View Full Version : Pet Peeves IV
14-12-2018, 05:20 PM
He’ll be asking who attended last year and who regularly attends school shows before insisting that regulars get preferential seats.😀
Nativity show day trippers! 😀
15-12-2018, 04:15 AM
Ah you’ll change your mind when the wee one gets a part and is desperate for you to see them.
Not likely, I'll be working that day.
I've got visions of Hermit battling with the nippy mums i spoke about in my earlier post trying to get a front row seat, camera at the read and crying tears of joy.......
Maybe not happen quite like that though.......
I'll leave the nippy mums to fight it out amongst themselves for the best spot.
Me too, full camera crew and lighting. Might even be a director just to make sure the wee man gets a starring role and of course he will sort the ticket queue out no bother :greengrin
They can have my ticket... for free!
He’ll be asking who attended last year and who regularly attends school shows before insisting that regulars get preferential seats.😀
Nippy mums so believe.
Mums? Whats with all this women bashing going on here just now? Dads can be nippy too!
15-12-2018, 06:58 AM
Mums? Whats with all this women bashing going on here just now? Dads can be nippy too!It's a question of frequency.
It's a question of frequency.
You ever stood on the touchline of a kids football game? Plenty nippy dads there.
15-12-2018, 07:18 AM
Mums? Whats with all this women bashing going on here just now? Dads can be nippy too!
Sexist.
Reported
15-12-2018, 02:43 PM
When the link to an article or the title of a thread doesn't make it clear that the subject is women's sports.
Clickbait at it's finest/worst.
15-12-2018, 02:49 PM
People who don’t think rules apply to them.
At my boys nativity today there were a couple of clear instructions, no photos and when the official photos are available on the school website don’t post them on social media.
Within minutes of it starting there were parent with their camera out taking photos and we’re now seeing pictures of the boy on social media from other parents. It doesn’t bother me his photo is on social media but It’s the principle, you were told not to so just dont!
And don’t get me started on queue jumpers and the woman who turned up late and instead of just standing at the back like everyone else decided she was to important for that so found a seat and moved it to the front so she could sit beside her pals and see better!
I’ll never understand people
This absolutely. Any kind of event like that involving children involves a large minority of parents standing up throughout the performance, some with phones, often with tablets (tablets FFS!!) held up completely blocking the view for anyone behind them under 6'5". And you just know they'll delete the 'footage' of Imogen or Hugo before the day is out anyway. All experiences are now commodities seemingly.
15-12-2018, 05:51 PM
That women can't accept that men view the world differently from them, that we have a different outlook on life. Just because I didn't notice that my wife and daughters put up the Christmas tree when I was out today doesn't automatically make me an a***hole does it?
17-12-2018, 03:36 PM
The fact that we still get held back despite there only being 1800 Celtic fans at ER, most were away by full time yesterday.
17-12-2018, 06:55 PM
Folk that sit on the very edge of their seat at a football match. The two seats next to me obviously don’t have ST holders in them so it is different folk every week. Without fail they all seem to sit on the very edge of their seats, leaning over the wall (I’m on the front row of the upper tier) blocking my view of the entire goalmouth and a significant part of the North West quarter of the pitch. Most are happy to sit back when asked but some can be real arsey about it.
I say they all seem to sit on the edge of their seats. That’s not quite right. If they aren’t on the edge of their seats, they are standing... in the front bloody row!
17-12-2018, 07:35 PM
When you reply to one text from your mum or dad and they believe it's open season for sending 10 or 29 texts of absolute *****.
I don't reply anymore.
stuart-farquhar
17-12-2018, 08:34 PM
When you reply to one text from your mum or dad and they believe it's open season for sending 10 or 29 texts of absolute *****.
I don't reply anymore.
Ungrateful kids! Who put you on block.Just learned mine do this. Wee *******s!!
17-12-2018, 08:55 PM
Folk that sit on the very edge of their seat at a football match. The two seats next to me obviously don’t have ST holders in them so it is different folk every week. Without fail they all seem to sit on the very edge of their seats, leaning over the wall (I’m on the front row of the upper tier) blocking my view of the entire goalmouth and a significant part of the North West quarter of the pitch. Most are happy to sit back when asked but some can be real arsey about it.
I say they all seem to sit on the edge of their seats. That’s not quite right. If they aren’t on the edge of their seats, they are standing... in the front bloody row!
Folk on the edge of their seats? What stadium is this in??
18-12-2018, 01:21 PM
1. All gambling ads on TV.
2. TV adverts where they have actors supposedly playing members of the public singing out of tune karaoke-style to various songs. The TV screen's going to get a boot through it if I hear brutal versions of All I Want for Christmas Is You, Let 'Em In or Can You Feel It one more time.
18-12-2018, 02:14 PM
Folk that use the run up to xmas as an excuse to do even less work than normal. Thats not a valid reason to be even lazier than usual.
18-12-2018, 02:18 PM
Folk that use the run up to xmas as an excuse to do even less work than normal. Thats not a valid reason to be even lazier than usual.
It's a perfectly valid reason actually............................
Unless of course, you're my boss in which case, completely agree gaffer, it's shocking. :wink:
18-12-2018, 03:04 PM
1. All gambling ads on TV.
2. TV adverts where they have actors supposedly playing members of the public singing out of tune karaoke-style to various songs. The TV screen's going to get a boot through it if I hear brutal versions of All I Want for Christmas Is You, Let 'Em In or Can You Feel It one more time.
This is a big one for me. Britain has thousands of people who's lives have been ruined by gambling and these people are bombarded with bingo, casino and bookie adverts on tv when they are trying to kick the habit. Its not right.
pollution
18-12-2018, 05:12 PM
This is a big one for me. Britain has thousands of people who's lives have been ruined by gambling and these people are bombarded with bingo, casino and bookie adverts on tv when they are trying to kick the habit. Its not right.
It must be hell for someone trying to get out of this addiction. The government rakes in the taxes of the profits of the addicted.
18-12-2018, 05:29 PM
Tbh I’m noticing that myself just now.
Not for a second would I suggest I’ve got a gambling problem, far from it however I looked at my bank statement recently and I’m quite shocked at how much I’ve been spending on it. I always convinced it myself it’s ok as I just like a wee fiver on at the weekend for a bit interest. Looking at my bank account though I’ve realised that fiver at the weekend has turned into the 2 lines on the Saturday games, the Sunday games, the champions league games (both nights) and the Europa league plus the odd hibs game.
I’ve decided to close my online accounts and i’m actually finding it easy so I’m certain I’ve not got a problem, I am noticing how many adverts there though encouraging online betting, something should be done about it imo.
Tbh I’m noticing that myself just now.
Not for a second would I suggest I’ve got a gambling problem, far from it however I looked at my bank statement recently and I’m quite shocked at how much I’ve been spending on it. I always convinced it myself it’s ok as I just like a wee fiver on at the weekend for a bit interest. Looking at my bank account though I’ve realised that fiver at the weekend has turned into the 2 lines on the Saturday games, the Sunday games, the champions league games (both nights) and the Europa league plus the odd hibs game.
I’ve decided to close my online accounts and i’m actually finding it easy so I’m certain I’ve not got a problem, I am noticing how many adverts there though encouraging online betting, something should be done about it imo.
I used to to work with a couple of guys on Saturdays, who would genuinely have the shakes if they hadn’t put a few lines on first thing. They’d be hopping around asking when they could get a break so they could run round to the bookies. This was about 15 years ago, goodness knows what they would be like now with the app and online capabilities. One in particular was very fond of crazy 11, 12, 15 match accumulators of 20 quid, usually ones where he’d have burton Albion to win at Stamford bridge, and Alloa to win at parkhead. He’d never take a telling about why the potential winnings were so high.
18-12-2018, 09:09 PM
Children being sick.
I know she can't help it but my bairn just produced some foul smelling ooze that looked exactly like the partially digested lasagne it was. As I was cleaning it she was screaming and shaking so chunks where flying everywhere.
She's bow dozing away quite content whilst I have just finished stripping sheets, wiping the carpet, putting a wash on and rinaing the bath all whilst now feeling a bit sick myself.
18-12-2018, 09:19 PM
I used to to work with a couple of guys on Saturdays, who would genuinely have the shakes if they hadn’t put a few lines on first thing. They’d be hopping around asking when they could get a break so they could run round to the bookies. This was about 15 years ago, goodness knows what they would be like now with the app and online capabilities. One in particular was very fond of crazy 11, 12, 15 match accumulators of 20 quid, usually ones where he’d have burton Albion to win at Stamford bridge, and Alloa to win at parkhead. He’d never take a telling about why the potential winnings were so high.
His payout would hit the limit. A real peeve of mines ia bookies taking bets off mugs who would reach the limit with a lot less than their stake. The guy who backed 5 winners at Cheltenham a few years ago only had to put less than a 1/3 of his stake to win a million but they still took his £50.
Children being sick.
I know she can't help it but my bairn just produced some foul smelling ooze that looked exactly like the partially digested lasagne it was. As I was cleaning it she was screaming and shaking so chunks where flying everywhere.
