View Full Version : Pet Peeves IV

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 [30] 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57

28-01-2020, 09:52 PM
Eh?? Totally lost on this one!!

When listening to music with headphones , you cant hear how loudly you are sniffing / farting.

29-01-2020, 08:09 AM
When listening to music with headphones , you cant hear how loudly you are sniffing / farting.

Ahhhhhh makes sense!

CloudSquall
29-01-2020, 11:26 AM
Similarly people who don't cover their mouths / nose when coughing or sneezing should be sent to a gulag, manky behaviour.

30-01-2020, 07:57 PM
It's people - usually guys - who snort on buses, like pigs.
They insist on sitting right behind me.

CloudSquall
02-02-2020, 11:17 PM
At the risk of offending some people, people from the UK who pretend to be really into American Football.

I can understand watching it passively, having a mild interest in it, but people that pretend to be right into it without any ties to the US are up there with the people who pretended to like Top Gear at it's peak to appear "cool".

Just_Jimmy
03-02-2020, 09:11 AM
At the risk of offending some people, people from the UK who pretend to be really into American Football.

I can understand watching it passively, having a mild interest in it, but people that pretend to be right into it without any ties to the US are up there with the people who pretended to like Top Gear at it's peak to appear "cool".You're peeved by the fact people get a real enjoyment from a professional sport?

Ok.

Sent from my Pixel 3a using Tapatalk

03-02-2020, 10:44 AM
Folk who have no concept of their size and don't care that kids behind them can't see.

Took my youngest to dynamic earth yesterday and this huge guy with dreadlocks tied up in a top knot sits right in the middle at the front of one of the video presentations . Kids sitting behind him couldnt see a thing and mine ended up sitting on the floor at the side.

Why on earth wouldnt a grown man just sit at the back or at least to the side?

03-02-2020, 10:58 AM
Folk who have no concept of their size and don't care that kids behind them can't see.

Took my youngest to dynamic earth yesterday and this huge guy with dreadlocks tied up in a top knot sits right in the middle at the front of one of the video presentations . Kids sitting behind him couldnt see a thing and mine ended up sitting on the floor at the side.

Why on earth wouldnt a grown man just sit at the back or at least to the side?

Similar happened with my bairn at the zoo recently.

The penguin parade was about to start, all the kids were at the front and the adults stood back a bit. This utter tool who must have been in his mid 30s planted himself right at the front blocking about 5 children from seeing. I asked him, politely, if he would mind moving so the children could see and he said it was a free country, he was as entitled to be at the front as children and he wanted the best view.

My daughter is 2 and probably more mature than that.

pollution
03-02-2020, 11:23 AM

I can understand watching it passively, having a mild interest in it, but people that pretend to be right into it without any ties to the US are up there with the people who pretended to like Top Gear at it's peak to appear "cool".

I made a point of watching it for the first time and was so disappointed.

The 80000 crowd sounded so muffled: I had expected multiple ad breaks but my goodness! They utterly blocked the flow of non stop interesting play...and commentators...

At least I tried.

CloudSquall
03-02-2020, 11:52 AM
You're peeved by the fact people get a real enjoyment from a professional sport?

Ok.

I'm peeved at people pretending to like it in an attempt to be one of the cool kids.

Would bet a mortgage on them regularly saying "Hey dude!" / "hey bro!" also.

03-02-2020, 05:30 PM
I'm peeved at people pretending to like it in an attempt to be one of the cool kids.

Would bet a mortgage on them regularly saying "Hey dude!" / "hey bro!" also.

just so I’m clear, if they do actually really like, that’s ok? It’s the pretending to like it that’s your peeve, is that correct?

03-02-2020, 07:29 PM
If I run the hot tap on my kitchen mixer for a length of time then turn it off and try and turn on the cold tap then I can’t budge it until it has cooled down. The heat from the very hot tap must expand the cold fitting so much that it won’t turn. Is this a common mixer tap issue?

Just_Jimmy
03-02-2020, 10:54 PM

Would bet a mortgage on them regularly saying "Hey dude!" / "hey bro!" also.But by your reasoning if you've no ties to it you can't be a big fan of the game?

Or are you miffed at the ones who pretend?

I love the game. I know the game inside out and I find the Superbowl annoying because of all the tin pot pretend fans. So if that's your issue crack on ha.

04-02-2020, 12:10 AM
But by your reasoning if you've no ties to it you can't be a big fan of the game?

Or are you miffed at the ones who pretend?

I love the game. I know the game inside out and I find the Superbowl annoying because of all the tin pot pretend fans. So if that's your issue crack on ha.

This is maybe an age thing but there must be a big generation who got into NFL when Channel 4 started broadcasting it in the eighties.

I was at school at the time and shops were suddenly selling mesh replica tops for the Dolphins, 49ers etc etc.

I think a lot of people got into it because it was new, brash, vivid, exciting and different. The C4 coverage was good and explained the game well.

I am sure I am not the only person who hears Frankie Goes To Hollywood ‘Two Tribes’ or Prokofiev ‘Romeo and Juliet’ and doesn’t visualise Jerry Rice taking a forty-yard catch or Walter Payton making first down from 3rd and 5 :greengrin

04-02-2020, 07:16 AM
Folk that say “super” to emphasise a feeling.

For example.....”I am super excited to let you know” or “I am super delighted to tell you” or “I am super thrilled to announce”.

WTF.

04-02-2020, 11:57 AM
When you ask a group of people to do something a specific way, but one of them does it a different way because it's easier for them, with no thought to either the consequences or the fact there was probably a reason they were asked to do it in a specific way in the first place!

08-02-2020, 07:30 AM
Towing the line.

08-02-2020, 08:32 AM
Hibs organising AGMs for nights I already have plans.

Can I get my pie posted out to me? :dunno:

08-02-2020, 09:15 AM
Towing the line.Toeing the line?

08-02-2020, 08:33 PM
The total overuse of the idiotic 'snowflake'. It's the go to phrase for people who have either lost an argument or are too ineloquent to put forward their own case in a persuasive or coherent manner.

The great irony is that the people who use the phrase are arguably the best example of the, now generally accepted, definition of the insult. Someone disagrees with them and they get irrationally upset, throw a bit of a hissy fit and resort to childish name calling.

I can't remember when or why it entered the popular lexicon but it was essentially a throw away quote that originated in a book from a quarter of a century ago, incidentally coming from a character who was obsessed with his lack of masculinity and poor sexual performance. Now it's the go to 'insult' for right wing nutjobs, self appointed alpha males and the sort of people who just parrot things they have heard other people saying.

08-02-2020, 09:26 PM
The total overuse of the idiotic 'snowflake'. It's the go to phrase for people who have either lost an argument or are too ineloquent to put forward their own case in a persuasive or coherent manner.

The great irony is that the people who use the phrase are arguably the best example of the, now generally accepted, definition of the insult. Someone disagrees with them and they get irrationally upset, throw a bit of a hissy fit and resort to childish name calling.

I can't remember when or why it entered the popular lexicon but it was essentially a throw away quote that originated in a book from a quarter of a century ago, incidentally coming from a character who was obsessed with his lack of masculinity and poor sexual performance. Now it's the go to 'insult' for right wing nutjobs, self appointed alpha males and the sort of people who just parrot things they have heard other people saying.

Agreed. Basically as soon as I see anyone use that term in a debate/argument, as far as I'm concerned they've lost the debate/argument.

08-02-2020, 10:46 PM

Absolutely this.

It's bizarre.

08-02-2020, 11:15 PM
Toeing the line?

09-02-2020, 07:23 AM

Be called a snowflake is a good thing IMO. Snowflake is a pseudonym for manners, compassion and not wanting other people to be offended by thing you’re saying.

09-02-2020, 07:45 AM
Ainslie park swimming pool.

Saturday afternoon and they pinned about 20 odd kids and parents into a tiny wee end section so they could have 3 lanes plus what appeared to be a double lane at the end kept free so 2 people could do lengths.

09-02-2020, 11:14 PM
Food allergy bandwagon jumpers, your either allergic to certain food types or you’re not, it’s not a ****** trend that you can change to suit your mood!

10-02-2020, 06:12 AM
The BBCs absolute obsession with awards ceremonies. The Oscars coverage at the moment is quite staggeringly OTT. Breaking news my arse.

pollution
10-02-2020, 11:31 AM
The BBCs absolute obsession with awards ceremonies. The Oscars coverage at the moment is quite staggeringly OTT. Breaking news my arse.

I agree.

Cheap TV. Best pop up cafe in the UK? What a load of mince.

CloudSquall
10-02-2020, 04:48 PM
People that give a play by play commentary through a movie.

People who speak at the same volume at 2am as they do at 2pm.

And no, I won't be seeing her again.

CloudSquall
10-02-2020, 05:09 PM
just so I’m clear, if they do actually really like, that’s ok? It’s the pretending to like it that’s your peeve, is that correct?

People that are actually into it, fine.

"Look at me I love American Football! Go Chiefs!!!" Types, pet peeve.

11-02-2020, 08:06 AM
Absolute ****ing idiots like these people:

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-highlands-islands-51447226

Endangering other peoples lives because they are selfish and stupid.

11-02-2020, 08:50 AM

Morons

11-02-2020, 10:34 AM

They should be fined the cost of the rescue. The mountain rescue guys are risking their lives to help ****wits like them.

11-02-2020, 12:25 PM

Agreed. Also folk driving at 80-85mph on the bypass last night in terrible conditions. No brains.

11-02-2020, 01:00 PM
Harry,meghan and all the privileged royals.who gives a flying one about their "hardships" and " struggles" and "stress" 🤬

CloudSquall
11-02-2020, 05:49 PM
https://god.dailydot.com/coronavirus-influencers/

"Coronavirus Influencers"

My pet peeve here could be any/ all from the word "influencer", to the narcissism of Instagram, to Instagram itself, right up to what 99% of people under the age of 35 are turning society into.

