View Full Version : Pet Peeves IV

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 [12] 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57

20-03-2017, 06:32 AM
Hotel rooms with poor lighting. Hilton are some of the worst for this, small lamps around the room but no centrally located ceiling light.

20-03-2017, 10:37 AM
That would have been my thought as well. I used to run the gauntlet many a time through them as a youngster, but they're not as bad as they once were.
Frustratingly though, the authorities rather than fix the problem ignore the route cause and spend what limited money they have on a solution that does not fix the problem. I'm assuming the trolls that dwell beneath the surface haven't just disappeared??Years ago I got off the last bus from Livi to Sighthill, went through the underpass and past a couple of guys about my age (16ish). I used to walk it all the time and knew enough people in the area that I really had no concerns.
About 2 minutes after I was passing the shops and seen police woman in a car watching me, I wasnt doing anything excpet having a smoke so thought nothing else of it. The guys I passed then shouted me as they followed behind me and shouted somthing. I turned and one started jogging down shouting about a lighter. I took mine out ready to give him a light when police cars from all angles came from no where. A bit taken aback I was huckled up against a fence and searched. Pleading I had done nothing wrong, luckily the police woman confirmed I did appear to be on my own and not with the 3 guys who had followed on.
It turned out there had been 3 people attacked that night in the area and lo and behold one of the guys had a 2 foot monster of a monkey wrench. Presumably I was to be victim number 4. However I got away lightly and with the folks names who were about to attack :wink:
Not a peeve and totally unrelated, but you can never tell with those underpasses even if you have used and lived in the area for years.

20-03-2017, 12:41 PM
Hotel rooms with poor lighting. Hilton are some of the worst for this, small lamps around the room but no centrally located ceiling light.

Also hotel rooms with showers that require an MBA in particle physics to work out how to use them.

20-03-2017, 03:39 PM
Also hotel rooms with showers that require an MBA in particle physics to work out how to use them.

:agree: Been there.

I had one this morning with a fixed glass large door. You have to get in and reach under the fixed shower head to turn it on.
Don't know how many times I had to jump back from the freezing water until I had sussed out how to set the temp .

Certainly woke me up :greengrin

20-03-2017, 03:51 PM

And microwave ovens!

20-03-2017, 07:18 PM
People who can't shake hands properly and instead offer a sort of limp lettuce leaf instead of a hand and shake with all the conviction of an agrophobic blancmange going bungy jumping.

wpj
21-03-2017, 08:01 AM
People who can't shake hands properly and instead offer a sort of limp lettuce leaf instead of a hand and shake with all the conviction of an agrophobic blancmange going bungy jumping.

Or do the "Trump" hold on for too long for it to be comfortable (or just ignore it altogether)

21-03-2017, 01:11 PM
Or do the "Trump" hold on for too long for it to be comfortable (or just ignore it altogether)

Or people like Trudeau who foil your intimidating tuggy alpha-male handshake. :wink: :greengrin

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/entry/justin-trudeau-trump_us_58a1dc96e4b03df370d8a29b

21-03-2017, 03:00 PM
Racing commentators who say 4/9 on when they mean 9/4 on or 4/9 when telling you the price of an odds on shot.

21-03-2017, 06:25 PM
The delay in movement of the cars at the front of the queue when traffic lights change to green.

21-03-2017, 06:59 PM
Customers, or at least ignorant ones. Two of us were working in a guys house in east belfast for 9 hours today. 3 times he made himself what smelt like beautiful coffee and not once did we get offered a cup. In contrast to yesterday when the couple I was working for offered me tea 3 times before 1pm and the husband gave me £20 as I was leaving. Not surprisingly today's stingy bellend lived in a far nicer house compared to yesterday's generous people.

ColinNish
21-03-2017, 07:03 PM
Doctor's receptionists that are nippy *******s when you phone up and ask a couple of questions.

21-03-2017, 09:37 PM
The delay in movement of the cars at the front of the queue when traffic lights change to green.

:agree: Especially coming from Eskbank at Sheriffhall Roundabout.
About 4 to 5 cars get through per light change unless there's a dittery er$e at the front, then it's only 1 or 2. :grr:

22-03-2017, 01:00 PM
Women swearing, I know its old fashioned but, it does my head in. Its horrible to hear.

22-03-2017, 01:13 PM
Women swearing, I know its old fashioned but, it does my head in. Its horrible to hear.

Years ago two "ladies" were playing pool on the next table to myself and a workmate in a West Lothian village pub. One of them sank the black from the break and came out with a 21-gun-salute of expletives.
Her pal came out with the never-to-be-forgotten line ..... "Shush, there's men in the bar."

Stick
22-03-2017, 04:39 PM

People who toot their horns at me at traffic lights.
Don't they appreciate that it takes time for my passenger wife to notice, then say to me,"lights changed".
I have to then reply, "what?, she then says in a louder voice, THE LIGHTS. I then have to take my reading glasses off, I was using to adjust the radio, put my driving glasses on, store the glasses case in the glove compartment, look at the lights and say, oh! So they have.
Then comes the act of putting the car into gear, because it's not good for the clutch to sit in gear for too long. I then take the handbrake off because the Highway Code is quite clear that it should be activated when car is stationary.
The window should then be rolled down to enable me to make the appropriate hand signals, then roll it back up when I remember that we don't do that any more. A quick glance in my rear view mirror, (Highway Code again), then put the hand brake back on as the lights have changed to red.
It is quite obvious by this time that the timing off the lights are inadequate and need to be altered. I blame Sturgeon.
As for the idiot behind me who obviously received a new horn for his birthday, well he should get out of bed earlier if he is in a hurry. I didn't fight in the war to be harassed like this, (actually I wasn't in the war because of my narcolepsy). But if I had been then I...err... I've forgotten what I was about to say, but it's not good enough, anyway. So let that be a lesson to you young man.
Anyone like a mint?

22-03-2017, 05:07 PM

Oh Yes!!! Infuriating

22-03-2017, 05:12 PM
This isn't actually a pet peeve but the guy sat in front of me on the bus has just taken out his laptop, got all settled on it and is currently playing blockbusters as in Bob Holness on it hahaha

22-03-2017, 06:04 PM
Don't they appreciate that it takes time for my passenger wife to notice, then say to me,"lights changed".
I have to then reply, "what?, she then says in a louder voice, THE LIGHTS. I then have to take my reading glasses off, I was using to adjust the radio, put my driving glasses on, store the glasses case in the glove compartment, look at the lights and say, oh! So they have.
Then comes the act of putting the car into gear, because it's not good for the clutch to sit in gear for too long. I then take the handbrake off because the Highway Code is quite clear that it should be activated when car is stationary.
The window should then be rolled down to enable me to make the appropriate hand signals, then roll it back up when I remember that we don't do that any more. A quick glance in my rear view mirror, (Highway Code again), then put the hand brake back on as the lights have changed to red.
It is quite obvious by this time that the timing off the lights are inadequate and need to be altered. I blame Sturgeon.
As for the idiot behind me who obviously received a new horn for his birthday, well he should get out of bed earlier if he is in a hurry. I didn't fight in the war to be harassed like this, (actually I wasn't in the war because of my narcolepsy). But if I had been then I...err... I've forgotten what I was about to say, but it's not good enough, anyway. So let that be a lesson to you young man.
Anyone like a mint?

:-)

Stick
22-03-2017, 07:13 PM
I see what you done there.
Subtle.

Dan Sarf
22-03-2017, 07:23 PM
Anyone like a mint?

Tea. Splutter. Keyboard. :tee hee:

22-03-2017, 07:48 PM
Folk who talk loudly into the mobile on the bus. Even worse if they eff and blind in the process.

When did it become OK to carry on like that?

22-03-2017, 08:29 PM
Folk who talk loudly into the mobile on the bus. Even worse if they eff and blind in the process.

When did it become OK to carry on like that?

General "**** everyone else, so long as I'm OK" behavior.

22-03-2017, 09:05 PM
Skoda Octavia drivers and not just the private hires...

speedy_gonzales
23-03-2017, 12:50 AM
Skoda Octavia drivers and not just the private hires...

WHIT? Does that include Octavia Scout drivers?

HIBS.net shocker!

23-03-2017, 06:34 AM
WHIT? Does that include Octavia Scout drivers?

HIBS.net shocker!
Depends whether you are a driver that plays dodgems on roundabouts....yes if you do.

Sent via the bushes @ EM

23-03-2017, 01:44 PM
Thread titles that try and rope you in instead of telling you what it's about.
e.g. "You'll never guess what happened"

derekHFC
23-03-2017, 03:08 PM

Swearing in the office irks me.

I'm no saint and I do swear myself, but I don't think its appropriate in an office environment.

