View Full Version : Pet Peeves IV
30-08-2015, 08:02 PM
Draught beers served in the wrong branded pint glasses.
Only thing worse is when you get a pint served in a glass not long out the glass washer that hasn't been dried properly.
Head on the beer just dies and you get bar staff standing looking confused when you complain about it, it's not difficult to work out what's happened.
30-08-2015, 08:08 PM
Only thing worse is when you get a pint served in a glass not long out the glass washer that hasn't been dried properly.
Head on the beer just dies and you get bar staff standing looking confused when you complain about it, it's not difficult to work out what's happened.
Or when (and I don't know why it happens) your drink is served in a glass that smells like a damp dog.
30-08-2015, 08:15 PM
******* lorry drivers who fill their tanks so full that they leave a diesel slick on every roundabout. Total nightmare for bikers. Rode through Glenrothes this morning on the way to work and every roundabout was covered
30-08-2015, 08:37 PM
Draught beers served in the wrong branded pint glasses.
Does my head in. Got a pint of Goose Island in that horrible Platform 5 place at Haymarket served in a Tennents glass. And the pint was crap.
30-08-2015, 10:58 PM
Or when (and I don't know why it happens) your drink is served in a glass that smells like a damp dog.
I think it's caused by careless cleaning and drying. I used to also think it was caused by drying glasses with overused and tainted tea towels.
31-08-2015, 05:48 AM
I think it's caused by careless cleaning and drying. I used to also think it was caused by drying glasses with overused and tainted tea towels.
If you do a google the question has been posed loads of times but I can't find the answer.
https://www.question.com/why-my-clean-hand-washed-dishes-smell-like-a-wet-95373.html
https://answers.yahoo.com/question/index?qid=20070521045605AAihfdU
Getting to the end of an online booking and clicking submit then the system crashing or timing out!
31-08-2015, 10:38 AM
Getting to the end of an online booking and clicking submit then the system crashing or timing out!
Jings. That's just taken me back to the dark days of dial-up.....trying to do a supermarket order, or book a holiday. Grim.
31-08-2015, 09:11 PM
One of my pet peeves is paying a fortune to taking the kids/grandkids to some sort of animal farm/zoo and find that half the stalls are empty due to renovations or the like.
No discount offered.
If I went into a pub and the barman poured me half a pint I'd be raging if he charged me for a full one.
To follow up the post above.
We went to Edinburgh zoo today. What a disappointment.
So many animals missing since I was young. Camels, giraffes, polar bears, seals, sea lions, elephants, etc. Are they all extinct? On the bright side we were treated to a host of mechanical dinosaurs who no doubt are cheaper to feed.
Alas, the wee train that took you to the top of the hill is deceased.
To crown it all they include a 'volentary' donation to the quoted entry fee in the hope that you will be too embarrassed to say that you don't want to pay it.
Certainly my last visit to this sadly depleted menagerie.
31-08-2015, 10:50 PM
I don't drink alcohol anymore and it really irritates when I'm out and I'm told "Oh, you're no fun" when I don't drink. I have a laugh with everyone else, I have as good a night as I ever did when I did drink, I can give people a lift home, I don't get a hangover and I don't feel miserable the next day from the boozy blues. I have a really good Saturday night and my Sunday isn't ruined, everyone else in the group has a few pints and has a really good night, where's the hassle?
01-09-2015, 08:13 AM
People who just won't listen when you are trying to help them.
Phone rings at 10 to5 last night at work. New woman in the office answers and I overhear a few snippets of the conversation, realise it's a big customer so make a point of asking if she needs any help when she hangs up (she's only been with us 4 weeks and has a bad habit of going of on her own wee tangents or trying to do things her way which causes all kinds of logistical problems for my job).
She explains that was a customer, and as I said one of our biggest, who is looking for quite a few items by a week on Tuesday. The conversation that followed destroyed a part of my soul:
'They are looking for this, this, this and this by next Tuesday'
'Just pass that straight over to their account manager, it's specialist equipment and the specs and stuff will need to be checked'
'I'll just send them a link to the website'
'Those items won't be on our website, they're specialist'
'I'll send them a link to the supplier website then, she can have a look over the weekend then I'll speak to xxxxx on Monday about it'
'Hand it over to her now, it needs to be dealt with asap. It's specialist stuff, it needs priced and then handed over to me to be ordered and transported'
'She doesn't need it until next Tuesday, that's loads of time'
'It's not really, I'll need to check stock with suppliers then get it brought over from Germany. Just hand it to the xxxxx now, she'll deal with over the weekend then pass it to me on Monday,
'I'll just send her a link to the supplier website and hand it over on Monday'
'I really wouldn't recommend doing that, you're just going to cause more trouble for yourself on Monday. Xxxxx likes anything like this passed to her right away, it's not your job to deal with it, just hand it over'
'I think I'll just wait until Monday, there's nothing can be done over the weekend anyway'
At this point I just put my jacket on and left.
How did her discipline go?
01-09-2015, 08:42 AM
I don't drink alcohol anymore and it really irritates when I'm out and I'm told "Oh, you're no fun" when I don't drink. I have a laugh with everyone else, I have as good a night as I ever did when I did drink, I can give people a lift home, I don't get a hangover and I don't feel miserable the next day from the boozy blues. I have a really good Saturday night and my Sunday isn't ruined, everyone else in the group has a few pints and has a really good night, where's the hassle?
Age brings wisdom....... along with dodgy stomachs, weak bladders, longer hangovers, etc etc
01-09-2015, 10:24 AM
You shouldn't ever pour beer into a dry glass. The issue you're referring to is usually caused because the glass hasn't been cleaned properly or, as you say, it's just out the glass washer but is still warm (rather than still wet).
I think the washing and drying process is usually responsible for the "wet dog" smell also. In my experience, it's usually most obvious when someone has left glasses in the washer for a period of time and they've been sitting in an unclean steam fog, or when the glass is taken straight from the washer after the cycle finishes. The best washers rinse glasses with cold water after the washing cycle finishes and allow the tray to be removed completely from the machine to air somewhere appropriate.
Of course, solving these issues requires a pub with lots of space, the right washer, experienced bar staff and enough of each type of glass to cope when the pub gets extremely busy. There's not too many of those around.
Galahibby
03-09-2015, 10:31 PM
What is it with grown women on Facebook telling each other how "gawjus" they are?? WTF?? Is Ali G writing dictionaries these days??? :confused:
04-09-2015, 07:35 AM
Forever Living.
04-09-2015, 09:25 AM
The use of the word "dystopian".
It seems that it is the new word to use to show that you're intelligent. Every other review in the Festival used the word. Even the review of Lanark (which was brilliant, by the way) used it twice in the same freaking paragraph.
I'd also mention the word "narrative", but Limmy has that covered.... :greengrin
04-09-2015, 09:32 AM
Forever Living.
04-09-2015, 02:03 PM
Forever Living.
Sorry, thought it was becoming widely known. :greengrin
It's an American company which is taking off over here. They use Sales Reps to both sell products and recruit others to do the same. You get a cut of whatever you sell and of whatever is sold by someone you've recruited. The result is essentially a gigantic pyramid scam with folk selling to their friends and relatives, some of whom feel obliged to buy to support the person in their new venture.
That alone doesn't necessarily bother me, but the products are massively overpriced IMO and the whole sales rhetoric is based around selling to people you know, which I think puts those people in an awkward situation - especially when multiple friends are doing it.
I know this type of thing has been around for a while in different forms and usually dies off quite quickly, but I think the combination of targeting people you know, mixed with the pervasiveness of Facebook, has meant this is easier for people to front whilst putting in very little actual effort.
