?
02-02-2023, 12:31 PM
It can damage the paintwork as it contains salt (according to my mechanic).
02-02-2023, 12:46 PM
Ah ok.... ta :aok:
AltheHibby
02-02-2023, 12:53 PM
"Literally". I heard some moron describe themselves as "literally singing 24 hours a day".
Edit: I added the missing full stop before my fellow grammar nazis descended on me.
OldEast
02-02-2023, 01:15 PM
"Eye-wateringly". Whatever happened to "very", "extremely" or even "exceptionally"?
Nearly as bad as eye bleeding football
02-02-2023, 01:38 PM
I'm not sure it's a peeve per se, but I wish there was a "num lock" lock - I seem to constantly accidentally hit it without noticing going by the number of times I subsequently go to use the number pad and nothing happens because it's disabled. I'm not even sure why we need to so readily disable the number pad anyway. :confused:
02-02-2023, 02:45 PM
I'm not sure it's a peeve per se, but I wish there was a "num lock" lock - I seem to constantly accidentally hit it without noticing going by the number of times I subsequently go to use the number pad and nothing happens because it's disabled. I'm not even sure why we need to so readily disable the number pad anyway. :confused:
If you never use it at all then re-map it to something useful.
The reason it exists is to switch between the two sets of functions for the numpad keys – the numbers themselves or the alternative arrow keys, page up/down etc.
02-02-2023, 02:54 PM
You mechanic is wrong. There is salt and there is salt.
The stuff in fairy liquid is not corrosive and anyway it would be so diluted it would never cause any harm what so ever even if it did.
So the fairy liquid aficionados can carry on without worry!
02-02-2023, 03:29 PM
You mechanic is wrong. There is salt and there is salt.
The stuff in fairy liquid is not corrosive and anyway it would be so diluted it would never cause any harm what so ever even if it did.
So the fairy liquid aficionados can carry on without worry!
Fairy nuff :wink:
Bridge hibs
02-02-2023, 04:06 PM
A peeve but my fault and nobody else to blame
Trying to reply to multiple messages on messenger and saying to my boss ‘I love you 💚’ when intended for my Daughter, ****ing nippy and Ive done it on a few occasions, my boss is a decent Woman but Im beginning to think she thinks that I have something for her. She is a widowed 70 yo with 6 grown up Sons and Daughters and around 10 Grand kids, she lives in a very large house with a much larger garden
**** that, I hate gardening !! 🫣
stuart-farquhar
02-02-2023, 06:16 PM
People who probably only travel on bucket and spade holidays. Treat the plane like a rowdy bar, lean on seats, shout up the aisle and laugh like hyenas at their own jokes. When asked very politely to move off
the back of my wife's seat proceed to shout in your face" there's always one snobby old bxxxxxx!"
(JET 2 Edinburgh to Tenerife January 25th)
02-02-2023, 08:06 PM
It was £3 (or £4...) in Lidl. Made me think of this post. Stock up! :greengrin
02-02-2023, 08:06 PM
If you never use it at all then re-map it to something useful.
The reason it exists is to switch between the two sets of functions for the numpad keys – the numbers themselves or the alternative arrow keys, page up/down etc.
I didn't realise that was an option, but I'll look into that!
Until it goes below freezing and the water won't come out.
03-02-2023, 10:05 AM
Getting woken up early by the bin men. I live near a waste depot so we are quite early on the route meaning we are woken up just after 6 (I realise some won’t find that early - I do). Between the food waste, mixed recycling/landfill, garden waste and the communal bin collections in our street, it can be 5 or 6 days out of 7 that we’ve got a bin lorry of some description waking us up. Sometimes twice as the mixed recycling and glass recycling come at different times on the same morning.
03-02-2023, 07:52 PM
People that write posts on here that make War and Peace look a bit short on words.
04-02-2023, 06:21 AM
Just Eat.
They take circa 23% from every order placed on their platform. I know a fair few businesses who have taken the plunge and come off it and I hope more follow suit.
I always order direct from the restaurant/take away now if they offer that service.
04-02-2023, 06:50 AM
The fact that every larger group of pensioners staying at hotels have a Foghorn Leghorn type amongst them, whose voice is 35 decibels louder than everyone else's and which he puts to good use informing everyone of his wisdom on every conceivable subject and to crack jokes from his Les Dawson "book of one liners" from 1974 that he dusted down from his attic collection especially for the occasion.
04-02-2023, 07:17 AM
The fact that every larger group of pensioners staying at hotels have a Foghorn Leghorn type amongst them, whose voice is 35 decibels louder than everyone else's and which he puts to good use informing everyone of his wisdom on every conceivable subject and to crack jokes from his Les Dawson "book of one liners" from 1974 that he dusted down from his attic collection especially for the occasion.
On a similar topic, the city of Glasgow.
04-02-2023, 07:24 AM
A fair few years back I was walking the Cateran Trail. One of the nights I 'treated' myself with a stay in the Spittal of Glenshee Hotel. I'm sure there are North Korean prisons that are more luxurious than this hotel was.
Anyway as I pitch up a coach tour is unloading and the accents suggest Yorkshire or close by. I head to my room, shower then hit the bar. There are a couple of guys there who give me the nod, ask where I have been and ask a few questions about my walk. I was quite glad of the company so took a table next to them. Then the class clown arrives. 'Alright lads, nice to get a bit peace and quiet, I've left the enemy in the room'. The look the original 2 gave me suggested peace and quiet was not what we were getting. 'Raining again, well seeing we are in Jockoland ha ha ha', 'your a big lad, did your parents out you in a grow bag? Must be all the rain ha ha ha', 'what's tomorrows itinerary lads, more sitting looking at miles and miles of bugger all ha ha ha'. This went on for what felt like hours.
They pissed off for dinner and I moved seats. Then a tsunami of polyester slacks and short sleeved shirts descended on the bar as the coach party reappeared. In among all this I missed the singer setting up......He proceeded to belt out 'Donald where's yer troosers' and 'ye cannae shover yer granny off a bus' out to his audience all whilst cracking horrific jokes. ''ello Nigel' 'oh look it's Trevor', 'now it's Percy me old mucker'. Mate they are from Yorkshire why are you talking like a cockney?
I swore then that if I ever find myself considering a Lochs & Glens Tours holiday then I'm sectioning myself.
04-02-2023, 07:32 AM
A fair few years back I was walking the Cateran Trail. One of the nights I 'treated' myself with a stay in the Spittal of Glenshee Hotel. I'm sure there are North Korean prisons that are more luxurious than this hotel was.
Anyway as I pitch up a coach tour is unloading and the accents suggest Yorkshire or close by. I head to my room, shower then hit the bar. There are a couple of guys there who give me the nod, ask where I have been and ask a few questions about my walk. I was quite glad of the company so took a table next to them. Then the class clown arrives. 'Alright lads, nice to get a bit peace and quiet, I've left the enemy in the room'. The look the original 2 gave me suggested peace and quiet was not what we were getting. 'Raining again, well seeing we are in Jockoland ha ha ha', 'your a big lad, did your parents out you in a grow bag? Must be all the rain ha ha ha', 'what's tomorrows itinerary lads, more sitting looking at miles and miles of bugger all ha ha ha'. This went on for what felt like hours.
They pissed off for dinner and I moved seats. Then a tsunami of polyester slacks and short sleeved shirts descended on the bar as the coach party reappeared. In among all this I missed the singer setting up......He proceeded to belt out 'Donald where's yer troosers' and 'ye cannae shover yer granny off a bus' out to his audience all whilst cracking horrific jokes. ''ello Nigel' 'oh look it's Trevor', 'now it's Percy me old mucker'. Mate they are from Yorkshire why are you talking like a cockney?
I swore then that if I ever find myself considering a Lochs & Glens Tours holiday then I'm sectioning myself.
I met the Austrian version of your new pal last night, I'm not a mind reader but I swear the eyes of his compatriots were begging me to strangle him.
04-02-2023, 07:49 AM
Harry Hill. He’s not funny.
04-02-2023, 08:08 AM
Just Eat.
They take circa 23% from every order placed on their platform. I know a fair few businesses who have taken the plunge and come off it and I hope more follow suit.
I always order direct from the restaurant/take away now if they offer that service.
They don’t take any where near that if you use your your own drivers, it’s a difficult one as the platform brings in so much business, trying to get that conversion to your own website is difficult but is one we would all like to achieve.
04-02-2023, 08:25 AM
Just Eat.....
+1
Bridge hibs
04-02-2023, 08:35 AM
Old people on holiday, particularly at self service when having meal at hotel. Im standing behind them with my plate waiting on them shovelling their chips or whatever onto their plates but they just ****ing stand staring at them before yapping to their pals, they are ****ing chips just ****ing get them on yer plate and move ****ing on, Im starving !!
