View Full Version : Pet Peeves IV
Ignorant *******s on buses who wear those big **** off bag packs and block the aisles when theres plenty seats. I just shove the ****ers out of the way, Im on a mission when Im getting off the bus.
Oh and ignorant ****ers who sit on a seat with their bag taking up the other seat and they dont ****ing budge for anyone 🤬
Oh and folk who feel the need to tell the whole bus about their Chlamydia, no one gives a **** about your STD 🤬
I can visualise the steam coming out of your ears 😂
15-11-2024, 04:26 PM
'Time goes so fast these days'.
No, it's pretty consistent in how quickly it passes.
babahibs
15-11-2024, 05:45 PM
Time doesn't go faster as you get older but it definitely feels faster
15-11-2024, 06:27 PM
Nuisance phone calls at 8.20am two days running from an older sounding woman claiming to be an energy consultant. Just **** off.
15-11-2024, 10:20 PM
Remember that is 20 years time lol.
15-11-2024, 10:21 PM
People who get annoyed about guys wearing shorts. Seriously, what's the big deal. I'm in my 40s and regularly wear them. What's the problem?
Bridge hibs
15-11-2024, 11:08 PM
Deal or no deal, just get on with the ****ing show, all this “I sense I have a big red number, I read the tea leafs” only to open the box and its 10p !!
Followed by the customary “ Oh Joe, I love your hair, you are amazing, friends for life now” **** off, its Deal or no deal no ****ing date night !! 🤬
Bring back Jasper Carrot and his Golden Balls
16-11-2024, 12:31 AM
EE staff members.
16-11-2024, 06:18 AM
Boogie in the Morning
“ I’ll tell you in a minute “
Que 10 minute ad
I mean just f#ck off!
Best radio show in the UK ?????
I know I have learned just to get up put the kettle on and make a fry up
16-11-2024, 07:35 AM
Deal or no deal, just get on with the ****ing show, all this “I sense I have a big red number, I read the tea leafs” only to open the box and its 10p !!
Followed by the customary “ Oh Joe, I love your hair, you are amazing, friends for life now” **** off, its Deal or no deal no ****ing date night !! 🤬
Bring back Jasper Carrot and his Golden Balls
I've always wanted someone to go on and just go '1,2 3,4......' with no nonsense but I daresay there is a screening process to avoid people like that getting on. You'll have to play the game. A mate of mine was on The Chase a while back and he was told at the screen testing that you had to be in character so to speak.
I also think Deal or No Deal just doesn't work now since they have slashed the value of the high boxes. Most of the offers seem to be between £1-4K now. I don't mean to sound indifferent to that kind of money but there isn't the same jeopardy as the £15K, 20K 35K and 250K are all gone so the likelihood of serious money being on the table is massively reduced. If you can't get down the last 3/4 boxes with one of the big 3 on the table then the likelihood is you aren't reaching 5 figures.
16-11-2024, 08:30 AM
I've always wanted someone to go on and just go '1,2 3,4......' with no nonsense but I daresay there is a screening process to avoid people like that getting on. You'll have to play the game. A mate of mine was on The Chase a while back and he was told at the screen testing that you had to be in character so to speak.
I also think Deal or No Deal just doesn't work now since they have slashed the value of the high boxes. Most of the offers seem to be between £1-4K now. I don't mean to sound indifferent to that kind of money but there isn't the same jeopardy as the £15K, 20K 35K and 250K are all gone so the likelihood of serious money being on the table is massively reduced. If you can't get down the last 3/4 boxes with one of the big 3 on the table then the likelihood is you aren't reaching 5 figures.
Sign o the times
Noticed that Bradley and the chasers are laughing at the prize money available on Pointless for example :greengrin
16-11-2024, 12:09 PM
People who get annoyed about guys wearing shorts. Seriously, what's the big deal. I'm in my 40s and regularly wear them. What's the problem?
I’m a fellow shorts wearer in my 40s.
When the shorts are snug style circa 1985 with a creepy wee testicle peeking out the side, I accept that criticism may be merited.
But a sensible pair of longer shorts? Don’t really see what the big deal with that is.
16-11-2024, 12:59 PM
People that don’t wait for the folk coming off a train/tram to actually get off the train/tram before forcing their way on.
16-11-2024, 01:07 PM
People arriving same time as bus and trying to jump the queue and get on the already packed bus before those that have been waiting. I stepped right across a guy who tried it yesterday and actually blocked his path completely, he was raging 😂
Bridge hibs
16-11-2024, 01:24 PM
People arriving same time as bus and trying to jump the queue and get on the already packed bus before those that have been waiting. I stepped right across a guy who tried it yesterday and actually blocked his path completely, he was raging 😂
Wouldnt surprise you to know that was one of my earlier bus peeves, however its worth another mention, absolute ***** 🤬
16-11-2024, 01:24 PM
Tends to be the same people that feel the need to chat on speaker phone on the bus, wouldn't be so annoying if I could understand what they are saying. 😉
16-11-2024, 02:55 PM
People jumping on the bus before passengers have alighted
I mean just f#ck off !
Young people skipping the queue and jumping on the bus then disappearing upstairs
Suits me never go upstairs now bad knees
16-11-2024, 02:58 PM
Youtube!! Adverts are going to be longer than the actual video soon. And no, it's not worth £12 to get rid of Adverts!!
16-11-2024, 03:27 PM
Youtube!! Adverts are going to be longer than the actual video soon. And no, it's not worth £12 to get rid of Adverts!!
I use Brave which removes all ads on YouTube when watching something.
Donegal Hibby
16-11-2024, 04:16 PM
Being in the checkout when somebody in front of you is starting to unload a full shopping trolley of groceries while staring at you with only a couple items and don’t let you go ahead of them 🤬
16-11-2024, 05:35 PM
It’s brilliant.
16-11-2024, 05:38 PM
Being in the checkout when somebody in front of you is starting to unload a full shopping trolley of groceries while staring at you with only a couple items and don’t let you go ahead of them 🤬
People that let their kids push the trolley even though they have no spatial awareness which seemed to be the order of the day at Morrisons at The Gyle earlier.
On a side note pretty much every item of booze except beer, cider and some wine is now locked up in Morrisons at The Gyle and you have to press a button to get someone to open it for you.
16-11-2024, 05:50 PM
It’s brilliant.
Best browser out there.
pollution
16-11-2024, 06:05 PM
People that let their kids push the trolley even though they have no spatial awareness which seemed to be the order of the day at Morrisons at The Gyle earlier.
On a side note pretty much every item of booze except beer, cider and some wine is now locked up in Morrisons at The Gyle and you have to press a button to get someone to open it for you.
What ??
Reminds me of off licences in Brixton forty years ago
16-11-2024, 06:08 PM
People that don’t wait for the folk coming off a train/tram to actually get off the train/tram before forcing their way on.
People jumping on the bus before passengers have alighted
I mean just f#ck off !
Young people skipping the queue and jumping on the bus then disappearing upstairs
Suits me never go upstairs now bad knees
If you think it's bad here, you guys should try living in Vienna.
Boy did I get into some arguments with the locals getting on and off public transport
I could tell you some stories about that... :greengrin
16-11-2024, 06:29 PM
Boogie in the Morning
“ I’ll tell you in a minute “
Que 10 minute ad
I mean just f#ck off!
Best radio show in the UK ?????
I know I have learned just to get up put the kettle on and make a fry up
Morning radio presenters in general. They are way too happy and excited for early mornings.
I’d like a morning radio presenter to be nice and relaxed, soft voice. Let me wake up.
Nothing worse than jumping in the van in the morning and hearing boogie or, god forbid, that fanny Des Clarke going off their tits at 7am.
16-11-2024, 07:14 PM
Firefox with adblocker is also a great option. It also work on Andriod phones or tablets.
16-11-2024, 08:11 PM
Nearly all of the youtube we watch is on our TV.
18-11-2024, 06:48 AM
Yeah, I'd not let you in front either to be honest. :greengrin
Is that a thing?
18-11-2024, 06:52 AM
Roundabouts that just have 2 solid circles of lanes around them. I suspect it's just my own driving inadequacy but I can't get my head around how I'm meant to use them... I like the roundabouts that have lanes that spiral out to your exit.
Bridge hibs
18-11-2024, 07:00 AM
Is that a thing?I tend to avoid shopping at all costs but no ****ing way would I let anyone jump in front of me in the queue. I had the misfortune of assisting my Wife in Morrisons a while back and it was a monthly shop so it was a lot.
I heard the heavy breathing behind me and it seemed to get louder, I had a quick glance and there was an old Woman probably around 90 holding a tin of cat food. Now Im not being selfish because I dont like cats and because she was on a heavy dose of oxygen and could barely stand doesnt give me a reason to let her have my slot.
If I did that for every 90 year old oxygenated barely able to stand pensioner I would never get out of the bloody store and Im not having my Magnum choc ice lollies melting before I get home.
18-11-2024, 08:33 AM
I agree with you but thankfully round these parts most folk with a load of shopping let you go in front, happened to me yesterday in fact. Just common courtesy.
18-11-2024, 08:56 AM
I tend to avoid shopping at all costs but no ****ing way would I let anyone jump in front of me in the queue. I had the misfortune of assisting my Wife in Morrisons a while back and it was a monthly shop so it was a lot. I heard the heavy breathing behind me and it seemed to get louder, I had a quick glance and there was an old Woman probably around 90 holding a tin of cat food.
Trying to work out if this is a joke.
18-11-2024, 08:59 AM
People who think the whole world is their own personal fiefdom.
I was out with my 2 bairns on Saturday and was with my mate who had his 2 as well. Got on the bus at the terminus, wen't right to the back, the 2 girls (both 7) sat together and were just chatting away quietly whilst the 2 boys (2 and 3) sat together just babbling away to each other occasionally telling us what they could see from the window and os on, basically being toddlers. There was an older couple in front of us who were lovely. Chatting away to the boys, asking where they were going, what their names were etc. Another older guy was also chatting away to us and it was all very convivial. Bus got very busy and when we went to get off the boys were saying by to everyone and the aforementioned people were telling them it was lovely to meet them, to enjoy their day, how good they had been at sitting nicely etc etc.
