View Full Version : Pet Peeves IV

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 [40] 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57

13-11-2021, 12:15 PM
I’ve not really noticed it to be honest. I’m going for one of the tours there in December. So my pet peeve would be that if was like £90! My girlfriends dad is over from America and wants to go, my girlfriend didn’t fancy it, her brother didn’t fancy it. So she asked me, I said I’d go. Had nae idea it’d be so expensive. I’m not even a whisky drinker!

I was in for a work meeting the other day and saw a few elements of the tour, it looked decent enough for what it is and I think even a non whisky drinker will enjoy it. For £90 I'd be expecting a fair few drinks at the end mind you.

I'm not sure about the bars though, I was in for a drink not long after it opened and there is more atmosphere on the moon. It wasn't enjoyable at all and we left after a couple. It's going to be sonehwere that is very much for the tourist market imo.

13-11-2021, 03:28 PM
Guys in winter jackets and hats but also shorts. What’s that all about? Particularly when it’s a nice winter coat paired with a pair of football shorts.

Each to their own, but that look isn’t for me.

13-11-2021, 06:47 PM
Guys in winter jackets and hats but also shorts. What’s that all about? Particularly when it’s a nice winter coat paired with a pair of football shorts.

I posted this last winter. And probably the 3 winters before :greengrin

I haven't spotted the guy going into my local Co-op with what looked like coat, hat, gloves, shorts and flip flops on a Sunday morning for a while. Think the last time was during the beast from the east and it took me all my time not to ask him....WHY?!!?

13-11-2021, 07:56 PM

Been a thing for a while!

I remember last winter when I took the dog out for a walk. It was Baltic, snow on the ground m, freezing rain in the air.

I was like Michelin man wrapped up and there on the other side of the road is a dude walking his dog with a big puffa jacket on and shorts n trainers!

I don’t care what anyone says he must have been ******’ freezing but no he was striding down the road like it was a summers day….

13-11-2021, 11:01 PM
The Johnny Walker Experience is the first thing that folk see approaching Princes St from the west. This project was much heralded prior to construction as a wizard wheeze to fleece the tourists of yet more cash. Fair enough - it's Edinburgh.

Considering the huge amount of inconvenience that pedestrians were put to during construction you'd think the developers might have left the building in better condition. The masonry is pocked all over with what look like old scaffolding bolt holes. It's a mess.

Where?

Cause I know one of the guys in charge of the project, might be able to get him to fix it.

14-11-2021, 07:05 AM
I’ve not really noticed it to be honest. I’m going for one of the tours there in December. So my pet peeve would be that if was like £90! My girlfriends dad is over from America and wants to go, my girlfriend didn’t fancy it, her brother didn’t fancy it. So she asked me, I said I’d go. Had nae idea it’d be so expensive. I’m not even a whisky drinker!

What sort of special tour have you booked? :confused:

The full, 90 minute, tour plus 3 whiskies is £25...

I've not been to it yet but looking forward to going - I think it's a great addition to the city centre.

14-11-2021, 07:49 AM
Lulu.

I had to watch The Wheel last night and she was on it with her faux American accent. Then a Scottish contestant comes on and she breaks out the pantomime Glasgow accent she always uses at least once per TV appearance. Neither is remotely natural.

Get in the ****ing sea and take Sheena Easton and Gerrrrrrarrrrd Butlerrrrrr with you.

14-11-2021, 09:38 AM

I've not been to it yet but looking forward to going - I think it's a great addition to the city centre.

This one - https://www.johnniewalker.com/en-gb/visit-us-princes-street/book-whisky-tasting/#id=casks-of-discovery

14-11-2021, 10:08 AM

How can you get the authentic Johnnie Walker experience in Edinburgh?

14-11-2021, 10:13 AM
How can you get the authentic Johnnie Walker experience in Edinburgh?

The authentic experience is on Radio 2 on a Sunday afternoon 😉

14-11-2021, 10:34 AM
This one - https://www.johnniewalker.com/en-gb/visit-us-princes-street/book-whisky-tasting/#id=casks-of-discovery

Nice!

Enjoy - hopefully you come out thinking it was worth it! :aok:

14-11-2021, 12:03 PM

I’m a hoodie hat and shorts type of guy when out for a walk, certainly not football shorts though.

14-11-2021, 12:06 PM

Me and my son intend on going, not a whisky fan, blame my dad for that, but getting a discount as my sister works there.

14-11-2021, 12:22 PM
I’m a hoodie hat and shorts type of guy when out for a walk, certainly not football shorts though.

Same.

Was out yesterday. T shirt, light running top then a North Face Jacket. Shorts and trainers. Was absolutely fine.

I wear shorts to walk to work most mornings as well, even in the winter. As long as the core is warm I can't say I notice that much difference wearing shorts compared to trousers when I'm moving. Different when you are sitting still obviously.

14-11-2021, 01:36 PM
Lulu.

I had to watch The Wheel last night and she was on it with her faux American accent. Then a Scottish contestant comes on and she breaks out the pantomime Glasgow accent she always uses at least once per TV appearance. Neither is remotely natural.

Get in the ****ing sea and take Sheena Easton and Gerrrrrrarrrrd Butlerrrrrr with you.

can I add Ray Houghton to this list too please? :greengrin

Jay
16-11-2021, 12:44 PM
Hermes. How can a parcel go missing? I got an email saying it was out for delivery between 5pm and 7pm so it must have been scanned into someone's van. A week later it's still out for delivery and they've admitted its lost. Surely every parcel is scanned as its delivered and photographed at the destination so how can one just disappear? If its not scanned its still in the van no?

16-11-2021, 02:19 PM
Hermes. How can a parcel go missing? I got an email saying it was out for delivery between 5pm and 7pm so it must have been scanned into someone's van. A week later it's still out for delivery and they've admitted its lost. Surely every parcel is scanned as its delivered and photographed at the destination so how can one just disappear? If its not scanned its still in the van no?

Driver works til his finishing time doesn't reach you in time and returns parcel to warehouse. They don't scan it back in and it looks as though it's still out for delivery. Probably lying in a corner somewhere.

16-11-2021, 02:55 PM

Yodel habitually insist my house doesn't exist despite it being built 5 years ago.

I'm sure they are using outdated GPS software as sat navs used to give mistaken instructions to go along a road that does ack on to my house but is a dead end with only pedestrian access.

It doesn't matter how often you put 'access by.....' in the delivery instructions. They just text to say there was a problem delivering the parcel, try again the next day then return it to the sender. If I order anything online and Yodel is the delivery service then I just cancel the order now.

16-11-2021, 03:31 PM
Yodel habitually insist my house doesn't exist despite it being built 5 years ago.

I'm sure they are using outdated GPS software as sat navs used to give mistaken instructions to go along a road that does ack on to my house but is a dead end with only pedestrian access.

It doesn't matter how often you put 'access by.....' in the delivery instructions. They just text to say there was a problem delivering the parcel, try again the next day then return it to the sender. If I order anything online and Yodel is the delivery service then I just cancel the order now.

That's the problem with sat nav slaves thinking they can navigate a delivery route. As soon as it doesn't take them right to your door they give up. All it takes is a bit common sense or a customer phone call and delivery is made.
If their system uses Google maps you can look forward to it being updated within the decade.
I used to have dozens of streets noted that it got you nowhere near. I think the record mistake I encountered was 5 miles away from the house, luckily I recognised the postcode.

16-11-2021, 04:24 PM
Players and managers being forgiven for poor performances on hibs.net because they've got f***ing "credit in the bank"!

20-11-2021, 12:28 AM
Folk who cross the roads reading there phone and not looking, bloody annoying so it is.

20-11-2021, 01:30 PM
Adverts on Hibs.net.

My membership ran out while I was on holiday last week, and I started getting the adverts.

Renewed now, but how anyone can enjoy Hibs.net with all the adverts is beyond me.

I know it helps to pay for the upkeep of the site, and is necessary, but thank goodness for Private Membership!!

22-11-2021, 08:13 PM
Using ST numbers to justify a cup final allocation. 50000 STs guarantees a seat at Celtic Park. It funds Celtic not Scottish Football. Celtic will then cyphon loads of seats to "packages" shafting their own ST holders. Sporting ****in integrity my arse as Jim Royle might suggest.

Sent from my SM-T580 using Tapatalk

24-11-2021, 12:05 AM
Scam callers who never give up and keep phoning you every couple of days, even after you have told them they are scammers and to **** right off.

24-11-2021, 02:13 PM
Scam callers who never give up and keep phoning you every couple of days, even after you have told them they are scammers and to **** right off.

If it makes you feel any better I've just strung one of the car accident claims guys along for almost 15 minutes :greengrin

He is calling back on Friday afternoon to get all the details of the other party. Pity I've blocked the number :wink:

24-11-2021, 04:00 PM
When watching sky sports news and the advert cycle is perfectly timed to coincide with the spfl news running along the bottom of the screen. Can’t tell you how often this happens.:grr::grr::grr:

24-11-2021, 04:20 PM

Your better just going for the £25 one.

24-11-2021, 04:41 PM
Your better just going for the £25 one.

Have you been? We are going in December but not booked yet.

24-11-2021, 08:51 PM
The Edinburgh Christmas bull****.

Booked to take the bairn to see Santa on 20th December. £9.50 a pop. Small print says only 1 parent is permitted to go and see the child with Santa, additional parents can be admitted if they pay £6.

Why? What additional costs are incurred to the organisers if 2 parents go in for the 5 minute alloted time slot? Kid spends the same amount of time and gets the same gift. Total profiteering because they know in most instances it's a moment both parents want to be part of.