She's bow dozing away quite content whilst I have just finished stripping sheets, wiping the carpet, putting a wash on and rinaing the bath all whilst now feeling a bit sick myself.
Theres one night that will haunt me forever. Ill spare the details but four kids and two adults vomited so much we all ended up in one bed sleeping on a bare mattress with towels for blankets and a bath full of vomity bedding waiting for me in the morning.
19-12-2018, 09:57 AM
Cher!! How does she think she can sing ABBA songs, really???
19-12-2018, 10:04 AM
Children being sick.
Yup, I can clean up ***** all day long if needs be and as minging as it is i can look past it and just get the job done (thankfully not been an issue for quite some time and shouldn't be again). I am utterly pathetic when it comes to sick though, i can't deal with it.
I go and grab the towels, cleaning product and kitchen roll for the wife though so i'm not completely useless.
19-12-2018, 02:19 PM
"Happy Christmas"
Bin bags as thin as tissue paper. :rolleyes:
19-12-2018, 06:25 PM
Yellow 'paving stones' on paths ... What's wrong with just fixing the bump/hole whatever?
The council now a days seem to come along and just nail a fibreglass board over it then leave it for months!!
20-12-2018, 07:03 AM
Being charged almost a fiver for a pint in a famous city centre bar and then the head is too big. Request to top up elicits only surly compliance.
No wonder Wetherspoons are making a fortune. Hopefully all city centre pubs will be run by them in years to come.
Lemonade
20-12-2018, 12:07 PM
Folk on mopeds who weave through queued traffic at traffic lights and then position themselves directly in front of the car at the front.
We then have to crawl along when the lights change as their 2 stroke engine takes an age to get up to speed.
20-12-2018, 07:44 PM
Me too, full camera crew and lighting. Might even be a director just to make sure the wee man gets a starring role and of course he will sort the ticket queue out no bother :greengrin
nae need:wink:
all on dash cam
21-12-2018, 09:14 PM
'Mad Friday'.
Passed a guy tonight throwing up in the gutter, bottle of beer in hand and his tie wrapped round his head whilst 2 other buffoons guffawed in the background. They then challenged a young guy on his own to a 'square go mate'.
Cretins.
21-12-2018, 09:30 PM
'Mad Friday'.
Passed a guy tonight throwing up in the gutter, bottle of beer in hand and his tie wrapped round his head whilst 2 other buffoons guffawed in the background. They then challenged a young guy on his own to a 'square go mate'.
Cretins.
That's what happens when folk go out once a year, was it a novelty tie. 😒
22-12-2018, 07:06 AM
That's what happens when folk go out once a year, was it a novelty tie. 😒
Suprisingly not.
It's total amateur hour. I hated December when I worked in pubs.
'Pint of Tennents please'
'£3.60'
'Oh and a gin and tonic'
£7.40'
'And a large red'
'Anything else?'
'Oh yes, a pint of Guinness'
Just give me the whole order at once. Then you'd have to watch the farce of them carrying the drinks 2 by 2 across a busy pub.
The other classic was when we used to pour one of the regulars, who sat in the pub at the bar for about 4 hours every night, a Best when he was ready;
'Why's he getting served first'
'He's not, I'm pouring his whilst I serve you'
'Why?'
'Because he'll still be here in January, he doesn't ask stupid questions, he usually buys me a pint before he leaves and he'll keep me in a job when you are back on your couch with a bottle from your Majestic case trying in vain to tenpt your intolerable wife inot missionary sex for 15 seconds'.
22-12-2018, 10:19 AM
Jogging bottoms, bought a comfy Nike pair for bumming about the house without realising they are all skinny fit these days. They fit everywhere except tight around my calfs, I feel like I’ve got calf’s like Roberto Carlos!
22-12-2018, 12:01 PM
'Mad Friday'.
Cretins.I was night shift last night. 'mad' isn't really the word for it.
2 nights to go then off for Christmas thankfully.
Sent from my SM-A520F using Tapatalk
22-12-2018, 04:25 PM
'Pint of Tennents please'
'£3.60'
'Oh and a gin and tonic'
£7.40'
'And a large red'
'Anything else?'
Yes, what flavour of crisps have you got?
25-12-2018, 10:36 AM
Companies sending you Merry Christmas marketing emails on the morning of the 25th.
I’m normally pretty good at unsubscribing anyway but any company that sends me one today is getting that treatment automatically.
Patents letting their kids stand, sit and lie down in shopping trolleys.
Your weans clarty shoes will be touching the surface that the next person who uses that trolley will put their food on.
Selfish ********s.
28-12-2018, 11:27 PM
Your weans clarty shoes will be touching the surface that the next person who uses that trolley will put their food on.
Selfish ********s.
The food is all wrapped and pre packaged, it would have come Into far more contact with bacteria on its ravels so **** argument.
What about loose fruit that is in these fragile, easily rippable bags you choose? That isn't immediately immune to the dog **** that the kid has transferred to the bottom of the trolley so you could be literally handling that **** and eating it within a matter of minutes.
So naw.
Lemonade
29-12-2018, 12:30 AM
Selfish ********s.
I honestly had never thought of it like that.
I have been that selfish person and would like to apologise for my past behaviour.
I will now judge the parents every time I see this in the future :greengrin
I honestly had never thought of it like that.
I have been that selfish person and would like to apologise for my past behaviour.
I will now judge the parents every time I see this in the future :greengrin
Supermarket trolleys contain X times more bacteria than supermarket toilet seats.
'X' is pretty 🙁
29-12-2018, 05:26 AM
Selfish ********s.
Top tip: When you've finished your shopping, keep the nation healthy by simply rolling your trolley into the Water of Leith, so that any germs accumulated will be washed out to sea. :agree:
29-12-2018, 08:03 AM
Top tip: When you've finished your shopping, keep the nation healthy by simply rolling your trolley into the Water of Leith, so that any germs accumulated will be washed out to sea. :agree:
To be consumed by fish, and enter the food chain, cod forbid :wink:
29-12-2018, 09:09 AM
What about loose fruit that is in these fragile, easily rippable bags you choose? That isn't immediately immune to the dog **** that the kid has transferred to the bottom of the trolley so you could be literally handling that **** and eating it within a matter of minutes.
So naw.
You mean the trolleys that are stored outside and open to the elements and anything that wants to land on them. You should be more worried about the kids picking up bacteria from the trolleys.
You’ll be telling me next you sanitise the checkout belt before you put your shopping on it.
You mean the trolleys that are stored outside and open to the elements and anything that wants to land on them. You should be more worried about the kids picking up bacteria from the trolleys.
You’ll be telling me next you sanitise the checkout belt before you put your shopping on it.
Checkout belts in supermarkets are sanitised regularly. Why do you think that is 🤔
Lemonade
29-12-2018, 10:47 AM
Checkout belts in supermarkets are sanitised regularly. Why do you think that is 🤔
I really should stop my bairns from running on them as well .
29-12-2018, 12:59 PM
Sanitised regularly my erse, wiped down occasionally with a spray that isn’t even left on long enough contact time to actually sanitise. Following good hygiene practices at home once you actually prepare and before you eat food will serve you far better than worrying about a trolley.
You should.
Sanitised regularly my erse, wiped down occasionally with a spray that isn’t even left on long enough contact time to actually sanitise. Following good hygiene practices at home once you actually prepare and before you eat food will serve you far better than worrying about a trolley.
I can control what food hygiene practices I undertake but I can’t control what other people do regarding the transfer of germs. To be honest I’m not bothered about comparisons with anything else as it’s irrelevant. Kids shoes spread germs to places that will be in contact with my food end of story.
And I’m not worried...it’s a pet peeve my argumentative friend.
29-12-2018, 01:48 PM
I can control what food hygiene practices I undertake but I can’t control what other people do regarding the transfer of germs. To be honest I’m not bothered about comparisons with anything else as it’s irrelevant. Kids shoes spread germs to places that will be in contact with my food end of story.
And I’m not worried...it’s a pet peeve my argumentative friend.
Yes you are quite right, this thread is about pet peeves not others opinion of your pet peeve, I stand down from your trolley 😁
To be honest, after having a few pints I’m not bothered by it at all now. 😂
29-12-2018, 02:24 PM
Yes you are quite right, this thread is about pet peeves not others opinion of your pet peeve, I stand down from your trolley [emoji16]
To be honest, after having a few pints I’m not bothered by it at all now. [emoji23]No way!!!
I was enjoying that!
In fact that could be a pet peeve, folks bowing out of a perfectly good argument before it's run its course... Sigh......
Mind you.. Those French loafs that are too long for the paper bag they supply...when I do the whole shop successfully protecting the protruding end Who should I be annoyed at when the exposed end hits the belt at the very end of the journey? AAARRGHH!
1) Baker that made it too LONG?
2) Paper bag supplier (too short)?
3) Wee scrotes that Scouse it letting run over the belt?
4) me for failing on the final hurdle?