Just as I was getting off this wizened old hag tapped me on the shoulder. I thought I had maybe dropped something in the melee of trying to get off with 4 kids but no she proceeded to tell me that the boys behaviour was 'appalling', that they 'never shut up and were screeching the whole time' (which was just a lie). I replied saying they weren't screeching and had just been chatting and they are 2 year old, they aren't going to be silent. I tried to stay quite calm about it but by this point a bit of a scene was starting as others were blocked from exiting or entering the bus and were getting irate. I started to walk away and she followed us a few yards down the street ranting away about how she had a 'splitting headache' and 'should be entitled to peace and quiet on the bus'. By this point my patience had gone and I told her if she wanted peace and quiet maybe she should avoid public transport and get a taxi. She kept going on and on and ironically was now making more noise than 4 kids combined. Another couple of people from the bus stepped in and told her she was out of line and the boys had been fine but she wasn't having it.
I would totally get it if the kids had been running about, jumping or standing on seats, touching people or whatever but that wasn't the case. Kids are going to make a bit of noise when they talk at that age and a bus is hardly an inappropriate place for them to do so. With the engine roaring and other people chatting they weren't at all out of place. If they were being excessively loud in a restaurant or whatever then they would be told or I'd take them out. Even on a bus if I felt the volume was excessive I'd try harder to calm them down but I'm not going to stop them talking or having fun with their pals at all just because someone expects silence on a bus:faf:
Bridge hibs
18-11-2024, 09:26 AM
Trying to work out if this is a joke.
See my edit, for some reason I posted without finishing.
18-11-2024, 09:34 AM
Dunno if it's just where I tend to go shopping (supermarkets) but there seems to be a natural filter, whereby those with just a few items go to one check out and those with loads of items go to others. Can't say I've ever experienced this as a problem (although I can now worry that I have subconsciously caused it many a time).
Other, smaller shops you're only ever really going in for a few items anyway.
18-11-2024, 09:40 AM
See my edit, for some reason I posted without finishing.
Seriously????
You have left out the smiley face emoji right ?
18-11-2024, 09:54 AM
See my edit, for some reason I posted without finishing.Doesn't improve it much tbh.
18-11-2024, 09:59 AM
On the supermarket theme, people who treat it like some sort of social club. Two or more groups of people with two or more trolleys blocking aisles and shelves whilst they have a cosy chat for ages. It started annoying me during the pandemic when you weren't even allowed to be doing that sort of thing - I'm sure people actually organised to be at Tesco at the same time as their mates - but it has continued to annoy me. I want to go in, get what I need, pay for it and go as fast as possible.
Also supermarket related - my wife never bothering to look at dates on anything when she puts something in the trolley.
18-11-2024, 10:05 AM
On the supermarket theme, people who treat it like some sort of social club. Two or more groups of people with two or more trolleys blocking aisles and shelves whilst they have a cosy chat for ages. It started annoying me during the pandemic when you weren't even allowed to be doing that sort of thing - I'm sure people actually organised to be at Tesco at the same time as their mates - but it has continued to annoy me. I want to go in, get what I need, pay for it and go as fast as possible.
Also supermarket related - my wife never bothering to look at dates on anything when she puts something in the trolley.
Yip always pick from the back of the shelf
Sweetie wives telling their life stories to the check out girl have driven this dinosaur in a hurry to the self check outs which tbf are a doddle now only hassle being getting my alcoholic meds okayed at payment 😀
Bridge hibs
18-11-2024, 10:33 AM
Seriously????
You have left out the smiley face emoji right ?
Im not being serious, I actually hate shopping period and I avoid at all costs. Im actually very polite, too polite to be honest and I would probably let everyone in front of me
Is that a thing?
That's how queues work, I was here 1st, tough ****.
18-11-2024, 10:35 AM
Im not being serious, I actually hate shopping period and I avoid at all costs. Im actually very polite, too polite to be honest and I would probably let everyone in front of me
18-11-2024, 10:43 AM
That's how queues work, I was here 1st, tough ****.
Try telling that to some tourists
Some have never heard of queues
Italians and Americans are the worst in my experience
18-11-2024, 10:44 AM
Cool !
18-11-2024, 11:38 AM
If I've got a big shop and know I'll be ages and someone behind me only has 1 or 2 items I always let them go first. For the sake of waiting 30 seconds for me or 5 minutes for them it just seems to make sense.
I just thought everyone did that tbh as I've had it reciprocated loads of times too.
18-11-2024, 11:47 AM
If I've got a big shop and know I'll be ages and someone behind me only has 1 or 2 items I always let them go first. For the sake of waiting 30 seconds for me or 5 minutes for them it just seems to make sense.
I just thought everyone did that tbh as I've had it reciprocated loads of times too.
Yeah that's been my experience. If someone didn't let you through when they had a full trolley and you had one item then that would be a proper peeve but I can hardly remember it happening to me.
Anyway - coasters that stick to the bottom of your coffee cup without you noticing and end up falling into your lunch.
Jakhog1
18-11-2024, 11:59 AM
Don't get letting someone in front of you in the queue at the supermarket when there are self service tills that have card and cash options, if you are in a rush and only have a couple of items you will be in and out in no time
18-11-2024, 12:33 PM
When supermarkets constantly rearrange and move stock around. Frustrating as ****, I write my list in the order of where everything is in the supermarket. I hate having to go back on myself because they have moved stuff and so can’t find it.
Try telling that to some tourists
Some have never heard of queues
Italians and Americans are the worst in my experience
Sitting in the taxi rank 3rd and get asked if I'm 1st, do I look ****ing 1st.
17th November and the Christmas market on Princes St already open.
speedy_gonzales
18-11-2024, 05:17 PM
Anyway - coasters that stick to the bottom of your coffee cup without you noticing and end up falling into your lunch.
That's a proper peeve, happens with damp beer mats to pint glasses too, but rather than fall in to your lunch they just stick there and your mates just take the p¡SS out of you.
Over the years I've learned to rock my receptacle to about 5° before lifting, if you get it on to the heel of the cup/glass the coasters tend not to stick.
18-11-2024, 05:35 PM
I think most people who don't hate themselves and their lives would react the same.
18-11-2024, 06:02 PM
I tend to avoid shopping at all costs but no ****ing way would I let anyone jump in front of me in the queue. I had the misfortune of assisting my Wife in Morrisons a while back and it was a monthly shop so it was a lot.
I heard the heavy breathing behind me and it seemed to get louder, I had a quick glance and there was an old Woman probably around 90 holding a tin of cat food. Now Im not being selfish because I dont like cats and because she was on a heavy dose of oxygen and could barely stand doesnt give me a reason to let her have my slot.
If I did that for every 90 year old oxygenated barely able to stand pensioner I would never get out of the bloody store and Im not having my Magnum choc ice lollies melting before I get home.
Quite right, mate!
Bridge hibs
18-11-2024, 06:15 PM
Quite right, mate!
Thats the last time my Mum goes shopping with me, cannae take her anywhere 😩😃
18-11-2024, 06:35 PM
Thats the last time my Mum goes shopping with me, cannae take her anywhere 😩😃
17th November and the Christmas market on Princes St already open.
I went into a shop yesterday, haven’t been in it for a while, and was surprised to see signs up at the door saying that they would be operating on their Christmas hours as of 21st of October!
And to add to that, the Christmas hours weren’t displayed on the posters, you have to go to their website to see them :confused:
Donegal Hibby
18-11-2024, 08:56 PM
When supermarkets constantly rearrange and move stock around. Frustrating as ****, I write my list in the order of where everything is in the supermarket. I hate having to go back on myself because they have moved stuff and so can’t find it.
Actually brought this up with someone I know who works in my local supermarket and they said it’s apparently part of a retail ploy to get customers to purchase other items … told him it was a pain in the **** , his response was that it probably was for the customer though it did work! .
18-11-2024, 09:10 PM
Actually brought this up with someone I know who works in my local supermarket and they said it’s apparently part of a retail ploy to get customers to purchase other items … told him it was a pain in the **** , his response was that it probably was for the customer though it did work! .
Yep that's exactly what it is. Not that I considered buying the tin of Heinz all day breakfast that was staring at me from the shelf which previously contained the gluten free biscuits that I was looking for.
19-11-2024, 12:54 PM
The “bring back National Service” shout you see so often online in response to a report about criminality. Some people seem to think that National Service would automatically change the culture in society today, instill discipline and solve all the problems. Absolute nonsense.
19-11-2024, 01:25 PM
My works christmas lunch is at Vittoria on the Bridge.
It's £25 for main and dessert, which is fairly standard for an xmas lunch I think. What the peeve is for me here is that if I want to order the christmas dinner roast turkey I have to pay a £5 supplement. It's the christmas lunch menu! I dinnae mind having to pay a supplement for a steak or something, but you shouldn't be paying extra for a christmas dinner when you go out for christmas meal.
19-11-2024, 01:33 PM
It's £25 for main and dessert, which is fairly standard for an xmas lunch I think. What the peeve is for me here is that if I want to order the christmas dinner roast turkey I have to pay a £5 supplement. It's the christmas lunch menu! I dinnae mind having to pay a supplement for a steak or something, but you shouldn't be paying extra for a christmas dinner when you go out for christmas meal.
I'm going there as well, but as it's on the weekend you can only select the 3 course menu, as a result I'm about to pay £10 for two scoops of ice cream for a dessert
Luckily I love the Vittoria so it's no big deal but I don't even normally have a dessert either
19-11-2024, 01:42 PM
Can my Christmas night out peeve be that my night out has been arranged for a Gorgie venue that has a football pitch on one side and a view into a school on the other?
19-11-2024, 01:44 PM
That's mad. A Christmas lunch menu that charges a supplement for having Christmas lunch:faf:
19-11-2024, 03:40 PM
ScotRail. Rush hour train from Dunfermline this morning - 2 carriages so it’s absolutely rammed and getting from my seat to the exit is an exercise in not accidentally sexually assaulting someone.
