View Full Version : Pet Peeves IV
20-10-2019, 08:37 AM
I agree. I just struggle to believe the later exists in real life! :greengrin
It's seems to be people who are incapable of living in the moment at any particular event you care to think of. I was at the Cider and Sausage event at The Corn Exchange last night and the number of folk taking pictures of pints of cider was ridiculous, we know what they look like.
20-10-2019, 08:39 AM
It's seems to be people who are incapable of living in the moment at any particular event you care to think of. I was at the Cider and Sausage event at The Corn Exchange last night and the number of folk taking pictures of pints of cider was ridiculous, we know what they look like.
Cider and Sausage event, is that a euphemism 😁
20-10-2019, 08:40 AM
Folk taking selfies just look weird and I feel embarrassed for some of these clowns some of it is cringeworthy behaviour, so glad that I'm not one of the Instagram, Snapchat obsessed absolute roasters. Folk in their teens and some adults (mainly women) now live within and virtual world and are completely losing track on reality. When they are brought back to reality they all of a sudden become offended at things that are normal. That is a by product of living in their phone apps.
Don't get me started of folk that take pictures of their food and post it online. No **** cares by the way. Then theres the ****s who post vague statuses like, such in such is feeling down/sad/depressed/annoyed routinely followed by the are you ok hun, PM me babes or stay strong sweet cheeks. ****** OFF YOU ATTENTION SEEKING THUNDER C**TS
On a similar note, folk that almost bring themselves to an orgasm when they see themselves on the big screen at a sporting event. 😠
20-10-2019, 08:44 AM
On a similar note, folk that almost bring themselves to an orgasm when they see themselves on the big screen at a sporting event. 😠
And wave in the direction of the screen rather than where the camera is.
20-10-2019, 08:47 AM
I knew it wouldn't go without comment when I posted it. ☺
20-10-2019, 08:48 AM
Folk taking selfies just look weird and I feel embarrassed for some of these clowns some of it is cringeworthy behaviour, so glad that I'm not one of the Instagram, Snapchat obsessed absolute roasters. Folk in their teens and some adults (mainly women) now live within and virtual world and are completely losing track on reality. When they are brought back to reality they all of a sudden become offended at things that are normal. That is a by product of living in their phone apps.
Don't get me started of folk that take pictures of their food and post it online. No **** cares by the way. Then theres the ****s who post vague statuses like, such in such is feeling down/sad/depressed/annoyed routinely followed by the are you ok hun, PM me babes or stay strong sweet cheeks. ****** OFF YOU ATTENTION SEEKING THUNDER C**TS
I don't really see the issue with people taking selfies. At worst it's a product of a more introverted society that rather than ask a stranger to take a quick picture, people fumble around trying to do it themselves.
Had a wee chuckle at the part where you state other people get easily offended at normal things at the end of your rant about selfies. :greengrin
Photos of food is fine, posting online is excessive. I'll admit to being guilty of that sparingly though ( :duck: ).
The vague statuses I've not seen other than being used as satire. Again (like saying people only go on holiday for Instagram photos) I'd say it sounds more like a subsection of people that have been made up just so others can complain about social media.
Or maybe I just don't give my "friends" enough credit for not being roasters. I tend to find Facebook is more of a news/joke feed than anything else these days.
20-10-2019, 08:51 AM
I'll avoid letting slip that such an event would have been right up my alley then...
Shame, my insta followers would have loved a pic of my craft cider with a decent filter. :wink:
20-10-2019, 08:56 AM
I'll avoid letting slip that such an event would have been right up my alley then...
Shame, my insta followers would have loved a pic of my craft cider with a decent filter. :wink:
20-10-2019, 10:57 AM
I think a Cider and Sausage event is very different from a Saugage 'n' Cider event.
20-10-2019, 05:03 PM
What's a flop jockey? Don't want to Google it! 😕
:greengrin Unfortunately I did and it does actually mean something. I thought I'd made it up playing on the term used by soldiers to describe Army Catering Corps Cooks (Slop Jockey) and flipping hamburgers. Be glad you didn't google it. :wink:
CloudSquall
25-10-2019, 07:47 AM
Arrived at work today to read an email that was congratulating our CEO for being recognized as an industry wide "thought leader".
If a phrase summed up my reason for leaving and touring the world in 5 weeks, that is it.
Alfiembra
25-10-2019, 09:19 AM
Business Acronyms do my nut in, I've been working in the same place for nearly 16 years and I'm still none the wiser to nearly all the acronyms used. Listening to jobsworths spouting all their p!sh they might as well be talking Chinese for all I understand. The company even has a web page listing acronyms which runs into hundreds.
25-10-2019, 08:34 PM
Business Acronyms do my nut in, I've been working in the same place for nearly 16 years and I'm still none the wiser to nearly all the acronyms used. Listening to jobsworths spouting all their p!sh they might as well be talking Chinese for all I understand. The company even has a web page listing acronyms which runs into hundreds.
My peeve is the opposite [emoji23]
Folk that don’t take two minutes to ask or understand an acronym then spend forever moaning about people that do, calling them jobsworths and then claiming they can’t understand stuff that everyone else in the room does [emoji2957]
26-10-2019, 07:32 AM
I think a Cider and Sausage event is very different from a Saugage 'n' Cider event.
You could get into all sorts of bother for trying to take too many photos at that.
27-10-2019, 06:06 AM
Putting the cooker clock back...
28-10-2019, 12:51 AM
Shouldn't have taken it in the first place , then. :greengrin
Fuzzywuzzy
28-10-2019, 06:28 AM
I've seen similar peeves to this before and I just don't get it... :confused: Clearly it's me as most people tend to agree with you though.
I like taking photos of things, and that will occasionally include a "selfie" or asking someone to take a picture of me and my girlfriend. They very rarely get used for social media - although an onlooker could very easily just think I was some sort of Insta/Facebook obsessed millennial (if I count as one; I'm maybe too old) because I've taken some pictures. :dunno:
I don't use Facebook so much these days, but I have a look through it now and then and would say I've never seen anyone use it in the ways it gets described - I wouldn't say a single "friend" on it uses it as a "look how good my life is" platform as is so often suggested. I don't think posting the odd holiday pic or whatever counts as that.
Same as folk that go to concerts and just record the thing. And I paid to hear the artist perform not a group of banshees shrieking the lyrics thinking they're adding value.
Folk that answer their phone hands free then hold it up to their face to have the conversation. Wtaf is that about?? You could do that without anyone knowing your business
28-10-2019, 11:56 AM
If you don’t put it forward, you don’t have to put it back. Just remember that during summertime your food will be ready an hour later than you thought.
28-10-2019, 11:57 AM
If you don’t put it forward, you don’t have to put it back. Just remember that during summertime your food will be ready an hour later than you thought.
That's how it works in my car.
28-10-2019, 12:18 PM
That's how it works in my car.
I nearly said that too :greengrin
The time changes, you keep thinking “Oh,I should change the clock”, you can’t be arsed and then it gets closer to it going back again so you think “What’s the point?”
28-10-2019, 12:56 PM
Never actually use it to time food, it just annoys me if it's wrong. OCD or old age, who knows :greengrin
28-10-2019, 06:01 PM
When my wife fails to remove the plastic seal from either ketchup or brown sauce bottles but still puts them on the table.
Folk who dont remove packaging before sticking something in the fridge or freezer.
28-10-2019, 09:13 PM
When my wife fails to remove the plastic seal from either ketchup or brown sauce bottles but still puts them on the table.
Folk who dont remove packaging before sticking something in the fridge or freezer.
You need the packaging to know the temperature and time for cooking the content. Not everything can be cooked from frozen, some needs defrosting first.
28-10-2019, 09:19 PM
You need the packaging to know the temperature and time for cooking the content. Not everything can be cooked from frozen, some needs defrosting first.
