View Full Version : Pet Peeves IV
Nope,if you've concealed the item and passed all till points making no attempt to pay and are on your way through or at the door you're fair game. We used to weigh up the offender first,far easier to contain someone before they leave if you think they will give you bother. The PF had no problem with it.
11-07-2015, 08:09 AM
The taxi rank at Edinburgh station - which is on Market Street.
Sent from a phone
11-07-2015, 08:59 AM
Orange bands waking me up at 8:15 this morning. I'd like to shove their flutes and drumsticks up their...
11-07-2015, 09:06 AM
Folk who use the same knife for butter and then straight into jam. The bits of butter left in the jam go mouldy quicker. The same folk also leave toast crumbs in the butter itself.
Folk in my house who use the jam-covered knife in the margarine. I hate jam-flavoured margerine. Haha!
11-07-2015, 05:47 PM
Real ale that is too warm.
11-07-2015, 06:43 PM
Folk who use the same knife for butter and then straight into jam. The bits of butter left in the jam go mouldy quicker. The same folk also leave toast crumbs in the butter itself.
Are you two related
11-07-2015, 06:43 PM
Folk in my house who use the jam-covered knife in the margarine. I hate jam-flavoured margerine. Haha!
See above
Folk who ask your opinion on something as a recognised expert, then go completely against your advice.
folk who ask you a question, then proceed to ask the same question in slightly different formats because they don't believe you.
which leads to this...
you get pissed off answering the question, and it shows, so they get arsey with you for getting annoyed.
TV shows with mid season breaks.
12-07-2015, 09:16 AM
Used to be a snooker table fitter, would get called out to a club to re-level a table,more often than not would check all round with the level and find nothing wrong. Then a couple of the so called "expert" players would arrive and tell you how it was running out blah,blah,blah. A quick trip to the van to get the jack and another 10 minutes spent making noise and actions without actually lifting or re-levelling the table would result in them testing the table and finding it was now perfect! Used to do my nut in.
12-07-2015, 05:51 PM
Nurses who are asked to do Spirometry but know absolutely nothing about it.
Doctors too.
Had my boy at the docs a few years ago with a chest infection. I took him instead of his mum as the same doctor had tested him with a peak flow meter and decided he had asthma and prescribed inhalers etc.
I know he does not have asthma as I tested him myself. Anyway , Doctor performs a peak flow in my presence then tells me it's very low for his age . I asked , in his opinion what it should be , what's the predicted for his age? He then says there are no predicted sets for children !
Good grief, Deary me.
Yes there are predicted sets for kids and I had to show him where to find them.
So , my boy doesn't have Asthma :greengrin
Scraping the barrel now for pet peeves :greengrin
When you buy something like a pizza and decide after looking at the colour coded guide on the packaging that it isn't too bad for you.
You then take a closer look and the 50% of your recommended daily saturate intake is actually for some stupid amount like "per quarter pack" which you wouldn't realistically have.
People who talk about other people like you should know who they are. Ie telling a story 'then jimmy went into the pub etc etc' and who is jimmy??
13-07-2015, 04:42 PM
When people call each other babe. Such a cringey term.
The persona people build themselves on social media, when in reality they're nothing like it.
Tight-fisted people who hate spending money. Loosen up you miserable twats. Can understand that most people need to budget to an extent, but some take it too far regardless of their circumstances.
13-07-2015, 04:50 PM
Radio presenter today reported a player had inked a one year contract.......FFS he SIGNED it so why not just say that?
13-07-2015, 04:52 PM
When people call each other babe. Such a cringey term.
The persona people build themselves on social media, when in reality they're nothing like it.
Tight-fisted people who hate spending money. Loosen up you miserable twats. Can understand that most people need to budget to an extent, but some take it too far regardless of their circumstances.
Once had some miserable twat in our group proclaim on entering the pub first "it's not my round, I got the last round last night"
Chip shop Joe
13-07-2015, 09:49 PM
People who stand right on my shoulder when queuing and when I take a step forward to create a bit of space so do they! Beginning to think I need to change my aftershave as none of these offenders, male or female, are in anyway attractive!
There's an abandoned Rover sitting in the big lay by as you head over the Forth road bridge.
It's been there for weeks and it's starting to annoy me.
14-07-2015, 07:30 AM
Trains. Got kicked off the train to Ayr yesterday in Johnstone because of the weather. Its July and 2015 FFS. You've got to wait 2 hours for a bus to take you the rest of the way and then that bus is gonna stop at every train station the train would have stopped at so its gonna take a while. Aye right, I'm off back home.
14-07-2015, 07:57 AM
Contractors,you call them out to give you a price for a job and you're met with- Ooh this is gonna be difficult,hard, confined space,maybe take two men blah,blah,blah. FFS I don't give a toss, just give me a price or tell me you can't or don't want to do it.
14-07-2015, 08:16 AM
Contractors,you call them out to give you a price for a job and you're met with- Ooh this is gonna be difficult,hard, confined space,maybe take two men blah,blah,blah. FFS I don't give a toss, just give me a price or tell me you can't or don't want to do it.
....... and the contractors who come, tell you how good they are, enthuse about the job in question and promise a detailed quote in the next couple days ............ then disappear into the sunset, never to be seen again.
14-07-2015, 08:38 AM
Places that blatantly and unashamedly rip you off by charging ridiculous prices for stuff. We were in Callander on Sunday, stopped in a cafe for lunch. The youngest wanted a salad which was nice quid and came as a pile of grated cheddar cheese, one sliced tomato and a couple of wee bits of cucumber. The shop next to it was selling I've cream cones for £3.
Easter Road is bad for it with anything you buy from the caterers, the Hydro in Glasgow is a disgrace for it too.
Dan Sarf
14-07-2015, 08:58 AM
Hoovers. As soon as you pick them up they sprawl all over the room. The hose goes one way, the nozzle bit unhooks itself and crashes to the floor and the electric cable winds itself round a chair. :grr:
And the bag is always full.
14-07-2015, 09:49 AM
Places that blatantly and unashamedly rip you off by charging ridiculous prices for stuff. We were in Callander on Sunday, stopped in a cafe for lunch. The youngest wanted a salad which was nice quid and came as a pile of grated cheddar cheese, one sliced tomato and a couple of wee bits of cucumber. The shop next to it was selling I've cream cones for £3.
Easter Road is bad for it with anything you buy from the caterers, the Hydro in Glasgow is a disgrace for it too.
Predictive text is another of my pet peeves.
Dan Sarf
14-07-2015, 09:51 AM
Same herd
14-07-2015, 02:13 PM
:grr: Mine too! Thematic kebab!
14-07-2015, 02:30 PM
When you ask someone a question in text format like an e-mail or text message and they respond with 'Ok thanks' or something to that effect. Whether that's because they didn't read your message properly or they're purposely ignoring it, both are equally as annoying,
15-07-2015, 01:06 AM
Aye, and I was ticked of at the car park charges too. Callander isn't exactly Disney-effin-land.
15-07-2015, 09:51 AM
People who stand right on my shoulder when queuing and when I take a step forward to create a bit of space so do they! Beginning to think I need to change my aftershave as none of these offenders, male or female, are in anyway attractive!
With you on this one.
Starting to think my sense of personal space is larger than most peoples??
15-07-2015, 09:59 AM
With you on this one.
Starting to think my sense of personal space is larger than most peoples??
Don't move to the continent if that is the case!! People's spacial awareness and concept of what personal space is are totally out of whack vs. the UK!!
15-07-2015, 04:42 PM
People who walk into moving traffic and then get annoyed when you blow your horn :-)
15-07-2015, 04:48 PM
People who walk into moving traffic and then get annoyed when you blow your horn :-)
Drivers who, when you're waiting on them to go past so you can cross the road behind them, slow down as they go past you. Petty erseholes.
15-07-2015, 04:52 PM
Drivers who, when you're waiting on them to go past so you can cross the road behind them, slow down as they go past you. Petty erseholes.
Ha yeah, thinking about it that happens quite often.
15-07-2015, 07:32 PM
0844 or 0845 phone numbers. Why don't they just have a normal phone number? I had to phone the hibs ticket number today, I gave up after 20 mins and £1.40 later.
15-07-2015, 10:14 PM
People who post pictures of their latest meal on Instagram. Why, just why??
Can almost understand if it looks particularly nice or is from a fancy restaurant... But I seen one the other day of a messy looking barbecue spare rib with some onion rings and chips on the side. Made me feel sick looking at it.
Galahibby
15-07-2015, 10:35 PM
People selling stuff on Gumtree, Facebook, etc, who feel the need to add NO TIMEWASTERS! at the end. Do they think this will dissuade actual timewasters? :confused:
15-07-2015, 11:17 PM
People selling stuff on Gumtree, Facebook, etc, who feel the need to add NO TIMEWASTERS! at the end. Do they think this will dissuade actual timewasters? :confused:
I think that's just the Gumtree equivalent of this thread.
16-07-2015, 12:52 AM
0844 or 0845 phone numbers. Why don't they just have a normal phone number? I had to phone the hibs ticket number today, I gave up after 20 mins and £1.40 later.
I don't phone any of those numbers. If everybody did the same the companies would go back to 'normal' phone nos.
Same with ticketmaster. They can shove their tix up their jaxy. I rather not go to a concert/game than give these robbers one penny.
16-07-2015, 11:21 AM
Can't be bothered looking for it but someone mentioned walking poles/sticks.
Maybe they give people confidence.
16-07-2015, 05:30 PM
Haha happyhibbie .. That's a Belter of a reason if you've meant it.. Having seen that post.
17-07-2015, 04:09 PM
It doesn't have the numbers you refer to but it does have loads of others. Been using it for years now.
http://www.saynoto0870.com/
17-07-2015, 08:03 PM
It doesn't have the numbers you refer to but it does have loads of others. Been using it for years now.
http://www.saynoto0870.com/
I've bookmarked that site. Thanks
17-07-2015, 08:18 PM
I've bookmarked that site. Thanks
It should be in everyones favs, I've been using it for years too.
17-07-2015, 08:39 PM
It should be in everyones favs, I've been using it for years too.
I'm a bit slow on the uptake :greengrin
17-07-2015, 09:51 PM
I'm a bit slow on the uptake :greengrin
Welcome to the show LB! ;-)
17-07-2015, 11:38 PM
People who post pictures of their latest meal on Instagram. Why, just why??
Can almost understand if it looks particularly nice or is from a fancy restaurant... But I seen one the other day of a messy looking barbecue spare rib with some onion rings and chips on the side. Made me feel sick looking at it.
People who have Instagram. Full stop. People who put hipster hashtags in Facebook posts, especially guys who are only doing so cos they are sure their girlfriends love it.
18-07-2015, 12:23 AM
When your typing in Word and you use a number (say 1) for a paragraph or 1st verse of a song
The next line automatically installs a '2' and indents you.
Okay, you cancel it in the wee box with '1,2,3' in it but the bleeding thing still comes back.
I have wasted about a month of my life correcting this 'helpful' automatic assistance that I don't want.
If I ever meet the man who designed that programme ...... I'll do the time, I swear. :brickwall
Galahibby
18-07-2015, 07:57 AM
When your typing in Word and you use a number (say 1) for a paragraph or 1st verse of a song
The next line automatically installs a '2' and indents you.
Okay, you cancel it in the wee box with '1,2,3' in it but the bleeding thing still comes back.
I have wasted about a month of my life correcting this 'helpful' automatic assistance that I don't want.
If I ever meet the man who designed that programme ...... I'll do the time, I swear. :brickwall
Hahaha, you do know you can switch that off eh? :thumbsup:
18-07-2015, 11:49 AM
Hahaha, you do know you can switch that off eh? :thumbsup:
Yeh, but for some unknown reason it always sneaks back in to the document somewhere down the line. :wtf:
Add also the varied undesired depths of indentations + those little L's that appear randomly in the ruler and maybe you'll understand why I'm a potential assassin :gun:.
I suppose a little knowledge is a dangerous thing. :greengrin
19-07-2015, 06:17 PM
I have said it before on here but it bares repeating as it is currently happening to me...
People who let their kids run riot in the pub. :brickwall
They do not need to scream and shout. There are other customers. Some of us have hangovers as well.
19-07-2015, 07:52 PM
Scratch that, full grown adults (whose kids are running riot) that have to ****ing SCREAM at each other in the pub. **** off!
19-07-2015, 08:56 PM
Scratch that, full grown adults (whose kids are running riot) that have to ****ing SCREAM at each other in the pub. **** off!
You're going to the wrong pubs.
20-07-2015, 12:16 AM
You're going to the wrong pubs.
I occasionally work in the wrong pubs aye :greengrin
Induction days at work zzzzzzzzzzz
20-07-2015, 03:46 PM
Induction days at work zzzzzzzzzzz
You need to come along to one of my courses.
20-07-2015, 03:51 PM
That the whole of central Scotland comes to a standstill when the M8 is closed,nearly 2 hours from leith to livi!
I know its sad what happened but this isnt the only occasion it has taken me that long to get home.time to either upgrade the M8 or either of the A roads IMO .
You need to come along to one of my courses.
Just had a day of mandatory training and general mind numbing 😞
20-07-2015, 06:50 PM
I suspect the Facebook page Parked Like A Prick Edinburgh might appeal to some of the contributors on this thread :greengrin
20-07-2015, 10:55 PM
Just had a day of mandatory training and general mind numbing 😞
Doesn't have to be dull - just depends how much the company care.
To be fair it was several departments doing their thing, some had it and were interesting and slightly entertaining, others however were pretty dry.
21-07-2015, 05:08 PM
We're being taken to Venice & Milan for 5 nights in September to broaden our architectural horizons. Life can be a real bitch sometimes.
21-07-2015, 08:36 PM
I can't abide smug folk.
21-07-2015, 11:02 PM
I can't abide smug folk.
Nor can I. . Especially on all expenses paid foreign trips.
21-07-2015, 11:08 PM
Turning right on to a busy road can be a pain in the arse. I've seen myself turn left and go the long way before just to avoid the stress!
Anna and Else merchandise.
Right, you're sisters who love each other. We get it.
You've been spinning it out a bit now.
Heinz tins.
Great soup, beans, spaghetti hoops etc...and I don't mind paying for quality.
So why are your cans designed so they can't stack? Nearly every other brand has cans that can fit securely on top of another one.
If you open the cupboard door the wrong way or accidentally nudge one they can all come crashing down.
Are they deliberately making them like this to save a few pennies or just be "different"?
22-07-2015, 07:54 AM
Humble brags.
Sent from my D2303 using Tapatalk
22-07-2015, 08:03 AM
Humble brags.
I had to Google that to find out what it meant.
22-07-2015, 09:11 AM
Humble brags.
Sent from my D2303 using Tapatalk
Plenty of that on here!
22-07-2015, 09:13 AM
Boogie in the Morning. Have to listen to that pish if I get a lift to work from the missus.
Just tragically unfunny and generally irritating.
22-07-2015, 09:29 AM
Boogie in the Morning. Have to listen to that pish if I get a lift to work from the missus.
I like boogie in the morning and find it quite funny. Opinions!
22-07-2015, 09:33 AM
We'll put it down to an age thing then!
22-07-2015, 09:45 AM
I find it quite funny as well, the music is bloody awful though.
I'll add radio adverts as well there is one on Forth one with for this job opportunities place with an auto-tune voice and it's tragic, also this new one for a car where the kids cheer every time they go on a journey or something, that one really grinds.
22-07-2015, 10:38 AM
I'm with you on this one, it's bad.
22-07-2015, 03:54 PM
JK Rowling getting temporary traffic lights put up in the front street at Barnton so she can get her trees cut back, what's that all about, ahh, she's rich.
speedy_gonzales
22-07-2015, 05:43 PM
JK Rowling getting temporary traffic lights put up in the front street at Barnton so she can get her trees cut back, what's that all about, ahh, she's rich.
Surely that's what should always happen, especially if the work had the potential to interfere with the carriageway?
Don't really want to add to this thread as I'd never stop, but one of my bug bears is contractors stopping traffic willy nilly without the correct authority.
22-07-2015, 05:57 PM
People in a workplace who always try to show off how busy they are.
I have a very heavy workload at the moment but I go in, prioritise it, deal with it, get my head down and complete it. If I'm struggling to meet a deadline I speak to the person affected direct, quietly, and explain.
The woman opposite spends her time sighing, moaning, telling anyone else who will listen how busy she is, telling customers how busy she is, telling the boss how busy she is and generally doing anything but what it would take to make her less busy which is putting in a shift.
Gets on my nerves especially as she often comments that I must be quiet or asks what I'm doing in a pretty challenging way.
22-07-2015, 06:06 PM
Type of person that if they stopped moaning about how busy they are would actually get their work done. Can't stand that nonsense. Any overtime is massively publicised as well.
22-07-2015, 06:40 PM
I have a very heavy workload at the moment but I go in, prioritise it, deal with it, get my head down and complete it. If I'm struggling to meet a deadline I speak to the person affected direct, quietly, and explain.
The woman opposite spends her time sighing, moaning, telling anyone else who will listen how busy she is, telling customers how busy she is, telling the boss how busy she is and generally doing anything but what it would take to make her less busy which is putting in a shift.
Gets on my nerves especially as she often comments that I must be quiet or asks what I'm doing in a pretty challenging way.
I was on the verge of posting similar today. I work with a complete tosser who is always trying to tell me the extra hours he's putting in and how hard a worker he is. I can also relate to the point about them asking what you're doing in a challenging way.
22-07-2015, 07:08 PM
The urban dictionary.
22-07-2015, 07:46 PM
Linked to this is people - especially who work "in the city" - who seem to think how many hours one works per week as some sort of pissing contest, whereby the one spending more time in the office is somehow a better worker/more important person.
"Oh, I'm just so busy these days, pulled 65 hours last week, worked 6.5 days - just got lots on, you know".
No, you dumb fud, that's not a good thing. If that sort of workload is a) true and b) regular you're being taken for a ride by your employer and even though you may have a healthier pay packet than mine, I neither envy, respect or feel intimidated by the fact you spend just "soooooooooooo long" in the office.
Enjoy that pay packet that you don't have any time to actually spend. I'll be in the lake/river/hiking up a mountain/travelling with my girlfriend whilst you are racking up hours 45 - 60 of the week.
Bellends.
22-07-2015, 08:30 PM
Surely that's what should always happen, especially if the work had the potential to interfere with the carriageway?
Don't really want to add to this thread as I'd never stop, but one of my bug bears is contractors stopping traffic willy nilly without the correct authority.
That gets right on my nerves as well. They seem to think that because they're wearing a hi vis jacket they have a right to stop traffic.
23-07-2015, 06:07 AM
Folk who block escalators especially ones going down. Walk you lazy beggar
23-07-2015, 06:48 AM
Folk who want to run down escalators at Waverley steps when there's an empty staircase running alongside them.
23-07-2015, 08:37 AM
Nor can I. . Especially on all expenses paid foreign trips.
23-07-2015, 08:41 AM
Folk who block escalators especially ones going down. Walk you lazy beggar
Folk who seem to think that escalators are some kind of fitness training device.
Mango Man
23-07-2015, 08:44 AM
Story Toppers, I hate story toppers.
My black cat is blacker than your black cat.
23-07-2015, 09:15 AM
Story Toppers, I hate story toppers.
My black cat is blacker than your black cat.
My cat is vantablack.
23-07-2015, 10:48 AM
Folk who want to run down escalators at Waverley steps when there's an empty staircase running alongside them.
Maybe they're racing against it. :greengrin
23-07-2015, 02:42 PM
Should have been done at the weekend, the Sunday would have been the best day, rather than causing traffic mayhem at one of the busiest roads to get out of the Capital.
http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/news/scottish-news/jk-rowling-angers-neighbours-causing-6121179
23-07-2015, 08:50 PM
I've just finished I Hate My Job, It Sucks by Escobar Walker. It's a couple of quid from the kindle store and your description of your colleague sounds pretty similar to one of the characters in the book.
Adverts for Russian dating websites appearing on my ipad at every opportunity.
Does this mean my other half is searching for Russian men on the Internet? I'm also getting adverts for Asian babes so I'm hoping to god I get a birthday to remember!
24-07-2015, 09:54 AM
Does this mean my other half is searching for Russian men on the Internet? I'm also getting adverts for Asian babes so I'm hoping to god I get a birthday to remember!
I get that as well. Got told it was because of our search history too. I'm like, wtf??? My mrs is looking at russian brides??? Doesn't make any sense to me.
24-07-2015, 09:56 AM
The Russian one would be your best bet cos you get 4 - one inside the other :wink:
24-07-2015, 09:57 AM
Tapas bars, or more to the point, Spanish tapas bars in the UK. Charging you £5 per tapas is TOTALLY missing the point.
24-07-2015, 04:28 PM
Tapas bars, or more to the point, Spanish tapas bars in the UK. Charging you £5 per tapas is TOTALLY missing the point.
Its hard to decide who to apportion the blame to for that one!
speedy_gonzales
24-07-2015, 05:28 PM
Its hard to decide who to apportion the blame to for that one!
Obviously in this climate it's the "bloody foreigners"!
24-07-2015, 06:59 PM
Surely the blame would be spread out a bit tapas style!
24-07-2015, 08:45 PM
Vets bills.
Noticed the cat wasn't wanting.to put weight on his front right paw and was limping a bit. Off to the vet, 5 minute consultation, probably slightly less, maybe just a sprain, 3ml of anti inflams and I leave £79 lighter. That's on top of £13 a month insurance and £11 a month vet plan for vacinnes, worming, flea treatment and 6 monthly check ups.
Don't even get me started on the dog.
Is this the first genuine pet peeve on the pet peeves thread?
24-07-2015, 10:19 PM
Blackpool. Place must take in many millions and it's an absolute dump. And you can't go ten yards in the attractions without someone putting you in front of a green screen for a souvenir photo.
Vets bills.
Noticed the cat wasn't wanting.to put weight on his front right paw and was limping a bit. Off to the vet, 5 minute consultation, probably slightly less, maybe just a sprain, 3ml of anti inflams and I leave £79 lighter. That's on top of £13 a month insurance and £11 a month vet plan for vacinnes, worming, flea treatment and 6 monthly check ups.
Don't even get me started on the dog.
Is this the first genuine pet peeve on the pet peeves thread?
Dont get me started on vets i took both of my cats to get sorted to move to sweden two years ago after everything was about £600 lighter only to be told that they didn't need half the stuff they got.
25-07-2015, 12:11 AM
Guys who go out with a jumper draped on their back and shoulders with the sleeves hanging down their chest.Complete knobs.
25-07-2015, 06:17 AM
Do pets still get free treatment at the vets (PDSA) if the owner is on any benefits?
25-07-2015, 08:08 AM
Do pets still get free treatment at the vets (PDSA) if the owner is on any benefits?
Yeah, my wife is one of the vets at the pdsa.
26-07-2015, 04:25 PM
Folk who allow their dugs to run up and jump up at people.
Just back from a walk along the Almondell a this wee Staffy ran up to my wee laddie then jumped up on me .
Granted , it was friendly enough but I still shat it a wee bit.
Doesn't help when the owner (non ned) is shouting he's fine , he doesn't bite.
Keep your dangerous dogs on a lead . Not everybody out enjoying a walk with their bairns wants to be bothered by them.
Really does my head in.
liamh2202
26-07-2015, 04:37 PM
Just back from a walk along the Almondell a this wee Staffy ran up to my wee laddie then jumped up on me .
Keep your dangerous dogs on a lead . Not everybody out enjoying a walk with their bairns wants to be bothered by them.
Really does my head in.
Dangerous dog because it was a staffy? Maybe a bit of actual research into the breed is required. Don't believe all the papers feed you. Much more likely to be bitten by a yorkie
26-07-2015, 05:09 PM
Dangerous dog because it was a staffy? Maybe a bit of actual research into the breed is required. Don't believe all the papers feed you. Much more likely to be bitten by a yorkie
I realise all that mate. Staffies can kill folk though.
Pardon me for not wanting to take the chance.
I would have been the same if it was a rotty if that makes you feel better.
26-07-2015, 05:28 PM
Really does my head in.
I've got a rottweiler. Lovely big dog, friendly and has superb recall. I still keep him on a lead in busy areas though as some people are intimidated by the breed and they are very much one man/family dogs.
On the flip side the number of parents who let their kids run up to strange dogs and try to pet them, prod them and (on one occasion) climb on the dogs back and ride it like a horse is unreal. The dog shouldn't react, if it does it's entirely the responsibility of the owner but parents should control their kids as much as I should control my dog.
26-07-2015, 05:41 PM
I've got a rottweiler. Lovely big dog, friendly and has superb recall. I still keep him on a lead in busy areas though as some people are intimidated by the breed and they are very much one man/family dogs.
On the flip side the number of parents who let their kids run up to strange dogs and try to pet them, prod them and (on one occasion) climb on the dogs back and ride it like a horse is unreal. The dog shouldn't react, if it does it's entirely the responsibility of the owner but parents should control their kids as much as I should control my dog.
I agree PB.
I wouldnt let my kids run up to any dog and never have done.
I have a couple of mates that have had Rotties and another who has a Staffy and they are all lovely dogs.
I would still be apprehensive with them around my kids though.
29-07-2015, 06:20 PM
Hotel wifi codes .
Specifically having to enter said codes every time I put my phone down for a few minutes.
29-07-2015, 06:21 PM
People who call wifi , weefee .
29-07-2015, 08:21 PM
I've never heard that.
Matty_Jack04
29-07-2015, 08:44 PM
Hotel wifi codes .
Specifically having to enter said codes every time I put my phone down for a few minutes.
Ever used the wifi on an LRT bus? Now every time one passes me on the street it stops the 4g working on my phone
29-07-2015, 08:47 PM
Ever used the wifi on an LRT bus? Now every time one passes me on the street it stops the 4g working on my phone
:agree: that does my head in!
29-07-2015, 09:56 PM
People who call weefee wy fy [emoji33]
29-07-2015, 09:59 PM
Laddies who constantly drive up and down your street in their Honda with a ****ty sounding exhaust every 10 ****** minutes, I'm gonna ****** lose it very soon and remodel his car for him!!!!!
29-07-2015, 11:49 PM
I've never heard that.
You obviously don't live in France.
Really does my head in.
I couldn't agree more.
I stay next to a big park where lots of people walk their dogs and while I don't like dogs jumping at me, I hate it when they jump at my kids.
The owners reaction is the key though. If they are apologetic then I'm fine with that but it's the brazen attitude of some owners who try to make you feel as if you are doing something wrong by being cautious or scared. "It's only playing" is one of the popular ones but I'm sorry, I'm not on personal terms with your dog so I don't know that.
One time my partner was taking the kids to school when they were frightened by this black lab that wouldn't leave them alone. Instead of apologising, the owner started giving telling her that she needed to get my kids more used to being around dogs!! It's always when you aren't there. :grr:
Time wasters on eBay.
People would sell their granny for that purple and green striped top. :grr:
30-07-2015, 08:59 PM
Time wasters on eBay.
People would sell their granny for that purple and green striped top. :grr:
Just eBay in general. Put a decent offer in for something that's been up for weeks; nobody goes near it then with 20 seconds left, some twat beats your offer leaving you no time to come back.
Mixu62
31-07-2015, 01:13 AM
Just eBay in general. Put a decent offer in for something that's been up for weeks; nobody goes near it then with 20 seconds left, some twat beats your offer leaving you no time to come back.
They don't really do E-Bay in NZ, they've got a thing called Trademe which is practically identical. I hate people who constantly ask ridiculous questions about an item you've listed. "can you take a photo from the back....from the side.....from the ******' moon?" Bid or don't bid, but enough with the stupid questions!!
Overly friendly shop staff. Case in point, last weekend we were in a shopping centre and the missus takes our boy to one of those kids rides, so I nip over to a clothes store to look at the jeans. "Hi how are you?" Far enough so far right? Just wait....."up to much this weekend?" "going out somewhere tonight?" and on and on.... Mind yer own ******* business, I just want to look at some jeans!!!
31-07-2015, 08:59 AM
They don't really do E-Bay in NZ, they've got a thing called Trademe which is practically identical. I hate people who constantly ask ridiculous questions about an item you've listed. "can you take a photo from the back....from the side.....from the ******' moon?" Bid or don't bid, but enough with the stupid questions!!
Overly friendly shop staff. Case in point, last weekend we were in a shopping centre and the missus takes our boy to one of those kids rides, so I nip over to a clothes store to look at the jeans. "Hi how are you?" Far enough so far right? Just wait....."up to much this weekend?" "going out somewhere tonight?" and on and on.... Mind yer own ******* business, I just want to look at some jeans!!!
But did they work in the shop or were you getting picked up?
31-07-2015, 09:59 AM
Crisps. Don't get me wrong, I love them. Can easily eat 3 packets a day, but then, that's the problem.
31-07-2015, 10:03 AM
The guy who works at Scotmid in Carrick Knowe, by Union Park, he does my head in!
31-07-2015, 08:28 PM
When you buy a new video game and have to wait hours to play it because it requires a huge download to play it. I always thought consoles were supposed to be quick and easy compared to PCs?
01-08-2015, 07:27 AM
The guy who works at Scotmid in Carrick Knowe, by Union Park, he does my head in!
Hahaha know exactly who you mean - Scotmid Daniel.
01-08-2015, 09:45 AM
Women with ridiculously loud fake laughs, nothing can be that funny.
01-08-2015, 02:50 PM
Folk who spend the whole match kicking the seat in front of them...Had bairns just beside us in lower FF who were doing the same, whilst their mothers sat behind them f ing and blinding for most of the game
01-08-2015, 09:30 PM
Had bairns just beside us in lower FF who were doing the same, whilst their mothers sat behind them f ing and blinding for most of the game
Aye that does ma heid in as well....the thing is, it was guys in their mid-20s at least! Feet over the seats in front, kicking them back and forward to make as much noise as possible. One started it so the other 2 followed suit. A bit strange if you ask me.
02-08-2015, 11:47 AM
mothers sat behind them f ing and blinding for most of the game
Women that could swear for Scotland really do my head in.
02-08-2015, 12:14 PM
Pillows on the continent. How does every country singularly fail to grasp the function of a pillow is not that of your granny's cushions. Wrecks my head. The same in everything from Mountain huts to 5 star hotels.
Women that could swear for Scotland really do my head in.The three women a couple of rows behind us would be right up there with the worst, Allan was warming up and doing stretches and they started wolf whistling and shouting "nice bum" no complaints about that but when it got to ****ging him and his c*** size etc it went beyond joking. I feel sorry for their kids, if they are like that at a football game I despair to think what they are like in their own homes.
02-08-2015, 03:54 PM
People who put in early bids on eBay which drive the price up rather than waiting until there's less than 20 seconds left :)
02-08-2015, 03:58 PM
Cheap burgers dressed with a ton of other things to justify the selling price.
02-08-2015, 08:59 PM
People who start filling their plate from the wrong end at the buffet.
02-08-2015, 10:04 PM
Cheese on things that don't need cheese. Like a sausage butty, bacon butty, chips etc. No need at all.
02-08-2015, 11:34 PM
Toilet attendants in pubs and nightclubs. I know everyone has to make a living, but seriously, I don't need someone to give me handwash, towels or aftershave when I go for a piss. Telling them to **** off makes me feel bad when they ask for some change.
10-08-2015, 11:45 AM
Lassies on Facebook who post pictures of their kids incessantly (bad enough) but ALSO with captions as if it's the baby writing them in the 1st person - e.g. "cuddles with my Gran and Auntie Sarah" etc etc.
Just weird.
Hank Schrader
10-08-2015, 11:57 AM
Lassies on Facebook who post pictures of their kids incessantly (bad enough) but ALSO with captions as if it's the baby writing them in the 1st person - e.g. "cuddles with my Gran and Auntie Sarah" etc etc.
Just weird.
I'll add to that in regards to Facebook;
"I would just like to wish my lovely wife/husband/gran/boyfriend (delete as applicable) a wonderful birthday" etc etc
Well go and ****ing tell them then :rolleyes:
Hank Schrader
10-08-2015, 11:58 AM
Also, people who moan about things they've seen on Facebook :greengrin:wink:
10-08-2015, 12:36 PM
Just weird.
I saw one the other day, a status along the lines off:
'No right that sum randoms on my friends list like picture of my kids on Facebook.'
Firstly if they are 'randoms' why are you friends with them on Facebook. Secondly if you don't want people seeing or liking picture of your kids on Facebook then don't ****ing post pictures of then on such a public platform in the 1st place.
Godsahibby
10-08-2015, 12:52 PM
So you are in the supermarket and looking at a shelf trying to decide what to pick up and some rude and ignorant **** walks in front of you standing ther to grab something for themselves. No excuse me no apologies just barges in. me right off!!
10-08-2015, 08:45 PM
People who start filling their plate from the wrong end at the buffet.
I didn't know plates had a wrong end!?! :wink:
I know this had been touched on many times before on this thread, but the ignorance of some people in everyday situations is breathtaking. I was at the Foodies Festival in Inverleith on Sat and there was a decent-sized queue to get in to a relatively narrow entrance which then opened up as you entered the festival itself. While waiting on friends arriving, I watched numerous groups get through the entrance and then stop dead, blocking the path of all the people coming behind them.
It probably didn't help that they were being handed a programme guide as they entered and they seemed to think it was some sort of map. It was bad enough when it was couples or small groups, but you had folk with multiple dogs, double pushchairs and all sorts. Just walk 10-20 metres further on and there would be no problem.
10-08-2015, 10:01 PM
People who think getting on a bus with a pram not only entities them to the pram space but also the adjacent seats. Normally some halfwit looking oxygen thief with his skanky girlfriend.
11-08-2015, 12:11 AM
So you are in the supermarket and looking at a shelf trying to decide what to pick up and some rude and ignorant **** walks in front of you standing ther to grab something for themselves. No excuse me no apologies just barges in. me right off!!
Folk that fanny about at the shops. Just pick something! :greengrin
liamh2202
11-08-2015, 02:21 PM
People that walk about shops saying sorry instead of excuse me etc.. One of the ways I amuse myself on a shopping trip is see how often it happens
Galahibby
11-08-2015, 08:47 PM
Peevey day today...
1) folk that sit next to you doing that honking up snotters thing in their throat all day. IT'S MINGIN, BLOW YOUR FLIPPIN NOSE!!!! :sick:
2) those stupid taps at work that you have to push rather than turn, and the water then only comes out for a nanosecond. By the time your hands get to where the water comes out, it's already stopped. We're all actual adults, none of whom (that I'm aware of) have flooded our own houses because we don't know how to turn an ordinary tap off! Gonnae just give us proper ones?
3) Mingers who just leave the toilet without even attempting to wash their hands. Yeh, the taps are a bit irritating, but go on, at least try ffs!
That'll do for now, no doubt I'll be back :wink:
Maybe because im not a parent but babies on planes is peeve of mine, when they dont shut up for the entire journey. Sjould have their own section on the plane
12-08-2015, 08:04 AM
Peevey day today...
2) those stupid taps at work that you have to push rather than turn, and the water then only comes out for a nanosecond. By the time your hands get to where the water comes out, it's already stopped. We're all actual adults, none of whom (that I'm aware of) have flooded our own houses because we don't know how to turn an ordinary tap off! Gonnae just give us proper ones?
Mingers who just leave the toilet without even attempting to wash their hands. Yeh, the taps are a bit irritating, but go on, at least try ffs!
The thing about taps though is that you and everyone before you have just used a dirty hand to turn the taps on but are then using your clean hand to turn them off. Your clean hand is therefore touching a dirty tap which could have all sorts of germs.
Toilet/bathroom doors are the same. Many folks go to the toilet and don't was their hands but they use the same door handle to get out as you do. So you wash your hands only to have to open the door by touching the same handle that everyone else has, the same guys who don't wash their hands. I use my sleeve to open doors but if I've nothing long sleeved on I use the bottom of my shirt/t-shirt. Because you are making a hard grip, you should honestly see the colour of the dirt that comes off the handles sometimes.
12-08-2015, 11:00 AM
Peevey day today...
1) folk that sit next to you doing that honking up snotters thing in their throat all day. IT'S MINGIN, BLOW YOUR FLIPPIN NOSE!!!! :sick:
3) Mingers who just leave the toilet without even attempting to wash their hands. Yeh, the taps are a bit irritating, but go on, at least try ffs!
That'll do for now, no doubt I'll be back :wink:
Taps in general in the UK. Why two ****ing taps? One has water that's directly pumped from an arctic glazier's melt water and the other is tapped directly from the furnaces of hell. Why not have a mixer like other civilised nations?
12-08-2015, 11:08 AM
The thing about taps though is that you and everyone before you have just used a dirty hand to turn the taps on but are then using your clean hand to turn them off. Your clean hand is therefore touching a dirty tap which could have all sorts of germs.
Toilet/bathroom doors are the same. Many folks go to the toilet and don't was their hands but they use the same door handle to get out as you do. So you wash your hands only to have to open the door by touching the same handle that everyone else has, the same guys who don't wash their hands. I use my sleeve to open doors but if I've nothing long sleeved on I use the bottom of my shirt/t-shirt. Because you are making a hard grip, you should honestly see the colour of the dirt that comes off the handles sometimes.
Coincidently, there was recently a guy on Dragon's den with a contraption to be used for opening doors without actually touching the handle. He didn't get any investments. As far as touching a dirty tap to put it off is concerned, just fill the basin ( hopefully there will be a plug ) and you don't then have to touch the dirty tap again. Deborah Meaden said she used cheap disposable gloves when confronted with a potentially dirty toilet door handle.
Godsahibby
12-08-2015, 11:39 AM
Folk that fanny about at the shops. Just pick something! :greengrin
It wasn't my fault, I blame Waitrose, with all those different flavours of Humous to chose from it is hard to pick. #1stworldproblems
Galahibby
12-08-2015, 12:09 PM
You make a valid point. The canteen ones are the ones like doctors use - you swing them on and off with your elbow. I'd settle for them.
I saw the guy on Dragon's Den too. Was caught between thinking it was a good idea, but that people would think you were a bit weird if you actually used one. (kind of like how I'd feel if I was in the loo with Deborah Meaden and she pulled out a pair of gloves :tee hee: Or they could just start putting all toilet doors on so that you pull them to go in and push them to go out rather than the other way round?
12-08-2015, 12:54 PM
Folk that sit on the outside of two seats on all modes of public transport, wtf do they think will happen if god forbid someone sits beside them.
12-08-2015, 02:19 PM
Folk sitting in my reserved seat on a train thinking I will accept their excuse that someone is sitting in their seat. Unless the whole reservation system is down or seats have not been reserved for everyone, don't cry when I move you.
12-08-2015, 03:24 PM
Folk that sit on the outside of two seats on all modes of public transport, wtf do they think will happen if god forbid someone sits beside them.
I remember once sitting on a bus with two other individuals, all of us at the window seats. A guy got on and, despite all the available free seats, sat down beside me without as much as a 'hi' or glance in my direction. Perfectly innocent and no big deal, but it felt a bit creepy all the same. Maybe he was working for candid camera or maybe just taking the piss. :greengrin
The pizza counter in asda. There's always one person serving when I arrive, the queue is always ten deep and everyone in front of me is a "I'd like nine large stone baked please" person.
After waiting fifteen minutes I'll eventually get to the front when, without fail, another server will arrive to help relieve the queue.
12-08-2015, 04:54 PM
The pizza counter in asda. There's always one person serving when I arrive, the queue is always ten deep and everyone in front of me is a "I'd like nine large stone baked please" person.
After waiting fifteen minutes I'll eventually get to the front when, without fail, another server will arrive to help relieve the queue.
:agree: It's a counter with a lack of speed that would rival the kiosks at Easter Road. Usually have to tell them three times what I want as well.
More annoying was yesterday, getting a Subway for lunch and having waited to get served for a while (one guy cleaning, one serving the queue), when the guy asked what I salad I wanted with it, he starts talking to the cleaning guy as I'm telling him what I want.
12-08-2015, 09:53 PM
People telling me what I should accept these days as being normal.I couldn't give a flying, if I don't want accept something because I don't believe it's right then what right does someone have to accuse me of being something I am not.
12-08-2015, 09:55 PM
People telling me what I should accept these days as being normal.
Very much this.
EH6 Hibby
12-08-2015, 11:31 PM
Or when you're queuing for a checkout and once you get to the front, they open a new one and all the people that have been waiting about 30 seconds steam to the front of that one.
13-08-2015, 09:32 AM
:agree: It's a counter with a lack of speed that would rival the kiosks at Easter Road. Usually have to tell them three times what I want as well.
More annoying was yesterday, getting a Subway for lunch and having waited to get served for a while (one guy cleaning, one serving the queue), when the guy asked what I salad I wanted with it, he starts talking to the cleaning guy as I'm telling him what I want.
Yourself and PD clearly never got served by me during the glory years of my sentence, errrr service, at ASDA Chesser counters. Often got asked if I was native Neaopolitian so I did.....
13-08-2015, 12:29 PM
I saw one the other day, a status along the lines off:
'No right that sum randoms on my friends list like picture of my kids on Facebook.'
Firstly if they are 'randoms' why are you friends with them on Facebook. Secondly if you don't want people seeing or liking picture of your kids on Facebook then don't ****ing post pictures of then on such a public platform in the 1st place.
Also, couples who discuss/debate things via Facebook, tagging each other so the other will definitely see it.
Just had 1 of an ex workmate posting a video of some dug doing something daft and then asking his missus a question via Facebook regarding their own dug. As if they don't live together in the same house and it couldn't have possibly waited until this evening to look at it in person.
13-08-2015, 01:02 PM
Some of the Tesco stores (namely the one on Nicholson Street) where you have to ask the staff to get you a carrier bag. I usually have my own bag with me, but if I don't and I need one, I have to ask someone to give me one. What exactly do they think is going to happen to the carrier bags if they're left beside the self scan till? We're not going to steal them all?
liamh2202
13-08-2015, 01:37 PM
Some of the Tesco stores (namely the one on Nicholson Street) where you have to ask the staff to get you a carrier bag. I usually have my own bag with me, but if I don't and I need one, I have to ask someone to give me one. What exactly do they think is going to happen to the carrier bags if they're left beside the self scan till? We're not going to steal them all?
Its to make sure your paying for them I suppose
13-08-2015, 01:45 PM
Its to make sure your paying for them I suppose
But they don't stand over you when the machine asks if you have used any bags. You could still say 'no' and the bag hander out person would be none the wiser that I'm 5p richer than I should be.
13-08-2015, 05:37 PM
People who try to be a smart arse about other peoples pet peeves on hibs.net
13-08-2015, 06:07 PM
People who don't understand how lifts work when they want to go in the opposite direction.
EH6 Hibby
14-08-2015, 04:13 PM
Drivers that think because the person in front of them at the traffic calming area has time to get through before the car that has right of way gets there, it means they can just go through as well, same with people turning right.
14-08-2015, 04:49 PM
Drivers that think because the person in front of them at the traffic calming area has time to get through before the car that has right of way gets there, it means they can just go through as well, same with people turning right.
Learner drivers who then pass their test and think that their God's gift to driving😁
14-08-2015, 05:14 PM
Cars bombing through on a late amber/early red when there's a queue waiting to turn right in the opposite direction.
EH6 Hibby
14-08-2015, 05:23 PM
Learner drivers who then pass their test and think that their God's gift to driving
Must have been the way I was taught.
14-08-2015, 10:29 PM
Learner drivers who then pass their test and think that their God's gift to driving😁
Any young ersehole in a car too powerful for them, think they can drive but sadly all too often they're proved wrong with fatal consequences. Slow down ya pricks!
SuperAllyMcleod
14-08-2015, 10:32 PM
People who don't understand when to use the correct versions of the following: -
Two, too, to
Of, off
There, their, they're
Could of, could have
Should of, should have
There are other similar mistakes but this will do for now!
It's not rocket science to use the correct one and in the case of "could of" and "should of" never use them as they make no sense.
14-08-2015, 10:51 PM
People who don't understand when to use the correct versions of the following: -
Two, too, to
Of, off
There, their, they're
Could of, could have
Should of, should have
There are other similar mistakes but this will do for now!
It's not rocket science to use the correct one and in the case of "could of" and "should of" never use them as they make no sense.
:aok: I'm with you on this one.
:aok: I'm with you on this one.Me two
15-08-2015, 07:36 AM
Me two
I should of guessed someone would do that. Their's always one who has two have there wee joke.
Galahibby
15-08-2015, 09:50 AM
This one's less of a 'peeve', more of a 'holy mother of God, why would you?' thing... what is it with young guys nowadays who have those ridiculous hoop things stretching out their earlobes?? Gives me the heebies! What are their ears going to look like when they decide they don't want to wear them any more? Their earlobes will just be flapping around at their chins! :sick:
This one's less of a 'peeve', more of a 'holy mother of God, why would you?' thing... what is it with young guys nowadays who have those ridiculous hoop things stretching out their earlobes?? Gives me the heebies! What are their ears going to look like when they decide they don't want to wear them any more? Their earlobes will just be flapping around at their chins! :sick:Thats so their burds can chain them tae the dug post when they go shopping 😳
15-08-2015, 04:57 PM
This one's less of a 'peeve', more of a 'holy mother of God, why would you?' thing... what is it with young guys nowadays who have those ridiculous hoop things stretching out their earlobes?? Gives me the heebies! What are their ears going to look like when they decide they don't want to wear them any more? Their earlobes will just be flapping around at their chins! :sick:
I had similar thoughts when it became popular for women to get tattoos. 30 years later after my holiday in Tenerife I'm now convinced I was right. There's a few ladies over forty sporting some saggy minging tatts.
15-08-2015, 05:59 PM
I had similar thoughts when it became popular for women to get tattoos. 30 years later after my holiday in Tenerife I'm now convinced I was right. There's a few ladies over forty sporting some saggy minging tatts.
Actually tattooed women is a peeve of mine,even if it's just a single small tattoo. It's just wrong.
15-08-2015, 06:03 PM
My pal had to pay to have his stitched up.
Mixu62
17-08-2015, 01:36 AM
Yes, totally agree, especially if it's accompanied by dreads. Understandable if you're actually Carribean or African, but when you're a skinny wee posh white kid from West London, just gonnae no?!
17-08-2015, 07:04 AM
Actually tattooed women is a peeve of mine,even if it's just a single small tattoo. It's just wrong.
Correct! They seem to think it is a bold demonstration of their personality (or summat). In actuality it is just another pathetic fad which they may regret in time.
17-08-2015, 07:19 AM
Nothing wrong with a lady having a tattoo. Some of them can be very sexy in my opinion. Does depend on where and what it is though.
17-08-2015, 07:34 AM
Agree completely, I hate them on women.
17-08-2015, 09:35 AM
Correct! They seem to think it is a bold demonstration of their personality (or summat). In actuality it is just another pathetic fad which they may regret in time.
Much like tattoos on men IMO.
17-08-2015, 09:40 AM
Agree completely, I hate them on women.
You saying you prefer tattooed men?
17-08-2015, 10:26 AM
Much like tattoos on men IMO.
In Berlin there's a certain group of people who consider themselves to be wind swept and interesting because they're covered in tatts and piercings, they even look down their noses at others without tatts or disfiguring body/face decorations. It's as if they're trying to make some sort of statement about their personality through body ornaments. Can't shake the feeling that they're trying to add much needed colour to their character by painting their exterior. Same goes for the fashion industry imo, "yes that's an incredibly nice piece of cloth you're wearing, however it doesn't change the fact that you're still a twat only this time you're a twat wearing a fancy suit".
Don't get it me.
17-08-2015, 12:42 PM
You saying you prefer tattooed men?
No I was answering the statement about women.
17-08-2015, 04:42 PM
No problem with tattoos on men or women. A lot of people always bring up that you'll look daft when you're older but 20% of the overall population now has a tattoo and that rises to 29% in the 18 to 44 year old age group. In the US 36% of 18-25 years olds have a tattoo and that rises to 44% in the 26-40 age group. Sure we might look daft one day but there's going to be a hell of a lot of us looking daft together. Those figures are actually quite conservative as they are about 5 years old, masters estimates suggest the 18-29 age group could be as high as 35% in the UK and 49% in the US.
Did I get my tattoo for any deep meaning? No. Did I get it because I think it makes me cooler or more interesting than anyone else? Nope. I got it because at the time I liked it. Do I like it as much now? Not really. Do I regret it? No. Would I get another? Yes.
It's one of those cultural changes that happen and as the people of the age group most likely to be tattooed start to move into positions of power in the workplace and society on general the social stigma around tattoos will start to disappear.
21-08-2015, 11:10 AM
People who prefix a racist statement with "I'm not racist but..."
25-08-2015, 12:44 PM
Lidl - I need 1 onion, I'm making spaghetti and meatballs for 2 people, I don't need a bag of 8 onions. So I just rip the bag of onions open and take one, and get the same "these come in bags, they're not meant to be sold separate" speech from the guy at the till, who then puts the code in to get the price for individual onions.
If they have a code for selling them...sell them as individual onions. I would never need a bag of 8 onions.
But...I just had a cinnamon bun from Lidl just now, it was so good. Usually I just go for a croissant, which are decent too, but the cinnamon bun was brilliant.
25-08-2015, 01:40 PM
People in front of me in the queue at Lidl who hold everyone up because they have ripped open a multi pack and insist on buying the one item. The sooner Lidl stop pandering to these folk and refuse to sell multipack items individually the better.
25-08-2015, 01:45 PM
Going to Lidl and finding bags of 7 (instead of 8) onions. Don't people know that you can easily store whole onions for weeks?
Lidl - I need 1 onion, I'm making spaghetti and meatballs for 2 people, I don't need a bag of 8 onions. So I just rip the bag of onions open and take one, and get the same "these come in bags, they're not meant to be sold separate" speech from the guy at the till, who then puts the code in to get the price for individual onions.
If they have a code for selling them...sell them as individual onions. I would never need a bag of 8 onions.
But...I just had a cinnamon bun from Lidl just now, it was so good. Usually I just go for a croissant, which are decent too, but the cinnamon bun was brilliant.
sorry but if that was me serving you i'd have charged you for the whole bag.
25-08-2015, 01:51 PM
People in front of me in the queue at Lidl who hold everyone up because they have ripped open a multi pack and insist on buying the one item. The sooner Lidl stop pandering to these folk and refuse to sell multipack items individually the better.
Going to Lidl and finding bags of 7 (instead of 8) onions. Don't people know that you can easily store whole onions for weeks?
sorry but if that was me serving you i'd have charged you for the whole bag.
:gun: bring it on!
Getting home with one onion and realising it's not enough
25-08-2015, 02:28 PM
Getting home with one onion and realising it's not enough
you never need more than one onion for any meal.
25-08-2015, 02:33 PM
you never need more than one onion for any meal.
http://www.bbc.co.uk/food/recipes/frenchonionsoupwithg_7922
25-08-2015, 02:58 PM
http://www.bbc.co.uk/food/recipes/frenchonionsoupwithg_7922
I wouldn't make, or eat, that. The only time the onion should be the main component of a meal is when it's in onion rings.
25-08-2015, 03:17 PM
Stores that only sell eggs in boxes of six. Why would I want six when I only have one boiled egg for breakfast.
25-08-2015, 03:19 PM
Stores that only sell eggs in boxes of six. Why would I want six when I only have one boiled egg for breakfast.
Go to Lidl, just take one out of the box and take it to the till. Sorted.
But firstly, drop the diet, 1 boiled egg isn't enough for breakfast. It's a minimum of 2, but I would go for 3 boiled, or 4 when scrambled.
25-08-2015, 03:19 PM
:agree: You never need more than one egg for any meal.
25-08-2015, 03:23 PM
:agree: You never need more than one egg for any meal.
You never only need one egg. You always need more than one.
25-08-2015, 03:23 PM
In the pub, when people decline the offer of a bag of crisps when you buy a round, then proceed to help themselves to yours. :grr:
25-08-2015, 03:26 PM
You never only need one egg. You always need more than one.
Same with onions.
25-08-2015, 03:45 PM
Same with onions.
Ah we're going round in circles here....it's becoming quite the chicken and the egg situation.
You only need one chicken though. Lets agree on that. :greengrin
When you get a craving for a chicken and onion omlette and dont know why.
25-08-2015, 08:28 PM
Away from eggs and onions. Although I think this has been mentioned.
People who stand up too early on public transport. Train today hadn't even left haymarket and people were queuing to get off at waverely! Ffs, get a grip you pricks. No standing until you are through the second tunnel at earliest.
25-08-2015, 08:34 PM
Have you ever seen Rhod Gilbert do his 2 baked potatoes routine?
25-08-2015, 08:37 PM
When you get a craving for a chicken and onion omlette and dont know why.
Are you pregnant?
25-08-2015, 08:59 PM
I have now. I suppose at least he was funny, I was just awkward.
I always have 2 baked potatoes, 1 just isnt enough.
Galahibby
25-08-2015, 09:54 PM
Way too many to quote, but a big :tee hee: to everything since the onion post :thumbsup:
25-08-2015, 10:38 PM
Mark Watson did a reasonably funny 5 minutes on Live at the Apollo about buying 1 carrot at the supermarket.
26-08-2015, 02:16 AM
In the pub, when people decline the offer of a bag of crisps when you buy a round, then proceed to help themselves to yours. :grr:
This. 1000% this.
26-08-2015, 08:58 AM
When you go to Greggs and ask for a sausage roll, then they give you one, and it's cold. Gies a hot one! Are we really expected to ask for a sausage roll to be hot? I don't ask Burger King to make sure my fries are hot. I don't have to remind Taste Good that I don't want cold shredded beef with chilli.
And dinnae even get me started on the lack of sausage in their sausage and bean bake.
Are you pregnant?
No, I just look like I am :greengrin
26-08-2015, 11:24 AM
Im sure there is a reason for this, I think it started arpund the time of the pasrty tax thing. I dont think they can keep them warm on a hot loght or whatever it was that uswd to keep them warm, unless you get there when its just out the oven cold pies and sausage.rolls are what you'll get. :-(
26-08-2015, 11:31 AM
When you go to Greggs and ask for a sausage roll, then they give you one, and it's cold. Gies a hot one! Are we really expected to ask for a sausage roll to be hot? I don't ask Burger King to make sure my fries are hot. I don't have to remind Taste Good that I don't want cold shredded beef with chilli.
And dinnae even get me started on the lack of sausage in their sausage and bean bake.
On a similar theme, when you're behind someone in the queue in Greggs who asks "are the sausage rolls hot?" and, if they are told they are not, asks "are the steakbakes hot?". This then continued until they've listed every baked item in the shop and sometimes doesn't even stop when they are told that something they've asked about is hot.
On more than one occasion I've heard a staff member reply by listing what is hot, but that still doesn't stop these folk who seem incapable or retaining information more than 3 words in length.
26-08-2015, 11:32 AM
Straight from the oven or cooling naturally keeps them exempt from VAT.
26-08-2015, 11:32 AM
Away from eggs and onions. Although I think this has been mentioned.
People who stand up too early on public transport. Train today hadn't even left haymarket and people were queuing to get off at waverely! Ffs, get a grip you pricks. No standing until you are through the second tunnel at earliest.
Funniest thing I saw was at waverly few years back, a woman with a pram got up early (as is acceptable imo) to stand at the door before getting off, then the usual crowd got up. A guy started to push through the crowd saying he only haf 10 min to catch a connecting train, he had plenty time
He managwd to get to.the woman with the pram who literally had no where to move and said she couldn't move, he tried to barge by her but she stod her ground and some words were exchanged. As the doors open je jumped forward and actually stepped over this womans pram (it was one of tjose big ones with a proper baby, not a toddler) she shouted something like what you doing, and reached out to grab him.and caught is trailing leg causing it to Clip his other leg. He went proper flying and his manbag spread loads oof.paper on the platform. I was last of the train as I let every one off and he was still picking up the paper, I really hope he missed his train hah
26-08-2015, 11:46 AM
On a similar theme, when you're behind someone in the queue in Greggs who asks "are the sausage rolls hot?" and, if they are told they are not, asks "are the steakbakes hot?". This then continued until they've listed every baked item in the shop and sometimes doesn't even stop when they are told that something they've asked about is hot.
On more than one occasion I've heard a staff member reply by listing what is hot, but that still doesn't stop these folk who seem incapable or retaining information more than 3 words in length.
Sandwich queues!
Where I get my lunchtime sandwiches, there are 3 blackboards that list the full range as well as glass displays full of sandwiches with a wee card in front of each pile to say what they are.
But there's always someone (normally a woman) who'll wait until they're served to ask "what sandwiches do you have?"
Then they might ask for something but with no butter or mayonnaise therefore the wifie behind the counter has to go and make it up specially. That's fair enough, but then they yake a big chocolate cake and a can of coke to go along with their sandwich. WHO ARE YOU TRYING TO KID???:grr:
26-08-2015, 12:57 PM
Cold sausage rolls > hot sausage rolls.
Anyone who disagrees is wrong.
26-08-2015, 02:01 PM
One of my pet peeves is paying a fortune to taking the kids/grandkids to some sort of animal farm/zoo and find that half the stalls are empty due to renovations or the like.
No discount offered.
If I went into a pub and the barman poured me half a pint I'd be raging if he charged me for a full one.
26-08-2015, 02:39 PM
Random folk who see you smoking and ask for a fag, eh naw bolt.
26-08-2015, 02:42 PM
I don't smoke so dinnae know, but if that sort of thing actually happens, it's mental. You'd never go up to someone and say "here mate, can I have the other half of your twix".
26-08-2015, 03:35 PM
I don't smoke so dinnae know, but if that sort of thing actually happens, it's mental. You'd never go up to someone and say "here mate, can I have the other half of your twix".
IF you wander about the centre of Glasgow with a takeaway in your hand the local populace seem to think they are entitled to "a bit"!! Very strange. :grr:
26-08-2015, 03:50 PM
Group of asian folk who despite there being a half drunk pint, an open newspaper and a rucksack at my seat in the Doric thought it would be acceptable to take over my table while I was at the bar! Their response when I returned and told them to get to ****.......there are no other tables free!!!! Then the barman approached as I was about to lose it and told them sorry no kids allowed so they promptly left.
26-08-2015, 04:01 PM
Group of asian folk who despite there being a half drunk pint, an open newspaper and a rucksack at my seat in the Doric thought it would be acceptable to take over my table while I was at the bar! Their response when I returned and told them to get to ****.......there are no other tables free!!!! Then the barman approached as I was about to lose it and told them sorry no kids allowed so they promptly left.
Racist! :greengrin
26-08-2015, 04:32 PM
I always get asked if I have a spare smoke... And I don't smoke!
speedy_gonzales
26-08-2015, 06:11 PM
Racist! :greengrin
Did you mean Lacist or is that "racy lacism"
26-08-2015, 10:08 PM
IF you wander about the centre of Glasgow with a takeaway in your hand the local populace seem to think they are entitled to "a bit"!! Very strange. :grr:
We were in KFC a couple of weeks ago and a guy came in asking everyone if they had any spare change. After doing his rounds he left only to come back 10 minutes later and ask everyone for a bit of their KFC. Guy ended up up with a pocket full of cash and a free load of chicken.
26-08-2015, 11:13 PM
Waiting staff who wait on your shoulder and "pounce" to take your plate away a second after you have finished eating.
27-08-2015, 07:14 AM
It being festival time in Edinburgh, the usual tourist-related peeves are always on my mind. However, the thing I always find strange, year after year, is that groups from East/South-East Asia (Japan, Korea, China etc.) always seems to have both the worst and best manners and attitudes.
I'm not sure whether there's a distinct cultural difference between certain nationalities or cultural groups, but you could not get more extremes of behaviour in relation to respect for others.
27-08-2015, 07:23 AM
It being festival time in Edinburgh, the usual tourist-related peeves are always on my mind. However, the thing I always find strange, year after year, is that groups from East/South-East Asia (Japan, Korea, China etc.) always seems to have both the worst and best manners and attitudes.
I'm not sure whether there's a distinct cultural difference between certain nationalities or cultural groups, but you could not get more extremes of behaviour in relation to respect for others.
I was in Shanghai for the 2010 World Expo and discovered that the Chinese simply don't do queues - it's very much a cultural thing.
27-08-2015, 09:40 AM
Waiting staff who wait on your shoulder and "pounce" to take your plate away a second after you have finished eating.
Agree, and waiting staff who ask if everything is ok with your meal. Guaranteed to always happen when you have a mouthful of your food.
27-08-2015, 09:44 AM
The wife and I were doing xmas shopping at ocean terminal last year and decided to go outside for a fag break. A brass necked woman followed us out and tried to tap a fag from us. Happens all the time.
I was in Shanghai for the 2010 World Expo and discovered that the Chinese simply don't do queues - it's very much a cultural thing.
It's much much better than it used to be. I think it's less cultural and more of an attitude thing. When life's basics were in short supply, you really had to push in ahead of the rest just to survive. But old habits die hard. You'll find this attitude on the road as well. The idea of giving way just doesn't exist. It's always 'I'm gonna be first, you'll have to wait'. My biggest gripe: inconsiderate drivers!
27-08-2015, 12:02 PM
The number of people, particularly on this message board, who express disgust at certain newspapers and media, then advocate boycotts, swear to never buy the rag or give hits to their websites but whenever the need or desire arises, ask somebody for information or to paste the information. Principles are principles. :rolleyes:
27-08-2015, 12:42 PM
Automated, voice activated systems when you call a large organisation or office place.
"Please say the name of the person or department you are looking for"
Me - "John Smith"
"Connecting you to Joe Bloggs, unless you say cancel"
Me - "Cancel"
Ring Ring
27-08-2015, 12:51 PM
Automated, voice activated systems when you call a large organisation or office place.
"Please say the name of the person or department you are looking for"
Me - "John Smith"
"Connecting you to Joe Bloggs, unless you say cancel"
Me - "Cancel"
Ring Ring
That reminds me of my mate in a hotel room in Los Angeles who wanted to phone home.
As soon as he picked up the phone the automated system kicked in - "For room service say 'room service', for an alarm call say 'alarm call'..... for an outside line say 'operator'"
He said "operator"
"For room service say 'room service', for an alarm call say 'alarm call'..... for an outside line say 'operator'"
"operator"
"For room service say 'room service', for an alarm call say 'alarm call'..... for an outside line say 'operator'"
So he put on his bestest cheesy American accent "Uperaidrrr" - it worked!
Just had a work meeting, in attendance was someone wearing a brown suit, black shoes belt and shirt and an incredible hulk tie! Felt quite nauseous.
28-08-2015, 07:50 PM
The fact that the DVLA can ban ARS as part of a number plate yet allows ERS in Scotland.
And who seriously buys a car with FUD ( saw one today)in the plate.Would tell the salesman to bolt.
29-08-2015, 08:56 AM
People who just won't listen when you are trying to help them.
Phone rings at 10 to5 last night at work. New woman in the office answers and I overhear a few snippets of the conversation, realise it's a big customer so make a point of asking if she needs any help when she hangs up (she's only been with us 4 weeks and has a bad habit of going of on her own wee tangents or trying to do things her way which causes all kinds of logistical problems for my job).
She explains that was a customer, and as I said one of our biggest, who is looking for quite a few items by a week on Tuesday. The conversation that followed destroyed a part of my soul:
'They are looking for this, this, this and this by next Tuesday'
'Just pass that straight over to their account manager, it's specialist equipment and the specs and stuff will need to be checked'
'I'll just send them a link to the website'
'Those items won't be on our website, they're specialist'
'I'll send them a link to the supplier website then, she can have a look over the weekend then I'll speak to xxxxx on Monday about it'
'Hand it over to her now, it needs to be dealt with asap. It's specialist stuff, it needs priced and then handed over to me to be ordered and transported'
'She doesn't need it until next Tuesday, that's loads of time'
'It's not really, I'll need to check stock with suppliers then get it brought over from Germany. Just hand it to the xxxxx now, she'll deal with over the weekend then pass it to me on Monday,
'I'll just send her a link to the supplier website and hand it over on Monday'
'I really wouldn't recommend doing that, you're just going to cause more trouble for yourself on Monday. Xxxxx likes anything like this passed to her right away, it's not your job to deal with it, just hand it over'
'I think I'll just wait until Monday, there's nothing can be done over the weekend anyway'
At this point I just put my jacket on and left.
29-08-2015, 09:13 AM
Nightmare that eh? happens to us all. :-)
30-08-2015, 07:25 AM
"Changed it up".
30-08-2015, 07:29 PM
Urquhart Castle
About ten years ago I was disappointed and scunnered to see that the toilets at the main car park were inside the pay gate forcing 'desperate' tourists to fork out big bucks just to relieve themselves.
Their latest devious scheme appears to be allowing continual growth of bushes & trees to block all views of the castle or loch from the car park.
Shylockism or am I being cynical?
30-08-2015, 07:44 PM
Draught beers served in the wrong branded pint glasses.