24-11-2021, 10:07 PM
The Edinburgh Christmas bull****.

Booked to take the bairn to see Santa on 20th December. £9.50 a pop. Small print says only 1 parent is permitted to go and see the child with Santa, additional parents can be admitted if they pay £6.

Why? What additional costs are incurred to the organisers if 2 parents go in for the 5 minute alloted time slot? Kid spends the same amount of time and gets the same gift. Total profiteering because they know in most instances it's a moment both parents want to be part of.
I don’t know how it works now but in the past it was a group event. Everyone went in with the kids and either sat or stood at the back while Santa told a story and invited all the kids up to receive a present and get a photo. The last time I was there it was Christmas Eve 2018, Santa was obviously keen to get on his sleigh as he chucked a woman out who had a baby who was crying and interrupting his speech. Thank god the baby Jesus didn’t cry. :greengrin

25-11-2021, 09:15 AM
Have you been? We are going in December but not booked yet.

As I said my sister works there, she would advise the £25 tour.

25-11-2021, 09:56 AM
As I said my sister works there, she would advise the £25 tour.

👍 Will be booking it later.

25-11-2021, 02:19 PM
People who get genuinely excited by 'Black Friday'. A chance to buy goods that have been recently increased in price for their normal price in the first place.

Except we get bombarded by adverts and the like for weeks in advance. A total pain in the arse.

25-11-2021, 06:55 PM
People who get genuinely excited by 'Black Friday'. A chance to buy goods that have been recently increased in price for their normal price in the first place.

Except we get bombarded by adverts and the like for weeks in advance. A total pain in the arse.

I'll get genuinely excited if they're doing real deals in the duty free tomorrow.

26-11-2021, 05:52 PM
The word “cheeky” being used in any circumstances other than describing the trait or manner of a living being.

The bbc news.

26-11-2021, 06:12 PM
People who mispronounce the word 'pronunciation'.

That should be a capital offence!

Mikey_1875
27-11-2021, 07:29 AM
Anyone claiming to have “hunkered down” after the wind last night.

27-11-2021, 08:41 AM
Anyone claiming to have “hunkered down” after the wind last night.

I was thinking that yesterday....sounds as if they have a nuclear bunker or something :greengrin

27-11-2021, 10:52 AM
People who order a food delivery and are incapable of providing their correct address.

27-11-2021, 12:35 PM
People who play music in public places. There was a guy in the changing room this morning playing music loudly on his phone as he got dressed. It’s selfish behaviour IMO. Doesn’t matter what the music is, although it’s always invariably what I’d class as Ned music.

27-11-2021, 12:44 PM
People who play music in public places. There was a guy in the changing room this morning playing music loudly on his phone as he got dressed. It’s selfish behaviour IMO. Doesn’t matter what the music is, although it’s always invariably what I’d class as Ned music.Hate it. I always wear headphones. I was waiting for a tyre change in a Farmers and the guy next to me started watching Celtic videos at full pelt. When he'd finished one and started the next I asked him politely if he could stfu or wear headphones. Turned the sound down then moaned at anyone else how he'd been insulted. Think everyone else was happy I d shut him up. My adrenaline shot through the roof...

Sent from my SM-G965F using Tapatalk

27-11-2021, 03:16 PM

Yep, Black Friday's way too commercial these days.

27-11-2021, 04:01 PM
The phrase “we go again”. It’s just the football equivalent of cliched management jargon.

27-11-2021, 04:28 PM
Breaking my reading glasses

27-11-2021, 07:36 PM
Traffic in Edinburgh.

There was a thread recently were people stated they didn't walk anywhere because they didn't have the time. Frankly I don't have the time not to walk.

2 journeys in the last 2 days on public transport. Both taking 40+ minutes more than they should. Both would have been quicker had I ignored the bus and just walked.

Canonmills to Firhill. 1 hour 25 minutes on a bus. The Jewel to London Road, 55 minutes. Utter joke.

27-11-2021, 08:19 PM
I'll get genuinely excited if they're doing real deals in the duty free tomorrow.

Nothing to get me in the slightest bit interested.

27-11-2021, 10:30 PM
Selfish ***** who have mobile conversations next to you on public transport.

29-11-2021, 01:39 PM
Selfish ***** who have mobile conversations next to you on public transport.

Aye? Can’t think that it bothers me much provided they’re not being over the top loud… no different to two people who know each other sat having a conversation on the train is it? In fact it’ll be quieter!

29-11-2021, 02:00 PM
Shorts alert! Older overweight guys in shorts. Not a good look.
I notice younger blokes don't wear shorts in the winter so much. They've got more style.

29-11-2021, 02:45 PM
Getting Breaking News alerts on my phone about I’m a Celebrity cancelling their live show from some Castle in Wales…

29-11-2021, 03:18 PM
Hotel rooms that have a lack of sockets, particularly near the bed.

pollution
29-11-2021, 06:06 PM
Newly found photos of the Beatles, that look like all other photos of the Beatles.

What is the national obsession with them about? I really don't get it.

30-11-2021, 08:22 AM
Newly found photos of the Beatles, that look like all other photos of the Beatles.

Oh I get it. I get a wee tingle up my spine when I see stuff like this. Just reminds me of the best bits of my childhood.

30-11-2021, 04:57 PM
Why oh why do Tesco insist on slicing every single loaf of bread the bake in store, I like cutting my own bread at a size it want, when I need it. Absolutely pisses me right off. Not only that, the slices are that thin they're practically transparent.... Erseholes.

30-11-2021, 05:20 PM
Why oh why do Tesco insist on slicing every single loaf of bread the bake in store, I like cutting my own bread at a size it want, when I need it. Absolutely pisses me right off. Not only that, the slices are that thin they're practically transparent.... Erseholes.

I spent a bit of money on a Panasonic bread maker and it’s the best purchase I’ve made. Makes a belting white tin loaf but also makes jam, doughs, cakes, tons more.

30-11-2021, 06:52 PM
Resealable packets. I just give up, far too fiddly.

30-11-2021, 08:58 PM

with you all the way on this

30-11-2021, 09:38 PM
Go to a proper bakery and buy a loaf there, it will taste much better and you’ll be able to slice it yourself. I worked in a supermarket bakery for a while and the sliced bread was the stuff that didn’t sell on the first day.

30-11-2021, 11:58 PM

They were great! It was a different time.

01-12-2021, 12:25 AM

I have bought plenty of uncut loaves from Tesco!

01-12-2021, 07:11 AM

You'll need to move back to Musselburgh - they've started doing unsliced loaves again in our Tesco! Never very fresh though, I always toast it.

01-12-2021, 07:19 AM

The tesco I go to always has unsliced bread, usually bloomer types.

Also recommend a Panasonic breadmaker. My go to bread is a half and half white and wholemeal flour with a mixture of pumpkin, sunflower seeds and pine nuts with all bran and porridge oats. Tasty and healthy.

Eaststand
01-12-2021, 07:34 AM
I spent a bit of money on a Panasonic bread maker and it’s the best purchase I’ve made. Makes a belting white tin loaf but also makes jam, doughs, cakes, tons more.

I've got the same machine, and agree with northernhibee.
The Panasonic bread maker has around 30 preset recipe settings, so you basically just chuck the ingredients into the wee breadpan, select the menu number from the list and hit the start button. It really is a doddle to make great tasting homemade bread.

I made an onion loaf a couple of days ago and it's brilliant ✅

01-12-2021, 08:56 AM
Go to a proper bakery and buy a loaf there, it will taste much better and you’ll be able to slice it yourself. I worked in a supermarket bakery for a while and the sliced bread was the stuff that didn’t sell on the first day.

Unfortunately I don't think I have one near me unless somebody knows of an excellent bakery in Dunfermline (not Stephens or Baynes)

01-12-2021, 09:04 AM
Unfortunately I don't think I have one near me unless somebody knows of an excellent bakery in Dunfermline (not Stephens or Baynes)

Greggs 😉

01-12-2021, 01:18 PM
Greggs 😉

I haven't used a Greggs for many years, absolutely dreadful food from there. Folk go mad over their sausage roll and scotch pies. I'm sure they are full of the finest quality meat right enough. :rolleyes:

01-12-2021, 01:27 PM
I haven't used a Greggs for many years, absolutely dreadful food from there. Folk go mad over their sausage roll and scotch pies. I'm sure they are full of the finest quality meat right enough. :rolleyes:

http://www.woodleastables.co.uk/

Crossgates any use for you.

01-12-2021, 03:39 PM
Job adverts that don’t give an indication of salary. I get commercial confidentiality but I’ve wasted my time a few times applying for something assuming it would be in a certain range only for it to be nowhere close.

Edit: Also job related, in an interview where they clearly haven’t read your application / CV and then they say something is missing from it when it isn’t. You look like a complete prick for pointing out that it is.

Interviewer: there’s absolutely no mention on your CV of you having experience in XYZ.

Interviewee: oh, is it not? I’m confident it is mentioned in the first couple of points under every job listed.

01-12-2021, 07:49 PM
I think there might actually be more adverts in the 15 minute interval than there would be in an hour of normal programming, honestly don’t bother dipping in for 3 minutes of ***** analysis, just keep the adverts on.

02-12-2021, 11:11 AM
I think there might actually be more adverts in the 15 minute interval than there would be in an hour of normal programming, honestly don’t bother dipping in for 3 minutes of ***** analysis, just keep the adverts on.

Sometimes it's closer to 3 seconds they dip-in for too!! When they return to the studio and realise they can fit another couple of ads in before kick-off so just give it the "up next the second half" and go back to make another few million quid.

