View Full Version : Pet Peeves IV

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 [13] 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57

03-05-2017, 06:36 AM
I've ranted about them before but Edinburgh ****ing council.

I moved house about 4 weeks ago. About 8 weeks ago I filled out the relevant form re council tax. Received an acknowledgement within 10 days (super efficient by council standards) and was informed my new home wasn't yet banded but I would be informed as soon as it was. Lo and behold 6 and a bit weeks later it still isn't banded (not a surprise tbf) but they have also sent me a letter informing me I missed a payment last week on my old home (I have set up mail forwarding). I tried to phone them to explain I haven't lived there for a month, had filled out their relevant forms and my payments are up to date but of course you can't do something as simple as speak to a person, you have to leave a message and will be called back within 48 hours (we are at over 96 working hourse and counting now).

Don't even get me started on chasing them for the refund on my returned parking permit which I was assured would be with me within 5 working days (3 weeks and 2 days currently).

I always hear how they are short staffed and so on but their basic systems are so flawed they could have 1000s of extra staff and would still be a million miles short of incompetent.

03-05-2017, 12:39 PM
Hermes parcel couriers who visit your house on 3 consecutive days when everyone is at work and then return your parcel to sender. This despite you leaving notes and offering some alternatives that every other courier has been happy to oblige.

03-05-2017, 12:43 PM
Folding plans when the roll of paper is coming to an end (drawing office people know what I'm on about).

03-05-2017, 01:25 PM
Hermes parcel couriers who visit your house on 3 consecutive days when everyone is at work and then return your parcel to sender. This despite you leaving notes and offering some alternatives that every other courier has been happy to oblige.

Hermes are the worst, DPD or the Royal mail seems to be the best.

03-05-2017, 02:00 PM
I've ranted about them before but Edinburgh ****ing council.

I moved house about 4 weeks ago. About 8 weeks ago I filled out the relevant form re council tax. Received an acknowledgement within 10 days (super efficient by council standards) and was informed my new home wasn't yet banded but I would be informed as soon as it was. Lo and behold 6 and a bit weeks later it still isn't banded (not a surprise tbf) but they have also sent me a letter informing me I missed a payment last week on my old home (I have set up mail forwarding). I tried to phone them to explain I haven't lived there for a month, had filled out their relevant forms and my payments are up to date but of course you can't do something as simple as speak to a person, you have to leave a message and will be called back within 48 hours (we are at over 96 working hourse and counting now).

Don't even get me started on chasing them for the refund on my returned parking permit which I was assured would be with me within 5 working days (3 weeks and 2 days currently).

I always hear how they are short staffed and so on but their basic systems are so flawed they could have 1000s of extra staff and would still be a million miles short of incompetent.
Exact same boat with Fife Council/Manchester City Council.

New flat is unbanded. Despite all the the other flats in the block already being listed with a band.

Fife still haven't returned my over payment.

Shambles.

03-05-2017, 02:06 PM
Hermes parcel couriers who visit your house on 3 consecutive days when everyone is at work and then return your parcel to sender. This despite you leaving notes and offering some alternatives that every other courier has been happy to oblige.Must be a new driver who doesn't know the ropes yet or a right jobsworth or maybe a parcel or 2 have went missing on his run. If he doesn't deliver parcel he doesn't get any money so a neighbour or your suggested safe place would certainly receive the parcel if it was me delivering it

03-05-2017, 02:12 PM
Hermes are the worst, DPD or the Royal mail seems to be the best.My favourite Hermes story was when I got sent to collect a parcel and deliver a replacement. It seems a new guy had started for Hermes and the parcel was dumped 3 weeks before in a derelict barn about 3/4 of a mile from nearest house. The woman only got her soaking wet dress because her neighbour collected her parcel from the same barn.
Satnavs are useless for rural postcodes:greengrin

03-05-2017, 02:30 PM

Put a foul smelling food recycling bin out side your front door, and add some rotting fish to make it really rancid: Hermes drivers absolutely love to leave parcels in there.
My neighbour also retrieved one of my (Hermes delivered) parcels from her garden waste bin - she heard the lorry and ran out with some more grass clippings to catch them before uplift, and saw my parcel nestling in a pile of weeds and clippings.
Get recycling and get your parcels - everyone's a winner:aok:

03-05-2017, 03:07 PM
When the voice recognition on your phone, 90% of the time totally dormant and, as far as I'm aware, not even activated, randomly chirps up from your pocket "If you said something, I didn't hear it".

Usually from your pocket or another room or similar.

04-05-2017, 12:09 PM
Cyclists who don't use the dedicated cycle and pedestrian way at Seafield and instead puff up the hill right in the middle of the road holding everything up behind them.

04-05-2017, 12:26 PM
Hermes are the worst, DPD or the Royal mail seems to be the best.

No. Yodel are the worst. They don't even ring the bell. They just stand in the street and go: Yodelaydeeeeee!

04-05-2017, 01:24 PM
Cyclists who don't use the dedicated cycle and pedestrian way at Seafield and instead puff up the hill right in the middle of the road holding everything up behind them.

...... I read that as 'the defecated cycle and pedestrian way at Seafield'. Quite appropriate for that part of Edinburgh I suppose. :greengrin

04-05-2017, 01:30 PM
...... I read that as 'the defecated cycle and pedestrian way at Seafield'. Quite appropriate for that part of Edinburgh I suppose. :greengrin
and the cycl..... naw, I better stay shtoom. :shhhsh!:

hibs#1
04-05-2017, 05:26 PM
Not to hijack the thread but I work for hermes.I do believe some are being a bit harsh for sure so couriers will be numptys but there are a lot of good ones.
In my experience dpd and the amazon logistics companies are horrific.

I'm good at my job though 😉

04-05-2017, 06:12 PM
Not to hijack the thread but I work for hermes.I do believe some are being a bit harsh for sure so couriers will be numptys but there are a lot of good ones.
In my experience dpd and the amazon logistics companies are horrific.

I'm good at my job though 😉

If you failed to deliver 3 times to Corstorphine Hill Avenue you're not :-)

hibs#1
04-05-2017, 06:31 PM
If you failed to deliver 3 times to Corstorphine Hill Avenue you're not :-)

Haha i'd be a bit lost if I was trying to deliver there bud.

05-05-2017, 01:15 PM
Days when - the person before you at breakfast ate the last slice of bread - every traffic light turns to red when you approach it - you park miles from your work only to see someone pull out of a parking spot at the front door when you get there - the photocopier runs out of paper after the second last page you are printing and that was the last pack - it rains heavy when you leave the office and goes off when you get into your car - you choose the wrong queue in the supermarket and bank - you get home and someone has parked in front of your driveway - etc, etc....
Now try and tell me there's not someone up there having lots of fun playing with each of us, one by one, day by day.

05-05-2017, 01:32 PM
Days when - the person before you at breakfast ate the last slice of bread - every traffic light turns to red when you approach it - you park miles from your work only to see someone pull out of a parking spot at the front door when you get there - the photocopier runs out of paper after the second last page you are printing and that was the last pack - it rains heavy when you leave the office and goes off when you get into your car - you choose the wrong queue in the supermarket and bank - you get home and someone has parked in front of your driveway - etc, etc....
Now try and tell me there's not someone up there having lots of fun playing with each of us, one by one, day by day.

Then you switch on your telly and see that the Tories have taken control of councils in the most working class of areas due to the "no surrender" vote.

05-05-2017, 01:55 PM
People who squeeze toothpaste from the top of the tube. Who does that? Push from the bottom, anyone who does otherwise is a monster.

ColinNish
05-05-2017, 07:36 PM
Folk in your office who put their coffee spoon in the sugar bowl and leave coffee granules in the sugar!!! 😡😡😡

05-05-2017, 08:12 PM
Folk in your office who put their coffee spoon in the sugar bowl and leave coffee granules in the sugar!!! ������

Mouses sheite! Does ma heid in!!

ColinNish
05-05-2017, 09:05 PM
Mouses sheite! Does ma heid in!!

I'm seriously considering buying sugar cubes and keeping them on my desk - gives me the boak!! 🤢

06-05-2017, 09:20 AM
Fidget spinners!

06-05-2017, 09:41 AM
Fidget spinners!

I saw something about these on the news the other day. WTF?

06-05-2017, 09:53 AM
I saw something about these on the news the other day. WTF?