There may be some people who genuinely like the products, can't buy similar elsewhere for cheaper and believe they are, therefore, worth the price. However, I think this will be a tiny minority and it basically boils down to people asking their friends and family for money, of which numerous other people are actually getting a cut.
04-09-2015, 02:15 PM
Sorry, thought it was becoming widely known. :greengrin
It's an American company which is taking off over here. They use Sales Reps to both sell products and recruit others to do the same. You get a cut of whatever you sell and of whatever is sold by someone you've recruited. The result is essentially a gigantic pyramid scam with folk selling to their friends and relatives, some of whom feel obliged to buy to support the person in their new venture.
That alone doesn't necessarily bother me, but the products are massively overpriced IMO and the whole sales rhetoric is based around selling to people you know, which I think puts those people in an awkward situation - especially when multiple friends are doing it.
I know this type of thing has been around for a while in different forms and usually dies off quite quickly, but I think the combination of targeting people you know, mixed with the pervasiveness of Facebook, has meant this is easier for people to front whilst putting in very little actual effort.
There may be some people who genuinely like the products, can't buy similar elsewhere for cheaper and believe they are, therefore, worth the price. However, I think this will be a tiny minority and it basically boils down to people asking their friends and family for money, of which numerous other people are actually getting a cut.
Ah....I actually think one of the women at my work was banging on about this the other day. I doubt I'm her target market.
04-09-2015, 02:31 PM
I'm not on FB etc but, I just cannae get my head round the numerous begging websites out there (gofundme etc), I doubt I could start asking strangers for dough, whatever it was for. Wouldnae sit well with me at all.
04-09-2015, 02:57 PM
Jamie Oliver. Just **** off.
04-09-2015, 03:10 PM
Ah....I actually think one of the women at my work was banging on about this the other day. I doubt I'm her target market.
Do you not think you'd benefit from an Aloe Vera face scrub? :greengrin
04-09-2015, 03:43 PM
Do you not think you'd benefit from an Aloe Vera face scrub? :greengrin
I'm handsome enough. In fact, it's possible that I'm too handsome already.
EH6 Hibby
04-09-2015, 05:42 PM
Cash Machines. :grr:
If the first menu gives me the option of checking my balance or getting a receipt with my cash, and I select cash only, why the hell does it then ask me again if I want to check my balance and if I want a receipt before giving me my money? If I wanted either of those things I would have said yes the first time. :brickwall
04-09-2015, 08:07 PM
If the first menu gives me the option of checking my balance or getting a receipt with my cash, and I select cash only, why the hell does it then ask me again if I want to check my balance and if I want a receipt before giving me my money? If I wanted either of those things I would have said yes the first time. :brickwall
Irritating perhaps, but people who do ANYTHING other than just take out cash at cash machine, in a prompt fashion, want shot.
Checking your balance? Do it online. Topping up your phone? Do it online. Have 3 cards? Do your financial management at home.
45 seconds max at a cash machine. Any longer and you're either a dithering pensioner or taking the piss.
04-09-2015, 08:30 PM
Irritating perhaps, but people who do ANYTHING other than just take out cash at cash machine, in a prompt fashion, want shot.
Checking your balance? Do it online. Topping up your phone? Do it online. Have 3 cards? Do your financial management at home.
45 seconds max at a cash machine. Any longer and you're either a dithering pensioner or taking the piss.
04-09-2015, 09:11 PM
There should be a rule that you can only do one card at a time - if you need to check a balance on another card or draw money from a different account get to the back of the queue.
05-09-2015, 03:04 PM
I'm handsome enough. In fact, it's possible that I'm too handsome already.
Given the ridiculous list of ailments they claim their products help with, I think they'll probably claim to cure that too. :greengrin
The one at Scotmid on Easter Road by any chance? The only person I know that asks more questions than that cash machine is my girlfriend...and at least I can feel free to ignore her most of the time.
EH6 Hibby
05-09-2015, 03:52 PM
Given the ridiculous list of ailments they claim their products help with, I think they'll probably claim to cure that too. :greengrin
The one at Scotmid on Easter Road by any chance? The only person I know that asks more questions than that cash machine is my girlfriend...and at least I can feel free to ignore her most of the time.
That's one of them yeah. It just so happens that I used that one, the one at Scotmid in Leith walk and the one in the Kirkgate all within a few days of each other and it really pee'd me off. :greengrin
05-09-2015, 05:53 PM
People who think the parking space outside their house on a public highway belongs to them.
05-09-2015, 09:45 PM
People who think the parking space outside their house on a public highway belongs to them.
Agree however people who leave their car at someone else's door for extended periods of time are just inconsiderate to55ers. It's happened to me twice - both times cars left at my door for two months without moving. Grrrrrrrrrrr
05-09-2015, 10:31 PM
About 5 years ago I was working up at Liberton and I used to drive up every day and park my car next to where I was picking up the taxi. The street was absolutely deserted but one day when I was finished and getting back into my car an old woman who must have been in her 90s came out and told me not to park outside her house as her son came every day with a big 7 seater. I looked up and down at the empty street and turned to her to point out how ridiculous she was being, but I saw an old woman who was clearly exasperated by the whole situation so I just said ok I'll park somewhere else. When I told the old guy who I was driving for at the time he said she didn't even have a son.
05-09-2015, 10:39 PM
About 5 years ago I was working up at Liberton and I used to drive up every day and park my car next to where I was picking up the taxi. The street was absolutely deserted but one day when I was finished and getting back into my car an old woman who must have been in her 90s came out and told me not to park outside her house as her son came every day with a big 7 seater. I looked up and down at the empty street and turned to her to point out how ridiculous she was being, but I saw an old woman who was clearly exasperated by the whole situation so I just said ok I'll park somewhere else. When I told the old guy who I was driving for at the time he said she didn't even have a son.
Thats funny! :-)
I must admit I was in a pub in Peebles last night watching the Scotland game and some female stole my seat from in front of the big screen when there were no other seats available, to my eternal shame I told her I was going blind and couldnae see the screen from further back! :)
05-09-2015, 10:55 PM
Thats funny! :-)
I must admit I was in a pub in Peebles last night watching the Scotland game and some female stole my seat from in front of the big screen when there were no other seats available, to my eternal shame I told her I was going blind and couldnae see the screen from further back! :)
:faf: Shame on you.
06-09-2015, 12:59 AM
It was actually the German game but, still a wee bit out of order. :-)
Galahibby
06-09-2015, 08:13 PM
A guy at the top of my street has 4 traffic cones that he always has out on the road along his front wall. Cheeky git! He's got a garage too, just doesn't want anyone else parking outside his house. Can't believe the police have never been round to ask for them back.
06-09-2015, 08:47 PM
People who don't seem to understand the concept of value in the bookies. Guy today had a horse that finished miles unplaced but didn't mind because it was 14/1 so he 'got a bit value'. How did you get value? You put a fiver on each way, it lost so you lost a tenner.
People don't seem to get that big odds don't always represent value and a bet at evens or even odds on can represent value.
Also when people talk about bets and say 'Chelsea lost me £500'. Did you bet £500 on Chelsea to win? 'No it was part of a £5 accumulator'. Ah so you lost a fiver? 'No I lost £500.' No you missed out on winning £500, you only lost a fiver of your own money.
06-09-2015, 09:34 PM
A guy at the top of my street has 4 traffic cones that he always has out on the road along his front wall. Cheeky git! He's got a garage too, just doesn't want anyone else parking outside his house. Can't believe the police have never been round to ask for them back.
I wouldn't be able to resist moving them and parking in front of his house.
06-09-2015, 10:32 PM
Same here - he's setting a target that I'd definitely be aiming for.
07-09-2015, 04:57 AM
Same here - he's setting a target that I'd definitely be aiming for.
I'd be tempted to buy a rust bucket just for that purpose.