I can honestly say I never read cooking instructions on packaging, nor do I ever really cook anything relying on time. I judge everything myself by eye and touch and the occasional temperature probe.
29-10-2019, 02:13 PM
I can honestly say I never read cooking instructions on packaging, nor do I ever really cook anything relying on time. I judge everything myself by eye and touch and the occasional temperature probe.
Is that you Mr Cockburn? :wink:
29-10-2019, 09:17 PM
So you are happy to risk food poison because you didn't defrost a chicken or fish dish?
Stick to eating Scouse.
29-10-2019, 09:19 PM
So you are happy to risk food poison because you didn't defrost a chicken or fish dish?
Stick to eating Scouse.
Eh? When did I say that I don’t defrost things. I think I am well qualified in food safety to do things properly 😉
Stick to what you know best.
And I’m not a fan of Scouse 😁
30-10-2019, 08:43 AM
I should have been more specific.
Magnum , cornetto and icepole boxes just stuck in the drawer without removing the contents.
Packets of yogurts stuck in the frudge without being removed from,the packaging.
Eggs in an egg box WTF?
07-11-2019, 04:09 PM
How come when a shop goes out of business the Lady Boys of Bangkok are always getting in? Posters everywhere.
Magnum , cornetto and icepole boxes just stuck in the drawer without removing the contents.
Packets of yogurts stuck in the frudge without being removed from,the packaging.
Eggs in an egg box WTF?
Im with you, a four pack of beans still in the plastic stuck together will make me grumpy all day. Its lazy unpacking!
07-11-2019, 08:15 PM
The increased use of “let that sink in” when trying to illustrate a point.
07-11-2019, 09:15 PM
The increased use of “let that sink in” when trying to illustrate a point.
I'm letting that sink in before replying 😉
07-11-2019, 09:20 PM
I'm letting that sink in before replying 😉
I only do it when someone tells me to. I expect the next stage will be to put full stops in between.
Let. That. Sink. In.
07-11-2019, 09:23 PM
Eggs in an egg box WTF?
Eggs shouldn't be put in the fridge!
Think about where things are stored in the supermarket: milk (fridge), butter (fridge), yoghurt (fridge), eggs unrefrigerated shelves. . ..
EH6 Hibby
07-11-2019, 11:22 PM
Not sure if it’s been mentioned already, but people that stand at the front of the bus when there’s plenty seats available. Got on a bus earlier and there were 4 separate people blocking the isle at the front, when there only 6 people sitting down. Anyone getting in or off had to fight there way past these idiots who were all staring at their phones having zero awareness of the fact people are trying to get past them.
CloudSquall
08-11-2019, 01:37 PM
Bloggers who write the "About Me" section in third person, critical levels of smugness.
08-11-2019, 02:12 PM
Bloggers who write the "About Me" section in third person, critical levels of smugness.
Most amateur bloggers full stop.
Let's write a diary, jazz it up with some emotions and personal life details and then put it online to get some attention and pretend I'm part of a "community".
Bawbags.
08-11-2019, 02:41 PM
Most amateur bloggers full stop.
Let's write a diary, jazz it up with some emotions and personal life details and then put it online to get some attention and pretend I'm part of a "community".
Bawbags.
Free loading food bloggers annoy me, they write some amount of pish pretending to be expert food critics.
CloudSquall
09-11-2019, 01:45 PM
For me it's the travel blogs, I don't know when it happened but it seems nowadays anyone that goes on a two week holiday can pass themselves off as a modern day Indiana Jones off on an adventure to find the lost ark.
09-11-2019, 05:22 PM
Xmas adverts on the tv when we are only in early-mid November.
Some retail shops have already got their Xmas trees, Xmas lights and tinsel’s out already.
10-11-2019, 04:24 PM
Self service checkouts in supermarkets.
'Pleas wait while the assistant verifies your bags'
'Unexpected item in bagging area'
'Please wait while we check your age'.
You know what would be easier? Someone actually serving me. They can dress it up all they want as being about 'consumer choice' but what it comes down to is saving money by being able to employ a few less staff per store and pressuring remain staff into believing they should be ridiculously grateful for the job they have.
I always make a point of not using them if at all possible.
10-11-2019, 05:25 PM
Eggs shouldn't be put in the fridge!
Think about where things are stored in the supermarket: milk (fridge), butter (fridge), yoghurt (fridge), eggs unrefrigerated shelves. . ..
You might be right but what are the egg holders in fridge for ?
10-11-2019, 05:34 PM
I thought about posting that a couple of days ago. 👍
10-11-2019, 05:39 PM
Eggs should be kept in the fridge, Supermarket ambient temperatures are far lower than your house. Best place is in the actual fridge not the door as the temperature fluctuates far too much in the door compartment.
10-11-2019, 05:58 PM
I made the mistake of buying a fridge with a salad compartment. Ever since I've been scouring supermarkets for vegetables on refrigerated display, but no luck yet.
speedy_gonzales
10-11-2019, 06:18 PM
Eggs should be kept in the fridge, Supermarket ambient temperatures are far lower than your house. Best place is in the actual fridge not the door as the temperature fluctuates far too much in the door compartment.
You might be right about ambient temperatures, but my wife bakes/sells celebration cakes and she doesn't keep the eggs in the fridge. She claims she gets a better rise from eggs at room temp rather than chilled. The eggs don't seem to go off any quicker when stored out of the fridge so I'm not sure what the benefit is?
10-11-2019, 06:46 PM
You might be right about ambient temperatures, but my wife bakes/sells celebration cakes and she doesn't keep the eggs in the fridge. She claims she gets a better rise from eggs at room temp rather than chilled. The eggs don't seem to go off any quicker when stored out of the fridge so I'm not sure what the benefit is?
I take them out of the fridge well before I use them too as the whites tend to be very thick and slow running when cold. Pretty much like cooking steak, I would never dream of cooking a steak straight from the fridge. We store them (eggs)in fridges in restaurants too and the EHO agrees so maybe that’s why I tend to do so. Everyone will have their own opinions.
Box 17
10-11-2019, 06:59 PM
Contestants on TV quiz shows who clap themselves when they get the right answer. Started on Pointless but now become an epidemic.
10-11-2019, 08:23 PM
Cream eggs.
10-11-2019, 08:53 PM
Cream eggs.
Chocolate in the fridge!?! :bitchy:
10-11-2019, 10:03 PM
Chocolate in the fridge!?! :bitchy:
Always.
10-11-2019, 10:06 PM
People who refer to going out with their wife/husband as a date night!
The same folk who normally claim they are babysitting when they are left alone with their own child when their partner goes out.
I read both of these regularly on Facebook.
10-11-2019, 10:09 PM
There's your biggest mistake! 😉
10-11-2019, 10:23 PM
There's your biggest mistake! 😉
Probably, it’s the only social media apart from .net that I use, mainly for old school friends.
11-11-2019, 07:39 AM
The same folk who normally claim they are babysitting when they are left alone with their own child when their partner goes out.
:agree: cringeworthy stuff.
11-11-2019, 11:41 AM
"Date night with this one (heart emoji)" :sick:
11-11-2019, 08:47 PM
:agree: cringeworthy stuff.
:agree: horrible. Great shout Scouse.
Mixu62
12-11-2019, 01:23 AM
Looking for a new pair of dress shoes for the work Christmas party and the number of mens shoes that have pointless decorative tassles and buckles on them!!
12-11-2019, 09:24 AM
Looking for a new pair of dress shoes for the work Christmas party and the number of mens shoes that have pointless decorative tassles and buckles on them!!
https://www.masterdebonair.com/collections/shoes
12-11-2019, 10:22 AM
The secret with dress shoes is to pay a bit extra to buy a pair with either Blake or Goodyear stitched soles. That means the soles can be replaced as required and they will last for years. The modern trend for cheaper shoes with glued soles is a nod to our obsession with throwaway fashion.