02-12-2021, 11:14 AM
My dug decided to wake me up at 330 this morning by picking up her favourite squeaky toy and mashing it into my face whilst trying to sleep. Her tail cleared out my bedside table as she was told to go back to her bed.

02-12-2021, 01:02 PM
My dug decided to wake me up at 330 this morning by picking up her favourite squeaky toy and mashing it into my face whilst trying to sleep. Her tail cleared out my bedside table as she was told to go back to her bed.

Any more of that and it would be the big needle. :greengrin:duck:

02-12-2021, 01:39 PM
People who peel the skin from oranges into loads of wee bits.

Orange peel should come off in one, long, curly peel of skin. Peasants!

https://www.spiceography.com/wp-content/uploads/2017/11/orange-peel.jpg

02-12-2021, 02:07 PM
Someone I was at school with used to carefully peel a strip most of the way around the 'equator' of the orange, leaving two circles of peel either side still attached to the central strip. He'd then press it flat to resemble certain anatomical parts.

02-12-2021, 06:38 PM
Any more of that and it would be the big needle. :greengrin:duck:

We’ve subsequently found out that she threw up underneath the bed last night too.

02-12-2021, 11:42 PM
We’ve subsequently found out that she threw up underneath the bed last night too.

Oft, that would be game over, under the patio by now. :greengrin

03-12-2021, 12:13 PM
People who peel the skin from oranges into loads of wee bits.

Orange peel should come off in one, long, curly peel of skin. Peasants!

https://www.spiceography.com/wp-content/uploads/2017/11/orange-peel.jpg

I really dislike pealing oranges/satsumas, yuk, disgusting..

03-12-2021, 12:54 PM

What then, you eat them whole? :dunno:

03-12-2021, 05:13 PM

What then, you eat them whole? :dunno:No, he rings them, like bells.

03-12-2021, 08:26 PM
Oft, that would be game over, under the patio by now. :greengrin

She always manages to do something absolutely adorable just in the nick of time.

04-12-2021, 06:07 AM
Opening a packet of tablets I always seem to get the end with the info leaflet stuffed in it so I have to open it again at the other end.
I don't have any other worries really.

04-12-2021, 07:36 AM
Opening a packet of tablets I always seem to get the end with the info leaflet stuffed in it so I have to open it again at the other end.
I don't have any other worries really.

I’ve posted this one before I think. Really annoying - every bloody time opened at the wrong end!

04-12-2021, 07:39 AM
Deleted what I posted last night as it was probably incoherent. Both me and my partner are still really angry about it this morning.

Pet peeve: bouncers that enable rape.

We were in the Rat Pack last night. When I was at the bar, my partner and a group of young guys (who happened to be Hearts fans) became really concerned at the behaviour of one particular guy. He had his hands down the pants of a young woman who clearly did not want that. My partner and the guys got a bouncer. According to them, the bouncer seemed to know the guy and was then dismissive of what was going on, insisting that the guy came in with the woman, even though the woman insisted they hadn’t (she said was very drunk). The guy then forcibly left the premises with the woman. When my partner and the group of guys said to the bouncer that they weren’t comfortable with the guy leaving with the woman, they were all threatened with getting thrown out.

I missed all this as I was at the bar but I immediately guessed who it was as I had observed the guy’s creepy behaviour with someone else earlier.

About an hour later, the creepy guy was back doing similar with another drunk girl - groping her etc.

My partner and the group of guys who reported this weee convinced the bouncer was a mate of this guy and was basically enabling the guy assaulting women.

That’s hideous. Who can that be reported to?

04-12-2021, 07:39 AM
I’ve posted this one before I think. Really annoying - every bloody time opened at the wrong end!

Surely that's the right end because you should read the leaflet before taking any medicine.

04-12-2021, 07:43 AM
That’s hideous. Who can that be reported to?

The management of the place, I'd say.

04-12-2021, 08:09 AM
Deleted what I posted last night as it was probably incoherent. Both me and my partner are still really angry about it this morning.

We were in the Rat Pack last night. When I was at the bar, my partner and a group of young guys (who happened to be Hearts fans) became really concerned at the behaviour of one particular guy. He had his hands down the pants of a young woman who clearly did not want that. My partner and the guys got a bouncer. According to them, the bouncer seemed to know the guy and was then dismissive of what was going on, insisting that the guy came in with the woman, even though the woman insisted they hadn’t (she said was very drunk). The guy then forcibly left the premises with the woman. When my partner and the group of guys said to the bouncer that they weren’t comfortable with the guy leaving with the woman, they were all threatened with getting thrown out.

I missed all this as I was at the bar but I immediately guessed who it was as I had observed the guy’s creepy behaviour with someone else earlier.

About an hour later, the creepy guy was back doing similar with another drunk girl - groping her etc.

My partner and the group of guys who reported this weee convinced the bouncer was a mate of this guy and was basically enabling the guy assaulting women.

That goes way beyond a peeve.

04-12-2021, 08:22 AM
That goes way beyond a peeve.

Yeah, I think that's on the wrong thread, as it's really serious.

04-12-2021, 09:16 AM

Tag the place on social media. And tell the story exactly the same way you have done here. Also tag police Scotland and anyone else you think appropriate. If the bouncers and bar staff are allowing this sort of thing to happen then it’s something that women need to be aware off when heading out tonight. A lot of these places talk a good game when interviewed , but in reality they don’t give a ****.

pollution
04-12-2021, 11:31 AM
This is a terrible story !

Good for you for posting. A phone call to the management, and then the police if necessary is what to do.

All pubs have CCTV and the quicker the bouncer and mate are kicked out the better !

04-12-2021, 12:44 PM
The management of the place, I'd say.

Way beyond that.

04-12-2021, 01:11 PM
Way beyond that.
And the manager would just tell you what you want to hear and most likely do nothing.

05-12-2021, 11:28 AM
What then, you eat them whole? :dunno:

I don’t eat them but I have to peel them for my missus.

08-12-2021, 07:42 AM
1) Laundry detergent/fabric conditioner where the lid doesn't also double up as the cup.

2) Buses missing the traffic and getting a good run of green lights only to then take a wee break so as to not be too early. I appreciate I'd be annoyed if I miss a bus that runs ahead of schedule (although it would/should be reflected in the tracker app) but it's still annoying when you're on board.

08-12-2021, 10:50 AM
1) Laundry detergent/fabric conditioner where the lid doesn't also double up as the cup.

2) Buses missing the traffic and getting a good run of green lights only to then take a wee break so as to not be too early. I appreciate I'd be annoyed if I miss a bus that runs ahead of schedule (although it would/should be reflected in the tracker app) but it's still annoying when you're on board.

buses don’t do that in Livingston, they just drive along at 15 miles an hour and slow down a load of traffic behind them, and never pull over to wait.

On the bus subject, when they pull into bus stops and leave their arse hanging out into the road. I presume this is to make it easier to get back out into the flow of traffic, but it’s just dangerous, causing drivers going in the same direction to have to move partly onto the other side of the road to get by, and I don’t believe the bus driver can see what traffic is behind them when they want to move off as the bus is angled blocking their view

08-12-2021, 07:58 PM
The celebrations advert, some guys just shouting “whoop”. I miss the days when they put a bit of effort into adverts.

14-12-2021, 11:21 AM
Throbbers walking about in shorts just now. Why? You're not a tough guy you just look stupid.

14-12-2021, 12:23 PM
Throbbers walking about in shorts just now. Why? You're not a tough guy you just look stupid.

Not quite the same, but after our Parkrun on Saturday a woman broke the ice on Loch Dunmore and went in for 5 minutes. There are a few wild swimmers here and they go in regardless of the weather. Now that sounds mental to me.

14-12-2021, 12:41 PM
Not quite the same, but after our Parkrun on Saturday a woman broke the ice on Loch Dunmore and went in for 5 minutes. There are a few wild swimmers here and they go in regardless of the weather. Now that sounds mental to me.

Half these roasters just do these things to update their social media profiles. All for the likes and comments.

14-12-2021, 12:53 PM
Half these roasters just do these things to update their social media profiles. All for the likes and comments.

Not sure the elderly ladies I know are doing it for likes

14-12-2021, 12:57 PM

I prefer shorts when out walking regardless of the temperature.

14-12-2021, 01:33 PM

I think I've raised HC's point about 3 times on this thread! A few weeks ago I even put on long johns when out walking the dog, it was so cold. The shorts in winter thing will always confuse me, I've no idea how folk aren't frozen stiff!

14-12-2021, 03:06 PM

I wear shorts when walking to work some mornings just now. Plenty layers up top and decent socks and shoes on and I don't really feel any colder than when I wear trousers.

Keep the core and head warm and you'll be fine.

14-12-2021, 04:30 PM

I wear shorts when walking to work some mornings just now. Plenty layers up top and decent socks and shoes on and I don't really feel any colder than when I wear trousers.

Keep the core and head warm and you'll be fine.

Same here, I only put on long trousers for work when temperatures drop below zero.

14-12-2021, 09:43 PM

Keep the core and head warm and you'll be fine.I don't run about in shorts often, especially in December, but a decent hat makes a lot of difference. Cant walk the dog without it regardless of the wind and wet.

15-12-2021, 07:37 AM
If I’m going for an outdoor swim I’ll wear a t-shirt and shorts for a little while before swimming. It’s easier to acclimatise to the water quicker that way.

15-12-2021, 08:53 AM
If I’m going for an outdoor swim I’ll wear a t-shirt and shorts for a little while before swimming. It’s easier to acclimatise to the water quicker that way.

Hmmmm....that might explain it although I doubt if the fat bassa in shorts, t-shirt and flip flops I saw buying bacon and rolls at the Co-op on the day after Storm Arwen was going for a swim somehow :greengrin

15-12-2021, 10:08 AM

In the same vein I'm quite similar when I'm running.

An easy run and I'll layer up and stick on an under armour and leggings under my shorts and T shirt. However if I'm doing a harder session Ill still go out in just a vest/t shirt and shorts almost regardless of the weather. Dress for the 2nd mile is a well used phrase.

Incidentally I always get smart comments for always wearing gloves, it's something footballers get when they wear short sleeves and gloves as well. I always get cold hands regardless of how the rest of my body feels so protecting the extremities just makes everything more comfortable.

15-12-2021, 10:54 AM
Hmmmm....that might explain it although I doubt if the fat bassa in shorts, t-shirt and flip flops I saw buying bacon and rolls at the Co-op on the day after Storm Arwen was going for a swim somehow :greengrin

I'm a fat bassa and you'll often see me having a bacon roll after my swim too, if I've not been harpooned that is :greengrin

15-12-2021, 12:15 PM
I'm a fat bassa and you'll often see me having a bacon roll after my swim too, if I've not been harpooned that is :greengrin

The giveaway was his Celtic shorts....doubt he would go near water :greengrin

15-12-2021, 12:21 PM
White onions. How hard is it to get them??? Tried in Tesco, Asda, Morrisons, Sainsburys, Aldi and Lidl. Even looked in independent Greengrocers but had no luck. Beginning to think they're extinct now.

15-12-2021, 01:28 PM

That will be me, keep my upper body warm and the brisk walk keeps the legs warm, I really don’t think I look stupid, but if anyone mocks me while out I will kick the s*** out of them, or try. :greengrin

15-12-2021, 01:30 PM
I think I've raised HC's point about 3 times on this thread! A few weeks ago I even put on long johns when out walking the dog, it was so cold. The shorts in winter thing will always confuse me, I've no idea how folk aren't frozen stiff!

It’s hardly freezing out there, but I’m tough as f*** :greengrin

15-12-2021, 04:14 PM

And usually wrapped up wearing padded coat, woolly hat and gloves, makes no sense.

15-12-2021, 04:15 PM
White onions. How hard is it to get them??? Tried in Tesco, Asda, Morrisons, Sainsburys, Aldi and Lidl. Even looked in independent Greengrocers but had no luck. Beginning to think they're extinct now.

Taken over by the overly small shallot for cooking preference.

15-12-2021, 04:57 PM

I grew my own, white, yellow and red onions.

16-12-2021, 01:25 AM
I grew my own, white, yellow and red onions.

Very good but that doesn't help me. :greengrin. Plus I live in a flat so I can't grow my own!

16-12-2021, 08:01 AM
Very good but that doesn't help me. :greengrin. Plus I live in a flat so I can't grow my own!

Have you room for a window box? Onions don't take a lot of space, salad leaves between them.

17-12-2021, 07:42 AM
****ing Kilner jars. They’re the least practical, most cumbersome, in-efficient way or storing things. I get it, you have shelves up in your oh-so-quirky kitchen and you want people to know all your pasta and rice is brown because you’re so healthy, but they are awful in cupboards and my wife stores flour (4 variations), sugar (3 variations), rice (3 variations), pasta (3 variations), oats and granola all in these bloody things.

They’re manky, because if you wash them they can’t go in the dishwasher and take 8 days to dry out, the lids are stupid and they don’t take anything packed in metric weights because they’re designed for apothecaries from the 1700’s.

17-12-2021, 08:54 AM
Foxes brandy snaps, they look great on the box, but when you open them it’s just the outer shell. If you look really closely on the box it does say in tiny writing that the cream is not included. Biggest disappointment of the year so far :greengrin

17-12-2021, 10:07 AM
Stuck behind people fannying about in a queue. It doesn’t matter if I’m in a rush or early for something but my blood boils being behind someone who is making a total arse of whatever it is they are trying to do.

I can be far too early for something and I’ve got loads of time to kill, but the irrational part of me will still boil up at the person taking an absolute age even when it makes no difference to me as I’ll still have time to kill either way.

17-12-2021, 10:32 AM
Sweet potato fries. They're bloody awful. Soggy, mushy, taste awful and they're everywhere.

Lendo
17-12-2021, 04:43 PM
Sweet potato fries. They're bloody awful. Soggy, mushy, taste awful and they're everywhere.

100% agree. Really not a fan of sweet potato in general.

Halloumi fries on the other hand, amazing.

pollution
23-12-2021, 06:13 PM
McAfee pop ups. Cant even uninstall the programme itself.

23-12-2021, 06:47 PM
This will have been posted multiple times before, but recently I’m seeing more and more dog **** on the streets round where I live. Loads of it. It’s absolutely disgusting.

23-12-2021, 07:28 PM
McAfee pop ups. Cant even uninstall the programme itself.

Switch to Linux.

Then you won't need McAfee... or have loads of useless, pre-installed, irritating programmes that are only there because Microsoft, or the laptop manufacturer, gets a kickback..

24-12-2021, 07:13 AM
People who lose the plot at Christmas.

Went out to Asda early doors today to get a couple of bits and bobs. Fairly busy even at 7am. One guy at the self checkouts had to wait maybe 2 minutes on assistance. Starts shouting 'can I get some ****ing help here, what's the ****ing hold up?'. Woman serving went over and was far polite than I would have been, then he starts on her again: '****ing joke of a place this, no even got any ****ing After Eights, where's the ****ing After Eights?'

Really? 2 points. If having no After Eights is really making you that angry I think you need to reflect on what is important. Secondly if you are that desperate for After Eights then don' t wait until Christmas Eve to buy them.

24-12-2021, 09:43 AM
People who lose the plot at Christmas.

Went out to Asda early doors today to get a couple of bits and bobs. Fairly busy even at 7am. One guy at the self checkouts had to wait maybe 2 minutes on assistance. Starts shouting 'can I get some ****ing help here, what's the ****ing hold up?'. Woman serving went over and was far polite than I would have been, then he starts on her again: '****ing joke of a place this, no even got any ****ing After Eights, where's the ****ing After Eights?'

Really? 2 points. If having no After Eights is really making you that angry I think you need to reflect on what is important. Secondly if you are that desperate for After Eights then don' t wait until Christmas Eve to buy them.

There were some utterly crazed women in M&S at the Fort yesterday. Crazed women with a trolley is not a good mix and I had to take evasive action at least 3 times and I was only in the shop for 10 minutes. You could see it in their eyes...scary!

Jakhog1
24-12-2021, 09:57 AM
There were some utterly crazed women in M&S at the Fort yesterday. Crazed women with a trolley is not a good mix and I had to take evasive action at least 3 times and I was only in the shop for 10 minutes. You could see it in their eyes...scary!

I have to nip out to get some essentials like bread and milk, I am now dreading going out for a couple of things now

24-12-2021, 03:51 PM
This will have been posted multiple times before, but recently I’m seeing more and more dog **** on the streets round where I live. Loads of it. It’s absolutely disgusting.

Had to sweep some up last week on the pavement my lad had stood in it, thought it was a protest outside by some disgruntled dog walker, was loads of it, dirty lazy tramps.

24-12-2021, 04:05 PM
Had to sweep some up last week on the pavement my lad had stood in it, thought it was a protest outside by some disgruntled dog walker, was loads of it, dirty lazy tramps.

I’m sure we’re in the same street Silver. Walk my dog here every day, wouldn’t dream of not picking up after her.

The whole streets boggin just now though. Top to bottom, both sides.

24-12-2021, 06:05 PM
Back on to the old dog poo problem. It’s disgusting but equally disgusting are the muppets who bag the poo and hang it on trees, fences or just throw it away. Poo left to disappear naturally is arguably better than preserving it for posterity in plastic coffins.

24-12-2021, 06:29 PM
Back on to the old dog poo problem. It’s disgusting but equally disgusting are the muppets who bag the poo and hang it on trees, fences or just throw it away. Poo left to disappear naturally is arguably better than preserving it for posterity in plastic coffins.

That is the most ridiculous way to deal with the problem of dog poo.

Why let it naturally degrade when you can preserve it in plastic for future generations?

24-12-2021, 06:49 PM
On the subject of dogs, I often have music videos on a loop on the TV in the morning whilst I get ready. The absolutely beautiful video for "Why Does My Heart Feel So Bad" by Moby was on and in the usual talk you do to a dog, I asked our dog if she also came from the moon and did the silly excited talking to her about it as she was waggling her tail.

Took her out for a walk straight after and as soon as we got around the corner, she started making friends with another dog. The usual small talk was done with the other dog owner and that video and the doggy talk must have still been in my mind because I said out loud "Come along space woofer".

The other person had a look of genuine bemusement and I didn't really want to explain why I'd just called my dog "space woofer".

Logie Green
24-12-2021, 07:39 PM

I believe the term for hanging it from trees is ‘Fairy *****s’. 😜

speedy_gonzales
25-12-2021, 12:01 AM

I've heard it argued/reasoned before by dog owners that this is done if a dog toilets close to the start of a walk, the intention is to bag it and hang out so it can be collected on the return then binned rather than carry the animal made hand warmer all along the trek.
Unfortunately, it seems many bags are conveniently forgotten about.

25-12-2021, 11:06 PM
I've heard it argued/reasoned before by dog owners that this is done if a dog toilets close to the start of a walk, the intention is to bag it and hang out so it can be collected on the return then binned rather than carry the animal made hand warmer all along the trek.
Unfortunately, it seems many bags are conveniently forgotten about.

Hmm that’s a bit of a stretch!