23-03-2017, 04:12 PM

I'm no saint and I do swear myself, but I don't think its appropriate in an office environment.

Should hear my manager, every second word is a sweary one! And I work in an office.

23-03-2017, 04:16 PM

You wouldn't have liked to have been around me today in that case. Luckily I only swear in English so my colleagues don't understand - although I'm sure they get the gist.

23-03-2017, 05:09 PM
You wouldn't have liked to have been around me today in that case. Luckily I only swear in English so my colleagues don't understand - although I'm sure they get the gist.

https://youtu.be/qJMqdTr7IQM

I'll bet they have a rough idea 😀

23-03-2017, 09:46 PM
When you've almost finished a long post to reply to someone on here and your mobile freezes and you have to reboot it losing everything in the temporary memory.

Alfiembra
25-03-2017, 06:39 AM
Sitting behind someone in the outside lane taking forever to pass someone, then when you try to pass them they speed up.

25-03-2017, 08:15 AM
People who love to give everyone a title and call them by it rather than just their name, Americans seem particularly bad for this.

Chef Smith
Coach Peterson
Speaker Ryan
Warden Jones

25-03-2017, 08:59 AM
People who love to give everyone a title and call them by it rather than just their name, Americans seem particularly bad for this.

Chef Smith
Coach Peterson
Speaker Ryan
Warden Jones

Someone once complained about a colleague as they used to be a Sir but were now a Lord and my colleague had called them Sir, this wasn't some upper class person either, was a so called self made man

25-03-2017, 09:42 AM
People who ask you if you know who they are.

Or my all time favourite "you don't realise who you are dealing with"

25-03-2017, 10:07 AM

Or my all time favourite "you don't realise who you are dealing with"
Like daft twats going on about the bigger circles they move in. :faf:

25-03-2017, 10:27 AM
Like daft twats going on about the bigger circles they move in. :faf:

I'd like to laugh but if my ST doesn't work at ER today then it won't seem so funny.

25-03-2017, 10:51 AM
Someone once complained about a colleague as they used to be a Sir but were now a Lord and my colleague had called them Sir, this wasn't some upper class person either, was a so called self made man

Remember hearing about a captain of a golf club going raj as a junior member referred to him by his name.

26-03-2017, 12:28 PM

Or my all time favourite "you don't realise who you are dealing with"You just knew they weren't going to be happy until it got violent so I'd tell them to get out of my taxi and a walk in the fresh air might refresh their memory. Even better when it was horrible weather.

EH6 Hibby
26-03-2017, 04:18 PM
The way Americans refer to the whole of the UK as England.

26-03-2017, 04:30 PM

Unfortunately it's not just Americans.

ColinNish
26-03-2017, 04:37 PM

Bit like us calling The Netherlands - Holland. 😉

26-03-2017, 04:50 PM
This is quite specific .

Guys who wear a clip on bow tie to a black tie event but also take a real one so they can drape it round their neck late in the evening Volkswagen Ad style.

Roasters

26-03-2017, 04:52 PM
People that use emojis in official emails does my head in. The pay office at my work being one of the main culprits!!

26-03-2017, 05:02 PM
This "Pre boarding" thing Easyjet do whereby everyone is herded from one space that has toilets, seats and other facilities into another one where there are none of these things for 15-30 minutes as the plane isn't even ready yet.

What's the point apart from aggravating folk ??

26-03-2017, 05:50 PM
Folk that use text speak in work e-mails.

My boss is the worst for it.

C u later...

26-03-2017, 05:50 PM
This is quite specific .

Guys who wear a clip on bow tie to a black tie event but also take a real one so they can drape it round their neck late in the evening Volkswagen Ad style.

Roasters

Hahaha do people actually do that really?

26-03-2017, 06:26 PM

Yeah that was my thought.....Have to say on the few occasions I've needed to wear a bow tie it's been a clip on but wouldn't dream of taking a real one as well!

26-03-2017, 08:51 PM
This is quite specific .

Roasters

I honestly just burst out laughing at that. One of the most ridiculous things I've read.

26-03-2017, 10:33 PM
When you're watching something on tv and your other half decides that's the time she needs to talk to you for some nonsense reason that can clearly wait til half time or better still full time.... of the last game of the season. 😂

26-03-2017, 10:36 PM
When you're watching something on tv and your other half decides that's the time she needs to talk to you for some nonsense reason that can clearly wait til half time or better still full time.... of the last game of the season. 😂

x 2 :agree:

27-03-2017, 08:12 AM

Absolutely they do.
Bellends :greengrin:

beensaidbefore
27-03-2017, 07:42 PM
Barking dogs. Not dogs that bark occasionally, but ones where the owners chuck them in the garden and let them bark away, or go out and leave them howling in the house for ages. Cruel and annoying.

27-03-2017, 07:43 PM
Another hotel where they can't arrange a coffee to come with my meal.
This really bugs my tits.

28-03-2017, 09:33 AM
Automatic doors that open very slowly .

28-03-2017, 09:54 AM
People who leave everything until the last minute and then come out with a piss poor excuse for not completing something on time. I recently gave a group of managers a month to complete a relatively simple but essential task in regard to safety. One day before the deadline one of them calls me to tell me he doesn't really understand,can I clarify and give him more time.

28-03-2017, 10:23 AM
Automatic doors that open very slowly .
I went to a new gym for the first time last night and the doors there were a joke. You have to enter a code and wait for the first door to open, you then walk in and the door closes behind you, when it's fully closed the door in front slowly opens to let you in. It's like being in an air lock on the space shuttle.

28-03-2017, 10:33 AM
People on crowded buses who have conversations with each other over the aisle or, worse, when they're sat in front & behind each other.

A woman today was really speaking to the guy behind her so loudly that I couldn't hear the podcast I was listening to through my earphones so had to pause it until I got off the bus.

ColinNish
28-03-2017, 11:56 AM
I went to a new gym for the first time last night and the doors there were a joke. You have to enter a code and wait for the first door to open, you then walk in and the door closes behind you, when it's fully closed the door in front slowly opens to let you in. It's like being in an air lock on the space shuttle.

Hope you're enjoying the no paper towels and no skoosh to clean the machines. :wink:

28-03-2017, 12:13 PM
Time to change the thread title to 1st World Problems now.

28-03-2017, 12:31 PM
Hope you're enjoying the no paper towels and no skoosh to clean the machines. :wink:
I took a towel in with me as I suspected there wouldn't be any paper towels :greengrin. They've got signs asking you to wipe the machines down when finished as well.

28-03-2017, 01:06 PM
Time to change the thread title to 1st World Problems now.

I was genuinely thinking that while I was typing my last post.

29-03-2017, 11:56 AM
Barking dogs. Not dogs that bark occasionally, but ones where the owners chuck them in the garden and let them bark away, or go out and leave them howling in the house for ages. Cruel and annoying.

My next door neighbour does that with his dog, leaving
it out the back to bark relentlessly.

I've solved this by picking up his dog and putting it in my garden. Let's see how he likes it.

ColinNish
29-03-2017, 12:35 PM
I took a towel in with me as I suspected there wouldn't be any paper towels :greengrin. They've got signs asking you to wipe the machines down when finished as well.

Thing is, when I asked why there was no towels or skoosh I was told "that's why the membership is so cheap". Really? You are telling me that folk would moan about an extra quid a month so they could get stuff to clean down the machines? Aye right.

29-03-2017, 01:48 PM

I've solved this by picking up his dog and putting it in my garden. Let's see how he likes it.

29-03-2017, 03:04 PM

Thats very good! :-)

pollution
29-03-2017, 04:46 PM

Brilliant!!

30-03-2017, 11:33 AM
People who borrow things from you every couple of days at work so they obviously need it but won't buy their own.

FFS if you need a lightning cable to charge your phone surely you would buy one? Nothing more annoying than returning to your desk to find it gone again. Blew my top, took it back,had a few choice words and now locked it in my drawer. Rant over :-)

30-03-2017, 11:48 AM
People who borrow things from you every couple of days at work so they obviously need it but won't buy their own.

FFS if you need a lightning cable to charge your phone surely you would buy one? Nothing more annoying than returning to your desk to find it gone again. Blew my top, took it back,had a few choice words and now locked it in my drawer. Rant over :-)

:agree: 100%
It always amazes me how people know exactly where to go to borrow things but forget where to go to give it back when they're done using it.
One of my biggest pet peeves of all time. :grr:

03-04-2017, 08:09 PM
Couples that go to the gym. I've just seen a couple on the treadmills holding hands.......:rolleyes:

ColinNish
03-04-2017, 08:29 PM
Couples that go to the gym. I've just seen a couple on the treadmills holding hands.......:rolleyes:

Dinnae think there's anything wrong with couples going to gym together but that's taking it too far!! 🤢

04-04-2017, 09:10 PM
Hotel room tea bags with the string and wee cardboard tab.
No matter how you try , the wee cardboard tab always ends up in the cup with the boiling water.
You start pouring the water and the wee tab climbs up the cup and in before it can be caught.