A brand like Loakes have timeless shoes and are well worth the extra investment.
12-11-2019, 12:26 PM
The secret with dress shoes is to pay a bit extra to buy a pair with either Blake or Goodyear stitched soles. That means the soles can be replaced as required and they will last for years. The modern trend for cheaper shoes with glued soles is a nod to our obsession with throwaway fashion.
A brand like Loakes have timeless shoes and are well worth the extra investment.
Would echo Loakes. I’ve got a couple of two tone oxfords from them. They weren’t cheap but excellent quality and comfy too.
CloudSquall
12-11-2019, 12:49 PM
Some of the Americanisms that are creeping into our language.
I read on Twitter an MP inform her followers that someone was "slaying it on the campaign trail".
For me that means they are out and about with a medieval style sword on a killing rampage however it seems she was just doing a really good job.
Another one is "fierce", for example a woman in my work has been nominated as "2019's Fiercest Woman"
I can't decide if that's overwhelmingly condescending or just a new name for the office's gobby cow.
12-11-2019, 01:52 PM
:agree: horrible. Great shout Scouse.
Worse when "date night" is with one or more of their own kids.
12-11-2019, 01:55 PM
You live in Fife don't you?
12-11-2019, 03:24 PM
You been on the Jambo sites again.
12-11-2019, 06:39 PM
Plastic, specifically when putting the shopping away and finding that the majority of the plastic is not recyclable. Why aren’t manufacturers stopping using plastic that can’t go in a kerbside bin?
Oh, and apparently teabags have plastic in them too, so there’s that.
Mixu62
12-11-2019, 07:45 PM
Would echo Loakes. I’ve got a couple of two tone oxfords from them. They weren’t cheap but excellent quality and comfy too.
Had a pair of loakes. Lasted me years. Anyway I digress (perhaps we need a sartorial elegance thread) the current styles of mens shoes gie me the dry boak
14-11-2019, 08:49 AM
Plastic, specifically when putting the shopping away and finding that the majority of the plastic is not recyclable. Why aren’t manufacturers stopping using plastic that can’t go in a kerbside bin?
Oh, and apparently teabags have plastic in them too, so there’s that.
To be fair, some brands do not use plastic in their tea bags. I think the info is out there and you can discriminate.
14-11-2019, 09:32 AM
Slimming World. Or more specifically people who talk about SW but clearly don't have any common sense at all. Now I'm sure SW can be successful in bringing about weight loss, in the short term at any rate, if followed correctly. However there are 2 women in my work 'following' it, it's all they talk about and they evidently don't have a clue. They eat mountains of 'free' food and have no concept of portion control. Then we get the weekly weight in chat:
'How did you get on this week?'
'Lost a pound'
'Go you'
'Well how did it go this week?'
'Gained a pound and a half'
'Aww onwards and upwards'
'How did you do'
'Lost half a pound'
'Back on track, well done.'
That's just normal fluctuations in weight, there's no pattern of weight loss (or gain) there. Engage your brains.
14-11-2019, 05:44 PM
Slimming World. Or more specifically people who talk about SW but clearly don't have any common sense at all. Now I'm sure SW can be successful in bringing about weight loss, in the short term at any rate, if followed correctly. However there are 2 women in my work 'following' it, it's all they talk about and they evidently don't have a clue. They eat mountains of 'free' food and have no concept of portion control. Then we get the weekly weight in chat:
'How did you get on this week?'
'Lost a pound'
'Go you'
'Well how did it go this week?'
'Gained a pound and a half'
'Aww onwards and upwards'
'How did you do'
'Lost half a pound'
'Back on track, well done.'
That's just normal fluctuations in weight, there's no pattern of weight loss (or gain) there. Engage your brains.
15-11-2019, 12:10 PM
When I turn my tv on half the screen is covered with a panel setting out all the different options that are available and it takes what seems like an eternity to go away. It’s really annoying when there’s a match on. I’ve looked through the settings, but I can’t see anyway to stop it happening.
EH6 Hibby
15-11-2019, 12:48 PM
When I turn my tv on half the screen is covered with a panel setting out all the different options that are available and it takes what seems like an eternity to go away. It’s really annoying when there’s a match on. I’ve looked through the settings, but I can’t see anyway to stop it happening.
Mines does that, but I just hit exit on the remote and it goes away.
pollution
15-11-2019, 05:25 PM
Peeling small cloves of garlic.
15-11-2019, 05:33 PM
What make of TV sounds as if it’s in demo or shop mode.
15-11-2019, 08:16 PM
What make of TV sounds as if it’s in demo or shop mode.
Samsung. EH6 Hibby has solved the problem further up the thread. Apparently you have to press exit on the remote.
15-11-2019, 08:34 PM
Samsung. EH6 Hibby has solved the problem further up the thread. Apparently you have to press exit on the remote.
Ok if you still having problems I was going to suggest.Press the volume up or down button on the remote control. When the volume bar appears, hold the "MENU" button down on the TV. If "Dynamic" or "Dynamic Mode" appears after several seconds, the TV is out of Demo or Shop mode
15-11-2019, 08:42 PM
Ok if you still having problems I was going to suggest.Press the volume up or down button on the remote control. When the volume bar appears, hold the "MENU" button down on the TV. If "Dynamic" or "Dynamic Mode" appears after several seconds, the TV is out of Demo or Shop mode
Cheers I’ll try that.
15-11-2019, 10:32 PM
Pop them in boiling water for a minute, rub the skin and it will fall off.
16-11-2019, 12:12 AM
Peeling small cloves of garlic.Bash them (big or small) and the skin almost falls off itself.
16-11-2019, 12:55 AM
Bash them (big or small) and the skin almost falls off itself.
Sure this has been posted on here before but if you rattle them around in a glass jar then the skins tend to come off.
16-11-2019, 01:10 AM
Sure this has been posted on here before but if you rattle them around in a glass jar then the skins tend to come off.
Are we still talking about garlic? :wink:
16-11-2019, 08:05 AM
Cut off both ends, pop in the microwave for 15 seconds then just squeeze the cloves out of the peel.
16-11-2019, 08:22 AM
Open the jar of lazy garlic and spoon it out so simple.
16-11-2019, 11:07 AM
Are we still talking about garlic? :wink:
Yeah, that as well
CloudSquall
16-11-2019, 02:23 PM
To go back to the "phones at events" pet peeve, this is sickening viewing...
https://twitter.com/FootyLimbs/status/1195643300851724289
16-11-2019, 07:53 PM
To go back to the "phones at events" pet peeve, this is sickening viewing...
https://twitter.com/FootyLimbs/status/1195643300851724289
That’s just odd!
17-11-2019, 10:15 AM
People who use mental health as an excuse and then come out with a ridiculous comment like I tried to take my own life 10 ten times last year. To be clear on this, the person involved suffers from bull****itis and certainly not mental health issues.
17-11-2019, 04:33 PM
People who are referred to, or refer to themselves, as 'a character'.
Usually it can be roughly translated as 'They are/I am a ****ing erse.'
17-11-2019, 09:23 PM
What about folks who describe themselves as ‘a bit of an effing erse’?
17-11-2019, 09:33 PM
What about folks who describe themselves as ‘a bit of an effing erse’?
They’re normally characters.
17-11-2019, 09:47 PM
Anyone who refers to themselves as anything.
18-11-2019, 06:26 AM
Along those lines, Kevin Thomson describes himself as a “thinker”. There’s another word ending in ker that I can think of to describe people like that.
18-11-2019, 07:00 AM
I am the one and only 😉
18-11-2019, 08:19 AM
Anyone who refers to themselves in the third person.
Anyone who tries to combine the two and is like "I'm the kind of person who … "
18-11-2019, 11:02 AM
Anyone who refers to themselves in the third person.