Absolute ****s of the highest order and I'd love nothing more than the Coronavirus to take a 28 Days Later turn and wipe out these ****s, that's a ****ing "story" or selfie I'd use Instagram to see.

StevesFamau5
11-02-2020, 05:56 PM
https://god.dailydot.com/coronavirus-influencers/

"Coronavirus Influencers"

My pet peeve here could be any/ all from the word "influencer", to the narcissism of Instagram, to Instagram itself, right up to what 99% of people under the age of 35 are turning society into.

Absolute ****s of the highest order and I'd love nothing more than the Coronavirus to take a 28 Days Later turn and wipe out these ****s, that's a ****ing "story" or selfie I'd use Instagram to see.I loathe influencers with a passion, literally the worst group of self indulgent, arrogant numpties I've ever come across.

Sent from my VOG-L09 using Tapatalk

11-02-2020, 07:44 PM
People that are actually into it, fine.

"Look at me I love American Football! Go Chiefs!!!" Types, pet peeve.

11-02-2020, 08:15 PM

Windsurfers out in force on Sunday at Troon are just about as daft.

11-02-2020, 08:23 PM
I loathe influencers with a passion, literally the worst group of self indulgent, arrogant numpties I've ever come across.

Very much this. 👍

11-02-2020, 08:41 PM
What is it with idiots wearing shorts in this weather. Especially during the storm. Seen a bunch of idiots last night at with virtually nothing on except shorts and T shirts. Laddies and Lassies. :crazy:

11-02-2020, 08:51 PM

To add a bit of balance to my rant, the below is from Lochaber Mountain Rescue and casts a bit of a different light on the whole incident:

Thanks to everyone for their messages of support to the Team - very much appreciated. The incident has created a huge amount of media/public/government and international interest and comment.
The casualties admit that they made a significant error of judgement and are extremely sorry for the results of their actions. The guys were just members of the public who perhaps were unaware of what they were getting into. Not being from the UK and with very limited English, a lot of the information available to mountaineers and hill walkers would not have been accessible to them, so perhaps there is an element of mitigation in respect of their actions, clothing and lack of equipment.
At present money from the Scottish Government is channeled, via Sportscotland, quite rightly so, into the Avalanche Information Service and for training and education through centers like Glenmore Lodge and agencies such as Mountaineering Scotland. Most of this will be targeted at people who are either engaged in the sport or have an interest in taking it up. Perhaps more thought needs to be given into how to inform the general public/casual tourist about how dangerous our small mountains are and how severe our weather can get and how it will catch-out the unwary and uninformed at any time of the year.
Unfortunately it takes incidents like yesterdays to raise the profile in the media and the message has definitely got out. So there is a positive from the incident. Therefore, let us just cut the guys a little bit of slack. For those who call for charging and insurance for mountaineers/hill walkers, be careful for what ask for, as where do you stop, insurance for fishing, rugby, football all of which have more incidents and injuries than mountaineering.
Mountain rescuers are all mountaineers who volunteer their services at absolutely minimal cost to the public purse. Insurance would lead to a professional service, which, for yesterdays incident would have required about 30 full time paid people on one single shift plus equipment etc to have been able carry out and then you have the admin, health and safety, bean counter et al - all funded by tax payer. Leave as is, as we have a world class voluntary mountain rescue service which delivers via public donations.
To ensure it is sufficiently funded, we need public donations so please give to a mountain rescue team. Not all mountain rescue is about mountains and many teams outwith the Highlands, and even those in the Highlands, do provide resilience cover at times of severe weather/flooding and when the full time agencies cannot cope with scale of an incident. This is also significantly funded by donations for mountain rescue but we are sure our supporters would not grudge some of their money going back to the communities which we live in and allow access to our mountains and countryside.
Finally, we would like to thank the guys from yesterday's rescue for making the donation shown in the picture attached. These were very young guys who without any prompting made a very generous gesture which is very much appreciated. Not everyone rescued appreciates that we are not full time or not paid to be at their beck and call.
Stay safe.

11-02-2020, 08:51 PM
What is it with idiots wearing shorts in this weather. Especially during the storm. Seen a bunch of idiots last night at with virtually nothing on except shorts and T shirts. Laddies and Lassies. :crazy:

It's mental. Saw some clown out for the rolls and papers on Sunday morning with hat, scarf, parka and yes, shorts. There must be a reason but I just can't think of one. There was even some erse with a coat, shorts and flip-flops on the other week.

11-02-2020, 09:27 PM
It's mental. Saw some clown out for the rolls and papers on Sunday morning with hat, scarf, parka and yes, shorts. There must be a reason but I just can't think of one. There was even some erse with a coat, shorts and flip-flops on the other week.

Must be a fashion thing because there can't be that many stupid people. Can there?

11-02-2020, 11:42 PM
Must be a fashion thing because there can't be that many stupid people. Can there?

About 40 per cent of the general public think it would be a good idea to reintroduce wolves into the countryside.

12-02-2020, 01:28 AM
About 40 per cent of the general public think it would be a good idea to reintroduce wolves into the countryside.

I bet none of them are farmers or live in rural areas with dearly loved pets that roam free...

12-02-2020, 07:22 AM

Beavers have already been successfully introduced and are helping create habitat for other wildlife as well as cleaning watercourses and reducing flooding. I have it on good authority that lynx are also present in Perthshire and nobody is up in arms about that. Wolves introduced in the right area would have little to no effect on human population or domestic animals or farm animals.

Pine Martin are plentiful in Scotland and it's rarely if ever that they will try to take domestic animals.

12-02-2020, 08:11 AM
Beavers have already been successfully introduced and are helping create habitat for other wildlife as well as cleaning watercourses and reducing flooding. I have it on good authority that lynx are also present in Perthshire and nobody is up in arms about that. Wolves introduced in the right area would have little to no effect on human population or domestic animals or farm animals.

Pine Martin are plentiful in Scotland and it's rarely if ever that they will try to take domestic animals.

They would help control the destructive deer population as well. The deers are so destructive because......the apex predators which kept them in check were removed from the environment by human hands.

If you want a clear example of the effect of deer on the Scottish ecosystem then look at Rannoch Moor. Desolate and barren then compare it to the small islands that are dotted in amongst the lochans and rivers on the Moor. Lush and green. Why? Because the deer can't reach the islands.

12-02-2020, 08:34 AM

Certainly been an increase since Hurricane Bawbag with them all showing how mental they are.

12-02-2020, 08:48 AM
It wouldn't be so bad if they wore a kilt instead of the ghastly shorts.

12-02-2020, 10:06 AM

About half 5ish?

I think there must have been some sort of gig on, because there was about 20 odd of them around haymarket, all wearing fluorescent colours etc... replete with bumbags etc...

wpj
12-02-2020, 12:01 PM
To add a bit of balance to my rant, the below is from Lochaber Mountain Rescue and casts a bit of a different light on the whole incident:

Thanks to everyone for their messages of support to the Team - very much appreciated. The incident has created a huge amount of media/public/government and international interest and comment.
The casualties admit that they made a significant error of judgement and are extremely sorry for the results of their actions. The guys were just members of the public who perhaps were unaware of what they were getting into. Not being from the UK and with very limited English, a lot of the information available to mountaineers and hill walkers would not have been accessible to them, so perhaps there is an element of mitigation in respect of their actions, clothing and lack of equipment.
At present money from the Scottish Government is channeled, via Sportscotland, quite rightly so, into the Avalanche Information Service and for training and education through centers like Glenmore Lodge and agencies such as Mountaineering Scotland. Most of this will be targeted at people who are either engaged in the sport or have an interest in taking it up. Perhaps more thought needs to be given into how to inform the general public/casual tourist about how dangerous our small mountains are and how severe our weather can get and how it will catch-out the unwary and uninformed at any time of the year.
Unfortunately it takes incidents like yesterdays to raise the profile in the media and the message has definitely got out. So there is a positive from the incident. Therefore, let us just cut the guys a little bit of slack. For those who call for charging and insurance for mountaineers/hill walkers, be careful for what ask for, as where do you stop, insurance for fishing, rugby, football all of which have more incidents and injuries than mountaineering.
Mountain rescuers are all mountaineers who volunteer their services at absolutely minimal cost to the public purse. Insurance would lead to a professional service, which, for yesterdays incident would have required about 30 full time paid people on one single shift plus equipment etc to have been able carry out and then you have the admin, health and safety, bean counter et al - all funded by tax payer. Leave as is, as we have a world class voluntary mountain rescue service which delivers via public donations.
To ensure it is sufficiently funded, we need public donations so please give to a mountain rescue team. Not all mountain rescue is about mountains and many teams outwith the Highlands, and even those in the Highlands, do provide resilience cover at times of severe weather/flooding and when the full time agencies cannot cope with scale of an incident. This is also significantly funded by donations for mountain rescue but we are sure our supporters would not grudge some of their money going back to the communities which we live in and allow access to our mountains and countryside.
Finally, we would like to thank the guys from yesterday's rescue for making the donation shown in the picture attached. These were very young guys who without any prompting made a very generous gesture which is very much appreciated. Not everyone rescued appreciates that we are not full time or not paid to be at their beck and call.
Stay safe.

Lessons learned

BBC News - Ben Nevis tourists thank rescuers with 'generous' gifts
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-highlands-islands-51473800

12-02-2020, 12:06 PM
To add a bit of balance to my rant, the below is from Lochaber Mountain Rescue and casts a bit of a different light on the whole incident.Thanks for posting this. It makes me feel a wee bit proud to live in a country where such a balanced and generous response can be made by the Mountain Rescue team.