04-04-2017, 09:12 PM
Hotel room tea bags with the string and wee cardboard tab.
No matter how you try , the wee cardboard tab always ends up in the cup with the boiling water.
You start pouring the water and the wee tab climbs up the cup and in before it can be caught.

Not if you wrap it around the handle of the cup/mug

04-04-2017, 11:30 PM
Nuisance phone calls.
However, I notice that my BT phone is advising me of a 1572 number I can use to block calls.
About time too.

05-04-2017, 03:37 AM
Bars that are presented as barber shops.

It's not a ****ing barber shop, it's a bar. Just bloody well say so.

05-04-2017, 09:16 AM
Animal charity adverts on tv - dogs, cats, donkeys etc, there was even one for bees on a wee while ago!

Enough.

05-04-2017, 09:50 AM
Animal charity adverts on tv - dogs, cats, donkeys etc, there was even one for bees on a wee while ago!

Enough.

Also 'celebs' who are millionaires pleading with Joe public to donate. For some unknown reason this just rattles my cage.

Think Terry Wogan getting £70k for hosting Children In Need.

05-04-2017, 09:57 AM
JML adverts

speedy_gonzales
05-04-2017, 07:41 PM
Allergies: suffered a few different ones in my time but just got on with it, even when asking a colleague administer an EpiPen jab,,,,proper frustrated though when you board a plane and are told no nuts or even chocolate due to another passenger having allergies also.
Seems to be a lot more prevalent these days!

05-04-2017, 09:27 PM
When you come back from annual leave and half your f*****ng stationery has been chored from your desk.

06-04-2017, 06:30 AM
When you come back from annual leave and half your f*****ng stationery has been chored from your desk.

And your chair and monitor are both at the wrong height and there's a half empty Costa cup on your desk along with some scone crumbs.

06-04-2017, 07:13 AM
And your chair and monitor are both at the wrong height and there's a half empty Costa cup on your desk along with some scone crumbs.

Or when you go back and there's things that could have been dealt with but they have been left for a week because half your office are workshy wasters.

06-04-2017, 08:28 AM
Or when you go back and there's things that could have been dealt with but they have been left for a week because half your office are workshy wasters.

Time you got a new job I think ;)

06-04-2017, 11:11 AM
People who keep everything to themselves so they can take credit and then when they realise they can't actually deliver on the task they are experts at delegating close to the deadline to avoid blame. Boy in my work is a master at this or at least he thinks he is.

06-04-2017, 12:09 PM
Thinking you have posted a lengthy pet peeve only for it to disappear .

06-04-2017, 12:12 PM
Why is it that hymn music is always written half an octave higher than the average Joe Blow's natural register?

06-04-2017, 12:15 PM
Why is it that hymn music is always written half an octave higher than the average Joe Blow's natural register?

So priests can hear whose voices have yet to break? :dunno:

06-04-2017, 12:32 PM
Thinking you have posted a lengthy pet peeve only for it to disappear .

Seeing SG post a pet peeve on the wrong thread :wink: not noticing it is wrong and then responding to it myself before deleting my post!

06-04-2017, 01:29 PM
Seeing SG post a pet peeve on the wrong thread :wink: not noticing it is wrong and then responding to it myself before deleting my post!

Found it

People at work who don't share their knowledge.
I work with a small group and knowledge sharing is commonplace due to the faults and predicaments we find.
We have one wnak who just doesn't do this. He'll never give a full answer so he can swan in and save the day.
Utter fandan.

speedy_gonzales
06-04-2017, 02:50 PM

Found it

People at work who don't share their knowledge.
I work with a small group and knowledge sharing is commonplace due to the faults and predicaments we find.
We have one wnak who just doesn't do this. He'll never give a full answer so he can swan in and save the day.
Utter fandan.
You're practically talking about me, but I'm no a fandan so it must be my doppelganger!?!
I work in a technical field, within a small group, I'd say team but we're anything but. I come in half an hour before my shift to sort my workload then research what I need to know, do my job best I can then invariably leave late. The rest start late, ask questions all day then leave early. This all goes unchallenged as the work that needs to be done, is.
I find it very difficult to understand how someone who has 10 years on me in the job thinks it's alright to be spoon fed how to do their job!
But it's OK, Speedy-G will take care of it :-)

06-04-2017, 03:20 PM
You're practically talking about me, but I'm no a fandan so it must be my doppelganger!?!
I work in a technical field, within a small group, I'd say team but we're anything but. I come in half an hour before my shift to sort my workload then research what I need to know, do my job best I can then invariably leave late. The rest start late, ask questions all day then leave early. This all goes unchallenged as the work that needs to be done, is.
I find it very difficult to understand how someone who has 10 years on me in the job thinks it's alright to be spoon fed how to do their job!
But it's OK, Speedy-G will take care of it :-)

I feel the need to explain :greengrin

In my scenario there are 4 of us covering UK and beyond.
We sometimes get called to one another's site as a fresh pair of eyes.
If I fix a problem in their area , I will always detail the fault and solution and send it to everyone so they can refer to the information in the future and make their own decision.
This guy keeps most of that to himself but is quick enough to ask for it from others.

He also makes out that he has saved the day when he swans in with a configuration on a memory card that really should have been shared previously. All these systems are completely bespoke so there is not a standard configuration.

I have had to drive to Peterboroug just to find that he hadn't left the configuration on a PC and rather than email it , he drove up from London.

So it's not a case of laziness on my part wanting to be spoon fed.
It's about good grace and manners and a willingness to work towards the greater good.

He's no team player and is indeed a fandan.

06-04-2017, 04:12 PM
Folk who crush a plastic fizzy juice bottle a little before tightening the lid so it stays crushed.

06-04-2017, 04:13 PM
Family members who open a new block of cheese , use it and just fold the wrapper , badly, around the end.

ColinNish
06-04-2017, 06:04 PM
Folk who crush a plastic fizzy juice bottle a little before tightening the lid so it stays crushed.

Hmmm, that's what you're supposed to do before sticking it in your recycling bin!

06-04-2017, 06:44 PM
Hmmm, that's what you're supposed to do before sticking it in your recycling bin!

Indeed.
My issue is when It gets put back in the fridge like that.

06-04-2017, 07:27 PM
Indeed.
My issue is when It gets put back in the fridge like that. Totally empty Just like the milk carton and cold meat packet:confused:

ColinNish
06-04-2017, 08:50 PM
Indeed.
My issue is when It gets put back in the fridge like that.

Ooft, never encountered that! 😫

06-04-2017, 09:04 PM
Totally empty Just like the milk carton and cold meat packet:confused:

What ? :greengrin:

Not totally crushed flat but squeezed in the middle.
Exactly how it would look if some mank had opened the bottle , held it in the middle, and closed it while still holding in the middle.
A bit hour glassy if you like.

Worse still is if they leave it on the bunker like that and it pops back into shape when you are not expecting it.

I can't believe that I'm the only person that is annoyed by this :greengrin:

06-04-2017, 09:04 PM
Having to explain my peeves :-)

07-04-2017, 07:39 AM
Comments in the press or media where someones wage is quoted or stating how much someone has paid or spent when really it is all speculation and guess work.

07-04-2017, 07:50 AM
What ? :greengrin:

Not totally crushed flat but squeezed in the middle.
Exactly how it would look if some mank had opened the bottle , held it in the middle, and closed it while still holding in the middle.
A bit hour glassy if you like.

Worse still is if they leave it on the bunker like that and it pops back into shape when you are not expecting it.

I can't believe that I'm the person that is annoyed by this :greengrin: I understand, and it is infuriating. The one that pops out and gives you a heart attack I would say can be a genuine mistake as the bottle has not been crushed too much. However when the bottle has been savagely abused is just not on!
2 things trigger in my mind, the person has squeezed the bottle whilst pouring, which usually results in splashes on the bunker.
If there is no splashes then the unthinkable has occurred and the contents consumed direct from the bottle :bitchy:

07-04-2017, 08:21 AM
Places which charge an arm and a leg for a cup of coffee and look at you with disdain when you ask for artificial sweeteners. Especially the ones who go on to add insult to injury by suggesting you should carry your own around with you.

07-04-2017, 08:41 AM
Nuisance phone calls.
Get one of these. Nuisance calls disappear overnight.

https://www.amazon.co.uk/BT8500-Enhanced-Blocker-Cordless-Phone/dp/B00LZTHUK8/ref=sr_1_2?s=electronics&ie=UTF8&qid=1491554416&sr=1-2&keywords=bt+phone

07-04-2017, 03:03 PM
Follk that kick up all manner of fuss if someone says something about them or speaks to them even the slightest bit off, but go about treating everyone else like rubbish without batting an eyelid about it.

