View Full Version : Pet Peeves IV
ErinGoBraghHFC
24-06-2023, 12:02 AM
Made the mistake of flying out of Prestwick to Barcelona once. We were heading to Primavera festival, and my friend hadn't been abroad. Told him that once we were through security, it's good to sit with a pint and people watch. All sorts of interesting people going all sorts of places.
Went through security and there was one other group of people there. Went to the bar, menu was pretty awful. Asked for their chicken burger.
Sat down, waited for fifteen minutes. "Here's your beef burger". Said I'd ordered a chicken burger. They apologised, took it away.
Ten or fifteen minutes later: "Sorry about that, here's your beef burger, sir".
Just ate the ****ing beef burger.
That’s shan as all **** to be fair but what do you expect from weegies? Learned my lesson within 6 months of moving through here, they’re generally useless [emoji6]
Bridge hibs
24-06-2023, 05:30 AM
Dog prams, what the **** !! Standing at the bus stop and glanced over to see a young lass with a buggy or pram thinking it was a bairn, then I realised the bairn must have a healthy mop of hair and a bit of a sore throat as it barked. She then got on the bus and parked up at the pram/buggy bit
Dugs have ****ing legs, walk the thing ffs !!
24-06-2023, 07:30 AM
Dog prams, what the **** !! Standing at the bus stop and glanced over to see a young lass with a buggy or pram thinking it was a bairn, then I realised the bairn must have a healthy mop of hair and a bit of a sore throat as it barked. She then got on the bus and parked up at the pram/buggy bit
Dugs have ****ing legs, walk the thing ffs !!
Given buses only have 1 space for prams (and a space for wheelchairs) that would be interesting to see how the driver would deal with a second pram needing to access the bus.
Whilst I'm here and on topic, the lack of pram/wheelchair spaces on buses - 2 spaces, sometimes only 1. I'm not sure there's an easy solution though - closest I can manage is having a number of seats which are fold away so can be used normally until there's a chair/pram requirement and then that takes priority (similar to the seats with stickers that they're priority to disabled/pregnant ).
Bridge hibs
24-06-2023, 07:58 AM
Given buses only have 1 space for prams (and a space for wheelchairs) that would be interesting to see how the driver would deal with a second pram needing to access the bus.
Whilst I'm here and on topic, the lack of pram/wheelchair spaces on buses - 2 spaces, sometimes only 1. I'm not sure there's an easy solution though - closest I can manage is having a number of seats which are fold away so can be used normally until there's a chair/pram requirement and then that takes priority (similar to the seats with stickers that they're priority to disabled/pregnant ).Ive seen countless times the pram/wheelchair area full and someone standing at the bus stop in pissing rain and due to lack of spaces the bus driver has declined them, its a shame but I suppose theres nothing else that could be done due to lack of space
If the dug person had been on I would have launched her
24-06-2023, 09:39 AM
My pet peeve about dogs is more about the owners, not having them on a lead and saying "he's harmless" or something similar. I don't care, get yer manky dog off me. Another one is owners picking up the dog poo then just throwing the bag anywhere apart from a bin. If your going to the effort of picking it up then why just chuck it?
24-06-2023, 10:37 AM
Ive seen countless times the pram/wheelchair area full and someone standing at the bus stop in pissing rain and due to lack of spaces the bus driver has declined them, its a shame but I suppose theres nothing else that could be done due to lack of space
If the dug person had been on I would have launched her
Was sitting on a bus a while ago when a pram got on, I was in one of the seats in the pram space but there was room for the pram and the laddie to sit next to me. She sat down next to me then her jakey boyfriend told me to move as I was in the pram seats and he was with the pram! Needless to say I told him to bolt, which he did after moaning and trying to give me the stare. 😂
Bridge hibs
24-06-2023, 12:29 PM
Was sitting on a bus a while ago when a pram got on, I was in one of the seats in the pram space but there was room for the pram and the laddie to sit next to me. She sat down next to me then her jakey boyfriend told me to move as I was in the pram seats and he was with the pram! Needless to say I told him to bolt, which he did after moaning and trying to give me the stare. 😂The stare 🤣
24-06-2023, 09:11 PM
Was sitting on a bus a while ago when a pram got on, I was in one of the seats in the pram space but there was room for the pram and the laddie to sit next to me. She sat down next to me then her jakey boyfriend told me to move as I was in the pram seats and he was with the pram! Needless to say I told him to bolt, which he did after moaning and trying to give me the stare. 😂
Sounds like he was in the right to be fair. :greengrin
25-06-2023, 12:04 AM
😂 If he was the sole pusher of the pram he would have been.
Stairway 2 7
25-06-2023, 04:49 AM
Sorry i agree too. I'd always move for a couple with a buggy, both parents help the kid on the journey and getting off the bus. Although if you've got motility problems you could explain I suppose.
25-06-2023, 07:53 AM
😂 If he was the sole pusher of the pram he would have been.
There's 2 designated seats next to the pram section, I think that's pretty clearly for both parents.
25-06-2023, 09:14 AM
There's 2 designated seats next to the pram section, I think that's pretty clearly for both parents.
I disagree. Tbere are two seats as the bus provides seats for everyone to sit when there isn’t a pram, the pram space is clearly that, there is no requirement to have two people sitting next to the pram, just one is sufficient.
25-06-2023, 09:43 AM
Supermarket trolleys with one dodgy wheel.
Bridge hibs
25-06-2023, 11:02 AM
Supermarket trolleys that end up in streets nowhere near the ****ing supermarkets, take them back you ****ing trollops 🤬
25-06-2023, 04:32 PM
Folk that moan about the transfer thread going off topic and there being no transfer chat, yet having no transfer rumours to offer themselves. If there were rumours they would be being discussed. Folk aren’t withholding new rumours so that they can talk about the off tangent topics instead.
25-06-2023, 04:56 PM
I disagree. Tbere are two seats as the bus provides seats for everyone to sit when there isn’t a pram, the pram space is clearly that, there is no requirement to have two people sitting next to the pram, just one is sufficient.
Each to their own I guess. I'd vacate the seat even if it was just 1 parent with their pram and definitely would if both parents were together with the pram.
25-06-2023, 04:57 PM
Three wheels are sufficient. :wink:
Bridge hibs
25-06-2023, 05:12 PM
Shopping, who actually walks around supermarkets nowadays ? I honestly cant remember the last time I was in a Tesco (apart from a garage one) or Asda, I absolutely despise shopping
My Wife just orders online, park in the bay, fire in the code and a nice person brings it out, open the boot and fire it in, job done 😃
25-06-2023, 05:26 PM
Shopping, who actually walks around supermarkets nowadays ?
Me, nearly every day. Last thing I want is a pile of stuff with use by dates of tomorrow which will end up in the recycle.
25-06-2023, 05:32 PM
Me, nearly every day. Last thing I want is a pile of stuff with use by dates of tomorrow which will end up in the recycle.
Same, but weekly. I prefer to choose my items. :agree:
Bridge hibs
25-06-2023, 05:39 PM
Me, nearly every day. Last thing I want is a pile of stuff with use by dates of tomorrow which will end up in the recycle.I just have bad experiences, whenever Ive had the displeasure of attending a supermarket its been like a chronically bad episode of Supermarket Sweep with middle aged folk running around frantically and on more than one occasion Ive had my heels rammed by some dafty who cant negotiate pushing their trolley between others or have their faces stuck into their mobile phones. Nah, anything bought via online is not wasted, ever
ErinGoBraghHFC
26-06-2023, 06:00 PM
Folk that are just ridiculously irresponsible, especially when they’re old enough to know better. I’ve a customer at work who is in their late 70s and struggles to get about and has 10 cats, Maine Coons as well! She can’t look after them properly (granted that’s why she pays me to come out and help but still ffs), their coats are all matted and they’re terrified of human interaction, obviously not helped by the fact she has 10 of them and can’t socialise any of them properly. They look miserable all the time and it really gets on my nerves, if you’re going to get a pet then make sure you can look after it and don’t bite off more than you can chew, not as if she’s a daft young lassie who just wanted “one of they lovely big cats off TikTok or whatever”, she’s old enough to know what she’s doing.
27-06-2023, 10:37 AM
Putting wild in front of activities that don't need it, eg swimming and camping
Sent from my SM-G990B using Tapatalk
27-06-2023, 10:46 AM
Folk that are just ridiculously irresponsible, especially when they’re old enough to know better. I’ve a customer at work who is in their late 70s and struggles to get about and has 10 cats, Maine Coons as well! She can’t look after them properly (granted that’s why she pays me to come out and help but still ffs), their coats are all matted and they’re terrified of human interaction, obviously not helped by the fact she has 10 of them and can’t socialise any of them properly. They look miserable all the time and it really gets on my nerves, if you’re going to get a pet then make sure you can look after it and don’t bite off more than you can chew, not as if she’s a daft young lassie who just wanted “one of they lovely big cats off TikTok or whatever”, she’s old enough to know what she’s doing.
I dread to think the impact lockdown has had on pets as well. The amount of people I know of that got lockdown pets is crazy. I guess not so much with cats but dogs that were bought during lockdown won’t have been around a lot of people. My mate’s dog goes mental now when there’s people in the house, probably because it had two years of not being used to it.
Then you get idiots like my ex-wife who got a dog during lockdown because she was working from home. She’s always wanted a dog (in fact one of the reasons she gave for leaving me was me not wanting a dog - seriously) but she’s a teacher FFS and is out all day. Surely she must have known she wouldn’t be WfH for long. The last time I saw her was two years ago as we were selling our old house. She said she had underestimated the responsibility of owning a dog and was finding it really tough going. NS Sherlock!
ErinGoBraghHFC
27-06-2023, 07:38 PM
I dread to think the impact lockdown has had on pets as well. The amount of people I know of that got lockdown pets is crazy. I guess not so much with cats but dogs that were bought during lockdown won’t have been around a lot of people. My mate’s dog goes mental now when there’s people in the house, probably because it had two years of not being used to it.
Then you get idiots like my ex-wife who got a dog during lockdown because she was working from home. She’s always wanted a dog (in fact one of the reasons she gave for leaving me was me not wanting a dog - seriously) but she’s a teacher FFS and is out all day. Surely she must have known she wouldn’t be WfH for long. The last time I saw her was two years ago as we were selling our old house. She said she had underestimated the responsibility of owning a dog and was finding it really tough going. NS Sherlock!
Re lockdown, a huuuuuge majority of the most aggressive and mental cats I deal with at work are lockdown pets. And I mean 99%. It was always going to happen, poor wee things are terrified of common noises like the doorbell, unfamiliar voices etc. But hey, the breeders made a mint (with no proper home checks to ensure the household and lifestyle is appropriate, as they’re supposed to) so **** the animals welfare, eh. Winds me up beyond belief.
27-06-2023, 08:45 PM
Might not be lockdown related, but the number of folk with dogs that also employ someone to walk them!!!
28-06-2023, 04:51 AM
Might not be lockdown related, but the number of folk with dogs that also employ someone to walk them!!!
I have a dog walker that comes once a week. Not because I'm too lazy to walk the dog, we walk him several times a day and at least 4.5km on one of those outings.
He loves his weekly outing with his gang and and it's great for his social behaviour. They normally end up in a local lake and by the look of the videos we get sent of them frolicking in the water together, it looks like it's the highlight of his week.
28-06-2023, 06:32 AM
As Hannah says in the vid below, you never know why people get themselves into animal hoarding situations, it’s often linked with mental illness and is almost never an intention to be cruel or mistreat animals. It’s not about age or responsibility and a kinder softer approach is usually a better way to go with these things.
However I do like that the Pet Peeves thread has literally come to talking about pet peeves!
https://youtu.be/OoDYsVlxXs8
28-06-2023, 08:20 AM
That does seem to have increased since lockdown, probably because folk have gone back to a physical work location to some degree. I remember ridiculing the girl that lived next door to me at my last place for having a dog walker come in. That was definitely the exception. Now you see dog walking vans all over the place.