Dunno, but one of those above is bound to be a pet peeve! :-)
PS. Anyone notice Tesco at Corstorphine seems to be the worst???
Saturday Boy
29-12-2018, 07:31 PM
No way!!!
I was enjoying that!
In fact that could be a pet peeve, folks bowing out of a perfectly good argument before it's run its course... Sigh......
Mind you.. Those French loafs that are too long for the paper bag they supply...when I do the whole shop successfully protecting the protruding end Who should I be annoyed at when the exposed end hits the belt at the very end of the journey? AAARRGHH!
1) Baker that made it too LONG?
2) Paper bag supplier (too short)?
3) Wee scrotes that Scouse it letting run over the belt?
4) me for failing on the final hurdle?
Dunno, but one of those above is bound to be a pet peeve! :-)
PS. Anyone notice Tesco at Corstorphine seems to be the worst???
I can’t believe any discerning bread connoisseur doesn’t have a proper baguette bag. Exactly matched to the length of the baton. Well worth a trip to France just to buy one. 😄
29-12-2018, 10:12 PM
I can’t believe any discerning bread connoisseur doesn’t have a proper baguette bag. Exactly matched to the length of the baton. Well worth a trip to France just to buy one. 😄
Cheaper to put each end in carrier bags and you can even tie them in the middle.
30-12-2018, 06:08 PM
"living my/our/their best life".
WTF even is that?
30-12-2018, 06:24 PM
WTF even is that?
I have absolutely no idea!
Could you elaborate a bit more please?
pollution
30-12-2018, 06:32 PM
Could you elaborate a bit more please?
Eh????
30-12-2018, 06:35 PM
#makingmemories
30-12-2018, 07:29 PM
People who find it more important to film a sporting or music event rather than actually watch it and experience it.
Add to that 99% of the ****stains on Instagram, absolute smugfest, picture after picture of "look how fantastic my life is".
30-12-2018, 07:51 PM
They make a very cheap treadmill.
31-12-2018, 12:06 AM
Could you elaborate a bit more please?people who say it. I hate it as a phrase, what does it even mean? it's utter nonsense.
MagicSwirlingShip
31-12-2018, 03:38 AM
people who say it. I hate it as a phrase, what does it even mean? it's utter nonsense.
Another nonsense statement introduced by the TOWIE / Made In Chelsea / Kardashian goons and picked up by simpletons across the globe.
Gives me shivers every time I hear it.
People who find it more important to film a sporting or music event rather than actually watch it and experience it.
Add to that 99% of the ****stains on Instagram, absolute smugfest, picture after picture of "look how fantastic my life is".
:agree: 100%
I’d also add those who go to music or sporting events and are constantly going to and from the bar, and getting in folks’ way who want to watch and enjoy. I don’t mean the odd pint, I mean they’re only ever back for a few minutes before they’re away again.
If you’re only there to get drunk, just buy the CD/download and get pished in the house, or watch the match on the tv.
01-01-2019, 09:00 AM
:agree: 100%
I’d also add those who go to music or sporting events and are constantly going to and from the bar, and getting in folks’ way who want to watch and enjoy. I don’t mean the odd pint, I mean they’re only ever back for a few minutes before they’re away again.
If you’re only there to get drunk, just buy the CD/download and get pished in the house, or watch the match on the tv.
An interesting observation on one of the negatives that could come with being allowed to drink at the football actually. :agree:
01-01-2019, 09:15 AM
Social media posts along the lines of below,
"2018 has been a crazy up and down year but I go into 2019 as a better person"
Number 1: No, no it wasn't
Number 2: No, no you don't
01-01-2019, 10:58 AM
Social media posts along the lines of below,
"2018 has been a crazy up and down year but I go into 2019 as a better person"
Number 1: No, no it wasn't
Number 2: No, no you don'twhilst I agree on the sentiment behind your post;
1. maybe it was for person posting.
2. maybe they do because of what they have learned due to (1).
I do agree that not every single person falls into either category however.
Alfiembra
01-01-2019, 04:44 PM
The strings/tapes whatever they’re called for peeling open packets of biscuits, can never find them or when I do, manage to get them started. Then I either pull them the wrong direction or they snap before the packet is open enough to get at the bloomin biscuits aaaaarrrrgh!!!!!!!
01-01-2019, 06:54 PM
Trying to work out which light-bulb to buy....far too complicated these days.
01-01-2019, 07:21 PM
Trying to work out which light-bulb to buy....far too complicated these days.
You are so right. And they are absurdly expensive too.
Most won’t but my real friends and family will.
Like and share.
Rocky
01-01-2019, 10:18 PM
The strings/tapes whatever they’re called for peeling open packets of biscuits, can never find them or when I do, manage to get them started. Then I either pull them the wrong direction or they snap before the packet is open enough to get at the bloomin biscuits aaaaarrrrgh!!!!!!!
Especially on ginger nuts. And then you have to eat at least six to leave enough of the wrapper to twist round to keep the rest fresh. Sometimes ten. Or twelve.
03-01-2019, 07:39 AM
People that get up on a plane when the air hostesses start with the food and drinks cart.
It's the smug "Haha..what am I like.. I need past" look they give followed by shoving their arse in someone's face as they try to squeeze past.
You can guarantee they'll do it every time the cart is out in some sort of attention seeking act.
Lemonade
03-01-2019, 02:27 PM
Most won’t but my real friends and family will.
Like and share.
Haha.
I seen one yesterday that said “share if you love your mum . Scroll down if you don’t “
WTF?
speedy_gonzales
03-01-2019, 03:17 PM
Inconsiderate folk,,,, again;
Just enjoyed a rather nice walk from Roseburn down to the Shore via the Water of Leith walkway. Popped in to Crollas Ice Cream Parlour for a coffee (and maybe some churros 🤔) and needed to visit the toilet. They only have one toilet, male/female/accessible, I had to wait as it was occupied then a father and son (maybe 7/8) came out. I entered, locked the door and the toilet, with seat down had been urinated ALL over! I almost left as I wasn't needing that badly but then realised the woman waiting behind would assume I left it in that state.
So, after much cursing (imagine Mutley from Catch the Pigeon) I wiped down the toilet and made good.
How can anyone walk out of a public toilet and leave it in such a state,,,, doesn't bear thinking about the state of their own home!
03-01-2019, 03:48 PM
Just enjoyed a rather nice walk from Roseburn down to the Shore via the Water of Leith walkway. Popped in to Crollas Ice Cream Parlour for a coffee (and maybe some churros 🤔) and needed to visit the toilet. They only have one toilet, male/female/accessible, I had to wait as it was occupied then a father and son (maybe 7/8) came out. I entered, locked the door and the toilet, with seat down had been urinated ALL over! I almost left as I wasn't needing that badly but then realised the woman waiting behind would assume I left it in that state.
So, after much cursing (imagine Mutley from Catch the Pigeon) I wiped down the toilet and made good.
How can anyone walk out of a public toilet and leave it in such a state,,,, doesn't bear thinking about the state of their own home!
Totally agree with this one. More alarming is when it happens at work, because it's someone you work beside that's left the toilet in that state.
It's disgusting - no excuse for it at all.
03-01-2019, 08:47 PM
Totally agree with this one. More alarming is when it happens at work, because it's someone you work beside that's left the toilet in that state.
It's disgusting - no excuse for it at all.
:agree: hibs.net toilets are a ****ing disgrace.
03-01-2019, 10:51 PM
:agree: hibs.net toilets are a ****ing disgrace.
You work from home so you've only yourself to blame.
04-01-2019, 09:44 PM
Posted similar before but when you’re sitting at work and open a packet of fruit pastilles and there’s no Orange flavoured ones in the pack at all. Gutted.
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20190104/8b7cdc19d17663c56b400c38536cb753.jpg
04-01-2019, 10:36 PM
Posted similar before but when you’re sitting at work and open a packet of fruit pastilles and there’s no Orange flavoured ones in the pack at all. Gutted.
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20190104/8b7cdc19d17663c56b400c38536cb753.jpg
People who open a packet of fruit pastels in oner then complain about the lack of their favourite flavour [emoji12][emoji23]
04-01-2019, 10:45 PM
The fact it costs £16 for an “admin fee” to change the address on your tv license. They should be wearing a mask!
04-01-2019, 11:55 PM
People who open a packet of fruit pastels in oner then complain about the lack of their favourite flavour [emoji12][emoji23]
I feel shortchanged. There should be at least 3 x Orange ones at the expense of the BlackBerry flavoured ones!! 😤
05-01-2019, 01:49 AM
The fact you get about 3 of each of the good flavours in a tub of roses and then are basically left with a tub full of ***** after eating about 9 chocolates out the thing.
05-01-2019, 12:42 PM
The fact it costs £16 for an “admin fee” to change the address on your tv license. They should be wearing a mask!