Anyone who tries to combine the two and is like "I'm the kind of person who … "
Or even worse people who say what am I like.
pollution
18-11-2019, 11:17 AM
Anyone who calls themselves a gentleman or Mr.eg John Smith.
18-11-2019, 11:37 AM
Anyone who calls themselves a gentleman or Mr.eg John Smith.
Doctors who introduce themselves by saying "My name's Doctor Blah". No it isn't. Your name's Blah. :panic:
18-11-2019, 11:54 AM
Doctors who introduce themselves by saying "My name's Doctor Blah". No it isn't. Your name's Blah. :panic:
What if Dr Blah is about to stick his finger up your arse?
Would it not be more comforting to know it was definitely a doctor?
18-11-2019, 12:19 PM
So what you're telling us is that you'd let anyone stick a finger up your arse, provided they'd claimed to be a Doctor when introducing themselves?
18-11-2019, 12:19 PM
I want him to be a doctor but I will be less confident in the outcome if he doesn't know the difference between his name and his job.
18-11-2019, 12:20 PM
I don't think I'd trust anyone calling themself "Blah".
18-11-2019, 12:23 PM
I don't think I'd trust anyone calling themself "Blah".
He'll be gone after Brexit. There just won't be a doctor to introduce himself and my peeve will be resolved. Sunny upland or what?
18-11-2019, 12:44 PM
He'll be gone after Brexit. There just won't be a doctor to introduce himself and my peeve will be resolved. Sunny upland or what?
Who will you get to stick their finger up your arse then?
18-11-2019, 12:46 PM
He'll just have to hover above a LibDem right before they check which way the wind is blowing.
CloudSquall
18-11-2019, 12:52 PM
"Goal oriented" and " Future (insert career here)" are among my pet peeve phrases that are creeping into society these days.
18-11-2019, 01:42 PM
Whoever puts in the lowest tender to do that job in the TrumpHS. Not expecting it to be anyone medically qualified. "Hello, my name's Harry Drain Cleaner."
:tee hee: :tee hee: :tee hee:
18-11-2019, 07:09 PM
Kind of thread that is worthless without pictures.
Just saying, like for illustrative purposes, nothing pervy.
18-11-2019, 08:37 PM
So what you're telling us is that you'd let anyone stick a finger up your arse, provided they'd claimed to be a Doctor when introducing themselves?
No no, what I’m saying is that if someone were to be tasked with the job, I would be more comforted knowing they were a doctor and know what they were looking for - or not, as the case may be.
18-11-2019, 08:44 PM
I want him to be a doctor but I will be less confident in the outcome if he doesn't know the difference between his name and his job.
So you’d rather they said “hello, I’m Kenneth McKinlay, I’m your doctor”?
Saying “I’m Dr Kenneth McKinlay” puts the patient at ease more quickly no?
18-11-2019, 10:24 PM
So you’d rather they said “hello, I’m Kenneth McKinlay, I’m your doctor”?
Saying “I’m Dr Kenneth McKinlay” puts the patient at ease more quickly no?
That's fine, if a bit pompous.
19-11-2019, 03:12 AM
I am the one and only 😉
Can’t take that away from you
19-11-2019, 03:25 PM
A District N-erse?
CloudSquall
23-11-2019, 11:59 AM
People (generally the older generation) who need 10 minutes talking to the cashier, 15 minutes to pack their bags, 10 minutes searching for their bank card, 10 minutes to try to insert the card into the reader, 10 minutes to enter wrong pin codes, and then when they eventually pay another 15 minutes just to **** about with their bags without even a hint of consideration for the mile long queue they have created behind them.
23-11-2019, 12:07 PM
People who exaggerate for effect. 😉
23-11-2019, 12:49 PM
Grumpy morning people, asked a guy making a delivery from England if I could help him as he tried to walk past me into a site that was only open for works and not deliveries. He tried to push past me and said I shouldn’t speak to him like that 😂
Silky
23-11-2019, 01:52 PM
Grumpy morning people, asked a guy making a delivery from England if I could help him as he tried to walk past me into a site that was only open for works and not deliveries. He tried to push past me and said I shouldn’t speak to him like that 😂
People who ask "can I help you" when you are going somewhere or doing something that doesn't concern them. Just rude!! 😁😁
23-11-2019, 03:05 PM
Remember and take him a cup of tea tomorrow morning. It's a long time til Monday!
27-11-2019, 08:50 AM
Parcel delivery companies who fail to deliver.
Yesterday I got email and SMS notification from DHL to say a parcel would be delivered between 18:10 and 20:10 and I was number 49 on the route. Tracking the parcel the driver got as far as number 30 at 17:00 then it just stopped. He obviously headed back to the depot at this point and then this morning tracking said
26th November 2019
18:05
We're sorry but we haven’t been able to deliver as our driver was unable to gain access to the delivery address
No attempt was made to deliver the parcel and I now have to wait in on Thursday in the faint hope that it might be delivered.
Also, how is a delivery driver expected to deliver 49 parcels a day? Assume an 8 hour shift that works out at a delivery every 16 minutes
27-11-2019, 01:54 PM
Yesterday I got email and SMS notification from DHL to say a parcel would be delivered between 18:10 and 20:10 and I was number 49 on the route. Tracking the parcel the driver got as far as number 30 at 17:00 then it just stopped. He obviously headed back to the depot at this point and then this morning tracking said
No attempt was made to deliver the parcel and I now have to wait in on Thursday in the faint hope that it might be delivered.
Also, how is a delivery driver expected to deliver 49 parcels a day? Assume an 8 hour shift that works out at a delivery every 16 minutes
It's frustrating but I think there's too much pressure put on delivery drivers. :agree:
I had a parcel last month that was meant to be delivered on Saturday, wasn't, then Monday, wasn't, and when we asked they said there had been road works nearby.
When we said there weren't any roadworks, certainly not lasting Saturday to Monday they changed that to say they couldn't find the address.
They clearly just don't have the time to deliver all their packages and are happy to make up excuses as they go.
Delivery finally came and I made small talk to the driver as I was signing for it who said she had loads of parcels still left to deliver but that she was knackered and about to call it quits for the night. Certainly didn't leave me under any false impressions as to what had happened the last few days with my delivery.
27-11-2019, 05:02 PM
It's frustrating but I think there's too much pressure put on delivery drivers. :agree:
I had a parcel last month that was meant to be delivered on Saturday, wasn't, then Monday, wasn't, and when we asked they said there had been road works nearby.
When we said there weren't any roadworks, certainly not lasting Saturday to Monday they changed that to say they couldn't find the address.
They clearly just don't have the time to deliver all their packages and are happy to make up excuses as they go.
Delivery finally came and I made small talk to the driver as I was signing for it who said she had loads of parcels still left to deliver but that she was knackered and about to call it quits for the night. Certainly didn't leave me under any false impressions as to what had happened the last few days with my delivery.
A follow up to my parcel. I went online to reschedule the delivery for Thursday (tomorrow). A van stopped at the end of my drive at 16:50 tonight as I was about to head out. It was the DHL van, and the driver claimed to not have been scheduled to deliver to me yesterday. When I told him I had been tracking it, he claimed that his machine was playing up yesterday.
27-11-2019, 05:43 PM
I would guess you live in a rural area? The guys with tight city runs will do well over 100 every day, some of them were on 90 seconds between drops.
DHL was UK Mail when I worked there. Drivers were made to take out every parcel in their postcodes, once you get into December you might get an email telling you that you're no 129 and delivery will be between 2350 and 0150. if the driver is agency or on a day rate he'll work until a certain time, 1700 in the case of your driver, then the undelivered parcels go back and should be out for delivery the next day. if your driver is an owner driver, paid by the delivery, you might see him at very dark o'clock.