Bringing your dog to work seems to be a thing now as well. I've mentioned previously on this thread that I've had workmen in the house that have brought their dog to the job and expected that the dog could just wander round my house and garden. Bringing your dog to the office seems to be a thing as well. My wife's work's office is on a shared landing with another organisation. Someone brings their dog to the office across the landing and let it roam the communal areas unattended and will often wander into my wife's work at the back of someone. It has become a bit of an issue as someone new started working with my wife who has a dog allergy.
28-06-2023, 11:54 AM
I was in out Thurso office a couple of weeks back and one of the Admin staff brings their dog in everyday. It works.for them and the mood in the office is helped by Spud visiting workspaces at odd times during the day. But most are already.dog people so it's.not an.issue.
The one that got me was radio Two offices.had.it blaring whether anyone wanted it or not. I guess those folks.who had to come in during lockdown, were generally on their own, so got used to it and colleagues accepted it on their more formal return.
Sent from my SM-G990B using Tapatalk
ErinGoBraghHFC
28-06-2023, 02:44 PM
As Hannah says in the vid below, you never know why people get themselves into animal hoarding situations, it’s often linked with mental illness and is almost never an intention to be cruel or mistreat animals. It’s not about age or responsibility and a kinder softer approach is usually a better way to go with these things.
However I do like that the Pet Peeves thread has literally come to talking about pet peeves!
https://youtu.be/OoDYsVlxXs8
I get what you’re saying, but none of that is the animals fault and they’re suffering as a result of it. I’ve obviously calmed down since then and can see it’s not necessarily the woman’s fault that she feels a need to have that many cats, heart just breaks for them every time I have an appointment there. No idea how to go about trying to get a (sustained, as in not me just coming out once every four months to sort the cats out as best as possible) positive outcome for both the cats and the owner with this and I think that’s what annoys me so much about it.
28-06-2023, 02:54 PM
Compulsive liars who feel the need to make up stories about themselves and their recent experiences to make them sound interesting. Yet weeks later they forget the lies they have told you and tell you another “story”that completely contradicts their previous version. People have to realise that you have to have a really good memory to remember the lies you have told, where factual information is far easier to recall. Learnt this many years ago on an investigation and interview techniques course, it certainly is true.
28-06-2023, 04:09 PM
People who just use phrases like 'PC' and 'woke' as generic descriptions for things they don't like.
I was googling today how to inform Tui that we will be travelling with my daughter who has a severe nut allergy so they could request people don't eat nuts on our flight. It's a straightforward process and whilst there is no guarantees provided it's a bit additional peace of mind. During my checks I came across a couple of review websites about Tui flights bemoaning such policies. Apparently one lady felt she shouldn't be inconvenienced because 1 person has a nut allergy (is going 2 and a half hours without a packet of nuts really an inconvenience?) She called on Tui to 'stop this woke PC nonsense' and stated everyone with allergies only has them because of restrictive diets or don't have them at all.
Suitably chastised I decided not to bother contacting Tui because wanting to minimise my child's risk of dying from anaphylaxis makes me woke and we can't have that
Fuzzywuzzy
28-06-2023, 08:29 PM
Next door neighbour has two rotties that don't see past the garden. It's a sin.
Fuzzywuzzy
28-06-2023, 08:31 PM
People who just use phrases like 'PC' and 'woke' as generic descriptions for things they don't like.
I was googling today how to inform Tui that we will be travelling with my daughter who has a severe nut allergy so they could request people don't eat nuts on our flight. It's a straightforward process and whilst there is no guarantees provided it's a bit additional peace of mind. During my checks I came across a couple of review websites about Tui flights bemoaning such policies. Apparently one lady felt she shouldn't be inconvenienced because 1 person has a nut allergy (is going 2 and a half hours without a packet of nuts really an inconvenience?) She called on Tui to 'stop this woke PC nonsense' and stated everyone with allergies only has them because of restrictive diets or don't have them at all.
Suitably chastised I decided not to bother contacting Tui because wanting to minimise my child's risk of dying from anaphylaxis makes me woke and we can't have that
I took it as a given that you weren't allowed nuts on a flight anymore because of allergies. I love nuts and the kids live nuts but I'm not going to jeopardize someone else.
One of the areas I used to work in there was a ban on lentil soup as someone was allergic to them
28-06-2023, 08:48 PM
I took it as a given that you weren't allowed nuts on a flight anymore because of allergies. I love nuts and the kids live nuts but I'm not going to jeopardize someone else.
One of the areas I used to work in there was a ban on lentil soup as someone was allergic to them
Very few airlines sell nuts on their flights but only a handful have a complete no nut policy as standard. I love nuts too but don't eat them at home for obvious reasons, peanut butter on toast is my treat at work. Even leaving aside personal circumstances not eating nuts on a flight seems less inconvenient to me than diverting and landing somewhere other than my intended destination for a medical emergency.
I used to deliver pizzas for Papa John's many moons ago. They were a totally nut free zone and it was made clear anyone taking nuts on site would be dismissed for gross misconduct, no exceptions or second chances.
29-06-2023, 03:44 PM
People on social media who get tagged by a mate, significant other etc and then put a photo of that photo on their feed and then tag the other half/mate that initially tagged them. Sometimes this descends into an "Inception - esque" spiral and it slightly fuses my brain
Fuzzywuzzy
30-06-2023, 05:46 AM
Couples that have to say 'happy birthday/anniversary/Christmas etc' on social media when they live with the person. Say it face to face, phone them sor send them a message
30-06-2023, 11:07 AM
I get what you’re saying, but none of that is the animals fault and they’re suffering as a result of it. I’ve obviously calmed down since then and can see it’s not necessarily the woman’s fault that she feels a need to have that many cats, heart just breaks for them every time I have an appointment there. No idea how to go about trying to get a (sustained, as in not me just coming out once every four months to sort the cats out as best as possible) positive outcome for both the cats and the owner with this and I think that’s what annoys me so much about it.
My post was in no way criticising you, you're at the sharp end dealing with the situation and it is frustrating for you and of course the cats suffer. I think animal hoarders need to be looked after and given help. It is unhealthy for them as well as the animals. I think the soft approach works and the woman you're dealing with should have most of the cats removed from her care, because of the suffering they face. Hoarded animals often go untreated by vets and can die horrible deaths due to their owners mental health issues, the hoarders don't mean it to happen but is inevitably does. I am glad you are helping her but speaking to the SSPCA would be a good starting point for you to get advise, they have good experience dealing with animal hoarders and they will probably be able to offer you some help with the situation. The issue for yourself is that she employs you to do this job so if you come in with people wanting to remove her cats you will in her eyes be the bad guy even though you're concern is for her and the cats wellbeing. Good luck with this I hope you manage to get the situation sorted and everyone ends up happy.
30-06-2023, 11:16 AM
Couples that have to say 'happy birthday/anniversary/Christmas etc' on social media when they live with the person. Say it face to face, phone them sor send them a message
Up there with the “date night” chat for me.
I cba with tagging yourself/people into places at any time, but the ones that really annoy me the ones like:
Bob is at ‘my huge comfy bed’
Jackie is at ‘lounging in my hot tub’
no one ****ing cares
MagicSwirlingShip
01-07-2023, 08:44 PM
When a interviewer starts a question with “Obviously…”
02-07-2023, 03:27 PM
Compulsive liars who feel the need to make up stories about themselves and their recent experiences to make them sound interesting. Yet weeks later they forget the lies they have told you and tell you another “story”that completely contradicts their previous version. People have to realise that you have to have a really good memory to remember the lies you have told, where factual information is far easier to recall. Learnt this many years ago on an investigation and interview techniques course, it certainly is true.
I'm in a group chat with about 15 people on Messenger and there's this one person who is a compulsive liar. Every week he's at it.
04-07-2023, 09:36 AM
Nuisance calls every single night at the shop from people claiming to be our energy company/another energy company/U.K. energy company/ Scottish power etc etc. All claiming to reduce my energy bills by 30% or more. Absolute lying cheating erseholes trying to get as much info from you that they would already know if they were actually the company that supplies us. It’s tiresome, time consuming and bloody annoying. Have tried the polite route, the firm route and last night the mad lunatic ranting route to basically tell them to fecki off. They never give up 😡
04-07-2023, 12:51 PM
When courier companies claim a photograph of a parcel at someone else’s door is proof that they delivered the parcel to your address!
04-07-2023, 01:58 PM
Nuisance calls every single night at the shop from people claiming to be our energy company/another energy company/U.K. energy company/ Scottish power etc etc. All claiming to reduce my energy bills by 30% or more. Absolute lying cheating erseholes trying to get as much info from you that they would already know if they were actually the company that supplies us. It’s tiresome, time consuming and bloody annoying. Have tried the polite route, the firm route and last night the mad lunatic ranting route to basically tell them to fecki off. They never give up 😡
Have you tried the Telephone Preference Service? It reduced my nuisance calls substantially.
04-07-2023, 02:07 PM
Have you tried the Telephone Preference Service? It reduced my nuisance calls substantially.
No, but that sounds like a plan. 👍
04-07-2023, 04:58 PM
No, but that sounds like a plan. [emoji106]I'd also recommend one of the phones that blocks calls (international, number withheld etc) mine can also be set that all other calls go through a message system where they have to say who they are, the phone then rings and give you their message... if you don't want to take the message they just get a ringtone ongoing. Any numbers you have in your directory or in the allowed list will just ring straight through.
Not sure how well that would work if you're taking orders from customers to be fair.
International and withheld would be blocked tho :dunno:
Edit: just looked, it's blocked 26 calls since I last looked at it a few weeks ago.
04-07-2023, 05:05 PM
When courier companies claim a photograph of a parcel at someone else’s door is proof that they delivered the parcel to your address!I had similar, except it was a picture to prove their attendance as agreed and that I wasn't there to take delivery.... as I got the text with the "proof" showing a completely different door I looked out the window to see the truck drive past!
pollution
04-07-2023, 06:16 PM
When courier companies claim a photograph of a parcel at someone else’s door is proof that they delivered the parcel to your address!
Sounds like Evri in my experience.
05-07-2023, 07:37 PM
Those with Netflix will know what I mean
On episode 6, really getting into it then we found out!
06-07-2023, 08:45 AM
People interrupting your story when you’re closer to the start than the finish because you’ve triggered something similar that happened to them and they can’t wait to tell you about it.
07-07-2023, 12:59 PM
On social media when someone replies to a question just to say they don't know the answer.
Saw someone on Facebook the other day ask for recommendations for a holiday in Turkey. First reply: 'never been, sorry.'
Just why?
07-07-2023, 02:10 PM
On social media when someone replies to a question just to say they don't know the answer.
Saw someone on Facebook the other day ask for recommendations for a holiday in Turkey. First reply: 'never been, sorry.'
Just why?
Despite how social media works there are still a lot of people who do not understand. My Auntie (who is in her mid 80s mind) would have answered the same because she thinks she's been asked the question. I have tried to explain that just because it appears on your timeline, it doesn't necessarily mean it is speaking to you directly but she doesn't get it. I believe she still does it but I haven't been on FB for years. Thank god she isn't on twitter that would be a complete clusterfeck
Just why?
you see the same on Amazon.
would these hiking boots be suitable for going up a Munro in wet weather?
dunno, I only use them for driving
why bother?
Just why?
Oh at least they are trying. The people who comment 'first' or to a slightly lesser extent 'following' send me into a frenzy of rage!
07-07-2023, 04:03 PM
you see the same on Amazon.
would these hiking boots be suitable for going up a Munro in wet weather?
dunno, I only use them for driving
why bother?
I think amazon is partly to blame for this, sometimes you get a notification on your phone with a question about a product you bought, so it's no surprise you get these types of answers.
