View Full Version : Pet Peeves IV
31-08-2016, 12:14 PM
People who say they don't like certain foods,when you ask them if they have actually tried it,they say no.
Similar not with food but with films/tv shows. I will say to her why dont we watch xyz... and she goes nae, I wont like it. I say how do you know if youve not seen it and her response usually is, I just know I wont, its not my thing.
This came to an argument when I tried to get her to watch the sopranos box set with me. She said 'I dont like gangster things, so I know I wont like it.'
One of her 3 favourite moves is Goodfellas (other 2 is stand by me and trainspotting, she wont watch much else). I said but your favourite film is goodfellas, and thats all gangster stuff. She still wouldnt try it so in the end I went in a huff and watched it on my own in the bedroom.
About a week or 2 later Iwas on season 4 and she came through for an early night and started watching it, finally said this is no bad actually, can we go back to the start. The answer was no, in a not so polite way
31-08-2016, 12:19 PM
People who call it "Butcher meat" "I always buy my butcher meat from"............................
31-08-2016, 03:05 PM
The deals offered only to new customers
31-08-2016, 03:06 PM
People who keep posting on this thread,they must be peeved at everything.
31-08-2016, 04:43 PM
Drug dealers in your stair that the council winnae evict, horrible bitch that she is.
31-08-2016, 06:06 PM
An incomplete sneeze.
31-08-2016, 06:49 PM
People who keep posting on this thread,they must be peeved at everything.
Moi, Kermie? :greengrin
31-08-2016, 07:13 PM
Inexcusable laziness in a partner.
Got in late last night after having to do a few bits and bobs post work to find Mrs PB sitting on her erse watching TV with no lunches made, a full washing machine needing emptied, no dinner made and dishes from beeakfast still waiting to be washed. When I questioned this I was told she 'was tired' and had 'been at work all day.'
I should probably point out that this isn't some 'a woman should know her place' post. I'm in first most nights, after being at work all day, and cook dinner for us 6 nights a week (it would be 7 but I visit my Grandad on a Thursday evening). I also usually prepare lunches for both of us every day we are working and generally take care of all the little household things before she gets home. I think because she doesn't see it there's a belief a fairy godmother or soneone does it.
Does my nut in especially when her powers of recall are such that she can remember the one time I left my boxers in the bathroom for an hour 4 years ago.
31-08-2016, 07:36 PM
Got in late last night after having to do a few bits and bobs post work to find Mrs PB sitting on her erse watching TV with no lunches made, a full washing machine needing emptied, no dinner made and dishes from beeakfast still waiting to be washed. When I questioned this I was told she 'was tired' and had 'been at work all day.'
I should probably point out that this isn't some 'a woman should know her place' post. I'm in first most nights, after being at work all day, and cook dinner for us 6 nights a week (it would be 7 but I visit my Grandad on a Thursday evening). I also usually prepare lunches for both of us every day we are working and generally take care of all the little household things before she gets home. I think because she doesn't see it there's a belief a fairy godmother or soneone does it.
Does my nut in especially when her powers of recall are such that she can remember the one time I left my boxers in the bathroom for an hour 4 years ago.
I've been there. Probably due another one of those arguments soon.
gringojoe
31-08-2016, 08:35 PM
Long pubes in urinals. Dirty dirty manky pube pullers.
Ozymandias
31-08-2016, 09:18 PM
People with smug faces
Unnecessarily unpleasant comments to things on social media/ YouTube.
Celery, any food containing celery or that uses celery in any way or has been in the vicinity of celery.
Red Ties and the people who wear them.
31-08-2016, 09:28 PM
:agree: we've all been there!
31-08-2016, 09:30 PM
Minute's applauses. Contentious issue, but we're at the point where I have no idea what/who they're for, why they're happening, or who has arranged them.
Also, the ****ing baked beans advert that has been on a thousand times on sky sports news today.
IrnBru22
31-08-2016, 11:36 PM
Celery, any food containing celery or that uses celery in any way or has been in the vicinity of celery.
Replace celery with cucumber then i agree with you. Even the smell of it from miles away makes me feel sick
01-09-2016, 06:58 AM
A huge annoyance for me as well! I also get in before my Mrs every day and do much of the housework before she gets home. She gets days off during the week occasionally where she'll stay in bed till noon then get up, laze about and make an even bigger mess of the house than it was before. When questioned, her excuse is also that she's been tired because of work, as if she's the only person on the planet who has to work. And of course i'm public enemy number 1 for not cleaning the bathroom (a chore that she does perhaps once every 2 months)
She's also a massive hoarder. We just had a new carpet fitted, which meant I needed to clear space on the floors. I went into our living room cupboard which to my horror had basically turned into a bin store for all of her old *****. Vcr's from when she was a child (despite the fact that we don't have a vcr machine and haven't for many years), old Christmas decorations that don't get used anymore, old household ornaments. I almost hit the roof.... And thats not to forget the massive shoe collection she has. Shoes that she hasn't even considered wearing in over 5 years, but still keeps them.
01-09-2016, 08:20 AM
Peely wally Scottish lassies that dye their hair jet black thinking it makes them look like some Latino sexbomb, it disnae, it makes you look like the scary wee lassie fae the Adams Family.
01-09-2016, 01:03 PM
Minute's applauses. Contentious issue, but we're at the point where I have no idea what/who they're for, why they're happening, or who has arranged them.
People who have an opinion on absolutely everything. Quite a few on here actually :wink:
I've been there too but it's me on the receiving end of the accusations all the time. :-(
01-09-2016, 07:48 PM
I've been there too but it's me on the receiving end of the accusations all the time. :-(
Oh I'll be on the receiving end of it.
02-09-2016, 08:22 AM
The BBC (or Met Office) weather forecast.
My washing is now soaked despite the promise of light cloud with sunny spells.
02-09-2016, 10:23 AM
People who have an opinion on absolutely everything. Quite a few on here actually :wink:
Those that have the opinions on everything that go into a total over-reactive rage when someone disagrees with them.
Ozymandias
02-09-2016, 02:16 PM
Those that have the opinions on everything that go into a total over-reactive rage when someone disagrees with them.
Those that provoke over-reactive rage by failing to understand when they are clearly in the wrong.
02-09-2016, 02:41 PM
Those that provoke over-reactive rage by failing to understand when they are clearly in the wrong.
The Rangers supporters.
02-09-2016, 02:51 PM
The one bad apple that spoils it all for everyone.
02-09-2016, 04:11 PM
Tuna and cucumber or sweetcorn. No, just a Tuna mayo sanny please.
02-09-2016, 05:55 PM
Mayo on sandwiches, a pointless exercise.
IrnBru22
02-09-2016, 06:09 PM
People that park in cycle lanes.
The ammount of potholes at Leith street/Elm Row, cycling down it is a nightmare.
02-09-2016, 06:27 PM
Eeewwww, tuna! Fine for feeding to the cat but for humans just naw.:confused:
03-09-2016, 12:09 AM
People that park in cycle lanes.
The ammount of potholes at Leith street/Elm Row, cycling down it is a nightmare.
Cycle lanes and the lack of potholes that injure/discourage cyclists 😉
03-09-2016, 11:59 AM
Folk who complain about links to other pages not working. If they're clickable they will be a different colour and underlined. If they're not clickable, just copy and paste in the address bar.
IrnBru22
03-09-2016, 12:24 PM
Cycle lanes and the lack of potholes that injure/discourage cyclists 😉
Arse
04-09-2016, 03:57 PM
😂😂😂
Calm down pal. It was a joke comment on a light hearted thread. No need for that.
A new pet peeve for me - people that take things on the Internet too seriously and revert to name calling.
Cartons of fresh orange that have that "push down" plastic opening mechanism. They make it hard to take a sneaky swig from the fridge without it all dribbling down your face and onto your clothes.