07-09-2015, 09:46 AM
Folk standing queuing at a gate half an hour before it opens, pointless.
07-09-2015, 10:14 AM
Also when people talk about bets and say 'Chelsea lost me £500'. Did you bet £500 on Chelsea to win? 'No it was part of a £5 accumulator'. Ah so you lost a fiver? 'No I lost £500.' No you missed out on winning £500, you only lost a fiver of your own money.
In the eyes of the law, loss of opportunity is still loss. :greengrin
07-09-2015, 10:19 AM
Seems the Danish agree with you - http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/magazine-34153628
liamh2202
07-09-2015, 11:25 AM
Yeah me too . police cones must be used alongside a council order on an adjacent lampost etc.
07-09-2015, 12:09 PM
Depends on what you are queuing for surely?
Matty_Jack04
07-09-2015, 12:14 PM
Agree however people who leave their car at someone else's door for extended periods of time are just inconsiderate to55ers. It's happened to me twice - both times cars left at my door for two months without moving. Grrrrrrrrrrr
I agree with the points outside on a public road doesnt mean its your space....but... im in the process of moving house so doing a bit decorating etc the passed few weeks iv been living in the house on and off and the guy across the street (who has a driveway) parks his massive bright orange dinorod van directly in front of my window so close that when the sun shines my freshly decorated front room has a very bright orange shine to it, ive tried ignoring it but between that and the mrs banging on im nearing my wits end, the fact the boy came out and moved his van up a few yards the other day when i nipped to the shops nearly made me snap.....hes got a drive put the hidious thing in there and park the car in front of my house no problem caused.....probably doesnt want a glow in his front room tho
07-09-2015, 05:01 PM
Depends on what you are queuing for surely?
You're right, should've said airport.
07-09-2015, 07:46 PM
People who stand right at the school gates blocking it off for everyone else when they've got a huge playground to stand in! :grr:
07-09-2015, 09:47 PM
Mum's in big fancy cars that "park" at schools and block the road for everyday users and don't realise they're doing nothing wrong. Even if pointed out to them they think they're ok "cos there's no yellow lines on the road".
Common sense and courtesy doesn't come into it.
Walk ya lazy bitch or put your kids into a school that's closer to your house.
07-09-2015, 09:50 PM
Folk that live their life round the kids school, even moving house to get a place.
All schools cook the books to make their stats better - if the headmaster wants a promotion it's in his interest to do so. Some schools are just better than others at getting the data "correct".
07-09-2015, 11:13 PM
Mum's in big fancy cars that "park" at schools and block the road for everyday users and don't realise they're doing nothing wrong. Even if pointed out to them they think they're ok "cos there's no yellow lines on the road".
It's not just mums!
08-09-2015, 02:39 AM
If they don't realise they are doing nothing wrong does that matter? ;-)
08-09-2015, 07:55 AM
Paying for cup games because I never gambled on the CTU.
08-09-2015, 10:15 AM
It's not just mums!
It is. :greengrin
08-09-2015, 10:15 AM
If they don't realise they are doing nothing wrong does that matter? ;-)
I've confused myself!
08-09-2015, 04:02 PM
Technology that is so far advanced yet it can't make operations simple & easy for non-anoraks like myself.
Plus the constant need to change everything when a new version of a programme comes out when all that's required are simple refinements.
09-09-2015, 07:05 AM
Technology that is so far advanced yet it can't make operations simple & easy for non-anoraks like myself.
Plus the constant need to change everything when a new version of a programme comes out when all that's required are simple refinements.
On the flipside of the above, the habit of my dearest Mother to, when faced with the most minor of technological "challenges" - we're talking, turning the TV over to the DVD input, connecting a wireless radio to the home wi-fi etc - to throw her hands up as if she's in her nineties and go "oh I don't understand this technology stuff me" despite having a smartphone, a PhD and spent at least the latter part of her career in the modern office setting.
I assume it's a parental thing.
09-09-2015, 11:31 AM
Folk that live their life round the kids school, even moving house to get a place.
All schools cook the books to make their stats better - if the headmaster wants a promotion it's in his interest to do so. Some schools are just better than others at getting the data "correct".
You dinnae like schools eh :greengrin
09-09-2015, 11:40 AM
On the flipside of the above, the habit of my dearest Mother to, when faced with the most minor of technological "challenges" - we're talking, turning the TV over to the DVD input, connecting a wireless radio to the home wi-fi etc - to throw her hands up as if she's in her nineties and go "oh I don't understand this technology stuff me" despite having a smartphone, a PhD and spent at least the latter part of her career in the modern office setting.
I assume it's a parental thing.
It's a wummin thing. She's not blonde, is she?
09-09-2015, 12:09 PM
When you drive along a road with a 50mph limit for fifty years with no problems then some little safety twerp decides to lower the limit to forty for no apparent reason. e.g. the Forth Road Bridge.
Ffs, we'll be driving everywhere in reverse gear soon.
EH6 Hibby
09-09-2015, 12:10 PM
It's a wummin thing. She's not blonde, is she?
Definitely a Parent thing, my dad would not even attempt to use an iPad despite the fact that his 3 year old neice could use it.
09-09-2015, 03:05 PM
It's not really a peave but I bought something from eBay this week and when it arrived it said on the box 'similar to as seen on TV' that's the worst marketing slogan I've ever seen.
09-09-2015, 03:21 PM
When you drive along a road with a 50mph limit for fifty years with no problems then some little safety twerp decides to lower the limit to forty for no apparent reason. e.g. the Forth Road Bridge.
They dropped it to 40 because of the folk slowing down to look at the new crossing being built.
On a related topic though, I was heading home that way last night, two lanes of cars going 40 through the average speed camera zone, fair enough, the zone ends and the tube in the overtaking lane stays at 40, as does the tube in the inside lane. WTF?! It's a 70 road, either speed up or get out the overtaking lane.
SuperAllyMcleod
09-09-2015, 05:08 PM
I've a road near me that was a 60 (with no accidents for years), they then improved the safety of it by putting up street lights the whole length of it and then dropped the speed limit to 40!
It's beyond comprehension.
09-09-2015, 05:23 PM
They dropped it to 40 because of the folk slowing down to look at the new crossing being built.
On a related topic though, I was heading home that way last night, two lanes of cars going 40 through the average speed camera zone, fair enough, the zone ends and the tube in the overtaking lane stays at 40, as does the tube in the inside lane. WTF?! It's a 70 road, either speed up or get out the overtaking lane.
Just reported 4 car accident on FR bridge. As one commenter said on the Fife's Jammers Website "How the frig can you crash on a dual carriageway going 40mph?"
I rest my earlier case. Nae problems when it was 50mph. :greengrin:
09-09-2015, 07:32 PM
Is the limit 40 heading north but 50 heading south? Crossed it last weekend for the first time in ages and had a feeling the limits were different depending on direction.
09-09-2015, 08:39 PM
You dinnae like schools eh :greengrin
Not particularly the schools, more the parents I don't like. :greengrin
Mixu62
09-09-2015, 10:59 PM
People who think saying "Ooh Health and Safety!" is hilarious.
Folk that cheer in the pub when a glass is smashed 🙈🙈
10-09-2015, 06:43 AM
Folk that cheer in the pub when a glass is smashed 🙈🙈
Folk that clap when their plane lands. Grown adults off for a booze week in ****aluf or similar usually.
10-09-2015, 07:38 AM
Folk who only like one particular brand of beer/ale/whisky etc and try to look down on folk who drink something they consider inferior.
10-09-2015, 07:39 AM
Folk that clap when their plane lands. Grown adults off for a booze week in ****aluf or similar usually.
Folk that don't control their children on a flight.