For starters you can carry the bag by the handle so as to not ‘warm’ you hands…secondly any sensible dog walker will know the bin locations on their walk and just adjust said walk to take account of the fact the mutt was clearly bursting [emoji2957]

There really is no excuse for leaving it in a pavement or a bag lying around, it’s right up there in terms of selfish inconsiderate behaviour. Just a shame it’s so hard to police.

26-12-2021, 05:41 PM
I’m sure we’re in the same street Silver. Walk my dog here every day, wouldn’t dream of not picking up after her.

The whole streets boggin just now though. Top to bottom, both sides.

The tar makeover on the road was a disaster and left the street a mess, parts done, what a mess it is, do you wear a grey woolly hat. :aok:

26-12-2021, 07:12 PM
Mackies crisps.

They seem to have aspirations to sit in the top tier but they are every inch League One quality.

26-12-2021, 10:01 PM
The tar makeover on the road was a disaster and left the street a mess, parts done, what a mess it is, do you wear a grey woolly hat. :aok:

Aye that road tar job was a shambles, just go round the parked cars, and spray it half up the curbs, it’s a mess.

Not me with the hat though, I don’t think so anyway. I’m the tall guy with the wee dog! Usually in football tracksuit for the dog walks.

27-12-2021, 08:55 AM
Mackies crisps.

They seem to have aspirations to sit in the top tier but they are every inch League One quality.

Can't agree with this - their boxing day curry and haggis and peppercorn flavours are top tier in my book.

They also have the good grace to keep their bags at the respected and dependable £1 mark whilst all the others creep up to £1.25/£1.50/£2.

27-12-2021, 11:00 AM
Can't agree with this - their boxing day curry and haggis and peppercorn flavours are top tier in my book.

They also have the good grace to keep their bags at the respected and dependable £1 mark whilst all the others creep up to £1.25/£1.50/£2.

The flavours are fine. They just aren't crispy enough for me. Alnost like crisps that have been left out for a couple of hours.

Kettle Chips are the crispness all other crisps should aim for and Mackies fall short imo.

27-12-2021, 11:49 AM

I love their Tomato ones.

27-12-2021, 12:30 PM
The flavours are fine. They just aren't crispy enough for me. Alnost like crisps that have been left out for a couple of hours.

Kettle Chips are the crispness all other crisps should aim for and Mackies fall short imo.

Kettle Chips are really good, but Co-op own brand Salt and Vinegar ones are great.

27-12-2021, 12:35 PM
Aye that road tar job was a shambles, just go round the parked cars, and spray it half up the curbs, it’s a mess.

Not me with the hat though, I don’t think so anyway. I’m the tall guy with the wee dog! Usually in football tracksuit for the dog walks.

Went to car this morning and dog s***e at my pathway, it’s everywhere, deary me, will keep a eye out for you, I’m opposite the house that’s getting the makeover where the garden wall collapsed :greengrin

27-12-2021, 01:52 PM
Kettle Chips are really good, but Co-op own brand Salt and Vinegar ones are great.

Crisp wars. Love it.

You guys should listen to RadMac at the weekends
There's some serious debate about potato-based snacks on there 😁

27-12-2021, 01:53 PM
Went to car this morning and dog s***e at my pathway, it’s everywhere, deary me, will keep a eye out for you, I’m opposite the house that’s getting the makeover where the garden wall collapsed :greengrin

Is it maybe the foxes? Their *****s are unregulated.

Edit. I mean the canine variety. Not the dirty *******s at Number 74.

28-12-2021, 06:49 AM
Mackies crisps.

Too thick and taste burnt most of the time, Aldi's own brand are as good as I've tasted, I was told most of Aldi and Lidl's stuff are made by the more famous brands.

pollution
31-12-2021, 05:47 PM
War films on TV at Christmas.

Only in the Uk...seriously, do any other countries do this ?

Every year without fail for decades.

31-12-2021, 08:47 PM
War films on TV at Christmas.

Only in the Uk...seriously, do any other countries do this ?

Every year without fail for decades.

The Great Escape is definitely a traditional showing… if there are a few others Is it not more that they put “auld classics” on?

31-12-2021, 09:06 PM
The Great Escape is definitely a traditional showing… if there are a few others Is it not more that they put “auld classics” on?

Probably, but there really are a lot of programs about the war on TV in the UK.

Funnily enough, it's quite rare in Germany...

31-12-2021, 10:16 PM
Probably, but there really are a lot of programs about the war on TV in the UK.

Funnily enough, it's quite rare in Germany...

Easter is War Film season over here.

01-01-2022, 07:50 AM
The double x in anti-vaxxer.

Double x doesn't exist in English.

Neologismism is all very well, but this is nuts.

Anti-vaccer or anti-vaxer. Nothing else makes sense.

And no, there are no more pressing matters in 2022.

01-01-2022, 08:13 AM
Easter is War Film season over here.

Is that when they show 'Die Grosse Flucht'?

01-01-2022, 08:37 AM
The double x in anti-vaxxer.

Double x doesn't exist in English.

Neologismism is all very well, but this is nuts.

Anti-vaccer or anti-vaxer. Nothing else makes sense.

And no, there are no more pressing matters in 2022.

You obviously didn't see some of the same films I did growing up 😁

Happy New Year, from Jamie Foxx.

01-01-2022, 08:50 AM
Is that when they show 'Die Grosse Flucht'?

Wall to wall war films but no dancing. "Gesprengte Ketten" is the German title btw.

01-01-2022, 09:14 AM
You obviously didn't see some of the same films I did growing up 😁

Happy New Year, from Jamie Foxx.

If that was his real name, I might agree (though if proper names aren't good enough to count as English words for Susie Dent, they shouldn't be for you either). But it's made-up attention-seeking, just like antivaxx.

01-01-2022, 09:19 AM
If that was his real name, I might agree (though if proper names aren't good enough to count as English words for Susie Dent, they shouldn't be for you either). But it's made-up attention-seeking, just like antivaxx.

😁 I'm winding you up, of course.

But the thought of Susie Dent and xx..

01-01-2022, 11:25 PM
😁 I'm winding you up, of course.

But the thought of Susie Dent and xx..

And while I'm on attention-seeking spelling, Raab's another one. He should just call himself Rab, ruffle his hair and be one of those lads you'd want to go for a pint with, like the PM.

06-01-2022, 09:07 PM
Limmy.

Another example of clangingly terrible West coast 'humour'.

07-01-2022, 03:38 PM
A certain type of old person. Thinks that the youth are the scourge of society yet are rude to those around them, don't say thank you to people who do anything for them, buy the Daily Express, complain that they're getting shafted when they in fact voted Tory despite seeing younger generations getting shafted by them. Think that "they've never had it so good", thinks that anyone who is struggling financially just isn't working hard enough.

07-01-2022, 04:14 PM
A certain type of old person. Thinks that the youth are the scourge of society yet are rude to those around them, don't say thank you to people who do anything for them, buy the Daily Express, complain that they're getting shafted when they in fact voted Tory despite seeing younger generations getting shafted by them. Think that "they've never had it so good", thinks that anyone who is struggling financially just isn't working hard enough.

same type who think things like waiting in queues doesn’t apply to them, they can just walk straight to the front and be sorted first, or that the Highway Code doesn’t apply to them, or in the case of my wife’s uncle, that because he’s older than me then he is automatically right and I’m wrong, and gets really uppity and arsey when it’s politely demonstrated he’s wrong

07-01-2022, 07:49 PM

It’s definitely an age thing but here’s the rub..old people die but new olds take their place. I’ve seen the same complaints about old folk for decades, soon enough I’ll be in that group and a damn good chance I’ll be the one being complained about [emoji1787]

I reckon it’s just a standard generational thing with old folk complaining about the youth of today…that Mary Whitehouse knew a thing or two I tell ya [emoji2957]

07-01-2022, 08:39 PM
same type who think things like waiting in queues doesn’t apply to them, they can just walk straight to the front and be sorted first, or that the Highway Code doesn’t apply to them, or in the case of my wife’s uncle, that because he’s older than me then he is automatically right and I’m wrong, and gets really uppity and arsey when it’s politely demonstrated he’s wrong

The last part seems particularly true about grumpy auld men when it comes to football.

'I've watched Hibs for 55 years so you can't tell me anything'.

I can't wait until it's my turn.

08-01-2022, 04:02 PM
The last part seems particularly true about grumpy auld men when it comes to football.

'I've watched Hibs for 55 years so you can't tell me anything'.

I can't wait until it's my turn.

I was wondering when I'd know everything about Hibs. Just over 5 years until I'm a fully fledged grumpy auld know it all

Alfiembra
09-01-2022, 11:13 AM
Wet wipes or any type of surface wipe cloth that comes in a packet, especially when you get to the last dozen or so sheets at the end of the pack. You try to get one sheet out but the rest all bunch up together and try to pull out all at once. When you finally separate one sheet the remainder in the pack are a mangled mess.

09-01-2022, 02:07 PM
Wet wipes or any type of surface wipe cloth that comes in a packet, especially when you get to the last dozen or so sheets at the end of the pack. You try to get one sheet out but the rest all bunch up together and try to pull out all at once. When you finally separate one sheet the remainder in the pack are a mangled mess.
Yip.
We have eco friendly wipes in the bathroom but whenever you try to pull one out , you just end up ripping a hole in the middle of the wipe. When you then eventually get said wipe out the packet, you need to be really careful 😳

11-01-2022, 08:40 AM
Jeans that look like they belong in the bin but are worn as they are the “fashion”. Frayed hems and holes all down both legs……just why?

11-01-2022, 09:11 AM
Clickbait headlines about people's appearance:

'You won't believe what this child actor looks like 25 years on from starting role'

People age. Hardly breaking news.

12-01-2022, 12:40 AM
Folk that still have Xmas lights up outside their houses. Take them down you roasters.

patch1875
12-01-2022, 01:26 PM
People referring to others as Bro.

12-01-2022, 04:00 PM
Folk that still have Xmas lights up outside their houses. Take them down you roasters.

Russian roasters? Greeks? Amish even?

12-01-2022, 06:17 PM

Not sure the Amish are prone to covering their houses in electrical Christmas lights.....😃

12-01-2022, 06:34 PM
Not sure the Amish are prone to covering their houses in electrical Christmas lights.....😃

Fife Amish. A splinter group. AKA the Markinch Mennonites. :agree:

12-01-2022, 08:13 PM
People referring to others as Bro.

What’s wrong with that, dude?

13-01-2022, 11:49 AM

In my mind, this was read with Ewan McGregor’s voice, with ‘Mikey Forrester’ added at the end 😄

14-01-2022, 08:23 PM
Twitter grassing. It seems to be really common now and one person's harvesting social media approval is another person's lost job.

Read one the other day with someone beginning @tesco then telling a story about a customer without a mask moaning about covid rules and the checkout operator agreeing and saying people had lost busineese because of the nonsense or some other similar descriptor. They concluded this tale of woe by saying they could name the store and individual if Tesco reached out to them.

Why do that? If it's that big a deal to you speak to the individual at the time. If you aren't comfortable doing that then go to customer services and ask for the manager. If that is still too personal then write a letter or send an email.

2700 likes, 650 retweets, 150 replies and one dismissal. Go you.

14-01-2022, 08:26 PM
Oh and whilst I'm on a rant about Twitter.

People who put in their bio 'only like minded individuals need comment or follow' or 'will block all....'

How insecure do you have to be to only want to read things you agree with?

15-01-2022, 07:09 AM
Twitter grassing. It seems to be really common now and one person's harvesting social media approval is another person's lost job.

Read one the other day with someone beginning @tesco then telling a story about a customer without a mask moaning about covid rules and the checkout operator agreeing and saying people had lost busineese because of the nonsense or some other similar descriptor. They concluded this tale of woe by saying they could name the store and individual if Tesco reached out to them.

Why do that? If it's that big a deal to you speak to the individual at the time. If you aren't comfortable doing that then go to customer services and ask for the manager. If that is still too personal then write a letter or send an email.

Yip - arse holes. The companies that fold and give into them can also be added to the list. Imagine being so weak you believe and surrender to some anonymous nobody over an employee.

15-01-2022, 07:11 AM

People who put in their bio 'only like minded individuals need comment or follow' or 'will block all....'

Another I’m in agreement with. Deliberately creating an echo chamber. Why not listen to the other side of the argument?

15-01-2022, 10:39 AM

That’s the way society is now sadly. So many people would rather head to social media or trip advisor than say something at the time. I hate it to be honest, I’ve never once given a place a bad review, if I have a problem with my meal or the service I make sure I say something there and then. I think using social media to sort out a problem when you’ve tried and failed to get it dealt with is fair enough, but trivial nonsense that is likely to get someone the sack is just pathetic.

15-01-2022, 11:06 AM
That’s the way society is now sadly. So many people would rather head to social media or trip advisor than say something at the time. I hate it to be honest, I’ve never once given a place a bad review, if I have a problem with my meal or the service I make sure I say something there and then. I think using social media to sort out a problem when you’ve tried and failed to get it dealt with is fair enough, but trivial nonsense that is likely to get someone the sack is just pathetic.
Totally agree with this, even more annoying is my experience of being a duty manager in a hotel, met the guest, listened to their complaints and came up with a resolution that they agreed to and thanked me for dealing with it. They then leave and post on trip advisor about their complaint but make no mention of the resolution, their acceptance to it and how they even thanked me, total erseholes.

15-01-2022, 11:07 AM

It's a mentality I've never understood. Why would anyone sit stewing about something then complain about it later when yoh could afford the company the chance to resolve it at the time and you can enjoy, or at least be satisfied by your experience?

I used to work as a manager in a hotel and 2 things used to infuriate me about TripAdvisor. The first was people judging against totally unrealistic expectations. We were a 3 star hotel and a good one at that. Some people used to complain about things such as there being no concierge service or even no valet parking. Sorry but you are paying £80 a night in Edinburgh in summer, if you want full concierge service go and pay what the Balmoral will charge you and then your expectations will be met. In 5 star hotels in particular what you are paying for is the increased staffing levels that allow a higher service standard to be met and for increased choice around dining and leisure.

The second was people who chose to complain online about issues that could have been resolved instantly with a simple request. One that sticks in my mind is someone complaining that there were no towels left in their room so they had to go out for the day without showering. Now of course no towels is unacceptable but it was an honest mistake by the housekeeper. Call reception, say I need towels urgently and they will be with you in under 5 minutes. Actively choosing not to ask, to go out without a shower then complaining about it 3 days later, never mentioning at all in your time with us, is madness.

I suppose in some cases it may be a confidence issue and a fear of confrontation. I'm far from convinced though.

15-01-2022, 11:46 AM
Totally agree with this, even more annoying is my experience of being a duty manager in a hotel, met the guest, listened to their complaints and came up with a resolution that they agreed to and thanked me for dealing with it. They then leave and post on trip advisor about their complaint but make no mention of the resolution, their acceptance to it and how they even thanked me, total erseholes.
I quite like it when owners reply to a complaint and tell the full story, there’s a place in Portobello called Butternut Squash and the old owner down there always responded to bad reviews. Here’s one of his best.
https://i.ibb.co/bPk6Lrq/DB316-E70-2074-4070-8-E6-F-04-C8-D84-A87-CD.png (https://ibb.co/37nTW0G)

15-01-2022, 11:56 AM
It's a mentality I've never understood. Why would anyone sit stewing about something then complain about it later when yoh could afford the company the chance to resolve it at the time and you can enjoy, or at least be satisfied by your experience?

I used to work as a manager in a hotel and 2 things used to infuriate me about TripAdvisor. The first was people judging against totally unrealistic expectations. We were a 3 star hotel and a good one at that. Some people used to complain about things such as there being no concierge service or even no valet parking. Sorry but you are paying £80 a night in Edinburgh in summer, if you want full concierge service go and pay what the Balmoral will charge you and then your expectations will be met. In 5 star hotels in particular what you are paying for is the increased staffing levels that allow a higher service standard to be met and for increased choice around dining and leisure.

The second was people who chose to complain online about issues that could have been resolved instantly with a simple request. One that sticks in my mind is someone complaining that there were no towels left in their room so they had to go out for the day without showering. Now of course no towels is unacceptable but it was an honest mistake by the housekeeper. Call reception, say I need towels urgently and they will be with you in under 5 minutes. Actively choosing not to ask, to go out without a shower then complaining about it 3 days later, never mentioning at all in your time with us, is madness.

I suppose in some cases it may be a confidence issue and a fear of confrontation. I'm far from convinced though.
I think some people definitely try and avoid any sort of confrontation, but I doubt they’re the sort of people that would then go and give a bad review. I only really read reviews for hotels when I’m going on holiday and I tend to go with the general consensus as it’s pretty easy to spot the people who go somewhere looking to find faults. They often upload pictures to emphasise their outrage. Just enjoy your holiday ffs. There’s definitely some places where a bad review is well deserved, but as you say there has to be an element of realism in your expectations.

15-01-2022, 11:57 AM
I quite like it when owners reply to a complaint and tell the full story, there’s a place in Portobello called Butternut Squash and the old owner down there always responded to bad reviews. Here’s one of his best.
https://i.ibb.co/bPk6Lrq/DB316-E70-2074-4070-8-E6-F-04-C8-D84-A87-CD.png (https://ibb.co/37nTW0G)

i was going to add a similar point, I don’t get why people go onto trip advisor etc, slate a place and make up a lot of nonsense to make themselves look like a victim. Always think there’s a wee bit of karma when the owner/manager posts a similarly public response which provides much more truth and context and shows the ‘customer’ up as an entitled selfish ********

15-01-2022, 12:03 PM
I've made a few complaints online but mainly about online orders and then only after being ignored or brushed off by the company I've complained about. I just wouldn't want anyone else to get ripped off or receive shoddy service.

In the real world I've no qualms about giving direct feedback if I'm unhappy about something, a serious business will appreciate constructive negative feedback as it will allow them to improve. It's the tone that makes the music.

15-01-2022, 12:06 PM
I think some people definitely try and avoid any sort of confrontation, but I doubt they’re the sort of people that would then go and give a bad review. I only really read reviews for hotels when I’m going on holiday and I tend to go with the general consensus as it’s pretty easy to spot the people who go somewhere looking to find faults. They often upload pictures to emphasise their outrage. Just enjoy your holiday ffs. There’s definitely some places where a bad review is well deserved, but as you say there has to be an element of realism in your expectations.

It's the British way. I've lost count at the amount of times I've been in company with folks moaning about the food only to say everything is great when asked by the waiter.

15-01-2022, 05:23 PM

This and your other post is some of the reasons I came off Twitter or Twatter as I called it. Just a platform to vent your anger against anyone you can, nameless, faceless ********s being keyboard hard folk.

15-01-2022, 05:31 PM
When someone gets a new job and it’s posted on LinkedIn
I hate when replies say “you’ll smash it”

Jay
15-01-2022, 06:56 PM
Emails saying my haul is on the way. Not my order or a shipment..my haul :rolleyes:

15-01-2022, 07:10 PM

Or "If you don't like my views don't read them" or "don't comment on it, it was a conversation between me and x person".

If you don't like your views being cmmented on, don't post them on a platform designed for them to be commented on.

16-01-2022, 06:45 AM

I love stuff like that. There was a chippy owner down in Northumberland somewhere who’s responses to bad reviews were legendary. It’s like he could sniff out the ones who were perfectly pleasant and didn’t have a complaint at the time but who would go home and say things like “mediocre”.

Another thing about reviews: people who are **** at leaving reviews:

Eg:

“haven’t used yet, feels sturdy enough” - 2 stars

“Works well, only 3 stars because I haven’t fully tested it yet”

“Assembled and looks good, 2 stars because I haven’t used it yet”

Absolute weapons. If you’re going to take the time to leave reviews do it properly.

17-01-2022, 05:27 PM
People/friends/workmates/family who can't bear not talking. I spent a few days working with a guy who had a disgusting smokers hacking cough but grew to appreciate his coughing fits because it was the only time he wasn't talking.

18-01-2022, 09:10 AM
A totally irrational one but people who rather than scrape their windscreens on a frosty morning, sit with their windscreen wipers on trying to clear it that way.

I was walking to work this morning but went out to clear the car about 6.30 before leaving so it was ready for the Mrs. Out, engine on, rear window heater on, scraper out and front windscreen cleared in about 2 minutes. My neighbour was out before me, was sitting with his windscreen wipers on full pelt. I thought he maybe didn't have a scraper so offered him mine, 'Naw it's getting there'. I went back in, got my bag, put a jacket on and left 5 minutes later and he was still sitting there with hardly any of the ice removed.

Just ****ing scrape it and stop being so lazy.

patch1875
18-01-2022, 09:45 AM
Stupidity rips the blades to shreds.

18-01-2022, 10:51 AM
A totally irrational one but people who rather than scrape their windscreens on a frosty morning, sit with their windscreen wipers on trying to clear it that way.

I was walking to work this morning but went out to clear the car about 6.30 before leaving so it was ready for the Mrs. Out, engine on, rear window heater on, scraper out and front windscreen cleared in about 2 minutes. My neighbour was out before me, was sitting with his windscreen wipers on full pelt. I thought he maybe didn't have a scraper so offered him mine, 'Naw it's getting there'. I went back in, got my bag, put a jacket on and left 5 minutes later and he was still sitting there with hardly any of the ice removed.

When I worked in the motor trade it was the expectation on an icy morning that everyone went out at eight in the morning and scraped the windows of every single car on the site that was outside. Absolutely hated that with a passion and became very good at becoming invisible with the boss was walking round handing out scrapers :greengrin

18-01-2022, 04:36 PM

My ex wife couldn’t be arsed either waiting on the windscreen demisting or wiping the mist away one morning and crashed into a bollard in our car park. The car was less than a week old and caused thousands worth of damage. All because she couldn’t be bothered going out 2 mins earlier.

18-01-2022, 04:47 PM
Companies that don’t make it clear what you are getting. The heating thermostat in our house is way too complicated than it needs to be and it’s also split zones upstairs and downstairs, so if you want heating throughout the house you have to fiddle with two different units. The split zones are great but having to set two units is a pain (in addition to the units not being user friendly).

So in the Black Friday sale we ordered a Hive unit. To order it from the Hive website, you have to answer several multiple choice questions about the setup of your house and the heating system which then informs what you buy.

One of the questions is “do you have multizone heating?” We answered “yes”. Now one would assume that this would direct you to the correct products like the other questions do. In other words, you would think it would add their multizone product to your order or at least tell you that you need to order one separately.

It doesn’t on both counts. We hadn’t got round to installing it until now between it being Christmas and Hive not having installation appointments available.

I opened it up and realised there was only one set of thermostats and receivers. Onto the live chat to ask if I should have received one as I’d ticked that we had multizones.

“No, that doesn’t automatically add it, you need to order it separately. Oh and by the way we don’t have any in stock and won’t anytime soon”.

Managed to get it locally though.

18-01-2022, 06:49 PM
My ex wife couldn’t be arsed either waiting on the windscreen demisting or wiping the mist away one morning and crashed into a bollard in our car park. The car was less than a week old and caused thousands worth of damage. All because she couldn’t be bothered going out 2 mins earlier.

another element of this is the folk who scrape a letter box on the windscreen and drive off as if everything is dandy

19-01-2022, 08:38 AM
Bin collection changes! For as long as I can remember our bins have been emptied in the afternoon around 2pm. Last 2 weeks it's been before 8am!!!

That's a general waste bin and recycling bin not been emptied as I have always put them out in the morning so they aren't blown over.

19-01-2022, 11:52 AM
Bin collection changes! For as long as I can remember our bins have been emptied in the afternoon around 2pm. Last 2 weeks it's been before 8am!!!

That's a general waste bin and recycling bin not been emptied as I have always put them out in the morning so they aren't blown over.

Ha think yourself lucky. Edinburgh bin men clearly think there is at least 48 hours in a day.

Quite how they can’t manage a service to pick up the same bins in the same street at roughly the same time (no matter day!) every two weeks is beyond me!

19-01-2022, 12:06 PM

Do you live in a particularly windy place?

19-01-2022, 12:33 PM
Do you live in a particularly windy place?

It can be. My A board kept blowing down this morning. Add to the fact that the bins are not full of heavy stuff.

20-01-2022, 09:31 AM
When you’ve been on a work Teams call where someone has been presenting and everyone feels the need to pop in the meeting chat “Thanks, [insert name of presenter]”. I’ve just been on a call with probably over 100 people on it and I’d say half of them have felt the need to do this, so I’m getting ping after ping.

20-01-2022, 09:02 PM
"Also, not suitable for nut allergy sufferers" directly below the comprehensive list of ingredients that does not include any nuts.

20-01-2022, 10:10 PM

That's a general waste bin and recycling bin not been emptied as I have always put them out in the morning so they aren't blown over.TBF Councils normally advise getting the bin out before 7. With holidays and COVID there's no such thing as normally. Our recycling bin was collected finally after 4 days in the New Year.

20-01-2022, 11:56 PM
"Also, not suitable for nut allergy sufferers" directly below the comprehensive list of ingredients that does not include any nuts.

All to do with the environment where it was produced and possible trace of nuts used in other production.

21-01-2022, 07:07 AM
All to do with the environment where it was produced and possible trace of nuts used in other production.

I appreciate that, but I think it's just an overcautious reaction to the possibility of being sued. They should have decent safeguards and cleaning procedures that means ingredients from different products don't mix.

That one was particularly blunt but the "may contain nuts" warning is even more commonly used in products - at least it's a bit more accurate in it's description even if it's also overzealous (IMO).

21-01-2022, 07:10 AM

It's a legal requirement if the product is produced in an environment that uses nuts and there is any risk of cross contamination. My daughter has a peanut and tree nut allergy and had one really severe reaction so we are very careful. It's a bit of a judgement call on the packaging you describe but I'm always glad of the info.

Somewhat related but when I delivered pizzas for Papa John's a few years back taking any peanut product into a store or having them in your car as a driver was a straight dismissal for gross misconduct.

21-01-2022, 08:50 AM
Bacon that curls up when you start grilling it.

21-01-2022, 10:25 AM
Said it before and saying it again, Tesco - stop slicing all the freshly baked bread. I want to cut my own thick slices, not have slices disintegrate when I pick one up because you've sliced it thinner than a piece of wafer thin ham. Erseholes.

21-01-2022, 10:33 AM
Said it before and saying it again, Tesco - stop slicing all the freshly baked bread. I want to cut my own thick slices, not have slices disintegrate when I pick one up because you've sliced it thinner than a piece of wafer thin ham. Erseholes.

Honestly, get yourself a Panasonic breadmaker. I got mine second hand but it would have been around £200 new. Makes really good crusty bread which you can set to a timer so you wake up to the smell of freshly baked bread, but also makes doughs for chelsea buns, pizza, focaccia, croissaints and all sorts more, has a dispenser to dump seeds, fruit and nuts into the bread at the right time and also makes jams and preserves. A loaf costs literally pennies.

You can pick some of them up for £40 or so second hand on Facebook Marketplace or Gumtree and along with my intelligent pressure cooker it's the gadget that I would genuinely describe as a gamechanger.

21-01-2022, 12:11 PM

Change your shop. I'll be in tesco in Perth tomorrow and will guarantee that they will have unsliced loaves. But as Northern said I make my own with a Panasonic bread maker.

21-01-2022, 02:20 PM
Slaw. Not the food stuff itself but this trend of calling it slaw. Coleslaw ffs.

patch1875
21-01-2022, 02:49 PM
Slaw. Not the food stuff itself but this trend of calling it slaw. Coleslaw ffs.

Acca

Is a personal hate of mine.

EH6 Hibby
21-01-2022, 10:36 PM
Honestly, get yourself a Panasonic breadmaker. I got mine second hand but it would have been around £200 new. Makes really good crusty bread which you can set to a timer so you wake up to the smell of freshly baked bread, but also makes doughs for chelsea buns, pizza, focaccia, croissaints and all sorts more, has a dispenser to dump seeds, fruit and nuts into the bread at the right time and also makes jams and preserves. A loaf costs literally pennies.

You can pick some of them up for £40 or so second hand on Facebook Marketplace or Gumtree and along with my intelligent pressure cooker it's the gadget that I would genuinely describe as a gamechanger..

I got mine off gumtree about 3 years ago and it’s still working perfectly, I really don’t use it enough.

21-01-2022, 11:03 PM

I found that term being used all the time in America. Almost as bad as the food itself!

pollution
22-01-2022, 07:40 PM
Wasting good money on plonk.

