View Full Version : Pet Peeves IV
06-04-2024, 11:28 PM
I hate to tell you this HB, but there is already free wifi with some airlines!
I think ones I’ve been on have been something like free for messaging apps only, but it’s coming 😁
Most long haul flights have WiFi.
07-04-2024, 01:21 PM
There’s someone at my local ParkRun who annoys me. She must be in her late fifties but clearly has been running for a bit. The local one is quite hilly and can be quite muddy so is challenging if you’ve got your footwear wrong or if you’re not used to that surface or gradient.
She keeps overtaking people and making comments such as “come on, someone my age shouldn’t be overtaking someone your age”. I finish ahead of her now, and I’ve had a very friendly word before about how offputting it can be to someone who is new to running rather than motivating. Left it in a friendly, polite way, but a friend of mine got the same comments on the way past just this week.
07-04-2024, 02:26 PM
There’s someone at my local ParkRun who annoys me. She must be in her late fifties but clearly has been running for a bit. The local one is quite hilly and can be quite muddy so is challenging if you’ve got your footwear wrong or if you’re not used to that surface or gradient.
She keeps overtaking people and making comments such as “come on, someone my age shouldn’t be overtaking someone your age”. I finish ahead of her now, and I’ve had a very friendly word before about how offputting it can be to someone who is new to running rather than motivating. Left it in a friendly, polite way, but a friend of mine got the same comments on the way past just this week.
That's bad. I'll go slower to help and give encouragement if I can, even finishing together. I don't think I'll be able to get another PB at my local Parkrun, considering it's the 3rd toughest in Scotland.
07-04-2024, 02:56 PM
That's bad. I'll go slower to help and give encouragement if I can, even finishing together. I don't think I'll be able to get another PB at my local Parkrun, considering it's the 3rd toughest in Scotland.
I’ve had a couple of comments in competitive races, but more along the lines of “surely you’re not having to walk with only a kilometre to go” but that’s in OCR races and it’s a different environment. It’s usually delivered with a bit of a nudge and a wink too, I don’t mind it.
I think she sees it as encouragement but when I was starting at ParkRuns way back when and struggling badly and feeling out of place, it was pretty cutting.
07-04-2024, 03:33 PM
I'd have to say something to her and I'm glad you did.
Making comments like that would be bad enough in a competitive race but even more so at an event like ParkRun which is a 'run not a race' and all that. It's just ego boosting herself and nothing to do with encouraging anyone else, no way she believes it is. ParkRun is a pretty gentle way for people to get into running and if people want to jog it, walk it or go all out for a time then they should be able to do that without someone passing comment.
07-04-2024, 05:27 PM
Making comments like that would be bad enough in a competitive race but even more so at an event like ParkRun which is a 'run not a race' and all that. It's just ego boosting herself and nothing to do with encouraging anyone else, no way she believes it is. ParkRun is a pretty gentle way for people to get into running and if people want to jog it, walk it or go all out for a time then they should be able to do that without someone passing comment.
The tone she used made me think that she didn’t mean it in that way - but either she’s slipped into bad habits again or genuinely didn’t care.
I encourage a couple of friends of mine at the start of their fitness journey - inviting them to ParkRuns if I’m there or checking in on them if they’ve gone and I’ve not, and offering advice if they ask for it. I remember how self conscious I was when I first started going and was struggling to break 40 minutes as I couldn’t run the length of myself, and that didn’t ever help.
At the Perth park run, there was a much older guy when I used to go. He must have been in his seventies. Occasionally chatted to him afterwards as when I was at my heaviest my inability to run for long meant he would beat me with his impressively consistent pace. Let it slip that he was my target to beat as I got fitter - as we were on speaking terms I think he enjoyed that, but if I’d come out with that to a stranger that would be a very ****ty thing to do.
Not been to Perth in a while as it’s a journey, and not seen him there when I have. Hope he’s doing well. It’s a very flat parkrun so great for chasing a PB.
07-04-2024, 08:45 PM
It's demoralising enough when you get lapped by a guy pushing a toddler in a buggy or, as happened last week a guy carrying a toddler in a thing on his back!! 🤣
07-04-2024, 08:47 PM
The tone she used made me think that she didn’t mean it in that way - but either she’s slipped into bad habits again or genuinely didn’t care.
I encourage a couple of friends of mine at the start of their fitness journey - inviting them to ParkRuns if I’m there or checking in on them if they’ve gone and I’ve not, and offering advice if they ask for it. I remember how self conscious I was when I first started going and was struggling to break 40 minutes as I couldn’t run the length of myself, and that didn’t ever help.
At the Perth park run, there was a much older guy when I used to go. He must have been in his seventies. Occasionally chatted to him afterwards as when I was at my heaviest my inability to run for long meant he would beat me with his impressively consistent pace. Let it slip that he was my target to beat as I got fitter - as we were on speaking terms I think he enjoyed that, but if I’d come out with that to a stranger that would be a very ****ty thing to do.
Not been to Perth in a while as it’s a journey, and not seen him there when I have. Hope he’s doing well. It’s a very flat parkrun so great for chasing a PB.
Aye perth was my 3rd fastest I think, but I found it boring compared to faskallyforest.
08-04-2024, 12:23 PM
It's demoralising enough when you get lapped by a guy pushing a toddler in a buggy or, as happened last week a guy carrying a toddler in a thing on his back!! 🤣
A low point in my running career was definitely when a guy dressed as a postbox breezed past me at the 21 mile marker in the London marathon😂
08-04-2024, 01:09 PM
A low point in my running career was definitely when a guy dressed as a postbox breezed past me at the 21 mile marker in the London marathon😂
Context is everything! I'm twice their age 😉 Maybe the postbox had a delivery time 🤣
08-04-2024, 03:13 PM
My most demoralising encounter in a run was during a half marathon in Glasgow. A guy dressed as Borat kept overtaking - but it wasn't the grey suit costume - it was the wig, moustache and mankini and nothing else. You would then go past him to get him out of your sight and then 5 minutes later he would speed up an overtake again. Repeat the entire race. :jamboak:
11-04-2024, 01:38 PM
Running hill races in Switzerland can be highly demoralising as I'm pretty decent, firmly mid table for my age and gender etc, but this still means at least 3 wiry Swiss grannies nipping past me on the climbs 😂
11-04-2024, 02:29 PM
Senior management: it is important to take a break from your desk, get out and get some exercise and fresh air at lunchtime
Also senior management: here, please accept these invites to back to back meetings between 11 and 4.
11-04-2024, 04:51 PM
Senior management: it is important to take a break from your desk, get out and get some exercise and fresh air at lunchtime
Also senior management: here, please accept these invites to back to back meetings between 11 and 4.
In a similar vein all senior managers seem to be able to ‘recharge their batteries’ with a week off.
Personally after a week off the last thing I feel like is ‘re-charged’…I’m just seek that it’s gone already and I’m back at the desk [emoji1787]
Men’s public toilets (shopping centres, etc). On the majority of occasions needing to use the facilities, they are disgusting.
And I’m not blaming cleaners here for the most part, it’s the minging pricks who piss all over the toilet seats, locks broken off doors, puddles of urine on the floor. I went into one this evening that not only had urine over the seat, but also had a footprint on it? Wtf?
Who actually does this kind of thing? Utter ****bags
In a similar vein all senior managers seem to be able to ‘recharge their batteries’ with a week off.
Personally after a week off the last thing I feel like is ‘re-charged’…I’m just seek that it’s gone already and I’m back at the desk [emoji1787]
Or the managers who quote the rules at you, but happy to bend them for themselves: ‘Oh you want 2 weeks and 2 days off because of when your flights are? Ooooh, well, you know the rules are anything over 2 weeks need additional aproval’.
2 months later: ‘right guys, off on holiday, see you in 3 weeks’.
Or the ones who play the martyr act, when the reality is they’ve used up their holidays at other times of the year. Once had a manager whine for the full December about how we were all lucky (all 2 of us!) that she’d ‘agreed’ to cover the Christmas break so that we could have time off with family - Eh naw, it’s because you went to turkey in august, a cruise in October then booked 3 and a half weeks in South Africa in January and a girly week to Morocco in April, so you had no leave left
Fuzzywuzzy
11-04-2024, 08:36 PM
Good few years ago now, one of the heavy snow winters maybe 2012, my senior manager had received an email saying staff were to make their way home because of the snow. He ****ed off without saying a word to anyone and it was two hours before we were told to go home from another manager. This was at RBS!
11-04-2024, 08:46 PM
Good few years ago now, one of the heavy snow winters maybe 2012, my senior manager had received an email saying staff were to make their way home because of the snow. He ****ed off without saying a word to anyone and it was two hours before we were told to go home from another manager. This was at RBS!
Can't remember if it was 2017/18 but we had mental snow for a few days and Edinburgh ground to a halt, out of my team of 20 only two people in my department made it into the office, me and senior manager, I had walked into work and it took me over an hour, it was before you could work from home so I was left trying to replace 20 people as best I could
About 3pm I noticed all the other folk that had made it in leaving, thought the manager would notice and say to me you can just go as well and thanks for your efforts in getting in
At 4pm I bit the bullet and went up to them and said do you mind if I leave early as it's going to take me over an hour to walk home again in all this snow, had expected them to say oh sorry I didn't notice you can go now, they turned round and after acting like id asked for 6 months paid leave they said aye you can leave at 4.30
I was due to finish at 5
11-04-2024, 09:00 PM
I remember a day when the boss couldn't make it in, I'm about 5x further away and made it in, but the funny thing was a colleague had driven from Kirkcaldy to Perth and actually passed the bosses house.
12-04-2024, 08:35 AM
When I was younger I had a real distaste for middle management. I often found them to be officious, jobsworths and sticklers for daft rules.