Then after deciding they dont want chips after staring at them for 5 minutes they proceed to walk backwards and bang into me and my chipless plate, no ****ing spacial awareness whatsoever
Im done with Saga tours now 🤬
05-02-2023, 05:07 AM
Getting woken up early by the bin men. I live near a waste depot so we are quite early on the route meaning we are woken up just after 6 (I realise some won’t find that early - I do). Between the food waste, mixed recycling/landfill, garden waste and the communal bin collections in our street, it can be 5 or 6 days out of 7 that we’ve got a bin lorry of some description waking us up. Sometimes twice as the mixed recycling and glass recycling come at different times on the same morning.
5.55 am this morning! I find it difficult to get back to sleep, so there’s my Sunday lie in gone!
05-02-2023, 06:52 AM
My 4.93 Uber rating.
I've no idea when I got a non-5-star rating or why, but it's unsatisfying to look at.
OldEast
05-02-2023, 08:08 AM
Pedestrians. I drive a motor bike and a car but I'm speaking here as a pedestrian. Just walk straight with some purpose. Don't slowly wander from side to side of the pavement, there are people behind you. Don't suddenly stop to take a photo or answer your phone, pretend you're a driver and pull over. If you come to a pedestrian crossing where there are no cars in sight just cross! don't press the button! If I'm walking towards you use your brain as I am doing do to judge who's space which of us should head for rather than just heading straight for it and stopping both of us in our paths.
05-02-2023, 09:51 AM
Pedestrians. I drive a motor bike and a car but I'm speaking here as a pedestrian. Just walk straight with some purpose. Don't slowly wander from side to side of the pavement, there are people behind you. Don't suddenly stop to take a photo or answer your phone, pretend you're a driver and pull over. If you come to a pedestrian crossing where there are no cars in sight just cross! don't press the button! If I'm walking towards you use your brain as I am doing do to judge who's space which of us should head for rather than just heading straight for it and stopping both of us in our paths.
Pedestrians looking at their phones.
05-02-2023, 09:11 PM
Mild hangover headaches. I had a bit of a session yesterday/last night, nothing too mad and in bed at 12 after maybe 6 hours or so. Loads of water, paracetamol before bed and STILL have nursed a headache all day.
Just irritating.
Bridge hibs
06-02-2023, 05:22 AM
Mild hangover headaches. I had a bit of a session yesterday/last night, nothing too mad and in bed at 12 after maybe 6 hours or so. Loads of water, paracetamol before bed and STILL have nursed a headache all day.
Just irritating.That used to be the ‘perfect’ hangover when I was young and it was some water and raring to go again. The past few years I used to wake up at around half 2 in the morning with the black fog, room spinning, anxiety and feeling sick, this lasted even until the Monday and to be honest, it wasnt even what I would call a ‘session’ not like when in my youth.
Nowadays I just dont drink as I simply hate being ill now as it just ruins my weekend. I can have a beer or two if Im out with my Wife but I normally just choose not too
06-02-2023, 10:01 AM
The Victorian Plumbing advert, what the hell is that all about?
Bridge hibs
06-02-2023, 10:12 AM
Go Compare ads, so ****ing nippy 🤬
06-02-2023, 10:18 AM
The new We Buy Any Car advert.
I can't help singing along but I hate the advert.
06-02-2023, 12:25 PM
That used to be the ‘perfect’ hangover when I was young and it was some water and raring to go again. The past few years I used to wake up at around half 2 in the morning with the black fog, room spinning, anxiety and feeling sick, this lasted even until the Monday and to be honest, it wasnt even what I would call a ‘session’ not like when in my youth.
Nowadays I just dont drink as I simply hate being ill now as it just ruins my weekend. I can have a beer or two if Im out with my Wife but I normally just choose not too
Strangely I seem to have grown out of hangovers even after a big session. Used to suffer right up to my thirties, now I’m 55 and admittedly don’t drink as much or as regularly as I used to but even after after a big session now I never suffer.
06-02-2023, 12:47 PM
I've probably moaned about them 3 times already on this thread. What sort of person can actually like that guy? It's baffling.
Talking of ads the one with Ian Botham for Revitive is the cringiest thing I've ever seen and I was a Botham fan back in the 80s as well. He once bought me a pint in a club in Bath because I was Scottish :greengrin
Bridge hibs
06-02-2023, 04:55 PM
I've probably moaned about them 3 times already on this thread. What sort of person can actually like that guy? It's baffling.
Talking of ads the one with Ian Botham for Revitive is the cringiest thing I've ever seen and I was a Botham fan back in the 80s as well. He once bought me a pint in a club in Bath because I was Scottish :greengrinYeah probably a bit of your moaning and the actual tv ads has reminded me that I cant stand them 🤣
Another one is the life insurance ad by the very ill looking and bloated razor ruddock, if he is going to give out health insurance advice he should really look at himself first 🤣
Bridge hibs
06-02-2023, 04:56 PM
Strangely I seem to have grown out of hangovers even after a big session. Used to suffer right up to my thirties, now I’m 55 and admittedly don’t drink as much or as regularly as I used to but even after after a big session now I never suffer.Aw there is a god after all, Im patiently waiting for that day 🤣
06-02-2023, 05:10 PM
Trying to get my bairn to tell me what she does at school. Honestly it's a nightly ritual that's like pulling teeth. We have a decent idea because the homework book comes home every night but I want her to tell me.
What did you learn?
Can't remember
What did you have for lunch?
Can't remember
Who where you playing with?
Just a girl
Anyone else?
Can't remember
I was worried we had raised a proper little oddball but we had parents night recently and got: 'she's very self assured', 'not the loudest but very popular', 'very bright and confident for her age'. We asked about the 'can't remember' and 'nothing' stuff and were assured it's totally normal but it does leave a nagging doubt. The more I push it the less she gives up tough.
06-02-2023, 05:42 PM
Trying to get my bairn to tell me what she does at school. Honestly it's a nightly ritual that's like pulling teeth. We have a decent idea because the homework book comes home every night but I want her to tell me.
What did you learn?
Can't remember
Just a girl
Anyone else?
Can't remember
I was worried we had raised a proper little oddball but we had parents night recently and got: 'she's very self assured', 'not the loudest but very popular', 'very bright and confident for her age'. We asked about the 'can't remember' and 'nothing' stuff and were assured it's totally normal but it does leave a nagging doubt. The more I push it the less she gives up tough.
That never stops even when they get to high school!
Usually you’ll find they get pretty chatty about their day when it’s bedtime or you’re busy making a phone call 🙄
Getting a close up of Beefy Botham's feet selling us a foot spa, cheers but seeing bunions on horrible feet close up is not what want to see at tea time.
What did you learn?
Can't remember
Just a girl
Anyone else?
Can't remember
there’s a technique called TEDs, that can sometimes help.
Tell me about your day
Explain how your day was
Describe what you did today
although you’re asking for information, because it’s actually an instruction rather than a question (need to use a soft tone though), there’s often an instinctive reaction for the recipient to offer more info
other suggestions are to ask questions that are designed to get them to talk about something they want to, such as what was your favourite part of the day, or what did you enjoy most
06-02-2023, 11:47 PM
:agree: I've used other comparison sites instead of go compare since forever as a result of those ****in adverts!
07-02-2023, 12:05 AM
My 4.93 Uber rating.
I've no idea when I got a non-5-star rating or why, but it's unsatisfying to look at.
Ive got a 4.93 rating as well, Im assuming it dropped because of a few rare times I've forgotten to tip. And sometimes when I forget to tip then I might notice next morning and tip, but it could be too late by then as they will have already black marked me:greengrin
Edit: I've just realised if you go into your privacy settings on the app you can get a breakdown of all your ratings. I've had 111 rated trips: 105 five star; 2 four star; 1 three star; and 1 one star.
Wonder how I got a three star, seems bizaarre.
Not sure what the average rating is for people.
Bridge hibs
07-02-2023, 07:41 AM
Monster Munch, about 5 in a bloody bag now, get more in the ****ing bag, esp the beef ones 🤬
07-02-2023, 11:11 AM
My 4.93 Uber rating.
Some people have no idea how a rating system works.
I’ve seen people rate things 4 stars out if 5 because “nothings perfect” and it must infuriate the sellers. Likewise on Amazon when I’ve been looking at things there’s 1 star reviews saying “product did not arrive” well that’s fine but it’s not a review of the product.
I remember when I was an apprentice we got 6 monthly reviews through CITB who would come out on site and ask the tradesmen for comments and a score out 5 for certain things, I would never get a 5 because for some reason the Joiners thought they were to score me out of 5 on how good a joiner I was at the time and not as an apprentice, used to do my nut in.
07-02-2023, 11:14 AM
The amount of things I'm seeing online about how Satanists are running the world, it's the new flat earth
07-02-2023, 11:18 AM
Monster Munch, about 5 in a bloody bag now, get more in the ****ing bag, esp the beef ones 🤬
I noticed they have done this with a lot of snacks, their aim is to get the bag down to 100 calories or below then they can sell them as that. Monster Munch are just 20g in a pack and 98 cals, Skips are 13.1g per pack and 100cals. Space Raiders are down to 13g per pack and 100 cals too. The smallest pack I seen was for Ringos, 12g a pack and 100cals. Can see the sense in it to help people on calorie controlled diets but for everyone else its like getting a quarter bag of crisps!!
07-02-2023, 12:21 PM
What did you learn?