SuperAllyMcleod
08-04-2017, 05:10 PM
Folk on this forum who think basic arithmetic is a dark art!

There are various threads running at the moment where questions like "can Hearts still finish bottom six" or "can we win the league by beating QoS next week" are constantly asked.

Look at the league table, it's not difficult to work out.

08-04-2017, 06:34 PM
Folk on this forum who think basic arithmetic is a dark art!

There are various threads running at the moment where questions like "can Hearts still finish bottom six" or "can we win the league by beating QoS next week" are constantly asked.

Look at the league table, it's not difficult to work out.

Sorry 😂

In my defence it's because I'm a lazy *******.

08-04-2017, 10:59 PM
Lose/ loose wtf is wrong with people ?

09-04-2017, 06:44 AM
My neighbour who let their little rat of a dog out in the garden an hour ago and it hasn't stopped barking since, they have done absolutely nothing to stop it, neighbourly relations are about to take a turn for the worse as I'm about to go for a chat

09-04-2017, 09:27 AM
My neighbour who let their little rat of a dog out in the garden an hour ago and it hasn't stopped barking since, they have done absolutely nothing to stop it, neighbourly relations are about to take a turn for the worse as I'm about to go for a chat

Pedantic Hibby has the answer for that.

Lift said dog into your garden and let it bark away. See how your neighbour likes it :greengrin

09-04-2017, 09:53 AM
Lose/ loose wtf is wrong with people ?

Now, now, don't loose your temper :greengrin

09-04-2017, 12:23 PM
Songs/chants at protests.

09-04-2017, 01:14 PM
The amount of times shop assistants forget to remove the security tag. Missus just arrived home and found one on a garment, says she vaguely remembers an alarm sounding but thought it was someone else. Fortunately I can remove one in seconds but more difficult for a person who would have to return to the shop. Also proves they are pretty worthless.

09-04-2017, 01:33 PM
People who have a strong opinion about something they know nothing about and who use incorrect 'evidence' to back it up. The anti racing bandwagon jumpers are a topical example and they were out in force yesterday.

09-04-2017, 02:23 PM
People who have a strong opinion about something they know nothing about and who use incorrect 'evidence' to back it up. The anti racing bandwagon jumpers are a topical example and they were out in force yesterday.

Surley the only "evidence" you need to be anti racing is that horses have died after falling in races. That's a fact. So if they didn't race, they wouldn't have died.

It doesn't bother me like, but my missus is a vet and she's not a fan.

09-04-2017, 02:54 PM
Surley the only "evidence" you need to be anti racing is that horses have died after falling in races. That's a fact. So if they didn't race, they wouldn't have died.

It doesn't bother me like, but my missus is a vet and she's not a fan.

And if it wasn't for racing and other equine sports the horses would never have been born in the 1st place. The throroughbred and selle francais breeds would have ceased to exist a century or so ago were it not for sport.

I don't view racing as any crueller an industry than any other in which animals are bred for a purpose. The death rate on racecourses is 0.19%, a historic low. Every death is sad but the sport is safer than it's ever been, welfare is streets ahead of what it was even 10 or 20 years ago and racehorses live a life of luxury, huge stride have been taken in ensuring horses enjoy a responsible retirement from racing. There are horses across the country who are far more in need of help than racehorses.

09-04-2017, 03:02 PM

It doesn't bother me like, but my missus is a vet and she's not a fan. We will all die of something and I bet most racehorses have a better life than an awful lot of people.

09-04-2017, 03:49 PM
And if it wasn't for racing and other equine sports the horses would never have been born in the 1st place. The throroughbred and selle francais breeds would have ceased to exist a century or so ago were it not for sport.

I don't view racing as any crueller an industry than any other in which animals are bred for a purpose. The death rate on racecourses is 0.19%, a historic low. Every death is sad but the sport is safer than it's ever been, welfare is streets ahead of what it was even 10 or 20 years ago and racehorses live a life of luxury, huge stride have been taken in ensuring horses enjoy a responsible retirement from racing. There are horses across the country who are far more in need of help than racehorses.

We will all die of something and I bet most racehorses have a better life than an awful lot of people.

Like I said...I'm not bothered about horse racing.

But, it's a weak argument to say the animal would never have existed if it wasnt for the sport. So what? If I breed a bull for bull fighting, it doesn't make it any less savage when the bulls getting speared by a matador. If I breed a chicken for eggs, then keep it in a cage where it can't move, it's not ok just because I wouldn't have bred it otherwise.

Is it safer than ever? If you say so, I've no reason to believe it's not.

Are the horses treated really well? Well...it's an animal and it should be, it's nothing to brag about, I treat my dog pretty well, I don't see it as a chore.

A quick google search tells me that 149 horses died from races in the UK between 1st April 2016 and 1st April 2017. Seems like quite a lot really.

09-04-2017, 03:52 PM

But, it's a weak argument to say the animal would never have existed if it wasnt for the sport. So what? If I breed a bull for bull fighting, it doesn't make it any less savage when the bulls getting speared by a matador. If I breed a chicken for eggs, then keep it in a cage where it can't move, it's not ok just because I wouldn't have bred it otherwise.

Are the horses treated really well? Well...it's an animal and it should be, it's nothing to brag about, I treat my dog pretty well, I don't see it as a chore.

A quick google search tells me that 149 horses died from races in the UK between 1st April 2016 and 1st April 2017. Seems like quite a lot really.
What bothers me about some of the people who say it's cruel is that they're quite happy to discuss the issue over a nice steak.

09-04-2017, 03:57 PM
What bothers me about some of the people who say it's cruel is that they're quite happy to discuss the issue over a nice steak.

But what if that steak came from a cow that had a better life than some people? :greengrin

09-04-2017, 04:01 PM
But what if that steak came from a cow that had a better life than some people? :greengrin
:slipper:

09-04-2017, 04:11 PM
The hotels.com advert. 'Super swan.ky proper like'. Just **** off.

EDIT: Also, the swear filter censoring perfectly innocent words because some of the word is a swear word.

09-04-2017, 04:30 PM

I'm wary of taking the thread way off topic but....

The bull fighting example isn't a great one. Bull fighting is a bona fide bloodsport in which the object is to kill the animal, that doesn't apply to racing. If we work with the chicken example, you breed a chicken for the purpose of laying eggs and choose to keep it in a cage that's wilfully cruel. You can however choose to allow it to be free range, have decent feed and a good life. By the same token if you have a horse you can choose to send it to a top class racing yard where it will be excercised daily, have top quality feed, world class veterinary treatment, companionship, shelter and fresh bedding and a dedicated lad or lass who will groom them daily. Or you could stick it in a less reputable livery yard where it may spend excessive time in the field, under stimulated and with inadequate shelter.

Racehorses are most definitely treated well. It's not something to brag about but it's a fact in the face off the nonsense propoganda Animal Aid and their ilk publish to the contrary. It's worth noting it costs between £16 and £22K to keep a racehorse in training for a year, the vast majority will never make that back in winnings so only the select few are doing it for monetary gain.

Horse racing being safer than ever is a fact, even Animal Aid grudgingly admit so. The death rate in 1970 was between 0.8 and 1% of runners (records weren't as thorough then). It's now accurately recorded at 0.19%, a drop off 0.01% on last year and continuing a 20+ year downward trend.

I absolutely respect the opinion of those who dislike horse racing but it's not going anywhere. People can adopt the Animal Aid approach of a ban on all equine sports at all costs which would lead to slaughter on an unprecedented scale and the almost certain extinction of 2 breeds. The alternative is to support the likes of World Horse Welfare who accept animal sports on the basis the welfare of the animals is paramount. As an example they along with the RSPCA have worked with Aintree to bring about changes to the National Course, see the installation of a dedicated cool down area, shorten the course to allow the horses to start about a quarter mile further from the stands and amend the parade so it's no longer in numerical order allowing the horses to leave the packed stands area quicker. That work has now seen 5 successive Grand Nationals with no fatalities. They have a presence at every major race meeting and are well worth 10 minutes of your time to talk to and I happily donate a few pounds every time I see them. Their positive and proactive approach has seen far greater benefits than a bunch of nutters covered in fake blood screaming 'murderers' at people.

09-04-2017, 04:46 PM
I'm wary of taking the thread way off topic but....