As I've gone through working life I now find myself feeling heart sorry for them. They are basically the workhorses charged with implementing the hare brained schemes of senior managers who really have minimal idea of what is going on at the coal face. They are sponges who soak up a lot of bad feeling that should really be aimed higher up the chain. Don't get me wrong there are still a lot of people in such positions who are 'yes men/women' and blindly loyal to company policy but for the most part they are underpaid and underappreciated for the dirty work they have to do.
I often wonder what some of the senior management in my work do. I work fairly closely with our MD. I was off last week and my direct line manager was delighted to see me back as she had to pick up a lot of the slack with work I usually do (and tbh I'm never really fully on holiday, in my industry and line of work if my phone rings and it's a customer then you answer almost regardless). She is off next week and I'm dreading it because I act up during her holidays and it's a big additional workload for me. She is one of those people who is really nice but unpopular with many because she has to enforce the daft policies. The MD is on holiday this week and no one seems to really have to do anything additional to cover his absence. We are in a big open plan office and he seems to spend 90% of his time getting up to look out the window, staring at the CCTV screen that covers the back of the building or phoning people to arrange his golf for the weekend. When he actually has to do any work everyone knows about it because the sighing and head in his hands nonsense starts.
12-04-2024, 08:48 AM
Or the managers who quote the rules at you, but happy to bend them for themselves: ‘Oh you want 2 weeks and 2 days off because if when your flights are? Ooooh, well, you know the rules are anything over 2 weeks need additional aproval’.
2 months later: ‘right guys, off on holiday, see you in 3 weeks’.
Or the ones who play the martyr act, when the reality is they’ve used up their holidays at other times do the year. Once had a manager whine for the full December about how we were all lucky (all 2 of us!) that she’d ‘agreed’ to cover the Christmas break so that we could have time off with family - Eh naw, it’s because you went to turkey in august, a cruise in October then booked 3 and a half weeks in South Africa in January and a girly week to Morocco in April, so you had no leave left
Sounds like a former boss of mine.
She initially knocked back a colleague's request for 2 and a half weeks off for his wedding and honeymoon because it was over 2 weeks - despite there being no policy saying that you couldn't take longer than 2 weeks off. In fact, in my previous team in the same organisation, it was the done thing to take more than 2 weeks off in the summer. Nevertheless, it was his wedding and honeymoon!!! He eventually got it but there were lots of pointed comments towards him. Roll forward 9 months, and the same manager that kicked up a fuss saying 2.5 weeks was way too much to take in one go, goes off on holiday for 4 weeks to visit her husband's family in Australia.
Then at Christmas, my work shuts down over the Christmas period. Another colleague asked for 2 weeks off directly prior to Christmas. "But that's almost 4 weeks you will be off, you can't do that" (again nothing saying you can't). She eventually approved it but rather aggressively told my colleague, in front of us all, if she "tried to pull that one next year, it won't be approved". This after her taking 4 weeks off herself earlier in the year. We were all off for two of those four weeks. All her contacts are internal so would also be off, so what's the issue. Plus, the colleague had been off long-term sick so hadn't been able to take her leave, which you are meant to make allowances for.
My ex-wife's sister was getting married and they chose to get married abroad at my busiest time of year. Foreseeing this would be an issue, I went to my boss to explain the situation and this happened to be 13 months before the wedding. She was actually quite sound about it. "These things happen, we'll plan around it, it is a one-off family occasion", etc. Gets to 4 months out from the wedding and we are doing planning and I remind her about the time I'm off for the wedding. It becomes a massive issue. Lots of snarky comments in my direction.
I had a different boss in a different organisation who kept knocking back requests from people to work condensed working weeks/fortnights for childcare reasons saying "it is too disruptive". This despite the fact, she herself worked a condensed week. Someone went above her head and I think she was spoken to and all of a sudden the previously rejected requests were approved.
Sounds like a former boss of mine.
She initially knocked back a colleague's request for 2 and a half weeks off for his wedding and honeymoon because it was over 2 weeks - despite there being no policy saying that you couldn't take longer than 2 weeks off. In fact, in my previous team in the same organisation, it was the done thing to take more than 2 weeks off in the summer. Nevertheless, it was his wedding and honeymoon!!! He eventually got it but there were lots of pointed comments towards him. Roll forward 9 months, and the same manager that kicked up a fuss saying 2.5 weeks was way too much to take in one go, goes off on holiday for 4 weeks to visit her husband's family in Australia.
Then at Christmas, my work shuts down over the Christmas period. Another colleague asked for 2 weeks off directly prior to Christmas. "But that's almost 4 weeks you will be off, you can't do that" (again nothing saying you can't). She eventually approved it but rather aggressively told my colleague, in front of us all, if she "tried to pull that one next year, it won't be approved". This after her taking 4 weeks off herself earlier in the year. We were all off for two of those four weeks. All her contacts are internal so would also be off, so what's the issue. Plus, the colleague had been off long-term sick so hadn't been able to take her leave, which you are meant to make allowances for.
My ex-wife's sister was getting married and they chose to get married abroad at my busiest time of year. Foreseeing this would be an issue, I went to my boss to explain the situation and this happened to be 13 months before the wedding. She was actually quite sound about it. "These things happen, we'll plan around it, it is a one-off family occasion", etc. Gets to 4 months out from the wedding and we are doing planning and I remind her about the time I'm off for the wedding. It becomes a massive issue. Lots of snarky comments in my direction.
I had a different boss in a different organisation who kept knocking back requests from people to work condensed working weeks/fortnights for childcare reasons saying "it is too disruptive". This despite the fact, she herself worked a condensed week. Someone went above her head and I think she was spoken to and all of a sudden the previously rejected requests were approved.
These folk are almost comical, if it didn’t cause friction and hassle for others.
I had another manager who would only approve/deny holiday requests 2 weeks ahead of the requested dates. It took numerous people over months pointing out to her that when things like flights, hotels, etc need to be booked and paid for, it’s not really sensible to wait until a fortnight before to say yay or nay.
12-04-2024, 09:38 AM
These folk are almost comical, if it didn’t cause friction and hassle for others.
I had another manager who would only approve/deny holiday requests 2 weeks ahead of the requested dates. It took numerous people over months pointing out to her that when things like flights, hotels, etc need to be booked and paid for, it’s not really sensible to wait until a fortnight before to say yay or nay.
I often wonder how these folk actually live life. Do they just book things last minute?
That's actually reminded me about another thing that second boss used to do (condensed working week denier). It was before I was in her team but according to others her default was to deny all holiday requests and you pretty much had to plead your case to get it approved. Again, she was spoken to.
12-04-2024, 10:50 AM
I hate open plan offices, had a job that when we moved from our own individual office spaces the whole office became toxic with people trying to point score with management by backstabbing and stealing ideas. They would listen to conversations between relevant colleagues and then lo and behold when you had your meeting with the boss with a new idea for an ongoing project, the idea had already been floated by the office rat and passed as their own. It was comical watching certain individuals like a sprinter out of the starting blocks to get to the boss’s office when he returned so they could pass on what they had heard. A couple of us created a couple of complete nonsense conversations and ideas to see if they got to the boss and they always did! Pathetic how some folk
behave when they think they can score one over on you.
12-04-2024, 11:15 AM
There's a new boss at my work who had told everyone that nobody could take a holiday in July 😄 Said it was because we might be getting an audit in July.
He was swiftly laughed out the meeting.
12-04-2024, 01:14 PM
As someone who's had experience of both sides of this, I'd say a large majority of people don't understand how difficult managing people actually is. Unless you've been in a position to try and manage large teams, with all the individual issues and preferences on how to work each team member might have, it's hard to quantity the challenge at times.
I've had some good bosses in the past and some bad ones, I'm sure if you asked the people I've managed you'd get a similar response to my management skills.
Some employees are just a nightmare to try and work with, let alone manage, and will try every trick in the book to play the game.
12-04-2024, 01:31 PM
As someone who's had experience of both sides of this, I'd say a large majority of people don't understand how difficult managing people actually is. Unless you've been in a position to try and manage large teams, with all the individual issues and preferences on how to work each team member might have, it's hard to quantity the challenge at times.
I've had some good bosses in the past and some bad ones, I'm sure if you asked the people I've managed you'd get a similar response to my management skills.
Some employees are just a nightmare to try and work with, let alone manage, and will try every trick in the book to play the game.
Very very true.
I’ve managed big teams, small teams, in office teams, remote teams, 3rd party teams, contractors the lot…over the piece hundreds of different individuals.
It can be an absolute nightmare but also highly rewarding.
Ive also had great bosses, terrible ones and everything in-between.
Like all things though the 80/20 rule applies quite well here. Most people be they peers, directs or bosses are pretty reasonable and at least largely try to do their best…it’s the 20% that make it onto this thread tho!
Yeah you’re absolutely right, it’s not an easy gig managing people, and some colleagues are nightmares to work with.
I’ve known whole teams who would work out their annual leave together for the whole year, so that there wasn’t any overlap or hassles, and the manager was only presented with requests for time off that the whole team had already agreed to and arranged (so really easy for the manager as very few hard conversations saying no).
I’ve also had colleagues who were total pains in the arse. One who openly told everyone that she was entitled to every Christmas off because ‘I’ve got kids’, even though others in the team did as well. Or the one who would tell you to your face they’d never been shown how to do a certain aspect of the job, even when you remind them that you personally have trained them 3 times, and others have also done so on numerous occasions. And so on.
Think the moral of these stories is that regardless if they're managers, colleagues, direct reports, ********s will be ********s :greengrin
12-04-2024, 09:02 PM
Stop reminding me of this!! Been retired for a few years now now but had every issue mentioned above in my career, I thought I just kept getting a bad deal with staff, maybe not!!
He's here!