27-11-2019, 06:10 PM
I’m a city dweller but don’t get huge amounts of parcels delivered but I have to say that the vast amount of times I have they have arrived and when the email / text updates say they have.
It doesn’t look like a great job if I’m honest and these people sure work hard for their cash but overall I think it’s damn impressive how effective they are and the tracking / updates process is really useful.
There is even one service (can’t remember which company) that allows you to update your delivery preference on the fly...I wasn’t going to be at the time allotted so asked him to leave it in the green bin (wasn’t valuable) and hey presto when I got home there it was safely sitting on top of my recycling [emoji106]
CloudSquall
30-11-2019, 10:23 AM
Pretentious ****ers who write pish like "Not All Those Who Wander Are Lost" to try to dress up their two week vacation from their 9-5 as some sort of inspirational Indiana Jones esque adventure.
30-11-2019, 11:00 AM
People who ask "can I help you" when you are going somewhere or doing something that doesn't concern them. Just rude!! 😁😁:greengrin
30-11-2019, 11:01 AM
Pretentious ****ers who write pish like "Not All Those Who Wander Are Lost" to try to dress up their two week vacation from their 9-5 as some sort of inspirational Indiana Jones esque adventure.People who attribute quotes to the wrong source.
CloudSquall
30-11-2019, 11:04 AM
People who attribute quotes to the wrong source.
Thankfully it's not in that majestic movie series or else I'd cry.
The BBC iplayer adverts, nippy as F! Also when watching BBC HD not being able to watch the local news, here anyway.
01-12-2019, 10:24 AM
People sounding like Jacob Rees Mogg by using the word whilst when they could use the 20th/21st century equivalent, while.
01-12-2019, 10:26 AM
People who attribute quotes to the wrong source.
Normally with a picture of some celebrity or character that has nothing to do with it as well:grr:
01-12-2019, 01:13 PM
I'm a Celebrity jungle rubbish. Terrible television.
01-12-2019, 03:10 PM
People sounding like Jacob Rees Mogg by using the word whilst when they could use the 20th/21st century equivalent, while.
I wouldn't class "while" as being more modern than "whilst", but then I'm one of the folk who uses the latter. :greengrin
I'm a Celebrity jungle rubbish. Terrible television.
Love it. Only prog i really watch all year
01-12-2019, 03:47 PM
I wouldn't class "while" as being more modern than "whilst", but then I'm one of the folk who uses the latter. :greengrin
Whilst I have to agree, I'm whilsting away the afternoon wondering whom would while away the afternoon on such trivial topics. 😉
01-12-2019, 04:06 PM
Love it. Only prog i really watch all year
Now theres a shock. :greengrin
:tee hee: :tee hee: :tee hee:
pollution
01-12-2019, 04:42 PM
I thought whilst implied an action eg I was walking whilst texting on my phone.
While you're here I will make a cup of tea, on the other hand.
Alfiembra
01-12-2019, 04:53 PM
People that refer to the ground outside as the floor, can’t explain why that pushes my button so badly.
01-12-2019, 06:49 PM
Prithee do continue, if 'twould please your goodselfness.
01-12-2019, 07:26 PM
Using the word " like" after every sentence 🤬🤬
01-12-2019, 07:47 PM
What do you mean like.
02-12-2019, 05:09 AM
Prithee do continue, if 'twould please your goodselfness.
Aye, it wid.
02-12-2019, 10:01 AM
What do you mean like.
🙄🙄😁
05-12-2019, 03:30 PM
Websites where pop up windows about cookies policy appear and whether you click to agree or click to learn more, nothing happens and you’re stuck on that page forever with nothing happening.
05-12-2019, 03:49 PM
You're right there. Inarticulate rabble.
11-12-2019, 02:21 PM
Postie only turning up at !5:13 this afternoon...:rolleyes:
12-12-2019, 03:14 PM
Painting the woodwork for Christmas - I'm losing the will to live.
12-12-2019, 03:25 PM
Painting the woodwork for Christmas - I'm losing the will to live.
Is that Cliff's Christmas single? 😉
In very bad taste, ironically a couple of the guys in the video are no longer with us.
https://youtu.be/VAm9VmmcDgY
CloudSquall
14-12-2019, 02:09 PM
When someone is doing DIY in an appartment, and instead of getting the drilling over and done with in 5 minutes they decide to intersperse 5 second bursts over the entire day to the point it becomes a form of chinese torture.
16-12-2019, 03:01 PM
I don't know why but when I see people putting sauce on pies at the game it really irritates, especially tomato sauce on steak pies. Thats just wrong imo.
16-12-2019, 04:28 PM
I don't know why but when I see people putting sauce on pies at the game it really irritates, especially tomato sauce on steak pies. Thats just wrong imo.
Heathens
16-12-2019, 05:02 PM
You can’t have a steak pie without brown sauce, surely?
16-12-2019, 06:22 PM
Agreed, it should be gravy.
16-12-2019, 06:32 PM
Behind the “can I have a double macchiato, two extra shots, soya milk, can I see what you serve it in, oh yes that’s fine can you warm it with boiling water before you make the coffee, in fact just give me one extra shot, what type of bean do you use, is it freshly ground, oh yes that’s fine, oh wait how much extra to sit in against takeaway, do you take cards, oh wait I have all this copper change”.........arghhhhhhh
Hurry the **** up and get a coffee you ****wit.
CloudSquall
18-12-2019, 10:39 AM
https://mobile.twitter.com/stewart_langdon/status/1207260174739623936
The pretentious , and completely incorrect, use of the word "humbled" in today's social media age.
18-12-2019, 11:57 AM
https://mobile.twitter.com/stewart_langdon/status/1207260174739623936
The pretentious , and completely incorrect, use of the word "humbled" in today's social media age.
Yes. LOOK HOW HUMBLE I AM!!!!
Actually (and I'm fairly certain that I've been guilty of this at some point), and posts on LinkedIn etc that start "Delighted to.." or "Humbled by.." "Amazing to..."
Pricks.
18-12-2019, 09:36 PM
Workplace gossip.
I had my work Christmas night out on Saturday and throughly enjoyed it because I spent most of the night not talking to people I work with. Myself and another guy from the office got chatting to a table of nurses, bought them a drink, had a dance, a good laugh and said goodbye at the end of the night.
Since then it's been 'oh what are you 2 like, what would the girlfriends have said?', 'so shallow, right over to the pretty girls', 'you pair will never change' and other banal pish. It started off as fairly light hearted but it's developing an edge and there's a desperation for there to be a bigger story than there actually is. Are people lives really that boring that a bit harmless flirting is worthy of 3 days of conversation?
18-12-2019, 10:20 PM
Workplace gossip.
I had my work Christmas night out on Saturday and throughly enjoyed it because I spent most of the night not talking to people I work with. Myself and another guy from the office got chatting to a table of nurses, bought them a drink, had a dance, a good laugh and said goodbye at the end of the night.
Since then it's been 'oh what are you 2 like, what would the girlfriends have said?', 'so shallow, right over to the pretty girls', 'you pair will never change' and other banal pish. It started off as fairly light hearted but it's developing an edge and there's a desperation for there to be a bigger story than there actually is. Are people lives really that boring that a bit harmless flirting is worthy of 3 days of conversation?
You're on a football message board. That's all folk bloody do here 😁
CloudSquall
18-12-2019, 11:49 PM
Workplace gossip.
In other words ****ting it in case the wife finds out :greengrin
Seriously though, I quit my job to do a bit of travelling at the end of last month and already feeling better at not having to put up with that sort of guff in an office.
19-12-2019, 12:00 AM
Workplace gossip.
As long as you told your wife/girlfriend, you are fine. 😁
19-12-2019, 11:16 AM
As long as you told your wife/girlfriend, you are fine. 😁
I'd happily show her a transcript of the conversation (well most of it....) 😂
EH6 Hibby
22-12-2019, 12:20 PM
Missing Child posts on Facebook with the heading “It only takes seconds to share”
It takes the same length of time to click on the thing and realise it’s from 2017 and the child was found safe and well the next day.