The bull fighting example isn't a great one. Bull fighting is a bona fide bloodsport in which the object is to kill the animal, that doesn't apply to racing. If we work with the chicken example, you breed a chicken for the purpose of laying eggs and choose to keep it in a cage that's wilfully cruel. You can however choose to allow it to be free range, have decent feed and a good life. By the same token if you have a horse you can choose to send it to a top class racing yard where it will be excercised daily, have top quality feed, world class veterinary treatment, companionship, shelter and fresh bedding and a dedicated lad or lass who will groom them daily. Or you could stick it in a less reputable livery yard where it may spend excessive time in the field, under stimulated and with inadequate shelter.

Racehorses are most definitely treated well. It's not something to brag about but it's a fact in the face off the nonsense propoganda Animal Aid and their ilk publish to the contrary. It's worth noting it costs between £16 and £22K to keep a racehorse in training for a year, the vast majority will never make that back in winnings so only the select few are doing it for monetary gain.

Horse racing being safer than ever is a fact, even Animal Aid grudgingly admit so. The death rate in 1970 was between 0.8 and 1% of runners (records weren't as thorough then). It's now accurately recorded at 0.19%, a drop off 0.01% on last year and continuing a 20+ year downward trend.

I absolutely respect the opinion of those who dislike horse racing but it's not going anywhere. People can adopt the Animal Aid approach of a ban on all equine sports at all costs which would lead to slaughter on an unprecedented scale and the almost certain extinction of 2 breeds. The alternative is to support the likes of World Horse Welfare who accept animal sports on the basis the welfare of the animals is paramount. As an example they along with the RSPCA have worked with Aintree to bring about changes to the National Course, see the installation of a dedicated cool down area, shorten the course to allow the horses to start about a quarter mile further from the stands and amend the parade so it's no longer in numerical order allowing the horses to leave the packed stands area quicker. That work has now seen 5 successive Grand Nationals with no fatalities. They have a presence at every major race meeting and are well worth 10 minutes of your time to talk to and I happily donate a few pounds every time I see them. Their positive and proactive approach has seen far greater benefits than a bunch of nutters covered in fake blood screaming 'murderers' at people.

I've never heard of Animal Aid, and have nae interest in following thier cause. I'm merely playing devils advocate here.

Fact is, you can show me a million stats and percentages, it won't take away the fact that horses die in horse races, and because of that I can see where people who are against horse racing (be them activists or not) are coming from.

09-04-2017, 04:56 PM
I've never heard of Animal Aid, and have nae interest in following thier cause. I'm merely playing devils advocate here.

Fact is, you can show me a million stats and percentages, it won't take away the fact that horses die in horse races, and because of that I can see where people who are against horse racing (be them activists or not) are coming from.

People die running marathons or suffer life altering injuries playing rugby or skiing or driving fast cars.

I don't like to see it but I also accept you can't completely eliminate risk from any activity and can only strive to make it as safe as possible. Of course you can argue people choose to do these things but that brings us back to breeding and the thoroughbreds instinct for running and jumping. I hesistate to go down the route of anthropomorphism and claim horses have the same understanding of both risk and choice that humans do.

09-04-2017, 06:18 PM
People die running marathons or suffer life altering injuries playing rugby or skiing or driving fast cars.

I don't like to see it but I also accept you can't completely eliminate risk from any activity and can only strive to make it as safe as possible. Of course you can argue people choose to do these things but that brings us back to breeding and the thoroughbreds instinct for running and jumping. I hesistate to go down the route of anthropomorphism and claim horses have the same understanding of both risk and choice that humans do.

I've quoted this post PB, but really it's all of your posts on this topic.

i have no interest in horse racing as such, just see the occasional Facebook rant round the time of the big races. Just wanted to say thanks for providing such thoughtful posts (as always!) on a subject that you are clearly knowledgable and interested in, but haven't got on the soapbox about, you've just presented facts in a constructive and manner befitting a discussion rather than an argument.

cheers :aok:

09-04-2017, 06:43 PM

Though the guy that had the sign

What doe we want
Time travel
When do we want it
It's irrevvelent.

09-04-2017, 09:03 PM
American golf fans. "Get in the hole!!!" **** off you morons

09-04-2017, 09:06 PM
Rail enthusiasts that won't leave you alone when working. (I have no issue with them in general), just when I'm working and they feel the need to follow me about, ask questions, watch what I'm doing and just generally be a pest.

ColinNish
09-04-2017, 09:38 PM
American golf fans. "Get in the hole!!!" **** off you morons

Whilst that is annoying at least it's golf related. WTF is this shouting "ham & cheese"? ✊🏼💦

09-04-2017, 10:29 PM
Folk that jump a red light when there's ample time to stop safely.

SuperAllyMcleod
09-04-2017, 11:48 PM
Though the guy that had the sign

What doe we want
Time travel
When do we want it
It's irrevvelent.

Love it [emoji23][emoji23][emoji23]

EH6 Hibby
10-04-2017, 12:41 PM

Down with this sort of thing!

10-04-2017, 01:45 PM
Down with this sort of thing!

10-04-2017, 03:46 PM
Folk who put their feet up on train/bus seats opposite them.

Minks.

10-04-2017, 05:01 PM
I've quoted this post PB, but really it's all of your posts on this topic.

i have no interest in horse racing as such, just see the occasional Facebook rant round the time of the big races. Just wanted to say thanks for providing such thoughtful posts (as always!) on a subject that you are clearly knowledgable and interested in, but haven't got on the soapbox about, you've just presented facts in a constructive and manner befitting a discussion rather than an argument.

cheers :aok:

Thanks, trust me I could send anyone to sleep talking about national hunt racing. It's second only to Hibs in my sporting loves.

I can absolutely understand why people have misgivings about racing, no one feels the loss more than those who look after the horses everyday and those of us who follow the sport as others do football. I think a lot of fans have had the internal moral debate more than once. What I dislike is the misonformation that a lot of casual observers make their judgements on (as an example PETA tweeted after the National that The Last Samurai suffered a 'heart wrenching fall', the horse completed the course and finished 16th!). I think it's important that the, to quote a topical phrase, fake news is challenged and people make their decision based on facts.

Anyway enough of me taking this thread off topic.

10-04-2017, 07:09 PM
Facebook updates that start "when you..."

10-04-2017, 07:36 PM

You need to unfriend Gerry Marsden :greengrin

10-04-2017, 09:06 PM

That awkward moment when...

10-04-2017, 11:40 PM
Emails or text messages that you receive and the sender signs off with a 'x' after their name and you hardly know them. Even worse, I've had guys do this too (hopefully in error). :grr:
End of peeve
snooky x

10-04-2017, 11:50 PM
Emails or text messages that you receive and the sender signs off with a 'x' after their name and you hardly know them. Even worse, I've had guys do this too (hopefully in error). :grr:
End of peeve
snooky x

😘

11-04-2017, 12:01 AM
😘

:tsk tsk: :tee hee:

11-04-2017, 07:19 AM
You need to unfriend Gerry Marsden :greengrin
Quality

11-04-2017, 07:42 AM
Folk who put their feet up on train/bus seats opposite them.

Minks.

Or take their shoes off on trains
Animals

11-04-2017, 08:30 AM
End of peeve
snooky x

:slipper: :love ya!:

11-04-2017, 12:07 PM
Aggressive walkers!!.......Basically folk who seem to think they own the pavement and won't deviate from their current path so you have to almost pirouette round them.

11-04-2017, 12:09 PM
Aggressive walkers!!.......Basically folk who seem to think they own the pavement and won't deviate from their current path so you have to almost pirouette round them.
Yup. Or folk who walk into you on their phone or who walk three abreast on a narrow path etc.

11-04-2017, 12:26 PM
Yup. Or folk who walk into you on their phone or who walk three abreast on a narrow path etc.

Joggers who run on the spot waiting to cross at junctions. I can understand why they do it however, they still look like right wallies.

11-04-2017, 12:39 PM
Joggers who run on the spot waiting to cross at junctions. I can understand why they do it however, they still look like right wallies.
I run and I don't do this. It has never impacted my performance at any point. It takes about 30 seconds to a couple of minute tp get across the street.

11-04-2017, 01:43 PM
People with large rucksacks who seem oblivious that when they turn round , they scatter everyone standing near them .

Tourists in a large crowd who film everything on their phones blocking the view of others behind .

Kids walking behind you in a queue who constantly kick your heels and the parents of said kids who get uppity when you tell the kid to stop it.

Yes , I've been out with the Bairns to Edinburgh Castle :-)

11-04-2017, 02:33 PM

Can you add people that read books while they walk as well please?

No need, even if it doesn't really impact me at all.

11-04-2017, 05:26 PM
People with large rucksacks who seem oblivious that when they turn round , they scatter everyone standing near them .

Tourists in a large crowd who film everything on their phones blocking the view of others behind .