13-04-2024, 09:49 PM
The phrase 'formerly known as Twitter'.
14-04-2024, 01:19 AM
Admittedly irrational and potentially a sign of me getting old (pet peeves often apply to both of these).
But whenever I hear Chris Cadden referred to as ‘Chrissy Cadden’ or ‘Cads’. But most strongly the former.
And I almost want to add ‘particularly when it’s Kevin Harper’
Sorry.
14-04-2024, 06:17 AM
Admittedly irrational and potentially a sign of me getting old (pet peeves often apply to both of these).
But whenever I hear Chris Cadden referred to as ‘Chrissy Cadden’ or ‘Cads’. But most strongly the former.
And I almost want to add ‘particularly when it’s Kevin Harper’
Sorry.
The use of nicknames on Hibs social media has always irrationally irked me.
It's not quite as bad this season but last season we had 'Ginto', 'Geeds', 'Cadds', 'Nizzy', 'Millsy' etc etc all the time. I couldn't/can't stand it.
It's the same with fans who talk about players as if they are their mates.
14-04-2024, 07:48 AM
It's not quite as bad this season but last season we had 'Ginto', 'Geeds', 'Cadds', 'Nizzy', 'Millsy' etc etc all the time. I couldn't/can't stand it.
That's what does my head in.
People have nicknames. I really haven't a scooby how anyone could get annoyed at someone calling Chris Cadden "Chrissy".
14-04-2024, 09:51 AM
Another one that gets me is folk that won't leave players alone at events like the POTY night.
It's like some people forget it's a night out for the player as well. Grown men pawing at them asking for photos, wanting videos for their mates sisters nephew, begging for them sign a napkin and whatever.
I've been lucky enough to attend a few such nights and the players are generally pretty affable and approachable. A wee snippet or conversation and you move on though, some folk just harass them all night.
14-04-2024, 10:06 AM
Another one that gets me is folk that won't leave players alone at events like the POTY night.
It's like some people forget it's a night out for the player as well. Grown men pawing at them asking for photos, wanting videos for their mates sisters nephew, begging for them sign a napkin and whatever.
I've been lucky enough to attend a few such nights and the players are generally pretty affable and approachable. A wee snippet or conversation and you move on though, some folk just harass them all night.
Disagree. Its a club event and I see nights like this as part of their job. If someone asks for a photo then no problem. Different if their on a night out in town with their mates or their Mrs, then yeah I would agree they should be left to get on with it.
14-04-2024, 10:18 AM
Disagree. Its a club event and I see nights like this as part of their job. If someone asks for a photo then no problem. Different if their on a night out in town with their mates or their Mrs, then yeah I would agree they should be left to get on with it.
A photo or whatever is fine and they should be expected to meet their obligations to sponsors and attendees.
Plenty people go far too far though. I remember a few years back a story grew arms and legs about Lennon telling a fan to **** off unprovoked. I witnessed the events and the story that was told was nonsense. A guy was at NL for about 5 minutes 'Neil, Neil, Neil'. Lennon politely asked if he could finish his conversation then he would have a photo, guy kept pawing at him 'come on Neil, just a photo mate'. Lennon again asked a bit more firmly to be allowed to finish his conversation. The guy kept at him grabbing his arm, trying to pull him away from his group and going on and on and Lennon did then tell him to '**** off'. Justifiably so. That's just rude. Same night a guy went into the toilet and tried to kiss David Gray when he was standing having a pee. Last year I was speaking to Joe Newell, I see him most days walking his dog and we always say hello and he recognised me. We could barely get two words out without the same 2 or 3 guys trying to drag him away for a photo. Again that is just rude, he's entitled to a private conversation for a couple of minutes.
A huge difference between a photo or a wee chat and that kind of oddball behaviour or the guys going back again and again for 'just another photo' or 'just a wee video'.
14-04-2024, 11:24 AM
"Love that"
14-04-2024, 11:52 AM
Absolutely agree.
Millsy is the most baw-itching one.
14-04-2024, 11:54 AM
That's what does my head in.
People have nicknames. I really haven't a scooby how anyone could get annoyed at someone calling Chris Cadden "Chrissy".
Me neither. That’s why I said it was irrational.
Most of my pet peeves are.
And it’s not just “Chrissy”… it’s hearing “Chrissy Cadden” over and over on hibs tv.
16-04-2024, 04:45 PM
People who just tell ridiculous lies.
Joey Barton was doing his usual on X today. Guy made a point about how we don't slag female sprinters for running 10.8 seconds rather than 9.9 because biology. This guy's pipes up that he does indeed slag them because 3 boys in his school class (that's class, not entire school or year group) regularly ran sub 10 second 100m when at school.
11 British sprinters have a run a sub 10 100m in the history of athletics. This guy is doubling down and still insistent that the real number is in fact 14 and 3 of them were doing it at a comprehensive school in northern England at 15 year old.
It's such a fundamentally stupid lie on every level.
16-04-2024, 05:18 PM
Joey Barton was doing his usual on X today. Guy made a point about how we don't slag female sprinters for running 10.8 seconds rather than 9.9 because biology. This guy's pipes up that he does indeed slag them because 3 boys in his school class (that's class, not entire school or year group) regularly ran sub 10 second 100m when at school.
11 British sprinters have a run a sub 10 100m in the history of athletics. This guy is doubling down and still insistent that the real number is in fact 14 and 3 of them were doing it at a comprehensive school in northern England at 15 year old.
“Tells it like it is”.
16-04-2024, 05:57 PM
Cheesy Moments... None to be found anywhere! :-(
Green Man
16-04-2024, 08:53 PM
The new Walkers crisps advert with Henry and Beckham. WTF is it even about?
And of course these 3 lads didn’t bother to continue to compete when they left school, and he’ll not want to mention their names because, you know, privacy and all that :rolleyes:
Barton has become a complete parody, a troll desperately trying to stay relevant by being (what he thinks is) edgy, when in reality he’s a welt
17-04-2024, 03:26 PM
Anyone that addresses a player whilst watching a game, either live or in the pub, using their first name, or worse some cutesy nickname, needs launched into the nearest body of water IMO.
Bridge hibs
17-04-2024, 03:56 PM
Drunk Adults who swoon around football players, slobbering all over them and trying to get selfies, let them enjoy their night ffs
I was out for a meal and saw Caddsy, Millsy, Boyler, Marsh and Monty who were having a bite to eat and within minutes they were surrounded by fan boys
I couldnt get ****ing near them for my selfie 😡
17-04-2024, 08:16 PM
Anyone that addresses a player whilst watching a game, either live or in the pub, using their first name, or worse some cutesy nickname, needs launched into the nearest body of water IMO.
Not sure I get the anger over nicknames being used. Stokesy’s on fire, Sir David, Deeks, and many others used in affection and fully accepted in songs etc. What’s the problem?
17-04-2024, 10:07 PM
Not sure I get the anger over nicknames being used. Stokesy’s on fire, Sir David, Deeks, and many others used in affection and fully accepted in songs etc. What’s the problem?
Nae idea. Bizarre to say the least. Saying that anyone who calls players by their first name at the games needs launching into a body of water is possibly the strangest thing I've ever read on here. What are folk meant to say? "Come on Moriah-Welsh" instead of "Come on Nathan"? It's fine to say either obviously but I doubt many would choose the former!
18-04-2024, 07:45 AM
Nae idea. Bizarre to say the least. Saying that anyone who calls players by their first name at the games needs launching into a body of water is possibly the strangest thing I've ever read on here. What are folk meant to say? "Come on Moriah-Welsh" instead of "Come on Nathan"? It's fine to say either obviously but I doubt many would choose the former!
The topic of the thread is 'pet peeves', not 'entirely rational complaints'.
18-04-2024, 10:19 AM
The new Walkers crisps advert with Henry and Beckham. WTF is it even about?
It’s bizarre isn’t it. Like a concept for an advert they ran out of time to fully flesh out and just filmed it anyway.
18-04-2024, 12:53 PM
The topic of the thread is 'pet peeves', not 'entirely rational complaints'.
Thanks for your help :aok:
babahibs
18-04-2024, 05:56 PM
People who pretty much cough in your face as you're going round Tesco, I was close to punching the manky prick.
You'd think we'd have learnt something from the past 3-4 years eh?
babahibs
18-04-2024, 07:01 PM
You'd think we'd have learnt something from the past 3-4 years eh?
Yeah, you'd think.
I cover my mouth when I cough even when I'm on my own, this guy's walking through a crowded place, coughing, with his hands in his pockets!
19-04-2024, 07:45 PM
Yeah, you'd think.
I cover my mouth when I cough even when I'm on my own, this guy's walking through a crowded place, coughing, with his hands in his pockets!
Sorry about that,. My belt had burst and I was trying to keep my trousers up.
:embarrass
19-04-2024, 09:41 PM
Other supermarkets are available. :greengrin
Just_Jimmy
21-04-2024, 03:19 PM
It's such a fundamentally stupid lie on every level.Joey Barton extinguished a cigarette in the eye of a youth player.
Sounds like a ridiculous lie, but as I'm sure you know, it isn't
Never forget the kind of person he is. ****.
Sent from my SM-G991B using Tapatalk
Folk who are just totally oblivious to others around them. In a single shop today, I experienced:
- standing looking at stock on shelves, guy walks right in front of me, stops, and the stands for a significant period of time completely blocking what I was already looking at, then strolls away
- a woman who stood leaning on the end of the till next to the conveyor belt, watching the queue in front of her consistently move forward, as well as the items on the belt, but didn’t move until her stuff started to be scanned, leaving everyone behind rushing to get their shopping on the belt so they could then start bagging their shopping
- a different woman stops her trolley right in the middle of the sliding doors to exit the store, so she could talk to her kids about why they shouldn’t climb on the displays. Yes it’s important to teach them how to behave, but could have stopped literally anywhere else and it wouldn’t have blocked everyone from leaving
Joey Barton extinguished a cigarette in the eye of a youth player.