05-09-2016, 10:20 AM
Folk who complain about links to other pages not working. If they're clickable they will be a different colour and underlined. If they're not clickable, just copy and paste in the address bar.
people who can't post links properly, it really isn't hard!
05-09-2016, 10:26 AM
people who can't post links properly, it really isn't hard!
It is on some mobiles.
05-09-2016, 11:02 AM
It is on some mobiles.
I have posted links on both android and iphone, its the same process for both.
05-09-2016, 12:45 PM
100%. I'm currently boycotting the graft canteen due to their insistence in polluting the tuna with Sweetcorn!!!
Speaking of work - People who dither about when walking in front of you reading their phone/talking to a colleague in the most stupid places i.e. the middle of a narrow corridor, on the stairs, the top/bottom of stairs or right next to a doorway!!! Then after apparently being totally oblivious to the fact that someone in a busy office building may want to get passed and use the stairs.. they just look at you as if you're not important enough for them to apologise to/acknowledge!!!!
English Tennis commentators.
06-09-2016, 05:49 AM
People who assume they have right of way when joining a motorway from a slip road .
06-09-2016, 06:44 AM
Beards and the increasing number of young guys who are being fashionable by growing a daft looking unkempt bush on their faces.
Patronising messages on these digital signs above motorways.
WEAR SEATBELTS IT IS THE LAW - Aye, cheers dad I never knew that.
CAUTION FOG - Again, I would never have realised it was foggy if you hadn't told me.
DONT DRIVE TIRED THINK OF OTHERS - get lost. Have you tried sleeping in a car?
DONT TAKE DRUGS AND DRIVE - well I was going to but I'm not going to bother now.
06-09-2016, 08:00 AM
Beards and the increasing number of young guys who are being fashionable by growing a daft looking unkempt bush on their faces.
Particularly when the top half of the head is shaved down to the bone! :-)
06-09-2016, 11:03 AM
People who claim they don't get hangovers and boast about it in an effort to make you feel ashamed of your hangover. It's quite simple, if you don't get hangovers you're either lying or not drinking enough.
06-09-2016, 12:38 PM
CAUTION FOG - Again, I would never have realised it was foggy if you hadn't told me.
DONT TAKE DRUGS AND DRIVE - well I was going to but I'm not going to bother now.
There was one I saw a while back that said:
BE A COURTEOUS DRIVER
I thought it should have really had a PLEASE on it.
06-09-2016, 07:51 PM
Matrix signs on the Calder road advising that there's an issue J2 on the M9 when you could really do with being told the Bypass is ****ed...
07-09-2016, 09:28 AM
Whenever I see the "Fasten your seatbelt" sign I always think this must be a fast bit of the road.
You know how like at the shows the boy says "scream if you wanna go faster"?
07-09-2016, 12:23 PM
There us one useful one that no one seems to take any notice of!
KEEP LEFT UNLESS OVERTAKING
07-09-2016, 01:57 PM
Pistachio stuffed dates. Someone at my work just gave me one, it was disgusting. What's enjoyable about eating them?
07-09-2016, 06:02 PM
Pistachio stuffed dates. Someone at my work just gave me one, it was disgusting. What's enjoyable about eating them?
Why the **** did you eat it? Surely the description told you everything you needed to know!
Dates are just wrong.
07-09-2016, 08:05 PM
Folk who don't let you in when lanes merge, especially when you're not taking the pish with it, like yesterday - breakdown on the bridge meant everyone had to move into one lane, there were three or four cars who went nose to bumper to make sure they didn't let anyone in - wtf is the point in that.
Ironic thing is I ended up in front of the daft ****s anyway.
07-09-2016, 08:08 PM
Folk who don't let you in when lanes merge, especially when you're not taking the pish with it, like yesterday - breakdown on the bridge meant everyone had to move into one lane, there were three or four cars who went nose to bumper to make sure they didn't let anyone in - wtf is the point in that.
Were they Golf driving female 'executives'???
*See other thread lol
07-09-2016, 08:23 PM
Why the **** did you eat it? Surely the description told you everything you needed to know!
Dates are just wrong.
I'd never had one, all he said was "they're quite sweet".
I spat it into my coffee cup.
Never again.
07-09-2016, 08:34 PM
Matrix signs on the Calder road advising that there's an issue J2 on the M9 when you could really do with being told the Bypass is ****ed...
Indeed. Similar to signs on the M1 telling you there are delays at J17 on the M25 and you've no idea whether that's on your route or not.
07-09-2016, 08:56 PM
Sure this argument has been done to death already on this thread... But drivers who do take this piss with this should be shot.
There are instances where lanes should merge as you say and people are out of order blocking cars from merging. Equally however, there are many instances where people know for a fact they're in the wrong lane and they stick with it hoping to force their way in further up the que. To think of an example; Telford Road heading westbound at McDonald's restaurant -There are two lanes of traffic for most of that road, after the lights at McDonald's however, the right hand lane is specifically for cars turning right up towards Drylaw... Everyone knows this, but many see the inevitable rush hour que that happens practically every day and decide to use the quiet lane to jump further up the que then skip in front after the lights. Going eastbound is even worse because a much larger stretch of that road is clearly signed as right turn only, but that doesn't stop many from using it to skip the que
Cue the numerous comments about the apparent legality of it, but imo it's inconsiderate driving and people have every right blocking them.
07-09-2016, 09:07 PM
People who exaggerate their complaint to make their experience sound even worse than it actually was.
And the amount of people who wrongly believe that symptoms of food poisoning must be from the last thing they actually ate.
07-09-2016, 09:17 PM
Sure this argument has been done to death already on this thread... But drivers who do take this piss with this should be shot.
There are instances where lanes should merge as you say and people are out of order blocking cars from merging. Equally however, there are many instances where people know for a fact they're in the wrong lane and they stick with it hoping to force their way in further up the que. To think of an example; Telford Road heading westbound at McDonald's restaurant -There are two lanes of traffic for most of that road, after the lights at McDonald's however, the right hand lane is specifically for cars turning right up towards Drylaw... Everyone knows this, but many see the inevitable rush hour que that happens practically every day and decide to use the quiet lane to jump further up the que then skip in front after the lights. Going eastbound is even worse because a much larger stretch of that road is clearly signed as right turn only, but that doesn't stop many from using it to skip the que
Cue the numerous comments about the apparent legality of it, but imo it's inconsiderate driving and people have every right blocking them.
That's bit is actually 2 lanes merging into one then back to 2 after the island.
07-09-2016, 09:19 PM
Not arsed about letting in folk who blatantly rip the pish out of it, but sensible, normal drivers - just let them in ffs!
07-09-2016, 09:29 PM
Not arsed about letting in folk who blatantly rip the pish out of it, but sensible, normal drivers - just let them in ffs!
07-09-2016, 09:47 PM
That's bit is actually 2 lanes merging into one then back to 2 after the island.
Most people know full well that they need to be in the left lane to go straight once they get to the next set of lights. That traffic island is irrelevant to the people trying to take the piss and move further up the que.
07-09-2016, 09:50 PM
Most people know full well that they need to be in the left lane to go straight once they get to the next set of lights. That traffic island is irrelevant to the people trying to take the piss and move further up the que.
I agree, but the poor design of the road doesn't help.
07-09-2016, 09:57 PM
I agree, but the poor design of the road doesn't help.
True. I guess poorly designed roads can get added to the list then 😂
08-09-2016, 12:33 AM
You're 100% right about the eastbound road though, it clearly has an arrow saying right turn.
08-09-2016, 07:07 AM
I was recently back in town and to be honest I haven't a clue as to where the lanes change into turn left or right lanes until I actually see them. Even though I was driving a left-hand drive German registered car there was always one tube expecting me to know the cities road markings off by heart. Maybe we can introduce a navigation test for people who come from out of town before we let them drive in Edinburgh?
08-09-2016, 07:44 AM
I was recently back in town and to be honest I haven't a clue as to where the lanes change into turn left or right lanes until I actually see them. Even though I was driving a left-hand drive German registered car there was always one tube expecting me to know the cities road markings off by heart. Maybe we can introduce a navigation test for people who come from out of town before we let them drive in Edinburgh?
Obviously not everyone can be expected to know. But the vast majority of people doing this drive that same route most days when commuting to and from work. The fact that you're driving a German car should be enough for a bit of leeway from fellow road users, unless you're a really bad driver 😘
08-09-2016, 09:29 AM
Edinburgh's traffic controllers have a vendetta against all car drivers and will try every dirty trick in the book just to get them confused and irritated.
But for cyclists ....... :wink:
rodhibs55
08-09-2016, 12:07 PM
People who go through the red light at Niddrie Cross roads heading straight onto the Wisp when I am trying to turn Right.
08-09-2016, 12:31 PM
The worst ones for this are when there are arrows on the road pointing ahead on both lanes, so you think you can use both, then right at the lights/junction there's another arrow that's just a right/left turn.
How is that meant to help anyone? There are a few in town that are like that. Brutal
Oil based gloss made after the EU decided to meddle with the recipe.
I'm now painting the skirting in the bedroom with a water based gloss that hopefully won't turn ****ing yellow like the last stuff I used not that long ago.
Ergye
09-09-2016, 01:01 AM
Mine is quite literally a pet peeve. Cats!
I have adopted 2 little cats this last year. I love them. They are my first ever cats. The best thing I have ever done and they bring me so much joy and happiness.
But! They destroy things! Towels, sofas, books, guitar cases, chairs, walls, beds, little red poofs, bags. This very evening one of them managed to knock a solid metal lamp that I keep on the back of my office desk, to the floor. She (Callie) pushed it for about 1.5 metres. The damn thing weighs about 5 times the cat does. How is that possible? The male cat (Ziggy) also destroyed the back of a tablet case, which I only bought today, by using it as a scratching post.
It's all good. You get a little bit of payback and great entertainment with the wonderful laser pen watching them run up the walls like Neo. :na na:
10-09-2016, 07:48 AM
Watching a YouTube video and it starts buffering just as its getting to the good bit.
10-09-2016, 08:55 AM
Scottish tap water. 2nd to Atlantis we must be the country with the most water on this planet but we pump it full of chemicals that make it taste like it's piped directly from the Commie Pool. Minging.
10-09-2016, 08:57 AM
Watching a YouTube video and it starts buffering just as its getting to the good bit.
I've got a dirty mind so I'm making no further comment on this post :greengrin
10-09-2016, 10:05 AM
I've got a dirty mind so I'm making no further comment on this post :greengrin
Haha! Yes it's not strictly YouTube this particular annoyance relates to 😂
hibs#1
10-09-2016, 02:21 PM
Scottish tap water. 2nd to Atlantis we must be the country with the most water on this planet but we pump it full of chemicals that make it taste like it's piped directly from the Commie Pool. Minging.
I agree people keep telling me we have the best tap water in theworld
I think.it's honking
10-09-2016, 06:49 PM
I agree people keep telling me we have the best tap water in theworld
I think.it's honking
No chance. Christchurch nz (prior to the quake anyway) had the purest untreated mineral water straight from the Canterbury mountains as mains water.
I agree mains water in scotland is poor. NI too unfortunately.
hibs#1
10-09-2016, 08:25 PM
No chance. Christchurch nz (prior to the quake anyway) had the purest untreated mineral water straight from the Canterbury mountains as mains water.
I agree mains water in scotland is poor. NI too unfortunately.
I've been arguing with people for years That the water here is rotten to no avail
Happy to have found some like minded individuals at last
11-09-2016, 06:00 AM
I've been arguing with people for years That the water here is rotten to no avail
Happy to have found some like minded individuals at last
I ended up using bottled water to make a brew when I was over recently, even after boiling it the taste of chemicals in the tap water was minging.
I didn't think it was just me and I'm starting to use the 17p stuff out of tesco instead when I make any drink. The water in Duloch is even worse than that in Edinburgh which is saying something.
Even a drop of our national tap water ruins our national drink while the spring water just does its job without altering any taste.
11-09-2016, 10:46 AM
Standard definition tv channels, especially for sport of any kind. Just do away with it.
IrnBru22
12-09-2016, 11:05 AM
People that put loads of salt on their food, often before even tasting it first.
12-09-2016, 11:13 AM
Students walking about our city like the own the place. Walking in groups of about 10 taking up the full pavement and if they were walking any slower they'd be going backwards.
Get the **** out of my way you sponging, Pot Noodle eating, Countdown watching, tax avoiding pricks!
12-09-2016, 11:51 AM
Chihuahuas. Just got attacked by one while out jogging.... Thank God it was only a chihuahua, if it had been the guy's bull terrier (which was thankfully on the lead) I wouldn't be typing this!
12-09-2016, 02:47 PM
I didn't think it was just me and I'm starting to use the 17p stuff out of tesco instead when I make any drink. The water in Duloch is even worse than that in Edinburgh which is saying something.
Even a drop of our national tap water ruins our national drink while the spring water just does its job without altering any taste.
I'm at Duloch and can't say i've noticed the water tasting any worse than anywhere else, to be fair.
12-09-2016, 05:33 PM
Tutting, if the women sat next to me on the bus does it one more time then I'm fast tracked to Saughton
I'm at Duloch and can't say i've noticed the water tasting any worse than anywhere else, to be fair.
I know people from just down the road in Pitcorthie who say that our water tastes a lot better than theirs so maybe it's partly a mental thing. :hmmm:
Caversham Green
13-09-2016, 07:48 AM
You people complaining about Scottish tap water should try living down here. The water's very hard, which means kettles, coffee-makers and shower heads fur up in no time at all and you don't get any lather from soap and shampoo. Wee white bits floating in your tea and coffee that catch the back of your throat and it tastes like s***e. I dream of nice soft Scottish water.
The Brita filter jug is the best thing I've ever bought.
13-09-2016, 08:27 AM
You people complaining about Scottish tap water should try living down here. The water's very hard, which means kettles, coffee-makers and shower heads fur up in no time at all and you don't get any lather from soap and shampoo. Wee white bits floating in your tea and coffee that catch the back of your throat and it tastes like s***e. I dream of nice soft Scottish water.
The Brita filter jug is the best thing I've ever bought.
Statistically the tap water in Berlin has been filtered through 7 people's kidneys before it reaches your taps. The water here is recycled from sewage plants and goes through several filtration processes before it's returned to the mains. Despite all that it tastes better than most bottled water and has received better results in purity tests than the majority of bottled water. Maybe I only notice the terrible chemical taste in UK water because I'm not used to it?
13-09-2016, 08:53 AM
People that leave jam/marmalade/mustard etc residue in butter/margarine, I mean FFS just use another knife!
13-09-2016, 08:59 AM
People that leave jam/marmalade/mustard etc residue in butter/margarine, I mean FFS just use another knife!
Not forgetting bread/toast crumbs.
13-09-2016, 09:06 AM
People that wipe their bogies on public toilet walls. Why the **** would you do that when you're sat next to a roll of toilet paper?
13-09-2016, 09:56 AM
Not forgetting bread/toast crumbs.
It's the opposite for me ....... leaving traces of butter and other foodstuff in the jam/marmalade. It makes the preserve go mouldy ten times quicker.
13-09-2016, 04:15 PM
Folk driving with front fog lights on. Now it's getting darker at nights I'm starting to notice it again. I'm going to take to blinding them with my full beams.
13-09-2016, 04:19 PM
Folk driving with front fog lights on. Now it's getting darker at nights I'm starting to notice it again. I'm going to take to blinding them with my full beams.
Hate this, there's no need for it (unless it's foggy of course!)
13-09-2016, 04:33 PM
Hate this, there's no need for it (unless it's foggy of course!)
The "4 headlight complaint" has been regurgitated by myself in Pet Peeves I to IV so I'll take this chance to say to all the Stevie Wonders out their "Two headlights please and ONLY two fog lights (with no headlights) IF it's foggy.
Phew, I fell better after that.
14-09-2016, 01:41 PM
The number of minutes/hours/days/weeks/months dedicated to something,
cycle to work day (aye right! cycle the 20 miles to my work?)
Earth Hour - sit in darkness for an hour
Movember, Sober September, shave yer head week.
Bollocks to all that
14-09-2016, 01:56 PM
Bollocks to all that
Agree with this.
The amount of folk in my work who go on about 'dry January' does my nut in. I'll have a drink when I fancy thanks.
14-09-2016, 02:21 PM
The "4 headlight complaint" has been regurgitated by myself in Pet Peeves I to IV so I'll take this chance to say to all the Stevie Wonders out their "Two headlights please and ONLY two fog lights (with no headlights) IF it's foggy.
Phew, I fell better after that.
... and as I posted before, on some cars it's impossible (including both our current cars and the 406 estate that I had before).
Ozymandias
14-09-2016, 03:57 PM
Bollocks to all that
Agree - I also loathe the requirement of enforced wackiness on Red Nose day or Comic Relief. I understand its a good cause, and I'll donate, but don't look at me as if I'm evil if I decline to turn up wearing all red "for the bants". Just F Off.
The current advert for "imagine what a month without a hangover would feel like" really, really gets my goat. Self righteous gash and for me a pointless way to address a genuine problem of excessive drinking.
Finally, and unrelatedly, adverts on telly that use puppets. Get tae.
14-09-2016, 04:09 PM
Agree with this.
The amount of folk in my work who go on about 'dry January' does my nut in. I'll have a drink when I fancy thanks.
"Dryathlon" is probably one of my least favourite words ever.
14-09-2016, 04:44 PM
The term "bants" does my ****** head in, someone tries to be funny with you at work usually in front of other folk and then proclaim "it was just bants" when you pull them up for being a dick.
14-09-2016, 05:12 PM
The term "bants" does my ****** head in, someone tries to be funny with you at work usually in front of other folk and then proclaim "it was just bants" when you pull them up for being a dick.
There should be a law that whenever anyone uses that word you are allowed to smash them square in the face without fear of reprisals
14-09-2016, 05:57 PM
There should be a law that whenever anyone uses that word you are allowed to smash them square in the face without fear of reprisals
Similarly, I hate the abbreviation 'probs' (although shamefully, I use the word myself.)
SuperAllyMcleod
14-09-2016, 07:40 PM
Work "bake offs"???
What is the obsession with baking cakes for charity? It seems to happen every week in my work.
I refuse to eat any of this sh*te as I have no idea what the hygiene standards of these peoples kitchens are - particularly as a high percentage of them seem to have one or more cats.
14-09-2016, 09:33 PM
Food snobs or foodies
14-09-2016, 09:46 PM
Dearie me! Is that actually a thing in the real world now?
Surely it's confined to cheesy teen/20 something English TV?
14-09-2016, 11:05 PM
People.
15-09-2016, 06:49 AM
Brits abroad.
Generalisation of course, this thread is full of them after all, but I've been abroad the last 2 weeks in various places and everytime I have seen someone falling over drunk, shouting, acting aggressively, being disrespectful to the country they are in etc etc they have been characterised by a Scottish, English or Welsh accent.
IrnBru22
15-09-2016, 11:36 AM
the word "foodie" or someone who describes themselves as a "foodie"
15-09-2016, 12:56 PM
the word "foodie" or someone who describes themselves as a "foodie"
Agreed. Folk who do that are really 'fuddie'.
Ergye
16-09-2016, 03:47 AM
Brits abroad.
Generalisation of course, this thread is full of them after all, but I've been abroad the last 2 weeks in various places and everytime I have seen someone falling over drunk, shouting, acting aggressively, being disrespectful to the country they are in etc etc they have been characterised by a Scottish, English or Welsh accent.
That's the reputation they have on the continent.
Fully merited unfortunately.
16-09-2016, 07:38 AM
The fact that Edinburgh Council have no online facility to apply for a parking permit. Seriously in 2016 you have to download an application pack, complete it and then either return it by post or in person.
I know they require ID and proof of ownership but photcopies can be sent in the post so I struggle to see why attachments online would cause such a problem.
16-09-2016, 07:46 AM
Brave flies.
I have a fly in the house that is taunting me.
It keeps landing on me after I have tried to swat it.
Seriously doing my head in .
16-09-2016, 08:00 AM
Brave flies.
I have a fly in the house that is taunting me.
It keeps landing on me after I have tried to swat it.
Seriously doing my head in .
Buy a can of Raid. Shoots them down nae problem.
16-09-2016, 10:33 AM
Moneysupermarket.com adverts, get those abominations off my tv screen.
16-09-2016, 11:23 AM
Moneysupermarket.com adverts, get those abominations off my tv screen.Agreed. There should be a "skip" button for such adverts.
16-09-2016, 11:38 AM
The fact that Edinburgh Council have no online facility to apply for a parking permit. Seriously in 2016 you have to download an application pack, complete it and then either return it by post or in person.
I know they require ID and proof of ownership but photcopies can be sent in the post so I struggle to see why attachments online would cause such a problem.
Any sort of permit or license is the same. It's such an awkward place to get to if you're driving as well. Every year I have to go up there and wait in the queue while the slowest people in history serve everyone. I then have to go somewhere else and show the same documents that I got photocopied in the council office. It would take me 5 minutes to do the whole thing online.
16-09-2016, 12:04 PM
Agreed. There should be a "skip" button for such adverts.
The GoCompare fud deserves the same!
16-09-2016, 01:02 PM
Folk that use slurs such as puddledrinkers and windaelickers, then squeal about bigotry.
16-09-2016, 01:25 PM
Pre chopped veg in supermarkets.
Do people really need to buy pre chopped onions, carrots and mushrooms. It's more expensive, creates far more waste and saves about 3 minutes.
16-09-2016, 01:37 PM
Do people really need to buy pre chopped onions, carrots and mushrooms. It's more expensive, creates far more waste and saves about 3 minutes.
I thought the same thing.....then a few years ago started having intermittent problems with the joints in my hands and wrists. I confess that I have occasionally bought these (overpriced and wasteful) products that I previously sneered at. Checked nobody was looking when I put them in my trolley though :greengrin.
Perhaps they're not only intended for the criminally lazy, but for those who aren't able to chop:dunno:
16-09-2016, 01:43 PM
I thought the same thing.....then a few years ago started having intermittent problems with the joints in my hands and wrists. I confess that I have occasionally bought these (overpriced and wasteful) products that I previously sneered at. Checked nobody was looking when I put them in my trolley though :greengrin.
Perhaps they're not only intended for the criminally lazy, but for those who aren't able to chop:dunno:
Aah fair enough, hadn't though of that.
My ire is very much aimed at the lazy as opposed to those who may need them for whatever reason.
Sent from my SM-G925F using Tapatalk
16-09-2016, 02:36 PM
To be fair they're a big help when you're trying to fit cooking a healthy meal into an already busy day. Sometimes you need all the help you can get!
Those with personalised reg plates that start B16 or B19
Big man eh? They're usually fat.
16-09-2016, 03:23 PM
The price of beer in the UK or more specifically Edinburgh and London.
Was in Berlin and, admittedly in a non touristy area, a 500ml bottle in a pub was €2.50 give or take. Likewise in Barcelona I was paying €3.50 for a draught Estrella or Moritz. Despite Barcelona having a reputation as expensive.
16-09-2016, 04:06 PM
Folk who press the green man button repeatedly, it doesn't make it come on any faster!
Same with lift buttons
16-09-2016, 04:32 PM
Those with personalised reg plates that start B16 or B19
Big man eh? They're usually fat.
Personalised plates in general. Very few of them are obvious what they're supposed to say. If you need to explain its meaning, it's a waste of money.
16-09-2016, 05:15 PM
Folk who press the green man button repeatedly, it doesn't make it come on any faster!
Folk who stand at pedestrian crossings and who *don't* press the button.
16-09-2016, 05:15 PM
Trousers are annoying me today, in particular the rehashed fad for ripped ones and also those ones women are wearing that come up to about their armpits, just look stupid on both counts
16-09-2016, 05:28 PM
Trousers are annoying me today, in particular the rehashed fad for ripped ones and also those ones women are wearing that come up to about their armpits, just look stupid on both counts
Fair.:agree:
16-09-2016, 05:48 PM
Even worse, pedestrians who press the button and cross when there"s no cars near. Once they've crossed the lights change to red and cars coming are stopped needlessly.
Erchies.
16-09-2016, 05:55 PM
Even worse, pedestrians who press the button and cross when there"s no cars near. Once they've crossed the lights change to red and cars coming are stopped needlessly.
Erchies.Oh yes, this too.
Why? I never press it unless I have to as I'd rather not inconvenience the traffic by giving them a needless red light. I just nip across when it's clearish.
16-09-2016, 06:02 PM
Why? I never press it unless I have to as I'd rather not inconvenience the traffic by giving them a needless red light. I just nip across when it's clearish.
I'm talking about the crossings on busy roads, which only operate once someone has pushed the button.
You walk up to the crossing where a small crowd has gathered, waiting to cross, and you start to wait with them.
Then you have a look at the button to discover no one has pressed the button and you're all waiting there needlessly.
I'm talking about the crossings on busy roads, which only operate once someone has pushed the button.
You walk up to the crossing where a small crowd has gathered, waiting to cross, and you start to wait with them.
Then you have a look at the button to discover no one has pressed the button and you're all waiting there needlessly.
Ah, right. :greengrin
17-09-2016, 11:36 AM
Erchies.
You'd have had to stop if they waited for the green man anyway so it has no impact.
17-09-2016, 02:02 PM
You'd have had to stop if they waited for the green man anyway so it has no impact.
I respectfully disagree. Pedestrians shouldn't need a red light if the road is clear. If they feel they do need a red light for the sake of safety then they should wait till it comes on, then cross. I'd have no problem with that.
17-09-2016, 02:56 PM
I respectfully disagree. Pedestrians shouldn't need a red light if the road is clear. If they feel they do need a red light for the sake of safety then they should wait till it comes on, then cross. I'd have no problem with that.
But you have to stop whether they wait or not. There could be a busy road that clears before the green man comes on.
You then just have a pedestrian standing waiting for no reason when it's perfectly safe to cross. If they wait for the green man, your still waiting anyway. Therefore it has no impact.
The only difference is in one set of circumstances you have to watch someone cross the road while you wait, and the other one you don't.
17-09-2016, 03:45 PM
But you have to stop whether they wait or not. There could be a busy road that clears before the green man comes on.
You then just have a pedestrian standing waiting for no reason when it's perfectly safe to cross. If they wait for the green man, your still waiting anyway. Therefore it has no impact.
The only difference is in one set of circumstances you have to watch someone cross the road while you wait, and the other one you don't.
If they don't press the button Mattie, the car doesn't have to stop unnecessarily.
I think we are viewing this scenario from different angles and so we'll have to agree to disagree.:greengrin
17-09-2016, 05:55 PM
If they don't press the button Mattie, the car doesn't have to stop unnecessarily.
I think we are viewing this scenario from different angles and so we'll have to agree to disagree.:greengrin
I'm with you Snooky. If you press the green man at least have the courtesy to wait on the wee gadge.
20-09-2016, 06:02 PM
When people post interesting thread titles but just put the link in the main body of the thread.
Cmon man. I'm on my phone .
20-09-2016, 06:08 PM
When people comment on the fact that I'm left handed, as if it's some horrible disformity.
20-09-2016, 06:37 PM
Hand dryers that stop/start and last about 2 seconds each time.
20-09-2016, 08:17 PM
When someone says that they're colourblind then someone says(straight away) "what colour is this?".
21-09-2016, 06:14 AM
Folk that don't know the difference between their/there/they're.
21-09-2016, 07:16 AM
Grammar police. :-)
21-09-2016, 10:33 AM
Shower curtains.
21-09-2016, 11:37 AM
People who think it's clever to be the only car parked on the opposite side of the street from everybody else.
Loud conversationists on public transport.
Grass that refuses to grow on a cultured lawn, preferring to penetrate up through a concrete path.
21-09-2016, 03:14 PM
When you know the difference but your ****** phone decides otherwise.
SuperAllyMcleod
21-09-2016, 05:06 PM
Not nearly as bad as "could of" and "would of" instead of "could have" and "should have".
Don't even get me started on to, too and two! [emoji34]
21-09-2016, 05:28 PM
Taps that gush out the water with enough pressure to splash directly onto your groin.
Blocked liquid soap that squirts onto your shirt.
Believe it or not , both have happened numerous times in the past.
21-09-2016, 05:52 PM
Hand dryers that blast out freezing cold air.
21-09-2016, 06:50 PM
Hotel showers that are impossible to get the right water temperature. The slightest nudge in either direction gives you either hypothermia or third degree burns.
21-09-2016, 07:46 PM
Soaps etc that show the soaps gay characters kissing,I just can't abide watching two blokes snogging the face off each other.
21-09-2016, 08:09 PM
Soaps etc that show the soaps gay characters kissing,I just can't abide watching two blokes snogging the face off each other.
Popcorn time coming up! :-)
21-09-2016, 10:41 PM
Blokes that watch soaps.
21-09-2016, 10:54 PM
Blokes that watch soaps.
Oh dear, I don't. Does that makes me a soapdodger? :worried:
21-09-2016, 11:10 PM
Not nearly as bad as "could of" and "would of" instead of "could have" and "should have".
Don't even get me started on to, too and two! [emoji34]
Absolutely!
Where and were as well - how did that become a thing?!
22-09-2016, 06:39 AM
Absolutely!
Where and were as well - how did that become a thing?!
That's the one that gets me too. It's not like it's uncommon, lots of people get these mixed up and I can't understand why. 2 very basic words with completely different meanings. I can forgive people who occasionally mix up there/their, to/too etc... But this one really gets on my nerves.
IrnBru22
22-09-2016, 05:44 PM
I was going to post that. it's particularly bad on trains. Add to that: dryers that have the same heat/force as if someone was breathing on you, Sensors where you have to wave your hands about 10 times before the tap comes on and they stupid automatic doors on train toilets that take ages to close and you're never 100% sure if its locked properly.
Mixu62
23-09-2016, 07:16 AM
Restaurants where the wait staff don't write your order then get it wrong.
23-09-2016, 07:53 AM
Restaurants where the wait staff don't write your order then get it wrong.
Yes! This seems to be a new thing.
23-09-2016, 10:13 AM
Approaching a slower vehicle on the inside lane of a motorway and someone on the outside line sits just behind you too close for you to pull out. They won't give you enough room to accelerate and pull out forcing you to brake and let them past before you can overtake the slow vehicle.
They're either dumbos or jerks.
23-09-2016, 10:51 AM
Approaching a slower vehicle on the inside lane of a motorway and someone on the outside line sits just behind you too close for you to pull out. They won't give you enough room to accelerate and pull out forcing you to brake and let them past before you can overtake the slow vehicle.
They're either dumbos or jerks.
I think the biggest culprits for this are those using cruise control. :agree:
HibbyScott
23-09-2016, 12:16 PM
I think the biggest culprits for this are those using cruise control. :agree:
People who I overtake when I'm using cruise control, only to have them fly past me a few minutes later, before I overtake them again a couple of minutes later when they've slowed down again.
It's a quiet stretch of dual carriageway! Why is your speed all over the place? :grr:
23-09-2016, 12:32 PM
People who pull up alongside you at traffic lights and are like a coiled spring waiting for the lights to change so they can race you, sometimes revving their engines and edging slightly forward waiting for the lights to change so they can burn you off. I like to make eye contact and make them think the race is on, as the lights change I just wait a few more seconds as they roar away and they can see me roaring with laughter in their rear view mirror.
23-09-2016, 12:35 PM
People who I overtake when I'm using cruise control, only to have them fly past me a few minutes later, before I overtake them again a couple of minutes later when they've slowed down again.
It's a quiet stretch of dual carriageway! Why is your speed all over the place? :grr:
It happens to me all the time and I never use cruise control (I'm too scared of falling asleep).
EH6 Hibby
23-09-2016, 12:45 PM
The Scottish Cup being in my work when I'm not working. :grr:
23-09-2016, 05:35 PM
It happens to me all the time and I never use cruise control (I'm too scared of falling asleep).
I used to think that, but I'm now fully converted to cruise control when driving on the motorway. It doesn't make the monotony of motorway driving any worse (or better!), but it does make you a better driver. Without it, it's pretty difficult to keep a constant speed as your mind tends to wander on the longer journeys and speed varies quite a lot!
23-09-2016, 05:59 PM
I used to think that, but I'm now fully converted to cruise control when driving on the motorway. It doesn't make the monotony of motorway driving any worse (or better!), but it does make you a better driver. Without it, it's pretty difficult to keep a constant speed as your mind tends to wander on the longer journeys and speed varies quite a lot!
I used to get hip problems after long autobahn drives due to having light pressure on my right foot. Not anymore thanks to cruise control.
23-09-2016, 06:06 PM
I had the cruise control on when on a journey to the weeg a few months ago. It's was dark and raining and I must have went through a really deep puddle, I almost lost it at 70mph, it seemed to take ages to come back under control. I absolutely shat myself and as a result I don't use it in the rain anymore.
23-09-2016, 06:43 PM
Cruise control, nah no thanks I like to be in full control of the vehicle myself at all times. Tried it and hated it.
23-09-2016, 06:50 PM
I had the cruise control on when on a journey to the weeg a few months ago. It's was dark and raining and I must have went through a really deep puddle, I almost lost it at 70mph, it seemed to take ages to come back under control. I absolutely shat myself and as a result I don't use it in the rain anymore.
You're not meant to use it in heavy rain.
http://www.driverknowledgetests.com/resources/can-you-drive-with-cruise-control-in-the-rain/
23-09-2016, 06:55 PM
You're not meant to use it in heavy rain.
http://www.driverknowledgetests.com/resources/can-you-drive-with-cruise-control-in-the-rain/
I know that now :greengrin
I use it for crossing the Forth bridge where there are average speed cameras. I've got into the bad habit of using the +/- button to slow down which has almost seen me ram into the back of other cars.
Anyway, these stupid faces females of all ages make when they are getting their photo taken. Just smile FFS.
23-09-2016, 07:01 PM
Cruise control, nah no thanks I like to be in full control of the vehicle myself at all times. Tried it and hated it.
But you are in control. Unless you put your legs up and have a sandwich break that is. :wink:
23-09-2016, 08:33 PM
But you are in control. Unless you put your legs up and have a sandwich break that is. :wink:
Or drive with your eyes shut...
24-09-2016, 07:18 AM
No, the car is controlling the cruise speed.
24-09-2016, 07:53 AM
No, the car is controlling the cruise speed.
The driver controls the cruise speed, the car just keeps it going constantly at that chosen speed. The accelerator can still be used to speed up and it's very easy to lower speed if needed. To turn it off altogether, you just need to press the clutch or tap the brakes. The driver is in control at all times.
24-09-2016, 08:47 AM
A football one:
Youth football teams that allow centre backs to take goal kicks. Watching a game this morning and both teams are doing this with the reasoning seeming to be they can hoof it further than the keeper.
Whether you agree with Guardiolas decision making or not there is no doubt that the ability to pass the ball, receive it under pressure and distribute it quickly and accuartely is now a key part of the goalkeepers role. Not doing it at youth level just seems another way to slow youth players development.
24-09-2016, 05:23 PM
The driver controls the cruise speed, the car just keeps it going constantly at that chosen speed. The accelerator can still be used to speed up and it's very easy to lower speed if needed. To turn it off altogether, you just need to press the clutch or tap the brakes. The driver is in control at all times.
It's still being controlled by the car until you override it hence the name cruise control.
24-09-2016, 07:39 PM
It's still being controlled by the car until you override it hence the name cruise control.
What is being controlled by the car? The driver has full control of the speed as previously mentioned, to argue otherwise is just pedantic.
24-09-2016, 10:42 PM
What is being controlled by the car? The driver has full control of the speed as previously mentioned, to argue otherwise is just pedantic.
The speed is being kept at a constant speed by the car until the driver over rides the cruise control, it's not being pedantic it's fact.
24-09-2016, 11:28 PM
The speed is being kept at a constant speed by the car until the driver over rides the cruise control, it's not being pedantic it's fact.
But ultimately you're in control of the cruise control. It's the same as the handbrake, it ensures the car stays stationary until you take it off.
24-09-2016, 11:46 PM
But ultimately you're in control of the cruise control. It's the same as the handbrake, it ensures the car stays stationary until you take it off.
And cruise control ensures the car stays at a constant speed until you take it off and take control of speedy yourself. Anyway it doesn't really matter, I have my reasons for not using it and other folk like using it.
25-09-2016, 08:45 AM
Folk that just won't accept that some people like cruise control and some don't.
25-09-2016, 10:28 AM
My car is driving me down south later today.
25-09-2016, 12:02 PM
My car is driving me down south later today.
Okay David, enjoy your trip in KITT
25-09-2016, 12:06 PM
Folk that just won't accept that some people like cruise control and some don't.
Control freaks!:wink:
Galahibby
26-09-2016, 06:36 AM
Anyway, these stupid faces females of all ages make when they are getting their photo taken. Just smile FFS.
And their equally ridiculous pals who comment on them on Facebook. The most irritating for me currently being "gawjus hun"! Aaarrrrgggghhhh!! They're not words!!
HibbyScott
26-09-2016, 08:46 AM
I use it for crossing the Forth bridge where there are average speed cameras. I've got into the bad habit of using the +/- button to slow down which has almost seen me ram into the back of other cars.
My car has cruise control and a speed limiter as well. I find the speed limiter very handy for going through busy sections of average speed cameras. Stops you going over the average limit, but gives you full control over throttle for when you need to ease off to stop running into the back of other cars :greengrin
26-09-2016, 10:09 AM
And their equally ridiculous pals who comment on them on Facebook. The most irritating for me currently being "gawjus hun"! Aaarrrrgggghhhh!! They're not words!!
Agreed, and all you really want to see commented is 'munter'
IrnBru22
29-09-2016, 12:47 AM
Red Stripe beer - tastes as if someones dropped a cigarette in the can.
29-09-2016, 06:42 AM
If we're going down that road, then Fosters lager. I remember drinking 5 pints of Fosters one night because it was so cheap and I was violently sick when I got home. Called the mate I was with the next day and the exact same had happened to him.... And for the record, it usually takes a lot more than 5 pints for this to happen with both of us :-D
I've heard stories of people coming out in red blotches after drinking Fosters and stories like mine above are not uncommon. I dread to think what is in that cheap watered-down crap.
29-09-2016, 07:40 AM
If we're going down that road, then Fosters lager. I remember drinking 5 pints of Fosters one night because it was so cheap and I was violently sick when I got home. Called the mate I was with the next day and the exact same had happened to him.... And for the record, it usually takes a lot more than 5 pints for this to happen with both of us :-D
I've heard stories of people coming out in red blotches after drinking Fosters and stories like mine above are not uncommon. I dread to think what is in that cheap watered-down crap.
I think it's what's NOT in it might be important in this case. Maybe you and you're mate were going cold turkey due to alcohol withdrawal symptoms. :wink:
29-09-2016, 08:10 AM
Bar tenders who insert the beer tap nozzle into your pint .
29-09-2016, 08:18 AM
They have to do that with real ales do they not? :dunno:
29-09-2016, 09:00 AM
They have to do that with real ales do they not? :dunno:
Nope they don't, it's a horrible practice of sticking a bacteria ridden faucet into your pint.
RamblingJack
29-09-2016, 11:22 AM
People who spell definitely wrong....usually definatley or defiantly.
29-09-2016, 11:44 AM
It's a very commonly used technique to prevent excessive frothing of the beer. Unless the faucet is being touched by bacteria ridden hands or other contamination or left unused for a length of time, I wouldn't think there would be any more build up of bacteria than there is on a glass of beverage being drunk slowly. I can see where you are coming from but, if there was any serious health issue, I'm sure the practice would have been seriously outlawed. The minimal risk of contamination is probably more acceptable than waiting a lifetime for bartenders coping with overflowing frothy beer. :dunno:
IrnBru22
29-09-2016, 12:15 PM
Uneven paving stones after it's been raining, one side sinks and the other comes up and soaks your feet.
29-09-2016, 12:16 PM
I wish all public toilet doors opened outwards as you leave, that way having washed your hands you could leave the toilet without touching any handles.
29-09-2016, 12:18 PM
People who get annoyed when I unintentionally splash them by driving through a deep puddle :greengrin
29-09-2016, 12:22 PM
Puppies who won't behave.....
29-09-2016, 12:50 PM
It's a very commonly used technique to prevent excessive frothing of the beer. Unless the faucet is being touched by bacteria ridden hands or other contamination or left unused for a length of time, I wouldn't think there would be any more build up of bacteria than there is on a glass of beverage being drunk slowly. I can see where you are coming from but, if there was any serious health issue, I'm sure the practice would have been seriously outlawed. The minimal risk of contamination is probably more acceptable than waiting a lifetime for bartenders coping with overflowing frothy beer. :dunno:
That's how I see it - as long as the nozzles are cleaned daily (which is usually the case otherwise te beer's crap. Far more risk from the towels used to dry/polish glasses IMO.
29-09-2016, 01:18 PM
That's how I see it - as long as the nozzles are cleaned daily (which is usually the case otherwise te beer's crap. Far more risk from the towels used to dry/polish glasses IMO.
What a great user name you have for posting on this thread, btw. :greengrin
29-09-2016, 05:19 PM
If you cant pull a decent pint without doing that you re training is required.
It's lazy and unhygienic.
It's also needless. You can get a froth (if required) by half pulling the tap.
I've just had it again this evening . Drives me nuts.
29-09-2016, 06:38 PM
Yep shoddy practice from poorly trained bar staff.
29-09-2016, 08:25 PM
Yep shoddy practice from poorly trained bar staff.
A real OCD pair. :greengrin You'll maybe enjoy this one. A guy was in a busy. bar and just a a few swallies into his pint. He was bursting for a pee but was reluctant to leave his drink unattended so he put a beer mat over his pint and wrote " I've just spat in this pint." When he returned from the loo someone had written below his message " So have I." :na na:
29-09-2016, 10:32 PM
The word 'babe'. Not as prevelant as it used to be a few years ago, but equally as annoying.
Fosters might not be everyone's cup of tea but I've never heard any stories about red blotches or people being sick (after drinking sensibly of course). It's been the "council lager" in many pubs I've frequented and everyone has been fine. The only issues are ones regarding taste and the need for a dash of something to mix it with so maybe it's the hygiene of the establishment you were in that was the issue :hmmm:
30-09-2016, 07:22 AM
Fosters might not be everyone's cup of tea but I've never heard any stories about red blotches or people being sick (after drinking sensibly of course). It's been the "council lager" in many pubs I've frequented and everyone has been fine. The only issues are ones regarding taste and the need for a dash of something to mix it with so maybe it's the hygiene of the establishment you were in that was the issue :hmmm:
Beer tap nozzle infections?
30-09-2016, 10:21 AM
Beer tap nozzle infections?
Don't you start! :greengrin
IrnBru22
30-09-2016, 10:47 AM
People that wear only a t-shirt out uptown when it is absolutely freezing.
30-09-2016, 10:52 AM
My brother in law always did this on the assumption that "ah'll jist lose ma jaikit".
30-09-2016, 12:28 PM
School kids are the worst for this. I used to see hoards of them going to school in shirts or blouses in the middle of January.
Brrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr. :crazy:
30-09-2016, 03:49 PM
I am extremely bad for this!
30-09-2016, 04:12 PM
Folk that stand in groups chatting in the middle of a pavement, blocking the path. Even worse when 90% of the time they park a buggie too.
Men that somehow think its acceptable to wear;
A cheap suit that doesn't fit.
Or
Said suit, or any suit, with trainers or converse rather than shoes. Vile.
Men that think wearing dressed shoes without socks is acceptable. Its utterly ridiculous and you look like a twat.
30-09-2016, 06:12 PM
Folk that stand in groups chatting in the middle of a pavement, blocking the path. Even worse when 90% of the time they park a buggie too.
Men that somehow think its acceptable to wear;
A cheap suit that doesn't fit.
Or
Said suit, or any suit, with trainers or converse rather than shoes. Vile.
Men that think wearing dressed shoes without socks is acceptable. Its utterly ridiculous and you look like a twat.
A man after my own heart. There are a few basic clothing rules that men seem unable to grasp these days.
Shoes and belt should match
Bottom waistcoat button should be left undone
Tie and pocket square should never be the same design/pattern
Also a £120 suit well fitted (for a reasonavle fee from a good tailor) will look infinitely better than an off the shelf £300 suit.
02-10-2016, 07:45 AM
When a person dies and everyone jumps on the bandwagon to say how great a person they were, a model human being, wouldn't harm a fly etc etc.....
When in actual fact, that person was a bit of an ******** their whole life.
02-10-2016, 09:06 AM
When a person dies and everyone jumps on the bandwagon to say how great a person they were, a model human being, wouldn't harm a fly etc etc.....
When in actual fact, that person was a bit of an ******** their whole life.
Even worse must be those who had a personal grudge against someone who died not having the sensitivity to hold their tongues out of respect for those grieving someone they loved.
02-10-2016, 09:36 AM
Even worse must be those who had a personal grudge against someone who died not having the sensitivity to hold their tongues out of respect for those grieving someone they loved.
Agreed, although I'd say that's nowhere near as common.
IrnBru22
02-10-2016, 10:25 AM
Restaurants that don't distribute the tips equally between staff.
02-10-2016, 10:55 AM
People who give you the answer they think you want to hear instead of being honest, causing far more annoyance /upset in the longer term.
02-10-2016, 11:49 AM
Restaurants that don't distribute the tips equally between staff.
That's why if I think my waiter\ess deserves a tip they get it in a handshake as I leave.
02-10-2016, 11:53 AM
That's why if I think my waiter\ess deserves a tip they get it in a handshake as I leave.
Same with me.
I think it's quite common amongst people who have worked/work in the industry and know what the gratuity system can be like.
02-10-2016, 12:39 PM
People who shut their eyes when speaking to you.
02-10-2016, 02:29 PM
A man after my own heart. There are a few basic clothing rules that men seem unable to grasp these days.
Shoes and belt should match
Bottom waistcoat button should be left undone
Tie and pocket square should never be the same design/pattern
Also a £120 suit well fitted (for a reasonavle fee from a good tailor) will look infinitely better than an off the shelf £300 suit.
Buttoning etiquette of a suit jacket is another one.
02-10-2016, 06:55 PM
In pubs :
Getting a pint that has little air bubbles up and down the inside of the glass. It's a sign it hasn't been cleaned and dried properly.
Real ale that's chilled, draught or bottled. It's just wrong.
Filthy tables and bar tops.
02-10-2016, 07:31 PM
In pubs :
Getting a pint that has little air bubbles up and down the inside of the glass. It's a sign it hasn't been cleaned and dried properly.
Real ale that's chilled, draught or bottled. It's just wrong.
Filthy tables and bar tops.
Real ale that isn't cold enough. Should be between 11-13 degrees.
People who call chips and curry sauce "chips and curry"
People who call cheese on toast "roasted cheese"
Honestly, WTF are you on?
03-10-2016, 12:07 AM
"Holibags" or "Jollies" for Holidays :grr:
03-10-2016, 09:34 PM
People who call chips and curry sauce "chips and curry"
People who call cheese on toast "roasted cheese"
Honestly, WTF are you on?
People who say they want a "roll on sausage"
04-10-2016, 04:47 AM
People who don't know what a barm cake is.
04-10-2016, 10:27 AM
Walking into a cubicle in a public/staff toilet to find the lid down. Why?
Ozymandias
04-10-2016, 10:31 AM
People who shut their eyes when speaking to you.
"celebrities" on TV who wear sunglasses in a studio when on a show.
Self important Fuds
EH6 Hibby
04-10-2016, 10:51 AM
People who don't know what a barm cake is.
Trying to get a Roll in Liverpool.
04-10-2016, 11:06 AM
Exactly this. It's no more or less hygenic than drinking out a glass than hundreds of other people have drank from before you that sits and gathers dust overnight and between drinks.
If people here are worried about something as harmless as the nozzle being dipped in the pint then they'd have a heart attacking if they saw some of the things that happen out of their sight but as the saying goes' "what you don't know can't hurt".
As for the comment about its being a shoddy practice by poorly trained staff, you'll no doubt find that 99% of people working these jobs couldn't care less about what practice is good or bad and they just want to get through their 10-12 hour weekend shift on minimum wage as easily as possible so they can get their own beer money to keep them going while they study at Uni something that actually requires half a brain.
04-10-2016, 04:59 PM
Exactly this. It's no more or less hygenic than drinking out a glass than hundreds of other people have drank from before you that sits and gathers dust overnight and between drinks.
If people here are worried about something as harmless as the nozzle being dipped in the pint then they'd have a heart attacking if they saw some of the things that happen out of their sight but as the saying goes' "what you don't know can't hurt".
As for the comment about its being a shoddy practice by poorly trained staff, you'll no doubt find that 99% of people working these jobs couldn't care less about what practice is good or bad and they just want to get through their 10-12 hour weekend shift on minimum wage as easily as possible so they can get their own beer money to keep them going while they study at Uni something that actually requires half a brain.
I wouldn't insert my kitchen tap into a glass if I was pouring someone a glass of water. My taps are cleaned daily.
I have also worked in a bar years ago where they would serve the slops from the drip trays .
04-10-2016, 06:05 PM
Trying to get a Roll in Liverpool.
No problem, just don't expect a roll as you know it.
04-10-2016, 06:20 PM
I wouldn't insert my kitchen tap into a glass if I was pouring someone a glass of water. My taps are cleaned daily.
I have also worked in a bar years ago where they would serve the slops from the drip trays.
I also worked in a bar a long time ago which used the same practice but it was not sharp practice nor was it a conscious attempt to ignore hygiene. The heavy and light beer fonts and drip trays were actually designed as integrated units which automatically recycled the overflow beer. Granted, it would be frowned upon nowadays and probably banned on health and safety grounds but it was the system in those days. If you want to hear about a really unhygienic and illegal practice, I knew a pub where employees were told to throw slops and even abandoned beer into buckets which, in the beer cellar, was strained through muslin sieves and recycled into barrels and canisters. Now, that's a lot more worrying and disgusting than issues with beer nozzles.
04-10-2016, 06:26 PM
I think you've missed the point slightly,I am well aware of what constitutes good and bad hygiene practices and the ideal breeding grounds for bacteria. My point is there is absolutely no need to insert a dirty foreign object into the pint you are about to serve me.
04-10-2016, 07:26 PM
According to 'Wadsworth's perfect serve', some of the recommendations state that the nozzle should remain outwith the liquid at all times, which supports the argument of some. However I question whether the reason for that is more to do with the physics of pouring the pint rather than hygiene issues, because one 'perfect serve' technique requires the long nozzle to be suspended in the liquid at all times. - http://www.wadworthtraining.co.uk/pdfs/Wadworth-Perfect-Serve.pdf :dunno:
04-10-2016, 08:07 PM
According to 'Wadsworth's perfect serve', some of the recommendations state that the nozzle should remain outwith the liquid at all times, which supports the argument of some. However I question whether the reason for that is more to do with the physics of pouring the pint rather than hygiene issues, because one 'perfect serve' technique requires the long nozzle to be suspended in the liquid at all times. - http://www.wadworthtraining.co.uk/pdfs/Wadworth-Perfect-Serve.pdf :dunno:
I reserve my right to be peeved :greengrin:
04-10-2016, 08:09 PM
Fireworks. I like watching the professional shows, but idiots who buy fireworks from a local corner shop and fire them in the middle of residential areas just for the sake of it get on my nerves. My dog is scared of them and it makes her nervous for ages... If we have her off the lead when out for walks, she'll try to run away home if she hears one. All just so a bunch of neds with nothing better can entertain themselves. It's only early October and they've already started 😫
04-10-2016, 08:26 PM
I also worked in a bar a long time ago which used the same practice but it was not sharp practice nor was it a conscious attempt to ignore hygiene. The heavy and light beer fonts and drip trays were actually designed as integrated units which automatically recycled the overflow beer. Granted, it would be frowned upon nowadays and probably banned on health and safety grounds but it was the system in those days.
I believe the blue blazer still uses that system, or at least they did 4 years ago. Supposedly not uncommon in traditional cask ale pubs.
04-10-2016, 09:04 PM
I think you've missed the point slightly,I am well aware of what constitutes good and bad hygiene practices and the ideal breeding grounds for bacteria. My point is there is absolutely no need to insert a dirty foreign object into the pint you are about to serve me.
Agree there's no need by the way but there were definitely people talking about the hygene aspect of it
05-10-2016, 09:22 AM
A real peeve of mine are the people who take the time to type a stupid question on an internet forum/Facebook, for instance "what time is kick off on Saturday?"....
Surely if they can manage to log in and type their daft question they're capable of using google to find out the answer for themselves??
05-10-2016, 10:07 AM
"Holibags" or "Jollies" for Holidays :grr:
They should be shot.
05-10-2016, 11:52 AM
At a gig and the crowd start chanting "here we, here we, here we f*****g go". I'm possibly just old and grumpy but find it utterly chavtastic.
My mate takes great delight in joining the chant just to annoy me 😒
EH6 Hibby
05-10-2016, 12:19 PM
At a gig and the crowd start chanting "here we, here we, here we f*****g go". I'm possibly just old and grumpy but find it utterly chavtastic.
My mate takes great delight in joining the chant just to annoy me 😒
Don't forget the stupid "Ooh Ooh" thing that always gets done as well.
05-10-2016, 04:29 PM
Small lightweight pedal bins.
You stand on the pedal and the thing tips over.