12-02-2020, 01:12 PM
Thanks for posting this. It makes me feel a wee bit proud to live in a country where such a balanced and generous response can be made by the Mountain Rescue team.

Agreed, but what else would you expect from folk who voluntarily risk their lives to save others. :top marks

18-02-2020, 08:23 AM
Ryanair bookings.

Whenever i book flights and take the option for priority and 2 cabin bags (disgusing but thats another matter),
I get emails before my flights titled Important info regarding your flights.
I open it to discover an option to add priority and cabin bags even though I have already booked them.
I then have to dig out my original booking to check if i have booked cabin bags or not.
Drives me nuts.

18-02-2020, 02:20 PM
Ryanair bookings.

Whenever i book flights and take the option for priority and 2 cabin bags (disgusing but thats another matter),
I get emails before my flights titled Important info regarding your flights.
I open it to discover an option to add priority and cabin bags even though I have already booked them.
I then have to dig out my original booking to check if i have booked cabin bags or not.
Drives me nuts.
I am flying Ryanair on Friday to Rome for the rugby. Only used them once before and said I'd never do it again. Wish I'd kept that promise to myself. Complete nightmare, cancelled the original flights a few weeks ago, charging us more now, having to go via Warsaw there and Dublin back, had an argument with them about costs for luggage. Like you we had paid for priority but with the change of flights they wanted to charge us £200 for two for the priveledge. Robbing *******s. After many calls now down to £40 which is what it should have been in the first place. Never ever again

18-02-2020, 02:52 PM
Cashiers that run you through exactly what you have to do when paying with card as if only they know the secret magic of how card machines work.

22-02-2020, 08:40 AM
Sure it’s been posted a few times, but folk that write the way they talk. Speak any way you choose, but in written form it must take longer than typing the words properly and looks ridiculous IMO.

Just_Jimmy
22-02-2020, 09:33 AM
Cashiers that run you through exactly what you have to do when paying with card as if only they know the secret magic of how card machines work.Tbf, the general public need talked through most simple stuff.

22-02-2020, 09:55 AM
When the entire street puts out the wrong bin for that week which makes you doubt yourself and your calendar entries.

At least I was the only one that got my recycling uplifted this week.

22-02-2020, 11:03 AM
When the entire street puts out the wrong bin for that week which makes you doubt yourself and your calendar entries.

22-02-2020, 12:44 PM

I sometimes put ma brown bin out on the wrong day to see how many copy it 😇😇

Bangkok Hibby
22-02-2020, 01:16 PM
Sure it’s been posted a few times, but folk that write the way they talk. Speak any way you choose, but in written form it must take longer than typing the words properly and looks ridiculous IMO.

Irvine Welsh manages to get it over OK😄
Totally get what you mean though. I have Aberdonian friends who's online ramblings would be gibberish to many. Fit's and fa's FFS! I'm afraid it's just another example of correctly written English going down the pan.
Its shan, ken whit ah mean? 😄

CloudSquall
23-02-2020, 12:58 AM
People that wear neck pillows while walking around the airport.

Guaranteed to be the biggest ****s on the plane without fail.

Bangkok Hibby
23-02-2020, 02:38 AM
People that wear neck pillows while walking around the airport.

Guaranteed to be the biggest ****s on the plane without fail.

Add to that construction workers/scaffolders who wear their hard hats or tool belts at lunchtime whilst going to the shops.

Peanut Shaz
23-02-2020, 05:28 AM
Add to that construction workers/scaffolders who wear their hard hats or tool belts at lunchtime whilst going to the shops.

Add to that people who wear work ID badges on the bus,train, at lunchtime etc. I don't care where you work and it doesn't make you look important.

23-02-2020, 08:30 AM
Add to that people who wear work ID badges on the bus,train, at lunchtime etc. I don't care where you work and it doesn't make you look important.

I agree with this, the last thing you want is to be identified as a council employee. 😉

23-02-2020, 08:54 AM

I don't wear a work ID, but if I had to I'd probably wear it on those occasions. I don't really see the issue.

I imagine people are just doing the most convenient thing rather than thinking they look important.

Bangkok Hibby
23-02-2020, 09:48 AM
I don't wear a work ID, but if I had to I'd probably wear it on those occasions. I don't really see the issue.

I imagine people are just doing the most convenient thing rather than thinking they look important.

It can easily go in a pocket. Usually they're computer cards or door passes on neck lanyards. I have been in jobs that require them and wouldnt dare wear them to bar or shops at lunchtime as you absolutely look a twat.

Edit...just realised this doesn't fit well with learning to be non judgemental 🤨🤨🤨..a work in progress obviously

Peanut Shaz
23-02-2020, 10:41 AM
It can easily go in a pocket. Usually they're computer cards or door passes on neck lanyards. I have been in jobs that require them and wouldnt dare wear them to bar or shops at lunchtime as you absolutely look a twat.

Edit...just realised this doesn't fit well with learning to be non judgemental 🤨🤨🤨..a work in progress obviously

I have one for work that stays in my bag or pocket when I'm not in the office. Agreed it takes a second to remove it and put it away. I don't think people need to know I work for......whoever, and going by my photo I'm not sure I'd want people to see it. Ha ha.

23-02-2020, 01:30 PM
I have one for work that stays in my bag or pocket when I'm not in the office. Agreed it takes a second to remove it and put it away. I don't think people need to know I work for......whoever, and going by my photo I'm not sure I'd want people to see it. Ha ha.

To be fair that vast majority of work passes don’t identify the company you work for, nor do they make people look important.

But I get the point re not getting why people wear them outside the office.

23-02-2020, 01:41 PM
To be fair that vast majority of work passes don’t identify the company you work for, nor do they make people look important.

But I get the point re not getting why people wear them outside the office.

The bank my son works for instructs their staff not to wear them in public, only when in a bank building.

wpj
23-02-2020, 02:03 PM
I agree with this, the last thing you want is to be identified as a council employee. 😉

I work for the NHS and never wear my ID anywhere except work. A magnet for people complaining or maybe get mistaken for a medic where I would be of no use whatsoever.

23-02-2020, 02:57 PM

My ID badge is also a key card that allows me to go between landside and airside as well as enter restricted areas at the airport. To lose it would not only be a severe pain in the arse but also a security risk. For that reason it stays attached to a lanyard and secured around my neck from the moment I take it out of the drawer at home until I put it back there after getting home. There's no way I'm putting it anywhere else, even if people think it's stupid. I do however wear it under my top layer of clothing on my way to and from work.

CloudSquall
24-02-2020, 04:49 PM
Uber drivers that accept a request and then don't seem to bother their arse to move or seem to drive in every direction other than the one towards your pick up spot.

26-02-2020, 07:04 AM
People that reply to all unnecessarily.

I’m not even talking in a professional sense as I get it sometimes good to cover your back by including people, even if they don’t want included. Im talking about things like Last Man Standing emails, everybody is letting the organiser know who they want privately but there’s always one or two that feel like they have to include everyone!

26-02-2020, 10:31 AM

I’m not even talking in a professional sense as I get it sometimes good to cover your back by including people, even if they don’t want included. Im talking about things like Last Man Standing emails, everybody is letting the organiser know who they want privately but there’s always one or two that feel like they have to include everyone!

Similarly, group chats on WhatsApp or whatever. When my daughter was born my wife went to the usual classes etc and every one of them was a new group chat and now it’s a prison. Constant messages about “does anyone know when Tesco shuts”, just google it like a normal person ya mutant.

CloudSquall
26-02-2020, 02:18 PM
Viewing events through your mobile is already covered but I was at the Rio carnaval parade and while these amazing floats went past there were umpteen clowns who turned their back to it in order to take a selfie.

It wasn't even a quick 5 second turnaround, they had their back turned the entire time the float was passing while looking at themselves in their phone to ensure the best selfie.

Instead of experiencing things now half the world is obsessed with Instagram likes and nothing more.

Alfiembra
26-02-2020, 02:51 PM

This happens occasionally at my work when there is a company wide email, you always get the muppet who replies to all to ask to be removed from the distribution list, instead of the author directly. Which in turn all the muppets of the organisation join in and reply all, also asking to be removed from the distribution list. Then their counterpart muppets reply all telling everyone to stop replying to all. And it goes on.

26-02-2020, 06:06 PM
This happens occasionally at my work when there is a company wide email, you always get the muppet who replies to all to ask to be removed from the distribution list, instead of the author directly. Which in turn all the muppets of the organisation join in and reply all, also asking to be removed from the distribution list. Then their counterpart muppets reply all telling everyone to stop replying to all. And it goes on.

Yes, used to happen a lot when I worked in the Scottish Government. Someone sends an email to the whole Department by mistake, loads of folk reply to all saying they shouldn't have received it, some reply to all to tell everyone to stop replying to all, then this daftie replies to all with the message "Let's all go for a pint!" followed quickly by a very stern warning from the Minister's Private Secretary (to all!) telling everyone to stop :greengrin

26-02-2020, 07:13 PM
Floated corners.

26-02-2020, 09:16 PM
Floated corners.

Or just floaters.

26-02-2020, 10:59 PM
Or just floaters.

Anything that floats is bad news. See Witches for example.

27-02-2020, 12:03 PM

:agree: It's times like this you question why you are not higher up (further away in the chain from these people) in your company.

02-03-2020, 11:14 AM
There are 2 adverts on the telly that really annoy me just now -

The Wickes one where the guy says "Let Wickes clear your housebarressment". What clown sat down and thought "housebarressment...that'll work"?