Can't remember
Just a girl
Anyone else?
Can't remember
Wait until she is a teenager.
07-02-2023, 01:50 PM
Wait until she is a teenager.
07-02-2023, 03:02 PM
What did you learn?
Can't remember
Just a girl
Anyone else?
Can't remember
My laddie is exactly the same, always been like that even though he gets good reports.
He scored a goal direct from a corner during his match on Sunday, was totally buzzing about it all the way home, wouldn’t stop talking about it. Get in the door and I say “Tell mum about the goal you scored” and he goes “Aww I can’t remember. You tell her.” 🤯
07-02-2023, 05:55 PM
Ive got a 4.93 rating as well, Im assuming it dropped because of a few rare times I've forgotten to tip. And sometimes when I forget to tip then I might notice next morning and tip, but it could be too late by then as they will have already black marked me:greengrin
Edit: I've just realised if you go into your privacy settings on the app you can get a breakdown of all your ratings. I've had 111 rated trips: 105 five star; 2 four star; 1 three star; and 1 one star.
Wonder how I got a three star, seems bizaarre.
Not sure what the average rating is for people.
My favourite part of that is that you're not wondering about the 1 star review you listed, clearly content that there was an occasion where that was merited. :greengrin
I can't see that within settings though...
I didn't realise they'd see the tip before rating. Might be that, I don't always tip.
07-02-2023, 07:04 PM
The amount of things I'm seeing online about how Satanists are running the world, it's the new flat earth
TBF, it's hard to argue with that.
07-02-2023, 08:39 PM
Some people have no idea how a rating system works.
I’ve seen people rate things 4 stars out if 5 because “nothings perfect” and it must infuriate the sellers. Likewise on Amazon when I’ve been looking at things there’s 1 star reviews saying “product did not arrive” well that’s fine but it’s not a review of the product.
I remember when I was an apprentice we got 6 monthly reviews through CITB who would come out on site and ask the tradesmen for comments and a score out 5 for certain things, I would never get a 5 because for some reason the Joiners thought they were to score me out of 5 on how good a joiner I was at the time and not as an apprentice, used to do my nut in.
I was the class rep on the course for my professional exams years ago. Everyone was complaining to me about a particular lecturer and said they were scoring him 1 out 10 on the regular feedback sheets. At the meeting with the Course Director and all the class reps, other reps mentioned the same thing about this lecturer and the Course Director said he wish he’d known there was an issue sooner.
I piped up that folk had told me they had been scoring him 1 out of 10, he replied “oh I discard any rating at 1 or 2 as I just assume they’ve got the scale the wrong way round”
08-02-2023, 06:58 AM
Work team meetings. Almost all of them, especially when mass participation affairs. Window dressing, could've been an email pish
08-02-2023, 07:27 AM
Work team meetings. Almost all of them, especially when mass participation affairs. Window dressing, could've been an email pish
An email push?
08-02-2023, 08:19 AM
Speaking of email pish, my boss starts virtually every email with "Just a brief note to say…"
Leaving aside that lot of them are far from brief, every single one would be at least a little briefer if that empty phrase were left out.
08-02-2023, 08:22 AM
Another bin related one that could perhaps be on the driving pet peeves thread.
For some reason in my street, the food waste bin men just seem chuck the caddies any old place after they’ve emptied them into the truck, including behind them on the road. You then have to get out of your car to move them to get past.
08-02-2023, 08:31 AM
Work meetings period.
I can count on one hand how many of the hundreds of meetings I have been to over the years have actually been worthwhile. I'm convinced it's just a vehicle for the most senior attendee to display their self proclaimed importance and power they have to make people waste their time. It's just an excuse not to do real work.
So many of the decisions or whatever could have been reached with conversations involving about a quarter of the number of people involved in a meeting or by sending a couple of emails.
12-02-2023, 06:57 PM
The change in actress playing Jennifer Parker in Back to The Future films.
12-02-2023, 08:14 PM
Forgetting what the great pet peeve you were about to post about was.
The change in actress playing Jennifer Parker in Back to The Future films.
think the original actress’s mother took seriously ill and she gave up acting to care for her
13-02-2023, 07:13 AM
Men who absolutely douse themselves in after shave. Met a guy first thing this morning and it was like he had covered himself in toilet cleaner.
Is there not a saying that fragrances 'should be discovered and not announced'? I can understand it when you see young lads about 16 smelling like an explosion at the Lacoste factory but by your 40s you surely know less is more and that scents smell stronger to others than they do to yourself.
Men who absolutely douse themselves in after shave. Met a guy first thing this morning and it was like he had covered himself in toilet cleaner.
Is there not a saying that fragrances 'should be discovered and not announced'? I can understand it when you see young lads about 16 smelling like an explosion at the Lacoste factory but by your 40s you surely know less is more and that scents smell stronger to others than they do to yourself.
I rarely wear after shave but instead prefer a nice body spray, subtle without the real pong.
13-02-2023, 08:18 AM
Taking the day off after the Super Bowl and getting woken up early. Every bloody year!
Last year there was a knock at the door at 7.30 from workmen saying they’d be digging up the pavement in front of our driveway at 8am so could we shift the cars which I did. Got back in bed and started drifting off when a delivery came to the door. Drifted off again for the digging to start.
This year, the people across the road are getting work done today so there’s electric saws, drills and hammers being used outside their house. This started at 7.45. They also have one of those obnoxious sensors at their front door which makes a very loud noise whenever anyway goes in/out their front door so it is going off every couple of minutes or so as workmen go in and out.
13-02-2023, 08:51 AM
The new Twitter. It was fine as it was, now it's just loads of tweets from accounts I don't follow with a seemingly endless right-wing/ conspiracy theory/ transphobic / anti-SNP tweets.
I know these things are meant to be based on an algorithm that serves up things it thinks you'll like but I don't want to see any of that pish, it genuinely feels like every time I open up Twitter there's an attempt at converting my thinking to align with those views. It's horrible.
That and every other video that comes up on Facebook is from Jordan f***ing Peterson.
OldEast
13-02-2023, 08:59 AM
The new Twitter. It was fine as it was, now it's just loads of tweets from accounts I don't follow with a seemingly endless right-wing/ conspiracy theory/ transphobic / anti-SNP tweets.
I know these things are meant to be based on an algorithm that serves up things it thinks you'll like but I don't want to see any of that pish, it genuinely feels like every time I open up Twitter there's an attempt at converting my thinking to align with those views. It's horrible.
That and every other video that comes up on Facebook is from Jordan f***ing Peterson.
Aye it's annoying. They're showing you what they think you want to see. It's called "for you" you can see the heading at the top of the page. Just remember to click on "following" and you'll get your content.
13-02-2023, 09:14 AM
Aye it's annoying. They're showing you what they think you want to see. It's called "for you" you can see the heading at the top of the page. Just remember to click on "following" and you'll get your content.
Yeah, I usually remember just after I've got wound up at the amount of crap it's serving up :greengrin
Alfiembra
13-02-2023, 11:19 AM
Food shopping is really grinding my gears at the moment, I don’t actually mind doing the shopping but the price hikes are getting ridiculous, and seem more like blatant profiteering. Especially when the item is not only a lot more expensive but the size and quantity has also been reduced. Double Whammy :grr::grr:
Bridge hibs
13-02-2023, 11:22 AM
That and every other video that comes up on Facebook is from Jordan f***ing Peterson.Facebook is just full of utter trash, glad I got rid. Constant whingers wanting likes, constant ‘tell us your favourite number’ yeah just ****ing have my card details 🤬
13-02-2023, 11:36 AM
Facebook is just full of utter trash, glad I got rid. Constant whingers wanting likes, constant ‘tell us your favourite number’ yeah just ****ing have my card details ��
Or "Bet you can't name a city beginning with E" and some daftie FB friend goes to the bother of actually posting "Edinburgh".
13-02-2023, 11:44 AM
Or "Bet you can't name a city beginning with E" and some daftie FB friend goes to the bother of actually posting "Edinburgh".
Some of those are good for outing utter morons though.
'Name a country that can be typed using only the letters from one row on a keyboard'
Then you get an American (it's always, always an American) answering 'Europe'.
13-02-2023, 01:02 PM
Mine has done that with a lot of pro-cycling/anti-anything-that-isnt-cycling people.
Completely self perpetuated by myself though as I invariable scroll through the comments watching as strangers get annoyed at one another for wanting an excessive amount of cycling infrastructure or none at all.
There was a great one the other day where someone posted a picture of a cycle lane junction where the cyclists had previously cut the corner repeatedly enough to erode the grass away. The council (probably called "clowncil" in there somewhere) had put a little barrier up to protect the grass which was met with criticism because they should have put tarmac down as it was clearly the "desire lane" of cyclists.
13-02-2023, 01:06 PM
Some of those are good for outing utter morons though.
'Name a country that can be typed using only the letters from one row on a keyboard'
Then you get an American (it's always, always an American) answering 'Europe'.
This reminds me of a classic answer on Pointless: the category was countries with five-letter names and the contestant went for 'Africa'.