Admin fees in general. A few years ago we had to move the dates of flights so we could come home early from holiday as my daughter was I'll and due to her condition we didn't want the hassle of explaining about it to a French doctor. Anyway I went in line changed the bookings myself, printed the tickets out myself and was charged £35 per ticket admin fee. There was no other human involved in any of this except me!! And do t get me started on booking fees for concert tickets etc. Highway robbery
05-01-2019, 06:01 PM
The sheer number of threads on here that rapidly (usually by end of page 1) turn into annoying, tedious political bickering between (mostly) the same few posters..... Yawn!!
Gies a break!
05-01-2019, 07:12 PM
Folk who stand still on moving walkways.
05-01-2019, 07:14 PM
Folk who leave bags on the seat beside them on the train to deter other passengers.
05-01-2019, 07:21 PM
I ****ing hate when that happens. Absolute catch 22 whether you walk out and look like the guy that done it or clean up someone else’s piss.
05-01-2019, 07:27 PM
Folk who leave bags on the seat beside them on the train to deter other passengers.
I have moved many a bag.
05-01-2019, 08:01 PM
I have moved many a bag.
I did today.
05-01-2019, 08:33 PM
I did today.
I generally ask once, if I am met with a grunt or a blank stare I just pick it up and toss it at them.
06-01-2019, 11:32 AM
WTF even is that?
I hadn't noticed this before your post, now I'm seeing 9 out of 10 women on Facebook declaring that they are "living their best life" .
I really need to delete Facebook, it's just blood boiling material
06-01-2019, 01:44 PM
I generally ask once, if I am met with a grunt or a blank stare I just pick it up and toss it at them.
Even better when I get to disrupt their mobile office space
06-01-2019, 01:47 PM
I hadn't noticed this before your post, now I'm seeing 9 out of 10 women on Facebook declaring that they are "living their best life" .
I really need to delete Facebook, it's just blood boiling materiali got rid of mine a year or so ago and it's been brilliant. people who I spoke to anyway are still around and every one else is, as expected, never heard from to no loss.
being free from social media is brilliant.
Even better when I get to disrupt their mobile office space
Get that a lot as I commute around the Cambridge area and am occasionally on the London train, take up a whole table. I always spread my paper out once I have politely asked them to move over a bit. Another pain (often the same folk) is the call on the mobile, "just wanted to touch base before the meeting" to which I always sigh with a FFS. Dont get me started on the suit jacket next to them like it's the golden fleece and not a cheap horrible creased mess.
Mixu62
07-01-2019, 06:21 AM
Uber drivers that park in bus stops and don't move when the bus comes.
07-01-2019, 06:26 AM
My latest one, older guy comes up to me in the pub and asks “is anyone using that seat” as me and the missus are seated at a table with three chairs around it so one is spare. I replied “no,help yourself” expecting him to take it away, he said “thanks”and plonked his erse on it at our table!
07-01-2019, 09:27 AM
I really need to delete Facebook, it's just blood boiling material
I ditched Facebook ten years ago when I began to lose respect for members of my family and their pathetic self-obsessed posts.
My latest one, older guy comes up to me in the pub and asks “is anyone using that seat” as me and the missus are seated at a table with three chairs around it so one is spare. I replied “no,help yourself” expecting him to take it away, he said “thanks”and plonked his erse on it at our table!
:tee hee: did you chat? Id have burst out laughing.
07-01-2019, 12:02 PM
:tee hee: did you chat? Id have burst out laughing.
I was stunned 😁, a couple of regulars at the bar saw what had happened and were making faces at me to make us laugh. Turns out he is renowned for doing it.
07-01-2019, 12:26 PM
I've had that a couple of times too! It's usually been when I've been out with friends though and it's turned in to a decent laugh with the stranger. The spoons on Waverley bridge seems to be bad for it, almost every time I'm there it happens. Maybe you need to work on having a less inviting demeanour. :greengrin
I was stunned 😁, a couple of regulars at the bar saw what had happened and were making faces at me to make us laugh. Turns out he is renowned for doing it.
I wouldnt have been able to contain myself. Id have bought him a drink though, or more likely persuaded him to buy us drinks :greengrin
08-01-2019, 02:55 PM
"Networking" , or more specifically the type of people who actually enjoy networking events.
08-01-2019, 05:31 PM
"Networking" , or more specifically the type of people who actually enjoy networking events.
My old work used to do networking training. The "how to exit a conversation" techniques are worth noting down though. :greengrin
Alfiembra
08-01-2019, 06:04 PM
My old work used to do networking training. The "how to exit a conversation" techniques are worth noting down though. :greengrin
I’ve always found that a good fart ends a conversation pretty quick. :greengrin
Mixu62
09-01-2019, 01:54 AM
Latest coroporate bollox in my work is "reaching out". They don't phone you, or book a meeting with you anymore, they now "reach out" to you.
09-01-2019, 05:47 PM
ECC’s total lack of commitment to emptying bins on time.
10-01-2019, 06:31 PM
Kayak advert on the tele.
Don’t know why I find the two girls in it so annoying but their faces just wind me up.
10-01-2019, 06:54 PM
When you are slightly interested in something online and would like to download the brochure, only to be asked for all your personal details so you can get harassed by email and phone for weeks on end by some sales advisor.
10-01-2019, 07:21 PM
When you are slightly interested in something online and would like to download the brochure, only to be asked for all your personal details so you can get harassed by email and phone for weeks on end by some sales advisor.
Do you not just put in fakey details?
Or have a junk email address for such occasions?
EH6 Hibby
10-01-2019, 11:25 PM
Kayak advert on the tele.
Don’t know why I find the two girls in it so annoying but their faces just wind me up.
Funny, I hate that advert too but it’s the stupid bit at the end in that stuck up voice that winds me up. “For travel I trust Kayak, for everything else, I trust myself”. Wtf does that even mean?
11-01-2019, 03:42 PM
McDonalds litterers. Over the last few days the amount of McDonalds bags, cups, paper etc that I have seen that has clearly been chucked out of moving cars is unbelievable. WTF are the people who do that thinking about? If caught these ****ers should be made to do a serious amount of unpaid work tidying litter up. If your one of the folk who do it, seriously get a grip!
11-01-2019, 03:59 PM
McDonalds litterers. Over the last few days the amount of McDonalds bags, cups, paper etc that I have seen that has clearly been chucked out of moving cars is unbelievable. WTF are the people who do that thinking about? If caught these ****ers should be made to do a serious amount of unpaid work tidying litter up. If your one of the folk who do it, seriously get a grip!
I saw a guy the other night throw a Red Bull can out of his souped up VW Golf window. He was parked at the side of the road so I walked over, picked it up and handed it back to him. I walked about 30 yards down the road and he done it again. I think he was a bit surprised when I went back, picked it up and threw it in his window onto the back seat.
I ****ing hate littering because it's so needless and motivated by nothing other than laziness and selfishness.
11-01-2019, 04:28 PM
I saw a guy the other night throw a Red Bull can out of his souped up VW Golf window. He was parked at the side of the road so I walked over, picked it up and handed it back to him. I walked about 30 yards down the road and he done it again. I think he was a bit surprised when I went back, picked it up and threw it in his window onto the back seat.
I ****ing hate littering because it's so needless and motivated by nothing other than laziness and selfishness.
Fines are too good for such folk. They should, when caught, have whatever litter they've dropped rammed up their *****.
pollution
11-01-2019, 04:39 PM
A new McDonalds opened at Tesco near Dalkeith and sure enough within a day their tossed away rubbish is lying by the road.
The worst examples are on the main roads, by locals.
12-01-2019, 09:18 AM
Random one, but Thomas Mueller's face.
Not only does he just look like a prized prick, for some unknown reason it infuriates me that he is 29 but looks 52.
12-01-2019, 11:03 AM
Those Edinburgh city centre adverts on the radio. 'Oh we had lunch and champers on George Street, bought a new scarf on Multrees Walk, went to the rugger then had a late bite to eat on Thistle Street. Edinburgh is great'. Aye good for you. Maybe we can have one reflecting reality:
'My bins haven't been emptied for over a fortnight, I pay half my income in rent for a one bedroom flat, my car is ****ed from driving over pot holes, my local school is oversubscribed, I have to wait 3 weeks for an appointment at the Doctors and most of my local shops are vacant lots.'
12-01-2019, 12:06 PM
Well said, guaranteed to see McDonald's litter wherever you go and it's needless. 99% of the culprits are teenagers/ early 20's not wanting the rubbish in their fancy wee souped up motors.
12-01-2019, 12:53 PM
The upsurge in private cars with drivers who think they can do whatever they f***ing want as long as they give a wee wave to say sorry, just had a barny with one said driver, f***ing earplugs in and smiling away as if nothing was wrong, the passenger didn't look to happy with the driver just pulling out on me, sometimes I wonder if these guys even have driving licences.
12-01-2019, 01:48 PM
Those Edinburgh city centre adverts on the radio. 'Oh we had lunch and champers on George Street, bought a new scarf on Multrees Walk, went to the rugger then had a late bite to eat on Thistle Street. Edinburgh is great'. Aye good for you. Maybe we can have one reflecting reality:
'My bins haven't been emptied for over a fortnight, I pay half my income in rent for a one bedroom flat, my car is ****ed from driving over pot holes, my local school is oversubscribed, I have to wait 3 weeks for an appointment at the Doctors and most of my local shops are vacant lots.'