22-12-2019, 04:15 PM
Missing Child posts on Facebook with the heading “It only takes seconds to share”
It takes the same length of time to click on the thing and realise it’s from 2017 and the child was found safe and well the next day.
And they’re always shared by grannies and older women, usually with some sort of thoughts and prayers along with it 😂
EH6 Hibby
22-12-2019, 06:45 PM
And they’re always shared by grannies and older women, usually with some sort of thoughts and prayers along with it 😂
Aye. Same people that share lost dog posts from Kentucky and add “shared Edinburgh’ in the comments. I hardly think the dugs swam the channel and is now stoatin aboot Leith Moira.
23-12-2019, 09:11 AM
Aye. Same people that share lost dog posts from Kentucky and add “shared Edinburgh’ in the comments. I hardly think the dugs swam the channel and is now stoatin aboot Leith Moira.
:faf: Totally agree with this one.
Facebook is brutal for folk sharing stuff without checking it or actually even thinking whether it's true or not.
The amount of stuff that you can call BS on is unreal.
23-12-2019, 10:42 AM
People who think that Kentucky is in France.
23-12-2019, 11:22 AM
23-12-2019, 12:43 PM
:hilarious:
EH6 Hibby
23-12-2019, 01:40 PM
Meant to say the Atlantic. :greengrin
CloudSquall
23-12-2019, 07:35 PM
Rental agencies who are robbing *******s when it comes to giving back the deposit, imaginary problems costing 4x as much as what you would expect them to cost.
24-12-2019, 10:20 AM
Spelling the "F'ing" word "F'ken" (you get the gist, swear filter won't let me type exactly what I mean :greengrin)
24-12-2019, 12:28 PM
Stopped in at Asda for some cold and flu tabs to help me shift this cold for Thursday and couldn't believe the amount of panic buying going on. The shop is closed for one day offs...
24-12-2019, 12:34 PM
Nothing - and I mean nothing - winds me up more than when you let someone past on a narrow street or a doorway and they don't even give as much as a smile, never mind a thank you.
I now shout "YOU'RE VERY WELCOME!" as loudly as I feel brave enough to do.
24-12-2019, 12:37 PM
Spelling the "F'ing" word "F'ken" (you get the gist, swear filter won't let me type exactly what I mean :greengrin)
I'm no prude with language but the F word in general really annoys me. It's everywhere and it never needs to be.
If I'm having a stressful moment or find something exceptionally hilarious/painful/cringeworthy/breathtaking, then it deserves that moment. You hear it left, right and centre out and about and it really has started to irritate me.
Heard a mother with a pram on the phone outside the Wellgate centre in Dundee shouting "You're ****ing right by the ****ing way" - adds nothing to the sentence or the meaning and sets a terrible example to the young one.
I really hate that word.
24-12-2019, 12:47 PM
Nothing - and I mean nothing - winds me up more than when you let someone past on a narrow street or a doorway and they don't even give as much as a smile, never mind a thank you.
Just plain bad manners gets right on my tits. Saying “morning” or “hiya” in the village can be a lottery but I’ve managed to filter out the dobbers who will ignore you.
24-12-2019, 01:11 PM
I had a woman just let the door go in my face at M&S in Perth on Sunday, She was left in no doubt how I felt about it. :greengrin #grumpyoldman
24-12-2019, 02:00 PM
I'm no prude with language but the F word in general really annoys me. It's everywhere and it never needs to be.
If I'm having a stressful moment or find something exceptionally hilarious/painful/cringeworthy/breathtaking, then it deserves that moment. You hear it left, right and centre out and about and it really has started to irritate me.
Heard a mother with a pram on the phone outside the Wellgate centre in Dundee shouting "You're ****ing right by the ****ing way" - adds nothing to the sentence or the meaning and sets a terrible example to the young one.
I really hate that word.
Fred macaulay did a good joke about the f word on mock the week a few years ago. Look it up...hilarious. might change your mind 😄
24-12-2019, 02:57 PM
Fred macaulay did a good joke about the f word on mock the week a few years ago. Look it up...hilarious. might change your mind 😄
McDiarmid Park which can hold 10,000 so they've been told! ☺
24-12-2019, 03:05 PM
It's filled to capacity at least once a year. There is a Jehova witness convention every year. 😁
24-12-2019, 03:23 PM
Effin....BOOOOOOO! 😂
24-12-2019, 03:32 PM
I found it particularly funny cos I think I've been guilty of shouting the punchline at a referee! 😁
CloudSquall
24-12-2019, 09:02 PM
Standard behaviour in the Netherlands, I learnt their word for "you're welcome" just so I could turn and scream it at them like a mentalist.
I then moved to France and pretty much broke down in tears at the first "merci" I received when I let someone past first.
If only everyone knew manners cost nothing..
CloudSquall
24-12-2019, 09:05 PM
Politicians, journalists etc on Twitter who are currently writing "signing off for the Xmas period.." etc as if writing pish on Twitter is up there with being in the trenches of WW1.
speedy_gonzales
25-12-2019, 03:26 AM
The inevitable falling ill at Christmas time, every year without fail.
Sat next to an admin/planner who managed to cough/sneeze/splutter all last week before finishing early on Friday, Friday evening I get the scratchy throat.
For the last few days I've had next to zero sleep because I'm feverish and having seriously weird dreams.
Trying to load up on paracetamol but it's playing havoc with my guts,,,, feel sorry for the family as I'm going to be a grumpy nightmare later on today!
25-12-2019, 03:45 AM
Sat next to an admin/planner who managed to cough/sneeze/splutter all last week before finishing early on Friday, Friday evening I get the scratchy throat.
For the last few days I've had next to zero sleep because I'm feverish and having seriously weird dreams.
Trying to load up on paracetamol but it's playing havoc with my guts,,,, feel sorry for the family as I'm going to be a grumpy nightmare later on today!
Was that Hammy passing on his cold?? :greengrin
FWIW I'm struck down with a stoater of a cold, blocked nose, sore throat, blocked ears. One of my eyes is weeping as well. Going to face a late fitness test for tomorrows game. Been trying to shift it since last Thursday.
25-12-2019, 08:54 AM
Was that Hammy passing on his cold?? :greengrin
Tell him, Happy Xmas from me!
25-12-2019, 07:53 PM
Not much you can do except drink plenty water and keep warm. There's a spray called First Defence you can get which neutralises a cold before it takes hold but you have to take it early.
I've taken to washing my hands when I come into the house especially if I've been on public transport!
01-01-2020, 01:33 PM
Folk who’ll read a story in the Sun or the Daily Mail or the Daily Record. Post about the story. Then say they won’t put up a link to it...cos it’s the Sun or the Daily Mail or the Daily Record.
Then the folk who want to read the story but won’t click on a link and go to their website. “Wouldn’t wipe my arse with that garbage...what they saying though...can someone else read it and give me the information”
pollution
01-01-2020, 05:57 PM
Headlines with asterisks to cover swear words.
01-01-2020, 06:36 PM
Folk who’ll read a story in the Sun or the Daily Mail or the Daily Record. Post about the story. Then say they won’t put up a link to it...cos it’s the Sun or the Daily Mail or the Daily Record.
Then the folk who want to read the story but won’t click on a link and go to their website. “Wouldn’t wipe my arse with that garbage...what they saying though...can someone else read it and give me the information”
I think the thought process is that news sites which don't operate behind a paywall derive much of their income from advertising revenue. No click means no revenue. Done properly I suppose it could be an online equivalent of 'Don't buy the Sun'.
Asking someone else to click the link and copy and paste it totally defeats the purpose though. You would be as well just clicking the link yourself.