Latest playground craze. The noise it makes when it's spinning does my head in :grr:

06-05-2017, 10:00 AM
Latest playground craze. The noise it makes when it's spinning does my head in :grr:
Ive just ordered one from amazon. The bairn has been going on and on about them all week, I've still not got a clue what it is though :greengrin

06-05-2017, 10:03 AM
Ive just ordered one from amazon. The bairn has been going on and on about them all week, I've still not got a clue what it is though :greengrin

It's not even that exciting a thing, in my opinion anyway :greengrin

My boy has got one but apparently he NEEDS more so we're off to the shops soon. Can't wait!

06-05-2017, 10:11 AM
It's not even that exciting a thing, in my opinion anyway :greengrin

My boy has got one but apparently he NEEDS more so we're off to the shops soon. Can't wait!
What shops sell them? I was told I had to get them online.

06-05-2017, 10:17 AM
What shops sell them? I was told I had to get them online.

I don't think any of the big shops have any left but I was told a shop in Leith has them so we're off to investigate further.

I got one for him at Clown Around soft play this week though, they had quite a few different ones.

06-05-2017, 10:50 AM
I don't think any of the big shops have any left but I was told a shop in Leith has them so we're off to investigate further.

I got one for him at Clown Around soft play this week though, they had quite a few different ones.
I wish I'd known that. I will have to face the Spanish Inquisition everyday until hers arrives, starting from tomorrow morning :greengrin

06-05-2017, 10:58 AM
Delivery van drivers who double park and force traffic to merge even though there's an off road parking space directly next to them. Not sure why they do it but the only conceivable reason is that they save time whilst costing everyone else time.

06-05-2017, 11:14 AM
Delivery van drivers who double park and force traffic to merge even though there's an off road parking space directly next to them. Not sure why they do it but the only conceivable reason is that they save time whilst costing everyone else time.

Not confined to delivery vans, H-g.
There's loads of inconsiderate barstewards on the road. You can start with buses although, now that they have half the road dedicated to themselves, they are not as bad as they used to be. :rolleyes:

07-05-2017, 02:39 AM
People who own a 3 series BMW and have a private plate with some sort of reference to "M3" in it when the car clearly isn't an M3.

07-05-2017, 03:33 AM
People who own a 3 series BMW and have a private plate with some sort of reference to "M3" in it when the car clearly isn't an M3.

Ha ha I've noticed that as well. It gets worse though as they've started selling them and other cars with the "M" body kit. So it's basically a standard motor with the sporting credentials. It's singing checks it can't cash.

07-05-2017, 06:01 AM
Idiots that toot their horn numerous times at 6:30 on a Sunday morning.

Get out the car and knock on their door you lazy *******.

07-05-2017, 07:08 AM
Idiots that toot their horn numerous times at 6:30 on a Sunday morning.

Get out the car and knock on their door you lazy *******.

That annoys the **** out of me too. There are a few neighbours and their visitors that do it when coming to collect and also when driving off after a visit. Why do that? The person you've been visiting is standing waving so who's attention are you trying to grab? It's woken my 2 year old up a couple of times. Thoughtless and pointless.

07-05-2017, 07:49 AM
That annoys the **** out of me too. There are a few neighbours and their visitors that do it when coming to collect and also when driving off after a visit. Why do that? The person you've been visiting is standing waving so who's attention are you trying to grab? It's woken my 2 year old up a couple of times. Thoughtless and pointless.

My boy is a terrible sleeper and I could count on one hand how many times he's slept past 6am, today was one of those days until that ******** started tooting his horn trying to get one of my neighbours attention.

I'm going to assume he's a golfer, hope he had a ***** round and lost loads of balls.

07-05-2017, 09:12 AM
My boy is a terrible sleeper and I could count on one hand how many times he's slept past 6am, today was one of those days until that ******** started tooting his horn trying to get one of my neighbours attention.

I'm going to assume he's a golfer, hope he had a ***** round and lost loads of balls.

If it was before 7am it's illegal.

Far be it for me to suggest grassing someone and short of running on a football pitch 11 months ago it's unlikely you can do anything to get Police Scotlands attention but maybe one to take up with the local Noise Team if it's an ongoing issue?

09-05-2017, 11:04 AM
'Mummy' blogs.

More specifically, sexist ones that don't recognise that when men are away at work all day we're actually working, and in some cases working hard.

09-05-2017, 11:25 AM
'Mummy' blogs.

More specifically, sexist ones that don't recognise that when men are away at work all day we're actually working, and in some cases working hard.

This does my head in. We've also got our nurse that does the boys check up and if I manage to go to said check ups without fail she says in a patronising manner 'oh is daddy here today . does my head in, if I could I'd be at every one of these things i would be. I'm sure he would much prefer clothes on his back and food in his belly!!!

09-05-2017, 04:33 PM
This does my head in. We've also got our nurse that does the boys check up and if I manage to go to said check ups without fail she says in a patronising manner 'oh is daddy here today . does my head in, if I could I'd be at every one of these things i would be. I'm sure he would much prefer clothes on his back and food in his belly!!!

Yeah.

Tin hat on here but I think mums get a pretty good deal after the kid is born with 9 months to a year off and then part time work. Don't get me wrong, they deserve it after all they go through during pregnancy and it's only right in most cases they have the option to stay and bring up their children, to present that side of it as some sort of hardship is utter bollocks though. I'd love to give up work and do all the sort of things like you mentioned with my boy but needs must unfortunately.

"I can't have a hot cup of tea" ......eh, aye you can, the kid sleeps during the day, sometimes twice!

Wouldn't bother me if it wasn't for blogs like the one I mentioned that seem disgusted if 'daddy' dares to try and have a seat when he comes home from work.

09-05-2017, 04:51 PM
'Mummy' blogs.

And spending time on .net :greengrin

09-05-2017, 05:01 PM
And spending time on .net :greengrin

I did say 'some cases' working hard, I didn't say I was one of them 😉

ColinNish
09-05-2017, 07:43 PM
Yeah.

Tin hat on here but I think mums get a pretty good deal after the kid is born with 9 months to a year off and then part time work. Don't get me wrong, they deserve it after all they go through during pregnancy and it's only right in most cases they have the option to stay and bring up their children, to present that side of it as some sort of hardship is utter bollocks though. I'd love to give up work and do all the sort of things like you mentioned with my boy but needs must unfortunately.

"I can't have a hot cup of tea" ......eh, aye you can, the kid sleeps during the day, sometimes twice!

Wouldn't bother me if it wasn't for blogs like the one I mentioned that seem disgusted if 'daddy' dares to try and have a seat when he comes home from work.

😂😂😂😂😂😂😂. Coz that's all they do eh?

09-05-2017, 11:07 PM
Tinhat time.

Parents that give young kids iPhones and iPads all the latest mod cons then complain that they are skint as little Timmy burst his phone and it HAD to be replaced with a brand spanking new one, no need whatsoever. Kids nowadays have no respect and when they break it they just get another one.... really teaching them how to look after things eh. :rolleyes:

For the person that mentioned mummy blogs, don't go on mums net. Some complete roasters on there that think the world would stop if these individuals didn't exist. :D

beensaidbefore
10-05-2017, 01:43 PM
Tinhat time.

Parents that give young kids iPhones and iPads all the latest mod cons then complain that they are skint as little Timmy burst his phone and it HAD to be replaced with a brand spanking new one, no need whatsoever. Kids nowadays have no respect and when they break it they just get another one.... really teaching them how to look after things eh. :rolleyes:

For the person that mentioned mummy blogs, don't go on mums net. Some complete roasters on there that think the world would stop if these individuals didn't exist. :D

The bit that upsets me is it's a women's right to bear a child but as soon as it's born she can give it away. What about the right of a child to be born into a loving family who longs to care and look after the child. Sadly all too often kids are seen as a commodity in order to meet some unmet needs.

10-05-2017, 09:19 PM
People who say you are shouting IF YOU TYPE in CAPITAL LETTERS.

Wtf and why does it matter ?

11-05-2017, 09:49 PM
People who say you are shouting IF YOU TYPE in CAPITAL LETTERS.

Wtf and why does it matter ?

Should be "WTF" - imo.

12-05-2017, 08:18 AM
Should be "WTF" - imo.

Case proven , m'lud. :wink:

12-05-2017, 12:24 PM
The bit that upsets me is it's a women's right to bear a child but as soon as it's born she can give it away. What about the right of a child to be born into a loving family who longs to care and look after the child. Sadly all too often kids are seen as a commodity in order to meet some unmet needs. So you pet peeve is adoption :confused:

12-05-2017, 12:33 PM
The bit that upsets me is it's a women's right to bear a child but as soon as it's born she can give it away. What about the right of a child to be born into a loving family who longs to care and look after the child. Sadly all too often kids are seen as a commodity in order to meet some unmet needs.