Train back is cancelled with no announcement, the app says it’s on time and no timetable information is available at the station, so it’s complete guesswork.
Next train arrives, 16:27 so the station is heaving, busier still because of the phantom train not turning up, and its two carriages. Basically can only get on if you’re prepared to push past folk.
They’re meant to make public transport the easiest option - genuinely turning the train into a last resort option.
19-11-2024, 03:54 PM
ScotRail. Rush hour train from Dunfermline this morning - 2 carriages so it’s absolutely rammed and getting from my seat to the exit is an exercise in not accidentally sexually assaulting someone.
Train back is cancelled with no announcement, the app says it’s on time and no timetable information is available at the station, so it’s complete guesswork.
Next train arrives, 16:27 so the station is heaving, busier still because of the phantom train not turning up, and its two carriages. Basically can only get on if you’re prepared to push past folk.
They’re meant to make public transport the easiest option - genuinely turning the train into a last resort option.
I’m currently waiting on a tram. Tracker said one due in 2 mins… it arrives and it is an out of service one being used for driver training. Why put it on the tracker?
19-11-2024, 03:56 PM
I’m currently waiting on a tram. Tracker said one due in 2 mins… it arrives and it is an out of service one being used for driver training. Why put it on the tracker?
I've found the trams (which have been frankly brilliant since they completed the line down to Newhaven) just a little bit more unpredictable in recent weeks.
Had to go to a meeting in town last week, so drove to the park and ride at Straiton to get the bus in. 2 buses in a row didn’t turn up at all, despite the app and the digital board saying they were due, ended up waiting half an hour for a bus when should have only needed to wait about 6 minutes. Total shambles
19-11-2024, 07:40 PM
The lack of a single German speaker at meiner Arbeit.
Sometimes I accidentally use Deutsche Worte in the middle of a sentence and not a single soul can Deutsch verstehen!
It really rips mein Stricken
19-11-2024, 08:15 PM
The lack of a single German speaker at meiner Arbeit.
Sometimes I accidentally use Deutsche Worte in the middle of a sentence and not a single soul can Deutsch verstehen!
It really rips mein Stricken
You are Gail Tufts and I claim my 5 pounds.
Just_Jimmy
19-11-2024, 09:50 PM
Can my Christmas night out peeve be that my night out has been arranged for a Gorgie venue that has a football pitch on one side and a view into a school on the other?Would suit me, perfect excuse to skip my real pet peeve, which is socialising with people from work.
I'm paid to be there, I'd choose to be anywhere else with people I want to be with as soon as the money stopped.
Sent from my SM-G991B using Tapatalk
20-11-2024, 06:06 PM
This patter with goalkeepers at absolutely honking levels of football putting a GoPro in their net, filming a game, adding AI commentary and posting it on social media. One 'character' even has @ScouseGK on the back of his shirt. Total cringe.
Worst is the guys making their kids do it. There's one wee lad Ollie who looks about 10/11 and seems quite a decent keeper but you just know his dad is going to ruin him. Every 3rd week it's 'first game for a new team' or 'all part of the journey, we go again'. Just let the boy play FFS.
babahibs
20-11-2024, 06:50 PM
I've found the trams (which have been frankly brilliant since they completed the line down to Newhaven) just a little bit more unpredictable in recent weeks.
I've noticed this too.
I live at the Shore and use the tram a lot, recently there's been a few times when the tram hasn't turned up.
20-11-2024, 07:10 PM
I can say for definite that I have never accidentally sexually
assaulted someone.
20-11-2024, 07:57 PM
I can say for definite that I have never accidentally sexually
assaulted someone.
Always been on purpose? 🤔😲
20-11-2024, 08:05 PM
This patter with goalkeepers at absolutely honking levels of football putting a GoPro in their net, filming a game, adding AI commentary and posting it on social media. One 'character' even has @ScouseGK on the back of his shirt. Total cringe.
Worst is the guys making their kids do it. There's one wee lad Ollie who looks about 10/11 and seems quite a decent keeper but you just know his dad is going to ruin him. Every 3rd week it's 'first game for a new team' or 'all part of the journey, we go again'. Just let the boy play FFS.
Is that kid de gea? What a nonsense it is.
21-11-2024, 01:46 AM
The weather app on my phone saying it’s -3 outside but it feels like it is -8 due to the winds, it’s 8mph winds so hardly gusty, it is so cold on the face outside tonight.
21-11-2024, 08:39 AM
The term” X formerly known as Twitter”
Why? If it’s changed it’s name just say “X”
21-11-2024, 10:18 AM
I still just call it Twitter.
21-11-2024, 10:19 AM
So do I, because it's full of twits!
21-11-2024, 12:04 PM
Yeah I get, but the term is used in media reports all the time.
21-11-2024, 04:32 PM
Yeah I get, but the term is used in media reports all the time.
Put that up as a peeve months ago and yer right…it’s STILL going on!
So much so it’s like they actually changed the name to be ‘X formally known as Twitter’ [emoji2962]
babahibs
21-11-2024, 05:40 PM
Put that up as a peeve months ago and yer right…it’s STILL going on!
So much so it’s like they actually changed the name to be ‘X formally known as Twitter’ [emoji2962]
It's like they think nobody knows that X used to be called Twitter.
Just stop it. Everybody knows now.
21-11-2024, 08:00 PM
You are Gail Tufts and I claim my 5 pounds.
22-11-2024, 10:49 AM
It could be the start of a trend. People who take over and rename chippies (say) will have to incorporate 'formerly known as' in their new shopfront signage.
Bridge hibs
22-11-2024, 12:47 PM
It could be the start of a trend. People who take over and rename chippies (say) will have to incorporate 'formerly known as' in their new shopfront signage.
That reminds me of an old mucker of mines when in the dafty days of yore a lot of the locals (myself included) would indulge in the primitive act of self tattooing.
A lot of them added their “girlfriends” names. One mate in particular I think must have had a truck load of “Indian ink” and appeared to be on a mission to add as many crude tattoos of his mostly then former girlfriends, starting from the top of his arms to his wrists.
Wullie luvs Aggie, Wullie luvs Brenda, Wullie luvs Senga, Wullie luvs Mags (Sengas Mum) every time he split up from a girlfriend, mostly after a one night whirlwind romance he just tattooed a line through the name and added another.
Think he is now married to none of the above and has had laser treatment.
22-11-2024, 01:18 PM
That reminds me of an old mucker of mines when in the dafty days of yore a lot of the locals (myself included) would indulge in the primitive act of self tattooing.
A lot of them added their “girlfriends” names. One mate in particular I think must have had a truck load of “Indian ink” and appeared to be on a mission to add as many crude tattoos of his mostly then former girlfriends, starting from the top of his arms to his wrists.
Wullie luvs Aggie, Wullie luvs Brenda, Wullie luvs Senga, Wullie luvs Mags (Sengas Mum) every time he split up from a girlfriend, mostly after a one night whirlwind romance he just tattooed a line through the name and added another.
Think he is now married to none of the above and has had laser treatment.
That's an excellent idea. There was a thread on hibs.net not so long ago which went on for many, many days about where a west Edinburgh co-op (or something) used to be or once was or had become. Or that. All the mental racking could have been avoided if all buildings had simply been forced all along to display a list of all the businesses they had housed over the years, with a line through all the ones they no longer did.
Bridge hibs
22-11-2024, 01:22 PM
That's an excellent idea. There was a thread on hibs.net not so long ago which went on for many, many days about where a west Edinburgh co-op (or something) used to be or once was or had become. Or that. All the mental racking could have been avoided if the building had simply been forced all along to display a list of all the businesses it had housed over the years, with a line through all the ones it no longer did.
Yeah I think there is a site out there dedicated to “Ghost Signs” that would be at a time shop owners would employ Sign writers pre plastic and neon sineage days and the former shop names were exposed when the paint was burned off.
ErinGoBraghHFC
22-11-2024, 01:35 PM
Morning radio presenters in general. They are way too happy and excited for early mornings.
I’d like a morning radio presenter to be nice and relaxed, soft voice. Let me wake up.
Nothing worse than jumping in the van in the morning and hearing boogie or, god forbid, that fanny Des Clarke going off their tits at 7am.
Des Clarke is a good bloke to be fair, he’s always that upbeat not just on the radio.
22-11-2024, 02:21 PM
Des Clarke is a good bloke to be fair, he’s always that upbeat not just on the radio.
People that are upbeat all the time are one of my pet peeves. It must be an act.
22-11-2024, 03:17 PM
He was the compère at an event I was at in Glasgow last week, thought he was very good.
ErinGoBraghHFC
22-11-2024, 05:00 PM
He was the compère at an event I was at in Glasgow last week, thought he was very good.
I see him fairly regularly through work, genuine guy and always keen for a blether.
24-11-2024, 08:36 PM
The decline in quality of (some) black cabs in recent years.
I get it must be difficult with the competition from Uber and other private hires but it seems some guys just don't want to even try and adapt and think we owe them a living.
Came out of Waverley last night and went to the rank just down the road from the Market Street exit. First guy 'do you take card mate?' 'Cash only'. 2nd guy went to get in, he rolled the window down 'where do you want to go'. I told him and it's a fair distance from the city centre not a 2 minute job. 'Not doing that mate'. 3rd guy said he took card but then clearly didn't have a scooby where I wanted to go. Asked me my address twice then for my postcode before insisting said post code didn't exist. He was clearly trying to use maps on his phone which was clearly visible on the passenger seat and in the end I had to direct him most of the way.
I was always loyal to black cabs but I've started to use Uber more and more. Sometimes it is crap, sometimes it's decent but at least the payment option is consistent and if a guy wants to refuse a job you know in advance.
24-11-2024, 09:23 PM
I get it must be difficult with the competition from Uber and other private hires but it seems some guys just don't want to even try and adapt and think we owe them a living.