Sounds like a ridiculous lie, but as I'm sure you know, it isn't
Never forget the kind of person he is. ****.
Sent from my SM-G991B using Tapatalk
Not the only thing he’s done either
21-04-2024, 09:26 PM
I prefer Derek. :thumbsup:
21-04-2024, 09:32 PM
Folk who are just totally oblivious to others around them. In a single shop today, I experienced:
- standing looking at stock on shelves, guy walks right in front of me, stops, and the stands for a significant period of time completely blocking what I was already looking at, then strolls away
- a woman who stood leaning on the end of the till next to the conveyor belt, watching the queue in front of her consistently move forward, as well as the items on the belt, but didn’t move until her stuff started to be scanned, leaving everyone behind rushing to get their shopping on the belt so they could then start bagging their shopping
- a different woman stops her trolley right in the middle of the sliding doors to exit the store, so she could talk to her kids about why they shouldn’t climb on the displays. Yes it’s important to teach them how to behave, but could have stopped literally anywhere else and it wouldn’t have blocked everyone from leavingA few years ago now. The old ASDA in Livingston had a narrow doorway. Two woman walking out stopped in the doorway to stop and chat, not side to side but facing each other standing behind their trolleys blocking folk from getting in or out. As I was right behind them the 'invective' I shouted at them on the need to block the whole doorway felt great. They could not quite work out why some radge was shouting at them until they saw the queue trying to get in.....
Sent from my SM-G990B using Tapatalk
24-04-2024, 05:42 AM
Fitbit chargers. My wife has one of the wee Fitbits and trying to charge it is like the Krypton Factor. They've made a bespoke clip-like charger that, even when seemingly perfectly aligned to the contact points on the bloody watch will only charge if it feels like it.
24-04-2024, 07:26 AM
Fitbit chargers. My wife has one of the wee Fitbits and trying to charge it is like the Krypton Factor. They've made a bespoke clip-like charger that, even when seemingly perfectly aligned to the contact points on the bloody watch will only charge if it feels like it.
Most smartwatches/trackers have some kind of bespoke 'flat' charging connection – the port for a normal phone charger would take up too much space in such a small device.
Have you tried cleaning it? The connection on my (Garmin) watch is occasionally a bit unreliable and cleaning both sides of the connection helps. I clean it gently with water and an electric toothbrush. I dry it afterwards to avoid rust – not sure if this is necessary (obviously it has to deal with sweat).
24-04-2024, 09:37 AM
'Look between H and L on your keyboard'.
About as funny as a fire in an orphanage. A trend that can **** right off.
24-04-2024, 10:03 AM
Most smartwatches/trackers have some kind of bespoke 'flat' charging connection – the port for a normal phone charger would take up too much space in such a small device.
Have you tried cleaning it? The connection on my (Garmin) watch is occasionally a bit unreliable and cleaning both sides of the connection helps. I clean it gently with water and an electric toothbrush. I dry it afterwards to avoid rust – not sure if this is necessary (obviously it has to deal with sweat).
Yeah it's clean and it should just clip in but it's been like that since she got it, to be honest.
24-04-2024, 10:33 AM
Double standards regarding lateness with medical appointments. If you are late, you are quite rightly, not seen or threatened to be removed from a practice’s register.
Other way about, not even an apology. Whilst I have sympathy that small delays throughout the day can snowball later on, there’s not excuse when it is the start of the day. My dad is in for an operation today. Said to turn up at 7am for the operations admissions.
Got there early, so sat in the hospital cafe for a bit. Decided to head for the admissions bit at 6.50 to find the door locked. Fair enough it was early. A queue started to form. Door wasn’t unlocked until nearly 7.30. No seats nearby to sit in.
24-04-2024, 10:39 AM
Yeah it's clean and it should just clip in but it's been like that since she got it, to be honest.
Fair enough – one of the problems with bespoke connectors is that inevitably some of them are just a bit crap.
24-04-2024, 12:27 PM
Very annoying, Elon should just ban the idiots.
24-04-2024, 12:28 PM
Double standards regarding lateness with medical appointments. If you are late, you are quite rightly, not seen or threatened to be removed from a practice’s register.
Other way about, not even an apology. Whilst I have sympathy that small delays throughout the day can snowball later on, there’s not excuse when it is the start of the day. My dad is in for an operation today. Said to turn up at 7am for the operations admissions.
Got there early, so sat in the hospital cafe for a bit. Decided to head for the admissions bit at 6.50 to find the door locked. Fair enough it was early. A queue started to form. Door wasn’t unlocked until nearly 7.30. No seats nearby to sit in.
Was that Livingston.
The doctors surgery that my folks are registered with used to have a scrolling LED information sign in the waiting room, used for a few purposes including making patients aware of doctors running late, would regularly have notifications saying multiple doctors were running late before the first appointments had even happened. Wasn’t unusual to be running an hour late by 9am
24-04-2024, 04:30 PM
I don’t get it. “JK”, as in joke? Am I missing something or is it as simple as the digital version of the playground “made you look”?
Bridge hibs
24-04-2024, 04:42 PM
The “actors” in the Scotto advert, make me ****ing cringe 🫨
24-04-2024, 05:06 PM
I don’t get it. “JK”, as in joke? Am I missing something or is it as simple as the digital version of the playground “made you look”?
You are missing nothing, that is the jk.
How many world cups has Ronaldo won? Look between I and P on your keyboard is another classic of the genre.
Rapier wit.
24-04-2024, 05:38 PM
That is brutal! And the People's Postcode Lottery ad as well. Cringe.
Bridge hibs
24-04-2024, 06:30 PM
That is brutal! And the People's Postcode Lottery ad as well. Cringe.
Or that one with the guy and lassie where you could win a car etc, “you've got to be in it to win it, yeah” **** off 😡
24-04-2024, 08:47 PM
Was that Livingston.
The Western
24-04-2024, 09:05 PM
I'm related to one of them 🙈.
Bridge hibs
24-04-2024, 09:09 PM
I'm related to one of them 🙈.
Oops 🫣
24-04-2024, 09:58 PM
Edinburgh bus station is to close. That's a bummer.
26-04-2024, 08:39 PM
Edinburgh bus station is to close. That's a bummer.
Eh? And be replaced by what?
26-04-2024, 08:56 PM
Luxury flats I gather.
26-04-2024, 09:56 PM
Student flats. 👀
27-04-2024, 10:05 PM
Something will come along shortly
28-04-2024, 07:57 AM
Something will come along shortly
3 different projects at the same time. 😉
28-04-2024, 08:44 AM
3 different projects at the same time. 😉
Honestly - where do you get off?!
28-04-2024, 10:12 AM
This could be terminal.
28-04-2024, 10:55 AM
This could be terminal.
That’s my stance as well.
28-04-2024, 11:03 AM
It seems the pension fund that owns it has maybe had a change of heart and said it will consider extending the lease or selling the site to the Council.
28-04-2024, 11:06 AM
Stop it!
28-04-2024, 11:10 AM
Stop it!
Fare enough.
28-04-2024, 11:19 AM
Fare enough.
That's the ticket.
28-04-2024, 12:49 PM
I think that the owners are starting to get ideas above their station.
28-04-2024, 09:05 PM
I think that the owners are starting to get ideas above their station.
Pass..
28-04-2024, 09:33 PM
It seems the pension fund that owns it has maybe had a change of heart and said it will consider extending the lease or selling the site to the Council.
Any idea what made them change their stance?
28-04-2024, 11:35 PM
Why or how they conduct their business is up to them.
29-04-2024, 12:40 PM
My work recently implemented a new grade scale review/pay deal. It'd been in the pipeline for a while. The outcome was that it removed the bottom 2 points from each grade. Which sounds great, especially if you've just joined.
Feels like a complete kick in the balls to me though. I found out a couple of years back that my role was actually a higher grade in most parts of the organisation. Due to a re-organisation I was bumped up to the correct grade, but only at the entry point.
Fast forward to now, I've been doing the job 5 years, and I'm on step 3 of my grade (or step 1 after the grade scale review), and you've got other members of staff who are no more qualified, but vastly less experienced, who've been doing the job weeks/months being paid the same as I am :grr:
29-04-2024, 03:23 PM
Think a new window opened.
29-04-2024, 03:23 PM
Why or how they conduct their business is up to them.
Quit stalling.
He's here!
30-04-2024, 09:40 AM
Without wishing to diminish in any way the often extraordinary bravery of emergency service workers, it's time politicians stopped using the phrase 'running towards danger' when praising them for their actions. I'm unclear what else we would expect them to do.
*Also, it seems obligatory in the wake of any alarming incident for the media to find a local resident to say 'You don't expect kind of thing to happen around here'.
30-04-2024, 10:43 AM
People online or in particular FB in this case who resort to name calling if you disagree with their opinion. Had an absolute roaster yesterday who having seen my profile retaliated to my different opinion by calling me a crowd crushing murdererer and asking if I had caused any more fans to die recently. I didn’t rise to it but WTF
30-04-2024, 11:06 AM
People online or in particular FB in this case who resort to name calling if you disagree with their opinion. Had an absolute roaster yesterday who having seen my profile retaliated to my different opinion by calling me a crowd crushing murdererer and asking if I had caused any more fans to die recently. I didn’t rise to it but WTF
Social media has a number of positives, but this facility for complete strangers to insult and abuse people is a huge downside. I wonder to what extent the introduction of social media has led to the deterioration of people's mental health. Not to mention its effect on Brexit and other political issues.