The advert for Alexa. Wee lassie comes home and storms up to her room, she's been beat at football that day. It cuts to night time and the mum wakes up as there's some banging noise, she asks Alexa the time, it's 4-40am. Mum looks out the bedroom window and the girl is in the garden playing football, taking shots into goals that are painted on a wall. It's 4-40am. The mum then asks Alexa to turn the garden lights on, which are brighter than the actual sun. It's 4-40am! Get they lights off, get her telt to stop kicking the ball about and get to bed. Then in the morning get her dragged round each of the neighbours houses to apologise.

02-03-2020, 11:20 AM

The Wickes one where the guy says "Let Wickes clear your housebarressment". What clown sat down and thought "housebarressment...that'll work"?

The advert for Alexa. Wee lassie comes home and storms up to her room, she's been beat at football that day. It cuts to night time and the mum wakes up as there's some banging noise, she asks Alexa the time, it's 4-40am. Mum looks out the bedroom window and the girl is in the garden playing football, taking shots into goals that are painted on a wall. It's 4-40am. The mum then asks Alexa to turn the garden lights on, which are brighter than the actual sun. It's 4-40am! Get they lights off, get her telt to stop kicking the ball about and get to bed. Then in the morning get her dragged round each of the neighbours houses to apologise.

That Alexa one annoys me too! 😠

02-03-2020, 11:40 AM

That Alexa advert does my nut in too. The first time I seen it I thought that the family in it would be absolute ****s to live next to.

02-03-2020, 04:55 PM

The Wickes one is similar to the Money Supermarket one with Matt Berry which is currently on the radio with the noise "aaaah" inserted randomly into words. Grinds my gears.

Just_Jimmy
03-03-2020, 09:58 AM
Moan about adverts all you like, but you're all talking about them and know the product.

Buying it might be another issue!

03-03-2020, 12:27 PM
Moan about adverts all you like, but you're all talking about them and know the product.

Buying it might be another issue!

I've witnessed people making this point a lot, surely a **** advert is less likely to make you buy/use a product whether you know what is or not. Go Compare being a prime example.

03-03-2020, 12:33 PM
I've witnessed people making this point a lot, surely a **** advert is less likely to make you buy/use a product whether you know what is or not. Go Compare being a prime example.

Spot on and a great example. If they spend their money on really irritating ads that make me change channels then I'm not using them, simple as that.

04-03-2020, 01:40 AM
Hearts fc. :rolleyes:

MagicSwirlingShip
04-03-2020, 04:24 AM
People that state their opinion as a fact. Really does my head in.

04-03-2020, 09:01 AM
ITV Player.

Wanted to binge watch Flesh and Blood, but it wasn't available on the ITV Player in Scotland for some reason. Changed my location to a West Yorkshire postcode and it becomes available.

EH6 Hibby
04-03-2020, 12:54 PM
ITV Player.

Wanted to binge watch Flesh and Blood, but it wasn't available on the ITV Player in Scotland for some reason. Changed my location to a West Yorkshire postcode and it becomes available.

You have to download the STV player to watch ITV1 content in Scotland. I actually prefer the STV one, if you’re watching it live, you can go back to the start of the program which you can’t do on the ITV one.

04-03-2020, 02:15 PM
You have to download the STV player to watch ITV1 content in Scotland. I actually prefer the STV one, if you’re watching it live, you can go back to the start of the program which you can’t do on the ITV one.

Cheers for the tip. :aok:

04-03-2020, 08:26 PM
Folk who play content on a bus with their mobile phone without headphones. Oblivious.

Does my nut in.

Imagine if the whole bus was as selfish. 70 people all loudly playing different content.

wpj
04-03-2020, 10:39 PM
Folk who play content on a bus with their mobile phone without headphones. Oblivious.

Does my nut in.

Imagine if the whole bus was as selfish. 70 people all loudly playing different content.

My wee girl loves the sound on her jigsaw app. I hate it but I refuse to let her use headphones. She is learning to just play the games and we will work on it to let others enjoy their commute in peace. She thinks everyone enjoys it (she's 4)

05-03-2020, 06:55 AM
My wee girl loves the sound on her jigsaw app. I hate it but I refuse to let her use headphones. She is learning to just play the games and we will work on it to let others enjoy their commute in peace. She thinks everyone enjoys it (she's 4)

Out of interest, why do you refuse to let her use headphones? I don't think a wee kid fiddling about on a parent's phone is the likely target of this pet peeve though. It's when the adults or teenagers themselves treat the whole bus or carriage to whatever ***** they're listening to (also, they never have a decent taste in music) that wrecks my head.

Bangkok Hibby
05-03-2020, 11:13 AM
Not sure if this has been said but something you see a lot online these days...People Who Capitalise Every Word In A Sentence...why????

05-03-2020, 11:28 AM
Not sure if this has been said but something you see a lot online these days...People Who Capitalise Every Word In A Sentence...why????

Even worse is the current fashion of randomly using a mix of upPerCaSE AnD LowEr caSe

05-03-2020, 11:39 AM
Probably been done to death but hate public toilets and especially hate folk who used them and don't clean up after themselves. Their houses must be bogging.

Anyway, just been for a pee and want to wash my hands. No soap, seriously in this day and age and all the advice about coronavirus.

speedy_gonzales
05-03-2020, 12:12 PM
Even worse is the current fashion of randomly using a mix of upPerCaSE AnD LowEr caSe

SpongeBob SquarePants is to blame for this, apparently.

#memelife

(Personal pet peeve,,,, irony & hashtags!)

05-03-2020, 12:13 PM

Yep, that's very annoying.

I think it's meant to suggest a lack of intelligence in the person they're mimicking but it's just bizarre.

05-03-2020, 01:58 PM
Probably been done to death but hate public toilets and especially hate folk who used them and don't clean up after themselves. Their houses must be bogging.

Anyway, just been for a pee and want to wash my hands. No soap, seriously in this day and age and all the advice about coronavirus.

No soap just like Easter Road.

05-03-2020, 10:37 PM

It'S nOt RaNdOm. It's every second word.

It's to denote a daft opinion. And it belongs to a sponge on meme.

wpj
06-03-2020, 12:06 AM
Out of interest, why do you refuse to let her use headphones? I don't think a wee kid fiddling about on a parent's phone is the likely target of this pet peeve though. It's when the adults or teenagers themselves treat the whole bus or carriage to whatever ***** they're listening to (also, they never have a decent taste in music) that wrecks my head.

Purely the volume of headphones, she doesn't put them in her ears but doesnt know how to adjust the volume yet safely. As I say, we agree to lower the volume on the phone and she understands others dont need to hear it. Work in progress.

Bangkok Hibby
06-03-2020, 11:45 AM
People desperate to get off public transport first. Sit on a bus in Edinburgh and as soon as the driver has closed the doors at a stop someone is pushing the bell and up on their feet for the next stop. People will form a queue even if the bus is stuck at lights.
Trains the same, queuing at the door miles before the stop. And worst of all...planes!

06-03-2020, 03:37 PM
You can guarantee that once I've just finished the weekly shopping and am on my way back to the car with everything on the shopping list, the wife will text me asking for something else. Does my head in.

StevieT
06-03-2020, 08:22 PM
People desperate to get off public transport first. Sit on a bus in Edinburgh and as soon as the driver has closed the doors at a stop someone is pushing the bell and up on their feet for the next stop. People will form a queue even if the bus is stuck at lights.
Trains the same, queuing at the door miles before the stop. And worst of all...planes!

Years ago I got the ferry to France and folk were heading back to their cars long before the boat docked.

06-03-2020, 09:22 PM
Trains the same, queuing at the door miles before the stop. And worst of all...planes!Why does that bother you? Planes I understand, that annoys me too, but people on buses?

06-03-2020, 10:21 PM

What about the thousands that are desperate to be first out of Easter Road every home game, they get up from their seats well before the final whistle.

Bangkok Hibby
07-03-2020, 06:37 AM
Why does that bother you? Planes I understand, that annoys me too, but people on buses?

Do you know it doesn't bother me at all. Other than internally laughing at them and a wee shake of the heid that's about it. More a comment on strange human behavior, so probably the wrong thread.

Bangkok Hibby
07-03-2020, 06:39 AM
What about the thousands that are desperate to be first out of Easter Road every home game, they get up from their seats well before the final whistle.

Indeed, another example of this (for me) slightly strange behaviour.

07-03-2020, 06:41 AM
Do you know it doesn't bother me at all. Other than internally laughing at them and a wee shake of the heid that's about it. More a comment on strange human behavior, so probably the wrong thread.

So not a peeve - more bemusement than anything else. That I can understand.

07-03-2020, 09:13 AM
Why, when you’re transporting the washing from the laundry basket to the washing machine, do you always find a wee lonely smelly sock lying nearby, once the machine has been started.?

07-03-2020, 09:18 AM

Yeah, seems strange to me on trains and planes, but I've started to do it on buses just because getting to the front uninjured can be difficult with the way the buses are driven and the state of the streets in Edinburgh.

07-03-2020, 12:36 PM
Years ago I got the ferry to France and folk were heading back to their cars long before the boat docked.

Not only that but they start their engines five or ten minutes early. You can't drive off until the doors are open, clowns!

07-03-2020, 08:18 PM
Purely the volume of headphones, she doesn't put them in her ears but doesnt know how to adjust the volume yet safely. As I say, we agree to lower the volume on the phone and she understands others dont need to hear it. Work in progress.

Ah OK, fair enough.

StevieT
07-03-2020, 08:43 PM
Not only that but they start their engines five or ten minutes early. You can't drive off until the doors are open, clowns!

Not only that, the cars are offloaded in a particular order

CloudSquall
08-03-2020, 05:00 PM
People who walk into Starbucks and ask for 100 modifications to a drink they want as if they are a majority shareholder.

08-03-2020, 05:11 PM
People who walk into Starbucks and ask for 100 modifications to a drink they want as if they are majority shareholder.