Came out of Waverley last night and went to the rank just down the road from the Market Street exit. First guy 'do you take card mate?' 'Cash only'. 2nd guy went to get in, he rolled the window down 'where do you want to go'. I told him and it's a fair distance from the city centre not a 2 minute job. 'Not doing that mate'. 3rd guy said he took card but then clearly didn't have a scooby where I wanted to go. Asked me my address twice then for my postcode before insisting said post code didn't exist. He was clearly trying to use maps on his phone which was clearly visible on the passenger seat and in the end I had to direct him most of the way.
I was always loyal to black cabs but I've started to use Uber more and more. Sometimes it is crap, sometimes it's decent but at least the payment option is consistent and if a guy wants to refuse a job you know in advance.
Hearing this stuff really makes my blood boil and you're right Stu there's an element of the trade who are quite frankly dinosaurs. Cash only in this day and age? Does my head in.
Next point - if the cab is in the rank then he/she has no reason to refuse the fare unless there is genuine concern of violence or drunkenness. Honestly can't stress it enough for everyone take the plate number of the car (take a quick pic) and tell the driver you'll report them even if you don't intend to.(might make him think twice next time)
Its frustrating as hell if you've sat on a rank for ages to get a short job or a job in the wrong direction when you're trying to finish but thats the game. Can't tell you how many times thats happened to me and yet later on in the night I would get a great fare after. Good with the bad is a common catchphrase cabbies use.
And the driver not knowing where he's going? I remember when I was new to the game and even the most obvious addresses would catch me out and I laugh when I think about it :greengrin but there's no excuse for not finding an address on his sat nav. With all the house building going on a lot of the new addresses can still catch me out but usually people will say an obvious road near it if I'm struggling to pick it which helps. If I ever struggle with a job I'll usually own up and apologise and offer a discount which usually gets me out of jail :wink:
Having left my job nearly ten years ago where customer service was the be all and end all I was completely shocked at the attitude of a lot of the people in this game. I still think they honestly have no idea where to start with it.
I still have no regrets making the change but you can probably sense my level of frustration :greengrin:greengrin:greengrin
25-11-2024, 12:21 PM
Hearing this stuff really makes my blood boil and you're right Stu there's an element of the trade who are quite frankly dinosaurs. Cash only in this day and age? Does my head in.
Next point - if the cab is in the rank then he/she has no reason to refuse the fare unless there is genuine concern of violence or drunkenness. Honestly can't stress it enough for everyone take the plate number of the car (take a quick pic) and tell the driver you'll report them even if you don't intend to.(might make him think twice next time)
Its frustrating as hell if you've sat on a rank for ages to get a short job or a job in the wrong direction when you're trying to finish but thats the game. Can't tell you how many times thats happened to me and yet later on in the night I would get a great fare after. Good with the bad is a common catchphrase cabbies use.
And the driver not knowing where he's going? I remember when I was new to the game and even the most obvious addresses would catch me out and I laugh when I think about it :greengrin but there's no excuse for not finding an address on his sat nav. With all the house building going on a lot of the new addresses can still catch me out but usually people will say an obvious road near it if I'm struggling to pick it which helps. If I ever struggle with a job I'll usually own up and apologise and offer a discount which usually gets me out of jail :wink:
Having left my job nearly ten years ago where customer service was the be all and end all I was completely shocked at the attitude of a lot of the people in this game. I still think they honestly have no idea where to start with it.
I still have no regrets making the change but you can probably sense my level of frustration :greengrin:greengrin:greengrin
Great reply and I agree with PB, I was also very loyal to Black Cabs but the last few years it's just got worse and worse.
I never thought I would say this but Uber most of the time for me now in case on the off chance a black cab is cruising past in my time of need. Long gone are the days of walking half the way home on a Saturday night as there are no cabs, Uber will be there generally in minutes.
25-11-2024, 12:48 PM
Until about six weeks ago I was a black cab stalwart. We were in Liverpool and my son introduced me to Uber, I downloaded the app and have never looked back, used Uber about eight times since then including this morning and love the service.
26-11-2024, 03:32 PM
I find it incredible that a whole (in the main) phoney world of “friends” and “likes” and “influencers” has been built out of nothingness.
Some of us know what it’s like to live outside of this bubble.
That will recede over time until no one recalls any different.
hard to see the pendulum swing away from that. So now the era of dancing to the tunes of the pied piper known as the “algorithms”.
the seduction and control of the masses.
ErinGoBraghHFC
26-11-2024, 05:08 PM
My pet peeve of the day is people I don’t know talking to me like I’m their best pal on public transport. Took the train to Glasgow Central to then walk to Queen Street to get the train to Waverley for tonight’s game. Absolute torture. I just wanted to sit on my phone or stare out the window at the central belt whizzing past, but no. On both trains I was accosted by Glaswegian pensioners (lovely people don’t get me wrong, weegies are genuinely pretty sound if a touch nosey) asking me about my day, what I was up to, blah blah blah. Leave me alone.
27-11-2024, 09:34 AM
My pet peeve of the day is people I don’t know talking to me like I’m their best pal on public transport. Took the train to Glasgow Central to then walk to Queen Street to get the train to Waverley for tonight’s game. Absolute torture. I just wanted to sit on my phone or stare out the window at the central belt whizzing past, but no. On both trains I was accosted by Glaswegian pensioners (lovely people don’t get me wrong, weegies are genuinely pretty sound if a touch nosey) asking me about my day, what I was up to, blah blah blah. Leave me alone.
The answer to this is headphones, even if you don't have music on. You can just ignore people :greengrin
27-11-2024, 11:48 AM
The answer to this is headphones, even if you don't have music on. You can just ignore people :greengrin
That really doesn’t stop people. Had some twit wave in my face at the tram stop after the match last night despite me having headphones on.
27-11-2024, 07:46 PM
My Pet Peeve is about miserable buggers on trains, especially ones from Lanarkshire...
ErinGoBraghHFC
27-11-2024, 09:11 PM
My Pet Peeve is about miserable buggers on trains, especially ones from Lanarkshire...
I’m from Livingston technically, I just live here now[emoji6] fair enough though, I’m probably just a miserable *******
28-11-2024, 07:05 PM
I’m from Livingston technically, I just live here now[emoji6] fair enough though, I’m probably just a miserable *******
Awright, miserable Buggers from Livinarkshire
28-11-2024, 08:26 PM
Strictly come dancing pretending that the Sunday night show is not recorded in Saturday night. Ffs all the audience members are the same and wearing the same clothes.
29-11-2024, 07:50 AM
Advertising on social media. Yesterday my wife was on website that sells leather bags, later in the day I see adverts for the same company on Facebook and Instagram!! I've never been on the website before, ever but somehow, because my wife was I'm now being targeted with Advertising.
How does that happen??
29-11-2024, 08:46 AM
Advertising on social media. Yesterday my wife was on website that sells leather bags, later in the day I see adverts for the same company on Facebook and Instagram!! I've never been on the website before, ever but somehow, because my wife was I'm now being targeted with Advertising.
How does that happen??
IP address.
My wife works in marketing and buys advertising so knows a bit about how it works and some of the things she's told me has surprised me. There was an ad on TV that I thought my parents would have liked and they would have watched the show it was on during. I messaged them on our group chat to ask if they'd seen it. My wife then pipes up "they probably didn't get served that ad. Everyone sees different ads on TV. Its all targeted". I had realised online advertising was targeted but not TV and radio advertising. It uses different technology and isn't as targeted as online stuff but targeted nonetheless
29-11-2024, 08:53 AM
How does that happen??
Your wife wants a leather bag for Christmas, duuh. :greengrin
29-11-2024, 09:27 AM
IP address. ... I had realised online advertising was targeted but not TV and radio advertising. It uses different technology and isn't as targeted as online stuff but targeted nonetheless
I was surprised to hear adverts for Edinburgh businesses when listening to LBC. As your wife says, targeting via the IP address.
29-11-2024, 09:53 AM
Your wife wants a leather bag for Christmas, duuh. :greengrin
🤣 fortunately not, she was needing a replacement buckle.
29-11-2024, 10:18 AM
IP address.
My wife works in marketing and buys advertising so knows a bit about how it works and some of the things she's told me has surprised me. There was an ad on TV that I thought my parents would have liked and they would have watched the show it was on during. I messaged them on our group chat to ask if they'd seen it. My wife then pipes up "they probably didn't get served that ad. Everyone sees different ads on TV. Its all targeted". I had realised online advertising was targeted but not TV and radio advertising. It uses different technology and isn't as targeted as online stuff but targeted nonetheless
Thanks, that's most helpful for me to understand now. I better be careful what I look at. 🤣
29-11-2024, 11:44 AM
IP address.
If you're watching a TV channel in the old fashioned sense, everybody sees the same. Can't comment on dodgy box streaming or whatever.
29-11-2024, 11:07 PM
If you're watching a TV channel in the old fashioned sense, everybody sees the same. Can't comment on dodgy box streaming or whatever.
They don’t.
https://mocktheagency.com/content/how-are-tv-ads-targeted/#:~:text=Does%20everyone%20see%20the%20same,%2C%20 interests%2C%20and%20viewing%20habits.
American based but my wife assures me it’s the same in the UK. Geography, age and other demographics
29-11-2024, 11:08 PM
That’s correct.
29-11-2024, 11:10 PM
That’s correct.
It’s definitely not. It’s about to be rolled out to different ads at street level. It’s being targeted above that level just now
https://www.telegraph.co.uk/business/2024/10/08/tv-ads-to-target-households-on-individual-streets/#:~:text=Households%20on%20individual%20streets%20 will,location%20down%20to%20street%20level.
30-11-2024, 08:54 AM
Thanks, that's most helpful for me to understand now. I better be careful what I look at. 🤣
I muttered out loud that I was p1ss1ng myself laughing and now I'm getting ads for incontinence pants.
My phone is definitely spying on me...
30-11-2024, 09:36 AM
I muttered out loud that I was p1ss1ng myself laughing and now I'm getting ads for incontinence pants.
My phone is definitely spying on me...
🤣
When we first noticed it a while ago we tried to get it to give us adverts about labrador puppies 🐶
01-12-2024, 10:10 AM
Probably an annual moan from me but the difficulty in getting a Christmas card that say's granny on it. In Scotland.