Alfiembra
01-01-2020, 07:56 PM
TV adverts particularly from large organisations that try to show how diverse and inclusive they are and have nothing to do with the product they want you to buy.
One that particularly annoys me is the current Renault Clio advert which is a story of two girls growing up and eventually becoming a couple. How is that going to convince me to consider buying a car from them?
02-01-2020, 11:47 AM
TV adverts particularly from large organisations that try to show how diverse and inclusive they are and have nothing to do with the product they want you to buy.
One that particularly annoys me is the current Renault Clio advert which is a story of two girls growing up and eventually becoming a couple. How is that going to convince me to consider buying a car from them?
You're maybe not the target.
stuart-farquhar
02-01-2020, 12:22 PM
Dog ***** and general litter on pavements and roads.
And those ruddy Benidorm scooters!! Parked outside the boozers. See Central bar foot of walk for reference.
CloudSquall
02-01-2020, 08:20 PM
LinkedIn ****ers who proudly declared they were having a "digital detox" over Christmas, you can royally **** off with that pretentious patter.
****y clickbait language that has infected online media,
"we need to talk about *that* ...."
"...and you'll NEVER believe the replies"
"so that's a thing"
"...and it's so pure"
02-01-2020, 09:37 PM
This thread is epic 👍😁. A right good laugh reading through the last few pages. Coming into peak grumpy old git years so hopefully can add a bit to it.
04-01-2020, 06:36 PM
Trying to find and read the expiry dates on herb jars, piss take.
04-01-2020, 07:37 PM
Trying to find and read the expiry dates on herb jars, piss take.
I genuinely take no notice of dates on many things and particularly on herbs and spices.
04-01-2020, 08:30 PM
I genuinely take no notice of dates on many things and particularly on herbs and spices.
I just found mint sauce in my fridge from 2 years ago
04-01-2020, 08:44 PM
I just found mint sauce in my fridge from 2 years ago
Still fine no doubt.
04-01-2020, 08:44 PM
I agree that they're fine for a long time after their date, found a couple of 2017 dates though.
I'm not that brave 😁
04-01-2020, 09:34 PM
Still fine no doubt.
It won’t be long until it lets me know.
Sell by dates are a lot of absolute ****.
09-01-2020, 06:12 PM
It's either the filters or cameras they use and this is hard to describe but every netflix originals film or tv show has the same filming style of a soap opera, it's getting so bad that I'm becoming unable to watch it
09-01-2020, 06:18 PM
It's either the filters or cameras they use and this is hard to describe but every netflix originals film or tv show has the same filming style of a soap opera, it's getting so bad that I'm becoming unable to watch it
Does switching your TV picture to Movie help at all? I've just got a new TV and it's driving us crazy trying to get the picture perfect, it's either too dark, too bright or too blurred.
09-01-2020, 06:24 PM
Does switching your TV picture to Movie help at all? I've just got a new TV and it's driving us crazy trying to get the picture perfect, it's either too dark, too bright or too blurred.
I've tried it all, it's only Netflix own shows that seem to have this certain filming style, if I watch something on Netflix that isn't by them then it's fine, same with Amazon, sky etc
You should try rtings.com they usually have the best settings for any tv and a step by step guide
09-01-2020, 07:14 PM
I've tried it all, it's only Netflix own shows that seem to have this certain filming style, if I watch something on Netflix that isn't by them then it's fine, same with Amazon, sky etc
You should try rtings.com they usually have the best settings for any tv and a step by step guide
Cheers, done that, got a full review and recommended settings but hopeless. Tried everything.....it's an LG so might return it and get a Samsung.
Edit: All sorted now by non-stop tweaking :greengrin
09-01-2020, 10:12 PM
It's either the filters or cameras they use and this is hard to describe but every netflix originals film or tv show has the same filming style of a soap opera, it's getting so bad that I'm becoming unable to watch itAll films are shot in video. The film 'look' is a post production filter. I rhink the tv setting is important. Watched a couple of films in Canada that had the same look you describe. Tested it at home and it looks like a film.
Sent from my SM-T580 using Tapatalk
12-01-2020, 08:05 AM
Planning a wedding.
I got engaged in December and we have set a date for 10th April next year. We are both pretty relaxed about things and are agreed we want something simple, personal and 'classic'. We have a budget and aren't willing to bankrupt ourselves for the sake of one day.
We spoke to our local Priest and have the church booked with minimal fuss, a couple of administrative things to sort but that was easy. From there it's just been a masterclass in bad upselling. I absolutely get that functions managers are there to sell but **** me. I had a guy yesterday tell me a candy ferris wheel was 'pretty much a neccesssity these days'. No it isn't. A marriage license is a neccesssity, A candy ferris wheel is an unnecessary extra and a tacky one at that. We have our own idea for centrepieces so I don't need to pay you £150 for 5 'fishbowls with LED lights'. The biggest thing they all seem to be missing is that we are actually willing to upgrade where we want to. As an example one package we saw included a glass of prosecco on arrival, whilst I was trying to ask how much to upgrade to champagne and have more than one glass plus beer available for those who wanted it the guy was banging on about a wedding car I had no interest in. In trying to sell me something I didn't want for £300 he lost an upgrade that would have been worth double that. A salesman who doesn't listen is a bad salesman.
12-01-2020, 01:48 PM
Planning a wedding.
I got engaged in December and we have set a date for 10th April next year. We are both pretty relaxed about things and are agreed we want something simple, personal and 'classic'. We have a budget and aren't willing to bankrupt ourselves for the sake of one day.
We spoke to our local Priest and have the church booked with minimal fuss, a couple of administrative things to sort but that was easy. From there it's just been a masterclass in bad upselling. I absolutely get that functions managers are there to sell but **** me. I had a guy yesterday tell me a candy ferris wheel was 'pretty much a neccesssity these days'. No it isn't. A marriage license is a neccesssity, A candy ferris wheel is an unnecessary extra and a tacky one at that. We have our own idea for centrepieces so I don't need to pay you £150 for 5 'fishbowls with LED lights'. The biggest thing they all seem to be missing is that we are actually willing to upgrade where we want to. As an example one package we saw included a glass of prosecco on arrival, whilst I was trying to ask how much to upgrade to champagne and have more than one glass plus beer available for those who wanted it the guy was banging on about a wedding car I had no interest in. In trying to sell me something I didn't want for £300 he lost an upgrade that would have been worth double that. A salesman who doesn't listen is a bad salesman.
Yep. When me and my ex were getting married we had some interesting up sell attempts. When we booked our venue it was family run but it then got outsourced between booking and the wedding. We were allowed to choose a caterer from a list provided by the venue. We ruled out one company on the basis the guy who ran the company was a total arse. He insisted that a “groom’s reception” was a necessity and happened at nearly every wedding. He didn’t like our challenge that none of us had ever heard of one. Turns out it is a drinks reception before the ceremony. He really didn’t like it when we pointed out that it sounded like an excuse for them to make more money out of us and that we would rather the guests weren’t pished beforehand.
Unfortunately, this ended up being the company the venue outsourced their operation to so we had deal with this guy from then on in. He really didn’t like us.
12-01-2020, 01:55 PM
Couples that cross the road at very busy crossings whilst holding hands. You then end up heading straight for the middle of them and they never get out the way.
17-01-2020, 12:07 PM
Journalists that know a camera is running and shout out a ridiculous question that said politician, royal or famous person will never stop and answer. Pointless and probably a bit of an ego trip for the journo.
17-01-2020, 12:10 PM
journalists that know a camera is running and shout out a ridiculous question that said politician, royal or famous person will never stop and answer. Pointless and probably a bit of an ego trip for the journo.
Are you going to resign minister?!
17-01-2020, 02:40 PM
It won’t be long until it lets me know.
Sell by dates are a lot of absolute ****.
Found a jar of pesto int he cupboard with a best before June 2018, used it last night and it was fine.