Bridge hibs
07-07-2023, 04:44 PM
10 year old vapers (or near enough) last week I decided to dust down my old penny farthing bike and stopped at a shop in the pans for a bottle of water. With the bike being ancient I thought nobody would want to steal it but I didnt fancy the walk home so I asked a couple of kids outside the shop to keep an eye on my bike for me
Aye mister one of them piped up, if you get me a banana flavoured space bar. ****ing hell I thought, lovely kid wants a sweetie, probably cost me 50p but at least I would still have a bike
Looking around the sweetie section like a dafty I couldnt find a banana flavoured space bar, I asked the friendly shopkeeper who handed me a yellow vape stick and asked for £3.99 !! Aye ****ing right the cheeky wee *******s !! 😵
I left the shop, bike intact but with my ears full of ye miserable auld ******* from the lovely friendly local kids 🤣
07-07-2023, 04:50 PM
10 year old vapers (or near enough) last week I decided to dust down my old penny farthing bike and stopped at a shop in the pans for a bottle of water. With the bike being ancient I thought nobody would want to steal it but I didnt fancy the walk home so I asked a couple of kids outside the shop to keep an eye on my bike for me
Aye mister one of them piped up, if you get me a banana flavoured space bar. ****ing hell I thought, lovely kid wants a sweetie, probably cost me 50p but at least I would still have a bike
Looking around the sweetie section like a dafty I couldnt find a banana flavoured space bar, I asked the friendly shopkeeper who handed me a yellow vape stick and asked for £3.99 !! Aye ****ing right the cheeky wee *******s !! [emoji43]
I left the shop, bike intact but with my ears full of ye miserable auld ******* from the lovely friendly local kids [emoji1787]Bargain!.. the pub is £6 lol
Bridge hibs
07-07-2023, 05:21 PM
Bargain!.. the pub is £6 lol
****, I should have bought one, nae wonder I got cursed 🤣
07-07-2023, 05:27 PM
****, I should have bought one, nae wonder I got cursed [emoji1787]Reap what you sow ma man, reap what you sow... :rofl:
07-07-2023, 05:50 PM
Just why?
Sorry, no idea.
Bridge hibs
07-07-2023, 05:57 PM
Reap what you sow ma man, reap what you sow... :rofl:
Think I will just avoid the pans now, or just cycle very very fast through the place 🤣
07-07-2023, 08:32 PM
Middle and old aged men moaning about everything.
ErinGoBraghHFC
08-07-2023, 12:05 PM
Roads being closed for orange walks, very annoying
08-07-2023, 08:42 PM
Sorry, no idea.
😂😂😂😂
09-07-2023, 08:10 AM
When people do something nice and there always has to be a negative.
Pictures on Twitter of Billy Gilmour at the St Roch's v Glenafton game yesterday. A queue of young kids all wanting pictures, autographs etc. and by all accounts he stood for ages engaging with every single child. The comments on Twitter '**** him he's a hun', 'did he touch the green bits or is it just his maw', 'surprised he would show his face there'.
Just **** off and park your own prejudices for 30 seconds.
09-07-2023, 08:32 AM
Sorry, no idea.
Sitting having lunch at Thirty Knots in Sth Queensferry, in walks a guy in his forties wearing the obligatory Rangers top and grey joggers wtf why?
ErinGoBraghHFC
09-07-2023, 12:54 PM
Pictures on Twitter of Billy Gilmour at the St Roch's v Glenafton game yesterday. A queue of young kids all wanting pictures, autographs etc. and by all accounts he stood for ages engaging with every single child. The comments on Twitter '**** him he's a hun', 'did he touch the green bits or is it just his maw', 'surprised he would show his face there'.
That’s shan and Billy seems to be a decent bloke to be fair. His maw is a right roaster though
Fuzzywuzzy
09-07-2023, 03:00 PM
Sitting having lunch at Thirty Knots in Sth Queensferry, in walks a guy in his forties wearing the obligatory Rangers top and grey joggers wtf why?
Funny, I was at the three bridges yesterday and there was a Sign saying please wait to be seated. Boy in rangers top marches straight in not giving a ****
10-07-2023, 03:37 PM
In a similar vein, every time a celebrity does something good, specifically a generous donation if some sort, there's always some torn faced throbber going "aye, very good, that's like me giving a fiver" which is a) factually false, 5 grand and 5 quid are nothing alike especially to the good cause involved and b) have they ever donated a fiver to charity in their lives?
Almost certainly have they ****.
10-07-2023, 05:40 PM
In a similar vein, every time a celebrity does something good, specifically a generous donation if some sort, there's always some torn faced throbber going "aye, very good, that's like me giving a fiver" which is a) factually false, 5 grand and 5 quid are nothing alike especially to the good cause involved and b) have they ever donated a fiver to charity in their lives?
Almost certainly have they ****.
In an also similar vein people who say 'we should help out our own first' or 'what about our ex soldiers and veterans'.
Always the type of people who have never done a single thing to help anyone else in their lives.
stuart-farquhar
12-07-2023, 08:44 AM
It's to make him feel superior. A poor education, low paid or no job. Never reads ANYTHING, except the Record. A total failure. But with a Glasgow Rantic top he's The Man.
12-07-2023, 11:20 AM
In an also similar vein people who say 'we should help out our own first' or 'what about our ex soldiers and veterans'.
Always the type of people who have never done a single thing to help anyone else in their lives.
Very true.
The same type of people that disgracefully hijacked the memory of Lee Rigby for their own political agenda.
Or have giant union jacks with poppies at football matches, for pretty much the same reason.
Fuzzywuzzy
13-07-2023, 05:12 PM
My wife's inability to cook chicken properly.....
ErinGoBraghHFC
13-07-2023, 05:14 PM
My wife uses meatballs to make stovies, pisses me right off. It’s wrong.
13-07-2023, 05:58 PM
Overcooked?
I know so many people who have such a fear of undercooking chicken or pork that they end up cremating it so it's like eating a wooly sock.
They are also terrified of leaving meat to rest so end up serving it straight from the oven or reheating it after it has rested.
Bridge hibs
13-07-2023, 06:10 PM
My Wifes inability to cook 😤
Fuzzywuzzy
13-07-2023, 06:52 PM
Overcooked?
I know so many people who have such a fear of undercooking chicken or pork that they end up cremating it so it's like eating a wooly sock.
They are also terrified of leaving meat to rest so end up serving it straight from the oven or reheating it after it has rested.
Undercooking, gives me the fear when she cooks chicken
13-07-2023, 07:36 PM
Overcooked?
Undercooking, gives me the fear when she cooks chickenOur air fryer has been a game changer with chicken ... its always well cooked and no longer comes out like bits of rubber!
Fuzzywuzzy
13-07-2023, 08:00 PM
Our air fryer has been a game changer with chicken ... its always well cooked and no longer comes out like bits of rubber!
I need to use it more. Got the board of lunch book but barely use the thing
13-07-2023, 08:07 PM
Supermarkets changing where stuff is. It makes the shop so much longer.
14-07-2023, 05:42 AM
Undercooking, gives me the fear when she cooks chicken
Beer can chicken is the way to go. You don't need to use beer, you can fill the can with any liquid (water with lemon juice) and you get a nice roasted chicken on the outside and juicy steamed chicken on the inside.
Fuzzywuzzy
14-07-2023, 02:50 PM
This is a newly discovered pet peeve.
Please forgive me🙏.
https://www.instagram.com/reels/CulF78zLbrM/
w pilton hibby
14-07-2023, 03:45 PM
This is a newly discovered pet peeve.
Please forgive me🙏.
https://www.instagram.com/reels/CulF78zLbrM/
My latest Pet Peeve are posters who post stuff on apps I don't use 😂
14-07-2023, 06:01 PM
Crap ticketing platforms. Posted this on the PM board about the Hibs ticketing site. Doesn’t like my saved cards. Says the details don’t match (presumably the 3 digit code to the card number). It most certainly does. Then whenever I put in my card details it somehow changes my card type that I select from the drop down so it then rejects that. Takes a few attempts to get it through.
Then I’ve just checked my email and I’ve received an email from The Pleasance box office telling me the order for tickets I booked last night has been cancelled as the payments didn’t go through, followed by a list of possible reasons, none of which apply. Checked my bank account and the money has come off. The site also kicked the tickets out of my basket after logging in. Just rubbish
pollution
14-07-2023, 06:11 PM
Just bought Singha beer: now brewed in England ffs . A real pet hate. I didn't mind paying extra for the foreign brewed beer....
EH6 Hibby
14-07-2023, 08:55 PM
Crap ticketing platforms. Posted this on the PM board about the Hibs ticketing site. Doesn’t like my saved cards. Says the details don’t match (presumably the 3 digit code to the card number). It most certainly does. Then whenever I put in my card details it somehow changes my card type that I select from the drop down so it then rejects that. Takes a few attempts to get it through.
Then I’ve just checked my email and I’ve received an email from The Pleasance box office telling me the order for tickets I booked last night has been cancelled as the payments didn’t go through, followed by a list of possible reasons, none of which apply. Checked my bank account and the money has come off. The site also kicked the tickets out of my basket after logging in. Just rubbish
The payment may look like it’s came off but if the venue has said it hasn’t then they have probably cancelled the payment. This means it will show as pending for a few days but then will disappear from your account. Just letting you know so you can check if it’s something you really want to see.
Peanut Shaz
14-07-2023, 09:16 PM
I had real bother trying to add a new card. All details correct and it looked like it saved okay. Tried to purchase tickets for David Gray testimonial dinner and it kept rejecting as saying details not correct.after several attempts gave up and called ticket office. Paid over the phone with exact same card no problem.
ErinGoBraghHFC
14-07-2023, 09:40 PM
The price to buy/rent a property in Morningside. Genuinely just don’t get it. Been in the flats on Comiston Road several times with work and they’re nothing special imo. Just a flat.
16-07-2023, 03:38 PM
People with no patience on transport.
When you are waiting to get off a bus or train and someone waiting to get on stands right at the door blocking the way off for everyone or worse tries to fight their way on when people are still getting off.
Or on a flight when the second the plane hits the tarmac you get someone out their seat, overhead locker open pushing their way out into the aisle. Where are you going? Nothing better than walking out the airport 40 minutes later whilst Mr Pushy is still standing at baggage reclaim getting increasingly frustrated as his luggage is last off.
16-07-2023, 06:51 PM
When you are waiting to get off a bus or train and someone waiting to get on stands right at the door blocking the way off for everyone or worse tries to fight their way on when people are still getting off.
This in spades! I take delight in smacking them with my case. "Oh sorry!"
Bridge hibs
16-07-2023, 07:15 PM
This in spades! I take delight in smacking them with my case. "Oh sorry!"Or when ignorant gits of all ages stand right in front of the conveyer and no **** else (me in particular) cant see the bloody cases, many times Ive had to chase the bloody thing
Oh and the cases never come out together !! My Wifes is always bloody first 🤬
16-07-2023, 10:59 PM
Anyone else’s Mrs/Mr do this?
Stuck a film on tonight. Started watching it, 5 mins in “oh I know his face from somewhere”
Next thing I know, she’s away on Wikipedia telling me what films he’s been in, who he’s married to and what his sons are called. Then it moves onto what other films the other actors have been in.
Would’ve been as well turning the film off because I couldn’t hear a thing.
ErinGoBraghHFC
16-07-2023, 11:15 PM
Stuck a film on tonight. Started watching it, 5 mins in “oh I know his face from somewhere”
Next thing I know, she’s away on Wikipedia telling me what films he’s been in, who he’s married to and what his sons are called. Then it moves onto what other films the other actors have been in.
Yes, all the time. Usually lasts about 2 days after the film as finished.
17-07-2023, 02:06 PM
The Wikipedia wormhole, I know it well......
17-07-2023, 02:08 PM
Overcooked?
Reheating it after it has rested?!? Wtf, isn't there a home for people like that?
More and more, particularly with paracetamol, there’s not just the silver foil covering the pills, but a wee layer of cellophane which is a ******* to get to burst, usually ending up with the pill snapping before the bloody thing bursts open
17-07-2023, 08:43 PM
More and more, particularly with paracetamol, there’s not just the silver foil covering the pills, but a wee layer of cellophane which is a ******* to get to burst, usually ending up with the pill snapping before the bloody thing bursts open
Oh definitely. A sore head is bad enough without having to search on the floor for the missing half of a paracetamol before the dog eats it.
18-07-2023, 09:45 PM
This is a good one, I’ve a back condition that requires a range of meds and some of them are absolutely brutal to open.
My peeve is gig ticket prices. My daughters got tickets for Taylor Swift, for them both to go (and with the cheapest tickets available when they tried to buy them) it’s the best part of £600. FWIW, if I’d known it was that much I’d have said they couldn’t go but i was told after the event.
Apparently Taylor Swift is going to make over a billion dollars from this tour. Surely to **** she could have stood to make the tickets affordable in that case?!
And **** Ticketmaster as well, for their part in it.
18-07-2023, 09:54 PM
This is a good one, I’ve a back condition that requires a range of meds and some of them are absolutely brutal to open.
My peeve is gig ticket prices. My daughters got tickets for Taylor Swift, for them both to go (and with the cheapest tickets available when they tried to buy them) it’s the best part of £600. FWIW, if I’d known it was that much I’d have said they couldn’t go but i was told after the event.
Apparently Taylor Swift is going to make over a billion dollars from this tour. Surely to **** she could have stood to make the tickets affordable in that case?!
And **** Ticketmaster as well, for their part in it.
The whole saga of Taylor Swift tickets was just mad.
I registered for the sale to get a ticket for my wife and daughter. Didn't get a code so was put on a waiting list. Email today to say I was now off the waiting list and had a code. Got in after a queue and for all 3 Edinburgh shows the only tickets left were £661 VIP packages. Said VIP package consists of a seat in the lower tier, a tote bag, a lanyard and 4 pictures. WTF? Then there was well over £50 worth of fees per ticket from Ticketmaster. All in it was well over £1300 for 2 tickets.
The worst part is I seriously considered paying it and really had to talk myself out of it. My mate got 2 tickets in the 3rd row from the back of the upper tier and paid over £250 for the privilege. His sister in law bought the album so got a priority ticket period, she bought tickets for all 3 nights coming in at over £1200. Each to their own but I can't get my head round it.
ErinGoBraghHFC
18-07-2023, 09:58 PM
I registered for the sale to get a ticket for my wife and daughter. Didn't get a code so was put on a waiting list. Email today to say I was now off the waiting list and had a code. Got in after a queue and for all 3 Edinburgh shows the only tickets left were £661 VIP packages. Said VIP package consists of a seat in the lower tier, a tote bag, a lanyard and 4 pictures. WTF? Then there was well over £50 worth of fees per ticket from Ticketmaster. All in it was well over £1300 for 2 tickets.
The worst part is I seriously considered paying it and really had to talk myself out of it. My mate got 2 tickets in the 3rd row from the back of the upper tier and paid over £250 for the privilege. His sister in law bought the album so got a priority ticket period, she bought tickets for all 3 nights coming in at over £1200. Each to their own but I can't get my head round it.
You know the worst about it is, I didn’t even realise she was as popular as she clearly is to be able to demand those prices. I remember her first album coming out when I was in primary school, she was all the rage for wee lassies back then in the pre-one direction days but I hadn’t heard anything about her in ages until these tickets went on sale. Is she genuinely that popular or is it just another Prime-esque hype thing?
18-07-2023, 10:18 PM
Overheard someone talking on the work today about their kid wanting £660 tickets for Taylor Swift…thought they must have got a bit confused but sheesh that’s just insane. Utterly mental stuff that.
ErinGoBraghHFC
18-07-2023, 10:25 PM
Overheard someone talking on the work today about their kid wanting £660 tickets for Taylor Swift…thought they must have got a bit confused but sheesh that’s just insane. Utterly mental stuff that.
Easy for me to say this with no bairns but there’s not a hope in hell I’d be paying that especially for a young child, they’ll likely not remember it and definitely won’t appreciate the show properly. For a teenager that’s different I suppose, more of an understanding of money and will remember it forever if they’re into Taylor swift. Still robbery though.
19-07-2023, 07:21 AM
Easy for me to say this with no bairns but there’s not a hope in hell I’d be paying that especially for a young child, they’ll likely not remember it and definitely won’t appreciate the show properly. For a teenager that’s different I suppose, more of an understanding of money and will remember it forever if they’re into Taylor swift. Still robbery though.
I've got 2 kids, toaty just now but I've heard they grow up. Over my twitching corpse would I be paying anything like that for a concert
We didn't pay anything like that for any of our tickets, and wouldn't have tbh. We have vip seated ones and front standing ones which were £195 and £175 each. Still ludicrous pricing.
19-07-2023, 09:52 AM
You know the worst about it is, I didn’t even realise she was as popular as she clearly is to be able to demand those prices. I remember her first album coming out when I was in primary school, she was all the rage for wee lassies back then in the pre-one direction days but I hadn’t heard anything about her in ages until these tickets went on sale. Is she genuinely that popular or is it just another Prime-esque hype thing?
Taylor Swift has never gone away. She's released five, six or seven albums that have all been well received and well supported. In addition, her love life has kept her in the popular news.
Her selling so many tickets is no surprise.
The cost of them is absolutely absurd from what I can see though!
19-07-2023, 10:45 AM
Taylor Swift has never gone away. She's released five, six or seven albums that have all been well received and well supported. In addition, her love life has kept her in the popular news.
I have no idea who she is.
19-07-2023, 11:20 AM
I’m not sure I could name any of her songs, and I’m sure she’s good at what she does, but when my wife and daughter are listening to her it just sounds like all the other generic chart songs. I got a pair of tickets for The Who for £200 at Edinburgh castle the other week. Was quietly pleased when my wife didn’t get tickets. It’s just greed.
19-07-2023, 01:04 PM
We didn't pay anything like that for any of our tickets, and wouldn't have tbh. We have vip seated ones and front standing ones which were £195 and £175 each. Still ludicrous pricing.
Jeez for a concert!
That’s some price to be paying, you obviously think it was worth paying so hope you or whoever is going enjoy it.
ErinGoBraghHFC
19-07-2023, 01:14 PM
Her selling so many tickets is no surprise.
The cost of them is absolutely absurd from what I can see though!
One of my clients at work has got tickets to all of her Edinburgh shows as well as one at Wembley, don’t want to even think about how much that’s skinned them. If it’s worth it to them then fair play, I wouldn’t pay that for an Oasis or The Smiths (obviously won’t ever happen now, RIP Andy) reunion never mind someone who’s showing no signs of not touring again. Madness.
Jeez for a concert!
That’s some price to be paying, you obviously think it was worth paying so hope you or whoever is going enjoy it.
Thank you. I wasn't going to go but my son bought me tickets as a gift. Weirdly I logged on and bought his tickets as he was at work (he paid for his own) and he got logged in after work with his own code and bought 2 for me as a thank you as I'd stayed up after a nightshift to get his tickets.
19-07-2023, 03:01 PM
Madness.
How much for their gig? 🤔😀
ErinGoBraghHFC
19-07-2023, 03:04 PM
How much for their gig? [emoji848][emoji3]
£39 seated at P&J Aberdeen [emoji106]
19-07-2023, 03:14 PM
£39 seated at P&J Aberdeen [emoji106]
That's one step beyond what I would pay.
ErinGoBraghHFC
19-07-2023, 03:21 PM
That's one step beyond what I would pay.
Nurse!
19-07-2023, 09:02 PM
£660 for that seems mad.
Had the chance of VIP tickets at £430 which included a welcome cocktail and a 2-hour pre show open bar, then presumably a good seat (upper west).
Noone wanted to spend that to accompany my wife though, and whilst I quite like Taylor Swift I'm not really much of a fan of live music so shelling out £860 wasn't my cup of tea just for a night out.
I was initially surprised that anyone could have not heard of her but I guess it just all depends on what you like as she's the second most streamed artist on Spotify behind someone I've never heard of (Bad Bunny?).
19-07-2023, 10:05 PM
I must admit to being that guy, does my head in if I can’t recall an actors name and/or what he/she has previously been in. It’s a last resort but IMDB is my friend.
19-07-2023, 10:23 PM
£660 for that seems mad.
Had the chance of VIP tickets at £430 which included a welcome cocktail and a 2-hour pre show open bar, then presumably a good seat (upper west).
Noone wanted to spend that to accompany my wife though, and whilst I quite like Taylor Swift I'm not really much of a fan of live music so shelling out £860 wasn't my cup of tea just for a night out.
I was initially surprised that anyone could have not heard of her but I guess it just all depends on what you like as she's the second most streamed artist on Spotify behind someone I've never heard of (Bad Bunny?).
Bad bunny is huge in the Latin world, so much so he's crossed over into the US market and is a huge huge star, fun fact he's also appeared in a few WWE events and is a natural at wrestling as well:agree:
19-07-2023, 11:46 PM
Bad bunny is huge in the Latin world, so much so he's crossed over into the US market and is a huge huge star, fun fact he's also appeared in a few WWE events and is a natural at wrestling as well:agree:
The first I’d heard of him was in WWE.
Absolutely mental prices people are paying. I love live music but not a hope in hell would I pay the prices mentioned further up the thread.
20-07-2023, 10:16 AM
My Pet Peeve for today.
The fact that the principle of 'Innocent Until Proven Guilty' is widely accepted to apply to all kinds of people, across all of society... except Husbands
The following example being an anonymous couple who both work from home:
W: "What are you doin' in ma office?"
H: "Putting some clothes in the washing basket, dear"
W: "Who put the washin' basket in ma office?"
H: "Uhm you did, dear"
W: "Well..... don't be so noisy the next time!"
20-07-2023, 01:55 PM
The first I’d heard of him was in WWE.
Absolutely mental prices people are paying. I love live music but not a hope in hell would I pay the prices mentioned further up the thread.
Ditto, but he's absolutely massive, it's wild!
22-07-2023, 10:03 AM
People who use the term snowflake against you as a defence when you pull them up for saying or posting something totally inappropriate.
23-07-2023, 01:44 PM
Decorating
Usef professionals in the past, but with wife on maternity leave it's DIY as we're paying someone to lay the flooring.
Beds dismantled and walls painted taken up the majority of weekend. Now got the pleasure of wallpapering shortly (which I've never attempted in my life)
Aches and pains all over
23-07-2023, 03:06 PM
Decorating
Usef professionals in the past, but with wife on maternity leave it's DIY as we're paying someone to lay the flooring.
Beds dismantled and walls painted taken up the majority of weekend. Now got the pleasure of wallpapering shortly (which I've never attempted in my life)
Aches and pains all over
Oh with you on that. Always takes 5 times longer than you think and always something crops up that’s a pain to deal with, or you don’t have the tools for or you didn’t buy on the already ludicrously expensive trip to B&Q or whatever!
23-07-2023, 06:24 PM
The length of time people take to leave after they've said they are leaving.
My father in law visits us every Sunday and stood up to leave at 6.55 , it's now 7,23 and he's only got as far as the door. Still talking away.
Kin liberty so it is 😄
23-07-2023, 06:36 PM
People who use the term snowflake against you as a defence when you pull them up for saying or posting something totally inappropriate.
English snowflake 😀
Bridge hibs
23-07-2023, 06:38 PM
People who retire from a job, have a few weeks off, return part time initially, go full time then ****ing retire again !!
Had a colleague retire a few years ago, we all chipped in and bought him an expensive present and a good old knees up send off at a pub where he didnt have to put his hands in his pockets
He was a great guy mind you and there were a few tears shed as he had been around for many years. Suddenly a few weeks later he reappears just to add some experience to the teams, two days a week at first, then three and then back to full time
Then after a year he decides to call it a day again so the boss does card, whip round and organises another jolly. Sorry but I may sound a miserable ******* but he got not another penny from me, nor did I attend his second leaving do
In fairness, he hasnt been back, yet !!
23-07-2023, 07:05 PM
Transpennie Express.
23-07-2023, 07:08 PM
Transpennie Express.
A ****ing abysmal service. Every time I have used it there has been a problem. Delays, carriages missing, last second platform alterations, a cancellation.......
23-07-2023, 08:16 PM
A ****ing abysmal service. Every time I have used it there has been a problem. Delays, carriages missing, last second platform alterations, a cancellation.......
We had to get a Uber to Preston due to no trains from Manchester going to Preston and now on the train from Preston to Glasgow.
Alfiembra
24-07-2023, 07:38 AM
People who retire from a job, have a few weeks off, return part time initially, go full time then ****ing retire again !!
Had a colleague retire a few years ago, we all chipped in and bought him an expensive present and a good old knees up send off at a pub where he didnt have to put his hands in his pockets
He was a great guy mind you and there were a few tears shed as he had been around for many years. Suddenly a few weeks later he reappears just to add some experience to the teams, two days a week at first, then three and then back to full time
Then after a year he decides to call it a day again so the boss does card, whip round and organises another jolly. Sorry but I may sound a miserable ******* but he got not another penny from me, nor did I attend his second leaving do
In fairness, he hasnt been back, yet !!
Had to have a smile at this one as a similar thing happened to me, I got paid off from a job and had the card and the whip round and night out, and only a few days after finishing got a call asking me to come back as one of the guys they kept in preference to me had handed in his notice. Made them sweat for a few days before agreeing to go back. I was given a wad of cash in a card when I left thought it only fair to hand it back and put it into the gift for the person leaving.
Bridge hibs
24-07-2023, 07:50 AM
Had to have a smile at this one as a similar thing happened to me, I got paid off from a job and had the card and the whip round and night out, and only a few days after finishing got a call asking me to come back as one of the guys they kept in preference to me had handed in his notice. Made them sweat for a few days before agreeing to go back. I was given a wad of cash in a card when I left thought it only fair to hand it back and put it into the gift for the person leaving.Fair play mate, that greedy ******* lapped it up and quite happily accepted another whip round and swally 🤣
Green Man
24-07-2023, 08:36 AM
Bad coffee. My morning coffee is a big part of starting my day, and I’ve just had a cup from the office coffee shop that’s very disappointing. My day’s probably ruined now.
pollution
24-07-2023, 10:00 AM
Bad coffee. My morning coffee is a big part of starting my day, and I’ve just had a cup from the office coffee shop that’s very disappointing. My day’s probably ruined now.
I know this feeling. A morning coffee followed by espressos in the afternoon especially on holiday used to be so important to me.
Then I started to ask myself if I really liked coffee or was it a routine; bearing in mind the coffee element is perhaps 20p maximum ( if that ) and that if I had a bad one
I was scunnered for the rest of the day so I gave them up, full stop. I didn't miss them at all and got out of the incessant routine.
Don't mean to be a killjoy ! I drink tea instead.
24-07-2023, 10:37 AM
Definitely. We were away up North in a holiday cottage last week and I even checked if they had a coffee machine. Turns out they didn't so I loaded our own De Longhi bean machine into the car to much raised eyes from my wife. She had to eventually admit for once that I was right :greengrin
24-07-2023, 10:42 AM
I know this feeling. A morning coffee followed by espressos in the afternoon especially on holiday used to be so important to me.
Then I started to ask myself if I really liked coffee or was it a routine; bearing in mind the coffee element is perhaps 20p maximum ( if that ) and that if I had a bad one
I was scunnered for the rest of the day so I gave them up, full stop. I didn't miss them at all and got out of the incessant routine.
Don't mean to be a killjoy ! I drink tea instead.
There was a point when I was drinking about 9 or 10 cups of coffee a day.
An espresso when I woke up and usually another before I left the house, cup of instant when I got to work, another at about 9.00 when others started to arrive, one about 10.30, one at lunchtime, one mid afternoon, one after dinner and then a final espresso later in the evening.
I had to stop as when I missed out the caffeine withdrawal was notable and my sleep pattern was ****ed. I'll still have a coffee but on nothing like the same level. Green tea or just hot water and lemon is my go to at work these days.
24-07-2023, 01:34 PM
I used to love good coffee and was willing to pay a lot for it. Unfortunately when I developed liver disease I started vomiting bile in the morning which had the effect of making coffee (even the expensive good stuff) taste horrible, not just for that day but for a week after an episode of vomiting. Ended up just giving up coffee altogether! Ironically Mr liver doctor has told me coffee is good for the liver. I drink tea now which never satisfies like a good coffee.
24-07-2023, 03:13 PM
When you are on hold to a company and listening to the music and every now and then the music cuts of for a split second in the middle of the song and you think that maybe someone is about to answer but nah they are just teasing you, 20 minutes and counting
24-07-2023, 05:03 PM
Folk that run a joke into the ground. The poster that has some sort of Leigh Griffiths online persona. No one even replies to their Griffiths posts now, not sure what they are getting from it.
24-07-2023, 05:41 PM
The complete lack of perspective from some people being interviewed during these wildfires in Greece.
I get it. It's money lost, being stuck in an airport and there being a lack of communication is crap, by all means have a moan. But don't describe it as 'my worst nightmare' or 'absolute hell' when people are losing their homes, businesses and quite possibly their lives. You have had a holiday cut short or cancelled, if that's your worst nightmare then you are both lucky and lacking imagination.
24-07-2023, 05:56 PM
The complete lack of perspective from some people being interviewed during these wildfires in Greece.
I get it. It's money lost, being stuck in an airport and there being a lack of communication is crap, by all means have a moan. But don't describe it as 'my worst nightmare' or 'absolute hell' when people are losing their homes, businesses and quite possibly their lives. You have had a holiday cut short or cancelled, if that's your worst nightmare then you are both lucky and lacking imagination.
The irony that the tourism industry has played a huge part in climate change seems to be lost on most people. We're beginning to reap what we've sown and still a huge percentage of people can't join the dots and we even have politicians now standing on a platform to slow down or even stop measures aimed at slowing down climate change because there's votes to be won. We're doomed.
24-07-2023, 07:15 PM
Companies that expect employees to buy into some sort of ethos along the lines of "we're more than just coworkers, we're a family". Just **** off and give me my pay so I can go home and feed my real family. I worked for a company like this and it just made me realise how susceptible some people are to cults.
24-07-2023, 09:07 PM
Where’s the Fox’s Classics nowadays? Cannae seem to buy them in any the supermarkets.
25-07-2023, 11:27 AM
Whenever I have a day off that my wife doesn't, a big list of "stuff needing done" seems to appear. When she's got a day off that I don't (like today) it is "oh I didn't want to be spending my day off doing washing but guess I have to".
Edit: Guessing it’s either her time of the month or I’ve done something to piss her off :faf:
I emptied the bin and went outside to put the bag in the wheelie bin. She was putting a new bag in which I was about to do once I got back inside… “do I have to everything?” Jeez if I had put the leaking bag on the floor whilst I changed the bag, that would have been a no-no too.
Seeing some dirty glasses she’d left next to think sink… I washed them not realising she was in the shower… running the kitchen tap makes the shower go cold… “could you not have waited”
25-07-2023, 07:22 PM
Companies that expect employees to buy into some sort of ethos along the lines of "we're more than just coworkers, we're a family". Just **** off and give me my pay so I can go home and feed my real family. I worked for a company like this and it just made me realise how susceptible some people are to cults.
That 'family' nonsense really does my nut in as well, and sadly it's becoming ever more widespread.
I just left a small company where the owner was a total nutjob, didn't pay his employees on time, and treated people like ****... and even he came out with this 'we're a family' crap.
You also get the nonsense from the same kind of people that their main aim is to change people's lives, given them 'financial freedom', or to help spread needed knowledge to all their clients.
No, your main purpose is just to bloody well make money (the same reason people work for you), so just admit it and stop spouting all the other crap.
25-07-2023, 08:21 PM
That 'family' nonsense really does my nut in as well, and sadly it's becoming ever more widespread.
I just left a small company where the owner was a total nutjob, didn't pay his employees on time, and treated people like ****... and even he came out with this 'we're a family' crap.
You also get the nonsense from the same kind of people that their main aim is to change people's lives, given them 'financial freedom', or to help spread needed knowledge to all their clients.
No, your main purpose is just to bloody well make money (the same reason people work for you), so just admit it and stop spouting all the other crap.
Amen 🙏
Appointment times! I made an appointment for today at 2.35pm, I got an email a couple of days after making the appointment saying to arrive 10 mins before my appt time - so why don't they just make it 2.25 then? But of course I toddle along for 2.25 today and nobody even looked my way til 2.50 and that was only to take my name
Bridge hibs
25-07-2023, 08:37 PM
Dentists cancelling my appointments !! Due to have a double tooth extraction in May, received a text to say due to unforseen circumstances (Dentist is on maternity leave) they have had to cancel my appointment in which I had taken two days annual leave for
I phoned to re-schedule and was told next appointment now would be early October, what the **** !!! 🤬
By the way it is a very busy and popular dental practice, surely to **** they could have fitted me in before then
ErinGoBraghHFC
26-07-2023, 06:04 AM
Dentists cancelling my appointments !! Due to have a double tooth extraction in May, received a text to say due to unforseen circumstances (Dentist is on maternity leave) they have had to cancel my appointment in which I had taken two days annual leave for
I phoned to re-schedule and was told next appointment now would be early October, what the **** !!! [emoji2959]
By the way it is a very busy and popular dental practice, surely to **** they could have fitted me in before then
I’m loving the unforeseen circumstances bit not goimh to lie mate, did they think she’d just ate too many bags of crisps until the bairn came [emoji23][emoji23][emoji23]
26-07-2023, 08:00 AM
I phoned to re-schedule and was told next appointment now would be early October, what the **** !!! 🤬
I hear you on the dentist front, they make things more difficult than it needs to be, I needed to get my check up but knew I'd need a couple of fillings so asked if I could book a back to back double appointment, one for the check up and one for the fillings, got told it doesn't work that way, I'd need to go get my check up, they'd tell me what I needed done and then I could book an appointment for that
Went and got the check up, got told I needed two fillings and the earliest I could get the next appointment was 7 weeks later
Bridge hibs
26-07-2023, 03:50 PM
I’m loving the unforeseen circumstances bit not goimh to lie mate, did they think she’d just ate too many bags of crisps until the bairn came [emoji23][emoji23][emoji23]
Sent from my iPhone using TapatalkI think they were keeping with the confidentiality thing when they sent the text and email, however when I phoned to rebook she said yeah she didnt realise when she booked me in she was going off on mat leave 🤣
Bridge hibs
26-07-2023, 03:53 PM
I hear you on the dentist front, they make things more difficult than it needs to be, I needed to get my check up but knew I'd need a couple of fillings so asked if I could book a back to back double appointment, one for the check up and one for the fillings, got told it doesn't work that way, I'd need to go get my check up, they'd tell me what I needed done and then I could book an appointment for that
Went and got the check up, got told I needed two fillings and the earliest I could get the next appointment was 7 weeks laterYeah its pretty chronic to be honest. I was due treatment just before covid and then obviously no dental work for around 2 years, my teeth have disintegrated in that time so the initial work has changed ten fold. Pain in the arse because I work all over the shop and I have to book annual leave for these appointments 🤬
ErinGoBraghHFC
26-07-2023, 09:13 PM
Yeah its pretty chronic to be honest. I was due treatment just before covid and then obviously no dental work for around 2 years, my teeth have disintegrated in that time so the initial work has changed ten fold. Pain in the arse because I work all over the shop and I have to book annual leave for these appointments [emoji2959]
The dentists have been grim since I can remember to be honest, I’ve a massive chip in one of my bottom teeth but it doesn’t hurt yet. I’m not bothering getting it sorted until it starts to hurt because I couldn’t be arsed with the hassle getting an appointment.
27-07-2023, 05:16 PM
Hibs
I had a tooth break last year around June, got an emergency appointment with the new dentist as mine had retired. She looked at the tooth, it was OK with no pain so organised 2 long appointments, 2 weeks before the the appointment I got a call cancelling both appointments and got told I am now on a waiting list as she had left the surgery and they are now short of dentists. Been with them for 25 years too, so called around dentists in Portobello and got one who put me on a waiting list. Got seen 2 weeks ago and waiting to get proper appointments, dental industry is a bloody mess, too many dentists going private.
Bridge hibs
30-07-2023, 05:44 PM
I had a tooth break last year around June, got an emergency appointment with the new dentist as mine had retired. She looked at the tooth, it was OK with no pain so organised 2 long appointments, 2 weeks before the the appointment I got a call cancelling both appointments and got told I am now on a waiting list as she had left the surgery and they are now short of dentists. Been with them for 25 years too, so called around dentists in Portobello and got one who put me on a waiting list. Got seen 2 weeks ago and waiting to get proper appointments, dental industry is a bloody mess, too many dentists going private.I agree mate, its so frustrating, I have the Hygienist on the 4th of August and a further appointment to possibly extract 1 or more teeth in October. Im going to have to cancel the first appointment as I simply dont have enough annual leave left so imo the extractions are more important than the Hygienist
If I keep getting extractions then that will nullify the need for seeing a Hygienist as I wont have any teeth left 🤣
31-07-2023, 08:22 AM
Said it before. I’ll say it again. Pun threads.
One or 2 can be amusing, but sometimes its stretching into 30+ posts, mind numbing
31-07-2023, 02:05 PM
One or 2 can be amusing, but sometimes its stretching into 30+ posts, mind numbing
What punishments would you like to see handed out for such transgressions?
31-07-2023, 02:22 PM
Public flogging.
31-07-2023, 02:24 PM
Folk who don’t cut their hedges.
made to rewatch the Inter match again? :greengrin Too far? :faf:
31-07-2023, 02:43 PM
made to rewatch the Inter match again? :greengrin Too far? :faf:
Article 3 - the right not to be tortured or treated in an inhuman or degrading way is one of the rights protected by the Human Rights Act.
:rules:
31-07-2023, 04:23 PM
What PUNishments would you like to see handed out for such transgressions?
Perhaps I should've posted it like this. 😁
31-07-2023, 05:07 PM
Yes! If it is forcing folk to duck or go on the road to get past, get it sorted! It should have been sorted months ago!
31-07-2023, 06:00 PM
Hibs’ social media.
Sorry.
31-07-2023, 08:47 PM
From a wildlife point of view hedges shouldn't be cut during nesting season. August at the earliest.
Perhaps I should've posted it like this. 😁
hah apologies I missed that completely :greengrin
01-08-2023, 10:40 AM
Supermarkets.
They are just places where hope goes to die.
I usually go to Asda and there are almost never any trolleys at the door so you have to walk back to a trolley bay in the car park to get one. Said trolley is always filthy (remember during COVID when supermarkets actually cleaned trolleys and baskets for a few months). The stores themselves are always a bit grotty looking as well. You start at the fruit and veg which is always really sad looking. Going around it seems the main aim is pushing people towards buying high margin junk food with said items dominating prominent positions and always with deals trying to push you towards it. Stock availability seems increasingly crap (as an example last night Asda had no fresh carrots. Not loose, not the cheap bags, not the bigger bags and not the expensive organic ones, literally not a single fresh carrot to be had). You have a choice of scanning as you go or self scanning at the checkout, if you are lucky you might get 1 or 2 checkouts open but employing actual humans seems an inconvenience for most stores. You come out and when going to return your trolley inevitably the first 2 or 3 bays you go to will be rammed full because employing enough people to collect them in good time means slightly lower profits and most people are decent enough to keep going until they find a bay they can squeeze their trolley in so they don't bother.
The worst part is I know there is a choice. I can take a bit longer and spend a bit more and shop in nice local shops with real people, local food and higher quality but I choose convenience and that's why they get away with it.
01-08-2023, 12:48 PM
Supermarkets.
I usually go to Asda and there are almost never any trolleys at the door so you have to walk back to a trolley bay in the car park to get one. Said trolley is always filthy (remember during COVID when supermarkets actually cleaned trolleys and baskets for a few months). The stores themselves are always a bit grotty looking as well. You start at the fruit and veg which is always really sad looking. Going around it seems the main aim is pushing people towards buying high margin junk food with said items dominating prominent positions and always with deals trying to push you towards it. Stock availability seems increasingly crap (as an example last night Asda had no fresh carrots. Not loose, not the cheap bags, not the bigger bags and not the expensive organic ones, literally not a single fresh carrot to be had). You have a choice of scanning as you go or self scanning at the checkout, if you are lucky you might get 1 or 2 checkouts open but employing actual humans seems an inconvenience for most stores. You come out and when going to return your trolley inevitably the first 2 or 3 bays you go to will be rammed full because employing enough people to collect them in good time means slightly lower profits and most people are decent enough to keep going until they find a bay they can squeeze their trolley in so they don't bother.
The worst part is I know there is a choice. I can take a bit longer and spend a bit more and shop in nice local shops with real people, local food and higher quality but I choose convenience and that's why they get away with it.
The Asda at the Jewel is one of the most depressing places on earth. Apart from all your justified peeves it's just dimly lit and gloomy. Used to go there for crusty rolls if I was in the post office but even they're crap now.
01-08-2023, 12:56 PM
The Asda at the Jewel is one of the most depressing places on earth. Apart from all your justified peeves it's just dimly lit and gloomy. Used to go there for crusty rolls if I was in the post office but even they're crap now.
That's my usual one and you're right. I feel genuinely gloomy and irritable for ages after having go in.
My wife works there for 20 hours a week and I honestly don't know how she does it. It's like the land that light and happiness forgot.
01-08-2023, 01:26 PM
Supermarkets.
I remember visiting hypermarkets in France growing up and they felt like the opposite of all that.
The drive to remove human interaction from our lives in the name of profit is something I think we all need to be concerned about but that's probably a conversation for another thread.
Green Man
01-08-2023, 03:35 PM
Supermarkets.
I was in Asda in Livi yesterday for the first time in years. Hopefully it’s years before I’m back again, it was grim.
pollution
01-08-2023, 06:04 PM
I was in Asda in Livi yesterday for the first time in years. Hopefully it’s years before I’m back again, it was grim.
All Asdas are grim: cheap prices, cheap decor.
dunno if it’s the livi Asda specifically, or more generic, but the amount of empty shelves around the store, with very few staff restocking, whilst there’s always 20-30 minimum (no exaggeration) staff going about picking online orders.
not a criticism of the staff, but of the management and their attitude to getting the shelves stocked
01-08-2023, 06:52 PM
dunno if it’s the livi Asda specifically, or more generic, but the amount of empty shelves around the store, with very few staff restocking, whilst there’s always 20-30 minimum (no exaggeration) staff going about picking online orders.
not a criticism of the staff, but of the management and their attitude to getting the shelves stocked
I'm in Livi Asda on a daily basis (often morning and afternoon).
My advice would be: if you're looking for a plentiful choice of fresh fruit, veg and other short shelflife stuff like chilled meats etc go in the morning.
They fully restock the shelves on the Nightshift.
If you're after standard tinned, packaged or non foodstuffs - or in my case a post work bottle of wine - then you should find it okay in the afternoon.
As mentioned above most of the staff seem to be fulfilling online orders - so if you aren't able to pop in as frequently as I do AND you hate the whole experience maybe ordering online would be better...?
*Not aimed specifically at you MCD.
01-08-2023, 07:26 PM
From a wildlife point of view hedges shouldn't be cut during nesting season. August at the earliest.
My neighbour hasn’t cut there hedge or grass front and back since last year, going down the path is a nightmare, I have said something but nothing has been done, my missus uses a wheelchair so not very nice getting cobwebs in your face, it is practically grown to my side of pathway, I’m 4 in a block and I’m the only one to cut my grass and hedge the others are rented, students, family from abroad and a crazy family, don’t know if it’s worthwhile getting in touch with the council about it.
My advice would be: if you're looking for a plentiful choice of fresh fruit, veg and other short shelflife stuff like chilled meats etc go in the morning.
If you're after standard tinned, packaged or non foodstuffs - or in my case a post work bottle of wine - then you should find it okay in the afternoon.
As mentioned above most of the staff seem to be fulfilling online orders - so if you aren't able to pop in as frequently as I do AND you hate the whole experience maybe ordering online would be better...?
good to know Brian, cheers :aok:
it’s not the experience that bothers me as much as not being able to get what I’m looking for :greengrin
01-08-2023, 07:53 PM
Agree with the sentiment PB, I’ve got a couple of decent Lidls that are reasonably new and they’re at least nice, clean, bright places to be.
But the whole supermarket shopping experience in the general is ****. Produce has slipped massively and I’m finding Lidls fruit and veg in particular is often disappointing, but I don’t think it’s as bad as it was.
We ordered online during covid and found it really liberating initially but the swaps became a real irritation.
01-08-2023, 08:52 PM
My neighbour hasn’t cut there hedge or grass front and back since last year, going down the path is a nightmare, I have said something but nothing has been done, my missus uses a wheelchair so not very nice getting cobwebs in your face, it is practically grown to my side of pathway, I’m 4 in a block and I’m the only one to cut my grass and hedge the others are rented, students, family from abroad and a crazy family, don’t know if it’s worthwhile getting in touch with the council about it.
To be honest I would. Sounds like you have problem neighbours. My reference to nesting birds is easily solved but they all sound lazy beggars.
Green Man
02-08-2023, 11:18 AM
Good point about online orders. That’s another of my pet peeves, being in a restaurant or takeaway and your food taking forever because they’re doing tons of orders for Deliveroo or whatever.
02-08-2023, 12:29 PM
My neighbour hasn’t cut there hedge or grass front and back since last year, going down the path is a nightmare, I have said something but nothing has been done, my missus uses a wheelchair so not very nice getting cobwebs in your face, it is practically grown to my side of pathway, I’m 4 in a block and I’m the only one to cut my grass and hedge the others are rented, students, family from abroad and a crazy family, don’t know if it’s worthwhile getting in touch with the council about it.If they're rented through an agency it's well worth contacting them, in vast majority of cases tenants need to keep the place tidy as part of the let.
If a Landlord gets wind of the situation they'd also push for something to be done, otherwise they'll be left paying for a gardener at the end of the tenancy (deposit only stretches so far!)
02-08-2023, 01:17 PM
I didn’t really take notice of a lot of things until I met my wife. Her sister uses a wheelchair and it is a nightmare when you are out with her between the hedges not being cut back, trees not being cut back, cars parked on the kerb, cars parked in awkward places (like over the end of a pedestrian zone so you can’t get out), cars parked over the dipped kerbs, street furniture, etc.
02-08-2023, 01:19 PM
I didn’t really take notice of a lot of things until I met my wife. Her sister uses a wheelchair and it is a nightmare when you are out with her between the hedges not being cut back, trees not being cut back, cars parked on the kerb, cars parked in awkward places (like over the end of a pedestrian zone so you can’t get out), cars parked over the dipped kerbs, street furniture, etc.
That reminds me, the digging up of pavements to lay completely unnecessary additional fibre networks.
Caversham Green
02-08-2023, 04:07 PM
When TV presenters mispronounce place names. I just switched on the telly to hear the narrator of Antiques Road Trip say the next stop was Cromarty, pronouncing it Crowmarty with the emphasis on the second syllable.
I accept that us ordinary mortals might get place names wrong but the briefest of research would have given this idiot the right pronunciation.
02-08-2023, 04:48 PM
When TV presenters mispronounce place names. I just switched on the telly to hear the narrator of Antiques Road Trip say the next stop was Cromarty, pronouncing it Crowmarty with the emphasis on the second syllable.
Disgraceful. He can get to Falkirk.
pollution
02-08-2023, 06:21 PM
I accept that us ordinary mortals might get place names wrong but the briefest of research would have given this idiot the right pronunciation.
That reminds me of when Gordon Ramsey pronounced Brechin as Breckon !
03-08-2023, 12:04 PM
Online Reviews:
When you're looking for a trades-person to get some job done, or want to go on holiday and are choosing a hotel, it's helpful to get some feedback from previous customers.
Unfortunately, there's a whole industry out there that deals in providing fake reviews for businesses, both positive and negative (in the case of the latter, to damage the competition).
This is something that's been going on for a while now, mostly with 'sweat shop' businesses writing reviews for clients, but this is apparently now moving on to AI software, providing fake reviews that are much more difficult to detect
https://www.irishexaminer.com/opinion/commentanalysis/arid-41184352.html
I've had experience myself of staying at Hotels/B&Bs that were nothing like the glowing reviews on TripAdvisor (e.g. none of the online reviews for the hotel in Rothesay mentioned the mushrooms growing on the bedroom carpet)
pollution
04-08-2023, 12:23 PM
Loch Ness monster guff that feeds off the impressionable and tourists.
Utter drivel.
goosano
04-08-2023, 02:53 PM
Modern rolls of sellotape. It is now made so thin that it is really hard to find the end on the roll and when you do it try to.pull it up, it splits into thin slivers. The old stuff was much better
Bridge hibs
04-08-2023, 04:08 PM
Clingfilm, hate the stuff with a passion, just cant seem to get the perfect wrap with it as it goes all squonky
However I still persevere with it because when my Wife makes my piece she wraps it up with so much cling film my break is over before I get my bloody piece unwrapped !! Im sure in a previous life it was her job to wrap up the Egyptian mummies !!
She has Egyptian lineage, makes sense 😃
04-08-2023, 04:22 PM
Modern rolls of sellotape. It is now made so thin that it is really hard to find the end on the roll and when you do it try to.pull it up, it splits into thin slivers. The old stuff was much better
Clingfilm, hate the stuff with a passion, just cant seem to get the perfect wrap with it as it goes all squonky
However I still persevere with it because when my Wife makes my piece she wraps it up with so much cling film my break is over before I get my bloody piece unwrapped !! Im sure in a previous life it was her job to wrap up the Egyptian mummies !!
She has Egyptian lineage, makes sense 😃
Both of these do my head in nowadays. They don't do the job they are meant to do!
04-08-2023, 04:36 PM
Loch Ness monster guff that feeds off the impressionable and tourists.
Utter drivel.
Just for you...
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CraZH-7C0S0
Caversham Green
05-08-2023, 04:53 PM
That reminds me of when Gordon Ramsey pronounced Brechin as Breckon !
And that reminds me of a story my old man used to tell - I was never sure whether it was true or not.
Dad was a policeman in Brechin back in the sixties (that bit is definitely true, cos I was there) and one day a truck driver asked him for directions to an address he'd never heard of. The driver showed Dad his docket and the address was actually in Brecon in Wales. The poor guy had asked someone where Brecon was and they'd told him it was up in Scotland so he'd assumed the spelling on the docket was wrong.
As I say, pinch of salt taken but Dad was adamant that it was true.
Bridge hibs
05-08-2023, 05:14 PM
And that reminds me of a story my old man used to tell - I was never sure whether it was true or not.
Dad was a policeman in Brechin back in the sixties (that bit is definitely true, cos I was there) and one day a truck driver asked him for directions to an address he'd never heard of. The driver showed Dad his docket and the address was actually in Brecon in Wales. The poor guy had asked someone where Brecon was and they'd told him it was up in Scotland so he'd assumed the spelling on the docket was wrong.
As I say, pinch of salt taken but Dad was adamant that it was true.
I believe that, a few years ago when I was in my garden in Musselburgh a white delivery van stopped (Matthew Clark wines and beer) and the driver asked me where Whitecraigs bowling club was, I said I hadnt known it called that but there was a Deantown bowling club in Whitecraigs
The guys had travelled through from Glssgow and it was around 4ish in the afternoon, his partner re checked the delivery note and said naw Whitecraigs bowling club, I said yeah Whitecraig is 5 mins up the road but again I think its known as a different name
The place they were looking for was Whitecraigs bowling club, in Newton Mearns Glasgow, a free kick away from their depot 🤣
They had deliveries from Leith to Portobello so their logistics team obviously put that delivery onto the same run 🤣
05-08-2023, 08:31 PM
Ushers in shows telling people to stop playing on their phones… it’s more annoying and disruptive than the phone use itself. I say this as a former cinema usher (albeit pre smart phones)
07-08-2023, 08:36 AM
Trying to find a supermarket that stocks British beer in Cornwall. The shelves are packed with foreign beer with the only 2 British options I've found is Carling or John Smiths 3.5%.
07-08-2023, 08:44 AM
Radio Scotland changing where you can listen to things. Yesterday listening on the app, as soon as the game finished they said you can now follow the post match stuff on FM. Then tuning in on the app sometimes they only have certain things available on the regular frequencies. Really winds me up.
07-08-2023, 11:04 AM
Perhaps this comment should be on the recommendations thread, but one of my best ever purchases was a sellotape dispenser. A nice big heavy one, tears the tape off and leaves an end for next time you need to use it.
https://ik.imagekit.io/pimberly/595e406f0f15f30010780448/tr:w-1000,h-1000,cm-pad_resize/06b697cd/61389f02b226b652360001f8/HT40265_01.jpg?product_name=Rapesco-Germ-Savvy-500-Tape-Dispenser-Heavy-Duty-Black-RPTD500B.jpg
07-08-2023, 12:23 PM
Perhaps this comment should be on the recommendations thread, but one of my best ever purchases was a sellotape dispenser. A nice big heavy one, tears the tape off and leaves an end for next time you need to use it.
https://ik.imagekit.io/pimberly/595e406f0f15f30010780448/tr:w-1000,h-1000,cm-pad_resize/06b697cd/61389f02b226b652360001f8/HT40265_01.jpg?product_name=Rapesco-Germ-Savvy-500-Tape-Dispenser-Heavy-Duty-Black-RPTD500B.jpg
They’re good. Not sure I’ve seen once since school!
07-08-2023, 01:00 PM
HMRC's unwillingness to come into the 21st Century.
2 letters today in the same post.
Letter 1. We have recalculated your tax bill.
Letter 2. Because of the recalculation, we have sent you a repayment.
So... money spent on paper, printing and postage , that could have been better spent on saving the ****ing trees that they cut down every year.
07-08-2023, 02:03 PM
**Sob sob** 'Oh only one person turned up to my Fringe show, it's so unfair' **sob sob**
Last year that happened to someone. He got up on stage, done his show properly and by a stroke of luck a critic waiting to see another show got wind of it, he got a bit publicity and has enjoyed a bit of a career breakthrough since. Fair play, he went out and done his job and reaped the rewards.
Shock, horror this year someone had one person in their audience, banded it all over social media and now they have sold a shed load of tickets. You can't argue it's not been effective 2nd time round but it's so transparent. I've been to loads of shows at which the audience has comprised anything from 2 to half a dozen people. Most performers have just got on with it, maybe made the odd self deprecating joke and realised that's the way it goes. I took my daughter to a show last year and the audience was the 2 of us and another parent and child. The guy was great and his social media featured the 'audience joke' which was part of his show and made no mention of the audience. As the Fringe wore on he was playing to bigger and bigger audiences thanks to a couple of good reviews and putting in the hard yards flyering. We went back a second time and it was sold out.
As I said no doubt bleating on social media is effective but I hope it doesn't become a thing.
07-08-2023, 02:09 PM
Exactly what I have, had one for years, great at Christmas.
Bridge hibs
07-08-2023, 02:39 PM
**Sob sob** 'Oh only one person turned up to my Fringe show, it's so unfair' **sob sob**
Last year that happened to someone. He got up on stage, done his show properly and by a stroke of luck a critic waiting to see another show got wind of it, he got a bit publicity and has enjoyed a bit of a career breakthrough since. Fair play, he went out and done his job and reaped the rewards.
Shock, horror this year someone had one person in their audience, banded it all over social media and now they have sold a shed load of tickets. You can't argue it's not been effective 2nd time round but it's so transparent. I've been to loads of shows at which the audience has comprised anything from 2 to half a dozen people. Most performers have just got on with it, maybe made the odd self deprecating joke and realised that's the way it goes. I took my daughter to a show last year and the audience was the 2 of us and another parent and child. The guy was great and his social media featured the 'audience joke' which was part of his show and made no mention of the audience. As the Fringe wore on he was playing to bigger and bigger audiences thanks to a couple of good reviews and putting in the hard yards flyering. We went back a second time and it was sold out.
As I said no doubt bleating on social media is effective but I hope it doesn't become a thing.Was that recent one not reported as a publicity stunt to sell tickets for her show, as reports are she done the same last year ?
Georgie Grier
Standing beside a photo of her poster, she wrote on August 15, 2022: "Just had a cry because the only people who turned up to my first show were my parents.
"But when I had said cry in the bathroom, some other lovely Fringe performers gave me words of encouragement. And I guess two people is better than none?#EdinburghFringe."
One Twitter user said: "Two years in a row, same stunt pulled (look at date of tweet) Wonder if Georgie will go for three in a row next year and get away with it?!'
Eaststand
07-08-2023, 02:52 PM
Trying to find a supermarket that stocks British beer in Cornwall. The shelves are packed with foreign beer with the only 2 British options I've found is Carling or John Smiths 3.5%.
Do the local Morrisons in Cornwall not sell bottles of St Austell Proper Job Cornish beer(IPA) They sold it pre COVID, and if you can find some, it's a lovely bottle of beer 🍺
07-08-2023, 03:12 PM
Do the local Morrisons in Cornwall not sell bottles of St Austell Proper Job Cornish beer(IPA) They sold it pre COVID, and if you can find some, it's a lovely bottle of beer 🍺
Thanks E, I'll keep a look out for it. :thumbsup:
ErinGoBraghHFC
07-08-2023, 03:14 PM
Do the local Morrisons in Cornwall not sell bottles of St Austell Proper Job Cornish beer(IPA) They sold it pre COVID, and if you can find some, it's a lovely bottle of beer [emoji481]
My local one certainly does, very tasty
07-08-2023, 05:23 PM
Pricks who think everyone else needs to hear their ***** music.
07-08-2023, 06:33 PM
Probably unique to me as I’m a dinosaur, but I still solely listen to music from my iTunes library on my phone. I use it just like an I-pod, which I’d probably still be using if it could fit all my music on it.
Anyway, iTunes syncing with my phone when I add new music is temperamental, but what annoys me most is the album covers. No matter what I do it shows the wrong album cover when I play music, often for a random artist I don’t even have. Trivial, but still irritates me.
07-08-2023, 06:50 PM
Probably unique to me as I’m a dinosaur, but I still solely listen to music from my iTunes library on my phone. I use it just like an I-pod, which I’d probably still be using if it could fit all my music on it.
Anyway, iTunes syncing with my phone when I add new music is temperamental, but what annoys me most is the album covers. No matter what I do it shows the wrong album cover when I play music, often for a random artist I don’t even have. Trivial, but still irritates me.
Haha! I gave up on iTunes some time ago.
Do you remember when they gave everyone a U2 album? Whether you wanted it or not??
This one million times from people on trains with crappy headphone or no headphones to buskers and selfish neighbours who blast their music. Everyone of them should be fined!!
07-08-2023, 09:38 PM
Suppose you could download the album covers and paste them into the tracks' properties in iTunes. Time consuming though!
I use iTunes and an iPod. Works fine for me.
ErinGoBraghHFC
07-08-2023, 09:55 PM
This one million times from people on trains with crappy headphone or no headphones to buskers and selfish neighbours who blast their music. Everyone of them should be fined!!
Harsh on buskers imo, I like them
08-08-2023, 09:05 AM
People who are obsessed with money.
I had to have breakfast with a potential client this morning. He was one of those guys who must have read a website about how to be an 'alpha male' or something. One of those people who talked down to waitresses and just generally treated the rest of the world as an inconvenience.
Anyway from the moment we sat down the whole conversation was him making sure I knew how much richer he was than me. Firstly I already knew that; I know the roles we each hold in our companies and I've been in the industry long enough to know the market and broadly what the salaries are for various roles. I got told his daughter was due her exam results ('top dollar for her schooling so she better pass ha ha ha') and she was going to Disneyland for 2 weeks if she did pass ('even if it has been taken over by plebs ha ha ha). I got told about his mate ('serious money') and some asinine story about him selling a car ('19 plate Audi, boy offered me 20 grand, told him start at 25 and I'll get out of bed to talk to him ha ha ha). Then I got told he wanted quality ('none of the ***** you sell to the trailer trash ha ha ha') but he knew how to barter ('you don't get where I got if you let guys at your level dictate ha ha ha'). It was no surprise at all when he revealed he was a Rangers fan ('I'm a bear, big bucks for the hospy box these days').
There's not a chance he'll deal with me which suits me just fine.
pollution
08-08-2023, 09:40 AM
I had to have breakfast with a potential client this morning. He was one of those guys who must have read a website about how to be an 'alpha male' or something. One of those people who talked down to waitresses and just generally treated the rest of the world as an inconvenience.
Anyway from the moment we sat down the whole conversation was him making sure I knew how much richer he was than me. Firstly I already knew that; I know the roles we each hold in our companies and I've been in the industry long enough to know the market and broadly what the salaries are for various roles. I got told his daughter was due her exam results ('top dollar for her schooling so she better pass ha ha ha') and she was going to Disneyland for 2 weeks if she did pass ('even if it has been taken over by plebs ha ha ha). I got told about his mate ('serious money') and some asinine story about him selling a car ('19 plate Audi, boy offered me 20 grand, told him start at 25 and I'll get out of bed to talk to him ha ha ha). Then I got told he wanted quality ('none of the ***** you sell to the trailer trash ha ha ha') but he knew how to barter ('you don't get where I got if you let guys at your level dictate ha ha ha'). It was no surprise at all when he revealed he was a Rangers fan ('I'm a bear, big bucks for the hospy box these days').
Sounds as if he is very insecure and up to his neck in debt.
08-08-2023, 10:10 AM
Big Jock style.
I know them well, tossers from the moment we met and not a single one has changed my mind.
08-08-2023, 10:39 AM
Haha! I gave up on iTunes some time ago.
Do you remember when they gave everyone a U2 album? Whether you wanted it or not??
I just want a simple life. Buy a physical copy of my music, collecting music is probably my biggest passion, add it on iTunes and then add it on my phone. The amount of times my phone and iTunes end up out of sync is infuriating. It’s then 6 or so hours to re-transfer over all my music again. Only for an error to happen midway through and have to start all over again.
Funnily enough when you meet and deal with proper rich posh folk from the so called good breeding, they never act like that. I've met many Dukes and Lords over the years through the Masonic, and they're all very much down to earth, posh as **** but down to earth. Guys like you're talking about, New Money as it's called, like to let you know how well they're doing by bragging and generally being obnoxious pricks.
08-08-2023, 05:48 PM
Sounds like a right tosser and not someone I would want to do business with either. Right up there with the “do you know who I am” brigade who I have met many over the years, both in hospitality and retail.
09-08-2023, 09:49 AM
Another wife pet peeve... her perception of what defines a "white" for a white washing. We're going on holiday in a few days so we are washing stuff in preparation of packing. "I'm about to wash the whites I'm wanting to take away with me, do you want to have a look through and add any whites you are wanting to take" she asked.
So I picked out the stuff I'm taking and said "I'll just put it on, where's your pile?". "Oh on the bed".... "Erm... that pile of whites, pinks and reds all mixed together?"
[Gives me a dirty look as if to say 'what's wrong with that]. "Yep, and I've got a pile of other stuff for the white wash next to the washing machine".
When I got to the washing machine, the stuff was all greys and dark greens. Fair enough light grey stuff, I'd put in a white wash but I draw the line at red, pinks and dark greens. One of the grey things was near enough black. Suffice to say, I did a separate wash for my stuff.
Stairway 2 7
09-08-2023, 11:23 AM
Another wife pet peeve... her perception of what defines a "white" for a white washing. We're going on holiday in a few days so we are washing stuff in preparation of packing. "I'm about to wash the whites I'm wanting to take away with me, do you want to have a look through and add any whites you are wanting to take" she asked.
So I picked out the stuff I'm taking and said "I'll just put it on, where's your pile?". "Oh on the bed".... "Erm... that pile of whites, pinks and reds all mixed together?"
[Gives me a dirty look as if to say 'what's wrong with that]. "Yep, and I've got a pile of other stuff for the white wash next to the washing machine".
When I got to the washing machine, the stuff was all greys and dark greens. Fair enough light grey stuff, I'd put in a white wash but I draw the line at red, pinks and dark greens. One of the grey things was near enough black. Suffice to say, I did a separate wash for my stuff.
Sounds like my house although it me ruining the whites
09-08-2023, 08:41 PM
Colour catchers are your friend.
Washing consists of woollen and everything else.
13-08-2023, 09:06 AM
'Silent' discos.
Never has an activity been so improperly named.
13-08-2023, 10:25 AM
Sounds exactly like my wife. Admittedly I'm a bit of an odd ball in that I don't mind mixing similar colours or light and dark loads but unless it's predominantly white, it ain't going in my white wash
Bridge hibs
13-08-2023, 10:54 AM
'Silent' discos.
Never has an activity been so improperly named.
Havent been to one myself, not my cup of tea but I know many who have and have raved about them, probably just because of the radgeness
I suppose I could throw karaoke into the mix, Ive never ever even been tempted to make an erse of myself even in my younger drink fuelled days. If its for you then fine, many years ago my Sister in Law won through heats throughout Edinburgh and won the final in the old Abercorn bar at Peirshill and won a 2 week trip, all expenses for her and her Husband to Florida
If I sung karaoke I would probably get a 2 week all expenses trip to Saighton prison 🫢
13-08-2023, 11:35 AM
Havent been to one myself, not my cup of tea but I know many who have and have raved about them, probably just because of the radgeness
I suppose I could throw karaoke into the mix, Ive never ever even been tempted to make an erse of myself even in my younger drink fuelled days. If its for you then fine, many years ago my Sister in Law won through heats throughout Edinburgh and won the final in the old Abercorn bar at Peirshill and won a 2 week trip, all expenses for her and her Husband to Florida
If I sung karaoke I would probably get a 2 week all expenses trip to Saighton prison 🫢
Got to agree re karaoke, just chuck £2 in the jukebox! 😀
Fuzzywuzzy
13-08-2023, 11:44 AM
Same with folk that have phone conversations on speaker
Bridge hibs
14-08-2023, 07:30 PM
When someone farts on the bus and theres no escape 27125
15-08-2023, 09:33 PM
The Sky Sports football presenters. I quite enjoy some of the post game analysis, and appreciate that I am transitioning into an old, grumpy, dinosaur, and you can’t just have old white men like Souness forever.
However, it will soon become unwatchable if they keep adding “personalities” like Daniel Sturridge alongside the likes of Micah Richards. They are too loud and extroverted for me. Does Sturridge singing Usher songs or talking about the “stanky leg” add any insightful, or interesting analysis?
16-08-2023, 05:29 AM
The Sky Sports football presenters. I quite enjoy some of the post game analysis, and appreciate that I am transitioning into an old, grumpy, dinosaur, and you can’t just have old white men like Souness forever.
However, it will soon become unwatchable if they keep adding “personalities” like Daniel Sturridge alongside the likes of Micah Richards. They are too loud and extroverted for me. Does Sturridge singing Usher songs or talking about the “stanky leg” add any insightful, or interesting analysis?
Don't get me started on this, Karen Carney with Neville and Carragher was the tipping point for me. Turn on Sky Sports News and you'll see 3 people slavering absolute pish about football, no idea who they are but I do know they're talking complete bollocks.
We want to hear the experts.
16-08-2023, 06:37 AM
The Sky Sports football presenters. I quite enjoy some of the post game analysis, and appreciate that I am transitioning into an old, grumpy, dinosaur, and you can’t just have old white men like Souness forever. However, it will soon become unwatchable if they keep adding “personalities” like Daniel Sturridge alongside the likes of Micah Richards. They are too loud and extroverted for me. Does Sturridge singing Usher songs or talking about the “stanky leg” add any insightful, or interesting analysis? Agreed, I stopped watching it a long time ago, it's unbearable at times. The golden era is well and truly gone.
16-08-2023, 07:55 AM
Correct, I only tune in between KO and the final whistle and manage to find something to do at half time.
16-08-2023, 09:56 AM
When it comes to Sky Sports are the 'young ones' even interested in Daniel Sturridge singing Usher or Michah Richards slagging Roy Keane's lunch?
It strikes me as it being someone in later middle ages idea of what young people might enjoy. A bit like that Still Game episode when Jack and Victor are telling the teenager to give the girl he fancies the 'young patter'. 'Do you like the PlayStation, I like the PlayStation'.
The majority of SkySports audience will be 40+, adding a few supposed characters isn't going to change that.
Bridge hibs
16-08-2023, 10:12 AM
When it comes to Sky Sports are the 'young ones' even interested in Daniel Sturridge singing Usher or Michah Richards slagging Roy Keane's lunch?
It strikes me as it being someone in later middle ages idea of what young people might enjoy. A bit like that Still Game episode when Jack and Victor are telling the teenager to give the girl he fancies the 'young patter'. 'Do you like the PlayStation, I like the PlayStation'.
The majority of SkySports audience will be 40+, adding a few supposed characters isn't going to change that.Oh for some Saint and Greavsie again 😃
ErinGoBraghHFC
16-08-2023, 10:52 AM
Along the same lines, Simon Jordan. He does my nut in.
16-08-2023, 11:43 AM
People or businesses who use quirky marketing to hide an underlying deviousness and dishonesty. People who probably have an undeserved goodwill from the general public but are seen for what they really are by people who have ever had the misfortune to deal with them.
This rant may or may not be inspired by a certain soon to be liquidated company that rhymes with Boss Bragels.
The Sky Sports football presenters. I quite enjoy some of the post game analysis, and appreciate that I am transitioning into an old, grumpy, dinosaur, and you can’t just have old white men like Souness forever.However, it will soon become unwatchable if they keep adding “personalities” like Daniel Sturridge alongside the likes of Micah Richards. They are too loud and extroverted for me. Does Sturridge singing Usher songs or talking about the “stanky leg” add any insightful, or interesting analysis?I want the pundits to add something, show me something I might have missed, nuanced things, or elaborate on something tactical that’s happened.What most the pundits do, especially the newer/younger/‘character’ ones, is talk in cliches (top top player), or gush over something that’s actually mundane or simple but they’re determined to big it up
16-08-2023, 12:32 PM
The majority of SkySports audience will be 40+, adding a few supposed characters isn't going to change that.
I've just asked my 17 year old neighbour what he thinks of Sturridge and Richards. He says they're "a joke" and much prefers Gary Neville.
Funny how Sky bombard me every week for my opinions on Skybet but never Sky Sports.
16-08-2023, 05:23 PM
Blown-up, plastic lips.
16-08-2023, 10:45 PM
Blown-up, plastic lips.
:agree: The tractor tyre look isn't great.
16-08-2023, 10:47 PM
Weed. Just spent 3 weeks in the UK and it's everywhere. The smell is absolutely minging.
Stairway 2 7
17-08-2023, 05:15 AM
Weed. Just spent 3 weeks in the UK and it's everywhere. The smell is absolutely minging.
Good luck
https://www.google.com/amp/s/news.sky.com/story/amp/germany-approves-landmark-bill-to-liberalise-cannabis-use-and-sale-12941086
Don't smell it that much in edin. Don't do it myself but I'm all for legalisation, but I agree it's downfall is it stinks. I've been in my mates stairs and if one house does it every house reeks.
I was also stunned at how much new York has embraced it. There was more weed shops in Manhattan than in Amsterdam, looks pretty grimm
17-08-2023, 09:02 AM
I'm not mad on the pile on with Lee Johnson and his 'quirky' chat' but I saw an interview with him yesterday where he described it as 'matchday minus one'. WTF is that all about? Just say 'the day before the game'.
I'm certain he won't be the only one saying it, horrific patter.
17-08-2023, 09:19 AM
Good luck
https://www.google.com/amp/s/news.sky.com/story/amp/germany-approves-landmark-bill-to-liberalise-cannabis-use-and-sale-12941086
Don't smell it that much in edin. Don't do it myself but I'm all for legalisation, but I agree it's downfall is it stinks. I've been in my mates stairs and if one house does it every house reeks.
I was also stunned at how much new York has embraced it. There was more weed shops in Manhattan than in Amsterdam, looks pretty grimm
Apparently the stuff that stinks so bad is locally produced.
Fuzzywuzzy
17-08-2023, 09:35 AM
Apparently the stuff that stinks so bad is locally produced.
I don't do it personally but if and when it's legalised buying shares in a legal company I always think would be a good shout. A lot of companies on the US markets
17-08-2023, 09:52 AM
I don't do it personally but if and when it's legalised buying shares in a legal company I always think would be a good shout. A lot of companies on the US markets
It's everywhere in London. In the parks, on the street and someone somewhere on the tube last night was either smoking it or had smoked so much that they were just reeking of the stuff. It just smells so much more overwhelming than I remember it.
A few weeks ago my son was playing football and the reek coming over from the opposition side was horrendous. Big public park but the wind must have been in the wrong direction for us. My boy was on the wing and said the 2nd half was fun when he was right beside it!
Fuzzywuzzy
17-08-2023, 10:08 AM
Eldest has just gone into 2nd year. Said there are a few that have been smoking it since P7.
The amount of kids that are vaping as well is mental. Probably is a weed scented vape out there