I'm not talking about really young kids like babies or toddlers, if they start crying there's not much anyone can do. I mean older kids who's parents just seem to turn a blind eye to their brattish behaviour. I was on a flight last year where I had to endure this boy at about 9 or 10 booting the back of my seat for the entire journey. He was standing on the seat, shouting, leaning over me to piss about with my air con button, spitting juice at what I took to be his mum next to him and both she, and father predictably in full Celtic kit, just ignored it. I felt a bit bad at first as I though it may be a mental health problem but then I noticed the family friend child acting exactly the same way across the aisle.
Ok flights are boring and sitting still for 4 or 5 hours is crap for me never mind a child but at least try.
10-09-2015, 08:16 AM
Folk who are basically lighting their cigarette as the take the step off the bus, before their foot has touched the pavement it's lit up. Can you not wait 3 more seconds? It has to be done immediately, so I'm walking through your smoke?
10-09-2015, 09:01 AM
I once went to the pictures uears ago, thibk it was one of the older ones I toen dominion or cameo or something like that, any way wheb tbe picture was finished everyone started to clap. I was about 6 and me, my sister and step mum were all looking round confused. And I will ad the film was babe the ******g sheep.pig, deserved booed not clapped
10-09-2015, 09:22 AM
I once went to the pictures uears ago, thibk it was one of the older ones I toen dominion or cameo or something like that, any way wheb tbe picture was finished everyone started to clap. I was about 6 and me, my sister and step mum were all looking round confused. And I will ad the film was babe the ******g sheep.pig, deserved booed not clapped
'Babe the ****ing Sheep Pig' sounds like a great film. Get Tarantino on it, Samuel L Jackson as the farmer (playing Jules, after walking the earth/becoming a bum in Pulp Fiction, he tries his hand at sheep farming, little does he know that one cheeky little scamp of a pig, with a sheep fetish and tourettes, would change his life forever) I'd have Jemaine Clement voicing the pig. That's got classic written all over it. :greengrin
10-09-2015, 11:35 AM
'Babe the ****ing Sheep Pig' sounds like a great film. Get Tarantino on it, Samuel L Jackson as the farmer (playing Jules, after walking the earth/becoming a bum in Pulp Fiction, he tries his hand at sheep farming, little does he know that one cheeky little scamp of a pig, with a sheep fetish and tourettes, would change his life forever) I'd have Jemaine Clement voicing the pig. That's got classic written all over it. :greengrin
Haha maybe its me who has touretts, I never even realised what contexr that sounded. ....bur I would pay good money to see Samuel L play a farner hunting sheep ****in pigs
10-09-2015, 01:47 PM
Hmmm, a sheep/pig cross breed, that would be a tasty burger!
10-09-2015, 02:36 PM
Is the limit 40 heading north but 50 heading south? Crossed it last weekend for the first time in ages and had a feeling the limits were different depending on direction.
Yeah, 50mph southbound, 40 coming north.
I've not made up my mind if I admire or hate the average speed camera mavericks who just don't care about them and speed up the outside lane regardless.
10-09-2015, 04:01 PM
Yeah, 50mph southbound, 40 coming north.
I've not made up my mind if I admire or hate the average speed camera mavericks who just don't care about them and speed up the outside lane regardless.
Risk takers. I thought the speed camera averaged your speed from start to finish but apparently it's random cameras on the stretch that check your speed - not start to end.
Having said that has anyone ever been flashed in an average speed area? Maybe they're a prevention tool?
10-09-2015, 04:32 PM
Judging by the movie title, it sounds like you may have been taken to the Jacey :wink:
10-09-2015, 04:41 PM
Aye, noticed that last night. I guess southbound travellers don't look at the new bridge construction.
The 50/40 is even dafter than making it 40mph both ways.
To add to the silliness, the traffic management clowns have a 50mph restriction on the M74 between Baillieston & Rutherglen.
Nothing being done at the Rutherglen end for 5 or 6 miles so why not leave it at 70? Naw, that wid be too sensible.
11-09-2015, 06:46 AM
Think I'm going to explode when the 20 mph limit comes in to effect. That's just taking the piss imho.
11-09-2015, 10:17 AM
Think I'm going to explode when the 20 mph limit comes in to effect. That's just taking the piss imho.
Here's another numpty decision.
There's a trial period on the A9. HGV's are restricted to 50mph. (Everybody else can still drive up to 60mph).
What's happening? Miles of frustrated drivers stuck behind HGV's and looking for the first opportunity to overtake.
"Frustrated" is the key word here. Has the Traffic Department any common sense at all?
:brickwall
11-09-2015, 10:58 AM
Here's another numpty decision.
There's a trial period on the A9. HGV's are restricted to 50mph. (Everybody else can still drive up to 60mph).
What's happening? Miles of frustrated drivers stuck behind HGV's and looking for the first opportunity to overtake.
"Frustrated" is the key word here. Has the Traffic Department any common sense at all?
:brickwall
They actually increased the long standing limits for HGV vehicles last year. Previously it was 40 for single carriageways and 50 for dual carriageways. Now it's 10 mph faster for both.
11-09-2015, 03:59 PM
They actually increased the long standing limits for HGV vehicles last year. Previously it was 40 for single carriageways and 50 for dual carriageways. Now it's 10 mph faster for both.
I stand corrected. :greengrin
The average speed cameras on the forth bridge have signs saying "cameras under test" on them, so I'm not sure anyone will be getting tickets issued.
11-09-2015, 06:00 PM
The average speed cameras on the forth bridge have signs saying "cameras under test" on them, so I'm not sure anyone will be getting tickets issued.
****! They're using them on trains now?
11-09-2015, 09:47 PM
Risk takers. I thought the speed camera averaged your speed from start to finish but apparently it's random cameras on the stretch that check your speed - not start to end.
Having said that has anyone ever been flashed in an average speed area? Maybe they're a prevention tool?
They measure the time from camera to camera, using number playe recognition cameras, apparently. Nobody would get flashed by one.
****! They're using them on trains now?
They probably would if they could get away with it.:greengrin
14-09-2015, 07:15 PM
Men that call females wummin ! :rolleyes:
14-09-2015, 10:56 PM
Men that call females wummin ! :rolleyes:
People who call women 'woman'. (Usually men to be fair)
15-09-2015, 04:24 PM
Restaurants that say on the menu a food is 'very spicy' and 9 times out of 10 it just isn't.
I like spicy food and choose to order it and I'll be able to tell if it's 'very spicy' or not so don't lie to me.
15-09-2015, 05:11 PM
Arrogance.
15-09-2015, 05:39 PM
Restaurants that say on the menu a food is 'very spicy' and 9 times out of 10 it just isn't.
I like spicy food and choose to order it and I'll be able to tell if it's 'very spicy' or not so don't lie to me.
This is one of mine too, I have been very disappointed on more than one occasion recently with menus denoting the 1,2,3 chilli symbol and finding what I think is going to be very hot and spicy a let down. Having said that I asked for a ramped up Chilli Garlic Chicken on Saturday night and boy did they ramp it up.........superb.
15-09-2015, 05:43 PM
I went to a curry night in the pub in Kirkliston once, forget its name, and asked for a curry to be really really hot if possible. When I got the tbi g it was boiling hot but not spicy in the slightest. The chef woman spole to.us after and asked how it was and I said it was nice but I like them hotter, to which she said oh I thought you meant boiling hot haha
Godsahibby
15-09-2015, 09:00 PM
********s who don't use indicators when driving. Should be banned from driving or you should at least be allowed to drag them out their car and knock them out
15-09-2015, 09:15 PM
********s who don't use indicators when driving. Should be banned from driving or you should at least be allowed to drag them out their car and knock them out
I thought they stopped fitting them on so many modern cars or at least it seems that way.