Similarly was behind a woman at Morrison’s cafe in the Gyle, she ordered a big breakfast then spent the next five minutes or so making alterations to it which included leaving the till point to check with her partner who was seated wether he wanted ****** haggis or not!

08-03-2020, 09:11 PM
People who walk into Starbucks and ask for 100 modifications to a drink they want as if they are majority shareholder.

Ha ha good point well made!

I was in a Starbucks a while ago and I’m sure someone ordered a decaf skinny oatmeal latte or something like that...I remember shaking my head wondering why they were ordering a coffee then applying everything possible to make it resemble a drink as far removed as possible from it actually being a coffee! There surely had to be something that didn’t start out as a coffee that they would actually prefer! [emoji2957]

09-03-2020, 05:46 PM
The erseholes who are causing a shortage on the shelves by panic stock piling, it’s absolutely ridiculous.

09-03-2020, 05:55 PM
The erseholes who are causing a shortage on the shelves by panic stock piling, it’s absolutely ridiculous.

I was in Sainsbury’s yesterday and expected to see empty shelves. They had everything though.

I didn’t look for hand sanitiser though, I think that’s a favourite of the panic merchant just now.

A mate who’s a brickie was saying today that there’s barely any toilet paper on his site just now, he thinks folk are nicking it!

09-03-2020, 05:59 PM
I was in Sainsbury’s yesterday and expected to see empty shelves. They had everything though.

I didn’t look for hand sanitiser though, I think that’s a favourite of the panic merchant just now.

A mate who’s a brickie was saying today that there’s barely any toilet paper on his site just now, he thinks folk are nicking it!

The shelves in Asda at Leith we’re bare today of toilet roll.

10-03-2020, 08:33 AM

Entirely rational to want to visit busy supermarkets less frequently in a time of epidemic, and so entirely rational for people to bulk buy. Unless supermarkets employ more people to constantly re-stock shelves, there will be more spaces on them than usual.

The bogroll obsession does seem a bit weird though. Simply pop out to the countryside and find a dock leaf!

10-03-2020, 10:02 AM
Entirely rational to want to visit busy supermarkets less frequently in a time of epidemic, and so entirely rational for people to bulk buy. Unless supermarkets employ more people to constantly re-stock shelves, there will be more spaces on them than usual.

The bogroll obsession does seem a bit weird though. Simply pop out to the countryside and find a dock leaf!

Bulk buy! Some folk won’t have to buy hand wash soap or toilet roll for months going by the amount they are taking, it just causes everyone else to panic in case they can’t get any and you get the domino effect, ridiculous.

10-03-2020, 10:57 AM
Bulk buy! Some folk won’t have to buy hand wash soap or toilet roll for months going by the amount they are taking, it just causes everyone else to panic in case they can’t get any and you get the domino effect, ridiculous.

Supermarkets too slow to introduce rationing then? Maybe Hancock should have suggested that to them during the extensive preparatory conversations they had? :dunno:

12-03-2020, 08:52 AM
Apparently, they're nicking the hand sanitisers out of hospitals now.

People! Dontcha just love 'em?

12-03-2020, 12:45 PM
The shelves in Asda at Leith we’re bare today of toilet roll.

I don't understand why folk don't understand the toilet roll shortage.

Men, representing approximately half the population of the country, are aware they may soon have to spend two weeks in "self-isolation".

What did people think they were going to go out and buy?!?

12-03-2020, 01:04 PM

Men, representing approximately half the population of the country, are aware they may soon have to spend two weeks in "self-isolation".

It's funny because it's true.

12-03-2020, 03:00 PM

Socks?

12-03-2020, 05:17 PM
Referring to the Prime Minister by his first/second name as if he's some cuddly friend.

StevesFamau5
12-03-2020, 07:14 PM
Referring to the Prime Minister by his first/second name as if he's some cuddly friend.Or his nickname 'BoJo' like a crap pantomime villan.

13-03-2020, 10:51 PM
The paranoia of stocking up on toilet paper was highlighted by Chris Evans yesterday. His solution was to talk up the use of bum guns. Very popular in Asia apparently.

Bangkok Hibby
14-03-2020, 12:45 PM
The paranoia of stocking up on toilet paper was highlighted by Chris Evans yesterday. His solution was to talk up the use of bum guns. Very popular in Asia apparently.

By far the cleanest way of wiping your backside. Smearing **** over your butt with dry paper is manky. No wonder Asians call us dirty.

speedy_gonzales
14-03-2020, 01:19 PM
By far the cleanest way of wiping your backside. Smearing **** over your butt with dry paper is manky. No wonder Asians call us dirty.

If you're doing it right, you shouldn't be smearing, but I know what you mean.
Any truth in the urban myth this is why many cultures eat only with their right hand (wipe with their left?)?

Bangkok Hibby
14-03-2020, 03:17 PM
If you're doing it right, you shouldn't be smearing, but I know what you mean.
Any truth in the urban myth this is why many cultures eat only with their right hand (wipe with their left?)?

Not sure about all cultures, but without checking I'm sure there's something in Islamic law which dictates you should eat with right hand only. Whether that is because the left hand is considered unclean I'm not sure. 99.9% of bum guns I've seen are all plumbed so you can only hold it with your right hand therefore the left is for cleaning.

pollution
14-03-2020, 07:12 PM
Panic buying.

I heard a woman on the phone in Morrisons saying to all and sundry that this was the third supermarket where there were no chickens.

She was on the verge of panic, really. As it was, there was no fresh meat on the shelves at all. Ditto pasta.

One woman had 6 packs of morning rolls. A Chinese man filled his trolley with frozen chickens, about 12 of them.

CloudSquall
15-03-2020, 11:53 AM
People who revel in overreacting on social media.

I can understand people who are genuinely concerned and fearful over the coronavirus (even if I'm one of those that is rather blasé about it) but there seems to be a section of society that can't wait to get on Twitter and get off on screaming to anyone and everyone about how the world is ending and you are Judas reincarnated if you dare walk outside.

The type of ****s that type "MUST READ��", "THREAD ��" as if they are super important.

Twitter has been a good source of info from actual organisations like embassies, FCO travel advice etc, but the rest of it is horrendous.

15-03-2020, 02:53 PM
Perpetrators of fake news, especially in the current climate. There's lots of fake news reports doing the rounds that appear to be from trustworthy sources but are forged fakes. One that spread like wildfire over here yesterday and today was claiming that supermarkets were being closed by government decree with the exception of 2 hours on Mondays and Fridays. This kind of **** has serious consequences and I don't see what people get out of it, unless there's another malicious source behind this kind of thing like Russian mischief making.

pollution
15-03-2020, 05:03 PM
Perpetrators of fake news, especially in the current climate. There's lots of fake news reports doing the rounds that appear to be from trustworthy sources but are forged fakes. One that spread like wildfire over here yesterday and today was claiming that supermarkets were being closed by government decree with the exception of 2 hours on Mondays and Fridays. This kind of **** has serious consequences and I don't see what people get out of it, unless there's another malicious source behind this kind of thing like Russian mischief making.

I feel sorry for young people nowadays, especially the impressionable. Who to trust from the point of view as to what is fact.

Just something is in print does not make it true. The BBC are reliable overall but as for social media it is a jungle out there.

15-03-2020, 07:35 PM

A woman on one of my wife’s many mum group chats declared the three day that “kids cannae catch it, I work in a hospital so I ken”.

Honestly.

pollution
16-03-2020, 11:27 AM

I came across an example last night: a typical I know what is about to happen spread by the most ignorant bar staff member, really stupid.

He told every customer, enjoyed delivering his inside information and felt as proud as a peacock.

An empty man with no friends , limited intelligence and interests. Quite typical of the sort, loving the power he thought he had.

17-03-2020, 06:30 PM
A woman on one of my wife’s many mum group chats declared the three day that “kids cannae catch it, I work in a hospital so I ken”.

Honestly.

Refreshing candour from a doctor. :wink:

CloudSquall
22-03-2020, 04:34 PM
The new attention seeking trend of posting videos titled "quarantine day 10" that consist of yourself being a total knob at home

Jay
22-03-2020, 04:38 PM
The new attention seeking trend of posting videos titled "quarantine day 10" that consist of yourself being a total knob at home

I dont mind that. People are bored and trying to keep themselves and others entertained . Its way better than the false information quotes i was seeing last week.

27-03-2020, 06:10 AM
"Ramping up".

If you've failed to do something on time, or at all, just go on TV and insist that you're ramping it up.

Dan Sarf
30-03-2020, 10:48 AM
Couples who walk straight towards you down the centre of the pavement so you have to move into the road if you want to keep a safe distance. All they have to do is move to one side of the pavement while you move to the opposite side and there would a safe gap.

There's a word for people like that. Can you guess what it is?

30-03-2020, 11:14 AM
Couples who walk straight towards you down the centre of the pavement so you have to move into the road if you want to keep a safe distance. All they have to do is move to one side of the pavement while you move to the opposite side and there would a safe gap.

Immune? :dunno:

30-03-2020, 11:25 AM
Immune? :dunno:

I'm sure the letters un will be included.

30-03-2020, 02:53 PM
The ever increasing posts on social media saying " my friends Dad is a clinical director/scientist/surgeon/consultant/disease specialist etc etc etc" every man and his dog seems to be in contact with an expert of some form that predicts we are all doomed!

If the main topic in the world was something happening in outer space all of these clowns would claim to know an astronaut, ****wits the lot of them

Bangkok Hibby
30-03-2020, 02:55 PM
"Ramping up".

If you've failed to do something on time, or at all, just go on TV and insist that you're ramping it up.

This and other terms previously unheard until spoken by some politician then slavishly repeated by the media. 2 others that immediately spring to mind are "kicking the can down the road" and "tranche" a word few had heard before a politician used it.