I don't see where "unmet needs" come into this. There are many valid reasons why a woman can't or won't abort a child but giving the baby up for adoption is or seems the best thing to do.

beensaidbefore
12-05-2017, 04:55 PM
So you pet peeve is adoption :confused:

Not at all. It's one of the greatest things a person can do imo. I mean women choosing to have a child for reasons other than being ready to take on the responsibilities of aren't hood. What I mean by that is, to keep a man, to get a house, because nobody else loves them etc.

beensaidbefore
12-05-2017, 04:58 PM
I don't see where "unmet needs" come into this. There are many valid reasons why a woman can't or won't abort a child but giving the baby up for adoption is or seems the best thing to do.

I understand and not really meaning that, sorry. As above, where a women actively chooses to fall pregnant with some kind of motivation which is not purely motherhood.

ColinNish
13-05-2017, 07:54 AM
Folk that don't know the difference between 'lose' and 'loose'

13-05-2017, 10:22 AM
Stores (Homebase) that have their trolleys locked up with coin locks that don't accept the new £1 coins.

14-05-2017, 08:46 AM
Going to open a tin of corned beef, only to realise you've picked up a can that doesn't have the little metal key attached to the side. :brickwall

14-05-2017, 09:10 AM
Ahoy all dog owners! Pick up your dog's crap.
Leaving it's do-do at my gate is a don't-don't. :grr: :timebomb:

15-05-2017, 12:53 PM
Ahoy all dog owners! Pick up your dog's crap.
Leaving it's do-do at my gate is a don't-don't. :grr: :timebomb:

You'll be even more peeved when they pick it up, put it in a plastic bag and tie it to your fence or a plant in your garden.

15-05-2017, 04:48 PM
The phrase "haters" - my son mentioned it the other day and it appeared to include everyone and anyone who had been in any way critical of a player (Cummings). I had to explain to him that having objective or constructive criticism of something or someone doesn't mean that you hate them. It's a reflection of the polarised society that we have now, though.

15-05-2017, 08:07 PM
The phrase "haters" - my son mentioned it the other day and it appeared to include everyone and anyone who had been in any way critical of a player (Cummings). I had to explain to him that having objective or constructive criticism of something or someone doesn't mean that you hate them. It's a reflection of the polarised society that we have now, though.

Its just more Americanised pish along the same lines as "my bad".

15-05-2017, 08:26 PM
Its just more Americanised pish along the same lines as "my bad".

"Bants" does my head in

16-05-2017, 08:53 AM
"Bants" does my head in

:agree: Bants is pants.
Right up there with "nae probs" (a phrase I have unfortunately used myself in a moment of slackness :embarrass )

ColinNish
16-05-2017, 12:22 PM
:agree: Bants is pants.
Right up there with "nae probs" (a phrase I have unfortunately used myself in a moment of slackness :embarrass )

"nae probs" has been around for years and years though - don't beat yourself up too much about it. :)

16-05-2017, 01:57 PM
People who finish what they say with a laugh like it's now your cue to laugh.

18-05-2017, 08:29 AM
Someone sniffling. Just blow your nose ffs

18-05-2017, 11:57 AM
Calling a company and being connected to their automated service to direct your call more efficiently.
You type in the account number , 6 digit DOB and select your required department only to have to repeat that information to the human when you eventually get through.

Another one , calling a company and having to listen to the pre recorded message asking if you would rather use their website and proceed to give you the web address as slowly as possible .
I'm phoning to speak to someone ffs. Fo they think I've never heard of the Internet ?

18-05-2017, 12:37 PM
Shouty social media videos mainly consisting of some tube in his car wearing sunglasses and ranting about one thing or another.

18-05-2017, 08:55 PM
Attention seeking twats on Facebook that just post something like Feeling Annoyed.... purely to get the whats up hun?, you ok babe reactions? Bollocks!!

18-05-2017, 08:57 PM
The saying that is "lush". More american pish creeping into our phrasebooks.:rolleyes:

18-05-2017, 09:04 PM
Attention seeking twats on Facebook that just post something like Feeling Annoyed.... purely to get the whats up hun?, you ok babe reactions? Bollocks!!

You missed "Don't want to say here, PM you"

18-05-2017, 10:04 PM
Birds crapping on my car.

I'm sure they're holding it in until I wash it.

speedy_gonzales
18-05-2017, 10:06 PM

I do hope you're taking about the avian type!

speedy_gonzales
18-05-2017, 10:07 PM
The saying that is "lush". More american pish creeping into our phrasebooks.:rolleyes:

Always thought "lush" was Welsh,,,,

EH6 Hibby
18-05-2017, 10:22 PM
Temporary traffic lights when there is absolutely nothing happening. There's a set on Easter Road that at least doubled the time it took me to get to and from work today. They went up yesterday, and when I eventually passed them on my way home today, all there is, is a square of traffic cones where I assume they are going to start work at some point. Over 24 hours of inconvenience for no reason whatsoever.

19-05-2017, 08:50 AM
Temporary traffic lights when there is absolutely nothing happening. There's a set on Easter Road that at least doubled the time it took me to get to and from work today. They went up yesterday, and when I eventually passed them on my way home today, all there is, is a square of traffic cones where I assume they are going to start work at some point. Over 24 hours of inconvenience for no reason whatsoever.
This has been peeved on here before and it is a big issue with me. Work should commence and continue day by day until it is completed. None of this peeing off to another job. If that has to happen then temp fill what's been done and remove the traffic lights - simples. Another peeve is when temporary signs are left by the roadside long after the work has been completed. Contractors complain that motorists don't abide by their signs. Well boys that's part of the reason why. You leave them up when your work is long done. Get your act together.

19-05-2017, 09:04 AM
This has been peeved on here before and it is a big issue with me. Work should commence and continue day by day until it is completed. None of this peeing off to another job. If that has to happen then temp fill what's been done and remove the traffic lights - simples. Another peeve is when temporary signs are left by the roadside long after the work has been completed. Contractors complain that motorists don't abide by their signs. Well boys that's part of the reason why. You leave them up when your work is long done. Get your act together.Report them and it's possible that the company can be fined.

19-05-2017, 10:19 AM

I'd like to know what the gulls up my way are eating. They are ****ting up and down the street and it's like kids have been having a mud fight.

19-05-2017, 01:29 PM

Doesnt help that every side street just about to get to Leith walk is also blocked, then, if you do get onto leith walk form one of the streets open, the rest of leith walk is a building zone as well!

19-05-2017, 02:19 PM

Been caught in this a few times this week, absolute nightmare and as you say there's literally no activity whatsoever. I saw 2 workies there the other day sitting on the kerbside on their phones doing eff all while there was about a mile of traffic going back towards Seafield.

19-05-2017, 02:50 PM
The worst roadworks at the moment are at Duddingston crossroads. There's a random hole dug right at the lights and it's down to one lane. I've yet to see any work being done on it and the traffic in the morning is backed all the way back along Milton Road to Milton Link when it's at it's worst.

Of course it could be partially resolved if they actually bothered to put a merge in ahead sign or something advising it is down to one lane more than 20 yards away from the actual roadworks. Coming round the corner from where Duddingston Row is the lights are still hidden from view so you don't actually realise there is a merge in before them (as it's usually 2 lanes) until it's on top of you. As soon as it gets busy this leads to an inevitable build up of traffic. and delays.

19-05-2017, 03:00 PM
The worst roadworks at the moment are at Duddingston crossroads. There's a random hole dug right at the lights and it's down to one lane. I've yet to see any work being done on it and the traffic in the morning is backed all the way back along Milton Road to Milton Link when it's at it's worst.

Of course it could be partially resolved if they actually bothered to put a merge in ahead sign or something advising it is down to one lane more than 20 yards away from the actual roadworks. Coming round the corner from where Duddingston Row is the lights are still hidden from view so you don't actually realise there is a merge in before them (as it's usually 2 lanes) until it's on top of you. As soon as it gets busy this leads to an inevitable build up of traffic. and delays.

The junction at holyrood road being shut off is arguably a bigger pain in the tits than that one or the Easter Road one, Especially since they've closed possible other diversion routes as well.

While this work is going on they should open the park imo.

19-05-2017, 06:04 PM
Folk who ask you a question and if they don't like the answer they ask someone else instead. Does my head in.