Shop I was in today had Grandma, Nanny, Nan, Nana then utterly hideous monstrosities with Mommy and Mom on them. You could get Mammy, Mama, ****ing Bampy but not one card with Granny?
01-12-2024, 10:31 AM
Probably an annual moan from me but the difficulty in getting a Christmas card that say's granny on it. In Scotland.
Shop I was in today had Grandma, Nanny, Nan, Nana then utterly hideous monstrosities with Mommy and Mom on them. You could get Mammy, Mama, ****ing Bampy but not one card with Granny?
Birthday cards for Granny also nearly impossible to find at any time during the year.
Stairway 2 7
01-12-2024, 10:38 AM
Moonpig? There's always loads of discount codes online
01-12-2024, 10:43 AM
Birthday cards for Granny also nearly impossible to find at any time during the year.
Never have any problems with Granny for birthday or Christmas, always seem to find them at the card factory.
01-12-2024, 11:02 AM
probably an annual moan from me but the difficulty in getting a christmas card that say's granny on it. In scotland.
Shop i was in today had grandma, nanny, nan, nana Batman then utterly hideous monstrosities with mommy and mom on them. You could get mammy, mama, ****ing bampy but not one card with granny?
ftfy
01-12-2024, 11:53 AM
BBC listing teams with left-hand side players before right-hand side players. Why? Is it to somehow accommodate viewers who read right to left? If so, political wokeness gone differently-sane.
speedy_gonzales
01-12-2024, 12:51 PM
Never have any problems with Granny for birthday or Christmas, always seem to find them at the card factory.
Another vote for the Card Factory, you can get virtually every card you need there.
Even the "Happy Birthday Uncle Dad" for our Gorgie chums!
ErinGoBraghHFC
01-12-2024, 01:43 PM
Nana cards used to be hard to come by when I was young as well, not needed to look for one in about 20 years now but I mind it being a hassle trying to get one. Weird really, you’d think it’d make sense to run a survey on what folk call their grandparents in each part of the UK and stock your stores accordingly.
01-12-2024, 05:55 PM
People walking against the flow. I was at a trade fair in town yesterday and there were thousands of visitors. The fair was set out in a way that directed visitors from hall to hall in a round robin system and yet there were some who decided to do the tour in the opposite direction. I'm all for freedom of choice but what for me was a slight annoyance, must have been for them a real pain in the arse fighting their way through crowds moving in the opposite direction. Why?
01-12-2024, 07:53 PM
There are a load of Scottish artists selling their cards on Etsy, it where I get most of my cards now. Couple from a quick search below
https://www.etsy.com/uk/listing/1329825364/the-tartan-granny?ga_order=most_relevant&ga_search_type=all&ga_view_type=gallery&ga_search_query=scottish+christmas+card+for+granny&ref=sc_gallery-1-4&frs=1&local_signal_search=1&search_preloaded_img=1&plkey=28d9d8073c51d12dd4a041f7f7a888183cd59eac%3A1 329825364
https://www.etsy.com/uk/listing/1595727107/have-a-very-merry-christmas-granny?ga_order=most_relevant&ga_search_type=all&ga_view_type=gallery&ga_search_query=scottish+christmas+card+for+granny&ref=sr_gallery-1-1&local_signal_search=1&content_source=e8f8f4d6e72069062211c592415ed02f2ab 5f01a%253A1595727107&search_preloaded_img=1&organic_search_click=1
01-12-2024, 08:40 PM
There are a load of Scottish artists selling their cards on Etsy, it where I get most of my cards now. Couple from a quick search below
https://www.etsy.com/uk/listing/1329825364/the-tartan-granny?ga_order=most_relevant&ga_search_type=all&ga_view_type=gallery&ga_search_query=scottish+christmas+card+for+granny&ref=sc_gallery-1-4&frs=1&local_signal_search=1&search_preloaded_img=1&plkey=28d9d8073c51d12dd4a041f7f7a888183cd59eac%3A1 329825364
https://www.etsy.com/uk/listing/1595727107/have-a-very-merry-christmas-granny?ga_order=most_relevant&ga_search_type=all&ga_view_type=gallery&ga_search_query=scottish+christmas+card+for+granny&ref=sr_gallery-1-1&local_signal_search=1&content_source=e8f8f4d6e72069062211c592415ed02f2ab 5f01a%253A1595727107&search_preloaded_img=1&organic_search_click=1
Handy for future reference. I used Moonpig quite often but like supporting the small shops on Etsy and the like.
Surprised by the recommendations for Card Factory on here. That's where I was earlier and couldn't see anything suitable. When I asked someone who worked there she said they had no granny cards for Christmas. Finally found one tucked away in Asda.
02-12-2024, 09:48 PM
Elf on the ****ing shelf
02-12-2024, 11:34 PM
Elf on the ****ing shelf
Leave its detached legs hanging out the blender within the first couple of days and put it down to death by misadventure.
ErinGoBraghHFC
02-12-2024, 11:59 PM
Elf on the ****ing shelf
I ****ing hate that little gimp
04-12-2024, 10:03 AM
JD Sports.
04-12-2024, 04:42 PM
I ****ing hate that little gimp
Pretty inoffensive if you ask a German.
Bridge hibs
04-12-2024, 05:01 PM
People who take their dogs out in wee prams, **** off, does it wear a nappy and sucks a dummy tit ?
(Most) dogs have 4 ****ing legs, they have a 2 legged advantage over humans and you want to give them 4 wheels too !!
I was down at Joppa Quarry walking my dug and there was a squad of Women and Men beside the swingpark, all chatting with their daft wee dugs in their buggies and just looking glaikit, the dugs didnt look any better.
Im worried this is the start of it down lovely Joppa, peace shattered by dog buggies and akin to boy racer meet ups. Soon they will be going radge by drinking Perrier water, doing ****ing wheelies, wheel spins and donuts over our beautiful lush grass 🫨
04-12-2024, 05:42 PM
Changing the way widgets on user interfaces work.
Exhibit A : Date pickers. why do they keep phannying about with them ? The latest attempt has the scroller for years go up instead of down… infuriating.
If the app is designed properly why is there a need for any / radical change other than cosmetic?
the fundamentals don’t change - register, login, search, locate product / service , select, purchase. Add/Modify details/ products and Cancel. All problems generally understood and “solved” before now.
04-12-2024, 06:51 PM
People that describe going somewhere as either going up or going down to, with no actually link to the geography. Like saying Hibs are going down to Aberdeen next weekend. It’s annoyed me for year's but there was a podcast with a Geordie talking about going up to Birmingham that reminded me to vent.
Stairway 2 7
04-12-2024, 06:59 PM
People that describe going somewhere as either going up or going down to, with no actually link to the geography. Like saying Hibs are going down to Aberdeen next weekend. It’s annoyed me for year's but there was a podcast with a Geordie talking about going up to Birmingham that reminded me to vent.
Guilty of saying going up town when in Leith
04-12-2024, 07:29 PM
Pretty inoffensive if you ask a German.
8!!!!!
04-12-2024, 08:26 PM
Guilty of saying going up town when in Leith
It is up a hill though tbf.
04-12-2024, 08:33 PM
It is up a hill though tbf.
I think the hill factor overrides any North / South thing.
Although Birmingham will surely be uphill from Newcastle in that example and going up to Birmingham from Newcastle is clearly ridiculous so maybe less sure.
05-12-2024, 05:36 AM
I think the hill factor overrides any North / South thing.
Although Birmingham will surely be uphill from Newcastle in that example and going up to Birmingham from Newcastle is clearly ridiculous so maybe less sure.
I think there is probably a distance related tipping point on whether you're going up or down depending on elevation or geography. :agree:
Bridge hibs
05-12-2024, 08:29 AM
Fly tippers, ****ing tramps 🤬
Was down Seafield way yesterday and passed one of the disused retail units right beside the public tip and there was a pile of rubbish that had been tipped in the corner which included an old bath.
I get people want to get rid of stuff on the cheap but it just plays into the hands of those trampy *******s who have no care in the world where they dump it 🤬
05-12-2024, 08:32 AM
Posters who start a new thread when multiple threads already exist
Posters who do not read the whole thread before posting causing repetition
Posters who always reply adding a link sometimes replying with just a link
I know maybes take break or use the ‘ignore button’
05-12-2024, 10:39 AM
Odd fact.
if you are getting the train to London from Edinburgh technically you are going up to London now down.
05-12-2024, 10:50 AM
Odd fact.
if you are getting the train to London from Edinburgh technically you are going up to London now down.
Nah, you're going dan sarf.
05-12-2024, 11:15 AM
Odd fact.
if you are getting the train to London from Edinburgh technically you are going up to London not down.
As an ex Network Rail employee I can safely say that you're on the right lines here. 🤭
05-12-2024, 12:07 PM
Odd fact.
Nah Down South.
05-12-2024, 12:11 PM
Odd fact.
Typically self important Londoners would have you believe it but you just need to look at a map. 😉
05-12-2024, 12:16 PM
King's Cross Station is 22m above sea level, according to Wiki.
Not sure about Waverley, but I would have thought it's more.
05-12-2024, 12:21 PM
Typically self important Londoners would have you believe it but you just need to look at a map. [emoji6]
Nothing to do with the map (or sea levels!)…but yeah maybe more aligned to the perceived importance of London!
But 100% if you get on the train at Waverley you travel on the up line to London.
So you are travelling up to London while going down to London. [emoji1787]
05-12-2024, 12:48 PM
My neighbours, seems like another couple of families have moved in to the house, they are a f***ing nightmare, swept the pathway last week and last night when I came in there was about 5 folk standing outside smoking with fag ends everywhere, and I mean hundreds and hundreds of them, had words with them about the mess and thought they would clean up, went to put some rubbish out this morning and they were all standing at the pathway smoking and they haven’t cleaned up, it’s not my nature to grass on folk but this is not going to have a good ending, and the loud screaming from the women through the night, they are in the same room so why shout so loud, there is also a young kid in the house who is very polite to me but he is never at school and just runs about the back garden, I feel sorry for him as he has no friends.