15-09-2015, 09:39 PM
I thought they stopped fitting them on so many modern cars or at least it seems that way.
Have been known to point out a special edition land rover ,or the like.......NAE F###### Indicators !
15-09-2015, 10:19 PM
Folk who ignore or don't see white road markings.
Worst and most dangerous of all, the morons who blatently cut corners at speed on blind bends on narrow roads. I get so paranoid about them and tend to slow down in anticipation, that I'm sure I frustrate drivers behind me. Too bad as my life has regularly been saved by pre-empting these killers.
Folk who cut lane lines at T junctions just when you're about ten yards from the junction.
16-09-2015, 05:47 AM
When threads on Hibs net go full circle.
17-09-2015, 07:07 PM
When threads on Hibs net go full circle.
I take it my post prompted your comment. :greengrin Sorry for not trying to wade through 40 pages of drivel (mine included) before posting. Why not build an index for lazy barstewards like me? :wink:
Godsahibby
18-09-2015, 03:33 PM
The number of bus stops on each route. Public transport is fantastic in Edinburgh but is there really a need for a bus stop every 50 meters it seems on route.
19-09-2015, 04:57 PM
Stinky dirty unwashed individuals who use public transport and are so bad that the smell is unbearable to be around.
SuperAllyMcleod
19-09-2015, 05:03 PM
Stinky dirty unwashed individuals who use public transport and are so bad that the smell is unbearable to be around.
Celtic fans?
21-09-2015, 11:44 AM
The number of bus stops on each route. Public transport is fantastic in Edinburgh but is there really a need for a bus stop every 50 meters it seems on route.
It's crazy how many bus stops there are :agree:
22-09-2015, 11:33 PM
Hospital parking charges
Extortionate airport parking charges
21-04-2016, 11:32 AM
Why can't people just make a cup of coffee anymore? in the work I see folk standing at the sink with chemistry sets spending ages trying to make the perfect cup. Tossers IMO.
21-04-2016, 12:38 PM
Why can't people just make a cup of coffee anymore? in the work I see folk standing at the sink with chemistry sets spending ages trying to make the perfect cup. Tossers IMO.
Are you sure it's coffee? :greengrin
21-04-2016, 12:48 PM
Are you sure it's coffee? :greengrin
If it's no, I want in if it makes the day go faster :wink:
21-04-2016, 02:32 PM
Just as bad are those that don't know how to use them. More and more people indicating right at a roundabout when going straight on.
21-04-2016, 02:57 PM
Just as bad are those that don't know how to use them. More and more people indicating right at a roundabout when going straight on.
Foglights!!!!
This morning I was glad it was so sunny that I had my sunglasses on otherwise the twat in the Audi Q4 in front of me would have blinded me with his rear foglights!!!
21-04-2016, 04:09 PM
Foglights!!!!
This morning I was glad it was so sunny that I had my sunglasses on otherwise the twat in the Audi Q4 in front of me would have blinded me with his rear foglights!!!
:agree: One of my old chestnuts is the four headlight brigade.
I can't help getting on my soapbox about it ad nausum on every Pet Peeves thread. :cool2:
28-05-2016, 08:29 AM
Foglights!!!!
:agree: One of my old chestnuts is the four headlight brigade.
I can't help getting on my soapbox about it ad nausum on every Pet Peeves thread. :cool2:
On the other hand, folk who don't use lights in bad light conditions are menaces. I drove from Peebles into Edinburgh yesterday. There was a real pea souper and every car had dipped headlights and most had foglights on. The clown, ten yards behind me all the way, refused to use any lights at all.
06-06-2016, 09:07 PM
Current pet peeve is the F1speeds round roundabouts. Those on the roundabout doing their best to prevent anyone joining. Here are some very big roundabouts in the City and giving way safely to the right not always necessary. Roundabouts were intended to make traffic flow better...
06-06-2016, 09:40 PM
Revolving doors.
07-06-2016, 06:16 AM
People who think they can change thge direction of a lift by pressing a button. They get in a lift going down and frantically press the up button moaning about which direction they want to go.
07-06-2016, 09:28 AM
Current pet peeve is the F1speeds round roundabouts. Those on the roundabout doing their best to prevent anyone joining. Here are some very big roundabouts in the City and giving way safely to the right not always necessary. Roundabouts were intended to make traffic flow better...
The roundabout at the gyle going into Edinburgh Park give me the rage almost dailey. people coming from the right and block the lane for anyone getting out when they clearly dont have anywhere to go :fuming::fuming:
07-06-2016, 04:40 PM
People distinguishing between upper and lower case letters when talking about e-mail addresses.
07-06-2016, 04:51 PM
People distinguishing between upper and lower case letters when talking about e-mail addresses.
:greengrin:
Drives me nuts too
11-06-2016, 01:29 PM
Ditters on the road. :I'm waiti
Roadworks with traffic lights for weeks because of one little hole that needs filled and there's no workmen on site or in sight. :grr:
If you can't complete the work, temporarily fill the bleeding hole in rather than cause grief to road users.
Adverts with 'cute' little kids, puppies or kittens. :sick:
11-06-2016, 01:58 PM
People, usually older men, who stand in a shop and read apaper on the rack for about 5 minutes then walk out without buying it.
If your that interested pay for the ****ing thing, if you're not don't stand there reading it.
11-06-2016, 08:47 PM
Wives who decide they want to start talking to you about all sorts of boring crap when there's only 5 mins left in the footy. GOAL RUSSIA, get in :greengrin.
11-06-2016, 08:58 PM
Wives who decide they want to start talking to you about all sorts of boring crap when there's only 5 mins left in the footy. GOAL RUSSIA, get in :greengrin.
^^ like
12-06-2016, 11:42 AM
Guys who insist on the hottest curries as if it's a badge of courage or something.
Why don't they just carry a tin of curry powder about with them and ladle some in?
After all, that's what the restaurants do!
12-06-2016, 01:50 PM
The lack of consistency in the flavour of pringles. Some are laden with flavouring others pretty bland even though they are supposed to be the same flavour.Does my nut in
12-06-2016, 03:38 PM
That moneysupermarket advert with the guy in the heels, boak! Who would that convince to use their product?
12-06-2016, 05:55 PM
Everyone leaving a Lothian Bus says thank you to the driver these days. What's that all about?
They'll be giving them tips next, just for doing their job - not very well either in many cases. Jerking folk around and causing arm and shoulder injuries.
12-06-2016, 06:49 PM
Everyone leaving a Lothian Bus says thank you to the driver these days. What's that all about?
They'll be giving them tips next, just for doing their job - not very well either in many cases. Jerking folk around and causing arm and shoulder injuries.
I thank everyone that serves me and provides a service including bus drivers. Just because they are doing a job doesn't mean you can't thank them.
12-06-2016, 06:58 PM
I thank everyone that serves me and provides a service including bus drivers. Just because they are doing a job doesn't mean you can't thank them.
Likewise. People thank me everyday just for doing my job and I appreciate it.
I'd say people who don't show basic manners like saying please and thank you is a far bigger peeve for me than people that do.
12-06-2016, 07:20 PM
12-06-2016, 08:18 PM
Its good manners, I've been doing it since I was about 3, must just be the way I was brought up.
12-06-2016, 11:13 PM
Aye, and see what kind of response you get when you do the same to her when Constipation Street is on. :rolleyes:
13-06-2016, 11:43 AM
I think it's more common now that you exit the bus beside the driver - not like the old days.
13-06-2016, 12:52 PM
Guys who insist on the hottest curries as if it's a badge of courage or something.
Why don't they just carry a tin of curry powder about with them and ladle some in?
After all, that's what the restaurants do!
I know what you mean.
Imagine paying for a meal and wanting it to meet your expectations. ****ing ridiculous behaviour.
13-06-2016, 10:47 PM
I think it's more common now that you exit the bus beside the driver - not like the old days.
That's very true. I might thank the driver for a good ride but I so seldom get one nowadays.
14-06-2016, 05:54 AM
People, usually older men, who stand in a shop and read apaper on the rack for about 5 minutes then walk out without buying it.
If your that interested pay for the ****ing thing, if you're not don't stand there reading it.
I worked in a newsagent in Portobello for a couple of weeks as a kid. When folk used to do that the owner had a variety of catchphrases for the situation. These included:
- Sorry sir, you appear to have taken a wrong turn. The library is actually on the other side of the road.
- I make a living from you buying it, not standing in my way reading it.
- You can watch the news for free, but you're going to have to pay to read it.
- If you're checking your horoscope, it says beware short, fat, Asian men launching you onto pavements.
These phrases were inevitably followed by something like, "now buy it or **** off".
14-06-2016, 06:51 AM
That's very true. I might thank the driver for a good ride but I so seldom get one nowadays.
Ooohh Matron!
14-06-2016, 06:53 AM
Old thread this (and not going to go back through reading it all just now).
I assume the use of "lol" has already been mentioned? Irritating as ****.
14-06-2016, 10:24 AM
Old thread this (and not going to go back through reading it all just now).
I assume the use of "lol" has already been mentioned? Irritating as ****.
It is.
I prefer to employ Ha Ha instead but I don't get much chance to use it I'm afraid.
14-06-2016, 11:33 AM
Skimmed milk.
Caversham Green
15-06-2016, 10:04 AM
The utter rubbish that advertising and marketing people spout.
I've just looked at a box of BelVita breakfast biscuits (decent enough biscuits but nothing special) and the first line in the wording is:"At BelVita,we're passionate about breakfast biscuits." Who in their right mind could be passionate about breakfast biscuits? And if they were they'd be mad to boast about it.
Another one off the top of my head (almost literally) - "Your hair looks so nourished." WTF does that even mean?
15-06-2016, 03:59 PM
The utter rubbish that advertising and marketing people spout.
I've just looked at a box of BelVita breakfast biscuits (decent enough biscuits but nothing special) and the first line in the wording is:"At BelVita,we're passionate about breakfast biscuits." Who in their right mind could be passionate about breakfast biscuits? And if they were they'd be mad to boast about it.
Another one off the top of my head (almost literally) - "Your hair looks so nourished." WTF does that even mean?
I hate when sales people are over familiar with you. i.e. "we really care about you and since it's you we'll give you a 'special' deal"
Eh, no pal. Actually, you're trying to sell me something so you can make a living.
FWIW, I have no problem with you getting your cut, but don't come on to me like you are my fairy bleeding godmother. :brickwall
15-06-2016, 07:52 PM
Folk who are sitting in my ST seat and expect me to show them my ST to prove it.
15-06-2016, 11:55 PM
Folk that work in shops that think its fine to rock up at 5 minutes to close in restaurants and eat a 3 course meal but have the shop doors closed at 445 and look at you like **** for coming near the place just before 5.
16-06-2016, 05:34 PM
This new trend of using the term "bullying" as a positive.
Football commentators an pundits are the worst.
" He has bullied him all over the park"
"bullied him out the way"
Etc.
16-06-2016, 05:40 PM
Posters who try to establish their own catchphrase .
"Purrrrrrrr" is one that comes to mind
16-06-2016, 09:39 PM
Posters who try to establish their own catchphrase .
"Purrrrrrrr" is one that comes to mind
This, endof!
17-06-2016, 08:28 AM
Companies who are happy to take your money, even taking money that they shouldn't, but will do nothing to resolve any problem that arises. McNicholl Van Hire springs to mind.
17-06-2016, 09:31 AM
This new trend of using the term "bullying" as a positive.
Football commentators an pundits are the worst.
" He has bullied him all over the park"
"bullied him out the way"
Etc.
Following on from this, commentators who constantly go on about players being unlucky when their efforts on goal are saved, eh no, the keeper is just doing his job.
17-06-2016, 10:31 AM
Following on from this, commentators who constantly go on about players being unlucky when their efforts on goal are saved, eh no, the keeper is just doing his job.
:agree: And it also gets on my thrupnies when commentaters say "He had too much time" when a player makes a erchie of an easy chance.
17-06-2016, 11:29 AM
In a similar vein, commentators and fans who go on about how lucky a team was because 'the keepers made a few good saves' to get them that win.
The keeper is part of the team, it's his job to make saves to help win games. No one ever says a team was lucky because 'the strikers scored a couple of good goals'.
19-06-2016, 09:29 AM
Top, top players.
19-06-2016, 09:58 AM
Being given American style or cheap vinegary tasting mustard.
19-06-2016, 04:48 PM
The commercialism behind Fathers & Mothers day, when I was a kid cards were given to parents by their children. Now wife's & husbands are sending them to their spouses. FFS my mate just put on FB that he got five cards, one from each of his three children, one from his wife and one from his ****** pet rabbit! :grr:
19-06-2016, 06:34 PM
The commercialism behind Fathers & Mothers day, when I was a kid cards were given to parents by their children. Now wife's & husbands are sending them to their spouses. FFS my mate just put on FB that he got five cards, one from each of his three children, one from his wife and one from his ****** pet rabbit! :grr:
My girlfriend got me a fathers day card from our cat! We don't even have a child so there really is no excuse. Mental behaviour imo.
19-06-2016, 06:37 PM
And on that subject, folks wishing their dad "Happy Father's Day" on social media knowing fine well their old man wouldn't go near Facebook if his life depended on it.
19-06-2016, 06:56 PM
My girlfriend got me a fathers day card from our cat! We don't even have a child so there really is no excuse. Mental behaviour imo.
Sounds like she might want one though tbh :greengrin
19-06-2016, 06:58 PM
Sounds like she might want one though tbh :greengrin
I'm not sure, she already moans about being below Hibs and the cat in my priorities. Not sure she fancies adding more competition!
Sent from my SM-G925F using Tapatalk
19-06-2016, 07:32 PM
Walking poles, I'm sure they can be helpful in the hills but the amount of people I'm seeing out for a stroll in the street with them is obscene :grr:
19-06-2016, 08:17 PM
Erses driving in front of you who swerve violently to avoid the smallest manhole.
People who put coffee in their cup then use the same spoon to put their sugar in, leaving what looks like mouse droppings in the sugar.
20-06-2016, 02:01 AM
It's okay, SH. Keep yer hare on. :wink:
20-06-2016, 10:41 AM
It's okay, SH. Keep yer hare on. :wink:
Crap puns.
20-06-2016, 05:45 PM
That's wandering treacherously close to getting the heave ho territory in my book
😝
20-06-2016, 10:31 PM
Crap puns.
:agree: 100%
20-06-2016, 10:37 PM
:agree: 100%
Absolutely.
21-06-2016, 07:56 AM
People who amend posts with that "Fixed that for you" nonsense.
21-06-2016, 07:00 PM
People who amend posts with that "Fixed that for you" nonsense.
Agreed mate. Drives me nuts.
SuperAllyMcleod
21-06-2016, 08:32 PM
Football pundits that don't know how to use "those"!
I've heard Gerry Taggert and John Hartson on five live today both say "strikers are used to being in them areas" - NO! Strikers are used to being in those areas!
SuperAllyMcleod
21-06-2016, 08:33 PM
Glen Hoddle - boring pr1ck!
I've heard Gerry Taggert and John Hartson on five live today both say "strikers are used to being in them areas" - NO! Strikers are used to being in those areas!
Football pundits it's who only have 2 modes:
1. State the obvious without adding anything insightful (smith....to Jones....to brown...now Johnstone) - we can see that, tell us what we don't know.