EH6 Hibby
19-05-2017, 07:17 PM
The junction at holyrood road being shut off is arguably a bigger pain in the tits than that one or the Easter Road one, Especially since they've closed possible other diversion routes as well.

While this work is going on they should open the park imo.

The ones on Easter Road are not the worst in comparison, it's more the fact that they were there for almost 2 days when there was no work being done. Surely they could wait until the work starts before they put the temporary lights on.

What made it worse was that the lights at Albion Road were working as normal so when the temp lights did change, if the other lights were at red, only about 4 cars got through.

Coming home yesterday, the traffic was backed up to Holyrood.

ColinNish
19-05-2017, 07:23 PM
Folk walking towards you on a narrow pavement where its only wide enough for 2 folk, yet they expect you to walk into the road so they can still walk side by side to continue their conversation? GTF! 😠

19-05-2017, 08:09 PM
Folk walking towards you on a narrow pavement where its only wide enough for 2 folk, yet they expect you to walk into the road so they can still walk side by side to continue their conversation? GTF! 😠

Think I mentioned it at the start of this thread. Happened to me today in London, three guys marching down the pavement three abreast with the one on the right taking a sharpish 180 degree turn when we collided at ramming speed.

19-05-2017, 08:24 PM
The ones on Easter Road are not the worst in comparison, it's more the fact that they were there for almost 2 days when there was no work being done. Surely they could wait until the work starts before they put the temporary lights on.

What made it worse was that the lights at Albion Road were working as normal so when the temp lights did change, if the other lights were at red, only about 4 cars got through.

Coming home yesterday, the traffic was backed up to Holyrood.

Im finding leith walk is quicker, especially if queen street is busy (assuming your coming feom that direction) i cut of left down dundas then right along northumberland just head for annandale street and onto leith walk. Lights and traffic seem to flow a bit better, at least around 5:30 it does

19-05-2017, 10:00 PM
Leith is an absolute nightmare just now. Today there was 4 way temporary at Bernard st, up the road there was more temporary lights on constitution st, Leith Walk is a shambles and Easter Road has got temporary lights as well. The rest of the town isn't much better with Calton Road and St Mary's St being closed. I can't ever remember a time when things were such a mess.

19-05-2017, 11:01 PM
Folk that drive about with one or both headlights out then the have to use full beam and blind everyone......

They should have to do this like in china.China full-beam drivers punished by dazzling - BBC News (https://www.google.co.uk/url?sa=t&rct=j&q=&esrc=s&source=web&cd=1&cad=rja&uact=8&ved=0ahUKEwj4u5Drh_3TAhWCIMAKHSoKB98QFggjMAA&url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.bbc.co.uk%2Fnews%2Fblogs-news-from-elsewhere-37847056&usg=AFQjCNFkEs-XelgU3RO0Fe85Xf***mf4qw&sig2=T8u4DDnhI-hp78FXIqBsyA)

20-05-2017, 12:57 AM
Folk that drive about with one or both headlights out then the have to use full beam and blind everyone......

They should have to do this like in china.China full-beam drivers punished by dazzling - BBC News (https://www.google.co.uk/url?sa=t&rct=j&q=&esrc=s&source=web&cd=1&cad=rja&uact=8&ved=0ahUKEwj4u5Drh_3TAhWCIMAKHSoKB98QFggjMAA&url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.bbc.co.uk%2Fnews%2Fblogs-news-from-elsewhere-37847056&usg=AFQjCNFkEs-XelgU3RO0Fe85Xf***mf4qw&sig2=T8u4DDnhI-hp78FXIqBsyA)

Just makes you wonder what happens to you in China if you get caught peeing in the street. :hmmm:

20-05-2017, 07:53 AM

This drives me insane, there's very few times when driving in a city that you need your full beams on yet just about every 2nd driver uses them constantly!

20-05-2017, 08:02 AM
This drives me insane, there's very few times when driving in a city that you need your full beams on yet just about every 2nd driver uses them constantly!

Could give a new meaning to the phrase 'a Beamer driver'. :wink:

rodhibs55
24-05-2017, 11:47 AM

The work part is to do with the number of people available. Always need 5 workers. 1 to do the work and the other 4 to stand and watch. Custom and practice I think.

24-05-2017, 04:30 PM

It's more annoying when they've got dipped headlights but go over a speed bump. Don't know how many times I've been dazzled like that.

SuperAllyMcleod
24-05-2017, 07:14 PM
The work part is to do with the number of people available. Always need 5 workers. 1 to do the work and the other 4 to stand and watch. Custom and practice I think.

Reminds me of the time I was walking through the Meadows and two council workers were working. One of them was digging holes and the other one then filled them in.

Curious, I asked what they were doing. They said that there's normally three of them but the guy who plants the trees was off sick.

24-05-2017, 07:57 PM
Man Utd bum sookers....:rolleyes:

26-05-2017, 09:28 PM
A fly, wasp or bee buzzing in the room drives me bananas.
Thank God for 'Raid'

27-05-2017, 10:29 AM
Folk that litter when out walking or running. I was out early doors today in the Pentlands and as I was walking had to pick up 3 water bottles and 2 discarded gel packs.

If you can carry it full you can carry it empty. Sheer laziness and a total disregard for others who use the hills.

27-05-2017, 10:57 AM
Not getting a good night's sleep.

27-05-2017, 11:01 AM
When you're on standby duty and the phone rings.

27-05-2017, 11:10 AM
Shop assistants with little or no product knowledge of what they stock. Particularly frustrating in B&Q when the assistant hasn't got a clue about a basic item you can't find.

27-05-2017, 12:42 PM

I'm not sure this is true. Can't say I ever see drivers in town with the full beams on, or any driver anywhere really keeping them on for regular driving.

Are you sure it's not just modern lights you are confusing for high beams? Many are self adjusting and are certainly getting brighter.

Fog lights on the other hand...

EH6 Hibby
27-05-2017, 02:18 PM
Shop assistants with little or no product knowledge of what they stock. Particularly frustrating in B&Q when the assistant hasn't got a clue about a basic item you can't find.

Currys are a nightmare. Called their customer service line to query whether a keyboard case I was about to buy for my iPad was going to fit because it was for iPad Air and I have the Pro 9.7. I was told that it would fit no problem. I reserved it at Craigleith so that I knew they had it, then drove along to collect it. Was just pulling up outside when my phone rang, it was Currys telling me that it wasn't in stock. Needless to say I wasn't impressed, but went in to see what they did have in stock. After talking to the assistant, it turns out that the case I'd ordered wouldn't have fit anyway.

Ended up buying the Apple Smart Keyboard which was double the price because I needed it right away.

27-05-2017, 02:21 PM
Receptionist in hotels or car hire firms who start asking where you are going , busy day, long drive etc when you are tying to fill out their forms.

27-05-2017, 02:32 PM
I'm not sure this is true. Can't say I ever see drivers in town with the full beams on, or any driver anywhere really keeping them on for regular driving.

Are you sure it's not just modern lights you are confusing for high beams? Many are self adjusting and are certainly getting brighter.

Fog lights on the other hand...
I drive at night time as well and I've never noticed it either. Sometimes when my windscreen needs a clean it makes lights appear much brighter. As you say some of these new LED lights do seem a bit bright.

EH6 Hibby
27-05-2017, 02:51 PM
I drive at night time as well and I've never noticed it either. Sometimes when my windscreen needs a clean it makes lights appear much brighter. As you say some of these new LED lights do seem a bit bright.

You're higher up than the average driver so the lights are not in your line of sight. I'm constantly getting dazzled but I think it's the lights on cars are brighter rather than them being on full beam.

SuperAllyMcleod
27-05-2017, 03:08 PM
You're higher up than the average driver so the lights are not in your line of sight. I'm constantly getting dazzled but I think it's the lights on cars are brighter rather than them being on full beam.

Thirty years ago I remember my dad complaining that everyone was driving around with their full beam on when it was obvious to me that they weren't.

Now I think the same thing - maybe it's an age thing [emoji3]

27-05-2017, 03:13 PM
Folk driving around in the dark using only what used to be called 'parking lights" :-)

Sent from my SM-G925F using Tapatalk

27-05-2017, 03:58 PM
Currys are a nightmare. Called their customer service line to query whether a keyboard case I was about to buy for my iPad was going to fit because it was for iPad Air and I have the Pro 9.7. I was told that it would fit no problem. I reserved it at Craigleith so that I knew they had it, then drove along to collect it. Was just pulling up outside when my phone rang, it was Currys telling me that it wasn't in stock. Needless to say I wasn't impressed, but went in to see what they did have in stock. After talking to the assistant, it turns out that the case I'd ordered wouldn't have fit anyway.

Ended up buying the Apple Smart Keyboard which was double the price because I needed it right away.

:agree: curries are a pain in the arse.

i went in and paid for a tablet/laptop a while back, at about 12:30 on a Saturday, to then be told 'the display one is the last one, we need our 'Know How' guys to remove the demo mode. It'll be done within an hour, we'll call you when it's done.'

No phone call by 3pm, so I phoned them, to be told it's not done yet, but will be by close of business, we'll phone you. Close of business, no phone call. Following day I gave them even more time, went in at about 1pm, went to the till and asked to collect it. Know How staff are called over, lots of blank looks at each other, before taking me over to their area where lo and behold, my tablet is sitting on a far desk with used wrappers, discarded packaging and boxes lying on top of it. They weren't pleased when I told them I wanted a refund as I wasn't prepared to wait any longer and given how it had been handled I wasn't confident it was still in the condition I'd inspected it.

the follow up is, I went to a different branch to buy it (again), only to have the plukey 14 year old school kid of a staff member try to upsell me as the one I wanted 'only has about 3 gig left on it after windows has been installed' (from an initial 32GB) - I point out that there's no chance that either Lenovo or Microsoft would sell a product that allows use of less than 10% of the advertised capacity, followed by me googling reviews on my phone that have lots of people singing the praises of the memory capacity. Cue said shop assistant disappearing sharpish.

27-05-2017, 05:14 PM
:agree: curries are a pain in the arse.

i went in and paid for a tablet/laptop a while back, at about 12:30 on a Saturday, to then be told 'the display one is the last one, we need our 'Know How' guys to remove the demo mode. It'll be done within an hour, we'll call you when it's done.'

No phone call by 3pm, so I phoned them, to be told it's not done yet, but will be by close of business, we'll phone you. Close of business, no phone call. Following day I gave them even more time, went in at about 1pm, went to the till and asked to collect it. Know How staff are called over, lots of blank looks at each other, before taking me over to their area where lo and behold, my tablet is sitting on a far desk with used wrappers, discarded packaging and boxes lying on top of it. They weren't pleased when I told them I wanted a refund as I wasn't prepared to wait any longer and given how it had been handled I wasn't confident it was still in the condition I'd inspected it.

the follow up is, I went to a different branch to buy it (again), only to have the plukey 14 year old school kid of a staff member try to upsell me as the one I wanted 'only has about 3 gig left on it after windows has been installed' (from an initial 32GB) - I point out that there's no chance that either Lenovo or Microsoft would sell a product that allows use of less than 10% of the advertised capacity, followed by me googling reviews on my phone that have lots of people singing the praises of the memory capacity. Cue said shop assistant disappearing sharpish.
I asked an assistant if I could borrow a measuring tape t measure a fridge. He said there was none in the shop.
Thanks for the help, bud.

27-05-2017, 09:22 PM
Folk that litter when out walking or running. I was out early doors today in the Pentlands and as I was walking had to pick up 3 water bottles and 2 discarded gel packs.

If you can carry it full you can carry it empty. Sheer laziness and a total disregard for others who use the hills.

Scottish ski areas are badly affected by that. I think some people assume that because they've paid for a lift pass there will be a team of cleaners doing a sweep of the mountain as they head back to the car park. Unbelievably ignorant.

28-05-2017, 12:24 AM
I asked an assistant if I could borrow a measuring tape t measure a fridge. He said there was none in the shop.
Thanks for the help, bud.

People from Yorkshire posting on Hibs Net.

Alfiembra
28-05-2017, 06:25 AM
People that are up way to early on a Sunday morning and flood the forum with their rants and piffle.

(6 posts already this morning and it's not even half seven)

28-05-2017, 08:51 AM
Folk who call the year 2017 for example , "two thousand and seventeen". No its "twenty seventeen". I know it all obviously started at 2000 and twenty zero zero doesnt sound right but its just wrong. I mean "ram your one thousand nine hundred and two" is nonsense isnt it !!

28-05-2017, 09:13 AM
Restaurant staff that wait until you've deliberated over the menu, and are ready to give your order before telling you that a certain dish or even more than one are not available.

28-05-2017, 09:46 AM
Coasters that stick to your cup and fall in your weetabix.

28-05-2017, 10:40 AM
Scottish ski areas are badly affected by that. I think some people assume that because they've paid for a lift pass there will be a team of cleaners doing a sweep of the mountain as they head back to the car park. Unbelievably ignorant.
To quote a bar owner I once knew, "People are pigs"

28-05-2017, 02:20 PM
People from Yorkshire posting on Hibs Net.

Underappreciated jokes.

28-05-2017, 04:12 PM
People who smash your car window and don't even try and steal anything, at least have a wee raid ya ****my prick

28-05-2017, 09:09 PM
Underappreciated jokes.

29-05-2017, 02:01 AM
What is with folk doing their weekly shop or strolling around shop ps in gym gear?? It's not cool.

ColinNish
29-05-2017, 06:52 AM
What is with folk doing their weekly shop or strolling around shop ps in gym gear?? It's not cool.

Possibly been at EMF? There was a fair few at meadowbank shops on Saturday.

29-05-2017, 07:08 AM
Seems like they're about to close Meadowbank Terrace for two months. That's the little road from the east end of the Queens Park into London Road. I expect there won't be adequate warning, and traffic coming from the town through the park will end up running through Meadowbank Crescent, which is not designed for significant traffic. It's going to be messy.

29-05-2017, 09:22 AM
The Evening News and The Scotsman posting tweets about the same stories multiple times during the space of a number of days, cluttering up my timeline. Despite wanting to keep up to date with local news I've unfollowed these two newspapers.

29-05-2017, 09:26 AM
And another thing. Why does Edinburgh persist with having bank holidays out of line with the rest of the UK?
On a day when probably 95% of the UK is on holiday, Edinburgh schools are in and (some) businesses are operating.
This must mess up parents' child care arrangements.

29-05-2017, 09:32 AM
And another thing. Why does Edinburgh persist with having bank holidays out of line with the rest of the UK?
On a day when probably 95% of the UK is on holiday, Edinburgh schools are in and (some) businesses are operating.

It shouldn't do, I'm a childminder and I'm working today as the schools are open. Nurseries don't tend to close for bank holidays either

29-05-2017, 09:35 AM
It shouldn't do, I'm a childminder and I'm working today as the schools are open. Nurseries don't tend to close for bank holidays either
Childminders are an important part of our support for parents, so well done you performing this vital service.
I was thinking more about the consequent inconsistency where parents are working but schools are closed, and off work when they are open.

29-05-2017, 09:36 AM

Once upon a time the different Scottish and English bank holidays were respected by nearly everyone. For example, Good Friday was the holiday in Scotland and Easter Monday in England. Then some (mainly insurance) companies aligned themselves with the English holidays. This snowballed until we arrived at a situation when nobody knows who's working on any given Monday - especially in May.

29-05-2017, 10:11 AM
Childminders are an important part of our support for parents, so well done you performing this vital service.
I was thinking more about the consequent inconsistency where parents are working but schools are closed, and off work when they are open.

True but tbf you go get plenty notice of term dates so plenty time to organise

29-05-2017, 10:46 AM
In Sweden we have bank holidays (röd dag) middle of the week does my head in, like last week working night Thursday was a bank holiday. So finish 6 on Wednesday morning then should have been off Wednesday evening going onto Thursday morning and back on Thursday night. They used to move them but people started wanting overtime for working them, even though they had already had the day off!!

29-05-2017, 11:01 AM
In Sweden we have bank holidays (röd dag) middle of the week does my head in, like last week working night Thursday was a bank holiday. So finish 6 on Wednesday morning then should have been off Wednesday evening going onto Thursday morning and back on Thursday night. They used to move them but people started wanting overtime for working them, even though they had already had the day off!!

Same in Switzerland. You get the day off on the actual date, not the nearest Friday or Monday. And if the date falls on a weekend you're stuffed

ColinNish
29-05-2017, 01:13 PM
Once upon a time the different Scottish and English bank holidays were respected by nearly everyone. For example, Good Friday was the holiday in Scotland and Easter Monday in England. Then some (mainly insurance) companies aligned themselves with the English holidays. This snowballed until we arrived at a situation when nobody knows who's working on any given Monday - especially in May.

There is no such thing as Scottish and English bank holidays.

29-05-2017, 01:21 PM

That'll be why the Government produce 2 separate lists then?

https://www.gov.uk/bank-holidays

https://www.gov.uk/bank-holidays#scotland

ColinNish
29-05-2017, 04:21 PM
That'll be why the Government produce 2 separate lists then?

https://www.gov.uk/bank-holidays

https://www.gov.uk/bank-holidays#scotland

Correct

You show me a bank that's closed on St Andrews day.

29-05-2017, 04:49 PM

It's a pain in the arse. I had to take last Monday off work and work today. It will be really quiet tonight, when last Monday would've just been like a normal night. Why don't they just have the same holidays for the whole country.

29-05-2017, 04:52 PM

Public holidays then.

ColinNish
29-05-2017, 06:55 PM
Public holidays then.

👏👏👏

29-05-2017, 08:38 PM
Pernickety people.

29-05-2017, 09:17 PM

Or give them the chance to have a cheap and short family getaway.

29-05-2017, 09:18 PM

As long as it's not via British Airways.

01-06-2017, 08:45 AM
Paying for your parking using the RingGo app on the wrong Street or the wrong car. Argghh parking history and multiple registration numbers registered on app

01-06-2017, 11:10 AM
Possibly been at EMF?

Unbelievable!

01-06-2017, 02:25 PM

We've booked up for a week in Terminal 5 this year. :partyhibb

wpj
02-06-2017, 02:33 PM
Shoving the word "artisan" in front of some food or drink and jumping the price up!
Twats who say they will only eat "artisan" stuff

02-06-2017, 09:04 PM

I can highly recommend the all inclusive package. You get to replace the clothes you lost directly from the airport shops.

02-06-2017, 09:29 PM
You can buy your luggage back at auction

03-06-2017, 05:03 AM
Shoving the word "artisan" in front of some food or drink and jumping the price up!
Twats who say they will only eat "artisan" stuff

Ditto dickheads who "become" vegan in their mid twenties and then, in an over-affected manner, say "oh no, I can't have that, I'm vegan​. Do you have any Tofu?" whilst out at the pub.

03-06-2017, 06:08 AM
Ditto dickheads who "become" vegan in their mid twenties and then, in an over-affected manner, say "oh no, I can't have that, I'm vegan​. Do you have any Tofu?" whilst out at the pub.

Its not all vegans/vegetarians, but those who proceed to lecture non vegetarians about why they shouldn't eat meat, usually combined with a condescending and patronising tone, yet take great offence when anyone responds in kind.

03-06-2017, 04:59 PM
"Walk with me"

04-06-2017, 12:43 AM
******' terrorists.

ColinNish
04-06-2017, 06:05 AM
Shop assistants who find it hard to concentrate on serving you whilst chatting to their mate who's in the queue behind you, then wonder why you're peed off when they muck up your transaction.

05-06-2017, 12:18 PM
Folk who moan (the irony isn't lost on me here).

I work in a place which is mainly middle aged wimmin (and a couple of guys who are just as bad), and holy effin Christ on a bike, every day is moan, moan, moan, moan, moan. Every day! I've fallen out with a few of them as I just cannot abide it and I've thought falling out with them would give me some peace but nah, moan, moan, moan, travel time, weather, lunch, men, tea, biscuits, shoes, water temperature, TV, workload, cinema, , feeling ill, back to commuting, then weather again, then noise in the office (of which they make the most), back to workload then rinse and repeat at least 7 or 8 times a day.

Thanks, feel a lot better getting that off my chest :greengrin

05-06-2017, 02:38 PM
Folk who moan (the irony isn't lost on me here).

I work in a place which is mainly middle aged wimmin (and a couple of guys who are just as bad), and holy effin Christ on a bike, every day is moan, moan, moan, moan, moan. Every day! I've fallen out with a few of them as I just cannot abide it and I've thought falling out with them would give me some peace but nah, moan, moan, moan, travel time, weather, lunch, men, tea, biscuits, shoes, water temperature, TV, workload, cinema, , feeling ill, back to commuting, then weather again, then noise in the office (of which they make the most), back to workload then rinse and repeat at least 7 or 8 times a day.

Thanks, feel a lot better getting that off my chest :greengrin

Do you work for Michelle perchance? :wink:

pollution
06-06-2017, 11:04 AM
Leaking roofs! All my life, leaking b%%%%y roofs!!

06-06-2017, 01:00 PM
Leaking roofs! All my life, leaking b%%%%y roofs!!

You probably shouldn't have become a roofer.

06-06-2017, 01:43 PM
You probably shouldn't have become a roofer.

Never mind, at least he can have a night on the tiles.

06-06-2017, 07:25 PM
Never mind, at least he can have a night on the tiles.

And start fresh the next morning with a clean slate.

07-06-2017, 12:05 AM
And start fresh the next morning with a clean slate.
What if gets he gets guttered?

07-06-2017, 12:26 AM
Pun threads

07-06-2017, 01:38 AM
Folk you work with that just don't do their job properly through sheer laziness. Wage thieves.

07-06-2017, 09:28 AM
Folk you work with that just don't do their job properly through sheer laziness. Wage thieves.

On the other hand, workaholics who think everybody else should work at 110% just like them.
I agree about the wage thieves but, the non-payment of overtime is thieving as well.

07-06-2017, 02:20 PM
On the other hand, workaholics who think everybody else should work at 110% just like them.
I agree about the wage thieves but, the non-payment of overtime is thieving as well.

Or folk that work but only when a boss is about then always say we when someone else has done the work!!!

07-06-2017, 05:10 PM
Middle managers that think they are David Brent, GTF!

07-06-2017, 05:38 PM
People that come to your door asking you to donate to charity, especially when it's dinner time or when I'm putting the boy to bed.

IMO although it's for a good cause they're knocking on the door of people they don't know anything about, they could be struggling with debt, already pay out fortunes to charity or vulnerable people that just want to be nice. Shouldn't be made to feel bad in your own home when someone uninvited turns up asking for money.

Shouldn't be allowed imo.

07-06-2017, 05:41 PM
The amount of crap that gets posted through my door at least 3 times a week. Menus, flyers, charity bags, etc.

07-06-2017, 06:14 PM
****ing election propaganda through my door!!!

07-06-2017, 06:43 PM
James Corden.

A few years ago he was a fat nobody and I hadn't really taken any notice of him since then. I thought he was working in Tesco or something.

Now he's on every billboard, doing big TV shows in America and is worth tens of millions.

WTF?

07-06-2017, 09:18 PM
James Corden.

A few years ago he was a fat nobody and I hadn't really taken any notice of him since then. I thought he was working in Tesco or something.

Now he's on every billboard, doing big TV shows in America and is worth tens of millions.

WTF?

The Scottish characteristic of not being able to enjoy someone being successful.

08-06-2017, 12:46 AM
The Scottish characteristic of not being able to enjoy someone being successful.

Par example - "Oh him? I kent his faither" (said with a sneer).

08-06-2017, 12:48 AM
People that come to your door asking you to donate to charity, especially when it's dinner time or when I'm putting the boy to bed.

IMO although it's for a good cause they're knocking on the door of people they don't know anything about, they could be struggling with debt, already pay out fortunes to charity or vulnerable people that just want to be nice. Shouldn't be made to feel bad in your own home when someone uninvited turns up asking for money.

Shouldn't be allowed imo.

Like the TV Licence man? :offski:

08-06-2017, 07:21 AM
These European types looking down their noses at us Brits and our loveable quirkiness. ;-)

08-06-2017, 08:22 AM
James Corden.

WTF?

I don't think it's anything to do with being Scottish. I think there must be English people who don't get James Corden. Michael McIntyre is another one. Related to some of the funniest guys in show business and delivers a punchline like a four year old.

08-06-2017, 10:05 AM

I'm by no means a 110 percenter but I do my job correctly when I'm at work regardless. I agree re the overtime bit but luckily in my industry overtime is paid pretty much without question.

08-06-2017, 10:08 AM
I don't think it's anything to do with being Scottish. I think there must be English people who don't get James Corden. Michael McIntyre is another one. Related to some of the funniest guys in show business and delivers a punchline like a four year old.

:agree:. Horrendous comedian, as is Corden. Less said about that Ricky Gervais the better. Mrs HC is away to see him tonight in Glasgow. Complete waste of money imo.