30-04-2024, 11:43 AM
People online or in particular FB in this case who resort to name calling if you disagree with their opinion. Had an absolute roaster yesterday who having seen my profile retaliated to my different opinion by calling me a crowd crushing murdererer and asking if I had caused any more fans to die recently. I didn’t rise to it but WTFThat's appalling. I'm not in the flog em/them thrash em brigade but there would be some exemptions for people who use language like that...
30-04-2024, 11:52 AM
What an absolute helmet! 🤬
30-04-2024, 01:53 PM
What an absolute helmet! 🤬
Absolutely, there are plenty of them out there.
30-04-2024, 07:32 PM
I’ve said it before but since binning Facebook and Twitter a few years ago I’ve never looked back. It’s just not worth having for me with the amount of utter wallopers that swarm everything on it. Does nobody any good me arguing with someone that I would just completely ignore and whose ridiculous statements I would never have to suffer in real life.
The ones that really get me are those that seem to think they’re quite clever, jumping on other people for being stupid etc when they come across as absolute morons in everything they post. It’s little wonder we end up in some of the politics states we do when you see the volumes of quite astounding people that are allowed to vote. It’s like a worse, non-stop version of some of the poorer threads on the main board or HG dominated by ‘notorious’ posters.
Unfortunately I’m finding Instagram heading that way too. It’s the one surviving ‘real’ social media platform I was still enjoying. Liked that it was pretty much just photos and captions from people I know… more and more I seem to be stumbling on random conversations infested by above type people.
30-04-2024, 07:42 PM
I’ve said it before but since binning Facebook and Twitter a few years ago I’ve never looked back. It’s just not worth having for me with the amount of utter wallopers that swarm everything on it. Does nobody any good me arguing with someone that I would just completely ignore and whose ridiculous statements I would never have to suffer in real life.
The ones that really get me are those that seem to think they’re quite clever, jumping on other people for being stupid etc when they come across as absolute morons in everything they post. It’s little wonder we end up in some of the politics states we do when you see the volumes of quite astounding people that are allowed to vote. It’s like a worse, non-stop version of some of the poorer threads on the main board or HG dominated by ‘notorious’ posters.
Unfortunately I’m finding Instagram heading that way too. It’s the one surviving ‘real’ social media platform I was still enjoying. Liked that it was pretty much just photos and captions from people I know… more and more I seem to be stumbling on random conversations infested by above type people.
My life has improved immeasurably since I ditched all social media apps. Not only do I not need to suffer fools, but I also don’t find myself sitting on the sofa before realising I’ve wasted the last 45 minutes looking at other people’s lives.
30-04-2024, 09:13 PM
People using names on the Word Association Game thread. It's simply bad patter.
01-05-2024, 07:55 AM
People who put their trolley right in the middle of an aisle when perusing the shelves, blocking it for everyone else. Really annoys me.
01-05-2024, 10:44 AM
People who put their trolley right in the middle of an aisle when perusing the shelves, blocking it for everyone else. Really annoys me.
Have you never moved their trolley down the aisle so they turn round and wonder what happened to it. #satisfying
01-05-2024, 12:21 PM
People posting links to 'X' etc with no indication on what it's about.
01-05-2024, 07:15 PM
People who respond to every Hibs Facebook post with a laughing crying emoji.
01-05-2024, 07:30 PM
People that name staff by name in hotel reviews. “Lovely meals - special shout out to Sergio the chef”. Do they really go asking for their names?
01-05-2024, 07:37 PM
Have you never moved their trolley down the aisle so they turn round and wonder what happened to it. #satisfying
Yes, often 😂
04-05-2024, 12:26 PM
The lids on plastic coke bottles.
Deary deary me. What an effort to screw the lid back on.
Bridge hibs
04-05-2024, 12:43 PM
The lids on plastic coke bottles.
Deary deary me. What an effort to screw the lid back on.
Yep, I end up pulling the thing off, nippy as ****, I get the reason for them but still a ****ing pain 🤬
05-05-2024, 01:21 PM
Yep, I end up pulling the thing off, nippy as ****, I get the reason for them but still a ****ing pain 🤬
It's a good example of a bad design solving one problem but creating another. The lids are brutal.
Bridge hibs
05-05-2024, 03:25 PM
It's a good example of a bad design solving one problem but creating another. The lids are brutal.
I pulled one of the tops off and the sharp pointy bit cut my lip, packaging for food stuffs in general are now becoming trickier to open too, the wee tapey bit that seals a loaf of bread is a mare to open so I try and get plain now instead, the wee sealy thing on milk after I take the lid off always ****ing breaks because of my thick fingers so I now drink oat milk which is easier to open and when I pour my bran flakes into my bowl the inner packet slides out of the box !!
Im giving up eating 😁
Donegal Hibby
05-05-2024, 04:14 PM
Opening a can with a ring on it that comes away in your hand is irritating.
Pulling the plastic film off a milk bottle and all that comes off is the wee tab, leaving the film still attached to the bottle.
05-05-2024, 05:43 PM
When you go to use the gas hob, turn on the gas, then ignite it, then it goes off. Try again, hold it longer. Goes off again. Infuriating.
05-05-2024, 07:30 PM
Opening a can with a ring on it that comes away in your hand is irritating.Bottles of Tymbark cherry are the worst
....... lucky to have 1 bottle in 10 that works without need for a bottle opener/knife combo :-/
07-05-2024, 08:37 AM
A recent one for me.
Waking up to pee during the night. Never happened before. And I don't drink excessive fluids towards bed time either. Most night waking up at least once for a toilet trip. Mighty frustrating for someone that loves their kip
Old age setting in at 34?
07-05-2024, 09:17 AM
A recent one for me.
Waking up to pee during the night. Never happened before. And I don't drink excessive fluids towards bed time either. Most night waking up at least once for a toilet trip. Mighty frustrating for someone that loves their kip
Never too early to start looking out for your prostate.
07-05-2024, 10:33 AM
Never too early to start looking out for your prostate.
Genuinely wasn't something I'd considered until just now, having done some research, I'll now follow that up. Thanks
07-05-2024, 11:05 AM
Genuinely wasn't something I'd considered until just now, having done some research, I'll now follow that up. Thanks
You're weclome :aok:
07-05-2024, 12:01 PM
A recent one for me.
I have had that more over the last few years, been checked for the prostate issues and was fine so just put it down to age now.
As much as i could do without having to get up in the night, the worse thing I’ve found as I’ve got older is needing to pee shortly after having just gone for a pee. That’s brutal.
07-05-2024, 03:55 PM
A recent one for me.
Just wait until you get to my age and it’s 3-4 trips a night. :boo hoo: :greengrin
07-05-2024, 04:08 PM
A recent one for me.
Get tested for diabetes. Excessive urination is one symptom, it's your body trying to get rid of glucose that your own insulin can't break down.
Mostly it's taking fluids too late, your body in a sleep state shuts down a bit and fluid goes straight through the kidneys, cut liquids back after 6pm
08-05-2024, 12:30 AM
Disappointed to see the puns have taken a bit of a back seat here.
08-05-2024, 07:57 PM
I have had that more over the last few years, been checked for the prostate issues and was fine so just put it down to age now.
As much as i could do without having to get up in the night, the worse thing I’ve found as I’ve got older is needing to pee shortly after having just gone for a pee. That’s brutal.
Or in my case, having a pee just before I get in the bath and then less than five minutes into the bath you realise you need to go again. Sometimes I get so annoyed I just piss myself in the bath in futile protest.
08-05-2024, 08:14 PM
Waiting staff that don’t write down your order and just try to remember it in their head. We had a voucher for 2 at Revolution tonight before going to see The Gondoliers. A choice of a pizza or burger each, fries and cocktails.
Guy never wrote down the order. My wife went for a pepperoni pizza and I went for a fried chicken burger. He did repeat the order correctly to us.
However, he then put my burger through as a pizza. He also forgot to put through the fries. Because we were on a time limit for the show, I just took the pizza but the fries didn’t come until we were pretty much finished the pizza.
Just write down the order!
Bridge hibs
08-05-2024, 08:25 PM
Or in my case, having a pee just before I get in the bath and then less than five minutes into the bath you realise you need to go again. Sometimes I get so annoyed I just piss myself in the bath in futile protest.
I dont have that problem thankfully, I just swing it over the bath and into the cludgie then use a hose reel to gather it back in again 😆
On a more serious note, I hate when its the urgency, whack it out and end up spraying all over the ****ing floor and walls, my Wife goes bonkers everytime because she has to mop up after me 🫣
08-05-2024, 08:51 PM
I'm going to make a lot of you guys jealous.
I had urinary infections a while ago, sent for an ultrasound and they discovered that my bladder was enlarged, triple the normal capacity. My problem was not being able to fully empty it before going to bed. I now have to catheterise last thing at night,but it does mean I might only pee 3 or 4 timesa day. 😂
10-05-2024, 07:35 AM
Wheely baskets at Lidl.
The perfect example of something that needs a further risk assessment done on it and controls in place. Give morons who aren’t paying attention something that they can create a mobile tripping hazard with that they are totally oblivious to.
Genuinely no clue why their implementation was ever seen as suitable.
Jakhog1
11-05-2024, 01:05 PM
Wish I could swear on here but the old gits either side of me doing the power washing in the garden and on the other side with the strimmer and lawnmower, they are all retired but decide to do it at the weekend, especially annoying when you have had a busy week at work, telling the kids to go mental later on
11-05-2024, 01:18 PM
Eurovision. Wall to wall coverage on BBC radio. It's like they are trying to convince folk that everyone loves it and that the music is great. Everyone doesn't love it and the music is invariable average at best
11-05-2024, 07:21 PM
Eurovision. Wall to wall coverage on BBC radio. It's like they are trying to convince folk that everyone loves it and that the music is great. Everyone doesn't love it and the music is invariable average at best
Was pissed off on Thursday night when tried to tune into Bob Harris at 9pm, which has been a slot as long as I can remember, to find he wasn’t on and “bbc loves Eurovision” was instead…
11-05-2024, 08:57 PM
Watching eurovision for the first time in years. Olly Alexander the least inspired performance so far. Cyprus might be a good bet.