30-03-2020, 03:44 PM

Immune?

pollution
30-03-2020, 05:31 PM
The phrase ' rocking up ' somewhere.

As if you have tumbled down a mountain and landed somewhere fortuitously. Utter nonsense.

Just_Jimmy
30-03-2020, 06:26 PM
**** stories on the news, that are in no way "news" or important to the public interest.

Basically utter nonsense filler.

31-03-2020, 07:47 AM
**** stories on the news, that are in no way "news" or important to the public interest.

There seems to be a determination by the BBC, along with others, to 'cheer us up' by devoting time to self professed 'characters'.

There was a woman sitting on a toy elephant playing a xylophone the other day and then another family singing a song they wrote from their living room. Not only that they now have a full interview with them. The Dad genuinely sees to think he is a superstar.

All that ***** makes me want to do is go outside so I don't have to watch it.

Dan Sarf
31-03-2020, 09:46 AM
There seems to be a determination by the BBC, along with others, to 'cheer us up' by devoting time to self professed 'characters'.

There was a woman sitting on a toy elephant playing a xylophone the other day and then another family singing a song they wrote from their living room. Not only that they now have a full interview with them. The Dad genuinely sees to think he is a superstar.

Oh no, I missed that. Is it available on iPlayer?

31-03-2020, 11:08 AM

BBC Breakfast is horrendous. This morning after the latest coronavirus update it was "Now let's see what Justin Beiber is up to, hee hee hee". Then these idiots expect to be taken seriously when interviewing politicians and science/medical experts. Naga Munchetty....don't get me started :fuming:

01-04-2020, 04:53 PM
Words you can’t spell. “Bureau”, is one if mine. I tie myself in knots second and third guessing myself whenever I now try to type it.

EH6 Hibby
01-04-2020, 06:57 PM
Probably already been mentioned, but insurance/breakdown renewal quotes should be investigated, how many people just agree with their figures and renew? Got my renewal from Green Flag for my breakdown cover, their quote was £119 for the year. Did a comparison quote and was able to get the exact same cover for as cheap as £28, ended up going for one that was £35, purely because it was a company I had heard of before.

It should be illegal what these companies are doing.

01-04-2020, 11:21 PM
Words you can’t spell. “Bureau”, is one if mine. I tie myself in knots second and third guessing myself whenever I now try to type it.

Easy in German. Buro.

02-04-2020, 11:45 AM
People wearing disposable vinyl gloves in supermarkets and so on. The clue is in the name - disposable. In a medical setting a nurse or doctor uses gloves to attend to a patient, removes them when the task is complete, washes their hands then regloves to deal with the next patient.

The other day I watched a couple get out their car in blue gloves, repeatedly touch their phones whilst waiting outside the supermarket to get in, handle various goods whilst inside, use the self checkout and then get back in their car still wearing the gloves. What purpose did the gloves serve? In what way was that better than not wearing gloves and washing your hands as soon as you get home? If anything it probably encourages a false sense of security.

02-04-2020, 01:10 PM
People wearing disposable vinyl gloves in supermarkets and so on. The clue is in the name - disposable. In a medical setting a nurse or doctor uses gloves to attend to a patient, removes them when the task is complete, washes their hands then regloves to deal with the next patient.

The other day I watched a couple get out their car in blue gloves, repeatedly touch their phones whilst waiting outside the supermarket to get in, handle various goods whilst inside, use the self checkout and then get back in their car still wearing the gloves. What purpose did the gloves serve? In what way was that better than not wearing gloves and washing your hands as soon as you get home? If anything it probably encourages a false sense of security.

Yes I have questioned many people on the same type of thing in food establishments. People wear them and think they are doing the right thing without thinking it through. Hardly anyone uses them correctly, wash yor hands, you don’t need gloves.

02-04-2020, 08:02 PM

Agree but there are circumstances where wearing one glove can make sense. Effectively operating a 'dirty' hand/clean hand system. Nip in to supermarket for a pint of milk, lift it with gloved hand, press touchscreen buttons with gloved hand, take credit card out of pocket with ungloved hand and pay contactless, open car door with ungloved hand, place milk in cardboard box in car, dispose of glove, drive to the Peak District with clean hands for some exercise.

CloudSquall
02-04-2020, 08:15 PM

Don't get me started on the "inspiring" famous women "being brave" during quarantine by posing without make-up on social media, the hard hitting reporting that we all need to get through this..

Peanut Shaz
02-04-2020, 09:22 PM
Been out walking round and about Redford and Colinton Road for my hours walk most nights. Amazed at how many drivers are tearing about driving well above the speed limit because the roads are so quiet. Seen a couple in particular on Redford Road going onto Dreghorn Link, obviously going for a 'spin' on the Bypass. Mental.

wpj
03-04-2020, 06:38 AM
BBC Breakfast is horrendous. This morning after the latest coronavirus update it was "Now let's see what Justin Beiber is up to, hee hee hee". Then these idiots expect to be taken seriously when interviewing politicians and science/medical experts. Naga Munchetty....don't get me started :fuming:

Naga is ripping Matt Hancock a new one live. Yes she can be annoying but she knows how to interview a flawed politician. Better of with Tony Hancock

03-04-2020, 08:46 AM
Naga is ripping Matt Hancock a new one live. Yes she can be annoying but she knows how to interview a flawed politician. Better of with Tony Hancock

I somehow managed to sit through half of that. I know he's a useless Tory prick etc but I still have to switch off every time I hear her patronising tone.

pollution
03-04-2020, 11:51 AM
Been out walking round and about Redford and Colinton Road for my hours walk most nights. Amazed at how many drivers are tearing about driving well above the speed limit because the roads are so quiet. Seen a couple in particular on Redford Road going onto Dreghorn Link, obviously going for a 'spin' on the Bypass. Mental.

As someone who lives close to the bypass these petrol heads are fair cashing in on the quiet traffic.

Typically, they involve small neat little motors with extended exhaust kit making the most noise possible.

They are generally not bad drivers and can handle their aircraft well. Just selfish children.

03-04-2020, 01:16 PM

I forgot how to spell "who" last week when trying to write a note. Thought that was the decline starting early :greengrin:
I also cant say "regularly" without making an erse of myself. I just change it to "on a regular basis".

08-04-2020, 08:22 PM
All the adults on my time line who have signed up for tik tok and think they are being wacky and fun, unfriend

09-04-2020, 10:15 AM

I struggle with typing certain words with repetitive vowels- my brain just can't handle it. In 2014 I probably typed "independence referendum" about 5-10 times a day and never nailed it first time or without having to stop and think about it.

09-04-2020, 02:41 PM

I've been listening to the radio more. Less childish banter. The BBC World Service is good. It reminds you it's a global problem. Not so much happy clapping either.

Some folk need that, mind. Each to their own.

10-04-2020, 08:25 AM

I have that on the odd ocassion. Or is it occasion?

CloudSquall
11-04-2020, 05:49 PM
All the adults on my time line who have signed up for tik tok and think they are being wacky and fun, unfriend

"So....my dad discovered Tik Tok....and THIS happened...."

Get directly tae **** with that *****.

CloudSquall
13-04-2020, 09:25 AM
People that read a couple of articles about the coronavirus and then act on social media as if they are qualified to be on the board of the WHO.

13-04-2020, 10:27 AM
Spending a week trimming a 25m long hedge (Leyland Cypress) from 5m down to 2.5m using a hedge trimmer and hand saw, then tidying up your shed afterwards and finding a chainsaw you'd completely forgotten about. :doh:

13-04-2020, 10:51 AM
People that read a couple of articles about the coronavirus and then act on social media as if they are qualified to be on the board of the WHO.

😁👍

13-04-2020, 10:52 AM
Spending a week trimming a 25m long hedge (Leyland Cypress) from 5m down to 2.5m using a hedge trimmer and hand saw, then tidying up your shed afterwards and finding a chainsaw you'd completely forgotten about. :doh:

Filled some time though 😀

13-04-2020, 11:05 AM
Filled some time though 😀

Aye, there is that.

Peanut Shaz
13-04-2020, 12:02 PM
When cameras cut to the audience when showing comedy acts on stage. Why do we need to see them laughing? Just don't get it.

13-04-2020, 12:05 PM
When cameras cut to the audience when showing comedy acts on stage. Why do we need to see them laughing? Just don't get it.

I'd guess that part of the experience that makes live acts desirable is that it's a shared experience. Same probably applies for canned laughter used in sitcoms.

Peanut Shaz
13-04-2020, 12:14 PM
I'd guess that part of the experience that makes live acts desirable is that it's a shared experience. Same probably applies for canned laughter used in sitcoms.

Possibly but I personally just find it a bit cringey. 😁

13-04-2020, 09:15 PM

🤣

13-04-2020, 10:21 PM

Agreed,Roger Daltrey would never stand for it.

14-04-2020, 08:53 PM
Spending a week trimming a 25m long hedge (Leyland Cypress) from 5m down to 2.5m using a hedge trimmer and hand saw, then tidying up your shed afterwards and finding a chainsaw you'd completely forgotten about. :doh:[emoji1787][emoji1787][emoji1787] Could have done with one of those fighting the thorns over the weekend.

Sent from my SM-T580 using Tapatalk

Mixu62
16-04-2020, 01:21 AM
LinkedIn, specifically the dullards who follow and continually quote that <swear word> richard branson. As if they're being insightful and at cutting edge of business by quoting a man who would happily extract their internal organs and sell them if he could.

CloudSquall
16-04-2020, 03:31 AM
LinkedIn, specifically the dullards who follow and continually quote that <swear word> richard branson. As if they're being insightful and at cutting edge of business by quoting a man who would happily extract their internal organs and sell them if he could.