05-12-2024, 01:35 PM
My neighbours, seems like another couple of families have moved in to the house, they are a f***ing nightmare, swept the pathway last week and last night when I came in there was about 5 folk standing outside smoking with fag ends everywhere, and I mean hundreds and hundreds of them, had words with them about the mess and thought they would clean up, went to put some rubbish out this morning and they were all standing at the pathway smoking and they haven’t cleaned up, it’s not my nature to grass on folk but this is not going to have a good ending, and the loud screaming from the women through the night, they are in the same room so why shout so loud, there is also a young kid in the house who is very polite to me but he is never at school and just runs about the back garden, I feel sorry for him as he has no friends.
That all sounds very familiar apart from the wee laddie.
05-12-2024, 01:50 PM
But 100% if you get on the train at Waverley you travel on the up line to London.
I think this has more to do with the thinking and prejudices of those who decided that the rail line to London was the "up" line than any real sense of up or down.
speedy_gonzales
05-12-2024, 02:06 PM
I think this has more to do with the thinking and prejudices of those who decided that the rail line to London was the "up" line than any real sense of up or down.
Dunno about prejudices, when it comes to putting a train on a track, or techs out on the line to fix a defect, you need to have an Engineering Line Reference(ELR) Which is a geographic section of line, you need a "mileage", you need to know what track your on (most areas have two lines) and in some cases you need a track ID (fast, slow, loop, goods, single etc).
Most, like ELR and mileage are straightforward, but when it comes to direction of travel, the easiest way for Victorians was anything that goes to London is UP, all else is DN.
It does start to get confusing when you are coming out of Haymarket and curve towards Slateford, suddenly it switches around because if your heading West at that point your now going on to the West Coast Mainline which technically is now going UP to London (even if you're just going to Glasgow Central).
05-12-2024, 02:06 PM
So, likewise if travelling by train from anywhere north of Edinburgh to Edinburgh you would be on the UP line and vice versa.
05-12-2024, 02:19 PM
So, likewise if travelling by train from anywhere north of Edinburgh to Edinburgh you would be on the UP line and vice versa.
Ever wish you had never mentioned something [emoji1787]
I would think so but honestly my info was just from a casual chat I had with the conductor on a Edi to London train once and thought it was a fun fact re the pet peeve!
05-12-2024, 02:21 PM
Ever wish you had never mentioned something [emoji1787]
I would think so but honestly my info was just from a casual chat I had with the conductor on a Edi to London train once and thought it was a fun fact re the pet peeve!
Sorry, I was stating that as factual information, I vaguely recall from my NR days.
05-12-2024, 02:32 PM
Sorry, I was stating that as factual information, I vaguely recall from my NR days.
Aha got ya so basically on a train from Edinburgh it’s doon to Aberdeen and up to London. Lovely [emoji2962]
Stairway 2 7
05-12-2024, 02:34 PM
I say down to Gullane and North Berwick but that is further North, probably as I'm going down the A1 although technically goes up at the start ha
05-12-2024, 03:25 PM
Aha got ya so basically on a train from Edinburgh it’s doon to Aberdeen and up to London. Lovely [emoji2962]
Strangely enough aye. 😒
05-12-2024, 03:28 PM
Nothing to do with the map (or sea levels!)…but yeah maybe more aligned to the perceived importance of London!
Funnily enough, if you live in Leith, or Newhaven, you go 'uptown ' to Edinburgh but, if you live in Liberton or Gilmerton you go 'downtown '.
Except they are both wrong!
05-12-2024, 03:35 PM
Funnily enough, if you live in Leith, or Newhaven, you go 'uptown ' to Edinburgh but, if you live in Liberton or Gilmerton you go 'downtown '.
Except they are both wrong!
I've never said either.
It's always been "into town".
05-12-2024, 03:47 PM
I've never said either. It's always been "into town".
Rebel.
05-12-2024, 03:49 PM
Most, like ELR and mileage are straightforward, but when it comes to direction of travel, the easiest way for Victorians was anything that goes to London is UP, all else is DN.
Thanks. I think your explanation about the Victorians kind of makes my point. :greengrin
05-12-2024, 03:54 PM
Rebel.
Where I lived, on the mean streets of Clerrie, "uptown" was what the snobs said.
"Downtown" was for Petula Clark.
Stairway 2 7
05-12-2024, 03:57 PM
Where I lived, on the mean streets of Clerrie, "uptown" was what the snobs said.
Nah up toon was for the cool kids and Althea & Donna
speedy_gonzales
05-12-2024, 04:25 PM
Thanks. I think your explanation about the Victorians kind of makes my point. :greengrin
👍🏻 I just wasn't recognising your claim of it being prejudice. If anything, it was a discrimination as in a choice that had to be made.
If that choice was to be made today I wouldn't doubt it would be Derby, the hinge of the new Great British Railways 🧐
babahibs
05-12-2024, 05:09 PM
ErinGoBraghHFC
05-12-2024, 05:22 PM
“Inty toon” shirley?
babahibs
05-12-2024, 05:56 PM
“Inty toon” shirley?
Of course.......and don't call me Shirley.
05-12-2024, 08:41 PM
I've never said either.
As someone who grew up in the new town and Stockbridge, everywhere else was down.🤣
05-12-2024, 08:44 PM
Aye, uptown was for Billy Joel. 😉
05-12-2024, 11:13 PM
Isn't it just a size thing, rather than perceived importance? You go up to bigger places and down to smaller? Though dan sarf overrides that, obvs.
06-12-2024, 06:49 AM
Recruiters/Employers. Not all, but the majority.
The ghosting, false promises and ridiculous hiring processes are shambolic.
One example, a major housebuilder in the UK, contacted me on the Tuesday having received my application and asked if I could interview with them on the Friday. I duly accepted and drove for an hour to their office on the Friday. 15 minutes after my interview was due to start the Hiring Manager came through to reception to say their meeting was still ongoing and could I come back later that afternoon. Not wanting to hang around for four hours, we agreed a Teams call for later that day.
Teams interview was great and I did well. Was told I would hear back within a week or so. Three weeks later I’ve heard nothing, so I’ve then emailed on Monday there to the Hiring Manager and one of the Directors who also interviewed me and asked for an update and I’ve not even had a response. Nothing.
I’m lucky that I have a supportive, and well paid, partner who is keeping us afloat but it’s an absolute scandal the way some people treat others, especially those who are currently fighting for every penny and are absolutely desperate for a job. It’s basic common courtesy. I’ve seen people on LinkedIn who have told of their desperation and have literally said they are suicidal as they have applied for hundreds of jobs and simply been ignored, despite intro calls and interviews.
Ironically, it seems to be the biggest companies who are the worst, and these are companies who have their own internal recruitment/acquisition teams. Shambles.
06-12-2024, 07:34 AM
One example, a major housebuilder in the UK, contacted me on the Tuesday having received my application and asked if I could interview with them on the Friday. I duly accepted and drove for an hour to their office on the Friday. 15 minutes after my interview was due to start the Hiring Manager came through to reception to say their meeting was still ongoing and could I come back later that afternoon. Not wanting to hang around for four hours, we agreed a Teams call for later that day.
Teams interview was great and I did well. Was told I would hear back within a week or so. Three weeks later I’ve heard nothing, so I’ve then emailed on Monday there to the Hiring Manager and one of the Directors who also interviewed me and asked for an update and I’ve not even had a response. Nothing.
I’m lucky that I have a supportive, and well paid, partner who is keeping us afloat but it’s an absolute scandal the way some people treat others, especially those who are currently fighting for every penny and are absolutely desperate for a job. It’s basic common courtesy. I’ve seen people on LinkedIn who have told of their desperation and have literally said they are suicidal as they have applied for hundreds of jobs and simply been ignored, despite intro calls and interviews.
Ironically, it seems to be the biggest companies who are the worst, and these are companies who have their own internal recruitment/acquisition teams. Shambles.
This is not a pet peeve it’s something that just down right disgusting.
The ghosting is a real pain. How hard can it be to send a simple no back to an initial application.
Then there is the recruitment agencies. All talk and no action. Get all your data as well then lucky if you hear from them again, ever.
Then there is the employers. Particularly their talent people. I had one that was on the phone for nearly an hour waxing lyrical about how perfect I was for the role…’grinning ear to ear he was so happy to have found me’.
The very next morning I go an email saying no thanks. Did that same talent person ever bother responding to my requests for a tiny bit more detail? Nope. Did they even bother responding to say they couldn’t elaborate and apologise for the false hope. Nope.
Thankfully, a very few employers are OK and with a lot of persistence you just have to wait for that one that does land and does work for both parties.
But job searching is a horrible horrible process, especially when you are out of work and I wouldn’t wish it on my worst enemy.
06-12-2024, 08:07 AM
As an employer, I’d narrow this down to “ghosting”.
We’ve been through extensive recruitment processes, sometimes involving dozens of applicants - keeping them informed every step of the way.
It’s actually ended up with us offering people positions… only to hear nothing back. These are situations where there were often several acceptable candidates. You’re left hanging on, figuring out how long you wait for a ghoster (or general candidate earlier in the process who starts the process) to reply before moving on. It’s crap behaviour and unfair on other applicants.
The disrespect and discourtesy shown by prospective employers and employees is disgusting. If it’s any consolation, the only conclusion ever to be drawn is “bullet dodged” - if that’s the way people behave towards one another at that stage, it was never going to be a healthy working relationship between the parties.
Drives me absolutely mad.
06-12-2024, 09:31 AM
I was conditionally offered a new job on the 2nd October. It's with the Prison Service so there was various background checks to do, and I was told it could take 6 weeks. I'm only just getting my contract today (hopefully).
Annoyingly though, if I'd been given the contract a few weeks ago I probably could've negotiated an early notice period and left to start the job in January. The goalposts have moved at my end now, and my employer (Edinburgh Uni) is unlikely to be able to back-fill my post, so now they're needing to hold on to me as long as possible, and I'm now stuck there until March. 5 months from being offered the job, to starting the post seems mad, and more than a bit annoying.