Edit, scrap that Croatia wow!!!
11-05-2024, 09:55 PM
Watching eurovision for the first time in years. Olly Alexander the least inspired performance so far. Cyprus might be a good bet.
Edit, scrap that Croatia wow!!!
Can my peeve be getting drawn into watching something that you know is pish and that you don’t normally like… and then can’t seem to switch it off?
11-05-2024, 10:42 PM
The same helicopter flying over every 20 minutes today. :grr:
12-05-2024, 12:24 AM
The same helicopter flying over every 20 minutes today. :grr:
Just hand yourself in 😂
12-05-2024, 07:35 AM
Can my peeve be getting drawn into watching something that you know is pish and that you don’t normally like… and then can’t seem to switch it off?
That would mean reaching for the remote! 😂
12-05-2024, 11:51 AM
Friends on FB who post motivational quotes almost daily,what a load of pish.
12-05-2024, 12:52 PM
Pulling out nostril hairs.
Just sair.
12-05-2024, 02:02 PM
Just hand yourself in 😂
12-05-2024, 06:28 PM
Pulling out nostril hairs.
Just sair.
Get a trimmer.
12-05-2024, 07:01 PM
Friends on FB who post motivational quotes almost daily,what a load of pish.
I know it's irritating, but just trying to remember that what makes you special is just being you.
Bridge hibs
12-05-2024, 07:08 PM
Ear hair, never was a problem until many years ago after I had a shave in Turkey, ****ing growing trees out of my lugs 🫨
12-05-2024, 08:17 PM
Ear hair, never was a problem until many years ago after I had a shave in Turkey, ****ing growing trees out of my lugs
That's funny you should say that... I was talked into having something similar in Egypt and ever since the hair in various places around my head was removed it has since been totally out of control, unlike before.
Apart, of course, from the bits where it has sadly decided to go awol.
12-05-2024, 09:43 PM
That's funny you should say that... I was talked into having something similar in Egypt and ever since the hair in various places around my head was removed it has since been totally out of control, unlike before.
Apart, of course, from the bits where it has sadly decided to go awol.
I blame the addition of camel sperm to their shaving cream.
Bridge hibs
13-05-2024, 04:16 AM
I blame the addition of camel sperm to their shaving cream.🫣
15-05-2024, 03:45 PM
Recruitment consultants on LinkedIn messaging you saying they’ve read your profile and think you would be suitable for a role they are working to fill but it is a way more senior role than anything listed on your profile.
15-05-2024, 05:15 PM
Recruitment consultants.
15-05-2024, 08:11 PM
LinkedIn
15-05-2024, 08:12 PM
Recruitment consultants.
And indeed LinkedIn for that matter.
15-05-2024, 10:42 PM
Sitting at the football and everytime I stand up , my belt gets stuck on the back rest.
16-05-2024, 04:11 PM
The now common practice of shop assistants asking if you want your receipt. They’re obviously trying to save money and I suppose they are easing the carbon footprint but it’s in the interest of both retailer and customer that receipts are kept to help deal with any issues arising from the transaction. I always take receipts. I’ve often found errors on the receipt and usually, when I return to the shop to return or exchange goods, the first thing they ask is ‘do you have your receipt?’.
16-05-2024, 11:27 PM
The now common practice of shop assistants asking if you want your receipt. They’re obviously trying to save money and I suppose they are easing the carbon footprint but it’s in the interest of both retailer and customer that receipts are kept to help deal with any issues arising from the transaction. I always take receipts. I’ve often found errors on the receipt and usually, when I return to the shop to return or exchange goods, the first thing they ask is ‘do you have your receipt?’.
I like the fact that M&S automatically send you your receipt digitally if you use your Sparks card.
17-05-2024, 06:22 AM
This is about situational awareness for me, if I'm buying a can of red bull, no I don't need a receipt, if I'm buying a computer or TV, yeah I'll take one. At least they are always offered.
17-05-2024, 08:15 AM
This is about situational awareness for me, if I'm buying a can of red bull, no I don't need a receipt, if I'm buying a computer or TV, yeah I'll take one. At least they are always offered.
I was going to post similar.
17-05-2024, 09:06 AM
I’m talking more about a trolley load of goods and not a casual one off item. I regularly see folk in supermarkets making purchases around £100 and declining a receipt. Occasionally when checking a receipt I’ve found irregularities like items being pinged twice and prices not in keeping with the displayed shelf price ( especially Lidl and Aldi ). Anyway I always accept my receipt.
There’s also certain goods which trigger the alarm at the exit. Clothes and electronics being obvious ones, but also things like powdered baby milk, where having your receipt to prove you did actually pay for it when the security staff want to check is helpful
Bridge hibs
17-05-2024, 12:31 PM
The ****ing weather !! Not this lovely weather of course but the dreich and miserable pissing it down of rain weather that we recently had.
Wanted to give the back lawn its first cut, rain, rain and ****ing more rain. I then became ill and more ill and didnt have the strength to tackle it and low and behold, we had good weather.
Then I got better and planned to get out and cut it the next day, ****ing surprise, a week of pissing it down 🤬
Today, I managed to cut my grass, then ****ed my back 😣
Im hiring a sheep mower !!
17-05-2024, 04:33 PM
The ****ing weather !! Not this lovely weather of course but the dreich and miserable pissing it down of rain weather that we recently had.
Wanted to give the back lawn its first cut, rain, rain and ****ing more rain. I then became ill and more ill and didnt have the strength to tackle it and low and behold, we had good weather.
Then I got better and planned to get out and cut it the next day, ****ing surprise, a week of pissing it down 🤬
Today, I managed to cut my grass, then ****ed my back 😣
Im hiring a sheep mower !!
A neighbour of mine has a robomower, my grass is a bit like the alps otherwise it would be a good idea.
Bridge hibs
17-05-2024, 04:39 PM
A neighbour of mine has a robomower, my grass is a bit like the alps otherwise it would be a good idea.
Its actually quite a small lawn mate and not worth the expense, it just grows so bloody quickly, might rip it up and lay some very slow growing grass instead 🫨
17-05-2024, 05:03 PM
Its actually quite a small lawn mate and not worth the expense, it just grows so bloody quickly, might rip it up and lay some very slow growing grass instead 🫨
We’ve got two patches of grass, both probably about 8sq/m each. I decided, in my wisdom, to dig up one side so we could get decorative chips. Genuinely only about 50/60mm down as well as cutting out a border on the other side and I swear to god I have filled at least 60/70 rubble bags of soil and grass, each weighing upwards of 40kg each.
All this just to save me cutting one side of grass. I did the last trip to the tip today and I am in ****ing bits.
speedy_gonzales
17-05-2024, 05:39 PM
Re Lidl, if you use their app (worthwhile doing) you can opt in to digital receipts.
speedy_gonzales
17-05-2024, 05:46 PM
We’ve got two patches of grass, both probably about 8sq/m each. I decided, in my wisdom, to dig up one side so we could get decorative chips. Genuinely only about 50/60mm down as well as cutting out a border on the other side and I swear to god I have filled at least 60/70 rubble bags of soil and grass, each weighing upwards of 40kg each.
All this just to save me cutting one side of grass. I did the last trip to the tip today and I am in ****ing bits.
Yeah, don't underestimate the volume of turf sods.
After the wet winter I decided to cut a path through my lawn as we were dragging mud through the house when coming in via the back gate. I cut out about 6 square metres to a depth of about 50/70mm.
I put all the waste in to a builders bulk bag then scratched my head as to how I was getting rid of it. Like you I used smaller rubble sacks and have numerous trips.
Back-breaking stuff!
17-05-2024, 06:01 PM
Re Lidl, if you use their app (worthwhile doing) you can opt in to digital receipts.
Cheers. Might do that.
17-05-2024, 06:24 PM
Try this
https://www.rhs.org.uk/lawns/chamomile-lawns
17-05-2024, 06:56 PM
Try this
https://www.rhs.org.uk/lawns/chamomile-lawns
Camomile Lawn, quite memorable for those of us of a certain vintage. 😲
18-05-2024, 10:13 AM
Official incompetence. Signed up this morning with the Dartford Crossing payment system, run by the UK Government, as I'll be to and fro across the crossing during the summer. The email confirming my account has a typo in the return email address. How has someone not noticed this and corrected it? I saw it straight away.
speedy_gonzales
18-05-2024, 03:03 PM
Official incompetence. Signed up this morning with the Dartford Crossing payment system, run by the UK Government, as I'll be to and fro across the crossing during the summer. The email confirming my account has a typo in the return email address. How has someone not noticed this and corrected it? I saw it straight away.
It's definitely not spam/scam? I only ask as a few years back I was sorting out ESTA's to visit America and during the process I noticed the website/email address didn't look quite right. Turns out it was a scammer that had a very similar site name.
18-05-2024, 06:19 PM
It's definitely not spam/scam? I only ask as a few years back I was sorting out ESTA's to visit America and during the process I noticed the website/email address didn't look quite right. Turns out it was a scammer that had a very similar site name.
No. I'd just opened a pay-as-you-go DART account so I don't get caught out and fined (like last time!) for using the Dartford Crossing without realising there was a charge to pay. The email I'm talking about is the official email from DART explaining how the charge works, what it will cost, etc.. It's a lengthy email dealing with all nature of charges, discounts for locals, and in the second paragraph it advises users to make sure that you put their email address into your contacts so emails from them - which might be alerting you about charges or fines - don't get treated as junk and ignored. And they've misspelled their own email address.