I bought a Pinot Noir from Aldi at £6.95 thinking it would be smooth and drinkable but it was almost bitter and the colour of weak Ribena.

I've been in aa bad mood all day over this. It's too tart to even use in a stew or the like.

Semi raging.

23-01-2022, 09:42 AM
Posters on here who feel the need to post on every thread generally with a differing viewpoint and end up ruining the thread with needless to and forth bickering.

23-01-2022, 01:24 PM
Jumper dresses. I’d make wearing them a jailable offence. It should either be a jumper or a dress not a hybrid monstrosity!

23-01-2022, 01:57 PM
Posters on here who feel the need to post on every thread generally with a differing viewpoint and end up ruining the thread with needless to and forth bickering.

And folk that jump on those threads to tell everyone how they’ve put those posters on ignore. :wink:

23-01-2022, 01:59 PM
And folk that jump on those threads to tell everyone how they’ve put those posters on ignore. :wink:>ignore button clicked<

24-01-2022, 08:22 PM
Anything online that is run by the govt or similar.

Self assessment tax return must be the least user friendly experience ever.

Registering my intention to marry and statements on the same page literally directly conflict each other. Phone up and ask for advice and the (very nice) lady says 'ignore the website, it's useless.'

24-01-2022, 09:30 PM
May have already been done.... Wild swimming - we called it swimming while growing up in Porty.

25-01-2022, 04:04 PM
Unfolding tin foil and cling film after my my wife has used it!

27-01-2022, 09:02 PM
Website verification apps. If you need DOB details, not allowing the user to select a date but insist you scrolll back though a caledar one month at a time 720 times is taking the p@ss. Does no-one do usibilty testing anymore?

28-01-2022, 08:48 AM
Website verification apps. If you need DOB details, not allowing the user to select a date but insist you scrolll back though a caledar one month at a time 720 times is taking the p@ss. Does no-one do usibilty testing anymore?

Linked to that, where they have a drop down/scroll for each of day, month, year which defaults to the current date… if you select the day of the DoB first (as you would as it’s the first one presented to you), and the day is higher than the day of the current date, it has a hissy fit and defaults back to the current date as it is a date in the future.

Calm down, I’m about to change the month and year, thanks!

28-01-2022, 11:30 AM
Linked to that, where they have a drop down/scroll for each of day, month, year which defaults to the current date… if you select the day of the DoB first (as you would as it’s the first one presented to you), and the day is higher than the day of the current date, it has a hissy fit and defaults back to the current date as it is a date in the future.

Calm down, I’m about to change the month and year, thanks!

Computer obviously thinks you were born yesterday. Sorry tomorrow.

28-01-2022, 01:20 PM
When the club posts something on Twitter and it's flooded with comments like "Announce Charles Cook" or "Announce x player" or that. It comes across as completely entitled and when it's for something like a player like Hallberg leaving completely out of order.

28-01-2022, 02:15 PM
I think I’ve posted something similar on this thread before but I saw this on Instagram:

I get this all the time. So annoying.

28-01-2022, 02:22 PM
That's reminded me of one of mine: folk taking a photo of a screen instead of a proper screenshot.

28-01-2022, 04:02 PM
Anyone who reacts to winning or succeeding in anything with the "Ssshhhhhh" finger to lips gesture.

See if SDG celebrated his winning goal in the cup final with that? Even he would have deserved a slap and been told to not be a big prick in that situation.

30-01-2022, 08:31 PM
Half time interviews on the pitch with football players. Whats that all about? Seems to be a mainland Europe thing in France and Belgium especially. Just let them get into the dressing room for tea and a team talk.

31-01-2022, 05:18 PM
Realising you’re getting too heavy by noticing that the bannister on your stairs is warped due to swinging off it as you go up stairs for a piss, I’m now leaning in on the way down in order to rectify the problem.
Another one is not having a downstairs toilet.

31-01-2022, 05:19 PM

I got mine off gumtree about 3 years ago and it’s still working perfectly, I really don’t use it enough.
Is there any kitchen gadget you don’t have 😂

01-02-2022, 08:47 AM
People that you admire coming out with complete and utter crap.

I'm a big fan of Joe Rogan, I listen to a lot of his podcasts and enjoy the long form conversation he has with different people.

Some of the ***** he's come out with recently around COVID is really annoying, and very disappointing from someone who obviously has such massive appeal.

Don't get me wrong, he does come out with a fair bit of pish, but that was beyond it and has really put me off him.

01-02-2022, 11:24 AM
Without fail, if I'm cooking something that needs drained (rice, pasta, potatoes, boiled veg) my girlfriend will decide that's the perfect time to soak a dish in the sink. One of my many kitchen-girlfriend pet peeves that I've listed on here :greengrin

Another example of a previous one I've listed on here where she puts stuff away that I'm still using, last night I was in the middle of slicing mushrooms (had sliced a grand total of 3) and briefly paused to stir the contents of the frying pan as it was beginning to catch and when I turned back around, the mushrooms were back in the fridge!

patch1875
01-02-2022, 04:20 PM
My wife who has several cups of coffee a day uses a different tea spoon each time.

What’s wrong with rinsing it under the tap!

Alfiembra
02-02-2022, 11:13 PM
Been getting particularly wound up by the Hibs media guy interviewing the new arrivals. Every interview seems to start with “how excited are you to have signed for Hibernian” like anyone is going to say “well actually I didn’t really want to come here so no really” Also always asks the manager after every game “how pleased are you with that performance”

03-02-2022, 10:46 AM
Without fail, if I'm cooking something that needs drained (rice, pasta, potatoes, boiled veg) my girlfriend will decide that's the perfect time to soak a dish in the sink. One of my many kitchen-girlfriend pet peeves that I've listed on here :greengrin

Another example of a previous one I've listed on here where she puts stuff away that I'm still using, last night I was in the middle of slicing mushrooms (had sliced a grand total of 3) and briefly paused to stir the contents of the frying pan as it was beginning to catch and when I turned back around, the mushrooms were back in the fridge!

Tell her to GTF, when I'm in the kitchen cooking my wife leaves me to it unless I ask her for a hand.

03-02-2022, 10:47 AM
My wife who has several cups of coffee a day uses a different tea spoon each time.

What’s wrong with rinsing it under the tap!

Does she use the same cup?

04-02-2022, 06:15 AM
People not responding to you when you ask for a quote. Had an email exchange with a fireplace company in Lanark and they’ve then dropped off the face of the earth. Another enquiry with a Broxburn based company but nothing back.

Anyone know a good fireplace and stove company?

Had a driveway company come out to get a quote for re tarmacing the drive and heard nothing since despite a couple of follow up messages.

04-02-2022, 07:22 AM
People not responding to you when you ask for a quote. Had an email exchange with a fireplace company in Lanark and they’ve then dropped off the face of the earth. Another enquiry with a Broxburn based company but nothing back.

Had a driveway company come out to get a quote for re tarmacing the drive and heard nothing since despite a couple of follow up messages.

:agree: Same here. I want 2 natural stone terraces built in my garden, I've had about 5 landscape gardners look at the job but they didn't get back to give me a quote, instead they just then disappeared of the face of the earth. If I have to chase after them to get my quote, then there's no chance I'm going to risk having to keep chasing them to actually get the job done.

04-02-2022, 07:28 AM
:agree: Same here. I want 2 natural stone terraces built in my garden, I've had about 5 landscape gardners look at the job but they didn't get back to give me a quote, instead they just then disappeared of the face of the earth. If I have to chase after them to get my quote, then there's no chance I'm going to risk having to keep chasing them to actually get the job done.

Yepp, thats my take too. No way am I harassing you for the pleasure of handing over thousands of pounds.

speedy_gonzales
04-02-2022, 08:34 AM

We just had a stove fitted recently by The Stove Centre(Edinburgh) out at Loanhead. Would highly recommend, Tommy Brock & his team are well respected and do a very decent job.

As for the driveway/landscaping, I'm in the same boat as you, looking to get about 75M² of stone patio done and I can't find anyone willing to take on the work, well, at least they're not willing to pop out and quote for the work.

04-02-2022, 08:38 AM
We just had a stove fitted recently by The Stove Centre(Edinburgh) out at Loanhead. Would highly recommend, Tommy Brock & his team are well respected and do a very decent job.

As for the driveway/landscaping, I'm in the same boat as you, looking to get about 75M² of stone patio done and I can't find anyone willing to take on the work, well, at least they're not willing to pop out and quote for the work.

Cheers Speedy, I'll get in touch with them.

Just heard from my driveway guy, almost exact same size as yours and he's quoted £6600, £85 per square metre, tarmac.

04-02-2022, 08:46 AM

I found landscapers/gardeners to be a nightmare. Struggle to get them to turn up or it starts drizzling and they're straight into the van. Couldn't get a response from him when it was going to be finished/resumed so ended up calling him out on Facebook and he was straight on the phone threatening me - I jumped in the car and dumped his tools in his front garden.

Did eventually find a proper company though - Iain Craig and Sons (Loanhead). Excellent - managed properly, not scared of the weather and do what they say they will. Only take payment at the end when they're finished. They're hibees as well if that makes a difference to anyone.

04-02-2022, 08:19 PM

Have you tried giving Deek a call, Barnton Landscaping. 07983867156, he is busy but worth a try and does a good job. :aok:

05-02-2022, 11:54 AM
People watching games at the actual ground through their phones! The Kidderminster fans going wild as they scored with load of them holding their phones as they jumped about.

06-02-2022, 01:50 AM
Rugby fans up town tonight. Bams