I haven't enjoyed living in Edinburgh for a couple of years now.
13-01-2019, 08:48 AM
Cheap headphones on public transport..... Had 3 of them on way to work yesterday bleeding the music/hiss out to the rest of us...... I felt like MSK after a night shift! :fuming::brickwall
pollution
15-01-2019, 11:30 AM
The price of what are simply shavers, a rip off.
Both Gillette and Wilkinson Sword say they spend millions creating a new super shaving blade yet they are all the same.
Vastly over priced for what they are, a real cartel. The Office of fair trading did investigate a few years back but found no collaboration
between the two.....
EH6 Hibby
15-01-2019, 01:30 PM
Both Gillette and Wilkinson Sword say they spend millions creating a new super shaving blade yet they are all the same.
Vastly over priced for what they are, a real cartel. The Office of fair trading did investigate a few years back but found no collaboration
between the two.....
Try buying the women’s version. They add a bit further on for making it pink or whatever colour they change it to.
15-01-2019, 02:00 PM
between the two.....
A good old fashioned double edge safety razor is the answer.
Better shave and inifinitely better value. The hardware of razor and brush will cost a bit more in the short term but even the top end blades are so much heaper than the cartridge razors Gillette et al are flogging.
15-01-2019, 02:09 PM
Try buying the women’s version. They add a bit further on for making it pink or whatever colour they change it to.
There's a tv programme shown here every Sunday which explains the science behind everyday things. I normally watch it with my girls and just this weekend they looked at single blade, quadruple blade & ladies razors as well as electric shavers.
To cut a long story short, ladies razors have a more rounded cutting edge compared to standard mens razors.
So there. :nerd:
Rocky
15-01-2019, 02:20 PM
between the two.....
I read somewhere that the blades don't actually go blunt - it's a build up of microscopic bits of soap / hair / skin / whatever that makes them feel like they are. I've got an ultrasonic cleaner and keep meaning to try that on blades to see if it restores them - I'll give it a go next time I have a 'blunt' one and see if it works.
15-01-2019, 03:21 PM
Nursery fees. My boy is 10 and a half months old, now going to nursery a few days a week as both myself and my mrs are back in full time work. The Nursery he goes to charges £50 a day! Also, if we are late in picking him up we get fined £5 for every minute we are late! Robbery!
15-01-2019, 04:05 PM
The overuse of the term ‘life changing’ in TV quiz shows’ prize money. In the past couple of weeks I’ve heard contestants describe £10k, £20k and £30k as ‘life changing’. Certainly a nice wee windfall, but c’mon.
15-01-2019, 05:27 PM
The overuse of the term ‘life changing’ in TV quiz shows’ prize money. In the past couple of weeks I’ve heard contestants describe £10k, £20k and £30k as ‘life changing’. Certainly a nice wee windfall, but c’mon.
I suppose if you don't own your own home any of those amounts could be life changing in that it's a deposit or a decent wedge towards one.
The one that gets me is the grand plans people have for far smaller amounts. I watched Pointless the other night and the prize was £1000 between 2. They guy was planning a trip to Australia to see his son, a holiday with his wife and a trip to see a La Liga game. Mate it's £500. It will get you a tank of fuel and a snack at a service station on the way home from the studio.
15-01-2019, 07:52 PM
Nursery fees. My boy is 10 and a half months old, now going to nursery a few days a week as both myself and my mrs are back in full time work. The Nursery he goes to charges £50 a day! Also, if we are late in picking him up we get fined £5 for every minute we are late! Robbery!
That is brutal.
15-01-2019, 08:29 PM
What’s an acceptable price for someone looking after your child?
Late fees are a different story, I don’t agree with them and I as a childminder don’t charge them. I’d rather a parent was late than driving like a maniac so they don’t get charged extra.
speedy_gonzales
15-01-2019, 08:59 PM
We paid that 15 years ago when ours started nursery so given inflation we probably paid more (relatively).
Re late fees, if parents are late it's not just one person that has to stay behind, for child protection reasons they have to double up or more if more than one set of parents are running late.
Whilst most parents will be rarely late (if at all), if they are out would be genuine. However, some parents just take the pi$$.
My (now 15yo) daughter works at an after-school club every other Friday afternoon and my sister manages a club in the South of Edinburgh, some parents treat the facility as if they were a babysitter on £2.50 an hour, turning up late without the decency of phoning ahead and with no regard to the staff possibly needing to be elsewhere.
Whilst the late charge is not welcomed by many (and in fact waived by some clubs if it's a first offence), there has to be something in place to focus the attention of tardy parents.
15-01-2019, 09:00 PM
My bairns at nursery for 3 half days a week. Each half day is £24 but for that she gets breakfast, a snack and lunch as well as one adult to every 3 or 4 bairns (the exact number escapes me). Don't get me wrong it puts a strain on finances when only one of us is working full time but I don't think it's extortion.
Re the late charges I think it's to deter those who would treat the pick up time as advisory. I was at a funeral a few weeks back and was going to be 10 minutes late, phoned ahead and they were absolutely fine about it and never charged because it was a one off.
15-01-2019, 09:30 PM
My boy enjoyed 4 years of free nursery. For me it's unbelievable that parents have to pay to go back to work. If they decide to be stay at home parents then fair doos but surely it's in the interest of society to get parents back at work paying taxes instead of drawing benefits.
15-01-2019, 09:51 PM
My boy enjoyed 4 years of free nursery. For me it's unbelievable that parents have to pay to go back to work. If they decide to be stay at home parents then fair doos but surely it's in the interest of society to get parents back at work paying taxes instead of drawing benefits.correct. As a non parent, all it does is encourage those who are boardline able to afford it or those who will lose money by working and paying for child care, to not work and save by default.
it's a nonsense - we should be encouraging adults of a working age to work when it it's wholly reasonable that they can and would want to if all other things were equal.
16-01-2019, 03:02 AM
What’s an acceptable price for someone looking after your child?
Late fees are a different story, I don’t agree with them and I as a childminder don’t charge them. I’d rather a parent was late than driving like a maniac so they don’t get charged extra.
You don’t do Saturdays do you? Struggling to find care on Saturdays, my mrs has to work every Saturday and I’ve either come off a nightshift or at the game. :greengrin
16-01-2019, 07:01 AM
You don’t do Saturdays do you? Struggling to find care on Saturdays, my mrs has to work every Saturday and I’ve either come off a nightshift or at the game. :greengrin
Haha no, I don’t even do Fridays! :greengrin
16-01-2019, 02:07 PM
correct. As a non parent, all it does is encourage those who are boardline able to afford it or those who will lose money by working and paying for child care, to not work and save by default.
it's a nonsense - we should be encouraging adults of a working age to work when it it's wholly reasonable that they can and would want to if all other things were equal.
We have three kids and the childcare costs were so high that my wife ended up doing up her own business working from home as it was far more cost effective than trying to work in an employed position.
It reduced our earning potential but we're still probably better off than trying to finance the childcare.
We paid that 15 years ago when ours started nursery so given inflation we probably paid more (relatively).
Re late fees, if parents are late it's not just one person that has to stay behind, for child protection reasons they have to double up or more if more than one set of parents are running late.
Whilst most parents will be rarely late (if at all), if they are out would be genuine. However, some parents just take the pi$$.
My (now 15yo) daughter works at an after-school club every other Friday afternoon and my sister manages a club in the South of Edinburgh, some parents treat the facility as if they were a babysitter on £2.50 an hour, turning up late without the decency of phoning ahead and with no regard to the staff possibly needing to be elsewhere.
Whilst the late charge is not welcomed by many (and in fact waived by some clubs if it's a first offence), there has to be something in place to focus the attention of tardy parents.
Some do take the piss.
my mother is a child minder, and doesn’t do late fees or anything, but has had to mark a few cards, including one parent who would get the train out of Edinburgh, arrive at the station around 6:15, and instead of coming to collect their son (my mum finishes at 6 but didn’t mind keeping the laddie for a little bit longer to accommodate the train times), the parent would go to the supermarket, get in her shopping, sometimes drop the shopping at home then come for their son, often not turning up until close to 7pm.
16-01-2019, 06:41 PM
The cushion mound display that the wife insists having on the bed. ******g pointless, fed up moving them off every night.
16-01-2019, 08:29 PM
The cushion mound display that the wife insists having on the bed. ******g pointless, fed up moving them off every night.
Worse when you have to move the cushions as well.
16-01-2019, 09:01 PM
I had this in a holiday home once, it nearly drove me nuts.
16-01-2019, 10:01 PM
Unoriginal ‘banter’. I do a lot of my running in and around Niddrie and Craigmillar so a bit heckling from the local young team is inevitable. A bit originality wouldn’t go amiss though. Is ‘run Forest run’ really the best they can come up with? Referencing a film that was released about 2 years before most of them were born is a bit disappointing.