The Pointer
17-01-2020, 04:44 PM
My immediate boss yesterday put in an e-mail "Happy to discuss fishhooks". Eh? Radge.
17-01-2020, 05:52 PM
Are you going to resign minister?!
Exactly.
There was one during the week with Prince Harry.
“How are talks going between you and the Queen, Harry?”
Just as we was walking away. As if he is going to stop...about turn and come over and answer her question.
Does my nut in.
17-01-2020, 11:00 PM
Exactly.
There was one during the week with Prince Harry.
“How are talks going between you and the Queen, Harry?”
Just as we was walking away. As if he is going to stop...about turn and come over and answer her question.
Does my nut in.
But that's what makes the news. It's the press in the UK that designates the agenda and this is exactly how they do it.
17-01-2020, 11:06 PM
Laces made with a silicon finish. Walk about all day in the house and then need to re-tie every other minute when walking outdoors
Sent from my SM-G965F using Tapatalk
20-01-2020, 11:56 AM
The fact that someone, somewhere, has convinced several thousand young females that it is attractive to have your lips injected and blown-up to look like shiny sausages.
These growingly common phrases on social media:
"things you love to see"
"limbs everywhere"
"Which one you taking?"
"Absolute scenes"
"living rent free.." in people's heads.
The woman with the nippy voice at work that never shuts the **** up and never says anything of interest or significance. I can hear her as I type.
The expression "chronic patter".
Mondays in work.
20-01-2020, 12:58 PM
The fact that someone, somewhere, has convinced several thousand young females that it is attractive to have your lips injected and blown-up to look like shiny sausages.
These growingly common phrases on social media:
"things you love to see"
"limbs everywhere"
"Which one you taking?"
"Absolute scenes"
"living rent free.." in people's heads.
The woman with the nippy voice at work that never shuts the **** up and never says anything of interest or significance. I can hear her as I type.
The expression "chronic patter".
Mondays in work.
Having a good day? 😀😂
20-01-2020, 05:10 PM
Having a good day? 😀😂
I did expect this sort of response but didn’t stop me ranting at the time 😂
Less peeved now I’m on the train hame 👍
20-01-2020, 11:22 PM
People who, when asked a question, start off with "So".
It's happening more and more.
It's not clever and it's not funny.
21-01-2020, 11:38 AM
All the "spaces" that luvvy designers want to be creative with....ffs, they are ROOMS!
21-01-2020, 12:01 PM
People who, when asked a question, start off with "So".
It's happening more and more.
It's not clever and it's not funny.
Politicians do it and it makes want to break things.
21-01-2020, 04:24 PM
People who doubt your professional opinion, ask you to confirm it with an additional source and then when you do, they still say “well I don’t think it’s right” WTF!
same with people who ask your advice as you’re an expert (may or may not be professional), you spend time with them giving your advice and explain why, then find out they’ve ignored it and done something else for some frivolous reason
22-01-2020, 08:08 AM
My immediate boss yesterday put in an e-mail "Happy to discuss fishhooks". Eh? Radge.
What does that even mean? :dunno:
22-01-2020, 10:36 AM
Found a jar of pesto int he cupboard with a best before June 2018, used it last night and it was fine.
When do youthink you'll vacate the shunkie? 😄
23-01-2020, 07:53 PM
People who insist on using saunas and steam rooms for conversation. It should be meditative and relaxing, not a place to gossip.
23-01-2020, 08:57 PM
People who insist on using saunas and steam rooms for conversation. It should be meditative and relaxing, not a place to gossip.
At least you will know that it's hot gossip 😉
Peanut Shaz
23-01-2020, 09:35 PM
Witnessed an incident in the Turkish bath at Portobello baths recently. Two guys in the steam room having a real debate about Brexit, independence etc. Guy sitting quietly told them to "shut the f*** up" as"we hear enough on the news. We're here to relax.". Two guys went quiet and left sheepishly.
24-01-2020, 11:21 PM
They lose their sharpness rather don't they. Go a bit stale? I feel that about curry and chili powder anyway.
Certainly not poisonous though.
25-01-2020, 02:41 AM
They lose their sharpness rather don't they. Go a bit stale? I feel that about curry and chili powder anyway.
Years ago I worked in a cash and carry. I’d just left school and the laws about best before dates had just come in. I remember we had pallets of tinned food that didn’t have best before dates. One day they decided to have a sell off and the whole lot went in a day.
25-01-2020, 07:16 AM
It depends on how well they are stored and sealed, I tend to keep everything in glass, and ensure no dampness what so ever from spoons, steam from cooking etc when using. Never really had a problem.
25-01-2020, 07:18 AM
Years ago I worked in a cash and carry. I’d just left school and the laws about best before dates had just come in. I remember we had pallets of tinned food that didn’t have best before dates. One day they decided to have a sell off and the whole lot went in a day.
Tinned/ Canned food is virtually unspoilable due to the canning process as long as no damage to the tin/can.
CloudSquall
26-01-2020, 10:39 AM
When umpteen posters in a row quote an extremely long post on .net just to write "good post".
26-01-2020, 08:37 PM
When umpteen posters in a row quote an extremely long post on .net just to write "good post".
The 'this is how it feels' threads are the worst for this.
26-01-2020, 09:13 PM
Good post mate 😎
27-01-2020, 11:30 AM
“You can’t say that on here mate, that’s far too sensible for hibs.net”
File along side “thanks mate, coffee all over the screen now”
27-01-2020, 02:49 PM
“You can’t say that on here mate, that’s far too sensible for hibs.net”
File along side “thanks mate, coffee all over the screen now”
"the experts on .net" is another one, like they're allowed to express their opinion but everyone else sharing their opinion is professing to be an expert.
Also, the general slagging this site gets from folk (who still visit to read it, obviously) as is the site itself has an opinion. It's like saying "there go the fannies on Twitter again" even there are two tweets that are probably rubbish in amongst loads disagreeing with them.
27-01-2020, 02:57 PM
"the experts on .net" is another one, like they're allowed to express their opinion but everyone else sharing their opinion is professing to be an expert.
Guilty as charged.....I'm sure I made this exact quote when referring to those on here who thought that Loic Damour was a top class midfielder when Hearts signed him.
27-01-2020, 04:11 PM
Guilty as charged.....I'm sure I made this exact quote when referring to those on here who thought that Loic Damour was a top class midfielder when Hearts signed him.
Better off wi chanson....😇😉
27-01-2020, 05:06 PM
I thought he was a Dollar song! 😉
27-01-2020, 08:30 PM
Tax calculations.
pollution
28-01-2020, 11:37 AM
Tax calculations.
Claim for every deduction possible !
I did mine on Xmas day......
28-01-2020, 04:54 PM
Hula Hoops puft beef flavour. I've never been so disappointed with a savoury snack. Thought they'd taste the same as normal beef hula hoops. How I was mistaken.
Fuzzywuzzy
28-01-2020, 05:44 PM
Just watched the four seasons of last man on earth. Literally just finished the last episode of season four to find it's been cancelled!!! Who the **** does that!!!!
28-01-2020, 05:55 PM
Hula Hoops puft beef flavour. I've never been so disappointed with a savoury snack. Thought they'd taste the same as normal beef hula hoops. How I was mistaken.
They’re great I love them.
28-01-2020, 07:12 PM
People on bus with headphones...
NOT the music bleeding out to everyone , it's the Sniff, Sniff, Sniff when they've got a cold :-(
28-01-2020, 09:16 PM
People on bus with headphones...
NOT the music bleeding out to everyone , it's the Sniff, Sniff, Sniff when they've got a cold :-(
I always take my headphones off when I have a cold to avoid that. :agree:
28-01-2020, 09:24 PM
I always take my headphones off when I have a cold to avoid that. :agree:
Eh?? Totally lost on this one!!