06-12-2024, 01:05 PM
Staying in Muirhouse it was always ‘who is heading up town’. :thumbsup:
06-12-2024, 01:50 PM
That's a shocking way to treat anyone.
I know it is probably scant consolation when you are in need of a job but imagine what people who treat a prospective employee in such a way would have been like to work for. It might just have been a lucky escape.
06-12-2024, 02:15 PM
Staying in Muirhouse it was always ‘who is heading up town’. :thumbsup:
Same with me and my pals in Leith, always going up town and I still say it to this day
06-12-2024, 02:30 PM
I know it is probably scant consolation when you are in need of a job but imagine what people who treat a prospective employee in such a way would have been like to work for. It might just have been a lucky escape.
I ignored some red flags in the interview process in the job before the one I’m in and I wish I hadn’t. Start to finish (all two months of it) an utterly miserable experience. Interviews are a two way street and if I get that feeling again then I’ll be offering a polite but firm “I’m out”.
One of my sons is having the same job issues. He's had a terrible year. He gets a job and finds either very toxic environments or the job and job description at interview are nowhere near each other. He's been treated terribly by some employers. One sacked him after 3 weeks for refusing to sign the 48 hr waiver saying he wasn't flexible enough for them. He left a decent job too . It's soul destroying.
06-12-2024, 03:14 PM
YouTubers approaching people working/on the street.
A lot of them are just downright creepy. Approaching and filming drunk lassies on the street and asking questions that would get other people a good slap. Seen one where the kid was approaching people and asking "What's the weirdest thing that's happened to you in the bedroom". The guy clearly didn't want to be part of it and walked on and the YouTuber replied "Well he's clearly a virgin". No, he just doesn't want to be a part of your **** desperate videos. Get a proper job.
The "Pranks" are almost always cringingly unfunny and often downright nasty. Stephen Mulhern, ITV's answer to the question "Michael McIntyre's busy and Ant and Dec won't touch it with a bargepole, who do we turn to" has gotten into this as well. Going up to someone working at a supermarket and asking them to read out a registration plate that's blocking them in only for it to be "NE1 4ABJ" isn't funny, and could be genuinely humiliating for someone.
06-12-2024, 03:15 PM
My missus said the same, it’s a bullet dodged. Unfortunately, at the moment, if they did magically appear and offer me the role I’d probably have no option but to take it.
As mentioned above in reply to me, recruitment consultants are among the worst. Chew your ear off, tell you that you’re perfect, and then disappear off the face of the earth. I even complained to one on the phone that I’ve wasted my, and the consultants time, speaking to a couple of agencies and she assured me she wasn’t like that and she prides herself on keeping in touch. Also told me my CV was fantastic and I’d have no problem getting a job and she’ll be in touch asap. That was about six weeks ago. I’ve heard nothing. And she was the one that contacted me on LinkedIn initially and asked for my number.
If it’s a no, it’s a no. Just tell me, I’m a big boy, I can handle it.
Even worse than that, when they do call you, they’re more interested in where else you have interviewed or had talks with and ask every detail of that position, and you know fine well as soon as the call is ended they’ll be straight on the phone to that company to try and muscle in. Absolute *****.
ErinGoBraghHFC
06-12-2024, 05:51 PM
Salvation Army bands, brutal.
06-12-2024, 06:54 PM
Salvation Army bands, brutal.
I like them. Reminds me of Christmas past.
ErinGoBraghHFC
06-12-2024, 06:58 PM
I like them. Reminds me of Christmas past.
I wouldn’t mind if they weren’t awful, you can add this weird Lanarkshire tractor/general vehicle Christmas light parade bollocks that’s appeared in the last few years too my Xmas related pet peeves too. Just trying to get home from work earlier and there’s some dafty with his van decorated in tinsel and fairy lights driving at 10mph in front of me, I’ve had a ***** day if you can’t tell[emoji16]
06-12-2024, 07:34 PM
I wouldn’t mind if they weren’t awful, you can add this weird Lanarkshire tractor/general vehicle Christmas light parade bollocks that’s appeared in the last few years too my Xmas related pet peeves too. Just trying to get home from work earlier and there’s some dafty with his van decorated in tinsel and fairy lights driving at 10mph in front of me, I’ve had a ***** day if you can’t tell[emoji16]
Bah humbug 🎅
ErinGoBraghHFC
06-12-2024, 08:00 PM
Bah humbug [emoji318]
Au contraire, to cheer myself up I’ve watched It’s A Wonderful Life[emoji318]
06-12-2024, 09:25 PM
Au contraire, to cheer myself up I’ve watched It’s A Wonderful Life[emoji318]
😀👍
06-12-2024, 11:49 PM
A lot of them are just downright creepy. Approaching and filming drunk lassies on the street and asking questions that would get other people a good slap. Seen one where the kid was approaching people and asking "What's the weirdest thing that's happened to you in the bedroom". The guy clearly didn't want to be part of it and walked on and the YouTuber replied "Well he's clearly a virgin". No, he just doesn't want to be a part of your **** desperate videos. Get a proper job.
The "Pranks" are almost always cringingly unfunny and often downright nasty. Stephen Mulhern, ITV's answer to the question "Michael McIntyre's busy and Ant and Dec won't touch it with a bargepole, who do we turn to" has gotten into this as well. Going up to someone working at a supermarket and asking them to read out a registration plate that's blocking them in only for it to be "NE1 4ABJ" isn't funny, and could be genuinely humiliating for someone.
Can’t watch Deal or no deal now due to Stephen Mulhern presenting the show.
07-12-2024, 12:06 AM
Can’t watch Deal or no deal now due to Stephen Mulhern presenting the show.
He is an upgrade on that absolute zoomer Noel Edmunds... surely?
Just_Jimmy
07-12-2024, 01:30 AM
Stephen Mulhern is a weirdo
07-12-2024, 07:40 AM
Stephen Mulhern is great. In For A Penny is brilliant.
07-12-2024, 07:54 AM
He’s the only human being who’s somehow managed to look like both Ant AND Dec.
07-12-2024, 08:05 AM
TV news reporters getting blown away standing beside a harbour in 70mph gales telling people to stay at home.
They get inundated with complaints about this every time which seems to encourage them to do it even more.
07-12-2024, 08:30 AM
Stephen Mulhern is a weirdo
I was amazed when I read he’s what used to be called a “womaniser” - not sure the modern parlance is allowed on here.
Bridge hibs
07-12-2024, 09:21 AM
Anytime Ben “I love me love who do you love” Shepherd is on my telly, odious wee ****
Oh and Kate “nasal” Garraway, proverbial pain in the hoop
Oh and Adil Ray, Richard Madeley and Richard Arnold
Agreed
07-12-2024, 10:03 AM
He is an upgrade on that absolute zoomer Noel Edmunds... surely?
Can't stand both tbh.
07-12-2024, 07:35 PM
Getting chucked out of Tesco because the fire alarm went off .
07-12-2024, 09:31 PM
Getting chucked out of Tesco because the fire alarm went off .
You too? Corstorphine not the for the first time either.
07-12-2024, 11:51 PM
Getting chucked out of Tesco because the fire alarm went off .ASDA Livingston tonight as well....
Sent from my Tab 12 Pro using Tapatalk
08-12-2024, 11:58 AM
Sitting on a Flixbus on the hard shoulder cos it has a puncture 9 miles outside Newcastle, when you should be in the pub getting a few pints down you, in all honesty it's annoying as ****, the word peeve doesn't do it justice. 🤬🤮
1hr 45 minutes so far.
08-12-2024, 12:00 PM
You too? Corstorphine not the for the first time either.
Yip, just leave your trolley in the aisle and get out, went to Sainsbury’s.
08-12-2024, 12:54 PM
Sitting on a Flixbus on the hard shoulder cos it has a puncture 9 miles outside Newcastle, when you should be in the pub getting a few pints down you, in all honesty it's annoying as ****, the word peeve doesn't do it justice. 🤬🤮
1hr 45 minutes so far.
On the move at last. Train back just been cancelled, moved on to a later service. 😥
08-12-2024, 01:14 PM
On the move at last. Train back just been cancelled, moved on to a later service. 😥
Eventually got in to the boozer at back of 2 🍺
09-12-2024, 07:25 AM
The hun singing Caledonia at an away game. WTF?
Bridge hibs
09-12-2024, 08:20 AM
Lorraine, wee screech with a face like a used t bag
09-12-2024, 11:30 PM
Folk who don’t go to the last page on the Word Association Thread and then post out of order 😡
10-12-2024, 04:51 PM
I know that it's slagging Hearts but, people constantly mentioning biggly and biggliest on the Main Forum gets on my thruppenny bits a lot more than it should.
Bridge hibs
10-12-2024, 05:01 PM
I know that it's slagging Hearts but, people constantly mentioning biggly and biggliest on the Main Forum gets on my thruppenny bits a lot more than it should.
Agree, nippy as **** 🫣
10-12-2024, 05:49 PM
Agree, nippy as **** 🫣
🤭
10-12-2024, 06:31 PM
Agree, nippy as **** 🫣
Yes. Biggliest peeve going.
10-12-2024, 07:23 PM
Folk who don’t go to the last page on the Word Association Thread and then post out of order 😡
Command
10-12-2024, 09:38 PM
It's more slagging Trump, so agree it should be on the Holy Ground and not the Main Forum.
10-12-2024, 09:41 PM
In 2024, grown-up people using ridiculous rhymes for basic body parts. Describing the chestal area in terms of 19th century coinage, what, for fear of offending the admins? :dunno: :wink:
Bridge hibs
10-12-2024, 10:23 PM
In 2024, grown-up people using ridiculous rhymes for basic body parts. Describing the chestal area in terms of 19th century coinage, what, for fear of offending the admins? :dunno: :wink:A pair of Dekanummonions ?
10-12-2024, 11:16 PM
It's more slagging Trump, so agree it should be on the Holy Ground and not the Main Forum.
Is it? 🤔
Only seem to see it in posts referencing Hearts on here.
11-12-2024, 08:09 AM
Command
Very good 😂
11-12-2024, 09:57 AM
Is it? 🤔
Only seem to see it in posts referencing Hearts on here.