I’m running the streets in leggings and a snood; I’m absolutely ripe for a slagging and they are letting the opportunity pass. Wouldn’t have happened in my day.
17-01-2019, 05:28 AM
Worse when you have to move the cushions as well.
:-)
17-01-2019, 08:12 AM
Unoriginal ‘banter’. I do a lot of my running in and around Niddrie and Craigmillar so a bit heckling from the local young team is inevitable. A bit originality wouldn’t go amiss though. Is ‘run Forest run’ really the best they can come up with? Referencing a film that was released about 2 years before most of them were born is a bit disappointing.
I’m running the streets in leggings and a snood; I’m absolutely ripe for a slagging and they are letting the opportunity pass. Wouldn’t have happened in my day.
I have the same issue.
In my work i'm out taking photos of ***** properties in a very poor condition pretty regularly, a lot and a lot of the time there's workies kicking about. Every single time without fail, one of them makes a joke trying to show off to their pals about getting in the photo and how his good looks will help sell it.
In fairness, they don't know i get it every time but it does my head in. Wasn't funny the first time, every week for over a year it definitely isn't funny now.
While i'm on the subject of workies as well, when they play comedian in Greggs and try to have great 'banter' with the folk working there. C'mon, get your sausage roll and get out, no need for the bantz.
17-01-2019, 09:25 AM
Leggings and a snood! You’d not have survived the Cowan changing room with that attire S! 😀
18-01-2019, 02:31 AM
It's a lifestyle magazine kind of thing.
18-01-2019, 11:15 AM
David Mundell, David ****ing Mundell, David mother****ing Mundell.
18-01-2019, 06:43 PM
David Mundell, David ****ing Mundell, David mother****ing Mundell.
Preach!
19-01-2019, 08:37 AM
The jokers on eBay that think someone is going to pay up to £2000 for Playstation Pro 500 million edition console.
25-01-2019, 09:46 PM
Those bar steward wee flies in your holiday apartment, nippy as.
26-01-2019, 01:49 PM
The upsurge in private cars with drivers who think they can do whatever they f***ing want as long as they give a wee wave to say sorry, just had a barny with one said driver, f***ing earplugs in and smiling away as if nothing was wrong, the passenger didn't look to happy with the driver just pulling out on me, sometimes I wonder if these guys even have driving licences.
Drivers are frightful generally.
I am one myself.
30-01-2019, 11:25 AM
People who take pictures of their food, whether at home or in a restaurant, and post it on social media.
No one is interested in what you had for your tea.
30-01-2019, 11:48 AM
People who take pictures of their food, whether at home or in a restaurant, and post it on social media.
I'm more interested in what they had for their tea than what they themselves look like at the time they're having it. Even a shot of the empty plate that's left after they've eaten it would be preferable to the ubiquitous look at me look at me look at me stuff.
30-01-2019, 12:16 PM
The millions of people following food bloggers would disagree 😉
30-01-2019, 12:17 PM
If I'm thinking of going to a particular restaurant I do search for it on Instagram and have a nosy at people's photos of their meals, it's really helpful! :greengrin
30-01-2019, 12:33 PM
I don't post them on SM, but I take the odd photo and whatsapp if I think it's something my girlfriend would like/I've put effort into making it.
It's something I'd try to do very discreetly if in public though. Nothing worse than an accidental flash (from the camera!) in a restaurant to draw attention to yourself.
31-01-2019, 02:39 PM
Buses, particularly single deckers, that swing in to bus stops narrowly missing folk with the big rear view mirror.
I'm amazed no one has ever been beaned by such a manoeuvre. They miss by inches. I suppose all the drivers are just too professional.
Aye that'll be it.
03-02-2019, 07:01 PM
Groups of friends in the random checkin seats having conversations on the flight by shouting.
Sent from my F8331 using Tapatalk
StevesFamau5
05-02-2019, 01:44 PM
Groups of friends in the random checkin seats having conversations on the flight by shouting.
Also the one person that ends up next to you and they are constantly up and down to the pisher..... Or the really drunk one that tries to engage in conversation.. "how bout them tories eh, pure ruining country n that but..."
:idiot::idiot:
05-02-2019, 04:33 PM
On a flight to Santorini last year I was amazed at the amount of wedding parties and the people were dressed as if they were going to tie the knot on the plane. Not so much look at me as Look at us - we're in love. Sickening, projectile vomiting inducing behaviour and most of them were pished and acting accordingly. The things you see when you don't have a gun.
06-02-2019, 06:09 AM
When there's only 3 people at the ski lift, you, your Mrs and some random snowboarder and he gets on the 4er chair with you.
06-02-2019, 05:39 PM
When there's only 3 people at the ski lift, you, your Mrs and some random snowboarder and he gets on the 4er chair with you.
It can only go downhill from there.
06-02-2019, 08:49 PM
It can only go downhill from there.
We wanted a private chat and it's snow any of his business.
07-02-2019, 06:49 PM
TV programme continuity issues where the sounds from the next scene are heard before the scene switches.
08-02-2019, 05:17 AM
TV programme continuity issues where the sounds from the next scene are heard before the scene switches.
A "J Cut". It's a deliberate technique rather than a continuity issue but it's definitely becoming more prevalent.
08-02-2019, 09:10 AM
I got treated to an Easyjet lead cabin steward who, in his own mind, thought he was the next Kevin Bridges but in fact treated us all to abominable "Scottish" patter. Couldn't wait to get off that plane.
12-02-2019, 01:50 PM
Apologies if this has already been mentioned in the 214 odd (for me anyway) pages on this thread:
People who do not know when and appropriately to use the "reply all" function on a bloody email.
Yes, we're a large group of people. Yes, we've all been invited to the same event. No, Andrea, I don't ****ing need to know you're going to try your best to make it along. JUST EMAIL THE ****TING ORGANISER!!!!
12-02-2019, 04:28 PM
Speaking of email, people that sign off an email with just 'Thanks', no fullstop. What's that all about? Are you too busy to finish it properly or do you deem yourself far too important?? It's the equivalent of walking away during conversation - twats.
12-02-2019, 04:39 PM
Speaking of email, people that sign off an email with just 'Thanks', no fullstop. What's that all about? Are you too busy to finish it properly or do you deem yourself far too important?? It's the equivalent of walking away during conversation - twats.I'd rather have an unpunctuated thanks than no reply at all.
12-02-2019, 04:40 PM
Speaking of email, people that sign off an email with just 'Thanks', no fullstop. What's that all about? Are you too busy to finish it properly or do you deem yourself far too important?? It's the equivalent of walking away during conversation - twats.
Presumably a comma is acceptable? As then combined with your email signature would be:
Thanks,
Daniel
I don't - I write my name again even with the signature below.
I once received a "krgds L" though - I imagine that wouldn't go down well. :greengrin
12-02-2019, 04:52 PM
Completely agree
Also people that don't finish their
Bus drivers who take two payments of my card and tell me theres nothing he can do about it :fuming:
Then the passengers who tut at ME because i stand and argue! I did nothing wrong. :boo hoo:
£7.40 into Edinburgh!
12-02-2019, 07:36 PM
Probably mentioned already... folk that skip the queue at a bus stop.
When I got to the bus stop this morning there was only one other person there. The stop was quite busy when the bus came but the first guy was waiting for another bus so I went to get on the bus when a French family came running up to the stop and pushed me out of the way to get on the bus! Luckily the bus wasn’t full, I’d be raging if it was full (as it usually tends to be by my stop) and I didn’t get on.
Which brings me to another point... bus drivers who have a strange way of managing the maximum number of passengers on the bus. For example, five people get off the bus but they only let two off. Then they go mental at you, swearing at you when you point it out.
13-02-2019, 06:57 AM
Soup.
More precisely these big plastic containers of soup, some of them look (and taste) lovely but I don’t understand the size of them. They’re too big to fit in a normal size bowl and there’s not enough to stretch over two bowls. Got a can of soup yesterday and it fitted perfectly into a normal size bowl, why don’t these soup makers all make them that size?
I normally find myself making it, pouring it into a bowl, eating a bit of it to make room and then pouring the rest in. Nobody else ever seems to have this problem and I don’t know what they do to make it work?!
Obviously I could just eat it from it’s container but that doesn’t seem right to me.
13-02-2019, 08:55 AM
Bus drivers who take two payments of my card and tell me theres nothing he can do about it :fuming:
Then the passengers who tut at ME because i stand and argue! I did nothing wrong. :boo hoo:
£7.40 into Edinburgh!
Tight arse. :wink: :greengrin
13-02-2019, 09:20 AM
For example, five people get off the bus but they only let two off. Then they go mental at you, swearing at you when you point it out.
Akin to kidnapping that is.
Soup.
More precisely these big plastic containers of soup, some of them look (and taste) lovely but I don’t understand the size of them. They’re too big to fit in a normal size bowl and there’s not enough to stretch over two bowls. Got a can of soup yesterday and it fitted perfectly into a normal size bowl, why don’t these soup makers all make them that size?