19-05-2024, 08:26 AM
The glass in my wing mirror randomly fell out the car and shattered this morning. Utterly bizarre. Happened on the driveway, probably shouldn’t have driven but was taking my daughter to her dance class when it happened. Wonder what happened 🤷
stuart-farquhar
19-05-2024, 08:38 AM
Haar.
Alfiembra
19-05-2024, 09:06 AM
The glass in my wing mirror randomly fell out the car and shattered this morning. Utterly bizarre. Happened on the driveway, probably shouldn’t have driven but was taking my daughter to her dance class when it happened. Wonder what happened 🤷
I’ve had this happen too I’ve got heated mirrors and always forget to switch them off once they’ve cleared so was wondering if over time the adhesive that holds the mirror to the mounting plate eventually breaks down and let’s go.
23-05-2024, 10:48 PM
Crumbly cheese. I don’t want cheese that won’t slice properly without falling apart. It seems even the more expensive and extra strong cheese can be unstable in texture.
HibbyDave
24-05-2024, 07:36 AM
I think they are just trying to build up a database of emails that they can send more ***** too.
In some countries it is illegal not to issue a receipt at point of sale. Italy has finance police who can ( and do) check with customers.
24-05-2024, 09:22 AM
The fact that there’s now another tier to prime. Watching Fallout last night and it had adverts. Another £3.99 (I think) to remove them. That’s poor.
24-05-2024, 09:23 AM
Reading pet peeves and having no idea what they mean.
pollution
24-05-2024, 09:44 AM
I think they are just trying to build up a database of emails that they can send more ***** too.
In some countries it is illegal not to issue a receipt at point of sale. Italy has finance police who can ( and do) check with customers.
I came across this in Rome years ago where I was teaching at the time.
As I left the trattoria a man in a suit approached me and my first reaction was to keep going in case it was a scam.
Behind him were two policeman who stiffened to attention in that crisply polite but efficient manner of armed police.
All was ok, as I had my receipt and I noticed the owner watching from his restaurant.
Apparently, it was and still is a crackdown on tax evasion in a country where paying tax is voluntary....
24-05-2024, 08:24 PM
Adverts and on platforms like Netflix, the previews being so much louder than the programmes themselves
24-05-2024, 08:52 PM
Power outage in may, seriously?!
25-05-2024, 09:39 AM
Not really a peeve more anger at a serious issue. Wanton vandalism.
Every other day now I seem to read something on social media about people vandalising community assets. Local football clubs seem to get it particularly badly. Pitches churned up by motorbikes, artificial pitches burnt, changing rooms trashed etc etc. I read the other day about Bo'ness and Kinneil Railway being firebombed. Seriously what can a bunch of guys preserving a heritage line and building a model railway have done to deserve that?
I could almost understand, if not condone, if it was bored and frustrated kids but the guys charged with the latter offence are both 32. That's not that much younger than me and I can't imagine ever getting the urge to go and burn down a railway ticket office or dig up the goalmouth at the local park to spoil the bairns games at the weekend.
25-05-2024, 10:08 AM
Not really a peeve more anger at a serious issue. Wanton vandalism.
Every other day now I seem to read something on social media about people vandalising community assets. Local football clubs seem to get it particularly badly. Pitches churned up by motorbikes, artificial pitches burnt, changing rooms trashed etc etc. I read the other day about Bo'ness and Kinneil Railway being firebombed. Seriously what can a bunch of guys preserving a heritage line and building a model railway have done to deserve that?
I could almost understand, if not condone, if it was bored and frustrated kids but the guys charged with the latter offence are both 32. That's not that much younger than me and I can't imagine everything getting the urge to go and burn down a railway ticket office or dig up the goalmouth at the local park to spoil the bairns games at the weekend.
I remember taking my kids to a park in Clermiston and some ****bag had smeared dog ****** all the way down the chute.
Wft goes on in their heads ?
25-05-2024, 10:37 AM
I remember taking my kids to a park in Clermiston and some ****bag had smeared dog ****** all the way down the chute.
Wft goes on in their heads ?
It used to be razor blades stuck in seams of the chute in my day.
25-05-2024, 11:34 AM
Portobello outdoor baths always had rumours about that on the chutes.
Bridge hibs
25-05-2024, 11:46 AM
It used to be razor blades stuck in seams of the chute in my day.Not local to me but some group shared this to my Wife, nails glued to a chute and a swing
****ing absolutely disgusting and doesnt bear thinking about the damage that could do to an unsuspecting kid 🤬
Sounds like wee need something like nation service to extrude the enthusiasm out of todays youth!!!
27-05-2024, 09:00 AM
Sounds like wee need something like nation service to extrude the enthusiasm out of todays youth!!!
Hear hear! Get them square bashing, peeling spuds and smoking senior service.
Just like the good old days.
28-05-2024, 01:35 PM
The annoying wee bird that has moved in to the back garden and seems like it’s chirping away 24/7. :rolleyes: :greengrin
Fuzzywuzzy
28-05-2024, 02:43 PM
Ah, the good old days of falling off the chute and monkey bars onto tarmac and beaming
28-05-2024, 03:00 PM
The annoying wee bird that has moved in to the back garden and seems like it’s chirping away 24/7. :rolleyes: :greengrin
Maybe time to tell her she can move back into the house again!
28-05-2024, 03:32 PM
Ah, the good old days of falling off the chute and monkey bars onto tarmac and beaming
Aye, the good old days. I spent 3 days pretty much in a coma in Leith infirmary after coming off the big chute at inverleith Park in the 1960s. Probably explains a lot. 🤣
30-05-2024, 09:17 AM
Rip off A.T.M at Edinburgh Àirport will cost you £2-50 to withdraw cash.
30-05-2024, 07:34 PM
Rip off A.T.M at Edinburgh Àirport will cost you £2-50 to withdraw cash.Same at Glasgow. We had to get cash out as the pay point failed in Boots. The only place that sold GF food for the Mrs.
31-05-2024, 11:30 AM
Folk starting messages/posts/tweets etc with "I mean".
Stop it.
31-05-2024, 01:33 PM
Stop it.
My mate Iain does that, I think that he just can't spell. 🤭
Fuzzywuzzy
31-05-2024, 02:54 PM
Missing a bit when shaving. Having a feeling not finding anything, then going out just to find a bit. So ****ing annoying!!!!
Bridge hibs
31-05-2024, 03:18 PM
Missing a bit when shaving. Having a feeling not finding anything, then going out just to find a bit. So ****ing annoying!!!!
I done that when I shaved my head, forgot to get my Wife to check the back. Got to the bus stop and felt something flapping at the back of my head, felt it and it was a big ****ing divot, I was mortified, thankfully I was wearing a skid lid all day 🤬
31-05-2024, 05:16 PM
31-05-2024, 07:02 PM
Burgers with melted cheese inside them. I like a burger made with cheese in the actual burger. I didn’t know my wife had bought a kind with a hollow middle and melted cheese in it. Almost scolded myself when the liquid cheese flowed out. A good idea in theory but the reality isn’t great. A mess to eat.
31-05-2024, 09:19 PM
Stop it.
Considered this one myself. There’s so many ways to open social media posts that get on my tits that I probably shouldn’t be on social media 😁
01-06-2024, 09:48 PM
02-06-2024, 06:43 AM
People who write “have” as “of”.
02-06-2024, 06:40 PM
Folk who don't leave a folded end on sellotape.
04-06-2024, 11:12 AM
Folk who don't leave a folded end on sellotape.
Getting a tear in one end of the cling film and not noticing until someone else in the household has decided to use it several times despite this...
Similarly, after you push the two end bits in to hold the cling film in place, the cardboard falls apart at both ends making the cling film almost impossible to use properly, also when the wee jagged strip comes away making the tearing virtually useless.
04-06-2024, 08:50 PM
My wife putting the used egg shells back in the box. She claims it’s because she uses them to stop the snails/slugs from eating the plants. Which is fine, but we already have a food bag full of crushed egg shells. It always looks looks like we have more eggs than we actually do.
Bridge hibs
04-06-2024, 08:53 PM
My wife putting the used egg shells back in the box. She claims it’s because she uses them to stop the snails/slugs from eating the plants. Which is fine, but we already have a food bag full of crushed egg shells. It always looks looks like we have more eggs than we actually do.🤣
04-06-2024, 09:41 PM
Jason Leitch. He's my current pet peeve.
04-06-2024, 09:58 PM
Jacket potato
It’s a ****in baked tattie.
06-06-2024, 01:22 PM
Nostalgia ****posting on social media.
People sharing idealised pictures of years gone by and giving it 'oh look how wonderful it all looks'. In a fair number of instances what they really mean is 'oh look how white it all looks'. In most of the others it's by people too young to have experienced such times so they are presenting some romanticised view that conveniently omits the grinding poverty, life expectancy of about 60, squalid living conditions and so on.
And don't even get me started on the people sharing pictures of gigs in the 1960s with captions like 'look at this, not a phone in view, back when people just lived in the moment'. Yes, because you didn't ****ing well have phones then. You spend your time now using social media to check in at the supermarket and share lost dog posts from Australia mate, I'm 99% certain if you had a phone at a gig back then you would have had it out.
ErinGoBraghHFC
06-06-2024, 01:47 PM
You spend your time now using social media to check in at the supermarket and share lost dog posts from Australia mate, I'm 99% certain if you had a phone at a gig back then you would have had it out.
Best thing I’ve ready today and very accurate. Cheers for cheering me up a bit mate[emoji1787]
ErinGoBraghHFC
06-06-2024, 01:48 PM
Jacket potato
It’s a ****in baked tattie.
On that topic; spudulike.
Who the **** goes out for a baked tattie?!?!
06-06-2024, 01:50 PM
Is it only me who sees that word, and thinks of Harry Enfield and Kathy Burke?