2. Talk absolute ***** whilst the game is happening without actually mentioning the game. An example, a match between say, Germany and Belgium will be regularly ignored to pontificate about whether England will be more likely to be playing Spain or France in the next round. Meanwhile, there's actually an interesting match happening, that is going ignored. This also happens for club games, but more so in European competition.
hibs#1
22-06-2016, 10:45 AM
The commentator during the England Russia game last week shouting JUSTICE FOR THE ENGLAND 11
I mean wtf?
To be fair more funny than a peeve
But really?
22-06-2016, 01:33 PM
I've noticed that's pretty common. One of the only pundits who can speak properly is Garth Crooks - it's only the players names he has a problem with rather than the English language!
22-06-2016, 02:31 PM
Agreed mate. Drives me nuts. (Re. "Fixed that for you" use).
Me too, I hate the smugness of that statement. They haven't actually 'fixed' anything.
What they generally have done is twisted your words to suit their own diverse sense of humour. Not cool.
23-06-2016, 07:25 AM
"He would score for fun in this league"
23-06-2016, 02:49 PM
"He would score for fun in this league"
Good grief Scouse ! You're peeved quite a bit eh :greengrin
23-06-2016, 07:13 PM
Good grief Scouse ! You're peeved quite a bit eh :greengrin
Yeah,becoming a grumpy busted as I get older :-)
23-06-2016, 10:05 PM
I might have said this when this thread was on its first lap but folk that day "free" instead of "three" or "fink" instead of "think" and so on and so forth.
24-06-2016, 11:42 AM
I might have said this when this thread was on its first lap but folk that day "free" instead of "three" or "fink" instead of "think" and so on and so forth.
In a similar vein - would of, should of, could of etc.
24-06-2016, 01:52 PM
"Loose" instead of "lose".
24-06-2016, 06:05 PM
"Loose" instead of "lose".
In a similar vein - would of, should of, could of etc.
Oh yes - them as well.
Where/were/we're, their/there/they're and your/you're to add to the list as well.
24-06-2016, 06:05 PM
And folk not reading something then forming an opinion and complaining about "it".
SuperAllyMcleod
24-06-2016, 07:20 PM
Oh yes - them as well.
Where/were/we're, their/there/they're and your/you're to add to the list as well.
Can I just throw in to/too/two too.
24-06-2016, 07:36 PM
Can I just throw in to/too/two too.
The one that always gets me is people who confuse 'our' and 'are'. As in 'we just moved into are house'
How's is that even possible?
24-06-2016, 09:29 PM
Hate how every series on Netflix has a 5 star rating, surely they can't all be that good.
25-06-2016, 09:55 AM
People who mess around with their phone while your having a conversation with them.
25-06-2016, 12:46 PM
The one that always gets me is people who confuse 'our' and 'are'. As in 'we just moved into are house'
People from the generation who were taught "it's spelled how it sounds" at school. A lot of people say "are house".
25-06-2016, 04:20 PM
People from the generation who were taught "it's spelled how it sounds" at school. A lot of people say "are house".
The stupid bitch on the telly last night was definitely from the older generation and she said "are England" while thumping her chest about them having achieved independence.
LustForLeith
26-06-2016, 05:56 AM
In my current work I'm astounded by the amount of people you make an effort to hold the door open who don't thank you for it or who don't hold the door open if you're just behind them. Manners!
Also, the trend to have popular non acoustic songs given an acoustic treatment for the sake of a telly advert does my head in.
26-06-2016, 08:01 AM
The stupid bitch on the telly last night was definitely from the older generation and she said "are England" while thumping her chest about them having achieved independence.
I thought she was using it in the context of pirate English
'Aaaarrrrr England'.
Loving this thread, keep forgetting about the dug out, never seen so many grumpy auld gets having a right good moan :greengrin, I feel at home here.
Drivers who don't acknowledge when you let them past, or the ignorant ones that barge past when they don't have the right of way.
Galahibby
26-06-2016, 01:20 PM
Apostrophes where they're not needed, and the lack of them where they should be.
26-06-2016, 05:36 PM
Loving this thread, keep forgetting about the dug out, never seen so many grumpy auld gets having a right good moan :greengrin, I feel at home here.
Drivers who don't acknowledge when you let them past, or the ignorant ones that barge past when they don't have the right of way.
I'm sure if Scotland had an International Moaning Team I would be capped. :wink:
26-06-2016, 10:09 PM
Coldplay
27-06-2016, 01:37 PM
Door or phone canvassers who won't accept a couple of polite no thank yous and force you into the 'P.F.O.' mode.
Mixu62
28-06-2016, 04:02 AM
In the supermarket, when you step back to let someone past and the stop right in front of you. I'm trying to spot a particular brand of whatever and they stand right in my line of vision. MOVE IT!!
People who use the word "went" in place of "said". You know, he went....so I went...an' he went.
28-06-2016, 06:53 PM
The phrase "broke the internet" - usually used in relation to a picture of a celebrity which isn't very interesting to people with a modicum of common sense.
28-06-2016, 08:52 PM
The phrase "broke the internet" - usually used in relation to a picture of a celebrity which isn't very interesting to people with a modicum of common sense.
And "this just won the Internet"
29-06-2016, 10:11 AM
Songs which make up words (or change existing words slightly) to fit the number of syllables required. It seems to be becoming more and more common.
29-06-2016, 01:29 PM
Songs which make up words (or change existing words slightly) to fit the number of syllables required. It seems to be becoming more and more common.
How can that be a pet peeve when legends such as snoop has been shizzling nizzles since the 90's :greengrin
29-06-2016, 07:13 PM
How can that be a pet peeve when legends such as snoop has been shizzling nizzles since the 90's :greengrin
Fair point! :-)
I should have clarified that I don't mind when the whole song is full of it, it's just when it's one word in the hope we won't notice.
30-06-2016, 12:27 PM
:confused::confused:
30-06-2016, 12:35 PM
Strange pavement behaviour. This includes, but is not limited to, people suddenly stopping dead in their tracks when you're walking behind them - usually it's to look at their mobile phone - and people who are apparently incapable of walking in a straight line on narrow pavements.
Tobias Funke
30-06-2016, 02:06 PM
:confused::confused:
I will guess that is an autocorrect issue there! One of my own pet peeves is when autocorrect puts apostrophes where it shouldn't!
30-06-2016, 02:28 PM
I will guess that is an autocorrect issue there! One of my own pet peeves is when autocorrect puts apostrophes where it shouldn't!
I tend to use a lot of jargon and off-the-wall words & I spend more time changing autocorrect to what I actually typed than I do correcting my mistakes.
Hate the thing ... but not as much as I hate the person responsible for programming the auto indentation as soon as you type "1". :grr:
30-06-2016, 05:12 PM
Erkies old enough to know better but still think it's funny to keep ringing a bus bell, yet you are the one in the wrong when you offer to knock them out if they don't cut it out
01-07-2016, 06:46 PM
People who press the green man and walk straight across the road before it even comes on, leaving me sitting waiting at the red light while nobody crosses.
Godsahibby
01-07-2016, 07:10 PM
Apple, please just accept ****** is a word, auto correcting to duck or ducking ducking annoys me!!
sent from my iPhone
01-07-2016, 09:56 PM
Apple, please just accept ****** is a word, auto correcting to duck or ducking ducking annoys me!!
sent from my iPhone
It annoys me that they autocorrect the word apple to give it a capital letter.
01-07-2016, 10:29 PM
Folk who don't understand how to use question marks. There's more than a few regular offenders on the main board.
What makes them think that putting a question mark at the end of a closed statement makes it a question? 😡
01-07-2016, 11:22 PM
Folk who don't understand how to use question marks. There's more than a few regular offenders on the main board.