08-06-2017, 10:13 AM
Middle managers that think they are David Brent, GTF!

These doughnuts are the first to get punted out the door when theres cutbacks or thrown to the lions back on the shop floor to work with people they used to manage, the latter can be very interesting indeed. :greengrin

08-06-2017, 10:57 AM

I don't like McIntyre, Gervais, the Pub Landlord guy and quite a few others.
They have a different sense of humour to me.
Ergo, they're crap. :coffee:

08-06-2017, 11:09 AM
I don't like McIntyre, Gervais, the Pub Landlord guy and quite a few others.
They have a different sense of humour to me.
Ergo, they're crap. :coffee:

Add Russell Howard and I'll agree with you, apart from the Pub Landlord guy. I don't like that character but Al Murray is quite funny.

08-06-2017, 11:44 AM
:agree:. Horrendous comedian, as is Corden. Less said about that Ricky Gervais the better. Mrs HC is away to see him tonight in Glasgow. Complete waste of money imo.

I can't watch Macintyre either - nothing funny about speaking in a posh voice and doing a stupid laugh.. well, it's not funny enough for professional comedy anyway!!

... I'm going to see Gervais tonight though :greengrin I didn't originally like him as a stand-up, despite loving the Office. Now I find his stand-up generally pretty funny and like most shows, will find it even funnier being there. I can understand why he's not everyone's cup of tea mind you.

ColinNish
08-06-2017, 12:24 PM

Who is he related to?

08-06-2017, 12:35 PM
Who is he related to?

His father was comedy writer Ray Cameron.

ColinNish
08-06-2017, 12:44 PM
His father was comedy writer Ray Cameron.

08-06-2017, 01:05 PM
I can't watch Macintyre either - nothing funny about speaking in a posh voice and doing a stupid laugh.. well, it's not funny enough for professional comedy anyway!!

... I'm going to see Gervais tonight though :greengrin I didn't originally like him as a stand-up, despite loving the Office. Now I find his stand-up generally pretty funny and like most shows, will find it even funnier being there. I can understand why he's not everyone's cup of tea mind you.

I love Gervais, The Office is one of the best things ever written, IMHO.

Back on topic:

People who don't get The Office. :greengrin

08-06-2017, 01:28 PM

I can't say I agree that this applies to Scottish people more than others. It's a characteristic of bawbags of every nationality.

08-06-2017, 02:31 PM
Traditionalists who tell you how things "have to be done" and won't accept that times change and some people like to do things differently, it doesn't mean it's wrong.

08-06-2017, 02:48 PM

Back on topic:

The Office is genius. Extras is pretty good as well.

08-06-2017, 03:07 PM
People who act the hard man online. You're never going to meet up so what's the point?

08-06-2017, 03:08 PM
I can't say I agree that this applies to Scottish people more than others. It's a characteristic of bawbags of every nationality.

So are you kind of suggesting I might be a bawbag? Try saying that to my face pal.

Seat number please.

08-06-2017, 03:37 PM
I like Corden and Macintyre.

08-06-2017, 03:38 PM
People who act the hard man online. You're never going to meet up so what's the point?

You looking at ma bird?

08-06-2017, 05:21 PM

Back on topic:

Yep - genius comedy writing. Best thing since the old classics of "Fawlty Towers" and "Porridge" for me :greengrin

People who don't get it, haven't watched it enough. :aok:

As another poster mentioned too, Extras is decent as well. Only got properly into it more recently but another example of how Gervais can make you laugh and pull at your emotions all in one episode (the Christma specials of both are proper emotional stuff!!!)

08-06-2017, 05:27 PM

Mrs HC is in for a shock - Ricky Gervais is at the Edinburgh Playhouse tonight and tomorrow!

08-06-2017, 05:51 PM
Mrs HC is in for a shock - Ricky Gervais is at the Edinburgh Playhouse tonight and tomorrow!
Yeah she just told me, I thought it was Glasgow. Oops. :greengrin

08-06-2017, 06:29 PM
Yeah she just told me, I thought it was Glasgow. Oops. :greengrin

Phew! I thought this was perhaps another post for the Spouse's Behaviour thread...😉

08-06-2017, 06:35 PM
You looking at ma bird?

'mon then.

Row Z seat, erm, 2.

08-06-2017, 06:56 PM
My sudden adverse reaction to cheese.
Started a few weeks ago, no other issues with anything dairy related or anything else. The one bonus is I've discovered how good a pizza without cheese actually is.

08-06-2017, 07:24 PM
'mon then.

Row Z seat, erm, 2.
**** that. Row z is a dangerous place when the Jambo's come to town.

08-06-2017, 09:14 PM
**** that. Row z is a dangerous place when the Jambo's come to town.

So that's why Oriam has that funny shaped roof.

08-06-2017, 09:16 PM
Buying underwear.

I've just bought some pants. I took them home, tried them on and they're too small yet I can't return them.

What am I supposed to do with them? Most expensive polishing cloths ever.

08-06-2017, 09:17 PM
You looking at ma bird?

Did you call my pint a *******?

hibs#1
08-06-2017, 09:22 PM
My sudden adverse reaction to cheese.
Started a few weeks ago, no other issues with anything dairy related or anything else. The one bonus is I've discovered how good a pizza without cheese actually is.

Pizza without cheese?😢

09-06-2017, 01:03 AM
Phew! I thought this was perhaps another post for the Spouse's Behaviour thread...😉

Haha, I was just thinking that myself. :greengrin

09-06-2017, 03:59 AM
Pizza without cheese?😢

Yes had a La Fav, tomato base, nduja, and red onion. Finished with chilli oil once out the oven...superb.

09-06-2017, 07:40 AM
Yes had a La Fav, tomato base, nduja, and red onion. Finished with chilli oil once out the oven...superb.

That's just fancy garlic bread.

09-06-2017, 08:13 AM
A cup of tea that has that metallic taste in it due probably to the water being in the cauldron or kettle too long.
Yuk!

09-06-2017, 01:34 PM
So are you kind of suggesting I might be a bawbag? Try saying that to my face pal.

Seat number please.

I think with Hibs fans it just comes down to lack of experience. :greengrin

I think it's been mentioned here before but, people driving at 20mph in 30mph zones.

Also, people arriving behind you at a supermarket checkout and putting their stuff on the conveyor belt before you've finished unloading yours. It seems to only happen at Aldi, but I'm not sure why.

09-06-2017, 03:27 PM
That's just fancy garlic bread.

No it's pizza.

wpj
09-06-2017, 03:59 PM
No it's pizza.

Must admit i had to google nduja but sounds ok,I have eaten pizza with a vegan pal and the pizza looked lovely, admittedly was a pretty trendy pizzeria but it looked and tasted lovely. Sympathies on the cheese situation tho, not sure I could cope. Love it!

pollution
09-06-2017, 04:50 PM

I think it's been mentioned here before but, people driving at 20mph in 30mph zones.

Also, people arriving behind you at a supermarket checkout and putting their stuff on the conveyor belt before you've finished unloading yours. It seems to only happen at Aldi, but I'm not sure why.
It's the Generation Game

09-06-2017, 09:29 PM

On a similar speed related note people who think a national speed limit sign on a dual carriageway means 60mph.

speedy_gonzales
09-06-2017, 11:05 PM
On a similar speed related note people who think a national speed limit sign on a dual carriageway means 60mph.
Dinnae,,,,just dinnae!
I've lost count the amount of times I've been policed on the A8 by the airport by other drivers who steadfastly sit at 60 in lane 2 when lane 1 is empty.

10-06-2017, 04:36 AM

I don't mind that if there's one of these dividers but if there isn't I've sometimes used the passive/aggressive "I hope you're not expecting me to pay for that" joke.:greengrin

Another one is these self scan tills with the conveyer belt. The person behind you always seems to be up your erse. You stick your note in and while you're waiting for your change you put your bags into the trolley but while your doing do someone has invaded your space, thinking you've finished before you've collected your change and receipt.

I wouldn't mind but you never get any sort of apologetic look. It's always one that says "hurry the **** up" or "are you still ****ing about"?

10-06-2017, 10:53 AM
I can't be bothered with these self service tills. I don't think I've ever manoeuvred through one without silly cock ups. A supermarket thing that really annoys me is the lack of checkout operatives ( posh eh? ) for the number of bays available. Paradoxically, in my local supermarket, the opposite applies. Five or six folk sitting at the tills twiddling their thumbs half the time. I suppose a happy medium is called for.