Spuh-joolikeh :greengrin
06-06-2024, 02:37 PM
Links that don’t open in the app. They send you to the App Store where you already have the app installed. When you click open it forgets the link you’re trying to open and just opens the app at the homepage. A general moan as quite common, but on the back of someone sending me a link to Google maps.
06-06-2024, 02:41 PM
Having just come back from London, I'm reminded of one of my all time major peeves: people walking while reading their phones and not looking where they are going.
06-06-2024, 02:54 PM
This reminds me of being in a pub last Thursday and there was a deliveroo guy waiting by the kitchen door. Who orders a pub meal to be delivered??
06-06-2024, 03:53 PM
Good chance you can have that with a gluten free filling, so I would. Who the hell goes to Burger King is more to the point - wheat tolerant idiots.
06-06-2024, 07:29 PM
Ok, wasn't sure where to post this but I think this little story qualifies as someone's pet peeve. Hope you all don't mind this slightly OT post.
Nearly half of all aircraft noise complaints in Australia last year were filed by a single person, who complained 20,716 times
The same is true of Heathrow. 80% of noise complaints come from just 10 people.
06-06-2024, 09:01 PM
Spudulike was great and I regret it's demise.
My first home wasn't far from what I think was their first shop and my mum and dad used to get them all the time when I was tiny. It was a proper 70s / 80s staple.
When I was a kid and after we'd moved out of Edinburgh we used to quite often go back there, get baked potatoes and sit as a family and eat them in the car next to the Meadows.
The demise of the baked potato as a credible, healthy fast food is bad progress imo.
06-06-2024, 09:08 PM
My first home wasn't far from what I think was their first shop and my mum and dad used to get them all the time when I was tiny. It was a proper 70s / 80s staple.
When I was a kid and after we'd moved out of Edinburgh we used to quite often go back there, get baked potatoes and sit as a family and eat them in the car next to the Meadows.
The demise of the baked potato as a credible, healthy fast food is bad progress imo.
I used to live across the road from The Tempting Tattie in Jeffrey Street and it was an absolute treat. No idea how good it is now (assuming its still open) but the tatties were superb back in the early 80s.
06-06-2024, 09:29 PM
I used to live across the road from The Tempting Tattie in Jeffrey Street and it was an absolute treat. No idea how good it is now (assuming its still open) but the tatties were superb back in the early 80s.
Not visited the place for about 20 years but, they were certainly very good back then.
07-06-2024, 05:36 AM
I used to enjoy when the Friday night treat tea was from Bigger Bites in Abbeyhill when I was young. Haggis on the baked potatoes was my go to and something I’d still buy nowadays if there were any baked potato shops around.
07-06-2024, 10:02 AM
Taylor Swift.
No, not the actual person, but the endless articles in the Media about her, her tour, her fans, where she's staying, and on and on and on.
Do we really need to know that she's staying in a luxury hotel, that her fans are buying disposable cameras for her visit to Edinburgh... her favourite toilet paper?
OK, I made that last one up, but it's only a matter of time before the DR tells us that it's definitely not Andrex.
07-06-2024, 10:11 AM
Taylor Swift. No, not the actual person, but the endless articles in the Media about her, her tour, her fans, where she's staying, and on and on and on.
Where is she staying?
07-06-2024, 10:15 AM
Where is she staying?
HERE (https://tynecastleparkhotel.com/)
07-06-2024, 10:27 AM
HERE (https://tynecastleparkhotel.com/)
Got me!
07-06-2024, 11:44 AM
Got me!
😁
07-06-2024, 11:46 AM
People sharing idealised pictures of years gone by and giving it 'oh look how wonderful it all looks'. In a fair number of instances what they really mean is 'oh look how white it all looks'. In most of the others it's by people too young to have experienced such times so they are presenting some romanticised view that conveniently omits the grinding poverty, life expectancy of about 60, squalid living conditions and so on.
And don't even get me started on the people sharing pictures of gigs in the 1960s with captions like 'look at this, not a phone in view, back when people just lived in the moment'. Yes, because you didn't ****ing well have phones then. You spend your time now using social media to check in at the supermarket and share lost dog posts from Australia mate, I'm 99% certain if you had a phone at a gig back then you would have had it out.
As rants go, that one is absolutely top notch.
Love it!
Godsahibby
07-06-2024, 11:58 AM
What is this new need for grown ups discussing politics suddenly having this need to give everyone a cringy nickname. I know it was a very American thing with the obvious example of 'Sleepy Joe' Biden.
Even started to see this coming through on some of the Holy Ground threads.
07-06-2024, 04:44 PM
Got me!
And me, is it a pitch or school view though?
07-06-2024, 05:38 PM
Have you ever read "Factfulness" by Hans Rosling?
It's a pretty good antidote to the "everything is pish nowadays" brigade which points out that objectively, most things are actually better.
08-06-2024, 08:31 AM
When she has a bowl of crunchy nut cornflakes she pours the milk in then purposely leaves the bowl for about 10 mins to let the cereal go mushy.
08-06-2024, 05:00 PM
Colds that come from nowhere.
Had a busy-ish week but nothing too outrageous.
Yesterday morning felt alright when I woke up, tired but no more than usual. Then about 11am out of nowhere the snot arrived. I’ve just gotten over a bout of shivering that could have broken concrete.
09-06-2024, 08:37 AM
'Sensationalist' style headlines in newspapers that bear no relation to what's actually in the article,
e.g. 'Doidge names what Hibs men were shocked by over David Gray's coaching'
And what was it that they were so shocked by? Uhm, apparently that he was quite good at his job.
I mean wow, whooda thunk it!
Colds that come from nowhere.
Had a busy-ish week but nothing too outrageous.
Yesterday morning felt alright when I woke up, tired but no more than usual. Then about 11am out of nowhere the snot arrived. I’ve just gotten over a bout of shivering that could have broken concrete.
Snap, runny bloody nose with enough snot to fill an elephant's trunk.
09-06-2024, 05:07 PM
Snap, runny bloody nose with enough snot to fill an elephant's trunk.
Boggin eh?
Feel like I’m shaking it quite quickly but realistically it’ll be Wednesday before I’m fit to do anything other than flop around the house.
I cut the grass this afternoon and feel wiped.
09-06-2024, 06:12 PM
When she has a bowl of crunchy nut cornflakes she pours the milk in then purposely leaves the bowl for about 10 mins to let the cereal go mushy.
Sounds like a wrong 'un!
Boggin eh?
Feel like I’m shaking it quite quickly but realistically it’ll be Wednesday before I’m fit to do anything other than flop around the house.
I cut the grass this afternoon and feel wiped.
I don't feel tired or ill in any way, just a nose full of snot.
13-06-2024, 04:52 PM
Costco!!!! Popped into Costco at 10am, to be told that ‘individual’ members could no longer gain entry till 12pm nowadays. I was generously told that I could go to the Customer Sevices counter on a one time only basis for permission to shop before 12pm. Went in to find a queue of around 25 folk waiting for ‘the white smoke’. Decided not to join the peasants in the queue but dumped the trolley to have a wee look around and take in all the ‘privileged’ corporate and small business members filling their trolleys. As far as I could see, the vast majority of shoppers were Joe Bloggs individual customers like myself. I can’t really understand why they’ve gone down this road.
13-06-2024, 06:15 PM
Costco!!!! Popped into Costco at 10am, to be told that ‘individual’ members could no longer gain entry till 12pm nowadays. I was generously told that I could go to the Customer Sevices counter on a one time only basis for permission to shop before 12pm. Went in to find a queue of around 25 folk waiting for ‘the white smoke’. Decided not to join the peasants in the queue but dumped the trolley to have a wee look around and take in all the ‘privileged’ corporate and small business members filling their trolleys. As far as I could see, the vast majority of shoppers were Joe Bloggs individual customers like myself. I can’t really understand why they’ve gone down this road.
There’s always been earlier entry for Business members. Maybe they are just enforcing it now.
13-06-2024, 06:43 PM
There’s always been earlier entry for Business members. Maybe they are just enforcing it now.
Ok, fair enough, but I would have thought that, given the needs and expectation of Business members, I would have expected the place to be full of them, but I would hazard a guess that 95% of the customers at 10.15am were individual members who presumably had to stand in an enormous queue for a long time. Bottom line is that I now know that it’s afternoon shopping only from now on. I hope their policy doesn’t apply to the petrol pumps. :rolleyes:
speedy_gonzales
13-06-2024, 08:52 PM
For as long as I can remember, Trade and Executive card holders were allowed in 2hrs before "individuals" during the week.
I actually upgraded to the individual executive card a few years back, it's an extra £40ish, I didn't do it for the extra hours (would never use them) but the 2% reward/cashback actually pays for my membership.
13-06-2024, 09:24 PM
coincidently, they had a little pop-up stall in Livingston centre two weeks back, i got in to the costco near ikea a few times with my daughter a few years back when she was dating a dude in the army and borrowed his card, i was aware it was, imo, a bit elitist the criteria for membership so i thought i would enquire if it had changed, army was the one i recognised along with a few others but i'd already thought nothing had changed so i just politely departed, i think it costs a few quid even just for the little pop-up stalls in the centre so i wonder if they got enough new members to make it worthwhile, any other time i passed they were just talking to themselves.
14-06-2024, 06:49 AM
For as long as I can remember, Trade and Executive card holders were allowed in 2hrs before "individuals" during the week.
I actually upgraded to the individual executive card a few years back, it's an extra £40ish, I didn't do it for the extra hours (would never use them) but the 2% reward/cashback actually pays for my membership.
I’m not in the store all that often but it’s mainly for butcher meat which I think is excellent. I regularly buy petrol there. That pays for the membership.
18-06-2024, 04:24 PM
Six by Nico and everything related to it. Make it go away.