What makes them think that putting a question mark at the end of a closed statement makes it a question? 😡
A question mark is capable of making any statement a question. That's how it should be.
02-07-2016, 03:04 AM
People who say "it's that type of rain that makes you wet"
02-07-2016, 07:04 AM
A question mark is capable of making any statement a question. That's how it should be.
A question mark is capable of making any statement a question? That's how it should be?
02-07-2016, 10:25 AM
A question mark is capable of making any statement a question? That's how it should be?
Yes and yes?
02-07-2016, 10:32 AM
02-07-2016, 02:07 PM
Tennis players who need to inspect 3 balls before every serve.
People's Sunday at Wimbledon. Peasant's Sunday in other words.
02-07-2016, 03:27 PM
I love how they check the balls like that - even when they're brand new. What are they looking for?!
03-07-2016, 10:38 AM
Pet peeve threads getting resurrected. Technically this should be a separate thread, Pet Peeves V?
(That question mark was put in their intentionally btw, so was the word their and the acronym btw.... Lol)
Not a fan of Roman numerals in place of real numbers either.
03-07-2016, 10:47 AM
Pet peeve threads getting resurrected. Technically this should be a separate thread, Pet Peeves V?
(That question mark was put in their intentionally btw, so was the word their and the acronym btw.... Lol)
:hilarious :thumbsup:
03-07-2016, 04:19 PM
Tennis players have three!
03-07-2016, 05:31 PM
Tennis players have three!
You should have used a question mark. :-)
03-07-2016, 06:22 PM
You should have used a question mark. :-)
He should have used a question mark?
03-07-2016, 06:23 PM
He should have used a question mark?
Exactly.
HibeeLR
06-07-2016, 09:47 PM
Adverts on TV and radio. I know many people don't like them but there's always that one that really really annoys me. At the moment it's those James Martin ads for Asda, terrible and absolutely cringey. Least you can easily skip them now, phew!
06-07-2016, 10:23 PM
Haha, funny guys? Should have kept my pet peeve to myself? 😉
Godsahibby
07-07-2016, 12:17 PM
Adverts on TV and radio. I know many people don't like them but there's always that one that really really annoys me. At the moment it's those James Martin ads for Asda, terrible and absolutely cringey. Least you can easily skip them now, phew!
Adverts on the radio are shocking, especially local radio and you can't skip them. The best radio station I have discovered in the car is BFBS (British Forces Broadcasting Service) only available in some areas I think, thankfully Edinburgh one of them. Advert free!!!!
07-07-2016, 12:58 PM
Adverts on the radio are shocking, especially local radio and you can't skip them. The best radio station I have discovered in the car is BFBS (British Forces Broadcasting Service) only available in some areas I think, thankfully Edinburgh one of them. Advert free!!!!
I did some work with BFBS a few years back. Ironically it was in advertising (although it was advertising voter registration to the forces, so wasn't in usual advert format). I think you can pick up their various channels within range of most participating bases (of which Dreghorn and Glencorse are two), but you can also get them UK-wide on DAB.
07-07-2016, 10:07 PM
Folk that keep their hand up while asking their question on Question Time.
07-07-2016, 10:11 PM
Big Brother
07-07-2016, 10:36 PM
Big Brother
Wee sisters.
SuperAllyMcleod
08-07-2016, 05:54 AM
Have you heard of the BBC - they offer a wide range of channels, all of which are advert free. [emoji6]
08-07-2016, 04:18 PM
Folk that keep their hand up while asking their question on Question Time.
People that clap their own comment in question time, it's akin to liking your own Facebook post!
08-07-2016, 08:27 PM
Have you heard of the BBC - they offer a wide range of channels, all of which are advert free. [emoji6]
If you ignore all the adverts for BBC services, license fee etc...
08-07-2016, 10:53 PM
Radio Five Live because the presenters on Five Live have to mention Five Live as often as possible in case you think you're tuned in to something other than Five Live.
08-07-2016, 11:07 PM
That's par for the course these days. Morons. The worst is "went" as in "he's went for the ball". Murdo Mcleod does it all the time on the BBC. No one has had the guts to tell him he sounds like a numpty.
09-07-2016, 10:52 PM
People that clap their own comment in question time, it's akin to liking your own Facebook post!
It's not just on question time I've noticed this. There's people doing it on tv all the time. I watched top gear the other night and the guy whose film had just been shown started to clap when they went back to the studio!!! If you do or say something, it's up to others to decide whether it's good or bad.
These black plastic screw on caps for your car tyre valves.
Every time I take them off to blow my tyres up one goes missing or I find that one has disappeared/fallen off already.
Whenever this happens I use the logic that this must happen to lots of other people so if I look on the ground I am bound to find either my own or someone else's eventually.
I never, ever find any so I've come to the conclusion that they are either magically disappearing the minute they hit the ground or I am the only person in the world that loses these things.
11-07-2016, 01:01 PM
Link cash machines that ask pointless questions before dispensing money.
The opening menu clearly has an option for balance enquiry and cash withdrawal, Cash withdrawal with receipt or cash withdrawal only. Why then when I select Cash withdrawal am I asked if I would like to check my balance and informed it's a 'free service', then when I select no why am I asked would I like a receipt?
If I wanted to check my balance or a ****ing receipt I would have selected those options. I just wanted money and you have just wasted my time with questions I had already answered with my initial choice.
11-07-2016, 01:27 PM
People who try to stand up to get their luggage when a plane lands only to find that there is no room in the aisle so they stand half bent over for ages. Knobs.
11-07-2016, 04:28 PM
People who don't know where to position their car when turning right.
11-07-2016, 04:34 PM
People who try to stand up to get their luggage when a plane lands only to find that there is no room in the aisle so they stand half bent over for ages. Knobs.
I hate that too, but have to admit to having previously being guilty of it.
The thing is that, even if you're first off the plane, you inevitably end up waiting at the luggage carousel anyway!!
11-07-2016, 04:36 PM
People who don't know where to position their car when turning right.
Stupid assholes
11-07-2016, 11:05 PM
I hate that too, but have to admit to having previously being guilty of it.
The thing is that, even if you're first off the plane, you inevitably end up waiting at the luggage carousel anyway!!
That's not entirely true. I'm currently on holiday in lanzarote and when I got to the luggage carousel my cases were amongst the first out. My Mrs noticed they had tags on them stating that we had priority luggage. On my return I'm going to fight my way off the plane :greengrin
12-07-2016, 08:37 AM
I started the Pet Peeve threads years ago as a filler for the summer months. I would have started PP V this year but IV never really stopped.
Btw, I like Roman numerals but it's okay if you don't :greengrin
A Roman soldier walks into a bar, holds up two fingers and says "Five beers please" (boom? boom?)
12-07-2016, 10:02 AM
TV programmes that film someone doing their job and pass themselves off as entertainment.
SuperAllyMcleod
12-07-2016, 10:06 AM
Smokers who don't seem to believe that throwing their fag ends away in the street is littering!
12-07-2016, 10:11 AM
Smokers who don't seem to believe that throwing their fag ends away in the street is littering!
Especially at a bus stop, when they're about 2 metres away from a bin. Does my head in!
12-07-2016, 10:31 AM
TV programmes that film someone doing their job and pass themselves off as entertainment.
I cringe at the dialogue used by police spokemen after a major incident. It's always loaded with stiff pseudo-intellectual English.
Just tell it like it is, FFS.
12-07-2016, 11:02 AM
What, like live sport? :wink:
12-07-2016, 11:04 AM
To continue the smoking theme, patients standing smoking in smoking areas outside hospitals, mental! :grr:
12-07-2016, 07:00 PM
TV programmes where at the start of the show they show so many highlights to come that it's barely worth watching. Even the news does it.