Two LinkedIn quotes that get right on my tits currently,

"Create your personal brand"

"Post insightful original content"

And the latest fad,

"So far during lockdown I've learned Japanese, gained 200 new clients, lost 10 stone in weight, gained a black belt in Brazilian jiu-jitsu, and taught myself how to play the piano and harp, what skills are you coming out of lockdown with?!"

I have to keep myself off it now, people talk about how toxic Instagram etc can be but for me it's LinkedIn, without exaggeration it just makes me hate everyone and anyone that works in an office.

Mixu62
16-04-2020, 03:40 AM
Two LinkedIn quotes that get right on my tits currently,

"Create your personal brand"

"Post insightful original content"

And the latest fad,

"So far during lockdown I've learned Japanese, gained 200 new clients, lost 10 stone in weight, gained a black belt in Brazilian jiu-jitsu, and taught myself how to play the piano and harp, what skills are you coming out of lockdown with?!"

I have to keep myself off it now, people talk about how toxic Instagram etc can be but for me it's LinkedIn, without exaggeration it just makes me hate everyone and anyone that works in an office.

If I see one more ******' screen shot of an on-line team meeting, or a kid/dog/both sitting on their parents lap while they work......

16-04-2020, 08:08 AM
If I see one more ******' screen shot of an on-line team meeting, or a kid/dog/both sitting on their parents lap while they work......

I was on a conference call yesterday with a very senior director of my work and one of the participants before anyone else could speak said and I quote "before we start I don't think we should be calling these things catch-up sessions, how about a virtual coffee or virtual beer"

One of those pricks that was clearly thinking to himself I will make this director remember me, aye remember you for being a total David Brent ****

I was raging

16-04-2020, 06:38 PM
When people generalise about an entire generation to score petty points. There is a post doing the rounds on social media with a picture of Captain Tom Moore on his, absolutely outstanding, charity walk next to a picture of Sam Smith crying about being in lockdown with a 'this is the difference between generations' type message.

It's absolute bollocks. Sam Smith is 27 years old. How many nurses, junior doctors, porters, cleaners, delivery drivers, retail workers, social workers, carers and so on are between 25 and 35? Why is a singer more representative of an entire generation than any of those people as individuals? If I posted a picture of 2 elderly people chatting in the street and said 'this is the people we are supposed to be protecting, old people are stupid' would that be acceptable?

16-04-2020, 07:08 PM
I didn’t realise how much I get annoyed by dogs barking. Maybe it’s just a Covid Pet Peeve (no pun intended).

Really gets on my nerves.

16-04-2020, 07:22 PM
Dog owners should be ensuring that their pets don't go anywhere near other people when they're out walking. CV19 can be on pets' fur. Not all owners are doing this.

16-04-2020, 07:24 PM
Mine’s a shopping one, I’m not really in any mad rush when I’m shopping in a supermarket in these times but I really want to get in and out as efficiently as possible and obey social distancing guidelines. I’m also very aware that other people don’t want to come within two metres so I am very conscious of not hogging the displays, I pick what I want and move to my next item fairly quickly so someone else can then move to the same items. Today I literally stood for 2 minutes at several intervals waiting while selfish individuals lingered blocking the displays with their trolley length and staring whilst the queue of us obeying the distance rule waited for them to move off. Some people have absolutely no spatial awareness, ffs if you’re at the tinned beans take your tins and ****** move off.

EH6 Hibby
16-04-2020, 08:39 PM
Mine’s a shopping one, I’m not really in any mad rush when I’m shopping in a supermarket in these times but I really want to get in and out as efficiently as possible and obey social distancing guidelines. I’m also very aware that other people don’t want to come within two metres so I am very conscious of not hogging the displays, I pick what I want and move to my next item fairly quickly so someone else can then move to the same items. Today I literally stood for 2 minutes at several intervals waiting while selfish individuals lingered blocking the displays with their trolley length and staring whilst the queue of us obeying the distance rule waited for them to move off. Some people have absolutely no spatial awareness, ffs if you’re at the tinned beans take your tins and ****** move off.

Similar to yours, I was in a rage on Sunday when I last went shopping, the amount of people standing right in the middle of aisles while they look at the shelves. The whole aisle is pretty much off limits because you can’t pass them while observing social distancing. Can they not keep to the sides so people can pass?

16-04-2020, 11:20 PM
I was on a conference call yesterday with a very senior director of my work and one of the participants before anyone else could speak said and I quote "before we start I don't think we should be calling these things catch-up sessions, how about a virtual coffee or virtual beer"

One of those pricks that was clearly thinking to himself I will make this director remember me, aye remember you for being a total David Brent ****

I was raging

Oh this made me laugh.

So much of that going on it’s just not funny.

Still count yourself lucky that you’ve not been invited to a Lean Coffee.

For those fortunate enough to have never had the joy these are described as follows:

Lean Coffee is a structured, but agenda-less meeting. Participants gather, build an agenda, and begin talking. Conversations are directed and productive because the agenda for the meeting was democratically generated.

I mean who the **** comes up with this stuff!!!

17-04-2020, 08:19 AM
Oh this made me laugh.

For those fortunate enough to have never had the joy these are described as follows:

Lean Coffee is a structured, but agenda-less meeting. Participants gather, build an agenda, and begin talking. Conversations are directed and productive because the agenda for the meeting was democratically generated.

I would have thought that would have the opposite effect. :confused:

17-04-2020, 04:21 PM
I would have thought that would have the opposite effect. :confused:

Well quite and why anyone thinks democracy of agendas for meetings was a pressing point to solve for humanity is beyond me [emoji14]

CloudSquall
17-04-2020, 04:31 PM
Oh this made me laugh.

I couldn't live with myself if I thought that up.

17-04-2020, 08:15 PM

Supermarkets have become the théâtres de nos jours. And not in a good way.

Bangkok Hibby
19-04-2020, 06:44 AM

Similar with me but I pulled a couple up for squeezing about 7 or 8 loaves of bread before taking one. They weren't happy when I drew an assistants attention to their behaviour but **** them. The remaining loaves in that section were taken away but don't know what happened after that. Maybe a quick wipe down and back on the shelf?

19-04-2020, 12:36 PM
Grown men on skateboards.

You don't look like Tony Hawk. You look like a 35 year old who has never had sexual intercourse.

19-04-2020, 12:45 PM

You don't look like Tony Hawk. You look like a 35 year old who has never had sexual intercourse.

19-04-2020, 05:31 PM

we all know you've been bullied most of your adult life PB 😉😁

19-04-2020, 09:40 PM
The amount of people who are now giving Piers Morgan a free pass as he's questioning government, still the same guy that was the editor of a newspaper hacking people's phones and ruining lives, ****

19-04-2020, 09:53 PM

You don't look like Tony Hawk. You look like a 35 year old who has never had sexual intercourse.We've got one on our street [emoji1787]

Sent from my SM-G965F using Tapatalk

20-04-2020, 07:35 AM
The amount of people who are now giving Piers Morgan a free pass as he's questioning government, still the same guy that was the editor of a newspaper hacking people's phones and ruining lives, ****

I didn't previously use Twitter much but I've started to use it more in the last couple of weeks. I was pretty concerned inntially when I found myself agreeing with the vast majority of what he has to say at the moment.

I'm not sure if that counts as giving him a free pass to something. :dunno:

20-04-2020, 08:16 AM
I didn't previously use Twitter much but I've started to use it more in the last couple of weeks. I was pretty concerned inntially when I found myself agreeing with the vast majority of what he has to say at the moment.

I think it's a balancing act.

I've found myself grudgingly impressed that he seems to be the only TV interviewer (Channel 4 excepted) not letting ministers away with half answers and deflection. He's asking the questions more serious journalists should be asking.

I balance that by still maintaining a healthy belief that he is an insufferable ****.

20-04-2020, 08:16 AM

I’m the same. He’s been talking sense a lot recently, but he is and always will be one of the biggest ********s around. I can’t even bring myself to watch the TV when he’s on.

Peanut Shaz
20-04-2020, 09:15 AM
Why in almost every TV interview at the moment with MP'S, Reporters, Dr's etc they all have huge bookcases behind them? Is it to make us feel more confident that they are intelligent and know what they're talking about?

20-04-2020, 09:53 AM
Why in almost every TV interview at the moment with MP'S, Reporters, Dr's etc they all have huge bookcases behind them? Is it to make us feel more confident that they are intelligent and know what they're talking about?

I only feel fully confident in what they're saying if I can make out that at least some of the books are written in Latin.

20-04-2020, 11:08 AM

Is it not more a case of interviews being done in their home offices, which is a likely place to put a bookshelf?

Peanut Shaz
20-04-2020, 11:38 AM
Is it not more a case of interviews being done in their home offices, which is a likely place to put a bookshelf?

I'm sure it is. I was being a bit flippant. It's just a thing in our house now. Most interviews start with us saying "bookcase". Childish , I know but it's been a long few weeks. 😁

20-04-2020, 12:02 PM
The royal mail depot changing their opening times but not communicating this on their card. Surely a sticker with "by the way, we shut at 9am now" could have been attached?

3 mile walk for nothing - at least it was a nice morning for it!

Maybe just a punishment for those stupid enough to miss a delivery during a lockdown period. :greengrin

Bangkok Hibby
20-04-2020, 12:06 PM

Yes that's exactly why

20-04-2020, 01:51 PM
The questions from the journalists after the daily briefings by the government.

Either the journalists are thick as **** and can't understand the information that's just been relayed to them, or they decide the question before they go in and just ask it anyway.

20-04-2020, 07:47 PM
No matter what the subject, the place, the experience, the method, the guy that always says he has been there, done that, tried that, used that, blah blah blah.