I normally find myself making it, pouring it into a bowl, eating a bit of it to make room and then pouring the rest in. Nobody else ever seems to have this problem and I don’t know what they do to make it work?!
Obviously I could just eat it from it’s container but that doesn’t seem right to me.
They're for 2 people you greedy get :greengrin
StevesFamau5
13-02-2019, 09:45 AM
Apologies if this has already been mentioned in the 214 odd (for me anyway) pages on this thread:
People who do not know when and appropriately to use the "reply all" function on a bloody email.
Yes, we're a large group of people. Yes, we've all been invited to the same event. No, Andrea, I don't ****ing need to know you're going to try your best to make it along. JUST EMAIL THE ****TING ORGANISER!!!!
This.....
Similarly an email where the question is "can the person who spoke to Mr/Mrs xxxx please let me know by return" and everyone in it replies "not me"...
Did you read the damn question :grr::grr::grr:
13-02-2019, 10:16 AM
They're for 2 people you greedy get :greengrin
2 people with very different appetites to me then.
Anyway, who nips out the office and buys lunch for two people?
Madness.
15-02-2019, 03:35 PM
We have three toasters in the work canteen - one for bagels, and two for toast (one for lightly toasted, the other for well done).
There are signs on the toasters explaining this and on each sign there is the instruction to not adjust the settings.
People adjust the settings. Does my head in.
We have three toasters in the work canteen - one for bagels, and two for toast (one for lightly toasted, the other for well done).
There are signs on the toasters explaining this and on each sign there is the instruction to not adjust the settings.
People adjust the settings. Does my head in.
Thats nuts! I would adjust the settings just to annoy people. Why not just let people do their own settings?
15-02-2019, 04:01 PM
Thats nuts! I would adjust the settings just to annoy people. Why not just let people do their own settings?
They go on fire - well, the toast does for a start which then triggers the fire alarm. It's a very big building to evacuate for someone's toast burning.
They also take multiple people's toast at once so if everyone's adjusting it then folk would be waiting ages.
They go on fire - well, the toast does for a start which then triggers the fire alarm. It's a very big building to evacuate for someone's toast burning.
They also take multiple people's toast at once so if everyone's adjusting it then folk would be waiting ages.
Need to get rid of them then. Hospitals getting rid of toasters for that very reason.
15-02-2019, 04:41 PM
Need to get rid of them then. Hospitals getting rid of toasters for that very reason.
And there is the thing that really bugs me, your suggestion to get rid of them is a common solution to similar issues where ******g idiots can’t follow an instruction.
Toast isnt that important really
15-02-2019, 04:49 PM
It’s not the toast I am talking about, it’s the common theme of folk not following instruction that ruins things for everyone.
15-02-2019, 11:05 PM
It’s not the toast I am talking about, it’s the common theme of folk not following instruction that ruins things for everyone.
Yes. You're absolutely spot on. :agree:
16-02-2019, 12:23 AM
People who dump all sorts of stuff around the recycling bins at Tesco. After the weekends there are mattresses, tvs, furniture etc all over the place. Lazy tossers.
16-02-2019, 04:14 AM
People who dump all sorts of stuff around the recycling bins at Tesco. After the weekends there are mattresses, tvs, furniture etc all over the place. Lazy tossers.
:agree: Though slightly less lazy than just tossing it all on the roadside, which isn't that uncommon.
16-02-2019, 12:42 PM
Charities who only accept a minimum contribution and a regular one at that. I’ve just had Red Cross guys at the door looking for a minimum weekly contribution of £3 per week. I said I wouldn’t sign up for a regular donation but would give them a tenner one off. They politely said no thanks and moved on. :dunno:
17-02-2019, 10:41 AM
Folk that get on buses for one stop, happened 6 times yesterday on the 44 I was on heading to the game, folk getting on the bus and getting off after one stop, not just old people either. Lazy bstards just slowing the bus journey down, should be banned!!!
speedy_gonzales
17-02-2019, 11:10 AM
Folk that get on buses for one stop, happened 6 times yesterday on the 44 I was on heading to the game, folk getting on the bus and getting off after one stop, not just old people either. Lazy bstards just slowing the bus journey down, should be banned!!!
My dad used to do this until I reminded him his "free" bus pass may well be free at point of use to him but his local authority picks up the tab(they don't pay the full fare but a significant percentage).
He no longer jumps on the bus for short journeys, even to the point where he now walks from Bonnyrigg to Eskbank Tesco most mornings, from the sublime to the ridiculous!
17-02-2019, 07:55 PM
Me and the good wife have an 11 week old so getting a couple of hours to watch a film together is a rareity. So the wife spends ages going though every subscription service we have to find a film and then tells me just to choose one as she’s not bothered what we watch, which I do. Then moans at the film choice (Papillion, the original not the crap looking remake) 😒
stuart-farquhar
18-02-2019, 12:42 AM
Calling the barbaric violence of UFC a sport.
It's not. It’s brawling thuggery.
18-02-2019, 07:25 AM
I haven't seen this happen anywhere but Edinburgh, and it's very common within the city as well. Some folk must wait longer for the bus than it would have taken to walk the distance they travelled.
18-02-2019, 08:25 AM
I haven't seen this happen anywhere but Edinburgh, and it's very common within the city as well. Some folk must wait longer for the bus than it would have taken to walk the distance they travelled.
It's mostly lazy *******s.
18-02-2019, 08:26 AM
Calling the barbaric violence of UFC a sport.
It's not. It’s brawling thuggery.
Glorified street fighting.
18-02-2019, 10:57 AM
Charities who only accept a minimum contribution and a regular one at that. I’ve just had Red Cross guys at the door looking for a minimum weekly contribution of £3 per week. I said I wouldn’t sign up for a regular donation but would give them a tenner one off. They politely said no thanks and moved on. :dunno:
This really bothers me too - there's an armada of charity workers in Glasgow City Centre every day at the minute, all trying to get folks to sign up to D/Ds for £5/£10 a month. Until you receive an email from them or a phone call a month or 2 later asking you to considering upping your contribution.
I'll never sign up to these schemes, and nipping out for lunch is like running a gauntlet against the folks employed to harass members of the public.
18-02-2019, 01:07 PM
This really bothers me too - there's an armada of charity workers in Glasgow City Centre every day at the minute, all trying to get folks to sign up to D/Ds for £5/£10 a month. Until you receive an email from them or a phone call a month or 2 later asking you to considering upping your contribution.
I'll never sign up to these schemes, and nipping out for lunch is like running a gauntlet against the folks employed to harass members of the public.
There are guidelines for the chugger, they are not supposed to go closer than 5m from shop doors and walk more than 5 steps alongside a potential customer.
18-02-2019, 03:35 PM
Derek McInnes's stupid jacket... WTF is that all about.
18-02-2019, 05:34 PM
Unfortunately, what you say is true. When I lost my wife to cancer, I made a substantial donation, along with a large sum of money collected at her funeral, to a well known and deserving charity. I also signed up for a modest monthly donation. Left like that, I would have been happy to continue, but I began to get letters asking me to donate more per month, so I cancelled my monthly donation.
18-02-2019, 05:42 PM
Unfortunately, what you say is true. When I lost my wife to cancer, I made a substantial donation, along with a large sum of money collected at her funeral, to a well known and deserving charity. I also signed up for a modest monthly donation. Left like that, I would have been happy to continue, but I began to get letters asking me to donate more per month, so I cancelled my monthly donation.
I donate a monthly sum of money to a mental health charity, initially this through my wages called a give as you scheme but when I changed jobs this ceased but I set it up on my own as a go cardless thing and have kept it running for years now. To the charities credit they've never once asked me to up my donation and never contact me asking questions. I do enjoy the monthly newsletter though.
23-02-2019, 12:59 PM
Folk who write the way they talk. I’ve nothing against how anyone chooses to speak but when you write the way you talk it’s a nightmare trying to understand what’s been written. It must also take twice as long to post in that style as it would to just write in more “normal” English.
23-02-2019, 01:23 PM
Folk who write the way they talk. I’ve nothing against how anyone chooses to speak but when you write the way you talk it’s a nightmare trying to understand what’s been written. It must also take twice as long to post in that style as it would to just write in more “normal” English.
Wha dya mean like la
23-02-2019, 09:22 PM
Wha dya mean like laDey do doh, don't dey doh, dey do doh
24-02-2019, 04:13 AM
Some bloke on Hibs Net posts in a sort of Lowland dialect. Very pretentious.
24-02-2019, 06:33 AM
Some bloke on Hibs Net posts in a sort of Lowland dialect. Very pretentious.
Fa diz at?
24-02-2019, 12:39 PM
Chewing on the stringy bit of a banana.
Silky
24-02-2019, 04:28 PM
Fa diz at?
Magic 'at?
26-02-2019, 03:39 PM
Folk having their lunch sitting on the Waverley steps.
28-02-2019, 11:18 AM
When you go into a bank, post office etc why, no matter how many windows they have available do they only ever have 2 open? It's always 2; except when it's really busy, they they have 1.