Yeh, Trump: https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/magazine-37483869
Only used about Hearts because they're always on about how big** they are.
babahibs
11-12-2024, 10:01 AM
In 2024, grown-up people using ridiculous rhymes for basic body parts. Describing the chestal area in terms of 19th century coinage, what, for fear of offending the admins? :dunno: :wink:
That gets right on my thrupennies a'naw.
11-12-2024, 10:07 AM
Only used about Hearts because they're always on about how big** they are.
Aye, I know.
11-12-2024, 03:46 PM
Reduced train sizes at peak hours.
Usually the train into town and back is between four and six carriages.... but today it's TWO!
11-12-2024, 03:48 PM
Reduced train sizes at peak hours.
Usually the train into town and back is between four and six carriages.... but today it's TWO!
Has to be the fife line!
11-12-2024, 03:51 PM
Has to be the fife line!
Nah, East Kilbride to Glasgow Central,
but I've heard some bad stories about the Fife line, mostly from staff.
12-12-2024, 04:00 PM
The weekly over use of the term “huge” game.
FFS - if they’re all huge we’ve just lost perspective or the ability to express ourselves
12-12-2024, 04:31 PM
Xmas jumper day at work. Why? So you can dress like a fud to be collectively known as fuds for the day?
Fun is up the mountains or doing something with loved ones not forced into a room to get a quick snap taken for the office intranet.
Office ******s.
12-12-2024, 04:32 PM
Bah humbug
MKHIBEE
12-12-2024, 04:35 PM
Xmas jumper day at work. Why? So you can dress like a fud to be collectively known as fuds for the day?
Fun is up the mountains or doing something with loved ones not forced into a room to get a quick snap taken for the office intranet.
Office ******s.
I quite agree.
ErinGoBraghHFC
12-12-2024, 05:08 PM
Nah, East Kilbride to Glasgow Central,
but I've heard some bad stories about the Fife line, mostly from staff.
If it’s any consolation to you the Glasgow Central to Larkhall line is equally shan for this
12-12-2024, 05:48 PM
The weekly over use of the term “huge” game.
FFS - if they’re all huge we’ve just lost perspective or the ability to express ourselves
Huge post. Principle applies to a few other words as well, esp super. Super tasty = very tasty (or sometimes just tasty). But then if language never changed, who would read Susie Dent's blooesky posts? :dunno:
Superhuge game at the weekend.
13-12-2024, 06:39 AM
Office ******s.
Look at me , look how much fun I am.
13-12-2024, 06:52 AM
Office ******s.
I’m not grinch like around Christmas at all, but cannot stand forced “fun” like this.
So glad I work from home and don’t have to get involved in this kind of *****.
13-12-2024, 07:52 AM
Another one for the forced Christmas fun. I like Christmas, really like it actually, and I also don't mind people having a laugh at my expense or being a bit daft or wearing something stupid for my kids enjoyment but I just can't stand this 'we're having fun, everyone is having fun, it's all so fun, fun, fun'.
I was at a trade show of a buying group my work is in back in October. There was an awards dinner at night. I generally can't stand these 'networking' things anyway especially when they then descend into self congratulatory bull**** but when you factor in the theme for the dinner was Mardi Gras then it becomes unbearable. I looked around the room and of the 2 or 300 people in attendance I struggle to believe a single person was enjoying themselves. Then the head honcho came on stage in rainbow glitter suit, sunglasses and a sequins pork pie hat playing air guitar and you see where the directive for Mardi Gras = fun, fun, fun came from and I found the solitary person who was in their element. It was excruciating. They put on a free bar until midnight but as soon as the main event finished at 10 a couple of the guys from our Irish base and myself ****ed off and paid £7 a pint in the main hotel bar. A bargain when the alternative was free drink but having to endure another couple of hours of that.
Bridge hibs
13-12-2024, 08:09 AM
People who automatically think because I have some relaxed muscle around my girth I qualify as work Santa, patronising *******s ! 🤬
Thats 10 years in a row Ive done it, no ****ing more !
This is def my last year 🤔
13-12-2024, 08:16 AM
The Christmas lunch day was one of the highlights for most of my working life. Obviously in some jobs there were idiots that you didn't want to have in the same room as you but for the most part they were brilliant.
My peeve nowadays is having to work myself up to eating and drinking far more than I usually do for my day out with the lads, knowing that I'll want to go home straight after our lunch but having to soldier on with a few Buscopan to help along the way.
Bridge hibs
13-12-2024, 09:30 AM
Anyone else feel that Christmas day closes earlier every year ? In days of yore I always went to the Outlaws and was always up for a good few beers at Porty Legion before tucking into a feast that the lovely ladies had prepared. After that it was music on and a bit of a sing song before being chucked out around 9pm.
The following years chucking out time became earlier and a good signal was when the Mother in Law started cleaning up and switched the immersion on for good measure.
Fast forward to them being deid and us having our own Christmas with our kids but woah it was tiring. They flew the nest and now have their own kids and last year was hectic to say the least and both myself and my Wife were burnt out at 5pm and just ready to chill the **** out.
My old Mother in Law had the right idea, I didnt see it then but I sure as hell see it now 🫨
13-12-2024, 09:34 AM
Spiral staircase, specifically the inside of them, on Saturday I was in a pub with a spiral staircase, was walking down talking to my pals, hadn't even touched a drop yet and forgot that if you are in the inside of a spiral staircase the stairs get smaller the closer you get to the bottom, with about 3 to go I took a full step without looking and took a Jeff Hardy style Swanton Bomb down the stairs, my right leg is currently a colour it shouldn't be
Note to self, pay attention on steps
13-12-2024, 09:51 AM
Spiral staircase, specifically the inside of them, on Saturday I was in a pub with a spiral staircase, was walking down talking to my pals, hadn't even touched a drop yet and forgot that if you are in the inside of a spiral staircase the stairs get smaller the closer you get to the bottom, with about 3 to go I took a full step without looking and took a Jeff Hardy style Swanton Bomb down the stairs, my right leg is currently a colour it shouldn't be
If it was Jeff Hardy style, surely that makes it more likely you had too much to drink?!?
13-12-2024, 10:30 AM
An early Christmas present to all contributors to this thread.
13-12-2024, 11:54 AM
Petrol stations that make it hard to pay. Was at a petrol station tacked onto a supermarket. It was self serve only, there wasn’t a building to go in and pay which is fine. However you couldn’t tap your phone, you had to enter a physical card. I’ve no idea the last time I had a physical card on me. Queued for a while to then find this out as there’s no signage telling you this. Had to drive off and find somewhere else to fill up.
13-12-2024, 11:57 AM
If it was Jeff Hardy style, surely that makes it more likely you had too much to drink?!?
It was before we even went for drinks, I'm more liable to **** myself up sober than drunk, it's a curse I live with
13-12-2024, 01:52 PM
Secret Santa. Thankfully no longer involved now with my own business but the hated the annual office secret Santa pish.
13-12-2024, 02:05 PM
The Pet Peeve contributors Christmas Night out would be a right barrel of laughs [emoji1787]
I don’t mind it all to be honest and sometimes you are dammed if you do and dammed if you don’t.
For every office grinch there is one complaining that no one organised anything for Christmas.
I’ve made my peace with it all…put on the Christmas jumper, turn up, smile politely while calmly waiting for it to be over while trying to avoid the small talk as much as possible without looking like I’m avoiding the small as much as possible [emoji1787]
I read that as Spiritual staircase and was expecting a story about dying and going towards the white light. 🤣
13-12-2024, 04:11 PM
Checking your bank statement after your Christmas night out at Tynecastle… and it having “Heart of Midlothian” listed on it multiple times, with various amounts next to it.
You shouldn’t feel this violated when you’ve gone and done it of your own free will.
13-12-2024, 04:35 PM
Secret Santa. Thankfully no longer involved now with my own business but the hated the annual office secret Santa pish.
I had the worst of everything one year. Never took part in the Christmas jumper, ever, guess what I got for secret Santa??
Wore it to the office Christmas meal and straight to the charity shop on Monday.
Bridge hibs
13-12-2024, 05:25 PM
Bus drivers wearing Christmas jumpers, I dont mind the happy smiley ones but the soor faced gits should be wearing Grinch outfits, miserable gits 🤬
Bah ****ing humbug
13-12-2024, 05:37 PM
Bus drivers wearing Christmas jumpers, I dont mind the happy smiley ones but the soor faced gits should be wearing Grinch outfits, miserable gits 🤬
Bah ****ing humbug
I had ELF driving the X62 today
13-12-2024, 07:06 PM
The Pet Peeve contributors Christmas Night out would be a right barrel of laughs [emoji1787]
I don’t mind it all to be honest and sometimes you are dammed if you do and dammed if you don’t.
For every office grinch there is one complaining that no one organised anything for Christmas.
I’ve made my peace with it all…put on the Christmas jumper, turn up, smile politely while calmly waiting for it to be over while trying to avoid the small talk as much as possible without looking like I’m avoiding the small as much as possible [emoji1787]
I'll put a face on and bear it because I don't have any desire to spoil it for people who do enjoy all that stuff.
It's just the people who take it too far that gets me. As an example my work has had a bit of a tough year, people leaving the business, change of ownership etc etc. Add to that mid November through mid December is absolutely manic, everyone is at full tilt. I'd suggested that next Thursday we order in a nice lunch, get some beer and wine and whilst still working we can relax a bit and just enjoy the fruits of our labour. Idea went down quite well until the office fun officer got involved. My email about ordering a pizza or a burger was replied to with a 'remember your Christmas jumpers' then 'oh and why don't we do a secret Santa' then the dreaded 'got some party games planned. Pin the nose on Rudolph anyone? Lol'.
What started as a low key chance to just relax a bit exploded into something nobody asked for. It might be coincidence but half a dozen people who were in have suddenly had meetings come up or remembered appointments they previously couldn't recall.
I'll go. I'll put a face on and do what is expected but frankly the whole thing is ruined for me. Forced fun that no one asked for.