On a similar level, folk in meetings who always think they are the smart erse by challenging a point even though the point has been proved beyond doubt in that same meeting with evidence and data to back it up.

20-04-2020, 08:15 PM
No matter what the subject, the place, the experience, the method, the guy that always says he has been there, done that, tried that, used that, blah blah blah.

On a similar level, folk in meetings who always think they are the smart erse by challenging a point even though the point has been proved beyond doubt in that same meeting with evidence and data to back it up.

Best way I've ever heard that being described is that if you've been to Tenerife then they've been to Elevenerife :faf:

20-04-2020, 09:25 PM
All the bored isolators that think it’s time to pressure wash their drive...thus washing all the crap and sand onto the pavement and half way down the street before sitting back and admiring their nice clean drive while leaving all the **** for people to walk through / avoid.

Dan Sarf
24-04-2020, 11:09 AM

From Private Eye...

24-04-2020, 02:17 PM
TV Advert Pet Peeve -

Perf with Surf

Get that tae ****

24-04-2020, 03:27 PM
TV Advert Pet Peeve -

Perf with Surf

Get that tae ****

Haha Ive recently seen this advert and the voice of the actress in it annoys me to the extend I need to switch it over!

24-04-2020, 06:32 PM
The coverage given to the fact that Charles & Camiila and William and Kate clapped the NHS last night. Stage managed appearances for the sake of the media coverage mean nothing.

24-04-2020, 08:05 PM
When somebody poses a question in a Facebook group/page and hundreds of people all give the same answer.

https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20200424/c7b1d1fa1fa5c271a1306ed7d906afe0.jpg

24-04-2020, 08:21 PM
When somebody poses a question in a Facebook group/page and hundreds of people all give the same answer.

https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20200424/c7b1d1fa1fa5c271a1306ed7d906afe0.jpg

To be fair, your picture seems to imply that most of them posted at the same time. So perhaps when they started typing there wasn't already a list of the same answers already there?

24-04-2020, 08:35 PM
To be fair, your picture seems to imply that most of them posted at the same time. So perhaps when they started typing there wasn't already a list of the same answers already there?More than 100 people have given the same answer over the last 40 minutes.

24-04-2020, 08:52 PM
The coverage given to the fact that Charles & Camiila and William and Kate clapped the NHS last night. Stage managed appearances for the sake of the media coverage mean nothing.

They looked like they’d never clapped before. Bizarre stuff, as if to say “oooh, we’re still here!”

24-04-2020, 09:02 PM

To be honest, and I fully accept I’m probably in the vast minority, but I find the whole applause for the NHS cringeworthy. The sentiment behind it is spot on, but it’s largely a symptom of the social media age where people are more interested in doing it for reasons of vanity and self image, as opposed to because of a desire to appreciate the NHS, IMO.

My neighbour is a physical therapist for the NHS and has been pitching In over and above in various roles within the NHS during this crisis. I’ve told her how grateful folk are for the people doing as she is but I’m not going out to applaud her or random people I don’t know.

24-04-2020, 09:36 PM
To be honest, and I fully accept I’m probably in the vast minority, but I find the whole applause for the NHS cringeworthy. The sentiment behind it is spot on, but it’s largely a symptom of the social media age where people are more interested in doing it for reasons of vanity and self image, as opposed to because of a desire to appreciate the NHS, IMO.

My neighbour is a physical therapist for the NHS and has been pitching In over and above in various roles within the NHS during this crisis. I’ve told her how grateful folk are for the people doing as she is but I’m not going out to applaud her or random people I don’t know.

I tend to agree with your sentiments, but the 8pm Thursday evening clapping seems to have galvanised neighbourhoods and lifts people’s spirits locally so I can’t criticise it too much, it’s almost become a thing people do for themselves rather than the NHS if you get what I mean.

EH6 Hibby
24-04-2020, 11:21 PM
I tend to agree with your sentiments, but the 8pm Thursday evening clapping seems to have galvanised neighbourhoods and lifts people’s spirits locally so I can’t criticise it too much, it’s almost become a thing people do for themselves rather than the NHS if you get what I mean.

I like it, no matter what people’s reasons are for doing it, from my house just off the shore last night, I could hear ship horns, church bells and a piper as well as people clapping and cheering. It’s bringing everyone together for a few minutes each week, and I think that’s a good thing.

25-04-2020, 12:47 AM

From where I'm looking, which on a Thursday night (or any other night these days) is normally my living room window, it's all about NHS support, but, community interaction should not go underrated.

stuart-farquhar
25-04-2020, 12:08 PM
I'm sure it is. I was being a bit flippant. It's just a thing in our house now. Most interviews start with us saying "bookcase". Childish , I know but it's been a long few weeks. 😁

On most programmes, Newsnight etc, bookcases win against other backgrounds 4 2. Not that I take score!

Bangkok Hibby
25-04-2020, 12:22 PM

I wouldn't agree at all that you're in the vast minority. The majority of people I speak to understand the sentiment but also feel it's now become a nice but somewhat cringeworthy episode. As has been said in other comments here, if it brings communities together for 5 minutes a week that's all good but even then social media is now awash with "look at me playing the bagpipes" type posts.

Edit: Does anyone actually believe that NHS workers, tired beyond belief, scared, their faces red raw with wearing masks all day take any comfort or joy from Charles and Camilla giving them a wee clap.

29-04-2020, 09:11 AM
To be fair, your picture seems to imply that most of them posted at the same time. So perhaps when they started typing there wasn't already a list of the same answers already there?

Excellent - 493 people have answered now - all saying the same thing. :greengrin

01-05-2020, 03:27 PM
I know it can happen any time but really pisses me off that several cars in my street were opened with no sign of damage so probably electronically on Wed night and ransacked looking for valuables.

01-05-2020, 04:08 PM
When the George foreman is not wiped down whilst still hot!! 😠

02-05-2020, 11:56 AM
Mrs decided out of nowhere that she was weeding the garden today, asked if i wanted to help, i said no because, honestly, i hate doing the garden.
Getting grief for not doing something i don’t want to do now, which is apparently different from when i have to phone for takeaway, get the door, go and see what that noise was, unblock a sink, build something, sort out insurance, stuff with the bank, go to parents nights etc, because she hates doing them.

Tomsk
02-05-2020, 12:09 PM
Mrs decided out of nowhere that she was weeding the garden today, asked if i wanted to help, i said no because, honestly, i hate doing the garden.
Getting grief for not doing something i don’t want to do now, which is apparently different from when i have to phone for takeaway, get the door, go and see what that noise was, unblock a sink, build something, sort out insurance, stuff with the bank, go to parents nights etc, because she hates doing them.

I hate gardening. It's just a chore. And a money pit. We have quite a big garden out the back and another wee bit at the front. When I was working I spent half my leisure hours in one or the other. And because I'm the world's worse gardener it never looks any better. Wish i was back in a flat in the toon.

02-05-2020, 03:16 PM

I feel your pain. A classic trap.

My wife has been cleaning out a spare room for the last hour or so. Just started doing it. I’m sitting in the sun. Nothing said. But it will be in a while. No point in now asking if she needs help because it will be rebuffed with a comment around “bit late now” or “no you just away and top up your tan” 😂.

I miss normal Saturdays. It is Saturday isn’t it?

wpj
02-05-2020, 07:07 PM
Going mental here, got my daughter here and can't log onto Netflix or iplayer it's like logging onto NASSA Netflix asking me so many questions. Apparently my log on details are wrong. I pay monthly, why log me out? I he a had a Derick and Clive session sorting it out.

02-05-2020, 07:12 PM
Going mental here, got my daughter here and can't log onto Netflix or iplayer it's like logging onto NASSA Netflix asking me so many questions. Apparently my log on details are wrong. I pay monthly, why log me out? I he a had a Derick and Clive session sorting it out.

Or logging on to Netflix and finding you're on the Pakistani Netflix because your wife had been watching Outlander or Doc Martin before and you then have to change the VPN and reboot Netflix.

wpj
02-05-2020, 07:18 PM
Or logging on to Netflix and finding you're on the Pakistani Netflix because your wife had been watching Outlander or Doc Martin before and you then have to change the VPN and reboot Netflix.

Seriously if I didn't have Prime I would have chucked the telly out. Maybe tomorrow I will regain my patience.
I know you live in Germany and have lots of kinder programmes on at the weekend to keep you happy 😃

03-05-2020, 02:46 PM
I'm clapping for the NHS with the exception of the receptionist at our local surgery. Her "customer service skills" need updating. There's no call for the rudeness she displays towards young and old alike.

Bangkok Hibby
04-05-2020, 12:50 PM
There are many dozens of people interviewed for one reason or another on tv every week just now. The amount who answer questions with a sentence starting with the word "well" is truly amazing. If it was a written answer nobody would use this word first. So common now it seems to be ingrained in the language. We weren't taught this at school.

04-05-2020, 04:06 PM
There are many dozens of people interviewed for one reason or another on tv every week just now. The amount who answer questions with a sentence starting with the word "well" is truly amazing. If it was a written answer nobody would use this word first. So common now it seems to be ingrained in the language. We weren't taught this at school.Well it's better than starting with 'so'!

04-05-2020, 04:46 PM
There are many dozens of people interviewed for one reason or another on tv every week just now. The amount who answer questions with a sentence starting with the word "well" is truly amazing. If it was a written answer nobody would use this word first. So common now it seems to be ingrained in the language. We weren't taught this at school.

I'm more aware of folk saying "So" before any sentence commences. I don't know how it started although I'm blaming the Americans. It's usually their fault.

pollution
04-05-2020, 04:50 PM
The unwanted abuse of the words incredible and incredibly.

04-05-2020, 04:57 PM
Well it's better than starting with 'so'!

So it is!