28-02-2019, 03:57 PM
People who put their bags in the seat next to window and then sit in the aisle seat.
28-02-2019, 05:28 PM
People who put their bags in the seat next to window and then sit in the aisle seat.
That is weird as
28-02-2019, 05:56 PM
What is wrong with you?
28-02-2019, 08:26 PM
"is it actual?"
What is wrong with you?
Just no a toast fan really
28-02-2019, 10:20 PM
When you go into a bank, post office etc why, no matter how many windows they have available do they only ever have 2 open? It's always 2; except when it's really busy, they they have 1.
Same at the customer service desk in Tesco and Morrisons when you are wanting to take something back. One person on duty.
01-03-2019, 10:36 AM
I do this. It's a way to reduce the ease with which someone walking past the seat could lift my bag and be off the train before I'm even in the aisle.
Obviously, if it gets busy, I'll move the bag to my lap.
01-03-2019, 11:11 AM
I do this. It's a way to reduce the ease with which someone walking past the seat could lift my bag and be off the train before I'm even in the aisle.
If your bag can fit on your lap or in between your legs I’d always do that in the first instance, or put it in the rack above. It’s not crime if the century but don’t see the need for people to take up two seats most of the time IMO.
01-03-2019, 11:55 AM
Nah sorry, there’s no excuse for it.
If you’re scared of it being stolen between your legs and on the ground is the safest place.
How busy would it need to be before you move it? Once all other seats were taken and only yours is left free? In my experience that’s normally what happens, obviously I don’t know you so you may be the exception to this rule of course.
(I don’t actually get busses any more so it doesn’t really bother me, used to though)
01-03-2019, 12:44 PM
People that stink. There was a Greek guy sat three rows in front of me on my flight back from Thessaloniki this morning who smelt like he's been living in an ashtray for at least a decade. Absolutely minging.
beensaidbefore
04-03-2019, 04:25 PM
Folk that can't eat properly. Woman on the bus chomping away on something and making a right old racket slurping and lip smacking. Sounds like a labrador eating a toffee FFS.
04-03-2019, 10:23 PM
Contactless payments taking over everywhere, whats the script here then?
I was in a boozer a few weeks back after a game, ordered my round from the barman and he came back with my drinks and a contactless/chip and pin card machine and told me how much it was and said is it ok to do contactless? Now I'd never given him an indication that I was going to use my card, indeed I had a £10 note in my hand. I said to him that I'm paying by cash and handed him the tenner, he looked me like I had 2 heads and went pfft everyone uses cards nowadays. I think not chummy boy. I don't live on plastic matey.
I just felt he was a tad presumptuous as I always pay cash in a boozer/club/restaurant, I know I'm not the only one who uses cash. Anyone else had this attitude from staff before?
04-03-2019, 10:28 PM
I was in a boozer a few weeks back after a game, ordered my round from the barman and he came back with my drinks and a contactless/chip and pin card machine and told me how much it was and said is it ok to do contactless? Now I'd never given him an indication that I was going to use my card, indeed I had a £10 note in my hand. I said to him that I'm paying by cash and handed him the tenner, he looked me like I had 2 heads and went pfft everyone uses cards nowadays. I think not chummy boy. I don't live on plastic matey.
I just felt he was a tad presumptuous as I always pay cash in a boozer/club/restaurant, I know I'm not the only one who uses cash. Anyone else had this attitude from staff before?
Not had the attitude but like you it’s always cash for me in pubs and restaurants.
speedy_gonzales
05-03-2019, 01:22 AM
I encountered something similar in London. It would appear that everyone uses contactless down there, the barman looked at me like I was the weirdo proffering cash rather than card.
But, I have since added my card to my phone so use Google Pay virtually all the time. I'm not spending more than I would otherwise, I just have less pocketfuls of shrapnel after a night out!
05-03-2019, 06:12 AM
Nah sorry, there’s no excuse for it.
If you’re scared of it being stolen between your legs and on the ground is the safest place.
How busy would it need to be before you move it? Once all other seats were taken and only yours is left free? In my experience that’s normally what happens, obviously I don’t know you so you may be the exception to this rule of course.
(I don’t actually get busses any more so it doesn’t really bother me, used to though)
There is rarely enough space for my legs to fit comfortably as it is without putting my bag(s) down there as well. The seats are also cleaner than the floor.
It's a judgement call, so hard to quantify, but I'd estimate about 75% of seats are taken by the time I'd move my bag off a seat.
05-03-2019, 07:00 AM
When we were over in Mold to watch the Hibees a lot of places preferred cards I stead of cash.The hotel we stayed in operated that system.Was a tad frustrating they would not accept cash.
When a colleague sprays air freshener in the toilet after youve been in! I was only washing my hands! Im insulted and offended :grr:
05-03-2019, 03:41 PM
I'd use contactless every time, much easier all round IMHO. In fact, the apps that get your drinks to your table paid for from your phone are even better.
05-03-2019, 03:41 PM
When a colleague sprays air freshener in the toilet after youve been in! I was only washing my hands! Im insulted and offended :grr:
and smelly, obviously... :greengrin
Evidently - and paranoid now! :greengrin
05-03-2019, 04:44 PM
I'm guessing there's a kind of Pavlov Conditioning going on here. :duck:
Id need to google but scared of being more offended
05-03-2019, 06:06 PM
It's making life easier for the hipsters who work behind bars nowadays. Some of them probably can't tell a ten pence from 50p.
Having said that, I pay contactless myself although I get quite stroppy if I don't get a receipt.
05-03-2019, 07:01 PM
I'd use contactless every time, much easier all round IMHO. In fact, the apps that get your drinks to your table paid for from your phone are even better.
Cash is a bit harder for Putin to hack into before the next election though.
06-03-2019, 08:14 PM
Re contactless I was in the ER Greigs getting a couple of filled rolls when the shop was busy. The time it took them to raise change from my tenner made me realise I was the only one in a busy shop paying cash. I'd become the student paying for a bag of chips with a cheque pissing everyone else of behind me..[emoji1787]
Sent from my SM-T580 using Tapatalk
Rocky
06-03-2019, 10:27 PM
When we were over in Mold to watch the Hibees a lot of places preferred cards I stead of cash.The hotel we stayed in operated that system.Was a tad frustrating they would not accept cash.
I didn't even take cash to Molde because contactless is so widespread there so I'd say that's a significant benefit. Buying foreign currency, trying to judge the right amount to take, then either running out or being left with some that you then need to change back is a right nuisance.
07-03-2019, 09:20 AM
I didn't even take cash to Molde because contactless is so widespread there so I'd say that's a significant benefit. Buying foreign currency, trying to judge the right amount to take, then either running out or being left with some that you then need to change back is a right nuisance.
Do the banks rip you off with poor exchange rate and foreign currency fees?
speedy_gonzales
07-03-2019, 10:39 AM
Not if you use a card like a Santander Zero card (Nationwide have something similar), zero currency charges, zero advance charges for cash withdrawals (even though it's a CC) etc,,,,
Rocky
07-03-2019, 10:51 AM
I don't know if they still do it but at the time RBS weren't charging a transaction fee on foreign transactions, plus the exchange rate is favourable as you're getting inter bank rates on currency exchange rather than tourist rates.
As an aside, I remember a few years back when I was in Poland that it worked out quite a bit cheaper for me to withdraw cash from ATMs over there (even allowing for the transaction fee) than it was for the people who had changed money beforehand in the UK. That was due to the exchange rate being so much better.
07-03-2019, 01:35 PM
This isn't really a peeve but it's too good not to share, an actual conversation in my work yesterday:
Lady 1 - 'Any plans for tonight?'
Me - 'I'm going to Mass because it's Ash Wednesday'
Lady 2 - '****ing waste of time, religious stuff is a load of *****'
Lady 1 - 'You're in a good mood today'
Lady 2 - 'I'm just grumpy because I'm giving up chocolate for Lent'
Me (jokingly) - 'I thought religious stuff was a load of *****'
Lady 2 - 'What has Lent got to do with religion like? It's the build up to Easter you idiot'
You can't argue with that.
07-03-2019, 01:46 PM
This isn't really a peeve but it's too good not to share, an actual conversation in my work yesterday:
Lady 2 - 'What has Lent got to do with religion like? It's the build up to Easter you idiot'
I hope your place of work doesn't have sharp objects lying around, someone could hurt themselves.
07-03-2019, 02:08 PM
Superb! [emoji23][emoji23]
07-03-2019, 02:35 PM
I've not got a religious bone in my body but, for sheer ignorance that is magnificent. 😀
speedy_gonzales
07-03-2019, 04:37 PM
I'm very close to hitting the bull***** button on that, no way did that happen, did it?!?
08-03-2019, 04:38 PM
Folk on the airport bus who lug their bags upstairs and then plonk them on a seat. How many seats did you pay for ya dobber.
08-03-2019, 04:48 PM
Folk on the airport bus who lug their bags upstairs and then plonk them on a seat. How many seats did you pay for ya dobber.
Maybe they are worried about someone stealing their bag :devil: