View Full Version : Pet Peeves IV
pollution
21-04-2021, 11:46 AM
Neither my partner and I want a child; we're both very much on that wavelength and we're very comfortable with it. Every time you hear the "Oh, so is a baby the next step?" and you say no, you always get the usual "Oh, you'll regret that when you're older" or "but it'll change your lives" and the like. That in itself is annoying.
We are getting a dog in a few weeks time, and these very same people are saying "Oh, but it's so much hard work" and the like.
What the hell do they think a child is other than hard work and a responsibility?
Wait until you are a bit older and you are asked if you have children and say you don't.
You will have a sympathetic look thrown at you with a perceptible up and down scan from your toes to your head with a near-piteous sneer.
21-04-2021, 02:25 PM
Neither my partner and I want a child; we're both very much on that wavelength and we're very comfortable with it. Every time you hear the "Oh, so is a baby the next step?" and you say no, you always get the usual "Oh, you'll regret that when you're older" or "but it'll change your lives" and the like. That in itself is annoying.
We are getting a dog in a few weeks time, and these very same people are saying "Oh, but it's so much hard work" and the like.
What the hell do they think a child is other than hard work and a responsibility?
Having had both I’d say that the dog was way more hard work and responsibility than the kid ever was!!
21-04-2021, 03:39 PM
Having had both I’d say that the dog was way more hard work and responsibility than the kid ever was!!
I have a wee one who is 9 months old & a dog who is 7 years old who we’ve had since he was 8 weeks old.
All I’ll say is that it’s great that babies wear nappies.
21-04-2021, 04:48 PM
In a similar vein people who end a sentence by trying to force you to agree with them. Usually with a phrase like 'am I right?' or similar.
'The sky is pink with yellow spots, am I right?'
It's deliberately aggressive and provocative. It's the way bullies talk as it's anticipating and trying to provoke conflict.
Funnily enough, I was thinking exactly the same when I read the previous comment.
I've worked with a couple of people that thought only their opinion mattered and they would make statement sound like a question by adding the word 'correct?' at the end, e.g.
"So we each need to increase our productivity by 20% to meet the deadline... correct?"
I always tried to remain professional but it really p1ssed me off.
21-04-2021, 10:41 PM
People that try and convince the rest of the office they are qualified enough to be in the role they are, by not speaking normally.
“Have you got resource/capacity...?”
Just ask me if I'm able to do whatever the fu** it is you’re wanting me to do.
CloudSquall
21-04-2021, 11:17 PM
People that try and convince the rest of the office they are qualified enough to be in the role they are, by not speaking normally.
"How's your capacity for next week?"
"My what?"
"Your capacity?"
"MY ****ING WHAT MATE?!?!?!"
"How's your capacity for next week?"
"My what?"
"Your capacity?"
"MY ****ING WHAT MATE?!?!?!"
Office speak, my lad is a big boss at Scottish Widows and he he talks like this now and then.
22-04-2021, 08:04 AM
Follow 'The state of Linkedin' on Twitter if you want to see some classic business speak and bull****.
I've noticed in recent years a trend for the middle management ****** (as opposed to the middle managers who remain decent people when they get a promotion) speak to be spreading throughout companies. It used to be the preserve of a very particular type but it's more and more widespread and seems to have got worse since the pandemic started. I think working from home and not getting picked up on it and slagged by people for doing it is a big part of the reason.
One of the accounts team in my work always talks about 'touching base' and has definitely expanded her business vocabulary since working from home.
'Can you give me a call next week just to touch base on your aged debtors. I understand that debt chasing isn't one of your core competencies but compensation payments are being made and businesses are reopening so so let's make hay while we have a bit of leverage. If you could just reach out and get those statements over the wall then touch base again with me when it's done that would be taking it to the next level from you'.
**** off.
22-04-2021, 09:49 AM
Follow 'The state of Linkedin' on Twitter if you want to see some classic business speak and bull****.
I've noticed in recent years a trend for the middle management ****** (as opposed to the middle managers who remain decent people when they get a promotion) speak to be spreading throughout companies. It used to be the preserve of a very particular type but it's more and more widespread and seems to have got worse since the pandemic started. I think working from home and not getting picked up on it and slagged by people for doing it is a big part of the reason.
One of the accounts team in my work always talks about 'touching base' and has definitely expanded her business vocabulary since working from home.
'Can you give me a call next week just to touch base on your aged debtors. I understand that debt chasing isn't one of your core competencies but compensation payments are being made and businesses are reopening so so let's make hay while we have a bit of leverage. If you could just reach out and get those statements over the wall then touch base again with me when it's done that would be taking it to the next level from you'.
**** off.
I hate this. I’m working on a project at the moment where this is rife. Acronyms at work are a similar annoyance. My employer is bad for this anyway but on this project it is even worse. At the start of the project we were told by the leadership to avoid using acronyms to make it easier for folk to understand. It is the same leadership who are the worst at coming up with these acronyms.
22-04-2021, 10:08 AM
**** off.
Awesome
CloudSquall
22-04-2021, 10:39 AM
The worst is working abroad in an English speaking office where non-native speakers think using this type of language is impressive.
"Let's take that discussion offline" had become so much of an office favourite at my previous job that it would be repeated at even the mere hint of someone talking about something slightly off topic.
The worst of it iis as they were non-native speakers speaking English I couldn't pull any of them up for speaking like a total knobend.
22-04-2021, 10:40 AM
Posts on forums (including this one) which are just links with no explanation of their content.
I'm not asking for an in-depth critical analysis of no less than a thousand words, but if you want someone to view whatever is linked to, is it too much to ask that you tell them why they might want to?
22-04-2021, 01:28 PM
My company actually has an online dictionary for acronyms, phrases, words, and general bull**** that only we use. Thanks **** I am near to retirement so I can stop taking the helicopter view of people who are pushing the envelope and want to touch base with me or reach out to me to lean in on my experience.
22-04-2021, 01:32 PM
Posts on forums (including this one) which are just links with no explanation of their content.
I'm not asking for an in-depth critical analysis of no less than a thousand words, but if you want someone to view whatever is linked to, is it too much to ask that you tell them why they might want to?
Even just a copy and paste of the article's title if you're not wanting to give your view/a summary of the link.
Obviously the thread which the post is in gives a clue of the overall nature of the article, but it could still be about any old guff.
Bangkok Hibby
22-04-2021, 01:45 PM
So do you click the link nonetheless with an angry stab at your keyboard, or just pass on by? It could be the funniest or most interesting thing you've seen all week or a load of crap. Think of it as an adventure 😂😂😂😂
22-04-2021, 04:01 PM
So do you click the link nonetheless with an angry stab at your keyboard, or just pass on by? It could be the funniest or most interesting thing you've seen all week or a load of crap. Think of it as an adventure 😂😂😂😂
I imagine if I was capable of passing it by more often than not, it wouldn't annoy me so much! :greengrin
22-04-2021, 04:16 PM
People who join the queue of a clearly marked card only checkout in a supermarket then moan and argue with the assistant as they want to pay cash. The assistant was very vocal to the queue reminding everyone it was card only too.
22-04-2021, 04:57 PM
The new Asda lunch meal deal (buy three items and get the cheapest one free).
My work takes me all over the place and it’s become a given that you can walk into a supermarket and exchange three shiny pound coins for a not very good sandwich, a bag of crisps and something to drink. Three quid every time you’re caught without a lunch and you’re good to go. Uninspired but still reliable and readily available.
Buy three items and get the cheapest free is a minefield.
speedy_gonzales
22-04-2021, 05:01 PM
My work takes me all over the place and it’s become a given that you can walk into a supermarket and exchange three shiny pound coins for a not very good sandwich, a bag of crisps and something to drink. Three quid every time you’re caught without a lunch and you’re good to go. Uninspired but still reliable and readily available.
Oooooh, interesting (genuinely). Can you buy 3 sandwiches and get the cheapest free???
Personally, I can't see past Morrisons meal deal. I go for a medium salad (load up on the boiled eggs, leaves, coleslaw, beetroot salad), grab a coconut water and yoghurt. For a grab on the go lunch I always think it's decent value.
23-04-2021, 10:17 AM
People who call a hotly debated topic a “no brainer”.
23-04-2021, 11:00 AM
People who call a hotly debated topic a “no brainer”.
Or a no-brainier 😆
Alfiembra
23-04-2021, 03:27 PM
Discount codes that don’t work.
CloudSquall
24-04-2021, 01:28 PM
Men who wear a suit jacket with a £2 Primark t-shirt underneath. Maximum knobend points awarded when they wear a pair of converses or other type of shoe that they are 20 years too old to be wearing.
There's one guy on TV here in Argentina that adds the hippy "look at my half arsed attempt at a chin beard" look and I struggle to explain my outright rage to my partner.
24-04-2021, 02:54 PM
Powertools, they are the most annoying and obnoxious sounding things that people seem to wait for a nice day to noise and air pollute everyone elses. fannys.
24-04-2021, 02:55 PM
most web sites automatically embed the content when you post a link, .net is still 15 years ago in aspects like this.
24-04-2021, 03:06 PM
most web sites automatically embed the content when you post a link, .net is still 15 years ago in aspects like this.Some stuff is embedded automatically on here.
For example (I just pasted the link)
https://twitter.com/HibernianFC/status/1381226776890839042?s=19
24-04-2021, 03:13 PM
Some stuff is embedded automatically on here.
https://twitter.com/HibernianFC/status/1381226776890839042?s=19Testing, testing...
https://youtu.be/zSyHPmjpXmY
24-04-2021, 03:20 PM
Some stuff is embedded automatically on here.
https://twitter.com/HibernianFC/status/1381226776890839042?s=19
I don't see anything other than the link.
24-04-2021, 03:31 PM
I don't see anything other than the link.It's embedded for me on Tapatalk.
At times YouTube embeds automatically on the Web version too.
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20210424/5b35920eacdd4c57a47fc4c21d7d5de5.jpg
24-04-2021, 06:59 PM
My wife cuts pizza with scissors rather than the pizza cutter. Bizarre!
CloudSquall
24-04-2021, 07:24 PM
Italy would bring back the death penalty for such behaviour.
Santa Cruz
24-04-2021, 09:25 PM
Customers who only want 2 of the 3 items and it ends up costing them more. They would take a main and drink and depending on their choice it could come to 5 pound odds. I'd point out to them if they grabbed any snack they would save about £2. No I don't need it would be the response from quite a few (some would be delighted you'd pointed out the offer), like they couldn't just keep the snack for another time when they would presumably be hungry, or even just give it to someone. They preferred the option of spending more money for a reason I could never fathom.
24-04-2021, 09:46 PM
Customers who only want 2 of the 3 items and it ends up costing them more. They would take a main and drink and depending on their choice it could come to 5 pound odds. I'd point out to them if they grabbed any snack they would save about £2. No I don't need it would be the response from quite a few (some would be delighted you'd pointed out the offer), like they couldn't just keep the snack for another time when they would presumably be hungry, or even just give it to someone. They preferred the option of spending more money for a reason I could never fathom.
A woman in my work does this at Tesco.
Gets a sandwich and crisps every day but never takes the drink. I said to her if she took the drink it would cost £3 instead of anywhere between £3.50 and a fiver. Said she doesn't want the drink. I suggested she put the unwanted drink in the fridge and tell others to help themselves. 'Why should I subsidise someone else's lunch?'
She still can't comprehend she wouldn't be subsidising anyone because it would mean that she was spending less and still getting what she wants. If for whatever reason she wants the plain ham sandwich and a packet of Skips and that comes to £2.70 then by all means don't take the drink.
Santa Cruz
24-04-2021, 09:58 PM
A woman in my work does this at Tesco.
Gets a sandwich and crisps every day but never takes the drink. I said to her if she took the drink it would cost £3 instead of anywhere between £3.50 and a fiver. Said she doesn't want the drink. I suggested she put the unwanted drink in the fridge and tell others to help themselves. 'Why should I subsidise someone else's lunch?'
She still can't comprehend she wouldn't be subsidising anyone because it would mean that she was spending less and still getting what she wants. If for whatever reason she wants the plain ham sandwich and a packet of Skips and that comes to £2.70 then by all means don't take the drink.
Uha, similarly mix and match at Christmas. A fair number would pick up 2 gifts, I would point out they could get another one free out of the cheapest 3. I don't need all this stuff would be the response. Fair enough, did they not think a charity shop might be benefit from the donation? Got to the point I was saying would they consider adding it to their purchase and I would stick it in the community charity toiletries box. Unbelievably some (a minority) would say oh go on then majorly grudging doing so.
24-04-2021, 10:18 PM
Supermarket staff who try to make me buy stuff I don't want and will have no need for 😆
I've seen them being so insistent that I just walk out without buying anything.
24-04-2021, 10:22 PM
Takeaways that are not only one hour late in delivering food, but also lie about it when you phone them.
Santa Cruz
24-04-2021, 10:25 PM
Supermarket staff who try to make me buy stuff I don't want and will have no need for 😆
Upselling in the supermarket? What are they trying to make you buy?
24-04-2021, 10:26 PM
Upselling in the supermarket? What are they trying to make you buy?
A snack. 😂
Santa Cruz
24-04-2021, 10:29 PM
A snack. 😂
Seriously, you have staff asking you to add a snack to your shopping that's going to increase your bill, is this at the checkout?
24-04-2021, 10:30 PM
Seriously, you have staff asking you to add a snack to your shopping that's going to increase your bill, is this at the checkout?
Reduce my bill 😉
25-04-2021, 07:14 AM
25-04-2021, 07:31 AM
Supermarket staff who try to make me buy stuff I don't want and will have no need for [emoji38]
I've seen them being so insistent that I just walk out without buying anything.:greengrin
Santa Cruz
25-04-2021, 09:55 AM
So insistent? I suspect they thought they were helping in trying to make a suggestion to save you money. Anyways, maybe consider the more unfortunate in society with said money saving snack you have no use for and hoy it in the community foodbank box, just another option to consider.
FYI my example wasn't referring to supermarkets.
I suspect we are each others pet peeves :wink:
25-04-2021, 09:59 AM
So insistent? I suspect they thought they were helping in trying to make a suggestion to save you money. Anyways, maybe consider the more unfortunate in society with said money saving snack you have no use for and hoy it in the community foodbank box, just another option to consider.
FYI my example wasn't referring to supermarkets.
I suspect we are each others pet peeves :wink:
I think you've missed the gentle whoosh.... :wink:
Santa Cruz
25-04-2021, 10:01 AM
I think you've missed the gentle whoosh.... :wink:
Were you pulling my leg ?
Bangkok Hibby
25-04-2021, 10:08 AM
Pretty sure he was 😀
Santa Cruz
25-04-2021, 10:37 AM
Pretty sure he was 😀
That's actually come as a bit of a relief even if it is a bit of a ridder for me being slow on the uptake :aok:
25-04-2021, 10:43 AM
Seemed almost too obvious. 😃
Santa Cruz
25-04-2021, 11:16 AM
You're no helping with my ridder status :greengrin
pollution
25-04-2021, 11:24 AM
That is a shocker !
25-04-2021, 11:32 AM
When you watch the highlights of the snooker. Every time they cut to the next frame it starts with a player missing a pot, you can almost tell who’s winning that particular frame from whoever is at the table.
Bangkok Hibby
25-04-2021, 01:22 PM
When you watch the highlights of the snooker. Every time they cut to the next frame it starts with a player missing a pot, you can almost tell who’s winning that particular frame from whoever is at the table.
And every time the golf cuts to a player on the green he holes the putt.
25-04-2021, 04:53 PM
Bog roll
Recently had a few where the first bit is that glued onto the roll I've to rip about 4 or 5 layers in to get it started!
1st world problems :greengrin
25-04-2021, 04:58 PM
And every time the golf cuts to a player on the green he holes the putt.
Aye that’s another one.
25-04-2021, 05:09 PM
Actually, even I got that one, so you should be really embarrassed.
25-04-2021, 05:20 PM
You get 3 for the price of 2. 😁
25-04-2021, 05:21 PM
Unsmoked bacon. Why? Like paying a stripper to compliment you on your choice of shoes.
25-04-2021, 06:08 PM
Unsmoked bacon. Why? Like paying a stripper to compliment you on your choice of shoes.If I was unsure what I was getting I'd generally choose unsmoked as smoked bacon can sometimes be far too salty for me.
Unfortunately they don't do bacon in France so I don't have that problem.
25-04-2021, 07:38 PM
Unsmoked bacon. Why? Like paying a stripper to compliment you on your choice of shoes.
Unsmoked is my bacon of choice.
Knob.
25-04-2021, 09:05 PM
Unsmoked is my bacon of choice.
Knob.
...do you have a nice choice of shoes on?
25-04-2021, 10:01 PM
Whit? I really can’t abide smoked bacon and often wondered just who the hell would but the stuff...seems like I have my answer [emoji2957][emoji23]
Santa Cruz
25-04-2021, 10:54 PM
Bog roll
Recently had a few where the first bit is that glued onto the roll I've to rip about 4 or 5 layers in to get it started!
1st world problems :greengrin
Worse than that. The tin foil, cling film issue where it tears and you can't get the whole width of the roll off. I sort it straight away, but others in the house just leave it and I have to unravel all the end bits until I get back to a full roll width.
26-04-2021, 05:26 AM
...do you have a nice choice of shoes on?
I’m not following but I’m sure that’s my own fault 😂
I find smoked stuff, especially a more premium brand (Simon Howie) shrivels away to nothing and dries out really quickly, then it goes as tough as old boots. Might be something to do with the curing.
26-04-2021, 06:23 AM
I’m not following but I’m sure that’s my own fault 😂
I find smoked stuff, especially a more premium brand (Simon Howie) shrivels away to nothing and dries out really quickly, then it goes as tough as old boots. Might be something to do with the curing.
The biggest problem with bacon, smoked and unsmoked, is that the vast majority of stuff you get in the supermarkets is wet cured rather than dry cured. That's why you get the shrinkage and drying out, they cut corners with the wet curing and all the moisture pumped in just comes rushing out when heat is added to the mix. Dry cured is more expensive because it takes longer but it's one of those things we're paying a bit more is definitely worth it.
On the subject of smoked v unsmoked. Smoked for cooking with, unsmoked for a bacon roll.
CloudSquall
26-04-2021, 11:33 AM
Back on the LinkedIn topic a guy called Mike Winnet was a great laugh to follow on there, he would take the piss out of the "#inspiring!!!!!" fake posts that circulated, unfortunately LinkedIn decided his posts were considered harassment and deleted his account.
I do admit I jumped in on a pile on when some 22 year old knob on a gap yaaahhhh posted a photo of a disabled massage therapist in the Philipines and was boasting about how grateful she was after he gave her a 4 dollar tip, the amount of people replying "inspiring!!!" to what esentially mounted to poverty porn was sickening.
Santa Cruz
26-04-2021, 11:58 AM
Back on the LinkedIn topic a guy called Mike Winnet was a great laugh to follow on there, he would take the piss out of the "#inspiring!!!!!" fake posts that circulated, unfortunately LinkedIn decided his posts were considered harassment and deleted his account.
I do admit I jumped in on a pile on when some 22 year old knob on a gap yaaahhhh posted a photo of a disabled massage therapist in the Philipines and was boasting about how grateful she was after he gave her a 4 dollar tip, the amount of people replying "inspiring!!!" to what esentially mounted to poverty porn was sickening.
How do you pronounce it, is it Linked-In, or, Link-edin? I've heard it pronounced different ways, so not sure which is correct.
26-04-2021, 12:08 PM
How do you pronounce it, is it Linked-In, or, Link-edin? I've heard it pronounced different ways, so not sure which is correct.The former. I'd avoid anyone who does the latter.
Sent from my SM-J600FN using Tapatalk
26-04-2021, 12:13 PM
How do you pronounce it, is it Linked-In, or, Link-edin? I've heard it pronounced different ways, so not sure which is correct.
In my head it's still Link-Edin, probably because the first time I saw it I mistakenly thought it was exclusive to Edinburgh. Knowing the reality, Linked-In makes far more sense.
Santa Cruz
26-04-2021, 12:28 PM
In my head it's still Link-Edin, probably because the first time I saw it I mistakenly thought it was exclusive to Edinburgh. Knowing the reality, Linked-In makes far more sense.
I made the same assumption, then heard various people pronounce it differently so was unclear. Cheers for the replies all.
26-04-2021, 08:48 PM
One of my customers put out a big thing on social media this morning telling everyone to be kind to her staff, pointing out all the worry they have had this last year, telling people to be patient if they are a bit rusty and to understand that not everything will run as smoothly as it once did right away.
Very noble and I wholeheartedly agree with the sentiment. An hour later the same person was shouting and swearing at me on the phone, calling our warehouse staff useless and told a delivery driver to 'get out my ****ing restaurant'. All because she got the wrong size of plates, an error that was resolved within 30 minutes.
Hypocrites. That's the pet peeve there.
26-04-2021, 10:02 PM
Twitter patter
"Ratio"
"Dub"
"Cry some more"
"Rent free"
And, I promise, real humans type these - Lionel pessi. Penaldo, penandes. Obviously referring to their ability to score pens. But I cringe for anyone typing that
26-04-2021, 10:05 PM
Twitter patter
"Ratio"
"Dub"
"Cey some more"
"Rent free"
And, I promise, real humans type these - Lionel pessi. Penaldo, penandes. Obviously referring to their ability to score pens. But I cringe for anyone typing that
And another thing. Girls posting almost naked pics. 1. Keep it for other apps. 2. Stop craving attention from horny boys 3. Leave a little for the imagination and/or significant other
Really irks me. As a dad to two girls, I dread what's to come over the next ten years
26-04-2021, 10:36 PM
Twitter patter
"Ratio"
"Dub"
"Cry some more"
"Rent free"
Things like “go woke go broke”. Or just “woke” in general.
Nobody was using those words three or four months ago. None of them have the brainpower to ask why all of a sudden they’re saying them now.
26-04-2021, 11:17 PM
Things like “go woke go broke”. Or just “woke” in general.
Nobody was using those words three or four months ago. None of them have the brainpower to ask why all of a sudden they’re saying them now.
I only ever really see people using “woke” in a negative way. And the people I see using the term always come across stupid, racist or both. Only my experience or course.
26-04-2021, 11:20 PM
Twitter patter
"Ratio"
"Dub"
"Cry some more"
"Rent free"
Living rent free in someone’s head, when you start a caption/statement with “when you”, inject that into my veins, and “salty tears” are just a few reasons I look back on my retirement from Twitter and Facebook with great fondness.
Bangkok Hibby
27-04-2021, 01:26 AM
Twitter patter
"Ratio"
"Dub"
"Cry some more"
"Rent free"
Seen "living rent free" on Hibs.net plenty times. Also Doigeonaldo etc etc.
The term that boils my piss is "eye bleeding"
27-04-2021, 06:05 AM
"Baller" in relation to a skilled football player, where did that spring from? Does my heid in 😒
27-04-2021, 08:30 AM
You can be having a decent debate on any subject, and guaranteed that some tosser will come along with that "triggered" meme and it's kind of debate over.
It seems to be a tactic of the Social Media right and also the twitter bot farms to debase any discussion into the stupidest format. Even more annoyingly, it's very effective.
27-04-2021, 09:18 AM
Agree with all of the above since my last post. God only knows what my tolerance level will be for folk when I’m actually auld.
Gets worse, I'm of an age where I hate almost everyone and anything, most things just annoy the **** out of me now.
27-04-2021, 09:46 AM
Gets worse, I'm of an age where I hate almost everyone and anything, most things just annoy the **** out of me now.
Oh I can believe it, I’m already headed that way and imagine I’ll only get more out of touch and at odds with (I keep wanting to say the youth of today, but it’s not just them 😂) people/society.
27-04-2021, 11:00 AM
I'm getting like that but thankfully I have no idea what most of the recently mentioned peeves are actually about.
27-04-2021, 03:24 PM
Bought some things for the barbecue planned for the weekend today and noticed that on the pack Tesco had put “get ya grill on”.
It’s “your”, not “ya”. Piss off and stop trying to be cool.
27-04-2021, 04:58 PM
******** football coaches.
Was running home from work tonight and passed a group od lads about 10 or 11ish training. Bear in mind these kids have barely played all year and will be desperate just to kick a ball about.
A guy obviously taking inspiration from the likes of Klopp and Guardiola had them running shuttles barking at them about fitness. Fair enough the guy is giving up his time but what a clown. Let them play football FFS.
27-04-2021, 05:05 PM
******** football coaches.
Was running home from work tonight and passed a group od lads about 10 or 11ish training. Bear in mind these kids have barely played all year and will be desperate just to kick a ball about.
A guy obviously taking inspiration from the likes of Klopp and Guardiola had them running shuttles barking at them about fitness. Fair enough the guy is giving up his time but what a clown. Let them play football FFS.
When my nephew was about 6 or 7 his pal played in the same team, his pal is originally from Spain and from the age of 3 or 4 had been learning football with Barca at that age group before they moved over here
You want to have seen the difference in how good he was with the ball at his feet opposed to the Scottish kids, I spoke to his dad about it and he said we concentrate on running about too much and neglect just playing about with the ball
Really was night and day and confirmed suspicions I'd always had about the way we do things
27-04-2021, 05:09 PM
I'm getting like that but thankfully I have no idea what most of the recently mentioned peeves are actually about.
I'm a wee bit younger than you (though not much) and I have no idea what they're on about either
27-04-2021, 08:15 PM
The kilts-and-porridge borderline racism the Scotland receives on telly. A League Of Their Own is doing a road trip from Loch Ness to London and its total cringe.
pollution
27-04-2021, 11:21 PM
I fell for it again; since when is Beck's brewed in the UK ?
Only beer left on the shelf. Nothing compared to how it used to taste.
27-04-2021, 11:37 PM
The kilts-and-porridge borderline racism the Scotland receives on telly. A League Of Their Own is doing a road trip from Loch Ness to London and its total cringe.
I thought it was very funny.
28-04-2021, 06:43 AM
I fell for it again; since when is Beck's brewed in the UK ?
Only beer left on the shelf. Nothing compared to how it used to taste.
Only ever brewed in Bremen was once their slogan.
When my nephew was about 6 or 7 his pal played in the same team, his pal is originally from Spain and from the age of 3 or 4 had been learning football with Barca at that age group before they moved over here
You want to have seen the difference in how good he was with the ball at his feet opposed to the Scottish kids, I spoke to his dad about it and he said we concentrate on running about too much and neglect just playing about with the ball
Really was night and day and confirmed suspicions I'd always had about the way we do things
Does this not show you that players were better and more skilful in Scotland back in the day when all the kids did was meet in the park with their mates and just play football, kids back then walked about with a football under their arms and played at every opportunity, in the street, their back gardens where ever, unlike nowadays when their heads are facing down at all times looking at a phone screen.
28-04-2021, 05:38 PM
Only ever brewed in Bremen was once their slogan.Then they were bought out by Heiniken
Sent from my SM-G965F using Tapatalk
28-04-2021, 05:56 PM
Only ever brewed in Bremen was once their slogan.Was it not bottled by S&N at Fountainbridge for a while?
pollution
28-04-2021, 06:10 PM
Feel better today, I have my Warsteiner to look forward to. For me, the best lager ever. I came across it on draught at a bar near Torrevieja in Spain.
Over the course of the holiday I had noticed groups of Germen speaking men in the area and found where they were going and I have never looked back.
It's the combination of the bittersweet and smooth that does it !
28-04-2021, 08:24 PM
Feel better today, I have my Warsteiner to look forward to. For me, the best lager ever. I came across it on draught at a bar near Torrevieja in Spain.
Over the course of the holiday I had noticed groups of Germen speaking men in the area and found where they were going and I have never looked back.
It's the combination of the bittersweet and smooth that does it !
Nicknamed "Wobbly" by soldiers serving in Germany.
CloudSquall
28-04-2021, 08:45 PM
To go back to the "old before my time" theme in regards to social media posts, women who post "Goals!!!!!!!" to anything that they want to achieve and "Feels!!!!!!" in reaction to anything that makes them emotional should have the internet taken away from them.
28-04-2021, 09:29 PM
To go back to the "old before my time" theme in regards to social media posts, women who post "Goals!!!!!!!" to anything that they want to achieve and "Feels!!!!!!" in reaction to anything that makes them emotional should have the internet taken away from them.
Truths!!!!
EH6 Hibby
29-04-2021, 12:53 AM
Definitely not just women that do that.
Alfiembra
29-04-2021, 06:31 AM
Credits to all the production companies at the start of films. I hate having to wait while all the 10 second credits appear at the start of films these days to organisations I’ve never heard of and have no interest in. Watched a film last night and there was probably 7 or 8 different companies each getting their own CGI advert slot one after the other and once that was done they all got listed again in lines of text. Whatever happened to a guy banging a big gong and the film starts. Get on with it.
29-04-2021, 12:49 PM
Then they were bought out by Heiniken
And things were never the same again. I stopped drinking it years ago. Reinheitsgebot nicht mehr.
29-04-2021, 01:03 PM
People who start answering a question with so, and others that keep telling you to listen when answering the bloody question.
Ryan Porteous is a prime example. :grr:
pollution
29-04-2021, 06:21 PM
And things were never the same again. I stopped drinking it years ago. Reinheitsgebot nicht mehr.
Agreed ! Imagine the Italian- themed Moretti being brewed at the Gyle.
It is legalised hoodwinking.
29-04-2021, 06:27 PM
Smoking. ****ing smoking. I am currently watching my mother slowly starve to death as she has esophageal cancer, brought on by decades of smoking, and cant swallow. It is a slow painful death. She can barely breathe and chokes on even liquid or her own saliva. I have pretty much had to move in with her and the rest of my family are taking it in turns to come to help out as well.I'm having to help her to the commode that has been put in along with the bed in the living room as she can't use the stairs as she has no energy and is down to five and a half stones. Its so undignified for her to be helped out to the loo and to be dressed by her adult son. You know what the only thing she wants to do is? ****ing smoke!! Even when struggling for breath she can manage a fag!! I am not looking for any sympathy at all but seriously anyone who is still a smoker, I'd love you to see the state of my mother and it would hopefully put you off and make you give up.
29-04-2021, 07:00 PM
Netflix, Amazon and Sky movies. To understand what's being said you need to turn the volume up but when an action scene comes it's so loud that I nearly **** myself.
29-04-2021, 07:12 PM
Smoking. ****ing smoking. I am currently watching my mother slowly starve to death as she has esophageal cancer, brought on by decades of smoking, and cant swallow. It is a slow painful death. She can barely breathe and chokes on even liquid or her own saliva. I have pretty much had to move in with her and the rest of my family are taking it in turns to come to help out as well.I'm having to help her to the commode that has been put in along with the bed in the living room as she can't use the stairs as she has no energy and is down to five and a half stones. Its so undignified for her to be helped out to the loo and to be dressed by her adult son. You know what the only thing she wants to do is? ****ing smoke!! Even when struggling for breath she can manage a fag!! I am not looking for any sympathy at all but seriously anyone who is still a smoker, I'd love you to see the state of my mother and it would hopefully put you off and make you give up.
Sorry to hear that WH, my own mother withered away from cancer after 50+ years of smoking. She'd had to stop when she was taken into a care home but I'm sure she'd have continued if she could have done.
Try not to make her feel too guilty, they're a different generation and it wasn't that long ago that smoking was socially acceptable everywhere and anywhere.
30-04-2021, 10:32 AM
That sounds awful, mate, and you're right, if that doesn't put people off smoking, I don't know what will.
My mother smoked for a couple of years in her early 20s, but gave it up when she got pregnant. She survived a lung cancer scare in her mid 40s, then eventually succumbed to it in her late 60s, leaving behind five children, and loads of grandchildren.
Despite being a non-smoker for most of her life, she had to spent large amounts of her time in the company of smokers...at home, visiting relatives, in shops, at one of her many part-time jobs. There's no way of knowing for certain but it's entirely possible that she suffered because of passive smoking.
Personally, I'd ban the bl**dy things, but I can't see that ever happening.
30-04-2021, 11:12 AM
That sounds awful, mate, and you're right, if that doesn't put people off smoking, I don't know what will.
My mother smoked for a couple of years in her early 20s, but gave it up when she got pregnant. She survived a lung cancer scare in her mid 40s, then eventually succumbed to it in her late 60s, leaving behind five children, and loads of grandchildren.
Despite being a non-smoker for most of her life, she had to spent large amounts of her time in the company of smokers...at home, visiting relatives, in shops, at one of her many part-time jobs. There's no way of knowing for certain but it's entirely possible that she suffered because of passive smoking.
Personally, I'd ban the bl**dy things, but I can't see that ever happening.
When the pro-smoking lobby started wailing that it'd ruin pubs it was taken seriously, but pubs and restaurants are much, much nicer places to be without coming out reeking of smoke. I even remember when people could smoke on the back of buses.
For the sake of protecting employees and customers, it should be banned in public places and any visitors to a house in a professional sense should be entitled to ask for no smoking to take place whilst they work.
Santa Cruz
30-04-2021, 01:57 PM
When the pro-smoking lobby started wailing that it'd ruin pubs it was taken seriously, but pubs and restaurants are much, much nicer places to be without coming out reeking of smoke. I even remember when people could smoke on the back of buses.
For the sake of protecting employees and customers, it should be banned in public places and any visitors to a house in a professional sense should be entitled to ask for no smoking to take place whilst they work.
Agree, and I used to smoke.
Even more mental than the back of the bus rule, was the back of a plane. Remember the days when smoking was allowed in cinema's, how brutal for non-smokers. I feel quite ashamed because although my generation knew smoking was bad for you, unlike people who started in the 50's/60's, there still wasn't the education at school about just how bad it was that thankfully kids get now.
30-04-2021, 09:30 PM
Agree, and I used to smoke.
Even more mental than the back of the bus rule, was the back of a plane. Remember the days when smoking was allowed in cinema's, how brutal for non-smokers. I feel quite ashamed because although my generation knew smoking was bad for you, unlike people who started in the 50's/60's, there still wasn't the education at school about just how bad it was that thankfully kids get now.
Ironically, fires have become more common on airplanes and the air quality has also deteriorated since smoking was banned.
01-05-2021, 07:35 AM
American usage or spelling of words.
01-05-2021, 09:10 AM
Ironically, fires have become more common on airplanes and the air quality has also deteriorated since smoking was banned.
"Why? Because the visible smoke pollution forced the airlines to change the air on a regular basis. These days, with no visible pollution from smoking, airlines fly on what is called "half pack".
They don't change the air as regularly, as it costs money to bring fresh subzero air in from outside and heat it to cabin temperature. By the time you reach your destination the percentage of carbon dioxide in the cabin from breathing is much higher than it should be."
https://www.traveller.com.au/reader-letters-visiting-parliament-a-shambles-gs3vds
01-05-2021, 10:34 AM
American usage or spelling of words.
Uncivilized behavior.
01-05-2021, 10:44 AM
Our neighbour borrowed half a dozen eggs from us last week and moved out 2-3 days later without telling us or giving them back. A bit extreme for the price a 6 eggs, we probably could have come to an arrangement of sorts.
01-05-2021, 11:07 AM
Our neighbour borrowed half a dozen eggs from us last week and moved out 2-3 days later without telling us or giving them back. A bit extreme for the price a 6 eggs, we probably could have come to an arrangement of sorts.
:faf: That’s one hell of a guilty conscience.
01-05-2021, 11:41 AM
People who dont have a clue about things but will argue and insult on the basis of their ignorance.
Im in a Science and Space group on Facebook and commented on a post that sa8d the moon was fixed in orbit and didnt spin on axis.
I replied that it does actually spin on its axis as well as rotating around the Earth.
Well , deary me :greengrin: im getting slaughtered. Getting told to go read a book , stupid , ignorant , how can you be so stupid , are you kidding , you can clearly only see one side etc etc
I just dont understand how folk can respind like that when its obvious they dont have a clue.
01-05-2021, 12:58 PM
People who dont have a clue about things but will argue and insult on the basis of their ignorance.
Im in a Science and Space group on Facebook and commented on a post that sa8d the moon was fixed in orbit and didnt spin on axis.
I replied that it does actually spin on its axis as well as rotating around the Earth.
Well , deary me :greengrin: im getting slaughtered. Getting told to go read a book , stupid , ignorant , how can you be so stupid , are you kidding , you can clearly only see one side etc etc
I just dont understand how folk can respind like that when its obvious they dont have a clue.
Wow...is that some sort of special extension of the flat earth society?
01-05-2021, 01:05 PM
:rules: You only have to return stuff or pay for it if you get caught now. It was up to you to monitor his movements and challenge him, and then up to him to decide whether he was doing anything wrong.
01-05-2021, 01:14 PM
Wow...is that some sort of special extension of the flat earth society?
I think they genuinely thought it doesnt spin and theres nothing wrong with that. Surely though , you would quickly check on Google and apologise but no , I need to go read a book :greengrin:
CloudSquall
01-05-2021, 02:00 PM
Journalists that write headlines like 14 year olds,
"X DESTROYS Y with BRUTAL put down"
"X's EPIC RESPONSE to Y's SICK display"
"X WINS THE INTERNET"
A four year degree to write pish like that, **** right off.
01-05-2021, 04:32 PM
Supermarket bacon. Cut so thin you can see through it.
01-05-2021, 05:05 PM
The snide remarks posters make as a generalisation. E.g. “that can’t be right because I read on here that...” etc
Some folk can fair hold on to petty grievances.
01-05-2021, 05:15 PM
The snide remarks posters make as a generalisation. E.g. “that can’t be right because I read on here that...” etc
Some folk can fair hold on to petty grievances.
Tell me about it. 👍😉
Rocky
01-05-2021, 10:26 PM
The part about only being able to see one side is true though isn't it?
01-05-2021, 11:45 PM
The part about only being able to see one side is true though isn't it?
02-05-2021, 08:33 AM
The part about only being able to see one side is true though isn't it?Which wouldn't be the case if it wasn't turning.
Rocky
02-05-2021, 09:03 AM
Which wouldn't be the case if it wasn't turning.
I'm aware of that, thank you, which is why it was the only part of the post I queried.
It may have been mentioned before but people who change words like Westminster to Westmonster. It just stops the conversation for me.
02-05-2021, 10:23 AM
I'm aware of that, thank you, which is why it was the only part of the post I queried.I'm not pretending to have superior knowledge. It's not even something I'd thought about until it was brought up on here and I can understand why some people think it doesn't rotate.
02-05-2021, 10:32 AM
It may have been mentioned before but people who change words like Westminster to Westmonster. It just stops the conversation for me.
I'm partial to the odd word game and pun.
If I'm having a conversation with someone about Independence and they mention Westmonster the conversations done. How can it be taken seriously? Usually said by middle aged men who use a lot of dad jokes in my experience.
02-05-2021, 11:44 AM
If I'm having a conversation with someone about Independence and they mention Westmonster the conversations done. How can it be taken seriously? Usually said by middle aged men who use a lot of dad jokes in my experience.
What about football, the current buns, jam tarts, Darkheid, Ipox, Cabbage and Ribs, Rantic, Hampden Roar and all the other wee word games and puns. Life would be incredibly dreary without a wee bit of colour, including in language.
That's not the same. It's not words I use but its fitba banter. I'm talking in proper conversations. Anybody who knows me will tell you I can use very colourful language though :greengrin
Bangkok Hibby
02-05-2021, 11:57 AM
Hate it with a passion, especially the stupid pun headlines in the daily papers. Some prick writes these things and an even bigger prick OK's them!
02-05-2021, 12:08 PM
Some of that is awful 'banter'.
Add in St Midden, Murderwell, Castle Greyskull (which doesn't even make sense as that was the home of the good guys), THE Rangers (the simply must be capitalised), Tinycastle and a million others.
02-05-2021, 12:23 PM
I'm not pretending to have superior knowledge. It's not even something I'd thought about until it was brought up on here and I can understand why some people think it doesn't rotate.
Which is fair enough until someone challenges your thought.
The sensible thing is to then use the world wide encyclopaedia now know as Google to check your thought...that would quickly show that it does and why you only see one side.
The alternative is you pile onto the flat Earth society extension on Facebook and spout total nonsense to the very person that knew it rotated in the first place!
Weird how some folk choose the latter route like it’s still 1980 and they can’t be proven wrong there and then!
I had similar in the pub once...dunno how it came up but someone spouted that the Tories could never get a majority in Scotland..never had, never will. I politely informed him that the 1950’s disproved that fact. Nope he wasn’t having it. So I googled said GE results and showed him that the Tories had won twice in 1951 and 1955. Amazingly despite the evidence being there in front of his face he still denied it had ever happened and that it never could or would!
I mean what can you do with people like that!!
02-05-2021, 01:13 PM
That's not the same. It's not words I use but its fitba banter. I'm talking in proper conversations. Anybody who knows me will tell you I can use very colourful language though :greengrin
I know where you're coming from, I just like to expand on some things and try and put myself in the heads of others based on what they say. :greengrin
02-05-2021, 01:14 PM
Hate it with a passion, especially the stupid pun headlines in the daily papers. Some prick writes these things and an even bigger prick OK's them!
Ouch, what about us pricks that buy them:greengrin
02-05-2021, 01:27 PM
Some of that is awful 'banter'.
Add in St Midden, Murderwell, Castle Greyskull (which doesn't even make sense as that was the home of the good guys), THE Rangers (the simply must be capitalised), Tinycastle and a million others.
Aye, but awful banter can be a great source of amusement.
Bangkok Hibby
02-05-2021, 01:31 PM
Ouch, what about us pricks that buy them:greengrin
Haha...no comment!
02-05-2021, 04:12 PM
The sensible thing is to then use the world wide encyclopaedia now know as Google to check your thought...that would quickly show that it does and why you only see one side.
The alternative is you pile onto the flat Earth society extension on Facebook and spout total nonsense to the very person that knew it rotated in the first place!
Weird how some folk choose the latter route like it’s still 1980 and they can’t be proven wrong there and then!
I had similar in the pub once...dunno how it came up but someone spouted that the Tories could never get a majority in Scotland..never had, never will. I politely informed him that the 1950’s disproved that fact. Nope he wasn’t having it. So I googled said GE results and showed him that the Tories had won twice in 1951 and 1955. Amazingly despite the evidence being there in front of his face he still denied it had ever happened and that it never could or would!
You’ll love this one :greengrin
https://twitter.com/_stateoffb/status/1387722992738832389?s=21
02-05-2021, 04:39 PM
Tinycastle
:tsk tsk: Probably the aptest neologism since Shakespeare's time. For decades a football club goes on and on and on about how much bigger they are than their rivals, then spends £200 million building the world-beatingest, war-winningest, glassiest new stadium imaginable, and lies about its size. It turns out to be smaller than their rivals'. Never mind awful banter, it should be compulsory on here.
02-05-2021, 04:56 PM
Finding out that whoever put the bathroom in our home before we moved in made an almighty hash of the plumbing and it's now going to cost several thousand to fix. We're quite frankly just as cheap to get a new bathroom put in which we'll probably end up doing, but it's still a massive, massive headache.
Aye, but awful banter can be a great source of amusement.
Usually only for the banterer :greengrin
02-05-2021, 09:53 PM
Finding out that whoever put the bathroom in our home before we moved in made an almighty hash of the plumbing and it's now going to cost several thousand to fix. We're quite frankly just as cheap to get a new bathroom put in which we'll probably end up doing, but it's still a massive, massive headache.
Are you at all handy?
I've replaced a toilet and inset wash hand basin. All by being careful to see how it comes apart. Seriously, quite simple.
03-05-2021, 10:30 AM
You mean like 'Bluenose'?
03-05-2021, 10:48 AM
Oh, that's a pet peeve of mine.
The *Tories* didn't win a majority in Scotland in 51 and 55: the Scottish Unionist Party did. They were indepedent and distinctive from the Conservatives, even though they took the Tory whip at Westminster, as did the Ulster Unionist Party. They were merged into the Tories to form the Conservative and Unionist Party in the 60s and have been going downhill here ever since.
So, in a sense, your pubversary was correct. :wink:
03-05-2021, 12:20 PM
The *Tories* didn't win a majority in Scotland in 51 and 55: the Scottish Unionist Party did. They were indepedent and distinctive from the Conservatives, even though they took the Tory whip at Westminster, as did the Ulster Unionist Party. They were merged into the Tories to form the Conservative and Unionist Party in the 60s and have been going downhill here ever since.
I can assure you the conversation was not that nuanced ;-)
And if you take the conservative whip at Westminster that nuance really didn’t matter anyway!
03-05-2021, 01:40 PM
Would you say that the CDU didn't win the last election in Germany?
03-05-2021, 01:45 PM
When you arrive in the office after a month of working at home to find that nothing is working in tems of IT - network, server, internet, telephone - nothing. When the IT guy arrives when you're in a meeting and leaves saying it's Orange's fault as they distibute the IP addresses for our equipment. When you then kick up 'a fuss' on the telphone to tell him to get his backside back and get it fixed.
When having come back he discovers that the problem is 100% down to me making an arse of plugging my PCs (2) back in and creating a loop in the circuit.
Oops! :whistle:
03-05-2021, 02:59 PM
When you arrive in the office after a month of working at home to find that nothing is working in tems of IT - network, server, internet, telephone - nothing. When the IT guy arrives when you're in a meeting and leaves saying it's Orange's fault as they distibute the IP addresses for our equipment. When you then kick up 'a fuss' on the telphone to tell him to get his backside back and get it fixed.
When having come back he discovers that the problem is 100% down to me making an arse of plugging my PCs (2) back in and creating a loop in the circuit.
Oops! :whistle:
In summary, your pet peeve is French people (guilty or not).
Sounds fair enough.
03-05-2021, 03:02 PM
Would you say that the CDU didn't win the last election in Germany?
Not in Bavaria they didn't.
03-05-2021, 04:11 PM
Not in Bavaria they didn't.
A rose by any other name...
03-05-2021, 04:30 PM
A rose by any other name...
I think there's more to it than a name. I don't think it's a coincidence that distinctively Scottish Unionists pushing Scotland's agenda but from within the Union did better than a subsidiary branch of the UK Tories has done since. You see the same dynamic in Quebec where the Coalition Avenir Quebec are dedicated to Quebec's interests but within the Canadian Federation.
I think there is a gap in the Scottish politics market for Unionists not controlled from London and they would probably supplant the current Con/Lab/Libs were such a grouping to emerge.
I don't know enough about CSU/CDU to comment if it's a similar thing.
Anyway, I realise I have just put Indy on yet another non-Indy thread.
Anyone got a peeve about that? :greengrin
pollution
03-05-2021, 05:44 PM
I think there's more to it than a name. I don't think it's a coincidence that distinctively Scottish Unionists pushing Scotland's agenda but from within the Union did better than a subsidiary branch of the UK Tories has done since. You see the same dynamic in Quebec where the Coalition Avenir Quebec are dedicated to Quebec's interests but within the Canadian Federation.
I think there is a gap in the Scottish politics market for Unionists not controlled from London and they would probably supplant the current Con/Lab/Libs were such a grouping to emerge.
I don't know enough about CSU/CDU to comment if it's a similar thing.
Anyway, I realise I have just put Indy on yet another non-Indy thread.
Anyone got a peeve about that? :greengrin
Nothing peeves me any more.....
03-05-2021, 07:32 PM
I'm not sure if I have mentioned this before but articles that are about people who I think we are supposed to aspire to but are just smug bull**** completely lacking in anything resembling self awareness.
I read one recently featuring a woman talking about the 'secret' to paying of a mortgage before the age of 40. She blabbed on for a bit about working hard and trying to save a bit and basically all the stuff that loads of people try to do. Then she casually mentioned the substantial monetary gift from her parents to put down as a deposit on 3 buy to let flats. Oh then she married a man who already had a mortgage on a £400K house with over 50% of it paid off. She then sold 2 off her properties at a huge profit to pay off most of the rest. The 'secret' there is having wealthy parents. I'm sure she does work hard and I'm sure using coupons to save a few pounds a month at the shops helps but loads of people do that and don't have the same advantages.
There's loads of it about. People boasting about their amazing lifestyles thanks to their 'side hustle' on Etsy before casually dropping in the 6 figure trust fund as a throwaway line.
I'm not going to decry someone for being in a fortunate financial position and having a few advantages or privileges in life but at least have a bit awareness of them.
04-05-2021, 06:22 AM
I'm not sure if I have mentioned this before but articles that are about people who I think we are supposed to aspire to but are just smug bull**** completely lacking in anything resembling self awareness.
I read one recently featuring a woman talking about the 'secret' to paying of a mortgage before the age of 40. She blabbed on for a bit about working hard and trying to save a bit and basically all the stuff that loads of people try to do. Then she casually mentioned the substantial monetary gift from her parents to put down as a deposit on 3 buy to let flats. Oh then she married a man who already had a mortgage on a £400K house with over 50% of it paid off. She then sold 2 off her properties at a huge profit to pay off most of the rest. The 'secret' there is having wealthy parents. I'm sure she does work hard and I'm sure using coupons to save a few pounds a month at the shops helps but loads of people do that and don't have the same advantages.
There's loads of it about. People boasting about their amazing lifestyles thanks to their 'side hustle' on Etsy before casually dropping in the 6 figure trust fund as a throwaway line.
I'm not going to decry someone for being in a fortunate financial position and having a few advantages or privileges in life but at least have a bit awareness of them.
Hearts could bring out an article about how to be a successful Championship club, casually forgetting about FoH, the benefactor (and Brora for that matter)
04-05-2021, 07:19 AM
Donald Trump the self-made man who denies receiving hundreds of millions from his father?
04-05-2021, 09:00 AM
Aha I’m sure I read the same article and thought exactly the same!
Basically if you have capital you can make more....the big revelation of money makes money if yer half sensible!
As you say there is tons of that type of thing about and it’s well deserving of a peeve!
04-05-2021, 10:18 AM
The term 'Cultural Appropriation' and how widely it's used for things that are just so trivial (and ridiculous).
White guy dares to get deadlocks and is decried for 'Cultural Appropriation', because it's a 'black thing' (that was actually the phrase used).
White Chef dares to make some Caribbean food on a TV show and it's 'Cultural Appropriation'.
Millions of people the world over sent their kids to school in tartan kilts.
Q: Is that 'Cultural Appropriation'?
A: Who gives a ****!
04-05-2021, 10:48 AM
That actually reminds me of a series of articles by a newspaper - one seems to have a vendetta against the food writer and activist Jack Monroe who learned how to feed herself and her child through tinned and frozen food for literally pennies a meal. She's since published cookbooks of these recipes to help those in that position to be able to recreate it. Brilliant, but as she's left wing and LGBTQ+ she constantly gets a pasting from this paper.
The same paper ran a story about a middle class mother who has a YouTube channel posting videos of her making recipes from the "use by today" yellow sticker items from supermarkets - in other words not something that can be replicated unless you get the exact same things from the yellow sticker section on a different day. She was described as "clever" and was praised heavily.
Funny how the one who publishes something actually useful is the one who gets panned.
04-05-2021, 01:04 PM
The very common trend of people saying something provocative, getting a reaction then wanting to play the victim. See most Tories, failed actors and the like.
Alfiembra
04-05-2021, 03:18 PM
Surely you enjoyed “Super Caley go Ballistic Celtic are Atrocious”
Bangkok Hibby
04-05-2021, 03:31 PM
That was clever wasn't it? That's 2 now across the threads I'll concede are good. The other daily onslaught of drivel gives me the dry boak.
04-05-2021, 04:41 PM
The term 'Cultural Appropriation' and how widely it's used for things that are just so trivial (and ridiculous).
White guy dares to get deadlocks and is decried for 'Cultural Appropriation', because it's a 'black thing' (that was actually the phrase used).
White Chef dares to make some Caribbean food on a TV show and it's 'Cultural Appropriation'.
I’ve seen that so often I’m beginning to think what would happen the other way around.
Saw two Chinese dudes at my golf course recently learning to play...since golf is a game from Scotland I wonder if that could be classed as them culturally appropriating my sport?
On TV recently I saw a Japanese lass wearing doc martins...a rather British style of footwear so were they appropriating British culture?
Would seem odd to lambast either of them for doing perfectly normal things but going by some of the cultural appropriation stuff I’ve seen you never quite know.
Also I occasionally ponder what on Earth is wrong with a bit of cultural appropriation....seems to me it’s something that should be welcomed when a culture’s habits or whatever are shared and taken on by others. Surely it’s a sign of acceptance and integration...the very thing that I thought people from different cultures would value and celebrate.
Ach it’s a funny old world sometimes I suppose and without that this thread would have a lot less peeves on it!! [emoji2957]
speedy_gonzales
04-05-2021, 05:20 PM
As a "privileged" white (getting close to middle age :rolleyes: ) male, apparently I'm not afforded comment on such matters (so I was told on Twitter), and normally I don't get involved. But, last summer I got more than a little frustrated when Adele got lambasted for tying her hair up in "Bantu" knots, in celebration of Notting Hill Carnival. She got ripped apart by loads of people on all media forums.
FFS, her hair was in buns, I was doing it to my daughters hair as soon as it was long enough. This really shouldn't be looked upon as cultural appropriation/misappropriation.
If anything, people have been copying peoples since time began, look at fashion, tattoos & piercings. Many of them can probably be traced to a vague region on this small planet but they have been embraced & emulated the world over. If anything, the offended peoples should be flattered at the others worldly outlook.
04-05-2021, 05:37 PM
As a "privileged" white (getting close to middle age :rolleyes: ) male, apparently I'm not afforded comment on such matters (so I was told on Twitter), and normally I don't get involved. But, last summer I got more than a little frustrated when Adele got lambasted for tying her hair up in "Bantu" knots, in celebration of Notting Hill Carnival. She got ripped apart by loads of people on all media forums.
FFS, her hair was in buns, I was doing it to my daughters hair as soon as it was long enough. This really shouldn't be looked upon as cultural appropriation/misappropriation.
If anything, people have been copying peoples since time began, look at fashion, tattoos & piercings. Many of them can probably be traced to a vague region on this small planet but they have been embraced & emulated the world over. If anything, the offended peoples should be flattered at the others worldly outlook.
Actually, I'd forgot about that one.
I have to be honest that I genuinely think there are some people out there (probably a very small number) determined to be outraged and a vast array of media outlets that enjoy posting their views to be controversial and also to cash in on whatever cause is currently in the limelight.
Here's a few more counter examples:
Anybody wearing Paisley pattern that isn't from Paisley.
Have you ever worn Slippers? Did you know they originate from South-East Asia (China and Vietnam)?
Jeans, if worn by anybody that wasn't in the French navy in the 18th/19th century, should be a crime.
Side hustle. Or to be more exact, the attitude of some of the people who have them
firstly, and I’ll apologise now if this reads as sexist as it’s not meant that way at all, some of the females who do these things, and the stream of ‘mums making this work’, ‘at it like only mums can’, ‘mothers meeting their breaking point and making it happen anyway’. It comes across as if dads don’t provide or bother, or men in general. It’s not all women doing a side hustle who make these kind of comments, I just find them patronising, which is the opposite of the point of them.
secondly, this applies to men and women, when they pressure you to join their thing, but try to frame it that they’re doing you a favour, and ignore the polite refusal they’ve had and keep pushing you. Lots of replies like ‘yeah but you must have some spare time’, ‘Yeah but you could find a new way of living’, ‘yeah but I know someone who’s name I was told and not actually met or even seen in real life who has bought a fleet of cars and their own private island by doing this side hustle for 2 hours a week and raising 4 kids’.
side hustles that seem to begin as ‘sell these products and make a commission’ and swiftly lead to recruiting others and becoming a “life coach” to your team, where you make money from their sales.
people who brag about how early they get up and late they work on their side hustle, preaching their work ethic and the lifestyle it brings them, whilst simultaneously being lazy *******s at their job and often late etc, even though it’s their job that provides 90% of their income and where their negative behaviour affects others much more than the side hustle.
finally, the smug expression they give when they’re asked any questions that challenge or question their extreme belief in who amazing their side hustle is. When you ask about why other people make money off of their work, or why, since it’s such an amazing product, it can’t be found on tv or newspaper advertising or available in big shops or online retailers, or or why they are given strict scripts to follow rather than information to share, and so on. They give you this semi-pitied look as if you’re incapable of seeing how they’ve got the answer
and breath :greengrin
CloudSquall
04-05-2021, 08:08 PM
I don't know if it's LinkedIn, Instagram, or social media in general that has caused it but this idea that getting 4 hours sleep a night in order to "hustle" is horrific, not to forget the people that celebrate it with the required "smashing it bro" styled replies.
05-05-2021, 07:01 AM
Side hustle. Or to be more exact, the attitude of some of the people who have them
firstly, and I’ll apologise now if this reads as sexist as it’s not meant that way at all, some of the females who do these things, and the stream of ‘mums making this work’, ‘at it like only mums can’, ‘mothers meeting their breaking point and making it happen anyway’. It comes across as if dads don’t provide or bother, or men in general. It’s not all women doing a side hustle who make these kind of comments, I just find them patronising, which is the opposite of the point of them.
secondly, this applies to men and women, when they pressure you to join their thing, but try to frame it that they’re doing you a favour, and ignore the polite refusal they’ve had and keep pushing you. Lots of replies like ‘yeah but you must have some spare time’, ‘Yeah but you could find a new way of living’, ‘yeah but I know someone who’s name I was told and not actually met or even seen in real life who has bought a fleet of cars and their own private island by doing this side hustle for 2 hours a week and raising 4 kids’.
side hustles that seem to begin as ‘sell these products and make a commission’ and swiftly lead to recruiting others and becoming a “life coach” to your team, where you make money from their sales.
people who brag about how early they get up and late they work on their side hustle, preaching their work ethic and the lifestyle it brings them, whilst simultaneously being lazy *******s at their job and often late etc, even though it’s their job that provides 90% of their income and where their negative behaviour affects others much more than the side hustle.
finally, the smug expression they give when they’re asked any questions that challenge or question their extreme belief in who amazing their side hustle is. When you ask about why other people make money off of their work, or why, since it’s such an amazing product, it can’t be found on tv or newspaper advertising or available in big shops or online retailers, or or why they are given strict scripts to follow rather than information to share, and so on. They give you this semi-pitied look as if you’re incapable of seeing how they’ve got the answer
I have someone in my work who does that pyramid make up scheme.
Cant remember the name of the company but i googled it and it is a total scam.
Mentioned my thoughts to her and she now basically doesnt really speak to me now "as she doesnt need negativity in her life".
That's straight out of a cults handbook.
05-05-2021, 11:09 AM
That's straight out of a cults handbook.
Spelling error in one of those words?
05-05-2021, 01:29 PM
Theres a woman I work with (fortunately she is full time WFH, I'm in the office) who has 2 or 3 of these ventures on the go, and is actively promoting her pish while on the clock of her main job. Candles, creams and cock-ups are the three things shes most known for round the place.
05-05-2021, 02:23 PM
Theres a woman I work with (fortunately she is full time WFH, I'm in the office) who has 2 or 3 of these ventures on the go, and is actively promoting her pish while on the clock of her main job. Candles, creams and cock-ups are the three things shes most known for round the place.
She’s selling WHAT?
Reminds me of a story my ex told me about. She’s a primary school teacher and one of the kids in the P1 class went into their bag, pulled out a big envelope and presented it to the very young teacher saying it was for her from her mummy. Said teacher opens the envelope to find a catalogue for adult toys and clothing. Turns out the mum was a sort of Avon-style rep and was trying to sell stuff to the other parents at the school drop-off. The bell rang, she put the envelope into the kid’s bag who assumed it was for the teacher given that’s who any other envelopes that her mum puts in the bag are for.
05-05-2021, 06:27 PM
I know à woman who does the Juice Plus thing (called Club W here). She was doing well enough from it money wise that she packed in her job as a teacher.
However;
Despite loads of Facebook etc. posts about being so lucky to work from home and choose her hours, she works far more than she did teaching, without the long holidays and at all hours every day including weekends.
She went on one of their diet/cleansing programme things which is meant to last something like 6 or 12 weeks. That's almost 3 years she's been on it and has had some unusual health issues.
She's in the crap financially as she didn't set any of her earnings aside to pay her tax and other charges. Her husband doesn't earn a lot and they risk losing their house.
Despite all this she's still constantly advertising to hook new people into the set up.
CloudSquall
05-05-2021, 06:39 PM
What price can you really put on the social media dopamine hits though?
CloudSquall
05-05-2021, 06:44 PM
On the subject of "hustles" , is the "change your lifestyle with Forex trading" type pyramid schemes a thing in Scotland?
I went down the rabbit hole on Facebook and someone my parents know in Spain (an "expat" who has had about 20 different odd jobs there..) is constantly posting about "life changing" gains and "five figure" days with a "members only strategy".
I know that you shouldn't judge a book by it's cover but his "Forex brotherhood" all appear to be the type I wouldn't trust to get the messages in never mind turning in 10k a day with Forex.
05-05-2021, 06:47 PM
People who know nothing about a subject and when being told about it go "mm-hmm", "of course" and "yeah" rather than listen and learn.
Peanut Shaz
05-05-2021, 07:14 PM
TV chefs when cooking. "Put in the oven at 170 for 30 mins. 20 if a fan oven". Some of the population still use gas, so giving us the gas equivalent would be useful. "Or Gas mark 7 etc etc".It really gets on my nerves.
Santa Cruz
05-05-2021, 07:53 PM
I laughed at this post. I sort of used to be that woman about 20 years ago. I can't remember the name of the company, they were massive and sold CD's. You subscribed and they sent you so many per month. The downside was, they just kept coming and if you didn't return them by a set time you had to pay (I think that's how it worked, it's hard to remember what the appeal to it was now). There was always refer a friend offers, so I actively used to go round the office/family recruiting new members to supplement my own CD collection free of charge.
I met a bloke I worked with who I hooked in about 5 years later and he swore he thought his credit rating had been trashed due to not returning or paying for what he described as a mountain of CD's he didn't even want. I thought I was being an entrepreneur, don't think he viewed it that way, we had a laugh about it so all was good. :greengrin
05-05-2021, 07:56 PM
It's election time so the 'take a pen so they can't rub out the pencil' brigade are out in force again. Attention seeking pish.
Ironically taking your own pen or pencil is being encouraged this year but not for the reasons the conspiracy theorists put forward.
Santa Cruz
05-05-2021, 08:04 PM
It's election time so the 'take a pen so they can't rub out the pencil' brigade are out in force again. Attention seeking pish.
Ironically taking your own pen or pencil is being encouraged this year but not for the reasons the conspiracy theorists put forward.
Glasgow have purchased 250,000 pencils for one use only at Polling stations. Other LA's may have done the same, I heard the Glasgow story on the News.
05-05-2021, 08:05 PM
TV series being called “seasons”.
05-05-2021, 09:02 PM
I laughed at this post. I sort of used to be that woman about 20 years ago. I can't remember the name of the company, they were massive and sold CD's. You subscribed and they sent you so many per month. The downside was, they just kept coming and if you didn't return them by a set time you had to pay (I think that's how it worked, it's hard to remember what the appeal to it was now). There was always refer a friend offers, so I actively used to go round the office/family recruiting new members to supplement my own CD collection free of charge.
I met a bloke I worked with who I hooked in about 5 years later and he swore he thought his credit rating had been trashed due to not returning or paying for what he described as a mountain of CD's he didn't even want. I thought I was being an entrepreneur, don't think he viewed it that way, we had a laugh about it so all was good. :greengrin
Britannia?
Santa Cruz
05-05-2021, 09:13 PM
Britannia?
Yes, thank you, it was annoying me I couldn't remember the name. I'm still wracking my mind what the appeal was, I'm thinking it was some free CD's with my first order although can't be certain.
05-05-2021, 09:18 PM
Yes, thank you, it was annoying me I couldn't remember the name. I'm still wracking my mind what the appeal was, I'm thinking it was some free CD's with my first order although can't be certain.
Ahh I vaguely remember that!
Sure you got 3 for the price of 1 or something first time around and they would then send you their top choice or two every month...which you then had to send back if you didn’t want it or they would charge you.
Like you it’s all lost in the mists of time but sure I got roped into that at one point!
05-05-2021, 09:18 PM
That's what roped me in, I never really got involved in trying to get others along for the ride though.
05-05-2021, 10:07 PM
Britannia?
https://everyrecordtellsastory.files.wordpress.com/2017/08/img_4257.png
I signed up for it when I bought my first cd player (1990 I think?) It was a cheap way to actually have something to play on it.
06-05-2021, 08:57 AM
It so not so much her peddling her wares that annoys me, it's her doing it on company time while shes got a shedload of actual work to get through!
On a side not SC, that sound like an absolute con :greengrin
06-05-2021, 11:06 AM
https://everyrecordtellsastory.files.wordpress.com/2017/08/img_4257.png
I signed up for it when I bought my first cd player (1990 I think?) It was a cheap way to actually have something to play on it.
I remember somehow ending up with a Mike & The Mechanics CD...
06-05-2021, 11:16 AM
I never liked that one, because it wrote Thistle out of existence. But that's just me.
06-05-2021, 11:35 AM
I remember somehow ending up with a Mike & The Mechanics CD...
Nobody's Perfect (1988) 😉
Santa Cruz
06-05-2021, 06:13 PM
It so not so much her peddling her wares that annoys me, it's her doing it on company time while shes got a shedload of actual work to get through!
On a side not SC, that sound like an absolute con :greengrin
Yeah in hindsight it certainly was. I eventually ended up flogging my substantial collection to Music Magpie. Bizarrely, I was getting offered 80p or thereabouts for Prince, Oasis, George Michael etc CD's and a whopping £6 for The Nolan's Greatest Hits! Cue the slagging off re: my eclectic music collection. Also had Mike and the Mechanics :greengrin
06-05-2021, 06:14 PM
I remember the Britannia music catalogues.
I suppose it was just an analogue version of something like Audible.
06-05-2021, 06:29 PM
I remember the Britannia music catalogues.
I suppose it was just an analogue version of something like Audible.I've still got most of the LPs purchased in the 70s & 80s via Brittania. The one I gave away was the one I was sure I was going to like. Rainbow Rising. Couldn't bear it, still can't and no idea why. Was right up my street.
07-05-2021, 06:05 PM
Dealing with mobile phone contracts. Been on Vodafone for a while, and seen a stonking deal on an iPhone 12 Pro, also through Vodafone but through a third party. Directly through them it was £15 a month more for a standard iPhone 12 with half of the storage space.
"That's a great price, who is it with?"
"Yourselves, through *third party name* (forget what one it was)"
"Oh, that's only available through them. We can do you the standard iPhone 12 for (what was still more per month than the 12 Pro)"
"In that case I'll cancel my contract".
"You won't be able to use your PAC code with this as it's also Vodafone"
"Perfect, I've found a similar deal with another network, I'll leave Vodafone altogether".
They then tried to win me back round by telling me how much it would cost to end the agreement, but it ended up with a £4 rebate to myself :greengrin
Quite amazing that what could be an easy upgrade (which I'd be willing to pay an extra couple of quid for to save the hassle of switching) ended up in driving me away from Vodafone completely.
Rocky
07-05-2021, 06:09 PM
Dealing with mobile phone contracts. Been on Vodafone for a while, and seen a stonking deal on an iPhone 12 Pro, also through Vodafone but through a third party. Directly through them it was £15 a month more for a standard iPhone 12 with half of the storage space.
"Oh, that's only available through them. We can do you the standard iPhone 12 for (what was still more per month than the 12 Pro)"
"Perfect, I've found a similar deal with another network, I'll leave Vodafone altogether".
They then tried to win me back round by telling me how much it would cost to end the agreement, but it ended up with a £4 rebate to myself :greengrin
Quite amazing that what could be an easy upgrade (which I'd be willing to pay an extra couple of quid for to save the hassle of switching) ended up in driving me away from Vodafone completely.
Vodafone are an absolute pain in the arse if you're a loyal customer. I persevered for years (with four contracts) because I always got a good deal eventually. Given up now and moved to O2 through mobile phones direct.
07-05-2021, 07:08 PM
Sounds like you got it sorted but the PAC thing is easy to overcome.
Take out the new contract with the same provider.
Order a PAYG sim from Giffgaff or whoever and port your number to that.
Once done get a new PAC from Giffgaff and port back to the original provider.
It’s ridiculous you have to do that but on the flip side it’s dead easy and can be done in a couple of days or so.
07-05-2021, 07:17 PM
It’s ridiculous you have to do that but on the flip side it’s dead easy and can be done in a couple of days or so.
TBF if it's going to be used against me I'd much rather just move provider.
They also offered a years free Spotify Premium or Amazon Prime; for both of them it would still be cheaper to take the new deal and just pay for either of those services.
07-05-2021, 09:08 PM
Not a pet peeve as such but seeing as we're on the subject of moaning about companies and sales strategies...
McQueens Dairies. Their rep came to the door during lockdown which was enough to get my back up to start with. Wanted me to sign up to deliveries of milk to my door, but I wasn't interested. He continued with what I'd described as the "hard sell" approach including offering a free trial. I told him I wasn't interested, at which point he tried to give me a leaflet which I explained I didn't want, particularly due to Covid concerns, to which he said "it's only a leaflet".
Fast forward three months and another rep comes to the door - he spoke to my wife so not sure if it was the same guy. She was busy dealing with our 11 month old so didn't want to talk. He deployed the same hard sell and offered the free trial, which she accepted in order to get rid of him.
The service was fine but was less convenient for us than buying from the local shop and cost more. When the company called after the first delivery, they advised they were calling to take our bank details. When my wife said we didn't want to go ahead, they said they'd phone again after the next delivery.
When they phoned again, they again asked for our bank details. My wife said we didn't want to go ahead, which led to more hard sell which didn't work this time. They then advised they'd need our card details for payment for the milk we'd received so far. My wife advised them the rep said it was a free trial, to which they said they don't offer free trials!
I phoned to complain and, after a long delay, finally got through to someone who again started the hard sell. They made various claims about the benefits of their service and I asked for more information on certain points. They had absolutely nothing to offer to back up their claims.
Having looked into reviews of the company, quite a few folk have been stung by the "free" trial offer.
07-05-2021, 10:31 PM
Not a pet peeve as such but seeing as we're on the subject of moaning about companies and sales strategies...
McQueens Dairies. Their rep came to the door during lockdown which was enough to get my back up to start with. Wanted me to sign up to deliveries of milk to my door, but I wasn't interested. He continued with what I'd described as the "hard sell" approach including offering a free trial. I told him I wasn't interested, at which point he tried to give me a leaflet which I explained I didn't want, particularly due to Covid concerns, to which he said "it's only a leaflet".
Fast forward three months and another rep comes to the door - he spoke to my wife so not sure if it was the same guy. She was busy dealing with our 11 month old so didn't want to talk. He deployed the same hard sell and offered the free trial, which she accepted in order to get rid of him.
The service was fine but was less convenient for us than buying from the local shop and cost more. When the company called after the first delivery, they advised they were calling to take our bank details. When my wife said we didn't want to go ahead, they said they'd phone again after the next delivery.
When they phoned again, they again asked for our bank details. My wife said we didn't want to go ahead, which led to more hard sell which didn't work this time. They then advised they'd need our card details for payment for the milk we'd received so far. My wife advised them the rep said it was a free trial, to which they said they don't offer free trials!
I phoned to complain and, after a long delay, finally got through to someone who again started the hard sell. They made various claims about the benefits of their service and I asked for more information on certain points. They had absolutely nothing to offer to back up their claims.
Having looked into reviews of the company, quite a few folk have been stung by the "free" trial offer.
That’s a shocker. We used them last year as well and although convenient it was very expensive so we cancelled. Of course when we cancelled we were offered a loyalty rate (which was still more expensive than Tesco) which annoyed me - why not offer your best price all the time instead of when I’m going to leave.
Bangkok Hibby
09-05-2021, 07:07 AM
Twitter patter
"Ratio"
"Dub"
"Cry some more"
"Rent free"
I refer you to the Christian Doidge thread on the main board right now.
10-05-2021, 12:08 PM
Quite amazing that what could be an easy upgrade (which I'd be willing to pay an extra couple of quid for to save the hassle of switching) ended up in driving me away from Vodafone completely.Had similar issues with 02. Wanted to stay with them but negotiate a data only deal. They kept insisting there was no negotiation. Switch to Giff Gaff which runs on O2 infrastructure and immediately had a better contract for half the cash. They then doubled the data about a month later.
Its probably not the PAC code. The phone will be locked to the Vodafone network but they have to send you the unlock code if you move. My issue was Carphone warehouse sold me it so O2 never owned the phone. The switch sim however worked and then it was easy to retain my number.
10-05-2021, 12:24 PM
I refer you to the Christian Doidge thread on the main board right now.
Tapitino!
11-05-2021, 10:40 AM
The ridiculous pomp around the Queens speech to Parliament today.
The Crown driven there in a Daimler, a big stick, knocking on the door, yada yada yada
11-05-2021, 11:30 AM
Going to the dentist :ill:
11-05-2021, 11:36 AM
Listening to LBC, they have 2 adverts for new podcasts - one is hosted by Ruth Davidson and the other advert features Priti Patel - hearing these voices without warning and totally unsolicited is probably worse than a pet peeve tbh.
11-05-2021, 03:12 PM
The woman that follows up the station jingle on Radio X (and presumably other Global radio stations) with “from Global”. Totally irrational but her voice makes me want to smash up the radio.
11-05-2021, 04:18 PM
Listening to LBC, they have 2 adverts for new podcasts - one is hosted by Ruth Davidson and the other advert features Priti Patel - hearing these voices without warning and totally unsolicited is probably worse than a pet peeve tbh.
A year or so ago they had a trailer for the Nick Ferrari show (which is bad enough) but the advert had someone calling in who obviously worked in a school and was explaining that the climate emergency on the go has led to some of her pupils expressing that they don't want to have a child in the future. Nick Ferrari's response was along the lines of "Well I hope you've taught them what a folly that is" and that was it, end of jingle.
What business is it of that utter buffoon as to whether others want to raise a child or not?
12-05-2021, 11:29 AM
Putting the contents of a baguette on carefully so it doesn't spill out, closing it then when noticing that you've done it upside down, stressing over whether to dismantle it and do it again properly, eat it with the base on top or just eat it as it is and hope it tastes the same.
Stick
12-05-2021, 02:20 PM
Had similar issues with 02. Wanted to stay with them but negotiate a data only deal. They kept insisting there was no negotiation. Switch to Giff Gaff which runs on O2 infrastructure and immediately had a better contract for half the cash. They then doubled the data about a month later.
Its probably not the PAC code. The phone will be locked to the Vodafone network but they have to send you the unlock code if you move. My issue was Carphone warehouse sold me it so O2 never owned the phone. The switch sim however worked and then it was easy to retain my number.
I literally didn’t understand any of that. Time for the old folks home I think.
12-05-2021, 02:30 PM
Putting the contents of a baguette on carefully so it doesn't spill out, closing it then when noticing that you've done it upside down, stressing over whether to dismantle it and do it again properly, eat it with the base on top or just eat it as it is and hope it tastes the same.
I’m liking this one!
I just turn it over and munch on.
But the real question is does the order of layers make the snack taste different or not.
So once turning it over your cheese, cucumber, lettuce and Mayo sandwich is now (from the ‘base’) layered as Mayo, lettuce, cucumber and cheese....
12-05-2021, 02:52 PM
I’m liking this one!
I just turn it over and munch on.
But the real question is does the order of layers make the snack taste different or not.
So once turning it over your cheese, cucumber, lettuce and Mayo sandwich is now (from the ‘base’) layered as Mayo, lettuce, cucumber and cheese....
Well I just ate it with the chicken on top and the lettuce, and coleslaw on the bottom...forgot all about it after the first bite!
12-05-2021, 02:54 PM
Well I just ate it with the chicken on top and the lettuce, and coleslaw on the bottom...forgot all about it after the first bite!
When making burgers at home, I always put lettuce on the bun first to stop any fat/grease making the bread soggy.
12-05-2021, 03:21 PM
Just on this, for anyone in a similar situation on o2, they are one of the few (maybe only) networks where you don’t need to do the PAYG sim trick if you want to stay but take out contract with a third party provider. You can just phone them up and they will do the switch to your new SIM for you. I’ve done this the last twice when I’ve been due an upgrade.
13-05-2021, 11:40 AM
Folk on the main board that don't understand the transfer rules.
"Can Scotty Allan play on Saturday?"
13-05-2021, 12:02 PM
Folk on the main board that don't understand the transfer rules.
"Can Scotty Allan play on Saturday?"Beat me to it [emoji1787]
Bangkok Hibby
13-05-2021, 12:32 PM
I'm learning to be chilled and understanding of all people. So when I see people taking the piss out of those who maybe dont understand things as well as they do I no longer wade in like a raging bull. Not sure if its a personal "peeve" that I don't take them to task, or "a little thing that gives me pleasure"
13-05-2021, 01:32 PM
The overused line of "Totally different players" when someone doesn't want to commit or admit that one player is better than the other. Coronation St and the Sopranos are totally different TV shows, but I know which is f****ng better.
"I'm glad you're not picking the team" - as if there is a live danger that someone from hibs.net might randomly be installed to select the team for the match taking place in 3 days' time.
14-05-2021, 12:06 AM
When making burgers at home, I always put lettuce on the bun first to stop any fat/grease making the bread soggy.
Toast the bun lightly, then you can add sauce/mayo etc as well as lettuce without getting it soggy.
14-05-2021, 12:08 AM
Toast the bun lightly, then you can add sauce/mayo etc as well as lettuce without getting it soggy.Or air fry it!
14-05-2021, 06:51 AM
The overused line of "Totally different players" when someone doesn't want to commit or admit that one player is better than the other. Coronation St and the Sopranos are totally different TV shows, but I know which is f****ng better.
"I'm glad you're not picking the team" - as if there is a live danger that someone from hibs.net might randomly be installed to select the team for the match taking place in 3 days' time.
Don’t know like, my achievements on Football Manager really are impressive.
14-05-2021, 06:54 AM
Can I add 'I'll stick to trusting the manager thank you very much' to the list.
14-05-2021, 08:19 AM
People who don't know what a millenial is. It seems to have become a generic term thrown about as an insult by people who hate anyone younger than them.
The first millenial grandparents now exist. We really aren't that young anymore.
14-05-2021, 08:51 AM
People who don't know what a millenial is. It seems to have become a generic term thrown about as an insult by people who hate anyone younger than them.
The first millenial grandparents now exist. We really aren't that young anymore.
It's always been a peeve of mine that older generations look down upon the younger ones. Most of the things in this world that hold us back are circumstances and beliefs we have been forced to inherit from previous generations. As parents we need to prepare our kids for the environment that they will have to live in, not the one we were born into.
14-05-2021, 09:29 AM
Folk that put in a meeting request with a Teams meeting link in it, then don’t use the link themselves. There’s a new guy at work who does this, I click the link and wait in the meeting room only for him to call me separately via a direct Teams call.
On the same theme, the Teams TV ad… I’m on Teams most of the day, I’d rather not hear the dreaded Teams alert noise whilst I’m watching TV, thank you very much.
14-05-2021, 10:35 AM
Hibs fans and their unreasonable sense of entitlement regards the cup final ticket allocation.
14-05-2021, 11:10 AM
Hibs fans and their unreasonable sense of entitlement regards the cup final ticket allocation.I'd quote the whole thread. Theres a pervading sense of anger before any facts are known. Then a pile on. There's a number of false equivalences, then a pile on There's assumptions and misinformation, then a pile on. Explanations given then ignored and.... another pile on.
Unworkable suggestions given the time frame.
It's a cracking end of season anger fest which is like a match day thread but so much worse.
Sent from my SM-J600FN using Tapatalk
14-05-2021, 01:06 PM
Do we get away with it if we also never use the term?
I didn't really become aware of all these generational names until there was too many of them to want to understand...
I'd want to say someone born just after the millennium but presumably they're not the grandparents you speak of...
14-05-2021, 01:11 PM
What chance do they have when the experts can't even agree?
I didn't really become aware of all these generational names until there was too many of them to want to understand...
I'd want to say someone born just after the millennium but presumably they're not the grandparents you speak of...
Its not a term I used but heard of quite a bit. I'd always presumed it was people born around the millennium so late teens,/early twenties. A woman on dragons den called herself a millennial and I realised I was wrong. Apparently it's people who became adults around the millennium so late 30s now.
14-05-2021, 01:45 PM
It's generally accepted as people born between 1980 and 1994, though some stretch it to 1996. Those born late 90s through early 2010s are Gen Z and those from about 2012 onwards are Gen Alpha.
14-05-2021, 01:50 PM
It's generally accepted as people born between 1980 and 1994, though some stretch it to 1996. Those born late 9ps through early 2010s are Gen Z and those from about 2012 onwards are Gen Alpha.
Is it not easier to refer to people by the decade they were born in?
14-05-2021, 01:54 PM
Possibly. I think the terms are used to describe generations with defining characteristics and shared societal and economic experiences though. That doesn't really work if you break everything into 10 year blocks.
I don't really care. My gripe is more with people who use a term as an insult that they don't understand themselves.
I read someone the other day mouthing off about millenials being spoilt brats because they had been brought up with iPhones since the day they were born. That's just blatant nonsense spouted by someone who either doesn't know what a millenial is or doesn't know when the 1st iPhone was released.
14-05-2021, 02:05 PM
I wonder how many would like to be known as naughties :wink:
Santa Cruz
14-05-2021, 02:25 PM
The over use of referring to people as Boomers or Karen's. I don't know what a boomer is, but accept I'm a bit of a Karen, cos my daughter tells me regularly when I complain about being charged twice for an order etc
Bangkok Hibby
14-05-2021, 02:30 PM
It's generally accepted as people born between 1980 and 1994, though some stretch it to 1996. Those born late 90s through early 2010s are Gen Z and those from about 2012 onwards are Gen Alpha.
When did this nonsense start and who was the twat who started it? Its all crept up on me. Shoot me if I ever use these terms. Spoke to my son who's in his thirties and he's never used these terms either.
14-05-2021, 02:39 PM
When did this nonsense start and who was the twat who started it? Its all crept up on me. Shoot me if I ever use these terms. Spoke to my son who's in his thirties and he's never used these terms either.
I don't think it is something that people use in everyday conversation. Millenial and boomer are the 2 that are probably used the most often, generally both as insults.
These kinds of terms have been around for years though. I can remember reading about the lost generation, silent generation, generation x etc at least 20 years ago. In Eastern Europe those brought up immediately after the fall of the Soviet Union were termed the independence generation, there were Husaks Children in the former Czechoslovakia, the post 80s in China, the Columbuses in Poland and so on.
14-05-2021, 03:09 PM
I reckon I first heard about the baby boomers when the companies started to realise that their was a huge pension deficit, probably late 80's. Always thought Generation X were ok but not my favourite band.
14-05-2021, 05:53 PM
I don't think it is something that people use in everyday conversation. Millenial and boomer are the 2 that are probably used the most often, generally both as insults.
These kinds of terms have been around for years though. I can remember reading about the lost generation, silent generation, generation x etc at least 20 years ago. In Eastern Europe those brought up immediately after the fall of the Soviet Union were termed the independence generation, there were Husaks Children in the former Czechoslovakia, the post 80s in China, the Columbuses in Poland and so on.
Yep it’s only something I’ve ever had to be involved with at work (baby boomers, millennials, generation X) and don’t think I’ve ever seen any of the terms used outside the workplace, apart from on quiz shows/possibly the news. It’s alarming if the sort of people that don’t understand their insults have now started with this...
14-05-2021, 06:09 PM
I had to look it up. If I go with this thread then 1980 makes me a millennial. Not something I'd have called myself. Other sources make me generation X - the 'latchkey" generation - which seems more like me. Others again say that 1980 is on the cusp of both so technically I'm a Xennial....
It is nonsense.
14-05-2021, 06:17 PM
I'd take that a bit further and say that a pet peeve of mine is the labelling of groups of people, and then using that label to describe them as if they were a group with almost identical views, circumstances, morals, etc.
These labels are, as you say, then used as a means to dismiss people's viewpoints or to attack them based on people's own prejudices.
14-05-2021, 06:21 PM
I'd take that a bit further and say that a pet peeve of mine is the labelling of groups of people, and then using that label to describe them as if they were a group with almost identical views, circumstances, morals, etc.
These labels are, as you say, then used a means to dismiss people's viewpoints or to attack them based on people's own prejudices.
Oh I agree. I think that was actually my initial peeve this morning albeit framed differently.
Now I've somehow become the defender of the label. I think these things probably have a place in sociological circles and the like but stuff like 'OK boomer' and the aforementioned claptrap about millenials is just tedious.
14-05-2021, 09:01 PM
Or air fry it!
Even better!
15-05-2021, 04:56 PM
Those white rimmed shoes that are everywhere.
Football pundits wearing them with jeans is fair enough. Brendan Rodgers wearing them at the FA Cup Final is a fail by any sartorial standards.
16-05-2021, 12:44 AM
Football pundits wearing them with jeans is fair enough. Brendan Rodgers wearing them at the FA Cup Final is a fail by any sartorial standards.
I haven't seen those.
16-05-2021, 08:44 AM
Jack Ross is borrowing them for next week.
16-05-2021, 06:54 PM
Oh I agree. I think that was actually my initial peeve this morning albeit framed differently.
Now I've somehow become the defender of the label. I think these things probably have a place in sociological circles and the like but stuff like 'OK boomer' and the aforementioned claptrap about millenials is just tedious.
OK, got you.
16-05-2021, 07:26 PM
Apparently it’s now a thing that brunch is served all day in bars and restaurants.
I went out for a pint and a scran this afternoon, looked at the menu before going and was looking forward to it. Got there at about 2pm to be told only the brunch menu was available. Lots of stuff I didn’t like as well as french toast, croissants, pancakes or a fry up.
Ended up getting a fry up which was really nice but that’s no the point. My wife tells me that’s just what the modern bars are doing now and is apparently trendy to do go out for brunch in the middle of the afternoon?
****ing stupid in my opinion. Should be a breakfast menu before 12, main menu after 12.
16-05-2021, 07:56 PM
Apparently it’s now a thing that brunch is served all day in bars and restaurants.
I went out for a pint and a scran this afternoon, looked at the menu before going and was looking forward to it. Got there at about 2pm to be told only the brunch menu was available. Lots of stuff I didn’t like as well as french toast, croissants, pancakes or a fry up.
Ended up getting a fry up which was really nice but that’s no the point. My wife tells me that’s just what the modern bars are doing now and is apparently trendy to do go out for brunch in the middle of the afternoon?
****ing stupid in my opinion. Should be a breakfast menu before 12, main menu after 12.
Went out for my first meal since Christmas Eve today to the Brig in Tranent.
Table for three at 1pm, all day breakfast available if you wanted it but more importantly for us a cracking menu. Three course meal each with soft drinks £70, it was braw.
Can't be bothered with all this new fancy stuff, I like the traditional menu.
16-05-2021, 08:18 PM
****ing stupid in my opinion. Should be a breakfast menu before 12, main menu after 12.Nothing wrong with a pub having a fry on it's Sunday lunchtime menu. I used to love rolling out my scratcher late on a Sunday morning in time to go and meet up with pals for brunch and a pint (or a bloody Mary then a pint). Those were the days!
16-05-2021, 08:22 PM
Nothing wrong with a pub having a fry on it's Sunday lunchtime menu. I used to love rolling out my scratcher late on a Sunday morning in time to go and meet up with pals for brunch and a pint (or a bloody Mary then a pint). Those were the days!
Definitely.
It was all breakfast stuff they had though and it was the middle of the afternoon!
I was fancying a burger or something.