13-02-2023, 03:15 PM
When you read through a thread and there's loads of admin deleted posts!! I always miss the juicy stuff!!
13-02-2023, 03:37 PM
When you read through a thread and there's loads of admin deleted posts!! I always miss the juicy stuff!!
Aside from the regular contact with the admin team, the thing i miss most since setting it off the admin side is being able to catch up on the deleted stuff!
13-02-2023, 03:38 PM
Aside from the regular contact with the admin team, the thing i miss most since setting it off the admin side is being able to catch up on the deleted stuff!
Surely one of the best perks of the job!! Aside from all the freebies obviously🤣
Bridge hibs
13-02-2023, 07:24 PM
My Wife, super talented and fantastic at her job, as a Wife and Mother 🫣 however for ****s sake she has got to be the worlds worst at ever trying to describe someone ‘ that wee guy who is on the telly, you know the one, he is in it with that other guy’ Ffs !! Give me a clue ! She would be brutal at an identity parade 🤣
this reminds me of a different thing that my wife does… avoids giving sensible information. A typical conversation might be:
Wife: can you bring me my bank card?
Me: sure, where is it?
W: downstairs
M: where downstairs?
W: it’s in my purse
M: which is where?
W: in my bag
M: where’s the bag?
W: next to my jacket
M: where’s the jacket?
W: why are you getting annoyed?
M: I’m losing the will to live
W: you’re just being miserable
M: ffs where’s the card?
W: it’s in my bag on the kitchen table
M: finally!
Bridge hibs
13-02-2023, 07:57 PM
this reminds me of a different thing that my wife does… avoids giving sensible information. A typical conversation might be:
:greengrinI can relate to all of that mate 🤣
Just_Jimmy
13-02-2023, 08:32 PM
My Wife, super talented and fantastic at her job, as a Wife and Mother 🫣 however for ****s sake she has got to be the worlds worst at ever trying to describe someone ‘ that wee guy who is on the telly, you know the one, he is in it with that other guy’ Ffs !! Give me a clue ! She would be brutal at an identity parade [emoji1787]Or my other favourite.... can you just start at the beginning of the story rather than half way through?
Sent from my SM-G991B using Tapatalk
Donegal Hibby
13-02-2023, 09:05 PM
Having a debate or argument with someone who's losing and they say " I know but " always gets me that one :rolleyes:
15-02-2023, 12:10 PM
Glad it's not just me.
16-02-2023, 06:38 AM
Another bin related one that could perhaps be on the driving pet peeves thread.
For some reason in my street, the food waste bin men just seem chuck the caddies any old place after they’ve emptied them into the truck, including behind them on the road. You then have to get out of your car to move them to get past.
Hey, they're binmen. What do you expect? Finesse?
16-02-2023, 01:16 PM
Hey, they're binmen. What do you expect? Finesse?
I expect them to not put them on the road.
18-02-2023, 07:41 PM
Women that go to the gents because the ladies is so slow/busy. The queue for the two gents toilets I’ve tried to go to are both massive. At least a third are women!
There would be an outcry if it was the other way around.
Shout out to the guy who aggressively shouted at me and a few other guys who got to the bottom of the stairs to met with the middle of the giant queue and were trying to ascertain where the end of the queue was: “there’s an effing queue, get to the back of it you ******** effing see you next Tuesdays”. I can see why the Playhouse has been having issues if he is your average attendee!
18-02-2023, 07:51 PM
My wife buys cheap toilet paper whenever she goes to the supermarket. Which inevitably leads to the toilet paper shredding itself into 4 or 5 different strands when you try to start a new roll.
While moaning about my wife, whenever she puts a wash on and I’m then putting away the dried washing there’s never an accompanying sock, just a whole load of single socks. Spent ages this morning trying to find a matching pair of socks for my daughter as her drawer was full of single socks.
21-02-2023, 12:14 PM
Self proclaimed “influencers” who come across as self entitled erseholes.
21-02-2023, 02:10 PM
Folk that stand at the top of an escalator in your way when you're in a rush to go down it. Bugs the **** out of me.
For clarity, I mean before you get on the escalator. Not actually on it.
OldEast
21-02-2023, 02:18 PM
Folk that stand at the top of an escalator in your way when you're in a rush to go down it. Bugs the **** out of me.
If you refuse to walk on an escalator stand to the side to let others who want to use their legs get past.
I understand your post, this is just my escalator peeve.
21-02-2023, 02:21 PM
If you refuse to walk on an escalator stand to the side to let others who want to use their legs get past.
I understand your post, this is just my escalator peeve.
And I agree with yours, sir.
21-02-2023, 03:22 PM
Folk that get off an escalator and immediately stop, causing a pile up.
21-02-2023, 03:26 PM
For years I’ve squirmed at Jamie Oliver’s pronunciation of the ‘a’ in the word ‘wafer’………. ‘a’ as in dad, according to him. I’ve always pronounced it ‘wafer’ as in ‘safer’. After extensive research in umpteen sources, my opinion is confirmed. :greengrin:
22-02-2023, 10:13 AM
Folk that get off an escalator and immediately stop, causing a pile up.
Yep. My wife did this recently on an escalator in an airport with me behind with a suitcase. Also people who stop immediately after walking through a door, causing a pile up.
22-02-2023, 10:18 AM
For years I’ve squirmed at Jamie Oliver’s pronunciation of the ‘a’ in the word ‘wafer’………. ‘a’ as in dad, according to him. I’ve always pronounced it ‘wafer’ as in ‘safer’. After extensive research in umpteen sources, my opinion is confirmed. :greengrin:
People who pronounce “apparently” a-parent-ly rather than “a-pa-runt-ly” like I do.
The former is the American form and the latter the British form but it amazes me the amount of older British people I hear pronounce it the American way.
OldEast
22-02-2023, 12:25 PM
Is there anyone who pronounces "particularly" properly. It's a commonly used word during weather forecasts. Never heard it pronounced properly yet.
22-02-2023, 01:25 PM
Is he not just mimicking the Monty Python Mr Creosote sketch from The Meaning of Life? A wafer thin mint? I can't find a clip of him saying it so cannot judge myself, I think that is the only time I have heard it pronounced with a long 'a' like you described is in that Python sketch
22-02-2023, 02:01 PM
Is he not just mimicking the Monty Python Mr Creosote sketch from The Meaning of Life? A wafer thin mint? I can't find a clip of him saying it so cannot judge myself, I think that is the only time I have heard it pronounced with a long 'a' like you described is in that Python sketch
JO mispronounces it regularly but I’ve heard a few more folk as well. I think Chris Evans said it recently.
22-02-2023, 08:09 PM
Link ping pong. Threads on here that are rammed full of links posted as replies to links without any form of discussion.
22-02-2023, 10:06 PM
Link ping pong. Threads on here that are rammed full of links posted as replies to links without any form of discussion.
Brutal pater :agree:
At least say what it's about ffs
23-02-2023, 06:46 AM
Brutal pater :agree:
At least say what it's about ffs
Never knew Hibrandenburg was your Dad :wink:
OldEast
23-02-2023, 07:01 AM
😂😂😂😂👍
24-02-2023, 07:58 AM
🤣
24-02-2023, 08:38 AM
To be fair there's probably a few on here :tee hee:
24-02-2023, 10:17 AM
"One-year anniversary"
It's "first" ffs.
24-02-2023, 10:31 AM
Folk who are determined to have the last word in any online discussion regardless of the veracity of their argument.
24-02-2023, 11:05 AM
Folk who are determined to have the last word in any online discussion regardless of the veracity of their argument.
Talking of which.....trying to remember the previous usernames of posters on here who appear from nowhere and post non-stop for days/weeks/months until they get binned again.
24-02-2023, 02:21 PM
I was only asking her to shut-up so I can hear what he’s saying, big nose.
Bridge hibs
25-02-2023, 11:31 AM
Men who look like burst couches wearing skinny jeans above the ankles with no socks, just why ? 🫣
25-02-2023, 12:17 PM
I was only asking her to shut-up so I can hear what he’s saying, big nose.
I'll swike you vewy wuffly. And fwow you to the fwore.
26-02-2023, 09:20 AM
After a few drinks, you go to bed with Wonder Woman...
And wake up in the morning with Blunder Woman
26-02-2023, 10:21 AM
I'll swike you vewy wuffly. And fwow you to the fwore.
Oh yes, fwow him to the fwow pwease.
Wow welcome to 2023
26-02-2023, 11:48 AM
Wow welcome to 2023
Yep thought I was in a time capsule back to 1975.
26-02-2023, 01:26 PM
I'm betting Blunder Woman had had more than a few in this scenario too. :wink:
26-02-2023, 03:36 PM
I'm betting Blunder Woman had had more than a few in this scenario too. :wink:
Yeah, she must have been p1ssed.
She thumped me after I posted that...
01-03-2023, 03:47 PM
"One-year anniversary"
It's "first" ffs.
This new (?) fad for describing things that have got worse by saying e.g. "it's six times smaller" when they mean it's a sixth of the size.
Six times smaller doesn't mean anything, does it?
Bridge hibs
01-03-2023, 03:50 PM
Cornetos, every ****ing time I open one the wee pointy bit at the bottom is broken off, yeah I know its still in the wrapper but thats not the point 🤬
01-03-2023, 05:06 PM
"One-year anniversary"
It's "first" ffs.
A one year firstiversary. :agree:
01-03-2023, 05:40 PM
People who have their phone keyboard click sound on as they type.
And who have noises on for sending and receiving messages and notifications.
Finally 🙂 people who come onto a bus and then sit chatting on their phone for the entire journey.
Fuzzywuzzy
01-03-2023, 09:10 PM
Finally 🙂 people who come onto a bus and then sit chatting on their phone for the entire journey.
It's those that have their phones on loud speaker
02-03-2023, 12:32 AM
I'm not sure I can agree with the last one...
I don't particularly like talking on the phone when on the bus myself but I don't see an issue with people doing it - so long as they're not on speaker phone.
Unless you mean an audio guided tour bus.
Just_Jimmy
02-03-2023, 01:26 AM
Finally [emoji846] people who come onto a bus and then sit chatting on their phone for the entire journey.My work just made it mandatory to upgrade the software on work issued phone. It now means the keypad can't be turned off without turning the phone off. Needless to say it remains switched off in my desk drawer. Utterly ridiculous.
02-03-2023, 11:10 AM
I'm not sure I can agree with the last one...
I don't particularly like talking on the phone when on the bus myself but I don't see an issue with people doing it - so long as they're not on speaker phone.
Unless you mean an audio guided tour bus.
I don't mind it either. Obviously different if it's a quiet carriage on a train or whatever but someone talking on the phone in a pub, on the bus, in a shop or whatever isn't really any different from 2 people having a conversation. It's just background noise.
02-03-2023, 11:45 AM
I don't mind it either. Obviously different if it's a quiet carriage on a train or whatever but someone talking on the phone in a pub, on the bus, in a shop or whatever isn't really any different from 2 people having a conversation. It's just background noise.
Same here. As long as they don’t do the whole walking past the driver/server without acknowledging them because they’re a big important ‘on-the-phone’ person.
And don’t get me started on ***** at work that you hold the door open for, who casually wander through at their own pace, continuing their all so important phone call without even looking at you, never mind thanking you.
StevieT
02-03-2023, 12:25 PM
Cornetos, every ****ing time I open one the wee pointy bit at the bottom is broken off, yeah I know its still in the wrapper but thats not the point 🤬
Oh yes it is
02-03-2023, 01:09 PM
Same here. As long as they don’t do the whole walking past the driver/server without acknowledging them because they’re a big important ‘on-the-phone’ person.
And don’t get me started on ***** at work that you hold the door open for, who casually wander through at their own pace, continuing their all so important phone call without even looking at you, never mind thanking you.
I held the door for a woman when I was leaving the gym the other day. 'I can open doors myself you know' was the thanks I got. Charming.
I don't really get that. I'm not holding the door because you are a woman, it's just basic politeness not to let a door slam in someones face.
Santa Cruz
02-03-2023, 01:25 PM
I don't know if this still happens, standing up on a busy bus to offer an older person your seat. As a bairn I used to do this without having to be told, but when I used to use the bus I can't say I noticed it happening that often. Also, passengers on the bus who watch a mum struggle on with a pram and baby, sometimes with other kids and shopping, stressed having to fold their pram because the allocated space has been taken. I used to always offer to hold the baby or keep an eye on the small kids while the mum folded the pram, I wasn't confident I'd not make matters worse by tackling a pram I wasn't familiar with. Could never understand why people just sat and watched without offering to help. :confused:
02-03-2023, 01:27 PM
I held the door for a woman when I was leaving the gym the other day. 'I can open doors myself you know' was the thanks I got. Charming.
I don't really get that. I'm not holding the door because you are a woman, it's just basic politeness not to let a door slam in someones face.
I think my reply would have been “yes but you have no manners so I am teaching you some”
02-03-2023, 06:20 PM
I don't know if this still happens, standing up on a busy bus to offer an older person your seat. As a bairn I used to do this without having to be told, but when I used to use the bus I can't say I noticed it happening that often. Also, passengers on the bus who watch a mum struggle on with a pram and baby, sometimes with other kids and shopping, stressed having to fold their pram because the allocated space has been taken. I used to always offer to hold the baby or keep an eye on the small kids while the mum folded the pram, I wasn't confident I'd not make matters worse by tackling a pram I wasn't familiar with. Could never understand why people just sat and watched without offering to help. :confused:
Also the flip side to that, an older person telling someone they must get out of a seat on the bus, particularly the ones that say priority for the elderly and infirm when they don’t know (or indeed can see) that person may have a reason for needing a seat.
My mum is elderly now but I remember her telling a story when she was in her 50s when a woman that looked in her early 60s got on the bus and told her to “get up, these seats are for the elderly”. My mum has and had very bad sciatica and arthritis and walks with a stick which the woman would have seen. According to my mum this woman seemed very able bodied.
02-03-2023, 08:09 PM
In fact it exactly is the point.
Bridge hibs
02-03-2023, 08:26 PM
In fact it exactly is the point.
🤣
03-03-2023, 02:31 PM
People who prefix everything with “super” on social media.
Super excited
Super disappointed
Super privileged
WTF
03-03-2023, 02:55 PM
Super excited
Super disappointed
Super privileged
WTF
Super pessimistic
04-03-2023, 08:48 PM
Super excited
Super disappointed
Super privileged
WTF
Even worse when a boss claims to be ‘super excited’ about something happening in the business that isn’t remotely exciting.
Fuzzywuzzy
04-03-2023, 09:04 PM
Fur babies
06-03-2023, 12:47 AM
Super excited
Super disappointed
Super privileged
WTF
Shaun Maloney disagrees…
Green Man
06-03-2023, 06:26 AM
Super excited
Super disappointed
Super privileged
WTF
Yeah, that gets me super peeved.
06-03-2023, 09:36 AM
Amy Irons.
Seriously what is the appeal with her beyond being quite good looking? She's hopeless presenting the football, annoying on the radio and The Adventure Show (which used to be just about my favourite show on TV) is almost unwatchable since she took over presenting. She's so awkward and unnatural and every conversation is cringeworthy in how seemingly scripted and uneasy it is.
06-03-2023, 12:09 PM
4DX. Went to the cinema at the weekend as had time to kill before taxi-ing the family. Went to see Creed 3, which was fairly decent. Went with the show time that worked best, which was 4DX.
I thought 4DX was going to be that nonsense screen where the film was shown on 3 walls. It wasn’t and was the one where the chairs move like a rollercoaster. Why? What does it really add? Firstly the movements are far too violent, was getting thrown about during the trailers. I can understand using the seats for the boxing scenes, but they were just using them for the sake of it to justify 4DX prices. Two characters in a car going from A to B and having a conversation. Do I really need to chair to vibrate when the engine is turned on etc.
Mikey_1875
06-03-2023, 04:47 PM
Radio DJs saying “love you” to anyone that phones in.
07-03-2023, 01:30 PM
Slippers on sale in shops that are multi sized!
FFS if I take a size 9, I want to buy a pair of size 9 not a pair for 8/9
9/10
07-03-2023, 02:05 PM
9/10
My missus got me a pair of slippers and they are 11/12, I mean, if they fit a size 12 then surely they should just be a size 12? Where does the 11 come into it? Makes no sense whatsoever. Must be so they only need to make one size for every two shoe sizes but then surely they would just fall off the size 11's feet as they'd be too big?
07-03-2023, 02:11 PM
The host of the quiz show lingo who talks over half of the contestants time to think and give their next word/answer. I couldn't cope with it if I were on!
"Oh, close, but it's not North. It starts with N obviously, and it ends with a h, and you've got the t, but it's in the wrong place..."
07-03-2023, 02:12 PM
My missus got me a pair of slippers and they are 11/12, I mean, if they fit a size 12 then surely they should just be a size 12? Where does the 11 come into it? Makes no sense whatsoever. Must be so they only need to make one size for every two shoe sizes but then surely they would just fall off the size 11's feet as they'd be too big?
Quite enjoyed this and was nodding in agreement at first. However… and I’m not a slipper-wearer so no expert.. but:
Is the idea of slippers not that they’re more loose-fitting, and just slip off and on, therefore being less strict in their sizes relative to shoes?
07-03-2023, 05:42 PM
Quite enjoyed this and was nodding in agreement at first. However… and I’m not a slipper-wearer so no expert.. but:
Is the idea of slippers not that they’re more loose-fitting, and just slip off and on, therefore being less strict in their sizes relative to shoes?As a slipper wearer if I get my shoe size they are unwearable after a few weeks. I always buy a size smaller so they stretch to the right size. Leaving them for the dog to chew is the reason they don't last very long....
Sent from my SM-G990B using Tapatalk
Just_Jimmy
07-03-2023, 09:14 PM
9/10You're McCar and I claim my prize! [emoji1787]
07-03-2023, 09:19 PM
Crap graffiti.
I know 'street art blah blah blah' but about 90% of the stuff in Edinburgh is just crap. Particular mention for 'Alkee' who has been tagging anything stationary for about a decade now and if anything is getting worse as time goes on rather than showing any improvement.
07-03-2023, 11:13 PM
You're McCar and I claim my prize! [emoji1787]
08-03-2023, 07:05 AM
Crap graffiti.
I know 'street art blah blah blah' but about 90% of the stuff in Edinburgh is just crap. Particular mention for 'Alkee' who has been tagging anything stationary for about a decade now and if anything is getting worse as time goes on rather than showing any improvement.
I took the S-Bahn into work yesterday and was thinking the same. I've never been a fan of graffiti but most of it now is just ****ty looking tags. They should rebuild the wall here because some of the graffiti on it was at least imaginative.
08-03-2023, 10:31 AM
Fur babies
Consider me triggered. That, and the same people describing themselves as "mummy" or "daddy" in polite society. To a dug 😆🤯
I was asked to feed someone's cats for a couple of days and the day before my duties started the keys were posted through my door with a very detailed letter from the cats telling me where their "hoomans" left everything, what time they needed their fur cuddles and treats and how excited they were that I was their new hooman friend who was looking after them.
08-03-2023, 12:10 PM
A few years back I was invited to a barbecue but couldn't go. Found out from other folk afterwards that it was a birthday party for a cat.
08-03-2023, 12:32 PM
I make my cat a cat friendly birthday cake every year to mark the day we adopted him. I put a candle in it and get him a present as well. He had a horrendous life before we got him so he's spoiled. Sleeps on our bed, treats on demand, the aforementioned birthday cake etc etc.. He's part of the family so gets treated as such even if he doesn't understand it.
I stop short of buying my wife a others day card for him right enough.
08-03-2023, 01:30 PM
People who use self service at supermarkets, put the basket down then unload it to the other side then put it in to bags, why not just put the bag up first and pack your food in that order.
Just_Jimmy
08-03-2023, 03:01 PM
Lingo on BBC...
Try a 4 letter word or 5 letter word rather than just plurals of 3 and 4 letter words.
Pish.
09-03-2023, 07:41 AM
Folk writing how they talk. I’ve noticed an increase in the likes of tae instead of to. Folk can speak however they like but it takes more effort to write like you talk.
Another one, the font in children’s books. It’s really difficult to see the text of the story when the story is at night. Why continue to use black text on a dark blue page. Makes it a challenge to read the page when your doing bedtime stories and you’ve got the little light on instead of the big one.
Fuzzywuzzy
09-03-2023, 09:34 AM
The menopause - I've definitely been put on pause.
To those whose other halves have not reached this point yet - most important rule: don't make jokes about the menopause - you literally do not want to go down that rabbit hole
I always used to wonder why my grandad never used to talk much - I now understand
Bridge hibs
09-03-2023, 10:22 AM
The menopause - I've definitely been put on pause.
To those whose other halves have not reached this point yet - most important rule: don't make jokes about the menopause - you literally do not want to go down that rabbit hole
I always used to wonder why my grandad never used to talk much - I now understandI totally respect my Wife and her challenges, agreed its not easy for the Men but I read up on it and try to understand how difficult it is for my Wife. I give her all the time and respect she needs and deserves
Wished she would do the same when I go down with Man Flu 😵🫣
Fuzzywuzzy
09-03-2023, 10:26 AM
I totally respect my Wife and her challenges, agreed its not easy for the Men but I read up on it and try to understand how difficult it is for my Wife. I give her all the time and respect she needs and deserves
Wished she would do the same when I go down with Man Flu 😵🫣
I've done that as well, listened to the podcasts (actually still listen to Gabby logan 😂), read a couple of books
I can't help sometimes and things slip out I think are funny....then I'm ****ed for a few days
Think gents before speaking!!😂
Bridge hibs
09-03-2023, 10:35 AM
I've done that as well, listened to the podcasts (actually still listen to Gabby logan 😂), read a couple of books
I can't help sometimes and things slip out I think are funny....then I'm ****ed for a few days
Think gents before speaking!!😂Its in my nature to attempt humour, even when I was seriously ill I tried to inject some humour. There are lines to be crossed and I quickly learned not to cross them 😵
Im waiting on an urgent (over a year) Urology appointment in which Im actually worried about, my Wife however likes to crack a funny much to my bemusement, however… nope I cant 🫣
speedy_gonzales
09-03-2023, 03:57 PM
Its in my nature to attempt humour, even when I was seriously ill I tried to inject some humour. There are lines to be crossed and I quickly learned not to cross them 😵
Im waiting on an urgent (over a year) Urology appointment in which Im actually worried about, my Wife however likes to crack a funny much to my bemusement, however… nope I cant 🫣
Sounds like she's taking the pîss?
10-03-2023, 08:03 AM
Nipping into Asda at Chesser last night on the way home from a run was an eye opener. Not sure what was on at the O2 Academy but the area was awash with teenagers and under 18s. The states some were in was eye opening, as was what they were wearing. Two girls getting refused entry who literally just had bras on. They had what looked like cut t-shirts on that were essentially just scarves as didn’t go below their collarbones.
With having a daughter it certainly makes you think and worry.
10-03-2023, 08:23 AM
Nipping into Asda at Chesser last night on the way home from a run was an eye opener. Not sure what was on at the O2 Academy but the area was awash with teenagers and under 18s. The states some were in was eye opening, as was what they were wearing. Two girls getting refused entry who literally just had bras on. They had what looked like cut t-shirts on that were essentially just scarves as didn’t go below their collarbones.
I was walking along Montgomery Street on the way to the match the other night and a teenage couple passed me... the guy was wrapped up but the girl was was just wearing thin lycra trousers (not the sort women wear to the gym) and a sort of bra-come-crop-top.
She must have been absolutely freezing. On the way back, there were a couple of girls presumably waiting for a taxi outside the student accommodation on London Road. One was kind of dressed like you described but at least had a warm jacket over her.
10-03-2023, 03:44 PM
That appeared to be the fashion over here last summer. Wearing a top that was something between a bikini top and a bra. If it makes them happy then I'm not going to get all fuddy duddy about it.
11-03-2023, 11:50 AM
When you buy a roll and bacon from the roll shop and they only got one rasher of bacon on it 🤬.
Bridge hibs
11-03-2023, 12:22 PM
When you buy a roll and bacon from the roll shop and they only got one rasher of bacon on it 🤬.
Thats criminal, 3 rashers minimum or its just a roll 🤬
Bridge hibs
11-03-2023, 12:25 PM
On the roll theme, when your so looking forward to a sausage roll (bap) from Costa drive thru and the contents of the roll/bap fall out of the roll and end up at your feet in the car 🤬
11-03-2023, 12:48 PM
When you tell someone in the pub a rumour that you heard and assure them it’s just a rumour and that you have no actual facts to back it up. The next time you’re in the pub someone who was listening to your conversation , tells you the same rumour having forgotten it was only last week you discussed it.They back it up with they know someone in the know and it’s gospel.
Bridge hibs
11-03-2023, 12:53 PM
The pub bore, not so much bore but moreso when you are in a good group and the funnies are getting churned out, just a general laugh out loud hour or so then the bore wants to get involved and kills the atmosphere stone dead with a long and unfunny gag 🤣
14-03-2023, 10:30 AM
There's a lot of guys wearing shorts these days all year round. I suppose it's healthy.
But you see some awful sights.
17-03-2023, 08:26 PM
Comic Relief.
ErinGoBraghHFC
17-03-2023, 08:30 PM
Comic Relief.
Lot of utter *****, should mix it up a bit one year and get Frankie Boyle, Jimmy Carr and Anthony Jeselnik on. The pearl clutching that would follow alone would be amazing.
18-03-2023, 09:17 AM
The lack of cards that say Gran or Granny on them.
Literally mountains with Nan, Nanny or Grandma all sitting untouched whilst every 2nd person asks the assistant in the shop 'do you have one with Gran/Granny on it?'.
Do the buyers and gap analysis people in these places not have any knowledge of regional variations in dialect?
Santa Cruz
18-03-2023, 09:55 AM
Literally mountains with Nan, Nanny or Grandma all sitting untouched whilst every 2nd person asks the assistant in the shop 'do you have one with Gran/Granny on it?'.
Do the buyers and gap analysis people in these places not have any knowledge of regional variations in dialect?
Agree, same goes for Gran and Grandad. Good shop in Musselburgh High Street, sells everything, forget the name. Good card selection, Gran is available. Failing that I buy mine from Ebay.
18-03-2023, 11:08 AM
I was asked to feed someone's cats for a couple of days and the day before my duties started the keys were posted through my door with a very detailed letter from the cats telling me where their "hoomans" left everything, what time they needed their fur cuddles and treats and how excited they were that I was their new hooman friend who was looking after them.
I think that's really quite sweet. Imagine how much fun the person writing the note must have had.
18-03-2023, 11:09 AM
On the roll theme, when your so looking forward to a sausage roll (bap) from Costa drive thru and the contents of the roll/bap fall out of the roll and end up at your feet in the car 🤬When you buy a Greggs sausage roll and it's cold. Was told "we don't guarantee to sell hot sausage rolls".
18-03-2023, 12:21 PM
When you buy a Greggs sausage roll and it's cold. Was told "we don't guarantee to sell hot sausage rolls".
We need more Baynes bakers in Edinburgh.
18-03-2023, 12:27 PM
Folk turning up at 9 o’clock for the rugby and sitting in their cars having a few refreshments and taking all the parking places, put police checks on Glasgow Road and they would catch 100s if not 1000s of drink drivers after the game.
18-03-2023, 12:44 PM
When you buy a Greggs sausage roll and it's cold. Was told "we don't guarantee to sell hot sausage rolls".
That don’t keep them hot to avoid the tax.
totally agree with this! Infuriating
ErinGoBraghHFC
18-03-2023, 12:57 PM
I insist on being referred to as “the provider” rather than “dad” when talking about my cats, just so they know their place in the hierarchy of the hoose.
Always been a problem, they're made down south where no one uses Ganny, I always found wee local shops had them as the bigger chain ones just have the generic Nan, Grandma etc.
19-03-2023, 09:07 AM
Moonpig and Funky Pigeon allow you to alter the text on a lot of their cards.
20-03-2023, 11:38 AM
Etsy is the solution, find a local artist, most will have what you need (loads of Gran and Granny ones there now) and you get a hand made quality card for not much more than moonpig charge.
20-03-2023, 11:47 AM
Etsy is the solution, find a local artist, most will have what you need (loads of Gran and Granny ones there now) and you get a hand made quality card for not much more than moonpig charge.
On the subject of cards, Mother’s Day cards in my opinion should be to a Mum from their own child nothing else.
Santa Cruz
20-03-2023, 12:42 PM
On the subject of cards, Mother’s Day cards in my opinion should be to a Mum from their own child nothing else.
Totally. Also Mother's Day cakes is a step too far for me.
Charging for flower bags in some shops (if they're organised enough to stock them) and not charging in others. The florists supplying the supermarket chains should cover the cost. The mark up they make on the over inflated prices added on special occasions should well cover the cost of the inconsistently applied charge of 20p.
20-03-2023, 01:06 PM
I was in the bad books yesterday, pointing out its not wife’s day didn’t cut it, Chinese takeaway last night brought a smile to her face, women eh. :greengrin
20-03-2023, 01:19 PM
I was in the bad books yesterday, pointing out its not wife’s day didn’t cut it, Chinese takeaway last night brought a smile to her face, women eh. :greengrin
😀
20-03-2023, 05:12 PM
Amy Irons.
Seriously what is the appeal with her beyond being quite good looking? She's hopeless presenting the football, annoying on the radio and The Adventure Show (which used to be just about my favourite show on TV) is almost unwatchable since she took over presenting. She's so awkward and unnatural and every conversation is cringeworthy in how seemingly scripted and uneasy it is.
Eni Aluko is the worst pundit out there. Her HT analysis from yesterday's Sheffield Utd-Blackburn game was abysmal.
21-03-2023, 09:28 PM
Probably an irrational peeve, but people abandoning or not lining up their trolley at supermarkets properly when returning them
The ones that edge out on to the road cause someone couldn't be arsed nudging it forward ever so slightly especially does my nut in
Probably an irrational peeve, but people abandoning or not lining up their trolley at supermarkets properly when returning them
The ones that edge out on to the road cause someone couldn't be arsed nudging it forward ever so slightly especially does my nut in
can I add to this, the trolley bays that are wide enough for 3 trolleys, yet inevitably there’s a single row of trolleys that sticks out into the road, whilst the other 2 rows only have a couple each… but folk still add the the one that’s too long already
EH6 Hibby
22-03-2023, 06:47 AM
can I add to this, the trolley bays that are wide enough for 3 trolleys, yet inevitably there’s a single row of trolleys that sticks out into the road, whilst the other 2 rows only have a couple each… but folk still add the the one that’s too long already
Can’t believe no-one has mentioned people that just empty their trolley and leave it lying wherever they’ve finished with it. No matter where you are parked, there will be a trolley bay within 10 metres of where you are. Why could anyone find that walk inconvenient.
22-03-2023, 07:59 AM
Can’t believe no-one has mentioned people that just empty their trolley and leave it lying wherever they’ve finished with it. No matter where you are parked, there will be a trolley bay within 10 metres of where you are. Why could anyone find that walk inconvenient.And those same people would kick off if a floating trolley scratched their car....
Sent from my SM-G990B using Tapatalk
22-03-2023, 09:09 AM
Green bin day in Edinburgh. Leave it wedged against the wall so it doesn't get blown over.
Council employee comes along and moves it three feet to the side of the road to save half a second when the lorry comes round.
Wind blows (now freestanding) green bin over. Rubbish blown all over street.
24-03-2023, 08:32 PM
Can’t believe no-one has mentioned people that just empty their trolley and leave it lying wherever they’ve finished with it. No matter where you are parked, there will be a trolley bay within 10 metres of where you are. Why could anyone find that walk inconvenient.
Worse when it’s in a parking space and you approach it, indicate to go in and then just as you start to turn your clock the ****ing thing, abandoned.
31-03-2023, 11:29 AM
I was in Glasgow last night and there was actual gangs of deliveroo/just eat drivers just hanging around street corners waiting on their phones pinging. Not something I have experienced in Edinburgh yet but whilst not intimidating or anything like that but the were obstructing pedestrian areas.
speedy_gonzales
31-03-2023, 12:04 PM
I was in Glasgow last night and there was actual gangs of deliveroo/just eat drivers just hanging around street corners waiting on their phones pinging. Not something I have experienced in Edinburgh yet but whilst not intimidating or anything like that but the were obstructing pedestrian areas.
Yeah, see them all the time in Argyle St astride their Zoomo e-bikes. Again, not intimidating but definitely an obstruction.
As an aside, does anyone else sing the Fast Food song (by the Fast Food Rockers) when they pass the junction of Argyle St & Union St. There is literally a McDonalds, Kentucky Fried Chicken and a Pizza Hut there 😀
03-04-2023, 07:51 PM
Anyone else getting constant adds on YouTube for a new series on Dave? Meet The Richardson’s. Literally every advert, or if there’s two adverts it’s one of them, is for that show. I’ve never watched it before or watched anything with John Richardson, though I don’t mind him, on YouTube. I think I’m getting Stockholm syndrome.
Alfiembra
15-04-2023, 06:52 AM
Wonky supermarket trolleys, just about every trolley I pick at my local Asda has a dodgy wheel with a flat spot on it. Spend the next half hour thumping my way around the place getting my shopping. On the odd occasion I’ve changed it for another, more often than not it’s equally as bad.
17-04-2023, 01:35 PM
Wonky supermarket trolleys, just about every trolley I pick at my local Asda has a dodgy wheel with a flat spot on it. Spend the next half hour thumping my way around the place getting my shopping. On the odd occasion I’ve changed it for another, more often than not it’s equally as bad.
Supermarkets that make you sign up to their card/club just to pay for things at the "normal" already over-inflated price (Tesco :rolleyes:) I'll never set foot in a shop that does this.
Santa Cruz
17-04-2023, 01:45 PM
Supermarkets that make you sign up to their card/club just to pay for things at the "normal" already over-inflated price (Tesco :rolleyes:) I'll never set foot in a shop that does this.
Sainsbury Nectar card currently gets you 24 cans of coke zero for £5.00, without the card £10. Selling elsehwere for anything from £9ish to £12ish pound. For people with little, or no longer know what disposable income means, they will be happy to sign up. The downside is remembering to take all cards with you to benefit. That's just one example.
17-04-2023, 02:03 PM
Sainsbury Nectar card currently gets you 24 cans of coke zero for £5.00, without the card £10. Selling elsehwere for anything from £9ish to £12ish pound. For people with little, or no longer know what disposable income means, they will be happy to sign up. The downside is remembering to take all cards with you to benefit. That's just one example.
They should be selling them at that price anyway, they just want to hoard your data to sell off to other companies.
there’s a few apps you can use to put a digital copy of your card on your phone, Stocard is one. Saves carting all the extra cards/trying to remember the ones you think you’ll need
pollution
17-04-2023, 06:19 PM
[QUOTE=Gatecrasher;7331747]Supermarkets that make you sign up to their card/club just to pay for things at the "normal" already over-inflated price (Tesco :rolleyes:) I'll never set foot in a shop that does this.[
I agree, Tesco have introduced two tier pricing. Walking through their store is depressing having the mug price against their Clubcard price.
The mug price subsidises the cheaper price. So unfriendly.
ErinGoBraghHFC
17-04-2023, 06:36 PM
[QUOTE=Gatecrasher;7331747]Supermarkets that make you sign up to their card/club just to pay for things at the "normal" already over-inflated price (Tesco :rolleyes:) I'll never set foot in a shop that does this.[
I agree, Tesco have introduced two tier pricing. Walking through their store is depressing having the mug price against their Clubcard price.
The mug price subsidises the cheaper price. So unfriendly.
Get a part time job at Tesco for two weeks, turn up for one maybe two shifts and call in sick the rest of the time until you get the colleague club card then quit. Problem solved.
Edit: no comment on how I came to be in possession of this life hack, it’s probably considered fraud
Santa Cruz
17-04-2023, 07:08 PM
there’s a few apps you can use to put a digital copy of your card on your phone, Stocard is one. Saves carting all the extra cards/trying to remember the ones you think you’ll need
Ta. I'm not great with apps, but good to know to pass on to others. :aok:
18-04-2023, 06:22 AM
They should be selling them at that price anyway, they just want to hoard your data to sell off to other companies.
I can't remember when I signed up what I agreed for them to do with my data (not sure they're collecting much of value?) now but that seems a bit far fetched. Even still, they can crack on with it so long as they keep giving me 58p off my crab meat. :greengrin
Edit:
Where appropriate we share personal data with the Sainsbury's Group and with our trusted service providers. In limited circumstances we may share your information with other parties, such as, if we are required to do so by law or where we are asked by a public or regulatory authority.
We may also share your information if we need to exercise or protect our legal rights, users, systems and services or the rights of others
18-04-2023, 07:28 AM
I can't remember when I signed up what I agreed for them to do with my data (not sure they're collecting much of value?) now but that seems a bit far fetched. Even still, they can crack on with it so long as they keep giving me 58p off my crab meat. :greengrin
Edit:
Where appropriate we share personal data with the Sainsbury's Group and with our trusted service providers. In limited circumstances we may share your information with other parties, such as, if we are required to do so by law or where we are asked by a public or regulatory authority.
We may also share your information if we need to exercise or protect our legal rights, users, systems and services or the rights of others
I've got a dump email address that I use when I sign up for anything. My proper email address is restricted to things I actually need to respond to and the dump one is just full of marketing and offers. I check it a couple of times a week and tbh there are often some pretty good deals to be had. I've got a Family & Friends Railcard and that has a few cracking offers; I've had a full toiletry set and only paid the postage, a 25% off voucher for a hotel group and a 30% discount voucher for airport parking as well. That's just the ones I have used. Add to that for a payment of £30 a year I save 33% on all train ticket purchases with the family. A trip to see my father in law sees us save at least £60 but often as much as £120 so in one trip it more than pays for itself and we generally make the trip at least twice a year. Same with my Tesco Clubcard, mines is linked to my Tesco credit card so I play the system a wee bit. I pay for all my fuel using the credit card and always use a Tesco petrol station, all big purchases using it, my weekly shop using it etc etc. I then pay it off in full so incur no interest but still get the points for the credit card spend and for the purchases if they were in Tesco.. I just cashed in vouchers the other week and with the 3 x exchange value available until June I converted £25 worth of points into £75 worth of vouchers for Blackpool Pleasure Beach. Booked tickets for 4 of us in October and what should have cost £130 only cost me £55.
I do take the broader point about two tier pricing and the suggestion lower pricing should be implemented across the board but until that's the case I'm quite happy to keep playing the game with them.
18-04-2023, 08:21 AM
I've got a dump email address that I use when I sign up for anything. My proper email address is restricted to things I actually need to respond to and the dump one is just full of marketing and offers. I check it a couple of times a week and tbh there are often some pretty good deals to be had. I've got a Family & Friends Railcard and that has a few cracking offers; I've had a full toiletry set and only paid the postage, a 25% off voucher for a hotel group and a 30% discount voucher for airport parking as well. That's just the ones I have used. Add to that for a payment of £30 a year I save 33% on all train ticket purchases with the family. A trip to see my father in law sees us save at least £60 but often as much as £120 so in one trip it more than pays for itself and we generally make the trip at least twice a year. Same with my Tesco Clubcard, mines is linked to my Tesco credit card so I play the system a wee bit. I pay for all my fuel using the credit card and always use a Tesco petrol station, all big purchases using it, my weekly shop using it etc etc. I then pay it off in full so incur no interest but still get the points for the credit card spend and for the purchases if they were in Tesco.. I just cashed in vouchers the other week and with the 3 x exchange value available until June I converted £25 worth of points into £75 worth of vouchers for Blackpool Pleasure Beach. Booked tickets for 4 of us in October and what should have cost £130 only cost me £55.
I do take the broader point about two tier pricing and the suggestion lower pricing should be implemented across the board but until that's the case I'm quite happy to keep playing the game with them.
Having a second email account is a cracking idea. I wish I'd implemented that but feel I'm too far down the rabbit hole now. I've taken to unsubscribing from things more diligently though. I can't say I've noticed myself getting many of those.sort of offers though - will keep an eye out.
That's an impressive haul of offers! The only thing I do is use nectar points (and prices) when I shop. I've got £120 of points which my wife insists on keeping for next Christmas (I'd spend them now, there's only downside to waiting since they no longer double up).
Unfortunately my wife doesn't like the idea of credit cards. You're spot on in the way you use yours though and is the first thing I'd recommend to anyone looking for advise on their personal finances. :agree:
18-04-2023, 10:02 AM
“Hence why”
Particularly when used by people trying to sound clever and/or condescending.
18-04-2023, 04:19 PM
You can get the railcard through the Tesco Clubcard points too. I did that very thing yesterday. £10 worth of points got me a Two Together railcard worth £30. Similar to the Friends and Family one, we get a third off rail fares when me and my wife travel together (with some exceptions) which given we live a few minutes walk from South Gyle station is not infrequent.
18-04-2023, 06:12 PM
You can get the railcard through the Tesco Clubcard points too. I did that very thing yesterday. £10 worth of points got me a Two Together railcard worth £30. Similar to the Friends and Family one, we get a third off rail fares when me and my wife travel together (with some exceptions) which given we live a few minutes walk from South Gyle station is not infrequent.
We've got a 2 together Railcard, paid for itself in the first 2 weeks, everything else a bonus. £25 well spent.
20-04-2023, 07:30 AM
£7.30 for a pint of San Miguel, in a plastic cup at the corn exchange.
20-04-2023, 07:41 AM
£7.30 for a pint of San Miguel, in a plastic cup at the corn exchange.
It seems to be something that has just crept in.
I was at Newmarket last year for the Guineas Festival and that was £7.95 a pint of Madri. A few of my mates were at Aintree at the weekend and they were £7.50 a Pravha or £7.20 for Carling with a spirit at £5.50 a single and mixers starting at £2.50. I know costs have gone up across the board but £154 return on a bottle of vodka is one hell of a mark up.
You obviously expect to pay a bit more at event venues of any description because of the captive market but I've increasingly found myself just not buying a drink at things I usually always would have. Even in pubs £4.50+ is pretty standard for Tennents now and in the centre of town the £6 and £7 a pint barrier is breached regularly outside of the likes of Wetherspoons.
20-04-2023, 09:43 AM
It seems to be something that has just crept in.
I was at Newmarket last year for the Guineas Festival and that was £7.95 a pint of Madri. A few of my mates were at Aintree at the weekend and they were £7.50 a Pravha or £7.20 for Carling with a spirit at £5.50 a single and mixers starting at £2.50. I know costs have gone up across the board but £154 return on a bottle of vodka is one hell of a mark up.
You obviously expect to pay a bit more at event venues of any description because of the captive market but I've increasingly found myself just not buying a drink at things I usually always would have. Even in pubs £4.50+ is pretty standard for Tennents now and in the centre of town the £6 and £7 a pint barrier is breached regularly outside of the likes of Wetherspoons.
I got a pint of Moretti in a pub in Biggar last week, they were £5.85. I don't even know it thats good anymore.
pollution
20-04-2023, 10:33 AM
I got a pint of Moretti in a pub in Biggar last week, they were £5.85. I don't even know it thats good anymore.
I would accept that if it were brewed in Italy.....
ErinGoBraghHFC
20-04-2023, 10:41 AM
I’m £5.40 for a pint of Menabrea or £4.30 for Tennents in Hamilton. Even drinking in the house has gotten more expensive recently, got a four pack of Menabrea and a half bottle of buckfast in the off license yesterday as I’m off work from today until Monday, that set me back £13. Absolute rip off at this point.
20-04-2023, 11:01 AM
Yesterday was in:
The Newsroom
The Guildford
Tiles
The Abbotsford
Rose St Brewery
Robinsons Bar 37
The Amber Rose
Winstons (less than £10 per round)
The round for two of us varied between £11-£12.50 in each one which is about par for the course up town.
20-04-2023, 11:44 AM
Bottle of Buckfast has gone up by a £1 this week and a 900ml bottle of Lucozade up from £1.25 to £2 in my local shop.
£5.50 for a pint of San Miguel now as well in my usual place.
Went for tapas the other night with the Mrs. Shared a jug of sangria and had 4 tapas each. Bill was over £100. Its tapas (insert swear words).
20-04-2023, 05:32 PM
I just paid £3.90 for a pint of Madri in my Sports and Social club.
Shows you what profit they're making elsewhere.
Stairway 2 7
20-04-2023, 05:43 PM
Funny article about Madri "the taste of Madrid ", invented and brewed in Yorkshire and not seen in Madrid
https://archive.ph/Dc3qq