Kids walking behind you in a queue who constantly kick your heels and the parents of said kids who get uppity when you tell the kid to stop it.

Yes , I've been out with the Bairns to Edinburgh Castle :-)

People that sit behind you at the football and kick your seat constantly. :grr:

11-04-2017, 05:35 PM
People that sit behind you at the football and kick your seat constantly. :grr:

Just tell them to stop!

14-04-2017, 08:09 AM
There's nae traffic today, but that doesn't mean I get to work any quicker, because the bus just sits at each bus stop for a couple of mins.

What's the point? Corstorphine to Princes Street could easily have been 15 mins quicker.

14-04-2017, 08:14 AM
There's nae traffic today, but that doesn't mean I get to work any quicker, because the bus just sits at each bus stop for a couple of mins.

What's the point? Corstorphine to Princes Street could easily have been 15 mins quicker.

Has to run to timetable if possible,imagine how pissed you would be if you missed your bus because it was 10 minutes early. ;-)

14-04-2017, 08:54 AM
Has to run to timetable if possible,imagine how pissed you would be if you missed your bus because it was 10 minutes early. ;-)

It should run to a different timetable on a bank holiday.

I swear the only time the bus didnt wait at a stop for a couple of mins was when there was a boy legging it along the road trying to get on. Bus drivers are dicks.

14-04-2017, 02:08 PM
Its a Saturday service is it not?

14-04-2017, 03:13 PM
It should run to a different timetable on a bank holiday.

I swear the only time the bus didnt wait at a stop for a couple of mins was when there was a boy legging it along the road trying to get on. Bus drivers are dicks.

It is a different timetable today, due to it being a bank holiday.

14-04-2017, 07:30 PM
Retail or bar staff that pay no attention to the counter and seem genuinely shocked, and sometimes annoyed, that you're standing there waiting to be served.

15-04-2017, 08:13 PM
Clifford the Big Red Dog. Even within the context of kids tv it just doesn't make any sense. Teletubbies is more believable FFS.

Alfiembra
15-04-2017, 08:59 PM
The revolving doors at the Gyle and the numpties that try to hurry through them and end up stopping them so it takes even longer to get through.

15-04-2017, 09:24 PM
The amount of time it takes my virgin box to start up. What's the hold up? I turn it off at the wall overnight, so when I turn it on again in the morning it takes ages to start up, but why?

15-04-2017, 09:27 PM
The amount of time it takes my virgin box to start up. What's the hold up? I turn it off at the wall overnight, so when I turn it on again in the morning it takes ages to start up, but why?

Why turn it off?

15-04-2017, 09:28 PM
Why turn it off?

Exactly, I never turn mine off and it's fine. It's designed to run constantly

ColinNish
15-04-2017, 10:10 PM

Its taking ages coz you're turning it off completely. You need to leave it on standby.

16-04-2017, 10:09 AM
I always turn things off at the wall.

I could start up and shut down my laptop 4-5 times in the time it takes the virgin box to start up. Takes ages.

16-04-2017, 11:00 AM
Pictures that are hanging squint on a wall drive me nuts.

ColinNish
16-04-2017, 11:45 AM
I always turn things off at the wall.

I could start up and shut down my laptop 4-5 times in the time it takes the virgin box to start up. Takes ages.

Do you switch your broadband off at the wall?

16-04-2017, 12:46 PM
Do you switch your broadband off at the wall?

Yep

16-04-2017, 01:03 PM
Yep

Do you have a Tivo box? It receives network updates overnight when in standby, by turning yours off completely you force it to update when you turn it on which takes time.

16-04-2017, 01:16 PM
Do you have a Tivo box? It receives network updates overnight when in standby, by turning yours off completely you force it to update when you turn it on which takes time.

Aye I do.

The missus is convinced the house will burn down if things aren't turned off at the wall.

16-04-2017, 01:18 PM
Aye I do.

The missus is convinced the house will burn down if things aren't turned off at the wall.

Ah well fair enough, can't argue with the missus :-)

SuperAllyMcleod
16-04-2017, 01:27 PM
Aye I do.

Do you turn your fridge off overnight?

16-04-2017, 01:39 PM
Do you turn your fridge off overnight?

What do you think?

16-04-2017, 02:11 PM
What do you think?
Must be a YES then as both items are specifically designed to be on 24/7!

:D

Sent from my SM-G925F using Tapatalk

16-04-2017, 02:25 PM
Must be a YES then as both items are specifically designed to be on 24/7!

:D

But, women are completely irrational.

16-04-2017, 02:33 PM
But, women are completely irrational.
Ah....

Good point, well made :agree:

17-04-2017, 08:54 AM
Mentioned it on another thread,

Samsung Galaxy predictive text since the last system update.... It's like it goes out its way to misspell stuff or even use completely wrong words!

:fuming: :brickwall

Fritz
17-04-2017, 10:46 AM

Samsung Galaxy predictive text since the last system update.... It's like it goes out its way to misspell stuff or even use completely wrong words!

I fail you're Spain!

17-04-2017, 10:53 AM
I fail you're Spain!

17-04-2017, 12:34 PM

Aaaargh that'she what happens to me as well,it'seems so annoying g

ColinNish
17-04-2017, 07:02 PM
Yep

There's your problem then, when you switch your broadband off it takes forever to get back to the best speeds for uploading/downloading, BT engineer told me this. same with switching your TiVo box off for updates.

17-04-2017, 11:25 PM
Parents that park where they like on the school run, selfish lazy gits. Best thing I ever did was invest in a dash cam. Great evidence gatherer.

17-04-2017, 11:58 PM
Parents that park where they like on the school run, selfish lazy gits. Best thing I ever did was invest in a dash cam. Great evidence gatherer.
There's a decent sized car park at my younger daughter's primary school and as I normally finish early on a Friday I'm there in good time to pick her up. Some of the parents are so lazy that they'll park across the front of cars blocking them in instead of walking 40-50 yds from a proper space. I seem to be the only one that pulls people up for this - grandparents, yummy mummys, I don't give a toss.

18-04-2017, 12:15 AM
There's a decent sized car park at my younger daughter's primary school and as I normally finish early on a Friday I'm there in good time to pick her up. Some of the parents are so lazy that they'll park across the front of cars blocking them in instead of walking 40-50 yds from a proper space. I seem to be the only one that pulls people up for this - grandparents, yummy mummys, I don't give a toss.

Quite right too, the term yummy mummy is definitely a matter off opinion as well. :greengrin

18-04-2017, 09:06 AM

The School Run in general, Most kids live within walking distance of their school. For the vast majority of people there is no need to clog up the streets at all.

18-04-2017, 10:23 AM
The School Run in general, Most kids live within walking distance of their school. For the vast majority of people there is no need to clog up the streets at all.

Remember back in the good old days when your parents let you go to school yourself and didn't have to wait until the bell went before they left for work?

I think I walked to school on my own from about age 6 or 7.

ColinNish
18-04-2017, 12:19 PM
Remember back in the good old days when your parents let you go to school yourself and didn't have to wait until the bell went before they left for work?

Me too. I was just commenting on this yesterday when I was at my parents. At the back of their house is an emergency access road for an old folks home and some smart alec parent started parking there last year to pick up their "little cherub" from school and now there are about 15 cars parked there every weekday. God forbid an ambulance needs to get up that road to the home.

18-04-2017, 01:17 PM

When I was 7 years old I fell in the sea walking along the rocks on my normal walk home from school. Got stitches in my temple where my head hit the rocks. Went home the same way along the rocks the next day. Nae probs.

Cottonwool kids these days. Ye canny do this, canny do that .... utter nonsense.

18-04-2017, 06:42 PM
Long sleeved t shirts.

Very rare to find one that keeps a decent shape. No idea why adding material to the sleeves makes them more likely to fit badly so quickly.

ColinNish
18-04-2017, 06:51 PM
Long sleeved t shirts.

Very rare to find one that keeps a decent shape. No idea why adding material to the sleeves makes them more likely to fit badly so quickly.

The ones i get out the kids section in asda keep their shape nae bother. :greengrin

18-04-2017, 06:52 PM
People who borrow tools and use them for a different purpose than they are intended for. A chisel is not for taking a ****** screw out!!!!

speedy_gonzales
18-04-2017, 07:11 PM
People who borrow tools and use them for a different purpose than they are intended for. A chisel is not for taking a ****** screw out!!!!

Conversely, a screwdriver is not a chisel! In a moment of desperation I used a flat blade to clean out the receiver of a mortice lock,,,,one deft blow from the hammer, the handle shattered and my hand got mashed.

Lesson learned!

18-04-2017, 07:17 PM
Conversely, a screwdriver is not a chisel! In a moment of desperation I used a flat blade to clean out the receiver of a mortice lock,,,,one deft blow from the hammer, the handle shattered and my hand got mashed.