ColinNish
10-06-2017, 01:42 PM
Waitress hovering over your table in a restaurant coz they've hardly got any customers. Had only had about one mouthful of food and over asking if everything was OK. 😡

10-06-2017, 02:19 PM
People who refer to people by their earnings potential. It does my head in when I hear some erse in a pub, restaurant, shop or at events security,steward etc berate one of the members of staff as being "a minimum wage idiot" or simillar.
FFS the people who get off their erse and work rather than relying on handouts should not be looked down upon because they earn less than someone else.

10-06-2017, 04:52 PM
Waitress hovering over your table in a restaurant coz they've hardly got any customers. Had only had about one mouthful of food and over asking if everything was OK. 😡

The same waitresses who spray your table with cleaner when your sitting there with a pint.

10-06-2017, 08:11 PM
Hard lines stories with Scottish sports.

Don't understand how one nation can be glorious failures so many times.

10-06-2017, 09:11 PM
Bad losers after an election result.

11-06-2017, 12:58 AM
People who refer to people by their earnings potential. It does my head in when I hear some erse in a pub, restaurant, shop or at events security,steward etc berate one of the members of staff as being "a minimum wage idiot" or simillar.
FFS the people who get off their erse and work rather than relying on handouts should not be looked down upon because they earn less than someone else.

:agree: :agree:

I will readily confess to snobbish tendencies in various domains, but jobs are not one of them. Most folk wll never know what it is to do a 12 hour shift on minimum wage, but I'm proud to say I do.

Folk who link what you earn to who you are are absolute fannies of the highest order.

11-06-2017, 09:34 AM

11-06-2017, 10:47 AM

Yeah, a boy at my work took a right hissy because the SNP got slaughtered.

11-06-2017, 11:31 AM

Guy I know refused to go and watch the Scotland game yesterday with his best mate because he didn't want to 'potentially celebrate with up to 30% of Scotland despising traitors'.

Pompous, crazy and ignorant all rolled into one right there.

11-06-2017, 11:38 AM
Guy I know refused to go and watch the Scotland game yesterday with his best mate because he didn't want to 'potentially celebrate with up to 30% of Scotland despising traitors'.

That is absolutely incredible. :crazy:

11-06-2017, 03:04 PM

Mental

11-06-2017, 03:16 PM

Should have reminded him they won but that's probably for another thread.

11-06-2017, 05:20 PM

Maybe that should read 'bad winners'? :wink:

11-06-2017, 09:02 PM

True

11-06-2017, 10:25 PM
Sock top indentations on your legs .

I like nothing better than whipping off the breeks and changing into shorts when I get in from work.
My legs look like I've been shackled in a dungeon. Takes hours to go back to normal.

11-06-2017, 10:35 PM
Sock top indentations on your legs .

I like nothing better than whipping off the breeks and changing into shorts when I get in from work.
My legs look like I've been shackled in a dungeon. Takes hours to go back to normal.

Fold your socks over at the top when you put them on, makes a difference for me.

11-06-2017, 11:38 PM
A badly made cup of tea, or worse still, coffee when you've paid for it.

12-06-2017, 06:50 AM
People writing Notts Forest instead of Nottingham Forest.

12-06-2017, 06:53 AM
"Celebrities have taken to Twitter".

Who gives a monkey's chuff what celebrities are saying on Twitter?

12-06-2017, 07:43 AM
"This new telescope could enable us to see back to the Big Bang."

This is trotted out with every new super telescope .
Still waiting to see it :-)

12-06-2017, 09:14 AM
People writing Notts Forest instead of Nottingham Forest.

We do it Hibs/Hibernian just a short version.

12-06-2017, 09:19 AM

Totally different.

Notts County is correct.

Nottingham Forest is correct.

12-06-2017, 10:47 AM
Totally different.

Notts County is correct.

Nottingham Forest is correct.

I am well aware of what is correct, people shorten it to Notts Forest, that's a fact whether you like it or not.

12-06-2017, 10:51 AM

I am well aware of what is correct, people shorten it to Notts Forest, that's a fact whether you like it or not.

Nottingham Forest fans don't though. They "shorten" the name to Forest. Anyone that calls them Notts Forest is showing ignorance of both history and football.

12-06-2017, 11:01 AM
Nottingham Forest fans don't though. They "shorten" the name to Forest. Anyone that calls them Notts Forest is showing ignorance of both geography and football.

Again I am well aware of Forest fans not liking it and I recall Brian Clough getting annoyed with it to as the name derives from The Nottingham Forresters Regiment and not Nottinghamshire.

However many fans of other teams particularly in the days of their success called them Notts Forest and still do to this day, Notts Forest has even been printed on match tickets and in programmes by opposition teams. It's a shortened version, I am not ignorant of football, history or geography!

12-06-2017, 11:39 AM

Blame the management. These are the same waitresses who would be getting a bollocking for hanging around doing nothing if they weren't hovering around you.

On that note, bar and restaurant managers who have never done any other form of work in their lives and have these ridiculous delusions that the whole world revolves around the hospitality trade. These are the people that think that everyone in the world wants to stand and watch them make cocktails and hear all about the latest gin that's behind the bar and, as mentioned above, think that customers want the waiting staff to be pretty much dining with them when they are out.

12-06-2017, 01:48 PM

Should have reminded him they won but that's probably for another thread.

Election results when the winners act like they've lost, the losers act like they've won and actual losers get to decide who's in government.

12-06-2017, 02:45 PM

Nottm Forest is a shorter version while Notts Forest is a wrong one.

There are indeed people who do it but they're wrong.

12-06-2017, 03:23 PM

There are indeed people who do it but they're wrong.

HahahaHahaha how cam someone shortening a name be wrong? That's a cracker. People say "Notts Forest" has anyone ever actually said "Nottm Forest"

12-06-2017, 04:01 PM
HahahaHahaha how cam someone shortening a name be wrong? That's a cracker. People say "Notts Forest" has anyone ever actually said "Nottm Forest"

People used to shorten Pakistani to Paki. It's shorter but doesn't mean it's something that should be done.

When Notts is used for one team, and is a shortened version of the county, not the city, using it for the other team named after the city just isn't right.

They don't like it and surely that dictates what the prior name and any shortening of it should be?

pollution
12-06-2017, 04:26 PM

There are indeed people who do it but they're wrong.Ditto Inter Milan.It is either Internazionale or Inter. The first is a mouth full so try the second!

12-06-2017, 05:11 PM
People used to shorten Pakistani to Paki. It's shorter but doesn't mean it's something that should be done.

When Notts is used for one team, and is a shortened version of the county, not the city, using it for the other team named after the city just isn't right.

They don't like it and surely that dictates what the prior name and any shortening of it should be?

Hearts fans aren't too keen on the term/synonym "inbred windae lickers" so should we stop using it?

12-06-2017, 05:14 PM
Hearts fans aren't too keen on the term/synonym "inbred windae lickers" so should we stop using it?

Not on my account, no.

12-06-2017, 05:21 PM

Of course not, when football fans across the country were discussing in the pubs the marvel of Notts Forest winning the European Cup, I bet the club and their fans were raging. Anyway that's me away for a chinky.

beensaidbefore
12-06-2017, 06:14 PM
Of course not, when football fans across the country were discussing in the pubs the marvel of Notts Forest winning the European Cup, I bet the club and their fans were raging. Anyway that's me away for a chinky.

😂😂

12-06-2017, 07:29 PM

Think I'll go and buy a big bag of Butterkist before the faux outrage starts.

12-06-2017, 08:11 PM
Think I'll go and buy a big bag of Butterkist before the faux outrage starts.

Should be fine Hutchy, I use it as slang for chinese food not to describe a chinese person, unless my shredded chilli beef takes offence there should be no worries.

12-06-2017, 08:29 PM
Should be fine Hutchy, I use it as slang for chinese food not to describe a chinese person, unless my shredded chilli beef takes offence there should be no worries.

Fried shredded chicken in a honey chilli sauce with soft fried noodles and salt and spicy chips. Tremendous :agree:

12-06-2017, 09:09 PM
Folk getting fitba team names wrong does kinda cheese me off: we've already had the unnecessary adding of Milan onto Inter's name. Another similar one is Sporting (you know, from Lisbon...), and of course my most peevey Pet Peeve - the failure to correctly identify the Bilbao team called Athletic , often confused with ATletico from Madrid.

As for Scots slang? I'm off to the Hamiltons for some Mick Jagger before I nip tae the wee wullie winkies for ma dinner ;)