Lesson learned!

What about Irish screwdivers? i.e. Hammers :wink:

speedy_gonzales
18-04-2017, 07:24 PM
What about Irish screwdivers? i.e. Hammers :wink:
and corrugated nails i.e screws :wink:

18-04-2017, 08:02 PM
and corrugated nails i.e screws :wink:

You've just reminded me of actual corrugated nails (joint fasteners) from my apprentice days ;-)

18-04-2017, 11:03 PM
Push chairs nowadays. They're like tanks dominating the aisles of chemists and supermarkets.

18-04-2017, 11:32 PM
Push chairs nowadays. They're like tanks dominating the aisles of chemists and supermarkets.

Aye, they've enough protection to take the G forces of being shot into space.

Alfiembra
20-04-2017, 07:59 AM
People that use the wrong word to describe things, my pet hate is when outside, anyone calling the ground the floor.

20-04-2017, 08:45 AM
People that use the wrong word to describe things, my pet hate is when outside, anyone calling the ground the floor.

In the same vein.....
Parenthesis are ( )
Brackets are [ ]

20-04-2017, 11:58 AM
Film lids on packaging that are impossible to peel off. A particular pain when you're trying to open something piping hot from the microwave.

20-04-2017, 12:28 PM
Film lids on packaging that are impossible to peel off. A particular pain when you're trying to open something piping hot from the microwave.

Easy solution for that; instead of piercing the film lid, open it slightly before putting it in the microwave. Makes it much easier to open once it's as hot as the surface of the sun.

20-04-2017, 12:45 PM
Easy solution for that; instead of piercing the film lid, open it slightly before putting it in the microwave. Makes it much easier to open once it's as hot as the surface of the sun.

I often do that but when you pull the lid back the escaping steam still burns up to your elbow.

20-04-2017, 01:25 PM
Microwaves in general.

I only use it to heat up my cups of tea that I forget I have made myself :-)

Supernoodles should be banned from the microwave. They stink to high heaven and the smells lingers in there for ages even after cleaning .
Gies me the boat.

Add in dishwashers too.
One of the worst things I have bought .
It takes up space , nobody empties it , people put dirty dishes in with clean dishes and it stinks if nobody has turned it on.
'Kin hate dishwashers

20-04-2017, 02:08 PM
Microwaves in general.

I only use it to heat up my cups of tea that I forget I have made myself :-)

Supernoodles should be banned from the microwave. They stink to high heaven and the smells lingers in there for ages even after cleaning .
Gies me the boat.

Add in dishwashers too.
One of the worst things I have bought .
It takes up space , nobody empties it , people put dirty dishes in with clean dishes and it stinks if nobody has turned it on.
'Kin hate dishwashersI once put noodles in the micro when I worked in a garage. Forgot to add the water and left them on for 5 minutes whilst i went to do somthing. Noodles caught flame and the micro smelled of burntness to the point we had to replace it

20-04-2017, 02:18 PM
I once put noodles in the micro when I worked in a garage. Forgot to add the water and left them on for 5 minutes whilst i went to do somthing. Noodles caught flame and the micro smelled of burntness to the point we had to replace it

One of my (yam) mates split up with his wife and found himself living alone for the first time at 45 years old.

During the first week he arrived home pished and stuck a family size frozen lasagne in the microwave at full power for 50 minutes (conventional oven instructions) then went and fell asleep on the bog.

The smoke detector saved the day.

21-04-2017, 01:53 AM
One of my (yam) mates split up with his wife and found himself living alone for the first time at 45 years old.

During the first week he arrived home pished and stuck a family size frozen lasagne in the microwave at full power for 50 minutes (conventional oven instructions) then went and fell asleep on the bog.

The smoke detector saved the day.

I'm sorry, I just laughed out loud in the bothy at Carlisle station reading this and woke the driver up across the room from me. Oops :LOL:

21-04-2017, 02:53 PM
Parents who hand their very young children a tablet/ipad to keep them quiet at every opportunity rather than spend time with them, then moan like hell because the kid won't listen to them or put the tablet down when tbey're told to. Lazy parenting at it's best.

21-04-2017, 04:57 PM
People who sit in the wrong row in planes.

"Oh sorry, am I not in row 17???"

**** sake how hard is it to count and then sit down in the right place ??

21-04-2017, 06:19 PM

Yeah, or people who completely ignore the fact that you've paid extra money for the legroom seats or the front row which I always do then proceed to sit where they bloody well like then get all moody about having to move to their seat 15-20 rows back. If you want to sit at the front, pay the cash to sit there ya freeloading pricks.

I did once see a member of easy jet staff shift a punter who just sat at in front row, you know one of the business type ********s. It was brilliant. This was on a flight to London about 6 months ago. I went something like this.

Steward, excuse me sir are you sure this is your allocated seat?

Punter, yes I'm sure it is I've double checked my boarding pass.

Steward, you must be mistaken sir as nobody has purchased these seats today. Can I see your boarding pass please?

Punter, well "they" usually just let me sit here if its quiet...... he protested as he hands him the boarding pass.

Steward, I'm sorry sir you seat is in row XX towards the rear of the aircraft please make your way down to it unless of course you wish to pay the £14.99 upgrade fee for sitting in the front row seats with extra legroom.

Punter, I'm not going to pay that to sit here but since theres nobody sitting here can I can stay?

Steward, says with a frown, I'm sorry sir. If you won't pay then take yourself away.

I was poorless sitting watching this. The steward was fantastic.

21-04-2017, 06:19 PM

I had a woman tell me I was in her seat . Seat F.
I said I wasn't as I was in the window seat F . She looked across the isle and said I was in D as it went ABCFED :greengrin:
I asked her if she wanted to swap MY seat but she didn't bother.
She say down and started bleathering about being stressed them someone approached her and said.......you are in my seat :faf:
She should have been in the row infront.

21-04-2017, 06:25 PM
I had a woman tell me I was in her seat . Seat F.
I said I wasn't as I was in the window seat F . She looked across the isle and said I was in D as it went ABCFED :greengrin:
I asked her if she wanted to swap MY seat but she didn't bother.
She say down and started bleathering about being stressed them someone approached her and said.......you are in my seat :faf:
She should have been in the row infront.

Ive had that before too, I always book a window seat on the left hand side of the plane, I don't know why I just do. Woman was sitting in my me seat as I got on and said excuse me you're in my seat I'm 9 A window seat. Woman responds - does it matter? I said no, I only booked this seat so you could sit here and to confuse the emergency services if we crashed. She soon moved her arse to her own seat.

21-04-2017, 06:44 PM
Ive had that before too, I always book a window seat on the left hand side of the plane, I don't know why I just do. Woman was sitting in my me seat as I got on and said excuse me you're in my seat I'm 9 A window seat. Woman responds - does it matter? I said no, I only booked this seat so you could sit here and to confuse the emergency services if we crashed. She soon moved her arse to her own seat.

You must have a few sat in the wrong seat stories from the choo choo.

Alfiembra
21-04-2017, 08:01 PM
Trying to explain to my wife for the umpteenth time over the phone how to attach a document to an email and send it.

I'd have more luck explaining the offside rule to her.

21-04-2017, 10:30 PM
On the plane theme, when you're sat there in the aisle seat reading away whilst folk board and someone who wants to take their seat next to you just stands in the aisle as if you're a ****ing savant that's meant to know they want in.

Or they could just say "excuse me that's my seat" and away we go.

21-04-2017, 10:58 PM
On the plane theme, when you're sat there in the aisle seat reading away whilst folk board and someone who wants to take their seat next to you just stands in the aisle as if you're a ****ing savant that's meant to know they want in.

Or they could just say "excuse me that's my seat" and away we go.

How come I always get the seat behind the one selfish b*****d who likes to recline theirs?

21-04-2017, 11:11 PM
Middle management chameleons. Change their whole stance on things to suit the boss they happen to be trying to impress that day. I absolutely hate it when folk feel they have to agree rather than contest their point and explain why they disagree/issue is being dealt with incorrectly.

22-04-2017, 05:29 AM
How come I always get the seat behind the one selfish b*****d who likes to recline theirs?

Directly opposite me coming up from LHR some poor bugger had to seat in front of him go full ****er and fully recline. He was basically concertina'd up with the guy's head on his chest.

Unacceptable behaviour.

Alfiembra
22-04-2017, 06:31 AM
Directly opposite me coming up from LHR some poor bugger had to seat in front of him go full ****er and fully recline. He was basically concertina'd up with the guy's head on his chest.

Unacceptable behaviour.

Was sitting behind a young woman who wedged herself in her seat and put her feet up onto the back of the seat in front of her. When the guy in that seat tried to recline it I could see her pushing for all she was worth so that he couldn't recline it. Guy thought his seat was stuck and never tried again. Neat trick, she did also recline her seat later into me.

22-04-2017, 09:44 AM
Was sitting behind a young woman who wedged herself in her seat and put her feet up onto the back of the seat in front of her. When the guy in that seat tried to recline it I could see her pushing for all she was worth so that he couldn't recline it. Guy thought his seat was stuck and never tried again. Neat trick, she did also recline her seat later into me.

The second action cancels out the first. As she was well aware of the annoyance it causes, ignorance cannot be used as an excuse.
She's just another selfish a$$hole.
Alas, the world is full of them. I blame Maggie Thatcher :wink:

Stick
23-04-2017, 04:09 PM
Five solid hours off the London marathon on BBC Scotland. I just don't understand why.

ColinNish
24-04-2017, 12:20 PM
Five solid hours off the London marathon on BBC Scotland. I just don't understand why.

Its in London. Nuff said

24-04-2017, 12:53 PM

I then just go out my way to kick, push and knock it so often its not worth it for them and they revert back.

25-04-2017, 02:32 PM
The second action cancels out the first. As she was well aware of the annoyance it causes, ignorance cannot be used as an excuse.
She's just another selfish a$$hole.
Alas, the world is full of them. I blame Maggie Thatcher :wink:

We are all to blame for putting up with it.

26-04-2017, 02:00 AM
People who don't photocopy the last sheet in the drawer of a blank document that's needed everyday before they use the last one. It's just sheer laziness and very infuriating.

26-04-2017, 08:47 AM
People who don't photocopy the last sheet in the drawer of a blank document that's needed everyday before they use the last one. It's just sheer laziness and very infuriating.

Took me a couple of reads to get what you meant, HC. I've got you now.
It is infuriating. I used put the last sheet in a clear sleeve marked 'master copy' in the hope that even folk at the foot of the IQ league would understand that they should make copies of this final sheet.
Likewise, people who open the last pack of photocopying paper and don't organise ordering more at that time. (Same applies to the ordering of all items that are in constant demand.)

26-04-2017, 02:01 PM
The amount of bread my wife throws out that has nothing wrong with it.

26-04-2017, 03:11 PM
The amount of bread my wife throws out that has nothing wrong with it.

Keep the bread and throw out the wife. :wink:

26-04-2017, 03:40 PM
Keep the bread and throw out the wife. :wink:

Just trying get to work out which one has the most dough ;-)

26-04-2017, 04:50 PM
Just trying get to work out which one has the most dough ;-)

You'll be guaranteed a roll in bed with at least one of them. :whistle:

speedy_gonzales
26-04-2017, 05:40 PM

You'll be guaranteed a roll in bed with at least one of them. :whistle:
And if you're lucky you'll get a rise!

Alfiembra
26-04-2017, 06:02 PM
And if you're lucky you'll get a rise!

And if your not you'll be toast. :greengrin

29-04-2017, 10:32 AM
People who say bless you after every sneeze when you are having a sneezing fit.

Just once when I have finished is fine thanks.

29-04-2017, 05:42 PM
People who say bless you after every sneeze when you are having a sneezing fit.

Just once when I have finished is fine thanks.
Are you victor meldrew? :greengrin

29-04-2017, 05:54 PM
Motorway middle lane hoggers, see so many folk doing this does my head in.

29-04-2017, 07:03 PM

Never seen any on Edinburgh bypass :wink:

29-04-2017, 07:44 PM

I'm not one of them but why does this bother you? You've got a lane to just go passed them?

29-04-2017, 08:02 PM
I'm not one of them but why does this bother you? You've got a lane to just go passed them?

Seriously? When I am doing 70 in the inside lane, to prevent undertaking them I have to move across 2 lanes to overtake and then get back to the inside. Plus they are breaking the law and are clueless as to how to drive correctly on a motorway and it is dangerous!

EH6 Hibby
30-04-2017, 11:11 AM
Seriously? When I am doing 70 in the inside lane, to prevent undertaking them I have to move across 2 lanes to overtake and then get back to the inside. Plus they are breaking the law and are clueless as to how to drive correctly on a motorway and it is dangerous!

It's not undertaking if the inside lane is travelling faster than the middle lane.

30-04-2017, 01:02 PM
It's not undertaking if the inside lane is travelling faster than the middle lane.

It's still wrong and there is no way I am undertaking some one who clearly has no road awareness.

speedy_gonzales
30-04-2017, 02:37 PM
It's still wrong and there is no way I am undertaking some one who clearly has no road awareness.
In which case you should have some fun and educate them at the same time. Play "Rodeo Drive" and see how many times you can lasso them. Simply pass on the right, over to lane 1, let them pass, then repeat!

01-05-2017, 04:27 PM
Keep to the left and leave the other lanes clear for faster moving traffic, obviously doesn't apply to very much of the so called motorway network in this country.

01-05-2017, 09:34 PM
Seagulls

ColinNish
02-05-2017, 05:13 AM
Seagulls

There's no such thing as seagulls.

02-05-2017, 05:53 AM
Pedants

02-05-2017, 08:28 AM

This is why its important

Rule 264You should always drive in the left-hand lane when the road ahead is clear. If you are overtaking a number of slower-moving vehicles, you should return to the left-hand lane as soon as you are safely past. Slow-moving or speed-restricted vehicles should always remain in the left-hand lane of the carriageway unless overtaking. You MUST NOT drive on the hard shoulder except in an emergency or if directed to do so by the police, traffic officers in uniform or by signs.

Rule 265The right-hand lane of a motorway with three or more lanes MUST NOT be used (except in prescribed circumstances) if you are driving

any vehicle drawing a trailer
a goods vehicle with a maximum laden weight exceeding 3.5 tonnes but not exceeding 7.5 tonnes, which is required to be fitted with a speed limiter
a goods vehicle with a maximum laden weight exceeding 7.5 tonnes
a passenger vehicle with a maximum laden weight exceeding 7.5 tonnes constructed or adapted to carry more than eight seated passengers in addition to the driver
a passenger vehicle with a maximum laden weight not exceeding 7.5 tonnes which is constructed or adapted to carry more than eight seated passengers in addition to the driver, which is required to be fitted with a speed limiter.

https://www.gov.uk/guidance/the-highway-code/motorways-253-to-273

It's for safety, traffic flow and for everyone's sanity.

02-05-2017, 09:16 AM
This is why its important

Rule 264You should always drive in the left-hand lane when the road ahead is clear. If you are overtaking a number of slower-moving vehicles, you should return to the left-hand lane as soon as you are safely past. Slow-moving or speed-restricted vehicles should always remain in the left-hand lane of the carriageway unless overtaking. You MUST NOT drive on the hard shoulder except in an emergency or if directed to do so by the police, traffic officers in uniform or by signs.

Rule 265The right-hand lane of a motorway with three or more lanes MUST NOT be used (except in prescribed circumstances) if you are driving

any vehicle drawing a trailer
a goods vehicle with a maximum laden weight exceeding 3.5 tonnes but not exceeding 7.5 tonnes, which is required to be fitted with a speed limiter
a goods vehicle with a maximum laden weight exceeding 7.5 tonnes
a passenger vehicle with a maximum laden weight exceeding 7.5 tonnes constructed or adapted to carry more than eight seated passengers in addition to the driver
a passenger vehicle with a maximum laden weight not exceeding 7.5 tonnes which is constructed or adapted to carry more than eight seated passengers in addition to the driver, which is required to be fitted with a speed limiter.

https://www.gov.uk/guidance/the-highway-code/motorways-253-to-273

It's for safety, traffic flow and for everyone's sanity.

On the M6 again yesterday, some folk are absolutely clueless. One clown got off the M74 at Abington and took the slip road back on to M74 instead of the A702 he wanted so he reversed up the slip road into the roundabout oncoming traffic!

02-05-2017, 10:19 AM
On the M6 again yesterday, some folk are absolutely clueless. One clown got of the M74 at Abington and took the slip road back on to M74 instead of the A702 he wanted so he reversed up the slip road into the roundabout oncoming traffic!

That is horrendous. :agree:

hibs#1
02-05-2017, 03:49 PM
On the M6 again yesterday, some folk are absolutely clueless. One clown got off the M74 at Abington and took the slip road back on to M74 instead of the A702 he wanted so he reversed up the slip road into the roundabout oncoming traffic!

You wonder how some people got licence's when you hear stories like that.

02-05-2017, 04:02 PM
Zany 'art' (aka 'Crap For Crap's Sake')
http://www.bbc.co.uk/newsbeat/article/39776379/met-gala-katy-perrys-mirror-screensaver-suits-and-churros

:crazy: